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06/27/21 REVISOR 

.................... moves to amend H.F. No. 63 as follows: 

Delete everything after the enacting clause and insert: 

Section 1. APPROPRIATIONS. 

"ARTICLE 1 

APPROPRIATIONS 

KLL/BM A21-0252 

The sums shown in the columns marked "Appropriations" are appropriated to the agencies 

and for the purposes specified in this article. The appropriations are from the general fund, 

or another named fund, and are availab~~ for the fiscal years indicated for each purpose. 

The figures "2022" and "2023" used in this article mean that the appropriations listed under 

them are available for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2022, or June 30, 2023, respectively. 

"The first year" is fiscal year 2022. "The second year" is fiscal year 2023. "The biennium" 

is fiscal years 2022 and 2023. Appropriations for the fiscal year ending Jul}D0, 2021, are 

effective the day following final enactment. 

Sec. 2. SUPREME COURT 

Subdivision 1. Total Appropriation $ 

APPROPRIATIONS 
Available for the Year 

Ending June 30 
2022 2023 

60,487,0~0 ! 61,582~000 

1.20 The amounts that may be spent for each 

1.21 purpose are specified in the following 

1.22 subdivisions. 

1.23 Subd. 2. Supreme Court Operations 43,559,000 43,384,000 

1.24 (a) Contingent Account 

Article 1 Sec. 2. 1 
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2.1 $5,000 each year is for a contingent account 

2.2 for expenses necessary for the normal 

2.3 o_Qeration of the court for which no other 

2.4 reimbursement is _Qrovided. 

2.5 (b) Justices' Compensation 

2.6 Justices' compensation is increased by 2.5 

2.7 percent in the first year. 

2.8 ( c) Courthouse Security Grants 

2.9 $500,000 the first year is for a competitive 

2.10 grant program established by the chief justice 

2.11 for the distribution of safe and secure 

2.12 courthouse fund grants to governmental 

2.13 entities responsible for providing or 

2.14 maintaining a courthouse or other facility 

2.15 where court proceedings are held. Grant 

2.16 recipients must provide a 50 percent nonstate 

2.17 match. This a~riation is available until 

2.18 June 30, 2024. 

2.19 ( d) N europsychological Examination 

2.20 Feasibility Study 

2.21 $30,000 the firs!_year is for the 

2.22 neuropsychological examination feasibility 

2.23 study. 

2.24 Subd. 3. Civil Legal Services 16,928,000 18,198,000 

2.25 Legal Services to Low-Income Clients in 

2.26 Family Law Matters. $1,017,000 each year 

2.27 is to im_Qrove the access of low-income clients 

2.28 to legal representation in family law matters. 

2.29 This a~riation must be distributed under 

2.30 Minnesota Statutes, section 480.242, to the 

2.31 gualified legal services program described in 

2.32 Minnesota Statutes, section 480.242, 

2.33 subdivision 2, paragraph (a). Any 

Article 1 Sec. 2. 2 
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3.1 unencumbered balance remaining in the first 

3.2 year does not cancel and is available in the 

3.3 second year. 

3.4 Sec. 3. COURT OF APPEALS $ 13,490,000 ! 13,574,000 

3.5 Judges' Compensation. Judges' compensation 

3.6 is increased by 2.5 percent in the first year. 

3.7 Sec. 4. DISTRICT COURTS $ 326,372,000 ! 329,146,000 

3.8 (a) Judges' Compensation 

3.9 Judges' compensation is increased by 2.5 

3.10 percent in the first year. 

3.11 (b) New Judgeship 

3.12 $482,000 the first year and $449,000 the 

3.13 second year are for a new judge unit in the 

3.14 Fifth Judicial District. 

3.15 ( c) Interpreter Compensation 

3.16 $200,000 each year is to increase hourly fees 

3.17 paid to qualified certified and uncertified 

3.18 interpreters who are independent contractors 

3.19 and assist persons disabled in communication 

3.20 in legal proceedings. This is a onetime 

3.21 a~riation. 

3.22 Sec. 5. GUARDIAN AD LITEM BOARD $ 22,576,000 ! 22,815,000 

3.23 Sec. 6. TAX COURT $ 1,827,_000 ! 1,841,000 

3.24 Sec. 7. UNIFORM LAWS COMMISSION $ 100,000 ! l_Q0,000 

3.25 Sec. 8. BOARD ON JUDICIAL STANDARDS $ 580,000 ! 586,000 

3.26 (a) Availability of Appropriation 

3.27 If the appropriation for either year is 

3.28 insufficient, the a~riation for the other 

3.29 fiscal year is available. 

3.30 (b) Major Disciplinary Actions 

Article 1 Sec. 8. 3 
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4.1 $125, OOQ each year is for special investigative 

4.2 and hearing costs for major disciplinary 

4.3 actions undertaken by the board. This 

4.4 appro12riation does not cancel. Any 

4.5 unencumbered and uns.12ent balances remain 

4.6 available for these ex12enditures until June 30, 

4.7 2025. 
--

4.8 Sec. 9. BOARD OF PUBLIC DEFENSE $ 106,381,000 ! 111,409,000 

4.9 Public Defense Corporations. $74,000 the 

4.10 first year and $152,000 the second year are 

4.11 for increases to public defense corporations. 

4.12 Sec. 10. HUMAN RIGHTS $ 5,433,000 ! 5,530,000 

4.13 Additional Staffing and Administrative 

4.14 Costs. $11 Q,000 in fisc~ear 2022 and 

4.15 $112,000 in fisyal year 2023 are for improving 

4.16 caseload 12rocessing. The general fund base 

4.17 for this activity shall be $116,000 per year 

4.18 beginning in fiscal year 2024. 

4.19 Sec. 11. OFFICE OF THE STATE AUDITOR $ 64,000 ! 30,000 
- -

4.20 Forfeiture Reporting. $64,000 each year is 

4.21 for costs associated with forfeiture reporting 

4.22 reguirements. 

4.23 Sec. 12. LEGISLATIVE COORDINATING 
4.24 COMMISSION $ 60,000 ! 60,000 

4.25 $60,000 each year is for the Legislative 

4.26 Commission on Data Practices under 

4.27 Minnesota Statutes, section 3.8844. 

4.28 Sec. 13. SENTENCING GUIDELINES $ 740,000 ! 765,00Q 

4.29 Sec. 14. PUBLIC SAFETY 

4.30 Subdivision 1. Total 
4.31 Appropriation $ 1,439,000 ! 214,667,000 ! 213,505,000 

4.32 General 1,439,000 129,264,000 128,121,000 -

4.33 S.12ecial Revenue 14,901,000 14,821_,000 

Article 1 Sec. 14. 4 
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06/27/21 

State Government 
Special Revenue 

Environmental 

Trunk Highway 

911 Fund 

The amounts that may be spent for each 

purpose are specified in the following 

subdivisions. 

Subd. 2. Emergency Management 

General 

Appropriations by Fund 

2,927,000 

Environmental 73,000 

REVISOR 

103,000 

73,000 

2,429,000 

67,897,000 

3,083,000 

73,000 

5.13 (a) Supplemental Nonprofit Security Grants 

5.14 $225,000 each year is for supplemental 

5 .15 nonprofit security grants under this paragraph. 

5.16 Nonprofit organizations whose applications 

5. 17 for funding through the Federal Emergency 

5.18 Management Agency's nonprofit security grant 

5.19 program have been approved by the Division 

5.20 of Homeland Security and Emergency 

5.21 Management are eligible for grants under this 

5.22 paragraph. No additional application shall be 

5 .23 required for grants under this paragraph, and 

5.24 an application for a grant from the federal 

5.25 program is also an application for funding 

5.26 from the state supplemental program. 

5.27 Eligible organizations may receive grants of 

5.28 up to $75,000, except that the total received 

5.29 b~ individual from both the federal 

5.30 nonprofit security grant program and the state 

5.31 supplemental nonprofit security grant program 

5.32 shall not exceed $75,000. Grants shall be 

5.33 awarded in an order consistent with the 

5.34 ranking given to applicants for the federal 

Article 1 Sec. 14. 5 
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6.1 nonprofit security grant program. No grants 

6.2 under the state supplemental nonprofit security 

6.3 grant program shall be awarded until the 

6.4 announcement of the recipients and the 

6.5 amount of the ~ants awarded under the federal 

6.6 nonprofit security grant program. 

6.7 The commissioner may use up to one percent 

6.8 of the a~riation received under this 

6.9 paragraph to pay costs incurred by the 

6.10 department in administering the supplemental 

6.11 nonprofit security grant program. These 

6.12 a~riations are onetime. 

6.13 (b) School Safety Center 

6.14 $l50,000 each year is for two school safety 

6.15 specialists at the Minnesota School Safety 

6.16 Center. 

6.17 Subd. 3. Criminal 
6.18 Al!.l!rehension 1,316,000 

6.19 

6.20 

Appropriations by Fund 

General 1,316,00_Q 75,827,000 

6.21 State Government 
6.22 

6.23 

Special Revenue 

Trunk Highway 

7,000 

2,j29,000 

6.24 (a) DWI Lab Analysis 

6.25 Notwithstanding MinnesoJ:a Sta!tltes,_§_ection 

6.26 161.20Lsubdt,ision 3, $2,429,000 each year 

6.27 is from the trunk highway fund for staff and 

6.28 operating costs for laboratory analysis related 

6.29 to driving-while-impaired cases. 

6.30 (b) Cybersecurity 

6.31 $2,6J1_000 the first year and $1,~558,000 the 

6.32 second year are for identity and access 

6.33 management, critical infrastructure upgrades, 

6.34 and Federal Bureau of Investigation audit 

Article 1 Sec. 14. 6 
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7.1 comQliance. The base for this is $1,050,000 

7.2 in fiscal years 2024 and 2025. 

7.3 (c) Rapid DNA Program 

7.4 $285,000 each year is for the Rapid DNA 

7.5 Program. 

7.6 ( d) Body Cameras 

7.7 $397,000 the first year and $205,000 the 

7.8 second year are to purchase body cameras for 

7.9 peace officers employed by the Bureau of 

7 .1 o Criminal AQPrehension and to maintain the 

7 .11 necessary hardware, software, and data. 

7.12 ~ National Guard Sexual Assault 

7.13 Investigations 

7.14 $160,000 each year is for investigation of 

7.15 criminal sexual conduct allegations filed 

7.16 against members of the Minnesota National 

7.17 Guard by another member of.the Minnesota 

7.18 National Guard. This aQP!2Qriation is onetime. 

7.19 ill_ Criminal_j\lert Network; Alzheimer's 

7.20 and Dementia 

7.21 $200,000 the first year is for the criminal alert 

7.22 network to increase membershiQ, reduce the 

7.23 re~tration fee, and create additional alert 

7.24 categories, including at a minimum a dementia 

7.25 and Alzheimer's disease specific category. 

7.26 {g) Forfeiture Notices 

7.27 $24,000 in fiscal year 2022 is for costs for 

7.28 technological upgrades required for generating 

7.29 forfeiture notices and property receipts. 

7.30 (h) Drugged Driving Lab Testing Support 

7.31 $825,000 each year is for staffing and supplies 

7.32 for drugged driving lab testing. 

Article 1 Sec. 14. 7 
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8.1 Subd. 4. Fire Marshal 

Appropriations by Fund 

General 178,000 178,000 

8.2 

8.3 

8.4 Special Revenue 8,574,000 8,640,Q0Q 

8.5 The special revenue fund appropriation is from 

8.6 the fire safety account in the special revenue 

8.7 fund and is for activities under Minnesota 

8.8 Statutes, section 299F.0 12. The base 

8.9 appropriation from this account is $8,740,000 

8.10 in fiscal year 2024 and $8,640,000 in fiscal 

8.11 year 2025. 

8.12 (a) Inspections 

8.13 $300,000 each year is for inspection of nursing 

8.14 homes and boarding care facilities. 

8.15 {Q2 Hazmat and Chemical Assessment 

8.16 Teams 

8.17 $95QJ)00 the fiJst y~ar c1p.d $850,000 the 

8.18 second year are from the fire safety account 

8.19 in the s,2ecial revenue fund. These amounts 

8.20 must be used to fund the hazardous materials 

8.21 and chemical assessment teams. Of this 

8.22 amount, $100,000 the first year is for cases 

8.23 for which there is no identified res,2onsible 

8.24 party. The base appropriation is $950,000 in 

8.25 fiscal year 2024 and $850,000 in fiscal year 

8.26 2025. 

8.27 ( c) Bomb Squad Reimbursements 

8.28 $~0,0J)0 each year is from the general fund for 

8.29 reimbursements to local governments for 

8.30 bomb sguad services. 

8.31 ( d) Emergency Response Teams 

8.32 $675,000 ~ach year is from the fire safety 

8.33 account in the s_2ecial revenue fund to maintain 

Article 1 Sec. 14. 8 
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9.1 

9.2 

9.3 

9.4 

9.5 

9.6 

9.7 

9.8 

four emergency response teams: one under the 

jurisdiction of the St. Cloud Fire Department 

or a similarly located fire department if 

necessary; one under the jurisdiction of the 

Duluth Fire DeQartment; one under the 

jurisdiction of the St. Paul Fire Department 

and one under the jurisdiction of the Moorhead 

Fire DeQartment. 

9.9 

9.10 

Subd. 5. Firefighter Training and Education 
Board 

Appropriations by Fund 9.11 

9.12 S£ecial Revenue 5,792,000 5,79~~000 

9 .13 The special revenue fund appropriation is from 

9.14 the fire safety account in the special revenue 

9.15 fund and is for activities under Minnesota 

9.16 Statutes, section 299F.012. 

9.17 (a) Firefighter Training and Education 

9.18 $4,500,000 ea~h year is for firefighter training 

9 .19 and education. 

9.20 {Q2 Task Force 1 

9.21 $975,000 each year is for the Minnesota Task 

9 .22 Force 1. 

9 .23 ~ Air Rescue 

9.24 $317,000 eacl} year is for the Minnesota Air 

9 .25 Rescue Team. 

9.26 ( d) Unappropriated Revenue 

9.27 Any additional unappropriated money 

9.28 collected in fiscal year 2021 is appropriated 

9.29 to the commissioner of public safety for the 

9.30 purposes of Minn~~sota Statutes, section 

9.31 299F.012. The commissioner may transfer 

9 .32 a~riations and base amounts between 

9.33 activities in this subdivision. 

Article 1 Sec. 14. 9 
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10.1 Subd. 6. Alcohol and 
10.2 Gambling Enforcement 123,000 

10.3 

10.4 

10.5 

Appropriations by Fund 

General 123,000 2,611,000 

S.12ecial Revenue 

10.6 $70,000 each year is from the lawful gambling 

1 o. 7 regulation account in the special revenue fund. 

10.8 (a) Legal Costs 

10.9 $93_,000 the first year is for legal costs 

10.10 associated with Alexis Bailly Vineyard, Inc. 

I 0.11 v. Harrington. This is a onetime appropriation. 

10.12 (b) Body Cameras 

I 0.13 $16,000 each year is to purchase body cameras 

10.14 for peace officers employed by the Alcohol 

10.15 and Gambling Enforcement Division and to 

10.16 maintain the necessa!Y hardware, so~are, 

I 0.17 and data. 

10.18 Subd. 7. Office of Justice Programs 

10.19 Appropriations by Fund 

70,000 

10.20 General 4 71721_,000 4 7,641,_000 

10.21 State Government 
10.22 S.12ecial Revenue 96,000 

10.23 ~ Administration Costs 

10.24 Up to 2.5 percent of the grant funds 

10.25 appropriated in this subdivision may be used 

10.26 by the commissioner to administer the grant 

10.27 p!Qgram. 

10.28 (b) Combatting Sex Trafficking Grants 

10.29 $250,0_90 each year is for an antitrafficking 

10.30 investigation coordinator and to implement 

10.31 new or expand existing strategies to combat 

10.32 sex trafficking. 

96,000 

Article 1 Sec. 14. 10 
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11.1 ( c) Survivor Support and Prevention 

11.2 Grants 

11.3 $400,000 each year is for grants to victim 

11.4 survivors and to fund emer~ or unmet 

11.s needs impacting victims of crime, particularly 

11.6 in underserved .2.2_2ulations. This is a onetime 

11.7 a~riation. 

11.s ( d) Improving Retention in Domestic 

11.9 Violence Programs 

11.10 $150,0Q0 the jirst year is to develop an open 

11.11 and competitive grant process to award a grant 

11.12 to establish a pilot project to increase the rate 

11.13 at which participants voluntarily complete a 

11.14 ~rson-~entered, trauma-informed violence 

11.15 prevention program by addressing the social 

11.16 and economic barriers that inhibit Q!Qgram 

11.17 completion. This appropriation is available 

11.18 until June 30, 2024. 

11.19 The grant recipient shall have an established 

11.20 Q!Qgram for individuals who have been 

11.21 identified as using abusive behaviors within 

11.22 a home or community setting. The established 

11.23 program must apply evidence-based 

11.24 interventions to equip participants with skills 

11.25 and techniques to stop abusive behaviors as 

11.26 they occur and prevent them from happening 

11.27 in the future. 

11.2s The pilot project shall address financial, 

11.29 transportation, food, housing, or social support 

11.30 barriers in order to increase the rate of 

11.31 participants completing the program. Money 

11.32 may be used to advance program capacity, 

11.33 reduce the administrative burden on Q!Qgram 

11 .34 staff, secure participant consent for 

Article 1 Sec. 14. 11 
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12.1 assessment, enhance measurement and 

12.2 evaluation of the program, and provide other 

12.3 services and SUQQOrt to increase the rate of 

12.4 program completion while maintaining low 

12.5 recidivism rates. 

12.6 By January 15, 2023, the grant recipient shall 

12.7 provide a report to the Office of Justice 

12.s Programs identifying: 

12.9 (1) the number of individuals, including the 

12.10 age, race, and sex of those in~ividuals, who 

12.11 were admitted into the ~am before and 

12.12 after the pilot project began; 

12.13 (2) the number of individuals, including the 

12.14 age, race, and sex of those individuals, who 

12.15 completed the program before and after the 

12.16 pilot project began; 

12.17 (3) the number of individuals, including the 

12.1s age,_race, anc!_ sex ojthos~ individuals, who 

12.19 left the program prior to completion before 

12.20 and after the pilot project began; 

12.21 ~ information on whether the individuals 

12.22 were members of a two-parent or single-parent 

12.23 home; c!,nd 

12.24 (5) any other relevant measurement and 

12.25 evaluation of the pilot project, including 

12.26 information related to social and economic 

12.27 barriers that impact program completion rates. 

12.2s By January 15, 2024, the grant recipient shall 

12.29 provide a report to the Office of Justice 

12.30 Programs identifying the domestic violence 

12.31 recidivism rate of individuals who comQleted 

12.32 the program, including the age, race, §.nd sex 

12.33 of those individuals, before and after t!ie Qilot 

12.34 project began. 

Article 1 Sec. 14. 12 
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13.1 By February 15, 2024, the Office of Justice 

13.2 Programs shall compile the information 

13.3 received from the grant recipient and provide 

13.4 that com.12ilation to the senate and house of 

13.5 re.12resentatives committees and divisions with 

13.6 jurisdiction over public safety. 

13.7 ( e) Innovation in Community Safety Grants 

13.8 $400,000 each year is for innovation in 

13.9 community safety grants. This is a onetime 

13.10 aPPE2Qriation. 

13.11 (f) Youth Intervention Program Grants 

13.12 $286,000 each year is for youth intervention 

13.13 program grants. 

13.14 (g) Racially Diverse Youth in Shelters 

13 .15 $45,000 each year is for grants to 

13.16 organizations to address racial disparity of 

13.17 youth using shelter services in the Rochester 

13.18 and St. Cloud regional areas. A grant recipient 

13.19 shall establish and operate a pilot program to 

13.20 engage in community intervention, family 

13.21 reunification, aftercare, and follow u.12 when 

13.22 family members are released from shelter 

13.23 services. A pilot program shall specifically 

13.24 address the high number of racially diverse 

13 .25 youth that enter shelters in the region. This is 

13.26 a onetime aPPE2Qriation. 

13.27 (h) Task Force on Missing and Murdered 

13.28 African American Women 

13.29 $100,000 the first year and $5Q1000 the second 

13.30 year are to implement the task force on 

13.31 missing and murdered African American 

13.32 women. This is a onetime aPPE2Qriation. 

13.33 (i) Body Camera Grant Program 

Article 1 Sec. 14. 13 
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14.1 $500,000 each year is to provide grants to 

14.2 local law enforcement agencies for portable 

14.3 recordin~stems. The commissioner shall 

14.4 award grants to local law enforcement 

14.5 agencies for the purchase and maintenance of 

14.6 portable recording systems and portable 

14. 7 recording system data. An applicant must 

14.8 provide a 50 percent match to be eligible to 

14.9 receive a grant. The commissioner must give 

14.10 priority to law enforcement agencies located 

14.11 outside of the seven-county metropolitan area 

14.12 that do not have a portable recording system 

14.13 ~ram. 

14.14 As a condition of receivin~rant, a law 

14.15 enforcement agency's portable recording 

14.16 system policy must comply with the standards 

14.17 developed by the Legislative Commission on 

14.18 Data Practices and Personal Data Privacy. This 

14.19 is a onetime a~riation. 

14.20 ill VCETs 

14.21 $_1,000,0_00 each_year is for additional violent 

14.22 crime enforcement teams. The base for this is 

14.23 $1,000,000 in fiscal years 2024 and 2025. 

14.24 Of this amount, $250,000 each _year is a 

14.25 onetime a~riation for a team to address 

14.26 criminal activities in and around metropolitan 

14.27 transit lines. This team must include members 

14.28 from the Hennepin County Sheriffs Office, 

14.29 the Ramsey County Sheriffs Office, tge St. 

14.30 Paul Police Department, the Minneapolis 

14.31 Police Department, and the Metropolitan 

14.32 Transit Police Department. The Hennepin 

14.33 Coun~ Sheriffs Office shall serve as the 

14.34 team's fiscal agent. By February 1, 2022, the 

14.35 commissioner shall report to the chairs and 

Article 1 Sec. 14. 14 
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15.1 ranking minority members of the legislative 

15.2 committees with jurisdiction over criminal 

15.3 justice policy and funding on the activities of 

15.4 the team. The report must detail the impact 

15.5 the team had on reducing criminal activity in 

15.6 and around metro_2olitan transit lines and 

15.7 recommend whether to fund the team in the 

15.8 future or whether the money for this would be 

15.9 better directed toward other violent crime 

15.10 enforcement teams. 

15.11 {k) Office of Missing and Murdered 

15.12 Indigenous Relatives 

15.13 $500,000 each year is to establish and 

15.14 maintain the Office of Missing and Murdered 

15.15 Indigenous Relatives. 

15.16 02 Hometown Heroes Assistance Program 

15.17 $4,000,000 each year is appropriated for grants 

15.18 to the Minnesota Firefighter Initiative to fund 

15.19 the hometown heroes assistance P!:Q_gram 

15.20 established in Minnesota Statutes, section 

15.21 299A.477. 

15.22 {m) Juvenile Justice Unit 

15.23 $200,000 each year is to establish and 

15.24 maintain a Juvenile Justice Unit. 

15.25 Subd. 8. Emergency Communication Networks 67,897,000 67,888,000 

15.26 This a.2.PE2_2riation is from the state 

15.27 government special revenue fund for 911 

15.28 emergency telecommunications services. 

15.29 This a.2.PE2_2riation includes funds for 

15.30 information technology project services and 

15.31 support subject to the provisions of Minnesota 

15.32 Statutes, sectLon 16E.0466. Any ongoing 

15.33 information technology costs shall be 

Article 1 Sec. 14. 15 
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16.1 incorporated into the service level agreement 

16.2 and shall be paid to the Office of MN .IT 

16.3 Services by the Department of Public Safety 

16.4 under the rates and mechanism specified in 

16.5 that a~eement. 

16.6 (a) Public Safety Answering Points 

16.7 $27,328,000 the first year and $28,011,000 

16.8 the second year shall be distributed as 

16.9 provided in Minnesota Statutes, section 

16.10 403.113, s_:t:!bdivision2. The base aPP£2Priation 

16.11 is $28,011,000 in fiscal year 2024 and 

16.12 $28,011,000 in fiscal year 2025. 

16.13 .(Q2 Medical Resource Communication Centers 

16.14 $68~,000 the first year is for grants to the 

16.15 Minnesota Emergency Medical Services 

16.16 Regulatory Board for the Metro East and 

16.17 Metro West Medical Resource 

16.18 Communication Centers that were in operation 

16.19 before Janua!Y 1, 7000. 

16.20 ( c) ARMER State Backbone Operating 

16.21 Costs 

16.22 ~,675,000 eac!!_year is transferred to the 

16.23 commissioner of transportation for costs of 

16.24 maintaining and operating the statewide radio 

16.25 system backbone. 

16.26 ( d) ARMER Improvements 

16.27 ~J,000,000 ~ach year is to the Statewide 

16.28 Emergency Communications Board for 

16.29 improvements to those elements of the 

16.30 statewide public safety radio and 

16.31 communication system that support mutual 

16.32 aid communications and emergency medical 

16.33 services or provide interim enhancement of 

Article 1 Sec. 14. 16 
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17.1 public safety communication interoperability 

17.2 in those areas of the state where the statewide 

17.3 public safety radio and communication system 

17.4 is not yet implemented, and grants to local 

17.5 units of government to further the strategic 

17.6 goals set forth by the Statewide Emergency 

17.7 Communications Board strate&!£.rlan. 

17.8 ( e) 911 Telecommunicator Working Group 

17.9 $9,000 the first year is to convene, administer, 

17.10 and im_2lement the 911 telecommunicator 

17.11 working group. 

17.12 Subd. 9. Driver and Vehicle Services 

17.13 $465,000 the first year and $389,000 the 

17.14 second year are from the driver services 

17.15 operating account in the special revenue fund 

17.16 for the ignition interlock program under 

17.17 Minnesota Statutes, section 171.306. 

17.18 Sec. 15. PEACE OFFICER STANDARDS AND 
17.19 TRAINING (POST) BOARD 

17.20 Subdivision 1. Total Appropriation 

17.21 The amounts that may be spent for each 

17.22 purpose are specified in the following 

17.23 subdivisions. 

17.24 Subd. 2. Peace Officer Training Reimbursements 

17.25 $2,949,000 each year is for reimbursements 

17.26 to local governments for peace officer training 

17.27 costs. 

17.28 Subd. 3. Peace Officer Training Assistance 

17.29 Philando Castile Memorial Training Fund 

17.30 $6,000,000 each year is to support and 

17 .31 strengthen law enforcement training and 

17.32 implement best practices. This funding shall 
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18.1 be named the "Philando Castile Memorial 

18.2 Training Fund." 

18.3 Each sponsor of a training course is required 

18.4 to include the following in the sponsor's 

18.5 application for approval submitted to the 

18.6 board: course goals and objectives; a course 

18. 7 outline including at a minimum a time line and 

18.8 teaching hours for all course~; instructor 

18.9 qualifications, including skills and concepts 

18.10 such as crisis intervention, de-escalation, and 

18.11 cultural competency that are relevant to the 

18.12 course provided; and a plan for learning 

18.13 assessments of the course and documenting 

18.14 the assessments to the board during review. 

18.15 Upon completion of each course, instructors 

18.16 must submit student evaluations of the 

18 .1 7 instructor's teaching to the sponsor. 

18.18 The board shall keep records of the 

18.19 applications of all approved and denied 

1 s.20 courses. All continuing education courses shall 

1 s.21 be reviewed after the first year. The board 

18.22 must set a timetable for recurring review after 

18.23 the first year. For each review, the sponsor 

18.24 must submit its learning assessments to the 

18.25 board to show that the course is teaching the 

18.26 learning outcomes that were approved by the 

18.27 board. 

18.28 A list of licensees who successfully complete 

18.29 the course shall be maintained by the sponsor 

18.30 and transmitted to the board following the 

18.31 presentation of the course and the completed 

18.32 student evaluations of the instructors. 

18.33 Evaluations are available to chief law 

18.34 enforcement officers. The board shall establish 
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19.1 a data retention schedule for the information 

19.2 collected in this section. 

19.3 Each ~ar, if funds are available after 

19.4 reimbursing all eligible requests for courses 

19.5 approved by the board under this subdivision, 

19.6 the board may use the funds to reimburse law 

19.7 enforcement agencies for other 

19.8 board-ap2roved law enforcement training 

19.9 courses. The base for this activity is $0 in 

19.10 fiscal year 2026 and thereafter. 

19.11 Sec. 16. PRIVATE DETECTIVE BOARD $ 

19.12 Sec. 17. CORRECTIONS 

19. 13 Sub division 1. Total 
19.14 Appropriation $ 183,000 ! 

19.15 The amounts that may be s2ent for each 

19.16 2urpose are s2ecified in the following 

19.17 subdivisions. 

19.18 Subd. 2. Incarceration and 
19.19 Prerelease Services 

19.20 (a) Healthy Start Act 

19.21 $100,000 each year is to im2lement the 

19.22 healthy start act that shall create a release 

183,000 

19 .23 2rogram for 2regnant women and new mothers 

19.24 who are committed to the commissioner of 

19.25 corrections by 2roviding alternatives to 

19.26 incarceration and improving parenting skills. 

19.27 (b) Prescription Medications 

19.28 $17,000 the first year and $20,000 the second 

19.29 year are to provide a one-month supply of any 

19.30 ~escribed, nonnarcotic medications and a 

19.31 prescription for a 30-day supply of these 

19.32 medications that may be refilled twice to 

19.33 inmates at the time of their release. 
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20.1 

20.2 

~ Incarceration and Prerelease Services 

Base Budget 

20.3 

20.4 

20.5 

20.6 

The general fund base for Department of 

Corrections incarceration and Qrerelease 

servic~s is $469,883,000 in fiscal year 2024 

and $470,331,000 in fiscal year 2025. 

20.7 

20.8 

20.9 

Subd. 3. Community 
Supervision and Postrelease 
Services 

20.1 o (a) Community Corrections Act 

20.11 $1,220,000 each year is added to the 

20.12 Community Corrections Act subsidy, as 

20.13 described in Minnesota Statutes, section 

20.14 401.14. This is a onetime increase for the 

20.15 biennium and reguires the submission of a 

20.16 report to the legislature no later than December 

20.17 15, 2021, with recommendations from a 

20.1 s working group established to study 

20.19 supervision services and funding across the 

20.20 state and develo.12 recommendations. This is a 

20.21 onetime a~riation. 

20.22 The commissioner of corrections shall convene 

20.23 a working group to study and report to the 

20.24 legislature on the attributes and requirements 

20.25 of an effective supervision system. The report 

20.26 shall describe how the state and counties can 

20.27 achieve an effective supervision system 

20.2s together, balancing local control with state 

20.29 support and collaboration. The report shall 

20.30 include: a proposal for sustainable funding of 

20.31 the state's community supervision delivery 

20.32 systems; a plan for the potential of future 

20.33 Tribal government supervision of probationers 

20.34 and su.12ervised rele_asees; a definition of cor~ 

20.35 or base-level su.12ervision standards in 
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21.1 accordance with the state's obligation to fund 

21.2 or provide supervision services that are 

21.3 geographically equitable and reflect the 

21.4 principles of modem correctional prag:ice; a 

21.s recommended funding model and the 

21.6 associated costs as compared to the state's 

21.7 current investment in those services; 

21.8 alternative funding and delivery models and 

21.9 the alternative models' associated costs when 

21.10 compared with the state's current investment 

21.11 in those services; and mechanisms to ensure 

21.12 balanced application of increases in the cost 

21.13 of communi~ervision services. 

21.14 The working group shall at a minimum include 

21.15 the following members: the commissioner of 

21.16 corrections or the commissioner's designee 

21.17 and four other representatives from the 

21.1 s Department of Corr~ctio!!§, five directors of 

21.19 the Minnesota Association of Community 

21.20 Corrections Act Counties, five directors of the 

21.21 Minnesota Association of Coun~ Probation 

21.22 Offices, three coun~ commissioner 

21.23 representatives from the Association of 

21.24 Minnesota Counties with one from each 

21.25 delivery system, three representatives of the 

21.26 Minnesota Indian Affairs Council Tribal 

21.27 gQvemment members, and two district court 

21.28 judge representatives designated by the State 

21.29 Court Administrator. The working group may 

21.30 include other members and the use of a 

21.31 third-party organization to provide process 

21.32 facilitation, statewide stakeholder en~ement, 

21.33 data analysis, programming and supervision 

21.34 assessments, a,nd technical assistance through 

21.35 implementation of the adopted report 

21.36 recommendations. 
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22.1 The re,2ort shall be submitted to the chairs and 

22.2 ranking minority members of the house of 

22.3 representatives Public Safety Committee and 

22.4 the senate Judicia!Y and Finance Committees 

22.s no later than December 15, 2021. 

22.6 (b) County Probation Officer 

22.7 Reimbursement 

22.s $J01,000 each year is for county probation 

22.9 officers reimbursement, as described in 

22.1 o Minnesota Statutes, section 244 .19, 

22.11 subdivision 6. This is a onetime increase for 

22.12 the biennium and reguires the submission of 

22.13 a report to the legislature no later than 

22.14 December 15, 2021, with recommendations 

22.15 from a working group established to study 

22.16 supervision services and funding across the 

22.17 state and develo,2 recommendations. This is a 

22.1 s onetime a~riation. 

22.19 (c) Probation Supervision Services 

22.20 $1,170,000 each year is for probation 

22.21 supervision services provided by the 

22.22 Department of Corrections in Meeker, Mille 

22.23 Lacs, and Renville Counties as described in 

22.24 Minnesota Statutes, section 244.19, 

22.25 subdivision 1. The commissioner of 

22.26 corrections shall bill Meeker, Mille Lacs, and 

22.27 Renville Counties for the total cost of and 

22.2s expenses incurred for probation services on 

22.29 behalf of each coun!Y, as gescribed il! 

22.30 Minnesota Statutes, section 244.19, 

22.31 subdivision 5, and all reimbursements shall 

22.32 be deposited in the general fund. 

22.33 ( d) Task Force on Aiding and Abetting 

22.34 Felony Murder 
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23.I $25,000 the first year is to implement the task 

23.2 force on aiding and abetting felony murder. 

23.3 ~ Alternatives to Incarceration 

23.4 $320,0Q0 each year is for funding to Anoka 

23.5 County, Crow Wing County, and Wright 

23.6 County to facilitate access to community 

23.7 treatment options under the alternatives to 

23.8 incarceration ~ram. 

23.9 (f) Juvenile Justice Report 

23.10 $55,000 the first year and $9,000 the second 

23.11 year are for reporting on extended jurisdiction 

23.12 juveniles. 

23.13 (g) Postrelease Employment for Inmates 

23.14 Grant; Request for Proposals 

23.15 $300,000 the first year is for a grant to a 

23.16 nongovernmental organization to provide 

23.17 curriculum and CO!J2orate mentors to inmates 

23.18 and assist inmates in finding meaningful 

23.19 employment upon release from a correctional 

23.20 facility. By September 1, ~021, the 

23.21 commissioner of corrections must issue a 

23.22 request for proposals. By December 1, 2021, 

23.23 the commissioner shall award a $300,0Q_0 ~ant 

23.24 to the applicant that is best qualified to provide 

23.25 the programming described in this paragraph. 

23.26 (h) Homelessness Mitigation Plan 

23.27 $12,000 the first year is to develop and 

23.28 implement a homelessness mitigation plan for 

23.29 individuals released from prison. 

23.30 (i) Identifying Documents 

23.31 $23,000 the first year and $28,000 the second 

23.32 year are to assist inmates in obtaining a copy 

23.33 of their birth certificates and provide 
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24.1 appropriate Department of Corrections 

24.2 identification cards to individuals released 

24.3 from prison. 

24.4 G) Predatory Off ender Statutory 

24.5 Framework Working Group 

24.6 $25,000 the first year is to convene, 

24.7 administer, and implement the Predatory 

24.8 Offender Statutory Framework Working 

24.9 Group. 

24.10 Subd. 4. Organizational, Regulatory, and 
24.11 Administrative Services 

24.12 (a) Technology 

24.13 $1,5Jj6,000 the first year and $1,621,000 the 

24.14 second year are to increase support for 

24.15 ongoing technology needs. 

24.16 (b) Correctional Facilities Security Audit 

24.17 Grou.f! 

24.18 $_:1-2,000 the first_year and $69,000 the ~econd 

24.19 year are for the correctional facilities security 

24.20 audit group to prepare security audit standards, 

24.21 conduct security audits, and prepare required 

24.22 reports. 

24.23 ( c) Oversight 

24.24 $992,000 _!he firg_year and $_492,000 the 

24.25 second year are to expand and improve 

24.26 oversight of jails and other state and local 

24.27 correctional facilities, including the addition 

24.28 of four full-time corrections detention facilities 

24.29 inspectors and funds for county sheriffs who 

24.30 inspect municipal lockups. 

24.31 @2 J ailhouse Witness Data 
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25.1 $20,000 the firs!__year is for costs associated 

25.2 with collecting and reporting on jailhouse 

25.3 witness data. 

25.4 Sec. 18. OMBUDSPERSON FOR 
25.5 CORRECTIONS 

25.6 Sec. 19. DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL 
25.7 RESOURCES 

25.8 $489,000 the firs~ar_and $387,000 the 

25.9 second year are to purchase body cameras for 

25. Io conservation officers employed by the 

25.11 De12artment of Natural Resources and to 

25.12 maintain the necessary hardware, software, 

25.13 and data. The base a~riatio_!! is $387,000 

25.14 in fiscal year 2024 and $387,000 in fiscal year 

25.15 2025. 

25.16 Sec. 20. CANCELLATION; FISCAL YEAR 
25.17 2021 

25.18 (a) Alcohol and Gambling Enforcement 

25.19 $132,000 of the fiscal year 2021 general fund 

25.20 appropriation under Laws 2019, First Special 

25.21 Session cha12ter 5, article 1, section 12, 

25.22 subdivision 6, is canceled. 

25.23 (b) Office of Justice Programs 

25.24 $213,000 of the fiscal year 2021 general fund 

25.25 appropriation under Laws 2019, First Special 

25 .26 Session cha:P!_er_ 5, article 1, section 12, 

25.27 subdivision 7,_ is canceled. 
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25.28 Sec. 21. TRANSFER; DISASTER ASSISTANCE CONTINGENCY ACCOUNT. 

25.29 (a) If the fiscal year 2021 final closing balance in the general fund exceeds the closing 

25.30 balance projected at the end of the 2021 first special legislative session by at least 

25.31 $30,000,000_J:he commissioner of management and budget must transfer $30,000,000 from 

25.32 the general fund to the disaster assistance contingency account established under Minnesota 

25.33 Statutes, section l_b_221, subdivision 6. 
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26.1 (b) If the fiscal year 2021 final closing balance in the general fund exceeds the closing 

26.2 balance projected at the end of the 2021 first special legislative session by less than 

26.3 $30,000,000, the commissioner of management and budget must transfer an amount equal 

26.4 to the difference between the fiscal year 2021 final closing balance and the closing balance 

26.5 projected at the end of the 2021 first special legislative session from the general fund to the 

26.6 disaster assistance contingency account established under Minnesota~ Statutes, section 12.221, 

26.7 subdivision 6. 

26.8 ( c) If a transfer is required under this section, the transfer must be completed before 

26.9 September 30, ]021. 

26.10 ARTICLE 2 

26.11 PUBLIC SAFETY 

26.12 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 152.01, subdivision 18, is amended to read: 

26.13 Subd. 18. Drug paraphernalia. (a) Except as otherwise provided in paragraph (b), "drug 

26.14 paraphernalia" means all equipment, products, and materials of any kind, except those items 

26.15 used in conjunction with permitted uses of controlled substances under this chapter or the 

26.16 Uniform Controlled Substances Act, which are knowingly or intentionally used primarily 

26.17 in (1) manufacturing a controlled substance, (2) injecting, ingesting, inhaling, or otherwise 

26.18 introducing into the human body a controlled substance, (3) testing the strength, effectiveness, 

26.19 or purity of a controlled substance, or ( 4) enhancing the effect of a controlled substance. 

26.20 (b) "Drug paraphernalia" does not include the possession, manufacture, delivery, or sale 

26.21 of~ hypodermic needles or syringes in accordance with section 151.40, subdivision 2:-_;_ 

26.22 or (2) products that detect the presence of fentanyl or a fentanyl analog in a controlled 

26.23 substance. 

26.24 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effect July 1, 2021, for acts occurring on or after 

26.25 that date. 

26.26 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 169A.55, subdivision 2, is amended to read: 

26.27 Subd. 2. Reinstatement of driving privileges; notice. Upon expiration of a period of 

26.28 revocation under section 169A.52 (license revocation for test failure or refusal), 169A.54 

26.29 (impaired driving convictions and adjudications; administrative penalties), or 171.1 77 

26.30 (revocation; search warrant), the commissioner shall notify the person of the terms upon 

26.31 which driving privileges can be reinstated, and new registration plates issued, which terms 

26.32 are: (1) successful completion of an examination and proof of compliance with any terms 
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27.1 of alcohol treatment or counseling previously prescribed, if any; and (2) any other 

27.2 requirements imposed by the commissioner and applicable to that particular case. The 

27 .3 commissioner shall notify the owner of a motor vehicle subject to an impoundment order 

27.4 under section 169A.60 (administrative impoundment of plates) as a result of the violation 

27.5 of the procedures for obtaining new registration plates, if the owner is not the violator. The 

27.6 commissioner shall also notify the person that if driving is resumed without reinstatement 

27.7 of driving privileges or without valid registration plates and registration certificate, the 

27.8 person will be subject to criminal penalties. 

27.9 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 169A.55, subdivision 4, is amended to read: 

27.10 Subd. 4. Reinstatement of driving privileges; multiple incidents. (a) A person whose 

27.11 driver's license has been revoked as a result of an offense listed under clause ill shall not 

27.12 be eligible for reinstatement of driving privileges without an ignition interlock restriction 

27.13 until the commissioner certifies that either: 

27.14 (1) the person did not own or lease a vehicle at the time of the offense or at any time 

27.15 between the time of the offense and the driver's reguest for reinstategient, or commit a 

27.16 violation of chapter 169, 1§9A, or 171 between the time of the offense and the driver's 

27.17 request for reinstatement or at the time of the arrest for the offense listed under clause (2), 

27.18 item (i), subitem (A) or (B), or (ii), subitem (A) or (B), as based on: 

27.19 (i) a request by the person for reinstatement, on a form to be provided by the Department 

21.20 of Public Safe!Y; 

27.21 (ii) the person's attestation under penalty of perjury; and 

27.22 (iii) the submission by the driver of certified copies of vehicle registration records and 

27.23 driving records for the period from the arrest until the driver seeks reinstatement of driving 

27.24 privileges; or 

27.25 (2) the person used the ignition interlock device and complied with section 171.306 for 

27 .26 a Qeriod of not less than: 

27.27 (i) one year, for a person whose driver's license was revoked for: 

27.28 (A) an offense occurring within ten years of a qualified prior impaired driving incident; 

27.29 or 

27.30 (B) an offense occurring after two qualified prior impaired driving incidents; or 

27.31 (ii) two years, for a person whose driver's license was revoked for: 
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28.1 (A) an offense occurring under item (i), subitem (A) or (B), and the test results indicated 

28.2 an alcohol concentration of twice the legal limit or more;~ or 

28.3 (B) an offense occurring under item (i), subitem (A) or (B), and the current offense is 

28.4 for a violation of section l 69A.20, subdivision 2. 

28.5 Will A person whose driver's license has been canceled or denied as a result of three 

28.6 or more qualified impaired driving incidents shall not be eligible for reinstatement of driving 

28.7 privileges without an ignition interlock restriction until the person: 

28.8 (1) has completed rehabilitation according to rules adopted by the commissioner or been 

28. 9 granted a variance from the rules by the commissioner; and 

28.10 (2) has submitted verification of abstinence from alcohol and controlled substances 

28.11 under paragraph ( c ), as evidenced by the person's use of an ignition interlock device or other 

28.12 chemical monitoring device approved by the commissioner. 

28.13 WM The verification of abstinence must show that the person has abstained from the 

28.14 use of alcohol and controlled substances for a period of not less than: 

28.15 (1) three years, for a person whose driver's license was canceled or denied for an offense 

28.16 occurring within ten years of the first of two qualified prior impaired driving incidents, or 

28.17 occurring after three qualified prior impaired driving incidents; 

28.18 (2) four years, for a person whose driver's license was canceled or denied for an offense 

28.19 occurring within ten years of the first of three qualified prior impaired driving incidents; or 

28.20 (3) six years, for a person whose driver's license was canceled or denied for an offense 

28.21 occurring after four or more qualified prior impaired driving incidents. 

28.22 (c) The commissioner shall establish performance standards and a process for certifying 

28.23 chemical monitoring devices. The standards and procedures arc not rules and are exempt 

28.24 from chapter 14, including section 14.386. 

28.25 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2021, for revocations occurring 

28.26 on or after that date. 

28.27 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 169A.60, subdivision 2, is amended to read: 

28.28 Subd. 2. Plate impoundment violation; impoundment order. (a) The commissioner 

28.29 shall issue a registration plate impoundment order when: 

28.30 (1) a person's driver's license or driving privileges are revoked for a plate impoundment 

28.31 violation; ef 
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29.l (2) a person is arrested for or charged with a plate impoundment violation described in 

29.2 subdivision 1, paragraph (d), clause (5); or 

29.3 (3) a person issued new registration plates pursuant to subdivision 13, paragraph (f), 

29.4 violates the terms of the ignition interlock program as described in subdivision 13, paragraph 

29.5 _(g}. 

29.6 (b) The order must require the impoundment of the registration plates of the motor 

29.7 vehicle involved in the plate impoundment violation and all motor vehicles owned by, 

29.8 registered, or leased in the name of the violator, including motor vehicles registered jointly 

29.9 or leased in the name of the violator and another. The commissioner shall not issue an 

29.10 impoundment order for the registration plates of a rental vehicle, as defined in section 

29.11 168.041, subdivision 10, or a vehicle registered in another state. 

29.12 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 169A.60, subdivision 3, is amended to read: 

29.13 Subd. 3. Notice of impoundment. An impoundment order is effective when the 

29.14 commissioner or a peace officer acting on behalf of the commissioner notifies the violator 

29.15 or the registered owner of the motor vehicle of the intent to impound and order of 

29.16 impoundment. The notice must advise the violator of the duties and obligations set forth in 

29.17 subdivision 6 (surrender of plates) and of the right to obtain administrative and judicial 

29.18 review. The notice to the registered owner who is not the violator must include the procedure 

29.19 to obtain new registration plates under subdivision 8. If mailed, the notice and order of 

29.20 impoundment is deemed received three days after mailing to the last known address of the 

29.21 violator or the registered owner, including the address provided when the person became a 

29.22 program participant in the ignition interlock program under section 171.306. 

29.23 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 169A.60, subdivision 13, is amended to read: 

29.24 Subd. 13. Special registration plates. (a) At any time during the effective period of an 

29.25 impoundment order, a violator or registered owner may apply to the commissioner for new 

29.26 registration plates, which must bear a special series of numbers or letters so as to be readily 

29.27 identified by traffic law enforcement officers. The commissioner may authorize the issuance 

29.28 of special plates if: 

29.29 (1) the violator has a qualified licensed driver whom the violator must identify; 

29.30 (2) the violator or registered owner has a limited license issued under section 171.30; 

29.31 (3) the registered owner is not the violator and the registered owner has a valid or limited 

29.32 driver's license; 
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30.1 (4) a member of the registered owner's household has a valid driver's license; or 

30.2 (5) the violator has been reissued a valid driver's license. 

30.3 (b) The commissioner may not issue new registration plates for that vehicle subject to 

30.4 plate impoundment for a period of at least one year from the date of the impoundment order. 

30.5 In addition, if the owner is the violator, new registration plates may not be issued for the 

30.6 vehicle unless the person has been reissued a valid driver's license in accordance with chapter 

30.7 171. 

30.8 ( c) A violator may not apply for new registration plates for a vehicle at any time before 

30.9 the person's driver's license is reinstated. 

30.10 (d) The commissioner may issue the special plates on payment of a $50 fee for each 

30.11 vehicle for which special plates are requested, except that a person who paid the fee required 

30.12 under paragraph (f) must not be required to pay an additional fee if the commissioner issued 

30.13 an impoundment order pursuant to paragraph (g). 

30.14 (e) Paragraphs (a) to (d) notwithstanding, the commissioner must issue upon request 

30.15 new registration plates for a any vehicle owned by a violator or registered owner for which 

30.16 the registration plates have been impounded if: 

30.17 (1) the impoundment order is rescinded; 

30.18 (2) the vehicle is transferred in compliance with subdivision 14; or 

30.19 (3) the vehicle is transferred to a Minnesota automobile dealer licensed under section 

30.20 168.27, a financial institution that has submitted a repossession affidavit, or a government 

30.21 agency. 

30.22 (f) Notwithstanding paragraphs (a) to (d), the commissioner, upon request and payment 

30.23 of a $100 fee for each vehicle for which special plates are requested, must issue ne"\Y 

30.24 registration plates for any vehicle owned by a violator or registered owner for which the 

30.25 registration plates have been impounded if the violator becomes a program participant in 

30.26 the ignition interlock program under section 171.306. This paragraph does not apply if the 

30.27 registration plates have been impounded pursuant to paragraph (g). 

30.28 (g) The commissioner shall issue a registration plate impoundment order for new 

30.29 registration plates issued pursuant to paragraph (f) if, before a program participant in the 

30.30 ignition interlock program under section 171.306 has been restored to full driving privileges, 

30.31 the program participant: 
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31. l (1) either voluntarily or involuntarily ceases to participate in the program for more than 

31.2 30 days; or 

31.3 (2) fails to successfully complete the program as required by the Department of Public 

31.4 Safe_!y due to: 

31.5 (i) two or more occasions of the participant's driving privileges being withdrawn for 

31.6 violating the terms of the program, unless the withdrawal is determined to be caused by an 

31.7 error of the department or the interlock provider; or 

31.8 (ii) violating the terms of the contract with the provider as determined by the provider. 

31.9 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 171.29, subdivision 1, is amended to read: 

31.10 Subdivision 1. Examination required.~ No person whose driver's license has been 

31.11 revoked by reason of conviction, plea of guilty, or forfeiture of bail not vacated, under 

31.12 section 169.791, 169.797, 171.17, or 171.172, or revoked under section 169.792, 169A.52, 

31.13 or 171.177 shall be issued another license unless and until that person shall have successfully 

31.14 passed an examination as required by the commissioner of public safety. This subdivision 

31.15 does not apply to an applicant for early reinstatement under section 169.792, subdivision 

31.16 7a. 

31.17 (b) The requirement to successfully pass the examination described in paragraph (a) 

31.18 does not apply to a person whose driver's license has been revoked because of an impaired 

31.19 driving offense. 

31.20 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 171.30, subdivision 1, is amended to read: 

31.21 Subdivision 1. Conditions of issuance. (a) The commissioner may issue a limited license 

31.22 to the driver under the conditions in paragraph (b) in any case where a person's license has 

31.23 been: 

31.24 (1) suspended under section 171.18, 171.173, 171.186, or 171.187; 

31.25 (2) revoked, canceled, or denied under section: 

31.26 (i) 169.792; 

31.27 (ii) 169.797; 

31.28 (iii) 169A.52: 

31.29 (A) subdivision 3, paragraph (a), clause (1) or (2); or 
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32.1 (B) subdivision 3, paragraph (a), clause (4), (5), or (6), if in compliance with section 

32.2 171.306; 

32.3 ~_@} subdivision 4, paragraph (a), clause (1) or (2), if the test results indicate an 

32.4 alcohol concentration of less than twice the legal limit; 

32.5 (D) subdivision 4, paragraph (a), clause (4), (5), or (6), if in compliance vlith section 

32.6 171.306; 

32.7 (iv) 171.17; or 

32.8 (v) 171.172; 

32.9 (3) revoked, canceled, or denied under section 169A.54: 

32.10 (i) subdivision 1, clause (1), if the test results indicate an alcohol concentration of less 

32.11 than twice the legal limit; 

32.12 (ii) subdivision 1, clause (2); or 

32.13 (iii) subdivision 1, clause (5), (6), or (7), if in compliance v1ith section 171.306; or 

32.14 tWj (iii) subdivision 2, if the person does not have a qualified prior impaired driving 

32.15 incident as defined in section 169A.03, subdivision 22, on the person's record, and the test 

32.16 results indicate an alcohol concentration of less than twice the legal limit; or 

32.17 ( 4) revoked, canceled, or denied under section 171.177: 

32.18 (i) subdivision 4, paragraph (a), clause (1) or (2); or 

32.19 (ii) subdivision 4, paragraph (a), clause (4), (5), or (6), if in compliance v1ith section 

32.20 171.306; 

32.21 ~Jill. subdivision 5, paragraph (a), clause (1) or (2), if the test results indicate an 

32.22 alcohol concentration of less than twice the legal limit-;-ef.: 

32.23 (i=rv0 subdivision 5, paragraph (a), clause (4), (5), or (6), if in compliance vlith section 

32.24 171.306. 

32.25 (b) The following conditions for a limited license under paragraph (a) include: 

32.26 (1) if the driver's livelihood or attendance at a chemical dependency treatment or 

32.27 counseling program depends upon the use of the driver's license; 

32.28 (2) if the use of a driver's license by a homemaker is necessary to prevent the substantial 

32.29 disruption of the education, medical, or nutritional needs of the family of the homemaker; 

32.30 or 

Article 2 Sec. 8. 32 



06/27/21 REVISOR KLL/BM A21-0252 

33.1 (3) if attendance at a postsecondary institution of education by an enrolled student of 

33.2 that institution depends upon the use of the driver's license. 

33.3 ( c) The commissioner in issuing a limited license may impose such conditions and 

33.4 limitations as in the commissioner's judgment are necessary to the interests of the public 

33.5 safety and welfare including reexamination as to the driver's qualifications. The license may 

33 .6 be limited to the operation of particular vehicles, to particular classes and times of operation, 

33.7 and to particular conditions of traffic. The commissioner may require that an applicant for 

33.8 a limited license affirmatively demonstrate that use of public transportation or carpooling 

33.9 as an alternative to a limited license would be a significant hardship. 

33.10 (d) For purposes of this subdivision: 

33.11 (1) "homemaker" refers to the person primarily performing the domestic tasks in a 

33.12 household of residents consisting of at least the person and the person's dependent child or 

33.13 other dependents; and 

33.14 (2) "twice the legal limit" means an alcohol concentration of two times the limit specified 

33.15 in section 169A.20, subdivision 1, clause (5). 

33.16 ( e) The limited license issued by the commissioner shall clearly indicate the limitations 

33.17 imposed and the driver operating under the limited license shall have the license in possession 

33.18 at all times when operating as a driver. 

33.19 (f) In determining whether to issue a limited license, the commissioner shall consider 

33.20 the number and the seriousness of prior convictions and the entire driving record of the 

33.21 driver and shall consider the number of miles driven by the driver annually. 

33.22 (g) If the person's driver's license or permit to drive has been revoked under section 

33.23 169. 792 or 169. 797, the commissioner may only issue a limited license to the person after 

33.24 the person has presented an insurance identification card, policy, or written statement 

33.25 indicating that the driver or owner has insurance coverage satisfactory to the commissioner 

33.26 of public safety. The commissioner of public safety may require the insurance identification 

33.27 card provided to satisfy this subdivision be certified by the insurance company to be 

33.28 noncancelable for a period not to exceed 12 months. 

33.29 (h) The limited license issued by the commissioner to a person under section 171.186, 

33.30 subdivision 4, must expire 90 days after the date it is issued. The commissioner must not 

33.31 issue a limited license to a person who previously has been issued a limited license under 

33.32 section 171.186, subdivision 4. 
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34.1 (i) The commissioner shall not issue a limited driver's license to any person described 

34.2 in section 171.04, subdivision 1, clause (6), (7), (8), (11), or (14). 

34.3 G) The commissioner shall not issue a class A, class B, or class C limited license. 

34.4 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 171.306, subdivision 2, is amended to read: 

34.5 Subd. 2. Performance standards; certification; manufacturer and provider 

34.6 requirements. (a) The commissioner shall establish performance standards and a process 

34.7 for certifying devices used in the ignition interlock program, except that the commissioner 

34.8 may not establish standards that, directly or indirectly, require devices to use or enable 

34.9 location tracking capabilities without a court order. 

34.1 o (b) The manufacturer of a device must apply annually for certification of the device by 

34.11 submitting the form prescribed by the commissioner. The commissioner shall require 

34.12 manufacturers of certified devices to: 

34.13 ( 1) provide device installation, servicing, and monitoring to indigent program participants 

34.14 at a discounted rate, according to the standards established by the commissioner; arui 

34.15 (2) include in an ignition interlock device contract a provision that a program participant 

34.16 who voluntarily terminates participation in the program is only liable for servicing and 

34.17 monitoring costs incurred during the time the device is installed on the motor vehicle, 

34.18 regardless of whether the term of the contract has expired; and 

34.19 (3) include in an ignition interlock device contract a provision that requires manufacturers 

34.20 of certified devices to pay any towing or repair costs caused by device failure or malfunction, 

34.21 or by damage caused during device installation, servicing, or monitoring. 

34.22 ( c) The manufacturer of a certified device must include with an ignition interlock device 

34.23 contract a separate notice to the program participant regarding any location tracking 

34.24 capabilities of the device. 

34.25 Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 171.306, subdivision 4, is amended to read: 

34.26 Subd. 4. Issuance of restricted license. (a) The commissioner shall issue a class D 

34.27 driver's license, subject to the applicable limitations and restrictions of this section, to a 

34.28 program participant who meets the requirements of this section and the program guidelines. 

34.29 The commissioner shall not issue a license unless the program participant has provided 

34.30 satisfactory proof that: 
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35.1 (1) a certified ignition interlock device has been installed on the participant's motor 

35.2 vehicle at an installation service center designated by the device's manufacturer; and 

35.3 (2) the participant has insurance coverage on the vehicle equipped with the ignition 

35.4 interlock device. If the participant has previously been convicted of violating section 169.791, 

35.5 169.793, or~169.797 or the participant's license has previously been suspended or canceled 

35.6 under section 169. 792 or 169. 797, the commissioner shall require the participant to present 

35.7 an insurance identification card, policy, or "Vlfitten statement as proofofinsurnnce coverage, 

35.8 and may require the insurance identification card provided be that is certified by the insurance 

35.9 company to be noncancelable for a period not to exceed 12 months. 

35.10 (b) A license issued under authority of this section must contain a restriction prohibiting 

35.11 the program participant from driving, operating, or being in physical control of any motor 

35.12 vehicle not equipped with a functioning ignition interlock device certified by the 

35.13 commissioner. A participant may drive an employer-owned vehicle not equipped with an 

35.14 interlock device while in the normal course and scope of employment duties pursuant to 

35.15 the program guidelines established by the commissioner and with the employer's written 

35.16 consent. 

