
• Legislature sets offense definitions and penalty ranges in~; 

• Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines recommends: 
- Prison or Probation; 
- Length of Prison Sentence; 

• Recommended sentence based on: 
- Offender's conviction af(erise (Severity Levers r - XI); 
- Offender's prior crlminaf record (Scored from n to 6+ ); 

• Determinate prisori sentences: 
- Serve at least 2/3 of sentence In prison (more for facility violations); 
- Serve no more than 1/3 of sentence 011 supervised release; 
- No Parole Board. 



The horizontal axis represents the 
offenders total criminal history score. 

Vertical axis represents the severity 
of the current offense. Felonies are 
ranked from 1-l I. 

Each individual cell on the grid 
contains the presumptive duration of a 
sentence in months. For cells above 
the disposition line. a range is also 
given.. 

Coordinates on the grid indicate two things: 

l I The pre.rnmptive di111o;·itfon of a sentence 

2) The presumprive duncrion of a sentence 

• The presumptive sentence is appropriate for"typical" offenses. 

• Departures are appropriate for"atypical" offenses. 

• A departure may be up to the statutory maximum sentence for 
the offense. 

• The sentencing judge must fine :'substantial and compelling 
reasons" justifying a departure. 

• Either the prosecution or the defense may appeal a sentence. 

• Dispositional •Durational 

-Aggravated -Aggravated 

~Mitigated ·-Mitigated 

-Combined -Combined 



• Mr. Blakely pleaded guilty in Washington State to kidnapping his 
estranged wffe. The Washington Sentencing Guidelines 
recommended a 53 month sentence for this offense; the 
statutory maximum sentence was 10 years (120 months). 

• The sentencing judge imposed an upward duratlonal departure, 
sentencing Mr. Blakely to 90 months after finding that he had 
acted with deliberate cruelty (a statutorily enumerated ground 
for departing from the standard sentence). 

• In Apprendi v. New Jersey (2000), the Supreme Court of the 
United States held that "[o]ther than the fact of a prior 
conviction, any fact that increases the penalty for a crime 
beyond the prescribed statutory maximum must be submitted to 
a jury, and prove(i beyond a reasonable doubt" 

• Under~. the relevant statutory maximum sentence is the 
maximum sentence a judge may impose safety on the facts 
admitted by the defendant or found by the jury. The Guidelines 
standard sentence (53 months) was the maximum sentence 
that could be imposed without the finding of additional facts. 

• Effect: The Sixth Amendment right to a trial by jury requires 
that any aggravated factors or other factors that increase a 
sentence beyond the presumptive guidelines sentence must 
either be admitted by the defendant or found by a jury beyond 
a reasonable doubt. 



• Directed by the Governor to assess the 
impact 

• Requested to develop and submit short-term 
recommendations in 30 days. 

• Requested to develop and submit long-term 
recommendations in 60 days. 

• Commission utilized a Subcommittee and 
Working Group 

• Jeff Edblad, Chair, Isanti County Attorney 

• Honorable Gordon Shumaker, Court of Appeals 

• Honorable Isabel Gomez1 Fourth Judicial District 

• Darci Bentzr Assistant Public Defender, Fairmont 



• Jeff Edblad, Chair, Isanti County Attorney 

• Darci Bentz, Assistant Public Defender, Fairmont 

• Benjamin Butler, Assistant State Public Defender 

• Pete Cahill, Deputy Hennepin County Attorney 

• Honorable Ed Cleary, Second Judicial Dfstrrct 

• Karen Duncan, Managing Attorney, Owatonna Publfc Defender Office 

• Honorable Isabel Gomez, Fourth.Judfcial District 

• Scott Hersey, Assistant Dakota County Attorney 

• Honorable Michael Kirk, Seventh Judicial District 

• William Klumpp, Assistant Attorney General 

• Honorable Gordon Shumaker, Minnesota Court of Appeals 

• John Stewart, Chief State Public Defender 

• Minnesota's Sentencing Guidelines remain 
constitutional. 

• Determinate sentencing remains 
constitutional. 

• The current procedures used to sentence 
aggravated departures violate the Sixth 
Amendment and require modification. 

• Durational Departures 

• Statutorily Enhanced Sentencing 

• Consecutive Sentencing Provisions 

• M.S. §609.11 Dangerous Weapons Mandatory 

Sentencing Provisions 

111 Plea Proceedings 



• Mandatory Minimum Sentencing (not M.S. §609.11) 

• Mitigated Departures 

• Periods of Supervised and Conditional Release 

• Truth in Sentencing Provisions 

• Retroactivity Provisions 

• Custody Status Point 

• Probation Revocation 

• Restitution Amounts Ordered by Courts 

• Aggravated (Upward) Durational Departures 
State v, Conger MN Court of Appeafs, October 12, 2004 

• Special Statutory Sentencing Provisions 

- Career Offender Statute - M.S. § 609.1095 subd. 4 -
State v Mitchell MN Court of Appeals, October 12, 2004 

- Dangerous Offender Statute - M.S. §. 609.1095 subd. 2 
State v Eajrbanks:, MN Court of Appeals, November 2, 2004 

- Patterned and Predatory Sex Offender Statute - M.S. § 609.108 
State v Grossman MN Supreme Court, December 13, 2001 

" Pleading Procedures 

- Waivers of Jury Triafs Must Explicitly Waive~ Rights 
State v Fairbanks MN Court of Appeals, November 2, 2004 



• Dispositional .Departures 
~ MN Court of Appeals, October 19, 2004 

" Custody Status Points 
State v. Brooks MN Court of Appeals, December 28, 2004 

• Blakely applies to all cases sentenced or with 
direct appeals pending on or after June 24, 2004. 
State v Houston MN Court of Appeals, December 7, 2004 

• Blakelv does not apply retroactiveJy to Apprendi. 
State v Petsch!. MN Court of Appeals, November 23, 2004 

16,000 ~ 
1-1,000 
12,000 i 
10,000 ~ 

8,000 l 6,000 
-1,000 
2.000 

0 

2003 OffenderSentem:ing Infonnation 

Total Olfcndc111 
Sentenced 

AggrJvated 
Departures 

AggrJvalfd 
Durational 
Departure. 

Agl?,ravatcd 
DurJtional 

Departures -No 
Pica Bargain on 

Sentence 



• The Sentencing Guidelines Grid indudes a range of permissive 
sentences. 

• The Commission adopted modffications expanding this range to 
the full 15% of the presumptive sentence permitted by statute. 

• This modification will limit the impact of~ by increasing 
the range of sentences for which no additional findings are 
needed. 

• Consecutive sentencing is currently permitted when "person 
offenses" are being sentenced consecutively. 

• Because "person offense"· is not defined, the sentencing judge 
must make that determination. This finding ls likely covered by 
~-

• To address this, the Commission adopted a list of "applicable 
offenses" for which consecutive sentencing would be 
permissive. 

• The list of "applfcable offenses" was not intended to define "person 
offense.'" 

• Specific Statutory Sentence Enhancements - It is 
recommended that statutory sentence enhancements be modified to 
recognize the jury fact finding requi~ed by~-

• Heinous Crimes (M.S. § 609.106) 
• Patterned and Predatory Se:c Offenders.(M.S. § 609.108) 
• Repeat Se:c Offenders (M.S. § 609.109 subd. 4) 
• Dangerous Offenders (M.S. § 609.1095 subd. 2) 
• Career Offenders (M.S. § 609.1095 subd. 4) 
• Depriving Another of Custodiaf or Parental Rfghts (M.S. § 609.26(a)(2)) 

• Mandatory Minimum Sentences for Crimes Committed 
With Dangerous Weapons - It is recommended that M.S. § 609.11 
be modified to include a jury determination of whether a firearm was used 
or possessed when the elements of the underlying offense do not require 
the use or possession of a dangerous weapon. 



• The Commission adopted modifications recognizing jury fact 
finding as required by ~ to pronounce upward durational 
departures. 
- Replacing the term "judge"with the term "jury" 

• The Commission recommends that the appropriate bodies 
consider procedural modifications as required by Blakelv to 
address the following areas: 

• Pre-Plea and Pre-Trial Procedures 
• Plea Agreement Procedures 
• Trial Procedures 
• Sentencing Procedures 

e Found guilty of possession of 50 grams of 
cocaine base with intent to distribute; carries 
a guideline sentence of 210 - 262 months in 
prison. 

e Judge made additional findings that the 
defendant possessed an additional 556 grams 
of crack and obstructed justice. 

• Defendant was sentenced to an enhanced 
sentence of 30 years. 



• Defendant charged with conspiracy to distribute and 
possession with intent to distribute 500 grams of 
cocaine. 

• Found guilty by a jury and subject to a 78 month 
prison sentence. 

• At sentencing, the judge found additional factors 
including that the defendant was a leader in a criminal 
activity and was responsible for 2.5 kHograms of 
cocaine powder and 261.6 grams of crack. 

• Though eligible for an enhanced sentence of 188-235 
months, the judge did· not impose the enhanced 
sentence based on Blakely. 

• Enhanced sentence imposed does violate Sixth 
Amendment Rights. 

• Court ruled Federal Guidelines advisory instead 
of mandatory. 

• Appellate review using reasonable sentence 
standard. 

• Impact on Minnesota - Reaffirms the rulings in 
Apprendi and Blakely. 



SUGGESTIONS TO ADDRESS 
BLAKELYV. WAS·HINGTON 

By Darrell C. Hill 
Asst. Ramsey County Attorney 

Co. Chair, Minn. County Attorneys Assoc. 
Appellate Committee 

1. Indeterminate sentencing for sex off enders 

2. Allow greater than 15% deviation in presumptive terms 
(Minn. Stat.§ 244.09, Subd. 5) 

3. Remove· potential fact finding requirements for 
dangerous off enders and repeat off enders (Minn. Stat. § 
609.1095, Subds. 2 and 4) 

4. Need for procedural guidance 
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ur.oose 

The Board of Public Defense is a judicial branch 
agency whose purpose is to provide quality 

criminal defense services to indigent defendants 
in the state of Minnesota through a cost effective 

and efficient public defender system. 

2 



-F PUBLlC DEFENSE 

• Seven ·members, three appointed by the Governor, and 
·four members. (attorneys) appointed by the. Supreme Court. 

• · The Board: Appoints the State Public Defender, District 
Chief Public Defenders, Distributes appropriations from the 
Legislature, Sets standards and policy for the operation of 
public defender offices. 

• The agency is organized into 3 programs: Appellate Office, 
Administrative Services Office and District Public Defense. 

" 

3 



PUBLlC EFENSE 
• Provides constitutionally mandated trial level criminal defense 

services in felo.ny, gross misdemeanor, and juvenile cases. 
• Provides statutorily mandated services to children over 10 in 

child protection cases, as well as non-mandated services to 
parents in child protection cases. 

• 10 Judicial District Public Defender Offices each headed by a 
Chief District Pubtrc Defender. 

• Approximately 525 lawyers provide trial level services 
• 60% of lawyers are part-time. 
• Largest customer of the courts. 

· • Public defenders provide service in every courthouse in 
Minnesota. 

• Public defenders handle over 1· 65,000 cases per year. 

4 



• Approximately 80°/o of individuals charged with 
a serious crime.are represented by a public 
defender . 

. • The public defender system does not and 
cannot control its client intake or workload. 

• These are determined by external forces for 
example;·· increased police/prosecution; 
legislative changes; sentencing guideline 
changes; court decisions; judicial calendar 
changes; Department of Corrections policies. 

• • •nee assigned, cases cannot be refused. 
Dzubiak v Mott. 

5 



Public Defense Corporations 
• The corporations provide high quality, independent 

criminal and juvenile defense services primarily to 
minority indigents, who otherwise would need public 
defense services. The five corporations are the 
Neighborhood Justice Center(St. Paul); Legal Rights 
Center (Mpls.), Duluth Indian Legal, and the Leech 
Lake and White Earth Criminal and Juvenile Defense 
Corporations. 

• Provide service in 5,000 cases that otherwise would 
be public defender cases. 

• State dollars provide leverage for approximately 1 to 1 
match of private funding. 6 



OFFICE 

• The Appellate Office provides mandated . •. 
services 1n: 

• Criminal appeals 
• Post conviction proceedings in the District 

Courts 
• Parole revocation proceedings 

' 

• Sex offender community notification and 
review hearings. (E.C.R.C.) . 

• Blakely cases. 
7 



APPELLATE OFFICE CASES AND D~O.C. INMATES 2003-2004 

9,000 

8,000 

7,000 

6,000 

5,000 

4,000 

a,oooV/~ 
2,000 ~ / 
1,000 

0 
D.0.C. INMATES 

1 ~ 2003 • 2004 I 

8,333 

Parole Revocations E.C.R.C. APPEALS 

INMATES/CASES 
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TRATIVE SERVICES 
OFFICE 

• Provides staff support to all public defender organizations. 
• o·perates on approximately 3% of the budget. 
• Implements Board policies. 
• Responsible for for management of the agency systems related 

caseloads, budget, personnel, and information systems. 
• The Information Systems (IS) Office with a staff of five, designs, 

implements, and maintains systems for over 700 public defender 
staff, in 12 main offices and 16 satellite offices. 

• Systems include e-mail, virus protection, web site resources, case 
and client statistics, asset tracking, attorney timekeeping, online 
legal brief, and transcript banks. 

• Currently, most of the IS team's time is spent integrating systems 
with the Minnesota Supreme Court's new Minnesota Court 
Information System (MNCIS). 

10 



I 
• ·FUNDING 

• CHILD PROTECTION CASES 
- Lack of resources to commit 
- Multiple clients per case 

lTIES 

- Non-mandated service (Except for children over 10 years old) 
- Federal time lines 
- Children's Justice Initiative-
- Appellate Court ruling allows parties losing custody in divorce cases to now file 

CH I PS petitions 

• CASELOADS AND HOURS 
- Part time public defender hours- 29,000 excess hours in FY 2004 
- Recruiting and retaining part-time defenders in Greater Minnesota 
- Caseloads in excess of double A.B.A. and Board Standards 
- Dzubiak and ·Ethics 

• METH CASES 
- Epidemic 
- Multiple defendants require multiple lawyers 
- Child protection cases 
- Associated cases of b'urglary, bad checks, probation violations 'etc. 

11 .. 
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I ITE ON. 

• TECHNOLOGY 
·-Capturing public date already held by other public agencies- MNCIS 
-Costs driven by changes in technology- Electronic Discovery 

• SEX OFFENDER CASES- TRIAL LEVEL AND NOTIFCATION HEARINGS 
-Sex Offender Proposals have the potential to drown the public defender 
system 
-Lengthy complicated trials with DNA and psychological issues- expensive 
expert witness costs 
-Huge increase number and le·ngth of sex offender notification hearings 

• BLAKELY 
-Hundreds of additional cases, uncertainty of extent of retroactivity and 
breadth of remedies 

12 
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MSGC Report to the Legislature 

The Commission has 
spent the vast majority of 
its time monitoring and 
analyzing sentencing 
practices throughout the 
state and providing 
sentencing information to 
the legislature. 

Executive Summary 
In 1978, the Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines 
Commission was established and has been responsible 
for developing, overseeing and monitoring the state’s 
sentencing guidelines for all felony offenders.  With the 
overriding goal of assuring public safety, the guidelines 
were also created to promote proportionality and 
uniformity in sentencing, reduce disparity in sentencing, 
and to coordinate sentencing practices with correctional 
resources. Since the development and implementation 
of the guidelines, the Commission has spent the vast 
majority of its time monitoring and analyzing sentencing 
practices throughout the state and providing sentencing 
information to the Legislature. 
 
Each January, the Sentencing Guidelines Commission submits its annual Report to the 
Legislature, which has contained a variety of sentencing information including: recent legislative 
modifications to the guidelines, analysis of felony DWI sentences, County Attorney Reports on 
cases involving firearms and other sentencing issues of importance to the Legislature.  The 2005 
Report to the Legislature also contains two significant modifications to the sentencing 
guidelines.  The first set of modifications addresses the impact of the recent Supreme Court 
decision Blakely v. Washington on criminal sentencing in Minnesota.  The second set of 
modifications focuses on changes in sentencing policies for sex offenders.  These modifications 
become effective for crimes committed on or after August 1, 2005, pending Legislative review. 
 
The Supreme Court’s decision in Blakely did not rule determinate sentencing unconstitutional, 
nor did it rule aggravated departures unconstitutional.  What the Court’s ruling did indicate was 
that the state’s current procedure for imposing aggravated departures and statutorily enhanced 
sentences is unconstitutional.  The proposed modifications address those procedural issues 
while preserving the ability to impose aggravated departures in cases when appropriate and 
necessary to protect public safety. 
 
The second area for which modifications to the guidelines is proposed involves changes in the 
sentencing structure and procedures for sex offenders.  The Commission is proposing a 
separate determinate sentencing grid for sex offenses that enhances sentences for the most 
serious sex offenders and calculates criminal history in a different manner, weighting prior sex 
offense convictions more heavily.  The proposed modifications contain a recommendation for an 
indeterminate life sentencing option for the “worst of the worst” sex offenders.  
 
In 2003, the Sentencing Commission’s data continues to demonstrate an increase in both the 
number felony sentences imposed and the number of offenders sentenced to prison when 
compared to previous years.  The number of offenders sentenced for felony offenses increased 
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from 12,978 in 2002 to 14,492 in 2003, representing an 11.7% yearly increase.  It should be 
noted that this increase follows a 20.0% increase between 2001 and 2002.  When this growth  
is broken down by offense types, person offenses increased by 7.0%; property offenses 
increased by 2.3%; drug offenses increased by 13.8% and the “other” offense category 
increased by 53.6% between 2002 and 2003.  When Felony DWI is excluded from the “other” 
offense category, the increase between 2002 and 2003 is only .06%.  The data indicates that 
Felony DWI accounted for almost half of the overall growth in cases between 2002 and 2003.  
 
The total number of felony offenders sentenced to prison increased from 3,057 in 2002 to 3,536 
in 2003.  The imprisonment rate increased from 23.6% in 2002 to 24.4% in 2003.  The average 
pronounced prison sentenced also increased from 47.2 months in 2002 to 51.2 months in 2003.  
The increase in the number of felony offenders sentenced to prison, combined with the increase 
in the average pronounced sentence, has directly contributed to the increase in the prison 
population from 7,568 offenders in 2002 to 8,333 offenders in 2003. 
 
County Attorney Reports regarding firearm offenses show that 701 cases last year involved an 
offender allegedly committing an offense listed in subdivision 9 of Minn. Stat. § 609.11 while 
possessing or using a firearm.  This represents a 1.5% increase over the previous year.  
Prosecutors secured convictions in 70% of the cases charged, a slight decrease from 72% in the 
previous year. In about 61% of the cases, a mandatory minimum sentence was imposed and 
executed. 
 
Analysis of felony DWI data indicates that 929 cases have been sentenced through December 
2003, with 38% (354) of the offenders having a criminal history of one and 26% (235) offender 
having a criminal history of zero.  Fourteen percent of the 929 cases  (132) were sentenced to 
prison, whereas 86% of the total number of felony DWI cases received local jail time or other 
sanctions. Of the 132 cases sentenced to prison, 44% received a mitigated durational 
departure.  Analysis of DWI data also indicates that, of the 797 offenders who received a stayed 
sentence, only 3% (24) had a stayed sentence revoked and were sentenced to prison by the 
end of 2003. 
 
The Sentencing Guidelines Commission hopes the information contained in this report will be 
both useful and informative. The Commission is available to address any questions or to provide 
any additional information requested.  Additional data reports on overall data trends in 2003 
and sentencing practices for specific offenses including Criminal Sexual Conduct Offenses, 
Failure to Register, Drug Offenses, Criminal Vehicular Operation, Weapons Offenses, and 
Unranked Offenses are available on the Guidelines Commission’s web site at: 
http://www.msgc.state.mn.us/  
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Commission Background, Structure 
and Activity 
Commission Background 
 
Minnesota was the first state to adopt a Sentencing 
Guidelines system over 24 years ago and has been 
viewed as the model for felony sentencing reform 
throughout the United States. The Sentencing Guidelines 
provided several major improvements over the old 
indeterminate sentencing system. 
 
1. Truth In Sentencing/Predictability. All of the 
participants in the criminal justice system – courts, prosecutors, offenders, and victims – now 
know, at the time of sentencing, how much time an offender will serve in prison.  For example, 
if an offender is sentenced to 60 months in prison, that offender will serve 40 months in prison 
and would then be placed on supervised release for the remaining 20 months. 
 
