WHERE THE PREMIUM DOLLAR GOES,
PRIVATE PASSENGER AUTO INSURANCE, 2003
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Minnesota Current Average Rates

Auto Insurance

Coverage

Bodily Injury

Personal Injury Protection
Property Damage
UM/UIM

Liability Subtotal
Comprehensive

Collision

Total Major Coverages

Average Rate

$132.89
$165.62
$126.15

$46.23
$470.79
$189.73
$242.27

$902.79



No-Fault Arbitration Statistics

Compiled by American Arbitration Association'

2001 2002 2003 2004

Cases filed 4571 5152 5142 .. 5139
Average claim $8,091 . $7,913 $7,209 . $6,914
Average Award  $4,833 $5,204 $5,023. $4,638
Pct. of claims , - ‘

going to hrg. 50% 51% 52% ‘ - 57%
Pct. of claim ‘ :

awarded 60% 66% 69 % 67 %
Pct. awarded :

entirely - 12% 11% 15% . ' 12%
Pct. denied 4

entirely - - 8% 12% 13% 13%

. The system uses about 750 volunteer arbitrators who are paid $300 for their service
if a claim goes to completion of a hearing, an event that happens about half the time a
claim is filed. It costs $50 for a claimant to file a claim compared to about $325 for a jury
filing fee. The number of claims has been fairly stable at about 5,100 annually, an
increase of about 12 % from the past ten years. On average an arbitrator awards about 3/5
to 2/3 of a claim after a hearing and on average 11%2 %of all claims are entirely denied by
an arbitrator and 12%2 %of all claims are entirely granted by an arbitrator. The majority of
cases are resolved within roughly eight months of filing, with 71% resolved within one
year, and 99+ % resolved within two years. This compares to an average of 14-16 months
of disposition time for civil claims in district court, 98% of which are resolved within 24

months.

! Since 1975 the American Arbitration Association has been the sole entity
designated by the Minnesota Supreme Court to administer the arbitration of No-Fault
claims under § 65B.525 and under that law all claims under $10,000 must be submitted
to arbitration to achieve low cost, speedy resolution of claims.
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ANALYSIS OF MINNESOTA
PERSONAL AUTOMOBILE INSURANCE EXPERIENCE

Executive Summary

This study discusses the performance of Minnesota’s no-fault law in the context of its effect on insurance
claiming patterns. The analysis compares the average price for auto insurance in this state with the
remaining Upper Midwest region and countrywide, and contrasts the injury loss experience incurred by
drivers in Minnesota against those of the nation, surrounding states and other no-fault states. By any
measure, Minnesota’s auto insurance system is a very costly one due to expensive health care coverage,
higher-than-average amounts of medical care utilization, treatment and provider costs (especially for
chiropractors), an increase in the rate of filing liability claims, and greater attorney involvement. Its cost
of auto insurance is out of line with the Upper Midwest region. This state is one of the more expensive
in the nation, with an average full coverage (liability and physical damage) premium that is 13 percent
higher than surrounding states and an average liability premium that is 27 percent higher. In contrast, the
average premiums of other states in this area are among the very least expensive (ranking 44™ to 51%).

Furthermore, auto insurance in Minnesota is getting more expensive compared to the rest of the
country. In 2000, this state’s average full coverage premium was ranked at 24™ highest; just three years
later, its average premium was 19% highest. From 2000 to 2003, the nationwide average premium —
which reflects highly populated, troubled no-fault states such as Colorado', Florida, Massachusetts, New
Jersey and New York — went from being $26 more than Minnesota to only $10 more. Minnesota’s
system provides inordinately “rich” benefits in comparison to most other states as well. For every
dollar spent on covered property damage claims in this state, $2.09 is spent on auto injury compensation.
This ratio is 6™ highest in the nation (after New Jersey, New York, Michigan, Colorado and Florida — all
no-fault states), and highest in the Upper Midwest except Michigan. After Michigan and Minnesota, the
next highest in the Upper Midwest is Wisconsin ($1.49), which is 29 percent less costly than Minnesota.

Minnesota’s auto injury compensation system incurs substantially more cost than most states in its
region. Its combined bodily injury (BI) liability and personal injury protection (PIP) injury loss cost
(average loss per insured vehicle) is highest in the Upper Midwest except Michigan, which has unlimited
PIP coverage. Other than Michigan, Minnesota’s injury loss cost during 2000-2004 is 62 percent higher
than the next highest state (Illinois). Further examination shows that Minnesota’s no-fault loss cost is 42
percent higher than its tort liability loss cost (because of a very high PIP claim frequency). Hence, a
reduction in the PIP loss cost would have a greater impact on total auto injury costs and, ultimately, auto
insurance premiums than a proportionally equivalent reduction in the BI loss cost.

A detailed look at the loss cost components shows that Minnesota’s 2000-2004 average BI claim cost, or
average loss or claim severity, is among the highest in the country. It is almost twice as large as the
national mean and all other Upper Midwest states as a group ($20,461 — MN vs. $10,925 — countrywide
and $10,835 — other Midwest states). The average BI loss also is 18 percent higher than other no-fault
states combined ($20,461 — MN vs. $17,310 — other NF). One reason for higher average losses is that
Minnesota consumers are required to purchase very high minimum BI and PIP limits. Not only are its
statutory financial responsibility limits (30/60/10), which influence the cost of liability claims, highest in
the Upper Midwest but they are third highest in the nation. Furthermore, this state’s minimum PIP
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benefits ($20,000 medical / $20,000 non-medical) are more in line with the no-fault states in crisis than
low-cost no-fault states such as Kansas ($4,500 medical) and Utah ($3,000).

The Minnesota claim frequency also plays an important role in the state’s costly insurance system. Its PIP
claim frequency is highest among the no-fault states in the Upper Midwest and higher than most other no-
fault states. Motorists here are very likely to file a no-fault injury claim after an auto accident, potentially
leading to the filing of a tort liability claim due to greater ease of reaching the deteriorating monetary or
verbal threshold. Since 2001, Minnesotans’ liability claiming behavior increased an astounding 19.3
percent, while this type of behavior grew less than 2 percent in the rest of the Upper Midwest and no-fault
states and slightly more than 1 percent nationally.

Both the monetary and verbal thresholds in this state’s no-fault law are growing weaker in practical terms.
Minnesota’s statutory limits on pain-and-suffering lawsuits are no longer effective, leading to even
higher total injury loss costs. Its monetary tort threshold ($4,000) is one that easily can be reached to file
a lawsuit, hence encouraging claim buildup. Residents are taking greater advantage of this low threshold,
as well as the weak verbal threshold, that permits motorists the right to litigate injury claims even though
they are not very serious in nature. In addition to death, permanent injuries, serious disfigurement or
impairment, and disability periods of two months or longer, even fractures and uncompensated economic
loss™ qualify one to file a liability claim.

Higher-than-average medical costs, due to greater utilization of, and higher charges billed for,
medical facilities, medical professionals and diagnostic procedures, are a major factor behind
Minnesota’s high cost of auto insurance. Costs for chiropractic treatment are particularly significant,
especially when matched against the surrounding region and the country. The average charge is $4,200 in
Minnesota, compared to $3,800 in other no-fault states and $2,800 nationally, and the insurer’s average
payment per chiropractic visit is highest here, too. Among the total BI and PIP dollars spent on the
different health care providers in Minnesota, the average chiropractic charge represents 50 percent (58% -
BI claim and 48% - PIP claim), which is higher than that found in the group of other no-fault states (31%)
and countrywide (34%). Claimants here also are more prone to see a chiropractor than their counterparts
elsewhere, and they see this particular health care provider more often than any other kind.

As cited in the Minnesota statutes, the legislative objective pertaining to no-fault is “to prevent the
overcompensation of those automobile accident victims suffering minor injuries by restricting the right to
recover general damages to cases of serious injury.” Over time, monetary and verbal thresholds
generally have deteriorated, allowing more liability claims to be filed not only here, but in other no-fault
states as well. These claims result in awards or settlements that include general damages for pain and
suffering that are typically two or three times greater than special damages. In short, the Minnesota no-
fault plan has become misused and perverted, resulting in overcompensation of even minor injuries.

Not only does the Minnesota no-fault statute encourage inflated billing, over-treatment and other forms of
claim buildup, it prohibits any modern methods of cost containment. Unlike in every other payment
system, health care providers in the no-fault system, for the most part, are paid whatever they ask for
because that is essentially what the law requires. Understandably, providers use the no-fault money tree to
make up for shortfalls in other compensation systems. Consequently, while consumers benefit from the
discounted “sale prices” in other payment systems, consumers in the no-fault system are paying full “rack
rates.” Policymakers in this state should consider abolishing the monetary threshold and revising the
verbal threshold, or revamping or repealing the system altogether.

