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A Senate resolution

relating to appointment of a committee to escort the Governor to the House Chamber
for a Joint Convention.

BE IT RESOLVED, by the Senate of the State of Minnesota:
The President of the Senate shall appoint a committee of five members of the Senate to
act with a like committee on the part of the House of Representatives to escort the Honorable

Tim Pawlenty, Governor of the State of Minnesota, to the House Chamber on the occasion of the

Joint Convention on Thursday, March 9, 2006, at 11:45 a.m.
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A Senate concurrent resolution

relating to adjournment for more than three days.

BE IT RESOLVED, by the Senate of the State of Minnesota, the ‘House of Representatives

concurring:

1. Upon their adjournments on Thursday, March 2, 2006, the Senate and House of
Representatives may each set its next day of meeting for Wednesday, March 8, 2006.

2. Each house consents to adjournment of the other house for more than three days.
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A Senate concurrent resolution

adopting deadlines for the 2006 session.

BE IT RESOLVED by the Senate of the State of Minnesota, the House of Representatives

~concurring:

In accordance with Joint Rule 2.03, the deadlines in this resolution apply to the 2006

regular session.
(1) The first deadline is Tuesday, March 28.
(2) The second deadline is Tuesday, April 4.

(3) The third deadline is Tuesday, April 11.
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A Senate resolution

relating to expenses of interns and law clerks. |
BEIT RESOLVED, by the Senate of the State of Minnesota:

For the 2006 session of the 84th Legislature, each member of the Senate may be reimbursed
for the cost of meals and transportation furnished by the member to any volunteer interns aésisting
with the member’s work, up to a maximum of $50 per member during each week, beginning

Monday, February 6, 2006, and continuing until adjournment sine die of the 84th Legislature.

Each member of the Senate may be reimbursed for the cost of lodging furnished by the
member to a volunteer intern aésisting with the member’s work, if the intern is enrolled in an
intern program at a post—sécondary instifution outside the seven-county metropolitan area,’ uptoa’
maximum of $400 per member during each month, beginning February 2006 and continuing until

adjdurnment sine die of the 84th Legislature.

The Secretary of the Senate may reimburse up to two volunteer law clerks working in the
Office of Senate Counsel, Research, and Fiscal Analysis for the cost of meals and transportation
incurred by them in their work, up to a maximum of $50 during each week, for the 2006 session

of the 84th Legislature.

Requests for reimbursement must be submitted to the Secretary of the Senate monthly on
forms provided forAthi»s purpose. Requests by a member must include a é_ertiﬁcatidn by the member
that the amounts for which reimbursement is sought have been paid to the interns. Requests for
lodging reimbursement must be accompanied by receipts or other suitable documentation.

The Secretary of the Senate shall prepare énd issue warrants for payment of intern and law

clerk expenses from the Senate legislative expense fund.
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1.1 : A Senate resolution
1.2 relating to postage. |
3 BE IT RESOLVED, by the Senate of the State of Minnesota:
1.4 For the 2006 session of the 84th Legislature, the Secretary of the Senate may purchase
1.5 postage to furnish each member of the Senate 5,500 stamps. Each member named as chair of a
1.6 standing committee in the Senate resolution designating committee assignments may be furnished
1.7 with an édditional 1,000 stamps for the necessary business of the committee.

(NG
1.8 An additional postage allowance of 1,000 stamps is authorized for the Senate Majority |
1.9 Leader; five other members of the minority designated by the Senate Minority Leader; and five
1.10 members of the majority designated by the Senate Majority Leader.
1.11 Each member of the Senate shall receipt to the Secretary of the Senate for the postage

12 received.
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A Senate resolution

relating to mileage; setting the miles traveled by members of the Senate in going to
and returning from the Capitol.

BE IT RESOLVED, by the Senate of the State of Minnesota:

That Senate Resolution No.14 relating to mileage, Senate Permanent Journal page§ 31-32,

be amended as follows:
Page 1, after line 17, insert:
BONOFFE, TEITL .evveiiiieiiitieieriereieiesteeesteeesseeessresesaaesaseesssaessssseesasseeessssesseesans eeeeeeeeae———————eaeaas 42

Page 1, after line 18, insert:

CLARK, TaITY] ..ottt bbb s e 147

Page 1, line 26, delete:

GAITHER, DAVIA .....oovviviiiiieeeie ettt sttt eeeateeeseesaaseeesesssasesssssaeeassnseesassnsesessssseseessnnnes 55
Page 1, line 37, delete:

KLEIS, DAVE ...oeevieeeeeeeceeeeetee ettt ettt es s s et s s eaesesessstessasasmtsensessssanseosatesaseesneessenan 145
Page 1, line 37, insert:

KOCH, AIY ..ovveiieeeiece ettt s e e et e s e e s aesestesssaesassessessesessaeestesnnessaneseasesssseeaas 104
Page 1, line 56, delete:

OURADA, MATK ..oonvieiiieceeceeccceee ettt er e e eeeeeateseaeesaeseseeaseesneassseessnesanesns 101



1.1

1.2

14
15

1.6
1.7

1.8
1.9
1.10
1.11

1.12
1.13

1.14

115

1.17
1.18
1-19

1.20
1.21

1.22
-1.23
1.24
125
1.26

127
9

130

1.31
1.32

1.33
1.34
1.35

1.36
1.37

1.38
1.39
1.40

41
1.42
143

-2

02/28/06 . SENATE JOURNAL - CMP

A Senate resolution

relating to standing committees.

BE IT RESOLVED, by the Senate of the State of Minnesota:

SRES-8-06

That Senate Resolution No. 3 relating to standing commiittees, Senate Permanent Journal

pages 9-11, be amended to read:

COMMITTEE ON AGRICULTURE, VETERANS AND GAMING (14)

Vickerman, Chair Johnson, D.E. Rest
Skoe, Vice Chair Koering ' Sams
Day Lourey ~ Solon
Dille ' Murphy Wergin
Hann : Nienow :

COMMITTEE ON CAPITAL INVESTMENT (21)

~ Langseth, Chair Higgins | Pappas
Kiscaden, Vice Chair Johnson, D.E. Robling
Berglin o ' Kierlin Ruud
Chaudhary Koering Sams
Cohen . Larson ' Senjem
Frederickson ‘ ' Metzen Skoglund
Gerlach Murphy ' Stumpf

COMMITTEE ON COMMERCE (16)

Scheid, Chair Larson Pappas
Sparks, Vice Chair LeClair Pogemiller
Anderson Lourey Reiter
Belanger Metzen : Rest
Jungbauver . Michel Sams
Kiscaden

COMMITTEE ON CRIME PREVENTION AND PUBLIC SAFETY (9)

Foley, Chair Betzold Ortman
Skoglund, Vice Chair McGinn Ranum
Berglin Neuville ' Ruud

COMMITTEE ON EDUCATION (10)

Kelley, Chair Hann v " Saxhaug
Skoe, Vice Chair Michel | Stumpf
Bachmann _ Olson : Tomassoni

Clark

' . COMMITTEE ON ELECTIONS (10)
Wiger, Chair ' Koch Marty

Fischbach Limmer , Paris‘eau
Higgins : Marko Scheid
Hottinger

COMMITTEE ON ENVIRONMENT AND NATURAL RESOURCES (11)
Marty, Chair ‘ Frederickson Olson

Saxhaug, Vice Chair Hottinger Pariseau
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Bakk

Chaudhary

Cohen, Chair
Chaudhary, Vice Chair
Berglin

Dille

Fischbach

Frederickson

Gerlach
Hottinger

SENATE JOURNAL

Jungbauer
Nienow

COMMITTEE ON FINANCE (23)
Kierlin
Kiscaden
Langseth
Larson
Metzen
Murphy

Neuville
Nienow

CMP

Stumpf

Olson
Pappas
Pariseau
Ranum
Sams
Stumpf

- Wiger

COMMITTEE ON HEALTH AND FAMILY SECURITY (11)

Lourey, Chair
Berglin
Fischbach
Foley

Higgins
Kelley

" Kiscaden
LeClair

Moua
Nienow
Wergin

SRES-8-06

COMMITTEE ON JOBS, ENERGY AND COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT (16)

Anderson, Chair

- Bakk, Vice Chair

Bachmann
Clark

Dibble
Gerlach

-Betzold, Chair

Skoglund, Vice Chair

Chaudhary

Johnson, D.E., Chair
Rest, Vice Chair
Belanger

Berglin

Cohen

Day

Dille

Fischbach
Frederickson

Kelley

Koch
Kubly

Metzen
Pappas

'~ COMMITTEE ON JUDICIARY (9)

Hann
Limmer
Marty

COMMITTEE ON RULES AND ADMINISTRATIO

Hottinger
Kiscaden
Langseth
Larson
Limmer
Marty
Metzen
Neuville

Rosen
Ruud
Saxhaug -
Senjem
Sparks

Neuville
Ortman
Rest

N (25)
Olson

Pappas
Pariseau
Pogemiller
Ranum
Sams
Stumpf
Vickerman

COMMITTEE ON STATE AND LOCAL GOVERNMENT OPERATIONS (14)

Higgins, Chair
Wiger, Vice Chair
Day

Dibble

Fischbach

Johnson, D.J.
Kubly

Marko
Robling
Senjem

COMMITTEE ON TAXES (12)

Solon
Tomassoni
Vickerman
Wergin
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Pogemiller, Chair | | Betzold ., ~ McGinn
Tomassoni, Vice Chair , - Johnson, D.J. - Moua
Bakk Limmer - Ortman
Belanger ' Marty  Skoe

COMMITTEE ON TRANSPORTATION (19)

Murphy, Chair Jungbauer Reiter
Moua, Vice Chair Koch _ Rest
Bonoff Langseth : - Robling
Chaudhary ‘ i Marko o ; Senjem
Day McGinn : Vickerman
Dibble " 7 Ortman : Wi ger
Johnson, D.E. '

SRES-8-06



RULES & ADMINISTRATION COMMITTEE

March 1, 2006

. moves to amend the roster of the Senate employees as
follows: :

REGULAR ROSTER

Dennis Albrecht, Fiscal Analyst I, equity adjustment effective 7/1/05, at an annual salary of
$49 500 ‘

David Godfrey, Fiscal Analyst I, equity adjustment effective 7/1/05, at an annual salary of

$52,500 and was promoted to Fiscal Analyst II, effective 12/16/05, at an annual salary of
$57, 141. :

Aaron Morris, Legislative Assistant I, equity adjustment effective 7/1/05, at an annual salary of

$28,082 and was promoted to Leglslatlve Assistant II effective 1/17/06, at an annual salary of
$30,971.

Kathleen SWeeney Truitt, Legislative Assistant 1, equity adjustment effecﬁve 7/ 1/05, at an
annual salary of $30,235 and promoted to Legislative Assistant II, effective 1/22/06, at an
annual salary of $32,858. ‘ ’

Matt Wohlman, Legislative Assistant I, equity adjustment effective 7/1/053, at an annual salary

of $28,082 and promoted to Legislative Assistant I, effective 2/13/06, at an annual salary of
$30,971. :

"Ruslan Bocancea, Legislative Assistant I, equity adjustment effective 7/25/05, at an annual
salary of $27,806.

Eric Moen, Legislative Assistant I equity adjubstment effective 8/ 1/05, at an annual salary of
- $28,357. .

Tim Eng, LegislatiVe Assistant I, effective 10/3/05, at an annual salary of $27,531, transferred
to Legislative Assistant IV, effective 1/28/06, at an annual salary of $35,634.

John Kavanagh, Leadership Assistant ITI transferred to Executive Assistant to the Méjority
Caucus, effective 11/19/05, at an annual salary of $52,437.

Elizabeth Kleinboehl, Legislative Assistant I, effective 11/28/05 at an annual salary of
$28,357.

Mehssa Mapes, Legal Secretary I transferred to Assistant Engrossing Secretary, effective
11/28/05 at an annual salary of $33,680.

Elizabeth McLoone, Legislative Assistant II1, effective 12/5/05, at an annual salary of $31,833
and equity adjustment effective 1/1/06, at an annual salary of $32,151.

William Seuffert, Legislative Assistant I, effective 12/15/05, at an annual salary of $27,531.




Ben Braus, Legislative Assistant I equity adjustment effective 1/ 1/06 at an annual salary of
$28,357.

Erin Carlson, Legislative Assistant I1I, equity adjustment effective 1/1/06, at an annua] salary
of $32,151. ,

Alice Carlson, Legislative Assnstant I, equity ad_]ustment effective l/ 1/06 at an annual salary »
of $32 633.

Millie Cissell, Legislative Clerk I promoted to Legislative Clerk I, effective 1/1/06, at an
annual salary of $33,335.

Jess Myers, Researcher I prometed to Researcher 101, effective 1/1/06, at an annual salary. of
$43,073.

Linnea Michaelson, Legislative Assistant I, effective 1/3/06, at an annual salary of $27,531.

Mitch Berggren, Legislative Assistant I promoted to Legislative Assistant II, effective 1/7/06, -
at an annual salary of $30 971.

Diane Patnode, Committee Administrator I promoted to Commlttee Admlmstrator 11,
effectlve 1/7/06, at an annual salary of $54,924.

Kelly Wolfe, Commlttee Administrator I transferred to Leadershlp Ass1stant 101, effective ‘
1/7/06, at an annual salary of $37,987. '

Craig Sondag, Legislative Assistant IV transferred to Researcher i, effectlve 1/ 14/06, at an
annual salary of $36,703.

Kathleen Browne, Researcher II, effective 1/17/06, at an annual salary of $37,059.

Robin Prigge, Legislative Assistant II promoted to Legislative Ass1stant 111, effecnve 1/19/06,
at an annual salary of $36,095.

Brad Kustermann, Legislative Assistant I, effective 1/23/06, at an annual salary of $27,531.

Carolyn LaViolette, Legislative Assistant III transferred to Committee Administrator I, -
effective 1/23/06, at an annual salary of $35,634. ’

Marie Reigstad, Legislative Assistant I, effective 2/1/06, at an annual salary of $27,531.
Anne Carroll, Legislative Assistant 1, effective 2/6/06, at an annual salary of $27,531.
Michelle Allen, Counsel I, effective 2/ 13/06, at an annual salary of $49,037. |
Charice Broom, Legislative Assisiant I, effective 2/13/06, at an annual salary of $27,531.

David LaCoursiere, Communication Director, effective 2/21/06, at an annual salary of
$52,132.

- Matthew Elfritz, Legislative Assistant I, effective 2/23/06, at an annual salary of $27,531.



Shelby Winiecki, Analyst L éqpity adjustment effective 2/25/06, at an annual sal;dry of $47;734;
Gretchen Walczak, Legislative Assistant I, effective 2/27/06, at an annﬁal salary of $31,675.
Krista Boyd, Fiscal Analyst I, effective 2/27/06, at an annual salary of $46,056. |

‘ Susan Von Mosch, Fiscaj Analyst I, effective 3/8/06, at an annual salary of $60,150. |

Natasha Doren, Legislative Assistant I, effective 3/13/06, at an annual salary of $27,943.



