K-12 Education Budget Division

Wednesday, February 9, 2005

9:00 a.m. Room 112 - State Capitol

Members Present

Senator L. Stumpf Senator E. Anderson Senator D. Gaither Senator D. Hann Senator S. Kelley Senator S. Kelley Senator S. Marko Senator S. Nienow Senator G. Olson Senator T. Saxhaug Senator L Scheid Senator D. Sparks Senator B. Wergin Senator C. Wiger

Members Excused

Senator M. Fischbach Senator D. Johnson Senator M. Jungbauer

Senator Stumpf called the meeting to order at 9:15 a.m.

The committee continued their discussion on the governor's budget proposal.

Testifying to present elements of the proposed budget were:

Charlie Kyte – MN Association of School Administrators Scott Croonquist – Association of Metropolitan Schools Districts Vernae Hasbargen – MN Rural Education Association Mary Gilbert – St. Paul Schools Jan Alswager – Education Minnesota Grace Schwab – Minnesota School Boards Association Tom Deans – MN School Boards Association Reverend Grant Stevenson – Isaiah Project Janelle Rau-Clauson – SEIU Frank Miskowiec – SEIU – Local 63 Brad Lundell – Schools for Equity Jim Grathwol – Minneapolis Public Schools

Handout # 1 – Fiscal Year 2005 General Education Entitlement – Eric Nauman Handout # 2 – MASA's Initial Reactions to the Governor's K-12 Education Proposal 2/05 Page 2

Handout # 3 – Funding for Students Flat – Vernae Hasbargen Handout # 4 – Schools for Equity in Education – Brad Lundell Handout # 5 – State E-12 Revenues are also declining in Real Dollars Per Pupil - Jim Grathwol

The meeting adjourned at 11:30 a.m. The proceedings were taped and the materials distributed are attached to these minutes.

Senator LeRoy Stumpf

Chairman

Jeri/Wenzel, Legislative Assistant



SENATE COMMITTEE HEARING

K-12 Education Budget Division

Wednesday, February 9, 2005

9:00 a.m. – 11:30 a.m. Room 112 – State Capitol

AGENDA

Continuing discussion - Governor's Budget

Charlie Kyte - Minnesota Association of School Administrators Scott Croonquist – Association of Metropolitan School Districts Vernae Hasbargen – Minnesota Rural Education Association Jan Alswager – Education Minnesota Grace Schwab – Minnesota School Boards Association Reverend Grant Stevenson – Isaiah Project Janelle Rau-Clauson – SEIU Service Employees International Union Brad Lundell – Schools for Equity in Education Jim Grathwol – Minneapolis Schools Mary Gilbert - St. Paul Schools

Senator LeRoy Stumpf Chairman Jeri Wenzel Legislative Assistant