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To: Senator Scheid, Chair

Committee on Commerce

Senator Pappas,

Chair of the Subcommittee on Liquor, to which was referred

S.F. No. 3081: A bill for an act relating to liquor; allowing Minnesota farm wineries
to produce certain fortified wines; amending Minnesota Statutes 2004, sections 340A.101,
subdivision 11, by adding a subdivision; 340A.315, subdivisions 1, 2, 3, 4.

Reports the same back with the recommendation that the bill be amended as follows:

Delete everything after the enacting clause and insert: ,

"Sevction‘ 1. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 340A.101, subdivision 11, is amended
to read:

Subd. 11. Farm w1nery "Farm w1nery is a winery operated by the owner of a

Minnesota farm and producmg table or, sparkhng, or fortified wines from grapes grape

juice, other fruit bases, or honey with a majority of the ingredients grown or produced

in Minnesota.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 340A.101, is amended by adding a
subdivision to read: |

Subd. 30. Fortified wine. "Fortified wine" is wine to which brandv, or neutral grape

spirits, has been added during or after fermentation resulting in a beverage containing

not less than one-half of one percent nor more than 24 pefcent alcohol by volume for

nonindustrial use.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2005 Supplement, section 340A.301, subdivision 6, is
amended to read:

Subd. 6. Fees. The annual fees for licenses under this section are as follows:

(a) Manufacturers (except as provided in clauses

(b) and (c)) | $ 30,000

Duplicates ‘ $ 3,000
(b) Manufacturers of wines of not more than 25 ,

percent alcohol by volume $ 500

(c) Brewers who manufacture more than 3, 500
barrels of malt liquor in a year $ 4,000

such Qonivettee. ¢ oo ts-
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(d) Brewers who also hold one or more retail
on-sale licenses and who manufacture fewer
than 3,500 barrels of malt liquor in a year,
at any one licensed premises, the entire
production of which is solely for consumption
on tap on the any licensed premises er owned
by the brewer, for off-sale from that those
licensed premises, or for distribution through
licensed wholesalers to other retail licensees.
A brewer licensed under this clause must
obtain a separate license for each licensed
premises where the brewer brews malt liquor.
A brewer licensed under this clause may not

be licensed as an importer under this chapter $ 500
(e) Wholesalers (except as provided in clauses
(®, (g), and (h)) $ 15,000
Duplicates . - . : - $ 3,000
(f) Wholesalers of wines of not more than 25
percent alcohol by volume $ 3,750
(g)- Wholesalers of intoxicating malt liquor - - $ 1,000
Duplicates - - ' $ 25
(h) Wholesalers of 3.2 percent malt liquor $ 10
(i) Brewers who manufacture fewer than 2,000
~ barrels of malt liquor in a year , $ 150
(j) Brewers who manufacture 2,000 to 3,500
. barrels of malt liquor in a year $ 500

If a business licensed under this section is destroyed, or damaged to the extent that

" it cannot be carried on, or if it ceases because of the death or illness of the licensee, the

commissioner may refund the license fee for the balance of the license period to the

licensee or to the licensee’s estate.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 340A.315, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
~ Subdivision 1. Licenses. The commissioner may issue a farm winery license to

the owner or operator of a farm winery located within the state and producing table or,

ﬁsparkling, or fortified wines. Licenses may be issued and renewed for an annual fee of

$50, which is in lien of all other license fees required by this chapter.

EFFECTiVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 340A.315, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
Subd. 2. Sales. A license authorizes the sale, on the farm winery, premises,

of table er, sparkling, or fortified wines produced by that farm winery at on-sale or

" off-sale, in retail, or wholesale lots in total quantities not in excess of 50,000 gallons in

a calendar year, glassware, wine literature and accessories, cheese and cheese spreads,

other wine-related food items, and the dispensing of free samples of the wines offered
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(c) The city of Minneapolis may issue an on-sale intoxicating liquor license to

Zuhrah Shrine Temple for use on the premises owned by Zuhrah Shrine Temple at 2540

' Park Avenue South in Minneapolis, and to the American Swedish Institute for use on

the premises owned by the American Swedish Institute at 2600 Park Avenue South,
notwithstanding limitations of law, or local ordinancés, or charter provision relating to
zoning or school or church disténces.' | |

(d) The city of Minneapolis may issue an on-sale intoxicating liquor license to
the American Association of University Women, Minneapolis branch, for use on the
premises owned by the American Association of Univefsity Women, Minneapolis branch,
at 2115 Stevens Avenue South in Minneapolis, notwithstanding limitations of law, or locdl
ordinances, or charter provisions relating to zoning or school or church distances.

(e) The city of Minneapolis may issue an on-sale wine license and an on-sale 3.2
percenf malt liquor license to a restaurant located at 5060 Penn Avenue South, and an

on-sale wine license and an on-sale malt liquor license to a restaurant located at 1931

"Nicollet Avenue South, notwithstanding any law or local ordinance or charter provision.

(f) The city of Minneapolis may issue an on-sale wine license and an on-sale malt
liquor license to the Brave Néw Workshop Theatre located at 3001 Hennepin Avenﬁe
South, the Theatre de la Jeune Luné, thé Illusién Theatre located at 528 Hennepin Avenue
South, the Hollywood Theatre located at 2815 Johnson Street Northeast, the Loring
Playhouse located at 1633 Hennepin Avenue South, the Jungle Theater located at 2951

Lyndale Avenue South, Brave New Institute located at 2605 Henﬁepin_Avenue South,

" the Guthrie Lab located at 700 North First Street, and the Southern Theatre located at

1420 Washiﬂgton Avenue South, notwithstanding any law or local ordinance or charter

~provision. The license authofizes sales on all days of the week.

- (g) The city of Minneapolis rhay issue an on-sale ihtoxig:ating liquor license to
University G'ateway Corporation, a Minnesota noﬁproﬁt cofpofation, for use by a
restaurant or catering operétor at the building owned and operated by the Universify
GateWay C’orpqration on the Universify of Minnesota campus, notwithstanding limitations
of law, or loéal ordinance or charter provision. The license authorizes sales on all ‘days of
the week.

(h) The éity of Minneapolis may issue an on-sale intoxicating liqﬁor license to the
Walker Art Center’s concessionaire or opefator, for a restaurant and catering operator
on the premises of the Walker Art Center, notwithstanding limitations of law, or local
ordinance or charter provisions. The license authorizes sales on all days of the week.

(i) The city of Minneapolis may issue an on-sale intoxicating liquor license to the

Guthrie Theater’s concessionaire or operator for a restaurant and catering operator on the
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for sale. Sales at on-sale and off-sale may be madé on Sundays between 12:00 noon and
12:00 midnight. Labels for each type or brand ‘produced must be registered with the

commissioner, without fee prior to sale.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 340A.315, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
Subd. 3.  Applicability. Except as otherwise specified in this section, all provisions
of this chapter govern the production, sale, possession, and consumption of table or, |

sparkling, or fortified wines produced by a farm winery.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment. .

Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 340A.315, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

Subd. 4. Minnesota products. If Minnesota produced or grown 'gfapes, gfape juice, -

other fruit bases, or honey is not available in quantities sufficient to constitute a majority

of the table or, sparkling, or fortified wine produced by a farm winery, the holder of the

farm winery license may file an affidavit stating this fact with the commissioner. If the
commissioner, after consultation with the commissioner of agriculture, determines this to
be true, the farm Winery may use imported products and shall coﬁtinue to be governed by
the provisions of this section. The affidavit is effective for a period of one year, after which
time the farm winery must use the required amount of Minnesota products as provided by

subdivision 1 unless the farm winery holder files a new affidavit with the commissioner.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2005 Supplement, section 340A.404, subdivision 2, is

amended to read:

Subd. 2. Special provision; city of Minneapolis. (a) The city of Minneapolis may -

issue an on-sale intoxicating liquor license to the Guthrie Theater, the Criéket Theatre, the
Orpheum Theatre, the State Theatre, and the Historic Pantages Theatre, notwithstanding
the limitations of law, or local ordinance, or charter provision relating to zoning or school
or church distances. The licenses authorize sales on all days of the week to holders
of tickets for perfo:mances presented by the theaters and to members of the nonprofit
corporations holding the licenses and to their guests. |

(b) The city of Minneapolis may issue an intoxicating liquor license to 510
Groveland Associates, a Minnesota cooperative, for ﬁse by a restaurant on the premises
owned by 510 Groveland Associates, notwithstanding limitations of law, or local

ordinance, or charter provision.
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premises of the Guthrie Theater, notwithstanding limitations of law, local ordinance, or
charter provisions. The license authorizes sales.on all days of the week.

(1) The city of Minneapolis may issue an on—sal_e wine license and an on-sale malt

liquor license to the Minnesota Book and Literary Arts Building, Inc.’s concessionaire or

operator, for a restaurant and catering operator on the premises of the Minnesota Book and

Literary Arts Building, Inc. (dba Open Book), notwithstanding limitations of law, or local

ordinance or charter provision. The license authorizes sales on all days of the week.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effectivé upon approval By the Minneapolis

City Council in the manner provided by Minnesota Statutes, section 645.021,

notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, section 645.023, subdivision 1, paragraph (a).

Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 34OA.404, subdivision 5, is amended to read:
Subd. 5. Wine licenses. (a) A municipality may issue an on;sale'Wine license with
the approval of the cémmissionc:r toa fés-taurant haviﬁg facilities for seating at least 25 '
guests at one time. A wine licenée permits the sale of wine of up to 14 pércent alcohol by
volume for consumption with the sale 6f food. A wine license authorizes the sale of wine
on all days of the week unless the issuing authoﬁty restricts the license’s authorization to
the sale of wine on all days except Sundays. | .
- (b) The governing body of a municipality may by ordinance authorize a holder of
an on-sale wine license issued pursuant to paragraph (a) who is alsb licensed to sell 3.2
percent malt liquors at on-sale pursuant to section 340A.411 , and whose gross receipts
are at least 60 percent attributable to the sale of food, to sell intoxicating malt liquors
at on-sale without an additional license.
(c) A municipality may issue an on-sale wine license with the approval of the
commissioner to a licensed bed and breakfast facility. A license under this paragraph

authorizes a bed and breakfast facility to furnish wine only to registered guests of the

facility and, if the facility contains a licensed commercial kitchen, also to guests attending

private events at the facility.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 10. [340A.4041] CULINARY CLASSES; ON-SALE LICENSE.

Subdivision 1. License authorized. A city or county may issue a limited on-sale

intoxicating liquor license to a business establishment: (1) not otherwise eligible for an

on-sale intoxicating liquor license; and (2) that, as part of its business, conducts culinary

- or cooking classes for which payment is made by each participant or advance reservation

required. The license authorizes the licensee to furnish to each participant in each class,
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at no additional cost to the participant, up to a maximum of six ounces of wine or 12

ounces of intoxicating malt liquor, during and as part of the class, for consumption on the

licensed premises only.

Subd. 2. Samples. A license under this section also authorizes the licensee to

dispense to the public, at no charge, samples of up to one ounce of wine for purposes of

' demonstrating nonalcoholic products for sale.

Subd. 3. Fee. The issuing authority shall set the fee for a license under this section,

‘subject to section 340A.408, subdivision 2, paragraph (a).