A highly desirable side effect of determinate sentencing is the ability to fairly accurately predict 
future prison bed needs.  Thus, if the sentence for a particular offense is increased by 12 
months, the Guidelines Commission staff can, within a certain amount of statistical confidence, 
project the long-term prison bed impact of that change.  In conjunction with other agencies, the 
potential fiscal impact of any sentencing change can also be measured and quantified, thus 
providing the Legislature information for policy decisions. 
 
2.  Clear Proportionality/Uniformity.  Under this “Just Deserts” model of sentencing, an offender 
who commits a more serious crime receives a longer sentence than one who commits a less 
serious crime.  An offender with a criminal history receives a longer sentence than an offender 
who commits the same crime but does not have a criminal history.  Offenders with similar 
offense and criminal history characteristics are treated the same across the state, thus reducing 
disparity in sentencing. 
 
3. Accurate Data Collection.  The sentencing guidelines system also allowed the Commission to 
collect accurate and detailed data on the specific determinate sentences actually imposed across 
the state.  Data collected by the Commission allows analysis of sentencing trends with respect 
to particular offenses, specific types of offenders, and geographic variations. 
 
The primary goal of the Sentencing Guidelines has always been and remains protecting public 
safety while enabling the efficient use of limited state resources for incarceration of felony 
offenders. 
 

Sentencing Guidelines 
promote public safety 
while enabling efficient 
use of limited state 
resources for incarceration 
of felony offenders 
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The Supreme Court’s 
ruling in Blakely v. 
Washington impacted 
criminal sentencing 
throughout the United 
States 

Commission Structure 
 
The Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines Commission is responsible for maintaining and monitoring 
the sentencing guidelines. The 11-member commission is composed of a variety of 
representatives of the Minnesota criminal justice system. 
 
The Governor is responsible for eight appointments to the Commission, including the Chairman.  
Those appointments currently include Sheriff Steve Borchardt from Olmstead County, 
representing law enforcement and currently serving as Chairman of the Commission.  Additional 
Governor appointees include: Joan Fabian, Commissioner of Corrections; Jeffrey Edblad from 
Isanti County, the County Attorney Representative; Darci Bentz of Fairmont, MN, the Public 
Defender Representative; and Tracy Jenson of Washington County, the Probation 
Representative.  Lori Gildea and Michael Williams, both of Minneapolis, and Connie Larson of 
Waseca, serve as Citizen Members on the Commission. 
 
The Chief Justice of the Minnesota Supreme Court is responsible for three appointments to the 
Commission.  Those appointments currently include: Justice Russell A. Anderson, Minnesota 
Supreme Court; Judge Gordon Shumaker, Minnesota Court of Appeals; and Judge Isabel 
Gomez, District Court Judge from the Fourth Judicial District. 
 
The Commission is comprised of one part-time and six full-time employees, a decrease of two 
full time positions since 2002.  Barbara Tombs serves as the Executive Director of the Minnesota 
Sentencing Guidelines Commission. The other employee positions are filled by four full-time and 
one part-time researchers and one administrative staff person.  
 
 
Commission Activity 
 
On June 24, 2004, the United States Supreme Court 
handed down a ruling in Blakely v. Washington, 1264 S. 
Ct. 2531 (2004), that impacted criminal sentencing 
throughout the United States, including Minnesota. The 
Court reaffirmed and clarified its prior holding in 
Apprendi v. New Jersey, 530 U.S. 466 (2000) which 
stated that under the Sixth Amendment of the United 
States Constitution, any fact other than prior criminal 
convictions that enhances a defendant’s sentence beyond 
the statutory maximum must be presented to a jury and 
proven beyond a reasonable doubt.  In Blakely, the Supreme Court held that a defendant’s Sixth 
Amendment right to a jury trial could be violated even when the sentence imposed is below the 
stated statutory maximum sentence.  
 
In Blakely v. Washington, a Washington State defendant pled guilty to a second degree 
kidnapping offense involving a firearm.  Under Washington’s sentencing statute, the defendant 
would have received a sentence of between 49 and 53 months for this offense.  However, the 
sentencing judge sentenced the defendant to 90 months, citing a Washington statute that 
allows a sentence of up to ten years if the judge finds justification for the imposition of an 
“exceptional sentence.”  The judge stated that justification for the sentence imposed was that 



 
5 

 
MSGC Report to the Legislature 

The structure of 
Sentencing Guidelines 
in Minnesota remains 
constitutional, as do 
aggravated departures 

the defendant committed the offense with deliberate cruelty. The defendant appealed his 
sentence and the Court ruled that the sentence was a Sixth Amendment violation. 
 
Under the Sixth Amendment, the Court held that all facts, other than prior criminal convictions, 
that increase a criminal defendant’s sentence beyond what it would have been absent those 
facts, must be presented to a jury and proven beyond a reasonable doubt. Thus, it treated the 
presumptive sentence, rather than the statutory maximum sentence, as the punishment that 
could not be increased without a jury’s input. 
 
In the Court’s view, the jury trial right does not just mean that a person has the right to present 
a case to the jury; it also means that a person has a right to have a jury, not a judge, make all 
the factual findings required to impose a sentence longer than recommended by the guidelines, 
unless the defendant formally admits some or all of the aggravating facts. 
 
Impact on Sentencing in Minnesota 
 
Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines remain intact and constitutional after the Blakely decision. 
Only sentences that are aggravated beyond the presumptive guidelines sentence are affected by 
the Supreme Court’s ruling. 
                                    
Aggravated departures resulting in enhanced sentences 
above the presumptive range on the sentencing grid are 
not deemed unconstitutional by Blakely, as long as the 
aggravating factor(s) that may result in a departure are 
determined beyond a reasonable doubt by a jury.  Thus, it 
is the procedure that the Court calls into question, not the 
enhanced sentence itself.  
 
Shortly after the Blakely decision was released, Governor 
Pawlenty directed the Sentencing Guidelines Commission to examine how the state’s sentencing 
system would be impacted and to submit both short and long-term recommendations to address 
the issues raised by the case. The Commission established a subcommittee to examine the 
impact of the ruling.  In addition to members of the Commission, the subcommittee included 
representatives from the County Attorneys’ Association, the Attorney General’s Office, Public 
Defenders, and the Judiciary. The subcommittee’s work focused on several issues: interpreting 
the high court’s ruling, identifying areas of impact, and sharing specific concerns from the 
various perspectives. 
  
The subcommittee determined that the current procedure for imposing aggravated departures, 
as well as, certain statutory sentencing enhancements that require a finding of additional 
factors, appear to be unconstitutional under Blakely because the court, not the jury, makes the 
findings. Subsequently, three Minnesota Court of Appeals decisions have addressed this issue.  
On October 12, 2004, in State v. Conger, the Court of Appeals ruled that the findings in Blakely 
apply to the Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines.  In State v. Ibberson, released on October 19, 
2004, the Court of Appeals held that Blakely is only applicable to aggravated durational 
departures and does not extend to aggravated dispositional departures.  This ruling is significant 
in that it limits the number of cases that will be impacted to approximately 200 to 250 per year 
(of the total 14,492 cases sentenced in 2003).  Finally, in the State v. Huston handed down on 
December 7, 2004, the Court of Appeals decided that the rule in Blakely will not be applied 



 
6 

 
MSGC Report to the Legislature 

retroactively to Apprendi.  This ruling further limits the impact on aggravated departures to 
those cases not final or with direct appeals pending on the date that Blakely was decided. 
 
In addition, the state will need to modify procedures for imposing consecutive sentences, since 
the current procedure requires the court to determine whether an offense is a “person” offense.  
Finally, it is the Commission’s finding that mandatory minimum sentences are generally not 
impacted by the recent court decision. However, the mandatory minimum sentence under M.S. 
§ 609.11 Dangerous Weapons may be subject to Blakely when the use or possession of the 
weapon is not an element of the offense.  
 
In response to the findings of the subcommittee, the Sentencing Guidelines Commission 
adopted proposed modifications to the sentencing guidelines (contained in the following 
chapter) that modify the procedures for imposing aggravated departures and consecutive 
sentences to comply with the constitutional issues raised in Blakely.  The proposed modifications 
are procedural in nature and will ensure that aggravated departures are available for those 
cases in which an enhanced sentence is necessary and appropriate to ensure public safety.  In 
addition, in its Blakely reports, the Commission made recommendations regarding changes that 
should be made to statutes related to enhanced sentences and issues related to M.S. § 609.11 
  
Modifications to the Sentencing Grid 
 
The Blakely v. Washington decision provided the Commission an opportunity to closely examine 
departure trends, procedures and the structure of the current sentencing grid.  When the 
sentencing guidelines were developed, statutory authority was granted for a 15% sentence 
range within individual sentencing cells on the grid.  The Commission chose at that time to 
enact a narrower sentencing range that was not necessarily applied uniformly to all grid cells.  
In response to the Blakely decision and concerns expressed by various criminal justice entities, 
the Commission decided to modify the current sentencing grid to reflect a 15% sentence range 
both up and down from the presumptive sentence designated in an individual cell on the grid.  
In addition, the 15% sentence range is applied uniformly to all cells on the sentencing grid. The 
impact of this modification is that the number of aggravated durational departures will be 
reduced because of the increased sentence range; thus the impact of Blakely will be mitigated 
to some extent.   
 
The Supreme Court’s ruling in Blakely v. Washington at the end of its 2003-2004 term created 
an enormous amount of confusion and uncertainty in sentencing practices and policies at both 
the state and federal level.  Academics, courts, legal experts and sentencing professionals have 
struggled to decipher what the Court’s decision really means and to determine to what extent 
current sentencing polices and practices are affected in various jurisdictions.  Acknowledging the 
level of confusion surrounding the Blakely ruling, the Supreme Court heard two Blakely related 
cases in early October and a ruling is expected shortly. In addition, Minnesota courts have been 
addressing Blakely related issues over the past months.  The Commission believes that the state 
should move slowly and cautiously with responses related to Blakely, since many legal issues 
are still before the courts.   
 
 
  
Modifications to Sex Offender Sentencing Policies 
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During the past year, the Sentencing Guidelines Commission revisited sentencing policies and 
practices for sex offenders, considering legislation proposed during the 2004 legislative session 
and the use of aggravated durational departures in the sentencing of sex offenders. After a 
preliminary review of the issues relating to sentencing of sex offenders, a subcommittee was 
designated to explore options that would more appropriately address the difficult public safety 
issue surrounding sex offenders, particularly recidivism.  The Commission felt it was imperative 
to preserve the current determinate sentencing model in Minnesota to ensure proportionality, 
uniformity and certainty in sentencing, while addressing the availability of longer sentences for 
cases involving serious or repeat sex offenses. 
 
The subcommittee began by reviewing current sex offense sentences and their placement on 
the sentencing grid.  Several issues relating to the severity level rankings of sex offenses, repeat 
sex offenders, and mandatory minimums sentences were identified.  The subcommittee 
determined that sentencing issues related to sex offenders are different from those for other 
felony offenders and that prior convictions for sex offenses should weigh more heavily in 
determining an appropriate sentence.  To address the multiple issues surrounding sentencing of 
sex offenders, the subcommittee developed a separate sentencing grid for sex offenses, 
including Failure to Register as a Predatory Offender, that encompasses the current statutory 
maximums and mandatory minimum sentences for sex offenders.  Criminal history calculations 
for the sex offender will weigh prior sex offense convictions more heavily. Sex offenses 
committed on supervision will also result in enhanced custody status points.  
 
For the most serious sex offenses, an offender would receive at least two-thirds the statutory 
maximum sentence for one prior sex offense conviction and the statutory maximum sentence 
for two prior sex offense convictions, if they commit subsequent offenses while under 
supervision for a prior sex offense.  It should be noted that current sentencing policy provides 
for lengthy periods of supervision for serious offenders.  Aggravated durational departures 
remain a sentencing option with the new Sex Offense Grid, but it is likely that departures will be 
less frequent because of the longer sentences provided within the presumptive range.   
 
The Commission is also recommending that the Legislature create a class of offenses that would 
allow for a specific indeterminate sentencing option for sex offenders with more than two prior 
sex offenses designating a life sentence with possible release determined by a Sex Offender 
Review Board.  In addition, the indeterminate life sentencing option would be available for 
offenders with less than two prior sex offenses, if certain criteria were met.  Finally, the 
Commission ranked all current unranked sex offenses, with the exception of incest, which is 
almost never charged because the behavior involved is fully chargeable under more modern 
statutes. 
 
The modifications to current sex offender sentencing policies increase sentences, notably for the 
more serious sex offenses. However, on examination of aggravated durational departures for 
sex offenders, the enhanced sentences are reflective of sentences that offenders are currently 
receiving through departures.  The Commission prepared a projected prison bed impact 
indicating the proposed sex offense grid would require 580 beds per year after a 20 year phase-
in period.  
 
A Public Hearing was held on December 9, 2004, to gather input on the proposed modifications.  
The Commission subsequently met on December 16, 2004, to adopt the proposed modifications 
to the Guidelines that are contained in this report.  The Commission believes the proposed 
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modifications to the sentencing guidelines promote public safety, while providing appropriate 
determinate sentencing options that are responsive to both the constitutional issues identified in 
Blakely and the complexity surrounding sentencing of sex offenders. 
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Guidelines Modifications 
Changes to the sentencing guidelines related to new and amended crimes passed by the 
Legislature during the 2004 session became effective August 1, 2004. 
  
The language of the specific changes to the sentencing guidelines is included in the Appendix.  
A summary of new felony crime legislation and the most significant guidelines changes follow.  
Other changes not summarized here are included in the Appendix. 
 
 
Adopted Modifications Related to New and Amended Crimes 
 
The commission considered new and amended crime legislation from the 2004 Legislative 
Session and adopted a proposal to retain affected severity level rankings and guidelines policies, 
as follows: 
 
A. Blood Alcohol Concentration Level Reduction:  The commission considered changes made to 

the blood alcohol concentration level reduction and adopted a proposal to maintain the 
current severity level rankings and guidelines polices for criminal vehicular operations and 
felony driving while impaired. 

 
B. Assault in the Fourth Degree:  The commission considered changes made to assault in the 

fourth degree and adopted a proposal to maintain the current severity level I ranking for the 
crime. 

 
C. Misdemeanor and Gross Misdemeanor Offense List:  The commission considered new and 

amended misdemeanors and gross misdemeanors and adopted a proposal to maintain the 
current Misdemeanor and Gross Misdemeanor Offense List. 

 
 
Other Adopted Modifications 
 
� Criminal History – Custody Status Point:  The commission adopted a proposal to add 

language to section II.B.2 of the sentencing guidelines and comment II.B.206 of the 
sentencing guidelines to clarify that a custody status point should be assigned when the 
conviction offense involves multiple offenses that occur over a period of time. 
 

� Concurrent/Consecutive Sentences – Permissive Consecutive Policy: The 
commission adopted the following changes related to consecutive sentences in section II.F 
of the sentencing guidelines: 
 
� Felony Assault Committed in Local Jail:  The commission adopted a proposal to add 

language to section II.F of the sentencing guidelines to clarify that a felony assault 
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committed while in a local jail or workhouse may always be sentenced consecutively to 
any other executed prison sentence if the presumptive disposition for the other offense 
was commitment to the Commissioner of Corrections. 

 
� Escape from Nonexecuted Prison Sentence:  The commission adopted a proposal 

to modify language in section II.F of the sentencing guidelines to clarify that a felony 
escape from a nonexecuted prison sentence may always be sentenced consecutively. 

 
� Dispositional Departures:  The commission adopted a proposal to add language to 

section II.F of the sentencing guidelines to explain that in some situations it is not a 
dispositional departure to execute a sentence for an offense for which consecutive 
sentencing is permissive when it is going to be sentenced consecutive to another 
executed sentence.  
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Adopted Modifications 
To Be Effective 8/1/2005 Following Legislative Review 

 
 
I. Modifications Related to Blakely Decision 

 
A. Departure Language 

 
The commission modified the language in section II.D and comment II.D.01 of the sentencing 
guidelines to conform to the State of Washington v. Blakely decision. 
 
Adopted Language 
 
D.  Departures from the Guidelines:  The sentences ranges provided in the Sentencing 
Guidelines Grid are presumed to be appropriate for every case the crimes to which they apply.  
Thus, the judge shall utilize the presumptive sentence provided in the sentencing guidelines 
pronounce a sentence within the applicable range unless the individual case involves there exist 
identifiable, substantial, and compelling circumstances to support a sentence outside the range 
on the grid.  A sentence outside the applicable range on the grid is a departure from the 
sentencing guidelines and is not controlled by the guidelines, but rather, is an exercise of 
judicial discretion constrained by case law and appellate review. However, in exercising the 
discretion to depart from a presumptive sentence, the judge must disclose in writing or on the 
record the particular When such circumstances are present, the judge may depart from the 
presumptive sentence and stay or impose any sentence authorized by law.  When departing 
from the presumptive sentence, the court should pronounce a sentence which is proportional to 
the severity of the offense of conviction and the extent of the offender's prior criminal history, 
and should take into substantial consideration the statement of purpose and principles in 
Section I, above.  When departing from the presumptive sentence, a judge must provide written 
reasons which specify the substantial and compelling nature of the circumstances that, and 
which demonstrate why the sentence selected in the departure is make the departure more 
appropriate, reasonable, or equitable than the presumptive sentence. 
 
Furthermore, if an aggravated durational departure is to be considered, the judge must afford 
the accused an opportunity to have a jury trial on the additional facts that support the departure 
and to have the facts proved beyond a reasonable doubt.  If the departure facts are proved 
beyond a reasonable doubt, the judge may exercise the discretion to depart from the 
presumptive sentence.  In exercising that discretion, it is recommended that the judge 
pronounce a sentence that is proportional to the severity of the crime for which the sentence is 
imposed and the offender’s criminal history, and take into consideration the purposes and 
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underlying principles of the sentencing guidelines.  Because departures are by definition 
exceptions to the sentencing guidelines, the departure factors set forth in II.D are advisory only, 
except as otherwise established by settled case law.  When the conviction is for a criminal 
sexual conduct offense or offense in which the victim was otherwise injured, and victim injury is 
established in proving the elements of the crime, an aggravated durational departure is possible 
without a jury determination of additional facts if the departure is based on the offender’s prior 
history of a conviction for a prior criminal sexual conduct offense or an offense in which victim 
injury was established as an element of the offense. 

 
Comment 

 
II.D.01.  The guideline sentences are presumed to be appropriate for every case. However, 
there will be a small number of cases where substantial and compelling aggravating or 
mitigating factors are present.  When such factors are present, the judge may depart from the 
presumptive disposition or duration provided in the guidelines, and stay or impose a sentence 
that is deemed to be more appropriate, reasonable, or equitable than the presumptive sentence.  
A defendant has the right to a jury trial to determine whether or not aggravating factors are 
proved beyond a reasonable doubt.   
 
II.D.02.  Decisions with respect to disposition and duration are logically separate. Departures 
with respect to disposition and duration also are logically separate decisions.  A judge may 
depart from the presumptive disposition without departing from the presumptive duration, and 
vice-versa.  A judge who departs from the presumptive disposition as well as the presumptive 
duration has made two separate departure decisions, each requiring written reasons. 
 
II.D.03.  The aggravating or mitigating factors and the written reasons supporting the 
departure must be substantial and compelling to overcome the presumption in favor of the 
guideline sentence.  The purposes of the sentencing guidelines cannot be achieved unless the 
presumptive sentences are applied with a high degree of regularity. Sentencing disparity cannot 
be reduced if judges depart from the guidelines frequently. Certainty in sentencing cannot be 
attained if departure rates are high.  Prison populations will exceed capacity if departures 
increase imprisonment rates significantly above past practice. 
 
II.D.04.  Plea agreements are important to our criminal justice system because it is not 
possible to support a system where all cases go to trial.  However, it is important to have 
balance in the criminal justice system where plea agreements are recognized as legitimate and 
necessary and the goals of the sentencing guidelines are supported.  If a plea agreement 
involves a sentence departure and no other reasons are provided, there is little information 
available to provide for informed policy making or to ensure consistency, proportionality, and 
rationality in sentencing. 
 
Departures and their reasons highlight both the success and problems of the existing sentencing 
guidelines.  When a plea agreement is made that involves a departure from the presumptive 
sentence, the court should cite the reasons that underlie the plea agreement or explain the 
reasons the negotiation was accepted. 
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B. Permissive Consecutive Sentences 
 
The commission modified the language in section II.F and comment II.F.04 of the sentencing 
guidelines to specify the offenses for which consecutive sentencing is permissive without 
departure, in order to avoid such determinations by the Court, which may be unconstitutional 
under the State of Washington v. Blakely decision.  Offenses were considered for inclusion on 
the list based on the potential level and type of injury to victims, and previous patterns of 
consecutive sentencing use.  
 
