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Senator Cohen from the Committee on Finance, to which was
re-referred -

S.F. No. 2273: A bill for an act relating to criminal
justice; appropriating money for the courts, public defenders,
public safety, corrections, and other criminal justice agencies;
establishing, funding, modifying, and regulating public safety,
criminal justice, judiciary, law enforcement, corrections, crime
victims, and CriMNet policies, programs, duties, activities, or
practices; requiring studies and reports; imposing criminal and
civil penalties; setting or increasing fines, surcharges, and
fees; amending Minnesota Statutes 2004, sections 14.03, ‘
subdivision 3; 152.01, subdivision 10; 152.021, subdivisions 2a,
3; 168A.05, subdivision 3; 171.06, by adding a subdivision;
171.20, subdivision 4; 171.26; 237.70, subdivision 7; 241.06;
241.67, subdivisions 7, 8; 243.166; 243.167; 244.04, subdivision
1; 244.05, subdivisions 2, 4, 5, 6, 7; 244.052, subdivisions 3,
4, by adding a subdivision; 244.09, subdivision 11; 244.10,
subdivision 2a, by adding a subdivision; 244.18, subdivision 2;
253B.08, subdivision 1; 253B.18, subdivision 5, by adding a
subdivision; 260C.171, by adding a subdivision; 299A.38,
subdivisions 2, 2a, 3; 299C.65, subdivisions 1, 2, 5, by adding
a subdivision; 340A.301, subdivision 6; 340A.302, subdivision 3;
340A.311; 340A.404, subdivision 12; 340A.408, subdivision 4;
340A.414, subdivision 6; 340A.504, subdivisions 3, 7; 357.021,
subdivisions 2, 6, 7; 357.18; 403.02, subdivisions 7, 13, 17, by
adding a subdivision; 403.025, subdivisions 3, 7; 403.05,
subdivision 3; 403.07, subdivision 3; 403.08, subdivision 10;
403.11, subdivisions 1, 3, 3a; 403.113, subdivision 1; 403.27,
subdivisions 1, 3; 403.30, subdivision 1; 505.08, subdivision 2;
508.82; 508A.82; 515B.1-116; 518B.01, subdivision 22; 604.15,
subdivision 2, by adding a subdivision; 609.108, subdivisions 1,
3, 4, 6; 609.109, subdivisions 2, 5; 609.1095, subdivision 1;
609.115, by adding a subdivision; 609.117, subdivisions 1, 2;
609.119; 609.1351; 609.185; 609.223, by adding a subdivision;
609.2231, by adding a subdivision; 609.229, subdivision 3;
609.321, subdivisions 1, 7, by adding subdivisions; 609.325, by
adding a subdivision; 609.341, subdivision 14, by adding a
subdivision; 609.342, subdivisions 2, 3; 609.343, subdivisions
2, 3; 609.344, subdivisions 2, 3; 609.345, subdivisions 2, 3;
609.3452, subdivision 1; 609.347; 609.3471; 609.348; 609.353;
609.485, subdivisions 2, 4; 609.50, subdivision 1; 609.527,
subdivisions 1, 3, 4, 6, by adding a subdivision; 609.531,
subdivision 1; 609.5315, subdivision 1, by adding a subdivision;
609.746, subdivision 1; 609.748, subdivisions 2, 3a; 609.749,
subdivision 2; 609.79, subdivision 2; 609.795, by adding a
subdivision; 617.81, subdivision 4, by adding a subdivision;
617.85; 626.556, subdivision 3; 628.26; 631.045; proposing
coding for new law in Minnesota Statutes, chapters 152; 237;
243; 244; 299A; 299C; 325F; 357; 403; 609; repealing Minnesota
Statutes 2004, sections 18C.005, subdivisions la, 35a; 18C.201,
subdivisions 6, 7; 18D.331, subdivision 5; 243.166, subdivisions
1, 8; 299A.68; 299C.65, subdivisions 3, 4, 6, 7, 8, 8a, 9;
386.30; 403.30, subdivision 3; 609.108, subdivision 2; 609.109,
subdivision 7; 609.725.

Reports the same back with the recommendation that the bill
be amended as follows:

Page 2, delete line 37 and insert:

"GENERAL $ 46,268,000 $52,239,000 $ 98,507,000"
Page 2, delete line 42 and insert:

"TOTAL $126,536,000 $70,327,000 $196,863,000"
Page 4, delete lines 1 and 2 and insert:

"Subdivision 1. Total
Appropriation 90,418,000 28,285,000"
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Page 4, delete line 4 and insert:
"General 10,150,000 10,197,000"
Page 4, delete lines 9 and 10 and insert:

" [AGENCYWIDE ADMINISTRATIVE
CUT. ] (270, 000) (270,000) "

Page 5, delete lines 3 to 5 and insert:
"Subd. 3. Fire Marshal 600,000 600,000

Subd. 4. Office of Justice
Programs 6,244,000 6,244 ,000"

Page 5, delete line 7 and insert:

"General ' 4,844,600 4,844 ,000"
Page 5, line 16 delete "$2,131,000" and insert "$1,000,000"™
Page 8, delete lines 1 and 2 and insert: |

"Sec. 8. BOARD OF PEACE OFFICER
STANDARDS AND TRAINING : 211,000 71,000"

Page 8, delete lines 5 to 8
Page 8, line 9, delete "each" and insert "the first"
Page 8, delete lines 15 and 16 and insert:

"Subdivision 1. Total
Appropriation’ 14,785,000 14,788,000"

Page 8, delete lines 21 and 22 and insert:

"Subd. 2. Correctional
Institutions 6,534,000 6,537,000"

Page 8, delete lines 36 and 37 and insert:
"[HEALTH SERVICES.] $3,016,000 the
first year and $3,015,000 the second
year are for health services."
Page 8, line 39, delete "$351,000" and insert "$1,373,000"
and delete "$1,863,000" and insert "“$1,377,000" |
Page 8, line 44, delete "$4,500,000" and insert "$1,500,000"
Page 8, delete lines 46 to 48
Page 9, delete line 22 and insert:
"Subd. 3. Comhunity Services 8,651,000 8,651,000"
Page 9, line 57, delete "ADULT"
Page 9, line 60, delete "$19,093,000" and insert
"s$2,000,000"
Page 9, line 61, delete "adult"

Page 10, delete lines 6 to 33 and insert:

"The commissioner shall distribute the
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funds according to the formula
contained in Minnesota Statutes,
section 401.10. Each Community

Corrections Act jurisdiction, counties.

providing probation services under the
authority of Minnesota Statutes,
section 244.19, and the department’s
probation and supervised release unit
shall submit to the commissioner an
analysis of need along with a plan to
meet these needs and reduce offender
caseloads. Upon approval of the plans
for Community Corrections Act counties,
the commissioner shall distribute the
non-Community Corrections Act
allocation based on statewide need.
The Community Corrections Act
allocation must be disbursed as a grant
to each Community Corrections Act
jurisdiction. These grants may not be
used to supplant existing state or
county probation officer positions."

Page 10, line 35, delete "$2,500,000" and insert
"$1,000,000"
Page 10, line 47, delete everything after the period
Page 10, delete lines 48 to 52 |
Page 11, delete 1line 35 and insert:
"Subd. 4. Operations Support (400, 000) (400,000) ™
Page 104, delete section 7

Page 107, after line 18, insert:

"Subd. 7. [NOTICE.] Upon receiving an offender’s petition

for release under subdivision 2, the commissioner shall notify

the prosecuting authority responsible for the offender’s

conviction and the sentencing court. The commissioner shall

give the authority and court a reasonable opportunity to comment

on the offender’s potential release."

Page 170, line 32, delete everything after the first period
Page 188, line 6, delete "$71" and insert "$72"
Page 188, line 9, strike "$3" and insert "$4"

Renumber the sections in sequence

?Z?j;\ Amendments adopted.

e o © © © © © ® © © © © © ¢ ® © © © © P © © © O © © © © © D © © ©

(Committee Chair)

And when so amended the bill
Report adopted.

April 29, 2005..c.ccecceccnconenns
(Date of Committee recommendation)
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- A bill for an act

2 relating to criminal justice; appropriating money for

3 the courts, public defenders, public safety,

4 corrections, and other criminal justice agencies;

5 establishing, funding, modifying, and regulating

6 public safety, criminal justice, judiciary, law

7 enforcement, corrections, crime victims, and CriMNet

8 policies, programs, duties, activities, or practices;

9 requiring studies and reports; imposing criminal and
10 civil penalties; setting or increasing fines,
11 surcharges, and fees; amending Minnesota Statutes
12 2004, sections 14.03, subdivision 3; 152.01,
13 subdivision 10; 152.021, subdivisions 2a, 3; 168A.05,
14 subdivision 3; 171.06, by adding a subdivision;
15 171.20, subdivision 4; 171.26; 237.70, subdivision 7;
16 241.06; 241.67, subdivisions 7, 8; 243.166; 243.167;
17 244.04, subdivision 1; 244.05, subdivisions 2, 4, 5,
18 6, 7; 244.052, subdivisions 3, 4, by adding a
19 subdivision; 244.09, subdivision 11; 244.10,

) subdivision 2a, by adding a subdivision; 244.18,
21 subdivision 2; 253B.08, subdivision 1; 253B.18,

! subdivision 5, by adding a subdivision; 260C.171, by
23 adding a subdivision; 299A.38, subdivisions 2, 2a, 3;
24 299C.65, subdivisions 1, 2, 5, by adding a
25 subdivision; 340A.301, subdivision 6; 340A.302,

26 subdivision 3; 340A.311; 340A.404, subdivision 12;

27 340A.408, subdivision 4; 340A.414, subdivision 6;

28 340A.504, subdivisions 3, 7; 357.021, subdivisions 2,

29 6, 7; 357.18; 403.02, subdivisions 7, 13, 17, by

30 adding a subdivision; 403.025, subdivisions 3, 7;

31 403.05, subdivision 3; 403.07, subdivision 3; 403.08,

32 subdivision 10; 403.11, subdivisions 1, 3, 3a;

33 403.113, subdivision 1; 403.27, subdivisions 1, 3;

34 403.30, subdivision 1; 505.08, subdivision 2; 508.82;

35 508A.82; 515B.1-116; 518B.01, subdivision 22; 604.15,

36 subdivision 2, by adding a subdivision; 609.108,

37 subdivisions 1, 3, 4, 6; 609.109, subdivisions 2, 5;

38 609.1095, subdivision 1; 609.115, by adding a

39 subdivision; 609.117, subdivisions 1, 2; 609.119;

40 609.1351; 609.185; 609.223, by adding a subdivision;

- - 609.2231, by adding a subdivision; 609.229,
subdivision 3; 609.321, subdivisions 1, 7, by adding
subdivisions; 609.325, by adding a subdivision;

=4 609.341, subdivision 14, by adding a subdivision;

45 609.342, subdivisions 2, 3; 609.343, subdivisions 2,

46 3: 609.344, subdivisions 2, 3; 609.345, subdivisions
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2, 3; 609.3452, subdivision 1l; 609.347; 609.3471;
609.348; 609.353; 609.485, subdivisions 2, 4; 609.50,
subdivision 1; 609.527, subdivisions 1, 3, 4, 6, by
adding a subdivision; 609.531, subdivision 1; —
609.5315, subdivision 1, by adding a subdivision;
609.746, subdivision 1; 609.748, subdivisions 2, 3a;
609.749, subdivision 2; 609.79, subdivision 2;
609.795, by adding a subdivision; 617.81, subdivision
4, by adding a subdivision; 617.85; 626.556,
subdivision 3; 628.26; 631.045; proposing coding for
new law in Minnesota Statutes, chapters 152; 237; 243;
244; 299A; 299C; 325F; 357; 403; 609; repealing
Minnesota Statutes 2004, sections 18C.005,
subdivisions la, 35a; 18C.201, subdivisions 6, 7;
18D.331, subdivision 5; 243.166, subdivisions 1, 8;
299A.68;:; 299C.65, subdivisions 3, 4, 6, 7, 8, 8a, 9;
386.30; 403.30, subdivision 3; 609.108, subdivision 2;
609.109, subdivision 7; 609.725.

BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF MINNESOTA:
ARTICLE 1
PUBLIC SAFETY APPROPRIATIONS

Section 1. [APPROPRIATIONS.]

The sums shown in the columns marked "APPROPRIATIONS" are
added to or, if shown in parentheses, are subtracted from the
appropriations to the specified agencies in 2005 S.F. No. 1879,
article 9, if enacted. The appropriations are from the general
fund, unless another fund is named, and are available for the
fiscal year indicated for each purpose. The figures "2006" and
"2007," where used in this article, mean that the additions to
or subtractions from the appropriations listed under them are
for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2006, or June 30, 2007,
respectively. The term "first year" means the fiscal year
ending June 30, 2006, and the term "second year" means the —
fiscal year ending June 30, 2007.

SUMMARY BY FUND

2006 2007 TOTAL

GENERAL $ 71,233,000 $78,853,000 $150,086,000
STATE GOVERNMENT

SPECIAL REVENUE 16,368,000 16,688,000 33,056,000
SPECIAL REVENUE 1,400,000 1,400,000 2,800,000
BOND PROCEEDS 62,500,000 -0- 62,500,000
TOTAL $151,501,000 $96,941,000 $248,442,000

APPROPRIATIONS

Available for the Year
Ending June 30
2006 2007

Article 1 Section 1 2
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Sec. 2. SUPREME COURT $ 6,090,000

[CASELOAD INCREASES.] $1,090,000 the
first year and $1,041,000 the second
year are for caseload increases.

[CIVIL LEGAL SERVICES.] $5,000,000 each
year is for legal services under
Minnesota Statutes, sections 480.24 to
480.244.

[PROHIBITION ON USE OF APPROPRIATIONS
FOR JUDICIAL SALARY INCREASES.] No
portion of these appropriations may be
used for judicial salary increases.

Sec. 3. COURT OF APPEALS
For caseload increases.

[PROHIBITION ON USE OF APPROPRIATIONS
FOR JUDICIAL SALARY INCREASES.] No
portion of these appropriations may be
used for judicial salary increases.

Sec. 4. DISTRICT COURTS

[CASELOAD INCREASES.] $6,671,000 each
year is for caseload increases.

[SEX AND METHAMPHETAMINE OFFENSES. ]
$3,600,000 the first year and
$7,200,000 the second year are for the
sex and methamphetamine offense
sentencing changes made in this act.

[SPECIALTY COURTS.] $250,000 each year
is to develop or expand specialty
courts such as drug courts and mental
health courts.

By January 15, 2008, the state court
administrator shall report to the
chairs and ranking minority members of
the senate and house committees and
divisions having jurisdiction over
criminal justice policy and funding on
how this money was used.

[PROHIBITION ON USE OF APPROPRIATIONS
FOR JUDICIAL SALARY INCREASES.] No
portion of these appropriations may be
used for judicial salary increases.

Sec. 5. UNIFORM LAWS COMMISSION
For national conference dues.
Sec. 6. BOARD OF PUBLIC DEFENSE

[CASELOAD INCREASES.] $1,695,000 each
year is for caseload increases.

[SEX AND METHAMPHETAMINE OFFENSES. ]
$3,800,000 the first year and
$7,600,000 the second year are for the
sex and methamphetamine offense
sentencing changes made in this act.

Sec. 7. PUBLIC SAFETY

Article 1 Section 7 3

JK

250,000

9,275,000

5,000

5,495,000

§2273-1

$ 6,041,000

250,000

11,592,000

5,000

9,295,000
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Subdivision 1. Total
Appropriation 91,944,000

Summary by Fund

General 11,676,000 -11,723,000
State Government

Special Revenue 16,368,000 16,688,000
Special Revenue 1,400,000 1,400,000
Bond Proceeds 62,500,000 -0~

[AGENCYWIDE ADMINISTRATIVE
CUT. ] (175,000)

This is an agencywide administrative
cut. ’

[APPROPRIATIONS FOR PROGRAMS.] The
amounts that may be spent from this
appropriation for each program are
specified in the following subdivisions.

Subd. 2. Criminal Apprehension 4,976,000

[AUTOMATED FINGERPRINT IDENTIFICATION
SYSTEM.] $1,533,000 the first year and
$2,318,000 the second year are to
replace the automated fingerprint

identification system (AFIS).

[PREDATORY OFFENDER REGISTRATION
SYSTEM.] $1,146,000 the first year and
$564,000 the second year are to upgrade
the predatory offender registration
(POR) system and to increase the
monitoring and tracking of registered
offenders who become noncompliant with
the law.

[CRIMINAL JUSTICE INFORMATION SYSTEMS
(CJIS) AUDIT TRAIL.] $374,000 the first
year and $203,000 the second year are
for the Criminal Justice Information
Systems (CJIS) audit trail.

[DNA ANALYSIS OF FELON OFFENDERS. ]
$857,000 the first year and $869,000
the second year are to fund the
analyses of biological samples from
felon offenders.

[LIVESCAN.] $66,000 the first year and
$69,000 the second year are to fund the
ongoing costs of Livescan.

[TEN NEW AGENTS.] $1,000,000 each year
is for ten Bureau of Criminal
Apprehension agents to be assigned
exclusively to methamphetamine
enforcement, including the

investigation of manufacturing and

distributing methamphetamine and
related violence. These appropriations
are intended to increase the current
allocation of Bureau of Criminal
Apprehension resources dedicated to
methamphetamine enforcement. Positions
funded by these appropriations may not

Article 1 Section 7 4

§2273-1

29,811,000

(175,000)

5,023,000
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supplant existing agent assignments or
positions.

Subd. 3. Fire Marshal ' 900,000 900,000

Subd. 4. Office of Justice
Programs 7,375,000 7,375,000

Summary by Fund
General 5,975,000 5,975,000
Special Revenue 1,400,000 1,400,000

[CRIME VICTIM ASSISTANCE GRANTS
INCREASE.] $1,270,000 each year is to
increase funding for crime victim
assistance grants for abused children,
sexual assault, battered women, and
general crime victims.

[BATTERED WOMEN'S SHELTER GRANTS. ]
$2,131,000 each year is to increase
funding for battered women's shelters

-under Minnesota Statutes, section

611A.32, and for safe houses.