MN Senate
2006 Temporary Hires

~ Office Job Classification | Date of lee/Rehlrer First Name ~LastName  Rehire/Chg. | Letter = Full-time Weekly . Annual

| : ' : | _ ofStaws | Sent Salary | Salary

Counsel |Legal Secretary | L 22772006 JoAmn  Bosse R x $625 | $32,500
Counsel o |Legal Secretary | i ‘ 3/6/2006 'Suzanne Geagan R x4 $825 777@25;09
Engrossing Leg. Asst. | 2/6/2006 lsabrina |Adkins-Schuck | | x  $529 | $27,508 |
Engrossing Leg. Asst. | | 2/6/2006 EAmangg \Dockter Pox $529 | $27,508
Journal Prod :Leg. Asst. | . Gl 2/20/2006  Ellen | Gerdts Lox $529 | $27,508
Sec. of Senate  iLeg. Clerk I! o MI‘"_ ) '232— 2/27/2006 ‘Mark ~_iEngebretson R b o 405 ,$£§Zﬂ
Senate Office  'Leg. Clerk II . 231 | 2/15/2006  John Krapek R x $515 | $26,780
Messenger ‘Messenger | B40 | 3//2006  Dick  long R x  $520 | $27,040
Messenger ~ {Messenger . B40 | 3112006  dim  ‘Wurst R Cox - ,31539,,, $27,040
Messenger __{Messenger . B40 . 3/1/2006 Alex  Luther , Lox 483 25116
Page  ICmte. Page 303 | 2/27/2006  Bea Ludens R x $495 | $25.740
Page .Cmte. Page N 306 | 22772006 Brock  Bowman R | x $495 | $25,740
Page (Cmte. Page B 300 | 2/27/2006 __ Jeanna  Pefon R | x  $495 §$25740
Page . ‘Cmte. Page 328 2/27/2006 _____iCatherine ‘Doyle Lox _ $483 | $25,116
Page imte. Page 235 2/27/2006 !Jonathan ﬁSchaan - X $483 | $25,116
Page {Cmte. Page | 208 | 2/27/2006 \Jaclyn {Urness Pox $483 | $25,116
Page \Cmte. Page | 205  2/27/2006 Marisa  Howe B Cox $483 | $25,116
Page  .Cmte. Page P 226 2/27/2006 Jonathan  'Campbell . x 4483 §25116
Page ~ Cmte. Page | M [ 2027/2006  Derek  lasen | x . $83]$§25116
Page B ;E:_rpte. Page - »3 ) 1_22 L 2/27/2006 'Scott chkman ) R ‘ X B $i.f_35 A4§g§,_z4o
Page  Cmte. Page o121 2/27/2006  Laua  Blubaugh | x  $483 ! $25,116
Page Cmte. Page 120 2/27/2006 Katy Lehmamn x 3483 §25,116
Page Cmte. Page B | G24 2/27/2006  Kathleen [Eays  x $483 | $25,116
Page i .Cmte. Page i G24 L 3/16/2006 ~ Marnie Buau - R x _szfg_Sf $25,740
Page Cmte. Page A 2/27/2006  'Daniel Hicks X $483 | $25,116
Dup. Lleg.Clerkli(Dup) | BA5 | 3/1/2006  Tom Pate R x $520 ' $27,040
Dup. ~|Leg. Clerk Il (Dup) | B15 | 2/27/2006  |Patrick  iDaly . e x $483 | $25,116 |
Media Asst. Photographer ! B44 2/27/2006 Shelley  ‘Hawes i X . $556 “$28,§§97
Media Prod. Tech. B 2/27/2006  Scott  Comell  x  $529 | $27,508 |
Media  Prod.Tech. B-14 212772008 [Chuck  iTuming - X  §529 | $27,508
Sergeant  Sergeant Gi | 272006 John  Ask . R x 8520 | $27,040
Sergeant  Sergeant =zl _2127/2006 |Herb  Cook o C . x $520 | $27,040
Sergeant Sergeant _ G| 2l72008  Dick  Lndhom R x| | $520 | §27.040
Sergeant  'Sergeant G-1 2/27/2006 IDick Psterson . R X $520  $27,040
Sergeant N ‘Sergeant L G-1 2/27/2006 :Tom “Jung R X $520 | $27,040

temp 1o~ "= 3.2006 .xls

2/28/2006
Page 1




MN Senate -

2006 Temporary Hires

temp roster 3.2006 .xis

Office Job Classification | Room | Date of Hire/Rehire : First Name | LastName | Rehire/Chg. | Letter | Full-time Weekly | Annual
| . | ofStatus  Sent |  Salary | Salay
Sergeant ISergeant 2/27/2006 lLarry  iVangen . R $507 | $26,364
Sergeant 'Sergeant 2/27/2006 Bob Davis R x| $495 . $25,740
Sergeant  iSergeant s i 2/27/2006 John ‘Lagoo R X ) ~ $495 | $25,740 ]
Sergeant :Sergeant (on-call) o G-1 | (tobedetermined) R. Freggrigkm1‘§w§‘rls‘ggﬁmwfﬁ R X $495 | $25,740
Sergeant : Sergeant (on-call) G2 (to be determined) |Jerry | Callinan o X $483 © $25,116
Sergeant Sgt. - Parking | Park 2/20/2006  Lary  jLarson ; R x $507 | $26,364
Sergeant 'Sgt. - Parking : Park ) 2/20/2006 ‘Duane ‘Goldammer R B $483 | $25,116
Rep. Cauc. ‘Page " 185 | 3/1/2006 i Aaron .Cocking f o X $483 | $25,116
Rep. Cauc. ‘Page 155 _ 3/1/2006 |Julie :Coverdale - ,,,_-_;‘L $483 | $25,116
Rep. Cauc. Page 155 3/1/2006 jAaron ‘Solem e X _ $483 ! $25,116 7
SIS -Comp.Sprt.Spec.(part-time) G-1 2/16/2006 : Gregory Floren ~x - _ $529 : $27,508
SIS ‘Comp.Sprt.Spec.(part-time) G-1 ~ 2/16/2006 Brett  Boling L x  $520  $27,508
sis ‘Comp.Sprt.Spec. G 2/13/2006  |Julian Johnson X $529 | $27,508
Majority Cauc.  iLeg. Asst. | I G131 1/17/2006 iGreg {Walz-Chojnacki | , X $529 | $27,508

2/28/2006
Page 2



Legislative Coordinating Commission

72 State Office Building  St. Paul, MN 55155-1201 Phone: (651) 296-9002 Fax: (651) 297-3697 TDD (651) 296-9896

House Senate
Representative Steve Sviggum, Chair Senator James Metzen, Vice-Chair
Representative Ron Abrams Senator Dean Johnson
Representative Matt Entenza Senator William Belanger
Representative Erik Paulsen Senator Dick Day
Representative Laura Brod Senator Lawrence Pogemiller
Representative Mary Murphy Senator Richard Cohen

DATE: December 1, 2005

TO: Members of the LCC

FROM: Greg Hubinger

RE: Summary of proposed changes to the 2006-2007 Benefit Book

‘This memo summarizes proposed changes to the “Legislative Plan for Employee Benefits and
Policies,” which establishes health insurance benefits, vacation and sick leave accrual policies, and
numerous other benefits for legislative branch employees in the House, Senate, Joint Agencies, and
the Commissions. The insurance, vacation, severance, and sick leave policies are effective when
adopted by the LCC. Other provisions are effective when they are adopted by the respective Rules
Committees of the House and Senate.

A staff group from the House, Senate, and various joint legislative agencies met over the last two
months to develop the proposed amendments to the Plan. The proposed changes represent the
consensus of that staff group. A list of the staff who were members of the Benefit Book group is
attached. A copy of the Benefit Book in legislative format is also attached.

This summary describes the changes under three headings: “Conforming changes,” “Staff
proposals,” and “Clarifications.” The practice of the LCC is to model the Benefit Book after
collective bargaining agreements and compensation plans for employees of the executive branch.
There are also a number of changes proposed to conform to changes in state statute. Following these
conforming changes are proposals suggested by staff to address other personnel issues. Finally, there
is a third section summarizing changes to clarify current practices, or establishing consistent policies
among the appointing authorities.

Conforming changes
1) Update insurance chapter. (p. 29). Under Minnesota Statutes section 43A.18, subdivision 6,

the LCC is responsible for establishing insurance coverage for staff and members of the
Legislature. Because the Legislature has traditionally decided to purchase insurance coverage



2
through the State Employee Group Insurance Program (SEGIP), the LCC must adopt the
insurance coverage that will become effective on January 1, 2006. Members and staff completed
open enrollment for the new coverage during the first two weeks of November.

The health, dental, life, and disability benefits provisions are initially bargained through a joint
labor management committee that includes exclusive representatives from all the state’s unions.
Final bargaining is completed between the state and the exclusive representatives for each union.

As a result, the insurance provisions themselves are generally consistent from contract to
contract.

The major changes include:
Health insurance

* Monthly premiums paid by the state remain unchanged in CY06 from the current levels in effect in
CYO05. The state’s share for employee-only coverage will stay the same, at $368.68. The state’s
share for dependent coverage remains the same at $608.16.

» Monthly premiums paid by employees for family coverage will remain at $107.32 in CY 06.

« Several provisions first negotiated two years ago continue:
- For family health insurance coverage, retain the contribution rate for dependents at an
85/15 split. For employee-only coverage, the state will continue to pay 100% of the premium.
- Employees will have guaranteed access to Tier 2 clinics.
- Tier 4 is continued for clinics that have higher rates.

* Office visit copays increase by $5 for Tiers 1, 2 and 3. The new copays will be $20 for Tier 1 and
$25 for Tiers 2 and 3. A fixed co-pay of $35 has been established for Tier 4. However, employees
who complete an automated health assessment receive a $5 reduction in their office copays. The
reduced copay will apply to the employee and family members.

* Access to Minute Clinics is available at a $10 copay for each Tier. There is no deductible.

¢ The maximum drug out-of-pocket cost continues at $650 for the employee and $1,300 for
dependents.

e The maximum non-drug out-of-pocket cost continues at $1,000 for the employee and $2,000 for
dependents. :

Dental insurance through the State Dental Plan
* The employer will continue to pay up to 90% of the employee-only coverage, but will require that
the employee pay a minimum of $5 per month for that coverage. The employer will continue to pay

50% of the premium for dependent coverage.

 Coverage for many dental procedures (fillings, oral surgery, and crowns) is increased from 50% to
60%. -

2) Salary savings leave. (p. 25). Comply with 2005 session laws, chapter 156, article 3, section 4,
providing for voluntary unpaid leaves of absence. Permit employees to take up to 1,040 hours of



3)

4)

5)

6)

7

1)

2)

3
leave during calendar years 2006 and 2007. The employee continues to accrue vacation and sick
leave, and be eligible for paid holidays and insurance benefits. If the employee makes the
employee contribution to the employee’s retirement plan, the appointing authority must make the
employer contribution. Salary savings leave provisions have been included in the state
government finance appropriations bill for several biennia.

Although the law provides for using this leave by June 30, 2007, staff propose to continue
permitting use of this leave through the 2007 calendar year.

We also propose (p. 12) that if an employee leaves legislative service, the employee be permitted
to cash out up to 300 hours of vacation leave, if the employee has taken unpaid leave in that year.
The normal limit is 275 hours.

Military leave. (p. 23). Comply with 2005 session law amendments to Minn. Stat. 192.26, and
43A.183, providing for payment of salary differentials for members of the National Guardand
others called to active duty.

Bone marrow and organ donation leaves. (pp. 23 and 24) Comply with 2005 session law
providing for mandatory leave for bone marrow donors. Although the law providing for
mandatory organ donation leave expired, continue to provide paid leave for these donors at the
option of the appointing authority.

Other paid leaves. (pp. 23 and 24). Comply with 2005 session laws providing for mandatory
leaves for domestic abuse, victim witness, harassment, and quarantine.

Expense reimbursement. (p.55). Conform to changes in the Commissioner’s and
Managerial Compensation Plans, and provide reimbursement for specially equipped personal
vans at the IRS rate plus $.09. Reimburse personal aircraft expenses at $99.5 cents per mile
or any greater or lesser amount set by the General Services Administration.

Cashing out of vacation pay. (p.14). Normally, when an employee leaves legislative service,
the maximum amount of their vacation leave balance that is cashed out is the cap (generally
275 hours.) Any amount in excess of the cap is forfeited. We propose permitting the entire
vacation leave balance to be liquidated if the employee has died, similar to the Commissioner
and Managerial Plans.

Staff proposals

Use of sick leave. (pp.15-16). Our current plan permits employees to use sick leave to care for
dependents or children, and for parents. We propose permitting employees to use a limited
amount of sick leave (up to five days) to care for their siblings, grandparents, grandchildren and
in-laws.

Vacation leave accrual. (p. 11). As a way to encourage staff retention, we propose permitting
employees with 40 or more years of state service to earn vacation leave at a higher rate.
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3) Reappointments. (p. 13). Under our current plan, employees who are re-appointed to legislative

4)

service within four years of leaving the legislature, another state agency or certain other
employers accrue vacation leave based on the combined length of service for all of those
employers. Staff propose to increase the “look back™ to ten years. The extension of the look back
would also apply to the re-posting of a former employee’s sick leave bank (pp. 18-19). Current
employees who have previous experience with an appropriate employer within the ten year
period may also apply to have that previous service considered.

Lactation room. (p. 5). The House and Senate each provide a lactation room for employees who
are nursing mothers. We add a paragraph describing this so that employees are more aware that

they are available.

Clarifications

- These proposed changes are technical in nature, provide greater clarity, or indicate greater
consistency in policies across legislative offices.

1)

2)

3)

4)

Health insurance. (pp.46) Clarify ambiguous language regarding dental care coverage.

Health insurance eligibility. (p.32). Clarify that while part time employees may participate in
the State Employee Group Insurance Program, it must be at their own cost. This conforms to
other state contracts and plan, and our past practice.

Mandatory retirement. (p. 10). Eliminate a reference to employees being mandatorily retired in
a description of holiday pay. Employees of the legislature do not have a mandatory retirement
age.

Vacation leave maximum accruals. (p. 12). When describing the maximum amount of
vacation leave an employee can accrue, eliminate references to specific years.

If you have any questions about these proposed changes, please feel free to call me at
651.296.2963.

Attach: Benefit Book

Staff group members



Benefit Book Staff Group

The following participated in the staff group that developed the proposed changes to the
Legislative Plan for Employee Benefits and Policies:

Karen Veninga, Senate

Kelly Knight, House of Representatives

Patrick Flahaven, Senate

Tom Pender, House Research

Peter Wattson, Senate Counsel, Research & Fiscal Analysis
Michele Timmons, Office of Revisor of Statutes
Robbie LaFleur, Legislative Reference Library

Eric Jacobsen, Office of the Legislative Auditor
Shannon Tupper, House of Representatives

Chad Thuet, Legislative Coordinating Commission
Greg Hubinger, Legislative Coordinating Commission



Legislétive Coordinating Commission

72 State Office Building  St. Paul, MN 55155-1201 Phone: (651) 296-9002 Fax: (651) 297-3697 TDD (651) 296-9896

House Senate
Representative Steve Sviggum, Chair Senator James Metzen, Vice-Chair
Representative Ron Abrams Senator Dean Johnson
Representative Matt Entenza Senator William Belanger
Representative Erik Paulsen Senator Dick Day
Representative Laura Brod Senator Lawrence Pogemiller
Representative Mary Murphy Senator Richard Cohen

DATE: December 1, 2005

TO: Members of the LCC

FROM: Greg Hubinger

RE: Summary of proposed changes to the 2006-2007 Benefit Book

‘This memo summarizes proposed changes to the “Legislative Plan for Employee Benefits and
Policies,” which establishes health insurance benefits, vacation and sick leave accrual policies, and
numerous other benefits for legislative branch employees in the House, Senate, Joint Agencies, and
the Commissions. The insurance, vacation, severance, and sick leave policies are effective when
adopted by the LCC. Other provisions are effective when they are adopted by the respective Rules
- Committees of the House and Senate.

A staff group from the House, Senate, and various joint legislative agencies met over the last two
months to develop the proposed amendments to the Plan. The proposed changes represent the
consensus of that staff group. A list of the staff who were members of the Benefit Book group is
attached. A copy of the Benefit Book in legislative format is also attached.

This summary describes the changes under three headings: “Conforming changes,” “Staff
proposals,” and “Clarifications.” The practice of the LCC is to model the Benefit Book after
collective bargaining agreements and compensation plans for employees of the executive branch.
There are also a number of changes proposed to conform to changes in state statute. Following these
conforming changes are proposals suggested by staff to address other personnel issues. Finally, there
is a third section summarizing changes to clarify current practices, or establishing consistent policies
among the appointing authorities.

Conforming changes
1) Update insurance chapter. (p. 29). Under Minnesota Statutes section 43A.18, subdivision 6,

the LCC is responsible for establishing insurance coverage for staff and members of the
Legislature. Because the Legislature has traditionally decided to purchase insurance coverage
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through the State Employee Group Insurance Program (SEGIP), the LCC must adopt the
insurance coverage that will become effective on January 1, 2006. Members and staff completed
open enrollment for the new coverage during the first two weeks of November.

The health, dental, life, and disability benefits provisions are initially bargained through a joint
labor management committee that includes exclusive representatives from all the state’s unions.
Final bargaining is completed between the state and the exclusive representatives for each union.
As a result, the insurance provisions themselves are generally consistent from contract to
contract.

The major changes include:
Health insurance

* Monthly premiums paid by the state remain unchanged in CY06 from the current levels in effect in
CYO0S5. The state’s share for employee-only coverage will stay the same, at $368.68. The state’s
share for dependent coverage remains the same at $608.16.

» Monthly premiums paid by employees for family coverage will remain at $107.32 in CY 06.

* Several provisions first negotlated two years ago continue:
- For family health insurance coverage, retain the contribution rate for dependents at an
85/15 split. For employee-only coverage, the state will continue to pay 100% of the premium.
- Employees will have guaranteed access to Tier 2 clinics.
- Tier 4 is continued for clinics that have higher rates.

« Office visit copays increase by $5 for Tiers 1, 2 and 3. The new copays will be $20 for Tier 1 and
$25 for Tiers 2 and 3. A fixed co-pay of $35 has been established for Tier 4. However, employees
who complete an automated health assessment receive a $5 reduction in their office copays. The
reduced copay will apply to the employee and family members.

 Access to Minute Clinics is available at a $10 copay for each Tier. There is no deductible.

» The maximum drug out-of-pocket cost continues at $650 for the employee and $1,300 for
dependents.

¢ The maximum non-drug out-of-pocket cost continues at $1,000 for the employee and $2,000 for
dependents.

Dental insurance through the State Dental Plan
 The employer will continue to pay up to 90% of the employee-only coverage, but will require that
the employee pay a minimum of $5 per month for that coverage. The employer will continue to pay

50% of the premium for dependent coverage.

 Coverage for many dental procedures (fillings, oral surgery, and crowns) is increased from 50% to
60%.

2) Salary savings leave. (p. 25). Comply with 2005 session laws, chapter 156, article 3, section 4,
providing for voluntary unpaid leaves of absence. Permit employees to take up to 1,040 hours of
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leave during calendar years 2006 and 2007. The employee continues to accrue vacation and sick
leave, and be eligible for paid holidays and insurance benefits. If the employee makes the
employee contribution to the employee’s retirement plan, the appointing authority must make the
employer contribution. Salary savings leave provisions have been included in the state
government finance appropriations bill for several biennia.

Although the law provides for using this leave by June 30, 2007, staff propose to continue
permitting use of this leave through the 2007 calendar year.

We also propose (p. 12) that if an employee leaves legislative service, the employee be permitted
to cash out up to 300 hours of vacation leave, if the employee has taken unpaid leave in that year.
The normal limit is 275 hours.

Military leave. (p. 23). Comply with 2005 session law amendments to Minn. Stat. 192.26, and
43A.183, providing for payment of salary differentials for members of the National Guardand
others called to active duty.