~Subd. 4. Application of other law. All provisions of this chapter that apply to

on-sale intoxicating liquor licenses, other than provisions inconsistent with this section,

gpply to licenses issued under this section, except that section 340A.409 shall not apply.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2005 Supplement, section 340A.412, subdivision 4,

" is amended to read:

Subd. 4. Licenses prohibited in certain areas. (a) No license to sell intoxicating
liquor may be issued within the following areas:

(1) where restricted against comrhercial ﬁse through zoning ordinances and other
proceedings or legal processes regularly had for that purpose, except licenses may be

issued to restaurants in areas which were restricted against commercial uses after the

establishment of the restaurant;

(2) within the Capitol or on the Capitol grounds, except as provided under Laws
1983, chaptér 259,'SFCti0n 9, or Laws 1999, chapter 202, section 13;

(3) on the State Fairgrounds or at any placein a 'c’it.y of the first class within one-half
mile of the fairgrdinids, except as otherwise provided by charter;

(4) on the campus of the College of Agriculture of the UniVersity of Minnesota or at

-any place in a city of the first class within one-half mile of the campus, provided that a city

may issue one on-sale wine license and one off-sale intoxicating liquor license Ain this area
that is not included in the area described in clause (3), except as provided by charfer;

- (5) within 1,000 féet‘ of a state hospital, training school, reformatory, prison, or other
institution under the éupervision or control, in whole or in part, of the éommissioner of
human services or the commissioner of cofrections; |

(6)ina town or municipality iﬁ which a majority of votes at the last election
at which the question of license was voted upon were not in favor of license under
section 340A.416, or within one-half mile of any such town or municipality, except that

intoxicating liquor manufactured within this radius may be sold to be consumed outside it;
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(7) at any place on the east side of the Missis‘sippi River within one-tenth of a mile
of the main building of the University of Minnesota unless (i) the liéensed establishment
is on property owned or operated by a nonprofit corpération organized prior to Ja;luz;ry
1, 1940, for and by former students of the University of Minnesota, or (ii) the licensed
premises is Northrop Auditorium; -

(8) within 1,500 feet of a state university, except that:

(i) the minimum distance in the case of Winona and Southwest State University is
1,200 feet, measured by a direct line from the nearest corner of the adminis_tration building
to the main entrance of the licensed establishment;

(ii) within 1,500 feet of St. Cloud State University one on-sale wine and ‘tv‘v’o off-sale
intoxicating '_liquor licenses may be issued, measured by a direct line from the nearest
corner of the admini_stration building to the main entrance of ihe licensed establishment;

(iii) at Mankato State University the distance is measured from the front door of

~ the student union of the Highlagnd cani[;us; | -

@iv) a'temporary license under section 340A.404, subdivision 10, may be issued to

~ a location on the grounds of a state university for an event sponsored or approved by

the state university; and »
(v) this restriction does not apply to the area surrounding the premises feased-by of

Metropolitan State University at730-HemepimAvenue-South in Minneapolis; and
(9) within 1,500 feet of any public school that is not within a city.

(b) The restrictions of this subdivision do not apply to a manufacturer or wholesaler

of intoxicating liquor or to a drugstore or to a person who had a license originally issued

~lawfully prior to July 1, 1967.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2004, secti}on 340A.414, subdivision 2, ié amended to read: -

Subd. 2. Eligibility for permit. (a) The commissioner may issue a permit under
this section only to:

(1) an applicant who has not, within five years prior to the application, been
convicted of a felony or of violating any provision of this chapter or rule adopted under -
this chapter;

2)a restauraﬁt;_

(3) a hotel;

(4) an establishment licensed for the sale of 32 percent malt liquor;

(5) a resort as defined in section 157.15; and
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(6) a club as defined in section 340A.101, subdivision 7, or an unincorporated club
otherwise meeting that definitions; and

(7). a bed and breakfast facility as defined in section 340A.411, subdivision 1.

(b) The commissioner may not issue a permit to a club holding an on-sale

intoxicating liquor license.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This secﬁ_on is effective the day followingﬁnal enactment.

Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 340A.504, subdivision 6, is amended to read:

Subd. 6. Municipalities may limit hours. A municipality may further limit the

hours of sate on and off sales of alcoholic beverages, provided that further restricted

on-sale hours_for intoxicating liquor must apply equally to sates on-sale hours of 3.2

percent malt hquor-and-mtmcaﬁng—hqmr A city may not permit the sale of alcoholic

beverages during hours when the sale is prohibited by this section.

EFFECTIVE D_ATE. This section is effective the day following ﬁnal'enactment.

Sec. 14. CITY OF NEW PRAGUE; LIQUOR LICENSE.

(a) The city of New Prague may issue an on-sale intoxicating liquor license for the

New Prague Golf Club grounds, clubhouse, and restaurant located in the city of New

Prague, notwithstanding any limitation of law, local ordinance, or charter provision. The

provisions of Minnesota Statutes, chapter 340A, apply to the license issued under this

section. The prbvisions of Minnesota Statutes, sections 340A.603 and 340A.604, apply

to the establishment licensed 'und}er’this section as if the establishment were a municipal

 liquor store, provided that the commissioner of public safety may not impose any penalty

on the establishment under those sections if the city has imposed a comparable or greater

penalty on the licensee for the same offense. The license under this section authorizes

sales on all déys of the week.

(b) The city of New Prague is the licensee under this section for purposes of

“compliance with Minnesota Statutes, section 340A.409. The city of New Prague is

deemed the seller of alcoholic beverages under the license authorized by this section for

'purposes of Minnesota Statutes, sections 340A.801 and 340A.802.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment."
Amend the title accordingly ) SR

And when so amended that the bill be recommended to pass and be referred to

L L e

the full committee.

(Subcomm1ttee Chalr)

March 20, 2006 .......vveressersrees e
(Date of Subcommittee recommendation)
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A bill for an act
relating to liquor; allowing Minnesota farm wineries to produce fortified
wine; modifying certain fee provisions; providing for licensing provisions;
clarifying certain sale hours; authorizing various local on-sale licenses;
amending Minnesota Statutes 2004, sections 340A.101, subdivision 11, by
adding a subdivision; 340A.315, subdivisions 1, 2, 3, 4; 340A.404, subdivision
5; 340A.414, subdivision 2; 340A.504, subdivision 6; Minnesota Statutes
2005 Supplement, sections 340A.301, subdivision 6; 340A.404, subdivision 2;
340A.412, subdivision 4; proposing coding for new law in Minnesota Statutes,
chapter 340A.

BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF MINNESOTA:

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 340A.101, subdivision 11, is amended to
read:
Subd. 11. Farm winery. "Farm winery" is a winery operated by the owner of a

Minnesota farm and producing table er, sparkling, or fortified wines from grapes, grape

‘juice, other fruit bases, or honey with a majority of the ingredients grown or produced

in Minnesota.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 340A.101, is amended by adding a
subdivision to read:

Subd. 30. Fortified wine. "Fortified wine" is wine to which brandy, or neutral grape

spirits, has been added during or after fermentation resulting in a beverage containing

not less than one-half of one percent nor more than 24 percent alcohol by volume for

nonindustrial use.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 2. 1
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Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2005 Supplement, section 340A.301, subdivision 6, is

amended to read:

Subd. 6. Fees. The annual fees for licenses under this section are as follows:

(a)

Manufacturers (except as provided in clauses

(b) and (c)) $ 30,000

- Duplicates $ 3,000

(b)

(c)

(d)

Manufacturers of wines of not more than 25

percent alcohol by volume $ 500

Brewers who manufacture more than 3,500

barrels of malt liquor in a year $ 4,000

Brewers who also hold one or more retail

on-sale licenses and who manufacture fewer

than 3,500 barrels of malt liquor in a year,

Sec. 3.

at any one licensed premises, the entire
production of which is solely for consumption
on tap on the any licensed premises ot owned

by the brewer, or for off-sale from that those

licensed premises _as permitted in subdivision

7. A brewer licensed under this clause must
obtain a separate license for each licensed
premises where the brewer brews malt liquor.
A brewer licensed under this clause may not

be licensed as an importer under this chapter $ 500
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2.24 (e) Wholesalers (except as provided in clauses

225 (D), (g), and (h)) $ 15,000

2.26 | Duplicates $ 3,000

227 () Wholesalers of wines of not more than 25

2.28 percent alcohol by volume $ 3,750

2.29 (g) Wholesalers of intoxicating malt liquor $ 1,000

2.30 Duplicates $ 25'

231 (h) Wholesalers of 3.2 percent malt liquor $ 10

3.1 (1) Brewers who manufacture fewer than 2,000

32 barrels of malt liquor in a year $ 150 .

33 (j) Brewers who manufacture 2,000 to 3,500

3.4 barrels of malt liquor in a year $ 500

3.5 If a business licensed under this section is destroyed, or damaged to the extent that
3.6 it cannot be carried on, or if it ceases because of the death or illness of the licensee, the
3.7 commissioner may refund the license fee for the balance of fhe license period to the

3.8 licensee or to the licensee’s estate.

39 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
3.10 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 340A.315, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
3.11 Subdivision 1. Licenses. The commissioner may issue a farm winery license to

2 the owner or operator of a farm winery located within the state and producing table or,
3.13 sparkling, or fortified wines. Licenses may be issued and renewed for an annual fee of

3.14 $50, which is in lieu of all other license fees required by this chapter.

3.15 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

3.16 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 340A.315, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
3.17 . Subd. 2. Sales. A license authorizes the sale, on the farm winery premises,

3.18 of table er, sparkling, or fortified wines produced by that farm winery at on-sale or
3.19 off-sale, in retail, or wholesale lots in total quantities not in excess of 50,000 gallons in
320  acalendar year, glassware, wine literature and accessories, cheese and cheese spreads,

B other wine-related food items, and the dispensing of free samples of the wines offered

3.22 for sale. Sales at on-sale and off-sale may be made on Sundays between 12:00 noon and

Sec. 5. 3




3.23

3.24

3.25

3.26
3.27
3.28

3.29

3.30

4.1

43
44
45
46
47
48
49

410

4.11

4.12
4.13
4.14
4.15
4.16
4.17
4.18
4.19
4.20

421

423

424

03/31/06 REVISOR LC S3081-1

12:00 midnight. Labels for each type or brand produced must be registered with the

commissioner, without fee prior to sale.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following ﬁnal enactment.

Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 340A.315, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
Subd. 3. Applicability. Except as otherwise specified in this section, all provisions
of this chapter govern the production, sale, possession, and consumption of table or,

sparkling, or fortified wines produced by a farm winery.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 340A.315, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
Subd. 4. Minnesota products. If Minnesota produced or grown grapes, grape juice,

other fruit bases, or honey is not available in quantities sufficient to constitute a majority

of the table or, sparkling, or fortified wine produced by a farm winery, the holder of the
farm winery license may file an affidavit stating this fact with the commissioner. If the
commissioner, after consultation with the commissioner of agriculture, determines this to
be true, the farm winery may use imported products and shall continue to be governed by
the provisions of this section. The affidavit is effective for a period of one year, after which
time the farm wihery must use the required amount of Minnesota products as provided by

subdivision 1 unless the farm winery holder files a new affidavit with the commissioner.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2005 Supplement, section 340A.404, subdivision 2, is

amended to read: |

Subd. 2. Special provision; city of Minneapolis. (a) The city of Minneapolis may
issue an on-sale intoxicating liquor license to the Guthrie Theater, the Cricket Theatre, the
Orpheum Theatre, the State Theatre, and the Historic Pantages Theatre, notwithstanding
the limitations of law, or local ordinance, or charter provision relating to zoning or school
or church distances. The licenses authorize sales on all days of the week tb holders
of tickets for perférmances presented by the theaters and to members of the nonprofit
corporations holding the licenses and to their guests.

(b) The city of Minneapolis may issue an intoxicating liquor license to 510
Groveland Associates, a Minnesota cooperative, for use by a restaurant on the premises
owned by 510 Groveland Associates, notwithstanding limitations of law, or local

ordinance, or charter provision.

Sec. 8. 4
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(c) The city of Minneapolis may issue an on-sale intoxicating liquor license to
Zuhrah Shrine Temple for use on the premises owned by Zuhrah Shrine Temple-at 2540
Park Avenue South in Minneapolis, and to the American Swedish Institute for use on
the premises owned by the American Swedish Institute at 2600 Park Avenue South,
notwithstanding limitations of law, or local ordinances, or charter provision relating to
zoning or school or church distances.

(d) The city of Minneapolis may issue an on-sale intoxicating liquor license to
the American Association of University Women, Minneapolis branch, for use on the
premises owned by the American Association of University Women, Minneapolis branch,
at 2115 Stevens Avenue South in Minneapolis, notwithstanding limitations of law, or local
ordinances, or charter provisions relating to zoning or school or church distances.

