STATE SENATE OF MINNESOTA

TENTH MEETING

HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES BUDGET DIVISION

<u>MINUTES</u>

Senator Linda Berglin, Chair of the Health and Human Services Budget Division, called the tenth meeting to order at 9:00 a.m. on Wednesday, February 16, 2005, in Room 15 of the State Capitol, St. Paul Minnesota.

The secretary noted the roll.

Members Present:

Berglin, Chair Solon, Vice Chair Foley Higgins Koering LeClair Lourey Rosen

A quorum was present.

This meeting was a continuation of public testimony on the Governor's Budget Recommendations. The following persons gave a presentation:

- 1. Julie Shennel, President, SEIU, Local 113, Rochester, MN.
- 2. Commissioner Gail Dorfman, Hennepin County, Minneapolis, MN.
- 3. Jeff Spartz, CEO, Hennepin County Medical Center, Minneapolis, MN.
- 4. Commissioner Amy Wilde, Meeker County, Chair, Health and Human Services Committee, Association of MN Counties.
- 5. Paul Fleissner, Olmsted County, Director of Human Services, Representing MICA and MACSSA.
- 6. Dr. Anthony Dianjelus, Dentist, Hennepin County Medical Center, Minneapolis, MN.
- 7. Cindy Tregilgas, 670 Norell Ave. N., West Lakeland, MN 55082.
- 8. James Koppel, Director, Children's Defense Fund of MN.
- 9. Deb Konecheny, Welfare Rights Committee, 310 E. 38th St., Minneapolis, MN 55409.
- 10. Kathryn Sedo, Parent of Disabled Child, Professor, University of Minnesota.
- 11. Lawrence Massa, CEO, Rice Memorial Hospital, Willmar, MN.
- 12. Jay Walters, 311 Wewst Bert St., Lake Crystal, MN 56055.

- 13. Dr. Michael Helgeson, CEO Appletree Dental, 13511 Thrush St. N.W., Andover, MN.
- 14. Melody Dochnich, 5735 148th St. N., Hugo, MN.
- 15. Kristine Schulze, 1807 Stillwater St., White Bear Township, MN.
- 16. Dr. Susan Hasti, MN Universal Care Coalition, 195 5th St. E., St. Paul, MN.
- 17. Julie Brunner, Executive Director, MN Council of Health Plans.
- 18. Erin Murphy, MN Nurses Association, St. Paul, MN.
- 19. Dr. Carol. Featherstone, MMA and MN Academy of Family Physicians, New Hope, MN.
- 20. Bruce Rubin, MN Hospital Association, St. Paul, MN.
- 21. Julie Johnson, Executive Vice-President, MN Pharmacist Association, 1935 West County Road B-2, Roseville, MN 55117.
- 22. Buzz Anderson, President, MN Retailers Association, 1935 West County Road B-2, Roseville, MN 55117.
- 23. Jeff Benson, Fridley Long Term Care Pharmacy Alliance.
- 24. Patti Cullen, CareProviders of MN, Bloomington, MN.
- 25. John Hustad, MN Health and Housing Alliance.
- 26. Bruce Nelson, Executive Director, ARRM.
- 27. Rich Wayman, Streetworks and MN Youth Services Association, 2222 Park Ave. S., Minneapolis, MN.

The meeting adjourned at 11:30 a.m.

nator Linda Berglin Chair

Mansky Rochelle M. Polansky Legislative Assistant

Health and Human Services Budget Division

Senator Linda Berglin, Chair

Wednesday, February 16, 2005 - 9:00 a.m.

