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1 senator Cohen from the Committee on Finance, to which was 
2 re-ref erred 

3 s.F. No. 540: A bill for an act relating to human 
4 services; authorizing a long-term care partnership program; 
5 modifying medical assistance eligibility requirements under 
6 certain circumstances; defining approved long-term care 
7 insurance policies; limiting medical assistance estate recovery 
8 under certain circumstances; proposing coding for new law in 
9 Minnesota Statutes, chapter 256B. 

10 Reports the same back with the recommendation that the bill 
11 be amended as follows: 

12 Pages 2 and 3, delete subdivision 10 and insert: 

13 "Subd. 10. [APPROVED POLICIES.] (a) A partnership policy 

14 must meet all of the requirements in paragraphs (b) to (e). 

15 (b) A partnership policy must satisfy the requirements of 

16 chapter 62S. 

17 (c) Minimum daily benefits shall be $130 for nursing home 

18 care or $65 for home care. These minimum daily benefit amounts 

19 shall be adjusted by the commissioner on October 1 of each year 

20 by a percentage equal to the inflation protection feature 

21 described in section 62S.23, subdivision 1, clause (1). 

22 Adjusted minimum daily benefit amounts shall be rounded to the 

23 nearest whole dollar. 

24 (d) A partnership policy must offer an elimination period 

25 of not more than 100 days for an adjusted premium. 

26 (e) A partnership policy must satisfy the requirements 

27 established by the commissioner of human services under 

28 subdivision 12. 11 

29 Page 3, after line 34, insert: 

30 "Subd. 12. [IMPLEMENTATION.] (a) If ·federal law is amended 

31 or a federal waiver is granted to permit implementation of this 

32 section, the commissioner, in consultation with the commissioner 

33 of commerce, may alter the requirements of subdivision 10, 

34 paragraphs (c) and (d), and may establish additional 

35 requirements for approved policies in order to conform with 

36 federal law or waiver authority. In establishing these 

37 requirements, the commissioner shall seek to maximize purchase 

38 of qualifying policies by Minnesota residents while controlling 

39 medical assistance costs. 

40 (b) The commissioner is authorized to suspend 
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1 implementation of this section until the next session of the 

2 legislature if the commissioner, in consultation with the 

3 commissioner of commerce, determines that the federal 

4 legislation or federal waiver authorizing a partnership program 

5 in Minnesota is likely to impose substantial unforeseen costs on 

6 the state budget. 

7 (c) The commissioner must take action under paragraph (a) 

8 or (b) within 45 days of final federal action authorizing a 

9 partnership policy in Minnesota. 

10 (d) The commissioner must notify the appropriate 

11 legislative committees of action taken under this subdivision 

12 within 50 days of final federal action authorizing a partnership 

13 policy in Minnesota. 

14 (e) The commissioner must publish a notice in the State 

15 Register of implementation decisions made under this subdivision 

16 as soon as practicable." 

17 Amend the title as follows: 

18 Page 1, line 7, after the semicolon, insert "providing 

19 implementation options;" 

20 And when so amended the on the 
21 Consent Calendar. Amendments 

22 
23 
24 
25 
26 

(Committee Chair) 

May 3 , 2 O 05 ..................... . 
(Date of Committee recommendation) 
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1 A bill for an act 

2 relating to human services; authorizing a long-term 
3 care partnership program; modifying medical assistance 
4 eligibility requirements under certain circumstances; 
5 defining approved long-term care insurance policies; 
6 limiting medical assistance estate recovery under 
7 certain circumstances; proposing coding for new law in 
8 Minnesota Statutes, chapter 256B. 

9 BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF MINNESOTA: 

10 Section 1. [256B.0571] [LONG-TERM CARE PARTNERSHIP.] 

11 Subdivision 1. [DEFINITIONS.] For purposes of this 

12 section, the following terms have the meanings given them. 

13 Subd. 2. [HOME CARE SERVICE.] "Home care service" means 

14 care described in section 144A.43. 

15 Subd. 3. [LONG-TERM CARE INSURANCE.] "Long-term care 

16 insurance" means a policy described in section 62S.Ol. 

17 Subd. 4. [MEDICAL ASSISTANCE.] "Medical assistance" means 

18 the program of medical assistance established under section 

19 256B.Ol. 

20 Subd. 5. [NURSING HOME.] "Nursing home" means a nursing 

21 home as described in section 144A.Ol. 

22 Subd. 6. [PARTNERSHIP POLICY.] "Partnership policy" means 

23 a long-term care insurance policy that meets the requirements 

24 under subdivision 10, regardless of when the policy was first 

25 issued. 

26 Subd. 7. [PARTNERSHIP PROGRAM.] "Partnership program" 

27 means the Minnesota partnership for long-term care program 

Section 1 1 
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1 established under this section. 

2 Subd. 8. [PROGRAM ESTABLISHED.] (a) The conunissioner, in 

3 cooperation with the conunissioner of conunerce, shall establish 

4 the Minnesota partnership for long-term care program to provide 

5 for the financing of long-term care through a combination of 

6 private insurance and medical assistance. 

7 (b) An individual who meets the requirements in this 

8 paragraph is eligible to participate in the partnership 

9 program. The individual must: 

10 (1) be a Minnesota resident; 

11 (2) purchase ·a partnership policy that is delivered, issued 

12 for delivery, or renewed on or after the effective date of this 

13 section, and maintain the partnership policy in effect 

14 throughout the period of participation in the partnership 

15 program; and 

16 (3) exhaust the minimum benefits under the partnership 

17 policy as described in this section. Benefits received under a 

18 long-term care insurance policy before the effective date of 

19 this section do not count toward the exhaustion of benefits 

20 required in this subdivision. 

21 Subd. 9. [MEDICAL ASSISTANCE ELIGIBILITY.] (a) Upon 

22 application of an individual who meets the requirements 

23 described in subdivision 8, the conunissioner shall determine the 

24 individual's eligibility for medical assistance according to 

25 paragraphs (b) and (c). 

26 (b) After disregarding financial assets exempted under 

27 medical assistance eligibility requirements, the conunissioner 

28 shall disregard an additional amount of financial assets equal 

29 to the dollar amount of coverage utilized under the partnership 

30 policy. 

31 (c) The conunissioner shall consider the .individual's income 

32 according to medical assistance eligibility requirements. 

33 Subd. 10. [APPROVED POLICIES.] (a) A partnership policy 

34 must meet all of the requirements in paragraphs (b) to (f). 

35 (b) Minimum coverage shall be for a period of not less than 

36 one year and for a dollar.amount equal to 12 months of nursing 

Section 1 2 
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1 home care at the minimum daily benefit rate determined and 

2 adjusted under paragraph (c). The policy shall provide for home 

3 health care benefits to be substituted for nursing home care 

4 benefits with one home health care day benefit worth at least 50 

5 percent of one nursing home care day. 

6 (c) Minimum daily benefits shall be $130 for nursing home 

7 care or $65 for home care. These minimum daily benefit amounts 

8 shall be adjusted by the commissioner on October 1 of each year 

9 by a percentage equal to the inflation protection feature 

10 described in section 62S.23, subdivision 1, clause (1). 

11 Adjusted minimum daily benefit amounts shall be rounded to the 

12 nearest whole dollar. 

13 (d) A third party designated by the insured shall be 

14 entitled to receive notice if the policy is about to lapse for 

15 nonpayment of premium, and an additional 30-day grace period for 

16 payment of premium shall be granted following notification to 

17 that person. 

18 (e) The policy must cover all of the following services: 

19 (1) nursing home stay; 

20 (2) home care service; and 

21 (3) care management. 

22 (f) A partnership policy must offer the following options 

23 for an adjusted premium: 

24 (1) an elimination period of not more than 100 days; and 

25 (2) nonforfeiture benefits for applicants between the ages 

26 of 18 and 75. 

27 Subd. 11. [LIMITATIONS ON ESTATE RECOVERY.] For an 

28 individual determined eligible for medical assistance under 

29 subdivision 9, the state shall limit recovery under the 

30 provisions of section 256B.15 against the estate of the 

31 individual or individual's spouse for medical assistance· 

32 benefits received by that individual to an amount that exceeds 

33 the dollar amount of coverage utilized under the partnership 

34 policy. 

35 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] (a) If any provision of this section is 

36 prohibited by federal law, no provision shall become effective 

Section 1 3 
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1 until federal law is changed to permit its full implementation. 

2 The commissioner of human services shall notify the reviser of 

3 statutes when federal law is enacted or other federal approv~l 

4 is received and publish a notice in the State Register. The 

5 commissioner must include the notice in the first State Register 

6 published after the effective date of the federal changes. 

7 (b) If federal law is changed to permit a waiver of any 

8 provisions prohibited by federal law, the commissioner of human 

9 services shall apply to the federal government for a waiver of 

10 those prohibitions or other federal authority, and that 

11 provision shall become effective upon receipt of a federal 

12 waiver or other federal approval, notification to the reviser of 

13 statutes, and publication of a notice in the State Register to 

14 that effect. 
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1 To: Senator Cohen, Chair 

2 Committee on Finance 

3 Senator Berglin, 

4 Chair of the Health and Human Services Budget Division, to 
5 which was ref erred 

6 s.F. No. 540: A bill for an act relating to human 
7 services; authorizing a long-term care partnership program; 
8 modifying medical assistance eligibility requirements under 
9 certain circumstances; defining approved long-term care 

10 insurance policies; limiting medical assistance estate recovery 
11 under certain circumstances; proposing coding for new law in 
12 Minnesota Statutes, chapter 256B. 

13 Reports the same back with the recommendation that the bill 
14 be amended as follows: 

15 Pages 2 and 3, delete subdivision 10 and insert: 

16 "Subd. ·10. [APPROVED POLICIES.] (a) A partnership policy 

17 must meet all of the requirements in paragraphs (b) to (e). 

18 (b) A partnership policy must satisfy the requirements of 

19 chapter 62S. 

20 (c) Minimum daily benefits shall be $130 for nursing home 

21 care or $65 for home care. These minimum daily benefit amounts 

22 shall be adjusted by the commissioner on October 1 of each year 

23 by a percentage equal to the inflation protection feature 

24 described in section 62S.23, subdivision 1, clause (1). 

25 Adjusted minimum daily benefit amounts shall be rounded to the 

26 nearest whole dollar. 

27 (d) A partnership policy must offer an elimination period 

28 of not more than 100 days for an adjusted premium. 

29 (e) A partnership policy must satisfy the requirements 

30 established by the commissioner of human services under 

31 subdivision 12." 

32 Page 3, after line 34, insert: 

33 "Subd. 12. [IMPLEMENTATION.] (a) If federal law is amended 

34 or a federal waiver is granted to permit implementation of this 

35 section, the commissioner, in consultation with ·the- commissioner 

36 of commerce, may alter the requirements of subdivision 10, 

37 paragraphs (c) and (d), and may establish additional 

38 requirements for approved policies in order to conform with 

)9 federal law or waiver authority. In establishing these 

40 requirements, the commissioner shall seek to maximize purchase 

1 



[SENATEE ] mg SS0540DIV 

1 of qualifying policies by Minnesota residents while controlling 

2 medical ·assistance costs. 

3 (b) The commissioner is authorized to suspend 

4 implementation of this section until the next session of the 

5 legislature· .. if the commissioner, in consultation with the 

6 commissioner of commerce, determines that the federal 

7 legislation ··or federal waiver authorizing a partnership program 

8 in Minnesota is likely to impose substantial unforeseen costs on 

9 the state budget. 

10 (c) The commissioner must take action under paragraph (a) 

11 or (b) within 45 days of final federal action authorizing a 

12 partnership policy in Minnesota. 

13 (d) The commissioner must notify the appropriate 

14 legislative committees of action taken under this subdivision 

15 within 50 days of final federal action authorizing a partnership 

16 policy in Minnesota. 

17 (e) The·commissioner must publish a notice in the state 

18 Register of implementation decisions made under this subdivision 

19 as soon as practicable." 

20 Amend the title as follows: 

21 Page 1, line 7, after the semicolon, insert "providing 

22 implementation options;" 

23 And when so amended that.the bill be recommended to pass 
24 and be referred to the full committee. 

25 --~~-~~~~jjllll"jf': 
26 (D~;ion Chair) 
27 
2 8 Apr i 1 5 , 2 0 0 5 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 
29 (Date of Division action) 
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Fiscal Note - 2005-06 Session 

. Bill #: S0540-2A Complete Date: 04/04/05 

Chief Author: BERGLIN, LINDA 

Title: LONG TERM CARE PARTNERSHIP PROGRAM 

Agency Name: Human Services Dept 

Fiscal Impact 
State 
Local 
Fee/Departmental Earnings 

Tax Revenue 

Yes No 
x 
x 
x 
x 

Th. t bl fl t fi I . tt t t 1s a e re ec s sea 1mpac o s a e qovemment. L fl d. h ti oca government impact 1s re ecte mt e narra ve oniv. 
Dollars {in thousands) FYOS FY06 FY07 FY08 FY09 

Expenditures 
-No Impact-

Less Agency Can Absorb 
-No Impact-

Net Expenditures 
-No Impact-

Revenues 
-No Impact-

Net Cost <Savings> 
-No Impact-
Total Cost <Savings> to the State 

FY05 FY06 FY07 FY08 FY09 
Full Time Equivalents 

-No Impact-
Total FTE 
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NARRATIVE: SF 540-2A 

Bill Description 

Section 1. Subd. 1-7 are definitions. 

Subd. 8. [Program Establishment.] This section requires the Commissioners of Human Services and CQmmerce 
to work together to establish a long-term care partnership program to provide for the financing of long-term care 
through a combination of private insurance and medical assistance (MA). 

To participate in the program, an individual must: 

• Be a Minnesota resident; 
• Purchase a partnership policy that is delivered, issued for delivery, or renewed on or after the effective 

date of this section, and maintain the partnership policy in effect throughout the period of participation in 
the partnership program; and 

• Exhaust the minimum benefits under the partnership policy as described in this section. Benefits received 
under a Long-Term Care Insurance (L TCI) policy before the effective date of this section do not count 
toward the exhaustion of benefits required in this section. 

Subd. 9. [Medical Assistance Eligibility.] This section outlines the MA eligibility components. Upon application of 
an individual who meets the requirements described in Subd. 8, the individual's MA eligibility is determined as 
follows: 

• After disregarding financial assets exempted under MA eligibility requirements, disregard an additional 
amount of financial assets equal to the dollar amount of coverage utilized under the partnership policy. 

• Income eligibility shall be considered according to MA eligibility requirements. 

Subd. 10. [Approved Policies.] This section describes the requirements that must be met in order for a L TCI policy 
to qualify as a partnership policy. The establishment of these requirements would be coordinated by Commerce. 

Subd. 11. [Limitations On Estate Recovery] 

The state shall limit recovery against the estate of an individual or the individual's spouse who is determined 
eligible for MA under the partnership program rules to an amount that exceeds the dollar amount of coverage 
utilized under the partnership plan. 

Subd. 12 [Implementation] 

If federal law is amended or a federal waiver granted to permit implementation of this section the commissioner, in 
consultation with the commissioner of commerce, may alter the requirements of Subd. 10, paragraphs (c) and (d) 
and may establish additional requirements for approved policies. 

The commissioner is authorized to suspend implementation of this section until the next session of the legislature 
if, in consultation with the commissioner of commerce, determines that the federal legislation or waiver is likely to 
impose substantial unforeseen costs on the state budget. 

The commissioner must take action within 45.days of final federal approval authorizing a partnership program in 
Minnesota. 

The commissioner must notify the appropriate legislative committee of action take within 50 days of final federal 
approval. 

The commissioner must publish a notice in the state register of implementation decisions made under this 
subdivision as soon as practicable. 

Effective Date: If any provision of this section is prohibited by federal law, no provision shall become effective 
until federal law is changed to permit its full implementation. OHS is directed to seek a waiver if federal law is 
changed to permit a waiver of these prohibitions. 

S0540-2A Page 2 of3 



Assumptions 

There are no program or administrative fiscal impacts associated with the asset limit and estate recovery 
exemption provisions of the bill because they cannot take effect until such time as there is a change to federal 
law. There are no other administrative fiscal impacts associated with this bill. 

Exoenditure and/or Revenue Formula 

Long-Term Fiscal Considerations 

Local Government Costs 

References/Sources 

Agency Contact Name: Lisa Knazan 297-5628 
FN Coord Signature: STEVE BARTA 
Date: 04/04/05 Phone: 296-5685 

EBO Comments 

I have reviewed this Fiscal Note for accuracy and content. 