35.17 ( c) A program participant whose driver's license has been: (1) revoked under section 

35.18 169A.52, subdivision 3, paragraph (a), clause (1), (2), or (3), or subdivision 4, paragraph 

35.19 (a), clause (1), (2), or (3); 169A.54, subdivision 1, clause (1), (2), (3), or (4); or 171.177, 

35.20 subdivision 4, paragraph (a), clause (1 ), (2), or (3), or subdivision 5, paragraph (a), clause 

35.21 (1), (2), or (3); or (2) revoked under section 171.17, subdivision 1, paragraph (a), clause 

35.22 (1), or suspended under section 171.187, for a violation of section 609.2113, subdivision 

35.23 1, clause (2), item (i) or (iii), (3), or ( 4); subdivision 2, clause (2), item (i) or (iii), (3), or 

35.24 (4); or subdivision 3, clause (2), item (i) or (iii), (3), or (4); or 609.2114, subdivision 2, 

35.25 clause (2), item (i) or (iii), (3), or ( 4), resulting in bodily harm, substantial bodily harm, or 

35.26 great bodily harm, where the participant has fewer than two qualified prior impaired driving 

35.27 incidents within the past ten years or fewer than three qualified prior impaired driving 

35.28 incidents ever; may apply for conditional reinstatement of the driver's license, subject to 

35.29 the ignition interlock restriction. 

35.30 ( d) A program participant whose driver's license has been: (1) revoked, canceled, or 

35.31 denied under section 169A.52, subdivision 3, paragraph (a), clause ( 4), (5), or (6), or 

35.32 subdivision 4, paragraph (a), clause (4), (5), or (6); 169A.54, subdivision 1, clause (5), (6), 

35.33 or (7); or 171.177, subdivision 4, paragraph (a), clause ( 4), (5), or (6), or subdivision 5, 

35.34 paragraph (a), clause (4), (5), or (6); or (2) revoked under section 171.17, subdivision 1, 

35.35 paragraph (a), clause ( 1 ), or suspended under section 171.187, for a violation of section 
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36.1 609.2113, subdivision 1, clause (2), item (i) or (iii), (3), or (4); subdivision 2, clause (2), 

36.2 item (i) or (iii), (3), or ( 4); or subdivision 3, clause (2), item (i) or (iii), (3), or ( 4); or 

36.3 609.2114, subdivision 2, clause (2), item (i) or (iii), (3), or ( 4), resulting in bodily harm, 

36.4 substantial bodily harm, or great bodily harm, where the participant has two or more qualified 

36.5 prior impaired driving incidents within the past ten years or three or more qualified prior 

36.6 impaired driving incidents ever; may apply for a limited conditional reinstatement of the 

36.7 driver's license, subject to the ignition interlock restriction, if the program participant is 

36.8 enrolled in a licensed chemical dependency treatment or rehabilitation program as 

36.9 recommended in a chemical use assessment, and if the participant meets the other applicable 

36.10 requirements of section 171.30. After completing. As a prerequisite to eligibility for eventual 

36.11 reinstatement of full driving privileges, a participant whose chemical use assessment 

36.12 recommended treatment or rehabilitation shall complete a licensed chemical dependency 

36.13 treatment or rehabilitation program and one year oflimited license use 'Vtithout violating 

36.14 the ignition interlock restriction, the conditions oflimited license use, or program guidelines, 

36.15 the participant may apply for conditional reinstatement of the driver's license, subject to the 

36.16 ignition interlock restriction. If the program participant's ignition interlock device 

36.17 subsequently registers a positive breath alcohol concentration of 0.02 or higher, the 

36.18 commissioner shall cancel the driver's license, and the program participant may apply for 

36.19 another limited license according to this paragraph. extend the time period that the participant 

36.20 must participate in the program until the participant has reached the required abstinence 

36.21 period described in ~ectio_!l 169~.55, ~ubdivision 4. 

36.22 ( e) Notwithstanding any statute or rule to the contrary, the commissioner has authority 

36.23 to determine when a program participant is eligible for restoration of full driving privileges, 

36.24 except that the commissioner shall not reinstate full driving privileges until the program 

36.25 participant has met all applicable prerequisites for reinstatement under section 169 A.5 5 and 

36.26 until the program participant's device has registered no positive breath alcohol concentrations 

36.27 of 0.02 or higher during the preceding 90 days. 

36.28 Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 243 .166, subdivision 1 b, is amended to read: 

36.29 Subd. 1 b. Registration required. (a) A person shall register under this section if: 

36.30 (1) the person was charged with or petitioned for a felony violation of or attempt to 

36.31 violate, or aiding, abetting, or conspiracy to commit, any of the following, and convicted 

36.32 of or adjudicated delinquent for that offense or another offense arising out of the same set 

36.33 of circumstances: 

36.34 (i) murder under section 609.185, paragraph (a), clause (2); 
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37.1 (ii) kidnapping under section 609.25; 

37.2 (iii) criminal sexual conduct under section 609.342; 609.343; 609.344; 609.345; 609.3451, 

37.3 subdivision 3; or 609.3453; 

37.4 (iv) indecent exposure under section 617.23, subdivision 3; or 

37.5 (v) surreptitious intrusion under the circumstances described in section 609.746, 

37.6 subdivision 1, paragraph (f); 

37.7 (2) the person was charged with or petitioned for a violation of, or attempt to violate, or 

37.8 aiding, abetting, or conspiring to commit any of the following and convicted of or adjudicated 

37.9 delinquent for that offense or another offense arising out of the same set of circumstances: 

37.10 (i) criminal abuse in violation of section 609.2325, subdivision 1, paragraph (b); 

37.11 (ii) false imprisonment in violation of section 609.255, subdivision 2; 

37.12 (iii) solicitation, inducement, or promotion of the prostitution of a minor or engaging in 

37.13 the sex trafficking of a minor in violation of section 609.322; 

37.14 (iv) a prostitution offense in violation of section 609.324, subdivision 1, paragraph (a); 

37.15 (v) soliciting a minor to engage in sexual conduct in violation of section 609.352, 

37.16 subdivision 2 or 2a, clause (1); 

37.17 (vi) using a minor in a sexual performance in violation of section 617.246; or 

37.18 (vii) possessing pornographic work involving a minor in violation of section 617.247; 

37.19 (3) the person was sentenced as a patterned sex offender under section 609.3455, 

37.20 subdivision 3a; or 

37.21 (4) the person was charged with or petitioned for, including pursuant to a court martial, 

37.22 violating a law of the United States, including the Uniform Code of Military Justice, similar 

37.23 to the offenses an offense or involving similar circumstances to an offense described in 

37.24 clause (1 ), (2), or (3), and convicted of or adjudicated delinquent for that offense or another 

37.25 offense arising out of the same set of circumstances. 

3 7 .26 (b) A person also shall register under this section if: 

37.27 (1) the person was charged with or petitioned for an offense in another state that vwuld 

37.28 be a violation ofa law similar to an offense or involving similar circumstances to an offense 

37.29 described in paragraph (a) if committed in this state, clause (1), (2), or (3), and convicted 

37.30 of or adjudicated delinquent for that offense or another offense arising out of the same set 

37.31 of circumstances; 
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38.1 (2) the person enters this state to reside, work, or attend school, or enters this state and 

38.2 remains for 14 days or longer or for an aggregate period oftime exceeding 30 days during 

38.3 any calendar year; and 

38.4 (3) ten years have not elapsed since the person was released from confinement or, if the 

38.5 person was not confined, since the person was convicted of or adjudicated delinquent for 

38.6 the offense that triggers registration, unless the person is subject to a longer registration 

38.7 period under the laws of another state in which the person has been convicted or adjudicated, 

38.8 or is subject to lifetime registration. 

38.9 If a person described in this paragraph is subject to a longer registration period in another 

38.10 state or is subject to lifetime registration, the person shall register for that time period 

38.11 regardless of when the person was released from confinement, convicted, or adjudicated 

38.12 delinquent. 

38.13 ( c) A person also shall register under this section if the person was committed pursuant 

38.14 to a court commitment order under Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 253B.185, chapter 

38.15 253D, Minnesota Statutes 1992, section 526.10,. or a similar law of another state or the 

38.16 United States, regardless of whether the person was convicted of any offense. 

38.17 ( d) A person also shall register under this section if: 

38.18 (1) the person was charged with or petitioned for a felony violation or attempt to violate 

38.19 any of the offenses listed in paragraph (a), clause (1), or a similar law of another state or 

38.20 the United States, or the person was charged with or petitioned for a violation of any of the 

38.21 offenses listed in paragraph (a), clause (2), or a similar law of another state or the United 

38.22 States; 

38.23 (2) the person was found not guilty by reason of mental illness or mental deficiency 

38.24 after a trial for that offense, or found guilty but mentally ill after a trial for that offense, in 

38.25 states with a guilty but mentally ill verdict; and 

38.26 (3) the person was committed pursuant to a court commitment order under section 

38.27 253B.18 or a similar law of another state or the United States. 

38.28 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2021, and applies to offenders 

38.29 who live in the state or who enter the state on or after that date. 

38.30 Sec. 12. [299A.477] HOMETOWN HEROES ASSISTANCE PROGRAM. 

38.31 Subdivision 1. Definitions. ( a) The definitions in this subdivision apply to this section. 
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39.I (b) "Firefighter" means a volunteer, paid on-call, part-time, or career firefighter serving 

39.2 a general population within the boundaries of the state. 

39.3 ( c) "Minnesota Firefighter Initiative" means a collaborative that is established by major 

39.4 fire service organizations in Minnesota, is a nonprofit organization, and is tax exempt under 

39.5 section 501 ~ of the Internal Revenue Code. 

39.6 Subd. 2. Program established. The commissioner of public safety shall award a grant 

39.7 to the Minnesota Firefighter Initiative to administer a hometown heroes assistance program 

39.8 for Minnesota firefighters. The Minnesota Firefighter Initiative shall use the grant funds: 

39.9 (1) to provide a onetime critical illness monetary support payment to each firefighter 

39.10 who is diagnosed with cancer or heart disease and who applies for the payment. Monetary 

39.11 support shall be provided according to the requir~~ents iJ:!J,ubdivi~iQn 3; 

39.12 (2) to develop a psychotherapy program customized to address emotional trauma 

39.13 experienced by firefighters and to offer all firefighters in the state up to five psychotherapy 

39.14 sessions per year under the customized program, provided by mental health professionals; 

39.15 (3) to offer additional psychotherapy sessions to firefighters who need them; 

39.16 (4) to develop, annually update, and annually provide to all firefighters in the state at 

39 .17 least two hours of training on cancer, heart disease, and emotional trauma as causes of illness 

39.18 and death for firefighters; steps and best practices for firefighters to limit the occupational 

39.19 risks of cancer, heart disease, and emotional trauma; _2rovide evidence-based suicide 

39.20 prevention strategies; and ways for firefighters to address occupation-related emotional 

39.21 trauma and promote emotional wellness. The training shall be presented by firefighters who 

39.22 attend an additional course to prepare them to serve as trainers; and 

39.23 (5) for administrative and overhead costs of the Minnesota Firefighter Initiative associated 

39.24 with conducting the activities in clauses (1) to (4). 

39.25 Subd. 3. Critical illness monetary support program. (a) The Minnesota Firefighter 

39.26 Initiative shall establish and administer a critical illness monetary support program which 

39.27 shall provide a onetime support payment of up to $20,000 to each firefighter diagnosed with 

39.28 cancer or heart disease. A firefighter may apply for monetary support from the program, in 

39.29 a form specified by the Minnesota Firefighter Initiative, if the firefighter has a current 

39.30 diagnosis of cancer or heart disease or was diagnosed with cancer or heart disease in the 

39.31 year preceding the firefighter's application. A firefighter's application for monetary support 

39.32 must include a certification from the firefighter's health care provider of the firefighter's 

39.33 diagnosis with cancer or heart disease. The Minnesota Firefighter Initiative shall establish 
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40.1 criteria to guide disbursement of monetary support payments under this program, and shall 

40.2 scale the amount of monetary support provided to each firefighter according to the severity 

40.3 of the firefighter's diagnosis. 

40.4 (b) The commissioner of public safety may access the accounts of the critical illness 

40.5 monetary support program and may conduct periodic audits of the program to ensure that 

40.6 payments are being made in compliance with this section and disbursement criteria 

40.7 established by the Minnesota Firefighter Initiative. 

40.8 Subd. 4. Money from nonstate sources. The commissioner may accept contributions 

40.9 from nonstate sources to supplement state appropriations for the hometown heroes assistance 

40.10 program. Contributions received under this subdivision are appropriated to the commissioner 

40.11 for the grant to the Minnesota Firefighter Initiative for purposes of this section. 

40.12 Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 299A.52, subdivision 2, is amended to read: 

40.13 Subd. 2. Expense recovery. The commissioner shall assess the responsible person for 

40.14 the regional hazardous materials response team costs of response. The commissioner may 

40.15 bring an action for recovery of unpaid costs, reasonable attorney fees, and any additional 

40.16 court costs. Any funds received by the commissioner under this subdivision are appropriated 

40.17 to the commissioner to pay for costs for which the funds were received. Any remaining 

40.18 funds at the end of the biennium shall be transferred to the Fire Safe_!y Account. 

40.19 Sec. 14. [299A.783] STATEWIDE ANTITRAFFICKING INVESTIGATION 

40.20 COORDINATION. 

40.21 Subdivision 1. Antitrafficking investigation coordinator. The commissioner of public 

40.22 safety must appoint a statewide antitrafficking investigation coordinator who shall work in 

40.23 the Office of Justice Pro~ams. The coordinator must be a current or former law enforcement 

40.24 officer or prosecutor with experience investigating or prosecuting trafficking-related offenses. 

40.25 The coordinator must also have knowledge of services available to and Safe Harbor response 

40.26 for victims of sex trafficking and sexual exploitation and Minnesota's child welfare system 

40.27 response. The coordinator serves at the pleasure of the commissioner in the unclassified 

40.28 service. 

40.29 Subd. 2. Coordinator's responsibilities. The coordinator shall have the following duties: 

40.30 (1) develop, coordinate, and facilitate training for law enforcement officers, prQ§ecutor~ 

40.31 courts, child welfare workers, social service providers, medical providers, and other 

40.32 communi_!y members; 
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41.1 (2) establish standards for approved training and review compliance with those standards; 

41.2 (3) coordinate and monitor multijurisdictional sex trafficking task forc~s; 

41.3 ( 4) review, develop, promote, and monitor compliance with investigative protocols to 

41.4 ensure that law enforcement officers and prosecutors engage in best practi~es; 

41.5 (5) provide technical assistance and advice related to the investigation and prosecution 

4 I .6 of trafficking offenses and the tr_eatm~nt of victims; 

41. 7 ( 6) promote the efficient use of resources by addressing issues of deconfliction, providing 

41.8 advice regarding questions of jurisdiction, and promoting the sharing of data between entities 

41.9 investigating and prosecuting trafficking offenses; 

41.10 (7) assist in the appropriate distribution of grants; 

41.11 (8) perform other duties necessary to ensure effective and efficient investigation and 

41.12 prosecution of trafficking-related offenses; and 

41.13 (9) coordinate with other federal, state, and local agencies to ensure multidisciplinary 

41.14 responses to trafficking and exploitation of youth in Minnesota. 

41.15 Sec. 15. [299A.85] OFFICE FOR MISSING AND MURDERED INDIGENOUS 

41.16 RELATIVES. 

41.17 Subdivision 1. Definitions. As used in this section, the following terms have the meanings 

41.18 given. 

41.19 (a) "Indigenous" means descended from people who were living in North America at 

41.20 the time people from Europe began settling in North America. 

41.21 (b) "Missing and murdered Indigenous relatives" means missing and murdered Indigenous 

41.22 ~le. 

41.23 (c) "Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women Task Force report" means the report 

41.24 titled "Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women Task Force: a Report to the Minnesota 

41.25 Legislature," published by the Wilder Research organization in December 2020. 

41.26 Subd. 2. Establishment. The commissioner shall establish and maintain an office 

41.27 dedicated to preventing and ending the targeting of Indigenous women, chtldren2 and 

41.28 two-spirited people with the Minnesota Office of Justice Programs. 

41.29 Subd. 3. Director; ~staff. (a) The commissioner must appoint a director who is a person 

41.30 closely connected to a Tribe or Indigenous community and who is highly knowledgeable 

Article 2 Sec. 15. 41 



06/27/21 REVISOR KLL/BM A21-0252 

42.1 about criminal investigations. The commissioner is encouraged to consider candidates for 

42.2 appointment who are recommended by Tribes and Indigenous communities. 

42.3 (b) The director may select, appoint, and compensate out of available funds assistants 

42.4 and employees as necessary to discharge the office's responsibilities. 

42.5 ~ The director and full-time staff shall be members of the Minnesota State Retirement 

42.6 Association. 

42.7 Subd. 4. Duties. The office has the following duties: 

42.8 (I) advocate in the legislature for legislation that will facilitate the accomplishment of 

42.9 the mandates identified in the Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women Task Force report; 

42.10 (2) advocate for state agencies to take actions to facilitate the accomplishment of the 

42.11 mandates identified in the Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women Task Force report; 

42.12 (3) develop recommendations for legislative and agency actions to address injustice in 

42.13 the criminal justice system's response to the cases of missing and murdered Indigenous 

42.14 relatives; 

42.15 ( 4) facilitate research to refine the mandates in the Missing and Murdered Indigenous 

42.16 Women Task Force report and to assess the potential efficacy, feasibility, and impact of the 

42.17 recommendations; 

42.18 ( 5) develop tools and processes to evaluate the implementation and impact of the efforts 

42.19 of the office;_ 

42.20 ( 6) track and collect Minnesota data on missing and murdered indigeno!ls women, 

42.21 children, and relatives, and provide statistics upon public or legislative inquiry; 

42.22 (7) facilitate technical assistance for local and Tribal law enforcement agencies during 

42.23 active missing and murdered Indigenous relatives c~ses; 

42.24 (8) conduct case reviews and report on the results of case reviews for the following types 

42.25 of missing and murdered Indigenous relatives cases: cold cases for missing Indigenous 

42.26 people and death investigation review for cases of Indigenous people ruled as suicide or 

42.27 overdose under suspicious circumstances; 

42.28 (9) conduct case reviews of the prosecution and sentencing for cases where a perpetrator 

42.29 committed a violent or exploitative crime against an Indigenous person. These case reviews 

42.30 should identify those cases where the perpetrator is a repeat offender; 
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43.I (10) prepare draft legislation as necessary to allow the office access to the data required 

43.2 for the office to conduct the reviews required in this section and advocate for passage of 

43.3 that legislatiQ_n; 

43.4 (11) review sentencing guidelines for missing and murdered Indigenous women-related 

43.5 crimes, recommend changes if needed, and advocate for consistent implementation of the 

43.6 guidelines across Minnesota courts; 

43.7 (12) develop and maintain communication with relevant divisions in the Department of 

43.8 Public Safety regarding any cases involving missing and murdered Indigenous relatives and 

43.9 on procedures for investigating cases involving missing and murdered Indigenous relatives; 

43.10 and 

43.11 (13) coordinate, as relevant, with the Bureau oflndian Affairs' Cold Case Office through 

43.12 Operation Lady Justice and other federal efforts, as well as efforts in neighboring states and 

43.13 Canada. This recommendation pertains to state efforts. Tribes are sovereign nations that 

43.14 have the right to determine if and how they will coordinate with these other efforts. 

43.15 Subd. 5. Coordination with other organizations. In fulfilling its duties the office may 

43 .16 coordinate~ a~ useful, Fith stakeholder groups that were represented on the Missing and 

43.17 Murdered Indigenous Women Task Force and state agencies that are responsible for the 

43.18 systems that play a role in investigating, prosecuting, and adjudicating cases involving 

43.19 violence committed against Indigenous women, those who have a role in supporting or 

43.20 advocating for missing or murdered Indigenous women and the people who seek justice for 

43.21 them, and tp.ose who represent the interests oflndigenous people. This includes the following 

43.22 entities: Minnesota Chiefs of Police Association; Minnesota Sheriffs' Association; Bureau 

43.23 of Criminal A.P,Prehension; Minnesota Police and Peace Officers Association; Tribal law 

43.24 enforcement; Minnesota County Attorneys Association; United States Attorney's Office; 

43.25 juvenile co11rts; Minnesota Coroners' and Medical Examiners' Association; United States 

43.26 Coast Guard; state agencies, including the Departments of Health, Human Services, 

43.27 Education, Corrections, and_ Public Safe!Y; the Mi!).llesota fu.dian Affairs Council; service 

43.28 providers who offer legal services, advocacy, and other services to Indigenous women and 

43.29 girls; the Minnesota Indian Women's Sexual Assault Coalition; Mending the Sacred Hoop; 

43.30 Indian health organizations; Indigenous women and girls who are survivors; the 11 Tribal 

43.31 nations that share geography with Minnesota; and organizations and leadership from urban 

43.32 and statewide American Indian communities. 

43.33 Subd. 6. Reports. The office must report on measurable outcomes achieved to meet its 

43.34 statutory duties, along with specific objectives and outcome measures proposed for the 
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44.1 following year. The report must include data and statistics on missing and murdered 

44.2 indigenous women, children, and relatives in Minnesota, including names, gates of 

44.3 disappearance, and dates of death, to the extent the data is publicly available. The office 

44.4 must submit the report by January 15 each year to the chairs and ranking minority members 

44.5 of the legislative committees with primary jurisdiction over public safety. 

44.6 Subd. 7. Grants. The office may apply for and receive grants from public and private 

44.7 entities for purposes of carrying out the office's duties under this section. 

44.8 Subd. 8. Access to data. Notwithstanding section 13.384 or 13.~, the director has access 

44.9 to corrections and detention data and medical data maintained by an agency and classified 

44.1 o as private data on individuals or confidential data on individuals to the extent the data is 

44.11 necessary for the office to perform its duties under this section. 

44.12 Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 299C.80, subdivision 3, is amended to read: 

44.13 Subd. 3. Additional duty._(& The unit shall investigate all criminal sexual conduct 

44.14 cases: 

44.15 ill involving peace officers, including criminal sexual conduct cases involving chief 

44.16 law enforcement officers; and 

44.17 Q2 where a member of the Minnesota National Guard is the victim, the accused is a 

44.18 member of the Minnesota National Guard, and the incident occurred in Minnesota. 

44.19 (b) The unit shall assist the agency investigating an alleged sexual assault of a member 

44.20 of the Minnesota National Guard by another member of the Minnesota National Guard that 

44.21 occurred in a jurisdiction outside of the state, if the investigating agency requests assistance 

44.22 from the unit. 

44.23 ~ The unit may also investigate conflict of interest cases involving peace officers. 

44.24 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2021, for investigations 

44.25 beginning on or after that date. 

44.26 Sec. 17. [299F.0115] EXEMPTION FOR MEMBERS OF FEDERALLY 

44.27 RECOGNIZED TRIBES. 

44.28 (a) The state fire marshal shall issue building-specific waivers for elements of the State 

44.29 Fire Code that conflict with a federally recognized Tribe's religious beliefs, traditional 

44.30 building practices, or established teachings. Both individual members of federally recognized 
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45.1 Tribes, direct lineal descendents of federally recognized Tribes, and organizations of members 

45.2 of federally recognized Tribes may apply for these waivers. 

45.3 (b) Waivers may only be granted for the following types of buildings: 

45.4 (1) traditional residential buildings that will be used solely by an individual applicant's 

45.5 household or an organizational applicant's members; 

45.6 (2) meeting hQ~ses; and 

45.7 (3) one-room educational buildings. 

45.8 ( c) To obtain a waiver, an applicant must apply to the state fire marshal on a form 

45.9 established by the state fire marshal. The application must: 

45.10 (1) identify the building the waiver will apply to; 

45.11 (2) identify the Tribe the applicant is a ll!ember of; and 

45.12 (3) declare that requirements of the State Fire Code conflict with religious beliefs, 

45.13 traditional building practices, or established teachings of the identified Tribe, which the 

45.14 aQ_plicant adheres to. 

45.15 ( d) Any building for which a waiver is granted may not be sold or leased until: 

45.16 (1) the building is brought into compliance with the version of the State Fire Code in 

45.17 force at the time of the sale or lease; or 

45.18 (2) the prospective buyer or lessee to which the building is being sold or leased to obtains 

45.19 a waiver under this section for the building. 

45.20 Sec. 18. [326B.125] EXEMPTION FOR MEMBERS OF FEDERALLY 

45.21 RECOGNIZED TRIBES. 

45.22 (a) The commissioner oflabor and industry shall issue building-specific waivers for 

45.23 elements of the State Building Code that conflict with a federally recognized Tribe's religious 

45.24 beliefs, traditional building practices, or established teachings. Both individual members 

45.25 of federally recognized Tribes, direct lineal descendents of federally recognized Tribes, and 

45.26 organizations of members of federally recognized Tribes may apply for these waivers. 

45.27 (b) Waivers may only be granted for the following types of buildings: 

45.28 (1) traditional residential buildings that will be used solely by an individual applicant's 

45.29 household or an organizational applicant's members; 

45.30 (2) meeting houses; and 

Article 2 Sec. 18. 45 



06/27/21 REVISOR KLL/BM A21-0252 

46.1 (3) one-room educational buildings. 

46.2 ( c) To obtain a waiver, an applicant must apply to the commissioner on a form established 

46.3 by the commissioner. The application must: 

46.4 (1) identify the building the waiver will apply to; 

46.5 (2) identify the Tribe the applicant is a membe~of; and 

46.6 (3) declare that requirements of the State Building Code conflict with religious belief~, 

46.7 traditional building practices, or established teachings of the identified Tribe, which the 

46.8 a_p_plicant adheres to. 

46.9 (d) Any building for which a waiver is granted may not be sold or leased until: 

46.10 (1) the building is brought into compliance with the version of the State Building Code 

46.11 in force at the time of the sale or leas~;_ or 

46.12 (2) the prospective buyer or lessee to which the building is being sold or leased to obtains 

46.13 a waiver under this section for the building. 

46.14 Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 340A.504, subdivision 7, is amended to read: 

46.15 Subd. 7. Sales after 1:00 a.m.; permit fee. (a) No licensee may sell intoxicating liquor 

46.16 or 3.2 percent malt liquor on-sale between the hours of 1 :00 a.m. and 2:00 a.m. unless the 

46.17 licensee has obtained a permit from the commissioner. Application for the permit must be 

46.18 on a form the commissioner prescribes. Permits are effective for one year from date of 

46.19 issuance. For retailers of intoxicating liquor, the fee for the permit is based on the licensee's 

46.20 gross receipts from on-sales of alcoholic beverages in the 12 months prior to the month in 

46.21 which the permit is issued, and is at the following rates: 

46.22 (1) up to $100,000 in gross receipts, $300; 

46.23 (2) over $100,000 but not over $500,000 in gross receipts, $750; and 

46.24 (3) over $500,000 in gross receipts, $1,000. 

46.25 For a licensed retailer of intoxicating liquor who did not sell intoxicating liquor at on-sale 

46.26 for a full 12 months prior to the month in which the permit is issued, the fee is $200. For a 

46.27 retailer of 3.2 percent malt liquor, the fee is $200. 

46.28 (b) The commissioner shall deposit all permit fees received under this subdivision in 

46.29 the alcohol enforcement account in the special revenue _general fund. 

46.30 ( c) Notwithstanding any law to the contrary, the commissioner of revenue may furnish 

46.31 to the commissioner the information necessary to administer and enforce this subdivision. 
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47.I Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 403.02, subdivision 16, is amended to read: 

47.2 Subd. 16. Metropolitan area. "Metropolitan area" means the counties of Anoka, Carver, 

47.3 Chisa~ Dakota, Hennepin, Isanti, Ramsey, Scott, Sherburne, and Washington. 

47.4 Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 403.03, subdivision 1, is amended to read: 

47.5 Subdivision 1. Emergency response services . .@l_ Services available through a 911 

47.6 system must include police, firefighting, and emergency medical and ambulance services. 

47.7 Other emergency and civil defense services may be incorporated into the 911 system at the 

47.8 discretion of the public agency operating the public safety answering point. 

4 7. 9 (b) In addition to ensuring an appropriate response under paragraph (a), the 911 system 

47.10 may shall include a referral to mental health crisis teams, where available. 

47.11 Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 403.07, subdivision 2, is amended to read: 

47.12 Subd. 2. Design standards for metropolitan area. The Metropolitan 9-H Emergency 

47.13 Services Board shall establish and adopt design standards for the metropolitan area 911 

47.14 system and transmit them to the commissioner for incorporation into the rules adopted 

47.15 pursuant to this section. 

47.16 Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 403.11, subdivision 1, is amended to read: 

4 7 .17 Subdivision 1. Emergency telecommunications service fee; account. (a) Each customer 

47.18 of a wireless or wire-line switched or packet-based telecommunications service provider 

47.19 connected to the public switched telephone network that furnishes service capable of 

4 7 .20 originating a 911 emergency telephone call is assessed a fee based upon the number of 

47.21 wired or wireless telephone lines, or their equivalent, to cover the costs of ongoing 

4 7 .22 maintenance and related improvements for trunking and central office switching equipment 

47.23 for 911 emergency telecommunications service, to offset administrative and staffing costs 

47.24 of the commissioner related to managing the 911 emergency telecommunications service 

47.25 program, to make distributions provided for in section 403.113, and to offset the costs, 

47.26 including administrative and staffing costs, incurred by the State Patrol Division of the 

47.27 Department of Public Safety in handling 911 emergency calls made from wireless phones. 

47.28 (b) Money remaining in the 911 emergency telecommunications service account after 

47.29 all other obligations are paid must not cancel and is carried forward to subsequent years 

47.30 and may be appropriated from time to time to the commissioner to provide financial 

47.31 assistance to counties for the improvement of local emergency telecommunications services. 
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48.1 ( c) The fee may not be less than eight cents nor more than 65 cents a month until June 

48.2 30, 2008, not less than eight cents nor more than 75 cents a month until June 30, 2009, not 

48.3 less than eight cents nor more than 85 cents a month until June 30, 2010, and not less than 

48.4 eight cents nor more than 95 cents a month on or after July 1, 2010, for each customer access 

48.5 line or other basic access service, including trunk equivalents as designated by the Public 

48.6 Utilities Commission for access charge purposes and including wireless telecommunications 

48.7 services. With the approval of the commissioner of management and budget, the 

48.8 commissioner of public safety shall establish the amount of the fee within the limits specified 

48.9 and inform the companies and carriers of the amount to be collected. When the revenue 

48.10 bonds authorized under section 403.27, subdivision 1, have been fully paid or defeased, the 

48.11 commissioner shall reduce the fee to reflect that debt service on the bonds is no longer 

48.12 needed. The commissioner shall provide companies and carriers a minimum of 45 days' 

48.13 notice of each fee change. The fee must be the same for all customers, except that the fee 

48.14 imposed under this subdivision does not apply to prepaid wireless telecommunications 

48.15 service, which is instead subject to the fee imposed under section 403.161, subdivision 1, 

48.16 paragraph (a). 

48.17 ( d) The fee must be collected by each wireless or wire-line telecommunications service 

48.18 provider subject to the fee. Fees are payable to and must be submitted to the commissioner 

48.19 monthly before the 25th of each month following the month of collection, except that fees 

48.20 may be submitted quarterly if less than $250 a month is due, or annually if less than $25 a 

48.21 month is due. Receipts must be deposited in the state treasury and credited to a 911 

48.22 emergency telecommunications service account in the special revenue fund. The money in 

48.23 the account may only be used for 911 telecommunications services. 

48.24 ( e) Competitive local exchanges carriers holding certificates of authority from the Public 

48.25 Utilities Commission are eligible to receive payment for recurring 911 services. 

48.26 Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 403.21, subdivision 3, is amended to read: 

48.27 Subd. 3. First phase. "First phase" or "first phase of the regionwide public safety radio 

48.28 communication system" means the initial backbone which serves the following nine county 

48.29 ten-coun!Y_ metropolitan area: Anoka, Carver, Chisago, Dakota, Hennepin, Isanti, Ramsey, 

48.30 Scott, Sherburne, and Washington Counties. 

48.31 Sec. 25. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 403.21, subdivision 12, is amended to read: 

48.32 Subd. 12. Greater Minnesota. "Greater Minnesota" means the area of the state outside 

48.33 the nine county ten-county metropolitan area served by the first phase. 
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49.l Sec. 26. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 403.36, subdivision 1, is amended to read: 

49.2 Subdivision 1. Membership. (a) The commissioner of public safety shall convene and 

49.3 chair the Statewide Radio Board to develop a project plan for a statewide, shared, trunked 

49.4 public safety radio communication system. The system may be referred to as "Allied Radio 

49.5 Matrix for Emergency Response," or "ARMER." 

49.6 (b) The board consists of the following members or their designees: 

49.7 (1) the commissioner of public safety; 

49.8 (2) the commissioner of transportation; 

49. 9 (3) the state chief information officer; 

49.10 (4) the commissioner of natural resources; 

49 .11 ( 5) the chief of the Minnesota State Patrol; 

49.12 (6) the chair of the Metropolitan Council; 

49.13 (7) two elected city officials, one from the nine county ten-county metropolitan area 

49.14 and one from Greater Minnesota, appointed by the governing body of the League of 

49.15 Minnesota Cities; 

49.16 (8) two elected county officials, one from the nine county ten-county metropolitan area 

49.17 and one from Greater Minnesota, appointed by the governing body of the Association of 

49.18 Minnesota Counties; 

49.19 (9) two sheriffs, one from the nine county ten-county metropolitan area and one from 

49 .20 Greater Minnesota, appointed by the governing body of the Minnesota Sheriffs' Association; 

49.21 (10) two chiefs of police, one from the nine county ten-county metropolitan area and 

49 .22 one from Greater Minnesota, appointed by the governor after considering recommendations 

49.23 made by the Minnesota Chiefs' of Police Association; 

49.24 (11) two fire chiefs, one from the nine county ten-county metropolitan area and one 

49 .25 from Greater Minnesota, appointed by the governor after considering recommendations 

49.26 made by the Minnesota Fire Chiefs' Association; 

49.27 (12) two representatives of emergency medical service providers, one from the 

49.28 nine county ten-county metropolitan area and one from Greater Minnesota, appointed by 

49.29 the governor after considering recommendations made by the Minnesota Ambulance 

49.30 Association; 
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50.1 (13) the chair of the regional radio board for the metropolitan area Metropolitan 

50.2 Emergency Servic~Board; and 

50.3 (14) a representative of Greater Minnesota elected by those units of government in phase 

50.4 three and any subsequent phase of development as defined in the statewide, shared radio 

50.5 and communication plan, who have submitted a plan to the Statewide Radio Board and 

50.6 where development has been initiated. 

50.7 (c) The Statewide Radio Board shall coordinate the appointment of board members 

50.8 representing Greater Minnesota with the appointing authorities and may designate the 

50.9 geographic region or regions from which an appointed board member is selected where 

50. lo necessary to provide representation from throughout the state. 

50.11 Sec. 27. I§04A.06] AID TO SEXUAL ASSAULT VIGTIMS. 

50.12 Subdivision 1. Person seeking assistance; immunity from prosecution. (a) A person 

50.13 acting in good faith who contacts a 911 operator or first responder to report that a sexual 

50.14 assault victim is in need of assistance may not be charged or prosecuted for: 

50.15 (1) the possession, sharing, or use of a~~ontrolled sup~tance under section 152.025, or 

50.16 possession of drug paraphernalia; anci 

50.17 (2) if the person is under the age of 21 years, the possession, purchase, or consumption 

50.18 of alcoholic beverages under section 340A.503. 

50.19 (b) A person qualifies for the immunities provided in this subdivision only if: 

50.20 (1) the evidence for the charge or prosecution was obtained as a result of the person's 

50.21 seeking assistance for a sexuaJ assault victi~; and 

50.22 (2) the person seeks assistance for a sexual assault victim who is in need of assistance 

50.23 for an immediate health or safety concern, provided that the person who seeks the assistance 

50.24 is the first person to seek the assistance, provides a name and contact infofll!ation, and 

50.25 remains on the scene until assistance arrives or is _:Qrovided. 

50.26 ( c) This subdivision applies to one or two persons acting in concert with the person 

50.27 initiating contact provided all the requirements of paragraphs (a) and (b) are met. 

50.28 Subd. 2. Person experiencing sexual assault; immunity from prosecution. (a) A 

50.29 sexual assault victim who is in need of assistance may not be charged or prosecuted for: 

50.30 (1) the possession, sharing, or use of a controlled substance under section 152. 025, or 

50.31 possession of drug paraphernalia; and 
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51.1 (2) if the victim is under the age of 21 years, the possession, purchase, or consumption 

51.2 of alcoholic beverages under section 340A.503. 

51.3 (b) A victim qualifies for the immunities provided in this subdivision only if the evidence 

51.4 for the charge or prosecution was obtained as a result of the request for assistance related 

51.5 to the sexual assault. 

51.6 Subd. 3. Persons on probation or release. A person's pretrial release, probation, 

51. 7 furlough, supervised release, or parole shall not be revoked based on an incident for which 

51.8 the person would be immune from prosecution under subdivision 1 or 2. 

51.9 Subd. 4. Effect on other criminal prosecutions. (a) The act of providing assistance to 

51. lo a sexual assault victim may be used as a mitigating factor in a criminal prosecution for 

51.11 which immunity is not provided. 

51.12 (b) Nothing in this section shall: 

51.13 (1) be construed to bar the admissibility of any evidence obtained in connection with 

51.14 the investigation and prosecution of other crimes or violations committed by a person who 

51.15 otherwise qualifies for limited immunity under this section; 

51.16 (2) preclude prosecution of a person on the basis of evidence obtained from an 

51.17 independent source; 

51.18 (3) be construed to limit, modify, or remove any immunity from liability currently 

51.19 available to public entities, public employees by law, or prosecutors; or 

51.20 ( 4) prevent probation officers from conducting drug or alcohol testing of persons on 

51.21 pretrial release, probation, furlough, supervised release, or parole. 

51.22 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August I, 2021, and applies to actions 

51.23 arising from incidents occurring on or after that date. 

51.24 Sec. 28. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.1095, subdivision 1, is amended to read: 

51.25 Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) As used in this section, the following terms have the 

51.26 meanings given. 

51.27 (b) "Conviction" means any of the following accepted and recorded by the court: a plea 

51.28 of guilty, a verdict of guilty by a jury, or a finding of guilty by the court. The term includes 

51.29 a conviction by any court in Minnesota or another jurisdiction. 
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52.1 ( c) "Prior conviction" means a conviction that occurred before the offender committed 

52.2 the next felony resulting in a conviction and before the offense for which the offender is 

52.3 being sentenced under this section. 

52.4 ( d) "Violent crime" means a violation of or an attempt or conspiracy to violate any of 

52.5 the following laws of this state or any similar laws of the United States or any other state: 

52.6 sections 152.137; 609.165; 609.185; 609.19; 609.195; 609.20; 609.205; 609.2112; 609.2113; 

52.7 609.2114; 609.221; 609.222; 609.223; 609.228; 609.235; 609.24; 609.245; 609.25; 609.255; 

52.8 609.2661; 609.2662; 609.2663; 609.2664; 609.2665; 609.267; 609.2671; 609.268; 609.322; 

52.9 609.342; 609.343; 609.344; 609.345; 609.498, subdivision 1; 609.561; 609.562; 609.582, 

52.10 subdivision 1; 609.66, subdivision le; 609.687; and 609.855, subdivision 5; any provision 

52.11 of sections 609.229; 609.377; 609.378; 609.749; and 624.713 that is punishable by a felony 

52.12 penalty; or any provision of chapter 152 that is punishable by a maximum sentence of 15 

52.13 years or more; or Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 609.21. 

52.14 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective September 15, 2021, and applies to 

52.15 crimes committed on or after that date. 

52.16 Sec. 29. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.131, subdivision 2, is amended to read: 

52.17 Subd. 2. Certain violations excepted. Subdivision 1 does not apply to a misdemeanor 

52.18 violation of section 169A.20; 171.09, subdivision 1, paragraph (g); 171.306, subdivision 

52.19 6; 609.224; 609.2242; 609.226; 609.324, subdivision 3; 609.52; or 617.23, or an ordinance 

52.20 that conforms in substantial part to any of those sections. A violation described in this 

52.21 subdivision must be treated as a misdemeanor unless the defendant consents to the 

52.22 certification of the violation as a petty misdemeanor. 

52.23 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective September 15, 2021, and applies to 

52.24 crimes committed on or after that date. 

52.25 Sec. 30. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.322, subdivision 1, is amended to read: 

52.26 Subdivision 1. Solicitation, inducement, and promotion of prostitution; sex trafficking 

52.27 in the first degree. (a) Whoever, whiie acting other than as a prostitute or patron, 

52.28 intentionally does any of the following may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more 

52.29 than 2-G 25 years or to payment of a fine of not more than $50,000, or both: 

52.30 (1) solicits or induces an individual under the age of 18 years to practice prostitution; 

52.31 (2) promotes the prostitution of an individual under the age of 18 years; 
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53. l (3) receives profit, knowing or having reason to know that it is derived from the 

53.2 prostitution, or the promotion of the prostitution, of an individual under the age of 18 years; 

53.3 or 

53.4 ( 4) engages in the sex trafficking of an individual under the age of 18 years. 

53.5 (b) Whoever violates paragraph (a) or subdivision 1 a may be sentenced to imprisonment 

53.6 for not more than±§. 30 years or to payment of a fine of not more than $60,000, or both, if 

53.7 one or more of the following aggravating factors are present: 

53.8 (1) the offender has committed a prior qualified human trafficking-related offense; 

53.9 (2) the offense involved a sex trafficking victim who suffered bodily harm during the 

53.10 commission of the offense; 

53.11 (3) the time period that a sex trafficking victim was held in debt bondage or forced labor 

53.12 or services exceeded 180 days; or 

53.13 (4) the offense involved more than one sex trafficking victim. 

53.14 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective September 15, 2021, and applies to 

53.15 crimes committed on or after that date. 

53.16 Sec. 31. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.322, subdivision la, is amended to read: 

53.17 Subd. 1 a. Solicitation, inducement, and promotion of prostitution; sex trafficking 

53.18 in the second degree. Whoever, while acting other than as a prostitute or patron, intentionally 

53.19 does any of the following may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than H 20 years 

53.20 or to payment of a fine of not more than $40,000, or both: 

53.21 (1) solicits or induces an individual to practice prostitution; 

53.22 (2) promotes the prostitution of an individual; 

53.23 (3) receives profit, knowing or having reason to know that it is derived from the 

53.24 prostitution, or the promotion of the prostitution, of an individual; or 

53.25 ( 4) engages in the sex trafficking of an individual. 

53.26 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective September 15, 2021, and applies to 

53.27 crimes committed on or after that date. 
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54.1 Sec. 32. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.221, is amended to read: 

54.2 609.221 ASSAULT IN THE FIRST DEGREE. 

54.3 Subdivision 1. Great bodily harm. Whoever assaults another and inflicts great bodily 

54.4 harm may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than 20 years or to payment of a fine 

54.5 of not more than $30,000, or both. 

54.6 Subd. 2. Use of deadly force against peace officer, prosecuting attorney, judge, or 

54. 7 correctional employee. W Whoever assaults a peace officer, prosecuting attorney, judge, 

54.8 or correctional employee by using or attempting to use deadly force against the officer, 

54.9 attorney, judge, or employee while the person is engaged in the performance of a duty 

54.1 o imposed by law, policy, or rule may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than 20 

54.11 years or to payment of a fine of not more than $30,000, or both. 

54.12 (b) A person convicted of assaulting a peace officer, prosecuting attorney, judge, or 

54.13 correctional employee as described in paragraph (a) shall be committed to the commissioner 

54.14 of corrections for not less than ten years, nor more than 20 years. A defendant convicted 

54.15 and sentenced as required by this paragraph is not eligible for probation, parole, discharge, 

54.16 work release, or supervised release, until that person has served the full term of imprisonment 

54.17 as provided by lmv, nonvithstanding the provisions of sections 241.26, 242.19, 243.05, 

54.18 244.04, 609.12, and 609.135. Notwithstanding section 609.135, the court may not stay the 

54.19 imposition or execution of this sentence. 

54.20 Subd. 3. Great bodily harm; peace officer, prosecuting attorney, judge, or 

54.21 correctional employee. Whoever assaults a peace officer, prosecuting attorney, judge, or 

54.22 correctional employee and inflicts great bodily harm on the officer, attorney, judge, or 

54.23 employee while the person is engaged in the performance of a duty imposed by law, policy, 

54.24 or rule may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than 25 years or to payment of a 

54.25 fine of not more thap. $35,000, or both. 

54.26 Subd. 4. Use of dangerous weapon or deadly force resulting in great bodily harm 

54.27 against peace officer, prosecuting attorney, judge, or correctional employee. Whoever 

54.28 assaults and inflicts great bodily harm upon a peace officer, prosecuting attorney, judge, or 

54.29 correctional employee with a dangerous weapon or by using or attempting to use deadly 

54.30 force against the officer, attorney, judge, or employee while the person is engaged in the 

54.31 performance of a duty imposed by law, policy, or rule may be sentenced to imprisonment 

54.32 for not more than 30 years or to payment of a fine of not more than $40,000, or both. 

54.33 Subd. 5. Mandatory sentences for assaults against a peace officer, prosecuting 

54.34 attorney, judge, or correctional employee. (a) A person convicted of assaulting a peace 
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55.1 officer, prosecuting attorney, judge, or correctional employee shall be committed to the 

55.2 custody of the commissioner of corrections for not less than: 

55.3 (1) ten years, nor more than 20 years, for a violation of subdivision 2; 

55.4 (2) 15 years, nor more than 25 years, for a violation of subdivis~ion 3; or 

55.5 (3) 25 years, nor more than 30 years, for a violation of subdivision 4. 

55.6 (b) A defendant convicted and sentenced as required by this subdivision is not eligible 

55.7 for probation, parole, discharge, work release, or supervised release, until that person has 

55.8 served the full term of imprisonment as provided by law, notwithstanding the provisions of 

55.9 sections 241.26, 242.19, 243.05, 244.04, 609.12, and 609.135. Notwithstanding section 

55.10 609.135, the court may not stay the imposition or execution of this sentence. 

55.11 Subd. 6. Definitions. W As used in this subdivision section: 

55.12 (1) "correctional employee" means an employee of a public or private prison, jail, or 

55.13 workhouse; 

55.14 (2) "deadly force" has the meaning given in section 609.066, subdivision 1; 

55.15 (3) "peace officer" has the meaning given in section 626.84, subdivision 1; 

55.16 ( 4) "prosecuting attorney" means an attorney, with criminal prosecution or civil 

55.17 responsibilities, who is the attorney general, a political subdivision's elected or appointed 

55.18 county or city attorney, or a deputy, assistant, or special assistant of any of these; and 

55.19 (5) "judge" means a judge or justice of any court of this state that is established by the 

55.20 Minnesota Constitution. 

55.21 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective September 15, 2021, and applies to 

55.22 crimes committed on or after that date. 

55.23 Sec. 33. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.324, subdivision 2, is amended to read: 

55.24 Subd. 2. Patrons of prostitution in public plaee; penalty for patrons . .@l_ Whoever, 

55.25 while acting as a patron, intentionally does any of the following while in a public place is 

55.26 guilty of a gross misdemeanor: 

55.27 (1) engages in prostitution with an individual 18 years of age or older; or 

55.28 (2) hires, offers to hire, or agrees to hire an individual 18 years of age or older to engage 

55.29 in sexual penetration or sexual contact. 
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56.1 Except as otherwise provided in subdivision 4, a person who is convicted of violating this 

56.2 subdivision must, at a minimum, be sentenced to pay a fine of at least $1,500. 

56.3 (b) Whoever violates the provisions of this subdivision within ten years of a previous 

56.4 conviction for violating this section or section 609 .322 is guilty of a felony and may be 

56.5 sentenced to imprisonment for not more than five years or to payment of a fine of not more 

56.6 than $10,000, or both. 

56.7 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective September 15, 2021, and applies to 

56.8 crimes committed on or after that date. 

56.9 Sec. 34. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.324, subdivision 4, is amended to read: 

56.10 Subd. 4. Community service in lieu of minimum fine. The court may order a person 

56.11 convicted of violating subdivision 2 ~ to perform community work service in lieu of all 

56.12 or a portion of the minimum fine required under those subdivisions if the court makes 

56.13 specific, written findings that the convicted person is indigent or that payment of the fine 

56.14 would create undue hardship for the convicted person or that person's immediate family. 

56.15 Community work service ordered under this subdivision is in addition to any mandatory 

56.16 community work service ordered under subdivision 3. 

56.17 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective September 15, 2021, and applies to 

56.18 crimes committed on or after that date. 

56.19 Sec. 35. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.3241, is amended to read: 

56.20 609.3241 PENALTY ASSESSMENT AUTHORIZED. 

56.21 (a) When a court sentences an adult convicted of violating section 609.27, 609.282, 

56.22 609.283, 609.322, 609.324, 609.33, 609.352, 617.246, 617.247, or 617.293, while acting 

56.23 other than as a prostitute, the court shall impose an assessment of not less than $500 and 

56.24 not more than $750 for a misdemeanor violation of section 609.27, a violation of section 

56.25 609.324, subdivision 2, a misdemeanor violation of section 609.324, subdivision 3, a violation 

56.26 of section 609.33, or a violation of section 617.293; otherwise the court shall impose an 

56.27 assessment of not less than $750 and not more than $1,000. The assessment shall be 

56.28 distributed as provided in paragraph ( c) and is in addition to the surcharge required by 

56.29 section 357.021, subdivision 6. 

56.30 (b) The court may not waive payment of the minimum assessment required by this 

56.31 section. If the defendant qualifies for the services of a public defender or the court finds on 

56.32 the record that the convicted person is indigent or that immediate payment of the assessment 
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57.1 would create undue hardship for the convicted person or that person's immediate family, 

57 .2 the court may reduce the amount of the minimum assessment to not less than $100. The 

57.3 court also may authorize payment of the assessment in installments. 

57.4 (c) The assessment collected under paragraph (a) must be distributed as follows: 

57.5 (1) 40 percent of the assessment shall be forwarded to the political subdivision that 

57.6 employs the arresting officer for use in enforcement, training, and education activities related 

57.7 to combating sexual exploitation of youth, or if the arresting officer is an employee of the 

57.8 state, this portion shall be forwarded to the commissioner of public safety for those purposes 

57.9 identified in clause (3); 

57 .1 o (2) 20 percent of the assessment shall be forwarded to the prosecuting agency that handled 

57.11 the case for use in training and education activities relating to combating sexual exploitation 

57.12 activities of youth; and 

57.13 (3) 40 percent of the assessment must be forwarded to the commissioner of health to be 

57.14 deposited in the safe harbor for youth account in the special revenue fund and are 

57.15 appropriated to the commissioner for distribution to crime victims services organizations 

57 .16 that provide services to sexually exploited youth, as defined in section 260C. 007, subdivision 

57.17 31. 

57 .18 ( d) A safe harbor for youth account is established as a special account in the state treasury. 

57.19 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective September 15, 2021, and applies to 

57.20 crimes committed on or after that date. 

57.21 Sec. 36. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.3459, is amended to read: 

57.22 609.3459 LAW ENFORCEMENT; REPORTS OF SEXUAL ASSAULTS. 

57.23 (a) A victim of any violation of sections 609.342 to 609.3453 may initiate a law 

57.24 enforcement investigation by contacting any law enforcement agency, regardless of where 

57.25 the crime may have occurred. The agency must prepare a summary of the allegation and 

57.26 provide the person with a copy of it. The agency must begin an investigation of the facts, 

57.27 or, if the suspected crime was committed in a different jurisdiction, refer the matter along 

57.28 with the summary to the law enforcement agency where the suspected crime was committed 

57.29 for an investigation of the facts. If the agency learns that both the victim and the accused 

57.30 are members of the Minnesota National Guard, the agency receiving the report must refer 

57 .31 the matter along with the summary to the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension for investigation 

57.32 pursuant to section 299C.80. 
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58.1 (b) If a law enforcement agency refers the matter to the law enforcement agency where 

58.2 the crime was committed, it need not include the allegation as a crime committed in its 

58.3 jurisdiction for purposes of information that the agency is required to provide to the 

58.4 commissioner of public safety pursuant to section 299C.06, but must confirm that the other 

58.5 law enforcement agency has received the referral. 

58.6 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2021, for investigations 

58.7 beginning on or after that date. 

58.8 Sec. 37. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.352, subdivision 4, is amended to read: 

58.9 Subd. 4. Penalty. A person convicted under subdivision 2 or 2a is guilty of a felony and 

58.1 o may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than three five years, or to payment of a 

58.11 fine of not more than $5,000 $10,000, or both. 

58.12 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective September 15, 2021, and applies to 

58.13 crimes committed on or after that date. 

58.14 Sec. 38. [609.3775] CHILD TORTURE. 

58.15 Subdivision 1. Definition. As used in this section, "torture" means the intentional 

58.16 infliction of extreme mental anguish, or extreme psychological or physical abuse, when 

58.17 committed in an especially depraved manner. 

58.18 Subd. 2. Crime. A person who tortures a child is guilty of a felony and maybe sentenced 

58.19 to imprisonment for not more than 25 years or to payment of a flne of notmor~ than $35,000, 

58.20 or both. 

58.21 Subdi Proof~vidence. (a) Expert testimony as to the existence or extent of mental 

58.22 anguish or psychological abuse is not a requirement for a conviction under this section. 

58.23 (b) A child's special susceptibility to mental anguish or psychological abuse does not 

58.24 constitute an indeQendent cause of the condition so that a defendant is exonerated from 

58.25 criminal liabili!Y. 

58.26 ( c) Proof that a victim suffered pain is not an element of a violation of this section. 

58.27 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective September 15, 2021, and applies to 

58.28 crimes committed on or after that date. 
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59. L Sec. 39. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.605, subdivision 2, is amended to read: 

59.2 Subd. 2. Gross misdemeanor. Whoever trespasses upon the grounds of a facility 

59.3 providing emergency shelter services for battered women, as defined under section 61 lA.31, 

59.4 subdivision 3, or providing comparable services for sex trafficking victims, as defined under 

59.5 section 609 .321, sub4_ivision 7b, or of a facility providing transitional housing for battered 

59.6 women and their children or sex trafficking victims and their childrel}., without claim of 

59.7 right or consent of one who has right to give consent, and refuses to depart from the grounds 

59.8 of the facility on demand of one who has right to give consent, is guilty of a gross 

59.9 misdemeanor. 

59.10 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective September 15, 2021, and applies to 

59.11 crimes committed on or after that date. 

59.12 Sec. 40. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.66, subdivision le, is amended to read: 

59.13 Subd. 1 e. Felony; drive-by shooting. ( a) Whoever, A person is guilty of a felony who, 

59.14 while in or having just exited from a motor vehicle, recklessly discharges a firearm at or 

59.15 toward another: 

59.16 (1) an unoccupied motor vehicle ora building is guilty ofa felony and may be sentenced 

59.17 to imprisonment for not more than three years or to payment ofa fine of not more than 

59.18 $6,000, or both._;_ 

59.19 (2) an occupied motor vehicle or building; or 

59.20 (3) a person. 

59.21 (b) 1\ny person v1ho violates this subdivision by firing at or toward a person, or an 

59 .22 occupied building or motor vehicle, may be sentenced A person convicted under paragraph 

59 .23 (a), clause ( 1 ), may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than three years or to payment 

59.24 of a fine of not more than $6,000, or both. A person convicted under paragraph ( a), clause 

59.25 (2) or (3), may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than ten years or to payment of 

59.26 a fine of not more than $20,000, or both. 

59.27 (c) For purposes of this subdivision, "motor vehicle" has the meaning given in section 

59.28 609 .52, subdivision 1, and "building" has the meaning given in section 609 .581, subdivision 

59.29 2. 

59.30 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective September 15,2021, and applies to 

59.31 crimes committed on or after that date. 
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60.1 Sec. 41. Laws 2016, chapter 189, article 4, section 7, is amended to read: 

60.2 Sec. 7. PUBLIC SAFETY $ 

60.3 Appropriations by Fund 

60.4 General -0- 1,600,000 

60.5 Trunk Highway -0- 4,500,000 

60.6 The amounts that may be spent for each 

60.7 purpose are specified in the following 

60.8 paragraphs. 

60.9 (a) DNA Laboratory 

60.10 $630,000 is for the Bureau of Criminal 

60.11 Apprehension DNA laboratory, including the 

60.12 addition of six forensic scientists. The base 

60.13 for this activity is $1,000,000 in each of the 

60.14 fiscal years 2018 and 2019 for eight forensic 

60.15 scientists. 

60.16 (b) Children In Need of Services or in 

60.17 Out-Of-Home Placement 

60.18 $150,000 is for a grant to an organization that 

60.19 provides legal representation to children in 

60.20 need of protection or services and children in 

60.21 out-of-home placement. The grant is 

60.22 contingent upon a match in an equal amount 

60.23 from nonstate funds. The match may be in 

60.24 kind, including the value of volunteer attorney 

60.25 time, or in cash, or in a combination of the 

60.26 two. 

60.27 ( c) Sex Trafficking 

60.28 $820,000 is for grants to state and local units 

60.29 of government for the following purposes: 

60.30 ( 1) to support new or existing 

60.31 multijurisdictional entities to investigate sex 

60.32 trafficking crimes; and 
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61.1 (2) to provide technical assistance for sex 

61.2 trafficking crimes, including training and case 

61.3 consultation, to law enforcement agencies 

61.4 statewide. 

61.5 (d) State Patrol 

61.6 $4,500,000 is from the trunk highway fund to 

61.7 recruit, hire, train, and equip a State Patrol 

61.8 Academy. This amount is added to the 

61.9 appropriation in Laws 2015, chapter 75, article 

61.1 o 1, section 5, subdivision 3. The base 

61.11 appropriation from the trunk highway fund 

61.12 for patrolling highways in each of fiscal years 

61.13 2018 and2019 is $87,492,000, which includes 

61.14 $4,500,000 each year for a State Patrol 

61.15 Academy. 
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61.16 Sec. 42. Laws 2017, chapter 95, article 1, section 11, subdivision 7, is amended to read: 

61.17 Subd. 7. Office of Justice Programs 

61.18 Appropriations by Fund 

61.19 General 39,484,000 39,940,000 

61.20 State Government 
61.21 Special Revenue 96,000 

61.22 (a) OJP Administration Costs 

61.23 Up to 2.5 percent of the grant funds 

61.24 appropriated in this subdivision may be used 

61.25 by the commissioner to administer the grant 

61.26 program. 

61.27 (b) Combating Terrorism Recruitment 

61.28 $250,000 each year is for grants to local law 

61.29 enforcement agencies to develop strategies 

61.30 and make efforts to combat the recruitment of 

61.31 Minnesota residents by terrorist organizations 

61.32 such as ISIS and al-Shabaab. This is a onetime 

61.33 appropriation. 
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62.1 ( c) Sex Trafficking Prevention Grants 

62.2 $180,000 each year is for grants to state and 

62.3 local units of government for the following 

62.4 purposes: 

62.5 ( 1) to support new or existing 

62.6 multijurisdictional entities to investigate sex 

62.7 trafficking crimes; and 

62.8 (2) to provide technical assistance, including 

62.9 training and case consultation, to law 

62.1 o enforcement agencies statewide. 

62.11 ( d) Pathway to Policing Reimbursement Grants 

62.12 $400,000 the second year is for reimbursement 

62.13 grants to local units of government that operate 

62.14 pathway to policing programs intended to 

62.15 bring persons with nontraditional backgrounds 

62.16 into law enforcement. Applicants for 

62.17 reimbursement grants may receive up to 50 

62.18 percent of the cost of compensating and 

62.19 training pathway to policing participants. 

