

Chair

Senator David Senjem 3401 Minnesota Senate Bldg. St. Paul, MN 55155 (651) 296-3903

Vice Chair

Senator Andrew Mathews

Ranking Minority Member

Senator Nick Frentz

Members

Senator Rodger Chamberlain Senator Jerry Newton Senator Jason Rarick Senator Patricia Torres Ray Senator Paul Utke

Committee Staff

Committee Administrator

Darrin Lee (652) 296-2962

Committee Legislative Asst.

Beth Kleinboehl (651) 296-1117

Research

Aly Eilers (R) Cassie Tommerdahl (DFL)

Fiscal Analyst

Casey Muhm

Council

Carlon Doyle Fontaine

SENATE ENERGY AND UTILITIES FINANCE AND POLICY COMMITTEE

Thursday, March 24, 2022 Room 1150 MSB – 3:00pm

Agenda

- 1. Call to Order
- 2. Nuclear Innovation and Opportunities

Caroline Cochran, Co-founder and COO, Oklo

3. Advanced Nuclear Power and Regulation

Judi Greenwald, Executive Director, Nuclear Innovation Alliance Patrick White, Project Manager, Nuclear Innovation Alliance

4. Fossil to Fission: Repowering Coal with Carbon-Free Nuclear

Dr. George Griffith, Small Modular Reactor Lead, Idaho National Laboratory

5. State of Advanced Reactors

Marc Nichol, Senior Director, New Reactors, Nuclear Energy Institute

- 6. S.F. 225 Kiffmeyer -New nuclear power plant certificate of need issuance prohibition abolishment.
- 7. S.F. 4082 Prohibition modification on construction of new nuclear-powered electric generating plants.

John Tuma, Commissioner, Minnesota Public Utilities Commission

- 8. S.F. 4163 Advanced nuclear study requirement and appropriation.
- 9. Adjourn