Property Casualty Insurers Association of America
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Introduction

Since January 1, 1975, Minnesota has administered a modified auto insurance no-fault law that permits
injured persons to sue for pain and suffering or other non-economic damages if a monetary or verbal
threshold or qualifier is met. General damages that compensate for non-economic losses are recoverable
if medical expenses exceed $4,000" or if there is permanent disfigurement or injury, disability (for 60 days
or more), or death. First-party personal injury protection (PIP) benefits are capped at a minimum of
$40,000 for loss arising out of the injury of any one person.”

According to the latest data (2003) compiled by the National Association of Insurance Commissioners
(NAIC), Minnesota drivers as a group are paying $929 each year for auto liability and physical damage
coverages. The state’s cost for full insurance™ ranks 19™ highest in the nation, and its annual liability
average premium"™" ($476) ranks at #21. The liability portion represents slightly more than half (51.2%)
of the total average premium (see Fig. 1), while the two major first-party physical damage coverages,
collision and comprehensive, represent 27 percent and 22 percent of the total premium respectively.

Figure I

Minnesota

Distribution of 2003 Average Auto Premium
By Coverage

Comprehensive

21.9%
(3203)

\ Liability
51.2%
(5476)

Minnesota’s average premium for liability and full coverage are slightly lower than the countrywide
average ($485 — liability and $939 — full). A closer examination of the other 11 states in the Upper
Midwest region,”™ however, shows that Minnesota ranks the highest in liability premium and second
highest in full coverage premium among this group (see Appendix I). Table 1 sets forth a comparison of
premiums between Minnesota, the group of other Upper Midwest states and countrywide. As a whole,
policyholders in Minnesota pay 27 percent more for liability (including no-fault) coverage than their
counterparts in surrounding states ($476 — MN vs. $376 — Midwest excluding MN), and 13 percent more
for full coverage ($929 — MN vs. $819 — Midwest excluding MN). Less than half (45.9%) of the total
premium in other states in this region goes toward paying for liability coverage;* this is five percentage
points lower than the amount Minnesota drivers spend on this coverage.

Table 1
Average Auto Insurance Premiums
2003 Avg. MN Relative 2003 Avg. MN Relative
Liability Prem. to Region | Full Coverage Prem. | to Region
Minnesota ' $476.37 $929.33

| Upper Midwest (x MIN) $375.71 +26.8% $818.97 - +13.5%

- Countrywide ’ $485.37 -1.9% $939.19 -1.0%

| Source: NAIC
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It is just as important, if not more so, to examine Minnesota’s loss data in an attempt to determine what is
driving the costs. An assessment of industry loss statistics, as reported to the Fast Track Monitoring
System,™ reveals that this state has a very generous auto injury compensation program in which relatively
large dollar amounts are paid to auto injury claimants. This is measured by the injury cost index, which is
the injury loss cost (i.e., combined claim frequency and claim severity) divided by the property damage
liability loss cost. With an index of 2.09, indicating that the loss dollars paid to cover injuries are twice the
amount paid to cover vehicle damage, Minnesota ranks sixth highest in the entire nation. This state
follows only New Jersey (3.23), New York (3.17), Michigan (2.89),*" Colorado (2.54), and Florida (2.49)
— all no-fault states — in terms of the level of richness of the auto injury system. Appendix II presents the
injury cost indexes for each state.

With the exception of Michigan (due to its unlimited no-fault benefits), Minnesota’s total auto injury loss
cost is highest in the Upper Midwest. At $155.33 [$64.30 (BI) + $91.03 (PIP)], it is nearly 80 percent
greater than the other two no-fault states in this region (Kansas and North Dakota) ($87.94) as well as the
remaining tort and add-on states™" combined ($86.45). The PIP portion of Minnesota’s loss cost is nearly
three times greater than that of the average Kansas and North Dakota loss cost. Moreover, this state’s no-
fault loss cost is 42 percent higher than the tort liability loss cost ($91.03 — PIP vs. $64.30 — BI), primarily
because its PIP claim frequency is significantly higher than its BI claim frequency. Individual loss cost
information, including a breakdown of claim frequency and claim severity data, is shown in Appendix II
for each of the Upper Midwest states.

Figure 2
Minneseota vs. Other Upper Midwest
Injury Loss Cest Experience
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Minnesota’s average BI claim cost is the predominant data component of the loss cost (i.e., the
combination of the claim frequency and claim severity) when compared to the other Upper Midwest and
no-fault states. For the period 2000-2004, this dollar amount — excluding LAE — is respectively 89
percent and 18 percent higher than that of all other Midwest states and all other no-fault states ($20,461 —
MN vs. $17,310 — other no-fault states and $10,835 — other Midwest states) (see Fig. 3). It is one of the
highest in the Midwest (exceeded only by Michigan and North Dakota, two no-fault states whose systems
are also under consideration for review). Not only is Minnesota’s average BI loss very high in this region,
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it is one of the highest in the nation, about equal to those found in some of the more high-cost states on the
east coast.
Figure 3
Minnesota’s Average BI Liability Claim Cost is Very High
2000-2004 Combined
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Minnesota’s BI average loss is very high due in part to its auto financial responsibility (F.R.) limits
(30/60/10),*" i.e., the minimum limits required in an auto liability policy, being the third highest in the
entire nation (only Maine and Alaska are higher). Table 2 sets forth Minnesota’s F.R. limits and those of
the other 11 states in the Midwest region and the current remaining no-fault states. In Minnesota, at least
$30,000 is available for each injured person in an accident and $60,000 for all injuries per accident. These
minimum amounts for injuries range from being 20 percent greater than the limits available in Indiana,
Kansas, Kentucky, Missouri, Nebraska, New York, the Dakotas, Utah and Wisconsin up to three times
greater than the limits in Florida. [The minimum property damage liability limit for Minnesota ($10,000)
is similar to most other no-fault states.]

Table 2
Minnesota vs. Other Upper Midwest and No-Fault States
Auto Insurance Financial Responsibility Limits

 Minnesota Iowa Missouri Ohio
30/60/10 20/40/15 , 25/50/10 , 12.5/25/7.5
 Florida Kansas ' Nebraska Pennsylvania
‘ 10/20/10 25/50/10 25/50/25 15/30/5
' Hawaii Kentucky | New Jersey | South Dakota
| 20/40/10 25/50/10 | 15/30/5 25/50/25
| Illinois Massachusetts New York Utah
20/40/15 20/40/5 25/50/10 \ 25/50/15
Indiana Michigan North Dakota - Wisconsin
25/50/10 20/40/10 25/50/25 25/50/10

| Midwest States = MN, IL, IN, I4, KS, MI, MO, NE, ND, OH, SD and WI
- No-Fault States = MN, FL, HI, KS, KY, MA, MI, NJ, NY, ND, PA, and UT
 Source: Insurance Information Institute, Automobile Insurance Information
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Minnesota also offers one of the more generous no-fault benefit packages in the country. As mentioned,
the overall first-party benefits are a minimum™ of $40,000, including $20,000 for medical expenses and
$20,000 for income loss, replacement service and funeral expenses.™ Its total package as well as medical
limits are greater than those provided by seven of the remaining 11 no-fault states. Table 3 sets forth the
medical benefit limits for each of the current no-fault states. The relatively higher limit allowed for first-
party medical coverage and rising health care costs have resulted in this state’s average PIP loss being
more than $5,100 during 2000-2004. Minnesota’s severity is similar to the countrywide norm of $5,500,
which reflects in part the average loss of other no-fault states that have been the scene of significant
efforts to reform or repeal no-fault: Colorado ($5,800), Florida ($6,000) and New York ($7,600). (For a
comparison of claim frequency, claim severity and loss cost data between Minnesota and other no-fault
states, see Appendix IV.)

Table 3
Minnesota vs. No-Fault States
Auto Insurance No-Fault Medical Benefit Limits

 Minnesota™ | Kansas | Michigan ' North Dakota
| $20,000 | $4,500 : No dollar limit $30,000
| Florida Kentucky - New Jersey Pennsylvania**
f $10,000 ; $1,000 $250,000 $5,000 minimum
Hawaii | Massachusetts ' New York Utah
$10,000 $2,000 within two yrs. $50,000 1 $3,000

| *  Minnesota’s total no-fault benefit package of $40,000 is higher than most other no-fault states. ,
** Pennsylvania — additional medical coverage up to at least $100,000 and extraordinary medical up to
$1.1 million must be made available.

| Source: PCI

Minnesota’s monetary threshold of $4,000~" — which has not been amended in almost 30 years — is more
than likely to be surpassed, thus enabling one to more readily file a liability claim for the injury. In
addition, more claimants are able to reach the verbal threshold, which has weakened over time. The
importance of the claim frequency therefore cannot be overlooked, as Minnesota residents are indeed
reporting more injury claims when there is damage to the vehicle and are taking more opportunities to file
a lawsuit. The state’s PIP claim frequency is highest when compared with other no-fault states in the
Upper Midwest region and is higher than most other no-fault states in the country. It contributes to
Minnesota’s PIP loss cost being second highest in the region and 42 percent higher than its BI loss cost.