Permissive Consecutive Sentences 
Except when consecutive sentences are presumptive, consecutive sentences are permissive 

(may be given without departure) only in the following cases: 

 

1. A current felony conviction for a crime against a person on the list of offenses eligible 

for permissive consecutive sentences found in Section VI  may be sentenced 

consecutively to a prior felony sentence for a crime against a person listed in Section 

VI which has not expired or been discharged; or 

 

2. Multiple current felony convictions for crimes against persons on the list of offenses 

eligible for permissive consecutive sentences found in Section VI may be sentenced 

consecutively to each other; or  

 … 

Consecutive sentences are permissive under the above criteria numbers 1, 2, and 4 only when 

the presumptive disposition for the current offense(s) is commitment to the Commissioner of 

Corrections as determined under the procedures outlined in section II.C.  In addition, 

consecutive sentences are permissive under number 1 above, involving a current felony 

conviction for a crime against a person and a prior felony sentence for a crime against a person 

which has not expired or been discharged, only when the presumptive disposition for the prior 

offense(s) was commitment to the Commissioner of Corrections as determined under the 

procedures outlined in section II.C.  If the judge pronounces a consecutive stayed sentence in 

these circumstances, the stayed sentence is a mitigated dispositional departure, but the 

consecutive nature of the sentence is not a departure if the offense meets one of the above 

criteria.  The consecutive stayed sentence begins when the offender completes the term of 

imprisonment and is placed on supervised release. 

 

Comment 
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II.F.04.  The Commission's policy on permissive consecutive sentencing outline the criteria that 
are necessary to permit consecutive sentencing without the requirement to cite reasons for 
departure.  Judges may pronounce consecutive sentences in any other situation by citing 
reasons for departure.  Judges may also pronounce durational and dispositional departures both 
upward and downward in cases involving consecutive sentencing if reasons for departure are 
cited.  The reasons for each type of departure should be specifically cited.  The procedures for 
departures are outlined in Section II.D. of the guidelines. 
 
It is permissive for multiple current felony convictions against persons for offenses on the 
eligible list to be sentenced consecutively to each other when the presumptive disposition for 
these offenses is commitment to the Commissioner of Corrections as determined under the 
procedures outlined in Section II.C.  Presumptive Sentence.  Consecutive sentencing is 
permissive under these circumstances even when the offenses involve a single victim involving a 
single course of conduct.  However, consecutive sentencing is not permissive under these 
circumstances when the court has given an upward durational departure on any of the current 
offenses.  The Commission believes that to give both an upward durational departure and a 
consecutive sentence when the circumstances involve one victim and a single course of conduct 
can result in disproportional sentencing unless additional aggravating factors exist to justify the 
consecutive sentence. 
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The Commission adopted the following list of offenses for which consecutive sentencing is 
permissive without departure from the Guidelines as Section VI of the Guidelines.   
 

VI.   Offenses Eligible for Permissive Consecutive Sentences 

Statute Number Offense 
152.021 subd. 2a(a) Manufacture any amount of Methamphetamine 
152.022 subd. 1 (5) Sells Cocaine/Narcotic to Minor/Employs Minor 
152.023 subd. 1 (3) Sells Sch. I,II,III to Minor (not Narcotic) 
152.023 subd. 1 (4) Sells Sch I,II,III Employs Minor (not Narcotic) 
152.024 subd. 1 (2) Schedule IV or V to Minor 
152.024 subd. 1 (3) Employs Minor to sell Schedule IV or V 
152.0261 subd. 1a Employing a Minor to Import Controlled Substances 
169.09 subd. 14(a)(1) Accidents- Resulting in Death 
169.09 subd. 14(a)(2) Accidents- Great Bodily Harm 
169A.24 subd. 1 (1) First Degree DWI – 4 or more w/in 10 years 
169A.24 subd. 1 (2) First Degree DWI – 2nd or subsequent 
243.166 subd. 5 (b) Registration of Predatory Offenders 
243.166 subd. 5 (c) Registration of Predatory Offenders - 2nd or subsequent 
518B.01 subd. 14(d) Violation of an Order for Protection 
609.185 Conspiracy/Attempted Murder in the First Degree 
609.19  Murder in the Second Degree  
609.195 Murder in the Third Degree 
609.20 Manslaughter in the First Degree 
609.205 Manslaughter Second Degree 
609.21 subd. 1 & 3 Criminal Vehicular Homicide 
609.21 subd. 2 & 4  Criminal Vehicular Injury - Great Bodily Harm  
609.21 subd. 2a Criminal Vehicular Injury - Substantial Bodily Harm  
609.215 Aiding Suicide 
609.221  Assault 1 
609.222  Assault 2 - Dangerous Weapon 
609.223 Assault 3  
609.2231 Assault 4  
609.224 subd. 4 Assault 5 - 3rd or subsequent violation 
609.2241  Knowing Transfer of Communicable Disease 
609.2242 subd. 4 Domestic Assault 
609.2245 Female Genital Mutilation 
609.228 Great Bodily Harm - Distribution of Drugs 
609.229 subd. 3  Crime Committed for Benefit of Gang  
609.2325 subd. 3(1) Criminal Abuse of Vulnerable Adult (Death) 
609.2325 subd. 3(2) Criminal Abuse of Vulnerable Adult (Great Bodily Harm) 
609.2325 subd. 3(3) Criminal Abuse of Vulnerable Adult (Substantial Bodily Harm) 
609.235 Use of Drugs to Injure or Facilitate Crime 
609.24 Simple Robbery 
609.245 subd. 1 Aggravated Robbery 1 
609.245 subd. 2 Aggravated Robbery 2 
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Statute Number Offense 
609.25  Kidnapping 
609.255  False Imprisonment  
609.2661  Consp./At. Murder I of Unborn Child 
609.2662  Murder 2 of an Unborn Child 
609.2663 Murder 3 of an Unborn Child 
609.2664  Manslaughter 1 of an Unborn Child 
609.2665  Manslaughter 2 of an Unborn Child 
609.267 Assault 1 of an Unborn Child 
609.2671 Assault 2 of an Unborn Child 
609.268  Death or Injury of an Unborn Child in Comm. of Crime 
609.322 subd. 1 Solicit, Promote, or Profit from Prost. Under 18 
609.322 subd. 1a  Solicit, Promote, or Profit from Prost. (No Age Limit) 
609.324 subd. 1(a) Engage or Hire a Minor to Engage in Prostitution 
609.324 subd. 1(b) Engage or Hire a Minor to Engage in Prostitution 
609.324 subd. 1(c) Engage or Hire a Minor to Engage in Prostitution 
609.342 subd. 1 Criminal Sexual Conduct 1  
609.343 subd. 1 Criminal Sexual Conduct 2 
609.344 subd. 1 Criminal Sexual Conduct 3 
609.345 subd. 1 Criminal Sexual Conduct 4 
609.3451 subd. 3 Criminal Sexual Conduct 5 
609.352 subd. 2 Solicitation of Children to Engage in Sexual Conduct 
609.365 Incest 
609.377  Malicious Punish. of Child  
609.378 Child Neglect/Endangerment 
609.485 subd. 4(a)(3) Escape with Violence from GM or Misd. Offense 
609.485 subd. 4(b)  Escape with Violence from Felony offense 
609.487 subd. 4(a) Fleeing Peace Officer (Resulting in Death) 
609.487 subd. 4(b) Fleeing Peace Officer (Great Bodily Harm) 
609.487 subd. 4(c) Fleeing Peace Officer (Substantial Bodily Harm) 
609.498 subd. 1a Tampering with a Witness in the First Degree 
609.498 subd. 1b Tampering with a Witness, Aggravated First Degree 
609.527  Identity Theft  
609.561  Arson in the First Degree 
609.582 subd. 1(a) Burglary First Degree - of Occupied Dwelling 
609.582 subd. 1(b) 
609.582 subd. 1(c) 

Burglary First Degree with Dangerous Weapon  
Burglary First Degree with Assault 

609.582 subd. 2(a)  
609.582 subd. 2(b) 

Burglary Second Degree – Dwelling 
Burglary Second Degree – Bank 

609.591 subd. 3 (1) Hinder Logging (Great Bodily Harm) 
609.594 subd.2 Damage to Prop.-Critical Public Service Facilities 
609.66 subd. 1e  Drive-By Shooting 
609.662 subd. 2 (b)(1) Duty to Render Aid (Death or Great Bodily Harm) 
609.662 subd. 2 (b)(2) Duty to Render Aid (substantial bodily harm) 
609.671  Hazardous Wastes 
609.687 subd. 3(1) Adulteration Resulting in Death 



 
17 

 
MSGC Report to the Legislature 

Statute Number Offense 
609.687 subd. 3(2) Adulteration Resulting in Bodily Harm 
609.71 subd. 1 Riot 1 
609.712 Real/Simulated Weapons of Mass Destruction  
609.713 subd. 1 Terroristic Threats-Violence Threat/Evacuation 
609.713 subd. 2 Terroristic Threats-Bomb Threat 
609.713 subd. 3(a) Terroristic Threats-Replica Firearm 
609.714 subd. 2 Crimes Committed in Furtherance of Terrorism 
609.748 subd. 6(d) Violation of Restraining Order 
609.749 subd. 3 Harassment/Stalking (Aggravated Violations)  
609.749 subd. 4 Harassment/Stalking (Subsequent Violations) 
609.749 subd. 5 Harassment/Stalking (Pattern of Conduct) 
609.855 subd. 2(c)(1) Interference with Transit Operator 
609.855 subd. 5 Discharge Firearm at Occup. Tran. Vehicle/Facility 
617.23 subd. 3 Indecent Exposure 
617.246, subd. 2 
617.246, subd. 3 
617.246, subd. 4 

Use of Minors in Sexual Performance Prohibited 
Operation/Owner-Use of Minors in Sexual Perform. 
Dissemination-Use of Minors in Sexual Performance 

617.247, subd. 3(a)  
617.247, subd. 3(b) 

Dissemination of Pictorial Representations of Minors 
Dissemination by Predatory Offender 

617.247, subd. 4(a)  
617.247, subd. 4(b) 

Possession of Pictorial Representations of Minors 
Possession by Predatory Offender 

624.732 subd. 2 Intentional Release of Harmful Substance 
624.74 Metal Penetrating Bullets 

 

C. Sentencing Guidelines Grid 
 
The commission modified the presumptive sentence ranges on the Sentencing Guidelines Grid 
and the grid for Conspiracy/Attempted Murder in the First Degree in section G. to reflect the full 
15% plus and minus ranges authorized in M.S. § 244.09 subd. 4 (2).  This modification creates 
greater flexibility for the courts in determining the appropriate sentence in an individual case 
and reduces the need for jury determination of aggravating factors in cases where aggravated 
durational departures are within 15% of the presumptive sentence.  

 
G. Convictions for Attempts, Conspiracies, and Other Sentence Modifiers.  
 

 CRIMINAL HISTORY SCORE 
SEVERITY LEVELS OF 

CONVICTION OFFENSE 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 or 
More 

Conspiracy/Attempted Murder, 
1st Degree 

180 
176-184 
153-207 

190 
186-194 
162-218 

200 
196-204 
170-230 

210 
206-214 
179-240* 

220 
216-224 
187-240* 

230 
226-234 
196-240* 

240 
236-240 
204-240* 

 
* Statutory Maximum of 20 years reached. 
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SENTENCING GUIDELINES GRID 
Presumptive Sentence Lengths in Months 

Italicized numbers within the grid denote the range within which a judge may sentence without the sentence being 
deemed a departure.  Offenders with non-imprisonment felony sentences are subject to jail time according to law. 

        
  CRIMINAL HISTORY SCORE  

SEVERITY LEVEL OF  
CONVICTION OFFENSE 
(Common offenses listed in italics) 

0 1 2 3 4 5 6 or 
more 

Murder, 2nd Degree  
(intentional murder; drive-by-      
shootings) 

XI 
306 

299-313 
261-351 

326 
319-333 
278-374 

346 
339-353 
295-397 

366 
359-373 
312-420 

386 
379-393 
329-443 

406 
399-413 
346-466 

426 
419-433 
363-480 

Murder, 3rd Degree 
Murder, 2nd Degree  
   (unintentional murder)  

X 
150 

144-156 
128-172 

165 
159-171 
141-189 

180 
174-186 
153-207 

195 
189-201 
166-224 

210 
204-216 
179-241 

225 
219-231 
192-258 

240 
234-246 
204-276 

Criminal Sexual Conduct,  
   1st Degree 2 
Assault, 1st Degree 

IX 
86 

81-91 
74-98 

98 
93-103 
84-112 

110 
105-115 
94-126 

122 
117-127 
104-140 

134 
129-139 
114-154 

146 
141-151 
125-167 

158 
153-163 
135-181 

Aggravated Robbery 1st Degree 
   Criminal Sexual Conduct, 
     2nd Degree (c),(d),(e),(f),(h) 2 

VIII 
48 

44-52 
41-55 

58 
54-62 
50-66 

68 
64-72 
58-78 

78 
74-82 
67-89 

88 
84-92 

75-101 

98 
94-102 
84-112 

108 
104-112 
92-124 

Felony DWI VII 36 42 48 
54 

51-57 
46-62 

60 
57-63 
51-69 

66 
63-69 
57-75 

72 
69-75 
62-82 

Criminal Sexual Conduct, 
   2nd Degree (a) & (b) VI 21 27 33 

39 
37-41 
34-44 

45 
43-47 
39-51 

51 
49-53 
44-58 

57 
55-59 
49-65 

Residential Burglary       
Simple Robbery V 18 23 28 

33 
31-35 
29-37 

38 
36-40 
33-43 

43 
41-45 
37-49 

48 
46-50 
41-55 

Nonresidential Burglary  
 

IV 
 

121 15 18 21 
24 

23-25 
21-27 

27 
26-28 
23-31 

30 
29-31 
26-34 

Theft Crimes  (Over $2,500) III 121 13 15 17 
19 

18-20 
17-21 

21 
20-22 
18-24 

23 
22-24 
20-26 

Theft Crimes  ($2,500 or less)     
Check Forgery  ($200-$2,500) II 121 121 13 15 17 19 

21 
20-22 
18-24 

Sale of Simulated 
   Controlled Substance I 121 121 121 13 15 17 

19 
18-20 
17-21 
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II. Other Adopted Modifications 
 

A. Unranked Offense  
 
The commission modified the rank the offense of illegal theft, tampering with transport of 
anhydrous ammonia at severity level 3, the same severity level as 152.021 subd. 2a (b): 
possession of methamphetamine precursors with intent to manufacture.    
 

V.  OFFENSE SEVERITY REFERENCE TABLE 
   
III Anhydrous Ammonia (tamper/ttheft/transport) – 18D.331 subd. 5 

   
 

NUMERICAL REFERENCE OF FELONY STATUTES 
 
18D.331 subd.5                    Anhydrous Ammonia (tamper/theft/transport) 
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III. Adopted Modifications Related to Sex Offenses 
 
 

SEX OFFENSE GRID EXPLANATION 
 
 

Grid Design Principles: 
 

1. The Commission acknowledges that sex offenses require a different sentencing structure 
than that contained on the current sentencing guidelines grid, due to a combination of 
the serious nature of the offense, components of the underlying criminal behavior 
involved and the threat to public safety. 

 
2. The new sex offense grid is developed to reflect a combination of sentence lengths 

based on presumptive sentences and mandatory minimums enacted by the Legislature 
with relation to sex offenses, thus preserving the “truth in sentencing” principle set forth 
in the Sentencing Guidelines and retaining the guideline’s determinate sentencing 
structure. 

 
3. The severity ranking of sex offenses on the new grid is based primarily on the statutory 

maximum sentence for individual sex offenses.  Severity levels generally place sex 
offenses with the same statutory maximum sentence on the same severity level, which 
allows for greater proportionality in sentences than is currently provided.  

 
4. The new grid contains significantly enhanced sentence lengths that addresses issues 

raised in Blakely v. Washington relating to aggravated durational departures, as well as 
recognizing actual sentencing practice in serious sex offense cases. 

 
5. Criminal history scores totaling six or more indicate a presumptive prison sentence that 

reflect the statutory maximum penalty designated for most sex offenses.  Although the 
sex offense grid, like the general sentencing guidelines grid, provides ranges of 15% 
above and below the presumptive sentence, ranges for criminal history scores of six or 
more do not extend above the statutory maximum sentence.  Similarly, the range for 
first degree criminal sexual conduct does not extend below the statutorily required 144 
month presumptive sentence for zero criminal history scores.  

 
6. The underlying prison sentence for the presumptive non-prison portion of the sex 

offense grid (the shaded areas) enhances current sentence lengths to demonstrate the 
seriousness assigned to violations and subsequent revocation of a presumptive non-
prison sentence. 

 
7. The Commission decided to include Failure to Register as a Sex Offender in the new sex 

offense sentencing policy. Although this offense is not itself a sex offense, the 
Commission believes predatory sex offenders that fail to register pose a serious threat to 
public safety. Therefore, the Commission feels these offenders should be eligible for the 
enhanced criminal history calculation and sentences contained in the new policy.  
Inclusion also permits the Commission to tailor appropriate punishment for these 
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offenders consistent with the statutory minimum and maximum sentences without the 
constraints of the existing gird. 

 
8. The new sex offense grid would apply only to offenders with two or fewer prior CSI 1st 

degree convictions.  If an offender has more than two CSI 1st degree convictions, the 
offender would be eligible for sentencing under a new sentencing option entitled “Off 
Grid Sex Offense,” in which the offender could receive an indeterminate life sentence in 
prison. 

 
9. Current unranked sex offenses, including Use of Minors in Sexual Performance and 

Possession/Dissemination of Child Pornography were ranked on the new grid.  Given the 
infrequency in prosecution of Incest, it was the Commission’s decision not to rank that 
offense at this time. 

 
 

Structure of the Sex Offense Grid: 
 
1. Severity levels are indicated by the letters A through H, with A representing the most 

serious sex offenses and H the least serious.  Letters were chosen to designate the 
severity levels to avoid the confusion between the current sentencing grid and the new 
sex offense grid. 

 
2. Registration of Predatory Offender is the only offense listed on the H severity level.  

Although severity level H is the lowest severity level, all criminal history categories reflect 
a presumptive term of imprisonment to reflect the current statutory requirement as well 
as the seriousness of the offender’s prior sex offense conviction. 

 
3. CSC 2nd, 3rd and 4th degree offenses retain the previous multi severity level designation 

which treats sexual offenses committed with force, violence or weapons more seriously 
with longer presumptive sentences. 

 
4. Criminal history scores are calculated in the same manner as under the current 

sentencing grid, however, the weights given for prior sex offense convictions are 
modified  (New Severity Levels).  Weights were increased for more serious sex offenses, 
with the less serious sex offenses remaining at their current weight.  The prior conviction 
weight is not reduced for any sex offense under the new grid. 

 
5. Criminal history scores totaling six or more points indicate a presumptive prison sentence 

that reflect the statutory maximum penalty designated for most sex offenses.  
 

6. Criminal history scores were designed so that a score of 3 generally designates a 
presumptive sentence of two-thirds of the statutory maximum sentence. Thus, one prior 
CSC 1st degree sex offense conviction alone will result in a criminal history score of 3 and 
a presumptive sentence of two-thirds of the maximum sentence set forth in statute for a 
specific severity level.  At other offense levels, second time offenders who commit their 
offenses while on probation or supervised release will also be recommended a sentence 
that is two-thirds the statutory maximum. 
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7. The presumptive non-prison portion of the new grid is structured similar to the current 
grid with lower level sex offenses with limited criminal history scores designated as a 
non-prison sentence.  However, the new sex offense grid contains fewer presumptive 
non-prison cells and the underlying prison term is notably longer on the new grid, even 
for zero criminal history scores, than on the current sentencing grid.  

 
8. When ranking the offense of Child Pornography, the severity level was chosen to 

coincide with the statutory maximum sentence, which is 7 years for Dissemination of 
Pornography and 5 years for Possession of Pornography.  Thus, Dissemination of Child 
Pornography is ranked at severity level F and Possession of Child Pornography at 
severity level G.   
 

9. Use of Minors in Sexual Performance has a designated statutory maximum sentence of 
10 years and was ranked with similar sex offenses carrying a 10 year statutory 
maximum sentence at severity level E. 