Bone marrow and organ donation leaves. (pp. 23 and 24) Comply with 2005 session law
providing for mandatory leave for bone marrow donors. Although the law providing for
mandatory organ donation leave expired, continue to provide paid leave for these donors at the
option of the appointing authority.

Other paid leaves. (pp. 23 and 24). Comply with 2005 session laws providing for mandatory
leaves for domestic abuse, victim witness, harassment, and quarantine.

Expense reimbursement. (p.55). Conform to changes in the Commissioner’s and
Managerial Compensation Plans, and provide reimbursement for specially equipped personal
vans at the IRS rate plus $.09. Reimburse personal aircraft expenses at $99.5 cents per mile
or any greater or lesser amount set by the General Services Administration.

Cashing out of vacation pay. (p.14). Normally, when an employee leaves legislative service,
the maximum amount of their vacation leave balance that is cashed out is the cap (generally
275 hours.) Any amount in excess of the cap is forfeited. We propose permitting the entire
vacation leave balance to be liquidated if the employee has died, similar to the Commissioner
and Managerial Plans.

Staff proposals

Use of sick leave. (pp.15-16). Our current plan permits employees to use sick leave to care for
dependents or children, and for parents. We propose permitting employees to use a limited
amount of sick leave (up to five days) to care for their siblings, grandparents, grandchildren and
in-laws.

Vacation leave accrual. (p. 11). As a way to encourage staff retention, we propose permitting
employees with 40 or more years of state service to earn vacation leave at a higher rate.
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Reappointments. (p. 13). Under our current plan, employees who are re-appointed to legislative
service within four years of leaving the legislature, another state agency or certain other
employers accrue vacation leave based on the combined length of service for all of those
employers. Staff propose to increase the “look back™ to ten years. The extension of the look back
would also apply to the re-posting of a former employee’s sick leave bank (pp. 18-19). Current

~ employees who have previous experience with an appropriate employer within the ten year

4)

period may also apply to have that previous service considered.
Lactation room. (p. 5). The House and Senate each provide a lactation room for employees who
are nursing mothers. We add a paragraph describing this so that employees are more aware that

they are available.

Clarifications

These proposed changes are technical in nature, provide greater clarity, or indicate greater
consistency in policies across legislative offices.

1)

2)

3)

4)

Health insurance. (pp.46) Clarify ambiguous language regarding dental care coverage.

Health insurance eligibility. (p.32). Clarify that while part time employees may participate in
the State Employee Group Insurance Program, it must be at their own cost. This conforms to
other state contracts and plan, and our past practice.

Mandatory retirement. (p. 10). Eliminate a reference to employees being mandatorily retired in
a description of holiday pay. Employees of the legislature do not have a mandatory retirement
age. ‘

Vacation leave maximum accruals. (p. 12). When describing the maximum amount of
vacation leave an employee can accrue, eliminate references to specific years.

If you have any questions about these proposed changes, please feel free to call me at
651.296.2963.

Attach: Benefit Book

Staff group members
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APPLICABILITY

The Legislative Plan for Employee Benefits (the Plan) applies to members and unclassified
employees of the Legislature as provided in this section.

The provisions of the Plan relating to insurance apply to members of the Legislature and to
unclassified employees of the Senate, the House of Representatives, and offices under the
supervision of the Legislative Coordinating Commission, namely:

Legislative Coordinating Commission sistati {55+ & . S
Legislative Reference Library Legislative Commission on Health Care Access
Office of the Revisor of Statutes Legislative Commission on Pensions and Retirement
Legislative Audit Commission Legislative Commission on Planning and Fiscal Policy

Legislative Commission on Minnesota Resources

Provisions of the Plan relating to vacation leave, sick leave, and severance pay apply to
unclassified employees of the Senate, the House of Representatives, and offices under the
supervision of the Legislative Coordinating Commission.

The Senate Committee on Rules and Administration may apply the provisions of the Plan
relating to deferred compensation to members of the Senate. The House Committee on Rules
and Legislative Administration may apply the provisions of the Plan relating to deferred
compensation to members of the House of Representatives.

The remaining provisions of the Plan apply to unclassified employees of the Senate, the House of
Representatives, and offices under the supervision of the Legislative Coordinating Commission
when adopted by their respective appointing authorities.

The Plan governs the employees of any legislative commission, task force, or board created after
its adoption or contained in statutes. .

All employees covered under APPLICABILITY. serve at the pleasure of their employer in the
state unclassified service. The term “Regular Employee™ refers to an employee hired without a
limit on the duration of the employment and does not constitute a promise of permanent
employment. Each employee covered by this Plan is an “at-will” employee and has a right to
terminate the employee’s employment at any time for any reason. Likewise, each respective
appointing authority has a similar right to terminate the employment of any employee at any
time.

This Plan is designed to provide covered employees with a summary of certain policies and
benefits and is not intended to create, nor is it construed to constitute, a contract with any
employee or employees.




APPOINTING AUTHORITY: DEFINITION

For purposes of this Plan, appointing authority means the House Rules and Legislative
Administration Committee for employees of the House of Representatives, the Senate Rules and
Administration Committee for employees of the Senate, and the Legislative Coordinating
Commission for the unclassified employees of joint commissions and offices. The appointing
authority may delegate certain authorities and responsibilities of this Plan to appropriate staff.




EFFECTIVE DATE AND DURATION

Once adopted, except as otherwise specifically provided by the appointing authority, this Plan is

| effective January 1,-20042006. It remains in effect until amended or repealed by the Legislative
Coordinating Commission or the appropriate appointing authority (see the section on
Applicability) or until superseded by law.

LEGISLATIVE POLICIES

Immigration Reform and Control Act

Under the Immigration Reform and Control Act enacted on November 6, 1986,
employers are required to verify that all new employees are either United States citizens
or aliens authorized to work in the United States. Consistent with this law, employment
in the Minnesota Legislature will be contingent upon completion of an [-9 form and the
ability to provide the necessary documents of citizenship and work authorization.
Employees are required to complete the recertification section whenever their legal name
changes. Employees should contact their Human Resources or Payroll representative for

. this form.

Sexual Harassment

The Minnesota Legislature is committed to creating and maintaining a work environment
in which all members and employees are treated with respect and are free from sexual
harassment. To this end, sexual harassment by a member or employee of the Senate, the
House of Representatives, or the Legislative Coordinating Commission is prohibited.

_ The goal of this policy is to ensure that all complaints of sexual harassment will be
promptly, thoroughly, and respectfully handled.

o Reporting and investigating procedures are designed to encourage members and
employees to report what they believe to be sexual harassment.



LEGISLATIVE POLICIES (continued)

e Complaints, investigations, and resolutions will be handled as discreetly as possible,
with information being shared only with those who have a need to know and as may .
be required by the Legislature's obligation to comply with the law.

e Retaliation will not be tolerated against any person who complains, reports, or testifies
about sexual harassment, or participates in an investigation of a sexual harassment
complaint.

e Appropriate disciplinary action will follow when appropriate.
All those involved in the legislative process have a responsibility to contribute to a

respectful work environment. The Minnesota Legislature encourages, expects, and
appreciates cooperation in implementing this policy.

T slive Thave p




LEGISLATIVE POLICIES (continued)
Statement of Zero Tolerance of Violence

Consistent with Minn Stat. § 15.86, the Legislature endorses a policy of zero tolerance of
violence.

Equal Employment Opportunity

The Minnesota Legislature is an equal opportunity employer and is committed to
conducting its personnel activities without regard to race, color, creed, religion, national
origin, sex, age, disability, marital status, status with regard to public assistance, or sexual
orientation. Further information regarding equal employment opportunities and specific
procedures governing incidents of sexual harassment may be obtained from the
appropriate House, Senate, Revisor, or LCC administrative personnel office.

Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA)

The Minnesota Legislature is committed to complying with the provisions of the ADA
and supports the goal that individuals with disabilities shall not be excluded from
participating in or be denied the benefits of any program, service or activity offered by
the Legislature. Background on the ADA is found on the Minnesota Department of
Employee Relations Web site, at: http://www.doer.state.mn.us/odeo-ada/ada.htm.

Discrimination on the basis of disability is also prohibited by the Minnesota Human
Rights Act (Minn Stat. 363.01 — 363.20). It is the responsibility of legislators and
legislative employees to support the goals, objectives and concept of the ADA and the
Minnesota Human Rights Act in their dealings with the public, prospective employees,
and co-workers.

Employee Assistance Program

The Employee Assistance Program (EAP) is a confidential counseling service designed
to help state employees. with problems, either in or out of the workplace. If you have a
personal or work-related problem which you do not care to discuss with anyone
associated with the Legislature, contact EAP at (651) 296-0765, or visit their Web site at:
http://www.doer.state.mn.us/eap/eap.htm.

Lactation Room

Lactation rooms are located in both the Capito] and the State Office Building. The
lactation room in the Capitol is on the second floor. See Senate Offices. in Room 231
Capitol to obtain a Kev. The room in the State Office Building is located on the eround
floor. See the House Serceant at Arms in Room 190 State Office Building 1o obtain a
Kev.

Emergencies



LEGISLATIVE POLICIES (continued)

NON-MEDICAL EMERGENCY: Call Capitol Security at (651) 296-2100.

MEDICAL EMERGENCY: Call 911, or go to the nearest emergency facility. Also, call
Capitol Security at (651) 296-2100. Report the injury to your supervisor as soon as
possible.



LEGISLATIVE POLICIES (continued)

INJURY IS NOT AN EMERGENCY: Call the Workers’ Compensation Certified
Managed Care line at 651-296-6521 to report the injury, receive first aid instructions, and
get a referral to a doctor (network provider) who will see you promptly. Report the
injury to your supervisor, who will work with your personnel office to complete a "First
Report of Injury."” :

In certain situations, you are allowed to see a non-network provider. For further
information on Workers’ Compensation, contact your payroll/personnel office. The
Department of Labor and Industry also provides “An Employees Guide to the Minnesota
Workers Compensation System, at: http://www.doli.state.mn.us/guide.html.




WORKING HOURS AND COMPEN SATION

Working Hours

The working hours of employees shall be set by the appointing authority as necessary to
accomplish all assigned work. Appointing authorities schedule employees’ work days,
establish shifts, and use other devices to complete work. All employees are paid a salary
to accomplish all available work and not for a set riumber of working hours each day,
week, month, or year. Working hours in excess of a 40-hour week are to be expected;
however, each appointing authority may establish a reasonable compensatory time policy
for its employees. As required by the federal Fair Labor Standards Act Amendments of
1985, certain employees of the Legislative Reference Library are allowed additional
compensation or compensatory time off.

Public Service OQutside the Legislature

Employees who hold appointed or elected public positions outside the Legislature are
nevertheless expected to accomplish all assigned work and may not receive compensation
from any political subdivision of the state or any administrative board, commission,
council, committee or task force if their activities occur during normal working hours for
which they are also compensated by the Legislature.

Prorated Compensation for Nine-Month Employees

Employees may be hired to work for nine months and have their compensation prorated
and paid over 12 months, provided an employee hired in this status works nine months
before the three-month period of leave.

Service Award Program

The appointing authority shall formally recognize the service of its employees at regular
intervals, in accordance with IRS regulations. Employees shall be given credit for their
previous legislative or other state service under the same guidelines as for vacation
accrual.



HOLIDAYS

Observed Holidays. The following days are observed as holidays:
New Year’s Day
Martin Luther King Day
Memorial Day
Independence Day
Labor Day
Veterans Day (November 1%
Thanksgiving Day
Day after Thanksgiving
Christmas Day

Any holiday falling on a Saturday will be observed on the prior Friday. Any holiday
falling on a Sunday will be observed on the succeeding Monday.

The appointing authority may have a procedure for allowing additional periods of time as
paid holiday time for the employees serving under its jurisdiction.

Floating Holidays. Regular employees and temporary employees with at least six months of
employment shall receive two floating holidays each calendar year. If an employee works
any part of the six-month period beginning January 1, then that employee accrues one
floating holiday. If an employee works any part of the six-month period beginning July
1, then that employee accrues one floating holiday. Floating holidays may be
accumulated, but any floating holiday not used by December 31 of each year is lost. An
employee may receive no more than two floating holidays each year, including any
floating holidays taken from a previous position in state service. Temporary full-time
employees who work six or more continuous months, leave a legislative payroll, and then
return to temporary full-time status within 12 months of their separation, shall receive
two floating holidays each calendar year.

The appointing authority may limit the number of employees who may be absent on any
given day because of operatnonal needs.

Holiday Pay. Full-time employees will be paid for observed holidays if they are on a paid status
the day before and the day after the holiday. Employees who are taking time off without
pay in accordance with an approved salary savings plan are also eligible for holiday pay
and will be paid in accordance with the provisions of the plan.

Employees who work less than full-time will be paid for observed holidays if they are on
a paid status the scheduled day before and the scheduled day after the holiday. An
employee who normally works less than full-time is paid for a holiday in accordance with
the appointing authority’s policy.



HOLIDAYS (continued)

The number of hours paid for any observed holiday shall not exceed eight hours per day.
If an employee is required to work on an observed holiday, the employee shall receive
time off equal to that worked, not to exceed eight hours per day. Worked holiday hours
must be used no later than the calendar year following the year in which the worked
| holiday hours are earned. In the event that an employee dies or-is-mandaterily-retired-on
a holiday or holiday weekend, the employee shall be entitled to be paid for the holiday(s).

Religious Holidays. When a religious holiday not observed as a holiday as provided above falls .
on an employee's regularly scheduled work day, the employee may take that day off to
observe the religious holiday. An employee who chooses to observe a religious holiday
must notify the employee's supervisor prior to the religious holiday.

Time off to observe religious holidays is without pay except where the employee has
sufficient accumulated vacation leave, or an unused floating holiday. The employee may
work an equivalent number of hours or days at some other time during the fiscal year to
compensate for any hours or days lost.
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VACATION LEAVE

Eligibility and Allowances. All regular full-time employees shall accrue vacation time based on
- length of service, according to the rates set out below. Temporary full-time employees
begin to accrue vacation leave after six months of continuous employment with no break
in service. Temporary full-time employees who work six or more continuous months,
leave a legislative payroll, and then return to temporary full-time status within 12 months

of their separation, are eligible to accrue vacation leave.

Length of Service 26 Pay Periods 24 Pay Periods Monthly

0 through 5 years 4 hours 4-1/3 hours 8-2/3 hours
After 5 through 8 5 hours 5.4 hours 10.8 hours
After 8 through 12 7 hours 7.6 hours 15.2 hours
After 12 through 18 "~ 7.5 hours 8.1 hours 16.2 hours
After 18 through 25 8 hours 8-2/3 hours 17-1/3 hours
After 25 through 30 8.5 hours 9.2 hours 18.4 hours
After 30 through 35 9 hours 9.75 hours 19.5 hours
After 35 wearsthirough 40—-9.5 hours 10.3 hours 20.6 hours
After 40 vears 10 hours 19.8 hours 21.6 hours

Eligible employees working on a percentage basis shall have their vacation accruals prorated
consistent with the percentage of time paid. Eligible employees shall not receive additional
vacation accrual for time worked in excess of their appointed schedule.

For purposes of determining changes in an employee's accrual rate, length of service does
not include periods of suspension or unpaid non-medical leaves of absence; however, salary
savings leaves are counted toward an employee’s length of service. Temporary employees
will receive length of service credit only for pay periods in which they are on a paid status.
A regular employee working on a percentage basis who is on paid status at any time within a
payroll period shall receive length of service credit for the full payroll period, except for the
payroll period during which the employee’s employment begins and the payroll period
during which the employee’s employment ends. A regular employee working on a
percentage basis who is appointed by the LCC to an intermittent schedule and is scheduled
to work at least 1044 hours a year will receive annualized length of service.

Temporary, session, or intermittent service prior to regular status is counted in determining
accrual rate.

Changes in accrual rates are effective at the beginning of the next payroll period following
completion of the specified length of service requirement.

Vacation leave hours shall not be used during the payroll periods in which the hours are
accrued.

Limit on Accumulation. Vacation leave may be accumulated to any amount provided that
once during each calendar year each employee's balance must be reduced to 275 hours or

11



VACATION (continued)

less, except that the balance of an employee who takes voluntary unpaid leave of absence
during-the-bienniamendingJune30—2965 a calendar vear, must be reduced only to 300
hours or less once each-during that calendar year: ¢ - 3
2685, An employee s 275 or 300 hour llmlt, whlchever apphes is referred to in thxs section
as “the max1mum number of hours : : -

S

Wm—dﬁﬁ%%}@%—eaém%eﬁé——%

For this purpose, the employee's balance at the end of the payroll period is the vacation
balance after the deduction of hours used that pay period and before the addition of vacation
hours earned during the pay period. If this reduction to the maximum number of hours or
less is not accomplished by the employee before then, the employer will reduce the amount
of vacation-to the maximum number of hours at the end of the last payroll period that ends
during the calendar year. No employee may be paid for more than the maximum number of
hours.

Employees on Paid Military Leave. Employees on a paid military leave accrue vacation
leave as though actually employed without maximum accumulation. Vacation earned in
excess of the maximum accumulation must be taken within two years of the date the
employee returns from military leave.

Using Vacation Leave Instead of Sick Leave. Upon request, employees on sick leave may
use vacation leave instead of sick leave provided they meet the criteria of sick leave use and
would exceed the vacation leave maximum (see also page 16).

Vacation Leave Record. Each agency must keep a current record of each employee's
vacation accruals which must be made available to the employee upon request.

