04/29/05

[COUNSEL] GK

Senator moves to amend S.F. No. 2276 as follows: 1 2 Page 10, after line 8, insert: "\$200,000 the first year and \$200,000 3 the second year are from the natural 4 resources fund for an off-highway 5 vehicle safety and conservation grant 6 Of this amount, \$180,000 each 7 program. year is from the all-terrain vehicle 8 account; \$10,000 each year is from the off-highway motorcycle account; and 9 10 \$10,000 each year is from the off-road 11 12 vehicle account. Any unencumbered balance does not cancel at the end of 13 14 the first year and is available for the second year." 15 Page 60, line 10, strike everything before the period and 16 insert "revolving loan account established in section 41B.06" 17 18 Page 83, delete section 83 Pages 85 to 91, delete sections 87 to 94 19 20 Pages 108 to 118 delete sections 121 to 127 Page 169, after line 11, insert: 21 "Sec. 42. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 120A.40, is 22 amended to read: 23 24 120A.40 [SCHOOL CALENDAR.] (a) Except for learning programs during summer, flexible 25 learning year programs authorized under sections 124D.12 to 26 27 124D.127, and learning year programs under section 124D.128, a district must not commence an elementary or secondary school 28 29 year before September-1 Labor Day, except as provided under 30 paragraph (b). Days devoted to teachers' workshops may be held 31 before September-1 Labor Day. Districts that enter into 32 cooperative agreements are encouraged to adopt similar school calendars. 33 34 (b) A district may begin the school year on any day before 35 September-1 Labor Day to accommodate a construction or 36 remodeling project of \$400,000 or more affecting a district 37 school facility." 38 Renumber the sections in sequence and correct the internal 39 references

40

Amend the title accordingly

Senator Cohen for the Committee on Finance introduced- -S.F. No. 2276: Under the Rules of the Senate, Laid Over One Day

A bill for an act

relating to state government; appropriating money for environmental, natural resources, agricultural, and economic development purposes; establishing and modifying certain programs; providing for regulation of certain activities and practices; providing for accounts, assessments, and fees; amending Minnesota Statutes 2004, sections 11A.24, subdivision 6; 13.635, by adding a subdivision; 16A.125, subdivision 5; 17.03, subdivision 13; 17.117, by adding a subdivision; 17B.03, subdivision 1; 18B.05 subdivision 1; 18B.08, subdivision 4; 18B.26, subdivision 3; 18B.31, subdivision 5; 18B.315 18B.315, subdivision 6; 18B.32, subdivision 6; 18B.33, subdivision 7; 18B.34, subdivision 5; 18C.141, subdivisions 1, 3, 5; 18C.425, subdivision 6; 18E.03, Subdivisions 1, 3, 5; 18C.425, Subdivision 6; 16E.03, subdivision 2; 18G.10, subdivisions 5, 7; 18G.16, subdivisions 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 14; 18H.07, subdivisions 1, 2, 3; 19.64, subdivision 1; 25.341, subdivision 2; 25.39, subdivisions 1, 4; 41A.09, subdivisions 2a, 3a, by adding subdivisions; 41B.046, subdivision 5; 41B.049, subdivision 2; 60A.14, subdivision 1; 60K.55, subdivision 2; 72A.20, by adding a subdivision; 72B.04, subdivision 10; 82B.09, subdivision 1: 84.027 subdivisions 12, 13, 15; subdivision 1; 84.027, subdivisions 12, 13, 15; 84.0911, subdivision 2; 84.780; 84.788, subdivision 3, by adding a subdivision; 84.791, subdivision 2; 84.798, by adding a subdivision; 84.82, subdivision 2, by adding a subdivision; 84.8205, subdivisions 1, 3, 4, 6; 84.83, subdivisions 3, 4; 84.86, subdivision 1; 84.922, subdivision 2, by adding a subdivision; 84.925, subdivision 1; 84D.03, subdivision 4; 85.054, subdivision 1, by adding a subdivision; 85.055, subdivision 2, by adding a subdivision; 85.43; 86B.415, by adding a subdivision; 88.6435, subdivision 4; 89.039, subdivision 1; 89.37, by adding a subdivision; 90.195; 97A.055, subdivision 4b; 97A.061, subdivision 1; 97A.075, subdivision 3; 97A.4742, subdivision 4; 97A.482; 97A.485, subdivision 7; 97A.551, by adding a subdivision; 97B.015, subdivision 7; 97B.025; 97C.085; 103E.081, by adding subdivisions; 103G.271, subdivision 6; 103G.301, subdivision 2; 103G.615, subdivision 2; 103I.681, subdivision 11; 115.03, subdivision 4a; 115.551; 115B.48, subdivision 8; 115B.49, by adding a subdivision; 115C.07, subdivision 3; 115C.09, subdivisions 3h, 3j; 115C.13;

46

1

2

3

1 116J.571; 116J.572; 116J.574; 116J.575; 116L.20, subdivision 1; 116L.30, subdivisions 1, 2, by adding subdivisions; 1160.09, subdivision 1a; 116P.05, subdivision 2; 129D.02, subdivision 3; 160.232; 2 3 4 168.1296, subdivision 1; 176.136, subdivision 1a; 183.41, by adding a subdivision; 183.411, subdivisions 5 6 2a, 3; 183.42; 183.44, subdivision 1; 183.51, subdivision 2, by adding a subdivision; 183.545; 7 8 183.57; 216B.2424, subdivisions 1, 2, 5a, 6, 8, by 9 10 adding a subdivision; 223.17, subdivision 3; 231.16; 11 232.22, subdivision 3; 236.02, subdivision 4; 237.11; 237.295, subdivisions 1, 2; 237.701, subdivision 1; 239.011, subdivision 2; 239.05, subdivision 10b, by adding a subdivision; 239.09; 239.101, subdivision 3; 12 13 14 239.75, subdivisions 1, 5; 239.761; 239.77, by adding 15 a subdivision; 239.79, subdivision 4; 239.791, subdivisions 1, 7, 8, 15; 239.792; 282.08; 282.38, subdivision 1; 296A.01, subdivisions 2, 7, 8, 14, 1 20, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 28; 296A.18, subdivision 2; 16 17 18 19, 19 298.22, by adding a subdivision; 357.021, subdivisions la, 2; 462.357, subdivision le; 469.050, subdivision 20 21 22 5; 469.1082, subdivision 1; 469.310, subdivision 11; 469.319, subdivision 1, by adding a subdivision; 469.320, subdivision 3; 469.330, subdivision 11; 23 24 25 469.340, subdivision 1; 473.197, subdivision 4; 26 474A.061, subdivision 2c; 517.08, subdivisions 1b, 1c; Laws 1999, chapter 224, section 7, as amended; Laws 2003, chapter 128, article 1, section 9, subdivision 6; Laws 2003, chapter 128, article 1, section 172; 27 28 29 proposing coding for new law in Minnesota Statutes, 30 chapters 25; 41B; 45; 84; 86B; 97C; 103F; 116H; 116P; 181; 219; 237; 325F; 354B; 446A; 473; proposing coding for new law as Minnesota Statutes, chapters 59B; 87A; 31 32 33 repealing Minnesota Statutes 2004, sections 18B.065, 34 subdivision 5; 19.64, subdivision 4a; 41B.046, 35 36 subdivision 3; 84.901; 115B.49, subdivision 4a; 37 116J.573; 178.12; 239.05, subdivisions 6a, 6b; 473.156; 473.197, subdivisions 1, 2, 3, 5; Laws 1999, 38 chapter 125, section 4, as amended. 39 40 BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF MINNESOTA: 41 ARTICLE 1 42 ENVIRONMENT, NATURAL RESOURCES, AND AGRICULTURE [ENVIRONMENT, NATURAL RESOURCES, AND AGRICULTURE 43 Section 1. APPROPRIATIONS.] 44 45 The sums in the columns marked "APPROPRIATIONS" are added to, or if shown in parentheses, are subtracted from the 46 appropriations to the specific agencies in 2005 S.F. No. 1879, 47

48 article 6, if enacted. The appropriations are from the general 49 fund, unless another fund is named, and are available for the 50 fiscal year indicated for each purpose. The figures "2006" and 51 "2007," where used in this article, mean that the appropriation or appropriations listed under them are available for the year 52 ending June 30, 2006, or June 30, 2007, respectively. The term 53 "the first year" means the year ending June 30, 2006, and the 54 term "the second year" means the year ending June 30, 2007. The 55

Article 1

Section 1

1 biennium is fiscal years 2006 and 2007.

2	SUMMARY BY FUND				
3		2006	2007	TOTAL	
4	General \$	\(77,000)\$	(845,000)\$	(922,000)	
5	Environmental	8,832,000	9,139,000	17,971,000	
6 7	Natural Resources	9,741,000	8,255,000	17,996,000	
8	Game and Fish	3,262,000	3,111,000	6,373,000	
9 10	Great Lakes Protection	28,000	-0-	28,000	
11 12	Environment and Natural Resources	18,829,000	18,829,000	37,658,000	
13	Remediation	35,000	35,000	70,000	
14	Bond Proceeds	18,000,000	-0-	18,000,000	
15	Permanent School	50,000	50,000	100,000	
16	TOTAL \$	58,700,000 \$	38,574,000 \$	97,274,000	
17 18	Sec. 2. POLLUTION CO AGENCY	NTROL	· .		
19 20	Subdivision 1. Total Appropriation		\$6,428,000	\$6,735,000	
21	Summary	by Fund			
22	General	(2,404,000) (2,404,000)		
23	Environmental	8,832,000	9,139,000		
24 25 26	The amounts that may be spent from this appropriation for each program are specified in the following subdivisions.				
27	Subd. 2. Water				
28	6,296,000 6	,296,000			
29	Summary	by Fund			
30	General	(2,004,000) (2,004,000)		
31	Environmental	8,300,000	8,300,000		
32	Subd. 3. Air				
33	532,000	839,000			
34	Summary by Fund				
35	Environmental	532,000	839,000		
36	Subd. 4. Land				
37 38 39 40	from the remediation fund to the environmental fund. This is a onetime				
41	Of the money appropriated from the				
Article 1 Section 2 3					

Article 1

Section 5

1 remediation fund under Minnesota 2 Statutes, section 116.155, subdivision 3 2, \$6,800,000 for the biennium must be used for cleanup at Mankato Plating, Gopher Oil, Whiteway Cleaners, Reserve 4 5 Mining, Valentine Clark, and old 6 7 unpermitted solid waste disposal 8 facilities. 9 Subd. 5. Administrative Support 10 (400,000)(400,000)Summary by Fund 11 12 General (400,000)(400,000) By December 1, 2005, the commissioner shall submit a report to the 13 14 15 Environment and Natural Resources 16 Policy and Finance Committees of the 17 house and senate that provides a benchmarking matrix and analysis that compares the environmental review and 18 19 20 permitting requirements for forest 21 products and mining industry projects 22 in Minnesota with requirements in other 23 states and countries. The matrix and 24 analysis must include an assessment of 25 whether the requirements in Minnesota 26 and other states and countries are more 27 strict, less strict, or equivalent to 28 requirements of the federal 29 Environmental Protection Agency and 30 requirements under the National 31 Environmental Policy Act. 32 Sec. 3. OFFICE OF ENVIRONMENTAL 33 ASSISTANCE 34 Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, section 16B.37, the commissioner of administration shall not issue a reorganization order affecting the 35 36 37 Office of Environmental Assistance or 38 39 direct work by the office for another agency before July 1, 2007. 40 The director of the Office of Environmental 41 42 Assistance shall not enter into or 43 continue any memorandum of 44 understanding or other agreement that directs work by the office for another 45 46 agency before July 1, 2007. 8,000 47 Sec. 4. ZOOLOGICAL BOARD 10,000 48 Summary by Fund 10,000 49 Natural Resources 8,000 50 \$8,000 the first year and \$10,000 the 51 second year are from the natural 52 This appropriation is resources fund. from the revenue deposited in the 53 54 natural resources fund under Minnesota 55 Statutes, section 297A.94, paragraph 56 (e), clause (5). NATURAL RESOURCES 57 Sec. 5. 58 Subdivision 1. Total

1 Appropriation 9,289,000 8,189,000 2 Summary by Fund (1,861,000) 3 General (2,836,000)Natural Resources 7,838,000 7,864,000 4 Game and Fish 5 3,262,000 3,111,000 50,000 50,000 6 Permanent School 7 The amounts that may be spent from this appropriation for each program are 8 specified in the following subdivisions. 9 10 Land and Mineral Resources Subd. 2. 11 Management 12 737,000 487,000 13 Summary by Fund 14 General 593,000 343,000 15 Natural Resources 20,000 20,000 Game and Fish 16 74,000 74,000 17 Permanent School 50,000 50,000 18. \$50,000 the first year and \$50,000 the second year are from the state forest 19 suspense account in the permanent 20 school fund to identify, evaluate, and 21 22 lease construction aggregate located on school trust lands. 23 \$250,000 the first year is for a grant 24 25 to the Board of Regents of the University of Minnesota to drill a 5,000 foot core sampling bore hole at 26 27 the Tower-Soudan mine complex in support of a National Science 28 29 30 Foundation grant. 31 Subd. 3. Water Resources Management 32 408,000 408,000 Summary by Fund 33 408,000 408,000 34 General Subd. 4. Forest Management 35 2,789,000 2,789,000 36 Summary by Fund 37 (1, 261, 000)38 General (1,261,000)Natural Resources 3,800,000 3,800,000 39 250,000 250,000 40 Game and Fish \$3,800,000 the first year and \$3,800,000 the second year are from the 41 42 43 forest management investment account in 44 the natural resources fund for only the 45 purposes specified in Minnesota

Article 1 Section 5

```
5
```

Statutes, section 89.039, subdivision 2. 1 2 \$200,000 the first year and \$200,000 the second year are for grants to the 3 Natural Resources Research Institute 4 5 for silvicultural research to improve the quality and quantity of timber 6 7 fiber. The appropriation must be matched in the amount of \$200,000 each 8 9 year, in cash or in-kind contributions, 10 from the forest products industry members of the Minnesota Forest 11 Productivity Research Cooperative. 12 13 \$250,000 the first year and \$250,000 14 the second year are from the game and 15 fish fund to implement Ecological Classification Systems (ECS) standards 16 17 on forested landscapes. This 18 appropriation is from revenue deposited 19 in the game and fish fund under 20 Minnesota Statutes, section 297A.94, 21 paragraph (e), clause (1). 22 Subd. 5. Parks and Recreation 23 Management 24 3,764,000 3,836,000 25 Summary by Fund 26 General 3,518,000 3,518,000 27 Natural Resources 246,000 318,000 \$246,000 the first year and \$318,000 28 29 the second year are from the natural 30 resources fund for state park and 31 recreation area operations. This 32 appropriation is from the revenue 33 deposited to the natural resources fund 34 under Minnesota Statutes, section 35 297A.94, paragraph (e), clause (2). 36 Subd. 6. Trails and Waterways 37 Management 38 4,583,000 4,129,000 39 Summary by Fund 40 General 450,000 50,000 Natural Resources 3,726,000 3,676,000 41 407,000 42 Game and Fish 403,000 43 \$500,000 the first year and \$500,000 44 the second year are from the snowmobile 45 trails and enforcement account in the 46 natural resources fund for snowmobile 47 grants-in-aid. Any unencumbered balance does not cancel at the end of 48 49 the first year and is available for the 50 second year. \$500,000 in fiscal year 2006 and \$500,000 in fiscal year 2007 are 51 52 appropriated from the snowmobile trails 53 54 and enforcement account to the 55 commissioner of natural resources to

Article 1 Section 5

1 acquire easements for permanent 2 recreational snowmobile trails.

3 The commissioner must work with trail 4 providers to increase grooming rates 5 and maintenance reimbursements, 6 consistent with funding appropriated by 7 the legislature, for grants provided 8 under Minnesota Statutes, section 84.83.

9 \$75,000 the first year is from the 10 all-terrain vehicle account in the 11 natural resources fund for a study to determine the amount of gasoline used 12 each year by all-terrain vehicle riders 13 14 in the state. The commissioners of 15 natural resources, revenue, and 16 transportation shall jointly determine the amount of unrefunded gasoline tax 17 attributable to all-terrain vehicle use 18 in the state and shall report to the 19 20 legislature by March 1, 2006, with an 21 appropriate proposed revision to 22 Minnesota Statutes, section 296A.18.

With money appropriated from the natural resources fund in S.F. No. 1879, article 6, section 5, subdivision 6, if enacted, the department shall establish a boat launch and ramp at Horseshoe Bay in Cook County, and rehabilitate the historic fishing pier on Dower Lake in Todd County.

31 \$100,000 the first year is for a grant 32 to the Duluth Port Authority to 33 determine the cause of freshwater 34 corrosion of harbor sheet piling, 35 provided these state funds are matched 36 on a dollar-for-dollar basis by 37 nonstate funds.

\$300,000 is for a grant to the St. Louis and Lake Counties Regional 38 39 40 Railroad Authority to complete 41 constructing, furnishing, and equipping 42 Mesabi Station along the 132-mile recreational trail known as Mesabi 43 44 Trail and located at the intersection 45 of U.S. Highway 53 and marked Trunk 46 Highway 37. This appropriation is 47 dependent upon a matching contribution of \$800,000 from other sources, public 48 49 or private.

50 The appropriation in Laws 2003, chapter 51 128, article 1, section 5, subdivision 52 6, from the water recreation account in 53 the natural resources fund for a 54 cooperative project with the United 55 States Army Corps of Engineers to 56 develop the Mississippi Whitewater Park 57 is available until June 30, 2007.

58 Subd. 7. Fish and Wildlife Management

59	5,820,000	5,348,000
60	S	Summary by Fund
61	General	425,000

Article 1 Section 5

7

100,000

1 Natural Resources 348,000 348,000

2 Game and Fish 5,047,000 4,900,000

\$150,000 the second year is a reduction
from the trout and salmon management
account for the purposes specified in
Minnesota Statutes, section 97A.075,
subdivision 3.

8 \$983,000 the first year and \$983,000 9 the second year are from the wildlife 10 acquisition surcharge account for only 11 the purposes specified in Minnesota 12 Statutes, section 97A.071, subdivision 13 2a.

14 \$142,000 the first year and \$142,000 15 the second year are from the deer 16 habitat improvement account for only 17 the purposes specified in Minnesota 18 Statutes, section 97A.075, subdivision 19 1, paragraph (b).

20 \$65,000 the first year and \$65,000 the 21 second year are from the deer and bear 22 management account for only the 23 purposes specified in Minnesota 24 Statutes, section 97A.075, subdivision 25 1, paragraph (c).

26 \$35,000 the first year and \$35,000 the 27 second year are a reduction from the 28 waterfowl habitat improvement account 29 for only the purposes specified in 30 Minnesota Statutes, section 97A.075, 31 subdivision 2.

32 \$344,000 the first year and \$344,000 33 the second year are from the pheasant 4 habitat improvement account for only 35 the purposes specified in Minnesota 36 Statutes, section 97A.075, subdivision 37 4.

38 \$22,000 the first year and \$22,000 the second year are from the wild turkey 39 40 management account for only the purposes specified in Minnesota 41 42 Statutes, section 97A.075, subdivision 43 Of this amount, \$8,000 the first 5. year and \$8,000 the second year are 44 appropriated from the game and fish 45 fund for transfer to the wild turkey 46 47 management account for purposes 48 specified in Minnesota Statutes, 49 section 97A.075, subdivision 5.

50 \$675,000 the first year and \$675,000 51 the second year are from the heritage 52 enhancement account in the game and 53 fish fund for only the purposes 54 specified in Minnesota Statutes, 55 section 297A.94, paragraph (e), clause 56 (1).

57 \$100,000 the first year and \$100,000 58 the second year are for coordination 59 and implementation of the roadsides for 60 wildlife program, including roadside 61 wildlife management training for road

managers and adjacent landowners, 1 2 development of local partnerships to 3 maximize roadside habitat benefits, identification and cataloguing of 4 5 existing and needed technical 6 resources, and development of a steering group to monitor the progress of the program and identify and resolve issues of concern for wildlife 7 8 g 10 management in roadsides.

11 \$325,000 the first year is for a grant 12 to "Let's Go Fishing" of Minnesota to 13 promote opportunities for fishing.

Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, section 16A.28, the appropriations encumbered under contract on or before June 30, 2007, for aquatic restoration grants and wildlife habitat grants in S.F. No. 1879, article 6, section 5, subdivision 7, if enacted, are available until June 30, 2008.

22 Subd. 8. Ecological Services

23	889,000	889,000	
24	Summary	by Fund	
25	General	75,000	75,000
26	Natural Resources	426,000	426,000
27	Game and Fish	388,000	388,000

28 Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, 29 section 290.431, \$100,000 the first 30 year and \$100,000 the second year from 31 the nongame wildlife management account 32 is for nongame information, education, 33 and promotion.

34 \$325,000 the first year and \$325,000 35 the second year are from the heritage 36 enhancement account in the game and 37 fish fund for only the purposes 38 specified in Minnesota Statutes, 39 section 297A.94, paragraph (e), clause 40 (1).

41 \$370,000 the first year and \$370,000 the second year are for a cost-share 42 43 program with local government, lake 44 associations, and conservation organizations for aquatic invasive 45 46 species prevention and management activities, including: 47 (1) development of prevention plans; (2) aquatic 48 49 invasive species surveys and 50 monitoring; (3) public education and training programs; or (4) conducting 51 watercraft inspection programs. 52 Of this amount, \$154,000 each year is from the general fund and \$216,000 each year 53 54 55 is from the heritage enhancement 56 account in the game and fish fund.

57 The general fund appropriation in this 58 subdivision includes a \$250,000 per 59 year general fund reduction and a

1 2	<pre>\$171,000 increase f support reallocatio</pre>	or operations n.	
3	Subd. 9. Enforceme	nt	
4	735,000	735,000	
5	Summa	ry by Fund	
6	General	(240,000)	(240,000)
7	Natural Resources	347,000	347,000
8	Game and Fish	628,000	628,000
9	Subd. 10. Operatio	ns Support	
10	(10,436,000) (10,432,000)	
11	Summa	ry by Fund	
12	General	(5,829,000)	(5,829,000)
13	Natural Resources	(1,075,000)	(1,071,000)
14	Game and Fish	(3,532,000)	(3,532,000)
15 16 17 18 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 31 32 33 4 35 36	<pre>\$18,000 the first y second year are from resources fund for equally between the for the Como Zoo an the city of Duluth appropriation is fr deposited to the na under Minnesota Sta 297A.94, paragraph The natural resource appropriation in the includes a reduction year for operations reallocation. Any reduction in ge appropriations in S article 10, section must be taken from of the central offi Sec. 6. BOARD OF W SOIL RESOURCES</pre>	m the natural grants to be di city of St. Pa d Conservatory Zoo. This om the revenue tural resources tutes, section (e), clause (5) es fund is subdivision on of \$1,093,000 support eneral fund .F. No. 1879, 33, if enacted administrative ce in St. Paul.	vided ul and fund each
37 38 39 40 41 42 445 46 48	\$35,000 the first y second year are for Minnesota River bas	grants to the fin study area 2 flood reduction year is for an essment of publi fers and their enefits. The done in consult vatershed distri	the for use, ation cts,
49 50 51 52 53	counties, and conse organizations, as w agencies implementi programs. The boar results to the sena	ervation well as federal .ng voluntary bu d shall report	lffer the

Article 1 Section 6

10

000

85,000

representatives committees with 1 2 jurisdiction over drainage systems by 3 January 15, 2006. \$50,000 the first year and \$50,000 the 4 second year are for beaver damage 5 6 control grants under new Minnesota 7 Statutes, section 103F.950. 8 The appropriations for grants in this 9 section are available until expended. If an appropriation for grants in 10 either year is insufficient, the 11 appropriation in the other year is 12 available for it. 13 Sec. 7. METROPOLITAN COUNCIL 495,000 581,000 14 15 Summary by Fund 16 General 200,000 200,000 17 Natural Resources 295,000 381,000 \$295,000 the first year and \$381,000 18 the second year are from the natural 19 resources fund for metropolitan area 20 regional parks and trails maintenance 21 22 and operations. This appropriation is from the revenue deposited in the 23 24 natural resources fund under Minnesota 25 Statutes, section 297A.94, paragraph 26 (e), clause (3). AGRICULTURE 27 Sec. 8. Subdivision 1. 28 Total 21,373,000 3,687,000 29 Appropriation 30 Summary by Fund General 31 3,338,000 3,652,000 Remediation 35,000 35,000 32 18,000,000 -0-33 Bond Proceeds 34 The amounts that may be spent from this appropriation for each program are 35 specified in the following subdivisions. 36 Subd. 2. Protection Services 37 35,000 38 35,000 39 Summary by Fund 40 Remediation 35,000 35,000 Value-Added Agricultural Products 41 Subd. 3. 600,000 100,000 42 \$500,000 in the first year is for 43 grants to gasoline service station 44 45 owners who, after the effective date of this section, install pumps in this state for dispensing E85 gasoline. 46 47 The 48 commissioner may reimburse owners of 49 gasoline service stations for up to 50 50 percent of the total cost of installing

Article 1 Section 8

```
11
```

-0-

04/27/05

14

an E85 pump, including the tank and any related components, up to a maximum of \$15,000 per E85 pump. The commissioner 2 \$15,000 per E85 pump. The commiss shall grant priority for E85 pumps 3 4 installed in areas of the state where 5 6 gasoline service stations with E85 7 pumps are not reasonably available to the general public. This appropriation 8 9 is available until spent. 10 \$100,000 the first year and \$100,000 11 the second year are for ethanol 12 combustion efficiency grants under 13 Minnesota Statutes, section 41A.09,

Administration and 15 Subd. 4. 16 Financial Assistance

subdivision 9.

20,738,000 17 3,552,000 18

19 General 3,552,000 2,738,000

Summary by Fund

20 Bond Proceeds 18,000,000

21 \$85,000 is to conduct a study, in close 22 consultation with the commissioner of transportation, of the feasibility and 23 24 desirability of constructing a rail 25 container load-out facility in or near the city of Willmar or the city of Clara City. The study must include an 26 27 28 estimate of the costs and benefits of a 29 facility to the city and region and to the state transportation system. 30 The 31 commissioner shall report to the governor and legislature on the results 32 33 of the study by January 15, 2006.

34 \$100,000 the first year and \$100,000 35 the second year are for transfer to the Board of Trustees of the Minnesota 36 37 State Colleges and Universities for 38 mental health counseling support to 39 farm families and business operators 40 through farm business management 41 programs at Central Lakes College and 42 Ridgewater College.

\$35,000 the first year and \$35,000 the second year are for grants to the 43 44 45 Minnesota Horticultural Society.

46 \$75,000 the first year and \$75,000 the 47 second year are for annual grants to 48 the Northern Minnesota Forage-Turf Seed Advisory Committee for basic and 49 50 applied research on the improved production of forage and turf seed 51 related to new and improved varieties. 52 53 The grant recipient may subcontract with a qualified third party for some 54 55 or all of the basic and applied 56 research.

57 \$100,000 the first year and \$100,000 the second year are to provide training 58 and technical assistance to county and 59 60 town officials relating to livestock

Article 1

Section 8

siting issues and local zoning and land 1 2 use planning including a checklist 3 template that would clarify the federal, state, and local government 4 5 requirements for consideration of an 6 animal agriculture modernization or 7 expansion project. In developing the training and technical assistance 8 9 program, the commissioner may seek assistance from the local planning 10 assistance center of the Department of 11 12 Administration and shall seek guidance, advice, and support of livestock 13 producer organizations, general 14 agricultural organizations, local 15 16 government associations, academic 17 institutions, other government 18 agencies, and others with expertise in 19 land use and agriculture.

20 \$220,000 the first year is to contract 21 with the University of Minnesota for 22 further research and development of 23 livestock odor and air quality 24 management.

\$325,000 the first year and \$325,000 the second year are for grants to 25 26 27 Second Harvest Heartland on behalf of 28 Minnesota's six Second Harvest food 29 banks for the purchase of milk for distribution to Minnesota's food 30 31 shelves and other charitable organizations that are eligible to 32 33 receive food from the food banks. Milk 34 purchased under the grants must be 35 acquired from Minnesota milk processors and based on low-cost bids. 36 The milk 37 must be allocated to each Second 38 Harvest food bank serving Minnesota according to the formula used in the 39 40 distribution of United States Department of Agriculture commodities 41 under The Emergency Food Assistance 42 43 Program (TEFAP). Second Harvest 44 Heartland must submit quarterly reports 45 to the commissioner on forms prescribed by the commissioner. The reports must 46 include, but are not limited to, 47 48 information on the expenditure of 49 funds, the amount of milk purchased, 50 and the organizations to which the milk was distributed. Second Harvest 51 Heartland may enter into contracts or 52 agreements with food banks for shared 53 54 funding or reimbursement of the direct purchase of milk. Each food bank 55 receiving money from this appropriation 56 57 may use up to two percent of the grant 58 for administrative expenses.

59 \$18,000,000 is appropriated from the bond proceeds fund for purposes as set 60 61 forth in the Minnesota Constitution, article XI, section 5, clause (h), to 62 the Rural Finance Authority to purchase 63 participation interests in or to make 64 direct agricultural loans to farmers 65 under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 41B. 66 This appropriation is for the beginning 67 68 farmer program under Minnesota

1 Statutes, section 41B.039, the loan 2 restructuring program under Minnesota 3 Statutes, section 41B.04, the seller-sponsored program under 4 5 Minnesota Statutes, section 41B.042, 6 the agricultural improvement loan 7 program under Minnesota Statutes, 8 section 41B.043, and the livestock 9 expansion loan program under Minnesota Statutes, section 41B.045. 10 All debt 11 service on bond proceeds used to 12 finance this appropriation must be 13 repaid by the Rural Finance Authority 14 under Minnesota Statutes, section 16A.643. Loan participations must be 15 16 priced to provide full interest and principal coverage and a reserve for potential losses. Priority for loans 17 18 19 must be given first to basic beginning 20 farmer loans; second, to 21 seller-sponsored loans; and third, to 22 agricultural improvement loans.

23 Sec. 9. BOND SALE

24 To provide the money appropriated in this article from the bond proceeds 25 26 fund, the commissioner of finance shall sell and issue bonds of the state in an 27 28 amount up to \$18,000,000 in the manner, 29 upon the terms, and with the effect 30 prescribed by Minnesota Statutes, sections 16A.631 to 16A.675, and by the 31 32 Minnesota Constitution, article XI, 33 sections 4 to 7.

34 Sec. 10. BOARD OF ANIMAL
35 HEALTH

456,000

20,457,000

458,000

18,829,000

36 \$300,000 the first year and \$300,000 37 the second year are for a grant to the Veterinary Diagnostic Laboratory at the University of Minnesota to expand 38 39 40 animal disease surveillance and to 41 protect animal agriculture and public 42 This appropriation is health. 43 available until June 30, 2007.

44 Sec. 11. MINNESOTA RESOURCES

45 Subdivision 1. Total
46 Appropriation
47

48

Summary by Fund

49 State Land and Water Conservation 50 Account (LAWCON) 1,600,000 -0-51 Environment and Natural Resources 52 18,829,000 18,829,000 Trust Fund 53 Great Lakes Protection 54 Account 28,000 -0-55 Appropriations from the LAWCON account

56 and Great Lakes protection account are 57 available for either year of the 58 biennium.

59 For appropriations from the environment

Article 1 Section 11

and natural resources trust fund, any 2 unencumbered balance remaining in the 3 first year does not cancel and is available for the second year of the 4 Unless otherwise provided, 5 biennium. the amounts in this section are 6 7 available until June 30, 2007, when 8 projects must be completed and final 9 products delivered. 10 Subd. 2. Definitions 11 (a) "State land and water conservation 12 account (LAWCON)" means the state land and water conservation account in the 13 natural resources fund referred to in 14 15 Minnesota Statutes, section 116P.14. (b) "Great Lakes protection account" 16 means the Great Lakes protection 17 account referred to in Minnesota 18 19 Statutes, section 116Q.02, subdivision 20 1. (c) "Trust fund" means the Minnesota 21 22 environment and natural resources trust 23 fund referred to in Minnesota Statutes, 24 section 116P.02, subdivision 6. Subd. 3. Administration 25 524,000 525,000 26 Summary by Fund 27 Trust Fund 524,000 525,000 28 (a) Legislative Commission on Minnesota Resources 29 \$449,000 the first year and \$450,000 the second year are from the trust fund 30 31 for administration as provided in 32 Minnesota Statutes, section 116P.09, subdivision 5. 33 34 (b) Contract Administration 35 \$75,000 the first year and \$75,000 the second year are from the trust fund to 36 37 the commissioner of natural resources for contract administration activities 38 39 assigned to the commissioner in this 40 section. This appropriation is 41 available until June 30, 2008. 42 Subd. 4. Citizen Advisory Committee 10,000 10,000 43 Summary by Fund 44 Trust Fund 10,000 10,000 45 \$10,000 the first year and \$10,000 the 46 second year are from the trust fund to the Legislative Commission on Minnesota 47 Resources for expenses of the citizen 48 advisory committee as provided in 49 50 Minnesota Statutes, section 116P.06. 51 Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, 52 section 16A.281, the availability of \$15,000 of the appropriation from Laws 53 54 2003, chapter 128, article 1, section 55 9, subdivision 4, advisory committee, 56 is extended to June 30, 2007.

5,038,000

Fish and Wildlife Habitat 5,038,000 1 Subd. 5. 2 Summary by Fund 3 5,038,000 5,038,000 Trust Fund (a) Restoring Minnesota's Fish and Wildlife Δ 5 Habitat Corridors-Phase III \$2,031,000 the first year and 6 \$2,031,000 the second year are from the 7 8 trust fund to the commissioner of 9 natural resources for the third biennium for acceleration of agency programs and cooperative agreements 10 11 with Pheasants Forever, Minnesota Deer 12 13 Hunters Association, Ducks Unlimited, Inc., National Wild Turkey Federation, 14 15 the Nature Conservancy, Minnesota Land Trust, the Trust for Public Land, 16 Minnesota Valley National Wildlife 17 Refuge Trust, Inc., U.S. Fish and 18 19 Wildlife Service, Red Lake Band of 20 Chippewa, Leech Lake Band of Chippewa, Fond du Lac Band of Chippewa, 21 22 USDA-Natural Resources Conservation 23 Service, and the Board of Water and Soil Resources to plan, restore, and acquire fragmented landscape corridors 24 25 26 that connect areas of quality habitat 27 to sustain fish, wildlife, and plants. 28 Expenditures are limited to the ll project areas as defined in the work 29 30 Land acquired with this program. appropriation must be sufficiently 31 32 improved to meet at least minimum habitat and facility management 33 standards as determined by the commissioner of natural resources. 34 35 36 This appropriation may not be used for 37 the purchase of residential structures, 38 unless expressly approved in the work program. Any land acquired in fee title by the commissioner of natural 39 40 resources with money from this 41 42 appropriation must be designated: (1)43 as an outdoor recreation unit under Minnesota Statutes, section 86A.07; or (2) as provided in Minnesota Statutes, 44 45 46 sections 89.018, subdivision 2, paragraph (a); 97A.101; 97A.125; 97C.001; and 97C.011. The commissioner 47 48 49 may similarly designate any lands acquired in less than fee title. 50 This appropriation is available until June 51 52 30, 2008, at which time the project must be completed and final products 53 delivered, unless an earlier date is specified in the work program. 54 55 56 (b) Metropolitan Area Wildlife Corridors-Phase II 57

\$1,765,000 the first year and 58 \$1,765,000 the second year are from the 59 60 trust fund to the commissioner of 61 natural resources for the second 62 biennium for acceleration of agency 63 programs and cooperative agreements 64 with the Trust for Public Land, Ducks Unlimited, Inc., Friends of the 65

Article 1

Section 11

Mississippi River, Great River 1 Greening, Minnesota Land Trust, 2 3 Minnesota Valley National Wildlife 4 Refuge Trust, Inc., Pheasants Forever, Inc., and Friends of the Minnesota 5 Valley for the purposes of planning, improving, and protecting important 6 7 8 natural areas in the metropolitan 9 region, as defined by Minnesota 10 Statutes, section 473.121, subdivision 2, and portions of the surrounding 11 counties, through grants, contracted 12 13 services, conservation easements, and fee acquisition. Land acquired with 14 15 this appropriation must be sufficiently improved to meet at least minimum 16 17 management standards as determined by 18 the commissioner of natural resources. 19 Expenditures are limited to the 20 identified project areas as defined in This appropriation the work program. 21 may not be used for the purchase of 22 23 residential structures, unless 24 expressly approved in the work 25 Any land acquired in fee program. title by the commissioner of natural 26 27 resources with money from this 28 appropriation must be designated: (1)29 as an outdoor recreation unit under 30 Minnesota Statutes, section 86A.07; or (2) as provided in Minnesota Statutes, 31 32 sections 89.018, subdivision 2, paragraph (a); 97A.101; 97A.125; 33 97C.001; and 97C.011. 34 The commissioner 35 may similarly designate any lands acquired in less than fee title. 36 This 37 appropriation is available until June 38 30, 2008, at which time the project must be completed and final products 39 40 delivered, unless an earlier date is specified in the work program. 41

42 (c) Development of Scientific and Natural Areas

43 \$67,000 the first year and \$67,000 the second year are from the trust fund to 44 the commissioner of natural resources 45 46 to develop and enhance lands designated 47 as scientific and natural areas. This appropriation is available until June 48 30, 2008, at which time the project 49 50 must be completed and final products delivered, unless an earlier date is 51 52 specified in the work program.

53 (d) Prairie Stewardship of Private Lands

\$50,000 the first year and \$50,000 the second year are from the trust fund to 54 55 56 the commissioner of natural resources to develop stewardship plans and 57 58 implement prairie management on private prairie lands on a cost-share basis with private or federal funds. This 59 60 This appropriation is available until June 61 62 30, 2008, at which time the project must be completed and final products 63 delivered, unless an earlier date is specified in the work program. 64 65

66 (e) Local Initiative Grants-Conservation

Article 1

Section 11

1

2 \$250,000 the first year and \$250,000 the second year are from the trust fund 3 to the commissioner of natural 4 5 resources to provide matching grants of up to \$20,000 to local government and 6 private organizations for enhancement, 7 restoration, research, and education 8 associated with natural habitat and 9 10 environmental service projects. Subdivision 16 applies to grants 11 12 awarded in the approved work program. 13 This appropriation is available until June 30, 2008, at which time the 14 15 project must be completed and final 16 products delivered, unless an earlier 17 date is specified in the work program.

Partners and Environmental Partnerships

18 (f) Minnesota ReLeaf Community Forest 19 Development and Protection

20 \$250,000 the first year and \$250,000 21 the second year are from the trust fund 22 to the commissioner of natural 23 resources for acceleration of the agency program and a cooperative agreement with Tree Trust to protect 24 25 26 forest resources, develop 27 inventory-based management plans, and 28 provide matching grants to communities to plant native trees. At least \$390,000 of this appropriation must be 29 30 used for grants to communities. 31 For the purposes of this paragraph, the 32 33 match must be a nonstate contribution, 34 but may be either cash or qualifying in-kind. This appropriation is 35 36 available until June 30, 2008, at which 37 time the project must be completed and final projects delivered, unless an earlier date is specified in the work 38 39 40 program.

41 (g) Integrated and Pheromonal Control of 42 Common Carp

43 \$275,000 the first year and \$275,000 44 the second year are from the trust fund 45 to the University of Minnesota for the 46 second biennium to research new options 47 for controlling common carp. This appropriation is available until June 48 $3\tilde{0}$, $2\tilde{0}09$, at which time the project 49 50 must be completed and final products delivered, unless an earlier date is specified in the work program. 51 52

53 (h) Biological Control of European Buckthorn 54 and Garlic Mustard

55 \$100,000 the first year and \$100,000 the second year are from the trust fund 56 57 to the commissioner of natural 58 resources to research potential insects for biological control of invasive 59 60 European buckthorn species for the second biennium and to introduce and 61 evaluate insects for biological control 62 This appropriation of garlic mustard. 63 is available until June 30, 2008, at 64

Article 1

Section 11

which time the project must be 1 2 completed and final products delivered, 3 unless an earlier date is specified in 4 the work program. 5 (i) Land Exchange Revolving Fund for Aitkin, Cass, and Crow Wing Counties 6 7 \$250,000 the first year and \$250,000 8 the second year are from the trust fund 9 to the commissioner of natural 10 resources for an agreement with Aitkin County for a six-year revolving loan 11 fund to improve public and private land 12 13 ownership patterns, increase management 14 efficiency, and protect critical habitat in Aitkin, Cass, and Crow Wing Counties. By June 30, 2011, Aitkin 15 16 County shall repay the \$500,000 to the 17 18 commissioner of finance for deposit in 19 the environment and natural resources 20 trust fund. 21 Subd. 6. Recreation 7,160,000 5,559,000 22 Summary by Fund Trust Fund 23 5,560,000 5,559,000 24 State Land and Water Conservation 25 Account (LAWCON) 1,600,000 -0-26 (a) State Park and Recreation Area Land Acquisition 27 \$1,000,000 the first year and \$1,000,000 the second year are from the 28 29 30 trust fund to the commissioner of 31 natural resources to acquire 32 in-holdings for state park and recreation areas. Land acquired with this appropriation must be sufficiently 33 34 35 improved to meet at least minimum 36 management standards as determined by 37 the commissioner of natural resources. 38 This appropriation is available until 39 June 30, 2008, at which time the 40 project must be completed and final 41 products delivered, unless an earlier 42 date is specified in the work program. 43 (b) LAWCON Federal Reimbursements 44 \$1,600,000 is from the State Land and 45 Water Conservation Account (LAWCON) in the natural resources fund to the 46 commissioner of natural resources for 47 48 priorities established by the 49 commissioner for eligible state 50 projects and administrative and 51 planning activities consistent with 52 Minnesota Statutes, section 116P.14, and the federal Land and Water 53 54 Conservation Fund Act. Subdivision 16 55 applies to grants awarded in the approved work program. 56 This 57 appropriation is contingent upon receipt of the federal obligation and 58 59 remains available until June 30, 2008, at which time the project must be completed and final products delivered, 60 61

Article 1 Section 11 19

1 unless an earlier date is specified in 2 the work program.

3 (c) State Park and Recreation Area4 Revenue-Enhancing Development

5 \$100,000 the first year and \$100,000 6 the second year are from the trust fund 7 to the commissioner of natural 8 resources to enhance revenue generation 9 in the state's park and recreation 10 system.

11 (d) Best Management Practices for Parks
12 and Outdoor Recreation

13 \$100,000 the first year and \$100,000 14 the second year are from the trust fund 15 to the commissioner of natural 16 resources for an agreement with the 17 Minnesota Recreation and Park Association to develop and evaluate 18 19 opportunities to more efficiently manage Minnesota's parks and outdoor 20 21 recreation areas.

22 (e) Metropolitan Regional Parks Acquisition,23 Rehabilitation, and Development

\$1,000,000 the first year and 24 25 \$1,000,000 the second year are from the 26 trust fund to the Metropolitan Council for subgrants for the acquisition, 27 development, and rehabilitation in the 28 29 metropolitan regional park system, 30 consistent with the Metropolitan 31 Council regional recreation open space capital improvement plan. This 32 appropriation may not be used for the 33 34 purchase of residential structures, may 35 be used to reimburse implementing 36 agencies for acquisition as expressly approved in the work program, and must 37 be matched by at least 40 percent of 38 39 nonstate money. Subdivision 16 applies 40 to grants awarded in the approved work program. 41 This appropriation is available until June 30, 2008, at which 42 time the project must be completed and 43 44 final products delivered, unless an earlier date is specified in the work 45 46 program. If a project financed under this program receives a federal grant 47 48 award, the availability of the 49 financing from this paragraph for that 50 project is extended to equal the period of the federal grant. 51

52 (f) Gitchi-Gami State Trail

\$250,000 the first year and \$250,000 53 the second year are from the trust fund to the commissioner of natural 54 55 resources, in cooperation with the 56 Gitchi-Gami Trail Association, for the 57 58 fourth biennium, to design and construct approximately two miles of Gitchi-Gami State Trail segments. T 59 60 This appropriation is available until June 61 30, 2008, at which time the project 62 must be completed and final products 63

Article 1

Section 11

delivered. If this project receives a
 federal grant award, the availability
 of the financing from this paragraph
 for the project is extended to equal
 the period of the federal grant.

6 (g) Casey Jones State Trail

7 \$600,000 the first year and \$600,000 8 the second year are from the trust fund 9 to the commissioner of natural 10 resources in cooperation with the Friends of the Casey Jones Trail Association for land acquisition and 11 12 13 development of the Casey Jones State 14 Trail in southwest Minnesota. This 15 appropriation is available until June 16 30, 2008, at which time the project must be completed and final products 17 18 delivered. If this project receives a 19 federal grant award, the availability of the financing from this paragraph for the project is extended to equal 20 21 22 the period of the federal grant.

23 (h) Paul Bunyan State Trail Connection

24 \$200,000 the first year and \$200,000
25 the second year are from the trust fund
26 to the commissioner of natural
27 resources to acquire land to connect
28 the Paul Bunyan State Trail within the
29 city of Bemidji.

30 (i) Minnesota River Trail Planning

31 \$100,000 the first year and \$100,000 32 the second year are from the trust fund 33 to the commissioner of natural 34 resources for an agreement with the 35 University of Minnesota to provide 36 trail planning assistance to three 37 communities along the Minnesota River 38 State Trail.

39 (j) Local Initiative Grants-Parks and Natural Areas

40 \$600,000 the first year and \$600,000 41 the second year are from the trust fund 42 to the commissioner of natural resources to provide matching grants to 43 local governments for acquisition and 44 development of natural and scenic areas 45 46 and local parks as provided in Minnesota Statutes, section 85.019, subdivisions 2 and 4a, and regional 47 48 49 parks outside of the metropolitan 50 Grants may provide up to 50 area. percent of the nonfederal share of the 51 52 project cost, except nonmetropolitan 53 regional park grants may provide up to 60 percent of the nonfederal share of 54 \$500,000 of this 55 the project cost. appropriation is for land acquisition 56 57 for a proposed county regional park on 58 Kraemer Lake in Stearns County. The commission will monitor the grants for 59 60 approximate balance over extended 61 periods of time between the 62 metropolitan area, under Minnesota 63 Statutes, section 473.121, subdivision

Section 11

1 2, and the nonmetropolitan area through work program oversight and periodic 2 3 allocation decisions. For the purposes of this paragraph, the match must be a 4 nonstate contribution, but may be 5 6 either cash or qualifying in-kind. 7 Recipients may receive funding for more than one project in any given grant period. Subdivision 16 applies to 8 Q 10 grants awarded in the approved work 11 program. This appropriation is 12 available until June 30, 2008, at which 13 time the project must be completed and 14 final products delivered. 15 (k) Regional Park Planning for Nonmetropolitan 16 **Urban Areas** 17 \$43,000 the first year and \$43,000 the second year are from the trust fund to 18 19 the commissioner of natural resources 20 for an agreement with the University of 21 Minnesota to develop a plan for a system of regional recreation areas for 22 23 major outstate urban complexes in 24 Minnesota. 25 (1) Local and Regional Trail Grant Initiative Program \$350,000 the first year and \$350,000 26 27 the second year are from the trust fund 28 to the commissioner of natural resources to provide matching grants to local units of government for the cost 29 30 31 of acquisition, development, 32 engineering services, and enhancement 33 of existing and new trail facilities. Subdivision 16 applies to grants 34 awarded in the approved work program. 35 36 This appropriation is available until 37 June 30, 2008, at which time the 38 project must be completed and final 39 products delivered, unless an earlier 40 date is specified in the work program. 41 In addition, if a project financed 42 under this program receives a federal grant award, the availability of the financing from this paragraph for that project is extended to equal the period 43 44 45 46 of the federal grant. 47 (m) Mesabi Trail 48 \$500,000 the first year and \$500,000 the second year are from the trust fund 49 50 to the commissioner of natural 51 resources for an agreement with St.

Louis and Lake Counties Regional Rail 52 Authority for the seventh biennium to 53 54 acquire and develop segments for the 55 Mesabi Trail. This appropriation is available until June 30, 2008, at which time the project must be completed and 56 57 58 final products delivered. If this 59 project receives a federal grant award, the availability of the financing from 60 this paragraph for the project is 61 extended to equal the period of the 62 63 federal grant.

64 (n) Cannon Valley Trail Belle Creek Bridge

Article 1

Section 11

1 Replacement

\$150,000 the first year and \$150,000 2 the second year are from the trust fund 3 to the commissioner of natural 4 5 resources for an agreement with the 6 Cannon Valley Trail Joint Powers Board 7 for bridge replacement of the Belle 8 Creek Bridge on the Cannon Valley 9 This appropriation must be Trail. 10 matched by at least \$44,000 of nonstate 11 money. 12 (O) Arrowhead Regional Bike Trail Connections Plan 13 \$42,000 the first year and \$41,000 the 14 second year are from the trust fund to 15 the commissioner of natural resources for an agreement with the Arrowhead 16 17 Regional Development Commission to analyze the Arrowhead's major bike 18 19 trails and plan new trail connections. 20 (p) Land Acquisition, Minnesota Landscape Arboretum 21 \$325,000 the first year and \$325,000

22 the second year are from the trust fund 23 to the University of Minnesota for an 24 agreement with the University of 25 Minnesota Landscape Arboretum 26 Foundation for the sixth biennium to 27 acquire land from willing sellers. This appropriation must be matched by an equal amount of nonstate money. 28 29 This appropriation is available until 30 31 June 30, 2008, at which time the 32 project must be completed and final 33 products delivered, unless an earlier 34 date is specified in the work program.

35 (q) Development and Rehabilitation of Minnesota 36 Shooting Ranges

37 \$150,000 the first year and \$150,000 the second year are from the trust fund 38 39 to the commissioner of natural 40 resources to provide technical 41 assistance and matching grants to local 42 communities and recreational shooting and archery clubs for the purpose of 43 44 developing or rehabilitating shooting 45 and archery facilities for public use. Recipient facilities must be open to 46 47 the general public at reasonable times and for a reasonable fee on a walk-in 48 49 basis. This appropriation is available 50 until June 30, 2008, at which time the 51 project must be completed and final 52 products delivered, unless an earlier date is specified in the work program. 53

54 (r) Birding Maps

\$50,000 the first year and \$50,000 the 55 second year are from the trust fund to 56 57 the commissioner of natural resources 58 for an agreement with Audubon Minnesota 59 to create a new birding trail guide for the North Shore/Arrowhead region and 60 61 reprint and distribute guides for three 62 existing birding trails.

Water Resources 3,027,000 1 Subd. 7. 3,000,000 2 Summary by Fund 3 Trust Fund 2,999,000 3,000,000 Δ Great Lakes Protection Account 28,000 5 (a) Local Water Management Matching Challenge Grants 6 7 \$500,000 the first year and \$500,000 the second year are from the trust fund to the Board of Water and Soil 8 9 10 Resources to accelerate the local water 11 management challenge grant program 12 under Minnesota Statutes, sections 13 103B.3361 to 103B.3369, through 14 matching grants to implement high priority activities in state-approved 15 16 comprehensive water management plans. 17 For the purposes of this paragraph, the 18 match must be a nonstate contribution, 19 but may be either cash or qualifying in-kind. The grants may be provided on 20 21 an advance basis as specified in the 22 work program. This appropriation is 23 available until June 30, 2008, at which time the project must be completed and 24 25 final products delivered, unless an 26 earlier date is specified in the work 27 program. 28 (b) Accelerating and Enhancing Surface Water 29 Monitoring for Lakes and Streams 30 \$300,000 the first year and \$300,000 the second year are from the trust fund to the commissioner of the Pollution 31 32 33 Control Agency for acceleration of 34 agency programs and cooperative 35 agreements with the Minnesota Lakes 36 Association, Rivers Council of Minnesota, and the University of Minnesota to accelerate monitoring 37 38 39 efforts through assessments, citizen 40 training, and implementation grants. This appropriation is available until June 30, 2008, at which time the 41 42 project must be completed and final 43 44 products delivered, unless an earlier 45 date is specified in the work program. 46 (c) Effects of Land Retirements on the 47 Minnesota River 48 \$150,000 the first year and \$150,000 the second year are from the trust fund to the Board of Water and Soil 49 50 51 Resources for a cooperative agreement 52 with the U.S. Geological Survey to 53 evaluate effects of retired or 54 set-aside agricultural lands on the water quality and aquatic habitat of 55 56 streams in the Minnesota River Basin in 57 order to enhance prioritization of 58 future land retirements. This 59 appropriation must be matched by an equal amount of nonstate money. 60 This appropriation is available until June 61 30, 2008, at which time the project 62

Article 1

Section 11

must be completed and final products 1 2 delivered, unless an earlier date is 3 specified in the work program. 4 (d) Recycling Treated Municipal Wastewater for 5 Industrial Water Use 6 \$150,000 the first year and \$150,000 7 the second year are from the trust fund to the commissioner of natural 8 9 resources for an agreement with the 10 Metropolitan Council to determine the feasibility of recycling treated municipal wastewater for industrial 11 12 13 use, characterize industrial water 14 demand and quality, and determine the 15 costs to treat municipal wastewater to 16 meet specific industrial needs. 17 (e) Unwanted Hormone Therapy: Protecting Water 18 and Public Health \$150,000 the first year and \$150,000 19 20 the second year are from the trust fund to the University of Minnesota to 21 22 determine where behavior-altering 23 estrogenic compounds come from and how they are distributed in wastewater 24 25 treatment plants. This appropriation is available until June 30, 2008, at 26 27 which time the project must be 28 completed and final products delivered, 29 unless an earlier date is specified in 30 the work program. 31 (f) Climate Change Impacts on Minnesota's 32 Aquatic Resources \$125,000 the first year and \$125,000 33 34 the second year are from the trust fund 35 to the University of Minnesota, Natural Resources Research Institute, to 36 37 quantify climate, hydrologic, and ecological variability and trends; and identify indicators of future climate 38 39 change effects on aquatic systems. 40 This appropriation is available until 41 42 June 30, 2008, at which time the project must be completed and final 43 44 products delivered, unless an earlier 45 date is specified in the work program. 46 (g) Green Roof Cost Share and Monitoring 47 \$175,000 the first year and \$175,000 48 the second year are from the trust fund to the commissioner of natural 49 50 resources for an agreement with Ramsey Conservation District to install green, 51 52 vegetated roofs on four commercial or 53 industrial buildings in Roseville and Falcon Heights and to monitor their 54 55 effectiveness for stormwater 56 management, flood reduction, water quality, and energy efficiency. 57 The 58 cost of the installations must be 59 matched by at least 50 percent nonstate 60 money. 61 (h) Woodchip Biofilter Treatment of Feedlot Runoff

Article 1 Section 11

\$135,000 the first year and \$135,000 1 2 the second year are from the trust fund 3 to the commissioner of natural 4 resources for agreements with Stearns 5 County Soil and Water Conservation District and the University of 6 7 Minnesota to treat feedlot runoff with 8 woodchip biofilters to remove pollutants and assess improvements to g surface water quality. 10 This 11 appropriation is available until June 12 30, 2008, at which time the project must be completed and final products delivered, unless an earlier date is specified in the work program. 13 14 15

16 (i) Improving Water Quality on the Central Sands

17 \$294,000 the first year and \$293,000 18 the second year are from the trust fund 19 to the commissioner of natural 20 resources for agreements with the University of Minnesota and the Central 21 22 Lakes College Agricultural Center to reduce nitrate and phosphorus losses to 23 24 groundwater and surface waters of sandy 25 ecoregions through the development, 26 promotion, and adoption of new farming and land management practices and 27 28 techniques. This appropriation is 29 available until June 30, 2008, at which 30 time the project must be completed and final products delivered, unless an earlier date is specified in the work 31 32 33 program.

34 (j) Improving Impaired Watersheds: Conservation 35 Drainage Research

36 \$150,000 the first year and \$150,000 37 the second year are from the trust fund to the commissioner of agriculture to 38 39 analyze conservation drainage systems 40 at University of Minnesota research and 41 outreach centers for opportunities to retrofit drainage infrastructure with 42 43 water quality improvement 44 technologies. This appropriation is 45 available until June 30, 2008, at which time the project must be completed and 46 47 final products delivered, unless an 48 earlier date is specified in the work 49 program.

50 (k) Hydrology, Habitat, and Energy Potential 51 of Mine Lakes

52 \$188,000 the first year and \$211,000 the second year are from the trust fund 53 54 to the commissioner of natural 55 resources for agency work and 56 agreements with Architectural Resources, Inc., and Northeast Technical Services, Inc., for a 57 58 coordinated effort of the Central Iron 59 60 Range Initiative to establish ultimate mine water elevations, outflows, and 61 quality; design optimum future mineland 62 configurations for fish habitat and 63 lakeshore development; and evaluate 64 65 wind-pumped hydropower potential.