EBO Signature: DOUG GREEN 
Date: 04/04/05 Phone: 286-5618 
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senator Cohen from the Committee on Finance, to which was 
ref erred 

H.F. No. 1951: A bill for an act relating to human 
services; changing long-term care provisions; amending Minnesota 
statutes 2004, sections 144A.071, subdivision la; 256B.0913, 
subdivision 8; 256B.0915, subdivisions la, 6, 9. 

Reports the same back with the recommendation that the bill 
do pass. Report adopted. 

(Committee Chair) 

May 3, 2 0 0 5 •••.••••••.•••.••••. 
(Date of Committee recommendation) 
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Committee Recommendation and Adoption of Report: 
To Pass as Amended and p1aced on the Consent Calendar 
Read Second Time 

1 A bill for an act 

2 relating to human services; changing long-term care 
3 provisions; amending Minnesota Statutes 2004, sections 
4 144A.071, subdivision la; 256B.0913, subdivision 8; 
5 256B.0915, subdivisions la, 6, 9. 

6 BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF MINNESOTA: 

7 ARTICLE 1 

8 LONG-TERM CARE FACILITIES 

9 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 144A.071, 

10 subdivision la, is amended to read: 

11 Subd. la. [DEFINITIONS.] For purposes of sections 144A.071 

12 to 144A.073, the following terms have the. meanings given them: 

l3 (a) "Attached fixtures" has the meaning given in Minnesota 

14 Rules, part 9549.G020, subpart 6. 

15 (b) "Buildings" has the meaning given in Minnesota Rules, 

16 part 9549.0020, subpart 7. 

17 (c) "Capital assets" has the meaning given in section 

18 256B.421, subdivision 16. 

19 (d) "Commenced construction" means that all of the 

20 following conditions were met: the final working drawings and 

21 specifications were approved by the commissioner of health; the· 

22 construction contracts were let; a timely construction schedule 

23 was developed, stipulating dates for beginning, achieving 

various stages, and completing construct.ion; and all zoning and 

25 building permits were applied for.· 

Article 1 Section 1 · 1 
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1 (e) "Completion date" means the date on which a certificate 

2 · of occupancy is issued for a construction project, or if a 

3 certificate of occupancy is not required, the date on which the 

4 construction project is available for facility use. 

5 (f) 11 Construction 11 means any erection, building, 

6 alteration, reconstruction, modernization, or improvement 

7 necessary to comply with ·the nursing home licensure rules. 

8 (g) "Construction project" means: 

9 (1) a capital asset addition to, or replacement of a 

10 nursing home or certified boarding care home that. results in new 

11 space or the remodeling of or renovations to existing facility 

12 space; and 

13 (2) the remodeling or renovation of existing facility space 

14 the use of which is modified as a result of the project 

15 described in clause (1). This existing space and the project 

16 described in clause (1) must be used for the functions as 

17 designated on the construction plans on completion of the 

18 project described in clause (1) for a period of not less than 24 

19 months;-er 

20 t3t-eapita%-asset-aaaitiefts-er-rep%aeemeftts-that-are 

21 eemp%etea-withift-%i-meftths-ee£ere-er-a£ter-the-eemp%etieft-aate 

22 e£-the-pre;eee-aeserieea-ift-e%attse-t%t. 

23 (h) "Depreciation guidelines" means the most recent 

24 publication of "The Estimated Useful Lives of Depreciable 

25 Hospital Assets," issued by the American Hospital Association, 

26 840 North Lake Shore Drive, Chicago, Illinois, 60611. 

27 ill "New licensed" or "new certified beds" means: 

28, (1) newly constructed beds in a facility or the 

29 construction of -a new facility that would increase the total 

30 number of licensed nursing.home beds or certified boarding care 

31 or nursing home beds in the state; or 

32 (2) newly licensed nursing home beds or newly certified 

33 boarding care or nursing home beds that result from remodeling 

34 of the facility that involves relocation of beds but does not 

35 result in an increase in the total number of beds, except when 

36 the project involves the upgrade of boarding care beds to 

Article 1 Section 1 2 
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1 nursing home beds, as defined in section 144A.073, subdivision 

2 1. "Remodeling" includes any of the type of conversion, 

renovation, replacement, or upgrading projects as defined in 

4 section.144A.073, subdivision 1. 

; 5 tit ill "Project construction costs" means the cost of the 

6 following items that have a completion date within 1.2 months 

7 before or after the completion date of the project described in 

8 item (g), clause (1): 

9 ill facility capital as.set addi tions7 l. 

10 ~ replacementsTl. 

11 ill renovations7-er; · 

12 1!l remodeling projects,; 

13 ~ construction site preparation costs7-and; 

J.~ ill related soft· costs.---Pre;ee1:-.eensertu:eien-ees1:s-ine%ttde 

15 1:he-ees1:-e£-any-remede%ing-er-reneva1:ien-e£-exis1:ing-£aei%i1:y 

16 spaee-whieh-is-medi£ied-as-a-restt%1:-e£-1:he-eens1:rtte1:ien 

17 pre;ee1:.---Pre;ee1:-eens1:rtte1:ien-ees1:s-a%se-ine%ttdes-1:he-ees1:-e£ 

18 new-1:eehne%egy-imp%emen1:ed-as-par1:-e£-ehe-eens1:rtte1:ien-pre;eee.-

19 Pro;ee1:-eons1:rtte1:ion-eos1:s-a%se-ine%ttde; and 

20 111 the cost of new technology implemented as part of the 

21 construction project and depreciable equipment directly 

22 identified to the project, if the construction costs for clauses 

23 (1) to (6) exceed the threshold for additions and replacements 

stated in section 256B.431, subdivision 16. Any-new Technology 

25 and depreciable equipment shall be included in the project 

26 construction costs sha%%7-a1:-1:he unless a written election 0£ is 

27 made by the facility, ee-ine%ttded to not include it in the 

28 facility's appraised value for purposes of Minnesota Rules, part 

29 9549.0020, subpart 57-and~ Debt incurred for its purchase of 

30 technology and depreciable equipment shall be included as 

31 allowable debt for purposes of Minnesota.Rules, part 9549.0060, 

32 subpart 5, items A and C, unless the written election is to not 

33 include it. Any new technology and depreciable equipment 

included in the project construction costs that the facility 

~~ elects not to include in its appraised value. and allowable debt 

36 shall be treated as provided in section 256B.431, subdivision 

Article 1 Section 1 3 
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1 17, paragraph (b). Written election under this paragraph must 

2 be included in the facility's request for the rate change 

3 related to the project, and this election may not be changed. 

4 t;t ill "Technology" means information systems or devices 

5 that make do~umentation, charting, and staff time more efficient 

6 or encourage and allow for care through alternative settings 

7 including, but not limited to, touch screens, monitors, 

8 hand-helds, swipe cards, motion detectors, pagers, telemedicine, 

9 medication dispensers, and equipment to monitor vital signs and 

10 self-injections, and to observe skin and other conditions. 

11 ARTICLE 2 

12 CONTINUING CARE FOR THE ELDERLY 

13 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 256B.0913, 

14 subdivision 8, is amended to read: 

15 Subd. 8. [REQUIREMENTS FOR INDIVIDUAL CARE PLAN.] (a) The 

16 case manager shall implement the plan of care for each 

17 alternative care client and ensure that a client•s service needs 

18 and eligibility are reassessed at least every 12 months. The 

19 plan shall include any services prescribed by the ·individual's 

20 attending physician as necessary to allow the individual to 

21 remain in a community setting. In developing the individual's 

22 care plan, the case manager should include the use of volunteers 

23 from families and neighbors, religious organizations, social 

24 clubs, and civic and··service organizations to support the formal 

25 home care services. The county shall be held harmless for 

26 damages or injuries sustained through the use of volunteers 

27 under this subdivision including workers• compensation 

28 liability. The iead-ageney county of service shall provide 

29 documentation in _each individual's plan of care and, if 

30 requested, to the commissioner that the most cost-effective 

31 alternatives available have been offered to the individual and 

32 that the individual was free to choose among available qualified 

33 providers, both public.and private, including qualified case 

34 management or service coordination providers other than those 

35 employed by ehe-%ead-ageney-when-ehe-%ead-ageney any county; 

36 however, the county or tribe maintains responsibility for prior 

Article 2 Section 1 4 
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authorizing services in accordance with statutory and 

administrative requi+ements. ·The case manager must give the 

individual a ten-day written notice of any denial, termination, 

or reduction of alternative care services. 

(b) %£ The county adminiseering-a%eernaeive-eere-serviees 

is-di££erene-ehan-ehe-eettney-e£-£ineneie%-respensibi%iey7 -ehe 

eare-p%en-may-ee-imp%emeneed-wiehette-ehe-eppreve% of service 

must provide access to and arrange for c~se management services, 

including assuring implementation of the plan. The county of 

service must notify the county of financial responsibility of 

the approved care plan and the amount of encumbered funds. 

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 256B.0915, 

subdivision la, is amended to read: 

Subd. la• [ELDERLY WAIVER CASE MANAGEMENT SERVICES.] J..!l 

Elderly case management services under the home and 

community-based services waiver .for elderly individuals are 

available from providers meeting qualification .requirements and 

the standards specified in subdivision lb. Eligible recipients 

may choose any qualified provider of elderly case management 

services. 

(b) The county of service or tribe must provide access to 

and arrange for case management services. 

Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 256B.0915, 

subdivision 6, is amended to ·read: 

Subd. 6. [IMPLEMENTATION OF CARE PLAN.] Each elderly 

waiver client shall be provided a copy of a written care plan 

that meets the requirements outlined in section 256B.0913, 

subdivision 8. %£ The care plan must be implemented by the 

county administering waiver~d se.rvices when it is different than 

the county of financial responsibility7-ehe-eare-p%en-may-be 

imp%emeneed~wiehette-ehe-appreve%~e£. The county administering 

waivered services must notify the county of financial 

responsibility of the approved care plan. 

Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2004, sectioq 256B.0915, 

~s subdivision 9, is amended to read; 

36 Subd. 9. [TRIBAL MANAGEMENT OF ELDERLY WAIVER.] 

Article 2 Section 4 5 
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1 Notwithstanding contrary provisions of this section, or those in 

2 other state laws or rules, the commissioner ane-Whiee-Eareh 

3 reservaeien may develop a model for tribal management of ·the 

4 elderly waiver program and implement this model through a 
5 contract between the state and Whiee-Eareh-Reservaeien any of 

6 the state's federally recognized tribal governments. The model 

7 shall include the provision of tribal waiver case management, 

8 assessment for personal care assistance, and administrative 

9 requirements otherwise carried out by counties but shall not 

10 include tribal financial eligibility determination for medical 

11 a~sistance. 

6 
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02/07/05 [REVISOR EB/RC 

Senators Berg~in, Foley, Koering, Lourey and Rosen introduced-­

S.F. No.1569: Referred to the Committee on Finance. 

l A bill for an act 

05-0372 

2 relating to human services; changing long-term care 
3 provisions; amending Minnesota Statutes 2004, sections 
4 144A.071, subdivision la; 256B.0913, subdivision 8; 
5 256B.0915, subdivisions la, 6, 9. 

6 BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF MINNESOTA: 

7 ARTICLE l 

8 LONG-TERM CARE FACILITIES 

9 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 144A.071, 

10 subdivision la, is amended to read: 

11 Subd. la. [DEFINITIONS.] For purposes of sections 144A.071 

12 to 144A.073, the following terms have the meanings given them: 

13 (a} 11 Attached fixtures" has the meaning given in Minnesota 

14 Rules, part 9549.0020, subpart 6. 

15 (b} 11 Buildings 11 has the meaning given in Minnesota Rules, 

16 part 9549.0020, subpart 7. 

17 (c} "Capital assets" has the meaning given in section 

18 256B.421, subdivision 16. 

19 (d} "Commenced construction" means that all of the 

20 following conditions were met: the final working drawings and 

21 specifications were approved by the commissioner of health; the 

22 construction contracts were let; a timely construction schedule 

23 was developed, stipulating dates for beginning, achieving 

24 various stages, and completing construction; and all zoning and 

25 building permits were applied for. 

Article l Section l l 
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1 (e) "Completion date 11 means the date on which a certificate 

2 of occupancy is issued for a construction project, or if a 

3 certificate of occupancy is not required, the date on which the 

4 construction project is available for facility use. 

5 (f) "Construction" means any erection, building, 

6 alteration, reconstruction, modernization, or improvement 

7 necessary to comply with the nursing home licensure rules. 

8 (g) "Construction project 11 means: 

9 (1) a capital asset addition to, or replacement of a 

10 nursing home or certified boarding care home that results in new 

11 space or the remodeling of or renovat1ons to existing facility 

12 space; and 

13 (2) the remodeling or renovation of existing facility space 

14 the use of which is modified as a result of the project 

15 described in clause (1). This existing space and the project 

16 described in clause (1) must be used for the functions as 

17 designated on the construction plans on completion of the 

18 project described in clause (1) for a period of not less than 24 

19 months;-er 

20 t3t-eap±ea%-assee-add±e±ens-er-rep%aeemenes-ehae-are 

21 eemp%eeed-w±eh±n-%~-menehs-be£ere-er-a£eer-ehe-eemp%ee±en-daee 

22 e£-ehe-prejeee-deser±bed-±n-e%attse-txt. 

23 (h) "Depreciation guidelines" means the most recent 

24 publication of "The Estimated Useful Lives of Depreciable 

25 Hospital Assets," issued by the American Hospital Association, 

26 840 North Lake Shore Drive, Chicago, Illinois, 60611. 

27 ill "New licensed" or "new certified beds" means: 

28 (1) newly constructed beds in a facility or the 

29 construction of a new facility that would increase the total 

30 number of licensed nursing home beds or certified boarding care 

31 or nursing home beds in the state; or 

32 (2) newly licensed nursing home beds or newly certified 

33 boarding care or nursing home beds that result from remodeling 

34 of the facility that involves relocation of beds but does not 

35 result in an increase in the total number of beds, except when 

36 the project involves the upgrade of boarding care beds to 

Article 1 Section 1 2 
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1 nursing home beds, as defined in section 144A.073, subdivision 

2 1. "Remodeling" includes any of the type of conversion, 

3 renovation, replacement, or upgrading projects as defined in 

4 section 144A.073, subdivision 1. 

5 t±t ill "Project construction costs" means the cost of the 

6 following items that have a completion date within 12 months 

7 before or after the completion date of the project described in 

8 item (g), clause (1): 

9 J..!l facility capital asset additions,L 

10 ~ replacements1L 

11 ru_ renovations,-orL 

12 i!2_ remodeling projects1L 

13 J2.J_ construction site preparation costs7-aftdL 

14 ~ related soft costs.--Projeet-eoftstrttet±oft-eosts-±fteittde 

15 the-eost-0£-aRy-remodei±R9-or-reftovat±oft-0£-e~±st±ft9-£ae±i±ty 

16 spaee-wh±eh-±s-mod±£±ed-as-a-resttit-o£-the-eoftstrttet±oft 

17 projeet.--Projeet-eoftstrttet±oft-eosts-aiso-±Reittdes-the-eost-0£ 

18 Rew-teehftoie9y-±mpiemeftted-as-part-0£-tne-eoftstrttet±oft-projeet. 

19 Projeet-eoftstrttet±oR-eosts-aiso-±Reittde; and 

20 J2l the cost of new technology implemented as part of the 

21 construction project and depreciable equipment directly 

22 identified to the project, if the construction costs for clauses 

23 (1) to (6) exceed the threshold for additions and replacements 

24 stated in section 256B.431, subdivision 16. Afty-Rew Technology 

25 and depreciable equipment shall be included in the project 

26 construction costs shaii,-at-the unless a written election 0£ is 

27 made by the facility, be-±Reittded to not include it in the 

28 facility's appraised value for purposes of Mi.nnesota Rules, part 

29 9549.0020, subpart 57-aftd~ Debt incurred for ±ts purchase of 

30 technology and depreciable equipment shall be included as 

31 allowable debt for purposes of Minnesota Rules, part 9549.0060, 

32 subpart 5, items A and C, unless the written election is to not 

33 include it. Any new technology and depreciable equipment 

34 included in the project construction costs that the facility 

35 elects not to include in its appraised value and allowable debt 

36 shall be treated as provided in section 256B.431, subdivision 

Article 1 Section 1 3 
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1 17, paragraph (b). Written election under this paragraph must 

2 be included in the facility's request for the rate change 

3 related to the project, and this election may not be changed. 

4 tjt ill 11 Technology 11 means information systems or devices 

5 that make documentation, charting, and staff time more efficient 

6 or encourage and allow for care through alternative settings 

7 including, but not limited to, touch screens, monitors, 

8 hand-helds, swipe cards, motion detectors, pagers, telemedicine, 

9 medication dispensers, and equipment to monitor vital signs and 

10 self-injections, and to observe skin and other conditions. 

