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Overview 

S.F. No. 1325 is the Governor's sex offender bill. It provides for life sentences (including 
some life-without-release sentences) for certain egregious sex offenders, increases statutory 
maximum sentences for all sex offenses, directs the Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines Commission 
to modify the sentencing guidelines for sex offenses, and establishes the Minnesota Sex Offender 
Review Board to make release decisions regarding sex offenders sentenced to life sentences. The 
bill alsomodifiesthepredatoryoffenderregistrationlaw,mostsignificantly, by addressing.homeless 
predatory offenders and by requiring offenders to disclose their status as registered offenders up.on 
admittance to a health care facility; modifies the community notification law, most significantly, by 
addressing out-of-state offenders; requires victim.notification when certain civilly committed persons 
are being provisionally discharged; expands the Department of Human Services' access to the 
predatory o.ffenderregistry; and ~stablishes an ongoing sex offender policy board to develop uniform 
supervision and professional standards. 

ARTICLE! 

Sex Off enders: Life without Release Sentences for Certain Sex Off ens es; 
Indeterminate Life Sentences for Other Sex Offenses; Increased Statutory Maximums; 

Direction to Sentencing Guidelines Commission 

Overview 

Article 1 contains the bill's main sentencing provisions relating to sex offenders. It provides 
for a life without release sentence for certain egregious first- and second-degree criminal sexual 
conduct offenders. It provides for an indeterminate life sentence with a 20-year minimum term of 



imprisonment for violent first- and second-degree criminal sexual conduct offenders and for repeat 
sex offenders. It creates the new substantive crime of criminal sexual predatory conduct.· It doubles 
the statutorymaximum sentences for all criminal sexual conduct offenses and directs the Sentencing 
Guidelines Commission to make changes to the guidelines grid relating to sex offenses. 

Section 1 provides that offenders serving life without release sentences under article 1, section 9 
or 11, may not be given supervised release. Also provides that an offender serving an indeterminate 
life sentence under article 1, section 9, 11, 13, 15, or 17, may not be given supervised release 
without having served a minimum term of imprisonment of 20 years unless the sentencing court 
imposed a longer tenn of imprisonment, in which case the offender may not given supervised release 
without having served that tenn. 

Section 2 requires the Commissioner of Corrections to submit the community investigation report 
required by law to the Minnesota Sex Offender Review Board (see article 2, section 3) to assist the 
board in making release decisions for inmates sentenced to indeterminate life sentences. Requires 
the Commissioner of Cop-ections to give supervised release to inmates serving indeterminate life 
sentences under article 1, section 9, 11, 13, 15, or 17, when directed to do so by the Sex Offender 
Review Board. 

Sections 3 and 4 amends the patterned and predatory offender sentencing law. 

Section 3 strikes the law's definition of"pred~tory crime." This definition is essentiallyrecodified 
later in the article (see article 1, section 8). 

Section 4 amends the requirement relating to an offender being a danger to public safety. Replaces 
the law's provision that the court make the dangerousness finding with the fact finder making it. 
This change is necessitated by the 2004 United States Supreme Court decision, Blakely v. 
Washington. 

Section 5 amends the repeat sex offender sentencing law by adding cross-references to the new 
criminal sexual predatory conduct crime (see article 1, section 17). 

Section 6 adds a definition of "sex offense" in the criminal sexual conduct laws. The definition 
includes first- through fifth-degree criminal sexual conduct, the new criminal sexual predatory 
conduct crime, solicitation of a child to engage in sexual conduct, indecent exposure, use of minors 
in sexual performances, possession/distribution of child pornography, and any similar statute of the 
United States or any other state. This definition is significant because it is the definition used in the 
indeterminate life sentencing provisions (see article 1, sections 9, 11, 13, 15, and 17) to determine 
whether an offender is a repeat offender and, thus, subject to an indeterminate life sentence. 

Section 7 adds a definition of"subsequent sex offense" to the criminal sexual conduct laws. Defines 
the tenn to mean a violation of first- through fourth-degree criminal sexual conduct or the new 
criminal sexual predatory conduct crime for which the offender is convicted after the offender has 
already been convicted or adjudicated delinquent for: 
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... another felony-level sex offense; 

... two nonfelony-level sex offenses; or 

"" any felony-level predatory crime that the fact finder determines was motivated by the 
offender's sexual impulses or was committed as part of a predatory pattern of behavior 
that had criminal sexual conduct as its goal. 

Of note, the definition requires the offenses to involve separate behavioral incidents but does not 
require that the prior offense be a true prior. That is to say, that it does not require a sequencing of 
events whereby an offender commits and is convicted of an offense before the co~ission of the 
new offense. 

Section 8 adds a definition of"predatory crime" to the criminal sexual conduct laws. This definition 
is essentially the same definition as that stricken in article 1, section 3. However, it does not include 
first- through fourth-degree criminal sexual conduct offenses because references to those sections 
are unnecessary under the changes made by this article. 

Sections 9 and 10 amend the first-degree criminal sexual conduct crime. 

Section 9 doubles the statutory maximum sentence from 30 to 60 years. Provides for an 
indeterminate life sentence if the offender was convicted: (1) of specified violent provisions (i.e., 
where the offender causes injury to the victim under certain circumstances,· is armed with a 
dangerous weapon, creates reasonable fear on the part of the victim of imminent great bodily harm, 
is aided or abetted by one or more accomplices under certain circumstances, or has a family-type 
relationship with a victim younger than 16 under certain circumstances); or (2) of first-degree 
criminal sexual conduct (any provision) and the offense is considered a subsequent sex offense (see 
definitions in article 1, sections 6 and 7). The court must impose at least a 20-year minimum term 
of imprisonment on these offenders. Also provides for a life without release sentence for offenders 
who violate the provisions of first-degree criminal sexual conduct specified above where the fact 
finder determines that: 

"" the offender tortured the victim; 

"" th~ offender intentionally inflicted great bodily harm upon the victim; 

.., the offender, without the victim's consent, removed the victim from one place to another 
and did not release the victim in a safe place; 

"" the victim was aged 13 or younger at the time of the offense; 

"" the victim was aged 70 or older at the time of the offense; 
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.... the offender was armed with a dangerous weapon and used or threatened to use it to 
cause the victim to submit; 

.... the offense involved sexual penetration/ contact with more than one victim; or 

.,. the offense involved more than one perpetrator engaging in sexual penetration/contact 
with the victim. 

Provides that the fact finder may not consider a factor listed above if the factor is an element of the 
underlying first-degree criminal sexual conduct violation. Defines "torture." 

Section 10 makes a conforming change relating to article 1, section 9. 

Sections 11 and 12 amend the second-degree criminal sexual conduct crime. 

Section 11 doubles the statutory maximum sentence from 25 to 50 years. Provides for an 
indeterminate life sentence if the offender was convicted: (1) of specified violent provisions (i.e., 
where the offender causes inj~ to the victim under certain circumstances, is armed with a 
dangerous weapon, creates reasonable fear on the part of the victim of imminent great bodily harm, 
is aided or abetted by one or more accomplices under certain circumstances, or has a family-type 
relationship with a victim younger than 16 under certain circumstances); or (2) of second-degree 
criminal sexual conduct (any provision) and the offense-is considered a subsequent sex offense (see 
definitions in article 1, sections 6 and 7). The court must impose at least a 20-year minimum term 
of imprisonment on these offenders. Also provides for a life without release sentence for offenders 
who violate the provisions of second-degree criminal sexual conduct specified above where the fact 
finder determines that: 

.,. the offender tortured the victim; 

.... the offender intentionally inflicted great bodily harm upon the victim; 

.,.. the offender, without the victim's consent, removed the victim from one place to another 
and did not release the victim in a safe place; 

.... the victim was aged 13 or younger at the time of the offense; 

.... the victim was aged 70 or older at the time of the offense; 

.,.. the offender was anned with a dangerous weapon and used or threatened to use it to 
cause the victim to submit; 

.... the offense involved sexual penetration/ contact with more than one victim; or 
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~ the offense involved more than one perpetrator engaging in sexual penetration/contact 
with the victim. 

Provides that the fact finder may not consider a factor listed above if the factor is an element of the 
underlying second-degree criminal sexual conduct violation. Defines "torture." 

Section 12 makes a conforming change related to article 1, section 11. 

Sections 13 and 14 amend the third-degree criminal sexual conduct crime. 

Section 13 doubles the statutory maximum sentence from 15 to 30 years. Requires that a person 
convicted of third-degree criminal sexual conduct where the crime is considered a subsequent sex 
offense (see definitions in article 1, sections 6 and 7) be sentenced to an indeterminate life sentence. 
Requires the sentencing court to specify a minimum term of imprisonment of at least 20 years. 

Section 14 makes a conforming change related to article 1, section 13. 

Sections 15and16 amend the fourth-degree criminal sexual conduct crime._ 

Section 15 doubles the statutory maximum sentence from 10 to 20 years. Requires that a person 
convicted of fourth-degree criminal sexual conduct where the crime is ~nsidered a subsequent sex 
offense (see definitions in article 1, sections 6 and 7) be sentenced to an indeterminate life sentence. 
Requires the sentencing court to specify a minimum term of imprisonment of at least 20 years. 

Section 16 makes a conforming change related to article 1, section 15. 

Section 17 creates the new crime of criminal sexual predatory conduct. An offender violates this 
law if the offender commits a predatory crime (see definition in article 1, section 8) that was 
motivated by the offender's sexual impulses or was committed as part of a predatory pattern of 
behavior that had criminal sexual conduct as its goal. Provides a statutory maximum sentence of 15 
years imprisonment and/~r a $20,000 fine. However, if the offense is considered a subsequent sex 
offense (see definitions in article 1, sections 6 and 7), the person must be sentenced to an 
indeterminate life sentence. Requires the sentencing court to specify a minimum term of 
imprisonment of at least 20 years. 

Section 18 requires the Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines Commission to modify the sentencing 
guidelines to reflect the changes made in this article. Requires that the changes be based on the 
Commission's January 2005 proposal to the Legislature relating to sex offenders (as adapted to 
reflect the changes made in this article). 

Section 19 repeals a provision of the patterned and predatory offender sentencing law related to an 
increased statutory maximum sentence that is no longer necessary because of the changes made by 
this article. 
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ARTICLE2 

Minnesota Sex Offender Review Board 

Overview 

Article 2 establishes the Minnesota Sex Offender Review Board to make release decisions 
regarding sex offenders sentenced to indeterminate life sentences under article 1. 

Section 1 adds a cross-reference in Minnesota Statutes, chapter 13 (Data Practices), to data classified 
under chapter 13 that is being made accessible to the Minnesota Sex Offender Review Board (see 
article 2, section 3). 

Section 2 provides that the open meeting law does not apply to meetings of the Minnesota Sex 
Offender Review Board. 

Section 3 establishes the Minnesota Sex Offender Review Board and provides that it is responsible 
for making release decisions relating to offenders serving indeterminate life sentences under article . 
1. 

Section 4 directs the Commissioner of Corrections to establish criteria and procedures for the 
Minnesota Sex Offender Review Board. Requires the Commissioner to seek the input of criminal 
justice stakeholders in establishing the criteria and procedures for the board. Requires a report to 
the Legislature on the proposed composition, duties, procedures, and review criteria of the board. 

ARTICLE3 

Sex Offenders: Technical and Conforming Changes 

Overview 

Article 3 makes technical and conforming changes necessitated by article 1 of the bill. 

Sections 1 to 13 make technical and conforming changes necessitated by article 1. Almost all of 
these changes involve adding cross-references to the new criminal sexual predatory conduct crime. 

Section 14 directs the Revisor of Statutes to renumber the sex offender assessment statute so. that 
it does not fall numerically between fifth-degree criminal sexual conduct and the new criminal sexual 
predatory conduct crime. Requires the Revisor to make other technical changes necessitated by this 
act. 
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ARTICLE4 

Miscellaneous Provisions 

Overview 

Article 4 contains a variety of sex offender related initiatives. 

Section 1 prohibits criminal history data classified as public from being reclassified as confidential 
medical data when included in a patient's health record. 

Sections 2, 3, 1 O, and 11 require the Commissioner of Corrections to develop a plan to provide for 
sex offender programming. Authorizes the plan to include co-payments from specified sources. 

Section 4 defines "crime" for purposes of the civil commitment chapter oflaw. 

Section 5 defines "convicted" and·"conviction" for purposes of the civil commitment chapter oflaw. 

Section 6 defines ''victim" for purposes of the civil commitment chapter of law. 

Section 7 requires a county attorney filing a petition to civilly commit a person as being mentally 
ill and dangerous, being a sexually dangerous person, or having a sexual psychopathic personality 
to make a reasonable effort to notify victims of the filing and the resolution of the petition. 

Section 8 requires the special review board or Commissioner of Human Services to consider 
statements received from victims (see article 4, section 9) when reviewing petitions for the 
discharge of persons civilly committed as beingmentallyill and dangerous, being sexually dangerous 
persons, or having sexual psychopathic personalities. 

Section 9 requires reasonable efforts to notify victims when a person civilly committed as being 
mentally ill and dangerous, being a sexually dangerous person, or having a sexual psychopathic 
personality i~ released, even temporarily from an institution. Notification applies only to the victims 
who have requested such notification. 

Section 12 expands the escape from custody crime to include persons who escape while on pass 
status or provisional discharge under the mentally ill and dangerous civil commitment law. 

Section 13 expands the escape frm custody crime to make it a felony (statutory maximum sentence 
of one year and a day imprisonment and/or $3,000 fine) to escape while under civil commitment as 
being mentally ill and dangerous, being a sexually dangerous person, or having a sexual 
psychopathic personality. 
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Section 14 amends the gross misdemeanor penalty provision of the indecent exposure crime to strike 
language relating to indecent exposure in the presence of a minor under the age of 16 (see article 
4, section 15). 

Section 15 amends the felony penalty provision of the indecent exposure crime to include indecent 
exposure committed in the presence of unaccompanied minor under the age of 16. This section, in 
conjunction with article 4, section 14, increases the penalty for this conduct from a gross 
misdemeanor to a felony (statutory maximum sentence of five years imprisonment and/ or a $10,000 
fine). Also requires that the minor be unaccompanied. 

Section 16 requests the Minnesota Supreme Court to establish a task force to study the use of the 
court system as an alternative to the administrative process of the Special Review Board regarding 
decisions about reduction in custody level and/or discharge from commitment of persons committed 
as sexually dangerous persons or as having sexual psychopathic personalities. Specifies the . 
membership of the task force. Specifies duties of the task force and requires a report to the 
Legislature. 

ARTICLES 

Predatory Offender Registry 

Overview 

Article 5 makes numerous substantive and technical changes to the predatory offender 
registration law, most significantly, relating to the law's applicability to homeless offenders, 
requiring disclosure to health care facilities upon admission of an offender subject to the law, and 
requiring lifetime conditional release for level ill offenders who are convicted of failing to register. 
The article also makes changes to the community notification law, most significantly, related to out­
of-state offenders. 

Section 1 prohibits a registered sex offender residing in a health care facility who failed to inform 
the facility of the person's status as a registered sex offender from relying on the transfer and appeal 
procedure provisions to remain in the facility. 

Section 2 amends the predatory offender registration law. Restructures and, in many instances, 
rewrites provisions of the law. Most significantly, provides a process for the registration ofhomeless 
offenders. Also requires that, upon admittance to a health care facility, a person required to register 
as a predatory offender must disclose to the facility the person's status as a registered sex offender. 
The offender must also disclose that inpatient admission has occurred to the offender's corrections 
agent or the appropriate law enforcement authority. An offender who fails to do this is guilty of a 
felony (statutory maximum sentence of five years imprisonment and/or a $10,000 fine). If an 
offender fails to make the disclosure to the health care facility, the offender may not rely on the 
transfer and discharge appeal procedures under the health care law. Requires a law enforcement 
authority or corrections agent to notify a health care facility as soon as it comes to the attention of 
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the agent or authority that a predatory offender has been admitted and is receiving health care at the 
facility. Requires that when a level ID offender is convicted for violating the predatory offender 
registration law's requirements, the offender must be placed on supervised release for the remainder 
of the offender's life. Requires the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension (BCA) to notify the 
Commissioner of Corrections in certain instances involving offenders from other states. 

Section 3 amends the law that requires predatory offender registration by offenders who commit a 
crime against a person and who previously registered under the law but whose registration period 
ended or who would have had to register, except the law did not apply to the offender at the time of 
the offense. Expands the definition of "crime against a person" to include fourth-degree assault. 
Also expands this law to apply to offenders convicted of a crime against a person and who previously 
completed registration in another state. 

Section 4 amends the law requiring the Commissioner of Corrections making a preliminary 
determination on whether a civil commitment petition may be appropriate. Requires the 
Commissioner's opinion to be based on a recommendation of a Department of Corrections screening 
committee and a legal review and recommendation from the Attorney General's Office. 

Section 5 strikes language from the community notification law relating to offenders coming from 
other states (see article 4, section 6). 

Section 6 provides a process ·in the community notification law for community notification for 
offenders coming from other states. · 

Section 7 clarifies that the community notification law applies to homeless offenders. 

Section 8 expands the community notification law to require law enforcement agencies in the area 
where a health care facility is loca~ed to disclose the predatory offender registrant status of an 
offender to the health care facility if the offender is receiving inpatient care in the facility. 

Section 9 adds probation and correctional service professionals to the list of persons required to 
report suspected child neglect or abuse. 

Section 10 contains a Revisor' s instruction related to the changes made in this article. 

Section 11 repeals two provisions of the predatory offender registration law superceded by the 
changes made in this article. 
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ARTICLE6 

Human Services Access to Predatory Offender Registry 

Overview 

Article 6 relates to the Department of Human Services' (DHS) access to and ability to share 
information contained in the predatory offender registry database, and expand~ the fourth-degree 
assault law. 

Section 1 allows predatory offender registration information to be used for human services and 
corrections purposes. 

Section 2 amends Minnesota Statutes, section 246.13 (relating to records of patients and residents 
receiving state-operated services). Defines terms. Addresses disclosure of information and records, 
the Commissioner ofHuman Services' access to certain criminal information, and predatory offender 
registration requirements in regards to state-operated facilities. 

Section 3 provides that the local law enforcement agency must be notified when patients who are 
civilly committed as being mentally ill and dangerous are being transferred out of a state operated 
services facility. 

Section 4 provides that the BCA' s computerized data system relating to predatory offenders may be 
used for human services purposes. 

Section 5 expands the fourth-degree assault law to include employees or other individuals who 
provide care or treatment at DHS treatment facilities. 

Section 6 requires that health care facilities develop an abuse prevention plan to address potential 
risks an individual may pose to other patients and staff and other individuals. 

Section 7 repeals a provision in Minnesota Statutes, chapter 246, relating to the DHS's system of 
records and statistics for hospitals for mentally ill patients. 

ARTICLE7 

Humans Services Background Studies 

Overview 

Article 7 addresses disqualification for employment in a DRS-licensed facility or program 
and circumstances under which a variance can be granted or a disqualification decision rescinded. 
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Section 1 requires that prospective employees have a background study completed before having 
direct contact with clients in DRS-licensed facilities or programs. 

Section 2 adds new crimes and administrative determinations as grounds to permanently bar 
employment at a DRS-licensed facility or program. Adds aiding and abetting in any of the 
disqualifying offenses as a permanent bar to employment. 

Section 3 strikes the crimes added in article 7, section 2, as permanent bars to employment from 
the list of crimes that act as 15-year disqualifiers. Adds new crimes to the 15-year disqualification 
list. Adds aiding and abetting in any of the disqualifying offenses as a 15-year bar to employment. 

Section 4 adds new crimes to the ten-year disqualification list. Adds aiding and abetting in any of 
the disqualifying offenses as a ten-year bar to employment. 

Section 5 makes technical changes. 

Section 6 makes changes to the required· disclosure to individuals whose background study 
disqualifies them from direct contact with clients in DRS-licensed facilities or programs. 

Section 7 makes changes to the disqualification notice sent to applicants, license holders, ?r other 
entities (other than the subject of the background study). 

Section 8 amends the law on requests to rescind disqualifications of individuals following a DRS 
background check. 

Section 9 addresses the notice of request for reconsideration following a DHS background check. 

Section 10 addresses data issues related to setting aside disqualifications under the DRS background 
check law. 

Section 11 addresses rescinded disqualifications under the DRS background check law. 

Section 12 makes changes to the Commissioner ofHuman Services' set-aside authority with regard 
to individuals permanently barred. 

Section 13 makes changes to the Commissioner of Human Services' set-aside authority with regard 
to individuals disqualified for ten years. 

Section 14 makes changes to the Commissioner of Human Services' set-aside authority with regard 
to individuals disqualified for seven years. 

Section 15 requires the Commissioner of Human Services to expand notification regarding 
disqualifications and inform the public about them. 
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Section 16 addresses requests for variances under the DHS background check law. 

Section 17 addresses the Commissioner· of Human Services' authority to grant variances for 
disqualified individuals under the DHS background check law. 

Section 18 addresses the destruction of data from substantiated reports of maltreatment. 

ARTICLES 

Sex Offender Policy Board 

Overview 

Article 8 creates a Sex Offender Policy Board to develop professional standards for treatment 
of sex offenders, including uniform superyision and treatment guidelines. Requires the Governor 
to appoint the Board. The board consists of five professionals with relevant experience in treatment, 
law enforcement, sex offender assessment, and sex offender management. Requires the board to 
submit reports to the Legislature regarding sex offenders. 

K.PB:ph 
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State of Minne$ota 
Minnesota Deparbnent of Corrections 

March 21, 2005 

The Honorable Jane Ranum 
Minnesota State Senate 
120 State Capitol 
75 Reverend Martin Luther King Blvd. 
St. Paul, Minnesota 55155-1606 

Dear Senator Ranum: 

As a follow up to our hearing last week, I can provide you with the following information. 

1. Of those offenders released last year, how many ... 

- were directed to CD treatment- 3200 
- were directed to SO treatment - At the time of intake into the DOC, 

approximately 50% of all sex offenders are recommended for treatment in prison. 
Those not recommended do not have enough time to complete treatment while 
incarcerated. They are then recommended for treatment in the community. 

- completed CD treatment - 1400 offenders completed CD treatment in prison in 
2004. This is a lower number than in past years. A longer treatment periOd is 
needed to address the complex treatment needs of the offenders. Therefore, with 
the same num_ber of treatment beds, we treat fewer offenders.. · 

- completed SO treatment - 77 offenders completed treatment or satisfactorily 
participated in SO. treatment until release from prison. 

- participated in CD treatment - 2071 offenders participated in DOC CD treatment. 
.- participated in SO treatment - The DOC does not track this figure. Offenders 

released last year may have participated in treatment in previous years. 
- were terminated from CD treatment - 550 offenders were terminated from CD 

treatment. 
- were terminated from SO treatment - 37 offenders were terminated from SO . 

treatment. 
- refused CD treatment - 44 offenders refused an offer of CD treatment. 
- refused SO treatment - 55 offenders refused SO treatment. 

2. How do we measure success in the DOC's CD treatment programs? 

Completion of CD treatment requires satisfactory progress in meeting treatment 
goals, completion of psycho educational materials and an approved 
comprehensive relapse prevention plan. We received federal funding to hire a 
researcher to assist us in developing more outcomes based measures. We hope · 
to have those measures d~veloped in the next year. 

1450 Energy Park Drive, Suite 200 • St. Paul, Minnesota 55108-5219 
Phone 651/642-0200 • TDD 651/643-3589 

An Equal opportunity employer 



3. How many more SO treatment beds do we need to adequately treat our 
population? 

Best practices tell us that some sex offenders, {low risk, low need) are more 
effectively treated in the community whether prior to incarceration or upon 
release. 
The number of sex offender beds needed is not clear, due to pending legislation 
that may require longer sentences. This may alleviate the current pressures to 
treat sex offenders in a shorter incarceration period. However, depending on the 
passage of current legislative proposals, in our correctional facilities, there is a 
need for additional sex offender treatment beds ranging from 250 to 400. 
Similarly, there is a need for additional treatment beds in the community, but it is 
difficult for the Department to determine a specific number. 

4. How many more CD treatment beds do we need to adequately treat our 
population? 

We need an additional 1570 primary CD treatment beds and 200 psycho­
educational programming beds. Adding these beds would result in the 
Department having 2170 primary treatment beds and 400 psycho-educational 
treatment beds. 

5. How many of the juveniles respond to mental health treatment at RW once they are 
incarcerated? 

MCF-RW has a comprehensive assessment process for all residents. That 
assessment forms the basis for the treatment plan to include education/vocation, · 
medical, mental health, chemical dependency, sex offender and criminogenic 
needs. The residents respond very well to the plan and interventions because all 
programming is client based, measures progress through mastery of new 
concepts and behaviors and requires ~emonstrated change over time. Residents 
are not released from the facility until they have completed the treatment plan 
goals or it has been determined they are unable to do so. Most res~dents are very 
responsive to this approach. 

6. What will the per diem be if the Governor's recommendations are enacted? 

The per diems for FY06 and FY 07 are estimated at $73. This estimate is based on 
current budget and population levels and then includes all of the change items 
and base adjustment directly impacting the cost of housing the offenders. 

7. Attached is list of those offenders sentenced under the felony DUI law .. You will note 
that this table also includes prior felonies. 

8. Attached are the DOC's policies, which govern our intake process for both adults and 
juveniles. 



9. For those offenders over 50, what are their crimes and length of sentences? How 
many are women? Males = 648, Females = 28 

39 
Cocaine 20 
Crack 15 

6 
1 

Heroin 3 
DUI 28 
Person 

Assault 55 
12 

Crim Sex 197 
Manslau hter 5 
Murder 139 
Rob be 16 
Terroristic Threats 7 

Arson 2 
12 
7 
4 

Theft 22 
1 
9 
33 

· Average Sentence Length (sentence imposed) 

Drug = 70.8 months 
Person = 165 months (does not include 84 lifers) 
Property.= 56.3 months 
DUI = 42.6 months 

2 
1 
3 
1 

1 

2 

10 

1 
1 
1 
5 

Please let me know if you have any questions on this information. I would be happy to 
discuss it with you. 

~:J.5~ 
Dennis Benson 
Deputy Commissioner 
Facility Services 

attachments 



Consolidated Fiscal Note - 2005-06 Session 

Bill#: H1406-0 Complete Date: 

Chief Author: ZELLERS, KURT 

Title: CRIM SEXUAL CONDUCT LIFE W/O PAROLE 

Agencies: Corrections Dept (03/14/05) 
Attorney General (03/11/05) 
Sentencing Guidelines Comm (03/07/05) 
Public Safety Dept (03/11/05) 

Fiscal Impact 
State 

Local 

Fee/Departmental Earnings 

Tax Revenue 

Supreme Court 
Public Defense Board 
Human Services Dept (03/15/05) 

Yes No 
x 
x 

x 
x 

This tab e re ects 1sca 1mpac o s a e government. fl f 1 • t t t t L fl oca government impact is re ected in the narrative only. 
Dollars (in thousands) · FY05 FY06 FY07 FY08 FY09 

Net Expenditures 
General Fund 0 3,864 6,161 7,833 9,927 

Attorney General 310 338 338 338 
Public Safety Dept 1,146 564 636 564 
Supreme Court 2,309 3,848 3,848 3,848 
Corrections Dept 0 99 1,411 3,011 5,177 

Revenues 
-No Impact-

Net Cost <Savings> 
Gelierat Fund · 0 3,864•·• 6,161 7;833 9,.927 

Attorney General 310 338 338 338 
Public Safety Dept 1,14S 564 636 564 
Supreme Court 2,309 3,848 3,848 3,848 
Corrections Dept 0 99 1,411 3,011 5,177 

Tota·1 Cost <Saving~> to the State. 0 3,864; . 6,1f)1 z~a3j··, . 9,927 

FY05 FY06 FY07 FY08 FY09 
Full Time Equivalents 

.. General Fund 0.00 1.2.0Q·. 33.00 S6:60 91.20 
Attorney General 4.00 4.00 4.00 4.00 
Public Safety Dept 6.00 6.00 6.00 6.00 
Corrections Dept 0.00 2.00 23.00 46.60 81.20 

Total FTE 0.00 12.00 33.00 56.60 91.20 
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Fiscal Note - 2005-06 Session 

Bill#: H1406-0 Complete Date: 03/14/05 

Chief Author: ZELLERS, KURT 

Title: CRIM SEXUAL CONDUCT LIFE W/O PAROLE 

Agency Name: Corrections Dept 

Fiscal Impact 
State 

Local 

Fee/Departmental Earnings 

Tax Revenue 

Yes No 
x 
x 

x 
x 

This table reflects fiscal impact to state Qovernment. Local Qovernment impact is reflected in the narrative onlv. 
Dollars (in thousands) FY05 FY06 FY07 FYOB FY09 

Expenditures 
General Fund 0 99 1,411 3,011 5,177 

Less Agency Can Absorb 
-- No Impact -

Net Expenditures 
General Fund 0 99 1,411 3,011 5,177 

Revenues 
- No Impact --

Net Cost <Savings> 
General Fund 0 99 1,411 3,011 5,177 
T.otal Cost <Savings> to the State 0 99 1,411 3,011 5,177 

FY05 FY06 FY07 FY08 FY09 
Full Time Equivalents 

General Fund 0.00 2.00 23.00 46.60 81.20 
Total FTE 0.00 2.00 23.00 46.60 81.20 
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Bill Description 
This bill doubles the statutory maximum penalties for all first through fourth degree criminal sexual conduct offenses. It 
creates a mandatory life sentence without possibility of release for first and second degree criminal sexual conduct 
offenses as defined in M.S. §609.342 and M.S.§ 609.343 subdivisions 1 (c), (d), (e), (f), and (h), when one from a 
specific list of aggravating factors is present, as long as that factor is not an element of the offense. It also creates a 
mandatory life sentence with possibility of release after serving a minimum of 20 years for other first and second 
degree criminal sexual conduct offenses as defined in M.S. §609.342 and M.S.§ 609.343 subdivisions 1 (c), (d), (e), 
(f), and (h), and for any other first through fourth degree offenders who are repeat offenders. Offenses that qualify as 
prior sex offenses are expanded to include some offenses other than criminal sexual conduct offenses, prior juvenile 
adjudications, and two prior misdemeanor sex offenses. The definition of a subsequent sex offense is also changed 
to include any conviction following a previous conviction for a sex offense regardless of when the offenses occurred. 
For other first through fourth degree offenses, the penalties prescribed by the Sentencing Guidelines Commission's 
sex offender grid would apply. The bill establishes a Sex Offender Review Board that would make decisions 
regarding conditional release for offenders eligible to be considered for release. 

The bill also modifies and renumbers statute M.S. §609.108 - the patterned sex offender sentencing provision. It 
removes the "predatory crimes" from this provision and creates a new criminal sexual predatory conduct offense. This 
offense would consist of one of the predatory crimes that was motivated by the offender's sexu~I impulses or was part 
of a predatory pattern of behavior that had criminal sexual conduct as its goal. The statutory maximum for this 
offense would also be 15 years. If the predatory crime is a subsequent sex offense, the offender would qualify for the 
mandatory life sentence with possibility of release after serving a minimum of 20 years. 

Assumptions 
• According the Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines Commission this bill will have a significant impact on future 

need for prison beds. The impact of this bill will not be realized until 11 months following enactment. 
• In FY07 there will be a need for 81 prison beds, FY08 will increase to 177 prison beds, and FY09 will increase 

to 304 prison beds. 
• The long-term impact of this bill is significant. This bill could create the need for an additional 3,858 to 7,478 

prison beds in 2061. 
• Prison bed costs are based on a marginal cost per diem for each fiscal year. The annual per diems are as 

follows: FY06 $69.85, FY07 $70.91, FY08 $71.99, and FY09 $73.10. This includes marginal costs for all 
facility, private and public bed rental, health care, and support costs. 

• In order to estimate the annual cost the number of prison beds needed is phased in on a quarterly basis. 
Then multiplying the number of beds for each quarter by the subsequent annual per diem determines the 
estimate for the annual costs of prison beds. 

• Prison bed FTE impact for the increase in the inmate population assumes 80 percent of the ongoing bed 
impact is personnel-related and the average salary is $50,000 per year including benefits. 

• The department will be req.uired to determine the supervised release status of all offenders entering 
Minnesota if notified of by local law enforcement or the BCA. Notification must be made if it is determined 
that the offender is required to register and has not yet done so. 

• The department must determine if the risk level assigned to an offender from another state is comparable to 
the risk level that may have been assigned by Minnesota. Law enforcement must then be notified of this 
determination. 

• If the risk level assigned by another state is not comparable then an end-of-confinement review committee 
must be convened to assign a new risk level. All relevant information must be obtained in order to accomplish 
this. 

• The Commissioner must determine whether the laws of all other states are comparable·to Minnesota. 
• If local law enforcement disagreeswith the determination of risk level by another state they may request the 

department to complete another end-of-confinement review. 
• In order to accomplish the increased workload within the department's interstate unit an OAS Senior position 

must be added. This position will cost $42,000 ahnually. 
• In order to accomplish the increased workload within the department's community notification unit a 

Management Analyst 3 position must be added. This position will costs $52,000 annually. 
• It was the bill author's intent to pay for the Department of Corrections to pay for the expenses of the policy 

review board. It is anticipated that this board will meet approximately twelve times per year and the total 
annual expenses will be $5,000. 

• This bill is effective August 1, 2005. 
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Expenditure and/or Revenue Formula 

Fiscal Year 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 
Number of Prison Beds o· 0 81 177 304 
Costs of Prison Beds $0 $0 $1,312 $2,912 $5,078 
(1=1,000) 
Community Services FTE's $0 $94 $94 $94 $94 
Sex Offender Policy Board $0 $5 $5 $5 $5. 
Total DOC Cost (1=1,000) $0 $99 $1,411 $3,011 $5,177 
FTE 0 2 23 46.6 81.2 

Long-Term Fiscal Considerations 
• Costs for prison beds will continue to increase in each subsequent year. The long-term impact on prison 

beds is significant ranging from 3,858 to 7,478 in 2061. This would cost the state between $103 million to 
$200 million per year (calculated on FY05 dollars). 

• Costs for staffing the interstate and community notification unit of $94,000 annually will be recognized in 
subsequent years. Depending on workload generated by the provisions of this bill will in all likelihood 
increase which will require additional staff. 

• Based on the indeterminate sentencing provisions of this bill there will be a minimal savings in supervision 
caseloads from 2020 until 2025 by offenders serving an additional five years beyond current practice. 

• These small savings will be offset very quickly beginning in 2025 when it is estimated that 196 offenders per 
year will be released and required to serve an estimated 20 years longer than current practice on conditional 
supervised release. The accumulative effect of this bill will be significant. 

Local Government Costs 
• The provisions of this bill will have an impact on local law enforcement costs that may be significant with 

regards to community notification activities. · 
• There is the possibility of some savings in the use of local jails and workhouses for these offenders. 
• There also would be a small decrease in felony probation caseloads of 80 offenders a year who are currently 

receiving probation sentences but will, under the provisions of this bill, receive executed prison sentences. 

References/Sources 
Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines staff. 
Minnesota Department of Corrections staff. 

FN Coord Signature: DENNY FONSECA 
Date: 03/11/05 Phone: 642-0220 

EBO Comments 

I have reviewed this Fiscal Note for accuracy and content. 

EBO Signature: JIM KING 
Date: 03/14/05 Phone: 296-7964 
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Fiscal Note - 2005-06 Session 

Bill#: H1406-0 Complete Date: 03/15/05 

Chief Author: ZELLERS, KURT 

Title: CRIM SEXUAL CONDUCT LIFE W/O PAROLE 

Agency Name: Human Services Dept 

Fiscal Impact 
State 

Local 

Fee/Departmental Earnings 

Tax Revenue 

Yes No 
x 
x 

x 
x 

Th. bl fl fi I . t t t t t L 1s ta e re ects 1sca 1mpac o s a e qovernmen . fl d. h oca qovernment impact 1s re ecte mt e narrative omy. 
Dollars (in thousands) FY05 FY06 FY07 FY08 FY09 

Expenditures 
-No Impact-

less Agency Can Absorb 
-No Impact-

Net Expenditures 
-No Impact-

Revenues 
-No Impact-

Net Cost <Savings> 
-- No Impact -
Total Cost <Savings> to the State 

FY05 FY06 FY07 FY08 FY09 
Full Time Equivalents 

-- No Impact -
Total FTE 
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P ~e ~~~IJ ~~!l ·~ '!f.~ 
NARRATIVE: HF 1406/SF 1325 

This bill provides for indeterminate and mandatory life sentences for certain sex offenses. Establishes a 
Minnesota Sex Offender Review Board and directs the Sentencing Guidelines Commission to modify sentencing 
guidelines. The bill also expands Department of Human Services access to the predatory offender registry, 
modifies the predatory offender registry law as they pertain to health care facilities and develops an ongoing Sex 
Offender Policy Board. 

Also, Article 7 of the bill amends the Department of Human Services Background Studies Act under chapter 245C. 
Amendments to chapter 245C include: 

1. r.equires employers to Y"ait for the study results before putting someone in direct contact or access; 

2. when a disqualified person (who is not determined by the commissioner to present an imminent risk of harm 
requiring immediate removal) is allowed by an employer to provide direct contact services during the appeal 
period, the employer must first obtain from the individual a copy of the commissioner's notice of disqualification 
that explains the reason for disqualification; · 

3. adds all "violent crimes" as defined in section 609.1095 plus 5th degree criminal sex conduct to the list of 
crimes for which are considered "permanent disq.ualifications"; 

4. prohibits the commissioner from ever setting aside disqualifications for the crimes in the "permanent 
disqualification" section of law. Also provides 10 and 7 year restrictions on the commissioner's discretion to set 
aside disqualifications relative to other specified crimes - across all settings. Similar restrictions have been in 
place for foster care and family child care settings in the provider's home since about 1993; 

5. makes the identity of the disqualified individual and the reason for his/her disqualification public data at the 
moment that a set aside or variance is granted; and 

· 6. modifies the notices to individuals telling them that their identity and history will be come public, and tells them 
in the disqualification notice what the restrictions are on set asides and variances, when applicable. 

Assumptions 

.Presently, the growth for the Minnesota Sex Offender program (MSOP) population is projected to increase an 
average of 23 individuals per fiscal year. This projection is based on the number of high-risk sex offenders 
currently serving their sentence in the Department of Corrections that will be referred for civil committed to the 
MSOP program. On average, individuals serve nine years in the Department of Corrections prior to being 
referred to the Minnesota Sex Offender program. 

With the enactment of this bill, the Department of Human Services does not anticipate a change in the 
commitment referrals to the MSOP program from the Department of Corrections 'until fiscal year 2013. Due to the 
volatility in the number of convictions, the criminal characteristics involved and the current number of individuals 
serving sentences in Corrections, it is impossible to estimate fiscal impact to the program this far in the future. 

Also, the amendment to 245C.17, subdivision 2, may result in fewer requests for reconsiderations for ·two 
reasons. 

First, if an individual is disqualified from direct contact, the notice must inform the individual of any restrictions on 
the Commissioner's discretion to set aside the disqualification. Because more crimes have been moved into the 
permanent bar section, and the permanent bar will apply to all licensed programs, the Commissioner will have 
less discretion to set aside disqualifications. The individual will be informed of the restrictions on the 
Commissioner's discretion to set aside the disqualification. It is assumed that disqualified individuals will not 
request reconsideration if the Commissioner can not set aside the disqualification. This will reduce the number of 
reconsiderations that will be completed by OHS. 
Second, if the individual's disqualification is set aside or the facility is granted a variance, the individual's identity 
and the reason for the individual's disqualification will become public data. It is assumed that some individuals 
will not want their identity or the reason for their disqualification to become public data in this fashion. Therefore, 
some of these individuals will not request reconsideration of their disqualification. 
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However, there may be a few additional hearings. The commissioner may disqualify individuals who, while they 
have not been convicted of an offense, the department has determined that there is a preponderance of evidence 
that the individual committed an act that meets the definition of the disqualifying crime. Under the current law, 
those disqualifications may be set aside, and if they are, the person does not have an appeal right relative to the 
preponderance of evidence determination. If those disqualifications for preponderance of evidence 
determinations can no longer be set aside, there may be a slight increase in the number of hearings challenging 
the preponderance of evidence determination. 

Data is not available to determine how many disqualifications per year are made for permanent disqualifications, 
based on a preponderance of evidence, but it is a small number. In FY04, there were a total of 160 
disqualifications in OHS directly licensed programs resulting from crimes in the permanent disqualification 
category, and an estimated 3 to 5 were based on a preponderance of evidence. Therefore, it is estimated that 
there may be one or two additional hearings per year based on disqualifications issued relative to directly licensed 
programs. As stated above, similar restrictions of the commissioner's discretion have been in place since 1993 
for most background studies completed by counties, so there is not expected to a significant impact in those 
appeals. 

It is difficult to estimate the number of people who will not request reconsideration because of the proposed 
requirement that, if a set aside or variance is granted, their identity and the reason for disqualification will become 
public data. The criminal conviction information that forms the basis of most disquaJifications is already public 
data at the district court where the conviction occurred and, through specific procedures, it is public data available 
from the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension. A significant number of employers already ask prospective 
employees whether they have criminal histories and what they are. 

Because this law will change the employability of some people currently in the human services system, some 
additional Court of Appeals cases can be expected. Over four years (CY 2001 - CY 2004), there have been 18 
challenges to the background study process before the Court of Appeals. These law changes will allow people 
with current set asides to remain in their current employment situation. However, if some of these individuals 
seek similar employment iri a different setting, the proposed changes would prohibit the commissioner from 
granting the necessary set aside or variance. An unknown number of court challenges can be expected. 

With this bill, there will possibly be some minor savings in some areas, while there may be some minor increases 
in others. Overall, the net impact is expected to be no cost. 

Expenditure and/or Revenue Formula 

N/A 

Long-Term Fiscal Considerations 

Any changes in cost to the Department of Human Services will not be realized until fiscal year 2013 or beyond. 

Local Government Costs 

Counties currently pay 10% of the per diem rate. As the population changes, the county total financial liability will 
also change. 

References/Sources 

Agency Contact Name: Shirley Jacobson 582-1876 
FN Coord Signature: STEVE BARTA 
Date: 03/15/05 Phone: 296-5685 

EBO Comments 

I have reviewed this Fiscal Note for accuracy and content. 
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EBO Signature: CRAIG WIEBER 
Date: 03/15/05 Phone: 282-5065 
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Fiscal Note - 2005-06 Session 

Bill#: H1406-0 Complete Date: 03/11/05 

Chief Author: ZELLERS, KURT 

Title: CRIM SEXUAL CONDUCT LIFE W/O PAROLE 

Agency Name: Attorney General 

fiscal Impact 
State 

Local 

Fee/Departmental Earnings 

Tax Revenue 

Yes No 
x 
x 

x 
x 

This table reflects fiscal impact to state government. Local government impact is reflected in the narrative only. 
Dollars (in thousands) FY05 FY06 FY07 FY08 FY09 

Expenditures 
General Fund 310 338 338 338 

less Agency Can Absorb 
-No Impact-

Net Expenditures 
General Fund 310 338 338 338 

Revenues 
- No Impact --

Net Cost <Savings> 
General Fund 310 338 338 338 
Total Cost <Savings> to the State 310 338 338 338 

FY05 FY06 FY07 FY08 FY09 
Full Time Equivalents 

General Fund 4.00 4.00 4.00 4.00 
Total FTE 4.00 4.00 4.00 4.00 
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Bill Description 
H.F. 1406-0, Article 5, § 4, provides that the Commissioner of Corrections' determination on whether a convicted 
sex offender or predatory offender is appropriate for a civil commitment petition shall be based on a 
recommendation of the Department of Corrections screening committee and a legal review and recommendation 
from a representative of the Office of the Attorney General knowledgeable in the legal requirements of the civil 
commitment process. 

H.F. 1406-0, Article 3, § 16, requests that the Minnesota Supreme Court create a task force to study the use of 
the court system as an alternative to the administrative process of the special review board for reductions in 
custody level and discharge from commitment for persons committed as sexually dangerous persons and sexual 
psychopathic personalities. The bill mandates that a representative of the Attorney General's Office serve as a 
task force member. The task force is required to convene by August 1, 2005, and report to legislative committees 
with recommendations by February 1, 2006. 

The remaining provisions of H.F. 1406-0 provide for life sentences for certain sex offenses, increased maximum 
. penalties for certain sex offenses, requiring the Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines Commission to modify the 
sentencing guidelines to reflect changes in the sentencing provisions for these sex offenses, creating the 
Minnesota Sex Offender Review Board to make release and revocation decisions regarding sex offenders, notice 
to victims that a petition for civil commitment has been filed and the resolution of the petition, changes to the 
predatory offender registration system, increased disclosure of information between the Department of 
Corrections and the Department of Human Services regarding sex offenders, and creating the Sex Offender 
Policy Board to develop professional standards for the treatment of sex offenders and to advise the governor and 
report to the legislature. 

Assumptions 
It is estimated that 3.0 FTE attorney positions and 1.0 FTE legal secretary position would be immediately required 
upon passage of the bill to meet the requirements of H.F. 1406-0. 

Expenditure and/or Revenue Formula 
Expenditure: The fiscal note request is based on the cost for 3.0 FTE attorney positions and 1.0 FTE legal 
secretary position and $310,000 in FY 2006 (prorated for an effective date of August 1, 2005) and 3.0 FTE 
attorney positions and 1.0 FTE legal secretary position and $338,000 starting in FY 2007 and going forward. 

The additional FTE positions would be required to meet the requirements of reviewing sex offenders to make a 
determination as to whether they meet the standards for civil commitment, as set forth in Article 5, § 4 of H.F. 
1406-0. Currently, the DOC ·reviews all sex offenders assigned a risk level of three and certain sex offenders 
assigned a risk level of two for possible civil commitment. According to the DOC, in 2004 83 sex offenders were 
assigned level three status. It is difficult to determine how many level two sex offenders will be reviewed for 
possible civil commitment because that decision is made on a case by case basis. However, according to the 
DOC, level two status was assigned to 217 sex offenders in 2004. From past experience, it is reasonable to 
estimate that approximately one-third, or 75, of these offenders would be reviewed for possible civil commitment. 
Given these figures, it is reasonable to assume that in the average year the DOC would review approximately 160 
sex offenders scheduled for release for possible civil commitment. Each year there are aiso a number of 
offenders on supervised release who violate the terms of their release, are returned to an institution and then 
assigned a risk level of three. Thus, a conservative estimate of sex offender cases to be reviewed each year 
would be 180. 

To make a determination and recommendation regarding whether the legal standards for commitment were met 
in each case, the AGO representative would have to review all the records concerning the offender's criminal 
convictions as well as psychological assessments, treatment experiences, and incarceration history. It typically 
takes about 17 hours for an Assistant Attorney General to review these records for a civil commitment case. The 
AGO representative also often has to spend time obtaining additional records because records forwarded from 
the DOC often are incomplete and inadequate. The process of obtaining these records would necessitate a 
motion for a court order to obtain them. Based on current experience in filing these motions in civil commitment 
cases, it is reasonable to assume the AGO representative would spend approximately four hours on the motion 
process. Finally, an additional four hours would be needed to summarize the evidence supporting the elements 
for commitment and the recommendation for a written report. 

Based on the above, it is reasonable to assume that the AGO attorney would spend a total of approximately 25 
hours on each case. Multiplying 25 hours by 180 offenders means annual time spent on these reviews would be 
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approximately 4,500 hours. One legal secretary would be needed to provide word processing and other support 
service for the attorneys. 

It is estimated that some additional time would be required beginning upon passage of the bill and continuing 
through February 1, 2006 to meet the requirements of serving on the Minnesota Supreme Court task force, as set 
forth in Article 3, § 16 of H.F. 1406-0. It is assumed that the task force would have to meet frequently in order to 
meet the February 1, 2006 deadline for the report to the legislature. Assuming that the task force met for four 
hours two times per month over the minimum period of August 1, 2005 to February 1, 2006, the representative of 
the AGO would have to spend approximately 48 hours attending task force meetings. The AGO representative 
would also spend nearly an equivalent amount of time researching, reading, and preparing materials for those 
meetings. 

Revenue: None. 

long-Term Fiscal Considerations 
It is anticipated that the ongoing costs will consist of 3.0 FTE attorney positions and 1.0 FTE legal secretary 
position. 

local Government Costs 
Certain provisions of H.F. 1406-0 would appear to increase the involvement of local law enforcement agencies in 
the predatory offender registration and notification process. This may increase the amount of staff hours those 
agencies need to dedicate to those functions. 

References/Sources 

Agency Contact Name: Ken Peterson (296-2731) Matthew Frank (297-2875) 
FN Coord Signature: TERRY POHLKAMP 
Date: 03/09/05 Phone: 297-1143 

EBO Comments 

I have reviewed this Fiscal Note for accuracy and content. 

EBO Signature: KRISTI SCHROEDL 
Date: 03/11/05 Phone: 215-0595 
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Fiscal Note - 2005-06 Session 

Bill#: H1406-0 Complete Date: 03/11/05 

Chief Author: ZELLERS, KURT 

Title: CRIM SEXUAL CONDUCT LIFE W/O PAROLE 

Agency Name: Public Safety Dept 

Fiscal Impact 
State 

Local 

Fee/Departf!lental Earnings 

Tax Revenue 

Yes No 
x· 
x 

x 
x 

Th" fl fi I . h rs table re ects rsca rmpact to state· government. Local Qovernment impact is reflected int e narrative onlv. 
Dollars (in thousands) FY05 FY06 FY07 FY08 FY09 

Expenditures 
General Fund 1,146 564 636 564 

Less Agency Can Absorb 
-- No Impact -

Net Expenditures 
General Fund 1,146 564 636 564 

Revenues 
-- No Impact --

Net Cost <Savings> 
General Fund 1,146 564 636 564 
Total Cost <Savings> to the State ·1,146 564 636 564 

FY05 FYd6 FY07 FY08 FY09 
Full Time Equivalents 

General Fund 6.00 6.00 6.00 6.00 
Total FTE 6.00 6.00 6.00 6.00 
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Bill Description 

A bill for an act relating to public safety; modifying predatory offender registration and community notification 
requirements; providing registration requirements for persons without a primary address under the registry; 
providing for community notification for offenders from other states and offenders released from federal facilities 
under the registry; expanding Department of Human Services access to the predatory offender registry; modifying 
the predatory offender registry law to require registered offenders to disclose to health care facilities, upon 
admittance, their status as a registered predatory offender, and to require local law enforcement to disclose a 
registrant's status to the administration of a health care facility if a registered offender is receiving inpatient care. 

Assumptions 

The following proposed language will result in a need to modify existing POR forms and/or POR Training 
materials: 

1. The bill calls for new definitions in the registration statute regarding dwelling, incarceration, primary 
address and secondary address. 

2. Under the current statute, aiding, abetting and conspiracy to commit a registerable offense do not trigger 
a registration requirement. 

3. Under the current statute, false imprisonment involving an adult victim and Sixth Degree Criminal Sexual 
Conduct (M.S. § 609.3453) do not trigger a registration requirement. 

4. Under the current statute, Fourth Degree Assault ( M.S. § 609.2231) does not trigger a registration 
requirement. 

5.. The proposed language would allow the BCA to· inactivate the registration status of offenders who move 
to another state, once the BCA has confirmed the address in the other state through the annual 
verification process. 

6. The proposed legislation requires offenders who lack a primary residence to report to their local law 
enforcement agency within 24 hours of arriving in the jurisdiction and every 7 days thereafter until a 
primary residence is established. Law enforcement officials are required to report the weekly updates to 
the BCA within 2 business days for inclusion in the POR database. 

7. The proposed language in this bill includes a new requirement for Level 2 and Level 3 offenders, who are 
not under correctional supervision, to have an annual or semi-annual in-person contact with their local law 
enforcement agency during the month of the person's birth. The purpose of the in-person contact is to 
verify the accuracy of the offender's registration information and update his/her photograph. The bill 
requires law enforcement to enter updated information into the Predatory Offender Registration database, 
to ensure immediate availability of the information to the law enforcement community. 

8. The proposed language requires the BCA to send verification letters to Level 3 offenders on a bi-annual 
basis. · 

9. The proposed language requires registrants to notify health care facilities of their registration status upon 
admittance. 

1 O. The proposed language requires the BCA to record risk level or community notification information for 
offenders who move to Minnesota from another state and forward this information to the Department of 
Corrections. 

11. The proposed legislation requires the BCA to have each registrant sign a consent form authorizing a 
treatment facility or a residential housing unit or shelter to release information to a law enforcement officer 
about the person's admission to, or residence in the facility or shelter. · 
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The following proposed language will result in a need to modify the POR database and/or the POR web 
site. [Note: Changes to the Verification Forms are made in the POR database, as all Verification Forms 
are generated from the database.]: 

1. Under the current statute, aiding, abetting and conspiracy to commit a registerable offense do not trigger 
a registration requirement. 

2. Under the current statute, false imprisonment involving an adult victim and Sixth Degree Criminal Sexual 
Conduct (M.S. § 609.3453) do not trigger a registration requirement. 

3. Under the current statute, Fourth Degree Assault ( M.S. § 609.2231) does not trigger a registration 
requirement. 

4. The proposed language would allow the BCA to inactivate the registration status of offenders who move 
to another state, once the SCA has confirmed the address in the other state through the annual 
verification process. 

5. The proposed legislation requires offenders who lack a primary residence to report to their local law 
enforcement agency within 24 hours of arriving in the jurisdiction and every 7 days thereafter until a 
primary residence is established. Law enforcement officials are required to report the weekly updates to 
the SCA within 2 business days for inclusion in the POR database. 

6. The proposed language in this bill includes a new requirement for Level 2 and Level 3 offenders, who are 
not under correctional supervision, to have an annual or semi-annual in-person contact with their local law 
enforcement agency during the month of the person's birth. The purpose of the in-person contact is to 
verify the accuracy of the offender's registration information and update his/her photograph. The bill 
requires law enforcement to enter updated information into the Predatory Offender Registration database, 
to ensure immediate availability of the information to the law enforcement community. 

7. The proposed language requires the SCA to immediately investigate all Level 3 offenders who become 
non-compliant after failure to return their annual verification letters. The language also requires the SCA 
to provide immediate notification of the non-compliance to the law enforcement agency with jurisdiction 
over the subject's last registered address. 

8. The proposed language requires the SCA to send verification letters to Level 3 offenders on a bi-annual 
basis. 

9. The proposed language requires registrants to notify health care facilities of their registration status upon 
admittance. 

10. The proposed language requires the SCA to notify the Department of Correctic;>ns (DOC) Community 
Notification Unit when offenders move to Minnesota from other states and forward any information 
regarding their risk level or community notification status in the other state. 

11. The proposed legislatiory requires the SCA to have each registrant sign a consent form authorizing a 
treatment facility or a residential housing unit or shelter to release information to a law enforcement officer 
about the person's admission to, or residence in the facility or shelter. 

The following proposed language will result in the need for additional POR personnel: 

1. The proposed language requires the SCA to immediately investigate all Level 3 offenders who become 
non-compliant after failure to return their annual verification letters. The language also requires the SCA 
to provide immediate notification of the non-compliance to the law enforcement agency with jurisdiction 
over the subject's last registered address. 

2. The proposed language requires the BCA to notify the Department of Corrections (DOC) Community 
Notification Unit when offenders move to Minnesota from other states and forward any information 
regarding their risk level or community notification status in the other state. Community notification and 
risk level assessments do not have a nation-wide uniform process. Obtaining community notification and 
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risk level information, for offenders who are already living in Minnesota, from other states will be very time 
consuming. The proposed legislation would apply to anyone required to register on the date of . 
enactment. Currently, there are approximately 750 registrants who have relocated to Minnesota from 
another state. Each of these files would need to be assessed and the states where the registration 
offense occurred would need to be contacted. · 

3. In order to process the increased volume of information and offenders who will be required to register and 
to more effectively monitor and track Minnesota's 16,000 registered offenders, the SCA needs to hire 
additional personnel. 

Expenditure and/or Revenue Formula 

• Registration Forms* - (2,000 books x $8) 
*Each book contains 20, 4-page registration forms in triplicate 

• Change of Information Forms - Triplicate (70,000 forms x $1) 

• Training Manuals 

• Training of Criminal Justice Professionals 

(4,00Q manuals x $7) 

(5 state-wide sessions x $200) 
FY2006 

[Forms, training manuals and training costs of $72,000 in FY08.] 

• Upgrades to POR database- one-time costs FY2006 

$16,000 

70,000 

28,000 

1.000 
$115,000 

585,000 

[On-going maintenance to the POR database and security will be $100,000 in FY07, FYOB and FY09] 

• Three SCA Special Agents (3 FTEs X 96,823.08) 290,469 

• Two Office and Administrative Specialists - Intermediate (2 FTEs X 47,714.15) 95,428 

• One Criminal Intelligence Analyst (1 FTE X 59,626.84) 59.626 

FY 2006 $1,145,523 

long-Term Fiscal Considerations 

NIA 

local Government Costs 

All law enforcement agencies have the potential to be affected by the proposed registration changes for offenders 
who lack a primary residence. Larger agencies such as the Minneapolis and St. Paul Police Departments will 
have a larger homeless population than smaller agencies in rural Minnesota. At this time, the Department of 
Public Safety is unable to predict the impact on local agencies. 
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All law enforcement agencies have the potential to be affected by the proposed requirements for Level 2 and 
Level 3 offenders; the new requirements for registrants who are admitted to a health care facility; the new 
community notification policies for registrants who move to Minnesota from other states. At this time, the 
Department of Public Safety is unable to predict the impact on local agencies. 

Local law enforcement agencies may be required to buy camera and/or computer scanner equipment to be able 
to provide photos as required. 

Local law enforcement agencies that do not currently have connections to the Criminal Justice Data Network 
(CJDN) may be required to request a connection and be subject to the fees specified in MSS 299C.48. 

References/Sources 

• Consultation with current developer of the POR database. 
• Past expenses for modifying registration forms. 

Agency Contact Name: AnnMarie O'Neill 651 793-7000 
FN Coard Signature: FRANK AHRENS 
Date: 03/11/05 Phone: 296-9484 

EBO Comments 

I have reviewed this Fiscal Note for accuracy and content. 

EBO Signature: NORMAN FOSTER 
Date: 03/11/05 Phone: 215-0594 
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Fiscal Note - 2005-06 Session 

Bill#: H1406-0 Complete Date: 03/07/05 

Chief Author: ZELLERS, KURT 

Title: CRIM SEXUAL CONDUCT LIFE W/O PAROLE 

Agency Name: Sentencing Guidelines Comm 

Fiscal Impact 
State 

Local 

Fee/Departmental Earnings 
Tax Revenue 

Yes No 
x 

x 
x 
x 

fi I . tt t This table reflects 1sca 1mpac o s ate government. L fl d. h oca government impact rs re ecte mt e narrative on1v. 
Dollars (in thousands) FY05 FY06 FY07 FY08 FY09 

Expenditures 
-- No Impact-

less Agency Can Absorb 
- No Impact --

Net Expenditures 
-- No Impact -

Revenues 
- No Impact --

Net Cost <Savings> 
-- No Impact -
Total Cost <Savings> to the State 

FY05 FY06 FY07 FY08 FY09 
Full Time Equivalents 

- No Impact --
Total FTE 
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Bill Description 

This bill doubles the statutory maximum penalties for all first through fourth degree criminal sexual conduct offenses. It 
creates a mandatory life sentence without possibility of release for first and second degree criminal sexual conduct 
offenses as defined in M.S. §609.342 and M.S.§ 609.343 subdivisions 1 (c), (d), (e), (f), and (h), when one from a 
specific list of aggravating factors is present, as long as that factor is not an element of the offense. It also creates a 
mandatory life sentence with possibility of release after serving a minimum of 20 years for other first and second 
degree criminal sexual conduct offenses as defined in M.S. §609.342 and M.S.§ 609.343 subdivisions 1 (c), (d), (e), 
(f), and (h), and for any other first through fourth degree offenders who are repeat offenders. Offenses that qualify as 
prior sex offenses are expanded to include some offenses other than criminal sexual conduct offenses, prior juvenile 
adjudications, and two prior misdemeanor sex offenses. The definition of a subsequent sex offense is also changed 
to include any conviction following a previous conviction for a sex offense regardless of when the offenses occurred. 
For other first through fourth degree offenses, the penalties prescribed by the Sentencing Guidelines Commission's 
sex offender grid would apply. The bill establishes a Sex Offender Review Board that would make decisions 
regarding conditional release for offenders eligible to be considered for release. 

The. bill also modifies and renumbers statute M.S. §609.108 - the patterned sex offender sentencing provision. It 
removes the "predatory crimes" from this provision and creates a new criminal sexual predatory conduct offense. This 
offense would consist of one of the predatory crimes that was motivated by the offender's sexual impulses or was part 
of a predatory pattern of behavior that had criminal sexual conduct as its goal. The statutory maximum for this 
offense would also be 15 years. If the predatory crime is a subsequent sex offense, the offender would qualify for the 
mandatory life sentence with possibility of release after serving a minimum of 20 years. 

The bill is effective for crimes committed on or after August 1, 2005. 

Assumptions 

Projections based on Current Policies and Sentencing Practices as Reflected in MSGC data for Offenders 
Sentenced in 2003 

•!• Number of Offenders 

life Sentences - No Release: This provisipn applies to offenders convicted only of certain first and second degree 
offenses, if one from a specified list of aggravating factors is present, and the aggravating factor is not an element of 
the offense. According to MSGC monitoring data, 57 first-degree offenders and 29 second-degree offenders were 
sentenced for first-degree criminal sexual conduct offenses in 2003 with offenses from the clauses subject to this 
·provision. It is not known how many of these offenders would be found by the fact finder to have the specified 
circumstances necessary to qualify for life without release. MSGC staff identified 12 first-degree offenders from this 
group who received aggravated durational departures that were twice the presumptive sentence or longer, and for 
whom the court cited departure factors that seemed related to the circumstances listed in this provision (departure 
reasons such as vulnerability of victim, particular cruelty, severity of injury). No such second-degree offenders· were 
identified. For the projections, it is assumed that 12 offenders a year that are currently receiving aggravated 
durational departure would meet the requirements specified for a life sentences without possibility of release. 

life Sentences - Release Possible: After 12 first-degree offenders are assigned to the life sentence with no release 
group, 196 other offenders were identified who would qualify for life sentences with the possibility of release. These 
offenders are listed by group in the table below as well as the percent in each group currently receiving executed 
sentences. Also di~played is their degree of conviction. Because the bill specifies that offenders who qualify shall 
receive a life sentence, it is assumed that executed prison sentences would be required for all of these offenders. 

Offenders Eligible for Life With Release 

Group I Number I Percent Executed I 
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Prison Sentences 
First Degree subdivisions 1 (c), (d), (e}, (f), and (h), 45 36 (80%) 
Second Degree subdivisions 1 (c), (d), (e), (f), and (h), 29 18 (62%) 
Other Offenders with True Prior Sex Offenses (convicted on prior before 44 38 (87%) 
commit current offense) 
Others with Prior Sex Offenses (not convicted on prior before date of 69 29 (42%) 
current offense 
Expanded Definition of Prior Sex Offense (Include juvenile adjudications, 9 4 (44%) 
2 prior misdemeanors, more offenses) 
Total 196 125 (64%) 

Conviction Degree Number of Offenders Eligible 
for life With Release Possible 

First 76 
Second 62 
Third 38 
Fourth 20 
Total 196 

It is unclear how many offenders would qualify as predatory offenders under the new criminal sexual predatory 
conduct provision. Such offenders are currently eligible for sentencing as patterned sex offenders. None of the 

offenders sentenced as patterned sex offenders in 2003 were sentenced for an offense other than criminal sexual 
conduct. Since 1990, the patterned sex offender provision has only been used seven times for offenses other 

than criminal sexual conduct. Therefore, the impact presented here is limited to offenders sentenced for criminal 
sexual conduct offenses. 

Other Offenders: Criminal sexual conduct offenders not covered by the life sentence provisions would be subject to 
the new modifications ·to the Sentencing Guidelines for sex offenders. Of the 607 offenders sentenced for criminal 

. sexual conduct offenses in 2003, 12 would qualify for life sentences with no release, 196 would qualify for life with the 
possibility of release and 399 would remain. Of these remaining offenders, 113 currently receive executed prison 
sentences, and 122 would receive executed sentences under the Guidelines modifications. It is assumed that 
offenders currently receiving mitigated departures would continue to do so~ 

•!• length of Incarceration 

life Sentences - No Release: It is assumed that the 12 offenders in this group will serve till death. Actuarial tables 
from the Social Security Administration were used to estimate how long offenders would survive/live. Different lengths 
of time to serve until death were applied to offenders based on their age at the time of sentencing. For example, 
those under age 25 were assumed to live an additional 55 years, while those in the 41-45 age group were assumed to 
live an additional 33 years. 

life Sentences - Release Possible: The length of time that will be served by these offenders, beyond what is 
served under current practices, is uncertain. Not all of the offenders sentenced in 2003 were eligible for the longer 
presumptive sentences created in statute for certain first and second degree criminal sexual conduct offenses. These 
provisions will cover future offenders. Therefore, the estimates presented here are based on the assumption that 
unless an offender received a mitigated durational departure, in the future they· would have received the higher 
presumptive sentences now in effect. The bill states that these offenders must serve a minimum term of 20 years 
before they can be considered for release. Currently, the minimum term of imprisonment served by offenders is 
defined by statute as two-thirds of the total pronounced executed sentence. Through the use on consecutive 
sentences, offenders can serve longer than 20 years under current practices. It is assumed here that the minimum 
term to be served will be 20 years or what the offender is currently serving, whichever is longer. It is unknown how 
long offenders will serve beyond the minimum term before they are released or how many actually will ever be 
released. 

Because of these uncertainties, a range of estimated prison impact is presented. Information is then provided on the 
number of additional beds needed as a result of offenders serving additional time (on average two years, five years, 
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10 years, 20 years, and never being released). The actuarial life expectancies applied to the estimates for offenders 
receiving life sentences without release were also applied to the estimates for indeterminate sentences for the 
scenarios where offenders serve 20 additional years before release and no release. 

Impact on State and local Correctional Resources 

•!• Impact on Prison Bed Needs 

life Sentences - No Release: Based on 12 offenders a year qualifying, the impact of the provision for life sentences 
without release is projected to be 272 additional beds over 54 years. Because these offenders are already receiving 
executed prison sentences with aggravated durational departures, no additional prison beds will be needed for them 
until FY2017. 

life Sentences - Release Possible: The impact of the provision for these sentences is uncertain, but is projected to 
be significant. If all of these offenders serve the minimum term of imprisonment as defined in this bill, it is projected 
that 3,073 additional prison beds would be required. However, offenders would have to apply for release, and, 
therefore, it is not reasonable to assume that all would be released after serving only the minimum term of 
imprisonment. If 196 offenders a year receive life sentences, the impact could range from 3,465 additional beds (if all 
were released after serving two years beyond the minimum) to 6,179 beds (if, on average, offenders served an 
additional 20 years). If these offenders were never released and served a life sentence, there would be a need for 
7 ,085 additional prison beds. Because some of these offenders are not currently receiving executed prison 
sentences, some impact will be realized the first year this sentencing change affects cases. 

The table below displays the potential impact based on various assumptions regarding the number of years, on 
average, which offenders would be required to serve before release. The Impact is· displayed separately for offenders 
who currently receive probationary sentences and those who are currently receiving.an executed prison sentence. 

Life Sentence When Mandated for First through Fourth Degree Sex Offenders 
Additional Prison Beds Rec uired Based On Time Served Before Release 

Minimum Minimum Minimum Minimum Serve Life 

Type of Minimum {Time Served 
Offender (20 years) 

(20 years) (20 years) (20 years) (20 years) based on Age 
+ 2 years + 5 years + 10 years + 20 years at 

Sentencing) 

Current 
Probation 

(71 Offenders) 1,420 1,562 1,753 2,073 2,580 2,924 

Current Prison 

( 125 Offenders) 1,653 1,903 2,244 2,790 3,599 4,161 

Total 
(196 Offenders) 3,073 3,465 3,997 4,863 6,179 7,085 

Other Offenders: One hundred twenty-one additional prison beds are projected to be needed for the remaining 
criminal sexual conduct offenders who would be sentenced according the modified guidelines. Nine of these offenders 
are currently receiving probation sentences. 

Timing of Prison Beds Needed: An 11 month delay is assumed from the time the bill takes effect to the time impac·l 
is realized because there are often certain delays related to sex offenses (e.g., between offense dates, reporting 
dates, and conviction dates). Additionally, a delay is assumed because offenders subject to a life sentence are more 
likely to go to trial. The tables below show the estimated bed impact by fiscal year for the various scenarios for how 
long offenders given indeterminate sentences would serve before being released. 

H1406-0 

Number of Prison Beds Needed Each Year 
For Proposed Life Sentences With and Without Release 

And Other Criminal Sexual Conduct Offenders 
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With Various Scenarios For Amounts of Time Served Before Release 

Other CSC- Life - Release 
Fiscal Guidelines Life- No 

No 
Year Release Minimum Minimum Minimum Minimum 

Modifications + 2 years + 5 years + 10 years + 20 years Release Total 

2007 9 0 72 72 72 72 72 81 
2008 28 0 149 149 149 149 149 177 
2009 55 0 249 249 249 249 249 304 
2010 77 0 361 361 361 361 361 438 
2011 92 0 485 485 485 485 485 577 
2012 100 0 622 622 622 622 622 722 
2013 106 0 761 761 761 761 761 867 
2014 109 0 905 905 905 905 905 1014 
2015 114 0 1070 1070 1070 1070 1070 1184 
2016 118 0 1242 1242 1242 1242 1242 1360 
2017 119 1 1420 1420 1420 1420 1420 1540 
2018 120 2 1598 1598 1598 1598 1598 1720 
2019 121 3 1778 1778 1778 1778 1778 1902 
2020 121 4 1959 1959 1959 1959 1959 2084 
2021 121 5 2142 2142 2142 2142 2142 2268 
2022 121 7 2325 2325 2325 2325 2325 2453 
2023 121 12 2511 2511 2511 2511 2511 2644 
2024 121 18 2698 2698 2698 2698 2698 2837 
2025 121 25 2885 2885 2885 2885 2885 3031 
2026 121 33 3073 3073 3073 3073 3073 3227 
2027 121 44 3264 3264 3264 3264 3264 3429 
2028 121 55 3455 3455 3455 3455 3455 3631 
2029 121 66 3457 3636 3636 3636 3636 3644-3823 
2030 121 77 3457 3817 -3817 3817 3817 3655-4015 
2031 121 88 3458 3990 3999 3999 3999 3667-4208 
2032 121 99 3459 3991 4171 4171 4171 3679-4391 
2033 121 110 3459 3993 4344 4344 4344 3690-4575 
2034 121 121 3461 3993 4518 4518 4518 3703-4760 
2035 121 132 3463 3993 4692 4692 4692 3716-4945 
2036 121 144 3463 3995 4853 4866 4866 3728-5131 
2037 121 154 3463 3995 4855 5020 5020 3738-5295 
2038 121 164 3463 3996 4857 5174 5174 3748-5459 
2039 121 174 3463 3996 4858 5328 5328 3758-5623 
2040 121 184 3463 3996 4858 5459 5459 3768-5764 
2041 121 194 3463 3996 4859 5590 5590 3778-5905 
2042 121 204 3463 3996 4859 5721 5721 3788-6046 
2043 121 214 3463 3996 4860 5852 5852 3798-6187 
2044 121 224 3463 3996 4862 5983 . 5983 3808-6328 
2045 121 229 3463 3996 4862 6086 6086 3813-6436 
2046 121 234 3463 3996 4862 6130 6189 3818-6544 
2047 121 239 3463 3996 4862 6172 6292 3823-6652 
2048 121 244 3463 3996 4862 6176 6395 3828-6760 
2049 121 249 3463 3996 4862 6176 6498 3833-6868 
2050 121 253 3463 3996 4862 6177 6567 3837-6941 
2051 121 257 3463 3996 4862 6178 6636 3841-7014 
2052 121 261 3463 3996 4862 6178 6705 3845-7087 
2053 121 265 3463 3997 4863 6179 6774 3849-7160 
2054 121 266 3464 3997 4863 6179 6821 3851-7208 
2055 121 267 3465 3997 4863 6179 6868 3853-7256 
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Other CSC- life - Release 
Fiscal Guidelines life- No No 
Year Release Minimum Minimum Minimum Minimum 

Modifications + 2 years + 5 years + 10 years + 20 years Release Total 

2056 121 268 3465 3997 4863 6179 6915 3854-7304 
2057 121 269 3465 3997 4863 6179 6962 3855-7352 
2058 121 270 3465 3997 4863 6179 7009 3856-7400 
2059 121 271 3465 3997 4863 6179 7056 3857-7448 
2060 121 272 3465 3997 4863 6179 7070 3858-7463 
2061 121 272 3465 3997 4863 6179 7085 3858-7478 

Impact on Conditional Release Caseloads: It is assumed that any offenders with a life sentence that are released 
from prison will remain on conditional release for the remainder of their lives. The increase in supervision caseloads 
could be significant. The offenders in this group currently receiving executed sentences now serve at least 60 months 
on conditional release. Those who meet the current definition of subsequent offenders must serve 10 years on 
conditional release. If, for example, 196 offenders per year receive indeterminate sentences, and they are released 
after serving five years beyond what they would under current sentencing provisions, they can be expected to serve 
approximately 20 more years on conditional release than they are currently serving, resulting in an eventual 
supervised release caseload increase of almost 4,000 offenders. If they serve 20 years in prison beyond what they 
would under current sentencing provisions, they can be expected to serve approximately five more years on 

. conditional release than they are currently serving, resulting in an eventual supervised release caseload increase of 
close to 1,000 offenders. 

In addition, given the increased periods of supervised release these offenders would be subject to, it is reasonable to 
assume that additional prison beds will be needed to accommodate an increased number of conditional release 
revocations. Currently, supervised release return rates are higher for sex offenders than for any other group of 
released offenders, accounting for 42% of the prison admissions for sex offenders in 2003. With an increase in the 
number of sex offenders on- conditional release supervision and the increased period of supervision, an increase in 
release revocations is highly probable and has the potential to have an additional significant impact on the number of 
prison beds required above what is indicated in this analysis. 

local Resources: There is the possibility of some savings in the use of local jail and workhouse beds for these 
offenders. Sex offenders with presumptive prison sentences who instead receive probationary sentences are almost 
always required to serve local jail time as a condition of probation. In 2003, 84% of the criminal sexual conduct 
offenders who received mitigated dispositional departures had local jail time pronounced as a condition of probation 
with an average pronounced duration of 277 qays. There also would be a decrease in felony probation caseloads of 
80 offenders a year who are currently receiving probation sentences but will, under the provisions of this bill, receive 
executed prison sentences. 

FN Coord Signature: ANNE WALL 
Date: 03/07/05 Phone: 296-0144 

EBO Comments 

I have reviewed this Fiscal Note for accuracy and content. 

EBO Signature: JIM KING 
Date: 03/07 /05 Phone: 296-7964 
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Fiscal Note - 2005-06 Session 

Bill#: H1406-0 Complete Date: 

Chief Author: ZELLERS, KURT 

Title: CRIM SEXUAL CONDUCT LIFE W/O PAROLE 

Agency Name: Supreme Court 

Fiscal Impact 

State 

Local 

Fee/Departmental Earnings 

Tax Revenue 

Yes No 
x 

x 
x 
x 

This table re ects 1sca 1mpac o s a e Qovernment. fl f 1 • t t t t L fl d. h oca government impact 1s re ecte mt e narrative omy. 
Dollars (in thousands) FY05 FY06 FY07 FY08 FY09 

Expenditures 
General Fund 2,309 3,848 3,848 3,848 

Less Agency Can Absorb 
-- No Impact --

Net Expenditures 
General Fund 2,309 3,848 3,848. 3,848 

Revenues 
- No Impact-

Net Cost <Savings> 
General Fund 2,309 3,848 3,848 3,848 

Total Cost <Savings> to the State 2,309 3,848 3,848 3,848 

FY05 FY06 FY07 FY08 FY09 
Full Time Equivalents 

-- No Impact --
Total FTE 
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Bill Description 
This bill doubles the statutory maximum pena'tties for all first through fourth degree criminal sexual conduct offenses. It 
creates a mandatory life sentence without possibility of release for first and second degree criminal sexual conduct 
offenses as defined in M.S. §609.342 and M.S.§ 609.343 subdivisions 1 (c), (d), (e), (f), and (h), when one from a 
specific list of aggravating factors is present, as long as that factor is not an element of the offense. It also creates a 
mandatory life sentence with possibility of relea'Se after serving a minimum of 20 years for other first and second 
degree criminal sexual conduct offenses as defined in M.S. §609.342 and M.S.§ 609.343 subdivisions 1 (c), (d), (e), 
(f), and (h), and for any other first through fourth degree offenders who are·repeat offenders. Offenses that qualify as 
prior sex offenses are expanded to include some offenses other than criminal sexual conduct offenses, prior juvenile 
adjudications, and two prior misdemeanor sex offenses. The definition of a subsequent sex offense is also changed 
to include any conviction following a previous conviction for a sex offense regardless of when the offenses occurred. 
For other first through fourth degree offenses, the penalties prescribed by the Sentencing Guidelines Commission's 
sex offender grid would apply. The bill establishes a Sex Offender Review Board that would make decisions 
regarding conditional release for offenders eligible to be considered for release. 