Article 1 Section 11 26

1 \$62,000 the first year and \$39,000 the second year are from the trust fund to 2 the Minnesota Geological Survey at the University of Minnesota to assess the 3 4 5 geology and mine pit morphometry. 6 (1) Hennepin County Beach Water Quality 7 Monitoring Project 8 \$50,000 the first year and \$50,000 the second year are from the trust fund to 9 10 the commissioner of natural resources for an agreement with Hennepin County 11 12 to develop a predictive model for 13 on-site determination of beach water 14 quality to prevent outbreaks of 15 waterborne illnesses and provide 16 related water safety outreach to the 17 public. 18 (m) Southwest Minnesota Floodwater Retention Projects 19 \$250,000 the first year and \$250,000 20 the second year are from the trust fund 21 to the commissioner of natural 22 resources for an agreement with Area II 23 MN River Basin Projects, Inc., to 24 acquire easements and construct four 25 floodwater retention projects in the 26 Minnesota River Basin to improve water 27 quality and waterfowl habitat. 28 (n) Upgrades to Blue Heron Research Vessel 29 \$28,000 is from the Great Lakes protection account in the first year 30 31 and \$133,000 the first year and 32 \$134,000 the second year are from the 33 trust fund to the University of 34 Minnesota, Large Lakes Observatory, to 35 upgrade and overhaul the Blue Heron 36 Research Vessel. 37 (o) Bassett Creek Valley Channel Restoration 38 \$87,000 the first year and \$88,000 the second year are from the trust fund to 39 the commissioner of natural resources for an agreement with the city of 40 41 Minneapolis for design and engineering 42 43 activities for habitat restoration and water quality and channel improvements 44 45 for Bassett Creek Valley. 46 (p) Restoration of Indian Lake 47 \$100,000 the first year and \$100,000 the second year are from the trust fund to the commissioner of natural 48 49 50 resources for agreements with MN 51 Environmental Services and Bemidji 52 State University to demonstrate the 53 removal of excess nutrients from Indian Lake in Wright County. This 54 55 appropriation is available until June 56 30, 2008, at which time the project 57 must be completed and final products 58 delivered, unless an earlier date is specified in the work program, and is 59 60 contingent on all appropriate permits 61 being obtained.

Article 1 Section 11

```
27
```

3

1Subd. 8. Land Use and Natural Resource2Information1,000,000

1,000,000

4 Trust Fund 1,000,000 1,000,000

Summary by Fund

5 (a) Minnesota County Biological Survey

6 \$500,000 the first year and \$500,000 the second year are from the trust fund 7 8 to the commissioner of natural g resources for the tenth biennium to 10 accelerate the survey that identifies significant natural areas and 11 12 systematically collects and interprets 13 data on the distribution and ecology of 14 native plant communities, rare plants, 15 and rare animals.

16 (b) Soil Survey

17 \$250,000 the first year and \$250,000 18 the second year are from the trust fund to the Board of Water and Soil 19 20 Resources to accelerate digitizing of 21 completed soil surveys for Web-based 22 user application and for agreements 23 with Pine and Crow Wing Counties to 24 begin soil surveys. The new soil 25 surveys must be done on a cost-share 26 basis with local and federal funds. 27 This appropriation is available until 28 June 30, 2008, at which time the 29 project must be completed and final 30 products delivered, unless an earlier 31 date is specified in the work program.

32 (c) Land Cover Mapping for Natural Resource Protection

33 \$125,000 the first year and \$125,000 34 the second year are from the trust fund to the commissioner of natural 35 36 resources for an agreement with 37 Hennepin County to develop GIS tools 38 for prioritizing natural areas for 39 protection and restoration and to 40 update and complete land cover 41 classification mapping.

42 (d) Open Space Planning and Protection

43 \$125,000 the first year and \$125,000 44 the second year are from the trust fund 45 to the commissioner of natural 46 resources for an agreement with Anoka 47 Conservation District to protect open 48 space by identifying high priority 49 natural resource corridors through 50 planning, conservation easements, and 51 land dedication as part of development 52 processes.

53 Subd. 9. Agriculture and Natural 54 Resource Industries

 55
 Summary by Fund

 56
 Trust Fund
 1,342,000
 1,341,000

57 (a) Completing Third-Party Certification

Article 1

Section 11

28

1,342,000

1,341,000

of DNR Forest Lands 1 2 \$125,000 the first year and \$125,000 3 the second year are from the trust fund to the commissioner of natural 4 resources for third-party assessment 5 and certification of 4,470,000 acres of 6 7 DNR-administered lands under forest 8 sustainability standards established by 9 two internationally recognized forest certification systems, the Forest 10 11 Stewardship Council system, and the 12 Sustainable Forestry Initiative system. 13 (b) Third-Party Certification of Private Woodlands 14 \$188,000 the first year and \$188,000 15 the second year are from the trust fund to the University of Minnesota, Cloquet 16 Forestry Center, to pilot a third-party 17 18 certification assessment framework for 19 nonindustrial private forest owners. 20 (c) Sustainable Management of Private Forest Lands 21 \$437,000 the first year and \$437,000 22 the second year are from the trust fund to the commissioner of natural 23 24 resources to develop stewardship plans for private forested lands, implement 25 26 stewardship plans on a cost-share basis 27 and for conservation easements matching federal funds. This appropriation is federal funds. This appropriation is available until June 30, 2008, at which 28 29 time the project must be completed and 30 31 final products delivered, unless an 32 earlier date is specified in the work 33 program. 34 (d) Evaluating Riparian Timber Harvesting 35 Guidelines: Phase 2 36 \$167,000 the first year and \$166,000 the second year are from the trust fund 37 38 to the University of Minnesota for a 39 second biennium to assess the timber 40 harvesting riparian management 41 guidelines for postharvest impacts on terrestrial, aquatic, and wildlife 42 43 This appropriation is habitat. 44 available until June 30, 2008, at which 45 time the project must be completed and 46 final products delivered, unless an earlier date is specified in the work 47 48 program. 49 (e) Third Crops for Water Quality-Phase 2 50 \$250,000 the first year and \$250,000 51 the second year are from the trust fund 52 to the commissioner of natural 53 resources for cooperative agreements with Rural Advantage and the University 54 55 of Minnesota to accelerate adoption of 56 third crops to enhance water quality, 57 diversify cropping systems, supply 58 bioenergy, and provide wildlife habitat 59 through demonstration, research, and education. 60 This appropriation is 61 available until June 30, 2008, at which 62 time the project must be completed and

1 final products delivered, unless an 2 earlier date is specified in the work 3 program. 4 (f) Bioconversion of Potato Waste into 5 Marketable Biopolymers \$175,000 the first year and \$175,000 6 7 the second year are from the trust fund 8 to the commissioner of natural 9 resources for an agreement with Bemidji State University to evaluate the bioconversion of potato waste into 10 11 plant-based plastics. This 12 13 appropriation is available until June 14 30, 2008, at which time the project must be completed and final products 15 delivered, unless an earlier date is 16 specified in the work program. 17 18 Subd. 10. 1,896,000 Energy 1,896,000 19 Summary by Fund 20 Trust Fund 1,896,000 1,896,000 21 (a) Clean Energy Resource Teams and Community Wind 22 Energy Rebate Program 23 \$350,000 the first year and \$350,000 24 the second year are from the trust fund 25 to the commissioner of commerce. \$300,000 of this appropriation is to 26 27 provide technical assistance to implement cost-effective conservation, 28 energy efficiency, and renewable energy projects. \$400,000 of this 29 30 31 appropriation is to assist two 32 Minnesota communities in developing 33 locally owned wind energy projects by 34 offering financial assistance rebates. 35 (b) Planning for Economic Development 36 via Energy Independence \$120,000 the first year and \$120,000 37 the second year are from the trust fund 38 to the commissioner of natural 39 40 resources for an agreement with the 41 University of Minnesota-Duluth to 42 evaluate the socioeconomic benefits of 43 statewide and community renewable energy production and distribution by 44 45 analyzing system installation, 46 technical capabilities, 47 cost-competitiveness, economic impacts, 48 and policy incentives. 49 (c) Manure Methane Digester Compatible Wastes 50 and Electrical Generation 51 \$50,000 the first year and \$50,000 the second year are from the trust fund to 52 53 the commissioner of agriculture to 54 research the potential for a centrally 55 located, multifarm manure digester and 56 the potential use of compatible waste 57 streams with manure digesters. 58 (d) Dairy Farm Digesters

Article 1

Section 11

\$168,000 the first year and \$168,000 1 2 the second year are from the trust fund 3 to the commissioner of natural 4 resources for an agreement with the Minnesota Project for a pilot project 5 6 to evaluate anaerobic digester 7 technology on average size dairy farms 8 of 50 to 300 cows. 9 (e) Wind to Hydrogen Demonstration 10 \$400,000 the first year and \$400,000 the second year are from the trust fund 11 12 to the commissioner of natural 13 resources for an agreement with the University of Minnesota, West Central 14 15 Research and Outreach Center, to 16 develop a model community-scale 17 wind-to-hydrogen facility. 18 (f) Natural Gas Production from 19 Agricultural Biomass 20 \$50,000 the first year and \$50,000 the second year are from the trust fund to 21 22 the commissioner of natural resources 23 for an agreement with Sebesta Blomberg 24 and Associates to demonstrate potential natural gas yield using anaerobic digestion of blends of chopped grasses 25 26 27 or crop residue with hog manure and 28 determine optimum operating conditions 29 for conversion to natural gas. 30 (g) Biomass-Derived Oils for Generating Electricity 31 and Reducing Emissions \$75,000 the first year and \$75,000 the second year are from the trust fund to 32 33 34 the University of Minnesota to evaluate 35 the environmental and performance 36 benefits of using renewable 37 biomass-derived oils, such as soybean 38 oil, for generating electricity. 39 (h) Phillips Biomass Community Energy System 40 \$450,000 the first year and \$450,000 the second year are from the trust fund 41 to the commissioner of natural 42 43 resources for an agreement with 44 Phillips Community Energy Cooperative 45 to assist in the distribution system 46 equipment and construction costs for a 47 biomass district energy system. This 48 appropriation is contingent on all 49 appropriate permits being obtained and 50 a signed commitment of financing for the biomass electrical generating 51 facility being in place. 52 53 (i) Laurentian Energy Authority Biomass Project 54 \$233,000 the first year and \$233,000 55 the second year are from the trust fund 56 to the commissioner of natural resources for an agreement with 57 Virginia Public Utility to lease land 58 and plant approximately 1,000 acres of 59 60 trees to support a proposed conversion 61 to a biomass power plant.

Article 1 Section 11 31

1	Subd. 11.	Environmental	Education	360,000	360,000
2		Summary by	Fund		
3	Trust Fund	:	360,000 3	60,000	
4	(a) Enhanci	ing Civic Unde	rstanding of Gr	oundwater	
5 6 7 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17	second year the commiss for an agre Museum of M groundwater traveling of program. T available t time the pr final product	e first year and r are from the sioner of natur eement with the Minnesota to co r exhibits and groundwater cla This appropriation intil June 30, roject must be ucts delivered te is specified	trust fund to ral resources e Science reate a statewide assroom tion is 2008, at which completed and , unless an		
18 19		Creek Natural 1 Restoration	History Area In	terpretive	
20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35	the second to the comm resources if University Natural His acres of sa a Science if publicly de energy eff: interpretive appropriat: 30, 2008, a must be com delivered,	missioner of na for an agreemen of Minnesota, story Area, to	the trust fund atural nt with the Cedar Creek restore 400 irie; construct enter to hnologies for reate is le until June the project nal products lier date is		
36 37		nmental Problem ities Schools	m-Solving Model		
38 39 40 41 42 43	second year the commiss for an agro train high	r are from the sioner of natu eement with Ec	o Education to ts and teachers		
44	(d) Tamara	ck Nature Cent	er Exhibits		
45 46 47 48 49 50 51	second yea: the commiss for an agre Parks and I develop in	sioner of natu eement with Rai Recreation Dep	trust fund to ral resources msey County artment to ogical exhibits		
52 53	Subd. 12. Health	Children's En	vironmental	100,000	100,000
54		Summary by	Fund		
55	Trust Fund		100,000 1	00,000	
56 57	Minnesota (Reduction		ticide Exposure		

Article 1 Section 11

1 \$100,000 the first year and \$100,000 the second year are appropriated to the 2 commissioner of agriculture to reduce 3 4 children's pesticide exposure through 5 parent education on alternative pest 6 control methods and safe pesticide use. 7 Subd. 13, Data Availability Requirements 8 (a) During the biennium ending June 30, 9 2007, data collected by the projects 10 funded under this section that have 11 value for planning and management of 12 natural resource, emergency preparedness, and infrastructure 13 14 investments must conform to the 15 enterprise information architecture developed by the Office of Technology. 16 17 Spatial data must conform to geographic information system guidelines and standards outlined in that architecture 18 19 and adopted by the Minnesota Geographic 20 21 Data Clearinghouse at the Land 22 Management Information Center. description of these data that adheres to Office of Technology geographic metadata standards must be submitted to 23 24 25 26 the Land Management Information Center 27 to be made available online through the 28 clearinghouse, and the data themselves 29 must be accessible and free to the 30 public unless made private under the 31 Data Practices Act, Minnesota Statutes, 32 chapter 13.

33 (b) To the extent practicable, summary
34 data and results of projects funded
35 under this section should be readily
36 accessible on the Internet and
37 identified as an environment and
38 natural resources trust fund project.

39 (c) As part of project expenditures, 40 recipients of land acquisition 41 appropriations must provide the 42 information necessary to update public 43 recreation information maps to the 44 Department of Natural Resources in the 45 form specified by the department.

46 Subd. 14. Project Requirements

It is a condition of acceptance of the 47 48 appropriations in this section that any 49 agency or entity receiving the 50 appropriation must comply with 51 Minnesota Statutes, chapter 116P, and vegetation planted must be native to 52 Minnesota and preferably of the local ecotype unless the work program 53 54 55 approved by the commission expressly allows the planting of species that are 56 57 not native to Minnesota. Bridges that 58 are constructed with appropriations 59 under this section must be made out of iron, concrete, or wood. 60

61 Subd. 15. Match Requirements

62 Unless specifically authorized,

1 appropriations in this section that 2 must be matched and for which the match 3 has not been committed by December 31, 4 2005, are canceled, and in-kind 5 contributions may not be counted as 6 matching funds.

7 Subd. 16. Payment Conditions and Capital Equipment Expenditures

All agreements, grants, or contracts 8 referred to in this section must be 9 10 administered on a reimbursement basis 11 unless otherwise provided in this 12 Notwithstanding Minnesota section. Statutes, section 16A.41, expenditures made on or after July 1, 2005, or the 13 14 date the work program is approved, 15 16 whichever is later, are eligible for reimbursement unless otherwise provided in this section. Payment must be made 17 18 19 upon receiving documentation that 20 project-eligible, reimbursable dollar 21 amounts have been expended, except that reasonable amounts may be advanced to 22 projects to accommodate cash flow needs 23 24 or match federal funds. The advances 25 must be approved as part of the work program. No expenditures for capital equipment are allowed unless expressly 26 27 28 authorized in the project work program.

29 Subd. 17. Purchase of Recycled and Recyclable Materials

30 A political subdivision, public or private corporation, or other entity 31 32 that receives an appropriation in this 33 section must use the appropriation in 34 compliance with Minnesota Statutes, 35 sections 16B.121 and 16B.122, requiring 36 the purchase of recycled, repairable, 37 and durable materials; the purchase of uncoated paper stock; and the use of soy-based ink, the same as if it were a 38 39 40 state agency.

41 Subd. 18. Energy Conservation

42 A recipient to whom an appropriation is made in this section for a capital 43 44 improvement project shall ensure that 45 the project complies with the applicable energy conservation 46 47 standards contained in law, including 48 Minnesota Statutes, sections 216C.19 49 and 216C.20, and rules adopted 50 thereunder. The recipient may use the 51 energy planning, advocacy, and state 52 energy office units of the Department of Commerce to obtain information and 53 technical assistance on energy 54 55 conservation and alternative energy development relating to the planning and construction of the capital 56 57 58 improvement project.

59 Subd. 19. Accessibility

60 Structural and nonstructural facilities
61 must meet the design standards in the
62 Americans with Disability Act (ADA)
63 accessibility guidelines.

Article 1 Section 11

```
34
```

Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 16A.125,subdivision 5, is amended to read:

3 Subd. 5. [FOREST TRUST LANDS.] (a) The term "state forest 4 trust fund lands" as used in this subdivision, means public land 5 in trust under the Constitution set apart as "forest lands under 6 the authority of the commissioner" of natural resources as 7 defined by section 89.001, subdivision 13.

8 (b) The commissioner of finance shall credit the revenue 9 from the forest trust fund lands to the forest suspense 10 account. The account must specify the trust funds interested in 11 the lands and the respective receipts of the lands.

(c) After a fiscal year, the commissioner of finance shall 12 certify the total costs incurred for forestry during that year 13 under appropriations for the protection, improvement, 14 15 administration, and management of state forest trust fund lands 16 and construction and improvement of forest roads to enhance the forest value of the lands. The certificate must specify the 17 trust funds interested in the lands. The commissioner of 18 natural resources shall supply the commissioner of finance with 19 20 the information needed for the certificate.

21 (d) After a fiscal year, the commissioner shall distribute 22 the receipts credited to the suspense account during that fiscal 23 year as follows:

24 (a) (1) the amount of the certified costs incurred by the 25 state for forest management, forest improvement, and road 26 improvement during the fiscal year shall be transferred to 27 the general-fund- forest management investment account 28 established under section 89.039;

29 (2) the balance of the certified costs incurred by the
30 state during the fiscal year shall be transferred to the general
31 <u>fund; and</u>

32 (b) (3) the balance of the receipts shall then be returned 33 prorated to the trust funds in proportion to their respective 34 interests in the lands which produced the receipts. 35 Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 17.03, 36 subdivision 13, is amended to read:

Article 1 Section 13

```
35
```

Subd. 13. [SEMIANNUAL REPORTS.] (a) By-October-15-and 1 April-15-of-each-year, The commissioner shall submit to the 2 legislative committees having jurisdiction over appropriations 3 from the agricultural fund in section 16A.531 a-report reports 4 on the amount of revenue raised in each fee account within the 5 fund, the expenditures from each account, and the purposes for 6 7 which the expenditures were made. The reports must be issued in February and November each year, to coincide with the forecasts 8 9 of revenue and expenditures prepared under section 16A.103.

10 (b) The report delivered on-October-15 in February of each 11 year must include the commissioner's recommendations, if any, 12 for changes in statutes relating to the fee accounts of the 13 agricultural fund.

Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 17.117, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:

16 Subd. 5b. [APPLICATION FEE.] The commissioner may impose a 17 nonrefundable application fee of \$50 for each loan issued under 18 the program. The fees must be credited to the agricultural best 19 management practices administration account, which is hereby established in the agricultural fund. Interest earned in the 20 21 account accrues to the account. Money in the account and 22 interest earned in the accounts established in the agricultural fund under subdivision 5a are appropriated to the commissioner 23 24 for administrative expenses of the program.

Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 17B.03,
subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. [COMMISSIONER'S POWERS.] The commissioner 27 of agriculture shall exercise general supervision over the 28 inspection, grading, weighing, sampling, and analysis of grain 29 subject to the provisions of the United States Grain Standards 30 Act of 1976 and the rules promulgated thereunder by the United 31 States Department of Agriculture. This activity may take place 32 within or outside the state of Minnesota. Scale testing must be 33 34 performed at export locations or, upon request from and with the consent of the delegated authority, at domestic locations. Fees 35 for the testing of scales and weighing equipment shall be fixed . 36

Article 1

Section 15

1 by the commissioner and must be uniform with those charged by 2 the Division of Weights and Measures of the Department of 3 Commerce. Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 18B.05, 4 subdivision 1, is amended to read: 5 Subdivision 1. [ESTABLISHMENT.] A pesticide regulatory 6 7 account is established in the agricultural fund. Fees, assessments, and penalties collected under this chapter must be 8 deposited in the agricultural fund and credited to the pesticide 9 10 regulatory account. Money in the account, including interest, is appropriated to the commissioner for the administration and 11 12 enforcement of this chapter. Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 18B.08, 13 subdivision 4, is amended to read: 14 Subd. 4. [APPLICATION FEE.] A person initially applying 15

16 for a chemigation permit must pay a nonrefundable application 17 fee of \$50 \$250. A person who holds a fertilizer chemigation 18 permit under section 18C.205, is exempt from the fee in this 19 subdivision.

Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 18B.26,
subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. [APPLICATION FEE.] (a) A registrant shall pay an 22 23 annual application fee for each pesticide to be registered, and this fee is set at one-tenth of one percent for calendar year 24 1990, at one-fifth of one percent for calendar year 1991, and at 25 two-fifths of one percent for calendar year 1992 and thereafter 26 of annual gross sales within the state and annual gross sales of 27 pesticides used in the state, with a minimum nonrefundable fee 28 of \$250. The registrant shall determine when and which 29 30 pesticides are sold or used in this state. The registrant shall secure sufficient sales information of pesticides distributed 31 into this state from distributors and dealers, regardless of 32 distributor location, to make a determination. Sales of 33 pesticides in this state and sales of pesticides for use in this 34 state by out-of-state distributors are not exempt and must be 35 included in the registrant's annual report, as required under 36

paragraph (c), and fees shall be paid by the registrant based 1 2 upon those reported sales. Sales of pesticides in the state for use outside of the state are exempt from the application fee in 3 this paragraph if the registrant properly documents the sale 4 location and distributors. A registrant paying more than the 5 minimum fee shall pay the balance due by March 1 based on the 6 7 gross sales of the pesticide by the registrant for the preceding 8 calendar year. The fee for disinfectants and sanitizers shall be the minimum. The minimum fee is due by December 31 preceding 9 10 the year for which the application for registration is made. The commissioner shall spend at least \$300,000 per fiscal year 11 12 from the pesticide regulatory account for the purposes of the waste pesticide collection program. 13

(b) An additional fee of \$100 must be paid by the applicant
for each pesticide to be registered if the application is a
renewal application that is submitted after December 31.

17 (c) A registrant must annually report to the commissioner 18 the amount and type of each registered pesticide sold, offered 19 for sale, or otherwise distributed in the state. The report 20 shall be filed by March 1 for the previous year's registration. 21 The commissioner shall specify the form of the report and 22 require additional information deemed necessary to determine the amount and type of pesticides annually distributed in the 23 24 The information required shall include the brand name, state. 25 amount, and formulation of each pesticide sold, offered for sale, or otherwise distributed in the state, but the information 26 collected, if made public, shall be reported in a manner which 27 does not identify a specific brand name in the report. 28

29 (d) A registrant who is required to pay more than the minimum fee for any pesticide under paragraph (a) must pay a 30 late fee penalty of \$100 for each pesticide application fee paid 31 after March 1 in the year for which the license is to be issued. 32 Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 18B.31, 33 subdivision 5, is amended to read: 34 Subd. 5. [APPLICATION FEE.] (a) An application for a 35 pesticide dealer license must be accompanied by a nonrefundable 36

Article 1

Section 19

[REVISOR] CMR/CA 05-4113

04/27/05

1 application fee of \$50 \$150.

2 (b) If an application for renewal of a pesticide dealer 3 license is not filed before January 1 of the year for which the 4 license is to be issued, an additional fee of \$20 must be paid 5 by the applicant before the license is issued.

Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 18B.315,
7 subdivision 6, is amended to read:

Subd. 6. [FEES.] (a) An applicant for an aquatic pest
control license for a business must pay a nonrefundable
application fee of \$100 \$200. An employee of a licensed
business must pay a nonrefundable application fee of \$50 for an
individual aquatic pest control license.

(b) An application received after expiration of the aquatic pest control license is subject to a penalty of 50 percent of the application fee.

16 (c) An applicant that meets renewal requirements by 17 reexamination instead of attending workshops must pay the 18 equivalent workshop fee for the reexamination as determined by 19 the commissioner.

Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 18B.32,
subdivision 6, is amended to read:

Subd. 6. [FEES.] (a) An applicant for a structural pest control license for a business must pay a nonrefundable application fee of \$100 \$200. An employee of a licensed business must pay a nonrefundable application fee of \$50 for an individual structural pest control license.

(b) An application received after expiration of the
structural pest control license is subject to a penalty fee of
50 percent of the application fee.

30 (c) An applicant that meets renewal requirements by
31 reexamination instead of attending workshops must pay the
32 equivalent workshop fee for the reexamination as determined by
33 the commissioner.

34 Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 18B.33,
35 subdivision 7, is amended to read:
36 Subd. 7. [APPLICATION FEES.] (a) A person initially

Article 1 Section 22

applying for or renewing a commercial applicator license must
 pay a nonrefundable application fee of \$50.

(b) #f A license renewal application is-not-filed
before received after March 1 of in the year for which the
license is to be issued,-an-additional is subject to a penalty
fee of \$10-must-be-paid-before-the-commercial-applicator 50
percent of the application fee. The penalty fee must be paid
before the renewal license may be issued.

9 (c) An application for a duplicate commercial applicator 10 license must be accompanied by a nonrefundable application fee 11 of \$10.

Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 18B.34,
 subdivision 5, is amended to read:

Subd. 5. [FEES.] (a) A person initially applying for or renewing a noncommercial applicator license must pay a nonrefundable application fee of \$50, except an applicant who is a government <u>or Minnesota Conservation Corps</u> employee who uses pesticides in the course of performing official duties must pay a nonrefundable application fee of \$10.

(b) If-an <u>A license renewal</u> application for-renewal-of-a noncommercial-license-is-not-filed-before received after March 1 in the year for which the license is to be issued₇-an-additional is subject to a penalty fee of \$10-must-be-paid-before-the 50 percent of the application fee. The penalty fee must be paid before the renewal license may be issued.

(c) An application for a duplicate noncommercial applicator
license must be accompanied by a nonrefundable application fee
of \$10.

Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 18C.141,
subdivision 1, is amended to read:

31 Subdivision 1. [PROGRAM ESTABLISHMENT.] The commissioner 32 shall establish a-program voluntary programs to certify the 33 accuracy of analyses from soil and manure testing laboratories 34 and promote standardization of soil and manure testing 35 procedures and analytical results.

40

36 Sec. 25. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 18C.141,

Article 1 Section 25

1 subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. [ANALYSES REPORTING STANDARDS.] (a) The results obtained from soil, manure, or plant analysis must be reported in accordance with standard reporting units established by the commissioner by rule. The standard reporting units must conform as far as practical to uniform standards that are adopted on a regional or national basis.

(b) If a certified laboratory offers a recommendation for 8 9 use in Minnesota, the University of Minnesota recommendation or 10 that of another land grant college in a contiguous state must be offered in addition to other recommendations, and the source of 11 12 the recommendation must be identified on the recommendation 13 form. If relative levels such as low, medium, or high are 14 presented to classify the analytical results, the corresponding 15 relative levels based on the analysis as designated by the University of Minnesota or the land grant college in a 16 17 contiguous state must also be presented.

18 Sec. 26. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 18C.141,19 subdivision 5, is amended to read:

20 Subd. 5. [CERTIFICATION FEES.] (a) <u>The commissioner may</u> 21 <u>charge the actual costs for check sample preparation and</u> 22 <u>shipping.</u>

(b) A laboratory applying for certification shall-pay-an
application-fee-of-\$100-and-a-certification-fee-of-\$100-before
the-certification-is-issued may be charged a nonrefundable
certification fee to cover the actual costs for administration
of the program.

(b) (c) Certification is valid-for-one-year-and-the-renewal fee-is-\$100.--The-commissioner-shall-charge-an-additional application-fee-of-\$100-if-a-certified-laboratory-allows certification-to-lapse-before-applying-for-renewed-certification renewable on an annual basis.

33 (c) The commissioner shall notify a certified lab that its
34 certification lapses within 30 to 60 days of the date when the
35 certification lapses.

36 (d) The commissioner may accept donations to support the

[REVISOR] CMR/CA 05-4113

04/27/05

development and operation of soil and manure programs. 1 2 (e) Revenues under this section are deposited in the fertilizer account of the agricultural fund. 3 Sec. 27. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 18C.425, 4 5 subdivision 6, is amended to read: 6 Subd. 6. [INSPECTION FEES.] The person responsible for 7 payment of the inspection fees for fertilizers, soil amendments, 8 or plant amendments sold and used in this state must pay an 9 inspection fee of ±5 30 cents per ton of fertilizer, soil 10 amendment, and plant amendment sold or distributed in this 11 state, with a minimum of \$10 on all tonnage reports. Products 12 sold or distributed to manufacturers or exchanged between them 13 are exempt from the inspection fee imposed by this subdivision 14 if the products are used exclusively for manufacturing purposes. 15 Sec. 28. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 18E.03, 16 subdivision 2, is amended to read: [EXPENDITURES.] (a) Money in the agricultural 17 Subd. 2. 18 chemical response and reimbursement account may only be used: 19 (1) to pay for the commissioner's responses to incidents 20 under chapters 18B, 18C, and 18D that are not eligible for payment under section 115B.20, subdivision 2; 21 22 (2) to pay for emergency responses that are otherwise unable to be funded; 23 24 (3) to reimburse and pay corrective action costs under 25 section 18E.04; and 26 (4) by the board to reimburse the commissioner for board 27 staff and other administrative costs up to \$175,000 \$225,000 per 28 fiscal year. (b) Money in the agricultural chemical response and 29 reimbursement account is appropriated to the commissioner to 30 31 make payments as provided in this subdivision. Sec. 29. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 18G.10, 32 subdivision 5, is amended to read: 33 [CERTIFICATE FEES.] (a) The commissioner shall 34 Subd. 5. assess the fees in paragraphs (b) to (f) for the inspection, 35 service, and work performed in carrying out the issuance of a 36

Article 1

Section 29

phytosanitary certificate or export certificate. The inspection
 fee must be based on mileage and inspection time.

3 (b) Mileage charge: current United States Internal Revenue
4 Service mileage rate.

5 (c) Inspection time: \$50 per hour minimum or fee necessary 6 to cover department costs. Inspection time includes the driving 7 time to and from the location in addition to the time spent 8 conducting the inspection.

9 (d) A-fee-must-be-charged-for-any-certificate-issued-that 10 requires-laboratory-analysis-before-issuance.--The-fee-must-be 11 deposited-into-the-laboratory-account-as-authorized-in-section 12 ±7.85. If laboratory analysis or other technical analysis is 13 required to issue a certificate, the commissioner must set and 14 collect the fee to recover this additional cost.

15 (e) Certificate fee for product value greater than \$250: 16 \$75 for each phytosanitary or export certificate issued for any 17 single shipment valued at more than \$250 in addition to any 18 mileage or inspection time charges that are assessed.

(f) Certificate fee for product value less than \$250: \$25
for each phytosanitary or export certificate issued for any
single shipment valued at less than \$250 in addition to any
mileage or inspection time charges that are assessed.

23 (g) For services provided for in subdivision 7 that are 24 goods and services provided for the direct and primary use of a 25 private individual, business, or other entity, the commissioner 26 must set and collect the fees to cover the cost of the services 27 provided.

Sec. 30. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 18G.10,
subdivision 7, is amended to read:

30 Subd. 7. [PEANT-PROTECTION-INSPECTIONS, SUPPLEMENTAL, 31 ADDITIONAL, OR OTHER CERTIFICATES, AND PERMITS, AND-FEES.] (a) 32 The commissioner may provide inspection, sampling, or 33 certification services to ensure that Minnesota plant products 34 or commodities meet import requirements of other states or 35 countries.

36 (b) The state plant regulatory official may issue permits

Article 1 Section 30

```
43
```

and certificates verifying that various Minnesota agricultural products or commodities meet specified phytosanitary plant
<u>health</u> requirements, treatment requirements, or pest absence assurances based on determinations by the commissioner. The commissioner-may-collect-fees-sufficient-to-recover-costs-for these-permits-or-certificates.--The-fees-must-be-deposited-in the-nursery-and-phytosanitary-account.

8 Sec. 31. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 18G.16,
9 subdivision 1, is amended to read:

10 Subdivision 1. [DEFINITIONS.] (a) The definitions in this 11 subdivision apply to this section.

12 (b) "Metropolitan area" means the counties of Anoka,13 Carver, Dakota, Hennepin, Ramsey, Scott, and Washington.

14 (c) "Municipality" means a home rule charter or statutory 15 city or a town located in the metropolitan area that exercises municipal powers under section 368.01 or any general or special 16 17 law; a special park district organized under chapter 398; a 18 special-purpose park and recreation board organized under the 19 city charter of a city of the first class located in the metropolitan area; a county in the metropolitan area for the 20 21 purposes of county-owned property or any portion of a county 22 located outside the geographic boundaries of a city or a town 23 exercising municipal powers; and a municipality or county located outside the metropolitan area with an approved disease 24 25 control program.

(d) "Shade tree disease pest" means Butch-elm-disease7-oak
 wilt7-or-any-disorder pests or pathogens affecting the growth
 and life of shade trees.

(e) "Wood utilization or disposal system" means facilities,
equipment, or systems used for the removal and disposal of
diseased <u>or pest-infested</u> shade trees, including collection,
transportation, processing, or storage of wood and assisting in
the recovery of materials or energy from wood.

34 (f) "Approved disease pest control program" means a
35 municipal plan approved by the commissioner to control or
36 eradicate a shade tree disease pest.

Article 1 Section 31

(g) "Bisease Pest control area" means an area approved by
 the commissioner within which a municipality will conduct an
 approved disease pest control program.

(h) "Sanitation" means the identification, inspection,
disruption of a common root system, girdling, trimming, removal,
and disposal of dead, <u>pest-infested</u> or diseased wood of shade
trees, including subsidies for trees removed pursuant to
subdivision 4, on public or private property within a disease
control area.

(i) "Reforestation" means the replacement of shade trees 10 11 removed from public property and the planting of a tree as part of a municipal disease control program. For purposes of this 12 13 paragraph, "public property" includes private property within five feet of the boulevard or street terrace in a city that 14 15 enacted an ordinance on or before January 1, 1977, that prohibits or requires a permit for the planting of trees in the 16 public right-of-way. 17

18 (j) "Shade tree" means a woody perennial grown primarily 19 for aesthetic or environmental purposes.

Sec. 32. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 18G.16,
subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. [COMMISSIONER TO ADOPT RULES.] The commissioner may adopt rules relating to shade tree pest and disease control in any municipality. The rules must prescribe control measures to be used to prevent the spread of shade tree pests and diseases and must include the following:

27

a definition of shade tree;

28 (2) qualifications for tree inspectors;

29 (3) methods of identifying diseased or infested

30 pest-infested shade trees;

31 (4) procedures for giving reasonable notice of inspection
32 of private real property;

(5) measures for the removal of any shade tree which may
contribute to the spread of shade tree pests or disease and for
reforestation of pest or disease control areas;

36 (6) approved methods of treatment of shade trees;

Article 1 Section 32

```
45
```

(7) criteria for priority designation areas in an approved
 2 pest or disease control program; and

3 (8) any other matters determined necessary by the
4 commissioner to prevent the spread of shade tree pests or
5 disease and enforce this section.

Sec. 33. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 18G.16,
7 subdivision 3, is amended to read:

8 Subd. 3. [DIAGNOSTIC LABORATORY.] The commissioner shall 9 operate a diagnostic laboratory for culturing diseased or 10 infested pest-infested trees for positive identification of 11 diseased or infested pest-infested shade trees.

Sec. 34. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 18G.16,
 subdivision 4, is amended to read:

Subd. 4. 14 [COOPERATION BY UNIVERSITY.] The University of 15 Minnesota College of Natural Resources shall cooperate with the 16 department in control of shade tree disease, pests, and 17 disorders and management of shade tree populations. The College 18 of Natural Resources shall cooperate with the department to conduct tree inspector certification and recertification 19 20 workshops for certified tree inspectors. The College of Natural 21 Resources shall also conduct research into means for identifying 22 diseased or pest-infested shade trees, develop and evaluate 23 control measures, and develop means for disposing of and using diseased or pest-infested shade trees. 24

Sec. 35. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 18G.16,
subdivision 5, is amended to read:

Subd. 5. [EXPERIMENTAL PROGRAMS.] The commissioner may 27 establish experimental programs for sanitation or treatment of 28 shade tree diseases and for research into tree varieties most 29 suitable for municipal reforestation. The research must include 30 considerations of disease resistance, energy conservation, and 31 other factors considered appropriate. The commissioner may make 32 grants to municipalities or enter into contracts with 33 municipalities, nurseries, colleges, universities, or state or 34 federal agencies in connection with experimental shade tree 35 programs including research to assist municipalities in 36

Article 1 Section 35

[REVISOR] CMR/CA 05-4113

establishing priority designation areas for shade tree disease
 <u>pest</u> control and energy conservation.

3 Sec. 36. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 18G.16,
4 subdivision 6, is amended to read:

5 Subd. 6. [REMOVAL OF DISEASED OR INFESTED PEST-INFESTED TREES.] After reasonable notice of inspection, an owner of real 6 7 property containing a shade tree that is diseased, infested, or may contribute to the spread of pests or disease, must remove or 8 treat the tree within the period of time and in the manner 9 10 established by the commissioner. Trees that are not removed in 11 compliance with the commissioner's rules must be declared a 12 public nuisance and removed or treated by approved methods by the municipality, which may assess all or part of the expense, 13 14 limited to the lowest contract rates available that include wage 15 levels which meet Minnesota minimum wage standards, to the 16 property and the expense becomes a lien on the property. A 17 municipality may assess not more than 50 percent of the expense of treating with an approved method or removing diseased or 18 19 pest-infested shade trees located on street terraces or 20 boulevards to the abutting properties and the assessment becomes a lien on the property. 21

Sec. 37. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 18G.16,
subdivision 7, is amended to read:

Subd. 7. [RULES; APPLICABILITY TO MUNICIPALITIES.] The 24 25 rules of the commissioner apply in a municipality unless the municipality adopts an ordinance determined by the commissioner 26 to be more stringent than the rules of the commissioner. The 27 rules of the commissioner or the municipality apply to all state 28 agencies, special purpose districts, and metropolitan 29 30 commissions as defined in section 473.121, subdivision 5a, that own or control land adjacent to or within a shade tree disease 31 pest control area. 32

33 Sec. 38. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 18G.16,
34 subdivision 8, is amended to read:
35 Subd. 8. [GRANTS TO MUNICIPALITIES.] (a) The commissioner
36 may, in the name of the state and within the limit of

Article 1 Section 38 47

appropriations provided, make a grant to a municipality with an 1 approved disease pest control program for the partial funding of 2 municipal sanitation and reforestation programs to replace trees 3 lost to pest, disease, or natural disaster. The commissioner 4 may make a grant to a home rule charter or statutory city, a 5 special purpose park and recreation board organized under a 6 7 charter of a city of the first class, a nonprofit corporation serving a city of the first class, or a county having an 8 9 approved disease control program for the acquisition or 10 implementation of a wood use or disposal system.

(b) The commissioner shall adopt rules for the administration of grants under this subdivision. The rules must contain:

14

(1) procedures for grant applications;

15 (2) conditions and procedures for the administration of 16 grants;

17 (3) criteria of eligibility for grants including, but not 18 limited to, those specified in this subdivision; and

19 (4) other matters the commissioner may find necessary to20 the proper administration of the grant program.

21 (c) Grants for wood utilization and disposal systems made by the commissioner under this subdivision must not exceed 50 22 23 percent of the total cost of the system. Grants for sanitation and reforestation must be combined into one grant program. 24 25 Grants to a municipality for sanitation must not exceed 50 percent of sanitation costs approved by the commissioner 26 including any amount of sanitation costs paid by special 27 assessments, ad valorem taxes, federal grants, or other funds. 28 A municipality must not specially assess a property owner an 29 30 amount greater than the amount of the tree's sanitation cost minus the amount of the tree's sanitation cost reimbursed by the 31 commissioner. Grants to municipalities for reforestation must 32 not exceed 50 percent of the wholesale cost of the trees planted 33 34 under the reforestation program; provided that a reforestation grant to a county may include 90 percent of the cost of the 35 first 50 trees planted on public property in a town not included 36

Article 1

Section 38

in the definition of municipality in subdivision 1 and with less 1 than 1,000 population when the town applies to the county. 2 Reforestation grants to towns and home rule charter or statutory 3 cities of less than 4,000 population with an approved disease 4 pest control program may include 90 percent of the cost of the 5 first 50 trees planted on public property. The governing body 6 7 of a municipality that receives a reforestation grant under this section must appoint up to seven residents of the municipality 8 9 or designate an existing municipal board or committee to serve 10 as a reforestation advisory committee to advise the governing 11 body of the municipality in the administration of the reforestation program. For the purpose of this subdivision, 12 13 "cost" does not include the value of a gift or dedication of trees required by a municipal ordinance but does include 14 documented "in-kind" services or voluntary work for 15 16 municipalities with a population of less than 1,000 according to the most recent federal census. 17

18 (d) Based upon estimates submitted by the municipality to the commissioner, which state the estimated costs of sanitation 19 and reforestation in the succeeding quarter under an approved 20 program, the commissioner shall direct quarterly advance 21 payments to be made by the state to the municipality commencing 22 The commissioner shall direct adjustment of any 23 April 1. overestimate in a succeeding quarter. A municipality may elect 24 25 to receive the proceeds of its sanitation and reforestation grants on a periodic cost reimbursement basis. 26

(e) A home rule charter or statutory city, county outside
the metropolitan area, or any municipality, as defined in
subdivision 1, may submit an application for a grant authorized
by this subdivision concurrently with its request for approval
of a disease pest control program.

(f) The commissioner shall not make grants for sanitation and reforestation or wood utilization and disposal systems in excess of 67 percent of the amounts appropriated for those purposes to the municipalities located within the metropolitan area, as defined in subdivision 1.

Article 1 Section 38 49

Sec. 39. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 18G.16,
 subdivision 9, is amended to read:

3 Subd. 9. [SUBSIDIES TO CERTAIN OWNERS.] A municipality may 4 provide subsidies to nonprofit organizations, to owners of 5 private residential property of five acres or less, to owners of 6 property used for a homestead of more than five acres but less 7 than 20 acres, and to nonprofit cemeteries for the approved 8 treatment or removal of diseased <u>or pest-infested</u> shade trees.

9 Notwithstanding any law to the contrary, an owner of 10 property on which shade trees are located may contract with a municipality to provide protection against the cost of approved 11 12 treatment or removal of diseased or pest-infested shade trees or 13 shade trees that will contribute to the spread of shade tree 14 diseases or pest infestations. Under the contract, the 15 municipality must pay for the removal or approved treatment 16 under terms and conditions determined by its governing body. 17 Sec. 40. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 18G.16,

18 subdivision 14, is amended to read:

19 Subd. 14. [MUNICIPAL OPTION TO PARTICIPATE IN PROGRAM.] 20 The term "municipality" shall include only those municipalities 21 which have informed the commissioner of their intent to continue 22 an approved disease pest control program. Any municipality desiring to participate in the grants-in-aid for the partial 23 24 funding of municipal sanitation and reforestation programs must notify the commissioner in writing before the beginning of the 25 26 calendar year in which it wants to participate and must have an approved disease pest control program during any year in which 27 it receives grants-in-aid. Notwithstanding the provisions of 28 any law to the contrary, no municipality shall be required to 29 have an approved disease control program after December 31, 1981. 30 31 Sec. 41. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 18H.07, subdivision 1, is amended to read: 32

33 Subdivision 1. [ESTABLISHMENT OF FEES.] The commissioner 34 shall establish fees sufficient to allow for the administration 35 and enforcement of this chapter and rules adopted under this 36 chapter, including the portion of general support costs and

50

Article 1 Section 41

[REVISOR] CMR/CA 05-4113

04/27/05

1 statewide indirect costs of the agency attributable to that function, with a reserve sufficient for up to six months. 2 The commissioner shall review the fee schedule annually in 3 consultation with the Minnesota Nursery and Landscape Advisory 4 5 Committee. For the certificate year beginning January 1, 2004 2006, the fees are as described in this section. 6 7 Sec. 42. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 18H.07, subdivision 2, is amended to read: 8 Subd. 2. [NURSERY STOCK GROWER CERTIFICATE.] (a) A nursery 9 10 stock grower must pay an annual fee based on the area of all 11 acreage on which nursery stock is grown for certification as 12 follows: 13 (1) less than one-half acre, \$150; (2) from one-half acre to two acres, \$200; 14 15 (3) over two acres up to five acres, \$300; 16 (4) over five acres up to ten acres, \$350; 17 (5) over ten acres up to 20 acres, \$500; 18 (6) over 20 acres up to 40 acres, \$650; (7) over 40 acres up to 50 acres, \$800; 19 (8) over 50 acres up to 200 acres, \$1,100; 20 21 (9) over 200 acres up to 500 acres, \$1,500; and (10) over 500 acres, \$1,500 plus \$2 for each additional 22 23 acre. (b) In addition to the fees in paragraph (a), a penalty of 24 25 ten percent of the fee due must be charged for each month, or portion thereof, that the fee is delinquent up to a maximum of 26 30 percent for any application for renewal not received by 27 January 1 of the year following expiration of a certificate. 28 Sec. 43. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 18H.07, 29 30 subdivision 3, is amended to read: 31 Subd. 3. [NURSERY STOCK DEALER CERTIFICATE.] (a) A nursery 32 stock dealer must pay an annual fee based on the dealer's gross sales of certified nursery stock per location during the 33 34 preceding most recent certificate year. A certificate applicant operating for the first time must pay the minimum fee. The fees 35 per sales location are: 36

51

Article 1 Section 43

• •

1	(1) gross sales up to \$20,000 <u>\$5,000</u> , \$150;
2	(2) gross sales over 207000 yr to 1007000 yr
3	\$175;
4	(3) gross sales over $\$100,000$ up to
5	\$250,000 , \$300;
6	(4) gross sales over $25\theta_7\theta_\theta$ $50,000$ up to
7	\$500,000 <u>\$75,000</u> , \$425;
8	(5) gross sales over $$500_7000$ $$75,000$ up to
9	\$±70007000 <u>\$100,000</u> , \$550;
10	(6) gross sales over $\frac{1}{7}0007000$ up to
11	\$2,000,000 , \$675; and
12	(7) gross sales over \$2,000,000 , \$800.
13	(b) In addition to the fees in paragraph (a), a penalty of
14	ten percent of the fee due must be charged for each month <u>, or</u>
15	portion thereof, that the fee is delinquent up to a maximum of
16	30 percent for any application for renewal not received by
17	January 1 of the year following expiration of a certificate.
18	Sec. 44. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 19.64,
19	subdivision 1, is amended to read:
20	Subdivision 1. [REGISTRATION.] Every person who owns,
20	
21	leases, or possesses colonies of bees or-who-intends-to-bring
21	leases, or possesses colonies of bees or-who-intends-to-bring
21 22	leases, or possesses colonies of bees or-who-intends-to-bring bees-into-the-state-under-an-entry-permit shall register the
21 22 23	leases, or possesses colonies of bees or-who-intends-to-bring bees-into-the-state-under-an-entry-permit shall register the bees with the commissioner on or before April-15 June 1 of each
21 22 23 24	leases, or possesses colonies of bees or-who-intends-to-bring bees-into-the-state-under-an-entry-permit shall register the bees with the commissioner on or before April-15 June 1 of each year or within 15 days of entry into Minnesota or taking
21 22 23 24 25	leases, or possesses colonies of bees or-who-intends-to-bring bees-into-the-state-under-an-entry-permit shall register the bees with the commissioner on or before April-15 June 1 of each year or within 15 days of entry into Minnesota or taking possession of hives, whichever comes first. The registration
21 22 23 24 25 26	leases, or possesses colonies of bees or-who-intends-to-bring bees-into-the-state-under-an-entry-permit shall register the bees with the commissioner on or before April-15 June 1 of each year or within 15 days of entry into Minnesota or taking possession of hives, whichever comes first. The registration application shall include the name and address of the applicant,
21 22 23 24 25 26 27	<pre>leases, or possesses colonies of bees or-who-intends-to-bring bees-into-the-state-under-an-entry-permit shall register the bees with the commissioner on or before April-15 June 1 of each year or within 15 days of entry into Minnesota or taking possession of hives, whichever comes first. The registration application shall include the name and address of the applicant, a description of the exact location of each of the applicant's</pre>
21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28	<pre>leases, or possesses colonies of bees or-who-intends-to-bring bees-into-the-state-under-an-entry-permit shall register the bees with the commissioner on or before April-15 June 1 of each year or within 15 days of entry into Minnesota or taking possession of hives, whichever comes first. The registration application shall include the name and address of the applicant, a description of the exact location of each of the applicant's apiaries by county, township, range and quarter section, and</pre>
21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29	leases, or possesses colonies of bees or-who-intends-to-bring bees-into-the-state-under-an-entry-permit shall register the bees with the commissioner on or before April-15 June 1 of each year or within 15 days of entry into Minnesota or taking possession of hives, whichever comes first. The registration application shall include the name and address of the applicant, a description of the exact location of each of the applicant's apiaries by county, township, range and quarter section, and other information required by the commissioner. The fee for
21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30	<pre>leases, or possesses colonies of bees or-who-intends-to-bring bees-into-the-state-under-an-entry-permit shall register the bees with the commissioner on or before April-15 June 1 of each year or within 15 days of entry into Minnesota or taking possession of hives, whichever comes first. The registration application shall include the name and address of the applicant, a description of the exact location of each of the applicant's apiaries by county, township, range and quarter section, and other information required by the commissioner. The fee for registration under this subdivision is \$10 \$25 for beekeepers</pre>
21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31	<pre>leases, or possesses colonies of bees or-who-intends-to-bring bees-into-the-state-under-an-entry-permit shall register the bees with the commissioner on or before April-15 June 1 of each year or within 15 days of entry into Minnesota or taking possession of hives, whichever comes first. The registration application shall include the name and address of the applicant, a description of the exact location of each of the applicant's apiaries by county, township, range and quarter section, and other information required by the commissioner. The fee for registration under this subdivision is \$10 \$25 for beekeepers with less than 50 colonies and \$50 for beekeepers with 50</pre>
21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32	<pre>leases, or possesses colonies of bees or-who-intends-to-bring bees-into-the-state-under-an-entry-permit shall register the bees with the commissioner on or before April-15 June 1 of each year or within 15 days of entry into Minnesota or taking possession of hives, whichever comes first. The registration application shall include the name and address of the applicant, a description of the exact location of each of the applicant's apiaries by county, township, range and quarter section, and other information required by the commissioner. The fee for registration under this subdivision is \$10 \$25 for beekeepers with less than 50 colonies and \$50 for beekeepers with 50 colonies or more maintained in the state. The-commissioner</pre>
21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33	<pre>leases, or possesses colonies of bees or-who-intends-to-bring bees-into-the-state-under-an-entry-permit shall register the bees with the commissioner on or before April-15 June 1 of each year or within 15 days of entry into Minnesota or taking possession of hives, whichever comes first. The registration application shall include the name and address of the applicant, a description of the exact location of each of the applicant's apiaries by county, township, range and quarter section, and other information required by the commissioner. The fee for registration under this subdivision is \$10 \$25 for beekeepers with less than 50 colonies and \$50 for beekeepers with 50 colonies or more maintained in the state. The-commissioner shall-provide-registered-beekeepers-with-the-Minnesota-pest</pre>
21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 31 32 33 34	<pre>leases, or possesses colonies of bees or-who-intends-to-bring bees-into-the-state-under-an-entry-permit shall register the bees with the commissioner on or before April-15 June 1 of each year or within 15 days of entry into Minnesota or taking possession of hives, whichever comes first. The registration application shall include the name and address of the applicant, a description of the exact location of each of the applicant's apiaries by county, township, range and quarter section, and other information required by the commissioner. The fee for registration under this subdivision is \$10 \$25 for beekeepers with less than 50 colonies and \$50 for beekeepers with 50 colonies or more maintained in the state. The-commissioner shall-provide-registered-beekeepers-with-the-Minnesota-pest report;</pre>

[REVISOR] CMR/CA 05-4113

plainly and legibly marked with the owner's name and telephone
number and address, and other information required by the
commissioner. The department shall provide information on
colony locations as reported on the registrations on an Internet
Web site or through other appropriate measures.
Sec. 45. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 25.341,
subdivision 2, is amended to read:
Subd. 2. [APPLICATION; FEE; TERM.] A person who is
required to have a commercial feed license shall submit an
application on a form provided or approved by the commissioner
accompanied by a license fee of \$25 paid to the commissioner for
each facility location. A license is not transferable from one
person to another, from one ownership to another, or from one
location to another. The license year is the calendar year. A
license expires on December 31 of the year for which it is
issued, except that a license is valid through January 31 of the
next year or until the issuance of the renewal license,
whichever comes first, if the licensee has filed a renewal
application with the commissioner on or before December 31 of
the year for which the current license was issued. A-new
applicant-who Any person who is required to have, but fails to
obtain a license within-15-working-days-of-notification-of-the
requirement-to-obtain-a-license, or a licensee who fails to
comply with license renewal requirements, shall pay a \$50 late
fee in addition to the license fee. The-commissioner-may-issue
a-withdrawal-from-distribution-order-on-any-commercial-feed-that
an-unlicensed-person-produces-or-distributes-in-the-state-until
an-unlicensed-person-produces-or-distributes-in-the-state-until a-license-is-issued.
a-license-is-issued.
a-license-is-issued. Sec. 46. [25.342] [CERTIFICATES, FREE SALE.]
a-license-is-issued. Sec. 46. [25.342] [CERTIFICATES, FREE SALE.] A nonrefundable application fee of \$25 must accompany all
<pre>a-license-is-issued. Sec. 46. [25.342] [CERTIFICATES, FREE SALE.] <u>A nonrefundable application fee of \$25 must accompany all</u> free sale certificate requests to facilitate the movement of</pre>
<pre>a-license-is-issued. Sec. 46. [25.342] [CERTIFICATES, FREE SALE.] <u>A nonrefundable application fee of \$25 must accompany all</u> free sale certificate requests to facilitate the movement of <u>Minnesota processed and manufactured feeds destined for export</u></pre>
<pre>a-license-is-issued: Sec. 46. [25.342] [CERTIFICATES, FREE SALE.] A nonrefundable application fee of \$25 must accompany all free sale certificate requests to facilitate the movement of Minnesota processed and manufactured feeds destined for export from the state. Each label submitted for review must be</pre>

Article 1 Section 47 53

Subdivision 1. [AMOUNT OF FEE.] (a) An inspection fee at 1 the rate of 16 cents per ton must be paid to the commissioner on 2 commercial feeds distributed in this state by the person who 3 first distributes the commercial feed, except that: 4 5 (1) no fee meeds-to need be paid on: 6 (1) (i) a commercial feed if the payment has been made by a 7 previous distributor; or (11) customer formula feeds if the inspection fee is 8 paid on the commercial feeds which are used as ingredients; or 9 10 (3)-commercial-feeds-used-as-ingredients-for-the manufacture-of-commercial-feeds-if-the-fee-has-been-paid-by-a 11 12 must-be-given-for-that-payment. (2) a Minnesota feed distributor 13 who distributes can substantiate that greater than 50 percent of 14 the distribution of commercial feed is to purchasers outside the 15 state may purchase commercial feeds, without payment by-any 16 person of the inspection fee required-on-those-purchases, under 17 a tonnage fee exemption permit issued by the commissioner. Such 18 19 location specific permits shall only be issued on a calendar 20 year basis to commercial feed distributors who submit a \$100 nonrefundable application fee and comply with rules adopted by 21 the commissioner relative to record keeping, tonnage of 22 commercial feed distributed in Minnesota, total of all 23 commercial feed tonnage distributed, and all other information 24 which the commissioner may require so as to ensure that proper 25 inspection fee payment has been made. 26

(b) In the case of pet food distributed in the state only 27 in packages of ten pounds or less, a listing of each product and 28 a current label for each product must be submitted annually on 29 forms provided by the commissioner and accompanied by an annual 30 fee of \$50 for each product in lieu of the inspection fee. This 31 annual fee is due by July 1. The inspection fee required by 32 paragraph (a) applies to pet food distributed in packages 33 exceeding ten pounds. 34

35 (c) In the case of specialty pet food distributed in the
36 state only in packages of ten pounds or less, a listing of each

Article 1

Section 47

1 product and a current label for each product must be submitted 2 annually on forms provided by the commissioner and accompanied 3 by an annual fee of \$25 for each product in lieu of the 4 inspection fee. This annual fee is due by July 1. The 5 inspection fee required by paragraph (a) applies to specialty 6 pet food distributed in packages exceeding ten pounds.

7 (d) The minimum inspection fee is \$10 per annual reporting8 period.

9 Sec. 48. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 25.39,
10 subdivision 4, is amended to read:

[COMMERCIAL FEED INSPECTION ACCOUNT.] A 11 Subd. 4. 12 commercial feed inspection account is established in the 13 agricultural fund. Fees and penalties collected under sections 25-35-to-25-43 this chapter and interest attributable to money 14 in the account must be deposited in the agricultural fund and 15 credited to the commercial feed inspection account. Money in 16 the account, including interest earned, is appropriated to the 17 18 commissioner for the administration and enforcement of sections 25-341-to-25-43 this chapter. 19

Sec. 49. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 41A.09,
21 subdivision 2a, is amended to read:

Subd. 2a. [DEFINITIONS.] For the purposes of this section,
the terms defined in this subdivision have the meanings given
them.

(a) "Ethanol" means fermentation ethyl alcohol derived from
agricultural products, including potatoes, cereal grains, cheese
whey, and sugar beets; forest products; or other renewable
resources, including residue and waste generated from the
production, processing, and marketing of agricultural products,
forest products, and other renewable resources, that:

31 (1) meets all of the specifications in ASTM specification 32 D4806-01; and

33 (2) is denatured as specified in Code of Federal
34 Regulations, title 27, parts 20 and 21.

35 (b) "Ethanol plant" means a plant at which ethanol is 36 produced.

Article 1 Section 49

1	(c) "Commissioner" means the commissioner of agriculture.
2	(d) "Rural economic infrastructure" means the development
3	activities that will enhance the value of agricultural crop or
4	livestock commodities or by-products or waste from farming
5	operations.