11 ARTICLE 2 

12 CONTINUING CARE FOR THE ELDERLY 

13 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 256B.0913, 

14 subdivision 8, is amended to read: 

15 Subd. 8. [REQUIREMENTS FOR INDIVIDUAL CARE PLAN.] (a) The 

16 case manager shall implement the plan of care for each 

17 alternative care client and ensure that a client's service needs 

18 and eligibility are reassessed at least every 12 months. The 

19 plan shall include any services prescribed by the individual's 

20 attending physician as necessary to allow the individual to 

21 remain in a community setting. In developing the individual's 

22 care plan, the case manager should include the use of volunteers 

23 from families and neighbors, religious organizations, social 

24 clubs, and civic and service organizations to support the formal 

25 home care services. The county shall be held harmless for 

26 damages or injuries sustained through the use of volunteers 

27 under this subdivision including workers' compensation 

28 liability. The xead-a9eney county of service shall provide 

29 documentation in each individual's plan of care and, if 

30 requested, to the commissioner that the most cost-effective 

31 alternatives available have been offered to the individual and 

32 that the individual was free to choose among available qualified 

33 providers, both public and private, including qualified case 

· 34 management or service coordination providers other than those 

35 employed by the-xead-a9eney-when-ehe-xead-a9eney any county; 

36 however, the county or tribe maintains responsibility for prior 

Article 2 Section 1 4 
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1 authorizing services in accordance with statutory and 

2 administrative requirements. The case manager must give the 

3 individual a ten-day written notice of any denial, termination, 

4 or reduction of alternative care services. 

5 (b) ±£ The county aam±n±seer±ng-a±eernae±ve-eare-serv±ees 

6 ±s-d±££erene-ehan-ehe-eottney-o£-£±nane±a±-respons±b±±±ey,-ehe 

7 eare-p±an-may-be-±mp±emeneed-w±ehotte-ehe-approva± of service 

8 must provide access to and arrange for case management services, 

9 _including assuring implementation of the plan. The county of 

10 service must notify the county of financial responsibility of 

11 the approved care plan and the amount of encumbered fund~. 

12 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 256B.0915, 

13 subdivision la, is amended to read: 

14 Subd. la. [ELDERLY WAIVER CASE MANAGEMENT SERVICES.]~ 

15 Elderly case management services under the home and 

16 community-based services waiver for elderly individuals are 

17 available from providers meeting qualification requirements and 

18 the standards specified in subdivision lb. Eligible recipients 

19 may choose any qualified provider of elderly case management 

20 services. 

21 (b) The county of service or tribe must provide access to 

22 or arrange for case management services. 

23 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 256B.0915, 

24 subdivision 6, is amended to read: 

25 Subd. 6. [IMPLEMENTATION OF CARE PLAN.] Each elderly 

26 waiver client shall be provided a copy of a written care plan 

27 that meets the requirements outlined in section 256B.0913, 

28 subdivision 8. ±£ The care plan must be implemented by the 

29 county administering waivered services when it is different than 

30 the county of financial responsibility7-ehe-eare-p±an-may-be 

31 ±~p±emeneed-w±ehotte-ehe-approva±-0£. The county administering 

32 waivered services must notify the county of financial 

33 responsibility of the approved care plan. 

34 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 256B.0915, 

35 subdivision 9, is amended to read: 

36 Subd. 9. [TRIBAL MANAGEMENT OF ELDERLY WAIVER.] 

Article 2 Section 4 5 
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1 Notwithstanding contrary provisions of this section, or those in 

2 other state laws or rules, the commissioner afto-Wh±ee-Eareh 

3 reser~ae±oft may develop a model for tribal management of the 

4 elderly waiver program and implement this model through a 

5 contract between the state and Wh±ee-Eareh-Reser~ae±oft any of 

6 the state's federally recognized tribal governments. The model 

7 shall include the provision of tribal waiver case management, 

8 assessment for personal care assistance, and administrative 

9 requirements otherwise carried out by counties but shall not 

10 include tribal financial eligibility determination for medical 

11 assistance. 

6 
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[SENATEE.] mv SS1569DIV 

1 To: Senator Cohen, Chair 

2 Committee on Finance 

1 Senator Berglin, 

4 Chair of the Health and Human Services Budget Division, to 
5 which was ref erred 

6 S.F. No. 1569: A bill for an act relating to human 
7 services; changing long-term care provisions; amending Minnesota 
8 Statutes 2004, sections 144A.071, subdivision la; 256B.0913, 
9 subdivision 8; 256B.0915, subdivisions la, 6, 9. 

10 Reports the same back with the recommendation that the bill 
11 be amended as follows: 

12 Page 5, line 22, ·delete "or" and insert "and" 

13 And when so amended that the bill be recommended to pass 
14 and be referred to the full committee. 

15 
16 ( 
17 
~a March 30, 2005 ••.•.•...••••.• 
~9 (Date of Division action) 

1 



Fiscal Note - 2005-06 Session 

Bill#: S1569-0 Complete Date: 03/28/05 

Chief Author: BERGUN, LINDA 

Title: MODIFY LONG TERM CARE PROVISIONS 

Agency Name: Human Services Dept 

fiscal Impact 
State 
Local 
Fee/Departmental Earnings 

Tax Revenue 

Yes No 
x 
x 
x 
x 

Th" bl fl fi I . tt t t 1s ta e re ects sea 1mpac o s a e Qovernment. L t• fl td• th oca government 1mpac 1s re ec e in f e narra 1ve orny. 
Dollars {in thousands) FY05 FY06 FY07 FYOS FY09 

Expenditures 
-- No Impact -

less Agency Can Absorb 
-No Impact-

Net Expenditures 
-No Impact-

Revenues 
-No Impact-

Net Cost <Savings> 
-No Impact-
Total Cost <Savings> to the State 

FY05 FY06 FY07 FY08 FY09 
Full Time Equivalents 

-- No Impact -
Total FTE 

51569-0 Page 1 of2 



NARRATIVE: SF 1569/HF 1951 

Bill Description 
Article 1 
Section 1 - clarifies if a facility does not provide the department with a written election of their intention, the 
department will include the depreciable equipment and technology costs in their building construction project. 
The language also clarifies that facilities conducting small projects already receive an equipment allowance that 
covers their equipment and technology costs. 

Article 2 
Section 1, 2, and 3 - seeks to restore in law the county of service as the responsible agency for arranging case 
management services to reflect the current practice and policy in the Alternative Care and Elderly Waiver 
programs. 

Section 4 - allows any Minnesota Tribe to manage Elderly Waiver or Personal Care Attendant services for their 
members. It provides eligible persons with a choice in management of their services between the county or tribe. 
This provision does not increase costs because it does not expand eligibility. The number of persons anticipated 
to be served by the tribes is expected to be small. 

Assumptions 

None. 

Expenditure and/or Revenue Formula 

This is a Department policy bill and has no fiscal impact. 

Long-Term Fiscal Considerations 

None. 

Local Government Costs 

None. 

References/Sources 
Continuing Care Research and Analysis 

Agency Contact Name: Amy Dellwo 296-1368 
FN Coard Signature: STEVE .BARTA 
Date: 03/23/05 Phone: 296-5685 

EBO Comments 

I have reviewed this Fiscal Note for accuracy and content. 

EBO Signature: DOUG GREEN 
Date: 03/28/05 Phone: 286-5618 

81569-0 Page 2 of2 



[SENATEE ] nk SS0538R-1 

1 senator Cohen from the Committee on Finance, to which was 
2 re-ref erred 

3 S.F. No. 538: A bill for an act relating to health; 
4 providing for education of parents, primary caregivers, and 
5 child care providers on the dangers associated with shaking 
6 infants and young children; proposing coding for new law in 
7 Minnesota Statutes, chapters 144; 245A. 

8 Reports the same back with the recommendation that the bill 
9 be amended as follows: 

10 Page 1, line 17, after "hospital" insert "and any 

11 interested individuals" 

12 Page 2, line 20, delete "ongoing" and insert "annual" 

13 Page 2, line 23, after "providers" insert "and any 

14 interested individuals" 

15 Page 2, after line 26, insert: 

16 "Sec. 3. [APPROPRIATION.] 

17 $13,000 is appropriated from the state government special 

18 revenue fund to the commissioner of health for purposes of 

19 sections 1 and 2 for the biennium beginning July 1, 2005. The 

20 commissioner of health shall assess a fee to hospitals to cover 

21 the cost of the approved shaken baby video and royalties to be 

22 deposited in the state government special revenue fund." 

23 Amend the title as follows: 

24 Page 1, line 5, after the semicolon, insert "appropriating 

25 money;" 

26 
27 

28 
29 
30 
31 
32 

And wpen so amended 
Report adopted. 

the ~ do pass. Amendments adopted. 

(C~~~~i~i················· 
May 3 , 2 0 05 ..................... . 
(Date of Committee recommendation) 

1 
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1 A bill for an act 

2 relating to health; providing for education of 
3 parents, primary caregivers, and child care providers 
4 on the dangers associated with shaking infants and 
5 young children; proposing coding for new law in 
6 Minnesota Statutes, chapters 144; 245A. 

7 BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF MINNESOTA: 

8 Section 1. [144.574] [EDUCATION ABOUT THE DANGERS OF 

9 SHAKING INFANTS AND YOUNG CHILDREN.] 

10 Subdivision 1. [EDUCATION BY HOSPITALS.] (a) A hospital 

11 licensed under sections 144.50 to 144.56 shall make available 

·12 for viewing by the parents of each newborn baby delivered in the 

13 hospital a video presentation on the dangers associated with 

14 shaking infants and young children. 

15 (b) A hospital shall use a video obtained from the 

16 ·commissioner or approved by the commissioner. The commissioner 

17 shall provide to a hospital at cost copies of an approved 

18 video. The commissioner shall review other video presentations 

19 for possible approval upon the request of a hospital. The 

20 commissioner shall not require a hospital to use.videos that 

21 would require the hospital to pay royalties for use of the 

22 video, restrict viewing in order to comply with public viewing 

23 or other restrictions, or be subject to other costs or 

24 restrictions associated with copyrights. 

25 (c) A hospital shall, whenever possible, request both 

26 parents to view the video. The patient's chart shall indicate 

Section 1 1 
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1 whether the parents are offered an opportunity to view the video. 

2 (d) The showing or distribution of the video shall not 

3 subject any person or facility to any action for damages or 

4 other relief provided the person or facility acted in good faith. 

5 Subd. 2. [EDUCATION BY HEALTH CARE PROVIDERS.] The 

6 commissioner shall establish a protocol for health care 

7 providers to educate parents and primary caregivers about the 

8 dangers associated with shaking infants and young children. The 

9 commissioner shall request family practice physicians, 

10 pediatricians, and other pediatric health care providers to 

11 review these dangers with the parents and primary caregivers of 

12 infants and young children up to the age of three at each 

13 well-baby visit. 

14 Sec. 2. [245A.034] [CHILD CARE PROVIDER TRAINING; DANGERS 

15 OF SHAKING INFANTS AND YOUNG CHILDREN.] 

16 The commissioner shall make available for viewing by all 

17 licensed and legal nonlicensed child care providers a video 

18 presentation on the dangers associated with shaking infants and 

19 young children. The video presentation shall be part of the 

20 initial and ongoing training of licensed child care providers. 

21 Legal nonlicensed child care providers may participate at their 

22 option in a video presentation session offered under this 

23 section. The commissioner shall provide to child care providers 

24 at cost copies of a video approved by the commissioner of health 

25 under section 144.574 on the dangers associated with shaking 

26 infants and young children. 

2 



[SENATEE ] mg SS0538DIV 

1 To: Senator Cohen, Chair 

2 Committee on Finance 

3 Senator Berglin, 

4 Chair of the Health and Human Services Budget Division, to 
5 which was ref erred 

6 s.F. No. 538: A bill for an act relating to health; 
7 providing for education of parents, primary caregivers, and 
8 child care providers on the dangers associated with shaking 
9 infants and young children; proposing coding for new law in 

10 Minnesota Statutes, chapters 144; 245A. 

11 Reports the same back with the recommendation that the bill 
12 be amended as follows: 

13 Page 1, line 17, after "hospital" insert "and any 

14 interested individuals" 

15 Page 2, line 20, delete "ongoing" and insert "annual" 

16 Page 2, line 23, after "providers" insert "and any 

17 interested individuals" 

18 Page 2, after line 26, insert: 

19 "Sec. 3. [APPROPRIATION.] 

20 $13,000 is appropriated from the state government special 

21 revenue fund to the commissioner of health for purposes of 

22 sections 1 and 2 for the biennium beginning February 1, 2005. 

23 The commissioner of health shall assess a fee to hospitals to 

24 cover the cost of the approved shaken baby video and royalties 

25 to be deposited in the state government special revenue fund." 

26 Amend the title as follows: 

27 Page 1, line 5, after the semicolon, insert "appropriating 

28 money;" 

29 And 
30 and be 

31 
32 
33 
34 
35 

to pass 

March 3 O , 2 O o 5 ................... . 
(Date of Division action) 

1 



Consolidated Fis~al Note - 2005-06 Session 

Bill #: S0538-2A Complete Date: 05/03/05 

Chief Author: JOHNSON, DEAN E. 

Title: SHAKING INFANTS DANGER EDUCATION 

Agencies: Health Dept (05/03/05) 

Fiscal Impact Yes. No 
State x 
Local x 
Fee/Departmental Earnings x 
Tax Revenue. x 

Human Services Dept (04/06/05) 

This table reflects fiscal impact to state oovemment. Local oovemment impact is reflected in the narrative only. 
·Dollars (in thousands) FYOS FY06 FY07 FY08 FY09 

Net Expenditures 
General Fund O O O 0 0 

Human Services Dept O 0 0 : 0 0 
State Govt Special Revenue Fund 13 

Health Dept 13 
Revenues 

State Govt Special Revenue Fund 13 
Health Dept 13 

Net Cost <Savings> 
:'.'.: ~- .:......;·.... .<:, ··•·· '>·.,··><:< .. :.·· ., .. :::.;-.·::.·!::·:::<:,<······a:· ;::.;;:•·:;:,··<'>·:ff·>/<<····:::.: .~ 

Human Services Dept O 0 0 
·-: State::GoVt:SbetialReven1:JeFtind,.::.<·' •:'·> : ··.·/: + O ,,. •·> :1 .. <· .. >~·· ... ··· ... ·•· 

Health Dept O 

:: : .. :::Tot~.l.:Cosf<:s.avings)i; fothe·St~te.: ···.:.\ .. :,· ;/ ·· .. ( ·•.· ·'>> .... :;o::>·· ·''·:. ;.:: .. ,··:·"· .. ,..:< 

FY05 
Full Time Equivalents 

- No Impact-
·Total FTE 

Consolidated EBO Comments 

I have reviewed this Fiscal' Note for accuracy and content. 

EBO Signature: CRAIG WIEBER 
Date: 05/03/05 Phone: 282-5065 

S0538-2A 

FY06 FY07 

0 0 

FY08 FY09 
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Fiscal Note - 2005-06 Session 

Bill#: S0538-2A Complete Date: 05/03/05 

Chief Author: JOHNSON, DEAN E. 

Title: SHAKING INFANTS DANGER EDUCATION 

Agency Name: Health Dept 

Fiscal Impact 
State. 

Local 

Fee/Departmental Earnings 

Tax Revenue 

Yes No 
x 

x 
x 

x 

This table reflects fiscal impact to state government. Local government impact is reflected in the narrative only. 
Dollars (in thousands) FY05 FY06 FY07 FY08 FY09 

Expenditures 
State Govt Special Revenue Fund 13 

less Agency Can Absorb 
- No Impact-

Net Expenditures 
State Govt Special Revenue Fund 13 

Revenues 
State Govt Special Revenue Fund 13 

Net Cost <Savings> 
State Govt Special Revenue Fund 0 
Total Cost <Savings> to the State 

FY05 FYOS FY07 FY08 FY09 
Full Time Equivalents 

-No Impact-
Total FTE 

S0538-2A Page 2 of7 



Bill Description 

This bill requires hospitals to offer parents of newborns a video presentation on the dangers associated with 
shaking infants and young children. Hospitals must use a video obtained from or approved by the Department. 
The Department must provide copies of an approved video at cost, and must review other videos for possible 
approval if requested by a hospital. The Department may not require hospitals to use a video that requires 
restrictions or additional costs associated with copyrights. 

The bill also requires the Department to establish a protocol for health care providers to educate parents and 
primary care givers about the dangers associated with shaking infants and young children, and to request 
pediatric health care providers to review these dangers at well-baby visits. 

The bill appropriates $13,000 from the state government special revenue fund to the department in the current 
biennium, and directs the department to assess a fee to hospitals to recover the costs of the video and associated 
royalties. 