The bill also modifies and renumbers statute M.S. §609.108 - the patterned sex offender sentencing provision. It 
removes the "predatory crimes" from this provision and creates a new criminal sexual predatory conduct offense. This 
offense would consist of one of the predatory crimes that was motivated by the offender's sexual impulses or was part 
of a predatory pattern of behavior that had criminal sexual conduct as its goal. The statutory maximum for this 
offense would also be 15 years. If the predatory crime is a subsequent sex offense, the offender would qualify for the 
mandatory life sentence with possibility of release after serving a minimum of 20 years. 

Article 4, Section 16 requests the supreme court to establish a task force to study the use of the special review board 
in the commitment process for reductions in custody and discharge of those persons committed as a sexually 
dangerous person or sexual psychopathic personality under M.S. 253B.185 and report to the legislature with 
recommendations by February 1, 2006. 

The bill is effective for crimes committ~d on or after August 1, 2005. 

Assumptions 

•!• Number of Offenders 

life Sentences - No Release: This provision applies to offenders convicted only of certain first and second degree 
offenses, if one from a specified list of aggravating factors is present, and the aggravating factor is not an element of 
the offense. According to MSGC monitoring data, 57 first-degree offenders and 29 second-degree offenders were 
sentenced for first-degree criminal sexual conduct offenses in 2003 with offenses from the clauses subject to this 
provision. It is not known how many of these offenders would be found by the fact finder to have the specified 
circumstances necessary to qualify for life without release. MSGC staff identified 12 first-degree offenders from this 
group who received aggravated durational departures that were twice the presumptive sentence or longer, and for 
whom the court cited departure factors that seemed related to the circumstances listed i·n this provision (departure 
reasons such as vulnerability of victim, particular cruelty, severity of injury). No such second-degree offenders were 
identified. For the projections, it is assumed that 12 offenders a year that are currently receiving aggravated 
durational departure would meet the requirements specified for a life sentences without possibility of release. 

life Sentences - Release Possible: After 12 first-degree offenders are assigned to the life sentence with no release 
group, 196 other offenders were identified who would qualify for life sentences with the possibility of release. These 
offenders are listed by group in the table below as well as the percent in each group currently receiving executed 
sentences. Also displayed is their degree of conviction. Because the bill specifies that offenders who qualify shall 
receive a life sentence, it is assumed that executed prison sentences would be required for all of these offenders. 
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Conviction Degree 
Number of Offenders Eligible 
for Life With Release Possible 

First 76 
Second 62 
Third 38 
Fourth 20 
Total 196 

It is unclear how many offenders would qualify as predatory offenders under the new criminal sexual predatory 
conduct provision. Such offenders are currently eligible for sentencing as patterned sex offenders. None of the 

offenders sentenced as patterned sex offenders in 2003 were sentenced for an offense other than criminal sexual 
conduct. Since 1990, the patterned sex offender provision has only been used seven times for offenses other 

than criminal sexual conduct. Therefore, the impact presented here is limited to offenders sentenced for criminal 
sexual conduct offenses. 

Other Offenders: Criminal sexual conduct offenders not covered by the life sentence provisions would be subject to 
the new modifications to the Sentencing Guidelines for sex offenders. Of the 607 offenders sentenced for criminal 
sexual conduct offenses in 2003, 12 would qualify for life sentences with no release .• 196 would qualify for life with the 
possibility of release and 399 would remain. Of these remaining offenders, 113 currently receive executed prison 
sentences, and ·122 would receive executed sentences under the Guidelines modifications. It is assumed that 
offenders currently receiving mitigated departures would continue to do so. 

Because of the increased severity in sentences and because of the possibility of a life sentence with the possibility 
of release for any repeat sex offender, this fiscal note assumes a significant increase in the trial rate. The trial rate for 
first degree murder which has a life sentence is 70%. This fiscal note assumes that the first degree murder trial rate of 
70% will apply to those cases identified by Sentencing Guidelines for cases with a presumptive life with release and a. 
threefold increase in the trial rate for other criminal sex offenses because of the severity of the sanction for the 
subsequent offenses. 

The fiscal note assumes an additional hour of case processing time for juvenile sex offenders. The actual impact 
could be significantly more as juveniles and others who would qualify for lesser sentences would risk trial rather than 
the possibility of a life sentence with release as a repeat offender. During the past 5 years an average of 675 juveniles 
have been charged with criminal sexual misconduct. 

Expenditures 

An additional 5.4-judges units would be required. A judge unit consists of a law clerk, court reporter and judge. 
The annual cost of a judge unit is $307,000. The annual cost for judge 5.4 judge units is $1,650,614. In addition 
to the additional judge units, the staffing study indicates an increased need for an additional 21 administrative 
positions to handle the scheduling, additional motion hearings, the processing of additional court papers, the 
administrative time spent during the jury trials. The additional annual costs for administrative staff is $1,220, 798. 
Funds for 125 additional jury trials would also be required. The jury costs, mileage and per diem, are estimated to 
be $ 976,394. The annual estimated cost for 5.4 judge units, 21 administrative staff, and additional jury mileage 
and per diem is estimated to be $3,847,806. Start Up costs for chambers and work stations for the new positions 
is $299,476 .The first year cost is delayed for six months to take into account that the changes in the law would 
apply to cases commenced on or after August 1, 2005. The costs in the initial year are $2,223,379 

Supreme Court Study of Review Board in Civil Commitments under M.S. 253B.185 

In addition the bill requests the supreme court to conduct a study of the current review board process in civil 
commitments under M.S. 253B.185. The estimated costs of the study are shown. The study would involve 
examination of the time, resources, and legal processes in 17 other states where sex offender release from 
commitment is processed through courts rather than through a review board. The supreme court is requested to 
report to the legislature by February 1, 2006. 

Sexually Dangerous Persons Review Board Study 
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Legal Research Time 
Examine Statutory Schema approx 17 jurisdictions 
and Statutory Release Standards 17 jurisdictions 

Management Analysis 
Examine Court Case Processing Time and Resources 

Hours Unit Cost 
500 $46 

500 $35 
Examine Review Board Case Processing Time & Resources Supplied by OHS 
Examine Local Mn. Govt. Resources to Process 500 $35 

Minnesota Case Studies - 30 @ 3 hours file search 90 $35 
Administrative Time 100 $23 
ITV with Other Jurisdictions or within Mn. 20 $25/$75 
2 Regional Meetings re recommendations (Rooms, Audio Equip, Meal & Mileage) 
Supplies 
Postage 
Mileage for Participants 

17 participants @ 100 miles @.405 per mile 
9 meetings 

Meeting Parking Expense · 
Total 

Long Term Fiscal Considerations 

Costs for personnel would increase over time with cost of living adjustments. 

Local Government Costs 

Increased courthouse would be required for additional trials. 

H1406-0 

Total Cost 
$23,000 

$17,250 

$17,500 
$3,150 
$2,300 
$1,500 
$4,000 

$200 
$200 

$6,197 

$535 
$75,832 
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Fiscal Note - 2005-06 Session 

Bill#: H1406-0 Complete Date: 

Chief Author: ZELLERS, KURT 

Title: CRIM SEXUAL CONDUCT LIFE W/O PAROLE 

Agency Name: Public Defense Board 

Fiscal Impact Yes No 
State 

Local 

Fee/Departmental Earnings 

Tax Revenue 

This table reflects fiscal impact to state oovernment. Local aovernment imoact is reflected in the narrative onlv. 
Dollars (in thousands) FY05 FY06 FY07 FY08 FY09 

Expenditures 
-- No Impact -

less Agency Can Absorb 
- No Impact-

Net Expenditures 
- No Impact --

Revenues 
-- No Impact-

Net Cost <Savings> 
-No Impact-
Total Cost <Savings> to the State 

FY05 FY06 FY07 FYOS FY09 
Full Time Equivalents 

-No Impact-
Total FTE 
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Bill Description 
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1 Senator •••••••••••• moves to amend S.F. No. 1325 as 
2 follows: 

3 Page 16, after line 9, insert: 

4 "Section 1. Minrtesota Statutes 2004, section 13.851, 

5 subdivision 5, is amended to read: 

6 Subd. 5. [SEX OFFENDERS; CIVIL COMMITMENT DETERMINATION; 

7 COMMISSIONER OF CORRECTIONS.] Data provided to the county 

8 attorney under section 244.05, subdivision 7, and to the 

9 Minnesota Sex Offender Review Board under section 244.05, 

10 subdivision 5, are governed by that section." 

11 Page 16, delete section 2 and insert: 

12 "Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 13D.05, 

13 subdivision 2, is amended to read: 

14 Subd. 2. [WHEN MEETING MUST BE CLOSED.] {a) Any portion of 

15 a meeting must be closed if expressly required by other law or 

16 if the following types of data are discussed: 

17 (1) data that would identify alleged victims or reporters 

18 of criminal sexual conduct, domestic abuse, or maltreatment of 

19 minors or vulnerable adults; 

20 (2) active investigative data as defined in section 13.82, 

21 subdivision 7, or internal affairs data relating to allegations 

22 of law enforcement personnel misconduct collected or created by 

23 a state agency, statewide system, or political subdivision; or 

24 (3) educational data, health data, medical data, welfare 

25 data, or mental health data that are not public data under 

26 section 13.32, 13.3805, subdivision 1, 13.384, or 13.46, 

27 subdivision 2 or 7. 

28 {b) A public body shall close one or more meetings for 

29 preliminary consideration of allegations or charges against an 

30 individual subject to its authority. If the members conclude 

31 that discipline of any nature may be warranted as a result of 

32 those specific charges or allegations, further meetings or 

33 hearings relating to those specific charges or allegations held 

34 after that conclusion is reached must be open. A meeting must 

15 also ~e open af the request of the individual who is the subject 

36 of the meeting. 

1 
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1 (c) The Minnesota Sex Offender Review Board authorized 

2 under section 244.0515 must close a meeting to.deliberate 

3 whether an inmate's petition meets the criteria for release 

4 established by the board. The board must identify the inmate 

5 whose petition will be deliberated. At its next open meeting, 

6 the board shall summarize its deliberations regarding the 

7 inmate's petition." 

8 Page 17, line 8, delete "sections'' and insert 11 section" and 

9 d~lete "and 244.0515 when proceeding under" and insert "to 

10 implement" 

11 Page 17, line 14, delete "board" and insert "commissioner" 

12. Page 18, after line 5, insert: 

13 "Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 13.871, 

14 subdivision 5, is amended to read: 

15 Subd. 5. [CRIME VICTIMS.] (a) [CRIME VICTIM NOTICE OF 

16 RELEASE.] Data on crime victims who request notice of an 

17 offender's release are classified under section 611A.06. 

18 (b) [SEX OFFENDER HIV TESTS.] Results of HIV tests of sex 

19 offenders under section 611A.19, subdivision 2, are classified 

20 under that section. 

21 (c) [BATTERED WOMEN.] Data on battered women maintained by 

22 grantees for emergency shelter and suppo~t services for battered 

23 women are governed by section 611A.32, subdivision 5. 

24 '(d) [VICTIMS OF DOMESTIC ABUSE.] Data on battered women and 

25 victims of domestic abuse maintained by grantees and recipients 

26 of per diem payments for emergency shelter for battered women 

27 and support services for battered women and victims of domestic 

28 abuse are governed by sections 611A.32, subdivision 5, and 

29 611A.371, subdivision 3. 

30 (e) [PERSONAL HISTORY; INTERNAL AUDITING.] Certain personal 

31 history and internal auditing data is classified by section 

32 611A.46. 

33 (f) [CRIME VICTIM CLAIMS FOR REPARATIONS.] Claims and 

34 supporting documents filed by crime victims seeking reparations 

35 are classified under section 611A.57, subdivision 6. 

36 (g) [CRIME VICTIM OVERSIGHT ACT.] D~ta maintained by the 

2 
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1 commissioner of public safety under the Crime Victim Oversight 

2 Act are classified under section 611A.74, subdivision 2. 

3 .1.!!l [VICTIM IDENTITY DATA.] Data relating to the identity 

4 of the victims of certain criminal sexual conduct is governed by 

5 section 609.2471." 

6 Page 30, line 35, delete everything after the headnote and 

7 insert "A provider that receives criminal history information 

8 about a patient from the Department of Corrections or the 

9 Department of Human Services must include that information in 

10 the patient's health record. The criminal history information 

11 may only be used and disclosed as provided in this section and 

12 applicable federal law." 

13 Page 30, delete line 36 

14 Page 31, delete line 1 

15 Page 42, after line 7, insert: 

16 "Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 13.82, is 

17 amended by adding a subdivision to read: 

18 Subd. 28. [DISCLOSURE OF SEX OFFENDER REGISTRANT 

19 ·STATUS.] Law enforcement agency disclosure to health facilities 

20 of the registrant status of a registered sex offender is 

21 governed by section 244.052." 

22 Page 43, line 19, delete 11 is not" 

23 Page 43, delete lines 20 and 21 and insert "shall be deemed 

24 to have endangered the safety of individuals in the facility 

25 under Code of Federal Regulations, chapter 42, section 483.12. 

26 Notwithstanqing paragraph (d), any appeal of the notice and 

27 discharge shall not constitute a stay of the discharge." 

28 Page 47, line 10, after "for" insert "a violation of, or 

29 attempt to violate, or aiding, abetting, or conspiracy to 

30 commit," 

31 Page 55, line 29, delete the new language 

32 Page 55, line 30, delete "a failure to register offense" 

33 Page 56, line 14, after "supervision" insert "for a 

34 registration offense or a failure to register" 

35 Page 58, delete lines 6 and 7 and insert "Upon admission to 

36 a health care facility, a person reguired to register shall 

3 
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suEervised release, or conditional release that occurs on or 

after that date. 11 

Page 65, delete lines 10 and 11 

Page 79, line 6, delete "a nursing home" 

Page 79, line 7, delete everything before the comma and 

4 
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1 that relate to an individual's criminal history or propensity 

2 for violence; including data in the Corrections Offender 

3 Management System (COMS) and Statewide Supervision System (S3) 

4 maintained by the Department of Corrections and the Criminal 

5 Justice Information System (CJIS); the Predatory Offender 

6 Registration (POR) system maintained by the Department of Public 

7 Safety; and the CriMNet System;" 

8 Page 84, line 3, delete "to and review" 

9 Page 84, delete lines 4 to 7 and insert ", and may review 

10 and disclose medical and criminal history data as provided by 

11 this section." 

12 Page 84, line 21, delete 11 and 11 

13 Page 84, delete lines 22 and 23 and insert: 

14 11 (4) facilitate changes of custody and transfers of 

15 individuals between the Department of Corrections and the 

16 Department of Human Services; and 

17 (5) facilitate the exchange of data between the Department 

18 of Corrections, the Department of Human Services, and any of the 

19 supervisory authorities listed in section 13.84, regarding an 

20 individual under the authority of one or more of these entities." 

21 Page 85, line 10, delete "the necessary" 

22 Page 85, delete line 11 and insert 11 and disclose the 

23 necessary data to complete the registration form or change of 

24 status" 

25 Page 85, line 13, delete "information" and insert "data" 

26 Page 86, lines 29, 32, and 34, strike "information" and 

27 insert "data" 

28 

29 

Page 86, line 35, delete "human services," 

Page 86, line 36, delete the comma and after the period, 

30 insert "State-operated services, as defined in section 246.014, 

31 is also authorized to have access to the data for the purposes 

32 described in section 246.13, subdivision 2, paragraph (c)." 

33 Page 88, after line 9, insert: 

34 "Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 13.461, is 

35 amended by adding a subdivision to read: 

36 Subd. 29. [DISQUALIFICATION FROM DIRECT CONTACT.] The 
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1 classification of data about individuals disqualified from 

2 providing direct contact services is governed by section 

3 245C.22, subdivision 7. 

4 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 13.461~ is 

5 amended by adding a subdivision to read: 

6 Subd. 30. [SET-ASIDE DATA.] Disclosure of data relating to 

7 individuals who have obtained a set-aside of the 

8 disqualification, is governed by section 245C.22, subdivision 7. 

9 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 13.461, is 

10 amended by adding a subdivision to read: 

11 Subd. 31. [VARIANCE DATA.] Disclosure of data relating to 

12 disqualified individuals as to whom a variance has been obtained 

13 by the individual's employer, is governed by section 245C.30, 

14 subdivision 2.~ 

15 Renumber the sections in sequence and correct the internal 

16 references 

17 Amend the title accordingly 

6 
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Senator Kleis introduced--

S.F. No.1325: Referred to the Committee on Crime Prevention and Public Safety. 

~ A bill for an act 

2 relating to public safety; requiring life without 
3 release sentences for certain egregious first degree 
4 criminal sexual conduct offenses; requiring 
5 indeterminate life sentences for certain sex offenses; 
6 increasing statutory maximum sentences for sex 
7 offenses; establishing the Minnesota Sex Offender 
8 Review Board and providing its responsibilities, 
9 including release decisions, access to data, expedited 

10 rulemaking, and the applicability to it of contested 
11 case proceedings and the Open Meeting Law; directing 
12 the Sentencing Guidelines Commission to modify the 
13 sentencing guidelines; providing criminal penalties; 
14 modifying predatory offender registration and 
15 community notification requirements; requiring victim 
16 notification for commitment of persons with sexual 
17 psychopathic personalities and sexually dangerous 
18 persons ,under certain circumstances; providing 
19 registration requirements for persons without a 
~O primary address under the registry; providing for 

1 registration of offenders from other states and 
.. 2 offenders released from federal facilities under the 

23 registry; expanding Department of Human Services 
24 access to the predatory o£fender registry; modifying 
25 the predatory offender registry law to require 
26 registered offenders to disclose to health care 
27 facilities, upon admittance, their status as a 
28 registered predatory offender, and to require local 
29 law enforcement to disclose a registrant's status to 
30 the administration of a health care facility if a 
31 registered offender is receiving inpatient care; 
32 removing the commissioner of human services' 
33 discretion to grant variances/set-asides for persons 
34 convicted of certain violent crimes; modifying the 
35 human services criminal background check law; 
36 establishing an ongoing Sex Of fender Policy Board to 
37 develop uniform supervision and professional 
38 standards; requiring the committing court to review 
39 special review board recommend_ations with respect to 
40 discharge of psychopathic personalities, sexual 
41 psychopathic personalities, ·and sexually dangerous 
~ persons; amending Minnesota Statutes 2004, sections 
~3 13.851, by adding a subdivision; 130.01, subdivision 
44 2; 144.335,.by adding a subdivision; 144A.135; 241.67, 
45 subdivision 3; 242.195, ·subdivision l; 243.166; 
46 243.167; 244.05, subdivisions 4, 5, 6, 7; 244.052, 

1 
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1 subdivisions 3, 4, by adding subdivisions; 245C.03, 
2 subdivision l; 245C.15, subdivisions 1, 2, 3, 4; 
3 245C.17, subdivisions 2, 3; 245C.21, subdivisions 3, 
4 4; 245C.22, by adding a subdivision; 245C.23, 
5 subdivision l; 245C.24, subdivisions 2, 3, 4, by 
6 adding a subdivision; 245C.30, subdivisions 1, 2; 
7 246.13; 253B.02, subdivision 4a, by adding 
8 subdivisions; 253B.08, subdivision 2; 253B.18, 
9 subdivisions 4a, 5, by adding a subdivision; 299C.093; 

10 609.108, subdivisions 3, 4, 7; 609.109, subdivisions 
11 2, 5, 1; 609.117, subdivisions 1, 2; 609.1351; 
12 609.2231, subdivision 3; 609.341, by adding 
13 subdivisions; 609.342, Subdivisions 2, 3; 609.343, 
14 subdivisions 2, 3; 609.344, subdivisions 2, 3; 
15 609.345, subdivisions 2, 3; 609.347; 609.3471; 
16 609.348; 609.353; 609.485, subdivisions 2, 4; 617.23, 
17 subdivisions 2, 3; 626.556, subdivision 3; 626.557, 
18 subdivisions 12b, 14; 631.045; proposing coding for 
19 new law in Minnesota Statutes, chapters 243; 244; 609; 
20 repealing Minnesota Statutes 2004, sections 243.166, 
21 subdivisions 1, 8; 246.017, subdivision l; 609.108, 
22 subdivision 2. 

23 BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF MINNESOTA: 

24 ARTICLE 1 

25 SEX OFFENDERS: 

26 LIFE WITHOUT RELEASE SENTENCES FOR CERTAIN SEX OFFENSES; 

27 INDETERMINATE LIFE SENTENCES FOR OTHER SEX OFFENSES; 

28 INCREASED STATUTORY MAXIMUMS; 

29 DIRECTION TO SENTENCING GUIDELINES COMMISSION 

30 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 244.05, 

31 subdivision 4, is amended to read: 

32 Subd. 4. [MINIMUM IMPRISONMENT, LIFE SENTENCE.]~ An 

33 inmate serving.a mandatory life sentence under section 609.106L 

·. 34 609.342, subdivision 2, paragraph (c), or 609.343, subdivision 

35 2, paragraph (c), must not be given supervised release under 

36 this section. 

37 lli_ An inmate serving.a mandatory life sentence under 

38 section 609.185, clause (1), (3), (5), or (6); or 609.109, 

39 subdivision %a lr must not be given supervised release under 

40 this section without having served a minimum term of 30 years. 

41 1£1 An inmate serving a mandatory life sentence under 

42 section 609.385 must not be given supervised release under this 

43 section without having served a minimum term of imprisonment of 

44 17 years. 

45 (d) An inmate serving a mandatory life sentence under 

46 section 609.342, subdivision 2, paragraph (b); 609.343, 

Article 1 Section 1 2 
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1 subdivision 2, paragraph (b); 609.344, subdivision 2, paragraph 

2 (b); 609.345, subdivision 2, paragraph (b); or 609.3453, 

subdivision 2, paragraph (b), must not be given supervised 

4 release under this section without having served a minimum term 

5 of imprisonment of 20 years. If the sentencing court imposed a 

6 sentence with a term of imprisonment of more than 20 years, the 

7 inmate may not be given supervised release without having served 

8 that term. 

9 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005, 

10 and applies to crimes committed on or after that date. 

11 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 244.05, 

12 subdivision 5, is amended to read: 

1 Subd. 5. [SUPERVISED RELEASE, LIFE SENTENCE.] (a) The 

14 commissioner of corrections may, under rules promulgated by the 

15 commissioner, give supervised release to an inmate serving a 

16 mandatory life sentence under section 609.185, clause (1), (3), 

17 (5), or (6); 609.109, subdivision ia l; or 609.385 after the 

18 inmate has served the minimum term of imprisonment specified in 

19 subdivision 4. 

20 (b) The commissioner shall give supervised release to an 

21 inmate serving a mandatory life sentence under section 609.342, 

22 subdivision 2, paragraph (b); 609.343, subdivision 2, paragraph 

~3 (b); 609.344, subdivision 2, paragraph (b); 609.345, subdivision 

_4 2, paragraph (b); or 609.3453, subdivision 2, paragraph (b), 

25 when directed to do so by the Sex Offender Review Board under 

26 section 244.0515. 

27 1£1 The commissioner shall require the preparation of a 

28 community investigation report and shall consider the findings 

29 of the report when making a supervised release decision under 

30 this subdivision. The report shall reflect the sentiment of the 

31 various- elements of the community toward the inmate, both at the 

32 time of the offense and at the present time. The report shall 

33 include the views of the sentencing judge, the prosecutor, any 

\ law enforcement personnel who may have been involved in the 

35 case, and any successors to these individuals who may have 

36 information relevant to the supervised release decision. The 

Article 1 Section 2 3 
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1 report shall also include the views of the victim and the 

2 victim's family unless the victim or the vlctim's family chooses 

3 not to participate. The commissioner shall submit the report 

4 required by this paragraph to the Minnesota Sex Offender Review 

5 Board to assist the board in making release decisions under 

6 section 244.0515. The commissioner also shall give the board, 

7 on request, any and all information the commissioner gathered 

8 for use in compiling the report. 

9 tet .1£1 The commissioner shall make reasonable efforts to 

10 notify the victim, in advance, of the time and place of the 

11 inmate's supervised release review hearing. The victim has a 

12 right to submit an oral or written statement at the review 

13 hearing. The statement may summarize the harm suffered by the 

14 victim as a result of the crime and give the victim's 

15 recommendation on whether the inmate should be given supervised 

16 release at this time. The commissioner must consider the 

17 victim's statement when making the supervised release decision. 

18 telt fil As used in this subdivision, "victim" means the 

19 individual who suffered harm as a result of the inmate's crime 

20 or, if the individual is deceased, the deceased's surviving 

21 spouse or next of kin. 

22 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005, 

23 and applies to crimes committed on or after that date. 

24 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 609.108, 

25 subdivision 3, is amended to read: 

26 Subd. 3. [PREDATORY CRIME.] A-~reelatory-er±me-±s-a-£eiofty 

27 ~±oiat±oft-o£-seet±oft-699.i857-699.i97-699•i957-609.%97-669•z957 

28 699.%%i7-609.%%%7-609.%%37-699.%47-609.%457-699.%57-669.%557 

29 699.34%7-609.3437-699.3447-699.3.57-699.3657-669.4987-669.56i7 

30 or-609.58%7-sttbel±~±s±oft-i• As used in this section, "predatory 

11 crime" has the meaning given in section 609.341, subdivision 24. 

32 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005, 

33 and applies to crimes committed on or after that date. 

34 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 609.108, 

35 subdivision 4, is amended to read: 

36 Subd. 4. [DANGER TO PUBLIC SAFETY.] The eottrt fact finder 

Article 1 Section 4 4 
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shall base its finding that the offender is a danger to public 

safety on any of the following factors: 

(1) the crime involved an aggravating factor that would 

justify a durational departure from the presumptive sentence 

under the Sentencing Guidelines; 

(2) the offender previously committed or attempted to 

commit a predatory crime or a violation of section 609.224 or 

609.2242, including: 

(i} an offense committed as a juvenile that would have been 

a predatory crime or a violation of section 609.224 or 609.2242 

if committed by an adult; or 

(ii} a violation or attempted violation of a similar law of 

any other state or the United States; or 

(3) the offender planned or prepared for the crime prior to 

its commission. 

[EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005, 

and applies to crimes committed on or after that date. 

Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 609.lOQ, 

subdivision 7, is amended to read: 

Subd. 7. [CONDITIONAL RELEASE OF SEX OFFENDERS.] (a} 

Notwithstanding the statutory maximum sentence otherwise 

applicable to the offense or any provision of the Sentencing 

Guidelines, when a court sentences a person to prison for a 

violation of section 609.342, 609.343, 609.344, or 609.345, or 

609.3453, the court shall provide that after the person has 

completed the sentence imposed, the commissioner of corrections 

shall place the person on conditional release. 

If the person was .convicted for a violation of section 

609.342, 609.343, 609.344, or 609.345, or 609.3453, the person 

shall be placed on conditional release for five years, minus the 

time the person served on supervised release. 

If the person was convicted for a violation of one of those 

sections after a previous sex offense conviction as defined in 

subdivision 5, or sentenced under subdivision 6 to a mandatory 

departure, the person shall be placed on conditional release for 

ten years, minus the time the person served on supervised 

Article 1 Section 5 5 
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1 release. 

2 {b) The conditions of release may include successful 

3 completion of treatment and aftercare in a program approved by 

4 the commissioner, satisfaction of the release conditions 

5 specified in section 244.05, subdivision 6, and any other 

6 conditions the commissioner considers appropriate. If the 

7 offender fails to meet any condition of release, the 

8 commissioner may revoke the offender's conditional release and 

9 order that the of fender serve the remaining portion of the 

10 conditional release term in prison. The commissioner shall not 

11 dismiss the offender from supervision before the conditional 

12 release term expires. 

13 Conditional rele~se under. this subdivision is governed by 

14 provisions relating to supervised release, except as otherwise 

15 provided in this subdivision, section 244.04, subdivision 1, or 

16 244.05. 

17 {c) The commissioner shall pay the cost of treatment of a 

18 person released under this subdivision. This section does not 

19 require the commissioner to accept or retain an of fender in a 

20 treatment program. 

21 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005, 

22 and applies to crimes committed on or after that date. 

23 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 609.341, is 

24 amended by adding a subdivision to read: 

25 Subd. 22. [SEX OFFENSE.] Except for section 609.3452, "sex 

26 offense" means any violation of, or attempt to violate, section 

27 609.342 (first degree criminal sexual conduct), 609.343 (second 

28 degree criminal sexual conduct), 609.344 (third degree criminal 

29 sexual conduct), 609.345 (fourth degree criminal sexual 

30 conduct), 609.3451 (fifth degree criminal sexual conduct), 

31 609.3453 (criminal sexual predatory conduct), 609.352 

32 (solicitation of a child to engage in sexual conduct), 617.23 

33 (indecent exposure), 617.246 (use of minors in sexual 

34 performance), 617.247 (possession of pornographic work involving 

35 minors), or any similar statute of the United States or any 

36 other state. 

Article 1 Section 6 6 
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[EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005, 

and applies to crimes committed on or after that date. 

Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 609.341, is 

amended by adding a subdivision to read: 

Subd. 23. [SUBSEQUENT SEX OFFENSE.] "Subsequent sex 

offense" means a violation of section 609.342 (first degree 

criminal sexual conduct), 609.343 (second degree criminal sexual 

conduct), 609.344 (third degree criminal sexual conduct), 

609.345 (fourth degree criminal sexual conduct), or 609.3453 

(criminal sexual predatory conduct) for which the offender is 

convicted after the offender has already been convicted or 

adjudicated delinquent for the following, involving a separate 

behavioral incident, regardless of when the behavioral incidents 

occurred: 

(1) another felony-level sex offense; 

(2) two non-felony-level sex offenses; or 

(3) any felony-level predatory crime that the fact finder 

determines was motivated by the offender's sexual impulses or 

was part of a predatory pattern of behavior that had criminal 

sexual conduct as its goal. 

[EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005, 

and applies to crimes committed on or after that date. 

Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2004, s~ction 609.341, is 

amended ·by adding a subdivision to read: 

Subd. 24. [PREDATORY CRIME.] "Predatory crime" means a 

felony violation of section 609.185 (first degree murder), 

609.19 (second degree murder), 609.195 (third degree murder), 

609.20 (first degree manslaughter), 609.205 (second degree 

manslaughter), 609.221 (first degree assault), 609.222 (second 

degree assault), 609.223 (third degree assault), 609.24 (simple 

robbery), 609.245 (aggravated robbery), 609.25 (kidnapping), 

609.255 (false imprisonment), 609.365 (incest), 609.498 

(tampering with a witness), 609.561 (first degree arson), or 

609.582, subdivision 1 (first degree burglary). 

[EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005, 

and applies to crimes committed on or after that date. 

Article 1 Section 8 7 
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1 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 609.342, 

2 subdivision 2, is amended to read: 

3 Subd. 2. [PENALTY.] (a) Except as otherwise provided 

4 in seee±en-699.%99 paragraph (b) or (c), or section 609.109, a 

5 person convicted under subdivision 1 may be sentenced to 

6 imprisonment for not more than 30 .§..Q_ years er-ee-a-~aymene-e£-a 

7 £±ne-e£-nee-mere-ehan-$49,a00,-er-oeen. 

8 tot Unless a longer mandatory minimum sentence is otherwise 

9 required by law or the Sentencing Guidelines provide for a 

10 longer presumptive executed sentence, the court shall presume 

11 that an executed sentence of 144 months must be imposed on an 

12 offender convicted of violating this section. Except as 

13 provided in paragraph (b) or (c}, sentencing a person in a 

14 manner other than that described in this paragraph is a 

15 departure from the Sentencing Guidelines. 

16 (b} The court shall sentence a person to imprisonment for 

17 life if: 

18 (l} the person was convicted under subdivision 1, paragraph 

19 (c}, (d), (e}, (f}, or (h); or 

20 (2) the person was convicted under subdivision 1 of a 

21 subsequent sex offense. 

22 Unless a longer mandatory minimum sentence is otherwise 

23 required by law or the Sentencing Guidelines provide for a 

24 longer presumptive executed sentence, and the court imposes this 

25 sentence, the court shall specify a minimum term of imprisonment 

26 of 20 years that must be served before the of fender may be 

27 considered for supervised release. 

28 (c) The court shall sentence a person to imprisonment for 

·29 life without the possibility of release if the person is 

30 convicted of violating subdivision 1, paragraph (c), (d), (e}, 

31 (f), or (h}, and the fact finder determines beyond a reasonable 

32 doubt that any of the following circumstances exist: 

33 (1) the offender tortured the complainant; 

34 (2) the offender intentionally inflicted great bodily harm 

35 upon the complainant; 

36 (3} the offender, without the complainant's consent, 

Article 1 Section 9 8 
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one :elace to another and did not 

safe :elace; 

( 4) the com:elainant was aged 13 or younger at the time of 

4 

5 

6 

the offense; 

( 5) the 

offense; 

com:elainant was aged 70 or older at the time of the 

7 (6) the offender was armed with a dangerous wea:eon or any 

8 article used or. fashioned in a manner to lead the com:elainant to 

9 reasonably believe it to be a dangerous wea:eon and used or 

10 threatened to use the weapon or article to cause the com:elainant 

11 to submit; 

12 (7) the charged offense involved sexual :eenetration or 

1 sexual contact with more than one victim; or 

i4 (8) the offense involved more than one :eer:eetrator engaging 

15 in sexual penetration or sexual contact with the com:elainant. 

16 The fact finder may not consider a circumstance described 

17 · in clauses (1) to (8), if it is an element of the underlying 

18 s:eecified violation of subdi~ision 1. 

19 As used in this :earagra:eh, "torture" means the intentional 

20 infliction of extreme mental anguish, or extreme :esychological 

21 or :ehysical abuse, when committed in an es:eecially de:eraved 

22 manner. 

~3 (d) In addition to the sentence im:eosed under :earagra:eh 

4 (a), (b), or (c), the person may also be sentenced to the 

25 :eayment of a fine of not more than $40,000. 

26 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005, 

27 and a:e:elies to crimes committed on or after that date. 

28 Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 609.342, 

29 subdivision 3, is amended to read: 

30 Subd. 3. [STAY.] Except when imprisonment is required 

31 under subdivision 2, :earagra:eh (b) or (c), or section 609.109, 

32 if a person is convicted under subdivision 1, clause (g), the 

33 court may stay imposition or execution of the sentence if it 

~ finds that: 

35 (a) a stay is in the best interest of the complainant or 

36 the family unit; and 
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1 {b) a professional assessment indicates that the offender 

2 has been accepted by and can respond to a treatment program. 

3 If the court stays imposition or execution of sentence, it 

4 shall include the following as conditions of probation: 

5 (1) incarceration in a local jail or workhouse; 

6 (2) a requirement that the offender complete a treatment 

7 program; and. 

8 (3) a requirement that the offender have no unsupervised 

9 contact with the complainant until the offender. has successfully 

10 completed the treatment program unless approved by the treatment 

11 program and the supervising correctional agent. 

12 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005, 

13 and applies to crimes committed on or after that date. 

14 Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 609.343, 

15 subdivision 2, is amended to read: 

16 Subd. 2. [PENALTY.] {a) Except as otherwise provided 

17 in paragraph {b) or {c) or section 609.109, a person convicted 

18 under subdivision 1 may be sentenced to imprisonment for not 

19 more than ~5 50 years or-eo-a-paymen~-o£-a-£±ne-o£-no~-more-~han 

20 $3576667-or-bo~h. 

21 tbt Unless a longer mandatory minimum sentence is otherwise 

22 required by law or the Sentencing Guidelines provide for a 

23 longer presumptive executed sentence, the court shall presume 

24 that an executed sentence of 90 months must be imposed on an 

25 offender convicted of violating subdivision 1, clause (c), (d), 

26 (e), (f), or (h). Sentencing a person in a manner other than 

27 that described in this paragraph is a departure from the 

28 Sentencing Guidel1nes. 

29 (b) The court shall sentence a person to imprisonment for 

30 life if: 

31 (1) the person was convicted under subdivision 1, paragraph 

32 (c), (d}, (e), (f), or (h); or 

33 (2) the person was convicted under subdivision 1 of a 

34 subsequent sex offense. 

35 Unless a longer mandatory minimum sentence is otherwise 

36 required by law or the Sentencing Guidelines provide for a 
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1 longer presumptive executed sentence, and the court imposes this 

2 sentence, the court shall specify a minimum term of imprisonment 

3 of 20 years that must be served before the offender may be 

4 considered for supervised release. 

5 (c) The court shall sentence a person to imprisonment for 

6 life without the possibility of release if the person is 

7 convicted of violating subdivision 1, paragraph (c), (d), (e), 

8 (f), or {h), and the fact finder determines beyond a reasonable 

9 doubt that any of the following circumstances exist: 

10 (1) the offender tortured the complainant; 

11 (2) the offender intentionally inflicted great bodily harm 

12 upon the complainant; 

~ { 3) the offender., without the complainant's consent, 

14 removed the complainant from one place to another and did not 

15 release the complainant in a safe place; 

16 (4) the complainant was aged 13 or younger at the time of 

17 the offense; 

18 (5) the complainant was aged 70 or older at the time of the 

19 offense; 

20 (6) the offender was armed with a dangerous weapon or any 

21 article used or fashioned in a manner to lead the complainant to 

22 reasonably believe it to be a dangerous weapon and used or 

23 threatened to use the weapon or article to cause the complainant 

A to submit; 

25 (7) the charged offense involved sexual penetration or 

26 sexual contact with more than one victim; or 

27 (8) the offense involved more than one perpetrator engaging 

28 in sexual penetration or sexual contact with the complainant. 

29 The fact finder may not consider a circumstance described 

30 in clauses (1) to (8), if it is an element of the underlying 

31 specified violation of subdivision 1. 

32 As used in this paragraph, "torture" means the intentional 

33 infliction of extreme mental anguish, or extreme psychological 

1 or physical abuse, when committed in an especially depraved 

35· manner. 

36 {d) In addition to the sentence imposed under paragraph 
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1 (a), (b), or (c), the person may also be sentenced to the 

2 payment of a fine of not more than $35,000. 

3 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005, 

4 and applies to crimes committed on or after that date. 

5 Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 609.343, 

6 subdivision 3, is amended to read: 

7 Subd. 3. [STAY.] Except when imprisonment is required 

8 under subdivision 2, paragraph (b) or (c), or section 609.109, 

9 if a person is convicted under subdivision 1, clause (g), the 

10 court may stay imposition or execution of the sentence if it 

11 finds that: 

12 (a) a stay is in the best interest of the complainant or 

13 the famiiy unit; and 

14 (b) a professional assessment indicates that the offender 

15 has been accepted by and can respond to a treatment program. 

16 If the court stays imposition or execution of sentence, it 

17 shall include the following as conditions of probation: 

18 (1) incarceration in a local jail or workhouse; 

19 (2) a requirement that the offender complete a treatment 

20 program; and 

21 (3) a requirement that the offender have no unsupervised 

22 contact with the complainant until the offender has successfully 

23 completed the treatment program unless approved by the treatment 

24 program and the supervising correctional agent. 

25 {EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005, 

26 and applies to crimes committed on or after that date. 

27 Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 609.344, 

28 subdivision 2, is amended to read: 

29 Subd. 2. [PENALTY.] (a) Except as otherwise provided in 

30 paragraph (b), a person convicted under subdivision 1 may be 

31 sentenced to imprisonment for not more than %5 30 years er-ee-e 

32 ~eymeH~-e£-e-£ine-e£-ne~-mefe-enen-$3010007-ef-beeh. 

33 (b) A person convicted under subdivision 1 of a subsequent 

34 sex offense shall be sentenced to imprisonment for life. Unless 

35 a longer mandatory minimum sentence is otherwise required by law 

36 or the Sentencing Guidelines provide for a longer presumptive 
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1 executed sentence, and the court imposes this sentence, the 

2 court shall specify a minimum term of imprisonment of 20 years 

B that must be served before the Offender may be considered for 

4 supervised release. 

5 (c) In addition to the sentence imposed under paragraph (a) 

6 or (b), the person may also be sentenced to the payment of a 

7 fine of not more than $30,000. 

8 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005, 

9 and applies to crimes committed on or after that date. 

10 Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 609.344, 

11 subdivision 3, is amended to read: 

12 Subd. 3. [STAY.] Except when imprisonment is required 

~ under subdivision 2, paragraph (b), or section 609.109, if a 

14 person is convicted under· subdivision 1, clause (f), the court 

15 may stay imposition or execution of the sentence if it finds 

16 that: 

17 (a) a stay is in the best interest of the complainant or 

18 the family unit; and 

19 (b) a professional assessment indicates that the offender 

20 has been accepted by and can respond to a treatment program. 

21 If the court stays imposition or execution of sentence, it 

22 shall include the following as conditions of probation: 

23 (1) incarceration in a local jail or workhouse; 

_4 (2) a requirement that the offender complete a treatment 

25 program; and 

26 (3) a requirement that the offender have no unsupervised 

27 contact with the complainant until the offender has successfully 

28 completed the treatment program unless approved by the treatment 

29 program and the supervising correctional agent.· 

30 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005, 

31 and applies to crimes committed on or after that date. 

32 Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 609.345, 

33 subdivision 2, is amended to read: 

., Subd. 2. [PENALTY.] (a) Except as otherwise provided in 

35 paragraph (b), a person convicted under subdivision 1 may be 

36 sentenced to imprisonment for not more than ~ea 20 years er-~o-e 
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1 ~aymene-0£-a-£~ne-0£~noe-more-enan-$~e,eee,-or-ooen. 

2 (b) A person convicted under subdivision 1 of a subsequent 

3 sex offense shall be sentenced to imprisonment for life. Unless 

4 a longer mandatory minimum sentence is otherwise required by law 

5 or the Sentencing Guidelines provide for a longer presumptive 

6 executed sentence, and the court imposes this sentence, the 

7 court shall specify a minimum term of imprisonment of 20 years 

8 that must be served before the offender may be considered for 

9 supervised release. 

10 (c} In addition to the sentence imposed under paragraph (a} 

11 or (b), the person may also be sentenced to the payment of a 

12 fine of not more than $20,000. 

13 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005, 

14 and applies to crimes committed on or after that date. 

15 Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 609.345, 

16 subdivision 3, is amended to read: 

17 Subd. 3. [STAY.] Except when imprisonment is required 

18 under subdivision 2, paragraph (b}, or section 609.109, if a 

19 person is convicted under subdivision 1, clause (f), the court 

20 may stay imposition or execution of the sentence if it finds 

21 that: 

22 (a} a stay is in the best interest of the complainant or· 

23 the family unit; and 

24 (b} a professional assessment indicates that the offender 

25 has been accepted by and can respond to a treatment program. 

26 If the court stays imposition or execution of sentence, it 

27 shall include the following as conditions of probation: 

28 (1) incarceration in a local jail or workhouse; 

29 (2) a requirement that the offender complete a treatment 

30 program; and 

31 (3) a requirement that the offender have no unsupervised 

32 contact with the complainant until the offender has successfully 

33 completed the treatment program unless approved by the treatment 

34 program and the supervising correctional agent. 

35 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005, 

36 and applies_ to crimes committed on or after that date. 
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1 Sec. 17. [609.3453] [CRIMINAL SEXUAL PREDATORY CONDUCT.] 

2 Subdivision 1. [CRIME DEFINED.] A person is guilty of 

criminal sexual predatory conduct if the person commits a 

4 predatory crime that was motivated by the offender's sexual 

5 impulses or was part of a predatory pattern of behavior that had 

6 criminal sexual conduct as its goal. 

7 Subd. 2. [PENALTY.] (a) Except as provided in paragraph 

8 (b), a person convicted under subdivision 1 may be sentenced to 

9 imprisonment for not more than 15 years. 

10 (b) A person convicted under subdivision 1 of a subsequent 

11 sex offense shall be sentenced to imprisonment for life. Unless 

12 a longer mandatory minimum sentence is otherwise required by law 

~1 or the Sentencing Guidelines provide for a longer presumptive 

~4 executed sentence, and the court imposes this sentence, the 

15 court shall specify a minimum term of imprisonment of 20 years 

16 that must be served before the offender may be considered for 

17 supervised release. 

18 (c) In addition to the sentence imposed under paragraph .<a) 

19 or (b), the person may also be sentenced to the payment of a 

20 fine of not more than $20,000. 

21 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005, 

22 and applies to crimes committed on or after that date. 

·-~ 3 Sec. 18. [SENTENCING GUIDELINES; CHANGES MANDATED. ] 

.4 (a) The Sentencing Guidelines Commission shall modify the 

25 Sentencing Guidelines, including the guidelines grid, to reflect 

26 the changes made in this act. 

27 (b) The commission shall make the sex offender-related 

28 modifications to the guidelines and grid proposed in the 

29 commission's January 2005 report to the legislature, including 

30 creating a separate sex offender grid, and changing the method 

31 used to calculate the weights assigned to sex offenses when 

32 calculating an offender's criminal history. However, the 

33 commission shall adapt the proposed modifications to reflect the 

\ restructuring of sex offense sentences under this article. 

35 (c) Modifications made by the commission under this section 

36 take effect August 1, 2005. 
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1 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective the day 

2 following final enactment. 

3 Sec. 19. [REPEALER.] 

4 Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 609.108, subdivision 2, is 

5 repealed. 

6 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005, 

7 and applies to crimes committed on or after that date. 

8 ARTICLE 2 

9 MINNESOTA SEX OFFENDER REVIEW BOARD 

10 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 13.851, is 

11 amended by adding· a subdivision to read: 

12 Subd. 9. [PREDATORY OFFENDERS; MINNESOTA SEX OFFENDER 

13 REVIEW BOARD.] Certain data classified under this chapter are 

14 made accessible to the Minnesota Sex Off ender Review Board under 

15 section 244.0515. 

16 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005. 

17 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 13D.Ol, 

18 subdivision 2, is amended to read: 

19 Subd. 2. [EXCEPTIONS.] This chapter does not apply~ 

20 (1) to meetings of the commissioner of corrections; 

21 (2) to meetings of the Minnesota Sex Offender Review Board 

22 under section 244.0515; 

23 J...ll to a state agency, board, or commission when it is 

24 exercising quasi-judicial functions involving disciplinary 

25 proceedings; or 

26 t3t ill_ as otherwise expressly provided by statute. 

27 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005. 

28 Sec. 3. [244.0515] [MINNESOTA SEX OFFENDER REVIEW BOARD.] 

29 Subdivision 1. [DEFINITIONS.] As used in this section, the 

30 following terms have the meanings given: 

31 (1) "board" means the Minnesota Sex Offender Review Board; 

32 and 

33 (2) "commissioner" means the commissioner of corrections. 

34 Subd. 2. [RESPONSIBILITIES.] The board is responsible for 

35 making decisions· regarding the release of inmates sentenced to 

36 life sentences under section 609.342, subdivision 2, paragraph 
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(b); 609.343, subdivision 2, paragraph (b); 609.344, subdivision 

2, paragraph (b); 609.345, subdivision 2, paragraph (b); or 

609.3453, subdivision 2, paragraph (b). 

Subd. 3. [EXEMPTION FROM CHAPTER 14.] (a) For the purposes 

of this section and except as provided in paragraph (b), the 

board and the commissioner are not subject to chapter 14. 

(b) The board and the commissioner may adopt rules under 

sections 14.389 and 244.0515 when proceeding under this section. 

[EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005. 

Sec. 4. [DIRECTION TO COMMISSIONER OF CORRECTIONS.] 

(a) The commissioner of corrections shall establish 

criteria and procedures for the Minnesota Sex Offender Review 

Board, established under Minnesota Statutes, section 244.0515. 

The board shall develop recommendations for the composition, 

duties, procedures, and review criteria for release of sex 

offenders. The proposed procedures and review criteria shall be 

for use by the board in making release and revocation decisions 

on offenders sentenced under Minnesota Statutes, section 

609.342, subdivision 2, paragraph (b); 609.343, subdivision 2, 

paragraph (b); 609.344, subdivision 2, paragraph (b); 609.345, 

subdivision 2, paragraph (b); or 609.3453, subdivision 2, 

paragraph (b). In establishing criteria and procedures, the 

commissioner shall seek the input of the end-of-confinement 

review committee at each state correctional facility and at each 

state treatment facility where predatory of fenders are 

26 confined. The commissioner also shall seek input from 

27 individuals knowledgeable in health and human services; public 

28 safety; Minnesota's sex offender treatment program; treatment of 

29 sex offenders; crime victim issues; criminal law; sentencing 

30 guidelines; law enforcement; and probation, supervised release, 

31 and conditional release. 

32 (b) By January 15, 2006, the commissioner shall submit a 

33 written report to the legislature containing proposed 

composition, duties, procedures, and review criteria of the 

35 Minnesota Sex Offender Board. This report also must include a 

36 summary of the input gathered under paragraph (a). 
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1 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective the day 

2 following final enactment. 

3 ARTICLE 3 

4 

5 

SEX OFFENDERS: 

TECHNICAL AND CONFORMING CHANGES 

6 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 243.166, 

7 subdivision 1, ·is amended to read: 

8 Subdivision 1. [REGISTRATION REQUIRED.] (a) A person shall 

9 register under this section if: 

10 (1) the person was charged with or petitioned for a felony 

11 violation of or attempt to violate any of the following, and 

12 convicted of or adjudicated delinquent for that offense or 

13 another offense arisipg out of. the same set of circumstances: 

14 (i) murder under section 609.185, clause (2); or 

15 (ii) kidnapping under section 609.25; or 

16 (iii) criminal sexual conduct under section 609.342; 

17 609.343; 609.344; 609.345; or 609.3451, subdivision 3; or 

18 609.3453; or 

19 (iv) indecent exposure under section.617.23, subdivision 3; 

20 or 

21 (2) the person was charged with or petitioned for falsely 

22 imprisoning a minor in violation of section 609.255, subdivision 

23 2; soliciting a minor to engage in prostitution in violation of 

24 section 609.322 or 609.324; soliciting a minor to engage in 

25 sexual conduct in violation of section 609.352; using a minor in 

26 a sexual performance in violation of section 617.246; or 

27 possessing pornographic work involving a minor in violation of 

28 section 617.247, and convicted of or adjudicated delinquent for 

29 that offense or another offense arising out of the same set of 

30 circumstances; or 

31 (3) the person w8s-eon~ieeed-o£-a-predaeory-erime-as 

32 de£ined-in-seeeion-6&9.i087 -and-ene-o££ender was sentenced as-a 

33 paeeerned-sex-o££ender-or-ene-eottre-£~ttnd-on-ies-own-moeion-or 

34 enae-0£-ene-proseetteor-enae-ene-erime-was-pare-0£-a~predaeory 

35 paeeern-0£-bena~ior-enae-nad-eriminai-sexttai-eondttee-as-ies-~oai 

36 as a patterned sex offender under section 609.108; or 
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1 (4) the person was convicted of or adjudicated delinquent 

2 for, including pursuant to a court martial, violating a law of 

3 the United States, including the Uniform Code of Military 

4 Justice, similar to the offenses described in clause (1), (2), 

5 or ( 3) . 

6 (b) A person also shall register under this section if: 

7 (1) the person was convicted of or adjudicated delinquent 

8 in another state for an offense that would be a violation of a 

9 law described in paragraph (a) if committed in this state; 

10 (2) the person enters the state to reside, or to work or 

11 attend school; and 

12 (3) ten years have not elapsed since the person was 

~3 released from confinement or, if the person was not confined, 

14 since the person was convicted of or adjudicated delinquent for 

15 the offense that triggers registration, unless the person is 

16 subject to lifetime registration, in which case the person must 

17 register for life regardless of when the person was released 

18 from confinement, convicted, or adjudicated delinquent. 

19 For purposes of this paragraph: 

2 O ( i) "school". includes any public or private educational 

21 institution, including any secondary school, trade or 

22 professional institution, or institution of higher education, 

23 that the person is enrolled in on a full-time or part-time 

4 basis; and 

25 (ii) "work" includes employment that is full time or part 

26 time for a period of time exceeding 14 days or for an aggregate 

27 period of time exceeding 30 days during any calendar year, 

28 whether financially compensated, volunteered, or for the purpose 

29 of government or educational benefit. 

30 (c) A person also shall register under this section if the 

31 person was committed pursuant to a court commitment order under 

32 section 253B.185 or Minnesota Statutes 1992, section 526.10, or 

33 a similar law of another state or the United States, regardless 

1 of whether the person was convicted of any offense. 

35 (d) A person also shall register under this section if: 

36 (1) t~e person was charged with or petitioned for a felony 
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1 violation or attempt to violate any of the offenses listed in 

2 paragraph (a), clause (1), or a similar law of another state or 

3 the United States, or the person was charged with or petitioned 

4 for a violation of any of the offenses listed in paragraph (a), 

5 clause (2), or a similar law of another state or the United 

6 States; 

7 (2) the person was found not guilty by reason of mental 

8 illness or mental deficiency after a trial for that offense, or 

9 found guilty but mentally ill after a trial for that offense, in 

10 states with a guilty but mentally ill verdict; and 

11 (3) the person was committed pursuant to a court commitment 

12 order under section 253B.18 or a similar law of another state or. 

13. the United States. 

14 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005, 

15 and applies to crimes committed on or after that date. 

16 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 244.05, 

17 subdivision 6, is amended to read: 

18 Subd. 6. [INTENSIVE SUPERVISED RELEASE.] The commissioner 

19 may order that an inmate be placed on intensive supervised 

20 release for all or part of the inmate's supervised release or 

21 parole term if the commissioner determines that the action will 

22 further the goals described in section 244.14, subdivision 1, 

23 clauses (2), (3), and (4). In addition, the commissioner may 

24 order that an inmate be placed on intensive supervised release 

25 for all of the inmate's conditional or supervised release .term 

26 if the inmate was convicted of a sex offense under seee~ens 

27 section 609.342 ee, 609.343, 609.344, 609.345, or 609.3453 or 

28 was sentenced under the provisions of section 609.108. The 

29 commissioner may impose appropriate conditions of release on the 

30 inmate including but not limited to unannounced searches of the 

31 inmate's person, vehicle, or premises by an intensive 

32 supervision agent; compliance with court-ordered restitution, if 

33 any; random drug testing; house arrest; daily curfews; frequent· 

34 face-to-face contacts with an assigned intensive supervision 

35 agent; work, education, or treatment requirements; and 

36 electronic surveillance. In addition, any sex offender placed 
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1 on intensive supervised release may be ordered to participate in 

2 an appropriate sex offender program as a condition of release. 

3 If the inmate violates the conditions of the intensive 

4 ~upervised release, the commissioner shall impose sanctions as 

5 provided in subdivision 3 and section 609.108. 

6 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005, 

7 and applies to crimes committed on or after that date. 

8 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 244.05, 

9 subdivision 7, is amended to read: 

10 Subd. 7. [SEX OFFENDERS; CIVIL COMMITMENT DETERMINATION.] 

11 (a) Before the commissioner releases from prison any inmate 

12 convicted under see~~ens section 609.342 ~e, 609.343, 609.344, 

~3 609.345, or 609.3453 or sentenced as a patterned offender under 

14 section 609.108, and determined by the commissioner to be in a 

15 high risk category, the commissioner shall make a preliminary 

16 determination whether, in the commissioner's opinion, a petition 

17 under section 253B.185 may be appropriate. 

18 (b) In making this decision, the commissioner shall have 

19 access to the following data only for the purposes of the 

20 assessment and referral decision: 

21 (1) private medical data under section 13.384 or 144.335, 

22 or welfare data under section 13.46 that relate to medical 

-~3 treatment of the offender; 

4 (2) private and confidential court services data under 

25 section 13.84; 

26 (3) private and confidential corrections data under section 

27 13.85; and 

28 (4) private criminal history data under section 13.87. 

29 (c) If the commissioner determines that a petition may be 

30 appropriate, the commissioner shall forward this determination, 

31 along with a summary of the reasons for the determination, to 

32 the county attorney in the county where the.inmate was convicted 

33 no later than 12 months before the inmate's release date. If 

1 the inmate is received for incarceration with fewer than 12 

35 months remaining in the inmate's term of imprisonment, or if the 

36 commissioner receives additional information less than 12 months 
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1 before release which makes the inmate's case appropriate for 

2 referral, the commissioner shall forward the determination as 

3 soon as is practicable. Upon receiving the commissioner's 

4 preliminary determination, the county attorney shall proceed in 

5 the manner provided in section 253B.185. The commissioner shall 

6 release to the county attorney all requested documentation 

7 maintained by the department. 

8 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 200·5, 

9 and applies to crimes committed on or after that date. 

10 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 609.109, 

11 subdivision 2, is amended to read: 

12 Subd. 2. [PRESUMPTIVE EXECUTED SENTENCE.] Except as 

13 provided in subdivision 3 or 4, if a person is convicted under 

14 sections 609.342 to 669.345 609.3453, within 15 years of a 

15 previous sex offense conviction, the court shall commit the 

16 defendant to the commissioner of corrections for not less than 

17 three years, nor more than the maximum sentence provided by law 

18 for the offense for which convicted, notwithstanding the 

19 provisions of sections 242.19, 243.05, 609.11, 609.12, and 

20 609.135. The court may stay the execution of the sentence 

21 imposed under this subdivision only if it finds that a 

22 professional assessment indicates the offender is accepted by 

23 and can respond to treatment at a long-term inpatient program 

24 exclusively treating .sex offenders and approved by the 

25 commissioner of corrections. If the court stays the execution 

26 of a sentence, it shall include the following as conditions of 

27 probation: 

28 (1) incarceration in a local jail or workhouse; and 

29 (2) a requirement that the offender successfully complete 

30 the treatment program and aftercare as directed by the court. 

31 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005, 

32 and applies to crimes committed on or after that date. 

33 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 609.109, 

34 subdivision 5, is amended to read: 

35 Subd. 5. [PREVIOUS SEX OFFENSE CONVICTIONS.] For the 

36 purposes of this section, a conviction is considered a previous 
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1 sex offense conviction if the person was convicted of a sex 

2 offense before the commission of the present offense of 

3 conviction. A person has two previous sex offense convictions 

4 only if the person was convicted and sentenced for a sex offense 

5 committed after the person was earlier convicted and sentenced 

6 for a sex offense, both convictions preceded the commission of 

7 the present offense of conviction, and 15 years have not elapsed 

8 since the person was discharged from the sentence imposed for 

9 the second conviction. A "sex offense", is a violation of 

10 sections 609.342 to 609.345 609.3453 or any similar statute of 

11 the United States, this state, or any other state. 

12 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005, 

-,3 and applies to crimes committed on or after that date. 

14 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 609.117, 

15 subdivision 1, is amended to read: 

16 Subdivision 1. [UPON SENTENCING.] The court shall ord·er an 

17 offender to provide a biological specimen for the purpose of DNA 

18 analysis as defined in section 299C.155 when: 

19 (1) the court sentences a person charged with violating or 

20 attempting to violate any of the following, and the person is 

21 convicted of that offense or of any offense arising out of the 

22 same set of circumstances: 

23 (i) murder under section 609.185, 609.19, or 609.195; 

~ (ii) manslaughter under section 609.20 or 609.205; 

25 (iii) assault under section 609.221, 609.222, or 609.223; 

26 (iv) robbery under section 609.24 or aggravated robbery 

27 under section 609.245; 

28 (v) kidnapping under section 609.25; 

29 (vi) false imprisonment under section 609.255; 

30 (vii) criminal sexual conduct under section 609.342, 

31 609.343, 609.344, 609.345, o~ 609.3451, subdivision 3.!-2.£ 

32 609.3453; 

33 (viii) incest under section 609.365; 

(ix) burglary under section 609.582, subdivision l; or 

35 (x) indecent exposure under section 617.23, subdivision 3; 

36 (2) the court sentences a person as a patterned sex 
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1 offender under section 609.108; or 

2 (3) the juvenile couri adjudicates a person a delinquent 

3 child who is the subject of a delinquency petition for violating 

4 or attempting to violate any of the following, and the 

5 delinquency adjudication is based on a violation of one of those 

6 sections or of any offense arising out of the same set of 

7 circumstances: 

8 (i) murder under section 609.185, 609.19, or 609.195; 

9 (ii) manslaughter under section 609.20 or 609.205; 

10 (iii) assault under section 609.221, 609.222, or 609.223; 

11 (iv) robbery under section 609.24 or aggravated robbery 

12 under section 609.245; 

13 ( v ). kidnapping under section 609. 25; 

14 (vi) false imprisonment under section 609.255; 

15 (vii) criminal sexual conduct under section 609.342, 

16 609.343, 609.344, 609.345, o~ 609.3451, subdivision 3L-2.£ 

17 609.3453; 

18 (viii) incest under section 609.365; 

19 (ix) burglary under section 609.582, subdivision l; or 

20 (x) indecent exposure under section 617.23, subdivision 3. 

21 The biological specimen or the results of the analysis shall be 

22 maintained by the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension as provided in 

23 section 299C.155. 

24 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005, 

25 and applies to crimes committed on or after that date. 

26 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 609.117, 

27 subdivision 2, is amended to read: 

28 Subd. 2. [BEFORE RELEASE.] The commissioner of corrections 

29 or local corrections authority shall order a person to provide a 

30 biological spe.cimen for the purpose of DNA analysis before 

31 completion of the person's term of imprisonment when the person 

32 has not provided a biological specimen for the purpose of DNA 

33 analysis and the person: 

34 (1) is currently serving a term of imprisonment for or has 

35 a past conviction for violating or attempting to violate any of 

36 the following or a similar law of another state or the United 
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1 States or initially charged with violating one of the following 

2 sections or a similar law of another state or the United States 

and convicted of another offense arising out of the same set of 

4 circumstances: 

5 (i) murder under section 609.185, 609.19, or 609.195; 

6 (ii) manslaughter under section 609.20 or 609.205; 

7 (iii) assault under section 609.221, 609.222, or 609.223; 

8 (iv) robbery under section 609.24 or aggravated robbery 

9 under section 609.245; 

10 (v) kidnapping under section 609.25; 

11 (vi) false imprisonment under section 609.255; 

12 (vii) criminal sexual conduct under section 609.342, 

~-- 1 609. 343, 609. 344, 609. 345, er 609. 3451, subdivision 3 .L.2.£ 

.L4 609.3453; 

15 (viii) incest under section 609.365; 

16 (ix) burglary under section 609.582, subdivision l; or 

17 (x) indecent exposure under section 617.23, subdivision 3; 

18 or 

19 (2) was sentenced as a patterned sex. offender under section 

20 609.108, and committed to the custody of the commissioner of 

21 corrections; or 

22 (3) is serving a term of imprisonment in this state under a 

~? reciprocal agreement although convicted in another state of an 

offense described in this subdivision or a similar law of the 

25 United States or any other state. The commissioner of 

26 corrections or local corrections authority shall forward the 

27 sample to the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension. 

28 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005, 

29 and applies to crimes committed on or after tha·t date. 

30 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 609.1351, is 

31 amended to read: 

32 609.1351 [PETITION FOR CIVIL COMMITMENT.] 

33 When a court sentences a person under section 609.108, 

609.342, 609.343, 609.344, er 609.345, or 609.3453, the court 

35 shall make a preliminary determination whether in the court's 

36 opinion a petition under section 253B.185 may be appropriate and 
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1 include the determination as part of the sentencing order. If 

2 the court determines that a petition may be appropriate, the 

3 court shall forward its preliminary determination along with 

4 supporting documentation to the county attorney. 

5 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005, 

6 and applies to crimes committed on or after that date. 

7 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 609.347, is 

8 amended to read: 

9 609.347 [EVIDENCE IN CRIMINAL SEXUAL CONDUCT CASES.] 

10 Subdivision 1. In a prosecution under sections 609.109 orL 

11 609.342 to 609.3451, or 609.3453, the testimony of a victim need 

12 not be corroborated. 

13 Subd. 2. In a prosecution under sections 609.109 orL 

14 609.342 to 609.3451, or 609.3453i there is no need to show that 

15 the victim resisted the accused. 

16 Subd. 3. In a prosecution under sections 609.109, 609.342 

17 to 609.3451, 609.3453, or 609.365, evidence of the victim's 

is previous sexual conduct shall not be admitted nor shall any 

19 reference to such conduct be made in the presence of the jury, 

20 except by court order under the procedure provided in 

21 subdivision 4. The evidence can be admitted only if the 

22 probative value of the evidence is not substantia~ly outweighed 

23 by its inflammatory or prejudicial nature and only in the 

24 circumstances set out in paragraphs (a) and (b). For the 

25 evidence to be admissible under par.agraph (a), subsection ( i), 

26 the judge must find by a preponderance of the evidence that the 

27 facts set out in the·accused's offer of proof are true. For the 

28 evidence to be admissible under paragraph (a), subsection (ii) 

29 or paragraph (b), the judge must find that the evidence is 

30 sufficient to support a finding that the facts set out in the 

31 accused's offer of proof are true, as provided under Rule 901 of 

32 the Rules of Evidence. 

33 (a) When consent of the victim is a· defense in the case, 

34 the following evidence is admissible: 

35 (i) evidence of the victim's previous sexual conduct 

36 tending to 1establish a common scheme or plan of similar sexual 
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1 conduct under circumstances similar to the case at issue. In 

2 order to find a common scheme or plan, the judge must find that 

the victim made prior allegations of sexual assault which were 

4 fabricated; and 

5 (ii) evidence of the victim's previous sexual conduct with 

6 the accused. 

7 (b) When the prosecution's case includes evidence of semen, 

8 pregnancy, or disease at the time of the incident or, in the 

9 case of pregnancy, between the time of the incident and trial, 

10 evidence of specific instances of the victim's previous sexual 

11 conduct is admissible solely to show the source of the semen, 

12 pregnancy, or disease. 

1 Subd. 4. The accused may not offer evidence described in 

L4 subdivision 3 except pursuant to the following procedure: 

15 (a) A motion shall be made by the accused at least three 

16 business days prior to trial, unless later for good cause shown, 

17 setting out with particularity the offer of proof of the 

18 evidence that the accused intends to offer, relative to the 

19 previous sexual conduct of the victim; 

20 (b) If the court deems the offer of proof sufficient, the 

21 court shall order a hearing out of the presence of the jury, if 

22 any, and in such hearing shall allow the accused to make a full 

_2"3 presentation of the offer of proof; 

J (c) At the conclusion of the hearing, if the court finds 

25 that the evidence proposed to be offered by the accused 

26 regarding the previous sexual conduct of the victim is 

27 admissible under subdivision 3 and that its probative value is 

28 not substantially outweighed by its inflammatory or prejudicial 

29 nature, the court shall make an order stating the extent to 

30 which evidence is admissible. The accused may then offer 

31 evidence pursuant to the order of the court; 

32 (d) If new information is discovered after the date of the 

33 hearing or during the course of trial, which may make evidence 

\ described in subdivision 3 admissible, the accused may make an 

35 offer of proof pursuant to clause (a) and the court shall order 

36 an in camera hearing to determine whether the proposed evidence 
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1 is admissible by the standards herein. 

2 Subd. 5. In a prosecution under sections 609.109 orL 

3 609.342 to 609.3451, or 609.3453, the court shall not inst~uct 

4 the jury to the effect that: 

5 (a) It may be inferred that a victim who has previously 

6 consented to sexual intercourse with persons other than the 

7 accused would be therefore more likely to consent to sexual 

8 intercourse again; or 

9 (b) The victim's previous or subsequent sexual conduct in 

10 and of itself may be considered in determining the credibility 

11 of the victim; or 

12 (c) Criminal sexual conduct is a crime easily charged by a 

13 victim but very difficult to disprove by an accused because of 

14 the heinous nature of the crime; or 

15 (d) The jury should scrutinize the testimony of the victim 

16 any more closely than it should scrutinize the testimony of any 

17 witness in any felony prosecution. 

18 Subd. 6. (a) In a prosecution under sections 609.109 orL 

19 609.342 to 609.3451, or 609.3453, involving a psychotherapist 

20 and patient, evidence of the patient's personal or medical 

21 history is not admissible except when: 

22 (1) the accused requests a hearing at least three business 

23 days prior to trial and makes an offer of proof of the relevancy 

24 of the history; and 

25 (2) the court finds that the history is relevant and that 

26 the probative value of the history outweighs its prejudicial 

27 value. 

28 (b) The court shall allow the admission only of specific 

29 information or examples of conduct of the victi.m that are 

30 determined by the court to be relevant. The·court's order shall 

31 detail the information or conduct that is admissible and no 

32 other evidence of the history may be introduced. 

33 (~) Violation of the terms of the order is grounds for 

34 mistrial but does not prevent the retrial of the accused. 

35 Subd. 7. [EFFECT OF STATUTE ON RULES.] Rule 412 of the 

36 Rules of Evidence is superseded to the extent of its conflict 

Article 3 Section 9 28 



02/24/05 [REVISOR ] RPK/JC 05-2278 

1 with this section. 

2 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005, 

3 and applies to crimes committed on or after that date. 

4 Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 609.3471, is 

5 amended to read: 

6 609.3471 [RECORDS PERTAINING TO VICTIM IDENTITY 

7 CONFIDENTIAL.] 

8 Notwithstanding any provision of law to the contrary, no 

9 data contained in records or reports relating to petitions, 

10 complaints, or indictments issued pursuant to section 609.342; 

11 609.343; 609.344; or 609.345; or 609.3453, which specifically 

12 identifies a victim who is a minor shall be accessible to the 

'3 public, except by order of the court. Nothing in this section 

i4 authorizes denial of access to any other data contained in the 

15 records or reports, including the identity of the defendant. 

16 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 11 2005, 

17 and applies to crimes committed on or after that date. 

18 Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 609.348, is 

19 amended to read: 

20 609.348 [MEDICAL PURPOSES; EXCLUSION.] 

21 Sections 609.109 BftdL 609.342 to 609.3451, and 609.3453 do 

22 not apply to sexual penetration or sexuai contact when done for 

~3 a bona fide medical purpose. 

~4 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005, 

25 and applies to crimes committed on or after that date. 

26 Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 609.353, is 

27 amended to read: 

28 609.353 [JURISDICTION.] 

29 A violation or attempted violation of section 609.342, 

30 609.343, 609.344, 609.345, 609.3451, 609.3453, or 609.352 may be 

31 prosecuted in any jurisdiction in which the violation originates 

32 or terminates. 

33 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005, 

and applies to crimes committed on or after that date. 

35 Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 631.045, is 

36 amended to read: 
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1 631.045 [EXCLUDING SPECTATORS FROM THE COURTROOM.] 

2 At the trial of a complaint or indictment for a violation 

3 of sections 609.109, 609.341 to 609.3451, 609.3453, or 617.246, 

4 subdivision 2, when a minor under 18 years of age is the person 

5 upon, with, or against whom the crime is alleged to have been 

6 committed, the judge may exclude the public from the courtroom 

7 during the victi~'s testimony or during all or part of the 

8 remainder of the trial upon a showing that closure is necessary 

9 to protect a witness or ensure fairness in the trial. The judge 

10 shall give the prosecutor, defendant and members of the public 

11 the opportunity to object to the closure before a closure order. 

12 The judge shall specify the reasons for closure in an order 

13 closing .all or part of the trial. Upon closure the judge shall 

14 only admit persons who have a direct interest in the case. 

15 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005, 

16 and applies to crimes committed on or after that date. 

17 Sec. 14. [REVISOR INSTRUCTION.] 

118 (a) The reviser of statutes shall renumber Minnesota 

19 Statutes, section 609.3452, as Minnesota Statutes, section 

20 609.3457, and correct cross-references. In addition, the 

21 reviser shall delete the reference in Minnesota Statutes, 

22 section 13.871, subdivision 3, paragraph (d), to Minnesota 

23 Statutes, section 609.3452, and insert a reference to Minnesota 

24 Statutes, section 609.3457. The reviser shall include a 

25 notation in Minnesota Statutes to inform readers of the statutes 

26 of the renumbering of section 609.3457. 

27 (b) In addition to the specific changes described in 

28 paragraph (a), the reviser of statutes shall make other 

29 technical changes necessitated by this act. 

30 ARTICLE 4 

31 MISCELLANEOUS PROVISIONS 

32 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 144.335, is 

33 amended by adding a subdivision.to read: 

34 Subd. 3d. [CRIMINAL HISTORY INFORMATION; 

35 CLASSIFICATION.] Criminal history information that is classified 

36 as public data shall not be reclassified as confidential medical 
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l data when it is included in the patient's health record. 

2 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 241.67, 

3 subdivision 3, is amended to read: 

4 Subd. 3. [PROGRAMS FOR ADULT OFFENDERS COMMITTED TO THE 

5 COMMISSIONER.] (a) The commissioner shall provide for a range of 

6 sex offender programs, including intensive sex offender 

7 programs, within the state adult correctional facility system. 

8 Participation in any program is subject to the rules and 

9 regulations of the Department of Corrections. Nothing in this 

10 section requires the commissioner to accept or retain an 

11 offender in a program if the offender is determined by prison 

12 professionals as unamenable to programming within the prison 

~.) system or if the offender refuses or fails to comply with the 

i4 program's requirements. Nothing in this section creates a right 

15 of an offender to treatment. 

16 (b) The commissioner shall develop a plan to provide for 

17 residential and outpatient sex offender programming and 

18 aftercare when ·required for conditional release under section 

19 609.108 or as a condition of supervised release. The plan may 

20 include co-payments from the offender, third-party payers, local 

21 agencies, or other funding sources as they are identified. 

22 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 242.195, 

23 subdivision 1, is amended to read: 

4 Subdivision 1. [SEX OFFENDER PROGRAMS.] (a) The 

25 commissioner of corrections shall develop a plan to provide for 

26 a range of sex offender programs, including intensive sex 

27 offender programs, for juveniles.within state juvenile 

28 correctional facilities and through purchase of service from 

29 county and private residential and outpatient juvenile sex 

30 offender programs. The plan may include co-payments from the 

31 offenders, third-party payers, local agencies, and other funding 

32 sources as they are identified. 

33 (b) The commissioner shall establish and operate a 

residential sex offender program at one of the state juvenile 

35 correctional facilities. The program must be structured to 

36 address both the therapeutic and disciplinary needs of juvenile 
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1 sex offenders. The program must afford long-term residential 

2 treatment for a range of juveniles who have committed sex · 

3 offenses and have failed other treatment programs or are not 

4 likely to benefit from an outpatient or a community~based 

5 residential treatment program. 

6 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 253B.02, 

7 subdivision 4a, is amended to read: 

8 Subd. 4a. [CRIME AGAINST THE PERSON. ] (a) "Crime II has the 

9 meaning given to "violent crime" in section 609.1095, and 

10 includes offenses within the definition of "crime against the 

11 person" in section 253B.02, subdivision 4a, and also includes 

12 offenses listed in section 253B.02, subdivision 7a, paragraph 

13 (b), regardless of whether they are sexually motivated. 

14 ill "Crime against the person" means a violation of or 

15 attempt to violate any of the following provisions: sections 

16 609.185 (murder in the first degree); 609.19 (murder in the 

17 second degree); 609.195 (murder in the third degree); 609.20 

18 (manslaughter in the first degree); 609.205 (manslaughter in the 

19 second degree); 609.21 (criminal vehicular homicide and injury); 

20 609.215 (suicide); 609.221 (assault in the first degree); 

21 609.222 (assault in the second degree); 609.223 (assault in the 

22 third degree); 609.224 (assault in the fifth degr~e); 609.2242 

23 (domestic assault); 609.23 (mistreatment of persons confined); 

24 609.231 (mistreatment of residents or patients); 609.2325 

25 (criminal abuse); 609.233 (criminal neglect); ~09.2335 

26 (financial exploitation of a vulnerable adult); 609.235 (use of 

27 drugs to injure or eacilitate crime); 609.24 (simple robbery); 

28 609.245 (aggravated robbery); 609.25 (kidnapping); 609.255 

29 (false imprisonment); 609.265 (abduction); 609.27, subdivision 

30 1, clause (1) or (2) (coercion); 609.28 (interfering with 

31 religious observance) if violence or threats of violence were 

32 used; 609.322, subdivision 1, clause (2) (solicitation); 609.342 

33 (criminal sexual conduct in the first degree); 609.343 (criminal 

34 sexual conduct in the second degree); 609.344 (criminal sexual 

35 conduct in the third degree); 609.345 (criminal sexual conduct 

36 in the fourth degree); 609.365 (incest); 609.498, subdivision 1 
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1 (tampering with a witness); 609.50, clause (1) (obstructing 

2 legal process, arrest, and firefighting); 609.561 (arson in the 

~ first degree); 609.562 (arson in the second degree); 609.595 

4 (damage to property); and 609.72, subdivision 3 (disorderly 

5 conduct by a caregiver). 

6 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 253B.02, is 

7 amended by adding a subdivision to read: 

8 Subd. 4c. [CONVICTED; CONVICTION.] "Convicted" and 

9 "conviction" include findings under Minnesota Rules of Criminal 

10 Procedure, Rule 20.02, that the elements of a crime have been 

11 proved. 

12 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 253B.02, is 

~3 amended by adding a subdivision to read: 

1.4 Subd. 27. [VICTIM.] "Victim" means a person who ·has 

15 incurred loss or harm as a result of a crime the behavior for 

16 which forms the basis for a commitment under this section or 

17 section 253B.185. 

