2005-2006 Senate Transportation Committee Thursday, March 30, 2006 3:00 PM Room G-15

Present

Absent

McGinn Moua Ortman

Bonoff Chaudhary Day Dibble Johnson, D.E. Jungbauer Koch Langseth Marko Murphy Reiter Rest Robling Senjem Vickerman Wiger

Sen. Murphy called the meeting to order 3:10 pm.

S.F. 3526 – Bachmann

Sen. Reiter offered the A-2 amendment, which passed on a voice vote.

Testifying in Support: Mayor John

Mayor John Bergeson, City of Lino Lakes 600 Town Center Parkway, Lino Lakes, MN

Dave Peterson, Lino Lake Chief of Police 600 Town Center Parkway, Lino Lakes, MN

Jennifer Solvera, Concerned Citizen Lino Lakes, MN

Testifying in Opposition:

Sue Groth, Mn/DOT

Sen. Reiter moved that the bill be recommended to pass and sent to the Floor. The motion prevailed on a voice vote.

S.F. 3331 - Sparks

Testifying in Support: Jim Pearson, Department of Commerce

Sen. Vickerman offered the A-1 amendment, which passed on a voice vote.

Sen. Bonoff moved that the bill be recommended to pass and sent to the Floor. The motion prevailed on a voice vote.

S.F. 3597 – Saxhaug

Handouts A, B, and C were distributed.

Sen. Bonoff offered the A-1 amendment, which passed on a voice vote.

Testifying in Support:	Lee Sunberg, MN Rural Electric Assoc 11640 73 rd Ave N, Maple Grove, MN
	Bruce Kleven, MN Assoc of Co-Ops 6 W 5 th St, Ste 700, St. Paul, MN
Testifying in Opposition:	Brian Sweeney, BNSF Railway 325 Cedar St., Ste. 620, St. Paul, MN
	Phil Qualy, United Transportation Union 411 Main St, Ste 212, St. Paul, MN

Sen. Senjem moved that the bill be recommended to pass and sent to the Floor. The motion failed on a voice vote.

Sen. Rest took the chair at 4:25 PM.

S.F. 3450 - Murphy

Sen. Murphy offered the A-1 amendment, which passed on a voice vote.

Testifying in Support:	Joel Ulland, National MS Society
	200 12th Ave S, Minneapolis, MN

Arlene McCarthy, Met Council

Sen. Murphy moved that the bill be recommended to pass and sent to the Floor. The motion prevailed on a voice vote.

Sen. Murphy took the chair at 4:12 pm.

Sen. Rest adjourned the meeting at 4:30 pm.

Senator Steve Murphy, Chair

Beau Berentson, Committee Secretary

SENATE TRANSPORTATION COMMITTEE THURSDAY, MARCH 30, 2006 ROOM G-15 CAPITOL 3:00 PM

AGENDA

SF 3331 (Sparks): Petroleum tank release cleanup fund transport vehicles reimbursement modifications

• Pat Sexton, Minnesota Department of Commerce

SF 3450 (Murphy): Metropolitan council special transportation service requirements duties expansion

SF 3597 (Saxhaug): Resolution for support of the railroad antitrust and competition enhancement act

• Philip Qualy, United Transportation Union

SF 3526 (Bachmann): Shawn Silvera memorial highway designation