Assumptions 

• After conversations with committee staff, the department is removing the assumption that the department 
would work with hospitals, health care providers, and childcare providers to implement and maintain an 
education program for parents and primary care givers. · 

• Assumes a protocol for health care providers to educate parents and primary caregivers about the dangers 
associated with shaking infants and young children would be developed and disseminated at minimal cost, 
which the department would absorb. · 

• There are 110 birthing hospitals in Minnesota; it is estimated that each hospital would need the video in an 
average of 3 languages, so the department would need to make 330 videos available. 

• The video currently in use in Minnesota is available for bulk purchase at $15 per copy. 
• The owner of the copyright to the video has indicated that a license agreement to allow hospitals to use the 

video without restrictions would cost the department $7,000. 

Expenditure and/or Revenue Formula 

EXPENDITURES 
Purchase of videos 
Purchase of license agreement 
Distribution costs 
TOTAL EXPENSES 

Fee revenue ($118 times 110 
hospitals) 

Long-Term Fiscal Considerations 

None. 

Local Government Costs 

None. 

References/Sources 

Department staff. 

Technical Note 
In order to accurately reflect the Health & Human Services Budget Division discussion about the amendment, the 
amendment should be corrected to strike "and 2" on the second line. The committee intended to provide funds to 
the Department of Health to purchase videos under section 1; section 2 pertains to the Department of Human 

. Services. 

S0538-2A Page 3 of7 



Agency Contact Name: Pati Maier (651-281-9882) 
FN Coord Signature: MARGARET KELLY 
Date: 04/06/05 Phone: 281-9998 

EBO Comments 

I have reviewed this Fiscal Note for accuracy and content. 

EBO Signature: CRAIG WIEBER 
Date: 05/03/05 Phone: 282-5065 

S0538-2A Page4 of7 



Fiscal Note - 2005-06 Session 

Bill_#: S0538-2A Complete Date: 04/06/05 

Chief Author: JOHNSON, DEAN E. 

Title: SHAKING INFANTS DANGER EDUCATION 

Agency Name: Human Services Dept 

Fiscal Impact Yes No 
State x 
Local x 
Fee/Departmental Earnings x 
Tax Revenue x 

Th" fl fi h 1s table re ects seal impact to state Qovemment. Local Qovemment impact is reflected int e narrative on1y. 
Dollars (in thousands) FYOS FY06 FY07 FY08 FY09 

Expenditures 
General Fund 0 3 0 0 0 

less Agency Can Absorb 
General Fund 0 3 0 0 0 

Net Expenditures 
General Fund 0 0 0 0 0 

Revenues 
- No Impact-

Net Cost <Savings> 
General Fund 0 0 0 0 0 
Total Cost <Savings> to the State 

FYOS FY06 FY07 FY08 FY09 
Full Time Equivalents 

-No Impact-
Total FTE 
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NARRATIVE: SF 538-2A 

Bill Description 
This bill would require the commissioner of the department of human services to make available for viewing by all 
licensed child care providers a video presentation on the dangers associated with shaking infants and young 
chUdren. It also requires the video presentation be part of the initial and ongoing training of licensed child care 
providers. Legal non-licensed providers may participate in these video presentations at their option. It requires the 
commissioner lo proviae to child care providers at cost copies of the video that is approved by the commissioner 
of health. 

This bill as amended, appropriates $13,000 to the commissioner of Health from the special revenue fund to cover 
the cost of sections 1 and 2. 

Assumptions 
The statewide infrastructure of regionally based Child Care Resource & Referral (CCR&R) agencies is the central 
resource for child care provider training, including training required for licensure and training for legal non-licensed 
providers registered by counties for payment under the child care assistance program. 

Training related to the dangers associated with shaking infants and young children would be made available 
through the existing CCR&R training system for licensed providers by incorporating it into the initial licensure 
training. The training would be made available on an ongoing basis to meet the training interval required for 
renewing CPR and FirsfAid (repeated every three years). 

There is no training requirement under current law for legal nonlicensed providers. We assume that the CCR&Rs 
will make the video available to legal nonlicensed providers who want to participate in viewing the video. 
The training videos would be made available through the CCR&R sites for purchase at cost, check-out or on-site 
viewing/training for both licensed and nonlicensed providers. 

The Department of Health currently has identified a video called "Portrait of Promise - Preventing Shaken Baby 
Syndrome" which is available at the cost of $15 (bulk rate) through the Midwest Children's Resource Center. The 
video is currently available in English, Spanish, Hmong, and Somali. 

We assume two copies of this video in each language would be provided to the 19 CCR&R sites. The total cost 
for the 190 copies at $15 each (bulk rate) would be $2,850. Under this amendment, these costs could be covered 
either by part of the $13,000 appropriated to the commissioner of health or the agency would absorb these costs. 

Upon request, a copy of the video would be given to providers at cost. 

Expenditure and/or Revenue Formula 
Providers will be asked to pay the cost of the video copy, so there is no fiscal impact to the agency. 

Long-term Fiscal Considerations 

Local Government Costs 

References/Sources 
Barb Yates, Department of Human Services 
Partnerships for Child Development 
(651) 282-3804 

Agency Contact Name: Jenny Ehrnst 282-2595 
FN Coard Signature: STEVE BARTA 
Date: 04/06/05 Phone: 296-5685 

EBO Comments 

I have reviewed this Fiscal Note for accuracy and content. 

EBO Signature: KATIE BURNS 
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75 REV. DR. MARTIN LUTHER KING, JR. BLVD. State of Minnesota 
ST. PAUL, MN 55155-1606 

(651) 296-4791 
FAX: (651) 296-7747 

Jo ANNE ZOFF SELLNER 
DIRECTOR. 

S.F. No. 538 - Hospital and Health and Child Care 
Providers Videos or Education on Dangers of Shaking 
Infants and Young Children (Division Report) 

Author: Senator Dean Johnson 

Prepared by: Joan White, Senate Counsel (651/296-3814) 

Date: May3, 2005 

S.F. No. 538 educates new parents, health care professionals, and child care providers on the 
dangers associated with shaking infants and young children. 

Section 1, subdivision 1, requires a hospital to make available for viewing by parents of newborns 
a video presentation on the dangers associated with shaking infants and young children. The hospital 
is required to use a video obtained from the commissioner or approved by the commissioner, and the 
commissioner is required to provide the video to hospitals and any interested individuals at cost. The 
commissioner shall review other video presentations for possible approval upon the request of a 
hospital. The commissioner is prohibited from requiring hospitals to use videos that would require 
royalty payments, force hospitals to restrict viewing to comply with public viewing restrictions, or 
make hospitals subject to issues associated with copyrights. 

Subdivision 2 requires the Commissioner of Health to establish a protocol for health 
care providers to educate parents and primary caregivers about the dangers associated 
with shaking infants and small children. The commissioner shall request family practice 
physicians, pediatricians, and other pediatric health care providers to review these dangers 
with parents and primary caregivers of infants and young children up to age three at each 
well-baby visit. 

Section 2 requires the Commissioner of Human Services to make available for viewing by child care 
providers a video presentation on the dangers associated with shaking infants and young children. 
The video shall become part of the initial and annual training of licensed child care providers, and 



legal nonlicensed providers may participate at their option in a video presentation session offered 
under this section. The commissioner is required to provide the video approved by the 
Commissioner of Health to child care providers and any interested individuals at cost. 

Section 3 appropriates $13 ,000 from the state government special revenue fund to the Commissioner 
of Health for purposes of sections 1 and 2. The Commissioner of Health shall access a fee to 
hospitals to cover the cost of the video and royalties to be deposited in the state government special 
revenue fund. 

JW:rdr 
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05/03/05 [COUNSEL ] JW SCS0538A-5 

1 Senator ..... moves to amend the Report of the Committee on 
2 Finance (SS0538DIV) to S.F. No. 538 as follows: 

3 Page 1, line 22, delete "February 1 11 and insert "July 1 11 

1 
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1 senator Cohen from the Committee on Finance, to which was 
2 re-ref erred 

3 s.F. No. 917: A bill for an act relating to heqlth; 
4 providing for grants related to positive abortion alternatives; 
5 appropriating money; proposing coding for new law in Minnesota 
6 statutes, chapter 145. 

7 Reports the same back with the recommendation that the bill 
8 be amended as follows: 

9 Delete everything after the enacting clause and insert: 

10 "Section 1. [127A.145] [POSITIVE ABORTION ALTERNATIVES.] 

11 Subdivision 1. [DEFINITIONS.] For purposes of this 

12 section, "abortion" means the use of any means to terminate the 

13 pregnancy of a woman known to be pregnant with knowledge that 

14 the termination with those means will, with reasonable 

15 likelihood, cause the death of the unborn child. For purposes 

16 of this section, abortion does not include an abortion necessary 

17 to prevent the death of the mother. 

18 Subd. 2. [ELIGIBILITY FOR GRANTS.] (a) The commissioner of 

19 education shall award grants to eligible applicants under 

20 paragraph (c) for the reasonable expenses of alternatives to 

21 abortion programs to support, encourage, and assist women in 

22 carrying their pregnancies to term and caring for their babies 

23 after birth by providing information on, referral to, and 

24 assistance with securing necessary services that enable women to 

25 carry their pregnancies to term and care for their babies after 

26 birth. Necessary services must include, but are not limited to: 

27 

28 

29 

30 

(1) medical care; 

(2) nutritional services; 

(3) housing assistance; 

(4) adoption services; 

31 (5) education and employment assistance, including services 

32 that support the continuation and completion of high school; 

33 (6) child care assistance; and 

34 (7) parenting education and support services. 

35 An applicant may not provide or assist a woman to obtain 

36 adoption services from a provider of adoption services that is 

37 not licensed. 

38 (b) In addition to providing information and referral under 

1 
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1 paragraph (a), an eligible program may provide one or more of 

2 the necessary services under paragraph (a) that assists women in 

3 carrying their pregnancies to term. To avoid duplication of 

4 efforts, grantees may refer to other public or private programs, 

5 rather than provide the care directly, if a woman meets 

6 eligibility criteria for the other programs. 

7 (c) To be eligible for a grant, an agency or organization 

8 must: 

9 

10 

(1) be a private, nonprofit organization; 

(2) demonstrate that the program is conducted under 

11 appropriate supervision; 

12 (3) not charge women for services provided under the 

13 program; 

14 (4) provide each pregnant woman counseled with accurate 

15 information on the developmental characteristics of babies and 

16 of unborn children, including offering the printed information 

17 described in section 145.4243; 

18 (5) ensure that its alternatives-to-abortion program's 

19 purpose is to assist and encourage women in carrying their 

20 pregnancies to term and to maximize their potentials thereafter; 

21 and 

22 (6) ensure that none of the money provided is used to 

23 encourage a woman to have an abortion not necessary to prevent 

24 her death or to provide her an abortion. 

25 (d) The provisions, words, phrases, and clauses of 

26 paragraph (c) are inseverable from this subdivision, and if any 

27 provision, word, phrase, or clause of paragraph (c) or its 

28 application to any person or circumstance is held invalid, the 

29 invalidity applies to all of this subdivision. 

30 (e) An organization that provides abortions, promotes 

31 abortions, or encourages or arranges for abortions is ineligible 

32 to receive a grant under this program. An affiliate of an 

33 organization that provides abortions, promotes abortions, or 

34 encourages or arranges for abortions is ineligible to receive a 

35 grant under this section unless the organizations are separately 

36 incorporated and independent from each other. To be 

2 
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1 independent, the organizations may not share any of the 

2 following: 

3 (1) the same or a similar name; 

4 (2) medical facilities or nonmedical facilities, including 

5 but not limited to, business offices, treatment rooms, 

6 consultation rooms, examination rooms, and waiting rooms; 

7 (3) expenses; 

8 (4) employee wages or salaries; or 

9 (5) equipment or supplies, including but not limited to, 

10 computers, telephone systems, telecommunications equipment, and 

11 office supplies. 

12 (f) An organization that receives a grant under this 

13 section and that is affiliated with an organization that 

14 provides abortion services must maintain financial records that 

15 demonstrate strict compliance with this subdivision and that 

16 demonstrate that its independent affiliate that provides 

17 abortion services receives no direct or indirect economic or 

18 marketing benefit from the grant under this section. 

19 (g) If an organization or agency receiving a grant under 

20 this section provides information on abortion, the information 

21 provided must be objective, nonjudgmental, and designed to 

22 convey only accurate scientific information. The commissioner 

23 of education, in consultation with the commissioner of health, 

24 shall approve any information provided by a grantee on the 

25 health risks associated with abortions to ensure that the 

26 information meets this requirement. 

27 Subd. 3. [PRIVACY PROTECTION.] (a) Any program receiving a 

28 grant under this section must have a privacy policy and 

29 procedures in place to ensure that the name, address, telephone 

30 number, or any other information that might identify any woman 

31 seeking the services of the program is not made public or shared 

32 with any other agency or organization without the written 

33 consent of the woman. All communications between the program 

34 and the woman must remain confidential. For purposes of any 

35 medical care provided by the program, including, but not limited 

36 to, pregnancy tests or ultrasonic scanning, the program must 

3 
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1 adhere to the requirements in section 144.335 that apply to 

2 providers before releasing any information relating to the 

3 medical care provided. 

4 (b) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), the commissioner of 

5 education has access to any information necessary to monitor and 

6 review a grantee's program as required under subdivision 4. 

7 Subd. 4. [DUTIES OF COMMISSIONER.] The commissioner of 

8 education shall make grants under subdivision 2 beginning no 

9 later than July 1, 2006. In awarding grants, the commissioner 

10 shall consider the program's demonstrated capacity in providing 

11 services to assist a pregnant woman in carrying her pregnancy to 

12 term. The commissioner shall monitor and review the programs of 

13 each grantee to ensure that the grantee carefully adheres to the 

14 purposes and requirements of subdivision 2 and shall cease 

15 funding a grantee that fails to do so. 

16 Subd. 5. [SEVERABILITY.] Except as provided in subdivision 

17 2, paragraph (d), if any provision, word, phrase, or clause of 

18 this section or its application to any person or circumstance is 

19 held invalid, the invalidity does not affect the provisions, 

20 words, phrases, clauses, or applications of this section that 

21 can be given effect without the invalid provision, word, phrase, 

22 clause, or application and to this end, the provisions, words, 

23 phrases, and clauses of this section are severable. 

24 Sec. 2. [APPROPRIATIONS; COMMUNITY HEALTH AND FAMILY 

25 PROMOTION.] 

26 $2,500,000 is appropriated from the general fund to the 

27 commissioner of education for positive abortion alternatives 

28 under new Minnesota Statutes, section 127A.145. Of this amount, 

29 $50,000 is available for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2006, 

30 and $100,000 is available for the fiscal year ending June 30, 

31 2007, for administrative costs of implementing the grant 

32 program. The balance of the appropriation is available for the 

33 fiscal year ending June 30, 2007." 

34 Delete the title and insert: 

35 "A bill for an act relating to health; providing for grants 
36 related to positive abortion alternatives; appropriating money; 
37 proposing coding for new law in Minnesota Statutes, chapter 

4 
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127A. II 

And when so amended the bilf'A p!J>J Amendments adopted. 
Report adopted. ())_ (.!!{ 

.................................. 
(Committee Chair) 

May 3 , 2 0 05 ••••••••••••••••••••••• 
(Date of Committee recommendation) 
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1 A bill for an act 

2 relating to health; providing for grants related to 
3 positive abortion alternatives; ·appropriating money; 
4 proposing coding for new law in Minnesota Statutes, 
5 chapter 145. 

6 BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF MINNESOTA: 

7 Section 1. [145.4231] [POSITIVE ABORTION ALTERNATIVES.] 

8 Subdivision 1. [DEFINITIONS.] For purposes of this 

9 section, the following terms have the meaning given: 

10 (1) "abortion" means the use of any means to terminate the 

11 pregnancy of a woman known to be. pregnant with knowledge that 

12 the termination with those means will, with reasonable 

13 likelihood, cause the death of the unborn child. For purposes 

14 of this section, abortion does not include an abortion necessary 

15 to prevent the death of the mother; and 

16 (2) "unborn child" means an individual organism of the 

17 species Homo sapiens from fertilization until birth. 

18 Subd. 2. [ELIGIBILITY FOR GRANTS.] (a) The commissioner of 

19 health shall award grants to eligible applicants under paragraph 

20 (c) for the reasonable expenses of alternatives to abortion 

21 programs to support, encourage, and assist women in carrying 

22 their pregnancies to term by providing information on, referral 

23 to, and assistance with securing necessary services that enable 

~4 women to carry their pregnancies to term. Necessary services 

25 include, but are not limited to: 

Section 1 1 
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1 (1) medical care; 

2 (2) nutritional services; 

3 (3) housing assistance; 

4 (4) adoption services; 

5 (5) education and employment assistance; 

6 · (6) child care assistance; and 

7 (7) parenting education and support services, including 

8 services that support the continuation and completion of high 

9 school. 