Transfers and Reappointments. An employee’s accumulated vacation leave and length of
service, for purposes of determining vacation accrual, transfers to the new appointing
authority if the employee transfers without a break in service: (1) to another appointing
authority within the legislative branch; (2) to the legislative branch from another position in
Minnesota state government, the University of Minnesota, or the Minnesota Historical
Society; or (3) from the legislative branch to another position in Minnesota state
government. In these cases, leave must not be liquidated by cash payment. However, if the
new position does not provide for vacation leave, accumulated vacation leave must be
.liquidated by cash payment. The amount of vacation leave that may be transferred is subject
to limits imposed by the receiving entity’s collective bargaining agreement or compensation
plan. :

A departing employee may transfer the maximum amount of accumulated vacation leave

permitted to be transferred in by the receiving entity. If the amount the receiving entity

permits the employee to transfer in is less than the employee’s accumulation, the employer

will liquidate by cash payment the number of hours by which the employee’s accumulation

exceeds the amount transferable, so long as the total of the number of hours transferred and

the number of hours paid out does not exceed the maximum number of hours specified in
12



VACATION (continued)
the section entitled “Limit on Accumulation™ above.

An employee reappointed to legislative service or an employee from any other position in
state service, service in a local unit of government in Minnesota, the federal government,
active military service, or another state government appointed to legislative service shall
accrue vacation leave according to the length of service the employee had attained at the

| time of separation. However, the reappointment or appointment must be within four_ten
years from the date of separation in good standing. The employee must provide supportmg
documentation no later than six months after hire or rehire.

Current employees who: i) previously worked in a local unit of government in Minnesota,
the federal government, active military service, or another state government, ii) who
| transferred to the Legislature within four ten years of separation from the institution
identified in clause i); and iii) who have not had their length of service credited, may be"
credited with their previous service, if they make application to their appointing authority by
| June 30,2884 2006. The credit towards additional accrual rates will be effective the pay
period in which the application is approved.

Vacation Requests. Every reasonable effort consistent with scheduling of the work unit must be
made by the supervisor to schedule employee vacations at a time agreeable to the employee.

Employees must submit requests for vacation to their supervisor in advance of the requested
date of the start of the vacation. Conflicts involving vacation scheduling shall be resolved
by the supervisor.

Vacation Charges. Employees who use vacation are charged only for the number of hours they
would have been scheduled to work during the period of absence. However, vacation leave
may not be granted in increments of less than one-quarter hour. Holidays occurring during
vacation periods are paid as a holiday and not charged as a vacation day. Employee
vacation accruals earned while on paid leave may be used by the employee with the
approval of the supervisor without returning to work prior to the use of accrued leave.
Employees may not use sick leave for vacation purposes.

Should an employee be entitled to use sick leave while on vacation, vacation leave is
changed to sick leave, effective the date of the illness or disability, upon notice to the
employee's supervisor. Upon the notice, employees may be requested by the supervisor to
furnish a medical statement from a medical practitioner.

13



VACATION (continued)

Vacation Rights. Any employee separated from state service is compensated in cash, at the
employee's then current rate of pay, for all vacation leave accrued to the time of separation
but not in excess of the maximum number of hours specified in the section entitled “Limits
on Accumulation” above. However. the maximum cap does not apply if the separation is
because the emplovee has died.

Employees paid for less than a normal pay period shall have their vacation accruals prorated.

14



SICK LEAVE

Sick Leave Accrual. All regular full-time employees accrue sick leave at the rate of 8 2/3 hours |
per month (4 hours per 26 pay periods, 4-1/3 hours per 24 pay periods) during continuous
employment beginning with their date of hire. Temporary full-time employees begin to
accrue sick leave after six months of continuous employment with no break in service.
Temporary full-time employees who work six or more continuous months, leave a
legislative payroll, and then return to temporary full-time status within 12 months of their
separation, are eligible to accrue sick leave. '

Emergency Sick Leave Upon Initial Employment. Upon initial employment (within ten
months of start date) and with approval of the appointing authority, ah employee is eligible
for use of up to 80 hours (ten days) for emergency sick leave. An employee appointed to a
part-time position is eligible for a prorated amount for use of emergency sick leave. The
negative balance shall be reduced proportionately as sick leave is accumulated. If additional

- sick leave is used before the sick leave balance has been restored to a positive balance:
sufficient to cover the time off needed, the time will be charged to vacation or the appointing
authority may grant leave without pay. If an employee has a negative sick leave balance
upon termination of service, the negative balance must be eliminated by charging the time
first to vacation leave and then, to the extent necessary, to reduce pay. :

Accrual Rates for Employees on Percentage Basis. Employees working on a percentage
basis shall have the same percentage of their sick leave accrual rates or have sick leave
accruals prorated.

Employees on Military Leave. Employees reinstated from military leave must be credited
with sick leave as though actually employed, as provided under Minn Stat. § 192.261.

Sick Leave Record. Each agency shall keep a current record of each employee's sick leave
accruals which must be made available to the employee upon request.

Employees may not use sick leave for vacation purposes.

Sick Leave Use. An employee must be granted sick leave with pay to the extent of the
employee's accumulation for absences:

1) By necessity for the employee’s illness or disability;
2) By necessity for medical, chiropractic, or dental care for the employee;

3) By exposure to contagious disease which endangers the health of other employees,
clients, or the public;

4) By illness or disability of the employee's spouse; children, step-children, or foster
children (including wards, and children for whom the employee is the legal guardian);
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SICK LEAVE (continued)

regular member of the immediate household; or parent or step-parent, for a reasonable
period as the employee's attendance is necessary.

By illness or disabilitv of the emplovee’s sibling. erandchild. srandparent. mother-in-
law or father-in-law for a reascnable period as the emplovee’s attendance IS necessary.
for a period of up to five davs.

56) By serious health condition of the employee’s sibling, grandchild, grandparent or
mother-in-law or father-in-law for a period of up to twelve weeks within a twelve month
period commencing on the date leave is first taken. An employee must exhaust

. accumulated vacation and submit a completed Certification of Health Care Provider
form prior to the leave. Please see your Human Resources or Payroll Representative for
a form. '

N
N

67) A pregnant employee must also be granted sick leave during the period of time that her
medical practitioner advises that she is unable to work because of pregnancy. An
employee - who has given birth may use sick leave for a period of six weeks’
convalescence or as advised by her medical practitioner.

78) Up to five days to arrange for necessary nursing or home care for members of the
family; '
$9) Up to ten days for a parent upon placement for adoption of a child, or for a father or

husband upon the birth of a dependent child. This leave is to be taken within one year
after the child’s birth, placement of adoption, or arrival in the home;

910) A reasonable period of sick leave must be granted because of death of the spouse or
parents or grandparents of the spouse, or the parents, step-parents, close relative,
grandparents, guardian, children, grandchildren, brothers, sisters, wards, or stepchildren
of the employee, or a regular member of the immediate household.

+811) Such reasonable periods as an employee's attendance may be necessary to
accompany a spouse, parent, minor or dependent children, stepchildren, foster children
(including wards, and children for whom the employee is the legal guardian) to dental or
medical appointments.

Accrual Before Use. Sick leave hours may not be used during the payroll period in which
they accrue.

Medical Practitioner Statement. Upon the request of the supervisor, employees using sick
leave may be required to furnish the human resources representative with a statement from a
medical practitioner supporting the use of sick leave. The supervisor may require this
statement to provide information on when the employee will be able to return to work. The
supervisor may also request the employee to furnish the human resources representative
with a statement from a medical practitioner if the supervisor has reason to believe the
employee is not physically fit to return to work or has been exposed to a contagious disease
which endangers the health of other employees, clients, or the public.
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SICK LEAVE (continued)

If the employee fails to furnish a statement requested under this provision within the
timeframe specified in the request, the supervisor may require the employee to use vacation
leave, compensatory time, or unpaid leave, at the appointing authority’s discretion.

Sick Leave Use While on Paid Leave. Upon approval of the supervisor, employee sick
leave accruals earned while on paid leave may be used by the employee without returning to
work prior to the use of that accrued sick leave.

Using Vacation Leave Instead of Sick Leave. An employee on sick leave who uses all of
his/her sick leave accumulation and who still meets the criteria for sick leave use shall have
the right to use vacation leave to the extent of the employee's vacation accumulation (see
also page 11).

Sick Leave Requests. Employees should submit requests for sick leave in advance of the period
~ of absence. When advance notice is not possible, employees must notify their supervisor by
telephone or other means at the earliest opportunity.

Sick Leave Charges. An employee using sick leave is charged only for the number of hours the
employee was scheduled to work during the period of sick leave. However, sick leave may
not be granted for periods of less than one-quarter hour except to permit use of lesser
fractions that have been accrued. Holidays occurring during sick leave periods are paid as a
holiday and not charged as a sick leave day.

Any employee incurring an on-the-job injury is paid the employee's regular rate of pay for
the remainder of the day. Any necessary sick leave charges for employees so injured
commence on the first scheduled work day followmg the injury (see Workers' Compensation
section on page 50).

Transfers and Reappointments. An employee's accumulated sick leave transfers to the new
appointing authority if the employee transfers without a break in service: (1) to another
appointing authority within the legislative branch; (2) to the legislative branch from another
position in Minnesota state government, the University of Minnesota, or the Minnesota
Historical Society; or (3) from the legislative branch to another position in Minnesota state
government. In these cases, accumulated sick leave must not be paid out as severance pay.
However, if the new position does not provide for sick leave, accumulated sick leave must
be paid out as severance pay. The amount of sick leave that may be transferred is subject to
limits imposed by the receiving entity's collective bargaining agreement or compensation
plan.

A negative sick leave balance may not be transferred. Any negative sick leave balance

remaining on the date of transfer must be canceled by deducting the amount of pay for its
negative hours from any pay due to the employee.
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SICK LEAVE (continued)

An eligible employee reappointed to legislative service within fous_ten years from the date
of separation in good standing must have accumulated but unused sick leave balance and
bank posted to the employee's credit._The emplovee must provide supporting documentation
ne later than six months after hire or rehire.

Current emplovees who: 1) previcushy worked in a local unit of government in Minnesota,
the federal governmeni. acUve military service. or another state covermnment. i) who
transferred to the Legislature within ten vears of separation from the institution identitied in
clause i): and iii) who have not had their accumulated but unused sick leave balance
credited. may be credited with their previous sick leave balance. if thev make application to
their appeinting authority by June 30. 2006. The sick leave balance credit will be effective
the pav period in which the application is approved. ’
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SICK LEAYVE (continued)
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An employee who receives severance pay for accumulated sick leave and accumulated smk

leave bank-en-or-afierJanuan——1098, but returns to legislative service—
4998, shall have his/her sick leave balance and bank restored at the previous level less the
number of hours paid as severance.

Work-Related Disability and Employment. The appointing authority will attempt to place

employees who have incurred a work-related disability in areas of work which would fit the
employee's capabilities but will not create a job just to provide employment.
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SEVERANCE PAY

Severance Pay as a Benefit. Severance pay represents a benefit to employees for low usage of
sick leave and to eliminate difficulties caused by a change of employer. It is not
compensation. Severance pay does not include any accrued vacation time. Upon separation,
compensation for accrued vacation time is covered under "Vacation Rights" (see page 13).
For purposes of severance pay, “length of service” or “service” is calculated based on
employment in the legislative, judicial, and executive branches of the State of Minnesota, or
the University of Minnesota.

Retirement, Death or Involuntary Termination. The following employees, regardless of
length of service, receive severance pay equal to 40 percent of the employee's first 900 hours
of accumulated but unused sick leave balance and 12-1/2 percent of the employee’s
accumulated but unused sick leave balance in excess of 900 hours, times the employee’s
regular rate of pay at the time of separation:

Upon retirement on or after age 65;

Employees who die while employed;

Employees who are involuntarily terminated;

Employees who retire before age 65 but who are immediately entitled at the time of
retirement to receive an annuity under a state retirement program (notwithstanding an
election to defer payment of the annuity).

Upon Voluntary Termination. Upon voluntary termination, regardless of length of service,
employees receive severance pay equal to two percent of accumulated but unused sick leave
balance for each year of service to a maximum of 40 percent of the first 900 hours of
accumulated but unused sick leave. An employee shall also receive severance pay equal to
12-1/2 percent of the employee’s accumulated but unused sick leave balance that exceeds
900 hours.

Severance pay is figured at the employee's regular rate of pay at the time of separation.

How Severance Pay is Paid.
(a) Severance pay is paid in cash to employees who have less than five years of service and
“are not annuity eligible, or who are deceased at the time of payment.

(b) For employees who have five years or more of service and are not annuity eligible,
severance is paid in cash for their first 100 hours of accumulated but unused sick leave.
Severance based on accumulated but unused s:ck leave in excess of 100 hours anrd-the

H—F es—are—1s paid as a credit to the
employee s account in the Health Care Savings Plan (see pages 48-49).
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SEVERANCE PAY (continued)

(c) For employees who, at the time of termination, are immediately entitled to receive an
annuity under a state retirement program (notwithstanding an election to defer payment
of the annuity), severance based on accumulated but unused sick leave is paid as a
credit to the employee’s account in the Health Care Savings Plan (see pages 48-49). In
addition, each employee who meets this requirement must be paid an additional
severance payment of $200.

(d) An employee who receives a credit in the Health Care Savings Plan must be paid an
additional credit to the Health Care Savings Plan in an amount equal to the FICA taxes
that would have been payable to the federal government by the appointing authority if
the severance pay had been paid to the employee in cash.

(¢) Amounts to be paid into the Health Care Savings Plan under (b) to (d) must total at
least $1,000; otherwise the amount, excluding FICA taxes, must be paid to the
employee in cash.

(f) All severance payments based upon sick leave hours are calculated, as described above,
by multiplying the number of hours by the applicable percentage and then by the rate of

pay.

Reappointment to State Service. Should any employee who has received severance pay be
subsequently reappointed to state service, eligibility for future severance pay is computed
upon the difference between the amount of accumulated but unused sick leave restored to
the employee's credit at the time the employee was reappointed and the amount of
accumulated but unused sick leave at the time of the employee's subsequent eligibility for

severance pay.

Exclusion from Retirement Deductions/Benefits. Severance pay and the liquidation of
accrued vacation leave are excluded from retirement deductions and from any calculations
in retirement benefits.

Unpaid Leave Upon Separation. Unpaid leave may not be used upon separation from
legislative service to extend employer paid insurance coverage.

DES Web site
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LEAVES OF ABSENCE

Application for Leave. All requests for leaves of absence or extensions thereof will be
approved or denied by the appointing authority. Requests for leaves or extensions shall be
submitted to the employee's immediate supervisor as soon as the need for the leave or
extension is known. The request must state the reason for requesting leave and the
anticipated duration of the leave of absence. Failure to return at the end of an approved
leave of absence, without contacting the appointing authority to request an extension prior to
the end of the approved leave, shall be deemed to be a voluntary resignation.

Authorization for Leave. All requests for a leave of absence must be answered promptly. A
leave of absence request may not be unreasonably denied. An employee may not be required
to exhaust vacation leave accruals prior to a leave of absence. Authorization or denial of a
leave of absence by the appointing authority must be furnished to the employee by the
supervisor.

When an unpaid leave of absence has been approved for an employee, the appointing
authority shall advise the employee in writing of the steps the employee must take to
continue insurance coverages.

Upon separation, an unpaid leave may not be used to extend employer paid insurance
coverage.

Accrual Rates. Accrual of vacation and sick leave benefits and length of service shall continue
during a leave of absence with pay. If an employee is granted leave without pay, the
employee will not be credited with vacation, sick or length of service accruals for the period

~ of leave without pay unless otherwise indicated.

Paid Leaves of Absence - Mandatory. Paid leaves of absence granted under this Plan may not
exceed the employee's work schedule. An appointing authority must grant an advance
request for a paid leave of absence for the following reasons:

A. Court Appearance Leave: Leave, including travel time, for appearance before a
court or other judicial or quasi-judicial body for job-related purposes.

B. [Educational Leave: Leave for educational purposes, if the education is required
by the appointing authority. ‘

C. Jury Duty Leave: Leave for service upon a jury. “Service upon a jury” includes

time when the employee is impaneled for actual service or is required by the Court

~ to be present for selection for service. During any other time, the employee must
report to work. ' ‘

22



LEAVES OF ABSENCE (continued)

D.

oy

Military Leave: 1) In accordance with Minn. Stat. § 192.26, up to 15 working
days leave per calendar year shall be granted to members of the National Guard or
military or naval reserves of the United States or of the State of Minnesota who
take military leave. The employee, upon receiving written notification of duty,
must notify his/her immediate supervisor within three calendar days of receiving
that written notification. Employees must also provide their Human Resources
representative with a copy of their orders.

2) In accordance with Minn.Stat. section 43A.183, a salary differential will be
paid to certain members of the National Guard and other reserve components
of the U.S. Armed Forces who. are called up for active duty. These employees
have certain rights to continue health, dental, and pre-tax accounts, as provided
in that statute. The appointing authority will follow the procedures required
under that statute in administering requests for the salary differential and
benefit continuation required under that statute,

Voting Time Leave: Leave for the time actually necessary to vote prior to noon
of election day.

Election Judge Leave: Leave for service as an election judge without penalty
under procedures contained in Minn. Stat. § 204B.195.

Blood Donation Leave: Leave to donate blood at an onsite program endorsed by
the appointing authority.

