

Agriculture and Rural Development Finance & Policy Committee

Chair

Torrey Westrom 3201 Minnesota Senate Building St. Paul, MN 55155 651-296-3826

Vice Chair

Gary Dahms

Ranking Minority Member

Erin Murphy

Members

Bruce Anderson Gene Dornink Kent Eken Nick A. Frentz Michael P. Goggin

Committee Staff

Committee Administrator

Joel Hanson 651-296-5968

Committee Legislative Assistant

Ben Abrahamson 651-296-0556

Partisan Research

Andy Larson (R)
Jacquelyn Clinton (DFL)

Legislative Analyst

Laura Paynter

Fiscal Analyst

Hannah Grunewald

Chair: Senator Torrey Westrom

March 28th, 2022

- 1. Call to order
- 2. S.F. 4280 (Westrom) Regulated animal possession prohibition and requirements exemption modification.
 - Joan Hemker, Owner Hemker Park & Zoo
 - John Seyjagat, Executive Director Zoological Association of America (ZAA)
 - Mindy Stinner, Executive Director Animal Park at the Conservators Center
 - Tammy Thies, Founder & Executive Director The Wildcat Sanctuary
 - Emily McCormack, Animal Curator/Intern Coordinator –
 Turpentine Creek Wildlife Refuge
- 3. S.F. 3841 (Hawj) African Growers and Producers Alliance appropriation.
 - Ngozi Akubuike Attorney/Director HAVEN, Int'I
 - Moses Momanyi, Owner Dawn2Dusk Farm
 - Onesmus Mutio African Growers and Producers Alliance
 - Farhio Khalif Founder and Director Voice of East African Women, Inc.
- 4. S.F. 2235 (Goggin) State aquaculture plan development appropriation.
 - Clarence Bischoff, President Aquaculture Association of Minnesota
 - Dan Skogen, Director of Government and Industry Relations –
 Agriculture Utilization research Institute (AURI)
 - Don Schreiner, Fisheries Specialist Minnesota Sea Grant
 - Karen Clark, Activist Executive Director Women's Environmental Institute
 - Barry Thoele, Owner Lincoln Bait/Barry's Cherries Hydroponic
 Produce
 - Dean Dovolis, Board President East Phillips Neighborhood Institute
- 5. S.F. 4019 (Westrom) Agriculture provisions modifications and appropriations.

Agriculture and Rural Development Finance & Policy Committee

1150 Minnesota Senate Building Monday, Wednesday 3:00 PM – 4:30 PM 6. Adjournment