10 An applicant may not provide or assist a woman to obtain 

11 adoption services from a provider of adoption services that is 

12 not accredited. 

13 (b) In addition to providing information and referral under 

14 paragraph (a), an eligible program may provide one or more of 

15 the necessary services under paragraph (a) that assists women in 

16 carrying their pregnancies to term. To avoid duplication of 

17 efforts, grantees may refer to other public or private programs, 

18 rather than provide the care directly, if a woman meets 

19 eligibility criteria for the other programs. 

20 (c) To be eligible for a grant, an agency or organization 

21 must: 

22 (1) be a private, nonprofit organization; 

23 (2) demonstrate that the program is conducted under 

24 appropriate supervision; 

25 (3) not charge women for services provided under the 

26 program; 

27 (4) provide each pregnant woman counseled with accurate 

28 information on the developmental characteristics of unborn 

29 children, including offering the printed information described 

30 in section 145.4243; 

31 (5) ensure that its alternatives to abortion program's 

32 purpose ·is to assist and encourage women in carrying their 

33 pregnancies to term and to maximize their potentials thereafter; 

34 and 

35 (6) ensure that none of the funds provided is used to 

36 encourage a woman to have an abortion not necessary to prevent 

Section 1 2 
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1 her death or to provide her an abortion. 

2 (d) The provisions, words, phrases, and clauses of 

3 paragraph (cl are inseverable from this subdivision, and if any 

4 provision, word, phrase, or clause of paragraph (c) or the 

5 application thereof to any person or circumstance is held 

6 invalid, such invalidity shall apply to all of this subdivision. 

7 (e) An organization that provides abortions, promotes 

8 abortions, or encourages or arranges for abortions is ineligible 

9 to receive a grant under this program. An affiliate of an 

10 organization that provides abortions, promotes abortions, or 

11 encourages or arranges for abortions is ineligible to receive a 

12 grant under this section unless the organizations are separately 

13 incorporated and independent from each other. To be 

14 independent, the organizations may not share any of the 

15 following: 

16 (1) the same or a similar name; 

17 (2) medical facilities or nonmedical facilities, including 

18 but not limited to, business offices, treatment rooms, 

19 consultation rooms, examination rooms, and waiting rooms; 

20 (3) expenses; 

21 (4) employee wages or salaries; or 

22 (5) equipment or supplies, including but not limited to, 

23 computers, telephone systems, telecommunications equipment, and 

24 office supplies. 

25 (f) An organization that receives a grant under this 

26 section and that is affiliated with an organization that 

27 provides abortion services must maintain financial records that 

28 demonstrate strict compliance with this subdivision and that 

29 demonstrate that its independent affiliate that provides 

30 abortion services receives no direct or indirect economic or 

31 marketing benefit from the grant under this section. 

32 Subd. 3. [PRIVACY PROTECTION.] Any program receiving a 

33 grant under this section must have a privacy policy and 

34 procedures in place that ensure that the name, address, 

35 telephone number; or any other information that might identify 

36 any woman seeking the services of the program shall not be made 

Section 1 
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1 public or shared with any other agency er organization without 

2 the written consent of the woman and all communications between 

3 the program and the woman must remain confidential. For 

4 purposes of any medical care provided by the program, including, 

5 but not limited to, pregnancy tests or ultrasonic scanning, the 

6 program must adhere to the requirements in section 144.335 that 

7 apply to providers before releasing any information relating to 

8 the medical care provided. 

9 Subd. 4. [DUTIES OF COMMISSIONER.] The commissioner of 

10 health shall make grants under subdi~ision 2 beginning no later 

11 than July 1, 2006. In awarding.grants, the commissioner shall 

12 consider the program's demonstrated ·capacity in providing 

13 services to assist a pregnant woman in carrying her pregnancy to 

14 term. The commissioner shall monitor and review the programs of 

15 each grantee to ensure that the grantee carefully adheres to the 

16 purposes and requirements of subdivision 2 and shall cease 

17 funding a grantee that fails to do so. 

18 Subd. 5. [SEVERABILITY.] Except as provided in subdivision 

19 2, paragraph {d), if any provision, word, phrase, or clause of 

20 this section or the application thereof to any person or 

21 circumstance is held invalid, such invalidity shall not affect 

22 the provisions, words, phrases, clauses, or applications of this 

23 section that can be given effect without the invalid provision, 

24 word, phrase, clause," or application and to this end, the 

25 provisions, words, phrases, and clauses of this section are 

26 declared to be severable. 

27 Sec. 2. [APPROPRIATIONS; COMMUNITY HEALTH AND FAMILY 

28 PROMOTION.] 

29 Of the general fund appropriation in fiscal year 2007, 

30 $2,500,000 is for positive abortion alternatives under Minnesota 
. -

31 Statutes, section 145.4231. Of this amount, $100,000 may be 

32 used for administrative costs of implementing the grant 

33 program. An additional $50,000 is appropriated from the general 

34 fund to the commissioner of health in fiscal year' 2006 for 

35 administrative costs of program implementation. 
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1 To: Senator Cohen, Chair 

2 Committee on Finance 

3 Senator Berglin, 

4 Chair of the Health and Human Services Budget Division, to 
5 which was ref erred 

6 S.F. No. 917: A bill for an act relating to health; 
7 providing for grants related to positive abortion alternatives; 
8 appropriating money; proposing coding for new law in Minnesota 
9 Statutes, chapter 145. 

10 Reports the same back with the recommendation that the bill 
11 be amended as follows: 

12 Delete everything after the enacting clause and insert: 

13 "Section 1. [127A.145] [POSITIVE ABORTION ALTERNATIVES.] 

14 Subdivision 1. [DEFINITIONS.] For purposes of this 

15 section, "abortion" means the use of any means to terminate the 

16 pregnancy of a woman known to be pregnant with knowledge that 

17 the termination with those means will, with reasonable 

18 likelihood, cause the death of the unborn child. For purposes 

19 of this section, abortion does not include an abortion necessary 

20 to prevent the death of the mother. 

21 Subd. 2. [ELIGIBILITY FOR GRANTS.] (a) The commissioner of 

22 education shall award grants to eligible applicants under 

23 paragraph (c) for the reasonable expenses of alternatives to 

24 abortion programs to support, encourage, and assist women in 

25 carrying their pregnancies to term by providing information on, 

26 referral to, and assistance with securing necessary services 

27 that enable women to carry their pregnancies to term. Necessary 

28 services include, but are not limited to: 

29 (1) medical care; 

30 

31 

32 

(2) nutritional services; 

(3) housing assistance; 

(4) adoption services; 

33 

34 

(5) education and employment assistance; 

(6) child care assistance; and 

35 (7) parenting education and support services, including 

36 services that support the continuation and completion of high 

17 school. 

38 An applicant may not provide or assist a woman to obtain 

1 
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1 adoption services from a provider of adoption services that is 

2 not accredited. 

3 (b) In addition to providing information and referral under 

4 paragraph (a), an eligible program may provide one or more of 

5 the necessary services under paragraph (a) that assists women in 

6 carrying their pregnancies to term. To avoid duplication of 

7 efforts, grantees may refer to other public or private programs, 

8 rather than provide the care directly, if a woman meets 

9 eligibility criteria for the other programs. 

10 (c) To be eligible for a grant, an agency or organization 

11 must: 

12 (1) be a private, nonprofit organization; 

13· (2) demonstrate that the program is conducted under 

14 appropriate supervision; 

15 (3) not charge women for services provided under the 

16 program; 

17 (4) provide each pregnant woman counseled with accurate 

18 information on the developmental characteristics of unborn 

19 chiidren, including offering the printed information described 

20 in section 145.4243; 

21 (5) ensure that its alternatives to abortion program's 

22 purpose is to assist and encourage women in carrying their 

23 pregnancies to term and to maximize their potentials thereafter; 

24 and 

25 (6) ensure that none of the funds provided is used to 

26 encourage a woman to have an abortion not necessary to prevent 

27 her death or to provide her an abortion. 

28 (d) The provisions, words, phrases, and clauses of 

29 paragraph (c) are inseverable from this subdivision, and if any 

30 provision, word, phrase, or clause of paragraph (c) or the 

31 application thereof to any person or circumstance is held 

32 invalid, such invalidity shall apply to all of this subdivision. 

33 (e) An organization that provides abortions, promotes 

34 abortions, or encourages or arranges for abortions is ineligible 

35 to receive a grant under this program. An affiliate of an 

36 organization that provides abortions, promotes abortions, or 

2 
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1 encourages or arranges for abortions is ineligible to receive a 

2 grant under this section unless the organizations are separately 

3 incorporated and independent from each other. To be 

4 independent, the organizations may not share any of the 

5 following: 

6 (1) the same or a similar name; 

7 (2) medical facilities or nonmedical facilities, including 

a but not limited to, business offices, treatment rooms, 

9 consultation rooms, examination rooms, and waiting rooms; 

10 (3) expenses; 

11 (4) employee wages or salaries; or 

12 (5) equipment or supplies, including but not limited to, 

13 computers, telephone systems, telecommunications equipment, and 

14 office supplies. 

15 (f) An organization that receives a grant under this 

16 section and that is affiliated with an organization that 

17 provides abortion services must maintain financial records that 

18 demonstrate strict compliance with this subdivision and that 

19 demonstrate that its independent affiliate that provides 

20 abortion services receives no direct or indirect economic or 

21 marketing benefit from the grant under this section. 

22 (g) If an organization or agency receiving a grant under 

23 this section provides information on abortion, the information 

24 provided must be objective, nonjudgmental, and designed to 

25 convey only accurate scientific information. The commissioner 

26 of education, in consultation with the commissioner of health, 

27 shall approve any information provided by a grantee on the 

28 health risks associated with abortions to ensure that the 

29 information meets this requirement. 

30 Subd. 3. [PRIVACY PROTECTION.] (a) Any program receiving a 

31 grant under this section must have a privacy policy and 

32 procedures in place that ensure that the name, address, 

33 telephone number, or any other information that might identify 

34 any woman seeking the services of the program shall not be made 

5 public or shared with any other agency or organization without 

36 the written consent of the woman and all communications between 

3 
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1 the program and the woman must remain confidential. For 

2 purposes of any medical care provided by the program, including, 

3 but not limited to, pregnancy tests or ultrasonic scanning, the 

4 program must adhere to the requirements in section 144.335 that 

5 apply to providers before releasing any information relating to 

6 the medical care provided. 

7 (b) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), the commissioner of 

8 education shall have access to any information necessary to 

9 monitor and review a grantee's program as required under 

10 subdivision 4. 

11 Subd. 4. [DUTIES OF COMMISSIONER.] The commissioner of 

12 education shall make grants under subdivision 2 beginning no 

13 later than July 1, 2006. In awarding grants, the commissioner 

14 shall consider the program's demonstrated capacity in providing 

15 services to assist a ·pregnant woman in carrying her pregnancy to 

16 term. The commissioner shall monitor and review the programs of 

17 each grantee to ensure that the grantee carefully adheres to the 

18 purposes and requirements of subdivision 2 and shall cease 

19 funding a grantee that fails to do so. 

20 Subd. 5. [SEVERABILITY.] Except as provided in subdivision 

21 2, paragraph (d), if any provision, word, phrase, or clause of 

22 this section or the application thereof to any person or 

23 circumstance is held invalid, such invalidity shall not affect 

24 the provisions, words, phrases, clauses, or applications of this 

25 section that can be given effect without the invalid provision, 

26 word, phrase, clause, or application and to this end, the 

27 provisions, words, phrases, and clauses of this section are 

28 declared to be severable. 

29 Sec. 2. [APPROPRIATIONS; COMMUNITY HEALTH AND FAMILY 

30 PROMOTION.] 

31 Of the general fund appropriation in fiscal year 2007, 

32 $2,500,000 is for positive abortion alternatives under Minnesota 

33 Statutes, section 127A.145. Of this amount, $100,000 may be 

34 used for administrative costs of implementing the grant 

35 program. An additional $50,000 is appropriated from the general 

36 fund to the commissioner of education in fiscal year 2006 for 

4 
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1 administrative costs of program implementation." 

2 Delete the title and insert: 

3 "A bill for an act relating to health; providing for grants 
4 related to positive abortion alternatives; appropriating money; 
5 proposing coding for new law in Minnesota Statutes, chapter 
6 127A. H 

7 And when so amended that the bill be recommended to pass 
8 and be referred to the full committee. 

9 
10 ( 
11 
12 April 18, 2005 ................... . 
13 (Date of Division action) 
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1 To: Senator Cohen, Chair 

2 Committee on Finance 

3 Senator Stumpf, 

4 Chair of the K-12 Education Budget Division, to which was 
5 ref erred 

6 S.F. No. 917: A bill for an act relating to health; 
7 providing for grants related to positive abortion alternatives; 
8 appropriating money; proposing coding for new law in Minnesota 
9 Statutes, chapter 145. 

10 Reports the same back with the recommendation that the bill 
11 be amended as follows: 

12 Delete everything after the enacting clause and insert: 

13 "Section 1. [127A.145] [POSITIVE ABORTION ALTERNATIVES.] 

14 Subdivision 1. (DEFINITIONS.] For purposes of this 

15 section, "abortion" means the use of any means to terminate the 

16 pregnancy of a woman known to be pregnant with knowledge that 

17 the termination with those means will, with reasonable 

18 likelihood, cause the death of the unborn child. For purposes 

19 of this section, abortion does not include an abortion necessary 

20 to prevent the death of the mother. 

21 Subd. 2. [ELIGIBILITY FOR GRANTS.] (a) The commissioner of 

22 education shall award grants to eligible applicants under 

23 paragraph (c) for the reasonable expenses of alternatives to 

24 abortion programs to support, encourage, and assist women in 

25 carrying their pregnancies to term and caring.for their babies 

26 after birth by providing information on, referral to, and 

27 assistance with securing necessary services that enable women to 

28 carry their pregnancies to term and care for their babies after 

29 birth. Necessary services must include, but are not limited to: 

30 (1) medical care; 

31 (2) nutritional services; 

32 (3) housing assistance; 

33 (4) adoption services; 

34 (5) education and employment assistance; 

35 (6) child care assistance; and 

36 (7) parenting education and support services, including 

37 services that support the continuation and completion of high 

38 school. 

1 
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1 An applicant may not provide or assist a woman to obtain 

2 adoption services from a provider of adoption services that is 

3 not accredited. 

4 (b) In addition to providing information and referral under 

5 paragraph (a), an eligible program may provide one or more of 

6 the necessary services under paragraph (a) that assists women in 

7 carrying their pregnancies to term. To avoid duplication of 

8 efforts, grantees may refer to other public or private programs, 

9 rather than provide the care directly, if a woman meets 

10 eligibility criteria for the other programs. 

11 (c) To be eligible for a grant, an agency or organization 

12 must: 

13 (1) be a private, nonprofit organization; 

14 (2) demonstrate that the program is conducted under 

15 appropriate supervision; 

16 (3) not charge women for services provided under the 

17 program; 

18 (4) provide each pregnant woman counseled with accurate 

19 information on the developmental characteristics of babies and 

20 of unborn children, including offering the printed information 

21 described in section 145.4243; 

22 (5) ensure that its alternatives to abortion program's 

23 purpose is to assist and encourage women in carrying their 

24 pregnancies to term and to maximize their potentials thereafter; 

25 and 

26 (6) ensure that none of the funds provided is used to 

27 encourage a woman to have an abortion not necessary to prevent 

28 her death or to provide her an abortion. 

29 (d) The provisions, words, phrases, and clauses of 

30 paragraph (c) are inseverable from this subdivision, and if any 

31 provision, word, phrase, or clause of paragraph (c) or the 

32 application thereof to any person or circumstance is held 

33 invalid, such invalidity shall apply to all of this subdivision. 

34 (e) An organization that provides abortions, promotes 

35 abortions, or encourages or arranges for abortions is ineligible 

36 to receive a grant under this program. An affiliate of an 

2 
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1 organization that provides abortions, promotes abortions, or 

2 encourages or arranges for abortions is ineligible to receive a 

3 grant under this section unless the organizations are separately 

4 incorporated and independent from each other. To be 

5 independent, the organizations may not share any of the 

6 following: 

7 (1) the same or a similar name; 

8 (2) medical fac·ilities or nonmedical facilities, including 

9 but not limited to, business offices, treatment rooms, 

10 consultation rooms, examination rooms, and waiting rooms; 

11 

12 

13 

(3) expenses; 

(4) employee wages or salaries; or 

(5) equipment or supplies, including but not limited to, 

14 computers, telephone systems, telecommunications equipment, and 

15 office supplies. 