62.20 Reimbursement grants shall be proportionally 

62.21 allocated based on the number of grant 

62.22 applications approved by the commissioner. 

KLL/BM A21-0252 

62.23 Sec. 43. Laws 2020, Seventh Special Session chapter 2, article 2, section 4, is amended 

62.24 to read: 

62.25 Sec. 4. TRANSFER; ALCOHOL ENFORCEMENT ACCOUNT. 

62.26 W By July 15, 2021, the commissioner of public safety must certify to the commissioner 

62.27 of management and budget the amount of permit fees waived under section 3, clause (2), 

62.28 during the period from January 1, 2021, to June 30, 2021, and the commissioner of 

62.29 management and budget must transfer the certified amount from the general fund to the 

62.30 alcohol enforcement account in the special revenue fund established under Minnesota 

62.31 Statutes, section 299A.706. 
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63.l (b) By January 15, 2022, the commissioner of public safety must certify to the 

63.2 commissioner of management and budget the amount of permit fees v,aived under section 

63.3 3, clause (2), during the period from July 1, 2021, to December 31, 2021, and the 

63.4 commissioner of management and budget must transfer the certified amount from the general 

63.5 fund to the alcohol enforcement account in the special revenue fund established under 

63.6 :Minnesota Statutes, section 299A .. 706. 

63.7 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment. 

63.8 Sec. 44. NEUROPSYCHOLOGICAL EXAMINATION FEASIBILITY STUDY. 

63.9 (a) The state court administrator shall conduct a feasibility study on requiring courts to 

63.10 order that individuals convicted of felony-level criminal offenses undergo a 

63.11 neuropsychological examination to determine whether, due to a stroke, traumatic brain 

63.12 injury, or fetal alcohol spectrum disorder, the individual had a mental impairment that caused 

63.13 the individual to lack substantial capacity for judgment when the offense was committed. 

63.14 (b) In conducting the study, the administrator shall consult with interested parties, 

63.15 including but not limited to prosecutors, public defenders, private criminal defense attorneys, 

63.16 law enforcement officials, probation officers, judges and employees of the judiciary, 

63.17 corrections officials, giental health practitioners and treatment providers, individuals with 

63.18 experience in conducting neuropsychological examinations, and individuals who have 

63.19 experience in the criminal justice system with people who have suffered strokes, traumatic 

63.20 brain injuries, and fetal alcohol spectrum disorder. 

63.21 (c) The study must make recommendations on whether the law should be changed to 

63.22 require these examinations and, if so, the situations and conditions under which the 

63.23 examinations should be required, including but not limited to: 

63.24 (1) the types of offenses the requirement should apply to; 

63.25 Q2 how best to screen individuals to determine whether an examination should be 

63.26 reguired; 

63.27 (3) situations in which an examination would not be required, potentially including 

63.28 where a recent examination had been conducted; 

63.29 ( 4) the costs involved with requiring examinations and how best to pay for these costs; 

63.30 and 

63.31 (5) the effect examination results should have on future proceedings involving the 

63.32 individual, including sentencing and providing treatment. 
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64.1 (d) By February 15, 2022, the state court administrator shall report to the chairs and 

64.2 ranking minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over criminal 

64.3 justice policy and funding on the results of the study. 

64.4 Sec. 45. 911 TELECOMMUNICATOR WORKING GROUP. 

64.5 Subdivision 1. MembershiJ!: (a) The commissioner of public safety shall convene a 911 

64.6 telecommunicator working group that consists of the commissioner, or a designee, and one 

64.7 representative of each of the following organizations: 

64.8 (1) the Minnesota Chiefs of Police Associc1tion; 

64.9 (2) the Minnesota Sheriffs' Association; 

64.1 o (3) the Minnesota Police and Peace Officers Association; 

64.11 ( 4) the Emergency Communications Network; 

64.12 (5) the Minnesota State Fire Chiefs AssQciation; 

64.13 (6) the Association of Minnesota Count(es; 

64.14 (7) the League of Minnesota Citie~; 

64.15 (8) Tribal dispatchers; 

64.16 (9) the Metropolitan Emergency Services Board; 

64.17 (10) the Emergency Medical Services Regulatory Boar<:!; 

64.18 (11) the Statewide Emergency Communications Board; 

64.19 (12) each of the Statewide Emergency Communications Board's seven regional board~; 

64.20 (13) mental health crisis team providers; 

64.21 (14) the Minnesota Association of Public Safety Communications Officials (MN APCO) 

64.22 and the National Emergency Number Association of Minnesota (NENA of MN); and 

64.23 @ the Minnesota Ambulance Association. 

64.24 (b) The working group must also include a nonsupervisory telecommunicator working 

64.25 in a regional center outside of the seven-county metropolitan area, a nonsupervisory 

64.26 telecommunicator working in rural Minnesota, and a nonsupervisory telecommunicator 

64.27 working in the seven-county metropolitan area. 

64.28 ( c) The organizations specified in paragraph (a) shall provide the commissioner with a 

64.29 designated member to serve on the working group by August 1, 2021. The ~omgiissi9nei-
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65.1 shall appoint these members to the working group. Appointments to the working group 

65.2 must be made by August 1~~ 2021. 

65.3 Subd. 2. Duties; :report. The working group must submit a report to the chairs and 

65.4 ranking minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over public safety 

65.5 policy and finance by January 15, 2022. The report must: 

65.6 (1) recommend a statutory definition of 911 telecommunicators; 

65.7 (2) recommend minimum training and continuing education standards for certification 

65.8 of 911 telecommunicators; 

65.9 ill recommend standards for certification of 911 telecommunicators; 

65. lo ( 4) recommend funding options for mandated 911 telecommunicators training; 

65.11 (5) recommend best practices in incident response command structure for the state's first 

65.12 responders to implement that do not violate either the United States or Minnesota 

65.13 Constitutions, after reyiewing the various incident response command structures used in 

65.14 the field across the nation and world; and 

65.15 (6) provide other recommendations the working group deems appropriate. 

65.16 Subd. 3. First meeting; chair. The commissioner of public safety must convene the 

65.17 first meeting of the working group by September 15, 2021. At the first meeting, the members 

65.18 must elect a chair. The working group may conduct meetings remotely. The chair shall be 

65.19 responsible for document management of materials for the working group. 

65.20 Subd. 4. Compensation; reimbursement. Members serve without compensation. 

65.21 Subd. 5. Administrative support. The commissioner of public safety must provide 

65.22 administrative support to the working group. 

65.23 Subd. 6. Expiration. The working group expires January 15~~ 2022. 

65.24 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment. 

65.25 Sec. 46. SURVIVOR SUPPORT AND PREVENTION GRANTS. 

65.26 Subdivision 1. Meeting victim needs; grants. The Office of Justice Programs shall 

65.27 award grants to organizations serving victims of crime to (1) provide direct financial 

65.28 assistance to victims in order to support their immediate financial needs and mitigate the 

65.29 impacts of crime, and (2) stop the cycles of violence by meeting emerging or unmet needs 

65.30 impacting victims of crime. 
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66.1 Subd. 2. Eligibility and awards. (a) For grants to organizations to provide direct financial 

66.2 assistance, the director shall establish the eligibility requirements and mechanisms for 

66.3 distribution of funds in consultation with Violence Free Minnesota, the Minnesota Coalition 

66.4 Against Sexual Assault, Minnesota Alliance on Crime, the Minnesota I!!dian Women Sexual 

66.5 Assault roalition, and Sacred Hoop Coalition. Eligibility requirements shall prioritize victim 

66.6 survivors based on economic need; whether the victim survivor is a member of an 

66. 7 underserved population; whether the person was a victim of sexual assault, domestic violence, 

66.8 child abuse, or_ other_ violent cri!!!_e; and whether the victim was ~ juvenile. 

66.9 (b) For grants to stop the cycles of violence by meeting emerging or unmet needs 

66.10 impacting victims of crime, the director shall award grants to individuals or organizations 

66.11 who provide direct support to victims, including but not limited to providing support for 

66.12 immediate and emergigg needs for victims of crime or for domestic abuse transformative 

66.13 justice programs. The director shall prioritize applicants seeking to establish, maiQtain, Qr 

66.14 expand services to underserved populations. 

66.15 (c) Of the amount appropriated for survivor support and prevention grants, at least 30 

66.16 percent must be awarded to organizations to provide direct financial assistance pursuant to 

66.17 paragraph (a) and at least 30 percent must be awarded to individuals or organizations 

66.18 providing support to victims pursuant to paragraph (b). 

66.19 Subd. 3. Report. (a) By January 15 of each odd-numbered year the director shall submit 

66.20 a report to the legislative committees with jurisdiction over public safety on the survivor 

66.21 support and prevention grants. At a minimum, the report shall include the following: 

66.22 (1) the number of grants awarded to organizations to provide direct financial assistance 

66.23 to victims and the total amount awarded to each organization; 

66.24 (2) the average amount of direct financial assistance provided to individual victims by 

66.25 each organization; 

66.26 (3) summary demographic information of recipients of direct financial a~sistance~ 

66.27 including the age, sex, and race of the recipients; 

66.28 ( 4) summary information identifying the crimes committed against the recipients of 

66.29 direct financial assistance; 

66.30 (5) summary information identifying the counties in which recipients of direct financial 

66.31 assistance resided at the time they received the assistanc~ 

66.32 ( 6) the total number of grants issued to individuals or organizations providing support 

66.33 for crime victims; 
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67 .1 (7) the amount of grants issued to individuals or organizations providing support for 

67.2 crime victims; and 

67.3 (8) the services provided by the grant recipients that provided support for crime victims. 

67.4 (b) If the director enters into an agreement with any other organization for the distribution 

67.5 of funds, the director shall require that organization to provide the information identified 

67.6 in paragraph (a). 

67.7 Sec. 47. INNOVATION IN COMMUNITY SAFETY. 

67.8 Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) As used in this section, the following terms have the 

67.9 meanin~iven them. 

67.10 (b) "Civilian review board" means a board, commission, or other oversight body created 

67.11 to provide civilian oversight of the conduct of peace officers and law enforcement agencies. 

67.12 ( c) "Commissioner" means the commissioner of public safety. 

67.13 (d) "Local commission" has the meaning given in Minnesota Statutes, section 363A.03, 

67.14 subdivision 23. 

67.15 (e) "Metropolitan area" has the meaning given in Minnesota Statutes, section 473.121, 

67.16 subdivision 2. 

67.17 (f) "Targeted area" means one or more contiguous census tracts as reported in the most 

67.18 recently completed decennial census published by the United States Bureau of the Census 

67.19 that has a poverty rate of at least 20 percent and that experiences a disproportionately high 

67.20 rate of violent crime. 

67.21 Subd. 2. Community engagement. The commissioner shall work with community 

67.22 members to develop a strategy to address violence within targeted areas and promote 

67.23 community healing and recovery. Additionally, the commissioner shall: 

67.24 (1) provide technical assistance or navigation services to individuals seeking to apply 

67.25 for grants issued by the office; 

67.26 (2) identify targeted areas; 

67.27 (3) organize and provide technical assistance to local grant advisory boards; 

67.28 ( 4) assist local grant advisory boards in soliciting applications for grants; 

67.29 (5) develop simplified grant application materials; 

67.30 {6) identify effective forms of community-led intervention to promote public safety; 
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68.1 (7) encourage the use of restorative justice programs, including but not limited to 

68.2 sentencing circles; and 

68.3 (8) administer grants. 

68.4 Subd. 3. Innovation in community safety grants. ~ Pursuant to the advice of 

68.5 community grant advisory boards, the commissioner shall award grants to organizations in 

68.6 targeted areas for the purposes identified in this subdivision. The commissioner may prioritize 

68.7 targeted areas, determine which targeted areas are eligible for grants, and establish the total 

68.8 amount of money available for grants in each targeted area. In prioritizing targeted areas, 

68.9 the commissioner shall prioritize areas that have the highest rates of violent crime. 

68.10 (b) Recipients of youth, young adult, and family anti violence outreach program grants 

68.11 may work with other organizations, including but not limited to law enforcement,~ate a12d 

68.12 local public agencies, interfaith organizations, nonprofit organizations, and African immigrant 

68.13 and African American community organizations and stakeholders; may focus on African 

68.14 immigrant and African American youth and young adults; and must: 

68.15 (1) identify behaviors indicating that an individual is vulnerable to committing or being 

68.16 the victim of bullying or interfamily, community, or domestic a]2use; 

68.17 (2) identify and assess factors and influences, including but not limited to family 

68.18 dysfunction and cultural disengagement that make youth and young adults vulnerable to 

68.19 recruitment by violent organizati9ns; 

68.20 (3) develop strategies to reduce and eliminate abusive and bullying behaviors among 

68.21 Y2_uth and adults; 

68.22 ( 4) develop and implement strategies to reduce and eliminate the factors and influences 

68.23 that make youth and young adults vulnerable to recruitment by violent orgal!-izations; 

68.24 ( 5) develop strategies, programs, and services to educate parents and other family 

68.25 members to recognize and address behaviors indicating that youth are being recruited by 

68.26 violent organization_§_; and 

68.27 (6) in collaboration with public entities and other community and private organizations 

68.28 that provide services to at-risk youth and families, develop strategies, programs, and~servi~s 

68.29 to reduce and eliminate bullying, abusive behavior, and the vulnerability of youth to 

68.30 recruitment by violent organizations, including but not limited to: 

68.31 (i) expressive and receptive communications programs, including music, art, theater, 

68.32 dance, and play designed to teach and develop appropriate skills for interfaith family 

68.33 communication; 
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69.1 (ii) development of protective skills and positive coping skills to deal with bullying, 

69.2 domestic abuse and interfaith family violence, and violent confrontations in the community; 

69.3 (iii) culturally appropriate individual and family counseling focusing on communication 

69.4 and interpersonal relations with the family and, when appropriate, the African immigrant 

69.5 and African American community; 

69.6 (iv) after-school and summer programs for youth and young adults that are structured 

69.7 and include components offering physical recreation, sports, mentorship, education 

69.8 enrichment, art, music, and social activities t4<.1.t are culturally appropriate; 

69.9 (v) individual and family-oriented financial planning and management skill building; 

69.10 (vi) culturally appropriate individual and family counseling focusing on education and 

69.11 employment counseling; and 

69.12 (vii) information regarding and direct links to entities that provide employment skills 

69.13 training, job search and placement, and employment support activities and services. 

69.14 (c) Recipients of grants to implement the Minnesota SafeStreets program must work 

69.15 with other organizations and persons in the community to develop community-based 

69.16 res_ponses to violence that: 

69.17 (1) use and adapt critical incident response methods that have been identified as best 

69.18 practices in the field, including violence prevention, situational de-escalation, mitigation 

69.19 of trauma, a!!d restorative ju~tice; 

69.20 (2) provide targeted interventions to prevent the escalation of violence after the occurrence 

69.21 of serious incidents, such as a shootin&_murder, o_r other vi_olent crirµe; 

69.22 (3) de-escalate violence with the use of community-based interventions designed to 

69.23 prevent conflict from becoming violeg!; 

69.24 ( 4) provide an alternative to adjudication through a restorative justice model for persons 

69.25 who commit lower level offenses; 

69.26 (5) develop working relationships with community providers to enable young people to 

69.27 care for themselves and their families in healthy and empowered ways; and 

69.28 (6) culminate in a collective action plan that, at a minimum, includes the following: 

69.29 (i) increased educational opportu]!tti~s; 

69.30 (ii) meaningful workforce opportunities; 

69.31 (iii) leadership-based entrepreneurial and social enterprise opportunities; 
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70.1 (iv) expanded mental health and chemical health services; and 

70.2 (v) access to critically needed human and social services. 

70.3 ( d) Recipients of grants to promote community healing must provide programs and direct 

70.4 intervention to promote wellness and healing justice and may use funds for: 

70.5 (1) programmatic and community care support for wellness and healing justice 

70.6 pgictitioners; 

70.7 (2) the establishment and expansion of community organizations that provide wellness 

70.8 and healin~tice services; 

70.9 (3) placing wellness and healing justice practitioners in organizations that provide direct 

70.10 service to Black, Indigenous, and people of coloLcommunities in Minnesota; 

10.11 ( 4) providing healing circl~s; 

10.12 ( 5) establishing and expanding community coach certification programs to train 

70.13 community healers and establish a long-term strategy to build the infrastructure for 

70.14 community healers to be available during times of tragedy; 01 

70.15 (6) restorative justice programs, including but not limited to sentencing circles. 

70.16 ( e) Recipients of grants to establish or maintain co-responder teams must partner with 

70.17 local units of government or Tribal governments to build on existing mobile mental health 

70.18 crisis teams and identify gaps in order to do any of the following: 

70.19 (1) develop and establish independent crisis response teams to de-escalate volatile 

10.20 situations; 

10.21 (2) respond to situations involving a mental health crisis; 

10.22 (3) promote community-based efforts designed to enhance community safety and 

70.23 wellness; or 

70.24 ( 4) support community-based strategies to interrupt, intervene in, or respond to violence. 

70.25 (f) Recipients of grants to establish or maintain community-based mental health and 

70.26 social service centers must provide direct services to community members in targeted areas. 

70.27 Subd. 4. Appropriation; distribution. (a) Of the amount appropriated for grants issued 

70.28 pursuant to subdivision 3, two-thirds shall be distributed in the metropolitan area and 

70.29 one-third shall be distributed outside the metropolitan area. 

70.30 (b) No grant recipient shall receive more than $1,000,000 each year. 
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71.1 Subd. 5. Community grant advisory boards; members.~ The commissioner shall 

7 l .2 work with the chair or director of a local commission, civilian review board, or similar 

71.3 organization to establish a community grant advisory board within a targeted area. 

71.4 (b) Community grant advisory boards shall review grant applications and direct the 

71.5 commissioner to award grants to approved applicants pursuant to subdivision 6. 

71.6 ~ The chair or director of a local commissio_n, civilian review board, or similar 

71.7 organization shall serve as the chair of a community grant advisory board. 

71.8 (d) A community grant advisory board shall include the chair and at least four but not 

71.9 more than six other members. 

71. lo ( e) The membership of community grant advisory boards shall reflect the demographic 

71.11 makeup of the targeted area and the members, other than the chair, must reside in the targeted 

71.12 area over which a board has jurisdiction. A majority of the members of a board must provide 

71.13 direct services to victims or others in the targeted area as a part of the person's employment 

71.14 or regular volunteer work. 

71.15 (f) Community grant advisory board members may not accept gifts, donations, or any 

71.16 other thing of value from applicants. 

71.17 Subd. 6. Community grant advisory boards; procedure. (a) Community grant advisory 

71.18 boards shall provide notice of available grants and application materials for organizations 

71.19 or individuals to apply for grants. 

71.20 (b) Community grant advisory boards shall establish reasonable application deadlines 

71.21 and review grant applications. Boards may interview applicants and invite presentations. 

71.22 ( c) Community grant advisory boards shall make recommendations to the commissioner 

71.23 regarding which applicants should receive funds and the amount of those funds. The 

71.24 commissioner shall award the recommended grants unless the commissioner determines 

71.25 that the award would violate any grant requirements or other law. The commissioner shall 

71.26 not award grants without the recommendation of a community grant advisory board. 

71.27 Sec. 48. TASK FORCE ON MISSING AND MURDERED AFRICAN AMERICAN 

71.28 WOMEN. 

71.29 Subdivision 1. Creation and duties. (a) The Task Force on Missing and Murdered 

71.30 African American Women is established to advise the commissioner of public safety and 

71.31 report to the legislature on recommendations to reduce and end violence against African 

71.32 American women and girls in Minnesota. The task force may also serve as a liaison between 
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72.1 the commissioner and agencies and nonprofit, nongovernmental organizations that provide 

72.2 legal, social, or other community services to victims, victims' families, and victims' 

72.3 communities. 

72.4 (b) The Task Force on Missing and Murdered African American Women must examine 

72.5 and report on the following: 

72.6 (1) the systemic causes behind violence that African American women and girls 

72.7 experience, including patterns and underlying factors that explain why disproportionately 

72.8 high levels of violence occur against African American women and girls, including 

72.9 underlying historical, social, economic, institutional, and cultural factors which may 

72.10 contribute to the violence; 

72.11 (2) appropriate methods for tracking and collecting data on violence against African 

72.12 American women and girls, including data on missing and murdered African American 

72.13 women and gkls~ 

72.14 (3) policies and institutions such as policing, child welfare, coroner practi~es, aDd oth~r 

72.15 governmental practices that impact violence against African American women and girls 

72.16 and the investigation and prosecution of crimes of gender violence against African American 

12.11 ~le; 

72.18 ( 4) measures necessary to address and reduce violence against African American women 

72.19 and girls; and 

12.20 (5) measures to help victims, victims' families, and victims' communities prevent and 

72.21 heal from violence that occurs against African American women and girls. 

72.22 ( c) At its discretion, the task force may examine other related issues consistent with this 

72.23 section as necessa_!Y. 

72.24 Subd. 2. MembershiJ!: (a) To the extent practicable, the Task Force on Missing and 

72.25 Murdered African American Women shall consist of the following ingividuals, or their 

72.26 designees, who are knowledgeable in crime victims' rights or violence protection and, unless 

72.27 otherwise specified, members shall be appointed by the commissioner of public safety: 

72.28 (1) two members of the senate, one appointed by the majority leader and one appointed 

72.29 by the minority leader; 

72.30 (2) two members of the house of representatives, one appointed by the speaker of the 

72.31 house and one appointed by the minority leader; 

72.32 (3) two representatives from among the following: 
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73.1 ill the Minnesota Chiefs of Police Associatiog; 

73.2 @ the Minnesota Sheriffs' Association; 

73.3 (iii) the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension; or 

73.4 (iv) the Minnesota Police and Peace Officers ~ssoci~tion; 

73.5 ( 4) one or more representatives from among the following: 

73.6 (i) the Minnesota County Attorneys Association; 

73.7 (ii) the United States Attorney's Office; or 

73 .8 ( iii) a judge or attorney working in juvenile court; 

73.9 (5) a county coroner or a representative from a statewide coroner's association or a 

73.10 representative of the Department of Health; and 

73.11 ( 6) three or more representatives from among the following: 

73.12 (i) a statewide or local organization that provides legal services to African American 

73.13 women and girls; 

73.14 (ii) a statewide or local organization that provides advocacy or counseling for African 

73.15 American women and girls who have been victims of violence; 

73.16 (iii) a statewide or local organization that provides services to African American women 

73.17 and girls; or 

73.18 (iv) an African American woman who is a survivor of gender violence. 

73.19 (b) In making appointments under paragraph (a), the commissioner of public safety shall 

73.20 consult with the Council for Minnesotans of African Heritage. 

73.21 (c) Appointments to the task force must be made by Septe1p.ber 1, 2021. 

73.22 (d) Members are eligible for compensation and expense reimbursement consistent with 

73.23 Minnesota Statutes, section 15.059, subdivision 3. 

73.24 ( e) Members of the task force serve at the pleasure of the appointing authority or until 

73.25 the task force expires. Vacancies in commissioner-appointed positions shall be filled by the 

73.26 commissioner consistent with the qualifications of the vacating member required by this 

73.27 subdivision. 

73.28 Subd. 3. Officers;_ meetin~@.2 The task force shall elect a chair and vice-chair and 

73.29 may elect other officers as necessary. 
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74.1 (b) The commissioner of public safety shall convene the first meeting of the task force 

74.2 no laterJhan October 1, 2021, and shall provide meeting space and administrative assistance 

74.3 as necessa!Y for the task force to conduct its work. 

74.4 ( c) The task force shall meet at least quarterly, or upon the call of its chair, and may 

74.5 hold meetings throughout the state. The task force shall meet sufficiently enough to 

74.6 accomplish the tasks identified in this section. Meetings of the task force are subject to 

74.7 Minnesota Statutes, chapter 13D. 

74.8 ( d) To accomplish its duties, the task force shall seek out and enlist the cooperation and 

74.9 assistance of nonprofit, nongovernmental organizations that provide legal, social, or other 

74.10 community services to victims, victims' families, and victims' communities; community 

74.11 and advocacy organizations working with the African American community; and academic 

74.12 researchers and experts, specifically those specializing in violence against African American 

74.13 women and girls, those representing diverse communities disproportionately affected by 

74.14 violence against women and girls, or those focusing on issues related to gender violence 

74.15 and violence against African American women and girls. Meetings of the task force may 

74.16 include reports from, or information provided by, those individuals or groups. 

74.17 Subd. 4. Report. On or before December 15, 2022, the task force shall report to the 

74.18 chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over 

74.19 public safety, human services, and state government on the work of the task force. The 

74.20 report must contain the task force's findings and recommendations and shall include 

74.21 institutional policies and practices, or proposed institutional policies and practices, that are 

74.22 effective in reducing gender violence and increasing the safety of African American women 

74.23 and girls; recommendations for appropriate tracking and collecting of data on violence 

74.24 against African American women and girls; and recommendations for legislative action to 

74.25 reduce and end violence against African American women and girls and help victims and 

74.26 communities heal from gender violence and violence against African American women and 

74.27 girls. 

7 4.28 Subd. 5. Expiration. The task force expires upon submission of the report required 

74.29 under subdivision 4. 

74.30 Sec. 49. PUBLIC SAFETY ESCROW ACCOUNT. 

74.31 State agencies may accept funds from the public safety escrow account. Funds accepted 

74.32 by a state agency must be deposited in an account in the special revenue fund and are 

74.33 appropriated to that agency for the purposes for which they are received. 
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75.1 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment and 

75.2 applies to funds received by a state agency on or after June 28, 2018. 

75.3 Sec. 50. SENTENCING GUIDELINES COMMISSION DIRECTED TO INCREASE 

75.4 THE RANKINGS FOR CERTAIN CHILD PORNOGRAPHY CRIMES. 

75.5 The Sentencing Guidelines Commission is directed to increase the severity rankings on 

75.6 the sex offender grid for~a violation pf Minnesota Statu!es, section 617.247, subdivis(cm 3, 

75.7 paragraph (b ), from severity level D to C, and subdivision 4, paragraph (b ), from severity 

75.8 level F to E, consistent with the recommendations contained in the minori~ort in the 

75.9 commission's 2021 report to the legislature. The other modifications to the grid relating to 

75.10 child pornography crimes proposed in the main report are adopted. 

75.11 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective September 15, 2021, and applies to 

75.12 crimes committed on or after that date. 

75.13 Sec. 51. TASK FORCE ON AIDING AND ABETTING FELONY MURDER. 

75.14 Subdivision 1. Definitions. As used in this section, the following terms have the meanings 

75.15 given: 

75.16 (1) "aiding and abetting" means a person who is criminally liable for a crime committed 

75.17 by another because that person intentionally aided, advised, hired, counseled, or conspired 

75.18 with or otherwise procured the other to comllli~ the crime; and 

75.19 (2) "felony murder" means a violation ofMinnesota Statutes, section 609.185, paragraph 

75.20 (a), clause (2), (3), (5), (6), or (7); or 609.19, subdivision 2, clause (1). 

75.21 Subd. 2. Establishment. The task force on aiding and abetting felony murder is 

75.22 established to collect and analyze data on the charging, convicting, and sentencing of people 

75.23 for aiding and abetting felony murder; assess whether current laws and practices promote 

75.24 public safety and equity in sentencing; and make recommendations to the legislature. 

75.25 Subd. 3. Membershi~ (a) The task force consists of the following members: 

75.26 (1) the commissioner of corrections or a designee; 

75.27 (2) the executive director of the Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines Commission or a 

75.28 designee; 

75.29 (3) the state public defender or a designee; 

75.30 ( 4) the statewide coordinator of the Violent Crime Coordinating Council or a designee; 
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76.1 (5) one defense attorney, appointed by the Minnesota Association of Criminal Defense 

76.2 La~ers; 

76.3 (6) two county attorneys, one from a county within the seven-county metropolitan area 

76.4 and the other from outside the seven-county metropolitan area, appointed by the Minnesota 

76.5 County Attorneys A~sociagon; 

76.6 (7) a peace officer familiar with homicide investigations, preferably felony murdei-, 

76.7 appointed jointly by the Minnesota Sheriffs' A~sociation, and the Minnesota Chiefs of Police 

76.8 Association_~ 

76.9 (8) one member representing a victims' rights organization, appointed by the senate 

76.10 majority leader; 

76.11 (9) one member of a statewide civil rights organization, appointed by the speaker of the 

76.12 house of representatives; 

76.13 (10) one impacted person who is directly related to a person who has been convicted of 

76.14 felony murder, appointed by the govef!!or; an9 

76.15 (11) one person with expertise regarding the laws and practices of other states relating 

76.16 to aiding and abetting felony murder, appointed by the governor. 

76.17 (b) Appointments must be made no later than July 30, 2021. 

76.18 (c) Members shall serve without compensation. 

76.19 ( d) Members of the task force serve at the pleasure of the appointing authority or until 

76.20 the task force expires. Vacancies shall be filled by the appointing authority consistent with 

76.21 the qualifications of the vacating member required by this subdivision. 

76.22 ( e) To ensure a balanced task force, when making appointments, the appointing authority 

76.23 shall attempt to appoint members who do not have unduly strong preconceived beliefs on 

76.24 the subject of felony murder. 

76.25 Subc!. 4. Officers; meetings. ~ The task force shall elect a chair and vice-chair and 

76.26 may elect other officers as necessary. 

76.27 (b) The commissioner of corrections shall convene the first meeting of the task force no 

76.28 later than August 1, 2021, and shall provide meeting space and administrative assistance 

76.29 as necessaEY_ for the task force to conduct its work. 

76.30 ( c) The task force shall meet at least monthly or upon the call of its chair. The task force 

76.31 shall meet sufficiently enough to accomplish the tasks identified in this section. Meetings 

76.32 of the task force are subject to Minnesota Statutes, chapter 13D. 
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77.1 (d) To compile and analyze data, the task force shall request the cooperation and 

77.2 assistance of local law enforcement agencies, the Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines 

77.3 Commission, the judicial branch, the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension, county attorneys, 

77.4 and Tribal governments and may request the cooperation of academics and others with 

77.5 experience and expertise in researching the impact of laws criminalizing aiding and abetting 

77.6 felony murder. 

77.7 Subd. 5. Duties. @2 The ta§__k force shall, at a minimum: 

77.8 (1) collect and analyze data on charges, convictions, and sentences for aiding and abetting 

77.9 felony_ murder; 

77.10 (2) collect and analyze data on sentences for aiding and abetting felony murder in which 

77.11 a person received a mitigated durational departure because the person played a minor or 

77.12 passive role in the crime or participated under circumstances of coercion or duress; 

77.13 (3) collect and analyze data on charges, convictions, and sentences for codefendants of 

77.14 people sentenced for aiding and abetting felony murder; 

77 .15 ( 4) review relevant state statutes and state and federal court decisions; 

77.16 (5) receive input from individuals who were convicted of aiding and abetting felony 

77 .17 murder; 

77 .18 ( 6) receive input from family members of individuals who were victims of felony mu~der; 

77.19 (7) analyze the benefits and unintended consequences of Minnesota Statutes and practices 

77.20 related to the charging, convicting, and sentencing of people for aiding and abetting felony 

77.21 murder including but not limited to an analysis of whether current statutes and practice: 

77.22 (i) promote public safety; and 

77.23 (ii) properly punish people for their role in an offense; and 

77.24 (8) make recommendations for legislative action, if any, on laws affecting: 

77.25 (i) the collection and reporting of data; and 

77.26 (ii) the charging, convicting, and sentencing of people for aiding and abetting felony 

77.27 murder. 

77.28 (b) At its discretion, the task force may examine, as necessary, other related issues 

77.29 consistent with this section. 

77.30 Subd. 6. Report. On or before January 15, 2022, the task force shall submit a report to 

77.31 the chairs and ranking minority members of the house of representatives and senate 
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78.1 committees and divisions with jurisdiction over criminal sentencing on the findings and 

78.2 recommendations of the task force. 

78.3 Subd. 7. Expiration. The task force expires the day after submitting its report under 

78.4 subdivision 6. 

78.5 Sec. 52. SENTENCING GUIDELINES MODIFICATION. 

78.6 The Sentencing Guidelines Commission shall comprehensively review and consider 

78.7 modifying how the Sentencing Guidelines and the sex offender grid address the crimes 

78.8 described in Minnesota Statutes, section 609.322. 

78.9 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1~ 2021. 

78.10 Sec. 53. TITLE. 

78.11 Section 21 shall be known as "Travis's Law." 

78.12 Sec. 54. REPEALER. 

78.13 Minnesota _Statut~s 2020, section 609.324, subdivision 3, is repealed. 

78.14 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective September 15, 2021, and applies to 

78.15 crimes committed on or after that date. 

78.16 ARTICLE 3 

78.17 JUDICIARY, HUMAN RIGHTS, AND DATA PRACTICES 

78.18 Section 1. [3.8844] LEGISLATIVE COMMISSION ON DATA PRACTICES. 

78.19 Subdivision 1. Established. The Legislative Commission on Data Practices and Personal 

78.20 Data Privacy is created to study issues relating to government data practices and individuals' 

78.21 personal data privacy rights and to review legislation impacting data practices, data security, 

78.22 and personal data privacy. The commission is a continuation of the commission that was 

78.23 established by Laws 2014, chapter 193, as amended, and which expired June 30, 2019. 

78.24 Subd. 2. Membershi~ The commission consists of two senators appointed by the senate 

78.25 majority leader, two senators appointed by the minority leader in the senate, two members 

78.26 of the house of representatives appointed by the speaker, and two members of the liouse ~of 

78.27 representatives appointed by the minority leader in the house. Two members from each 

78.28 chamber must be from the majority party in that chamber and two members from each 

78.29 chamber must be from the minority party in that chamber. Each appointing authority must 

78.30 make appointments as soon as possible after the beginning of the regular legislative session 
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79.1 in the odd-numbered year. The ranking senator from the majority party appointed to the 

79.2 commission must convene the first meeting of a biennium by February 15 in the 

79.3 odd-numbered year. The commission may elect up to four former legislators who have 

79.4 demonstrated an interest in, or~have a~history of working in, the areas of government data 

79 .5 practices and personal data privacy to serve as nonvoting members of the commission. The 

79.6 former legislators must not be registered lobbyists and shall be compensated as provided 

79.7 under section 15.0575, subdivision 3. 

79.8 Subd. 3. Terms; V!).Cancies. Members of the commission serve for terms beginning upon 

79.9 appointment and ending at the beginning of the regular legislative session in the next 

79.10 odd-numbered year. The appropriate appointing authority must fill a vacancy for a seat of 

79.11 a current legislator for the remainder of the unexpired term. 

79.12 Subd. 4. Officers. The commission must elect a chair and may elect other officers as it 

79 .13 determines are necessa_IT. The chair alternates between a member of the senate and a member 

79.14 of the house of representatives in January of each odd-numbered year. 

79 .15 Subd. 5. Staff. Legislative staff must provide administrative and research assistance to 

79 .16 the commission. The Legislative Coordinating Commission may, if funding is available, 

79 .17 appoint staff to provide research assistance. 

79.18 Subd. 6. Duties. The commission shall: 

79.19 (1) review and provide the legislature with research and analysis of emerging issues 

79.20 relating to government data practices and security and privacy of personal d~Ja; 

79.21 (2) review and make recommendations on legislative proposals relating to the Minnesota 

79.22 Government Data Practices Act; and 

79.23 (3) review and make recommendations on legislative proposals impacting personal data 

79.24 privacy rights, data security, and other related issues. 

79.25 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment. Initial 

79.26 members of the commission serve for a term ending in January 2023. A member of the 

79.27 house of representatives shall serve as the first chair of the commission. A member of the 

79 .28 senate shall serve as chair of the commission beginning in January 2023. 

79.29 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 13.552, is amended by adding a subdivision to 

79.30 read: 

79.31 Subd. 8. Certificate of compliance for public contracts. Access to data relating to 

79.32 certificates of compliance for public contracts is governed by section 363A.36. 
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80.1 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 13.7931, is amended by adding a subdivision to 

80.2 read: 

80.3 Subd. 1 b. Data on individuals who are minors. Except for electronic licensing system 

80.4 data classified under section 84.0874, data on individuals who are minors that are collected, 

80.5 created, received, maintained, or disseminated by the Department of Natural Resources are 

80.6 classified under section 84.0873. 

80.7 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 13.824, subdivision 6, is amended to read: 

80.8 Subd. 6. Biennial audit. (a) In addition to the log required under subdivision 5, the law 

80. 9 enforcement agency must maintain records showing the date and time automated license 

80.1 o plate reader data were collected and the applicable classification of the data. The law 

80.11 enforcement agency shall arrange for an independent, biennial audit of the records to 

80.12 determine whether data currently in the records are classified, how the data are used, whether 

80.13 they are destroyed as required under this section, and to verify compliance with subdivision 

80.14 7. If the commissioner of administration believes that a law enforcement agency is not 

80.15 complying with this section or other applicable law, the commissioner may order a law 

80.16 enforcement agency to arrange for additional independent audits. Data in the records required 

80.17 under this paragraph are classified as provided in subdivision 2. 

80.18 (b) The results of the audit are public. The commissioner of administration shall review 

80.19 the results of the audit. If the commissioner determines that there is a pattern of substantial 

80.20 noncompliance with this section by the law enforcement agency, the agency must 

80.21 immediately suspend operation of all automated license plate reader devices until the 

80.22 commissioner has authorized the agency to reinstate their use. An order of suspension under 

80.23 this paragraph may be issued by the commissioner, upon review of the results of the audit, 

80.24 review of the applicable provisions of this chapter, and after providing the agency a 

80.25 reasonable opportunity to respond to the audit's findings. 

80.26 ( c) A report summarizing the results of each audit must be provided to the commissioner 

80.27 of administration, to the ehaH= chairs and ranking minority members of the committees of 

80.28 the house of representatives and the senate with jurisdiction over data practices and public 

80.29 safety issues, and to the Legislative Commission on Data Practices and Personal Data Privacy 

80.30 no later than 30 days following completion of the audit. 

80.31 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment. 
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81.1 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 13.825, subdivision 9, is amended to read: 

81.2 Subd. 9. Biennial audit. (a) A law enforcement agency must maintain records showing 

81.3 the date and time portable recording system data were collected and the applicable 

81.4 classification of the data. The law enforcement agency shall arrange for an independent, 

81.5 biennial audit of the data to determine whether data are appropriately classified according 

81.6 to this section, how the data are used, and whether the data are destroyed as required under 

81.7 this section, and to verify compliance with subdivisions 7 and 8. If the governing body with 

81.8 jurisdiction over the budget of the agency determines that the agency is not complying with 

81.9 this section or other applicable law, the governing body may order additional independent 

81.10 audits. Data in the records required under this paragraph are classified as provided in 

81.11 subdivision 2. 

81.12 (b) The results of the audit are public, except for data that are otherwise classified under 

81.13 law. The governing body with jurisdiction over the budget of the law enforcement agency 

81.14 shall review the results of the audit. If the governing body determines that there is a pattern 

81.15 of substantial noncompliance with this section, the governing body must order that operation 

81.16 of all portable recording systems be suspended until the governing body has authorized the 

81.17 agency to reinstate their use. An order of suspension under this paragraph may only be made 

81.18 following review of the results of the audit and review of the applicable provisions of this 

81.19 chapter, and after providing the agency and members of the public a reasonable opportunity 

81.20 to respond to the audit's findings in a public meeting. 

81.21 ( c) A report summarizing the results of each audit must be provided to the governing 

81.22 body with jurisdiction over the budget of the law enforcement agency ancl, to the Legislative 

81.23 Commission on Data Practices and Personal Data Privacy, and to the chairs and ranking 

81.24 minority members of the committees of the house of representatives and the senate with 

81.25 jurisdiction over data practices and public safety issues no later than 60 days following 

81.26 completion of the audit. 

81.27 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment. 

81.28 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 13.851, is amended by adding a subdivision to 

81.29 read: 

81.30 Subd. 13. Jailhouse witnesses. Data collected and maintained by the commissioner of 

81.31 corrections regarding jailhouse witnesses are governed by section 634.045. 
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82.1 Sec. 7. [84.0873] DATA ON INDIVIDUALS WHO ARE MINORS. 

82.2 (a) When the Department ofNatural Resources collects, creates, receives, ma.intains, or 

82.3 disseminates the following data on individuals who the department knows are minors, the 

82.4 data are considered private data on individuals, as defined in section 13. 02, subdivision 12, 

82.5 except for data classified as public data according to section 13 .43: 

82.6 (1) name; 

82. 7 ill date of birth; 

82.8 (3) Social Security number; 

82.9 ( 4) telephone number; 

82.10 ill e-_mail address; 

82.11 ( 6) physical or mailing address; 

82.12 Q2 location data; 

82.13 {fil online account access information; 

82.14 (9) data associated with the location of electronic devices; and 

82.15 ( 10) other data that would identify participants who have registered for events, pro grams, 

82.16 or classes sponsored by the Department of Natural Resources. 

82.17 (b) Access to data described in paragraph (a) is subject to Minnesota Rules, part 

82.18 1205.0500. Data about minors classified under this section maintain their classification as 

82.19 private data on individuals after the individual is no longer a minor. 

82.20 ( c) When data about minors is created, collected, stored, or maintained as part of the 

82.21 electronic licensing system described in section 84.0874, the data is governed by section 

82.22 84.0874 and may be disclosed pursuant to the provisions therein. 

82.23 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 169.99, subdivision le, is amended to read: 

82.24 Subd. 1 c. Notice of surcharge. All parts of the uniform traffic ticket must give provide 

82.25 conspicuous notice ofthe fact that, if convicted, the person to whom it was issued mttSt may 

82.26 be required to pay a state-imposed surcharge under section 357.021, subdivision 6, and the 

82.27 current amount of the required surcharge. 

82.28 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2022. The changes to the 

82.29 uniform traffic ticket described in this section must be reflected on the ticket the next time 

82.30 it is revised. 
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83. l Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 169 .99, is amended by adding a subdivision to 

83.2 read: 

83.3 Subd. Id. Financial hardshi~ The first paragraph on the reverse side of the summons 

83.4 on the uniform traffic ticket must include the following, or substantially similar, language: 

83.5 "All or part of the cost of this summons may be waived on a showing of indigency or undue 

83.6 hardship on you or your family. You may schedule a court appearance to request a waiver 

83.7 based on your ability to pay by calling the Minnesota Court Payment Center (CPC) [followed 

83.8 by the Court Payment Center telephone number]. For more information, call the CPC or 

83.9 visit www.mncourts.gov/fines." 

83.10 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2022. The changes to the 

83.11 uniform traffic ticket described in this section must be reflected on the ticket the next time 

83.12 it is revised. 

83.13 Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 357.021, subdivision la, is amended to read: 

83.14 Subd. la. Transmittal of fees to commissioner of management and budget. (a) Every 

83.15 person, including the state of Minnesota and all bodies politic and corporate, who shall 

83.16 transact any business in the district court, shall pay to the court administrator of said court 

83.17 the sundry fees prescribed in subdivision 2. Except as provided in paragraph ( d), the court 

83.18 administrator shall transmit the fees monthly to the commissioner of management and budget 

83.19 for deposit in the state treasury and credit to the general fund. $30 of each fee collected in 

83.20 a dissolution action under subdivision 2, clause (1 ), must be deposited by the commissioner 

83.21 of management and budget in the special revenue fund and is appropriated to the 

83.22 commissioner of employment and economic development for the Minnesota Family 

83.23 Resiliency Partnership under section 116L.96. 

83.24 (b) In a county which has a screener-collector position, fees paid by a county pursuant 

83.25 to this subdivision shall be transmitted monthly to the county treasurer, who shall apply the 

83.26 fees first to reim1.Jurse the county for the amount of the salary paid for the screener-collector 

83.27 position. The balance of the fees collected shall then be forwarded to the commissioner of 

83.28 management and budget for deposit in the state treasury and credited to the general fund. 

83.29 In a county in a judicial district under section 480.181, subdivision 1, paragraph (b ), which 

83.30 has a screener-collector position, the fees paid by a county shall be transmitted monthly to 

83.31 the commissioner of management and budget for deposit in the state treasury and credited 

83.32 to the general fund. A screener-collector position for purposes of this paragraph is an 

83.33 employee whose function is to increase the collection of fines and to review the incomes 

83.34 of potential clients of the public defender, in.order to verify eligibility for that service. 
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84.1 ( c) No fee is required under this section from the public authority or the party the public 

84.2 authority represents in an action for: 

84.3 (1) child support enforcement or modification, medical assistance enforcement, or 

84.4 establishment of parentage in the district court, or in a proceeding under section 484.702; 

84.5 (2) civil commitment under chapter 253B; 

84.6 (3) the appointment of a public conservator or public guardian or any other action under 

84.7 chapters 252A and 525; 

84.8 (4) wrongfully obtaining public assistance under section 256.98 or 256D.07, or recovery 

84.9 of overpayments of public assistance; 

84.10 (5) court relief under chapters 260, 260A, 260B, and 260C; 

84.11 (6) forfeiture of property under sections 169A.63 and 609.531 to 609.5317; 

84.12 (7) recovery of amounts issued by political subdivisions or public institutions under 

84.13 sections 246.52, 252.27, 256.045, 256.25, 256.87, 256B.042, 256B.14, 256B.15, 256B.37, 

84.14 260B.331, and 260C.331, or other sections referring to other forms of public assistance; 

84.15 (8) restitution under section 61 lA.04; or 

84.16 (9) actions seeking monetary relief in favor of the state pursuant to section 16D .14, 

84.17 subdivision 5. 

84.18 (d) $20 from each fee collected for child support modifications under subdivision 2, 

84.19 clause (13), must be transmitted to the county treasurer for deposit in the county general 

84.20 fund and $3 5 from each fee shall be credited to the state general fund. The fees must be 

84.21 used by the county to pay for child support enforcement efforts by county attorneys. 

84.22 (e) No fee is required under this section from any federally recognized Indian Tribe or 

84.23 its re.12resentative in an action for: 

84.24 (1) child support enforcement or mgdification, medical assistance ~nforcement, or 

84.25 establishment of parentage in the district court or in a proce,eding und~r secjjon 484.70~ 

84.26 (2) civil commitment under chapter 253B; 

84.27 (3) the appointment of a public conservator or public guardian or any other action under 

84.28 cha.12ters 252A and 525; or 

84.29 (4) court relief under chapters 260,}60A~260B, 260~, and 260D. 
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85.1 Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 357.021, subdivision 6, is amended to read: 

85.2 Subd. 6. Surcharges on criminal and traffic offenders. (a) Except as provided in this 

85.3 paragraph subdivision, the court shall impose and the court administrator shall collect a $75 

85.4 surcharge on every person convicted of any felony, gross misdemeanor, misdemeanor, or 

85.5 petty misdemeanor offense, other than a violation of a law or ordinance relating to vehicle 

85.6 parking, for which there shall be a $12 surcharge. When a defendant is convicted of more 

85.7 than one offense in a case, the surcharge shall be imposed only once in that case. In the 

85.8 Second Judicial District, the court shall impose, and the court administrator shall collect, 

85.9 an additional $1 surcharge on every person convicted of any felony, gross misdemeanor, 

85.10 misdemeanor, or petty misdemeanor offense, including a violation of a law or ordinance 

85. I 1 relating to vehicle parking, if the Ramsey County Board of Commissioners authorizes the 

85.12 $1 surcharge. The surcharge shall be imposed whether or not the person is sentenced to 

85.13 imprisonment or the sentence is stayed. The surcharge shall not be imposed when a person 

85.14 is convicted of a petty misdemeanor for which no fine is imposed. 

85.15 (b) If the court fails to impose a surcharge as required by this subdivision, the court 

85.16 administrator shall shovt the imposition of the surcharge, collect the surcharge, and correct 

85.17 the record. 

85.18 Will The court may net reduce the amount or waive payment of the surcharge required 

85 .19 under this subdivision. Upon on a showing of indigency or undue hardship upon the convicted 

85.20 person or the convicted person's immediate family, the sentencing court may authorize 

85.21 payment of the surcharge in installments. Additionally, the court may permit the defendant 

85.22 to perform community work service in lieu of a surcharge. 

85.23 fcB ~ The court administrator or other entity collecting a surcharge shall forward it to 

85.24 the commissioner of management and budget. 

85.25 ftj @2_ If the convicted person is sentenced to imprisonment and has not paid the surcharge 

85.26 before the term of imprisonment begins, the chief executive officer of the correctional 

85.27 facility in which the convicted person is incarcerated shall collect the surcharge from any 

85.28 earnings the inmate accrues from work performed in the facility or while on conditional 

85.29 release. The chief executive officer shall forward the amount collected to the court 

85.30 administrator or other entity collecting the surcharge imposed by the court. 

85.31 fB tl A person who enters a diversion program, continuance without prosecution, 

85.32 continuance for dismissal, or stay of adjudication for a violation of chapter 169 must pay 

85.33 the surcharge described in this subdivision. A surcharge imposed under this paragraph shall 

85.34 be imposed only once per case. 
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86.1 ~ ill_ The surcharge does not apply to administrative citations issued pursuant to section 

86.2 169.999. 

86.3 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2022. 

86.4 Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 363A.02, subdivision 1, is amended to read: 

86.5 Subdivision 1. Freedom from discrimination. (a) It is the public policy of this state to 

86.6 secure for persons in this state, freedom from discrimination: 

86.7 (1) in employment because of race, color, creed, religion, national origin, sex, marital 

86.8 status, disability, status with regard to public assistance, sexual orientation, familial status, 

86.9 and age; 

86.10 (2) in housing and real property because of race, color, creed, religion, national origin, 

86.11 sex, marital status, disability, status with regard to public assistance, sexual orientation, and 

86.12 familial status; 

86.13 (3) in public accommodations because of race, color, creed, religion, national origin, 

86.14 sex, sexual orientation, and disability; 

86.15 (4) in public services because of race, color, creed, religion, national origin, sex, marital 

86.16 status, disability, sexual orientation, and status with regard to public assistance; and 

86.17 ( 5) in education because of race, color, creed, religion, national origin, sex, marital status, 

86.18 disability, status with regard to public assistance, sexual orientation, and age. 

86.19 (b) Such discrimination threatens the rights and privileges of the inhabitants of this state 

86.20 and menaces the institutions and foundations of democracy. It is also the public policy of 

86.21 this state to protect all persons from wholly unfounded charges of discrimination. Nothing 

86.22 in this chapter shall be interpreted as restricting the implementation of positive action 

86.23 programs to combat discrimination. 

86.24 Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 363A.08, subdivision 6, is amended to read: 

86.25 Subd. 6. Reasonable accommodation. (a) Except when based on a bona fide occupational 

86.26 qualification, it is an unfair employment practice for an employer with a number of part-time 

86.27 or full-time employees for each working day in each of 20 or more calendar weeks in the 

86.28 current or preceding calendar year equal to or greater than 25 effective July 1, 1992, and 

86.29 equal to or greater than 15 effective July 1, 1994, an employment agency, or a labor 

86.30 organization, not to make __2rovide a reasonable accommodation to the knovm disability of 

86.31 a qualified disabled person or job applicant for a job applicant or qualified employee with 
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87.1 a disability unless the employer, agency, or organization can demonstrate that the 

87.2 accommodation would impose an undue hardship on the business, agency, or organization. 

87.3 "Reasonable accommodation" means steps which must be taken to accommodate the known 

87.4 physical or mental limitations of a qualified disabled person individual with a disability. 

87.5 To determine the appropriate reasonable accommodation the employer, agency, or 

87.6 organization shall initiate an informal, interactive process with the individual with a disability 

87.7 in need of the accommodation. This process should identify the limitations resulting from 

87.8 the disability and any potential reasonable accommodations that could overcome those 

87.9 limitations. "Reasonable accommodation" may include but is not limited to, nor does it 

87 .1 o necessarily require: (1) making facilities readily accessible to and usable by disabled persons 

87.11 individuals with disabilities; and (2) job restructuring, modified work schedules, reassignment 

87.12 to a vacant position, acquisition or modification of equipment or devices, and the provision 

87.13 of aides on a temporary or periodic basis. 

87 .14 (b) In determining whether an accommodation would impose an undue hardship on the 

87.15 operation of a business or organization, factors to be considered include: 

87.16 (1) the overall size of the business or organization with respect to number of employees 

87.17 or members and the number and type of facilities; 

87.18 (2) the type of the operation, including the composition and structure of the work force, 

87.19 and the number of employees at the location where the employment would occur; 

87.20 (3) the nature and cost of the needed accommodation; 

87.21 (4) the reasonable ability to finance the accommodation at each site of business; and 

87.22 (5) documented good faith efforts to explore less restrictive or less expensive alternatives, 

87.23 including consultation with the disabled person or with knowledgeable disabled persons or 

87.24 organizations. 

87.25 A prospective employer need not pay for an accommodation for a job applicant if it is 

87.26 available from an alternative source without cost to the employer or applicant. 

87.27 Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 363A.28, subdivision 1, is amended to read: 

87.28 Subdivision 1. Actions. Any person aggrieved by a violation of this chapter may bring 

87.29 a civil action as provided in section 363A.33, subdivision 1, or may file a verified charge 

87.30 with the commissioner or the commissioner's designated agent. A charge filed with the 

87.31 commissioner must be in writing by hand, or electronically with an unsworn declaration 

87.32 under penalty of perjury, on a form provided by the commissioner and signed by the charging 

87.33 party. The charge must state the name of the person alleged to have committed an unfair 

Article 3 Sec. 14. 87 



06/27/21 REVISOR KLL/BM A21-0252 

88.1 discriminatory practice and set out a summary of the details of the practice complained of. 

88.2 The commissioner may require a charging party to provide the address of the person alleged 

88.3 to have committed the unfair discriminatory practice, names of witnesses, documents, and 

88.4 any other information necessary to process the charge. The commissioner may dismiss a 

88.5 charge when the charging party fails to provide required information. The commissioner 

88.6 within ten days of the filing shall serve a copy of the charge and a form for use in responding 

88.7 to the charge upon the respondent personally, electronically with the receiving party's 

88.8 consent, or by mail. The respondent shall file with the department a written response setting 

88.9 out a summary of the details of the respondent's position relative to the charge within ±G 

88.10 30 days of receipt of the charge. If the respondent fails to respond with a written summary 

88.11 of the details of the respondent's position within 30 days after service of the charge, and 

88.12 service was consistent with rule 4 of the Rules of Civil Procedure, the commissioner, on 

88.13 behalf of the complaining party, may bring an action for default in district court pursuant 

88.14 to rule 55.01 of the Rules of Civil Procedure. 

88.15 Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 363A.28, subdivision 6, is amended to read: 

88.16 Subd. 6. Charge processing. (a) Consistent with paragraph (h), the commissioner shall 

88.17 promptly inquire into the truth of the allegations of the charge. The commissioner shall 

88.18 make an immediate inquiry when a charge alleges actual or threatened physical violence. 

88.19 The commissioner shall also make an immediate inquiry when it appears that a charge is 

88.20 frivolous or without merit and shall dismiss those charges. 

88.21 (b) The commissioner shall give priority to investigating and processing those charges, 

88.22 in the order below, which the commissioner determines have the following characteristics: 

88.23 (1) there is evidence of irreparable harm if immediate action is not taken; 

88.24 (2) there is evidence that the respondent has intentionally engaged in a reprisal; 

88.25 (3) a significant number of recent charges have been filed against the respondent; 

88.26 ( 4) the respondent is a government entity; 

88.27 ( 5) there is potential for broadly promoting the policies of this chapter; or 

88.28 ( 6) the charge is supported by substantial and credible documentation, witnesses, or 

88.29 other evidence. 

88.30 The commissioner shall inform charging parties of these priorities and shall tell each 

88.31 party if their charge is a priority case or not. 
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89.1 On other charges the commissioner shall make a determination within 12 months after 

89.2 the charge was filed as to whether or not there is probable cause to credit the allegation of 

89.3 unfair discriminatory practices. 

89.4 ( c) If the commissioner determines after investigation that no probable cause exists to 

89.5 credit the allegations of the unfair discriminatory practice, the commissioner shall, within 

89.6 ten days of the determination, serve upon the charging party and respondent written notice 

89.7 of the determination. Within tefl: 30 days after receipt of notice, the charging party may 

89.8 request in writing, on forms prepared by the department, that the commissioner reconsider 

89.9 the determination. The request shall contain a brief statement of the reasons for and new 

89.10 evidence in support of the request for reconsideration. At the time of submission of the 

89.11 request to the commissioner, the charging party shall deliver or mail to the respondent a 

89.12 copy of the request for reconsideration. The commissioner shall reaffirm, reverse, or vacate 

89.13 and remand for further consideration the determination of no probable cause within 20 days 

89.14 after receipt of the request for reconsideration, and shall within ten days notify in writing 

89 .15 the charging party and respondent of the decision to reaffirm, reverse, or vacate and remand 

89 .16 for further consideration. 

89.17 A decision by the commissioner that no probable cause exists to credit the allegations 

89.18 of an unfair discriminatory practice shall not be appealed to the court of appeals pursuant 

89.19 to section 363A.36 363A.34 or sections 14.63 to 14.68. 

89.20 ( d) If the commissioner determines after investigation that probable cause exists to credit 

89.21 the allegations of unfair discriminatory practices, the commissioner shall serve on the 

89.22 respondent and the respondent's attorney if the respondent is represented by counsel, by 

89.23 first class mail, or electronically with the receiving party's consent, a notice setting forth a 

89.24 short plain written statement of the alleged facts which support the finding of probable cause 

89.25 and an enumeration of the provisions of law allegedly violated. Within 30 days after receipt 

89.26 of notice, the respondent may request in writing, on forms prepared by the department, that 

89.27 the commissioner reconsider the determination. If the commissioner determines that attempts 

89.28 to eliminate the alleged unfair practices through conciliation pursuant to subdivision 8 have 

89.29 been or would be unsuccessful or unproductive, the commissioner shall may issue a complaint 

89.30 and serve on the respondent, by registered or certified mail, or electronically with the 

89.31 receiving party's consent, a written notice of hearing together with a copy of the complaint, 

89.32 requiring the respondent to answer the allegations of the complaint at a hearing before an 

89.33 administrative law judge at a time and place specified in the notice, not less than ten days 

89.34 after service of said complaint. A copy of the notice shall be furnished to the charging party 

89.35 and the attorney general. 
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90.1 ( e) If, at any time after the filing of a charge, the commissioner has reason to believe 

90.2 that a respondent has engaged in any unfair discriminatory practice, the commissioner may 

90.3 file a petition in the district court in a county in which the subject of the complaint occurs, 

90.4 or in a county in which a respondent resides or transacts business, seeking appropriate 

90.5 temporary relief against the respondent, pending final determination of proceedings under 

90.6 this chapter, including an order or decree restraining the respondent from doing or procuring 

90.7 an act tending to render ineffectual an order the commissioner may enter with respect to 

90.8 the complaint. The court shall have power to grant temporary relief or a restraining order 

90.9 as it deems just and proper, but no relief or order extending beyond ten days shall be granted 

90.1 o except by consent of the respondent or after hearing upon notice to the respondent and a 

90.11 finding by the court that there is reasonable cause to believe that the respondent has engaged 

90.12 in a discriminatory practice. Except as modified by subdivisions 1 to 9 and section 363A.06, 

90.13 subdivision 4, the Minnesota Rules of Civil Procedure shall apply to an application, and 

90.14 the district court shall have authority to grant or deny the relief sought on conditions as it 

90.15 deems just and equitable. All hearings under subdivisions 1 to 9 and section 363A.06, 

90.16 subdivision 4, shall be given precedence as nearly as practicable over all other pending civil 

90.17 actions. 