With respect to claiming patterns, one measure used to evaluate policyholders’ behavior in this area is the
ratio of bodily injury liability claims per 100 property damage liability claims (or BI-to-PD ratio). This
figure represents the likelihood of an injury claim being made, if an accident resulting in vehicle damage
occurs. Since 2001, Minnesota claimants have been reporting injuries per accident at an astounding rate
of 19.3 percent, significantly faster than other states in the Upper Midwest region (1.6%) and other no-
fault states (1.7%) (see Fig. 4). The national average BI-to-PD ratio grew at a slightly lower pace
(1.3%) from 2001 to 2004 (not shown).
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Figure 4
Minnesota vs. Other States
Growth in Injury Claiming Behavior
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Residents of this state are becoming more aware of their ability to report injuries and are taking the
opportunity to recover through a tort liability claim as well as a no-fault claim. Clearly, the growing
propensity to file a tort claim in Minnesota, by means of penetrating either the increasingly ineffective
monetary threshold or the deteriorating verbal threshold, cannot be denied.

Analysis of Minnesota Injury Cost Drivers

This section offers findings compiled by the Insurance Research Council (IRC) from a survey of insurance
company file reviewers who submitted various information about auto injury claims that were closed
during a two-week window in 2002. Roughly 940 PIP claims and 190 BI claims in Minnesota were
examined in the IRC study. Tables presenting various claim characteristics for Minnesota, the entire
group of no-fault states (excluding Minnesota) and countrywide are provided. It should be noted that
average payments determined by the IRC do not match average loss amounts from the Fast Track
Monitoring System; these are two different sources reviewing different samples of claims and insurance
companies. The figures from both sources, however, do support each other’s findings.

When compared to other no-fault states and the nation as a whole, Minnesota’s relatively high loss dollars

are due to the fact that claimants here:

e have access to a no-fault system that is richer in benefits than the average no-fault system, as
measured by a relatively low economic loss but an average payment that is higher than the norm;

e cite more sprain and strain sofi-tissue injuries which are harder to prove objectively as their most
serious injury;

e incur higher-than-average charges for chiropractors and orthopedists; and

e are more likely to visit chiropractors, whose average payments per visit are highest, and allocate more
loss dollars toward these health care providers than other types of providers.
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More specifically:

Minnesota’s no-fault system is more “benefit rich” than the average no-fault system.

The average PIP payment made by auto insurers in Minnesota is 8 percent higher than in other no-
fault states ($5,363 — MN vs. $4,962 — other no-fault states), yet its PIP economic loss is 9 percent
lower ($7,007 — MN vs. $7,705 — other no-fault states). The lower PIP economic loss but higher
average payment suggest a more generous no-fault system, which helps to explain the state’s higher
premiums. Medical expenses in this state represent 88 percent of the total amount paid for special
damages (medical, wage loss and other expenses); this portion is slightly higher than that found in
other no-fault states (86%).

Table 4
Economic Loss and Average Payment
PIP Coverage
Economic Loss Average Payment
Minnesota ‘ $ 7,007 $ 5,363
No-Fault (x MN) $ 7,705 $ 4,962
- Counirywide ~ $6,711 ; $ 4,281

Countrywide figures also include the PIP experience of add-on states (i.e., states where|
policyholders may choose to purchase additional first-party benefits which would be excess over
any other source of recovery to which the insured person is legally entitled.)

Source: IRC

Minnesota claimants report sofi-tissue neck and back injuries more than claimants in other states.

Sprains and strains are sofi-tissue injuries that are the most common among claimants everywhere.
They also are difficult to prove objectively.™ In general, Minnesota BI and PIP claimants cited
injuries to the neck and back more often than other claimants. The percentages of knee and shoulder
injuries, which can also include broken bones and fractures, are usually not too different from those of

the comparison groups.

Table 5
Proportion of Claimants Reporting
Certain Sprains/Strains and Other Injuries

BI Claimants PIP Claimants
Neck | Back | Knee | Shoulder | Neck Back Knee Shoulder
MN 7% | 69% | 10% 15% | 61% | 49% 10% 15%
' NF (x MN) 68% | 63% 13% 15% | 55% 48% | 10% 14%
CW 66% | 56% | 8% 10% | 56% 49% | 9% 14%

| Source: IRC

A greater share of PIP claimants in Minnesota mentioned that they felt pain in spite of no visible
injuries at the accident scene (58% - MN vs. 55% - other no-fault states and 54% - countrywide). In
contrast, more BI claimants in the nation as a whole complained about pain with no obvious injuries
(45% - countrywide vs. 41% - MN and 40% - other no-fault states) (not shown).
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e Average charges for certain health care providers are higher in Minnesota than elsewhere.
The IRC also collected information on average charges for various health care providers, such as
general practitioners (GPs), anesthesiologists, chiropractors, physical therapists, etc. Average fees for
BI and PIP coverages combined for chiropractors ($4,187) and orthopedists ($2,298) are higher in
Minnesota than elsewhere, while charges for other types of health care providers in the state are

generally lower.
Table 6
Average Charges (BI and PIP Combined) for Certain Medical Professionals
MN NF (x MN) CwW
Anesthesiologist $ 1,366 ' $ 1,648 $ 1,496
Chiropractor $ 4,187 , $ 3,827 $2,753
Emergency Room $ 1,149 | $1,198 $ 1,061
General Practitioner $ 810 $ 1,051 $ 666
| Neurologist $ 1,269 i $ 1,787 $1,813
Orthopedist $ 2,298 , $ 2,024 $ 1,921
' Physical Therapist $ 1,884 $3,164 $2,389
Psychotherapist $ 1,243 $1,912 $1,789
Source: IRC

Based on the number of Bl and PIP claimants going to these professionals that were cited by file
reviewers, chiropractors are the most commonly visited in Minnesota. Twenty-one percent of
claimants went to a chiropractor in Minnesota, compared to 15 percent in the group of no-fault states
(excluding Minnesota), and 19 percent countrywide. In the other two comparison groups, GPs and
emergency rooms are visited more often.

In addition, the average BI and PIP payment per visit for some health care providers in Minnesota are
generally higher than elsewhere. This is certainly the case for chiropractors and general practitioners;
on the whole, injured claimants in Minnesota spend more to go to these professionals than their
counterparts in other no-fault states or the nation at large. In contrast, a visit to the physical therapist
in this state costs less on average than in other states.

Table 7
Average Payment Per Visit
BI and PIP Coverages Combined

MN NF (x MN) | CW

' Chiropractor $ 202 $ 180 $155
General Practitioner $174 $ 165 $ 142
| Physical Therapist $ 168 $ 190 ~ $176
' Total of Above $ 185 $ 177 ‘ $ 155

Source: IRC
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In conclusion, the features of the Minnesota no-fault program are such that more and higher benefits are
provided to the injured party, even if he or she is negligent. This is precisely why Minnesota drivers pay
more for their auto insurance than most of their counterparts in the Upper Midwest region. Decreasing the
number of tort liability claims and their costs is a common goal of all no-fault programs. If Minnesota is
to maintain a practicable and effective no-fault system, it needs to be restructured in such a way that the
cost savings from a reduction in liability claims is sufficient to offset the cost of PIP benefits provided to

injured parties.

The Property Casualty Insurers Association of America (PCI) is a trade association consisting of more
than 1,000 insurers of all sizes and types, and representing 39.4 percent of the total property/casualty
insurance business and 52.0 percent of the total personal auto business in the nation. In Minnesota, PCI
members represent 51.7 percent of the personal auto market.

The Insurance Federation of Minnesota is a state trade association whose members primarily are
Minnesota-based insurance companies.
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APPENDIX I
MINNESOTA vs. OTHER MIDWEST STATES and COUNTRYWIDE
Average Auto Insurance Premium — 2003
Avg. Liability Prem. Avg. Full Prem.