[GANG STRIKE FORCE.] $2,374,000 each
year is for the criminal gang strike
force.

The superintendent of the Bureau of
Criminal Apprehension shall convene a
working group of stakeholders
representing the multijurisdictional
narcotics task forces in operation in
Minnesota, the Criminal Gang Oversight
Council and Strike Force, and other
individuals knowledgeable in narcotics
and gang issues. The working group
shall review the operational structure
and organization of the narcotics task
forces and Criminal Gang Oversight
Council and Strike Force, the
legislative authority and laws
governing them, and any needs related
to them. In addition, the working
group shall recommend whether a merger
of these entities is advisable. By
January 15, 2006, the superintendent
shall report the working group's
findings and recommendations to the
chairs and ranking minority members of
the senate and house committees and
divisions having jurisdiction over
criminal justice policy and funding.
If the working group recommends a
merger, the report must include
legislation to accomplish this and, at
a minimum, address: methods to ensure
that the current focus on criminal
gangs is not lost in any merger; how
money will be allocated between
narcotics and gang enforcement within
any merged entity; and data privacy
issues related to the merger.

[MINNESOTA FINANCIAL CRIMES TASK
FORCE.] $1,400,000 each year is from
the Minnesota Financial Crimes
Oversight Council account in Minnesota

Article 1 Section 7 5
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1 Statutes, section 299A.68, subdivision
2 10, for the Minnesota Financial Crimes
3 Task Force.
4 [HOMELESSNESS PILOT PROJECTS.] $200,000
5 each year is for the homelessness pilot
6 projects described in article 9,
7 section 34.
8 [ADMINISTRATION COSTS.] Up to 2.5
9 percent of the grant funds appropriated
10 in this subdivision may be used to
11 administer the grant program.

12 Subd. 5. 0911 Emergency
13 Services/ARMER 16,368,000 16,688,000

14 This appropriation is from the state
15 government special revenue fund for 911
16 emergency telecommunications services.

17 The. total appropriation for this

18 purpose, consisting of this

19 appropriation plus the appropriation in
20 2005 S.F. No. 1879, article 9, section
21 9, subdivision 7, if enacted, must be
22 spent as provided in this subdivision.

23 $3,442,000 the first year and

24 $3,064,000 the second year are to fund
25 a deficiency due to prior year

26 obligations under Minnesota Statutes,
27 section 403.11, that were estimated in
28 the December 2004 911 fund statement to
29 be $6,504,700 on July 1, 2005. "Prior
30 year obligations" means reimbursable

31 costs under Minnesota Statutes, section
32 403.11, subdivision 1, incurred under
33 the terms and conditions of a contract
34 with the state for a fiscal year

35 preceding fiscal year 2004, that have
36 been certified in a timely manner in

37 accordance with Minnesota Statutes,

38 section 403.11, subdivision 3a, and

39 that are not barred by statute of

40 limitation or other defense. The -
41 appropriations needed for this purpose
42 are estimated to be none in fiscal year , -
43 2008 and thereafter.

44 $13,640,000 the first year and

45 $13,664,000 the second year are to be
46 distributed as provided in Minnesota
47 Statutes, section 403.113, subdivision
48 2. This appropriation may only be used
49 for public safety answering points that
50 have implemented phase two wireless

51 enhanced 911 service or whose

52 governmental agency has made a binding
53 commitment to the commissioner of

54 public safety to implement phase two
55 wireless enhanced 911 service by

56 January 1, 2008. If revenue to the

57 account is insufficient to support all
58 appropriations from the account for a
59 fiscal year, this appropriation takes
60 priority over other appropriations,

61 except the open appropriation in

62 Minnesota Statutes, section 403.30,

63 subdivision 1, for debt service on

64 bonds previously sold.

Article 1 Section 7 6
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$682,000 the first year and $683,000
the second year are for grants to the
Minnesota Emergency Medical Services
Regulatory Board for the Metro East and
Metro West Medical Resource '
Communication Centers that were in
operation before January 1, 2000.

$6,138,000 the first year and
$6,149,000 the second year are to the
commissioner of finance to pay debt
service on revenue bonds issued under
Minnesota Statutes, section 403.275.
Any portion of this appropriation not
needed to pay debt service in a fiscal
year may be used by the commissioner of
public safety to pay cash for any of
the capital improvements for which bond
proceeds have been appropriated in
subdivision 6.

Subd. 6. 800 MHz Public Safety
Radio and Communication System 62,500,000

The appropriations in this subdivision
are from the 911 revenue bond proceeds
account to the commissioner of public
safety for the purposes indicated, to
be available until the project is
completed or abandoned, subject to
Minnesota Statutes, section 16A.642.

(a) Phase 2 Subsystems 8,000,000

For a grant to the Metropolitan
Emergency Services Board to pay up to
50 percent of the cost to a local
government unit of building a subsystem
as part of the second phase of the
public safety radio and communication
system plan under Minnesota Statutes,
section 403.36.

(b) Phase 3 System Backbone 45,000,000

For the Statewide Radio Board to
construct the system backbone in the
third phase of the public safety radio
and communication system plan under
Minnesota Statutes, section 403.36.

(c) Phase 3 Subsystems 9,500,000

To reimburse local units of government
for up to 50 percent of the cost of
building a subsystem of the public
safety radio and communication system

-established under Minnesota Statutes,

section 403.36, in the southeast or
central district of the State Patrol.

(d) Bond Sale Authorization

To provide the money appropriated in
this subdivision, the commissioner of
finance shall sell and issue bonds of
the state in an amount up to
$62,500,000 in the manner, upon the
terms, and with the effect prescribed
by Minnesota Statutes, section 403.275.

Article 1 Section 8 7
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Sec. 8. BOARD OF PEACE OFFICER
STANDARDS AND TRAINING 300,000

[OPERATION OF BOARD.] $71,000 each year
is for the board's continued operation.

[TRAINING REIMBURSEMENTS.] $89,000 each
year is for peace officer training
reimbursements to local units of
government.

[ TECHNOLOGICAL UPDATES.] $140,000 each
year is for technological updates.

[NOT INCLUDED IN BASE BUDGET.] These
appropriations are not added to the
board's base budget. ‘

Sec. 9. CORRECTIONS

Subdivision 1. Total
Appropriation ‘ 38,135,000

[APPROPRIATIONS FOR PROGRAMS.] The
amounts that may be spent from this
appropriation for each program are
specified in the following subdivisions.

Subd. 2. Correctional
Institutions 11,216,000

Notwithstanding any law to the
contrary, the commissioner may use per
diems collected under contracts for
beds at MCF-Rush City to operate the
state correctional system.

[LEVEL III OFFENDER TRACKING AND
APPREHENSION.] $70,000 each year is to
track and apprehend level III predatory
offenders.

[SEX OFFENDER TREATMENT AND
TRANSITIONAL SERVICES.] $1,500,000 each
year is for sex offender treatment and
transitional services.

[HEALTH SERVICES.] $3,720,000 each year
is for health services.

[SEX AND METHAMPHETAMINE OFFENSES. ]
$351,000 the first year and $1,863,000
the second year are for the sex and
methamphetamine offense sentencing
changes made in this act.

[CHEMICAL DEPENDENCY TREATMENT. ]
$4,500,000 each year is for chemical
dependency treatment programs.

[MENTAL HEALTH TREATMENT.] $2,000,000
each year is for mental health
treatment programs.

[WORKING GROUP ON INMATE LABOR.] The
commissioner of corrections and the
commissioner of the Minnesota Housing
Finance Agency shall convene a working
group to study the feasibility of using
inmate labor to build low-income
housing manufactured at MCF-Faribault.

Article 1 Section 9 8
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1 The working group consists of: the
-2 chief executive officer of MINNCOR

;  Industries; representatives from the

4 Builders Association of America,

Minnesota AFL-CIO, Association of

6 Minnesota Counties, Minnesota

7 Manufactured Housing Association,

8 Habitat for Humanity, and Minnesota

9 Housing Partnership, selected by those
10 organizations; and any other
11 individuals deemed appropriate by the
12 commissioners.

13 By January 15, 2006, the working group

14 shall report its findings and

15 recommendations to the chairs and

16 ranking minority members of the senate

17 and house of representatives committees
18 and divisions having jurisdiction over

19 criminal justice policy and funding and
20 jobs, housing, and community

21 development policy and funding.

22 Subd. 3. Community Services 27,244,000 27,244,000

> [END OF CONFINEMENT REVIEWS.] $94,000
24 each year is for end of confinement
25 reviews.

26 [SEX OFFENDER TRACKING.] $162,000 each
27 year is for the acquisition of

28 bracelets equipped with tracking

29 devices designed to track and monitor
30 the movement and location of criminal
31 offenders. The commissioner shall use
32 the bracelets to monitor high-risk sex
33 offenders who are on supervised release
34 or probation to help ensure that the
35 offenders do not violate conditions of
36 their release or probation.

37 [COMMUNITY SURVEILLANCE AND

38 SUPERVISION.] $1,370,000 each year is

39 to provide housing options to maximize
) community surveillance and supervision.

1 [INCREASE IN INTENSIVE SUPERVISED
42 RELEASE SERVICES.] $1,800,000 each year
43 1is to increase intensive supervised
44 release services.

45 [SEX OFFENDER ASSESSMENT

46 REIMBURSEMENTS.] $350,000 each year is

47 to provide grants to counties for

48 reimbursements for sex offender

49 assessments as required under Minnesota
50 Statutes, section 609.3452, subdivision
51 1.

52 [SEX OFFENDER TREATMENT AND

53 POLYGRAPHS.] $1,250,000 each year is to
54 provide treatment for sex offenders on
55 community supervision and to pay for

56 polygraph testing.

=7 [INCREASED SUPERVISION OF ADULT SEX
OFFENDERS, DOMESTIC VIOLENCE OFFENDERS,
AND OTHER VIOLENT OFFENDERS. ]

o0 $19,093,000 each year is for enhanced

61 supervision of adult felony sex

62 offenders, domestic violence offenders,

Article 1 Section 9 9
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and other violent offenders by
employing additional probation officers
to reduce the caseloads of probation
officers supervising these offenders on
probation or supervised release.

The commissioner shall distribute the
funds with 30 percent of the money
appropriated to non-Community
Corrections Act counties and 70 percent
appropriated to Community Corrections
Act counties. The commissioner shall
distribute the appropriation to
Community Corrections Act counties
according to the formula contained in
Minnesota Statutes, section 401.10.
Each Community Corrections Act
jurisdiction and the department's
probation and supervised release unit
shall submit to the commissioner an
analysis of need along with a plan to
meet these needs and reduce offender
caseloads. Upon approval of the plans,
the non-Community Corrections Act
portion of these funds shall be
appropriated to the department and the
distribution shall be based on
statewide need. The Community
Corrections Act funds shall be
disbursed as grants to each Community
Corrections Act jurisdiction. These
appropriations may not be used to
supplant existing state or county
probation officer positions.

[CHEMICAL DEPENDENCY TREATMENT AND
AFTERCARE GRANTS.] $2,500,000 each year
is for grants to counties to provide
community-based chemical dependency
treatment and aftercare. The
commissioner shall distribute the
appropriation to counties according to
the formula contained in Minnesota
Statutes, section 401.10. In those
counties where correctional services
are shared by the Department of
Corrections and county court services,
the commissioner shall determine the
distribution of the grants. Of this
appropriation, $500,000 each year is
for grants to counties for programs
designed to reduce underage drinking
and for treatment and supervision of
juvenile substance abuse offenders.

The commissioner shall ensure that any
part of this appropriation spent on
medical assistance-eligible individuals
earns the maximum medical assistance
match available from the federal
government.

[ INTENSIVE SUPERVISION AND AFTERCARE
FOR CONTROLLED SUBSTANCES OFFENDERS. ]
$625,000 each year is for intensive
supervision and aftercare services for
controlled substances offenders
released from prison under Minnesota
Statutes, section 244.055. These
appropriations are not added to the
department's base budget. By January

Article 1 Section 9 10
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15, 2008, the commissioner shall report
to the chairs and ranking minority
members of the senate and house
committees and divisions having
jurisdiction over criminal justice
policy and funding on how this
appropriation was spent, including an
assessment on the offenders' transition
from prison into the community and
recidivism data.

[REPORT ON ELECTRONIC MONITORING OF SEX
OFFENDERS.] By February 15, 2006, the
commissioner of corrections shall
report to the chairs and ranking
minority members of the senate and
house committees and divisions having
jurisdiction over criminal justice
policy and funding on implementing an
electronic monitoring system for sex
offenders who are under community
supervision. The report must address
the following:

(1) the advantages and disadvantages in
implementing this, including the impact
on public safety;

(2) the types of sex offenders who
should be subject to the monitoring;

(3) the time period that offenders
should be subject to the monitoring;

(4) the financial costs associated with
the monitoring and who should be
responsible for these costs; and

(5) the technology available for the
monitoring.

Subd. 4. Operations Support (325,000)

This is an agencywide administrative
cut.

Sec. 10. BOARD OF VETERINARY
MEDICINE 7,000

For the study on animal products that
may be used in the manufacture of
methamphetamine described in article 6,
section 16.

ARTICLE 2

SEX OFFENDERS:

§2273-1

(325,000)

MANDATORY LIFE SENTENCES FOR CERTAIN EGREGIOUS AND

REPEAT SEX OFFENSES; CONDITIONAL RELEASE;

OTHER SENTENCING CHANGES

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 244.04,

subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. [REDUCTION OF SENTENCE; INMATES SENTENCED

FOR CRIMES COMMITTED BEFORE 1993.] Notwithstanding the

Article 2 Section 1 11
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provisions of section 609.11, subdivision 6, and section
609.109, subdivision 1, the term of imprisonment of any inmate
sentenced to a presumptive fixed sentence after May 1, 1980, and
whose crime was committed before August 1, 1993, shall be
reduced in duration by one day for each two days during which
the inmate violates none of the disciplinary offense rules
promulgated by the commissioner. The reduction shall accrue to
the period of supervised release to be served by the inmate,
except that the period of supervised release for a sex offender
sentenced-and conditionally released by the commissioner under
section 669+-1087-subdivisten—-57 609.3455 is governed by that
provision.

Except as otherwise provided in subdivision 2, if an inmate
whose crime was committed before August 1, 1993, violates a
disciplinary offense rule promulgated by the commissioner, good
time earned prior to the violation may not be taken away, but
the inmate may be required to serve an appropriate portion of
the term of imprisonment after the violation without earning
good time.

[EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005.

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 244.05,
subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. [RULES.] The commissioner of corrections shall
adopt by rule standards and procedures for the revocation of

supervised or conditional release, and shall specify the period

of revocation for each violation of supervised release.
Procedures for the revocation of supervised release shall
provide due process of law for the inmate.

[EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective’August 1, 2005,

and applies to crimes committed on or after that date.

Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 244.05,
subdivision 4, is amended to read:

Subd. 4. [MINIMUM IMPRISONMENT, LIFE SENTENCE.] An inmate
serving a mandatory life sentence under section 609.106 must not
be given supervised release under this section. An inmate

serving a mandatory life sentence under section 609.185, clause

Article 2 Section 3 12
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(1), (3)s (5), or (6); or 609.109, subdivision 2a 3, must not be
given supervised release under this section without having
served a minimum term of 30 years. An inmate serving a
mandatory life sentence under section 609.385 must not be given
supervised release under this section without having served a

minimum term of imprisonment of 17 years. An inmate serving a

mandatory life sentence under section 609.342, subdivision 2,

paragraph (b); 609.343, subdivision 2, paragraph (b); or

609.3455 must not be given supervised release under this section

without having served the minimum term of imprisonment specified

by the court in its sentence.

[EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005,

and applies to crimes committed on or after that date.

Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 244.05,
subdivision 5, is amended to read:

Subd. 5. [SUPERVISED RELEASE, LIFE SENTENCE. ] (a) The
commissioner of corrections may, under rules promulgated by the
commissioner, give supervised>release to an inmate serving a
mandatory life sentence under section 609.185, clause (1), (3),

(5), or (6); 609.109, subdivision 2a& 3; 609.342, subdivision 2,

paragraph (b); 609.343, subdivision 2, paragraph (b); 609.3455;

or 609.385 after the inmate has served the minimum term of
imprisonment specified in subdivision 4.

(b) The commissioner shall require the preparation of a
community investigation report and shall consider the findings
of the report when making a supervised release decision under
this subdivision. The report shall reflect the sentiment of the
various elements of the community toward the inmate, both at the
time of the offense and at the present time. The report shall
include the views of the sentencing judge, the prosecutor, any
law enforcement personnel who may have been involved in the
case, and any successors to these individuals who may have
information relevant to the supervised release decision. The
report shall also include the views of the victim and the
victim's family unless the victim or the victim's family chooses

not to participate.

Article 2 Section 4 13
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1 (c¢) The commissioner shall make reasonable efforts to
2 notify the victim, in advance, of the time and place of the
3 1inmate's supervised release review hearing. The victim has a

4 right to submit an oral or written statement at the review

5 hearing. The statement may summarize the harm suffered by the
6 victim as a result of the crime and give the victim's
7 recommendation on whether the inmate should be given supervised

8 release at this time. - The commissioner must consider the
9 victim's statement when making the supervised release decision.

10 (d) When considering whether to give supervised release to

11 an inmate serving a life sentence under section 609.342,

12 subdivision 2, paragraph (b); 609.343, subdivision 2, paragraph

13 (b); or 609.3455, the commissioner shall consider, at a minimum,

14 the following: the risk the inmate poses to the community if

15 released, the inmate's progress in treatment, the inmate's

16 behavior while incarcerated, psychological or other diagnostic

17 evaluations of the inmate, the inmate's criminal history, and

18 any other relevant conduct of the inmate while incarcerated or

19 before incarceration. However, the commissioner may not give

20 supervised release to the inmate unless:

21 (1) while in prison, the inmate has successfully completed

22 appropriate sex offender treatment;

23 (2) while in prison, the inmate has been assessed for

24 chemical dependency needs and, if appropriate, has successfully

25 completed chemical dependency treatment;

26 (3) while in prison, the inmate has been assessed for

27 mental health needs and, if appropriate, has successfully

28 completed mental health treatment; and

29 (4) a comprehensive individual release plan is in place for

30 the inmate that ensures that, after release, the inmate will

31 have suitable housing and receive appropriate aftercare and

32 community-based treatment, and includes a postprison employment

33 or education plan for the inmate.