16 (f) An organization that receives a grant under this 

17 section and that is affiliated with an organization that 

18 provides abortion services must maintain financial records that 

19 demonstrate strict compliance with this subdivision and that 

20 demonstrate that its independent affiliate that provides 

21 abortion services receives no direct or indirect economic or 

22 marketing benefit from the grant under this section. 

23 (g) If an organization or agency receiving a grant under 

24 this section provides information on abortion, the information 

25 provided must be objective, nonjudgmental, and designed to 

26 convey only accurate scientific information. The commissioner 

27 of education, in consultation with the commissioner of health, 

28 shall approve any information provided by a grantee on the 

29 health risks associated with abortions to ensure that the 

30 information meets this requirement. 

31 Subd. 3. [PRIVACY PROTECTION.] (a) Any program receiving a 

32 grant under this section must have a privacy policy and 

33 procedures in plac~ that ensure that the name, address, 

34 telephone number, or any other information that might identify 

35 any woman seeking the services of the program shall not be made 

36 public or shared with any other agency or organization without 

3 
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1 the written consent of the woman and all communications between 

2 the program and the woman must remain confidential. For 

3 purposes of any medical care provided by the program, including, 

4 but not limited to, pregnancy tests or ultrasonic scanning, the 

5 program must adhere to the requirements in section 144.335 that 

6 apply to providers before releasing any information relating to 

7 the medical care provided. 

8 (b) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), the commissioner of 

9 education shall have access to any information necessary to 

10 monitor and review a grantee's program as required under 

11 subdivision 4. 

12 Subd. 4. [DUTIES OF COMMISSIONER.] The commissioner of 

13 

14 

15 

16 

17 

18 

19 

20 

21 

22 

23 

24 

25 

26 

27 

28 

29 

30 

31 

32 

33 

34 

35 

education shall make grants under subdivision 2 beginning no 

later than July 1, 2006. In awarding grants, the commissioner 

shall consider the program's demonstrated capacity in providing 

services to assist a pregnant woman in carrying her pregnancy to 

term. The commissioner shall monitor and review the programs of 

each grantee to ensure that the grantee carefully adheres to the 

purposes and requirements of subdivision 2 and shall cease 

funding a grantee that fails to do so. 

Subd. 5. [SEVERABILITY.] Except as provided in subdivision 

2, paragraph (d), if any provision, word, phrase, or clause of 

this section or the application thereof to any person or 

circumstance is held invalid, such invalidity shall not affect 

the provisions, words, phrases, clauses, or applications of this 

section that can be given effect without the invalid provision, 

word, phrase, clause, or application and to this end, the 

provisions, words, phrases, and clauses of this section are 

declared to be severable. 

Sec. 2. [APPROPRIATIONS; COMMUNITY HEALTH AND FAMILY 

PROMOTION.] 

Of the general fund appropriation in fiscal year 2007, 

$2,500,000 is for positive abortion alternatives under Minnesota 

Statutes, section 127A.145. Of this amount, $100,000 may be 

used for administrative costs of implementing the grant 

36 program. An additional $50,000 is appropriated from the general 

4 
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1 fund to the commissioner of education in fiscal year 2006 for 

2 administrative costs of program implementation." 

3 Delete the title and insert: 

4 "A bill for an act relating to health; providing for grants 
5 related to positive abortion alternatives; appropriating money; 
6 proposing coding for new law in Minnesota Statutes, chapter 
7 127A. II 

8 
9 

10 
11 
12 
13 
14 

and 
And when so amended that th~b' be recommended to pass 

be referred to the fu~~-co~·e· .. "'°~."Z<i-t.-~~"'...____, 
(Di~~ air) 

Apr i 1 2 0 , 2 0 0 5 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 
(Date of Division action) 
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05/03/05 [COUNSEL ] PSW/P SCS0917A19 

1 M ............... moves to amend the division report 
2 (SS0917DI1) on S.F. No. 917 as follows: 

3 Page 2, line 22, delete "alternatives to abortion" and 

4 insert "alternatives-to-abortion" 

5 Page 2, line 26, delete "funds" and insert "money" 

6 Page 2, lines 31 and 32, delete "the application thereof" 

7 and insert "its application" 

8 Page 2, line 33, delete "such invalidity shall apply" and 

9 insert "the invalidity applies" 

10 Page 3, line 33, delete the first "that" and insert 11 to 11 

11 Page 3, line 35, delete "shall not be" and insert "is not" 

12 Page 4, line 1, delete "and" and insert a period 

13 Page 4, line 9, delete "shall have" and insert "has" 

14 Page 4, line 23, delete "the application thereof" and 

15 insert "its application" 

16 Page 4, line 24, delete "such invalidity shall" and insert " 

17 the invalidity does" 

18 Page 4, line 29, delete "declared to be" 

1 



05/03/05 SAMS [COUNSEL ] KC/PSW SCS0917A21 

1 Senator ..... moves to amend the division report 
2 (SS0917DI1) on S.F. No. 917 as follows: 

3 Page 1, line 34, before the semicolon, insert ", including 

4 services that support the continuation and completion of high 

5 school" 

6 Page 1, line 36, delete II including" , 

7 Page 1, delete line 37 

8 Page 1, line 38, delete "school" 

9 Page 2, line 3, delete "accredited" and insert "licensed" 

10 Pages 4 and 5, delete section 2 and insert: 

11 "Sec. 2. [APPROPRIATIONS; COMMUNITY HEALTH AND FAMILY 

12 PROMOTION.] 

13 $2,500,000 is appropriated from the general fund to the 

14 commissioner of education for positive abortion alternatives 

15 under new Minnesota Statutes, section 127A.145. Of this amount, 

16 $50,000 is available for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2006, 

17 and $100,000 is available for the fiscal year ending June 30, 

18 2007, for administrative costs of implementing the grant 

19 program. The balance of the appropriation is available for the 

20 fiscal year ending June 30, 2007." 

1 
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1 Senator Cohen from the Committee on Finance, to which was 
2 ref erred 

3 S.F. No. 1378: A bill for an act relating to health; 
4 modifying medical education funding provisions; amending 
5 Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 62J.692, subdivisions 3, 4, 7. 

6 Reports the same back with the recommendation that the bill 
7 do pass. Report adopted. 

8 

9 

10 
11 
12 
13 
14 

(Co ittee Chair) 

May 3, 2 0 05 ...................... . 
(Date of Committee recommendation) 
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Senator Kiscaden introduced--

S.F. No.1378: Referred to the Committee on Finance. 

1 A bill for an act 

2 relating to health; modifying medical education 
3 funding provisions; amending Minnesota Statutes 2004, 
4 section 62J.692, subdivisions 3, 4, 7. 

5 BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF MINNESOTA: 

6 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 62J.692, 

7 subdivision 3, is amended to read: 

8 Subd. 3. [APPLICATION PROCESS.] (a) A clinical medical 

9 education program conducted in Minnesota by a teaching 

10 institution to train physicians, doctor of pharmacy 

11 practitioners, dentists, chiropractors, or physician assistants 

12 is eligible for funds under subdivision 4 if the program: 

13 (1) is funded, in part, by patient care revenues; 

14 (2) occurs in patient care settings that face increased 

15 financial pressure as a result of competition with nonteaching 

16 patient care entities; and 

17 (3) emphasizes primary care· or specialties that are in 

18 undersupply in Minnesota. 

19 (b) A clinical medical education program for advanced 

20 practice nursing is eligible for funds under subdivision 4 if 

21 the program meets the eligibility requirements in paragraph (a), 

22 clauses (1) to (3), and is sponsored by the University of 

23 Minnesota Academic Health Center, the Mayo Foundation, or 

24 institutions that are part of the Minnesota State Colleges and 

25 Universities system or members of the Minnesota Private College 

Section 1 1 
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1 Council. 

2 (c) Applications must be submitted to the commissioner by a 

3 sponsoring institution on behalf of an eligible clinical medical 

4 education program and must be received by October 31 of each 

5 year for distribution in the following year. An application for 

6 funds must contain the following information: 

7 (1) the official name and address of the sponsoring 

8 institution and the official name and site address of .the 

9 clinical medical education programs on whose behalf the 

10 sponsoring institution is applying; 

11 (2) the name, title, and business address of those persons 

12 responsible for administering the funds; 

13 (3) for each clinical medical education program for which 

14 funds are being sought; the type and specialty orientation of 

15 trainees in the program; the name, site address, and medical 

16 assistance provider number of each training site used in the 

17 program; the total number of trainees at each training site; and 

18 the total number of eligible trainee FTEs at each site.--en%y 

19 ehese-ere±n±ng-s±ees-ehee-hese-9.5-P~E-er-mere-ei±g±bie-ere±nees 

20 £er-e-pregrem-mey-be-±ne%ttdee-±n-ehe-pregremis-eppi±eee±en; and 

21 (4) other supporting information the commissioner deems 

22 necessary to determine program eligibility based on the criteria 

23 in paragraphs (a) and (b) and to ensure the equitable 

24 distribution of funds. 

25 (d) An application must include the information specified 

26 in clauses (1) to (3) for each clinical medical education 

27 program on an annual basis for three consecutive years. After 

28 that time, an application must include the information specified 

29 in clauses (1) to (3) ±n-ehe-£±rse-yeer-e£-eeeh-b±enn±ttm when 

30 requested, at the discretion of the commissioner: 

31 (1) audited clinical training costs per trainee for each 

32 clinical medical education program when available or estimates 

33 of clinical training costs based on audited financial data; 

34 (2) a description of current sources of funding for 

35 clinical medical education costs, including a description and 

36 dollar amount of all state and federal financial support, 
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1 including Medicare direct and indirect payments; and 

2 (3) other revenue received for the purposes of clinical 

3 training. 

4 (e) An applicant that does not provide information 

5 requested by the commissioner shall not be eligible for funds 

6 for the current funding cycle. 

7 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 62J.692, 

8 subdivision 4, is amended to read: 

9 Subd. 4. [DISTRIBUTION OF FUNDS.] (a) The commissioner 

10 shall annually distribute 90 percent of available medical 

11 education funds to all qu~lifying applicants based on a 

12 distribution formula that reflects a summation of two factors: 

13 (1) an education factor, which is determined by the total 

14 number of eligible trainee FTEs and the total statewide average 

15 costs per trainee, by type of trainee, in each clinical medical 

16 education program; and 

17 (2) a public program volume factor,.which is determined by 

18 the total volume of public program revenue received by each 

19 training site as a percentage of all public program revenue 

20 receiv~d by all training sites in the fund po61. 

21 In this formula, the education factor is weighted at 67 

22 percent and the public program volume factor is w~ighted at 33 

23 percent. 

24 Public program revenue for the distribution formula 

25 includes revenue from medical assistance, prepaid medical 

26 assistance, general assistance medical care, and prepaid general 

27 assistance medical care. Training sites that receive no public 

28 program revenue are ineligible for funds available under this 

29 paragraph. Total statewide average costs per trainee for 

30 medical residents is based on audited clinical training costs 

31 per trainee in primary care clinical medical education programs 

32 for medical residents. Total statewide average costs per 

33 trainee for dental residents is based on audited clinical 

34 training costs per trainee in clinical medical education 

35 programs for dental students. Total statewide average costs per 

36 trainee for pharmacy residents is based on audited clinical 
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l training costs per trainee in clinical medical education 

2 programs for pharmacy students. 

3 (b) The ~ommissioner shall annually distribute ten percent 

4 of total available medical education funds to all qualifying 

5 applicants based on the percentage received by each applicant 

6 under paragraph (a). These funds are to be used to offset 

7 clinical education costs at eligible clinical training sites 

8 based on criteria developed by the clinical medical education 

9 program. Applicants may choose to distribute funds allocated 

10 under this paragraph based on the distribution formula described 

11 in paragraph (a). Appi±eaftes-may-aiso-enoose-eo-d±ser±bttee 

12 £ttnds-eo-ei±n±eai-era±n±ng-s±ees-w±en-a-~ai±d-M±nftesoea-med±eai 

13 ass±seanee-±deftt±£±eae±on-ftttmber-enae-nose-£ewer-enan-a.s 

14 ei±g±bie-era±ftee-P~Es-£or-a-ei±n±eai-med±eai-edtteae±on-program. 

15 (c) Funds distributed shall not be used to displace current 

16 funding appropriations from federal or state sources. 

17 (d) Funds shall be distributed to the sponsoring 

18 institutions indicating the amount to be distributed to each of 

19 the sponsor's clinical medical education programs based on the 

20 criteria in this subdivision and in accordance with the 

21 commissioner's approval letter. Each clinical medical education 

22 program must distribute funds allocated under paragraph (a) to 

23 the training sites as specified in the commissioner's approval 

24 letter. Sponsoring institutions, which are accredited through 

25 an organization recognized by the Department of Education or the 

26 Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services, may contract 

27 directly with training sites to provide clinical training. To 

28 ensure the quality of clinical training, those accredited 

29 sponsoring institutions must: 

30 (1) develop contracts specifying the terms, expectations, 

31 and outcomes of the clinical training conducted at sites; and 

32 (2) take necessary action if the contract requirements are 

33 not met. Action may include the withholding of payments under 

34 this section or the removal of students from the site. 

35 {e) Any funds not distributed in accordance with the 

36 commissioner's approval letter must be returned to the medical 
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1 education and research fund within 30 days of receiving notice 

2 from the commissioner. The commissioner shall distribute 

3 returned funds to the appropriate training sites in accordance 

4 with the commissioner's approval letter. 

5 (f) The commissioner shall distribute by June 30 of each 

6 year an amount equal to the funds transferred under subdivision 

7 10, plus five percent interest to the University of Minnesota 

8 Board of Regents for the instructional costs of health 

9 professional programs at the Academic Health Center and for 

10 interdisciplinary academic initiatives within the Academic 

11 Health Center. 

12 (g) A maximum of $150,000 of the funds dedicated to the 

13 commissioner under section 297F.10, subdivision 1, paragraph 

14 (b), clause (2), may be used by the commissioner for 

15 administrative expenses associated with implementing this 

16 section. 

17 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 62J.692,. 

18 subdivision 7, is amended to read:· 

19 Subd. 7. [TRANSFERS FROM THE COMMISSIONER OF HUMAN 

20 SERVICES.] (a) The amount transferred according to section 

21 256B.69, subdivision Sc, paragraph (a), clause (1), shall be 

22 distributed by the commissioner annually to clinical medical 

23 education programs that meet the qualifications of subdivision 3 

24 based on the formula in subdivision 4, paragraph (a). 

25 (b) Fifty percent of the amount transferred according to 

26 section 2S6B.69, subdivision Sc, paragraph (a), clause (2), 

27 shall be distributed by the commissioner to the University of 

28 Minnesota Board of Regents for the purposes described in 

29 sections 137.38 to 137.40. Of the remaining amount transferred 

30 according to section 2S6B.69, subdivision Sc, paragraph (a), 

31 clause (2), 24 percent of the amount shall be distributed by the 

32 commissioner to the Hennepin County Medical Center for clinical 

33 medical education. The remaining 26 percent of the amount 

34 transferred shall be distributed by the commissioner in 

35 accordance with subdivision 7a. If the federal approval is not 

36 obtained for the matching funds under section 2S6B.69, 
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1 subdivision Sc, paragraph (a), clause (2), 100 percent of the 

2 amount transferred under this paragraph shall be distributed by 

3 the commissioner to the University of Minnesota Board of Regents 

4 for the purposes described in sections 137.38 to 137.40. 

5 (c) The amount transferred according to section 256B.69, 

6 subdivision Sc, paragraph (a), e~attse clauses (3) and (4°>, shall 

7 be distributed by the commissioner upon receipt to the 

8 University of Minnesota Board of Regents for the purposes of 

9 clinical graduate medical education. 

6 
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1 To: Senator Cohen, Chair 

2 Committee on Finance 

3 Senator Berglin, 

4 Chair of the Health and Human Services Budget Division, to 
5 which was ref erred 

6 S.F. No. 1378: A bill for an act relating to health; 
7 modifying medical education funding provisions; amending 
8 Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 62J.692, subdivisions 3, 4, 7. 

9 Reports the same back with the recommendation that the bill 
10 do pass and be referred to the full committee. 

11 

12 

13 
14 
15 
16 
17 

March 16, 2 005 ................... . 
(Date of Division action) 
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Consolidated Fiscal Note - 2005-06 Session 

Bill#: S1378-0 Complete Date: 03/15/05 

Chief Author: KISCADEN, SHEILA 

Title: MEDICAL EDUCATION FUNDING PROVISIONS 

Agencies: Health Dept (03/15/05) 

Fiscal Impact 
State 

Local 

Fee/Departmental Earnings 

Tax Revenue 

Human Services Dept (03/15/05) 

Yes No 
x 
x 
x 
x 

Th. t bl fl fi I . tt t t t L 1s a e re ects 1sca 1mpac o s a e Qovemmen . t. t• fl td" th oca Qovemmen 1mpac 1s re ec e m f e narra 1ve orny. 
Dollars (in thousands) FYOS 

Net Expenditures 
- No Impact-

Revenues 
-No Impact-

Net Cost <Savings> 
-No Impact-
Total Cost<Savings> to the State 

FY05 
Full Time Equivalents 

-No Impact-
Total FTE 

Consolidated EBO Comments 

I have reviewed this Fiscal Note for accuracy and content. 