 
 

Custody Status Points: 
 

1. If an offender is on supervision (probation, supervised release or conditional release) for 
a sex offense and commits another sex offense, the offender would receive two custody 
status points, instead of the current one custody status point. 

 
2.  If an offender is on supervision (probation, supervised release or conditional release) for 

a sex offense and commits a non-sex offense, the offender would receive the current 
one custody status point.  

 
3. If an offender is on supervision for a sex offense and is convicted of Failure to Register, 

the offender would receive two custody status points instead of the current one  custody 
status point. 

 
 

Consecutive Sentences and Departures: 
 

1. The new sentencing grid and sentencing structure would still permit consecutive 
sentencing by the court when the facts or circumstances surrounding a specific 
offender/conviction warrant an enhanced sentence. Consecutive sentencing can result in 
periods of incarceration that exceed the statutory maximum for any single conviction. 

 
2. Departures, both aggravated and mitigated, would be available with the new sex offense 

grid.  Although the sentences have been significantly enhanced on the new grid, 
mitigated durational and dispositional departures are available for the atypical cases that 
may warrant a lesser sentence.  Aggravated departures are still available as long as 
Blakely issues are addressed in the sentencing process.  However, with the enhanced 
sentence lengths contained on the new grid, the need for aggravated departures may be 
lessened. 
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The Commission Recommends that the Legislature create an Off Grid Sex Offense 
Category designating offenses for which a sentence of life in prison with the 
possibility of release is appropriate: 
 
Designating a separate “Off Grid” sentencing structure addresses the concern often voiced 
about appropriate sentencing options for the “worst of the worst” or the repeat predatory sex 
offender.   The commission acknowledges that there is a certain type of sex offender who 
presents a clear and continuing danger to the public and for which an indeterminate life 
sentence maybe both appropriate and necessary.  Implementation of such an option requires 
Legislative action to establish a set of offenses for which a life sentence is authorized.  
Offenders sentenced under this sentencing option should focus on those for which consecutive 
sentencing would not be available, offenders with three or more CSC 1st degree convictions or 
extensive prior convictions for sex offenses that would not be addressed by the new sex offense 
grid.  Offenders sentenced under this provision would truly represent the “worst of the worst” 
sex offenders. 
 
The Off Grid sex offense category could be indeterminate in nature with a pronounced minimum 
sentence and a release determined by a sex offender review board or reflective of a life 
sentence.  This sentencing option could be crafted in such a manner as to narrowly define the 
population of offenders for whom it would be appropriate that the sentence imposed should 
exceed the statutory maximum.  
 
An offender could be subject to an indeterminate life sentence based on criminal history score, for 
example, three or more prior convictions for a CSC 1st degree sex offense.  Under the new sex 
offense grid, offenders with two prior CSC 1st degree convictions would receive the current 
statutory maximum sentence.  However, if an offender has a more extensive criminal history 
related to multiple prior sex offense convictions, a life sentence could be imposed. 
 
An offender could also be subject to an indeterminate life sentence under the Off Grid 
sentencing structure if the current offense is a First Degree Criminal Sexual Conduct offense 
involving penetration and the offense involves three or more of the following elements: 
 

(1)  Torture of the victim; 
(2)  Great Bodily Harm or Mutilation of the Victim; 
(3)  Kidnapping; 
(4)  The offense is committed by a group of two or more offenders; 
(5)  The offense involves multiple victims or multiple acts per victim; 
(6)  The offense involved a foreign object or an animal; 
(7)  The offender has a prior conviction for a first degree criminal sexual                                 

conduct offense; 
(8)  The victim is under the age of six; 
(9)  The offense was committed in the presence of young children; 
(10)  The offense involved abandonment of the victim; 
(11)  The offense involved exposure of the victim to extreme inhumane 

conditions. 
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This list is not meant to be exhaustive, but rather meant to provide a set of circumstances in 
which an offender without a lengthy prior criminal history of sex offenses would be eligible for 
sentencing under the Off Grid Sex Offense sentencing option.  
 
By incorporating the Off Grid Sex Offense sentencing option with the new sex offense grid, the 
Commission believes that appropriate sentencing options for sex offenders will be available 
while maintaining a determinate sentencing structure under the guidelines.  This proposal 
provides a rational approach to ensure public safety and correct current deficiencies with 
sentencing options for sex offenders, while maintaining a level of predictability of prison 
population, addressing potential disparity in sentencing and managing limited correctional 
resources. 
 
The most likely candidates for this type of sentencing structure are probably currently receiving 
aggravated durational departures and/or consecutive sentences.  For a description of who 
theses offenders might be, and how their presumptive sentences would change under the 
adopted modifications, see the Appendix.     
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Ranking of Sex Offenses and Weights to be Assigned to Prior Offenses 

 
Offense Statutory Provisions 

Statutory Maximum 
Severity 

Level 
Stat. 
Max. 

Weight 
of Prior 

Current 
Weight 

CSC 1 
 

Penetration- 609.342, all 
clauses 

A 30 3 2 

CSC 1 
 

Contact-victims under 13 
(def, in 609.341 subd.11) 

A 30 3 1.5 

CSC 2 Contact with Force- 
609.343 subd. 1 c, d, e, f, h 

B 25 2 1.5 

CSC 3 Penetration – Force or 
prohibited occupation 
609.344 subd. 1 c, d, g, j, 
k, m, n 

C 15 2 1.5 

CSC 2 
 

Contact with minors- 
609.343 subd. 1 a, b, g 

D 25 1.5 1.5 

CSC 3  Penetration – minors or 
some occupation 609.344 
subd, 1 b, e, f, h, i, l 

D 15 1.5 1 

CSC 4 
 

Contact – Force or 
prohibited occupation: 
609.345 subd. 1 c, d, g, j, 
k, m, n 

E 10 1.5 1.5 

Use Minors 
Sexual Perform. 

617.246 subd. 2,3,4  
 

E 10 1.5 Unranked 

CSC 4 Contact – minors or some 
occupations 
609.345 subd, 1 b, e, f, h, i, 
l 

F 10 1 1 

Dissemination  
Pornography 

617.247 subd. 3 F 7 1 Unranked 

CSC 5 Repeat G.Misd offenses 
involving minors 609.3451 
subd.3  

G 5 1 1 

Indecent 
Exposure 

Repeat G.Misd offenses  
617.23  subd.. 3 

G 5 1 1 

Possession 
Pornography 

617.247 subd.4 G 5 1 Unranked 

Incest  609..365 
 

Unranked 10 Unranked Unranked 

Solicit Children 
Sexual Conduct 

609.352 subd. 2 
 

G 3 1 1 

Failure to  
Register 

243.166 subd 5b 
243.166 Subd 5c                   
(subsequent offense) 

H 5 0.5 
1.5 

0.5 
1 
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Estimated Prison Bed Impact of Changes for Sentencing Sex Offenses 
 
Number of Sex Offenders Sentenced in 2003: 884 
Number of Sentences Expected to Change: 176 (20%) 
Eventual Prison Bed Impact: 580 additional beds needed per year 
 
Assumptions: 

1. The number and type of offenders sentenced remains the same as in 2003. 
2. Offenders currently receiving mitigated dispositional and durational departures would 

continue to receive an identical sentence. 
3. Offenders currently receiving aggravated departures would receive sentences at least as 

long as they are currently receiving. 
 
 

Estimated Impact by Type of Change to Presumptive Sentence 
 

Type of Change Number of 
Offenders 

Prison Bed 
Impact 

New Prison Sentences 25 88 
Serve More Time 171 492 
Total 196 580 

 
 

Timing of Prison Bed Impact 
 

Year  # Extra Beds  
Needed 

Year  # Extra Beds  
Needed 

1 34 11 442 
2 91 12 461 
3 155 13 481 
4 210 14 498 
5 260 15 513 
6 304 16 527 
7 339 17 540 
8 365 18 554 
9 389 19 566 
10 417 20 580 
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Estimated Impact by Offense and New Severity Level 
 

Offense Statutory Provisions 
 

Severity 
Level 

Number 
of 

Offenders

Number 
with 

Increased 
Sentences 

Prison 
Bed 

Impact 

CSC 1 
 

Penetration- 609.342, 
all clauses 

A 170 44 234 

CSC 2 Contact with Force- 
609.343 subd. 1 c, d, e, 
f, h 

B 29 11 51 

CSC 3 Penetration – Force or 
prohibited occupation 
609.344 subd. 1 c, d, g, 
j, k, m, n 

C 57 15 26 

CSC 2 
 

Contact with minors- 
609.343 subd. 1 a, b, g 

D 104 22 66 

CSC 3  Penetration – minors or 
some occupation 
609.344 subd, 1 b, e, f, 
h, i, l 

D 132 31 105 

CSC 4 
 

Contact – Force or 
prohibited occupation: 
609.345 subd. 1 c, d, g, 
j, k, m, n 

E 53 11 36 

Use Minors 
Sexual Perform. 

617.247 subd. 2,3,4  
 

E 4 0 0 

CSC 4 Contact – minors or 
some occupations 
609.345 subd, 1 b, e, f, 
h, i, l 

F 58 10 26 

Dissemination  
Pornography 

617.247 subd. 3 F 6 0 0 

CSC 5 Repeat G.Misd offenses 
involving minors 
609.3451 subd.3  

G 4 1 2 

Indecent 
Exposure 

Repeat G.Misd offenses 
617.23  subd.. 3 

G 4 0 0 

Possession 
Pornography 

617.247 subd.4 G 50 4 6 

Solicit Children 
Sexual Conduct 

609.352 subd. 2 
 

G 12 1 2 

Failure to  
Register 

243.166 subd 5b 
243.166 Subd 5c            
(subsequent offense) 

H 201 46 27 
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Modifications to Implement Sex Offender Sentencing Grid 
 
 

II. Determining Presumptive Sentences 
 

The presumptive sentence for any offender convicted of a felony committed on or after May 1, 

1980, is determined by locating the appropriate cell of the Sentencing Guidelines Grid.  The 

grids represents the two dimensions most important in current sentencing and releasing 

decisions--offense severity and criminal history. 

 
A.  Offense Severity:  The offense severity level is determined by the offense of conviction.  

When an offender is convicted of two or more felonies, the severity level is determined by the 

most severe offense of conviction.  For persons convicted under Minn. Stat. § 609.229, subd. 

3(a) - Crime Committed for Benefit of a Gang, the severity level is the same as that for the 

underlying crime with the highest severity level. 

 

Felony offenses, other than specified sex offenses, are arrayed into eleven levels of severity, 

ranging from low (Severity Level I) to high (Severity Level XI).  Specified sex offenses are 

arrayed on a separate grid into eight severity levels labeled A thru H.  First-degree murder is 

excluded from the sentencing guidelines, because by law the sentence is mandatory 

imprisonment for life. Offenses listed within each level of severity are deemed to be generally 

equivalent in severity.   

… 
 
II.A.03.   The following offenses were excluded from the Offense Severity Reference Table: 
 

1. Abortion - 617.20; 617.22; 145.412 
2. Accomplice after the fact - 609.495, subd. 3 
3. Adulteration - 609.687, subd. 3 (3) 
4. Aiding suicide - 609.215 
5. Altering engrossed bill - 3.191 
6. Anhydrous ammonia (tamper/theft/transport) - 18D.331, subd. 5 
7. Animal fighting - 343.31 
8. Assaulting or harming a police horse - 609.597, subd. 3 (1) & (2) 
9. Bigamy - 609.355 

10. Cigarette tax and regulation violations - 297F.20 
11. Collusive bidding/price fixing - 325D.53, subds.1(3), 2 & 3 
12. Concealing criminal proceeds; engaging in business - 609.496; 609.497 
13. Corrupting legislator - 609.425 
14. Criminal sexual conduct, third degree - 609.344, subd. 1(a) 

 (By definition the perpetrator must be a juvenile.) 
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15. Criminal sexual conduct, fourth degree - 609.345, subd. 1(a) 
 (By definition the perpetrator must be a juvenile.) 

16. Damage to Property of Critical Public Service Facilities, Utilities, and Pipelines – 
609.594 

17. Escape with violence from gross misdemeanor or misdemeanor offense – 609.485, 
subd. 4(a)(3) 

18. Failure to Report - 626.556, subd. 6 
19. Falsely impersonating another - 609.83 
20. Female genital mutilation - 609.2245 
21. Forced execution of a declaration - 145B.105 
22. Gambling acts (cheating, certain devices prohibited; counterfeit chips; manufacture, 

sale, modification of devices; instruction) - 609.76, subd. 3,4,5,6, & 7 
23. Hazardous wastes - 609.671 
24. Horse racing-prohibited act - 240.25 
25. Incest - 609.365 
26. Insurance Fraud – Employment of Runners – 609.612 
27. Interstate compact violation - 243.161 
28. Issuing a receipt for goods one does not have – 227.50 
29. Issuing a second receipt without “duplicate” on it – 227.52 
30. Killing or harming a public safety dog - 609.596, subd. 1 
31. Lawful gambling fraud - 609.763 
32. Metal penetrating bullets - 624.74 
33. Misprision of treason - 609.39 
34. Motor vehicle excise tax - 297B.10 
35. Obscene materials; distribution - 617.241, subd. 4 
36. Obstructing military forces - 609.395 
37. Pipeline safety - 299J.07, subd. 2 
38. Police radios during commission of crime - 609.856 
39. Possession of Pictorial Representations of Minors – 617.247  
40. Racketeering, criminal penalties (RICO) - 609.904 
41. Real and Simulated Weapons of Mass Destruction – 609.712 
42. Refusal to assist - 6.53 
43. Sale of membership camping contracts – 82A.03; 82A.13; 82A.25 
44. Service animal providing service – 343.21, subd. 9(e)(g) 
45. State lottery fraud - 609.651, subd. 1 with 4(b) and subd. 2 & 3 
46. Subdivided land fraud - 83.43 
47. Torture or cruelty to pet or companion animal – 343.21, subd. 9(c)(d)(f)(h) 
48. Treason - 609.385 
49. Unauthorized computer access - 609.891 
50. Unlawful Transfer of Sounds; Sales - 325E.201 
51. Use of Minors in Sexual Performance Prohibited - 617.246 
52. Warning subject of investigation - 609.4971 
53. Warning subject of surveillance or search - 609.4975 
54. Wire communications violations - 626A.02, subd. 4; 626A.03, subd. 1(b)(ii); 

626A.26, subd. 2(1)(ii) 
… 
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B.  Criminal History:  A criminal history index constitutes the horizontal axis of the 

Sentencing Guidelines Grids.  The criminal history index is comprised of the following 

items:  (1) prior felony record; (2) custody status at the time of the offense; (3) prior 

misdemeanor and gross misdemeanor record; and (4) prior juvenile record for young 

adult felons. 

… 
The offender's criminal history index score is computed in the following manner: 

 

1. Subject to the conditions listed below, the offender is assigned a particular weight for 

every extended jurisdiction juvenile conviction and for every felony conviction for which a 

felony sentence was stayed or imposed before the current sentencing or for which a stay 

of imposition of sentence was given before the current sentencing.  Multiple offenses are 

sentenced in the order in which they occurred.  For purposes of this section, prior 

extended jurisdiction juvenile convictions are treated the same as prior felony sentences. 

 

   a. If the current offense is not a specified sex offense, the weight assigned to each 

prior felony sentence is determined according to its severity level, as follows: 

        Severity Level I - II = ½ point; 

        Severity Level III - V = 1 point; 

        Severity Level VI - VIII = 1 ½ points; 

        Severity Level IX - XI = 2 points; and 

   Murder 1st Degree = 2 points; 

   Severity Level A = 2 points; 

   Severity Level B – E =1½ points; 

   Severity Level F – G = 1 point; and  

   Severity Level H = ½ point for first offense 

     and 1  point for subsequent offenses 

 

   b. If the current offense is a specified sex offense, the weight assigned to each prior 

felony sentence is determined according to its severity level, as follows: 

        Severity Level I - II = ½ point; 

        Severity Level III - V = 1 point; 

        Severity Level VI - VIII = 1 ½ points; 
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        Severity Level IX - XI = 2 points; 

   Murder 1st Degree = 2 points; 

   Severity Level A = 3 points; 

   Severity Level B – C =2 points; 

   Severity Level D – E =1 ½ points; 

   Severity Level F – G = 1 point; and 

   Severity Level H = ½ point for first offense 

     and 1 ½ points for subsequent offenses 

 

The severity level to be used in assigning weights to prior offenses shall be based 

on the severity level ranking of the prior offense of conviction that is in effect at 

the time the offender commits the current offense. 

 
2. One point is assigned if the offender: 

 

a.  was on probation, parole, supervised release, conditional release, or confined 

in a jail, workhouse, or prison pending sentencing, following a guilty plea or 

verdict in a felony, gross misdemeanor or an extended jurisdiction juvenile 

case, or following a felony, gross misdemeanor or an extended jurisdiction 

juvenile conviction; or  

b.  was released pending sentencing at the time the felony was committed for 

which he or she is being sentenced; or 

b. committed the current offense within the period of the initial length of stay 

pronounced by the sentencing judge for a prior felony, gross misdemeanor or 

an extended jurisdiction juvenile conviction.  This policy does not apply if the 

probationary sentence for the prior offense is revoked, and the offender 

serves an executed sentence; or 

c. became subject to one of the criminal justice supervision statuses listed in 2.a 

above at any point in time during which the offense occurred when multiple 

offenses are an element of the conviction offense or the conviction offense is 

an aggregated offense. 

d.   An additional custody status point shall be assigned if the offender was on 

probation, supervised release, or conditional release for a specified sex offense 
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and the current offense of conviction is a specified sex offense. 

 

The offender will not be assigned a point under this item when: 

 

a.  the person was committed for treatment or examination pursuant to 

Minn. R. Crim. P. 20; or 

 

b.  the person was on juvenile probation or parole status at the time the felony 

was committed for which he or she is being sentenced and was not on 

probation or supervised release status for an extended jurisdiction juvenile 

conviction. 

 

An additional three months shall be added to the duration of the appropriate cell time 

which then becomes the presumptive duration when: 

 

a.  a custody status point is assigned; and 

b.  the criminal history points that accrue to the offender without the addition of 

the custody status point places the offender in the far right hand column of 

the Sentencing Guidelines Grid. 

Comment 
 

II.B.201.  The basic rule assigns offenders one point if they were under some form of criminal 
justice custody when the offense was committed for which they are now being sentenced.    
The Commission believes that the potential for a custody status point should remain for the 
entire period of the initial length of stay pronounced by the sentencing judge.  An offender who 
is discharged early but subsequently is convicted of a new felony within the period of the initial 
length of stay should still receive the consequence of a custody status point.  If probation is 
revoked and the offender serves an executed sentence for the prior offense, eligibility for the 
custody status point ends with discharge from the sentence.  Probation given for an offense 
treated pursuant to Minn. Stat. § 152.18, subd. 1, will result in the assignment of a custody 
status point because a guilty plea has previously been entered and the offender has been on a 
probationary status.  Commitments under Minn. R. Crim. P. 20, and juvenile parole, probation, 
or other forms of juvenile custody status are not included because, in those situations, there has 
been no conviction for a felony or gross misdemeanor which resulted in the individual being 
under such status. However, a custody point will be assigned if the offender committed the 
current offense while under some form of custody following an extended jurisdiction juvenile 
conviction.  Probation, jail, or other custody status arising from a conviction for misdemeanor or 
gross misdemeanor traffic offenses are excluded.  Probation, parole, and supervised release will 
be the custodial statuses that most frequently will result in the assignment of a point.  It should 
be emphasized that the custodial statuses covered by this policy are those occurring after 
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conviction of a felony or gross misdemeanor.  Thus, a person who commits a new felony while 
on pre-trial diversion or pre-trial release on another charge would not get a custody status 
point.  Likewise, persons serving a misdemeanor sentence at the time the current offense was 
committed would not receive a custody status point, even if the misdemeanor sentence was 
imposed upon conviction of a gross misdemeanor or felony.   
 
 
II.B.207.  When an offender who is on probation, conditional release or supervised release for 
a sex offense commits another sex offense, they are assigned an additional custody status 
point. The commission believes that offenders who commit a subsequent sex offense pose such 
a risk to public safety that their criminal history scores should be enhanced to reflect this risk.   
 