90.18 (f) If a lessor, after engaging in a discriminatory practice defined in section 363A.09, 

90.19 subdivision 1, clause (1), leases or rents a dwelling unit to a person who has no knowledge 

90.20 of the practice or of the existence of a charge with respect to the practice, the lessor shall 

90.21 be liable for actual damages sustained by a person by reason of a final order as provided in 

90.22 subdivisions 1 to 9 and section 363A.06, subdivision 4, requiring the person to be evicted 

90.23 from the dwelling unit. 

90.24 (g) In any complaint issued under subdivisions 1 to 9 and section 363A.06, subdivision 

90.25 4, the commissioner may seek relief for a class of individuals affected by an unfair 

90.26 discriminatory practice occurring on or after a date one year prior to the filing of the charge 

90.27 from which the complaint originates. 

90.28 (h) The commissioner may adopt policies to determine which charges are processed and 

90.29 the order in which charges are processed based on their particular social or legal significance, 

90.30 administrative convenience, difficulty of resolution, or other standard consistent with the 

90.31 provisions of this chapter. 

90.32 (i) The chief administrative law judge shall adopt policies to provide sanctions for 

90.33 intentional and frivolous delay caused by any charging party or respondent in an investigation, 

90.34 hearing, or any other aspect of proceedings before the department under this chapter. 
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91.1 Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 363A.31, subdivision 2, is amended to read: 

91.2 Subd. 2. Rescission of waiver. A waiver or release of rights or remedies secured by this 

91.3 chapter which purports to apply to claims arising out of acts or practices prior to, or 

91.4 concurrent with, the execution of the waiver or release may be rescinded within 15 calendar 

91.5 days of its execution, except that a waiver or release given in settlement of a claim filed 

91.6 with the department or with another administrative agency or judicial body is valid and final 

91.7 upon execution. A waiving or releasing party shall be informed in writing of the right to 

91.8 rescind the waiver or release. To be effective, the rescission must be in writing and delivered 

91.9 to the waived or released party eithef by hand, electronically with the receiving party's 

91.10 consent, or QY__ mail within the 15-day period. If delivered by mail, the rescission must be: 

91.11 (1) postmarked within the 15-day period; 

91.12 (2) properly addressed to the waived or released party; and 

91.13 (3) sent by certified mail return receipt requested. 

91.14 Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 363A.33, subdivision 3, is amended to read: 

91.15 Subd. 3. Summons and complaints in a civil action. A charging party bringing a civil 

91.16 action shall mail by registered or certified mail, or electronically with the receiving party's 

91.17 consent, a copy of the summons and complaint to the commissioner, and upon their receipt 

91.18 the commissioner shall terminate all proceedings in the department relating to the charge. 

91.19 No charge shall be filed or reinstituted with the commissioner after a civil action relating 

91.20 to the same unfair discriminatory practice has been brought unless the civil action has been 

91.21 dismissed without prejudice. 

91.22 Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 363A.36, subdivision 1, is amended to read: 

91.23 Subdivision 1. Scope of application. (a) For all contracts for goods and services in 

91.24 excess of $100,000, no department or agency of the state shall accept any bid or proposal 

91.25 for a contract or agreement from any business having more than 40 full time employees 

91.26 v;ithin this state on a single ·working day during the previous 12 months, unless the 

91.27 commissioner is in receipt of the business' affirmative action plan for the employment of 

91.28 minority persons, ·women, and qualified disabled individuals. No department or agency of 

91.29 the state shall execute any such contract or agreement until the affirmative action plan has 

91.30 been approved by the commissioner. Receipt of a certificate of compliance issued by the 

91.31 commissioner shall signify that a firm or business has an affirmative action plan that has 

91.32 been approved by the commissioner. A certificate shall be valid for a period of four years. 
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92.1 No department, agency of the state, the Metropolitan Council, or agency subject to section 

92.2 473.141 subdivision 1, shall execute a contract for gQOds_2r servic~ in exce~s of$100,000 

92.3 with a business that has 40 or more full-time em£!2.yees in this state or a state where the 

92.4 business has its primary place of business on a single day during the prior 12 months, unless 

92.5 the business has a workforce certificate from the commissioner of human rights or has 

92.6 certified in writing that it is exempt. Determinations of exempt status shall be made by the 

92.7 commissioner of human rights. A certificate is valid for four years. A municipality as defined 

92.8 in section 466.01, subdivision 1, that receives state money for any reason is encouraged to 

92.9 prepare and implement an affirmative action plan for the employment of minority persons, 

92.1 o people with disabilities, people of color, and women, and the qualified disabled and to 

92.11 submit the plan to the commissioner. 

92.12 (b) This paragraph applies to a contract for goods or services in excess of $100,000 to 

92.13 be entered into between a department or agency of the state and a business that is not subj cot 

92.14 to paragraph (a), but that has more than 40 full time employees on a single Vv'orking day 

92.15 during the previous 12 months in the state v1here the business has its primary place of 

92.16 business. A department or agency of the state may not execute a contract or agreement ·with 

92.17 a business covered by this paragraph unless the business has a certificate of compliance 

92.18 issued by the commissioner under paragraph (a) or the business certifies that it is in 

92.19 compliance v1ith federal affirmative action requirements. 

92.20 Will This section does not apply to contracts entered into by the State Board of 

92.21 Investment for investment options under section 356.645. 

92.22 W~ The commissioner shall issue a certificate of compliance or notice of denial within 

92.23 15 days of the application submitted by the business or firm. 

92.24 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2021, and applies to contracts 

92.25 entered into on or after that date. 

92.26 Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 363A.36, subdivision 2, is amended to read: 

92.27 Subd. 2. Filing fee; account; appropriation. The commissioner shall collect a -$-1-§{} 

92.28 $250 fee for each certificate of compliance issued by the commissioner or the commissioner's 

92.29 designated agent. The proceeds of the fee must be deposited in a human rights fee special 

92.30 revenue account. Money in the account is appropriated to the commissioner to fund the cost 

92.31 of issuing certificates and investigating grievances. 

92.32 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for applications received on or after July 

92.33 1, 2021. 
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93.1 Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 363A.36, subdivision 3, is amended to read: 

93.2 Subd. 3. Rcvoeation of ecrtifieatc Violations; remcd~s. Certificates of compliance 

93.3 may be suspended or revoked by the commissioner if a holder of a certificate has not made 

93.4 a good faith effort to implement an affirmative action plan that has been approved by the 

93.5 commissioner. If a contractor does not effectively implement an affirmative action plan 

93 .6 approved by the commissioner pursuant to subdivision 1, or fails to make a good faith effort 

93.7 to do so, the commissioner may refuse to approve subsequent plans submitted by that firm 

93.8 or business. If a certificate holder is in violation of this section, the commissii)ner may 

93.9 impose one or both of the following actions: 

93.10 (1) issue fines up to $5,000 per calendar year for each contract; or 

93.11 (2) suspend or revoke a certificate of compliance until the contractor has paid all 

93.12 outstanding fines and otherwise complies with this section. 

93.13 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2021, and applies to all certificates 

93.14 of com_pliance in effect on or after that date. 

93.15 Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 363A.36, subdivision 4, is amended to read: 

93.16 Subd. 4. Revocation of contract. A contract awarded by a department or agency of the 

93.17 state, the J\{eJropolitan Council, or an agency subjectto section 473.143, subdivision 1, may 

93 .18 be terminated or abridged by the department or agency awarding entity because of suspension 

93.19 or revocation of a certificate based upon a contractor's failure to implement or make a good 

93.20 faith effort to implement an affirmative action plan approved by the commissioner under 

93.21 this section. If a contract is awarded to a person who does not have a contract compliance 

93.22 certificate required under subdivision 1, the commissioner may void the contract on behalf 

93.23 of the state. 

93.24 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2021, and applies to contracts 

93.25 entered into on or after that date. 

93.26 Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 363A.36, is amended by adding a subdivision 

93.27 to read: 

93.28 Subd. 6. Access to data. Data submitted to the commissioner related to a certificate of 

93.29 compliance are private data on individuals or nonpublic data with respect to persons other 

93.30 than department employees. The commissioner's decision to issue, not issue, i-evoke, or 

93.31 suspend or otherwise penalize a certificate holder of a certificate of compliance is public 

93.32 data. Applications, forms, or similar documents submitted by a business seeking a certificate 
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94.1 of compliance are public data. The commissioner may disclose data classified as private or 

94.2 nonpublic under this subdivision to other state agencies, statewide systems, and political 

94.3 subdivisions for the purposes of achieving compliance with this section. 

94.4 Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 363A.44, subdivision 2, is amended to read: 

94.5 Subd. 2. Application. (a) A business shall apply for an equal pay certificate by paying 

94.6 a~ $250 filing fee and submitting an equal pay compliance statement to the 

94.7 commissioner. The proceeds from the fees collected under this subdivision shall be deposited 

94.8 in an equal pay certificate special revenue account. Money in the account is appropriated 

94.9 to the commissioner for the purposes of this section. The commissioner shall issue an equal 

94.10 pay certificate of compliance to a business that submits to the commissioner a statement 

94.11 signed by the chairperson of the board or chief executive officer of the business: 

94.12 (1) that the business is in compliance with Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, 

94.13 Equal Pay Act of 1963, Minnesota Human Rights Act, and Minnesota Equal Pay for Equal 

94.14 Work Law; 

94.15 (2) that the average compensation for its female employees is not consistently below 

94.16 the average compensation for its male employees within each of the major job categories 

94.17 in the EEO-1 employee information report for which an employee is expected to perform 

94.18 work under the contract, taking into account factors such as length of service, requirements 

94.19 of specific jobs, experience, skill, effort, responsibility, working conditions of the job, or 

94.20 other mitigating factors; 

94.21 (3) that the business does not restrict employees of one sex to certain job classifications 

94.22 and makes retention and promotion decisions without regard to sex; 

94.23 ( 4) that wage and benefit disparities are corrected when identified to ensure compliance 

94.24 with the laws cited in clause (1) and with clause (2); and 

94.25 ( 5) how often wages and benefits are evaluated to ensure compliance with the laws cited 

94.26 in clause (1) and with clause (2). 

94.27 (b) The equal pay compliance statement shall also indicate whether the business, in 

94.28 setting compensation and benefits, utilizes: 

94.29 (1) a market pricing approach; 

94.30 (2) state prevailing wage or union contract requirements; 

94.31 (3) a performance pay system; 

94.32 ( 4) an internal analysis; or 
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95.l (5) an alternative approach to determine what level of wages and benefits to pay its 

95.2 employees. If the business uses an alternative approach, the business must provide a 

95.3 description of its approach. 

95.4 ( c) Receipt of the equal pay compliance statement by the commissioner does not establish 

95.5 compliance with the laws set forth in paragraph (a), clause (1). 

95.6 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for applications received on or after July 

95.7 1, 2021. 

95.8 Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 363A.44, subdivision 4, is amended to read: 

95.9 Subd. 4. Rcvoeation of ecrtifieatc Violations; remedies. An equal pay certificate for 

95.10 a business may be suspended or revoked by the commissioner when the business fails to 

95.11 make a good-faith effort to comply with the laws identified in subdivision 2, paragraph (a), 

95.12 clause (1), fails to make a good-faith effort to comply with this section, or has multiple 

95.13 violations of this section or the laws identified in subdivision 2, paragraph ( a), clause (1 ). 

95.14 The commissioner may also issue a fine due to lack of compliance with this section of up 

95.15 to $5,000 per calendar year for each contract. The commissioner may suspend or revoke an 

95.16 equal pay certificate until the business has paid all outstanding fines and otherwise complies 

95.17 with this section. Prior to issuing a fine or suspending or revoking a certificate, the 

95.18 commissioner must first have sought to conciliate with the business regarding wages and 

95.19 benefits due to employees. 

95.20 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2021, and applies to all equal pay 

95.21 certificates in effect on or after that date. 

95.22 Sec. 25. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 363A.44, subdivision 9, is amended to read: 

95.23 Subd. 9. Access to data. Data submitted to the commissioner related to equal pay 

95.24 certificates are private data on individuals or nonpublic data with respect to persons other 

95.25 than department employees. The commissioner's decision to issue, not issue, revoke, or 

95.26 suspend or otherwise penalize a certificate holder of an equal pay certificate is public data. 

95.27 Applications, forms, or similar documents submitted by a business seeking an equal pay 

95.28 certificate are public data. The commissioner may disclose data classified as private or 

95.29 nonpublic under this subdivision to other state agencies, statewide systems, and political 

95.30 subdivisions for the purposes of achieving compliance with this section. 
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96.1 Sec. 26. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 477A.03, subdivision 2b, is amended to read: 

96.2 Subd. 2b. Counties. (a) For aids payable in 2018 and 2019, the total aid payable under 

96.3 section 477 A.0124, subdivision 3, is $103,795,000, of which $3,000,000 shall be allocated 

96.4 as required under Laws 2014, chapter 150, article 4, section 6. For aids payable in 2020, 

96.5 the total aid payable under section 477A.0124, subdivision 3, is $116,795,000, of which 

96.6 $3,000,000 shall be allocated as required under Laws 2014, chapter 150, article 4, section 

96.7 6. For aids payable in 2021 through 2024, the total aid payable under section 477A.0124, 

96.8 subdivision 3, is $118,795,000, of which $3,000,000 shall be allocated as required under 

96.9 Laws 2014, chapter 150, article 4, section 6. For aids payable in 2025 and thereafter, the 

96.10 total aid payable under section 477A.0124, subdivision 3, is $115,795,000. Each calendar 

96.11 year, On or before the first installment date provided in section 477 A.015, paragraph (a), 

96.12 $500,000 of this appropriation shall be retained transferred each year by the commissioner 

96.13 of revenue to make reimbursements to the commissioner of management and budget the 

96.14 Board of Public Defense for payments made the payment of service under section 611.27. 

96.15 The reimbursements shall be to defray the additional costs associated v1ith court ordered 

96.16 counsel under section 611.27. Any retained transferred amounts not used for reimbursement 

96.17 expended or encumbered in a fiscal year shall be certified by the Board of Public Defense 

96.18 to the commissioner of revenue on or before October 1 and shall be included in the next 

96.19 distribution certification of county need aid that is certified to the county auditors for the 

96.20 purpose of property tax reduction for the next taxes payable year. 

96.21 (b) For aids payable in2018 and 2019, the total aid under section477A.0124, subdivision 

96.22 4, is $130,873,444. For aids payable in 2020, the total aid under section 477A.0124, 

96.23 subdivision 4, is $143,873,444. For aids payable in 2021 and thereafter, the total aid under 

96.24 section 477A.0124, subdivision 4, is $145,873,444. The commissioner of revenue shall 

96.25 transfer to the commissioner of management and budget $207,000 annually for the cost of 

96.26 preparation oflocal impact notes as required by section 3.987, and other local government 

96.27 activities. The commissioner of revenue shall transfer to the commissioner of education 

96.28 $7,000 annually for the cost of preparation of local impact notes for school districts as 

96.29 required by section 3.987. The commissioner ofrevenue shall deduct the amounts transferred 

96.30 under this paragraph from the appropriation under this paragraph. The amounts transferred 

96.31 are appropriated to the commissioner of management and budget and the commissioner of 

96.32 education respectively. 
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97.l Sec. 27. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 524.2-503, is amended to read: 

97.2 524.2-503 HARMLESS ERROR. 

97.3 (a) If a document or writing added upon a document was not executed in compliance 

97.4 with section 524.2-502, the document or writing is treated as if it had been executed in 

97.5 compliance with section 524.2-502 if the proponent of the document or writing establishes 

97.6 by clear and convincing evidence that the decedent intended the document or writing to 

97.7 constitute: 

97.8 (1) the decedent's will; 

97.9 (2) a partial or complete revocation of the will; 

97.10 (3) an addition to or an alteration of the will; or 

97.11 (4) a partial or complete revival of the decedent's formerly revoked will or of a formerly 

97.12 revoked portion of the will. 

97.13 (b) This section applies to documents and writings executed on or after March 13, 2020, 

97 .14 but before February 15, 2021. 

97.15 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective retroactively from March 13, 2020, and 

97.16 applies to documents and writings executed on or after March 13, 2020. 

97.17 Sec. 28. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.101, subdivision 5, is amended to read: 

97.18 Subd. 5. Waiver prohibited; reduction and installment payments. (a) The court may 

97.19 not waive payment of the minimum fine required by this section. 

97 .20 (b) If the defendant qualifies for the services of a public defender or the court finds on 

97.21 the record that the convicted person is indigent or that immediate payment of the fine would 

97.22 create undue hardship for the convicted person or that person's immediate family, the court 

97.23 may reduce the amount of the minimum fine to not less than $50. Additionally, the court 

97.24 may permit the defendant to perform community work service in lieu of a fine. 

97.25 ( c) The court also may authorize payment of the fine in installments. 

97.26 ( d) Before sentencing a person convicted of a felony, gross misdemeanor, misdemeanor, 

97.27 or petty misdemeanor to pay money for a fine, fee, or surcharge, the court shall make a 

97.28 finding on the record as to indigency or the convicted person's ability to comply with an 

97.29 order to pay without undue hardship for the convicted person or that person's immediate 

97.30 family. In determining indigency or whether the defendant is able to comply with an order 
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98.1 to pay a fine, fee, or surcharge without undue hardship to the convicted person or that 

98.2 person's immediate family, the court shall consider: 

98.3 ill income; 

98.4 (2) dependents; 

98.5 (3) financial resources, including assets and liabilities; 

98.6 ( 4) basic living expenses; 

98.7 (5) receipt of means-tested public assistance program; and 

98.8 ( 6) any special circumstances that may bear on the person's ability to pay. 

98.9 ( e) Paragraph ( d) shall not apply when a conviction for a violation that is included on 

98.1 o the uniform fine schedule authorized under section 609.101, subdivision 4, is entered without 

98.11 a hearing before the court. 

98.12 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2022. 

98.13 Sec. 29. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 611.21, is amended to read: 

98.14 611.21 SERVICES OTHER THAN COUNSEL. 

98.15 (a) Counsel appointed by the court for an indigent defendant, or representing a defendant 

98.16 who, at the outset of the prosecution, has an annual income not greater than 125 percent of 

98.17 the poverty line established under United States Code, title 42, section 9902(2), may file 

98.18 an ex parte application requesting investigative, expert, interpreter, or other services necessary 

98.19 to an adequate defense in the case. Upon finding, after appropriate inquiry in an ex parte 

98.20 proceeding, that the services are necessary and that the defendant is financially unable to 

98.21 obtain them, the court shall authorize counsel to obtain the services on behalf of the 

98.22 defendant. The court may establish a limit on the amount which may be expended or promised 

98.23 for such services. The court may, in the interests of justice, and upon a finding that timely 

98.24 procurement of necessary services could not await prior authorization, ratify such services 

98.25 after they have been obtained, but such ratification shall be given only in unusual situations. 

98.26 The court shall determine reasonable· compensation for the services and direct payment by 

98.27 the county in which the prosecution originated, to the organization or person who rendered 

98.28 them, upon the filing of a claim for compensation supported by an affidavit specifying the 

98.29 time expended, services rendered, and expenses incurred on behalf of the defendant, and 

98.30 the compensation received in the same case or for the same services from any other source. 

98.31 (b) The compensation to be paid to a person for such service rendered to a defendant 

98.32 under this section, or to be paid to an organization for such services rendered by an employee, 
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99. l may not exceed $1,000, exclusive of reimbursement for expenses reasonably incurred, 

99.2 unless payment in excess of that limit is certified by the court as necessary to provide fair 

99.3 compensation for services of an unusual character or duration and the amount of the excess 

99.4 payment is approved by the chief judge of the district. The chief judge of the judicial district 

99.5 may delegate approval authority to an active district judge. 

99.6 (c) If the court denies authorizing counsel to obtain services on behalf of the defendant, 

99.7 the court shall make written findings of fact and conclusions of law that state the basis for 

99.8 determining that counsel may not obtain services on behalf of the defendant. When the court 

99.9 issues an order denying counsel the authority to obtain services, the defendant may appeal 

99.10 immediately from that order to the court of appeals and may request an expedited hearing. 

99.11 Sec. 30. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 611.27, subdivision 9, is amended to read: 

99.12 Subd. 9. Request for other appointment of counsel. The chief district public defender 

99.13 v1ith the approval of may request that the state public defender may request that the chief 

99.14 judge of the district court, or a district court judge designated by the chiefjudge, authorize 

99.15 appointment of counsel other than the district public defender in such cases. 

99.16 Sec. 31. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 611.27, subdivision 10, is amended to read: 

99 .17 Subd. 10. Addition of permanent staff. The chief public defender may not request the 

99.18 eeurt nor may the court order state public defender approve the addition of permanent staff 

99.19 under subdivision 7. 

99.20 Sec. 32. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 611.27, subdivision 11, is amended to read: 

99.21 Subd. 11. Appointment of counsel. If the eeurt state public defender finds that the 

99.22 provision of adequate legal representation, including associated services, is beyond the 

99.23 ability of the district public defender to provide, the court shall order state public defender 

99 .24 may approve counsel to be appointed, with compensation and expenses to be paid under 

99.25 the provisions of this subdivision and subdivision 7. Counsel in such cases shall be appointed 

99.26 by the chief district public defender. If the court issues an order denying the request, the 

99 .27 court shall make v1ritten findings of fact and conclusions of lav1. Upon denial, the chief 

99.28 district public defender may immediately appeal the order denying the request to the court 

99.29 of appeals and may request an expedited hearing. 
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100.1 Sec. 33. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 611.27, subdivision 13, is amended to read: 

100.2 Subd. 13. Correctional facility inmates. All billings for services rendered and ordered 

1 oo.3 under subdivision 7 shall require the approval of the chief district public defender before 

100.4 being forwarded on a monthly basis to the state public defender. In cases where adequate 

100.5 representation cannot be provided by the district public defender and where counsel has 

100.6 been appointed under a court order approved by the state public defender, the state public 

100.7 defender Board of Public Defense shall fonvard to the commissioner of management and 

1 oo.8 budget~ all billings for services rendered under the court order. The commissioner shall 

100.9 pay for services from county program aid retained transferred by the commissioner of 

100.10 revenue for that purpose under section 477 A.03, subdivision 2b, paragraph (a). 

100.11 The costs of appointed counsel and associated services in cases arising from new criminal 

100.12 charges brought against indigent inmates who are incarcerated in a Minnesota state 

100.13 correctional facility are the responsibility of the state Board of Public Defense. In such cases 

100.14 the state public defender may follow the procedures outlined in this section for obtaining 

100.15 court-ordered counsel. 

100.16 Sec. 34. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 611.27, subdivision 15, is amended to read: 

100.17 Subd. 15. Costs of transcripts. In appeal cases and postconviction cases where the 

100.18 appellate public defender's office does not have sufficient funds to pay for transcripts and 

100.19 other necessary expenses because it has spent or committed all of the transcript funds in its 

100.20 annual budget, the state public defender may fonvard to the commissioner of management 

100.21 and budget all billings for transcripts and other necessary expenses. The commissioner shall 

100.22 Board of Public Defense may pay for these transcripts and other necessary expenses from 

100.23 county program aid retained transferred by the commissioner of revenue for that purpose 

100.24 under section 477 A.03, subdivision 2b, paragraph (a). 

100.25 Sec. 35. I§llA.95] CERTIFICATIONS FOR VICTIMS OF CRIMES. 

100.26 Subdivision 1. Definitions. For purposes of this section, the following terms have the 

100.27 meanin~iven: 

100.28 ( 1) "certifying entity" means a state or local law enforcement agency; 

100.29 (2) "criminal activity" means qualifying criminal activity pursuant to section 

100.30 10l(a)(15)(U)(iii) of the Immigration and Nationality Act, as amended through June J, 

100.31 2021, and includes the attempt, conspiracy, or solicitation to commit such crimes; and 
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Io 1.1 (3) "certification" means any certification or statement required by federal immigration 

1 o 1.2 law, as amended through June 1, 2021, including, but not limited to, the information required 

101.3 by United States Code, title 8, section 1184(p), and United States Code, tit~8, section 

1 o 1.4 1184( o ), including current United States Citizenship and Immigration Services Form I-918, 

101.5 Supplement B, and United States Citizenship and Immigration Services Form I-914, 

101.6 Supplement B, and any substantively similar successor forms. 

101.7 Subd. 2. Certification process. ( a) A certifying entity shall process a certification 

101.8 requested by a victim of criminal activity or a representative of the victim, including the 

101.9 victim's attorney, family member, or domestic violence or sexual assault violence advocate, 

101.10 within the time period prescribed in paragraph (b). 

101.11 (b) A certifying entity shall process the certification within 90 days of request, unless 

1 o 1.12 the victim is in removal proceedings, in which case the certification shall be processed 

1 o 1.13 within 14 days of request. Requests for expedited certification must be affirmatively raised 

1 o 1.14 at the time of the reguest. 

1 o 1.15 ( c) An active investigation, the filing of charges, or a prosecution or conviction are not 

101.16 required for the victim of criminal activity to request and obtain the certification, provided 

1 o 1.17 that the certifying entity initiated an investigation and the victim cooperated in it. 

101.18 Subd. 3. Certifying entity; designate agent. (a) The head of a certifying entity shall 

101.19 designate an agent to perform the following responsibilities: 

l 0 1.20 ( 1) timely process requests for c~rtification; 

101.21 (2) provide outreach to victims of criminal activity to inform them of the entity's 

1 o 1.22 certification process; and 

101.23 

101.24 

(3) keep a written or electronic record of all certification requests and responses. 

(b) All certifying entities shall implement a language access protocol for 

101.25 non-English-speaking victims of criminal activity. 

101.26 Subd. 4. Disclosure prohibited; data classification. (a) A certifying entity is prohibited 

101.27 from disclosing the immigration status of a victim of criminal activity, except to comply 

1 o 1.28 with federal law or legal process, or if authorized by the victim of criminal activity or 

1 o 1.29 representative requesting the certification. 

10 l.30 (b) Data provided to a certifying entity under this section is classified as private data 

101.31 pursuanLt~~ction 13.02, subdivision 12. 
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102.1 EFFECTIVE DATE~ §ubdivisions 1, 2, and 4 are effective the day following final 

102.2 enactment. Subdivision 3 is effective July 1, 2021. 

102.3 Sec. 36. [634.045] JAILHOUSE WITNESSES. 

102.4 Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) As used in this section, the following terms have the 

102.5 meanin~iven. 

102.6 (b) "Benefit" means any plea bargain, bail consideration, reduction or modification of 

102.7 sentence, or any other leniency, immunity, financial paym~ent, re~ward, or amelioration of 

102.8 current or future conditions of incarceration offered or provided in connection with, or in 

102.9 exchange for, testimony that is offered or provided by a jailhouse witness. 

102.10 (c) "Jailhouse witness" means a person who (1) while incarcerated, claims to have 

102.11 obtained information from a defendant in a criminal case or a person suspected to be the 

102.12 perpetrator of an offense, and (2) offers or provides testimony concerning statements made 

I 02.13 by that defendant or person suspected to be the perpetrator of an offense. It does not mean 

102.14 a codefendant or confidential informant who does not provide testimony against a suspect 

102.15 or defendant. 

102.16 @ "Commissioner" means the commissioner of corrections. 

102.17 Subd. 2. Use of and benefits provided to j ailhouse witnesses; data collection. ~ 

102.18 Each county attorney shall report to the commissioner, in a form determined by the 

102.19 comm1ss10ner: 

102.20 (1) the name of the jailhouse witness and the district court file number of the case in 

102.21 which that witness testified or planned to testify; 

102.22 (2) the substance and use of any testimony of a jailhouse witness against the interest of 

102.23 a suspect or defendant, regardless of whether such testimony is presented at trial; anc! 

102.24 (3) the jailhouse witness's agreement to cooperate with the prosecution and any benefit 

102.25 that the prosecutor has offered or may offer in the future to the jailhouse witness in connection 

102.26 with the testimony. 

102.27 (b) The commissioner shall maintain a statewide database containing the information 

102.28 received pursuant to paragraph (a) for 20 years from the date that the jailhouse witness 

102.29 information was entered into that statewide record. 

102.30 ( c) Data collected and maintained pursuant to this subdivision are classified as confidential 

102.31 data on individuals, as defined in section 13. 02, subdivision 3. Only the commissioner may 
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103.1 access the statewide record but shall provide all information held on specific jailhouse 

103.2 witnesses to a county attorney upon request. 

103.3 Subd. 3. Report on jailhouse witnesses. By September 15 of each year, beginning in 

103.4 2022, the commissioner shall publish on its website an annual report of the statewide record 

103.5 of jailhouse witnesses required under subdivision 2. Information in the report must be limited 

103.6 to summa!Y data, as defined ip_section 13.021 subdivisiol!J9, and must include: 

103.7 (1) the total number of jailhouse witnesses tracked in the statewide record; and 

103.8 (2) for each county, the number of new reports added pursuant to subdivision 2, paragraph 

103.9 (a), over the previous fiscal year. 

103.10 Subd. 4. Disclosure of information regarding jailhouse witness. _@2 In addition to the 

103.11 reguirements for disclosures under rule 9 of the Rules of Criminal Procedure, and within 

103.12 the timeframes established by that rule, a prosecutor must disclose the following information 

103.13 to the defense about anyjailhouse witness: 

103.14 (1) the complete criminal history of the jailhouse witness, including any charges that 

103.15 are pending or were reduced or dismissed as part of a plea bargain; 

103.16 (2) any cooperation agreement with the jailhouse witness and any deal, promise, 

I 03 .17 inducement, or benefit that the state has made or intends to make in the future to the j ailhouse 

103.18 witness; 

103.19 (3) whether, at any time, the jailhouse witness recanted any testimony or statement 

103.20 implicating the suspect or defendant in the charged crime and, if so, the time and place of 

103.21 the recantation, the nature of the recantation, and the names of the persons who were present 

103.22 at the recantation; 

103.23 (4) whether, at any time, the jailhouse witness made a statement implicating any other 

103.24 person in the charged crime and, if so, the time and place of the statement, the nature of the 

103.25 statement, agd the nat!}.es of the persons who were present at the statement; and 

103.26 (5) information concerning other criminal cases in which the jailhouse witness has 

103.27 testified, or offered to testify, against a suspect or defendant with whom the jailhouse witness 

103.28 was imprisoned or confined, including any cooperation agreement, deal, promise, inducement, 

103.29 or benefit that the state has made or intends to make in the future to the jailhouse witness. 

103.30 (b) A prosecutor has a continuing duty of disclosure before and during trial. If, after the 

I 03 .31 omnibus hearing held pursuant to rule 11 of the Rules of Criminal Procedure, a prosecutor 

103.32 discovers additional material, information, or witnesses subject to disclosure under this 

103.33 subdivision, the prosecutor must promptly notify the court and defense counsel, or, if the 
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104.1 defendant is not represented, the defendant, of what was discovered. If the court finds that 

104.2 the j ailhouse witness was not known or that materials in paragraph (a) could not be discovered 

104.3 or obtained by the state within that period with the exercise of due diligence, the court may 

104.4 order that disclosure take place within a reasonable period. Upon good cause shown, the 

104.5 court may continue the proceedings. 

104.6 ( c) If the prosecutor files a written certificate with the trial court that disclosing the 

104. 7 information described in paragraph (a) would subject the j ailhouse witness or other persons 

104.8 to physical harm or coercion, the court may order that the information must be disclosed to 

104.9 the defendant's counsel but may limit disclosure to the defendant in a way that does not 

104.10 unduly interfere with the defendant's right to prepare and present a defense, including limiting 

104.11 disclosure to nonidentifu!!g information. 

104.12 Subd. 5. Victim notification. (a) A prosecutor shall make every reasonable effort to 

104.13 notify a victim if the prosecutor has decided to offer or provide any of the following to a 

104.14 jailhouse witness in exchange for, or as the result of, a jailhouse witness offering or providing 

104.15 testimony against a suspect or defendant: 

104.16 

104.17 

104.18 

104.19 

(1) reduction or dismissal of charges; 

(2) a plea bargain; 

(3) support for a modification of the amount or conditions of bail; or 

( 4) support for a motion to reduce or modify a sentence. 

104.20 (b) Efforts to notify the victim should include, in order of priority: (1) contacting the 

104.21 victim or a person designated by the victim by telephone; and (2) contacting the victim by 

104.22 mail. If a jailhouse witness is still in custody, the notification attempt shall be made before 

104.23 the jailhouse witness is released from custody. 

104.24 ( c) Whenever a prosecutor notifies a victim of domestic assault, criminal sexual conduct, 

104.25 or harassment or stalking under this section, the prosecutor shall also inform the victim of 

104.26 the method and benefits of seeking an order for protection under section 518B.01 or a 

104.27 restraining order under section 609. 7 48 and that the victim may seek an order without paying 

104.28 a fee. 

104.29 ( d) The notification required under this subdivision is in addition to the notification 

104.30 requirements and rights described in sections 61 lA.03, 61 lA.0315, 61 lA.039, and 61 lt\..06. 

104.31 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 202 L 

Article 3 Sec. 36. 104 



06/27/21 REVISOR KLL/BM A21-0252 

105.1 Sec. 37. INITIAL APPOINTMENTS AND MEETINGS. 

105.2 Appointing authorities for the Legislative Commission on Data Practices under Minnesota 

105.3 Statutes, section 3.8844, must make initial appointments by July 15, 2021. The speaker of 

105.4 the house of representatives must designate one member of the commission to convene the 

105.5 first meeting of the commission by August 1, 2021. 

105.6 ARTICLE 4 

105.7 CRIMINAL SEXUAL CONDUCT 

105.8 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 2. 722, subdivision 1, is amended to read: 

105.9 Subdivision 1. Description. Effective July 1, 1959, the state is divided into ten judicial 

105.10 districts composed of the following named counties, respectively, in each of which districts 

105.11 judges shall be chosen as hereinafter specified: 

105.12 1. Goodhue, Dakota, Carver, Le Sueur, McLeod, Scott, and Sibley; 36 judges; and four 

105.13 permanent chambers shall be maintained in Red Wing, Hastings, Shakopee, and Glencoe 

105.14 and one other shall be maintained at the place designated by the chief judge of the district; 

105.15 2. Ramsey; 26 judges; 

105.16 3. Wabasha, Winona, Houston, Rice, Olmsted, Dodge, Steele, Waseca, Freeborn, Mower, 

105.17 and Fillmore; 23 judges; and permanent chambers shall be maintained in Faribault, Albert 

105.18 Lea, Austin, Rochester, and Winona; 

105.19 4. Hennepin; 60 judges; 

105.20 5. Blue Earth, Watonwan, Lyon, Redwood, Brown, Nicollet, Lincoln, Cottonwood, 

105.21 Murray, Nobles, Pipestone, Rock, Faribault, Martin, and Jackson; -l-6 17 judges; and 

105.22 permanent chambers shall be maintained in Marshall, Windom, Fairmont, New Ulm, and 

105.23 Mankato; 

105.24 6. Carlton, St. Louis, Lake, and Cook; 15 judges; 

105.25 7. Benton, Douglas, Mille Lacs, Morrison, Otter Tail, Steams, Todd, Clay, Becker, and 

105.26 Wadena; 30 judges; and permanent chambers shall be maintained in Moorhead, Fergus 

105.27 Falls, Little Falls, and St. Cloud; 

105.28 8. Chippewa, Kandiyohi, Lac qui Parle, Meeker, Renville, Swift, Yellow Medicine, Big 

105.29 Stone, Grant, Pope, Stevens, Traverse, and Wilkin; 11 judges; and permanent chambers 

105.30 shall be maintained in Morris, Montevideo, and Willmar; 
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106.1 9. Norman, Polk, Marshall, Kittson, Red Lake, Roseau, Mahnomen, Pennington, Aitkin, 

106.2 Itasca, Crow Wing, Hubbard, Beltrami, Lake of the Woods, Clearwater, Cass and 

106.3 Koochiching; 24 judges; and permanent chambers ·shall be maintained in Crookston, Thief 

106.4 River Falls, Bemidji, Brainerd, Grand Rapids, and International Falls; and 

106.5 10. Anoka, Isanti, Wright, Sherburne, Kanabec, Pine, Chisago, and Washington; 45 

106.6 judges; and permanent chambers shall be maintained in Anoka, Stillwater, and other places 

106. 7 designated by the chief judge of the district. 

106.8 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 243.166, subdivision lb, is am.ended to read: 

106.9 Subd. lb. Registration required. (a) A person shall register under this section if: 

106.10 (1) the person was charged with or petitioned for a felony violation of or attempt to 

106.11 violate, or aiding, abetting, or conspiracy to comm.it, any of the following, and convicted 

106.12 of or adjudicated delinquent for that offense or another offense arising out of the sam.e set 

106.13 of circumstances: 

106.14 (i) murder under section 609 .185, paragraph ( a), clause (2); 

106.15 (ii) kidnapping under section 609.25; 

106.16 (iii) criminal sexual conduct under section 609.342; 609.343; 609.344; 609.345; 609.3451, 

106.17 subdivision 3, paragraph (b); or 609.3453; 

106.18 (iv) indecent exposure under section 617.23, subdivision 3; or 

106.19 (v) surreptitious intrusion under the circumstances described in section 609.746, 

106.20 subdivision 1, paragraph (f); 

106.21 (2) the person was charged with or petitioned for a violation of, or attempt to violate, or 

106.22 aiding, abetting, or conspiring to comm.it any of the following and convicted of or adjudicated 

106.23 delinquent for that offense or another offense arising out of the sam.e set of circumstances: 

106.24 (i) criminal abuse in violation of section 609.2325, subdivision 1, paragraph (b ); 

106.25 (ii) false im.prisonm.ent in violation of section 609.255, subdivision 2; 

106.26 (iii) solicitation, inducement, or promotion of the prostitution of a minor or engaging in 

106.27 the sex trafficking of a minor in violation of section 609.322; 

106.28 (iv) a prostitution offense in violation of section 609.324, subdivision 1, paragraph (a); 

106.29 (v) soliciting a minor to engage in sexual conduct in violation of section 609.352, 

106.30 subdivision 2 or 2a, clause (1 ); 
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107.1 (vi) using a minor in a sexual performance in violation of section 617.246; or 

107.2 (vii) possessing pornographic work involving a minor in violation of section 617.247; 

107.3 (3) the person was sentenced as a patterned sex offender under section 609.3455, 

107.4 subdivision 3a; or 

107.5 (4) the person was charged with or petitioned for, including pursuant to a court martial, 

107.6 violating a law of the United States, including the Uniform Code of Military Justice, similar 

107.7 to the offenses described in clause (1), (2), or (3), and convicted of or adjudicated delinquent 

107.8 for that offense or another offense arising out of the same set of circumstances. 

107. 9 (b) A person also shall register under this section if: 

107. Io ( 1) the person was charged with or petitioned for an offense in another state that would 

107.11 be a violation of a law described in paragraph (a) if committed in this state and convicted 

107.12 of or adjudicated delinquent for that offense or another offense arising out of the same set 

107.13 of circumstances; 

107.14 (2) the person enters this state to reside, work, or attend school, or enters this state and 

107.15 remains for 14 days or longer or for an aggregate period of time exceeding 30 days during 

107 .16 any calendar year; and 

107 .17 (3) ten years have not elapsed since the person was released from confinement or, if the 

107.18 person was not confined, since the person was convicted of or adjudicated delinquent for 

107.19 the offense that triggers registration, unless the person is subject to a longer registration 

107 .20 period under the laws of another state in which the person has been convicted or adjudicated, 

107 .21 or is subject to lifetime registration. 

I 07 .22 If a person described in this paragraph is subject to a longer registration period in another 

107.23 state or is subject to lifetime registration, the person shall register for that time period 

107.24 regardless of when the person was released from confinement, convicted, or adjudicated 

107 .25 delinquent. 

107.26 (c) A person also shall register under this section if the person was committed pursuant 

107.27 to a court commitment order under Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 253B.185, chapter 

107.28 253D, Minnesota Statutes 1992, section 526.10, or a similar law of another state or the 

107.29 United States, regardless of whether the person was convicted of any offense. 

107.30 (d) A person also shall register under this section if: 

107.31 (1) the person was charged with or petitioned for a felony violation or attempt to violate 

107.32 any of the offenses listed in paragraph (a), clause (1), or a similar law of another state or 
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108.1 the United States, or the person was charged with or petitioned for a violation of any of the 

108.2 offenses listed in paragraph (a), clause (2), or a similar law of another state or the United 

108.3 States; 

108.4 (2) the person was found not guilty by reason of mental illness or mental deficiency 

108.5 after a trial for that offense, or found guilty but mentally ill after a trial for that offense, in 

108.6 states with a guilty but mentally ill verdict; and 

108.7 (3) the person was committed pursuant to a court commitment order under section 

108.8 253B.18 or a similar law of another state or the United States. 

108.9 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective September 15, 2021, and applies to 

108.10 crimes committed on or after that date. 

108.11 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.135, subdivision 2, is amended to read: 

108.12 Subd. 2. Stay of sentence maximum periods. (a) If the conviction is for a felony other 

108.13 than section 609.2113, subdivision 1 or 2, ef 609.2114, subdivision 2, or section 609.3451, 

108.14 subdivision 1, or Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 609 .21, subdivision 1 a, paragraph (b) 

108.15 or (c), the stay shall be for not more than four years or the maximum period for which the 

108.16 sentence of imprisonment might have been imposed, whichever is longer. 

108.17 (b) If the conviction is for a gross misdemeanor violation of section 169A.20, 609.2113, 

108.18 subdivision 3, or 609.3451, or for a felony described in section 609.2113, subdivision 1 or 

108.19 2, ef 609.2114, subdivision 2, or 609.3451, subdivision 1, the stay shall be for not more 

108.20 than six years. The court shall provide for unsupervised probation for the last year of the 

108.21 stay unless the court finds that the defendant needs supervised probation for all or part of 

108.22 the last year. 

108.23 ( c) If the conviction is for a gross misdemeanor not specified in paragraph (b ), the stay 

108.24 shall be for not more than two years. 

108.25 (d) If the conviction is for any misdemeanor under section 169A.20; 609.746, subdivision 

108.26 1; 609.79; or 617.23; or for a misdemeanor under section 609.2242 or 609.224, subdivision 

108.27 1, in which the victim of the crime was a family or household member as defined in section 

108.28 518B.01, the stay shall be for not more than two years. The court shall provide for 

108.29 unsupervised probation for the second year of the stay unless the court finds that the 

108.30 defendant needs supervised probation for all or part of the second year. 

I 08.31 ( e) If the conviction is for a misdemeanor not specified in paragraph ( d), the stay shall 

108.32 be for not more than one year. 
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109.1 (f) The defendant shall be discharged six months after the term of the stay expires, unless 

109.2 the stay has been revoked or extended under paragraph (g), or the defendant has already 

109 .3 been discharged. 

109.4 (g) Notwithstanding the maximum periods specified for stays of sentences under 

109.5 paragraphs (a) to (f), a court may extend a defendant's term of probation for up to one year 

109.6 if it finds, at a hearing conducted under subdivision la, that: 

109.7 (1) the defendant has not paid court-ordered restitution in accordance with the payment 

109.8 schedule or structure; and 

109.9 (2) the defendant is likely to not pay the restitution the defendant owes before the term 

109.10 of probation expires. 

109.11 This one-year extension of probation for failure to pay restitution may be extended by the 

109.12 court for up to one additional year if the court finds, at another hearing conducted under 

109.13 subdivision la, that the defendant still has not paid the court-ordered restitution that the 

109.14 defendant owes. 

109.15 Nothing in this subdivision limits the court's ability to refer the case to collections under 

109 .16 section 609 .104. 

109.17 (h) Notwithstanding the maximum periods specified for stays of sentences under 

109.18 paragraphs (a) to (f), a court may extend a defendant's term of probation for up to three 

109 .19 years if it finds, at a hearing conducted under subdivision 1 c, that: 

109.20 (1) the defendant has failed to complete court-ordered treatment successfully; and 

109.21 (2) the defendant is likely not to complete court-ordered treatment before the term of 

109.22 probation expires. 

109.23 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective September 15, 2021, and applies to 

109.24 crimes committed on or after that date. 

109.25 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.2325, is amended to read: 

109.26 609.2325 CRIMINAL ABUSE. 

109.27 Subdivision 1. Crimes. WA caregiver who, with intent to produce physical or mental 

109.28 pain or injury to a vulnerable adult, subjects a vulnerable adult to any aversive or deprivation 

109.29 procedure, unreasonable confinement, or involuntary seclusion, is guilty of criminal abuse 

109.30 and may be sentenced as provided in subdivision 3. 

109.31 This paragraph subdivision does not apply to therapeutic conduct. 
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110.1 (b) A caregiver, facility staff person, or person providing services in a facility who 

110.2 engages in sexual contact or penetration, as defined in section 609 .341, under circumstances 

110.3 other than those described in sections 609.342 to 609.345, v1ith a resident, patient, or client 

110.4 of the facility is guilty of criminal abuse and may be sentenced as provided in subdivision 

110.5 ~ 

110.6 Subd. 2. Exemptions. For the purposes of this section, a vulnerable adult is not abused 

110.7 for the sole reason that: 

11 o.s ( 1) the vulnerable adult or a person with authority to make health care decisions for the 

110.9 vulnerable adult under sections 144.651, 144A.44, chapter 145B, 145C, or 252A, or sections 

110.10 253B.03 or 524.5-101 to 524.5-502, refuses consent or withdraws consent, consistent with 

110.11 that authority and within the boundary of reasonable medical practice, to any therapeutic 

110.12 conduct, including any care, service, or procedure to diagnose, maintain, or treat the physical 

110.13 or mental condition of the vulnerable adult or, where permitted under law, to provide nutrition 

110.14 and hydration parenterally or through intubation; this paragraph does not enlarge or diminish 

11 o.15 rights otherwise held under law by: 

110.16 (i) a vulnerable adult or a person acting on behalf of a vulnerable adult, including an 

110.17 involved family member, to consent to or refuse consent for therapeutic conduct; or 

110.1s (ii) a caregiver to offer or provide or refuse to offer or provide therapeutic conduct; QT 

110.19 (2) the vulnerable adult, a person with authority to make health care decisions for the 

110.20 vulnerable adult, or a caregiver in good faith selects and depends upon spiritual means or 

110.21 prayer for treatment or care of disease or remedial care of the vulnerable adult in lieu of 

110.22 medical care, provided that this is consistent with the prior practice or belief of the vulnerable 

110.23 adult or with the expressed intentions of the vulnerable adult~.: 

110.24 (3) the vulnerable adult, who is not impaired in judgment or capacity by mental or 

110.25 emotional dysfunction or undue influence, engages in consensual sexual contact :with: (i) a 

110.26 person, including a facility staff person, vvrb.en a consensual sexual personal relationship 

110.27 existed prior to the caregiving relationship; or (ii) a personal care attendant, regardless of 

110.28 vvrb.ether the consensual sexual personal relationship existed prior to the carcgiving 

110.29 relationship. 

110.30 Subd. 3. Penalties. W A person who violates subdivision 1, paragraph (a), may be 

110.31 sentenced as follows: 

110.32 (1) if the act results in the death of a vulnerable adult, imprisonment for not more than 

110.33 15 years or payment of a fine of not more than $30,000, or both; 
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111.1 (2) if the act results in great bodily harm, imprisonment for not more than ten years or 

111.2 payment of a fine of not more than $20,000, or both; 

111.3 (3) if the act results in substantial bodily harm or the risk of death, imprisonment for not 

111.4 more than five years or payment of a fine of not more than $10,000, or both; or 

111.5 ( 4) in other cases, imprisonment for not more than one year or payment of a fine of not 

111.6 more than $3,000, or both. 

111. 7 (b) A person who violates subdivision 1, paragraph (b), may be sentenced to imprisonment 

111.8 for not more than one year or to payment of a fine of not more than $3,000, or both. 

111.9 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective September 15, 2021, and applies to 

111.10 crimes committed on or after that date. 

111.11 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609 .324, subdivision 1, is amended to read: 

111.12 Subdivision 1. Engaging in, hiring, or agreeing to hire minor to engage in 

111.13 prostitution; penalties. ( a) Whoever intentionally does any of the following may be 

111.14 sentenced to imprisonment for not more than 20 years or to payment of a fine of not more 

111.15 than $40,000, or both: 

111.16 (1) engages in prostitution with an individual under the age of H 14 years; 

111.17 (2) hires or offers or agrees to hire an individual under the age of H 14 years to engage 

111.18 in sexual penetration or sexual contact; or 

111.19 (3) hires or offers or agrees to hire an individual who the actor reasonably believes to 

111.20 be under the age of H 14 years to engage in sexual penetration or sexual contact. 

111.21 (b) Whoever intentionally does any of the following may be sentenced to imprisonment 

111.22 for not more than ten years or to payment of a fine of not more than $20,000, or both: 

1 1 1.23 (1) engages in prostitution with an individual under the age of 16 years but at least H 

111.24 14 years; 

111.25 (2) hires or offers or agrees to hire an individual under the age of 16 years but at least 

111.26 H 14 years to engage in sexual penetration or sexual contact; or 

111.27 (3) hires or offers or agrees to hire an individual who the actor reasonably believes to 

111.28 be under the age of 16 years but at least 13 years to engage in sexual penetration or sexual 

111.29 contact. 

I 11.30 (c) Whoever intentionally does any of the following may be sentenced to imprisonment 

111.31 for not more than five years or to payment of a fine of not more than $10,000, or both: 
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112.1 (1) engages in prostitution with an individual under the age of 18 years but at least 16 

112.2 years; 

112.3 (2) hires or offers or agrees to hire an individual under the age of 18 years but at least 

112.4 16 years to engage in sexual penetration or sexual contact; or 

112.5 (3) hires or offers or agrees to hire an individual who the actor reasonably believes to 

112.6 be under the age of 18 years but at least 16 years to engage in sexual penetration or sexual 

112.7 contact. 

112.8 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective September 15, 2021, and applies to 

112.9 crimes committed on or after that date. 

112.10 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.341, subdivision 3, is amended to read: 

112.11 Subd. 3. Force. "Force" means either: ill_the infliction, by the actor of bodily harm; or 

112.12 (2) the attempted infliction, or threatened infliction by the actor of bodily harm or commission 

112.13 or threat of any other crime by the actor against the complainant or another, which W causes 

112.14 the complainant to reasonably believe that the actor has the present ability to execute the 

112.15 threat and (b) if the actor docs not have a significant relationship to the complainant, also 

112.16 causes the complainant to submit. 

112.17 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective September 15, 2021, and applies to 

112.18 crimes committed on or after that date. 

112.19 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.341, subdivision 7, is amended to read: 

112.20 Subd. 7. Mentally incapacitated. "Mentally incapacitated" means~ 

112.21 ill that a person under the influence of alcohol, a narcotic, anesthetic, or any other 

112.22 substance, administered to that person without the person's agreement, lacks the judgment 

112.23 to give a reasoned consent to sexual contact or sexual penetration; or 

112.24 (2) that a person is under the influence of any substance or substances to a degree that 

112.25 renders them incapable of consenting or incapable of appreciating, understanding, OI 

112.26 controlling the person's conduct. 

112.27 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective September 15, 2021, and applies to 

112.28 crimes committed on or after that date. 
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113.1 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609 .341, subdivision 11, is amended to read: 

113.2 Subd. 11. Sexual contact. (a) "Sexual contact," for the purposes of sections 609.343, 

113.3 subdivision 1, clauses (a) to ff1 (e), and subdivision la, clauses (a) to (f) and (i), and 609.345, 

113.4 subdivision 1, clauses (a) to ttj,Jill and (h) to (p) (i), and subdivision la, clauses (a) to (e), 

113.5 (h), and (i), includes any of the following acts committed without the complainant's consent, 

113.6 except in those cases where consent is not a defense, and committed with sexual or aggressive 

113.7 intent: 

113.8 (i) the intentional touching by the actor of the complainant's intimate parts, or 

113.9 (ii) the touching by the complainant of the actor's, the complainant's, or another's intimate 

113.10 parts effected by a person in a current or recent position of authority, or by coercion, or by 

113 .11 inducement if the complainant is under H 14 years of age or mentally impaired, or 

113.12 (iii) the touching by another of the complainant's intimate parts effected by coercion or 

113 .13 by a person in a current or recent position of authority, or 

113.14 (iv) in any of the cases above, the touching of the clothing covering the immediate area 

113.15 of the intimate parts, or 

113.16 (v) the intentional touching with seminal fluid or sperm by the actor of the complainant's 

113.17 body or the clothing covering the complainant's body. 

113.18 (b) "Sexual contact," for the purposes of sections 609.343, subdivision -l-~' clauses (g) 

113.19 and (h), ftflfi 609.345, subdivision -l-~' clauses (f) and (g), and 609.3458, includes any of 

113.20 the following acts committed with sexual or aggressive intent: 

113.21 (i) the intentional touching by the actor of the complainant's intimate parts; 

113.22 (ii) the touching by the complainant of the actor's, the complainant's, or another's intimate 

113 .23 parts; 

113.24 (iii) the touching by another of the complainant's intimate parts; 

113.25 (iv) in any of the cases listed above, touching of the clothing covering the immediate 

113.26 area of the intimate parts; or 

113.27 (v) the intentional touching with seminal fluid or sperm by the actor of the complainant's 

113.28 body or the clothing covering the complainant's body. 

113.29 (c) "Sexual contact with a person under H 14" means the intentional touching of the 

113.30 complainant's bare genitals or anal opening by the actor's bare genitals or anal opening with 

113.31 sexual or aggressive intent or the touching by the complainant's bare genitals or anal opening 

113.32 of the actor's or another's bare genitals or anal opening with sexual or aggressive intent. 
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114.1 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective September 15, 2021, and applies to 

114.2 crimes committed on or after that date. 

114.3 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.341, subdivision 12, is amended to read: 

114.4 Subd. 12. Sexual penetration. "Sexual penetration" means any of the following acts 

114.5 committed without the complainant's consent, except in those cases where consent is not a 

114.6 defense, whether or not emission of semen occurs: 

114. 7 ( 1) sexual intercourse, cunnilingus, fellatio, or anal intercourse; or 

114.8 (2) any intrusion however slight into the genital or anal openings: 

114.9 (i) of the complainant's body by any part of the actor's body or any object used by the 

114.10 actor for this purpose; 

114.11 (ii) of the complainant's body by any part of the body of the complainant, by any part 

114.12 of the body of another person, or by any object used by the complainant or another person 

114.13 for this purpose, when effected by a person in a current or recent position of authority, or 

114.14 by coercion, or by inducement if the child is under H ~ years of age or mentally impaired; 

114.15 or 

114.16 (iii) of the body of the actor or another person by any part of the body of the complainant 

114.17 or by any object used by the complainant for this purpose, when effected by a person in a 

114.18 current or recent position of authority, or by coercion, or by inducement if the child is under 

114.19 H 14 years of age or mentally impaired. 

114.20 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective September 15, 2021, and applies to 

114.21 crimes committed on or after that date. 

114.22 Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.341, subdivision 14, is amended to read: 

114.23 Subd. 14. Coercion. "Coercion" means the use by the actor of words or circumstances 

114.24 that cause the complainant reasonably to fear that the actor will inflict the infliction of bodily 

114.25 harm upon the complainant or another, or the use by the actor of confinement, or superior 

114.26 size or strength, against the complainant that causes the complainant to submit to sexual 

114.27 penetration or contact against the complainant's ·will to accomplish the act. Proof of coercion 

114.28 does not require proof of a specific act or threat. 

114.29 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective September 15, 2021, and applies to 

114.30 crimes committed on or after that date. 
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115.1 Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.341, subdivision 15, is amended to read: 

115.2 Subd. 15. Significant relationship. "Significant relationship" means a situation in which 

115.3 the actor is: 

115.4 (1) the complainant's parent, stepparent, or guardian; 

115.5 (2) any of the following persons related to the complainant by blood, marriage, or 

1 I 5.6 adoption: brother, sister, stepbrother, stepsister, first cousin, aunt, uncle, nephew, niece, 

115.7 grandparent, great-grandparent, great-uncle, great-aunt; 6f 

115.8 (3) an adult who jointly resides intermittently or regularly in the same dwelling as the 

115.9 complainant and who is not the complainant's spouse; or 

115.10 ( 4) an adult who is or was involved in a significant romantic or sexual relationship with 

115.11 the parent of a complainant. 

115.12 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective September 15, 2021, and applies to 

115.13 crimes committed on or after that date. 

115.14 Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.341, is amended by adding a subdivision 

115.15 to read: 

115.16 Subd. 24. Prohibited occupational relationship. A "prohibited occupational 

115.17 relationship" exists when the actor is in one of the following occupations and the act takes 

115.18 place under the specified circumstances: 

115 .19 ( 1) the actor performed massage or other bodywork for hire, the sexual penetration or 

115.20 sexual contact occurred during or immediately before or after the actor performed or was 

115.21 hired to perform one of those services for the complainant, and the sexual penetration or 

115.22 sexual contact was nonconsensual; or 

115.23 (2) the actor and the complainant were in one of the following occupational relationships 

115.24 at the time of the act. Consent by the complainant is not a defense: 

115.25 (i) the actor was a psychotherapist, the complainant was the actor's patiegt, and the sexual 

115.26 penetration or sexual contact occurred during a psychotherapy session or during a period 

115.27 of time when the psychotherapist-patient relationship was ongoing; 

115.28 (ii) the actor was a psychotherapist and the complainant was the actor's former patient 

115.29 who was emotionall~endel}t on the actor; 
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116.1 (iii) the actor was or falsely impersonated a psychotherapist, the complainant was the 

116.2 actor's patient or former patient, and the sexual penetration or sexual contact occurred by 

116.3 means of therapeutic deception; 

116.4 (iv) the actor was or falsely impersonated a provider of medical services to the 

116.5 complainant and the sexual penetration or sexual contact occurred by means of deception 

116.6 or false representation that the sexual penetration or sexual contact was for a bona fide 

116.7 medical purpose; 

116.8 (v) the actor was or falsely impersonated a member of the clergy, the complainant was 

116.9 not married to the actor, the complainant met with the actor in private seeking or receiving 

116.10 religious or spiritual advice, aid, or comfort from the actor, and the sexual penetration or 

116.11 sexual contact occurred during the course of the meeting or during a period of time when 

116.12 the meetings were ongoing; 

116.13 (vi) the actor provided special transportation service to the complainant and the sexual 

116.14 penetration or sexual contact occurred during or immediately before or after the actor 

116.15 transported the complainant; 

116.16 (vii) the actor was or falsely impersonated a peace officer, as defined in section 626.84, 

116.17 the actor physically or constructively restrained the complainant or the complainant did not 

116.18 reasonably feel free to leave the actor's presence, and the sexual penetration or sexual contact 

116.19 was not .12ursuant to a lawful search or lawful use of force; 

116.20 (viii) the actor was an employee, independent contractor, or volunteer of a state, county, 

116.21 city, or privately operated adult or juvenile correctional system, or secure treatment facility, 

116.22 or treatment facility providing services to clients civilly committed as mentally ill and 

116.23 dangerous, sexually dangerous persons, or sexual psychopathic personalities, including but 

116.24 not limited to jails, prisons, detention centers, or work release facilities, and the complainant 

116.25 was a resident of a facility or under supervision of the correctional system; 

116.26 (ix) the complainant was enrolled in a secondary school and: 

116.27 (A) the actor was a licensed educator employed or contracted to provide service for the 

116.28 school at which the com.12lainant was a student; 

116.29 (B) the actor was age 18 or older and at least 48 months older than the complainant and 

116.30 was employed or contracted to provide service for the secondary school at which the 

116.31 com.12lainant was a student; OJ:-
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117.1 (C) the actor was age 18 or older and at least 48 months older than the complainant, and 

117.2 was a licensed educator employed or contracted to provide services for an elementary, 

117.3 middle, or seconda!Y school; 

117.4 (x) the actor was a caregiver, facility staff person, or person providing services in a 

117.5 facility, and the complainant was a vulnerable adult who was a resident, patient, or client 

I I 7.6 of the facility who was impaired in judgment or capacity by mental or emotional dysfunction 

117.7 or undue influence; or 

117.8 (xi) the actor was a caregiver, facility staff person, or person providing services in a 

117 .9 facility, and the complainant was a resident, patient, or client of the facility. This clause 

117.10 does not apply if a consensual sexual personal relationship existed prior to the caregiving 

117.11 relationship or if the actor was a personal care attendant. 