34 (e) As used in this subdivision, "victim" means the
35 individual who suffered harm as a result of the inmate's crime

36 or, if the individual is deceased, the deceased's surviving

Article 2 Section 4 14
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spouse or next of kin.

[EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005,

and applies to crimes committed on or after that date.

Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 244.05,
subdivision 6, is amended to read:

Subd. 6. [INTENSIVE SUPERVISED RELEASE.] The commissioner
may order that an inmate be blaced on intensive supervised
release for all or part of the inmate's supervised release or
parole term if the commissioner determines that the action will
further the goals described in section 244.14, subdivision 1,
clauses (2), (3), and (4). In addition, the commissioner may
order that an inmate be placed on intensive supervised release
for all of the inmate's conditional or supervised release term
if the inmate was convicted of a sex offense under sections
609.342 to 609.345 or was sentenced under the provisions of
section 609.108. The commissioner may impose appropriate
conditions of release on the inmate including but not limited to
unannounced searches of the inmate's person, vehicle, or
premises by an intensive supervision agent; compliance with
court-ordered restitution, if any; random drug testing; house
arrest; daily curfews; frequent face-to-face contacts with an
assigned intensive supervision agent; work, education, or
treatment requirements; and electronic surveillance. 1In
addition, any sex offender placed on intensive supervised
release may be ordered to participate in an appropriate sex
offender program as a condition of release. If the inmate
violates the conditions of the intensive supervised release, the
commissioner shall impose sanctions as provided in subdivision 3
and section 689+388 609.3455.

[EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective Augqust 1, 2005,

and applies to crimes committed on or after that date.

Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 609.108,
subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. [MANDATORY INCREASED SENTENCE.] {t&% A court
shall commit a person to the commissioner of corrections for a

period of time that is not less than double the presumptive

Article 2 Section 6 15
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sentence under the Sentencing Guidelines and not more than the
statutory maximum, or if the statutory maximum is less than
double the presumptive sentence, for a period of time that is
equal to the statutory maximum, if:

(1) the court is imposing an executed sentencey-based-on-a
Sentencing-Guidelines-presumptive-imprisonment-sentence-or-a
dispesitionai-departure-for-aggravating-ecircumstances-or-a
mandatory-minimum-sentencey on a person convicted of committing
or attempting to commit a violation of section 609.342, 609.343,
609.344, er 609.345, or en—a-perser—convicted-of-committing-or
attempting-to-cemmit-any-other—erime—-tisted-in-subdivision-3-if
it-reasenably-appears—-to-the-court-that-the-erime-was-motivated
by-the-offenderis-sexual-impulses-or-was-part-of-a-predatory
pattern—-of-behavior—-that-had-eriminati-sexuat-conduct-as-its-goat
609.3453;

(2) the eourt-£finds fact finder determines that the

offender is a danger to public safety; and

(3) the eeurt-£inde fact finder determines that the

offender-needs-tong-term—-treatment-or—-supervision offender's

criminal sexual behavior is so engrained that the risk of

reoffending is great without intensive psychotherapeutic

intervention or other long-term treatment or supervision

extending beyond the presumptive term of imprisonment and
supervised release. PThe-finding-must-be-based-en-a-professienal
assessment-by-an-examiner—experienced-in-evatuating-sex
offenders-that-conc}uées-that—the—cffender—is—a—patterned4sex
effender-—-Fhe-assessment-must-contain-the-facts-upon-which-the
conctusion-is-basedr-with-reference-to-the-offense-history-of
the-offender-or-the-severity-of-the-current-offense;—the-social
histeory-of-the-offender;-and-the-results-of-an-examination-of
the—cffender*s—menta}—status—un}ess—the—foender—refuses-to—be
examineds--The-conclusion-may—not-be-based-on-testing-atener——a
patterned-sex-offender-is-one-whose-criminat-sexuat-behavier—is
so-engrained-that-the-risk-of-recffending-is-great-without
intensive-psychotherapeutie-intervention-or-other—tong-term

eontrotss

Article 2 Section 6 16



0o N o u»

10
11

12

14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21

22

25
26
27
28
29
30
31
32

33

32

36

SF2273 FIRST ENGROSSMENT [REVISOR ] JK §2273-1

fbi—The-court—shai}—conSider-imposing—a~sentence-ander—this
sectieon-whenever-a-person—is-convicted-of-viotating-section
689<-342-0r-6685<-343+

[EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005,

and applies to crimes committed on or after that date.

Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 609.108,
subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. [PREDATORY CRIME.] A-predatory-crime-is-a-feitony
viotation-of-section-669+1857-669-197-669-1957-609+-26+-609+2057
669+2217-6689+2227-609+-2237-609+247-669-2457-669+257-689+-2557
689-3427-689+3437-60573447-6069+-3457-6069+3657-689+4987-6089+56%7

or-689<-5827-subdtvisien-3+ As used in this section, "predatory

crime" has the meaning given in section 609.341, subdivision 22.

[EFFECTIVE DATE. ] This section is effective August 1, 2005,

and applies to crimes committed on or after that date.

Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 609.108,
subdivision 4, is amended to read:
Subd. 4. [DANGER TO PUBLIC SAFETY.] The ecourt—-shali-base

its-£finding fact finder shall base its determination that the

offender is a danger to public safety on any of the following
factors:

(1) the crime involved an aggravating factor that would
justify a durational departure from the presumptive sentence
under the Sentencing Guidelines;

(2) the offender previously committed or attempted to
commit a predatory crime or a violation of section 609.224 or
609.2242, including:

(i) an offense committed as a juvenile that would have been
a predatory crime or a violation of section 609.224 or 609.2242
if committed by an adult; or

(ii) a violation or attempted violation of a similar law of
any other state or the United States; or

(3) the offender planned or prepared for the crime prior to

its commission.

[EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005,

and applies to crimes committed on or after that date.

Article 2 Section 8 17
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Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 609.108,
subdivision 6, is amended to read:

Subd. 6. [CONDITIONAL RELEASE.] At the time of sentencing
under subdivision 1, the court shall provide that after the
offender has completed the sentence imposed, less any good time
earned by an offender whose crime was committed before August 1,
1993, the commissioner of corrections shall place the offender
on conditional release for the remainder of the statutory
maximum period, or for ten years, whichever is longer. The

terms of conditional release are governed by section 609.3455.

Phe-conditions-of-retease-may-inctude-sueccessfui-completion
ef—éreatment—and—aftercare—in—a-program—approved—by-the
commissionery-satisfaction-of-the-retease-conditions—-specified
in-seection-244-057-subdivision-67-and-any-other-conditions—the
cemmissioner—consiéers—appropriater——Before-the-offender—is
reteasedy-the-commissioner-shalti-notify-the-sentenecing-courty
the-prosecutor—-in-the-jurisdictiton-where-the-offender-was
sentencedy-and-the-vietim-of-the-offenderis—-erimey-where
avaitabte;-of-the-terms—-of-the-offenderis-conditionat-reteasex
If-the-offender-fails-to-meet-any-condition-of-release;-the
commissioner-may-revoke-the-offenderls-conditionali-retease-and
order—-that-the-offender-serve-ati-or-a-part-of-the-remaining
portion-of-the-conditionat-reltease-term-in-prisen-—-TFhe
commissioner—shati-not-dismiss-the-offender-from-supervision
before-the-conditionali-retease-term—-expiress

Eonditionat-retease-granted-under—this-subdivision-is
governed-by-provistons-retating-to-supervised-retease;-except-as
otherwise-provided-in-this-subdivision;-section-244-0647
subdivision—-ty;-er—-244-65<

[EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005,

and applies to crimes committed on or after that date.

Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 609.341, is
amended by adding a subdivision to read:

Subd. 22. [PREDATORY CRIME.] "Predatory crime" means a

felony violation of section 609.185, 609.19, 609.195, 609.20,

609.205, 609.221, 609.222, 609.223, 609.24, 609.245, 609.25,

Article 2 Section 10 18



10
11

12

14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21

22

25
26
27

28

SF2273 FIRST ENGROSSMENT [REVISOR ] JK . $§2273-1

609.255, 609.498, 609.561, or 609.582, subdivision 1.

[EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005,

and applies to crimes committed on or after that date.

Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 609.342,
subdivision 2, is amended to read:
Subd. 2. [PENALTY.] (a) Except as otherwise provided

in paragraph (b); section 609.109; or 609.3455, a person

convicted under subdivision 1 may be sentenced to imprisonment
for not more than 30 years or-to—a-payment-of-a-fine-of-not-mere
than-5$46760885-or—-both.

tbY Unless a longer mandatory minimum sentence is otherwise
required by law or the Sentencing Guidelines provide for a |
longer presumptive executed sentence, the court shall presume
that an executed sentence of 144 months must be imposed on an
offender convicted of violating this section. Sentencing a
person in a manner other than that described in this paragraph
is a departure from the Sentencing Guidelines.

(b) The court shall sentence a person to imprisonment for

life if the person is convicted under subdivision 1, clause (c),

(d), (e), (£), or (h), and the fact finder determines beyond a

reasonable doubt that any of the following circumstances exist:

(1) the offender tortured the complainant;

(2) the offender intentionally inflicted great bodily harm

upon the complainant;

(3) the offender intentionally mutilated the complainant;

(4) the offender exposed the complainant to extreme

inhumane conditions;

(5) the offender was armed with a dangerous weapon Or any

article used or fashioned in a manner to lead the complainant to

reasonably believe it to be a dangerous weapon and used or

threatened to use the weapon or article to cause the complainant

to submit:

(6) the offense involved sexual penetration or sexual

contact with more than one victim: or

(7) the offense involved more than one perpetrator engaging

in sexual penetration or sexual contact with the complainant.

Article 2 Section 11 19
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The fact finder may not consider a circumstance described

in clauses (1) to (7), if it is an element of the underlying

specified violation of subdivision 1.

When sentencing an offender under this paragraph, the court

shall specify a minimum term of imprisonment, based on the

sentencing guidelines or any applicable mandatory minimum

sentence, that must be served before the offender may be

considered for supervised release.

{c) As used in this subdivision:

(1) "extreme inhumane conditions" means situations where,

either before or after the sexual penetration, the offender

knowingly causes or permits the complainant to be placed in a

situation likely to cause the complainant severe ongoing mental,

emotional, or psychological harm, or causes the complainant's

death;

(2) "mutilation” means the intentional infliction of

physical abuse designed to cause serious permanent disfigurement

or permanent or protracted loss or impairment of the functions

of any bodily member or organ, where the offender relishes the

infliction of the abuse, evidencing debasement or perversion;

and

(3) "torture” means the intentional infliction of extreme

mental anguish, or extreme psychological or physical abuse, when

committed in an especially depraved manner.

(d) In addition to the sentence imposed under paragraph (a)

or (b), the person may also be sentenced to the payment of a

fine of not more than $40,000.

(e) Notwithstanding the statutory maximum sentence

described in paragraph (a) or (b), the person is also subject to

conditional release as provided in section 609.3455.

[EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005,

and applies to crimes committed on or after that date.

Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 609.342,
subdivision 3, is amended to read:
Subd. 3. [STAY.] Except when imprisonment is required

under section 609.109 or 609.3455, if a person is convicted

Article 2 Section 12 20
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under subdivision 1, clause (g), the court may stay imposition

or execution of the sentence if it finds that:

(a) a stay is in the best interest of the complainant or
the family unit; and

(b) a professional assessment indicates that the offender
has been accepted by and can respond to a treatment prégram.

If the court stays imposition or execution of sentence, it
shall include the following as conditions of probation:

(1) incarceration in a local jail or workhouse;

(2) a requirement that the offender complete a treatment
program; and

(3) a requirement that the offender have no unsupervised
contact with the complainant until the offender has successfully
completed the treatment program unless approved by the treatment
program and the supervising correctional agent.

[EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005,

and qpplies’to crimes committed on or after that date.

Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 609.343,
subdivision 2, is amended to read:
Subd. 2. [PENALTY.] (a) Except as otherwise provided in

section 609.109 or 609.3455, a person convicted under

subdivision 1 may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than

25 years or—-te—a-payment-of-a-fine-of-not-more-than-$35768087-or

both.

+b¥ Unless a longer mandatory minimum sentence is otherwise
required by law or the Sentencing Guidelines provide for a
longer presumptive executed sentence, the court shall presume
that an executed séntence of 90 months must be imposed on an
offender convicted of violating subdivision 1, clause (c), (4),
(e), (£), or (h). Sentencing a person in a manner other than
that described in this paragraph is a departure from the
Sentencing Guidelines.

(b) The court shall sentence a person to imprisonment for

life if the person is convicted under subdivision 1, clause (c),

(d), (e), (£), or (h), and the fact finder determines beyond a

reasonable doubt that any of the following circumstances exist:
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(1) the offender tortured the complainant;

(2) the offender intentionally inflicted great bodily harm

upon the complainant;

(3) the offender intentionally mutilated the complainant;

(4) the offender exposed the complainant to extreme

inhumane conditions;

(5) the offender was armed with a dangerous weapon oOr any

article used or fashioned in a manner to lead the complainant to

reasonably believe it to be a dangerous weapon and used or

threatened to use the weapon or article to cause the complainant

to submit;

(6) the offense involved sexual penetration or sexual

contact with more than one victim; or

(7) the offense involved more than one perpetrator engaging

in sexual penetration or sexual contact with the complainant.

The fact finder may not consider a circumstance described .

in clauses (1) to (7), if it is an element of the underlying

specified violation of subdivision 1.

When sentencing an offender under this paragraph, the court

shall specify a minimum term of imprisonment, based on the

sentencing guidelines or any applicable mandatory'minimum

sentence, that must be served before the offender may be

considered for supervised release.

(c) As used in this subdivision:

{l) "extreme inhumane conditions" means situations where,

either before or after the sexual penetration, the offender

knowingly causes or permits the complainant to be placed in a

situation likely to cause the complainant severe ongoing mental,

emotional, or psychological harm, or causes the complainant's

death;

(2) "mutilation” means the intentional infliction of

physical abuse designed to cause serious permanent disfigurement

or permanent or protracted loss or impairment of the functions

of any bodily member or organ, where the offender relishes the

infliction of the abuse, evidencing debasement or perversion;

and
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(3) "torture" means the intentional infliction of extreme

mental anguish, or extreme psychological or physical abuse, when

committed in an especially'depraved manner.

(d) In addition to the sentence imposed under paragraph (a)

or (b), the person may also be sentenced to the payment of a

fine of not more than $35,000.

(e) Notwithstanding the statutory maximum sentence

described in paragraph (a) or (b), the person is also subject to

conditional release as provided in section 609.3455.

[EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective Augqust 1, 2005,

and applies to crimes committed on or after that date.

Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 609.343,
subdivision 3, is amended to read:
Subd. 3. [STAY.] Except when imprisonment is required

under section 609.109 or 609.3455, if a person is convicted

under subdivision 1, clause (g), the court may stay imposition
or execution of the sentence if it finds that:

(a) a stay is in the best interest of the complainant or
the family unit; and

(b) a professional assessment indicates that the offender
has been accepted by and can respond to a treatment program.

If the court stays imposition or execution of sentence, it
shall include the following as conditions of probation:

(1) incarceration in a local jail or workhouse;

(2) a requirement that the offender complete a treatment
program; and

(3) a requirement that the offender have no unsupervised
contact with the complainant until the offender has successfully
completed the treatment program unless approved by the treatment
program and the supervising correctional agent.

[ EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005,

and applies to crimes committed on or after that date.

Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 609.344,
subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. [PENALTY.] Except as otherwise provided in

section 609.3455, a person convicted under subdivision 1 may be
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sentenced to imprisonment for not more than 15 years or to a
payment of a fine of not more than $30,000, or

both. Notwithstanding this statutory maximum sentence, the

person is also subject to conditional release as provided in

section 609.3455.

[EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective Augqust 1, 2005,

and applies to crimes committed on or after that date.

Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 609.344,
subdivision 3, is amended to read:
Subd. 3. [STAY.] Except when imprisonment is required

under section 609.109 or 609.3455, if a person is convicted

under subdivision 1, clause (f), the court may stay imposition
or execution of the sentence if it finds that:

(a) a stay is in the best interest of the complainant or
the family unit; and

(b) a professional assessment indicates that the offender
has been accepted by and can respond to a treatment program.

If the court stays imposition or execution of sentence, it
shall include the following as conditions of probation:

(1) incarceration in a local jail or workhouse;

(2) a requirement that the offender complete a treatment
program; and

(3) a requirement that the offender have no unsupervised
contac£ with the complainant until the offender has successfully
completed the treatment program unless approved by the treatment
program and the supervising correctional agent.

[EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005,

and applies to crimes committed on or after that date.

Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 609,345,
subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. [PENALTY.] Except as otherwise provided in

section 609.3455, a person convicted under subdivision 1 may be

sentenced to imprisonment for not more than ten years or to a
payment of a fine of not more than $20,000, or

both. Notwithstanding this statutory maximum sentence, the

person is also subject to conditional release as provided in
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section 609.3455.

[EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005,

and applies to crimes committed on or after that date.

Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 609.345,
subdivision 3, is amended to read:
Subd. 3. [STAY.] Except when imprisonment is required

under section 609.109 or 609.3455, if a person is convicted

under subdivision 1, clause (f), the court may stay imposition
or execution of the sentence if it finds that:

(a) a stay is in the best interest of the complainant or
the family unit; and

(b) a professional assessment indicates that the offender
has been accepted by and can respond to a treatment program.

If the court stays imposition or execution of sentence, it
shall include the following as conditions of probation:

(1) incarceration in a local jail or workhouse;

(2) a requirement that the offender complete a treatment
program; and

(3) a requirement that the offender have no unsupervised
contact with the complainant until the offender has successfully
completed the treatment program unless approved by the treatment
program and the supervising correctionél agent.

[EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005,

and applies to crimes committed on or after that date.

Sec. 19. .[609.3453] [CRIMINAL SEXUAL PREDATORY CONDUCT. ]

Subdivision 1. [CRIME DEFINED.] A person is guilty of

criminal sexual predatory conduct if the person commits a

predatory crime that was motivated by the offender's sexual

impulses or was part of a predatory pattern of behavior that had

criminal sexual conduct as its goal.

Subd. 2. [PENALTY.] (a) Except as provided in section

609.3455, the statutory maximum sentence for a violation of

subdivision 1 is: (1) 25 percent longer than for the underlying

predatory crime; or (2) 50 percent longer than for the

underlying predatory crime, if the violation is committed by a

person with a previous sex offense conviction, as defined in
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1 section 609.3455, subdivision 1.

2 (b) In addition to the sentence imposed under paragraph

3 (a), the person may also be sentenced to the payment of a fine

4 of not more than $20,000.

5 (c) Notwithstanding the statutory maximum sentence

6 described in paragraph (a), the person is also subject to

7 conditional release as provided in section 609.3455.

8 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective Augqust 1, 2005,

9 and applies to crimes committed on or after that date.

10 Sec. 20. [609.3455] [DANGEROUS SEX OFFENDERS; LIFE
11 SENTENCES; CONDITIONAL RELEASE. ]

12 Subdivision 1. [DEFINITIONS.] (a) As used in this section,

13 the following terms have the meanings given.

14 (b) "Conviction” includes a conviction as an extended

15 Jjurisdiction juvenile under section 260B.130 for a violation of,

16 ot an attempt to violate, section 609.342, 609.343, 609.344, or

17 609.3453.

18 (c) A conviction is considered a "previous sex offense

19 conviction" if the offender was convicted and sentenced for a

20 sex offense before the commission of the present offense.

21 (d) A conviction is considered a "prior sex offense

22 conviction" if the offender was convicted of committing a sex

23 offense before the offender has been convicted of the present

24 offense, regardless of whether the offender was convicted for

25 the first offense before the commission of the present offense,

26 and the convictions involved separate behavioral incidents.

27 (e) "Sex offense” means any violation of, or attempt to

28 violate, section 609.342, 609.343, 609.344, 609.345, 609.3451,

29 609.3453, or any similar statute of the United States, this

30 state, or any other state.

31 (f) An offender has "two previous sex offense convictions"

32 only if the offender was convicted and sentenced for a sex

33 offense committed after the offender was earlier convicted and

34 sentenced for a sex offense and both convictions preceded the

35 commission of the present offense of conviction. —

36 Subd. 2. [MANDATORY LIFE SENTENCE.] (a) Notwithstanding
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the statutory maximum penalty otherwise applicable to the

offense, the court shall sentence an offender to imprisonment

for life if the offender is convicted of violating section

609.342, 609.343, 609.344, 609.345, or 609.3453 if:

(1) the offender has two previous sex offense convictions;

(2) the offender has a previous sex offense conviction and:

(i) the present offense involved an aggravating factor that

would provide grounds for an upward departure under the

sentencing guidelines other than the aggravating factor

applicable to repeat criminal sexual conduct convictions;

(ii) the offender received an upward departure from the

sentencing guidelines for the previous sex offense conviction;

or

(iii) the offender was sentenced under section 609.108 for

the previous sex offense conviction; or

(3) the offender has two prior sex offense convidtions, the

prior convictions and present offense involved at least three

separate victims, and:

(i) the present offense involved an aggravating factor that

would provide grounds for an upward departure under the

sentencing guidelines other than the aggravating factor

applicable to repeat criminal sexual conduct convictions;

(ii) the offender received an upward departure from the

sentencing guidelines for one of the prior sex offense

convictions; or

(iii) the offender was sentenced under section 609.108 for

one of the prior sex offense convictions.

(b) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), a court may not sentence

an offender to imprisonment for life under that paragraph for a

violation of section 609.345, unless the offender's previous or

prior sex offense convictions that are being used as the basis

for the sentence are for violations of section 609.342, 609.343,

609.344, or 609.3453, or any similar statute of the United

States, this state, or any other state.

Subd. 3. [LIFE SENTENCES; MINIMUM TERM OF

IMPRISONMENT,] At the time of sentencing under subdivision 2,
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the court shall specify a minimum term of imprisonment, based on

the sentencing gquidelines or any applicable mandatory minimum

sentence, that must be served before the offender may be

considered for supervised release.

Subd. 4. [MANDATORY TEN-YEAR CONDITIONAL RELEASE TERM. ]

Notwithstanding the statutory maximum sentence otherwise

applicable to the offense and unless a longer conditional

release term is required in subdivision 5, when a court commits

an offender to the custody of the commissioner of corrections

for a violation of section 609.342, 609.343, 609.344, 609.345,

or 609.3453, the court shall provide that, after the offender

has completed the sentence imposed, the commissioner shall place

the offender on conditional release for ten years, minus the

time the offender served on supervised release.

Subd. 5. [MANDATORY LIFETIME CONDITIONAL RELEASE TERM.] (a)

When a court sentences an offender under subdivision 2 or

section 609.342, subdivision 2, paragraph (b); or 609.343,

subdivision 2, paragraph (b), the court shall provide that, if

the offender is released from prison, the commissioner of

corrections shall place the offender on conditional release for

the remainder of the offender's life.

(b) Notwithstanding the statutory maximum sentence

otherwise applicable to the offense, when the court commits'an

offender to the custody of the commissioner of corrections for a

violation of section 609.342, 609.343, 609.344, 609.345, or

609.3453, and the offender has a previous or prior sex offense

conviction, the court shall provide that, after the offender has

completed the sentence imposed, the commissioner shall place the

offender on conditional release for the remainder of the

offender's life.

(c) Notwithstanding paragraph (b), an offender may not be

placed on lifetime conditional release under that paragraph for

a violation of section 609.345, unless the offender's’previous

or prior sex offense conviction that is being used as the basis

for the placement is for a violation of section 609.342,

609.343, 609.344, or 609.3453, or any similar statute of the
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United States, this state, or any other state.

Subd. 6. [TERMS OF CONDITIONAL RELEASE; APPLICABLE TO ALL

SEX OFFENDERS.] (a) The provisions of this subdivision apply to

all sex offenders placed on conditional release. Except as

provided in this subdivision, conditional release of sex

offenders is governed by provisions relating to supervised

release. The commissioner of corrections may not dismiss an

offender on conditional release from supervision until the

offender's conditional release term expires.

(b) The conditions of release may include successful

completion of treatment and aftercare in a program approved by

the commissioner, satisfaction of the release conditions

specified in section 244.05, subdivision 6, and any other

conditions the commissioner considers appropriate. Before the

offender is released, the commissioner shall notify the

sentencing court, the prosecutor in the jufisdiction where the

offender was sentenced, and the victim of the offender's crime,

where available, of the terms of the offender's conditional

release. If the offender fails to meet any condition of

release, the commissioner may revoke the offender's conditional

release and order that the offender serve all or a part of the

remaining portion of the conditional release term in prison.

[EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005.

and applies to crimes committed on or after that date.
Sec. 21. [REPEALER.]

Minnesota Statutes 2004, sections 609.108, subdivision 2;

and 609.109, subdivision 7, are repealed.

[ EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005,

and applies to crimes committed on or after that date.

ARTICLE 3
SEX OFFENDERS: PREDATORY OFFENDER REGISTRATION;
COMMUNITY NOTIFICATION; NONSENTENCING CHANGES
Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 243.166, is
amended to read:
243.166 [REGISTRATION OF PREDATORY OFFENDERS. ]

Subdivisieon-i+--—-fREGISTRATION-REQUIREDB-1-tay-A-persen-shati
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register-under-this-seetion-if+
tiy-the-person-was-charged-with-or-petitioned-for-a-£fetony
violation-of-or-attempt-te-vietate-any-of-the-fotrtowingy-and
convieted-of-or-adjudicated-detinquent-for-that-offense-or
another-offense—arising—out—of-the-same—set—of-circnmstance37
tiy-murder—under—seection-669-1855-ctause—{t2y-or
tity-kidnapping-under-section-669<s255-or
{titiy-eriminat-sexuat-conduct-under-section-669+342+
669+343+-669+3445-6069+3455-0r-6689+-34527-subdivisien-3;-or
tivy-indecent-exposure-under—-section-617-237-subdivision-3+
er
{2)y-the-person-was—charged-with-or-petitioned-£for-faisely
imprisening-a-miner-in-vietation-of-section-669-2557-subdivision
2+-solieiting-a-minor-to—-engage-in-prostitution-in-viotation-of
section-669+322-0r-669:-324s-soticiting-a-minor-to—engage-in
sexua}—conduct—in—vioiation-of-secticn—ée973527—u3ing—§—miner—in
a-sexual-performance-in-viotation-of-seetion-617-2465-or
possessing-pornegraphie-work-invelving-a-minor—-in-viotation-of
section-617-2477-and-conviected-of-or-adjudicated-detinquent-£for
that-offense-or-another-eoffense-arising-out-of-the-same-set-of
cireumstancess-or
t3y-the-person-was-convicted-of-a-predatory-crime-as
defined-in-seetion-669-1687-and-the-offender-was-sentenced-as-a
patterned-sex—-offender-or-the-court-found-on-its-own-motion-or
that-of-the-prosecutor-that-the-erime-was-part—-of-a-predatory
pattern-ef-behavior-that-had-eriminat-sexualt-conduct-as—its
goats—or
fé?-the—person4was—convicted—oE—or—adjudicated—deiinquent
fory-inetuding-pursuant—to—a-court-martiat7-violtating-a-taw-of
the-United-Statesy-ineiuding-the-Uniform-code-of-Mititary
Justicey-simitar-to-the-offenses-deseribed-in-ctause-{tiy7-{23+
er—-+3¥= |
tby-A-person-atso-shati-register-under—-this-seetion-+£+
ti)-the-person-was-conviected-of-or-adjudicated-detrinquent
in-anether-state-for—an—offeﬁse—that—weuid—be-a-vio}ation—of-a

taw-deseribed-in-paragraph-tay-if-committed-in-this-states
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t2}-the-person-enters—-the-state-to-reside;-or-to-work-er
attend-schoot;-and
t3y-ten-years-have-not-eiapsed-since-the-persen-was
reteased-from-confinement-ory-if-the-person-was-not-confineds
since-the-person-was-convicted-of-or-adjudicated-detinquent-£for
the-offense-that-triggers—-registrationy-untess-the-person-is
subjeect-to-tifetime-registrationy-in-which-case-the-persen-must
register-for-tife-regardtess-of-when-the-person-was-reteased
from-confinementy-conviectedy-or-adjudicated-detinquents
Por-purposes-of-this-paragraphs
fi?—“schoci“—inciudes—any—pub}ic—or—private-educationai
institutiony-inctuding-any-secondary-schooty-trade-or -
professionat-institutiony-or—-institution-of-higher-educationy
that-the-person-is—enrotied-in-on-a-fuii-time-or-part-time
basis;-and
tity-tworki-inciudes-empioyment—that-is—£fuiti-time-or-parte
time-for-a-period-of-time-exceeding-14-days-or-for-an-aggregate
peritod-of-time-exceeding—-36-days-during-any-catendar-yeary
whether-£financiatty-compensatedy-votunteered;-or—-for-the-purpese
of-government-or—educationat-benefit<
tey-A-persen-aise-shaiit-register—-under—-this-section-i£f-the
person-was—committed-pursuant-to-a-court-commitment-order-under
section-253B-185-or-Minnesota-Statutes-1992;-section-526-167-o¢
a-similar-law-of-another—-state-or-the-bnited-Statesy-regardiess
ef-whether—-the-persen-was—-convicted-of-any-offenses
{tdy-A-person-atse-shati-register-under—this-section-ifs
t1y-the-person-was—-charged-with-or-petitioned-for-a-£fetony
vietation-or-attempt-to-viotate-any-of-the-offenses-tisted-in
paragraph-tay7-ctause-{tityy-or-a-simitar-taw-of-another—-state-or
the-United-States;-or-the-person-was-charged-with-or-petitioned
for-a-vietation-eof-any-of-the-offenses-tisted-in-paragraph-tajysy
ciause—f%&r—or—a-simiiar—}aw—of-another—state—or—the-Hnited
Statess
t2y-the-persen-was-found-not-guilty-by-reason-of-mentat
itiness-or-mental-deficieney-after—a-triat-for-that-offensey-or

found-guilty-but-mentatiy-iti-after-a-triat-for-that-offense;-in
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states-with-a-guitty-but-mentatity-itt-verdiet;-and

t3y-the-persen-was-committed-pursuant-to-a-court-commitment
erder-under-seection-253Br-1i8-or—a-simitar-tav-of-another—state-or
the-United-States<

Subd. la. [DEFINITIONS.] (a) As used in this section,

unless the context clearly indicates otherwise, the following

terms have the meanings given them.

(b) "Bureau" means the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension.

(c) "Dwelling" means the building where the person lives

under a formal or informal agreement to do so.

(d) "Incarceration" and "confinement"” do not include

electronic home monitoring.

(e) "Law enforcement authority" or "authority" means, with

respect to a home rule charter or statutory city, the chief of

police, and with respect to an unincorporated area, the county

sheriff.

(f) "Motor vehicle" has the meaning given for "vehicle" in

section 169.01, subdivision 2.

(g) "Primary address" means the mailing address of the

person's dwelling. If the mailing address is different from the

actual location of the dwelling, "primary address" also includes

the physical location of the dwelling described with as much

specificity as possible.

(h) "School" includes any public or private educational

institution, including any secondary school, trade, or

professional institution, or institution of higher education,

that the person is enrolled in on a full-time basis or part-time

basis.

(i) "Secondary address" means the mailing address of any

place where the person regularly or occasionally stays overnight

when not staying at the person's primary address. If the

mailing address is different from the actual location of the

place, "secondary address" also includes the physical location

of the place described with as much specificity as possible.

(j) "Treatment facility" means a residential facility, as

defined in section 244.052, subdivision 1, and residential

Article 3 ‘Section 1 32
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chemical dependency treatment programs and halfway houses

licensed under chapter 2454, including, but not limited to,

those facilities directly or indirectly assisted by any

department or agency of the United States.

(k) "Work" includes employment that is full time or part

time for a period of time exceeding 14 days or for an aggregate

period of time exceeding 30 days during any calendar year,

whether financially compensated, volunteered, or for the purpose

of government or educational benefit.

Subd. 1b. [REGISTRATION REQUIRED.] (a) A person shall

register under this section if:

(1) the person was charged with or petitioned for a felony

violation of or- attempt to violate, or aiding, abetting, or

conspiracy to commit, any of the following, and convicted of or

adjudicated delinquent for that offense or another offense

arising out of the same set of circumstances:

(i) murder under section 609.185, paragraph (a), clause

(ii) kidnapping under section 609.25;

(iii) criminal sexual conduct under section 609.342;

609.343; 609.344; 609.345; 609.3451, subdivision 3; or 609.3453;

or

(iv) indecent exposure under section 617.23, subdivision 3;

(2) the person was charged with or petitioned for a

violation of or attempt to violate, or aiding, abetting, or

conspiracy to commit false imprisonment in violation of section

609.255, subdivision 2; soliciting a minor to engage in

prostitution in violation of section 609.322 or 609.324;

soliciting a minor to engage in sexual conduct in violation of

section 609.352; using a minor in a sexual performance in

violation of section 617.246; or possessing pornographic work

involving a minor in violation of section 617.247, and convicted

of or adjudicated delinquent for that offense or another offense

arising out of the same set of circumstances;

(3) the person was sentenced as a patterned sex offender

under section 609.108; or
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(4) the person was convicted of or adjudicated delinquent

for, including pursuant to a court martial, violating a law of

the United States, including the Uniform Code of Military

Justice, similar to the offenses described in clause (1), (2),

or (3).

(b) A person also shall register under this section if:

(1) the person was convicted of or adjudicated delinquent

in another state for an offense that would be a violation of a

law described in paragraph (a) if committed in this state;

(2) the person enters the state to reside, work, or attend

school, or enters the state and remains for 14 days or longer;

and

(3) ten years have not elapsed since the person was

released from confinement or, if the person was not confined,

since the person was convicted of or adjudicated delinquent for

the offense that triggers registration, unless the person is

subject to lifetime registration, in which case the person shall

register for life regardless of when the person was released

from confinement, convicted, or adjudicated delinquent. -

A person described in this paragraph shall register with

the bureau within five days after the registration requirement

becomes applicable.

(c) A person also shall register under this section if the

person was committed pursuant to a court commitment order under

section 253B.185 or Minnesota Statutes 1992, section 526.10, or

a similar law of another state or the United States, regardless

of whether the person was convicted of any offense.

(d) A person also shall register under this section if:

(1) the person was charged with or petitioned for a felony

violation or attempt to violate any of the offenses listed in

paragraph (a), clause (1), or a similar law of another state or

the United States, or the person was charged with or petitioned

for a violation of any of the offenses listed in paragraph (a),

clause (2), or a similar law of another state or the United

States;

(2) the person was found not gquilty by reason of mental
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illness or mental deficiency after a trial for that offense, or

found guilty but mentally ill after a trial for that offense, in

states with a gquilty but mentally ill verdict; and

(3) the person was committed pursuant to a court commitment

order under section 253B.18 or a similar law of another state or

the United States.

Subd. 2. [NOTICE.] When a person who is required to
register under subdivision % 1lb, paragraph (a), is sentenced or
becomes subject to a juvenile court disposition order, the court
shall tell the person of the duty to register under this section
and that, if the person fails to comply with the registration
requirements, information about the offender may be made
available to the public through electronic, computerized, or
other accessible means. The court may not modify the person's
duty to register in the pronounced sentence or disposition
order. The court shall require the person to read and sign a
form stating that the duty of the person to register under this
section has been explained. The court shall forward the signed
sex offender régistration form, the complaint, and sentencing
documents to the bureau ef-€riminai-Apprehensien. If é person
required to register under subdivision % 1b, paragraph (a), was
not notified by the court of the registration requirement at the
time of sentencing or disposition, the assigned corrections
agent shall notify the person of the reqﬁirements of this
section. When a person who is required to register under
subdivision % 1lb, paragraph (c) or (d), is released from
commitment, the treatment facility shall notify the person of
the requirements of this section. The treatment facility shall
also obtain the registration information required under this
section and forward it to the bureau of-€riminail-Apprehension.

