Minnesota State Senate

Environment and Natural Resources Policy and Legacy Finance Committee Monday, March 21, 2022

1:00 PMLivestream YouTube

Minutes

<u>Present</u>: Senator Carrie Ruud - Chair, Senator Bill Weber Vice Chair, Senator Steve Cwodzinski, Senator Foung Hawj, Senator Andrew R. Lang, Senator Jennifer A. McEwen, Senator David H. Senjem

Absent: No Members Absent

Senator Carrie Ruud called the meeting to order at 1:00pm

S.F. 4020: Senator Weber: Murray County State-Aid Highway 113 safe travel facilitation.

Senator Weber presented SF4200 - Murray County State-Aid Highway 113 safe travel facilitation. Senator Lang moved the bill was amended and passed to Senate Environment Finance Committee. The bill passed by voice vote.

The following people testified: Bob Meier, DNR & Randy Groves, Murray County Highway Dept.

Senator Lang moved that S.F. 4020, as amended, recommended to pass and re-referred to the Environment and Natural Resources Finance Committee. - MOTION PREVAILED.

<u>S.F. 2797:</u> Senator Tomassoni: Coordination, effectiveness, transparency and accountability of environmental review and process for metallic mining projects permission improvements.

Senator Bakk presented Senator Tomassoni's SF2797 - Coordination, effectiveness transparency, and accountability of environmental reveiw and process for metallic mining projects permission improvements. The bill passed by voice vote and was referred to Senate Environment Finance Committee.

The following people testified:

- Jason George, Business Manager, International Union of Operating Engineers, Local 49
- Brian Hanson, Board Chair, Jobs For Minnesotans
- Tony Kwilas, Director of Environmental Policy, Minnesota Chamber
- Chrissy L. Bartovich, Director, Environmental U. S. Steel Mining and Tubular Operations (Remote)
- · Dean Debeltz, Twin Metals
- Frank Ongaro, Executive Director, MiningMinnesota (Remote)
- Joe Henderson, Lands and Minerals Division Director, DNR
- Senator Tomassoni

Finance Committee.		
The meeting was adjourned at 2:30pm		
Senator Carrio Pund Chair	Lica Handrick Legislative Assistant	
Senator Carrie Ruud, Chair	Lisa Handrick, Legislative Assistant	