2005-2006 Senate Transportation Finance Division Tuesday, March 14, 2006 3:00 PM Room G-15

Present

Absent

Marko

Moua

Chaudhary

Bonoff

Day

Dibble

Johnson, D.E.

Jungbauer

Koch

Langseth

McGinn

Murphy

Ortman

Reiter

Rest

Robling

Senjem

Vickerman

Wiger

Sen. Murphy called the meeting to order 3:14 pm.

S.F. 2444 - Skoe

Handouts A, B, C, and D were distributed.

Testifying in Support:

Mayor Tom Kuntz, City of Owatonna

Chris Raddatz, MN Farm Bureau P.O. Box 64370, St. Paul, MN 55164

Testifying in Opposition:

Rick Krueger, Minnesotans for Better Roads and

Transit

11605 177th St, Lakeville, MN 55044

Sherry Munyon, Minnesota Public Transit Assoc.

Suite 310, 525 Park St, St Paul, MN 55103

Steven Sasnow, Minnesota Senior Federation 1885 University Avenue, Suite 171, St. Paul, MN

Sen. Senjem moved that the bill be recommended to pass and sent to the Rules committee. Sen. Rest asked for a roll call on the motion.

Sen. Dibble moved to amend the motion to instead refer the bill to the Taxes committee. Sen. Senjem asked for a roll call on the amendment.

A roll call was taken on the Dibble amendment:

YEAS (3): Bonoff, Dibble, Rest

NAYS (13): Day, Johnson, DE, Jungbauer, Koch, Langseth, McGinn, Murphy,

Ortman, Reiter, Robling, Senjem, Vickerman, Wiger

ABSENT (3): Chaudhary, Marko, Moua

The amendment failed on a vote of 3 to 13.

A roll call was taken on the Senjem motion:

YEAS (11): Day, Johnson, DE, Jungbauer, Koch, Langseth, McGinn, Murphy,

Ortman, Reiter, Robling, Senjem, Vickerman

NAYS (5): Bonoff, Dibble, Murphy, Rest, Wiger

ABSENT (3): Chaudhary, Marko, Moua

The motion prevailed on a vote of 11 to 5.

S.F. 1070 - Murphy

Handouts E, F, G, and H were distributed.

Sen. Murphy offered the A-1 amendment, which passed on a voice vote.

Testifying in Support:

Commissioner Michael Campion

Department of Public Safety

Kathy Swanson, Director of the Office of Traffic

Safety

Department of Public Safety

Loni Kjos, Concerned Citizen 621 Maple St, Alexandria, MN

Tom Kummrow, Office of Traffic Safety

Department of Public Safety

Mike Sandmann, Minnesota Physical Therapy Assn 6598 Horch Dr., Lino Lakes, MN

Steve Frank, AAA Minneapolis 5400 Auto Club Way, St. Louis Park, MN

Sen. Murphy moved that the bill be recommended to pass and sent to the Senate floor. The motion prevailed on a voice vote.

S.F. 1811 – Koering

Handouts I and J were distributed.

Sen. Johnson moved the A-1 delete all amendment, which passed on a voice vote.

Testifying in Support:

Craig Lietha, E-Ride Industries

3171 92nd Ave, Princeton, MN

Provided testimony:

Michele Tucker, Minnesota State Patrol

The bill was laid on the table.

S.F. 2474 - Senjem

Sen. Senjem offered the following oral amendment: On 1.15, delete "truck" and insert "department emergency vehicle". After 1.16, insert "Amend the title accordingly." The amendment was passed on a voice vote.

Sen. Langseth moved the bill to the floor. The motion prevailed on a voice vote.

S.F. 2683 – Johnson, DE

Handout K was distributed.

Testifying in Support:

Bruce Peterson, City of Willmar 333 6th St SW, Willmar, MN

Ray Rought, MN/DOT Aeronautics

Sen. Murphy moved that the bill be moved to the Finance committee without a recommendation to pass. The motion prevailed on a voice vote.

S.F. 2642 – Dibble

Handout L was distributed.

Testifying in Support:

Donny Harder, Concerned Student

4601 Emerson Ave S, Minneapolis, MN

Al Benney, Minnesotans for Safe Driving 10435 Maple Valley Dr. Maple Grove, MN

Sen. Dibble moved that the bill be passed to the Crime Prevention Committee. The motion prevailed on a voice vote.

S.F. 2393 - Murphy

Testifying in Support:

Robert Snitgen, Military Order of the Purple Heart

14 Berna Blvd, Wabasha, MN

Al Holten, Military Order of the Purple Heart

RR #4, Lake City, MN

Sen. Murphy moved that the bill be passed to the floor. The motion prevailed on a voice vote.

Sen. Murphy adjourned the meeting at 6:22 pm.

Senator Steve Murphy, Chair

Bear Berentson, Committee Secretary

SENATE TRANSPORTATION COMMITTEE TUESDAY, MARCH 14, 2006 ROOM G-15 CAPITOL 3:00 PM

AGENDA

SF 2444 (Skoe): Constitutional amendment for motor vehicle sales tax revenues dedication to transportation purposes

- Mayor Tom Kuntz, City of Owatonna
- Rick Krueger, Vice President, Minnesotans for Better Roads and Transit
- Sherry Munyon, MN Public Transit Association
- Steven Sasnow, MN Senior Federation

SF 1070 (Murphy): Seat belt use law expansion, fine increase and violation as primary offense

- Michael Campion, Commissioner, MN Department of Public Safety
- Kathy Swanson, Director, Office of Traffic Safety, MN Department of Public Safety
- Loni Cjos, Alexandria, MN
- Tom Kummrow, Fergus Falls, MN
- Mike Sandmann, PT, Director of Physical Medicine, Bethesda Rehabilitation Hospital, HealthEast Care System
- Steve Frank, President and CEO, AAA Minneapolis

SF 1811 (Koering): Neighborhood electric vehicles use on local roadways

SF 2393 (Murphy): Special veterans motorcycle license plates for combat wounded veterans

• Robert Snitgen and Al Holten, Chapter 1977, The Military Order of the Purple Heart

SF 2474 (Senjem): Firefighters communication headsets use authority

SF 2642 (Dibble): Moving violation while operating mobile phone fine increase

- Donny Harder, 8th Grader at Lake Harriet Community School
- Al Benney, President, Minnesotans for Safe Driving

SF 2683 (Johnson, D.E.): Willmar state airports fund repayment requirement prohibition