Subd. 3. [REGISTRATION PROCEDURE.] (a) Except as provided

in subdivision 3a, a person required to register under this

section shall register with the corrections agent as soon as the
agent is assigned to the person. If the person does not have an
assigned corrections agent or is unable to locate the assigned

corrections agent, the person shall register with the law
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enforcement agemey authority that has jurisdiction in the area

of the person's residenece primary address.

(b) Except as provided in subdivision 3a, at least five

days before the person starts living at a new primary address}
including living in another state, the person shall give written
notice of the new primary *itving address to the assigned
corrections agent or to the law enforcement authority with which
the person currently is registered. If the person will be
living in a new state and that state has a registration
re@uirement, the person shall also give written notice of the
new address to the designated registration agency in the new
state. A person required to register under this section shall
also give written notice to the assigned corrections agent or to
the law enforcement authority that has jurisdiction in the area

of the person's residenee primary address that the person is no

longer living or staying at an address, immediately after the
person is no longer living or staying at that address. The
corrections agent or law enforcement authority shall, within two
business days after receipt of this information, forward it to
the bureau ef-€riminat-Apprehension. The bureau of—érimina&
Apprehension shall, if it has not already been done, notify the
law enforcement authority having primary jurisdiction in the
community where the person will live of the new address. If the
person is leaving the state, the bureau ef-€riminal-Apprehension
shall notify the registration authority in the new state of the
new address. If-the-persenis-eobligation-teo-register—-arose-undesr
subdivisteon-i;-paragraph—-tbys The person's registration
requirements under this section terminate whem after the person

begins living in the new state and the bureau has confirmed the

address in the other state through the annual verification

process on at least one occasion.

(c) A person required to register under subdivision % 1lb,
paragraph (b), because the person is working or attending school
in Minnesota shall fegister with the law enforcement
ageney authority that has jurisdiction in the area where the

person works or attends school. 1In addition to other
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information required by this section, the person shall provide
the address of the school or of the location where the person is
employed. A person must shall comply with this paragraph within
five days of beginning employment or school. A person's
obligation to register under this paragraph terminates when the
person is no longer working or attending school in Minnesota.
(d) A person required to register under this section who
works or attends school outside of Minnesota shall register as a
predatory offender in the state where the person works or
attends school. The person's corrections agent, or if the
person does not have an assigned corrections agent, the law
enforcement authority that has jurisdiction in the area of the

person's residence primary address shall notify the person of

this requirement.
Subd. 3a. [REGISTRATION PROCEDURE WHEN PERSON LACKS

PRIMARY ADDRESS.] (a) If a person leaves a primary address and

does not have a new primary address, the person shall register

with the law enforcement authority that has jurisdiction in the

area where the person is staying within 24 hours of the time the

person no longer has a primary address.

(b) A person who lacks a primary address shall register

with the law enforcement authority that has jurisdiction in the

area where the person is staying within 24 hours after entering

the jurisdiction. Each time a person who lacks a primary

address moves to a new jurisdiction without acquiring a new

primary address, the person shall register with the law

enforcement authority that has jurisdiction in the area where

the person is staying within 24 hours after entering the

jurisdiction.

(c) Upon registering under this subdivision, the person

shall provide the law enforcement authority with all of the

information the individual is required to provide under

subdivision 4a. However, instead of reporting the person's

primary address, the person shall describe the location of where

the person is staying with as much specificity as possible.

(d) Except as otherwise provided in paragraph (e), if a
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person continues to lack a primary address, the person shall

report in person on a weekly basis to the law enforcement

authority with jurisdiction in the area where the person is

staying. This weekly report shall occur between the hours of

9:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m. The person is not required to provide

the registration information required under subdivision 4a each

time the offender reports to an authority, but the person shall

inform the authority of changes to any information provided

under subdivision 4a or this subdivision and shall otherwise

comply with this subdivision.

(e) If the law enforcement authority determines that it is

impractical, due to the person's unique circumstances, to

require a person lacking a primary address to report weekly and

in person as required under paragraph (d), the authority may

authorize the person to follow an alternative reporting

procedure. The authority shall consult with the person's

corrections agent, if the person has one, in establishing the

specific criteria of this alternative procedure, subject to the

following requirements:

(1) The authority shall document, in the person's

registration record, the specific reasons why the weekly

in-person reporting process is impractical for the person to

follow.

(2) The authority shall explain how the alternative

reporting procedure furthers the public safety objectives of

this section.

(3) The authority shall require the person lacking a

primary address to report in person at least monthly to the

authority or the person's corrections agent and shall specify

the location where the person shall report. If the authority

determines it would be more practical and would further public

safety for the person to report to another law enforcement

authority with jurisdiction where the person :: staying, it may,

after consulting with the other law enforcement authority,

include this requirement in the person's alternative réporting —

process.
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(4) The authority shall require the person to comply with

the weekly, in-person reporting process required under paragraph

(d), if the person moves to a new area where this process would

be practical.

(5) The authority shall require the person to report any

changes to the registration information provided under

subdivision 4a and to comply with the periodic registration

requirements specified under paragraph (f).

(6) The authority shall require the person to comply with

the requirements of subdivision 3, paragraphs (b) and (c¢), if

the person moves to a primary address.

(£) If a person continues to lack a primary address and

continues to report to the same law enforcement authority, the

person shall provide the authority with all of the information

the individual is required to provide under subdivision 4a and

this subdivision at least annually, unless the person'is

required to register under subdivision 1b, paragraph (c¢),

following commitment pursuant to a court commitment under

section 253B.185 or a similar law of another state or the United

States. If the person is required to register under subdivision

1lb, paragraph (c), the person shall provide the law enforcement

authority with all of the information the individual is required

to report under subdivision 4a and this subdivision at least

once every three months.

(g) A law enforcement authority receiving information under

this subdivision shall forward registration information and

changes to that information to the bureau within two business

days of receipt of the information.

(h) For purposes of this subdivision, a person who fails to

report a primary address will be deemed to be a person who lacks

a primary address, and the person shall comply with the

requirements for a person who lacks a primary address.

Subd. 4. [CONTENTS OF REGISTRATION.] (a) The registration
provided to the corrections agent.or law enforcement authority,
must consist of a statement in writing signed by the person,

giving information required by the bureau ef-€riminal
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Apprehensien, a fingerprint card, and photograph of the person
taken at the time of the person's release from incarceration or,
if the person was not incarcerated, at the time the person
initially registered under this section. The registration
information also must include a written consent form signed by

the person allowing a treatment facility or residential housing

unit or shelter to release information to a law enforcement

officer about the person's admission to, or residence in, a

treatment facility or residential housing unit or shelter.

Registration information on adults and juveniles may be
maintained together notwithstanding section 260B.171,
subdivision 3.

(b) For persons required to register under subdivision %
lb, paragraph (c), following commitment pursuant to a court.
commitment under section 253B.185 or a similar law of another
state or the United States, in addition to other information
required by this section, the registration provided to the
correctiohs agent or law enforcement authority must include the
person's offense history and documentation of treatment received
during the person's commitment. This documentation shati-be is
limited to a statement of how far the person progressed in
treatment during commitment.

(c) Within three days of receipt, the corrections agent or
law enforcement authority shall forward the registration
information to the bureau ef-€riminal-Apprehensien. The bureau
shall ascertain whether the person has registered with the law

enforcement authority where-the-persen-resides in the area of

the person's primary address, if any, or if the person lacks a

primary address, where the person is staying, as required by

subdivision 3a. If the person has not registered with the law

enforcement authority, the bureau shall send one copy to that
authority.

(d) The corrections agent or law enforcement authority may
require that a person‘required to register under this section
appear before the agent or authority to be photographed. The

agent or authority shall require a person required to register
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under this section who is classified as a risk level III

offender under section 244.052 to appear before the agent or

authority at least every six months to be photographed. The

agent or authority shall forward the photograph to the bureau of
€riminal-Apprehension.
(e) During the period a person is required to register

under this section, the following sha*: provisions apply:

(1) Except for persons registering under subdivision 3a,
the bureau ef-€riminat-Apprehension shall mail a verification
form to the tast-reported-address-of-the person's residence last

reported primary address. This verification form shai* must

provide notice to the offender that, if the offender does not
return the verification form as required, information about the
offender may be made available to the public through electronic,

computerized, or other accessible means. For persons who are

registered under subdivision 3a, the bureau shall mail an annual

verification form to the law enforcement authority where the

offender most recently reported. The authority shall provide

the verification form to the person at the next weekly meeting

and ensure that the person completes and signs the form and

returns it to the bureau.

(2) The person shall mail the signed verification form back
to the bureau of-€riminal-Apprehension within ten days after
receipt of the form, stating on the form the current and last
address of the person's residence and the other information
required under subdivision 4a.

(3) In addition to the requirements listed in this section,

a person who, under section 244.052, is assigned to risk level

IT or risk level III, and who is no longer under correctional

supervision, shall have an annual in-person contact with the law

enforcement authority in the area of the person's primary

address or, if the person has no primary address, where the

person is staying. During the month of the person's birth date,

the person shall report to the authority to verify the accuracy

of the registration information and to be photographed. Within

three days of this contact, the authority shall enter
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information as required by the bureau into the predatory

offender registration database and submit an updated photograph

of the person to the bureau's predatory offender registration

unit. The authority may waive the photograph requirement for a

person assigned to risk level III who has recently been

photographed under paragraph (d).

(4) If the person fails to mail the completed and signed
verification form to the bureau ef-€riminai-Apprehensien within

ten days after receipt of the form, or if the person fails to

report to the law enforcement authority during the month of the

person's birth date, the person shaii-be is in violation of this

section.

For persons required to register under subdivision % 1lb,
paragraph (c), following commitment pursuant to a court
commitment under section 253B.185 or a similar law of another
state or the United States, the bureau shall'comply;with clause

(1) at least four times each year. For persons who under

section 244.052 are assigned to risk level III and who are no

longer under correctional supervision, the bureau shall comply

with clause (1) at least two times each year. For all other

persons required to register under this section, the bureau
shall comply with clause (1) each year within 30 days of the
anniversary date of the person's initial registration.

(f) When sending out a verification form, the bureau of
€riminai-Apprehension-must shall determine whether the person to
whom the verification form is being sent has signed a written
consent form as provided for in paragraph (a). If the person
has not signed such a consent form, the bureau ef-Eriminal
Apprehension-must shall send a written consent form to the
person along with the verification form. A person who receives
this written consent form must shall sign and return it to the
bureau ef-€riminat-Apprehensien at the same time as the
verification form.

tgy-For-the-purposes-of-this-subdivision;-Ltreatment
faeitity!-means-a-residentiat-faciltity;—as-defined-in-seetion

244v68527-subdivisien-iy-and-residentiai-chemicai-dependency
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1 treatment-programs-and-haifway-houses-iticensed-under-chapter
245A7-ineiudingy-but-not-timited-toy-those-facitities-direectiy

or-indirectiy-assisted-by-any-department-or-agency-of-the-bnited

4 Statess
5 Subd. 4a. [ INFORMATION REQUIRED TO BE PROVIDED. ] (a) As
6 used-in-this-seection<

~

tiy-tmotor-vehictel-has-the-meaning-given-ivehieciell-in

8 section-169-06t7-subdivisien-2+

9 t2y-Uprimary-residencel'-means—-any-ptace-where—-the-persen
10 resides-longer-than-i4-days—-or-that-is-deemed-a-primary
11 residence-by-a-persent‘s-corrections-agenty-if-ene-is-assigned-to
12 the-persen;-and
{3)-tsecondary-residencel-means-any-ptace-where—-the-persen
14 reguiar%y—stays—overniggt-whén—not—staying—at—the—person*s |
15 primary-residencey;-and-inctudesy—-but-is—-not-timited-tos
16 - tty-the-personts-parentis-home-if-the-person-is-a-student
17 and-stays—at-the-home-at-times-when-the-person-is-noet-staying-at
18 s=scheot;-inetuding-during-the-summers—and
19 fii}-the-hcme—of—semeone-with—whom-the—person-has-&-minor
20 chitd-in-common-where-the-chitdts-custody-is—shareds
21 +b¥ A person required to register under this section shall
22 provide to the corrections agent or law enforcement authority

., the following information:

(1) the address-of-the person's primary residence address;

25 (2) the-addresses-of all of the person's secondary
26 resideneces addresses in Minnesota, including all addresses used
27 for residential or recreational purposes;
28 (3) the addresses of all Minnesota property owned, leased,
29 or rented by the person;
30 (4) the addresses of all locations where the person is
31 employed;
32 (5) the addresses of all residences schools where the

33 person resides-whilte-attending-schoot is enrolled; and

(6) the year, model, make, license plate number, and color
35 of all motor vehicles owned or regularly driven by the person.

36 te} (b) The person shall report to the agent or authority
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the information required to be provided under paragraph tb} (a).,
clauses (2) to (6), within five days of the date the clause
becomes applicable. If because of a change in circumstances any
information reported under paragraph tb} (a), clauses (1) to
(6), no longer applies, the person shall immediately inform the
agent or authority that the information is no longer valid. If

the person leaves a primary address and does not have a new

primary address, the person shall register as provided in

subdivision 3a.

Subd. 5. [CRIMINAL PENALTY.] (a) A person required to
register under this section who knowingly violates any of its
pro§isions or intentionally provides false information to a
corrections agént, law enforcement authority, or the bureau of
Eriminat-Apprehension is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced
to imprisonment for not more than five years or to payment of a
fine of not more than $10,000, or both.

(b) Except as provided in paragraph (c), a person convicted
of violating paragraph (a) shall be committedlto the custody of
the commissioner of corrections for not less than a year and a
day, nor more than five years.

(c) A person convicted of violating paragraph (a), who has
previously been convicted of or adjudicated delinquent for

violating this section or a similar law of another state or the

United States, shall be committed to the custbdy of the

commissioner of corrections for not less than two years, nor
more than five years.

(d) Prior to the time of sentencing, the prosecutor may
file a motion to have the person sentenced without regard to the
mandatory minimum sentence established by this subdivision. The
motion sha** must be accompanied by a statement on the record of
the reasons for it. When presented with the motion, or on its
own motion, the court may sentence the person without regard to
the mandatory minimum ser‘=nce if the court finds substantial
and compelling reaéons to do so. Sentencing a person in the
manner described in this paragraphkis a departure from the

Sentencing Guidelines.
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(e) A person convicted and sentenced as required by this
subdivision is not eligible for probation, parole, discharge,
work release, or supervised release, until that person has
served the full term of imprisonment as provided by law,
notwithstanding the provisions of sections 241.26, 242.19,
243.05, 244.04, 609.12, and 609.135.

Subd. 5a. [TEN;YEAR CONDITIONAL RELEASE FOR VIOLATIONS

COMMITTED BY LEVEL III OFFENDERS.] Notwithstanding the statutory

maximum sentence otherwise applicable to the offense or any

provision of the sentencing guidelines, when a court commits a

person to the custody of the commissioner of corrections for

violating subdivision 5 and, at the time of the violation, the

person was assigned to risk level III under section 244.052, the

court shall provide that after the person has completed the

sentence imposed, the commissioner shall place the person on

conditional release for ten years. The terms of conditional

release are governed by section 609.3455, subdivision 6.

Subd. 6. [REGISTRATION PERIOD.] (a) Notwithétanding the
provisions of section 609.165, subdivision 1, and except as
provided in paragraphs (b), (c), and (d), a person required to
register under this section shall continue to comply with this
section until ten years have elapsed since the person initially
registered in connection with the offense, or until the
probation, sﬁpervised release, or conditional release period
expires, whichever occurs later. For a person required to
register under this section who is committed under section
253B.18 or 253B.185, the ten-year registration period does not
include the period of commitment.

(b) If a person required to register under this section

fails to register following a change in residence the person's

primary or secondary address, employment, school, or motor

vehicle information; fails to report any property the person

owns, leases, or rents; or fails to return the annual

verification form within ten days, the commissioner of public

safety may require the person to continue to register for an

additional period of five years. This five-year period is added

Article 3 Section 1 45




o0

10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
32
33
34
35
36

SF2273 FIRST ENGROSSMENT [REVISOR ] JK §2273-1

to the end of the offender's registration period.
(c) If a person required to register under this section is

subsequently incarcerated following a conviction for a new

offense or following a revocation of probation, supervised

release, or conditional release for that any offensey-er-a
convietion-for-any-new-offense, the person shall continue to
register until ten years have elapsed since the person was last
released from incarceration'or until the person's probation,
supervised release, or conditional release period expires,
whichever occurs later.

(d) A person shall continue to comply with this section for
the life of that person: |

(1) if the person is convicted of or adjudicated delinquent
for any offense for which reéistration is required under
subdivision * 1lb, or any offense from another state or any
federal offense similar to the offenses described in subdivision
* 1b, and the person has a prior conviction or adjudication for
an offense for which registration was or would have been
required under subdivision * lb, or an offense from another
state or a federal offense similar to an offense described in
sﬁbdivision ¥ 1lb;

(2) if the person is required to register based upon a
conviction or delinquency adjudication for an offense under
section 609.185, clause (2), or a similar statute from another
state or the United States;

(3) if the person is required to register based upon a
conviction for an offense under section 609.342, subdivision 1,
paragraph (a), (c¢), (d), (e), (£), or (h); 609.343, subdivision
1, paragraph (a), (c¢), (d), (e), (£), or (h); 609.344,
subdivision 1, paragraph (a), (c), or (g); or 609.345,
subdivision 1, paragraph (a), (c), or (g); or a statute from
another state or the United States similar to the offenses
described in this clause; or

(4) if the person is required to register under subdivision
* 1b, paragraph (c), following commitment pursuant to a court

commitment under section 253B.185 or a similar law of another
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state or the United States.