… 
 
 

 

 

C.  Presumptive Sentence:  The offense of conviction determines the appropriate 

severity level on the vertical axis of the appropriate Grid.  The offender's criminal history 

score, computed according to section B above, determines the appropriate location on 

the horizontal axis of the appropriate Grid.  The presumptive fixed sentence for a felony 

conviction is found in the Sentencing Guidelines Grid cell at the intersection of the 

column defined by the criminal history score and the row defined by the offense severity 

level.  The offenses within the Sentencing Guidelines Grids are presumptive with respect 

to the duration of the sentence and whether imposition or execution of the felony 

sentence should be stayed. 

 

The line shaded areas on the Sentencing Guidelines Grids demarcates those cases for whom the 

presumptive sentence is stayed executed from those for whom the presumptive sentence is 

stayed executed.  For cases contained in cells above and to the right of the line outside of the 

shaded areas, the sentence should be executed.  For cases contained in cells below and to the 

left of the line within the shaded areas, the sentence should be stayed, unless the conviction 

offense carries a mandatory minimum sentence. 

 

Pursuant to M.S. § 609.342, subdivision 2, the presumptive sentence for a conviction of Criminal 

Sexual Conduct in the First Degree is an executed sentence of at least 144 months. Sentencing 

a person in a manner other than that described in M.S. § 609.342, subdivision 2 is a departure.  
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The presumptive duration for an attempt or conspiracy to commit Criminal Sexual Conduct in 

the First Degree is one-half of the time listed in the appropriate cell of the Sentencing Guidelines 

Grid, or any mandatory minimum, whichever is longer. 

 

Pursuant to M.S. § 609.343, subdivision 2, the presumptive sentence for a conviction of 
Criminal Sexual Conduct in the Second Degree, 609.343 subd. 1 clauses (c), (d), (e), (f), 
and (h), is an executed sentence of at least 90 months. Sentencing a person in a 
manner other than that described in M.S. § 609.343, subdivision 2 is a departure.  The 
presumptive duration for an attempt or conspiracy to commit Criminal Sexual Conduct in 
the Second Degree is one-half of the time listed in the appropriate cell of the Sentencing 
Guidelines Grid, or any mandatory minimum, whichever is longer. 
… 

Comment 
 
II.C.01.  The guidelines provide sentences which are presumptive with respect to 
(a) disposition--whether or not the sentence should be executed, and (b) duration--the length of 
the sentence.  For cases above and to the right of the dispositional line outside the shaded area, 
the guidelines create a presumption in favor of execution of the sentence.  For cases in cells 
below and to the left of the dispositional line within the shaded area, the guidelines create a 
presumption against execution of the sentence, unless the conviction offense carries a 
mandatory minimum sentence. 
 
The dispositional policy adopted by the Commission was designed so that scarce prison 
resources would primarily be used for serious person offenders and community resources would 
be used for most property offenders.  The Commission believes that a rational sentencing policy 
requires such trade-offs, to ensure the availability of correctional resources for the most serious 
offenders.  For the first year of guidelines operation, that policy was reflected in sentencing 
practices.  However, by the third year of guideline operation, the percentage of offenders with 
criminal history scores of four or more had increased greatly, resulting in a significant increase 
in imprisonment for property offenses.  Given finite resources, increased use of imprisonment 
for property offenses results in reduced prison resources for person offenses.  The allocation of 
scarce resources has been monitored and evaluated on an ongoing basis by the Commission.  
The Commission has determined that assigning particular weights to prior felony sentences in 
computing the criminal history score will address this problem.  The significance of low severity 
level prior felonies is reduced, which should result in a lower imprisonment rate for property 
offenders.  The significance of more serious prior felonies is increased, which should result in 
increased prison sentences for repeat serious person offenders. 
 
II.C.02.  In the cells above and to the right of the dispositional line outside of the shaded areas 
of the grids, the guidelines provide a fixed presumptive sentence length, and a range of time 
around that length. Presumptive sentence lengths are shown in months, and it is the 
Commission's intent that months shall be computed by reference to calendar months.  Any 
sentence length given that is within the range of sentence length shown in the appropriate cell 
of the Sentencing Guidelines Grids is not a departure from the guidelines, and any sentence 
length given which is outside that range is a departure from the guidelines.  In the cells below 
and to the left of the dispositional line in the shaded areas of the grids, the guidelines provide a 
single fixed presumptive sentence length. 
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The presumptive duration listed on the grid, when executed, includes both the term of 
imprisonment and the period of supervised release.  According to M.S. § 244.101, when the 
court sentences an offender to an executed sentence for an offense occurring on or after 
August 1, 1993, the sentence consists of two parts:  a specified minimum term of imprisonment 
equal to two-thirds of the total executed sentence; and a specified maximum supervised release 
term equal to one-third of the total executed sentence.  A separate table following the 
Sentencing Guidelines Grids illustrates how executed sentences are broken down into their two 
components. 
 
The Commissioner of Corrections may extend the amount of time an offender actually serves in 
prison if the offender violates disciplinary rules while in prison or violates conditions of 
supervised release.  This extension period could result in the offender's serving the entire 
executed sentence in prison. 
… 
 
II.C.08. When an offender has been convicted of M.S. § 609.342, the presumptive duration is 
that found in the appropriate cell of the Sentencing Guidelines Grid, any applicable mandatory 
minimum sentence, or the minimum presumptive sentence pursuant to M.S. §  609.342, 
subdivision 2, whichever is longer.  According to M.S. §  609.342, subd. 2, the presumptive 
sentence for a conviction of Criminal Sexual Conduct in the First Degree is an executed sentence 
of at least 144 months. The presumptive duration for an attempt or conspiracy to commit 
Criminal Sexual Conduct in the First Degree is one-half of the time listed in the appropriate cell 
of the Sentencing Guidelines Grid, or any mandatory minimum, whichever is longer. 
 
II.C.09. When an offender has been convicted of M.S. § 609.343 subd. 1 clauses (c), (d), (e), 
(f), or (h), the presumptive duration is that found in the appropriate cell of the Sentencing 
Guidelines Grid, any applicable mandatory minimum sentence, or the minimum presumptive 
sentence pursuant to M.S. §  609.343, subdivision 2, whichever is longer.  According to M.S. §  
609.343, subd. 2, the presumptive sentence for a conviction of these clauses of Criminal Sexual 
Conduct in the Second Degree is an executed sentence of at least 90 months. The presumptive 
duration for an attempt or conspiracy to commit Criminal Sexual Conduct in the Second Degree 
is one-half of the time listed in the appropriate cell of the Sentencing Guidelines Grid, or any 
mandatory minimum, whichever is longer. 
 
… 

 
E.  Mandatory Sentences:  When an offender has been convicted of an offense with a 
mandatory minimum sentence of one year and one day or more, the presumptive 
disposition is commitment to the Commissioner of Corrections.   The presumptive 
duration of the prison sentence should be the mandatory minimum sentence according 
to statute or the duration of the prison sentence provided in the appropriate cell of the 
Sentencing Guidelines Grids, whichever is longer. 
 
 

Comment 
 
II.E.02.  The Commission attempted to draw the dispositional line so that the great majority of 
offenses that might involve a mandatory sentence would fall above the dispositional line  
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outside the shaded areas of the Grids. However, some cases carry a mandatory prison sentence 
under state law but fall below the dispositional line within the shaded areas on the Sentencing 
Guidelines Grids; e.g., Assault in the Second Degree.  When that occurs, imprisonment of the 
offender is the presumptive disposition.  The presumptive duration is the mandatory minimum 
sentence or the duration provided in the appropriate cell of the Sentencing Guidelines Grid, 
whichever is longer.  These crimes are ranked below the dispositional line because the 
Commission believes the durations at these levels are more proportional to the crime than the 
durations found at the higher severity levels where prison is recommended regardless of the 
criminal history score of the offender.  For example, according to Minn. Stat. § 609.11, the 
mandatory minimum prison sentence for Assault in the Second Degree involving a knife is one 
year and one day.  However, according to the guidelines, the presumptive duration is the 
mandatory minimum or the duration provided in the appropriate cell of the grid, whichever is 
longer.  Therefore, for someone convicted of Assault in the Second Degree with no criminal 
history score, the guidelines presume 21-month prison duration based on the appropriate cell of 
the grid found at severity level VI.  The Commission believes this duration is more appropriate 
than the 48-month prison duration that would be recommended if this crime were ranked at 
severity level VIII, which is the first severity level ranked completely above the dispositional line. 
 
When the mandatory minimum sentence is for less than one year and one day, the Commission 
interprets the minimum to mean any incarceration including time spent in local confinement as 
a condition of a stayed sentence.  The presumptive disposition would not be commitment to the 
Commissioner unless the case falls above the dispositional line on the Sentencing Guidelines 
Grids.  An example would be a conviction for simple possession of cocaine, a Fifth Degree 
Controlled Substance Crime.  If the person has previously been convicted of a controlled 
substance crime, the mandatory minimum law would require at least six months incarceration, 
which could be served in a local jail or workhouse. 
 
… 
 
 
 
G.  Convictions for Attempts, Conspiracies, and Other Sentence Modifiers:  For 
persons convicted of attempted offenses or conspiracies to commit an offense, 
Solicitation of Juveniles under Minn. Stat. § 609.494, subd. 2(b), Solicitation of Mentally 
Impaired Persons under Minn. Stat. § 609.493, or Aiding an Offender – Taking 
Responsibility for Criminal Acts under Minn. Stat. § 609.495, subd. 4, the presumptive 
sentence is determined by locating the Sentencing Guidelines Grid cell defined by the 
offender's criminal history score and the severity level of the completed or intended 
offense or the offense committed by the principal offender, and dividing the duration 
contained therein by two, but such sentence shall not be less than one year and one day 
except that for Conspiracy to Commit a Controlled Substance offense as per Minn. Stat. 
§ 152.096, in which event the presumptive sentence shall be that for the completed 
offense. 
 
For persons convicted of attempted offenses or conspiracies to commit an offense with a 
mandatory minimum of a year and a day or more, the presumptive duration is the 
mandatory minimum or one-half the duration specified in the applicable Sentencing 
Guidelines Grid cell, whichever is greater.  For persons convicted of an attempt or 
conspiracy to commit Criminal Sexual Conduct in the First Degree (M.S. § 609.342) or 
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Criminal Sexual Conduct in the Second Degree (M.S. § 609.343, subd. 1(c), (d), (e), (f), 
and (h)), the presumptive duration is one-half of that found in the appropriate cell of the 
Sentencing Guidelines Grid or any mandatory minimum, whichever is longer. 
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Proposed Sex Offender Grid 

    
         

I. Criminal History Score 

Severity  
Level of Conviction Offense 

0 1 2 3 4 5 6 or 
more 

CSC 1st Degree A 144 
144-165

180 
153-207 

200 
170-230 

240 
204-276 

280 
238-322 

320 
272-360 

360 
326-360 

CSC 2nd Degree - Contact with 
force  B 90 

77-103 
120 

102-138 
160 

136-184 
200 

170-230 
230 

196-264 
270 

230-310 
300 

255-300 

CSC 3rd Degree - Penetration 
with force or by some 
occupations 

C 48 
41-55 

60 
51-69 

90 
77-103 

120 
102-138 

140 
119-161 

160 
136-184 

180 
153-180 

CSC2nd degree – Contact with 
minors  

CSC3rd Degree – Penetration 
of minors or by some 
occupations 

D 36 48 60 
51-69 

94 
80-108 

102 
87-117 

120 
102-138 

140 
119-161 

CSC 4th Degree – Contact with 
force or by some occupations 

Use Minors in Sexual 
Performance 

E 21 40 55 80 
68-92 

95 
81-109 

110 
94-126 

120 
102-120 

CSC 4th Degree - Contact with 
minors or by some 
occupations 

Dissemination Child 
Pornography 

F 18 36 48 60 
51-69 

70 
60-80 

80 
68-92 

90 
77-103 

CSC 5th Degree 
Indecent Exposure 
Possession Child Pornography 
Solicit Children for Sexual 

Conduct 

G 15 20 30 40 46 
40-52 

52 
45-59 

60 
51-60 

Registration Of Predatory 
Offenders H 121 

121-13 
15 

13-17 
18 

16-20 
21 

18-24 
24 

21-27 
30 

26-34 
36 

31-41 

 

 

Presumptive commitment to state imprisonment.  See section II.E. Mandatory Sentences for policy regarding those 
sentences controlled by law, including minimum periods of supervision for sex offenders released from prison. 

 

Presumptive stayed sentence; at the discretion of the judge, up to a year in jail and/or other non-jail sanctions can be 
imposed as conditions of probation.  However, certain offenses in this section of the grid always carry a presumptive 
commitment to state prison. These offenses include some second and subsequent Criminal Sexual Conduct offenses 
and Failure to Register as a Predatory Offender.  See sections II.C. Presumptive Sentence and II.E. Mandatory 
Sentences. 

1    One year and one day 

  
 

Effective August 1, 2005 
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Examples of Executed Sentences (Length in Months) Broken Down by:  

Specified Minimum Term of Imprisonment and Specified Maximum Supervised Release Term  
 
Offenders committed to the Commissioner of Corrections for crimes committed on or after August 1, 
1993 will no longer earn good time.  In accordance with Minn. Stat. § 244.101, offenders will receive an 
executed sentence pronounced by the court consisting of two parts:  a specified minimum term of 
imprisonment equal to two-thirds of the total executed sentence and a supervised release term equal to 
the remaining one-third.  This provision requires that the court pronounce the total executed sentence 
and explain the amount of time the offender will serve in prison and the amount of time the offender will 
serve on supervised release, assuming the offender commits no disciplinary offense in prison that results 
in the imposition of a disciplinary confinement period.  The court shall also explain that the amount of 
time the offender actually serves in prison may be extended by the Commissioner if the offender violates 
disciplinary rules while in prison or violates conditions of supervised release.  This extension period could 
result in the offender's serving the entire executed sentence in prison.  The court's explanation is to be 
included in a written summary of the sentence. 
 

Executed 
Sentence 

Term of 
Imprisonment 

Supervised 
Release Term 

Executed 
Sentence 

Term of 
Imprisonment 

Supervised 
Release Term 

12 and 1 day 8 and 1 day 4 80 53 1/3 26 2/3 
13 8 2/3 4 1/3 90 60 30 
15 10 5 94 62 2/3 31 1/3 
17 11 1/3 5 2/3 95 63 1/3 31 2/3 
18 12 6 102 68 34 
19 12 2/3 6 1/3 110 73 1/3 36 2/3 
20 13 1/3 6 2/3 120 80 40 
21 14 7 122 81 1/3 40 2/3 
23 15 1/3 7 2/3 134 89 1/3 44 2/3 
24 16 8 140 93 1/3 46 2/3 
27 18 9 144 96 48 
28 18 2/3 9 1/3 150 100 50 
30 20 10 158 105 1/3 52 2/3 
33 22 11 160 106 2/3 53 1/3 
36 24 12 180 120 60 
38 25 1/3 12 2/3 190 126 2/3 63 1/3 
39 26 13 195 130 65 
40 26 2/3 13 1/3 200 133 1/3 66 2/3 
43 28 2/3 14 1/3 210 140 70 
46 30 2/3 15 1/3 220 146 2/3 73 1/3 
48 32 16 225 150 75 
52 34 2/3 17 1/3 230 153 1/3 76 2/3 
54 36 18 240 160 80 
57 38 19 270 180 90 
58 38 2/3 19 1/3 280 186 2/3 93 1/3 
60 40 20 300 200 100 
66 44 22 320 213 1/3 106 2/3 
70 46 2/3 23 1/3 360 240 120 
72 48 24 406 270 2/3 135 1/3 
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V.  OFFENSE SEVERITY REFERENCE TABLE 
   

IX 
 Criminal Sexual Conduct 1 (sexual penetration) - 609.342 

(See II.C. Presumptive Sentence and II. G. Convictions for Attempts, 
Conspiracies, and Other Sentence Modifiers.) 

   
 
 

   

VIII 
Criminal Sexual Conduct 1 (sexual contact - victim under 13) - 609.342 

(See II.C. Presumptive Sentence and II. G. Convictions for Attempts, Conspiracies, 
and Other Sentence Modifiers.) 

  Criminal Sexual Conduct 2 - 609.343, 1(c), (d), (e), (f), & (h) 
(See II.C. Presumptive Sentence and II. G. Convictions for Attempts, Conspiracies, 
and Other Sentence Modifiers.) 

  Criminal Sexual Conduct 3 - 609.344, subd. 1(c), (d), (g), (h), (i), (j), (k), (l), (m), & (n) 
   

 
 
   
  Criminal Sexual Conduct 2 - 609.343, subd. 1(a), (b), & (g) 
  Criminal Sexual Conduct 4 - 609.345, 1(c), (d), (g), (h), (i), (j), (k), (l), (m), & (n) 
VI  
   

 
 
   
V Criminal Sexual Conduct 3 - 609.344, subd. 1(b), (e), & (f) 
   

 
 
   
  Criminal Sexual Conduct 4 - 609.345, subd. 1(b), (e), & (f) 
  Criminal Sexual Conduct 5 - 609.3451, subd. 3 
IV Indecent Exposure - 617.23, subd. 3(a), (b) 
   

 
 

   
III Registration of Predatory Offenders (2nd or subsequent violation) – 243.166 subd. 5(c 
  Solicitation of Children to Engage in Sexual Conduct - 609.352, subd. 2 
   

   
   
   

I Registration of Predatory Offenders  – 243.166 subd. 5(b) 
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SPECIFIED SEX OFFENSES  

 
 

   
B Criminal Sexual Conduct 2 - 609.343 subd. 1 (c), (d), (e), (f), (h) 

   
 
 

   
C Criminal Sexual Conduct 3 - 609.344 subd. 1 (c), (d), (g), (j), (k). (m), (n) 
   

 
 

  Criminal Sexual Conduct 2 - 609.343 subd. 1 (a), (b), (g) 
D Criminal Sexual Conduct 3 - 609.344 subd. 1 (b), (e), (f), (h), (i), (l) 
   

 
 

  Criminal Sexual Conduct 4 - 609.345 subd. 1 (c), (d), (g), (j), (k). (m), (n) 
E Use Minors in Sexual Performance  - 617.246 subd. 2, 3, 4 
   

 
 
  Criminal Sexual Conduct 4 - 609.345 subd. 1 (b), (e), (f), (h), (i). (l) 
F Dissemination of Child Pornography - 617.247 sub. 3 
   

 
 

  Criminal Sexual Conduct 5- 609.3451 subd. 3 
G Indecent Exposure - 617.23 subd. 3 
  Possession of Child Pornography – 617.247 subd. 4 

 
 

   
H Failure to Register as a Predatory Offender – 243.166 subd. 5(b), (c) 
   

 
 

 
 
 

   
A Criminal Sexual Conduct 1 - 609.342 
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NUMERICAL REFERENCE OF FELONY STATUTES 
This statutory felony offense listing is for convenience in cross-referencing to the Offense Severity 
Table; it is not official nor is it intended to be used in place of the Offense Severity Reference Table. 

           
     SEVERITY 

STATUTE OFFENSE LEVEL 
 
243.166 subd. 5(b) Registration of Predatory Offenders  1 H 
 
243.166 subd. 5(c) Registration of Predatory Offenders  3 H 
  (2nd or subsequent violations)   
 
609.342  Criminal Sexual Conduct 1 (Sexual Penetration)  9 * A 
 
609.342  Criminal Sexual Conduct 1 (Sexual Contact-  8 * 
       victim under 13) 
 
609.343 subd.1(a)(b)(g) Criminal Sexual Conduct 2  6 D 
 
609.343 subd.1(c)(d)(e) Criminal Sexual Conduct 2  8 *  B 
 (f)(h) 
 
609.344 subd. 1(b)(e)(f) Criminal Sexual Conduct 3  5 D 
 (h)(i)(l) 
 
609.344 subd. 1(c)(d)(g) Criminal Sexual Conduct 3  8 C 
 (h)(i)(j)(k)(l)(m)(n) 
 
609.345 subd. 1(b)(e)(f) Criminal Sexual Conduct 4  4 F 
(h)(i)(l) 
 
609.345 subd. 1(c)(d)(g) Criminal Sexual Conduct 4  6 E 
 (h)(i)(j)(k)(l)(m)(n) 
 
609.3451 subd. 3 Criminal Sexual Conduct 5  4 G 
 
609.352 subd. 2 Solicitation of Children to Engage in Sexual Conduct  3 G
 
617.23 subd. 3 Indecent Exposure  4 G 
 
617.246 Use of Minors in Sexual Performance Prohibited  unranked E 
 
617.247 subd. 3 Dissemination of Pictorial Representation of Minors F unranked 
 
617.247 subd. 4 Possession of Pictorial Representation of Minors unranked G 

                                                 
* See II.C. Presumptive Sentence and II.G. Convictions for Attempts, Conspiracies, and Other Sentence 
Modifiers. 
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Felony DWI  
Cases Sentenced Through December 2003 
 
Felony Driving While Impaired went into effect August 1, 2002.  Minn. Stat. § 169A.276, 
subdivision 1(a) created a minimum 36-month felony sentence of imprisonment for this offense, 
while subdivision 1(b) allows for a stay of execution of that sentence, but specifically forbids a 
stay of imposition or stay of adjudication. This means that the court is required to pronounce a 
period of incarceration even if the court intends to pronounce a probationary sentence. 
 
The Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines and Commentary (MSGC) presume a minimum 36-month 
sentence be imposed by the court for this offense (MSGC § II.E.).  For a person convicted of a 
felony DWI who has a criminal history score of less than 3, the sentencing guidelines presume a 
stayed sentence; however, if a person has a prior felony DWI conviction, the sentence is 
presumed to be an executed sentence of imprisonment, regardless of the criminal history score 
(MSGC § II.C.).  An offender being sentenced for a felony DWI is also subject to a 5-year term 
of conditional release (Minn. Stat. § 169A.276, subd. 1(d); MSGC § II.E).  
 
Offenders receiving stayed sentences can receive up to one year of local jail time as a condition 
of their probation and are subject to the mandatory penalty provisions specified in Minn. Stat. § 
169A.275.  This statute provides that 4th time offenders must be incarcerated for 180 days and 
5th or more time offenders must be incarcerated for one year, unless they are placed in an 
intensive supervision program. This statute also allows that a portion of this mandatory jail time 
may be served on electronic monitoring. 
 
The following report summarizes data for all felony DWI offenses sentenced in Minnesota 
through December 2003. MSGC monitoring data is offender based.  An offender sentenced in 
the same county for more than one offense within a thirty-day period is counted as one case; 
information included in the data is for the most serious offense.  Reported here are cases where 
First Degree DWI was the most serious offense. 
 
 
 
Beginning August 1, 2002 and as of the end of December 2003, there were 929 offenders (855 
males and 74 females) sentenced in Minnesota for First Degree Driving While Intoxicated. Of 
the 929 offenders sentenced, the sentencing guidelines presumed a stayed sentence for 743 
offenders (80%) and a presumptive commit to prison for 186 offenders (20%).  
 

Number of Offenders Sentenced Through December 2003:  929 
Sex: Male – 855 (92%) / Female – 74 (8%) 

Presumptive Stayed Cases 743 (80%) -- Presumptive Prison Cases 186 (20%) 
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Criminal History 
 
All felony DWI offenders have, at a minimum, three prior alcohol related driving offenses on 
their record that serve as the predicate offenses upon which a felony DWI charge is based. Per 
the sentencing guidelines, the predicate offenses upon which a felony offense is based are not 
used in calculating an offender’s criminal history score (MSGC § II.B.6). Thus, a first time felony 
DWI offender may be sentenced at a criminal history score of zero. 
 
Of the 929 cases sentenced through December 2003, the greatest number of offenders (354 or 
38%) were sentenced at a criminal history score of one, followed by 235 offenders (25%) 
sentenced at a criminal history score of zero and 155 offenders (17%) sentenced at a criminal 
history score of two. All totaled, the vast majority (80%) of offenders sentenced for felony DWI 
were sentenced at a criminal history score of two or less.  A criminal history score of 2 or less is 
a presumed stayed sentence unless the offender’s criminal history score includes a prior felony 
DWI. Only one offender sentenced at a criminal history score of two or less had a presumed 
prison sentence. 
 
Just over half of all offenders (57%) were under some kind of supervision (e.g., probation, 
release pending sentence, supervised release from prison) at the time they committed the 
current offense. Over a third (38%) of these offenders had other felony offenses (i.e., non-DWI 
felonies) on their record that contributed to their total criminal history score, while only 22 (2%) 
had a prior DWI felony offense that contributed to their total criminal history score.  
 
 

Number with Custody Status Point: 527 (57%) 
Number with Prior Non-DWI Felony Offense in Criminal History:  351 (38%) 

Number with Prior DWI Felony Offense in Criminal History: 22 (2%) 
 

Distribution of Cases by Criminal History Score 
 

Criminal History 
Score Number  Percent 

0 235 25% 

1 354 38% 

2 155 17% 

3 74 8% 

4 45 5% 

5 24 3% 

6 or more 42 5% 

 
Incarceration Rates 
 
At the time of sentencing, the court can impose one or more of several different sentences, the 
most restrictive being a sentence of imprisonment in a state facility for a period exceeding a 
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year. The court may also impose a sentence of local incarceration for a period of up to one year 
as a condition of probation, as well as other sanctions including community work service, court 
ordered treatment, and fines. 
 
Of the 929 offenders sentenced for felony DWI, 132 (14%) were sentenced to imprisonment in 
a state facility. The average pronounced sentence for these 132 offenders was 50 months.  An 
additional 770 offenders (83%) were sentenced to local incarceration for an average period of 
233 days. The total incarceration rate (i.e., both offenders sentenced to prison and local 
incarceration) was 97%. The remaining 27 offenders (3%) received other sanctions by the court 
at sentencing. 
 

Total Incarceration Rate for Felony DWI Offenders: 97% 
Number of Offenders That Received Various Types of Incarceration 

 

Type Number  Percent Average Pronounced 
Durations 

Prison 132 14% 50 months 

Local Jail Time 770 83% 233 days 

Other Sanctions 27 3%  

Total 929 100%  

 
Departure Rates 
 
A departure occurs when the court imposes a sentence that is different from that presumed 
under the sentencing guidelines.  A departure can be to the presumed disposition of the 
sentence (i.e., whether the guidelines calls for a stayed probationary sentence or a commitment 
to prison) or to the presumed duration or the sentence measured in months.  A departure can 
be “aggravated” meaning either imposing a prison sentence on a presumptive stayed 
probationary sentence or imposing a greater amount of time than that presumed by the 
sentencing guidelines. A departure can also be “mitigated,” meaning either imposing a stayed 
probationary sentence on a presumed prison sentence or imposing a shorter duration than that 
presumed under the sentencing guidelines. 
 
Dispositional Departures 
 
As noted above, 186 of the 920 cases sentenced were presumed prison sentences under the 
sentencing guidelines.  Of those 186 cases, 116 (62%) were given the presumptive sentence 
and committed to prison. The remaining 70 cases (38%) were given a mitigated dispositional 
departure and placed on probation.   
 
Of the 743 cases where the sentencing guidelines presumed a stayed sentence, 16 (2%) were 
given an aggravated dispositional departure and committed to prison. The remaining 727 cases 
received the presumptive stayed sentence and were placed on probation. As noted above, a 
stayed sentence where the offender is placed on probation might include up to a year of 
incarceration in a local facility as a condition of the probation. 
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Dispositional Departures 

 

Sentence Received Presumptive 
Disposition  Prison  Probation 

Departure Rate 

Prison – 186 116 (62%) 70 (38%) Mitigated – 38% 

Probation – 743 16 (2%) 727 (98%) Aggravated – 2% 

Total – 929 132 (14%) 797 (86%)  

 
 
Durational Departures on Prison Cases 
 
Of the 132 cases sentenced to prison, 73 (55%) received the duration recommended by the 
sentencing guidelines. One case received a duration greater than that recommended by the 
sentencing guidelines and the remaining 58 cases (44%) received a sentence duration shorter 
than that recommended by the sentencing guidelines. 
 
 

Durational Departures-Executed Sentences 
 

Number of Executed 
Sentences 

No 
Departure 

Aggravated 
Departures 

Mitigated 
Departures 

Total Departure 
Rate 

132 73 (55%) 1 (1%) 58 (44%) 45% 

 
 
 
Total Departure Rate 
 
The total dispositional departure rate for all 929 cases was 9%. For presumed prison cases, the 
rate was higher at 38%; for presumed stayed cases, it was lower at only 2%. The total 
durational departure rate for all 929 cases was 14%. For presumed prison cases, the rate was 
higher at 38%, and for presumed stayed cases, it was 7%.  
 
Any individual sentence might contain more than one kind of departure. For example, if the 
sentencing guidelines presume a 48 month stayed sentence but the offender actually receives a 
36 month executed prison sentence, the offender’s sentence would be both an aggravated 
dispositional and mitigated durational departure. Only 2% of all 929 cases were given a 
sentence that was both a dispositional and a durational departure. For presumed prison cases, 
9% received a sentence that was both a dispositional and a durational departure. For presumed 
stayed cases only 1% received a sentence that was both types of departure. 
 
The overall total departure rate (combining both dispositional and durational departures) was 
21%; of the 929 cases sentenced, 191 received one or more departures. For presumptive prison 



 

 

47

 

MSGC Report to the Legislature 

cases, the total departure rate was the highest at 67%. For presumed stayed cases, the total 
departure rate was just 9%. 
 

Total Departure Rate 
 

Presumptive 
Disposition 

Dispositional  
Departure  

Durational 
Departure Both 

Total 
Departure 

Rate 

Prison – 186 54 (29%) 54 (29%) 16 (9%) 124 (67%) 

Probation – 743 11 (2%) 51 (7%) 5 (1%) 67 (9%) 

Total – 929 65 (7%) 105 (11%) 21 (2%) 191 (21%) 

 
 
Revocations to Prison 
 
A revocation occurs when an offender placed on probation violates the conditions of that 
probation. A revocation can add additional sanctions to an offender’s sentence or can result in 
the offender being sent to prison to serve their sentence.  
 
Of the 929 DWI cases sentenced, 797 were initially given a stayed sentence. Of those 797 
stayed cases, 24 (3%) were revoked, their sentences executed and the offender sent to prison.  
The average period of time between sentencing and revocation for all 24 cases was 5 ½ 
months. 
 

Average Number of Months To Revocation by Criminal History Score 
 

Criminal 
History Score 

Average number of 
Months to Revocation Number of Cases 

0 6.0 4 
1 4.2 7 
2 7.4 8 
3 4.0 1 
4 9.5 1 
6 4.0 1 
7 2.0 1 
8 1.0 1 

Total 5.6 24 

 
 
 
Distribution of Cases Sentenced by Month 
 
This report covers cases sentenced over a period of 17 months, from August 2002, when the 
law first went into effect, until the end of 2003. There was an average of 55 cases per month 
sentenced in that period of time.  In 2002 (the first five months the new DWI law was in effect) 
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there was an average of 21 cases sentenced per month. In 2003, on average there were 69 
cases sentenced per month. The largest number of cases sentenced in 2003 occurred in 
September, when 86 cases were sentenced. The smallest number of cases sentenced in 2003 
occurred in February with 43 total cases sentenced. 
 
 

Number of Cases Sentenced by Month 
 

Month Number of Cases 
Sentenced 

August 2002 2 

September 2002 5 

October 2002 17 

November 2002 31 

December 2002 50 

January 2003 61 

February 2003 43 

March 2003 81 

April 2003 71 

May 2003 64 

June 2003 79 

July 2003 80 

August 2003 59 

September 2003 86 

October 2003 69 

November 2003 59 

December 2003 72 

Total 929 



 

 

49

 

MSGC Report to the Legislature 

Distribution of Cases by County 
 
By far, the highest number of cases sentenced was in Hennepin County with 178, followed by 
Ramsey County with 85, Dakota County with 77, St Louis County with 49, and Anoka County 
with 48.  These counties accounted for nearly half (47%) of all felony DWI cases sentenced in 
the state. Other counties with more than 20 felony DWI cases sentenced included Clay County 
with 31 cases; Mille Lacs and Polk Counties with 23 cases each; Olmsted with 22 cases and 
Becker and Washington Counties with 21 cases each.  These six counties accounted for an 
additional 15% of all felony DWI cases sentenced in Minnesota. 
 
When comparing felony DWI’s sentenced through December 2003 to all felony offenses 
sentenced in Minnesota in 2003, Hennepin and Ramsey counties accounted for a smaller 
percentage of DWI cases sentenced and Greater Minnesota accounted for a larger number of 
cases. 
 
Hennepin County sentenced 19.2% of the felony DWI cases in the state, compared to 22% of 
other cases sentenced in 2003. Ramsey County sentenced 13.7% of all other cases in 2003, 
compared to only 9.1% of felony DWI’s sentenced through December 2003. The other metro 
counties had the same percentages in each category, sentencing 18.1% of the cases. 
Conversely, Greater Minnesota sentenced a greater portion of all felony DWI’s (53.6%) 
compared to other felonies sentenced in 2003 (46.7%).  
 
 

Regional Distribution of Felony DWI Cases Sentenced 
Compared to all Offenses Sentenced in 2002 

 

Region Percent and Number of Other 
Felonies Sentenced in 2003 

Percent and Number of Felony 
DWI’s Sentenced through 

December 2003 

Hennepin County 21.5% (2,937) 19.2% (178) 

Ramsey County 13.7% (1,880) 9.1% (85) 

Other Metro Counties 18.1% (2,472) 18.1% (168) 

Greater Minnesota 46.7% (6,393) 53.6% (498) 

Total 100%  (13,682) 100% (929) 

 
 
 
For information on sentencing practices by county, see the Appendix. 
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County Attorney Reports 
Current law directs county attorneys to collect and 
maintain information on criminal complaints and 
prosecutions within the county attorney’s office in which 
a defendant is alleged to have committed an offense 
while possessing or using a firearm.  This information is 
then forwarded to the Sentencing Guidelines 
Commission no later than July 1 of each year.  Pursuant 
to M.S. § 244.09, subdivision 14, the Sentencing 
Guidelines Commission is required to include in its 
annual Report to the Legislature a summary and 
analysis of the reports received from county attorneys.  
Memoranda describing the ongoing mandate by the Legislature along with forms (See 
Appendix) on which to report their county’s cases are distributed to Minnesota’s county 
attorneys.  Although commission staff clarifies inconsistencies in the summary data, the 
information received from the county attorneys is reported directly as provided. 
 
This year the Commission received information from all 87 Minnesota counties.  Figure 1 below 
displays a historical summary of cases since the mandate began.  In FY 2004 there were a total 
of 701 cases in which a defendant allegedly committed an offense listed in subdivision 9 of M.S. 
§ 609.11 while possessing or using a firearm.  Case volume was up 11 percent from last year. 
 
Figures 2 through 5 summarize this year’s statewide information.  Tables providing information 
for individual counties are included in the Appendix. 
 
FIGURE 1. Historical Case Summary 
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A mandatory minimum 
sentence was imposed 
and executed in 61 % 
of the cases where it 
was required. 
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FIGURE 2. 

Total Number Cases Allegedly Involving Firearms 
       Offenses Listed in M.S. § 609.11, subdivision 9 

 
• Prosecutors charged offenders in 98 percent of the cases allegedly involving firearms.  

This figure remains the same as reported last year. 
 
 
 

 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
FIGURE 3. Offenses Charged – Case Outcomes 
 

• Among those cases charged, 70 percent were convicted of an offense listed in M.S. § 
609.11, subdivision 9.  This figure is slightly lower than the 72 percent recorded in FY 
2003. 

• In FY2003, five percent more of the cases were charged, but not sentenced, as a M.S. § 
609.11, subdivision 9, offense than in FY 2002.  

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 

TOTAL NUMBER CASES ALLEGEDLY INVOLVING 
FIREARMS 

OFFENSES LISTED IN M.S. § 609.11, SUBDIVISION 9 
100% 
(701) 

 
TOTAL NUMBER CASES 

CHARGED 
98% 
(690) 

 
TOTAL NUMBER CASES 

NOT CHARGED 
2% 
(11) 

 
TOTAL NUMBER CASES 

CHARGED 
100% 
(690) 

 
Convicted of 

Offense Listed in 
§609.11, subd. 9 

70% 
(480) 

 
Convicted of   

 Offense NOT Listed 
in §609.11, subd. 9 

18% 
(127) 

 
Dismissed on All 

Charges 
 

8% 
(57) 

 
Other 

 
 

1% 
(8) 

 
Acquitted on All 

Charges 
 

3% 
(18) 
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FIGURE 4. 
Convictions for Offenses Listed in M.S. § 609.11, subdivision 9 - 

                 Firearm Established on the Record 
 

• There were 480 convictions for offenses listed in M.S. § 609.11, subdivision 9.  In 94 percent of 
the cases, a firearm was established on the record.  This is slightly lower from 96 percent as 
reported in FY 2003. 

 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
FIGURE 5. Mandatory Minimum Sentences Imposed and Executed 
 

• A mandatory minimum sentence was imposed and executed in 61 percent of the cases where it 
was required.  This figure was 66 percent in FY 2003 and 65 percent in FY 2002. 
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WAIVED 
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SENTENCING GUIDELINES GRID 
Presumptive Sentence Lengths in Months 

Italicized numbers within the grid denote the range within which a judge may sentence without the sentence being 
deemed a departure.  Offenders with nonimprisonment felony sentences are subject to jail time according to law. 
 
           CRIMINAL HISTORY SCORE  
SEVERITY LEVEL OF  
CONVICTION OFFENSE 
(Common offenses listed in italics) 

 
 0 

 
1 

 
2 

 
3 

 
4 

 
5 

 
6 or 

more 

Murder, 2nd Degree  
(intentional murder; drive-by-  
shootings) 

XI 
 

306 
299-313

 
326 

319-333 

 
346 

339-353 

 
366 

359-373 

 
386 

379-393 

 
406 

399-413 

 
426 

419-433 

Murder, 3rd Degree 
Murder, 2nd Degree  
   (unintentional murder)  

X 
 

150 
144-156

 
165 

159-171 

 
180 

174-186 

 
195 

189-201 

 
210 

204-216 

 
225 

219-231 

 
240 

234-246 

Criminal Sexual Conduct,  
   1st Degree 2 
Assault, 1st Degree 

IX 
 

86 
81-91 

 
98 

93-103 

 
110 

105-115 

 
122 

117-127 

 
134 

129-139 

 
146 

141-151 

 
158 

153-163 

Aggravated Robbery 1st Degree 
   Criminal Sexual Conduct, 
     2nd Degree (c),(d),(e),(f),(h) 2 

VIII 
 

48 
44-52 

 
58 

54-62 

 
68 

64-72 

 
78 

74-82 

 
88 

84-92 

 
98 

94-102 

 
108 

104-112 

Felony DWI VII 36 42 48 54 
51-57 

60 
57-63 

66 
63-69 

72 
69-75 

Criminal Sexual Conduct, 
   2nd Degree (a) & (b) VI 

 
21 

 
27 

 
33 

 
39 

37-41 

 
45 

43-47 

 
51 

49-53 

 
57 

55-59 

Residential Burglary       
Simple Robbery V 

 
18 

 
23 

 
28 

 
33 

31-35 

 
38 

36-40 

 
43 

41-45 

 
48 

46-50 

Nonresidential Burglary  
 

IV 
 

 
121 

 
15 

 
18 

 
21 

 
24 

23-25 

 
27 

26-28 

 
30 

29-31 

Theft Crimes  (Over $2,500) III 
 

121 
 

13 
 

15 
 

17 
 

19 
18-20 

 
21 

20-22 

 
23 

22-24 

Theft Crimes  ($2,500 or less)  
Check Forgery  ($200-$2,500) II 

 
121 

 
121 

 
13 

 
15 

 
17 

 
19 

 
21 

20-22 

Sale of Simulated 
   Controlled Substance I 

 
121 

 
121 

 
121 

 
13 

 
15 

 
17 

 
19 

18-20 

 

 
Presumptive commitment to state imprisonment.  First Degree Murder is excluded from the guidelines by law and continues to 
have a mandatory life sentence.  See section II.E. Mandatory Sentences for policy regarding those sentences controlled by law, 
including minimum periods of supervision for sex offenders released from prison. 

 Presumptive stayed sentence; at the discretion of the judge, up to a year in jail and/or other non-jail sanctions can be imposed as 
conditions of probation.  However, certain offenses in this section of the grid always carry a presumptive commitment to state 
prison. These offenses include Third Degree Controlled Substance Crimes when the offender has a prior felony drug conviction, 
Burglary of an Occupied Dwelling when the offender has a prior felony burglary conviction, second and subsequent Criminal 
Sexual Conduct offenses and offenses carrying a mandatory minimum prison term due to the use of a dangerous weapon (e.g., 
Second Degree Assault).  See sections II.C. Presumptive Sentence and II.E. Mandatory Sentences. 