18 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 253B.08, 

19 subdivision 2, is amended to read: 

20 Subd. 2. [NOTICE OF HEARING.]~ The proposed patient, 

21 patient's counsel, the petitioner, the county attorney, and any 

22 other persons as the court directs shall be given at least five 

23 days' notice that a hearing will be held and at least two days' 

A notice of the time and date of the hearing, except that any 

25 person may waive notice. Notice to the proposed patient may be 

26 waived by patient's counsel. 

27 (b) A county attorney who files a petition to commit a 

28 person under section 253B.18 or 253B.185 shall make a reasonable 

29 effort to provide prompt notice of filing the petition to any 

30 victim of a crime for which the person was convicted. In 

31 addition, the county attorney shall make a reasonable effort to 

32 promptly notify the victim of the resolution of the petition. 

33 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 253B.18, 

1 subdiv~sion 5, is amended to read: 

35 Subd. 5. [PETITION; NOTICE OF HEARING; ATTENDANCE; ORDER.] 

36 (a) A petition for an order of transfer, discharge, provisional 
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1 discharge, or revocation of provisional discharge shall be filed 

2 with the commissioner and may be filed by the patient or by the 

3 head of the treatment facility. A patient may not petition the 

4 special review board for six months following commitment under 

5 subdivision 3 or following the final disposition of any previous 

6 petition and subsequent appeal by the patient. The medical 

7 director may petition at any time. 

8 (b) Fourteen days prior to the hearing, the committing 

9 court, the county. attorney of the county of commitment, the 

10 designated agency, interested person, the petitioner, and the 

11 petitioner's counsel shall be given written notice by the 

12 commissioner of the time· and place of the hearing before the 

13 special review board. Only those entitled to statutory notice 

14 of the hearing or those administratively required to attend may 

15 be present at the hearing. The patient may designate interested 

16 persons to receive notice by providing the names and addresses 

17 to the commissioner at least 21 days before the hearing. The 

18 board shall provide the commissioner with written findings of 

19 fact and recommendations within 21 days of the hearing. The 

20 commissioner shall issue an order no later than 14 days after 

21 receiving the recommendation of the special review board. A 

22 copy of the order shall be sent by certified mail to every 

23 person entitled to statutory notice of the hearing within five 

24 days after it is signed. No order by the commissioner shall be 

25 effective sooner than 30 days after the order is signed, unless 

26 the county attorney, the patient, and the commissioner agree 

27 that it may become effective sooner. 

28 (c) The special review board shall hold a hearing on each 

29 petition prior to making its recommendation to the 

30 commissioner. The special review board proceedings are not 

31 contested cases as defined in chapter 14. Any person or agency 

32 receiving notice that submits documentary evidence to the 

33 special review board prior to the hearing shall also provide 

34 copies to the patient, the patient's counsel, the county 

35 attorney of the county of commitment, the case manager, and the 

36 commissioner. 
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1 (d) Prior to the final decision by the commissioner, the 

2 special review board may be reconvened to consider events or 

J circumstances that occurred subsequent to the hearing. 

4 (e) ·In making its recommendations, the special review board 

S or commissioner must consider any statements received from 

6 victims under subdivision Sa. 

7 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 2S3B.18, is 

8 amended by adding a subdivision to read: 

9 Subd. Sa. [VICTIM NOTIFICATION.] (a) Before provisionally 

10 discharging, discharging, granting pass-eligible status, 

11 approving a pass plan, or otherwise permanently or temporarily 

12 releasing a person committed under this section or section 

~ 2S3B.185 from a treatment facility, the head of the treatment· 

14 facility shall make a reasonable effort to notify any victim of 

lS a crime for which the person was convicted that the person may 

16 be discharged or released and that the victim has a right to 

17 submit a written statement to the special review board or the 

18 commissioner with respect to the person.· To the extent 

19 possible, the notice must be provided at least 14 days before 

20 any special review board hearing or before a determination on a 

21 pass plan. 

22 (b) This subdivision applies only to victims who have 

· ~3 requested notification by contacting, in writing, the county 

~4 attorney in the county where the conviction for the crime 

2S occurred. A county attorney who receives a request for 

26 notification under this paragraph shall promptly forward the 

27 request to the commissioner of human services. 

28 (c) The rights under this subdivision are in addition to 

29 rights available to a victim under chapter 611A. 

30 Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 609.108, 

31 subdivision 7, is amended to read: 

32 Subd. 7. [COMMISSIONER OF CORRECTIONS.] The commissioner 

33 shall develop a plan to pay the cost of treatment of a person 

released under subdivision 6. The plan may include co-payments 

35 from offenders, third-party payers, local agencies, or other 

36 funding sources as they are identified. This section does not 
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1 require the commissioner to accept or retain an offender in a 

2 treatment program. 

3 Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 609.109, 

4 subdivision 7, is amended to read: 

5 Subd. 7. [CONDITIONAL RELEASE OF SEX OFFENDERS.] (a) 

6 Notwithstanding the statutory maximum sentence otherwise 

7 applicable to the offense or any provision of the Sentencing 

8 Guidelines, when a court sentences a person to prison for a 

9 violation of section 609.342, 609.343, 609.344, or 609.345, the 

10 court shall provide that after the person has completed the 

11 sentence imposed, the commissioner of corrections shall place 

12 the person on conditional release. If the person was convicted 

13 for a violation of section 609.342, 609.343, 609.344, or 

14 609.345, the person shall be placed on conditional release for 

15 five years, minus the time the person served on supervised 

16 release. If the person was convicted for a violation of one of 

17 those sections after a previous sex offense conviction as 

18 defined in subdivision 5; or sentenced under subdivision 6 to a 

19 mandatory departure, the person shall be placed on conditional 

20 release for ten years, minus the time the person served on 

21 supervised release. 

22 (b) The conditions of release may include successful 

23 completion of treatment and aftercare in a program approved by 

24 the commissioner, satisfaction of the release conditions 

25 specified in section 244.05, subdivision 6, and any other 

26 conditions the commissioner considers appropriate.. If the 

27 offender fails to meet any condition of release, the 

28 commissioner may revoke the offender's conditional release and 

29 order that the offender serve the remaining portion of the 

30 conditional release term in prison. The commissioner shall not 

31 dismiss the offender from supervision before the conditional 

32 release term expires. 

33 Conditional release under this subdivision is governed by 

34 provisions relating to supervised release, except as otherwise 

35 provided in this subdivision, section 244.04, subdivision 1, or 

36 244.05. 
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1 (c) The commissioner shall develop a plan to pay the cost 

2 of treatment of a person released under this subdivision. The 

3 plan may include co-payments from offenders, third-party payers, 

4 local agencies, and other funding sources as they are. 

5 identified. This section does not require the commissioner to 

6 accept or retain an offender in a treatment program. 

7 Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 609.485, 

8 subdivision 2, is amended to read: 

9 Subd. 2. [ACTS PROHIBITED.] Whoever does any of the 

10 following may be sentenced as provided in subdivision 4: 

11 (1) escapes while held pursuant to a lawful arrest, in 

12 lawful custody on a charge or conviction of a crime, or while 

~3 held in lawful custody on an allegation or adjudication of a 

14 delinquent act; 

15 (2) transfers to another, who is in lawful custody on a 

16 charge or conviction of a crime, or introduces into an 

17 institution in which the latter is confined, anything usable in 

18 making such escape, with intent that it shall be so used; 

19 (3) having another in lawful custody on a charge or 

20 conviction of a crime, intentionally permits the other to 

21 escape; 

22 (4) escapes while in a facility designated under section 

-.23 253B .18, subdivision 1, pursuant to a court commitment order 

,4 after a finding of not guilty by reason of mental illness or 

25 mental deficiency of a crime against the person, as defined in 

26 section 253B.02, subdivision 4a. Notwithstanding section 

27 609.17, no person may be charged with or convicted of an attempt 

28 to commit a violation of this clause; Of 

29 (5) escapes while in a facility d~signated under section 

30 253B.18, subdivision 1, pursuant to a court commitment order 

31 under section 253B.185 or Minnesota Statutes 1992, section 

32 526.10; or 

33 (6) escapes while on pass status or provisional discharge 

4 according to section 253B.18. 

35 For purposes of clause (1), "escapes while held in lawful 

36 custody" ir1cludes absconding from electronic monitoring or 
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1 absconding after removing an electronic monitoring device from 

2 the person's body. 

3 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005, 

4 and applies to crimes committed on or after that date. 

5 Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 609.485, 

6 subdivision 4, is amended to read: 

7 Subd. 4. [SENTENCE.] (a) Except as otherwise provided in 

8 subdivision 3a, whoever violates this section may be sentenced 

9 as follows: 

10 (1) if the person who escapes is in lawful custody for a 

11 felony, to imprisonment for not more than five years or to 

12 payment of a fine of not more than $10,000, or both; 

13 (2) if the person who escapes is in lawful custody after a 

14 finding of not guilty by reason of mental illness or mental 

15 deficiency of a crime against the person, as defined in section 

16 253B.02, subdivision 4a, or pursuant to a court commitment order 

17 under section 253B.185 or Minnesota Statutes 1992, section 

18 526.10, to imprisonment for not more than one year and one day 

19 or to payment of a fine of not more than $3,000, or both; or 

20 (3) if the person who escapes is in lawful custody for a 

21 gross misdemeanor or misdemeanor, or if the person who escapes 

22 is in lawful custody on an allegation or adjudication of a 

23 delinquent act, to imprisonment for not more than one year or to 

24. payment of a fine of not more than $3,000, or both; or 

25 (4) if the person who escapes is under civil commitment 

26 under sections 253B.18 and 253B.185, to imprisonment for not 

27 more than one year and one day or to payment of a fine of not 

28 more than $3,000, or both. 

29 (b) If the escape was a violation of subdivision 2, clause 

30 (1), (2), or (3), and was effected by violence or threat of 

31 violence against a person, the sent~nce may be increased to not 

32 more than twice those. permitted in paragraph (a), clauses (1) 

33 and (3). 

34 (c) Unless a concurrent term is specified by the court, a 

35 sentence under this section shall be consecutive to any sentence 

36 previously imposed or which may be imposed for any crime or 
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1 offense for which the person was in custody when the person 

2 escaped. 

3 (d) Notwithstanding paragraph (c), if a person who was 

4 committed to the commissioner of corrections under section 

5 260B.198 escapes from the custody of the commissioner while 18 

6 years of age, the person's sentence under this section shall 

7 commence on the person's 19th birthday or on the person's date 

8 of discharge by the commissioner of corrections, whichever 

9 occurs first. However, if the person described in this clause 

10 is convicted under this section after becoming 19 years old and 

11 after having been discharged by the commissioner, the person's 

12 sentence shall commence upon imposition by the sentencing court. 

~3 (e) Notwithstanding paragraph (c), if a person who is in 

14 lawful custody on an allegation or adjudication of a delinquent 

15 act while 18 years of age escapes from a local juvenile -

16 correctional facility, the person's sentence under this section 

17 begins on the person's 19th birthday or on the person's date of 

18 discharge from the jurisdiction of the juvenile court, whichever 

19 occurs first. However, if the person described in this 

20 paragraph is convicted after becoming 19 years old and after 

21 discharge from the jurisdiction of the juvenile court, the 

22 person's sentence begins upon imposition by the sentencing court. 

23 (f) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), any person who escapes 

4 or absconds from electronic monitoring or removes an electric 

25 . monitoring device from the person's body is guilty of a crime 

26 and shall be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than one 

27 year or to a payment of a fine of not more than $3,000, or 

28 both. A person in lawful custody for a violation of section 

29 609.185, 609.19, 609.195, 609.20, 609.205, 609.21, 609.221, 

30 609.222, 609.223, 609.2231, 609.342, 609.343, 609.344, 609.345, 

31 or 609.3451 who escapes or absconds from electronic monitoring 

32 or removes an electronic monitoring device whil,e under sentence 

33 may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than five years or 

1 to a payment of a fine of not more than $10,000, or both. 

35 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005, 

36 and applies to crimes committed on or after that date. 
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1 Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 617.23, 

2 subdivision 2, is amended to read: 

3 Subd.· 2. [GROSS MISDEMEANOR.] A person who eemmies-afty-e£ 

4 ehe-£eiiewiftg-aees-is-gttiiey-e£-a-gress-misdemeafter~ 

5 tit-ehe-perseft-~ieiaees-stt~di~isieft-i-ift-ehe-preseftee-e£-a 

6 mifter-ttftder-ehe-age-e£-i6;-er 

7 tit-ehe-perseft violates subdivision 1 after having been 

8 previously convicted of violating subdivision 1, sections 

9 609.342 to 609.3451, or a statute from another state in 

10 conformity with any of those sections, is guilty of a gross 

11 misdemeanor. 

12 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005, 

13 and applies to crimes committed on or after that date. 

14 Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 617.23, 

15 subdivision 3, is amended to read: 

16 Subd. 3. [FELONY.] A person is guilty of a felony and may 

17 be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than five years or to 

18 payment of a fine of not more than $10,000, or both, if: 

19 (1) the person violates subdivision 2, clause (1), after 

20 having been previously convicted of or adjudicated delinquent 

21 for violating subdivision 2, clause {l); section 609.3451, 

22 subdivision 1, clause (2); or a statute from another state in 

23 conformity with subdivision 2, clause (1), or section 609.3451, 

24 subdivision 1, clause (2); er 

25 (2) the person commits a violation of subdivision 1, clause 

26 (1), in the presence of another person while intentionally 

27 confining that person or otherwise intentionally restricting 

28 that person's freedom to move; or 

29 (3) the person violates subdivision 1 in the presence of an 

30 unaccompanied minor under the age of 16. 

31 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005, 

32 and applies to crimes committed on or after that date. 

33 Sec. 1'6. [SUPREME COURT TASK FORCE; STUDY REQUIRED.] 

34 Subdivision 1. [ESTABLISHMENT.] The Minnesota Supreme 

35 Court is requested to establish a task force to study the use of 

36 the court system as an alternative to the administrative process 
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1 of the special review board for reductions in custody and 

2 discharge from commitment of those persons committed as a 

3 sexually dangerous person or sexual psychopathic personality 

4 under Minnesota Statutes, section 253B.185. 

5 Subd. 2 . .[MEMBERSHIP.] The task force shall consist of the 

6 following: 

7 (1) a representative from the Supreme Court; 

8 (2) a court administrator; 

9 (3) a district court judge; 

10 (4) a county attorney selected by the county attorney's 

11 association; 

12 (5) a representative from the Attorney General's Office; 

----3 ( 6) the Ombudsman for Mental Health and Mental Retardation; 

14 (7) a law enforcement representative; 

15 (8) a county case manager; 

16- (9) a victim services representative; 

17 (10) a person experienced in treating sex offenders; 

18 (11) a defense attorney; 

.19 (12) the commissioner of human services or designee; 

20 (13) the state-operated services forensic medical director 

21 or designee; 

22 (14) the commissioner of corrections, or designee; 

_23 (15) a representative from community corrections; 

4 (16) a member of the special review board; and 

25 (17) any other persons deemed necessary by the Minnesota 

26 Supreme Court. 

27 Subd. 3. [RECOMMENDATIONS.] The task force shall be 

28 convened no later than August 1, 2005. The task force shall 

29 examine current law and practices relating to the reduction in 

30 custody and discharge of persons committed as a sexually 

31 dangerous person or sexual psychopathic personality. The task 

32 forces shall examine the laws of other jurisdictions and shall 

33 make recommendations regarding reduction in custody and 

discharge procedures and release criteria. The recommendations 

35 may suggest the establishment of a judicial process rather than 

36 the special review board to authorize a reduction in custody or 
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1 discharge. 

2 Subd. 4. [REPORT.] The task force shall report to the 

3 chairs of the house public safety policy and finance committee 

4 and the senate crime prevention and public safety comm1ttee with 

5 recommendations by February 1, 2006. 

6 ARTICLE 5 

7 PREDATORY OFFENDER REGISTRY 

8 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 144A.135, is 

9 amended to read: 

10 144A.135 [TRANSFER AND DISCHARGE APPEALS.] 

11 {a) The commissioner shall establish a mechanism for 

12 hearing appeals on transfers and discharges of residents by 

13 nursing.homes or boarding care homes licensed by the 

14 commissioner. The commissioner may adopt permanent rules to 

15 implement this section. 

16 {b) Until federal regulations are adopted under sections 

17 1819{f){3) and 1919{f){3) of the Social Security Act that govern 

18 appeals of the discharges or transfers of residents from nursing 

19 homes and boarding care homes certified for participation in 

20 Medicare or medical assistance, the commissioner shall provide 

21 hearings under sections 14.57 to 14.62 and the rules adopted by 

22 the Off ice of Administrative Hearings governing contested 

23 cases. To appeal the discharge or transfer, or notification of 

24 an intended discharge or transfer, a resident or the resident's 

25 representative must request a hearing in writin~ no later than 

26 30 days after receiving written notice, which conforms to state 

27 and federal law, of the intended discharge or transfer. 

28 {c) Hearings under this section shall be held no later than 

29 14 days after receipt of the request for hearing, unless 

30 impractical to do so or unless the parties agree otherwise. 

31 Hearings shall be held in the facility in which the resident 

32 resides, unless impractical to do so or unless the parties agree 

33 otherwise. 

34 {d) A resident who timely appeals a notice of discharge or 

35 transfer, and who resides in a certified nursing home or 

36 boarding care home, may not be discharged or transferred by the 
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1 nursing home or boarding care home until resolution of the 

2 appeal. The commissioner can order the facility to readmit the 

resident if the discharge or transfer was in violation of state 

4 or federal law. If the resident is required to be hospitalized 

5 for medical necessity before resolution of the appeal, the 

6 facility shall readmit the resident unless the resident's 

7 attending physician documents, in writing, why the rasident's 

8 specific health care needs cannot be met in the facility. 

9 (e) The commissioner and Office of Administrative Hearings 

10 shall conduct the hearings in compliance with the federal 

11 regulations described in paragraph (b), when adopted. 

12 (f) Nothing in this section limits the right of a resident 

-~ or the resident's representative to request or receive 

i4 assistance from the Off ice of Ombudsman for Older Minnesotans or 

15 the Office of Health Facility Complaints with respect to an 

16 intended discharge or transfer. 

17 (g) A person required to inform a health care facility of 

18 the person's status as a registered sex offender under section 

19 243.166, subdivision 4b, who knowingly fails to do so is not 

20 eligible to rely on the transfer and appeal procedure prescribed 

21 by this section to remain in the facility. 

22 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 243.166, is 

23 amended to read: 

243.166 [REGISTRATION OF PREDATORY OFFENDERS.] 

25 Sttbdiv±s±en-%.--fRES%S~RA~%9N-REee%REB•t-tat-A-persen-sha%% 

26 re9±seer-ttnder-ehis-seeeien-i£~ 

27 f%t-ehe-persen-was-eharged-wieh-er-peeieioned-£er-a-£e%eny 

28 v±eiaeien-e£-er-aeeempe-ee-vio%aee-any-0£-ehe-£e%%ewin9;-and 

29 eenv±eeed-e£-er-adjttd±eaeed-deiinqttene-£er-ehae-o££ense-or 

30 anoeher-0££ense-arisin9-otte-0£-ehe-same-see-0£-eirettmseanees~ 

31 tit-mttrder-ttnder-seeeion-699.%851-eiattse-tit;-or 

32 ti±t-lt±dnapp±ng-ttnder~seee±on-699.%5;-or 

33 t±±±t-er±m±na%-sextta%-eondttee-ttnder-seee±on-699.34%; 

699.343;-699.344;-699.345;-or-699.345%1-sttbd±v±s±on-3;-or 

35 t±vt-±ndeeene-exposttre-ttnder-seee±on-6%7•%31-sttbd±v±s±on-3; 

36 or 
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1 tzt-ehe-persoft-was-eharged-wieh-or-pee±e±ofted-£or-£aiseiy 

2 ±mpr±soft±ftg-a-m±ftor-±ft-v±oiae±oft-0£-seee±oft-609.%557-sttbdiv±s±oft 

3 z;-soi±e±e±ftg-a-m±ftor-eo-eftgage-±ft-prose±ette±oft-±ft-v±oiae±oft-0£ 

4 seee±oft-609.3%%-or-609.3%4;-soi±e±e±ftg-a-m±ftor-eo-eftgage-±ft 

5 sexttai-eoftdttee-±ft-v±oiae±oft-0£-seee±on-609.35%;-tts±ftg-a-m±ftor-±ft 

6 a-sexttai-per£ormaftee-±ft-v±oiae±oft-o£-seee±oft-6iT•z46;-or 

7 possess±ftg-porftograph±e-work-±ftvoiv±ftg-a-m±ftor-±ft-v±oiae±oft-0£ 

8 seee±oft-6iT•z4T7-aftd-eoftv±eeed-0£~or-adjttd±eaeed-dei±ftqttefte-£or 

9 ehae-o££eftse-or-aftoeher-o££eftse-ar±s±ftg-otte-o£-ehe-same-see-o£ 

10 e±rettmseaftees;-or 

11 t3t-ehe-persoft-was-eoftv±eeed-o~-a-predaeory-er±me-as 

12 de£±fted-±ft-seee±oft-609.i087-aftd-ehe-0££eftder-was-sefteefteed-as-a 

13 paeeerfted-sex-o££eftder-or-ehe~eottre-£ottnd-oft-±es-owft-moeioft-or 

14 ehae-0£-ehe-proseetteor-ehae-ehe-erime-was-pare-0£-a-predaeory 

15 paeeerft-0£-behav±or-ehae-hed-er±m±ftai-sexttai-eoftdttee-as-±es 

16 goai;-or 

17 t4t-ene-persoft-was-eoftv±eeed-o£-or-adjttdieaeed-dei±ftqttefte 

18 £or1-±fteittd±ftg-pttrsttafte-eo-a-eottre-mare±ai1-vioiaeiftg-a-iaw-0£ 

19 ehe-6ftieed-Seaees7-ifteittd±ftg-ehe-8ft±£orm-€ode-0£-M±i±eary 

20 attse±ee7-s±m±iar-eo-ehe-0££eftses-deser±bed-ift-eiattse-t%t1-tzt1 

21 or-t3t• 

22 tbt-A-persoft-a%so-sha%i-reg±seer-ttnder-eh±s-seee±oft-±£~ 

23 tit-ehe-persoft-was-eoftvieeed-0£-or-adjttdieaeed-dei±ftqttefte 

24 ±ft-aftoeher-seaee-£or-aft-o££eftse-ehae-wottid-be-a-vioiae±oft-o£-a \ 

25 iaw-deser±bed-±ft-paragraph-tat-±£-eomm±eeed-±ft-eh±s-seaee; 

26 tzt-ene-persoft-efteers-ehe-seaee-eo-reside,-or-eo-work-or 

27 aeeeftd-sehooi;-aftd 

28 t3t-eeft-years-have-ftoe-eiapsed-s±ftee-ehe-persoft-was 

29 reieased-£rom-eoft£±ftemefte-or,-±£-ehe-persoft-was-ftoe-eoft£±fted, 

30 s±ftee-ehe-persoft-was-eoftv±eeed-o£-or-adjttd±eaeed-dei±ftqttefte-£or 

31 ehe-0££eftse-ehae-er±ggers-regiserae±Oft7-ttftiess-ehe-persoft-iS 

32 sttbjeee-eo-i±£ee±me-reg±seraeioft1-±ft-wh±eh-ease-ehe-persoft-mttse 

33 reg~s~er-£er-%~£e-regard%ess-or-wheft-ehe-~ersoft-was-re%easee 

34 £rom-eon£iftemefte7-eoftv±eeed,-or-adjttd±eaeed-dei±ftqttefte• 

35 Por-pttr~oses-0£-eh±s-~aragraph~ 

36 t±t-llsehooill-±fteittde~-afty-pttbi±e-or-~r±vaee-edtteae±oftai 
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1 ±nse±ettt±on7-±neittd±ng-any-seeondary-seboo%7-erade-or 

2 pro£ess±ona±-±nse±tttt±on7-or-±nse±ttte±on-0£-b±gber-edtteae±on7 

3 ebat-ebe-person-±s-enroi%ed-±n-on-a-£ttii-e±me-or-part-t±me 

4 bas±s;-and 

5 t±±t-Bwor~B-±neittdes-empioymene-ebae-±s-£ttii-e±me-or-part 

6 e±me-£or-a-per±od-o£-t±me-exeeed±ng-±4-days-or-£or-an-aggregate 

7 per±od-o£-e±me-exeeed±ng-36-days-dttr±ng-any-eaiendar-year7 

8 wbeeber-£±nane±aiiy-eempensated7-~o±ttnteered7-or-£er-ebe-pttrpose 

9 o£-ge~ernmene-or-edtteae±ona±-bene£±t• 

10 tet-A-person-aise-sbaii-reg±seer-ttnder-eb±s-seet±on-±£-ebe 

11 persen-was-eomm±tted-pttrsttane-ee-a-eettre-eomm±tmene-order-ttnder 

12 seee±on-%53B.±85-er-M±nneseea-Seatttees-±99%7-seee±on-5%6.%67-er 

13 a-s±m±iar-±aw-0£-anoeber-seaee-er-ebe-Bn±eed-Seaees7-regardiess 

14 e£-wbetber-ebe-person-was-eon~±eeed-o£-any-o££ense. 

15 tdt-A-person-aiso-sbai±-reg±ster-ttnder-eb±s-seet±on-±£~ 

16 t±t-ebe-persen-was-ebarged-w±eb-or-pee±e±oned-£or-a-£e%ony 

17 ~±oiat±on-or-aeeempe-eo-~±oiaee-any-e£-ebe-o££enses-±±sted-±n 

18 paragrapb-tat7-eiattse-t±t,-er-a-s±m±iar-±aw-0£-anoeber-seaee-or 

19 ebe-Bn±ted-Seates7-er-ebe-persen-was-ebarged-w±eb-or-pee±e±oned 

20 £or-a-~±oiat±on-0£-any-0£-ebe-0££enses-±±sted-±n-paragrapb-tat7 

21 e±attse-tzt7-or-a-s±m±iar-iaw-0£-anoeber-staee-or-ebe-Bn±eed 

22 States; 

23 tzt-ebe-person-was-£ottnd-noe-gtt±iey-by-reason-o£-menea± 

~4 ±iiness-or-meneai-de£±e±eney-a£eer-a-er±a±-£or-ebae-o££ense,-er 

25 £ottnd-gtt±±ey-btte-menea±±y-±±±-a£eer-a-er±a±-£or-ebae-0££ense7-±n 

26 seaees-w±eb-a-gtt±iey-btte-menea%iy-±ii-~erd±ee;-and 

27 t3t-ebe-persen-was-eomm±tted-pttrsttane-eo-a-eottre-eemm±emene 

28 order~ttnder-seet±on-%53B.±8-or-a-s±m±iar-iaw-o£-anotber-seaee-or 

29 ebe-an±eed-Seaees. 

30 Subd. la. [DEFINITIONS.] (a) As used in this section, 

31 unless the context clearly indicates otherwise, the following 

32 terms have the meanings given them. 

33 {b) "Bureau" means the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension. 

'4 {c) "Dwelling" means the building where the person lives 

35 under a formal or informal agreement to do so. 

36 {d) "Incarceration" and "confinement" do not include 
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1 electronic home monitoring. 

2 (e) "Law enforcement authority" or "authority" means, with 

3 respect to a home rule charter or statutory city, the chief of 

4 police, and with respect to an unincorporated area, the county 

5 sheriff. 

6 {f) "Motor vehicle" has the meaning given in section 

7 169.01, subdivision 2. 

8 {g) "Primary address" means the mailing address of the 

9 person's dwelling. If the mailing address is different from the 

10 actual location of the dwelling, "primary address" also includes 

11 the physical location of the dwelling described with as much 

12 specificity as possible. 

13 {h) "School" includes any public or private educational 

14 institution, including any secondary school, trade, or 

15 professional institution, or institution.of higher education, 

16 that the person is enrolled in on a full-time or part-time basis. 

17 {i) "Secondary address" means the mailing address of any 

18 place where the person regularly or occasionally stays overnight 

19 when not staying at the person's primary address. If the 

20 mailing address is different from the actual location of the 

21 place, secondary address also includes the physical location of 

22 the place described with as much specificity as possible. 

23 {j) "Treatment facility" ·means a residential facility, as 

24 defined in section 244.052, subdivision 1, and residential ~ 

25 chemical dependency treatment programs and halfway houses 

26 licensed under chapter 245A, including, but not limited to, 

27 those facilities directly or indirectly assisted by any 

28 department or agency of the United States. 

29 {k) "Work" includes employment that is fuil time or part 

30 time for a period of time exceeding 14 days ·or for an aggregate 

31 period of time exceeding 30 days during any calendar year, 

32 whether financially compensated, volunteered, or for the purpose 

33 of government or educational benefit. 

34 Subd. lb. [REGISTRATION REQUIRED.] (a) A person shall 

35 register under this section if: 

36 {l) the person was charged with or petitioned for a felony 
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1 violation of or attempt to violate, or aiding, abetting, or 

2 conspiracy to commit, any of the following, and convicted of or 

3 adjudicated delinquent for that offense or another offense 

4 arising out of the same set of circumstances: 

5 (i) murder under section 609.185, clause (2); 

6 (ii) kidnapping under section 609.25; 

7 (iii) criminal sexual conduct under section 609.342; 

8 609.343; 609.344; 609.345; or 609.3451, subdivision 3; or 

9 (iv) indecent exposure under section 617.23, subdivision 3; 

10 (2) the person was charged with or petitioned for false 

11 imprisonment in violation of section 609.255, subdivision 2; 

12 soliciting a minor to engage in prostitution in violation of 

3 section.609.322 or 609.324; soliciting a minor to engage in 

14 sexual conduct in violation of section 609.352; using a minor in 

15 a sexual performance in violation of section 617.246; or 

16 possessing pornographic work involving a minor in violation of 

17 section 617.247, and convicted of or adjudicated delinquent for 

18 that offense or another offense arising.out of the same set of 

19 circumstances; 

20 (3) the person was sentenced as a patterned sex offender 

21 under section 609.108; or 

22 (4) the person was convicted of or adjudicated delinquent 

23 for, including pursuant to a court martial, violating a law of 

~4 the United States, including the Uniform Code of Military 

25 Justice, similar to the offenses described in clause (1), (2), 

26 or (3). 

27 (b) A person also shall register under this section if: 

28 (1) the person was convicted of or adjudicated delinquent 

29 in another state for an offense that would be a violation of a 

30 law described in paragraph (a) if committed in this state; 

31 (2) the person enters this state to reside, work, or attend 

32 school, or enters this state and remains for 14 days or longer; 

33 and 

4 (3) ten years have not elapsed since the person was 

35 released from confinement or, if the person was not confined, 

36 since the person was convicted of or adjudicated delinquent for 
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1 the offense that triggers registration, unless the person is 

2 subject to lifetime registration, in which case the person shall 

3 register for life regardless of when the person was released 

4 from confinement, convicted, or adjudicated delinquent. 

5 (c) A person also shall register under this section if the 

6 person was committed pursuant to a court commitment order under 

7 section 253B.185 or Minnesota Statutes 1992, section 526.10, or 

8 a similar law of another state or the United States, regardless 

9 of whether the person was convicted of any offense. 

10 (d) A person also shall register under this section if: 

11 (1) the person was charged with or petitioned for a felony 

12 violation or attempt to violate any of the offenses listed in 

13 paragraph (a), clause (1), or a similar law of another state or 

14 the United States, or the person was charged with or petitioned 

15 for a violation of any of the offenses listed in paragraph (a), 

16 clause (2), or a similar law of another state or the United 

17 States; 

18 (2) the person was found not guilty by reason of mental 

19 illness or mental deficiency after a trial for that offense, or 

20 found guilty but mentally ill after a trial for that offense, in 

21 states with a guilty but mentally ill verdict; and 

22 (3) the person was committed pursuant to a court commitment 

23 order under section 253B.18 or a similar law of another state or 

24 the United States. 

25 Subd. 2. [NOTICE.] When a person who is required to 

26 register under subdivision% lb, paragraph (a), is sentenced or 

27 becomes subject to a juvenile court disposition order, the court 

28 shall tell the person of the duty to register under this section 

29 and that, if the person fails to comply with the registration 

30 requirements, information about the offender may be made 

31 available to the public through electronic, computerized, or 

32 other accessible means. The court may not modify the person's 

33 duty to register in the pronounced sentence or disposition 

34 order. The court shall require the person to read and sign a 

35 form stating that the duty of the person to ·register under this 

36 section has been explained. The court shall forward the signed 
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1 sex offender registration form, the complaint, and sentencing 

2 documents to the bureau o£-er±m±na%-A~~rehefts±oft. If a person 

3 required to register under subdivision% lb, paragraph (a), was 

4 not notified by the court of the registration requirement at the 

5 time of sentencing or disposition, the assigned corrections 

6 agent shall notify the person of the requirements of this 

7 section. When a person who is required to register under 

8 subdivision% lb, paragraph (c) or (d), is released from 

9 commitment, the treatment facility shall notify the person of 

10 the requirements of this section. The treatment facility shall 

11 also obtain the registration information required under this 

12 section and forward it to the bureau o£-er±m±fta%-Apprehefts±oft. 

13 Subd. 3. [REGISTRATION PROCEDURE.] (a) Except as provided 

14 in subdivision 3a, a person required to register under this 

15 section shall register with the corrections agent as soon as the 

16 agent is assigned to the person. If the person does not have an 

17 assigned corrections agent or is unable to locate the assigned 

18 corrections agent, the person shall register with the law 

19 enforcement ageftey authority that has jurisdiction in the area 

20 of the person's res±eeftee primary address. 

21 (b) Except as provided in subdivision 3a, at least five 

22 days before the person starts living at a new primary address, 

23 including living in another state,'the person shall give written 

24 notice of the new primary %±~±ng address to the assigned 

25 corrections agent or to the law enforcement authority with which 

26 the person currently is registered. If the person will be 

27 living in a new state and that state has ~ registration 

28 requirement, the person shall also give written notice of the 

29 new address to the designated registration agency in the new 

30. state. A person required to register under this section shall 

31 also give written notice to the assigned corrections agent or to 

32 the law enforcement authority that has jurisdiction in the area 

33 of the person's resieenee primary address that the person is no 

34 longer living or staying at an address, immediately after the 

35 person is no longer living or staying at that address. The 

36 correcticns agent or law enforcement authority shall, within two 
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1 business days after receipt of this information, forward it to 

2 the bureau e£-€rimifta%-Apprehefts±eft. The bureau e£-€r±m±fta% 

3 Apprehefts±eft shall, if it has not already been done, notify the 

4 law enforcement authority having primary jurisdiction in the 

5 community where the person will live of the new ~ddress. If the 

6 person is leaving the state, the bureau e£-er±m±fta%-Apprehefts±eft 

7 shall notify the registration authority in the new state of the 

8 new address. i£-ehe-perseftis-eb%±gae±eft-ee-reg±seer-arese-ttftder 

9 sttbd±~±s±eft-%7-paragraph-tbt1 The person's registration 

10 requirements under this section terminate wheft after the person 

11 begins living in the new state and the bureau has confirmed the 

12 address in the other state through the annual verification 

13 process on at least one occasion. 

14 (c) A person required to register under subdivision % lb, 

15 paragraph (b), because the person. is working or attending school 

16 in Minnesota shall register with the law enforcement 

17 ageftey authority that has jurisdiction in the area where the 

18 person works or attends school. In addition to other 

19 information required by this section, the person shall provide 

20 the address of the school or of the location where the person is 

21 employed. A person mttse shall comply with this paragraph within 

22 five days of beginning employment or school. A person's 

23 obligation to register under this paragraph terminates when the 

24 person is no longer working or attending school in Minnesota. 

25 (d) A person required to register under this section who 

26 works or attends school outside of Minnesota shall register as a 

27 predatory offender in the state where the person works or 

28 attends school. The person's corrections agent, or if the 

29 person does not have an assigned corrections agent, the law 

30 enforcement authority that has jurisdiction in the area of the 

31 person's res±deftee primary address shall notify the person of 

32 this requirement. 

33 Subd. 3a. [REGISTRATION PROCEDURE WHEN PERSON LACKS 

· 34 PRIMARY ADDRESS.] (a) If a person leaves a primary address and 

35 does not have a new primary address, the person shall register 

36 with the law enforcement authority that has jurisdiction in the 
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1 area where the person is staying within 24 hours of the time the 

2 person no longer has a primary address. 

3 (b) A person who lacks a primary address shall register 

4 with the law enforcement authority that has jurisdiction in the 

5 area where the person is staying within 24 hours after entering 

6 the jurisdiction. Each time a person who lacks a primary 

7 address moves to a new jurisdiction without acquiring a new 

8 primary address, the person shall register with the law 

9 enforcement authority that has jurisdiction in the area where 

10 the person is staying within 24 hours after entering the 

11 jurisdiction. 

12 (c) Upon registering under this subdivision, the person 

~3 shall provide the law enforcement authority with all of the 

~4 information the individual is required to provide under 

15 subdivision 4a. However, instead of reporting the person's 

16 primary address, the person shall describe the location of where 

17 the person is staying with as much specificity as possible. 

18 (d) Except as otherwise provided in paragraph (e), if a 

19 person continues to lack a primary address, the person shall 

20 report in person on a weekly basis to the law enforcement 

21 authority with jurisdiction in the area where the person is 

22 staying. This·weekly report shall occur between the hours of 

23 9:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m. The person is not required to provide 

4 the registration information required under subdivision 4a each 

25 time the offender reports to an authority, but the person shall 

26 inform the authority of changes to any information provided 

27 under this subdivision or subdivision 4a and shall otherwise 

28 comply with this subdivision. 

29 (e) If the law enforcement authority determines that it is 

30 impractical, due to the person's unique circumstances, to 

31 require a person lacking a primary address to report weekly and 

32 in person as required under paragraph (d), the authority may 

33 authorize the person to follow an alternative reporting 

4 procedure. The authority shall consult with the person's 

35 corrections agent, if the person has one, in establishing the 

36 specific criteria of this alternative procedure, subject to the 
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1 following requirements: 

2 (1) the authority shall document, in the person's 

3 registration record, the specific reasons why the weekly 

4 in-person reporting process is impractical for the person to 

5 follow: 

6 (2) the authority shall explain how the alternative 

7 reporting procedure furthers the public safety objectives of 

8 this section: 

9 (3) the authority shall require the person lack~ng a 

10 primary address to report in person at least monthly to the 

11 authority or the person's corrections agent and shall specify 

12 the location where the person shall report. If the authority 

13 determines it would be more practical and would further public 

14 safety for the person to report to another law enforcement 

15 authority with jurisdiction where the person is staying, it may, 

16 after consulting with the other law enforcement authority, 

17 include this requirement in the person's alternative reporting 

18 process: 

19 (4) the authority shall require the person to comply with 

20 the weekly, in-person reporting process required under paragraph 

21 (d), if the person moves to a new area where this process would 

22 be practical: 

23 (5) the authority shall require the person to report any 

24 changes to the registration information provided under 

25 subdivision 4a and to comply with the periodic registration 

26 requirements specified under paragraph (f): and 

27 (6) the authority shall require the person to comply with 

28 the requirements of subdivision 3, paragraphs (b) and (c), if 

29 the person moves to a primary address. 

30 (f) If a person continues to lack a primary address and 

31 continues to report to the same law enforcement authority, the 

32 person shall provide the authority. with all of the information 

33 the individual is required to provide under this subdivision and 

34 subdivision 4a at least annually, unless the person is required 

35 to register under subdivision lb, paragraph (c), following 

36 commitment pursuant to a court commitment under section 253B.185 
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1 or a similar law of another state or the United States. If the 

2 person is required to register under subdivision lb, paragraph 

3 {c), the person shall provide the law enforcement authority with 

4 all of the information the individual is required to report 

5 under this subdivision and subdivision 4a at least once every 

6 three months. 

7 (g) A law enforcement authority receiving information under 

8 this subdivision shall forward registration information and 

9 changes to that information to the bureau within two business 

10 days of receipt of the information. 

11 (h) For purposes of this subdivision, a person who fails to 

12 report a primary address will be deemed to be a person who lacks 

~.3 a primary address, and the person shall comply-with the 

14 requirements for a person who lacks a prAmary address. 

15 Subd. 4. [CONTENTS OF REGISTRATION.] (a) The registration 

16 provided to the corrections agent or law enforcement authority, 

17 must consist of a statement in writing signed by the person, 

18 giving information required by the bureau o£-er±m±na% 

19 A~~rehens±on, a fingerprint card, and photograph of the person 

20 taken at the time of the person's release from incarceration or, 

21 if the person was not incarcerated, at the time the person 

22 initially registered under this section. The registration 

23 information also must include a written consent form signed by 

~4 the person allowing a treatment facility or ·residential housing 

25 unit or shelter to release information to a law enforcement 

26 officer about the person's admission to, or residence in, a 

27 treatment facility or residential housing unit or shelter. 

28 Registration information on adults and juveniles may be 

29 maintained together notwithstanding section 260B.171, 

30 subdivision 3. 

31 (b) For persons required to register under subdivision i 

32 lb, paragraph (c), following commitment pursuant to a court 

33 commitment under section 253B.185 or a similar law of another 

4 state or the United States, in addition to other information 

35 required by this section, the registration provided to the 

36 corrections agent or law enforcement authority must include the 
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1 person's offense history and documentation of treatment received 

2 during the person's commitment. This documentation she%%-ee is 

3 limited to a statement of how far the person progressed in 

4 treatment during commitment. 

5 (c) Within three days of receipt, the corrections agent or 

6 law enforcement authority shall forward the registration 

7 information to the bureau o£-er±m±ne%-Apprehens±en. The bureau 

8 shall ascertain whether the person has registered with the law 

9 enforcement authority where-ehe-persen-res±des in the area of 

10 the person's primary address, if any, or if the person lacks a 

11 primary address, where the person is staying, as required by 

12 subdivision 3a. If the person has not registered with the law 

13 enforcement authority, the bureau shall send one copy to that 

14 authority. 

15 (d) The corrections agent or law enforcement authority may 

16 require that a person required to register under this section 

17 appear before the agent or authority to be photographed. The 

18 agent or authority shall' forward the photograph.to the bureau e£ 

19 €r±m±ne%-Apprehens±en. 

20 (e) During the period a person is required to register 

21 under this section, the following she%% provisions apply: 

22 (1) Except for persons registering under subdivision 3a, 

23 the bureau e£-€r±m±ne%-Apprehens±en shall mail a verification 

24 form to the %ese-repereed-eddress-e£-ehe person's res±denee last ', 

25 reported primary address. This verification form she%% must 

26 provid~ notice to the offender that, if the offender does not 

27 return the verification form as required, information about the 

28 offender may be made available to the public through electronic, 

29 computerized, or other accessible means. For persons who are 

30 registered under subdivision 3a, the bureau shall mail an annual 

31 verification form to the law enforcement authority where the 

32 offender most recently reported. The authority shall provide 

33 the verification form to the person at the next weekly meeting 

34 and ensure that the person completes and signs the form and 

35 returns it to the bureau. 

36 (2) The person shall mail the signed verification form. back 
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1 to the bureau 0£-er±m±asi-Appreheas±oa within ten days after 

2 receipt of the form, stating on the form the current and last 

3 address of the person's residence and the other information 

4 required under subdivision 4a. 

5 (3) In addition to the requirements listed in this section, 

6 a person who is assigned to risk level II or risk level III 

7 under section 244.052, and who is no longer under correctional 

8 supervision for a registration offense, or a failure to register 

9 offense, but who resides, works, or attends school in Minnesota, 

10 shall have an annual in-person contact with a law enforcement 

11 authority as provided in this section. If the person resides in 

12 Minnesota, the annual in-person contact shall be with the law 

~3 enforcement authority that has jurisdiction over the person's 

14 primary address or, if the person has no address, the location 

15 where the person is staying. If the person does not reside in 

16 Minnesota, but works or attends school in this state, the person 

17 shall have an annual in-person contact with the law enforcement 

18 authority, or authorities, with jurisdiction over the person's 

19 school or workplace. During the month of the person's birth 

20 date, the person shall report to the authority to verify the 

21 accuracy of the registration information and to be 

22 photographed. Within three days of this contact, the authority 

23 shall enter information as required by the bureau into the 

~4 predatory offender registration database and submit an updated 

25 photograph of the person to the bureau's predatory offender 

26 registration unit. 

27 J..!l If the person fails to mail the completed and signed 

28 verification form to the bureau 0£-er±m±asi-Appreheas±oa within 

29 ten days after receipt of the form for a registration offense or 

30 a failure to register offense, or if the person fails to report 

31 to the law enforcement authority during the month of the 

32 person's birth date, the person shsii-be is in violation of this 

33 section. 

4 (5) For any person who fails to mail the completed and 

35 signed verification form to the bureau within ten days after 

36 receipt of the form and who has been determined to be a level 
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1 III offender under section 244.052, the bureau shall immediately 

2 investigate and notify local law enforcement authorities to 

3 investigate the person's location and to ensure compliance with 

4 this section. The bureau also shall immediately give notice of 

5 the person's violation of· this section to the law enforcement 

6 authority having jurisdiction over the person's last registered 

7 address or addresses. 

8 For persons required to register under subdivision % lb,. 

9 paragraph (c), following commitment pursuant to a court 

10 commitment under section 253B.185 or a similar law of another 

11 state or the United States, the bureau shall comply with clause 

12 (1) at least four times each year. For persons who, under 

13 section 244.052, are .assigned.to risk level III and who are no 

14 longer under correctional supervision, the bureau shall comply 

15 with clause (1) at least two times each year. For all other 

16 persons required to register under this section, the bureau 

17 shall comply with clause (1) each year within 30 days of the 

18 anniversary date of the person's initial registration. 

19 (f) When sending out a verification form, the bureau e£ 

20 er±m±na%-Apprehens±en-mttse shall determine whether the person to 

21 whom the verification form is being sent has signed a written 

22 consent form as provided for in paragraph (a). If the person 

23 has not signed such a consent form, the bureau e£-er±m±na% 

24 Apprehens±en-mttse shall send a written consent form to the 

25 person along with the verification form. A person who receives 

26 this written consent form mttse shall sign and return it to the 

27 bureau e£-er±m±na%-Apprehens±en at the same time as the 

28 verification form. 

29 tgt-Per~ehe-pttrpeses-e£-eh±s-sttbd±~±s±en7-uereaemene 

30 £ae±~±eyn-means-a-res±dene±a%-£aei%±ey7-as-de£±ned-±n-seee±en 

31 %44.05%7-sttbd±~±sien-%7-and-res±dene±ai-ehem±eai-de~endeney 

32 ereaemene-pregrams-end-hai£wey-hettses-%±eensed-ttnder-ehe~eer 

33 %45A7-±neitte±ng7-btte-nee-i±m±eee-ee7-ehese-£ae±i±e±es-e±reeeiy 

34 er-±nd±reee%y-ess±seed-by-eny-deperemene-er-egeney-e£-ehe-Bn±eed 

35 Seeees. 

36 Subd. 4a. [INFORMATION REQUIRED TO BE PROVIDED.] (a) As 
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1 ttsed-±n-en±s-seee±oa~ 

2 txt-umoeor-ven±e±eu-nas-ene-meaa±a9-9±ven-uven±e±eu-±a 

3 seee±on-±69.a±7-sttbd±v±s±on-%; 

4 tzt-upr±mary-res±deneeu-means-aay-p±aee-wnere-ene-person 

5 res±des-±onger-enan-±4-days-or-enae-±s-deemed-a-pr±mary 

6 res±denee-by-a-personis-eorreee±ons-agene,-±£-one-±s-ass±gned-eo 

7 ene-person;-and 

8 t3t-useeondary-res±deaeeu-means-any-p±aee-wnere-ene-person 

9 regttiar±y-seays-overn±gne-wnen-noe-seay±ng-ae-ene-personis 

10 pr±mary-res±denee7-and-±ne±ttdes7-btte-±s-noe-±±m±eed-eo~ 

11 t±t-ene-personis-pareneis-nome-±£-ene-person-±s-a-settdene 

12 and-seays-ae-ene-nome-ae-e±mes-wnen-ene-person-±s-noe-seay±ag-ae 

13 senoo±7-±ne±ttd±n9-dttr±n9-ene-sttmmer;-and 

14 t±±t-ene-nome-0£-someone-w±en-wnom-ene-person-nas-a-m±nor 

15 en±±d-±n-eommon-wnere-ene-en±±dis-ettseody-±s-snared. 

16 tbt A person required to register under this section shall 

17 provide to the corrections agent or law enforcement authority 

18 the following information: 

19 (1) the address-0£-ene person's primary res±denee address; 

20 (2) ene-addresses-0£ all of the person's secondary 

21 res±denees addresses in Minnesota, including all addresses used 

22 for residential or recreational purposes; 

__ 23 (3) the addresses of all Minnesota property owned, leased, 

~4 or rented by the person; 

25 (4) the addresses of all locations where the person is 

26 employed; 

27 (5) the addresses of all res±denees schools where the 

28 person res±des-wn±±e-aeeend±ng-senoo± is enrolled; and 

29 (6) the year, model, make, license plate number, and color 

30 of all motor vehicles owned or regularly driven by the person. 

31 tet 1!U_ The person shall report to the agent or authority 

32 the information required to be provided under·paragraph tbt w_, 

33 clauses (2) to (6), within five days of the date the clause 

\4 becomes applicable. If because of a change in circumstances any 

35 information reported under paragraph tbt w_, clauses (1) to 

36 (6), no longer applies, the person shall immediately inform the 
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1 agent or authority that the information is no longer valid. If 

2 the person leaves a primary address and does not have a new 

3 primary address, the person shall register as provided in 

4 subdivision 3a. 

5 Subd. 4b. [HEALTH CARE FACILITY; NOTICE OF STATUS.] ~ 

6 Upon admittance to a health care facility, a person required to 

7 register under this section shall disclose to: 

8 (1) the health care facility employee processing the 

9 admission, the person's status as a registered sex offender 

10 under this section; 

11 (2) the person's supervision agent, if the person is under 

12 supervision at the time of admission, that inpatient admission 

13 has occurred; and 

14 (3) the law enforcement authority with whom the person 

15 registers, if the person is subject to registration under this 

16 section, that in patient admission has occurred. 

17 (b) "Health care facility" means a hospital or other entity 

18 licensed under sections 144.50 to 144.58, a nursing home 

19 licensed to serve adults under section 144A.02, or a group 

20 residential housing facility or an intermediate care facility 

21 for the mentally retarded licensed under chapter 245A. 

22 (c) A person required to inform persons or entities under 

23 paragraph (a), clauses (1) to (3), of the person's status as a 

24 registered sex offender, who knowingly fails to provide this ~ 

25 information to the persons or entities, is guilty of a felony 

26 and may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than five 

27 years or to payment of a fin~ of not more than $10,000, or both. 

28 (d) A person who fails to disclose the person's status as a 

29 registered sex offender as required by paragraph (a) and is 

30 subject to transfer or discharge and the health care facility 

31 initiates transfer or discharge within 30 days of the discovery 

32 that the person failed to disclose his or her status as a 

33. registered sex offender, the person may not rely 6n the transfer 

34 and discharge appeal procedure described in section 144A.135. 

35 Subd. 4c. [HEALTH CARE FACILITY; LAW ENFORCEMENT 

36 NOTIFICATION DUTY.] A law enforcement authority or corrections 
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1 agent shall notify the administrator of a health care facility, 

2 as defined in subdivision 4b, as soon as it comes to the 

3 attention of the authority or agent that a person required to 

4 register under this section has been admitted and is receiving 

5 health care at the facility. 

6 Subd. 5. [CRIMINAL PENALTY.] (a) A person required to 

7 register under this section who knowingly violates any of its 

8 provisions or intentionally provides false information to a 

9 corrections agent, law enforcement authority, or the bureau 0£ 

10 €r±m±ae±-Apprebea8±oa is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced 

11 to imprisonment for not more than five years or to payment of a 

12 fine of not more than $10,000, or both. 

·3 (b) Except as provided in paragraph (c), a person convicted 

14 of violating paragraph (a) shall be committed to the custody of 

15 the commissioner of corrections for not less than a year and a 

16 day, nor more than five years. 

17 (c) A person convicted of violating paragraph (a), who has 

18 previously been convicted of or adjudicated delinquent for 

19 violating this section, shall be committed to the custody of the 

20 commissioner of corrections for not less than two years, nor 

21 more than five years. 

22 (d) Prior to the time of sentencing, the prosecutor may 

23 file a motion to have the person sentenced without regard to the 

~4 mandatory minimum sentence established by this subdivision. The 

25 motion sbe±± must be accompanied by a statement on the record of 

26 the reasons for it. When presented.with the motion, or on its 

27 own motion, the court may sentence the person without regard to 

28 the mandatory minimum sentence if the court finds substantial 

29 and compelling reasons to do so. Sentencing a person in the 

30 manner described in this paragraph is a departure from the 

31 Sentencing Guidelines. 

32 (e) A person convicted and sentenced as required by this 

33 subdivision is not eligible for probation, parole, discharge, 

4 work release, conditional release, or supervised release, until 

35 that person has served the full term of imprisonment as provided 

36 by law, notwithstanding the provisions of sections 241.26, 

Article 5 Section 2 59 



02/24/05 . [REVISOR RPK/JC 05-2278 

1 242.19, 243.05, 244.04, 609.12, and 609.135. 

2 Subd. Sa. [CONDITIONAL RELEASE.] (a) Notwithstanding the 

3 statut,ory maximum sentence otherwise applicable to the offense 

4 or any provision of the sentencing guidelines, when a court 

5 convicts a person who is a level III sex of fender under section 

6 244.052, subdivision 3, paragraph (e), for a violation of 

7 subdivision 5, the court shall provide that after the person has 

8 completed the sentence imposed, the commissioner of corrections 

9 shall place the· person on conditional release for the remainder 

10 of the person's life. 

11 (b) The conditions of release may include satisfaction of 

12 the release conditions specified in section 244.05, subdivision 

13 6, and any other conditions the commissioner considers 

14 appropriate. If the offender fails to meet any condition of 

15 release, the commissioner may revoke the offender's conditional 

16 release and order that the offender serve the remaining portion 

17 of the conditional release term in prison. 

18 Conditional release under this subdivision is governed by 

19 provisions relating to supervised release, except as otherwise 

20 provided in this subdivision or section 244.05. 

21 Subd. 6. [REGISTRATION PERIOD.] (a) Notwithstanding the 

22 provisions of section 609.165, subdivision 1, and except as 

23 provided in paragraphs (b), (c), and (d), a person required to 

24 register under this section shall continue to comply with this \ 

25 section until ten years have elapsed since the person initially 

26 registered in connection with the offense, or until the 

27 probation, supervised release, or conditional release period 

28 expires, whichever occurs later. For a person required to 

29 register under this section who is committed under section 

30 253B.18 or 253B.185, the ten-year registration period does not 

31 include the period of· commitment. 

32 (b) If a person required to register under this section 

33 fails to regiseer-£e%%ewing-a-ehange-in-residenee provide the 

34 person's primary address as required by subdivision 3, paragraph 

35 (b), fails to comply with the requirements of subdivision 3a, 

36 fails to provide information as required by subdivision 4a, or 
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1 fails to return the verification form referenced in subdivision 

2 4 within ten days, the commissioner of public safety may require 

3 the person to continue to register for an additional period of 

4 five years. This five-year period is added to the end of the 

5 offender's registration period. 

6 {c) If a person required to register under this section is 

7 subsequently incarcerated following a conviction fo~ a new 

8 offense or following a revocation of probation, supervised 

9 release, or conditional release for ehee any offense,-er-8 

10 een~ieeien-£er-eny-new-e££ense, the person shall continue to 

11 register until ten years have elapsed since the person was last 

12 released from incarceration or until the person's probation, 

\3 supervised release, or conditional release period expires, 

14 whichever occurs later. 

15 · (d) A person shall continue to comply with this section for 

16 the life of that person: 

17 (1) if the person is convicted of or adjudicated delinquent 

18 for any offense for which registration is required under 

19 subdivision i lb, or any offense from another state or any 

20 federal offense similar to the offenses described in subdivision 

21 i lb, and the person has a prior conviction or adjudication for 

22 an offense for which registration was or would have been 

23 required under subdivision i lb, or an offense from another 

~4 state or a federal offense similar to an offense described in 

25 subdivision i lb; 

26 (2) if the person is required to register based upon a 

27 conviction or delinquency adjudication for an offense under 

28 section 609.185, clause (2), or a similar statute from another 

29 state or the United States; 

30 (3) if the person is required to register based upon a 

31 conviction for an offense under section 609.342, subdivision 1, 

32 paragraph {a), {c), (d), (e), (f), or (h); 609.343, subdivision 

33 1, paragraph (a), (c), (d), (e), (f), or (h); 609.344, 

\4 subdivision 1, paragraph (a), (c), or (g); or 609.345, 

35 subdivision 1, paragraph (a), (c), or (g); or a statute from 

36 another state or the United States similar to the offenses 

Article 5 Section 2 61 



02/24/05 [REVISOR RPK/JC 05-2278 

1 described in this clause; or 

2 (4) if the person is required to register under subdivision 

3 % lb, paragraph (c), following commitment pursuant to a court 

4 commitment under section 253B.185 or a similar law of another 

5 state or the United States. 

6 Subd. 7. [USE OF INFORMATION.] Except as otherwise 

7 provided in subdivision 7a or sections 244.052 and 299C.093, the 

8 information provided under this section is private data on 

9 individuals under section 13.02, subdivision 12. The 

10 information may be used only for law enforcement purposes. 

11 Subd. 7a. [AVAILABILITY OF INFORMATION ON OFFENDERS WHO 

12 ARE OUT OF COMPLIANCE WITH REGISTRATION LAW.] (a) The bureau 0£ 

13 erfmfftai-Appreheftsfen may make information available to the 

14 public about of fenders who are 16 years of age or older and who 

15 are out of compliance with this section for 30 days or longer 

16 for failure to provide the eddress-e£-ehe offenders' primary or 

17 secondary resfdeftees addresses. This information may be made 

18 available to the public through electronic, computerized, or 

19 other accessible means. The amount and type of information made 

20 available sha%%-be is limited to the information necessary for 

21 the public to assist law enforcement in locating the offender. 

22 (b) An offender who comes into compliance with this section 

23 after the bureau e£-€rfmffta%-Appreheftsfeft discloses information 

24 about the offender to the public may send a written request to 

25 the bureau requesting the bureau to treat information about the 

26 offender as private data, consistent with subdivision 7. The 

27 bureau shall review the request and promptly take reasonable 

28 action to treat the data as private, if the offender has 

29 complied with the requirement that the offender provide ~he 

30 addresses-or the offender's primary and secondary resfdeftees 

31 addresses, or promptly notify the offender that the information 

32 will continue to be treated as public information and the 

33 reasons for the bureau's decision. 

34 (c) If an offender believes the information made public 

35 about the offender is inaccurate or incomplete, the offender may 

36 challenge the data under section 13.04, subdivision 4. 
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1 (d) The bureau 0£-er±m±ftsx-A~~rehefts±oft is immune from any 

2 civil or criminal liability that might otherwise arise, based on 

3 the accuracy or completeness of any information made public 

4 under this subdivision, if the bureau acts in good faith. 

5 Sttbd.-e.--f ~AW-ENP9R€EMEN~-A6~H9R~~¥.f-Por-~ttr~oses-o£-eh±s 

6 seee±oft7-s-%sw-eft£oreemefte-sttehor±ey-mesfts7-w±eh-respeee-eo-s 

7 home-rttie-ehsreer-or-sesetteory-e±ey,-ehe-eh±e£-o£-poiiee7-sftd 

8 w±eh-respeee-eo-sft-ttft±fteorporseed-sres7-ehe-sher±££-o£-ehe 

9 eottftey. 

10 Subd. 9. [OFFENDERS FROM OTHER STATES.]~ When the state 

11 accepts an of fender from another state under a reciprocal 

12 agreement under the interstate compact authorized by section 

1.3 243.16, the interstate compact authorized by section 243.1605, 

14 or under any authorized interstate agreement, the acceptance is 

15 conditional on the offender agreeing to register under this 

16 section when the offender is living in Minnesota. 

17 (b) The Bureau of Criminal Apprehension shall notify the 

18 commissioner of corrections: 

19 (1) when the bureau receives notice from a local law 

20 enforcement authority that a person from another state who is 

21 subject to this section has registered with the authority, 

22 unless the bureau previously received information about the 

.23 offender from the commissioner of corrections; 

~4 (2) when a registration authority, corrections agent, or 

25 law enforcement agency in another state notifies the bureau that 

26 a person from another state who is subject to this section is 

27 moving to Minnesota; and 

28 (3) when the bureau learns that a person from another state 

29 is in Minnesota and allegedly in violation of subdivision 5 for 

30 failure to register. 

31 (c) When a local law enforcement agency notifies the bureau 

32 of an ·out-of-state offender's registration, the agency shall 

33 provide the bureau with information on whether the person is 

4 subject to community notification in another state and the risk 

35 level the person was assigned, if any. 

36 (d) The bureau must forward all information it receives 
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1 regarding offenders covered under this subdivision from sources 

2 other than the commissioner of corrections to the commissioner. 

3 (e) When the bureau receives information directly from a 

4 registration authority, corrections agent, or law enforcement 

5 agency in another state that a person who may be subject to this 

6 section is moving to Minnesota, the bureau must ask whether the 

7 person entering the state is subject to community notification 

8 in another state and the risk level the person has been 

9 assigned, ·if any. 

10 (f) When the bureau learns that a person subject to this 

11 section intends to move into Minnesota from another state or has 

12 moved into Minnesota from another state, the bureau shall notify 

13 the law enforcement authority with jurisdiction in the area of 

14 the person's primary address and provide all information 

15 concerning the person that is available to the bureau. 

16 (g) The commissioner of corrections must determine the 

17 parole, supervised release, or conditional release status of 

18 persons who are ref erred to the commissioner under this 

19 subdivision. If the commissioner determines that a person is 

20 subject to paroie, supervised release, or conditional release in 

21 another state and is not registered in Minnesota under the 

22 applicable interstate compact, the commissioner shall inform the 

23 local law enforcement agency that the person is in violation of 

24 section 243.161. If the person is not subject to supervised 

25 release, the commissioner shall notify the bureau and the local 

26 law enforcement agency of the person's status. 

27 Subd. 10. [VENUE; AGGREGATION.] (a) A violation of this 

28 section may be prosecuted in any jurisdiction where an offense 

29 takes place. However, the prosecutorial agency in the 

30 jurisdiction where the person last registered a primary address 

31 is initially responsible to review the case for prosecution. 

32 (b) When a person commits two or more offenses in two or 

33 more counties, the accused may be prosecuted for all of the 

34 offenses in any county in which one of the offenses was 

35 committed. 

36 Subd. 11. [CERTIFIED COPIES AS EVIDENCE.] Certified copies 
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1 of predatory offender registration records are admissible as 

2 substantive evidence when necessary to prove the commission of a 

3 violation of this section. 

4 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] The provisions of this section, except 

S for subdivision Sa, are effective the day following final 

6 enactment, and apply to persons subject to predatory offender 

7 registration on or after that date, except for subdivision 9, 

8 which is effective July 1, 200S, and subdivision 4, paragraph 

9 (e), clause (3), is effective December 1, 200S. Subdivision Sa 

10 is effective August 1, 200S, and applies to crimes committed on 

11 or after that date. 

12 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 243.167, is 

1 ,3 amended· to read: 

14 243.167 [REGISTRATION UNDER THE PREDATORY OFFENDER 

lS REGISTRATION LAW FOR OTHER OFFENSES.] 

16 Subdivision 1. [DEFINITION.] As used in this section~ 

17 "crime against the person" means a violation of any of the 

18 following or a similar law of another state or of the United 

19 States.: section 609 .16S; 609 .18S; 609 .19; 609 .19S; 609. 20; 

20 609.20S; 609.221; 609.222; 609.223; 609.2231; 609.224, 

21 subdivision 2 or 4; 609.2242, subdivision 2 or 4; 609.235; 

22 609.24S, subdivision l; 609.2S; 609.2SS; 609.34Sl, subdivision 

.23 2; 609.498, subdivision l; 609.S82, subdivision l; or 617.23, 

~4 subdivision 2; or any felony-level violation of section 609.229; 

25 609.377; 609.749; or 624.713. 

26 Subd. 2. [WHEN REQUIRED.] (a) In addition to the 

27 requirements of section 243.166, a person also shall register 

28 under section 243.166 if: 

29 (1) the person is convicted of a crime against the person; 

30 and 

31 (2) the person was previously convicted of or adjudicated 

32 delinquent for an offense listed in section 243.166, sttedivisien 

33 %7 -paragrapn-tat7 but was not required to register for the 

~ offense because the registration requirements of that section 

35 did not apply to the person at the time the offense was 

36 committed or. at the time the person was released from 
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1 imprisonment. 

2 (b) A person who was previously required to register ttnder 

3 seeeion-%43.%66 in any state and who has completed the 

4 registration requirements of that seeeion state shall again 

5. register under section 243.166 if the person commits a crime 

6 against the person. 

7 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005, 

8 and applies to crimes committed on or after that date. 

9 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 244.05, 

10 subdivision 7, is amended to read: 

11 Subd. 7. [SEX OFFENDERS; CIVIL COMMITMENT DETERMINATION.] 

12 (a) Before the commissioner releases from prison any inmate 

13 convicted under sections 609.342 to 609.345 or sentenced as a 

14 patterned offender under section 609.108, and determined by the 

15 commissioner to be in a high risk category, the commissioner 

16 shall make a preliminary determination whether, in the 

17 commissioner's opinion, a petition under section 253B.185 may be 

18 appropriate. The commissioner's opinion must be based on a 

19 recommendation of a Department of Corrections screening 

20 committee and a legal review and recommendation from a 

21 representative of the Office of the Attorney General 

process. 

24 

25 

(b) In making this decision, the commissioner shall have 

access to the following data only for the purposes of the 

26 assessment and referral decision: 

27 (1) private medical data under section 13.384 or 144.335, 

28 or welfare data under section 13.46 that relate to medical 

29 treatment of the offender; 

30 (2) private and confidential court services data under 

31 section 13.84; 

32 (3) private and confidential corrections data under section 

33 13.85; and 

34 (4) private criminal history data under section 13.87. 

35 (c) If the commissioner determines that a petition may be 

36 appropriate, the commissioner shall forward this determination, 
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1 along with a summary of the reasons for the determination, to 

2 the county attorney in the county where the inmate was convicted 

3 no later than 12 months before the inmate's release date. If 

4 the inmate is received for incarceration with fewer than 12 

5 months remaining in the inmate's term of imprisonment, or if the 

6 commissioner receives additional information less than 12 months 

7 before release wh~eh that makes the inmate's case appropriate 

8 for referral, the commissioner shall forward the determination 

9 as soon as is practicable. Upon receiving the commissioner's 

10 preliminary determination, the county attorney shall proceed in 

11 the manner provided in section 253B.185. The commissioner ·shall 

12 release to the county attorney all requested documentation 

13 maintained by the department. 

14 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective the day 

15 following final enactment. 

16 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 244.052, 

17 subdivision 3, is amended to read: 

18 Subd. 3. [END-OF-CONFINEMENT REVIEW COMMITTEE.] (a) The 

19 commissioner of corrections shall establish and administer 

20 end-of-confinement review committees at each state correctional 

21 facility and at each state treatment facility where predatory 

22 offenders are confined. The committees shall assess on a 

23 case-by-case basis the public risk posed by predatory offenders 

24 who are about to be released from confinement. 

25 (b) Each committee shall be a standing committee and shall 

26 consist of the following members appointed by the commissioner: 

27 (1) the chief executive officer or head of the correctional-

28 or treatment facility where the offender is currently confined, 

29 or that person's designee; 

30 (2) a law enforcement officer; 

31 (3) a treatment professional who is trained in the 

32 assessment of sex offenders; 

33 (4) a caseworker experienced in supervising sex offenders; 

34 and 

35 (5) a victim's services professional. 

36 Members of the committee, other than the facility's chief 
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1 executive officer or head, shall be appointed by the 

2 commissioner to two-year terms. The chief executive officer or 

3 head of the facility or designee shall act as chair of the 

4 committee and shall use the facility's staff, as needed, to 

5 administer the committee, obtain necessary information from 

6 outside sources, and prepare risk assessment reports on 

7 offenders. 

8 (c) The committee shall have access to the following data 

9 on a predatory offender only for the purposes of its assessment 

10 and to defend the committee's risk assessment determination upon 

11 administrative review under this section: 

12 (1) private medical data under section 13.384 or 144.335, 

13 or welfare data under section 13.46 that relate to medical 

14 treatment of the offender; 

15 (2) private and confidential court services data under 

16 section 13.84; 

17 (3) private and confidential corrections data under section 

18 13.85; and 

19 (4) private criminal history data under section 13.87. 

20 Data collected and maintained by the committee under this 

21 paragraph may not be disclosed outside the committee, except as 

22 provided under section 13.05, subdivision 3 or 4. The predatory 

23 offender has access to data on the offender collected and 

24 maintained by the committee, unless the data are confidential 

25 data received under this paragraph. 

26 (d)(i) Except as otherwise provided in item (ii), at least 

27 90·days before a predatory offender is to be released from 

28 confinement, the commissioner of corrections shall convene the 

29 appropriate end-of-confinement review committee for the purpose 

30 of assessing the risk presented by the offender and determining 

31 the risk level to which the offender shall be assigned under 

32 paragraph (e). The offender and the law enforcement agency that 

33 was responsible for the charge resulting in confinement shall be 

34 notified of the time and place of the committee's meeting. The 

35 offender has a right to be present and be heard at the meeting. 

36 The law enforcement agency may.provide material in writing that 
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1 is relevant to the offender's risk level to the chair of the 

2 committee. The committee shall use the risk factors described 

3 in paragraph (g) and the risk assessment scale developed under 

4 subdivision 2 to determine the offender's risk assessment score 

5 and risk level. Offenders scheduled for release from 

6 confinement shall be assessed by the committee established at 

7 the facility from which the offender is to be released. 

8 (ii) If an offender is received for confinement in a 

9 facility with less than 90 days remaining in the offender's term 

10 of confinement, the offender's risk shall be assessed at the 

11 first regularly scheduled end of confinement review committee 

12 that convenes after the appropriate documentation for the risk 

l3 assessment is assembled by the committee. The commissioner 

14 shall make reasonable efforts to ensure that offender's risk is 

15 assessed and a risk level is assigned or. reassigned at least 30 

16 days before the offender's release date. 

17 (e) The committee shall assign to risk level I a predatory 

18 offender whose risk assessment score indicates a low risk of 

19 reoffense. The committee shall assign to risk level II an 

20 offender whose risk assessment score indicates a moderate risk 

21 of reoffense. The committee shall assign to risk level III an 

22 offender whose risk assessment score indicates a high risk of 

~23 reoffense. 

24 (f) Before the predatory offender is released from 

25 confinement, the committee shall prepare a risk assessment 

26 report which specifies the risk level to which the offender has 

27 been assigned and the reasons underlying the committee's risk 

28 assessment decision. The committee shall give the report to the 

29 of fender and to the law enforcement agency at least 60 days 

30 before an offender is released from confinement. If the risk 

31 assessment is performed under the circumstances described in 

32 paragraph (d), item (ii), the report shall be given to the 

33 offender and the law enforcement agency as soon as it is 

'4 available. The committee also shall inform the offender of the 

35 availability of review under subdivision 6. 

36 (g) As used in this subdivision, "risk factors" includes, 
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1 but is not limited to, the following factors: 

2 (1) the seriousness of the offense should the offender 

3 reoffend~ This factor includes consideration of the following: 

4 (i) the degree of likely force or harm; 

5 (ii) the degree of likely physical contact; and 

6 (iii) the age of the likely victim; 

7 (2) the offender's prior offense history. This factor 

8 includes consideration of the following: 

9 (i) the relationship of prior victims to the offender; 

10 (ii) the number of prior offenses or victims; 

11 (iii) the duration of the offender's prior offense history; 

12 (iv) the length of time since the offender's last prior 

13 offense while the offender was at risk to commit offenses; and 

14 (v) the offender's prior history of other antisocial acts; 

15 (3) the offender's characteristics. This factor includes 

16 consideration of the following: 

17 (i) the offender's response to prior treatment efforts; and 

18 (ii) the offender's history of substance abuse; 

19 (4) the availability of community supports to the offender. 

20 This factor includes consideration of the following: 

21 (i) the availability and likelihood that the offender will 

22 be involved in therapeutic treatment; 

23 (ii) the availability of residential supports to the 

24 offender, such as a stable and supervised living arrangement in 

25 an appropriate location; 

26 (iii) the offender's familial and social relationships, 

27 including the nature and.length of these relationships and the 

28 level of support that the offender may receive from these 

29 persons; and 

30 (iv) the offender's lack of education or employment 

31 stability; 

32 (5) whether the offender has indicated or credible evidence 

33 in the record indicates that the off ender will reof fend if 

34 released into the community; and 

35 (6) whether the offender demonstrates a physical condition 

36 that minimlzes the risk of reoffense, including but not limited 
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1 to, advanced age or a debilitating illness or physical condition. 

2 (h) Upon the request of the law enforcement agency or the 

3 offender's corrections agent, the commissioner may reconvene the 

4 end-of-confinement review committee for the purpose of 

5 reassessing the risk level to which an offender has been 

6 assigned under paragraph (e). In a request for a reassessment, 

7 the law enforcement agency which was responsible for the charge 

8 resulting in confinement or agent shall list the facts and 

9 circumstances arising after the initial assignment or facts and 

10 circumstances known to law enforcement or the agent but not 

11 considered by the committee under paragraph (e) which support 

12 the request for a reassessment. The request for reassessment by 

1.3 the law enforcement agency must occur within 30 days of receipt 

14 of the report indicating the offender's risk level assignment. 

15 The offender's corrections agent, in consultation with the chief 

16 law enforcement officer in the area where the offender resides 

17 or intends to reside, may request a review of a risk level at 

18 any time if substantial evidence exists that the offender's risk 

19 level should be reviewed by an end-of-confinement review 

20 committee. This evidence includes, but is not limited to, 

21 evidence of treatment failures or completions, evidence of 

22 exceptional crime-free community adjustment or lack of 

23 appropriate adjustment, evidence of substantial community need 

~4 to know more about the offender or mitigating circumstances that 

25 would narrow the proposed scope of notification, or other 

26 practical situations articulated and based in evidence of the 

27 offender's behavior while under supervision. Upon review of the 

28 request, the end-of-confinement review committee may rea·ssign an 

29 offender to a different risk level. If the offender is 

30 reassigned to a higher risk level, the offender has the right to 

31 seek review of the committee's determination under subdivision 6. 

32 (i} An offender may request the end-of-confinement review 

33 committee to reassess the offender's assigned risk level after 

4 three years have elapsed since the committee's initial risk 

35 assessment and may renew the request once every two years 

36 following subsequent denials. In a request for reassessment, 
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1 the offender shall list the facts and circumstances which 

2 demonstrate that the offender no longer poses the same degree of 

3 risk to the community. In order for a request for a risk level 

4 reduction to be granted, the offender must demonstrate full 

5 compliance with supervised release conditions, completion of 

6 required post-release treatment programming, and full compliance 

7 with all registration requirements as detailed in section 

8 243.166. The offender must also not have been convicted of any 

9 felony, gross misdemeanor, or misdemeanor of~enses subsequent to 

10 the assignment of the original risk level. The committee shall 

11 follow the process outlined in paragraphs (a) to (c) in the 

12 reassessment. An offender who is incarcerated may not request a 

13 reassessment under this paragraph. 

14 (j) Offenders returned to prison as release violators shall 

15 not have a right to a subsequent risk reassessment by the 

16 end-of-confinement review committee unl·ess substantial evidence 

17 indicates that the offender's risk to the public has increased. 

18 (k) ~ne-eommissiofter-snaii-eseab±isn-aft-eftd-o£-eoft£iftemefte 

19 re~iew-eommieeee-eo-assigft-a-risk-±e~ei-eo-o££eftders-wno-are 

20 reieas~d-£rom-a-£ederai-eorreeeieftai-£aeii±ey-ift-Miftnesoea-er 

21 aneener-seaee-and-wne-ifteend-ee-reside-in-Miftneseea,-aftd-ee 

22 o££enders-aeeepeed-£rem-aftoener-seaee-ttnder-a-reeiproeai 

23 agreemene-£er-pareie-sttper~isien-ttnder-ene-±neerseaee-eempaee 

24 attenerized-by-seeeien-%43.±6.--~ne-eemmieeee-snaii-make 

25 reasenabie-e££eres-ee-eon£erm-ee-ene-same-eimei±nes-as-appiied 

26 eo-Minneseea-eases.--e££enders-aeeepeed-£rem-aneener-seaee-ttftder 

27 a-ree±preeai-agreemefte-£or-probaeien-sttper~isien-are-nee 

28 assigned-a-risk-ie~e±7-btte-are-eensidered-dewftward-dispesieienai 

29 deparettres.--~ne-probae±en-er-eottre-ser~iees-e££ieer-and-±aw 

30 en£oreemefte-e££±eer-sna±±-manage-stten-eases-in-aeeerdanee-wien 

31 seeeien-%44.±97-sttbdi~isien-za.--~ne-peiieies-and-preeedttres-e£ 

32 ene-eemm±eeee-£or-£edera±-o££enders-and-±neerseaee-eempaee-eases 

33 mttse-ee-±n-aeeerdaftee-w±en-a±±-reqtt±remenes-as-see-£eren-±n-en±s 

34 seeeion7 -ttniess-reser±eeiens-eattsed-by-ene-naettre-o£-£edera±-er 

35 ineerseaee-erans£ers-prevenes-stten-een£ermanee. 

