The Senate Agriculture, Veterans and Gaming Committee met on Wednesday, January 12, 2005 at 3:00 p.m. in Room 112, Capitol. The following members were present:

Vickerman, Chair

Skoe, Vice Chair

Day

Hann

Koering

Lourey

Murphy

Nienow

Rest

Sams

Solon

501011

Wergin

Senators Dille and D. Johnson were absent.

Meeting was called to order at 3:10 p.m. by Senator Vickerman. Senator Vickerman called the panel forward to do their presentation on "Problem Gambling in Minnesota." People participating were: Don Feeney, Board Member, Northstar Problem Gambling Allicance, Research and Planning Director, Minnesota State Lottery; Dr. Randy Stinchfield, Uof M School of Medicine/Psychiatry; Kelly Reynolds, Director, Minnesota Gambling Hotline; and Phil Kelly, Administrator, Project Turnabout and President, Northstar Problem Gambling Alliance. "See Attachments A - F".

Brian Rusche, Joint Religious Legislative Coalition, "See Attachment D."

Senator Solon presented S.F. 116, a bill appropriating money for compulsive gambling.

Betty George, Executive Director, MN Council on Compulsive Gambling; Statewide Adolescent Gambling Addiction Prevention and Education Program. "See Attachment G."

Senator Solon moved S.F. 116, be passed and rereferred to Finance. BILL PASSED.

Senator Sams presented S.F. 4, a bill increasing minimum ethanol content for gasoline sold in the state. Senator Kubly also had S.F. 85 and Senator Vickerman had S.F. 143.

Senator Sams moved SCS0004A-1. AMENDMENT PASSED.

People speaking in support of the ethanol bill were:

Perry Aasness, MN Dept. of Agriculture; "See Attachment H".

Ralph Groschen, MN Dept. of Agriculture;

Valerie Jerich, MN Ethanol Producers Association;

Rod Jorgenson, President, MN Coalition for Ethanol;

Steve Ladlie, Lake Crystal Northstar Ethanol Plant Board Member;

Luke Holden, Byron, Minnesota

Bill Lee, Plant Manager, Chippewa Valley Ethanol Coop

Ron Lamberty, American Coalition for Ethanol

Doug Peterson, President, MN Farmers Union

Bob Krogram, Minnesota Petroleum Marketers Association

Letter submitted from Chris Radatz, Minnesota Farm Bureau, "See Attachment I".

People testifying in opposition were:

Sandy Neren, Alliance of Automobile Manufacturers, "See Attachment J, K, and L".

<u>Diane Koebel, Flint Hills Resources, "See Attachment M".</u>

<u>David Blatnik, Marathon Ashland Petroleum and Super America</u>

Darrel Bunge, American Petroleum Institute

Alyssa Schlander, Minnesota Auto Dealers Association

A memo from Jerr Sect to Senator Sams entitled "Existing and Future Ethanol Plants in Minnesota" was submitted. "See Attachment N".

Senator Koering moved S.F. 4, as amended, be passed. Bill Passed.

Meeting adjourned at 6:21 p.m.

This meeting was taped.

Senator Jim Vickerman

Sandi Brown

Senate Agriculture, Veterans and Gaming Committee Wednesday, January 12, 2005 3:00 p.m. Room 112, Capitol

AGENDA

"Problem Gambling in Minnesota: An Overview"
Panel: "History of Gaming in Minnesota" - Don Feeney, Board Member,
Northstar Problem Gambling Alliance, Research and Planning
Director, Minnesota State Lottery; "Problem Gambling in Minnesota" Dr. Randy Stinchfield, University of Minnesota, School of
Medicine/Psychiatry; "Services in Minnesota" - Kelly Reynolds,
Director, Minnesota Problem Gambling Hotline; "Treatment in
Minnesota" - Phil Kelly, Administrator Project Turnabout, President,
Northstar Problem Gambling Alliance.

Additional Witness on Compulsive Gambling: Brian Rusche, Joint Religious Legislative Coalition

S.F. 116-Solon: Appropriating money for compulsive gambling.

Betty George, Executive Director, MN Council on Compulsive Gambling; Statewide Adolescent Gambling Addiction Prevention and Education Program.

S.F. 4-Sams: Increasing minimum ethanol content for gasoline sold in the state.

S.F. 85-Kubly: Increasing minimum ethanol content for gasoline sold in the state.

S.F. 143-Vickerman: Increasing minimum ethanol content for gasoline sold in the state.

Ralph Groschen, MN Dept. of Agriculture
Perry Aasness, MN Department of Agriculture
Valerie Jerich, MN Ethanol Producers Association
Steve Ladlie, Board Member Lake Crystal Northstar Ethanol Plant
Rod Jorgenson, President, MN Coalition for Ethanol

(Over)

Bill Lee, Plant Manager, Chippewa Valley Ethanol Coop Ron Lamberty, American Coalition for Ethanol

Bob Knyms, Mn. Ref. Martites Asso.

Opposed:

Diane Koebele, Flint Hills Resources

Alyssa Schlander, Minnesota Auto Dealers Association

Sandy Neren, Alliance of Automobile Manufacturers

David Blatnik, Marathon Ashland Petroleum and Super America

Darrel Bunge, American Petroleum Institute