1    One year and one day 

2 Pursuant to M.S. § 609.342, subd. 2 and 609.343, subd. 2, the presumptive sentence for Criminal Sexual Conduct in the First Degree is a 
minimum of 144 months and the presumptive sentence for Criminal Sexual Conduct in the Second Degree – clauses c, d, e, f, and h is a 
minimum of 90 months (see II.C. Presumptive Sentence and II.G. Convictions for Attempts, Conspiracies, and Other Sentence Modifiers). 

Effective August 1, 2004
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SPECIFIC GUIDELINES MODIFICATIONS 
Effective August 1, 2004 

 
 
 
IV. Adopted Modifications Related to New and Amended Crimes 
 
The commission considered new and amended crime legislation from the 2004 Legislative 
Session and adopted a proposal to retain affected severity level rankings and guidelines policies, 
as follows: 
 
A. Blood Alcohol Concentration Level Reduction:  The commission considered changes made to 

the blood alcohol concentration level reduction and adopted a proposal to maintain the 
current severity level rankings and guidelines polices for criminal vehicular operations and 
felony driving while impaired. 

 
B. Assault in the Fourth Degree:  The commission considered changes made to assault in the 

fourth degree and adopted a proposal to maintain the current severity level I ranking for the 
crime. 

 
C. Misdemeanor and Gross Misdemeanor Offense List:  The commission considered new and 

amended misdemeanors and gross misdemeanors and adopted a proposal to maintain the 
current Misdemeanor and Gross Misdemeanor Offense List. 

 
 
V. Other Adopted Modifications 
 
A. Criminal History:  Felony Weights for Previously Unranked Offenses 

 
The commission adopted a proposal to add language to comment II.B.101 of the sentencing 
guidelines to clarify that the policy applied to weighting prior felonies is also applied to offenses 
that were previously unranked. 
 
**** 
II.B.101.  The basic rule for computing the number of prior felony points in the criminal history 
score….  
 
The Commission recognized that determining the severity level of the prior felonies may be 
difficult in some instances.  The appropriate severity level shall be based on the severity level 
ranking of the prior offense of conviction that is in effect at the time the offender commits the 
current offense.  If an offense has been repealed but the elements of that offense have been 
incorporated into another felony statute, the appropriate severity level shall be based on the 
current severity level ranking for the current felony offense containing those similar elements.  
This policy also applies to offenses that are currently assigned a severity level ranking, but were 
previously unranked and excluded from the Offense Severity Reference Table. 
**** 
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B. Criminal History:  Custody Status Point 
 
The commission adopted a proposal to add language to section II.B.2 of the sentencing 
guidelines and comment II.B.206 of the sentencing guidelines to clarify that a custody status 
point should be assigned when the conviction offense involves multiple offenses that occur over 
a period of time. 
 
Proposed Language 
 
**** 

2. One point is assigned if the offender: 

a.  was on probation, parole, supervised release, conditional release, or confined in 

a jail, workhouse, or prison pending sentencing, following a guilty plea or 

verdict in a felony, gross misdemeanor or an extended jurisdiction juvenile 

case, or following a felony, gross misdemeanor or an extended jurisdiction 

juvenile conviction; or  

b.  was released pending sentencing at the time the felony was committed for 

which he or she is being sentenced; or 

c.  committed the current offense within the period of the initial length of stay 

pronounced by the sentencing judge for a prior felony, gross misdemeanor or 

an extended jurisdiction juvenile conviction.  This policy does not apply if the 

probationary sentence for the prior offense is revoked, and the offender serves 

an executed sentence; or. 

d.  became subject to one of the criminal justice supervision statuses listed in 2.a 

above at any point in time during which the offense occurred when multiple 

offenses are an element of the conviction offense or the conviction offense is 

an aggregated offense. 

 **** 

II.B.206.  The commission believes that when multiple offenses are an element of the 
conviction offense or the conviction offense is an aggregated offense, the offender should 
receive a custody status point if they become subject to one of the criminal justice supervision 
statuses outlined in 2.a at any point during the time period in which the offenses occurred.  
While the commission recognizes that its policy for determining the presumptive sentence states 
that for aggregated offenses, the earliest offense date determines the date of offense, it believes 
that eligibility for a custody status point should not be limited to the offender’s status at the time 
of the earliest date of offense. 
 
**** 
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C. Concurrent/Consecutive Sentences:  Permissive Consecutive Policy 
 
The commission adopted the following language related to consecutive sentences in section II.F 
of the sentencing guidelines: 
 
1. Felony Assault Committed in Local Jail:  The commission adopted a proposal to add 

language to section II.F of the sentencing guidelines to clarify that a felony assault 
committed while in a local jail or workhouse may always be sentenced consecutively to any 
other executed prison sentence if the presumptive disposition for the other offense was 
commitment to the Commissioner of Corrections. 

 
2. Escape from Nonexecuted Prison Sentence:  The commission adopted a proposal to 

modify language in section II.F of the sentencing guidelines to clarify that a felony escape 
from a nonexecuted prison sentence may always be sentenced consecutively. 

 
3. Dispositional Departures:  The commission adopted a proposal to add language to section 

II.F of the sentencing guidelines to explain that in some situations it is not a dispositional 
departure to execute a sentence for an offense for which consecutive sentencing is 
permissive when it is going to be sentenced consecutive to another executed sentence.  

 
Proposed Language 
 
**** 
Permissive Consecutive Sentences 
Except when consecutive sentences are presumptive, consecutive sentences are permissive 
(may be given without departure) only in the following cases: 

 

1. A current felony conviction for a crime against a person may be sentenced 

consecutively to a prior felony sentence for a crime against a person which has not 

expired or been discharged; or 

 

2. Multiple current felony convictions for crimes against persons may be sentenced 

consecutively to each other; or 

 

3. A current felony conviction for escape from lawful custody, as defined in Minn. Stat. § 

609.485, when the offender did not escape from an executed prison sentence, may 

be sentenced consecutively to the sentence for the offense for which the offender 

was confined; or 

 

4. A current felony conviction for a crime committed while on felony escape from lawful 

custody, as defined in Minn. Stat. § 609.485, from a nonexecuted felony sentence 

may be sentenced consecutively to the sentence for the escape or for the offense for 

which the offender was confined; or 
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5. A current felony conviction for a crime committed while on felony escape from lawful 

custody, as defined in Minn. Stat. § 609.485, from an executed felony sentence may 

be sentenced consecutively to the sentence for the escape; or 

 

6. A current felony conviction for Fleeing a Peace Officer in a Motor Vehicle as defined in 

Minn. Stat. § 609.487 or Criminal Sexual Conduct in the First through Fourth Degrees 

with force or violence as defined in Minn. Stat. § 609.342 through 609.345; or 

 

7. A current conviction for a felony assault committed while in a local jail or workhouse 

may be sentenced consecutively to any other executed prison sentence if the 

presumptive disposition for the other offense was commitment to the Commissioner 

of Corrections. 

 

Consecutive sentences are permissive under the above criteria numbers 1-4 1, 2, and 4 only 

when the presumptive disposition for the current offense(s) is commitment to the Commissioner 

of Corrections as determined under the procedures outlined in section II.C.  In addition, 

consecutive sentences are permissive under number 1 above, involving a current felony 

conviction for a crime against a person and a prior felony sentence for a crime against a person 

which has not expired or been discharged, only when the presumptive disposition for the prior 

offense(s) was commitment to the Commissioner of Corrections as determined under the 

procedures outlined in section II.C.  If the judge pronounces a consecutive stayed sentence in 

these circumstances, the stayed sentence is a mitigated dispositional departure, but the 

consecutive nature of the sentence is not a departure if the offense meets one of the above 

criteria.  The consecutive stayed sentence begins when the offender completes the term of 

imprisonment and is placed on supervised release. 

 

Consecutive sentences are always permissive under the above criteria numbers 3, 5, and 6, or 7.  

There is no dispositional departure if the sentences are executed when consecutive sentences 

are pronounced under criteria numbers 3, 5, 6, or 7. 

**** 

 

D. Misdemeanor/Gross Misdemeanor Offense List and Theft Offense List 
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The commission adopted a proposal to make the following modifications to the Misdemeanor and 
Gross Misdemeanor Offense List due to repealed, renumbered, and new statutes passed during 
the 2003 Legislative Session: 
 
  Carrying a pistol while under the influence of alcohol or a controlled substance 
  624.7142, subd. 6(a)(b) 
 
  Contributing to Delinquency of Minor 
  260.315 (Repealed.  1999 C. 139, Art. 4, S. 3) 
   
  Contributing to status as a juvenile petty offender or delinquency 
  260B.425 
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Analysis of Possible Candidates for Off-Grid Sentence: 

Offenders Sentenced in 2003 
 
 

First Degree Offenders 
 
Offenders with 2 or more True Prior Sex offenses 
 

1. 1st degree  – personal injury with force, 4 True Prior Sex Offenses (2 fifth degree, second 
degree, solicit child for sexual conduct) 
Got 360, no departure reasons.   
Current Presumptive= 158 months, New Presumptive=360 months 
 

2. 1st degree – under 13, 4 True Priors (3 2nd degree, 4th degree) 
Got 288 – prior sex offense, vulnerability, multiple acts, position of trust, 
Current Presumptive= 158 months, New Presumptive=360 months 
 

3. 1st degree – under 13, 2 True Priors (2 1st degree sentenced in 2002) 
Got total of 216 consecutive, no departure. 
Current Presumptive= 144 months, New Presumptive=360 months 
 

4. 1st degree – under 13, 2 True Priors (5th degree, second degree IFSA) 
Got 288, patterned sex offender 
Current Presumptive= 144 months, New Presumptive=280 months 
 

5. 1st degree – fear great bodily harm, 2 True Priors (2 rape in IL in 1978) 
Got presumptive of 160 
Current Presumptive= 160 months, New Presumptive=360 months 

 
Offenders Receiving Statutory Maximum Sentence or Longer Consecutive Sentence  

 
6. 1st degree – under 13, Got total of 840 months- multiple offenses, patterned sex 

offender, cruelty, vulnerability  (no true priors) 
Current Presumptive= 158 months, New Presumptive=360 months 

 
7. 1st degree – weapon, Got total of 528 months, multiple offenses, injury, privacy, plea 

agreement  (no true priors) 
Current Presumptive= 158months, New Presumptive=360 months 

 
8. 1st degree – under13, Got total of 480 months, no departure reasons. 

(1 true prior) 
Current Presumptive= 146 months, New Presumptive=320 months 

 
9. 1st degree – under 16, significant relationship, Got 432 months, multiple offenses, cruelty, 

injury  (no true priors). 
Current Presumptive= 122 months, New Presumptive=280 months 

 
10. 1st degree – personal injury with force, Got total of 381 months through consecutive 

sentencing, no departure.  (no true priors) 
Current Presumptive= 158 months, New Presumptive=380 months 
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11. 1st degree – personal injury with force, Got 360 months-cruelty, prior sex offense, more 

onerous, privacy  (one prior 3rd degree) 
Current Presumptive= 110 months, New Presumptive=200 months 

 
12. 1st degree – personal injury with force, Got 360 months - cruelty, prior sex offense, more 

onerous, vulnerability (one prior 2nd degree) 
Current Presumptive= 134 months, New Presumptive=320 months 

 
13. 1st degree – Under 16, multiple acts, Got 360 months – no departure reasons. 

(no true priors) 
Current Presumptive= 158 months, New Presumptive=360 months 

 
 
   

Second Degree Offenders 
 

Offenders with 2 or more True Prior Sex Offenses 
 

1. 2nd Degree – under 13 (sev. Level 6), 2 True Priors (2nd degree, 3rd degree) 
Got presumptive sentence of 60 months 
Current Presumptive= 60 months, New Presumptive=140 months 
 

No Second Degree offenders got the Statutory Maximum Sentence of 25 Years 
 
  

Third Degree Offenders 
 

Offenders with 2 or more True Prior Sex Offenses 
 

1. 3rd Degree – force (severity level 8), 3 True Priors (1st degree, 2nd degree, 4th degree) 
Got 180 months, not amenable to treatment, plea negotiation 
Current Presumptive= 98 months, New Presumptive=180 months 
 

2. 3rd Degree – victim incapacitated (severity level 8), 3 True Priors (2 3rd degree, 4th degree 
all with same prior sentencing date).  Got presumptive 88 months, but stayed  
- amenable to treatment, shows remorse, plea agreement 
Current Presumptive= 88 months, New Presumptive=180 months 
 

3. 3rd Degree – victim 13-16 (severity level 5)  2 True Priors (1st degree, 3rd degree) 
Got 36 month mandatory minimum for subsequent offenders, not a departure. 
Current Presumptive= 36 months, New Presumptive=140 months 
  

Offenders Receiving Statutory Maximum Sentence of 15 Years 
 

1.  3rd Degree – force (severity level 8), 1 True Prior (sexual assault) 
Got 180 months, vulnerability, dangerous offender provision 
Current Presumptive= 108 months, New Presumptive=180 months 
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Fourth Degree Offenders 
 

Offenders with 2 or more True Prior Sex Offenses 
 

1. 4th Degree – force (severity level 6), 3 True Priors (21st degree, 3rd degree) 
Got 240 months, patterned sex offender 
Current Presumptive= 60 months, New Presumptive=120 months 
 

2. 4th Degree – force (severity level 6),  2 True Priors (2nd degree, 4th degree ). 
 Got 480 months, patterned sex offender, public protection. 
Current Presumptive= 57 months, New Presumptive=120 months 
 

3. 4th Degree – victim incapacitated (severity level 6)  2 True Priors (1st degree, 2nd  degree) 
Got 102 months, dangerous offender, vulnerability, privacy, position of trust. 
Current Presumptive= 51 months, New Presumptive=120 months 
  

4. 4th Degree – force (severity level 6)  2 True Priors (2 3rd Degree),   
Got 45 months, no departure. 
Current Presumptive= 45 months, New Presumptive=120 months 
 

5. 4th Degree – force (severity level 6)  2 True Priors (2 1st degree) 
Got 36 month mandatory minimum for subsequent offense, no departure. 
Current Presumptive= 36 months, New Presumptive=120 months 
 

No Other 4th Degree Offenders Received the Statutory Maximum Sentence of 10 Years 
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Felony DWI Cases By County 

 
 

Incarceration Rates by County 
 

Number and Percentage of Offenders 
County 

Number of 
Cases 

Sentenced State Prison Local Jail Other 
Sanctions 

Aitkin 7 0  7 (100%) 0 

Anoka 48 1 (2%) 44 (92%) 3(6%) 

Becker 21 3 (14%) 18 (86%) 0 

Beltrami 16 2 (13%) 13 (81%) 1 (6%) 

Benton 8 0 8 (100%) 0 

Big Stone 1 1(100%) 0 0 

Blue Earth 9 3 (33%) 6(67%) 0 

Brown 2 1 (50%) 1 (50%) 0 

Carlton 15 1 (7%) 14 (93%) 0 

Carver 8 0 8(100%) 0 

Cass 11 2 (18%) 9 (82%) 0 

Chippewa 4 0 3 (75%) 1 (25%) 

Chisago 10 3 (30%) 6 (60%) 1 (10%) 

Clay 31 6 (19%) 25 (81%) 0 

Clearwater 2 0 2 (100%) 0 

Cook 0 0 0 0 

Cottonwood 0 0 0 0 

Crow Wing 16 0 16 (100%) 0 

Dakota 77 12 (16%) 64 (83%) 1 (1%) 

Dodge 4 1 (25%) 3(75%) 0 

Douglas 5 1 (20%) 4 (80%) 0 

Faribault 2 0 2 (100%) 0 

Fillmore 0 0 0 0 

Freeborn 1 1 (100%) 0 0 

Goodhue 7 1 (14%) 5 (71%) 1 (14%) 

Grant 2 0 2 (100%) 0 

Hennepin 178 27 (15%) 142(80%) 9 (5%) 

Houston 4 0  4(100%) 0 
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Number and Percentage of Offenders 
County 

Number of 
Cases 

Sentenced State Prison Local Jail Other 
Sanctions 

Hubbard 1 0 1 (100%) 0 

Isanti 2 0 1 (50%) . 1 (50%) 

Itasca 17 3 (18%) 14 (82%) 0 

Jackson 1 0 1 (100%) 0 

Kanabec 6 1 (17%) 5 (83%) 0 

Kandiyohi 3 0 3 (100%) 0 

Kittson 1 0 1 (100%) 0 

Koochiching 3 2 (67%) 1 (33%) 0 

Lac Qui Parle 1 0 1 (100%) 0 

Lake 0 0 0 0 

Lake of the Woods 3 0 3 (100%) 0 

Le Sueur 4 0 3 (75%) 1 (25%) 

Lincoln 0 0 0 0 

Lyon 2 0 2 (100%) 0 

McLeod 9 1 (11%) 7 (78%) 1 (11%) 

Mahnomen 6 0 5 (83%) 1 (17%) 

Marshall 4 0 4 (100%) 0 

Martin 5 1 (20%) 4 (80%) 0 

Meeker 0 0 0 0 

Mille Lacs 23 6 (26%) 17 (74%) 0 

Morrison 4 0 4 (100%) 0 

Mower 7 0 6 (86%) 1 (14%) 

Murray 1 0 1 (100%) 0 

Nicollet 4 0 4 (100%) 0 

Nobles 8 0 8 (100%) 0 

Norman 1 0 1 (100%) 0 

Olmsted 22 1 (5%) 21 (95%) 0 

Otter Tail 12 1 (8%) 11 (92%) 0 

Pennington 8 1 (13%) 7 (88%) 0 

Pine 5 0 5 (100%) 0 

Pipestone 1 0 1 (100%) 0 

Polk 23 9 (39%) 13 (57%) 1 (4%) 
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Number and Percentage of Offenders 
County 

Number of 
Cases 

Sentenced State Prison Local Jail Other 
Sanctions 

Pope 0 0 0 0 

Ramsey 85 15 (18%) 69 (81%) 1 (1%) 

Red Lake 1 0 1 (100%) 0 

Redwood 3 1 (33%) 2 (67%) 0 

Renville 2 0 2 (100%) 0 

Rice 13 1 (8%) 12 (92%) 0 

Rock 2 0 2 (100%) 0 

Roseau 3 0 3 (100%) 0 

St Louis 49 8 (16%) 41 (84%) 0 

Scott 14 1 (7%) 13 (93%) 0 

Sherburne 12 4 (33%) 7 (58%) 1 (8%) 

Sibley 3 1 (33%) 2 (67%) 0 

Stearns 7 1 (14%) 6 (86%) 0 

Steele 3 1 (33%) 2 (67%) 0 

Stevens 0 0 0 0 

Swift 2 0 2 (100%) 0 

Todd 4 0 4 (100%) 0 

Traverse 0 0 0 0 

Wabasha 3 0 3 (100%) 0 

Wadena 3 0 2 (67%) 1 (33%) 

Waseca 4 0 3 (75%) 1 (25%) 

Washington 21 3 (14%) 18 (86%) 0 

Watonwan 1 0 1 (100%) 0 

Wilkin 0 0 0 0 

Winona 3 0 3 (100%) 0 

Wright 11 3 (27%) 8 (73%) 0 

Yellow Medicine 4 1 (25%) 3 (75%) 0 

Total 929 132 (14%) 770 (83%) 27 (3%) 
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County Attorney Reports on Criminal Cases Involving Firearms 
By County 

 
Cases Allegedly Involving Firearms - Offenses Listed in M.S. § 609.11, subd. 9 

Cases Disposed from July 1, 2003 to July 1, 2004 
 

 