EBO Signature: CRAIG WIEBER 
Date: 03/15/05 Phone: 282-5065 
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Fiscal Note - 2005-06 Session 

Bill#: S1378-0 Complete Date: 03/15/05 

Chief Author: KISCADEN, SHEILA 

Title: MEDICAL EDUCATION FUNDING PROVISIONS 

Agency Name: Health Dept 

Fiscal Impact 
State 

Local 
Fee/Departmental Earnings 

Tax Revenue 

Yes No 
x 
x 
x 
x 

Th. t bl fl fi I . fl d" th 1s a e re ects 1sca impact to state government. Local government impact 1s re ecte 1n f e narra 1ve omv. 
Dollars (in thousands) FY05 FY06 FY07 FYOS FY09 

Expenditures 
- No Impact --

less Agency Can ·Absorb 
-No Impact-

Net Expenditures 
-- No Impact -

Revenues 
-No Impact-

Net Cost <Savings> 
-No Impact--
Total Cost <Savings> to the State 

FYOS FY06 FY07 FY08 FY09 
Full Time Equivalents 

-No Impact-
Tot~I FTE 
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Bill Description 

Sec. 1 - Changes to MERC application 
Strikes language limiting eligibility for MERC to training sites hosting at least 0.5 FTE clinical trainees from an 
applicant program. Changes collection of cost data through the MERC application from the first year of each 
biennium to 'upon request,' at a frequency that is at the discretion of the Commissioner. 

Sec. 2 - Distribution of MERC funds 
Removes language specifying that sponsoring institutions may use funds from the 10% discretionary pool to 
reimburse sites that host fewer than 0.5 FTE clinical trainees from an applicant program; with the elimination of 
the 0.5 FTE cutoff under section 1, this clause is no longer necessary. 

Sec. 3 - Transfers from DHS 
Makes a technical change to language describing transfers that occur between DHS and MOH, to include funds 
transferred under MN Statute 2568.69, subdivision 5c, paragraph {a), clause (4). 

Assumptions 

There is no fiscal impact from these changes. MERC staff will continue to collect data through MERC 
applications and distribute funds annually per the statute, with no staffing or administrative changes required. 
Change under section 3 does not increase or decrease the amount of funding available for MERC. 

Expenditure and/or Revenue Formula 

None 

Long-Term Fiscal Considerations 

None 

Agency Contact Name: Scott Leitz (651-282-6361) 
FN Coord Signature: MARGARET KELLY 
Date: 03/07/05 Phone: 281-9998 

EBO Comments 

I have reviewed this Fiscal Note for accuracy and content. 

EBO Signature: CRAIG WIEBER 
Date: 03/15/05 Phone: 282-5065 
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Fiscal Note - 2005-06 Session 

Bm #: S1378-0 Complete Date: 03/15/05 

Chief Author: KISCADEN, SHEILA 

Title: MEDICAL EDUCATION FUNDING PROVISIONS 

Agency Name: Human Services Dept 

Fiscal Impact 
State 

Local 

Fee/Departmental Earnings 

Tax Revenue 

Yes No 
x 
x 
x 
x 

T bl fl fi fl his ta e re ects seal impact to state government. Local government impact is re ected in the narrative only. 
Dollars (in thousands) FY05 FY06 FY07 FY08 FY09 

Expenditures 
-No Impact-

Less Agency Can Absorb 
- No Impact --

Net Expenditures 
-No Impact-

Revenues 
-No Impact-

Net Cost <Savings> 
-No Impact-
Total Cost <Savings> to the State 

FY05 FY06 FY07 FY08 FY09 
Full Time Equivalents 

-No Impact-
Total FTE 
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NARRATIVE: SF 1378 

Bill Description 

This bill modifies the criteria that the health department follows for the distribution of medical education funds. It 
also updates statutory references to current law. 

This bill does not affect the medical education payments by the department of human services to the health 
department and therefore has no fiscal impact on the department of human services. 

Assumptions 

Expenditure and/or Revenue Formula 

long-Term Fiscal Considerations 

local Government Costs 

References/Sources 

Agency Contact Name: Paul Olson 296-5620 
FN Coord Signature: STEVE BARTA 
Date: 03/07/05 Phone: 296-5685 

EBO Comments 

I have reviewed this Fiscal Note for accuracy and content. 

EBO Signature: KATIE BURNS 
Date: 03/15/05 Phone: 296-7289 
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1 Senator Cohen from the Committee on Finance, to which was 
2 re-ref erred 

3 S.F. No. 1204: A bill for an act relating to health; 
4 recodifying statutes and rules relating to social work; 
5 authorizing rulemaking; providing penalties; modifying 
6 provisions relating to physical therapists; providing penalties; 
7 modifying the Psychology Practice Act; phasing out licensure as 
8 a licensed psychological practitioner; modifying dental 
9 licensure provisions; establishing fees; modifying provisions 

10 for licensed professional counselors; authorizing certain 
11 rulemaking; modifying physician review; modifying information 
12 contained on prescriptions; providing recognition for the 
13 practice of respiratory therapy in emergency situations; 
14 providing that audiologists need not obtain hearing instrument 
15 dispenser certification; providing penalties; transferring 
16 oversight authority for the Office of Mental Health Practice; 
17 requiring a report; establishing penalty fees for certain 
18 credentialed health occupations; providing criminal penalties; 
19 appropriating money; amending Minnesota Statutes 2004, sections 
20 13.383, subdivision 10; 13.411, subdivision 5; 144.335, 
21 subdivision 1; 144A.46, subdivision 2; 147.09; 147A.18, 
22 subdivisions 1, 3; 147C.05; 148.512, subdivision 6, by adding 
23 subdivisions; 148.515, by adding a subdivision; 148.5194, by 
24 adding subdivisions; 148.5195, subdivision 3; 148.6445, by 
25 adding a subdivision; 148.65, by adding subdivisions; 148.706; 
26 148.75; 148.89, subdivision 5; 148.90, subdivision 1; 148.907, 
27 by adding a subdivision; 148.908, subdivision 2, by adding a 
28 subdivision; 148.909; 148.916, subdivision 2; 148.925, 
29 subdivision 6; 148.941, subdivision 2; 148.96, subdivision 3; 
30 148B.53, subdivisions 1, 3; 148B.54, subdivision 2; 148B.59; 
31 148B.60; 148B.61; 148C.03, subdivision 1; 148C.04, subdivisions 
32 3, 4, 6; 148C.091, subdivision 1; 148C.10, subdivision 2; 
33 148C.ll, subdivisions 1, 4, 5, 6; 148C.12, subdivision 3, by 
34 adding a subdivision; 150A.Ol, subdivision 6a; 150A.06, 
35 subdivision la; 150A.10, subdivision la; 153A.13, subdivision 5; 
36 153A.14, subdivisions 2i, 4, 4c; 153A.15, subdivision 1; 
37 153A.20, subdivision 1; 214.01, subdivision 2; 214.103, 
38 subdivision l; 245.462, subdivision 18; 245.4871, subdivision 
39 27; 256B.0625, subdivision 38; 256J.08, subdivision 73a; 
40 319B.02, subdivision 19; 319B.40; Laws 2003, chapter 118, 
41 section 29, as amended; proposing coding for new law in 
42 Minnesota Statutes, chapters 148; 148B; 148C; 150A; 153A; 
43 providing coding for new law as Minnesota Statutes, chapter 
44 1480; repealing Minnesota Statutes 2004, sections 148B.18; 
45 148B.185; 148B.19; 148B.20; 148B.21; 148B.215; 148B.22; 
46 148B.224; 148B.225; 148B.226; 148B.24; 148B.25; 148B.26; 
47 148B.27; 148B.28; 148B.281; 148B.282; 148B.283; 148B.284; 
48 148B.285; 148B.286; 148B.287; 148B.288; 148B.289; 148C.02; 
49 148C.12, subdivision 4; 153A.14, subdivision 2a; Minnesota 
50 Rules, parts 4747.0030, subparts 11, 16; 4747.1200; 4747.1300; 
51 5601.0100, subparts 3, 4; 8740.0100; 8740.0110; 8740.0120; 
52 8740.0122; 8740.0130; 8740.0155; 8740.0185; 8740.0187; 
53 8740.0200; 8740.0240; 8740.0260; 8740.0285; 8740.0300; 
54 8740.0310; 8740.0315; 8740.0320; 8740.0325; 8740.0330; 
55 8740.0335; 8740.0340; 8740.0345. 

56 Reports the same back with the recommendation that the bill 
57 be amended as follows: 

58 Page 11, line 33, after the period, insert "The employment 

59 of the executive director shall be subject to the terms 

60 described in section 214.04, subdivision 2a." 

61 Page 12, lines 32 and 33, delete "and criminal prosecution" 

62 Page 59, after line 19, insert: 

63 "Subd. 8. [TEMPORARY FEE REDUCTION.] For fiscal years 

1 
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1 2006, 2007, 2008, and 2009, the following fee changes are 

2 effective: 

3 (1) in subdivision 1, the application fee for a licensed 

4 independent social worker is reduced to $45; 

5 (2) in subdivision 1, the application fee for a licensed 

6 independent clinical social worker is reduced to $45; 

7 (3) in subdivision 1, the application fee for a licensure 

8 by endorsement is reduced to $85; 

9 (4) in subdivision 2, the license fee for a licensed social 

10 worker is reduced to $90; 

11 (5) in subdivision 2, the license fee for a licensed 

12 graduate social worker is reduced to $160; 

13 (6) in subdivision 2, the license fee for a licensed 

14 independent social worker is reduced to $240; 

15 (7) in subdivision 2, the license fee for a licensed 

16 independent clinical social worker is reduced to $265; 

17 (8) in subdivision 3, the renewal fee for a licensed social 

18 worker is reduced to $90; 

19 (9) in subdivision 3, the renewal fee for a licensed 

20 graduate social worker is reduced to $160; 

21 (10) in subdivision 3, the renewal fee for a licensed 

22 independent social worker is reduced to $240; 

23 (11) in subdivision 3, the renewal fee for a licensed 

24 independent clinical social worker is reduced to $265; and 

25 (12) in subdivision 5, the renewal late fee is reduced to 

26 one-third of the renewal fee specified in subdivision 3. 

27 This subdivision expires on June 30, 2009. 11 

28 Page 74, line 25, after the period, insert "Financial 

29 responsibility for failed appointment billings resides solely 

30 with the client and such costs may not be billed to public or 

31 private payers." 

32 Page 105, delete section 13 

33 Page 120, delete lines 18 to 21 and insert: 

34 "The dental hygienist sl=ta3:3:-Hei:-~er:Eerm may administer 

35 injections of local anesthetic agents or i:he-adm~n~serae~en-e:E 

36 nitrous oxide ttH3:ess-ttHaer-ehe-~Ha~reee-stt~erv~s~eH 
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1 e£ inhalation analgesia as specifically delegated in the 

2 collaborative agreement with a licensed dentist. The dentist 

3 need not first examine the patient or be present. If the 

4 patient is considered medically compromised, the collaborative 

5 dentist shall review the patient record, including the medical 

6 history, prior to the provision of these services. 

7 Collaborating dental hygienists may work with" 

8 Pages 147 to 160, delete article 7 and insert: 

9 "ARTICLE 7 

10 COMMISSIONER OF HEALTH - AUDIOLOGISTS 

11 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 148.512, 

12 subdivision 6, is amended to read: 

13 Subd. 6. [AUDIOLOGIST.] "Audiologist" means a natural 

14 person who engages in the practice of audiology, meets the 

15 qualifications required by sections 148.511 to ~48·5~96 

16 148.5198, and is licensed by the commissioner under a general, 

17 clinical fellowship, doctoral externship, or temporary license. 

18 Audiologist also means a natural person using any descriptive 

19 word with the title audiologist. 

20 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 148.512, is 

21 amended by adding a subdivision to read: 

22 Subd. lOa. [HEARING AID.] "Hearing aid" means an 

23 instrument, or any of its parts, worn in the ear canal and 

24 designed to or represented as being able to aid or enhance human 

25 hearing. "Hearing aid" includes the aid's parts, attachments, 

26 o~ accessories, including, but not limited to, ear molds and 

27 behind the ear (BTE) devices with or without an ear mold. 

28 Batteries and cords are not parts, attachments, or accessories 

29 of a hearing aid. Surgically implanted hearing aids, and 

30 assistive listening devices not worn within the ear canal, are 

31 not hearing aids. 

32 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 148.512, is 

33 amended by adding a subdivision to read: 

34 Subd. lOb. [HEARING AID DISPENSING.] "Hearing aid 

35 dispensing" means making ear mold impressions, prescribing, or 

36 recommending a hearing aid, assisting the consumer in aid 

3 
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1 selection, selling hearing aids at retail, or testing human 

2 hearing in connection with these activities regardless of 

3 whether the person conducting these activities has a monetary 

4 interest in the dispensing of hearing aids to the consumer. 

5 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 148.513, is 

6 amended by adding a subdivision to read: 

7 Subd. 2a. [HEARING AID DISPENSERS.] An audiologist must 

8 not hold out as a licensed hearing aid dispenser. 

9 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 148.515, is 

10 amended by adding a subdivision to read: 

11 Subd. 6. [DISPENSING AUDIOLOGIST EXAMINATION 

12 REQUIREMENTS.] (a) Audiologists are exempt from the written 

13 examination requirement in section 153A.14, subdivision 2h, 

14 paragraph (a), clause (1). 

15 (b) After July 31, 2005, all applicants for audiologist 

16 licensure under sections 148.512 to 148.5198 must achieve a 

17 passing score on the practical tests of proficiency described in 

18 section 153A.14, subdivision 2h, paragraph (a), clause (2), 

19 within the time period described in section 153A.14, subdivision 

20 2h, paragraph (c). 

21 (c) In order to dispense hearing aids as a sole proprietor, 

22 member of a partnership, or for a limited liability company, 

23 corporation, or any other entity organized for profit, a 

24 licensee who obtained audiologist licensure under sections 

25 148.512 to 148.5198, before August 1, 2005, and who is not 

26 certified to dispense hearing aids under chapter 153A, must 

27 achieve a passing score on the practical tests of proficiency 

28 described in section 153A.14, subdivision 2h, paragraph (a), 

29 clause (2), within the time period described in section 153A.14, 

30 subdivision 2h, paragraph (c). All other audiologist licensees 

31 who obtained licensure before August 1, 2005, are exempt from 

32 the practical tests. 

33 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 148.5194, is 

34 

35 

amended by adding a subdivision to read: 

Subd. 7. [AUDIOLOGIST SURCHARGE FEE.] (a) The biennial 

36 surcharge fee for audiologists is $235. The commissioner shall 
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1 prorate the fee for clinical fellowship, doctoral externship, 

2 temporary, and first time licensees according to the number of 

3 months that have elapsed between the date the license is issued 

4 and the date the license expires or must be renewed under 

5 section 148.5191, subdivision 4. 

6 (b) Effective November 1, 2005, the commissioner shall 

7 collect the $235 audiologist surcharge fee prorated according to 

8 the number of months remaining until the next scheduled license 

9 renewal. 