Prem. ' MN Relative to State | Prem. MN Relative to State
 Minnesota $476.37 $929.33
 llinois $404.78 +17.7% $845.78 +9.9%
 Indiana $373.70 | +27.5% $767.71 +21.1%
| Towa $301.04 | +58.2% $679.28 | +36.8%

Kansas $298.57 | +59.6% $77739 | +19.5%
| Michigan $436.51 +9.1% $1,079.56 | -13.9%
Missouri $382.11 | +24.7% $821.56 +13.1%
| Nebraska | $326.89 +45.7% $762.44 +21.9%
 North Dakota $245.31 , +94.2% $694.81 +33.8%
 Ohio $388.51 | +22.6% | $75158 | +23.7%
South Dakota - $291.68 +63.3% | $727.87 +27.7%
Wisconsin $325.47 | +46.4% $693.45 | +34.0%
- Midwest States
| Excluding MN $375.71 +26.8% $818.97 +13.5%
| Countrywide $48537 | -1.9% $939.19 -1.0%
Liability premium reflects bodily injury and property damage liability, medical payments and/or no-
Jault personal injury protection, and uninsured/underinsured motorists coverages.
| Source: NAIC

Policyholders in Minnesota pay anywhere from 9 percent (compared to Michigan) up to 94 percent
(compared to North Dakota) more for their liability insurance, or about 27 percent more than the rest of
this region. With respect to the combined liability and physical damage coverage, Minnesota drivers pay
between 10 percent (compared to Illinois) and 37 percent (compared to Iowa) more, except in the case of
Michigan, where Minnesota drivers pay 14 percent less for full coverage. (Michigan’s full coverage
premium is higher than Minnesota because its collision premium is highest in the nation.)
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APPENDIX IT
INJURY COST INDEX BY STATE
BASED ON 2000-2004 LOSS COST EXPERIENCE
State Index State ‘ Index State Index
New Jersey 3.23 . Wisconsin | 1.49 South Carolina 1.16
New York | 3.17 Vermont 1.41 ‘ California 1.11
Michigan* , 2.89 | Washington 1.36 | Kansas ‘ 1.09
Coboado | 254 | Soubpaom |13 Ohio 1.08
Florida 2.49 Dist. of Col. | 1.32 Nebraska 1.06
Minnesota 2.09 ‘ North Dakota 1.28 Virginia 1.04
West Virginia 2.07 Utah . | 1.28 Arkansas 1.02
Kentucky | 2.00 Tdaho 127 North Carolina 1.02
Pennsylvania 1.95 i Maine 1.26 Tennessee 1.01
Connecticut 1.88 | Arizona 1.25 Illinois 1.00
Delaware | 1.78 ﬁ Wyoming ‘ 1.25 | Missouri , 0.98
Nevada 1.75 Maryland | 1.24 Towa 0.95
Louisiana 1.73 . Mississippi | 1.24 Oklahoma 0.95
Hawaii 70 | Alaska | 122 Alabama___ | 0.92
Montana 1.66 | Oregon 1.21 Georgia | 0.88
Rhode Island 1.66 | New Hampshire 1.17 Indiana | 0.86
Massachusetts | 1.64 | New Mexico | 1.16 Tennessee , 0.84

| Injury cost index = (BI+PIP) loss cost divided by property damage liability loss cost.

*  Because Michigan does not have comventional PD liability coverage, its injury cost index was|
computed using the countrywide PD loss cost and its no-fault property protection insurance loss cost
in the denominator.

Property Casualty Insurers Association of America
Insurance Federation of Minnesota
February 24, 2006
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APPENDIX I
MINNESOTA vs. OTHER MIDWEST STATES and COUNTRYWIDE
BI and PIP Loss Experience — 2000-2004 Combined
~ BI Coverage PIP Coverage
| Claim Freq. | Avg.Loss | Loss Cost | Claim Freq. | Avg. Loss | Loss Cost

Minnesota 31 $ 20,461 $ 64.30 | 177 $5,141 $ 91.03

linois 95 $10,134 $96.16
 Indiana 85 $ 8977 | $76.05
 Iowa 63 $ 10,054 $63.08
 Kansas 35 $ 17,025 $ 58.87 138 $2,298 $31.82
Michigan 19 $ 30,245 $57.13 118 $ 18,248 $214.78
 Missouri 99 $ 9,105 | $90.37
 Nebraska 79 $10,550 | $83.15

North Dakota 17 $ 23,448 $38.74 99 $ 3,354 $33.32
 Ohio 102 $ 8841 | $90.47
' South Dakota* 56 $12976 $ 72.63 N/A N/A N/A

Wisconsin* 73 $ 13,140 $95.83 N/A N/A N/A
| Midwest States

Excluding MN 76 $ 10,835 $ 82.07 122 $ 12,768 $ 156.39
- Countrywide®* 101 $ 10,925 $110.68 177 $5,510 $97.61
| Claim Frequency = number of claims per 10,000 insured cars.
' Average Loss = average claim cost, or severity.

Loss Cost = the combination of the claim frequency and average loss.
- * South Dakota and Wisconsin add-on PIP experience is not available.
1 ** Countrywide PIP experience reflects all no-fault states (including Colorado for 2000-2003) and add-
. on states.
' Source: Fast Track Monitoring System @2™ Otr. 2005

Minnesota has the second highest total injury loss cost ($64.30 + $91.03 = $155.33) among the group of
Midwest states. Michigan’s total loss cost of $271.91 is higher due to its unlimited medical expense
benefits.

Property Casualty Insurers Association of America

Insurance Federation of Minnesota
February 24, 2006
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APPENDIX IV
MINNESOTA vs. OTHER NO-FAULT STATES and COUNTRYWIDE
BI and PIP Loss Experience — 2000-2004 Combined
BI Coverage PIP Coverage
Claim Freq. | Avg. Loss | Loss Cost | Claim Freq. | Avg. Loss | Loss Cost

Minnesota , 31 $ 20,461 $ 64.30 177 $5,141 $91.03

Florida 86 . $15,884 $137.10 194 $ 6,035 $117.27

Hawaii 31 $ 24,727 $ 76.02 154 | $3,763 $58.12
| Kansas 35 | $17,025 | $58.87 | 138 $2,298 $31.82

Kentucky 62 $ 16,637 $ 102.69 150 $4,125 $ 62.03
 Massachusetts 249 $ 7,646 $190.09 | 247 - $1,593 $39.38
Michigan ; 19 $ 30,245 $57.13 118 $ 18,248 $214.78
| New Jersey ' 79 $21,410 $170.02 169 $ 10,155 $171.42

New York | 82 3 22,095 $ 180.65 207 - $7,551 $156.42
' North Dakota 17 $23,448 | $38.74 99 $ 3,354 $33.32

Pennsylvania 63 $ 16,021 $101.10 191 $3,667 | $69.88

Utah : 90 $9,971 $ 89.50 176 $1,713 $30.18
' Subtotal " ‘

(excluding MN) 73 - $17,310 $ 125.82 180 $ 6,550 $117.77
Countrywide* 101 $ 10,925 $110.68 177 $5,510 $97.61
 Claim Frequency = number of claims per 10,000 insured cars.
 Average Loss = average claim cost, or severity.

Loss Cost = the combination of the claim frequency and average loss.

* Countrywide PIP experience reflects all no-fault states (including Colorado for 2000-2003) and add-|

on states.
 Source: Fast Track Monitoring System @2™ Otr. 2005

Compared to other no-fault states, Minnesota’s Bl claim severity ($20,461) is among the highest in the
group of no-fault states. Its PIP claim frequency (177 per 100 insured cars) also is very high, resulting in
a PIP loss cost that ranks alongside the more expensive and problematic no-fault states and which is 42
percent higher than the state’s tort liability loss cost.

Property Casualty Insurers Association of America

Insurance Federation of Minnesota
February 24, 2006
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* Colorado’s no-fault law sunset in July 2003.

" Financial responsibility limits of 30/60/10 mean coverage up to $60,000 for all persons injured in an
accident, subject to a limit of $30,000 for one individual, and $10,000 coverage for property damage.

% Economic losses reflect medical costs, lost wages, and other expenses (such as rehabilitation, essential
services, survivor, fumeral and out-of-pocket expenses).

¥ MINN. STAT. §65B.42(2) (1996)
¥ The monetary threshold was originally $2,000, but was changed to $4,000 in 1978.

" Minnesota’s no-fault benefits include a $40,000 limit on the following: $20,000 for medical expense loss
arising out of mjury to any one person; and a total of $20,000 for income loss, replacement services loss,
funeral expense loss, survivor’s economic loss, and survivor’s replacement services loss arising out of the
injury of any one person. Disability and income loss benefits are capped at 85 percent of the injured person’s
loss of present and future gross income, up to $250 per week, and replacement service loss benefits and
survivor’s economic loss benefits are limited to $200 per week. Unless a policyholder elects to have two or
more policies added together, the limit of liability for basic economic loss benefits for two or more vehicles
may not be added together to determine the limit of insurance coverage available to an injured person for any
one accident.

i Full coverage includes bodily injury and property damage liability, uninsuredAmderinsured motorists,
medical payments and/or personal injury protection, and all collision and comprehensive.

¥ In addition to bodily injury liability and personal injury protection, the liability premium reflects property
damage liability, medical payments (if available) and uninsured motorists/underinsured motorists coverages.

X The other 11 states in the Upper Midwest region of the U.S. are Illinois, Indiana, Jowa, Kansas, Michigan,
Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, Ohio, South Dakota and Wisconsin.

* On average, collision and comprehensive coverage premiums in other Midwest states represent 36 percent
and 18 percent of the full coverage premium, respectively.

* The Fast Track Monitoring System is a quarterly loss report prepared by the PCI, Insurance Services Office,
Inc. and the National Independent Statistical Service. Data in this analysis come from the 2°¢ Qtr. 2005
report.

“* Michigan’s property damage liability coverage is not like any other state. Hence, the countrywide PD loss
cost experience was used in its place, along with this state’s no-fault personal property insurance loss cost.

