

SENATE ENERGY AND UTILITIES FINANCE AND POLICY COMMITTEE

Tuesday, March 22, 2022 Room 1150 MSB – 3:00pm

Chair

Senator David Senjem 3401 Minnesota Senate Bldg. St. Paul, MN 55155 (651) 296-3903

Vice Chair

Senator Andrew Mathews

Ranking Minority Member Senator Nick Frentz

Members

Senator Rodger Chamberlain Senator Jerry Newton Senator Jason Rarick Senator Patricia Torres Ray Senator Paul Utke

Committee Staff

Committee Administrator

Darrin Lee (652) 296-2962

Committee Legislative Asst.

Beth Kleinboehl (651) 296-1117

Research

Aly Eilers (R) Cassie Tommerdahl (DFL)

Fiscal Analyst

Casey Muhm

Council

Carlon Doyle Fontaine

Agenda

- 1. Call to Order
- 2. Nuclear Power: Climate Change, Decarbonization, and a Clean Energy Future

Dr. Michael Golay, Professor of Nuclear Science and Engineering, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

3. Nuclear Safety and Waste Management

Mark Nelson, Director, Radiant Energy Group

Dr. Ashley Finan, Director, National Reactor Innovation Center, Idaho National Lab

Eric Meyer, Founder and Executive Director, Generation Atomic

Isaac Orr, Policy Fellow, Energy and Environmental Policy, Center of the American Experiment

4. Adjourn