### 2005-2006 Senate Transportation Committee Thursday, March 22, 2005 3:00 PM Room G-15

### Present Present

#### Absent

Jungbauer Ortman

Chaudhary Day Dibble Johnson, D.E. Langseth Marko McGinn Moua Murphy Ourada Reiter Rest Robling Senjem Vickerman Wiger

Sen. Murphy called the meeting to order at 3:17 pm.

Sen. Murphy introduced S.F. XXX, which will become the Senate's Omnibus Transportation Finance bill. Sen. Murphy offered both the A-10 and the A-4 amendments. Both amendments passed on voice votes. Handouts A, B, and C were distributed.

The following are people who testified on the bill, and their positions:

Supportive of the bill

- Bob Vanasek, Metropolitan Inter-County Association, 25076 E Cedar Lake Dr., New Prague, MN
- Mayor Steve Larson and Bob Benke, North Metro Mayors Association, 8525 Edinbrook Crossing, Brooklyn Park, MN (Handout D)
- Margaret Donahoe, Minnesota Transportation Alliance, 525 Park Street, Suite 105, Saint Paul, MN

Testified that they liked the bill, but felt it needed more money for transit

• Sherry Munyon, Public Transit Association, 700 W Saint Germain St, St Cloud, MN

• Barb Thoman, Transit for Liveable Communities, 626 Selby Ave, Suite A, Saint Paul, MN (Handout E)

Opposed to the bill

• Carolyn Jones, Minnesota Chamber of Commerce, 400 Robert St North, St Paul, MN

Opposed to certain parts of the bill

- Alyssa Schlander, MADA, 200 Lothenbach Ave., West St. Paul, MN
- Jim Bartholomew, Minnesota Business Partnership, 3610 IDS, Minneapolis, MN

Sen. Chaudhary offered the A-9 amendment, which passed on a voice vote. Sen. Marko offered the A-1 and A-2 amendments, both of which passed on voice votes. Sen. Chaudhary moved that the bill be recommended to pass and be sent to the Committee on State and Local Government. Sen. Day requested a roll call. A roll call was taken:

AYES (11): Chaudhary, Dibble, Johnson, DE, Langseth, Marko, Moua, Murphy, Ourada, Rest, Vickerman, Wiger

NAYS (5): Day, McGinn, Ortman, Robling, Senjem

ABSENT (2): Jungbauer, Reiter

On a vote of 11 to 5, the bill was recommended to pass and sent to the committee on state and local government.

Sen. Murphy adjourned the meeting at 4:55 pm.

Senator Steve Murphy,/Chair

ee Secretary

# SENATE TRANSPORTATION COMMITTEE TUESDAY, MARCH 22, 2005 ROOM G-15 CAPITOL 3:00 PM

# AGENDA

S.F. XXX- Murphy: Transportation Finance Bill

- Sherry Munyon, Minnesota Public Transit Association
- Barb Thoman, Transit for Livable Communities
- Bob Vanasek, Metropolitan Inter County Association
- Carolyn Jones, Minnesota Chamber of Commerce
- Mayor Steve Larson, City of New Brighton, President of the North Metro Mayors Association
- Bob Benke, North Metro Mayors Association
- Margaret Donahoe, Minnesota Transportation Alliance
- Jim Bartholomew, Education Policy Director, Minnesota Business Partnership