Sec. 50. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 41A.09,
subdivision 3a, is amended to read:

8 Subd. 3a. [ETHANOL PRODUCER PAYMENTS.] (a) The commissioner shall make cash payments to producers of ethanol 9 10 located in the state that have begun production at a specific 11 location by June 30, 2000. For the purpose of this subdivision, an entity that holds a controlling interest in more than one 12 13 ethanol plant is considered a single producer. The amount of the payment for each producer's annual production, except as 14 15 provided in paragraph (c), is 20 cents per gallon for each gallon of ethanol produced at a specific location on or before 16 17 June 30, 2000, or ten years after the start of production, 18 whichever is later. Annually, within 90 days of the end of its 19 fiscal year, an ethanol producer receiving payments under this 20 subdivision must file a disclosure statement on a form provided 21 by the commissioner. The initial disclosure statement must 22 include a summary description of the organization of the 23 business structure of the claimant, a listing of the percentages 24 of ownership by any person or other entity with an ownership 25 interest of five percent or greater, and a copy of its annual audited financial statements, including the auditor's report and 26 27 footnotes. The disclosure statement must include information 28 demonstrating what percentage of the entity receiving payments under this section is owned by farmers or other entities 29 eligible to farm or own agricultural land in Minnesota under the 30 provisions of section 500.24. Subsequent annual reports must 31 reflect noncumulative changes in ownership of ten percent or 32 more of the entity. The report need not disclose the identity 33 34 of the persons or entities eligible to farm or own agricultural land with ownership interests, individuals residing within 30 35 miles of the plant, or of any other entity with less than ten 36

Article 1

Section 50

percent ownership interest, but the claimant must retain 1 information within its files confirming the accuracy of the data 2 provided. This data must be made available to the commissioner 3 Not later than the 15th day of February in each 4 upon request. year the commissioner shall deliver to the chairs of the 5 standing committees of the senate and the house of 6 representatives that deal with agricultural policy and 7 agricultural finance issues an annual report summarizing 8 aggregated data from plants receiving payments under this 9 10 section during the preceding calendar year. Audited financial statements and notes and disclosure statements submitted to the 11 commissioner are nonpublic data under section 13.02, subdivision 12 Notwithstanding the provisions of chapter 13 relating to 13 9. nonpublic data, summaries of the submitted audited financial 14 reports and notes and disclosure statements will be contained in 15 16 the report to the committee chairs and will be public data.

17 (b) No payments shall be made for ethanol production that
18 occurs after June 30, 2010. <u>A producer of ethanol shall not</u>
19 <u>transfer the producer's eligibility for payments under this</u>
20 <u>section to an ethanol plant at a different location.</u>

(c) If the level of production at an ethanol plant increases due to an increase in the production capacity of the plant, the payment under paragraph (a) applies to the additional increment of production until ten years after the increased production began. Once a plant's production capacity reaches 15,000,000 gallons per year, no additional increment will qualify for the payment.

(d) Total payments under paragraphs (a) and (c) to a 28 producer in a fiscal year may not exceed \$3,000,000. 29 30 (e) By the last day of October, January, April, and July, each producer shall file a claim for payment for ethanol 31 32 production during the preceding three calendar months. A producer that files a claim under this subdivision shall include 33 34 a statement of the producer's total ethanol production in Minnesota during the quarter covered by the claim. For each 35 36 claim and statement of total ethanol production filed under this

[REVISOR] CMR/CA 05-4113

subdivision, the volume of ethanol production must be examined
 by an independent certified public accountant in accordance with
 standards established by the American Institute of Certified
 Public Accountants.

5 (f) Payments shall be made November 15, February 15, May 6 15, and August 15. A separate payment shall be made for each 7 claim filed. Except as provided in paragraph (g), the total 8 quarterly payment to a producer under this paragraph may not 9 exceed \$750,000.

10 (g) Notwithstanding the quarterly payment limits of 11 paragraph (f), the commissioner shall make an additional payment 12 in the fourth quarter of each fiscal year to ethanol producers 13 for the lesser of: (1) 20 cents per gallon of production in the 14 fourth quarter of the year that is greater than 3,750,000 15 gallons; or (2) the total amount of payments lost during the 16 first three quarters of the fiscal year due to plant outages, 17 repair, or major maintenance. Total payments to an ethanol producer in a fiscal year, including any payment under this 18 19 paragraph, must not exceed the total amount the producer is 20 eligible to receive based on the producer's approved production 21 capacity. The provisions of this paragraph apply only to 22 production losses that occur in quarters beginning after 23 December 31, 1999.

24 (h) The commissioner shall reimburse ethanol producers for 25 any deficiency in payments during earlier quarters if the 26 deficiency occurred because of unallotment or because 27 appropriated money was insufficient to make timely payments in 28 the full amount provided in paragraph (a). Notwithstanding the 29 quarterly or annual payment limitations in this subdivision, the 30 commissioner shall begin making payments for earlier deficiencies in each fiscal year that appropriations for ethanol 31 payments exceed the amount required to make eligible scheduled 32 33 payments. Payments for earlier deficiencies must continue until 34 the deficiencies for each producer are paid in full.

35 (i) The commissioner may make direct payments to producers 36 of rural economic infrastructure with any amount of the annual

Article 1

Section 50

[REVISOR] CMR/CA 05-4113

appropriation for ethanol producer payments and rural economic 1 infrastructure that is in excess of the amount required to make 2 scheduled ethanol producer payments and deficiency payments 3 4 under paragraphs (a) to (h). Sec. 51. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 41A.09, is 5 6 amended by adding a subdivision to read: Subd. 9. [MOTOR VEHICLES; ETHANOL COMBUSTION EFFICIENCY 7 8 GRANTS.] From within the appropriation for each fiscal year to 9 the ethanol development program under this section, or from 10 other appropriated money, the commissioner shall make up to two grants, each in an amount not exceeding \$50,000, to qualified 11 applicants proposing to do research on, but not limited to, 12 13 ethanol's effect on fuel system materials compatibility and ways 14 to improve the energy efficiency of ethanol fuel blends in motor 15 vehicles while meeting all requirements for control of tailpipe emissions. A grant recipient may receive funding for no more 16 than two consecutive years. A research project must be matched 17 by \$2 of nonstate money for each \$3 of state grant money. 18 Sec. 52. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 41A.09, is 19 amended by adding a subdivision to read: 20 Subd. 10. [GUIDELINES.] The commissioner shall establish 21 guidelines not subject to chapter 14 for the submission and 22 review of applications and the awarding of grants under 23 subdivision 9. 24 Sec. 53. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 41B.046, 25

26 subdivision 5, is amended to read:

Subd. 5. [LOANS.] (a) The authority may participate in a 27 stock loan with an eligible lender to a farmer who is eligible 28 under subdivision 4. Participation is limited to 45 percent of 29 the principal amount of the loan or \$40,000, whichever is less. 30 The interest rates and repayment terms of the authority's 31 participation interest may differ from the interest rates and 32 repayment terms of the lender's retained portion of the loan, 33 but the authority's interest rate must not exceed 50 percent of 34 the lender's interest rate. 35

36 (b) No more than 95 percent of the purchase price of the

1 stock may be financed under this program.

2 (c) Security for stock loans must be the stock purchased, a
3 personal note executed by the borrower, and whatever other
4 security is required by the eligible lender or the authority.

5 (d) The authority may impose a reasonable nonrefundable 6 application fee for each application for a stock loan. The 7 authority may review the fee annually and make adjustments as 8 necessary. The application fee is initially \$50. Application 9 fees received by the authority must be deposited in the 10 value-added agricultural product revolving fund.

(e) Stock loans under this program will be made using money
 in the value-added-agricultural-product revolving fund loan
 account established under-subdivision-3 in section 41B.06.

(f) The authority may not grant stock loans in a cumulative amount exceeding \$2,000,000 for the financing of stock purchases in any one cooperative.

(g) Repayments of financial assistance under this section,
 including principal and interest, must be deposited into the
 revolving loan account established in section 41B.06.

20 Sec. 54. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 41B.049, 21 subdivision 2, is amended to read:

22 Subd. 2. [REVOLVING-FUND DEPOSIT OF REPAYMENTS.] There-is 23 established-in-the-state-treasury-a-revolving-fund,-which-is 24 eligible-to-receive-appropriations-and-the-transfer-of-funds 25 from-other-services. All repayments of financial assistance 26 granted under subdivision 1, including principal and interest, must be deposited into this-fund---Interest-earned-on-money-in 27 28 the-fund-accrues-to-the-fund,-and-money-in-the-fund-is 29 appropriated-to-the-commissioner-of-agriculture-for-purposes-of 30 the-manure-digester-loan-program7-including-costs-incurred-by the-authority-to-establish-and-administer-the-program the 31 revolving loan account established in section 41B.06. 32 Sec. 55. [41B.055] [LIVESTOCK EQUIPMENT PILOT LOAN 33 34 PROGRAM.] 35 Subdivision 1. [ESTABLISHMENT.] The authority must

36 establish and implement a livestock equipment pilot loan program

Article 1

Section 55

1	to help finance the first purchase of livestock-related
2	equipment and make livestock facilities improvements.
3	Subd. 2. [ELIGIBILITY.] Notwithstanding section 41B.03, to
4	be eligible for this program a borrower must:
5	(1) be a resident of Minnesota or general partnership or a
6	family farm corporation, authorized farm corporation, family
7	farm partnership, or authorized farm partnership as defined in
8	section 500.24, subdivision 2;
9	(2) be the principal operator of a livestock farm;
10	(3) have a total net worth, including assets and
11	liabilities of the borrower's spouse and dependents, no greater
12	than the amount stipulated in section 41B.03, subdivision 3;
13	(4) demonstrate an ability to repay the loan; and
14	(5) hold an appropriate feedlot registration or be using
15	the loan under this program to meet registration requirements.
16	In addition to the requirements in clauses (1) to (5),
17	preference must be given to applicants who have farmed less than
18	ten years as evidenced by their filing of schedule F in their
19	federal tax returns.
20	Subd. 3. [LOANS.] (a) The authority may participate in a
21	livestock equipment loan equal to 90 percent of the purchased
22	equipment value with an eligible lender to a farmer who is
23	eligible under subdivision 2. Participation is limited to 45
24	percent of the principal amount of the loan or \$40,000,
25	whichever is less. The interest rates and repayment terms of
26	the authority's participation interest may differ from the
27	interest rates and repayment terms of the lender's retained
28	portion of the loan, but the authority's interest rate must not
29	exceed three percent. The authority may review the interest
30	annually and make adjustments as necessary.
31	(b) Standards for loan amortization must be set by the
32	rural finance authority and must not exceed seven years.
33	(c) Security for a livestock equipment loan must be a
34	personal note executed by the borrower and whatever other
35	security is required by the eligible lender or the authority.
36	(d) Refinancing of existing debt is not an eligible purpose.

[REVISOR] CMR/CA 05-4113

1	(e) The authority may impose a reasonable, nonrefundable
2	application fee for a livestock equipment loan. The authority
3	may review the fee annually and make adjustments as necessary.
4	The initial application fee is \$50. Application fees received
5	by the authority must be deposited in the revolving loan account
6	established in section 41B.06.
7	(f) Loans under this program must be made using money in
8	the revolving loan account established in section 41B.06.
9	Subd. 4. [ELIGIBLE EXPENDITURES.] Money may be used for
10	loans for the acquisition of equipment for animal housing,
11	confinement, animal feeding, milk production, and waste
12	management, including the following, if related to animal
13	husbandry:
14	(1) fences;
15	<pre>(2) watering facilities;</pre>
16	(3) feed storage and handling equipment;
17	(4) milking parlors;
18	(5) milking equipment;
19	(6) scales;
20	(7) milk storage and cooling facilities;
21	(8) manure pumping and storage facilities; and
22	(9) capital investment in pasture.
23	Sec. 56. [41B.06] [RURAL FINANCE AUTHORITY REVOLVING LOAN
24	ACCOUNT.]
25	There is established in the rural finance administration
26	fund a rural finance authority revolving loan account that is
27	eligible to receive appropriations and the transfer of loan
28	funds from other programs. All repayments of financial
29	assistance granted from this account, including principal and
30	interest, must be deposited into this account. Interest earned
31	on money in the account accrues to the account, and the money in
32	the account is appropriated to the commissioner of agriculture
33	for purposes of the rural finance authority livestock equipment,
34	methane digester, and value-added agricultural product loan
35	programs, including costs incurred by the authority to establish
36	and administer the programs.

Sec. 57. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 84.027,
 subdivision 12, is amended to read:

[PROPERTY DISPOSAL; GIFT ACKNOWLEDGMENT; Subd. 12. 3 ADVERTISING SALES.] (a) The commissioner may give away to 4 members of the public items with a value of less than $\$\theta$ \$50 5 that are intended to promote conservation of natural resources 6 or create awareness of the state and its resources or natural 7 resource management programs. The total value of items given to 8 the public under this paragraph may not exceed \$25,000 per year. 9 10 (b) The commissioner may recognize the contribution of money or in-kind services on plaques, signs, publications, 11 audio-visual materials, and media advertisements by allowing the 12 13 organization's contribution to be acknowledged in print of readable size. 14

(c) The commissioner may accept paid advertising for
departmental publications. Advertising revenues received are
appropriated to the commissioner to be used to defray costs of
publications, media productions, or other informational
materials. The commissioner may not accept paid advertising
from any elected official or candidate for elective office.
Sec. 58. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 84.027,

22 subdivision 13, is amended to read:

23 Subd. 13. [GAME AND FISH RULES.] (a) The commissioner of 24 natural resources may adopt rules under sections 97A.0451 to 25 97A.0459 and this subdivision that are authorized under:

(1) chapters 97A, 97B, and 97C to set open seasons and
areas, to close seasons and areas, to select hunters for areas,
to provide for tagging and registration of game <u>and fish</u>, to
prohibit or allow taking of wild animals to protect a species,
to prevent or control wildlife disease, and to prohibit or allow
importation, transportation, or possession of a wild animal;

32 (2) sections 84.093, 84.15, and 84.152 to set seasons for
33 harvesting wild ginseng roots and wild rice and to restrict or
34 prohibit harvesting in designated areas; and

35 (3) section 84D.12 to designate prohibited invasive
36 species, regulated invasive species, unregulated nonnative

Article 1 Section 58

1 species, and infested waters.

(b) If conditions exist that do not allow the commissioner 2 to comply with sections 97A.0451 to 97A.0459, the commissioner 3 may adopt a rule under this subdivision by submitting the rule 4 to the attorney general for review under section 97A.0455, 5 publishing a notice in the State Register and filing the rule 6 with the secretary of state and the Legislative Coordinating 7 Commission, and complying with section 97A.0459, and including a 8 statement of the emergency conditions and a copy of the rule in 9 the notice. The notice may be published after it is received 10 11 from the attorney general or five business days after it is 12 submitted to the attorney general, whichever is earlier.

13 (c) Rules adopted under paragraph (b) are effective upon
14 publishing in the State Register and may be effective up to
15 seven days before publishing and filing under paragraph (b), if:

16 (1) the commissioner of natural resources determines that 17 an emergency exists;

18

(2) the attorney general approves the rule; and

(3) for a rule that affects more than three counties the commissioner publishes the rule once in a legal newspaper published in Minneapolis, St. Paul, and Duluth, or for a rule that affects three or fewer counties the commissioner publishes the rule once in a legal newspaper in each of the affected counties.

(d) Except as provided in paragraph (e), a rule published
under paragraph (c), clause (3), may not be effective earlier
than seven days after publication.

(e) A rule published under paragraph (c), clause (3), may
be effective the day the rule is published if the commissioner
gives notice and holds a public hearing on the rule within 15
days before publication.

32 (f) The commissioner shall attempt to notify persons or 33 groups of persons affected by rules adopted under paragraphs (b) 34 and (c) by public announcements, posting, and other appropriate 35 means as determined by the commissioner.

36 (g) Notwithstanding section 97A.0458, a rule adopted under

[REVISOR] CMR/CA 05-4113

this subdivision is effective for the period stated in the
 notice but not longer than 18 months after the rule is adopted.

Sec. 59. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 84.027,
4 subdivision 15, is amended to read:

Subd. 15. [ELECTRONIC TRANSACTIONS.] (a) The commissioner 5 6 may receive an application for, sell, and issue any license, stamp, permit, pass, sticker, duplicate safety training 7 certification, registration, or transfer under the jurisdiction 8 of the commissioner by electronic means, including by telephone. 9 Notwithstanding section 97A.472, electronic and telephone 10 transactions may be made outside of the state. The commissioner 11 12 may:

13 (1) provide for the electronic transfer of funds generated14 by electronic transactions, including by telephone;

(2) assign a-license an identification number to an applicant who purchases a hunting or fishing license or recreational vehicle registration by electronic means, to serve as temporary authorization to engage in the licensed activity requiring a license or registration until the license or registration is received or expires;

(3) charge and permit agents to charge a fee of individuals who make electronic transactions and transactions by telephone <u>or Internet</u>, including the issuing fee-under-section 97A-4857-subdivision-67 fees and an additional transaction fee not to exceed \$3.50;

26 (4) collect-issuing-or-filing-fees-as-provided-under 27 sections-84.7887-subdivision-37-paragraph-(e);-84.7987 subdivision-37-paragraph-(b);-84-827-subdivision-27-paragraph 28 (d);-84-8205;-subdivisions-5-and-6;-84-922;-subdivision-2; 29 30 paragraph-(e);-85-41;-subdivision-5;-86B-415;-subdivision-8;-and 31 97A-4857-subdivision-67-and-collect establish, by written order, 32 an electronic licensing system commission on to be paid by revenues generated from all sales of-licenses-as-provided-under 33 34 sections-85-437-paragraph-(b)7-and-97A-4857-subdivision-7 made through the electronic licensing system. The commissioner shall 35 establish the commission in a manner that neither significantly 36

Article 1 Section 59

1 overrecovers nor underrecovers costs involved in providing the 2 electronic licensing system; and

3 (5) adopt rules to administer the provisions of this4 subdivision.

5 (b) Establishment-of The transaction-fee fees established 6 under paragraph (a), clause (3), and the commission established 7 <u>under paragraph (a), clause (4)</u>, is are not subject to the 8 rulemaking procedures of chapter 14 and section 14.386 does not 9 apply.

10 (c) Money received from fees and commissions collected 11 under this subdivision, including interest earned, is annually 12 appropriated from the game and fish fund and the natural 13 resources fund to the commissioner for the cost of electronic 14 licensing.

15 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective July 6, 2005.
16 Sec. 60. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 84.0911,
17 subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. [RECEIPTS.] Money received from the sale of wild rice licenses issued by the commissioner under section 84.091, subdivision 3, paragraph (a), clauses (1), (3), and (4), and subdivision 3, paragraph (b), <u>except for the electronic</u> <u>licensing system commission established by the commissioner</u> <u>under section 84.027, subdivision 15, shall be credited to the</u> wild rice management account.

[EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective July 1, 2006.
Sec. 61. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 84.780, is
amended to read:

84.780 [OFF-HIGHWAY VEHICLE DAMAGE ACCOUNT.]

(a) The off-highway vehicle damage account is created in the natural resources fund. Money in the off-highway vehicle damage account is appropriated to the commissioner of natural resources for the repair or restoration of property damaged by the operation of off-highway vehicles in an unpermitted area after August 1, 2003, and for the costs of administration for this section.

36 Before the commissioner may make a payment from this

Article 1 Section 61

28

[REVISOR] CMR/CA 05-4113

04/27/05

1 account, the commissioner must determine whether the damage to 2 the property was caused by the unpermitted use of off-highway vehicles, that the applicant has made reasonable efforts to 3 identify the responsible individual and obtain payment from the 4 individual, and that the applicant has made reasonable efforts 5 6 to prevent reoccurrence. By June 30, 2005 2007, the commissioner of finance must transfer the remaining balance in 7 8 the account to the off-highway motorcycle account under section 84.794, the off-road vehicle account under section 84.803, and 9 10 the all-terrain vehicle account under section 84.927. The 11 amount transferred to each account must be proportionate to the 12 amounts received in the damage account from the relevant 13 off-highway vehicle accounts. (b) Determinations of the commissioner under this section 14 15 may be made by written order and are exempt from the rulemaking 16 provisions of chapter 14. Section 14.386 does not apply.

17

(c) This section expires July 1, 2005 2007.

18 Sec. 62. [84.785] [OFF-HIGHWAY VEHICLE SAFETY AND 19 CONSERVATION GRANT PROGRAM.]

20 <u>Subdivision 1.</u> [CREATION.] <u>The commissioner of natural</u>
21 <u>resources shall establish an off-highway vehicle safety and</u>
22 <u>conservation grant program to make grants to organizations that</u>
23 <u>meet the eligibility requirements under subdivision 3.</u>

24 <u>Subd. 2.</u> [PURPOSE.] <u>The purpose of the off-highway vehicle</u> 25 <u>safety and conservation grant program is to encourage</u>

26 off-highway vehicle clubs to assist in safety training;

27 environmental education; and improving, maintaining, and

28 monitoring public trails. This section does not grant law

29 enforcement authority.

30 <u>Subd. 3.</u> [ELIGIBILITY.] <u>To be eligible for a grant under</u> 31 <u>this section, an organization must:</u>

32 (1) be a statewide, nonprofit organization that promotes 33 the operation of off-highway vehicles in a manner that is safe 34 and responsible;

35 (2) support the safe operation of off-highway vehicles in a
36 manner that does not conflict with the laws and rules that

1	relate to the operation of off-highway vehicles;
2	(3) have an interest in the safe, lawful, and responsible
3	operation of off-highway vehicles;
4	(4) be governed by a board of directors that has a majority
5	of members who are representatives of off-highway vehicle clubs;
6	and
7	(5) provide support to off-highway vehicle clubs.
8	Subd. 4. [USE OF GRANT.] An organization receiving a grant
9	under this section shall use the grant money to promote and
10	provide support to the Department of Natural Resources by:
11	(1) training volunteers to assist in improving,
12	maintaining, and monitoring public trails and other public
13	lands;
14	(2) providing assistance to the department in locating,
15	recruiting, and training instructors;
16	(3) publishing a manual in cooperation with the
17	commissioner to be used to train volunteers in monitoring the
18	operation of off-highway vehicles for safety, environmental, and
19	other issues that relate to the responsible operation of
20	off-highway vehicles;
21	(4) collecting data on the operation of off-highway
22	vehicles in the state; and
23	(5) publishing an annual report outlining accomplishments
24	and annual costs related to the efforts under this subdivision.
25	The report must be approved by the commissioner.
26	Subd. 5. [VOLUNTEER STATUS.] Volunteers of the nonprofit
27	organization and any volunteers under this section are not
28	volunteers for purposes of section 84.089.
29	Subd. 6. [WORKER DISPLACEMENT PROHIBITED.] The
30	commissioner may not enter into any agreement that has the
31	purpose of or results in the displacement of public employees by
32	volunteers participating in the off-highway vehicle safety and
33	conservation grant program under this section. The commissioner
34	must certify to the appropriate bargaining agent that the work
35	performed by a volunteer will not result in the displacement of
36	currently employed workers or workers on seasonal layoff or

layoff from a substantially equivalent position, including
 partial displacement such as reduction in hours of nonovertime
 work, wages, or other employment benefits.

Sec. 63. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 84.788,
subdivision 3, is amended to read:

6 Subd. 3. [APPLICATION; ISSUANCE; REPORTS.] (a) Application 7 for registration or continued registration must be made to the 8 commissioner or an authorized deputy registrar of motor vehicles 9 in a form prescribed by the commissioner. The form must state 10 the name and address of every owner of the off-highway 11 motorcycle.

12 (b) A person who purchases from a retail dealer an 13 off-highway motorcycle shall make application for registration to the dealer at the point of sale. The dealer shall issue a 14 15 dealer temporary ten-day registration permit to each purchaser 16 who applies to the dealer for registration. The dealer shall 17 submit the completed registration applications and fees to the 18 deputy registrar at least once each week. No fee may be charged 19 by a dealer to a purchaser for providing the temporary permit.

20 (c) Upon receipt of the application and the appropriate 21 fee, the commissioner or deputy registrar shall issue to the applicant, or provide to the dealer, a-60-day-temporary-receipt 22 23 and-shall-assign-a an assigned registration number that or a commissioner or deputy registrar temporary ten-day permit. Once 24 25 issued, the registration number must be affixed to the 26 motorcycle in-a-manner-prescribed-by-the-commissioner according to paragraph (f). A dealer subject to paragraph (b) shall 27 provide the registration materials and or temporary receipt 28 permit to the purchaser within the ten-day temporary permit 29 30 period.

(d) The commissioner shall develop a registration system to register vehicles under this section. A deputy registrar of motor vehicles acting under section 168.33, is also a deputy registrar of off-highway motorcycles. The commissioner of natural resources in agreement with the commissioner of public safety may prescribe the accounting and procedural requirements

Article 1 Section 63

necessary to ensure efficient handling of registrations and
 registration fees. Deputy registrars shall strictly comply with
 the accounting and procedural requirements.

4 (e) In addition to other fees prescribed by law, a filing
5 fee of \$4.50 is charged for each off-highway motorcycle
6 registration renewal, duplicate or replacement registration
7 card, and replacement decal and a filing fee of \$7 is charged
8 for each off-highway motorcycle registration and registration
9 transfer issued by:

10 (1) a deputy registrar and must be deposited in the 11 treasury of the jurisdiction where the deputy is appointed, or 12 kept if the deputy is not a public official; or

(2) the commissioner and must be deposited in the state 13 14 treasury and credited to the off-highway motorcycle account. 15 (f) Unless exempted under paragraph (g), the owner of an 16 off-highway motorcycle must display a registration decal issued by the commissioner. If the motorcycle is licensed as a motor 17 18 vehicle, a registration decal must be affixed on the upper left 19 corner of the rear license plate. If the motorcycle is not licensed as a motor vehicle, the decal must be attached on the 20 side of the motorcycle and may be attached to the fork tube. 21 The decal must be attached so that it is visible while a rider 22 is on the motorcycle. The decals must not exceed three inches 23 24 high and three inches wide.

(g) Display of a registration decal is not required for an
 off-highway motorcycle while being operated on private property
 or while competing in a closed-course competition event.

28 Sec. 64. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 84.788, is 29 amended by adding a subdivision to read:

<u>Subd. 11.</u> [REFUNDS.] <u>The commissioner may issue a refund</u>
<u>on a registration, not including any issuing fees paid under</u>
<u>subdivision 3, paragraph (e), or section 84.027, subdivision 15,</u>
paragraph (a), clause (3), if the refund request is received

34 within 12 months of the original registration and:

35 (1) the off-highway motorcycle was registered incorrectly
36 by the commissioner or the deputy registrar; or

[REVISOR] CMR/CA 05-4113

l	(2) the off-highway motorcycle was registered twice, once
2	by the dealer and once by the customer.
3	Sec. 65. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 84.791,
4	subdivision 2, is amended to read:
5	Subd. 2. [FEES.] For the purposes of administering the
6	program and to defray a portion of the expenses of training and
7	certifying vehicle operators, the commissioner shall collect a
8	fee not to exceed \$5 from each person who receives the training.
9	The commissioner shall collect a fee for issuing a duplicate
10	off-highway motorcycle safety certificate. The commissioner
11	shall establish the fee for a duplicate off-highway motorcycle
12	safety certificate, to include a \$1 issuing fee for licensing
13	agents, that neither significantly overrecovers nor
14	underrecovers costs, including overhead costs, involved in
15	providing the service. The fees must, except for the issuing
16	fee for licensing agents under this subdivision, shall be
17	deposited in the state treasury and credited to the off-highway
18	motorcycle account in the natural resources fund.
19	[EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective July 1, 2005.
20	Sec. 66. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 84.798, is
21	amended by adding a subdivision to read:
22	Subd. 10. [REFUNDS.] The commissioner may issue a refund
23	on a registration, not including any issuing fees paid under
24	subdivision 3, paragraph (b), or section 84.027, subdivision 15,
25	paragraph (a), clause (3), if the refund request is received
26	within 12 months of the original registration and the vehicle
27	was registered incorrectly by the commissioner or the deputy
28	registrar.
29	Sec. 67. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 84.82,
30	subdivision 2, is amended to read:
31	Subd. 2. [APPLICATION, ISSUANCE, REPORTS, ADDITIONAL FEE.]
32	(a) Application for registration or reregistration shall be made
33	to the commissioner or an authorized deputy registrar of motor
34	vehicles in a format prescribed by the commissioner and shall
35	state the legal name and address of every owner of the
36	snowmobile.
Ar	ticle 1 Section 67 71

(b) A person who purchases a snowmobile from a retail 1 dealer shall make application for registration to the dealer at 2 the point of sale. The dealer shall issue a dealer temporary 3 ten-day registration permit to each purchaser who applies to the 4 5 dealer for registration. The temporary registration is valid for-60-days-from-the-date-of-issue. Each retail dealer shall 6 7 submit completed registration and fees to the deputy registrar 8 at least once a week. No fee may be charged by a dealer to a purchaser for providing the temporary permit. 9

10 (c) Upon receipt of the application and the appropriate fee 11 as hereinafter provided, such-snowmobile-shall-be-registered-and 12 a the commissioner or deputy registrar shall issue to the applicant, or provide to the dealer, an assigned registration 13 14 number assigned-which-shall or a commissioner or deputy registrar temporary ten-day permit. Once issued, the 15 registration number must be affixed to the snowmobile in a 16 17 clearly visible and permanent manner for enforcement purposes as 18 the commissioner of natural resources shall prescribe. A dealer subject to paragraph (b) shall provide the registration 19 20 materials or temporary permit to the purchaser within the 21 temporary ten-day permit period. The registration is not valid

23 (c) (d) Each deputy registrar of motor vehicles acting pursuant to section 168.33, shall also be a deputy registrar of 24 snowmobiles. The commissioner of natural resources in agreement 25 26 with the commissioner of public safety may prescribe the accounting and procedural requirements necessary to assure 27 efficient handling of registrations and registration fees. 28 Deputy registrars shall strictly comply with these accounting 29 30 and procedural requirements.

31 (d) (e) A fee of \$2 in addition to that otherwise
32 prescribed by law shall be charged for:

unless signed by at least one owner.

(1) each snowmobile registered by the registrar or a deputy registrar and the additional fee shall be disposed of in the manner provided in section 168.33, subdivision 2; or

36 (2) each snowmobile registered by the commissioner and the

22

additional fee shall be deposited in the state treasury and 1 2 credited to the snowmobile trails and enforcement account in the natural resources fund. 3 Sec. 68. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 84.82, is 4 5 amended by adding a subdivision to read: 6 Subd. 11. [REFUNDS.] The commissioner may issue a refund 7 on a registration, not including any issuing fees paid under 8 subdivision 2, paragraph (e), or section 84.027, subdivision 15, 9 paragraph (a), clause (3), if the refund request is received 10 within 12 months of the original registration and: 11 (1) the snowmobile was registered incorrectly by the 12 commissioner or the deputy registrar; or (2) the snowmobile was registered twice, once by the dealer 13 14 and once by the customer. 15 Sec. 69. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 84.8205, subdivision 1, is amended to read: 16 17 Subdivision 1. [STICKER REQUIRED; FEE.] A person may not 18 operate a snowmobile that-is-not-registered-in-this-state on a 19 state or grant-in-aid snowmobile trail unless a snowmobile state 20 trail sticker is affixed to the snowmobile. The commissioner of 21 natural resources shall issue a sticker upon application and payment of a \$15 fee. The fee for a three-year snowmobile state 22 trail sticker that is purchased at the time of snowmobile 23 registration is \$30. In addition to other penalties prescribed 24 by law, a person in violation of this subdivision must purchase 25 an annual state trail sticker for a fee of \$30. The sticker is 26 valid from November 1 through April 30. Fees collected under 27 28 this section, except for the issuing fee for licensing agents under this section and for the electronic licensing system 29 30 commission established by the commissioner under section 84.027, subdivision 15, shall be deposited in the state treasury and 31 32 credited to the snowmobile trails and enforcement account in the 33 natural resources fund and must be used for grants-in-aid or acquisition of easements for permanent recreational snowmobile 34 35 trails. 36 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective July 6, 2005.

73

Article 1 Section 69

Sec. 70. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 84.8205, 1 2 subdivision 3, is amended to read: Subd. 3. [LICENSE AGENTS.] County-auditors-are-appointed 3 agents-of-the-commissioner-for-the-sale-of-snowmobile-state 4 trail-stickers. The commissioner may appoint other-state 5 agencies-as agents for-the-sale-of-the to issue and sell state 6 7 trail stickers. A-county-auditor-may-appoint-subagents-within 8 the-county-or-within-adjacent-counties-to-sell-stickers---Upon appointment-of-a-subagent7-the-auditor-shall-notify-the 9 commissioner-of-the-name-and-address-of-the-subagent---The 10 11 auditor-may-revoke-the-appointment-of-a-subagent7-and The 12 commissioner may revoke the appointment of a-state-agency an 13 agent at any time. The-commissioner-may-require-an-auditor-to 14 revoke-a-subagent's-appointment---The-auditor-shall-furnish 15 stickers-on-consignment-to-any-subagent-who-furnishes-a-surety 16 bond-in-favor-of-the-county-in-an-amount-at-least-equal-to-the 17 value-of-the-stickers-to-be-consigned-to-that-subagent---A 18 surety-bond-is-not-required-for-a-state-agency-appointed-by-the 19 commissioner---The-county-auditor-shall-be-responsible-for-all 20 stickers-issued-to-and-user-fees-received-by-agents-except-in-a 21 county-where-the-county-auditor-does-not-retain-fees-paid-for 22 license-purposes --- In-these-counties -- the-responsibilities 23 imposed-by-this-section-upon-the-county-auditor-are-imposed-upon 24 the-county. The commissioner may promulgate adopt additional 25 rules governing-the-accounting-and-procedures-for-handling-state 26 trail-stickers as provided in section 97A.485, subdivision 11. 27 Any-resident-desiring-to-sell-snowmobile-state-trail 28 stickers-may-either-purchase-for-cash-or-obtain-on-consignment 29 stickers-from-a-county-auditor-in-groups-of-not-less-than-ten 30 individual-stickers---In-selling-stickers--the-resident-shall-be deemed-a-subagent-of-the-county-auditor-and-the-commissioner, 31 32 and An agent shall observe all rules promutgated adopted by the 33 commissioner for accounting and handling of licenses-and 34 stickers pursuant to section 97A.485, subdivision 11. The-county-auditor An agent shall promptly deposit and 35

Article 1 Section 70

36

74

remit all money received from the sale of the stickers with-the

1 county-treasurer-and-shall-promptly-transmit-any-reports required-by-the-commissioner,-plus-96-percent-of-the-price-paid 2 3 by-each-stickerholder, exclusive of the issuing fee, for-each sticker-sold-or-consigned-by-the-auditor-and-subsequently-sold 4 5 to-a-stickerholder-during-the-accounting-period---The-county auditor-shall-retain-as-a-commission-four-percent-of-all-sticker 6 7 fees7-excluding-the-issuing-fee-for-stickers-consigned-to 8 subagents-and-the-issuing-fee-on-stickers-sold-by-the-auditor-to 9 stickerholders to the commissioner. 10 Unsold-stickers-in-the-hands-of-any-subagent-shall-be 11 redeemed-by-the-commissioner-if-presented-for-redemption-within 12 the-time-prescribed-by-the-commissioner---Any-stickers-not 13 presented-for-redemption-within-the-period-prescribed-shall-be

14 conclusively-presumed-to-have-been-sold;-and-the-subagent
15 possessing-the-same-or-to-whom-they-are-charged-shall-be
16 accountable.

17 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective July 6, 2005.
18 Sec. 71. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 84.8205,
19 subdivision 4, is amended to read:

20 Subd. 4. [DISTRIBUTION ISSUANCE OF STICKERS.] The 21 commissioner and agents shall provide issue and sell snowmobile 22 state trail stickers to-all-agents-authorized-to-issue-stickers 23 by-the-commissioner.

[EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective July 6, 2005.
Sec. 72. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 84.8205,
subdivision 6, is amended to read:

27 Subd. 6. [DUPLICATE STATE TRAIL STICKERS.] The 28 commissioner <u>and agents</u> shall issue a duplicate sticker to 29 persons whose sticker is lost or destroyed using the process 30 established under section 97A.405, subdivision 3, and rules 31 promulgated thereunder. The fee for a duplicate state trail 32 sticker is \$2, with an issuing fee of 50 cents.

33 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective July 6, 2005.
34 Sec. 73. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 84.83,
35 subdivision 3, is amended to read:

36 Subd. 3. [PURPOSES FOR THE ACCOUNT.] The money deposited

in the account and interest earned on that money may be expended 1 2 only as appropriated by law for the following purposes: (1) for a grant-in-aid program to counties and 3 municipalities for construction and maintenance of snowmobile 4 trails, including maintenance of trails on lands and waters of 5 Voyageurs National Park, on Lake of the Woods, on Rainy Lake, 6 and on the following lakes in St. Louis County: Burntside, 7 8 Crane, Little Long, Mud, Pelican, Shagawa, and Vermilion; (2) for acquisition, development, and maintenance of state 9 recreational snowmobile trails; 10 (3) for snowmobile safety programs; and 11 (4) for the administration and enforcement of sections 12 84.81 to 84.91 and appropriated grants to local law enforcement 13 agencies. 14 Sec. 74. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 84.83, 15 subdivision 4, is amended to read: 16 Subd. 4. [PROVISIONS APPLICABLE TO FUNDING RECIPIENTS.] 17 (a) Recipients of Minnesota trail assistance program funds must 18 be afforded the same protection and be held to the same standard 19 of liability as a political subdivision under chapter 466 for 20 activities associated with the administration, design, 21 construction, maintenance, and grooming of snowmobile trails. 22 (b) Recipients of Minnesota trail assistance program funds 23 who maintain ice trails on public waters listed under 24 subdivision 3, clause (1), or on waters of Voyageurs National 25 Park are expressly immune from liability under section 466.03, 26 subdivision 6e. 27 Sec. 75. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 84.86, 28 subdivision 1, is amended to read: 29 Subdivision 1. [REQUIRED RULES.] With a view of achieving 30 maximum use of snowmobiles consistent with protection of the 31 environment the commissioner of natural resources shall adopt 32 rules in the manner provided by chapter 14, for the following 33 purposes: 34 (1) Registration of snowmobiles and display of registration 35 numbers. 36

Article 1 Section 75

(2) Use of snowmobiles insofar as game and fish resources
 are affected.

3 (3) Use of snowmobiles on public lands and waters, or on
4 grant-in-aid trails.

5 (4) Uniform signs to be used by the state, counties, and 6 cities, which are necessary or desirable to control, direct, or 7 regulate the operation and use of snowmobiles.

8

(5) Specifications relating to snowmobile mufflers.

9 (6) A comprehensive snowmobile information and safety education and training program, including but not limited to the 10 preparation and dissemination of snowmobile information and 11 safety advice to the public, the training of snowmobile 12 operators, and the issuance of snowmobile safety certificates to 13 14 snowmobile operators who successfully complete the snowmobile 15 safety education and training course. For the purpose of 16 administering such program and to defray expenses of training 17 and certifying snowmobile operators, the commissioner shall collect a fee from each person who receives the youth or adult 18 19 training. The commissioner shall collect a fee, to include a \$1 issuing fee for licensing agents, for issuing a duplicate 20 21 snowmobile safety certificate. The commissioner shall establish 22 both fees in a manner that neither significantly overrecovers 23 nor underrecovers costs, including overhead costs, involved in 24 providing the services. The fees are not subject to the rulemaking provisions of chapter 14 and section 14.386 does not 25 The fees may be established by the commissioner 26 apply. notwithstanding section 16A.1283. The fees must, except for the 27 issuing fee for licensing agents under this subdivision, shall 28 be deposited in the snowmobile trails and enforcement account in 29 30 the natural resources fund and the amount thereof, except for 31 the electronic licensing system commission established by the 32 commissioner under section 84.027, subdivision 15, and issuing fees collected by the commissioner, is appropriated annually to 33 34 the Enforcement Division of the Department of Natural Resources 35 for the administration of such programs. In addition to the fee 36 established by the commissioner, instructors may charge each

Article l

Section 75

person up to the established fee amount for class materials and 1 2 expenses. The commissioner shall cooperate with private organizations and associations, private and public corporations, 3 and local governmental units in furtherance of the program 4 established under this clause. School districts may cooperate 5 with the commissioner and volunteer instructors to provide space 6 for the classroom portion of the training. The commissioner 7 shall consult with the commissioner of public safety in regard 8 to training program subject matter and performance testing that 9 leads to the certification of snowmobile operators. 10

(7) The operator of any snowmobile involved in an accident 11 12 resulting in injury requiring medical attention or 13 hospitalization to or death of any person or total damage to an extent of \$500 or more, shall forward a written report of the 14 accident to the commissioner on such form as the commissioner 15 shall prescribe. If the operator is killed or is unable to file 16 17 a report due to incapacitation, any peace officer investigating the accident shall file the accident report within ten business 18 19 days.

[EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective July 6, 2005.
Sec. 76. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 84.922,
subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. [APPLICATION, ISSUANCE, REPORTS.] (a) Application for registration or continued registration shall be made to the commissioner of-natural-resources,-the-commissioner-of-public safety or an authorized deputy registrar of motor vehicles in a form prescribed by the commissioner. The form must state the name and address of every owner of the vehicle.

29 (b) A person who purchases an all-terrain vehicle from a 30 retail dealer shall make application for registration to the dealer at the point of sale. The dealer shall issue a dealer 31 temporary ten-day registration permit to each purchaser who 32 applies to the dealer for registration. The dealer shall submit 33 the completed registration application and fees to the deputy 34 registrar at least once each week. No fee may be charged by a 35 36 dealer to a purchaser for providing the temporary permit.

Article 1

Section 76

04/27/05

(c) Upon receipt of the application and the appropriate 1 fee, the commissioner or deputy registrar shall issue to the 2 applicant, or provide to the dealer, a-60-day-temporary-receipt 3 and-shall-assign-a an assigned registration number that or a 4 commissioner or deputy registrar temporary ten-day permit. Once 5 issued, the registration number must be affixed to the vehicle 6 in a manner prescribed by the commissioner. A dealer subject to 7 paragraph (b) shall provide the registration materials and or 8 temporary receipt permit to the purchaser within the ten-day 9 temporary permit period. The commissioner shall use the 10 11 snowmobile registration system to register vehicles under this section. 12

(d) Each deputy registrar of motor vehicles acting under 13 section 168.33, is also a deputy registrar of all-terrain 14 vehicles. The commissioner of natural resources in agreement 15 16 with the commissioner of public safety may prescribe the 17 accounting and procedural requirements necessary to assure efficient handling of registrations and registration fees. 18 19 Deputy registrars shall strictly comply with the accounting and 20 procedural requirements.

(e) In addition to other fees prescribed by law, a filing fee of \$4.50 is charged for each all-terrain vehicle registration renewal, duplicate or replacement registration card, and replacement decal and a filing fee of \$7 is charged for each all-terrain vehicle registration and registration transfer issued by:

(1) a deputy registrar and shall be deposited in the
treasury of the jurisdiction where the deputy is appointed, or
retained if the deputy is not a public official; or

30 (2) the commissioner and shall be deposited to the state 31 treasury and credited to the all-terrain vehicle account in the 32 natural resources fund.

33 Sec. 77. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 84.922, is 34 amended by adding a subdivision to read:

35 <u>Subd. 12.</u> [REFUNDS.] <u>The commissioner may issue a refund</u> 36 <u>on a registration, not including any issuing fees paid under</u>

Article 1 Section 77

[REVISOR] CMR/CA 05-4113

subdivision 2, paragraph (e), or section 84.027, subdivision 15, 1 paragraph (a), clause (3), if the refund request is received 2 within 12 months of the original registration and: 3 (1) the vehicle was registered incorrectly by the 4 commissioner or the deputy registrar; or 5 (2) the vehicle was registered twice, once by the dealer 6 and once by the customer. 7 Sec. 78. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 84.925, 8 subdivision 1, is amended to read: 9 Subdivision 1. [PROGRAM ESTABLISHED.] (a) The commissioner 10 shall establish a comprehensive all-terrain vehicle 11 environmental and safety education and training program, 12 including the preparation and dissemination of vehicle 13 information and safety advice to the public, the training of 14 all-terrain vehicle operators, and the issuance of all-terrain 15 vehicle safety certificates to vehicle operators over the age of 16 17 12 years who successfully complete the all-terrain vehicle environmental and safety education and training course. 18 19 (b) For the purpose of administering the program and to 20 defray a portion of the expenses of training and certifying vehicle operators, the commissioner shall collect a fee of \$15 21 22 from each person who receives the training. The commissioner 23 shall collect a fee, to include a \$1 issuing fee for licensing 24 agents, for issuing a duplicate all-terrain vehicle safety certificate. The commissioner shall establish the fee for a 25 duplicate all-terrain vehicle safety certificate that neither 26 27 significantly overrecovers nor underrecovers costs, including overhead costs, involved in providing the service. 28 Fee 29 proceeds, except for the issuing fee for licensing agents under 30 this subdivision, shall be deposited in the all-terrain vehicle 31 account in the natural resources fund. 32 (c) The commissioner shall cooperate with private 33 organizations and associations, private and public corporations, 34 and local governmental units in furtherance of the program

35 established under this section. School districts may cooperate 36 with the commissioner and volunteer instructors to provide space

Article 1

Section 78

1 for the classroom portion of the training. The commissioner
2 shall consult with the commissioner of public safety in regard
3 to training program subject matter and performance testing that
4 leads to the certification of vehicle operators. By June 30,
5 2003, the commissioner shall incorporate a riding component in
6 the safety education and training program.

[EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective July 6, 2005.
Sec. 79. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 84D.03,
9 subdivision 4, is amended to read:

10 Subd. 4. [COMMERCIAL FISHING AND TURTLE, FROG, AND CRAYFISH HARVESTING RESTRICTIONS IN INFESTED AND NONINFESTED 11 WATERS.] (a) All nets, traps, buoys, anchors, stakes, and lines 12 used for commercial fishing or turtle, frog, or crayfish 13 harvesting in an infested waters, water that is designated 14 because the-waters-contain it contains invasive fish or 15 invertebrates, may not be used in noninfested any other waters. 16 If a commercial licensee operates in both noninfested-waters-and 17 an infested waters water designated because the-waters-contain 18 19 it contains invasive fish or invertebrates and other waters, all nets, traps, buoys, anchors, stakes, and lines used for 20 21 commercial fishing or turtle, frog, or crayfish harvesting in noninfested waters not designated as infested with invasive fish 22 or invertebrates must be tagged with tags provided by the 23 24 commissioner, as specified in the commercial licensee's license or permit, and may not be used in infested waters designated 25 26 because the waters contain invasive fish or invertebrates.

27 (b) In-infested-waters-designated-solely-because-the-waters contain-Eurasian-water-milfoil, All nets, traps, buoys, anchors, 28 stakes, and lines used for commercial fishing or turtle, frog, 29 or crayfish harvesting in an infested water that is designated 30 31 solely because it contains Eurasian water milfoil must be dried for a minimum of ten days or frozen for a minimum of two days 32 33 before they are used in noninfested any other waters, except as provided in this paragraph. Commercial operators licensees must 34 notify the department's regional or area fisheries office or a 35 36 conservation officer when before removing nets or equipment from

Article 1 Section 79

Article 1

Section 82

[REVISOR] CMR/CA 05-4113

an infested waters water designated solely because it contains 1 2 Eurasian water milfoil and before resetting those nets or equipment in noninfested any other waters. All-aquatic 3 macrophytes Upon notification, the commissioner may authorize a 4 commercial licensee to move nets or equipment to another water 5 without freezing or drying, if that water is designated as 6 7 infested solely because it contains Eurasian water milfoil. 8 (c) A commercial licensee must be-removed remove all aquatic macrophytes from nets and other equipment when the nets 9 and equipment are removed from infested waters of the state. 10 11 (d) The commissioner shall provide a commercial licensee 12 with a current listing of designated infested waters at the time 13 that a license or permit is issued. Sec. 80. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 85.054, 14 15 subdivision 1, is amended to read: 16 Subdivision 1. [STATE PARK OPEN HOUSE DAY.] (a) A state 17 park permit is not required for a motor vehicle to enter a state 18 park, state monument, state recreation area, or state wayside, 19 on one day each calendar year at each park, which the 20 commissioner may designate as State Park Open House Day. The 21 commissioner may designate two consecutive days as State Park 22 Open House Day, if the open house is held in conjunction with a 23 special pageant described in section 85.052, subdivision 2. 24 (b) The commissioner shall announce the date of each state 25 park open house day at least 30 days in advance of the date it 26 occurs. 27 (C) The state park open house day is to acquaint the 28 public with state parks, recreation areas, and waysides. 29 Sec. 81. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 85.054, is 30 amended by adding a subdivision to read: 31 Subd. 11. [BIG BOG STATE RECREATION AREA.] A state park 32 permit is not required and a fee may not be charged for motor 33 vehicle entry or parking at the parking area located north of 34 Tamarac River in the southern unit of Big Bog State Recreation 35 Area, Beltrami County. Sec. 82. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 85.055, is 36

[REVISOR] CMR/CA 05-4113

1	amended by adding a subdivision to read:
2	Subd. 1b. [DISCOUNTS.] Except as otherwise specified in
3	law, and notwithstanding section 16A.1285, subdivision 2, the
4	commissioner may by written order authorize waiver or reduction
5	of state park entrance fees.
6	Sec. 83. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 85.055,
7	subdivision 2, is amended to read:
8	Subd. 2. [FEE DEPOSIT AND APPROPRIATION.] The fees
9	collected under this section shall be deposited in the natural
10	resources fund and credited to a the state parks account. Money
11	in the account, except for the electronic licensing system
12	commission established by the commissioner under section 84.027,
13	subdivision 15, is annually appropriated to the commissioner to
14	operate and maintain the state park system.
15	[EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective July 6, 2005.
16	Sec. 84. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 85.43, is
17	amended to read:
18	85.43 [DISPOSITION OF RECEIPTS; PURPOSE.]
19	(a) Fees from cross-country ski passes shall be deposited
20	in the state treasury and credited to a cross-country ski
21	account in the natural resources fund and, except as-provided-in
22	paragraph-(b) for the electronic licensing system commission
23	established by the commissioner under section 84.027,
24	subdivision 15, are appropriated to the commissioner of natural
25	resources for:
26	(1) grants-in-aid for cross-country ski trails sponsored by
27	local units of government and special park districts as provided
28	in section 85.44; and
29	(2) maintenance, winter grooming, and associated
30	administrative costs for cross-country ski trails under the
31	jurisdiction of the commissioner.
32	(b)-The-commissioner-shall-retain-for-the-operation-of-the
33	electronic-licensing-system-a-commission-of-4.7-percent-of-all
34	cross-country-ski-pass-fees-collected.
35	[EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective July 6, 2005.
36	Sec. 85. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 86B.415, is

[REVISOR] CMR/CA 05-4113

l	amended by adding a subdivision to read:
2	Subd. 11. [REFUNDS.] The commissioner may issue a refund
3	on a license or title, not including any issuing fees paid under
4	subdivision 8 or section 84.027, subdivision 15, paragraph (a),
5	clause (3), or 86B.870, subdivision 1, paragraph (b), if the
6	refund request is received within 12 months of the original
7	license or title and:
8	(1) the watercraft was licensed or titled incorrectly by
9	the commissioner or the deputy registrar;
10	(2) the customer was incorrectly charged a title fee; or
11	(3) the watercraft was licensed or titled twice, once by
12	the dealer and once by the customer.
13	Sec. 86. [86B.706] [WATER RECREATION ACCOUNT; RECEIPTS AND
14	PURPOSE.]
15	Subdivision 1. [CREATION.] The water recreation account is
16	created in the state treasury in the natural resources fund.
17	Subd. 2. [MONEY DEPOSITED IN ACCOUNT.] The following shall
18	be deposited in the state treasury and credited to the water
19	recreation account:
20	(1) fees and surcharges from titling and licensing of
21	watercraft under this chapter;
22	(2) fines, installment payments, and forfeited bail
23	according to section 86B.705, subdivision 2;
24	(3) civil penalties according to section 84D.13;
25	(4) mooring fees and receipts from the sale of marine gas
26	at state-operated or state-assisted small craft harbors and
27	mooring facilities according to section 86A.21;
28	(5) the unrefunded gasoline tax attributable to watercraft
29	use under section 296A.18; and
30	(6) fees for permits issued to control or harvest aquatic
31	plants other than wild rice under section 103G.615, subdivision
32	<u>2.</u>
33	Subd. 3. [PURPOSES.] The money in the account may be
34	expended only as appropriated by law for the following purposes:
35	(1) as directed under section 296A.18, subdivision 2, for
36	acquisition, development, maintenance, and rehabilitation of
Ar	ticle 1 Section 86 84

1	public water access and boating facilities on public waters;
2	lake and river improvements; and boat and water safety;
3	(2) from the fees collected at state-operated or
4	state-assisted small craft harbors and mooring facilities from
5	daily and seasonal moorings and the sale of marine gas, for
6	maintenance, operation, replacement, and expansion of these
7	facilities and for the debt service on state bonds sold to
8	finance these facilities;
9	(3) for administration and enforcement of this chapter as
10	it pertains to titling and licensing of watercraft and use and
11	safe operation of watercraft; grants for county-sponsored and
12	administered boat and water safety programs; and state boat and
13	water safety efforts;
14	(4) for management of aquatic invasive species and the
15	implementation of chapter 84D as it pertains to aquatic invasive
16	species, including control, public awareness, law enforcement,
17	assessment and monitoring, management planning, and research;
18	and
19	(5) for management of aquatic plants and the implementation
20	of section 103G.615 as it pertains to aquatic plants, including
21	plant removal permitting, control, public awareness, law
22	enforcement, assessment and monitoring, management planning, and
23	research.
24	Sec. 87. [87A.01] [DEFINITIONS.]
25	Subdivision 1. [APPLICABILITY.] The definitions in this
26	section apply to sections 87A.01 to 87A.08.
27	Subd. 2. [PERSON.] "Person" means an individual,
28	association, proprietorship, partnership, corporation, club,
29	political subdivision, or other legal entity.
30	Subd. 3. [SHOOTING RANGE OR RANGE.] "Shooting range" or
31	"range" means an area or facility designated or operated
32	primarily for the use of firearms, as defined in section
33	97A.015, subdivision 19, or archery, and includes shooting
34	preserves as described in section 97A.115 or any other Minnesota
35	law.
36	Subd. 4. [SHOOTING RANGE PERFORMANCE STANDARDS.] "Shooting

Article 1 Section 88

[REVISOR] CMR/CA 05-4113

1	range performance standards" means those rules adopted by the
2	commissioner of natural resources under section 87A.02 for the
3	safe operation of shooting ranges.
4	Subd. 5. [LOCAL UNIT OF GOVERNMENT.] "Local unit of
5	government" means a home rule charter or statutory city, county,
6	town, or other political subdivision.
7	[EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective the day
8	following final enactment.
9	Sec. 88. [87A.02] [SHOOTING RANGE PERFORMANCE STANDARDS.]
10	Subdivision 1. [ADOPTION OF STANDARDS; REVIEW.] (a) The
11	commissioner of natural resources must develop and adopt
12	shooting range performance standards according to the expedited
13	rulemaking process under section 14.389. The shooting range
14	performance standards must provide for compliance with
15	applicable noise standards under section 87A.05 and for the safe
16	use of shooting ranges within their boundaries, including the
17	containment of projectiles.
18	(b) The shooting range performance standards must provide
19	for the operation of shooting preserves within the boundaries of
20	the preserve, including an exemption from any discharge distance
21	limitations generally applicable to hunting on other land, when
22	the shooting preserve is in compliance with all other applicable
23	laws and is in operation on or before the effective date of the
24	performance standards adopted under this section or prior to the
25	development of any structure that would cause the preserve to be
26	out of compliance with the discharge distance.
27	(c) The commissioner must review the shooting range
28	performance standards at least once every five years and revise
29	them if necessary for the safe operation of shooting ranges.
30	(d) In the adoption of any amendments to the shooting range
31	performance standards adopted under paragraph (a), the
32	commissioner shall follow all notice and public hearing
33	requirements for the regular rule adoption process under
34	sections 14.001 to 14.28.
35	Subd. 2. [INTERIM STANDARDS.] Until the commissioner of
36	natural resources adopts the shooting range performance

1	standards under subdivision 1, paragraph (a), the November 1999
2	revised edition of the National Rifle Association's Range Source
3	Book: A Guide to Planning and Construction shall serve as the
4	interim shooting range performance standards, having the full
5	effect of the shooting range performance standards for purposes
6	of this chapter. The interim shooting range performance
7	standards sunset and have no further effect under this chapter
8	upon the effective date of the shooting range performance
9	standards adopted under subdivision 1, paragraph (a).
10	[EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective the day
11	following final enactment.
12	Sec. 89. [87A.03] [COMPLIANT RANGES; AUTHORIZED
13	ACTIVITIES.]
14	Subdivision 1. [AUTHORIZED ACTIVITIES.] A shooting range
15	that operates in compliance with the shooting range performance
16	standards must be permitted to do all of the following within
17	its geographic boundaries, under the same or different ownership
18	or occupancy, if done in accordance with shooting range
19	performance standards:
20	(1) operate the range and conduct activities involving the
21	discharge of firearms;
22	(2) expand or increase its membership or opportunities for
23	public participation related to the primary activity as a
24	shooting range;
25	(3) make those repairs or improvements desirable to meet or
26	exceed requirements of shooting range performance standards;
27	(4) increase events and activities related to the primary
28	activity as a shooting range;
29	(5) conduct shooting activities and discharge firearms
30	daily between 7:00 a.m. and 10:00 p.m. A local unit of
31	government with zoning jurisdiction over a shooting range may
32	extend the hours of operation by the issuance of a special or
33	conditional use permit; and
34	(6) acquire additional lands to be used for buffer zones or
35	noise mitigation efforts or to otherwise comply with this
36	chapter.