*i n add-on states, policyholders may choose to purchase additional first-party benefits that would be excess
over any other source of recovery to which the insured person is legally entitled. South Dakota and
Wisconsin are the only two add-on states in the Upper Midwest, but their PIP experience is not part of the
Fast Track Monitoring System; hence no PIP data are shown for the group of tort/add-on states in Figure 2.

X B R. limits of 30/60/10 mean coverage up to $60,000 for all persons injured in an accident, subject to a limit
of $30,000 for one individual, and $10,000 coverage for property damage.

Property Casualty Insurers Association of America

Insurance Federation of Minnesota
February 24, 2006
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* Policyholders can elect to stack coverage on multiple vehicles pursuant to MINN. STAT. §65B.47, subd. 7.

% PCI, No-Fault Benefits & Thresholds/Auto Reparations, May 2005

% Five no-fanlt states (Florida, Michigan, New Jersey, New York and Pennsylvania) have verbal thresholds;

the remaining seven states have monetary thresholds of $5,000 or less.

il Bast Track Monitoring System @ 2* Qtr. 2005

** According to the Insurance Research Council, neck and back sprains and strains are commonly cited as the
most serious injury from an auto accident. Countrywide, 71 percent of BI claimants experienced a neck,
back, miscellaneous or other type of sprain or strain as their most serious injury, and 62 percent of PIP

claimants experienced a sprain or strain as their most serious injury.

Property Casualty Insurers Association of America
Insurance Federation of Minnesota

February 24, 2006




Union Construction

Workers’ Compensation Program

Telephone: (952) 854-0795
Fax: (952) 851-3566

Toll Free: (800) 535-6373

3001 Metro Drive - Suite 500 . Wilson-McShane Corporation
Bloomington, MN 55425 Fund Administrators
www.ucwep.com ’

e

February 8, 2006

To: Minnesota Workers’ Compensation Advisory Council

From: Trustees of the Union Construction Workers’ Compensation Program (PROGRAM)

Dear Council Members:

At the PROGRAM’S January 17, 2006, Board of Trustees meeting, the following motion
‘was approved unanimously:

“The Union Construction Workers’ Compensation Program has studied medical
costs for workers’' compensation and traditional health care. The workers’
compensation system pays more than any other traditional healthcare payment
system for identical procedures at both the hospital and provider level. Therefore,
the Union Construction Workers’ Compensation Program supports changes to the
workers’ compensation law that brings equity between these two medical benefit

payment systems.”

The PROGRAM is 2 labor-management Taft-Hartley trust, operating since July 1, 1997,
pursuant to MN Statutes 176.1812, “collective bargaining agreements”.

The PROGRAM’S mission:

Eliminate the adversarial culture of workers' compensation claim administration;

Improve the delivery of wage-replacement and medical benefits to injured union
members;

Reduce the costs of insurance for union contractors thereby making the union
construction industry more competitive.

The PROGRAM'’S participants include Local and District Council trade unions, contractor
associations, contractors and workers’ compensation insurance carriers. For a partial list of

participants, see the other side.
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LABOR-MANAGEMENT SPONSORS

Management Associations

Associated General Contractors of
Minnesota

Carpentry Contractors Association |

Minnesota Concrete & Masonry Conftractors
Association

Minnesota DWall & Plasterers Association

Minnesota Environmental Contractors
Association

Minnesota Floorcovering Contractors -
Association

Minnesota Mechanical Contractors
Association

Minnesota Painting & Wallcovering
Empioyers Association

National Electrical Contractors Association-
Minneapolis and St. Paul Chapters

Sheet Metal, Aiti Conditioning & Roofing
Contractors Association

Twin Cities Roofing Contractors Association

Labor Councils / Locals

MN Bricklayers and Allied Craftworkers
Local #1

Lakes & Plains Regional Council of
Carpenters & Joiners

Carpet, Linoleum & Resilient Tile Layers
Local #596

MN Cement Masons & Plasterers Local #633

International Brotherhood of Electrical
Workers - Locals #110 and #292

International Union of Painters & Allied
Trades District Council #82:

» Drywall Tapers #61, #386 and #681
-« Twin Cities Glaziers Local #1324

- Painters Locals #61 and #386

Iron Workers Local #512

Laborers District Council of MN & ND

- Millwrights Local #1348

International Union of Operating Engineers
Local #49

Pipe Fitters Locals #455 and #539
Twin Cities Plasterers Local #265
Plumbers Locals #15 and #34

MN Construction Conference of Teamsters

' MN State Building and Construction Trades

Council




Cases filed
Average claim
Average Award
Pct. of claims

going to hrg. .

Pct. of claim
awarded
Pct. awarded
entirely
Pct. denied

entirely

No-Fault Arbitration Statistics

Compiled by American Arbitration Association

2001
4571
$8,091
$4,833
50%
60 %
12%

8%

2002
5152
$7,913
$5,204
51%

66%

11%

12%

1

2003
5142
$7.209
$5.023
52%
69%
15%

13%

2004

5139
$6,914
$4,638

57 %

67%
12%

13%

The system uses about 750 volunteer arbitrators who are paid $300 for their service
if a claim goes to completion of a hearing, an event that happens about half the time a
claim is filed. It costs $50 for a claimant to file a claim compared to about $325 for a jury
filing fee. The number of claims has been fairly stable at about 5,100 annually, an
increase of about 12% from the past ten years. On average an arbitrator awards about 3/5
to 2/3 of a claim after a hearing and on average 112 %of all claims are entirely denied by
an arbitrator and 12% %of all claims are entirely granted by an arbitrator. The majority of
cases are resolved within roughly eight months of filing, with 71% resolved within one
year, and 99+ % resolved within two years. This compares to an average of 14-16 months
of disposition time for civil claims in district court, 98% of which are resolved within 24

months.

! Since 1975 the American Arbitration Association has been the sole entity

designated by the Minnesota Supreme Court to administer the arbitration of No-Fault
claims under § 65B.525 and under that law all claims under $10,000 must be submitted
to arbitration to achieve low cost, speedy resolution of claims.
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» - Minnesota Ambulance Association

Buck McAlpin, NREMT-P
President
NN ' 4501 68th Avenue North

T Brooklyn Center, MN 55429

Association Phone: (763) 520-4303
Fax: (763) 520-7567
Cell: (763) 213-2645
WWW.mnems.org buck.mcalpin@northmemorial.com

Representing Minnesota's EMS Professionals

Emergency Medical Services (EMS) is at a crossroads. Decreasing reimbursements, an
aging population, increasing threats to EMS personnel, dramatic increases in liability
insurance and other cost centers have all contributed to creating a very uncertain future.

In rural Minnesota, demographics represent one of the greatest threats to the operational
integrity of ambulance services. Less populated areas of the state tend to have volunteer
or part-time paid emergency providers. Volunteers are in short supply because of the
demands of the ‘job’. As the rosters shrink, additional demands are made on the
service’s staff. Our state is seeing one or two ambulance services a year closing their
doors.

Full-time, paid ambulance providers are also experiencing similar threats. Despite what
some may believe, ambulance services are not a profitable enterprise, regardless if they
are private or publicly-owned operations. Large volumes and ancillary services are what
are keeping providers operational.

The cost of providing service is increasing dramatically, while reimbursements remain
static or even decline. Liability insurance premiums have doubled for some ambulance
services over the past 2 to 3 years even though they have never have experienced a claim.
Labor and benefit costs also continue to escalate. Conversely, Congress enacted dramatic
changes in the Medicare reimbursement system about 4 years ago as it applies to
ambulance services. They placed the entire country on a fee schedule, regardless of costs
of providing service or any other factors unique to individual states. Some states actually
saw an increase in reimbursements. Minnesota saw nearly a 38% drop in
reimbursements. The ambulance industry in Minnesota looses $72 million per year in
Medicare reimbursements. This figure was determined by an independent auditing
firm. Minnesota has the distinction of being the most seriously harmed state because of
the changes. We were originally the 3™ most affected, but the other two state’s
Congressional delegations secured specific federal appropriations that came to the aid of
their state’s providers.

2800 7th Street North » PO Box 823 « St. Cloud MN 56302
(320) 654-1767 + 1-800-852-2776  Fax (320) 251-8154
WWW.mnems.org




I am holding a copy of a report undertaken by the Minnesota Department of Health. It is
entitled: “A Quiet Crisis: Minnesota’s Rural Ambulance Services at Risk.” It
describes the serious challenges and uncertain future of EMS in rural Minnesota. Even
modest changes in any of the factors listed in my testimony could result in a true EMS
crisis in Minnesota. Were it not for the extraordinary record of support from the
Minnesota Legislature for the entire EMS System over the past 2 decades, the crisis
would have manifested even sooner.

On its face, repeal of the current No Fault Law in Minnesota would appear to make sense.

