

Finance - K-12 Education Budget Division Wednesday, March 15, 2006 9:00 AM, Room 112, Capitol

Minutes

<u>Present</u>: Senator LeRoy A. Stumpf, chair, Senator Sharon Marko, vice-chair, Senator Ellen R. Anderson, Senator Terri Bonoff, Senator Michelle L. Fischbach, Senator David Hann, Senator Debbie J. Johnson, Senator Michael J. Jungbauer, Senator Steve Kelley, Senator Keith Langseth, Senator Sean R. Nienow, Senator Gen Olson, Senator Tom Saxhaug, Senator Linda Scheid, Senator Wesley J. Skoglund, Senator Dan Sparks, Senator Betsy L. Wergin, Senator Charles W. Wiger

Absent: No Members Absent

Senator LeRoy A. Stumpf called the meeting to order at 10:10 a.m.

S.F. 1515 Senator Fischbach: Independent school district #750, Rocori; permanent fund transfer.

Senator Fischbach, chief author of S.F. 1515 presented her bill to the committee members.

Testifying in support: Scott Staska - Superintendent

Motion:

Page 1 line 9 deleted \$100,00 and insert \$250,000. MOTION CARRIED.

Motion:

Senator Fischbach moved that S.F. 1515 as amended be recommended to pass for possible inclusion in the Omnibus supplemental bill. **MOTION CARRIED**.

S.F. 2357 Senator Ruud: Independent school district #118, Northland community schools; permanent fund transfer.

Senator Ruud, chief author of S.F. 2357 presented her bill to the committee.

Testifying in support: Mike Toro - Superintendent Audrey Bonstad - DOE

Motion:

On line 1.8 delete \$196,000 insert \$197,000. MOTION CARRIED.

Motion:

That S.F. 2357 as amended be recommended to pass for possible inclusion in supplemental bill. **MOTION CARRIED**.

http://www.senate.mn/schedule/hearing_minutes.php?hearing_id=179&type=minutes&alw... 8/24/2006

S.F. 3124 Senator Kubly: Independent school district #409, Tyler; permanent fund transfer.

Senator Kubly, chief author of S.F. 3124 presented his bill to the committee.

Testifying in support: Greg Norberg - Tyler School Board Stephanie Cordes - Tyler School Board

Senator Olson moved that S.F. 3124 be recommended to pass for possible inclusion in the supplemental bill. **MOTION CARRIED**.

S.F. 2845 Senator Skoe: Independent school district #38, Red Lake; high school infrastructure damage emergency aid prior appropriation modification.

Senator Skoe, chief author of S.F. 2845 presented his bill to the committee members.

Testifying in support: Stewart Desjarlait - Superintendent Monte Hammitt - Red Lake Schools

Motion:

On 1.3 delete the 1 before 38 - motion passed.

1.13 delete \$523,000 and insert \$524,000. MOTION CARRIED.

Motion:

Senator Skoglund moved that S.F. 2845 as amended be recommended to pass for possible inclusionin the supplemental bill. **MOTION CARRIED**.

Handout-Overall Budget Snapshot Handout-DLR group

S.F. 2773 Senator Dille: Independent school district #424, Lester Prairie; permanent fund transfer.

Senator Dille presented S.F. 2773 to the committee.

Testifying in support: Joseph Miller - Superintendent

Motion:

Senator Olson moved that S.F. 2773 be recommended to pass for possible inclusion in the supplemental bill. **MOTION CARRIED**.

S.F. 3025 Senator Bonoff: Independent school district #270, Hopkins; permanent fund transfer.

Senator Bonoff, chief author of S.F. 3025 presented her bill to the committee.

Motion:

To put the S.F. 3025A-1 before the committee. **MOTION CARRIED**.

Testifying in support: Michael Kremer - Superintendent Katie Lee - Community Education Director John Toop - Business Manager

Motion:

Senator Bonoff moved that S.F. 3025 be recommended to pass for possible inclusion in the supplemental bill. **MOTION CARRIED.**

Handout - Fiscal Note -Handout - Excerpt from Hopkins ISD #270 Statutory Operating Plan

The meeting adjourned at 11:25. The meeting was taped and the materials distributed are attached to these minutes.

Senator LeRoy A. Stumpf, Chair

Wenzel, Legislative Assistant

Jeri

K-12 Education Budget Division

Wednesday, March 15, 2006

10 a.m. Room 112 Capitol

Agenda

Fund transfers:

S.F. 3124-Kubly: Tyler ISD 409

•

S.F. 2845-Skoe: Red Lake Emergency Aid

S.F. 2357-Ruud: Northland Community Schools ISD 118

S.F. 2773-Dille: Lester Prairie ISD 424

S.F. XXXX-Fischbach: Rocori School District ISD 750

S.F. 3025- Bonoff - Hopkins ISD 270

Senator LeRoy Stumpf Chairman Jeri Wenzel Legislative Assistant