(e) The city of Minneapolis may issue an on-sale wine license and an on-sale 3.2
percent malt liquor license to a restaurant located at 5000 Penn Avenue South, and an
on-sale wine license and an on-sale malt liquor license to a restaurant located at 1931
Nicollet Avenue South, notwithstanding any law or local ordinance or charter provision.

(f) The city of Minneapolis may issue an on-sale wine license and an on-sale malt
liquor license to the Brave New Workshop Theatre located at 3001 Hennepin Avenue
South, the Theatre de la Jeune Lune, the Illusion Theatre located at 528 Hennépin Avenue
South, the Hollywood Theatre located at 2815 Johnson Street Nbrtheast, the Loring
Playhouse located at 1633 Hennepin Avenue South, the Jungle Theater located at 2951
Lyndale Avenue South, Brave New Institute located’at 2605 Hennepin Avenue South,
the Guthrie Lab located at 700 North First Street, and the Southern Theatre located at
1420 Washington Avenue South, notwithstanding any law or local ordinance or charter
provision. The license authorizes sales on all days of the week.

(g) The city of Minneapolis may issue an on-sale intoxicating liquor license to
University Gateway Corporation, a Minnesota nonprofit corporation, for use by a
restauraht or catering operator at the building owned and operated by the University
Gateway Corporation on the University of Minnesota campus, notwithstanding limitations
of law, or local ordinance or charter provision. The license authorizes sales on all days of
the week. |

(h) The city of Minneapolis may issue an on-sale intoxicating liquor license to the
Walker Art Center’s concessionaire or operator, for a restaurant and catering operator
on the premises of the Walker Art Center, notwithstanding limitations of law, or local
ordinance or charter provisions. The license authorizes sales on all days of the week.

(i) The city of Minneapolis may issue an on-sale intoxicating liquor license to the

Guthrie Theater’s concessionaire or operator for a restaurant and catering operator on the

Sec. 8. : 5
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premises of the Guthrie Theater, notwithstanding limitations of law, local ordinance, or
charter provisions. The license authorizes sales on all days of the week.

(1) The city of Minneapolis may issue an on-sale wine license and an on-sale malt

liquor license to the Minnesota Book and Literary Arts Building, Inc.’s concessionaire or

operator, for a restaurant and catering operator on the premises of the Minnesota Book and

Literary Arts Building, Inc. (dba Open Book), notwithstanding limitations of law, or local

ordinance or charter provision. The license authorizes sales on all days of the week.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective upon approval by the Minneapolis

City Council in the manner provided by Minnesota Statutes, section 645.021,

notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, section 645.023, subdivision 1, paragraph (a).

Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 340A.404, subdivision 5, is amended to read:
Subd. 5. Wine licenses. (a) A municipality may issue an on-sale wine license with

the approval of the commissioner to a restaurant having facilities for seating at least 25

‘guests at one time. A wine license permits the sale of wine of up to 14 percent alcohol by

volume for consumption with the sale of food. A wine license authorizes the sale of wine
on all days of the week unless the issuing authority restricts the license’s authorization to
the sale of wine on all days except Sundays.

(b) The governing body of a municipality may by ordinance authorize a holder of
an on-sale wine license issued pursuant to paragraph (a) who is also licensed to sell 3.2
percent malt liquors at on-sale pursuant to section 340A.411, and whose gross receipts
are at least 60 percent attributable to the sale of food, to sell intoxicating malt liquors
at on-sale without an additional license. |

(¢) A municipality may issue an on-sale wine license with the approval of the
commissioner to a licensed bed and breakfast facility. A license under this paragraph
authorizes a bed and breakfast facility to furnish wine only to registered guests of the

facility and, if the facility contains a licensed commercial kitchen, also to guests attending

private events at the facility.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 10. [340A.4041] CULINARY CLASSES; ON-SALE LICENSE.

Subdivision 1. License authorized. A city or county may issue a limited on-sale

intoxicating liquor license to a business establishment: (1) not otherwise eligible for an

on-sale intoxicating liquor license; and (2) that, as part of its business, conducts culinary

or cooking classes for which payment is made by each participant or advance reservation

Sec. 10. ' 6
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required. The license authorizes the licensee to furnish to each participant in each class,

at no additional cost to the participant, up to a maximum of six ounces of wine or 12

ounces of intoxicating malt liquor, during and as part of the class, for consumption on the

licensed premises only.

Subd. 2. Fee. The issuing authority shall set the fee for a license under this section,

subject to section 340A.408, subdivision 2, paragraph (a).

Subd. 3. Application of other law. All provisions of this chapter that apply to

on-sale intoxicating liquor licenses, other than provisions inconsistent with this section,

apply to licenses issued under this section, except that section 340A.409 shall not apply.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2005 Supplement, section 340A.412, subdivision 4,
is amended to read:

Subd. 4. Licenses prohibited in certain areas. (a) No license to sell intoxicating
liquor may be issued within the following areas:

(1) where restricted against commercial use through zoning ordinances and other
proceedings or legal processes regularly had for that purpose, except licenses may be
issued to restaurants in areas which were restricted against commercial uses after the
establishment of the restaurant;

(2) within the Capitol or on the Capitol grounds, except as provided under Laws
1983, chapter 259, section 9, or Laws 1999, chapter 202, section 13;

(3) on the State Fairgrounds or at any place in a city of the first class within one-half
mile of the fairgrounds, except as otherwise provided by charter;

(4) on the campus of the College of Agriculture of the University of Minnesota or at
any place in a city of the first class within one-half mile of the campus, provided that a city
may issue one on-sale wine license and one off-sale intoxicating liquor license in this area
that is not included in the area described in clause (3), except as prbvided by charter;

(5) within 1,000 feet of a state hospital, training school, reformatory, prison, or other
institution under the supervision or control, in whole or in part, of the commissioner of
humén services or the commissioner of corrections;

(6) in a town or municipality in which a majority of votes at the last election
at which the question of license was voted upon were not in favor of license under
section 340A.416, or within one-half mile of any such town or municipality, except that
intoxicating liquor manufactured within this radius may be sold to be consumed outside it;

(7) at any place on the east side of the Mississippi River within one-tenth of a mile

of the main building of the University of Minnesota unless (i) the licensed establishment

Sec. 11. 7
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is on property owned or operated by a nonprofit corporation organized prior to J anuary
1, 1940, for and by former students of the University of Minnesota, or (ii) the licensed
premises is Northrop Auditorium;

(8) within 1,500 feet of a state university, except that:

(1) the minimum distance in the case of Winona and Southwest State University is
1,200 feet, measured by a direct line from the nearest corner of the administration building
to the main entrance of the licensed establishment;

(ii) within 1,500 feet of St. Cloud State Uniﬁ:rsity one on-sale wine and two off-sale
intoxicating liquor licenses may be issued, measured by a direct line from the nearest
corner of the administration building to the main entrance of the licensed establishment;

~(iii) at Mankato State University the distance is measured from the front door of
the student union of the Highland campus;

(iv) a temporary license under section 340A.404, subdivision 10, may be issued to
a location on the grounds of a state university for an event sponsored or approved by
the state university; and ‘ .

(v) this restriction does not apply to the area surrounding the premises teased-by of
Metropolitan State University at736-HennepimAvente-Setth in Minneapolis; and

(9) within 1,500 feet of any public school that is not within a city.

(b) The restrictions of this subdivision do not apply to a manufacturer or wholesaler
of intoxicating liquor or to a drugstore or to a person who had a license originally issued

lawfully prior to July 1, 1967.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 340A.414, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Eligibility for permit. (a) The commissioner may issue a permit under
this section only to:

(1) an applicant who has not, within five years prior to the application, been
convicted of a felony or of violating any provision of this chapter or rule adopted under
this chaptér;

(2) a restaurant;

(3) a hotel;

(4) an establishment licensed for the sale of 3.2 percent malt liqﬁor;

(5) a resort as defined in section 157.15; and

(6) a club as defined in section 340A.101, subdivision 7, or an unincorporated club
otherwise meeting that definitions; and

(7) a bed and breakfast facility as defined in section 340A.411, subdivision 1.

Sec. 12. 8
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(b) The commissioner may not issue a permit to a club holding an on-sale

intoxicating liquor license.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 340A.504, subdivision 6, is amended to read:
Subd. 6. Municipalities may limit hours. A municipality may further limit the

hours of sate on and off sales of alcoholic beverages, provided that further restricted

on-sale hours_for intoxicating liquor must apply equally to sates on-sale hours of 3.2

percent malt liquor-and-intoxteatingtiquor. A city may not permit the sale of alcoholic

beverages during hours when the sale is prohibited by this section.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 14. CITY OF NEW PRAGUE; LIQUOR LICENSE.

(a) The city of New Prague may issue an on-sale intoxicating liquor license for the

New Prague Golf Club grounds, clubhouse, and restaurant located in the city of New

Prague, notwithstanding any limitation of law, local ordinance, or charter provision. The

provisions of Minnesota Statutes, chapter 340A, apply to the license issued under this

section. The provisions of Minnesota Statutes, sections 340A.603 and 340A.604, apply

to the establishment licensed under this section as if the establishment were a municipal

liquor store, provided that the commissioner of public safety may not impose any penalty

on the establishment under those sections if the city has imposed a comparable or greater

penalty on the licensee for the same offense. The license under this section authorizes

sales on all days of the week.

(b) The city of New Prague is the licensee under this section for purposes of

compliance with Minnesota Statutes, section 340A.409. The city of New Prague is

deemed the seller of alcoholic beverages under the license authorized by this section for

purposes of Minnesota Statutes, sections 340A.801 and 340A.802.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 14. 9
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The bill permits Minnesota farm wineries to produce fortified wines such as Port or Sherry,
using a majority of Minnesota-grown grapes. Current law restricts farm wineries to the production
of table and sparkling wines.
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3/20/2006
Farm Winery Law Changes 2006.
Fortification of wine to make Port — 5 points to present.

1. At present everywhere in the world, France, Brazil, Australia, Towa as well as
all other states have an advantage over MN wineries in MN. They can all make Port in
the traditional method and sell to Minnesotans. Only MN Farm wineries cannot make
Port wine. '

2. Port wine is made by adding neutral grape spirits or brandy to the wine to stop
fermentation and preserve sweetness and strong fruit flavors. Federal law lists Port as a
wine having between 18 and 24 % Alcohol. In order to reach the legal limit to make
Port, fortification is employed.

3. The Frontenac variety of grape was developed by the University of Minnesota
and has exceptional qualities for making Port. Other wineries, as an example; Galena
Cellars in Illinois where producing Port is legal, have made some of the worlds best Port
wines from the MN Frontenac Grape. Galena Cellars earned the Double Gold
Concurrence medal at the Indy International Wine Competition. Their Frontenac Port
won over the French, Portuguese, Italians, Australians and all other world wide Port
producers.

4. In order for MN wineries to compete in the marketplace it is necessary to have
the ability to legally make Port wine by fortification. Port often commands top dollar in
the trade, this would provide MN wineries the ability to be more profitable and secure.
Additionally, the allowance of Port wine to State Winery menus creates another positive
demand for Frontenac Grapes within Minnesota, thereby helping Minnesota vineyards, an
important emerging agricultural addition to the States economy.

5. Finally, I would like to tell you how important the MN wine industry is to MN
state tax revenue. Each acre of grapes made into wine in MN returns $2025.00 or more

in sales tax yearly. This return far exceeds most every other farm commodity in the
ability to generate tax revenue dollars.

The MN Grape Growers Association a organization of winery and growers - 700
members strong, support this change to the Farm Winery Law.

John Falconer

Owner — Falconer Vmeyards Winery & Nursery
Red Wing, MN

Vice President and Editor for the MIN Grape Growers Association.
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Senators Pappas and Scheid introduced— y » ) ?

| C
S.F. No. 3081: Referred to the Committee on Commerce. )
i

A bill for an act
relating to liquor; allowing Minnesota farm wineries to produce certain fortified
- wines; amending Minnesota Statutes 2004, sections 340A.101, subdivision 11, = -
by adding a subdivision; 340A.315, subdivisions 1, 2, 3, 4.

BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF MINNESOTA:

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 340A.101, subdivision 11, is amended to
read: |
Subd. 11. Farm winery. "Farm winery" is a winery operated by the owner of a

Minnesota farm and producing table or, sparkling, or fortified wines from grapes, grape

juice, other fruit bases, or honey with a majority of the ingredients grown or produced

in Minnesota.

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 340A.101, is amended by adding a
subdivision to read:

Subd. 30. Fortified wine. "Fortified wine" is wine to which brandy, or neutral grape

spirits, has been added during or after fermentation resulting in a beverage containing

not less than one-half of one percent nor more than 24 percent alcohol by volume for

nonindustrial use.

Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 340A.315, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
Subdivision 1. Licenses. The commissioner may issue a farm winery license to
the owner or operator of a farm Winery located within the state and producing table or,

sparkling, or fortified wines. Licenses may be issued and renewed for an annual fee of

$50, which is in lieu of all other license fees required by this chapter.

Sec. 3. 1
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Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 340A.315, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
Subd. 2. Sales. A license authorizes the sale, on the farm winery premises, of table

or, sparkling, or fortified wines produced by that farm winery at on-sale or off-sale, in

retail, or wholesale lots in total quantities not in excess of 50,000 gallons in a calendar

year, glassware, wine literature and accessories, cheese and cheese spreads, and the

" dispensing of free samples of the wines offered for sale. Sales at on-sale and off-sale may

be made on Sundays between 12:00 noon and 12:00 midnight. Labels for each type or

brand produced must be registered with the commissioner, without fee prior to sale.

Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 340A.315, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
Subd. 3. Applicability. Except as otherwise specified in this section, all provisions
of this chapter govern the production, sale, possession, and consumption of table or,

sparkling, or fortified wines produced by a farm winery.

Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 340A.315, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
Subd. 4. Minnesota products. If Minnesota produced or grown grapes, grape juice,
other fruit bases, or honey is not available in quantities sufficient to constitute a majority

of the table er, sparkling, or fortified wine produced by a farm winery, the holder of the

farm winery license may file an affidavit stating this fact with the commissioner. If the
commissioner, after consultation with the commissioner of agriculture, determines this to
be true, the farm winery may use imported products and shall continue to be governed by
the provisions of this section. The affidavit is effective for a period of one year, after which
time the farm winery must use the required amount of Minnesota products as provided by

subdivision 1 unless the farm winery holder files a new affidavit with the commissioner.

Sec. 7. EFFECTIVE DATE.

This act is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 7. 2
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1.1 ' Senator .......c.oueeenn.... moves to amend S.F. No. 3081 as follows:

12 Page 2, line 5, after the fourth comma, insert "other wine-related food items,"
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To: Senator Scheid, Chair

Committee on Commerce

Senator Pappas,

Chair of the Subcommittee on Liquor, to which was referred

S.F. No. 3081: A bill for an act relating to liquor; allowing Minnesota farm wineries
to produce certain fortified wines; amending Minnesota Statutes 2004, sections 340A.101,
subdivision 11, by adding a subdivision; 340A.315, subdivisions 1, 2, 3, 4.

Reports the same back with the recommendation that the bill be amended as follows:

Delete everything after the enacting clause and insert: |

"Sectlon 1. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 340A.101, subdivision 11, is amended
to read: A

Subd. 11. Farm winery. "Farm winery" is a winery opefated by the owner of a

Minnesota farm and producing table or, eparkling, or fortified wines from grapes, grape

juice, other fruit bases, or honey with a majority of the ingredients grown or produced

in Minnesota.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 340A.101, is amended by adding a
subdivision to read: |

Subd. 30. Fortified wine. "Fortified wine" is wine to which brandy, or neutral grape

spirits, has been added during or after fermentation resulting in a beverage containing

not less than one-half of one percent nor more than 24 percent alcohol by volume for

nonindustrial use.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2005 Supplement, section 340A.301, subdivision 6, is
amended to read:

Subd. 6. Fees. The annual fees for licenses under this section are as follows:

(a) Manufacturers (except as provided in clauses

(b) and (c)) | $ 30,000

| Duplicates ' $ 3,000
(b) Manufacturers of wines of not more than 25

percent alcohol by volume $ 500

(¢) Brewers who manufacture more than 3,500
barrels of malt liquor in a year $ 4,000
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(d) Brewers who also hold one or more retail
on-sale licenses and who manufacture fewer
than 3,500 barrels of malt liquor in a year,
at any one licensed premises, the entire
production of whichis solely for consumption
on tap on the any licensed premises or owned
by the brewer, for off-sale from that those
licensed premises, or for distribution through
licensed wholesalers to other retail licensees.
A brewer licensed under this clause must
obtain a separate license for each licensed
premises where the brewer brews malt liquor.
A brewer licensed under this clause may not

be licensed as an importer under this chapter $§ 500
(e) Wholesalers (except as provided in clauses
(), (g), and (b)) $ 15,000
Duplicates : S $ 3,000
(f) Wholesalers of wines of not more than 25
~ percent alcohol by volume $ 3,750
(g) - Wholesalers of intoxicating malt liquor - ~$ 1,000
Duplicates -~ ' $ 25
(h) Wholesalers of 3.2 percent malt liquor $ 10
(i) Brewers who manufacture fewer than 2,000
o barrels of malt liquor in a year ‘ $ 150
(j) Brewers who manufacture 2,000 to 3,500
. barrels of malt liquor in a year $ 500

If a business licensed under this section is destroyed, or damaged to the extent that

" it cannot be carried on, or if it ceases because of the death or illness of the licensee, the

commissioner may refund the license fee for the balance of the license period to the

licensee or to the licensee’s estate.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 20_04, sectidn 340A.315, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Licenses. The commissioner may issue a farm winery license to

the owner or operator of a farm winery located within the state and producing table or,

-sparkling, or fortified wines. Licenses may be issued and renewed for an annual fee of

$50, which is in lieu of all other license fees required by this chapter.

EFFECTiVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment. -

Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 340A.315, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Sales. A license authorizes the sale, on the farm winery, premises,

of table or, sparkling, or fortified wines produced by that farm winery at on-sale or

* off-sale, in retail, or wholesale lots in total quantities not in excess of 50,000 gallons in

a calendar year, glassware, wine literature and accessories, cheese and cheese spreads,

other wine-related food items, and the dispensing of free samples of the wines offered
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for sale. Sales at on-sale and off-sale may be madé on Sundays between 12:00 noon and

12:00 midnight. Labels for each type or brand -produced must be registered with the

commissioner, without fee prior to sale.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 340A.315, subdivision' 3, 1s amended to read:
Subd. 3.- Applicability. Except as otherwise specified in this section, all provisions

of this chapter govern the production, sale, possession, and consumption of table or,

sparkling, or fortified wines produced by a farm winery.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment. .

Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 340A.315, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
Subd. 4. Minnesota products. If Minnesota produced or grown 'g‘rapes, gfape juice,
other fruit bases, or honey is not available in quantities sufficient to constitute a majority

of the table or, sparkling, or fortified wine produced by a farm winery, the holder of the

farm winery license may file an affidavit stating this fact with the commissioner. If the
commissioner, after consultation with the commissioner of agriculture, determihes this to
be true, the farm ‘Winery may use imported products and shall conﬁnue to be governed by
the provisions of this section. The affidavit is effective for a period of one year, after which
time the farm winery must use the required amount of Minnesota products as provided by

subdivision 1 unless the farm winery holder files a new affidavit with the commissioner.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enaétment.

Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2005 Supplement, section 340A.404, subdivision 2, is
amended to read:
Subd. 2. Special provision; city of Minneapolis. (a) The city of Minneapolis may -

issue an on-sale intoxicating liquor license to the Guthrie Theater, the Cricket Theatre, the

- Orpheum Theatre, the State Theatre, and the Historic Pantages Theatre, notwithstanding

the limitations of law, or local ordinance, or charter provision relating to zoning or school
or church distances. The licenses authorize sales on all days of the week to holders
of tickets for performances presented by the theaters and to members of the nonprofit
corporations holding the licenses and to their guests.

(b) The city of Minneapolis may issue an intoxicating liquor license to 510
Groveland Associates, a Minnesota cooperative, for ﬁse by a restaurant on the premises
owned by 510 Groveland Associates, notwithstanding limitations of law, or local

ordinance, or charter provision.
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(c) The city of Minneapolis may issue an on-sale intoxicating liquor license to

Zuhrah Shrine Temple for use on the premises owned by Zuhrah Shrine Temple at 2540

‘Park Avenue South in Minneapolis, and to the American Swedish Institute for use on

the premises owned by the American Swedish Institute at 2600 Park Avenue South,
notwithstanding limitations of law, or local ordinances, or charter provision relating to
zoning or school or church distances.' | |

(d) The city of Minneapolis may issue an on-sale intoxicating liquor license to
the American Association of University Women, Minneapolis branch, for use on the
premises owned by the American Association of University Women, Minneapolis branch,
at 2115 Stevens Avenue South in_Minneapolis, notwithstanding limitations of law, or local
ordinances, or charter proyisions relating to zoning or school or church distances.

(e) The city of Minneapolis may issue an on-sale wine license and an on-sale 3.2
percent malt liquor license to a restaurant located at 5060 Penn Avenue'South, and an

on-sale wine license and an on-sale malt liquor license to a restaurant located at 1931

"Nicollet Avenue South, notwithstanding any law or local ordinance or charter provision.

(f) The city of Minneapolis may issue an on-sale wine license and an on-sale malt
liquor license to the Brave New Workshop Theatre located at 3001 Hennepin Avenue
South, the Theatre de la Jeune Lune, the Illusion Theatre located at 528 Hennepin Avenue
South, the Hollywood Theatre located at 2815 Johnson Street Northeast, the Loring
Playhouse located at 1633 Hennepin Avenue South, the Jungle Theater located at 2951
Lyndale Avenue South, Brave New Institute locaterl at 2605 HennepinAvenue South,
the Guthrie Lab located at 700 North First Street, and the Southern Theatre located at

1420 Washington Avenue South, notwithstanding any law or local ordinance or charter '

provision. The license authorizes sales on all days of the week.

- (2) The city of Minneapolis may issue an on-sale intoxicating liquor license to
University G.ateway Corporation, a Minnesota nonproﬁt corporati‘on, for use by a
restaurant or catering operator at the building owned and operated by the University
GateWay Corporation on the University of Minnesota campus, notwithstandinglirnitations
of law, or loeal ordinance or charter provision. The license authorizes sales on all days of
the week.

(h) The eity of Minneapolis may issue an on-sale intoxicating liqnor license to the
Walker Art Center’s concessionaire or operator, for a restaurant and catering operator
on the prernises of the Walker Art Center, notwithstanding limitations of law, or local
ordinance or charter provisions. The license authorizes sales on all days of the week.

(1) The city of Minneapolis may issuean on-sale intoxicating liquor license to the

Guthrie Theater’s concessionaire or operator for a restaurant and catering operator on the
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premises of the Guthrie Theater, notwithstanding limitations of law, local ordinance, or

charter provisions. The license authorizes sales on all days of the week.

() The city of Minneapolis may issue an on-sale wine license and an on-sale malt

liquor Jicense to the Minnesota Book and Literary Arts Building, Inc.’s concessionaire or

operator, for a restaurant and catering operator on the premises of the Minnesota Book and

Literary Arts Building, Inc. ‘(dba Open Book), notwithstanding limitations of law, or local '

ordinance or charter provision. The license authorizes sales on all days of the week.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective upon approval Bv the’Minneapolis

City Council in the manner provided by Minnesota Statutes, section 645.021, -

notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, section 645.023, subdivision 1, paragraph (a).

Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 340A.404, subdivision 5, is amended to read:

~ Subd. 5. Wine licenses. (a) A municipality may issue an on;sale'Wine license with
the approval of the cemmissioner to-a restaurant having facilities for seating at least 25
guests at one time. A wine license permits the sale of wine of up to 14 percent alcohol by
volume for consumption with the sale ef food. A wine license authorizes the sale of wine
on all days of the week unless the issuing authoﬁty restricts the license’s authorization to
the sale of wine on all days except Sundays. | - |

- (b) The governing body of a municipélity may by ordinance authorize a holder of
an on-sale wine license issued pursuant to paragraph (a) who is also licensed to sell 3.2
percent malt liquors at on-sale pursuant to section 340A.411>,‘ and whose gross receipts
are at least 60 percent attributable to the sale of food, to sell intoxicating malt liquors
at on-sale without an additioneﬂ license.

(c) A municipality may issue an on-sale wine license with the approval of the

commissioner to a Iicensed bed and breakfast facility. A license under this paragraph
authorizes a bed and breakfast facility to furnish wine only to registered guests of the

facility and, if the facility contains a licensed commercial kitchen, also to guests attending

private events at the facility.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 10. [340A.4041] CULINARY CLASSES; ON-SALE LICENSE.

Subdivision 1. License authorized. A city or county may issue a limited on-sale

intoxicating liquor license to a business establishment: (1) not otherwise eligible for an

on-sale intoxicating liqilor license; and (2) that, as part of its business, conducts culinary

or cooking classes for which payment is made by each participant or advance _reservatioxi

required. The license authorizes the licensee to furnish to each participant in each class,
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| at no additional cost to the participant, up to a maximum of six ounces of wine or 12

ounces of intoxicating malt liquor, during and as part of the class, for consumption on the

licensed premises only.

Subd. 2. Samples. A license under this section also authorizes the licensee to

dispense to the public, at no charge, samples of up to one ounce of wine for purposes of

“ demonstrating nonalcoholic products for sale. o

Subd. 3. Fee. The issuing authority shall set the fee for a license under this section,

‘subject to section 340A.408, subdivision 2, paragraph (a).

Subd. 4. Application of other law. All provisions of this chapter that apply to

on-sale intoxicating liquor licenses, other than provisions inconsistent with this section,

apply to licenses issued under this section, except that section 340A.409 shall not apply.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2005 Supplement, section 340A.412, subdivision 4,

~ is amended to read:

Subd. 4. Licenses prohibited in certain areas. (a) No license to sell intoxicating
liquor may be issued within the following areas:

(1) where restricted against commercial ﬁse through zoning ordinances and other
proceedings or legal processes regularly had for that purpose, except licenses may be
issued to restaurants in areas which were restricted against commercial uses after the
establishment of the restaurant; | |

(2) within the Capltol or on the Capitol grounds, except as provided under Laws
1983, chapter 259, section 9, or Laws 1999, chapter 202, section 13;

(3) on the State Fairgrdunds or at any place in a éity of the first class within one-half
mile of the falrgrounds except as otherwise prov1ded by charter;

(4) on the campus of the College of Agnculture of the Umver31ty of Minnesota or at

-any place in a city of the ﬁrst class within one-half mile of the campus, provided that a city

may issue one on-sale wine license and one off-sale intoxicating liquor license in this area
that is not irichjded' in the area described in clause (3), except as provided by charter;

(5) within 1,000 feet of a state hospital, training school, reformatory, prison, or other
institution under the Supervision or control, in whole or in part, of the éommissioner_ of
human services or the commissionef of cofrections;

(6) in a town or municipality in which a majority of votes at the last election
at which the question of license was voted upon were not in favor of license under
section 340A.416, or within one-half mile of any such town or municipality, except that

intoxicating liquor manufactured within this radius may be sold to be consumed outside it;
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(7) at any plaée on the east side of the Mi_ssisSippi River within one-tenth of a mile
of the main building of the University of Minnesota unless (i) the liéensed establishment
is on property owned or operated by a nonprofit corpbration organized prior to J agluary
1, 1940, for and by former students of the Umversﬁy of Minnesota, or (11) the licensed
premises is Northrop Audltonum . ’

(8) within 1,500 feet of a state university, except that:

(i) the minimum distance in the case of Winona and Southwest State University is
1,200 feet, measured by a direct line from the nearest corner of the administration building
to the main entrance of the licensed establishment;

(ii) within 1,500 feet of St. Cloud State University one on-sale wine and }tv‘bv'o off-sale
intoxicating liquor licenses may be issued, measured by a direct line from the nearest
corner of the administration building to the main entrance of fhe licensed establishment;

(iii) at Mankato State University the distance is measured from the front door of

. the student union of the Highland campus; | ‘ -

(iv) a temporary license under section 340A.404, subdivision 10, may be issued to
a location on the grounds of a state university for an event sponsored or approved by
the state university; and

(v) this restriction does not apply to the area surrounding the premises teasedby of of

Metropolitan State University atF30-HenmepinAvente-South in aneapohs and
(9) within 1,500 feet of any public school that is not within a city.

(b) The restrictions of this subdivision do not apply to a manufacturer or wholesaler

of intoxicating liquor or to a drugstore or to a person who had a license originally issued

~lawfully prior to July 1, 1967.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 340A.414, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Eligibility for permit. (a) The commissioner may issue a permit under
this section only to: 7

(1) an applicant who has not, within five years prior to the application, been
convicted of a felony or of violating any provision of this chapter or rule adopted under -
this chapter;

2)a restauraﬁt;

(3) a hotel;

(4) an establishment licensed for the sale of 3.2vpercent malt liquor;

(5) aresort as defined in section 157.15; and
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(6)a club as defined in section 340A.101, subdivision 7, or an unincorporated club
otherwise meeting that definition:; and

(7) a bed and breakfast facility as defined in section 340A.411, subdivision 1.

(b) The commissioner may not issue a permit to a club holding an on-sale

intoxicating liquor license.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following ﬁnal enactment.

Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 340A.504, subdivision 6, is amended to read:
Subd. 6. Municipalities may limit houis. A municipality may further limit the

hours of sate on and off sales of alcoholic beverages, provided that further restricted

on-sale hours for intoxicating liquor must apply equally to sates on-sale hours of 3.2

percent malt hquor-and—mtomeatmghquor A city may not permit the sale of alcoholic

beverages during hours when the sale is prohibited by this section.

EFFECTIVE D_ATE‘. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 14. CITY OF NEW PRAGUE; LIQUOR LICENSE.

(a) The city of New Prague may issue an on-sale intoxicating liquor license for the

New Prague Golf Club grounds, clubhouse, and restaurant located in the city of New

Prague, notwithstanding any limitation of law, local ordinance, or charter provision. The

provisions of Minnesota Statutes, chapter 340A, apply to the license issued under this

section. The provisions of Minnesota Statutes, sections 340A.603 and 340A.604, apply

to the establishment licensed 'und}er'this section as if the establishment were a municipal

" liquor store, provided that the commissioner of public safety may not impose any penalty

on the' establishment under those sections if the city has imposed a comparable or greater

penalty on the licensee for the same offense. The license under this section authorizes

sales on all days of the week.

(b) The city of New Prague is the licensee under this section for purposes of

compliance with Minnesota Statutes, section 340A.409. The city of New Prague is

deemed the seller of alcoholic beverages under the license authorized by this sectio‘n for

4purposes of Minnesota Statutes, sec_tions 340A.801 and 340A.802.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment."
Amend the title accordingly PR

And when so amended that the bill be recommended to pass and be referred to
the full committee.

.......................................................................

: (Subcommittee Cha_ir)

March 20, 2006 .......c..ooooovern S
(Date of Subcommittee recommendation)
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Open Book
1011 Washington Avenue South, Suite 200
Minneapolis, MN 55415
(612) 215-2572

Minnesota’s center for reading, writing & book arts

Open Book, which opened in May 2000, is the first facility in the nation devoted to the
literary arts. A nonprofit organization founded by the Loft Literary Center, Milkweed
Editions and the Minnesota Center for Book Arts, Open Book is a focal point for the
flourishing creative writing, publishing, and printing arts activity in the Twin Cities,
which is home to more such organizations than anywhere but New York City.

The 52,000-square-foot center, designed by the award-winning firm of Meyer, Scherer,
& Rockcastle, is a renovation of three contiguous turn-of-the-century brick buildings.
Elements of the building’s history have been retained, including patches of original
wallpaper, fragments of now derelict stairs, and vintage windows and doors that have
been re-used throughout the building. Complementing the center’s architectural setting
are many original works by Minnesota artists celebrating the book.

Situated midway between the Mill City Museum and the new Guthrie Theater to the west
and Seven Corners theater and restaurant district on the east, Open Book has also been a
pivotal link in the redevelopment of the St. Anthony Falls Historic District corridor
between downtown Minneapolis and the University of Minnesota’s West Bank.

Open Book is also home to Coffee Gallery Café and Rosalux Art Gallery. First
established at the corners of Franklin and Lyndale Avenues South, Coffee Gallery is
one of the Twin Cities oldest independent coffee houses. Coffee Gallery offers a
variety of delicious home-made soups and sandwiches, as well as a wide assortment of
beverages and baked goods. Coffee Gallery caters many of the numerous meetings,
literary readings and lectures, arts receptions, and other events held at Open Book.
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Les

Senator Higgins introduced—

S.F. No. 3071: Referred to the Committee on Commerce,

A bill for an act
relating to liquor; authorizing the city of Minneapolis to issue a license to the
Minnesota Book and Literary Arts Building, Inc.; amending Minnesota Statutes
2005 Supplement, section 340A.404, subdivision 2.

BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF MINNESOTA:

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2005 Supplement, section 340A.404, subdivision 2,

1s amended to read:

Subd. 2. Special provisioh; city of Minneapolis. (a) The city of Minneapolis may

issue an on-sale intoxicating liquor license to the Guthrie Theater, the Cricket Theatre, the

Orpheum Theatre, the State Theatre, and the Historic Pantages Theatré, notwithstanding
the limitations of law, or local ordinance, or charter provision relating to zoning or school
or church distances. The licenses authorize sales on all days of the week to holders

of tickets for performances presented by the theaters and to members of the nonprofit
corporations holding the licenses and to their guests.

(b) The city of Minneapolis may issue an intoxicating quuor license to 510
Groveland Associates, a Minnesota cooperative, for use by a restaurant on the premises
owned by 510 Groveland Associates, notwithstanding limitations of law, or local
ordinance, or charter provision.

(c¢) The city of Minneapolis may issue an on-sale intoxicating liquor license to

Zuhrah Shrine Temple for use on the premises owned by Zuhrah Shrine Temple at 2540

‘Park Avenue South in Minneapolis, and to the American Swedish Institute for use on

the premises owned by the American Swedish Institute at 2600 Park Avenue South,
notwithstanding limitations of law, or local ordinances, or charter provision relating to

zoning or school or church distances.

Section 1. 1
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(d) The city of Minneapolis may issue an on-sale intoxicating liquor license to
the American Association of University Women, Minneapolis branch, for use on the
premises owned by the American Association of University Women, Minneapolis branch,
at 2115 Stevens Avenue South in Minneapolis, notwithstanding limitations of law, or local
ordinances, or chart;—:r provisions relating to zoning or school or church distances.

(e) The city of Minneapolis may issue an on-sale wine license and an on-sale 3.2
percent malt liquor license to a restaurant located at 5000 Penn Avenue South, and an
on-sale wine license and an on-sale malt liquor license to a restaurant located at 1931
Nicollet Avenue South, notwithstanding any law or local ordinance or charter provision.

(f) The city of Minneapolis may issue an on-sale wine license and an on-saﬂe malt
liquor license to the Brave New Workshop Theatre located at 3001 Hennepin Avenue
South, the Theatre de la Jeune Lune, the Illusion Theatre located at 528 Hennepin Avenue
South, the Hollywood Theatre located at 2815 Johnson Street Northeast, the Loring
Playhouse located at 1633 Hennepin Avenue South, the Jungle Theater located at 2951
Lyndale Avenue South, Brave New Institute located at 2605 Hennepin Avenue South,
the Guthrie Lab located at 700 North First Street, and the Southern Theatre located at
1420 Washington Avenue South, notwithstanding any law or local ordinance or charter
provision. The license authorizes sales on all days of the week.