Subd. 7. [USE OF INFORMATION.] Except as otherwise
provided in subdivision 7a or sections 244.052 and 299C.093, the
information provided under this section is private data on
individuals under section 13.02, subdivision 12. The
information may be used only for law enforcement purposes.

Subd. 7a. [AVAILABILITY OF INFORMATION ON OFFENDERS WHO
ARE OUT OF COMPLIANCE WITH REGISTRATION LAW.] (a) The bureau ef
Eriminat-Apprehension may make information available to the
public about offenders who are 16 years of age or older and who
are out of compliance with this section for 30 days or longer
for failure to provide the address-ef-the offenders' primary or
secondary residences addresses. This information may be made
available to the public through électronic, computerized, or
other accessible means. The amount and type of information made
available shati-be is limited to the information necessary for
the public to assist law enforcement in locating the offender.

(b) An offender who comes into compliance with this section
after the bureau of-€riminai-Apprehension discloses information
about the offender to the public may send a written request to
the bureau requesting the bureau to treat information about the
offender as private data, consistent with subdivision 7. The
bureau shall review the request and promptly take reasonable
action to treat the data as private, if the offender has
complied with the requirement that the bffender provide the
addresses-of the offender's primary and secondary
residences addresses, or promptly notify the offender that the
information will continu§ to be treated as public information
and the reasons for the bureau's decision.

(c) If an offender believes the information made public

about the offender is inaccurate or incomplete, the offender may

‘challenge the data under section 13.04, subdivision 4.

(d) The bureau of-€riminal-Apprehension is immune from any
civil or criminal liability that might otherwise arise, based on
the accuracy or completeness of any information made public

under this subdivision, if the bureau acts in good faith.
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1 Subd<-8+-—{hAW-ENPORCEMENT-AUTHORIF¥-}-For-purposes-of-this
2 seectiony-a-law-enforcement-authority-meansy-with-respeet-to-a

3 heme-rule-charter—-or-statutory-cityy-the-chief-of-poticery-and

4 with-respect-te-an-uninecorporated-areay;-the-sheriff-of-the

5 eountys

6 Subd. 9. [OFFENDERS FROM OTHER STATES.] When the state

7 accepts an offender from another state under a reciprocal

8 agreement under the interstate compact authorized by section

9 243.16 or 243.1605, or under any authorized interstate

10 agreement, the acceptance is conditional on the offender
11 agreeing to register under this section when the offender is
12 1living in Minnesota.

13 Subd. 10. [VENUE; AGGREGATION.] (a) A violation of this

14 section may be prosecuted in any jurisdiction where an offense

15 takes place. However, the prosecutorial agency in the

16 Jjurisdiction where the person last registered a primary address

17 is initially responsible to review the case for prosecution.

18 (b) When a person commits two or more offenses in two or

19 more counties, the accused may be prosecuted.for all of the

20 offenses in any county in which one of the offenses was

21 committed.

22 Subd. 11. [CERTIFIED COPIES AS EVIDENCE.] Certified copies

23 of predatory offender registration records are admissible as

24 substantive evidence when necessary to prove the commission of a

25 wviolation of this section.

26 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005,

27 and applies to persons subject to predatory offender

28 registration on or after that date.

29 ‘Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 243.167, is
30 amended to read:

31 243.167 [REGISTRATION UNDER THE PREDATORY OFFENDER

32 REGISTRATION LAW FOR OTHEﬁ OFFENSES. ]

33 Subdivision 1. [DEFINITION.] As used in this section,
34 "“"crime against the person" means a violation of any of the
35 following or a similar law of another state or of the United

36 States: section 609.165; 609.185; 609.19; 609.195; 609.20;
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609.205; 609.221; 609.222; 609.223; 609.2231; 609.224,
subdivision 2 or 4; 609.2242, subdivision 2 or 4; 609.235;
609.245, subdivision 1l; 609.25; 609.255; 609.3451, subdivision
2; 609.498, subdivision 1; 609.582, subdivision 1; or 617.23,
subdivision 2{ or any felony-level violation of section 609.229;
609.377; 609.749; or 624.713.

Subd. 2. [WHEN REQUIRED.] (a) In addition to the
requirements of section 243.166, a person also shall register
under section 243.166 if:

(1) the person is convicted of a crime against the person;
and

(2) the person was previously convicted of or adjudicated
delinquent for an offense listed in section 243.166, subdivisien
I7-paragraph-ta¥y but was not required to register for the
offense because the registration requirements of that section
did not apply to the person at the time the offense was
committed or at the time the person was released from
imprisonment.

(b) A person who was previously required to register under

section-243+166 in any state and who has completed the

registration requirements of that seetieon state shall again
register under section 243.166 if the person commits a crime
against the person.

[EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005,

and applies to crimes committed on or after that date.

Sec. 3. [243.95] [REPORT ON COMMUNITY CORRECTIONAL
SUPERVISION. ]

By January 15 of each year, the commissioner of corrections

shall report to the chairs of the senate and house committees

having jurisdiction over criminal justice policy on the number,

geographic location, and aggregate and average caseloads for

each caseload type of risk level II and risk level III sex

offender residing in the state for the preceding calendar year.

In addition, the commissioner shall provide this information for

all other types of offenders. The commissioner shall compile

and include in the report comparative historical data for the
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five calendar years preceding the year included in the report.

Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 244.052,
subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. [END-OF-CONFINEMENT REVIEW COMMITTEE.] (a) The
commissioner of corrections shall establish and administer
end-of-confinement review committees at each state correctional
facility and at each state treatment facility where predatory
offenders are confined. The committees shall assess on a
case-by-case basis the public risk posed by predatory offenders
who are about to be released from confinement.

(b) Each committee shall be a standing committee and shall
consist of the following members appointed by the commissioner:

(1) the chief executive officer or head of the correctional
or treatment facility where the offender is currently confined,
or that person's designee;

(2) a law enforcement officer;

(3) a treatment professional who is trained in the
assessment of sex offenders;

(4) a caseworker experienced in supervising sex offenders;
and

(5) a victim's services professional.

Members of the committee, other than the facility's chief
executive officer or head, shall be appointed.by the
commissioner to two-year terms. The chief executive officer or
head of the facility or designee shall act as chair of the
committee and shall use the facility's staff, as needed, to
administer the committee, obtain necessary information from
outside sources, and prepare risk assessment reports on
offenders.

(c) The committee shall have access to the following data
on a predatory offender only for the purposes of its assessment
and to defend the committee's risk assessment determination upon
administrative review under this section:

(1) private medical data under section 13.384 or 144.335,
or welfare data under section 13.46 that relate to medical

treatment of the offender;
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(2) private and confidential court services data under
section 13.84;

(3) private and confidential corrections data under section
13.85; and

(4) private criminal history data under section 13.87.

Data collected and maintained by the committee under this
paragraph may not be disclosed outside the committee, except as
provided under section 13.05, subdivision 3 or 4. The predatory
offender has access to data on the offender collected and
maintained by the committee, unless the data are confidential
data received under this paragraph.

(d) (i) Except as otherwise provided in item (ii), at least
90 days before a predatory offender is to be released from
confinemenf, the commissioner of corrections shall convene the
appropriate end-of-confinement review committee for the purpose
of assessing the risk presented by the offender and defermining
the risk level to which the offender shall be assigned under
paragraph (e). The offender and the law enforcement agency that
was responsible for the charge resulting in confinement shall be
notified of the time and piace of the committee's meeting. The
offender has a right to be present and be heard at the meeting.
The law enforcement agency may provide material in writing that
is relevant to the offender's risk level to the chair of the
committee. The committee shall use the risk factors described
in paragraph (g) and the risk assessment scale developed under
subdivision 2 to determine the offender's risk assessment score
and risk level. Offenders scheduled for release from
confinement shall be aésessed by the committee established at
the facility from which the offender is to be released.

(ii) If an offender is received for confinement in a
facility with less than 90 days remaining in the offender's term
of confinement, the offender's risk shall be assessed at the
first regularly scheduled end of confinement review committee

that convenes after the appropriate documentation for the risk

" assessment is assembled by the committee. The commissioner

shall make reasonable efforts to ensure that offender's risk is
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assessed and a risk level is assigned or reassigned at least 30
days before the offender's release date.

(e) The committee shall assign to risk level I a predatory
offender whose risk assessment score indicates a low risk of
reoffense. The committee shall assign to risk level II an
offender whose risk assessment score indicates a moderate risk
of reoffense. The committee shall assign to risk level III an
offender whose risk assessment score indicates a high risk of
reoffense.

(f£) Before the predatory offender is released from
confinement, the committee shall prepare a risk assessment
report which specifies the risk level to which the offender has
been assigned and the reasons underlying the committee's risk
assessment decision. The committee shall give the report to the
offender and to the law enforcement agency at least 60 days
before an offender is released from confinement. If the risk
assessment is performed under the circumstances described in
paragraph (d), item (ii), the report shall be given to the
offender and the law enforcement agency as soon as it is
available. The committee also shall inform the offender of the
availability of review under subdivision 6.

(g) As used in this subdivision, "risk factors" includes,
but is not limited to; the following factors:

(1) the seriousness of the offense should the offender
reoffend. This factor includes consideration of the following:

(i) the degree of likely force or harm;

(ii) the degree of likely physical contact; and

(iii) the age of the likely victim;

(2) the offender's prior offense history. This factor
includes consideration of the following:

(i) the relationship of prior victims to the offender;

(ii) the number of prior offenses or victims;

(iii) the duration of the offender's prior offense history;

(iv) the length of time since the offender's last prior
offense while the offender was at risk to commit offenses; and

(v) the offender's prior history of other antisocial acts:;
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(3) the offender's characteristics. This factor includes
consideration of the following:

(i) the offender's response to prior treatment efforts; and

(ii) the offender's history of substance abuse;

(4) the availability of community supports to the offender.
This factor includes consideration of the following:

(i) the availability and likelihood that the offender will
be involved in therapeutic treatment;

(ii) the availability of residential supports to the
offender, such as a stable and supervised living arrangement in
an appropriate location;

‘ (iii) the offender's familial and social relationships,
including the nature and length of these relationships and the
level of support that the offender may receive from these’
persons; and

(iv) the offender's lack of education or employment
stability;

(5) whether the offender has indicated or credible evidence
in the record indicates that the offender wiil reoffend if
released into the community; and

(6) whether the offender demonstrates a physical condition
that minimizes the risk of reoffense, including but not limited
to, advanced age or a debilitating illness or physical condition.

(h) Upon the request of the law enforcement agency or the
offender's corrections agent, the commissioner may reconvene the
end-of-confinement review committee for the purpose of
reasSessing the risk level to which an offender has been
assigned under paragraph (e). In a request for a reassessment,
the law enforcement agency which was responsible for the charge
resulting in confinement or agent shall list the facts and
circumstances arising after the initial assignment or facts and
circumstances known to law enforcement or the agent but not
considered by the committee under paragraph (e) which support
the request for a reassessment. The request for reassessment by
the law enforcement agency must occur within 30 days of receipt

of the report indicating the offender's risk level assignment.
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The offender's corrections agent, in consultation with the chief
law enforcement officer in the area where the offender resides
or intends to reside, may request a review of a risk level at
any time if substantial evidence exists that the offender's risk
level should be reviewed by an end-of-confinement review
committee. This evidence includes, but is not limited to,
evidence of treatment failures or completions, evidence of
exceptional crime-free community adjustment or lack of
appropriate adjustment, evidence of substantial community need
to know more about’the offender or mitigating circumstances that
would narrow the proposed scope of notification, or other
practical situations articulated and based in evidence of the
offender's behavior while under supervision. Uponireview of the
request, the end-of-confinement review committee may reassign an
offender to a different risk level. If the offender is
reassigned to a higher risk level, the offender has the riéht to
seek review of the committee's determination under subdivision 6.

(i) An offender may request the end-of-confinement review
committee to reassess the offender's assigned risk level after
three years have elapsed since the committee's initial risk
assessment and may renew the request once every two years
following subsequent denials. In a request for reassessment,
the offender shall list the facts and circumstances which
demonstrate that the offender no longer poses the same degree of
risk to the community. In order for a request for a risk level
reduction to be granted, the offender must demonstrate full
compliance with supervised release conditions, completion of
required post-release treatment programming, and full compliance
with all registration requirements as detailed in section
243.166. The offender must also not have been convicted of any
felony, gross misdemeanor, or misdemeanor offenses subsequent to
the assignment of the original risk level. The committee shall
follow the process outlined in paragraphs (a) to (c¢) in the
reassessment. An offender who is incarcerated may not request a
reassessment under this paragraph.

(j) Offenders returned to prison as release violators shall
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not have a right to a subsequent risk reassessment by the
end-of-confinement review committee unless substantial evidence
indicates that the offender's risk to the public has increased.
(k) The commissioner shall establish an end-of-confinement
review committee to assign a risk level to offenders who:
(1) are released from & any federal correctional facility

in-Minneseta or from any state correctional facility of another

state, and who intend to reside in Minnesotay—-and-te-effenders;
o .

(2) are accepted from another state under a reciprocal
agreement for parole supervision under the interstate compact

authorized by section 243.16 or 243.1605.

The committee shall make reasonable efforts to conform to the
same timelines as appliéd to Minnesota cases. Offenders
accepted from another state under a reciprocal agreement for
probation supervision are not assigned a risk level, but are
considered downward dispositional departures. The probation or
court services officer and law enforcement officer shall manage
such cases in accordance with section 244.10, subdivision 2a.
The policies and procedures of the committee for federal
offenders and interstate compact cases must be in accordance
with all requirements as set forth in this section, unless
restrictions caused by the nature of federal or interstate
transfers prevents such conformance.

(1) If the committee assigns a predatory offender to risk
level III, the committee shall determine whether residency
restrictions shall be included in the conditions of the
offender's release based on the offender's pattern of offending
behavior.

[EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005,

and applies to offenders entering the state, released from

confinement, subject to community notification, or sentenced on

or after that date.

Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 244.052, is
amended by adding a subdivision to read:

Subd. 3a. [OUT-OF-STATE OFFENDERS; NOTIFICATION
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AUTHORIZED.] (a) This subdivision applies to offenders who move

or have moved to Minnesota from other states and who:

(1) at the time of the move are subject to a community

notification statute similar to this section in the state from

which the offender is moving; and

(2) are not assigned a risk level under subdivision 3,

paragraph (k).

(b) The law enforcement agency in the area where an

offender described in paragraph (a) resides, expects to reside,

or is reqularly found, may disclose information regarding the

offender consistent with subdivision 4, paragraph (a). The

extent of the notification must be consistent with the

notification made about the offender in the state from which the

offender is moving or has moved. However, the extent of the

notification may not exceed that of a risk level II offender

under subdivision 4, paragraph (b), unless the requirements of

paragraph (c) have been met. Except as otherwise provided in

this subdivision and unless clearly inapplicable, the provisions

of subdivision 4 apply to notifications made under this

paragraph.

(c) If the notification made concerning the offender in the

state from which the offender is moving or has moved is broader

than that authorized for a risk level II offender under

subdivision 4, paragraph (b), and the agency wants to make a

broader disclosure, the agency may request the

end—-of-confinement review committee at the nearest state

correctional or treatment facility to assign a risk level to the

offender. The agency shall provide to the committee all

information concerning the offender's criminal history, the risk

the offender poses to the community, and other relevant

information. In addition, the committee shall attempt to obtain

other information relevant to determining which risk level to

assign the offender. Except as provided in this subdivision and

unless clearly inapplicable, the provisions of subdivision 3

govern the risk assessment under this paragraph. If the

committee assigns the offender to risk level III, the agency may
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disclose information in a manner consistent with a risk level

III offender under subdivision 4, paragraph (b).

[EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005,

and applies to offenders entering the state, released from

confinement, subject to community notification, or sentenced on

or after that date.

Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 244.052,
subdivisidn 4, is amended to read:

Subd. 4. [LAW ENFORCEMENT AGENCY; DISCLOSURE OF
INFORMATION TO PUBLIC.] (a) The law enforcement agency in the
area where the predatory offender resides, expects to reside, is
employed, or is regularly found, shall disclose to the public
any information regarding the offender contained in the report
forwarded to the agency under subdivision 3, paragraph (f), that
is relevant and necessary to protect the public and to
counteract the offender's dangerousness, consistent with the
guidelines in paragraph (b). The extent of the information
disclosed and the community to whom disclosure is made must
relate to the level of danger posed by the offender, to the
offender's pattern of offending behavior, and to the need of
community members for information to enhance their individual
and collective safety.

(b) The law enforcement agency shall employ the following
guidelines ih determining the scope of disclosure made under
this subdivision:

(1) if the offender is assigned to risk level I, the agency
may maintain information regarding the offender within the
agency and may disclose it to other law enforcement agencies.
Additionally, the agency may disclose the information to any
victims of or witnesses to the offense committed by the
offender. The agency shall disclose the information to victims
of the offense committed by the offender who have requested
disclosure and to adult members of‘the offender's immediate
household;

(2) if the offender is assigned to risk level II, the

agency also may disclose the information to agencies and groups
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that the offender is likely to encounter for the purpose of
securing those institutions and protecting individuals in their
care while they are on or near the premises of the institution.
These agencies and groups include the staff members of public
and private educational institutions, day care establishments,
and establishments and organizations that primarily serve
individuals likely to be victimized by the offender. The agency
also may disclose the information to individuals the agency
believes are likely to be victimized by the offender. The
agency's belief shall be based on the offender's pattern of
offending or victim preference as documented in the information
provided by the department of corrections or human services;

(3) if the offender is assigned to risk level III, the
agency shall disclose the idformation to the persons and
entities described in clauses (1) and (2) and to other members
of the community whom the offender is likely to encounter,
unless the law enforcement agency determines that public safety
would be compromised by the disclosure or that a more limited
disclosure is necessary to protect the identity of the victim.