Organ-Bone Marrow Donation Leave: Leave to undergo a medical procedure to
donate an-organ—or-partal-ergan—to—aneother—personbone marrow. This leave is
subject to Minn. Stat.-$-4+81-9455 181.945.

I-Athletic Leave: Leave under the same terms as those granted to state

employees in the executive branch under Minn. Stat. § 15.62 to prepare for and
engage in world, Olympic, or Pan American games competition.

Quarantine Leave: Leave as required by Minn. Stat. § 144.4196 to comply with

isolation or quarantine restrictions.

Domestic Abuse Leave: Leave. as required by Minn. Stat. § 518B.01. subd. 23. 10

obtain relief from domestic abuse.

Harassment Leave: Leave as rcguur_d by Mum Stdt § 609,748, subd. 10. to

obtain relief from harassment.

Vietim Witness Leave: Leave as required by Minn. Stat. § 611A.036, subd. 3. to
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LEAVES OF ABSENCE (continued)

attend criminal proceedings as a victim or withess.

Paid Leaves of Absence — Optional. The appointing authority may grant paid leaves of
absence for the following reasons: :

A.

Emergency Leave: An appointing authority may excuse employees from duty
with full pay in the event of a natural or man-made emergency, if continued
presence would involve a threat to the employee's health or safety. A "natural
emergency" includes severe weather conditions that, in the appointing authority's
opinion, make traveling hazardous. Employees who must work despite the
emergency must be allowed to take leave on another day agreed to by the
employee and the appointing authority. .

Transition Leave: Leave of up to 80 hours, at the appointing authority’s
discretion, for a regular employee on notice of termination. This leave is limited to
the final four calendar weeks, ending at the date of termination.

Investigatory Leave: An appointing authority may place an employee who is the
subject of a disciplinary investigation on an investigatory leave with pay.

Administrative Leave: At the appointing authority's discretion, an employee may
be placed on paid administrative leave for up to 30 calendar days when the
employee or a member of the employee's immediate family or a regular member of
the immediate household has been a victim of a violent crime. The appointing
authority may request the employee to provide documentation demonstrating the
appropriateness of the leave. The appointing authority's policy shall be to return
the employee to work as soon as it is practical and prudent. For the purpose of this
provision, "violent crime" includes murder, manslaughter, criminal vehicular
homicide or injury, assault, robbery, kidnapping, criminal sexual conduct, witness
tampering, arson, burglary, drive-by shooting, domestic abuse, as defined in Minn.
Stat. § 518B.01, and harassment or stalking under Minn. Stat. § 609.749.

Disaster Volunteer Leave: Participation in specialized disaster relief services for
the American Red Cross by a certified disaster volunteer, as provided in Minn.
Stat. § 43A.185.

Orean Donation Leave: An appointine authority mav crant a paid feave of

absence to an emplovee who seeks to undergo a medical procedure to donate an
organ or partial organ to another person. This {eave mayv not exceed five davs per
donation. The appointing authority may require verification by a phvsician of the

purpose and length of each leave requested by the emplovee for organ donation. If

there is a medical determination that the emplovee does not gualifv as an organ
donor. the paid leave of absence granted to the emplovee prior to the determination
is not forfeited. The use of this paid leave does not preclude the use of other leave
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LEAVES OF ABSENCE (continued)

for purposes of an orean donation.

Unpaid Leaves of Absence - Optional. The appointing authority may grant an advance
request for an unpaid leave of absence for the following reasons:

A. Unclassified Service Leave: Leave to any legislative employee to accept another
position in the unclassified service of the state. .

B. Educational Leave: Leave for educational purposes not covered by provisions of
this Plan governing paid leaves of absence.

C. Personal Leave: Leave for personal reasons.

D. Leave for Related Work: Leave not to exceed one year to accept a position of
fixed duration outside of legislative service that is related to the employee's current
work.

E. Salary Savings Leave: {a} The appointing authority may allow each employee to
take an unpaid leave of absence for up to 1,040 hours during the two calendar
years covered by this plan. Each appointing authority approving the leave must
allow the employee to continue accruing vacation and sick leave, be eligible for
paid holidays and insurance benefits, accrue seniority, and. if pavments are made
under paragraph (b). accrue service credit and credited salary in state retirement
plans as if the employee had actually been employed during the time of the leave.
An employee covered by the unclassified plan may voluntarily make the employee
contributions to the unclassified plan during the leave of absence. If the employee
-makes these contributions, the appointing authority must make the employer
contribution. If the leave of absence is for one full pay period or longer, any
holiday pay must be included in the first payroll warrant after return from the leave
of absence. The appointing authority must attempt to grant requests for unpaid
leaves of absence consistent with the need to continue efficient operation of the
agency. However, each appointing authority retains discretion to grant or refuse to
grant requests for leaves of absence and to schedule and cancel leaves.

{b) To receive eligible service credit and credited salary in a defined benefit plan.
the emplovee musi pav an amount equal o the applicable emplovee coniribution
rates. If an emplovee pavs the emplovee contribution for the period of leave under
this section. the appointing authoritv must pav the emplover contribution. The
appointing authority _may. at its discretion. payv the emplovee contributions.
Contributions must be made in a time manner prescribed bv the executive director
of the applicable pension plan.

(c) The provisions of paragraphs (a) and (b) that relate to state retirement plans
can be provided only if permitted by the Minnesota State Retirement System at the
time of the leave.
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LEAVES OF ABSENCE (continued)

F. Elder Care Leave: The appointing authority may grant elder care leave to arrange

care for parents of the employee or of the employee’s spouse.

Unpaid Leaves of Absence — Mandatory. The appointing authority must granf unpaid leaves
of absence for the following reasons:

A.

Disability Leave: Leave up to one year to any regular employee who, as a result
of an extended illness or injury, has exhausted the employee's accumulation of sick
leave balance and bank. (Upon the request of the employee, the leave may be
extended.) A supervisor may require an employee to furnish the human resources
representative with a statement from a medical practitioner that supports the need
for the leave. The supervisor may require this statement to provide information on
when the employee will be able to return to work, including any restrictions on the
employee’s return to work. An employee who becomes disabled while on another
type of leave of absence may apply for and receive disability leave status so the
employee becomes eligible for disability pension.

Parental Leave (Maternity/Paternity/Adoption/Foster Care): Leave up to six
months to a birth parent, adoptive parent, or foster parent who requests leave in
conjunction with the birth, adoption, or placement of a child. Leave may be
extended up to one year by mutual consent between the employee and the
appointing authority. (Maternity leave may be requested by an employee rather
than sick leave or vacation leave. Maternity leave may be requested after using
some or all of an employee's accumulated sick or vacation leave.)

An eligible employee may take Caretaker and Medical Leave as parenting leave
for up to 12 weeks.

Caretaker and Medical Leave: Leave up to 12 weeks with the employer
contribution of health insurance paid for eligible employees for the birth of a child
and to care for that child, the placement of a child for adoption or foster care and to
care for that child, for a serious health condition that makes the employee unable to
perform the employee's job or to care for those listed under sick leave use (4,5) on
pages 14-15. Caretaker and Medical Leave may be taken intermittently or on a
reduced schedule if medically necessary. A supervisor may require an employee to
furnish the human resources representative with a statement from a medical
practitioner that supports the need for the leave. The supervisor may require this
statement to provide information on when the employee will be able to return to
work, including any restrictions on the employee's return to work. Up to 12 weeks
may be taken only once in each calendar year. See also "Parental Leave” listed
above.
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D. Military Leave: Leave to an employee who enters into active military service in

the armed forces of the United States for a period of military service, not to exceed

the period of time required under federal law (usually five years), as provided in 38

United States Code, section 4112. Benefits provided by the appointing authority

-will be administered for an employee on military leave under this paragraph in
compliance with 38 United States Code, sections 4301 to 4333.

E. VISTA or Peace Corps Leave: Leave for VISTA or Peace Corps service for a
period not to exceed four years.

F. Precinct Caucus Leave: Leave for the purpose of attending a precinct caucus.

G. School Conference and Activities Leave: Leave up to 16 hours during any school
year to attend school conferences or activities related to the employee's child or to
observe child care services or a pre-kindergarten program in accordance with
Minn. Stat. § 181.9412.

H. Political Convention Leave: Leave for the purpose of meeting and convention
activities, as specified under Minn. Stat. § 202A.135. This does not sanction
conduct that is otherwise prohibited or restricted by law or the appointing

_ authority.

I.  Civil Air Patrol Leave: Leave, subject to Minn. Stat. § 181.946, to serve as a
member of the civil air patrol.

Reinstatement After Leave. Subject to a contrary term under which a leave was granted, or
subject to a reorganization by the appointing authority, an employee returning from an
approved leave of absence shall be entitled to return to employment in the employee's
former position or a position of comparable duties and pay.

Employees returning from leaves of absence in excess of one month must notify their
appointing authority at least two weeks prior to their return from leave. Employees returning
from an unpaid leave of absence return at the same rate of pay the employee had been
receiving at the time the leave of absence commenced plus any automatic adjustments that
would have been made had the employee been continuously employed during the period of
absence. :
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Employees may return to work prior to the agreed upon termination date with the approval
of the appointing authority.

Employee Interchange Program. . An employee may participate in the government employee
interchange program under Minn. Stat. §§ 15.51 to 15.59 subject to the approval of the
appointing authority. .
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INSURANCE

SECTION 1. STATE EMPLOYEE GROUP INSURANCE PROGRAM (SEGIP). During
the life of this Plan, the Employer agrees to offer a Group Insurance Program that includes
health, dental, life, and disability coverages equivalent to existing coverages, subject to the
provisions of this Plan. Coverage will be provided through the State Employee Group Insurance
Program (SEGIP), except as otherwise provided by action of the LCC. Information on the State
Employee Group Insurance Program is found on the Department of Employee Relation’s Web

site at: http://www.doer.state.mn.us/ei-segip/SEGIP. HTM.

All insurance eligible employees will be provided with a Summary Plan (SPD) called “Your
Employee Benefits.” Such SPD shall be provided no less than biennially and prior to the
beginning of the insurance year. New insurance eligible employees shall receive an SPD within
30 days of their date of eligibility.

SECTION 2. ELIGIBILITY FOR GROUP PARTICIPATION. This section describes
eligibility to participate in the Group Insurance Program.

A. Employees - Basic Eligibility. Employees may participate in the Group Insurance.
Program if they are scheduled to work at least 1044 hours in any 12 consecutive months.

B. Employees - Special Eligibility. The following employees are also eligible to
participate in the Group Insurance Program:

1. Employees with a Work-related Injury/Disability. An employee who was off
the legislative payroll due to a work-related injury or a work-related disability may
continue to participate in the Group Insurance Program as long as such an employee
receives workers' compensation payments or while the workers' compensation
claim is pending.

2. Totally Disabled Employees. Consistent with Minn. Stat. § 62A.148, certain
totally disabled employees may continue to participate in the Group Insurance
Program. :

3. Retired Employees. An employee who retires from legislative service, is not
eligible for regular (non-disability) Medicare coverage, has five or more years of
allowable pension service, and is entitled at the time of retirement to immediately
receive an annuity under a State retirement program, may continue to participate in
the health and dental coverages offered through the Group Insurance Program.

Consistent with Minn. Stat. § 43A.27, subd. 3, a retired employee of the State who
receives an annuity under a State retirement program may continue to participate in
the health and dental coverages offered through the Group Insurance Program.
Retiree coverage must be coordinated with Medicare.

29



INSURANCE (continued)

4. Employees on Unpaid Leave of Absence. Employees on an approved leave of

absence may enroll in such coverages at their own expense for a period of one year.

5. Temporary Employees. Temporai'y employees who are appointed for a period of no

less than four months and who are scheduled to work no less than 50 percent of the
normal work week may enroll in the hospltal and medical coverages provided by this
Plan at their own expense.

C. Eligible Dependents. For the purpose of this Plan, eligible dependents are:

I.

Spouse and other eligible persons.

For employees and members of the House of Representatives, the spouse of an
eligible employee (if not legally separated). The House Committee on Rules and
Legislative Administration may by resolution provide coverage as eligible
dependents to other persons who are eligible under the State Employee Group
Insurance Program to receive health, dental, and life insurance benefits.

For employees and members of the Senate, the spouse of an eligible employee, if
not legally separated. The Senate Committee on Rules and Administration may by
resolution provide coverage as eligible dependents to other persons who are eligible
under the State Employee Group Insurance Program to receive health, dental, and
life insurance benefits. _

For employees under the jurisdiction of the Legislative Coordinating Commission,
the spouse of an eligible employee, if not legally separated.

For the purposes of health insurance coverage, if that spouse works full-time for an
organization employing more than 100 people and elects to receive either credits or
cash (1) in place of health insurance or health coverage or (2) in addition to a health
plan with a $750 or greater deductible through his/her employing organization,
he/she is not eligible to be a covered dependent for the purposes of this Plan. If
both spouses work for the State or another organization participating in the State's
Group Insurance Program, neither spouse may be covered as a dependent by the
other, unless one is not eligible for a full Employer Contribution as defined in
Section 3A.

Children and Grandchildren. An eligible employee's unmarried dependent
children and unmarried dependent grandchildren: (1) through age 18; or (2) through
age 24 if the child or grandchild is a full-time student at an accredited educational
institution; or (3) a handicapped child or grandchild, regardless of age or marital
status who is incapable of self-sustaining employment by reason of mental
retardation, mental illness or physical disability and is chiefly dependent on the
employee for support. The handicapped dependent shall be eligible to continue -
coverage as long as s/he continues to be handicapped and dependent, unless
coverage terminates under the contract. Children or grandchildren who become
handicapped after they are no longer eligible dependents under (1) and (2) above

30



INSURANCE (continued)

may not be considered eligible dependents unless they are continuing coverage as a
dependent through the employee’s prior Employer.

"Dependent Child" includes an employee's: (1) biological child, (2) child legally
adopted by or placed for adoption with the employee, (3) foster child, and (4) step-
child. To be considered a dependent child, a foster child must be dependent on the

~ employee for his/her principal support and maintenance and be placed by the court
in the custody of the employee. To be considered a dependent child, a step child
must maintain residence with the employee and be dependent upon the employee
for his/her principal support and maintenance.

"Dependent Grandchild" includes an employee's: (1) grandchild placed in the legal
custody of the employee, (2) grandchild legally adopted by the employee or placed
for adoption with the employee, or (3) grandchild who is the dependent child of the
employee's unmarried dependent child. Under (1) and (3) above, the grandchild
must be dependent upon the employee for principal support and maintenance and
live with the employee.

If both spouses work for the State or another organization participating in the State's
Group Insurance Program, either spouse, but not both, may cover their eligible
dependent children or grandchildren. This restriction also applies to two divorced,
legally separated, or unmarried employees who share legal responsibility for their
eligible dependent children or grandchildren.

D. Continuation Coverage. Consistent with state and federal laws, certain employees,
former employees, dependents, and former dependents may continue group health,
dental, and/or life coverage at their own expense for a fixed length of time. As of the
date of the adoption of this Plan, state and federal laws allow certain group coverages to
be continued if they would otherwise terminate due to: '

a. termination of employment (except for gross misconduct);
b. layoff;

reduction of hours to an ineligible status;

/o

dependent child becoming ineligible due to change in age, student status,
marital status, or financial support (in the case of a foster child or stepchild);

e. death of employee;

f. divorce or legal separation; or

g. acovered employee’s entitlement to or enrollment in Medicare.

See Appendix A for more details.
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SECTION 3. ELIGIBILITY FOR EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTION. This section describes
| eligibility for regular emplovees for an Employer Contribution toward the cost of coverage.

A. Full Employer Contribution - Basic Eligibility. The following employees covered by
this Plan receive the full Employer Contribution:

1.

Employees who are scheduled to work at least 40 hours weekly for a period of nine
months or more in any 12 consecutive months.

Employees who are scheduled to work at least 30.hours weekly for a 12 consecutive
month period, but excluding part-time employees serving on less than a 75 percent
basis.

B. Partial Employer Contribution - Basic Eligibility. Employees who are scheduled to
work at least 50 percent of the time but less than 75 percent of the time in a calendar
year receive the full Employer Contribution for basic life coverage, and at the
employee's option, a partial Employer Contribution for health and dental coverages. The
partial Employer Contribution for health and dental coverages is 75 percent of the full
Employer Contribution for both employee only and dependent coverage.

C. Special Eligibility. The following employees also receive an Employer Contribution:

L.

Work-related injury/disability. An employee who receives an Employer
Contribution and who is off the legislative payroll due to a work-related injury or a
work-related disability remains eligible for an Employer Contribution as long as
such an employee receives workers' compensation payments. If such employee
ceases to receive workers' compensation payments for the injury or disability and is
granted a medical leave, he/she shall be eligible for an Employer Contribution
during that leave.

Employees not terminated for cause. An employee who receives an Employer
Contribution for health, dental and life insurance, who has three or more years of
continuous state service, and who has been terminated for reasons other than for
cause, remains eligible for an Employer Contribution and all other benefits
provided under the Insurance Chapter for an extended benefit eligibility period of
six months from the date of termination. An employee is eligible for this benefit if
the employee is terminated because of abolition of the employee's position, shortage
of work or funding, a management-imposed reduction in a full-time employee's
normal work hours which continues longer than two consecutive weeks, or other
reason outside the employee's control. Any employee who has voluntarily requested
and received appointing authority approval to reduce his/her work hours shall not
be considered to have been terminated. Rehire to a temporary position will not
extend this period. In no event shall the Employer Contribution continue beyond the
date at which the employee reaches the age of 65.
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D. Maintaining Eligibility for Employer Contribution.