(g) The city of Minneapolis may issue an on-sale intoxicating liquor license to
University Gateway Corporation, a Minnesota nonprofit corporation, for use by a
restaurant or catering operator at the‘building owned and operated by the University
Gateway Corporation on the University of Minnesota campus, notwithstanding limitations
of law, or local ordinance or charter provision. The license authorizes sales on all days of
the week.

(h) The city of Minneapolis may issue an on-sale intoxicating liquor license to the
Walker Art Center’s concessionaire or operator, for a restaurant and catering operator
on the premises of the Walker Art Center, notwithstanding limitations of law, or local
ordinance or charter provisions. The license authorizes sales on all days of the week.

(i) The city of Minneapolis may issue an on-sale intoxicating liquor license to the
Guthrie Theater’s concessionaire or operator for a restaurant and catering operator on the
premises of the Guthrie Theater, notwithstanding limitations of law, local ordinance, or
charter provisions. The license authorizes sales on all days of the week.

(1) The city of Minneapolis may issue an on-sale wine license and an on-sale malt

liquor license to the Minnesota Book and Literary Arts Building, Inc.’s concessionaire or

operator, for a restaurant and catering operator on the premises of the Minnesota Book and

Section 1. 2
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Literary Arts Building, Inc. (dba Open Book), notwithstanding limitations of law, or locél

ordinance or charter provision. The license authorizes sales on all days of the week.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Section 1. 3
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Senator .....eeeeeeeeennnnn. moves to amend S.F. No. 3071 as follows:

Page 3, delete line 3, and insert:

"EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective upon approval by the Minneapolis

City Council in the manner provided by Minnesota Statutes, section 645.021,

notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, section 645.023, subdivision 1, paragraph (a)."
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S.F. No. 3116 - New Prague On-Sale License

Author: Senator Thomas M. Neuville | V
Prepared by: Matthew S. Grosser, Senate Research (651/296-1890) \\\
Date: March 17, 2006

The bill authorizes the city of New Prague to issue an on-sale intoxicating liquor license to
the New Prague Golf Club, with the city of New Prague assuming insurance liability and financial
responsibility similar to a municipal liquor store.
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Senator Neuville introduced—

S.F. No. 3116: Referred to the Committee on Commerce.

1.1 : A bill for an act
relating to liquor; authorizing a liquor license for the New Prague Golf Club.

1.3 BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF MINNESOTA:

1.4 Section 1. CITY OF NEW PRAGUE; LIQUOR LICENSE.

1.5 The city of New Prague may issue an on-sale intoxicating liquor license for the

1.6 New Prague Golf Club grounds, clubhouse, and restaurant located in the city of New

1.7 Prague, notwithstanding any limitation of law, local ordinance, or charter provision.The

1.8 provisions of Minnesota Statutes, chapter 340A, apply to the license issued under this

1.9 section. The provisions of Minnesota Statutes, sections 340A.603 and 340A.604, apply

1.10 to the establishment licensed under this section as if the establishment were a municipal

1.11 liguor store, provided that t_he commissioner of public safety may not impose any penalty

1.1 on the establishment under those sections if the city has imposed a comparable or greater

1.13 penalty on the licensee for the same offense. The license under this section authorizes

1.14 sales on all days of the week.

115 Sec. 2. CITY OF NEW PRAGUE; LIABILITY.,

1.16 The city of New Prague is the licensee under section 1 for purposes of compliance

1.17 with Minnesota Statutes, section 340A.409. The city of New Prague is deemed the seller

1.18 of alcoholic beverages under the license authorized by section 1 for purposes of Minnesota

1.19 Statutes, sections 340A.801 and 340A.802.

Sec. 2. 1
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S.F. No. 2850 - Culinary Class On-Sale Wine and Beer
Licenses

Author: Senator Julianne E. Ortman V
Prepared by: Matthew S. Grosser, Senate Research (651/296-1890) \—L
Date: March 17, 2006

The bill authorizes a city or county to issue a limited on-sale liquor license to a business
establishment that conducts culinary or cooking classes and is not otherwise eligible for an on-sale
license. The license would limit the establishment to offering up to six ounces of wine or twelve
ounces of beer for consumption on premise during or as part of the class. The license would also
permit the establishment to offer one-ounce wine and beer samples to the public at no charge for the
purpose of demonstrating products for sale.
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Liquor License Proposal

Brian Albright — Owner



Objective

e Who are we?

* What is the need for the Legislative
Change”?
« What is the impact of the Change?



Food is Life...

..Learn to Live well
at
Kitchen Sync!






Who are we?

« Kitchen Sync is a retail store located in
Waconia Minnesota specializing in
Kitchenware, small appliances and
cooking classes.

« Competitors include: Williams-Sonoma;
Bed, Bath & Beyond; Marshall Fields;
Cooks of Crocus Hill; Kitchen Window;
Kitchen Party & Let’'s Cook



Who are we?

« Cooking Classes represent 11% of
revenue at Kitchen Sync

« Cooking Classes create the perfect arena
for product demonstration crucial to
product sales

e Chef’s from around the Twin Cities are
Invited to teach

— Restaurants featured include: Kincaids,
Fhima's, Redstone, Wildfire, Nancy’s Landing



What is the need for the Legislative
Change?

e Our Business Model is to provide products and
services to help consumers enhance their home
culinary experience

« Part of the complete dining experience is to
enjoy a perfectly paired wine or beer that is
unique to the menu

» Qur goal is to afford that same experience
during our classes for registered guests of
drinking age by providing a complimentary wine
or beer sample



What is the need for the Legislative
Change?

« Some of our retail products (non alcoholic)
are designed to enhance the wine tasting
experience

* A demonstration of such products are
necessary to explain the benefit
 Examples:

— Riedel Stemware
— The “Wine Clip”



What is the need for the Legislative
Change?

 As a retall store, our desireistonotbea -
restaurant or a re-seller of alcoholic

beverages...therefore we ask that this bill
be considered



What is the impact of the Change?

i

 Consumers leave our store with the knowledge

and confidence to duplicate their experience at
home

« Consumers can go to a licensed liquor retailer
with the ability to make a more informed
purchase decision on wine or beer choices

« Consumers can go into a restaurant with a better
understanding of menu descriptions and the
liguor choices that they have

« Kitchen Sync can continue to purchase the wine
used for samples, at a licensed liquor retailer
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TIME QUT KITCHEN SYNC WACONIA

TOM WALLACE » twallace@startribune.corn

wildfire chef Tom Gladbach teaches a class in the kitchen area of the Kitchen Sync stors in Waconia, The store holds about 100 cooking classes a year.

A captivating kitchen resource

© Kitchen Syncin Waconia is a fitHng place for food lovers to expand their horizons on culinary and geographic fronts.

By BILL WARD » billward@startribune.com

he scene: Sixteen students,
Trapl as can be, while a person-

able chef prepares a gourmet
meal in a beautifully appointed kiteh-
en store, with the owners and culinary
director on hand to field queries and
pour wine,

Edina? Stillwater? Uptown? Try a
strip mall in Waconia.

Kitchen Sync’s surprising setting
actually makes a lot of sense. Carv-
er County is among the state’s fastest-
growing and most affluent, Plus, “all
the business models we studied say
that [Waconia] is going to be the hub
of the southwest suburbs,” said Brian
Albright, who co-owns the store with
his wife, Kathy,

Kathy added: “It's agreat I5-mile ra-
dius. The majority age group in this
area is baby boomers, who have dis-
cretionary money.”

Indeed, most of the class attendees

were in that age group, along with a
smattering of younger women — all
of whom were lapping up everything
Tom Gladbach had to offer.

Gladbach, executive chef at Eden
Prairie’s enormously popular Wild-
fire restaurant, was preparing bacon-
wrapped scallops with apricot sauce,
a chopped salad with blue-cheese
dressing, bourbon-marinated beef
tendetloin tips, smashed potatoes
and key lime pie.

The students were engrogsed as
Gladbach walked them through the
recipes, but became positively mes-
metized when he shared some cook-
ing tips: how to cut up a lemon so
it won't shoot into your eyes, knife
maintenance, the “circulat” logic of
how to tell if the pie custard (or a
créme brulée) is finished, the vwery
best way to chop an onfon,

As happens in the best cooking
classes, they came for the recipes and
instruction, and they left witha raft of

KITCHEN SYNC

The store: 801 Marketplace
Drive, Waconia 952-442-302¢,
wwwkitchensyneinecom,

The classes: Held every Tuesday
and Thursday and sometiraes

on Saturday mornings. Upcora-
ing sessions inctude "Heliday
Brunch” on Thursday, "Artisan
Breads” ortJan. 5 and “An Bvening
with Restaurant Alma” onJan. 17,

great tips and some provisions.

“The classes are a way to showcase
our products,” said Brian Albright.
“and during the day, we want people
to linges; have a cup of coffee [roast-
&d on the premises], watch the Food
Network, Next thing we know, they
find something they didn’t know they

needed” (Class attendees geta 10 per-
cent discount on merchandise,) What
they find is merchandise that would
fit right in at a Williams-Sonoma or
any other upscale kitchen store, with
a “single” twist, “We don’t have four
kinds of cutlery or six brands of pots
and pans,” said Brian Albright, “We
made a conscious decision to do it
this way. We've done research in all
this merchandise, and this is the best
stuff there is”

So on Kitehen Syne shelves, shop-
pers will find only Wusthof knives,
All-Clad pots and pans, Signature
crockery.

“That's why we get people from
Bloomington and Edina,” Albright
said, “This is a boutique, Thisis a spe-
cialty store. We have stuff worth get-
ting in the car and driving for.”

All the way to a stdp mall in
‘Waconia,

Bill Ward « 512-673-7643
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Senator Ortman introduced-

S.F. No. 2850: Referred to the Committee on Commerce.

A bill for an act
relating to alcoholic beverages; authorizing issuance of on-salé wine and beer
licenses in connection with culinary or cooking classes; proposing coding for
new law in Minnesota Statutes, chapter 340A.

BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF MINNESOTA:

Section 1. [340A.4041] CULINARY CLASSES; ON-SALE LICENSE.

Subdivision 1. License authorized. A city or county may issue a limited on-sale

intoxicating liquor license to a business establishment: (1) not otherwise eligible for an

on-sale intoxicating liquor license; and (2) that, as part of its business, conducts culinary

or cooking classes for which payment is made by each participant or advance reservation

required. The license authorizes the licensee to furnish to each participant in each class, at

no additional cost to the participant, up to six ounces of wine or 12 ounces of intoxicating

malt liquor, during and as part of the class, for consumption on the licensed premises only.

" Subd. 2. Samples. A license under this section also authorizes the. licensee to

dispense to the public, at no charge, samples of up to one ounce of wine or malt liquor for

purposes of demonstrating products for sale.

Subd. 3. Fee. The issuing authority shall set the fee for a license under this section,

subject to section 340A.408, subdivision 2, paragraph (a).

Subd. 4. Application of other law. All provisions of this chapter that apply to

on-sale intoxicating liquor licenses, other than provisions inconsistent with this section,

apply to licenses issued under this section, except that section 340A.409 shall not apply.

Sec. 2. EFFECTIVE DATE.

Section 1 is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 2. 1



1.1

1.2

03/20/06 REVISOR RPK/SA

Senator .......... o moves to amend S.F. No. 2850 as follows:

Page 1, line 12, after "to" insert "a maximum of"

Page 1, line 16, after "demonstrating" insert "nonalcoholic”

A06-1254
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and Fiscal Analysis ' Senate
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75 Rev. DR. MARTIN LUTHER KING, JR. BLVD. . State Of Minnesota
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(651) 296-4791
'FAX: (651) 206-7747

Jo ANNE ZOFF SELLNER
DIRECTOR

S.F. No. 3230 - Regulation of Brewpubs

Author: Senator Yvonne Prettner Solon
Prepared by: Christopher B. St@ Senate Counsel (651/296-0539)
Date: March 16, 2006

Section 1 provides that a brewer need only attain a brewpub license for each municipality
where the brewer brews malt liquor instead of for each licensed premises. It also has a conforming
change.

