K-12 Education Budget Division

Wednesday, February 16, 2005

9:00 a.m. Room 112 - State Capitol

Members Present

Members Excused

Senator L. Stumpf

Senator E. Anderson

Senator M. Fischbach

Senator D. Gaither

Senator D. Hann

Senator D. Johnson

Senator M. Jungbauer

Senator S. Kelley

Senator K. Langseth

Senator S. Marko

Senator S. Nienow

Senator G. Olson

Senator T. Saxhaug

Senator L Scheid

Senator W. Skoglund

Senator D. Sparks

Senator B. Wergin

Senator C. Wiger

Senator Stumpf called the meeting to order at 9:10 a.m.

The committee reviewed the health and safety levy program.

The program is designed to promote safe and healthful schools. Districts seeking funding must submit annual health and safety programs to the department addressing many types of hazards. The department breaks down allowable expenditures that address hazards into several categories, such as physical hazards, hazardous substances, asbestos and indoor air quality.

Testifying was:

Dick Guevremont – DOE
Phil Allmon – DOE
Scott Wirtanen – Business Manger – ISD 701 Hibbing
Joe Arthurs - ISD 701
Sheldon Strom - Center for Energy and Environment
Rick Hermans – Center for Energy and Environment

Donna Luhring - Business Manager - New Ulm School District Scott Hogan - Maintenance Supervisor - New Ulm School District Chandler Holland - Engineer - Institute for Environmental Assessment

Handout # 1 – Memo from DOE Re: Capital Expenditures: Health and Safety Revenue Application dated 5/27/04

Handout # 2 – Center for Energy and Environment

Handout # 3 – MN Statues 2004, 123B.57

Handout #4 – Senate Presentation 2-16-05 - overheads

The meeting adjourned at 10:50 a.m. The proceedings were taped and the materials distributed are attached to these minutes.

Senator LeRoy Stumpf

Chairman

Jen Wenzel, Legislative Assistant



SENATE COMMITTEE HEARING

K-12 Education Budget Division

Wednesday, February 16, 2005

9:00 a.m. – 11:30 a.m. Room 112 Capitol

AGENDA

Overview of health and safety levies -

Department of Education:

Tom Melcher Dick Guevremont Phil Allmon

ISD 701 – Hibbing:

Scott Wirtanen – Business Manager – Joe Arthurs – Supervisor – Buildings and Grounds

Center for Energy and Environment:

Sheldon Strom
Rick Hermans indoor air quality

New Ulm School District:

Donna Luhring – Business Manager Scott Hogan – Maintenance Supervisor

Institute for Environmental Assessment:

Arief Karese – Engineer Chandler Holland – Engineer

Senator LeRoy Stumpf Chairman Jeri Wenzel Legislative Assistant