1.

General. An employee who receives a full or partial Employer Contribution
maintains that eligibility as long as the employee meets the Employer Contribution
eligibility requirements, and appears on a legislative payroll for at least one full
working day during each payroll period. This requirement does not apply to
employees who are eligible for workers’ compensation payments as described in
Section 3Cl1, or to employees terminated for reasons other than for cause as
described in 3C2.

Unpaid Leave of Absence. If an employee is on an unpaid leave of absence, then
vacation leave, compensatory time, or sick leave cannot be used for the purpose of
maintaining eligibility for an Employer Contribution by keeping the employee ona
legislative payroll for one working day per pay period.

Other Leaves. An employee who is on an approved Caretaker or Medical Leave or

on a Salary Savings Leave as provided elsewhere in this Plan maintains eligibility
for an Employer Contribution.
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SECTION 4. AMOUNT OF EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTION. For employees eligible for an
Employer Contribution as described in Section 3, the amount of the Employer Contribution will
be determined as provided in this section.

A. Contribution Formula - Health Coverage.

1.

Employee Coverage. For employee health coverage, the Employer contributes an
amount equal to 100 percent of the employee-only premium of Minnesota
Advantage Health Plan (Advantage).

Dependent Coverage. For dependent health coverage for the 2004-ard-2005 2006
and 2007 plan years, the Employer contributes an amount equal to 85 percent of the
dependent premium of Advantage.

B. Contribution Formula - Dental Coverage.

1.

Employee Coverage. For employee dental coverage, the Employer contributes an
amount equal to the lesser of 90 percent of the employee premium of the State
Dental Plan, or the actual employee premium of the dental plan chosen by the
employee._However. for calendar vears beginning Januarv 1. 2006, and January 1.
2007, the minimum emplovee contribution shall be $5.00 per month.

Dependent Coverage. For dependent dental coverage, the Employer contributes
an amount equal to the lesser of 50 percent of the dependent premium of the State
Dental Plan, or the actual dependent premium of the dental plan chosen by the
employee.

C. Contribution Formula - Basic Life Coverage. For employee basic life coverage and
accidental death and dismemberment coverage, the Employer contributes 100 percent of
the cost.

SECTION 5. COVERAGE CHANGES AND EFFECTIVE DATES.

A. When Coverage May Be Chosen.

1.

Newly hired employees. All employees hired into insurance eligible positions
must make benefit elections by their initial effective date of coverage as defined in
this Chapter, Section 5C. Insurance-eligible employees will automatically be
enrolled in basic life coverage. If employees eligible for a full Employer
Contribution do not choose a health plan administrator and a primary care clinic by
their initial effective date, they will be enrolled in a Bénefit Level Two clinic (or
Level One, if available) that meets established access standards in the health plan
with the largest number of Benefit Level One and Two clinics in the county of the
employee’s residence at the beginning of the insurance year.
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2.

Eligibility changes. Employees who become eligible for a full Employer
Contribution must make their benefit elections within 30 calendar days of becoming
eligible. If employees do not choose a health plan administrator and a primary care
clinic within this 30-day timeframe, they will be enrolled in a Benefit Level Two
clinic (or Level One, if available) that meets established access standards in the
health plan with the largest number of Benefit Level One and Two clinics in the
county of the employee’s residence at the beginning of the insurance year.

If employees who become eligible for a partial Employef Contribution choose to
enroll in insurance, they must do so within thirty (30) days of becoming eligible or
during open enrollment.

An employee may change his/her health or dental plan if the employee changes to a
new permanent residence, and the employee’s current plan is no longer available.
If the employee has family coverage and if the new residence location is outside of
the current plan’s service area, the employee shall be permitted to switch to a new
plan administrator and new Benefit Level within 30 days of the residence location
change. The election change must be due to and correspond with the change in
status.

An employec or retiree may also change health or dental plans in any other
situation in which the Employer is requlred by the applicable federal or state law to
allow a plan change.

B. When Coverage May be Changed or Canceled.

1.

Changes Due to a Life Event. After the initial enrollment period and outside of
any open enrollment period, an employee may elect to change health or dental
coverage (including adding or canceling coverage) and any applicable employee
contributions in the following situations (as long as allowed under the applicable
provisions, regulations, and rules of the federal and state law in effect at the
beginning of the plan year).

The request to change coverage must be consistent with a change in status that
qualifies as a life event, and does not include changing health or dental plans, which
may only be done under the terms of Section 5A above. Any election to add
coverage must be made within 30 days following the event, and any election to
cancel coverage must be made within 60 days following the event. (An employee
and a retired employee may add dependent health or dental coverage following the
birth of a child or dependent grandchild, or following the adoption of a child,
without regard to the 30 day limit.) These life events (for both employees and
retirees) are:

a. A change in legal marital status, including marriage, death of a spouse, divorce,
legal separation and annulment.
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b. A change in number of dependents, including birth, death, adoption, and
placement for adoption.

c. A change in employment status of the employee, or the employee’s or retiree’s
spouse, or dependent, including termination or commencement of employment,
a strike or lockout, a commencement of or return from an unpaid leave of
absence, a change in worksite, and a change in working conditions of the
employee (including changing between part-time and full-time or hourly and
salaried), the employee’s or retiree’s spouse or dependent which results in a
change in the benefits they receive under a cafeteria plan or a health or dental
plan. . .

d. A dependent ceasing to satisfy eligibility requirements for coverage due to
attainment of age, student status, marital status or other similar circumstances.

e. A change in the place of residence of the employee, retiree or their spouse, or
dependent.

f. Significant cost or coverage changes (including coverage curtailment and the
addition of a benefit package).

g. Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA) leave (for employees of the Legislative
- Reference Library).

h. Judgments, decrees, or orders.

i. A change in coverage of a spouse or dependent under another Employer’s plan.

j- Open enrollment under the plan of another Employer.

k. Health Insurance amd—Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA) special
enrollment rights for new dependents and in the case of loss of other insurance
coverage.

1. A COBRA-qualifying event.

- m. Loss of coverage under the group health plan of a governmental or educational
institution (a State’s children’s health insurance program, medical care program
of an Indian tribal government, State health benefits risk pool, or foreign
government group health plan).

n. Entitlement to Medicare or Medicaid.

0. Any other situations in which the group health or dental plan is required by the
applicable federal or state law to allow a change in coverage.
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2.

Canceling Dependent Coverage During Open Enrollment. In addition to the
above situations, dependent health or dependent dental coverage may also be
cancelled for any reason during the open enrollment period that applies to each type -
of plan (as long as allowed under the applicable provisions, regulations and rules of
the federal and state law in effect at the beginning of the plan year).

Canceling Employee Coverage. A part-time emplbyee may also cancel employee
coverage within 60 days of when one of the life events set forth above occurs.

Effective Date of Benefit Termination. Medical, dental, and life coverage
termination will take effect on the first of the month following the loss of eligible

" employee or dependent status. Disability benefit coverage terminations will take
.. effect on the day following loss of eligible employee or dependent status.

C. Effective Date of Coverage.

1.

Initial Effective Date. The initial effective date of coverage under the Group
Insurance - Program is the 35" day following the employee's first day of
employment,_—re-empleyinent, re-hire, or reinstatement with the Legislature (i.e.,
the 36™ day of employment, reemployment, or reinstatement). The initial effective
date of coverage for an employee whose eligibility has changed is the date of the
change, provided the employee has completed their first 35 days of work. An
employee must be actively at work on the initial effective date of coverage, except
that an employee who is on paid leave on the date State-paid life insurance benefits
increase is also entitled to the increased life insurance coverage. In no event shall
an employee's dependent's coverage become effective before the employee's
coverage. ’

If an employee is not actively at work due to employee or dependent health status or
medical disability, medical and dental coverage will still take effect. (Life and
disability coverage will be delayed until the employee returns to work.)

Delay in Coverage Effective Date.

a. Basic Life. If an employee is not actively at work on the initial effective date of
coverage, coverage will be effective on the first day of the employee’s return to
work. The effective date of a change in coverage is not delayed in the event
that, on the date the coverage change would be effective, an employee is on an
unpaid leave of absence or layoff.

b. Medical and Dental. If an employee is not actively at work on the initial
effective date of coverage due to a reason other than hospitalization or medical
disability of the employee or dependent, medical and dental coverage will be
effective the first day of the employee’s return to work.

The effective date of a change in coverage is not delayed in the event that, on the
date the coverage change would be effective, an employee is on an unpaid leave
of absence or layoff.
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c. Optional Life and Disability Coverages. In order for coverage to become
effective, the employee must be in active payroll status and not using sick leave
on the first day efthe-pav-period-coinecidingwith-er-next-following approval by
the insurance company. If it is an open enrollment period, coverage may be
applied for but will not become effective until the first day of the employee's
return to work.

D. Open Enrollment.

I.

Frequency and Duration. There shall be an open enroliment period for health
coverage in each year of this Plan, and for dental coverage in the first year of this

- Plan. Each vear of this Plan. all emplovees shall have the option to complete a

Health Assessment. Open enrollment periods shall last a minimum of 14 calendar
days each year of this Plan. Open enrollment changes become effective on January
1 of each year._Subject to a timelv plan settlement. the Emplover shall make open
enrollment materials available to emplovees at least fourteen davs prior to the start
of the open enroliment period.

Open enrollment may be suspended at the discretion of the Commissioner of
Employee Relations if, by October 15 of any insurance year, this Chapter or a
negotiated insurance article has not been approved in accordance with Mlnn Stat.
43A.18, Subd. 2.

Eligibility to Participate. An employee eligible to participate in the State
Employee Group Insurance Program, as described in Sections 2A and 2B, may
participate in open enrollment. In addition, a person in the following categories
may, as allowed in section 5D1 above, make certain changes: (1) a former
employee or dependent on continuation coverage, as described in Section 2D, may
change plans or add coverage for health and/or dental plans on the same basis as
active employees; and (2) an early retiree, prior to becoming eligible for Medicare,
may change health and/or dental plans as agreed to for active employees, but may
not add dependent coverage.

Materials for Employee Choice. Each year prior to open enrollment, the
appointing authority will give eligible employees the information necessary to make
open enrollment selections. Employees will be provided a statement of their current
coverage each year of the plan.

E. Coverage Selection Prior to Retirement. An employee who retires and is eligible to
continue insurance coverage as a retiree may change his/her health or dental plan during
the 60 calendar day period immediately preceding the date of retirement. The employee
may not add dependent coverage during this period. The change takes effect on the first

day of the-firstpay peried-beginning-afterthe month following the date of retirement.
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SECTION 6. BASIC COVERAGES.

A. Employee and Family Health Coverage.

1.

Minnesota Advantage Health Plan (Advantage). The health coverage portion of
the State Employee Group Insurance Program is provided through the Minnesota
Advantage Health Plan (Advantage), a self-insured health plan offering four Benefit
Level options. Provider networks and claim administration are provided by multiple
plan administrators. Coverage offered through Advantage is determined by Section
6A2. ‘

Coverage Under the Minnesota Advantage Health Plan. Effective January 1,
20042006, Advantage will cover eligible services subject to the copayments,
deductibles and coinsurance coverage limits stated. Services provided through
Advantage are subject to the managed care procedures and principles, including
standards of medical necessity and appropriate practice, of the plan administrators.

Coverage details are provided in the Advantage Summary of Benefits. ‘

a. Benefit Options. Employees must elect a plan administrator and primary care
clinic. Those elections will determine the Benefit Level through Advantage.
Enrolled dependents must elect a primary care clinic that is available through
the plan administrator chosen by the employee.

1) Plan Administrator. Employees must elect a plan administrator during
their initial enrollment in Advantage and may change their plan
administrator election only during the annual open enrollment and when
permitted under Section 5. Dependents must be enrolled through the same
plan administrator as the employee.

2) Benefit Level. The primary care clinics available through each plan
administrator are assigned a Benefit Level. The Benefit Levels are outlined
in the benefit chart below. Primary care clinics may be in different Benefit
Levels for different plan administrators. Family members may be enrolled
in clinics that are in different Benefits Levels. Employees and their
dependents may change to clinics in different Benefit Levels during the
annual open enrollment. Employees and their dependents may also elect to
move to a clinic in a different Benefit Level within the same plan
administrator up to two additional times during the plan year. Unless the
individual has a referral from his/her primary care clinic, there are no
benefits for services received from providers in Benefit Levels that are
different from that of the primary care clinic in which the individual has
enrolled. :
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3)

Primary Care Clinic. Employees and each of their covered dependents
must individually elect a primary care clinic within the network of providers
offered by the plan administrator chosen by the employee. Employees and
their dependents may elect to change clinics within their clinic’s Benefit
Level as often as the plan administrator permits and as outlined above.

Advantage Benefit Chart for Services Incurred During Plan Years 2004-26052006-2007

2006 and 2007 Benefit Benefit Benefit Benefit . Benefit
Provision Level 1 Level 2 Level 3 © Level4
The member pays: The member pays: The member pays: The member pays:
Deductible for all
services except drug $30/$60 $80:5160-1n2604 $280/8560 $500/$1,000
d preventive care $100/$200-in2605
(S/F)
ffice visit copay NiA-subjectto
(Fopay/urgent care 1815 1 %20 1) $20 deductible-and 30%
aived for preventive 2)$20 2) 825 2) $25 co-insuranee-to-O0R
sprvices) FRAXHAHR
1) Having taken health 1) $30
ssessiment 2)3835
'Not having taken
ealth assessment
inute Clinic 10 $10 s10 10
eductible waived)
N/A-subject to
Emergency room copay $50 $50 $50 deductible and 30%
co-insurance to OOP
maximum
Facility copays per: N/A-subject to
e inpatient admission $50 $ 150 , $400 deductible and 30%
'y outpatient surgery $25 $75 $150 co-insurance to OOP
maximum
Coinsurance for 0% (100% coverage | 0% (100% coverage | 10% (90% coverage |30% for all services
services NOT after payment of after payment of after payment of | to OOP maximum
subject to copays deductible) deductible) deductible) after deductible
Coinsurance for durable | 20% (80% coverage | 20% (80% coverage | 20% (80% coverage |30% for all services
medical equipment after payment of after payment of _after payment of | to OOP maximum
20% coinsurance) 20% coinsurance) 20% coinsurance) | after deductible
Copay for formulary/ $ 15 formulary $15 formulary $15 formulary $15 formulary
non-formulary $30 non-formulary $30 non-formulary | $30 non-formulary | $30 non-formulary
prescription drug plan '
aximum drug out-of- | $660:$1;200-in2004 | $600:31-200-111-2004 | $660:$1;200-in2004 | $600:81.2004n2004
ocket limit (S/F) $650/$1,300-2865 | $650/81,300-17-2085 | $650/81,300 #2605 | $650/$1,300 in2665
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Maximum non-drug )
ut-of-pocket limit $800/$1,600-in2004 | $860/$1-600-1n2004 | $806/$1,600-in-2004 | $800:51-600-in2004
(B/F) $1,000/$2,000-a $1,000/$2,000-iz $1,000/$2,000 in $1,000/$2,000 in
26035 2005 2005 2005
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b. Office visit copayments. Each vear of the Plan. the level of the office visit
copayment applicable to an emplovee and dependents is based upon whether the
emplovee has completed the on-line Health Assessment during open enrollment.

b:c Services received from, or authorized by, a primary care physician within the
primary care clinic. Under Advantage, the health care services outlined in the benefits
charts above shall be received from, or authorized by a primary care physician within the
primary care clinic. Preventive care, as outlined in the Summary of Benefits, is covered
at 100 percent for services received from or authorized by the primary care clinic. The
primary care clinic shall be selected from approved clinics in accordance with the
Advantage administrative procedures. Unless otherwise specified in 6A2, services not
received from, or authorized by, a primary care physician within the primary care clinic
may not be covered. Unless the individual has a referral from his/her primary care clinic,
there are no benefits for services received from providers in Benefit Levels that are
different from that of the primary care clinic in which the individual has enrolled.

e-d. Services not requiring authorization by a primary care physician within
the primary care clinic.

1) Eye exams. Limited to one routine examination per year for which no
copay applies.

2) Outpatient emergency and urgicenter services within the service area.
The emergency room copay applies to all outpatient emergency visits that
do not result in hospital admission within twenty-four hours. The urgicenter
copay is'the same as the primary care clinic office visit copay.

3) Emergency and urgently needed care outside the service area.
Professional services of a physician, emergency room treatment, and
inpatient hospital services are covered at 80 percent of the first $2,000 of the
charges incurred per insurance year, and 100 percent thereafter. The
maximum eligible out-of-pocket expense per individual per year for this
benefit is $400. This benefit is not available when the member’s condition
permits him or her to receive care within the network of the plan in which
the individual is enrolled. ~

4) Ambulance. The deductible and coinsurance for services not subject to
copays applies.

e-ePrescription drugs.
1) Copayments and annual out-of-pocket maximums.
For each year of the contract:

Formulary copayment: Fifteen dollar copayment per prescription or refill
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INSURANCE (continued)
for a formulary drug dispensed in a '34-day supply.

Non-formulary copayment: Thirty dollar copayment per prescription or
refill for a non-formulary drug dispensed in a 34-day supply.

Out-of-pocket maximum: There is an annual maximum eligible out-of-

pocket expense limit for prescription drugs of $608-per-person-or-$+:206-per
family-in2004-and-$650 per person or $1,300 per family-i#-2665.

2) Insulin. Insulin will be treated as a prescription drug subject to a separate
copay for each type prescribed.