Section 2 allows a brewpub to distribute its own products directly to other restaurants in
which it has an ownership interest or through licensed wholesalers to other retail licensees.
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Senators Solon, Scheid, Metzen and Pappas introduced—

S.F. No. 3230: Referred to the Committee on Commerce.

‘ A bill for an act
relating to liquor; modifying regulation of brewpubs; amending Minnesota
Statutes 2005 Supplement, section 340A.301, subdivisions 6, 7.

BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF MINNESOTA:

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2005 Supplefnent, section 340A.301, subdivision 6,
is amended to read: .

Subd. 6. Fees. The annual fees for licenses under this section are as follows:

(a) Manufacturers (except as provided in clauses

(b) and (c)) -~ $30,000
Duplicates $ 3,000

(b) Manufacturers of wines of not more than 25

percent alcohol by volume _ § 500

(c) Brewers who manufacture more than 3,500

barrels of malt liquor in a year $ 4,000

(d) Brewers who also hold one or more retail
on-sale licenses and who manufacture fewer

than 3,500 barrels of malt liquor in a year, at

Section 1. 1
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- any one licensed premises;-the-entire

tretiomofwhich-is-sotehvf :
e 1 . Cororfesal
fronrthatHeensed-premises. A brewer

licensed under this clause must obtain a

separate license for each hieensed-premises
municipality where the brewer brews malt

liquor. A brewer licensed under this clause
may not be licensed as an importer under this

chapter $ 500

(e) Wholesalers (except as provided in clauses

(), (g), and (h)) $ 15,000
Duplicates , $ 3,000

() Wholesalers of wines of not more than 25

percent alcohol by volume ' $ 3,750
(g) Wholesalers of intoxicating mait liquor $ 1,000
Duplicates § 25
(h) Wholesalers of 3.2 percent malt liquor $ 10

(i) Brewers who manufacture fewer than 2,000

barrels of malt liquor in a year - $ 150

(j) Brewers who manufacture 2,000 to 3,500

barrels of malt liquor in a year , § 500

If a business licensed under this section is destroyed, or damaged to the extent that
it cannot be carried on, or if it ceases because of the death or illness of the licensee, the
commissioner may refund the license fee for the balance of the license period to the

licensee or to the licensee’s estate.

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2005 Supplement, section 340A.301, subdivision 7, is
amended to read:
Subd. 7. Interest in other business. (a) Except as provided in this subdivision,
a holder of a license as a manufacturer, brewer, importer, or wholesaler may not have _
any ownership, in whole or in part, in a business holding a retail intoxicating liquor or
3.2 percent malt liquor license. The commissioner may not issue a license under this

section to a manufacturer, brewer, importer, or wholesaler if a retailer of intoxicating

Sec. 2. 2
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liquor has a direct or indirect interest in the manufacturer, brewer, importer, or wholesaler.
A manufacturer or wholesaler of intoxicating liquor may use or have property rented

for retail intoxicating liquor sales only if the manufacturer or wholesaler has owned the
property continuously since November 1, 1933. A retailer of intoxicating liquor may not
use or have property rented for the manufacture or wholesaling of intoxicating liquor.

(b) A brewer licensed under subdivision 6, clause (d), may be issued an on-sale
intoxicating liquor or 3.2 percent malt liquor license by a municipality for a restaurant
operated in the place of manufacture. Notwithstanding section 340A.405, a brewer
who holds an on-sale license issued pursuant to this paragraph or a brewer who
manufactures fewer than 3,500 barrels of malt liquor in a year may, with the approval
of the commissioner, be issued a license by a municipality for off-sale of malt liquor
produced and packaged on the licensed premises. Off-sale of malt liquor shall be limited
to the legal hours for off-sale at exclusive liquor stores in the jurisdiction in which the
brewer is located, and the malt liquor sold off-sale must be removed from the premises
before the applicable off-sale closing time at exclusive liquor stores. The malt liquor shall
be packaged in 64-ounce containers commonly known as "growlers." The containers
shall bear a twist-type closure, cork, stopper, or plﬁg. At the time of the sale, a paper
or plastic adhesive band, strip, or sleeve shall be applied to the container and extend
over the top 6f the twist-type closure, cork, stopper, or plug forming a seal that must be
broken upon opening of the container. The adhesive band, strip, or sleeve shall bear
the name and address of the brewer. The containers shall be identified as malt liquor,
contain the name of the malt liquor, bear the name and address of the brewer selling
the malt liquor, and shall be considered intoxicating liquor unless the alcoholic content
is labeled as otherwise in accordance with the provisions of Minnesota Rules, part
7515.1100. A brewer’s total retail sales at on- or off-sale under this paragraph may not
exceed 3,500 barrels per year, provided that off-sales may not total more than 500 barrels.

A brewer licensed under subdivision 6, clause (d), may distribute its own products to other

restaurants in which it has an ownership interest or through licensed wholesalers to other

retail licensees. A brewer licensed under subdivision 6, clause (d), may hold or have an
interest in other retail on-sale licenses, but may not have an ownership interest in whole or
in part, or be an officer, director, agent, or employee of, any other manufacturer, brewer,
importer, or ‘whélesaler, or be an affiliate thereof whether the affiliation is corporate or by
management, direction, or control. Notwithstanding this prohibition, a brewer licensed
under subdivision 6, clause (d), may be an affiliate or subsidiary company of a brewer
licensed in Minnesota or elsewhere if that brewer’s only manufacture of malt liquor is:

(i) manufacture licensed under subdivision 6, clause (d);

Sec. 2. 7 3
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(ii) manufacture in another state for consumption exclusively in a restaurant located
in the place of manufacture; or |

(iii) manufacture in another state for consumption primarily in a restaurant located
in or immediately adjacent to the place of manufacture if the brewer was licensed under
subdivision 6, clause (d), on January 1, 1995.

(c) Except as provided in subdivision 7a, no brewer as defined in subdivision 7a or
importer may have any interest, in whole or in part, directly or indirectly, in the license,

business, assets, or corporate stock of a licensed malt liquor wholesaler.

'

Sec. 2. ' 4
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1.1 Senator ........cccceeee.e. moves to amend S.F. No. 3230 as follows:

1.2 Pages 1 to 4, delete sections 1 and 2 and insert:

1.3 "Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2005 Supplement, section 340A.301, subdivision 6,
1.4 is amended to read:

1.5 Subd. 6. Fees. The annual fees for licenses under this section are as follows:
1.6 (a) Manufacturers (except as provided in clauses

1.7 (b) and (c)) $ 30,000
1.8 Duplicates $ 3,000
1.9 (b) Manufacturers of wines of not more than 25

1.10 percent alcohol by volume $§ 500
1.11 (¢) Brewers who manufacture more than 3,500

1.12 barrels of malt liquor in a year $ 4,000
1.13 (d) Brewers who also hold one or more retail

1.14 on-sale licenses and who manufacture fewer

1.15 than 3,500 barrels of malt liquor in a year,

1.16 at any one licensed premises, the entire

1.17 . production of which is solely for consumption

1.18 on tap on the any licensed premises or owned

1.19 ‘ by the brewer, for off-sale from that those

1.20 licensed premises, or for distribution through

121 licensed wholesalers to other retail licensees.

1.22 A brewer licensed under this clause must

1.23 obtain a separate license for each licensed

1.24 premises where the brewer brews malt liquor.

1.25 A brewer licensed under this clause may not

1.26 be licensed as an importer under this chapter $ 500
1.27 (e) Wholesalers (except as provided in clauses

1.28 (), (g), and (h)) ‘ $ 15,000
1.29 Duplicates $ 3,000
1.30 (f) Wholesalers of wines of not more than 25

1.31 percent alcohol by volume $ 3,750
1.32 (g) Wholesalers of intoxicating malt liquor $ 1,000
1.33 Duplicates $ 25
34 (h) Wholesalers of 3.2 percent malt liquor $ 10
1.35 (1) Brewers who manufacture fewer than 2,000

1.36 ; barrels of malt liquor in a year $ 150
1.37 (G) Brewers who manufacture 2,000 to 3,500 :

1.38 barrels of malt liquor in a year $ 500
1.39 If a business licensed under this section is destroyed, or damaged to the extent that

1.40 it cannot be carried on, or if it ceases because of the death or illness of the licensee, the
1.41 commissioner may refund the license fee for the balance of the license period to the

1.42 licensee or to the licensee’s estate."

143 Amend the title accordingly
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Senator Dibble introduced-

S.F. No. 2835: Referred to the Committee on Commerce.

‘ A bill for an act
relating to liquor; license restrictions; making a technical change; amending

Minnesota Statutes 2005 Supplement, section 340A.412, subdivision 4.
BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF MINNESOTA:

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2005 Supplement, section 340A.412, subdivision 4,
is amended to read:

Subd. 4. Licenses prohibited in certain areas. (a) No license to sell intoxicating
liquor may be issued within the following areas:

(1) where restricted against commercial use through zoning ordinances and other
proceedings or legal processes regularly had for that purpose, except licenses may be
issued to restaurants in areas which were restricted against commercial uses after the
establishment of the restaurant;

(2) within the Capitol or on the Capitol grounds, except as provided under Laws
1983, chapter 259, section 9, or Laws 1999, chapter 202, section 13; v

(3) on the State Fairgrounds or at any place in a city of the first class within one-half
mile of the fairgrounds, except as otherwise provided by charter;

(4) on the campus of the College of Agriculture of the University of Minnesota or at
any place in a city of the first class within one-half mile of the campus, provided that a city
may issue one on-sale wine license and one off-sale intbxicating liquor license in this area
that is not included in the area described in clause (3), except as provided by charter;

(5) within 1,000 feet of a state hospital, training school, reformatory, prison, or other
institution under the supervision or control, in whole or in part, of the commissioner of

human services or the commissioner of corrections;

Section 1. 1
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(6) in a town or rﬁunicipality in which a majority of votes at the last election
at which the question of license was voted upon were not in favor of license under
section 340A.416, or within one-half mile of any such town or municipality, except that
intoxicating liquor manufactured within this radius may be sold to be consumed outside it;

(7) at any place on the east side of the Mississippi River within 6ne-tenth of a mile
of the main building of the University of Minnesota unless (i) the licensed establishment
is on property owned or operated by a nonprofit corporation organized prior to January
1, 1940, for and by former students of the University of Minnesota, or (ii) the licensed
premises is Northrop Auditorium,;

(8) within 1,500 feet of a state university, except that:

‘(i) the minimum distance in the case of Winona and Southwest State University is
1,200 feet, measured by a direct line from the nearest corner of the administration building
to the main entrance of the licensed establishment;

(i1) within 1,500 feet‘ of St. Cloud State University one on-sale wine and two off-sale
intoxicating liquor licenses may be issued, measured by a direct line from the nearest
corner of the administration building to the main entrance of the licensed establishment;

(iii) at Mankato State University the distance is measured from the front door of
the student union of the Highland campus;

(iv) a temporary license under section 340A.404, subdivision 10, may be issued to
a location on the grounds of a state university for an event sponsored or approved by
the state university; and

(v) this restriction does not apply to the area surrounding the premises leased by
Metropolitan State University at 736 1501 Hennepin Avenue South in Minneapolis; and

(9) within 1,500 feet of any public school that is not within a city.

(b) The restrictions of this subdivision do not apply to a manufacturer or wholesaler
of intoxicating liquor or to a drugstore or to a person who had a license originally issued

lawfully prior to July 1, 1967.