117.12 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective September 15, 2021, and applies to 

117.13 crimes committed on or after that date. 

117.14 Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.341, is amended by adding a subdivision 

117.15 to read: 

1 I 7.16 

117.17 2. 

Subd. 25. Caregiver. "Caregiver" has the meaning given in section 609.232, subdivision 

117.18 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective September 15, 2021, and applies to 

117.19 crimes committed on or after that date. 

117.20 Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.341, is amended by adding a subdivision 

111.21 to read: 

117.22 

117.23 

Subd. 26. Facili~ "Facility" has the meaning given in section 609.232, subdivision 3. 

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective September 15, 2021, and applies to 

117.24 crimes committed on or after that date. 

117.25 Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.341, is amended by adding a subdivision 

117.26 to read: 

117.27 Subd. 27. Vulnerable adult. "Vulnerable adult" has the meaning_given in section 

117.28 609.232, subdivision 11. 

117.29 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective September 15, 2021, and applies to 

117.30 crimes committed on or after that date. 
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118.1 Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609 .342, is amended to read: 

118.2 609.342 CRIMINAL SEXUAL CONDUCT IN THE FIRST DEGREE. 

118.3 Subdivision 1. Ac!_ult victim; crime defined. A person who engages in sexual penetration 

118.4 with another person, or in sexual contact .. Nith a person under 13 years of age as defined in 

118.5 section 609 .341, subdivision 11, paragraph (c), is guilty of criminal sexual conduct in the 

118.6 first degree if any of the following circumstances exists: 

118.7 (a) the complainant is under 13 years of age and the actor is more than 36 months older 

118.8 than the complainant. Neither mistake as to the complainant's age nor consent to the act by 

118.9 the complainant is a defense; 

118.1 o (b) the complainant is at least 13 years of age but less than 16 years of age and the actor 

118.11 is more than 48 months older than the complainant and in a current or recent position of 

118.12 authority over the complainant. Neither mistake as to the complainant's age nor consent to 

118.13 the act by the complainant is a defense; 

118.14 fe-1~ circumstances existing at the time of the act cause the complainant to have a 

118.15 reasonable fear of imminent great bodily harm to the complainant or another; 

118.16 ftB i!2} the actor is armed with a dangerous weapon or any article used or fashioned in 

118.17 a manner to lead the complainant to reasonably believe it to be a dangerous weapon and 

118.18 uses or threatens to use the weapon or article to cause the complainant to submit; 

118.19 W~ the actor causes personal injury to the complainant, and either any of the following 

118.20 circumstances exist: 

118.21 (i) the actor uses force or coercion to accomplish the act; er 

118.22 (ii) the actor uses force, as defined in section 609.341, subdivision 3, clause (2); 01 

118.23 fiB (iii) the actor knows or has reason to know that the complainant is mentally impaired, 

118.24 mentally incapacitated, or physically helpless; 

118.25 ( d) the actor uses force as defined in section 609 .341, subdivision 3, clause (1 ); or 

118.26 fB M the actor is aided or abetted by one or more accomplices within the meaning of 

118.27 section 609.05, and either of the following circumstances exists: 

118.28 (i) the actor or an accomplice uses force or coercion to cause the complainant to submit; 

118.29 or 

118.30 (ii) the actor or an accomplice is armed with a dangerous weapon or any article used or 

118.31 fashioned in a manner to lead the complainant reasonably to believe it to be a dangerous 
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119.1 weapon and uses or threatens to use the weapon or article to cause the complainant to 

119.2 submit;.: 

119 .3 (g) the actor has a significant relationship to the complainant and the complainant was 

119.4 under 16 years of age at the time of the act. Neither mistake as to the complainant's age nor 

119.5 consent to the act by the complainant is a defense; or 

119.6 (h) the actor has a significant relationship to the complainant, the complainant ·was under 

119. 7 16 years of age at the time of the act, and: 

119.8 (i) the actor or an accomplice used force or coercion to accomplish the act; 

119.9 (ii) the complainant suffered personal injury; or 

119.10 (iii) the sexual abuse involved multiple acts committed over an extended period oftime. 

119.11 Neither mistake as to the complainant's age nor consent to the act by the complainant is 

119.12 a defense. 

119.13 Subd. la. Victim under the age of 18; crime defined. A person who engages in 

119 .14 penetration with anyone under 18 years of age or sexual contact with a person under 14 

119.15 years of age as defined in section 609 .341, subdivision 11, paragraph ( c ), is guilty of criminal 

119.16 sexual conduct in the first degree if any of the following circumstances exists: 

119.17 (a) circumstances existing at the time of the act cause the complainant to have a 

119.18 reasonable fear of imminent great bodily harm to the complainant or another; 

119.19 (b) the actor is armed with a dangerous weapon or any article used or fashioned in a 

119.20 manner to lead the complainant to reasonably believe it to be a dangerous weapon and uses 

119.21 or threatens to use the weapon or article to cause the complainant to submit; 

119.22 ( c) the actor causes personal injury to the complainant, and any of the following 

119 .23 circumstances exist: 

119.24 (i) the actor uses coercion to accomplish the ~t; 

119.25 (ii) the actor uses force, as defined in section 609.341, subdivision 3, clause (2); or 

119.26 (iii) the actor knows or has reason to know that the complainant is mentally impaired, 

119.27 mentally incapacitated, or physically helpless; 

119.28 (d) the actor is aided or abetted by one or more accomplices within the meaning of 

119.29 section 609.05, and either of the following circumstances exists: 

119.30 

119.31 or 

(i) the actor or an accomplice uses force or coercion to cause the complainant to submit; 
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120.1 (ii) the actor or an accomplice is armed with a dangerous weapon or any article used or 

120.2 fashioned in a manner to lead the complainant to reasonably believe it to be a dangerous 

120.3 weapon and uses or threatens to use the weapon or article to cause the complainant to submit; 

120.4 (e) the complainant is under 14 years of age and the actor is more than 36 months older 

120.5 than the complainant. Neither mistake as to the complainant's age nor consent to the act by 

120.6 the complainant is a defense;_ 

120.7 (f) the complainant is at least 14 years of age but less than 16 years of age and: 

120.8 (i) the actor is more than 36 months older than the complainant; and 

120.9 (ii) the actor is in a current or recent position of authority over the complainant. 

120.10 Neither mistake as to the complainant's age nor consent to the act by the complainant is a 

120.11 defens~;_ 

120.12 (g) the complainant was under 16 years of age at the time of the act and the actor has a 

120.13 significant relationship to the complainant. Neither mistake as to the complainant's age nor 

120.14 consent to the act by the complagiant is a defense; 

120.15 (h) the complainant was under 16 years of age at the time of the act, and the actor has 

120.16 a significant relationship to the complainant and any of the following circumstances exist: 

120.17 

120.18 

120.19 

(i) the actor or an accomplice used force or coercion to accomplish the act; 

(ii) the complainant suffered personal injury; or 

(iii) the sexual abuse involved multiple acts committed over an extended period of time. 

120.20 Neither mistake as to the complainant's age nor consent to the act by the complainant is a 

120.21 defense; or 

120.22 (i) the actor uses force, as defined in section 609.341, subdivision 3, clause (1). 

120.23 Subd. 2. Penalty. (a) Except as otherwise provided in section 609.3455; or Minnesota 

120.24 Statutes 2004, section 609.109, a person convicted under subdivision 1 or subdivision la 

120.25 may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than 30 years or to a payment of a fine of 

120.26 not more than $40,000, or both. 

120.27 (b) Unless a longer mandatory minimum sentence is otherwise required by law or the 

120.28 Sentencing Guidelines provide for a longer presumptive executed sentence, the court shall 

120.29 presume that an executed sentence of 144 months must be imposed on an offender convicted 

120.30 of violating this section. Sentencing a person in a manner other than that described in this 

120.31 paragraph is a departure from the Sentencing Guidelines. 
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121.1 (c) A person convicted under this section is also subject to conditional release under 

121.2 section 609.3455. 

121.3 Subd. 3. Stay. Except when imprisonment is required under section 609.3455; or 

121.4 Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 609 .109, if a person is convicted under subdivision -l-~, 

121.5 clause (g), the court may stay imposition or execution of the sentence if it finds that: 

121.6 (a) a stay is in the best interest of the complainant or the family unit; and 

121.1 (b) a professional assessment indicates that the offender has been accepted by and can 

121.8 respond to a treatment program. 

121.9 If the court stays imposition or execution of sentence, it shall include the following as 

121.10 conditions of probation: 

121. 11 ( 1) incarceration in a local jail or workhouse; 

121.12 (2) a requirement that the offender complete a treatment program; and 

121.13 (3) a requirement that the offender have no unsupervised contact with the complainant 

121.14 until the offender has successfully completed the treatment program unless approved by 

121.15 the treatment program and the supervising correctional agent. 

121.16 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective September 15, 2021, and applies to 

121.17 crimes committed on or after that date. 

121.18 Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.343, is amended to read: 

121.19 609.343 CRIMINAL SEXUAL CONDUCT IN THE SECOND DEGREE. 

121.20 Subdivision 1. Adult victim;_ crime defined. A person who engages in sexual contact 

121.21 with another person is guilty of criminal sexual conduct in the second degree if any of the 

121.22 following circumstances exists: 

121.23 (a) the complainant is under 13 years of age and the actor is more than 3 6 months older 

121.24 than the complainant. Neither mistake as to the complainant's age nor consent to the act by 

121.25 the complainant is a defense. In a prosecution under this clause, the state is not required to 

121.26 prove that the sexual contact was coerced; 

121.27 (b) the complainant is at least 13 but less than 16 years of age and the actor is more than 

121.28 48 months older than the complainant and in a current or recent position of authority over 

121.29 the complainant. Neither mistake as to the complainant's age nor consent to the act by the 

121.30 complainant is a defense; 
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122.1 WM circumstances existing at the time of the act cause the complainant to have a 

122.2 reasonable fear of imminent great bodily harm to the complainant or another; 

122.3 fdj_(Q)_ the actor is armed with a dangerous weapon or any article used or fashioned in 

122.4 a manner to lead the complainant to reasonably believe it to be a dangerous weapon and 

122.5 uses or threatens to use the dangerous weapon to cause the complainant to submit; 

122.6 W~ the actor causes personal injury to the complainant, and eith-ef any of the following 

122. 7 circumstances exist: 

122.8 (i) the actor uses force or coercion to accomplish the sexual contact; ef 

122.9 (ii) the actor uses force, as defined in section 609.341, subdivision 3, clause (2); or 

122.10 W (iii) the actor knows or has reason to know that the complainant is mentally impaired, 

122.11 mentally incapacitated, or physically helpless; 

122.12 (d) the actor uses force as defined in section 609.341, subdivision 3, clause (1); or 

122.13 ti)~ the actor is aided or abetted by one or more accomplices within the meaning of 

122.14 section 609.05, and either of the following circumstances exists: 

122.15 (i) the actor or an accomplice uses force or coercion to cause the complainant to submit; 

122.16 or 

122.17 (ii) the actor or an accomplice is armed with a dangerous weapon or any article used or 

122.18 fashioned in a manner to lead the complainant to reasonably believe it to be a dangerous 

122.19 weapon and uses or threatens to use the weapon or article to cause the complainant to 

122.20 submitt 

122.21 (g) the actor has a significant relationship to the complainant and the complainant v1as 

122.22 under 16 years of age at the time of the sexual contact. Neither mistake as to the complainant's 

122.23 age nor consent to the act by the complainant is a defense; or 

122.24 (h) the actor has a significant relationship to the complainant, the complainant was under 

122.25 16 years of age at the time of the sexual contact, and: 

122.26 (i) the actor or an accomplice used force or coercion to accomplish the contact; 

122.27 (ii) the complainant suffered personal injury; or 

122.23 (iii) the sexual abuse involved multiple acts committed over an extended period oftime. 

122.29 Neither mistake as to the complainant's age nor consent to the act by the complainant is 

122.30 a defense. 
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123.1 Subd. la. Victim under the age of 18; crime defined. A person who engages in sexual 

123.2 contact with anyone under 18 years of age is guilty of criminal sexual conduct in the second 

123.3 degree if any of the following circumstances exists: 

123.4 (a) circumstances existing at the time of the act cause the complainant to have a 

123.5 reasonable fear of imminent great bodily harm to the complainant or another; 

123.6 (b) the actor is armed with a dangerous weapon or any article used or fashioned in a 

123.7 manner to lead the complainant to reasonably believe it to be a dangerous weapon and uses 

123.8 or threatens to use the dangerous weapon to cause the complainant to submit; 

123.9 ( c) the actor causes personal injury to the complainant, and any of the following 

123.10 circumstances exist: 

123.11 (i) the actor uses coercion to accomplish the sexual contact; 

123.12 (ii) the actor uses force, as defined in section 609.341, subdivision 3, clause (2); or 

123.13 (iii) the actor knows or has reason to know that the complainant is mentally impaired, 

123.14 mentally incapacitated, or physically helpless; 

123.15 (d) the actor is aided or abetted by one or more accomplices within the meaning of 

123.16 section 609.05, and ej!her of the following circumstances exists: 

123.17 

123.18 or 

123.19 

(i) the actor or an accomplice uses force or coercion to cause the complainant to submit; 

(ii) the actor or an accomplice is armed with a dangerous weapon or any article used or 

123.20 fashioned in a manner to lead the complainant to reasonably believe it to be a dangerous 

123.21 weapon and uses or threatens to use the weapon or article to cause the complainant to sub~mit; 

123.22 (e) the complainant is under 14 years of age and the actor is more than 36 months older 

123.23 than the complainant. Neither mistake as to the complainant's age nor consent to the act by 

123.24 the complainant is a defense. In a prosecution under this clause, the state is not required to 

123 .25 prove that the sexual contact was coerced; 

123.26 (f) the complainant is at least 14 but less than 16 years of age and the actor is more than 

123.27 36 months older than the complainant and in a current or recent position of authority over 

123.28 the complainant. Neither mistake as to the complainant's age nor consent to the act by the 

123.29 com_plainant is a defense; 

123.30 (g) the complainant was under 16 years of age at the time of the sexual contact and the 

123.31 actor has a significant relationship to the complainant. Neither mistake as to the complainant's 

123.32 age nor consent to the act by the complainant is a defense; 
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124.1 (h) the actor has a significant relationship to the complainant, the complainant was under 

124.2 16 years of age at the time of the sexual contact, and: 

124.3 (i) the actor or an accomplice used force or coercion to accomplish the contact; 

124.4 (ii) the complainant suffered personal injury; or 

124.5 (iii) the sexual abuse involved multiple acts committed over an extended period of time. 

124.6 Neither mistake as to the complainant's age nor consent to the act by the complainant is a 

124.7 defense_; or 

124.8 (i) the actor uses force, as defined in section 609.341, subdivision 3, clause (1). 

124.9 Subd. 2. Penalty. (a) Except as otherwise provided in section 609.3455; or Minnesota 

124.10 Statutes 2004, section 609 .109, a person convicted under subdivision 1 or subdivision 1 a 

124.11 may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than 25 years or to a payment of a fine of 

124.12 not more than $35,000, or both. 

124.13 (b) Unless a longer mandatory minimum sentence is otherwise required by law or the 

124.14 Sentencing Guidelines provide for a longer presumptive executed sentence, the court shall 

124.15 presume that an executed sentence of 90 months must be imposed on an offender convicted 

124.16 of violating subdivision 1, clause ( a), (b ), ( c ), ( d), or ( e ),--Eft,- or subdivision 1 a, clause ( a), 

124.17 (b), (c), (d), et= (h), or (i). Sentencing a person in a manner other than that described in this 

124.18 paragraph is a departure from the Sentencing Guidelines. 

124.19 (c) A person convicted under this section is also subject to conditional release under 

124.20 section 609.3455. 

124.21 Subd. 3. Stay. Except when imprisonment is required under section 609.3455; or 

124.22 Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 609 .109, if a person is convicted under subdivision -l-~, 

124.23 clause (g), the court may stay imposition or execution of the sentence if it finds that: 

124.24 (a) a stay is in the best interest of the complainant or the family unit; and 

124.25 (b) a professional assessment indicates that the offender has been accepted by and can 

124.26 respond to a treatment program. 

124.27 If the court stays imposition or execution of sentence, it shall include the following as 

124.28 conditions of probation: 

124.29 (1) incarceration in a local jail or workhouse; 

124.30 .(2) a requirement that the offender complete a treatment program; and 
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125.1 (3) a requirement that the offender have no unsupervised contact with the complainant 

125.2 until the offender has successfully completed the treatment program unless approved by 

125.3 the treatment program and the supervising correctional agent. 

125.4 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective September 15, 2021, and applies to 

125.5 crimes committed on or after that date. 

125.6 Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.344, is amended to read: 

125.7 609.344 CRIMINAL SEXUAL CONDUCT IN THE THIRD DEGREE. 

125.8 Subdivision 1. Adult victim;_ crime defined. A person who engages in sexual penetration 

125.9 with another person is guilty of criminal sexual conduct in the third degree if any of the 

125.10 following circumstances exists: 

125.11 (a) the complainant is under 13 years of age and the actor is no more than 3 6 months 

125.12 older than the complainant. Neither mistake as to the complainant's age nor consent to the 

125.13 act by the complainant shall be a defense; 

125.14 (b) the complainant is at least 13 but less than 16 years of age and the actor is more than 

125.15 24 months older than the complainant. In any such case if the actor is no more than 120 

125 .16 months older than the complainant, it shall be an affirmative defense, v1hich must be proved 

125.17 by a preponderance of the evidence, that the actor reasonably believes the complainant to 

125 .18 be 16 years of age or older. In all other cases, mistake as to the complainant's age shall not 

125.19 be a defense. Consent by the complainant is not a defense; 

125.20 W~ the actor uses force or coercion to accomplish the penetration; 

125.21 fdj_{Q} the actor knows or has reason to know that the complainant is mentally impaired, 

125.22 mentally incapacitated, or physically helpless; 

125.23 (c) the actor uses force, as defined in section 609.341, subdivision 3, clause (2); or 

125.24 ( d) at the time of the act, the actor is in a prohibited occupational relationship with the 

125.25 com,2lainant. 

125.26 Subd. 1 a. Victim under the age of 18; crime defined. A person who engages in sexual 

125.27 penetration with anyone under 18 years of age is guilty of criminal sexual conduct in the 

125.28 third degree if any of the following circumstances exists: 

125.29 (a) the complainant is under 14 years of age and the actor is no more than 36 months 

125.30 older than the complainant. Neither mistake as to the complainant's age nor consent to the 

125.31 act by the complainant shall be a defense; 
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126.1 (b) the complainant is at least 14 but less than 16 years of age and the actor is more than 

126.2 24 months older than the complainant. In any such case if the actor is no more than 60 

126.3 months older than the complainant, it shall be an affirmative defense, which must be proved 

126.4 by a preponderance of the evidence, that the actor reasonably believes the complainant to 

126.5 be 16 years of age or older. In all other cases, mistake as to the complainant's age shall not 

126.6 be a defense. Consent by the complainant is not a defense; 

126.7 ( c) the actor uses coercion to accomplish the penetration; 

126.8 ( d) the actor knows or has reason to know that the complainant is mentally impaired, 

126.9 mentally incapacitated, or physically helpless; 

126.10 (e) the complainant is at least 16 but less than 18 years of age and the actor is more than 

126.11 4& 36 months older than the complainant and in a current or recent position of authority 

126.12 over the complainant. Neither mistake as to the complainant's age nor consent to the act by 

126.13 the complainant is a defense; 

126.14 (f) the actor has a significant relationship to the complainant and the complainant was 

126. 15 at least 16 but under 18 years of age at the time of the sexual penetration. Neither mistake 

126.16 as to the complainant's age nor consent to the act by the complainant is a defense; 

126.17 (g) the actor has a significant relationship to the complainant, the complainant was at 

126.18 least 16 but under 18 years of age at the time of the sexual penetration, and: 

126.19 (i) the actor or an accomplice used force or coercion to accomplish the penetration; 

126.20 (ii) the complainant suffered personal injury; or 

126.21 (iii) the sexual abuse involved multiple acts committed over an extended period of time. 

126.22 Neither mistake as to the complainant's age nor consent to the act by the complainant is 

126.23 a defense; 

126.24 (h) the actor is a psychotherapist and the complainant is a patient of the psychotherapist 

126.25 and the sexual penetration occurred: the actor uses force, as defined in section 609 .341, 

126.26 subdivision 3, clause (2); or 

126.27 (i) at the time of the act, the actor is in a prohibited occupational relationship with the 

126.28 com.12lainant. 

126.29 • • . 

126.30 

126.31 too:Sts. 
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127.1 Consent by the complainant is not a defense; 

127.2 (i) the actor is a psychotherapist and the complainant is a former patient of the 

127.3 psychotherapist and the former patient is emotionally dependent upon the psychotherapist; 

127.4 (j) the actor is a psychotherapist and the complainant is a patient or former patient and 

127.5 the sexual penetration occurred by means of therapeutic deception. Consent by the 

127.6 complainant is not a defense; 

127_7 (k) the actor accomplishes the sexual penetration by means of deception or false 

127.8 representation that the penetration is for a bona fide medical purpose. Consent by the 

127.9 complainant is not a defense; 

121.10 (1) the actor is or purports to be a member ofthe clergy, the complainant is not married 

121.11 to the actor, and: 

127.12 (i) the sexual penetration occurred during the course of a meeting in v;hich the 

127 .13 complainant sought or received religious or spiritual advice, aid, or comfort from the actor 

127.14 in private; or 

127.15 (ii) the sexual penetration occurred during a period of time in which the complainant 

127.16 v1as meeting on an ongoing basis v✓ith the actor to seek or receive religious or spiritual 

127.17 advice, aid, or comfort in private. Consent by the complainant is not a defense; 

127 .18 (m) the actor is an employee, independent contractor, or volunteer of a state, county, 

127.19 city, or privately operated adult orjuvenile correctional system, or secure treatment facility, 

121.20 or treatment facility providing services to clients civilly committed as mentally ill and 

121.21 dangerous, sexually dangerous persons, or sexual psychopathic personalities, including, but 

121.22 not limited to, jails, prisons, detention centers, or v✓0rk release facilities, and the complainant 

121.23 is a resident of a facility or under supervision of the correctional system. Consent by the 

127.24 complainant is not a defense; 

127.25 (n) the actor provides or is an agent of an entity that provides special transportation 

127 .26 service, the complainant used the special transportation service, and the sexual penetration 

127 .27 occurred during or immediately before or after the actor transported the complainant. Consent 

127.28 by the complainant is not a defense; 

127.29 

127.30 of one of those services, and nonconsensual sexual penetration occurred during or 

127 _31 immediately before or after the actor performed or was hired to perform one of those services 

127.32 for the complainant; or 
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128.1 (p) the actor is a peace officer, as defined in section 626.84, and the officer physically 

128.2 or constructively restrains the complainant or the complainant does not reasonably feel free 

128.3 to leave the officer's presence. Consent by the complainant is not a defense. This paragraph 

128.4 does not apply to any penetration of the mouth, genitals, or anus during a lawful search. 

128.5 Subd. 2. Penalty. Except as otherwise provided in section 609.3455, a person convicted 

128.6 under subdivision 1 or subdivision 1 a may be sentenced: 

128.7 (1) to imprisonment for not more than 15 years or to a payment of a fine of not more 

128.8 than $30,000, or both; or 

128.9 (2) if the person was convicted under subdivision -1-B, paragraph (b ), and if the actor 

128.10 was no more than 48- 36 months but more than 24 months older than the complainant, to 

128.11 imprisonment for not more than five years or a fine of not more than $30,000, or both. 

128.12 A person convicted under this section is also subject to conditional release under section 

128.13 609.3455. 

128.14 Subd. 3. Stay. Except when imprisonment is required under section 609.3455; or 

128.15 Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 609 .109, if a person is convicted under subdivision -1-B, 

128.16 clause (f), the court may stay imposition or execution of the sentence if it finds that: 

128.17 (a) a stay is in the best interest of the complainant or the family unit; and 

128.18 (b) a professional assessment indicates that the offender has been accepted by and can 

128.19 respond to a treatment program. 

12s.20 If the court stays imposition or execution of sentence, it shall include the following as 

128.21 conditions of probation: 

128.22 (1) incarceration in a local jail or workhouse; 

128.23 (2) a requirement that the offender complete a treatment program; and 

128.24 (3) a requirement that the offender have no unsupervised contact with the complainant 

128.25 until the offender has successfully completed the treatment program unless approved by 

128.26 the treatment program and the supervising correctional agent. 

128.27 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective September 15, 2021, and applies to 

128.28 crimes committed on or after that date. 
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129.1 Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.345, is amended to read: 

129.2 609.345 CRIMINAL SEXUAL CONDUCT IN THE FOURTH DEGREE. 

129.3 Subdivision 1. Adult victim;_ crime defined. A person who engages in sexual contact 

129.4 with another person is guilty of criminal sexual conduct in the fourth degree if any of the 

129.5 following circumstances exists: 

129.6 (a) the complainant is under 13 years of age and the actor is no more than 36 months 

129.7 older than the complainant. Neither mistake as to the complainant's age or consent to the 

129.8 act by the complainant is a defense. In a prosecution under this clause, the state is not 

129.9 required to prove that the sexual contact was coerced; 

129.10 (b) the complainant is at least 13 but less than 16 years of age and the actor is more than 

129 .11 48 months older than the complainant or in a current or recent position of authority over 

129.12 the complainant. Consent by the complainant to the act is not a defense. In any such case, 

129 .13 if the actor is no more than 120 months older than the complainant, it shall be an affirmative 

129 .14 defense vmich must be proved by a preponderance of the evidence that the actor reasonably 

129.15 believes the complainant to be 16 years of age or older. In all other cases, mistake as to the 

129.16 complainant's age shall not be a defense; 

129.17 fe)~ the actor uses force or coercion to accomplish the sexual contact; 

129.18 fdj_(Q} the actor knows or has reason to know that the complainant is mentally impaired, 

129.19 mentally incapacitated, or physically helpless; 

129.20 (c) the actor uses force, as defined in section 609.341, subdivision 3, clause (2); or 

129.21 ( d) at the time of the act, the actor is in a prohibited occupational relationship with the 

129.22 com.12lainant. 

129.23 Subd. la. Victim under the age of 18; crime defined. A person who engages in sexual 

129.24 contact with anyone under 18 years of age is guilty of criminal sexual conduct in the fourth 

129.25 degree if any of the following circumstances exists: 

129.26 (a) the complainant is under 14 years of age and the actor is no more than 36 months 

129.27 older than the complainant. Neither mistake as to the complainant's age or consent to the 

129.28 act by the complainant is a defense. In a prosecution under this clause, the state is not 

129.29 required to prove thatthe sexual contact was coerced; 

129.30 (b) the complainant is at least 14 but less than 16 years of age and the actor is more than 

.129.31 36 months older than the complainant or in a current or recent position of authority over 

129.32 the complainant. Consent by the complainant to the act is not a defense. 
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130.1 Mistake of age is not a defense unless actor is less than 60 months older. In any such case, 

130.2 if the actor is no more than 60 months older than the complainant, it shall be an affirmative 

130.3 defense which must be proved by a preponderance of the evidence that the actor reasonably 

130.4 believes the complainant to be 16 years of age or older. In an other case~, mistake as to the 

130.5 complainant's age shall not be a defense; 

130.6 ( c) the actor uses coercion to accomplish the sexual contact; 

130.7 (d) The actor knows or has reason to know that the complainant is mentally impaired, 

130.8 mentally incapacitated, or physically helpless; 

130.9 ( e) the complainant is at least 16 but less than 18 years of age and the actor is more than 

130.10 48- 36 months older than the complainant and in a current or recent position of authority 

130.11 over the complainant. Neither mistake as to the complainant's age nor consent to the act by 

130.12 the complainant is a defense; 

130.13 (f) the actor has a significant relationship to the complainant and the complainant was 

130.14 at least 16 but under 18 years of age at the time of the sexual contact. Neither mistake as to 

130.15 the complainant's age nor consent to the act by the complainant is a defense; 

130.16 (g) the actor has a significant relationship to the complainant, the complainant was at 

130.17 least 16 but under 18 years of age at the time of the sexual contact, and: 

130.18 (i) the actor or an accomplice used force or coercion to accomplish the contact; 

130.19 (ii) the complainant suffered personal injury; or 

130.20 (iii) the sexual abuse involved multiple acts committed over an extended period of time. 

130.21 Neither mistake as to the complainant's age nor consent to the act by the complainant is 

130.22 a defense; 

130.23 (h) the actor is a psychotherapist and the complainant is a patient of the psychotherapist 

130.24 and the sexual contact occurred: the actor uses force, as defined in section 609.341, 

130.25 supdivision 3, clause (2); or 

130.26 (i) at the time of the act, the actor is in a prohibited occupational relationship with the 

130.27 com_2lainant. 

130.28 (i) during the psychotherapy session; or 

130.29 (ii) outside the psychotherapy session if an ongoing psychotherapist patient relationship 

130.30 exists. Consent by the complainant is not a defense; 
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131.1 (i) the actor is a psychotherapist and the complainant is a former patient of the 

131.2 psychotherapist and the former patient is emotionally dependent upon the psychotherapist; 

131.3 G) the actor is a psychotherapist and the complainant is a patient or former patient and 

131.4 the sexual contact occurred by means of therapeutic deception. Consent by the complainant 

131.5 is not a defense; 

131 .6 (k) the actor accomplishes the sexual contact by means of deception or false representation 

131.7 that the contact is for a bona fide medical purpose. Consent by the complainant is not a 

131.8 defense; 

131.9 (1) the actor is or purports to be a member of the clergy, the complainant is not married 

131.10 to the actor, and: 

131.11 (i) the sexual contact occurred during the course of a meeting in v1hich the complainant 

131.12 sought or received religious or spiritual advice, aid, or comfort from the actor in private; or 

131.13 (ii) the sexual contact occurred during a period of time in vlhich the complainant was 

131.14 meeting on an ongoing basis v1ith the actor to seek or receive religious or spiritual advice, 

131.15 aid, or comfort in private. Consent by the complainant is not a defense; 

131.16 (m) the actor is an employee, independent contractor, or volunteer of a state, county, 

131.17 city, or privately operated adult or juvenile correctional system, or secure treatment facility, 

13 1.1 s or treatment facility providing services to clients civilly committed as mentally ill and 

131.19 dangerous, sexually dangerous persons, or sexual psychopathic personalities, including, but 

131.20 not limited to, jails, prisons, detention centers, or \Vork release facilities, and the complainant 

131.21 is a resident of a facility or under supervision of the correctional system. Consent by the 

13 1.22 complainant is not a defense; 

131.23 (n) the actor provides or is an agent of an entity that provides special transportation 

131.24 service, the complainant used the special transportation service, the complainant is not 

131.25 married to the actor, and the sexual contact occurred during or immediately before or after 

131.26 the actor transported the complainant. Consent by the complainant is not a defense; 

131.27 

131.28 of one ofthose services, and nonconsensual sexual contact occurred during or immediately 

131.29 before or after the actor performed or was hired to perform one of those services for the 

131.30 complainant; or 

131.31 (p) the actor is a peace officer, as defined in section 626.84, and the officer physically 

131.32 or constructively restrains the complainant or the complainant does not reasonably feel free 

131.33 to lea?1e the officer's presence. Consent by the complainant is not a defense. 
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132.1 Subd. 2. Penalty. Except as otherwise provided in section 609.3455, a person convicted 

132.2 under subdivision 1 or subdivision la may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than 

132.3 ten years or to a payment of a fine of not more than $20,000, or both. A person convicted 

132.4 under this section is also subject to conditional release under section 609.3455. 

132.5 Subd. 3. Stay. Except when imprisonment is required under section 609.3455; or 

132.6 Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 609 .109, if a person is convicted under subdivision -l-~, 

132.7 clause (f), the court may stay imposition or execution of the sentence if it finds that: 

132.8 (a) a stay is in the best interest of the complainant or the family unit; and 

132.9 (b) a professional assessment indicates that the offender has been accepted by and can 

132.10 respond to a treatment program. 

132.11 If the court stays imposition or execution of sentence, it shall include the following as 

132.12 conditions of probation: 

132.13 (1) incarceration in a localjail or workhouse; 

132.14 (2) a requirement that the offender complete a treatment program; and 

132.15 (3) a requirement that the offender have no unsupervised contact with the complainant 

132.16 until the offender has successfully completed the treatment program unless approved by 

132.17 the treatment program and the supervising correctional agent. 

132.18 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective September 15, 2021, and applies to 

132.19 crimes committed on or after that date. 

132.20 Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.3451, is amended to read: 

132.21 609.3451 CRIMINAL SEXUAL CONDUCT IN THE FIFTH DEGREE. 

132.22 Subdivision 1. Sexual penetration; crime defined. A person is guilty of criminal sexual 

132.23 conduct in the fifth degree-; if the person engages in nonconsensual sexual penetration. 

132.24 SuQd. 1~. Se~u& contact; child present; crime defined. A person is guilty of criminal 

132.25 sexual conduct in the fifth de~ee if: 

132.26 ( 1) if the person engages in nonconsensual sexual contact; or 

132.27 (2) the person engages in masturbation or lewd exhibition of the genitals in the presence 

132.28 of a minor under the age of 16, knowing or having reason to know the minor is present. 

132.29 For purposes of this section, "sexual contact" has the meaning given in section 609.341, 

132.30 subdivision 11, paragraph (a), clauses (i), (iv), and (v). Sexual contact also includes the 

132.31 intentional removal or attempted removal of clothing covering the complainant's intimate 
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133.1 parts or undergarments, and the nonconsensual touching by the complainant of the actor's 

133.2 intimate parts, effected by the actor, if the action is performed with sexual or aggressive 

133.3 intent. 

133.4 Subd. 2. Gross misdemeanor. A person convicted under subdivision -1- ~maybe 

133.5 sentenced to imprisonment for not more than one year or to a payment of a fine of not more 

133.6 than $3,000, or both. 

133.7 Subd. 3. Felony. (a) A person is guilty of a felony and maybe sentenced to imprisonment 

133.8 for not more than two years or to payment of a fine of not more than $1 0,0QQ, or both, if 

133.9 the person violates subdivision 1. 

133.10 D22_ A person is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more 

133.11 than seven years or to payment of a fine of not more than $14,000, or both, if the person 

133.12 violates this section subdivision 1 or la within SeveR ten years of: 

133.13 (1) a convicti_on_ under subdivision 1; 

133.14 fila previous conviction for violating subdivision -1-~' clause (2), a crime described 

133.15 in paragraph Wi£2, or a statute from another state in conformity with any of these offenses; 

133.16 or 

133.17 ~_m the first of two or more previous convictions for violating subdivision-I- la, clause 

133.18 (1 ), or a statute from another state in conformity with this offense. 

133.19 Wi£2 A previous conviction for violating section 609.342; 609.343; 609.344; 609.345; 

133.20 609.3453; 617.23, subdivision 2, clause (2), or subdivision 3; or 617.247 may be used to 

133.21 enhance a criminal penalty as provided in paragraph Will-

133.22 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective September 15, 2021, and applies to 

133.23 crimes committed on or after that date. 

133.24 Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.3455, is amended to read: 

133.25 609.3455 DANGEROUS SEX OFFENDERS; LIFE SENTENCES; CONDITIONAL 

133.26 RELEASE. 

133.27 Subdivision 1. Definitions. {a) As used in this section, the following terms have the 

133.28 meanings given. 

133.29 (b) "Conviction" includes a conviction as an extended jurisdiction juvenile under section 

133.30 260B.130 for a violation of, or an attempt to violate, section 609.342, 609.343, 609.344, er 

133.31 609.3453,_or 609.3458, if the adult sentence has been executed. 
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134.1 ( c) "Extreme inhumane conditions" mean situations where, either before or after the 

134.2 sexual penetration or sexual contact, the offender knowingly causes or permits the 

134.3 complainant to be placed in a situation likely to cause the complainant severe ongoing 

134.4 mental, emotional, or psychological harm, or causes the complainant's death. 

134.5 (d) A "heinous element" includes: 

134.6 (1) the offender tortured the complainant; 

134.7 (2) the offender intentionally inflicted great bodily harm upon the complainant; 

134.8 (3) the offender intentionally mutilated the complainant; 

134.9 (4) the offender exposed the complainant to extreme inhumane conditions; 

134.10 (5) the offender was armed with a dangerous weapon or any article used or fashioned 

134.11 in a manner to lead the complainant to reasonably believe it to be a dangerous weapon and 

134.12 used or threatened to use the weapon or article to cause the complainant to submit; 

134.13 (6) the offense involved sexual penetration or sexual contact with more than one victim; 

134.14 (7) the offense involved more than one perpetrator engaging in sexual penetration or 

134.15 sexual contact with the complainant; or 

134.16 (8) the offender, without the complainant's consent, removed the complainant from one 

134.17 place to another and did not release the complainant in a safe place. 

134.18 (e) "Mutilation" means the intentional infliction of physical abuse designed to cause 

134.19 serious permanent disfigurement or permanent or protracted loss or impairment of the 

134.20 functions of any bodily member or organ, where the offender relishes the infliction of the 

134.21 abuse, evidencing debasement or perversion. 

134.22 (f) A conviction is considered a "previous sex offense conviction" if the offender was 

134.23 convicted and sentenced for a sex offense before the commission of the present offense. 

134.24 (g) A conviction is considered a "prior sex offense conviction" if the offender was 

134.25 convicted of committing a sex offense before the offender has been convicted of the present 

134.26 offense, regardless of whether the offender was convicted for the first offense before the 

134.27 commission of the present offense, and the convictions involved separate behavioral 

134.28 incidents. 

134.29 (h) "Sex offense" means any violation of, or attempt to violate, section 609.342, 609.343, 

134.30 609.344, 609.345, 609.3451, 609.3453, 609.3458, or any similar statute of the United States, 

134.31 this state, or any other state. 
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135.1 (i) "Torture" means the intentional infliction of extreme mental anguish, or extreme 

135.2 psychological or physical abuse, when committed in an especially depraved manner. 

135.3 (j) An offender has "two previous sex offense convictions" only if the offender was 

135.4 convicted and sentenced for a sex offense committed after the offender was earlier convicted 

135.5 and sentenced for a sex offense and both convictions preceded the commission of the present 

135.6 offense of conviction. 

135.7 Subd. 2. Mandatory life sentence without release; egregious first-time and repeat 

135.8 offenders. (a) Notwithstanding the statutory maximum penalty otherwise applicable to the 

135.9 offense, the court shall sentence a person convicted under section 609.342, subdivision 1, 

135.10 paragraph (a), (b), (c), (d), or (e), (f), or (h); er 609.342, subdivision la, clause (a), (b), (c), 

135.11 (d), (h), or (i); 609.343, subdivision 1, paragraph (a), (b), (c), (d), or (e),-00,_;_ orW 609.343, 

135.12 subdivision la, clause (a), (b), (c), (d), (h), or (i), to life without the possibility of release 

135.13 if: 

135.14 (1) the fact finder determines that two or more heinous elements exist; or 

135.15 (2) the person has a previous sex offense conviction for a violation of section 609.342, 

135.16 609.343, er 609.344, or 609)458, subdivision 1, paragraph (b), and the fact finder determines 

135.17 that a heinous element exists for the present offense. 

135 .18 (b) A fact finder may not consider a heinous element if it is an element of the underlying 

135.19 specified violation of section 609.342 or 609.343. In addition, when determining whether 

135.20 two or more heinous elements exist, the fact finder may not use the same underlying facts 

135.21 to support a determination that more than one element exists. 

135 .22 Subd. 3. Mandatory life sentence for egregious first-time offenders. (a) 

135.23 Notwithstanding the statutory maximum penalty otherwise applicable to the offense, the 

135.24 court shall sentence a person to imprisonment for life if the person is convicted under section 

135.25 609.342, subdivision 1, paragraph (a), (b), (c), (d), or (e), (f), or (h), or; 609.342, subdivision 

135.26 la, clause (a), (b), (c), (d), (h), or (i); 609.343, subdivision 1, paragraph (a), (b), (c), (d), or 

135.27 (e), (f), or (h); or 609.343, subdivision la, clause (a), (b), (c), (d), (h), or (i); and the fact 

135.28 finder determines that a heinous element exists. 

135.29 (b) The fact finder may not consider a heinous element if it is an element of the underlying 

135.30 specified violation of section 609.342 or 609.343. 

135.31 Subd. 3a. Mandatory sentence for certain engrained offenders. (a) A court shall 

135.32 commit a person to the commissioner of corrections for a period of time that is not less than 

135.33 double the presumptive sentence under the sentencing guidelines and not more than the 
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136.1 statutory maximum, or if the statutory maximum is less than double the presumptive sentence, 

136.2 for a period of time that is equal to the statutory maximum, if: 

136.3 (1) the court is imposing an executed sentence on a person convicted of committing or 

136.4 attempting to commit a violation of section 609.342, 609.343, 609.344, 609.345, 0f 609.34531 

136.5 or 609.3458; 

136.6 (2) the fact finder determines that the offender is a danger to public safety; and 

136.7 (3) the fact finder determines that the offender's criminal sexual behavior is so engrained 

136.8 that the risk of reoffending is great without intensive psychotherapeutic intervention or other 

136.9 long-term treatment or supervision extending beyond the presumptive term of imprisonment 

136.10 and supervised release. 

136.11 (b) The fact finder shall base its determination that the offender is a danger to public 

136.12 safety on any of the following factors: 

136.13 (1) the crime involved an aggravating factor that would justify a durational departure 

136.14 from the presumptive sentence under the sentencing guidelines; 

136.15 (2) the offender previously committed or attempted to commit a predatory crime or a 

136.16 violation of section 609.224 or 609.2242, including: 

136.17 . (i) an offense committed as a juvenile that would have been a predatory crime or a 

136.18 violation of section 609.224 or 609.2242 if committed by an adult; or 

136.19 (ii) a violation or attempted violation of a similar law of any other state or the United 

136.20 States; or 

136.21 (3) the offender planned or prepared for the crime prior to its commission. 

136.22 ( c) As used in this section, "predatory crime" has the meaning given in section 609 .341, 

136.23 subdivision 22. 

136.24 Subd. 4. Mandatory life sentence; repeat offenders. (a) Notwithstanding the statutory 

136.25 maximum penalty otherwise applicable to the offense, the court shall sentence a person to 

136.26 imprisonment for life if the person is convicted of violating section 609.342, 609.343, 

136.27 609.344, 609.345, 0f 609.34531 or 609.3458 and: 

136.28 (1) the person has two previous sex offense convictions; 

136.29 (2) the person has a previous sex offense conviction and: 
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137.1 (i) the fact finder determines that the present offense involved an aggravating factor that 

13 7 .2 would provide grounds for an upward durational departure under the sentencing guidelines 

137.3 other than the aggravating factor applicable to repeat criminal sexual conduct convictions; 

137.4 (ii) the person received an upward durational departure from the sentencing guidelines 

137.5 for the previous sex offense conviction; or 

137.6 (iii) the person was sentenced under this section or Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 

137.7 609.108, for the previous sex offense conviction; or 

137.8 (3) the person has two prior sex offense convictions, and the fact finder determines that 

137.9 the prior convictions and present offense involved at least three separate victims, and: 

137.10 (i) the fact finder determines that the present offense involved an aggravating factor that 

137.11 would provide grounds for an upward durational departure under the sentencing guidelines 

137.12 other than the aggravating factor applicable to repeat criminal sexual conduct convictions; 

I 3 7 .13 (ii) the person received an upward durational departure from the sentencing guidelines 

137.14 for one of the prior sex offense convictions; or 

137.15 (iii) the person was sentenced under this section or Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 

137.16 609.108, for one of the prior sex offense convictions. 

137.17 (b) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), a court may not sentence a person to imprisonment 

137.18 for life for a violation of section 609.345, unless the person's previous or prior sex offense 

137.19 convictions that are being used as the basis for the sentence are for violations of section 

137.20 609.342, 609.343, 609.344, 6f 609.3453, or 609.3458, or any similar statute of the United 

13 7 .21 States, this state, or any other state. 

137.22 Subd. 5. Life sentences; minimum term of imprisonment. At the time of sentencing 

137.23 under subdivision 3 or 4, the court shall specify a minimum term of imprisonment, based 

137.24 on the sentencing guidelines or any applicable mandatory minimum sentence, that must be 

137.25 served before the offender may be considered for supervised release. 

137.26 Subd. 6. Mandatory ten-year conditional release term. Notwithstanding the statutory 

137.27 maximum sentence otherwise applicable to the offense and unless a longer conditional 

137.28 release term is required in subdivision 7, when a court commits an offender to the custody 

137.29 of the commissioner of corrections for a violation of section 609.342, 609.343, 609.344, 

137.30 609.345, ei= 609.3453, or 609.345_8_, the court shall provide that, after the offender has been 

137.31 released from prison, the commissioner shall place the offender on conditional release for 

137.32 ten years. 
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138.1 Subd. 7. Mandatory lifetime conditional release term. (a) When a court sentences an 

138.2 offender under subdivision 3 or 4, the court shall provide that, if the offender is released 

138.3 from prison, the commissioner of corrections shall place the offender on conditional release 

138.4 for the remainder of the offender's life. 

138.5 (b) Notwithstanding the statutory maximum sentence otherwise applicable to the offense, 

138.6 when the court commits an offender to the custody of the commissioner of corrections for 

138.7 a violation of section 609.342, 609.343, 609.344, 609.345, 0f 609.3453, or 609.3458, and 

138.8 the offender has a previous or prior sex offense conviction, the court shall provide that, after 

138.9 the offender has been released from prison, the commissioner shall place the offender on 

138.10 conditional release for the remainder of the offender's life. 

138.11 ( c) Notwithstanding paragraph (b ), an offender may not be placed on lifetime conditional 

138.12 release for a violation of section 609.345, unless the offender's previous or prior sex offense 

138.13 conviction is for a violation of section 609.342, 609.343, 609.344, 0f 609.3453, or 609.3458, 

138.14 sugdivi~ion 1, paragraph (b), or any similar statute of the United States, this state, or any 

138.15 other state. 

138.16 Subd. 8. Terms of conditional release; applicable to all sex offenders. (a) The 

138.17 provisions of this subdivision relating to conditional release apply to all sex offenders 

138.18 sentenced to prison for a violation of section 609.342, 609.343, 609.344, 609.345, 0f 

138.19 609.3453, or 609.3458. Except as provided in this subdivision, conditional release of sex 

138.20 offenders is governed by provisions relating to supervised release. The commissioner of 

138.21 corrections may not dismiss an offender on conditional release from supervision until the 

138.22 offender's conditional release term expires. 

13 8.23 (b) The conditions of release may include successful completion of treatment and aftercare 

138.24 in a program approved by the commissioner, satisfaction of the release conditions specified 

138.25 in section 244.05, subdivision 6, and any other conditions the commissioner considers 

138.26 appropriate. The commissioner shall develop a plan to pay the cost of treatment of a person 

138.27 released under this subdivision. The plan may include co-payments from offenders, 

138.28 third-party payers, local agencies, or other funding sources as they are identified. This 

138.29 section does not require the commissioner to accept or retain an offender in a treatment 

138.30 program. Before the offender is placed on conditional release, the commissioner shall notify 

138.31 the sentencing court and the prosecutor in the jurisdiction where the offender was sentenced 

138.32 of the terms of the offender's conditional release. The commissioner also shall make 

138.33 reasonable efforts to notify the victim of the offender's crime of the terms of the offender's 

138.34 conditional release. 
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139.1 (c) If the offender fails to meet any condition of release, the commissioner may revoke 

139.2 the offender's conditional release and order that the offender serve all or a part of the 

139.3 remaining portion of the conditional release term in prison. An offender, while on supervised 

139.4 release, is not entitled to credit against the offender's conditional release term for time served 

139.5 in confinement for a violation of release. 

139.6 Subd. 9. Applicability. The provisions of this section do not affect the applicability of 

139.7 Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 609.108, to crimes committed before August 1, 2005, or 

139.8 the validity of sentences imposed under Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 609 .108. 

139.9 Subd. 10. Presumptive executed sentence for repeat sex offenders. Except as provided 

139.10 in subdivision 2, 3, 3a, or 4, if a person is convicted under sections 609.342 to 609.345 or 

139.11 609.3453 within 15 years of a previous sex offense conviction, the court shall commit the 

139.12 defendant to the commissioner of corrections for not less than three years, nor more than 

139 .13 the maximum sentence provided by law for the offense for which convicted, notwithstanding 

139.14 sections 242.19, 243.05, 609.11, 609.12, and 609.135. The court may stay the execution of 

139 .15 the sentence imposed under this subdivision only if it finds that a professional assessment 

139.16 indicates the offender is accepted by and can respond to treatment at a long-term inpatient 

139 .17 program exclusively treating sex offenders and approved by the commissioner of corrections. 

139.18 If the court stays the execution of a sentence, it shall include the following as conditions of 

139.19 probation: 

139.20 (1) incarceration in a local jail or workhouse; and 

139.21 (2) a requirement that the offender successfully complete the treatment program and 

139.22 aftercare as directed by the court. 

139.23 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective September 15, 2021, and applies to 

139.24 crimes committed on or after that date. 

139.25 Sec. 22. [609.3_458] SEXUAL EXTORTION. 

139.26 Subdivision 1. Crime defined. (a) A person who engages in sexual contact with another 

139.27 person and compels the other person to submit to the contact by making any of the following 

139.28 threats, directly or indirectly, is guilty of sexual extortion: 

139.29 (1) a threat to withhold or harm the complainant's trade, business, profession, position, 

139.30 employment, or calling;. 

139.31 (2) a threat to make or cause to be made a criminal charge against the complainant, 

139.32 whether true or false; 
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140.1 (3) a threat to report the complainant's immigration status to immigration or law 

140.2 enforcement authorities; 

140.3 (4) a threat to disseminate private sexual images of the complainant as specified in 

140.4 section 617.261, nonconsensual dissemination of private sexual images; 

140.5 (5) a threat to expose information that the actor knows the complainant wishes to keep 

140.6 confidential; or 

140.7 (6) a threat to withhold complainant's housing, or to cause complainant a loss or 

140.8 disadvantage in the complainant's housing, or a change in the cost of complainant's housing. 

140.9 (b) A person who engages in sexual penetration with another person and compels the 

140.10 other person to submit to such penetration by making any of the following threats, directly 

140.11 or indirectly, is guilty of sexual extortion: 

140.12 (1) a threat to withhold or harm the complainant's trade, business, profession, position, 

140.13 employment, or calling; 

140.14 (2) a threat to make or cause to be made a criminal charge against the complainant, 

140.15 whether true or false; 

140.16 (3) a threat to report the complainant's immigration status to immigration or law 

140.17 enforcement authorj_!!es; 

140.18 ( 4) a threat to disseminate private sexual images of the complainant as specified in 

140.19 section 617.261, nonconsensual dissemination of private sexual images; 

140.20 ( 5) a threat to expose information that the actor knows the complainant wishes to keep 

140.21 confidential; or 

140.22 (6) a threat to withhold complainant's housing, or to cause complainant a loss or 

140.23 disadvantage in the complainant's housing, or a change in the cost of complainant's housing. 

140.24 Subd. 2. Penal~ (a) A person is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced to imprisonment 

140.25 for not more than ten years or to payment of a fine of not more than $20,000L or both, if th~ 

140.26 person violates subdivision 1, paragraph (a). 

140.27 (b) A person is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more 

140.28 than 15 years or to payment of a fine of not more than $30,000, or both, if the person violates 

140.29 subdivision 1, paragraph (b ). 

140.30 ( c) A person convicted under this section is also subject to conditional release under 

140.31 section 609.3455. 
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141.1 Subd. 3. No attempt charge. Notwithstanding section 609 .1 7, no person may be charged 

141.2 with or convicted of an attem_2t to commit a violation of this section. 

141.3 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective September 15, 2021, and applies to 

141.4 crimes committed on or after that date. 

141.5 Sec. 23. [609.3469] VOLUNTARY INTOXICATION DEFENSE. 

141.6 (a) The "knows or has reason to know" mental state requirement for violations of sections 

141.7 609.342 to 609.345 involving a complainant who is mentally incapacitated, as defined in 

141.8 section 609.341, subdivision 7, clause (2), involves specific intent for purposes of determining 

141.9 the applicability of the voluntary intoxication defense described in section 609.075. This 

141.10 defense may be raised by a defendant if the defense is otherwise applicable under section 

141.11 609. 07 5 and related case law. 

141.12 (b) Nothing in paragraph (a) may be interpreted to change the application of the defense 

141 .13 to other crimes. 

141.14 ( c) Nothing in paragraph (a) is intended to change the scope or limitations of the defense 

141.15 or case law interpreting it beyond clarifying that the defense is available to a defendant 

141.16 described in paragraph (a). 

141.17 EFFECTIVE DATE. The section is effective September 15, 2021, and applies to crimes 

141.18 committed on or after that date. 

141.19 Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 617.246, subdivision 2, is amended to read: 

141.20 Subd. 2. Use of minor. (a) It is unlawful for a person to promote, employ, use or permit 

141.21 a minor to engage in or assist others to engage minors in posing or modeling alone or with 

141.22 others in any sexual performance or pornographic work if the person knows or has reason 

141.23 to know that the conduct intended is a sexual performance or a pornographic work. 

141.24 Any person who violates this paragraph is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced to 

141.25 imprisonment for not more than ten years or to payment of a fine of not more than $20,000, 

141.26 or both. 

141.27 (b) A person who violates paragraph (a) is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced to 

141.28 imprisonment for not more than 15 years or to payment of a fine of not more than $40,000, 

141.29 or both, if: 

141.30 (1) the person has a prior conviction or delinquency adjudication for violating this section 

141.31 or section 617.247; 
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142.1 (2) the violation occurs when the person is a registered predatory offender under section 

142.2 243.166; or 

142.3 (3) the violation involved a minor under the age of H 14 years. 

142.4 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective September 15, 2021, and applies to 

142.5 crimes committed on or after that date. 

142.6 Sec. 25. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 617.246, subdivision 3, is amended to read: 

142.7 Subd. 3. Operation or ownership of business. (a) A person who owns or operates a 

142.8 business in which a pornographic work, as defined in this section, is disseminated to an 

142.9 adult or a minor or is reproduced, and who knows the content and character of the 

142.10 pornographic work disseminated or reproduced, is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced 

142.11 to imprisonment for not more than ten years, or to payment of a fine of not more than 

142.12 $20,000, or both. 

142.13 (b) A person who violates paragraph (a) is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced to 

142.14 imprisonment for not more than 15 years or to payment of a fine of not more than $40,000, 

142.15 or both, if: 

142.16 ( 1) the person has a prior conviction or delinquency adjudication for violating this section 

142.17 or section 617.247; 

142.18 (2) the violation occurs when the person is a registered predatory offender under section 

142.19 243.166; or 

142.20 (3) the violation involved a minor under the age of H 14 years. 

142.21 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective September 15, 2021, and applies to 

142.22 crimes committed on or after that date. 

142.23 Sec. 26. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 617.246, subdivision 4, is amended to read: 

142.24 Subd. 4. Dissemination. (a) A person who, knowing or with reason to know its content 

142.25 and character, disseminates for profit to an adult or a minor a pornographic work, as defined 

142.26 in this section, is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more 

142.27 than ten years, or to payment of a fine of not more than $20,000, or both. 

142.28 (b) A person who violates paragraph ( a) is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced to 

142.29 imprisonment for not more than 15 years or to payment of a fine of not more than $40,000, 

142.30 or both, if: 
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143.1 (1) the person has a prior conviction or delinquency adjudication for violating this section 

143.2 or section 617.247; 

143.3 (2) the violation occurs when the person is a registered predatory offender under section 

143.4 243.166; or 

143.5 (3) the violation involved a minor under the age of H 14 years. 

143.6 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective September 15, 2021, and applies to 

143.7 crimes committed on or after that date. 

143.8 Sec. 27. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 617.247, subdivision 3, is amended to read: 

143.9 Subd. 3. Dissemination prohibited. (a) A person who disseminates pornographic work 

143.10 to an adult or a minor, knowing or with reason to know its content and character, is guilty 

143.11 of a felony and may be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than seven years or to 

143.12 payment of a fine of not more than $10,000, or both. 

143.13 (b) A person who violates paragraph (a) is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced to 

143.14 imprisonment for not more than 15 years or to payment of a fine of not more than $20,000, 

143.15 or both, if: 

143 .16 ( 1) the person has a prior conviction or delinquency adjudication for violating this section 

143.17 or section 617.246; 

143.18 (2) the violation occurs when the person is a registered predatory offender under section 

143.19 243.166; or 

143.20 (3) the violation involved a minor under the age of H 14 years. 

143.21 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective September 15, 2021, and applies to 

143.22 crimes committed on or after that date. 

143.23 Sec. 28. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 617.247, subdivision 4, is amended to read: 

143.24 Subd. 4. Possession prohibited. (a) A person who possesses a pornographic work or a 

143.25 computer disk or computer or other electronic, magnetic, or optical storage system or a 

143.26 storage system of any other type, containing a pornographic work, knowing or with reason 

143.27 to know its content and character, is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced to imprisonment 

143.28 for not more than five years or to payment of a fine of not more than $5,000, or both. 

143.29 (b) A person who violates paragraph (a) is guilty of a felony and may be sentenced to 

143.30 imprisonment for not more than ten years or to payment of a fine of not more than $10,000, 

143.31 or both, if: 
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144.1 ( 1) the person has a prior conviction or delinquency adjudication for violating this section 

144.2 or section 617.246; 

144.3 (2) the violation occurs when the person is a registered predatory offender under section 

144.4 243.166; or 

144.5 (3) the violation involved a minor under the age of H 14 years. 

144.6 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective September 15, 2021, and applies to 

144.7 crimes committed on or after that date. 

