2005-2006 Senate Transportation Committee Tuesday, April 4, 2006 3:00 PM Room G-15

Present

Absent

Moua

Bonoff Chaudhary Day Dibble Johnson, D.E. Jungbauer Koch Langseth Marko McGinn Murphy Ortman Reiter Rest Robling Senjem Vickerman Wiger

Sen. Murphy called the meeting to order at 3:19 pm.

S.F. 3455 – Bakk

Handout A was distributed.

Testifying in Support:

Ray Bohn, ATV Assoc. of MN 540 Diffley Rd, St Paul, MN 55123

Testifying in Opposition:

Sen. John Marty

Gene Larimore, Jack Pine Coalition 1377 Lincoln Ave, Saint Paul, MN

Testifying/Answering Questions:

Tim Kelly, DNR

Erik Rudeen, Mn/DOT

Dep. Comm. Mark Holsten, DNR

Sen. Marko moved that the bill be passed with no recommendation to the Committee on Taxes. The motion prevailed on a voice vote.

S.F. 2930 – Day

Handouts B, C, D, and E was distributed.

Testifying in Support:

Bob McFarlin, Mn/DOT

Pat Hentges, Mankato City Manager PO Box 3368, Makato, MN

Mayor Jim Hovland, City of Edina 4801 W. 50th St. Edina, MN

Mayor Mark Steffenson, City of Maple Grove 7588 Zanzibar Lane, Maple Grove, MN

Paul St. Martin, City of St. Paul 15 West Kellogg Boulevard, St. Paul, MN

Councilman Mark Trepanier, Brooklyn Park 10007 Northwood Ln., Brooklyn Park, MN

Testifying in Opposition:

Leslie Davis, Concerned Citizen P.O. Box 11688, Minneapolis, MN

Testifying/Answering Questions:

Kevin Gray, Mn/DOT

Sen. Robling moved that the bill be recommended to pass and sent to Finance. Sen. Langseth requested a roll call vote. The vote was as follows:

AYES (8): Day, Jungbauer, Koch, McGinn, Ortman, Reiter, Robling, Senjem

NAYS (9): Murphy, Bonoff, Chaudhary, Dibble, Johnson, DE, Langseth, Marko, Vickwerman, Wiger

ABSENT (2): Moua, Rest

On a vote of 8 ayes to 9 nays, the motion failed.

S.F. 3331 - Sparks

Sen. Bonoff moved that the bill be passed and sent to Finance. The motion prevailed on a voice vote.

S.F. 2703 - Hottinger

Handout F was distributed.

Testifying:

Dan Zander, Concerned Citizen Waseca, MN

Betsy Parker, Mn/DOT

Sen. Langseth moved that the bill be placed at the top of the Committee's Trunk Highway bonding priority list. The motion was passed on a voice vote.

Sen. Murphy adjourned the meeting at 6:07.

Senator Steve Murphy, Chair

Beau Berentson, Committee Secretary

SENATE TRANSPORTATION COMMITTEE TUESDAY, APRIL 4, 2006 ROOM G-15 CAPITOL 3:00 PM

AGENDA

SF 3455 (Bakk): All terrain vehicles gasoline fuel tax attributable amounts modification

- Senator John Marty
- Gene Larimore, The Jack Pine Coalition

SF 2703 (Hottinger): Transportation department Mankato headquarters\facility construction bond issue and appropriation

- Dick Post, Facilities Program Director, MnDOT
- Pat Hentges, Mankato City Administrator
- Dan Zander

SF 2930 (Day): Trunk highway projects bond issue and appropriations; motor vehicle sales tax revenues deposit requirements modification

- Pat Hentges, Mankato City Administrator
- Leslie Davis
- Mayor Jim Hovland, City of Edina, Chair of I-494 Commission
- Mayor Mark Steffenson, City of Maple Grove
- Mayor Steve Lampi, City of Brooklyn Park
- Paul St. Martin, City of St. Paul traffic engineer