Minutes Legislative Audit Commission July 25, 2024

Members Present:

Members Absent
Senator D. Scott Dibble

Representative Patti Anderson Representative Emma Greenman Representative Rick Hansen Representative Steven Jacob Representative Fue Lee Representative Duane Quam Senator Calvin K. Bahr Senator Steve S. Drazkowski Senator Mark W. Koran Senator Ann H. Rest Senator Tou Xiong

Representative Rick Hansen, Chair, called the Legislative Audit Commission meeting to order at 10:00 a.m. Chair Hansen said the meeting's purpose was to hear the Office of the Legislative Auditor's (OLA's) presentation of the performance audit, *Retroactive Pay Adjustments for Law Enforcement Employees at the Departments of Commerce, Corrections, Natural Resources, and Public Safety.*

Chair Hansen introduced Judy Randall, Legislative Auditor, and Lori Leysen, Deputy Legislative Auditor for the Financial Audit Division. In her introductory remarks, Ms. Randall said that the report is related to retroactive pay adjustments for state employees who are members of the Minnesota Law Enforcement Association (MLEA) and that the report was initiated based on a number of complaints and concerns OLA received from MLEA members. Ms. Randall turned to Ms. Leysen for a detailed presentation.

Ms. Leysen said the audit found that Minnesota Management and Budget (MMB) and the departments of Corrections (DOC), Natural Resources (DNR), and Public Safety (DPS) did not have adequate internal controls, and that DOC, DNR, and DPS did not comply with legal requirements. However, the audit found that the Department of Commerce did have adequate internal controls and did comply with legal requirements. Ms. Leysen provided specific details of the inaccurate payments made at DOC, DNR, and DPS, and explained the report's recommendations for DOC, DNR, DPS, and MMB.

Chair Hansen invited agency representatives forward to provide brief statements and respond to members' questions. Those present were the following: (1) from MMB were Erin Campbell, Commissioner; Britta Reitan, Deputy Commissioner, Budget Services Division; and Dorilee Leland, Enterprise Director, Employee Classification and Compensation; (2) from DOC was Paul Schnell, Commissioner; (3) from DNR was Sarah Strommen, Commissioner; and (4) from DPS were Bob Johnson, Commissioner; and Shawn Kremer, Chief Financial Officer.

Chair Hansen adjourned the meeting at 11:46 a.m.

Representative Rick Hansen, Chair

Shelly Gilb, Recording Secretary