However, one provision of the statute is critical to the survival of the EMS System as we
know it. The provision to which I refer is the mandatory $20,000 medical coverage. At
present, No Fault carriers pay almost 100% of billed charges and payment is regularly
made in a timely manner. Ambulance services pick up a patient and transport them to a
hospital Emergency Department (ED). The ED treats the patient and admits or
discharges them. In both cases a bill is generated, mailed to the insurance carrier and
subsequently paid in full. This payment is disproportional to the percentage of motor
vehicle accident calls. For example, one rural ambulance service in northeastern
Minnesota has about 12% of their total calls related to motor vehicle accidents.
However, reimbursement for these calls represents between 20% and 23% of their total
revenue.

Arguments have been made that a patient’s primary health insurance would cover the
EMS services, should No Fault be eliminated; or, it would fall under MN CARE or even
Medical Assistance or GAMC. For EMS providers, this would still represent a
significant cut. These programs generally pay less than 35% of charges. Whether it be
good public policy or not, loss of the current reimbursement to EMS providers under No
Fault may well be the proverbial ‘straw that broke the camel’s back’.

Last session, the legislature created a formal statewide Trauma System. Under this
system, hospitals are identified as to their ability to offer various levels of care. Itisa
volunteer designation system that will help assure that patients receive the best available
care in all circumstances. It would seem inconsistent for the legislature to enact a
Trauma System, and then subsequently reduce a critical funding source to keep the
system viable. ‘

In closing, I would like to thank the committee for this opportunity and am more than
happy to answer any questions.

Buck McAlpin/President
Minnesota Ambulance association




Ambulance net revenue from NO-Fault-PIP Insurance

Service $ Amount

North 1,800,000
Goldcross 1,700,000
Cottonwood 9,000
Minneapolis Fire 130,000
Richfield Fire 15,000
Thief River Falls 35,000
Crookston 15,000
St Marys EMS/Detroit Lakes 42,000
Stevens County 67,000
Pipestone 21,000
Jasper 5,000
Springfield 7,000
ALF 230,000
Warren 14,000
St Paul fire EMS 629,000
West St Paul 11,000
Belle Plaine 23,000
Winona 118,000
Allina 1,428,000
Meds 1 Grand Rapids 110,000
Maplewood EMS 86,000
Cottage grove EMS 91,000
Sherbune EMS . 6,100
St Peter EMS 175,000
Northfield EMS 35,000
Burnsville 147,000
Grand Meadow 13,000
Wabasso 37,000
Long Praire 15,176
Ashby 7,400
Barnesville 25,400
Browns valley 539
Cannon Falis 22,000
Harmony 1,073
Henning 9,700
international Falls 3,200
Littlefork 1,200
Longville 3,200
Montgomery 4,800
Mountain lake 5,300
New London 11,200
Preston 5,100
Ringdahl 46,500
Sunburg 600
Warroad 9,000
Zumbrota 3,200
Hibbing 19,650

Nashwauk 6,500




Testimony for the House of Representative
Commerce and Financial Institutions Committee
Tuesday
February 28, 2006

Chairman Wilken, members of the committee. My name is Dr Keith Johnson
and I am in private practice in Maple Grove, MN. I am the past president of
the Minnesota Chiropractic Association, an association that represents the
2300 Doctors of Chiropractic licensed in this state. I am here today to speak
against the proposed legislation regarding the repeal of Minnesota No Fault
statues.

Today you have heard, and will hear, testimony of the many global concerns
surrounding this issue before this committee. Concerns including:

1) There is no auto insurance crisis in Minnesota (profits are up 35 %
since 2004 as reported by the St Paul Pioneer Press)

2) Medical costs in Minnesota constitute less than 10% of the auto
premium dollar

3) Cost shifting for the care for the injured victim will flow from the auto
insurer to health insurance, Minnesota Care, medical assistance or on
to the backs of the uninsured

4) Reduced access for the consumer to the doctor of their choice

The purpose of my testimony today, will be to address the claims forwarded
by some insurance lobbyists regarding chiropractic. The insurance industry
cites a growing number of fraudulent claims. They admit, however, that
these practices are limited to as few as 12 providers out of the 1000s of
physicians, chiropractors, physical therapists, EMS, hospitals, dentists, etc.
who treat auto injury victims in Minnesota.



1) For chiropractics part, we recognize that there are a few bad apples out
there, but still, we are aggressively pursuing their inappropriate
practice methods.

A) Currently, we are forwarding legislation to eliminate the use of
runners all together. This bill is in the process of being jacketed
and we expect it to be given a House File number in the next
few days. I want to encourage all the members of this
committee to co-author our legislation so we can assure a
speedy passage.

B) The Supreme Court of Minnesota recently ruled that only a
licensed chiropractor may own a chiropractic practice. This
ruling eliminates the possibility of an out of state corporation or
unlicensed individual from ownership. No additional legislative
redress 1S necessary.

C) The Minnesota Chiropractic Association supports the Croft
guidelines for rehabilitation of the Cervical Acceleration/
Deceleration Syndrome (Whiplash).

2) Currently, the insurance industry has vehicles in place to address care
that they believe maybe excessive or outlying of the norm.

A) The first is the use of their Independent Medical Examiner
(IME), who will examine the injured patient and provide an
opinion, including if any additional treatment is needed. The
rate of contrary opinions to care ranges in the 85-95% in offices
we have canvassed.

B) Secondly, the insurance industry may forward any complaints
to the Minnesota Board of Chiropractic Examiners (MBCE),
our professional governing board, for their review and possible
actions.

In closing, I would like to take this opportunity to share with this committee
information regarding the physical trauma that occurs to the spine in a
whiplash type of injury resulting in unique damages rarely seen in other
types of injury. (See “Whiplash” booklet by Krames). It is important at this
time to address statements that have been made regarding seat belts and




airbags reducing the amount of tearing of the muscles, ligaments, discs,
nerves and blood vessels (aka soft tissue injury). While seatbelt and airbags
have been instrumental in saving lives, research clearly demonstrates that the
spine is subject to enormous shearing forces on use of the seat belt as all of
the impact is transfer to the neck as the chest and low back are secured in
place, not allowing for the full spine to dissipate the shock. Research also
documents that airbags strike the head and neck with great force snapping
them backwards as they are accelerating forward. Research shows that “Soft
Tissue” injuries have not been minimized with the advent of seat belts or
airbags; in fact, some suggest they are made worse.

In summation, patients hurt in motor vehicle accidents present to the Doctor
of Chiropractic, and all of us in the physical medicine world, the most
significantly injured, most challenging and difficult people to treat and
rehabilitate. We have heard the insurance industry’s statements and we
believe these concerns are resolved with our pending legislation, the recent
Supreme Court ruling, the Associations support of the Croft guidelines, and
the insurance industry’s judicious use of the IME and of the MBCE.

Thank you for your time. I am prepared to answer your questions.
Sincerely,
Keith M Johnson, DC

Past President,
Minnesota Chiropractic Association







WHIPLASH: A FORCEFUL NECK INJURY

Whiplash is a powerful force. Like the sudden, sharp snap
of a whip, it hurls your head backward (hyperexten-

sion) and forward (hyperflexion), injuring your neck |

A car accident, sports injury, or simply a push

from behind—all can cause a whiplash injury.

You can also have “hidden whiplash,” since

symptoms don’t always appear right away.
Chiropractors are spine specialists uniquely
trained to diagnose and treat whiplash,
relieve its symptoms, and help prevent
more serious injuries from developing.

Your Neck Thrown
out of Balance

Your head is delicately bal-
anced on the top of your neck,
held by fragile structures. The
snapping motion of whiplash
damages your neck, upset-
ting its balance. Then your
neck can't easily move or
support your head. A wide
array of symptoms may follow
in the wake of whiplash: neck
and shoulder pain, headache,
stiffness, or dizziness. If left
untreated, more serious prob-
lems may develop.

Restoring Your
Neck’s Balance

Under your chiropractor’s
care, you can bring back the
balance your neck needs to
work smoothly. A chiroprac-
tic evaluation helps your
chiropractor diagnose a whip-
lash injury. While helping to
heal your injured neck, chiro-
practic treatment also can
relieve your symptoms. And
early treatment helps prevent
more permanent damage. You
too can play a part with self-
care, which aids healing and
reduces your chances of
future injury.

Evaluation and treatment

This booklet is not intended as a substitute for professional healthcare.

©1988, 1998, 2000, 2003 The StayWell Company, 1100 Grundy Lane, San Bruno, CA 94066-3030.
www.krames.com 800-333-3032. All rights reserved. Lithographed in Canada.




OUR CHIROPRACTIC EVALUATION

An evaluation helps your chiropractor diagnose a whiplash injury, discover the
extent of damage, and determine the most suitable treatment for you. A health
story begins to uncover your symptoms and the cause of your injury. It may
also reveal other, preexisting problems with your spine. A physical exam helps
identify the nature of your injury. You may also have x-rays, which help diag-
nose a whiplash injury or rule out other problems.

Health History
Your symptoms

®Do you have neck,
shoulder, arm, or
lower back pain?

Do you have head-
aches, stiffness,
numbness, dizziness,
or blurred vision?

