LEGISLATIVE COMMISSION ON PLANNING AND FISCAL POLICY

MEETING MINUTES

September 30, 2013

Members Present:

Representative Paul Thissen, Chair Senator Tom Bakk, Vice Chair Representative Lyndon Carlson Representative Kurt Daudt Representative Mary Liz Holberg Representative Ann Lenczewski Representative Diane Loeffler Senator David Hann Senator Tony Lourey Senator Scott Newman Senator David Senjem Senator Katie Sieben

Members Excused:

Representative Greg Davids Representative Paul Marquart Representative Erin Murphy Senator Richard Cohen Senator Sandy Pappas Senator Rod Skoe

Representative Thissen called the meeting of the Legislative Commission on Planning and Fiscal Policy to order at 9:12 am on Monday, September 30, 2013 in Room 10 of the State Office Building.

A quorum was present.

Representative Carlson moved approval of the July 25, 2013 and August 21, 2013 meeting minutes. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED.</u>

Mark Shepard, Legislative Analyst, House Research Department, provided an overview of Minnesota Statutes, Section 3.885, Subdivision 11, the new language regarding the Commission's review of advisory groups, and provided an overview of the general laws governing advisory groups.

John Edman, Director, Explore Minnesota, presented on the Explore Minnesota Tourism Council.

Tricia Grimes, Policy Analyst, Office of Higher Education, presented on the Higher Education Data Advisory Task Force and the Student Advisory Council.

Mike McElhiney, Legislative Director, Minnesota Department of Veterans Affairs, and Brad Lindsey, Senior Director of Programs and Services, Minnesota Department of Veterans Affairs, presented on the Higher Education Veterans Assistance Steering Committee.

Michael Gallucci, Deputy Commissioner, Minnesota Department of Veterans Affairs, presented on the Veterans Health Care Advisory Council.

Nathan Moracco, Director, Employee Insurance Division, Minnesota Management and budget presented on the Minnesota Employees Insurance Program Advisory Committee and the Public Employee Insurance Labor/Management Committee.

Kerstin Larson, Minnesota Management and Budget, presented on the Pay-for-Performance Oversight Committee.

Susan VonMosch, Assistant Commissioner for Tax Policy, Minnesota Department of Revenue, presented on the Property Tax Working Group.

Paul Wilson, Tax Research Director, Minnesota Department of Revenue, presented on the Tax Information Sample Data Committee.

Eric Willette, Property Tax Research Director, Minnesota Department of Revenue, presented on the Property Tax Microdata Group.

Jon Eichten, Legislative Director, MN.IT Services, and Jay Wyant, Chief Accessibility Information Officer, MN.IT Services, presented on the Advisory Committee for Technology Standards for Accessibility and Usability.

Jon Eichten, Legislative Director, MN.IT Services, presented on the E-Govenrment Advisory Council.

Dan Ross, Chief Geospatial Information Officer, MN.IT Services, presented on the Geospatial Information Advisory Council.

Jon Eichten, Legislative Director, MN.IT Services, presented on the Technology Advisory Committee.

Representative Carlson moved to remove the Higher Education Veterans Assistance Steering Committee, the Minnesota Employees Insurance Program Advisory Committee, and the Public Employee Insurance Labor/Management Committee from statute. <a href="https://doi.org/10.1007/jha.2007/jha

The meeting was adjourned at 11:05 am.