36 tit If the committee assigns a predatory offender to risk 
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1 level III, the committee shall determine whether residency 

2 restrictions shall be included in the conditions of the 

3 offender's release based on the offender's pattern of offending 

4 behavior. 

5 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective July 1, 2005, 

6 and applies to persons subject to community notification on or 

7 after that date. 

8 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 244.052, is 

9 amended by adding a subdivision to read: 

10 Subd. 3a. [OFFENDERS FROM OTHER STATES AND OFFENDERS 

11 RELEASED FROM FEDERAL FACILITIES.] (a) Except as provided in 

12 paragraph (b), the commissioner shall establish an 

'13 end-of-confinement review committee to assign a risk level: 

14 (1) to offenders who are released from a federal 

15 correctional facility in Minnesota or a federal correctional 

16 facility in another state and who intend to reside in Minnesota; 

17 (2) to offenders who are accepted from another state under 

18 the interstate compact authorized by section 243.16 or 243.1605 

19 or any other authorized interstate agreement; and 

20 (3) to offenders who are referred to the committee by local 

21 law enforcement agencies under paragraph (f). 

22 (b) This subdivision does not require the commissioner to 

23 convene an end-of-confinement review committee for a person 

~4 coming into Minnesota who is subject to probation under another 

25 state's law. The probation or court services officer and law 

26 enforcement officer shall manage such cases in accordance with 

27 section 244.10, subdivision 2a. 

28 (c) The committee shall make reasonable efforts to conform 

29 to the same timelines applied to offenders released from a 

30 Minnesota correctional facility and shall collect all relevant 

31 information and records on offenders assessed and assigned a 

32 risk level under this subdivision. However, for offenders who 

33 were assigned the most serious risk level by another state, the 

4 committee must act promptly to collect the information required 

35 under this paragraph. 

36 The end-of-confinement review committee must proceed in 
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1 accordance with all requirements set forth in this section and 

2 follow all policies and procedures applied to of fenders released 

3 from a Minnesota correctional faciiity in reviewing information 

4 and assessing the risk level of offenders covered by this 

5 subdivision, unless restrictions caused by the nature of federal 

6 or interstate transfers prevent such conformance. All of the 

7 provisions of this section apply to offenders who are assessed 

8 and assigned a risk level under this subdivision. 

9 (d) If a local law enforcement agency learns or suspects 

10 that a person who is subject to this section is living in 

11 Minnesota and a risk level has not been assigned to the person 

12 under this section, the law enforcement agency shall provide 

13 this information to the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension and the 

14 commissioner of corrections within three business days. 

15 (e) If the commissioner receives reliable information from 

16 a local law enforcement agency or the bureau that a person 

17 subject to this section is living in Minnesota and a local law 

18 enforcement agency so requests, the commissioner must determine 

19 if the person was assigned a risk level under a law comparable 

20 to this. section. If the commissioner determines that the law is 

21 comparable and public safety warrants, the commissioner, within 

22 three business days of receiving a request, shall notify the 

23 local law enforcement agency that it may, in consultation with 

24 the department, proceed with notification under subdivision 4 

25 based on the person's out-of-state risk level. However, if the 

26 commissioner concludes that the offender is from a state with a 

27 risk level assessment law that is not comparable to this 

28 section, the extent of the notification may not exceed that of a 

29 risk level II offender under subdivision 4, paragraph (b), 

30 unless the requirements of paragraph (f) have been met. If an 

31 assessment is requested from the end-of-confinement review 

32 committee under paragraph (f), the local law enforcement agency 

33 may continue to disclose information under subdivision 4 until 

34 the committee assigns the person a risk level. After the 

35 committee assigns a risk level to an offender pursuant to a 

36 request made under paragraph (f), the information disclosed.by 
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1 law enforcement shall be consistent with the risk level assigned 

2 by the End-of-Confinement Review Committee. The commissioner of 

3 corrections, in consultation with legal advisers, shall 

4 determine whether the law of another state is comparable to this 

5 section. 

6 (f) If the local law enforcement agency wants to make a 

7 broader disclosure.than is authorized under paragraph (e), the 

8 law enforcement agency may request that an End-of-Confinement 

9 Review Committee assign a risk level to the offender. The local 

10 law enforcement agency shall provide to the committee all 

11 information concerning the offender's criminal history, the risk 

12 the offender poses to the community, and other relevant 

'.3 information. The department shall attempt to obtain other 

14 information relevant to determining which risk level to assign 

15 the offender. The committee shall promptly assign a risk level 

16 to an offender referred to the committee under this paragraph. 

17 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective July 1, 2005, 

18 and applies to persons subject to community notification on or 

19 after that date. 

20 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 244.052, 

21 subdivision 4, is amended to read: 

22 Subd. 4. [LAW ENFORCEMENT AGENCY; DISCLOSURE OF 

23 INFORMATION TO PUBLIC.] (a) The law enforcement agency in the 

~4 area where the predatory offender resides, expects to reside, is 

25 employed, or is regularly found, shall disclose to the public 

26 any information regarding the offender contained in the report 

27 forwarded to the agency under subdivision 3, paragraph (f), that 

28 is relevant and necessary to protect the public and to 

29 counteract the offender's dangerousness, consistent with the 

30 guidelines in paragraph (b). The extent of the information 

31 disclosed and the community to whom disclosure is made must 

32 relate to the level of danger posed by the offender, to the 

33 offender's pattern of offending behavior, and to the need of 

4 community members for information to enhance their individual 

35 and collective iafety. 

36 (b) Tlle law enforcement agency shall employ the following 
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1 guidelines in determining the scope of disclosure made under 

2 this subdivision: 

3 (1) if the offender is assigned to risk level I, the agency 

4 may maintain information regarding the offender within the 

5 agency and may disclose it to other law enforcement agencies. 

6 Additionally, the agency may disclose the information to any 

7 victims of or witnesses to the offense committed by the 

8 offender. The agency shall disclose the information to victims 

9 of the offense committed by the offender who have requested 

10 disclosure and to adult members of the offender's immediate 

11 household; 

12 (2) if the offender is assigned to risk level II, the 

13 agency also may disclose the information to agencies and groups 

14 that the offender is li~ely to encounter for the purpose of 

15 securing those institutions and protecting individuals in their 

16 care while they are on or near the premises of the institution. 

17 These agencies and groups include the staff members of public 

18 and private educational institutions, day care establishments,· 

19 and establishments and organizations that primarily serve 

20 individuals likely to be victimized by the offender. The agency 

21 also may disclose the information to individuals the agency 

22 believes are likely to be victimized by the offender. The 

23 agency's belief shall be based on the offender's pattern of 

24 offending or victim preference as documented in the information 

25 provided by the department of corrections or human services; 

26 (3) if the offender is assigned to risk level III, the 

27 agency shall disclose the information to the persons and 

28 entities described in clauses (1) and (2) and to other members 

29 of the community whom the offender is likely to encounter, 

30 unless the law enforcement agency determines that public safety 

31 would be compromised by the disclosure or that a more limited 

32 disclosure is necessary to protect the identity of the victim. 

33 Notwithstanding the assignment .of a predatory offender to 

34 risk level II or III, a law enforcement agency may not make the 

35 disclosures permitted or required by clause (2) or (3), if: the 

36 offender is placed or resides in a residential facility. 

Article 5 Section 7 76 



02/24/05 [REVISOR RPK/JC 05-2278 

1 However, if an offender is placed or resides in a residential 

2 facility, the offender and the head of the facility shall 

3 designate the offender's likely residence upon release from the 

4 facility and the head of the facility shall notify the 

5 commissioner of corrections or the commissioner of human 

6 services of the offender's likely residence at least 14 days 

7 before the offender's scheduled release date. The commissioner 

8 shall give this information to the law enforcement agency having 

9 jurisdiction over the offender's likely residence. The head of 

10 the residential facility also shall notify the .commissioner of 

11 corrections or human services within 48 hours after finalizing 

12 the offender's approved relocation plan to a permanent 

~3 residence. Within five days after receiving this notification, 

14 the appropriate commissioner shall give to the appropriate.law 

15 enforcement agency all relevant information the commissioner has 

16 concerning the offender, including information on the risk· 

17 factors in the offender's history and the risk level to which 

18 the offender was assigned. After receiving this information, 

19 the law ·enforcement agency shall make the disclosures permitted 

20 or required by clause (2) or (3), as appropriate. 

21 (c) As used in paragraph (b), clauses (2) and (3), "likely 

22 to encounter" means that: 

23 ( 1) the organ.izations or community members are in a 

~4 location or in close proximity to a location where the offender 

25 lives or is employed, or which the offender visits or is likely 

26 to visit on a regular basis, other than the location of the 

27 offender's outpatient treatment program; and 

28 (2) the types of interaction which ordinarily occur at that 

29 location and other circumstances indicate that contact with the 

30 offender is reasonably certain. 

31 (d) A law enforcement agency or official who discloses 

32 information under this subdivision shall make a good faith 

33 effort to make the notification within 14 days of receipt of a 

~ confirmed address from the Departmenh of Corrections indicating 

35 .that the offender will be, or has been, released from 

36 confinement, or accepted for supervision, or has moved to a new 
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1 address and will reside at the address indicated. If a change 

2 occurs in the release plan, this notification provision does not 

3 require an extension of the release date. 

4 (e) A law enforcement agency or official who discloses 

5 information under this subdivision shall not disclose the 

6 identity or any identifying characteristics of the victims of or 

7 witnesses to the offender's offenses. 

8 (f) A law enforcement agency shall continue to disclose 

9 information on an offender as required by this subdivision for 

10 as long as the offender is required to register under section 

11 243.166. This requirement on a law enforcement agency to 

12 continue to disclose information also applies to an offender who 

13 lacks a primary address and is registering under section 

14 243.166, subdivision 3a. 

15 (g) A law enforcement agency that is disclosing information 

16 on an offender assigned to risk level III to the public under 

17 this subdivision shall inform the commissioner of corrections 

18 what information is being disclosed and forward this information 

19 to the commissioner within two days of the agency's 

20 determination. The commissioner shall post this information on 

21 the Internet as required in subdivision 4b. 

22 (h) A city council may adopt a policy that addresses when 

23 information disclosed under this subdivision must be presented 

24 in languages in addition to English. The policy may address 

25 when information must be presented orally, in writing, or both 

26 in additional languages by the law enforcement agency disclosing 

27 the information. The policy may provide for different 

28 approaches based on the prevalence of non-English languages in 

29 different neighborhoods. 

30 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective the day 

31 following final enactment, and applies to persons subject to 

32 community notification on or after that date. 

33 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 244.052, is 

34 amended by adding a subdivision to read: 

35 Subd. 4c. ·[LAW ENFORCEMENT AGENCY; DISCLOSURE OF 

36 INFORMATION TO A HEALTH CARE FACILITY.] (a) The law enforcement 
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1 agency in the area where a health care facility is located shall 

2 disclose the registrant status of any sex offender registered 

3 under section 243.166 to the health care facility if the 

4 registered offender is receiving inpatient care in that facility. 

5 (b) "Health care facility" means a hospital or other entity 

6 licensed under sections 144.50 to 144.58, a nursing home 

7 licensed under section 144A.02, or a group residential housing 

8 facility or an intermediate care facility for the mentally 

9 retarded licensed under chapter 245A. 

10 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective the day 

11 following final enactment. 

12 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 626.556, 

.3 subdivision 3, is amended to read: 

14 Subd. 3. [PERSONS MANDATED TO REPORT.] (a) A person who 

15 knows or has reason to believe a child is being neglected or 

16 physically or sexually abused, as defined in subdivision 2, or 

17 has been neglected or physically or sexually abused within the 

18 preceding three years, shall immediately report the information 

19 to the local welfare agency, agency responsible for assessing or 

20 investigating the report, police department, or the county 

21 sheriff if the person is: 

22 (1) a professional or professional's delegate who is 

~3 engaged in the practice of the healing arts, social services, 

24 hospital administration, psychological or psychiatric treatment, 

25 child care, education, probation and correctional services, or 

26 law enforcement; or 

27 (2) employed as a member of the clergy and received the 

28 information while engaged in ministerial duties, provided that a 

29 member of the clergy is not required by this subdivision to 

30 report information that is otherwise privileged under section 

31 595.02, subdivision 1, paragraph (c). 

32 The police department or the county sheriff, upon receiving 

33 a report, shall immediately notify the local welfare agency or 

J4 agency responsible for assessing or investigating the report, 

35 orally and in writing. The local welfare agency, or agency 

36 responsible for assessing or investigating the report, upon 
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1 receiving a report, shall immediately notify the local police 

2 department or the county sheriff orally and in writing. The 

3 county sheriff and the head of every local welfare agency, 

4 agency responsible for assessing or investigating reports, and 

5 police department shall each designate a person within their 

6 agency, department, or office who is responsible for ensuring 

7 that the notification duties of this paragraph and paragraph (b) 

8 are carried out. Nothing in this subdivision shall be construed 

9 to require more than one report from any institution, facility, 

10 school, or agency. 

11 (b) Any person may voluntarily report to the local welfare 

12 agency, agency responsible for assessing or investigating the 

13 report,.police department, or the county sheriff if the person 

14 knows, has reason to believe, or suspects a child is being or 

15 has been neglected or subjected to physical or sexual abuse. 

16 The police department or the county sheriff, upon receiving a 

17 report, shall immediately notify the local welfare agency or 

18 agency responsible for assessing or investigating the report, 

19 orally and in writing. The local welfare agency or agency 

20 responsible for assessing or investigating the report, upon 

21 receiving a report, shall immediately notify the local police 

22 department or the county sheriff orally and in writing. 

23 (c) A person mandated to report physical or sexual child 

24 abuse or neglect occurring within a licensed facility shall 

25 report the information to the agency responsible for licensing 

26 the facility under sections 144.50 to 144.58; 241.021; 245A.Ol 

27 to 245A.16; or chapter 245B; or a nonlicensed personal care 

28 provider organization as defined in sections 256B.04, 

29 subdivision 16; and 256B.0625, subdivision 19. A health or 

30 corrections agency receiving a report may request the local 

31 welfare agency to provide assistance pursuant to subdivisions 

32 10, lOa, and !Ob. A board or other entity whose licensees 

33 perform work within a school facility, upon receiving a 

34 complaint of alleged maltreatment, shall provide information 

35 about the circumstances of the alleged maltreatment to the 

36 commissioner of education. Section 13.03, subdivision 4, 
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1 applies to data received by the commissioner of education from a 

2 licensing entity. 

3 (d) Any person mandated to report shall receive a summary 

4 of the disposition of any report made by that reporter, 

5 including whether the case has been opened for child protection 

6 or other services, or if a referral has been made to a community 

7 organization, unless release would be detrimental to the best 

8 interests of the child. Any person who is not mandated to 

9 report shall, upon request to the local welfare agency, receive 

10 a concise summary of the disposition of any report made by that 

11 reporter, unless release would be detrimental to the best 

12 interests of the child. 

13 (e) For purposes of this subdivision, "immediately" means 

~4 as soon as possible but in no event longer than 24 hours. 

15 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective the day 

16 following final enactment. 

17 Sec. 10. [REVISOR'S INSTRUCTION.] 

18 The reviser of statutes shall change all references to 

19 Minnesota Statutes, section 243.166, subdivision 1, in Minnesota 

20 Statutes to section 243.166. In addition, the reviser shall 

21 make other technical changes necessitated by this article. 

22 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective the day 

23 following final enactment. 

4 Sec. 11. [REPEALER.] 

25 Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 243.166, subdivisions 1 

26 and 8, are repealed. 

27 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective the day 

28 following final enactment. 

29 ARTICLE 6 

30 HUMAN SERVICES ACCESS TO PREDATORY OFFENDER REGISTRY 

31 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 243.166, 

32 subdivision 7, is amended to read: 

33 Subd. 7. [USE OF INFORMATION.] Except as otherwise 

1 provided in subdivision 7a or sections 244.052 and 299C.093, the 

35 information provided under this section is private data on 

36 individuals under section 13.02, subdivision 12. The 
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1 information may be used only for law enforcement, human 

2 services, ~nd corrections purposes. 

3 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 246.13, is 

4 amended to read: 

5 246.13 [RB€9RB RECORDS OF PATIENTS AND RESIDENTS 

6 %N RECEIVING STATE-OPERATED SERVICES.] 

7 Subdivision 1. [POWERS, DUTIES, AND AUTHORITY OF 

8 COMMISSIONER.]~ The commissioner of human services' office 

9 shall have, accessible only by consent of the commissioner or on 

10 the order of a judge or court of record, a record showing the 

11 residence, sex, age, nativity, occupation, civil condition, and 

12 date of entrance or commitment of every person, in the 

13 state-operated services facilities as defined under section 

14 246.014 under exclusive control of the commissioner; the date of 

15 discharge and whether such discharge was final; the condition of 

16 the person when the person left the state-operated services 

17 facility; the vulnerable adult abuse prevention associated with 

18 the person; and the date and cause of all deaths. The record 

19 shall state every transfer from one state-operated services 

20 facility to another, naming each.state-operated services 

21 facility. This information shall be furnished to the 

22, commissioner of human services by each public agency, along with 

23 other obtainable facts as the commissioner may require. When a 

24 patient or resident in a state-operated services facility is 

25 discharged, transferred, or dies, the head of the state-operated 

26 services facility or designee shall inform the commissioner of 

27 human services of these events within ten days on forms 

28 furnished by.the commissioner. 

29 (b) The commissioner of human services shall cause to be 

30 devised, installed, and operated an adequate system of records 

31 and statistics which shall consist of all basic record forms, 

32 including patient personal records and medical record forms, and 

33 the manner of their use shall be precisely uniform throughout 

34 all state-operated services facilities. 

35 Subd. 2. [DEFINITIONS; RISK ASSESSMENT AND MANAGEMENT.]~ 

36 As used in this section: 
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1 (1) "appropriate and necessary medical and other records" 

2 includes patient medical record and other protected health 

3 information as provided by Code of Federal Regulations, title 

4 45, section 164.501, relating to a patient in a state-operated 

5 services facility, including but not limited to the patient's 

6 treatment plan and abus~ prevention plan that is pertinent to 

7 the patient's ongoing care, treatment, or placement in a 

8 community-based treatment facility or a health care facility 

9 that is not operated by state-operated services, and includes 

10 information describing the level of risk posed by a patient when 

11 the patient enters such a facility; 

12 (2) "community-based treatment" means the community support 

'3 services listed in section 253B.02, subdivision 4b; 

14 (3) "criminal history databases" refers to the Corrections 

15 Offender Management Systems (COMS) and Statewide Supervision 

16 System (S3) maintained by the Department of Corrections; 

17 Criminal Justice Information System (CJIS) and Predatory 

18 Offender Registration (POR) system maintained by the Department 

19 of Public Safety; the CriMNet system; the National Crime 

20 Information Center (NCIC) database for out-of-state criminal 

21 history information maintained by the Federal Bureau of 

22 Investigation; and other federal, state, and local databases and 

23 repositories that contain information describing the criminal 

~4 history or propensity for violence of patients under the care or 

25 supervision of the state-operated services division of the 

26 Department of Human Services; 

27 (4) "designated agency" means the agency defined in section 

28 253B.02, subdivision 5; 

29 (5) "law enforcement agency" means the law enforcement 

30 agency having primary jurisdiction over.the location where the 

31 offender expects to reside upon release; 

32 (6) "predatory offender" and "offender" mean a person who 

33 is required to register as a predatory offender under section 

'4 243 .166; and 

35 (7) ''treatment facility" means a facility as defined in 

36 section 253B.02, subdivision 19. 
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1 (b) To promote public safety and for the purposes and 

2 subject to the requirements of paragraph (c), the commissioner 

3 or the commissioner's designee shall have access to and review 

4 pertinent information about patients under the care or 

5 supervision of the state-operated services division of the 

6 Department of Human Services, including but not limited to 

7 information that is in state criminal history databases. 

8 (c) The commissioner or the commissioner's designee shall 

9 disseminate information to designated treatment facility staff, 

10 special review board members, and end-of-confinement review 

11 committee members to: 

12 (1) determine whether a patient is required under state law 

13 to register as a predatory offender according to section 

14 244.166; 

15 (2) facilitate and expedite the responsibilities of the 

16 special review board and end-of-confinement review committees by 

17 corrections institutions and state treatment facilities; 

18 (3) prepare, amend, or revise the abuse prevention plans 

19 required under section 626.557, subdivision 14, and individual 

20 patient treatment plans required under section 253B.03, 

21 subdivision 7; and 

22 (4) facilitate transfers of individuals between the 

23 Department of Corrections and the Department of Human Services. 

24 Subd. 3. [COMMUNITY-BASED TREATMENT AND MEDICAL 

25 TREATMENT.] (a) When a patient under the care and supervision of 

26 state-operated services is released to a community-based 

27 treatment £acility or facility that provides health care 

28 services, state-operated services may disclose all appropriate 

29 and necessary health and other information relating to the 

30 patient. 

31 (b) The information that must be provided to the designated 

32 agency, community-based treatment facility, or facility that 

33 provides health care services includes but is not limited to the 

34 patient's abuse prevention plan required under section 626.557, 

35 subdivision 14, paragraph (b). 

36 Subd. 4. [PREDATORY OFFENDER REGISTRATION 
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1 NOTIFICATION.] (a) When a state-operated facility determines 

2 that a patient is required under section 243.166, subdivision 1, 

3 to register as a predatory offender or, under section 243.166, 

4 subdivision 4a, to provide notice of a change in status, the 

5 facility shall provide written notice to the patient of the 

6 requirement. 

7 (b) If the patient refuses, is unable, or lacks capacity to 

8 comply with the requirement described in paragraph (a) within 

9 five days· after receiving the notification of the duty to 

10 comply, state-operated services staff shall obtain the necessary 

11 forms and complete the registration or change of status 

12 notification for the patient. The treatment facility shall also 

~.3 forward the registration or change of status information that it 

14 completes to the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension and, as 

15 applicable, the patient's corrections agent and the law 

16 enforcement agency in the community in which the patient 

17 currently resides. If, after providing notification, the 

18 patient refuses to comply with the requirements described in 

19 paragraph (a), the treatment facility ~hall also notify the 

20 county attorney in the county in which the patient is currently 

21 residing of the refusal. 

22 (c) The duties of state-operated services described in this 

23 subdivision do not relieve the patient of the ongoing individual 

;4 duty to comply with the requirements of section 243.166. 

25 Subd. 5. [LIMITATIONS ON USE OF BLOODBORNE PATHOGEN TEST 

26 RESULTS.] Sections 246.71, 246.711, 246.712, 246.713, 246.714, 

27 246.715, 246.716, 246.717, 246.718, 246.719, 246.72, 246.721, 

28 and 246.722 apply to state-operated services facilities~ 

29 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 253B.18, 

30 subdivision 4a, is amended to read: 

31 Subd. 4a. [RELEASE ON PASS; NOTIFICATION.] A patient who 

32 has been committed as a person who is mentally ill and dangerous 

33 and who is confined at a secure treatment facility or has been 

1 transferred out of a state-operated services facility according 

35 to section 253B.18, subdivision 6, shall not be released on a 

36 pass unless the pass is part of a pass plan that has been 
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l approved by the medical director of the secure treatment · 

2 facility. The pass plan must have a specific therapeutic 

3 purpose consistent with the treatment plan, must be established 

4 for a specific period of time, and must have specific levels of 

5 liberty delineated. The county case manager must be invited to 

6 participate in the development of the pass plan. At least ten 

7 days prior to a determination on the plan, the medical director 

8 shall notify the designated agency, the committing court, the 

9 county attorney of the county of commitment, an interested 

10 person, the local law enforcement agency where the facility is 

11 located, the local law enforcement agency in the location where 

12 the pass is to occur, the petitioner, and the petitioner's 

13 counsel·of the plan, the nature of the passes proposed, and 

14 their right to object to the plan. If any notified person 

15 objects prior to the proposed date of implementation, the person 

16 shall have an opportunity to appear, personally or in writing, 

17 before the medical director, within ten days of the objection, 

18 to present grounds for opposing the plan. The pass plan shall 

19 not be implemented until the objecting person has been furnished 

20 that opportunity. Nothing in this subdivision shall be 

21 construed to giv~ a patient an affirmative right to a pass plan. 

22 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes .. 2004, section 299C.093, is 

23 amended to read: 

24 

25 

299C.093 [DATABASE OF REGISTERED PREDATORY OFFENDERS.] 

The superintendent of the bureau of criminal apprehension 

26 shall maintain a computerized data system relating to 

27 individuals required to register as predatory offenders under 

28 section 243.166. To the degree feasible, the system must 

29 include the information required to be provided under section 

30 243.166, subdivisions 4 and 4a, and indicate the time period 

31 that the person is required to register. The superintendent 

32 shall maintain this information in a manner that ensures that it 

33 is readily available to law enforcement agencies. This 

34 information is private data on individuals under section 13.02, 

35 subdivision 12, but may be used for human services, law 

36 enforcementL and corrections purposes. 
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1 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 609.2231, 

2 subdivision 3, is amended to read: 

3 Subd. 3. [CORRECTIONAL EMPLOYEES; PROBATION OFFICERS.] 

4 Whoever commits either of the following acts against an employee 

5 of a correctional facility as defined in section 241.021, 

6 subdivision 1, paragraph (f), or an employee or other individual 

7 who provides care or treatment at a treatment facility as 

8 defined in section 252.025, subdivision 7, or 253B.02, 

9 subdivision 18a, or against a probation officer or other 

10 qualified person employed in supervising offenders while the 

11 employee, officer, or person is engaged in the performance of a 

12 duty imposed by law, policy, or rule is guilty of a felony and 

.,·.3 may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than two years or 

14 to payment of a fine of not more than $4,000, or both: 

15 (1) assaults the empioyee person and inflicts demonstrable 

16 bodily harm; or 

17 (2) intentionally throws or otherwise transfers bodily 

18 fluids or feces at or onto the empioyee person. 

19 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 626.557, 

20 subdivision 14, is amended to read: 

21 Subd. 14. [ABUSE PREVENTION PLANS.] (a) Each facility, 

22 except home health agencies and personal care attendant services 

23 providers, shall establish and enforce an ongoing written abuse 

~4 prevention plan. The plan shall contain an assessment of the 

25 physical plant, its environment, and its population identifying 

26 factors which may encourage or permit abuse, and a statement of 

27 specific measures to be taken to minimize the risk of abuse. 

28 The plan shall comply with any rules governing the plan 

29 promulgated by the licensing agency. 

30 (b) Each facility, including a home health care agency and 

31 personal care attendant services providers, shall develop an 

32 individual abuse prevention plan for each vulnerable adult 

33 residing there or receiving services from them. The plan shall 

'4 contain an individualized assessment of .both the person's 

35 susceptibility to abuse by other individuals, including other 

36 vulnerable adults, and the potential risks posed by the person 
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1 to the other patients, to facility staff, and to others; and a 

2 statement of the specific measures to be taken to minimize the 

3 risk of abuse to that person and others. For the purposes of 

4 this clause, the term "abuse" includes self-abuse. 

5 Sec. 7. [REPEALER.] 

6 Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 246.017, subdivision 1, is 

7 repealed. 

8 ARTICLE 7 

9 HUMAN SERVICES BACKGROUND STUDIES 

10 Section 1. Minnesota.Statutes 2004, section 245C.03, 

11 subdivision 1, is amended to read: 

12 Subdivision 1. [LICENSED PROGRAMS.] (a) The commissioner 

13 shall conduct a background study on: 

14 (1) the person or ~ersons applying for a license; 

15 (2) an individual age 13 and over living in the household 

16 where the licensed program will be provided; 

17 (3) current or prospective employees or contractors of the 

18 applicant who will have direct contact with persons served by 

19 the facility, agency, or program; 

20 (4) volunteers or student volunteers who will have direct 

21 contact with persons served by the program_ to provide program 

22 services if the contact is not under the continuous, direct 

23 supervision by an individual listed in clause (1) or (3); 

24 (5) an individual age ten to 12 living in the household 

25 where the licensed services will be provided when the 

26 commissioner has reasonable cause; 

27 (6) an individual who, without providing direct contact 

28 services at a licensed program, may have unsupervised access to 

29 children or vulnerable adults receiving services from a program 

30 licensed to provide: 

31 (i) family child care for children; 

32 (ii) foster care for children in the provider's own home; 

33 or 

34 (iii) foster care or day care services for adults in the 

35 provider's own home; and 

36 (7) all managerial officials as defined under section 
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1 245A.02, subdivision Sa. 

2 The commissioner must have reasonable cause to study an 

3 individual under this subdivision. 

4 (b) For family child foster care settings, a short-term 

5 substitute caregiver providing direct contact services for a 

6 child for less than 72 hours of continuous care is not required 

7 to receive a background study under this chapter. 

8 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 245C.15, 

9 subdivision 1, is amended to read: 

10 Subdivision 1. [PERMANENT DISQUALIFICATION.] (a) An 

11 individual is disqualified under section 245C.14 if: (1) 

12 regardless of how much time has passed since the discharge of 

1~3 the sentence imposed, if any, for the offense; and (2) unless 

14 otherwise specified, regardless of the level of the eonv±ee±on 

15 offense, the individual ±s-eenv±eeed-0£ has committed any of the 

16 following offenses: sections 152.021 (controlled substance 

17 crime in the first degree); 152.022 (controlled substance crime 

18 ·in the second degree); 152.023 (controlled substance crime in 

19 the third degree); 152.024 (controlled substance crime in the 

20 fourth degree); 152.0261 (importing controlled substances across 

21 state lines); 609.165 (certain convicted felons ineligible to 

22 possess firearms); 609.185 (murder in the first degree); 609.19 

23 (murder in the second degree); 609.195 (murder in the third 

~4 degree); 609.20 (manslaughter in the first degree); 609.205 

25 (manslaughter in the second degree); 609.21 (criminal vehicular 

26 homicide and injury)} 609.221 er (assault in the fi~st degree); 

27 609.222 (assault in the £±rse-er second degree); 609.223 

28 (assault in the third degree); a felony offense under sections 

29 609.2242 and 609.2243 (domestic assault), spousal abuse, child 

30 abuse or neglect, or a crime against children; 609.228 (great 

31 bodily harm caused by distribution of drugs); an offense 

32 punishable as a felony under 609.229 (crime committed for the 

33 benefit of a gang); 609.235 (use of drugs to injure or 

\4 facilitate a crime); 609.24 (simple robbery); 609.245 

35 (aggravated robbery); 609.25 (kidnapping); 609.255 (false 

36 imprisonment); 609.2661 (murder of an unborn child in the first 
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34 (2) an administrative determination under section 626.556 

35 of sexual abuse ·of a minor or abuse of a minor resulting in 

36 death or serious injury as defined under section 245C.02, 
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1 subdivision 18; or 

2 (3) an administrative determination under section 626.557 

3 of sexual abuse of a vulnerable adult or abuse of a vulnerable 

4 adult resulting in death or serious injury as defined under 

5 section 245C.02, subdivision 18. 

6 tbt i£l An individual's aiding and abetting, attemptL or 

7 conspiracy to commit any of the offenses listed in paragraph 

8 (a), as each of these offenses is defined in Minnesota Statutes, 

9 permanently disqualifies the individual under section 245C.14. 

10 tet ~An individual's offense in any other state or 

11 country, where the elements of the offense are substantially 

12 similar to any of the offenses listed in paragraph (a), 

'3 permanently disqualifies the individual under section 245C.14. 

14 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 245C.15, 

15 subdivision 2, is amended to read: 

16 Subd. 2. [15-YEAR DISQUALIFICATION.] (a) An individual is 

17 disqualified under section 245C.14 if: (1) less than 15 years 

18 have passed since the discharge of the ·sentence imposed, if any, 

19 for the offense; and (2) the individual has reeei~ed committed a 

20 £eiony-eon~ieeion-£or-e felony-level violation of any of the 

21 following offenses: sections 152.025 (controlled substance 

22 crime in the fifth degree); 260C.301 {grounds for termination of 

23 parental rights); 669.i65-t£e%on-ineiigibie-eo-possess-£ireermt; 

J4 669.%%-terimine%-vehiettier-homieide-end-injttryt; 609.215 

25 {suicide); 609.%%3-or 609.2231 {assault in the third-or fourth 

26 degree); repeat offenses under 609.224 (assault in the fifth 

27 degree); 609.2325 (criminal abuse of a vulnerable adult); 

28 609.2335 {financial exploitation of a vulnerable adult); 609.%35 

29 fttse-o£-drttgs-eo-injttre-or-£eeiiieeee-erimet;-669.%4-tsimpie 

30 robberyt;-609.%55-t£eise-im~risonmenet;-609•%664-tmensiettgheer 

31 o£-en-ttnborn-ehiid-in-ehe-£irse-degreet;-669.%665-tmensiettgneer 

32 0£-en-ttnborn-ehiid-in-ene-seeond-degreet;-609.%67-tessettie-0£-en 

33 ttnbern-eh~%d-in-ehe-£irse-degreet;-699.i6~~-tessett%e-e£-en 

14 ttnborn-ehiid-in-ene-seeend-degreet;-669.%68-finjttry-or-deeen-e£ 

35 en-ttnbern-ehi%d-in-ehe-eemmission-e£-e-erimet; 609.27 

36 {coercion); 609.275 {attempt to coerce); repeee~o££enses-ttnder 
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1 669.345i-ter±m±nai-sexttai-eondttee-±n-ene-£±£en-degreet;-669.4981 

2 sttbd±v±s±on-i-or-ib-taggravaeed-£±rse-degree-or-£±rse-degree 

3 eamper±ng-w±en-a-w±enesst; 609.52 (tneft); 609.521 (possession 

4 of shoplifting gear); 669.56%-tarson-±n-ene-seeond-degreet; 

5 609.563 (arson in the third degree); 609.582, subdivision 2, 3, 

6 or 4 (burglary in the second, third, or fourth degree); 609.625 

7 (aggravated forgery); 609.63 (forgery); 609.631 (check forgery; 

8 offering a forged check); 609.635 (obtaining signature by false 

9 pretense); 609.66 (dangerous weapons); 609.67 (machine guns and 

-10 short-barreled shotguns); 669.687-tadttieerae±ont; 609.71 (riot); 

11 609.713 (terroristic threats); repeat offenses under 617.23 

12 (indecent. exposure; penalties); repeat offenses under 617.241 

13 (obscene materials and performances; distribution and exhibition 

14 prohibited; penalty); enapeer-i5%-tdrttgs;-eoneroiied-sttbseaneet; 

15 or a felony=level conviction involving alcohol or drug use. 

16 (b) An individual is disqualified under section 245C.14 if 

17 less than 15 years has passed since the individual's.aiding and 

18 abetting, attemptL or corispiracy to commit any of the offenses 

19 listed in paragraph (a), as each of these offenses is defined in 

20 Minnesota Statutes. 

21 (c) An individual is disqualified under section 245C.14 if 

22 less than 15 years has passed since the discharge.of the 

23 sentence imposed for an offense in any other state or country, 

24 the elements of which are substantially similar to the elements 

25 of the offenses listed in paragraph (a)~ 

26 (d) If the individual studied is convicted of one of the 

27 felonies listed in paragraph (a), but the sentence is a gross 

28 misdemeanor or misdemeanor disposition, the individual is 

29 disqualified but the disqualification lookback period for the 

30 conviction is the period applicable to the gross misdemeanor or 

31 misdemeanor disposition. 

32 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 245C.15, 

33 subdivision 3, is amended to read: 

34 Subd. 3. [TEN-YEAR DISQUALIFICATION.] (a) An individual is 

35 disqualified under section 245C.14 if: (1) less than ten years 

36 have passed since the discharge of the sentence imposed, if any, 
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1 for the offense; and (2) the individual has feee±~ed committed a 

2 gross m±sdemeanof-eon~±et±on-£ef-a misdemeanor-level violation 

3 of any of the following offenses: sections 609.224 (assault in 

4 the fifth degree); 609.224, subdivision 2, paragraph (c) 

5 (assault in the fifth degree by a caregiver against a vulnerable 

6 adult); 609.2242 and 609.2243 (domestic assault); 609.23 

7 (mistreatment of persons confined); 609.231 (mistreatment of 

8 residents or patients); 609.2325 (criminal abuse of a vulnerable 

9 adult); 609.233 (criminal neglect of a vulnerable adult); 

10 609.2335 (financial exploitation of a vulnerable adult); 609.234 

11 (failure to report maltreatment of a vulnerable adult); 609.265 

12 (abduction); 609.275 (attempt to coerce); 609.324, subdivision 

l3 la (other prohibited acts; minor engaged in prostitution); 

14 609.33 (disorderly house); 699.345%-ter±m±nai-sexttai-eendttet-±n 

15 the-£±£eh-degfeet; misdemeanor or gross misdemeanor offenses 

16 under 609.377 (malicious punishment of a child); misdemeanor or 

17 gross misdemeanor offenses under 609.378 (neglect or 

18 endangerment of a child); 609~52 (theft); 609.582 (burglary); 

19 609.631 (check forgery; offering a forged check); 609.66 

20 (dangerous weapons); 609.71 (riot); 609.72, subdivision 3 

21 (disorderly conduct against a vulnerable adult); repeat offenses 

22 under 609.746 (interference with privacy); 609.749, subdivision 

23 2 (harassment; stalking); repeat offenses under 617.23 (indecent 

~4 exposure); 617.241 (obscene materials and performances); 617.243 

25 (indecent literature, distribution); 617.293 (harmful materials; 

26 dissemination and display to minors prohibited); or violation of 

27 an order for protection under section 518B.Ol, subdivision 14. 

28 (b) An individual is disqualified under section 245C.14 if 

29 less than ten years has passed since the individual's aiding and 

30 abetting, attemptL or conspiracy to commit any of the offenses 

31 listed in paragraph !a), as each of these offenses is defined in 

32 Minnesota Statutes. 

33 (c) An individual is disqualified under section 245C.14 if 

"4 less than ten years has passed since the discharge of the 

35 sentence imposed for an offense in any other state or country, 

36 the elements of which are substantially similar to the elements 
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1 of any of the offenses listed in paragraph (a). 

2 (d) If the defendant is convicted of one of the gross 

3 misdemeanors listed in paragraph (a), but the sentence is a 

4 misdemeanor disposition, the individual is disqualified but the 

5 disqualification lookback period for the conviction is the 

6 period applicable to misdemeanors. 

7 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 245C.15, 

8 subdivision 4, is amended to read: 

9 Subd. 4. [SEVEN-YEAR DISQUALIFICATION.] (a) An individual 

10 is disqualified under section 245C.14 if: (1) less than seven 

11 years has passed since the discharge of the sentence imposed, if 

12 any, for the offense; and (2) the individual has reee±~ed 

13 committed a m±sdemeefter-eeft~iee±eft-£er-e misdemeanor-level 

14 violation of any of the.following offenses: sections 609.224 

15 (assault in the fifth degree); 609.2242 (domestic assault); 

16 609.2335 (financial exploitation of a vulnerable adult); 609.234 

17 (failure to report maltreatment of a vulnerable adult); 609.2672 

18 (assault of an unborn child in the third degree); 609.27 

19 (coercion); violation of an order for protection under 609.3232 

20 (protective order authorized; procedures; penalties); 609.52 

21 (theft); 609.66 (dangerous weapons); 609.665 (spring guns); 

22 609.746 (interference with privacy); 609.79 (obscene or 

23 harassing ~hefte telephone calls); 609.795 (letter, telegram, or 

24 package;_ opening; harassment); 617.23 (indecent exposure; 

25 penalties); 617.293 (harmful materials; dissemination and 

26 display to minors prohibited); or violation of an order for 

27 protection under section 518B.Ol (Domestic Abuse Act). 

28 (b) An individual is disqualified under section 245C.14 if 

29 less than seven years has passed since a determination or 

30 ·disposition of the individual's: 

31 (1) failure to make required reports under section 626.556, 

32 subdivision 3, or 626.557, subdivision 3, for incidents in 

33 which: (i) the final disposition under section 626.556 or 

34 626.557 was substantiated maltreatment, and (ii) the 

35 maltreatment was recurring or serious; or 

36 (2) except for disqualifications under subdivision 1, 
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1 substantiated serious or recurring maltreatment of a minor under 

2 section 626.556, a vulnerable adult under section 626.557, or 

3 serious or recurring maltreatment in any other state, the 

4 elements of which are substantially similar to the elements of 

5 maltreatment under section 626.556 or 626.557 for which: (i) 

6 there is a preponderance of evidence that the maltreatment 

7 occurred, and (ii) the subject was responsible for the 

8 maltreatment. 

9 (c) An individual is disqualified under section 245C.14 if 

10 less than seven years has passed since the individual's attempt 

11 or conspiracy to commit any of the offenses listed in paragraphs 

12 (a) and (b), as each of these offenses is defined in Minnesota 

13 Statutes. 

14 (d) An individual is disqualified under section 245C.14 if 

15 less than seven years has passed since the discharge of the 

16 sentence imposed for an offense in any other state or country, 

17 the elements of which are substantially similar to the elements 

18 of any of the offenses listed in paragraphs (a) and (b). 

19 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 245C.17, 

20 subdivision 2, is amended to read: 

21 Subd. 2. [DISQUALIFICATION NOTICE SENT TO SUBJECT.] (a) If 

22 the information in the study indicates the individual is 

23 disqualified from direct contact with, or from access to, 

24 persons served by the program, the commissioner shall disclose 

25 to the individual studied: 

26 (1) the information causing disqualification; 

27 (2) instructions on how to request a reconsideration of the 

28 disqualification; and 

29 (3) an explanation of any restrictions on the 

30 commissioner's discretion to set aside the disqualification 

31 under section 245C.24, subdivision 2, when applicable to the 

32 individual; 

33 (4) a statement indicating that if the individual's 

l4 disqualification is set aside Qr the facility is granted a 

35 variance under section 245C.30, the individual's identity and 

36 the reason for the individual's disqualification will become 
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1 public data; and 

2 J2l the commissioner's determination of the individual's 

3 immediate risk of harm under section 245C.16. 

4 (b) If the commissioner determines under section 245C.16 

5 that an individual poses an imminent risk of harm to persons 

6 served by the program where the individual will have direct 

7 contact, the commissioner's notice must include an explanation 

8 of the basis of this determination. 

9 tet-f £-ehe-eommissioner-deeermines-ttnder-seeeion-%45€.%6 

10 ehae-an-±nd±~idtta%-settdied-does-noe-~ose-a-r±s~-o£-harm-ehae 

11 reqtt±res-eoneinttotts1-d±reee-stt~er~ision1-ehe-eommiss±ener-sha%% 

12 on%y-noei£y-ehe-indi~idttai-o£-ehe-disqttaii£ie8eion. 

13 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 245C.17, 

14 subdivision 3, is amended to read: 

15 Subd. 3. [DISQUALIFICATION NOTICE SENT TO APPLICANT, 

16 LICENSE HOLDER, OR OTHER ENTITY.] (a) The commissioner shall 

17 notify an applicant, license holder, or other entity as provided 

18 in this chapter who is not the subject of the study: 

19 (1) that the commissioner has found information that 

20 disqualifies _the individual studied from direct contact with, or 

21 from access to, persons served by the program; and 

22 (2) the commissioner's determination of the individual's 

23 risk of harm under section 245C.16. 

24 (b) If the commissioner determines under section 245C.16 

25 that an individual studied poses an imminent risk of harm to 

26 persons serv~d by the program where the individual studied will 

27 have direct contact, the commissioner shall order the license 

28 holder to immediately remove the individual studied from direct 

29 contact. 

30 (c) If the commissioner determines under section 245C.16 

31 that an individual studied poses a risk of harm that requires 

32 continuous, direct supervision, the commissioner shall order the 

33 applicant, license holder, or other entities as provided in this 

34 chapter to: 

35 (1) immediately remove the individual studied from direct 

36 contact services; or 
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1 (2) assure that the individual studied is under continuous, 

2 direct supervision when providing direct contact services during 

3 the period in which the individual may request a reconsideration 

4 of the disqualification under section. 245C. 21. 

5 (d) If the commissioner determines under section 245C.16 

6 that an individual studied does not pose an imminent risk of 

7 harm to persons served by the program or a risk of harm that 

·. 8 requires continuous, direct supervision, the commissioner shall 

9 send the license holder a notice that mere-e±me-±s-fteeded-ee 

10 eemp%eee-ehe-±ftdi~±dtta%is-bae~grettftd-settdy the individual may 

11 only provide direct contact services on behalf of a license 

12 holder, pending reconsideration, if: 

1.3 ( 1) the license .holder is provided documentation on the 

14 disqualifying offense; and 

15 (2) a request for reconsideration is filed with the 

16 commissioner within 15 days of receipt of the disqualification 

17 notice. 

18 (e) The commissioner shall not notify the applicant, 

19 license holder, or other entity as pro~ided in this chapter of 

20 the information contained in the·subject's background study 

21 unless: 

22 (1) the basis for the disqualification is failure to 

23 cooperate with the background study or substantiated 

j4 maltreatment under section 626.556 or 626.557; 

25 (2) the Data Practices Act under chapter 13 provides for 

26 release of the information; or 

27 (3) the individual studied authorizes the release of the 

28 information. 

29 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 245C.21, 

30 subdivision 3, is amended to read: 

31 Subd. 3. [INFORMATION DISQUALIFIED INDIVIDUALS MUST 

32 PROVIDE WHEN REQUESTING RECONSIDERATION.] ~he (a) When a 

33 disqualified individual reqttese±ftg-reeefts±derae±eft requests that 

\4 the commissioner rescind the disqualification, the individual 

35 must submit information showing that: 

36 (1) the information the commissioner relied upon in 
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1 determining the underlying conduct that gave rise to the 

2 disqualification is incorrect; 

3 (2) for disqualifications under section 245C.15, 

4 subdivision 1, based on maltreatment, the information the 

5 commissioner relied upon in determining that maltreatment 

6 resulted in death or serious injury as defined under section 

7 245C.02, subdivision 18, is incorrect; or 

8 (3) for disqualifications under section 245C.15, 

9 subdivision 4, based on maltreatment, the information the 

10 commissioner relied upon in determining that maltreatment was 

11 serious or recurring is incorrect;-er~ 

12 t3t (b) When a disqualified individual requests that the 

13 commissioner set aside a disqualification, the individual must 

14 submit information showing that: 

15 l!l the subject of the study does not pose a risk of harm 

16 to any person served by the applicant, license holder, or other 

17 entities as provided in this chapter, by addressing the 

18 information required under section 245C~22, subdivision 4; and 

19 (2) the disqualified individual has received a notice 

20 stating that if the disqualification is set aside, the 

21 individual's identity and the individual's disqualifying 

22 characteristics will become public data. 

23 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 245C.21, 

24 subdivision 4, is amended to read: 

25 Subd. 4. [NOTICE OF REQUEST FOR RECONSIDERATION.] Upon 

26 request, the commissioner may inform the applicant, license 

27 holder, or other entities as prov~ded in this chapter who 

28 received a notice of the individual's disqualification u~der 

29 section 245C.171-sttbdi~isien-31-er-n8s-ehe-eensene-e£-ehe 

30 disqtt8±i£ied-indi~idtt8±7 whether the disqualified individual has 

31 requested reconsideration. 

32 Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 245C.22, is 

33 amended by adding a subdivision to read: 

34 Subd. 7. [CLASSIFICATION OF CERTAIN DATA AS PUBLIC OR 

35 PRIVATE.] (a) Notwithstanding section 13.46, upon setting aside 

36 a disqualification under this section, the identity of the 
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1 disqualified individual who received the set aside and the 

2 individual's disqualifying characteristics are public data. 

3 (b) Notwithstanding section 13.46, upon granting a variance 

4 to a license holder under section 245C.30, the identity of the 

5 disqualified individual who is the subject of the variance, the 

6 individual's disqualifying characteristics, and the terms of the 

7 variance are public data. 

8 (c) The identity of a disqualified individual and the 

9 reason for disqualification remain private data when a 

10 disqualification is: 

11 (1) not set aside and no variance is granted; and 

12 (2) rescinded because the information relied upbn to 

1 ,3 disqualify the individual is incorrect. 

14 Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 245C.23, 

15 subdivision 1, is amended to read: 

16 Subdivision 1. [COMMISSIONER'S NOTICE OF DISQUALIFICATION 

17 THAT IS RESCINDED OR SET ASIDE.] tat-Exeepe-as-pro~ided-ttftder 

18 paragraph-tet1 If the commissioner rescinds or sets aside a 

19 disqualification, the commissioner shall notify the applicant or 

20 license holder in writing or by electronic transmission of the 

21 decision. In the notice from the commissioner that a 

22 disqualification has been rescinded, the commissioner must 

23 inform the license holder that the information relied upon to 

;4 disqualify the individual was incorrect. In the notice from the 

25 commissioner that a disqualification has been set aside, the 

26 commissioner must inform the license holder ehae-in£ormaeioft 

27 abotte-ene-ftaettre of the reason for the individual's 

28 disqualification and which factors under section 245C.22, 

29 subdivision 4, were the basis of the decision to set aside the 

30 disqualification are-a~aiiabie-eo-ene-iieeftse-noider-ttpoft 

31 reqttese-wiehotte-ene-eoftsefte~o£-ene-baekgrottftd-settdy-sttb;eee. 

32 tbt-Wien-ene-wrieteft-eoftsefte-e£-ehe-baekgrettftd-stttdy 

33 sttbjeet1-ene-eemmissiefter-may-re%ease-te-the-%ieense-he%~er 

4 eepies-e£-aii-in£ermaeieft-reiated-to-the-baekgrettftd-stttdy 

35 sttbjeeeis-disqttaii£ieaeieft-aftd-the-eemmissiefteris-deeisien-te 

36 see-aside-ehe-disqttaii£ieaeieft-as-speei£ied-ift-ene-wrieeen 
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1 eensene. 

2 tet-f £-ehe-individttai-settdied-sttbmies-a-eimeiy-reqttese-£er 

3 reeensideraeien-ttnder-seeeien-i45e.ii-and-ehe-iieense-heider-was 

4 previettsiy-sene-a-neeiee-ttnder-seeeien-i45e.i77-sttbdivisien-37 

5 paragraph-tdt,-and-i£-ehe-ee:mm.issiener-sees-aside-ehe 

6 disqttaii£ieaeien-£er-ehae-iieense-heider-ttnder~seeeien-i45e.ii7 

7 ehe-ee:mm.issiener-shaii-send-ehe-iieense-heider-ehe-same 

8 neei£ieaeien-reeeived-by-iieense-heiders-in-eases-where-ehe 

9 individttai-settdied-has-ne-disqttaii£ying-eharaeeeriseie. 

10 Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 245C.24,. 

11 subdivision 2, is amended to read: 

12 Subd. 2. [PERMANENT BAR TO SET ASIDE eP A 

13 DISQUALIFICATION.] The commissioner may not set aside the 

14 disqualification of an individual in connection with a 

15 license ee-previde-£amiiy-ehiid-eare-£er-ehiidren7-£eseer-eare 

16 £er-ehiidren-in-ehe-previderis-heme,-er-£eseer-eare-er-day-eare 

17 serviees-£er-adtties-in-ehe-previderis-heme, issued or in 

18 application status under chapter 245A, regardless of how much 

19 time has passed,. if the provider .was disqualified for a crime or 

20 conduct listed in section 245C.15, subdivision 1. 

21 Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 245C.24, 

22 subdivision 3, is amended to read: 

23 Subd. 3. [TEN-YEAR BAR TO SET ASIDE DISQUALIFICATION.] (a) 

·24 The commissioner may not set aside the disqualification of an 

25 individual in connection with a license ee-previde-£amiiy-ehiid 

26 eare-£er-ehiidren7-£eseer-eare-£er-ehiidren-in-ehe-previderis 

27 heme7-er-£eseer-eare-er-day-eare-serviees-£er-adtties-in-ehe 

28 previderis-heme under chapter 245A if: (1) less than ten years 

29 has passed.since the discharge of the sent--ence imposed, if any, 

30 for the offense; and (2) the individual has been eenvieeed 

31 e£ disqualified for a violation of any of the following 

32 offenses: sections 6&9.i65-t£eien-ineiigibie-ee-pessess 

33 £irearmt~-eriminai-vehiettiar-hemieide-ttnder-6&9.ii-teriminai 

34 vehiettiar-hemieide-and-injttryt~ 609.215 (aiding suicide or 

35 aiding attempted suicide); felony violations under 6&9.ii3-er 

36 609.2231 (assault in th.e ehird-er fourth degree); 609.713 
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1 (terroristic threats); 609.%35-tttse-0£-drttgs-ee-in;ttre-er-ee 

2 raei±ieeee-erimet;-609.%4-tsimp±e-rebberyt;-699.%55-tra±se 

3 imprisenmenet;-699.56%-tarsen-in-ehe-seeend-degreet; 609.71 

4 {riot); 699.4987-sttbdiYisien-±-er-±b-taggraYaeed-rirse-degree-er 

5 £irse-degree-eampering-wieh-a-wienesst;-bttrg±ary-in-ehe-£irse-er 

· 6 seeend-degree-ttnder 609.582, subdivision 2 (burglary in the 

7 second degree); 609.66, subdivision 1, la, lb, le, ld, lf, lg, 

8 or lh {dangerous weapon); 609.665 (spring guns); 609.67 (machine 

9 guns and short-barreled shotguns); 609.749, subdivision 2 (gross 

10 misdemeanor harassment; stalking); ±5%.9%±-er-±5%.9%% 

11 teenere±±ed-sttbseenee-erime-in-ehe-£irse-er-seeend-degreet; 

12 ±5%.9%37-sttbdiYisien-±1-e±attse-t3t-er-t4t-er-sttbdiYisien-%7 

13 e±ettse-t4t-teenere±±ed-sttbeeanee-erime-in-ehe-ehird-degreet; 

14 ±5%.9%41-sttbdivisien-±1-e±attse-tzt1-t3t1-er-t4t-teenere±±ed 

15 sttbseanee-erime-in-ehe-rettreh-degreet; 609.224, subdivision 2, 

16 paragraph {c) (fifth degree assault by ·a caregiver against a 

17 vulnerable adult); 609.23 (mistreatment of persons confined); 

18 609.231 (mistreatment of residents or patients); 609.2325 

19 {criminal abuse of a vulnerable adult); 609.233 (criminal 

20 neglect of a vulnerable adult); 609.2335 (financial exploitation 

21 of a vulnerable adult); 609.234 (failure to report); 609.265 

22 (abduction); 609.%664-ee-609.%665-tmens±attgheer-er-an-ttnbern 

23 ehi±d-in-ehe-rirse-er-seeend-degreet;-609.%6~-ee 609.2672 

24 (assault of an unborn child in the £irse,-seeend,-er third 

25 degree); 699.%68-tin;ttry-er-deaeh-er-an-ttnbern-ehi±d-in-ehe 

26 eemmissien-er-e-erimet; 617.293 (disseminating or displaying 

27 harmful material to minors); a felony=level conviction involving 

28 alcohol or drug use, a gross misdemeanor offense under 609.324, 

29 subdivision 1 (other prohibited acts); a gross misdemeanor 

30 offense under 609.378 (neglect or endangerment of a child); a 

31 gross misdemeanor offense under 609.377 (malicious punishment of 

32 a child); or 609.72, subdivision 3 (disorderly conduct against a 

33 vulnerable adult). 

34 (b) The commissioner may not set aside the disqualification 

35 of an individual if less than ten years have passed since the 

36 individual's attempt or conspiracy to commit any of the offenses 
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1 listed in paragraph (a) as each of these offenses is defined in 

2 Minnesota Statutes. 

3 (c) The commissioner may not set aside the disqualification 

4 of an individual if less than ten years have passed since the 

5 discharge of the sentence imposed for an offense in any. other 

6 state or country, the elements of which are substantially 

7 similar to the elements of any of the offenses listed in 

8 paragraph (a). 

9 Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 245C.24, 

10 subdivision 4, is amended to read: 

11 Subd. 4. [SEVEN-YEAR BAR TO SET .ASIDE DISQUALIFICATION.] 

12 The commissioner may not set aside the disqualification of an 

131 individual in connection with a license te-previde-£ami%y-ehiid 

14 eare-£er-ehi%dreft;-£ester-eare-£er-ehi%dreft-ift-ehe-previderis 

15 heme;-er-£eseer-eare-er-day-eare-serviees-£er-adtt%es-ift-ehe 

16 previderis-heme under chapter 245A if within seven years 

17 preceding the study: 

18 (1) the individual eemmieeed-aft-aee-thae-eeftseiettees was 

19 determined to be responsible for maltreatment e£-a-ehi%d under 

20 section 626.556, sttbdivisieft-%9e; ~ 

21 (i) the maltreatment is a disgualification under section 

22 245C.15, subdivision 4; and 

23 1i!l the maltreatment resulted in substantial bodily harm 

24 as defined in section 609.02, subdivision 7a, or· substantial 

25 mental or emotional harm as supported by competent psychological 

26 or psychiatric evidence; or 

27 (2) the individual was determined to be responsible for 

28 maltreatment under section 626.557 ee-be-ehe-perpeeraee~-e£-a. 

29 sttbseafteiaeed-ifteidefte-e£-ma%ereaemefte-e£-a-vtt~fterab%e-adtt%e 

30 that, and: 

31 (i) the maltreatment is a disgualification under section 

32 245C.15, subdivision 41 and 

33 (ii) the maltreatment resulted in substantial bodily harm 

34 as defined in section 609.02, subdivision 7a, or substantial 

35 mental or emotional harm as supported by competent psychological 

36 or psychiatric evidence. 
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1 Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 245C.24, is 

2 amended by adding a subdivision to read: 

3 Subd. 6. [NOTIFICATION OF DISQUALIFICATIONS.] The 

4 commissioner shall expand notification of disqualifications to 

5 entities and inform the public about disqualifications. 

6 Sec. 16. Minnesota.statutes 2004~ section 245C.30, 

7 subdivision 1, is amended to read: 

8 Subdivision 1. [LICENSE HOLDER VARIANCE.] (a) Exceet for 

9 any disqualification under section 245C.15, subdivision 1, when 

10 the commissioner has not set aside a background study subject's 

11 disqualification, and there are conditions under which the 

12 disqualified individual may provide direct contact services or 

13 have access to people receiving services that minimize the risk 

14 of harm to people receiving services, the commissioner may grant 

15 a time-limited variance to a license holder. 

16 (b) The variance shall state the reason for the 

17 disqualification, the services th~t may be provided by the 

18 disqualified individual, and the conditions with which the 

19 license holder or applicant must comply for the variance to 

20 remain in effect. 

21 (c) Except for programs licensed to provide family child 

22 care for children, foster care for children in the provider's 

23 own home, or foster care or day care services for adults in the 

24 provider's own home, the variance must be requested by the 

25 license holder. 

26 Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 245C.30, 

27 subdivision 2, is amended to read: 

28 Subd. 2. [DISCLOSURE OF REASON FOR DISQUALIFICATION.] tat 

29 The commissioner may not grant a-variance for a disqualified 

30 individual unless the app%ieane-er-%ieense-he%der-reqtteses-ehe 

31 Yarianee-and-ehe disqualified individual provides written 

32 consent for the commissioner to disclose to the applicant or 

33 license holder the reason for the disqualification; and the 

34 commissioner has documentation showing that the disqualified 

35 individual has been informed that if the variance is granted, 

36 the individual's identity, reason for disqualification, and 
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1 terms of the variance will become public data. 

2 tbt-~his-sttbdivisien-dees-nee-app%y-ee-pre~rams-%ieensed-ee 

3 previde-£ami%y-ehi%d-eare-£er-ehi%dren,-£eseer-eare-£er-ehi%dren 

4 in-ehe-previder~s-ewn-neme,-er-£eseer-eare-er-day-eare-serviees 

5 £er-adtt%es-in-ehe-pre~ider~s-ewn-neme. 

· 6 Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 626.557, 

7 subdivision 12b, is amended to read: 

8 Subd. 12b. [DATA MANAGEMENT.] {a) [COUNTY DATA.] In 

9 performing any of the duties of this section as a lead agency, 

10 the county social service agency shall maintain appropriate 

11 records. Data collected by the county social service agency 

12 under this section are welfare data under section.13.46. 

13 Notwithstanding section 13.46, subdivision 1, paragraph {a), 

14 data under this paragraph that are inactive investigative data 

15 on an individual who is a vendor of services are private data on 

16 individuals, as defined in section 13.02. The identity of the 

17 reporter may only be disclosed as provided in paragraph {c). 

18 Data maintained by the common entry point are confidential 

19 data on individuals or protected nonpublic data as defined in 

20 sect.ion 13. 02. Notwithstanding section 138 .163, the common 

21 entry point shall destroy data three calendar years after date 

22 of receipt. 

23 {b) [LEAD AGENCY DATA.] The commissioners of health and 

24 human services shall prepare an investigation memorandum for 

25 each report alleging maltreatment investigated under this 

26 section •. During an investigation by the commissioner of health 

27 or the commissioner of human services, data collected under this 

28 section are confidential data on individuals or protected 

29 nonpublic data as defined in section 13.02. Upon completion of 

30 the investigation, the data are classified as provided in 

31 clauses (1) to (3) and paragraph {c). 

32 (1) The investigation memorandum must contain the following 

33 data, which are public: 

34 {i) the name of the facility investigated; 

35 {ii) a statement of the nature of the alleged maltreatment; 

36 {iii) pertinent information obtained from medical or other 
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1 records reviewed; 

2 (iv) the identity of the investigator; 

3 (v) a summary of the investigation's findings; 

4 (vi). statement of whether the report was found to be 

5 substantiated, inconclusive, false, or that _no determination 

6 will be made; 

7 (vii) a statement of any action taken by the facility; 

8 (viii) a statement of any action taken by the lead agency; 

9 and 

10 (ix) when a lead agency's determination has substantiated 

11 maltreatment, a statement of whether an individual, individuals, 

12 or a facility were responsible for the substantiated 

13 maltreatment, if known. 

14 The investigation memorandum must be written in a manner 

15 which protects the identity of the reporter and of the 

16 vulnerable adult and may not contain the names or, to the extent 

17 possible, data on individuals or private data listed in clause 

18 (2). 

19 (2) Data on individuals collected and maintained in the 

20 investigation memorandum are private data, including: 

21 (i) the name of the vulnerable adult; 

22 (ii) the identity of the individual alleged to be the 

23 perpetrator; 

24 (iii) the identity of the individual substantiated as the 

25 perpetrator; and 

26 (iv). the identity of all individuals interviewed as part of 

27 the investigation. 

28 (3) Other data on individuals maintained as part of an 

29 investigation under this section are private data on individuals 

30 upon completion of the investigation. 

31 (c) [IDENTITY OF REPORTER.] The subject of the report may 

32 compel disclosure of the name of the reporter only with the 

33 consent of the reporter or upon a written finding by a court 

34 that the report was false and there is evidence that the report 

35 was made in bad faith. This subdivision does not alter 

36 disclosure respons~bilities or obligations under the Rules of 
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1 Criminal Procedure, except that where the identity of the 

2 reporter is relevant to a criminal prosecution, the district 

3 court shall do an in-camera review prior to determining whether 

4 to order disclosure of the identity of the reporter. 

5 (d) [DESTRUCTION OF DATA.] Notwithstanding section 

6 138.163, data maintained under this section by the commissioners 

7 of health and human services must be destroyed und~r the 

8 following schedule: 

9 (1) data from reports determined to be false, two years 

10 after the finding was made; 

11 (2) data from reports determined to be inconclusive, four 

12 years after the finding was made; 

13 (3) data from reports determined to be substantiated, seveft 

14 at least ten years after the finding was made; and 

15 (4) data from reports which were not investigated by a lead 

16 agency and for which there is no final disposition, two years 

17 from the date of the report. 

18 (e) [SUMMARY OF REPORTS.] The commissioners of health and 

19 human services shall each annually report to the legislature and 

20 the governor on the number and type of reports of alleged 

21 maltreatment involving licensed facilities reported under this 

22 section, the number of those requiring investigation under this 

23 section, and the resolution of those investigations. The report 

24 shall identify: 

25 (1) whether and where backlogs of cases result in a failure 

26 to conform with statutory time frames; 

27 (2) where adequate coverage requires additional 

28 appropriations and staffing; and 

29 (3) any other trends that affect the safety of vulnerable 

30 adults. 

31 (f) [RECORD RETENTION POLICY.] Each lead agency must have 

32 a record retention policy. 

33 (g) [EXCHANGE OF INFORMATION.] Lead agencies, prosecuting 

34 authorities, and law enforcement agencies may exchange not 

35 public data, as defined in section 13.02, if the agency or 

36 authority requesting the data determines that the data are 
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l pertinent and necessary to the requesting agency in initiating, 

2 furthering, or completing an investigation under this section. 

3 Data collected under this section must be made available to 

4 prosecuting authorities and law enforcement officials, local 

5 county agencies, and licensing agencies investigating the 

6 alleged maltreatment under this section. The lead agency shall 

7 exchange not public data with the vulnerable adult maltreatment 

8 review panel established in section 256.021 if the data are 

9 pertinent and necessary for a review requested under that 

10 section. Upon completion of the review, not public data 

11 received by the review panel must be returned to the lead agency. 

12 (h) [COMPLETION TIME.] Each lead agency shall keep records 

13 of the length of time it takes to complete its investigations. 

14 (i) [NOTIFICATION OF OTHER AFFECTED PARTIES.] A lead 

15 agency may notify other affected parties· and their author·ized 

16 representative if the agency has reason to believe maltreatment 

17 has occurred and determines the information will safeguard the 

18 well-being of the affected parties or dispel widespread rumor or 

19 . unrest in the affected facility. 

20 (j) [FEDERAL REQUIREMENTS.] Under any no~ification 

21 provision o~ this section, where federal law specifically 

22 prohibits the disclosure of patient identifying information, a 

23 lead agency may not provide any notice unless the vulnerable 

24 adult has consented to disclosure in a manner which conforms to 

25 federal requirements. 

26 ARTICLE 8 

27 SEX OFFENDER POLICY BOARD 

28 Section 1. [243.168] [SEX OFFENDER POLICY BOARD; 

29 ESTABLISHMENT; MEMBERSHIP; REPORTS.] 

30 Subdivision 1. [ESTABLISHMENT.] A Sex Offender Policy 

31 Board is established to develop professional standards for 

32 treatment of sex offenders, including uniform supervision and 

33 treatment guidelines. 

34 (a) The governor shall appoint a Sex Offender Policy Board 

35 to serve in an advisory capacity to the governor. The governor 

36 shall appoint to the board five professionals with relevant and 
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1 complimentary experience in treatment, law enforcement, sex 

2 offender assessment, and sex offender management. 

3 (b) Members of the advisory committee appointed by the 

4 governor serve at the pleasure of the governor and their terms 

5 end with the term of the governor. Members of the advisory 

6 committee serve without compensation but may be reimbursed for 

7 reasonable expenses as determined by the commissioner of public 

8 safety. Notwithstanding section 15.059, the advisory committee 

9 does not expire until repealed by law. 

10 Subd. 2. [REPORTS TO LEGISLATURE.] The board must submit 

11 reports to the legislature on the professional standards for 

12 treatment of sex offenders, including uniform supervision and 

13 treatment guidelines~ 
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243.166 REGISTRATION OF PREDATORY OFFENDERS. 
Subdivision 1. Registration required. (a) A person 

shall register under this section if: 
(1) the person was charged with or petitioned for a felony 

violation of or attempt to violate any of the following, and 
convicted of or adjudicated delinquent for that offense or 
another offense arising out of the same set of circumstances: 

(i) murder under section 609.185, clause (2); or 
(ii) kidnapping under section 609.25; or 
(iii) criminal sexual conduct under section 609.342; 

609.343; 609.344; 609.345; or 609.3451, subdivision 3; or 
{iv) indecent exposure under section 617.23, subdivision 3; 

or 
(2) the person was charged with or petitioned for falsely 

imprisoning a minor in violation of section 609.255, subdivision 
2; soliciting a minor to engage in prostitution in violation of 
section 609.322 or 609.324; soliciting a minor to engage in 
sexual conduct in violation of section 609.352; using a minor in 
a sexual performance in violation of section 617.246; or 
possessing pornographic work involving a minor in violation of 
section 617.247, and convicted of or adjudicated delinquent for 
that offense or another offense arising out of the same set of 
circumstances; or 

(3) the person was convicted of a predatory crime as 
defined in section 609.108, and the offender was sentenced as a 
patterned sex offender or the court found on its own motion or 
that of the prosecutor that the crime was part of a predatory 
pattern of behavior that ~ad criminal sexual conduct as its 
goal; or 

(4) the person was convicted of or adjudicated delinquent 
for, including pursuant to a court martial, violating a law of 
the United States, including the Uniform Code of Military 
Justice, similar to the offenses described in clause (1), (2), 
or { 3). 

{b) A person also shall register under this section if: 
(1) the person was convicted of or adjudicated delinquent 

in another state for an offense that would be a violation of a 
law described in paragraph {a) if committed in this state; 

(2) the person enters the state to reside, or to work or 
attend school; and 

(3) ten years have not elapsed since the person was 
released from confinement or, if the person was not confined, 
since the person was convicted of or adjudicated delinquent for· 
the offense that triggers registration, unless the person is 
subject to lifetime registra·tion, in which case the person must 
register for life regardless of when the person was released 
from confinement, convicted, or adjudicated delinquent. 
For purposes of this paragraph: 

(i) "school" includes any public or private educational 
institution, including any secondary school, trade or 
professional institution, or institution of higher education, 
that the person is enrolled in on a full-time or part-time 
basis; and 

{ii) "work" includes employment that is full time or part 
time for a period of time exceeding 14 days or for an aggregate 
period of time exceeding 30 days during any calendar year, 
whether financially compensated, volunteered, or for the purpose 
of government or educational benefit. 

{c) A person also shall register under this section if the 
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person was committed pursuant to a court commitment order under 
section 253B.185 or Minnesota Statutes 1992, section 526.10, or 
a similar law of another state or the United States, regardless 
of whether the person was convicted of any offense. 

(d) A person also shall register under this se~tion if: 
(1) the person was charged with or petitioned for a felony 

violation or attempt to violate any of the offenses listed in 
paragraph (a), clause (1), or a similar law of another state or 
the United States, or the person was charged with or petitioned 
for a violation of any of the offenses listed in parugraph (a), 
clause (2), or a similar law of another state or the United 
States; 

(2) the person was found not guilty by reason of mental 
illness or mental deficiency after a trial for that offense, or 
found guilty but mentally ill after a trial for that offense, in 
states with a guilty but mentally ill verdict; and 

(3) the person was committed pursuant to a court commitment 
order under section 253B.18 or a similar law of another state or 
the United States. 

Subd. 8. Law enforcement authority. For purposes of 
this section, a law enforcement authority means, with respect to 
a home rule charter or statutory city, the chief of police, and 
with respect to an unincorporated area, the sheriff of the 
county. 
246.017 MEDICAL RECORD; POLICY. 

Subdivision 1. System of records and statistics. 
The commissioner of human services shall cause to be devised, 
installed and operated an adequate system of records and 
statistics which shall consist of all basic record forms 
including patient personal records and medical record forms and 
the manner of their use shall be precisely uniform throughout 
all hospitals for the mentally ill. 
609.108 MANDATORY INCREASED SENTENCES FOR CERTAIN 
PATTERNED AND PREDATORY SEX OFFENDERS; NO PRIOR.CONVICTION 
REQUIRED. 

Subd. 2. Increased statutory maximum. If the 
factfinder determines, at the time of the trial or the guilty 
plea, that a predatory offense was motivated by, committed in 
the course of, or committed in furtherance of sexual contact or 
penetration, as defined in section 609.341, and the court is 
imposing a sentence under subdivision 1, the statutory maximum 
imprisonment penalty for the offense is 40 years, 
notwithstanding the statutory maximum imprisonment penalty 
otherwise provided for the offense. 
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Overview 

State of Mbmesota 

S.F. No. 1377 requires indeterminate life sentences for certain egregious first-degree criminal sexual 
conduct offenses; creates a new crime of sixth-degree criminal sexual conduct; requires the Minnesota 
Sentencing Guidelines Commission to modify the sentencing guidelines to reflect the changes made in 
the bill; and makes numerous technical and conforming statutory changes. 

ARTICLEl 

Sex Offenders: Mandatory Life Sentences for Certain 
Egregious and Repeat Sex Offenses; Other Sentencing Changes 

Overview 

Article 1 contains the sex offender sentencing changes, including the indeterminate life sentences, 
creates the new crime of sixth-degree criminal sexual conduct, and requires the Minnesota Sentencing 
Guidelines Commission to modify the sentencing guidelines. grid to reflect the changes made in the bill. 

Section 1 states the legislative findings and intent. 

Section 2 provides that an offender serving an indeterminate life senten~e (see article 1, sections 11, 13, 
15, 17, and 19) may not be given supervised release without having served the minimum term of 
imprisonment as specified by the sentencing court. 

Section 3 requires the Commissioner of Corrections, when considering whether to give supervised 
release to an offender serving an indeterminate life sentence (see article 1, sections 11, 13, 15, 17, and 
19), to consider, at a minimum: · 

• the risk the offender poses to the community if released; 
• the offender's progress in treatment; 
• the offender's behavior while incarcerated; 
• psychological or other diagnostic evaluations of the offender; 
• the offender's criminal history; and 
• any other relevant conduct of the offender while incarcerated or before incarceration. 

Also makes a conforming change related to article 1, section 2. 
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Sections 4 to 6 amend the patterned and predatory offender sentencing law. 

Section 4 adds a cross-reference to the new crime of sixth-degree criminal sexual conduct (see article 1, 
section 19). Strikes language relating to court findings regarding whether the necessary prongs of the 
law have been met. Substitutes for this a determination by the fact finder. These changes are necessary 
in light of the 2004 United States Supreme Court decision, Blakely v. Washington. Strikes other 
language that is no longer necessary in light of the changes made by this article. 

Section 5 strikes the definition of "predatory crime." Replaces this with a cross-reference to what is 
essentially the same definition in article 1, section 10. 

Section 6 makes the same substitution of a fact-finding determination for a court finding as was made in 
article 1, section 4. 

Section 7 amends the repeat sex offender sentencing law to add a cross-reference to the new crime of 
sixth-degree criminal sexual ~onduct (see article 1, section 19). 

Section 8 defines "sex offense" for purposes of the criminal sexual conduct laws to include 
violations/attempts to violate criminal sexual conduct in the first, second, third, fourth, or sixth degree or 
similar federal or state laws. 

Section 9 defines "second or subsequent sex offense" for purposes of the criminal sexual conduct laws. 
Of note, this definition does not require an offender to commit and be convicted of a sex offense before 
the offender commits a subsequent sex offense in order to be considered a repeat offender. Instead, this 
.definition allows an offender who commits more than one sex offense prior to being· convicted as being 
considered a repeat offender (i.e., an offender who commits multiple offenses before being charged and 
convicted of anything can, after a conviction for the first offense, be considered as a repeat offender for 
the other offenses). Also of note, this definition also "counts" prior juvenile adjudications for sex 
offenses. 

Section 10 defines "predatory crime" for purposes of the criminal sexual conduct laws. This definition is 
nearly identical to the definition stricken from the patterned and predatory offender sentencing law in 
article 1, section 5. The only difference is that the new definition does not include criminal sexual 
conduct in the first through fourth degrees because a reference to these crimes is unnecessary under the 
changes made by the article. 

Sections 11 and 12 amend the first-degree criminal sexual conduct crime. 

Section 11 requires an indeterminate life sentence for a person who commits a first-degree criminal 
sexual conduct offense that is considered to be a second or subsequent sex offense as defined in article 
1, section 9. Also requires an indeterminate life sentence if the offender is convicted of first-degree 
criminal sexual conduct and the fact finder determines beyond a reasonable doubt that: 

• the offender tortured the victim; 
• the offender intentionally inflicted great bodily harm upon the victim; 
• the offender kidnapped the victim; 
• the victim was under the age of 13 at the time of the offense; 
• the offender knowingly committed the offense in the presence of a child under the age of 13; 
• the offender was armed with a dangerous weapon and used or threatened to use it to cause the 

victim to submit; 
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• the offense involved sexual penetration/contact of the victim by a foreign object or an animal; 
• the offense involved sexual penetration/contact of more than one victim; or 
• the offense involved more than one perpetrator engaging in sexual penetration/contact with the 

victim. 

Specifies that the fact finder may not consider one of these elements if it already is an element of the 
underlying first-degree criminal ·sexual conduct violation. Requires the court to specify a minimum term 
of imprisonment that must be served before an offender serving an indeterminate life sentence under this 
section may be considered for supervised release. Defines "torture." 

Section 12 makes a conforming change relating to article 1, section 11. 

