2005-2006 Senate Transportation Committee Tuesday, April 7, 2005 3:00 PM Room G-15

Present

Absent

Chaudhary

Vickerman

Day

Dibble

Johnson, D.E.

Jungbauer

Langseth

Marko

McGinn

Moua

Murphy

Ortman

Ourada

Reiter

Rest

Robling

Senjem

Wiger

Sen. Murphy called the meeting to order at 3:17 pm.

Sen. Jungbauer presented S.F. 2121. Sen. Jungbauer offered the A-1 amendment, which passed on a voice vote. Sen. Jungbauer moved that the bill be recommended to pass as amended and sent to the Senate floor. The motion prevailed on a voice vote.

Sen. Jungbauer presented S.F. 1989. Pat McCormack, Director of the Driver and Vehicle Services Division of the Department of Public Safety, testified in support. Sen. Jungbauer moved that the bill be recommended to pass and sent to the Senate floor. The motion prevailed on a voice vote.

Sen. Ortman presented S.F. 1432 and offered the A-1 amendment. The amendment passed on a voice vote. Mark Lundgren, Carver County Auditor, 600 East 4th Street, Chaska, MN, testified in support. Sen. Ortman moved that the bill be recommended to pass as amended and sent to the State and Local Government Operations Committee. The motion prevailed on a voice vote.

Sen. Marko presented S.F. 1703. The following people provided testimony on the bill:

- Barb Thoman and Donna Peterson, Transit for Livable Communities, 624
 Selby Ave, St. Paul, MN Support
- Sherry Munyon and Mark Hoisser, Public Transit Association, 525 Park St, St. Paul, MN support
- Teresa Werneke, Downtown Transportation Management Organization, 220 South Sixth Street/Suite 230, Minneapolis, MN support
- Bill Beyer, Institute of Architects, 275 Market Street, Minneapolis, MN support
- Ron Llyod, Amalgamated Transportation Union, 312 Central Avenue, Minneapolis, MN support
- Julie Boots, Hotel Employees and Restaurant Employees International Union, 312 Central Ave. #444, Minneapolis, MN support
- Trudy Cretsinger, ISAIAH Minnesota, 2720 E 22nd St, Minneapolis, MN

 support
- Joel Ulland, MS Society, 200 12th Avenue South, Minneapolis, MN support
- Brian Pasko, Sierra Club, 4020 Columbus Ave., Minneapolis, MN support
- Michael Lander, Lander Group, 3583 Hennepin Ave., Minneapolis, MN support
- Peter Bell and Nacho Diaz from the Met Council answered committee members questions
- Donna Allen, Mn/DOT, testified to the amount of transit needed in greater Minnesota

Sen. Robling offered the A-2 amendment. Sen. Reiter asked for a roll call on the amendment. The roll was taken:

AYES (7): Day, Jungbauer, Ortman, Ourada, Reiter, Robling, Senjem NAYS (9): Chaudhary, Dibble, Johnson, DE, Langseth, Marko, Moua, Murphy, Rest, Wiger

On a vote of 7 to 9, the amendment failed. Sen. Marko moved that the bill be recommended to pass and sent to the finance committee. The motion prevailed on a voice vote.

Sen. Murphy adjourned the meeting at 5:31 p.m.

Senator Steve Murphy, Chair

Beau Berentson, Committee Secretary

Senate Committee Meeting Log

Committee Name: T2	ansportation com	1MITTEE	
Date: 4.7.05	Day: THUPSDAY	Start Time:	3:17

Agenda

[212]
JUNGBAUER
COMMERCIAL MOTOR VEHICLES TRAFFIC
PEGULATION AND PRIVERS LICENSE
PROVISIONS MODIFICATIONS
PAGSED AG AMBNDED; MOVED TO THE FLOOP
1989
JUNGBAUER
PASSENGER AUTOMOBILES OLD LIENS
REMOVAL FROM RECORDS
DACCED! MOVED TO THE STORE
PASSED; MOVED TO THE FLOOR
1432
OPTMAH
CAPVER CO. AUDITOR APPOINTMENT AS
DEPUTY MOTOR VEHICLE REGISTRAR
PASSED AS AMENDED; PE-PEFERDED TO
STATE AND LOCAL GOV. OPS.
1703
MARKO
TRANSPORTATION FUNDING PROVISIONS
MODIFICATIONS
PASSED; RE-REFERRED TO FINANCE

SENATE TRANSPORTATION COMMITTEE THURSDAY, APRIL 7, 2005 ROOM G-15 CAPITOL 3:00 PM

AGENDA

- **S.F. 2121 Jungbauer:** Commercial motor vehicles traffic regulation and Drivers license provisions modifications
- S.F. 1989 Jungbauer: Passenger automobiles old liens removal from records
- S.F. 1432 Ortman: Carver county auditor appointment as deputy motor vehicle registrar
- S.F. 1703 Marko: Transportation funding provisions modifications
 - Nacho Diaz, Director of Metropolitan Transportation Services, Metropolitan Council
 - Donna Allen, Mn/DOT
 - Barb Thoman, Transit for Livable Communities
 - Sherry Munyon, MN Public Transit Association
 - Michael Lander, Lander Group
 - Teresa Wernecke, Mpls. Transportation Management Organization
 - Bill Beyer, MN Chapter, American Institute of Architects
 - Ron Lloyd, Amalgamated Transit Union
 - Julie Boots, Hotel Entertainment Restaurant Employees Union
 - Mark Hoisser, DARTS
 - Sarah Mullins, Isaiah
 - Joel Ulland, MS Society
 - Donna Peterson, TLC leader, commuter
 - Donna Anderson, MN Public Health Association
 - Alice Tibbets, Biking and Walking Solutions