[REVISOR] CMR/CA 05-4113

l	Subd. 2. [NONCONFORMING USE.] A shooting range that is a
2	nonconforming use shall be allowed to conduct additional
3	shooting activities within the range's lawful property
4	boundaries as of the date the range became a nonconforming use,
5	provided the shooting range remains in compliance with noise and
6	shooting range performance standards under this chapter.
7	Subd. 3. [COMPLIANCE WITH OTHER LAW.] Nothing in this
8	section exempts any newly constructed or remodeled building on a
9	shooting range from compliance with fire safety, handicapped
10	accessibility, elevator safety, bleacher safety, or other
11	provisions of the State Building Code that have mandatory
12	statewide application.
13	[EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective the day
14	following final enactment.
15	Sec. 90. [87A.04] [MITIGATION AREA.]
16	(a) Except for those uses, developments, and structures in
17	existence or for which approval has been granted by October 1,
18	2005, no change in use, new development, or construction of a
19	structure shall be approved for any portion of property within
20	750 feet of the perimeter property line of an outdoor shooting
21	range if the change in use, development, or construction would
22	cause a preexisting outdoor shooting range in compliance with
23	this chapter to become out of compliance.
24	(b) A change in use, new development, or construction of a
25	structure may be approved under this section if the person
26	seeking approval agrees to provide any mitigation required to
27	keep the range in compliance with this chapter. The approving
28	authority, instead of the person requesting the change in use,
29	new development, or construction of a structure may provide any
30	mitigation required under this section. The person requesting
31	approval under this section is responsible for providing
32	documentation if no mitigation is required under this section.
33	Failure to provide the documentation or any mitigation required
34	under this section exempts the range from being out of
35	compliance with the shooting range performance and noise
36	standards of this chapter with regard to the property

Article 1 Section 90

1	responsible for the mitigation. Any action brought by the owner
2	of the property against the range is subject to section 87A.06.
3	With the permission of the range operator, any mitigation
4	required under this section may be provided on the range
5	property.
6	[EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective the day
7	following final enactment.
8	Sec. 91. [87A.05] [NOISE STANDARDS.]
9	Allowable noise levels for the operation of a shooting
10	range are the levels determined by replacing the steady state
11	noise L10 and L50 state standards for each period of time within
12	each noise area's classification with a single Leq(h) standard
13	for impulsive noise that is two dBA lower than that of the L10
14	level for steady state noise. The noise level shall be measured
15	outside of the range property at the location of the receiver's
16	activity according to Minnesota Rules, parts 7030.0010 to
17	7030.0080. For purposes of this section, "Leq(h)" means the
18	energy level that is equivalent to a steady state level that
19	contains the same amount of sound energy as the time varying
20	sound level for a 60-minute time period.
21	[EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective the day
22	following final enactment.
23	Sec. 92. [87A.06] [NUISANCE ACTIONS; COMPLIANCE WITH
24	SHOOTING RANGE PERFORMANCE STANDARDS.]
25	A person who owns, operates, or uses a shooting range in
26	this state that is in compliance with shooting range performance
27	standards is not subject to any nuisance action based on noise
28	or other matters regulated by the shooting range performance
29	standards. This section does not prohibit an action that seeks
30	damages for personal physical injury or tangible damage to
31	property caused by acts or omissions involving the operation of
32	the range or by a person using the range.
33	[EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective the day
34	following final enactment.
35	Sec. 93. [87A.07] [CLOSURE OF SHOOTING RANGES.]
36	Subdivision 1. [CLOSURE.] Except as otherwise provided in
Ar	ticle 1 Section 93 89

_	
1	sections 87A.01 to 87A.08, a shooting range that is in
2	compliance with shooting range performance standards and the
3	requirements of sections 87A.01 to 87A.08 shall not be forced to
4	permanently close or permanently cease any activity related to
5	the primary use of the shooting range unless the range or
6	activity is found to be a clear and immediate safety hazard. In
7	any action brought to compel the permanent closure of any range
8	in compliance with shooting range performance standards and this
9	chapter, or to permanently cease any activity related to the
10	primary use of the shooting range, there is a rebuttable
11	presumption that the range or activity is not a clear and
12	immediate safety hazard. If the shooting range provides
13	evidence that the cause of a proven safety hazard can be
14	mitigated so as to eliminate the safety hazard, the court shall
15	not order the permanent closure of the range, or permanent
16	ceasing of the activity found to be a clear and immediate safety
17	hazard, unless the range operator fails to implement the
18	necessary mitigation to remove the safety hazard by the date
19	that is determined reasonable by the court.
20	Subd. 2. [PRELIMINARY INJUNCTIONS.] Nothing in this
21	section prohibits a court from granting a preliminary injunction
22	against any activity determined to be a probable clear and
23	immediate safety hazard, or against any individual determined to
24	be the probable cause of an alleged clear and immediate safety
25	hazard, pending the final determination of the existence of the
26	safety hazard.
27	Subd. 3. [PERMANENT INJUNCTIONS.] A court may grant a
28	permanent injunction only against a particular activity or
29	person instead of permanently closing the range unless the court
30	finds that the remaining operations also pose a safety hazard
31	under this section.
32	[EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective the day
33	following final enactment.
34	Sec. 94. [87A.08] [APPLICABILITY OF OTHER LAWS.]
35	Subdivision 1. [PUBLIC SAFETY LAWS; ZONING.] (a) Nothing
36	in this chapter prohibits enforcement of any federal law. To
Ar	ticle 1 Section 94 90

1	the extent consistent with this chapter, other state laws
2	regarding the health, safety, and welfare of the public may be
3	enforced. To the extent consistent with this chapter, a local
4	unit of government with zoning authority jurisdiction over a
5	shooting range may enforce its applicable ordinances and permits.
6	(b) If the operator of the shooting range shows evidence
7	that the range can be brought into compliance with the
8	applicable state law, local ordinance, or permit, the range may
9	not be permanently closed unless the range operator fails to
10	bring the range into compliance with the applicable law,
11	ordinance, or permit under this section by the date that the
12	court determines reasonable. Nothing in this section prohibits
13	a court from granting a preliminary injunction against any
14	activity determined to be a violation of a law, ordinance, or
15	permit under this section or against any individual determined
16	to be causing an alleged violation, pending the final
17	determination of the existence of the violation.
18	Subd. 2. [PERMANENT INJUNCTIONS.] <u>A court may grant a</u>
19	permanent injunction only against a particular activity or
20	person instead of permanently closing the range unless the court
21	finds that the remaining operations also create a violation
22	under this section.
23	[EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective the day
24	following final enactment.
25	Sec. 95. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 88.6435,
26	subdivision 4, is amended to read:
27	Subd. 4. [FOREST BOUGH ACCOUNT; DISPOSITION OF PERMIT FEES
28	AND-PENALTIES.] (a) The forest bough account is established in
29	the state treasury within the natural resources fund.
30	(b) Fees for permits issued under this section shall be
31	deposited in the state treasury and credited to the special
32	revenue-fund forest bough account and, except for the electronic
33	licensing system commission established by the commissioner
34	under section 84.027, subdivision 15, are annually appropriated
35	to the commissioner of natural resources for costs associated
36	with balsam bough educational programs for harvesters and buyers.

Article 1 Section 95 91

1	[EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective July 6, 2005.
2	Sec. 96. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 89.039,
3	subdivision 1, is amended to read:
4	Subdivision 1. [ACCOUNT ESTABLISHED; SOURCES.] The forest
5	management investment account is created in the natural
6	resources fund in the state treasury and money in the account
7	may be spent only for the purposes provided in subdivision 2.
8	The following revenue shall be deposited in the forest
9	management investment account:
10	(1) timber sales receipts transferred from the consolidated
11	conservation areas account as provided in section 84A.51,
12	subdivision 2;
13	(2) timber sales receipts from forest lands as provided in
14	section 89.035; and
15	(3) money transferred from the forest suspense account
16	according to section 16A.125, subdivision 5; and
17	(4) interest accruing from investment of the account.
18	Sec. 97. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 89.37, is
19	amended by adding a subdivision to read:
20	Subd. 4a. [SURCHARGE.] For tree seedlings sold according
21	to this section, the commissioner may assess a 2.5 cent
22	surcharge on each tree seedling. All surcharges collected under
23	this subdivision must be deposited in the state treasury and
24	credited to the forest nursery account and are annually
25	appropriated to the commissioner for the purpose of forestry
26	education and technical assistance.
27	Sec. 98. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 90.195, is
28	amended to read:
29	90.195 [SPECIAL USE PERMIT.]
30	The commissioner may issue a permit to salvage or cut not
31	to exceed 12 cords of fuelwood per year for personal use from
32	either or both of the following sources: (1) dead, down, and
33	diseased trees; (2) other trees that are of negative value under
34	good forest management practices. The permits may be issued for
35	a period not to exceed one year. The commissioner shall charge
36	a fee7-not-less-than-\$57-in-an-amount-up-to-the-stumpage for the

Article 1 Section 98

permit that shall cover the commissioner's cost of issuing the
 permit and shall not exceed the current market value of fuelwood
 of similar species, grade, and volume that is being sold in the
 area where the salvage or cutting is authorized under the permit.
 Sec. 99. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 97A.055,

6 subdivision 4b, is amended to read:

7 Subd. 4b. [CITIZEN OVERSIGHT SUBCOMMITTEES.] (a) The commissioner shall appoint subcommittees of affected persons to 8 review the reports prepared under subdivision 4; review the 9 proposed work plans and budgets for the coming year; propose 10 changes in policies, activities, and revenue enhancements or 11 reductions; review other relevant information; and make 12 recommendations to the legislature and the commissioner for 13 14 improvements in the management and use of money in the game and fish fund. 15

16 (b) The commissioner shall appoint the following 17 subcommittees, each comprised of at least three affected persons: 18 (1) a Fisheries Operations Subcommittee to review fisheries 19 funding, excluding activities related to trout and salmon stamp 20 funding;

(2) a Wildlife Operations Subcommittee to review wildlife
funding, excluding activities related to migratory waterfowl,
pheasant, and turkey stamp funding and excluding review of the
amounts available under section 97A.075, subdivision 1,

25 paragraphs (b) and (c);

26 (3) a Big Game Subcommittee to review the report required
27 in subdivision 4, paragraph (a), clause (2);

(4) an Ecological Services Operations Subcommittee to
review ecological services funding;

30 (5) a subcommittee to review game and fish fund funding of 31 enforcement, support services, and Department of Natural 32 Resources administration;

33 (6) a subcommittee to review the trout and salmon stamp 34 report and address funding issues related to trout and salmon; 35 (7) a subcommittee to review the report on the migratory 36 waterfowl stamp and address funding issues related to migratory

Article 1 Section 99

l waterfowl;

(8) a subcommittee to review the report on the pheasant
stamp and address funding issues related to pheasants; and
(9) a subcommittee to review the report on the turkey stamp
and address funding issues related to wild turkeys.

(c) The chairs of each of the subcommittees shall form a 6 Budgetary Oversight Committee to coordinate the integration of 7 the subcommittee reports into an annual report to the 8 legislature; recommend changes on a broad level in policies, 9 activities, and revenue enhancements or reductions; provide a 10 forum to address issues that transcend the subcommittees; and 11 submit a report for any subcommittee that fails to submit its 12 report in a timely manner. 13

(d) The Budgetary Oversight Committee shall develop
recommendations for a biennial budget plan and report for
expenditures on game and fish activities. By August 15 of each
even-numbered year, the committee shall submit the budget plan
recommendations to the commissioner.

19 (e) Each subcommittee shall choose its own chair, except 20 that the chair of the Budgetary Oversight Committee shall be 21 appointed by the commissioner and may not be the chair of any of 22 the subcommittees.

(f) The Budgetary Oversight Committee must make
recommendations to the commissioner for outcome goals from
expenditures.

(g) Notwithstanding section 15.059, subdivision 5, or other
law to the contrary, the Budgetary Oversight Committee and
subcommittees do not expire until June 30, 2005 2010.

29 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective the day 30 following final enactment.

31 Sec. 100. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 97A.061,
32 subdivision 1, is amended to read:

33 Subdivision 1. [APPLICABILITY; AMOUNT.] (a) The 34 commissioner shall annually make a payment to each county having 35 public hunting areas and game refuges. Money to make the 36 payments is annually appropriated for that purpose from the

Article 1 Section 100 94

04/27/05

1 general fund. Except as provided in paragraph (b), this section 2 does not apply to state trust fund land and other state land not 3 purchased for game refuge or public hunting purposes. Except as 4 provided in paragraph (b), the payment shall be the greatest of:

5 (1) 35 percent of the gross receipts from all special use 6 permits and leases of land acquired for public hunting and game 7 refuges;

8 (2) 50 cents per acre on land purchased actually used for9 public hunting or game refuges; or

(3) three-fourths of one percent of the appraised value of 10 purchased land actually used for public hunting and game refuges. 11 (b) The payment shall be 50 percent of the dollar amount 12 adjusted for inflation as determined under section 477A.12, 13 subdivision 1, paragraph (a), clause (1), multiplied by the 14 number of acres of land in the county that are owned by another 15 16 state agency for military purposes and designated as a game refuge under section 97A.085. 17

18 (c) The payment must be reduced by the amount paid under
19 subdivision 3 for croplands managed for wild geese.

20 (c) (d) The appraised value is the purchase price for five
21 years after acquisition. The appraised value shall be
22 determined by the county assessor every five years after
23 acquisition.

24 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective for aids paid
25 in calendar year 2007 and thereafter.

Sec. 101. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 97A.075,
subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. [TROUT AND SALMON STAMP.] (a) Ninety percent of the revenue from trout and salmon stamps must be credited to the trout and salmon management account. Money in the account may be used only for:

(1) the development, restoration, maintenance, <u>improvement</u>,
<u>protection</u>, and preservation of <u>habitat for trout and salmon in</u>
trout streams and lakes, <u>including</u>, <u>but not limited to</u>,
<u>evaluating habitat</u>; <u>stabilizing eroding stream banks</u>; <u>adding</u>
fish cover; modifying stream channels; managing vegetation to

Article 1 Section 101

protect, shade, or reduce runoff on stream banks; and purchasing 1 equipment to accomplish these tasks; 2 (2) rearing of trout and salmon and, including utility and 3 service costs associated with coldwater hatchery buildings and 4 systems; stocking of trout and salmon in streams and lakes and 5 Lake Superior; and monitoring and evaluating stocked trout and 6 salmon; 7 (3) acquisition of easements and fee title along trout 8 waters; 9 10 (4) identifying easement and fee title areas along trout 11 waters; and (5) research and special management projects on trout 12 13 streams, trout lakes, and Lake Superior and the-anadromous 14 portions of its tributaries. 15 (b) Money in the account may not be used for costs unless 16 they are directly related to a specific parcel of land or body 17 of water under paragraph (a) or, to specific fish rearing activities under paragraph (a), clause (2), or for costs 18 19 associated with supplies and equipment to implement trout and 20 salmon management activities under paragraph (a). 21 Sec. 102. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 97A.4742, 22 subdivision 4, is amended to read: 23 Subd. 4. [ANNUAL REPORT.] By December 15 each year, the 24 commissioner shall submit a report to the legislative committees having jurisdiction over environment and natural resources 25 26 appropriations and environment and natural resources policy. 27 The report shall state the amount of revenue received in and 28 expenditures made from revenue transferred from the lifetime 29 fish and wildlife trust fund to the game and fish fund and-shall 30 describe-projects-funded,-locations-of-the-projects,-and-results 31 and-benefits-from-the-projects. The report may be included in 32 the game and fish fund report required by section 97A.055, 33 subdivision 4. The commissioner shall make the annual report 34 available to the public. 35 Sec. 103. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 97A.482, is

36 amended to read:

Article 1 Section 103 96

97A.482 [LICENSE APPLICATIONS; COLLECTION OF SOCIAL
 SECURITY NUMBERS.]

3 (a) All applicants for individual noncommercial game and 4 fish licenses under this chapter and chapters 97B and 97C must 5 include the applicant's social security number on the license 6 application. If an applicant does not have a Social Security 7 number, the applicant must certify that the applicant does not 8 have a Social Security number.

(b) The Social Security numbers collected by the 9 commissioner on game and fish license applications are private 10 data under section 13.355, subdivision 1, and must be provided 11 by the commissioner to the commissioner of human services for 12 child support enforcement purposes. Title IV-D of the Social 13 Security Act, United States Code, title 42, section 666(a)(13), 14 requires the collection of Social Security numbers on game and 15 fish license applications for child support enforcement purposes. 16

17 (c) The commissioners of human services and natural 18 resources shall request a waiver from the secretary of health 19 and human services to exclude any applicant under the age of 16 20 from the requirement under this section to provide the 21 applicant's Social Security number. If a waiver is granted, 22 this section will be so amended effective January 1, 2006, or 23 upon the effective date of the waiver, whichever is later.

Sec. 104. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 97A.485,
subdivision 7, is amended to read:

Subd. 7. [ELECTRONIC LICENSING SYSTEM COMMISSION.] The commissioner shall retain for the operation of the electronic licensing system a-commission-of-4.7-percent-of the commission established under section 84.027, subdivision 15, and issuing fees collected by the commissioner on all license fees

31 collected, excluding:

32 (1) the small game surcharge; and

33 (2) all-issuing-fees; and

34 (3) \$2.50 of the license fee for the licenses in section
35 97A.475, subdivisions 6, clauses (1), (2), and (4), 7, 8, 12,
36 and 13.

[EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective July 6, 2005. 1 Sec. 105. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 97A.551, is 2 amended by adding a subdivision to read: 3 Subd. 6. [TAGGING AND REGISTRATION.] The commissioner may, 4 by rule, require persons taking, possessing, and transporting 5 certain species of fish to tag the fish with a special fish 6 management tag and may require registration of tagged fish. A 7 person may not possess or transport a fish species taken in the 8 state for which a special fish management tag is required unless 9 a tag is attached to the fish in a manner prescribed by the 10 commissioner. The commissioner shall prescribe the manner of 11 12 issuance and the type of tag as authorized under section 13 97C.087. The tag must be attached to the fish as prescribed by 14 the commissioner immediately upon reducing the fish to possession and must remain attached to the fish until the fish 15 is processed or consumed. Species for which a special fish 16 management tag is required must be transported undressed. 17 18 Sec. 106. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 97B.015, subdivision 7, is amended to read: 19 20 Subd. 7. [FEE FOR DUPLICATE CERTIFICATE.] The commissioner 21 shall collect a fee, to include a \$1 issuing fee for licensing 22 agents, for issuing a duplicate firearms safety certificate. 23 The commissioner shall establish a fee that neither 24 significantly overrecovers nor underrecovers costs, including overhead costs, involved in providing the service. The fee is 25 26 not subject to the rulemaking provisions of chapter 14 and section 14.386 does not apply. The commissioner may establish 27 the fee notwithstanding section 16A.1283. The duplicate 28 29 certificate fees, except for the issuing fee for licensing 30 agents under this subdivision, shall be deposited in the game and fish fund and, except for the electronic licensing system 31 32 commission established by the commissioner under section 84.027, 33 subdivision 15, and issuing fees collected by the commissioner, 34 are appropriated annually to the Enforcement Division of the 35 Department of Natural Resources for the administration of the 36 firearm safety course program.

[EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective July 6, 2005.
 Sec. 107. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 97B.025, is
 amended to read:

4

97B.025 [HUNTER AND TRAPPER EDUCATION.]

(a) The commissioner may establish education courses for 5 hunters and trappers. The commissioner shall collect a fee from 6 each person attending a course. A fee, to include a \$1 issuing 7 fee for licensing agents, shall be collected for issuing a 8 duplicate certificate. The commissioner shall establish the 9 fees in a manner that neither significantly overrecovers nor 10 underrecovers costs, including overhead costs, involved in 11 providing the services. The fees are not subject to the 12 rulemaking provisions of chapter 14 and section 14.386 does not 13 apply. The commissioner may establish the fees notwithstanding 14 section 16A.1283. The fees, except for the issuing fee for 15 licensing agents under this subdivision, shall be deposited in 16 the game and fish fund and the amount thereof, except for the 17 18 electronic licensing system commission established by the 19 commissioner under section 84.027, subdivision 15, is 20 appropriated annually to the Enforcement Division of the 21 Department of Natural Resources for the administration of the program. In addition to the fee established by the commissioner 22 23 for each course, instructors may charge each person up to the established fee amount for class materials and expenses. 24 School 25 districts may cooperate with the commissioner and volunteer instructors to provide space for the classroom portion of the 26 27 training.

(b) The commissioner shall enter into an agreement with a 28 29 statewide nonprofit trappers association to conduct a trapper education program. At a minimum, the program must include at 30 31 least six hours of classroom and in the field training. The 32 program must include a review of state trapping laws and 33 regulations, trapping ethics, the setting and tending of traps 34 and snares, tagging and registration requirements, and the 35 preparation of pelts. The association shall be responsible for all costs of conducting the education program, and shall not 36

Article 1

99

Section 107

l	charge any fee for attending the course.
2	[EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective July 6, 2005.
3	Sec. 108. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 97C.085, is
4	amended to read:
5	97C.085 [PERMIT REQUIRED FOR TAGGING FISH.]
6	A person may not tag or otherwise mark a live fish for
7	identification without a permit from the commissioner, except
8	for special fish management tags as authorized under section
9	<u>97A.551</u> .
10	Sec. 109. [97C.087] [SPECIAL FISH MANAGEMENT TAGS.]
11	Subdivision 1. [TAGS TO BE ISSUED.] If the commissioner
12	determines it is necessary to require that a species of fish be
13	tagged with a special fish management tag, the commissioner
14	shall prescribe, by rule, the species to be tagged, tagging
15	procedures, and eligibility requirements.
16	Subd. 2. [APPLICATION FOR TAG.] Application for special
17	fish management tags must be accompanied by a \$5, nonrefundable
18	application fee for each tag. A person may not make more than
19	one tag application each year. If a person makes more than one
20	application, the person is ineligible for a special fish
21	management tag for that season after determination by the
22	commissioner, without a hearing.
23	Sec. 110. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 103E.081, is
24	amended by adding a subdivision to read:
25	Subd 2a. [PLANTING TREES OVER PUBLIC TILE.] A person must
26	not knowingly plant trees over a public drain tile, unless the
27	person planting the trees receives permission from the drainage
28	authority.
29	Sec. 111. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 103E.081, is
30	amended by adding a subdivision to read:
31	Subd. 2b. [PLANTING TREES OVER PRIVATE TILE.] A person
32	must not knowingly plant trees over a private drain tile that
33	provides for the drainage of land owned or leased by another
34	person, unless the person planting the trees receives permission
35	from all persons who receive drainage benefits from the drain
36	<u>tile.</u>

Article 1 Section 111 100

[REVISOR] CMR/CA 05-4113

1	Sec. 112. [103F.950] [BEAVER DAMAGE CONTROL GRANTS.]
2	Subdivision 1. [ESTABLISHMENT.] The Board of Water and
3	Soil Resources shall establish a beaver damage control grant
4	program to provide grants for the control of beaver activities
5	causing damage to public waters, roads, and ditches and adjacent
6	private property. The grants may be made to:
7	(1) a joint powers board established under section 471.59
8	by two or more governmental units;
9	(2) soil and water conservation districts; and
10	(3) Indian tribal governments.
11	Subd. 2. [GRANT AMOUNT.] The board may provide up to 50
12	percent of the costs of implementing a beaver damage control
13	program by a joint powers board.
14	Subd. 3. [AWARDING OF GRANTS.] Applications for grants
15	must be made to the board on forms prescribed by the
16	commissioner. The board shall consult with town supervisors and
17	county commissioners representing different areas of the state
18	in developing the application form. A joint powers board
19	seeking a grant may be required to supply information on the
20	beaver control program it has adopted, the extent of the problem
21	in the geographic area covered by the joint powers agreement,
22	and the ability of the joint powers board to match the state
23	grant. The board may prioritize the grant applications based
24	upon the information requested as part of the grant application.
25	Subd. 4. [REPORT.] (a) Within one year after receiving a
26	grant under this section, a joint powers board must report to
27	the Board of Water and Soil Resources on the joint powers
28	board's efforts to control beaver in the area.
29	(b) By December 15 of each even-numbered year, the board
30	shall report to the senate and house environment and natural
31	resources policy and finance committees on the efforts under
32	this section to control beaver.
33	Sec. 113. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 103G.271,
34	subdivision 6, is amended to read:
35	Subd. 6. [WATER USE PERMIT PROCESSING FEE.] (a) Except as
36	described in paragraphs (b) to (f), a water use permit
Ar	ticle 1 Section 113 101

04/27/05

1 processing fee must be prescribed by the commissioner in
2 accordance with the schedule of fees in this subdivision for
3 each water use permit in force at any time during the year. The
4 schedule is as follows, with the stated fee in each clause
5 applied to the total amount appropriated:

6 (1) \$101 for amounts not exceeding 50,000,000 gallons per7 year;

8 (2) \$3 per 1,000,000 gallons for amounts greater than 50,000,000 gallons but less than 100,000,000 gallons per year; 9 (3) \$3.50 per 1,000,000 gallons for amounts greater than 10 100,000,000 gallons but less than 150,000,000 gallons per year; 11 (4) \$4 per 1,000,000 gallons for amounts greater than 12 150,000,000 gallons but less than 200,000,000 gallons per year; 13 (5) \$4.50 per 1,000,000 gallons for amounts greater than 14 15 200,000,000 gallons but less than 250,000,000 gallons per year; 16 (6) \$5 per 1,000,000 gallons for amounts greater than 17 250,000,000 gallons but less than 300,000,000 gallons per year; (7) \$5.50 per 1,000,000 gallons for amounts greater than 18 300,000,000 gallons but less than 350,000,000 gallons per year; 19 20 (8) \$6 per 1,000,000 gallons for amounts greater than 21 350,000,000 gallons but less than 400,000,000 gallons per year; 22 (9) \$6.50 per 1,000,000 gallons for amounts greater than 23 400,000,000 gallons but less than 450,000,000 gallons per year; 24 (10) \$7 per 1,000,000 gallons for amounts greater than 25 450,000,000 gallons but less than 500,000,000 gallons per year; 26 and

(11) \$7.50 per 1,000,000 gallons for amounts greater than
500,000,000 gallons per year.

(b) For once-through cooling systems, a water use
processing fee must be prescribed by the commissioner in
accordance with the following schedule of fees for each water
use permit in force at any time during the year:

33 (1) for nonprofit corporations and school districts, \$150
34 per 1,000,000 gallons; and

35 (2) for all other users, \$200 per 1,000,000 gallons.
36 (c) The fee is payable based on the amount of water

Article 1 Section 113 102

[REVISOR] CMR/CA 05-4113 04/27/05 appropriated during the year and, except as provided in 1 paragraph (f), the minimum fee is \$100. 2 (d) For water use processing fees other than once-through 3 cooling systems: 4 (1) the fee for a city of the first class may not exceed 5 \$250,000 per year; 6 7 (2) the fee for other entities for any permitted use may not exceed: 8 (i) \$50,000 per year for an entity holding three or fewer 9 10 permits; 11 (ii) \$75,000 per year for an entity holding four or five 12 permits; 13 (iii) \$250,000 per year for an entity holding more than five permits; 14 15 (3) the fee for agricultural irrigation may not exceed \$750 16 per year; 17 (4) the fee for a municipality that furnishes electric service and cogenerates steam for home heating may not exceed 18 19 \$10,000 for its permit for water use related to the cogeneration of electricity and steam; and 20 21 (5) no fee is required for a project involving the 22 appropriation of surface water to prevent flood damage or to 23 remove flood waters during a period of flooding, as determined 24 by the commissioner. (e) Failure to pay the fee is sufficient cause for revoking 25 a permit. A penalty of two percent per month calculated from 26 the original due date must be imposed on the unpaid balance of 27 28 fees remaining 30 days after the sending of a second notice of 29 fees due. A fee may not be imposed on an agency, as defined in section 16B.01, subdivision 2, or federal governmental agency 30 holding a water appropriation permit. 31 32 (f) The minimum water use processing fee for a permit 33 issued for irrigation of agricultural land is \$20 for years in 34 which: 35

(1) there is no appropriation of water under the permit; or
(2) the permit is suspended for more than seven consecutive

1 days between May 1 and October 1.

(g) A surcharge of \$20 per million gallons in addition to
the fee prescribed in paragraph (a) shall be applied to the
volume of water used in June, July, and August that exceeds the
volume of water used in January for municipal water use,

6 irrigation of golf courses, and landscape irrigation.

Sec. 114. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 103G.301,
8 subdivision 2, is amended to read:

9 Subd. 2. [PERMIT APPLICATION FEES.] (a) An application for 10 a permit authorized under this chapter, and each request to 11 amend or transfer an existing permit, must be accompanied by a 12 permit application fee to defray the costs of receiving, 13 recording, and processing the application or request to amend or 14 transfer.

15 (b) The fee to apply for a permit to appropriate water, a 16 permit to construct or repair a dam that is subject to dam 17 safety inspection, or a state general permit or to apply for the 18 state water bank program is \$75 \$150. The application fee for a permit to work in public waters or to divert waters for mining 19 must be at least \$75 \$150, but not more than \$500 \$1,000, 20 21 according to a schedule of fees adopted under section 16A.1285. 22 Sec. 115. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 103G.615, 23 subdivision 2, is amended to read:

[FEES.] (a) The commissioner shall establish a 24 Subd. 2. 25 fee schedule for permits to control or harvest aquatic plants other than wild rice. The fees must be set by rule, and section 26 16A.1283 does not apply. The fees may not exceed \$750 per 27 28 permit based upon the cost of receiving, processing, analyzing, and issuing the permit, and additional costs incurred after the 29 30 application to inspect and monitor the activities authorized by 31 the permit, and enforce aquatic plant management rules and 32 permit requirements.

(b) The fee for a permit for the control of rooted aquatic vegetation is \$35 for each contiguous parcel of shoreline owned by an owner. This fee may not be charged for permits issued in connection with purple loosestrife control or lakewide Eurasian

Article 1 Section 115 104

1 water milfoil control programs.

2 (c) A fee may not be charged to the state or a federal3 governmental agency applying for a permit.

4 (d) The money received for the permits under this
5 subdivision shall be deposited in the treasury and credited to
6 the game-and-fish-fund water recreation account.

Sec. 116. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 103I.681,
8 subdivision 11, is amended to read:

Subd. 11. [PERMIT FEE SCHEDULE.] (a) The commissioner of 9 natural resources shall adopt a permit fee schedule under 10 chapter 14. The schedule may provide minimum fees for various 11 classes of permits, and additional fees, which may be imposed 12 subsequent to the application, based on the cost of receiving, 13 processing, analyzing, and issuing the permit, and the actual 14 inspecting and monitoring of the activities authorized by the 15 permit, including costs of consulting services. 16

17 (b) A fee may not be imposed on a state or federal18 governmental agency applying for a permit.

(c) The fee schedule may provide for the refund of a fee, 19 20 in whole or in part, under circumstances prescribed by the 21 commissioner of natural resources. Permit Fees received must be deposited in the state treasury and credited to the general 22 fund. 23 The-amount-of-money-necessary-to-pay-the-refunds-is 24 Permit fees received are appropriated annually from the general fund to the commissioner of natural resources for the costs of 25 26 inspecting and monitoring the activities authorized by the 27 permit, including costs of consulting services.

Sec. 117. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 115.03,
subdivision 4a, is amended to read:

30 Subd. 4a. [SECTION 401 CERTIFICATIONS.] (a) The following 31 definitions apply to this subdivision:

(1) "section 401 certification" means a water quality
certification required under section 401 of the federal Clean
Water Act, United States Code, title 33, section 1341; and

35 (2) "nationwide <u>federal general</u> permit" means a nationwide
 36 general permit issued by the United States Army Corps of

04/27/05

Engineers and-listed-in-Code-of-Federal-Regulations,-title-40, 1 part-3307-appendix-A under section 404 of the federal Clean 2 Water Act, United States Code, title 33, section 1344; and 3 (3) "professional review" means review of federal permits 4 or licenses that require section 401 certification before 5 issuance by professional or technical agency staff experienced 6 with section 401 water quality certification. 7 (b) The agency commissioner is responsible for providing 8 section 401 certifications for nationwide federal permits or 9 licenses that require section 401 certification before issuance 10 11 of the federal permit or license. (c) Before making a final decision on a section 401 12 13 certification for regional conditions on a mationwide federal 14 general permit, the agency commissioner shall hold at least one 15 public meeting outside the seven-county metropolitan area. 16 (d) In addition to other notice required by law, the agency 17 shall provide written notice of a meeting at which the agency will be considering a section 401 certification for regional 18 19 conditions on a mationwide federal general permit at least 21 20 days before the date of the meeting to the members of the senate 21 and house of-representatives-environment-and-natural-resources 22 committees,-the-senate-Agriculture-and-Rural-Development 23 Committee7-and-the-house-of-representatives-Agriculture 24 Committee policy committees with jurisdiction over environment 25 and agriculture. 26 (e) Beginning July 1, 2005, the commissioner shall collect 27 a fee on individual section 401 certifications that are not 28 subject to a federal general permit or a letter of permission in 29 the amount of \$350 per certification and an additional \$200 for 30 each acre of wetland or surface water that is subject to the 31 section 401 certification. All fees collected by the 32 commissioner under this section shall be deposited in the 33 environmental fund and are appropriated to the agency for the 34 purpose of providing professional review and notification. 35 (f) A decision by the commissioner to waive review of section 401 certification must include a written notice to 36

Article 1 Section 117 106

l	project applicants that they remain responsible for complying
2	with all water quality standards and other applicable statutes
3	and rules and that the commissioner retains the authority to
4	enforce violations of applicable standards, statutes, and rules,
5	including assessment of penalties.
6	(g) The commissioner shall provide access to all public
7	notices of applications for section 401 certification, their
8	status, and the decision to certify, deny, or waive any
9	application on the agency's Internet Web site, and may publish
10	these documents in any other appropriate public medium. All
11	public comments must be attached to the official public record
12	waiver decision and be available for review upon request. All
13	publications shall include the project's location, including
14	county, township, range and section, street address, or
15	directions.
16	[EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective the day
17	following final enactment.
18	Sec. 118. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 115.551, is
19	amended to read:
20	115.551 [TANK FEE.]
21	(a) An installer shall pay a fee of \$25 for each septic
22	system tank installed in the previous calendar year. The fees
23	required under this section must be paid to the commissioner by
24	January 30 of each year. The revenue derived from the fee
25	imposed under this section shall be deposited in the
26	environmental fund and is exempt from section 16A.1285.
27	(b) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), for the purposes of
28	performance-based individual sewage treatment systems, the tank
29	fee is limited to \$25 per household system installation.
30	Sec. 119. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 115B.48,
31	subdivision 8, is amended to read:
32	Subd. 8. [FULL-TIME EQUIVALENCE.] "Full-time equivalence"
33	means 2,000 hours worked by employees, owners, and others in a
34	dry cleaning facility during a 12-month period beginning July 1
35	of the preceding year and running through June 30 of the year in
36	which the annual registration fee is due. For those dry

Article 1 Section 119 107

04/27/05

cleaning facilities that were in business less than the 12-month 1 period, full-time equivalence means the total of all of the 2 hours worked in the dry cleaning facility, divided by 2,000 and 3 multiplied by a fraction, the numerator of which is 50 and the 4 denominator of which is the number of weeks in business during 5 the reporting period. For the purposes of section 115B.49, an 6 owner working 2,000 hours or more shall be considered as one 7 full-time equivalent. 8 Sec. 120. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 115B.49, is 9 amended by adding a subdivision to read: 10 Subd. 5. [FEE ADJUSTMENT.] Notwithstanding section 11 16A.1285, each fiscal year the commissioner shall adjust the 12 13 fees in subdivision 4 as necessary to maintain an annual income to the account of \$650,000. 14 Sec. 121. [116H.55] [DEFINITIONS.] 15 Subdivision 1. [SCOPE.] For the purposes of this chapter, 16 the following terms have the meanings given. 17 18 Subd. 2. [CATHODE RAY TUBE OR CRT.] "Cathode ray tube" or "CRT" means a vacuum tube or picture tube used to convert an 19 20 electronic signal into a visual image. It is composed primarily 21 of glass, and is the video display component of a television or computer monitor, and includes other items integrally attached 22 23 to the CRT. Subd. 3. [COMPUTER MONITOR.] "Computer monitor" means an 24 electronic device that is a cathode ray tube or flat panel 25 26 display primarily intended to display information from a central processing unit or the Internet. Computer monitor includes a 27 laptop computer. 28 Subd. 4. [FULL TRUCKLOAD.] "Full truckload" means a 29 30 quantity weighing 25,000 pounds or more of video display devices. 31 Subd. 5. [HENNEPIN COUNTY STUDY.] "Hennepin County study" 32 means the Hennepin County Consumer Electronics Brand Tally, 33 published January 2005. Subd. 6. [HOUSEHOLD.] "Household" means an occupant of a 34 single detached dwelling unit or a single unit of a multiple 35 dwelling unit who has used a video display device at a dwelling 36

Article 1 Section 121 108

1	unit primarily for personal use.
2	Subd. 7. [INTERMEDIATE CONSOLIDATION POINT.] "Intermediate
3	consolidation point" means a facility in the state approved by
4	the Office of Environmental Assistance pursuant to section
5	116H.65, paragraph (d), clause (3), where local governments and
6	households can deliver for consolidation video display devices
7	generated by households and destined for recycling,
8	refurbishment, or reuse. The facility may be operated by a
9	private entity or a local unit of government, and must be
10	capable of consolidating a full truckload of video display
11	devices from households in accordance with all applicable
12	federal, state, and local laws, rules, regulations, and
13	ordinances.
14	Subd. 8. [MANUFACTURER.] "Manufacturer" means a person
15	who: (1) manufactures video display devices to be sold under
16	its own brand as identified by its own brand label; or (2) sells
17	video display devices manufactured by others under its own brand
18	as identified by its own brand label.
19	Subd. 9. [MANUFACTURER'S BRANDS.] <u>"Manufacturer's brands"</u>
20	means a manufacturer's name, brand name, or brand label, and all
21	manufacturer's names, brand names, and brand labels for which
22	the manufacturer has legal responsibility, including those
23	manufacturer's names, brand names, and brand labels of companies
24	that have been acquired by the manufacturer.
25	Subd. 10. [OFFICE.] "Office" means the Office of
26	Environmental Assistance.
27	Subd. 11. [ORPHAN WASTE.] "Orphan waste" means a video
28	display device covered by this section for which (1) no
29	manufacturer can be identified, or (2) the manufacturer no
30	longer exists and no successor can be identified.
31	Subd. 12. [PRO RATA SHARE.] "Pro rata share" means the
32	percentage that is the proportion, multiplied by 100, of the
33	total weight of video display devices, of the manufacturer's
34	brands registered by a registrant, as required by section
35	116H.60, paragraph (e), received at intermediate consolidation
36	points divided by the total weight of video display devices

Article 1 Section 121 109

1	received at intermediate consolidation points, as determined by
2	the sampling program at intermediate consolidation points
3	pursuant to section 116H.65, paragraph (d), clause (1). The pro
4	rata share for the first program year shall be based on the
5	Hennepin County study.
6	Subd. 13. [REGISTRANT.] "Registrant" means a manufacturer
7	that submits the registration required by section 116H.60,
8	paragraph (a), or an independent party that submits the
9	registration required by section 116H.60, paragraph (a), in lieu
10	of a manufacturer.
11	Subd. 14. [SELL OR SALE.] "Sell" or "sale" means any
12	transfer for consideration of title or of the right to use, by
13	lease or sales contract, including, but not limited to,
14	transactions conducted through sales outlets, catalogs, or the
15	Internet, or any other similar electronic means either inside or
16	outside of the state, by a person who conducts the transaction
17	and controls the delivery of a video display device to a
18	consumer in the state, but does not include a wholesale
19	transaction with a distributor or a retailer.
20	Subd. 15. [TELEVISION.] "Television" means an electronic
21	device that is a cathode ray tube or flat panel display
22	primarily intended to receive video programming via broadcast,
23	cable, or satellite transmission or video from surveillance or
24	other similar cameras.
25	Subd. 16. [VIDEO DISPLAY DEVICE.] "Video display device"
26	means a computer monitor or television with a screen size
27	greater than eight inches measured diagonally. The term "video
28	display device" does not include a video display device that is
29	part of or contained in a motor vehicle; industrial, commercial,
30	or medical equipment; or any appliance.
31	Sec. 122. [116H.60] [REGISTRATION PROGRAM.]
32	(a) On and after July 1, 2006, a retailer or manufacturer
33	may not sell or offer for sale a new video display device to any
34	person in the state unless:
35	(1) the video display device is labeled with the
36	manufacturer's brand, which label is permanently affixed and
N •••	ticle 1 Section 122 110

1 readily visible; and

(2) the video display device is subject to a registration 2 3 filed by a registrant with the office according to this section, 4 with the registration effective upon receipt by the office. (b) A retailer or manufacturer who sells or offers for sale 5 a new video display device to a consumer in this state must, 6 before initial offer for sale of the device, submit to the 7 8 office a certification that the retailer or manufacturer has 9 reviewed the office's Web site specified in paragraph (h), and 10 has determined that all new video display devices that the 11 retailer or manufacturer is then offering for sale are labeled 12 with manufacturer's brands that are subject to registration statements filed with the office. After the initial submittal, 13 14 the certification must be submitted to the office annually by 15 July 10 of each year, effective as of July 1 of each year. A 16 retailer is not responsible for an unlawful sale under this 17 paragraph if the registration expired or was revoked and the 18 retailer took possession of the video display device prior to 19 the expiration or revocation of the registration and the 20 unlawful sale occurred within six months after the expiration or 21 revocation. 22 (c) By February 1, 2006, a manufacturer of video display 23 devices sold to a consumer in this state must submit a 24 registration to the office that includes a certification that a 25 registrant will participate in the intermediate consolidation 26 point program as specified in paragraph (m) beginning July 1, 2006. A manufacturer who begins to sell or offer for sale video 27 display devices after February 1, 2006, and has not filed a 28 29 registration pursuant to this section must submit a registration 30 to the office within ten days of beginning to sell or offer for sale video display devices to consumers in the state. The 31 32 registration is effective upon receipt by the office. 33 (d) The registration must list the manufacturer's brands. 34 The registration must be updated within ten days after a change 35 in the manufacturer's brands, such as in the event of an 36 acquisition, merger, or divestiture.

Article 1 Section 122 111

[REVISOR] CMR/CA 05-4113

1	(e) A registrant may partner with one or more manufacturers
2	or other parties, collectively a "registrant," to prepare and
3	submit to the office a joint video display device recycling,
4	refurbishment, or reuse program.
5	(f) Each manufacturer who registers under this section must
6	pay an annual fee which is deposited in an electronic waste
7	account established in the environmental fund. The fee is equal
8	to \$2,000 multiplied by the manufacturer's pro rata share of
9	video display devices as determined under section 116H.55,
10	subdivision 12. A manufacturer registered under this section
11	whose pro rata share is less than 0.25 percent must pay a
12	minimum fee of \$500. Money in the electronic waste account is
13	appropriated to the office for the purpose of administering the
14	program.
15	(g) The office shall develop procedures to administer and
16	implement the registration program under this section and shall
17	present them to the legislature by January 15, 2006.
18	(h) The office must review each registration and notify the
19	registrant if the registration does not include the information
20	required by this section. Within 30 days of receipt of a
21	notification from the office, the registrant must file with the
22	office a revised registration providing the information noted by
23	the office.
24	(i) The office must maintain on its Web site the names of
25	the registrants and the manufacturers' brands that are listed in
26	registrations filed with the office. The office must update the
27	Web site information promptly upon receipt of a new registration
28	or an updated registration.
29	(j) The obligations of a manufacturer or registrant apply
30	only to video display devices received from households in this
31	state and do not apply to video display devices received from
32	owners other than households.
33	(k) Persons who receive a video display device for
34	recycling, refurbishment, or reuse pursuant to a registration
35	may recycle, refurbish, or reuse, including resell, the video
36	display device. Except to the extent otherwise required by law,
Ar	ticle 1 Section 122 112

1

2 the video display device if an information storage device is

3 included with the video display device.

4 (1) A city, county, or other public agency may not require households to use the intermediate consolidation point program 5 to recycle their video display devices to the exclusion of other 6 programs legally available. Nothing in this chapter prohibits 7 or restricts any video display recycling programs that are in 8 addition to those provided by manufacturers or registrants or 9 prohibits or restricts any persons from receiving, storing, 10 11 transporting, or recycling video display devices. (m) By October 1 of each year, each registrant must submit 12 13 a report to the office that describes the implementation of the 14 program during the preceding program year. The program year is July 1 through June 30. The first report must be submitted by 15

16 October 1, 2007. The report must:

(1) identify the total weight of the video display devices 17 18 that the registrant has arranged for pickup from intermediate consolidation points during the preceding year, and the total 19 20 weight of video display devices that the registrant has received 21 from households through other methods during the preceding year 22 and for which the registrant has used such video display devices 23 to satisfy all or a portion of its pro rata share responsibility 24 during the preceding year; and

25 (2) describe the processes and methods used to recycle, 26 refurbish, or reuse video display devices that the registrant 27 has arranged for pickup from intermediate collection points 28 during the preceding year and that the registrant has received 29 from households through other methods, and for which the 30 registrant has used such video display devices to satisfy all or 31 a portion of its pro rata share responsibility during the 32 preceding year; and, in particular, identify any disassembly, 33 physical recovery operation including crushing, shredding, 34 grinding, or glass to glass recycling, or any other operation 35 that was used and describe where it took place. The report must also discuss whether these activities included procedures 36

Article 1

Section 122

1	described in the United States Environmental Protection Agency's
2	guidelines for the environmentally sound management of
3	electronic equipment.
4	(n) Participation in the intermediate consolidation point
5	program requires that a registrant must:
6	(1) arrange for the pickup and recycling of a full
7	truckload or full truckloads of computer monitor video display
8	devices or television video display devices received by
9	intermediate consolidation points after July 1, 2006, up to the
10	registrant's pro rata share of computer monitor video display
11	devices or television video display devices, from intermediate
12	consolidation points, pursuant to procedures developed under
13	paragraph (g), capable of consolidating a full truckload of
14	video display devices from households in accordance with all
15	applicable federal, state, and local laws, rules, regulations,
16	and ordinances; and
17	(2) arrange for the pickup and recycling of the
18	registrant's pro rata share of orphan waste by weight from
19	intermediate consolidation points, pursuant to procedures
20	developed under paragraph (g).
21	(o) Registrants are responsible for the costs of pickup and
22	recycling of the video display devices. A registrant may
23	satisfy a portion or all of its pro rata share responsibility by
24	receipt of video display devices from households through other
25	methods if the registrant has not charged for the recycling,
26	refurbishment, or reuse of the video display devices that the
27	registrant has received from households in this state through
28	the other methods. A registrant who intends to satisfy a
29	portion or all of its pro rata share responsibility by receipt
30	of the video display devices from households through other
31	methods must provide the office with a report of its receipt of
32	video display devices through the other methods on a quarterly
33	basis.
34	(p) After receipt of the report required by paragraph (m)
35	to be filed on October 1, 2009, the office must review the
36	performance of the program and may issue performance standards
۵r	ticle 1 Section 122 114

l	related to the number of units collected per household.
2	Sec. 123. [116H.65] [DUTIES OF OFFICE.]
3	(a) The office must administer and enforce this chapter.
4	(b) The office must establish procedures for:
5	(1) receipt and maintenance of the registration statements
6	and certifications filed with the office pursuant to section
7	116H.60; and
8	(2) making the statements and certifications easily
9	available to registrants, manufacturers, distributors,
10	retailers, and members of the public.
11	(c) On or before December 1, 2010, and every three years
12	thereafter, the office must provide a report to the governor and
13	the legislature on the implementation of this chapter. For each
14	of the preceding three program years, the report must discuss
15	the total weight of video display devices received by all
16	registrants from intermediate consolidation points, the total
17	weight of video display devices received by each registrant from
18	intermediate consolidation points, the total weight of video
19	display devices that the registrant has received from households
20	through other methods during the preceding year and which the
21	registrant has used to satisfy all or a portion of its pro rata
22	share responsibility during the preceding year, and a summary of
23	information in the report submitted by registrants pursuant to
24	section 116H.60, paragraph (1). The report must also discuss
25	the various collection programs used to collect video display
26	devices and information received by the office regarding video
27	display devices that are not being collected by the
28	registrants. The report must include a description of
29	enforcement actions under this chapter and information about
30	video display devices, if any, being disposed of in landfills in
31	this state. The office may include in its report other
32	information received by the office regarding the implementation
33	of the chapter.
34	(d) The office must administer the intermediate
35	consolidation point program.
36	(e) The office must calculate pro rata shares for video

[REVISOR] CMR/CA 05-4113

1	display devices on an annual program year basis for each
2	registrant. Pro rata shares for the first program year must be
3	determined by the office by May 1, 2006, using the Hennepin
4	County study. For each subsequent year, pro rata shares must be
5	determined by May 1 of the preceding year based upon an annual
6	sampling survey conducted by the office at intermediate
7	consolidation points during that preceding year. The sampling
8	survey must identify televisions and computer monitors
9	separately, and calculate the weight of televisions and computer
10	monitors separately. The office may provide registrants with
11	projections or estimates of the amount by weight of video
12	display devices for which the registrant may be responsible
13	during a given program year.
14	(f) The office must establish under section 116H.60,
15	paragraph (g), a system to coordinate among registrants pickups
16	from intermediate consolidation points after an intermediate
17	consolidation point has notified the office that a full
18	truckload of video display devices from households has been
19	consolidated. The office must provide a program year accounting
20	of the extent to which each registrant met its pro rata share
21	responsibility as established pursuant to section 116H.60,
22	paragraph (n), and methods for addressing amounts greater than
23	or less than a registrant's pro rata share responsibility that
24	were picked up and recycled by a registrant during the program
25	year.
26	(g) By February 1, 2006, the office must receive
27	applications for the establishment of intermediate consolidation
28	points. The director must seek to receive at least 15
29	applications with at least ten of the applications from outside
30	the metropolitan area. By April 30, 2006, the office must
31	establish a list of approved intermediate consolidation points
32	and must provide the list on its Web site. Manufacturers and
33	registrants have no responsibility for any costs of the
34	intermediate consolidation points. Applications for the
35	establishment of intermediate consolidation points must specify
36	any method that will be used to ensure that video display

Article 1 Section 123 116

1	devices will be collected only from households or that video
2	display devices from households will be segregated from other
3	video display devices.
4	(h) The Pollution Control Agency must establish a
5	multistakeholder Oversight and Advisory Committee within one
6	year following enactment of this chapter for the purpose of
7	overseeing producer electronic waste recycling program plan
8	implementation, reviewing producer plan annual reports, and
9	identifying and recommending additional products to be included
10	as electronic waste. An annual report consistent with this
11	section must be submitted to the chairs of the senate and house
1 2	environmental policy committees commencing in February 2006.
13	Sec. 124. [116H.75] [REQUIREMENTS FOR PURCHASES BY STATE
14	AGENCIES.]
15	(a) The Department of Administration must ensure that
16	acquisitions of video display devices under chapter 16C are
17	certified by the vendor to be in compliance with section 116H.60.
18	(b) The bid solicitation documents must specify that the
19	prospective bidder is required to cooperate fully in providing
20	reasonable access to its records and documents that evidence
21	compliance with paragraph (a) and section 116H.60.
22	(c) Any person awarded a contract under chapter 16C for
23	purchase or lease of video display devices that is found to be
24	in violation of paragraph (a) or section ll6H.60 is subject to
25	the following sanctions:
26	(1) the contract must be voided;
27	(2) the contractor is ineligible to bid on any state
28	contract for a period of three years; and
29	(3) if the attorney general establishes that any money,
30	property, or benefit was obtained by a contractor as a result of
31	violating paragraph (a) or section 116H.60, the court may, in
32	addition to any other remedy, order the disgorgement of the
33	unlawfully obtained money, property, or benefit.
34	Sec. 125. [116H.80] [REGULATION OF CRT DEVICES.]
35	If the United States Environmental Protection Agency adopts
36	regulations under the Resource Conservation and Recovery Act

Article 1 Section 125 117

1	regarding the handling, storage, or treatment of cathode ray
2	tube devices or video display devices being recycled, those
3	regulations are automatically effective in this state on the
4	same date and supersede any rules previously adopted by the
5	office or the Pollution Control Agency regarding the handling,
6	storage, or treatment of cathode ray tube devices or video
7	display devices being recycled.
8	Sec. 126. [116H.85] [ENFORCEMENT.]
9	This chapter shall be enforced in the manner provided by
10	sections 115.071, subdivisions 1, 3, 4, 5, and 6; and 116.072.
11	Sec. 127. [116H.90] [LIMITATIONS.]
12	This chapter expires if a federal law, or combination of
13	federal laws, takes effect that is applicable to all video
14	display devices sold in the United States and establishes a
15	program for the collection and recycling or reuse of video
16	display devices that is applicable to all video display devices
17	discarded by households.
18	Sec. 128. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 1160.09,
19	subdivision la, is amended to read:
20	Subd. la. [BOARD OF DIRECTORS.] The board of directors of
21	the Agricultural Utilization Research Institute is comprised of:
22	(1) the chairs of the senate and the house of
23	representatives standing committees with jurisdiction over
24	agriculture finance or the chair's designee;
25	(2) two representatives of statewide farm organizations;
26	(3) two representatives of agribusiness; and
27	(4) three representatives of the commodity promotion
28	councils.
29	A-member-of-the-board-of-directors-under-clauses-(2)-to
30	(4)7-including-a-member-serving-on-July-17-20037-may-serve-for-a
31	maximum-of-two-three-year-termsThe-board's-compensation-is
32	governed-by-section-15-05757-subdivision-3-
33	Sec. 129. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 116P.05,
34	subdivision 2, is amended to read:
35	Subd. 2. [DUTIES.] (a) The commission shall recommend a
36	budget plan for expenditures from the environment and natural

Article 1 Section 129 118

resources trust fund and shall adopt a strategic plan as
 provided in section ll6P.08.

3 (b) The commission shall recommend expenditures to the 4 legislature from the state land and water conservation account 5 in the natural resources fund.

(c) It is a condition of acceptance of the appropriations 6 made from the Minnesota environment and natural resources trust 7 fund, and oil overcharge money under section 4.071, subdivision 8 2, that the agency or entity receiving the appropriation must 9 submit a work program and semiannual progress reports in the 10 form determined by the Legislative Commission on Minnesota 11 Resources, and comply with applicable reporting requirements 12 under section 116P.16. None of the money provided may be spent 13 14 unless the commission has approved the pertinent work program. 15 (d) The peer review panel created under section 116P.08 must also review, comment, and report to the commission on 16 research proposals applying for an appropriation from the oil 17 overcharge money under section 4.071, subdivision 2. 18

19 (e) The commission may adopt operating procedures to20 fulfill its duties under chapter 116P.

21 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective for interests
22 in land acquired after June 30, 2005.

Sec. 130. [116P.16] [REAL PROPERTY INTEREST REPORT.] 23 By December 1 each year, a recipient of an appropriation 24 25 from the trust fund, that is used for the acquisition of an 26 interest in real property, must submit annual reports on the 27 status of the real property to the Legislative Commission on Minnesota Resources in a form determined by the commission. The 28 29 responsibility for reporting under this section may be transferred by the recipient of the appropriation to another 30 31 person who holds the interest in the real property. To complete 32 the transfer of reporting responsibility, the recipient of the appropriation must: 33 34 (1) inform the person to whom the responsibility is 35 transferred of that person's reporting responsibility;

36 (2) inform the person to whom the responsibility is

Article 1 Section 130 119

. •

[REVISOR] CMR/CA 05-4113

1	transferred of the property restrictions under section 116P.15;
2	and
3	(3) provide written notice to the commission of the
4	transfer of reporting responsibility, including contact
5	information for the person to whom the responsibility is
6	transferred.
7	After the transfer, the person who holds the interest in the
8	real property is responsible for reporting requirements under
9	this section.
10	[EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective for interests
11	in land acquired after June 30, 2005.
12	Sec. 131. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 160.232, is
13	amended to read:
14	160.232 [MOWING DITCHES OUTSIDE CITIES.]
15	(a) To provide enhanced roadside habitat for nesting birds
16	and other small wildlife, road authorities may not mow or till
17	the right-of-way of a highway located outside of a home rule
18	charter or statutory city except as allowed in this section and
19	section 160.23.
20	(b) On any highway, the first eight feet away from the road
21	surface, or shoulder if one exists, may be mowed at any time.
22	(c) An entire right-of-way may be mowed after July 31.
23	From August 31 to the following July 31, the entire right-of-way
24	may only be mowed if necessary for safety reasons, and but may
25	not be mowed to a height of less than 12 inches.
26	(d) A right-of-way may be mowed as necessary to maintain
27	sight distance for safety and may be mowed at other times under
28	rules of the commissioner, or by ordinance of a local road
29	authority not conflicting with the rules of the commissioner.
30	(e) A right-of-way may be mowed, burned, or tilled to
31	prepare the right-of-way for the establishment of permanent
32	vegetative cover or for prairie vegetation management.
33	(f) When feasible, road authorities are encouraged to
34	utilize low maintenance, native vegetation that reduces the need
35	to mow, provides wildlife habitat, and maintains public safety.
36	(g) The commissioner of natural resources shall cooperate
Ar	ticle 1 Section 131 120

[REVISOR] CMR/CA 05-4113 04/27/05 with the commissioner of transportation to provide enhanced 1 roadside habitat for nesting birds and other small wildlife. 2 Sec. 132. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 168.1296, 3 subdivision 1, is amended to read: 4 Subdivision 1. [GENERAL REQUIREMENTS AND PROCEDURES.] (a) 5 The registrar shall issue special critical habitat license 6 plates to an applicant who: 7 (1) is an owner or joint owner of a passenger automobile, 8 pickup truck, or van, or recreational equipment; 9 (2) pays a fee of \$10 to cover the costs of handling and 10 11 manufacturing the plates; (3) pays the registration tax required under section 12 13 168.013; (4) pays the fees required under this chapter; 14 (5) contributes a minimum of \$30 annually to the Minnesota 15 critical habitat private sector matching account established in 16 section 84.943; and 17 18 (6) complies with laws and rules governing registration and licensing of vehicles and drivers. 19 20 (b) The critical habitat license application form must 21 clearly indicate that the annual contribution specified under 22 paragraph (a), clause (5), is a minimum contribution to receive the license plate and that the applicant may make an additional 23 24 contribution to the account. (c) Owners of recreational equipment under paragraph (a), 25 26 clause (1), are eligible only for special critical habitat 27 license plates for which the designs are selected under 28 subdivision 2, on or after January 1, 2006. 29 (d) Special critical habitat license plates, the designs 30 for which are selected under subdivision 2, on or after January 1, 2006, may be personalized according to section 168.12, 31 32 subdivision 2a. 33 Sec. 133. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 223.17, subdivision 3, is amended to read: 34 35 Subd. 3. [GRAIN BUYERS AND STORAGE ACCOUNT; FEES.] The 36 commissioner shall set the fees for inspections under sections

Article 1 Section 133 121

04/27/05

223.15 to 223.22 at levels necessary to pay the expenses of
 administering and enforcing sections 223.15 to 223.22.

