COUNSEL

KB/GC

- 1.1 Senator ..... moves to amend S.F. No. 3086 as follows:
- 1.2 Delete everything after the enacting clause and insert:
- <sup>1.3</sup> "Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 297A.94, is amended to read:

## 1.4 **297A.94 DEPOSIT OF REVENUES.**

(a) Except as provided in this section, the commissioner shall deposit the revenues,
including interest and penalties, derived from the taxes imposed by this chapter in the state
treasury and credit them to the general fund.

- (b) The commissioner shall deposit taxes in the Minnesota agricultural and economicaccount in the special revenue fund if:
- (1) the taxes are derived from sales and use of property and services purchased for theconstruction and operation of an agricultural resource project; and
- 1.12 (2) the purchase was made on or after the date on which a conditional commitment was1.13 made for a loan guaranty for the project under section 41A.04, subdivision 3.
- 1.14 The commissioner of management and budget shall certify to the commissioner the date on
  1.15 which the project received the conditional commitment. The amount deposited in the loan
  1.16 guaranty account must be reduced by any refunds and by the costs incurred by the Department
  1.17 of Revenue to administer and enforce the assessment and collection of the taxes.
- (c) The commissioner shall deposit the revenues, including interest and penalties, derived
  from the taxes imposed on sales and purchases included in section 297A.61, subdivision 3,
  paragraph (g), clauses (1) and (4), in the state treasury, and credit them as follows:
- 1.21 (1) first to the general obligation special tax bond debt service account in each fiscal
  1.22 year the amount required by section 16A.661, subdivision 3, paragraph (b); and
- 1.23 (2) after the requirements of clause (1) have been met, the balance to the general fund.
- (d) Beginning with sales taxes remitted after July 1, 2017, the commissioner shall deposit
  in the state treasury the revenues collected under section 297A.64, subdivision 1, including
  interest and penalties and minus refunds, and credit them to the highway user tax distribution
  fund.
- (e) The commissioner shall deposit the revenues, including interest and penalties,
  collected under section 297A.64, subdivision 5, in the state treasury and credit them to the
  general fund. By July 15 of each year the commissioner shall transfer to the highway user

tax distribution fund an amount equal to the excess fees collected under section 297A.64, 2.1 subdivision 5, for the previous calendar year. 2.2 (f) Beginning with sales taxes remitted after July 1, 2017, in conjunction with the deposit 2.3 of revenues under paragraph (d), the commissioner shall deposit into the state treasury and 2.4 credit to the highway user tax distribution fund an amount equal to the estimated revenues 2.5 derived from the tax rate imposed under section 297A.62, subdivision 1, on the lease or 2.6 rental for not more than 28 days of rental motor vehicles subject to section 297A.64. The 2.7 commissioner shall estimate the amount of sales tax revenue deposited under this paragraph 2.8 based on the amount of revenue deposited under paragraph (d). 2.9 2.10 (g) Starting after July 1, 2017, the commissioner shall deposit an amount of the remittances monthly into the state treasury and credit them to the highway user tax 2.11

2.12 distribution fund as a portion of the estimated amount of taxes collected from the sale and

2.13 purchase of motor vehicle repair parts in that month. For the remittances between July 1,

2.14 2017, and June 30, 2019, the monthly deposit amount is \$2,628,000. For remittances in

2.15 each subsequent fiscal year, the monthly deposit amount is \$12,137,000. The commissioner

2.16 must deposit on a monthly basis the revenue derived from the tax rate imposed under section

- 2.17 <u>297A.62</u>, subdivision 1, on the sale and purchase of motor vehicle repair and replacement
- 2.18 parts into the state treasury and credit:

2.19 (1) 86 percent to the highway user tax distribution fund;

- 2.20 (2) seven percent to the small cities assistance account in the special revenue fund
  2.21 established under section 162.145; and
- 2.22 (3) seven percent to the town road account in the county state-aid highway fund
  2.23 established under section 162.081.
- Between July 1, 2022, and June 30, 2023, the monthly deposit amount is \$26,655,000. In