Room 15 State Capitol

AGENDA

- I. Call to Order.
- II. Public Testimony on Governor's Budget for Health and Human Services:
 - 1. Julie Shennel, President, SEIU, Local 113, Rochester, MN.
 - 2. Jeff Spartz, Director, Hennepin County Medical Center, Minneapolis, MN.
 - 3. Commissioner Gail Dorfman, Hennepin County, Minneapolis, MN.
 - 4. Amy Wilde, Meeker County Commissioner, Association of MN Counties.
 - 5. Paul Fleissner, Olmsted County Director of Human Services, MICA and MACSSA.
 - 6. Dr. Anthony Dianjelus, Dentist, Hennepin County Medical Center, Minneapolis, MN.
 - 7. Cindy Tregilgas, 670 Norell Ave. N., West Lakeland, MN 55082.
 - 8. Jim Koppel, Children's Defense Fund.
 - 9. Linden Gawboy, Welfare Rights Committee, 310 E. 38th St., Minneapolis, MN 55409.
 - 10. Julie Johnson, MN Pharmacist Association, 1935 W. County Road B2, Roseville, MN 55117.
 - 11. Buzz Anderson, MN Retailers Association, 1935 W. County Road B2, Roseville, MN 55117.
 - 12. Howard Juni, Long Term Care Pharmacy Alliance.
 - 13. Patti Cullen, CareProviders of MN.
 - 14. John Hustad, MN Health and Housing Alliance.

- 15. Bruce Nelson, Executive Director, ARRM.
- 16. Jeff Bangsberg, MN Home Care Association.
- 17. Kathy Barr, Health East Home Care.
- 18. Jerry Mueller, MnDACA, 1821 University Ave., St. Paul, MN.
- 19. Lynn Noren, RISE, Inc., 8406 Sunset Rd. N.E., Spring Lake Park, MN.
- 20. Brad Trahan, 2570 Colleen St. N.E., Rochester, MN.
- 21. Dr. Carol Featherstone, MMA and MN Academy of Family Physicians, New Hope, MN.
- 22. Peter Bartling, MN Oncology/Hematology and MN Medical Group Management Association (MMGMA).
- 23. Jill Mayler, Mental Health Association of MN, 2021 E. Hennepin Ave., Suite 412, Minneapolis, MN.
- 24. Sarah Wovcha, Children's Dental Services, 636 Broadway St. N.E., Minneapolis, MN.
- 25. Dr. Susan Hasti and Kip Sullivan, MN Universal Care Coalition, 195 5th St. E., St. Paul, MN.
- 26. Danita Martinez, Children's Dental Services, 636 Broadway St. N.E., Minneapolis, MN.
- 27. Erin Sperling, Parental Fees, 5904 Pintail Ln., White Bear Township, MN 55110.
- 28. Steve Larson, ARC of MN, CDCF, 770 Transfer Rd., St. Paul, MN.
- 29. David Doth and Shirley Hokanson, REM, Inc.
- 30. Dr. Michael Helgeson, 13511 Thrush St. N.W., Andover, MN.
- 31. Kristine Schulze, 1807 Stillwater St., White Bear Township, MN.
- 32. Melody Dochniak, Waiver Waiting List, 5735 148th St. N., Hugo, MN.
- 33. Julie Brunner, Executive Director, MN Council of Health Plans.
- 34. Anne Halverson, 33 6th Ave. N., Hopkins, MN.
- 35. Jay Walters, 311 W. First St., Lake Crystal, MN 56055.
- 36. Lawrence Massa, CEO, Rice Memorial Hospital, Willmar, MN.

37. Anne Henry, MN Disability Law Center, 430 First Ave N., Minneapolis, MN 55401. Page -3-

- 38. Rachel Callanan, MN Coalition for the Homeless, 122 W. Franklin, Minneapolis, MN 55404.
- 39. Lenni Garin, 6028 Red Oak Dr., Rockford, MN 55373.
- 40. Katheryn Sedo.

III. Adjournment.

NEXT MEETING

Health and Human Services Budget Division Tuesday, February 22, 2005 9:00 – 11:00 a.m. Room 123 Capitol

Agenda: Public Testimony regarding the Governor's Budget for Health and Human Services.