3 The fee for any license issued or renewed after June 30, 4 2001 2005, shall be set according to the following schedule: 5 (a) \$125 \$140 plus \$100 for each additional location 6 for grain buyers whose gross annual purchases are less than 7 \$100,000;

8 (b) \$250 \$275 plus \$100 for each additional location
9 for grain buyers whose gross annual purchases are at least
10 \$100,000, but not more than \$750,000;

11 (c) \$375 \$415 plus \$200 \$220 for each additional location 12 for grain buyers whose gross annual purchases are more than 13 \$750,000 but not more than \$1,500,000;

14 (d) \$500 \$550 plus \$200 \$220 for each additional location
15 for grain buyers whose gross annual purchases are more than
16 \$1,500,000 but not more than \$3,000,000; and

(e) \$625 \$700 plus \$200 \$220 for each additional location
for grain buyers whose gross annual purchases are more than
\$3,000,000.

A penalty amount not to exceed ten percent of the fees due may be imposed by the commissioner for each month for which the fees are delinquent.

There is created the grain buyers and storage account in the agricultural fund. Money collected pursuant to sections 223.15 to 223.19 shall be paid into the state treasury and credited to the grain buyers and storage account and is appropriated to the commissioner for the administration and enforcement of sections 223.15 to 223.22.

29 Sec. 134. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 231.16, is 30 amended to read:

31 231.16 [WAREHOUSE OPERATOR OR HOUSEHOLD GOODS WAREHOUSE
32 OPERATOR TO OBTAIN LICENSE.]

A warehouse operator or household goods warehouse operator must be licensed annually by the department. The department shall prescribe the form of the written application. If the department approves the license application and the applicant

122

Article 1 Section 134

04/27/05

files with the department the necessary bond, in the case of 1 household goods warehouse operators, or proof of warehouse 2 operators legal liability insurance coverage in an amount of 3 \$50,000 or more, as provided for in this chapter, the department 4 shall issue the license upon payment of the license fee required 5 in this section. A warehouse operator or household goods 6 warehouse operator to whom a license is issued shall pay a fee 7 as follows: 8

9	Building square footage used for public storage
10	(1) 5,000 or less \$10
11	(2) 5,001 to 10,000 \$200 \$200
12	(3) 10,001 to 20,000 \$300 \$300
13	(4) 20,001 to 100,000 \$400 \$440
14	(5) 100,001 to 200,000 \$500 \$550
15	(6) over 200,000 \$600 \$660
16	A penalty amount not to exceed ten percent of the fees due

17 may be imposed by the commissioner for each month for which the 18 fees are delinquent.

Fees collected under this chapter must be paid into the 19 grain buyers and storage account established in section 232.22. 20 The license must be renewed annually on or before July 1, 21 and always upon payment of the full license fee required in this 22 23 section. No license shall be issued for any portion of a year 24 for less than the full amount of the license fee required in this section. Each license obtained under this chapter must be 25 publicly displayed in the main office of the place of business 26 of the warehouse operator or household goods warehouse operator 27 to whom it is issued. The license authorizes the warehouse 28 operator or household goods warehouse operator to carry on the 29 30 business of warehousing only in the one city or town named in the application and in the buildings therein described. 31 The 32 department, without requiring an additional bond and license, 33 may issue permits from time to time to any warehouse operator already duly licensed under the provisions of this chapter to 34 35 operate an additional warehouse in the same city or town for which the original license was issued during the term thereof, 36

Article 1 Section 134 123

04/27/05

upon the filing an application for a permit in the form
 prescribed by the department.

A license may be refused for good cause shown and revoked by the department for violation of law or of any rule adopted by the department, upon notice and after hearing.

6 Sec. 135. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 232.22, 7 subdivision 3, is amended to read:

[FEES; GRAIN BUYERS AND STORAGE ACCOUNT.] There Subd. 3. 8 is created in the agricultural fund an account known as the 9 grain buyers and storage account. The commissioner shall set 10 the fees for inspections, certifications and licenses under 11 12 sections 232.20 to 232.25 at levels necessary to pay the costs of administering and enforcing sections 232.20 to 232.25. 13 A11 money collected pursuant to sections 232.20 to 232.25 and 14 chapters 233 and 236 shall be paid by the commissioner into the 15 state treasury and credited to the grain buyers and storage 16 17 account and is appropriated to the commissioner for the administration and enforcement of sections 232.20 to 232.25 and 18 chapters 233 and 236. All money collected pursuant to chapter 19 231 shall be paid by the commissioner into the grain buyers and 20 21 storage account and is appropriated to the commissioner for the 22 administration and enforcement of chapter 231.

23 The fees for a license to store grain are as follows:
24 (a) For a license to store grain, \$110 for each home rule
25 charter or statutory city or town in which a public grain
26 warehouse is operated.

(b) A person with a license to store grain in a public
grain warehouse is subject to an examination fee for each
licensed location, based on the following schedule for one
examination:

31 Bushel Capacity Examination Fee Less than 150,001 32 <u>\$300</u> 33 150,001 to 250,000 \$425 34 250,001 to 500,000 \$545 35 500,001 to 750,000 \$700 750,001 to 1,000,000 36 \$865

Article 1 Section 135 124

1	1,000,001 to 1,200,000 \$1,040	
2	1,200,001 to 1,500,000 \$1,205	
3	1,500,001 to 2,000,000 \$1,380	
4	More than 2,000,000 \$1,555	
5	(c) The fee for the second examination is \$55 per hour per	
6	examiner for warehouse operators who choose to have it performed	
7	by the commissioner.	
8	(d) A penalty amount not to exceed ten percent of the fees	
9	due may be imposed by the commissioner for each month for which	
10	the fees are delinquent.	
11	Sec. 136. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 236.02,	
12	subdivision 4, is amended to read:	
13	Subd. 4. [FEES.] The license fee is \$140 for each home	
14	rule charter or statutory city or town in which a private grain	
15	warehouse is operated and which will be used to operate a grain	
16	bank. A penalty amount not to exceed ten percent of the fees	
17	due may be imposed by the commissioner for each month for which	
18	the fees are delinguent. The license fee must be set by the	
19	commissioner in an amount sufficient to cover the costs of	
20	administering and enforcing this chapter. Fees collected under	
21	this chapter must be paid into the grain buyers and storage	
22	account established in section 232.22.	
23	Sec. 137. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 282.08, is	
24	amended to read:	
25	282.08 [APPORTIONMENT OF PROCEEDS TO TAXING DISTRICTS.]	
26	The net proceeds from the sale or rental of any parcel of	
27	forfeited land, or from the sale of products from the forfeited	
28	land, must be apportioned by the county auditor to the taxing	
29	districts interested in the land, as follows:	
30	(1) the amounts necessary to pay the state general tax levy	
31	against the parcel for taxes payable in the year for which the	
32	tax judgment was entered, and for each subsequent payable year	
33	up to and including the year of forfeiture, must be apportioned	
34	to the state;	
35	(2) the portion required to pay any amounts included in the	

35 (2) the portion required to pay any amounts included in the 36 appraised value under section 282.01, subdivision 3, as

Article 1 Section 137 125

representing increased value due to any public improvement made
 after forfeiture of the parcel to the state, but not exceeding
 the amount certified by the clerk of the municipality must be
 apportioned to the municipal subdivision entitled to it;

(3) the portion required to pay any amount included in the 5 appraised value under section 282.019, subdivision 5, 6 representing increased value due to response actions taken after 7 forfeiture of the parcel to the state, but not exceeding the 8 amount of expenses certified by the Pollution Control Agency or 9 the commissioner of agriculture, must be apportioned to the 10 agency or the commissioner of agriculture and deposited in the 11 fund from which the expenses were paid; 12

(4) the portion of the remainder required to discharge any special assessment chargeable against the parcel for drainage or other purpose whether due or deferred at the time of forfeiture, must be apportioned to the municipal subdivision entitled to it; and

18

(5) any balance must be apportioned as follows:

(i) The county board may annually by resolution set aside no more than 30 percent of the receipts remaining to be used for timber forest development on tax-forfeited land and dedicated memorial forests, to be expended under the supervision of the county board. It must be expended only on projects approved-by the-commissioner-of-natural-resources improving the health and management of the forest resource.

(ii) The county board may annually by resolution set aside no more than 20 percent of the receipts remaining to be used for the acquisition and maintenance of county parks or recreational areas as defined in sections 398.31 to 398.36, to be expended under the supervision of the county board.

(iii) Any balance remaining must be apportioned as follows: county, 40 percent; town or city, 20 percent; and school district, 40 percent, provided, however, that in unorganized territory that portion which would have accrued to the township must be administered by the county board of commissioners.

Article 1 Section 137 126

04/27/05

Sec. 138. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 282.38, 1 subdivision 1, is amended to read: 2 Subdivision 1. [DEVELOPMENT.] In any county where the 3 county board by proper resolution sets aside funds for timber 4 forest development pursuant to section 282.08, 5 clause (3)(a) (5), item (i), or section 459.06, subdivision 2, 6 the Commission commissioner of Iron Range resources and 7 rehabilitation with the approval of the board may upon request 8 of the county board assist said county in carrying out any 9 project for the long range development of its timber forest 10 resources through matching of funds or otherwise,-provided-that 11 any-such-project-shall-first-be-approved-by-the-commissioner-of 12 13 natural-resources. Sec. 139. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 296A.18, 14 subdivision 2, is amended to read: 15 [MOTORBOAT.] Approximately 1-1/2 percent of all 16 Subd. 2. 17 gasoline received in this state and 1-1/2 percent of all gasoline produced or brought into this state, except gasoline 18

19 used for aviation purposes, is being used as fuel for the 20 operation of motorboats on the waters of this state and of the 21 total revenue derived from the imposition of the gasoline fuel tax for uses other than for aviation purposes, 1-1/2 percent of 22 23 such-revenues the revenue is the amount of tax on fuel used in motorboats operated on the waters of this state. 24 The amount of 25 unrefunded tax paid on gasoline used for motor boat purposes as 26 computed in this chapter shall be paid into the state treasury and credited to a water recreation account in the special 27 revenue fund for acquisition, development, maintenance, and 28 29 rehabilitation of sites for public access and boating facilities 30 on public waters; lake and river improvement; state-park 31 development; and boat and water safety.

32 Sec. 140. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 462.357,
33 subdivision le, is amended to read:

34 Subd. le. [NONCONFORMITIES.] (a) Any nonconformity, 35 including the lawful use or occupation of land or premises 36 existing at the time of the adoption of an additional control

Article 1 Section 140 127

1 under this chapter, may be continued, including through repair, 2 replacement, restoration, maintenance, or improvement, but not 3 including expansion, unless:

4 (1) the nonconformity or occupancy is discontinued for a
5 period of more than one year; or

6 (2) any nonconforming use is destroyed by fire or other 7 peril to the extent of greater than 50 percent of its market 8 value, and no building permit has been applied for within 180 9 days of when the property is damaged. In this case, a 10 municipality may impose reasonable conditions upon a building 11 permit in order to mitigate any newly created impact on adjacent 12 property.

(b) Any subsequent use or occupancy of the land or premises 13 shall be a conforming use or occupancy. A municipality may, by 14 15 ordinance, permit an expansion or impose upon nonconformities reasonable regulations to prevent and abate nuisances and to 16 protect the public health, welfare, or safety. This subdivision 17 does not prohibit a municipality from enforcing an ordinance 18 19 that applies to adults-only bookstores, adults-only theaters, or 20 similar adults-only businesses, as defined by ordinance.

(c) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), a municipality shall regulate the repair, replacement, maintenance, improvement, or expansion of nonconforming uses and structures in floodplain areas to the extent necessary to maintain eligibility in the National Flood Insurance Program and not increase flood damage potential or increase the degree of obstruction to flood flows in the floodway.

28 Sec. 141. [473.1565] [METROPOLITAN AREA WATER SUPPLY
29 PLANNING ACTIVITIES; ADVISORY COMMITTEE.]

30 <u>Subdivision 1.</u> [PLANNING ACTIVITIES.] (a) The Metropolitan 31 <u>Council must carry out planning activities addressing the water</u> 32 <u>supply needs of the metropolitan area as defined in section</u> 33 <u>473.121</u>, <u>subdivision 2</u>. The planning activities <u>must include</u>, 34 <u>at a minimum</u>:

35 (1) development and maintenance of a base of technical
 36 information needed for sound water supply decisions including

Article 1 Section 141 128

[REVISOR] CMR/CA 05-4113 04/27/05 surface and groundwater availability analyses, water demand 1 projections, water withdrawal and use impact analyses, modeling, 2 3 and similar studies; 4 (2) development and periodic update of a metropolitan area 5 master water supply plan that: (i) provides guidance for local water supply systems and 6 7 future regional investments; (ii) emphasizes conservation, interjurisdictional 8 9 cooperation, and long-term sustainability; and (iii) addresses the reliability, security, and 10 cost-effectiveness of the metropolitan area water supply system 11 and its local and subregional components; 12 (3) recommendations for clarifying the appropriate roles 13 14 and responsibilities of local, regional, and state government in 15 metropolitan area water supply; 16 (4) recommendations for streamlining and consolidating 17 metropolitan area water supply decision-making and approval 18 processes; and 19 (5) recommendations for the ongoing and long-term funding of metropolitan area water supply planning activities and 20 21 capital investments. 22 (b) The council must carry out the planning activities in 23 this subdivision in consultation with the metropolitan area 24 water supply advisory committee established in subdivision 2. 25 Subd. 2. [ADVISORY COMMITTEE.] (a) A metropolitan area water supply advisory committee is established to assist the 26 27 council in its planning activities in subdivision 1. The 28 advisory committee has the following membership: (1) the commissioner of agriculture or the commissioner's 29 30 designee; 31 (2) the commissioner of health or the commissioner's 32 designee; 33 (3) the commissioner of natural resources or the 34 commissioner's designee; 35 (4) the commissioner of the Pollution Control Agency or the 36 commissioner's designee;

Article 1 Section 141 129

(5) two officials of counties that are located in the
metropolitan area, appointed by the governor;
(6) six officials of noncounty local governmental units
that are located in the metropolitan area, appointed by the
governor; and
(7) the chair of the Metropolitan Council or the chair's
designee, who is chair of the advisory committee.
(b) Members of the advisory committee appointed by the
governor serve at the pleasure of the governor and their terms
end with the term of the governor. Members of the advisory
committee serve without compensation but may be reimbursed for
their reasonable expenses as determined by the Metropolitan
Council. The advisory committee does not expire until repealed
by law.
Subd. 3. [REPORTS TO LEGISLATURE.] The council must submit
reports to the legislature regarding its continuing planning
activities under subdivision 1. The first report must be
submitted to the legislature by the date the legislature
convenes in 2007 and subsequent reports must be submitted by
such date every five years thereafter.
[EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective the day
following final enactment.
Sec. 142. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 473.197,
subdivision 4, is amended to read:
Subd. 4. [DEBT RESERVE; LEVY.] To provide money to pay
debt service on bonds issued under the credit enhancement
program if-pledged-revenues-are-insufficient-to-pay-debt-service
in repealed subdivision 1 of Minnesota Statutes 2004, section
<u>473.197</u> , the council must maintain a debt reserve fund $\frac{1}{10}$ the
manner-and-with-the-effect-provided-by-section-118A-04-for
public-funds until the reserve is no longer pledged or otherwise
needed to pay debt service on such bonds. To-provide-funds-for
the-debt-reserve-fund;-the-council-may-use-up-to-\$3,000,000-of
the-proceeds-of-solid-waste-bonds-issued-by-the-council-under
section-473-831-before-its-repealTo-provide-additional-funds
for-the-debt-reserve-fund7-the-council-may-levy-a-tax-on-all

taxable-property-in-the-metropolitan-area-and-must-levy-the-tax 1 If sums in the debt reserve fund are insufficient to cure any 2 deficiency in the debt service fund established for the bonds, 3 the council must levy a tax on all taxable property in the 4 metropolitan area in the amount needed to liquidate the 5 deficiency. The tax authorized by this section does not affect 6 the amount or rate of taxes that may be levied by the council 7 for other purposes and is not subject to limit as to rate or 8 amount. 9 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective the day 10 11 following final enactment. Sec. 143. Laws 2003, chapter 128, article 1, section 9, 12 13 subdivision 6, is amended to read: 7,622,000 14 Subd. 6. Recreation 5,870,000 Summary by Fund 15 Trust Fund 5,870,000 16 5,622,000 17 State Land and Conservation Account (LAWCON) 18 2,000,000 19 (a) State Park and Recreation Area Land 20 Acquisition 21 \$750,000 the first year and \$750,000 22 the second year are from the trust fund 23 to the commissioner of natural 24 resources to acquire in-holdings for state park and recreation areas. 25 Land acquired with this appropriation must 26 27 be sufficiently improved to meet at 28 least minimum management standards as 29 determined by the commissioner of 30 natural resources. This appropriation is available until June 30, 2006, at 31 32 which time the project must be completed and final products delivered, 33 unless an earlier date is specified in 34 35 the work program. 36 (b) LAWCON Federal Reimbursements \$2,000,000 is from the state land and 37 38 water conservation account (LAWCON) in 39 the natural resources fund to the 40 commissioner of natural resources for eligible state projects and administrative and planning activities 41 42 43 consistent with Minnesota Statutes, 44 section 116P.14, and the federal Land and Water Conservation Fund Act. 45 This 46 appropriation is contingent upon 47 receipt of the federal obligation and 48 remains available until June 30, 2006, 49 at which time the project must be completed and final products delivered, 50 51 unless an earlier date is specified in

Article 1 Section 143 131

1 the work program.

(c) Local Initiative Grants-Parks and 2 Natural Areas 3

\$1,290,000 the first year and \$1,289,000 the second year are from the 5 6 trust fund to the commissioner of natural resources for matching grants 7 to local governments for acquisition 8 and development of natural and scenic 9 areas and local parks as provided in 10 Minnesota Statutes, section 85.019, subdivisions 2 and 4a, and regional 11 12 parks outside of the metropolitan 13 Grants may provide up to 50 14 area. percent of the nonfederal share of the 15 project cost, except nonmetropolitan regional park grants may provide up to 60 percent of the nonfederal share of 16 17 18 the project cost. The commission will 19 monitor the grants for approximate 20 balance over extended periods of time between the metropolitan area, under 21 22 Minnesota Statutes, section 473.121, subdivision 2, and the nonmetropolitan 23 24 25 area through work program oversight and 26 periodic allocation decisions. For the purposes of this paragraph, the match 27 must be a nonstate contribution, but 28 29 may be either cash or qualifying 30 in-kind. Recipients may receive 31 funding for more than one project in any given grant period. This 32 appropriation is available until June 33 34 30, 2006, at which time the project 35 must be completed and final products 36 delivered.

37 (d) Metropolitan Regional Parks 38 Acquisition, Rehabilitation, and 39 Development

40 \$1,670,000 the first year and 41 \$1,669,000 the second year are from the 42 trust fund to the commissioner of 43 natural resources for an agreement with the metropolitan council for subgrants 44 for the acquisition, development, and 45 46 rehabilitation in the metropolitan 47 regional park system, consistent with 48 the metropolitan council regional recreation open space capital 49 improvement plan. This appropriation 50 may not be used for the purchase of 51 This 52 residential structures. appropriation may be used to reimburse 53 implementing agencies for acquisition 54 of nonresidential property as expressly 55 approved in the work program. This appropriation is available until June 56 57 30, 2006, at which time the project must be completed and final products 58 59 delivered, unless an earlier date is specified in the work program. In 60 61 addition, if a project financed under this program receives a federal grant, 62 63 the availability of the financing from 64 this paragraph for that project is 65 extended to equal the period of the 66 67 federal grant.

Article 1 Section 143	132
-----------------------	-----

1 (e) Local and Regional Trail Grant 2 Initiative Program

04/27/05

\$160,000 the first year and \$160,000 3 the second year are from the trust fund 4 to the commissioner of natural 5 resources to provide matching grants to 6 local units of government for the cost 7 8 of acquisition, development, 9 engineering services, and enhancement of existing and new trail facilities. 10 This appropriation is available until 11 June 30, 2006, at which time the 12 project must be completed and final 13 14 products delivered, unless an earlier date is specified in the work program. 15 16 In addition, if a project financed 17 under this program receives a federal grant, the availability of the 18 financing from this paragraph for that project is extended to equal the period 19 20 21 of the federal grant.

22 (f) Gitchi-Gami State Trail

23 \$650,000 the first year and \$650,000 24 the second year are from the trust fund 25 to the commissioner of natural 26 resources, in cooperation with the Gitchi-Gami Trail Association, for the 27 28 third biennium, to design and construct 29 approximately five miles of Gitchi-Gami 30 state trail segments. This 31 appropriation must be matched by at least \$400,000 of nonstate money. 32 The 33 availability of the financing from this 34 paragraph is extended to equal the 35 period of any federal money received.

36 (g) Water Recreation: Boat Access, 37 Fishing Piers, and Shore-fishing

38 \$450,000 the first year and \$700,000 the second year are from the trust fund 39 40 to the commissioner of natural 41 resources to acquire and develop public water access sites statewide, construct 42 43 shore-fishing and pier sites, and restore shorelands at public accesses. 44 45 This appropriation is available until 46 June 30, 2006, at which time the 47 project must be completed and final 48 products delivered, unless an earlier 49 date is specified in the work program.

50 (h) Mesabi Trail

51 \$190,000 the first year and \$190,000 52 the second year are from the trust fund 53 to the commissioner of natural 54 resources for an agreement with St. Louis and Lake Counties Regional Rail 55 56 Authority for the sixth biennium to 57 acquire and develop segments of the 58 Mesabi trail. If a federal grant is received, the availability of the 59 financing from this paragraph is 60 61 extended to equal the period of the 62 federal grant.

63 (i) Linking Communities Design,

1 Technology, and DNR Trail Resources

\$92,000 the first year and \$92,000 the 2 second year are from the trust fund to 3 the commissioner of natural resources 4 for an agreement with the University of 5 Minnesota to provide designs for up to 6 three state trails incorporating 7 8 recreation, natural, and cultural 9 features.

10 (j) Ft. Ridgley Historic Site
11 Interpretive Trail

\$75,000 the first year and \$75,000 the 12 13 second year are from the trust fund to 14 the Minnesota historical society to 15 construct a trail through the original fort site and install interpretive 16 markers. This appropriation is 17 available until June 30, 2006, at which 18 19 time the project must be completed and final products delivered, unless an earlier date is specified in the work 20 21 22 program.

23 (k) Development and Rehabilitation of 24 Minnesota Shooting Ranges

25 \$120,000 the first year and \$120,000 26 the second year are from the trust fund 27 to the commissioner of natural 28 resources to provide technical assistance and matching cost-share 29 30 grants to local recreational shooting 31 and archery clubs for the purpose of developing or rehabilitating shooting 32 33 and archery facilities for public use. Recipient facilities must be open to 34 35 the general public at reasonable times 36 and for a reasonable fee on a walk-in 37 This appropriation is available basis. 38 until June 30, 2006, at which time the project must be completed and final 39 40 products delivered, unless an earlier 41 date is specified in the work program.

42 (1) Land Acquisition, Minnesota43 Landscape Arboretum

44 \$175,000 the first year and \$175,000 45 the second year are from the trust fund to the University of Minnesota for an 46 47 agreement with the University of 48 Minnesota Landscape Arboretum 49 Foundation for the fifth biennium to 50 acquire in-holdings-within-the arboretum's-boundary land from willing 51 52 sellers. This appropriation must be 53 matched by an equal amount of nonstate money. 54 This appropriation is available 55 until June 30, 2006, at which time the project must be completed and final 56 57 products delivered, unless an earlier 58 date is specified in the work program.

59 Sec. 144. [CONTINUATION OF AGREEMENTS.]

60 An agreement entered into between the Metropolitan Council

61 and a participant in the credit enhancement program under

Article 1

Section 144

134

1	Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 473.197, subdivision 5, with
2	respect to bonds issued prior to the effective date of this
3	section, shall continue in effect in accordance with its terms;
4	provided that no provision in the agreement shall be construed
5	to require or allow the council to pledge its full faith and
6	credit and taxing powers to the payment of additional bonds
7	issued after the effective date of this section.
8	[EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective the day
9	following final enactment.
10	Sec. 145. [USE OF CREDIT ENHANCEMENT PROGRAM FUNDS.]
11	The Metropolitan Council must transfer any funds
12	originating from the proceeds of solid waste bonds and available
13	for the credit enhancement program under Minnesota Statutes
14	2004, section 473.197, subdivision 4, to the council's general
15	fund to the extent that the funds are no longer pledged or
16	otherwise needed by the council to maintain a debt reserve fund
17	as provided for in ongoing Minnesota Statutes, section 473.197,
18	subdivision 4. The council must first use the transferred funds
19	for carrying out the metropolitan area water supply planning
20	activities required by Minnesota Statutes, section 473.1565, for
21	staff support of the advisory committee established under that
22	section, and for related purposes. If the council determines
23	that the transferred funds are no longer needed for those
24	purposes, the council may use any of the funds for any general
25	purposes of the council.
26	[EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective the day
27	following final enactment.
28	Sec. 146. [TRANSFER OF FUNDS; DEPOSIT OF REPAYMENTS.]
29	The remaining balances in the revolving accounts in
30	Minnesota Statutes, sections 41B.046 and 41B.049, that are
31	dedicated to rural finance authority loan programs under those
32	sections, are transferred to the revolving loan account
33	established in Minnesota Statutes, section 41B.06, on the
34	effective date of this section. All future receipts from
35	value-added agricultural product loans and methane digester
36	loans originated under Minnesota Statutes, sections 41B.046 and

Article 1 Section 146 135

1	41B.049, must be deposited in the revolving loan account
2	established in Minnesota Statutes, section 41B.06.
3	Sec. 147. [REPEALER.]
4	(a) Minnesota Statutes 2004, sections 18B.065, subdivision
5	5; 19.64, subdivision 4a; 41B.046, subdivision 3; 84.901; and
6	115B.49, subdivision 4a, are repealed.
7	(b) Minnesota Statutes 2004, sections 473.156; and 473.197,
8	subdivisions 1, 2, 3, and 5, are repealed effective the day
9	following final enactment.
10	ARTICLE 2
11	ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT
12	Section 1. [ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT APPROPRIATIONS.]
13	The sums in the columns marked "APPROPRIATIONS" are added
14	to, or, if shown in parentheses, are subtracted from the
15	appropriations to the specified agencies in 2005 S.F. No. 1879,
16	article 5, if enacted. The appropriations are from the general
17	fund, unless another fund is named, and are available for the
18	fiscal year indicated for each purpose. The figures "2006" and
19	"2007," where used in this article, mean that the additions to
20	or subtractions from the appropriations listed under them are
21	for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2006, or June 30, 2007,
22	respectively. The "first year" is fiscal year 2006. The
23	"second year" is fiscal year 2007. The "biennium" is fiscal
24	years 2006 and 2007.
25	SUMMARY BY FUND
26	2006 2007 TOTAL
27	General \$ 9,188,000 \$ 2,713,000 \$ 11,901,000
28 29	Workers' Compensation 25,000 25,000 50,000
30 31	Workforce Development 5,000,000 7,950,000 12,950,000
32	Special Revenue 643,000 848,000 1,491,000
33	TOTAL \$ 14,856,000 \$ 11,536,000 \$ 26,392,000
34 35 36 37	APPROPRIATIONS Available for the Year Ending June 30 2006 2007
38 39	Sec. 2. EMPLOYMENT AND ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

Article 2 Section 2 136

\$ 6,558,000

1 2	Subdivision 1. Total Appropriation \$ 12,078,000
3	Summary by Fund
4	General 7,935,000 460,000
5 6	Workforce Development 2,750,000 4,500,000
7 8	Special Revenue 643,000 848,000
9 10 11	The amounts that may be spent from this appropriation for each program are specified in the following subdivisions.
12 13	Subd. 2. Business and Community Development
14	7,930,000 455,000
15 16 17 18 20 21 22 23 24 25 27 29 31 23 34 35	<pre>\$7,000,000 the first year is for the direct and indirect expenses of the collaborative research partnership between the University of Minnesota and the Mayo Foundation for research in biotechnology and medical genomics. This is a onetime appropriation. An annual report on the expenditure of this appropriation must be submitted to the governor and the chairs of the senate Higher Education Budget Division, the house of representatives Higher Education Finance Committee, the senate Environment, Agriculture, and Economic Development Budget Division, and the house of representatives Jobs and Economic Opportunity Policy and Finance Committee, by June 30 of each fiscal year until the appropriation is expended. This appropriation is available until expended.</pre>
36789012345678901234567890	<pre>\$100,000 the first year and \$100,000 the second year are to help small businesses access federal funds through the federal Small Business Innovation Research Program and the federal Small Business Technology Transfer Program. Department services must include maintaining connections to 11 federal programs, assessment of specific funding opportunities, review of funding proposals, referral to specific consulting services, and training workshops throughout the state. The appropriation is added to the agency's base. The department must implement fees for services that help companies seek federal Phase II Small Business Innovation Research grants. The recommended fee schedule must be reported to the chairs of the house of representatives finance committee and senate budget division with jurisdiction over economic development by February 1, 2006.</pre>

60 \$50,000 the first year and \$50,000 the

second year are for a grant to the
 Minnesota Inventors Congress.

3 \$250,000 the first year and \$250,000 4 the second year are to establish a 5 methamphetamine laboratory cleanup 6 revolving loan fund pursuant to 7 proposed Minnesota Statutes, section 8 446A.083. This appropriation is 9 available until spent.

10 \$125,000 the first year is for a grant 11 to the Northwest Regional Development 12 Commission at Warren to do field 13 research on the planting and production 14 of cold-hardy grape cultivars. This is 15 a onetime appropriation and is 16 available until expended.

17 This vineyard production research project is to select cold-hardy 18 19 cultivars and cultural practices that 20 can diversify the agricultural 21 landscape of Minnesota and stimulate 22 economic development with subsequent 23 expansion into value-added businesses 24 and the winery industry. Treatments 25 used in this research project must 26 focus on development of cultural and management practices that include 27 28 trials on planting depths, vine root 29 care, cultivation techniques, mulching, and other methods that will enhance 30 31 productivity and winter survival in 32 subzero temperatures.

33 An annual report is required, including 34 an economic assessment that compares the input requirements and feasibility 35 36 of each overwintering technique and its 37 contribution to the success of the 38 The report must be submitted to vines. 39 the chairs of the house of 40 representatives and senate policy 41 committees with jurisdiction over 42 The Northwest Regional agriculture. Development Commission is encouraged to work with the University of Minnesota 43 44 and the North Dakota State University 45 46 experiment stations and on-farm sites 47 to evaluate the suitability of 48 regionally developed grape cultivars in areas of harsh winters and short 49 50 growing seasons.

\$55,000 the first year and \$55,000 the 51 52 second year are for a grant to the Metropolitan Economic Development 53 54 Association for continuing minority 55 business development programs in the 56 These programs metropolitan area. 57 include one-on-one business consulting, marketing assistance, providing and 58 59 arranging financing, and training and 60 leadership development. These 61 appropriations are part of the 62 department's budget base.

63 \$250,000 the first year is for a grant 64 to the Blandin Foundation for the "get 65 broadband" program. This appropriation

Article 2

Section 2

138

must be matched equally by nonstate 1 funds and is available until expended. 2 Expenditures made by the Blandin 3 Foundation beginning December 1, 2004, may be used as match for this 4 5 The "get broadband" appropriation. 6 program must be designed to increase 7 the use of broadband-based technologies 8 by businesses, schools, health care 9 organizations, government organizations, and the general public. 10 11 \$100,000 the first year is for a grant 12 to the Children's Discovery Museum for 13 furnishing and equipping the new Children's Discovery Museum in Grand 14 15 16 Rapids. 17 Subd. 3. Workforce Partnerships 3,398,000 5,353,000 18 Summary by Fund 19 5,000 20 General 5,000 Workforce 21 2,750,000 4,500,000 22 Development 23 Special Revenue 643,000 848,000 24 \$1,000,000 the first year and \$2,000,000 the second year are from the workforce development fund for a grant 25 26 to the Minnesota Alliance of Boys and 27 28 Girls Clubs to administer a statewide 29 project of youth job skills development. This project, which may have career guidance components, is to 30 31 32 encourage, train, and assist youth in 33 job-seeking skills, workplace 34 orientation, and job-site knowledge 35 through coaching. This grant requires a 25 percent match from nonstate 36 37 resources. 38 \$5,000 the first year and \$5,000 the second year are for a grant to the 39 Northwest Regional Curfew Center under 40 41 the youth intervention program in 42 Minnesota Statutes, section 116L.30. 43 \$500,000 the first year and \$500,000 44 the second year are from the workforce 45 development fund for a grant to the 46 Minnesota Opportunities 47 Industrialization Centers State The grant shall be used by 48 Council. 49 the American Indian Opportunities 50 Industrialization Centers of Minneapolis, and the Northwestern 51 52 **Opportunities Industrialization Centers** 53 of Bemidji, to provide training to 54 American Indians on personal financial 55 management and investment and to become 56 small businesspersons. The 57 opportunities industrialization centers 58 may contract with any accredited state 59 or private educational institution to 60 deliver training. This appropriation 61 is in addition to the base level

1 funding and shall become part of the 2 agency's budget base.

\$500,000 the first year and \$1,000,000 3 the second year are from the workforce 4 development fund for a grant to the 5 6 Minnesota Opportunity Industrialization Centers State Council. The grant shall 7 be used to initiate and expand health 8 occupation training at Minnesota 9 Opportunity Industrialization Centers. 10 The grant shall be distributed evenly 11 12 among those Minnesota Opportunity Industrialization Centers that have 13 plans to either initiate or expand 14 15 health occupations and career ladder 16 training programs for individuals 17 seeking employment as nurses, nursing assistants, home health aides, phlebotomists, or in the field of 18 19 medical coding. This appropriation is 20 in addition to the base level funding 21 and shall become part of the agency's 22 23 budget base.

24 Notwithstanding 2005 S.F. No. 1879, article 7, section 2, subdivision 3, 25 paragraph (d), if enacted, of the total appropriation in that subdivision, plus 26 27 this subdivision, \$843,000 the first 28 year and \$1,048,000 the second year are 29 30 for displaced homemaker programs under Minnesota Statutes, section 116L.96. 31 These appropriations are from the 32 33 special revenue fund and are part of 34 agency budget base. The commissioner 35 of economic security shall report to the legislature by February 15, 2007, 36 on the outcome of grants under this 37 38 paragraph.

39 \$750,000 the first year is from the 40 workforce development fund for a grant 41 to provide training to implement the 42 Ford Motor Company Ford Production 43 System at the Twin Cities Ford Assembly 44 Plant.

45 \$500,000 the first year and \$1,500,000 46 the second year are from the workforce 47 development fund for youth intervention 48 programs under Minnesota Statutes, 49 section 116L.30. This funding must be used to help existing programs serve 50 unmet needs in their communities, and 51 52 to create new programs in underserved 53 areas of the state. This appropriation is part of the department's budget 54 55 base. The appropriations are available 56 until expended.

\$8,500 in the first year and \$8,500 in the second year are from the 57 58 department's base for a grant to the 59 60 Twin Cities Community Voice Mail to 61 maintain the toll-free telephone number for the Greater Minnesota Project. 62 The commissioner must ensure that the 63 telephone number is not changed for the 64 2006-2007 biennium. 65

Article 2

Section 2

140

\$250,000 the first year and \$250,000 1 the second year are from the workforce 2 development fund for a grant to Lifetrack Resources for its immigrant 3 4 and refugee collaborative programs, 5 including those related to job-seeking 6 7 skills and workplace orientation, intensive job development, functional work English, and on-site job coaching. 8 9

10 Subd. 4. Workforce Services

11 750,000 750,000

12 \$400,000 the first year and \$400,000 13 the second year are from the workforce 14 development fund for extended 15 employment services for persons with 16 severe disabilities or related 17 conditions under Minnesota Statutes, 18 section 268A.15.

19 \$150,000 the first year and \$150,000 20 the second year are from the workforce 21 development fund for grants to the 22 Minnesota Employment Center for people 23 who are deaf or hard-of-hearing. Money 24 not expended the first year is 25 available the second year.

26 \$200,000 the first year and \$200,000 the second year are from the workforce development fund for grants for 27 28 29 programs that provide employment support services to persons with mental 30 31 illness under Minnesota Statutes, 32 sections 268A.13 and 268A.14. Of the 33 total appropriations for this program, up to \$84,000 each year may be used for 34 administrative and salary expenses. 35

36 Sec. 3. MINNESOTA CONSERVATION CORPS 1,200,000

This appropriation is from the
workforce development fund for the
purposes of Minnesota Statutes, section
84.991.

41 Sec. 4. EXPLORE MINNESOTA TOURISM

42 Notwithstanding 2005 S.F. No. 1879, 43 article 7, section 3, if enacted, the 44 appropriation in that section, plus the 45 appropriation in this section, must be 46 spent as provided in this section.

47 \$1,000,000 in the second year is to 48 enhance the public/private funding 49 partnership. To develop maximum 50 private sector involvement in tourism, \$4,000,000 the first year and \$4,000,000 the second year of the 51 52 53 amounts appropriated for marketing 54 activities are contingent upon receipt 55 of an equal contribution from nonstate 56 sources that have been certified by the director. Up to one-half of the match 57 may be given in in-kind contributions. 58

59 In order to maximize marketing grant 60 benefits, the director must give

2,400,000

125,000

1,125,000

priority for joint venture marketing 1 grants to organizations with year-round 2 sustained tourism activities. 3 For programs and projects submitted, the 4 director must give priority to those 5 6 that encompass two or more areas or that attract nonresident travelers to 7 8 the state.

9 If an appropriation for either year for 10 grants is not sufficient, the 11 appropriation for the other year is 12 available for it.

13 The director may use grant dollars or 14 the value of in-kind services to 15 provide the state contribution for the 16 partnership program.

17 Any unexpended money from general fund appropriations governed by this section 19 does not cancel but must be placed in a 20 special advertising account for use by 21 Explore Minnesota Tourism to purchase 22 additional media.

\$125,000 the first year and \$125,000 the second year of the appropriation in 23 24 this section are for the Minnesota Film 25 26 Board. The appropriation in each year 27 is available only upon receipt by the board of \$1 in matching contributions of money or in kind from nonstate sources for every \$3 provided by this 28 29 30 31 appropriation.

32 Sec. 5. HOUSING FINANCE AGENCY

33 As provided in Minnesota Statutes, 34 section 462A.20, subdivision 3, the 35 agency may transfer unencumbered 36 balances from one appropriated account to another as necessary to implement 37 38 the business plan of the working group 39 on long-term homelessness established in Laws 2003, chapter 128, article 15, 40 section 9. 41

The agency shall establish a priority 42 43 for supportive housing projects that 44 provide employment support and housing 45 for offenders who are discharged from a 46 correctional or detention facility. Up 47 to \$1,400,000 of the appropriation to 48 the housing trust fund in 2005 S.F. No. 1879, if enacted, shall be awarded to 49 50 projects that address this priority and the greatest number of priorities 51 52 established under the rules governing 53 the housing trust fund program.

54 Sec. 6. LABOR AND INDUSTRY

55 Subdivision 1. Total

56 Appropriation

57 Summary by Fund
58 General 378,000 378,000
59 Workers'

Article 2

Section 6

142

703,000

703,000

25,000 25,000 1 Compensation 2 Workforce 300,000 300,000 3 Development The amounts that may be spent from this 4 5 appropriation for each program are specified in the following subdivisions. 6 7 Workers' Compensation Subd. 2. 25,000 25,000 8 This appropriation is from the workers' 9 compensation fund for grants to the 10 Vinland Center for rehabilitation 11 service. These grants include the 12 Vinland employment program and must 13 address multiple barriers to 14 employment, a self-sufficiency 15 lifestyle, and physical, mental, emotional, or cognitive work injuries 16 17 or disabilities. This appropriation is part of the budget base for the 18 19 Department of Labor and Industry. 20 21 Subd. 3. Workplace Services 678,000 22 678,000 23 Summary by Fund 24 378,000 General 378,000 25 Workforce 300,000 26 Development 300,000 \$378,000 the first year and \$378,000 27 the second year are to improve the 28 29 regulatory enforcement and safety of 30 boilers and high-pressure-piping 31 systems. 32 \$300,000 each year is from the 33 workforce development fund for the 34 apprenticeship program under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 178. 35 36 The annual license fees authorized 37 under Minnesota Statutes, section 38 326.48, and detailed in Minnesota 39 Rules, part 5230.0100, subpart 3, shall increase \$20 for a journeyman 40 41 high-pressure piping pipefitter license, \$20 for a high-pressure piping 42 contracting pipefitter, \$10 for an inactive license, and \$100 for a 43 44 high-pressure pipefitting business 45 46 license. 47 The permit filing and inspection fees authorized under Minnesota Statutes, 48 49 section 326.47, and detailed in Minnesota Rules, part 5230.0100, subpart 4, shall be increased as follows: the filing of a permit application shall be increased \$50, the 50 51 52 53 minimum high-pressure piping inspection 54 fee shall be increased \$50, and the schedule of inspection fee rates shall 55 56 be increased by ten percent. 57

04/27/05

[REVISOR] CMR/CA 05-4113

Article 2 Section 6 143

General Support 1 Subd. 4.

The commissioner of labor and industry shall report to the 2006 legislature on 2 3 the safety and education program for Minnesota loggers under Minnesota 4 5 6 Statutes, section 176.130.

7 Sec. 7. MINNESOTA HISTORICAL 8 SOCIETY

750,000

750,000

\$75,000 the first year and \$75,000 the 9 second year are to assist the Minnesota 10 11 Sesquicentennial Commission for planning and support of its mission. 12 This is a onetime appropriation and is 13 available until January 30, 2009. 14

\$675,000 the first year and \$675,000 the second year are to operate historic 15 16 sites including: Kelley Farm, Hill 17 18 House, Lower Sioux Agency, Fort 19 Ridgely, Historic Forestville, the 20 Forest History Center, and the Comstock Funding for these sites must be 21 House. matched on a \$1 of nonstate money to \$1 22 23 of state money basis. This 24 appropriation is in addition to any 25 other appropriation and is part of the Minnesota Historical Society's budget 26 27 base.

28 Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 11A.24, Sec. 8. 29 subdivision 6, is amended to read:

30 [OTHER INVESTMENTS.] (a) In addition to the Subd. 6. 31 investments authorized in subdivisions 1 to 5, and subject to 32 the provisions in paragraph (b), the state board may invest 33 funds in:

34 (1) venture capital investment businesses through 35 participation in limited partnerships, trusts, private 36 placements, limited liability corporations, limited liability 37 companies, limited liability partnerships, and corporations; 38 (2) real estate ownership interests or loans secured by 39 mortgages or deeds of trust or shares of real estate investment 40 trusts through investment in limited partnerships, bank 41 sponsored collective funds, trusts, mortgage participation 42 agreements, and insurance company commingled accounts, including 43 separate accounts;

44 (3) regional and mutual funds through bank sponsored 45 collective funds and open-end investment companies registered under the Federal Investment Company Act of 1940, and closed-end 46 mutual funds listed on an exchange regulated by a governmental 47

Article 2 144 Section 8

1 agency;

(4) resource investments through limited partnerships, 2 trusts, private placements, limited liability corporations, 3 limited liability companies, limited liability partnerships, and 4 5 corporations; and

6

(5) international securities.

(b) The investments authorized in paragraph (a) must 7 8 conform to the following provisions:

(1) the aggregate value of all investments made according 9 to paragraph (a), clauses (1) to (4), may not exceed 35 percent 10 of the market value of the fund for which the state board is 11 12 investing;

(2) there must be at least four unrelated owners of the 13 investment other than the state board for investments made under 14 15 paragraph (a), clause (1), (2), (3), or (4);

(3) state board participation in an investment vehicle is 16 limited to 20 percent thereof for investments made under 17 paragraph (a), clause (1), (2), (3), or (4); and 18

(4) state board participation in a limited partnership does 19 not include a general partnership interest or other interest 20 involving general liability. The state board may not engage in 21 any activity as a limited partner which creates general 22 liability. 23

24 (c) All financial or proprietary data received, prepared, used, or retained by the state board in connection with 25 26 investments authorized by paragraph (a), clause (1), (2), or (4), are nonpublic data under section 13.02, subdivision 9. As 27 28 used in this paragraph, "financial or proprietary data" means information, as determined by the executive director, that is of 29 30 a financial or proprietary nature, the release of which could 31 cause competitive harm to the state board, the legal entity in 32 which the state board has invested or has considered an 33 investment, the managing entity of an investment, or a portfolio 34 company in which the legal entity holds an interest. Regardless of whether they could be considered financial or proprietary 35 data, the following data received, prepared, used, or retained 36

Article 2 Section 8

[REVISOR] CMR/CA 05-4113

1	by the state board in connection with investments authorized by
2	paragraph (a), clause (1), (2), or (4), are public at all times:
3	(1) the name and industry group classification of the legal
4	entity in which the state board has invested or in which the
5	state board has considered an investment;
6	(2) the state board commitment amount, if any;
7	(3) the funded amount of the state board's commitment to
8	date, if any;
9	(4) the market value of the investment by the state board;
10	(5) the state board's internal rate of return for the
11	investment, including expenditures and receipts used in the
12	calculation of the investment's internal rate of return; and
13	(6) the age of the investment in years.
14	Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 13.635, is
15	amended by adding a subdivision to read:
16	Subd. la. [STATE BOARD OF INVESTMENT.] Certain government
17	data of the State Board of Investment related to venture capital
18	investments are classified under section llA.24, subdivision 6.
19	Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 41A.09,
20	subdivision 2a, is amended to read:
21	Subd. 2a. [DEFINITIONS.] For the purposes of this section,
22	the terms defined in this subdivision have the meanings given
23	them.
24	(a) "Ethanol" means fermentation ethyl alcohol derived from
25	agricultural products, including potatoes, cereal grains, cheese
26	whey, and sugar beets; forest products; or other renewable
27	resources, including residue and waste generated from the
28	production, processing, and marketing of agricultural products,
29	forest products, and other renewable resources, that:
30	(1) meets all of the specifications in ASTM specification
31	D4806-01 <u>D4806-04a</u> ; and
32	(2) is denatured as specified in Code of Federal
33	Regulations, title 27, parts 20 and 21.
34	(b) "Ethanol plant" means a plant at which ethanol is
35	produced.
36	(c) "Commissioner" means the commissioner of agriculture.
Ar	ticle 2 Section 10 146

[REVISOR] CMR/CA 05-4113 04/27/05 Sec. 11. [45.22] [LICENSE EDUCATION.] 1 The following fees must be paid to the commissioner: 2 (1) initial course approval, \$10 for each hour or fraction 3 of one hour of education course approval sought. Initial course 4 approval expires on the last day of the 24th month after the 5 course is approved; 6 (2) renewal of course approval, \$10 per course. Renewal of 7 course approval expires on the last day of the 24th month after 8 the course is renewed; 9 (3) initial coordinator approval, \$100. Initial 10 coordinator approval expires on the last day of the 24th month 11 after the coordinator is approved; and 12 13 (4) renewal of coordinator approval, \$10. Renewal of coordinator approval expires on the last day of the 24th month 14 after the coordinator is renewed. 15 Sec. 12. [59B.01] [SCOPE AND PURPOSE.] 16 (a) The purpose of this chapter is to create a legal 17 18 framework within which service contracts may be sold in this 19 state. 20 (b) The following are exempt from this chapter: 21 (1) warranties; 22 (2) maintenance agreements; 23 (3) warranties, service contracts, or maintenance 24 agreements offered by public utilities, as defined in section 25 216B.02, subdivision 4, or an entity or operating unit owned by 26 or under common control with a public utility; 27 (4) service contracts sold or offered for sale to persons 28 other than consumers; 29 (5) service contracts on tangible property where the 30 tangible property for which the service contract is sold has a 31 purchase price of \$250 or less, exclusive of sales tax; (6) motor vehicle service contracts as defined in section 32 65B.29, subdivision 1, paragraph (1); 33 34 (7) service contracts for home security equipment installed 35 by a licensed technology systems contractor; and 36 (8) motor club membership contracts that typically provide

Article 2 Section 12 147

1	roadside assistance services to motorists stranded for reasons
2	that include, but are not limited to, mechanical breakdown or
3	adverse road conditions.
4	(c) The types of agreements referred to in paragraph (b)
5	are not subject to chapters 60A to 79A, except as otherwise
6	specifically provided by law.
7	Sec. 13. [59B.02] [DEFINITIONS.]
8	Subdivision 1. [TERMS.] For the purposes of this chapter,
9	the terms defined in this section have the meanings given them.
10	Subd. 2. [ADMINISTRATOR.] "Administrator" means the person
11	who is responsible for the administration of the service
1 2	contracts or the service contracts plan or who is responsible
13	for any filings required by this chapter.
14	Subd. 3. [COMMISSIONER.] "Commissioner" means the
15	commissioner of commerce.
16	Subd. 4. [CONSUMER.] "Consumer" means a natural person who
17	buys, other than for purposes of resale, any tangible personal
18	property that is distributed in commerce and that is normally
19	used for personal, family, or household purposes and not for
20	business or research purposes.
21	Subd. 5. [MAINTENANCE AGREEMENT.] "Maintenance agreement"
22	means a contract of limited duration that provides for scheduled
23	maintenance only.
24	Subd. 6. [PERSON.] "Person" means an individual,
25	partnership, corporation, incorporated or unincorporated
26	association, joint stock company, reciprocal, syndicate, or any
27	similar entity or combination of entities acting in concert.
28	Subd. 7. [PREMIUM.] "Premium" means the consideration paid
29	to an insurer for a reimbursement insurance policy.
30	Subd. 8. [PROVIDER.] "Provider" means a person who is
31	contractually obligated to the service contract holder under the
32	terms of the service contract.
33	Subd. 9. [PROVIDER FEE.] "Provider fee" means the
34	consideration paid for a service contract.
35	Subd. 10. [REIMBURSEMENT INSURANCE POLICY.] "Reimbursement
36	insurance policy" means a policy of insurance issued to a
Ar	ticle 2 Section 13 148

•

1	provider to either provide reimbursement to the provider under						
2	the terms of the insured service contracts issued or sold by the						
3	provider or, in the event of the provider's nonperformance, to						
4	pay on behalf of the provider all covered contractual						
5	obligations incurred by the provider under the terms of the						
6	insured service contracts issued or sold by the provider.						
7	Subd. 11. [SERVICE CONTRACT.] "Service contract" means a						
8	contract or agreement for a separately stated consideration for						
9	a specific duration to perform the repair, replacement, or						
10	maintenance of property or indemnification for repair,						
11	replacement, or maintenance, for the operational or structural						
12	failure due to a defect in materials, workmanship, or normal						
13	wear and tear, with or without additional provisions for						
14	incidental payment of indemnity under limited circumstances.						
15	Service contracts may provide for the repair, replacement, or						
16	maintenance of property for damage resulting from power surges						
17	and accidental damage from handling.						
18	Subd. 12. [SERVICE CONTRACT HOLDER OR CONTRACT						
19	HOLDER.] "Service contract holder" or "contract holder" means a						
20	person who is the purchaser or holder of a service contract.						
21	Subd. 13. [WARRANTY.] "Warranty" means a warranty made						
22	solely by the manufacturer, importer, or seller of property or						
23	services without consideration, that is not negotiated or						
24	separated from the sale of the product, and is incidental to the						
25	sale of the product, that guarantees indemnity for defective						
26	parts, mechanical or electrical breakdown, labor, or other						
27	remedial measures, such as repair or replacement of the property						
28	or repetition of services.						
29	Sec. 14. [59B.03] [REQUIREMENTS FOR TRANSACTING BUSINESS.]						
30	Subdivision 1. [APPOINTMENT OF ADMINISTRATOR.] A provider						
31	may, but is not required to, appoint an administrator or other						
32	designee to be responsible for any or all of the administration						
33	of service contracts and compliance with this chapter.						
34	Subd. 2. [CONTRACT COPIES AND RECEIPTS.] Service contracts						
35	must not be issued, sold, or offered for sale in this state						
36	unless the provider has:						

Article 2 Section 14 149

1	(1) provided a receipt for, or other written evidence of,
2	the purchase of the service contract to the contract holder;
3	(2) provided a copy of the service contract to the service
4	contract holder within a reasonable period of time from the date
5	of purchase; and
6	(3) complied with this chapter.
7	Subd. 3. [REGISTRATION.] Each provider of service
8	contracts sold in this state shall file a registration with the
9	commissioner on a form prescribed by the commissioner. Each
10	provider shall pay to the commissioner a fee in the amount of
11	\$200 annually.
12	Subd. 4. [FINANCIAL REQUIREMENTS.] In order to ensure the
13	faithful performance of a provider's obligations to its contract
14	holders, each provider is responsible for complying with the
15	requirements of one of the following:
16	(1) insure all service contracts under a reimbursement
17	insurance policy issued by an insurer authorized to transact
18	insurance in this state, a risk retention group, as that term is
19	defined in United States Code, title 15, section 3901(A)(4), as
20	long as that risk retention group is registered pursuant to
21	section 60E.03 or 60E.04 as applicable, and is in full
22	compliance with the federal Liability Risk Retention Act of
23	1986, United States Code, title 15, section 3901, et al., or
24	issued pursuant to sections 60A.195 to 60A.209, and either:
25	(i) the insurer or risk retention group shall, at the time
26	the policy is filed with the commissioner, and continuously
27	thereafter, maintain surplus as to policyholders and paid-in
28	capital of at least \$15,000,000, and annually file audited
29	financial statements with the commissioner; or
30	(ii) the commissioner may authorize an insurer or risk
31	retention group that has surplus as to policyholders and paid-in
32	capital of less than \$15,000,000 but at least equal to
33	\$10,000,000 to issue the insurance required by this section if
34	the insurer or risk retention group demonstrates to the
35	satisfaction of the commissioner that the company maintains a
36	ratio of direct written premiums, wherever written, to surplus
Ar	ticle 2 Section 14 150

- 04/27/05

1	as to policyholders and paid-in capital of not greater than
2	<u>3-to-1; or</u>
3	(2)(i) maintain a funded reserve account for obligations
4	under contracts issued and outstanding in this state. The
5	reserves must not be less than 40 percent of gross consideration
6	received, less claims paid, on the sale of the service contract
7	for all in-force contracts. The reserve account is subject to
8	examination and review by the commissioner; and
9	(ii) place in trust with the commissioner a financial
10	security deposit, having a value of not less than five percent
11	of the gross consideration received, less claims paid, on the
12	sale of the service contract for all service contracts issued
13	and in force, but not less than \$25,000, consisting of one of
14	the following:
15	(A) a surety bond issued by an authorized surety;
16	(B) securities of the type eligible for deposit by
17	authorized insurers in this state;
18	(C) cash;
19	(D) a letter of credit issued by a qualified financial
20	institution containing an evergreen clause which prevents the
21	expiration of the letter without due notice from the issuer; or
22	(E) another form of security prescribed by rules of the
23	commissioner; or
24	(3)(i) maintain, or its parent company maintain, a net
25	worth or stockholders' equity of \$100,000,000; and
26	(ii) upon request, provide the commissioner with a copy of
27	the provider's or the provider's parent company's most recent
28	Form 10-K or Form 20-F filed with the Securities and Exchange
29	Commission (SEC) within the last calendar year, or if the
30	company does not file with the SEC, a copy of the company's
31	audited financial statements, which shows a net worth of the
32	provider or its parent company of at least \$100,000,000. If the
33	provider's parent company's Form 10-K, Form 20-F, or audited
34	financial statements are filed to meet the provider's financial
35	stability requirement, then the parent company shall agree to
36	guarantee the obligations of the provider relating to service