®When did your symp-
toms begin? Are they
constant, or do they
come and go?

eWhat makes your symp-
oms better or worse?

Physical Exam

Your chiropractor uses special
techniques to identify spine-
related problems. Using firm |
finger pressure, your chiro-
practor checks for pain, stiff-'
ness, limited range of motion,
or swelling in neck or shoulder
muscles. Finger pressure
combined with bending your
neck in different directions
(motion palpation) may help
your chiropractor locate re-
stricted bones or joints (ver-
tebral subluxation). You may
also have other routine tests.

Your injury
®Have you ever been in a
car accident, fallen, had

a sports injury, or been
hit forcefully?

®Have you been injured
more than once?

®What, if any, treatment
have you received since
- your injury? Has it
helped?

®What kind of work,
sports, or hobbies do
you do?

whiplash injury

X-rays

X-rays give a detailed view of
the bones (vertebrae) in your
neck and back. They help
spot where vertebrae have
moved into an unbalanced
position (called a misalign-
ment), such as when the
curve of your neck is reversed
by whiplash. If your verte-
brae are lined up like “stairs,”
rather than one on top of the
other, you're likely to have
soft tissue damage as well.
X-rays also rule out other prob-
lems, like fractures or tumors.

egular spmal checkups help your chiropractor diagnose and treat spinal problems—

even those you aren’t aware of. “Hidden” Wh1p1ash for example, produces no symptoms; and a
series of minor accidents over time may cause a “cumulative” whiplash injury.
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UNDERSTANDING WHIPLASH

Your neck does much more than simply connect
your head to the rest of your body. Without your
neck, you couldn’t hold up your head, or turn it i
easily from one side to the other. Many complex
parts of your neck work together to perform a

1.1

delicate balancing act. But your neck is a fragile part of

When the powerful forc

\head of a {limsy rag
\_4ble to move and support your head the way it norma

early, whiplash can lead to other pro

your body, as well.
e of whiplash strikes, your head is tossed around like

doll. Your neck can be seriously injured. Then it is
Ily does. If not corrected

blems, such as arthritic degeneration.

(middle
back)
Your Spine Aligned Healthy Neck Anatomy
%m you look at a balanced Maintaining your neck’s balance
§p1§1bt; from the side, it is aligned requires an aligned spine and
in three natural curves; healthy neck anat
your neck’s curve is one of neck’s};natomy Esnggyouf:rragﬂe YHZT?&:E: ua;eyomuorv:;l::ones
tl:;)eaxll_;n From t.he f}'ogt or back, complex parts. Some make up th’e
aba ced spine is lmedup spinal column itself, such as ver- ‘lﬁ'i"ts between vertebrae Spinal nerves between vertebrae
straight down the middle of tebrae and joints. Others—like allow your neck to move freely-  control your body's functions.
your back. When your spine muscles and ligaments—help | Ligaments are soft tissues that
: is aligned, your weight is even- support and move your head and | connect vertebrae together. Dises are shock-absorbing pads
z;::; \%ev: it ly distributed, making your neck, or run throu ghout your Muscles are soft tissues that move of cartilage between vertebrae.
straig i e i ~ and stead i and head. Blood s run throughout
back less likely to be injured. neck, such as spinal nerves. | and steady your neckand IR nec(’:lt()’s }'gizﬁriéf' Qarrry‘i):gg b(l)ooé,.Our
Before Whi : CJ) i
Your Neck’f S:Z;ak Balk The Powerful ¢ After Whiplash:
alance Force of Whiplash Your Neck out of Balance
After a whiplash injury, your neck’s balance is upset. Your

Imagine balancing a 10-pound ball on the end i
That’s the delicate balalfcing act your neck pel?fi?UiSCk"
throughout the day. Soft tissue is really the only thing
keegmg your head poised on the top of your spine. If your
cervical spine is aligned and neck anatomy healthy, your
head’s weight is evenly balanced. '

Strong, flexible
soft tissue connects
your vertebrae to
your head and heips
to hold up your head.

Spinal
nerve

Blood vessel

Disc /

Vertebra

Whiplash turns your head’s weht into a powerful force, hurl-

ing your neck past its normal rage of motion. In the typical

whiplash injury, your head is wipped backward, injuring muscles,

ligaments, discs, and other strutures. As your head whips for-

ward, its speed greatly increass, adding to the force on your

neck. If your head is turned to tkside, injury is often more severe.
|

Before impact, your neck’s
natural e is aligned g

«;6ur head snaps forward,
reversing your neck's
natural curve.

Your head whips back-~—"
ward, exaggerating your
neck’s curve.

neck’s natural curve may be reversed, which unevenly dis-
tributes your head’s weight and further misaligns your verte-
brae. Your fragile, damaged neck must now strain to hold up
your head. If not corrected, scarring—and even arthritic degen-
eration—may develop. You may also have recurring pain.

Stretched or torn
soft tissue can't

fully support your
head and neck.

Pinched spinal
nerve

Pressured blood
vessel

Pinched disc

Misaligned vertebra




YOUR CHIROPRACTIC TREATMENT

Using spinal adjustments and related treatment, your chiropractor helps to
restore your neck’s balance and heal your injured neck. This relieves symptoms
and improves your neck’s ability to move and support your head. Because
whiplash injuries can produce a “domino effect,” one problem leading to
another, early treatment helps to prevent further deterioration in your spine.

Spinal Adjustments

Spinal adjustments restore
balance, helping to reduce
stiffness and relieve pain and
pressure in joints and nerves.
Adjustments also realign ver-
tebrae, improving your neck’s
strength, flexibility, and range
of motion. Your chiropractor
can tailor treatment to your
particular injury. Because soft
tissue takes time to heal,

you may need regular treat-
ment over a period of time.

Related Treatment

Your experience

You may feel light pressure
on joints and hear a popping
sound, the result of joints
opening. Adjustments rarely
hurt; instead, you may have
immediate pain relief and feel
more relaxed.

Your chiropractor may recommend one or more other kinds of treatment to help
heal your neck, relieve symptoms, and restore your neck’s function. These tech-
niques work in a variety of ways—often by relaxing or strengthening muscles

and by reducing swelling. You may be asked to continue some of these at home.

[} Trigger point therapy
Your chiropractor applies pressure to
small, precise areas of pain (trigger
points). This relieves “knots” in your
muscles, helping to reduce pain.

(1 ice and heat

Your chiropractor may apply ice to your
neck after an injury to help reduce swell-
ing. Moist heat relaxes muscles when
swelling is not present.

[ Traction

A “sling” around your chin gently
releases pressure on joints and
nerves. A rolled-up towel under your
neck helps restore your neck’s curve.

[ Cervical collar

A sitiff collar immobilizes your neck.
This technique is used only for pain
relief or to support your neck when
you can’t hold up your head.

(X Electrical stimulation |

Electrical impulses cause muscles |
contract gently and automatically.
They may relax muscles, reduce
swelling, and improve circulation.

[ Ultrasound

Painless sound waves reduce pain
and swelling in joints and muscles.
Ultrasound helps prevent scarring
and may also improve circulation.

Cop




SELF-CARE

Chiropractic treatment is most effective when combined with self-care.
Good posture helps keep your spine aligned, allowing your neck to heal in
its proper position. Proper posture also reduces pressure on neck structures,
helping to prevent future injuries. Neck exercises improve your flexibility
and strength—another lifetime preventive measure against future injuries.

Good Posture

Keeping your spine balanced
is a 24-hour job—whether
you're sitting or sleeping.
Even slightly bad posture can
put pressure on your spine:
tilting your head forward just
three inches triples the strain

on your neck. Try to keep your  When sitting When sleeping
chin level Wlth the ground, Sit up “talf” with a rolled-up towel or Sleep on your back with a pillow
and don't tilt your head to one  lumbar roll in the small of your back. under your knees and a rolled-up
side or the other. Since per- To avoid slouching, hold reading towel under your neck. Or sleep on
- _ material up vertically in front of your your side with a pillow under your
\éegf p Osljlt}fu ¢ 1Slj1 t alwagfs pos face. Try putting pillows on the arm- head and neck to keep them level.
1ble, shift positions oiten. rests to help support your arms. Don't sleep on your stomach.

Neck Exercises

Neck exercises can help restore your neck's balance. They can strengthen your
neck and help improve flexibility, by loosening muscles and ligaments and by
increasing your joints’ range of motion. Remember to do neck exercises only
when your chiropractor prescribes them.

(] sit and twist.
Lace your fingers, with
elbows pointing outward.
Twisting first at the waist,
rotate your head and neck
to the left side, then to the
right. Repeat this exercise
10 times, twice a day.

(1 Flexion and
extension. While sit-
ting, push down on your
knees with your hands. Arch
your back, bending your
neck backward. Then slump
forward. Repeat this exer-
cise 10 times, twice a day.

M| Spinal molding
Lie with a rolled-up towel

= under your neck and lower
back. This “exercise” wil
help to remold your three

- natural curves. Repeat this
" for 15 minutes every night
before you go to bed.