3) Brand name drugs. If the subscriber chooses a brand name drug when a
bioequivalent generic drug is available, the subscriber is required to pay the
standard copayment plus the difference between the cost of the brand name
drug and the generic. Amounts above the copay that an individual elects to
pay for a brand name instead of a generic drug will not be credited toward
the out-of-pocket maximum. '

4) Special Coverage for “Grandfathered Diabetic Group”. For insulin
dependent diabetics who have been continuously enrolled for health
coverage insured or administered by Blue Cross Blue Shield through the
SEGIP since January 1, 1991, and who were identified as having used these
supplies during the period January 1, 1991, through September 30, 1991
(herein the “Grandfathered Diabetic Group”), diabetic supplies are covered
as follows:

e Test tapes and syringes are covered at 100 percent for the greater of a 34-
day supply or 100 units when purchased with insulin.

efSpecial Service networks. The following services must be received from
special service network providers in order to be covered. All terms and
conditions outlined in the Summary of Benefits apply.

1) Mental health services — inpatient or outpatient.

2) Chemical dependency services — inpatient and outpatient.
3)  Chiropractic services. '

4) Transplant coverage.

5) Cardiac services.

6) Home infusion therapy. -

7)  Hospice.

fgIndividuals whose permanent residence and principal work location are
outside the State of Minnesota and outside of the service areas of the health
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INSURANCE (continued)

plans participating in Advantage. If these individuals use the plan
administrator’s national preferred provider organization in their area, services
will be covered at Benefit Level Two. If a national preferred provider is not
available in their area, services will be covered at Benefit Level Two through any
other provider available in their area. If the national preferred provider
organization is available but not used, benefits will be paid at the POS level
described in paragraph “hi” below. All terms and conditions outlined in the
Summary of Benefits will apply.

g-hChildren living with an ex-spouse outside the service area of the
employee’s plan administrator. Covered children living with former spouses
outside the service area of the employee’s plan administrator and enrolled under
this provision as of December 31, 2003, will be covered at Benefit Level Two
benefits. If available, services must be provided by providers in the plan
administrator’s national preferred provider organization. If the national preferred
provider organization is available but not used, benefits will be paid at the POS
level described in paragraph “ki” below. ’

k-ilndividuals whose permanent residence is outside the State of Minnesota
and outside the service areas of the health plans participating in Advantage.
(This category includes employees temporarily residing outside Minnesota on
temporary assignment or paid leave (including sabbatical leaves) and all
dependent children (including college students) and spouses living out of area.)
The point of service (POS) benefit described below is available to these
individuals. All terms and conditions outlined in the Summary of Benefits apply.
This benefit is not available for services received within the service areas of the
health plans participating in Advantage.

1) 'Deductible. There is a $350 annual deductible per person, with a maximum
deductible per family per year of $700.

2) Coinsurance. After the deductible is satisfied, 70 percent coverage up to
the plan out-of-pocket maximum designated below.

tjLifetime maximums and non-prescription out-of-pocket maximums.
Coverage under Advantage is not subject to a per person lifetime maximum.
Coverage under Advantage is subject to a plan year. non-prescription drug. out of
pocket maximum of $1.000 per person or $2.000 per family.
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k. Minute clinics. Services received at Minute Clinics are subject to a $10

copavment in each vear of the Plan. First dollar deductibles are waived for

Minute Clinic visits. (Note that prescriptions received as a result of a visit are

subject to the drug copavment and out of pocket maximums described above at
6AS2 (4) e).)

3 Benefit Level Two Health Care Network Determination. Issues

regarding the health care networks for the 20052007 insurance year shall be establlshed in
accordance with procedures in state collective bargaining agreements.

5)

44Coordination with Workers' Compensation. When an employee has
incurred an on-the-job injury or an on-the-job disability and has filed a
claim for workers' compensation, medical costs connected with the injury or
disability shall be paid by the employee's health plan, pursuant to Minn.
Stat. § 176.191, Subdivision 3.

Health Promotion and Health Education. The Plan recognizes the value
and importance of health education programs. Such programs can assist
employees and their dependents to maintain and enhance their health, and to
make appropriate use of the health care system. The appointing authority
may develop and implement health promotion and health educatlon
programs, subject to the availability of resources.

B. Employee Life Coverage.

1. Basic Life and Accidental Death and Dismemberment Coverage. The Employer
agrees to provide and pay for the following term life coverage and accidental death
and dismemberment coverage for all employees eligible for an Employer
Contribution, as described in this Plan. Any premium paid by the State in excess of
$50,000 coverage is subject to a tax liability in accord with Internal Revenue
Service regulations. An employee may decline coverage in excess of $50,000 by
filing a waiver in accord with appointing authority procedures. The basic life
insurance policy will include an accelerated benefits agreement providing for
payment of benefits prior to death if the insured has a terminal condition.

Accidental Death

Employee’s Annual Group Life and Dismemberment
Base Salary Insurance Coverage Principal Sum
$10,000 - $15,000 $15,000 $15,000

$15,001 - $20,000 $20,000 $20,000

$20,001 - $25,000 $25,000 $25,000

$25,001 - $30,000 $30,000 $30,000

$30,001 - $35,000 $35,000 $35,000

$35,001 - $40,000 $40,000 $40,000

$40,001 - $45,000 $45,000 $45,000

$45,001 - $50,000 $50,000 $50,000

$50,001 - $55,000 $55,000 $55,000
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$55,001 - $60,000 - $60,000 $60,000
$60,001 - $65,000 $65,000 $65,000
$65,001 - $70,000 $70,000 $70,000
$70,001-$75,000 $75,000 $75,000
$75,001-$80,000 $80,000 $80,000
$80,001-$85,000 $85,000 $85,000
$85,001-$90,000 $90,000 $90,000
Over $90,000 $95,000 $95,000
2. Extended Benefits. An employee who becomes totally disabled before age 70

shall be eligible for the extended benefit provisions of the life insurance policy until
age 70. Employees who were disabled prior to July 1, 1983, and who have
continuously received benefits shall continue to receive such benefits under the
terms of the policy in effect prior to July 1, 1983.

SECTION 7. OPTIONAL COVERAGES.
A. Employee and Family Dental Coverage.

1.

Coverage Options. Eligible employees may select coverage under any one of the

dental plans offered by the Employer, including-health-maintenance-orcanization
plans—the-State-Dental Plan—or-other-dental-plans_State Delta Dental. Blue Plus

Dental and HealthPartners Dental.

(The term "State Dental Plan" refers to one of two plans administered by Delta -
Dental Plan of Minnesota. The other plan administered by Delta Dental is Blue Plus
Dental. The third dental plan that is available is HealthPartners Dental Plan. The
benefits across all plans are similar, but there are some significant differences from
plan to plan, such as the-annual-maximum-amounts—and—the way benefits are
administered. The plan described here is the State Dental Plan.) :

Coverage Under the State Dental Plan. The State Dental Plan will provide the
following coverage:

a. Copayments. The State Dental Plan will cover allowable charges for the
following services subject to the copayments and coverage limits stated. Higher
out-of-pocket costs apply to services obtained from dental care providers not in
the State Dental Plan network. Services provided through the State Dental Plan
are subject to the State Dental Plan's managed care procedures and principles,
including standards of dental necessity and appropriate practice. The plan shall
cover general cleaning two times per plan year and special cleanings (root or
deep cleaning) as prescribed by the dentist. Coverages are as follows:

Service . In-Network Out-of-Network
Diagnostic/Preventive 100% o 50% after deductible

50%-60% after

Fillings :  deductible 50% after deductible
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50%60% after
Endodontics deductible 50% after deductible
50%60% after
Periodontics deductible 50% after deductible
50%60% after ,
Oral Surgery deductible 50% after deductible
50%60% after
Crowns deductible 50% after deductible
Prosthetics 50% after deductible 50% after deductible
Prosthetic Repairs 50% after deductible 50% after deductible
Orthodontics* 50% after deductible 50% after deductible

* Please refer to your certificate of coverage for information regarding age limitations for

dependent orthodontic care.

b. Deductible. An annual deductible of $50 per person and $150 per family
applies to State Dental Plan non-preventive services received from in-network
providers. An annual deductible of $125 per person applies to State Dental Plan
basic and special services received from out of network providers. The
deductible must be satisfied before coverage begins.

c. Annual maximums. State Dental Plan coverage is subject to a $1,000 annual
maximum benefit payable (excluding orthodontia) per person. "Annual" means
per insurance year.

d. Orthodontia lifetime maximum. Orthodontia benefits are available to eligible
dependent children ages 8 through 18 subject to a $2,400 lifetime maximum
benefit.

B. Life Coverage.

1.

Employee. An employee may purchase up to $500,000 additional life insurance, in
increments established by the Employer, subject to satisfactory evidence of
insurability. A new employee may purchase up to two times annual salary in
optional employee life coverage by their initial effective date of coverage as
defined in this Chapter, Section 5C without evidence of insurability. An employee
who becomes eligible for insurance may purchase up to two times annual salary in
optional employee life coverage without evidence of insurability within thirty days
of the initial effective date as defined in this Chapter.

Spouse. An employee may purchase up to $500,000 life insurance coverage for
his/her spouse in increments established by the Employer, subject to satisfactory
evidence of insurability. A new employee may purchase either $5,000 or $10,000
in optional spouse life coverage by their initial effective date of coverage as defined
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in this' Chapter, Section 5C without evidence of insurability. An employee who
becomes eligible for insurance may purchase either $5,000 or $10,000 in optional
spouse coverage without evidence of insurability within 30 days of the imitial
effective date as defined in this Chapter

3. Children/Grandchildren. An employee may purchase life insurance in the amount
of $10,000 as a package for all eligible children/grandchildren (as defined in
Section 2C of this Plan). For a new employee, child/grandchild coverage requires
evidence of insurability if application is made after the initial effective date of
coverage as defined in the Chapter, Section 5C. An employee who becomes
eligible for insurance may purchase child/grandchild coverage without evidence of
insurability if application is made within 30 days of the initial effective date as
defined in this Chapter. Child/grandchild coverage commences 14 calendar days
after birth.

4. Accelerated Life. The additional employee, spouse, and child life insurance
policies will include an accelerated benefits agreement providing for payment of
benefits prior to death if the insured has a terminal condition.

5. Waiver of Premium. In the event an employee becomes totally disabled before
age 70, there shall be a waiver of premium for all life insurance coverage that the
employee had at the time of disability.

6. Paid Up Life Policy. At age 65 or the date of retirement, an employee who has
carried optional employee life insurance for the five consecutive years immediately
preceding the date of the employee’s retirement or age 65, whichever is later, shall
receive a post-retirement paid-up life insurance policy in an amount equal to 15
percent of the smallest amount of optional employee life insurance in force during
that five year period. The employee’s post-retirement death benefit shall be
effective as of the date of the employee’s retirement or the employee age 65,
whichever is later. Employees who retire prior to age 65 must be immediately
eligible to receive a state retirement annuity and must continue their optional
employee life insurance to age 65 in order to remain eligible for the employee post-
retirement death benefit.

An employee who has carried optional spouse life insurance for the five
consecutive years immediately preceding the date of the employee’s retirement or
spouse age 65, whichever is later, shall receive a post-retirement paid-up life
insurance policy in an amount equal to 15 percent of the smallest amount of
optional spouse life insurance in force during that five year period. The spouse or
post-retirement death benefit shall be effective as of the date of the employee’s
retirement or spouse age 65, whichever is later. The employee must continue the
full amount of optional spouse life insurance to the date of the employee’s
retirement or spouse age 65, whichever is later, in order to remain eligible for the
spouse post-retirement death benefit. :
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Each policy remains separate and distinct, and amounts may not be combined for
the purpose of increasing the amount of a single policy.

C. Disability Coverage.

1.

Short-term Disability Coverage. An employee may purchase short-term disability
coverage that provides benefits of from $300 to $5,000 per month, up to two-thirds
of an employee's salary, for up to 180 days during total disability due to a non-
occupational accident or a non-occupational sickness. Benefits are paid from the
first day of a disabling injury or from the eighth day of a disabling sickness. For a
new employee, coverage applied for by the initial effective date of coverage as -
defined in this Chapter, Section 5C, does not require evidence of insurability. For
an employee who becomes eligible for insurance, coverage applied for within 30
days of the initial effective date does not require evidence of insurability.

Long-term Disability Coverage. New employees may enroll in long-term
disability insurance by their initial effective date of coverage. Employees who
become eligible for insurance may enroll in long-term disability insurance within 30
days of their initial effective date as defined in this Chapter, Section SC. The terms
are the same as for employees who wish to add/increase during the annual open
enrollment. During open enrollment only, an employee may purchase long-term
disability coverage that provides benefits of from $200 to $5,000 per month, based
on the employee's salary, commencing on the 181st calendar day of total disability,
and not subject to evidence of insurability but with a limited term pre-existing
condition exclusion. Employees should be aware that other wage replacement
benefits, as described in the Certificate of Coverage (i-e., Social Security Disability,
Minnesota State Retirement Disability, etc.), may result in a reduction of the
monthly benefit levels purchased. In any event, the minimum is the greater of $300
or 15 percent of the amount purchased. The minimum benefit will not be reduced
by any other wage replacement benefit. In the event that the employee becomes
totally disabled before age 70, the premiums on this benefit shall be waived.

D. Accidental Death and Dismemberment Coverage. An employee may purchase
accidental death and dismemberment coverage that provides principal sum benefits in
amounts ranging from $5,000 to $100,000. Payment is made only for accidental bodily
injury or death and may vary, depending upon the extent of dismemberment. An
employee may also purchase from $5,000 to $25,000 in coverage for his/her spouse, but
not in excess of the amount carried by the employee.

E. Continuation of Optional Coverages During Unpaid Leave or After Termination
Without Cause. An employee who takes an unpaid leave of absence or who is
terminated without cause may discontinue premium payments on optional policies
during the period of leave or at termination. If the employee returns within one year, the
employee shall be permitted to pick up all optionals held prior to the leave or
termination. For purposes of reinstating such optional coverages, the following
limitations shall be applicable.
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For the first 24 months of long-term disability coverage after such a period of leave or
termination without cause during which long-term disability coverage was discontinued,
any such disability coverage shall exclude coverage for pre-existing conditions. For
disability purposes, a pre-existing condition is defined as any disability which is caused
by, or results from, any injury, sickness or pregnancy which occurred, was diagnosed, or
for which medical care was received during the period of leave or termination without
cause. In addition, any pre-existing condition limitations that would have been in effect
under the policy but for the discontinuance of coverage shall continue to apply as
provided in the policy. '

The limitations set forth above do not apply to leaves that qualify under the Caretaker
and Medical Leave provisions of this Plan.

F. Long-term Care Coverage. An employee may purchase Long-term Care Coverage to
help pay for a variety of long-term care services not covered by health or disability
insurances. Individualized policies may be purchased for the employee, the spouse of
the employee or the parents/step-parents of the employee. Employees and their spouses
or parents/step-parents may explore plan options and associated premiums by visiting
the Long-term Care Coverage Web site at www.ltcbenefits.com using the password
GoForLCC. ' :

Newly-hired employees who enroll themselves within their first 90 days of employment
may do so without providing evidence of insurability. Spouses and parent/step-parents
must provide evidence of insurability by completing the short or long application,
respectively.

Retirees who, at the time of separation from state employment, were eligible to purchase

state insurance coverage at personal expense are eligible to apply for Long-term Care
Coverage for themselves or their spouses. Parents of retirees are not eligible.
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PRE-TAX EXPENSE ACCOUNTS, DEFERRED COMPENSATION AND
HEALTH CARE SAVINGS PLAN

L. Pre-Tax Expense and Reimbursement Accounts

A.

Premium Expense Account. Insurance eligible employees will pay for the employee
portion of health and dental premiums on a pre-tax basis as permitted by law or
regulation unless the employee signs a waiver.

Health/Dental Expense Account. Regular employees will be allowed to participate on
a pre-tax basis in a medical and dental expense reimbursement program to cover
copayments, deductibles, and other medical and dental expenses or expenses for services
not covered by health or dental insurance as permitted by law or regulation, up to a
maximum expenditure of $5,000 per calendar year. On the Department of Employee
Relations Web site, see: “Understanding Your Benefits: Medical/Dental Expense

Account,” at: http://www.doer.state.mn.us/ei%2Dsegip/Docs/mdea.pdf.

Dependent Care Expense Account. Regular employees have the option to participate
in a dependent care reimbursement program for work-related dependent care expenses
on a pre-tax basis as permitted by law or regulation. On the Department of Employee
Relations Web site, see: “Understanding Your Benefits: Dependent Care (Daycare)
Expense Account,” at: http://www.doer.state.mn.us/ei%2Dsegip/docs/dcea.pdf.

Mass Tramsit and Parking Expense and Reimbursement Account. Regular
employees have the option to participate in a pre-tax mass transit expense
reimbursement and parking expense account program as permitted by law or regulation.
Temporary employees who pay for parking by payroll deduction will have the deduction
made on a pre-tax basis unless they file with their payroll officer a waiver of the pre-tax
parking benefit within ten days after their date of hire. On the Department of Employee
Relations Web site, see: “Understanding Your Benefits: Transit Expense Plan,” at:

http://www.doer.state.mn.us/ei%2Dsegip/transit.pdf.