Section 1. 2
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S.F. No. 2981 - Liquor Sale Hours Modification
Author: Senator Sandra L. Pappas |
Prepared by: Matthew S. Grosser, Senate Research (651/296-1890) \}"8
Date: March 17, 2006

The bill would permit municipalities to impose more restrictive sale hours for intoxicating
liquor than for 3.2 percent malt beverages
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Open Book
1011 Washington Avenue South, Suite 200
Minneapolis, MN 55415
(612) 215-2572

Minnesota’s center for reading, writing & book arts

Open Book, which opened in May 2000, is the first facility in the nation devoted to the
literary arts. A nonprofit organization founded by the Loft Literary Center, Milkweed
Editions and the Minnesota Center for Book Arts, Open Book is a focal point for the
flourishing creative writing, publishing, and printing arts activity in the Twin Cities,
which is home to more such organizations than anywhere but New York City.

The 52,000-square-foot center, designed by the award-winning firm of Meyer, Scherer,
& Rockcastle, is a renovation of three contiguous turn-of-the-century brick buildings.
Elements of the building’s history have been retained, including patches of original
wallpaper, fragments of now derelict stairs, and vintage windows and doors that have
been re-used throughout the building. Complementing the center’s architectural setting
are many original works by Minnesota artists celebrating the book.

Situated midway between the Mill City Museum and the new Guthrie Theater to the west
and Seven Corners theater and restaurant district on the east, Open Book has also been a
pivotal link in the redevelopment of the St. Anthony Falls Historic District corridor
between downtown Minneapolis and the University of Minnesota’s West Bank.

Open Book is also home to Coffee Gallery Café and Rosalux Art Gallery. First
established at the corners of Franklin and Lyndale Avenues South, Coffee Gallery is
one of the Twin Cities oldest independent coffee houses. Coffee Gallery offers a
variety of delicious home-made soups and sandwiches, as well as a wide assortment of
beverages and baked goods. Coffee Gallery caters many of the numerous meetings,
literary readings and lectures, arts receptions, and other events held at Open Book.

WASHINGTON AVE SOUTH

ETROLOME
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Senator Pappas introduced-

S.F. No. 2981: Referred to the Committee on Commerce.

A bill for an act
relating to liquor; clarifying certain on-sale restrictions; amending Minnesota
Statutes 2004, section 340A.504, subdivision 6.

BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF MINNESOTA:

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 340A.504, subdivision 6, is amended to
read:

Subd. 6. Municipalities may limit hours. A municipality may further limit the

hours of sate on and off sales of alcoholic beverages, provided that further restricted

on-sale hours_for intoxicating liquor must apply equally to sates on-sale hours of 3.2

percent malt liquor-and-intexteatingtquer. A city may not permit the sale of alcoholic

beverages during hours when the sale is prohibited by this section.

Section 1. 1
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S.F. No. 3256 - Alcohol Without Liquid Devices

Author: Senator Jane B. Ranum
Prepared by: Christopher B. Stag@enate Counsel (651/296-0539)
Date: Mairch 16, 2006

This bill bans alcohol without liquid devices in the state. An alcohol without liquid device
is a machine that mixes an alcoholic beverage with pure or diluted oxygen to produce an alcohol
vapor that may be inhaled by an individual. Bona fide research is exempt from the prohibition.
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Senator Ranum introduced—

S.F. No. 3256: Referred to the Committee on Commerce.

. A bill for an act
relating to liquor; prohibiting alcohol without liquid devices; proposing coding
for new law in Minnesota Statutes, chapter 340A.

BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF MINNESOTA:

Section 1. [340A.706] ALCOHOL WITHOUT LIQUID DEVICES PROHIBITED.

Subdivision 1. Definition. For purposes of this section, an "alcohol without liquid

device" is a device, machine, apparatus, or appliance that mixes an alcoholic beverage

with pure or diluted oxygen to produce an alcohol vapor that may be inhaled by an

individual. An "alcohol without liquid device" does not include an inhaler, nebulizer,

atomizer, or other device that is designed and intended specifically for medical purposes

to dispense prescribed or over-the-counter medications.

Subd. 2. Prohibition. Except as provided in subdivision 3, it is unlawful for any

person or business establishment to possess, purchase, sell, offer to sell, or use an alcohol

without liquid device.

Subd. 3. Research exemption. This section does not apply to a hospital that -

operates primafily for the purpose of conducting scientific research, a state institution

conducting bona fide research, a private college or university conducting bona fide

research, or to a pharmaceuﬁcal company or biotechnology company conducting bona

fide research.

Section 1. . 1
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Senator ............... ..... moves to amend S.F. No. 3256 as follows:
Page 1, line 12, before "Except” insert "(a)"

Page 1, after line 14, insert:

"(b) Except as provided in subdivision 3, it is unlawful for any person or business

establishment to utilize a nebulizer, inhaler, or atomizer or other device as described in

subdivision 1, for the purposes of inhaling alcoholic beverages."
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S.F. No. 3198 - Bed and Breakfast Regulation
Author: Senator Steve Murphy |

Prepared by: Christopher B. Stancégenate Counsel (651/296-0539)
Date: March 16, 2006

Section 1 allows a bed and breakfast to serve wine to guests attending events at the facility
under its on-sale wine license if the bed and breakfast has a licensed commercial kitchen.

Section 2 makes a bed and breakfast facility eligible for a consumption and display permit.b
Section 3 makes the bill immediately effective.
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Senator Murphy introduced—

S.F. No. 3198: Referred to the Committee on Commerce.

» “ A bill for an act
relating to liquor; modifying terms of an on-sale wine license for certain bed and
breakfast facilities; allowing a bed and breakfast facility to hold a consumption
and display permit; amending Minnesota Statutes 2004, sections 340A.404,
subdivision 5; 340A.414, subdivision 2.

BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF MINNESOTA:

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 340A.404, subdivision 5, is amended to
read:
Subd. 5. Wine licenses. (a) A municipaﬁty may issue an on-sale wine license with
the approval of the commissioner to a restaurant having facilities for seating at least 25
guests at one time. A wine license permits the sale of wine of up to 14 percent alcohol by

volume for consumption with the sale of food. A wine license authorizes the sale of wine

oon all days of the week unless the issuing authority restricts the license’s authorization to

the sale of wine on all days except Sundays.

(b) The governing body of a municipality may by ordinance authorize a holder of

an on-sale wine license issued pursuant to paragraph (a) who is also licensed to sell 3.2

percent malt liquors at on-sale pursuant to section 340A.411, and whose gross receipts
are at least 60 percent attributable to the sale of food, to sell intoxicating malt liquors
at on-sale without an additional license.

() A municipality,may issue an on-sale wine license with the approval of the
commissioner to a licensed bed and breakfast facility. A license under this paragraph

authorizes a bed and breakfast facility to furnish wine only to registered guests of the

facility and, if the facility contains a licensed commercial kitchen, also to guests attending

events at the facility.

Section 1. 1
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Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutés 2004, section 340A.414, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Eligibility for permit. (a) The commissioner may issue a permit under
this section only to:

(1) an applicant who has not, within five years prior to the application, been
convicted of a felony or of violating any provision of this chapter or rule adopted under
this chapter;

(2) a restaurant;

(3) a hotel;

(4) an establishment licensed for the sale of 3.2 percent malt liquor;

(5) a resort as defined in section 157.15; and

(6) a club as defined in section 340A.101, subdivision 7, or an unincorporated club
otherwise meeting that definition.; and

(7) a bed and breakfast facility as defined in section 340A.411, subdivision 1.

(b) The commissioner may not issue a permit to a club holding an on-sale

intoxicating liquor license.

Sec. 3. EFFECTIVE DATE.

This act is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 3. 2
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S.F. No. 2305 - Off-Sale Licenses Restriction Elimination
Author: Senator Sheila M. Kiscaden |

Prepared by: Matthew S. Grosser, Senate Research (651/296-1890)

Date: March 17, 2006

The bill eliminates a restriction on the issuance of an off-sale intoxicating liquor license by
a county board for an establishment within one mile of a statutory or home rule city that had a
municipal liquor store prior to August 1, 1991, or within three miles of a nonmetro area city with a
. population greater than 5,000 that had a municipal liquor store prior to August 1, 1991.
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Senators Kiscaden and Scheid introduced--
S.F. No. 2305: Referred to the Committee on Commerce.

A bill for an act

relating to liquor; regulating county off-sale

licenses; amending Minnesota Statutes 2004, section

340A.405, subdivision 2. '

BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF MINNESOTA:

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 340A.405,
subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. [COUNTIES.] (a) A county may issue an off-sale
intoxicating license with the approval 6f the commissioner to
exclusive liquor stores located within unorganized territory of
the county.

(b) A county board of any county except Ramsey County
containing a town exercising powers under section 368.01,
subdivision 1, may issue an off-sale license to an exclusive.
liquor store within that town with the approval of the
commissioner. No license may be issued under this paragraph
unless the town board adopts a resolution supporting the
issuance of the license.

(c) A cbunty board of any'coﬁnty except Ramsey County
containing a town that may not exercise powers under section
368.01, subdivision 1, may issue an off-sale license to an
exclusive liquor store within that town, or a combination
off-sale and on-sale license to a restaurant within thaf town,
with the approval of the commissioner pursuant to section

340A.404, subdivision 6. No licensé may be issued under this

Section 1 1
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paragraph unless the town board adopts a resolution supporting
the issuance of the license.

(d) No license may be issued under this subdivision unless
a public hearing is held on the issuance of the license. Notice
must be given to all interested parties and to any city iocated
within three miles of the premises éroposed to be licensed. At
the hearing the county board shall consider testimony and
exhibits preéented by interésted parties and may base its
decision to issue or deny a license upon the nature of the
business to be conductéd and its impact upon any municipality,
the character and reputation of the applicant, and the propriety
of the location. Any hearing held under this paragraph is not
subject to chapter 14.

(e) A-county-beard-may-not-issue-a-iicense-under—-this
subdivision-to-a-persenFfor—an-estab}ishment-ieeated—}ess-than
one—miie—by—the—mosé—direct—route—from—the—boundary-of—any
statutery-or-home-rute-city-that-had-estabiished-a-municipal
tiquor-store-before-August-17-1991i;-providedy-that-a-county
beard—may—not-issue—a—new—}icense—under—thisfsubdivision—to—a
person-for—an—estabiishment—iocated—iess—than-three-miles—by-the
mest-direct-route-from-the-beoundary-of-a-city-that-{t:y-is
located-outside-the-metropotitan—-area—-as-defined-in-section
4735321 7-subdiviston-27-{2y-has-a-population-over-576660
according-to-the-most-recent-federat-decennigi-censusy-and-{3}
had-estabtished-a-municipat-tiquor-store-before-August-17-199%~<

+£3 The town board may impose an additional license fee in
an amount not to exceed 20 percent of the county licenSe fee.

t+gy (f) Notwithstanding any provision of this subdivision
or Laws 1973, chapter 566, as amended by Laws 1974, chapter 200,
a county board may transfer or renew a license that was issued
by a town board under Minnesota Statutes 1984, section 340.11,

subdivision 10b, prior to January 1, 1985.



City Services Provided To Townships

The City of Cleveland provides fire protection by annual contract to surrounding
townships. The fire dept. provides first response to accidents and illness, until an
ambulance arrives.

City of Browerville provides fire and ambulance services to several townships throughout
Todd county as well as mutual aid to outlying townships in neighboring counties.
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City of Bertha provides fire & ambulance. In addition, since Bertha has a police dept., the
city also provides mutual aid to county deputies and responds to accidents and
emergencies outside of the city limits. Bertha serves both Todd and Ottertail counties
with emergency services.

The City of Hawley JOINTLY provides both FIRE and First Responder services to the
City and 5 surrounding townships. The City pays 50% of FIRE and 75% of First
Responder Cost AND pays all the bills up front...only billing the townships 1/4.

The City Police Force is backup to the County Sheriffs department. If a call is in this
area, Hawley is often asked to respond and/or assist the County.

The City of Braham helps area townships with fire protection and emefgency (medical)
response.

We provide plowing of some township roads, ambulance services, fire services, and
storage of some of their equipment. - Kenyon