Notwithstanding the assignment of a predatory offender to
risk level II or III, a law enforcement agency may not make the
disclosures permitted or required by clause (2)Vor (3), if: the
offender is placed or resides in a residential facility.
However, if an offender is placed or resides in a residential
facility, the offender and the head of the facility shall
designate the offender's likely residence upon release from the
facility and the head of the facility shall notify the
commissioner of corrections or the commissioner of human
services of the offender's likely residence at least 14 days
before the offender's scheduled release date. The commissioner
shall give this information to the law enforcement agency having
jurisdiction over the offender's likely residence. The head of
the residential facility also shall notify the commissioner of
corrections or human services within 48 hours after finalizing
the offender's approved relocation plan to a permanent

residence. Within five days after receiving this notification,
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the appropriate commissioner shall give to the appropriate law
enforcement agency all relevant information the commissioner has
concerning the offender, including information on the risk
factors in the offender's history and the risk level to which
the offender was assigned. After receiving this information,
the law enforcement agency shall make the disclosures permitted
or reduired by clause (2) or (3), as appropriate.

(c) As used in paragraph (b), clauses (2) and (3), "likely
to encounter" means that:

(1) the organizations or community members are in a
location or in close proximity to a location where the offender

lives or is employed, or which the offender visits or is likely

"to visit on a regular basis, other than the location of the

offender's outpatient treatment program; and

(2) the types of interaction which ordinarily occur at that
location and other circumstances indicate that contact with the
offender is reasonably certéin.

(d) A law enforcement agency or official who discloses
information under this subdivision shall make a good faith
effort to make the notification within 14 days of receipt of a
confirmed address from the Department of Corrections indicating
that the offender will be, or has been, released from
confinement, or accepted for supervision, or has moved to a new
address and will reside at the address indicated. If a change
occurs in the release plan, this notification provision does not
require an extension of the release date.

(e) A law enforcement agency or official who discloses

information under this subdivision shall not disclose the

identity or any identifying characteristics of the victims of or
witnesses to the offender's offenses.

(f) A law enforcement agency shall continue to disclose
information on an offender as required by this subdivision for
as long as the offender is required to register under section

243.166. This requirement on a law enforcement agency to

continue to disclose information also applies to an offender who

lacks a primary address and is registering under section
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243.166, subdivision 3a.

(g) A law enforcement agency that is disclosing information
on an offender assigned to risk level III to the public under
this subdivision shall inform the commissioner of corrections
what information is being disclosed and forward this information
to the commissioner within two days of the agency's
determination. The commissioner shall post this information on
the Internet as required in subdivision 4b.

(h) A city council may adopt a policy that addresses when
information disclosed under this subdivision must be presented
in languages in addition to English. The policy may address
when information must be presented orally, in writing, or both
in additional languages by the law enforcement agency disclosing
the information. The policy may provide for different
approaches based on the prevalence of non-English languages in
different neighborhoods.

[EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005,

and applies to offenders entering the state, released from

confinement, subject to community notification, or sentenced on

or after that date.

Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 244.10,
subdivision 2a, is amended to read:

Subd. 2a. [NOTICE OF INFORMATION REGARDING PREDATORY
OFFENDERS.] (a) Subject to paragraph (b), in any case in which a
person is convicted of an offense and the presumptive sentence
under the Sentencing Guidelines is commitment to the custody of
the commissioner of corrections, if the court grants a
dispositional departure and stays imposition or execution of
sentence, the probation or court services officer who is
assigned to supervise the offender shall provide in writing to
the following the fact that the offender is on probation and the
terms and conditions of probation:

(1) a victim of and any witnesses to the offense committed
by the offender, if the victim or the witness has requested
notice; and |

(2) the chief law enforcement officer in the area where the
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offender resides or intends to reside.

The law enforcement officer, in consultation with the
offender's probation officer, may provide all or part of this
information to any of the following agencies or groups the
offender is likely to encounter: public and private educational
institutions, day care establishments, and establishments or

organizations that primarily serve individuals likely to be

victimized by the offender. The law enforcement officer, in

consultation with the offender's probation officer, also may

disclose the information to individuals the officer believes are

likely to be victimized by the offender. The officer's belief

shall be based on the offender's pattern of offending or victim

preference as documented in the information provided by the

Department of Corrections or Department of Human Services.

The probation officer is not required under this
subdivision to provide any notice while the offender'is placed
or resides in a residential facility that is licensed under
section 245A.02, subdivision 14, or 241.021, if the facility
staff is trained in the supervision of sex offenders.

(b) Paragraph (a) applies only to offenders required to
register under section 243.166, as a result of the conviction.

(c) The notice authorized by paragraph (a) shall be limited
to data classified as public under section 13.84, subdivision 6,
unless the offenaer provides informed consent to authorize the
release of nonpublic data or unless a court order authorizes the
release of nonpublic data.

(d) Nothing in this subdivision shall be interpreted to
impose a duty on any person to use any information regarding an
offender about whom notification is made under this subdivision.

[EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005,

and applies to offenders entering the state, released from

confinement, subject to community notification, or sentenced on

or after that date.

Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 253B.18,
subdivision 5, is amended to read:

Subd. 5. [PETITION; NOTICE OF HEARING; ATTENDANCE; ORDER. ]
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1 (a) A petition for an order of transfer, discharge, provisional
2 discharge, or revocation of provisional discharge shall be filed
3 with the commissioner and may be filed by the patient or by the
4 head of the treatment facility. A patient may not petition the
5 special review board for six months following commitment under
6 subdivision 3 or following the final disposition of any previous
7 petition and subsequent appeal by the patient. The medical
8 director may petition at any time.~
9 (b) Fourteen days prior to the hearing, the committing
10 court, the county attorney of the county of commitment, the
11 designated agency, interested person, the petitioner, and the
12 petitionef's counsel shall be given written notice by the
13 commissioner of the time and place of the hearing before the
14 special review board. Only those entitled to statutory notice
15 of the hearing or those administratively required to attend may
16 be present at the hearing. The patient may designate interested
17 persons to receive notice by providing the names and addresses
18 to the commissioner at least 21 days before the hearing. The
19 board shall provide the commissioner with written findings of
20 fact and recommendations within 21 days of the hearing. The
21 commissioner shall issue an order no later than 14 days after
22 receiving the recommendation of the special review board. A
23 copy of the order shall be sent by certified mail to every
24 person entitled to statutory notice of the hearing within five
25 days after it is signed. No order by the commissioner shall be
26 effective sooner than 30 days after the order is signed, unless
27 the county attorney, the patient, and the commissioner agree
28 that it may become effective sooner.
29 (c) The special review board shall hold a hearing on each
30 petition prior to making its recommendation to the
31 commissioner. The special review board proceedings are not
32 contested cases as defined in chapter 14. Any person or agency
33 receiving notice that submits documentary evidence to the
34 special review board prior to the hearing shall also provide
35 copies to the patient, the patient's counsel, the county

36 attorney of the county of commitment, the case manager, and the
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commissioner.

(d) Prior to the final decision by the commissioner, the
special review board may be reconvened to consider events or
circumstances that occurred subsequent to the hearing.

(e) In making their recommendations and order, the special

review board and commissioner must consider any statements

received from victims under subdivision 5a.

[EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005.

Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 253B.18, is
amended by adding a subdivision to read:
Subd. 5a. [VICTIM NOTIFICATION OF PETITION AND RELEASE;

RIGHT TO SUBMIT STATEMENT.] (a) As used in this subdivision:

(1) "crime" has the meaning given to "violent crime" in

section 609.1095, and includes criminal sexual conduct in the

fifth degree and offenses within the definition of "crime

against the person" in section 253B.02, subdivision 4a, and also

includes offenses listed in section 253B.02, subdivision 7a,

paragraph (b), regardless of whether they are sexually

motivated;

(2) "victim" means a person who has incurred loss or harm

as a result of a crime the behavior for which forms the basis

for a commitment under this section or section 253B.185; and

(3) "convicted" and "conviction" have the meanings given in

section 609.02, subdivision 5, and also include juvenile court

adjudications, findings under Minnesota Rules of Criminal

Procedure, Rule 20.02, that the elements of a crime have been

proved, and findings in commitment cases under this section or

section 253B.185 that an act or acts constituting a crime

occurred.

(b) A county attorney who files a petition to commit a

person under this section or section 253B.185 shall make a

reasonable effort to provide prompt notice of filing the

petition to any victim of a crime for which the person was

convicted. In addition, the county attorney shall make a

reasonable effort to promptly notify the victim of the

resolution of the petition.

Article 3 Section 9 63




10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
32
33
34
35
36

SF2273 FIRST ENGROSSMENT [REVISOR ] JK §2273-1

(c) Before provisionally discharging, discharging, granting

pass—eligible status, approving a pass plan, or otherwise

permanently or temporarily releasing a person committed under

this section or section 253B.185 from a treatment facility, the

head of the treatment facility shall make a reasonable effort to

notify any victim of a crime for which the person was convicted

that the person may be discharged or released and that the

victim has a right to submit a written statement regarding

decisions of the medical director, special review board, or

commissioner with respect to the person. To the extent

possible, the notice must be provided at least 14 days before

any special review board hearing or before a determination on a

pass plan.

(d) This subdivision applies only to victims who have

requested notification by contacting, in writing, the county

attorney in the county where the conviction for the crime

occurred. A county attorney who receives a request for

notification under this paragraph shall promptly forward the

request to the commissioner of human services.

(e) The rights under this subdivision are in addition to

rights available to a victim under chapter 611A. This provision

does not give a victim all the rights of a "notified person" or

a person "entitled to statutory notice" under subdivision 4a,

4b, or 5.

[EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005.

Sec. 10. [609.3456] [USE OF POLYGRAPHS FOR SEX OFFENDERS
ON PROBATION OR CONDITIONAL RELEASE. ]

(a) A court may order as an intermediate sanction under

section 609.135 and the commissioner of corrections may order as

a condition of release under section 244.05 or 609.3455 that an

offender under supervision for a sex offense submit to

polygraphic examinations to ensure compliance with the terms of

probation or conditions of release.

(b) The court or commissioner may order the offender to pay

all or a portion of the costs of the examinations. The fee may

be waived if the offender is indigent or if payment would result
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in an economic hardship to the offender's immediate family.

[EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective the day

following final enactment.

Sec. 11. [PROTOCOL ON USE OF POLYGRAPHS. ]

By September 1, 2005, the chief justice of the Supreme

Court, in consultation with the Conference of Chief Judges, is

requested to develop a protocol for the use of polygraphic

examinations for sex offenders placed on probation under

Minnesota Statutes, section 609.3456. This protocol shall be

distributed to judges across the state.

[EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective the day

following final enactment.

Sec. 12. [SUPREME COURT STUDY ON SEXUALLY DANGEROUS PERSON
AND SEXUAL PSYCHOPATHIC PERSONALITY CIVIL COMMITMENTS. ]

Subdivision 1. [ESTABLISHMENT.] The Supreme Court is

requested to study the following related to the civil commitment

of sexually dangerous persons and sexual psychopathic

personalities under Minnesota Statutes, section 253B.185:

(1) the development and use of a statewide panel of defense

attorneys to represent those persons after a commitment petition

is filed; and

‘(2) the development and use of a statewide panel of judges

to hear these petitions.

Subd. 2. [REPORT.] The Supreme Court shall report its

findings and recommendations to the chairs and ranking minority

members of the house of representatives and senate committees

and divisions having jurisdiction over criminal justice and

civil law policy and funding by February 1, 2006.

[EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective the day

following final enactment.

‘Sec. 13. [REPORT ON SEX OFFENDERS BEING RELEASED FROM
PRISON. ]

By January 15, 2006, the commissioner of corrections shall

report to the chairs and ranking minority members of the senate

and house committees and divisions having jurisdiction over

criminal justice policy and funding on the release of sex

Article 3 Section 13 65




o

10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
32
33
34
35
36

SF2273 FIRST ENGROSSMENT [REVISOR ] JK S2273-1

offenders from prison. The report must include information on

the number of offenders that the commissioner estimates will be

released each year for the next five years, recommendations on

how best to supervise these offenders, and recommendations on

how best to fund this supervision.

Sec. 14. [REVISOR INSTRUCTION. ]

The revisor of statutes shall change all references to

section 243.166, subdivision 1, in Minnesota Statutes to section

243.166. In addition, the revisor shall make other technical

changes necessitated by this article.

[EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005.

Sec. 15. [REPEALER.]

Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 243.166, subdivisions 1

and 8, are repealed.

[EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005.
ARTICLE 4 '
LEGISLATIVE AUDITOR'S RECOMMENDED CHANGES
Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 241.06, is
amended to read:
241.06 [RECORD OF INMATES; DEPARTMENT OF CORRECTIONS. ]

Subdivision 1. [GENERAL.] The commissioner of corrections

shall keep in the commissioner's office, accessible only by the
commissioner's consent or on the order of a judge or court of
record, a record showing the residence, sex, age, nativity,
occupation, civil condition, and date of entrance or commitment
of every person, inmate, or convict in the facilities under the
commissioner's exclusive control, the date of discharge and
whether such discharge was final, the condition of such person
when the person left the facility, and the date and cause of all
deaths. The records shall state every transfer from one
facility to another, naming each. This information shall be
furnished to the commissioner of corrections by each facility,
with such other obtainable facts as the commisSioper may from
time to time require. The chief executive officer of each such
facility, within ten days after the commitment or entrance

thereto of a person, inmate, or convict, shall cause a true copy
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of the entrance record to be forwarded to the commissioner of
corrections. When a person, inmate, or convict leaves, 'is
discharged or transferred, or dies in any facility, the chief
executive officer, or other person in charge shall inform the
commissioner of corrections within ten days thereafter on forms
furnished by the commissioner.

The commissioner of corrections may authorize the chief
executive officer of any faqility under the commissioner's
control to release to probation officers, local social services
agencies or other specifically designated interested persons or
agencies any information regarding any person, inmate, or
convict thereat, if, in the opinion of the commissioner, it will .
be for the benefit of the person, inmate, or convict.

Subd. 2. [SEX OFFENDER'INFORMATION PROVIDED TO SUPERVISING

CORRECTIONS AGENCY.] When an offender who is required to

register as a predatory offender under section 243.166 is being

released from prison, the commissioner shall providé to the

corrections agency that will supervise the offender, the

offender's prison records relating to psychological assessments,

medical and mental health issues, and treatment.

[EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005.

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 241.67,
subdivision 7, is amended to read:

Subd. 7. [FUNDING PRIORITY; PROGRAM EFFECTIVENESS.] (a)
Unless otherwise directed by the terms of a particular
appropriations provision, the commissioner shall give priority
to the funding of juvenile sex offender programs over the
funding of adult sex offender programs.

(b) Every couhty or private sex offender program that-seeks
new-or-continued-state-funding-or-reimbursement shall provide
the commissioner with any information relating to the program’'s
effectiveness that the commissioner considers necessary. The
commissioner shall deny state fundihg or reimbursement to any
county or private program that fails to provide this information
or that appears to be an ineffective program.

[EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005.
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Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 241.67,
subdivision 8, is amended to read:

Subd. 8. [COMMUNITY-BASED SEX OFFENDER PROGRAM EVALUATION

PRBJFEEFP.] (a) For the purposes of this prejeet subdivision, a

sex offender is an adult who has been convicted, or a juvenile
who has been adjudicated, for a sex offense or a sex-related
offense which would require registration under section 243.166.
(b) The commissioner shall éeve&ep—a—ieng—term—project-to
accomptish-the-fottowing:
(1) previde collect follow-up information on each sex
offender for a period of three years following the offender's

completion of or termination from treatment for the purpose of

providing periodic reports to the legislature;

(2) provide treatment programs in several geographical
areas in the state;

(3) provide the necessary data to form the basis to
recommend a fiscally sound plan to provide a coordinated
statewide system of effective sex offender treatment
programming; and

(4) provide an opportunity to local and regional
governments, agencies, and programs to establish models of sex
offender programs that are suited to the needs of that region.

(c) Thg commissioner shall establish an advisory task force
consisting of county probation officers from Community
Corrections Act counties and other counties, court services
providers, and other interested officials. The commissioner
shall consult with the task force conecerning-the-establishment

and-operation-of-the-prejeet on how best to implement the

requirements of this subdivision.

[EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005.

Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 243.166, is
amended by adding a subdivision to read:
Subd. 4b. [HEALTH CARE FACILITY; NOTICE OF STATUS.] (a) As

used in this subdivision, "health care facility" means a

hospital or other entity licensed under sections 144.50 to

144.58, a nursing home licensed to serve adults under section
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144A.02, or a group residential housing facility or an

intermediate care facility for the mentally retarded licensed

under chapter 245A.

(b) Upon admittance to a health care facility, a person

required to register under this section shall disclose to:

(1) the health care facility employee processing the

admission the person's status as a registered predatory offender

under this section; and

(2) the person's corrections agent, or if the person does

not have an assigned corrections agent, the law enforcement

authority with whom the person is currently required to

register, that inpatient admission has occurred.

(c) A law enforcement authority or corrections agent who

receives notice under paragraph (b) or who knows that a person

required to register under this section has been admitted and is

receiving health care at a health care facility shall notify the

administrator of the facility.

[EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective Augqust 1, 2005,

and applies to persons who are subject to predatory offender

registration on or after that date.

Sec. 5. [244.056] [SEX OFFENDER SEEKING HOUSING IN
JURISDICTION OF DIFFERENT CORRECTIONS AGENCY. ]

If a corrections agency supervising an offender who is

required to register as a predatory offender under section

243.166 and who is classified by the department as a public risk

monitoring case has knowledge that the offender is seeking

housing arrangements in a location under ‘the jurisdiction of

another corrections agency, the agency shall notify the other

agency of this and initiate a supervision transfer request.

[EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective Augqust 1, 2005.

Sec. 6. [244.057] [PLACEMENT OF SEX OFFENDER IN HOUSEHOLD

WITH CHILDREN. ]

A corrections agency supervising an offender required to

register as a predatory offender under section 243.166 shall

notify the appropriate child protection agency before

authorizing the offender to live in a household where children
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are residing.

[EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005.

Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 609.3452,
subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. [ASSESSMENT REQUIRED.] When a person is,
convicted of a sex offense, the court shall order an independent

professional assessment of the offender's need for sex offender

treatment to be completed before sentencing. The court may
waive the assessment if: (1) the Sentencing Guidelines provide
a presumptive prison sentence for the offender, or (2) an |
adequate assessment was conducted prior to the conviction. An
assessor providing an assessment for the court must be
experienced in the evaluation and treatment of sex offenders.