I side bend. Lace

¢ )your fingers, with elbows

k= pointing outward. Bend at
the waist, moving your body
to one side as far as you
can; then bend your head

™, and neck. Repeat 10 times

) on both sides, twice a day.

Don’t exercise if you're in severe pain. Stop any exercise that increases your pain, and call your chiropractor.
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HEALING YOUR INJURED NECK

It takes time to heal a whiplash injury. But with
early diagnosis and treatment, your doctor of chiro- -
practic can help correct your spinal problem, speed =~
your healing, and relieve your pain and stiffness.
Self-care also helps to heal your neck and can act like
an insurance policy for a healthier neck in the future.
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This Month’s Topic: Supreme Court Rules on
Corporate Practice of Chiropractic

The Minnesota Supreme Court issued ifs
decision in the Isles Wellness, Inc. v. Progressive
Northern Insurance Co., case on September 15,
2005. The court has ruled that doctors of
chiropractic are subject to the corporate
practice of medicine doctrine whereas physical
therapists and massage therapists are not.

This decision has far reaching implications for
all doctors of chiropractic.

HISTORY OF THE CASE.

Jeannette Couf, a non-professional, formed
three corporations of which she was the sole
shareholder: Isles Wellness, Inc., (n/k/a
Minneapolis Wellness); A Licensed Physical
Therapy, Inc.; and Licensed Massage Therapist,
Inc. These corporations employed
chiropractors, physical therapists and massage
therapists, all of whom were properly licensed or
certified practitioners. The corporations billed
for the services rendered by the practitioners,
paying the practitioners a salary. Jeannette
Couf, as the sole shareholder of all three
corporations, profited from the setvices
rendered by the practitioners.

Two no-fault insurers, Progressive Northern
Insurance Company, and Allstate Indemnity

Company, became aware of Ms. Couf’s
ownership of the corporations and stopped
paying for freatment rendered by the providers
employed by the corporations. Ms. Couf and
her corporations sued the insurers, seeking
payments in 49 no-fault cases.

A district court judge held that because the
treatment in dispute had been rendered by
practitioners in their capacity as employees of
corporations wholly owned by a hon-
professional, the relationship violated the
corporate practice of medicine doctrine, and

the insurers did not have to pay.

On appedl, the Minnesota Court of Appeals
reversed the compensation judge concluding,
“Assuming. that, in Granger [v. Adson, 190 Minn.
23, 250 N.W. 722 (1933)], Minnesota adopted
the corporate practice of medicine doctrine,
we conclude that it does not prohibit the
corporate employment of chiropractic,
physical therapy, or massage therapy
practitioners.” Under the Court of Appedals
decision, doctors of chiropractic could legally
work for corporations owned in whole or in part
by non-licensed individuals, like Ms. Couf.

The Supreme Court has now reversed the Court
of Appeails.

THE SUPREME COURT’S DECISION.
The Supreme Courl first clarified and declared

that the common law of Minnesota (law
created by the Supreme Court not by the

" legislature), does prohibit the corporate

practice of "learned professions,” including
medicine.

The Court indicated that the reason why
corporate practice of medicine should be
presumptively prohibited is that proficiency in
medicine requires long years of specialized
study, research and training; that any one
practicing medicine must be licensed,
regulated and held to high standards of ethics
and ideals in order to protect the public; thai
professional judgment should not be
influenced or controlled by the directives of a

‘non-licensed individual who does not have the

requisite fraining, and who is not bound by the
standards of ethics and ideals; that
professional judgment should not be unduly
influenced or exploited by profit motives; and
that a practitioner’s loyally fo a patient should
never be in conflict with the directives or
motives of the practitioner’'s employer.

- The Court next turned to the question of

whether this prohibition against the corporate
practice of “learned professions” applies to
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o organize as a general business corporation
pursuant to Minn. Stat. Ch. 302A, even if the
doctor is the only shareholder. The Supreme
Court did not indicate in its opinion that doctors
may incorporate as general business
corporations so long as no non-licensed
individual is a shareholder. Chapier 302A also
does not specifically provide that professionals
may incorporate as a general corporation.

Physical therapists, occupational therapists and
massage therapists are not subject to the
corporate practice of medicine doctrine. They
may be employed by corporations or other
types of business firms, including firms owned in
whole or in part by non-licensed individuals.

WHAT HAPPENS IF THE COMMON LAW RULE IS
VIOLATED?

The Supreme Court did not answer this question
in Isles Wellness, Inc.

The two no-fault insurers involved in the case
argued that they should be relieved of their
obligation to pay for treatment received by their
insureds, even if the freatment was reasonable,
necessary and causally related to an insured
motor vehicle accident, because the
employment relationships between Ms. Couf’s
corporations and the providers were illegal,
against public policy, and therefore void. Due
1o how the case procedurally made iis way to
the Supreme Court, the Court declined to

address this argument and remanded it back to .

the Court of Appedals. Therefore, we will have to
wait for that decision fo be issued before we
have a definitive answer.

Logically, invalidation of the employment
contract between a chiropractor and a non-
licensed individual or corporation should not
relieve a no-fault insurer (or any other type of
insurer) of their obligation to pay benefits. The
no-fault insurer is not a party to the employment
confract. The invalidation of the employment
contract may change o whom the paymentis
are owed (the doctor or even the patient
instead of the corporation), but the payments
should still be owed.

The primary consequence of violation of the

common law corporate practice of medicine
doctrine will be the invalidation of any contracts
entered info among the professional and the
corporation or non-licensed individual. The
non-licensed individual may be relieved of any
obligation to pay the professional or any debts
of the corporation, thereby shifting the expense
o the professional. Conversely, the non-
licensed individual may lose all ownership
interest to assets of the corporation, including
accounts receivable, which may result in a
windfall fo the professional.

Violation of the doctrine may also result in
sanction by the MBCE. Minn. Stat. § 148.10,
subd. 1 (13) specifically prohibits “aiding or
abetting an unlicensed person-in the practice
of chiropractic.” The Supreme Court explained
in Isles Wellness, Inc., that a non-licensed
individual effectively engages in the practice of
chiropractic when they form a corporation and
then employ a chiropractor. Any chiropractor
who consents fo being so employed may,
therefore, be in violation of this statute.

CONCLUSION.

The Supreme Court has now established, clearly
and without equivocation, that doctors of
chiropractic, like medical doctors, may not
practice in the corporate form, or be employed
by corporations, unless they comply with a
statutory excepfion to that general common law
rule. Organization under the Minnesota
Professional Firms Act, and being employed by
HMOs, hospitals and non-profit corporations, are

four exceptions identified by the court.

Any practitioner with questions concerning the
legality of their current or anticipated ownership
or employment relationships should
immediately consult a private attorney of their
choice for advice in this complicated areaq.

Disclaimer: Please remember that this article
cannot be considered legal advice. Every
situation is different and must be evaluated in
light of the unique factual circumstances
involved. If you have any questions concerning
workers’ compensation law, no-faulf law, or
professional boundaries, please call David C.
Wulff at 651-636-1900 or 800-949-8533.
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State Projected in Black
--But only if Challenged Tobacco Revenues Count

Minnesota is projected to be $88 million in the black for rest of biennium. But it would
be in deficit if the new tobacco fee revenues are disallowed by the courts. That’s the conclusion
of the new forecast by the Minnesota Department of Finance.

“T call it an asterisk forecast. Minnesota really won’t know its financial picture until the
courts act, possibly late in the legislative session,” said Wayne Cox, executive director of
Minnesota Citizens for Tax Justice. “Its hands will be tied until then. Minnesota is paying the
price of Governor Pawlenty’s choosing revenues that are a gamble not a guarantee.

“This all could have been avoided in Governor Pawlenty and Speaker Sviggum had been
serious about restoring stability to Minnesota’s revenue system. Instead we got a tax disguised as
a fee disguised as health cost recovery. Yet the increase in school finance made last year depends
on this revenue.

“Governor Pawlenty said today the state is in good financial order. Yet the state
economist says Minnesota is underperforming the nation in terms of job growth and wage
growth. Tom Stinson said income tax revenues projections are now lower than they were in
November by over $100 million. He said it is possible things could get worse.

“Corporate income tax revenues are projected up—but they are at severe risk because a
recent court ruling gives wide discretion to corporations to classify its income as foreign income
and hence subject to a much smaller tax rate. Governor Pawlenty plans to continue that gamble.

“Schools are still facing budget cuts. Road repairs get farther behind. The University of
Minnesota falls further behind in competing with wages of other research universities.

“There is some good news. Because of limited fiscal reform, increased revenue
projections compared to a year ago did allow the state to buy back some school finance shifts it
had made. This might help get the state back in Moody’s good graces.

“Also, positively, the projection for the 2008-09 biennium shows sufficient expected
revenues to allow the state to meet the real, inflation-included, cost of services. The legislative
should approve a law this year that returns the state to including inflation in expenses in its
budget projections.

“It is the ideal time to return to honest accounting.”