County 

Cases Allegedly 
Involving Firearms - 

Offenses Listed in M.S § 609.11
Cases Not 
Charged 

Cases 
Charged 

Aitkin 1 0 1 

Anoka 32 2 30 

Becker 4 0 4 

Beltrami 7 1 6 

Benton 2 0 2 

Big Stone 0 0 0 

Blue Earth 6 0 6 

Brown 0 0 0 

Carlton 2 0 2 

Carver 4 1 3 

Cass 6 0 6 

Chippewa 3 0 3 

Chisago 6 0 6 

Clay 2 0 2 

Clearwater 2 0 2 

Cook 1 0 1 

Cottonwood 0 0 0 

Crow Wing 11 0 11 

Dakota 32 0 32 

Dodge 3 0 3 

Douglas 1 0 1 

Faribault 1 0 1 

Fillmore 0 0 0 

Freeborn 2 0 2 

Goodhue 4 0 4 

Grant 0 0 0 

Hennepin 193 0 193 

Houston 3 0 3 

Hubbard 5 0 5 
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County 

Cases Allegedly 
Involving Firearms - 

Offenses Listed in M.S § 609.11
Cases Not 
Charged 

Cases 
Charged 

Isanti 5 0 5 

Itasca 14 0 14 

Jackson 4 0 4 

Kanabec 5 3 2 

Kandiyohi 4 1 3 

Kittson 0 0 0 

Koochiching 1 0 1 

Lac Qui Parle 0 0 0 

Lake 3 0 3 

Lake of the Woods 2 0 2 

LeSueur 0 0 0 

Lincoln 1 0 1 

Lyon 2 0 2 

McLeod 5 0 5 

Mahnomen 3 0 3 

Marshall 1 0 1 

Martin 4 0 4 

Meeker 2 1 1 

Mille Lacs 7 0 7 

Morrison 7 0 7 

Mower 2 0 2 

Murray 2 0 2 

Nicollet 0 0 0 

Nobles 1 0 1 

Norman 1 0 1 

Olmsted 39 0 39 

Otter Tail 5 0 5 

Pennington 1 0 1 

Pine 2 0 2 

Pipestone 2 0 2 

Polk 10 0 10 

Pope 1 0 1 

Ramsey 111 0 111 

Red Lake 0 0 0 

Redwood 10 0 10 
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County 

Cases Allegedly 
Involving Firearms - 

Offenses Listed in M.S § 609.11
Cases Not 
Charged 

Cases 
Charged 

Renville 5 0 5 

Rice 4 0 4 

Rock 0 0 0 

Roseau 2 0 2 

St. Louis 40 2 38 

Scott 5 0 5 

Sherburne 8 0 8 

Sibley 0 0 0 

Stearns 9 0 9 

Steele 6 0 6 

Stevens 0 0 0 

Swift 0 0 0 

Todd 1 0 1 

Traverse 0 0 0 

Wabasha 4 0 4 

Wadena 8 0 8 

Waseca 0 0 0 

Washington 6 0 6 

Watonwan 0 0 0 

Wilkin 0 0 0 

Winona 1 0 1 

Wright 11 0 11 

Yellow Medicine 1 0 1 

Total 701 11 690 
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County Attorney Report on Criminal Cases Involving Firearms 
By County 

 
Offenses Charged - Case Outcome 

Cases Disposed from July 1, 2003 to July 1, 2004 
 

 

County 

Total 
Number 
of Cases 
Charged 

Convicted of 
Offense Listed in 

M.S. § 609.11, 
subd. 9 
Firearm 

Established 

Convicted of 
Offense Listed in 

M.S § 609.11, 
subd. 9 

Firearm Not 
Established 

Conviction 
Offense Not 

Listed in 
M.S. §609.11 

Acquitted 
on all 

Charges 

Dismissed 
on all 

Charges Other 

Aitkin 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 

Anoka 30 19 0 11 0 0 0 

Becker 4 3 0 1 0 0 0 

Beltrami 6 5 0 1 0 0 0 

Benton 2 1 0 1 0 0 0 

Big Stone 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 

Blue Earth 6 2 0 2 0 2 0 

Brown 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 

Carlton 2 0 0 2 0 0 0 

Carver 3 1 0 1 1 0 0 

Cass 6 3 1 0 0 2 0 

Chippewa 3 1 2 0 0 0 0 

Chisago 6 4 0 1 0 1 0 

Clay 2 0 0 1 0 1 0 

Clearwater 2 0 0 2 0 0 0 

Cook 1 0 0 1 0 0 0 

Cottonwood 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 

Crow Wing 11 3 1 2 0 5 0 

Dakota 32 25 0 4 1 2 0 

Dodge 3 1 0 0 0 0 2 

Douglas 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 

Faribault 1 0 0 1 0 0 0 

Fillmore 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 

Freeborn 2 0 1 0 0 1 0 

Goodhue 4 0 0 3 0 1 0 

Grant 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 

Hennepin 193 167 0 12 7 7 0 

Houston 3 0 0 2 0 1 0 

Hubbard 5 0 2 0 3 0 0 
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County 

Total 
Number 
of Cases 
Charged 

Convicted of 
Offense Listed in 

M.S. § 609.11, 
subd. 9 
Firearm 

Established 

Convicted of 
Offense Listed in 

M.S § 609.11, 
subd. 9 

Firearm Not 
Established 

Conviction 
Offense Not 

Listed in 
M.S. §609.11 

Acquitted 
on all 

Charges 

Dismissed 
on all 

Charges Other 

Isanti 5 2 0 3 0 0 0 

Itasca 14 13 0 0 0 1 0 

Jackson 4 4 0 0 0 0 0 

Kanabec 2 1 0 1 0 0 0 

Kandiyohi 3 0 2 1 0 0 0 

Kittson 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 

Koochiching 1 0 0 1 0 0 0 

Lac Qui Parle 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 

Lake 3 3 0 0 0 0 0 
Lake of the 
Woods 2 0 0 1 0 1 0 

LeSueur 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 

Lincoln 1 0 0 1 0 0 0 

Lyon 2 0 2 0 0 0 0 

McLeod 5 1 0 4 0 0 0 

Mahnomen 3 1 1 1 0 0 0 

Marshall 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 

Martin 4 1 1 1 0 0 1 

Meeker 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 

Mille Lacs 7 1 4 1 0 1 0 

Morrison 7 5 1 1 0 0 0 

Mower 2 2 0 0 0 0 0 

Murray 2 0 2 0 0 0 0 

Nicollet 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 

Nobles 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 

Norman 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 

Olmsted 39 23 1 11 0 4 0 

Otter Tail 5 2 0 3 0 0 0 

Pennington 1 0 0 1 0 0 0 

Pine 2 1 0 1 0 0 0 

Pipestone 2 2 0 0 0 0 0 

Polk 10 9 0 0 0 1 0 

Pope 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 

Ramsey 111 82 0 10 6 13 0 

Red Lake 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 
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County 

Total 
Number 
of Cases 
Charged 

Convicted of 
Offense Listed in 

M.S. § 609.11, 
subd. 9 
Firearm 

Established 

Convicted of 
Offense Listed in 

M.S § 609.11, 
subd. 9 

Firearm Not 
Established 

Conviction 
Offense Not 

Listed in 
M.S. §609.11 

Acquitted 
on all 

Charges 

Dismissed 
on all 

Charges Other 

Redwood 10 8 1 1 0 0 0 

Renville 5 1 1 2 0 1 0 

Rice 4 2 0 2 0 0 0 

Rock 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 

Roseau 2 1 1 0 0 0 0 

St. Louis 38 17 0 12 0 5 4 

Scott 5 5 0 0 0 0 0 

Sherburne 8 4 3 1 0 0 0 

Sibley 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 

Stearns 9 7 0 1 0 1 0 

Steele 6 2 1 3 0 0 0 

Stevens 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 

Swift 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 

Todd 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 

Traverse 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 

Wabasha 4 1 0 3 0 0 0 

Wadena 8 4 0 1 0 2 1 

Waseca 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 

Washington 6 2 0 4 0 0 0 

Watonwan 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 

Wilkin 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 

Winona 1 0 0 1 0 0 0 

Wright 11 2 0 6 0 3 0 
Yellow 
Medicine 1 0 0 0 0 1 0 
 
Total 690 452 28 127 18 57 8 
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County Attorney Report on Criminal Cases Involving Firearms By County 
 

Mandatory Minimum Sentences Imposed and Executed 
Cases Disposed from July 1, 2003 to July 1, 2004 

 

County 

Convicted of Offense Listed 
in M.S. § 609.11, subd. 9 

Firearm Established 
on Record 

Mandatory 
Minimum 

Sentence Imposed

Mandatory 
Minimum 

Sentence Waived 

Aitkin 1 0 1 

Anoka 19 10 9 

Becker 3 2 1 

Beltrami 5 3 2 

Benton 1 1 0 

Big Stone 0 0 0 

Blue Earth 2 2 0 

Brown 0 0 0 

Carlton 0 0 0 

Carver 1 0 1 

Cass 3 2 1 

Chippewa 1 1 0 

Chisago 4 3 1 

Clay 0 0 0 

Clearwater 0 0 0 

Cook 0 0 0 

Cottonwood 0 0 0 

Crow Wing 3 2 1 

Dakota 25 12 13 

Dodge 1 1 0 

Douglas 1 1 0 

Faribault 0 0 0 

Fillmore 0 0 0 

Freeborn 0 0 0 

Goodhue 0 0 0 

Grant 0 0 0 

Hennepin 167 101 66 

Houston 0 0 0 
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County 

Convicted of Offense Listed 
in M.S. § 609.11, subd. 9 

Firearm Established 
on Record 

Mandatory 
Minimum 

Sentence Imposed

Mandatory 
Minimum 

Sentence Waived 

Hubbard 0 0 0 

Isanti 2 1 1 

Itasca 13 6 7 

Jackson 4 2 2 

Kanabec 1 1 0 

Kandiyohi 0 0 0 

Kittson 0 0 0 

Koochiching 0 0 0 

Lac Qui Parle 0 0 0 

Lake 3 3 0 

Lake of the Woods 0 0 0 

LeSueur 0 0 0 

Lincoln 0 0 0 

Lyon 0 0 0 

McLeod 1 0 1 

Mahnomen 1 1 0 

Marshall 1 0 1 

Martin 1 0 1 

Meeker 1 1 0 

Mille Lacs 1 0 1 

Morrison 5 0 5 

Mower 2 1 1 

Murray 0 0 0 

Nicollet 0 0 0 

Nobles 1 0 1 

Norman 1 1 0 

Olmsted 23 15 8 

Otter Tail 2 2 0 

Pennington 0 0 0 

Pine 1 1 0 

Pipestone 2 1 1 
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County 

Convicted of Offense Listed 
in M.S. § 609.11, subd. 9 

Firearm Established 
on Record 

Mandatory 
Minimum 

Sentence Imposed

Mandatory 
Minimum 

Sentence Waived 

Polk 9 5 4 

Pope 1 1 0 

Ramsey 82 54 28 

Red Lake 0 0 0 

Redwood 8 8 0 

Renville 1 1 0 

Rice 2 1 1 

Rock 0 0 0 

Roseau 1 1 0 

St. Louis 17 11 6 

Scott 5 4 1 

Sherburne 4 0 4 

Sibley 0 0 0 

Stearns 7 5 2 

Steele 2 1 1 

Stevens 0 0 0 

Swift 0 0 0 

Todd 1 1 0 

Traverse 0 0 0 

Wabasha 1 1 0 

Wadena 4 3 1 

Waseca 0 0 0 

Washington 2 1 1 

Watonwan 0 0 0 

Wilkin 0 0 0 

Winona 0 0 0 

Wright 2 0 2 

Yellow Medicine 0 0 0 

Total 452 275 177 
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609.11 MINIMUM SENTENCES OF IMPRISONMENT 
 
 Subdivision 1.  Commitments without minimums.  All commitments to the 
commissioner of corrections for imprisonment of the defendant are without minimum terms 
except when the sentence is to life imprisonment as required by law and except as otherwise 
provided in this chapter.   
 Subd. 2.   Repealed, 1978 c 723 art 2 s 5 
 Subd. 3.   Repealed, 1981 c 227 s 13 
 Subd. 4. Dangerous weapon.  Any defendant convicted of an offense listed in 
subdivision 9 in which the defendant or an accomplice, at the time of the offense, used, whether 
by brandishing, displaying, threatening with, or otherwise employing, a dangerous weapon other 
than a firearm, shall be committed to the commissioner of corrections for not less than one year 
plus one day, nor more than the maximum sentence provided by law.  Any defendant convicted 
of a second or subsequent offense in which the defendant or an accomplice, at the time of the 
offense, used a dangerous weapon other than a firearm, shall be committed to the 
commissioner of corrections for not less than three years nor more than the maximum sentence 
provided by law. 
 Subd. 5.  Firearm.  (a) Except as otherwise provided in paragraph (b), any defendant 
convicted of an offense listed in subdivision 9 in which the defendant or an accomplice, at the 
time of the offense, had in possession or used, whether by brandishing, displaying, threatening 
with, or otherwise employing, a firearm, shall be committed to the commissioner of corrections 
for not less than three years, nor more than the maximum sentence provided by law.  Any 
defendant convicted of a second or subsequent offense in which the defendant or an 
accomplice, at the time of the offense, had in possession or used a firearm shall be committed 
to the commissioner of corrections for not less than five years, nor more than the maximum 
sentence provided by law. 
 (b) Any defendant convicted of violating section 609.165 or 624.713, subdivision 1, 
clause (b), shall be committed to the commissioner of corrections for not less than five years, 
nor more than the maximum sentence provided by law.   
 Subd. 5a. Drug offenses.  Notwithstanding section 609.035, whenever a defendant is 
subject to a mandatory minimum sentence for a felony violation of chapter 152 and is also 
subject to this section, the minimum sentence imposed under this section shall be consecutive 
to that imposed under chapter 152.  
 Subd. 6.  No early release.  Any defendant convicted and sentenced as required by this 
section is not eligible for probation, parole, discharge, or supervised release until that person 
has served the full term of imprisonment as provided by law, notwithstanding the provisions of 
sections 242.19, 243.05, 244.04, 609.12 and 609.135.   
 Subd. 7.    Prosecutor shall establish.  Whenever reasonable grounds exist to believe 
that the defendant or an accomplice used a firearm or other dangerous weapon or had in 
possession a firearm, at the time of commission of an offense listed in subdivision 9, the 
prosecutor shall, at the time of trial or at the plea of guilty, present on the record all evidence 
tending to establish that fact unless it is otherwise admitted on the record.  The question of 
whether the defendant or an accomplice, at the time of commission of an offense listed in 
subdivision 9, used a firearm or other dangerous weapon or had in possession a firearm shall 
be determined by the court on the record at the time of a verdict or finding of guilt at trial or the 
entry of a plea of guilty based upon the record of the trial or the plea of guilty.  The court shall 
determine on the record at the time of sentencing whether the defendant has been convicted of 
a second or subsequent offense in which the defendant or an accomplice, at the time of 
commission of an offense listed in subdivision 9, used a firearm or other dangerous weapon or 
had in possession a firearm.   
 Subd. 8.  Motion by prosecutor.  (a) Except as otherwise provided in paragraph (b), 
prior to the time of sentencing, the prosecutor may file a motion to have the defendant 
sentenced without regard to the mandatory minimum sentences established by this section.  
The motion shall be accompanied by a statement on the record of the reasons for it.  When 
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presented with the motion, or on its own motion, the court may sentence the defendant without 
regard to the mandatory minimum sentences established by this section if the court finds 
substantial and compelling reasons to do so.  A sentence imposed under this subdivision is a 
departure from the sentencing guidelines.  
    (b) The court may not, on its own motion or the prosecutor's motion, sentence a defendant 
without regard to the mandatory minimum sentences established by this section if the defendant 
previously has been convicted of an offense listed in subdivision 9 in which the defendant used 
or possessed a firearm or other dangerous weapon.   
 Subd. 9.  Applicable offenses.  The crimes for which mandatory minimum sentences 
shall be served as provided in this section are:  murder in the first, second, or third degree; 
assault in the first, second, or third degree; burglary; kidnapping; false imprisonment; 
manslaughter in the first or second degree; aggravated robbery; simple robbery; first-degree or 
aggravated first-degree witness tampering; criminal sexual conduct under the circumstances 
described in sections 609.342, subdivision 1, clauses (a) to (f); 609.343, subdivision 1, clauses 
(a) to (f); and 609.344, subdivision 1, clauses (a) to (e) and (h) to (j); escape from custody; 
arson in the first, second, or third degree; drive-by shooting under section 609.66, subdivision 
1e; harassment and stalking under section 609.749, subdivision 3, clause (3); possession or 
other unlawful use of a firearm in violation of section 609.165, subdivision 1b, or 624.713, 
subdivision 1, clause (b), a felony violation of chapter 152; or any attempt to commit any of 
these offenses. 
 Subd. 10.  Report on criminal cases involving a firearm.  Beginning on July 1, 1994, 
every county attorney shall collect and maintain the following information on criminal complaints 
and prosecutions within the county attorney's office in which the defendant is alleged to have 
committed an offense listed in subdivision 9 while possessing or using a firearm: 
 (1) whether the case was charged or dismissed; 
 (2) whether the defendant was convicted of the offense or a lesser offense; and 
 (3) whether the mandatory minimum sentence required under this section was imposed 
and executed or was waived by the prosecutor or court. 
 No later than July 1 of each year, beginning on July 1, 1995, the county attorney shall 
forward this information to the sentencing guidelines commission upon forms prescribed by the 
commission. 



 

Please send form to:  Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines Commission,                    525 Park St., Suite 220, St. Paul, MN  55103 
651.296.0144                                               Fax:  651.297.5757                            TTY: 1.800.627.3529 (ask for 651.296.0144) 
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Firearms Report Form: 
County Attorney Report on Criminal Cases Involving Firearms 

 
M.S. § 609.11, subdivision 10 requires that no later than July 1 of each year, every county attorney shall forward to the 
sentencing guidelines commission information on cases in which the defendant is alleged to have committed an offense 
listed in M.S. § 609.11, subdivision 9.  Please report on adult cases that were disposed of in the time period indicated.  
Please do not include cases that were pending during this time period.  Consult reverse side for an illustration. 
 
County:  ___________________________________________________ 
 
Criminal Complaints Disposed of from July 1, _____ to July 1, _____. 
 
Completed by:  _______________________________ Telephone:(____)_____________________ 
 
I. CHARGING 

CASES CHARGED WHERE 
REPORTING IS REQUIRED  

CASES NOT CHARGED 
WHERE REPORTING IS 

REQUIRED 
 
 
# of cases = 
 
 

  
 
# of cases = 

  
 Only cases in this box 
 should be carried down to 
 Table II. 
 
 
III. CASE OUTCOME:  Sum of Table II = total of “CASES CHARGED WHERE REPORTING IS REQUIRED” box above 

CONVICTED OF 
OFFENSE LISTED IN 
SUBD. 9; FIREARM 

ESTABLISHED ON THE 
RECORD 

CONVICTED OF 
OFFENSE LISTED IN 
SUBD. 9; FIREARM 
NOT ESTABLISHED 
ON THE RECORD 

CONVICTED OF 
OFFENSE NOT 

LISTED IN SUBD. 9 
ACQUITTED ON 
ALL CHARGES 

ALL CHARGES 
DISMISSED OTHER 

 
# of 
cases = 
 
 

 
# of 
cases = 

 
# of 
cases = 

 
# of 
cases = 

 
# of 
cases = 

 
# of 
cases = 

  
Only cases in 
this box should be 
carried down to 

 Table III. 
 
III. SENTENCES FOR CASES REQUIRING MANDATORY MINIMUM UNDER M.S. § 609.11: 
 Sum of Table III = Total in “FIREARM ESTABLISHED ON RECORD” box above 

MANDATORY MINIMUM 
SENTENCE (OR GREATER) 
IMPOSED AND EXECUTED  

MANDATORY MINIMUM 
SENTENCE WAIVED 

 
 
# of cases = 
 
 

  
 
# of cases = 
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[FIREARMS REPORT FORM ILLUSTRATION] 
 

Person to 
contact
if we have 
questions

Firearm must 
be a "finding of 
fact"  

Example: 
Cases that resulted in a
"Stay of Adjudication"

Prison for at least the 
mandatory minimum duration

Firearms Report Form:
County Attorney Report on Criminal Cases Involving Firearms

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

County _________________________________________
Criminal Complaints Disposed of from July 1____ to July 1 _____
Completed by____________________________ Telephone Number ____________

I.  CHARGINGI.  CHARGING

II.  CASE OUTCOME   ( xxx xxxxx xxxx xx xxx)

 ( xxx xxxxx xxxx xx xxx xxxxxx xxxxxxx xx xx xx xxx xxxxxxxxxx xxxxxxxx xxxxxxxxxxxx xx xxxx xx xx xxxx  xxx xxxxxxxxx) ( xxx xxxxx xxxx xx xxx xxxxxx xxxxxxx xx xx xx xxx xxxxxxxxxx xxxxxxxx xxxxxxxxxxxx xx xxxx xx xx xxxx  xxx xxxxxxxxx)
III.  SENTENCES FOR CASES  REQUIRING MANDATORY MINIMUM UNDER 609.11

BAA

I J

OTHER

# of
Cases =

# of
Cases =

# of
Cases =

# of
Cases =

# of
Cases =

# of
Cases =

Do not include
cases pending
during the
reporting period

# of
Cases =

# of
Cases =

# of
Cases =

# of
Cases =
# of
Cases =

>

>

Include only
adult cases

Box A equals
Box C thru H

Box C equals 
Boxes I & J
 