2.25 <u>each subsequent fiscal year, the commissioner must adjust the monthly deposit a</u>mount by

2.26 <u>the percentage change in the total amount of sales tax revenue collected for all sales and</u>

2.27 purchases between the two preceding fiscal years. The amount as adjusted must be rounded

- to the nearest \$1,000 amount. For purposes of this paragraph, "motor vehicle" has the
- 2.29 meaning given in section 297B.01, subdivision 11, and "motor vehicle repair and replacement
- 2.30 parts" includes (i) all parts, tires, accessories, and equipment incorporated into or affixed
- 2.31 to the motor vehicle as part of the motor vehicle maintenance and repair, and (ii) paint, oil,
- 2.32 and other fluids that remain on or in the motor vehicle as part of the motor vehicle
- 2.33 maintenance or repair. For purposes of this paragraph, "tire" means any tire of the type used

on highway vehicles, if wholly or partially made of rubber and if marked according to
federal regulations for highway use.

3.3 (h) 72.43 percent of the revenues, including interest and penalties, transmitted to the
3.4 commissioner under section 297A.65, must be deposited by the commissioner in the state
3.5 treasury as follows:

(1) 50 percent of the receipts must be deposited in the heritage enhancement account in
the game and fish fund, and may be spent only on activities that improve, enhance, or protect
fish and wildlife resources, including conservation, restoration, and enhancement of land,
water, and other natural resources of the state;

3.10 (2) 22.5 percent of the receipts must be deposited in the natural resources fund, and may
3.11 be spent only for state parks and trails;

3.12 (3) 22.5 percent of the receipts must be deposited in the natural resources fund, and may
3.13 be spent only on metropolitan park and trail grants;

3.14 (4) three percent of the receipts must be deposited in the natural resources fund, and
3.15 may be spent only on local trail grants; and

3.16 (5) two percent of the receipts must be deposited in the natural resources fund, and may
3.17 be spent only for the Minnesota Zoological Garden, the Como Park Zoo and Conservatory,
3.18 and the Duluth Zoo.

(i) The revenue dedicated under paragraph (h) may not be used as a substitute for 3.19 traditional sources of funding for the purposes specified, but the dedicated revenue shall 3.20 supplement traditional sources of funding for those purposes. Land acquired with money 3.21 deposited in the game and fish fund under paragraph (h) must be open to public hunting 3.22 and fishing during the open season, except that in aquatic management areas or on lands 3.23 where angling easements have been acquired, fishing may be prohibited during certain times 3.24 3.25 of the year and hunting may be prohibited. At least 87 percent of the money deposited in the game and fish fund for improvement, enhancement, or protection of fish and wildlife 3.26 resources under paragraph (h) must be allocated for field operations. 3.27

(j) The commissioner must deposit the revenues, including interest and penalties minus
any refunds, derived from the sale of items regulated under section 624.20, subdivision 1,
that may be sold to persons 18 years old or older and that are not prohibited from use by
the general public under section 624.21, in the state treasury and credit:

3.32 (1) 25 percent to the volunteer fire assistance grant account established under section
3.33 88.068;

3

- 4.1 (2) 25 percent to the fire safety account established under section 297I.06, subdivision
  4.2 3; and
- 4.3 (3) the remainder to the general fund.

For purposes of this paragraph, the percentage of total sales and use tax revenue derived
from the sale of items regulated under section 624.20, subdivision 1, that are allowed to be
sold to persons 18 years old or older and are not prohibited from use by the general public
under section 624.21, is a set percentage of the total sales and use tax revenues collected in
the state, with the percentage determined under Laws 2017, First Special Session chapter
1, article 3, section 39.

4.10 (k) The revenues deposited under paragraphs (a) to (j) do not include the revenues,

4.11 including interest and penalties, generated by the sales tax imposed under section 297A.62,

- 4.12 subdivision 1a, which must be deposited as provided under the Minnesota Constitution,
- 4.13 article XI, section 15.

## 4.14 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2022."

4.15 Amend the title accordingly