144.8 Sec. 29. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 628.26, is amended to read: 

144.9 628.26 LIMITATIONS. 

144.10 (a) Indictments or complaints for any crime resulting in the death of the victim may be 

144.11 found or made at any time after the death of the person killed. 

144.12 (b) Indictments or complaints for a violation of section 609.25 may be found or made 

144.13 at any time after the commission of the offense. 

144.14 ( c) Indictments or complaints for violation of section 609 .282 may be found or made at 

144.15 any time after the commission of the offense if the victim was under the age of 18 at the 

144.16 time of the offense. 

144.17 ( d) Indictments or complaints for violation of section 609.282 where the victim was 18 

144.18 years of age or older at the time of the offense, or 609.42, subdivision 1, clause (1) or (2), 

144.19 shall be found or made and filed in the proper court within six years after the commission 

144.20 of the offense. 

144.21 (e) Indictments or complaints for violation of sections 609.322 and 609.342 to 609.345, 

144.22 if the victim was under the age of 18 years at the time the offense was committed, shall may 

144.23 be found or made and filed in the proper court within the later of nine years after the 

144.24 commission of the offense or three years after the offense was reported to law enforcement 

144.25 authorities at any time after the commission of the offense. 

144.26 (f) Not\vithstanding the limitations in-paragraph (e), indictments or complaints for 

144.27 violation of sections 609.322 and 609.342 to 609.344 may be found or made and filed in 

144.28 the proper court at any time after commission of the offense, if physical evidence is collected 

144.29 and preserved that is capable of being tested for its DNA characteristics. If this evidence is 

144.30 not collected and preserved and the victim v;as 18 years old or older at the time of the 

144.31 offense, the prosecution must be commenced v1ithin nine years after the commission of the 

144.32 offense. 
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145.1 fgj_ill Indictments or complaints for violation of sections 609 .466 and 609 .52, subdivision 

145.2 2, paragraph (a), clause (3), item (iii), shall be found or made and filed in the proper court 

145.3 within six years after the commission of the offense. 

145.4 Wifil Indictments or complaints for violation of section 609.2335, 609.52, subdivision 

145.5 2, paragraph (a), clause (3), items (i) and (ii), (4), (15), or (16), 609.631, or 609.821, where 

145.6 the value of the property or services stolen is more than $35,000, or for violation of section 

145.7 609.527 where the offense involves eight or more direct victims or the total combined loss 

145.8 to the direct and indirect victims is more than $35,000, shall be found or made and filed in 

145.9 the proper court within five years after the commission of the offense. 

145.10 fB-_@ Except for violations relating to false material statements, representations or 

145.11 omissions, indictments or complaints for violations of section 609.671 shall be found or 

145.12 made and filed in the proper court within five years after the commission of the offense. 

145.13 ffi_ill Indictments or complaints for violation of sections 609.561 to 609.563, shall be 

145.14 found or made and filed in the proper court within five years after the commission of the 

145.15 offense. 

145.16 Will In all other cases, indictments or complaints shall be found or made and filed in 

145.17 the proper court within three years after the commission of the offense. 

145.18 tB__Lltl The limitations periods contained in this section shall exclude any period of time 

145.19 during which the defendant was not an inhabitant of or usually resident within this state. 

145.20 ~_ill The limitations periods contained in this section for an offense shall not include 

145.21 any period during which the alleged offender participated under a written agreement in a 

145.22 pretrial diversion program relating to that offense. 

145.23 W~ The limitations periods contained in this section shall not include any period of 

145.24 time during which physical evidence relating to the offense was undergoing DNA analysis, 

145.25 as defined in section 299C.155, unless the defendant demonstrates that the prosecuting or 

145.26 law enforcement agency purposefully delayed the DNA analysis process in order to gain 

145.27 an unfair advantage. 

145.28 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective September 15, 2021, and applies to 

145.29 violations committed on or after that date. 

Article 4 Sec. 29. 145 



06/27/21 REVISOR KLL/BM A21-0252 

146.1 Sec. 30. PREDATORY OFFENDER STATUTORY FRAMEWORK WORKING 

146.2 GROUP; REPQRT. 

146.3 Subdivision 1. Direction. By September 1, 2Q21, the commissioner of corrections shall 

146.4 convene a working group to comprehensively assess the predatory offender statutory 

146.5 framework. The commissioner shall fully coordinate with the commissioner of public safety 

146.6 to invite and convene a working group that includes members that have specific expertise 

146.7 on juvenile justice and representatives from city and county prosecuting agenc}es, statewide 

146.8 crime victim coalitions, the Minnesota judicial branch, th~ Minnesota Board of Public 

146.9 Defense, private criminal defense attorneys, the Department of Public Safety, the Department 

146.10 of Human Services, the Sentencing Guidelines Con:pnission, and state and local law 

146.11 enforcement agencies. The commissioner may also invite other interested parties to participate 

146.12 in the working group. The commissioner shall ensure that the membership of the working 

146.13 group is balanced among the various representatives and reflects a broad spectrum of 

146.14 viewpoints, and is inclusive of marginalized communities as well as victim and survivor 

146.15 voices. The commissioners of corrections and public safety shall each designate one 

146.16 representative to coordinate and provide technical expertise to the working group. 

146.17 Subd. 2. Duties. The working group must examine and assess the predatory offender 

146.18 registration (POR) laws, including, but not limited to, the requirements placed on offenders, 

146.19 the crimes for which POR is required, the method by which POR requirements are applied 

146.20 to offenders, and the effectiveness of the POR system in achieving its stated purpose. 

146.21 Governmental agencies that hold POR data shall provide the working group with public 

146.22 POR data upon request. The working group is encouraged to request the assistance of the 

146.23 state court administrator's office to obtain relevant POR data maintained by the court system. 

146.24 Subd. 3. Report to legislature. The commissioner shall file a report detailing the working 

146.25 group's findings and recommendations with the chairs and ranking minority members of 

146.26 the house of representatives and senate committees and divisions having jurisdiction over 

146.27 public safety and judiciary policy and finance by January 15, 2022. 

146.28 Sec. 31. REVISOR INSTRUCTION. 

146.29 ~ In Minnesota Statutes, the r~visor of statutes, in consultation with the House Research 

146.30 Department and the Office of Senate Counsel, Research, and Fiscal Analysi~, sh~ll: 

146.31 (1) make necessary cross-reference changes and remove cross-references consistent with 

146.32 the changes to Minnesota Statutes, sections 609.342, 609.343, 609.344,_ 609.345, and 

146.33 609.3451, in sections 16 Jo 2Q; and 
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(2) add cross-reference to Minnesota Statutes, section 609.3458, in the following sections: 

{i) 13.82, subdivision 17; 

@2 145.4711, subdivision 5; 

(iii) 245C.15, ~ubdivi~ion 1; 

(iv) 253B.02, subdivision 4e; 

td 253D.02, subdivision 8; 

(vi) 260C.007, subdivisions 5, 13, 14, and 31; 

(vii) 260E.03, subdivisions 20 and ~J; 

(viii) ~9C.67, subdivision 2; 

(ix) 504B.206, subdivisions 1 and 6; 

~-5l8B.01_, subdivision 2; 

(xi) 541.073, sul:JdivisionJ_; 

( xii) 609. 02-1_ subdivision 16; 

(xiii) 60_~.135, subdivision Sa; 

(xiv) 609.3457, subdivision 4; 

(xv) 609_)4 7, subdivisions 1, 2, 3, 5, and 6; 

(xvi) 609.3471; 

(xvii) 609.353; 

(xviii) 609. 7 49, subdivision ~ 

(xix) 6JlA.036, Sl!bdivisio~ 7; 

(xx) 611A.039, subdivi~ion 1; 

(xxi) 61 lA.08, subdivision 6; 

(xxii) 611A.19, subdivision 1; 

(xxiii) 61 lA.26, SUQdivision 6; 

(xxiv) 62~8.26; 

(xxv) 6~2.725; 

(xxvi) 629.74; 

Article 4 Sec. 31. 147 



06/27/21 REVISOR KLL/BM A21-0252 

148.1 (xxvii) 63 l.04~; and 

148.2 (xxviii) 631.046, subdiyision 2. 

148.3 (b) Consistent with paragraph (a), the revisor may make technical and other necessary 

148.4 changes to language, grammar, and sentence structure in Minnesota Statutes to preserve 

148.5 the meaning of the text. 

148.6 ARTICLE 5 

148.7 FORFEITURE 

148.8 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 169A.63, subdivision 1, is amended to read: 

148.9 Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) As used in this section, the following terms have the 

148.10 meanings given them. 

148.11 (b) "Appropriate agency" means a law enforcement agency that has the authority to 

148.12 make an arrest for a violation of a designated offense or to require a test under section 

148.13 l 69A.51 ( chemical tests for intoxication). 

148.14 ( c) "Asserting person" means a person, other than the driver alleged to have committed 

148.15 a designated offense, claiming an ownership interest in a vehicle that has been seized or 

148.16 restrained under this section. 

148.17 ftj_{Q} "Claimant" means an owner of a motor vehicle or a person claiming a leasehold 

148.18 or security interest in a motor vehicle. 

148.19 fat~ "Designated license revocation" includes a license revocation under section 

148.20 169A.52 (license revocation for test failure or refusal) or 171.177 (revocation; search warrant) 

148.21 or a license disqualification under section 171.165 ( commercial driver's license 

148.22 disqualification) resulting from a violation of section 169A.52 or 171.177; within ten years 

148.23 of the first of two or more qualified prior impaired driving incidents. 

148.24 WJ!l "Designated offense" includes: 

148.25 (1) a violation of section 169A.20 (driving while impaired) under the circumstances 

148.26 described in section l 69A.24 (first-degree driving while impaired), or 169A.25 

148.27 (second degree driving vlhile impaired); or 

148.28 (2) a violation of section 169A.20 or an ordinance in conformity with it-within ten years 

148.29 of the first of two qualified prior impaired driving incidents. 

148.30 (i) by a person vlhose driver's license or driving privileges have been canceled as inimical 

148.31 to public safety under section 171.04, subdivision 1, clause (10), and not reinstated; or 
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149.1 (ii) by a person who is subject to a restriction on the person's driver's license under 

149 .2 section 171. 09 (commissioner's license restrictions), vmich provides that the person may 

149.3 not use or consume any amount of alcohol or a controlled substance. 

149.4 ffl_(g} "Family or household member" means: 

149 .5 ( 1) a parent, stepparent, or guardian; 

149.6 (2) any of the following persons related by blood, marriage, or adoption: brother, sister, 

149.7 stepbrother, stepsister, first cousin, aunt, uncle, nephew, niece, grandparent, 

149.8 great-grandparent, great-uncle, great-aunt; or 

149.9 (3) persons residing together or persons who regularly associate and communicate with 

149.10 one another outside of a workplace setting. 

149.11 tg)-_ili} "Motor vehicle" and "vehicle" do not include a vehicle which is stolen or taken 

149.12 in violation of the law. 

149.13 -(h)-_ill "Owner" means a person legally entitled to possession, use, and control of a motor 

149.14 vehicle, including a lessee of a motor vehicle if the lease agreement has a term of 180 days 

149.15 or more. There is a rebuttable presumption that a person registered as the owner of a motor 

149.16 vehicle according to the records of the Department of Public Safety is the legal owner. For 

149 .17 purposes of this section, if a motor vehicle is owned jointly by two or more people, each 

149.18 owner's interest extends to the whole of the vehicle and is not subject to apportionment. 

149.19 fB-li.2 "Prosecuting authority" means the attorney in the jurisdiction in which the 

149.20 designated offense occurred who is responsible for prosecuting violations of a designated 

149.21 offense or a designee. If a state agency initiated the forfeiture, and the attorney responsible 

149.22 for prosecuting the designated offense declines to pursue forfeiture, the Attorney General's 

149.23 Office or its designee may initiate forfeiture under this section. 

149.24 mm "Security interest" means a bona fide security interest perfected according to 

149.25 section 168A.17, subdivision 2, based on a loan or other financing that, if a vehicle is 

149.26 required to be registered under chapter 168, is listed on the vehicle's title. 

149.27 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2022, and applies to seizures 

149.28 that take .12lace on or after that date. 

149.29 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 169A.63, subdivision 7, is amended to read: 

149.30 Subd. 7. Limitations on vehicle forfeiture. (a) A vehicle is presumed subject to forfeiture 

149 .31 under this section if: 
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150.1 (1) the driver is convicted of the designated offense upon which the forfeiture is based; 

150.2 or 

150.3 (2) the driver fails to appear for a scheduled court appearance with respect to the 

150.4 designated offense charged and fails to voluntarily surrender within 48 hours after the time 

150.5 required for appearance; or 

150.6 f31ill the driver's conduct results in a designated license revocation and the driver fails 

150.7 to seekjudicial review of the revocation in a timely manner as required by section 169A.53, 

150.8 subdivision 2, (petition for judicial review), or the license revocation is judicially reviewed 

150.9 and sustained under section 169A.53, subdivision 2. 

150.1 o (b) A vehicle encumbered by a security interest perfected according to section 168A.17, 

150.11 subdivision 2, or subject to a lease that has a term of 180 days or more, is subject to the 

150.12 interest of the secured party or lessor unless the party or lessor had knowledge of or consented 

150.13 to the act upon which the forfeiture is based. However, when the proceeds of the sale of a 

150.14 seized vehicle do not equal or exceed the outstanding loan balance, the appropriate agency 

150.15 shall remit all proceeds of the sale to the secured party after deducting the agency's costs 

150.16 for the seizure, tow, storage, forfeiture, and sale of the vehicle. If the sale of the vehicle is 

150.17 conducted in a commercially reasonable manner consistent with the provisions of section 

150.18 336.9-610, the agency is not liable to the secured party for any amount owed on the loan in 

150.19 excess of the sale proceeds. The validity and amount of a nonperfected security interest 

150.20 must be established by its holder by clear and convincing evidence. 

150.21 (c) Notwithstanding paragraph (b), the secured party's or lessor's interest in a vehicle is 

150.22 not subject to forfeiture based solely on the secured party's or lessor's knowledge of the act 

150.23 or omission upon which the forfeiture is based if the secured party or lessor demonstrates 

150.24 by clear and convincing evidence that the party or lessor took reasonable steps to terminate 

150.25 use of the vehicle by the offender. 

150.26 (d) A motor vehicle is not subject to forfeiture under this section if any of its owners 

150.27 vtho petition the court can demonstrate by clear and convincing evidence that the petitioning 

150.28 owner did not have actual or constructive knov✓ledge that the vehicle would be used or 

150.29 operated in any manner contrary to lav1 or that the petitioning owner took reasonable steps 

150.30 to prevent use of the vehicle by the offender. If the offender is a family or household member 

150.31 of any of the 01vvners vvrho petition the court and has three or more prior impaired driving 

150.32 convictions, the petitioning owner is presumed to know of any vehicle use by the offender 

150.33 that is contrary to law. "Vehicle use contrary to lavl'' includes, but is not limited to, violations 

150.34 of the follov1ing statutes: 
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151.1 (1) section 171.24 (violations; driving vv'ithout valid license); 

151.2 (2) section 169. 791 (criminal penalty for failure to produce proof of insurance); 

151.3 (3) section 171.09 (driving restrictions; authority, violations); 

151.4 (4) section 169A.20 (driving while impaired); 

151.5 (5) section 169A.33 (underage drinking and driving); and 

151.6 (6) section 169A.35 (open bottle la:w). 

151.7 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2022, and applies to seizures 

151.8 that take _place on or after that date. 

151.9 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 169A.63, is amended by adding a subdivision to 

151.10 read: 

151.11 Subd. 7 a. Innocent owner. (a) An asserting person may bring an innocent owner claim 

151.12 by notifying the prosecuting authority in writing and within 60 days of the service of the 

151.13 notice of seizure. 

151.14 (b) Upon receipt of notice pursuant to paragraph (a), the prosecuting authority may 

151.15 release the vehicle to the asserting person. If the prosecuting authority proceeds with the 

151.16 forfeiture, the prosecuting authority must, within 30 days, file a separate complaint in the 

151.17 name of the jurisdiction pursuing the forfeiture against the vehicle, describing the ve11jcle, 

151.18 specifying that the vehicle was used in the commission of a designated offense or was used 

151.19 in conduct resulting in a designated license revocation, and specifying the time and place 

151.20 of the vehicle's unlawful use. The complaint may be filed in district court or conciliation 

151.21 court and the filing fee is waived. 

151.22 ( c) A complaint filed by the prosecuting authority must be served on the asserting person 

151.23 and on any other registered owners. Service may be made by certified mail at the address 

151.24 listed in the Department of Public Safety's computerized motor vehicle registration records 

151.25 or by any means permitted by court rules. 

151.26 (d) The hearing on the complaint shall, to the extent practicable, be held within 30 days 

151.27 of the filing of the petition. The court may consolidate the hearing on the complaint with a 

151.28 hearing on any other complaint involving a claim of an ownership interest in the same 

151.29 vehicle. 

151.30 ( e) At a hearing held pursuant to this subdivision, the prosecuting authority must 
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152.1 ( 1) prove by a preponderance of the evidence that the seizure was incident to a lawful 

152.2 arrest or a lawful search; and 

152.3 (2) certify that the prosecuting authority has filed, or intends to file, charges against the 

152.4 driver for a designated offense or that the driver has a designated license revocation. 

152.5 (f) At a hearing held pursuant to this subdivision, the asserting person must prove by a 

152.6 preponderance of the evidence that the asserting person: 

152. 7 ( 1) has an actual ownership interest in the vehicle; and 

152.8 (2) did not have actual or constructive knowledge that the vehicle would be used or 

152.9 operated in any manner contrary to law or that the asserting person took reasonable steps 

152.1 o to prevent use of the vehicle by the alleged off ender. 

152.11 (g) If the court determines that the state met both burdens under paragraph ( e) and the 

152.12 asserting person failed to meet any burden under paragraph (f), th~court shall order that 

152.13 the vehicle remains subject to forfeiture under this section. 

152.14 (h) The court shall order that the vehicle is not subject to forfeiture under this section 

152.15 and shall order the vehicle returned to the asserting__2erson if it determines that: 

152.16 (1) the state failed to meet any burden under paragraph (e); 

152.17 (2) the asserting person proved both elements under paragraph (f); or , 

152.18 (3) clauses (1) and (2) apply. 

152.19 (i) If the court determines that the asserting person is an innocent owner and orders the 

152.20 vehicle returned to the innocent owner, an entity in possession of the vehicle is not required 

152.21 to release it until the innocent owner ~s: 

152.22 (1) the reasonable costs of the towing, seizure, and storage of the vehicle incurred before 

152.23 the innocent owner provided the notice required under paragraph (a); and 

152.24 (2) any reasonable costs of storage of the vehicle incurred more than two weeks after 

152.25 an order issued under paragraph (h). 

152.26 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2022, and applies to seizures 

152.27 that take place on or after that date. 

152.28 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 169A.63, subdivision 8, is amended to read: 

152.29 Subd. 8. Administrative forfeiture procedure. (a) A motor vehicle used to commit a 

152.30 designated offense or used in conduct resulting in a designated license revocation is subject 

152.31 to administrative forfeiture under this subdivision. 
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153.1 (b) Within 60 days from when a motor vehicle is seized under subdivision 2, or within 

153.2 a reasonable time after seizure, the appropriate agency shall serve the driver or operator of 

153.3 the vehicle with a notice of the seizure and intent to forfeit the vehicle. Additionally, when 

153.4 a motor vehicle is seized under subdivision 2, or within a reasonable time after that, all 

153.5 persons known to have an ownership, possessory, or security interest in the vehicle must 

153.6 be notified of the seizure and the intent to forfeit the vehicle. For those vehicles required to 

153.7 be registered under chapter 168, the notification to a person known to have a security interest 

153.8 in the vehicle is required only if the vehicle is registered under chapter 168 and the interest 

153.9 is listed on the vehicle's title. Upon motion by the appropriate agency or prosecuting 

153.10 authority, a court may extend the time period for sending notice for a period not to exceed 

153.11 90 days for good cause shown. Notice mailed by certified mail to the address shown in 

153.12 Department of Public Safety records is sufficient notice to the registered owner of the 

153.13 vehicle. For motor vehicles not required to be registered under chapter 168, notice mailed 

153.14 by certified mail to the address shown in the applicable filing or registration for the vehicle 

153.15 is sufficient notice to a person known to have an ownership, possessory, or security interest 

153.16 in the vehicle. Otherwise, notice may be given in the manner provided by law for service 

153.17 of a summons in a civil action. 

153.18 (c) The notice must be in writing and contain: 

153.19 (1) a description of the vehicle seized; 

153.20 (2) the date of seizure; and 

153.21 (3) notice of the right to obtain judicial review of the forfeiture and of the procedure for 

153.22 obtaining that judicial review, printed in English. This requirement does not preclude the 

153.23 appropriate agency from printing the notice in other languages in addition to English. 

153.24 Substantially the following language must appear conspicuously in the notice: 

153.25 "WARNING: If you were the person arrested when the property was seized, you will 

153.26 automatically lose the above-described property and the right to be heard in court if you do 

153.27 not file a lawsuit and serve the prosecuting authority within 60 days. You may file your 

153.28 lawsuit in conciliation court if the property is worth $15,000 or less; otherwise, you must 

153.29 file in district court. You may do not have to pay a filing fee for your lawsuit if you are 

153.30 unable to afford the fee. Yi)u do not have to pay a conciliation court fee if your property is 

153.31 v✓0rth less than $500. 

153.32 WARNING: If you have an ownership interest in the above-described property and were 

153.33 not the person arrested when the property was seized, you will automatically lose the 
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154.1 above-described property and the right to be heard in court if you do not notify the 

154.2 prosecuting authority of your interest in writing within 60 days." 

154.3 ( d) If notice is not sent in accordance with paragraph (b ), and no time extension is granted 

154.4 or the extension period has expired, the appropriate agency shall return the property vehicle 

154.5 to the person from whom the property was seized, ifknovro owner. An agency's return of 

154.6 property due to lack of proper notice does not restrict the agency's authority to commence 

154.7 a forfeiture proceeding at a later time. The agency shall not be required to return contraband 

154.8 or other property that the person from 1vvhom the property was seized may not legally possess. 

154.9 ( e) Within 60 days following service of a notice of seizure and forfeiture under this 

154.10 subdivision, a claimant may file a demand for a judicial determination of the forfeiture. The 

154.11 demand must be in the form of a civil complaint and must be filed with the comi 

154.12 administrator in the county in which the seizure occurred, together with proof of service of 

154.13 a copy of the complaint on the prosecuting authority having jurisdiction over the forfeiture, 

154.14 including the standard filing fee for civil actions unless the petitioner has the right to sue 

154.15 in forma pauperis under section 563.01. The claimant may serve the complaint by certified 

154.16 mail or any means permitted by court rules. If the value of the seized property is $15,000 

154.17 or less, the claimant may file an action in conciliation court for recovery of the seized vehicle. 

154.18 A copy of the conciliation court statement of claim must be served personally or by mail 

154.19 on the prosecuting authority having jurisdiction over the forfeiture, as vlell as on the 

154.20 appropriate agency that initiated the forfeiture, within 60 days following service of the 

154.21 notice of seizure and forfeiture under this subdivision. If the value of the seized property is 

154.22 less than $500, The claimant does not have to pay the conciliation court filing fee. 

154.23 No responsive pleading is required of the prosecuting authority and no court fees may 

154.24 be charged for the prosecuting authority's appearance in the matter. The prosecuting authority 

154.25 may appear for the appropriate agency. Pleadings, filings, and methods of service are 

154.26 governed by the Rules of Civil Procedure. 

154.27 ( f) The complaint must be captioned in the name of the claimant as plaintiff and the 

154.28 seized vehicle as defendant, and must state with specificity the grounds on which the claimant 

154.29 alleges the vehicle was improperly seized, the claimant's interest in the vehicle seized, and 

154.30 any affirmative defenses the claimant may have. Notwithstanding any law to the contrary, 

154.31 an action for the return of a vehicle seized under this section may not be maintained by or 

154.32 on behalf of any person who has been served with a notice of seizure and forfeiture unless 

154.33 the person has complied with this subdivision. 
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155.1 (g) If the claimant makes a timely demand for a judicial determination under this 

155.2 subdivision, the forfeiture proceedings must be conducted as provided under subdivision 

155.3 9. 

155.4 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2022, and applies to seizures 

155.5 that take .2lace on or after that date. 

155.6 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 169A.63, subdivision 9, is amended to read: 

155.7 Subd. 9. Judicial forfeiture procedure. (a) This subdivision governs judicial 

155.8 determinations of the forfeiture of a motor vehicle used to commit a designated offense or 

155.9 used in conduct resulting in a designated license revocation. An action for forfeiture is a 

155.10 civil in rem action and is independent of any criminal prosecution. All proceedings are 

155.11 governed by the Rules of Civil Procedure. 

155.12 (b) If no demand for judicial determination of the forfeiture is pending, the prosecuting 

155.13 authority may, in the name of the jurisdiction pursuing the forfeiture, file a separate complaint 

155.14 against the vehicle, describing it, specifying that it was used in the commission of a 

155.15 designated offense or was used in conduct resulting in a designated license revocation, and 

155.16 specifying the time and place of its unlawful use. 

155.17 ( c) The prosecuting authority may file an answer to a properly served demand for judicial 

155.18 determination, including an affirmative counterclaim for forfeiture. The prosecuting authority 

155.19 is not required to file an answer. 

155.20 ( d) A judicial determination under this subdivision must be held at the earliest practicable 

155.21 date, and in any event no later than 180 days following the filing of the demand by the 

155.22 claimant. If a related criminal proceeding is pending, the hearing shall not be held until the 

155.23 conclusion of the criminal proceedings. The district court administrator shall schedule the 

155.24 hearing as soon as practicable after the conclusion of the criminal prosecution. The district 

155.25 court administrator shall establish procedures to ensure efficient compliance with this 

155.26 subdivision. The hearing is to the court without a jury. 

155.27 ( e) There is a presumption that a vehicle seized under this section is subject to forfeiture 

155.28 if the prosecuting authority establishes that the vehicle was used in the commission of a 

155.29 designated offense or designated license revocation. A claimant bears the burden of proving 

155.30 any affirmative defense raised. 

155.31 (f) If the forfeiture is based on the commission of a designated offense and the person 

155.32 charged with the designated offense appears in court as required and is not convicted of the 

155.33 offense, the court shall order the property returned to the person legally entitled to it upon 
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156.1 that person's compliance with the redemption requirements of section 169A.42. If the 

156.2 forfeiture is based on a designated license revocation, and the license revocation is rescinded 

156.3 under section 169A.53, subdivision 3 (judicial review hearing, issues, order, appeal), the 

156.4 court shall order the property returned to the person legally entitled to it upon that person's 

156.5 compliance with the redemption requirements of section l 69A.42. 

15 6.6 (g) If the lawful ownership of the vehicle used in the commission of a designated offense 

156.7 or used in conduct resulting in a designated license revocation can be determined and the 

156.8 owner makes the demonstration required under subdivision 7, paragraph (d) 7 a, the vehicle 

156.9 must be returned immediately upon the owner's compliance with the redemption requirements 

156.10 of section 169A.42. 

156.11 (h) If the court orders the return of a seized vehicle under this subdivision it must order 

156.12 that filing fees be reimbursed to the person \vho filed the demand forjudicial determination. 

156.13 In addition, the court may order sanctions under section 549.211 (sanctions in civil actions). 

156.14 Any reimbursement fees or sanctions must be paid from other forfeiture proceeds of the 

156.15 law enforcement agency and prosecuting authority involved and in the same proportion as 

156.16 distributed under subdivision 10, paragraph (b ). 

156.17 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2022, and applies to seizures 

156.18 that take £lace on or after that date. 

156.19 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 169A.63, subdivision 10, is amended to read: 

156.20 Subd. 10. Disposition of forfeited vehicle. (a) If the vehicle is administratively forfeited 

156.21 under subdivision 8, or if the court finds under subdivision 9 that the vehicle is subject to 

156.22 forfeiture under subdivisions 6 and 7, the appropriate agency shall: 

156.23 (1) sell the vehicle and distribute the proceeds under paragraph (b); or 

156.24 (2) keep the vehicle for official use. If the agency keeps a forfeited motor vehicle for 

156.25 official use, it shall make reasonable efforts to ensure that the motor vehicle is available for 

156.26 use by the agency's officers who participate in the drug abuse resistance education program. 

156.27 (b) The proceeds from the sale of forfeited vehicles, after payment of seizure, towing, 

156.28 storage, forfeiture, and sale expenses, and satisfaction of valid liens against the property, 

156.29 must be distributed as follows: 

156.30 (1) 70 percent of the proceeds must be forwarded to the appropriate agency for deposit 

156.31 as a supplement to the state or local agency's operating fund or similar fund for use in 

156.32 DWI-related enforcement, training, ftflfl education, crime prevention, equipment, or capital 

156.33 expenses; and 
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157.1 (2) 30 percent of the money or proceeds must be forwarded to the prosecuting authority 

157.2 that handled the forfeiture for deposit as a supplement to its operating fund or similar fund 

157.3 for prosecutorial purposes, training, education, crime prevention, equipment, or capital 

157.4 expenses. For purposes of this subdivision, the prosecuting authority shall not include 

157.5 privately contracted prosecutors of a local political subdivision and, in those events, the 

157.6 forfeiture proceeds shall be forwarded to the political subdivision where the forfeiture was 

157.7 handled for the purposes identified in clause (1 ). 

157.8 ( c) If a vehicle is sold under paragraph ( a), the appropriate agency shall not sell the 

157.9 vehicle to: (1) an officer or employee of the agency that seized the property or to a person 

157.10 related to the officer or employee by blood or marriage; or (2) the prosecuting authority or 

157.11 any individual working in the same office or a person related to the authority or individual 

157.12 by blood or marriage. 

157 .13 ( d) Sales of forfeited vehicles under this section must be conducted in a commercially 

157.14 reasonable manner. 

157.15 ( e) If a vehicle is forfeited administratively under this section and no demand for judicial 

157.16 determination is made, the appropriate agency shall provide the prosecuting authority with 

157 .17 a copy of the forfeiture or evidence receipt, the notice of seizure and intent to forfeit, a 

157.18 statement of probable cause for forfeiture of the property, and a description of the property 

157.19 and its estimated value. Upon review and certification by the prosecuting authority that (1) 

157.20 the appropriate agency provided a receipt in accordance with subdivision 2, paragraph ( c ), 

157.21 (2) the appropriate agency served notice in accordance with subdivision 8, and (3) probable 

157.22 cause for forfeiture exists based on the officer's statement, the appropriate agency may 

157.23 • dispose of the property in any of the ways listed in this subdivision. 

157.24 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2022, and applies to seizures 

157.25 that take £lace on or after that date. 

157.26 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 169A.63, subdivision 13, is amended to read: 

157.27 Subd. 13. Exception. (a) A forfeiture proceeding is stayed and the vehicle must be 

157.28 returned if the driver who committed a designated offense or "'vVhose conduct resulted in a 

157.29 designated license revocation becomes a program participant in the ignition interlock program 

157.30 under section 171.306 at any time before the motor vehicle is forfeited, the forfeiture 

157.31 proceeding is stayed and the vehicle must be returned and any of the following apply: 

157.32 ( 1) the driver committed a designated offense other than a violation of section 169 A.20 

157.33 under the circumstances described in section 169A.24; or 
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158.1 (2) the driver is accepted into a treatment court dedicated to changing the behavior of 

158.2 alcohol- and other drug-dependent offenders arrested for driving while impaired. 

158.3 (b) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), the vehicle whose forfeiture was stayed in paragraph 

158.4 (a) may be seized and the forfeiture action may proceed under this section if the program 

158.5 participant described in paragraph (a): 

158.6 (1) subsequently operates a motor vehicle: 

158.7 (i) to commit a violation of section 169A.20 ( driving while impaired); 

158.8 (ii) in a manner that results in a license revocation under section 169A.52 (license 

158.9 revocation for test failure or refusal) or 171.177 (revocation; search warrant) or a license 

158.10 disqualification under section 171.165 (commercial driver's license disqualification) resulting 

158.11 from a violation of section 169A.52 or 171.177; 

158.12 (iii) after tampering with, circumventing, or bypassing an ignition interlock device; or -

158.13 (iv) without an ignition interlock device at any time when the driver's license requires 

158.14 such device; m= 

158.15 (2) either voluntarily or involuntarily ceases to participate in the program for more than 

158.16 30 days, or fails to successfully complete it as required by the Department of Public Safety 

158.17 due to: 

158.18 (i) two or more occasions of the participant's driving privileges being withdrawn for 

158.19 violating the terms of the program, unless the withdrawal is determined to be caused by an 

158.20 error of the department or the interlock provider; or 

158.21 (ii) violating the terms of the contract with the provider as determined by the provider-:-_;_ 

158.22 or 

158.23 (3) if forfeiture was stayed after the driver entered a treatment court, the driver ce~ses 

158.24 to be a participant in the treatment court for any reason. 

158.25 ( c) Paragraph (b) applies only if the described conduct occurs before the participant has 

158.26 been restored to full driving privileges or within three years of the original designated offense 

158.27 or designated license revocation, whichever occurs latest. 

158.28 ( d) The requirement in subdivision 2, paragraph (b ), that device manufacturers provide 

158.29 a discounted rate to indigent program participants applies also to device installation under 

158.30 this subdivision. 
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159 .1 ( e) An impound or law enforcement storage lot operator must allow an ignition interlock 

159.2 manufacturer sufficient access to the lot to install an ignition interlock device under this 

159.3 subdivision. 

159.4 (f) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), an entity in possession of the vehicle is not required 

159.5 to release it until the reasonable costs of the towing, seizure, and storage of the vehicle have 

159.6 been paid by the vehicle owner. 

159.7 (g) At any time prior to the vehicle being forfeited, the appropriate agency may require 

159.8 that the owner or driver of the vehicle give security or post bond payable to the appropriate 

159.9 agency in an amount equal to the retail value surrender the title of the seized vehicle. ff.thls-

159.10 occurs, any future forfeiture action against the vehicle must instead proceed against the 

159.11 security as if it were the vehicle. 

159.12 (h) The appropriate agency may require an owner or driver to give security or post bond 

159.13 payable to the agency in an amount equal to the retail value ofthe vehicle, prior to releasing 

159.14 the vehicle from the impound lot to install an ignition interlock device. 

159.15 fB_ili} If an event described in paragraph (b) occurs in a jurisdiction other than the one 

159.16 in which the original forfeitable event occurred, and the vehicle is subsequently forfeited, 

159.17 the proceeds shall be divided. equally, after payment of seizure, towing, storage, forfeiture, 

159.18 and sale expenses and satisfaction of valid liens against the vehicle, among the appropriate 

159.19 agencies and prosecuting authorities in each jurisdiction. 

159.20 ffi_ill Upon successful completion of the program, the stayed forfeiture proceeding is 

159.21 terminated or dismissed and any vehicle, security, or bond held by an agency must be 

159.22 returned to the owner of the vehicle. 

159.23 Wii.2 A claimant of a vehicle for which a forfeiture action was stayed under paragraph 

159.24 (a) but which later proceeds under paragraph (b), may file a demand for judicial forfeiture 

159.25 as provided in subdivision 8, in which case the forfeiture proceedings must be conducted 

159.26 as provided in subdivision 9. 

159.27 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2022, and applies to seizures 

159.28 that take Qlace on or after that date. 

159.29 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 169A.63, is amended by adding a subdivision to 

159.30 read: 

159.31 Subd. 14. Subsequent unlawful use of seized vehicle; immunity. An appropriate 

159.32 agency or prosecuting authority, including but not limited to any peace officer as defined 

159.33 in section 626.84, subdivision 1, paragraph ( c ); prosecutor; or employee of an appropriate 
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160.1 agency or prosecuting authority who, in good faith and within the course and scope of the 

160.2 official duties of the person or entity, returns a vehicle seized under this chapter to the owner 

160.3 pursuant to this section shall be immune from criminal or civil liability regarding any event 

160.4 arising out of the subsequent unlawful or unauthorized use of the motor vehicle. 

160.5 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective Janua~ 1, 2_022. 

160.6 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.531, subdivision 1, is amended to read: 

160.7 Subdivision 1. Definitions. For the purpose of sections 609.531 to 609.5318, the 

160.8 following terms have the meanings given them. 

160.9 (a) "Conveyance device" means a device used for transportation and includes, but is not 

160.10 limited to, a motor vehicle, trailer, snowmobile, airplane, and vessel and any equipment 

160.11 attached to it. The term "conveyance device" does not include property which is, in fact, 

160.12 itself stolen or taken in violation of the law. 

160.13 (b) "Weapon used" means a dangerous weapon as defined under section 609.02, 

160.14 subdivision 6, that the actor used or had in possession in furtherance of a crime. 

160.15 (c) "Property" means property as defined in section 609.52, subdivision 1, clause (1). 

160.16 (d) "Contraband" means property which is illegal to possess under Minnesota law. 

160.17 (e) "Appropriate agency" means the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension, the Department 

160.18 of Commerce Fraud Bureau, the Minnesota Division of Driver and Vehicle Services, the 

160.19 Minnesota State Patrol, a county sheriffs department, the Three Rivers Park District pat=k 

160.20 rangers Department of Public Safety, the Department of Natural Resources Division of 

160.21 Enforcement, the University of Minnesota Police Department, the Department of Corrections 

160.22 Fugitive Apprehension Unit, a city, metropolitan transit, or airport police department; or a 

160.23 multijurisdictional entity established under section 299A.642 or 299A.681. 

160.24 (f) "Designated offense" includes: 

160.25 (1) for weapons used: any violation of this chapter, chapter 152 or 624; 

160.26 (2) for driver's license or identification card transactions: any violation of section 171.22; 

160.27 and 

160.28 (3) for all other purposes: a felony violation of, or a felony-level attempt or conspiracy 

160.29 to violate, section 325E.17; 325E.18; 609.185; 609.19; 609.195; 609.2112; 609.2113; 

160.30 609.2114; 609.221; 609.222; 609.223; 609.2231; 609.2335; 609.24; 609.245; 609.25; 

160.31 609.255; 609.282; 609.283; 609.322; 609.342, subdivision 1, clauses (a) to (f); 609.343, 

160.32 subdivision 1, clauses (a) to (f); 609.344, subdivision 1, clauses (a) to (e), and (h) to (j); 
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161.1 609.345, subdivision 1, clauses (a) to (e), and (h) to (j); 609.352; 609.42; 609.425; 609.466; 

161.2 609.485; 609.487; 609.52; 609.525; 609.527; 609.528; 609.53; 609.54; 609.551; 609.561; 

161.3 609.562; 609.563; 609.582; 609.59; 609.595; 609.611; 609.631; 609.66, subdivision le; 

161.4 609.671, subdivisions 3, 4, 5, 8, and 12; 609.687; 609.821; 609.825; 609.86; 609.88; 609.89; 

161.5 609.893; 609.895; 617.246; 617.247; or a gross misdemeanor or felony violation of section 

161.6 609.891 or 624.7181; or any violation of section 609.324; or a felony violation of, or a 

161.7 felony-level attempt or conspiracy to violate, Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 609.21. 

161.8 (g) "Controlled substance" has the meaning given in section 152.01, subdivision 4. 

161.9 (h) "Prosecuting authority" means the attorney who is responsible for prosecuting an 

161.10 offense that is the basis for a forfeiture under sections 609.531 to 609.5318. 

161.11 (i) "Asserting person" means a person, other than the driver alleged to have used a vehicle 

161.12 in the transportation or exchange of a controlled substance intended for distribution or sale, 

161.13 claiming an ownership interest in a vehicle that has been seized or restrained under this 

161.14 section. 

161.15 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective Janua!Y_ 1_, 2022. 

161.16 Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.531, is amended by adding a subdivision 

161.17 to read: 

161.18 Subd. 9. Transfer of forfeitable property to federal government. The appropriate 

161.19 agency shall not directly or indirectly transfer property subject to forfeiture under sections 

161.20 609.531 to 609.5318 to a federal agency for adoption if the forfeiture would be prohibited 

161.21 under state law. 

161.22 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2022, and applies to seizures 

161.23 that take .12lace on or after that date. 

161.24 Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.5311, subdivision 2, is amended to read: 

161.25 Subd. 2. Associated property. (a) All personal property, and real and personal property, 

161.26 other than homestead property exempt from seizure under section 510.01, that has been 

161.27 used, or is intended for use, or has in any way facilitated, in v1hole or in part, the 

161.28 manufacturing, compounding, processing, delivering, importing, cultivating, exporting, 

I 61.29 transporting, or exchanging of contraband or a controlled substance that has not been lawfully 

161.30 manufactured, distributed, dispensed, and acquired is an instrument or represents the proceeds 

161.31 of a controlled substance offense is subject to forfeiture under this section, except as provided 

161.32 in subdivision 3. 
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162.1 (b) The Department of Corrections Fugitive Apprehension Unit shall not seize real 

162.2 property for the purposes of forfeiture under paragraph (a). 

162.3 ( c) Money is the property of an appropriate agency and may be seized and recovered by 

162.4 the appropriate agency if: 

162.5 ( 1) the money is used by an appropriate agency, or furnished to a person operating on 

162.6 behalf of an appropriate agency, to purchase or attempt to purchase a controlled substance; 

162.7 and 

162.8 (2) the appropriate agency records the serial number or otherwise marks the money for 

162.9 identification. 

162.10 As used in this paragraph, "money" means United States currency and coin; the currency 

162.11 and coin of a foreign country; a bank check, cashier's check, or traveler's check; a prepaid 

162.12 credit card; cryptocurrency; or a money order. 

162.13 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2022, and applies to seizures 

162.14 that take .12lace on or after that date. 

162.15 Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.5311, subdivision 3, is amended to read: 

162.16 Subd. 3. Limitations on forfeiture of certain property associated with controlled 

162.17 substances. (a) A conveyance device is subject to forfeiture under this section only if the 

162.18 retail value of the controlled substance is $-1-§. $100 or more and the conveyance device i-s-

162.19 associated with a felony level controlled substance crime was used in the transportation or 

162.20 exchange of a controlled substance intended for distribution or sale. 

162.21 (b) Real property is subject to forfeiture under this section only if the retail value of the 

162.22 controlled substance or contraband is $2,000 or more. 

162.23 ( c) Property used by any person as a common carrier in the transaction of business as a 

162.24 common carrier is subject to forfeiture under this section only if the owner of the property 

162.25 is a consenting party to, or is privy to, the use or intended use of the property as described 

162.26 in subdivision 2. 

162.27 ( d) Property is subject to forfeiture under this section only if its owner was privy to the 

162.28 use or intended use described in subdivision 2, or the unlawful use or intended use of the 

162.29 property otherwise occurred with the owner's knowledge or consent. 

162.30 ( e) Forfeiture under this section of a conveyance device or real property encumbered by 

162.31 a bona fide security interest is subject to the interest of the secured party unless the secured 

162.32 party had knowledge of or consented to the act or omission upon which the forfeiture is 
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163.1 based. A person claiming a security interest bears the burden of establishing that interest 

163.2 by clear and convincing evidence. 

163.3 (f) Forfeiture under this section of real property is subject to the interests of a good faith 

163 .4 purchaser for value unless the purchaser had knowledge of or consented to the act or omission. 

163.5 upon which the forfeiture is based. 

163.6 (g) Notwithstanding paragraphs (d), (e), and (f), property is not subject to forfeiture 

163.7 based solely on the owner's or secured party's knowledge of the unlawful use or intended 

163.8 use of the property if: ( 1) the owner or secured party took reasonable steps to terminate use 

163.9 of the property by the offender; or (2) the property is real property owned by the parent of 

163 .1 o the off ender, unless the parent actively participated in, or knowingly acquiesced to, a violation 

163.11 of chapter 152, or the real property constitutes proceeds derived from or traceable to a use 

163.12 described in subdivision 2. 

163.13 (h) Money is subject to forfeiture under this section only if it has a total value of $1,500 

163.14 or more or there is probable cause to believe that the money was exchanged for the purchase 

163.15 of a controlled substance. As used in this paragraph, "money" means United States currency 

163.16 and coin; tp.~ currency and coin of a foreign country; a bank check, cashier's check, or 

163.17 traveler's check; a prepaid credit card; cryptocurrency; or a money order. 

163.18 W_ill_ The Department of Corrections Fugitive Apprehension Unit shall not seize a 

163.19 conveyance device or real property, for the purposes of forfeiture under paragraphs (a) to 

163.20 (g). 

163.21 (j) Nothing in this subdivision prohibits the seizure, with or without warrant, of any 

163.22 property or thing for the purpose of being produced as evidence on any trial or for any other 

163.23 lawful .P:!:!!J20Se. 

163.24 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2022, and applies to seizures 

163.25 that take place on or after that date. 

163.26 Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.5311, subdivision 4, is amended to read: 

163.27 Subd. 4. Records; proceeds. faj All books, records, and research products and materials, 

163.28 including formulas, microfilm, tapes, and data that are used, or intended for use in the 

163.29 manner described in subdivision 2 are subject to forfeiture. 

163.30 (b) All property, real and personal, that represents proceeds derived from or traceable 

163.31 to a use described in subdivision 2 is subject to forfeiture. 
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164.1 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2022, and applies to seizures 

164.2 that take _Qlace on or after that date. 

164.3 Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.5314, subdivision 1, is amended to read: 

164.4 Subdivision 1. Property subject to administrative forfeiture; presumption. (a) The 

164.5 following are presumed to be subject to administrative forfeiture under this section: 

164.6 (1) all money totaling $1,500 or more, precious metals, and precious stones found in 

164.7 proximity to: that there is probable cause to believe represent the proceeds of a controlled 

164.8 substance offense; 

164.9 (i) controlled substances; 

164.10 (ii) forfeitable drug manufacturing or distributing equipment or devices; or 

164.11 (iii) forfeitable records of manufacture or distribution of controlled substances; 

164.12 (2) all money found in proximity to controlled substances when there is probable cause 

164.13 to believe that the money was exchanged for the purchase of a controlled sugstanc~; 

164.14 ~ _Q} all conveyance devices containing controlled substances with a retail value of 

164.15 $100 or more if possession or sale of the controlled substance 'llould be a felony under 

164.16 chapter 152 there is probable cause to believe that the conveyance device was used in the 

164.17 transportation or exchange of a controlled substance intended for distribution or sale; and 

164.18 f3j ~ all firearms, ammunition, and firearm accessories found: 

164.19 (i) in a conveyance device used or intended for use to commit or facilitate the commission 

164.20 of a felony offense involving a controlled substance; 

164.21 (ii) on or in proximity to a person from whom a felony amount of controlled substance 

164.22 is seized; or 

164.23 (iii) on the premises where a controlled substance is seized and in proximity to the 

164.24 controlled substance, if possession or sale of the controlled substance would be a felony 

164.25 under chapter 152. 

164.26 (b) The Department of Corrections Fugitive Apprehension Unit shall not seize items 

164.27 listed in paragraph (a), clauses ~ _Q} and f3j ~' for the purposes of forfeiture. 

164.28 ( c) l'I. claimant of the property bears the burden to rebut this presumption. Money is the 

164.29 property of an appropriate agency and may be seized and recovered by the appropriate 

164.30 agency if: 
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165.1 (1) the money is used by an appropriate agency, or furnished to a person operating on 

165.2 behalf of an appropriate agency, to purchase or attempt to purchase a controlled substance; 

165.3 and 

165.4 (2) the appropriate agency records the serial number or otherwise marks the money for 

165.5 identification. 

165.6 ( d) As used in this section, "money" means United States currency and coin; the currency 

165.7 and coin of a foreign country; a bank check, cashier's check, or traveler's check; a prepaid 

165.8 credit card; cryptocurrency; or a money order. 

165.9 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2022, and applies to seizures 

165.10 that take _place on or after that date. 

165.11 Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.5314, is amended by adding a subdivision 

165.12 to read: 

165.13 Subd. la. Innocent owner. (a) Any person, other than the defendant driver, alleged to 

165.14 have used a vehicle in the transportation or exchange of a controlled substance intended for 

165.15 distribution or sale, claiming an ownership interest in a vehicle that has been seized or 

165.16 restrained under this section may assert that right by notifying the prosecuting authority in 

165.17 writing and within 60 days of the service of the notice of seizure. 

165.18 (b) Upon receipt of notice pursuant to paragraph (a), the prosecuting authority may 

165.19 release the vehicle to the asserting person. If the prosecuting authority proceeds with the 

165.20 forfeiture, the prosecuting authority must, within 30 days, file a separate complaint in the 

165.21 name of the jurisdiction pursuing the forfeiture against the vehicle, describing the vehicle, 

165.22 specifying that the vehicle was used in the transportation or exchange of a controlled 

165.23 substance intended for distribution or sale, and specifying the time and place of the vehicle's 

165.24 unlawful use. The complaint may be filed in district court or conciliation court and the filing 

165.25 fee is waived. 

165 .26 ( c) A complaint filed by the prosecuting authority must be served on the asserting person 

165.27 and on any other registered owners. Service may be made by certified mail at the address 

165.28 listed in the Department of Public Safety's computerized motor vehicle registration records 

165.29 or by any means permitted by court rules. 

165.30 ( d) The hearing on the complaint shall, to the extent practicable, be held within 30 days 

165.31 of the filing of the petition. The court may consolidate the hearing on the complaint with a 

165.32 hearing on any other complaint involving a claim of an ownership interest in the same 

165.33 vehicle. 
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166.1 ( e) At a hearing held pursuant to this subdivision, the state must prove by a preponderance 

166.2 of the evidence that: 

166.3 ( 1) the seizure was incident to a lawful arrest or a lawful search;~ and 

166.4 (2) the vehicle was used in the transportation or exchange of a controlled substance 

166.5 intended for distribution or sale. 

166.6 (f) At a hearing held pursuant to this subdivision, the asserting person must prove by a 

166. 7 preponderance of the evidence that the asserting person: 

166.8 (1) has an actual ownership interest in the vehicle; and 

166.9 (2) did not have actual or constructive knowledge that the vehicle would be used or 

166.10 operated in any manner contrary to law or that the asserting person took reasonable steps 

166.11 to prevent use of the vehicle by the alleged offender. 

166.12 (g) If the court determines that the state met both burdens under paragraph ( e) and the 

166.13 asserting person failed to meet any burden under paragraph (f), the 9ourt shall order that 

166.14 the vehicle remains subject to forfeiture under this section. 

166.15 (h) The court shall order that the vehicle is not subject to forfeiture under this section 

166.16 and shall order the vehicle returned to the asserting__Qerson if it determines that: 

166.17 (1) the state failed to meet any burden under paragraph ( e ); 

166.18 (2) the asserting person proved both elements under paragraph (f); or 

166.19 (3) clauses (1) and (2) apply. 

166.20 (i) If the court determines that the asserting person is an innocent owner and orders the 

166.21 vehicle returned to the innocent owner, an entity in possession of the vehicle is not required 

166.22 to release the vehicle until the innocent owner ~s: 

166.23 (1) the reasonable costs of the towing, seizure, and storage of the vehicle incurred before 

166.24 the innocent owner provided the notice required under paragraph (a); and 

166.25 (2) any reasonable costs of storage of the vehicle incurred more than two weeks after 

166.26 an order issued under paragraph (h). 

166.27 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2022, and applies to seizures 

166.28 that take _£lace on or after that date. 
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167.1 Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.5314, subdivision 2, is amended to read: 

167.2 Subd. 2. Administrative forfeiture procedure. (a) Forfeiture of property described in 

167.3 subdivision 1 that does not exceed $50,000 in value is governed by this subdivision. Within 

167.4 60 days from when seizure occurs, all persons known to have an ownership, possessory, or 

167.5 security interest in seized property must be notified of the seizure and the intent to forfeit 

167.6 the property. In the case of a motor vehicle required to be registered under chapter 168, 

167.7 notice mailed by certified mail to the address shown in Department of Public Safety records 

167.8 is deemed sufficient notice to the registered owner. The notification to a person known to 

167.9 have a security interest in seized property required under this paragraph applies only to 

167.10 motor vehicles required to be registered under chapter 168 and only if the security interest 

167.11 is listed on the vehicle's title. Upon motion by the appropriate agency or the prosecuting 

167.12 authority, a court may extend the time period for sending notice for a period not to exceed 

167.13 90 days for good cause shown. 

167.14 (b) Notice may otherwise be given in the manner provided by law for service ofa 

167.15 summons in a civil action. The notice must be in writing and contain: 

167.16 (1) a description of the property seized; 

167.17 (2) the date of seizure; and 

167.18 (3) notice of the right to obtain judicial review of the forfeiture and of the procedure for 

167.19 obtaining that judicial review, printed in English. This requirement does not preclude the 

167.20 appropriate agency from printing the notice in other languages in addition to English. 

167.21 Substantially the following language must appear conspicuously in the notice: 

167.22 "WARNING: If you were the person arrested when the property was seized, you will 

167.23 automatically lose the above-described property and the right to be heard in court if you do 

167.24 not file a lawsuit and serve the prosecuting authority within 60 days. You may file your 

167.25 lawsuit in conciliation court if the property is worth $15,000 or less; otherwise, you must 

167.26 file in district court. You may do not have to pay a filing fee for your lawsuit if you arc 

167.27 unable to afford the fee. You do not have to pay a conciliation court fee if your property is 

167.28 v✓0rth less than $500. 

167.29 WARNING: If you have an ownership interest in the above-described property and were 

167.30 not the person arrested when the property was seized, you will automatically lose the 

167.31 above-described property and the right to be heard in court if you do not notify the 

167.32 prosecuting authority of your interest in writing within 60 days." 
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168.1 (c) If notice is not sent in accordance with paragraph (a), and no time extension is granted 

168.2 or the extension period has expired, the appropriate agency shall return the property to the 

168.3 person from whom the property was seized, if known. An agency's return of property due 

168.4 to lack of proper notice does not restrict the agency's authority to commence a forfeiture 

168.5 proceeding at a later time. The agency shall not be required to return contraband or other 

168.6 property that the person from whom the property was seized may not legally possess. 

168.7 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2022, and applies to seizures 

168.8 that take _2lace on or after that date. 

168.9 Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.5314, subdivision 3, is amended to read: 

168.10 Subd. 3. Judicial determination. (a) Within 60 days following service of a notice of 

168.11 seizure and forfeiture under this section, a claimant may file a demand for a judicial 

168.12 determination of the forfeiture. The demand must be in the form of a civil complaint and 

168.13 must be filed with the court administrator in the county in which the seizure occurred, 

168.14 together with proof of service of a copy of the complaint on the prosecuting authority for 

168.15 that county, and the standard filing fee for civil actions unless the petitioner has the right 

168.16 to sue in forma pauperis under section 563.01. The claimant may serve the complaint on 

168.17 the prosecuting authority by any means permitted by court rules. If the value of the seized 

168.18 property is $15,000 or less, the claimant may file an action in conciliation court for recovery 

168.19 of the seized property. If the value of the seized property is less than $500, The claimant 

168.20 does not have to pay the conciliation court filing fee. No responsive pleading is required of 

168.21 the prosecuting authority and no court fees may be charged for the prosecuting authority's 

168.22 appearance in the matter. The district court administrator shall schedule the hearing as soon 

168.23 as practicable after, and in any event no later than 90 days following, the conclusion of the 

168.24 criminal prosecution. The proceedings are governed by the Rules of Civil Procedure. 

168.25 (b) The complaint must be captioned in the name of the claimant as plaintiff and the 

168.26 seized property as defendant, and must state with specificity the grounds on which the 

168.27 claimant alleges the property was improperly seized and the plaintiffs interest in the property 

168.28 seized. Notwithstanding any law to the contrary, an action for the return of property seized 

168.29 under this section may not be maintained by or on behalf of any person who has been served 

168.30 with a notice of seizure and forfeiture unless the person has complied with this subdivision. 

168.31 ( c) If the claimant makes a timely demand for judicial determination under this 

168.32 subdivision, the appropriate agency must conduct the forfeiture under section 609.531, 

168.33 subdivision 6a. The limitations and defenses set forth in section 609.5311, subdivision 3, 

168.34 apply to the judicial determination. 
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169.1 (d) If a demand for judicial determination of an administrative forfeiture is filed under 

169.2 this subdivision and the court orders the return of the seized property, the court shall order 

169.3 that filing fees be reimbursed to the person \vho filed the demand. In addition, the court 

169 .4 may order sanctions under section 549 .211. If the court orders payment of these costs, they 

169.5 must be paid from forfeited money or proceeds from the sale of forfeited property from the 

169.6 appropriate law enforcement and prosecuting agencies in the same proportion as they would 

169.7 be distributed under section 609.5315, subdivision 5. 

169.8 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2022, and applies to seizures 

169.9 that take .12lace on or after that date. 

169.10 Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.5315, subdivision 5, is amended to read: 

169.11 Subd. 5. Distribution of money. The money or proceeds from the sale of forfeited 

169.12 property, after payment of seizure, storage, forfeiture, and sale expenses, and satisfaction 

169.13 of valid liens against the property, must be distributed as follows: 

169.14 (1) 70 percent of the money or proceeds must be forwarded to the appropriate agency 

169.15 for deposit as a supplement to the agency's operating fund or similar fund for use in law 

169.16 enforcement, training, education, crime prevention, equipment, or capital expenses; 

169.17 (2) 20 percent of the money or proceeds must be forwarded to the prosecuting authority 

169.18 that handled the forfeiture for deposit as a supplement to its operating fund or similar fund 

169 .19 for prosecutorial purposes, training, education, crime prevention, equipment, or capital 

169.20 expenses; and 

169.21 (3) the remaining ten percent of the money or proceeds must be forwarded within 60 

169.22 days after resolution of the forfeiture to the state treasury and credited to the general fund. 

169.23 Any local police relief association organized under chapter 423 which received or was 

169 .24 entitled to receive the proceeds of any sale made under this section before the effective date 

169.25 of Laws 1988, chapter 665, sections 1 to 17, shall continue to receive and retain the proceeds 

169.26 of these sales. 

169.27 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2022, and applies to seizures 

169.28 that take .12lace on or after that date. 

169.29 Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.5315, subdivision Sb, is amended to read: 

169.30 Subd. Sb. Disposition of certain forfeited proceeds; trafficking of persons; report 

169.31 required. W Except as provided in subdivision Sc, for forfeitures resulting from violations 

169.32 of section 609 .282, 609 .283, or 609 .322, the money or proceeds from the sale of forfeited 
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170.1 property, after payment of seizure, storage, forfeiture, and sale expenses, and satisfaction 

170.2 of valid liens against the property, must be distributed as follows: 

170.3 (1) 40 _percent of the proceeds must be forwarded to the appropriate agency for deposit 

170.4 as a supplement to the agency's operating fund or similar fund for use in law enforcement; 

170.5 (2) 20 percent of the proceeds must be forwarded to the prosecuting authority that handled 

170.6 the forfeiture for deposit as a supplement to its operating fund or similar fund for 

170.7 prosecutorial purposes; and 

170.8 (3) the remaining 40 percent of the proceeds must be forwarded to the commissioner of 

170.9 health and are appropriated to the commissioner for distribution to crime victims services 

170.10 organizations that provide services to victims of trafficking offenses. 