Sections 13, 15, and 17 amend the penalty subdivisions of criminal sexual conduct in the second, third, 
and fourth· degrees to require an indeterminate life sentence for offenders who commit these crimes 
where the offense is considered a second or subsequent offense as defined in article 1, section 9. Makes 
other conforming and structural changes. 

Sections 14, 16, and 18 amend other provisions of criminal sexual conduct in the second, third, and 
fourth degrees to make conforming changes consistent with this article. 

Section 19 creates a new crime of criminal sexual conduct in the sixth degree, which occurs if an 
offender commits a predatory crime (see definition in article 1, section 10) that was motivated by the 
offender's sexual impulses or was committed as part of predatory pattern of behavior that had criminal 
sexual conduct as its goal. Provides a statutory maximum penalty for this offense of seven years 
imprisonment and/or payment of a fine of up to $20,000. Requires that an offender convicted of this 
crime where the offense is considered a second or subsequent sex offense as defined in article 1, section 
9, must be sentenced to an indeterminate life sentence. For an indeterminate life sentence, the court must 
specify a minimum term of imprisonment that must be served before the offender may be considered for 
supervised release. Thus, a person convicted of this new crime who is a repeat sex offender will receive 
the same type of indeterminate life sentence as a repeat first through fourth- degree criminal sexual 
conduct offender, or egregious first-degree criminal sexual conduct offender. 

Section 20 requires the Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines Commission to modify the sentencing 
guidelines, including the guidelines grid, to reflect the changes made in this act. These changes must be 
based on the Commission's proposal in its January 2005 Report to the Legislature but must be adapted 
by the Commission to reflect the changes made in this act. These modifications go into effect on August 
1, 2005. 

Section 21 repeals a provision of the patterned and predatory offender sentencing statute providing for 
an increased statutory maximum penalty. This provision is no longer necessary based on the changes 
made in this article. 

ARTICLE2 

Sex Offenders: Technical and Conforming Changes 

Overview 

Article. 2 makes technical and conforming changes relating to the substantive changes made in article 1. 
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Sections 1 to 15 make technical and conforming changes to various statutes necessitated by article 1 of 
this bill. Of note, article 2, section 1, clarifies that the definition of "rule" in chapter 14 does not include 
rules of the Commissioner of Corrections relating to the release or release term of inmates on supervised 
or conditional release. Also of note, article 2, section 5, provides timetables for the actions of the end of 
confinement review committees relating to offenders subject to indeterminate life sentences under 
article 1. 

Section 16 instructs the Revisor of Statutes to renumber the sex offender assessment statute so that it 
does not fall numerically between fifth-degree criminal sexual conduct and the new sixth-degree 
criminal sexual conduct crime created in article 1, sectiOn 19. Also directs the Revisor to make other 
technical changes to statutes necessitated by this act. 
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Consolidated Fiscal Note - 2005-06 Session 

Bill#: S1377-0 . Complete Date: 

Chief Author: SKOGLUND, WESLEY 

Title: MODIFY SEX OFFENDERS SENTENCING REQ 

Agencies: Corrections Dept (03/10/05) 
Human Services Dept 
Public Defense Board (03/22/05) 

Fiscal Impact Yes 
State x 
Local x 
Fee/Departmental Earnings x 
Tax Revenue 

Supreme Court 
Sentencing Guidelines Comm (03/10/05) 
Public Safety Dept (03/10/05) 

No 

x 

Th" bl fl IS ta ere ects fi I . 1sca 1moac to state government. L t. fl d. h oca oovemmen 1moact 1s re ecte mt e .narrative omv. 
Dollars (in thousands) FY05 FY06 FY07 FY08 FY09 

Net Expenditures 
General Fund 0 3,332 8,057 9,372 11,229 

Public Defense Board 3,332 7,020 7,020 7,020 
Corrections Dept 0 0 1,037 2,352 . 4,209 

Revenues 
-No Impact-

Net Cost <Savings> 
.· :Genera1 Ft.ind -0 .3,332 . 8,057 ., . 9;372 .•. 11,229' 

Public Defense Board 3,332 7,020 7,020 7,020 
Corrections Dept 0 0 1,037 2,352 4,209 

.. · ·.·.· TotalCost<Savings>.t4lfhe State·· . {) .. 3.332 ·1. . 8,057.··.· . ·9 .• 372 .· .... 11,229·, : .· 

FY05 FY06 FY07 FY08 FY09 
Full Time Equivalents 

General °Furid. 
.. , 

o~oo: · .. ;::52~00 68;60 ·: 89~60:·: .. ·.119~30. .... ·" . 

Public Defense Board 52.00 52.00 52.00 52.00 
Corrections Dept 0.00 0.00 16.60 37.60 67.30 

Total FTE 0.00 52.00 68.60 89.60 119.30 
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Fiscal Note - 2005-06 Session 

Bill#: S1377-0 Complete Date: 03/10/05 

Chief Author: SKOGLUND, WESLEY 

Title: MODIFY SEX OFFENDERS SENTENCING REQ 

Agency Name: Corrections Dept 

Fiscal Impact 
State 

Local 

Fee/Departmental Earnings 

Tax Revenue 

Yes No 
x 
x 

x 
x 

fl d This table reflects fisca impact to state Qovernment. Local oovernm_ent impact 1s re ecte in the narrative onlv. 
Dollars (in thousands) FY05 FY06 FY07 FY08 FY09 

Expenditures 
. General Fund 0 0 1,037 2,352 4,209 

Less Agency Can Absorb 
-No Impact-

Net Expenditures 
General Fund 0 0 1,037 2,352. 4,209 

Revenues 
- No Impact-

Net Cost <Savings> 
General Fund 0 0 1,037 2,352 4,209 
Total Cost <Savings> to the State 0 0 1,037 2,352 4,209 

FY05 FY06 FY07 FY08 FY09 
Full Time Equivalents 

General Fund 0.00 0.00 16.60 37.60 67.30 
Total FTE 0.00 0.00 ·16.60 37.60 67.30 
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Bill Description 
This bill establishes mandatory indeterminate life sentences for some criminal sexual conduct offenses. Offenders 
receiving these life sentences would be eligible to be considered for release after serving a minimum term 
pronounced by the sentencing court. The mandatory life sentences would apply to first degree offenders when one 
from a specific list of aggravating factors is present, as. long as that factor is not an element of the offense. 
Indeterminate life sentences are also mandated for repeat first through fourth degree offenders Offenses that qualify 
as prior sex offenses are expanded to include prior juvenile adjudications. The definition of a subsequent sex offense 
is also changed to include any conviction following a previous conviction for a sex offense regardless of when the 
offenses occurred. For other first through fourth degree offenses, the penalties prescribed by the Sentencing 
Guidelines Commission's sex offender grid would apply. 

The bill also modifies and renumbers statute M.S. §609.108 - the patterned sex offender sentencing provision. It 
removes the "predatory crimes" from this provision and creates a new sixth degree criminal sexual conduct offense. 
This offense would consist of one of the predatory crimes that was motivated by the offender's sexual impulses or was 
part of a predatory pattern of behavior that had criminal sexual conduct as its goal. The statutory maximum for this 
offense would be seven years. If the predatory crime is a subsequent sex offense, the offender would qualify for the 
mandatory indeterminate life sentence. 
See guidelines 

Assumptions 
• According to the Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines Commission there will be a significant increase in the 

need for prison beds. The impact of this bill is relatively clear for the first few years and after that point a 
range of beds is provided. In the long-term fiscal considerations section a range of costs will be provided for 
future years 

• Prison bed costs are based on a marginal cost per diem for each fiscal year. The annual per diems are as 
follows: FY06 $69.85, FY07 $70.91, FY08 $71.99, and FY09 $73.10. This includes marginal costs for all 
facility, private and public bed rental, health care, and support costs. 

• In order to estimate the annual cost the number of prison beds needed is phased in on a quarterly basis. 
Then multiplying the number of beds for each quarter by the subsequ.ent annual per diem determines the 
estimate for the annual costs of prison beds. 

• Prison bed FTE impact for the increase in the inmate population assumes 80 percent of the ongoing bed 
impact is personnel-related and the average salary is $50,000 per year including benefits. 

• The provisions of this bill also provide that any offender with a life sentence that is released from prison will 
remain on conditional release for the remainder of life. This will increase supervision caseloads by up to 
3,000 offenders statewide. 

• Costs for supervision of these offenders is only mentioned in long-term fiscal considerations as it could be 
many years before the impact is felt on supervision caseloads 

• This bill is effective August 1, 2005~ 

Expenditure and/or Revenue Formula 

Fiscal Year 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 
Number of Prison Beds 0 0 64 143 252 
Costs of Prison Beds $0 $0 $1,037 $2,352 $4,209 
(1=1,000) 
FTE 0 0 16.6 37.6 67.3 

Long-Term Fiscal Considerations 
The long-term fiscal considerations are substantial. In 2060 the number of prison beds needed may range from 
945 to 5,455. This would be a cost of $25.2 million to $145.5 million (calculated in FY05 dollars). 

Based on the indeterminate sentencing provisions of this bill there will be a minimal savings in supervision 
caseloads from 2020 until 2025 by offenders serving an additional 5 years beyond current practice. These small 
savings will be offset very quickly beginning in 2025 when it is estimated that 152 offenders per year will be 
released and required to serve an estimated 20 years longer than current practice on conditional supervised 
release. The accumulative effect of this bill will be significant. · 
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local Government Costs 
The provisions of this bill will have an impact on local law enforcement costs that may be significant with regards . 

· to community notification activities. There is the possibility of some savings in the use of local jails a11d 
workhouses for these offenders. There also would be a small decrease in felony probation caseloads of 80 
offenders a year who are currently receiving probation sentences but will, under the provisions of this bill, receive 
executed prison sentences. 

References/Sources 
Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines staff. 
Minnesota Department of Corrections staff. 

FN Coard Signature: DENNY FONSECA 
Date: 03/10/05 Phone: 642-0220 

EBO Comments 

I have reviewed this Fiscal Note for accuracy and content. 

EBO Signature: JIM KING 
Date: 03/10/05 Phone: 296-7964 
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Fiscal Note - 2005-06 Session 

Bill#: S1377-0; Complete Date: 

Chief Author: SKOGLUND, WESLEY 

Title: MODIFY SEX OFFENDERS SENTENCING REQ 

Agency Name: Human Services Dept 

Fiscal Impact 
State 

Local 

Fee/Departmental Earnings 

Tax Revenue 

Yes No 
x 
x 
x 

x 

This table reflects fiscal imoact to state government. local government impact is reflected in the narrative onlv. 
Dollars (in thousands) FYOS FY06 FY07 FY08 FY09 

Expenditures 
-No Impact-

less Agency Can Absorb 
-No lmoact-

Net Expenditures 
-No Impact-

Revenues 
-No lmoact-

Net Cost <Savings> 
-No Impact-
Total Cost <Savings> to the State 

FY05 FY06 FY07 FY08 FY09 
Full Time Equivalents 

-- No lmoact -
Total FTE 
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NARRATIVE: SF 1377/HF 1724 

Bill Description 
This bill provides for indeterminate and mandatory life sentences for certain sex offenses and creates the crime of 
sixth degree criminal sexual conduct. The bill also directs the Sentencing Guidelines Commission to modify 
sentencing guidelines. 

Assumptions 

Presently, the growth for the Min~esota Sex Offender program (MSOP) population is projecte.d to increase an 
average of 23 individuals per fiscal year. This projection is based on the number of high-risk sex offenders 
currently serving their sentence in the Department of Corrections that will be referred for civil committed to the 
MSOP program. On average, individuals serve nine years in the Department of Corrections prior to being 
referred to the Minnesota Sex Offender program. 

With the enactment of this bill, the Department of Human Services does not anticipate a change in the 
commitment referrals to the MSOP program from the Department of Corrections until fiscal year 2013. Due to the 
volatility in the number of convictions, the criminal characteristics involved and the current number. of individuals 
serving sentences in. Corrections, it is impossible to estimate fiscal impact to the program this far. in the future. 

Expenditure and/or Revenue Formula 

N/A 

Long-Term Fiscal Considerations 

Any changes in cost to the Department of Human Services will not be realized until fiscal year 2013 or beyond. 

Local Government Costs 

Counties currently pay 10% of the per diem rate. As the population changes, the county total financial liability will 
also change. 

References/Sources 

Agency Contact Name: Shirley Jacobson 582-1876 
FN Coard Signature: STEVE BART A 
Date: 03/14/05 Phone: 296-5685 
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Fiscal Note - 2005-06 Session 

Bill#: S1377-0 Complete Date: 03/10/05 

Chief Author: SKOGLUND, WESLEY 

Title: MODIFY SEX OFFENDERS SENTENCING REQ 

Agency Name: Public Safety Dept 

Fiscal Impact 
State 
Local 

Fee/Departmental Earnings 
Tax Revenue 

Yes No 
x 
x 
x 
x 

fl fi I . fl d. h This table re ects 1sca impact to state government. Local government impact 1s re ecte 1n t e narrative onlv~ 
Dollars (in thousands) FY05 FY06 FY07 FY08 FY09 

Expenditures 
-No Impact-

Less Agency Can Absorb 
- No Impact - . 

Net Expenditures 
-No Impact-

Revenues 
-No Impact-

Net Cost <Savings> 
-No Impact-
Total Cost <Savings> to the State 

FYOS FY06 FY07 FY08 FY09 
Full Time Equivalents 

-No Impact-
Total FTE 
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Agency Contact Name: AnnMarie O'Neill 651 793-7000 
FN Coord Signature: FRANK AHRENS 
Date: 03/10/05 Phone: 296-9484 

EBO Comments 

I have reviewed this Fiscal Note for accuracy and content. 

EBO Signature: NORMAN FOSTER 
Date: 03/10/05 Phone: 215-0594 
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Fiscal Note - 2005-06 Session 

Bill #: 51377-0 Complete Date: 03/10/05 

Chief Author: SKOGLUND, WESLEY 

Title: MODIFY SEX OFFENDERS SENTENCING REQ 

Agency Name: Sentencing Guidelines Comm 

Fiscal Impact 
State 

Local 

Fee/Departmental Earnings 

Tax Revenue 

Yes No 
x 

x 
x 
x 

This table reflects fiscal impact to state government. Local government impact is reflected in the narrative only. 
Dollars (in thousands) FY05 FY06 FY07 FYOS FY09 

Expenditures 
-- No Impact -

less Agency Can Absorb 
-No Impact-

Net Expenditures 
-No Impact-

Revenues 
- No Impact-

Net Cost <Savings> 
-No Impact-
Total Cost <Savings> to the State 

FY05 FY06 FY07 FY08 FY09 
Full Time Equivalents 

- No lmoact-
Total FTE 
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Bill Description 

This bill establishes mandatory indeterminate life sentences for some criminal sexual conduct offenses. Offenders 
receiving these life sentences would be eligible to be considered for release after serving a minimum term 
pronounced by the sentencing court. The mandatory life sentences would apply to first d~gree offenders when one 
from a specific list of aggravating factors is present, as long as that. factor is not an element of ·the offense. 
Indeterminate life sentences are also mandated for repeat first through fourth degree offenders Offenses that qualify 
as prior sex offenses are expanded to include prior juvenile adjudications. The definition of a subsequent sex offense 
is also changed to include any conviction following a previous conviction for a sex offense regardless of when the 
offenses occurred. For other first through fourth degree offenses, the penalties prescribed by the Sentencing 
Guidelines Commission's sex offen~er grid would apply. 

The bill also modifies and renumbers statute M.S. §609.108 - the patterned sex offender sentencing provision. It 
removes the "predatory crimes" from this provision and creates a new sixth degree criminal sexual conduct offense. 
This offense would consist of one of the predatory crimes that was motivated by the offender's sexual impulses or was 
part of a predatory pattern of behavior that had criminal sexual conduct as its goal. The statutory maximum for this 
offense would be seven years. If the predatory crime is a subsequent sex offense, the offender would qualify for the 
mandatory indeterminate life sentence. 

The bill is effective for crimes committed on or after August 1 , 2005. 

Assumptions 

Projections based on Current Policies and Sentencing Practices as Reflected in MSGC data for Offenders Sentenced 
in 2003 

•!• Number of Offenders 

Indeterminate life Sentences: MSGC identified 144 repeat sex offenders who would qualify for life sentences. 
These offenders are listed by type of prior offense in the table below as well as the percent in each group currently 
receiving executed sentences. Also displayed is their degree of conviction. Because the bill specifies that offenders 
who qualify shall receive a life sentence, it is assumed that executed prison sentences would be required for all of 
these offenders 

This provision also applies to other offenders convicted of first degree offenses, if one from a specified list of 
aggravating factors is present, and the aggravating factor is not an element of the offense. It is not known how many 
of these offenders would be found by the fact finder to have the specified circumstances necessary to qualify for a life 
sentence. MSGC staff identified eight first-degree offenders who were not repeat offenders that received aggravated 
durational departures that were twice the presumptive sentence or longer, and for whom the court cited departure 
factors that appear related to the circumstances listed in this provision (departure reasons such as vulnerability of 
victim, particular cruelty, severity of injury, presence of young children). For the projections, it is assumed that eight 
first degree offenders a year who are not repeat offenders and are currently receiving aggravated durational departure 
would meet the requirements specified for a life sentence. 

Offenders Eligible for Indeterminate li~e Sentences 

Group I Number I Percent Executed I 

51377-0 Page 10of19 



Prison Sentences 
First Degree off enders with aaaravatinQ factors 8 8 (100%) 
Offenders with True Prior Sex Offenses (convicted on prior before 54 48 (89%) 
commit current offense) 
Others with Prior Sex Offenses (not convicted on prior before date of 82 38 (46%) 
current offense 
Offenders with a prior Juvenile Adjudication for a Criminal Sexual 8 4 (100%) 
Conduct Offense 
Total 152 98 (65%) 

Conviction Degree Number of Offenders Eligible 
for Life With Release Possible 

First 53 
Second 42 
Third 38 
Fourth 19 
Total 152 

It is unclear how many offenders would qualify as predatory offenders under the new criminal sexual predatory 
conduct provision. Such offenders are currently eligible for sentencing as patterned sex offenders. None of the 

offenders sentenced as patterned sex offenders in 2003 were sentenced for an offense other than criminal sexual 
conduct. Since 1990, the patterned sex offender provision has only been used seven times for offenses other 

than criminal sexual conduct. Therefore, the impact presented here is limited to offenders sentenced for c_riminal 
sexual conduct offenses. 

Other Offenders: Criminal sexual conduct offenders not covered by the life sentence provision would be subject to 
the new modifications to the Sentencing Guidelines for sex offenders. Of the 607 offenders sentenced for criminal 
sexual conduct offenses in 2003, 152 would qualify for life sentences and 455 would remain. Of ~hese remaining 
offenders, 152 currently receive executed prison sentences, and it is projected that 161 would receive executed 
sentences under the Guidelines modifications.- It is assumed that offenders currently receiving mitigated departures 
would continue to do so. 

•!• Length of Incarceration 

Indeterminate Life Sentences: The length of time that will be served by these offenders, beyond what is served 
under current practices, is uncertain. Not all of the offenders sentenced in 2003 were eligible for the longer 
presumptive sentences created in statute for certain first and second degree criminal sexual conduct offenses. These 
provisions will cover all future offenders. Therefore, the estimates presented here are based on the assumption that 
unless an offender received a mitigated durational departure, in the future they would have received the higher 
presumptive sentences now in effect The bill states that these offenders must serve a minimum term to be 
determined by the sentencing court before eeing considered for release. Currently, the minimum term of 
imprisonment served by offenders is defined by statute as two-thirds of the total pronounced executed sentence. 
Through the use on consecutive sentences, offenders can serve longer than 20 years under current practices. It is 
assumed here that the minimum term to be served will be two-thirds of the new presumptive sentence from the 
Guidelines revised sex offender grid modifications, or what the offender is currently serving, whichever is longer. It is 
unknown how long offenders will serve beyond the minimum term before they are released or how many actually will 
ever be released. 

Because of these uncertainties, a range of estimated prison impact is presented. Information is provided on the 
number of additional beds needed as a res1;1lt of offenders serving additional time (on average two years, five years, 
10 years, 20 years, and never being released). In order to determine the maximum amount of time these offenders 
could serve, different lengths of time to serve until death were applied to offenders based on their age at the time of 
sentencing. For example, those under age 25 were assumed to live an additional 55 years, while those in the 41-45 
age group were assumed to live an additional 33 years. For the scenarios involving offenders serving 5 or more years 
beyond the minimum, these life expectancies were also applied. 
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Impact on State and Local Correctional Resources 

•!• Impact on Prison Bed Needs 

Indeterminate Life Sentences: The specific impact of the provision for these sentences is uncertain, but is projected 
to be significant. If all .of these offenders serve the minimum term of imprisonment (assumed to be the new 
presumptive sentences on the sex offender grid), it is projected that 44 7 additional prison beds would be required. 
However, offenders would have to apply for release, and, therefore, it is not reasonable to assume that all would be 
released after serving only the minimum term of imprisonment. If 152 offenders a year receive life sentences, the 
impact could range from 745 additional beds (if all were released after serving two years beyond the minimum) to 
3,230 beds (if, on average, offenders served an additional 20 years). If these offenders were never released and 
served a life sentence, there would be a need for 5,255 additional prison beds. Because some of these offenders are 
not currently receiving executed prison sentences, some impact will be realized the first year this sentencing change 
affects cases. · 

The table below displays the potential impact based on various assumptions regarding the number of years, on 
average, which offenders would be required to serve before release. The Impact is displayed separately for offenders 
who currently receive probationary sentences and those who are currently receiving an executed prison sentence. 

life Sentence When Mandated for First through Fourth Degree Sex Offenders 
Additional Prison Beds Reauired Based On Time Served Before Release 

Minimum Minimum Minimum Minimum Minimum Serve Life 

Type of (Based on (20 years) (20 years) (20 years) (20 years) 
(Time Serv~d 

Offender Guidelines based on Age 
Modifications) + 2 years + 5 years + 10 years + 20 years at 

Sentencing) 

Current 
Probation 
(54 Offenders) 187 450 731 1,187 1,991 3,000 

Current Prison 

(98 Offenders) 260 295 457 724 1,240 2,255 

Total 

(152 Offenders) 447 745 1,188 1,911 3,231 5,255 

Other Offenders: Two hundred additional prison beds are projected to be needed for the remaining criminal sexual 
conduct offenders who would be sentenced according the modified guidelines. Nine of these offenders are currently 
receiving probation sentences. 

Timing of Prison Beds Needed: An 11 month delay is assumed from the time the bill takes effect to the time impact 
is realized because there are often certain delays related to sex offenses (e.g., between offense dates, reporting 
dates, and conviction dates). Additionally, a delay is assumed because offenders subject to a life sentence are more 
likely to go to trial. The tables below show the estimated bed impact by fiscal year for the various scenarios fqr how 
long offenders given indeterminate sentences would serve before being released. 

Number of Prison Beds Needed Each Year 
For Proposed Life Sentences With and Without Release 

And Other Criminal Sexual Conduct Offenders 
With Various Scenarios For Amounts of Time Served Before Release 
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Other CSC- Indeterminate life 
Fiscal Guidelines No 
Year Minimum Minimum Minimum Minimum 

Modifications + 2 years + 5 years + 10 years + 20 years Release Total 

2007 9 55 55 55 55 55 64 
2008 28 115 115 115 115 115 143 
2009 55 197 197 197 197 197 252 
2010 81 268 286 286 286 286 349-367 
2011 102 331 382 382 382 382 433-484 
2012 114 385 484 484 484 484 499-598 
2013 123 430 571 588 588 588 553-711 
2014 127 467 644 696 696 696 594-823 
2015 137 506 715 814 814 814 643-951 
2016 148 539 780 937 937 937 687-1085 
2017 157 562 836 1062 1062 1062 719-1219 
2018 162 583 883 1171 1188 1188 745-1350 
2019 167 603 921 1266 1316 1316 770-1483 
2020 172 620 946 1347 1444 1444 792-1616 
2021 177 637 971 1417 1572 1572 814-1749 
2022 182 651 992 1476 1701 1701 833-1883 
2023 187 668 1016 1532 1835 1835 855-2022 
2024 192 685 1041 1578 1969 1969 877-2161 
2025 195 696 1062 1612 2103 2103 891-2298 
2026 199 708 1084 ·1647 2240 2240 907-2439 
2027 200 723 1108 1682 2380 2380. 923-2580 
2028 200 737 1126 1714 2501 2518 937-2718 
2029 200 . 738 1142 1746 2608 2656 938-2856 
2030 200 738 1157 1775 2700 2794 938-2994 
2031 200. 739 1172 1802 2784 2933 939-3133 
2032 200 740 1174 1826 2851 3063 940-3263 
2033 200 741 1176 1844 2910 3194 941-3394 
2034 200 743 1179 1862 2963 3326 943-3526 
2035 200 744 1182 1880 3003 3458 944-3658 
2036 200 745 1184 1896 3043 3590 945-3790 
2037 200 745 1186 1900 3073 3705 945-3905 
2038 200 745 1188 1903 3102 3820 945-4020 
2039 ·200 745 1188 ........... 1906 3130 3935. 945-4135. 
2040 200 745 1188 1908 3150 4034 945-4234 
2041 200 745 1188 1909 3168 4133 945-4333 
2042 200 745 1188 1910 3185 4232 945-4432 
2043 200 745 1188 1911 3198 4331 945-4531 
2044 200 745 1188 1911 3209 4430 945-4630 
2045 200 745 1188 1911 3216 4505 .945-4705 
2046 200 745 1188 1911 3223 4580 945-4780 
2047 200 745 1188 1911 3225 4655 945-4855 
2048 200 745 1188 1911 3227 4730 945-4930 
2049 200 745 1188 1911 3229 4805 945-5005 
2050 200 745 1188 1911 3230 4858 945-5058 
2051 200 745 1188 1911 3231 4911 945-5111 
2052 200 745 1188 1911 3231 4964 945-5164 
2053 200 745 1188 1911 3231 5017 945-5217 
2054 200 745 1188 1911 3231 5051 945-5251 
2055 200 745 1188 1911 3231 5085 945-5285 
2056 200 745 1188 1911 3231 5119 945-5319 
2057 200 745 1188 1911 3231 5153 945-5353 
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Other CSC- Indeterminate Life 
Fiscal Guidelines No 
Year Minimum Minimum Minimum Minimum 

Modifications + 2 years + 5 years + 10 years + 20 years Release Total 

2058 200 745 1188 1911 3231 5187 945-5387 
2059 200 745 1188 1911 3231 5221 945-5421 
2060 200 745 1188 1911 3231 5255 945-5455 

Impact on Conditional Release Caseloads: It is assumed that any offenders with a life sentence that are released 
from prison will remain on conditional release for the remainder of their lives. The increase in supervision caseloads 
could be significant. The offenders in this group currently receiving executed sentences now serve at least 60 months 
on conditional release. Those who meet the current definition of subsequent offenders must serve 10 years on 
conditional release. If, for example, 157 offenders per year receive indeterminate sentences, and they are released 
after serving five yea.rs beyond what they would under current sentencing provisions, they can be expected to serve 
approximately 20 more years on conditional release than they are currently serving, resulting in an eventual 
supervised release caseload increase of ·over 3,000 offenders. If they serve 20 years in prison beyond what they 
would under current sentencing provisions, they can be expected to serve approximately five more years on 
conditional release than they are currently serving, resulting in an eventual supervised release ca~eload increase of 
over 700 offenders. 

In addition, given the increased periods of supervised release for these offenders, it is reasonable to assume that 
additional prison beds will be needed to accommodate an increased number of conditional release revocations. 
Currently, ·supervised release return rates are higher for sex offenders than for any other group of released offenders, 
accounting for 42% of the prison admissions for sex offenders in 2003. With an increase in the number of sex 
offenders on conditional release supervision and the increased period of supervision, an increase in release 
revocations is highly probable and has the potential to have an additional ·significant impact on the number of prison 
t>eds required above what is indicated in this analysis. · 

Local Resources: There is the possibility of some savings in the use of local jail and workhouse beds for these 
offenders. Sex offenders with presumptive prison sentences who instead receive probationary sentences are almost 
always required to serve local jail time as a condition of probation. In 2003, 84% of the criminal sexual conduct 
offenders who received mitigated dispositional departures had local jail time pronounced as a condition of probation 
with an average pronounced duration of 277 days. There also would be a decrease in felony probation caseloads of 
80 .offenders a year who are currently receiving probation sentences but will, under the provisions of this bill, receive 
executed prison sentences. 

FN Coard Signature: ANNE WALL 
Date: 03/08/05 Phone: 296-0144 

EBO Comments 

I have reviewed this Fiscal Note for accuracy and content. 

EBO Signature: JIM KING 
Date: 03/10/05 Phone: 296-7964 

81377-0 Page 14of19 



Fiscal Note - 2005-06 Session 

Bill#: S1377-0 Complete Date: 

Chief Author: SKOGLUND, WESLEY 

Title: MODIFY SEX OFFENDERS SENTENCING REQ 

Agency Name: Supreme Court 

Fiscal Impact Yes No 
State 

local 
Fee/Departmental Earnings 

Tax Revenue 

This table reflects fiscal impact to state oovernment. Local oovernment impact is reflected in the narrative only. 
Dollars (in thousands) FY05 FY06 FY07 FY08 FY09 

Expenditures 
- No Impact-

Less Agency Can Absorb 
-No Impact-

Net Expenditures 
-- No Impact -

Revenues 
- No Impact-

Net Cost <Savings> 
-- No Impact -
Total Cost <Savings> to the State 

FYOS FY06 FY07 FY08 FY09 
Full Time Equivalents 

-- No Impact-
Total FTE 

S1377-0 Page 15of19 



Bill Description 
This bill establishes mandatory indeterminate life sentences for some criminal sexual conduct offenses. Offenders 
receiving these life sentences would be eligible to be considered for release after serving a minimum term 
pronounced by the sentencing court. The mandatory life sentences would apply to first degree offenders when one 
from a specific list of aggravating factors is present, as long as that factor is not an element of the offense. 
Indeterminate life sentences are also mandated for repeat first through fourth degree offenders Offenses that qualify 
as prior sex offenses are expanded to include prior juvenile adjudications. The definition of a subsequent sex offense 
is also changed to include any conviction following a previous conviction for a sex offense regardless of when the 
offenses occurred. For other first through fourth degree offenses, the penalties prescribed by the Sentencing 
Guidelines Commission's sex offender grid would apply. 

The bill also modifies and renumbers statute M.S. §609.108 - the patterned sex offender sentencing provision. It 
removes the "predatory crimes" from this provision and creates a new sixth degree criminal sexual conduct offense. 
This offense would consist of one of the predatory crimes that was motivated by the offender's sexual impulses or was 
part of a predatory pattern of behavior that had criminal sexual conduct as its goal. The statutory maximum for this 
offense would be seven years. If the predatory crime is a subsequent sex offense, the offender would qualify for the 
mandatory indeterminate life sentence. 

The bill is effective for crimes committed on or after August 1, 2005. 

Assumptions 

Expenditure and/or Revenue Formula 

Long-Term Fiscal Considerations 

Local Government Costs 

References/Sources 
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Fiscal Note - 2005-06 Session 

Bill#: S1377-0 Complete Date: 03/22/05 

Chief Author: SKOGLUND, WESLEY 

Title: MODIFY SEX OFFENDERS SENTENCING REQ 

Agency Name: Public Defense Board 

Fiscal Impact 
State 

Local 

Fee/Departmental Earnings 

Tax Revenue 

Yes No 
x 

x 
x 
x 

fl fi 1· ctt This table re ects 1sca 1mpa o state government. L fl d. h oca government impact 1s re ecte tn t e narrative on1y. 
Dollars (in thousands) FY05 FY06 FY07 FY08 FY09 

Expenditures 
General Fund 3,332 7,020 7,020 7,020 

Less Agency Can Absorb 
-No Impact-

Net Expenditures 
General Fund 3,332 7,020 7,020 7,020 

Revenues 
- No Impact --

Net Cost <Savings> 
General Fund 3,332 7,020 7,020 7,020 
Total Cost <Savings> to the State 3,332 7,020 7,020 7,020 

FY05 FY06 FY07 FY08 FY09 
Full Time Equivalents 

General Fund 52.00 52.00 52.00 52.00 
Total FTE 52.00 52.00 52.00 52.00 
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Bill Description 
This bill provides for indeterminate life sentences for CSC 1 if accompanied by any of 9 aggravating factors. It 
provides for indeterminate life sentences for any second CSC 1, 2, 3, or 4, or the new CSC 6, which refers to a 
range of sexually motivated "predatory crimes." The "first offense" would include any CSC juvenile adjudication. 
Provisions are made for offenders serving life terms to apply for supervised release. 
For CSC crimes not subject to life sentences, a new Guidelines grid is mandated, and the statutory maximums 
are doubled. 

Assumptions 
The creation of many possibilities for indeterminate life sentences, particularly for the "second offense" in the 
lower degrees of CSC, is a huge change from the Sentencing Guidelines that Minnesota has used for 25 years. 
Under the Guidelines, even very serious cases can be plea bargained either by adjusting the charges or by 
agreeing to accept or give up a possible departure, so that all parties know exactly what the sentence will be prior 
to the entry of the plea, or at least, before the court accepts the plea. 

The "indeterminate life sentence" does not offer the alleged offender any break in exchange for a plea, so many 
more cases will go to trial. This includes the "aggravated CSC 1," and all the "second offense" other CSC cases. 
In addition, although most "first offense" cases will still be on the Guidelines grid, exposure to longer sentences 
and the knowledge that a conviction is a first step to a life sentence, will lead to more trials. Moreover, people 
convicted at trial have a much, much higher rate of appeal than people who plead guilty, because the Appellate 
Office has the discretion to decline guilty plea appeals if they lack merit. CSC cases that go to trial produce long, 
expensive, complex transcripts containing many possible appellate issues. 

The creation of CSC 6 also will lead to more trials, because it converts 16 common felonies into sex crimes, again 
with the understanding that a second offense means a life sentence. 

Further, the inclusion of a juvenile adjudication as a ''first offense" will increase litigation substantially in Juvenile 
Court. There are currently about 500 juveniles charged with delinquency based on CSC in MinDesota every year, 
but very few of them go to trial because the Juvenile Court emphasizes planning the appropriate rehabilitation for 
Each individual. If the case is seen instead as a first step to a life sentence there will be more stays of 
adjudication, but also many more trials. 

Expenditure and/or Revenue Formula 
Trial Level 
The Sentencing Guidelines Commission reports that in calendar year (CY) 2002 there were 558 felony level 
convictions for sexual offenses with 35% of these resulting in prison time. Using the Supreme Court's estimated 
trial rate of 70% for these types of cases this would result in an additional 137 trials. In addition, there would be 
additional trials based on the creation of a new category of offense criminal sexual conduct 6, (Estimated at 60) 
for a total of 197 new trials. This number may be low. With the prospect of the life sentence being involved, a 
vast majority of these cases will go to trial. When polled recently District Chief Public Defenders could only recall 
twelve to fifteen cases over the last twenty years where a defendant looking at life in prison without possibility of 
parole, ultimately pied guilty. 

Finally, there will be an increase in the number of trials in juvenile court as result of having juvenile adjudications 
count as an offense when the individual is an adult. According to the Supreme Court there were approximately 
500 juvenile CSC petitions in 2003. Even using the current trial rate for CSC II cases (24%) and accounting for 
public defender representation rates, this would yield an additional 108 trials on the juvenile level. I these tend 
not to be as long as a jury trial but the prep time and investigation time is just as great. 

Based on two hundred trials and assuming two attorneys per case (standar~ in cases with life sentences) a trial 
lasting on average 1.5 weeks with, with 1.5 weeks of preparation time, we can expect an additional 40,000 hours 
of public defender time being necessary to try these cases. In addition there would be a need for an additional 
8,600 hours of time to try the juvenile cases. Based on a regular year and accounting for vacation, holidays and 
other time off, there would be a need for an additional 27 FTE attorneys around the state. In addition, based on 
the Board's Weighted Caseload Study there would be a need for five additional investigators, four dispositional 
advisors, four paralegals, and three legal secretary positions. These cases would also require extensive use of 
expert witnesses, psychological exams, and DNA analysis. 

Appeals 
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Under this bill we can expect approximately one ninety seven additional adult trials around the state and an 
additional 108 juvenile trials. Assuming that some of these folks are acquitted, and some will not be appealed, it 
still may be expected that there will be one hundred seventy five appeals filed in these cases. 

This would require an additional eight attorneys and two legal secretaries in the in the OSPD. Assuming that 
staff is hired at just above entry level, costs directly related to personnel would be $700,000. Another 
consideration is the cost of trial transcripts in these cases. Typically these would be quite long and costly. 
Assuming a one week trial we would estimate that the trial transcript could be approximately $3,500 per case, or 
$612,000. . 

TOTAL 
151 Year- $3,332,000 (Phased in) 
2"d Year- $7,020,000 

long-Term Fiscal Considerations 
The process for seeking release under this bill may also require counsel. Significant costs will also be incurred as 
the result of the penalties in the bill. While these have not been included here, they are a consideration for the 
future. 

FN Coard Signature: KEVIN KAJER 
Date: 03/21/05 Phone: 349-2565 

EBO Comments 

The agency has projected costs based on its estimate of the number of additional cases and workload involved 
with trials and appeals. · 

EBO Signature: JIM KING 
Date: 03/22/05 Phone: 296-7964 
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Senators Skoglund and Neuville introduced--

S.F. No.1377: Referred io the Committee on Crime Prevention and Public Safety. 

1 A bill for an act 

2 relating to public safety; requiring indeterminate 
3 life sentences for certain egregious first degree 
4 criminal sexual conduct offenses; requiring 
5 indeterminate life sentences for repeat sex offenses; 
6 creating the crime of sixth degree criminal sexual 
7 conduct; modifying the patterned sex offender 
8 sentencing law; making necessary technical and 
9 conforming statutory changes; directing the Sentencing 

10 Guidelines Commission to modify the Sentencing 
11 Guidelines; providing criminal penalties; amending 
12 Minnesota Statutes 2004, sections 14.03, subdivision 
13 3; 243.166, subdivision 1; 244.05, subdivisions 4, 5, 
14 6, 7; 244.052, subdivision 3; 609.108, subdivisions 1, 
15 3, 4; 609.109, subdivisions 2, 5, 7; 609.117, 
16 subdivisions 1, 2; 609.1351; 609.341, by adding 
17 subdivisions; 609.342, subdivisions 2, 3; 609.343, 
18 subdivisions 2, 3; 609.344, subdivisions 2, 3; 
19 609.345, subdivisions 2, 3; 609.347; 609.3471; 
~o 609.348; 609.353; 631.045; proposing coding for new 
21 law in Minnesota Statutes, chapter 609; repealing 
22 Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 609.108, subdivision 
23 2. 

24 BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF MINNESOTA: 

25 ARTICLE 1 

26 SEX OFFENDERS: 

27 MANDATORY LIFE SENTENCES FOR CERTAlN EGREGIOUS AND 

28 REPEAT SEX OFFENSES; OTHER SENTENCING CHANGES 

29 Section 1. [LEGISLATIVE FINDINGS AND INTENT.] 

30 .The legislature finds that sex offenders pose a significant 

31 public safety threat. Based upon the harm they cause to their 

~2 victims and the community, psychological factors unique to their 

33 makeup, and their future dangerousness, these types of offenders 

34 merit long-term supervision and treatment more so than do other 

Article 1 Section 1 1 
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types of criminal offenders. The legislature further finds that 

this type of supervision and treatment is best provided in a 

correctional setting and that the costs associated with this are 

an appropriate use of state resources. 

It is the legislature's intent in enacting this act to 

provide a flexible approach that allows dangerous sex offenders 

to be incarcerated for longer periods of time than is currently 

possible. The legislature specifically intends that a sex 

offender's future dangerousness be taken into consideration when 

making sentencing and release decisions concerning the offender. 

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 244.05, 

subdivision 4, is amended to read: 

Subd. 4. [MINIMUM IMPRISONMENT, LIFE SENTENCE.] An inmate 

serving a mandatory life sentence under section 609.106 must not 

15 be given supervised release under this section. An inmate 

16 serving a mandatory life sentence under section 609.185, clause 

17 (1), (3), (5), or (6); or 609.109, subdivision ra ~'must not be 

18 given supervised release under this section without having 

19 served a minimum term of 30 years. An inmate serving a 

20 mandatory life sentence under section 609.385 must not be given 

21 supervised release under this section without having served a 

22 minimum term of imprisonment of 17 years.· An inmate serving a 

23 mandatory life sentence under section 609.342, subdivision 2, 

24 paragraph (b); 609.343, subdivision 2, paragraph (b); 609.344, 

25 subdivision 2, paragraph (b); 609.345, subdivision 2, paragraph 

26 (b); or 609.3453, subdivision 2, paragraph (b), must not be 

27 given supervised release under this section without having 

28 served the minimum term of imprisonment specified by the court 

29 in its sentence. 

30 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005, 

31 and applies to crimes committed on or after that date. 

32 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2004~ section 244.05, 

33 subdivision 5, is amended to read: 

J4 Subd. 5. [SUPERVISED RELEASE, LIFE SENTENCE.] (a) The 

35 commissioner of corrections may, under rules promulgated by the 

36 commissioner, give supervised release to an inmate serving a 
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1 mandatory life sentence under section 609.185, clause (1), (3), 

2 (5), or (6); 609.109, subdivision za li 609.342, subdivision 2, 

3 paragraph (b); 609.343, subdivision 2, paragraph (b); 609.344, 

4 subdivision 2, paragraph (b); 609.345, subdivision 2, paragraph 

5 (b); 609.3453, subdivision 2, paragraph (b); or 609.385 after 

6 the inmate has served the minimum term of imprisonment specified 

7 in subdivision 4. 

8 (b) The commissioner shall require the preparation of a 

9 community investigation report and shall consider the findings 

10 of the report when making a supervised release decision under 

11 this subdivision. The report shall reflect the sentiment of the 

12 various elements of the community toward the inmate, both at the 

'~3 time of the offense and at the present time. The report shall 

14 include the views of the sentencing judge, the prosecutor, any 

15 law enforcement personnel who may have been involved in the 

16 case, and any successors to these individuals who may have 

17 information relevant to the supervised release decision. The 

18 report shall also include the views of the victim and the 

19 victim's family unless the victim or the victim's family chooses 

20 not to participate. 

21 (c) The commissioner shall make reasonable efforts to 

22 notify the victim, in advance, of the time and place of the 

23 inmate's supervised release review hearing. The victim has a 

24 right to submit an oral or written statement at the review 

25 hearing. The statement may summarize the harm suffered by the 

26 victim as a result of the crime and give the victim's 

27 recommendation on whether the inmate should be given supervised 

28 release at this time. The commissioner must consider the 

29 victim's statement when making the supervised release decision. 

30 (d) When considering whether to give supervised release to 

31 an inmate serving a life sentence under section 609.342, 

32 subdivision 2, paragraph (b); 609.343, subdivision 2, paragraph 

33 (b); 609.344, subdivision 2, paragraph (b); 609.345, subdivision 

J4 2, paragraph (b); or 609.3453, subdivision 2, paragraph (b), the 

35 commissioner shall consider, at a minimum, the following: the 

36 risk the inmate poses to the community if released, the inmate's 
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1 progress in treatment, the inmate's behavior while incarcerated, 

2 psychological or· other diagnostic evaluations of the inmate, the 

3 inmate's criminal history, and any other relevant conduct of the 

4 inmate while incarcerated or before incarceration. 

5 M As used in this subdivision, "victim" means the 

6 individual who suffered harm as a result of the inmate's crime 

7 or, if the individual is deceased, the deceased's surviving 

8 spouse or next of kin. 

9 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005, 

10 and applies to crimes committed on or after that date. 

11 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 609.108, 

12 subdivision 1, is amended to read: 

13 Subdivision 1. . [MANDATORY INCREASED SENTENCE.] tat A court 

14 shall commit a person to the commissioner of corrections for a 

15 period of time that is not less than double the presumptive 

16 sentence under the Sentencing Guidelines and not more than the 

17 statutory maximum, or if the statutory maximum is less than 

18 double the presumptive sentence, for a period of time that is 

19 equal to the statutory maximum, if: 

20 (1)· the court is imposing an executed sentence7-based-eH-a 

21 SeH~eHe~Hg-6tt~dei~Hes-presttmp~~ve-~mpr~seHmeH~-seH~eHee-er-a 

22 d~spes~~~eHai-depar~ttre-£er-aggrava~~Hg-e~rettms~aHees-er-a 

23 maHda~ery-m~H~mttm-seH~eHee., on a person convicted of committing 

24 or attempting to commit a violation of section 609.342, 609.343, 

25 609.344, er 609.345, or eH-a-perseH-eeHv~e~ed-e£-eemm~~~~Hg-er 

26 a~~emp~~Hg-~e-eemm~~-aHy-e~her-er~me-i~s~ed-~H-sttbd~v~s~eH-3-~£ 

27 ~~-reaseHabiy-appears-~e-~he-eettr~-~ha~-~he-er~me-was-me~~va~ed 

28 by-~he-e££eHderLs-sexttai-~mpttises-er-was-par~-e£-a-preda~ery 

29 pa~~erH-e£-behav~er-~ha~-had-er~m~Hai-sextta%-eeHdtte~-as-~~s-geai 

30 609.3453; 

31 (2) the eettr~-£~Hds fact finder determines that the 

32 offender is a danger to public safety; and 

33 (3) the eettr~-£~Hds fact finder determines that the 

34 e££eHder-Heeds-ieHg-~erm-~rea~meH~-er-sttperv~s~eH offender's 

35 criminal sexual behavior is so engrained that the risk of 

36 reoffending is great without intensive psychotherapeutic 
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intervention or other long-term treatment or supervision 

extending beyond the presumptive term of imprisonment and 

supervised release. ~fie-£±Ha±H~-mttse-ee-basea-eH-a-pre£ess±eHa± 

assessmeHe-ey-aH-exam±Her-exper±eHeea-±H-eva±ttae±H~-sex 

e££eHaers-efiae-eeHe±ttaes-efiae-efie-e££eHaer-±s-a-paeeerHea-sex 

e££eHaer.--~fie-assessmeHe-mttse-eeHea±H-efie-£aees-ttpeH-wfi±efi-efie. 

eeHe±tts±eH-±s-basea7-w±efi-re£ereHee-ee-efie-e££eHse-fi±seery-e£ 

efie-e££eHaer-er-efie-sever±ey-e£-efie-ettrreHe-e££eHSe7-efie-see±a± 

fi±seery-e£-efie-e££eHaer7-aHa-efie-restt±es-e£-aH-exam±Hae±eH-e£ 

efie-e££eHaerLs-meHea±-seaettS-ttH±ess-efie-e££eHaer-re£ttses-ee-be 

exam±Hea.--~fie-eeHe±tts±eH-may-Hee-be-easea-eH-eese±H~-a±eHe.--A 

paeeerHea-sex-e££eHaer-±s-eHe-wfiese-er±m±Ha±-sextta±-befiav±er-±s 

se-eH~ra±Hea-efiae-efie-r±sk-e£-ree££eHa±H~-±s-~reae-w±efiette 

±HeeHs±ve-psyefieefiera~ette±e-±HeerveHe±eH-er-eefier-±eH~-eerm 

eeHere±s. 

f et-~fie-eettre-sfia±±-eeHs±aer-±mpes±H~-a-seHeeHee-ttHaer-efi±s 

seee±eH-wfieHever-a-perseH-±s-eeHv±eeea-e£-v±e±ae±H~-seee±eH 

6e9.34r-er-6e9.343• 

[EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005, 

and applies to crimes committed on or after that date. 

Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 609.108, 

subdivision 3, is amended to read: 

Subd. 3. [PREDATORY CRIME.] A-preaaeery-er±me-±s-a-£e±eHy 

v±e±ae±eH-e£-seee±eH-699.~S57-6e9.~9,-6e9.~957-699•r07-699•r957 

6e9.rr~7-6e9.rrr7-6e9.rr3,-6e9.r47-6e9.r451-6e9.r51-6e9.r551 

699•34r7-6e9.3437-6e9.3447-609•3457-609.3657-699.49S7-669•56~7 

er-6e9.5Sr7-sttba±v±s±eH-~• As used in this section, "predatory 

crime" has the meaning given in section 609.341, subdivision 24. 

[EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005, 

and applies to crimes committed on or after that date. 

Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 609.108, 

subdivision 4, is amended to read: 

Subd. 4. [DANGER TO PUBLIC SAFETY.] The eettre-sfia±±-base 

±es-£±Ha±H~ fact finder shall base its determination that the 

off ender is a danger to public safety on any of the following 

factors: 
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1 (1) the crime involved an aggravating factor that would 

2 justify a durational departure from the presumptive sentence 

3 under the Sentencing Guidelines; 

4 (2) the offender previously committed or attempted to 

5 commit a predatory crime or a violation of section 609.224 or 

6 609.2242, including: 

7 (i) an offense committed as a juvenile that would have been 

8 a predatory crime or a violation of section 609.224 or 609.2242 

9 if committed by an adult; or 

10 (ii) a violation or attempted violation of a similar law of 

11 any other state or the United States; or 

12 (3) the offender planned or prepared for the crime prior to 

~3 its commission. 

14 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005, 

15 and applies to crimes committed on or after that date. 

16 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 609.109, 

17 subdivision 7, is amended to read: 

18 Subd. 7. [CONDITIONAL RELEASE OF ·sEX OFFENDERS.] (a) 

19 Notwithstanding the statutory maximum sentence otherwise 

20 applicable to the offense or any provision of the Sentencing 

21 Guidelines, when a court sentences a person to prison for a 

22 violation of section 609.342, 609.343, 609.344, e~ 609.345, or 

23 609.3453, the court shall provide that after the person has 

24 completed the sentence imposed, the commissioner of corrections 

25 shall place the person on conditional release. 

26 If the person was convicted for a violation of section 

27 609.342, 609.343, 609.344, e~ 609.345, or 609.3453, the person 

28 shall be placed on conditional release for five years, minus the 

29 time the person served on supervised release. 

30 If the person was convicted for a violation of one of those 

31 sections a£~e~-a-~~ev~etts and the violation is a second or 

32 subsequent sex offense eeHv~e~~efi as defined in section 609.341, 

33 subdivision 5 ~' or sentenced under subdivision 6 to a 

34 mandatory departure, the person shall be placed on conditional 

35 release for ten years, minus the time the person served on 

36' supervised release. 
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1 (b) The conditions of release may include successful 

2 completion of treatment and aftercare in a program approved by 

3 the commissioner, satisfaction of the release conditions 

4 specified in section 244.05, subdivision 6, and any other 

5 conditions the commissioner considers appropriate. If the 

6 offender fails to meet any condition of release, the 

7 commissioner may revoke the offender's conditional release and 

8 order that the off ender serve the remaining portion of the 

9 conditional release term in prison. The commissioner shall not 

10 dismiss the offender from supervision before the conditional 

11 release term expires. 

12 Conditional release under this subdivision is governed by 

13 provisions relating 'to supervised release, except as otherwise 

14 provided in this subdivision, section 244.04, subdivision 1, or 

15 244.05. 

16 (c) The commissioner shall pay the cost of treatment of a 

17 person released under this subdivision. This section does not 

18 require the commissioner to accept or retain an off ender in a 

19 treatment program. 

20 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005, 

21 and applies to crimes committed on or after that date. 

22 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 609.341, is 

23 amended by adding a subdivision to read: 

24 Subd. 22. [SEX OFFENSE.] Except for section 609.3452, "sex 

25 offense" means any violation of, or attempt to violate, section 

26 609.342, 609.343, 609.344, 609.345, 609.3453, or any similar 

27 statute of the United States, this state, or any other state. 

28 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005, 

29 and applies to crimes committed on or after that date. 

30 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 609.341, is 

31 amended by adding a subdivision to read: 

32 Subd. 23. [SECOND OR SUBSEQUENT SEX OFFENSE.] "Second or 

33 subsequent sex offense" means a sex offense for which the 

J4 offender is convicted after the offender has already been 

35 convicted or adjudicated delinquent for another sex offense in a 

36 separate behavioral incident, regardless of when the behavioral 
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1 incident occurred. 

2 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005, 

3 and applies to crimes committed on or after that date. 

4 Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 609.341, is 

5 amended by adding a subdivision to read: 

6 Subd. 24. [PREDATORY CRIME.] "Predatory crime" means a 

7 felony violation of section 609.185, 609.19, 609.195, 609.20, 

8 609.205~ 609.221, 609.222, 609.223, 609.24, 609.245, 609.25, 

9 609.255, 609.365, 609.498, 609.561, or 609.582, subdivision 1. 

10 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005, 

11 and applies to crimes committed on or after that date. 

12 Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 609.342, 

'13 subdivision 2, is amended to read: 

14 Subd. 2. [PENALTY.] {a) Except as otherwise provided 

. 15 in ~ee~~eR-609~~09 paragraph {b), a person convicted under 

16 subdivision 1 may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than 

17 30 years er-~e-a-~aymeR~-e£-a-£~Re-e£-Re~-mere-~fiaR-$4070007-er 

18 ee~fi. 

19 fet Unless a longer mandatory minimum sentence is otherwise 

20 required by law or the Sentencing Guidelines provide for a 

21 longer presumptive executed sentence, the court shall presume 

22 that an executed sentence of 144 months must be imposed on an 

·23 offender convicted of violating this section. Sentencing a 

24 person in a manner other than that described in this paragraph 

25 is a departure from the Sentencing Guidelines. 

26 {b) The court shall sentence a person to imprisonment for 

27 life if: 

28 {l) the person is convicted under subdivision 1 of a second 

29 or subsequent sex offense; or 

30 (2) the person, is convicted under subdivision 1, and the 

31 fact finder determines beyond a reasonable doubt that any of the 

32 following circumstances exist: 

33 {i) the offender tortured the complainant; 

34 {ii) the offender intentionally inflicted great bodily harm 

35 upon the complainant; 

36 {iii) the offender violated section 609.25 as part of the 

Article 1 ·Section 11 8 
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1 same course of conduct against the complainant; 

2 (iv) the complainant was under 13 years of age at the time 

3 of the offense; 

4 (v) the offender knowingly committed the offense in the 

5 presence of a child under 13 years of age; 

6 (vi) the offender was armed with a dangerous weapon or any 

7 article used or fashioned in a manner to lead the complainant to 

8 reasonably believe it to be a dangerous weapon and used or 

9 threatened to use the weapon or article to cause the complainant 

10 to submit; 

11 (vii) the offense involved sexual penetration or sexual 

12 contact of the complainant by a foreign object or an animal; 

13 (viii) the offense involved sexual penetration or sexual 

14 contact of more than one victim; or 

15 (ix) the offense involved more than one perpetrator 

16 engaging in sexual penetration or sexual contact with the 

17 complainant. 

18 The fact finder may not consider a circumstance described 

19 in items (i) to (ix), if it is an element of the underlying 

20 violation of subdivision 1. 

21 At the time of sentencing, the court shall specify a 

22 minimum term of imprisonment that must be served before the 

23 offender may be considered for supervised release. 

24 As used in this paragraph, "torture" means the intentional 

25 infliction of extreme mental anguish, or extreme psychological 

26 or physical abuse, when committed in an especially depraved 

27 manner. 

28 (c) In addition to the sentence imposed under paragraph (a) 

29 or (b), the person may also be sentenced to the payment of a 

30 fine of not more than $40,000. 

31 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005, 

32 and applies to crimes committed on or after that date. 

33 Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 609.342, 

4 subdivision 3, is amended to read: 

35 Subd. 3. [STAY.] Except when imprisonment is required 

36 under see~~en-6097~09 subdivision 2, paragraph (b), if a person 
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1 is convicted under subdivision 1, clause (g), the court may stay 

2 imposition or execution of the sentence if it finds that: 

3 (a) a stay is in the best interest of the complainant or 

4 the family unit; and 

5 (b) a professional assessment indicates that the offender 

6 has been accepted by .and can respond to a treatment program. 

7 If the court stays imposition or execution of sentence, it 

8 shall include the following as conditions of probation: 

9 (1) incarceration in a local jail or workhouse; 

10 (2) a requirement that the offender complete a treatment 

11 program; and 

12 (3) a requirement that the offender have no unsupervised 

\13 contact with the complainant until the offender has successfully 

14 completed the treatment program unless approved by the treatment 

15 program and the supervising correctional agent. 

16 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is· effective August 1, 2005, 

17 and applies to crimes committed on or after that date. 

18 Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 609.343, 

19 subdivision 2, is amended to read: 

20 Subd. 2. [PENALTY.] (a) Except as otherwise provided 

21 in seee~eH-609.~09 paragraph (b), a person convicted under 

22 subdivision 1 may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than 

\23 25 years er-ee-a-paymeHe-ef-a-f~He-ef-Hee-mere-ehaH-$3570007-er 

24 :beeh. 

25 f:bt Unless a longer mandatory minimum sentence is otherwise 

26 required by law or the Sentencing Guidelines provide for a 

27 longer presumptive executed sentence, the court shall presume 

28 that an executed sentence of 90 months must be imposed on an 

29 offender convicted of violating subdivision 1, clause (c), (d), 

30 (e), (f), or (h). Sentencing a person in a manner other than 

31 that described in this paragraph is ·a departure from the 

32 Sentencing Guidelines. 

33 (b) A person convicted under subdivision 1 of a second or 

34 subsequent sex offense shall be sentenced to imprisonment for · 

35 life. At the time of sentencing, the court shall specify a 

36 minimum term of imprisonment that must be served before the 
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1 offender may be considered for supervised release. 

2 (c) In addition to the sentence imposed under paragraph (a) 

3 or (b), the person may also be sentenced to the payment of a 

4 fine of not more than $35,000. 

5 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005, 

6 and applies to crimes committed on or after that date. 

7 Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 609.343, 

8 subdivision 3, is amended to read: 

9 Subd. 3. [STAY.] Except when imprisonment is required 

10 under see~~eH-609~~09 subdivision 2, paragraph (b), if a person 

11 is convicted under subdivision 1, clause (g), the court may stay 

12 imposition or execution of the sentence if it finds that: 

13 (a) a stay is in the best interest of the complainant or 

14 the family unit; and 

15 (b) a professional assessment indicates that the offender 

16 has been accepted by and can respond to a treatment program. 

17 If the court stays imposition or execution of sentence, it 

18 shall include the following as conditions of probation: 

19 (1) incarceration in a local jail or workhouse; 

20 (2) a requirement that the offender complete a treatment 

21 program; and 

22 (3) a requirement that the offender have no unsupervised 

23 contact with the complainant until the offender has successfully 

24 completed the treatment program unless approved by the treatment 

25 program and the supervising correctional agent. 

26 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005, 

27 and applies to crimes committed on or after that date. 

28 Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 609.344, 

29 subdivision 2, is amended to read: 

30 Subd. 2. [PENALTY.] (a) Except as otherwise provided in 

31 paragraph (b), a person convicted under subdivision 1 may be 

32 sentenced to imprisonment for not more than 15 years er-~e-a 

33 ~aymeH~-ef-a-f~He-ef-He~-mere-~fiaH-$3070007-er-~e~fi. 

14 (b) A person convicted under subdivision 1 of a second or 

35 subsequent sex offense shall be sentenced to imprisonment for 

36 life. At the time of sentencing, the court shall specify a 
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1 minimum term of imprisonment that must be served before the 

2 offender may be considered for supervised release. 

3 (c) In addition to the sentence imposed under paragraph (a) 

4 or (b), the person may also be sentenced to the payment of a 

5 fine of not more than $30,000. 

6 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005, 

7 and applies to crimes committed on or after that date. 

8 Sec. 16. Minnesota statutes 2004, section 609.344, 

9 subdivision 3, is amended to read: 

10 Subd. 3. [STAY.] Except when imprisonment is required 

11 under see~~eH-609.f09 subdivision 2, paragraph (b), if a person 

12 is convicted under subdivision 1, clause (f), the court may stay 

\3 imposition or execution of the sentence if it finds that: 

14 (a) a stay is in the best interest of the complainant or 

15 the family unit; and 

16 (b) a professional assessment indicates that the offender 

17 has been accepted by and can respond to a treatment program. 

18 If the court stays imposition or execution of sentence, it 

19 shall include the following as conditions of probation: 

20 (1) incarceration in a local jail or workhouse; 

21 (2) a requirement that the offender complete a treatment 

22 program; and 

~3 (3) a requirement that the offender have no unsupervised 

24 contact with the complainant until the offender has successfully 

25 completed the treatment program unless approved by the treatment 

26 program and the supervising correctional agent. 

27 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005, 

28 and applies to crimes committed on or after that date. 

29 Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 609.345, 

30 subdivision 2, is amended to read: 

31 Subd. 2. [PENALTY.] (a) Except as· otherwise provided in 

32 paragraph (b), a person convicted under subdivision 1 may be 

33 sentenced to imprisonment for not more than ten years e~-~e-a 

4 !'aymeH~-ef-a-£~He-e£-Re~-m.e~e-~haH-$~e7eee7-e~-1'e~h. 

35 (b) A person convicted under subdivision 1 of a second or 

36 subsequent sex offense shall be sentenced to imprisonment for 
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1 life. At the time of sentencing, the court shall specify a 

2 minimum term of imprisonment that must be served before the 

3 offender may be considered for supervised release. 

4 (c) In addition to the sentence imposed under paragraph (a) 

5 or (b), the person may also be sentenced to the payment of a 

6 fine of not more than $20,000. 

7 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005, 

8 and applies to crimes committed on or after that date. 

9 Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 609.345, 

10 subdivision 3, is amended to read: 

11 Subd. 3. [STAY.] Except when imprisonment is required 

12 under see~~eH-699~~99 subdivision 2, paragraph (b), if a person 

13 is convicted under subdivision 1, clause (f), the court may stay 

14 imposition or execution of the sentence if it finds that: 

15 (a) a stay is in the best interest of the complainant or 

16 the family unit; and 

17 (b) a professional assessment indicates that the offender 

18 has been accepted by and can respond to a treatment program. 

19 If the court stays imposition or execution of sentence, it 

20 shall include the following as conditions of probation: 

21 

22 

(1) incarceration in a local jail or workhouse; 

(2) a requirement that the offender complete a treatment 

~3 program; and 

24 (3) a requirement that the offender have no unsupervised 

25 contact with the complainant until the offender has successfully 

26 completed the treatment program unless approved by the treatment 

27 program and the supervising correctional agent. 

28 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005, 

29 and applies to crimes committed on or after that date. 

30 Sec. 19. [609.3453] [CRIMINAL SEXUAL CONDUCT IN THE SIXTH 

31 DEGREE.] 

32 Subdivision 1. [CRIME DEFINED.] A person is guilty of 

33 criminal sexual conduct in the sixth degree if the person 

4 commits a predatory crime that was motivated by the offender's 

35 sexual impulses· or was part of a predatory pattern of behavior 

36 that had criminal sexual conduct as its goal. 
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1 Subd. 2. [PENALTY.] (a) Except as otherwise provided in 

2 paragraph (b), a person convicted under subdivision 1 may be 

3 sentenced to imprisonment for not more than seven years. 

4 (b) A person convicted under subdivision 1 of a second or 

5 subsequent sex offense shall be sentenced to imprisonment for 

6 life. · At the time of sentencing, the court shall specify a 

7 minimum term of imprisonment that must be served before the 

8 offender may be considered for supervised release. 

9 (c) In addition to the sentence imposed under paragraph (a) 

10 or (b), the person may also be sentenced to the payment of a 

11 fine of not more than $20,000. 

12 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005, 

\3 and applies to crimes committed on or after that date. 

14 Sec. 20. [SENTENCING GUIDELINES; CHANGES MANDATED.] 

15 (a) The Sentencing Guidelines Commission shall modify the 

16 Sentencing Guidelines, including the guidelines grid, to reflect 

17 the changes made in this act. 

18 (b) The commission shall make the sex offender-related 

19 modifications to the guidelines and grid proposed in the 

20 commission's January 2005 report to the legislature, including 

21 creating a separate sex offender grid, and changing the method 

22 used to calculate the weights assigned to sex offenses when 

G3 calculating an offender's criminal history. However, the 

24 commission shall adapt the proposed modifications to reflect the 

25 restructuring of sex offense sentences under this article. 

26 (c) Modifications made by the commission under this section 

27 take effect August 1, 2005. 

28 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective the day 

29 following final enactment. 

30 Sec. 21. [REPEALER.] 

31 Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 609.108, subdivision 2, is 

32 repealed. 

33 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005, 

4 and applies to crimes committed on or after that date. 

35 ARTICLE 2 

36 SEX OFFENDERS: 

Article 2 14 

,. 



02/24/05 [REVISOR ] RPK/VM 05-2953 

1 

2 

TECHNICAL AND CONFORMING CHANGES 

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 14.03, 

3 subdivision 3, is amended to read: 

4 Subd. 3. [RULEMAKING PROCEDURES.] (a) The definition of a 

5 rule in section 14.02, subdivision 4, does not include: 

6 (1) rules concerning only the internal management of the 

7 agency or other agencies that do not directly affect the rights 

8 of or procedures available to the public; 

9 (2) an application deadline on a form; and the remainder of 

10 a form and instructions for use of the form to the extent that 

11 they do not impose substantive requirements other than 

12 requirements contained in statute or rule; 

\3 (3) the curriculum adopted by an agency to implement a 

14 statute or rule permitting or mandating minimum educational 

15 requirements for persons regulated by an agency, provided the 

16 topic areas to be covered by the minimum educational 

17 requirements are specified in statute or rule; 

18 (4) procedures for sharing data among government agencies, 

19 provided these procedures are consistent with chapter 13 and 

20 other law governing data practices. 

21 (b) The definition of a rule in section 14.02, subdivision 

22 4, does not include: 

23 (1) rules of the commissioner of corrections relating to 

24 the release, placement, term, and supervision of inmates serving 

25 a supervised release or conditional release term, the internal 

26 management of institutions under the commissioner's control, and 

27 rules adopted under section 609.105 governing the inmates of 

28 those institutions; 

29 (2) rules relating to weight limitations on the use of 

30 highways when the substance of the rules is· indicated to the 

31 public by means of signs; 

32 (3) opinions of the attorney general; 

33 (4) the data element dictionary and the annual data 

;4 acquisition calendar of the Department of Education to the 

35 extent provided by section 125B.07; 

36 (5) the occupational safety and health standards provided 
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1 in section 182.655; 

2 (6) revenue notices and tax information bulletins of the 

3 commissioner of revenue; 

4 (7) uniform conveyancing forms adopted by the commissioner 

5 of commerce under section 507.09; or 

6 (8) the interpretive guidelines developed by the 

7 commissioner of human services to the extent provided in chapter 

8 245A. 

9 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is.effective August 1, 2005, 

10 and applies to crimes committed on or after that date. 

11 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 243.166, 

12 subdivision 1, is amended to read: 

i3 Subdivision 1. [REGISTRATION REQUIRED.] (a) A person shall 

14 register under this section if: 

15 (1) the person was charged with or petitioned for a felony 

16 violation of or attempt to violate any of the following, and 

17 convicted of or adjudicated delinquent for that offense or 

18 another offense arising out of the same set of circumstances: 

19 (i) murder under section 609.185, clause (2); or 

20 (ii) kidnapping under section 609.25; or 

21 (iii) criminal sexual conduct under section 609.342; 

22 609.343; 609.344; 609.345; e~ 609.3451, subdivision 3; or 

-23 609. 3453; or 

24 (iv) indecent exposure under section 617.23, subdivision 3; 

25 or 

26 (2) the person was charged with or petitioned for falsely 

27 imprisoning a minor in violation of section 609.255, subdivision 

28 2; soliciting a minor to engage in prostitution in violation of 

29 section 609.322 or 609.324; soliciting a minor to engage in 

30 sexual conduct in violation of section 609.352; using a minor in 

31 a sexual performance in violation of section 617.246; or 

32 possessing pornographic work involving a minor in violation of 

33 section 617.247, and convicted of or adjudicated delinquent for 

,34 that offense or another offense arising out of the same set of 

35 circumstances; or 

36 (3) the person was-eeHv:i:et:ed-e£-a-~~eda°t:eFy-eF:i::me-as 
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1 de£fHed-fH-seeefeH-609~~987-aHd-ehe-e££eHder was sentenced as-a 

2 paeeerHed-se*-effeHder-er-ehe-eettre-£ettHd-eH-ies-ewH-meefeH-er 

3 ehae-e£-ehe-preseetteer-ehae-ehe-erime-was-pare-e£-a-predaeery 

4 paeeerH-e£-5ehavfer-ehae-had-erfmfHa~-se*tta~-eeHdttee-as-fes-~ea~ 

5 as a patterned sex offender under section 609.108; or 

6 (4) the person was convicted of or adjudicated delinquent 

7 for, including pursuant to a court martial, violating a law of 

8 the United States, including the Uniform Code of Military 

9 Justice, similar to the offenses described in clause (1), (2), 

10 or ( 3) . 

11 (b) A person also shall register under this section if: 

12 (1) the person was convicted of or adjudicated delinquent 

\3 in another state for an offense that would be a violation of a 

14 law described in paragraph (a) if committed in this state; 

15 (2) the person enters the state to reside, or to work or 

16 attend school; and 

17 (3) ten years have not elapsed since the person was 

18 released from confinement or, if the person was not confined, 

19 since the person was convicted of or adjudicated delinquent for 

20 the offense that triggers registration, unless the person is 

21 subject to lifetime registration, in which case the person must 

22 register for life regardless of when the person was released 

23 from confinement, convicted, or adjudicated delinquent. 

24 For purposes of this paragraph: 

25 (i) "school" includes any public or private educational 

26 institution, including any secondary school, trade or 

27 professional institution, or institution of higher education, 

28 that the person is enrolled in on a full-time or part-time 

29 basis; and 

30 (ii) "work" includes employment that is full time or part 

31 time for a period o~ time exceeding 14 days or for an aggregate 

32 period of time exceeding 30 days during any calendar year, 

33 whether financially compensated, volunteered, or for the purpose 

:4 of government or educational benefit. 

35 (c) A person also shall register under this section if the 

36 person was committed pursuant to a court commitment order under 
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1 ·section 253B.185 or Minnesota Statutes 1992, section 526.10, or 

2 a similar law of another state or the United States, regardless 

3 of whether the person was convicted of any offense. 

4 (d) A person also shall register under this section if: 

5 (1) the person was charged with or petitioned for a felony 

6 violation or attempt to violate any of the offenses listed in 

7 paragraph (a), clause (1), or a similar law of another state or 

8 the United States, or the person was charged with or petitioned 

9 for a violation of any of the offenses listed in paragraph (a), 

10 clause (2), or a similar law of another state or the United 

11 .states; 

12 (2) the person was found not guilty by reason of mental 

13 illness or mental de£iciency ·after a trial for that offense, or 

14 found guilty but mentally ill after a trial for that offense, in 

15 states with a guilty but mentally ill verdict; and 

16 (3) the person was committed pursuant to a court commitment 

17 order under section 253B.18 or a similar law of another state or 

18 the United States. 

19 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005, 

20 and applies to crimes committed on or after that date. 

21 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 244.05, 

22 subdivision 6, is amended to read: 

23 Subd. 6. [INTENSIVE SUPERVISED RELEASE.] The commissioner 

24 may order that an inmate be placed on intensive supervised 

25 release for all or part of the inmate's supervised release or 

26 parole term if the commissioner determines that the action will 

27 further the goals described in section 244.14, subdivision 1, 

28 clauses (2), (3), and (4). In addition, the commissioner may 

29 order that an inmate be placed on intensive supervised release 

30 for all of the inmate's conditional or supervised release term 

31 if the inmate was convicted of a sex offense under see~~efis 

32 section 609.342 ~e, 609.343, 609.344, 609.345, or 609.3453, or 

33 was sentenced under the provisions of section 609.108. The 

J4 commissioner may impose appropriate conditions of release on the 

35 inmate including but not limited to unannounced searches of the 

36 inmate's person, vehicle, or premises by an intensive 
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1 supervision agent; compliance with court-ordered restitution, if 

2 any; random drug testing; house arrest; daily curfews; frequent 

3 face-to-face contacts with an assigned intensive supervision 

4 agent; work, education, or treatment requirements; and 

5 electronic surveillance. In addition, any sex offender placed 

6 on intensive supervised release may be ordered to participate in 

7 an appropriate sex offender program as a condition of release. 

8 If the inmate violates the conditions of the intensive 

9 supervised release, the commissioner shall impose sanctions as 

10 provided in subdivision 3 and section 609.108. 

11 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005, 

12 and applies to crimes committed on or after that date. 

13 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 244.05, 

14 subdivision 7, is amended to read: 

15 Subd. 7. [SEX OFFENDERS; CIVIL COMMITMENT DETERMINATION.] 

16 (a) Before the commissioner releases from prison any inmate 

17 convicted under seee~eHs section 609.342 ee, 609.343, 609.344, 

18 609.345, or 609.3453, or sentenced as a patterned offender under 

19 section 609.108, and determined by the commissioner to be in a 

20 high risk category, the commissioner shall make a preliminary 

21 determination whether, in the commissioner's opinion, a petition 

22 under section 253B.185 may be appropriate. 

23 (b) In making this decision, the commissioner shall have 

24 access to the following data only for the purposes of the 

25 assessment and referral decision: 

26 (1) private medical data under section 13.384 or 144.335, 

27 or welfare data under section 13.46 that relate to medical 

28 treatment of the offender; 

29 (2) private and confidential court services data under 

30 section 13.84; 

31 (3) private and confidential corrections data under section 

32 13.85; and 

33 (4) private criminal history data under section 13.87. 

4 (c) If the commissioner determines that a petition may be 

35 appropriate, the commissioner shall forward this determination, 

36 along with a summary of the reasons for the determination, to 
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1 the county attorney in the county where the inmate was convicted 

2 no later than 12 months before the inmate's release date. If 

3 the inmate is received for incarceration with fewer than 12 

4 months remaining in the inmate's term of imprisonment, or if the 

5 commissioner receives additional information less than 12 months 

6 before release which makes the inmate's case appropriate for 

7 referral, the commissioner shall forward the determination as 

8 soon as is practicable. Upon receiving the commissioner's 

9 preliminary determination, the county attorney shall proceed in 

10 the manner provided in section 253B.185. The commissioner shall 

11 release to the county attorney all requested documentation 

12 maintained by the department. 

13 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005, 

14 and applies to crimes committed on or after that date. 

15 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 244.052, 

16 subdivision 3, is amended to read: 

17 Subd. 3. [END-OF-CONFINEMENT REVIEW COMMITTEE.] (a) The 

18 commissioner of corrections shall establish and administer 

19 end-of-confinement review committees at each state correctional 

20 facility and at each state treatment facility where predatory 

21 offenders are confined. The committees shall assess on a 

22 case-by-case basis the public risk posed by predatory offenders 

23 who are about to be released from confinement. 

24 (b) Each committee shall be a standing committee and shall 

25 consist of the following members appointed by the commissioner: 

26 (1) the chief executive officer or head of the correctional 

27 or treatment facility where the offender is currently confined, 

28 or that person's designee; 

29 (2) a law enforcement officer; 

30 (3) a treatment professional who is trained in the 

31 assessment of sex offenders; 

32 (4) a caseworker experienced in supervising sex offenders; 

33 and 

)4 (5) a victim's services professional. 

35 Members of the committee, other than the facility's chief 

36 executive officer or head, shall .be appointed by the 
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1 commissioner to two-year terms. The chief executive officer or 

2 head of the facility or designee shall act as chair of the 

3 committee and shall use the facility's staff, as needed, to 

4 administer the committee, obtain necessary information from 

5 outside sources, and prepare risk assessment reports on 

6 offenders. 

7 (c) The committee shall have access to the following data 

8 on a predatory offender only for the purposes of its assessment 

9 and to defend the committee's risk assessment determination upon 

10 administrative review under this section: 

11 (1) private medical data under section 13.384 or 144.335, 

12 or welfare data under section 13.46 that relate to medical 

13 treatment of the offender; 

14 (2) private and confidential court services data under 

15 section 13.84; 

16 (3) private and confidential corrections data under section 

17 13.85; and 

18 (4) private criminal history data under section 13.87. 

19 Data collected and maintained by the committee under this 

20 paragraph may not be disclosed outside the committee, except as 

21 provided under section 13.05, subdivision 3 or 4. The predatory 

22 offender has access to data on the offender collected and 

23 maintained by the committee, unless the data are confidential 

24 data received under this paragraph. 

25 (d) (i) Except as otherwise provided in ~eem items (ii)L 

26 (iii), and (iv), at least 90 days before a predatory offender is 

27 to be released from confinement, the commissioner of corrections 

28 shall convene the appropriate end-of-confinement review 

29 committee for the purpose of assessing the risk presented by the 

30 offender and determining the risk level to which the offender 

31 shall be assigned under paragraph (e). The offender and the law 

32 enforcement agency that was responsible for the charge resulting 

33 in confinement shall be notified of the time and place of the 

14 committee's meeting. The offender has a right to be present and 

35 be heard at the meeting. The law enforcement agency may provide 

36 material in writing that is relevant to the offender's risk· 
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1 level to the chair of the committee·. The committee shall use 

2 the risk factors described in paragraph (g) and the risk 

3 assessment scale developed under supdivision 2 to determine the 

4 offender's risk assessment score and risk level. Offenders 

5 scheduled for release from confinement shall be assessed by the 

6 committee established at the facility from which the offender is 

7 to be released. 

