## **HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES BUDGET DIVISION**

#### **MINUTES**

Senator Linda Berglin, Chair of the Health and Human Services Budget Division, called the thirty-first meeting to order at 10:15 a.m. on Wednesday, May 25, 2005, in Room 123 of the State Capitol, St. Paul Minnesota.

The secretary noted the roll.

#### Members Present:

Berglin, Chair Solon, Vice Chair Foley Higgins LeClair Lourey

#### Members Absent:

Koering Rosen

A quorum was present.

Senator Berglin called this meeting to review the Governor's revised Human Services Budget for the 2005 Special Session. The following persons gave a presentation:

- 1. Commissioner Kevin Goodno, Department of Human Services.
- 2. Commissioner Peggy Ingison, Department of Administration.

The following persons gave public testimony:

- 1. Bishop Peter Rogness, St. Paul Area Synod of the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America.
- 2. Father Dave Donnay, MN Catholic Conference, 475 University Ave. W., St. Paul, MN 55103.

Senator Solon assumed the chair at 11:10 a.m.

- 3. Margaret Perryman, President and CEO, Children's Specialty Care, Children's Hospital.
- 4. Tarryl Clark, Executive Director, MN Community Action Association.
- 5. Brian Rusche, Joint Religious Legislative Coalition.
- 6. David Orbuch, Executive Vice-President, Corporate Responsibility and Community Relations, Allina Hospitals and Clinics.

Senator Berglin returned to the chair at 11:20 a.m.

# <u>Health and Human Services Budget Division</u> Minutes of Wednesday, May 25, 2005

Page -2-

- 7. Benjamin Whitten, M.D., MN Medical Association, 1300 Godward St. N.E., Minneapolis, MN.
- 8. Jon Youngdahl, SEIU, Local 113.
- 9. Kathy McDonough, Legal Services Advocacy Project.
- 10. Steve Larson, ARC of Minnesota.
- 11. Dick Diercks, DDS, MN Dental Associations.
- 12. Mike Helgeson, DDS, CEO, Appletree Dental, Coon Rapids, MN.
- 13. Emily Dickenson, MN AIDS Project.
- 14. Amy Wild, Chair of AMC Policy Committee, Commissioner of Meeker County.
- 15. Mary Welek, Commissioner Olmsted County, Public Health Director.
- 16. Erin Murphy, Executive Director, MN Nurses Association, 1625 Energy Park Dr., St. Paul, MN 55108.
- 17. Jeannie Fox, Deputy Director, MN Council of Non-Profits.
- 18. Sue Abderholden, Executive Director, NAMI.
- 19. Linden Gawboy and Angel Buckner, Welfare Rights Committee.
- 20. Karina Allen, AARP MN.
- 21. Julie Brunner, Executive Director, MN Council of Health Plans.

The meeting adjourned at 12:55 p.m.

Senator Linda Berglin

Chair

Rochelle M. Polansky Legislative Assistant

## **Health and Human Services Budget Division**

#### Senator Linda Berglin, Chair

### Wednesday, May 25, 2005 - 10:00 a.m.

## Room 123 State Capitol

### AGENDA

- I. Call to Order.
- II. Overview of the Governor's Revised Human Services Budget:
  - 1. Commissioner Kevin Goodno, Department of Human Services.
  - 2. Commissioner Peggy Ingison, Department of Administration.
- III. Public Testimony on the Governor's Revised Budget for Health and Human Services:
  - 1. Bishop Peter Rogness, St. Paul Area Synod of the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America.
  - 2. Father Dave Donnay, Minnesota Catholic Conference.
  - 3. Brian Rusche, Joint Religious Legislative Coalition (JRLC).
  - 4. Benjamin Whitten, M.D., MN Medical Association, 1300 Godward St. N.E., Minneapolis, MN.
  - 5. Margaret Perryman, President and CEO of Children's Specialty Health Care.
  - 6. Tarryl Clark, Executive Director, Minnesota Community Action Association.
  - 7. Jon Youngdahl, SEIU Local 113.
  - 8. Kathy McDonough, Legal Services Advocacy Project.
  - 9. Mike Helgeson, Appletree Dental, Coon Rapids, MN.
  - 10. Dick Diercks, MN Dental Association, 2236 Marshall Ave., St. Paul, MN.
  - 11. Elizabeth Dickinson, MN AIDS Project.
  - 12. Amy Wild, Commissioner Meeker County, Representing Association of Counties.

- 13. Mary Welek, Commissioner Olmsted County, Representing Association of Counties.
- 14. Erin Murphy, Executive Director, MN Nurses
  Association, 1625 Energy Park Dr., St. Paul, MN 55108.
- 15. Jeannie Fox, MN Council of Non Profits.
- 16. David Orbuch, Allina Hospitals and Clinics, Representing the MN Hospital Association.
- 17. Sue Abderholden, NAMI.
- 18. Linden Gawboy, Welfare Rights Committee.
- 19. Karina Allen, AARP.
- 20. Julie Brunner, Executive Director, MN Council of Health Plans.
- 21. Portico Healthnet (Submitted Written Testimony).
- IV. Adjournment.