[EFFECTIVE DATE.] This éection is effective August 1, 2005,

Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 626.556,
subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. [PERSONS MANDATED TO REPORT.] (a) A person who
knows or has reason to believe a child is being neglected or
physically or sexually abused, as defined in subdivision 2, or
has been neglected or physically or sexually abused within the
preceding three years, shall immediately report the information
to the local welfare agency, agency responsible for assessing or
investigating the report, police department,'or the county
sheriff if the person is:

(1) a professional or professional's delegate who is
engaged in the practice of the healing arts, social services,
hospital administration, psychological or psychiatric treatment,

child care, education, correctional supervision, or law

enforcement; or

(2) employed as a member of the clergy and received the
information while engaged in ministerial duties, provided that a
member of the clergy is not required by this subdivision to
report information that is otherwise privileged under section
595.02, subdivision 1, paragraph (c).

The police department or the county sheriff, upon receiving

a report, shall immediately notify the local welfare agency or
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1 agency responsible for assessing or investigating the report,

WA orally and in writing. The local welfare agency, or agency
responsible for assessing or investigating the report, upon

4 receiving a report, shall immediately notify the local police

5 department or the county sheriff orally and in writing. The

county sheriff and the head of every local welfare agency,

agency responsible for assessing or investigating reports, and

0 N o

police department shall each designate a person within their

9 agency, department, or office who is responsible for ensuring
10 that the notification duties of this paragraph and paragraph (b)
11 are carried out. Nothing in this subdivision shall be construed
12 to require more than one report from any institution, facility,
school, or agency.
14 : (b) Any person may voluntarily report to the local welfare
15 agency, agency responsible for assessing or investigating the
16 report, police department, or the county sheriff if the person
17 knows, has reason to believe, or suspects a child is being or
18 has been neglected or subjected to physical or sexual abuse.
19 The police department or the county sheriff,‘upon receiving a
20 report, shall immediately notify the local welfare agency or

21 agency responsible for assessing or investigating the report,
22 orally and in writing. The local welfare agency or agency

- responsible for assessing or investigating the report, upon

receiving a report, shall immediately notify the local police

25 department or the county sheriff orally and in writing.

26 (c) A person mandated to report physical or sexual child
27 abuse or neglect occurring within a licensed facility shall

28 report the information to the agency responsible for licensing
29 the facility under sections 144.50 to 144.58; 241.021; 245A.01
30 to 245A.16; or chapter 245B; or a nonlicensed personal care

31 provider organization as defined in sections 256B.04,

32 subdivision 16; and 256B.0625, subdivision 19. A health or

33 .corrections agency receiving a report may request the local

- welfare agency to provide assistance pursuant to subdivisions
55 10, 10a, and 10b. A board or other entity whose licensees

36 perform work within a school facility, upon receiving a
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comélaint of alleged maltreatment, shall provide information
about the circumstances of the alleged maltreatment to the
commissioner of education. Section 13.03, subdivision 4,
applies to data received by the commissioner of education from a
licensing entity.

(d) Any person mandated to report shall receive a summary
of the’disposition of any report made by that reporter,
including whether the case has been opened for child protection
or other services, or if a referral has been made to a community
organization, unless release would be detrimental to the best
interests of the child. Any person who is not mandated to
report shall, upon request to the local welfare agency, receive
a concise summary of the disposition of any report made by that
reporter, unless release would be detrimental to the best
interests of the child.

(e) For purposes of this subdivision, "immediately" means
as soon as possible but in no event longer than 24 hours.

[EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective Augqust 1, 2005.

Sec. 9. [WORKING GROUP ON SEX OFFENDER MANAGEMENT. ]

Subdivision 1. [WORKING GROUP ESTABLISHED.] The

commissioner of corrections shall convene a working group of

individuals knowledgeable in the supervision and treatment of

sex offenders. The group must include individuals from both

inside and outside of the Department of Corrections. The

commissioner shall ensure broad representation in the group,

including representatives from all three probation systems and

from diverse parts of the state. The working group shall study

and make recommendations on the issues listed in this section.

To the degree feasible, the group shall consider how these

issues are addressed in other states.

Subd. 2. [ISSUES TO BE STUDIED.] The working group shall

review and make recommendations on:

(1) statewide standards regarding the minimum frequency of

in-person contacts between sex offenders and their correctional

agents, including, but not limited to, home visits;

(2) a model set of special conditions of sex offender
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supervision that can be used by courts and corrections agencies

throughout Minnesota;

(3) statewide standards regarding the documentation by

correctional agents of their supervision activities;

(4) standards to provide corrections agencies with guidance

regarding sex offender assessment practices;

(5) policies that encourage sentencing conditions and

prison release plans to clearly distinguish between sex offender

treatment programs and other types of programs and services and

to clearly specify which type of program the offender is

required to complete;

(6) ways to improve the Department of Corrections' prison

release planning practices for sex offenders, including sex

offenders with chemical dependency needs or mental health needs;

(7) methods and timetables for periodic external reviews of

sex offender supervision practices;

(8) statewide standards for the use of polygraphs by

corrections agencies and sex offender treatment programs;

(9) statewide standards specifying basic program elements

for community-based sex offender treatment programs, including,

but not limited to, staff qualifications, case planning, use of

polygraphs, and progress reports prepared for supervising

agencies;

(10) a statewide protocol on the sharing of sex offender

information between corrections agencies and child protection

agencies in situations where offenders are placed in households

where children reside:

(11) best practices for supervising sex offenders such as

intensive supervised release, specialized caseloads, and other

innovative methods, ideal caseload sizes for supervising agents,

and methods to implement this in a manner that does not

negatively impact the supervision of other types of offenders;

and

(12) any other issues related to sex offender treatment and

management that the working group deems appropriate.

Subd. 3. [REVIEW OF NEW LAWS.] The working group shall
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also review the provisions of any laws enacted in 2005 relating

to sex offender supervision and treatment. The group shall make

recommendations on whether any changes to these provisions

should be considered by the legislature.

Subd. 4. [REPORT.] By February 15, 2006, the working group

shall report its recommendations to the chairs and ranking

minority members of the senate and house committees having

jurisdiction over criminal justice policy.

Subd. 5. [POLICIES REQUIRED.] After considering the

recommendations of the working group, the commissioner of

corrections shall implement policies and standards relating to

the issues described in subdivision 2 over which the

commissioner has jurisdiction.

[EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective the day

following final enactment.

Sec. 10. [PRISON-BASED SEX OFFENDER TREATMENT PROGRAMS;

REPORT. ]

By February 15, 2006, the commissioner of corrections shall

report to the chairs and ranking minority members of the senate

and house committees having jurisdiction over criminal justice

policy on prison-based sex offender treatment programs. The

report must:

(1) examine options for increasing the number of inmates

participating in these programs;

(2) examine the adequaéy of funding for these programs;

(3) examine options for treating inmates who have limited

periods of time remaining in their terms of imprisonment;

(4) examine the merits and limitations of extending an

inmate's term of imprisonment for refusing to participate in

treatment; and

(5) examine any other related issues deemed relevant by the

commissioner.

ARTICLE 5
SEX OFFENDERS:
TECHNICAL AND CONFORMING CHANGES

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 14.03,
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subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. [RULEMAKING PROCEDURES.] (a) The definition of a
rule in section 14.02, subdivision 4, does not include:

(1) rules concerning only the internal management of the
agency or other agencies that do not directly affect the rights
of or procedures available to the public;

(2) an application deadline on a form; and the remainder of
a form and instructions for use of the form to the extent that
they do not impose substantive requirements other than
requirements contained in statute or rule;

(3) the curriculum adopted by an agency to implement a
statute or rule permittihg or mandating minimum educational
requirements for persons regulated by an agency, provided the
topic areas to be covered by the minimum educational
requirements are specified in statute or rule;

(4) procedures for sharing data among government agencies,
provided these procedures are consistent with chapter 13 and
other law governing data practices.

(b) The definition of a rule in section 14.02, subdivision
4, does not include:

(1) rules of the commissioner of corrections relating to
the release, placement, term, and supervision of‘inmates serving

a supervised release or conditional release term, the internal

management of institutions under the commissioner's control, and
rules adopted under section 609.105 governing the inmates of
those institutions;

(2) rules relating to weight limitations on the use of
highways when the substance of the rules is indicated to the
public by means of signs;

(3) opinions of the attorney general;

(4) the data element dictionary and the annual data
acquisition calendar of the Department of Education to the
extent provided by section 125B.07;

(5) the occupational safety and health standards provided
in section 182.655;

(6) revenue notices and tax information bulletins of the
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commissioner of revenue;

(7) uniform conveyancing forms adopted by the commissioner
of commerce under section 507.09; or

(8) the interpretive guidelines developed by the
commissioner of human services to the extent provided in chapter
245A.

[EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005,

and applies to crimes committed on or after that date.

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 244.05,
subdivision 7, is amended to read:

Subd. 7. [SEX OFFENDERS; CIVIL COMMITMENT DETERMINATION. ]
(a) Before the commissioner releases from prison any inmate

convicted under seetiens section 609.342 #e, 609.343, 609.344,

609.345, or 609.3453, or sentenced as a patterned offender under

section 609.108, and determined by the commissioner to be in a
high risk category, the commissioner shall make a preliminary
determination whether, in the commissioner's opinion, a petition
under section 253B.185 may be appropriate.

(b) In making this decision, the commissioner shall have
access to the following data only for the purposes of the
assessment and referral decision:

(1) private medical data under section 13.384 or 144.335,
or welfare data under section 13.46 that relate to medical
treatment of the offender:

(2).private and confidential court services data under
section 13.84;

(3) private and confidential corrections data under section
13.85; and

(4) private criminal history data under section 13.87.

(c) If the commissioner determines that a petition may be
appropriate, the commissioner shall forward this determination,
along with a summary of the reasons for the determination, to
the county attorney in the county where the inmate was convicted
no later than 12 months before the inmate's release date. If
the inmate is received for incarceration with fewer than 12 S

months remaining in the inmate's term of imprisonment, or if the
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commissioner receives additional information less than 12 months
before release which makes the inmate's case appropriate for
referral, the commissioner shall forward the determination as
soon as is practicable. Upon receiving the commissioner's
preliminary determination, the county attorney shall proceed in
the manner provided in section 253B.185. The commissioner shall
release to the county attorney all requested documentation
maintained by the department.

[EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective August 1, 2005,

and applies to crimes committed on or after that date.

Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 244.052,
subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. [END-OF-CONFINEMENT REVIEW COMMITTEE.] (a) The
commissioner of corrections shall establish and administer
end-of-confinement review committees at each state correctional
facility and at each state treatment facility where pfedatory
offenders are confined. The committees shall assess on a
case-by-case basis the public risk posed by predatory offenders
who are about to be released from confinement.

(b) Each(committee shall be a standing committee and shall
consist of the following members appointed by the commissioner:

(1) the chief executive officer or head of the correctionai
or treatment facility where the offender is currently confined,
or that person's designee;

(2) a law enforcement officer;

(3) a treatment professional who is trained in the
assessment of sex offenders;

(4) a caseworker experienced in supervising sex offenders;
and

(5) a victim's services professional.

Members of the committee, other than the facility's chief
executive officer or head, shall be appointed by the
commissioner to two-year terms. The chief executive officer or
head of the facility or designee shall act as chair of the
committee and shall use the facility's staff, as needed, to

administer the committee, obtain necessary information from
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outside sources, and prepare risk assessment reports on
offenders.

(c) The committee shall have access to the following data
on a predatory offender only for the purposes of its assessment
and to defend the committee's risk assessment determination upon
administrative review under this éection:

(1) private medical data under section 13.384 or 144.335,
or welfare data under section 13.46 that relate to medical
treatment of the offender;

(2) private and confidential court services data under
section 13.84;

(3) private and confidential corrections data under section
13.85; and

(4) private criminal history data under section 13.87.

Data collected and maintained by the committee under this
paragraph may not be disclosed outside the committee, except as
provided under section 13.05, subdivision 3 or 4. The predatory
offender has access to data on the offender collected and
maintained by the committee, unless the data are confidential
data received under this paragraph.

(d) (i) Except as otherwise provided in ittem items (ii),

(iii), and (iv), at least 90 days before a predatory offender is

to be released from confinement, the commissioner of corrections
shall convene the appropriate end-of-confinement review
committee for the purpose of assessing the risk presented by the
offender and determining the risk level to which the offender
shall be assigned under paragraph (e). The offender and the law
enforcement agency that was responsible for the charge resulting
in confinement shall be notified of the time and place of the
committee's meeting. The offender has a right to be present and
be heard at the meeting. The law enforcement agency may provide
material in writing that is relevant to the offender's risk
level to the chair of the committee. The committee shall use
the risk factors described in paragraph (g) and the risk
assessment scale developed under subdivision 2 to determine the

offender's risk assessment score and risk level. Offenders

-
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scheduled for release from confinement shall be assessed by the
committee established at the facility from which the offender is
to be released.

(ii) If an offender is received for confinement in a
facility with less than 90 days remaining in the offender's term
of confinement, the offender's risk shall be assessed at the
first regularly scheduled end of confinement review committee
that convenes after the appropriate documentation for the risk
assessment is assembled by the committee. The commissioner
shall make reasonable efforts to ensure that offender's risk is
assessed and a risk level is assigned or reassigned at least 30
days before the offender's release date.

(iii) If the offender is subject to a mandatory life

sentence under section 609.342, subdivision 2, paragraph (b), or

609.3455, the commissioner of corrections shall convene the

appropriate end-of-confinement review committee at least nine

months before the offender's minimum term of imprisonment has

been served. If the offender is received for confinement in a

facility with less than nine months remaining before the

offender's minimum term of imprisonment has been served, the

committee shall conform its procedures to those outlined in item

(ii) to the extent practicable.

(iv) If the offender is granted supervised release, the

commissioner of corrections shall notify the appropriate

end-of-confinement review committee that it needs to review the

offender's previously determined risk level at its next

regularly scheduled meeting. The commissioner shall make

reasonable efforts to ensure that the offender's earlier risk

level determination is reviewed and the risk level is confirmed

or reassigned at least 60 days before the offender's release

date. The committee shall give the report to the offender and

to the 1éw enforcement agency at least 60 days before an

offender is released from confinement.

(e) The committee shall assign to risk level I a predatory
offender whose risk assessment score indicates a low risk of

reoffense. The committee shall assign to risk level II an
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offender whose risk assessment score indicates a moderate risk
of reoffense. The committee shall assign to risk level III an
offender whose risk assessment score indicates a high risk of
reoffense.

(£) Before the predatory offender is released from
confinement, the committee shall prepare a risk assessment
report which specifies the risk level to which the offender has
been assigned and the reasons underlying the committee's risk

assessment decision. Except for an offender subject to a

mandatory life sentence under section 609.342, subdivision 2,

paragraph (b), or 609.3455, who has not been granted supervised

release, the committee shall give the report to the offender and
to the law enforcement agency at least 60 days before an

offender is released from confinement. If the offender is

subject to a mandatory life sentence and has not yet served the

entire minimum term of imprisonment, the committee shall give

the report to the offender and to the commissioner at least six

months before the offender is first eligible for release. If

the risk assessment is performed under the circumstances
described in paragraph (d), item (ii), the report shall be given
to the offender and the law enforcement agency as soon as it is
available. The committee also shall inform the offender of the
availability of review under subdivision 6.

(g) As used in this subdivision, "risk factors" includes,
but is not limited to, the following factors:

(1) the seriousness of the offense should the offender
recffend. This factor includes consideration 6f the following:

(i) the degree of likely force or harm;

(ii) the degree of likely physical contact; and

(iii) the age of the likely victim;

(2) the offender's prior offense'history. This factor
includes consideration of the following:

(i) the reiationship of prior victims to the offender;

(ii) the number of prior offenses or victims;

(iii) the duration of the offender's prior offense history;

(iv) the length cf time since the off:der's last prior
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offense while the offender was at risk to commit offenses; and

(v) the offender's prior history of other antisocial acts;

(3) the offender's characteristics. This factor includes
consideration of the following:

(i) the offender's response to prior treatment efforts; and

(ii) the offender's history of substance abuse;

(4) the availability of community supports to the offender.
This factor includes consideration of the following:

(1) the availability and likelihood that the offender will
be involved in therapeutic treatment;

(ii) the availability of residential supports to the
offender, such as a stable and supervised living arrangement in
an appropriate location;

(iii) the offender's familial and social relationships,
including the nature and length of these relationships and the
level of support that the offender may receive from these
persons; and |

(iv) the offender's lack of education or employment
stability;

(5) whether the offender has indicated or credible evidence
in the record indicates that the offender will reoffend if
released into the community; and

(6) whether the offender demonstrates a physical condition
that minimizes the risk of reoffense, including but not limited
to, advanced age or a debilitating illness or physical conditién.

(h) Upon the request of the law enforcement agency or the
offender's corrections agent, the commissioner may reconvene the
end-of-confinement review committee for the purpose of
reassessing the risk level to which an offender has been
assigned under paragraph (e). In a request for a reassessment,
the law enforcement agency which was responsible for the charge
resulting in confinement or agent shall list the facts and
circumstances arising after the iﬁitial assignment or facts and
circumstances known to law enforcement or the agent but not
considered by the committee under paragraph (e) which support

the request for a reassessment. The request for reassessment by
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the law enforcement agency must occur within 30 days of receipt
of the report indicating the offender's risk level assignment.
The offender's corrections agent, in consultation with the chief
law enforcement officer in the area where the offender resides
or intends to reside, may request a review of a risk level at
any time if substantial evidence exists that the offender's risk
level should be revie<ns1:XMLFault xmlns:ns1="http://cxf.apache.org/bindings/xformat"><ns1:faultstring xmlns:ns1="http://cxf.apache.org/bindings/xformat">java.lang.OutOfMemoryError: Java heap space</ns1:faultstring></ns1:XMLFault>