Legislative Commission on Pensions and Retirement

600 State Office Building

100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd.

St. Paul, MN 55155-1201

HOUSE MEMBERS

Representative Kaohly Vang Her, Chair Representative Tim O'Driscoll, Secretary Representative Kaela Berg Representative Ethan Cha Representative Danny Nadeau Representative Michael Nelson Representative Dan Wolgamott SENATE MEMBERS Senator Nick A. Frentz, Vice Chair Senator Jeff R. Howe Senator Erin P. Murphy Senator Carla J. Nelson Senator Sandra L. Pappas Senator Jordan Rasmusson Senator Judy Seeberger

COMMISSION STAFF

Susan Lenczewski, Executive Director Chad Burkitt, Deputy Director Lisa Diesslin, Commission Assistant Phone: 651-296-2750 TDD: 651-296-9896 Email: lcpr@lcpr.mn.gov Website: www.lcpr.mn.gov

January 23, 2023

Room 120, State Capitol

MINUTES

Call to order: Representative Michael Nelson, 2021-2022 Vice Chair, called the meeting to order at 8:35 a.m.

Commission Members Present:

Representatives Her, Berg, Cha, Nadeau, Nelson, O'Driscoll, Wolgamott Senators Frentz, Howe, Nelson, Murphy, Pappas, Rasmusson, Seeberger

Agenda Items

Election of 2023-2024 Commission officers - Chair, Vice Chair, and Secretary

Rep. Berg nominated Kaohly Her as Chair. MOTION PREVAILED.

Rep. Her assumed the chair.

Sen. Pappas nominated Nick Frentz as Vice Chair. MOTION PREVAILED.

Rep. Nelson nominated Tim O'Driscoll as Secretary. MOTION PREVAILED.

Approval of May 16, 2022, meeting minutes

Rep. O'Driscoll moved approval of the May 16, 2022, meeting minutes. MOTION PREVAILED.

Member and staff introductions

Members and staff introduced themselves.

Brief overview of the Commission and Minnesota's public pension statutes and structure

Susan Lenczewski, Executive Director, Legislative Commission on Pensions and Retirement (LCPR), reviewed the presentation.

Presentation by the Commission actuary, VIA Actuarial Solutions, on the work of the actuary and actuarial concepts

Mark W. Schulte, President and Consulting Actuary, and Emily M. Knutson, Consulting Actuary, VIA Actuarial Solutions, reviewed their presentation.

Presentations by the Minnesota State Retirement System (MSRS) and Public Employees Retirement Association (PERA) executive directors on FY22 actuarial status

Erin Leonard, Executive Director, MSRS, reviewed the MSRS portion of the presentation.

PERA's portion of the presentation was rescheduled to the January 30, 2023, meeting.

Adjournment

The meeting adjourned at 9:55 a.m.