Article 2 Section 14 151

1	contracts sold by the provider in this state.
2	Subd. 5. [RIGHT OF RETURN.] Service contracts must require
3	the provider to permit the service contract holder to return the
4	service contract within 20 days of the date the service contract
5	was mailed to the service contract holder or within ten days of
6	delivery if the service contract is delivered to the service
7	contract holder at the time of sale or within a longer time
8	period permitted under the service contract. Upon return of the
9	service contract to the provider within the applicable time
10	period, if no claim has been made under the service contract
11	before its return to the provider, the service contract is void
12	and the provider shall refund to the service contract holder, or
13	credit the account of the service contract holder, with the full
14	purchase price of the service contract. The right to void the
15	service contract provided in this paragraph is not transferable
16	and applies only to the original service contract purchaser, and
17	only if no claim has been made before its return to the
18	provider. A ten percent penalty per month must be added to a
19	refund that is not paid or credited within 45 days after return
20	of the service contract to the provider.
21	Subd. 6. [PREMIUM TAXES.] (a) Provider fees collected on
22	service contracts are not subject to premium taxes.
23	(b) Premiums for reimbursement insurance policies are
24	subject to applicable taxes.
25	Subd. 7. [LICENSING EXEMPTION.] Except for the
26	registration requirements in subdivision 3, providers and
27	related service contract sellers, administrators, and other
28	persons marketing, selling, or offering to sell service
29	contracts are exempt from any licensing requirements of this
30	state.
31	Subd. 8. [INSURANCE EXEMPTION.] The marketing, sale,
32	offering for sale, issuance, making, proposing to make, and
33	administration of service contracts by providers and related
34	service contract sellers, administrators, and other persons are
35	exempt from all other provisions of the insurance laws of this
36	state, except as provided in section 72A.20, subdivision 38.
Ar	ticle 2 Section 14 152

1	Sec. 15. [59B.04] [REQUIRED DISCLOSURES; REIMBURSEMENT
2	INSURANCE POLICY.]
3	Subdivision 1. [RIGHT TO PAYMENT OR
4	REIMBURSEMENT.] Reimbursement insurance policies insuring
5	service contracts issued, sold, or offered for sale in this
6	state shall state that the insurer that issued the reimbursement
7	insurance policy shall either reimburse or pay on behalf of the
8	provider any covered sums the provider is legally obligated to
9	pay or, in the event of the provider's nonperformance, shall
10	provide the service which the provider is legally obligated to
11	perform according to the provider's contractual obligations
12	under the service contracts issued or sold by the provider.
13	Subd. 2. [RIGHT TO APPLY TO COMPANY.] In the event covered
14	service is not provided by the service contract provider within
15	60 days of proof of loss by the service contract holder, the
16	contract holder is entitled to apply directly to the
17	reimbursement insurance company.
18	Sec. 16. [59B.05] [REQUIRED DISCLOSURE; SERVICE
19	CONTRACTS.]
19 20	CONTRACTS.] <u>Subdivision 1.</u> [READABILITY AND GENERAL
20	Subdivision 1. [READABILITY AND GENERAL
20 21	Subdivision 1. [READABILITY AND GENERAL DISCLOSURE.] Service contracts marketed, sold, offered for sale,
20 21 22	<u>Subdivision 1.</u> [READABILITY AND GENERAL DISCLOSURE.] <u>Service contracts marketed, sold, offered for sale,</u> issued, made, proposed to be made, or administered in this state
20 21 22 23	<u>Subdivision 1.</u> [READABILITY AND GENERAL DISCLOSURE.] <u>Service contracts marketed, sold, offered for sale,</u> issued, made, proposed to be made, or administered in this state must be written, printed, or typed in clear, understandable
20 21 22 23 24	<u>Subdivision 1.</u> [READABILITY AND GENERAL DISCLOSURE.] <u>Service contracts marketed, sold, offered for sale,</u> issued, made, proposed to be made, or administered in this state <u>must be written, printed, or typed in clear, understandable</u> language that is easy to read and must disclose the requirements
20 21 22 23 24 25	<u>Subdivision 1.</u> [READABILITY AND GENERAL DISCLOSURE.] <u>Service contracts marketed, sold, offered for sale,</u> issued, made, proposed to be made, or administered in this state <u>must be written, printed, or typed in clear, understandable</u> language that is easy to read and must disclose the requirements <u>set forth in this section, as applicable.</u>
20 21 22 23 24 25 26	<u>Subdivision 1.</u> [READABILITY AND GENERAL DISCLOSURE.] <u>Service contracts marketed, sold, offered for sale,</u> issued, made, proposed to be made, or administered in this state <u>must be written, printed, or typed in clear, understandable</u> <u>language that is easy to read and must disclose the requirements</u> <u>set forth in this section, as applicable.</u> <u>Subd. 2.</u> [IDENTITIES OF PARTIES.] <u>Service contracts must</u>
20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27	<u>Subdivision 1.</u> [READABILITY AND GENERAL DISCLOSURE.] <u>Service contracts marketed, sold, offered for sale,</u> issued, made, proposed to be made, or administered in this state <u>must be written, printed, or typed in clear, understandable</u> language that is easy to read and must disclose the requirements <u>set forth in this section, as applicable.</u> <u>Subd. 2.</u> [IDENTITIES OF PARTIES.] <u>Service contracts must</u> state the name and address of the provider, and must identify
20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28	<u>Subdivision 1.</u> [READABILITY AND GENERAL DISCLOSURE.] <u>Service contracts marketed, sold, offered for sale,</u> issued, made, proposed to be made, or administered in this state must be written, printed, or typed in clear, understandable language that is easy to read and must disclose the requirements <u>set forth in this section, as applicable.</u> <u>Subd. 2.</u> [IDENTITIES OF PARTIES.] <u>Service contracts must</u> state the name and address of the provider, and must identify any administrator if different from the provider, the service
20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29	<u>Subdivision 1.</u> [READABILITY AND GENERAL DISCLOSURE.] <u>Service contracts marketed, sold, offered for sale,</u> issued, made, proposed to be made, or administered in this state must be written, printed, or typed in clear, understandable language that is easy to read and must disclose the requirements set forth in this section, as applicable. <u>Subd. 2.</u> [IDENTITIES OF PARTIES.] <u>Service contracts must</u> state the name and address of the provider, and must identify any administrator if different from the provider, the service contract seller, and the service contract holder to the extent
20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30	<u>Subdivision 1.</u> [READABILITY AND GENERAL DISCLOSURE.] <u>Service contracts marketed, sold, offered for sale,</u> <u>issued, made, proposed to be made, or administered in this state</u> <u>must be written, printed, or typed in clear, understandable</u> <u>language that is easy to read and must disclose the requirements</u> <u>set forth in this section, as applicable.</u> <u>Subd. 2.</u> [IDENTITIES OF PARTIES.] <u>Service contracts must</u> <u>state the name and address of the provider, and must identify</u> <u>any administrator if different from the provider, the service</u> <u>contract seller, and the service contract holder to the extent</u> <u>that the name of the service contract holder has been furnished</u>
20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31	<u>Subdivision 1.</u> [READABILITY AND GENERAL DISCLOSURE.] <u>Service contracts marketed, sold, offered for sale,</u> issued, made, proposed to be made, or administered in this state must be written, printed, or typed in clear, understandable language that is easy to read and must disclose the requirements <u>set forth in this section, as applicable.</u> <u>Subd. 2.</u> [IDENTITIES OF PARTIES.] <u>Service contracts must</u> state the name and address of the provider, and must identify any administrator if different from the provider, the service contract seller, and the service contract holder to the extent that the name of the service contract holder has been furnished by the service contract holder. The identities of the parties
20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32	<u>Subdivision 1.</u> [READABILITY AND GENERAL DISCLOSURE.] <u>Service contracts marketed, sold, offered for sale,</u> issued, made, proposed to be made, or administered in this state <u>must be written, printed, or typed in clear, understandable</u> language that is easy to read and must disclose the requirements <u>set forth in this section, as applicable.</u> <u>Subd. 2.</u> [IDENTITIES OF PARTIES.] <u>Service contracts must</u> state the name and address of the provider, and must identify any administrator if different from the provider, the service contract seller, and the service contract holder to the extent that the name of the service contract holder has been furnished by the service contract holder. The identities of the parties are not required to be preprinted on the service contract and
20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33	<u>Subdivision 1.</u> [READABILITY AND GENERAL DISCLOSURE.] <u>Service contracts marketed, sold, offered for sale,</u> issued, made, proposed to be made, or administered in this state must be written, printed, or typed in clear, understandable language that is easy to read and must disclose the requirements <u>set forth in this section, as applicable.</u> <u>Subd. 2.</u> [IDENTITIES OF PARTIES.] <u>Service contracts must</u> state the name and address of the provider, and must identify any administrator if different from the provider, the service contract seller, and the service contract holder to the extent that the name of the service contract holder has been furnished by the service contract holder. The identities of the parties are not required to be preprinted on the service contract and may be added to the service contract at the time of sale.
20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 31 32 33 34	<u>Subdivision 1.</u> [READABILITY AND GENERAL DISCLOSURE.] <u>Service contracts marketed, sold, offered for sale,</u> issued, made, proposed to be made, or administered in this state <u>must be written, printed, or typed in clear, understandable</u> language that is easy to read and must disclose the requirements <u>set forth in this section, as applicable.</u> <u>Subd. 2.</u> [IDENTITIES OF PARTIES.] <u>Service contracts must</u> state the name and address of the provider, and must identify any administrator if different from the provider, the service contract seller, and the service contract holder to the extent that the name of the service contract holder has been furnished by the service contract holder. The identities of the parties are not required to be preprinted on the service contract and <u>may be added to the service contract at the time of sale.</u> <u>Subd. 3.</u> [TOTAL FURCHASE PRICE AND SALES TERMS.] <u>Service</u>

1	not required to be preprinted on the service contract and may be
2	negotiated at the time of sale with the service contract holder.
3	Subd. 4. [DEDUCTIBLES.] Service contracts must state the
4	existence of any deductible amount, if applicable.
5	Subd. 5. [COVERAGES, LIMITATIONS, AND EXCLUSIONS.] No
6	particular causes of loss of property are required to be
7	covered, but service contracts must specify the merchandise and
8	services to be provided and, with equal prominence, any
9	limitations, exceptions, or exclusions including, but not
10	limited to, any damage or breakdown not covered by the service
11	contract.
12	Subd. 6. [RESTRICTIONS ON TRANSFERABILITY.] Service
13	contracts must state any restrictions governing the
14	transferability of the service contract, if applicable.
15	Subd. 7. [CANCELLATION TERMS.] Service contracts must
16	state the terms, restrictions, or conditions governing
17	cancellation of the service contract prior to the termination or
18	expiration date of the service contract by either the provider
19	or the service contract holder. The provider of the service
20	contract shall mail a written notice to the contract holder at
21	the last known address of the service contract holder contained
22	in the records of the provider at least 15 days before
23	cancellation by the provider. Five days' notice is required if
24	the reason for cancellation is nonpayment of the provider fee, a
25	material misrepresentation by the service contract holder to the
26	provider, or a substantial breach of duties by the service
27	contract holder relating to the covered product or its use. The
28	notice must state the effective date of the cancellation and the
29	reason for the cancellation.
30	Subd. 8. [DUTIES OF CONTRACT HOLDER.] Service contracts
31	must set forth all of the obligations and duties of the service
32	contract holder, such as the duty to protect against any further
33	damage and any requirement to follow the owner's manual.
34	Subd. 9. [EXCLUSIONS; CONSEQUENTIAL DAMAGES AND
35	PREEXISTING CONDITIONS.] Service contracts may exclude coverage
36	for consequential damages or preexisting conditions. These
Ar	ticle 2 Section 16 154

exclusions, if applicable, must be stated in the contract. l Sec. 17. [59B.06] [ADDITIONAL REQUIRED DISCLOSURE; SERVICE 2 CONTRACTS.] 3 Subdivision 1. [INSURANCE DISCLOSURE.] Service contracts 4 insured under a reimbursement insurance policy pursuant to 5 section 59B.03, subdivision 4, clause (1), must contain a 6 statement in substantially the following form: "Obligations of 7 the provider under this service contract are insured under a 8 service contract reimbursement insurance policy." The service 9 contract must also state the name and address of the insurer. 10 Subd. 2. [DISCLOSURE OF NO INSURANCE.] Service contracts 11 not insured under a reimbursement insurance policy pursuant to 12 section 59B.03, subdivision 4, clause (1), must contain a 13 statement in substantially the following form: "Obligations of 14 the provider under this service contract are backed by the full 15 faith and credit of the provider." 16 17 Sec. 18. [59B.07] [PROHIBITED ACTS.] Subdivision 1. [DECEPTIVE NAMES.] A provider shall not use 18 in its name the words insurance, casualty, surety, mutual, or 19 any other words descriptive of the insurance, casualty, or 20 21 surety business; or a name deceptively similar to the name or description of any insurance or surety corporation, or to the 22 name of any other provider. The word "guaranty" or similar word 23 24 may be used by a provider. This section does not apply to a company that was using any of the prohibited language in its 25 26 name before the effective date of this chapter. However, a 27 company using the prohibited language in its name shall include 28 in its service contracts a statement in substantially the following form: "This agreement is not an insurance contract." 29 30 Subd. 2. [FALSE OR MISLEADING STATEMENTS.] A provider or its representative shall not in its service contracts, 31 32 literature, or otherwise make, permit, or cause to be made any false or misleading statement or omit any material statement 33 34 that would be considered misleading if omitted. Subd. 3. [REQUIRED PURCHASE.] A person, such as a bank, 35 savings association, lending institution, manufacturer, or 36

[REVISOR] CMR/CA 05-4113 04/27/05 seller of any product, shall not require the purchase of a 1 service contract as a condition of a loan or a condition for the 2 3 sale of any property. Sec. 19. [59B.08] [RECORD-KEEPING REQUIREMENTS.] 4 Subdivision 1. [GENERALLY.] The provider shall keep 5 accurate accounts, books, and records concerning transactions 6 regulated under this chapter. 7 The provider's accounts, books, and records include the 8 9 following: (1) copies of each type of service contracts sold; 10 11 (2) the name and address of each service contract holder to the extent that the name and address have been furnished by the 12 13 service contract holder; 14 (3) a list of the locations where service contracts are 15 marketed, sold, or offered for sale; and 16 (4) written claims files which shall contain information 17 regarding the services provided or claims payments for contracts that provide for payments or reimbursement, including at least 18 the dates and description of claims related to the service 19 20 contracts. Subd. 2. [RETENTION.] (a) Except as provided in paragraph 21 22 (b), the provider shall retain all records required to be maintained by this section for at least three years after the 23 24 specified period of coverage has expired. 25 (b) A provider discontinuing business in this state shall maintain its records until it furnishes the commissioner 26 satisfactory proof that it has discharged all obligations to 27 28 contract holders in this state. 29 Subd. 3. [MEDIUM.] The records required by this chapter 30 may be, but are not required to be, maintained on a computer 31 disk or other record-keeping technology. If the records are 32 maintained in other than hard copy, the records must be capable of duplication to legible hard copy at the request of the 33 34 commissioner. Sec. 20. [59B.09] [TERMINATION OF REIMBURSEMENT INSURANCE 35 36 POLICY.]

Article 2 Section 20 156

1	An insurer that issued a reimbursement insurance policy may								
2	not terminate the policy unless the insurer mails or delivers								
3	written notice of the termination to the commissioner at least								
4	30 days before the effective date of termination. The								
5	termination of a reimbursement insurance policy does not reduce								
6	the issuer's responsibility for service contracts issued by								
7	providers before the date of the termination.								
8	Sec. 21. [59B.10] [OBLIGATION OF REIMBURSEMENT INSURANCE								
9	POLICY INSURERS.]								
10	Insurers issuing reimbursement insurance to providers are								
11	deemed to have received the premiums for the insurance upon the								
12	payment of provider fees by consumers for service contracts								
` 13	issued by the insured providers.								
14	Nothing in this chapter prevents or limits the right of an								
15	insurer that issued a reimbursement insurance policy to seek								
16	indemnification or subrogation against a provider if the issuer								
17	pays or is obligated to pay the service contract holder sums								
18	that the provider was obligated to pay pursuant to the								
19	provisions of the service contract.								
20	Sec. 22. [59B.11] [SEVERABILITY PROVISION.]								
21	If any provision of this chapter or the application of the								
22	provision to any person or circumstances are held invalid, the								
23	remainder of this chapter and the application of the provision								
24	to persons or circumstances other than those as to which it is								
25	held invalid, must not be affected.								
26	Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 60A.14,								
27	subdivision 1, is amended to read:								
28	Subdivision 1. [FEES OTHER THAN EXAMINATION FEES.] In								
29	addition to the fees and charges provided for examinations, the								
30	following fees must be paid to the commissioner for deposit in								
31	the general fund:								
32	(a) by township mutual fire insurance companies;								
33	(1) for filing certificate of incorporation \$25 and								
34	amendments thereto, \$10;								
35	(2) for filing annual statements, \$15;								
36	(3) for each annual certificate of authority, \$15;								

Article 2 Section 23 157

(4) for filing bylaws \$25 and amendments thereto, \$10; 1 (b) by other domestic and foreign companies including 2 fraternals and reciprocal exchanges; 3 (1) for filing an application for an initial certification 4 of authority to be admitted to transact business in this state, 5 6 \$1,500; 7 (2) for filing certified copy of certificate of articles of incorporation, \$100; 8 (2) for filing annual statement, \$225; 9 10 (3) (4) for filing certified copy of amendment to certificate or articles of incorporation, \$100; 11 12 (4) (5) for filing bylaws, \$75 or amendments thereto, \$75; 13 (5) (6) for each company's certificate of authority, \$575, 14 annually; 15 (c) the following general fees apply: (1) for each certificate, including certified copy of 16 certificate of authority, renewal, valuation of life policies, 17 corporate condition or qualification, \$25; 18 19 (2) for each copy of paper on file in the commissioner's office 50 cents per page, and \$2.50 for certifying the same; 20 21 (3) for license to procure insurance in unadmitted foreign 22 companies, \$575; (4) for valuing the policies of life insurance companies, 23 one cent per \$1,000 of insurance so valued, provided that the 24 25 fee shall not exceed \$13,000 per year for any company. The commissioner may, in lieu of a valuation of the policies of any 26 27 foreign life insurance company admitted, or applying for admission, to do business in this state, accept a certificate of 28 valuation from the company's own actuary or from the 29 commissioner of insurance of the state or territory in which the 30 31 company is domiciled; (5) for receiving and filing certificates of policies by 32 33 the company's actuary, or by the commissioner of insurance of 34 any other state or territory, \$50; (6) for each appointment of an agent filed with the 35

36 commissioner, \$10;

Article 2 Section 23 158

(7) for filing forms and rates, \$75 per filing, which may
 be paid on a quarterly basis in response to an invoice. Billing
 and payment may be made electronically;

4 (8) for annual renewal of surplus lines insurer license,5 \$300;

6 (9) \$250 filing fee for a large risk alternative rating
7 option plan that meets the \$250,000 threshold requirement.
8 The commissioner shall adopt rules to define filings that

9 are subject to a fee.

Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 60K.55, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. [LICENSING FEES.] (a) In addition to fees
provided for examinations, each insurance producer licensed
under this chapter shall pay to the commissioner a fee of:
(1) \$40 \$50 for an initial life, accident and health,
property, or casualty license issued to an individual insurance

17 producer, and a fee of $$4\theta$ <u>\$50</u> for each renewal;

18 (2) \$75 \$50 for an initial variable life and variable
19 annuity license issued to an individual insurance producer, and
20 a fee of \$50 for each renewal;

(3) \$80 \$50 for an initial personal lines license issued to an individual insurance producer, and a fee of \$80 \$50 for each renewal;

(4) \$80 \$50 for an initial limited lines license issued to
an individual insurance producer, and a fee of \$80 \$50 for each
renewal;

27 (5) \$200 for an initial license issued to a business 28 entity, and a fee of $\frac{150}{5200}$ for each renewal; and

29 (6) \$500 for an initial surplus lines license, and a fee of 30 \$500 for each renewal.

(b) Initial licenses issued under this chapter are valid for a period not to exceed 24 months and expire on October 31 of the renewal year assigned by the commissioner. Each renewal insurance producer license is valid for a period of 24 months. Licensees who submit renewal applications postmarked or delivered on or before October 15 of the renewal year may

[REVISOR] CMR/CA 05-4113

04/27/05

1 continue to transact business whether or not the renewal license has been received by November 1. Licensees who submit 2 3 applications postmarked or delivered after October 15 of the renewal year must not transact business after the expiration 4 date of the license until the renewal license has been received. 5 (c) All fees are nonreturnable, except that an overpayment 6 7 of any fee may be refunded upon proper application. Sec. 25. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 72A.20, is 8 9 amended by adding a subdivision to read: Subd. 38. [UNFAIR CLAIMS SERVICE; SERVICE CONTRACTS.] No 10 person shall, in connection with a service contract regulated 11 12 under chapter 59B: 13 (1) attempt to settle claims on the basis of an application 14 or any other material document which was altered without notice 15 to, or knowledge or consent of, the service contract holder; 16 (2) make a material misrepresentation to the service 17 contract holder for the purpose and with the intent of effecting 18 settlement of the claims, loss, or damage under the contract on 19 less favorable terms than those provided in, and contemplated 20 by, the contract; or 21 (3) commit or perform with such frequency as to indicate a 22 general business practice any of the following practices: 23 (i) failure to properly investigate claims; 24 (ii) misrepresentation of pertinent facts or contract 25 provisions relating to coverages at issue; 26 (iii) failure to acknowledge and act upon communications 27 within a reasonable time with respect to claims; (iv) denial of claims without conducting reasonable 28 29 investigations based upon available information; 30 (v) failure to affirm or deny coverage of claims upon 31 written request of the service contract holder within a 32 reasonable time after proof-of-loss statements have been 33 completed; or 34 (vi) failure to timely provide a reasonable explanation to 35 the service contract holder of the basis in the contract in 36 relation to the facts or applicable law for denial of a claim or Article 2 Section 25 160

[REVISOR] CMR/CA 05-4113 04/27/05 for the offer of a compromise settlement. 1 Sec. 26. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 72B.04, . 2 subdivision 10, is amended to read: 3 Subd. 10. [FEES.] A fee of \$80 \$50 is imposed for each 4 initial license or temporary permit and \$80 \$50 for each renewal 5 thereof or amendment thereto. A fee of \$20 is imposed for the 6 registration of each nonlicensed adjuster who is required to 7 register under section 72B.06. All fees shall be transmitted to 8 the commissioner and shall be payable to the Department of 9 10 Commerce. Sec. 27. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 82B.09, 11 subdivision 1, is amended to read: 12 Subdivision 1. [AMOUNTS.] The following fees must be paid 13 14 to the commissioner: (1) \$150 for each initial individual real estate 15 appraiser's license:--\$150-if-the-license-expires-more-than-12 16 months-after-issuance,-\$100-if-the-license-expires-less-than-12 17 months-after-issuance; and a-fee-of 18 (2) \$100 for each renewal. 19 Sec. 28. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 115C.07, 20 subdivision 3, is amended to read: 21 22 Subd. 3. [RULES.] (a) The board shall adopt rules regarding its practices and procedures, the form and procedure 23 for applications for compensation from the fund, procedures for 24 25 investigation of claims and specifying the costs that are eligible for reimbursement from the fund. 26 (b) The board may adopt rules requiring certification of 27 environmental consultants. 28 (c) The board may adopt other rules necessary to implement 29 30 this chapter. (d) The board may use section 14.389 to adopt rules 31 32 specifying the competitive bidding requirements for consultant 33 services proposals. 34 (e) The board may use section 14.389 to adopt rules specifying the written proposal and invoice requirements for 35 36 consultant services.

Article 2 Section 28 161

Sec. 29. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 115C.09,
 subdivision 3h, is amended to read:

3 Subd. 3h. [REIMBURSEMENT; ABOVEGROUND TANKS IN BULK 4 PLANTS.] (a) As used in this subdivision, "bulk plant" means an 5 aboveground or underground tank facility with a storage capacity 6 of more than 1,100 gallons but less than 1,000,000 gallons that 7 is used to dispense petroleum into cargo tanks for 8 transportation and sale at another location.

(b) Notwithstanding any other provision in this chapter and 9 any rules adopted pursuant to this chapter, the board shall 10 11 reimburse 90 percent of an applicant's cost for bulk plant upgrades or closures completed between June 1, 1998, and 12 13 November 1, 2003, to comply with Minnesota Rules, chapter 7151, provided that the board determines the costs were incurred and 14 15 reasonable. The reimbursement may not exceed \$10,000 per bulk 16 The board may provide reimbursement under this paragraph plant. for work completed after November 1, 2003, if the work was 17 contracted for prior to that date and was not completed by that 18 date as a result of an unanticipated situation, provided that an 19 application for reimbursement under this sentence, which may be 20 21 a renewal of an application previously denied, is submitted prior to December 31, 2005. 22

(c) For corrective action at a bulk plant located on what is or was railroad right-of-way, the board shall reimburse 90 percent of total reimbursable costs on the first \$40,000 of reimbursable costs and 100 percent of any remaining reimbursable costs when the applicant can document that more than one bulk plant was operated on the same section of right-of-way, as determined by the commissioner of commerce.

30 Sec. 30. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 115C.09,
31 subdivision 3j, is amended to read:

32 Subd. 3j. [RETAIL LOCATIONS AND TRANSPORT VEHICLES.] (a) 33 As used in this subdivision, "retail location" means a facility 34 located in the metropolitan area as defined in section 473.121, 35 subdivision 2, where gasoline is offered for sale to the general 36 public for use in automobiles and trucks. "Transport vehicle"

Article 2 Section 30 162

1 means a liquid fuel cargo tank used to deliver gasoline into 2 underground storage tanks during 2002 and 2003 at a retail 3 location.

(b) Notwithstanding any other provision in this chapter, 4 and any rules adopted under this chapter, the board shall 5 reimburse 90 percent of an applicant's cost for retrofits of 6 7 retail locations and transport vehicles completed between January 1, 2001, and January 1, 2006, to comply with section 8 116.49, subdivisions 3 and 4, provided that the board determines 9 the costs were incurred and reasonable. The reimbursement may 10 not exceed \$3,000 per retail location and \$3,000 per transport 11 vehicle. 12

13 Sec. 31. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 115C.13, is 14 amended to read:

15 115C.13 [REPEALER.]

Sections 115C.01, 115C.02, 115C.021, 115C.03, 115C.04, 17 115C.045, 115C.05, 115C.06, 115C.065, 115C.07, 115C.08, 115C.09, 18 115C.093, 115C.094, 115C.10, 115C.11, 115C.111, 115C.112, 19 115C.113, 115C.12, and 115C.13, are repealed effective June 30, 20 2007 2012.

21 Sec. 32. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 116J.571, is 22 amended to read:

23

116J.571 [CREATION OF ACCOUNTS.]

Two greater-Minnesota redevelopment accounts are created, one in the general fund and one in the bond proceeds fund. Money in the accounts may be used to make grants as provided in section 116J.575---Money-in-the-bond-proceeds-fund-may-only-be used-for-eligible-costs-for-publicly-owned-property---Money-in the-general-fund-may-be-used and to pay for the commissioner's costs in reviewing the applications and making grants.

31 Sec. 33. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 116J.572, is
32 amended to read:

33 116J.572 [DEFINITIONS.]

34 Subdivision 1. [SCOPE OF APPLICATION.] For purposes of 35 sections 116J.571 to 116J.575, the terms in this section have 36 the meanings given.

Article 2 Section 33 163

Subd. 2. [DEVELOPMENT AUTHORITY.] "Development authority" 1 includes a statutory or home rule charter city, county, housing 2 and redevelopment authority, economic development authority, or 3 port authority located-outside. 4 Subd. 2a. [METROPOLITAN AREA.] "Metropolitan area" means 5 the seven-county metropolitan area, as defined in section 6 473.121, subdivision 2. 7 Subd. 2b. [MUNICIPALITY.] "Municipality" means the 8 statutory or home rule charter city, town, or, in the case of 9 unorganized territory, county in which the redevelopment is 10 11 located. Subd. 3. [EHIGIBLE REDEVELOPMENT COSTS OR COSTS.] 12 13 "Eligible Redevelopment costs" or "costs" means the costs of land acquisition, stabilizing unstable soils when infill is 14 15 required, demolition, infrastructure improvements, and ponding or other environmental infrastructure;-building-construction; 16 17 design-and-engineering; and costs necessary for adaptive reuse of buildings, including remedial activities. Eligible-costs-do 18 19 not-include-project-administration-and-legal-fees-20 Subd:-4---{REDEVELOPMENT-}-"Redevelopment"-means-recycling 21 obsolete7-abandoned7-or-underutilized-properties-for-new 22 industrial7-commercial7-or-residential-uses-23 Sec. 34. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 116J.574, is 24 amended to read: 25 116J.574 [GRANT APPLICATIONS.] Subdivision 1. [APPLICATION REQUIRED.] To obtain a 26 27 redevelopment grant, a development authority shall apply to the 28 commissioner. The governing body of the municipality must approve the application by resolution. 29 30 Subd. 2. [REQUIRED CONTENT.] The commissioner shall prescribe and provide the application form. The application 31 32 must include at least the following information: (1) identification of the site; 33 34 (2) a redevelopment plan for the site; 35 (3) a detailed budget estimate, including along with 36 necessary supporting evidence, of the total redevelopment costs

Article 2 Section 34

164

for the site including-the-total-eligible-redevelopment-costs; 1 (3)-a-complete (4) an assessment of the development 2 potential or likely use of the site after completion of the 3 redevelopment plan, including any specific commitments from 4 5 third parties to construct improvements on the site; 6 (4)-a-complete-financing-plan,-including (5) the manner in 7 which the development-authority-uses-innovative-financial partnerships-between-government,-private-for-profit,-and 8 nonprofit-sectors municipality will meet the local match 9 10 requirement; and 11 (5) (6) any additional information or material that the 12 commissioner prescribes. Sec. 35. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 116J.575, is 13 14 amended to read: 116J.575 [GRANTS.] 15 Subdivision 1. [COMMISSIONER DISCRETION.] The commissioner 16 17 may make a grant for up to 50 percent of the eligible costs of a project. The determination of whether to make a grant for a 18 site is within the discretion of the commissioner, subject to 19 20 this section and sections 116J.571 to 116J.574 and available unencumbered money in the greater-Minnesota redevelopment 21 22 account. The commissioner's decisions and application of the 23 priorities under this section are not subject to judicial 24 review, except for abuse of discretion. 25 Subd. la. [PRIORITIES.] (a) If applications for grants 26 exceed the available appropriations, grants shall be made for 27 sites that, in the commissioner's judgment, provide the highest 28 return in public benefits for the public costs incurred. "Public benefits" include job creation, bioscience development, 29 30 environmental benefits to the state and region, efficient use of public transportation, efficient use of existing infrastructure, 31 32 provision of affordable housing, multiuse development that constitutes community rebuilding rather than single-use 33 development, crime reduction, blight reduction, community 34 35 stabilization, and property tax base maintenance or 36 improvement. In making this judgment, the commissioner shall

165

1	give priority to redevelopment projects with one or more of the
2	following characteristics:
3	(1) the need for redevelopment in conjunction with
4	contamination remediation needs;
5	(2) the redevelopment project meets current tax increment
6	financing requirements for a redevelopment district and tax
7	increments will contribute to the project;
8	(3) the redevelopment potential within the municipality;
9	(4) proximity to public transit if located in the
10	metropolitan area; and
11	(5) multijurisdictional projects that take into account the
12	need for affordable housing, transportation, and environmental
13	impact.
14	(b) The factors in paragraph (a) are not listed in a rank
15	order of priority; rather, the commissioner may weigh each
16	factor, depending upon the facts and circumstances, as the
17	commissioner considers appropriate.
18	Subd. 2. [APPLICATION CYCLES.] In making grants, the
19	commissioner shall establish semiannual application deadlines in
20	which grants will be authorized from all or part of the
21	available money in the account.
22	Subd. 3. [MATCH REQUIRED.] In order to qualify for a grant
23	under sections 116J.571 to 116J.575, the municipality must pay
24	for at least one-half of the redevelopment costs as a local
25	match from any money available to the municipality.
26	Sec. 36. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 116L.20,
27	subdivision 1, is amended to read:
28	Subdivision 1. [DETERMINATION AND COLLECTION OF SPECIAL
29	ASSESSMENT.] (a) In addition to amounts due from an employer
30	under the Minnesota unemployment insurance program, each
31	employer, except an employer making reimbursements is liable for
32	a special assessment levied at the rate of seven-hundredths
33	one-tenth of one percent per year on all taxable wages, as
34	defined in section 268.035, subdivision 24. If the commissioner
35	of employment and economic development determines that the need
36	for services under the dislocated worker program substantially
Ar	ticle 2 Section 36 166

[REVISOR] CMR/CA 05-4113

1 exceeds the resources that will be available for that program,
2 the commissioner may increase the fee to no more than 12/100 of
3 one percent of taxable wages. The assessment shall become due
4 and be paid by each employer on the same schedule and in the
5 same manner as other amounts due from an employer under section
6 268.051, subdivision 1.

7 (b) The special assessment levied under this section shall
8 be subject to the same requirements and collection procedures as
9 any amounts due from an employer under the Minnesota
10 unemployment insurance program.

11 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective January 1, 2006.
12 Sec. 37. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 116L.30,
13 subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. [GRANTS.] The commissioner may make grants to nonprofit agencies administering youth intervention programs in communities where the programs are or may be established.

17 "Youth intervention program" means a nonresidential community-based program providing advocacy, education, 18 counseling, mentoring, and referral services to youth and their 19 20 families experiencing personal, familial, school, legal, or chemical problems with the goal of resolving the present 21 22 problems and preventing the occurrence of the problems in the 23 future. The purpose of the youth intervention program is to 24 provide an ongoing, stable funding source to community-based 25 early intervention programs for youth. Program design may be different for the grantees depending on youth needs in the 26 communities being served. 27

Sec. 38. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 116L.30,
subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. [APPLICATIONS.] Applications for a grant-in-aid shall be made by the administering agency to the commissioner. The grant-in-aid is contingent upon the agency having obtained from the community in which the youth intervention program is established local matching money two times the amount of the grant that is sought. The purpose of the matching requirement is to leverage the investment of state and community dollars in

167

Section 38

[REVISOR] CMR/CA 05-4113 04/27/05 supporting the efforts of the grantees to provide early 1 intervention services to youth and their families. 2 The commissioner shall provide the application form, 3 procedures for making application-form applications, criteria 4 for review of the application, and kinds of contributions in 5 addition to cash that qualify as local matching money. No grant 6 to any agency may exceed \$50,000. 7 Sec. 39. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 116L.30, is 8 amended by adding a subdivision to read: 9 Subd. 3. [GRANT ALLOCATION FORMULA.] Up to one percent of 10 the appropriations to the grants-in-aid to the youth 11 intervention program may be used for a grant to the Minnesota 12 13 Youth Intervention Programs Association for expenses in 14 providing collaborative training and technical assistance to community-based grantees. 15 Sec. 40. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 116L.30, is 16 amended by adding a subdivision to read: 17 Subd. 4. [ADMINISTRATIVE COSTS.] The commissioner may use 18 19 up to two percent of the biennial appropriation for grants-in-aid to the youth intervention program to pay costs 20 incurred by the department in administering the grants. 21 22 Sec. 41. [116P.081] [MINNESOTA EARLY STAGE VENTURE CAPITAL 23 INVESTMENTS.] 24 (a) For purposes of this section, "Minnesota early stage 25 company" means an early stage company with its headquarters and principal place of business located in this state. 26 27 (b) Until June 30, 2019, the State Board of Investment must 28 invest at least \$25,000,000 of the principal of the Minnesota 29 environmental and natural resources trust fund in early stage 30 venture capital investments, subject to the following conditions: 31 (1) the board may not make initial investments of more than 32 a total of \$50,000,000 under this section; 33 (2) each separate investment vehicle must commit 50 percent 34 or more of its assets to investments in Minnesota early stage 35 companies; (3) the board's investment may not exceed 50 percent of the 36 168 Article 2 Section 41

[REVISOR] CMR/CA 05-4113 04/27/05 total investment in an investment vehicle; 1 (4) no new investment vehicles may be purchased after June 2 30, 2008; and 3 (5) the board may reinvest returns from investments made 4 5 under this section. The board may set evaluation criteria for investment 6 vehicles and fund managers of investments under this section 7 different from those it uses for other investments. 8 (c) This section expires August 1, 2019. 9 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective the day 10 following final enactment. 11 Sec. 42. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 129D.02, 12 subdivision 3, is amended to read: 13 Subd. 3. [COMPENSATION.] Members shall be compensated at 14 15 the-rate-of-\$35-per-day-spent-on-board-activities---In-addition; members-shall-receive-reimbursement-for-expenses-in-the-same 16 manner-and-amount-as-state-employees---Employees-of-the-state-or 17 its-political-subdivisions-shall-not-be-entitled-to-the-per 18 diem,-but-they-shall-suffer-no-loss-in-compensation-or-benefits 19 as-a-result-of-service-on-the-board---Members-not-entitled-to 20 21 the-per-diem-shall-receive-expenses-as-provided-in-this subdivision-unless-the-expenses-are-reimbursed-from-another 22 23 source as provided in section 15.0575, subdivision 3. 24 Sec. 43. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 176.136, 25 subdivision la, is amended to read: Subd. la. [RELATIVE VALUE FEE SCHEDULE.] The liability of 26 an employer for services included in the medical fee schedule is 27 limited to the maximum fee allowed by the schedule in effect on 28 29 the date of the medical service, or the provider's actual fee, 30 whichever is lower. The medical fee schedule effective on October 1, 1991, remains in effect until the commissioner adopts 31 32 a new schedule by permanent rule. The commissioner shall adopt permanent rules regulating fees allowable for medical, 33 34 chiropractic, podiatric, surgical, and other health care 35 provider treatment or service, including those provided to 36 hospital outpatients, by implementing a relative value fee

Article 2 Section 43

169

schedule to be effective on October 1, 1993. The commissioner 1 may adopt by reference the relative value fee schedule adopted 2 for the federal Medicare program or a relative value fee 3 schedule adopted by other federal or state agencies. The 4 relative value fee schedule must may contain reasonable 5 classifications including, but not limited to, classifications 6 that differentiate among health care provider disciplines. The 7 conversion-factors-for-the-original-relative-value-fee-schedule 8. must-reasonably-reflect-a-15-percent-overall-reduction-from-the 9 medical-fee-schedule-most-recently-in-effect---The-reduction 10 need-not-be-applied-equally-to-all-treatment-or-services,-but 11 12 must-represent-a-gross-15-percent-reduction The rules must provide that chiropractors and physical therapists have the same 13 14 provider group designation as medical physicians and have the 15 same maximum fee allowed as medical physicians for the same

16 patient interventions.

17 After permanent rules have been adopted to implement this 18 section, the conversion factors must be adjusted annually on 19 October 1 by no more than the percentage change computed under 20 section 176.645, but without the annual cap provided by that 21 The commissioner shall annually give notice in the section. 22 State Register of the adjusted conversion factors and may also 23 give annual notice of any additions, deletions, or changes to 24 the relative value units or service codes adopted by the federal 25 Medicare program. The relative value units may be statistically 26 adjusted in the same manner as for the original workers' 27 compensation relative value fee schedule. The notices of the adjusted conversion factors and additions, deletions, or changes 28 29 to the relative value units and service codes is in lieu of the 30 requirements of chapter 14. The commissioner shall follow the 31 requirements of section 14.386, paragraph (a). The annual 32 adjustments to the conversion factors and the medical fee 33 schedules adopted under this section, including all previous fee 34 schedules, are not subject to expiration under section 14.386, 35 paragraph (b).

36

6 Sec. 44. [181.722] [MISREPRESENTATION OF EMPLOYMENT

Article	2	Section	44	170
---------	---	---------	----	-----

[REVISOR] CMR/CA 05-4113

0	4/	2	7	/	0	5
---	----	---	---	---	---	---

1	RELATIONSHIP PROHIBITED.]
2	Subdivision 1. [PROHIBITION.] No employer shall
3	misrepresent the nature of its employment relationship with its
4	employees to any federal, state, or local government unit, to
5	other employers or to its employees. An employer misrepresents
6	the nature of its employment relationship with its employees if
7	it makes any statement regarding the nature of the relationship
8	that the employer knows or has reason to know is untrue and if
9	it fails to report individuals as employees when legally
10	required to do so.
11	Subd. 2. [AGREEMENTS TO MISCLASSIFY PROHIBITED.] NO
12	employer shall require or request any employee to enter into any
13	agreement, or sign any document, that results in
14	misclassification of the employee as an independent contractor
15	or otherwise does not accurately reflect the employment
16	relationship with the employer.
17	Subd. 3. [DETERMINATION OF EMPLOYMENT RELATIONSHIP.] For
18	purposes of this section, the nature of an employment
19	relationship is determined using the same tests and in the same
20	manner as employee status is determined under the applicable
21	workers' compensation and unemployment insurance program laws
22	and rules.
23	Subd. 4. [REPORTING OF VIOLATIONS.] Any court finding that
24	a violation of this section has occurred shall transmit a copy
25	of the documentation of the finding to the commissioner of labor
26	and industry. The commissioner of labor and industry shall
27	report the finding to relevant state and federal agencies,
28	including at least the commissioner of commerce, the
29	commissioner of employment and economic development, the
30	commissioner of revenue, the federal Internal Revenue Service,
31	and the United States Department of Labor.
32	Subd. 5. [CIVIL REMEDY.] An individual not a contractor
33	injured by a violation of this section may bring an action for
34	damages against the violator. The court may award attorney
35	fees, costs, and disbursements to a party recovering under this
36	section. If the individual injured is an employee of the

[REVISOR] CMR/CA 05-4113

1	violator of this section, the employee's representative, as
2	defined in section 179.01, subdivision 5, may bring an action
3	for damages against the violator on behalf of the employee.
4	Sec. 45. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 183.41, is
5	amended by adding a subdivision to read:
6	Subd. 4. [ANNUAL PERMIT.] The commissioner shall issue an
7	annual permit to a boat for the purpose of carrying passengers
8	for hire on the inland waters of the state provided the boat
9	satisfies the inspection requirements of this section. A boat
10	subject to inspection under this chapter shall be registered
11	with the Division of Boiler Inspection and shall be inspected
12	before a permit may be issued.
13	Sec. 46. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 183.411,
14	subdivision 2a, is amended to read:
15	Subd. 2a. [INSPECTION FEES.] The commissioner-may-set-fees
16	fee for inspecting traction engines, show boilers, and show
17	engines shall be the hourly rate pursuant to section
18	16A.1285 <u>183.545, subdivision 3a</u> .
19	Sec. 47. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 183.411,
20	subdivision 3, is amended to read:
21	Subd. 3. [LICENSES.] A license to operate steam farm
22	traction engines, portable and stationary show engines and
23	portable and stationary show boilers shall be issued to an
24	applicant who:
25	(a) <u>(l)</u> is 18 years of age or older;
26	(b) (2) has a licensed second class or higher class
27	engineer or steam traction (hobby) engineer sign the affidavit
28	attesting to the applicant's competence in operating said
29	devices;
30	(c) (3) passes a written test for competence in operating
31	said devices;
32	(d) (4) has at least 25 hours of actual operating
33	experience on said devices; and
34	(e) (5) pays the required fee.
35	A license shall be valid for the lifetime of the licensee.
36	A onetime fee set-by-the-commissioner pursuant to section

Article 2 Section 47 172

1 ±6A-±285 183.545, subdivision 4, shall be charged for the 2 license.

3 Sec. 48. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 183.42, is 4 amended to read:

5

183.42 [INSPECTION EACH-YEAR AND REGISTRATION.]

Subdivision 1. [INSPECTION.] Every owner, lessee, or other 6 person having charge of boilers, or pressure vessels, or any 7 boat subject to inspection under this chapter shall cause them 8 to be inspected by the Division of Boiler Inspection. 9 Boilers and-boats subject to inspection under this chapter must 10 be inspected at least annually and pressure vessels inspected at 11 least every two years except as provided under section 12 183.45. A-person-who-fails-to-have-the-inspection-required-by 13 this-section-shall-pay-to-the-commissioner-a-penalty-in-the 14 amount-of-the-cost-of-inspection-up-to-a-maximum-of-\$17000. 15 The 16 commissioner shall assess a \$250 penalty per applicable boiler 17 or pressure vessel for failure to have the inspection required 18 by this section and may seal the boiler or pressure vessel for refusal to allow an inspection as required by this section. 19 20 Subd. 2. [REGISTRATION.] Every owner, lessee, or other person having charge of boilers or pressure vessels subject to 21 22 inspection under this chapter shall register said objects with 23 the Division of Boiler Inspection. The registration shall be renewed annually and is applicable to each object separately. 24 25 The fee for registration of a boiler or pressure vessel shall be pursuant to section 183.545, subdivision 10. The Division of 26 27 Boiler Inspection may issue a billing statement for each boiler 28 and pressure vessel on record with the division, and may 29 determine a monthly schedule of billings to be followed for 30 owners, lessees, or other persons having charge of a boiler or 31 pressure vessel subject to inspection under this chapter. Subd. 3. [CERTIFICATE OF REGISTRATION.] The Division of 32 33 Boiler Inspection shall issue a certificate of registration that lists the boilers and pressure vessels at the location, 34 35 expiration date of the certificate of registration, last

36 inspection date of each boiler and pressure vessel, and maximum

[REVISOR] CMR/CA 05-4113

allowable working pressure for each boiler and pressure vessel. 1 The commissioner may make an electronic certificate of 2 registration available to be printed by the owner, lessee, or 3 other person having charge of the boiler or pressure vessel. 4 Sec. 49. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 183.44, 5 subdivision 1, is amended to read: 6 Subdivision 1. [MASTERS AND PILOTS.] The Division-of 7 Boiler-Inspection commissioner or the commissioner's designee 8 shall examine all masters and pilots of boats and vessels 9 carrying passengers for hire on the inland waters of the state 10 as to their qualifications and fitness. If found trustworthy 11 qualified and competent to perform their duties as a master or 12 pilot of a boat carrying passengers for hire, they shall be 13 given issued a certificate license authorizing them to act as 14 such on the inland waters of the state. The license shall be 15 renewed annually. Fees for the original issue and renewal of 16 the license authorized under this section shall be pursuant to 17 18 section 183.545, subdivision 2. 19 Sec. 50. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 183.51, 20 subdivision 2, is amended to read: 21 Subd. 2. [APPLICATIONS.] Any person who desires an 22 engineer's license shall make submit a written application, on 23 blanks furnished by the inspector -- The-person-shall-also 24 successfully-pass-a-written-examination-for-such-grade-of 25 license-applied-for commissioner or designee, at least 15 days before the requested exam date. The application is valid for 26 one year from the date the commissioner or designee received the 27 28 application. 29 Sec. 51. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 183.51, is 30 amended by adding a subdivision to read: 31 Subd. 2a. [EXAMINATIONS.] Each applicant for a license 32 must pass an examination approved by the commissioner. The 33 examinations shall be of sufficient scope to establish the 34 competency of the applicant to operate a boiler of the 35 applicable license class and grade. Sec. 52. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 183.545, is 36

Article 2 Section 52 174

[REVISOR] CMR/CA 05-4113

1	amended to read:							
2	183.545 [FEES FOR INSPECTION.]							
3	Subdivision 1. [FEE AMOUNT; VESSELS OPERATED ON INLAND							
4	WATERS.] The fees for the inspection of the hull, boiler,							
5	machinery, and equipments of vessels are-to-be-set-by-the							
6	commissioner-pursuant-to-section-16A-12857-for-vessels-of-50							
7	tons-burden-or-over-and-vessels-of-less-than-50-tons							
8	burden. operated on inland waters and that carry passengers for							
9	hire are as follows:							
10	(1) annual operating permit and safety inspections shall be							
11	\$200; and							
12	(2) other inspections, including dry-dock inspections, boat							
13	stability tests, and plan reviews, are billed at the hourly rate							
14	set in subdivision 3a.							
15	Subd. 2. [FEE AMOUNTS; MASTERS AND-PHOTS.] The							
16	commissioner-shall;-pursuant-to-section-16A.1285;-set							
17	the license and application fee for an-examination-of-an							
18	applicant-for a master's or-pilot's license is \$50, for-an or							
19	\$20 if the applicant possesses a valid, unlimited, current							
20	United States Coast Guard master's or pilot's license. The							
21	annual renewal of a master's or-a-pilot's license-and-for-an is							
22	<u>\$20. The</u> annual renewal if paid later than ten <u>30</u> days after							
23	expiration is \$35. The fee for replacement of a current, valid							
24	license is \$20.							
25	Subd. 3. [BOILER AND PRESSURE VESSEL INSPECTION FEES.] The							
26	fees for the annual inspection of boilers and biennial							
27	inspection of pressure vessels are to-be-set-by-the-commissioner							
28	pursuant-to-section-16A-12857-for as follows:							
29	<pre>(a) (1) boiler inaccessible for internal inspection, \$55;</pre>							
30	(b) (2) boiler accessible for internal inspection, \$55;							
31	(c) (3) boiler internal inspection over 2,000 square feet							
32	heating surface shall be billed at the hourly rate set in							
33	subdivision 3a;							
34	(d)-boiler-internal-inspection-over-4,000-square-feet							
35	heating-surface;							
36	(e)-boiler-internal-inspection-over-10,000-square-feet							
Art	ticle 2 Section 52 175							

[REVISOR] CMR/CA 05-4113

~		1	~	-	1	^	-
0	4	/	Z	7	/	υ	5

heating-surface; 1 (f) (4) boiler accessible for internal inspection requiring 2 one-half day or more of inspection time shall be billed at the 3 established-shop-inspection-fee hourly rate set in subdivision 4 5 <u>3a;</u> (5) pressure vessel for internal inspection via manhole 6 , \$35; and 7 (h) (6) pressure vessel inaccessible for internal 8 inspection, \$35. 9 10 An-additional-fee-based-on-the-scale-of-fees-applicable-to an-inspection-shall-be-charged-when-it-is-necessary-to-make-a 11 special-trip-for-a-hydrostatic-test-of-a-boiler-or-pressure 12 13 vessel-Subd. 3a. [HOURLY RATE.] The commissioner-shall-pursuant 14 15 to-section-16A-12857-set-shop-inspection-fees hourly rate for an 16 inspection not set elsewhere in this chapter is \$80 per hour. Inspection time includes all time related to the shop 17 18 inspection. Travel time, billed at the hourly rate, and travel 19 expenses shall be billed for shop inspections, triennial audits, boat stability tests, hydrostatic tests of a boiler or pressure 20 21 vessel, or any other inspection or consultation requiring a 22 special trip. 23 Subd. 4. [APPLHCANTS BOILER ENGINEER LICENSE FEES.] The 24 commissioner-shall,-pursuant-to-section-16A-12857-set-the-fee 25 for-an-examination-of-an-applicant For the following licenses, the nonrefundable license and application fee is: 26 27 (1) chief engineer's license, \$50; 28 (b) (2) first class engineer's license, \$50; 29 (3) second class engineer's license, \$50; 30 (d) special engineer's license, \$20; and 31 (c) traction or hobby boiler engineer's license;-and, 32 \$50. 33 (f)-pilot's-license-34 If-an-applicant,-after-an-examination,-is-entitled-to 35 receive-a-license,-it-shall-be-issued-without-the-payment-of-any 36 additional-charge---Any-license-so-issued-expires-one-year-after Section 52 176

Article 2

6

the-date-of-its-issuance. An engineer's license may be renewed 1 upon application therefor and the payment of an annual renewal 2 fee as-set-by-the-commissioner-pursuant-to-section-16A-1285 of 3 \$20. The annual renewal, if paid later than 30 days after 4 expiration, is \$35. The fee for replacement of a current, valid 5 license is \$20.

Subd. 6. [NATIONAL BOARD INSPECTORS.] The fee for an 7 examination of an applicant for a National Board of Boiler and 8 Pressure Vessels Inspectors commission shall-be-set-by-the 9 commissioner-pursuant-to-section-16A-1285 is \$100. 10

Subd. 7. [NUCLEAR ENDORSEMENT.] The fee for each 11 examination of an applicant for a National Board of Boiler and 12 Pressure Vessels commissioned inspectors nuclear endorsement 13 shall-be-set-by-the-commissioner-pursuant-to-section-16A-1285 is 14 \$100. 15

Subd. 8. [CERTIFICATE OF COMPETENCY.] The fee for issuance 16 of the original state of Minnesota certificate of competency for 17 inspectors shall-be-set-by-the-commissioner-pursuant-to-section 18 16A-1285 is \$50. This fee is waived for inspectors who paid the 19 examination fee. The fee for an annual renewal of the state of 20 Minnesota certificate of competency shall-be-set-by-the 21 22 commissioner-pursuant-to-section-16A-1285 is \$35, and is due 23 January 1 of each year. The fee for replacement of a current, 24 valid license is \$35.

Subd. 9. [DEPOSIT OF FEES.] Fees received under this 25 section and-section-183-57 must be deposited in the state 26 treasury and credited to the general fund. 27

Subd. 10. [BOILER AND PRESSURE VESSEL REGISTRATION 28 29 FEE.] The annual registration fee for boilers and pressure 30 vessels in use and required to be inspected per section 183.42 shall be \$10 per boiler and pressure vessel. 31

32 Sec. 53. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 183.57, is amended to read: 33

183.57 [REPORT OF INSURER; EXEMPTION FROM INSPECTION.] 34 35 Subdivision 1. [REPORT REQUIRED.] Any insurance company insuring boilers and pressure vessels in this state shall make-a 36

Article 2 Section 53

177

written file a report thereof showing the date of inspection, 1 the name of the person making the inspection, the condition of 2 the boiler or pressure vessel as disclosed by the inspection, 3 whether the same-is boiler was operated by a properly licensed 4 engineer, and whether a policy of insurance has been issued by 5 the company with reference to the boiler or pressure vessel, and 6 other information as directed by the chief boiler inspector. 7 Within 15 21 days after the inspection, the insurance company 8 shall mail-a-copy-of file the report to with the chief boiler 9 inspector and or designee. The insurer shall provide a copy of 10 11 the report to the person, firm, or corporation owning or operating the inspected boiler or pressure vessel inspected. 12 Such report shall be made annually for boilers and biennially 13 14 for pressure vessels.

Subd. 2. [EXEMPTION.] Every boiler or pressure vessel as 15 to which any insurance company authorized to do business in this 16 17 state has issued a policy of insurance, after the inspection thereof, is exempt from inspection by the department made under 18 sections 183.375 to 183.62, while the same continues to be 19 20 insured and provided it continues to be inspected in accordance with the inspection schedule set forth in sections 183.42 and 21 22 183.45, and the person, firm, or corporation owning or operating 23 the same has an unexpired certificate of exemption-from inspection7-issued-by-the-chief-boiler 24

25 inspector registration. The-fee-set-by-the-commissioner 26 pursuant-to-section-16A-12857-on-the-first-object-inspected-and 27 on-each-object-thereafter-shall-apply-to-each-exempt-object---A certificate-of-exemption-expires-one-year-from-date-of-issue-28 29 The-certificate-of-exemption-shall-be-posted-in-a-conspicuous 30 place-near-the-boiler-or-pressure-vessel-or-in-the-plant-office 31 or-boiler-room-described-therein-and-to-which-it-relates---Every 32 insurance-company-shall-give-written-notice-to-the-chief-boiler inspector-of-the-cancellation-or-expiration-of-every-policy-of 33 34 insurance-issued-by-it-with-reference-to-policies-in-this-state; and-the-cause-or-reason-for-the-cancellation-or-expiration-35 These-notices-of-cancellation-or-expiration-shall-show-the-date 36

Article 2 Section 53 178

of-the-policy-and-the-date-when-the-cancellation-has-or-will 1 become-effective-2 Subd--4---{CERTIFICATE-OF-EXEMPTION-}-The-Division-of 3 Boiler-Inspection-may-issue-a-billing-and-exemption-certificate 4 for-each-boiler-and-pressure-vessel-which-the-division-records 5 indicate-shall-be-or-has-been-inspected-by-an-insurance-company 6 which-is-providing-coverage-for-the-boilers-and-pressure 7 vessels --- The-division-may-determine-the-monthly-schedule-of-the 8 billings-to-be-followed-for-each-business-insured-9 Subd. 5. [NOTICE OF INSURANCE COVERAGE.] The insurer shall 10 notify the commissioner or designee in writing of its policy to 11 insure and inspect boilers and pressure vessels at a location 12 within 30 days of the effective date of insurance coverage, 13 including binders. The insurer must also provide a duplicate of 14 15 the notification to the insured. Subd. 6. [NOTICE OF DISCONTINUED COVERAGE.] The insurer 16 17 shall notify the commissioner or designee in writing, within 30 days of the effective date, of the discontinuation of insurance 18 19 coverage of the boilers and pressure vessels at a location and the cause or reason for the discontinuation. This notice shall 20 21 show the effective date when the discontinued policy takes effect. 22 Subd. 7. [PENALTIES.] The commissioner shall assess upon 23 24 the insurer a \$50 penalty, per applicable boiler and pressure vessel, for failing to submit an inspection report or notify the 25 26 commissioner of insurance coverage or discontinuation of insurance coverage as set forth in this section. The 27 commissioner shall assess upon the insurer a penalty of \$100, 28 29 per applicable boiler and pressure vessel, for failing to 30 conduct the required in-service inspection within 120 days after the inspection was due in accordance with section 183.42. 31 Sec. 54. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 216B.2424, 32 33 subdivision 1, is amended to read: 34 Subdivision 1. [FARM-GROWN CLOSED-LOOP BIOMASS.] (a) For the purposes of this section, "farm-grown closed-loop biomass" 35 means biomass, as defined in section 216C.051, subdivision 7, 36

1 that:

(1) is intentionally cultivated, harvested, and prepared 2 for use, in whole or in part, as a fuel for the generation of 3 electricity; 4

(2) when combusted, releases an amount of carbon dioxide 5 that is less than or approximately equal to the carbon dioxide 6 absorbed by the biomass fuel during its growing cycle; and 7

(3) is fired in a new or substantially retrofitted electric 8 generating facility that is: 9

(i) located within 400 miles of the site of the biomass 10 production; and 11

(ii) designed to use biomass to meet at least 75 percent of 12 13 its fuel requirements.

