Rules and Administration Subcommittee on Permanent and Joint Rules

February 21, 2005 8:00 a.m. Room 107 Capitol Senator Ann H. Rest, Chair

Present:

Absent:

Ranum Betzold Rest, Chair Johnson, D.E.

Larson

Metzen Neuville Pariseau Skoglund

A quorum was not present. Senator Betzold acted as Chair in Senator Rest's absence. The remaining agenda items from the previous meeting were discussed. Senator Betzold called a recess until a quorum was present.

Present:

Absent:

Rest, Chair

Neuville

Johnson, D.E.

Larson

Metzen

Ranum

Skoglund

Pariseau

Betzold

Senator Rest called the meeting to order at 11:30 a.m.

A quorum was present. Senator Betzold explained the previous testimony and discussion of the agenda items.

Senator Betzold explained SCR028-Betzold: Requiring the members of the Senate to adhere to the highest standard of ethical conduct as embodied in the Minnesota Constitution, state law and rule of the Senate at all times.

Senator Betzold moved adoption of SCR028. The motion prevailed.

Senator Dille explained SCR027-Dille: Limiting the number of members that can offer an amendment to five members.

Senator Dille withdrew the SCR027.

Senator Dille explained SCR040-Dille: Allowing two chief authors per bill.

Senator Dille withdrew SCR040.

Senator Betzold explained SCR019-2-Betzold

Senator Betzold moved that the new language added be deleted. SCR019-2 was adopted as amended.

Senator Rest adjourned the meeting at 11:40 a.m.

Respectfully submitted:

Subcommittee Chair

Jenny L. Myers Subcommittee Secretary

Rules and Administration Subcommittee on Permanent and Joint Rules

February 21, 2005 8:00 a.m. Room 107 Capitol Sen. Ann H. Rest, Chair

Agenda

Discussion of and action on proposed changes to the Senate Permanent Rules.