170.11 (b) By February 15 of each , h ) car, Ge commissioner of public safety shall report to the 

170.12 chairs and ranking minority members of the senate and house ofreprescntatives committees 

170.13 or divisions having jurisdiction over criminal justice funding on the money collected under 

170.14 paragraph (a), clause (3). The report must indicate the follo=wing relating to the preceding 

170.15 calendar year: 

170.16 

170.17 

170.18 

170.19 

( 1) the amount of money appropriated to the commissioner; 

(2) hov, the money ;vas distributed by the commissioner; and 

(3) ·what the organizations that received the money did with it. 

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2022, and applies to seizures 

170.20 that take _2lace on or after that date. 

170.21 Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.5315, subdivision 6, is amended to read: 

110.22 Subd. 6. Reporting requirement. (a) For each forfeiture occurring in the state regardless 

170.23 of the authority for it and including forfeitures pursued under federal law, the appropriate 

170.24 agency and the prosecuting authority shall provide a written record of the forfeiture incident 

170.25 to the state auditor. The record shall include: 

170.26 ill the amount forfeited,_;_ 

170.27 ill the statutory authority for the forfeiture,its-_;_ 

170.28 ill the date, of the forfeih!!"e; 

170.29 {±2_ a brief description of the circumstances involved,and_;_ 

170.30 ill whether the forfeiture was contested:-_;_ 
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171.1 (6) whether the defendant was convicted pursuant to a plea agreement or a trial; 

171.2 (7) whether there was a forfeiture settlement agreement; 

171.3 (8) whether the property was sold, destroyed, or retained by an appropriate agency; 

171.4 (9) the gross revenue from the disposition of the forfeited property; 

171.5 (10) an estimate of the total costs to the agency to store the property in an impound lot, 

171.6 evidence room, or otl!er location; pay for the time and expenses of an appropriate agency 

171.7 and prosecuting authority to litigate forfeiture cases; and sell or dispose of the forfeited 

171.8 property; 

171. 9 ( 11) the net revenue, determined by subtracting the costs identified under clause ( 10) 

171.10 from the gross revenue identified in clause (9), the appropriate agency received from the 

111.11 disposition of forfeited property; 

171.12 (12) if any property was retained by an appropriate agency, the purpose for which it is 

I 71.13 used; 

171.14 Q12_ for controlled substance and driving while impaired forfeitures, the record shall 

171.15 indicate whether the forfeiture was initiated as an administrative or a judicial forfeiture-:-

1 71. 16 The record shall also list~ 

171.17 ~ the number of firearms forfeited and the make, model, and serial number of each 

171.18 firearm forfeited. The record shall indicate; and 

171.19 @ how the property was or is to be disposed of. 

171.20 (b) An appropriate agency or the prosecuting authority shall report to the state auditor 

111.21 all instances in which property seized for forfeiture is returned to its owner either because 

171.22 forfeiture is not pursued or for any other reason. 

171.23 ( c) Each appropriate agency and prosecuting authority shall provide a written record 

171.24 regarding the proceeds of forfeited property, including proceeds received through forfeiture 

171.25 under state and federal law. The record shall include: 

171.26 (1) the total amount of money or proceeds from the sale of forfeited property obtained 

171.27 or received by an appropriate agency or prosecuting authority in the previous reporting 

171.28 period; 

171.29 (2) the manner in which each appropriate agency and prosecuting authority expended 

171.30 money or proceeds from the sale of forfeited property in the previous reporting period, 

171.31 including the total amount expended in the following categories: 
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172.1 (i) drug abuse, crime, and gang prevention programs; 

172.2 (ii) victim reparnyons; 

172.3 (iii) gifts or grants to crime victim service organizations that provide services to sexually 

172.4 exploited youth; 

172.5 (iv) gifts or grants to crime victim service organizations that provide services to victims 

172.6 of trafficking offenses; 

172.7 (v) investigation costs, including but not limited to witness protecJion, informant fees, 

172.8 and controlled buys; 

172.9 (vi) court costs and attorney fees; 

172.10 (vii) salaries, overtime, and benefits, as permitted by law; 

172.11 ( viii) professional outside services, including but not limited to auditing, court reporting, 

172.12 expert witness fees, outside attorney fees, and membership fees paid to trade associaJions; 

172.13 (ix) t~avel, meals, and conferences; 

172.14 (x) training and continuing education; 

172.15 (xi) other operating expenses, including but not limited to office supplies, postage, a11~d 

172.16 printing; 

172.17 (xii) capital expenditures, including but not limited to vehicles, firearms, equipment, 

172.18 computers, and furniture; 

172.19 (xiii) gifts or grants to nonprofit or other programs, indicating the recipient of the gift 

172.20 or grant; and 

172.21 (xiv) any other expenditure, indicating the type of expenditure and, if applicable, the 

172.22 recipient of any gift or grant; 

172.23 (3) the total value of seized and forfeited property held by an appropriate agency and 

172.24 not sold or otherwise dis,2osed of; anq 

172.25 ( 4) a statement from the end of each year showing the balance of any designated forfeiture 

172.26 accounts maintained by an a,2,2ropriate agency or prosecuting authority. 

172.27 W ~ Reports under ,2aragraphs (a) and (b) shall be made on a monthly quarterly basis 

172.28 in a manner prescribed by the state auditor and reports under paragraph ( c) shall be made 

172.29 on an annual basis in a manner prescribed by the state auditor. The state auditor shall report 

172.30 annually to the legislature on the nature and extent of forfeitures-:, including the information 

172.31 ,2rovided by each appropriate agency or prosecuting authority under paragraphs (a) to ( c). 

Article 5 Sec. 20. 172 



06/27/21 REVISOR KLL/BM A21-0252 

173 .1 Summary data on seizures, forfeitures, and expenditures of forfeiture proceeds shall be 

173.2 disaggregated by each appropriate agency and prosecuting authority. The report shall be 

173.3 made public on the state auditor's website. 

173.4 WM For forfeitures resulting from the activities of multijurisdictional law enforcement 

173.5 entities, the entity on its own behalf shall report the information required in this subdivision. 

173.6 fej_ill The prosecuting authority is not required to report information required by thts-

173.7 subdivision paragraph (a) or (b) unless the prosecuting authority has been notified by the 

173.8 state auditor that the appropriate agency has not reported it. 

173.9 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2022, and applies to seizures 

173.10 that take place on or after that date. 

173.11 Sec. 21. RECIDIVISM STUDY. 

173.12 The legislative auditor shall conduct or contract with an independent third-party vendor 

173.13 to conduct a comprehensive program audit on the efficacy of forfeiture and the use of ignition 

173.14 interlock in cases involving an alleged violation of Minnesota Stah!tes, section 169A.20. 

173.15 The audit shall assess the financial impact of the programs, the efficacy in reducing 

173.16 recidivism, and the impacts, if any, on public safety. The audit shall be conducted in 

173.17 accordance with generally accepted government auditing standards issued by the United 

173.18 States Government Accountability Office. The legislative auditor shall complete the audit 

173.19 no later than August 1, 2024, and shall report the results of the audit to the chairs and ranking 

173.20 minority members of the legislative committees and divisions with jurisdiction over public 

173.21 safety by January 15, 2025. 

173.22 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective Janua!Y 1, 2022. 

173.23 Sec. 22. REPEALER. 

173.24 Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 609.5317, is repealed. 

173.25 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective Janua!Y 1, 2022. 

173.26 ARTICLE 6 

173.27 CRIME VICTIM NOTIFICATION 

173.28 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 253B.18, subdivision Sa, is amended to read: 

173.29 Subd. 5a. Victim notification of petition and release; right to submit statement. ( a) 

173.30 As used in this subdivision: 
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174.1 (1) "crime" has the meaning given to "violent crime" in section 609.1095, and includes 

174.2 criminal sexual conduct in the fifth degree and offenses within the definition of "crime 

174.3 against the person" in section 253B.02, subdivision 4e, and also includes offenses listed in 

174.4 section 253D.02, subdivision 8, paragraph (b), regardless of whether they are sexually 

174.5 motivated; 

174.6 (2) "victim" means a person who has incurred loss or harm as a result of a crime the 

174.7 behavior for which forms the basis for a commitment under this section or chapter 253D; 

174.8 and 

174.9 (3) "convicted" and "conviction" have the meanings given in section 609.02, subdivision 

17 4.1 o 5, and also include juvenile court adjudications, findings under Minnesota Rules of Criminal 

174.11 Procedure, rule 20.02, that the elements of a crime have been proved, and findings in 

174.12 commitment cases under this section or chapter 253D that an act or acts constituting a crime 

174.13 occurred or were Qart of their course of harmful sexual conduct. 

174.14 (b) A county attorney who files a petition to commit a person under this section or chapter 

174.15 253D shall make a reasonable effort to provide prompt notice of filing the petition to any 

174.16 victim of a crime for which the person was convicted. In addition, the county attorney shall 

174.17 make a reasonable effort to promptly notify the victim of the resolution of the petition and 

174.18 the process for requesting notification of an individual's change in status as provided in 

174.19 paragraph (c). 

174.20 ( c) A victim may request notification of an individual's discharge or release as provided 

174.21 in paragraph ( d) by submitting a written request for notification to the executive director of 

174.22 the facility in which the individual is confined. The Department of Corrections or a county 

174.23 attorney who receives a request for notification from a victim under this section shall 

174.24 promptly forward the request to the executive director of the treatment facility in which the 

174.25 individual is confined. 

174.26 fet_@Before provisionally discharging, discharging, granting pass-eligible status, 

174.27 approving a pass plan, or otherwise permanently or temporarily releasing a person committed 

174.28 under this section from a state-operated treatment program or treatment facility, the head 

174.29 of the state-operated treatment program or head of the treatment facility shall make a 

174.30 reasonable effort to notify any victim of a crime for which the person was convicted that 

174.31 the person may be discharged or released and that the victim has a right to submit a written 

174.32 statement regarding decisions of the medical director, special review board, or commissioner 

174.33 with respect to the person. To the extent possible, the notice must be provided at least 14 

174.34 days before any special review board hearing or before a determination on a pass plan. 
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175.1 Notwithstanding section 61 lA.06, subdivision 4, the commissioner shall provide the judicial 

175.2 appeal panel with victim information in order to comply with the provisions of this section. 

175.3 The judicial appeal panel shall ensure that the data on victims remains private as provided 

175.4 for in section 61 lA.06, subdivision 4. These notices shall onl~rovided to victims who 

175.5 have submitted a written request for notification as provided in paragraph ( c ). 

175.6 (d) This subdivision applies only to victims =who have requested notification through 

175.7 the Department of Corrections electronic victim notification system, or by contacting, in 

175.8 writing, the county attorney in the county where the conviction for the crime occurred. A 

175 .9 request for notice under this subdivision received by the commissioner of corrections through 

17 5 .1 o the Department of Corrections electronic victim notification system shall be promptly 

175.11 fonvarded to the prosecutorial authority with jurisdiction over the offense to which the 

17 5 .12 notice relates or, follmving commitment, the head of the state operated treatment program 

17 5 .13 or head of the treatment facility. A county attorney v,rho receives a request for notification 

17 5 .14 under this paragraph following commitment shall promptly fonvard the request to the 

17 5 .15 commissioner of human services. 

175.16 ( e) The rights under this subdivision are in addition to rights available to a victim under 

175.17 chapter 61 lA. This provision does not give a victim all the rights of a "notified person" or 

175.18 a person "entitled to statutory notice" under subdivision 4a, 4b, or 5 or section 253D.14. 

175.19 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 253D.14, subdivision 2, is amended to read: 

175.20 Subd. 2. Notice of filing petition. A county attorney who files a petition to commit a 

175.21 person under this chapter shall make a reasonable effort to provide prompt notice of filing 

175.22 the petition to any victim of a crime for which the person was convicted or was listed as a 

175.23 victim in the petition of commitment. In addition, the county attorney shall make a reasonable 

175.24 and good faith effort to promptly notify the victim of the resolution of the petition _.12rocess 

175.25 for requesting the notification of an individual's change in status as provided in section 

175.26 253D.14, subdivision 3. 

175.27 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 253D.14, is amended by adding a subdivision to 

175.28 read: 

175.29 Subd. 2a. Requesting notification. A victim may request notification of an individual's 

175.30 discharge or release as outlined in subdivision 3 by submitting a written request for 

175.31 notification to the executive director of the facility in which the individual is confined. The 

175.32 Department of Corrections or a county attorney who receives a request for notification from 

175.33 a victim under this section following an individual's civil commitment shall promptly forward 
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176.1 the request to the executive director of the treatment facility in which the individual is 

176.2 confined. 

176.3 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 253D.14, subdivision 3, is amended to read: 

176.4 Subd. 3. Notice of discharge or release. Before provisionally discharging, discharging, 

176.5 granting pass-eligible status, approving a pass plan, or otherwise permanently or temporarily 

176.6 releasing a person committed under this chapter from a treatment facility, the executive 

176.7 director shall make a reasonable effort to notify any victim of a crime for which the person 

176.8 was convicted that the person may be discharged or released and that the victim has a right 

176.9 to submit a written statement regarding decisions of the executive director, or special review 

176.10 board, with respect to the person. To the extent possible, the notice must be provided at 

176.11 least 14 days before any special review board hearing or before a determination on a pass 

176.12 plan. Notwithstanding section 611A.06, subdivision 4, the commissioner shall provide the 

176.13 judicial appeal panel with victim information in order to comply with the provisions of this 

176.14 chapter. The judicial appeal panel shall ensure that the data on victims remains private as 

176.15 provided for in section 611A.06, subdivision 4. This subdivision applies only to victims 

176.16 who have submitted a written request for notification as provided in subdivision 2a. 

176.17 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 611A.039, subdivision 1, is amended to read: 

17 6.18 Subdivision 1. Notice required. {&Except as otherwise provided in subdivision 2, 

176.19 within 15 working days after a conviction, acquittal, or dismissal in a criminal case in which 

176.20 there is an identifiable crime victim, the prosecutor shall make reasonable good faith efforts 

176.21 to provide to each affected crime victim oral or written notice of the final disposition of the 

176.22 case and of the victim rights under section 61 lA.06. When the court is considering modifying 

176.23 the sentence for a felony or a crime of violence or an attempted crime of violence, the court 

176.24 or its designee shall make a reasonable and good faith effort to notify the victim of the 

176.25 crime. If the victim is incapacitated or deceased, notice must be given to the victim's family. 

176.26 If the victim is a minor, notice must be given to the victim's parent or guardian. The notice 

176.27 must include: 

176.28 (1) the date and approximate time of the review; 

176.29 (2) the location where the review will occur; 

176.30 (3) the name and telephone number of a person to contact for additional information; 

176.31 and 
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177.1 (4) a statement that the victim and victim's family may provide input to the court 

177.2 concerning the sentence modification. 

177.3 (b) The Office of Justice Programs in the Department of Public Safety shall develop and 

177.4 update a model notice of postconviction rights under this subdivision and section 61 lA.06. 

177.5 hl As used in this section, "crime of violence" has the meaning given in section 624.712, 

177.6 subdivision 5, and also includes gross misdemeanor violations of section 609 .224, and 

177.7 nonfelony violations ofsections 518B.01, 609.2231, 609.3451, 609.748, and 609.749. 

177.8 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 611A.06, subdivision 1, is amended to read: 

177.9 Subdivision 1. Notice of release required . .@)_ The commissioner of corrections or other 

177.10 custodial authority shall make a good faith effort to notify the victim that the offender is to 

177.11 be released from imprisonment or incarceration, including release on extended furlough 

177.12 and for work release; released and release from a juvenile correctional facility; released 

177. 13 from a facility in which the offender was confined due to incompetency, mental illness, or 

177.14 mental deficiency, or commitment under section 253B.18 or chapter 253D;1 or if the 

177.15 offender's custody status is reduced, if the victim has mailed to the commissioner of 

177.16 corrections or. These notices shall onl~rovided to victims who have submitted a written 

177 .17 request for notification to the head of the county correctional facility in which the off ender 

177.18 is confined a ·1vwitten request for this notice, or the victim has made if committed to the 

177.19 Department of Corrections, submitted a written request for this notice to the commissioner 

177.20 of corrections or electronic request through the Department of Corrections electronic victim 

177.21 notification system. The good faith effort to notify the victim must occur prior to the 

177.22 offender's release or when the offender's custody status is reduced. For a victim of a felony 

177 .23 crime against the person for which the off ender was sentenced to imprisonment for more 

177.24 than 18 months, the good faith effort to notify the victim must occur 60 days before the 

177.25 offender's release. 

177.26 (b) The commissioner of human services shall make a good faith effort to notify the 

177.27 victim in writing that the offender is to be released from confinement in a facility due to 

177.28 incompetency, mental illness, or mental deficiency, or commitment under section 253B.18 

177.29 or chapter 253D if the victim has submitted a written request for notification to the executive 

177.30 director of the facili_!y in which the individual is confined. 

177.31 Sec. 7. REPEALER. 

177.32 Minnesota Statutes 2020, sections_253D.14, sll._bdivision_4; and 6_!_1A.038~ are reQealed. 
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178.1 ARTICLE 7 

178.2 CHILD PROTECTION BACKGROUND CHECKS 

178.3 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 299C.60, is amended to read: 

178.4 299C.60 CITATION. 

178.5 Sections 299C.60 to 299C.64 may be cited as the "Minnesota Child, Elder, and 

178.6 Individuals with Disabilities Protection Background Check Act." 

178.7 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 299C.61, is amended by adding a subdivision to 

178.8 read: 

178.9 Subd. la. Authorized agency. "Authorized agency" means the licensing agency or, if 

178.1 o one does not exist, the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension. Licensing agencies include but 

178.11 are not limited to the:· 

178.12 (1) Department of Human Services; 

178.13 (2) Department of Health; ~nd 

178.14 (3) Professional Educator Licensing and Standards Board. 

178.15 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 299C.61, subdivision 2, is amended to read: 

178.16 Subd. 2. Background check crime. "Background check crime" includes child abuse 

178.17 crimes, murder, manslaughter, felony level assault or any assault crime committed against 

178.18 a minor or vulnerable adult, kidnapping, arson, criminal sexual conduct, and 

178.19 prostitution-related crimes. 

178.20 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 299C.61, is amended by adding a subdivision to 

178.21 read: 

178.22 Subd. 2a. Care. "Care" means the provision of care, treatment, education, training, 

178.23 instruction, supervision, or recreation to children, the elderlY, or individuals with disabilities. 

178.24 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 299C.61, subdivision 4, is amended to read: 

178.25 Subd. 4. Child abuse crime. "Child abuse crime" means: 

178.26 (1) an act committed against a minor victim that constitutes a violation of section 609 .185, 

178.27 paragraph (a), clause (5); 609.221; 609.222; 609.223; 609.224; 609.2242; 609.322; 609.324; 

178.28 609.342; 609.343; 609.344; 609.345; 609.352; 609.377; Bf 609.378; 617.246; or 617 _J47; 

178.29 or 
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179.1 (2) a violation of section 152.021, subdivision 1, clause (4); 152.022, subdivision 1, 

179.2 clause (5) or (6); 152.023, subdivision 1, clause (3) or (4); 152.023, subdivision 2, clause 

179.3 (4) or (6); or 152.024, subdivision 1, clause (2), (3), or (4). 

179.4 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 299C.61, is amended by adding a subdivision to 

179.5 read: 

179.6 Subd. 8b. Covered individual. "Covered individual" means an individual: 

179.7 (1) who has, seeks to have, or may have access to children, the elderly, or individuals 

179.8 with disabilities, served by a qualified entity; and 

179.9 ill who: 

179.10 (i) is employed by or volunteers with, or seeks to be employed by or volunteer witll, a 

179.11 qualified entity; or 

179.12 (ii) owns or operates, or seeks to own or operate, a qualified entity. 

179.13 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 299C.61, is amended by adding a subdivision to 

179.14 read: 

179.15 Subd. 8c. Individuals with disabilities. "Individuals with disabilities" means persons 

179.16 with a mental or physical impairment who require assistance to perform one or more daily 

179.17 living tasks. 

179.18 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 299C.61, is amended by adding a subdivision to 

179.19 read: 

179.20 Subd. 8d. National criminal history background check system. "National criminal 

179 .21 history background check system" means the criminal history record system maintained by 

179.22 the Federal Bureau of Investigation based on fingerprint identification or any other method 

179.23 of 12ositive identification. 

179.24 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 299C.61, is amended by adding a subdivision to 

179 .25 read: 

179.26 Subd. 8e. Qualified entity. "Qualified entity" means a business or organization, whether 

179.27 public, private, for-profit, not-for-profit, or voluntary, that provides care or care placement 

179.28 services, including a business or organization that licenses or certifies others to provide care 

179.29 or care 12lacement services. 
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180.1 Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 299C.62, subdivision 1, is amended to read: 

180.2 Subdivision 1. Generally. The superintendent shall develop procedures in accordance 

180.3 with Uni!ed States Code, title 34, section 40102, to enable a children's service provider 

180.4 qualified entity to request a background check to determine whether a children's service 

180.5 v1orker covered worker is the subject of any reported conviction for a background check 

180.6 crime. The superintendent shall perform the background check by retrieving and reviewing 

180. 7 data on background check crimes. The superintendent is authorized to exchange fingerprints 

180.8 with the Federal Bureau of Investigation for purposes of a criminal history the background 

180.9 check. The superintendent shall recover the cost of a background check through a fee charged 

180.10 the children's service provider to the qualified entity and make reasonable efforts to respond 

180.11 to the inquiry within 15 business days. 

180.12 Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 299C.62, subdivision 2, is amended to read: 

180.13 Subd. 2. Background check; requirements. (a) The superintendent may not perform 

180.14 a background cheek under this section unless the children's service provider submits a 

180.15 written document, signed by the children's service v1orker on whom the background check 

180.16 is to be performed, containing the following: 

180.17 (1) a question asking whether the children's service worker has ever been convicted of 

180.18 a background check crime and if so, requiring a description of the crime and the particulars 

180.19 of the conviction; 

180.20 (2) a notification to the children's service v✓0rker that the children's service provider v1ill 

180.21 request the superintendent to perform a background check under this section; and 

180.22 (3) a notification to the children's service v1orker of the children's service \Vorker's rights 

180.23 under subdivision 3. 

180.24 (b) Background checks performed under this section may only be requested by and 

180.25 provided to authorized representatives of a children's service provider v1ho ha:1e a need to 

180.26 knmv the information and may be used only for the purposes of sections 299C.60 to 299C.64. 

180.27 Background checks may be performed pursuant to this section not later than one year after 

180.28 the document is submitted under this section. 

180.29 The superintendent may not perform a background check of a covered individual under 

180.30 this section unless the covered individual: 

180.31 (1) completes and signs a statement that: 
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181.1 (i) contains the name, address, and date of birth appearing on a valid identification 

181.2 document, as defined in United States Code, title 18, section 1028, of the covered individual; 

181.3 @the covered individual has not been convicted of a crime and, if the covered individual 

181.4 has been convicted of a crime, contains a description of the crime and the particulars of the 

181.5 conviction; 

181.6 (iii) notifies the covered individual that the entity may request a background check under 

181.7 subdivision 1; 

181.8 (iv) notifies the covered individual of the covered individual's rights under subdivision 

181.9 3; and 

181.10 (v) notifies the covered individual that prior to the completion of the background check 

181.11 the qualified entity may choose to deny the covered individual access to a person to whom 

181.12 the qualified entity provides~ care; and 

181.13 (2) if requesting a national criminal history background check, provides a set of 

181.14 fin~rints. 

181.15 Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 299C.62, subdivision 3, is amended to read: 

181.16 Subd. 3. Children's serviee worker Covered individuals rights. (a) The children's 

181.17 service provider shall notify the children's service v1orker of the children's service vwrker's 

181.18 rights under paragraph (b). 

181.19 (b) A children's service v1orlcer who is the subject of a background check request has 

181.20 the follmving rights: 

181.21 (1) the right to be informed that a children's service provider v1ill request a background 

181.22 check on the children's service vlorker: 

181.23 (i) for purposes of the children's service worker's app 1cat10n toe emp oy," 1 • • b 1 'Cd bj' TTolunteer 

181.24 with, be an independent contractor for, or be an owner of a children's service provider or 

181.25 for purposes of continuing as an employee, volunteer, independent contractor, or ovmer; 

181.26 ana 

181.27 (ii) to determine \Vhether the children's service ;;;orker has been convicted of any crime 

181.28 specified in section 299C.61, subdivision 2 or 4; 

181.29 (2) the right to be informed by the children's service provider of the superintendent's 

181.30 response to the background check and to obtain from the children's service provider a copy 

181.31 of the background check report; 
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• , d th t feffils the basis for the 182.1 (3) the right to obtain from the supenntendent any recora 

182.2 report; 

182.3 (4) the right to challenge the accuracy and completeness of any infoffilation contained 

182.4 in the report or record pursuant to section 13.04, subdivision 4; 

182.5 (5) the right to be infoffiled by the children's service provider if the children's service 

182.6 worker's application to be employed with, volunteer vlith, be an independent contractor for, 

182.7 or be an ovlner of a children's service provider, or to continue as an employee, volunteer, 

182.8 independent contractor, or ovvner, has been denied because of the superintendent's response; 

182.9 -and 

182.10 (6) the right not to be required directly or indirectly to pay the cost of the background 

182.11 eheek. 

182.12 The qualified entity shall notify the covered individual who is subjected to a background 

182.13 check under subdivision 1 that the individual has the right to: 

182.14 ( 1) obtain a copy of any background check report; 

182.15 (2) challenge the accuracy or completeness of the information contained in the background 

182.16 report or record pursuant to section 13. 04, subdivision 4, or applicable federal authority; 

182.17 and 

182.18 (3) be given notice of the opportunity to appeal and instructions on how to complete the 

182.19 appeals process. 

182.20 Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 299C.62, subdivision 4, is amended to read: 

182.21 Subd. 4. Response of bureau. The superintendent shall respond to a background check 

182.22 request within a reasonable time after receiving a request from a qualified entity or the 

182.23 signed, written document described in subdivision 2. The superintendent shall provide the 

182.24 children's service provider qualified entity with a copy of the applicant's covered individual's 

182.25 criminal record or a statement that the applicant covered individual is not the subject of a 

182.26 criminal history record at the bureau. It is the responsibility of the service pro-vider _gualified 

182.27 entity to determine if the applicant covered individual qualifies as an employee, volunteer, 

182.28 or independent contractor under this section. 

182.29 Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 299C.62, subdivision 6, is amended to read: 

182.30 Subd. 6. Admissibility of evidence. Evidence or proof that a background check of a 

182.31 volunteer was not requested under sections 299C.60 to 299C.64 by a children's service 
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183.1 provider qualified entity is not admissible in evidence in any litigation against a nonprofit 

183.2 or charitable organization. 

183.3 Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 299C.63, is amended to read: 

183.4 299C.63 EXCEPTION; OTHER LAWS. 

183 .5 The superintendent is not required to respond to a background check request concerning 

183.6 a children's service v1orker covered individual who, as a condition of occupational licensure 

183.7 or employment, is subject to the background study requirements imposed by any statute or 

183.8 rule other than sections 299C.60 to 299C.64. A background check performed on a licensee, 

183.9 license applicant, or employment applicant under this section does not satisfy the 

183.10 requirements of any statute or rule other than sections 299C.60 to 299C.64, that provides 

183.11 for background study of members ofan individual's particular occupation. 

183.12 Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 299C.72, is amended to read: 

183.13 299C.72 MINNESOTA CRIMINAL HISTORY CHECKS. 

183.14 Subdivision 1. Definitions. For purposes of this section, the following terms have the 

183.15 meanings given. 

183.16 (a) "Applicant for employment" means an individual who seeks either county or city 

183.17 employment or has applied to serve as a volunteer in the county or city. 

183.18 (b) "Applicant for licensure" means the individual seeks a license issued by the county 

183.19 or city which is not subject to a federal- or state-mandated background check. 

183.20 (c) "Authorized law enforcement agency" means the county sheriff for checks conducted 

183.21 for county purposes, the police department for checks conducted for city purposes, or the 

183.22 county sheriff for checks conducted for city purposes where there is no police department. 

183.23 ( d) "Criminal history check" means retrieval of criminal history data via the secure 

183.24 network described in section 299C.46. 

183.25 (e) "Criminal history data" means adult convictions and adult open arrests less than one 

183.26 year old found in the Minnesota computerized criminal history repository. 

183.27 (t) "Current employee" means an individual presently employed by either a county or 

183.28 city or who presently serves as a volunteer in the county or city. 

183.29 (g) "Current licensee" means an individual who has previously sought and received a 

I 83.30 license, which is still presently valid, issued by a county or city. 
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184.1 tt}_ihl "Informed consent" has the meaning given in section 13.05, subdivision 4, 

184.2 paragraph (d). 

184.3 Subd. 2. Criminal history check authorized. (a) The criminal history check authorized 

184.4 by this section shall not be used in place of a statutorily mandated or authorized background 

184.5 check. 

184.6 (b) An authorized law enforcement agency may conduct a criminal history check of an 

184.7 individual who is an applicant for employment ef, current employee, applicant for licensure
1 

184. 8 or current licensee. Prior to conducting the criminal history check, the authorized law 

184.9 enforcement agency must receive the informed consent of the individual. 

184.1 o ( c) The authorized law enforcement agency shall not disseminate criminal history data 

184.11 and must maintain it securely with the agency's office. The authorized law enforcement 

184.12 agency can indicate whether the applicant for employment or applicant for licensure has a 

184.13 criminal history that would prevent hire, acceptance as a volunteer to a hiring authority, or 

184.14 would prevent the issuance of a license to the department that issues the license. 

184.15 ARTICLE 8 

184.16 LAW ENFORCEMENT SALARIES 

184.17 Section 1. Laws 2021, First Special Session chapter 4, article 9, section 1, is amended to 

184.18 read: 

184.19 Section 1. LAW ENFORCEMENT SALARY INCREASES. 

184.20 (a) Notwithstanding any law to the contrary, the commissioner of commerce must 

184.21 increase the salary paid to commerce insurance fraud specialists positions in positions 

184.22 represented by the Minnesota Law Enforcement Association by 13 .2 percent, and must 

184.23 increase the salary paid to these commerce insurance fraud specialists that are compensated 

184.24 at the maximum base wage level by an additional two percent. 

184.25 (b) If a collective bargaining agreement between the Minnesota Law Enforcement 

184.26 Association and the state for the period July 1, 2019, to June 30, 2021, is approved by the 

184.27 legislature or the Legislative Coordinating Commission as provided in Minnesota Statutes, 

184.28 section 3.855, the percent increase for salary provided under paragraph (a) shall be reduced 

184.29 by the percent increase of any wage adjustment for the same period provided in the collective 

184.30 bargaining agreement. 

184.31 ~Notwithstanding any law to the contrary, in addition to the salary increases required 

184.32 under paragraph (a), the commissioner of commerce shall increase by 8.4 percent the salary 
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185.1 paid to supervisors and managers, and must increase the salary paid to supervisors and 

185.2 managers who are compensated at the maximum base wage level by an additional two 

185.3 percent. For purposes of this paragraph, "supervisors and managers" means employees who 

185.4 are employed in positions that require them to be licensed as peace officers, as defined in 

185.5 Minnesota Statutes, section 626.84, subdivision 1, who supervise or manage employees 

185.6 described in paragraph (a). 

185.7 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective retroactively from October 22, 2020. 

185.8 Sec. 2. Laws 2021, First Special Session chapter 4, article 9, section 2, is amended to read: 

185.9 Sec. 2. LAW ENFORCEMENT SALARY SUPPLEMENT FOR FISCAL YEAR 

185.10 2020. 

185.11 hl Notwithstanding any law to the contrary, an eligible state employee employed at any 

185 .12 time during fiscal year 2020 in a position for which the Minnesota Law Enforcement 

185.13 Association was the exclusive representative shall receive a salary supplement payment 

185.14 that is equal to the salary the employee earned in that position in fiscal year 2020, multiplied 

185.15 by 2.25 percent. For purposes of this section, "eligible state employee" means a person who 

185.16 is employed by the state on the effective date of this section and who was employed in fiscal 

185.17 year 2020 as a commerce insurance fraud specialist by the Department of Commerce. 

185.18 (b) If a collective bargaining agreement between the Minnesota Law Enforcement 

185.19 Association and the state for the period July 1, 2019, to June 30, 2021, is approved by the 

185.20 legislature or the Legislative Coordinating Commission as provided in Minnesota Statutes, 

185.21 section 3.855, the percent used to determine the salary supplement payment provided under 

185.22 paragraph (a) shall be reduced by the percent increase of any wage adjustment for the same 

185.23 period provided in the collective bargaining agreement. 

185.24 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective on the effective date of2021 First Special 

185.25 Session chapter 4, article 9, section 2. 

185.26 Sec. 3. Laws 2021, First Special Session chapter 4, article 9, section 3, is amended to read: 

185.27 Sec. 3. LAW ENFORCEMENT SALARY SUPPLEMENT FOR A PORTION OF 

185.28 FISCAL YEAR 2021. 

185.29 hl Notwithstanding any law to the contrary, an eligible state employee employed at any 

185.30 time from July 1, 2020, to October 21, 2020, in a position for which the Minnesota Law 

185.31 Enforcement Association was the exclusive representative shall receive a salary supplement 
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186.1 payment that is equal to the salary the employee earned in that position from July 1, 2020, 

186.2 to October 21, 2020, multiplied by 4.8 percent. For purposes of this section, "eligible state 

186.3 employee" means a person who is employed by the state on the effective date of this section 

186.4 and who was employed at any time from July 1, 2020, to October 21, 2020, as a commerce 

186.5 insurance fraud specialist by the Department of Commerce. 

186.6 (b) If a collective bargaining agreement between the Minnesota Law Enforcement 

186.7 Association and the state for the period July 1, 2019, to June 30, 2021, is approved by the 

186.8 legislature or the Legislative Coordinating Commission as provided in Minnesota Statute_~ 

186.9 section 3 .85~, the percent used to determine the salary supplement payment provided under 

186.1 o paragraph (a) shall be reduced by the percent increase of any wage adjustment for the same 

186.11 period provided in the collective bargaining agreement. 

186.12 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective on the effective date of2021 First Special 

186.13 Session chapter 4, article 9, sectionl 

186.14 Sec. 4. Laws 2021, First Special Session chapter 4, article 9, section 4, is amended to read: 

186.15 Sec. 4. APPROPRIATIONS; SALARY INCREASES. 

186.16 $214,000 in fiscal year 2021 is appropriated from the general fund to the commissioner 

186.17 of commerce for salary increases under section 1. This appropriation is available until 

186.18 December 30, 2021. In each of fiscal years 2022 and 2023, $283,000 is appropriated from 

186.19 the general fund to the commissioner of commerce for this purpose. This amount is in 

186.20 addition to the base appropriation for this purpose. 

186.21 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective on the effective date of 2021 First Special 

186.22 Session cha,2ter 4, article 9, section 4. 

186.23 Sec. 5. Laws 2021, First Special Session chapter 4, article 9, section 5, is amended to read: 

186.24 Sec. 5. APPROPRIATIONS; SALARY SUPPLEMENTS FROM JULY 1, 2019, TO 

186.25 OCTOBER 21, 2020. 

186.26 $58,000 in fiscal year 2021 is appropriated from the general fund to the commissioner 

186.27 of commerce for salary supplements under sections 2 and 3. This appropriation is available 

186.28 until December 30, 2021. This is a onetime appropriation. 

186.29 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective on the effective date of2021 First Special 

186.30 Session cha,2ter 4, article 9, se_ction~ 
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187.1 Sec. 6. Laws 2021, First Special Session chapter 5, article 3, section 1, is amended to read: 

187.2 Section 1. LAW ENFORCEMENT SALARY INCREASES. 

187.3 (a) Notwithstanding any law to the contrary, the commissioner of public safety must 

187.4 increase the salary paid to state patrol troopers in positions represented by the Minnesota 

187 .5 Law Enforcement Association by 13 .2 percent and must increase the salary paid to these 

187.6 state patrol troopers that are compensated at the maximum base wage level by an additional 

187. 7 two percent. 

187.8 (b) If a collective bargaining agreement between the Minnesota Law Enforcement 

187.9 Association and the state for the period July 1, 2019, to June 30, 2021, is approved by the 

187 .1 o legislature or the Legislative Coordinating Commission as provided in Minnesota Statutes, 

187.11 section 3 .855, 1he percent increase for salary provided under paragraph ( a) shall be reduced 

187 .12 by the percent increase of any wage adjustment for the same period provided in the collective 

187.13 bargaining agreement. 

187 .14 {£2_ Notwithstanding any law to the contrary, in addition to the salary increases required 

187.15 under paragraph (a), the commissioner of public safety shall increase by 8.4 percent the 

187.16 salary paid to supervisors and managers, and must increase the salary paid to supervisors 

187.17 and managers who are compensated at the maximum base wage level by an additional two 

187.18 percent. For purposes of this paragraph, "supervisors and managers" means employees who 

187.19 are employed in positions that require them to be licensed as peace officers, as defined in 

187.20 Minnesota Statutes, section 626.84, subdivision 1, who supervise or manage employees 

187.21 described in paragraph (a). 

187.22 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective retroactively from October 221 2020. 

187.23 Sec. 7. Laws 2021, First Special Session chapter 5, article 3, section 2, is amended to read: 

187.24 Sec. 2. LAW ENFORCEMENT SALARY SUPPLEMENT FOR FISCAL YEAR 

I 87.25 2020. 

187.26 _(& Notwithstanding any law to the contrary, an eligible state employee employed at any 

187.27 time during fiscal year 2020 in a position for which the Minnesota Law Enforcement 

187.28 Association was the exclusive representative shall receive a salary supplement payment 

187.29 that is equal to the salary the employee earned in that position in fiscal year 2020, multiplied 

187.30 by 2.25 percent. For purposes of this section, "eligible state employee" means a person who 

187 .31 is employed by the state on the effective date of this section and who was employed in fiscal 

187.32 year 2020 as a state patrol trooper by the Department of Public Safety. 
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188.1 (b) If a collective bargaining agreement between the Minnesota Law Enforcement 

188.2 Association and the state for the period July 1, 2019, to June 30, 2021, is approved by the 

188.3 legislature or the Legislative Coordinating Commission as provided in Minnesota Statutes, 

188.4 sec!ion 3 ~855, the percent used to determine the salary supplement payment provided under 

188.5 paragraph (a) shall be reduced by the percent increase of any wage adjustment for the same 

188.6 period provided in the collective bargaining agreement. 

188.7 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective on the effective date of2021 First S:recial 

188.8 Session cha:rter_ 5, article_1_section 2_._ 

188.9 Sec. 8. Laws 2021, First Special Session chapter 5, article 3, section 3, is amended to read: 

188.10 Sec. 3. LAW ENFORCEMENT SALARY SUPPLEMENT FOR A PORTION OF 

188.11 FISCAL YEAR 2021. 

188.12 @l_ Notwithstanding any law to the contrary, an eligible state employee employed at any 

188.13 time from July 1, 2020, to October 21, 2020, in a position for which the Minnesota Law 

188.14 Enforcement Association was the exclusive representative shall receive a salary supplement 

188.15 payment that is equal to the salary the employee earned in that position from July 1, 2020, 

188.16 to October 21, 2020, multiplied by 4.8 percent. For purposes of this section, "eligible state 

188.17 employee" means a person who is employed by the state on the effective date of this section 

188.18 and who was employed at any time from July 1, 2020, to October 21, 2020, as a state patrol 

188.19 trooper by the Department of Public Safety. 

188.20 (b) If a collective bargaining agreement between the Minnesota Law Enforcement 

188.21 Association and the state for the period July 1, 2019, to June 30, 2021, is approved by the 

188.22 legislature or the Legislative Coordinating Commission as provided in Minnesota Statutes, 

188.23 section 3.855, tp.e percent used to determine the salary supplement payment provided under 

188.24 paragraph (a) shall be reduced by the percent increase of any wage adjustment for the same 

188.25 period provided in the collective bargaining agreement. 

188.26 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective on the effective date of2021 First Special 

188.27 Session cha:rter 5, article 3, sectio_n 3 ~ 

188.28 Sec. 9. Laws 2021, First Special Session chapter 5, article 3, section 4, is amended to read: 

188.29 Sec. 4. APPROPRIATIONS; SALARY INCREASES. 

188.30 (a) $125,000 is appropriated in fiscal year 2021 from the general fund to the commissioner 

188.31 of public safety for state patrol salary increases under section 1. This appropriation is 
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189.1 available until December 30, 2021. In each of fiscal years 2022 and 2023, $464,000 is 

189.2 appropriated from the general fund to the commissioner of public safety for this purpose. 

189.3 This amount is in addition to the base appropriation for this purpose. 

189.4 (b) $3,182,000 is appropriated in fiscal year 2021 from the trunk highway fund to the 

189.5 commissioner of public safety for state patrol salary increases under section 1. This 

189.6 appropriation is available until December 30, 2021. In each of fiscal years 2022 and 2023, 

189.7 $10,363,000 is appropriated from the trunk highway fund to the commissioner of public 

189.8 safety for this purpose. This amount is in addition to the base appropriation for this purpose. 

189.9 (c) $27,000 is appropriated in fiscal year 2021 from the highway user tax distribution 

189.10 fund to the commissioner of public safety for state patrol salary increases under section 1. 

189.11 This appropriation is available until December 30, 2021. In each of fiscal years 2022 and 

189.12 2023, $110,000 is appropriated from the highway user tax distribution fund to the 

189 .13 commissioner of public safety for this purpose. This amount is in addition to the base 

189.14 appropriation for this purpose. 

189.15 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective on the effective date of 2021 First S_Qecial 

189 .16 Session cha_Qter 5, a:ri:jcle 3, section 4. 

189.17 Sec. 10. Laws 2021, First Special Session chapter 5, article 3, section 5, is amended to 

189.18 read: 

189.19 Sec. 5. APPROPRIATIONS; SALARY SUPPLEMENTS FROM JULY 1, 2019, TO 

189.20 OCTOBER 21, 2020. 

189.21 (a) $105,000 is appropriated in fiscal year 2021 from the general fund to the commissioner 

189.22 of public safety for state patrol salary supplements under sections 2 and 3. This is a onetime 

189.23 appropriation and is available until December 30, 2021. 

189.24 (b) $2,538,000 is appropriated in fiscal year 2021 from the trunk highway fund to the 

189.25 commissioner of public safety for state patrol salary supplements under sections 2 and 3. 

189.26 This is a onetime appropriation and is available until December 30, 2021. 

189.27 (c) $32,000 is appropriated in fiscal year 2021 from the highway user tax distribution 

189.28 fund to the commissioner of public safety for state patrol salary supplements under sections 

189.29 2 and 3. This is a onetime appropriation and is available until December 30, 2021. 

189.30 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective on the effective date of2021 First S_Qecial 

189.31 Session cha_Qt~0, article 3, section 5. 
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190.1 Sec. 11. LAW ENFORCEMENT SALARY INCREASES. 

190.2 (a) Notwithstanding any law to the contrary, salary increases shall apply to the following 

190.3 employees whose exclusive representative is the Minnesota Law Enforcement Association: 

190.4 (1) the commissioner of public safety must increase the salary paid to Bureau of Criminal 

190.5 Apprehension agents and special agents in the gambling enforcement division by 13.2 

190.6 percent, and must increase the salary paid to Bureau of Criminal Apprehension agents and 

190.7 special agents in the gambling enforcement division that are compensated at the maximum 

190.8 base wage level by an additional two percen!; and 

190.9 (2) the commissioner of corrections must increase the salary paid to fugitive specialists 

190.10 positions by 13.2 percent, and must increase the salary paid to fugitive specialists that are 

190.11 compensated at the maximum base wage level by an additional two percent. 

190.12 (b) If a collective bargaining agreement between the Minnesota Law Enforcement 

190.13 Association and the state for the period July 1, 2019, to June 30, 2021, is approved by the 

190.14 legislature or the Legislative Coordinating Commission as provideci in Minnesota Statutes, 

190.15 section 3.855, the percent increase for salary provided under paragraph (a) shall be reduced 

190.16 by the percent increase of any wage adjustment for the same period provided in the collective 

190.17 bargaining agreement. 

190.18 (c) Notwithstanding any law to the contrary, in addition to the salary increases required 

190.19 under paragraph (a), each agency described in paragraph (a) shall increase by 8.4 percent 

190.20 the salary paid to supervisors and managers, and must increase the salary paid to supervisors 

190.21 and managers who are compensated at the maximum base wage level by an additional two 

190.22 percent. For purposes of this paragraph, "supervisors and managers" means employees who 

190.23 are employed in positions that require them to be licensed as peace officerS,il,S defined in 

190.24 Minnesota Statutes, section 626.84, subdivision 1, who supervise or manage employees 

190.25 described in paragraph (a). 

190.26 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective retroactively from October 22, 2020. 

190.27 Sec. 12. LAW ENFORCEMENT SALARY SUPPLEMENT FOR FISCAL YEAR 

190.28 2020. 

190.29 (a) Notwithstanding any law to the contrary, an eligible state employee employed at any 

190.30 time during fiscal year 2020 in a position for which the Minnesota Law Enforcement 

190.31 Association was the exclusive representative shall receive a salary supplement payment 

190.32 that is equal to the salary the employee earned in that position in fiscal year 2020, multiplied 

190.33 by 2.25 percent. For purposes of this section, "eligible state employee" means a person who 
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191.1 is employed by the state on the effective date of this section and who was employed in fiscal 

191.2 year 2020 in one of the following positions: 

191.3 ( 1) Bureau of Criminal Apprehension agent, employed by the Department of Public 

19 I .4 Safe!Y_; 

191.5 (2) special agent in the gambling enforcement division of the Department of Public 

191.6 Safe_!y; or 

191.7 (3) fugitive specialist, employed by the Department of Corrections. 

191.8 (b) If a collective bargaining agreement between the Minnesota Law Enforcement 

191.9 Association and the state for the period July 1, 2019, to June 30, 2021, is approved by the 

191.10 legislature or the Legislative Coordinating Commission as provided in Minnesota Statutes, 

191.11 section 3.855, the percent used to determine the salary supplement payment provided under 

191.12 paragraph (a) shall be reduced by the percent increase of any wage adjustment for the same 

191.13 period provided in the collective bargaining agreement. 

191.14 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment. 

191.15 Sec. 13. LAW ENFORCEMENT SALARY SUPPLEMENT FOR A PORTION OF 

191.16 FISCAL YEAR 2021. 

191.17 (a) Notwithstanding any law to the contrary, an eligible state employee employed at any 

191.18 time from July 1, 2020, to October 21, 2020, in a position for which the Minnesota Law 

191.19 Enforcement Association was the exclusive representative shall receive a salary supplement 

191.20 payment that is equal to the salary the employee earned in that position from July 1, 2020, 

191.21 to October 21, 2020Lrµultiplied by 4.8 percent. For purposes of this section, "eligible state 

191.22 employee" means a person who is employed by the state on the effective date of this section 

191.23 and who was employed at any time from July 1,].020, to Octo~~r 21, 2020, in one of the 

191.24 following_positions: 

191.25 (1) Bureau of Criminal Apprehension agent, employed by the Department of Public 

191.26 Safe_!y; 

191.27 (2) special agent in the gambling enforcement division of the Department of Public 

191.28 Safe_!y; or 

191.29 (3) fugitive specialist, employed by the Department of Corrections. 

191.30 (b) If a collective bargaining agreement between the Minnesota Law Enforcement 

191.31 Association and the state for the period July 1, 2019, to June 30, 2021, is approved by the 

191.32 legislature or the Legislative Coordinating Commission as provided in Minnesota Statutes, 
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192.1 sectionl855, the percent used to determine the salary supplement payment provided under 

192.2 paragraph ( a) shall be reduced by the percent increase of any wage adjustment for the same 

192.3 period provided in the collective bargaining agreement. 

192.4 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment. 

192.5 Sec. 14. APPROPRIATION~;_sAiARY INCREASES. 

192.6 Subdivision 1. Department of Corrections. $142,000 in fiscal year 2021 is appropriated 

192.7 from the general fund to the commissioner of corrections for salary increases. In each of 

192.8 fiscal years 2022 and 2023, $209,000 is appropriated from the general fund to the 

192.9 commissioner of corrections for this ~ose. This amount is in addition to the base 

192.10 appropriation for this purpose. 

192.11 Subd. 2. Department of Public Safety. (a) $1,076,000 in fiscal year 2021 is appropriated 

192.12 from the general fund to the commissioner of public safety for Bureau of Criminal 

192.13 Apprehension salary increases. In each of fiscal years 2Q~2 anc!J02L$1,846,000 is 

192.14 appropriated from the general fund to the commissioner of public safety for this purpose. 

192.15 This amount is in addition to the base appropriation for this purpose. 

192.16 (b) $99,000 in fiscal year 2021 is appropriated from the general fund to the commissioner 

192.17 of public safety for Alcohol and Gambling Enforcement Division salary increases. In each 

192.18 of fiscal years 2022 and 2023, $148,000 is appropriated from the general fund to the 

192.19 commissioner of public safety for this purpose. This amount is in addition to the base 

192.20 appropriation for this purpose. 

192.21 (c) The fiscal year 2021 appropriations in this section are available until December 30, 

192.22 2021. 

192.23 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment. 

192.24 Sec. 15. APPROPRIATIONS; SALARY SUPPLEMENTS FROM JULY 1, 2019, 

192.25 TO OCTOBER 2!,_20_20. 

192.26 Subdivision 1. Department of Corrections. $41,000 in fiscal year 2021 is appropriated 

192.27 from the general fund to the commissioner of corrections for salary supplements. This is a 

192.28 onetime a~riation. 

192.29 Subd. 2. Department of Public Safety. (a) $240,000 in fiscal year 2021 is appropriated 

192.30 from the general fund to the commissioner of public safety for Bureau of Criminal 

192.31 Apprehension salary supplements. This is a onetime appropriation. 
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193 .1 (b) $24,000 in fiscal year 2021 is appropriated from the general fund to the commissioner 

193.2 of public safety for Alcohol and Gambling Enforcement Division salary supplements. This 

193.3 is a onetime a.P.2!:2J2riation. 

193.4 ( c) The fiscal year 2021 appropriations in this section are available until December 30, 

193.5 2021. 

193.6 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment. 

193.7 Sec. 16. INTERPRETATION. 

193.8 If an appropriation in this article is enacted more than once in the 2021 first special 

193.9 legislative session, the appropriation must be given effect only once. 

193.10 ARTICLE 9 

193.11 POLICING AND CORRECTIONS 

193.12 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 13.41, subdivision 3, is amended to read: 

193.13 Subd. 3. Board of Peace Officer Standards and Training. The following government 

193.14 data of the Board of Peace Officer Standards and Training are private data: 

193.15 fB personal telephone numbers, and home and e-mail addresses of licensees and 

193.16 applicants for licenses-;-frfl:d 

193.17 (2) data that identify the government entity that employs a licensed peace officer. 

193.18 The board may disseminate private data on applicants and licensees as is necessary to 

193.19 administer law enforcement licensure or to provide data under section 626.845, subdivision 

193.20 1, to law enforcement agencies who are conducting employment background investigations. 

193.21 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 13.411, is amended by adding a subdivision to 

193.22 read: 

193.23 Subd. 11. Peace officer database. Section 626.8457, subdivision 3, governs data sharing 

193.24 between law enforcement agencies and the Peace Officer Standards and Training Board for 

193.25 purposes of administering the peace officer database required by section 626.845, subdivision 

193.26 3. 

193.27 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 214.10, subdivision 11, is amended to read: 

193.28 Subd. 11. Board of Peace Officers Standards and Training; reasonable grounds 

193.29 determination. (a) After the investigation is complete, the executive director shall convene 
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194.1 at least a three member four-member committee of the board to determine if the complaint 

194.2 constitutes reasonable grounds to believe that a violation within the board's enforcement 

194.3 jurisdiction has occurred. In conformance with section 626.843, subdivision 1 b, at least tWe. 

194.4 three members of the committee must be voting board members who are peace officers and 

194.5 one member of the committee must be a voting board member appointed from the general 

194.6 public. No later than 30 days before the committee meets, the executive director shall give 

194.7 the licensee who is the subject of the complaint and the complainant written notice of the 

194.8 meeting. The executive director shall also give the licensee a copy of the complaint. Before 

194.9 making its determination, the committee shall give the complaining party and the licensee 

194.10 who is the subject of the complaint a reasonable opportunity to be heard. 

194.11 (b) The committee shall, by majority vote, after considering the information supplied 

194.12 by the investigating agency and any additional information supplied by the complainant or 

194.13 the licensee who is the subject of the complaint, take one of the following actions: 

194.14 (1) find that reasonable grounds exist to believe that a violation within the board's 

194.15 enforcement jurisdiction has occurred and order that an administrative hearing be held; 

194.16 (2) decide that no further action is warranted; or 

194.17 (3) continue the matter. 

194.18 The executive director shall promptly give notice of the committee's action to the 

194.19 complainant and the licensee. 

194.20 ( c) If the committee determines that a complaint does not relate to matters within its 

194.21 enforcement jurisdiction but does relate to matters within another state or local agency's 

194.22 enforcement jurisdiction, it shall refer the complaint to the appropriate agency for disposition. 

194.23 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment. 

194.24 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 241.016, is amended to read: 

194.25 241.016 ANNUAL PERFORMANCE REPORT REQUIRED. 

194.26 Subdivision 1. Biennial Annual report. (a) The Department of Corrections shall submit 

194.27 a performance report to the chairs and ranking minority members of the senate and house 

194.28 of representatives committees and divisions having jurisdiction over criminal justice funding 

194.29 by January 15 of each odd numbered year. The issuance and content of the report must 

194.30 include the following: 

194.31 (1) department strategic mission, goals, and objectives; 
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195.1 (2) the department-wide per diem, adult facility-specific per diems, and an average per 

195.2 diem, reported in a standard calculated method as outlined in the departmental policies and 

195.3 procedures; 

195 .4 (3) department annual statistics as outlined in the departmental policies and procedures; 

195.5 ftfl6: 

195.6 (4) information about prison-based mental health programs, including, but not limited 

195.7 to, the availability of these programs, participation rates, and completion rates-:-; and 

195.8 (5) beginning in 2023, a written aggregate of the state correctional facilities security 

195.9 audit group's recommendations based on each security audit and assessment of a state 

195.10 correctional facility and the commissioner's responses to the recommendations. 

195.11 (b) The department shall maintain recidivism rates for adult facilities on an annual basis. 

195.12 In addition, each year the department shall, on an alternating basis, complete a recidivism 

195 .13 analysis of adult facilities, juvenile services, and the community services divisions and 

195.14 include a three-year recidivism analysis in the report described in paragraph (a). The 

195.15 recidivism analysis must: (1) assess education programs, vocational programs, treatment 

195.16 programs, including mental health programs, industry, and employment; and (2) assess 

195 .17 statewide re-entry policies and funding, including postrelease treatment, education, training, 

195.18 and supervision. In addition, when reporting recidivism for the department's adult and 

195.19 juvenile facilities, the department shall report on the extent to which offenders it has assessed 

195.20 as chemically dependent commit new offenses, with separate recidivism rates reported for 

195.21 persons completing and not completing the department's treatment programs. 

195.22 ( c) The department shall maintain annual statistics related to the supervision of extended 

195.23 jurisdiction juveniles and include those statistics in the report described in paragraph (a). 

195.24 The statistics must include: 

195.25 (I) the total number and population demographics of individuals under supervision in 

195.26 adult facilities, juvenile facilities, and the community who were convicted as an extended 

195.27 jurisdiction juvenile; 

195.28 (2) the number of individuals convicted as an extended jurisdiction juvenile who 

195.29 successfully completed probation in the previous year; 

195.30 (3) the number of individuals identified in clause (2) for whom the court terminated 

195.31 jurisdiction before the person became 21 years of age pursuant to section 260B.193, 

195.32 subdivision5; 
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196.1 ( 4) the number of individuals convicted· as an extended jurisdiction juvenile whose 

196.2 sentences were executed; and 

196.3 ( 5) the average length of time individuals convicted as an extended jurisdiction juvenile 

196.4 spend on probation. 

196.5 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 241.021, subdivision 1, is amended to read: 

196.6 Subdivision 1. Correctional facilities; inspection; licensing. (a) Except as provided 

196.7 in paragraph (b ), the commissioner of corrections shall inspect and license all correctional 

196.8 facilities throughout the state, whether public or private, established and operated for the 

196.9 detention and confinement of persons detained or confined or incarcerated therein according 

196.10 to law except to the extent that they are inspected or licensed by other state regulating 

196.11 agencies. The commissioner shall promulgate pursuant to chapter 14, rules establishing 

196.12 minimum standards for these facilities with respect to their management, operation, physical 

196.13 condition, and the security, safety, health, treatment, and discipline of persons detained or 

196.14 confined or incarcerated therein. Commencing September 1, 1980, Th~se IQ.inimum standards 

196.15 shall include but are not limited to specific guidance pertaining to: 

196.16 (1) screening, appraisal, assessment, and treatment for persons confined or incarcerated 

196.17 in correctional facilities with mental illness or substa!!ce use disorders; 

196.18 

196.19 

196.20 

196.21 

196.22 

(2) a policy on the involuntary administration of medications; 

(3) suicide prevention plans and training; 

( 4) verification of medications in a timely manner; 

(5) well-being checks; 

( 6) discharge planning, including providing prescribed medications to persons confined 

196.23 or incarcerated in correctional facilities upon release; 

196.24 (7) a policy on referrals or transfers to medical or mental health care in a noncorrectional 

196.25 in~titu!i_on; 

196.26 

196.27 

196.28 

196.29 

(8) use of segregation and mental health checks; 

(9) critical incident debriefings; 

(10) clinical management of su9sta!!ce i.g;e disord~rs; 

(11) a policy regarding identification of persons with special needs confined or 

196.30 incarcerated in correctioll?,l facilities; 

196.31 (12) a policy regarding the use of telehealth; 
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197.1 (13) self-auditing of compliance with minimum standards; 

197.2 (14) information sharing with medical personnel and when medical assessment must be 

197.3 facilitated;_ 

197.4 (15) a code of conduct policy for facility staff and annual training; 

197 .5 ( 16) a policy on death review of all circumstances surrounding the death of an individual 

197.6 committed to the custody of the facility; and 

197.7 (17) dissemination of a rights statement made available to persons confined or 

197.8 incarcerated in licensed correctional facilities. 

197.9 No individual, corporation, partnership, voluntary association, or other private 

197.10 organization legally responsible for the operation of a correctional facility may operate the 

197.11 facility unless licensed by i:!..Qossesses a current license from the commissioner of corrections. 

197.12 Private adult correctional facilities shall have the authority of section 624.714, subdivision 

197 .13 13, if the Department of Corrections licenses the facility with Sl:lefl the authority and the 

197.14 facility meets requirements of section 243.52. 

197.15 The commissioner shall review the correctional facilities described in this subdivision 

197 .16 at least once every biennium two years, except as otherwise provided herein, to determine 

197 .17 compliance with the minimum standards established pursuant according to this subdivision 

197.18 or other Minnesota statute related to minimum standards and conditions of confinement. 

197.19 The commissioner shall grant a license to any facility found to conform to minimum 

197.20 standards or to any facility which, in the commissioner's judgment, is making satisfactory 

197.21 progress toward substantial conformity and the standards not being met do not impact the 

197.22 interests and well-being of the persons detained or confined therein or incarcerated in the 

197.23 facility are protected. A limited license under subdivision 1 a may be issued for purposes of 

197.24 effectuating a facility closure. The commissioner may grant licensure up to two years. Unless 

197.25 otherwise specified by statute, all licenses issued under this chapter expire at 12:01 a.m. on 

197.26 the day after the expiration date stated on the license. 