(b) The legislature finds that the negative environmental 14 impacts within 400 miles of the facility resulting from 15 16 transporting and combusting the biomass are offset in that 17 region by the environmental benefits to air, soil, and water of the biomass production. 18

19 (c) Among the biomass fuel sources that meet the requirements of paragraph (a), clause clauses (1) and (2) are 20 21 poplar, aspen, willow, switch grass, sorghum, alfalfa, and 22 cultivated prairie grass and sustainably managed woody biomass. 23 (d) For the purpose of this section, "sustainably managed

24 woody biomass" means:

25 (1) brush, trees, and other biomass harvested from within designated utility, railroad, and road rights-of-way; 26

27 (2) upland and lowland brush harvested from lands

28 incorporated into brushland habitat management activities of the

29 Minnesota Department of Natural Resources;

30 (3) upland and lowland brush harvested from lands managed 31 in accordance with Minnesota Department of Natural Resources

32 "Best Management Practices for Managing Brushlands";

33 (4) logging slash or waste wood that is created by harvest, 34 precommercial timber stand improvement to meet silvicultural

objectives, or by fire, disease, or insect control treatments, 35

and that is managed in compliance with the Minnesota Forest 36

1	Resources Council's "Sustaining Minnesota Forest Resources:
2	Voluntary Site-Level Forest Management Guidelines for
3	Landowners, Loggers and Resource Managers" as modified by the
4	requirement of this subdivision; and
5	(5) trees or parts of trees that do not meet the
6	utilization standards for pulpwood, posts, bolts, or sawtimber
7	as described in the Minnesota Department of Natural Resources
8	Division of Forestry Timber Sales Manual, 1998, as amended as of
9	May 1, 2005, and the Minnesota Department of Natural Resources
10	Timber Scaling Manual, 1981, as amended as of May 1, 2005,
11	except as provided in paragraph (a), clause (1), and this
12	paragraph, clauses (1) to (3).
13	Sec. 55. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 216B.2424, is
14	amended by adding a subdivision to read:
15	Subd. la. [MUNICIPAL WASTE-TO-ENERGY PROJECT.] (a) This
16	subdivision applies only to a biomass project owned or
17	controlled, directly or indirectly, by two municipal utilities
18	as described in subdivision 5a, paragraph (b).
19	(b) Woody biomass from state-owned land must be harvested
20	in compliance with an adopted management plan and a program of
21	ecologically based third-party certification.
22	(c) The project must prepare a fuel plan on an annual basis
23	after commercial operation of the project as described in the
24	power contract between the project and the public utility, and
25	must also prepare annually certificates reflecting the types of
26	fuel used in the preceding year by the project, as described in
27	the power contract. The fuel plans and certificates shall also
28	be filed with the Minnesota Department of Natural Resources and
29	the Minnesota Department of Commerce within 30 days after being
30	provided to the public utility, as provided by the power
31	contract. Any person who believes the fuel plans, as amended,
32	and certificates show that the project does not or will not
33	comply with the fuel requirements of this subdivision may file a
34	petition with the commission seeking such a determination.
35	(d) The wood procurement process must utilize third-party
36	audit certification systems to verify that applicable best

Article 2 Section 55

1	management practices were utilized in the procurement of the
2	sustainably managed biomass. If there is a failure to so verify
3	in any two consecutive years during the original contract term,
4	the farm-grown closed-loop biomass requirements of subdivision 2
5	must be increased to 50 percent for the remaining contract term
6	period; however, if in two consecutive subsequent years after
7	the increase has been implemented, it is verified that the
8	conditions in this subdivision have been met, then for the
9	remaining original contract term the closed-loop biomass mandate
10	reverts to 25 percent. If there is a subsequent failure to
11	verify in a year after the first failure and implementation of
12	the 50 percent requirement, then the closed-loop percentage
13	shall remain at 50 percent for each remaining year of the
14	contract term.
15	(e) In the closed-loop plantation, no transgenic plants may
16	be used.
17	(f) No wood may be harvested from any lands identified by
18	the final or preliminary Minnesota County Biological Survey as
19	having statewide significance as native plant communities, large
20	populations or concentrations of rare species, or critical
21	animal habitat.
22	(g) A wood procurement plan must be prepared every five
23	years and public meetings must be held and written comments
24	taken on the plan and documentation must be provided on why or
25	why not the public inputs were used.
26	(h) Guidelines or best management practices for sustainably
27	managed woody biomass must be adopted by:
28	(1) the Minnesota Department of Natural Resources for
29	managing and maintaining brushland and open land habitat on
30	public and private lands, including, but not limited to,
31	provisions of sections 84.941, 84.942, and 97A.125; and
32	(2) the Minnesota Forest Resources Council for logging
33.	slash, using the most recent available scientific information
34	regarding the removal of woody biomass from forest lands, to
35	sustain the management of forest resources as defined by section
36	89.001, subdivisions 8 and 9, with particular attention to soil
Π	ticle 2 Contion FF 192

productivity, biological diversity as defined by section 89A.01, 1 subdivision 3, and wildlife habitat. 2 These guidelines must be completed by July 1, 2007, and the 3 process of developing them must incorporate public notification 4 5 and comment. 6 (i) The University of Minnesota Initiative for Renewable Energy and the Environment is encouraged to solicit and fund 7 high-quality research projects to develop and consolidate 8 scientific information regarding the removal of woody biomass 9 from forest and brush lands, with particular attention to the 10 environmental impacts on soil productivity, biological 11 diversity, and sequestration of carbon. The results of this 12 13 research shall be made available to the public. 14 (j) The two utilities owning or controlling, directly or 15 indirectly, the biomass project described in subdivision 5a, 16 paragraph (b), shall fund or obtain funding from nonstate 17 sources of up to \$150,000 to complete the guidelines or best 18 management practices described in paragraph (h). The expenditures to be funded under this paragraph do not include 19 20 any of the expenditures to be funded under paragraph (i). Sec. 56. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 216B.2424, 21 22 subdivision 2, is amended to read: 23 Subd. 2. [INTERIM EXEMPTION.] (a) A biomass project 24 proposing to use, as its primary fuel over the life of the 25 project, short-rotation woody crops, may use as an interim fuel 26 agricultural waste and other biomass which is not farm-grown closed-loop biomass for up to six years after the project's 27 28 electric generating facility becomes operational; provided, the 29 project developer demonstrates the project will use the 30 designated short-rotation woody crops as its primary fuel after the interim period and provided the location of the interim fuel 31 32 production meets the requirements of subdivision 1, paragraph 33 (a), clause (3). 34 (b) A biomass project proposing to use, as its primary fuel

35 over the life of the project, short-rotation woody crops, may 36 use as an interim fuel agricultural waste and other biomass

which is not farm-grown closed-loop biomass for up to three
 years after the project's electric generating facility becomes
 operational; provided, the project developer demonstrates the
 project will use the designated short-rotation woody crops as
 its primary fuel after the interim period.

(c) A biomass project that uses an interim fuel under the 6 terms of paragraph (b) may, in addition, use an interim fuel 7 under the terms of paragraph (a) for six years less the number 8 of years that an interim fuel was used under paragraph (b). 9 10 (d) A project developer proposing to use an exempt interim fuel under paragraphs (a) and (b) must demonstrate to the public 11 utility that the project will have an adequate supply of 12 short-rotation woody crops which meet the requirements of 13 subdivision 1 to fuel the project after the interim period. 14 15 (e) If a biomass project using an interim fuel under this subdivision is or becomes owned or controlled, directly or 16 17 indirectly, by two municipal utilities as described in subdivision 5a, paragraph (b), the project is deemed to comply 18 with the requirement under this subdivision to use farm-grown 19 20 closed-loop biomass as its primary fuel if farm-grown 21 closed-loop biomass comprises no less than 25 percent of the 22 fuel used over the life of the project. For purposes of this subdivision, "life of the project" means 20 years from the date 23 24 the project becomes operational or the term of the applicable 25 power purchase agreement between the project owner and the public utility, whichever is longer. 26 Sec. 57. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 216B.2424, 27

28 subdivision 5a, is amended to read:

Subd. 5a. [REDUCTION OF BIOMASS MANDATE.] (a)
Notwithstanding subdivision 5, the biomass electric energy
mandate shall must be reduced from 125 megawatts to 110
megawatts.

33 (b) The Public Utilities Commission shall approve a request
34 pending before the Public-Utilities commission as of May 15,
35 2003, for an-amendment <u>amendments to</u> and assignment of a
36 contract-for-power-from power purchase agreement with the owner

Article 2 Section 57 184

04/27/05

of a facility that uses short-rotation, woody crops as its 1 primary fuel previously approved to satisfy a portion of the 2 biomass mandate if the developer owner of the project agrees to 3 reduce the size of its project from 50 megawatts to 35 4 megawatts, while maintaining a an average price for energy at-or 5 below-the-current-contract-price- in nominal dollars measured 6 over the term of the power purchase agreement at or below \$104 7 8 per megawatt-hour, exclusive of any price adjustments that may take effect subsequent to commission approval of the power 9 purchase agreement, as amended. The commission shall also 10 approve, as necessary, any subsequent assignment or sale of the 11 power purchase agreement or ownership of the project to an 12 entity owned or controlled, directly or indirectly, by two 13 14 municipal utilities located north of Constitutional Route No. 8, 15 as described in section 161.114, which currently own electric and steam generation facilities using coal as a fuel and which 16 17 propose to retrofit their existing municipal electrical 18 generating facilities to utilize biomass fuels in order to 19 perform the power purchase agreement. 20 (c) If the power purchase agreement described in paragraph 21 (b) is assigned to an entity that is, or becomes, owned or controlled, directly or indirectly, by two municipal entities as 22 23 described in paragraph (b), and the power purchase agreement 24 meets the price requirements of paragraph (b), the commission 25 shall approve any amendments to the power purchase agreement 26 necessary to reflect the changes in project location and 27 ownership and any other amendments made necessary by those 28 changes. The commission shall also specifically find that: 29 (1) the power purchase agreement complies with and fully 30 satisfies the provisions of this section to the full extent of 31 its 35-megawatt capacity; 32 (2) all costs incurred by the public utility and all 33 amounts to be paid by the public utility to the project owner 34 under the terms of the power purchase agreement are fully 35 recoverable pursuant to section 216B.1645; 36 (3) subject to prudency review by the commission, the

[REVISOR] CMR/CA 05-4113

public utility may recover from its Minnesota retail customers
the Minnesota jurisdictional portion of the amounts that may be
incurred and paid by the public utility during the full term of
the power purchase agreement; and

(4) if the purchase power agreement meets the requirements 5 of this subdivision, it is reasonable and in the public interest. 6 (d) The commission shall specifically approve recovery by 7 the public utility of any and all Minnesota jurisdictional costs 8 9 incurred by the public utility to improve, construct, install, or upgrade transmission, distribution, or other electrical 10 facilities owned by the public utility or other persons in order 11 to permit interconnection of the retrofitted biomass-fueled 12 13 generating facilities or to obtain transmission service for the 14 energy provided by the facilities to the public utility pursuant 15 to section 216B.1645, and shall disapprove any provision in the 16 power purchase agreement that requires the developer or owner of 17 the project to pay the jurisdictional costs or that permit the 18 public utility to terminate the power purchase agreement as a 19 result of the existence of those costs or the public utility's 20 obligation to pay any or all of those costs.

Sec. 58. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 216B.2424,
subdivision 6, is amended to read:

23 Subd. 6. [REMAINING MEGAWATT COMPLIANCE PROCESS.] (a) If 24 there remain megawatts of biomass power generating capacity to fulfill the mandate in subdivision 5 after the commission has 25 26 taken final action on all contracts filed by September 1, 2000, 27 by a public utility, as amended and assigned, this subdivision governs final compliance with the biomass energy mandate in 28 29 subdivision 5 subject to the requirements of subdivisions 7 and 30 8.

31 (b) To the extent not inconsistent with this subdivision, 32 the provisions of subdivisions 2, 3, 4, and 5 apply to proposals 33 subject to this subdivision.

34 (c) A public utility must submit proposals to the
35 commission to complete the biomass mandate. The commission
36 shall require a public utility subject to this section to issue

a request for competitive proposals for projects for electric 1 generation utilizing biomass as defined in paragraph (f) of this 2 subdivision to provide the remaining megawatts of the mandate. 3 The commission shall set an expedited schedule for submission of 4 proposals to the utility, selection by the utility of proposals 5 or projects, negotiation of contracts, and review by the 6 commission of the contracts or projects submitted by the utility 7 8 to the commission.

(d) Notwithstanding the provisions of subdivisions 1 to 5 9 10 but subject to the provisions of subdivisions 7 and 8, a new or existing facility proposed under this subdivision that is fueled 11 12 either by biomass or by co-firing biomass with nonbiomass may satisfy the mandate in this section. Such a facility need not 13 use biomass that complies with the definition in subdivision 1 14 15 if it uses biomass as defined in paragraph (f) of this subdivision. Generating capacity produced by co-firing of 16 biomass that is operational as of April 25, 2000, does not meet 17 the requirements of the mandate, except that additional 18 co-firing capacity added at an existing facility after April 25, 19 20 2000, may be used to satisfy this mandate. Only the number of megawatts of capacity at a facility which co-fires biomass that 21 22 are directly attributable to the biomass and that become operational after April 25, 2000, count toward meeting the 23 biomass mandate in this section. 24

(e) Nothing in this subdivision precludes a facility
proposed and approved under this subdivision from using fuel
sources that are not biomass in compliance with subdivision 3.

(f) Notwithstanding the provisions of subdivision 1, for proposals subject to this subdivision, "biomass" includes farm-grown closed-loop biomass; agricultural wastes, including animal, poultry, and plant wastes; and waste wood, including chipped wood, bark, brush, residue wood, and sawdust.

33 (g) Nothing in this subdivision affects in any way 34 contracts entered into as of April 25, 2000, to satisfy the 35 mandate in subdivision 5.

36 (h) Nothing in this subdivision requires a public utility

04/27/05

1 to retrofit its own power plants for the purpose of co-firing
2 biomass fuel, nor is a utility prohibited from retrofitting its
3 own power plants for the purpose of co-firing biomass fuel to
4 meet the requirements of this subdivision.

5 Sec. 59. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 216B.2424, 6 subdivision 8, is amended to read:

Subd. 8. [AGRICULTURAL BIOMASS REQUIREMENT.] Of the 125 7 megawatts mandated in subdivision 5, or 110 megawatts mandated 8 in subdivision 5a, at least 75 megawatts of the generating 9 capacity must be generated by facilities that use agricultural 10 biomass as the principal fuel source. For purposes of this 11 subdivision, agricultural biomass includes only farm-grown 12 closed-loop biomass and agricultural waste, including animal, 13 poultry, and plant wastes. For purposes of this subdivision, 14 15 "principal fuel source" means a fuel source that satisfies at least 75 percent of the fuel requirements of an electric power 16 generating facility. Nothing in this subdivision is intended to 17 expand the fuel source requirements of subdivision 5. 18

19 Sec. 60. [219.552] [OBSTRUCTING TREATMENT OF INJURED
20 WORKER.]

21 It is unlawful for a railroad company or person employed by 22 <u>a railroad company to:</u>

23 (1) deny, delay, or interfere with medical treatment or
24 first aid treatment to an employee of a railroad who has been
25 injured during employment; or

26 (2) discipline or threaten to discipline an employee who
 27 has been injured during employment for requesting medical

28 treatment or first aid treatment.

29 Sec. 61. [219.553] [ENFORCEMENT.]

30 <u>Subdivision 1.</u> [PENALTY.] <u>A person who believes that the</u> 31 person has been affected by a violation of section 219.552 may 32 file a complaint with the commissioner of labor and industry who 33 shall refer it to the Office of Administrative Hearings for 34 consideration as a contested case. Upon finding a violation, 35 the administrative law judge may assess a penalty to the

36 violating railroad company of up to \$10,000 for a violation of

Article 2 Section 61 188

section 219.552. In determining the amount of the penalty, the 1 administrative law judge shall consider those factors that must 2 be considered in determining a monetary penalty under section 3 221.036, subdivision 3. The contents of the order must include 4 the provisions specified in section 221.036, subdivision 4. 5 Subd. 2. [ADMINISTRATIVE HEARING OR JUDICIAL REVIEW.] A 6 railroad company against which a penalty is imposed under 7 subdivision 1 may request judicial review in district court. 8 9 Judicial review under this subdivision is as provided in section 221.036, subdivision 8. 10 Subd. 3. [ENFORCEMENT OF PENALTY.] A penalty ordered under 11 subdivision 1 and due and payable under this section may be 12

13 enforced by the attorney general in the manner provided under section 221.036, subdivision 11. 14

Sec. 62. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 237.11, is 15 16 amended to read:

17

237.11 [INSPECTING RECORDS AND PROPERTY; REPORTS REQUIRED.] 18 Every telephone company subject to the provisions of this 19 chapter, wherever organized, shall keep an office in this state, and make such reports to the department as it shall from time to 20 time require. All books, records, and files, whether they 21 22 relate to competitive or noncompetitive services, and all of its 23 property shall be at all times subject to inspection by the commission and the department. It shall close its accounts and 24 25 take therefrom a balance sheet on December 31 of each year, and on or before May 1 following, such balance sheet, together with 26 27 such other information as the department shall require, verified by an officer of the telephone company, shall be filed with the 28 29 commission and the department, except that a telephone company, 30 competitive local exchange carrier, or independent telephone 31 company is only required to file an annual report that includes the company's name, contact person, annual revenue, and status 32 of it 911 update plan. 33

In the event that any telephone company shall fail to file 34 35 its annual report, as provided by this section, the department 36 is authorized to make such an examination of the books, records,

Article 2

189

Section 62

04/27/05

and vouchers of the company as is necessary to procure the 1 necessary data for the annual report and cause the same to be 2 prepared. The expense of procuring this data and preparing this 3 report shall be paid by the telephone company failing to report, 4 and the amount paid shall be credited by the commissioner of 5 finance to funds appropriated for the expense of the department. 6 The department is authorized to force collection of such 7 sum by an action at law in the name of the department. 8 Sec. 63. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 237.295, 9 subdivision 1, is amended to read: 10 Subdivision 1. [PAYMENT-FOR-INVESTIGATION FILING FEE FOR 11 12 NEW AUTHORITY.] (a)-Whenever-the-department-or-commission7-in-a proceeding-upon-its-own-motion,-on-complaint,-or-upon-an 13 14 application-to-it,-considers-it-necessary,-in-order-to-carry-out 15 the-duties-imposed-on-it,-to-investigate-the-books,-accounts, 16 practices7-and-activities-of-any-company7-parties-to-the 17 proceeding-shall-pay-the-expenses-reasonably-attributable-to-the 18 proceeding---The-department-and-commission-shall-ascertain-the 19 expenses7-and-the-department-shall-render-a-bill-for-those 20 expenses-to-the-parties7-at-the-conclusion-of-the-proceeding. The-department-is-authorized-to-submit-billings-to-parties-at 21 22 intervals-selected-by-the-department-during-the-course-of-a 23 proceeding-24 (b)-The-allocation-of-costs-may-be-adjusted-for-cause-by 25 the-commission-during-the-course-of-the-proceeding,-or-upon-the 26 closing-of-the-docket-and-issuance-of-an-order---In-addition-to 27 the-rights-granted-in-subdivision-37-parties-to-a-proceeding-may 28 object-to-the-allocation-at-any-time-during-the-proceeding-29 Withdrawal-by-a-party-to-a-proceeding-does-not-absolve-the-party 30 from-paying-allocated-costs-as-determined-by-the-commission. 31 The-commission-may-decide-that-a-party-should-not-pay-any 32 allocated-costs-of-the-proceeding. 33 (c)-The-bill-constitutes-notice-of-the-assessment-and-a 34 demand-for-payment --- The-amount-of-the-bills-assessed-by-the 35 department-under-this-subdivision-must-be-paid-by-the-parties into-the-state-treasury-within-30-days-from-the-date-of 36

Article 2 Section 63 190

1 assessment --- The-total-amount -- in-a-calendar-year -- for-which-a telephone-company-may-become-liable7-by-reason-of-costs-incurred 2 by-the-department-and-commission-within-that-calendar-year,-may 3 4 not-exceed-two-fifths-of-one-percent-of-the-gross-jurisdictional operating-revenue-of-the-telephone-company-in-the-last-preceding 5 calendar-year---Direct-charges-may-be-assessed-without-regard-to 6 7 this-limitation-until-the-gross-jurisdictional-operating-revenue of-the-telephone-company-for-the-preceding-calendar-year-has 8 been-reported-for-the-first-time---Where--under-this 9 subdivision7-costs-are-incurred-within-a-calendar-year-that-are 10 in-excess-of-two-fifths-of-one-percent-of-the-gross 11 jurisdictional-operating-revenues7-the-excess-costs-are-not 12 chargeable-as-part-of-the-remainder-under-subdivision-2-13 14 (d)-Except-as-otherwise-provided-in-paragraph-(e),-for purposes-of-assessing-the-cost-of-a-proceeding-to-a-party; 15 "party"-means-any-entity-or-group-subject-to-the-laws-and-rules 16 of-this-state7-however-organized7-whether-public-or-private7 17 18 whether-domestic-or-foreign,-whether-for-profit-or-nonprofit, 19 and-whether-natural,-corporate,-or-political,-such-as-a-business 20 or-commercial-enterprise-organized-as-any-type-or-combination-of 21 corporation,-limited-liability-company,-partnership,-limited 22 liability-partnership7-proprietorship7-association7-cooperative7 23 joint-venture,-carrier,-or-utility,-and-any-successor-or 24 assignee-of-any-of-them;-a-social-or-charitable-organization; 25 and-any-type-or-combination-of-political-subdivision,-which 26 includes-the-executive7-judicial7-or-legislative-branch-of-the 27 state7-a-local-government-unit7-an-agency-of-the-state-or-a 28 local-government-unit,-or-a-combination-of-any-of-them. (e)-For-assessment-and-billing-purposes7-"party"-does-not 29 include-the-Bepartment-of-Commerce-or-the-Residential-Utilities 30 31 Division-of-the-Office-of-Attorney-General;-any-entity-or-group 32 instituted-primarily-for-the-purpose-of-mutual-help-and-not 33 conducted-for-profit;-intervenors-awarded-compensation-under 34 section-237.075,-subdivision-10;-or-any-individual-or-group-or 35 counsel-for-the-individual-or-group-representing-the-interests of-end-users-or-classes-of-end-users-of-services-provided-by 36

Article 2 Section 63

```
191
```

1 telephone-companies-or-telecommunications-carriers7-as

2 determined-by-the-commission An application for a new authority

3 must be accompanied by a payment not to exceed \$2,000 as

4 determined by the Public Utilities Commission. This fee will be
5 reviewed annually and adjusted accordingly.

Sec. 64. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 237.295,
read:

Subd. 2. [ASSESSMENT OF COSTS.] The department and 8 commission shall quarterly, at least 30 days before the start of 9 10 each quarter, estimate the total of their expenditures in the performance of their duties relating to telephone companies, 11 other than amounts chargeable to telephone companies under 12 13 subdivision 1, 5, or 6. The remainder must be assessed by the 14 department to the telephone companies operating in this state in proportion to their respective gross jurisdictional operating 15 16 revenues during the last calendar year. The assessment must be paid into the state treasury within 30 days after the bill has 17 18 been mailed to the telephone companies. The bill constitutes notice of the assessment and demand of payment. The total 19 20 amount that may be assessed to the telephone companies under 21 this subdivision may not exceed one-eighth three-eighths of one 22 percent of the total gross jurisdictional operating revenues 23 during the calendar year. The assessment for the third quarter 24 of each fiscal year must be adjusted to compensate for the 25 amount by which actual expenditures by the commission and department for the preceding fiscal year were more or less than 26 27 the estimated expenditures previously assessed. A telephone 28 company with gross jurisdictional operating revenues of less 29 than \$5,000 is exempt from assessments under this subdivision. 30 Sec. 65. [237.491] [COMBINED PER NUMBER FEE.] Subdivision 1. [DEFINITIONS.] (a) The definitions in this 31 32 subdivision apply to this section.

33 (b) "911 emergency and public safety communications program"
34 means the program governed by chapter 403.

35 (c) "Minnesota telephone number" means a ten-digit
 36 telephone number being used to connect to the public switched

Article 2 Section 65

1	telephone network and starting with area code 218, 320, 507,
2	612, 651, 763, or 952, or any subsequent area code assigned to
3	this state.
4	(d) "Service provider" means a provider doing business in
5	this state who provides real time, two-way voice service with a
6	Minnesota telephone number.
7	(e) "Telecommunications access Minnesota program" means the
8	program governed by sections 237.50 to 237.55.
9	(f) "Telephone assistance program" means the program
10	governed by sections 237.69 to 237.711.
11	Subd. 2. [PER NUMBER FEE.] (a) By January 15, 2006, the
12	commissioner of commerce shall report to the legislature and to
13	the senate Committee on Jobs, Energy, and Community Development
14	and the house Committee on Regulated Industries, recommendations
15	for the amount of and method for assessing a fee that would
16	apply to each service provider based upon the number of
17	Minnesota telephone numbers in use by current customers of the
18	service provider. The fee would be set at a level calculated to
19	generate only the amount of revenue necessary to fund:
20	(1) the telephone assistance program and the
21	telecommunications access Minnesota program at the levels
22	established by the commission under sections 237.52, subdivision
23	2, and 237.70; and
24	(2) the 911 emergency and public safety communications
25	program at the levels appropriated by law to the commissioner of
26	public safety and the commissioner of finance for purposes of
27	sections 403.11, 403.113, 403.27, 403.30, and 403.31 for each
28	fiscal year.
29	(b) The recommendations must include any changes to
30	Minnesota Statutes necessary to establish the procedures whereby
31	each service provider, to the extent allowed under federal law,
32	would collect and remit the fee proceeds to the commissioner of
	would collect and remit the fee proceeds to the commissioner of revenue. The commissioner of revenue would allocate the fee
32 33 34	
33	revenue. The commissioner of revenue would allocate the fee

1	combined per telephone number fee to be collected beginning July
2	1, 2006. The per access line fee used to collect revenues to
3	support the TAP, TAM, and 911 programs remains in effect until
4	the statutory changes necessary to implement the per telephone
5	number fee have become effective.
6	(d) As part of the process of developing the
7	recommendations and preparing the report to the legislature
8	required under paragraph (a), the commissioner of commerce must,
9	at a minimum, consult regularly with the Departments of Public
10	Safety, Finance, and Administration, the Public Utilities
11	Commission, service providers, the chairs and ranking minority
12	members of the senate and house committees, subcommittees, and
13	divisions having jurisdiction over telecommunications and public
14	safety, and other affected parties.
15	Sec. 66. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 237.701,
16	subdivision 1, is amended to read:
17	Subdivision 1. [FUND CREATED; AUTHORIZED EXPENDITURES.]
18	The telephone assistance fund is created as a separate account
19	in the state treasury to consist of amounts received by the
20	commissioner of public safety representing the surcharge
21	authorized by section 237.70, subdivision 6, and amounts earned
22	on the fund assets. Money in the fund may be used only for:
23	(1) reimbursement to local service providers for expenses
24	and credits allowed in section 237.70, subdivision 7, paragraph
25	(d), clause (5);
26	(2) reimbursement of the <u>reasonable</u> administrative expenses
27	of the commission not-to-exceed-\$25,000-annually, a portion of
28	which may be used for periodic promotional activities,
29	including, but not limited to, radio or newspaper
30	advertisements, to inform eligible households of the
31	availability of the telephone assistance program; and
32	(3) reimbursement of the statewide indirect cost of the
33	commission.
34	Sec. 67. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 239.011,
35	subdivision 2, is amended to read:
36	Subd. 2. [DUTIES AND POWERS.] To carry out the

1 responsibilities in section 239.01 and subdivision 1, the
2 director:

3 (1) shall take charge of, keep, and maintain in good order 4 the standard of weights and measures of the state and keep a 5 seal so formed as to impress, when appropriate, the letters 6 "MINN" and the date of sealing upon the weights and measures 7 that are sealed;

8 (2) has general supervision of the weights, measures, and 9 weighing and measuring devices offered for sale, sold, or in use 10 in the state;

11 (3) shall maintain traceability of the state standards to 12 the national standards of the National Institute of Standards 13 and Technology;

14 (4) shall enforce this chapter;

(5) shall grant variances from department rules, within the limits set by rule, when appropriate to maintain good commercial practices or when enforcement of the rules would cause undue hardship;

19 (6) shall conduct investigations to ensure compliance with20 this chapter;

(7) may delegate to division personnel the responsibilities, duties, and powers contained in this section;

(8) shall test annually, and approve when found to be correct, the standards of weights and measures used by the division, by a town, statutory or home rule charter city, or county within the state, or by a person using standards to repair, adjust, or calibrate commercial weights and measures;

(9) shall inspect and test weights and measures kept,
offered, or exposed for sale;

30 (10) shall inspect and test, to ascertain if they are
31 correct, weights and measures commercially used to:

(i) determine the weight, measure, or count of commodities
or things sold, offered, or exposed for sale, on the basis of
weight, measure, or count; and

35 (ii) compute the basic charge or payment for services36 rendered on the basis of weight, measure, or count;

Article 2 Section 67 195

(11) shall approve for use and mark weights and measures
 that are found to be correct;

3 (12) shall reject, and mark as rejected, weights and
4 measures that are found to be incorrect and may seize them if
5 those weights and measures:

6 (i) are not corrected within the time specified by the7 director;

8 (ii) are used or disposed of in a manner not specifically9 authorized by the director; or

10 (iii) are found to be both incorrect and not capable of 11 being made correct, in which case the director shall condemn 12 those weights and measures;

13 (13) shall weigh, measure, or inspect packaged commodities 14 kept, offered, or exposed for sale, sold, or in the process of delivery, to determine whether they contain the amount 15 represented and whether they are kept, offered, or exposed for 16 17 sale in accordance with this chapter and department rules. In 18 carrying out this section, the director must employ recognized 19 sampling procedures, such as those contained in National 20 Institute of Standards and Technology Handbook 133, "Checking 21 the Net Contents of Packaged Goods";

(14) shall prescribe the appropriate term or unit of weight or measure to be used for a specific commodity when an existing term or declaration of quantity does not facilitate value comparisons by consumers, or creates an opportunity for consumer confusion;

(15) shall allow reasonable variations from the stated
quantity of contents, including variations caused by loss or
gain of moisture during the course of good distribution practice
or by unavoidable deviations in good manufacturing practice,
only after the commodity has entered commerce within the state;
(16) shall inspect and test petroleum products in
accordance with this chapter and chapter 296A;

34 (17) shall distribute and post notices for used motor oil
35 and used motor oil filters and lead acid battery recycling in
36 accordance with sections 239.54, 325E.11, and 325E.115;

Article 2 Section 67 196

1	(18) shall collect inspection fees in accordance with
2	sections 239.10 and 239.101; and
3	(19) shall provide metrological services and support to
4	businesses and individuals in the United States who wish to
5	market products and services in the member nations of the
6	European Economic Community, and other nations outside of the
7	United States by:
8	(i) meeting, to the extent practicable, the measurement
9	quality assurance standards described in the International
10	Standards Organization ISO 90007-Guide-25 17025;
11	(ii) maintaining, to the extent practicable, certification
12	of the metrology laboratory by a-governing-body-appointed-by-the
13	European-Economic-Community an internationally accepted
14	accrediting body such as the National Voluntary Laboratory
15	Accreditation Program (NVLAP); and
16	(iii) providing calibration and consultation services to
17	metrology laboratories in government and private industry in the
18	United States.
19	Sec. 68. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 239.05, is
20	amended by adding a subdivision to read:
21	Subd. 3a. [AUTOMOTIVE FUEL.] For the purpose of enforcing
22	the gasoline octane requirements in section 239.792, "automotive
23	fuel" has the meaning given it in Code of Federal Regulations,
24	title 16, section 306.0.
25	Sec. 69. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 239.05,
26	subdivision 10b, is amended to read:
27	Subd. 10b. [OXYGENATE ETHANOL BLENDER.] "Oxygenate Ethanol
28	blender" means a person who has-registered-with-the-division-to
29	blend-and-distribute;-transport;-sell;-or-offer blends and
30	distributes, transports, sells, or offers to sell gasoline
31	containing a-minimum-of-2.0-percent,-and-an-average-of-2.7 ten
32	percent oxygen <u>ethanol</u> by weight volume.
33	Sec. 70. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 239.09, is
34	amended to read:
35	239.09 [SPECIAL POLICE POWERS.]
36	When necessary to enforce this chapter or rules adopted

Article 2 Section 70 197

1 under the authority granted by section 239.06, the director is:

2 (1) authorized and empowered to arrest, without formal
3 warrant, any violator of sections 325E.11 and 325E.115 or of the
4 statute in relation to weights and measures;

5 (2) empowered to seize for use as evidence and without 6 formal warrant, any false weight, measure, weighing or measuring 7 device, package, or commodity found to be used, retained, or 8 offered or exposed for sale or sold in violation of law;

9 (3) during normal business hours, authorized to enter 10 commercial premises;

(4) if the premises are not open to the public, authorized to enter commercial premises only after presenting credentials and obtaining consent or after obtaining a search warrant;

14 (5) empowered to issue stop-use, hold, and removal orders 15 with respect to weights and measures commercially used, and 16 packaged commodities or bulk commodities kept, offered, or 17 exposed for sale, that do not comply with the weights and 18 measures laws; and

(6) empowered, upon reasonable suspicion of a violation of the weights and measures laws, to stop a commercial vehicle and, after presentation of credentials, inspect the contents of the vehicle, require that the person in charge of the vehicle produce documents concerning the contents, and require the person to proceed with the vehicle to some specified place for inspection; and

26 (7) empowered, after written warning, to issue citations of 27 not less than \$100 and not more than \$500 to a person who 28 violates any provision of this chapter, any provision of the 29 rules adopted under the authority contained in this chapter, or 30 any provision of statutes enforced by the division of weights 31 and measures. 32 Sec. 71. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 239.101,

33 subdivision 3, is amended to read:

34 Subd. 3. [PETROLEUM INSPECTION FEE.] (a) An inspection fee 35 is imposed (1) on petroleum products when received by the first 36 licensed distributor, and (2) on petroleum products received and

Article 2 Section 71 198

04/27/05

held for sale or use by any person when the petroleum products 1 2 have not previously been received by a licensed distributor. 3 The petroleum inspection fee is \$1 for every 1,000 gallons received. The commissioner of revenue shall collect the fee. 4 The revenue from 81 cents of the fee must-first-be-applied-to 5 cover-the-amounts-appropriated---Fifteen-cents-of-the-inspection б. fee-must-be-deposited-in-an-account-in-the-special-revenue-fund 7 and is appropriated to the commissioner of commerce for the cost 8 of petroleum-product-quality-inspection-expenses-and-for-the 9 inspection-and-testing-of-petroleum-product-measuring 10 equipment operations of the Division of Weights and Measures, 11 petroleum supply monitoring, and the oil burner retrofit 12 The remainder of the fee must be deposited in the 13 program. general fund. 14 (b) The commissioner of revenue shall credit a person for 15 inspection fees previously paid in error or for any material 16 17 exported or sold for export from the state upon filing of a report as prescribed by the commissioner of revenue. 18 (c) The commissioner of revenue may collect the inspection 19 20 fee along with any taxes due under chapter 296A. Sec. 72. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 239.75, 21 22 subdivision 1, is amended to read: Subdivision 1. [INSPECTION TO BE MADE.] The director shall: 23 24 (1) take samples, free of charge, of petroleum products 25 wherever processed, blended, held, stored, imported, transferred, offered for sale or use, or sold in Minnesota, 26 27 limiting each sample to: 28 (i)-two-tenths-of-one one-half gallon--except-when-an octane-test-is-planned;-or 29 30 (ii)-seven-tenths-of-one-gallon-for-an-octane-test; 31 (2) inspect and test petroleum product samples according to 32 the methods of ASTM or other valid test methods adopted by rule, 33 to determine whether the products comply with the specifications 34 in section 239.761; 35 (3) inspect petroleum product storage tanks to ensure that 36 the products are free from water and impurities;

(4) inspect and test samples submitted to the department by
 a licensed distributor, making the test results available to the
 distributor;

(5) inspect the labeling, price posting, and price
advertising of petroleum product dispensers and advertising
signs at businesses or locations where petroleum products are
sold, offered for sale or use, or dispensed into motor vehicles;
(6) maintain records of all inspections and tests according
to the records retention policies of the Department of

10 Administration;

(7) delegate to division personnel, at the director's discretion, any or all of the responsibilities, duties, and powers in sections 239.75 to 239.80;

14 (8) publish octane test data and information to assist 15 persons who <u>use</u>, produce and, <u>distribute</u>, or sell gasoline-and 16 gasoline-oxygenate-blends petroleum-based heating and engine 17 fuels;

18 (9) register-gasoline-oxygenate-blenders-according-to-the 19 requirements-of-the-EPA;

20 (10) audit the records of any person responsible for the 21 product to determine compliance with sections 239.75 to 239.792;

(11) (10) after consulting with the commissioner of-the Pollution-Control-Agency, grant a temporary exemption from the oxygenated-gasoline gasoline-ethanol blending requirements in section 239.791 if the supply of oxygenate <u>ethanol</u> is insufficient to produce gasoline-oxygenate <u>gasoline-ethanol</u> blends during-an-EPA-designated-carbon-monoxide-control-period; and

29 (12) (11) adopt, as an enforcement policy for the division, 30 reasonable margins of uncertainty for the tests used to 31 determine compliance with the specifications in section 239.761, the oxygen percentages in section 239.791, and the octane 32 33 requirements in section 239.792 and apply the margins of uncertainty to only tests performed by the division, not by 34 35 adding the margins to uncertainties in tests performed by any 36 person responsible for the product.

Article 2 Section 72 200

04/27/05

Sec. 73. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 239.75, 1 subdivision 5, is amended to read: 2 Subd. 5. [PRODUCT QUALITY, RESPONSIBILITY.] After a 3 gasoline-product petroleum-based engine fuel is purchased, 4 transferred, or otherwise removed from a refinery or terminal, 5 the person responsible for the product shall: 6 (1) keep the product free from contamination with water and 7 impurities; 8 (2) not blend the product with dissimilar petroleum 9 products, for example, gasoline must not be blended with diesel 10 11 fuel; (3) not blend the product with any contaminant, dye, 12 13 chemical, or additive, except: (i) agriculturally derived, denatured ethanol that complies 14 with the specifications in this chapter; 15 (ii) an antiknock additive, or an additive designed to 16 replace tetra-ethyl lead, that is registered by the EPA; or 17 (iii) a dye to distinguish heating fuel from low sulfur 18 19 diesel fuel; and or (iv) biodiesel fuel that complies with the specifications 20 21 in this chapter; and (4) maintain a record of the name or chemical composition 22 of the additive, with the product shipping manifest or bill of 23 24 lading for one year after the date of the manifest or bill. Sec. 74. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 239.761, is 25 26 amended to read: 239.761 [PETROLEUM PRODUCT SPECIFICATIONS.] 27 28 Subdivision 1. [APPLICABILITY.] A person responsible for the product must meet the specifications in this section. 29 The 30 specifications apply to petroleum products processed, held, stored, imported, transferred, distributed, offered for 31 32 distribution, offered for sale or use, or sold in Minnesota. 33 Subd. 2. [COORDINATION WITH DEPARTMENTS OF REVENUE AND 34 AGRICULTURE.] The petroleum product specifications in this 35 section are intended to match the definitions and specifications 36 in sections 41A.09 and 296A.01. Petroleum products named in

this section are defined in section 296A.01. 1

Subd. 3. [GASOLINE.] (a) Gasoline that is not blended with 2 ethanol must not be contaminated with water or other impurities 3 and must comply with ASTM specification B4814-01 D4814-04a. 4 Gasoline that is not blended with ethanol must also comply with 5 the volatility requirements in Code of Federal Regulations, 6 title 40, part 80. 7

(b) After gasoline is sold, transferred, or otherwise 8 removed from a refinery or terminal, a person responsible for 9 the product: 10

(1) may blend the gasoline with agriculturally derived 11 ethanol as provided in subdivision 4; 12

13 (2) shall not blend the gasoline with any oxygenate other than denatured, agriculturally derived ethanol; 14

15 (3) shall not blend the gasoline with other petroleum products that are not gasoline or denatured, agriculturally 16 17 derived ethanol;

(4) shall not blend the gasoline with products commonly and 18 commercially known as casinghead gasoline, absorption gasoline, 19 20 condensation gasoline, drip gasoline, or natural gasoline; and

21 (5) may blend the gasoline with a detergent additive, an 22 antiknock additive, or an additive designed to replace 23 tetra-ethyl lead, that is registered by the EPA.

Subd. 4. [GASOLINE BLENDED WITH ETHANOL.] (a) Gasoline may 24 25 be blended with up to ten percent, by volume, agriculturally 26 derived, denatured ethanol that complies with the requirements of subdivision 5. 27

28

(b) A gasoline-ethanol blend must:

29 (1) comply with the volatility requirements in Code of 30 Federal Regulations, title 40, part 80;

31 (2) comply with ASTM specification D4014-01 D4814-04a, or 32 the gasoline base stock from which a gasoline-ethanol blend was 33 produced must comply with ASTM specification D4814-01 D4814-04a; 34 and

35 (3) not be blended with casinghead gasoline, absorption gasoline, condensation gasoline, drip gasoline, or natural 36

04/27/05

gasoline after the gasoline-ethanol blend has been sold, 1 transferred, or otherwise removed from a refinery or terminal. 2 Subd. 5. [DENATURED ETHANOL.] Denatured ethanol that is to 3 be blended with gasoline must be agriculturally derived and must 4 comply with ASTM specification D4806-01 D4806-04a. This 5 includes the requirement that ethanol may be denatured only as 6 specified in Code of Federal Regulations, title 27, parts 20 and 7 8 21.

9 Subd. 6. [GASOLINE BLENDED WITH NONETHANOL OXYGENATE.] (a) 10 A person responsible for the product shall comply with the 11 following requirements:

(1) after July 1, 2000, gasoline containing in excess of one-third of one percent, in total, of nonethanol oxygenates listed in paragraph (b) must not be sold or offered for sale at any time in this state; and

16 (2) after July 1, 2005, gasoline containing any of the
17 nonethanol oxygenates listed in paragraph (b) must not be sold
18 or offered for sale in this state.

19 (b) The oxygenates prohibited under paragraph (a) are:
20 (1) methyl tertiary butyl ether, as defined in section
21 296A.01, subdivision 34;

(2) ethyl tertiary butyl ether, as defined in section23 296A.01, subdivision 18; or

24 (3) tertiary amyl methyl ether.

(c) Gasoline that is blended with a nonethanol oxygenate
must comply with ASTM specification Đ48±4-0± D48±4-04a.
Nonethanol oxygenates must not be blended into gasoline after
the gasoline has been sold, transferred, or otherwise removed
from a refinery or terminal.

32 Subd. 8. [DIESEL FUEL OIL.] Diesel fuel oil must comply 33 with ASTM specification B975-0ta D975-04b, except that diesel 34 fuel oil is not required to meet the diesel lubricity standard 35 until the date that the biodiesel fuel requirement in section 36 239.77, subdivision 2, becomes effective or December 31, 2005,

Article 2 Section 74 203

0	4/	27	/0	5
---	----	----	----	---

1	whichever comes first.
2	Subd. 9. [KEROSENE.] Kerosene must comply with ASTM
3	specification $\exists \theta = \theta = 0$
4	Subd. 10. [AVIATION GASOLINE.] Aviation gasoline must
5	comply with ASTM specification $\exists 9 \exists \theta - \theta \theta$ <u>D910-04</u> .
6	Subd. 11. [AVIATION TURBINE FUEL, JET FUEL.] Aviation
7	turbine fuel and jet fuel must comply with ASTM specification
8	б655-0± <u>D1655-04</u> .
9	Subd. 12. [GAS TURBINE FUEL OIL.] Fuel oil for use in
10	nonaviation gas turbine engines must comply with ASTM
11	specification $\exists 2888 - \theta \theta$ <u>D2880-03</u> .
12	Subd. 13. [E85.] A blend of ethanol and gasoline,
13	containing at least 60 percent ethanol and not more than 85
14	percent ethanol, produced for use as a motor fuel in alternative
15	fuel vehicles as defined in section 296A.01, subdivision 5, must
16	comply with ASTM specification D5798-99 (2004).
17	Subd. 14. [M85.] A blend of methanol and gasoline,
18	containing at least 85 percent methanol, produced for use as a
19	motor fuel in alternative fuel vehicles as defined in section
20	296A.01, subdivision 5, must comply with ASTM specification
21	D5797-96.
22	Sec. 75. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 239.77, is
23	amended by adding a subdivision to read:
24	Subd. 4. [DISCLOSURE.] A refinery or terminal shall
25	provide, at the time diesel fuel is sold or transferred from the
26	refinery or terminal, a bill of lading or shipping manifest to
27	the person who receives the fuel. For biodiesel-blended
28	product, the bill of lading or shipping manifest must disclose
29	biodiesel content, stating volume percentage, or gallons of
30	biodiesel per gallons of petroleum diesel base-stock, or an ASTM
31	"Bxx" designation where "xx" denotes the volume percent
32	biodiesel included in the blended product. This subdivision
33	does not apply to sales or transfers of biodiesel blend stock
34	between refineries, between terminals, or between a refinery and
35	<u>a terminal.</u>
36	Sec. 76. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 239.79,
D	ticle 2 Coction 76 204

Article 2 Section 76 204

1 subdivision 4, is amended to read:

Subd. 4. [SALE OF CERTAIN PETROLEUM PRODUCTS ON GROSS 2 VOLUME BASIS.] A person responsible for the products listed in 3 this subdivision shall transfer, ship, distribute, offer for 4 distribution, sell, or offer to sell the products by volume. 5 Volumetric measurement of the product must not be temperature 6 compensated, or adjusted by any other factor. This subdivision 7 applies to gasoline, number one and number two diesel fuel oils, 8 number one and number two heating fuel oils, kerosene, denatured 9 ethanol that-is-to-be-blended-into-gasoline,-and-an-oxygenate 10 This 11 that-is-to-be-blended-into-gasoline, and biodiesel. subdivision does not apply to the measurement of petroleum 12 products transferred, sold, or traded between refineries, 13 between refineries and terminals, or between terminals. 14

15 Sec. 77. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 239.791, 16 subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. [MINIMUM ETHANOL CONTENT REQUIRED.] (a)
Except as provided in subdivisions 10 to 14, a person
responsible for the product shall ensure that all gasoline sold
or offered for sale in Minnesota must contain at least 10.0
percent denatured ethanol by volume.

22 (b) For purposes of enforcing the minimum ethanol 23 requirement of paragraph (a), a gasoline/ethanol blend will be 24 construed to be in compliance if the ethanol content, exclusive 25 of denaturants and permitted contaminants, comprises not less than 9.2 percent by volume and not more than 10.0 percent by 26 volume of the blend as determined by an appropriate United 27 28 States Environmental Protection Agency or American Society of Testing Materials standard method of analysis of alcohol/ether 29 30 content in motor engine fuels.

31 Sec. 78. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 239.791,
32 subdivision 7, is amended to read:

33 Subd. 7. [OXYGENATE <u>ETHANOL</u> RECORDS; STATE AUDIT.] The 34 director shall audit the records of registered oxygenate <u>ethanol</u> 35 blenders to ensure that each blender has met all requirements in 36 this chapter. Specific information or data relating to sales 1 figures or to processes or methods of production unique to the 2 blender or that would tend to adversely affect the competitive 3 position of the blender must be only for the confidential use of 4 the director, unless otherwise specifically authorized by the 5 registered blender.

6 Sec. 79. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 239.791, 7 subdivision 8, is amended to read:

Subd. 8. [DISCLOSURE.] A refinery or terminal, shall 8 provide, at the time gasoline is sold or transferred from the 9 refinery or terminal, a bill of lading or shipping manifest to 10 the person who receives the gasoline. For oxygenated gasoline, 11 the bill of lading or shipping manifest must include the 12 identity and the volume percentage or gallons of oxygenate 13 included in the gasoline, and it must state: "This fuel 14 15 contains an oxygenate. Do not blend this fuel with ethanol or with any other oxygenate." For-nonoxygenated-gasoline-sold-or 16 17 transferred-before-October-17-19977-the-bill-or-manifest-must state:--"This-fuel-must-not-be-sold-at-retail-in-a-carbon 18 monoxide-control-area." For nonoxygenated gasoline sold or 19 transferred after September 30, 1997, the bill or manifest must 20 21 state: "This fuel is not oxygenated. It must not be sold at 22 retail in Minnesota." This subdivision does not apply to sales or transfers of gasoline between refineries, between terminals, 23 24 or between a refinery and a terminal.

Sec. 80. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 239.791,
subdivision 15, is amended to read:

Subd. 15. [EXEMPTION FOR CERTAIN BLEND PUMPS.] (a) A person responsible for the product, who offers for sale, sells, or dispenses nonoxygenated premium gasoline under one or more of the exemptions in subdivisions 10 to 14, may sell, offer for sale, or dispense oxygenated gasoline that contains less than the minimum amount of ethanol required under subdivision 1 if all of the following conditions are met:

34 (1) the blended gasoline has an octane rating of 88 or 35 greater;

36 (2) the gasoline is a blend of oxygenated gasoline meeting Article 2 Section 80 206

[REVISOR] CMR/CA 05-4113

1 the requirements of subdivision 1 with nonoxygenated premium
2 gasoline;

3 (3) the blended gasoline contains not more than ten percent4 nonoxygenated premium gasoline;

5 (4) the blending of oxygenated gasoline with nonoxygenated
6 gasoline occurs within the gasoline dispenser; and

7 (5) the gasoline station at which the gasoline is sold,
8 offered for sale, or delivered is equipped to store gasoline in
9 not more than two storage tanks.

10 (b) This subdivision applies only to those persons who meet 11 the conditions in <u>paragraph (a)</u>, clauses (1) through (5), on the 12 effective-date-of-this-act <u>August 1, 2004</u>, and have registered 13 with the director within three months of the-effective that date 14 of-this-act.

15 Sec. 81. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 239.792, is 16 amended to read:

17 239.792 [GASOLINE-OCTANE AUTOMOTIVE FUEL RATINGS,

18 CERTIFICATION, AND POSTING.]

Subdivision 1. [DESCLOSURE DUTIES OF REFINERS, IMPORTERS, 19 20 AND PRODUCERS.] A manufacturer,-hauler,-blender,-agent,-jobber, consignment-agent refiner, importer, or distributor-who-sells, 21 22 delivers7-or-distributes-gasoline-or-gasoline-oxygenate-blends7 shall-provide7-at-the-time-of-delivery7-a-bill-of-lading-or 23 24 shipping-manifest-to-the-person-who-receives-the-gasoline---The bill-or-manifest-must-state-the-minimum-octane-of-the-gasoline 25 26 delivered --- The-stated-octane-number-must-be-the-average-of-the "motor-method"-octane-number-and-the-"research-method"-octane 27 number-as-determined-by-the-test-methods-in-ASTM-specification 28 D4814-017-or-by-a-test-method-adopted-by-department 29 30 rule producer of automotive fuel must comply with the automotive fuel rating, certification, and record-keeping requirements of 31 32 Code of Federal Regulations, title 16, sections 306.5 to 306.7. 33 Subd. 2. [DESPENSER-LABELENG DUTIES OF DISTRIBUTORS.] A 34 person-responsible-for-the-product-shall-clearly7-conspicuously7

35 and-permanently-label-each-gasoline-dispenser-that-is-used-to
36 sell-gasoline-or-gasoline-oxygenate-blends-at-retail-or-to

dispense-gasoline-or-gasoline-oxygenate-blends-into-the-fuel 1 supply-tanks-of-motor-vehicles,-with-the-minimum-octane-of-the 2 gasoline-dispensed---The-label-must-meet-the-following 3 requirements: 4 (a)-The-octane-number-displayed-on-the-label-must-represent 5 the-average-of-the-"motor-method"-octane-number-and-the 6 "research-method"-octane-number-as-determined-by-the-test 7 8 methods-in-ASTM-specification-D4814-817-or-by-a-test-method adopted-by-department-rule-9 10 (b)-The-label-must-be-at-least-2-1/2-inches-high-and-three inches-wide7-with-a-yellow-background7-black-border7-and-black 11 12 figures-and-letters-13 (c)-The-number-representing-the-octane-of-the-gasoline-must 14 be-at-least-one-inch-high-15 (d)-The-label-must-include-the-words-"minimum-octane"-and the-term-"(R+M)/2"-or-"(RON+MON)/2." A licensed distributor of 16 automotive fuel must comply with the certification and 17 record-keeping provisions of Code of Federal Regulations, title 18 19 16, sections 306.8 and 306.9. 20 Subd. 3. [DUTIES OF RETAILERS.] A person responsible for 21 the product who sells or transfers automotive fuel to a consumer must comply with the automotive fuel rating posting and 22 23 record-keeping requirements, and the label specifications of 24 Code of Federal Regulations, title 16, sections 306.10 to 306.12. 25 Subd. 4. [DUTIES OF DIRECTOR.] Upon request, the director 26 shall provide any person with a copy of Code of Federal 27 Regulations, title 16, part 306. Upon request, the director 28 shall provide any distributor, retailer, or organization of 29 distributors or retailers with the label specifications in Code of Federal Regulations, title 16, section 306.12. 30 Sec. 82. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 296A.01, 31 subdivision 2, is amended to read: 32 33 Subd. 2. [AGRICULTURAL ALCOHOL GASOLINE.] "Agricultural 34 alcohol gasoline" means a gasoline-ethanol blend of up to ten percent agriculturally derived fermentation ethanol derived from 35 agricultural products, such as potatoes, cereal, grains, cheese 36

Article 2 Section 82

1 whey, sugar beets, forest products, or other renewable
2 resources, that:

3 (1) meets the specifications in ASTM specification Đ4806-01
4 D4806-04a; and

5 (2) is denatured as specified in Code of Federal 6 Regulations, title 27, parts 20 and 21.

Sec. 83. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 296A.01,
8 subdivision 7, is amended to read:

9 Subd. 7. [AVIATION GASOLINE.] "Aviation gasoline" means
10 any gasoline that is capable of use for the purpose of producing
11 or generating power for propelling internal combustion engine
12 aircraft, that meets the specifications in ASTM
13 specification Đ9±0-00 D910-04, and that either:

(1) is invoiced and billed by a producer, manufacturer, refiner, or blender to a distributor or dealer, by a distributor to a dealer or consumer, or by a dealer to consumer, as "aviation gasoline"; or

(2) whether or not invoiced and billed as provided in
clause (1), is received, sold, stored, or withdrawn from storage
by any person, to be used for the purpose of producing or
generating power for propelling internal combustion engine
aircraft.

Sec. 84. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 296A.01,
subdivision 8, is amended to read:

Subd. 8. [AVIATION TURBINE FUEL AND JET FUEL.] "Aviation turbine fuel" and "jet fuel" mean blends of hydrocarbons derived from crude petroleum, natural gasoline, and synthetic hydrocarbons, intended for use in aviation turbine engines, and that meet the specifications in ASTM specification

31 Sec. 85. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 296A.01,
32 subdivision 14, is amended to read:

33 Subd. 14. [DIESEL FUEL OIL.] "Diesel fuel oil" means a 34 petroleum distillate or blend of petroleum distillate and 35 residual fuels, intended for use as a motor fuel in internal 36 combustion diesel engines, that meets the specifications in ASTM

Article 2 Section 85 2

specification D975-01A D975-04b, except that diesel fuel oil is 1 not required to meet the diesel lubricity standard until the 2 3 date that the biodiesel fuel requirement in section 239.77, subdivision 2, becomes effective or December 31, 2005, whichever 4 comes first. Diesel fuel includes number 1 and number 2 fuel 5 oils. K-l kerosene is not diesel fuel unless it is blended with 6 diesel fuel for use in motor vehicles. 7 8 Sec. 86. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 296A.01, subdivision 19, is amended to read: 9 Subd. 19. [E85.] "E85" means a petroleum product that is a 10 11 blend of agriculturally derived denatured ethanol and gasoline or natural gasoline that typically contains 85 percent ethanol 12 13 by volume, but at a minimum must contain 60 percent ethanol by 14 volume. For the purposes of this chapter, the energy content of E85 will be considered to be 82,000 BTUs per gallon. E85 15 produced for use as a motor fuel in alternative fuel vehicles as 16 17 defined in subdivision 5 must comply with ASTM specification 18 D5798-99 (2004). 19 Sec. 87. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 296A.01, 20 subdivision 20, is amended to read: 21 Subd. 20. [ETHANOL, DENATURED.] "Ethanol, denatured" means 22 ethanol that is to be blended with gasoline, has been 23 agriculturally derived, and complies with ASTM specification 24 D4806-01 D4806-04a. This includes the requirement that ethanol may be denatured only as specified in Code of Federal 25 26 Regulations, title 27, parts 20 and 21. 27 Sec. 88. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 296A.01, subdivision 22, is amended to read: 28 29 Subd. 22. [GAS TURBINE FUEL OIL.] "Gas turbine fuel oil" means fuel that contains mixtures of hydrocarbon oils free of 30 31 inorganic acid and excessive amounts of solid or fibrous foreign matter, intended for use in nonaviation gas turbine engines, and 32 that meets the specifications in ASTM specification 33 **Đ2880-00** D2880-03. 34 35 Sec. 89. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 296A.01, 36 subdivision 23, is amended to read:

Article 2 Section 89 210

04/27/05

1

Subd. 23. [GASOLINE.] (a) "Gasoline" means:

(1) all products commonly or commercially known or sold as
gasoline regardless of their classification or uses, except
casinghead gasoline, absorption gasoline, condensation gasoline,
drip gasoline, or natural gasoline that under the requirements
of section 239.761, subdivision 3, must not be blended with
gasoline that has been sold, transferred, or otherwise removed
from a refinery or terminal; and

9 (2) any liquid prepared, advertised, offered for sale or
10 sold for use as, or commonly and commercially used as, a fuel in
11 spark-ignition, internal combustion engines, and that when
12 tested by the Weights and Measures Division meets the
13 specifications in ASTM specification Đ4814-01 D4814-04a.