Pre-tax Plans. Pre-tax expense and reimbursement account plans will be those offered
through the Department of Employee Relations, except as otherwise provided by action
of the appointing authority. ‘

Deferred Compensation. Employees may participate in the State of Minnesota Deferred

Compensation Plan. The plan is voluntary and allows employees to place a portion of their
earnings into a pre-tax deferred investment program. Taxes on money set aside and on
earnings are deferred until the time of withdrawal. This allows employees to defer present
income for long-term savings to supplement retirement and other benefits. Full information
on the plan is found online at: http://www.mndcplan.com/. :

Once -each calendar year, regular employees of the House and Senate may either elect to
receive a state-paid ‘contribution to the state deferred compensation program, or elect to
convert vacation to deferred compensation. Once each fiscal year, regular employees under
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the jurisdiction of the LCC may either elect to receive a state-paid contribution to the state
deferred compensation program, or elect to convert vacation to deferred compensation.

A. State-Paid Contribution to Deferred Compensation.
For employees electing the state-paid contribution benefit, payment is as follows:

The employer agrees to provide employees with a state-paid contribution to the deferred
compensation program under Minn. Stat. § 352.96. The state-paid contribution shall be
in an amount matching the employee’s contribution on a dollar-for-dollar basis as
permitted by Minn. Stat. § 356.24, not to exceed $300 per employee each calendar year
for House and Senate employees. For employees under the jurisdiction of the LCC, the
state-paid contribution shall be in an amount matching the employee’s contribution on a
dollar-for-dollar basis as permitted by Minn. Stat. § 356.24, not to exceed $300 per
employee each fiscal year.

B. Conversion of Accumulated Vacation to Deferred Compensatlon
For employees electing the conversion of accumulated vacation to deferred
compensation benefit, payment is as follows:

The employee may convert a portion of the employee’s accumulated vacation to a
contribution to a deferred compensation plan for which a payroll deduction has been
provided. For employees of the House and Senate, each employee may convert up to
one hour of vacation for each three hours of vacation and compensatory time used in the .
12-month period ending with the last full pay period within the previous calendar year.
An employee may not convert more than 40 hours each calendar year. For employees
under the jurisdiction of the LCC, each employee may convert up to one hour of
vacation for each three hours of vacation and compensatory time used in the 12-month
period ending with the last full pay period within the previous fiscal year. An employee
may not convert more than 40 hours each fiscal year.

The provision shall not be used in the pay period that contains the first of July.
Contributions to deferred compensation plans made through the conversion of vacation
hours are subject to all the rules and regulations of the respective plans.

III. Health Care Savings Plan. The employer will provide the employee with an account in its
Health Care Savings Plan, to receive any payments payable to the employee’s account as
severance pay or otherwise. The Health Care Savings Plan provides a tax-advantaged method
of paying for certain health care and health insurance expenses after the employee is retired
or simply no longer employed by the employer. These expenses can include COBRA
continuation premiums, other health insurance expenses, copayments and deductibles under
other health insurance, long-term care insurance premiums, or simply charges for health care.
Expenses for the employee’s dependents may also be paid from the employee’s account in
the plan. The employee pays no income tax on money deposited into the plan, and
withdrawal of the money originally deposited and of the earnings is also tax-free, if the
withdrawal is for reimbursement of expenses permitted under federal law to be made from
these accounts. The employee is given a choice of investment options for the employee’s
account. Under federal law, deposits into the plan may come only from employer
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contributions, mandatory employee contributions, or mandatory deposits of severance pay.
Voluntary employee contributions are not permitted. The Health Care Savings Plan will be
the plan offered through the Minnesota State Retirement System, except as otherwise
provided by action of the appointing authority.
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WORKERS' COMPENSATION

Job-Related Injuries. An employee incurring an on-the-job injury shall be paid his/her regular
rate of pay for the remainder of the scheduled work day without deduction from vacation or sick
leave accruals. An employee must complete the Information and Privacy Statement developed
by the Workers’ Compensation Program in the Department of Employee Relations.

An employee who incurs a compensable illness or injury and receives workers' compensation
benefits may elect to use accumulated vacation or sick leave, or both, during an absence resulting
from an injury or illness for which a claim for workers' compensation is made or while an award
of benefits is pending. Such leave may be used on the following basis:

1) The employee retains the workers' compensation benefit check and receives payments
from sick leave and vacation leave accruals in an amount which will total his/her
regular gross pay for the period of time involved provided that the total rate of
compensation shall not exceed the regular compensation of the employee (Minn. Stat.
§ 176.021, subd. 5); or

2) The employee retains the workers' compensation benefit check and takes an unpaid
workers' compensation leave during the time he/she is unable to work; or

3) An employee shall return from workers' compensation leave upon appropriate release
from workers' compensation status provided the employee is able to perform the work
satisfactorily and safely as determined by competent medical authority.

Vacation and Sick Leave Accruals. An employee receiving workers' compensation benefits
supplemented by vacation and/or sick leave accruals shall accrue vacation and sick leave for the
total number of hours compensated by workers' compensation, sick leave, vacation leave, and
regular hours worked. An employee on unpaid workers' compensation leave does not accrue
vacation or sick leave. .

Insurance. For employees who are off the State payroll due to a work-related injury or
disability, benefits provided under insurance sections of this Plan shall continue as long as the
employee is receiving workers' compensation payments or is using disability leave.

The Department of Labor and Industry provides “An Employees Guide to the Minnesota
Workers Compensation System, at: http://www.doli.state.mn.us/guide.html.

For all matters involving workers' compensation, the state rules,' regulations, and
interpretations of statute will apply.

ADA/WORKERS' COMPENSATION

Compliance with the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) is an obligation of the Legislature,
its employees and members. The appointing authority shall consider accommodation requests
from individuals who qualify under the ADA and employees returning from workers'
compensation leave.

Background on the ADA is found on the Web site of the Minnesota Department of Employee
Relations, at: http://www.doer.state.mn.us/odeo-ada/ada.htm
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EXPENSE ALLOWANCES

General. The appointing authority may authorize employee expenses for the effective conduct
of the Legislature's business. Authorization must be granted prior to the incurring of the actual
expenses. Employees affected under this Plan are reimbursed for expenses authorized by the
appointing authority in accord with the terms of this Plan.

Non-Commercial Transportation Expense.

Automobile. When an employee is required to use the employee's personal automobile to
conduct authorized state business, the appointing authority must reimburse the employee
‘at the same rate per mile as the standard mileage rate for business use of an automobile as
permitted by the IRS under the federal income tax as of the time of the business use of the
automobile. Mileage will be calculated on the most direct route according to records used
by and available from the appropriate Appointing Authority’s accounting office.
Deviations from the most direct route, such as vicinity driving or departure from the
employee's residence, must be shown separately on the employee's daily expense record
and reimbursed under the foregoing rate. Toll charges and parking fees actually paid shall
be reimbursed. An employee may not be required by the appointing authority to carry
automobile insurance coverage beyond that required by law.

When an employee does not report to the office during the day or makes business calls
before or after reporting to the office, the allowable mileage is: (1) the lesser of the
mileage from the employee's residence to the first stop or from the office to the first stop,
(2) all mileage between points visited on state business during the day, and (3) the lesser
of the mileage from the last stop to the employee's residence or from the last stop to the
office. ‘

Van or Van-type Vehicle. Employees who use a specially-equipped personal van or van-
type vehicle on official state business are reimbursed for mileage at a rate ef50-cents-as
permitted by the IRS under the federal income tax code plus $.09 per mile on the most
direct route. In order to qualify for this reimbursement rate, the vehicle must be equipped
with a ramp, lift, or other level exchanging device designed to provide access for a
wheelchair. '

Motorcycle. Reimbursement for use of a motorcycle on official state business shall be at
arate of 15 cents per mile on the most direct route.

Personal Aircraft. The appointing authority may authorize travel in personal aircraft
when it is deemed in the best interest of the state. Mileage reimbursement is at the rate of
4599.5 cents per mile, or any greater or lesser amount authorized by the General Services
Administration for emplovees, and is based on the shortest route based on direct air mileage
between the point of departure and the destination.

Commercial Transportation. When an employee is required to use commercial transportation
(air, taxi, rental car, etc.) in connection with authorized business of an appointing authority, the
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employee is reimbursed for the actual expenses of the mode and class of transportation so
authorized. Reasonable gratuities may be included in commercial travel costs.

If an employee uses a personal automobile instead of commercial transportation, the employee is
reimbursed either mileage, at the rates stated previously, or round trip air fare, whichever is less
as determined by the appointing authority.

Frequent Flyer Miles. Airline frequent flyer miles or credits received from an airline as a result
of air travel paid for by the appointing authority must not be used by the member or employee
for personal travel but must be reported and turned over to the appointing authority, as required
by Minn. Stat. § 15.435.

Overnight Travel. Employees in travel status who incur expenses for lodging are allowed
actual reasonable costs of lodging and meals while away from their home station, up to the
maximums stated below. Employees in travel status in excess of one week without returning
home are allowed actual cost not to exceed $16.00 per week for laundry and dry cleaning for
each week after the first week. Employees in travel status may be reimbursed for personal
telephone charges. The maximum reimbursement for personal telephone calls for each trip shall
be the result of multiplying the number of nights away from home by three dollars.

Meal Allowances. If the employee is on assignment away from the employee's home station in
a travel status, the employee is reimbursed for actual costs of meals (up to the maximum
reimbursement) including gratuity. Employees are also reimbursed for meals which are an
integral part of conferences and meetings which have been approved in advance by the
appointing authority and are consistent with the appointing authority’s policies or practices on
the payment of Special Expenses.

Maximum reimbursements for meals, including tax and gratuity, are:

Breakfast Lunch Dinner
Within the state: $7.00 ' $ 9.00 $15.00
Outside the state: $8.00 $10.00 - $17.00

Employees who are in travel status for two or more meals are reimbursed for the actual costs of
the meals up to the combined maximum amount per day for the reimbursable meals.

Breakfast reimbursements may be claimed only if the employee is on assignment away from
his/her home station in a travel status overnight or departs from home in an assigned travel status
before 6:00 a.m. Dinner reimbursement may be claimed only if the employee is away from
his/her home station in a travel status overnight or is required to remain in a travel status until
after 7:00 p.m.

Special Expenses. When prior approval has been granted by an appointing authority, special
expenses, including registration or conference fees, individual annual professional membership
dues and professional fees, and tuition for educational classes may be paid.
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EXPENSE ALLOWANCES (continued)
Registration or conference fees may be paid or reimbursed only if the conference or
meeting is relevant to the employee's current job and attendance is state business.

Professional membership dues and professional fees may be paid only if they are
directly related to the employee's current position.

Educational expenses, including fees and tuition, may be paid or reimbursed only if:

(1) the course is related to maintaining or improving performance in current or
anticipated job responsibilities of the employee; or

(2) the education is required by the appointing authority, or épplicable professional
or licensing group, as a condition for retention of employment.

Educational expenses may not be paid or reimbursed if the education is necessary for the
employee:

(1) to meet the minimum educational requirement for the employee's current
positipn; or

(2) to qualify for a new job.

Career Development. The appointing authority may develop an education program for
career development.

Payment of Expenses. No expenses (transportation, lodging, meals or registration fees) may be
paid to an employee in advance.
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JOB CANDIDATE INTERVIEW AND RELOCATION ALLOWANCES

Authorization. The appointing authority may authorize reimbursement to a job candidate for
actual expenses incurred in traveling to appear for a job interview. Reimbursement is the same
as for employees traveling on legislative business.

When it has been determined by the appointing authority that a position is to be filled by a job
candidate who resides fifty miles or more from the state capitol, the cost of moving the job
candidate may be paid by the appointing authority.

Covered Expenses.

Moving and Packing. The appointing authority may pay the cost of moving and
packing the employee's household goods. The employee must obtain no less than two
bids for packing and/or moving household goods, and approval must be obtained from
the appointing authority prior to any commitment to a mover to either pack or ship the
employee's household goods.

Storage. The appointing authority may also pay for up to six months of storage of a
prospective employee's goods, either at origin or destination, if necessitated by the
employee's inability to coordinate the acquisition of a new residence with the departure
from the old residence or for other good cause not amounting to a voluntary election to
store the goods.

House Trailer. The appointing authority may pay for the moving of house trailers if the
trailer is the employee's domicile. Reimbursement includes the cost of transporting
support blocks, skirts, or other attached fixtures. '

No Coverage for Loss or Damage. Neither the State of Minnesota nor any of its

agencies are responsible for any loss or damage to any of the employee's household
goods or personal effects as a result of transfer.
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APPENDIX A
(COBRA)

Continuation coverage provides you and your family the opportunity for a temporary
" extension of existing health, dental and life insurance coverage (at your expense) under
certain circumstances when coverage would otherwise end.

If you lose your insurance coverage under certain circumstances, you and your dependents may
have the right to continue:

* health insurance

* dental insurance

» life insurance

» Medical/Dental Expense Account (on an after-tax basis)

Under a federal law known as The Consolidated Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of 1985
(COBRA) and under Minnesota law, you or your dependents may be entitled to continue these
benefits if one of the following “qualifying events” causes you or your dependents to lose
coverage under the State Employee Group Insurance Program. (Your dependents may not
continue life insurance. Only you, as a state employee, may do so.)

Qualifying Events v

« termination of employment (for reasons other than gross misconduct)

* reduction in work hours causing ineligibility for benefits

» divorce or legal separation

* child is no longer eligible as a dependent

* death of an employee

e a covered employee’s entitlement to or enrollment in Medicare
Qualifying events may affect you, your spouse, and/or dependent children. If you or your
dependents are affected by one of the previously listed qualifying events, the State of Minnesota
(your employer) must allow you to continue coverage. The coverage must be the same as the
coverage provided by the state to similarly situated employees or family members. This means
that if coverage for similarly situated employees or family members is changed, your coverage
will also be changed.
Continuing Your Insurance Coverage

The procedures for .continuing coverage depend on the type of qualifying event and who is
affected. Except for life insurance, both you and your dependents have insurance continuation
rights, so for the remainder of this section the word “you” refers to you (the employee) and your
dependents.
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In most cases, you have 60 days from the date of the qualifying event to select continuation
coverage. If you choose to continue coverage, you must pay the full cost of coverage (plus a two
percent administrative fee based on the cost of your premium) from the date coverage would
have terminated.

Your Department Designated Insurance Representative (DDIR) is available to help you complete
the forms to request continuation coverage. If you decide not to continue coverage, your
participation in dental and optional coverages will stop at the end of the payroll period in which
the qualifying event occurs; your health coverage will end at the end of the month which
includes the termination date of your dental and optional coverages. If there is an appropriate
qualifying event, members of your family also have the right to continue health and dental
coverage. ’

Keep in mind the following important points:

« Health, dental, and life insurance must be continued at your own expense. You must
pay the full insurance premium (both employee and employer costs) for continuation
coverage, plus a two percent administrative fee.

* You need not provide evidence of good health to continue your coverage.

« After your continuation coverage period ends, you may enroll in individual conversion
insurance plans for health and life insurance. Conversion coverage may cost more than
continuation coverage and may not be identical to your current coverage. You need not
provide evidence of good health to convert to an individual plan. '

 Continuation coverage cannot be paid through payroll deduction.
Length of Continuation Coverage

This varies depending on what your qualifying event is and who is affected. Although your
insurance certificates of coverage are the best source of information, these two general rules

apply.
1. For life insurance, the length of continuation coverage is 18 months. Only employees,
not dependents, may continue life insurance.

2. For health and dental insurance, you may continue coverage:

e for up to 18 months for termination of employment or loss of employee insurance
eligibility due to a reduction in hours. If another qualifying event occurs during this 18
months (child becomes ineligible as a dependent or you are divorced), the person(s)
affected by that event will then be eligible to continue coverage up to the maximum
amount of time allotted to a second qualifying event.

» for up to 36 months if your child is no longer eligible as a dependent.
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» for divorce, legal separation, or death of an employee until a disqualifying event occurs
(see next paragraph).

If either you or your dependents are or become disabled within 60 days of the date your
employment ends, an extension of continuation benefits may be available.

Disqualifying Events

Your continuation coverage may end sooner than the periods specified if any of the following
disqualifying events occur:

* you fail to pay the premiums for your insurance coverage.

 you become covered under another group insurance plan that does not contain an
exclusion or limitation for a pre-existing health condition which you or your
dependent(s) may have. '

» the State of Minnesota discontinues coverage for all of its employees.
If you have any questions about your rights to continue coverage, contact:
 your DDIR, or

e Department of Employee Relations Employee Insurance Division (651) 296-2457,
(651) 297-7959 TTY

See also “Understanding Your Benefits: COBRA” on the Department of Employee Relations
Web site, at: http://www.doer.state.mn.us/ei%2Dsegip/Docs/1035.pdf

Notification

In the event of your termination of employment or reduction in work hours, your DDIR will
notify you of your rights to continue insurance coverage. This notice will include the premium
cost required.

For all other events — death, divorce, legal separation, or over-age dependents — you (or your
dependents in the event of your death) are responsible for notifying your department insurance
representative within 60 days of the qualifying event. If you do not properly notify your
department insurance representative of these changes, you may jeopardize your dependents’
rights to continue coverage.

Your health, dental and life insurance certificates of coverage/summaries of benefits explain in
detail your rights and responsibilities under state and federal law. They are your best source of
information about continuing your coverage. For more information about continuing your
Medical/Dental Expense Account, please ask for a pre-tax benefits packet from your DDIR.
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‘Caretaker and Medical Leave

Under the Caretaker and Medical Leave benefit, an employee may take up to 12 weeks of unpaid
leave and receive the employer contribution for health insurance (see pages 23-24). During this
leave you are responsible for paying any part of the insurance premium that would regularly be
deducted from your pay. For more information, contact your human resource office.
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