8 (ii) If an offender is received for confinement in a 

9 facility with less than 90 days remaining in the offender's term 

10 of confinement, the offender's risk shall be assessed at the 

11 first regularly scheduled end of confinement review committee 

12 that convenes after the appropriate documentation for the risk 

13 assessment is assembled by the committee. The commissioner 

14 shall make reasonable efforts to ensure that offender's risk is 

15 assessed and a risk level is assigned or reassigned at least 30 

16 days before the offender's release date. 

17 (iii) If the offender is subject to a mandatory life 

18 sentence under section 609.342, subdivision 2, paragraph (b); 

19 609.343, subdivision 2, paragraph (b); 609.344, subdivision 2, 

20 paragraph (b); 609.345, subdivision 2, paragraph (b); or 

21 609.3453, subdivision 2, paragraph (b), the commissioner of 

22 corrections shall convene the appropriate end-of-confinement 

23 review committee at least nine months before the offender's 

24 minimum term of imprisonment has been served. If the offender 

25 is received for confinement in a facility with less than nine 

26 months remaining before the offender's minimum term of 

27 imprisonment has been served, the committee shall conform its 

28 procedures to those outlined in item (ii) to the extent 

29 practicable. 

30 (iv) If the offender is granted supervised release, the 

31 commissioner of corrections shall notify the appropriate 

32 end-of-confinement review committee that it needs to review the 

33 offender's previously determined risk level at its next 

34 regularly scheduled meeting. The commissioner shall make 

35 reasonable efforts to ensure that the offender's earlier risk 

36 level determination is reviewed and the risk level is confirmed 
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1 or reassigned at least 60 days before the offender's release 

2 date. The committee shall give the report to the offender and 

3· to the law enforcement agency at least 60 days before an 

4 offender is released from confinement. 

5 (e) The committee shall assign to risk level I a predatory 

6 off ender whose risk assessment score indicates a low risk of 

7 reoffense. The committee shall assign to risk level II an 

8 off ender whose risk assessment score indicates a moderate risk 

9 of reoffense. The committee shall assign to risk level III an 

10 off ender whose risk assessment score indicates a high risk of 

11 reoffense. 

12 (f) Before the predatory offender is released from 

13 confinement, the committee shall prepare a risk assessment 

14 report which specifies the risk level to which the offender has 

15 been assigned and the reasons underlying the committee's risk 

16 assessment decision. Except for an offender subject to a 

17 mandatory life sentence under section 609.342, subdivision 2, 

18 paragraph (b); 609.343, subdivision 2,.paragraph (b); 609.344, 

19 subdivision 2, paragraph (b); 609.345, subdivision 2, paragraph 

20 (b); or 609.3453, subdivision 2, paragraph (b), who has not been 

21 granted supervised release, the committee shall give the report 

22 to the offender and to the law enforcement agency at least 60 

23 days before an offender is released from confinement. If the 

24 offender is subject to a mandatory life sentence and has not yet 

25 served the entire minimum term of imprisonment, the committee 

26 shall give the report to the offender and to the commissioner at 

27 least six months before the offender is first eligible for 

28 release. If the ·risk assessment is performed under the 

29 circumstances described in paragraph (d), item (ii), the report 

30 shall be given to the offender and the law enforcement agency as 

31 soon as it is available. The committee also shall inform the 

32 offender of the availability of review under subdivision 6. 

33 (g) As used in this subdivision, "risk factors" includes, 

•

134 but is not limited to, the following factors: 

35 (1) the seriousness of the offense should the offender 

36 reoffend. This factor includes consideration of the following: 
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l· (i) the degree of likely force or harm; 

2 (ii) the degree of likely physical contact; and 

3 (iii) the age of the likely victim; 

4 (2) the offender's prior offense histqry. This factor 

5 includes consideration of the following: 

6 (i) the relationship of prior victims to the offender; 

7 (ii) the number of prior offenses or victims; 

8 (iii) the duration of the offender's prior offense history; 

9 (iv) the length of time since the offender's last prior 

10 offense·while the offender was at risk to commit offenses; and 

11 (v) the offender's prior history of other antisocial acts; 

12 (3) the offender's characteristics. This factor includes 

13 consideration of the following: 

14 (i) the offender's response to prior treatment efforts; and 

15 (ii) the offender's history of substance abuse; 

16 (4) the availability of community' supports to the offender. 

17 This factor includes consideration of the following: 

18 (i) the availability and likelihood that the offender will 

19 be involved in therapeutic treatment; 

20 (ii) the availability of residential supports to the 

21 offender, such as a stable and supervised living arrangement in 

22 an appropriate location; 

23 (iii) the offender's familial and social relationships, 

24 including the nature and length of these relationships and the 

25 level.of support that the offender may receive from these 

26 persons; and 

27 (iv) the offender's lack of education or employment 

28 stability; 

29 (5) whether the offender has indicated or credible evidence 

30 in the record indicates that the offender will reoffend if 

31 released 1nto the community; and 

32 (6) whether the offender demonstrates a physical condition 

33 that minimizes the risk of reoffense, including but not limited 

34 to, advanced age or a debilitating illness or physical condition. 

35 (h) Upon the request of the law enforcement agency or the 

36 offender's corrections agent, the commissioner may reconvene the 
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1 end-of-confinement review committee for the purpose of 

2 reassessing the risk level to which an offender has been 

3 assigned under paragraph (e). In a.request for a reassessment, 

4 the law enforcement-agency which was responsible for the charge 

5 resulting in confinement or agent shall list the facts and 

6 circumstances arising after the initial assignment or facts and 

7 circumstances known to law enforcement or the agent but not 

8 considered by the committee under paragraph (e) which support 

9 the request for a reassessment. The request for reassessment by 

10 the law enforcement agency must occur within 30 days of receipt 

11 of the report indicating the offender's risk level assignment. 

12 The offender's corrections agent, in consultation with the chief 

13 law enforcement officer in the area where the offender resides 

14 or intends to reside, may request a review of a risk level at 

15 any time if substantial evidence exists that the offender's risk 

16 level should be reviewed by an end-of-confinement review 

17 committee. This evidence includes, but is not limited to, 

18 evidence of treatment failures or completions, evidence of 

19 exceptional crime-free community adjustment or lack of 

20 appropriate adjustment, evidence of substantial community need 

21 to know more about the offender or mitigating circumstances that 

22 would narrow the proposed scope of notification, or other 

23 practical situations articulated and based in evidence of the 

24 offender's behavior while under supervision. Upon review of the 

25 request, the end-of-confinement review committee may reassign an 

26 offender to a different risk level. If the offender is 

27 reassigned to a higher risk level, the offender has the right to 

28 seek review of the committee's determination under subdivision 6. 

29 {i) An offender may request the end-of-confinement review 

30 committee to reassess the offender's assigned risk level after 

31 three years have elapsed since the committee's initial risk 

32 assessment and may renew the request once every two years 

33 following subsequent denials. In a request for reassessment, 

34 the offender shall list the facts and circumstances which 

35 demonstrate that the offender no longer poses. the same degree of 

36 risk to the community. In order for a request for a risk level 
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1 reduction to be granted, the offender must demonstrate full 

2 compliance with supervised release conditions, completion of 

3 required post-release treatment programming, and full compliance 

4 with all registration requirements as detailed in section 

5 243.166. The offender must also not have been convicted of any 

6 felony, gross misdemeanor, or misdemeanor offenses subsequent to 

7 the assignment of the original risk level. The committee shall 

8 follow the process outlined in paragraphs (a) to (c) in the 

9 reassessment. An offender who is incarcerated may not request a 

10 reassessment under this paragraph. 

11 (j) Offenders returned to prison as release violators shall 

-
12 not have a right to a subsequent risk reassessment by the 

13 end-of-confinement review conimittee unless substantial evidence 

14 indicates that the offender's risk to the public has increased. 

15 (k) The commissioner shall establish an end-of-confinement 

16 review committee to assign a risk level to offenders who are 

17 released from a federal correctional facility in Minnesota or 

18 another state and who intend t? reside in Minnesota, and to 

19 offenders accepted from another state under a reciprocal 

20 agreement for parole supervision under the interstate compact 

21 authorized by section 243.16. The committee shall make 

22 reasonable efforts to conform to the same timelines as applied 

23 to Minnesota cases. Offenders accepted from another state under 

24 a reciprocal agreement for probation supervision are not 

25 assigned a risk level, but are considered downward dispositional 

26 departures. The probation or court services officer and law 

27 enforcement officer shall manage such cases in accordanqe with 

28 section 244.10, subdivision 2a. The policies and procedures of 

29 the committee for federal offenders and interstate compact cases 

30 must be in accordance with all requirements as set forth in this 

31 section, unless restrictions caused by the nature of federal or 

32 interstate transfers prevents such conformance. 

33 (1) If the committee assigns a predatory offender to risk 

34 level III, the committee shall determine whether residency 

35 restrictions shall be included in the conditions of the 

36 offender's release based on the offender's pattern of offending 
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1 behavior. 

2 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005, 

3 and applies to crimes committed on or after that date. 

4 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 609.109, 

5 subdivision 2, is amended to read: 

6 Subd. 2. [PRESUMPTIVE EXECUTED SENTENCE.] Except as 

7 provided in subdivision 3 or 4, if a person is convicted under 

8 sections 609.342 to 6097345 609.3453, within 15 years of a 

9 previous sex offense conviction, the court shall commit the 

10 defendant to the commissioner of corrections for not less than 

11 three years, nor more than the maximum sentence provided by law 

12 for the offense for which convicted, notwithstanding the 

13 provisions of sections 242.19, 243.05, 609.11, 609.12, and 

14 609.135. The court may stay the execution of the sentence 

15 imposed under this subdivision only if it finds that a 

16 professional assessment indicates the off ender is accepted by 

17 and can respond to treatment at a long-term inpatient ·program 

18 exclusively treating sex offenders and approved by the 

19 commissioner of corrections. If the court stays the execution 

20 of a sentence, it shall include the following as conditions of 

21 probation: 

22 (1) incarceration in a local jail or workhouse; and 

23 (2) a requirement that the offender successfully complete 

24 the treatment program and aftercare as directed by the court. 

25 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005, 

26 and applies to crimes committed on or after that date. 

27 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 609.109, 

28 subdivision 5, is amended to read: 

29 Subd. 5. [PREVIOUS SEX OFFENSE CONVICTIONS.] For the 

30 purposes of this section, a conviction is considered a previous 

31 sex offense conviction if the person was convicted of a sex 

32 offense before the commission of the present offense of 

33 conviction. A person has two previous sex offense convictions 

134 only if the person was convicted and sentenced for a sex offense 

35 committed after the person was earlier convicted and sentenced 

36 for a sex offense, both convictions preceded the commission of 

Article 2 Section 7 . 27 



02/24/05 [REVISOR ] RPK/VM 05-2953 

1 the present offense of conviction, and 15 years have not elapsed 

2 since the person was discharged from the sentence imposed for 

3 the second conviction. A "sex offense" is a violation of 

4 sections 609.342 to 669.~~5 609.3453 or any similar statute of 

5 the United States, this state, or any other state. 

6 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005, 

7 and applies to crimes committed on or after that date. 

8 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 609.117, 

9 subdivision 1, is amended to read: 

10 Subdivision 1. [UPON SENTENCING.] The court shall order an 

11 off ender to provide a biological specimen for the purpose of DNA 

12 analysis as defined in section 299C.155 when: 

13 (1) the court sentences a person charged with violating or 

14 attempting to violate any of the following, and the person is 

15 convicted of that offense or of any offense arising out of the 

16 same set of circumstances: 

17 (i) murder under section 609.185, 609.19, or 609.195; 

18 (ii) manslaughter under section 609.20 or 609.205; 

19 (iii) assault under section 609.221, 609.222, or 609.223; 

20 (iv) robbery under section 609.24 or aggravated robbery 

21 under section 609.245; 

22 (v) kidnapping under section 609.25; 

23 (vi) false impris.onment under section 609. 255; 

24 (vii) criminal sexual conduct under section 609.342, 

25 609.343, 609.344, 609.345, er 609.3451, subdivision 3, or 

26 609.3453; 

27 (viii). incest under section 609. 365; 

28 (ix) burglary under section 609.582, subdivision 1; or 

29 (x) indecent exposure under section 617.23, subdivision 3; 

30 (2) the court sentences a person as a patterned sex 

31 offender under section 609.108; or 

32 (3) the juvenile court adjudicates a person a delinquent 

33 child who is the subject of a delinquency petition for violating 

}4 or attempting to violate any of the following, and the 

35 delinquency adjudication is based on a violation of one of those 

36 sections or of any offense arising out of the same set of 
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1 circumstances: 

2 (i) murder under section 609.185, 609.19, or 609.195; 

3 (ii) manslaughter under section 609.20 or 609.205; 

4 (iii) assault under section 609.221, 609.222, or 609.223; 

5 (iv) -robbery under section 609.24 or aggravated robbery 

6 under section 609.245; 

7 (v) kidnapping under section 609.25; 

8 (vi) false imprisonment under section 609.255; 

9 (vii) criminal sexual conduct under section 609.342, 

10 609.343, 609.344, 609.345, e~ 609.3451, subdivision 3, or 

11 609.3453; 

12 (viii) incest under section 609.365; 

13 (ix) burglary under section 609.582, subdivision 1; or 

14 (x) indecent exposure under section 617.23, subdivision 3. 

15 The biological specimen or the results of the analysis shall be 

16 maintained by the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension as provided in 

17 section 299C.155. 

18 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005, 

19 and applies to crimes committed on or after that date. 

20 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 609.117, 

21 subdivision 2, is amended to read: 

22 Subd. 2. [BEFORE RELEASE.] The commissioner of corrections 

23 or local corrections authority shall order a person to provide a 

24 biological specimen for the purpose of DNA analysis before 

25 completion of the person's term of imprisonment when the person 

26 has not provided a biological specimen for the purpose of DNA 

27 analysis and the person: 

28 (1) is currently serving a term of imprisonment for or has 

29 a past conviction for violating or attempting to violate any of 

30 the following or a similar law of another state or the United 

31 states or initially charged with violating one of the following 

32 sections or a similar law of another state or the United States 

33 and convicted of another offense arising out of the same set of 

34 circumstances: 

35 ( i) murder under section 609 .185, 609 .19, or 609 .195; 

36 (ii) manslaughter under section 609.20 or 609.205; 
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1 (iii) assault under section 609.221, 609.222, or 609.223; 

2 (iv) robbery under section 609.24 or aggravated robbery 

3 under section 609.245; 

4 (v) kidnapping under section 609.25; 

5 (vi) false imprisonment under section 609.255; 

6 (vii) criminal sexual conduct under section 609.342, 

7 609.343, 609.344, 609.345, er 609.3451, subdivisiein 3, or 

8 609.3453; 

9 (viii) incest under section 609.365; 

10 (ix) burglary under section 609.582, subdivision 1; or 

11 (x) indecent exposure under section 617.23, subdivision 3; 

12 or. 

13 (2) was sentenced as a patterned sex offender under section 

14 609.108, and committed. to the custody of the commissioner of 

15 corrections; or 

16 (3) is serving a term of imprisonment in this state under a 

17 reciprocal agreement although convicted in another state of an 

18 offense described in this subdivision or a similar law of the 

19 United States or any other state. The commissioner of 

20 corrections or local corrections authority shall forward the 

21 sample to the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension. 

22 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005, 

23 and applies to crimes committed on or after that date. 

24 Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 609.1351, is 

25 amended to read: 

26 609.1351 [PETITION FOR CIVIL COMMITMENT.] 

27 When a court sentences a person under section 609.108, 

28 609.342, 609.343, 609.344, er 609.345, or 609.3453, the court 

29 shall make a preliminary determination whether in the court's 

30 opinion a petition under section 253B.185 may be appropriate and 

31 include the determination as part of the sentencing order. If 

32 the court determines that a petition may be appropriate, the 

33 court shall forward its preliminary determination along with 

'34. supporting documentation to the county attorney. 

35 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005, 

36 and applies to crimes committed on or after that date. 
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1 Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 609.347; is 

2 amended to read: 

3 609.347 [EVIDENCE IN CRIMINAL SEXUAL CONDUCT CASES.] 

4 Subdivision 1. In a prosecution under sections 609.109 e~L 

5 609.342 to 609.3451, or 609.3453, the testimony of a victim need 

6 not be corroborated. 

7 Subd. 2. In a prosecution under sections 609.109 e~L 

8 609.342 to 609.3451, or 609.3453, there is no need to show that 

9 the victim resisted the accused. 

10 Subd. 3. In a prosecution.under sections 609.109, 609.342 

11 to 609.3451, 609.3453, or 609.365, evidence of the victim's 

12 previous sexual conduct shall not be admitted nor shall any 

13 reference to such conduct be made in the presence of the jury, 

14 except by court order under the procedure provided in 

15 subdivision 4. The evidence can be admitted only if the 

16 probative value of the evidence is not substantially outweighed 

17 by its inflammatory or prejudicial nature and only in the 

18 circumstances set out in paragraphs (a) and (b). For the 

19 evidence to be admissible under paragraph (a), subsection (i), 

20 the judge must find by a preponderance of the evidence that the 

21 facts set out in the accused's offer of proof are true. For the 

22 evidence to be admissible under paragraph (a), subsection (ii) 

23 or paragraph (b), the judge must find that the evidence is 

24 sufficient to support a finding that the .facts set out in the 

25 accused's offer of proof are true, as provided under Rule 901 of 

26 the Rules of Evidence. 

27 (a) When consent of the victim is a defense in the case, 

28 the following evidence is admissible: 

29 (i) evidence of the victim's previous sexual conduct 

30 tending to establish a common scheme or plan of similar sexual 

31 conduct under circumstances similar to the case at issue. In 

32 order to find a common scheme or plan, the judge must find that 

33 the victim made prior allegations of sexual assault which were 

34 fabricated; and 

35 (ii) evidence of the victim's previous sexual conduct with 

36 the accused. 
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1 (b) When the prosecution's case includes evidence of semen, 

2 pregnancy, or disease at the time of the incident or, in the 

3 case of pregnancy, between the time of the incident and trial, 

4 evidence of specific instances of the victim's previous sexual 

5 conduct is admissible solely to show the source of the semen, 

6 pregnancy, or disease. 

7 Subd. 4. The accused may not offer evidence described in 

8 subdivision 3 except pursuant to the following procedure: 

9 (a) A motion shall be made by the accused at least three 

10 business days prior to trial, unless later for good cause shown, 

11 setting out with particularity the offer of proof of the 

12 evidence that the accused intends to offer, relative to the 

'13 previous sexual conduct of the victim; 

14 (b) If the court deems the offer of proof sufficient, the 

15 court shall order a hearing out of the presence of the jury, if 

16 any, and in such hearing shall allow the accused to make a full 

17 presentation of the offer of proof; 

18 (c) At the conclusion of the hearing, if the court finds 

19 that the evidence proposed to· be offered by the accused 

20 regarding the previous sexual conduct of the victim is 

21 admissible under subdivision 3 and that its probative value is 

22 not substantially outweighed by its infl~mmatory or prejudicial 

23 nature, the court shall make an order stating the extent to 

24 which evidence is admissible. The accused may then offer 

25 evidence pursuant to the order of the court; 

26 (d) If new information is discovered after the date of the 

27 hearing or during the course of trial, which may make evidence 

28 described in subdivision 3 admissible, the accused may make an 

29 offer of proof pursuant to clause (a) and the court shall order 

30 an in camera hearing to determine whether the proposed evidence 

31 is admissible by the standards herein. 

32 Subd. 5. In a prosecution under sections 609.109 e~L 

33 609.342 to 609.3451, or 609.3453, the court shall not instruct 

:34 the jury to the effect that: 

35 (a) It may be inferred that a victim who has previously 

36 consented to sexual intercourse with persons other than the 
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1 accused would be therefore more likely to consent to sexual 

2 intercourse again; or 

3 (b) The victim's previous or subsequent sexual conduct in 

4 and of itself may be considered in determining the credibility 

5 of the victim; or 

6 (c) Criminal sexual conduct is a crime easily charged by a 

7 victim but very difficult to disprove by an accusej because of 

8 the heinous nature of the crime; or 

9 (d) The jury should scrutinize the testimony of the victim 

10 any more closely than it should scrutinize the testimony of any 

11 witness in any felony prosecution. 

12 Subd. 6. (a) In a prosecution under sections 609.109 e~L 

13 609.342 to 609.3451, or 609.3453, involving a psychotherapist 

14 and patient, evidence of the patient's personal or medical 

15 history is not admissible except when: 

16 (1) the accused requests a hearing at least three business 

17 days prior to trial and makes an offer of proof of the relevancy 

18 of the history; and 

19 (2) the court finds that the history is relevant and that 

20 the probative value of the history outweighs its prejudicial 

21 value. 

22 (b) The court shall allow the admission only of specific 

23 information or examples of conduct of the victim that are 

24 determined by the court to be relevant. The court's order shall 

25 detail the information or conduct that is admissible and no 

26 other evidence of the history may be introduced. 

27 (c) Violation of the terms of the order is grounds for 

28 mistrial but does not prevent the retrial of the accused. 

29 Subd. 7. [EFFECT OF STATUTE ON RULES.] Rule 412 of the 

30 Rules of Evidence is superseded to the extent of its conflict 

31 with this section. 

32 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005, 

33 and applies to crimes committed on or after that date. 

}4 Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 609.3471, is 

35 amended to read: 

36 609.3471 [RECORDS PERTAINING TO VICTIM IDENTITY 
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1 CONFIDENTIAL.] 

2 Notwithstanding any provision of law to the contrary, no 

3 data contained in records or reports relating to petitions, 

4 complaints, or indictments issued pursuant to section 609.342tL 

5 609.343tL 609.344t-e~L 609.345, or 609.3453, which 

6 specifically identifies a victim who is a minor shall be 

7 accessible to the public, except by order of the court. Nothing 

8 in. this section authorizes denial of access to any other data 

9 contained in the records or reports, including the identity of 

10 the defendant. 

11 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] ~his section is effective August 1, 2005, 

12 and applies to crimes committed on or after that date. 

13 sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 609.348, is· 

14 amended to read: 

15 609.348 [MEDICAL PURPOSES; EXCLUSION.] 

16 Sections 609.109 aHaL 609.342 to 609.3451, and 609.3453 do 

17 not apply to sexual penetration or sexual contact .when done for 

18 a bona fide medical purpose. 

19 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005, 

20 and applies to crimes committed on or after that date. 
( 

21 Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 609.353, is 

22 amended to read: 

23 609.353 [JURISDICTION.] 

24 A violation or attempted violation of section 609.342, 

25 609.343, 609.3A4, 609.345, 609.3451, 609.3453, or 609.352 may be 

26 prosecuted in any jurisdiction in which the violation originates 

27 or terminates. 

28 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005, 

29 and applies to crimes committed on or after that date. 

30 Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 631.045, is 

31 amended to read: 

32 631.045 [EXCLUDING SPECTATORS FROM THE COURTROOM.] 

33 At the trial of a complaint or indictment for a violation 

34 of sections 609.109, 609.341 to 609.3451, 609.3453, or 617.246, 

35 subdivision 2, when a minor under 18 years of age is the person 

36 upon, with, or against whom the crime is alleged to have been 
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1 committed, the judge may exclude the public from the courtroom 

2 during the victim's testimony or during all or part of the 

3 remainder of the trial upon a showing that closure is necessary 

4 to protect a witness or ensure fairness in the trial. The judge 

5 shall give the prosecutor, defendant and members of the public 

6 the opportunity to object to the closure before a closure order. 

7 The judge shall specify the reasons for closure in an order 

8 closing all or part of the trial. Upon closure the judge shall 

9 only admit persons who have a direct interest in the case. 

10 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005, 

11 and applies to crimes committed on or after that date. 

12 Sec. 16. [REVISOR INSTRUCTION.] 

13 (a) The reviser of statutes shall renumber Minnesota 

14 Statutes, section 609.3452, as Minnesota Statutes, section 

15 609.3457, and correct cross-references. In addition, the 

16 reviser shall delete the reference in Minnesota Statutes, 

17 section 13.871, subdivision 3, paragraph (d), to Minnesota 

18 Statutes, section 609.3452, and insert a reference to Minnesota 

19 Statutes, section 609.3457. The reviser shall include a 

20 notation in Minnesota Statutes to inform readers of the statutes 

21 of the renumbering of section 609.3457. 

22 (b) In addition to the specific changes described in 

23 paragraph (a), the reviser of statutes shall make other 

24 technical changes necessitated by this act. 

35 
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APPENDIX 
Repealed Minnesota Statutes for 05-2953 

609.108 MANDATORY INCREASED SENTENCES FOR CERTAIN 
PATTERNED AND PREDATORY SEX OFFENDERS; NO PRIOR CONVICTION 
REQUIRED. 

Subd. 2. Increased statutory maximum. If the 
factfinder determines, at the time of the trial or the guilty 
plea, that a predatory offense was motivated by, committed in 
the course of, or committed in furtherance of sexual contact or 
penetration, as defined in section 609.341, and the court -is 
imposing a sentence under subdivision 1, the statutory maximum 
imprisonment penalty for the offense is 40 years, 
notwithstanding the statutory maximum imprisonment penalty 
otherwise provided for the offense. 
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Senate 

State of Minnesota 

S.F. No. 1875 requires indet~rminate life sentences for certain egregious first-degree criminal sexual 
conduct offenses and certain repeat criminal sexual conduct offenses; creates a new crime of criminal 
sexual predatory conduct; increases the conditional release terms for sex offenders; and provides for 
intensive community supervision of sex offenders. The bill also makes changes to the predatory offender 
registration law, most significantly, by addressing homeless offenders; makes changes to the community 
notification law, most significantly, by addressing out-of-state offenders; authorizes the use of 
polygraphs for sex offenders under community supervision; provides for victim notification when 

· certain civilly committed individuals are about to be provisionally discharged; implements most of the 
2005 recommendations of the Legislative Auditor regarding sex offender supervision; and makes 
numerous technical and conforming statutory changes. 

ARTICLEl 

Sex Offenders: 
Mandatory Life Sentences for Cenain Egregious and 

Repeat Sex Offenses; Conditional Release; Other Sentencing Changes 

Overview 

Article 1 contains the sex offender sentencing changes, including the indeterminate life sentences, the 
conditional release changes, and the new crime of criminal sexual predatory conduct. 

Section 1 states the legislative findings and intent related to this article. Of note, specifies that the future 
dangerousness of sex offenders is one reason they merit longer-term supervision and treatment than do 
other types of criminal offenders and that their future dangerousness must be taken into consideration in 
sentencing and release decisions. 

Section 2 makes a conforming change related to article 1, section 21. 

Section 3 clarifies that the Commissioner of Corrections' rulemak:ing authority relating to the revocation 
of supervised release also applies to conditional release. 

Section 4 provides that an offender serving an indeterminate life sentence (see article 1, sections 12 
and 21) may not be given supervised release without having served the minimum term of imprisonment 
as specified by the sentencing court. 
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Section 5 requires the Commissioner of Corrections, when considering whether to give supervised 
release to an offender serving an indeterminate life sentence (see article 1, sections 12 and 21), to 
consider at a minimum: -

• the risk the offender poses to the community if released; 

• the offender's progress in treatment; 

• the offender's behavior while incarcerated; 

• psychological or other diagnostic evaluations of the offender; 

• the offender's criminal history; and 

• any other relevant conduct of the offender while incarcerated or before incarceration. 

The commissioner may not give supervised release to the offender unless~ 

• while in prison, the offender has successfully completed appropriate sex offender treatment; 

• while in prison, the offender has been assessed for chemical dependency and mental health needs 
and, if appropriate, has successfully completed necessary treatment; and 

• a comprehensive individual release plan is in place for the offender that ensures that the offender 
will have suitable housing and receive appropriate aftercare and treatment, and includes an 
employment/education plan for the offender. 

Also makes a conforming change relating to article 1, section 4. 

Section 6 strikes language in the intensive supervised release law relating to sex offenders. Community 
supervision of sex offenders released from prison is addressed in article 1, section 21. 

Sections 7 to 10 amend the patterned and predatory offender sentencing law. 

Section 7 adds a cross-reference to the new crime of criminal sexual predatory conduct (see article 1, 
section 20). Strikes language relating to court findings regarding whether the necessary prongs of the 
law have been met. Substitutes for this a determination by the fact finder. These changes are necessary 
in light of the 2004 United States Supreme court decision, Blakely v. Washington. Strikes other 
language that is no longer necessary in light of the changes made by this article. 

Section 8 strikes the definition of "predatory crime." Replaces this with a cross-reference to what is 
essentially the same definition in article 1, section 11. 

Section 9 makes the same substitution of a fact finder determination for a court finding as was made in 
article 1, section 7. 

Section 10 strikes language relating to the conditional release of offenders sentenced under this law. 
Instead, adds a cross-reference to article 1, section 21. 

Section 11 defines "predatory crime" for purposes of the criminal sexual conduct laws. This definition is 
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nearly identical to the definition stricken from the patterned and predatory offender sentencing law in 
article 1, section 8. The only difference is that the new definition does not include criminal sexual 
conduct in the first- to fourth-degrees because a reference to these crimes is unnecessary under the 
changes made by the article. 

Sections 12 and 13 amend the first-degree criminal sexual conduct crime. 

Section 12 requires a court to sentence an offender to an indeterminate life sentence if the offender is 
convicted of certain clauses of the first-degree criminal sexual conduct crime involving force or violence 
(i.e., where circumstances exist that cause the victim to have a reasonable fear of great bodily harm; 
where the offender is armed with a dangerous weapon; where the offender causes personal injury to the 
victim under specified conditions; where the offender is aided or abetted by one or niore accomplices 
under specified conditions; or where the offender has a family-type relationship to a victim under 16 and 
specified conditions exist) and the fact finder determines, beyond a reasonable doubt, that: 

• the offender tortured the victim; 

• the offender intentionally inflicted great bodily harm upon the victim; 

• the offender intentionally mutilated the victim; or 

• the offender exposed the victim to extreme inhumane conditions. 

Defines "extreme inhumane conditions," "mutilation," and "torture." Requires a court to specify a 
minimum term of imprisonment that must be served before the offender may be considered for 
supervised release. Makes other structural and conforming changes. 

Section 13 makes a conforming change relating to article 1, section 21. 

Sections 14and15 amend the second-degree criminal sexual conduct crime to make conforming 
changes related to article 1, section 21. 

Sections 16 and 17 amend the third-degree criminal sexual conduct crime to make conforming changes 
related to article 1, section 21. 

Sections 18 and 19 amend the fourth-degree criminal sexual conduct crime to make conforming 
changes related to article 1, section 21. 

Section 20 creates a new substantive crime known as "criminal sexual predatory conduct." This crime 
occurs if an offender commits a predatory crime (see definition in article 1, section 11) that was 
motivated by the offender's sexual impulses or was committed as part of a predatory pattern of behavior 
that had criminal sexual conduct as its goal. Provides that the statutory maximum sentence for this 
offense is 25 percent longer than for the underlying predatory crime. If the violation is committed by a 
person with a previous sex offense conviction, as defined in article 1, section 21, the statutory 
maximum is 50 percent longer than for the underlying predatory crime. Also authorizes a fine of up to 
$20,000. An offender convicted of violating this section may be subject to the life sentence and 
conditional release provisions of article 1, section 21. 

Section 21 creates a new section of law addressing indeterminate life sentences for certain repeat 
offenders and the conditional release of sex offenders. 
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Subdivision 1 defines "conviction," "previous sex offense conviction," "prior sex offense conviction," 
"sex offense," and "two previous sex offense convictions." Of note, "conviction" includes convictions as 
an extended jurisdiction juvenile for violations of first- through third-degree criminal sexual conduct or 
the new criminal sexual predatory conduct crime. "Previous sex offense conviction" is defined to be a 
"true prior" offense. That is to say that the offender must have committed, been convicted, and been 
sentenced for the previous sex offense before the commission of the present sex offense. "Prior sex 
offense conviction" does not require this sequencing of events. Thus, a person who has committed two 
sex offenses but has not been convicted of either would be considered to have a prior sex offense 
conviction once the offender has been convicted for the first offense even though the present offense 
occurred before the actual conviction for the prior offense. "Sex offense" includes first- through fifth­
degree criminal sexual conduct offenses and criminal sexual predatory conduct, and similar laws from 
other jurisdictions. 

Subdivision 2 provides for a mandatory indeterminate life sentence for an offender convicted of 
violating first- through fourth-degree criminal sexual conduct or criminal sexual predatory conduct if: 

• the offender has two previous sex offense convictions (i.e., true priors); 

• the offender has a previous sex offense conviction (i.e., a true prior), and: 

• the present offense involved an aggravating factor that would provide grounds for an upward 
sentencing departure; or 

• the offender received an upward sentencing departure for the previous sex conviction or was 
sentenced under the patterned and predatory sex offender sentencing law for the previous sex 
offense conviction; or 

• the offender has two prior sex offense convictions (not necessarily true priors) and the prior 
convictions and present offense involved at least three separate victims, and: 

• the present offense involved an aggravating factor that would provide grounds for an upward 
sentencing departure; or 

• the offender received an upward sentencing departure for one of the prior sex offense convictions 
or was sentenced under the patterned and predatory offender sentencing law for one of the prior 
sex offense convictions. 

Of note, if the present offense is a fourth-degree criminal sexual conduct offense, the offender is not 
subject to the indeterminate life sentence unless the offender's previous or prior sex offense convictions 
that are being used to enhance the sentence were for first- through third-degree criminal sexual conduct 
or criminal sexual predatory conduct. 

Subdivision 3 requires courts sentencing offenders to indeterminate life sentences under subdivision 2 
to specify a minimum term of imprisonment that must be served before the offender may be considered 
for release. 

Subdivision 4 provides that when an offender is released from prison for a violation of first- through 
fourth-degree criminal sexual conduct or criminal sexual predatory conduct, the person must be placed 
on conditional release for ten years. Under current law, offenders released from prison for violating first­
through fourth-degree criminal sexual conduct receive a five-year conditional release term unless the 
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offender is a repeat offender, in which case the conditional release term is ten years. 

Subdivision 5 provides that if an offender sentenced to an indeterminate life sentence under subdivision 
2 is released from prison, the offender must be placed on conditional release for the remainder of the 
offender's life. Also provides that if an offender is released from prison for a violation of first- through 
fourth-degree criminal sexual conduct or criminal sexual predatory conduct, and the offender has a 
previous or prior sex offense conviction, the offender must be placed on conditional release for the 
remainder of the offender's life. Similar to the eligibility for the indeterminate life sentence in 
subdivision 2, if an offender is released from prison for a violation of fourth-degree criminal sexual 
conduct, the offender will only be placed on lifetime conditional release if the offender's previous or 
prior sex offense conviction that is being used as the basis for the lifetime conditional release term is for 
first- through third-degree criminal sexual conduct or criminal sexual predatory conduct. 

Subdivision 6 specifies the conditional release terms that are applicable to all sex offenders placed on 
conditional release (i.e., any offender released from prison after a conviction for first- through fourth­
degree criminal sexual conduct or criminal sexual predatory conduct, or after being sentenced under the 
patterned and predatory offender sentencing law). Provides that the Commissioner of Corrections may 
not dismiss an offender on conditional release from supervision until the offender's conditional release 
term has expired. Requires a ratio of corrections agents to offenders of 15 to one. Provides intensive 
release conditions for sex offenders placed on conditional release. These conditions are similar to phase 
I of the current intensive supervised release program. Conditions include, but are not limited to, weekly 

. urinalysis and breath tests, house arrest/modified house arrest/daily curfews, a minimum of four face-to­
face contacts with the offender's corrections agent each week, including at least one home visit, etc. 
Authorizes the Commissioner of Corrections to modify certain conditions upon request of the offender's 
corrections agent. The modification may be ordered only if the commissioner determines that the 
offender has complied with these requirements for a substantial period of time, a modification is 
justified under the circumstances, and public safety will not be compromised. However, the minimum 
number of face-to-face contacts may not be reduced to fewer than one per week and one home visit per 
month. 

Section 22 repeals a provision of the patterned and predatory offender sentencing law providing for an 
increased statutory maximum penalty. This provision is no longer necessary based on the changes made 
in this article. Also repeals a subdivision of the repeat sex offender sentencing law addressing 
conditional release of sex offenders. This provision is superceded by article 1, section 21. 

ARTICLE2 

Sex Off~nders: Predatory Offender Registration; 
Community Notification; N onsentencing Changes 

Overview 

Article 2 makes numerous substantive and technical changes to the Predatory Offender Registration 
Law and the Community Notification Law. In addition, it specifically authorizes the use of polygraphic 
examinations for sex offenders under correctional supervision and provides for victim notification in 
certain situations regarding the release of offenders civilly committed as mentally ill and dangerous, as 
having a sexual psychopathic personality, or as being a sexually dangerous person. 

Section 1 makes numerous changes to the Predatory Offender Registration (POR) Law. The primary 
substantive changes involve homeless predatory offenders, for whom there is presently no clearly 
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applicable registration procedure. Requires homeless predatory offenders who lack a primary address or 
who leave a primary address without having a new primary address to register with the law enforcement 
authority of the area in which the offender is staying within 24 hours. Each time an offender lacking a 
primary address moves to an area served by a different law enforcement authority, reregistration is 
required. If an offender continues to lack a primary address but remains in the same area, the offender 
must report weekly to the law enforcement authority in the area in which the offender is staying and 
inform the authority of any changes to the information required for predatory offender registration, with 
complete reregistration required annually. Offenders with no primary address whose registration is 
required because of a civil commitment are subject to the general homeless offender registration 
provisions but must completely reregister every three months. Authorizes the law enforcement authority 
to allow an offender to follow an alternative reporting procedure if it determines that due to an offender's 
unique circumstances it is impractical to require the offender to report weekly. 

Section 1 also makes the following changes to the POR Law. 

• Reorganizes it by repealing subdivisions 1 (Registration Required) and 8 (Definition of Law 
Enforcement Authority); creating a definitions subdivision la (placing all definitions at the 
beginning of the section); recodifying subdivision 1 as subdivision lb; and making conforming 
and clarifying amendments to the remainder of the section. 

• Adds new definitions for "bureau," "dwelling," "incarceration," and "confinement." The existing 
definitions of "primary residence," "secondary residence," and "law enforcement agency" are 
changed to "primary address," "secondary address," and "law enforcement authority" respectively. 
In addition, the definitions of "primary address" and "secondary address" are substantively 
overhauled. 

• Provides that it applies to offenders who aid, abet, or conspire to commit an offense currently 
requiring registration. 

• Expands it to require registration for nonchild false imprisonment offenses. 

• Requires offenders who enter Minnesota to reside, work, or attend school, or enter the state and 
remain for 14 days or longer, to register within five days of when the registration requirement 
becomes applicable. 

• Clarifies that if a person subject to registration moves out of the state, registration with Minnesota 
terminates when the BCA confirms the address in the new state. 

• Requires an offender subject to registration to consent to allowing the offender's residential 
housing unit or shelter to release information on the offender to law enforcement. 

• Requires all level III predatory offenders to be photographed every six months by their 
supervising authority. 

• Requires level II and III predatory offenders who are no longer under correctional supervision to 
have an annual in-person contact with the law enforcement authority with jurisdiction over where 
the offender lives during which the offender must be photographed and verify the accuracy of the 
offender's registration information. 

• Requires verification of registration information by mail twice annually for level III predatory 
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offenders who are no longer under correctional supervision (current law requires verification by 
mail annually). 

• Authorizes the Commissioner of Public Safety to extend an offender's registration period for five 
additional years for failure to register a change in the offender's primary or secondary address, 
employment, school, or motor vehicle information; failure to report any property the offender 
owns, leases, or rents; or failure to return the annual verification letter within ten days. 

• Provides that a violation of the POR Law may be prosecuted in any jurisdiction where an offense 
takes place. However, the prosecutorial agency in the jurisdiction where .the offender last 
registered a primary address is initially responsible to review the case. When an offender commits 
two or more offenses in two or more counties, the offenses may be aggregated and prosecuted in 
any of the counties in which one of the offenses was committed. 

• Provides that certified copies of predatory offender registration records are admissible as 
substantive evidence when necessary to prove the commission of a violation of the POR Law. 

• Adds to the list of offenses that require registration a reference to the new criminal sexual 
predatory conduct crime created in article 1, section 20. 

• Makes other technical and clarifying changes. 

Section 2 amends section 243.167 (registration under the POR Law for other offenses). This law 
requires registration under the POR Law for offenders who ·commit a crime against the person and who 
previously registered under the POR Law but whose registration period ended or who would have had to 
register except the POR Law did not apply to the offender at the time of the offense. Expands the 
definition of" crime against the person" to include fourth-degree assault. Expands this law to apply to 
offenders who are convicted of a crime against the person and who previously completed registration in 
another state. 

Section 3 requires the Commissioner of Corrections to report annually to the Legislature as specified on 
community supervision of level II and level III sex offenders and on other types of offenders. 

Section 4 amends the Community Notification Law provision relating to non-Minnesotan offenders. 
Requires the Commissioner of Corrections to establish an end of confinement review committee to 
assign risk levels for offenders released from any federal correctional facility or from any state 
correctional facility of another state, and for offenders accepted from another state for parole supervision 
under the new interstate compact on adult offender supervision. 

Section 5 allows for community notification for offenders who move to Minnesota from another state 
who, at the time of the move, are subject to a community notification statute in the other state and who 
are not already assigned a risk level under the community notification law. Authorizes the law 
enforcement agency in the area where the offender resides, expects to reside, or is regularly found to 
disclose information regarding the offender. The extent of the notification must be consistent with the 
notification made in the state from which the offender is moving. Caps the level of notification to that of 
a risk level II offender, unless the notification made concerning the offender in the state from which the 
offender is moving is broader than that authorized for a level II offender and the end of confinement 
review committee at the nearest state correctional or treatment facility at the request of the agency, 
assigns the offender to risk level III. 
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Section 6 clarifies that the Community Notification Law applies to homeless predatory offenders. 

Section 7 authorizes law enforcement to disclose the probationary status of predatory offenders granted 
mitigated dispositional departures (sentences where the presumptive guidelines' disposition is 
commitment to the Commissioner of Corrections but where this disposition is stayed by the court) to 
individuals that law enforcement believes may be victimized by the offender (thus, conforming this 
notification provision to the one in the Community Noti~cation Law governing level II offenders). 

Section 8 amends the law relating to the civil commitment of persons as being mentally ill and 
dangerous. Requires the special review board or Commissioner of Human Services to consider 
statements received from victims under article 2, section 9, when making recommendations regarding 
release. 

Section 9 amends the law relating to the civil commitment of persons as being mentally ill and 
dangerous. Requires a county attorney who files a civil commitment petition alleging that a person is 
mentally ill and dangerous, has a sexual psychopathic personality, or is a sexually dangerous person to 
make a reasonable effort to provide prompt notice of the filing of the petition to a victim and to notify. 
the victim of the resolution of the petition. Also requires a treatment facility head to make a reasonable 
effort to notify victims that a person civilly committed as being mentally ill and dangerous, as having a 
sexual psychopathic personality, or as being a sexually dangerous person may be discharged or released 
and that the victim has a right to submit a written statement regarding the release decision. Requires 
victims to request these notifications by contacting in writing the county attorney in the county where 
the conviction for the crime occurred. Defines key terms used in this section. Of note, defines 
"convicted" and "conviction" in a manner-that includes certain mental illness procedures where the 
elements of the crime have been proven but the person has not actually been convicted. 

Section 10 authorizes a court or the Commissioner of Corrections to require a sex offender to submit to 
a polygraph exam as a probationary intermediate sanction or a condition of release from confinement. 
Allows the court or the commissioner to order all or part of the cost of the exam to be borne by the 
offender. 

Section 11 requests the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court, in consultation with the Conference of 
Chief Judges, to develop, by September 1, 2005, a protocol for the use of polygraph examinations for 
sex offenders on probation. 

Section 12 requires the Revisor of Statutes to make conforming changes to statutes as necessitated by 
this article. 

Section 13 repeals two subdivisions in the POR Law superceded by changes made in this article. 

ARTICLE3 

Legislative Auditor's Recommended Changes 

Overview 

Article 3 implements the Legislative Auditor's recommendations from the auditor's 2005 report to the 
Legislature on sex offender supervision. 

Section 1 amends the law requiring county and private sex offender programs to provide the 
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Commissioner of Corrections with information related to program effectiveness. Strikes language that 
limits this provision to programs that seek new or continued state funding or reimbursements. 

Section 2 clarifies that the law requiring the Commissioner of Corrections to provide follow-up 
information on sex offenders for three years following their completion or termination from treatment 
programs, provide treatment programs in different geographical areas of the state, provide necessary 
data relating to sex offender treatment programing, etc., is not a onetime project, but rather an ongoing 
obligation. 

Section 3 amends the POR law to require offenders subject to registration to disclose their status as a 
registered offender to a health care facility upon admittance. The offender must also notify the offender's 
corrections agent or the applicable law enforcement authority when an inpatient admission has occurred. 
Requires a law enforcement authority or corrections agent who has received this notice or who knows 
that an offender has been admitted to a health care facility to notify the administrator of the facility. 

Section 4 requires that when an offender who is subject to the POR law is being released from prison, 
the Commissioner of Corrections must provide the offender's prison records relating to psychological 
assessments, medical and mental health issues, and treatment to the corrections agency that is going to 
supervise the offender. 

Section 5 provides that when a corrections agency supervising an offender who is required to register 
under the POR law and who is classified as a public risk monitoring case has knowledge that the 
offender is seeking housing arrangements in a location under the jurisdiction of a different corrections 
agency, the supervising agency must notify the other agency of this and initiate a supervision transfer 
request. 

Section 6 requires a corrections agency supervising an offender who is required to register under the 
POR law to notify the appropriate child protection agency before authorizing the offender to live in a 
household where children are residing. 

Section 7 clarifies that an independent professional assessment of a sex offender's need for sex offender 
treatment must be conducted before sentencing. 

Section 8 adds to the list of mandatory reporters of child abuse individuals involved in correctional 
supervision. 

Section 9 requires the Commissioner of Corrections to convene a working group related to sex offender 
management and supervision. Requires the working group to study and make recommendations on 
specified issues. Also requires the working group to review the provisions of any laws enacted in the 
2005 legislative session relating to sex offender supervision and treatment. Requires the working group 
to report recommendations to the Legislature. Requires the Commissioner of Corrections to implement 
policies and standards relating to the issues studied by the working group over which the commissioner 
has jurisdiction. 

Section 10 requires the Commissioner of Corrections to report specified information to the Legislature 
on prison-based sex offender treatment programs. 

ARTICLE4 

Sex Offenders: Technical and Conforming Changes 
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Overview 

Article 4 makes technical and conforming changes relating to the substantive changes made in article L 

Sections 1 to 13 make technical and conforming changes to various statutes necessitated by article 1 of 
this bill. Of note, section 1 clarifies that the definition of "rule" in chapter 14 does not include rules of 
the Commissioner of Corrections relating to the release or release term of inmates on supervised or 
conditional release. Also of note, section 3 provides timetables for the actions of the end of confinement 
review committees relating to offenders subject to indeterminate life sentences under article 1. 

Section 13 instructs the Revisor of Statutes to renumber the sex offender assessment statute so that it 
does not fall numerically between fifth-degree criminal sexual conduct and the new criminal sexual 
predatory conduct crime created in article 1, section 20. Also directs the Revisor to make other 
technical changes to statues necessitated by this act. 
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Bill Description 

This bill establishes mandatory indeterminate life sentences for a specific group of criminal sexual conduct offenses. 
Offenders receiving these life sentences would be eligible to be considered for release after serving a minimum term 
pronounced by the sentencing court. The mandatory life sentences would apply to first degree offenders convicted 
under M.S. 609.342 subd, 1(c), (d), (e), (f), or (h) when at least one severe aggravating factors from a specified list is 
present. Indeterminate life sentences are also mandated for certain repeat first through fourth degree offenders and 
predatory offenders. A distinction is drawn between a "previous sex offense" (convicted and sentenced for a sex 
offense before committing the current offense) and a "prior sex offense" (convicted of a prior before convicted for the 

. present offense, regardless of when the offenses occur). Offenders with two previous sex offenses would qualify for 
the mandatory life sentence, as would offenders with one previous sex offense conviction if the present offense 
involved an aggravating factor and the previous offense received an aggravated departure or was sentenced under 
the predatory offender statute. Offenders with two prior sex offense convictions would also qualify for the mandatory 
life sentence if their present offense had an aggravating factor, and they received an aggravated departure or was 
sentenced as a predatory offender for one of the prior offenses. Fourth degree offenders would not be eligible for life 
sentences unless their prior offenses were first, second, or third degree offenses or a predatory offense. For other 
first through fourth degree offenses, the· penalties prescribed by the Sentencing Guidelines Commission's sex 
offender grid would apply. 

The bill also modifies M.S. §609.108 - the patterned sex offender sentencing provision. It removes the "predatory 
crimes" from this provision and creates a Criminal Sexual Predatory Conduct Offense. This offense would consist of 
one of the predatory crimes that was motivated by the off ender's sexual impulses or was part of a predatory pattern of 
behavior that had criminal sexual conduct as its goal. The statutory maximum for this offense would be 25% longer 
than for the underlying predatory. crime; 50% longer if the offender has a previous sex offense conviction. 

The bill also increases the period of conditional release that sex offenders released from prison must serve, and 
creates stringent conditions that must be met by released offenders. Currently_ released sex offenders must serve five 
years on conditional release, ten years if they are repeat offenders. Under the provisions of this bill, first time sex 
offenders will be required to serve ten years on conditional release, and repeat sex offenders or offenders serving an 
indeterminate life sentence who are released, will be placed on lifetime conditional release. 

The bill is effective for crimes committed on or after August 1, 2005. 

Assumptions 

Projections based on Current Policies and Sentencing Practices as Reflected in MSGC data for Offenders 
Sentenced in 2003 

•!• Number of Offenders 

Indeterminate Life Sentences: 

This provision applies to offenders convicted of certain first degree offenses, if one or more severe aggravating factors 
from a specified list is present. It is not known how many of these offenders would be found by the fact finder to meet 
the specified circumstances necessary to qualify for a life sentence. MSGC staff identified twelve first-degree 
offenders who received aggravated durational departures that were twice the presumptive sentence or longer, and for 
whom the court cited departure factors that appear related to the criteria listed in this provision (departure reasons 
such as vulnerability of victim, particular cruelty, severity of injury). Some of these offenders might also qualify for the 
indeterminate life sentence as repeat offenders. For the projections, it is assumed that twelve first degree offenders a 
year, currently receiving aggravated durational departures would meet the requirements specified in this bill for a life 
sentence. 

Identifying repeat sex offenders who might be subject to the mandatory life sentence provisions in this bill is difficult 
because in some cases, specific information about a prior sentence is necessary to make the determination. MSGC 
was able to identify 8 repeat sex offenders who had two or more previous sex offense convictions. MSGC identified. 5 
sex offenders who received aggravated durational departures and also had a prior or other current sex offense for 
which they received an aggravated departure. 
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The 25 offenders projected to be eligible for indeterminate life sentences are listed by category on the table below as 
well as the percent in each group currently receiving executed sentences. Also displayed is their degree of conviction. 
All of these offenders currently received executed prison sentences. 

Offenders Eligible for Indeterminate Life Sentences 

Group Number 
Degree of 
Conviction 

First Deoree off enders with severe aaaravatinQ factors 12 12 First 
Off enders with two Previous Sex Off ens es (convicted on prior before 8 4 First, 1 Second, 
commit current offense) ·2 Third, 1 Fourth 
AQQravated departure with Previous or Prior Aoaravated Departure 5 4 First, 1 Second 

20 First, 2 Second, 
Total 25 2 Third, 1 Fourth 

It is unclear how many offenders would qualify as predatory offenders under the new criminal sexual predatory 
conduct provision. Such offE?nders are currently eligible for sentencing as patterned sex offenders. None of the 

offenders sentenced as patterned sex offenders in 2003 were sentenced for an offense other than criminal sexual 
conduct. Since 1990, the patterned sex offender provision has only been used seven times for offenses other 

than criminal sexual conduct. Therefore, the impact presented here is limited to offenders sentenced for criminal 
sexualconductoffenses. · 

Other Offenders: Criminal sexual conduct offenders not covered by the life sentence provision would be subject to 
the new modifications to the Sentencing Guidelines for sex offenders. Of the 607 offenders sentenced for criminal 
sexual conduct offenses in 2003, 25 would qualify for life sentences and 582 would be sentenced on the new 

. proposed grid. Of these remaining offenders, 225 currently receive executed prison sentences, and it is projected that 
247 would receive executed sentences ·under the Guidelines modifications. It is assumed that the percentage 
offenders currently receiving mitigated departures would continue to do so. 

•!• ·length of Incarceration 

Indeterminate life Sentences: The length of time that will be served by these offenders, beyond what is served 
under current practices, is uncertain. Not all of the offenders sentenced in 2003 were eligible for the longer 
presumptive sentences created in statute for certain first and second degree criminal sexual conduct offenses. These 
provisions will cover all future offenders. Therefore, the estimates presented here are based on the assumption that 
unless an offender received a mitigated durational departure, in the future they would receive the higher presumptive 
sentences now in effect. The bill states that these offenders must serve a minimum term to be determined by. the 
sentencing court before being considered for release. Currently, the minimum term of imprisonment served by 
offenders is defined by statute as two-thirds of the total pronounced executed sentence. Through the use on 
consecutive sentences, offenders can serve longer than 20 years under current practices. It is assumed here that the 
minimum term to be served will be two-thirds of the new presumptive sentence from the Guidelines revised sex 
offender grid modifications, or what the offender is currently serving, whichever is longer. It is unknown how long 
offenders will serve beyond the minimum term before they are released or how many offenders may never be 
released. 

Because of these uncertainties, a range of estimated prison impact is presented. Information is provided on the 
number of additional beds needed as a result of offenders serving additional time (on average two years, five years, 
10 years, 20 years, and never being released). In order tb determine the maximum amount of time these offenders 
could serve, different lengths of time to serve until death were applied to offenders based on their age at the time of 
sentencing. For example, offenders under age 25 were assumed to live an addition_al 55 years, while offenders in the 
41-45 age group were assumed to live an additional 33 years. For the scenarios involving offenders serving 5 or 
more years beyond the minimum, the appropriate life expectancies were also applied. 

Impact on State and Local Correctional Resources 

•!• Impact on Prison Bed Needs 
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Indeterminate life Sentences: The specific impact of the provision for these sentences is difficult to determine, but 
projected to be significant. If all of these offenders serve the minimum term of imprisonment (assumed to be the new 
presumptive sentences on the sex offender grid), it is projected that 24 additional prison beds would be required. 
However, offenders would have to apply for release, and, therefore, it is not reasonable to assume that all would be 
released upon serving only the .minimum term of imprisonment. If 25 offenders a year receive life sentences, the 
impact could range from 67 additional beds (if all were released after serving two years beyond the minimum) to 409 
beds (if, on average, offenders served an additional 20 years). If these offenders are never released and serve a life 
sentence, there would be a need for 515 additional prison beds. Because some of these offenders are not currently 
receiving executed prison sentences, some impact will be realized within the first year this sentencing change takes 
affect. 

The table below displays the potential impact based on various assumptions described above regarding the average 
number of years, which offenders would be required to serve before release. The Impact is displayed separately for 
offenders in each category for which a life sentence is mandated in this bill. 

life Sentence When Mandated for First through Fourth Degree Sex Offenders 
Additional Prison Beds Reguired Based On Time Served Before. Rel'ease 

Minimum Based on Guidelines Sex Offender Modifications 

Type of Minimum Minimum Minimum Minimum Minimum Serve Life 
Offender + 2 years + 5 years + 10 years + 20 years 

First Degree: 
Agg. Factor 1 24 57 112 209 264 
Two Previous 22 35 53 83 141 180 
Agg Factor:. 
Prior Agg Sent 23 8 20 36 59 71 

Total 
(25 Offenders} 24 67 130 231 409 515 

Other Offenders: An additional 491 prison beds are projected to be needed for the remaining criminal sexual 
conduct offenders who would be sentenced on the grid according the modified guidelines. Twenty-two of these 
offenders are currently receiving probation ·sentences, and thus would require beds in the first year in which the bill is 
enacted. 

Timing of Prison Beds Needed: An 11 month delay is assumed from the time the bill takes effect to the time impact 
is realized because there are often certain delays related to sex offenses (e.g., between offense dates, reporting 
dates, and conviction dates). Additionally, a delay is assumed because offenders subject to a life sentence are more 
likely to go to trial. The tables below show the estimated bed impact by fiscal year for the various scenarios for how 
long offenders given indeterminate sentences would serve before being released .. 

Fiscal 
Year 

2007 
2008 

51875-0 

Number of Prison Beds Needed Each Year 
For Proposed Life Sentences With and Without Release 

And Other Criminal Sexual Conduct Offenders 
With Various Scenarios For Amounts of Time Served Before Release 

Other CSC- Indeterminate life 

Guidelines Minimum Minimum Minimum Minimum No 

Modifications + 2 years + 5 years + 10 years + 20 years Release 

22 0 0 0 0 0 
59 0 0 0 0 0 

Total 

22 
59 

Page 8of12 



rt.· 

Other CSC- Indeterminate life 
Fiscal Guidelines No Year Minimum Minimum Minimum Minimum 

Modifications + 2 years + 5 years + 10 years + 20 years Release Total 

2009 119 1 1 1 1 1 120 
2010 172 3 3 3 3 3 175 
2011 219 5 6 6 6 ·5 224-225 
2012 253 7 9 9 9 9 260-262 
2013 276 9 12 12 12 12 285-288 
2014. 289 10 15 15 15 15 299-304 
2015 313 10 18 18 18 18 323-331 
2016 341 10 20 21 21 21 351-362 
2017 366 10 23 25 25 25 376-391 
2018 385. 10 26 29 29 29 395-414 
2019 404 11 29 34 34 34 415-438 
2020 420 12 32 39 40 40 432-460 
2021 434 13 35 44 46 46 447-480 
2022 447 14 37 50 52 52. 461-499 
2023 458 16 45 61 64 64 474-522 
2024 470 18 53 71 76 76 488-546 
2025 480 20 61 80 88 88 500-568 
2026 490 23 70 92 102 102 513-592 
2027 491 24 82 105 120 120 515-611 
2028 491 24 92 120 139 139 515-630 
2029 491 24 101 135 158 158 515-649 
2030 491 24 110 149 176 177 515-668 
2031 491 24 118 164 195 197 515-688 
2032 491 24 121 179 214 217 515-708 
2033 491 24 123 190 233 237 515-728 
2034 491 24 125 201 253 258 515-749 
2035 491 24 127 212 271 279 515-770 
2036 491 24 128 222 290 300 515-791 
2037 491 24 129 226 306 320 515-811 
2038 491 24 130 228 322 340 515-831 
2039 491 24 130 230 338 360 515-851 
2040 491 24 130 231 351 375 515-866 
2041 491 24 130 231 364 390 515-881 
2042 491 24 130 231 376 405 515-896 
2043 491 24 130 231 385 420 515-911 
2044 491 24 130 231 393 435 515-926 
2045 491 24 130 231 398 444 515-935 
2046 491 24 130 231 403 453 515-944 
2047 491 24 130 231 406 462 515-953 
2048 491 24 130 231 407 471 515-962 
2049 491 24 130 231 408 480 515-971 
2050 491 24 130 231 409 487 5·15-978 
2051 491 24 130 231 409 494 515-985 
2052 491 24 130 231 409 501 515-992 
2053 491 24 130 231 409 508 515-999 
2054. 491 24 130 231 409 509 515-1000 
2055 491 24 130 231 409 510 515-1001 
2056 491 24 130 231 409 511 515-1002 
2057 491 24 130 231 409 512 515-1003 
2058 491 24 130 231 409 513 515-1004 
2059 491 24 130 231 409· 514 515-1005 
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Other CSC- Indeterminate Life 
Fiscal Guidelines No 
Year Minimum Minimum Minimum Minimum 

Modifications + 2 years + 5 years + 10years + 20 years Release Total 

2060 491 24 130 231 409 515 515-1006 

Impact from Conditional Release Modifications: Repeat offenders and any offenders with a life sentence that are 
. released from prison will remain on conditional release for the remainder of their natural lives. The increase in 
supervision caseloads has the potential to be significant. The offenders in this group currently receiving executed 
sentences now serve at least 60 months on conditional release. Those who meet the current definition of subsequent 
offenders must serve 10 years on conditional release. According to MSGC monitoring data, 165 offenders a year who 
receive prison sentences will eventually be required to serve 10 years on conditional release and 82 offenders a year 
who would qualify as repeat offenders as defined by this bill receive prison sentences and would be required to serve 
lifetime conditional release. If any of the 25 offenders assumed to be eligible for life sentences are eventually 
released, they also would be required to serve lifetime conditional release.. Given that more offenders will serve 
longer periods on conditional release, conditional release caseloads may increase significantly. The change from 5 to 
10 year conditional release will add over 800 off enders to caseloads. The increase in caseload for repeat offenders 
serving lifetime conditional release could range from 800 if they serve an additional 10 years on conditional release 
before death, to 2,000 if they serve an additional 25 years on release. The eventual total increase could range from 
1,600 to 2,800 offenders. 

With the increased periods of conditional release contained in this bill of ten years and lifetime supervision, offenders 
may serve longer periods of incarceration for revocations since an offender may be incarcerated for the remaining 
period of the supervised release imposed. It is not expected that this situation will occur with all conditional release 
revocations but there is a high probability that offenders will serve longer periods of incarceration for revocations than 
is currently being served. 

In addition,. given the increased periods of conditional release for these offenders, and the very stringent conditions 
placed on them, it is reasonable to assume that additional prison beds will be needed to accommodate an increased 
number of conditional release revocations. There is the potential for a dual impact from increased revocations and 
increased lengths of stay for revocations resulting in incarceration. Currently, supervised release return rates are 
higher for sex offenders than for any other group of released offenders, accounting for 42% of the prison admissions 
for sex offenders in 2003. With an increase in the number of sex offenders on conditional release supervision and the 
increased period of supervision, an increase in release revocations is highly probat;>le and f:las the potential to have an 
additional significant impact on the number of prison beds required above what is indicated in this analysis. 

Local Resources: There is the possibility of some savings in the use of local jail and workhouse beds for- these 
offenders. Sex offenders with presumptive prison sentences who instead receive probationary sentences are almost 
always required to serve local jail time as a condition of probation. In 2003, 84% of the criminal sexual conduct 
offenders who received mitigated dispositional departures had local jail time pronounced as a. eondition of probation 
with an average pronounced duration of 277 days. There also would be a decrease in felony probation caseloads of 
22 offenders a year who are currently receiving probation sentences but will, under the provisions of this bill, receive 
executed prison sentences. 

FN Coord Signature: ANNE WALL 
Date: 03/25/05 Phone: 296-0144 
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Fiscal Note - 2005-06 Session 

Bill #: S1875-0 Complete Date: 

Chief Author: RANUM, JANE 

Title: SEX OFFENDERS INDETERMINATE LIFE SEN 

Agency Name: Supreme Court 

Fiscal Impact Yes No 
State 

local 

Fee/Departmental Earnings 

Tax Revenue 

fi I . This table reflects 1sca impact to state government. Local qovernment impact 1s reflected in the narrative onlv. 
Dollars (in thousands) FY05 FY06 FY07 FY08 FY09 

Expenditures 
-No Impact-

less Agency Can Absorb 
-No Impact-

Net Expenditures 
-No Impact-

Revenues 
-No Impact-

Net Cost <Savings> 
-No Impact-
Total Cost <Savings> to the State 

FY05 FY06 FY07 FY08 FY09 
Full Time Equivalents 

-No Impact-
Total FTE 
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Fiscal Note - 2005-06 Session 

Bill #: S1875-0 Complete Date: 

Chief Author: RANUM, JANE 

Title: SEX OFFENDERS INDETERMINATE LIFE SEN 

Agency Name: Public Defense Board 

Fiscal Impact Yes No 
State 

Local 

Fee/Departmental Earnings 

Tax Revenue 

This table reflects fiscal impact to state government. Local government impact is reflected in the narrative onlv. 
Dollars (in thousands) FYOS FY06 FY07 FY08 FY09 

Expenditures 
-No Impact-

Less Agency Can Absorb 
-No Impact-

Net Expenditures 
-No Impact-

Revenues 
-No Impact-

Net Cost <Savings> 
-No lmoact-
Total Cost <Savings> to the State 

FY05 FY06 FY07 FY08 FY09 
Full Time· Equivalents 

- No Impact --
Total FTE 
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Senators Ranum, Neuville, Berglin, Foley and Skoglund introduced--

S.F. No.1875: Referred to the Committee on Crime Prevention and Public Safety. 

1 A bill for an act 

2 relating to public safety; requiring indeterminate 
3 life sentences for certain egregious first degree 
4 criminal sexual conduct offenses and certain repeat 
5 sex offenses; creating the crime of criminal sexual 
6 predatory conduct; modifying the patterned sex 
7 offender sentencing law; increasing conditional 
8 release periods for sex offenders and providing for 
9 intensive supervision for these offenders; requiring 

10 predatory offender registration for offenders without 
11 primary addresses; providing for community 
12 notification for out-of-state offenders; changing 

· 13 other provisions of the predatory offender 
14 registration and community notification laws; 
15 authorizing the use of polygraphs for sex offenders 
16 under community supervision and providing for a 
17 protocol on their use; implementing the 
18 recommendations of the legislative auditor regarding 
19 sex offender supervision; making necessary technical 
20 and conforming statutory changes; requiring reports; 
21 providing criminal penalties; amending Minnesota 
22 Statutes 2004, sections 14.03, subdivision 3; 241.67, 
23 subdivisions 7, 8; 243.166; 243.167; 244.04, 
24 subdivision l; 244.05, subdivisions 2, 4, 5, 6, 7; 
25 244.052, subdivisions 3, 4, by adding a subdivision;. 
26 244.10, subdivision 2a; 253B.18, subdivision 5, by 
27 adding a subdivision; 609.108, subdivisions 1, 3, 4, 
28 6; 609.109, subdivisions 2, 5; 609.117, subdivisions 
29 1, 2; 609.1351; 609.341, by adding a subdivision; 
30 609.342, subdivisions 2, 3; 609.343, subdivisions 2, 
31 3; 609.344, subdivisions 2, 3; 609.345, subdivisions 
32 2, 3; 609.3452, subdivision l; 609.347; 609.3471; 
33 609.348; 609.353; 626.556, subdivision 3; 631.045; 
34 proposing coding for new law in Minnesota Statutes, 
35 chapters 243; 244; ·609; repealing Minnesota Statutes 
36 2004, sections 243.166, subdivisions 1, 8; 609.108, 
37 subdivision 2; 609.1~9, subdivision 7. 

38 BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF MINNESOTA: 

39 ARTICLE 1 

40 SEX OFFENDERS: 

41 MANDATORY LIFE SENTENCES FOR CERTAIN EGREGIOUS AND 

Article 1 1 
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1 

2 

REPEAT SEX OFFENSES; CONDITIONAL RELEASE; 

OTHER SENTENCING CHANGES 

this t~Ee of suEervision and treatment is best Erovided 

correctional setting and that the costs associated with 

an aEErOEriate use of state resources. 

It is the legislature's intent in enacting this act 

Article 1 Section 2 2 

in a 

this 

to 
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1 whose crime was committed before August 1, 1993, violates a 

2 disciplinary offense rule promulgated by the commissioner, good 

3 time earned prior to the violation may not be taken away, but 

4 the inmate may be required to serve an appropriate portion of 

5 the term of imprisonment after the violation without earning 

6 good time. 

7 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005. 

8 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 244.05, 

9 subdivision 2, is amended to read: 

10 Subd. 2. [RULES.] The commissioner of corrections shall 

11 adopt by rule standards and procedures for the revocation of 

12 supervised or conditional release, and shall specify the period 

lj of revocation for each violation of stt~erv±sed release. 

14 Procedures for the revocation of stt~erv±sed release shall 

15 provide due process of law for the inmate. 

16 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005, 

17 and applies to crimes committed on or after that date. 

18 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 244.05, 

19 subdivision 4, is amended to read: 

20 Subd. 4. [MINIMUM IMPRISONMENT, LIFE SENTENCE.] An inmate 

21 serving a mandatory life sentence under section 609.106 must not 

22 be given supervised release under this section. An inmate 

23 serving a mandatory life sentence under section 609.185, clause 

24 (1), {3), (5), or (6); or 609.109, subdivision %a~, must not be 

25 given supervised release under this section without having 

26 served a minimum term of 30 years. An inmate serving a 

27 mandatory life sentence under section 609;385 must not be given 

28 supervised release under this section without having served a 

29 minimum term of imprisonment of 17 years. An inmate serving a 

30 mandatory life sentence under section 609.342, subdivision 2, 

31 paragraph (b), or 609.3455 must not be given supervised release 

32 under this section without having served the minimum term of 

33 imprisonment specified by the court in its sentence. 

34 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005, 

35 and applies to crimes committed on or after that date. 

36 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 244.05, 

Article 1 Section 5 3 
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1 subdivision 5, is amended to read: 

2 Subd. 5. [SUPERVISED RELEASE, LIFE SENTENCE.] (a) The 

3 commissioner of corrections may, under rules promulgated by the 

4 commissioner, give supervised release to an inmate serving a 

5 mandatory life sentence under section 609.185, clause (1), (3), 

6 (5), or (6); 609.109, subdivision %a~; 609.342, subdivision 2, 

7 paragraph (b); 609.3455; or 609.385 after the inmate has served 

8 the minimum term of imprisonment specified in subdivision 4. 

9 (b) The commissioner shall require the preparation of a 

10 community investigation report and shall consider the findings 

11 of the report when making a supervised release decision under 

12 this subdivision. The report shall reflect the sentiment of the 

13 various elements of the community toward the inmate, both at the 

14 time of the offense and at the present time. The report shall 

15 include the views of the sentencing judge, the prosecutor, any 

16 law enforcement personnel who may have been involved in the 

17 case, and any successors to these individuals who may have 

18 information relevant to the supervised release decision. The 

19 report shall also include the views of the victim and the 

20 victim's family unless the victim or the victim's family chooses 

21 not to participate. 

22 (c) The commissioner· shall make reasonable efforts to 

23 notify the victim, in advance, of the time and place of the 

24 inmate's supervised release review hearing. The victim has a 

25 right to submit an oral or written statement at the review 

26 hearing. The statement may summarize the harm suffered by the 

27 victim as a result of the crime and give the victim's 

28 recommendation on whether the inmate should be given supervised 

29 release at this time. The commissioner must consider the 

30 victim's statement when making th~ supervised release decision. 

31 (d) When considering whether to give supervised release to 

32 an inmate serving a life sentence under section 609.342, 

33 subdivision 2, paragraph (b), or 609.3455, the commissioner 

34 shall consider, at a minimum, the following: the risk the 

3'5 inmate poses to the community if released, the inmate's progress 

36 in treatment, the inmate's behavior while incarcerated, 

Article 1 Section 5 4 
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1 psychological or other diagnostic evaluations of the inmate, the 

2 inmate's criminal history, and any other relevant conduct of the 

3 inmate while incarcerated or before incarceration. However, the 

4 commissioner may not give supervised release to the inmate 

5 unless: 

6 (l) while in prison, the inmate has successfully completed 

7 appropriate sex offender treatment; 

8 (2) while in prison, the inmate has been assessed for 

9 chemical dependency needs and, if appropriate, has successfully 

10 completed chemical dependency treatment; 

11 (3) while in prison, the inmate has been assessed for 

12 mental health needs and, if appropriate, has successfully 

13 completed mental health.treatment; and 

14 (4) a comprehensive individual release plan is in place for 

15 the inmate that ensures that, after release, the inmate will 

16 have suitable housing and receive appropriate aftercare and 

17 community-based treatment, and includes a postprison employment. 

18 or education plan for the inmate. 

19 fil As used in this subdivision, "victim" means the 

20 individual who suffered harm as a result of the inmate's crime 

21 or, if the individual is deceased, the deceased's surviving 

22 spouse or next of kin. 

23 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005, 

24 and applies to crimes committed on or after that date. 

25 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 244.05, 

26 subdivision 6, is amended to read: 

27 Subd. 6. [INTENSIVE SUPERVISED RELEASE.] The commissioner 

28 may order that an inmate be placed on intensive supervised 

29 r·e1ease for all or part of the inmate's supervised release or 

30 parole term if the commissioner determines that the action will 

31 further the goals described in section 244.14, subdivision 1, 

32 clauses (2), (3), and (4). %n-add±t±en7-the-eemm±ss±ener-may 

33 ereer-that-an-±nmate-be-p%aeed-en-±ntens±ve-sttperv±sed-re%ease 

34 £er-a%%-e£-the-±nmate~s-eene±t±ena%-er-sttperv±see-re%ease-term 

35 ±£-the-±nmate-was-eenv±eted-e£-a-sex-e££ense-ttneer-seet±ens 

36 669.34%-te-609.345-er-was-senteneed-ttnder-the-prev±s±ens-e£ 

Article 1 Section 6 5 
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1 seee±on-699.%98• The commissioner may impose appropriate 

2 conditions of release on the inmate including but not limited to 

3 unannounced searches of the inmate's person, vehicle, or 

4 premises by an intensive supervision agent; compliance with 

5 court-ordered restitution, if any; random drug testing; house 

6 arrest; daily curfews; frequent face-to-face contacts with an 

7 assigned intensive supervision agent; work, education, or 

8 treatment requirements; and electronic surveillance. in 

9 edd±e±on1-eny-sex-0££ender-p%eeed-on-±neens±ve-sttperv±sed 

10 reieese-mey-be-ordered-eo-pere±e±peee-±n-en-eppropr±eee-sex 

11 o££ender-progrem-es-e-eond±e±on-or-re%eesee. If the inmate 

12 violates the conditions of the intensive supervised release, the 

13 commissioner shall impose sanctions as provided in subdivision 3 

14 end-seee±on-699.%98. 

15 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005, 

16 and applies to crimes committed on or after that date. 

17 Sec~ 7. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 609.108, 

18 subdivision 1, is amended to read: 

19 Subdivision 1. [MANDATORY INCREASED SENTENCE.] tat A court 

20 shall commit a person to the commissioner of corrections for a 

21 period of time that is not less than double the presumptive 

22 sentence under the Sentencing Guidelines and not more than the 

23 statutory maximum, or if the statutory maximum is less than 

24 double the presumptive sentence, for a period of time that is 

25 equal to the statutory maximum, if: 

26 (1) the court is imposing an executed sentence,-besed-on-e 

27 Seneene±ng-Stt±dei±nes-presttmpe±ve-±mpr±sonmene-seneenee-or-a 

28 d±spos±e±onei-deperettre-£or-eggrevee±ng-e±rettmseenees-or-e 

29 mendeeory-m±n±mttm-seaeenee, on a person convicted of committing 

30 or attempting to commit a violation of section 609.342, 609.343, 

31 609.344, or 609.345, or on-e-person-eonv±eeed-0£-eomm±et±ng-or 

32 eeeempe±ng-eo-eomm±e-eny-oeher-er±me-i*seed-±n-sttbd±v±s±on-3-±£ 

33 ±e-reasonebiy-appeers-eo-ehe-eottre-ehee-ehe-er±me-wes-moe±veeed 

34 by-ehe-o££enderis-sexttei-±mpttises-or-wes-pere-o£-a-predaeory 

35 peeeern-0£-behev±or-ehee-hed-er±m±nei-sexttei-eondttee-as-±es-goai 

36 609.3453; 

Article 1 Section 7 6 
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1 (2) the eettre-£inds fact finder determines that the 

2 offender is a danger to public safety; and 

3 (3) the eettre-£inds fact finder determines that the 

4 e££ender-needs-%eng-eerm-ereaemene-er-stt~ervisien offender's 

5 criminal sexual behavior is so engrained that the risk of 

6 reoffending is great without intensive psychotherapeutic 

7 intervention or other long-term treatment or supervision 

8 extending beyond the presumptive term of imprisonment and 

9 supervised release. ~he~£inding-mttse-be-based-en-a-~re£essiena% 

10 assessmene-by-an-examiner-experieneed-in-eva%ttaeing-sex 

11 e££enders-ehae-eene%ttdes-ehae-ehe-e££ender-is-a-paeeerned-sex 

12 e££ender.--~he-assessmene-mttse-eeneain-ehe-£aees-ttpen-whieh-ehe 

13 eene%ttsien-is-based1-wieh-re£erenee-ee-ehe-e££ense-hiseery-e£ 

14 ehe-e££ender-er-ehe-severiey-e£-ehe-ettrrene-e££ense7-ehe-seeia% 

15 hiseery-e£-ehe-e££ender7-and-ehe-restt%es-e£-an-examinaeien~e£ 

16 ehe-e££enderis-menea%-seaetts-ttn%ess-ehe-e££ender-re£ttses-ee-be 

17 examined.--~he-eene%ttsien-may-nee-be-based-en-eeseing-a%ene.--A 

18 paeeerned-sex-e££ender-is-ene-whese-erimina%-sextta%-behavier-is 

19 se-engrained-ehae-ehe-ris~-e£-ree££ending-is-greae-withette 

20 ineensive-psyeheeherapetteie-ineerveneien-er-eeher-%eng-eerm 

21 eenere%s. 