(b) Gasoline that is not blended with ethanol must not be contaminated with water or other impurities and must comply with both ASTM specification Đ48±4-0± D4814-04a and the volatility requirements in Code of Federal Regulations, title 40, part 80.

18 (c) After gasoline is sold, transferred, or otherwise
19 removed from a refinery or terminal, a person responsible for
20 the product:

(1) may blend the gasoline with agriculturally derived
ethanol, as provided in subdivision 24;

(2) must not blend the gasoline with any oxygenate otherthan denatured, agriculturally derived ethanol;

(3) must not blend the gasoline with other petroleum products that are not gasoline or denatured, agriculturally derived ethanol;

(4) must not blend the gasoline with products commonly and 28 29 commercially known as casinghead gasoline, absorption gasoline, 30 condensation gasoline, drip gasoline, or natural gasoline; and 31 (5) may blend the gasoline with a detergent additive, an 32 antiknock additive, or an additive designed to replace 33 tetra-ethyl lead, that is registered by the EPA. Sec. 90. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 296A.01, 34 35 subdivision 24, is amended to read:

36 Subd. 24. [GASOLINE BLENDED WITH NONETHANOL OXYGENATE.]

"Gasoline blended with nonethanol oxygenate" means gasoline blended with ETBE, MTBE, or other alcohol or ether, except denatured ethanol, that is approved as an oxygenate by the EPA, and that complies with ASTM specification D4014-01 D4814-014a. Oxygenates, other than denatured ethanol, must not be blended into gasoline after the gasoline has been sold, transferred, or otherwise removed from a refinery or terminal.

8 Sec. 91. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 296A.01,
9 subdivision 25, is amended to read:

Subd. 25. [GASOLINE BLENDED WITH ETHANOL.] "Gasoline 10 blended with ethanol" means gasoline blended with up to ten 11 percent, by volume, agriculturally derived, denatured ethanol. 12 The blend must comply with the volatility requirements in Code 13 of Federal Regulations, title 40, part 80. The blend must also 14 15 comply with ASTM specification D4814-01 D4814-04a, or the gasoline base stock from which a gasoline-ethanol blend was 16 17 produced must comply with ASTM specification D4814-01 D4814-04a; and the gasoline-ethanol blend must not be blended with 18 19 casinghead gasoline, absorption gasoline, condensation gasoline, drip gasoline, or natural gasoline after the gasoline-ethanol 20 blend has been sold, transferred, or otherwise removed from a 21 22 refinery or terminal. The blend need not comply with ASTM specification B4814-01 <u>D4814-04a</u> if it is subjected to a 23 24 standard distillation test. For a distillation test, a 25 gasoline-ethanol blend is not required to comply with the temperature specification at the 50 percent liquid recovery 26 27 point, if the gasoline from which the gasoline-ethanol blend was produced complies with all of the distillation specifications. 28

Sec. 92. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 296A.01,
30 subdivision 26, is amended to read:

Subd. 26. [HEATING FUEL OIL.] "Heating fuel oil" means a petroleum distillate, blend of petroleum distillates and residuals, or petroleum residual heating fuel that meets the specifications in ASTM specification D396-01 <u>D396-02a</u>. Sec. 93. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 296A.01, subdivision 28, is amended to read:

Article 2 Section 93 212

04/27/05

1	Subd. 28. [KEROSENE.] "Kerosene" means a refined petroleum
2	distillate consisting of a homogeneous mixture of hydrocarbons
3	essentially free of water, inorganic acidic and basic compounds,
4	and excessive amounts of particulate contaminants and that meets
5	the specifications in ASTM specification $B3699-01$ D3699-03.
6	Sec. 94. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 298.22, is
7	amended by adding a subdivision to read:
8	Subd. 10. [SALE OR PRIVATIZATION OF FUNCTIONS.] The
9	commissioner of Iron Range resources and rehabilitation may not
10	sell or privatize any project area or function of the agency
11	without prior approval by a majority vote of the board.
12	Sec. 95. [325F.991] [911 EMERGENCY PHONE SERVICE
13	REPRESENTATIONS.]
14	Subdivision 1. [DEFINITIONS.] For purposes of this
15	section, the terms defined in this subdivision have the meanings
16	given them.
17	(a) "911 emergency telecommunications system" means a
18	dedicated emergency telecommunications system required by
19	section 403.025.
20	(b) "Person" means an individual, corporation, firm, or
21	other legal entity.
22	(c) "Service provider" means a person doing business in
23	Minnesota who provides real time, two-way voice service
24	interconnected with the public switched telephone network using
25	numbers allocated for Minnesota by the North American Numbering
26	Plan Administration.
27	Subd. 2. [REPRESENTATIONS OF 911 SERVICE.] A person shall
28	not advertise, market, or otherwise represent that the person
29	furnishes a service capable of providing access to emergency
30	services by dialing 911 unless the person provides a service
31	that routes 911 calls through the 911 emergency
32	telecommunications system.
33	Subd. 3. [DISCLOSURE.] A service provider that does not
34	provide 911 dialing that routes 911 calls through the 911
35	emergency telecommunications system must disclose that fact in
36	all advertisements, marketing materials, and contracts. The

Article 2 Section 95

[REVISOR] CMR/CA 05-4113

disclosure must be in capital letters, in 12-point font, and on 1 the front page of the advertisement, marketing materials, and 2 contracts. The disclosure must state: "THIS SERVICE DOES NOT 3 ROUTE 911 CALLS THROUGH THE 911 EMERGENCY SYSTEM." 4 5 Subd. 4. [CERTAIN CALLS NOT 911 CALLS.] For purposes of this section, 911 calls routed to the general access number at a 6 public safety answering point do not qualify as being routed 7 through a 911 emergency telecommunications system. 8 9 Sec. 96. [354B.33] [IRON RANGE RESOURCES AND REHABILITATION; EARLY SEPARATION INCENTIVE PROGRAM 10 AUTHORIZATION.] 11 12 (a) Notwithstanding any law to the contrary, the 13 commissioner of Iron Range resources and rehabilitation, in consultation with the commissioner of employee relations, may 14 15 offer a targeted early separation incentive program for 16 employees of the commissioner who have attained the age of 60 years and have at least five years of allowable service credit 17 under chapter 352, or who have received credit for at least 30 18 years of allowable service under the provisions of chapter 352. 19 20 (b) The early separation incentive program may include one 21 or more of the following: 22 (1) employer-paid postseparation health, medical, and 23 dental insurance until age 65; and 24 (2) cash incentives that may, but are not required to be, 25 used to purchase additional years of service credit through the Minnesota State Retirement System, to the extent that the 26 27 purchases are otherwise authorized by law. 28 (c) The commissioner of Iron Range resources and rehabilitation shall establish eligibility requirements for 29 30 employees to receive an incentive. 31 (d) The commissioner of Iron Range Resources and 32 Rehabilitation, consistent with the established program 33 provisions under paragraph (b), and with the eligibility 34 requirements under paragraph (c), may designate specific 35 programs or employees as eligible to be offered the incentive 36 program.

Article 2 Section 96

1	(e) Acceptance of the offered incentive must be voluntary
2	on the part of the employee and must be in writing. The
3	incentive may only be offered at the sole discretion of the
4	commissioner of Iron Range resources and rehabilitation.
5	(f) The cost of the incentive is payable solely by funds
6	made available to the commissioner of Iron Range resources and
7	rehabilitation by law, but only on prior approval of the
8	expenditures by a majority of the Iron Range Resources and
9	Rehabilitation Board.
10	(g) This section expires June 30, 2006.
11	[EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective the day
12	following final enactment.
13	Sec. 97. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 357.021,
14	subdivision la, is amended to read:
15	Subd. la. [TRANSMITTAL OF FEES TO COMMISSIONER OF
16	FINANCE.] (a) Every person, including the state of Minnesota and
17	all bodies politic and corporate, who shall transact any
18	business in the district court, shall pay to the court
19	administrator of said court the sundry fees prescribed in
20	subdivision 2. Except as provided in paragraph (d), the court
21	administrator shall transmit the fees monthly to the
22	commissioner of finance for deposit in the state treasury and
23	credit to the general fund. $\$30$ of each fee collected in a
24	dissolution action under subdivision 2, clause (1), must be
25	deposited by the commissioner of finance in the special revenue
26	fund to be appropriated to the commissioner of employment and
27	economic development for the displaced homemaker program under
28	section 116L.96.
29	(b) In a county which has a screener-collector position,
30	fees paid by a county pursuant to this subdivision shall be
31	transmitted monthly to the county treasurer, who shall apply the

32 fees first to reimburse the county for the amount of the salary 33 paid for the screener-collector position. The balance of the 34 fees collected shall then be forwarded to the commissioner of 35 finance for deposit in the state treasury and credited to the 36 general fund. In a county in a judicial district under section

215

Article 2 Section 97

480.181, subdivision 1, paragraph (b), which has a 1 screener-collector position, the fees paid by a county shall be 2 transmitted monthly to the commissioner of finance for deposit 3 in the state treasury and credited to the general fund. A 4 screener-collector position for purposes of this paragraph is an 5 employee whose function is to increase the collection of fines 6 and to review the incomes of potential clients of the public 7 defender, in order to verify eligibility for that service. 8

9 (c) No fee is required under this section from the public 10 authority or the party the public authority represents in an 11 action for:

(1) child support enforcement or modification, medical assistance enforcement, or establishment of parentage in the district court, or in a proceeding under section 484.702;

15 (2) civil commitment under chapter 253B;

16 (3) the appointment of a public conservator or public
17 guardian or any other action under chapters 252A and 525;

18 (4) wrongfully obtaining public assistance under section
19 256.98 or 256D.07, or recovery of overpayments of public
20 assistance;

21

(5) court relief under chapter 260;

(6) forfeiture of property under sections 169A.63 and609.531 to 609.5317;

(7) recovery of amounts issued by political subdivisions or
public institutions under sections 246.52, 252.27, 256.045,
256.25, 256.87, 256B.042, 256B.14, 256B.15, 256B.37, 260B.331,
and 260C.331, or other sections referring to other forms of
public assistance;

29 (8) restitution under section 611A.04; or

30 (9) actions seeking monetary relief in favor of the state31 pursuant to section 16D.14, subdivision 5.

32 (d) The fees collected for child support modifications 33 under subdivision 2, clause (13), must be transmitted to the 34 county treasurer for deposit in the county general fund. The 35 fees must be used by the county to pay for child support 36 enforcement efforts by county attorneys.

Article 2 Section 97 216

[REVISOR] CMR/CA 05-4113

04/27/05

Sec. 98. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 357.021,
 subdivision 2, is amended to read:

3 Subd. 2. [FEE AMOUNTS.] The fees to be charged and 4 collected by the court administrator shall be as follows:

5 (1) In every civil action or proceeding in said court, 6 including any case arising under the tax laws of the state that 7 could be transferred or appealed to the Tax Court, the 8 plaintiff, petitioner, or other moving party shall pay, when the 9 first paper is filed for that party in said action, a fee of 10 \$235 \$240, except in marriage dissolution actions the fee is 11 \$270.

12 The defendant or other adverse or intervening party, or any 13 one or more of several defendants or other adverse or 14 intervening parties appearing separately from the others, shall 15 pay, when the first paper is filed for that party in said 16 action, a fee of \$235 \$240, except in marriage dissolution 17 actions the fee is \$270.

The party requesting a trial by jury shall pay \$75. 18 The fees above stated shall be the full trial fee 19 chargeable to said parties irrespective of whether trial be to 20 the court alone, to the court and jury, or disposed of without 21 22 trial, and shall include the entry of judgment in the action, but does not include copies or certified copies of any papers so 23 filed or proceedings under chapter 103E, except the provisions 24 25 therein as to appeals.

26 (2) Certified copy of any instrument from a civil or
27 criminal proceeding, \$10, and \$5 for an uncertified copy.

28 (3) Issuing a subpoena, \$12 for each name.

(4) Filing a motion or response to a motion in civil,
family, excluding child support, and guardianship cases, \$55.

31 (5) Issuing an execution and filing the return thereof;
32 issuing a writ of attachment, injunction, habeas corpus,
33 mandamus, quo warranto, certiorari, or other writs not
34 specifically mentioned, \$40.

35 (6) Issuing a transcript of judgment, or for filing and
36 docketing a transcript of judgment from another court, \$30.

[REVISOR] CMR/CA 05-4113

04/27/05

10

25

(7) Filing and entering a satisfaction of judgment, partial
 satisfaction, or assignment of judgment, \$5.

3 (8) Certificate as to existence or nonexistence of
4 judgments docketed, \$5 for each name certified to.

5 (9) Filing and indexing trade name; or recording basic
6 science certificate; or recording certificate of physicians,
7 osteopaths, chiropractors, veterinarians, or optometrists, \$5.

8 (10) For the filing of each partial, final, or annual 9 account in all trusteeships, \$40.

(11) For the deposit of a will, \$20.

adoption registry under section 259.52.

11 (12) For recording notary commission, \$100, of which, 12 notwithstanding subdivision la, paragraph (b), \$80 must be 13 forwarded to the commissioner of finance to be deposited in the 14 state treasury and credited to the general fund.

15 (13) Filing a motion or response to a motion for
16 modification of child support, a fee fixed by rule or order of
17 the Supreme Court.

(14) All other services required by law for which no fee is
provided, such fee as compares favorably with those herein
provided, or such as may be fixed by rule or order of the court.
(15) In addition to any other filing fees under this
chapter, a surcharge in the amount of \$75 must be assessed in
accordance with section 259.52, subdivision 14, for each
adoption petition filed in district court to fund the fathers'

The fees in clauses (3) and (5) need not be paid by a public authority or the party the public authority represents. Sec. 99. [446A.083] [METHAMPHETAMINE LABORATORY CLEANUP REVOLVING FUND.]

30 <u>Subdivision 1.</u> [DEFINITIONS.] <u>As used in this section:</u> 31 <u>(1) "clandestine lab site" has the meaning given in section</u> 32 <u>152.0275, subdivision 1, paragraph (a);</u> 33 <u>(2) "property" has the meaning given in section 152.0275,</u>

34 subdivision 2, paragraph (a), but does not include motor
35 vehicles; and

36 (3) "remediate" has the meaning given to remediation in

218

Article 2 Section 99

1	section 152.0275, subdivision 1, paragraph (a).
2	Subd. 2. [FUND ESTABLISHED.] The authority shall establish
3	a methamphetamine laboratory cleanup revolving fund to provide
4	loans to counties and cities to remediate clandestine lab
5	sites. The fund must be credited with repayments.
6	Subd. 3. [APPLICATIONS.] Applications by a county or city
7	for a loan from the fund must be made to the authority on the
8	forms prescribed by the authority. The application must
9	include, but is not limited to:
10	(1) the amount of the loan requested and the proposed use
11	of the loan proceeds;
12	(2) the source of revenues to repay the loan; and
13	(3) certification by the county or city that it meets the
14	loan eligibility requirements of subdivision 4.
15	Subd. 4. [LOAN ELIGIBILITY.] A county or city is eligible
16	for a loan under this section if the county or city:
17	(1) identifies a site or sites designated by a local public
18	health department or law enforcement as a clandestine lab site;
19	(2) has required the site's property owner to remediate the
20	site at cost, under a local public health nuisance ordinance
21	that addresses clandestine lab remediation;
22	(3) certifies that the property owner cannot pay for the
23	remediation immediately;
24	(4) certifies that the property owner has not properly
25	remediated the site; and
26	(5) issues a revenue bond payable to the authority to
27	secure the loan.
28	Subd. 5. [USE OF LOAN PROCEEDS; REIMBURSEMENT BY PROPERTY
29	OWNER.] (a) A loan recipient shall use the loan to remediate the
30	clandestine lab site or if this has already been done to
31	reimburse the applicable county or city fund for costs paid by
32	the recipient to remediate the clandestine lab site.
33	(b) A loan recipient shall seek reimbursement from the
34	owner of the property containing the clandestine lab site for
35	the costs of the remediation. In addition to other lawful means
36	of seeking reimbursement, the loan recipient may recover its

1	costs through a property tax assessment by following the
2	procedures specified in section 145A.08, subdivision 2,
3	paragraph (c).
4	Subd. 6. [AWARD AND DISBURSEMENT OF FUNDS.] The authority
5	shall award loans to recipients on a first-come, first-served
6	basis, provided that the recipient is able to comply with the
7	terms and conditions of the authority loan, which must be in
8	conformance with this section. The authority shall make a
9	single disbursement of the loan upon receipt of a payment
10	request that includes a list of remediation expenses and
11	evidence that a second-party sampling was undertaken to ensure
12	that the remediation work was successful or a guarantee that
13	such a sampling will be undertaken.
14	Subd. 7. [LOAN CONDITIONS AND TERMS.] (a) When making
15	loans from the revolving fund, the authority shall comply with
16	the criteria in paragraphs (b) to (e).
17	(b) Loans must be made at a two percent per annum interest
18	rate for terms not to exceed ten years unless the recipient
19	requests a 20-year term due to financial hardship.
20	(c) The annual principal and interest payments must begin
21	no later than one year after completion of the clean up. Loans
22	must be amortized no later than 20 years after completion of the
23	clean up.
24	(d) A loan recipient must identify and establish a source
25	of revenue for repayment of the loan and must undertake whatever
26	steps are necessary to collect payments within one year of
27	receipt of funds from the authority.
28	(e) The fund must be credited with all payments of
29	principal and interest on all loans, except the costs as
30	permitted under section 446A.04, subdivision 5, paragraph (a).
31	(f) Loans must be made only to recipients with a local
32	public health nuisance ordinance that addresses clandestine lab
33	remediation.
34	Subd. 8. [AUTHORITY TO INCUR DEBT.] Counties and cities
35	may incur debt under this section by resolution of the board or
36	council authorizing issuance of a revenue bond to the authority.
Ar	ticle 2 Section 99 220

[REVISOR] CMR/CA 05-4113

1	[EFFECTIVE	DATE.] This section is effective July 1, 20	05.
2	Sec. 100.	Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 469.050,	
3	subdivision 5, i	s amended to read:	

Subd. 5. [PAY.] A commissioner, including the president, must be paid \$35 <u>\$55</u> for each regular or special port authority meeting attended and shall receive reimbursement for expenses incurred while performing duties. The advisory members of the Duluth authority from the legislature must not be paid for their service to the authority.

Sec. 101. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 469.1082, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. [AUTHORITY TO CREATE.] A county located 12 13 outside-the-metropolitan-area may form a county economic development authority or grant a housing and redevelopment 14 15 authority the powers specified in subdivision 4, clause (2), if it receives a recommendation to do so from a committee formed 16 under subdivision 2. An economic development authority 17 established under this section has all the powers and rights of 18 an authority under sections 469.090 to 469.1081, except the 19 20 authority granted under section 469.094 if so limited under subdivision 4. This section is in addition to any other 21 authority to create a county economic development authority or 22 23 service provider.

Sec. 102. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 469.310,
subdivision 11, is amended to read:

Subd. 11. [QUALIFIED BUSINESS.] (a) "Qualified-business" means A person carrying on a trade or business at a place of business located within a job opportunity building zone <u>is a</u> qualified business for the purposes of sections 469.310 to 469.320 according to the criteria in paragraphs (b) to (f).

31 (b) A person is a qualified business only on those parcels 32 of land for which the person has entered into a business subsidy 33 agreement, as required under section 469.313, with the 34 appropriate local government unit in which the parcels are 35 located. 36 (c) Prior to execution of the business subsidy agreement,

221

Article 2 Section 102

•

1	the local government unit must consider the following factors:
2	(1) how wages compare to the regional industry average;
3	(2) the number of jobs that will be provided relative to
4	overall employment in the community;
5	(3) the economic outlook for the industry the business will
6	engage in;
7	(4) sales that will be generated from outside the state of
8	Minnesota;
9	(5) how the business will build on existing regional
10	strengths or diversify the regional economy;
11	(6) how the business will increase capital investment in
12	the zone; and
13	(7) any other criteria the commissioner deems necessary.
14	(b) (d) A person that relocates a trade or business from
15	outside a job opportunity building zone into a zone is not a
16	qualified business, unless the business meets all of the
17	requirements of paragraphs (b) and (c) and:
18	(1) (\pm) increases full-time employment in the first full
19	year of operation within the job opportunity building zone by at
20	least a minimum of five jobs or 20 percent, whichever is
21	greater, measured relative to the operations that were relocated
22	and maintains the required level of employment for each year the
23	zone designation applies; or
24	(ii)-makes-a-capital-investment-in-the-property-located
25	within-a-zone-equivalent-to-ten-percent-of-the-gross-revenues-of
26	operation-that-were-relocated-in-the-immediately-preceding
27	taxable-year; and
28	(2) enters a binding written agreement with the
29	commissioner that:
30	(i) pledges the business will meet the requirements of
31	clause (1);
32	(ii) provides for repayment of all tax benefits enumerated
33	under section 469.315 to the business under the procedures in
34	section 469.319, if the requirements of clause (1) are not met
35	for the taxable year or for taxes payable during the year in
36	which the requirements were not met; and
Ar	ticle 2 Section 102 222

l	(iii) contains any other terms the commissioner determines
2	appropriate.
3	(e) The commissioner may waive the requirements under
4	paragraph (d), clause (1), if the commissioner determines that
5	the qualified business will substantially achieve the factors
6	under this subdivision.
7	(f) A business is not a qualified business if, at its
8	location or locations in the zone, the business is primarily
9	engaged in making retail sales to purchasers who are physically
10	present at the business's zone location.
11	(g) A qualifying business must pay each employee
12	compensation, including benefits not mandated by law, that on an
13	annualized basis is equal to at least 110 percent of the federal
14	poverty level for a family of four.
15	[EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective the day
16	following final enactment and applies to any business entering a
17	business subsidy agreement for a job opportunity development
18	zone after that date, except that paragraph (b) is effective
19	retroactively from June 9, 2003.
20	Sec. 103. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 469.319,
21	subdivision 1, is amended to read:
22	Subdivision 1. [REPAYMENT OBLIGATION.] A business must
23	repay the amount of the total tax reduction listed in section
24	469.315 and any refund under section 469.318 in excess of tax
25	liability, received during the two years immediately before it
26	ceased to operate in the zone, if the business:
27	(1) received tax reductions authorized by section 469.315;
28	and
29	(2)(i) did not meet the goals specified in an agreement
30	entered into with the applicant that states any obligation the
31	qualified business must fulfill in order to be eligible for tax
32	benefits. The commissioner of employment and economic
33	development may extend for up to one year the period for meeting
34	any goals provided in an agreement. The applicant may extend
35	the period for meeting other goals by documenting in writing the
36	reason for the extension and attaching a copy of the document to

1	its next annual report to the commissioner of employment and
2	economic development; or
3	(ii) ceased to operate its facility located within the job
4	opportunity building zone or otherwise ceases to be or is not a
5	qualified business.
6	[EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective the day
7	following final enactment.
8	Sec. 104. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 469.319, is
9	amended by adding a subdivision to read:
10	Subd. 6. [RECONCILIATION.] Where this section is
11	inconsistent with section 116J.994, subdivision 3, paragraph
12	(e), or 6, or any other provisions of sections 116J.993 to
13	116J.995, this section prevails.
14	[EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective the day
15	following final enactment.
16	Sec. 105. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 469.320,
17	subdivision 3, is amended to read:
18	Subd. 3. [REMEDIES.] If the commissioner determines, based
19	on a report filed under subdivision 1 or other available
20	information, that a zone or subzone is failing to meet its
21	performance goals, the commissioner may take any actions the
22	commissioner determines appropriate, including modification of
23	the boundaries of the zone or a subzone or termination of the
24	zone or a subzone. Before taking any action, the commissioner
25	shall consult with the applicant and the affected local
26	government units, including notifying them of the proposed
27	actions to be taken. The-commissioner-shall-publish-any-order
28	modifying-a-zone-in-the-State-Register-and-on-the-Internet. The
29	applicant may appeal the commissioner's order under the
30	contested case procedures of chapter 14.
31	[EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective the day
32	following final enactment.
33	Sec. 106. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 469.330,
34	subdivision ll, is amended to read:
35	Subd. 11. [QUALIFIED BUSINESS.] (a) "Qualified business"
36	means a person carrying on a trade or business at a
Ar	ticle 2 Section 106 224

[REVISOR] CMR/CA 05-4113

04/27/05

biotechnology and health sciences industry facility located within a biotechnology and health sciences industry zone. <u>A</u> <u>person is a qualified business only on those parcels of land for</u> which it has entered into a business subsidy agreement, as <u>required under section 469.333</u>, with the appropriate local government unit in which the parcels are located.

7 (b) A person that relocates a biotechnology and health 8 sciences industry facility from outside a biotechnology and 9 health sciences industry zone into a zone is not a qualified 10 business, unless the business:

(1)(i) increases full-time employment in the first full 11 year of operation within the biotechnology and health sciences 12 industry zone by at least 20 percent measured relative to the 13 operations that were relocated and maintains the required level 14 of employment for each year the zone designation applies; or 15 (ii) makes a capital investment in the property located 16 within a zone equivalent to ten percent of the gross revenues of 17 operation that were relocated in the immediately preceding 18 19 taxable year; and

20 (2) enters a binding written agreement with the 21 commissioner that:

(i) pledges the business will meet the requirements ofclause (1);

(ii) provides for repayment of all tax benefits enumerated
under section 469.336 to the business under the procedures in
section 469.340, if the requirements of clause (1) are not met;
and

(iii) contains any other terms the commissioner determinesappropriate.

30 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective retroactively
31 from June 9, 2003.

32 Sec. 107. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 469.340,
33 subdivision 1, is amended to read:

34 Subdivision 1. [REPAYMENT OBLIGATION.] A business must 35 repay the amount of the tax reduction listed in section 469.336 36 and any refunds under sections 469.338 and 469.339 in excess of

Article 2 Section 107 2

```
225
```

tax liability, received during the two years immediately before
 it ceased to operate in the zone, if the business:

3 (1) received tax reductions authorized by section 469.336;4 and

(2)(i) did not meet the goals specified in an agreement 5 entered into with the applicant that states any obligation the 6 qualified business must fulfill in order to be eligible for tax 7 The commissioner of employment and economic 8 benefits. development may extend for up to one year the period for meeting 9 any goals provided in an agreement. The applicant may extend 10 the period for meeting other goals by documenting in writing the 11 12 reason for the extension and attaching a copy of the document to its next annual report to the commissioner of employment and 13 economic development; or 14

(ii) ceased to operate its facility located within the biotechnology and health sciences industry zone or otherwise ceases to be or is not a qualified business.

18 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective the day 19 following final enactment.

Sec. 108. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 474A.061,
subdivision 2c, is amended to read:

22 Subd. 2c. [PUBLIC FACILITIES POOL ALLOCATION.] From the 23 beginning of the calendar year and continuing for a period of 24 120 days, the commissioner shall reserve \$370007000 \$5,000,000 25 of the available bonding authority from the public facilities 26 pool for applications for public facilities projects to be 27 financed by the Western Lake Superior Sanitary District. 28 Commencing on the second Tuesday in January and continuing on 29 each Monday through the last Monday in July, the commissioner 30 shall allocate available bonding authority from the public facilities pool to applications for eligible public facilities 31 32 projects received on or before the Monday of the preceding 33 week. If there are two or more applications for public 34 facilities projects from the pool and there is insufficient 35 available bonding authority to provide allocations for all projects in any one week, the available bonding authority shall 36

Article 2

Section 108

226

be awarded by lot unless otherwise agreed to by the respective
 issuers.

3 Sec. 109. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 517.08,
4 subdivision lb, is amended to read:

Subd. 1b. [TERM OF LICENSE; FEE; PREMARITAL EDUCATION.] 5 (a) The local registrar shall examine upon oath the party 6 applying for a license relative to the legality of the 7 contemplated marriage. If at the expiration of a five-day 8 period, on being satisfied that there is no legal impediment to 9 it, including the restriction contained in section 259.13, the 10 local registrar shall issue the license, containing the full 11 names of the parties before and after marriage, and county and 12 state of residence, with the county seal attached, and make a 13 record of the date of issuance. The license shall be valid for 14 a period of six months. In case of emergency or extraordinary 15 16 circumstances, a judge of the district court of the county in which the application is made, may authorize the license to be 17 issued at any time before the expiration of the five days. 18 Except as provided in paragraph (b), the local registrar shall 19 20 collect from the applicant a fee of \$85 \$100 for administering the oath, issuing, recording, and filing all papers required, 21 and preparing and transmitting to the state registrar of vital 22 statistics the reports of marriage required by this section. If 23 24 the license should not be used within the period of six months 25 due to illness or other extenuating circumstances, it may be surrendered to the local registrar for cancellation, and in that 26 case a new license shall issue upon request of the parties of 27 28 the original license without fee. A local registrar who knowingly issues or signs a marriage license in any manner other 29 30 than as provided in this section shall pay to the parties aggrieved an amount not to exceed \$1,000. 31

32 (b) The marriage license fee for parties who have completed 33 at least 12 hours of premarital education is \$20 \$30. In order 34 to qualify for the reduced fee, the parties must submit a signed 35 and dated statement from the person who provided the premarital 36 education confirming that it was received. The premarital

Article 2 Section 109 227

education must be provided by a licensed or ordained minister or the minister's designee, a person authorized to solemnize marriages under section 517.18, or a person authorized to practice marriage and family therapy under section 148B.33. The education must include the use of a premarital inventory and the teaching of communication and conflict management skills.

7 (c) The statement from the person who provided the 8 premarital education under paragraph (b) must be in the 9 following form:

10 "I, (name of educator), confirm that (names of both parties) received at least 12 hours of premarital education that 11 included the use of a premarital inventory and the teaching of 12 13 communication and conflict management skills. I am a licensed 14 or ordained minister, a person authorized to solemnize marriages under Minnesota Statutes, section 517.18, or a person licensed 15 16 to practice marriage and family therapy under Minnesota 17 Statutes, section 148B.33."

18 The names of the parties in the educator's statement must 19 be identical to the legal names of the parties as they appear in 20 the marriage license application. Notwithstanding section 21 138.17, the educator's statement must be retained for seven 22 years, after which time it may be destroyed.

(d) If section 259.13 applies to the request for a marriage
license, the local registrar shall grant the marriage license
without the requested name change. Alternatively, the local
registrar may delay the granting of the marriage license until
the party with the conviction:

(1) certifies under oath that 30 days have passed since
service of the notice for a name change upon the prosecuting
authority and, if applicable, the attorney general and no
objection has been filed under section 259.13; or

32 (2) provides a certified copy of the court order granting 33 it. The parties seeking the marriage license shall have the 34 right to choose to have the license granted without the name 35 change or to delay its granting pending further action on the 36 name change request.

Article 2

Section 109

228

[REVISOR] CMR/CA 05-4113

04/27/05

Sec. 110. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 517.08, 1 subdivision lc, is amended to read: 2 Subd. lc. [DISPOSITION OF LICENSE FEE.] (a) Of the 3 marriage license fee collected pursuant to subdivision 1b, ۵ paragraph (a), \$15 must be retained by the county. The local 5 registrar must pay \$70 \$85 to the commissioner of finance to be 6 deposited as follows: 7 (1) \$50 in the general fund; 8 (2) \$3 in the special revenue fund to be appropriated to 9 the commissioner of education for parenting time centers under 10 section 119A.37; 11 (3) \$2 in the special revenue fund to be appropriated to 12 13 the commissioner of health for developing and implementing the MN ENABL program under section 145.9255; 14 (4) \$10 \$25 in the special revenue fund to be appropriated 15 to the commissioner of employment and economic development for 16 the displaced homemaker program under section 116L.96; and 17 (5) \$5 in the special revenue fund to be appropriated to 18 the commissioner of human services for the Minnesota Healthy 19 Marriage and Responsible Fatherhood Initiative under section 20 21 256.742. (b) Of the \$20 \$30 fee under subdivision 1b, paragraph (b), 22 \$15 must be retained by the county. The local registrar must 23 pay \$5 \$15 to the commissioner of finance to be distributed 24 deposited as follows: 25 (1) \$5 as provided in paragraph (a), clauses (2) and (3); 26 27 and (2) \$10 in the special revenue fund to be appropriated to 28 the commissioner of employment and economic development for the 29 displaced homemaker program under section 116L.96. 30 (c) The increase in the marriage license fee under 31 32 paragraph (a) provided for in Laws 2004, chapter 273, and disbursement of the increase in that fee to the special fund for 33 34 the Minnesota Healthy Marriage and Responsible Fatherhood 35 Initiative under paragraph (a), clause (5), is contingent upon the receipt of federal funding under United States Code, title 36

229

Article 2 Section 110

42, section 1315, for purposes of the initiative. 1 Sec. 111. Laws 1999, chapter 224, section 7, as amended by 2 Laws 2004, chapter 261, article 6, section 3, is amended to read: 3 Sec. 7. [SUNSET.] 4 Sections 2 and 4 expire on August 1, 2005 2006, and 5 Minnesota Statutes 1998, sections 237.63, 237.65, and 237.68, 6 expire on December 31, 2004. 7 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective the day 8 9 following final enactment. Sec. 112. Laws 2003, chapter 128, article 1, section 172, 10 11 is amended to read: Sec. 172. [TEMPORARY PETROFUND FEE EXEMPTION FOR MINNESOTA 12 13 COMMERCIAL AIRLINES.] (a) A commercial airline providing regularly scheduled jet 14 service and with its corporate headquarters in Minnesota is 15 16 exempt from the fee established in Minnesota Statutes, section 115C.08, subdivision 3, until July 1, 2005 2007, provided the 17 18 airline develops a plan approved by the commissioner of commerce demonstrating that the savings from this exemption will go 19 20 towards minimizing job losses in Minnesota, and to support the 21 airline's efforts to avoid filing for federal bankruptcy 22 protections. 23 (b) A commercial airline exempted from the fee is 24 ineligible to receive reimbursement under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 115C, until July 1, 2005 2007. A commercial airline 25 26 that has a release during the fee exemption period is ineligible to receive reimbursement under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 115C, 27 for the costs incurred in response to that release. 28

Sec. 113. [TRANSITION PERIOD FOR CHIROPRACTOR AND PHYSICAL
30 THERAPIST WORKERS' COMPENSATION FEE MAXIMUMS.]

The requirement that the maximum fees for chiropractors and physical therapists under Minnesota Statutes, section 176.136, subdivision 1a, be the same as for medical physicians must be phased in over three years commencing January 1, 2006. On

35 January 1, 2006, the difference in those maximum fees must be

36 reduced by one-third, on January 1, 2007, by another one-third,

Article 2 Section 113 230

1	and on January 1, 2008, the difference must be eliminated and
2	the maximum fees made the same.
3	To ensure that the fee adjustments mandated by this section
4	do not increase costs to the workers' compensation system, the
5	commissioner of labor and industry shall on October 1, 2005,
6	2006, and 2007, reduce the annual adjustment in the conversion
7	factors under Minnesota Statutes, section 176.136, subdivision
8	la, so that savings in medical fee costs caused by the reduction
9	approximately equal the increase in costs caused by the
10	increased maximum fees provided by this section. The actual
11	fees shall be determined without application of any scaling
12	factors, but shall not exceed the provider's uniform, customary,
13	and reasonable fee.
14	Sec. 114. [SESQUICENTENNIAL COMMISSION.]
15	Subdivision 1. [COMMISSION; PURPOSE.] The Minnesota
16	Sesquicentennial Commission is established to plan for
17	activities relating to Minnesota's 150th anniversary of
18	statehood. The commission shall create a plan for capital
19	improvements, celebratory activities, and public engagement in
20	every county in the state of Minnesota.
21	Subd. 2. [MEMBERSHIP.] The commission shall consist of 17
22	members who shall serve until the completion of the
23	sesquicentennial year of statehood, appointed as follows:
24	(1) nine members appointed by the governor, representing
25	major corporate, nonprofit, and public sectors of the state,
26	selected from all parts of the state;
27	(2) two members appointed by the speaker of the house of
28	representatives;
29	(3) two members appointed by the minority leader of the
30	house of representatives;
31	(4) two members from the majority party in the senate,
32	appointed by the Subcommittee on Committees; and
33	(5) two members from the minority party in the senate,
34	appointed by the Subcommittee on Committees.
35	Subd. 3. [COMPENSATION; OPERATION.] The governor shall
36	appoint a chair from the membership of the commission. The

Article 2 Section 114 231

1	chair shall convene the first meeting and set the agenda for the
2	commission. The Minnesota Historical Society shall provide
3	office space and staff support for the commission, and shall
4	cooperate with the University of Minnesota and Minnesota State
5	Colleges and Universities to support the programs of the
6	commission. Meetings shall be at the call of the chair and must
7	be convened at least quarterly. The commission may appoint an
8	advisory council to advise and assist the commission with its
9	duties. Members shall receive no compensation for service on
10	the Sesquicentennial Commission. Members appointed by the
11	governor may be reimbursed for expenses under Minnesota
12	Statutes, section 15.059, subdivision 3.
13	Subd. 4. [DUTIES.] The commission shall have the following
14	duties:
15	(1) to present to the governor, senate and house of
16	representatives committees with jurisdiction over the Minnesota
17	Historical Society, and the Minnesota Historical Society a plan
18	for grants to pay for capital improvements on Minnesota's
19	historic public and private buildings, to be known as
20	sesquicentennial grants;
21	(2) to seek funding for activities to celebrate the 150th
22	anniversary of statehood, and to form partnerships with private
23	parties to further this mission; and
24	(3) to present an annual report to the governor,
25	legislative committees identified in clause (1), and the
26	Minnesota Historical Society outlining progress made towards the
27	celebration of the sesquicentennial.
28	Subd. 5. [EXPIRATION.] The commission shall continue to
29	operate until January 30, 2009, at which time it shall expire.
30	[EFFECTIVE DATE.] This section is effective the day
31	following final enactment.
32	Sec. 115. [EXTENDED EMPLOYMENT PROGRAM WAGE RATES.]
33	The commissioner of employment and economic development
34	must study the issue of the appropriate level of wages to be
35	paid to participants in extended employment programs under
36	Minnesota Statutes, chapter 268A. The commissioner must consult
Ar	ticle 2 Section 115 232

1	with employers, rehabilitation facilities, program participants
2	and their parents or legal guardians, advocacy groups, other
3	involved government agencies, and others the commissioner
4	determines necessary. The commissioner shall report the results
5	of the study along with any recommendations by February 1, 2006,
6	to the chairs of the legislative committees with fiscal or
7	policy jurisdiction over those extended employment programs.
8	Sec. 116. [REVISOR'S INSTRUCTION.]
9	(a) The revisor of statutes shall insert a first grade
10	headnote prior to Minnesota Statutes, section 181.722, that
11	reads "MISREPRESENTATION OF EMPLOYMENT RELATIONSHIPS."
12	(b) The revisor of statutes shall renumber Minnesota
13	Statutes, section 239.05, as section 239.051, alphabetize the
14	definitions, and correct any cross-references to that section
15	accordingly.
16	Sec. 117. [REPEALER.]
17	(a) Minnesota Statutes 2004, sections 116J.573; 178.12; and
18	239.05, subdivisions 6a and 6b, are repealed.
19	(b) Laws 1999, chapter 125, section 4, as amended by Laws
20	2002, chapter 398, section 7, is repealed.
21	Sec. 118. [EFFECTIVE DATE.]
22	Sections 12 to 22 and 25 are effective January 1, 2006, and
23	apply to service contracts issued on or after that date. A
24	provider transacting business in this state on or before the
25	date of the enactment of this chapter, which submits an
26	application for registration as a provider under Minnesota
27	Statutes, section 59B.03, subdivision 3, within 30 days after
28	the commissioner makes the application available, may continue
29	to transact business in this state until final agency action is
30	taken by the commissioner regarding the registration application
31	and all rights to administrative and judicial review related to
32	that final agency action have been exhausted or have expired.

Article 1 ENVIRONMENT, NATURAL RESOURCES, AND AGRICULTURE...... page 2 Article 2 ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT..... page 136

APPENDIX Repealed Minnesota Statutes for 05-4113

18B.065 WASTE PESTICIDE COLLECTION PROGRAM.

Subd. 5. Waste pesticide collection account; appropriation. A waste pesticide account is established in the agricultural fund. Assessments collected under subdivision 2 shall be deposited in the state treasury and credited to the waste pesticide account. Money in the account is appropriated to the commissioner to pay for costs incurred to implement the waste pesticide collection program. 19.64 REGISTRATION; FEES.

Subd. 4a. Other fees. On request the commissioner may make inspections for sale of bees, bee equipment, or appliances or perform other necessary services. The commissioner shall charge a fee or charge for expenses so as to recover the cost of performing these inspections or services. If a person for whom these inspections or services are to be performed requests it, the commissioner shall provide to the person in advance an estimate of the fees or expenses that will be charged.

41B.046 VALUE-ADDED AGRICULTURAL PRODUCT LOAN PROGRAM.

Subd. 3. Revolving fund. There is established in the state treasury a value-added agricultural product revolving fund which is eligible to receive appropriations. All repayments of financial assistance granted under subdivision 2, including principal and interest, must be deposited into this fund. Interest earned on money in the fund accrues to the fund, and money in the fund is appropriated to the commissioner of agriculture for purposes of the value-added agricultural loan program, including costs incurred by the authority to establish and administer the program. 84.901 OFF-HIGHWAY VEHICLE SAFETY AND CONSERVATION

84.901 OFF-HIGHWAY VEHICLE SAFETY AND CONSERVATION PROGRAM.

Subdivision 1. Creation. The commissioner of natural resources shall establish a program to promote the safe and responsible operation of off-highway vehicles in a manner that does not harm the environment. The commissioner shall coordinate the program through the regional offices of the Department of Natural Resources.

Department of Natural Resources. Subd. 2. Purpose. The purpose of the program is to encourage off-highway vehicle clubs to assist, on a volunteer basis, in improving, maintaining, and monitoring of trails on state forest land and other public lands.

state forest land and other public lands. Subd. 3. Agreements. (a) The commissioner shall enter into informal agreements with off-highway vehicle clubs for volunteer services to maintain, make improvements to, and monitor trails on state forest land and other public lands. The off-highway vehicle clubs shall promote the operation of off-highway vehicles in a safe and responsible manner that complies with the laws and rules that relate to the operation of off-highway vehicles.

(b) The off-highway vehicle clubs may provide assistance to the department in locating, recruiting, and training instructors for off-highway vehicle training programs.

for off-highway vehicle training programs. (c) The commissioner may provide assistance to enhance the comfort and safety of volunteers and to facilitate the implementation and administration of the safety and conservation program.

Subd. 4. Worker displacement prohibited. The commissioner may not enter into any agreement that has the purpose of or results in the displacement of public employees by

APPENDIX

Repealed Minnesota Statutes for 05-4113

volunteers participating in the off-highway safety and conservation program under this section. The commissioner must certify to the appropriate bargaining agent that the work performed by a volunteer will not result in the displacement of currently employed workers or workers on seasonal layoff or layoff from a substantially equivalent position, including partial displacement such as reduction in hours of nonovertime work, wages, or other employment benefits. 115B.49 DRY CLEANER ENVIRONMENTAL RESPONSE AND REIMBURSEMENT ACCOUNT.

Interim fees. For the period from July 1, Subd. 4a. 2001, to June 30, 2003, the commissioner shall, after a public hearing, but notwithstanding section 16A.1285, subdivision 4, annually adjust the fees in subdivision 4 as necessary to maintain an annual income of \$650,000.

116J.573 CRITERIA FOR ACCOUNTS AND PROJECTS.

Subdivision 1. Accounts. Criteria for use of the accounts created in section 116J.571 must be consistent with and promote the purposes of sections 116J.571 to 116J.575. They include, but are not limited to:

(1) creating and preserving living wage jobs in greater Minnesota;

(2) creating incentives for communities to include a full range of housing opportunities;

(3) creating incentives for all communities to implement compact, efficient, and mixed-use development; and

(4) creating incentives to assist communities in maintaining a unique sense of place by preserving local,

cultural assets. Subd. 2. Projects. To be eligible for funding by the greater Minnesota redevelopment account, a project must:

(1) interrelate redevelopment with other public investments

in transportation, housing, schools, energy, utilities
information infrastructure, and other public services;
 (2) interrelate affordable housing and employment growth

areas;

(3) intensify land use that leads to more compact redevelopment;

(4) involve redevelopment that mixes incomes of residents in housing, including introducing or reintroducing higher value housing in lower income areas to achieve a mix of housing opportunities;

(5) involve participation from citizens and the business community in the planning and development of the proposed redevelopment plan;

(6) encourage public infrastructure investments which attract private sector redevelopment investment in commercial, industrial, and residential properties adjacent to public improvements, and provide project area residents with expanded opportunities for private sector employment; or

(7) be sustainable at the local level and reduce the probability of future requests for state development,

maintenance, or replacement assistance. Subd. 3. Other factors. The factors listed in subdivisions 1 and 2 are not ranked in order of priority. Rather, the commissioner may weigh each factor depending upon the facts and circumstances as the commissioner considers appropriate. The commissioner may consider other factors including, but not limited to, blight reduction, community

116J.573

APPENDIX

Repealed Minnesota Statutes for 05-4113

stabilization, and property tax base maintenance or improvement. Subd. 4. Partnerships. The commissioner shall give

priority to proposals using innovative financial partnerships between government, private for-profit, and nonprofit sectors as well as to proposals that meet current tax increment financing requirements for a redevelopment district and contribute tax increment financing towards the project.

Subd. 5. Annual report. The commissioner shall prepare and submit to the legislature an annual report on the greater Minnesota redevelopment account. The report must include information on the amount of money in the account, the amount distributed, to whom the grants were distributed and for what purposes, and an evaluation of the effectiveness of the projects funded in meeting the policies and goals of the program. 178.12 REGISTRATION FEE.

The apprenticeship registration account is established in the special revenue fund of the state treasury. An annual registration fee will be charged to each sponsor for each apprentice registered in the program. The fee is established at \$30 per apprentice. Subsequent adjustments to this fee will be made pursuant to sections 16A.1283 and 16A.1285, subdivision 2. The fees collected and any interest earned are appropriated to the commissioner for purposes of this chapter. 239.05 DEFINITIONS.

Subd. 6a. Carbon monoxide control area. "Carbon monoxide control area" means a geographic area designated as an oxygenated gasoline carbon monoxide control area by the United States Environmental Protection Agency.

Subd. 6b. Carbon monoxide control period. "Carbon monoxide control period" means a period of months designated as a carbon monoxide control period by the United States Environmental Protection Agency.

473.156 METROPOLITAN WATER USE AND SUPPLY PLAN.

Subdivision 1. Plan components. The Metropolitan Council shall develop a short-term and long-term plan for existing and expected water use and supply in the metropolitan area. The plan shall be submitted to and reviewed by the commissioner of natural resources for consistency with the statewide drought plan under section 103G.293. At a minimum, the plans must:

(1) update the data and information on water supply and use within the metropolitan area and develop a water use and availability database;

availability database; (2) identify and evaluate alternative courses of action, including water conservation initiatives and economic alternatives, in case of drought or contamination conditions;

(3) develop regional surface water and use projection models for resource evaluation;

(4) recommend long-term approaches to resolving problems that may develop because of water use and supply with consideration given to problems that occur outside of the metropolitan area, but which have an effect within the area; and

(5) be consistent with the statewide drought plan under section 103G.293.

Subd. 2. Completion and report. The short-term plan must be completed by February 1, 1990. The long-term plan must be completed by February 1, 1992, and continually updated as the need arises. The plans must be prepared in consultation with the Army Corps of Engineers, the Leech Lake Reservation business

473.156

APPENDIX

Repealed Minnesota Statutes for 05-4113

committee, the Mississippi headwaters board, Department of Natural Resources, and the Environmental Quality Board. Both plans must be given to the Metropolitan Affairs and Natural Resources Committees of the house of representatives and senate, and be available to the public.

473.197 HOUSING BOND CREDIT ENHANCEMENT PROGRAM.

Subdivision 1. Authorization. The metropolitan council may establish a housing bond credit enhancement program as provided in this section. The council may pledge its full faith and credit and taxing powers to the payment of bonds issued under section 469.034 for qualified housing development projects in the metropolitan area, as provided in this section. A "qualified housing development project" has the meaning given that term in section 469.034, subdivision 2, paragraph (e), except that the council is substituted for "general jurisdiction governmental unit" in clause (3) and "60 percent of the median family income" is substituted for "80 percent of the median family income."

Subd. 2. Project selection. Before pledging its full faith and credit, the council must establish criteria for selecting appropriate qualified housing development projects for the credit enhancement program. The council may award preferences for qualified housing development projects that meet criteria for preferences established by the council. The council must establish the criteria in consultation with housing providers in the metropolitan area. In developing priorities for projects for the credit enhancement program, the council shall give priority to projects that develop or redevelop housing for low-income households. The council shall consider the extent to which projects for the credit enhancement program are developed in collaboration with Minnesota Youth-Build under sections 116L.361 to 116L.366; or training for housing programs for homeless adults under Laws 1992, chapter 376, article 6; or other employment training programs. Subd. 3. Limitation. The aggregate principal amount

Subd. 3. Limitation. The aggregate principal amount of bonds that may be secured by a pledge of the council's full faith and credit under this section may not exceed \$20,000,000. The bonds must be payable from revenues derived from the project or projects financed under the credit enhancement program, or from income of the authority or authorities that participate in the program, including earnings on any reserves established for the program. The council must find that the pledged revenues will equal or exceed 110 percent of the principal and interest due on the bonds.

Subd. 5. Agreements. The council and each authority that participates in the credit enhancement program may enter into agreements they determine to be necessary to implement the credit enhancement program. The agreements may extend over any period, notwithstanding any law to the contrary.

473.197

Senator Johnson, D.E. from the Committee on Rules and Administration, to which was referred for proper reference under Rule 4.9:

12

3

S.F. No. 2276: A bill for an act relating to state 4 5 government; environmental, natural resources, agricultural, and economic development purposes; establishing and modifying 6 certain programs; providing for regulation of certain activities 7 and practices; providing for accounts, assessments, and fees; 8 9 amending Minnesota Statutes 2004, sections 11A.24, subdivision 10 6; 13.635, by adding a subdivision; 16A.125, subdivision 5; 17.03, subdivision 13; 17.117, by adding a subdivision; 17B.03, subdivision 1; 18B.05, subdivision 1; 18B.08, subdivision 4; 11 12 18B.26, subdivision 3; 18B.31, subdivision 5; 18B.315, 13 subdivision 6; 18B.32, subdivision 6; 18B.33, subdivision 7; 18B.34, subdivision 5; 18C.141, subdivisions 1, 3, 5; 18C.425, 14 15 subdivision 6; 18E.03, subdivision 2; 18G.10, subdivisions 5, 7 18G.16, subdivisions 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 14; 18H.07, subdivisions 1, 2, 3; 19.64, subdivision 1; 25.341, subdivision 16 7; 17 18 19 2; 25.39, subdivisions 1, 4; 41A.09, subdivisions 2a, 3a, by 20 adding subdivisions; 41B.046, subdivision 5; 41B.049, subdivision 2; 60A.14, subdivision 1; 60K.55, subdivision 2; 72A.20, by adding a subdivision; 72B.04, subdivision 10; 82B.09, subdivision 1; 84.027, subdivisions 12, 13, 15; 84.0911, 21 22 23 subdivision 2; 84.780; 84.788, subdivision 3, by adding a 24 25 subdivision; 84.791, subdivision 2; 84.798, by adding a subdivision; 84.82, subdivision 2, by adding a subdivision; 84.8205, subdivisions 1, 3, 4, 6; 84.83, subdivisions 3, 4; 84.86, subdivision 1; 84.922, subdivision 2, by adding a 26 27 28 29 subdivision; 84.925, subdivision 1; 84D.03, subdivision 4; 30 85.054, subdivision 1, by adding a subdivision; 85.055, 31 subdivision 2, by adding a subdivision; 85.43; 86B.415, by adding a subdivision; 88.6435, subdivision 4; 89.039, subdivision 1; 89.37, by adding a subdivision; 90.195; 97A.055, 32 33 34 subdivision 4b; 97A.061, subdivision 1; 97A.075, subdivision 3; 97A.4742, subdivision 4; 97A.482; 97A.485, subdivision 7; 97A.551, by adding a subdivision; 97B.015, subdivision 7; 97B.025; 97C.085; 103E.081, by adding subdivisions; 103G.271, 35 36 37 subdivision 6; 103G.301, subdivision 2; 103G.615, subdivision 2; 38 39 103I.681, subdivision 11; 115.03, subdivision 4a; 115.551; 115B.48, subdivision 8; 115B.49, by adding a subdivision; 115C.07, subdivision 3; 115C.09, subdivisions 3h, 3j; 115C.13; 40 41 42 116J.571; 116J.572; 116J.574; 116J.575; 116L.20, subdivision 1; 116L.30, subdivisions 1, 2, by adding subdivisions; 1160.09, subdivision 1a; 116P.05, subdivision 2; 129D.02, subdivision 3; 43 44160.232; 168.1296, subdivision 1; 176.136, subdivision 1a; 183.41, by adding a subdivision; 183.411, subdivisions 2a, 3; 183.42; 183.44, subdivision 1; 183.51, subdivision 2, by adding a subdivision; 183.545; 183.57; 216B.2424, subdivisions 1, 2, 45 16 47 48 5a, 6, 8, by adding a subdivision; 223.17, subdivision 3; 49 50 231.16; 232.22, subdivision 3; 236.02, subdivision 4; 237.11; 51 237.295, subdivisions 1, 2; 237.701, subdivision 1; 239.011, subdivision 2; 239.05, subdivision 10b, by adding a subdivision; 239.09; 239.101, subdivision 3; 239.75, subdivisions 1, 5; 239.761; 239.77, by adding a subdivision; 239.79, subdivision 4; 52 53 54 239.791, subdivisions 1, 7, 8, 15; 239.792; 282.08; 282.38, 55 subdivision 1; 296A.01, subdivisions 2, 7, 8, 14, 19, 20, 22, 56 23, 24, 25, 26, 28; 296A.18, subdivision 2; 298.22, by adding a subdivision; 357.021, subdivisions 1a, 2; 462.357, subdivision 57 58 59 1e; 469.050, subdivision 5; 469.1082, subdivision 1; 469.310, subdivision 11; 469.319, subdivision 1, by adding a subdivision; 469.320, subdivision 3; 469.330, subdivision 11; 469.340, 60 61 subdivision 1; 473.197, subdivision 4; 474A.061, subdivision 2c; 517.08, subdivisions 1b, 1c; Laws 1999, chapter 224, section 7, 62 63 as amended; Laws 2003, chapter 128, article 1, section 9, 64 subdivision 6; Laws 2003, chapter 128, article 1, section 172; proposing coding for new law in Minnesota Statutes, chapters 25; 65 66 41B; 45; 84; 86B; 97C; 103F; 116H; 116P; 181; 219; 237; 325F; 67 68 354B; 446A; 473; proposing coding for new law as Minnesota Statutes, chapters 59B; 87A; repealing Minnesota Statutes 2004, 69 sections 18B.065, subdivision 5; 19.64, subdivision 4a; 41B.046, 70

1

[SENATEE] mg

1 2 3 4	<pre>subdivision 3; 84.901; 115B.49, subdivision 4a; 116J.573; 178.12; 239.05, subdivisions 6a, 6b; 473.156; 473.197, subdivisions 1, 2, 3, 5; Laws 1999, chapter 125, section 4, as amended.</pre>
5 6	Reports the same back with the recommendation that the bill be amended as follows:
7	Pages 85 to 91, delete sections 87 to 94
8	Pages 108 to 118, delete sections 121 to 127
9	Page 230, delete section 112
10	Renumber the sections in sequence
11	Amend the title as follows:
12	Page 2, line 29, delete everything after "6;"
13	Page 2, line 31, delete "116H;"
14	Page 2, line 33, delete everything after "Statutes," and
15	insert "chapter 59B;"
16 17 18	And when so amended the bill be given its second reading and placed on General Orders. Amendments adopted. Report adopted.
19	X E

(Committee Chair)

20

April 29, 2005.....). (Date of Committee recommendation)