## LEGISLATIVE COMMISSION ON PLANNING AND FISCAL POLICY

## **MEETING MINUTES**

October 30, 2013

## Members Present:

Representative Paul Thissen, Chair Representative Lyndon Carlson Representative Kurt Daudt Representative Greg Davids Representative Mary Liz Holberg Representative Diane Loeffler Representative Erin Murphy Senator Tom Bakk, Vice Chair Senator Tony Lourey Senator Sandy Pappas Senator Katie Sieben Senator Rod Skoe

## Members Excused:

Representative Ann Lenczewski Representative Paul Marquart Senator Richard Cohen Senator David Hann Senator Scott Newman Senator David Senjem

Representative Thissen called the meeting of the Legislative Commission on Planning and Fiscal Policy to order at 2:11 pm on Wednesday, October 30, 2013 in Room 10 of the State Office Building.

A quorum was present.

Representative Murphy moved approval of the September 30, 2013 meeting minutes. THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Ryan Baumtrag, Financial Planning Director, Minnesota Management and Budget, presented on the Price of Government Report.

Bill Marx, Chief Fiscal Analyst, House Fiscal Analysis Department, presented on state spending trends.

Peter Brickwedde, Director of Government Affairs, Minnesota Department of Commerce, presented on the Automobile Theft Prevention Advisory Board.

Members agreed to recommend the necessary changes be made in law so the Automobile Theft Prevention Advisory Board can continue.

Alison Groebner, Assistant Director of Government Affairs, Minnesota Department of Commerce, presented on the Real Estate Appraiser Advisory Board.

Members agreed to recommend the repeal of the Real Estate Appraiser Advisory Board.

Members also agreed to recommend the repeal of the Energy Advisory Task Force and the Energy Research and Education Advisory Committee.

Dan Wolf, Assistant Executive Secretary, Minnesota Public Utilities Commission, and Bret Eknes, Supervisor, Energy Facilities Planning Unit, Minnesota Public Utilities Commission, presented on the Power Plant Siting Advisory Task Force and the Power Plant Siting Scientific Task Force.

Members agreed to recommend the Power Plant Siting Advisory Task Force and Power Planet Siting Scientific Task Force continue.

Raeone Magnuson, Director Office of Justice Programs, Minnesota Department of Public Safety, presented on the Battered Women and Domestic Abuse Advisory Council.

Members agreed to recommend the repeal of the Battered Women and Domestic Abuse Advisory Council.

Drew Evans, Assistant Superintendent, Bureau of Criminal Apprehension and Mark Dunaski, Assistant Commissioner, Department of Public Safety, presented on the Financial Crimes Advisory Board and the Financial Crimes Task Force.

Members agreed to recommend the Financial Crimes Advisory Board and the Financial Crimes Task Force continue.

Mark Dunaski, Assistant Commissioner, Minnesota Department of Public Safety, presented on the Fire Protection Systems Advisory Committee.

Members agreed to recommend the repeal of the Fire Protection Systems Advisory Committee.

Mark Dunaski, Assistant Commissioner, Minnesota Department of Public Safety, presented on the Fire Service Advisory Committee.

Members agreed to recommend the Fire Service Advisory Committee be reestablished in statute.

Mark Dunaski, Assistant Commissioner, Minnesota Department of Public Safety, presented on the Forensic Laboratory Advisory Board.

Members agreed to recommend the Forensic Laboratory Advisory Board not be continued.

Jackie Mines, Director, Electronic Communication Networks, presented on the Statewide Radio Board advisory groups.

Members agreed to recommend the Statewide Radio Board advisory groups continue.

Charlene Briner, Chief of Staff, Minnesota Department of Education, presented on the Minnesota Academic Excellence Foundation.

Members agreed to recommend the repeal of the Minnesota Academic Excellence Foundation.

Daron Korte, Director of Government Relations, Minnesota Department of Education, presented on the Advisory Committee for the Minnesota Braille and Talking Book Library, the Minnesota Resource Center Advisory Committee: Blind/Visually Impaired, the Minnesota Resource Center Advisory Committee: Deaf/Hard of Hearing, the Nonpublic Education Council, and the P-20 Education Partnership.

Members agreed to recommend the Minnesota Braille and Talking Book Library, the Minnesota Resource Center Advisory Committee: Blind/Visually Impaired, the Minnesota Resource Center Advisory Committee: Deaf/Hard of Hearing, the Nonpublic Education Council, and the P-20 Education Partnership continue.

John Jaschke, Executive Director, Minnesota Board of Water and Soil Resources, presented on the Minnesota River Board Advisory Committee.

Members agreed to hold off on making a decision on whether to keep or repeal the Minnesota River Board Advisory Committee.

Bob Meier, Director of Policy and Governments Relations, Minnesota Department of Natural Resources, presented on the Cuyuna Country State Recreation Area Citizens Advisory Council and the Off-Highway Vehicle Safety Advisory Council.

Members agreed to hold off on making a decision on whether to keep or repeal the Cuyuna Country State Recreation Area Citizens Advisory Council and the Off-Highway Vehicle Safety Advisory Council.

Kirk Koudelka, Assistant Commissioner, Minnesota Pollution Control Agency, presented on the Small Business Air Quality Compliance Advisory Council and the Subsurface Sewage Treatment Systems Implementation Task Force.

Members agreed to recommend the Small Business Air Quality Compliance Advisory Council and the Subsurface Sewage Treatment Systems Implementation Task Force continue.

Tom Henkel, Planning and Program Management Division Director, Minnesota Department of Transportation, presented on the Council on Transportation Access.

Members agreed to recommend the Council on Transportation Access continue.

Erik Rudeen, State Legislative Liaison, Minnesota Department of Transportation, presented on the County State-Aid Highway Advisory Committee and the Municipal State-Aid Street System Advisory Committee.

Members agreed to recommend the County State-Aid Highway Committee and Municipal State-Aid Street System Advisory Committee continue and that the two committees are combined into one location in statute.

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 4:42 pm.