197.27 The commissioner shall have access to the buildings, grounds, books, records, staff, and 

197.28 to persons detained or confined or incarcerated in these facilities. The commissioner may 

197.29 require the officers in charge of these facilities to furnish all information and statistics the 

197.30 commissioner deems necessary, at a time and place designated by the commissioner. 

197.31 All facility administrators of correctional facilities are required to report all deaths of 

197.32 individuals who died while committed to the custody of the facility, regardless of whether 

197.33 the death occurred at the facility or after removal from the facility for medical care stemming 
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198.1 from an incident or need for medical care at the correctional facility, as soon as practicable, 

198.2 but no later than 24 hours of receiving knowledge of the death, including any demographic 

198.3 information as required by the commissioner. 

198.4 All facility administrators of correctional facilities are required to report all other 

198.5 emergency or unusual occurrences as defined by rule, including uses of force by facility 

198.6 staff that result in substantial bodily harm or suicide attempts, to the commis~ioner of 

198.7 corrections within ten days from the occurrence, including any demographic information 

198.8 as required by the commissioner. The commissioner of corrections shall consult with the 

198.9 Minnesota Sheriffs' Association and a reQresentative from the Minnesota Association of 

198.10 Community Corrections Act Counties who is responsible for the operations of an adult 

198.11 correctional facility to define "use of force" that results in substantial bodily harm for 

198.12 reporting purposes. 

198.13 The commissioner may require that any or all such information be provided through the 

198.14 Department of Corrections detention information system. The commissioner shall post each 

198.15 inspection report publicly and on the department's website within 30 days of completing 

198.16 the inspection. The education program offered in a correctional facility for the detention or 

198.17 confinement or incarceration of juvenile offenders must be approved by the commissioner 

198.18 of education before the commissioner of corrections may grant a license to the facility. 

198.19 (b) For juvenile facilities licensed by the commissioner of human services, the 

198.20 commissioner may inspect and certify programs based on certification standards set forth 

198.21 in Minnesota Rules. For the purpose of this paragraph, "certification" has the meaning given 

198.22 it in section 245A.02. 

198.23 ( c) Any state agency which regulates, inspects, or licenses certain aspects of correctional 

198.24 facilities shall, insofar as is possible, ensure that the minimum standards it requires are 

198.25 substantially the same as those required by other state agencies which regulate, inspect, or 

198.26 license the same aspects of similar types of correctional facilities, although at different 

198.27 correctional facilities. 

198.28 ( d) Nothing in this section shall be construed to limit the commissioner of corrections' 

198.29 authority to promulgate rules establishing standards of eligibility for counties to receive 

198.30 funds under sections 401.01 to 401.16, or to require counties to comply with operating 

198.31 standards the commissioner establishes as a condition precedent for counties to receive that 

198.32 funding. 

198.33 ( e) The dep~rtment's inspection unit must report directly to a division head outside of 

198.34 the correctional institutions division. 
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199.1 (e) 'Nhen the commissioner finds that any facility described in paragraph (a), except 

199.2 foster care facilities for delinquent children and youth as provided in subdivision 2, does 

199.3 not substantially conform to the minimum standards established by the commissioner and 

199 .4 is not making satisfactory progress tov;ard substantial conformance, the commissioner shall 

199 .5 promptly notify the chief executive officer and the governing board of the facility of the 

199.6 deficiencies and order that they be remedied \Vithin a reasonable period of time. The 

199. 7 commissioner may by written order restrict the use of any facility \Vhich does not substantially 

199. 8 conform to minimum standards to prohibit the detention of any person therein for more than 

199.9 72 hours at one time. \Vhen, after due notice and hearing, the commissioner finds that any 

199 .1 o facility described in this subdivision, except county jails and lockups as provided in sections 

199.11 641.26, 642.10, and 642.11, does not conform to minimum standards, or is not making 

199.12 satisfactory progress toward substantial compliance therewith, the commissioner may issue 

199 .13 an order revoking the license of that facility. After revocation of its license, that facility 

199.14 shall not be used until its license is renewed. Vlhen the commissioner is satisfied that 

199.15 satisfactory progress towards substantial compliance v1ith minimum standard is being made, 

199 .16 the commissioner may, at the request of the appropriate officials of the affected facility 

199 .17 supported by a \vritten schedule for compliance, grant an extension of time for a period not 

199 .18 to exceed one year. 

199 .19 (f) A.s used in this subdivision, "correctional facility" means any facility, including a 

199 .20 group home, having a residential component, the primary purpose of \Vhich is to serve 

199 .21 persons placed therein by a court, court services department, parole authority, or other 

199.22 correctional agency having dispositional power over persons charged with, convicted, or 

199.23 adjudicated to be guilty or delinquent. 

199.24 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 241.021, is amended by adding a subdivision to 

199 .25 read: 

199.26 Subd. la. Correction order; conditional license. @2 When the commissioner finds that 

199.27 any facility described in subdivision 1, except foster care facilities for delinquent children 

199.28 and youth as provided in subdivision 2, does not substantially conform to the minimum 

199.29 standards established by the commissioner and is not making satisfactory progress toward 

199.30 substantial conformance and the nonconformance does not _present an imminent risk of 

199.31 life-threatening harm or serious physical injury to the persons confined or incarcerated in 

199.32 the facility, the commissioner shall promptly notify the facility administrator and the 

199.33 governing board of the facility of the deficiencies and must issue a correction order or a 

199 .34 conditional license order that the deficiencies be remedied within a reasonable and s_pecified 

199.35 period of time. 
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200.1 The conditional license order may restrict the use of any facility which does not 

200.2 substantially conform to minimum standards, including imposition of conditions limiting 

200.3 operation of the facility or parts of the facility, reducing facility capacity, limiting intaj(e, 

200.4 limiting length of detention for individuals, or imposing detention limitations based on the 

200.5 needs of the individuals being confined or incarcerated therein. 

200.6 The correction order or conditional license order must clearly state the following: 

200.7 (1) the specific minimum standards violated, noting the implicated rule or law; 

200.8 (2) the findings that constitute a violation of miniI!].um standard~s; 

200.9 ill the correctiye action needed; 

200.10 ~ time allowed to correct each violation; and 

200.11 ( 5) if a license is made conditional, the length and terms of the conditional license, any 

200.12 conditions limiting operation of the facility, and the reasons for making the license 

200.13 conditional. 

200.14 (b) The facility administrator may request review of the findings noted in the conditional 

200.15 license order on the grounds that satisfactory progress toward substantial compliance with 

200.16 mgiimum standards h~as been ~!!!ade, supported by evidence of correction, and, if appropriate, 

200.17 may include a written schedule for compliance. The commissioner shall review the evidence 

200.18 of correction and the progress made toward substantial compliance with minimum standards 

200.19 within a reasonable period of time, not to exceed ten business days. When the commissioner 

200.20 has assurance that satisfactory progress toward substantial compliance with minimum 

200.21 standards is being made, the commissioner shall lift any conditions limiting operation of 

200.22 the facility or parts of the facility or remove the conditional license order. 

200.23 ( c) Nothing in this section prohibits the commissioner from ordering a revocation under 

200.24 subdivision 1 b prior to issuing a correction order or conditional license order. 

200.25 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 241. 021, is amended by adding a subdivision to 

200.26 read: 

200.27 Subd. lb. License revocation order. (a) When, after due notice to the facility 

200.28 administrator of the commissioner's intent to issue a revocation order, the commissioner 

200.29 finds that any facility described in this subdivision, except countyjails and lockups subject 

200.30 to active condemnation proceedings or orders as provided in sections 641.26, 642.10, and 

200.31 642.1 l~, does not conform to minimum standards, or is not making satisfactory progress 

200.32 toward substantial comQliance with minimum standards, and the nonconfofll!_ance does not 
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201.1 present an imminent risk oflife-threatening harm or serious physical injury to the persons 

201.2 confined or incarcerated in the facility, the commissioner may issue an order revoking the 

201.3 license of that facili!Y. 

20 I .4 The notice of intent to issue a revocation order shall include: 

201.5 ill the citation to minimum standards that have been violated; 

201.6 (2) the nature and severity of each violation; 

201.7 (3) whether the violation is recurring or nonrecurring; 

201.8 (4) the effect of the violation on persons confined or incarcerated in the correctional 

201.9 facility; 

201.1 o ( 5) an evaluation of the risk of harm to persons confined or incarcerated in the correctional 

201.11 facility; 

201.12 ( 6) relevant facts, conditions, and circumstances concerning the operation of the licensed 

201.13 facility, including at a minimum: 

201.14 (i) specific facility deficiencies that endanger the health or safety of persons confined 

201.15 or incarcerated in the correctional facility; 

201.16 (ii) substantiated complaints relating to the correctional facility; or 

201.17 (iii) any other evidence that the correctional facility is not in compliance with minimum 

201.18 standards. 

201.19 (b) The facility administrator must submit a written response within 30 days of receipt 

201.20 of the notice of intent to issue a revocation order with any information related to errors in 

201.21 the notice, c.1.bility to conform to minimum standards within a set period of time including 

201.22 but not limited to a written schedule for compliance, and any other information the facility 

201.23 administrator deems relevant for consideration by the commissioner. The written response 

201.24 must also include a written plan indicating how the correctional facility will ensure the 

20 t .25 transfer of confined or incarcerated individuals and records if the correctional facility closes. 

201.26 Plans must specify arrangements the correctional facility will make to transfer confined or 

201.27 incarcerated individuals to another licensed correctional facility for continuation of detention. 

201.28 ( c) When revoking a license, the commissioner shall consider the nature, chronicity, or 

201.29 severity of the violation oflaw or rule and the effect of the violation on the health, safety, 

201.30 or rights of persons confined or incarcerated in the correctional facility. 

201.31 (d) If the facility administrator does not respond within 30 days to the notice of intent 

201.32 to issue a revocation order or if the commissioner does not have assurance that satisfactory 
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202.1 progress toward substantial compliance with minimum standards will be made, the 

202.2 commissioner shall issue a revocation order. The revocation order must be sent to the facility 

202.3 administrator and the governing board of the facility, clearly stating: 

202.4 (1) the specific minimum standards violated, noting the implicated rule or law; 

202.5 (2) the findings that constitute a violation of minimum standards and the~ ~ature, 

202.6 chronicity, or severity of those violations; 

202. 7 (3) the corrective acti9~ neede~; 

202.8 ( 4) any prior correction or conditional license orders issued to correct violations; and 

202.9 ( 5) the date at which the license revocation shall take place. 

202.1 o A revocation order may authorize use until a certain date, not to exceed the duration of the 

202.11 current lis;ense, ~unles~ a liajted li~ense is issued by the commissioner for purposes of 

202.12 effectuating a facility closure and continued operation does not present an imminent risk 

202.13 oflife-threatening harm or is not likely to result in serious physical injury to the persons 

202.14 confined or incarcerated in the facili_!y. 

202.15 ( e) After revocation of the facility's licensure, that facility shall not be used until the 

202.16 license is renewed. When the commissioner is satisfied that satisfactory progress toward 

202.17 substantial compliance with minimum standards is being made, the commissioner may, at 

202.18 the request of the facility administrator supported by a written schedule for compli§,nce, 

202.19 reinstate the license. 

202.20 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 241.021, is amended by adding a subdivision to 

202.21 read: 

202.22 Subd. 1 c. Temporary license suspension. The commissioner shall act immediately to 

202.23 temporarily suspend a license issued under this chapter if: 

202.24 (1) the correctional facility's failure to comply with applicable minimum standards or 

202.25 the conditions in the correctional facility pose an imminent risk of life-threatening harm or 

202.26 serious physical injury to persons confined or incarcerated in the facility, staff, law 

202.27 enforcement, visitors-1 or the .12ublic; and 

202.23 (i) if the imminent risk of life-threatening harm or serious physical injury cannot be 

202.29 promptly corrected through a different type of order under this section; and 

202.30 (ii) the correctional facility cannot or has not corrected the violation giving rise to the 

202.31 imminent risk of life-threatening harm or serious physical injury; or 
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203.1 (2) while the correctional facility continues to operate pending due notice and opportunity 

203.2 for written resQonse to the commissioner's notice of intent to issue an order of revocation, 

203.3 the commissioner identifies one or more subseguent violations of minimum standards which 

203.4 may adversely affect the health or safety of persons confined or incarcerated in the facility, 

203.5 staff, law enforcement, visitors, or the public. 

203.6 A notice stating the reasons for the immediate suspension informing the facility 

203.7 administrator must be delivered by personal service to the correctional facility administrator 

203.8 and the governing board of the facility. 

203.9 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 241.021, is amended by adding a subdivision to 

203.10 read: 

203.11 Subd. 1 d. Public notice of restriction, revocation, or suspension. If the license of a 

203.12 facility under this section is revoked or suspended, or use of the facility is restricted for any 

203.13 reason under a conditional license order~ the commissioner shall post the facility, the status 

203.14 of the facility's license, and the reason for the restriction, revocation, or suspension publicly 

203.15 and on the deQartment's website. 

203.16 Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 241.021, is amended by adding a subdivision 

203 .17 to read: 

203.18 Subd. 1 e. Reconsideration of orders; appeals. (a) If the facility administrator believes 

203.19 the correction order, conditional license order, or revocation order is in error, the facility 

203.20 administrator may ask the Department of Corrections to reconsider the parts of the order or 

203.21 action that are alleged to be in error. The request for reconsideration must: 

203.22 (1) be made in writing; 

203.23 (2) be postmarked and sent to the commissioner no later than 30 calendar days after 

203.24 receiQt of the corr_ection order,_conditional license order, or revocation order; 

203.25 (3) specify the parts of the order that are alleged to be in error; 

203.26 ( 4) explain why the correction order, conditional license order, or revocation order is in 

203.27 error; and 

203.28 ( 5) include documentation to support the allegation of error. 

203.29 The commissioner shall issue a disposition within 60 days of receipt of the facility 

203.30 administrator's response to correction,~ci)nditional license, or revocation order violations. 

203.31 A request for reconsideration does not stay any provisions or requirements of the order. 
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204.1 (b) The facility administrator may request reconsideration of an order immediately 

204.2 suspending a license. The request for reconsideration of an order immediately suspending 

204.3 a license must be made in writing and sent by certified mail, personal seryice, or other means 

204.4 expressly stated in the commissioner's order. If mailed, the request for reconsideration must 

204.5 be postmarked and sent to the commissioner no later than five business days after the facility 

204.6 administrator receives notice that the license has been immediately suspended. If a request 

204.7 is made by personal service, it must be received by the commissioner no later than five 

204.8 business days after the facility administrator received the order. The request for 

204.9 reconsideration must: 

204.10 (1) specify the parts of the order that are alleged to be in error; 

204.11 (2) explain why they are in error; a~d 

204.12 (3) include documentation to support the allegation of error. 

204.13 A facility administrator and the governing board of the facility shall discontinue operation 

204.14 of the correctional facility upon receipt of the commissioner's order to immediately suspend 

204.15 the license. 

204.16 ( c) Within five business days of receipt of the facility administrator's timely request for 

204.17 reconsideration of a temporary immediate suspension, the commissioner shaJl review the 

204.18 request for reconsideration. The scope of the review shall be limited solely to the issue of 

204.19 whether the temporary immediate suspension order should remain in effect pending the 

204.20 written response to commissioner's notice of intent to issue a revocation order. 

204.21 The commissioner's disposition of a request for reconsicleratio!l of correction, CO:flditional 

204.22 licens~,~emporary immediate suspension, or revocation order is final and subject to appeal. 

204.23 The facility administrator must request reconsideration as required by this section of any 

204.24 correction, conditional license, temporary immediate suspension, or revocation order prior 

204.25 to appeal. 

204.26 No later than 60 days after the postmark date of the mailed notice of the commissioner's 

204.27 decision on a request for reconsideration, the facility administrator may appeal the decision 

204.28 by filing for a writ of certiorari with the court of appeals under section 606.01 and Minnesota 

204.29 Rules of Civil Appellate Pi-_ocedtge, Rule 115. 

204.30 Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 241.021, is amended by adding a subdivision 

204.31 to read: 

204.32 Subd. lf. Report. By February 15, 2022, and by February 15 each year tp.ereaf!er, the 

204.33 commissioner of corrections shall report to the chairs and ranking minority members of the 
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205.1 house of representatives and senate committees and divisions with jurisdiction over public 

205.2 safety and judiciary on the status of the implementation of the provisions in this section 

205 .3 over the prior year, particularly the health and safety of individuals confined or incarcerated 

205.4 in a state correctional facility and a facility licensed by the commissioner. This report shall 

205.5 include but not be limited to data regarding: 

205.6 (1) the number of confined or incarcerated persons who died while committed to the 

205.7 custody of the facility, regardless of whether the death occurred at the facility or after 

205.8 removal from the facility for medical care stemming from an incident or need for medical 

205.9 care at the correctional facility, including aggregated demographic information and the 

205.10 correctional facilities' most recent inspection reports and any corrective orders or conditional 

205.11 licenses issued; 

205.12 (2) the aggregated results of the death reviews by facility as required by subdivision 8, 

205.13 including any implemented policy changes; 

205.14 (3) the number of uses of force by facility staff on persons confined or incarcerated in 

205.15 the correctional facility, including but not limited to whether those uses of force were 

205.16 determined to be justified by the facility, for which the commissioner of corrections shall 

205.17 consult with the Minnesota Sheriffs' Association and a representative from the Minnesota 

205.18 Association of Community Corrections Act Counties who is responsible for the operations 

205.19 of an adult correctional facility to develop criteria for reporting and define reportable uses 

205.20 of force; 

205.21 ( 4) the number of suicide attempts, number of people transported to a medical facility, 

205.22 and number of people placed in segregatio}!; 

205.23 (5) the number of persons committed to the commissioner of corrections' custody that 

205.24 the commissioner is housing in facilities licensed under subdivision 1, including but not 

205.25 limited to: 

205.26 (i) aggregated demograpl!i~~ data of those individuals; 

205.27 (ii) length of time spent housed in a licensed correctional facility; and 

205.28 (iii) any contracts the Department of Corrections has with correctional facilities to provide 

205.29 housing; and 

205.30 ( 6) summary data from state correctional facilities regarding complaints involving alleged 

205.3 L on-duty staff misconduct, including but not limited to the: 

205.32 (i) total number of misconduct complaints and investigations; 
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206.1 (ii) total number of complaints by each category of misconduct, as defined by the 

206.2 commissioner of corrections; 

206.3 (iii) number of allegations dismissed as unfoundeq; 

206.4 (iv) number of allegations dismissed on grounds that the allegation was unsubstantiateQ; 

206.5 and 

206.6 (v) number of allegations substantiated, any resulting disciplinary action, and the nature 

206.7 of the disciQline. 

206.8 Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 241.021, is amended by adding a subdivision 

206. 9 to read: 

206.10 Subd. 1.&_ Biennial assessment and audit of security practices; state correctional 

206.11 facilities. (a) Beginning in 2022, the commissioner shall have the department's inspection 

206.12 unit conduct biennial security audits of each state correctional facility using the standards 

206.13 promulgated by the state correctional facilities security audit group. The unit must prepare 

206.14 a report for each assessment and audit and submit the report to the state correctional facilities 

206.15 security audit group within 30 days of completion of the audit. 

206.16 .{Q2 Corrections and detention confidential data, as defined in section 13.85, subdivision 

206.17 3, and nonpublic security information, as defined in section 13.37, subdivision 1, fu.at is 

206.18 contained in reports and records of the group maintain that classification, regardless of the 

206.19 data's classification in the hands of the person who provided the data, and are not subject 

206.20 to discovery or introduction into evidence in a civil or criminal action against the state 

206.21 arising out of the matters the group is reviewing. Information, doc~ments, and records 

206.22 otherwise available from other sources are not immune from discove!Y or use in a civil or 

206.23 criminal action solely because they were acquired during the group's audit. This section 

206.24 does not limit a person who presented information to the group or who is a member of the 

206.25 group from testifying about matters within the person's knowledge. However, in a civil or 

206.26 criminal proceeding, a person may not be questioned about the person's good faith 

206.27 presentation of information to the group or opinions formed by the person as a result of the 

206.28 group's audits. 
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207.1 Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 241.021, is amended by adding a subdivision 

207.2 to read: 

207.3 Subd. lh. State correctional facilities security audit group. (a) Beginning in fiscal 

207.4 year 2022, the commissioner shall form a state correctional facilities security audit group. 

207.5 The group must consist of the following members: 

207.6 (1) a department employee who is not assigned to the correctional institutions divisio:q, 

207.7 appointed by the commissioner; 

207.8 (2) the ombudsperson f9r corrections; 

207.9 (3) an elected sheriff or designee nominated by the Minnesota Sheriffs Association and 

201.10 appointed by the commissioner; 

207.11 ( 4) a physical plant safety consultant, appointed by the governor; 

207.12 ( 5) a private security consultant with expertise in correctional facility security, appointed 

207 .13 by the governor; 

207.14 (6) two senators, one appointed by the senate majority leader and one appointed by the 

207.15 minori!Y lec!_der; and 

207.16 (7) two representatives, one appointed by the speaker of the house and one appointed 

207.17 by the minority leader of the house of representatives. 

207.18 (b) By January 1, 2022, the group shall establish security audit standards for state 

207.19 correctional facilities. In developing the standards, the group, or individual members of the 

201.20 group, may gather information from state correctional facilities and state correctional staff 

207.21 and inmates. The security audit group must periodically review the standards and modify 

207.22 them as needed. The group must report the standards to the chairs and ranking minority 

207.23 members of the house of representatives and senate committees with jurisdiction over public 

207.24 safety policy and finance by February 15, 2022. 

207.25 ( c) The group shall review facility audit reports submitted to the group by the agency's 

207.26 inspection unit. Notwithstanding any law to the contrary, the group is entitled to review the 

207.27 full audit reports including nonpublic security information and corrections and detention 

207.28 confidential data. Within 60 days of receiving an audit report from the department's inspection 

207.29 unit, the group must make recommendations to the commissioner. Within 45 days of 

207.30 receiving the group's recommendations, the commissioner must reply in writing to the 

207.31 group's findings and recommendations. The commissioner's response must explain whether 

207.32 the agency will implement the group's recommendations, the timeline for implementation 
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208.1 of the changes, and, if not, why the commissioner will not or cannot implement the group's 

208.2 recommendations. 

208.3 ( d) Beginning in 2023, the commissioner must include a written aggregate of the group's 

208.4 recommendations based on each security audit and assessment of a state correctional facility 

208.5 and the commissioner's responses to the recommendations in the biennial report required 

208.6 under section 241.016, subdivision 1. The commissioner shall not include corrections and 

208. 7 detention confidential data, as defined in section 13. 85, subdivision 3, and nonpublic security 

208.8 information, as_defin~d in_s~ction_13.37, subdivision 1, in the commissioner's re_2ort to the 

208.9 legislature. 

208.10 ( e) The commissioner shall provide staffing and administrative support to the group. 

208.11 Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 241.021, is amended by adding a subdivision 

208.12 to read: 

208.13 Subd. 1 i. Definition. As used in this section, "correctional facility" means any facility, 

208.14 including a group home, having a residential component, the primary purpose of which is 

208.15 to serve persons placed in facilities by a court, court services department, parole authority, 

208.16 or other correctional agency having dispositional power over persons charged with, convicted, 

208.17 or adjudicated guilty or delinquent. 

208.18 Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 241.021, is amended by adding a subdivision 

208.19 to read: 

208.20 Subd. 7. Intake release of information. All correctional facilities that confine or 

208.21 incarcerate adults are required at intake to provide each person an authorization form to 

208.22 release information related to that _2erson's health or mental health condition and when that 

208.23 information should be shared. This release form shall allow the individual to select if the 

208.24 individual wants to require the correctional facility to make attempts to contact the designated 

208.25 person to facilitate the sharing of health condition information upon incapacitation or if the 

208.26 individual becomes unable to communicate or direct the sharing of this information, so long 

208.27 as contact information was provided and the incapacitated individual or individual who is 

208.28 unable to communicate or direct the sharing of this information is not subject to a court 

208.29 order prohibiting contact with the designated person. 
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209.1 Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 241.021, is amended by adding a subdivision 

209 .2 to read: 

209.3 Subd. 8. Death review teams. In the event a correctional facili!Y receives information 

209.4 of the death of an individual while committed to the custody of the facility, regardless of 

209.5 whether the death occurred at the facility or after removal from the facility for medical care 

209.6 stemming from an incident or need for medical care at the correctional facility, the 

209.7 administrator of the facility, minimally including a medical expert of the facility's choosing 

209.8 who did not provide medical services to the individual, and, if appropriate, a mental health 

209.9 expert, shall review the circumstances of the death and assess for preventable mortality and 

209.10 morbidity, including recommendations for policy or procedure change, within 90 days of 

209.11 death. The investigating law enforcement agency may provide documentation, participate 

209.12 in, or provide documentation and participate in the review in instances where criminal 

209.13 charges were not brought. A preliminary autopsy report must be provided as part of the 

209.14 review and any subsequent autopsy findings as available. The facility administrator shall 

209 .15 provide notice to the commissioner of corrections via the Department of Corrections detention 

209 .16 information system that the correctional facility has conducted a review and identify any 

209.17 recommendations for changes in policy, procedure, or training that will be implemented. 

209.18 Any report or other documentation created for purposes of a facility death review is 

209.19 confidential as defined in section 13.02, subdivision 3. Nothing in this section relieves the 

209.20 facility administrator from complying with the notice of death to the commissioner as 

209.21 required by subdivision 1, paragraph (a). 

209.22 Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 243.48, subdivision 1, is amended to read: 

209.23 Subdivision 1. General searches. The commissioner of corrections, the state correctional 

209.24 facilities audit group, the governor, lieutenant governor, members of the legislature, state 

209.25 officers, and the ombudsperson for corrections may visit the inmates at pleasure, but no 

209.26 other persons without permission of the chief executive officer of the facility, under rules 

209.27 prescribed by the commissioner. A moderate fee may be required of visitors, other than 

209.28 those allowed to visit at pleasure. All fees so collected shall be reported and remitted to the 

209 .29 commissioner of management and budget under rules as the commissioner may deem proper, 

209.30 and when so remitted shall be placed to the credit of the general fund. 
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210.1 Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 243.52, is amended to read: 

210.2 243.52 DISCIPLINE; PREVENTION OF ESCAPE; DUTY TO REPORT. 

210.3 Subdivision 1. Discipline and prevention of escape If any inmate of_.12erson confined 

210.4 or incarcerated in any adult correctional facility either under the control of the commissioner 

210.5 of corrections or licensed by the commissioner of corrections under section 241. 021 assaults 

210.6 any correctional officer or any other person or inmate, the assaulted person may use force 

210.7 in defense of the assault, except as limited in this section. If any inmate confined or 

210.8 incarcerated person attempts to damage the buildings or appurtenances, resists the lawful 

210.9 authority of any correctional officer, refuses to obey the correctional officer's reasonable 

210.10 demands, or attempts to escape, the correctional officer may enforce obedience and discipline 

210.11 or prevent escape by the use of force. If any inmate confined or incarcerated person resisting 

210.12 lawful authority is wounded or killed by the use of force by the correctional officer or 

21 o.13 assistants, that conduct is authorized under this section. 

210.14 Subd. 2. Use of force. (a) Use of force must not be applied maliciously or sadistically 

210.15 for the purpose of causing harm to a confined or incarcerated person. 

210.16 (b) Unless the use of deadly force is justified in this section, a correctional officer working 

210.17 in an adult correctional facili_!y either under the control of the commissioner of corrections 

210.18 or licensed by the commissioner under section 241.021 may not use any of the following 

210.19 restraints: 

210.20 ill _a choke _hold; 

210.21 (2) a prone restraint; 

210.22 (3) tying all of a person's limbs together behind the person's back to render the person 

210.23 immobile; or 

210.24 ( 4) securing a person in any way that results in transporting the person face down in a 

210.25 vehicle, except as directed by a medical professional. 

210.26 ( c) For the purposes of this subdivision, the following terms have the meanings given 

210.27 them: 

210.28 (1) "choke hold" means a method by which a person applies sufficient pressure to a 

210.29 person to make breathing difficult or impossible, and includes but is not limited to any 

210.30 pressure to the neck, throat, or windpipe that may prevent or hinder breathing or reduce 

210.31 intake of air. Choke hold also means applying pressure to a person's neck on either side of 

21 o.32 the windpipe, but not to the windpipe itself, to stop the flow of blood to the brain via the 

210.33 carotid arteries; 
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211.1 (2) "prone restraint" means the use of manual restraint that places a person in a face-down 

211.2 position; and 

211.3 As used in this section, "use of force" means conduct which is defined by sections 609. 06 

211.4 to 609.066. (3) "deadly force" has the meaning given in section 609.066, subdivision 1. 

211.5 ( d) Use of deadly force is justified only if an objectively reasonable correctional officer 

211.6 would believe, based on the totali_!y of the circumstances known to the officer at the time 

211.7 and without the benefit of hindsight, that deadly force is necessary: 

211.8 ( 1) to protect the correctional officer or another from death or great bodily harm, provided 

211.9 that the threat: 

211.10 (i) can be articulated with specificity by the correctional officer; 

211.11 (ii) is reasonably likely to occur absent action by the correctional officer; and 

211.12 (iii) must be addressed through the use of deadly force without unreasonable delay; or 

211.13 (2) to effect the capture or prevent the escape of a person when the officer reasonably 

211.14 believes that the person will cause death or great bodily harm to another person under the 

211.15 threat criteria in clause (1 ), unless immediately apprehended. 

211.16 Subd. 3. Duty to report. (a) Regardless of tenure or rank, staff working in an adult 

211.17 correctional facili_!y either under the control of the commissioner of corrections or licensed 

211.18 by the commissioner under section 241. 021 who observe another employee engage in neglect 

211.19 or use force that exceeds the degree of force permitted by law must report the incident in 

211.20 writing as soon as practicable, but no later than 24 hours to the administrator of the 

211.21 correctional facility that employs the reporting staff member. 

211.22 (b) A staff member who fails to report neglect or excessive use of force within 24 hours 

211.23 is subject to disciplinary action or sanction by the correctional facility that employs them. 

211.24 Staff members shall suffer no reprisal for reporting another staff member engaged in 

211.25 excessive use of force or neglect. 

211.26 (c) For the purposes of this subdivision, "neglect" means: 

211.27 (1) the knowing failure or omission to supply a person confined or incarcerated in the 

211.28 facility with care or services, including but not limited to food, clothing, health care, or 

211.29 supervision that is reasonable and necessary to obtain or maintain the person's physical or 

211.30 mental health or safe!Y; or 

211.31 (2) the absence or likelihood of absence of care or services, including but not limited to 

211.32 food, ~lathing, health care, or supervision necessary to maintain the physical and mental 
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212.1 health of the person that a reasonable person would deem essential for health, safety, or 

212.2 comfort. 

212.3 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment. 

212.4 Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 244.19, subdivision 3, is amended to read: 

212.5 Subd. 3. Powers and duties. All county probation officers serving a district court shall 

212.6 act under the orders of the court in reference to any person committed to their care by the 

212. 7 court, and in the performance of their duties shall have the general powers of a peace officer; 

212.8 and it shall be their duty to make such investigations with regard to any person as may be 

212.9 required by the court before, during, or after the trial or hearing, and to furnish to the court 

212.10 such information and assistance as may be required; to take charge of any person before, 

212.11 during or after trial or hearing when so directed by the court, and to keep such records and 

212.12 to make such reports to the court as the court may order. 

212.13 All county probation officers serving a district court shall, in addition, provide probation 

212.14 and parole services to wards of the commissioner of corrections resident in the counties 

212.15 they serve, and shall act under the orders of said commissioner of corrections in reference 

212.16 to any ward committed to their care by the commissioner of corrections. 

212.17 All probation officers serving a district court shall, under the direction of the authority 

212.18 having power to appoint them, initiate programs for the welfare of persons coming within 

212.19 the jurisdiction of the court to prevent delinquency and crime and to rehabilitate within the 

212.20 community persons who come within the jurisdiction of the court and are properly subject 

212.21 to efforts to accomplish prevention and rehabilitation. They shall, under the direction of the 

212.22 court, cooperate with all law enforcement agencies, schools, child welfare agencies of a 

212.23 public or private character, and other groups concerned with the prevention of crime and 

212.24 delinquency and the rehabilitation of persons convicted of crime and delinquency. 

212.25 All probation officers serving a district court shall make monthly and annual reports to 

212.26 the commissioner of corrections, on forms furnished by the commissioner, containing such 

212.27 information on number of cases cited to the juvenile division of district court, offenses, 

212.28 adjudications, dispositions, and related matters as may be required by the commissioner of 

212.29 corrections. The reports shall include the information on individuals convicted as an extended 

212.30 jurisdiction juvenile identified in section 241.016, subdivision 1, paragraph (c). 
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213.1 Sec. 20. f260B.008] USE OF RESTRAINTS. 

213.2 ~ As used in this section, "restraints" means a mechanical or other device that constrains 

213.3 the movement of a person's body or limbs. 

213.4 (b) Restraints may not be used on a child appearing in court in a proceeding under this 

213.5 cha.1?_ter unless the court finds that: 

213.6 (1) the use of restraints is necessary: 

213.7 (i) to prevent physical harm to the child or another; or 

213.8 (ii) to prevent the child from fleeing in situations in which the child presents a substantial 

213.9 risk of flight from the courtroorri; and 

213 .1 o (2) there are no less restrictive alternatives to restraints that will prevent flight or physical 

213.11 harm to the child or another, induding but not limited to the presence of court personnel, 

213.12 law enforcement officers1 or bailiffs. 

213.13 The finding in clause (1), item (i), may be based, among other things, on the child having 

213.14 a history of disruptive courtroom behavior or behavior while in custody for any current or 

213.15 prior offense that has placed others in potentially harmful situations, or presenting a 

213 .16 substantial risk of inflicting physical harm on the child or others as evidenced by past 

213.17 behavior. The court may take into account the physical structure of the courthouse in 

213.18 assessing the applicability of the above factors to the individual child. 

213.19 ( c) The court shall be provided the child's behavior history and shall provide the child 

213.20 an opportunity to be heard in person or through counsel before ordering the use of restraints. 

213.21 If restraints are ordered, the court shall make findings of fact in support of the order. 

213.22 ( d) By April 1, 2022, each judicial district shall develop a protocol to address how to 

213.23 implement and comply with this section. In developing the protocol, a district shall consult 

213.24 with law enforcement agencies, prosecutors, public defenders within the district, and any 

213.25 other entity deemed necessary by the district's chief judge. 

213.26 EFFECTIVE DATE. Paragraphs (a), (b ), and ( c) are effective April 15, 2022. Paragraph 

213.27 ( d) is effective the day following final enactment. 

213.28 Sec. 21. [260B.1755] ALTERNATIVE TO ARREST OF CERTAIN JUVENILE 

213.29 OFFENDERS AUTHORIZED. 

213.30 (a) A peace officer who has probable cause to believe that a child is a petty offender or 

213.31 delinquent child may refer the child to a program, including restorative programs, that the 

213.32 law enforcement agency with jurisdiction over the child deems appropriate. 
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214.1 (b) If a peace officer or law enforcement agency refers a child to a program under 

214.2 paragraph (a), the peace officer or law enforcement agency may defer issuing a citation or 

214.3 a notice to the child to appear in juvenile court, transmitting a report to the prosecuting 

214.4 authority, or otherwise initiating a proceeding in juvenile court. 

214.5 ( c) After receiving notice that a child who was referred to a program under paragraph 

214.6 (a) successfully completed that program, a peace officer or law enforcement agency shall 

214.7 not issue a citation or a notice to the child to appear in juvenile court, transmit a report to 

214.8 the prosecuting authority, or otherwise initiate a proceeding in juvenile court for the conduct 

214.9 that formed the basis of the referral. 

214.10 (d) This section does not apply to peace officers acting pursuant to an order or warrant 

214.11 described in section 260B.175, subdivision 1, paragraph (a), or other court order to~ take a 

214.12 child into custody. 

214.13 Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 401.06, is amended to read: 

214.14 401.06 COMPREHENSIVE PLAN; STANDARDS OF ELIGIBILITY; 

214.15 COMPLIANCE. 

214.16 No county or group of counties electing to provide correctional services pursuant to 

214.17 sections 401.01 to 401.16 shall be eligible for the subsidy herein provided unless and until 

214.18 its comprehensive plan shall have been approved by the commissioner. The commissioner 

214.19 shall, pursuant to the Administrative Procedure Act, promulgate rules establishing standards 

214.20 of eligibility for counties to receive funds under sections 401.01 to 401.16. To remain eligible 

214.21 for subsidy counties shall maintain substantial compliance with the minimum standards 

214.22 established pursuant to sections 401.01 to 401.16 and the policies and procedures governing 

214.23 the services described in section 401. 025 as prescribed by the commissioner. Counties shall 

214.24 also be in substantial compliance with other correctional operating standards permitted by 

214.25 law and established by the commissioner and shall report statistics required by the 

214.26 commissioner including but not limited to information on individuals convicted as an 

214.27 extended jurisdiction juvenile identified in section 241.016, subdivision 1, paragraph (c). 

214.28 The commissioner shall review annually the comprehensive plans submitted by participating 

214.29 counties, including the facilities and programs operated under the plans. The commissioner 

214.30 is hereby authorized to enter upon any facility operated under the plan, and inspect books 

214.31 and records, for purposes of recommending needed changes or improvements. 

214.32 When the commissioner shall determine that there are reasonable grounds to believe 

214.33 that a county or group of counties is not in substantial compliance with minimum standards, 

214.34 at least 30 days' notice shall be given the county or counties and a hearing conducted by 
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215 .1 the commissioner to ascertain whether there is substantial compliance or satisfactory progress 

215.2 being made toward compliance. The commissioner may suspend all or a portion of any 

215.3 subsidy until the required standard of operation has been met. 

215.4 Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 626.14, is amended to read: 

215.5 626.14TIMEANDMANNEROFSERVICE;NO-KNOCKSEARCHWARRANTS. 

215.6 Subdivision 1. Time. A search warrant may be served only between the hours of 7 :00 

215.7 a.m. and 8:00 p.m. unless the court determines on the basis of facts stated in the affidavits 

215.8 that a nighttime search outside those hours is necessary to prevent the loss, destruction, or 

215.9 removal of the objects of the search or to protect the searchers or the public. The search 

215.10 warrant shall state that it may be served only between the hours of7:00 a.m. and 8:00 p.m. 

215.11 unless a nighttime search outside those hours is authorized. 

215.12 Subd. 2. Definition. For the .l2!:!!J20Ses of this section, "no-knock search warrant" means 

215.13 a search warrant authorizing peace officers to enter certain premises without first knocking 

215.14 and announcing the officer's presence or purpose prior to entering the premises. No-knock 

215.15 search warrants may also be referred to as dynamic entry warrants. 

215.16 Subd. 3. Requirements for a no-knock search warrant. (a) No peace officer shall 

215.17 seek a no-knock search warrant unless the warrant a02lication includes at a minimum: 

215.18 

215.19 

215.20 

215.21 

( 1) all documentation and materials the issuing court requires; 

(2) the information specified in paragraph (b ); and 

(3) a sworn affidavit as provided in section 626.08. 

(b) Each warrant application seeking a no-knock entry must include, in detailed terms, 

215.22 the following: 

215.23 (1) why peace officers are seeking the use of a no-knock entry and are unable to detain 

215.24 the suspect or search the residence through the use of a knock and announce warrant; 

215.25 (2) what investigative activities have taken place to support issuance of the no-knock 

215.26 search warrant, or why no investigative activity is needed or able to be performed; and 

215.27 (3) whether the warrant can be effectively executed during daylight hours according to 

215.28 subdivision 1. 

215.29 ( c) The chief law enforcement officer or designee and another superior officer must 

215.30 review and approve each warrant application. The agency must document the approval of 

215.31 both reviewing_Qarties. 
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216.1 (d) A no-knock search warrant shall not be issued when the only crime alleged is 

216.2 possession of a controlled substance unless there is probable cause to believe that the 

216.3 controlled substance is for other than personal use. 

216.4 Subd. 5. Reporting requirements regarding no-knock search warrants . .@} Law 

216.5 enforcement agencies shall report to the commissioner of public safety regarding the use 

216.6 of no-knock search warrants in a format prescribed by the commissioner. An agency must 

216.7 report the use of a no-knock search warrant to the commissioner no later than three months 

216.8 after the date the warrant was issued. The report shall include the following information: 

216.9 (1) the number of no-knock search warrants requested; 

216.10 Q2 the number of no-knock search warrants the court issued; 

216.11 (3) the number of no-knock search warrants executed; 

216.12 (4) the number of injuries and fatalities suffered, if any, by peace officers and by civilians 

216.13 in the execution of no-knock search warrants; and 

216.14 ( 5) any other information the commissioner requests. 

216.15 (b) The commissioner of public safety shall report the information provided under 

216.16 paragraph (a) annually to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative 

216.17 committees with jurisdiction over public safety. 

216.18 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective September 1, 2021, and applies to warrants 

216.19 reguested on or after that date. 

216.20 Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 626.842, subdivision 2, is amended to read: 

216.21 Subd. 2. Terms, compensation, removal, filling of vacancies. The membership terms, 

216.22 compensation, removal of members and the filling of vacancies for members appointed 

216.23 pursuant to section 626.841, clauses (1), (2), (4), and (5) on the board; the provision of staff, 

216.24 administrative services and office space; the review and processing of complaints; the setting 

216.25 of fees; and other matters relating to board operations shall be as provided in chapter 214. 

216.26 Sec. 25. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 626.8435, subdivision 1, is amended to read: 

216.27 Subdivision 1. Establishment and membership. The Ensuring Police Excellence and 

216.28 Improving Community Relations Advisory Council is established under the Peace Officer 

216.29 Standards and Training Board. The council consists of the following 15 members: 

216.30 ( 1) the superintendent of the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension, or a designee; 
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217.I (2) the executive director of the Peace Officer Standards and Training Board, or a 

217 .2 designee; 

217.3 (3) the executive director of the Minnesota Police and Peace Officers Association, or a 

217.4 designee; 

217.5 (4) the executive director of the Minnesota Sheriffs' Association, or a designee; 

217.6 (5) the executive director of the Minnesota Chiefs of Police Association, or a designee; 

217.7 (6) six community members, of which: 

217.8 (i) four members shall represent the community-specific boards established under section 

217.9 257.0768 sections 15.0145 and 3.922, reflecting one appointment made by each board; 

217 .1 o (ii) one member shall be a mental health advocate and shall be appointed by the Minnesota 

217.11 chapter of the National Alliance on Mental Illness; and 

217.12 (iii) one member shall be an advocate for victims and shall be appointed by Violence 

217.13 Free Minnesota; and 

217.14 (7) four members appointed by the legislature, of which one shall be appointed by the 

217.15 speaker of the house, one by the house minority leader, one by the senate majority leader, 

217.16 and one by the senate minority leader. 

217.17 The appointing authorities shall make their appointments by September 15, 2020, and 

217.18 shall ensure geographical balance when making appointments. 

217.19 Sec. 26. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 626.845, subdivision 3, is amended to read: 

217.20 Subd. 3. Peace officer data. The board, in consultation with the Minnesota Chiefs of 

211.21 Police Association, Minnesota Sheriffs' Association, and Minnesota Police and Peace 

217.22 Officers Association, shall create a central repository for peace officer data designated as 

217.23 public data under chapter 13. The database shall be designed to receive, in real time, the 

217.24 public data required to be submitted to the board by law enforcement agencies in section 

217.25 626.8457, subdivision 3, paragraph (b ). To ensure the anonymity ofindividuals, the database 

217.26 must use encrypted data to track information transmitted on individual peace officers. 

217.27 Sec. 27. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 626.8457, subdivision 3, is amended to read: 

217.28 Subd. 3. Report on alleged misconduct; database; report. (a) A chieflaw enforcement 

217.29 officer shall report annually to the board summary data regarding the investigation and 

217.30 disposition of cases involving alleged misconduct, indicating the total number of 
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218.1 investigations, the total number by each subject matter, the number dismissed as unfounded, 

218.2 and the number dismissed on grounds that the allegation was unsubstantiated. 

218.3 (b) Beginning July 1, 2021, a chieflaw enforcement officer, in real time, must submit 

218.4 individual peace officer data classified as public data on individuals, as defined by section 

218.5 13.02, subdivision 15, or private data on individuals, as defined by section 13.02, subdivision 

218.6 12, and submitted using encrypted data that the board determines is necessary to: 

218.7 (1) evaluate the effectiveness of statutorily required training; 

218.8 (2) assist the Ensuring Police Excellence and Improving Community Relations Advisory 

218.9 Council in accomplishing the council's duties; and 

218.10 (3) allow for the board, the Ensuring Police Excellence and Improving Community 

218.11 Relations Advisory Council, and the board's complaint investigation committee to identify 

218.12 patterns of behavior that suggest an officer is in crisis or is likely to violate a board-mandated 

218.13 model policy. 

218.14 (c) The reporting obligation in paragraph (b) is ongoing. A chief law enforcement officer 

218.15 must update data within 30 days of final disposition of a complaint or investigation. 

218.16 (d) Law enforcement agencies and political subdivisions are prohibited from entering 

218.17 into a confidentiality agreement that would prevent disclosure of the data identified in 

218.18 paragraph (b) to the board. Any such confidentiality agreement is void as to the requirements 

218.19 of this section. 

218.20 ( e) By February 1 of each year, the board shall prepare a report that contains summary 

218.21 data provided under paragraph (b). The board must post the report on its publicly accessible 

218.22 website and provide a copy to the chairs and ranking minority members of the senate and 

218.23 house of representatives committees and divisions having jurisdiction over criminal justice 

218.24 policy. 

218.25 Sec. 28. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 626.8469, is amended by adding a subdivision 

218.26 to read: 

218.27 Subd. 1 b. Crisis intervention and mental illness crisis training; dementia a~d 

218.28 Alzheimer's. The board, in consgltation with stakeholders, including but not limited to the 

218.29 Minnesota Crisis Intervention Team and the Alzheimer's Association, shall create a list of 

218.30 approved entities and training courses primarily focused on issues associated with persons 

218.31 with dementia and Alzheimer's disease. To receive the board's approval, a training course 

218.32 must: 
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219.1 (1) have trainers with at least two years of direct care of a person with Alzheimer's 

219.2 disease or dementia, crisis intervention training, and mental health experience; 

219.3 (2) cover techniques for responding to and issues associated with persons with dementia 

219.4 and Alzheimer's disease, including at a minimum wandering, driving, abuse, and neglect; 

219.5 and 

219.6 (3) meet the crisis intervention and mental illness crisis training standards established 

219.7 in subdivision la. 

219.8 Sec. 29. [626.8476] CONFIDENTIAL INFORMANTS; REQUIRED POLICY AND 

219.9 TRAINING. 

219.10 Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For the purposes of this section, the terms in this 

219.11 subdivision have the meanin~iven them. 

219.12 (b) "Confidential informant" means a person who cooperates with a law enforcement 

219.13 agency confidentially in order to protect the person or the agency's intelligence gathering 

219.14 or investigative efforts and: 

219.15 (1) seeks to avoid arrest or prosecution for a crime, mitigate punishment for a crime in 

219.16 which a sentence will be or has been imposed, or receive a monetary or other benefit; and 

219.17 (2) is able, by reason of the person's familiarity or close association with suspected 

219.18 criminals, to: 

219.19 (i) make a controlled buy or controlled sale of contraband, controlled substances, or 

219.20 other items that are material to a criminal investigation; 

219.21 (ii) supply regular or constant information about suspected or actual criminal activities 

219.22 to a law enforcement agency; or 

219.23 (iii) otherwise provide information important to ongoing criminal intelligence gathering 

219.24 or criminal investigative efforts. 

219.25 ( c) "Controlled buy" means the purchase of contraband, controlled substances, or other 

219.26 items that are material to a criminal investigation from a target offender that is initiat~d, 

219.27 managed, overseen, or participated in by law enforcement personnel with the knowledge 

219.28 of a confidential informant. 

219.29 ( d) "Controlled sale" means the sale of contraband, controlled substances, or other items 

219.30 that are material to a criminal investigation to a target offender that is initiated, manage4~ 

219.31 overseen, or participated in by law enforcement personnel with the knowledge of a 

219.32 confidential informant. 
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220.1 (e) "Mental harm" means a psychological injury that is not necessarily permanent but 

220.2 results in visibly demonstrable manifestations of a disorder of thought or mood that impairs 

220.3 a person's judgment or behavior. 

220.4 (f) "Target off ender" means the person suspected by law enforcement personnel to be 

220.5 implicated in criminal acts by the activities of a confidential informant. 

220.6 Subd. 2. Model policy. (a) By January 1, 2022, the board shall adopt a model policy 

220.7 addressing the use of confidential informants by law enforcement. The model policy must 

220.8 establish policies and procedures for the recruitment, control, and use of confidential 

220.9 informants. In developing the policy, the board shall consult with representatives of the 

220.10 Bureau of Criminal Apprehension, Minnesota Police ~hiefs Association, Minnesota Sheriffs 

220.11 Association, Minnesota Police and Peace Officers Association, Minnesota County Attorneys 

220.12 As_sociation, treatment centers for substance abuse, and mental health organizations. The 

220.13 model policy must include, at a minimum, the following: 

220.14 ( 1) information that the law enforcement agency shall maintain about each confidential 

220.15 informant that must include, at a minimum, an emergency contact for the informant in the 

220.16 event of the informant's physical or mental harm or death; 

220.17 (2) a process to advise a confidential informant of conditions, restrictions, and procedures 

220.18 associated with participating in the agency's investigative or intelligence gathering activities; 

220.19 (3) procedures for compensation to an informant that is commensurate with the value 

220.20 of the services and information provided and based on the level of the targeted offender, 

220.21 the amount of any seizure, and the significance of contributions made by the informant; 

220.22 (4) designated supervisory or command-level review and oversight in the use of a 

220.23 confidential informant;_ 

220.24 ( 5) limits or restrictions on off-duty association or social relationships by law enforcement 

220.25 agency personnel with a confidential informant; 

220.26 ( 6) limits or restrictions on the potential exclusion of an informant from engaging in a 

220.27 controlled buy or sale of a controlled substance if the informant is known by the law 

220.28 enforcement agency to: (i) be receiving in-patient or out-patient treatment administered by 

220.29 a licensed service provider for substance abuse; (ii) be participating in a treatment-based 

220.30 drug court program; or (iii) have experienced a drug overdose within the past year; 

220.31 (7) exclusion of an informant under the age of 18 years from participating in a controlled 

220.32 buy or sale of a controlled substance without the written consent of a parent or legal guardian, 

220.33 except that the informant may provide confidential information to a law enforcement agency; 
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221.1 (8) consideration of an informant's diagnosis of mental illness, substance abuse, or 

221.2 disability, and history of mental illness, substance abuse, or disability; 

221.3 (9) guidelines for the law enforcement agency to consider if the agency decides to 

221.4 establish a procedure to request an advocate from the county social services agency for an 

221.5 informant if the informant is an addict in recovery or possesses a physical or mental infirmity 

221.6 or other physical, mental, or emotional dysfunction that impairs the informant's ability to 

221. 7 understand instructions and make informed decisions, where the agency determines this 

221.8 process does not place the informant in any danger; 

221.9 (10) guidelines for the law enforcement agency to use to encourage prospective and 

221.10 current confidential informants who are known to be substance abusers or to be at risk for 

221.11 substance abuse to seek _2revention or treatment services; 

221.12 (11) reasonable protective measures for a confidential informant when law enforcement 

221.13 knows or should have known of a risk or threat of harm to a person serving as a confidential 

221.14 informant and the risk or threat of harm is a result of the informant's service to the law 

221.15 enforcement agency; 

221.16 (12) guidelines for the training and briefing of a confidential informant; 

221.17 (13) reasonable procedures to help protect the identity of a confidential informant during 

221.18 the time the person is acting as~ an infonpant; 

221.19 ( 14) procedures to deactivate a confidential informant that maintain the safety and 

221.20 anonymity of the in[~rmant; 

221.21 ( 15) optional procedures that the law enforcement agency may adopt relating to 

221.22 deactivated confidential informants to offer and provide assistance to them with physical, 

221.23 mental, or emotional health services; 

221.24 (16) a process to evaluate and report the criminal history and propensity for violence of 

221.25 any target offenders; and 

221.26 ( 1 7) guidelines for a written agreement between the confidential informant and the law 

221.27 enforcement agency that take into consideration, at a minimum, an informant's physical or 

221.28 mental infirmity or other physical, mental, or emotional dysfunction that impairs the 

221.29 informant's ability to knowingly contract or otherwise protect the informant's self-interest. 

221.30 (b) The board shall annually review and, as necessary, revise the model confidential 

221.31 informant policy in collaboration with representatives from the organizations listed under 

221.32 paragraph (a). 
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222.1 Subd. 3. Agency policies required. ( a) The chieflaw enforcement officer of every state 

222.2 and local law enforcement agency must establish and enforce a written policy governing 

222.3 the use of confidential informants. The policy musi!Je identical or, at a minimum, 

222.4 substantially similar to the new or revised model policy adopted by the board under 

222.5 subdivision 2. 

222.6 (b) Every state and local law enforcement agency must certify annually to the board that 

222.7 it has adopted a written policy in compliance with the board's model confidential informant 

222.8 policy. 

222.9 ~ The board shall assist the chief law enforcement officer of each state and local law 

222.10 enforcement agency in developing and implementing confidential informant policies under 

222.11 this subdivision. 

222.12 Subd. 4. Required in-service training. The chieflaw enforcement officer of every state 

222.13 and local law enforcement agency shall provide in-service training in the recruittr1ent, 

222.14 control, and use of confidential informants to every peace officer and part-time peace officer 

222.15 employed by the agency who the chief law enforcement officer determines is involved in 

222.16 working with confidential informants given the officer's responsibilities. The training shall 

222.17 comply with learning objectives based on the policies and procedures of the model policy 

222.18 developed and approved by the board. 

222.19 Subd. 5. Compliance reviews. The board has the authority to inspect state and local 

222.20 agency policies to ensure compliance with this section. The board may conduct the inspection 

222.21 based upon a complaint it receives about a particular agency or through a random selection 

222.22 process. 

222.23 Subd. 6. Licensing sanctions; injunctive relief. The board may impose licensing 

222.24 sanctions and seek injunctive relief under section 214.11 for failure to comply with the 

222.25 reguirements of this section. 

222.26 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment. 

222.27 Sec. 30. TITLE. 

222.28 Section 29 shall be known as "Matthew's Law." 

222.29 Sec. 31. RULEMAKING AUTHORITY. 

222.30 The executive director of the Peace Officer Standards and Training Board may adopt 

222.31 rules to carry out the purposes of section 3. 
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EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment." 

Delete the title and insert: 

"A bill for an act 

relating to public safety; modifying certain provisions relating to public safety, 
courts, corrections, sexual offenders, crime victims, background checks, forfeiture, 
law enforcement, human rights, and data practices; providing for task forces and 
working groups; requiring reports; providing for criminal penalties; appropriating 
money for courts, public safety, sentencing guidelines, corrections, human rights, 
Peace Officer Standards and Training (POST) Board, Private Detective Board, 
Guardian ad Litem Board, state auditor, Legislative Coordinating Commission, 
Department of Natural Resources, Uniform Laws Commission, Board on Judicial 
Standards, and Board of Public Defense; amending Minnesota Statutes 2020, 
sections 2. 722, subdivision 1; 13.41, subdivision 3; 13 .411, by adding a subdivision; 
13.552, by adding a subdivision; 13.7931, by adding a subdivision; 13.824, 
subdivision 6; 13.825, subdivision 9; 13.851, by adding a subdivision; 152.01, 
subdivision 18; 169.99, subdivision le, by adding a subdivision; 169A.55, 
subdivisions 2, 4; 169A.60, subdivisions 2, 3, 13; 169A.63, subdivisions 1, 7, 8, 
9, 10, 13, by adding subdivisions; 171.29, subdivision 1; 171.30, subdivision 1; 
171.306, subdivisions 2, 4; 214.10, subdivision 11; 241.016; 241.021, subdivision 
1, by adding subdivisions; 243.166, subdivision lb; 243.48, subdivision 1; 243.52; 
244.19, subdivision 3; 253B.18, subdivision Sa; 253D.14, subdivisions 2, 3, by 
adding a subdivision; 299A.52, subdivision 2; 299C.60; 299C.61, subdivisions 2, 
4, by adding subdivisions; 299C.62, subdivisions 1, 2, 3, 4, 6; 299C.63; 299C.72; 
299C.80, subdivision 3; 340A.504, subdivision 7; 357.021, subdivisions la, 6; 
363A.02, subdivision 1; 363A.08, subdivision 6; 363A.28, subdivisions 1, 6; 
363A.31, subdivision 2; 363A.33, subdivision 3; 363A.36, subdivisions 1, 2, 3, 4, 
by adding a subdivision; 363A.44, subdivisions 2, 4, 9; 401.06; 403.02, subdivision 
16; 403.03, subdivision 1; 403.07, subdivision2; 403.11, subdivision 1; 403.21, 
subdivisions 3, 12; 403.36, subdivision 1; 477A.03, subdivision 2b; 524.2-503; 
609.101, subdivision 5; 609.1095, subdivision 1; 609.131, subdivision 2; 609.135, 
subdivision 2; 609.221; 609.2325; 609.322, subdivisions 1, la; 609.324, 
subdivisions 1, 2, 4; 609.3241; 609.341, subdivisions 3, 7, 11, 12, 14, 15, by adding 
subdivisions; 609.342; 609.343; 609.344; 609.345; 609.3451; 609.3455; 609.3459; 
609.352, subdivision 4; 609.531, subdivision 1, by adding a subdivision; 609.5311, 
subdivisions 2, 3, 4; 609.5314, subdivisions 1, 2, 3, by adding a subdivision; 
609.5315, subdivisions 5, Sb, 6; 609.605, subdivision 2; 609.66, subdivision le; 
611.21; 611.27, subdivisions 9, 10, 11, 13, 15; 611A.039, subdivision 1; 611A.06, 
subdivision 1; 617.246, subdivisions 2, 3, 4; 617.247, subdivisions 3, 4; 626.14; 
626.842, subdivision 2; 626.8435, subdivision 1; 626.845, subdivision 3; 626.8457, 
subdivision 3; 626.8469, by adding a subdivision; 628.26; Laws 2016, chapter 
189, article 4, section 7; Laws 2017, chapter 95, article 1, section 11, subdivision 
7; Laws 2020, Seventh Special Session chapter 2, article 2, section 4; Laws 2021, 
First Special Session chapter 4, article 9, sections 1; 2; 3; 4; 5; Laws 2021, First 
Special Session chapter 5, article 3, sections 1; 2; 3; 4; 5; proposing coding for 
new law in Minnesota Statutes, chapters 3; 84; 260B; 299A; 299F; 326B; 604A; 
609; 61 lA; 626; 634; repealing Minnesota Statutes 2020, sections 253D.14, 
subdivision 4; 609.324, subdivision 3; 609.5317; 611A.0385." 
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