### STATE OF MINNESOTA HOUSE AND SENATE

### JOINT EDUCATION COMMITTEES

#### MINUTES

Representative Mark Buesgens, Chair of the Joint Education Committees, called the first meeting to order at 4:00 p.m. on Monday, February 14, 2005, in Room 200 of the State Office Building.

The Clerk noted the roll.

### Members present:

KELLEY, Steve, Chairman BUESGENS, Mark, Chairman ABELER, Jim ABRAMS, Ron ANDERSON, Ellen BACHMANN, Michele BERNARDY, Connie CARLSON, Lyndon CHARRON, Mike COX, Ray CYBART, Lloyd DAVNIE, Jim DEAN, Matt DEMMER, Randy DEMPSEY, Jerry DITTRICH, Denise DORN, John EASTLUND, Rob EKEN, Kent ERICKSON, Sondra FISCHBACH, Michelle GAITHER, David GREILING, Mindy HANN, David HEIDGERKEN, Bud HOTTINGER, John JOHNSON, Ruth JUNGBAUER, Michael KIERLIN, Bob KLINZING, Karen KUBLY, Gary LANGSETH, Keith LANNING, Morrie

LARSON, Cal LATZ, Ron MARKO, Sharon MARIANI, Carlos MARQUART, Paul MICHEL, Geoff NEWMAN, Scott NIENOW, Sean NORNES, Bud OLSON, Gen OLSON, Mark OPATZ, Joe PAPPAS, Sandra PELOWSKI, Gene PETERSON, Sandra POGEMILLER, Lawrence ROBLING, Claire RUUD, Carrie RUUD, Maria SAILER, Brita SAXHAUG, Tom SCHEID, Linda SEVERSON, Dan SKOE, Rod SKOGLUND, Wesley SOLON, Yvonne Prettner SPARKS, Dan STUMPF, LeRoy SYKORA, Barb TOMASSONI, David URDAHL, Dean WARDLOW, Lynn WERGIN, Betsy WIGER, Chuck

Members excused:

JOHNSON, Debbie J. MESLOW, Doug

A quorum was present.

Senator Kelley moved approval of the rules, with the following amendment:

"Rule 5, delete "five" and insert "three".

### THE MOTION PREVAILED, THE RULES WERE ADOPTED.

Senator Kelley assumed the gavel.

1

### AT-LARGE CANDIDATES

By rule, Steve Hunter, Scott W. Johnson, and Margaret Leppik were nominated. There were no nominations from the floor.

The candidates addressed the committee.

By a vote of 33 for Hunter; 28 for Leppik; and 5 for Johnson; no one achieved a majority, and a second vote was required.

By rule, Johnson dropped out.

By a vote of 35 for Hunter and 32 for Leppik, The Joint Committees on Education recommended Steve Hunter to be elected an At-Large Regent of The University of Minnesota.

Representative Buesgens assumed the gavel.

EIGHTH CONGRESSIONAL DISTRICT

By rule, Anthony Baraga and Edward Borowiec were nominated. There were no nominations from the floor.

The candidates addressed the committee.

By a vote of 62 for Baraga and 1 for Borowiec, The Joint Committees on Education recommended Anthony Baraga to be elected Regent of The University of Minnesota from the Eighth Congressional District.

Senator Kelley assumed the gavel.

THIRD CONGRESSIONAL DISTRICT

By rule, David Larson and Kate Rubin were nominated. There were no nominations from the floor.

The candidates addressed the committee.

By a vote of 51 for Larson and 10 for Rubin, The Joint Committees on Education recommended David Larson to be elected Regent of The University of Minnesota from the Third Congressional District.

Representative Buesgens assumed the gavel.

SECOND CONGRESSIONAL DISTRICT

By Rule, Dallas Bohnsack and Bruce Endler were nominated. There were no nominations from the floor.

The candidates addressed the committee.

By a vote of 51 for Bohnsack and 6 for Endler, The Joint Committees on Education recommended Dallas Bohnsack to elected Regent of the University of Minnesota from the Second Congressional District.

The meeting was adjourned at 6:15 p.m.

### REP. MARK BUESGENS, CHAIR

SEN. STEVE KELLEY, CHAIR

# **Regent Joint Hearing**

House Committees: Education Policy and Reform, K-12 Finance, and Higher Education Finance Senate Committees: Education Policy, K-12 Finance, Higher Education Finance, and Early Childhood

> Senator Steve Kelley, Chair Representative Mark Buesgens, Chair Monday, February 14, 2005 4:00 p.m. Room 200, State Office Building

# <u>Agenda</u>

# I. Approval of Rules

II. Candidates for the University Board of Regents Each candidate will receive 3 minutes of speaking time and the committee will have 10 minutes to ask questions.

i. <u>At-Large Candidates</u>

- Steve Hunter
- Scott W. Johnson
- Margaret Leppik

### ii. Eighth Congressional District Candidates

- Anthony Baraga
- Edward Borowiec

# iii. Third Congressional District Candidates

- David Larson
- Kate Rubin

## iv. Second Congressional District Candidates

- Dallas Bohnsack
- Bruce Endler

## Joint Meeting of the House and Senate Committees on Education

# Monday, February 14, 2005 Room 200, State Office Building

### **Rules Governing Selection of Regent Candidates**

- 1. A majority of the members from each House of the joint committee shall constitute a quorum.
- 2. In voting, a simple majority of votes cast shall be sufficient for the passage of an item.
- 3. Each person recommended by the Regent Candidate Advisory Council is considered to be nominated.
- 4. Other persons may be nominated by a member of the committee.
- 5. Every nominated candidate shall be allowed to make a five-minute presentation before the committee.
- 6. The roll shall be called *viva voce* on the recommendation of the regent.

7. Proxy voting is not allowed.

8. All candidates will be included in the first ballot. In the event no candidate receives a majority of votes cast on the first ballot, the candidate receiving the lowest number of votes, or all candidates receiving less than ten percent (10%) of the votes cast, shall be eliminated from further consideration. In the case of ties, those candidates tying for the lowest vote total will be eliminated from further consideration.

In all subsequent ballots, the candidate receiving the lowest number of votes will be eliminated until only two candidates are remaining. A vote shall be held on these two candidates and the candidate with a majority vote of the joint committee shall be designated the Regent candidate.