22 tbt-~he-eettre-sha%%-eensider-impesing-a-seneenee-ttnder-~his 

23 seeeien-whenever-a-persen-is-eenvieeed-e£-vie%aeing-seeeien 

24 699.34%-er-69~•343• 

25 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005, 

26 and applies to crimes committed on or after that date. 

27 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 609.108, 

28 subdivision 3, is amended to read: 

29 Subd. 3. [PREDATORY CRIME.] A-p~edaeery-erime-is-a-£e%eny 

30 vie%aeio~-e£-seeeien-699.%851-699•~97-609.%957-699•ze7-699.%957 

31 699.%%%7-699.zzz7-699.%z3,-609.%47-699.z45,-609.z5,-6e9.%557 

32 699.34%7-699.3437-699.3447-699.3457-699.3657-699.4987-699.56%7 

33 er-699.58%7-sttbdivisien-%• As used in this section, "predatory 

34 crime" has the meaning given in section 609.341, subdivision 22. 

35 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005, 

36 and applies to crimes committed on or after that date. 

Article 1 Section 8 7 



03/15/05 [REVISOR ] RPK/RC 05-3518 

1 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 609.108, 

2 subdivision 4, is amended to read: 

3 Subd. 4. [DANGER TO PUBLIC SAFETY.] The eottre-sha%%-base 

4 ies-£~ftdiftg fact finder shall base its determination that the 

5 of fender is a danger to public safety on any of the following 

6 factors: 

7 (1) the crime involved an aggravating factor that would 

8 justify a durational departure from the presumptive sentence 

9 under the Sentencing Guidelines; 

10 (2) the offender previously committed or attempted to 

11 commit a predatory crime or a violation of section 609.224 or 

12 609.2242, including: 

13 (i) an offense committed as a juvenile that would have been 

14 a predatory crime or a violation of section 609.224 or 609.2242 

15 if committed by an adult; or 

16 (ii) a violation or attempted violation of a similar law of 

17 any other state or the United States; or 

18 (3) the offender planned or prepared for the crime prior to 

19 its commission. 

20 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005, 

21 and applies to crimes committed on or after that date. 

22 Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 609.108, 

23 subdivision 6, is amended to read: 

24 Subd. 6. [CONDITIONAL RELEASE.] At the time of sentencing 

25 under subdivision 1, the court shall provide that after the 

26 offender has completed the sentence imposed, less any good time 

27 earned by an offender whose crime was committed before August 1, 

28 1993, the commissioner of corrections shall place the offender 

29 on conditional release for the remainder of the statutory 

30 maximum period, or for ten years, whichever is longer. The 

31 terms of conditional release are governed by section 609.3455. 

32 ~he-eondieions-o£-re%ease-may-ine%ttde-stteeess£tt%-eomp%eeion 

33 o£-ereaemene-aftd-a£eereare-ift-a~pregram-appro~ed-by-ehe 

34 eommissioner7 -saeis£aeeioft-o£-ehe-re%ease-eoftdieiefts-speei£ied 

35 in-seeeion-%44.057-sttbdi~ision-61-aftd-any-oeher-eondieiofts-ehe 

36 eommissioner-eonsiders-appropriaee.--Be£ore-ehe-e££ender-is 
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1 re±eased7-ehe-eomm±ss±oner-sha±±-not±£y-the-sentene±ng-eottre7 

2 the-proseetteor-±n-ehe-jttr±sd±ee±on-where-ehe-o££ender-was 

3 seneeneed7-and-the-v±ee±m-0£-ehe-0££ender~s-er±me7-where 

4 ava±±ab±e1-0£-ehe-eerms-0£-ehe-0££ender~s-eond±e±ona±-re±ease. 

5 %£-ehe-o££ender-£a±±s-eo-meee-any-eond±e±on-o£-re±ease7-ehe 

6 eomm±ss±oner-mey-revoke-ehe-o££ender~s-eondie±one±-re±eese-end 

7 order-thae-ehe-o££ender-serve-a±±-or-a-part-o£-ehe-reme±n±ng 

8 port±on-0£-ehe-eond±e±ona±-re±ease-eerm-±n-pr±son.--~he 

9 eomm±ss±oner-sha±±-noe-d±smiss-ehe-o££ender-£rom-sttperv±s±on 

10 be£ore-ehe-eond±e±one±-re±ease-eerm-exp±res. 

11 eond±e±ona±-re±ease-graneed-ttnder-eh±s-sttbd±v±s±on-±s 

12 governed-by-prov±s±ons-re±ae±ng-eo-sttperv±sed-re±ease1-exeepe-as 

13 oeherw±se-pro~±ded-±n-eh±s-sttbd±v±s±on7-seee±on-%44.047 

14 sttbd±v±s±on-%1-or-%44.05• 

15 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005, 

16 and applies to crimes committed on or after that date. 

17 Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 609.341, is 

18 amended by adding a subdivision to read: 

19 Subd. 22. [PREDATORY CRIME.] "Predatory crime" means a 

20 felony violation of section 609.185, 609.19, 609.195, 609.20, 

21 609.205, 609.221, 609.222, 609.223, 609.24, 609.245, 609.25, 

22 609.255, 609.365, 609.498; 609.561, or 609.582, subdivision 1. 

23 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005, 

24 and applies to crimes committed on or after that date. 

25 Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 609.342, 

26 subdivision 2, is amended to read: 

27 Subd. 2. [PENALTY.] (a) Except as otherwise provided 

28 in paragraph (b); section 609.109; or 609.3455, a person 

29 convicted under subdivision 1 may be sentenced to imprisonment 

30 for not more than 30 years or-ee-a-~eymene-o£-e-£±ne-e£-noe-more 

31 ehan-$4079007-or-boeh. 

32 tbt Unless a longer mandatory minimum sentence is otherwise 

33 required by law or the Sentencing Guidelines provide for a 

34 longer presumptive executed sentence, the court shall presume 

35 that an executed sentence of 144 months must be imposed on an 

36 offender convicted of violating this section. Sentencing a 
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1 person in a manner other than that described in this paragraph 

2 is a departure from the Sentencing Guidelines. 

3 (b) The court shall sentence a person to imprisonment for 

4 life if the person is convicted under subdivision 1, clause (c), 

5 (d), (e), (f), or (h), and the fact finder determines beyond a 

6 reasonable doubt that any of the following circumstances exist: 

7 (1) the offender tortured the complainant; 

8 (2) the offender intentionally inflicted great bodily harm 

9 upon the complainant; 

10 (3) the offender intentio'rially mutilated the complainant; 

11 or 

12 (4) the offender exposed the complainant to extreme 

13 inhumane conditions. 

14 When sentencing an offender under this paragraph, the court 

15 shall specify a minimum term of imprisonment that must be served 

16 before the offender may be· considered for supervised release. 

17 (c) As used in this subdivision: 

18 (1) "extreme inhumane conditions" means situations where, 

19 either before or after the sexual penetration, the offender 

20 knowingly causes or permits the complainant to be placed in a 

21 situation likely to cause the complainant severe ongoing mental, 

22 emotional, or psychological harm, or causes the complainant's 

23 death; 

24 (2) "mutilation" means the intentional infliction of 

25 physical abuse designed to cause serious permanent disfigurement 

26 or permanent.or protracted loss or impairment of the functions 

27. of any bodily member or organ, where the offender relishes the 

28 infliction of the abuse, evidencing debasement or perversion; 

29 and 

30 (3) "torture" means the intentional infliction of extreme 

31 mental anguish, or extreme psychological or physical abuse, when 

32 committed in an especially depraved manner. 

33 (d) In addition to the sentence imposed under paragraph (a) 

34 or (b), the person may- also be sentenced to the payment of a 

35 fine of not more than $40,000. 

36 (e) Notwithstanding the statutory maximum sentence 
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l described in paragraph (a) or {b)", the person is also subject to 

2 conditional release as provided in section 609.3455. 

3 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005, 

4 and applies to crimes committed on or after that date. 

5 Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 609.342, 

6 subdivision 3, is amended to read: 

7 Subd. 3. [STAY.] Except when imprisonment is required 

8 under section 609.109 or 609.3455, if a person is convicted 

9 under subdivision 1, clause {g), the court may stay imposition 

10 or execution of the sentence if it finds that: 

11 {a) a stay is in the best interest of the complainant or 

12 the family unit; and 

13 (b) a professional assessment indicates that the offender 

14 has been accepted by and can respond to a treatment program. 

15 If the court stays imposition or execution of sentence, it 

16 shall include the following as conditions of probation: 

17 (1) incarceration in a local jail or workhouse; 

18 {2) a requirement that the offender complete a treatment 

19 program; and 

20 (3) a requirement that the offender have no unsupervised 

21 contact with the complainant until the offender has successfully 

22 completed the treatment program unless approved by the treatment 

23 program and the supervising correctional agent. 

24 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005, 

25 and applies to crimes committed on or after that date. 

26 Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 609.343, 

27 subdivision 2, is amended to read: 

28 Subd. 2. [PENALTY.] (a) Except as otherwise provided in 

29 section 609.109 or 609.3455, a person convicted under 

30 subdivision l may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than 

31 25 years or to a payment of a fine of not more than $35,000, or 

32 both. 

33 (b) Unless a longer mandatory minimum sentence is otherwise 

34 required by law or the Sentencing Guidelines provide for a 

35 longer presumptive executed sentence, the court shall presume 

36 that an executed sentence of 90 months must be imposed on an 
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1 offender convicted of violating subdivision 1, clause (c), (d), 

2 (e), (f), or (h). Sentencing a person in a manner other than 

3 that described in this paragraph is a departure from the 

4 Sentencing Guidelines. 

5 (c) Notwithstanding the statutory maximum sentence 

6 described in paragraph (a), the person is also subject to 

7 conditional release as provided in section 609.3455. 

8 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005, 

9 and applies to crimes committed on or after that date. 

10 Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 609.343, 

11 subdivision 3, is amended to read~ 

12 Subd. 3. [STAY.] Except when imprisonment is required 

13 under section 609.109 or 609.3455, if a person is convicted 

14 under subdivision 1, clause (g), the court may stay imposition 

15 or execution of the sentence if it finds that: 

16 (a) a stay is in the best interest of the complainant or 

17 the family unit; and 

18 (b) a professional assessment indicates that the offender 

19 has been accepted by and can respond to a treatment program. 

20 If the court stays imposition or execution of sentence, it 

21 shall include the following as conditions of probation: 

22 (1) incarceration in-a local jail or workhouse; 

23 (2) a requirement that the offender complete a treatment 

24 program; and 

25 (3) a requirement that the offender have no unsupervised 

26 contact with the complainant until the offender has successfully 

27 completed the treatment program unless approved by the treatment 

28 program and the supervising correctional agent. 

29 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005, 

30 and applies to crimes committed on or after that date. 

31 Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 609.344, 

32 subdivision 2, is amended to read: 

33 Subd. 2. [PENALTY.] Except as otherwise provided in 

34 section 609.3455, a person convicted under subdivision 1 may be 

35 sentenced to imprisonment for not more than 15 years or to a 

36 payment of a fine of not more than $30,000, or 
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1 both. Notwithstanding this statutory maximum sentence, the 

2 person is also subject to conditional release as provided in 

3 section 609.3455. 

4 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005, 

5 and applies to crimes committed on or after that date. 

6 Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 609.344, 

7 subdivision 3, is amended to read: 

8 Subd. 3. [STAY.] Except when imprisonment is required 

9 under section 609.109 or 609.3455, if a person is convicted 

10 under subdivision 1, clause (f), the court may stay imposition 

11 or execution of the sentence if it finds that: 

12 (a) a stay is in the best interest of the complainant or 

13 the family unit; and 

14 (b) a professional assessment indicates that the offender 

15 has been accepted by and can respond to a treatment program. 

16 If the court stays imposition or execution of sentence, it 

17 shall include the following as conditions of probation: 

18 (1) incarceration in a local jail or workhouse; 

19 (2) a requirement that the offender complete a treatment 

20 program; and 

21 (3) a requirement that the offender have no unsupervised 

22 contact with the complainant until the offender has successfully 

23 completed the treatment program unless approved by the treatment 

24 program and the supervising correctional agent. 

25 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005, 

26 and applies to crimes committed on or after that date. 

27 Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 609.345, 

28 subdivision 2, is amended to read: 

29 Subd. 2. [PENALTY.] Except as otherwise provided in 

30 section 609.3455, a person convicted under subdivision 1 may be 

31 sentenced to imprisonment for not more than ten years or to a 

32 payment of a fine of not more than $20,000, or 

33 both. Notwithstanding this statutory maximum sentence, the 

34 person is also subject to conditional release as provided in 

35 section 609.3455. 

36 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005, 
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1 and applies to crimes committed on or after that date. 

2 Sec. 19. Minn·esota Statutes 2004, section 609. 345, 

3 subdivision 3, is amended to read: 

4 Subd. 3. [STAY.] Except when imprisonment is required 

5 under section 609.109 or 609.3455, if a person is convicted 

6 under subdivision 1, clause (f), the court may stay imposition 

7 or execution of the sentence if it finds that: 

8 (a) a stay is in the best interest of the complainant or 

9 the family unit; and 

10 (b) a professional assessment indicates that the offender 

11 has been accepted by and can respond to a treatment program. 

12 If the court stays imposition or execution of sentence~ it 

13 shall include the following as conditions of probation: 

14 (1) incarceration in a local jail or workhouse; 

15 (2) a requirement that the offender complete a treatment 

16 program; and 

17 (3) a requirement that the offender have no unsupervised 

18 contact with the complainant until the offender has successfully 

19 completed the tr·eatment program unless approved by the treatment 

20 program and the supervising correctional agent. 

21 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005, 

22 and applies to crimes committed on or. after that date. 

23 Sec. 20. [609.3453] [CRIMINAL SEXUAL PREDATORY CONDUCT.] 

24 Subdivision 1. [CRIME DEFINED.] A person is guilty of 

25 criminal sexual predatory conduct if the person commits a 

26 predatory crime that was motivated by the offender's sexual 

27 impulses or was part of a predatory pattern of behavior that had 

28 criminal sexual conduct as its goal. 

29 Subd. 2. [PENALTY.] (a) Except as provided in s~ction 

30 609.3455, the statutory maximum sentence for -a violation of 

31 subdivision 1 is: (1) 25 percent longer than for the underlying 

32 predatory crime; or (2) 50 percent longer than for the 

33 underlying predatory crime, if the violation is committed by a 

34 person with a previous sex offense conviction, as defined in 

35 section 609.3455, subdivision 1. 

36 (b) In addition to the sentence imposed under paragraph 
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1 (a), the person may also ·be sentenced to the payment of a fine 

2 of not more than $20,000. 

3 (c) Notwithstanding the statutory maximum sentence 

4 described in paragraph (a), the person is also subject to 

5 conditional release as provided in section 609.3455. 

6 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005, 

7 and applies to crimes committed on or after that date. 

8 Sec. 21. [609.3455] [DANGEROUS SEX OFFENDERS; LIFE 

9 SENTENCES; CONDITIONAL RELEASE.] 

10 Subdivision 1. [DEFINITIONS.] (a) As used in this section, 

11 the following terms have the meanings given. 

12 (b) "Conviction" includes a conviction as an extended 

13. jurisdiction juvenile under section 260B.130 for a violation of, 

14 or an attempt to violate, section 609.342, 609.343, 609.344, or 

15 609.3453. 

16 (c) A conviction is considered a "previous sex offense 

17 conviction" if the offender was convicted and sentenced for a 

18 sex offense before the commission of the present offense. 

19 (d) A conviction is considered a "prior sex offense 

20 conviction" if the offender was convicted of committing a sex 

21 offense before the offender has been convicted of the present 

22 offense, regardless of whether the offender was convicted for 

23 the first offense before the commission of the present offense, 

24 and the convictions involved separate behavioral incidents. 

25 (e) "Sex offense" means any violation of, or attempt to 

26 violate, section 609.342, 609.343, 609.344, 609.345, 609.3451, 

27 609.3453, or any similar statute of the United States, this 

28 state, or any other state. 

29 (f) An offender has "two previous sex offense convictions" 

30 only if the offender was convicted and sentenced for a sex 

31 offense committed after the offender was earlier convicted and 

32 sentenced for a sex offense and both convictions preceded the 

33 commission of the present offense of conviction. 

34 Subd. 2. [MANDATORY LIFE SENTENCE.] (a) Notwithstanding 

35 the statutory maximum penalty otherwise applicable to the 

36 offense, the court shall sentence an offender to imprisonment 
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l for life if the of fender is convicted of violating section 

2 609.342, 609.343, 609.344, 609.345, or 609.3453 if: 

3 (l) the offender has two previous sex offense convictions; 

4 (2) the offender has a previous sex offense conviction and: 

5 (i) the present offense involved an aggravating factor that 

6 would provide grounds for an upward departure under the 

7 sentencing guidelines other than the aggravating factor 

8 applicable to repeat criminal sexual conduct convictions; 

9 (ii) the offender received an upward departure from the 

10 sentencing guidelines for the previous sex offense conviction; 

11 or 

12 (iii) the offender was sentenced under section 609.108 for 

13 the previous sex offense conviction; or 

14 (3) the offender has two prior sex offense convictions, the 

15 prior convictions and present offense involved at least three 

16 separate victims, and: 

17 (i) the present offense involved an aggravating factor that 

18 would provide grounds for an upward departure under the 

19 sentencing guidelines other than the aggravating factor 

20 applicable to repeat criminal sexual conduct convictions; 

21 (ii) the offender received an upward departure from the 

22 sentencing guidelines for-one of the prior sex offense 

23 convictions; or 

24 (iii) the offender was sentenced under section 609.108 for 

25 one of the prior sex offense convictions. 

26 (b) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), a court may not sentence 

27 an offender to imprisonment for life under- that paragraph for a 

28 violation of section 609.345, unless the offender's previous or 

29 prior sex offense convictions that are being used as the basis 

30 for the sentence are for violations of section 609.342, 609.343, 

31 609.344, 609.3453, or any similar statute of the United States, 

32 this state, or any other state. 

33 Subd. 3. [LIFE SENTENCES; MINIMUM TERM OF 

34 IMPRISONMENT.] At the time of sentencing under subdivision 2, 

35 the court shall specify a minimum term of imprisonment that must 

36 be served before the of fender may be considered for supervised 
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1 release. 

2 Subd. 4. [MANDATORY TEN-YEAR CONDITIONAL RELEASE TERM.] 

3 Notwithstanding the statutory maximum sentence otherwise 

4 .applicable to the offense and unless a longer conditional 

5 release term is required in subdivision 5, when a court commits 

6 an of fender to the custody of the commissioner of corrections 

7 for a violation of section 609.342, 609.343, 609.344, 609.345, 

8 or 609.3453, the court shall provide that, after the offender 

9 has completed the sentence imposed, the commissioner shall place 

10 the offender on conditional release for ten years, minus the 

11 time the offender served on supervised release. 

12 Subd. 5. [MANDATORY LIFETIME CONDITIONAL RELEASE TE~.]~ 

13 ·when a court sentences an offender under subdivision.2, the 

14 court shall provide that, if the offender is released from 

15 prison, the commissioner of ·corrections shall place the offender 

16 on conditional release for the remainder of the offender's life. 

17 (b) Notwithstanding the statutory maximum sentence 

18 otherwise applicable to the offense, when .the court commits an 

19 off ender to the custody of the commissioner of corrections for a 

20 violation of section 609.342, 609.343, 609.344, 609.345, or 

21 609.3453, and the offender has a previous or prior sex offense 

22 conviction, the court shall provide that, after the offender has 

23 completed the sentence imposed, the commissioner shall place the 

24 offender on conditional release for the remainder of the 

25 offender's life. 

26 (c) Notwithstanding paragraph (b), an offender may not be 

27 placed on lifetime conditional release under that paragraph for 

28 a violation of section 609.345, unless the offender's previous 

29 or prior sex offense conviction that is being used as the basis · 

30 for the placement is for a violation of section 609.342, 

31 609.343, 609.344, 609.3453, or any similar statute of the United 

32 States, this state, or any other state. 

33 Subd. 6. [TERMS OF CONDITIONAL RELEASE; APPLICABLE TO ALL 

34 SEX OFFENDERS.] (a) The provisions of this subdivision apply to 

35 all sex offenders placed on conditional release. Except as 

36 provided in this subdivision, conditional release of sex 
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1 of fenders is governed by provisions relating to supervised 

2 release. The commissioner of corrections may not dismiss an 

3 offender on conditional release from supervision until the 

4 offender's conditional release term expires. The agent caseload 

5 of corrections agents supervising offenders on conditional 

6 release may not exceed the ratio of 30 offenders to two agents. 

7 (b) The commissioner of corrections shall impose severe and 

8 meaningful sanctions for violating the terms of conditional 

9 release, including revocation of release for an offender who: 

10 (1) fails to meet any condition of release; 

11 (2) commits any misdemeanor, gross misdemeanor, or felony 

12 offense; or 

13 (3) presents a risk to the public, based on the offender's 

14 behavior, attitude, or abuse of alcohol or controlled substances. 

15 The revocation of conditional release is governed by the 

16 procedures in the commissioner's rules adopted under section 

17 244.05, subdivision 2. The commissioner may order an offender. 

·18 whose conditional release is revoked to serve any portion of the 

19 remaining conditional release term in prison up to and including 

20 the entire term. 

21 (c) An offender on conditional release shall be required to 

22 successfully complete sex·offender treatment, chemical 

23 dependency and mental health treatment, if appropriate, and 

24 aftercare in programs approved by the commissioner of 

25 corrections. An offender shall submit at any time to 

26 unannounced searches of the offender's person, vehicle, or 

27 premises by a corrections agent. An offender shall be subjected 

28 at least weekly to urinalysis and breath tests to detect the 

29 presence of controlled substances or alcohol. The tests must be 

30 random and unannounced. An offender shall be under house arrest 

31 in a residence approved by the offender's corrections agent and 

32 may not move to another residence without permission for a 

33 period determined by the offender's agent. Following the house 

34 arrest period, the agent shall impose periods of decreasing 

35 restrictions on the offender's freedom of movement, including, 

36 but not limited to, modified house arrest and daily curfews. 
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1 However, if the offender's conduct merits, the agent may impose 

2 stricter conditions at any time. An offender may be placed on 

3 electronic surveillance at any time if the offender's 

4 corrections agent so directs. The offender's corrections agent 
-

5 shall have at least four face-to-face contacts with the offender 

6 each week, including at least one in the offender's home. The 

7 of fender shall spend at least 40 hours per week performing 

8 approved work, undertaking constructive activity designed to 

9 obtain employment, or attending a treatment or education program 

10 as directed by the commissioner. An offender may not spend more 

11 than six months in a residential treatment program that does not 

12 require the offender to spend at least 40 hours per week 

13 performing approved work or undertaking constructive activity 

14 designed to obtain employment. The offender's corrections agent 

15 shall make appropriate use of polygraphic examinations when 

16 supervising the offender. If an offender received a restitution 

17 order as part of the sentence, the offender shall make weekly 

18 payments as scheduled by the offender's corrections agent until 

19 the full amount is paid. The commissioner may include any other 

20 conditions on an offender that the commissioner finds necessary 

21 and appropriate. 

22 {d) Upon the request-of an offender's corrections agent, 

23 the commissioner of corrections may modify the terms of an 

24 offender's conditions of release relating to the frequency of 

25 the urinalysis and breath tests and face-to-face contacts with 

26 the corrections agent and the minimum hours per week in 

27 constructive activities. The commissioner· may order such a 

28 modification if the commissioner determines that the offender 

29 has complied with these requirements for a substantial period of 

30 time, a modification is justified given the circumstances: and 

31 public safety will not be compromised. However, the number of 

32 face-to-face contacts may not be reduced to fewer than one per 

33 week and one home visit per month. The commissioner may modify 

34 other terms in the same manner as for supervised release. 

35 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005. 

36 Subdivisions 2 to 5 apply to crimes committed on or after that 
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l date. Subdivision 6 applies to offenders on conditional release 

2 on or after that date. 

3 Sec. 22. [REPEALER.] 

4 Minnesota Statutes 2004, sections 609.108, subdivision 2; 

5 and 609.109, subdivision 7, are repealed. 

6 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005, 

7 and applies to crimes committed on or after that date. 

8 ARTICLE 2 

9 

10 

SEX OFFENDERS: PREDATORY OFFENDER REGISTRATION; 

COMMUNITY NOTIFICATION; NONSENTENCING CHANGES 

11 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 243.166, is 

12 amended to read: 

13 243.166 [REGISTRATION OF PREDATORY OFFENDERS.] . 

14 Sttbd±Y±s±en-±.--fRE6%S~RA~%0N-REee%REB.t-tat-A-person-sha±± 

15 reg±seer-ttnder-eh±s-seee±en-±£~ 

16 t±t-ehe-persen-was-eharged-w±eh~er-pee±e±ened-£er-a-£e±eny 

17 Y±e±ae±en-0£-er-aeeempe-eo-Y±e±aee-any-e£-ehe-£e±±ew±ng7-and 

18 eenY±eeed-e£-er-ad;ttoieaeed-de±±n~ttene-£er-ehae-e££ense-er 

19 aneeher-e££ense-ar±s±ng-ette-e£-ehe-same-see-e£-e±rettmseanees~ 

20 t±t-mttrder-ttnder-seee±en-609.±851-e±attse-tzt;-or 

21 t±±t-~±dnapp±ng-ttnder-seee±en-699.%5;-er 

22 t±±±t-er±m±na±-sextta±-eendttee-ttnder-seee±en-699.34%; 

23 609.343;-609.344;-609.345;-er-609.345±7-sttbd±Y±s±en-3;-er 

24 t±Yt-±ndeeene-expesttre-ttnder-seee±en-6±7•%37-sttbd±Y±s±en-3; 

25 er 

26 

27 ±mpr±sen±ng-a-m±ner-±n-y±e±ae±en-e£-seee±on-609.z557-sttbd±Y±s±en 

28 z;-se±±e±e±ng-a-m±ner-ee-engage-±n-prese±ette±en-±n-y±e±ae±en-e£ 

29 seee±en-609.5%%-er-609.3%4;-se±±e±e±ng-a-m±ner-ee-engage-in 

30 sextte±-eondttee-±ft-Y±~±e~±oft-er-seee±en-609.35%;-tts±ng-a-m±ner-±n 

31 a-sextta±-per£ermanee-±n-Y±e±ae±en-e£-seee±en-6±7•z46;-er 

32 pessess±ng-pernegraphie-wer~-inYe±Ying-a-miner-in-Yie±aeien-e£ 

33 seeeien-6±7•z477-and-eenYieeed-e£-er-ad;ttdieaeed-de±±n~ttene-£er 

34 ehae-e££ense-er-aneeher-e££ense-ar±s±ng-ette-e£-ehe-same-see-e£ 

35 eirettmseanees;-er 

36 t3t-ehe-~ersen-was-eenY±eeed-e£-a-predaeery-erime-as 
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1 de£±ned-±n-seee±on-669.±987-and-ehe-0££ender-wes-seneeneed-as-a 

2 paeeerned-sex-o££ender-or-ehe~eottre-£ottnd-on-±es-own-moe±on-or 

3 ehee-0£-ehe-proseetteor-ehee-ehe-er±me-was-pare-0£-e-predaeory 

4 peeeern-0£-behav±or-ehae-hed-er±m±na±-sextta±-eondttee-as-±es 

5 goe±;-or 

6 t4t-ehe-person-was-eonv±eeed-o£-or-ad;ttd±eaeed-de±±nqttene 

7 £or,-±ne±ttd±ng-pttrsttane-eo-e-eottre-mare±a±7-v±o±ae±ng-a-±aw-0£ 

8 ehe-Bn±eed-Seaees7-±ne±ttd±ng-ehe-Bni£orm-eode-0£-M±±±eary 

9 attse±ee7-s±m±±er-eo-ehe-0££enses-deser±bed-±n-e±attse-t±t7-f zt7 

10 or-f3t• 

11 tbt-A-person-e±so-sha±±-reg±seer-ttnder-eh±s-seee±on-±£~ 

12 f%t-ehe-person-wes-eonv±eeed-o£-or-ad;ttd±eeeed-de±±nqttene 

13 ±n-enoeher-seeee-£or-en-o££ense-ehee-wott±d-be-e-v±o±ee±on-o£-a 

14 ±ew-deser±bed-±n-peregraph-fet-±£-eomm±eeed-±n-eh±s-seeee; 

15 tzt-ehe-person-eneers-ehe-seeee-eo-reside,-or-eo-worlt-or 

16 eeeend-sehoo±;-end 

17 f3t-een-yeers-heve-noe-e±epsed-s±~ee-ehe-person-wes 

18 re±eesed-£rom-eon£±nem~ne-or7-±£-ehe-person-wes-noe-eon£±ned7 

19 s±nee-ehe-person-wes-eonv±eeed-o£-or-ed;ttd±eeeed-de±±nqttene-£or 

20 ehe-0££ense-ehee-er±ggers-reg±seree±on7-ttn±ess-ehe-person-±s 

21 sttb;eee-eo-±±£ee±me-reg±seree±on,-±n-wh±eh-ease-ehe-person-mttse 

22 reg±seer-£or-±±£e-regerd±ess-o£-when-ehe-person-wes-re±eesed 

23 £rom-eon£±nemene7-eonv±eeed7-or-ed;ttd±eeeed-de±±nqttent• 

24 Por-pttrposes-0£-eh±s-peregreph~ 

25 t±t-asehoo±B-±ne±ttdes-eny-pttb±±e-or-pr±veee-edtteae±ona± 

26 ±nse±ette±on7-±ne±ttd±ng-eny-seeondery-sehoo±,-erede-or 

27 pro£ess±one±-±nse±ette±on7-or-±nse±ette±on-o£-h±gher-edtteee±onv 

28 ehee-ehe-person-±s-enro±±ed-±n-on-e-£tt±±-e±me-or-pere-e±me 

29 bes±s;-and 

30 t±±t-aworltB-±ne±ttdes-emp±oymene-ehae-±s-£tt±±-e±me-or-pere 

31 e±me-£or-e-per±od-o£-e±me-exeeed±ng-±4-deys-or-£or-an-aggregaee 

32 ~er±od-o£-e±me-exeeed±ng-36-deys-dttr±ng-eny-ee±ender-yeer7 

33 wheeher-£±nene±e±±y-eompenseeed7-vo±ttneeered7-or-£or-ehe-pttrpose 

34 o£-governmene-or-edtteee±one±-bene£±e. 

35 tet-A-~erson-e±so-she±±-reg±seer-ttnder-eh±s-seee±on-±£-ehe 

36 person-wes-eomm±eeed-pttrsttene-eo-e-eottre-eomm±emene-order-ttnder 
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l seee±on-%53B.%85-or-M±nnesoea-Seaettees-%99%1-seee±on-5%6.%67-or 

2 a-s±m±%ar-%aw-o£-anoener-seaee-or-ene-en±eed-Seaees,-regard%ess 

3 o£-wneener-ene-person-was-eon~±eeed-o£-any-o££ense. 

4 tdt-A-person-a%so-sna%%-reg±seer-ttnder-en±s-seee±on-±£~ 

5 f %t-ene-person-was-enarged-w±en-or-pee±e±oned-£or-a-£e%ony 

6 ~±0%ae±on-or-aeeempe-eo-~±0%aee-any-0£-ene-0££enses-%±seed-±n 

7 paragrapn-tat1-eiattse-f %t1-or-a-s±m±%ar-%aw-0£-anoener-seaee-or 

8 ene-6n±eed-Seaees7-or-ene-person-was-enarged-w±en-or-pee±e±oned 

9 £or-a-~±0%aeion-0£-any-0£-ene-0££enses-%iseed-±n-paragrapn-tat7 

10 e%attse-tzt1-or-a-s±m±%ar-%aw-0£-anoener-seaee-or-ene-en±eed 

11 Seaees; 

12 tzt-ene-person-was-£ottnd-noe-gtt±%ey-ey-reason-o£-menea% 

13. ±%%ness-or-menea%-de£±e±eney-a£eer-a-er±ai-£or-enae-o££ense7-or 

14 £ottnd-gtt±iey-btte-menea%%y-±%%-a£eer-a-eria%-£or-enae-o££ense7-±n 

15 seaees-w±en-a-gtt±iey-btte-menea%%y-±%%-~erd±ee;-and 

16 t3t-ene-person-was-eomm±eeed-pttrsttane-eo-a-eottre-eomm±emene 

17 order-ttnder-seee±on-%53B•%8-or-a-s±m±%ar-%aw-o£-anoener-seaee-or 

18 ene-6n±eed-Seaees• 

19 Subd. la. [DEFINITIONS.] (a) As used in this section, 

20 unless the context clearly indicates otherwise, the following 

21 terms have the meanings given them. 

22 (b) "Bureau" means the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension. 

23 (c) "Dwelling" means the building where the person lives 

24 under a formal or informal agreement to do so. 

25 (d) "Incarceration" and "confinement" do not include 

26 electronic home monitoring. 

27 (e) ·11 Law enforcement authority" or "authority" means, with 

28 respect to a home rule charter or statutory city, the chief of 

29 police, and with respect to an unincorporated area, the county 

30 sheriff. 

31 (f) "Motor vehicle" has the meaning given for "vehicle" in 

32 section 169.01, subdivision 2. 

33 (g) "Primary address" means the mailing address of the 

34 person's dwelling. If the mailin~ address is different from the 

35 actual location of the dwelling, "primary address" also includes 

36 the physical location of the dwelling described with as much 
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1 specificity as possible. 

2 (h) "School" includes any public or private educational 

3 institution, including any secondary school, trade, or 

4 professional institution, or institution of higher education, 

5 that the person is enrolled in on a full-time basis or part-time 

6 basis. 

7 (i) "Secondary address" means the mailing address of any 

8 place where the person regularly or occasionally stays overnight 

9 when not staying at the person's primary address. If the 

10 mailing address is different from the actual location of the 

11 place, "secondary address" also includes the physical location 

12 of the place described with as much specificity as possible. 

13 (j) "Treatment facility" means a residential facility, as 

14 defined in section 244.052, subdivision 1, and residential 

15 chemical dependency treatment programs and halfway houses 

16 licensed under chapter 245A, including, but not limited to, 

17 those facilities directly or indirectly assisted by any 

·18 department or agency of the United States. 

19 (k) "Work" includes employment that is full time or part 

20 time for a period of time exceeding 14 days or for an aggregate 

21 period of time exceeding JO days during any calendar year, 

22 whether financially compensated, volunteered, or for the purpose 

23 of government or educational benefit. 

24 Subd. lb. [REGISTRATION REQUIRED.] (a) A person shall 

25 register under this section if: 

26 (1) the person was charged with or petitioned for a felony 

27 violation of or attempt to violate, or aiding, abetting, or 

28 conspiracy to commit, any of the following, and convicted of or 

29 adjudicated delinquent for that offense or another offense 

30 arising out of the same set of circumstances: 

31 (i) murder under section 609.185, paragraph (a), clause 

32 (2); or 

33 (ii) kidnapping under section 609.25; or 

34 (iii) criminal sexual conduct under section 609.342; 

35 609.343; 609.344; 609.345; 609.3451, subdivision 3; or 609.3453; 

36 or 
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1 (iv) indecent exposure under section 617.23, subdivision 3; 

2 (2) the person was charged with or petitioned for false 

3 imprisonment in violation of section 609.255, subdivision 2; 

4 soliciting a minor to engage in prostitution in violation of 

5 section 609.322 or 609.324; soliciting a minor to engage in 

6 sexual conduct in violation of section 609.352; using a minor in 

7 a sexual performance in violation of section 617.246; or 

8 possessing pornographic work involving a minor in violation of 

9 section 617.247, and convicted of or adjudicated delinquent for 

10 that offense or another offense arising out of the same set of 

11 circumstances; 

12 (3) the person was sentenced as a pattern·ed sex offender 

13 under section·609.108; or 

14 (4) the person was convicted of or adjudicated delinquent 

15 for, including pursuant to a court martial, violating a law of 

16 the United States, including the Uniform Code of Military 

17 Justice, similar to the offe~ses described in clause (1), (2), 

18 or (3). 

19 (b) A person also shall register under this section if: 

20 (1) the person was convicted of or adjudicated delinquent 

21 in another state for an offense that would be a violation of a 

22 law described in paragraph (a) if committed in this state; 

23 (2) the person enters the state to reside, workt or attend 

24 school, or enters the state and remains for 14 days or longer; 

25 and 

26 (3) ten years have not elapsed since the person was 

27 released from confinement ·or, if the person was not confined, 

28 since the person was convicted of or adjudicated delinquent for 

29 the offense that triggers registration, unless the person is 

30 subject to lifetime registration, in which case the oerson shall 

31 register for life regardless of when the person was released 

32 from confinement, convicted, or adjudicated delinquent. 

33 A person described in this paragraph shall register with 

34 the bureau within five days after the registration requirement 

35 becomes applicable. 

36 (c) A person also shall register· under this section if. the· 
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l person was committed pursuant to a court commitment order under 

2 section 253B.185 or Minnesota Statutes 1992, section 526.10, or 

3 a similar law of another state or the United States, regardless 

4 of whether the person was convicted of any offense. 

5 (d) A person also shall register under this section if: 

6 (1) the person was charged with or petitioned for a felony 

7 violation or attempt to violate any of the offenses listed in 

8 paragraph (a), clause (1), or a similar law of another state or 

9 the United States, or the person was charged with or petitioned 

10 for a violation of any of the offenses listed in paragraph (a), 

11 clause (2), or a similar law of another state or the United 

12 States; 

13 (2) the person was found not guilty by reason of mental 

14 illness or mental deficiency after a trial for that offense, or 

15 found guilty but mentally ill after a trial for that offense, in 

16 states with a guilty but mentally ill verdict; and 

17 (3) the person was committed pursuant to a court commitment 

18 order under section 253B.18 or a similar law of another state or 

19 the United States. 

20 Subd. 2. [NOTICE.] When a person who is required to 

21 register under subdivision% lb, paragraph (a), is sentenced or 

22 becomes subject to a juvenile court disposition order, the court 

23 shall tell the person of the duty to register under this section 

24 and that, if the person fails to comply with the registration 

25 requirements, information about the offender may be made 

26 available to the public through electronic, computerized, or 

27 other accessible means. The coutt may not modify the person's 

28 duty to register in the pronounced sentence or disposition 

29 order. The court shall require the person to read and sign a 

30 form stating that the duty of the person to register under this 

31 section has been explained. The court shall forward the signed 

32 sex offender registration form, the complaint, and sentencing 

33 documents to the bureau o£-er±m±na%-A~~rehens±on. If a person 

34 required to register under subdivision% lb, paragraph (a), was 

35 not notified by the court of the registration requirement at the 

36 time of sentencing or disposition, the assigned corrections 

Article 2 Section l 25 



03/15/05 [REVISOR ] RPK/RC 05-3518 

1 agent shall notify the person of the requirements of this 

2 section. When a person who is required to register under 

3 subdivision i lb, paragraph (c) or (d), is released from 

4 commitment, the treatment facility shall notify the person of 

5 the requirements of this section. The treatment facility shall 

6 also obtain the registration information required under this 

7 section and forward it to the bureau e£-er±m±nai-Apprehens±ea. 

8 Subd. 3. [REGISTRATION PROCEDURE.] (a) Except as provided 

9 in subdivision 3a, a person required to register under this 

10 section shall register with the corrections agent as soon as the 

11 agent is assigned to the person. If the person does not have an 

12 assigned corrections agent or is unable to locate the assigned 

13 corrections agent, ·the person shall register with the law 

14 enforcement ageaey authority that has jurisdiction in the area 

15 of the person's res±denee primary address. 

16 (b) Except as provided in subdivision 3a, at least five 

17 days before the person starts living at a new primary address, 

18 including living in another state, the person shall give written 

19 notice of the new primary i±v±ag address to the assigned 

20 corrections agent or to the law enforcement authority with which 

21 the person currently is registered. If the person will be 

22 living in a new state and-that state has a registration 

23 requirement, the person shall also give written notice of the 

24 new address to the designated registration agency in the new 

25 state. A person required to register under this section shall 

26 also give written notice to the assigned corrections agent or to 

27 the law enforcement authority that has jurisdiction in the area 

28 of the person's residence primary address that the person is no 

29 longer living or staying at an address, immediately after the 

30 person is no longer living or staying at that address. The 

31 corrections agent or law enforcement authority shall, within two 

32 business days after receipt of this information, forward it to 

33 the bureau e£-er±m±nai-Appreheas±ea. The bureau e£-er±m±aa% 

34 Appreheas±ea shall, if it has not already been done, notify the 

35 law enforcement authority having primary jurisdiction in the 

36 community where the person will live of the new address. If the 
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1 person is leaving the state, the bureau o£-er±m±ne%-A~~rebens±on 

2 shall notify the registration authority in the new state of the 

3 new address. %£-ebe-~erson~s-obi±gee±on-eo-reg±seer-erose-ttnder 

4 sttbd±~±s±on-%7-~eregre~b-tbt1 The person's registration 

5 requirements under this section terminate when after the person 

6 begins living in the new state and the bureau has confirmed the 

7 address in the other state through the annual verification 

8 process on at least one occasion. 

9 (c) A person required to register under subdivision % lb, 

10 paragraph (b), because the person is working or attending school 

11 in Minnesota shall register with the law enforcement 

12 ageney authority that has jurisdiction in the area where the 

13 person works or attends school. In addition to other 

14 information required by this section, the person shall provide 

15 the address of the school or of the location where the person is 

16 employed. A person mttse shall comply with this paragraph within 

17 five days of beginning employment or school. A person's 

18 obligation to register under this paragraph terminates when the 

19 person is no longer working or attending school in Minnesota. 

20 (d) A person required to register under this section who 

21 works or attends school outside of Minnesota shall register as a 

22 predatory offender in the·state where the person works or 

23 attends school. The person's corrections agent, or if the 

24 person does not have an assigned corrections agent, the law 

25 enforcement authority that has jurisdiction in the area of the 

26 person's res±denee primary address shall notify the person of 

27 this requirement. 

28 Subd. 3a. [REGISTRATION PROCEDURE WHEN PERSON LACKS 

29 PRIMARY ADDRESS.] (a) If a person leaves a primary address and 

30 does not have a new primary address, the person shall register 

31 with the law enforcement authority that has jurisdiction in the 

32 area where the person is staying within 24 hours of the time the 

33 person no longer has a primary address. 

34 (b) A person who lacks a primary address shall register 

35 with the law enforcement authority that has jurisdiction in the 

36 area where the person is staying within 24 hours after entering 
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1 the jurisdiction. Each time a person who lacks a primary 

2 address moves to a new jurisdiction without acquiring a new 

3 primary address, the person shall register with the law 

4 enforcement authority that has jurisdiction in the area where 

5 the person is staying within 24 hours after entering the 

6 jurisdiction. 

7 (c) Upon registering under this subdivision, the person 

8 shall provide the law enforcement authority with all of the 

9 information the individual is required to provide under 

10 subdivision 4a. However, instead of reporting the person's 

11 primary address, the person shall describe the location of where 

12 the person is staying with as much specificity as possible. · 

13 (d) Except as otherwise provided in paragraph (e), if a 

14 person continues to lack a primary address, the person shall 

15 report in person on a weekly basis to the law enforcement 

16 authority with jurisdiction in the area where the person is 

17 staying. This weekly report shall occur between the hours of 

18 9:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m. The person is not required to provide 

19 the registration information required under subdivision 4a each 

20 time the offender reports to an authority, but the person shall 

21 inform the authority of changes to any information provided 

22 under subdivision 4a or this subdivision and shall otherwise 

23 comply with this subdivision. 

24 (e) If the law enforcement authority determines that it is 

25 impractical, due to the person's unique circumstances, to 

26 require a person lacking a primary address to report weekly and 

27 in person as required under paragraph (d),· the authority may 

28 authorize the person to follow an alternative reporting 

29 procedure. The authority shall consult with the person's 

30 corrections agent, if the person has one, in establishing the 

31 specific criteria of this alternative procedure, subject to the 

32 following requirements: 

33 (1) The authority shall document, in the person's 

34 registration record, the specific reasons why the weekly 

35 in-person reporting process is impractical for the person to 

36 follow. 
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l (2) The authority shall explain how the alternative 

2 reporting procedure furthers the public safety objectives of 

3 this section. 

4 (3) The authority shall require the person lacking a 

5 primary address to report in person at least monthly to the 

6 authority or the person's corrections agent and shall specify 

7 the location where the person shall report. If the authority 

8 determines it would be more practical and would further public 

9 safety for the person to report to another law enforcement 

10 authority with jurisdiction where the person is staying, it may, 

11 after consulting with the other law enforcement authority, 

12 include this requirement in the person's alternative reporting 

13 process. 

14 (4) The authority shall require the person to comply with 

15 the weekly, in-person reporting process required under paragraph 

16 (d), if the person moves to a new area where this process would 

17 be practical. 

18 (5) The authority shall require the person to report any. 

19 changes to the registration information provided under 

20 subdivision 4a and to comply with the periodic registration 

21 requirements specified under paragraph (f). 

22 (6) The authority shall require the person to comply with 

23 the requirements of subdivision 3, paragraphs (b) and (c), if 

24 the person moves to a primary address. 

25 (f) If a person continues to lack a primary address and 

26 continues to report to the same law enforcement autho'rity, the 

27 person shall provide the authority with all of the information 

28 the individual is required to provide under subdivision 4a and 

29 · this subdivision at least annually, unless the person is 

30 required to register under subdivision lb, paraaraph (c), 

31 following commitment pursuant to a court commitment under 

32 section 253B.185 or a similar law of another state or the United 

33 States. If the person is required to register under subdivision 

34 lb, paragraph (c), the person shall provide the law enforcement 

35 authority with all of the information the individual is required 

36 to report under subdivision 4a and this subdivision at least 
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1 once every three months. 

2 (g) A law enforcement authority receiving information under 

3 this subdivision shall forward registration information and 

4 changes to that information to the bureau within two business 

5 days of receipt of the information. 

6 (h) For purposes of this subdivision, a person who fails to 

7 report a primary address will be deemed to be a person who lacks 

8 a primary address, and the person shall comply with the 

9 requirements for a person who lacks a primary address. 

10 Subd. 4. [CONTENTS OF REGISTRATION.] (a) The registration 

11 provided to the corrections agent or law enforcement authority, 

12 must consist of a statement in writing signed by the person, 

13 giving information required by the bureau 0£-erimina± 

14 Apprehension, a fingerprint card, and photograph of the person 

15 taken at the time of the person's release from incarceration or, 

16 if the person was not incarcerated, at the time the person 

17 initially registered under this section. The registration 

18 information also must include a written consent form signed by 

19 the person allowing a treatment facility or residential housing 

20 unit or shelter to release information to a law enforcement 

21 officer about the.person's admission to, or residence in, a 

22 treatment facility or residential housing unit or shelter. 

23 Registration information on adults and juveniles may be 

24 maintained together notwithstanding section 260B.171, 

25 subdivision 3. 

26 (b) For persons required to register under subdivision ± 

27 lb, paragraph {c), following commitment pursuant to a court 

28 commitment under section 253B.185 or a similar law of another 

29 state or the United States, in addition to other information 

30 required by this section, the registration provided to the 

31 corrections agent or law enforcement authority must include the 

32 person's offense history and documentation of treatment received 

33 during the person's commitment. This documentation sha±±-be is 

34 limited to a statement of how far the person progressed in 

35 treatment during commitment. 

36 (c) Within three days of receipt, the corrections agent or· 
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1 law enforcement authority shall forward the registration 

2 information to the bureau e£-er±m±nai-Apprenens±en. The bureau 

3 shall ascertain whether the person has registered with the law 

4 enforcement authority wnere-ene-persen-res±des in the area of 

5 the person's primary address, if any, or if the person lacks a 

6 primary address, where the person is staying, as required by 

7 subdivision 3a. If the person has not registered with the law 

·8 enforcement authority, the bureau shall send one copy to that 

9 authority. 

10 (d) The corrections agent or law enforcement authority may 

11 require that a person required to register under this section 

12 appear before the agent or authority to be photographed. The 

13 agent or authority shall require a person required to register 

14 under this section who is classified as a risk level III 

15 offender under section 244.052 to appear before the agent or 

16 authority at least every.six months to be photographed. The 

17 agent or authority shall forward the photograph to the bureau e£ 

18 er±m±nei-Apprenens±en. 

19 (e) During the period a person is required to register 

20 under this section, the following sneii provisions apply: 

21 (1) Except for persons registering under subdivision 3a, 

22 the bureau e£-er±m±nei-Apprenens±en shall mail a verification 

23 form to the iese-repereed-eddress-e£-ene person's res±denee last 

24 reported primary address. This verification form snaii must 

25 provide notice to the offender that, if the offender does not 

26 return the verification form as required, information about the 

27 offender may be made available to the public through electronic, 

28 computerized, or· other accessible means. For persons who are 

29 registered under subdivision 3a, the bureau shall mail an annual 

30 verification form to the law enforcement authority where the 

31 offender most recently reported. The authority shall provide 

32 the verification form to the person at the next weekly meeting 

33 and ensure that the person completes and signs the form and 

34 returns it to the bureau. 

35 (2) The person shall mail the signed verification form back 

36 to the bureau e£-er±m±nei-Apprenens±en within ten days after 
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1 receipt of the form, stating on the form the current and last 

2 address of the person's residence and the other information 

3 required under subdivision 4a. 

4 (3) In addition to the requirements listed in this section, 

5 a person who, under section 2,44.052, is assigned to risk level 

6 II or risk level III, and who is no longer under correctional 

7 supervision, shall have an annual in-person contact with the law 

8 enforcement authority in the area of the person's primary 

9 address or, if the person has no primary address, where the 

10 person is staying. During the month of the person's birth date, 

11 the person shall report to the authority to verify the accuracy 

12 of the registration information and to be photographed. Within 

13 three days of this contact, the authority shall enter 

14 information as required by the bureau into the predatory 

15 offender registration database and submit an updated photograph 

16 of the person to the bureau's pr~datory offender registration 

17 unit. The authority may waive the photograph requirement for a 

18 person assigned to risk level III who has recently been 

19 photographed under paragraph (d). 

20 J..!l If the person fails to mail the completed and signed 

21 verification form to the bureau e£-erimina%-A~~renensien within 

22 ten days after receipt of· the form, or if the person fails to 

23 report to the law enforcement authority during the month of the 

24 person's birth date, the person sha%%-be is in violation of this 

25 section. 

26 For persons required to register under subdivision % lb, 

27 paragraph (c), following commitment pursuant to a court 

28 commitment under section 253B.185 or a similar law of another 

29 state or the United States, the bureau shall comply with clause 

30 (1) at least four times each year. For persons who under 

31 section 244.052 are assigned to risk level III and who are no 

32 longer under correctional supervision, the bureau shall comply 

33 with clause (1) at least two times each year. For all other 

34 persons required to register under this section, the bureau 

35 shall comply with clause (1) each year within 30 days of the 

36 anniversary date of the person's initial registration. 
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1 (f) When sending out a verification form, the bureau 0£ 

2 ef±m±na%-Appfehens±on-mttst shall determine whether the person to 

3 whom the verification form is being sent has signed a written 

4 consent form as provided for in paragraph (a). If the person 

5 has not signed such a consent form, the bureau o£-€f±m±na% 

6 Appfehens±on-mttse shall send a written consent form to the 

7 person along with the verification form. A person who receives 

8 this written consent form mttse shall sign and return it to the 

9 bureau o£-ef±m±na%-Appfehens±on at the same time as the 

10 verification form. 

11 tgt-Pof-ehe-pttfposes-0£-eh±s-sttbd±~±s±on,-uefeaemene 

12 £ae±%±eyA-means-a-fes±dene±a%-£ae±%±ty7-as-de£±ned-±n-seet±on 

13. %44.95%7-sttbd±~±s±on-%1-and-fes±dent±a%-ehem±ea%-dependeney 

14 treatment-programs-and-ha%£way-hottses·-%±eensed-ttnder-ehapter 

15 %45A1-±ne%ttd±ng7-bttt-not-%±m±ted-to7-those-£ae±%±t±es-d±reet%y 

16 or-±nd±reet%y-ass±sted-by-any-department-or-ageney-o£-the-en±ted 

17 States. 

18 Subd. 4a. [INFORMATION REQUIRED TO BE PROVIDED.] (a) As 

19 ttsed-±n-th±s-seet±on~ 

20 f%t-umotor-~eh±e%eA-has-the-mean±ng-g±~en-u~eh±e%eA-±n 

21 seet±on-%69.9%7-sttbd±~±s±on-%; 

22 tzt-upr±mary-res±deneeu-means-any-p%aee-where-the-person 

23 res±des-%onger-than-%4-days-or-that-±s-deemed-a-pr±mary 

24 res±denee-by-a-personis-eorreet±ons-agent7-±£-one-±s-ass±gned-to 

25 the-person;-and 

26 t3t-Aseeondary-res±deneeA-means-any-p%aee-where-the-person 

27 regtt%ar%y-stays-o~ern±ght-when-noe-seay±ng-ae-ehe-personis 

28 pr±mary-res±denee7-and-±ne%ttdes7-btte-±s-noe-%±m±ted-eo~ 

29 t±t-ehe-personis-pareneis-home-±£-ehe-person-±s-a-settdene 

30 and-seays-ae-ehe-home-ae-e±mes-when-ehe-person-±s-noe-seay±ng-ae 

31 sehoo%7-±ne%ttd±ng-dttr±ng-ehe-sttmmer;-and 

32 t±±t-ehe-home-0£-someone-w±eh-whom-ehe-person-has-a-m±nor 

33 eh±%d-±n-eommon-where-ehe-eh±%dis-ettseody-±s-shared• 

34 tbt A person required to register ~nder this section shall 

35 provide to the corrections agent or law enforcement authority 

36 the following information: 
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1 (1) the eddress-e£-~he person's primary residenee address; 

2 (2) ~he-8ddresses-e£ all of the person's secondary 

3 residenees addresses in Minnesota, including all addresses used 

4 for residential or recreational purposes; 

5 (3) the addresses of all Minnesota property owned, leased, 

6 or rented by the person; 

7 (4) the addresses of all locations where the person is 

8 employed; 

9 (5) the addresses of all residenees schools where the 

10 person resides-whi%e-e~~ending-sehee% is enrolled; and 

11 (6) the year, model, make, license plate number, and color 

12 of all motor vehicles owned or regularly driven by the person. 

13 tet ~ The person shall report to the agent or authority 

14 the information required to be provided under paragraph tbt ~, 

15 clauses (2) to (6), within five days of the date the clause 

16 becomes applicable. If because of a change in circumstances any 

17 information reported under paragraph tbt ~, clauses (1) to 

18 (6), no longer applies, the person shall immediately inform the 

19 agent or authority. that the information is no longer valid. If 

20 the person leaves a primary address and does not have a new 

21 primary address, the person shall register as provided in 

22 subdivision 3a. 

23 Subd. 5. [CRIMINAL PENALTY.] (a) A person required to 

24 register under this section who knowingly violates any of its 

25 provisions or intentionally provides false information to a 

26 corrections agent, law enforcement authority, or the bureau e£ 

27 er±mine%-A~~rehensien is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced 

28 to imprisonment for not more than five years or to payment of a 

29 fine of not more than $10,000, or both. 

30 (b) Except as provided in paragraph (c), a person convicted 

31 of violating paragraph (a) shall be committed to the custody of 

32 the commissioner of corrections for not less than a year and a 

33 day, nor more than five years. 

34 (c) A person convicted of violating paragraph (a), who has 

35 previously been convicted of or adjudicated delinquent for 

36 violating this section, shall be committed to the custody of the 
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1 commissioner of corrections for not less than two years, nor 

2 more than five years. 

3 (d) Prior to the time of sentencing, the prosecutor may 

4 file a motion to have the person sentenced without regard to the 

5 mandatory minimum sentence established by this subdivision. The 

6 motion sh8%% must be accompanied by a statement on the record of 

7 the reasons for it. When presented with the motion, or on its 

8 own motion, the court may sentence the person without regard to 

9 the mandatory minimum sentence if the court finds substantial 

10 and compelling reasons to do so. Sentencing a person in the 

11 manner described in this paragraph is a departure from the 

12 Sentencing Guidelines. 

13 (e) A person convicted and sentenced as required by this 

14 subdivision is not eligible for probation, parole, discharge, 

15 work release, or supervised release, until that person has 

16 served the full term of imprisonment as provided by law, 

17 notwithstanding the provisions of sections 241.26, 242.19, 

18 243.05, 244.04, 609.12, and 609.135. 

19 Subd. 6. [REGISTRATION PERIOD.] (a) Notwithstanding the 

20 provisions of section 609.165, subdivision 1, and except as 

21 provided in paragraphs (b), (c), and (d), a person required to 

22 register under this section shall continue to comply with this 

23 section until ten years have elapsed since the person initially 

24 registered in connection with the offense, or until the 

25 probation, supervised release, or conditional release period 

26 expires, whichever occurs later. For a person required to 

27 register under this section who is committed under section 

28 253B.18 or 253B.185, the ten-year registration period does not 

29 include the period of commitment. 

30 (b) If a person required to register under this section 

31 fails to register following a change in residence the person's 

32 primary or secondary address, employment, school, or motor 

33 vehicle information; fails to report any property the person 

34 owns, leases, or rents; or fails to return the annual 

35 verification form within ten days; the commissioner of public 

36 safety may require the person to continue to register for an 
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1 additional period of five years. This five-year period is added 

2 to the end of the offender's registration period. 

3 (c) If a person required to register under this section is 

4 subsequently incarcerated following a conviction for a new 

5 offense or following a revocation of probation, supervised 

6 release, or conditional release for ehae any offense7 -or-a 

7 eon~±ee±on-£or-any-new-o££ense, the person shall continue to 

8 register until ten years have elapsed since the person was.last 

9 released from incarceration or until the person's probation, 

10 supervised release, or conditional release period expires, 

11 whichever occurs later. 

12 (d) A person shall continue to comply with this section for 

13 the life of that person: 

14 (1) if the person is convicted of or adjudicated delinquent 

15 for any offense for which registration is required under 

16 subdivision % lb, or any offense from another state or any 

17 federal offense similar to the offenses described in subdivision 

18 % lb, and the person has a prior conviction or adjudication for 

19 an offense for which registration was or would have been 

20 required under subdivision % lb, or an offense from another 

21 state or a federal offense similar to an offense described in 

22 subdivision % lb; 

23 (~) if the person is required to register based upon a 

24 conviction or delinquency adjudication for an offense under 

25 section 609.185, clause (2), or a similar statute from another 

26 state or the United States; 

27 (3) if the person is required to register based upon a 

28 conviction for an offense under section 609.342, subdivision 1, 

29 paragraph (a), (c), (d), (e), (f), or (h); 609.343, subdivision 

30 1, paragraph (a), (c), (d), (e), (f), or (h); 609.344, 

31 subdivision 1, paragraph (a), (c), or (g); or 609.345, 

32 subdivision 1, paragraph (a), (c), or (g); or a statute from 

33 another state or the United States similar to the offenses 

34 described in this clause; or 

35 (4) if the person is required to register under subdivision 

36 % lb, paragraph (c), following commitment pursuant to a court 
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1 commitment under section 253B.185 or a similar law of another 

2 state or the United States. 

3 Subd. 7. [USE OF INFORMATION.] Except as otherwise 

4 provided in subdivision 7a or sections 244.052 and 299C.093, the 

5 information provided under this section is private data on 

6 individuals under section 13.02, subdivision 12. The 

7 information may be used only for law enforcement purposes. 

8 Subd. 7a. [AVAILABILITY OF INFORMATION ON OFFENDERS WHO 

9 ARE OUT OF COMPLIANCE WITH REGISTRATION LAW.] {a) The bureau 0£ 

10 er±m±na±-Apprehens±on may make information available to the 

11 public about off enders who are 16 years of age or older and who 

12 are out of compliance with this section for 30 days or longer 

13 for failure to provide the sddress-0£-ehe offenders' primary or 

14 secondary res±denees addresses. This information may be made 

15 available to the public through electronic, computerized, or 

16 other accessible means. The amount and type of information made 

17 available shs±±-ee is limited to the information necessary for 

18 the public to assist law enforcement in locating the offender. 

19 {b) An offender who comes into compliance with this section 

20 after the bureau 0£-e~±m±ns±-Apprehens±on discloses information 

21 about the offender to the public may send a written request to 

22 the bureau requesting the·bureau to treat information about the 

23 offender as private data, consistent with subdivision 7. The 

24 bureau shall review the request and promptly take reasonable 

25 action to treat the data as private, if the offender has 

26 complied with the requirement that the offender provide ehe 

27 sddresses-0£ the offender's primary and secondary 

28 res±denees addresses, or promptly notify the offender that the 

29 .information will continue to be treated as public information 

30 and the reasons for the bureau's decision. 

31 {c) If an offender believes the information made public 

32 about the offender is inaccurate or incomplete, the offender may 

33 challenge the data under section 13.04, subdivision 4. 

34 {d) The bureau 0£-er±m±na±-Apprehens±on is immune from any 

35 civil or criminal liability that might otherwise arise, based on 

36 the accuracy or completeness of any information made. public 
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1 under this subdivision, if the bureau acts in good faitho 

2 Sttbd.-e.--f ~AW-ENP9R€EMEN~-AB~H9R%~¥.t-Por-pttrposes-o£-this 

3 seeeion,-a-%aw-en£oreemene-attehoriey-means,-wieh-respeee-eo-a 

4 home-rtt±e-ehareer-or-seaetteory-eiey,-ehe-ehie£-o£-po~iee,-and 

5 wieh-respeee-eo-an-ttnineorporaeed-area,-ehe-sheri££-o£-ehe 

6 eottney. 

7 Subd. 9o [OFFENDERS FROM OTHER STATES.] When the state 

8 accepts an offender from another state under a reciprocal 

9 agreement under the interstate compact authorized by section 

10 243.16 or 243.1605, or under any authorized interstate 

11 agreement, the acceptance is conditional on the offender 

12 agreeing to register under this section when the off ender is 

13 living in Minnesota. 

14 Subd. 10. [VENUE; AGGREGATION.] (a) A violation of this 

15 section may be prosecuted in any jurisdiction where an offense 

16 takes place. However, the prosecutorial agency in the 

17 jurisdiction where the person last registered a primary address 

18 is initially responsible to review the case for prosecution.· 

19 (b) When a person commits two or more offenses in two or 

20 more counties, the accused may be prosecuted for all of the 

21 offenses in any county in which one of the offenses was 

22 committed. 

23 Subd. 11. [CERTIFIED COPIES AS EVIDENCE.] Certified copies 

24 of predatory offender registration records are admissible as 

25 substantive evidence when necessary to prove the commission of a 

26 ·violation of this section. 

27 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August·1, 2005, 

28 and applies to persons subject to predatory offender 

29 registration on or after that date. 

30 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 243.167, is 

31 amended to read: 

32 243.167 [REGISTRATION UNDER THE PREDATORY OFFENDER 

33 REGISTRATION LAW FOR OTHER OFFENSES.] 

34 Subdivision 1. [DEFINITION.] As used in this section, 

35 "crime against the person" means a violation of any of the 

36 following or a similar law of another state or of the United 
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1 States: section 609.165; 609.185; 609.19; 609.195; 609.20; 

2 609.205; 609.221; 609.222; 609.223; 609.2231; 609.224, 

3 subdivision 2 or 4; 609.2242, subdivision 2 or 4; 609.235; 

4 609.245, subdivision l; 609.25; 609.255; 609.3451, subdivision 

5 2; 609.498, subdivision l; 609.582, subdivision l; or 617.23, 

6 subdivision 2; or any felony-level violation of section 609.229; 

7 609.377; 609.749; or 624.713. 

8 Subd. 2. [WHEN REQUIRED.] (a) In addition to the 

9 requirements of section 243.166, a person also shall register 

10 under section 243.166 if: 

11 (1) the person is convicted of a crime against the person; 

12 and 

13 {2) the person was previously convicted of or adjudicat.ed 

14 delinquent for an offense listed in section 243.166, sttbd±~±s±eft 

15 i7-paragraph-tat1 but was not required to register for the 

16 offense because the registration requirements of that section 

17 did not apply to the person at the time the offense was 

18 committed or at the time the person was released from 

19 imprisonment. 

20 {b) A person who was previously required to register ttftder 

21 seet±eft-%43.%66 in any state and who has completed the 

22 registration requirements· of that seet±eft state shall again 

23 register under section 243.166 if the person commits a crime 

24 against the person. 

25 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005, 

26 and applies to crimes committed on or after that date. 

27 Sec. 3. [243.95] [REPORT ON COMMUNITY CORRECTIONAL 

28 SUPERVISION.] 

29 By January 15 of each year, the commissioner of corrections 

30 shall report to the chairs of the senate and house committees 

31 having jurisdiction over criminal justice policy on the number, 

32 geographic location, and aggregate and average caseloads for 

33 each caseload type of risk level II and risk level III sex 

34 offender residing in the state for the preceding calendar year. 

35 In addition, the commissioner shall provide this information for 

36 all other types of offenders. The commissioner shall compile 
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1 and include in the report comparative historical data for the 

2 five calendar years preceding the year included in the report. 

3 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 244.052, 

4 subdivision 3, is amended to read: 

5 Subd. 3. [END-OF-CONFINEMENT REVIEW COMMITTEE.] (a) The 

6 commissioner of corrections shall establish and administer 

7 end-of-confinement review committees at each state correctional 

8 facility and at each state treatment facility where predatory 

9 offenders are confined. The committees shall assess on a 

10 case-by-case basis the public risk posed by predatory offenders 

11 who are about to be released from confinement. 

12 (b) Each committee shall be a standing committee and shall 

13 consist of the following members appointed by the commissioner: 

14 (1) the chief executive officer or head of the correctional 

15 or treatment facility where the offender is currently confined, 

16 or that person's designee; 

17 (2) a law enforcement officer; 

18 (3) a treatment professional who is trained in the 

19 assessment of sex offenders; 

20 (4) a caseworker experienced in supervising sex offenders; 

21 and 

22 (5) a victim's services professional. 

23 Members of the committee, other than the facility's chief 

24 executive officer or head, shall be appointed by the 

25 commissioner to two-year terms. The chief executive officer or 

26 head of the facility or designee shall act as chair of the 

27 committee and shall use the facility's staff, as needed, to 

28 administer the committee, obtain necessary information from 

29 outside sources, and prepare risk assessment reports on 

30 offenders. 

31 (c) The committee shall have access to the following data 

32 on a predatory offender only for the purposes of its assessment 

33 and to defend.the committee's risk assessment determination upon 

34 administrative review under this section: 

35 (1) private medical data under section 13.384 or 144.335, 

36 or welfare data under section 13.46 that relate to medical 
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1 treatment of the offender; 

2 (2) private and confidential court services data under 

3 section 13.84; 

4 (3) private and confidential corrections data under section 

5 13.85; and 

6 (4) private criminal history data under section 13.87. 

7 Data collected and maintained by the committee under this 

8 paragraph may not be disclosed outside the committee, except as 

9 provided under section 13.05, subdivision 3 or 4. The predatory 

10 offender has access to data on the offender collected and 

11 maintained by the committee, unless the data are confidential 

12 data received under this paragraph. 

13 (d)(i) Except as otherwise provided in item (ii), at least 

14 90 days before a predatory of fender is to be released from 

15 confinement, the commissioner of corrections shall convene the 

16 appropriate end-of-confinement review committee for the purpose 

17 of assessing the risk presented by the offender and determining 

18 the risk level to which the offender shall be assigned under 

19 paragraph (e). The offender and the law enforcement agency that 

20 was responsible for the charge resulting in confinement shall be 

21 notified of the time and· place of the committee's meeting. The 

22 offender has a right to be present and be heard at the meeting. 

23 The law enforcement agency may provide material in writing that 

24 is relevant to the offender's risk level to the chair of the 

25 committee. The committee shall use the risk factors described 

26 in paragraph (g) and the risk assessment scale developed under 

27 subdivision 2 to determine the offender's ·risk assessment score 

28 and risk level. Offenders scheduled for release from 

29 confinement shall be assessed by the committee established at 

30 the facility from which the offender is to be released. 

31 (ii) If an offender is received for confinement in a 

32 facility with less than 90 days remaining in the offender's term 

33 of confinement, the offender's risk shall be assessed at the 

34 first regularly scheduled end of confinement review committee 

35 that convenes after the appropriate documentation for the risk 

36 assessment is assembled by the committee. The commissioner 
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1 shall make reasonable efforts to ensure that offender's risk is 

2 assessed and a risk level is assigned or reassigned at least 30 

3 days before the offender's release date. 

4 (e) The committee shall assign to risk level I a predatory 

5 offender whose risk assessment score indicates a low risk of 

6 reoffense. The committee shall assign to risk level II an 

7 offender whose risk assessment score indicates a moderate risk 

8 of reoffense. The committee shall a·ssign to risk level III an 

9 offender whose risk assessment score indicates a high risk of 

10 reoffense. 

11 (f) Before the predatory offender is released from 

12 confinement, the committee shall prepare a risk assessment 

13 report which specifies the risk level to which the offender has 

14 been assigned and the reasons underlying the committee's risk 

15 assessment decision. The committee shall give the report to the 

16 offender and to the law enforcement agency at least 60 days 

17 before an offender is released from confinement. If the risk 

18 assessment is performed under the circumstances described in 

19 paragraph (d), item (ii), the report shall be given to the 

20 offender and the law enforcement agency as soon as it is 

21 available. The committee also shall inform the offender of the 

22 availability of review under subdivision 6. 

23 (g) As used in this subdivision, "risk factors" includes, 

24 but is not limited to, the following factors: 

25 (1) the seriousness of the offense should the offender 

26 reoffend. This factor includes consideration of the following: 

27 (i) the degree of likely force or harm; 

28 (ii) the degree of likely physical contact; and 

29 (iii) the age of the likely victim; 

30 (2) the offender's prior offense history. This factor 

31 includes consideration of the following: 

32 (i) the relationship of prior victims to the offender; 

33 (ii) the number of prior offenses or victims; 

34 (iii) the duration of the offender's prior offense history; 

35 (iv) the length of time since the offender's last prior 

36 offense while the offender was at risk to commit offenses; and 
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1 (v) the offender's prior history of other antisocial acts; 

2 (3) the offender's characteristics. This factor includes 

3 consideration of the following: 

4 (i) the offender's response to prior treatment efforts; and 

5 (ii) the offender's history of substance abuse; 

6 (4) the availability of community supports to the offender. 

7 This factor includes consideration of the following: 

8 (i) the availability and likelihood that the offender will 

9 be involved in therapeutic treatment; 

10 (ii) the availability of residential supports to the 

11 offender, such as a stable and supervised living arrangement in 

12 an appropriate location; 

13 (iii) the offender's familial and social relationships, 

14 including the nature and length of these relationships and the 

15 level of support that the offender may receive from these 

16 persons; and 

17 {iv) the offender's lack of education or employment 

18 stability; 

19 (5) whether the offender has indicated or credible evidence 

20 in the record indicates that the offender will reoffend if 

21 released into the community; and 

22 (6) whether the offender demonstrates a physical condition 

23 that minimizes the risk of reoffense, including but not limited 

24 to, advanced age or a debilitating illness or physical condition. 

25 (h) Upon the request of the law enforcement agency or the 

26 offender's corrections agent, the commissioner may reconvene the 

27 end-of-confinement review committee for the purpose of 

28 .reassessing the risk level to which an offender has been 

29 assigned under paragraph (e). In a request for a reassessment, 

30 the law enforcement agency which was responsible for the charge 

31 resulting in confinement or agent shall list the facts and 

32 circumstances arising after the initial assignment or facts and 

33 circumstances known to law enforcement or the agent but not 

34 considered by the committee under paragraph (e) which support 

35 the request for a reassessment. The request for reassessment by 

36 the law enfor~ement agency must occur within 30 days of receipt 
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1 of the report indicating the offender's risk level assignment. 

2 The offender's corrections agent, in consultation with the chief 

3 law enforcement officer in the area where the offender resides 

4 or intends to reside, may request a review of a risk level at 

5 any time if substantial evidence exists that the offender's risk 

6 level should be reviewed by an end-of-confinement review 

7 committee. This evidence includes, but is not limited to, 

8 evidence of treatment failures or completions, evidence of 

9 exceptional crime-free community adjustment or lack of 

10 appropriate adjustment, evidence of substantial community need 

11 to know more about the offender or mitigating circumstances that 

12 would narrow the proposed scope of notification, or other 

13 practical situations articulated and based in evidence of the 

14 offender's behavior while under supervision. Upon review o~ the 

15 request, the end-of-confinement review committee may reassign an 

16 offender to a different risk level. If the offender is 

17 reassigned to a higher risk level, the offender has the right to 

·18 seek review of the committee's determination under subdivision 6. 

19 (i) An offender may request the end-of-confinement review 

20 committee to reassess the offender's assigned risk level after 

21 three years have elapsed since the committee's initial risk 

22 assessment and may renew the request once every two years 

23 following subsequent denials. In a request for reassessment, 

24 the of fender shall list the facts and circumstances which 

25 demonstrate that the offender no longer poses the same degree of 

26 ·risk to the community. In order for a request for a risk level 

27 reduction to be granted, the offender must demonstrate full 

28 compliance with supervised release conditions, completion of 

29 required post-release treatment programming, and full compliance 

30 with all registration requirements as detailed in section 

31 243.166. The offender must also not have been convicted of any 

32 felony, gross misdemeanor, or misdemeanor offenses subsequent to 

33 the assignment of the original risk level. The committee shall 

34 follow the process outlined in paragraphs (a) to (c) in the 

35 reassessment. An offender who is incarcerated may not request a 

36 reassessment under this paragraph. 
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1 (j) Offenders returned to prison as release violators shall 

2 not have a right to a subsequent risk reassessment by the 

3 end-of-confinement review committee unless substantial evidence . 
4 indicates that the offender's risk to the public has increased. 

5 (k) The commissioner shall establish an end-of-confinement 

6 review committee to assign a risk level to offenders who: 

7 J1l are released from a any federal correctional facility 

8 ~ft-M~ftfteseee or from any state correctional facility of another 

9 stateL and who intend to reside in Minnesota7-eftd-ee-e££eftdersL 

10 or 

11 (2) are accepted from another state under a reciprocal 

12 agreement for parole supervision under the interstate compact 

13. authorized by section 243.16 or 243.1605. 

14 The committee shall make reasonable efforts to conform to the 

15 same timelines as applied to Minnesota cases. Offenders 

16 accepted from another state· under a reciprocal agreement for 

17 probation supervision are not assigned a risk level, but are 

18 considered downward dispositional departures. The probation or 

19 court services officer and law enforcement officer shall manage 

20 such cases in accordance with section 244.10, subdivision 2a. 

21 The policies and procedures of the committee for federal 

22 of fenders and interstate compact cases must be in accordance 

23 with all requirements as set forth in this section, unless 

24 restrictions caused by the nature of federal or interstate 

25 transfers prevents such conformance. 

26 (1) If the committee assigns a predatory offender to risk 

27 level III, the committee shall determine whether residency 

28 restrictions shall be included in the conditions of the 

29 offender's release based on the offender's pattern of offending 

30 behavior. 

31 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005, 

32 and applies to offenders entering the state, released from 

33 confinement, subject to community notification, or sentenced on 

34 or after that date~ 

35 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 244.052, is 

36 amended by adding a subdivision to read: 
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1 Subd. 3a. [OUT-OF-STATE OFFENDERS; NOTIFICATION 

2 AUTHORIZED.] (a) This subdivision applies to offenders who move 

3 or have moved to Minnesota from other states and who: 

4 (1) at the time of the move are subject to a community 

5 notification statute similar to this section in the state from 

6 which the offender is moving; and 

7 (2) are not assigned a risk level under subdivision 3, 

8 paragraph (k). 

9 (b) The law enforcement agency in the area where an 

10 offender described in paragraph (a) resides, expects to reside, 

11 or is regularly found, may disclose information regarding the 

12 offender consistent with subdivision 4, paragraph (a). The 

13 extent of the notification must be consistent with the 

14 notification made about the offender in the state from which the 

15 offender is moving or has moved. However, the extent of the 

16 notification may not exceed that of a risk level II offender 

17 under subdivision 4, paragraph (b), unless the requirements of 

18 paragraph (c) have been met. Except as otherwise provided in 

19 this subdivision and unless clearly inapplicable, the provisions 

20 of subdivision 4 apply to notifications made under this 

21 paragraph. 

22 (c). If the notification made concerning the offender in the 

23 state from which the offender is moving or has moved is broader 

24 than that authorized for a risk level II offender under 

25 subdivision 4, paragraph (b), and the agency wants to make a 

26 broader disclosure, the agency may request the 

27 end-of-confinement review committee at the· nearest state 

~8 correctional or treatment facility to assign a risk level to the 

29 offender. The agency shall pLovide to the committee all 

30 information concerning the offender's criminal history, the risk 

31 the offender poses to the community, and other relevant 

32 information. In addition, the committee shall attempt to obtain 

33 other information relevant to determining which risk level to 

34 assign the offender. Except as provided in this subdivision and 

35 unless clearly inapplicable, the provisions of subdivision 3 

36 govern the risk assessment under this paragraph. If the 
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1 committee assigns the offender to risk level III, the agency may 

2 disclose information in a manner consistent with a risk level 

3 III offender under subdivision 4, paragraph (b). 

4 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005, 

5 and applies to offenders entering the state, released from 

6 confinement, subject to community notification, or sentenced on 

7 or after that date. 

8 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 244.052, 

9 subdivision 4, is amended to read: 

10 Subd. 4. [LAW ENFORCEMENT AGENCY; DISCLOSURE OF 

11 INFORMATION TO PUBLIC.] (a) The law enforcement agency in the 

12 area where the predatory offender resides, expects to reside, is 

13 employed, or is regularly found, shall disclose to the public 

14 any information regarding the of fender contained in the report 

15 forwarded to the agency under subdivision 3, paragraph (f), that 

16 is relevant and necessary to protect the public and to 

17 counteract the offender's dangerousness, consistent with the 

18 guidelines in paragrapn (b). The extent of the information 

19 disclosed and the community to whom disclosure is made must 

20 relate to the level of danger posed by the offender, to the 

21 offender's pattern of offending behavior, and to the need of 

22 community members for information to enhance their individual 

23 and collective safety. 

24 (b) The law enforcement agency shall employ the following 

25 guidelines in determining the scope of disclosure made under 

26 this subdivision: 

27 (1) if the offender is assigned to risk level I, the agency 

28 may maintain information regarding the offender within the 

29 agency and may disclose it to other law enforcement agencies. 

30 Additionally, the agency may disclose the information to any 

31 victims of or witnesses to the offense committed by the 

32 offender. The agency shall disclose the information to victims 

33 of the offense committed by the offender who have requested 

34 disclosure and to adult members of the offender's immediate 

35 household; 

36 (2) if the offender is assigned to risk level II, the 
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1 agency also may disclose the information to agencies and groups 

2 that the offender is likely to encounter for the purpose of 

3 securing those institutions and protecting individuals in their 

4 care while they are on or near the premises of the institution. 

5 These agencies and groups include the staff members of public 

6 and private educational institutions, day care establishments, 

7 and establishments and organizations that primarily serve 

8 individuals likely to be victimized by the offender. The agency 

9 also may disclose the information to individuals the agency 

10 believes are likely to be victimized by the offender. The 

11 agency's belief shall be based on the offender's pattern of 

12 of fending or victim preference as documented in the information 

13. provided by the department of corrections or human services; 

14 (3) if the offender is assigned to risk level III, the 

15 agency shall disclose the information to the persons and 

16 entities described in clauses (1) and (2) and to other members 

17 of the community whom the offender is likely to encounter, 

18 unless the law enforcement agency determines that public safety 

19 would be compromised by the disclosure or that a more limited 

20 disclosure is necessary to protect the identity of the victim. 

21 Notwithstanding the assignment of a predatory offender to 

22 risk level II or III, a law enforcement agency may not make the 

23 disclosures permitted or required by clause (2) or (3), if: the 

24 offender is placed or resides in a residential facility. 

25 However, if an offender is placed or resides in a residential 

26 facility, the offender and the head of the facility shall 

27 designate the offender's likely residence ·upon release from the 

28 facility and the head of the facility shall notify the 

29 commissioner of corrections or the commissioner of human 

30 services of the offender's likely residence at least 14 days 

31 before the offender's scheduled release date. The commissioner 

32 · shall give this information to the law enforcement agency having 

33 jurisdiction over the offender's likely residence. The head of 

34 the residential facility also shall notify the commissioner of 

35 corrections or human services within 48 hours after finalizing 

36 the offender's approved relocation plan to a permanent 

Article 2 Section 6 48 



03/15/05 [REVISOR RPK/RC 05-3518 

1 residence. Within five days after receiving this notification, 

2 the appropriate commissioner shall give to the appropriate law 

3 enforcement agency all relevant information the commissioner has 

4 concerning the offender, including information on the risk 

5 factors in the offender's history and the risk level to which 

6 the offender was assigned. After receiving this information, 

7 the law enforcement agency shall make the disclosures permitted 

8 or required by clause (2) or (3), as appropriate. 

9 (c) As used in paragraph (b), clauses (2) and (3), "likely 

10 to encounter" means that: 

11 (1) the organizations or community members are in a 

12 location or in close proximity to a location where the offender 

13 lives or is employed, or which the offender visits or is likely 

14 to visit on a regular basis, other than the location of the 

15 offender's outpatient treatment program; and 

16 (2) the types of interaction which ordinarily occur at that 

17 location and other circumstances indicate that contact with the 

18 offender is reasonably certain. 

19 (d) A law enforcement agency or official who discloses 

20 information under this subdivision shall make a good faith 

21 effort to make the notification within 14 days of receipt of a 

22 confirmed address from the Department of Corrections indicating 

23 that the offender will be, or has been, released from 

24 confinement, or accepted for supervision, or has moved to a new 

25 address and will reside at the address indicated. If a change 

26 occurs in the release plan, this notification provision does not 

27 require an extension of the release date. 

28 (e) A law enforcement agency or official who discloses 

29 information under this subdivision shall not disclose the 

30 identity or any identifying characteristics of the victims of or 

31 witnesses to the offender's offenses. 

32 (f) A law enforcement agency shall continue to disclose 

33 information on an offender as required by this subdivision for 

34 as long as the offender is required to register under section 

35 243.166. This requirement on a law enforcement agency to 

36 continue to disclose information also applies to an of fender who 
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1 lacks a primary address and is registering under section 

2 243.166, subdivision 3a. 

3 (g) A law enfo~cement agency that is disclosing information 

4 on an offender assigned to risk level III to the public under 

5 this subdivision shall inform the commissioner of corrections 

6 what information is being disclosed and forward this information 

7 to the commissioner within two days of the agency's 

8 determination. The commissioner shall post this information on 

9 the Internet as required in subdivision 4b. 

10 (h) A city council may adopt a policy that addresses when 

11 information disclosed under this subdivision must be presented 

12 in languages in addition to English. The policy may address 

13 when information must be presented orally, in writing, or both 

14 in additional languages by the law enforcement agency disclosing 

15 the information. The policy may provide for different 

16 approaches based on the prevalence of non-English languages in 

17 different neighborhoods. 

18 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005, 

19 and applies to offenders entering the state, released from 

20 confinement, subject to community notification, or sentenced on 

21 or after that date. 

22 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 244.10, 

23 subdivision 2a, is amended to read: 

24 Subd. 2a. [NOTICE OF INFORMATION REGARDING PREDATORY 

25 OFFENDERS.] (a) Subject to paragraph (b), in any case in which a 

26 person is convicted of an offense and the presumptive sentence 

27 under the Sentencing Guidelines is commitment to ·the custody of 

28 the commissioner of corrections, if the court grants a 

2'9 dispositional departure and stays imposition or execution of 

30 sentence, the probation or court services officer who is 

31 assigned to supervise the offender shall provide in writing to 

32 the following the fact that the offender is on probation and the 

33 terms and conditions of probation: 

34 (1) a victim of and any witnesses to the offense committed 

35 by the offender, if the victim or the witness has requested 

36 notice; and 
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1 (2) the chief law enforcement officer in the area where the 

2 offender resides or intends to reside. 

3 The law enforcement officer, in consultation with the 

4 offender's probation officer, may provide all or part of this 

5 information to any of the following agencies or groups the 

6 offender is like1y to encounter: public and private educational 

7 institutions, day care establishments, and establishments or 

8 organizations that primarily serve individuals likely to be 

9 victimized by the offender. The law enforcement officer, in 

10 consultation with the offender's probation officer, also may 

11 disclose the information to individuals the officer believes are 

12 likely to be victimized by the offender. The officer's belief 

13 shall be based on the offender's pattern of offending or victim 

14 preference as documented in the information provided by the 

15 Department of Corrections or Department of Human Services. 

16 The probation officer is not required under this 

17 subdivision to provide any notice while the offender is placed 

18 or resides in a residential facility that is licensed under 

19 section 245A.02, subdivision 14, or 241.021, if the facility 

20 staff is trained in the supervision of sex offenders. 

21 (b) Paragraph (a) applies only to offenders required to 

22 register under section 243.166, as a result of the conviction. 

23 (c) The notice authorized by paragraph {a) shall be limited 

24 to data classified as public under section 13.84, subdivision 6, 

25 unless the offender provides informed consent to authorize the 

26 release of nonpublic data or unless a court order authorizes the 

27 release of nonpublic data. 

28 (d) Nothing in this subdivision shall be interpreted to 

29 impose a duty on any person to use any information regarding an 

30 offender about whom notification is made under this subdivision. 

31 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005, 

32 and applies to offenders entering the state, released from 

33 confinement, subject to community notification, or sentenced on 

34 or after that date. 

35 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 253B.18, 

36 subdivision 5, is amended to read: 
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1 Subd. 5. [PETITION; NOTICE OF HEARING; ATTENDANCE; ORDER.] 

2 (a) A petition for an order of transfer, discharge,·provisional 

3 discharge, or revocation of provisional discharge shall be filed 

4 with the commissioner and may be filed by the patient or by the 

5 head of the treatment facility. A patient may not petition the 

6 special review board for six months following commitment under 

7 subdivision 3 or following the final disposition of any previous 

8 petition and subsequent appeal by the patient. The medical 

9 director may petition at any time. 

10 (b) Fourteen days prior to the hearing, the committing 

11 court, the county attorney of the county of commitment, the 

12 designated agency, interested person, the petitioner, and the 

13 petitioner's counsei shall be given written notice by the 

14 commissioner of the time and place of the hearing before the 

15 special review board. Only those entitled to statutory notice 

16 of the hearing or those administratively required to attend may 

17 be present at the hearing. The patient may designate interested 

18 persons to receive notice ~y providing the names and addresses 

19 to the commissioner at least 21 days before the hearing. The 

20 board shall provide the commissioner with written findings of 

21 fact and recommendations within 21 days of the hearing. The 

22 commissioner shall issue an order no later than 14 days after 

23 receiving the recommendation of the special review board. A 

24 copy of the order shall be sent by certified mail to every 

25 person entitled to statutory notice of the hearing within five 

26 days after it is signed. No order by the commissioner shall be 

27 effective sooner than 30 days after the order is signed, unless 

28 the county attorney, the patient, and the commissioner agree 

29 that it may become effective sooner. 

30 (c) The special review board shall hold a hearing on each 

31 petition prior to making its recommendation to the 

32 commissioner. The special review board proceedings are not 

33 contested cases as defined in chapter 14. Any person or agency 

34 receiving notice that submits documentary evidence to the 

35 special review board prior to the hearing shall also provide 

36 copies to the patient, the patient's counsel, the county 
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1 attorney of the county of commitment, the case manager, and the 

2 commissioner. 

3 (d) Prior to the final decision by the commissioner, the 

4 special review board may be reconvened to consider events or 

S circumstances that occurred subsequent to the hearing. 

6 (e) In making its recommendations, the special review board 

7 .or commissioner must consider any statements received from 

a victims under subdivision Sa. 

9 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 200S. 

10 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 2S3B.18, is 

11 amended by adding a subdivision to read: 

12 Subd. Sa. [VICTIM NOTIFICATION OF PETITION AND RELEASE; 

13 RIGHT TO SUBMIT STATEMENT.] (a) As u·sed in this subdivision: 

14 (1) "crime" has the meaning given to "violent crime" in 

lS section 609.109S, and includes offenses within the definition of 

16 "crime against the person" in section 2S3B.02, subdivision 4a, 

17 and also includes offenses listed in section 2S3B.02, 

·18 subdivision 7a, paragraph· (b), regardless of whether they are 

19 sexually motivated; 

20 (2) "victim" means a person who has incurred loss or harm 

21 as a result of a crime the behavior for which forms the basis 

22 for a commitment under this section or section 2S3B.18S; and 

23 (3) "convicted" and "conviction" include findings under 

24 Minnesota Rules of Criminal Procedure, Rule 20.02, that the 

2S elements of a crime have been proved. 

26 (b) A county attorney who files a petition to commit a 

27 person under this section or section 2S3B.18S shall make a 

28 reasonable effort to provide prompt notice of filing the 

29 petition to any victim of a crime for which the person was 

30 convicted. In addition, the county attorney shall make a 

31 reasonable effort to promptly notify the victim of the 

32 resolution of the petition. 

33 (c) Before provisionally discharging, discharging, granting 

34 pass-eligible status, approving a pass plan, or otherwise 

3S permanently or temporarily releasing a person committed under 

36 this section or section 2S3B.18S from a treatment facility, the 
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1 treatment facility head shall make a reasonable effort to notify 

2 any victim of a crime for which the person was convicted that 

3 the person may be discharged or released and that the victim has 

4 a right to submit a written statement regarding decisions of the 

5 special review board or the commissioner with respect to the 

6 person. To the extent possible, the notice must be provided at 

7 least seven days before any special review board hearing or 

8 before a determination on a pass plan. 

9 (d) This subdivision applies only to victims who have 

10 requested notification by contacting in writing the county 

11 attorney in the county where the conviction for the crime 

12 occurred. A county attorney who receives a request for 

13 notification under this paragraph shall promptly forward the 

14 request to the commissioner of human services. 

15 (e) The rights under this subdivision are in addition to 

16 rights available to a victim under chapter 611A. This provision 

17 does not give a victim all the rights of a person entitled to 

18 statutory notice under.subdivision 5. 

19 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005. 

2 0 se·c • 10 • [ 6 0 9 • 3 4 5 6 ] [USE OF POLYGRAPHS FOR SEX OFFENDERS 

21 ON PROBATION OR CONDITIONAL RELEASE.] 

22 (a) A court may order as an intermediate sanction under 

23 section 609.135 and the commissioner of corrections may order as 

24 a condition of release under section 244.05 or 609.3455 that an 

25 offender under supervision for a sex offense submit to 

26 polygraphic examinations to ensure compliance with the terms of 

27 probation or conditions of release. 

28 (b) The court or commissioner may·order the offender to pay 

29 all or a portion of the costs of the examinations. The fee may 

30 be waived if the offender is indigent or if payment would result 

31 in an economic hardship to the offender's immediate family. 

32 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective the day 

33 following final enactment. 

34 Sec. 11. [PROTOCOL ON USE OF POLYGRAPHS.] 

35 By September 1, 2005, the chief justice of the Supreme 

36 Court, in consultation with the Conference of Chief Judges, is 
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1 requested to develop a protocol for the use of polygraphic 

2. examinations for sex offenders placed on probation under 

3 Minnesota Statutes, section 609.3456. This protocol shall be 

4 distributed to judges across the state. 

5 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective the day 

6 following final enactment. 

7 Sec. 12. [REVISOR INSTRUCTION.] 

8 The revisor of statutes shall change all references to 

9 section 243.166, subdivision 1, in Minnesota Statutes to section 

10 243.166. In addition, the revisor shall make other technical 

11 changes necessitated by this article. 

12 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005. 

13 Sec. 13. [REPEALER.] 

14 Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 243.166, subdivisions 1 

15 and 8, are repealed. 

16 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005. 

17 ARTICLE 3 

18 LEGISLATIVE AUDITOR'S RECOMMENDED CHANGES 

19 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 241.67, 

20 subdivision 7, is amended to read: 

21 Subd. 7. [FUNDING PRIORITY; PROGRAM EFFECTIVENESS.] (a) 

22 Unless otherwise directed·by the terms of a particular 

23 appropriations provision, the commissioner shall give priority 

24 to the funding of juvenile sex of fender programs over the 

25 funding of adult sex offender programs. 

26 (b) Every county or private sex offender program ehse-see~s 

27 new-ef-eeneintted-seaee-fttnding-ef-reimbttfsemene shall provide 

28 the commissioner with any information relating to the program's 

29 effectiveness that the commissioner considers necessary. The 

30 commissioner shall deny state funding or reimbursement to any 

31 county or private program that fails to provide this information 

32 or that appears to be an ineffective program. 

33 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005. 

34 Sec. 2. Minnesoti Statutes 2004, section 241.67, 

35 subdivision 8, is amended to read: 

36 Subd. 8. [COMMUNITY-BASED SEX OFFENDER PROGRAM EVALUATION 

. Article 3 Section 2 55 



03/15/05 [REVISOR RPK/RC 05-3518 

1 PRSaEe~.] (a) For the purposes of this prejeee subdivision, a 

2 sex offender is an adult who has been convicted, or a juvenile 

3 who has been adjudicated, for a sex offense or a sex-related 

4 offense which would require registration under section 243.166. 

5 (b) The commissioner shall deve%ep-a-±eng-eerm-pre;eee-ee 

6 aeeemp%±sh-ehe-£e%%ew±ng: 

7 (1) prev±de collect follow-up information on each sex 

8 offender for a period of three years following the offender's 

9 completion of or termination from treatment; 

10 (2) provide treatment programs in several geographical 

11 areas in the state; 

12 (3) provide the necessary data to form the basis to 

13 recommend a fiscally sound plan to provide a coordinated 

14 statewide system of effective sex offender treatment 

15 programming; and 

16 (4) provide an opportunity to local and regional 

17 governments, agencies, and programs to establish models of sex 

18 offender programs that are suited to the needs of that region. 

19 (c) The commissioner shall establish an advisory task force 

20 consisting of county probation officers from Community 

21 Corrections Act counties and other counties, court services 

22 providers, and other interested officials. The commissioner 

23 shall consult with the task force eeneern±ng-ehe-eseab%±shmene 

24 and-eperae±en-e£-ehe-prejeee on how best to implement the 

25 requirements of this subdivision. 

26 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005. 

27 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 243.166, is 

28 amended by adding a subdivision to read: 

29 Subd. 4b. [HEALTH CARE FACILITY; NOTICE OF STATUS.] (a) As 

30 used in this subdivision, "health care facility" means a 

31 hospital or other entity licensed under sections 144.50 to 

32 144.58, a nursing home licensed to serve adults under section 

33 144A.02, or a group residential housing facility or an 

34 intermediate care facility for the mentally retarded licensed 

35 under chapter 245A. 

36 (b) Upon admittance to a health care facility, a person 
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1 required to register under this section shall disclose to: 

2 (1) the health care facility employee processing the 

3 admission, the person's status as a registered predatory 

4 offender under this section; and 

5 (2) the person's corrections agent, or if the person does 

6 not have an assigned corrections agent, the law enforcement 

7 authority with whom the person is currently required to 

8 register, that inpatient admission has occurred. 

9 (c) A law enforcement authority or corrections agent who 

10 receives notice under paragraph (b) or who knows that a person 

11 required to register under this section has been admitted and is 

12 receiving health care at a health care·facility shall notify the 

13 administrator of the facility. 

14 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005, 

15 and applies to persons who are subject to predatory of fender 

16 registration on or after that date. 

17 Sec. 4. [244.055] [SEX OFFENDER INFORMATION PROVIDED TO 

18 SUPERVISING CORRECTIONS AGENCY.] 

19 Notwithstanding any other law to the contrary, when an 

20 offender who is required to register as a predatory offender 

21 under section 243.166 is being released from prison, the 

22 commissioner shall provide to the corrections agency that will 

23 supervise the offender, the offender's prison records relating 

24 to psychological assessments, medical and mental health issues, 

25 and treatment. 

26 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005. 

27 Sec. 5. [244.056] [SEX OFFENDER SEEKING HOUSING IN 

28 JURISDICTION OF DIFFERENT CORRECTIONS AGENCY.] 

29 If a corrections agency supervising an offender who is 

30 required to register as a predatory offender under section 

31 243.166 and who is classified by the department as a public risk 

32 monitoring case has knowledge that the offender is seeking 

33 housing arrangements in a location under the jurisdiction of 

34 another corrections agency, the agency shall notify the other 

35 agency of this and initiate a supervision transfer request. 

36 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005. 
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1 Sec. 6. (244.057] [PLACEMENT OF SEX OFFENDER IN HOUSEHOLD 

2 WITH CHILDREN.] 

3 A corrections agency supervising an offender required to 

4 register as a predatory offender under section 243.166 shall 

5 notify the appropriate child protection agency before 

6 authorizing the offender to live in a household where children 

7 are residing. 

8 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005. 

9 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 609.3452, 

10 subdivision 1, is amended to read: 

11 Subdivision 1. [ASSESSMENT REQUIRED.] When a person is 

12 convicted of a sex offense, before sentencing, the court shall 

13 order an independent professional assessment of the offender's 

14 need for sex offender treatment. The court may waive the 

15 assessment if: (1) the Sentencing Guidelines provide a 

16 presumptive prison sentence for the offender, or (2) an adequate 

17 assessment was conducted prior to the conviction. An assessor 

18 providing an assessment for the court must be experienced in the 

19 evaluation and treatment of sex offenders. 

20 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005. 

21 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 626.556, 

22 subdivision 3, is amended· to read: 

23 Subd. 3. [PERSONS MANDATED TO REPORT.] (a) A person who 

24 knows or has reason to believe a child is being neglected or 

25 physically or sexually abused, as defined in subdivision 2, or 

26 has been neglected or physically or sexually abused within the 

27 preceding three years, shall immediately report the information 

28 to the local welfare agency, agency responsible for assessing or 

29 investigating the report, police department, or the county 

30 sheriff if the person is: 

31 (1) a professional or professional's delegate who is 

32 engaged in the practice of the healing arts, social services, 

33 hospital administration, psychological or psychiatric treatment, 

34 child care, education, correctional supervision, or law 

35 enforcement; or 

36 (2) employed as a member of the clergy and received the 

Article 3 Section 8 58 



03/15/05 [REVISOR RPK/RC 05-3518 

1 information while engaged in ministerial duties, provided that a 

2 member of the clergy is not required by this subdivision to 

3 report information that is otherwise privileged under section 

4 595.02, subdivision 1, paragraph (c). 

5 The police department or the county sheriff, upon receiving 

6 a report, shall immediately notify the local welfare agency or 

7 agency responsible for assessing or investigating the report, 

8 orally and in writing. The local welfare agency, or agency 

9 responsible for assessing or investigating the report, upon 

10 receiving a report, shall immediately notify the local police 

11 department or the county sheriff orally and in writing. The 

12 county sheriff and the head of every local welfare agency, 

13. agency responsible for assessing or investigating reports, and 

14 police department shall each designate a person within their 

15 agency, department, or office who is responsible for ensuring 

16 that the notification duties of this paragraph and paragraph (b) 

17 are carried out. Nothing in this subdivision shall be construed 

18 to require more than one report from any institution, facility, 

19 school, or agency. 

20 (b) Any person may voluntarily report to the local welfare 

21 agency, agency responsible for assessing or investigating the 

22 report, police departmentt or the county sheriff if the person 

23 knows, has reason to believe, or suspects a child is being o~ 

24 has been neglected or subjected to physical or sexual abu~e. 

25 The police department or the county sheriff, upon receiving a 

26 report, shall immediately notify the local welfare agency or 

27 agency responsible for assessing or investigating the report, 

28 orally and in writing. The local welfare agency or agency 

29 responsible for assessing or investigating the report, upon 

30 receiving a report, shall immediately notify the local police 

31. department or the county sheriff orally and in writing. 

32 (c) A person mandated to report physical or sexual child 

33 abuse or neglect occurring within a licensed facility shall 

34 report the information to the agency responsible for licensing 

35 the facility under sections 144.50 to 144~58; 241.021; 245A.Ol 

36 to 245A.16; or chapter 245B; or a nonlicensed personal care 
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1 provider organization as defined in sections 256B.04, 

2 subdivision 16; and 256B.0625, subdivision 19. A health or 

3 corrections agency receiving a report may request the local 

4 welfare agency to provide assistance pursuant to subdivisions 

5 10, lOa, and lOb. A board or other entity whose licensees 

6 perform work within a school facility, upon receiving a 

7 complaint of alleged maltreatment, shall provide information 

8 about the circumstances of the alleged maltreatment t6 the 

9 commissioner of education. Section 13.03, subdivision 4r 

10 applies to data received by the commissioner of education from a 

11 licensing entity. 

12 (d) Any person mandated to report shall receive a summary 

13 of the disposition of any report made by that reporter, 

14 including whether the case has been opened for child protection 

15 or other services, or if a referral has been made to a community 

16 organization, unless release would be detrimental to the best 

17 interests of the child. Any person who is not mandated to 

18 report shall, upon request to the local welfare agency, receive 

19 a concise summary of the disposition of any report made by that 

20 reporter, unless release would be detrimental to the best 

21 interests of the child. 

22 (e) For purposes of this subdivision, "immediately" means 

23 ·as soon as possible but in no event longer than 24 hours. 

24 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005. 

25 Sec. 9. [WORKING GROUP ON SEX OFFENDER MANAGEMENT.] 

26 Subdivision 1. [WORKING GROUP ESTABLISHED.] The 

27 commissioner of corrections shall convene a working group of 

28 individuals knowledgeable in the supervision and treatment of 

29 - sex offenders. The group must include individuals from both 

30 inside and outside of the Deoartment of Corrections. The 

31 commissioner shall ensure broad representation in the group, 

32 including representatives from all three probation systems and 

33 from diverse parts of the state. The working group shall study_ 

34 and make recommendations on the issues listed in this -section. 

35 To the degree feasible, the group shall consider how these 

36 issues are addressed in other states. 
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1 Subd. 2. [ISSUES TO BE STUDIED.] The working group shall 

2 

3 

4 

5 

6 

7 

8 

9 

10 

11 

12 

13 

14 

15 

16 

17 

18 

19 

20 

21 

22 

23 

24 

25 

26 

27 

28 

review and make recommendations on: 

(1) statewide standards regarding the minimum frequency of 

in person contacts between sex offenders and their correctional 

agents, including, but not limited to, home visits; 

(2) a model set of special conditions of sex offender 

supervision that can be used by courts and corrections agencies 

throughout Minnesota; 

(3) statewide standards regarding the documentation by 

correctional agents of their supervision activities; 

(4) standards to provide corrections agencies with guidance 

regarding sex offender assessment practices; 

(5) policies that ·encourage sentencing conditions and 

prison release plans to clearly distinguish between sex offender 

treatment programs and other types of programs and services and 

to clearly specify which type of program the offender is 

required to complete; 

(6) ways to improve the Department of Corrections' prison 

release planning practices for sex offenders; 

(7) methods for periodic external reviews of sex offender 

supervision practices; 

(8) statewide standards for the use of polygraphs by 

corrections agencies and sex offender treatment programs; 

(9) statewide standards for basic program elements for 

community-based sex offender treatment programs; 

(10 a statewide rotocol on the sharin of sex offender 

information between corrections agencies and child protection 

a encies in situations where offenders are 1 d ace in households 
29 w~ere children reside; and 

30 (11 an other issues related to sex offender treatment and 

31 mana ement that the workin deems a 
32 

33 

34 

35 

36 

Subd. 3. 

also review the 
[REVIEW OF NEW LAWS.] The working group shall 

revisions of an laws enacted in 2005 relatin 

to sex offender su ervision and treatment. The shall make 
recommendations on whether any changes to these _ _ provisions 
should be considered by the 1 · _ egislature. 
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1 Subd. 4. [REPORT.] By February 15, 2006, the working group 

2 shall report its recommendations to the chairs and ranking 

3 minority members of the senate and house committees having 

4 jurisdiction over criminal justice policy. 

5 Subd. ~- [POLICIES REQUIRED.] After considering the 

6 recommendations of the working group, the commissioner of 

7 corrections shall implement policies and standards relating to 

8 the issues described in subdivision 2 over which the 

9 commissioner has jurisdiction. 

10 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective the day 

11 following final enactment. 

12 Sec. 10. [PRISON-BASED SEX OFFENDER TREATMEN.T PROGRAMS; 

13 REPORT.] 

14 By February 1, 2006, the commissioner of corrections shall 

15 report to the chairs and ranking minority members of the senate 

16 and house committees having jurisdiction· over criminal justice 

17 policy on prison-based sex offender treatment programs. The 

18 report must: 

19 (1) examine options for increasing the number of inmates 

20 participating in these programs; 

21 (2) examine the adequacy of funding for these programs; 

22 (3) examine options for treating inmates who have limited 

23 periods of time remaining in their terms of imprisonment; 

24 (4) examine ~he merits and limitations of extending an 

25 f'nmate's term of imprisonment for refusing to participate in 

26 treatment; and 

27 (5) any other related issues deemed relevant by the 

28 commissioner. 

29 ARTICLE 4 

30 SEX OFFENDERS: 

31 TECHNICAL AND CONFORMING CHANGES 

32 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 14.03, 

33 subdivision 3, is amended to read: 

34 Subd. 3. [RULEMAKING PROCEDURES.] (a) The definition of a 

35 rule in section 14.02, subdivision 4, does not include: 

36 (1) rules concerning only the internal management of the 
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1 agency or other agencies that do not directly affect the rights 

2 of or procedures available to the public; 

3 (2) an application deadline on a form; and the remainder of 

4 a form and instructions for use of the form to the extent that 

5 they do not impose substantive requirements other than 

6 requirements contained in statute or rule; 

7 (3) the curriculum adopted by an agency to implement a 

8 statute or rule permitting or mandating minimum educational 

9 requirements for persons regulated by an agency, provided the 

10 topic areas to be covered by the minimum educational 

11 requirements are specified in statute or rule; 

12 (4) procedures for sharing data among government agencies, 

13 provided these procedures are consistent with chapter 13 and 

14 other law governing data practices. 

15 (b) The definition of a rule in section 14.02, subdivision 

16 4, does not include: 

17 (1) rules of the commissioner of corrections relating to 

18 the release, placement, term, and supervision of inmates ·serving 

19 a supervised release or conditional release term, the ·internal 

20 management of institutions under the commissioner's control, and 

21 rules adopted under section 609.105 governing the inmates of 

22 those institutions; 

23 {2) rules relating to weight limitations on the use of 

24 highways when the substance of the rules is indicated to the 

25 public by means of signs; 

26 (3) opinions of the attorney general; 

27 (4) the data element dictionary and the annual data 

28 acquisition calendar of the Department of Education to the 

29 extent provided by section 125B.07; 

30 (5) the occupational safety and health standards provided 

31 in section 182.655; 

32 (6) revenue notices and tax information bulletins of the 

33 commissioner of revenue; 

34 (7) uniform conveyancing forms adopted by the commissioner 

35 of commerce under section 507.09; or 

36 (8) the interpretive guidelines developed by the 
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1 commissioner of human services to the extent provided in chapter 

2 245A. 

3 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005, 

4 and applies to crimes committed on or after that date. 

5 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 244.05, 

6 subdivision 7, is amended to read: 

7 Subd. 7. [SEX OFFENDERS; CIVIL COMMITMENT DETERMINATION.] 

8 (a) Before the commissioner releases from prison any inmate 

9 convicted under see~±ons section 609.342 ~o, 609.343, 609.344, 

10 609.345, or 609.3453, or sentenced as a patterned offender under 

11 section 609.108, and determined by the commissioner to be in a 

12 high risk category, the commissioner shall make a preliminary 

13 determination whether, in the commissio~er's opinion, a petition 

14 under section 253B.185 may be appropriate. 

15 (b) In making this decision, the commissioner shall have 

16 access to the following data only for the purposes of the 

17 assessment and referral decision: 

18 (1) private medical.data under section 13.384 or 144.335, 

19 or welfare data under section 13.46 that relate to medical 

20 treatment of the offender; 

21 (2) private and confidential court services data under 

22 section 13.84; 

23 (3) private and confidential corrections data under section 

24 13.85; and 

25 (4) private criminal history data under section 13.87. 

26 (c) If the commissioner determines that a petition may be 

27 appropriate, the commissioner shall forward this determination, 

28 along with a summary of the reasons for the determination, to 

29 the county attorney in the county where the inmate was convicted 

30 no later than 12 months before the inmate's release date. If 

31 the inmate is received for incarceration with fewer than 12 

32 months remaining in the inmate's term of imprisonment, or if the 

33 commissioner receives additional information less than 12 months 

34 before release which makes the inmate's case appropriate for 

35 referral, the commissioner shall forward the determination as 

36 soon as is practicable. Upon receiving the commissioner's 
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1 preliminary determination, ~he county attorney shall proceed in 

2 the manner provided in section 253B.185. The commissioner shall 

3 release to the county attorney all requested documentation 

4 maintained by the department. 

5 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005, 

6 and apPlies to crimes committed on or after that date. 

7 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 244.052, 

8 subdivision 3, is amended to read: 

9 Subd. 3. [END-OF-CONFINEMENT REVIEW COMMITTEE.] (a.) The 

10 commissioner of corrections shall establish and administer 

11 end-of-confinement review committees at each state correctional 

12 facility and at each state treatment facility where predatory 

13 offenders are·confined. The committees shall assess on a 

14 case-by-case basis the public risk posed by predatory offenders 

15 who are about to be released from confinement. 

16 (b) Each committee shall be a standing committee and shall 

17 consist of the following members appointed by the commissioner: 

18 (1) the chief executive officer or head of the correctional 

19 or treatment facility where the offender is currently confined, 

20 or that person's designee; 

21 (2) a law enforcement officer; 

22 (3) a treatment professional who is trained in the 

23 assessment of sex offenders; 

24 (4) a caseworker experienced in supervising sex offenders; 

25 and 

26 (5) a victim's services professional. 

27 Members of the committee, other than the facility's chief 

28 executive officer or head, shall be appointed by the 

29 commissioner to two-year terms. The chief executive officer or 

30 head of the facility or designee shall act as chair of the 

31 committee and shall use the facility•s.staff, as needed, to 

32 administer the committee, obtain necessary information from 

33 outside sources, and prepare risk assessment reports on 

34 offenders~ 

35 (c) The committee shall have access. to the following data 

36 on a predatory offender only for the purposes of its assessment 
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l and to defend the committee's risk assessment determination upon 

2 administrative review under this section: 

3 (1) private medical data under section 13.384 or 144.335, 

4 or welfare data under section 13.46 that relate to medical 

5 treatment of the offender; 

6 (2) private and confidential court services data under 

7 section 13.84; 

8 (3) private and confidential corrections data under section 

9 13.85; and 

10 (4) private criminal history data under section 13.87. 

11 Data collected and maintained by the .committee under this 

12 paragraph may not be disclosed outside the committee, except as 

13. provided under section 13.05, subdivision 3 or 4. The predatory 

14 offender has access to data on the offender collected and 

15 maintained by the committee, unless the data are confidential 

16 data received under this paragraph. 

17 (d)(i) Except as otherwise provided in ±~em items (ii)L 

18 (iii), and (iv), at least 90 days before a predatory offender is 

19 to be released from confinement, the commissioner of corrections 

20 shall convene the appropriate end-of-confinement review 

21 committee for the purpose of assessing the risk presented by the 

22 offender and de~ermining the risk level to which the offender 

23 shall be assigned under paragraph (e). The offender and the law 

24 enforcement agency that was responsible for the charge resulting 

25 in confinement shall be notified of the time and place of the 

26 committee's meeting. The offender has a right to be present and 

27 be heard at the meeting. The law enforceme~t agency may provide 

28 material in writing that is relevant to the offender's risk 

29 level to the chair of the committee. The committee shall use 

30 the risk factors described in paragraph (g) and the risk 

31 assessment scale developed under subdivision 2 to determine the 

32 offender's risk assessment score and risk level. Offenders 

33 scheduled· for release from confinement shall be assessed by the 

34 committee established at the facility from which the offender is 

35 to be released. 

36 (ii) If an offender is received for confinement in a 
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1 facility with less than 90 days remaining in the offender's term 

2 of confinement, the offender's risk shall be assessed at the 

3 first regularly scheduled end of confinement review committee 

4 that convenes after the appropriate documentation for the risk 

5 assessment is assembled by the committee. The commissioner 

6 shall make reasonable efforts to ensure that offender's risk is 

7 assessed and a risk level is assigned or reassigned at least 30 

8 days before the offender's release date. 

9 (iii) If the offender is subject to a mandatory life 

10 sentence under section 609.342, subdivision 2, paragraph (b), or 

11 609.3455, the commissioner of corrections shall convene the 

12 appropriate end-of-confinement review committee at least nine 

13 months before the offender's minimum term of imprisonment has 

14 been served. If the offender is received for confinement in a 

15 facility with less than nine months remaining before the 

16 offender's minimum term of imprisonment has been served, the 

17 committee shall conform its procedures to those outlined in item 

18 (ii) to the extent practicable. 

19 (iv) If the offender is granted supervised release, the 

20 commissioner of corrections shall notify the appropriate 

21 end-of-confinement review committee that it needs to review the 

22 offender's previously determined risk level at its next 

23 regularly scheduled meeting. The commissioner shall make 

24 reasonable efforts to ensure that the offender's earlier risk 

25 level determination is reviewed and the risk level is confirmed 

26 or reassigned at least 60 days before the offender's release 

27 date. The committee shall give the report to the offender and 

28 to the law enforcement agency at least 60 days before an 

29 offender is released from confinement. 

30 (e) The committee shall assign to risk level I a predatory 

31 offender whose risk assessment score indicates a low risk of 

32 reoffense. The committee shall assign to risk level II an 

33 offender whose risk assessment score indicates a moderate ·risk 

34 of reoffense. The committee shall assign to risk level III an 

35 offender whose risk assessment score indicates a high risk of 

36 reoffense. 
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l (f) Before the predatory offender is released from 

2 confinement, the committee shall prepare a risk assessment 

3 report which specifies the risk level to which the offender has 

4 been assigned and the reasons underlying the committee's risk 

5 assessment decision. Except for an offender subject to a 

6 mandatory life sentence under section 609.342, subdivision 2, 

7 paragraph (b), or 609.3455, who has not been granted supervised 

8 release, ·the committee shall give the report to the offender and 

9 to the law enforcement agency at least 60 days before an 

10 offender is released from confinement. If the offender is 

11 subject to a mandatory life sentence and has not yet served the 

12 entire minimum term of imprisonment, the committee shall give 

13 the report to-.the offender and to the commissioner at least six 

14 months before the offender is first eligible for release. If 

15 the risk assessment is performed under the circumstances 

16 described in paragraph (d), item (ii), the report shall be given 

17 to the offender and the law enforcement agency as soon as it is 

18 available. The committee also shall inform the offender of the 

19 availability of review under subdivision 6. 

20 (g) As used in this subdivision, "risk factors" includes, 

21 but is not limited to, the following factors: 

22 (l) the seriousness of the offense should the offender 

23 reoffend. This factor includes consideration of the following: 

24 (i) the degree of likely force or harm; 

25 (ii) the degree of likely physical contact; and 

26 (iii) the age of the likely victim; 

27 (2) the offender's prior offense history. This factor 

28 includes consideration of the following: 

29 (i) the relationship of prior victims to the offender; 

30 (ii) the number of prior offenses or victims; 

31 (iii) the duration of the offender's prior offense history; 

32 (iv) the length of time since the offender's last prior 

33 offense while the offender was at risk to commit offenses; and 

34 (v) the offender's prior history of other antisocial acts; 

35 (3) the offender's characteristics. This factor includes 

36 consideration of the following: 
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l (i) the offender's response to prior treatment efforts; and 

2 (ii) the offender's history of substance abuse; 

3 (4) the availability of community supports to the offender. 

4 This factor includes consideration of the following: 

5 (i) the availability and likelihood that the offender will 

6 be involved in therapeutic treatment; 

7 (ii) the availability of residential supports to the 

8 offender, such as a stable and supervised living arrangement in 

9 an appropriate location; 

10 (iii) the offender's familial and social relationships, 

11 including the nature and length of these relationships and the 

12 level of support that the offender may receive from these 

13 persons; and 

14 (iv) the offender's lack of education or employment 

15 stability; 

16 (5) whether the offender has indicated or credible evidence 

17 in the record indicates that the offender will reoffend if 

18 released into the community; and 

19 (6) whether the offender demonstrates a physical condition 

20 that minimizes the risk of reoffense, including but not limited 

21 to, advanced age or a debilitating illness or physical condition. 

22 (h) Upon the request -of the law enforcement agency or the 

23 offender's corrections agent, the commissioner may reconvene the 

24 end-of-confinement review committee for the purpose of 

25 reassessing the risk level to which an offender has been 

26 assigned under paragraph (e). In a request for a reassessment, 

27 the law enforcement agency which was responsible for the charge 

28 resulting in confinement or agent shall list the facts and 

29 circumstances arising after the initial assignment or facts and 

30 circumstances known to law enforcement or the agent but not 

31 considered by the committee under paragraph (e) which support 

32 the request for a reassessment. The request for reassessment by 

33 the law enforcement agency must occur within 30 days of receipt 

34 of the report indicating the offender's risk level assignment. 

35 The offender's corrections agent! in consultation with the chief 

36 law enforcement officer in the area where the offender resides 
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1 or intends to reside, may request a review of a risk level at 

2 any time if substantial evidence exists that .the offender's risk 

3 level should be reviewed by an end-of-confinement review 

4 committee. This evidence includes, but is not limited to, 

5 evidence of treatment failures or completions, evidence of 

6 exceptional crime-free community .adjustment or lack of 

7 appropriate adjustment, evidence of substantial community need 

8 to know more about the offender or mitigating circumstances that 

9 would narrow the proposed scope of notification, or other 

10 practical situations articulated and based.in evidence of the 

11 offender's behavior while under supervision. Upon review of the 

12 request, the end-of-confinement review committee may reassigrt an 

13 offender to a different risk level. If the offender is 

14 reassigned to a higher risk level, the offender has the right to 

15 seek review of the committee's determination under subdivision 6. 

16 (i) An offender may request the end-of-confinement review 

17 committee to reassess the offender's assigned risk level after 

18 three years have elapsed since the committee's initial risk 

19 assessment and may renew the request once every two years 

20 following subsequent denials •. In a request for reassessment, 

21 the of fender shall list the facts and circumstances which 

22 demonstrate that the offender no longer poses the same degree of 

23 risk to the community. In order for a request for a risk level 

24 reduction to be granted, the offender must demonstrate full 

25 compliance with supervised release conditions, completion of 

26 required post-release treatment programming, and full compliance 

27 with all registration requirements as detailed in section 

28 243.166. The offender must also not have been convicted of any 

29 felony, gross misdemeanor, or misdemeanor offenses subsequent to 

30 the assignment of the original risk level. The committee shall 

31 follow the process outlined in paragraphs (a) to (c) in the 

32 reassessment. An offender who is incarcerated may not request a 

33 reassessment under this paragraph. 

34 (j) Offenders returned to prison as release violators shall 

35 not have a right to a subsequent risk reassessment by the 

36 end-of-confinement review committee unless· substantial evidence 
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1 indicates that the ofeender's risk to the public has inc,reased. 

2 (k) The commissioner shall establish an end-of-confinement 

3 review committee to assign a risk level to offenders who are 

4 released from a federal correctional facility in Minnesota or 

5 another state and who intend to reside in Minnesota, and to 

6 of fenders accepted from another state under a reciprocal 

7 agreement for parole supervision under the interstate compact 

8 authorized by section 243.16. The committee shall make 

9 reasonable efforts to conform to the same timelines as applied 

10 to Minnesota cases. Offenders accepted from another state under 

11 a reciprocal agreement for probation supe~vision are not 

12 assigned a risk level, but are considered· downward dispositional 

13. departures. The.probation or court services officer and law 

14 enforcement officer shall manage such cases in accordance with 

15 section 244.10, subdivision 2a. The policies and procedures of 

16 the committee for federal offenders and interstate compact cases 

17 must be in accordance with all requirements as set forth in this 

18 section, unless restrictions caused by the nature of federal or 

19 interstate transfers prevents such conformance. 

20 (1) If the committee assigns a predatory offender to risk 

21 level III, the committee shall determine whether residency 

22 restrictions shall be included in the conditions of the 

23 offender's release based on the offender's pattern of offending 

24 behavior. 

25 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005,. 

26 and applies to crimes committed on or after that date. 

27 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 609.109, 

28 subdivision 2, is amended to read: 

29 Subd. 2. [PRESUMPTIVE EXECUTED SENTENCE.] Except as 

30 provided in subdivision 3 or 4, if a person is convicted under 

31 sections 609.342 to 699.345 609.3453, within 15 years of a 

32 previous sex offense conviction, the court shall commit the 

33 defendant to the commissioner of corrections for not less than 

34 three years, nor more than the maximum sentence provided by law 

35 for the offense for which convicted, notwithstanding the 

36 provisions of sections 242.19, 243.05, 609.11, 609.12, and 
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1 609.135. The court may stay the execution of the sentence 

2 imposed under this subdivision only if it finds that a 

3 professional assessment indicates the of fender is accepted by 

4 and can respond to treatment at a long-term inpatient program 

5 exclusively treating sex offenders and approved by the 

6 commissioner of corrections. If the court stays the execution 

7 of a sentence, it shall include the following as conditions of 

8 probation: 

9 (1) incarceration in a local jail or workhouse; and 

10 (2) a requirement that the offender successfully complete 

11 the treatment program and aftercare as directed by the court. 

12 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005, 

13 and applies to crimes committed on or after that date. 

14 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 609.109, 

15 subdivision 5, is amended to read: 

16 Subd. 5. [PREVIOUS SEX OFFENSE CONVICTIONS.] For the 

17 purposes of this section, a conviction is considered a previous 

18 sex offense conviction if the person was convicted of a sex 

19 offense before the commission of the present offense of 

20 conviction. A person has two previous sex offense convictions 

21 only if the person was convicted and sentenced for a sex offense 

22 committed after the person was earlier convicted and sentenced 

23 for a sex offense, both convictions preceded the commission of 

24 the present offense of conviction, and 15 years have not elapsed 

25 since the person was discharged from the sentence imposed for 

26 the second conviction. A "sex offense" is a violation of 

27 sections 609.342 to 609.345 609.3453 or any similar statute of 

28 the United States, this state, or any other state. 

29 [EFFECTIVE DATE .• ] This section is effective August 1, 2005, 

30 and applies to crimes committed on or after that date. 

31 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 609.117, 

32 subdivision 1, is amended to read: 

33 Subdivision 1. [UPON SENTENCING.] The court shall order an 

34 of fender to provide a biological specimen for the purpose of DNA 

35 analysis as defined in section 299C.155 when: 

36 (1) the court sentences a person charged with violating or 
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l attempting to violate any of the following, and the person is 

2 convicted of that offense or of any offense arising out of the 

3 same set of circumstances: 

4 (i) murder under section 609.185, 609.19, or 609.195; 

5 (ii) manslaughter under section 609.20 or 609.205; 

6 (iii) assault under section 609.221, 609.222, or 609.223; 

7 (iv) robbery under section 609.24 or aggravated robbery 

8 under section 609.245; 

9 (v) kidnapping under section 609.25; 

10 (vi) false imprisonment under section 609.255; 

11 (vii) criminal sexual conduct under section 609.342, 

12 609.343, 609.344, 609.345, er 609.3451, subdivision 3~ 

13 609.3453; 

14 (viii) incest under section 609.365; 

15 (ix) burglary under section 609.582, subdivision l; or 

16 (x) indecent exposure under section 617.23, subdivision 3; 

17 (2) the court sentences a person as a patterned sex 

18 offender under section 609.108; or 

19 (3) the juvenile court adjudicates a person a delinquent 

20 child who is the subject of a delinquency petition for violating 

21 or attempting to violate any of the following, and the 

22 delinquency adjudication is based on a violation of one of those 

23 sections or of any offense arising out of the same set of 

24 circumstances: 

25 (i) murder under section 609.185, 609.19, or 609.195; 

26 (ii) manslaughter under section 609.20 or 609.205; 

27 (iii) assault under section 609.221, 609.222, or 609.223; 

28 (iv) robbery under section 609.24 or aggravated robbery 

29 under section 609.245; 

30 (v) kidnapping under section 609.25; 

31 (vi) false imprisonment under section 609.255; 

32 (vii) criminal sexual conduct under section 609.342, 

33 609.343, 609.344, 609.345, or 609.3451, subdivision 3~ 

34 609.3453; 

35 (viii) incest under section 609.365; 

36 (ix) burglary under section 609.582, subdivision l; or 

Article 4 Section 6 73 



03/15/05 [REVISOR RPK/RC 05-3518 

1 (x) indecent exposure under section 617.23, subdivision 3. 

2 The biological specimen or the results of the analysis shall be 

3 maintained by the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension as provided in 

4 section 299C.155. 

5 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005, 

6 and applies to crimes committed on or after that date. 

7 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 609.117, 

8 subdivision 2, is amended to read: 

9 Subd. 2. [BEFORE RELEASE.] The commissioner of corrections 

10 or local corrections authority shall order a person to provide a 

11 biological specimen for the purpose of DNA analysis before 

12 completion of the person's term of imprisonment when the person 

13 has not provided a biological specimen for the purpose of DNA 

14 analysis and the person: 

15 (1) is currently serving a term of imprisonment for or has 

16 a past conviction for violating or attempting to violate any of 

17 the following or a similar law of another state or the United . 

18 States or initially charged with violating one of the following 

19 sections or a similar law of another state or the United States 

20 and convicted of another offense arising out of the same set of 

21 circumstances: 

22 (i) murder under section 609.185, 609.19, or 609.195; 

23 (ii) manslaughter under section 609.20 or 609.205; 

24 (iii) assault under section 609.221, 609.222, or 609.223; 

25 (iv) robbery under section 609.24 or aggravated robbery 

26 under section 609.245; 

27 (v) kidnapping under section 609.25; · 

28 (vi) false imprisonment under section 609.255; 

29 (vii) criminal sexual conduct under section 609.342, 

30 609.343, 609.344, 609.345, er 609.3451, subdivision 3.!...-2!.. 

31 60Q.3453; 

32 (viii) incest under section 609.365; 

33 (ix) burglary under section 609.582, subdivision l; or 

34 

35 or 

36 

(x) indecent exposure under section 617.23, subdivision 3; 

(2) was sentenced as a patterned sex offender under section 
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1 609.108, and committed to the custody of the commissioner of 

2 corrections; or 

3 (3) is serving a term of imprisonment in this state under a 

4 reciprocal agreement although convicted in another state of an 

5 offense described in this subdivision or a similar law of the 

6 United States or any other state. The commissioner of 

7 corrections or local corrections authority shall forward the 

8 sample to the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension. 

9 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005, 

10 and applies to crimes committed on or after that date. 

11 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 609.1351, is 

12 amended to read: 

13 609.1351 [PETI-TION. FOR CIVIL COMMITMENT.] . 

14 When a court sentences a person under section 609.108, 

15 609.342, 609.343, 609.344, or 609.345, or 609.3453, the court 

16 shall make a preliminary determination whether in the court's 

17 opinion a petition under section 253B.18.5 may be appropriate and 

18 include the determination as part of the sentencing order. If 

19 the court determines that a petition may be appropriate, the 

20 court shall forward its preliminary determination along with 

21 supporting documentation to the county attorney. 

22 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005, 

23 and applies to crimes committed on or after that date. 

24 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 609.347, is 

25 amended to read: 

26 609.347 [EVIDENCE IN CRIMINAL SEXUAL CONDUCT CASES.] 

27 Subdivision 1. In a prosecution under sections 609.109 orL 

28 609.342 to 609.3451, or 609.3453, the testimony of a victim need 

29 not be corroborated. 

30 Subd. 2. In a prosecution under sections 609.109 orL 

31 609.342 to 609.3451, or 609.3453, there is no need to show that 

32 the victim resisted the accused. 

33 Subd. 3. In a prosecution under sections 609.109, 609.342 

34 to 609.3451, 609.3453, or 609.365, evidence of the victim's 

35 previous sexual conduct shall not be admitted nor shall any 

36 reference to such conduct be made in the presence of the jury, 
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1 except by court order under the procedure provided in 

2 subdivision 4. The evidence can be admitted only if the 

3 probative value of the evidence is not substantially outweighed 

4 by its inflammatory or prejudicial nature and only in the 

5 circumstances set out in paragraphs (a) and (b). For the 

6 evidence to be admissible under paragraph (a), subsection (i), 

7 the judge must find by a preponderance of the evidence that the 

8 facts set out in the accused's offer of proof are true. For the 

9 evidence to be admissible under paragraph (a), subsection (ii) 

10 or paragraph (b), the judge must find that the evidence is 

11 sufficient to support a finding that the facts set out in the 

12 accused's offer of proof are true, as provided under Rule 901 of 

13 the Rules of Evidence. 

14 (a) When consent of the victim is a defense in the case, 

15 the following evidence is admissible: 

16 (i) evidence of the victim's previous sexual conduct 

17 tending to establish a common scheme or plan of similar sexual 

18 conduct under circumstances similar to the case at issue. In 

19 order to find a common scheme or plan, the judge must find that 

20 the victim made prior allegations of sexual assault which were 

21 fabricated; and 

22 (ii) evidence of the·victim's previous sexual conduct with 

23 the accused. 

24 (b) When the prosecution's case includes evidence of semen, 

25 pregnancy, or disease at the time of the incident or, in the 

26 case.of pregnancy, between the time of the incident and trial, 

27 evidence of specific instances of the victim's previous sexual 

28 conduct is admissible solely to show the source of the semen, 

29 pregnancy, or disease. 

30 Subd. 4. The accused may not offer evidence described in 

31 subdivision 3 except pursuant to the following procedure: 

32 (a) A motion shall be made by the accused at least three 

33 business days prior to trial, unless later for good cause shown, 

34 setting out with particularity the offer of proof of the 

35 evidence that the accused intends to offer, relative to the 

36 previous sexual conduct of the victim; 
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l (b) If the court deems the offer of proof sufficient, the 

2 court shall order a hearing out of the presence of the jury, if 

3 any, and in such hearing shall allow the accused to make a full 

4 presentation of the offer of proof; 

5 (c) At the conclusion of the hearing, if the court finds 

6 that the evidence proposed to be offered by the accused 

7 regarding the previous sexual conduct of the victim is 

8 admissible under subdivision 3 and that its probative value is 

9 not substantially outweighed by its inflammatory or prejudicial 

10 nature, the court shali make an order stating the extent to 

11 which evidence is admissible. The accused may then offer 

12 evidence pursuant to the order of the court; 

13 (d) If new information is discovered after the date of the 

14 hearing or during the course of trial, which may make evidence 

15 described in subdivision 3 admissible, the accused may make an 

16 offer of proof pursuant to clause (a) and the court shall order 

17 an in camera hearing to determine whether the proposed evidence 

18 is admissible by the standards herein. 

19 Subd. 5. In a prosecution under sections 609.109 erL 

20 609.342 to 609.3451, or 609.3453, the court shall not instruct 

21 the jury to the effect that: 

22 (a) It may be inferred that a victim who has previously 

23 consented to sexual intercourse with persons other than the 

24 accused would be therefore more likely to consent to sexual 

25 intercourse again; or 

26 (b) The victim's previous or subsequent sexual conduct in 

27 and of itself may be considered in determining the credibility 

28 of the victim; or 

29 (c) Criminal sexual conduct is a crime easily charged by a 

30 victim but very difficult to disprove by an accused because of 

31 the heinous nature of the crime; or 

32 (d) The jury shouid scrutinize the testimony of the victim 

33 any more closely than it should scrutinize the testimony of any 

34 witness in any felony prosecution. 

35 Subd. 6. (a) In a prosecution under sections 609.109 erL 

36 609.342 to 609.3451, or 609.3453, involving a psychotherapist 
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1 and patient, evidence of the patient's personal or medical 

2 history is not admissible except when: 

3 (1) the accused requests a hearing at least three business 

4 days prior to trial and makes an offer of proof of the relevancy 

5 of the history; and 

6 (2) the court finds that the history is relevant and that 

7 the probative value of the history outweighs its prejudicial 

8 value. 

9 (b) The court shall allow the admission only of specific 

10 information or examples of conduct of the victim that are 

11 determined by the court to be relevant. The court's order shall 

12 detail the information or conduct that is admissible and no 

13. other evidence of the history may be introduced. 

14 (c) Violation of the terms of the order is grounds for 

15 mistr1al but does not prevent the retrial of the accused. 

16 Subd. 7. [EFFECT OF STATUTE ON RULES.] Rule 412 of the 

17 Rules of Evidence is superseded to the extent of its conflict 

18 with this section. 

19 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005, 

20 and applies to crimes committed on or after that date. 

21 Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 609.3471, is 

22 amended to read: 

23 609.3471 [RECORDS PERTAINING TO VICTIM IDENTITY 

24 CONFIDENTIAL.] 

25 Notwithstanding any provision of law to the contrary, no 

26 data contained in records or reports relating to petitions, 

27 complaints, or indictments issued pursuant to section 609.342;L 

28 609.343;L 609.344;-orL 609.345, or 609.3453, which 

29 specifically identifies a ·victim who is a minor shall be 

30 accessible to the public, except by order of the court. Nothing 

31 in this section authorizes denial of access to any other data 

32 contained in the records or reports, including the identity of 

33 the defendant. 

34 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005, 

35 and applies to crimes committed on or after that date. 

36 Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 609.348, is 
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1 amended to read: 

2 609.348 [MEDICAL PURPOSES; EXCLUSION.] 

3 Sections 609.109 aftdL 609.342 to 609.3451, and 609.3453 do 

4 not apply to sexual penetration or sexual contact when done for 

5 a bona fide medical purpose. 

6 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005, 

7 and applies to crimes committed on or after that date. 

8. Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 609.353, is 

9 amended to read: 

10 609.353 [JURISDICTION.] 

11 A violation or attempted violation of section 609.342, 

12 609.343, 609.344, 609.345, 609.3451, 609.3453, or 609.352 may be 

13 prosecuted in any jurisdiction in which the violation originates 

14 or terminates. 

15 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005, 

16 and applies to crimes committed on or after that date. 

17 Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 631.045, is 

18 amended to read: 

19 631.045 [EXCLUDING SPECTATORS FROM THE COURTROOM.] 

20 At the trial of a complaint or indictment for a violation 

21 of sections 609.109, 609.341 to 609.3451, 609.3453, or 617.246, 

22 subdivision 2, when a minor under 18 years of age is the person 

23 upon, with, or against whom the crime is alleged to have been 

24 committed, the judge may exclude the public from the courtroom 

25 during the victim's testimony or during all or part of the 

26 remainder of the trial upon a showing that closure is necessary 

27 to protect a witness or ensure fairness in the trial. The judge 

28 shall give the prosecutor, defendant and members of the public 

29 the opportunity to object to the closure before a closure order. 

30 The judge shall specify the reasons for closure in an order 

31 closing all or part of the trial. Upon closure the judge shall 

32 only admit persons who have a direct interest in the case. 

33 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005, 

34 and applies to crimes committed on or after that date. 

35 Sec. 14. [REVISOR INSTRUCTION.] 

36 (a) The reviser of statutes shall renumber Minnesota 
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1 Statutes, section 609.3452, as Minnesota Statutes, section 

2 609.3457, and correct cross-references. In addition, the 

3 reviser shall delete the reference in Minnesota Statutes, 

4 section 13.871, subdivision 3, paragraph (d), to Minnesota 

5 Statutes, section 609.3452, and insert a reference to Minnesota 

6 Statutes, section 609.3457. The reviser shall include a 

7 notation in Minnesota Statutes to inform readers of the statutes 

8 of the renumbering of section 609.3457. 

9 (b) In addition to the specific changes described in 

10 paragraph (a), the reviser of statutes shall make other 

11 technical changes necessitated by this act. 
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243.166 REGISTRATION OF PREDATORY OFFENDERS. 
Subdivision 1. Registration required. (a) A person 

shall register under this section if: 
(1) the person was charged with or petitioned for a felony 

violation of or attempt to violate any of the following, and 
convicted of or adjudicated delinquent for that offense or 
another offense arising out of the same set of circumstances: 

(i) murder under section 609.185, clause (2); or 
(ii) kidnapping under section 609.25; or 
(iii) criminal sexual conduct under section 609.342; 

609.343; 609.344; 609.345; or 609.3451, subdivision 3; or 
(iv) indecent exposure under section 617.23, subdivision 3; 

or 
(2) the person was charged with or petitioned for falsely 

imprisoning a minor in violation of section 609.255, subdivision 
2; soliciting a minor to engage in prostitution in violation of 
section 609.322 or 609.324; soliciting~ minor to engage in 
sexual conduct in violation of section 609.352; using a minor in 
a sexual performance ~n violation of section 617.246; or 
possessing pornographic work involving a minor in violation of 
section 617.247, and convicted of or adjudicated delinquent for 
that offense or another offense arising out of the same set of 
circumstances; or 

(3) the person was convicted of a predatory crime as 
defined in section 609.108, and the offender was sentenced as a 
patterned sex offender or the court found on its own motion or 
that of the prosecutor that the crime was part of a predatory 
pattern of behavior that had criminal sexual conduct as its 
goal; or 

(4) the person was convicted of or adjudicated delinquent 
for, including pursuant to a court martial, violating a law of 
the United States, including the Uniform Code of Military 
Justice, similar to the offenses described in clause (1), (2), 
or ( 3) • 

(b) A person also shall register under this section if: 
(1) the person was convicted of or adjudicated delinquent 

in another state for an offense that would be a violation of a 
law described in paragraph (a) if committed in this state; 

(2) the person enters the state to reside, or to work or 
attend school; and 

(3) ten years have not elapsed since the person was 
released from confinement or, if the person was not confined, 
since the person was convicted of or adjudicated delinquent for 
the offense that triggers registration, unless the person is 
subject to lifetime registration, in which case the person must 
register for life regardless of when the person was released 
from confinement, convicted, or adjudicated Qelinquent. 
For purposes of this paragraph: 

(i) "school" includes any public or private educational 
institution, including any secondary school, trade or 
pro~essional institution, or institution of higher education, 
that the person is enrolled in on a full-time or part-time 
basis; and 

(ii) "work 11 includes employment that is full time or part 
time for a period of time exceeding 14 days or for an aggregate 
period of time exceeding 30 days during any calendar year, 
whether financially compensated, volunteered, or for the purpose 
of government or educational benefit. 

(c) A person also shall register under this section if the 
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person was committed pursuant to a court commitment order under 
section 253B.185 or Minnesota Statutes 1992, section 526.10, or 
a similar law of another state or the United States, regardless 
of whether the person was convicted of any offense. 

(d) A person also shall register under this section if: 
(1) the person was charged with or petitioned for a felony 

violation or attempt to violate any of the offenses listed in 
paragraph (a), clause (1), or a similar law of another state or 
the United States, or the person was charged with or petitioned 
for a violation of any of the offenses listed in paragraph (a), 
clause (2), or a similar law of another state or the United 
States; 

(2) the person was found not guilty by reason of ·mental 
illness or mental deficiency after a trial for that offense, or 
found guilty but mentally ill after a trial for that offense, in 
states with a guilty but mentally ill verdict; and 

(3) the person was committed pursuant to a court commitment 
order under section 253B.18 or a similar law of another state or 
the United States. 

Subd. 8. Law enforcement authority. For purposes of 
this section, a law enforcement authority means, with respect to 
a home rule charter or statutory city, the chief of police, and· 
with respect to an unincorpor~ted area, the sheriff of the 
county. 
609.108 MANDATORY INCREASED SENTENCES FOR CERTAIN 
PATTERNED AND PREDATORY SEX OFFENDERS; NO PRIOR CONVICTION 
REQUIRED. 

Subd. 2. Increased statutory maximum. If the 
factfinder determines, at the time of the trial or the guilty 
plea, that a predatory offense was motivated by, committed in 
the course of, or committed in furtherance of sexual contact or 
penetration, as defined in section 609.341, and the court is 
imposing a sentence under subdivision 1, the statutory maximum 
imprisonment penalty for the offense is 40 years, 
notwithstanding the statutory maximum imprisonment penalty 
otherwise provided for the offense. 
609.109 PRESUMPTIVE AND MANDATORY SENTENCES FOR REPEAT 
SEX OFFENDERS. 

Subd. 7. Conditional release of sex offenders. (a) 
Notwithstanding the statutory maximum sentence otherwise 
applicable to the offense or any provision of the Sentencing 
Guidelines, when a court sentences a person to prison for a 
violation of section 609.342, 609.343, 609.344, or 609.345, the 
court shall provide that after the person has completed the 
sentence imposed, the commissioner of corrections shall place 
the person on conditional release. If the person was convicted 
for a violation of section 609.342, 609.343, 609.344, or 
609.345, the person shall be placed on conditional release for 
five years, minus the time the person served on·supervised 
release. If the person was convicted for a violation of one of 
those sections after a previous sex offense conviction as 
defined in subdivision 5, or sentenced under subdivision 6 to a 
mandatory departure, the person shall be placed on conditional 
release for ten years, minus the time the person served on 
supervised release. 

(b) The conditions of release may include successful 
completion of treatment and aftercare in a program approved by 
the commissioner, satisfaction of the release conditions 
specified in section 244.05, subdivision 6, and any other 
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conditions the commissioner considers appropriate. If the 
offender fails to meet any condition of release, the 
commissioner may revoke the offender's conditional release and 
order that the of fender serve the remaining portion of the 
conditional release term in prison. The commissioner 'shall not 
dismiss the offender from supervision· before the conditional 
release term expires. . 

Conditional release under this subdivision is governed by 
provisions relating to supervised release, except as otherwise 
provided in this subdiv~sion, section 244.04, subdivision 1, or 
244.05. 

(c) The commissioner shall pay the cost of treatment of a 
person released under this subdivision. This section does not 
require the commissioner to accept or retain an offender in a 
treatment program. 
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Life Sentences 

Comparison of Sex Offender Sentencing Provisions of 
S.F. No. 1875 (Ranum) and S.F. No. 1325 (Kleis) 

)>- Mandatory indeterminate life sentence for certain repeat sex offenders 

"" Applies to first- through third-degree CSC and CSPC offenders, 
who have: 

two true prior1 CSC (including frrst- through fifth-degree) or 
CSPC convictions (including extended jurisdiction juvenile 
(EJJ) convictions/adjudications2

); 

one true prior CSC (including first- through fifth-degree) or 
CSPC conviction (including EJJ convictions/adjudications2

), 

and where: (1) the current offense involves an aggravating 
factor (this must be proven beyond a reasonable doubt under 
Blakely v. Washington); (2) the prior offense involved an 
upward sentencing departure; or (3) the prior offense was 
sentenced under the patterned and predatory offender 
sentencing law; or 

)>- Mandatory indeterminate life sentence (20-year minimum 
term of imprisonment) for repeat sex offenders 

"" Applies to first- through fourth-degree CSC and CSPC 
(see below) where the offender has previously been 
convicted or adjudicated delinquent for a felony-level 
sex offense, two nonfelony-level sex offenses, or a 
felony-level predatory crime where the fact finder 
determined that the crime Was motivated by the 
offender's sexual impulses or was committed as part of 
a predatory pattern of behavior that had criminal sexual 
conduct as its goal. Does not require that the prior 
offense be a true prior (i.e., the offender need not have 
committed and been convicte~ of the prior offense 
before the commission of the current offense). 

S.F. No. 1325 requires the offender to serve a 20-
year minimum prison sentence before being eligible 
for release. It also "counts" as priors the crimes of 
indecent exposure, solicitation of a child to engage 
in sexual conduct, use of minors in a sexual 
performance and possession/distribution of child 
pornography (S.F. No. 1875 does not allow these 
crimes to act as predicates to a life sentence). It 
"counts" delinquency adjudications as priors (S.F. 
No. 1875 "counts" only certain EJJ convictions). 
For felony-level priors, S.F. No. 1325 requires only 
a single prior (which need not be a true prior) and 
does not require that there be any aggravating 
factors, etc. S.F. No. 1325 treats fourth-degree CSC 
offenses the same as other degrees (S.F. No. 1875 
distinguishes between fourth-degree and other CSC 
offenses when the current offense is a fourth-degree 
CSC). 

S.F. No. 1875 is broader in at least one respect. It 
would allow a single, nonfelony-level fifth-degree 
CSC to be used as a predicate for an indeterminate 
life sentence. However, this would require that it be 
a true prior and also that the current offense 
involved an aggravating factor. 

1For an offense to be considered a true prior, the offender must have committed the prior offense and been convicted and sentenced for it befo.re the commission of the current offense. 

2Note: the prior EJJ conviction(s)/adjudication(s) must be for first- through third-degree CSC or CSPC (i.e., would not include fourth- or fifth-degree CSC). 
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two prior CSC (including first- through fifth-degree) or CSPC 
convictions (including EJJ convictions/adjudications2

) (note: 
here the priors are not required to be "true" priors) involving 
separate victims from the current offense, and where: (1) the 
current offense involves an aggravating factor (this must be 
proven beyond a reasonable doubt under Blakely v. 
Washington); (2) one of the prior offenses involved an 
upward sentencing departure; or (3) one of the prior offenses 
was sentenced under the patterned and predatory ·offender 
sentencing law. 

"" Also applies to fourth-degree CSC offenders where the prior 
offense or offenses (if multiple priors are required) involved first­
through third-degree CSC or CSPC. 

"" Minimum sentence to be set by the sentencing judge based on ·the 
sentencing guidelines' presumptive sentence/applicable 
mandatory minimum sentence/durational departure. If the 
Commissioner of Corrections releases the offender (see below), 
the offender remains under conditional release for the remainder 
of the offender's life. 

2 

"----, 
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> Mandatory indeterminate life sentence for egregious first-time. first­
degree CSC offenders 

~ Applies to first-degree CSC offenses committed with force or 
violence (i.e., specified violent provisions) where the fact fmder 
determines that the offense involved: 

torture of the victim; 

intentional infliction of great bodily harm upon the victim; 

mutilation of the victim; or 

exposure of the victim to extreme inhumane conditions. 
! 

This life sentence is the same as that described for repeat 
offenders (see above). 

> Mandatory life without release sentence for egregious first­
time. first- or second-degree CSC offenders 

~ Applies to first- and second-degree CSC offenses 
committed with force or violence (i.e., specified violent 
provisions) where the fact finder determines that: 

the offender tortured ~e victim; 

the offender intentionally inflicted great bodily 
harm upon the victim; 

without the victim's consent, the offender removed 
the victim from one place to another and did not 
release the victim in a safe place; 

the victim was aged 13 or younger at the time of the 
offense; 

the victim was aged 70 or older at the time of the 
offense; 

the offender was armed with a dangerous weapon 
and used or threatened to use it to cause the victim 
to submit; 

the offense involved sexual penetratioll/contact with 
more than one victim; or 

the offense involved more than one perpetrator 
engaging in sexual penetration/contact with the 
victim. 

S.F. No. 1875 does not have a life without release 
provision or a 20-year minimum term of 
imprisonment provision. Instead, the minimum 
sentence will be set by the judge in the same manner 
as current law. 

S.F. No. 1325's life without release sentence and 
20-year minimum term of imprisonment life 
sentence applies also to second-degi:ee CSCs. In 
addition, the heinous elements that trigger the life 
without release sentence are broader than those in 
S.F. No. 1875. The 20-year minimum term of 
impris~nment life sentence does not require any 
additional heinous elements to be established (i.e., a 
conviction under one of the specified violent 
provisions of first- or second-degree CSC triggers 
the sentence). 

___ : ________________ J_ ____________ .•. -·---·· 
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Conditional Release > Lifetime conditional release for repeat sex offenders 

.,. Applies to offenders sentenced to indeterminate life sentences 
who are released from prison (see above). 

.,. Also applies to first- through third-degree CSC and CSPC 
offenders who have one true prior CSC (including first- through 
fifth-degree) or CSPC conviction (including EJJ 
convictions/adjudications2

) where the mandatory indeterminate 
life sentence (see above) does not apply. Similar to current law, 
these offenders receive a determinate sentence (based on the 
sentencing guidelines' presumptive sentence/applicable 
mandatory minimum sentence/durational departure) with 
mandatory lifetime conditional release upon release from prison. 
Also applies to fourth-degree CSC offenders where the prior 
offense involved first- through third-degree CSC or CSPC . 

> Increased conditional release terms for other sex offenders 

.,. Any first- through fourth-degree CSC or CSPC offender not 
described above is subject to an additional five years of 
conditional release upon release from prison (this results in a 
minimum of ten years of postprison supervision). 

> Mandatory indeterminate life sentence (20-year minimum 
term of imprisonment) 

.,. Applies to first- and second-degree CSC committed 
with force or violence (i.e., specified violent 
provisions). 

No comparable provision. 

4 

"---

S.F. No. 1325 does not specifically address this 
issue. However, an offender released from an 
indeterminate life sentence under the bill would 
serve a lifetime conditional release term. In 
addition, since the bill contains a broader 
indeterminate life sentence for repeat sex offenders, 
it would result in more offenders being sentenced to 
indeterminate life sentences who, if released, would 
serve lifetime conditional release terms. 

S.F. No. 1325 does not address this issue. However, 
the bill doubles the statutory maximum sentences for 
all CSC offenses. It also requires the MSGC to 
modify the guidelines grid in accordance with the 
bill. These changes will likely result in sex 
offenders who are not subject to the bill's lifetime 
sentences serving longer sentences. This will likely 
result in longer periods of postprison correctional 
supervision as well. 
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New Substantive Sex 
Crime 

> Conditional release terms 

.,. Any conditional release of a sex offender (either those serving an 
indeterminate life sentence or a standard sentence) is governed by 
a new statute that imposes specific (and intensive) terms on the 
supervision (i.e., low caseload ratios, minimum number of home 
visits, work visits, etc.)·and treatment requirements. 

> New criminal sexual predatory conduct crime (CSPC) 

.,. Cre~tes a new substantive crime whose concept is taken from the 
current patterned and predatory offender sentencing law. Crime 
applies to offenders who commit a predatory offense (a defined 
term) that was motivated by the offender's sexual impulses or was 
part .of a ptedatory pattern of behavior having criminal sexual 
conduct as its goal. (See 2004 Senate and House omnibus crime 
bills.) Statutory maximum sentence is 25 percent longer than the 
statutory maximum for the underlying predatory crime. If the 
offense is committed by a person who has a true prior CSC 
(including first- through fifth-degree) or CSPC conviction 
(including an EJJ conviction/adjudication2

), the statutory 
maximum sentence is 50 percent longer than the statutory 
maximum for the underlying predatory crime. Repeat offenders 
may be eligible for an indeterminate life sentence (see above) if 
the other applicable factors exist. 

No comparable provision . 

> New criminal sexual predatory conduct crime (CSPC) 

.,. Creates a new substantive crime whose concept is taken 
from the current patterned and predatory offender 
sentencing law. Crime applies to offenders who commit 
a predatory offense (a defined term) that was motivated 
by the offender's sexual impulses or was part of a 
predatory pattern of behavior having criminal sexual 
conduct as its goal. (See 2004 Senate and House 
omnibus crime bills.) Statutory maximum sentence is 

5 

15 years imprisonment and/or a $20,000 fine. An 
offender convicted of this crime will receive an 
indeterminate life sentence with a 20-year minimum 
term of imprisonment if the offender is a repeat offender 
(see above). 

The elements of these substantive crimes are 
identical. However, the statutory maximum for the 
crime in S.F. No. 1875 is reflected as a percentage 
of the underlying predatory crime. S.F. No. 1325 
provides for a statutory maximum sentence of 15 
years imprisonment and/or a $20,000 fine. 
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Release Authority 

Increased Statutory 
Maximum Sentences 

> Release authority 

.. Commissioner of Corrections to determine if/when a sex offender 
serving an indeterminate life sentence may be released from 
prison (same as current law for first-degree murderers eligible for 
release after serving 30 years). When considering whether to 
release an offender, the commissioner must consider, at a 
minimum, the risk the offender poses to the community if 
released; the offender's progress in treatment; the offender's 
behavior while incarcerated; psychological or other diagnostic 
evaluations of the offender; the offender's criminal history; and 
any other relevant conduct of the offender while incarcerated or 
before incarceration. The commissioner may not release an 
offender unless while in prison the offender has successfully 
completed' appropriate sex offender treatment and has been 
assessed for chemical dependency and mental health needs and if 
necessary, has completed appropriate treatment. In addition, the 
commissioner may not release an offender unless there is an 
individual release plan that ensures that the offender has suitable 
housing, receives appropriate aftercare/treatment, and has an 
employment or education plan. 

No comparable provision; 

> Release authority 

r.- Requires the Minnesota Sex Offender Review Board to 
make decisions regarding the release of offenders 
sentenced to indeterminate life sentences under the bill. 
However, does not provide any details on the release 
criteria, composition of the Board, etc. Instead, requires 
the Commissioner of Corrections to establish criteria 
and procedures for the Board. ·Requires the 
Commissioner to seek the input of criminal justice 
stakeholders when establishing the criteria and 
procedures. 

> Doubles CSC statutorv maximum sentences 

r.- Increases CSC statutory maximum sentences as follows: 

6 

first-degree CSC increased from 30 to 60 years; 

second-degree CSC increased from 25 to 50 years; 

third-degree CSC increased from 15 to 30 years; 
and 

fourth-degree CSC increased from ten to 20 years. 
····---- , ___________ J_ _____ • 
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Direction to Minnesota 
Sentencing Guidelines 
Commission 

No comparable provision. > Sentencing guidelines changes 

.,. Requires the MSGC to modify the sentencing 
guidelines, including the guidelines grid, consistent with 
its January 2005 report to the Legislature (but adapting 
the proposal to reflect the changes made in the bill). 
These modifications go into effect on August 1, 2005, 
and, along with other changes made in the bill, will 
likely increase presumptive sentences for sex offenders 
not subject to the bill's life sentences. 
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