10 

11 

12 

13 

14 

15 

16 

17 

18 

19 

20 

21 

22 

23 

Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 148.5195, 

subdivision 3, is amended to read: 

Subd. 3. [GROUNDS FOR DISCIPLINARY ACTION BY 

COMMISSIONER.] The commissioner may take any of the disciplinary 

actions listed in subdivision 4 on proof that the individual has: 

(1) intentionally submitted false or misleading information 

to the commissioner or the advisory council; 

(2) failed, within 30 days, to provide information in 

response to a written request, via certified mail, by the 

commissioner or advisory council; 

(3) performed services of a speech-language pathologist or 

audiologist in an incompetent or negligent manner; 

(4) violated sections 148.511 to ~+a~5~96 148.5198; 

(5) failed to perform services with reasonable judgment, 

24 skill, or safety due to the use of alcohol or drugs, or other 

25 physical or mental impairment; 

26 (6) violated any state or federal law, rule, or regulation, 

27 and the violation is a felony or misdemeanor, an essential 

28 element of which is dishonesty, or which relates directly or 

29 indirectly to the practice of speech-language pathology or 

30 audiology. Conviction for violating any state or federal law 

31 which relates to speech-language pathology or audiology is 

32 necessarily considered to constitute a violation, except as 

33 provided in chapter 364; 

34 (7) aided or abetted another person in violating any 

35 provision of sections 148.511 to ~+a~5~96 148.5198; 

36 (8) been or is being disciplined by another jurisdiction, 
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1 if any of the grounds for the discipline is the same or 

2 substantially equivalent to those under sections 148.511 to 

3 148.5196; 

4 (9) not cooperated with the commissioner or advisory 

5 council in an investigation conducted according to subdivision 

6 1; 

7 (10) advertised in a manner that is false or misleading; 

8 (11) engaged in conduct likely to deceive, defraud, or harm 

9 the public; or demonstrated a willful or careless disregard for 

10 the health, welfare, or safety of a client; 

11 (12) failed to disclose to the consumer any fee splitting 

12 or any promise to pay a portion of a fee to any other 

13 professional other than a fee for services rendered by the other 

14 professional to the client; 

15 (13) engaged in abusive or fraudulent billing practices, 

16 including violations of federal Medicare and Medicaid laws, Food 

17 and Drug Administration regulations, or state medical assistance 

18 laws; 

19 (14) obtained money, property, or services from a consumer 

20 through the use of undue influence, high pressure sales tactics, 

21 harassment, duress, deception, or fraud; 

22 (15) performed services for a client who had no possibility 

23 of benefiting from the services; 

24 (16) failed to refer a client for medical evaluation or to 

25 other health care professionals when appropriate or when a 

26 cl~ent indicated symptoms associated with diseases that could be 

27 medically or surgically treated; 

28 (17) ~£-~he-~fid~v~attai-~s-a-d~s~efise~-e£-hea~~fi~ 

29 ~fis~~ttmeH~s-as-de£~Hed-ey-see~~eH-~53A.~37-sttea~v~s~eH-57 had 

30 the certification required by chapter 153A7 denied, suspended, 

31 or revoked according to chapter 153A; 

32 (18) used the term doctor of audiology, doctor of 

33 speech-language pathology, AuD, or SLPD without having obtained 

34 the degree from an institution accredited by the North Central 

35 Association of Colleges and Secondary Schools, the council on 

36 Academic Accreditation in Audiology and Speech-Language 
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1 Pathology, the United States Department of Education, or an 

2 equivalent; e~ 

3 (19) failed to comply with the requirements of section 

4 148.5192 regarding supervision of speech-language pathology 

5 assistants~; or 

6 (20) if the individual is an audiologist or certified 

7 hearing aid dispenser: 

8 (i) prescribed or otherwise recommended to a consumer or 

9 potential consumer the use of a hearing aid, unless the 

10 prescription from a physician or recommendation from an 

11 audiologist or certified dispenser is in writing, is based on an 

12 audiogram that is delivered to the consumer or potential 

13 consumer when the prescription or recommendation is made, and 

14 bears the following information in all capital letters of 

15 12-point or larger boldface type: "THIS PRESCRIPTION OR 

16 RECOMMENDATION MAY BE FILLED BY, AND HEARING AIDS MAY BE 

17 PURCHASED FROM, THE LICENSED AUDIOLOGIST OR CERTIFIED DISPENSER 

18 OF YOUR CHOICE"; 

19 (ii) failed to give a copy of the audiogram, upon which the 

20 prescription or recommendation is based, to the consumer when 

21 the consumer requests a copy; 

22 (iii) failed to provide the consumer rights brochure 

23 required by section 148.5197, subdivision 3; 

24 (iv) failed to comply with restrictions on sales of hearing 

25 aids in sections 148.5197, subdivision 3, and 148.5198; 

26 (v) failed to return a consumer's hearing aid used as a 

27 trade-in or for a discount in the price of a new hearing aid 

28 when requested by the consumer upon cancellation of the purchase 

29 agreement; 

30 (vi) failed to follow Food and Drug Administration or 

31 Federal Trade Commission regulations relating to dispensing 

32 hearing aids; 

33 (vii) failed to dispense a hearing aid in a competent 

34 manner or without appropriate training; 

35 (viii) delegated hearing instrument dispensing authority to 

36 a person not authorized to dispense a hearing instrument under 

7 
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1 this chapter or chapter 153A; 

2 (ix) failed to comply with the requirements of an employer 

3 or supervisor of a hearing aid dispenser trainee; or 

4 (x) violated a state or federal court order or judgment, 

5 including a·conciliation court judgment, relating to the 

6 activities of the individual's hearing aid dispensing. 

7 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 148.5196, 

8 subdivision 1, is amended to read: 

9 Subdivision 1. [MEMBERSHIP.] The commissioner shall 

10 appoint e~~ft~ 12 persons to a Speech-Language Pathologist and 

11 Audiologist Advisory Council. The e~~h~ 12 persons must include: 

12 (1) ~we three public members, as defined in section 214.02. 

13 Two of the public members shall be either persons receiving 

14 services of a speech-language pathologist or audiologist, or 

15 family members of or caregivers to such persons, and at least 

16 one of the public members shall be either a hearing instrument 

17 user or an advocate of one; 

18 (2) ~we three speech-language pathologists licensed under 

19 sections 148.511 to 148.5196, one of whom is currently and has. 

20 been, for the five years immediately preceding the appointment, 

21 engaged in the practice of speech-language pathology in 

22 Minnesota and each of whom is employed in a different employment 

23 setting including, but not limited to, private practice, 

24 hospitals, rehabilitation settings, educational settings, and 

25 government agencies; 

26 (3) one speech-language pathologist licensed under sections 

27 14;8.511 to 148.5196, who is currently and has been, for the five 

28 years immediately preceding the appointment, employed by a 

29 Minnesota public school district or a Minnesota public school 

30 district consortium that is authorized by Minnesota Statutes and 

31 who is licensed in speech-language pathology by the Minnesota 

32 Board of Teaching; 

33 (4) ~we three audiologists licensed under sections 148.511 

34 to 148.5196, eHe two of whom ~s are currently and has have 

35 been, for the five years immediately preceding the appointment, 

36 engaged in the practice of audiology and the dispensing of 

8 
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1 hearing instruments in Minnesota and each of whom is employed in 

2 a different employment setting including, but not limited to, 

3 private practice, hospitals, rehabilitation settings, 

4 educational settings, industry, and government agencies; aHa 

5 (5) one nonaudiologist hearing instrument dispenser 

6 recommended by a professional association representing hearing 

7 instrument dispensers; and 

8 1§1 one physician licensed under chapter 147 and certified 

9 by the American Board of Otolaryngology, Head and Neck Surgery. 

10 

11 

Sec. 9. [148.5197] [HEARING AID DISPENSING.] 

Subdivision 1. [CONTENT OF CONTRACTS.] Oral statements 

12 made by an audiologist or certified dispenser regarding the 

13 provision of warranties, refunds, and service on the hearing aid 

14 or aids dispensed must be written on, and become part of, the 

15 contract of sale, specify the item or items covered, and 

16 indicate the person or business entity obligated to provide the 

17 warranty, refund, or service. 

18 Subd. 2. [REQUIRED USE OF LICENSE NUMBER.] The 

19 audiologist's license number or certified dispenser's 

20 certificate number must appear on all contracts, bills of sale, 

21 and receipts used in the sale of hearing aids. 

22 Subd. 3. [CONSUMER RIGHTS INFORMATION.] An audiolo~ist or 

23 certified dispenser shall, at the time of the recommendation or 

24 prescription, give a consumer rights brochure, prepared by the 

25 commissioner and containing information about legal requirements 

26 pertaining to dispensing of hearing aids, to each potential 

27 consumer of a hearing aid. The brochure must contain 

28 information about the consumer information center described in 

29 section 153A.18. A contract for a hearing aid must note the 

30 receipt of the brochure by the consumer, along with the 

31 consumer's signature or initials. 

32 Subd. 4. [LIABILITY FOR CONTRACTS.] Owners of entities in 

33 the business of dispensing hearing aids, employers of 

34 audiologists or persons who dispense hearing aids, supervisors 

35 of trainees or audiology students, and hearing aid dispensers 

36 conducting the transaction at issue are liable for satisfying 
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1 all terms of contracts, written or oral, made by their agents, 

2 employees, assignees, affiliates, or trainees, including terms 

3 relating to products, repairs, warranties, service, and 

4 refunds. The commissioner may enforce the terms of hearing aid 

5 contracts against the principal, employer, supervisor, or 

6 dispenser who conducted the transaction and may impose any 

7 remedy provided for in this chapter. 

8 Sec. 10. [148.5198] [RESTRICTION ON SALE OF HEARING AIDS.] 

9 Subdivision 1. [45-CALENDAR-DAY GUARANTEE AND BUYER RIGHT 

10 TO CANCEL.] (a) An audiologist or certified dispenser dispensing 

11 a hearing aid in this state must comply with paragraphs (b) and 

12 ~ 

13 (b) The audiologist or certified dispenser must provide the 

14 buyer with a 45-calendar-day written money-back guarantee. The 

15 guarantee must permit the buyer to cancel the purchase for any 

16 reason within 45 calendar days after receiving the hearing aid 

17 by giving or mailing written notice of cancellation to the 

18 audiologist or certified dispenser. If the buyer mails the 

19 notice of cancellation, the 45-calendar-day period is counted 

20 using the postmark date, to the date of receipt by the 

21 audiologist or certified dispenser. If the hearing aid must be 

22 repaired, remade, or adjusted during the 45-calendar-day 

23 money-back guarantee period, the running of the 45-calendar-day 

24 period is suspended one day for each 24-hour period that the 

25 hearing aid is not in the buyer's possession. A repaired, 

26 remade, or adjusted hearing aid must be claimed by the buyer 

27 within three business days after notification of availability, 

28 after which time the running of the 45-calendar-day period 

29 resumes. The guarantee must entitle the buyer, upon 

30 cancellation, to receive a refund of payment within 30 days of 

31 return of the hearing aid to the audiologist or certified 

32 dispenser. The audiologist or certified dispenser may retain as 

33 a cancellation fee no more than $250 of the buyer's total 

34 purchase price of the hearing aid. 

35 (c) The audiologist or certified dispenser shall provide 

36 the buyer with a contract written in plain English, that 

10 
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1 contains uniform language and provisions that meet the 

2 requirements under the Plain Language Contract Act, sections 

3 325G.29 to 325G.36. The contract must include, but is not 

4 limited to, the following: in immediate proximity to the space 

5 reserved for the signature of the buyer, or on the first page if 

6 there is no space reserved for the signature of the buyer, a 

7 clear and conspicuous disclosure of the following specific 

8 statement in all capital letters of no less than 12-point 

9 boldface type: "MINNESOTA STATE LAW GIVES THE BUYER THE RIGHT 

10 TO CANCEL THIS PURCHASE FOR ANY REASON AT ANY TIME PRIOR TO 

11 MIDNIGHT OF THE 45TH CALENDAR DAY AFTER RECEIPT OF THE HEARING 

12 AID(S). THIS CANCELLATION MUST BE IN WRITING AND MUST BE GIVEN 

13 OR MAILED TO THE AUDIOLOGIST OR CERTIFIED DISPENSER. IF THE 

14 BUYER DECIDES TO RETURN THE HEARING AID(S) WITHIN THIS 

15 45-CALENDAR-DAY PERIOD, THE BUYER WILL RECEIVE A REFUND OF THE 

16 TOTAL PURCHASE PRICE OF THE AID(S) FROM WHICH THE AUDIOLOGIST OR 

17 CERTIFIED DISPENSER MAY RETAIN AS A CANCELLATION FEE NO MORE 

18 THAN $250." 

19 Subd. 2. [ITEMIZED REPAIR BILL.] Any audiologist, 

20 certified dispenser, or company who agrees to repair a hearing 

21 aid must provide the owner of the hearing aid, or the owner's 

22 representative, with a bill that describes the repair and 

23 services rendered. The bill must also include the repairing 

24 audiologist's, certified dispenser's, or company's name, 

25 address, and telephone number. 

26 This subdivision does not apply to an audiologist, 

27 certified dispenser, or company that repairs a hearing aid 

28 pursuant to an express warranty covering the entire hearing aid 

29 and the warranty covers the entire cost, both parts and labor, 

30 of the repair. 

31 Subd. 3. [REPAIR WARRANTY.] Any guarantee of hearing aid 

32 repairs must be in writing and delivered to the owner of the 

33 hearing aid, or the owner's representative, stating the 

34 repairing audiologist's, certified dispenser's, or company's 

35 name, address, telephone number, length of guarantee, model, and 

36 serial number of the hearing aid· and all other terms and 

11 
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1 conditions of the guarantee. 

2 Subd. 4. [MISDEMEANOR.] A person found to have violated 

3 this section is guilty of a misdemeanor. 

4 subd. 5. [ADDITIONAL.] In addition to the penalty provided 

5 in subdivision 4, a person found to have violated this section 

6 is subject to the penalties and remedies provided in section 

7 325F.69, subdivision 1. 

8 Subd. 6. [ESTIMATES.] Upon the request of the owner of a 

9 hearing aid or the owner's representative for a written estimate 

10 and prior to the commencement of repairs, a repairing 

11 audiologist, certified dispenser, or company shall provide the 

12 customer with a written estimate of the price of repairs. If a 

13 repairing audiologist, certified dispenser, or company provides 

14 a written estimate of the price of repairs, it must not charge 

15 more than the total price stated in the estimate for the 

16 repairs. If the repairing audiologist, certified dispenser, or 

17 company after commencing repairs determines that additional work 

18 is necessary to accomplish repairs that are the subject of a 

19 written estimate and if the repairing audiologist, certified 

20 dispenser, or company did not unreasonably fail to disclose the 

21 possible need for the additional work when the estimate was 

22 made, the repairing audiologist, certified dispenser, or company 

23 may charge more than the estimate for the repairs if the 

24 repairing audiologist, certified dispenser, or company 

25 immediately provides the owner or owner's representative a 

26 revised written estimate pursuant to this section and receives 

27 authorization to continue with the repairs. If continuation of 

28 the repairs is not authorized, the repairing audiologist, 

29 certified dispenser, or company shall return the hearing aid as 

30 close as possible to its former condition and shall release the 

31 hearing aid to the owner or owner's representative upon paymen~ 

32 of charges for repairs actually performed and not in excess of 

33 the original estimate. 

34 Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 153A.13, 

35 subdivision 5, is amended to read: 

36 Subd. 5. [DISPENSER OF HEARING INSTRUMENTS.] "Dispenser of 

12 
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1 hearing instruments" means a natural person who engages in 

2 hearing instrument dispensing whether or not certified by the 

3 commissioner of health or licensed by an existing health-related 

4 board, except that a person described as follows is not a 

5 dispenser of hearing instruments: 

6 (1) a student participating in supervised field work that 

7 is necessary to meet requirements of an accredited educational 

8 program if the student is designated by a title which clearly 

9 indicates the student's status as a student trainee; or 

10 (2) a person who helps a dispenser of hearing instruments 

11 in an administrative or clerical manner and does not engage in 

12 hearing instrument dispensing. 

13 A person who offers to dispense a hearing instrument, or a 

14 person who advertises, holds out to the public, or otherwise 

15 represents that the person is authorized to dispense hearing 

16 instruments must be certified by the commissioner except when 

17 the person is an audiologist as defined in section 148.512. 

18 Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 153A.14, 

19 subdivision 2h, is amended to read: 

20 Subd. 2h. [CERTIFICATION BY EXAMINATION.] An applicant 

21 must achieve a passing score, as determined by the commissioner, 

22 on an examination according to paragraphs (a) to (c). 

23 (a) The examination must include, but is not limited to: 

24 (1) A written examination approved by the commissioner 

25 covering the following areas as they pertain to hearing 

26 instrument selling: 

27 (i) basic physics of sound; 

28 (ii) the anatomy and physiology of the ear; 

29 (iii) the function of hearing instruments; and 

30 (iv) the principles of hearing instrument selectiont-aRa 

31 fvt-s~a~e-aRa-£eae~ai-~aws7-~tt~es7-aRa-~e~ttia~~eHs. 

32 (2) Practical tests of proficiency in the following 

33 techniques as they pertain to hearing instrument selling: 

34 (i) pure tone audiometry, including air conduction testing 

35 and bone conduction testing; 

36 (ii) live voice or recorded voice speech audiometry 

13 
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1 including speech recognition (discrimination) testing, most 

2 comfortable loudness level, and uncomfortable loudness 

3 measurements of tolerance thresholds; 

4 (iii) masking when indicated; 

5 (iv) recording and evaluation of audiograms and speech 

6 audiometry to determine proper selection and fitting of a 

7 hearing instrument; 

8 (v) taking ear mold impressions; aHa 

9 (vi) using an otoscope for the visual observation of the 

10 entire ear canal; and 

11 (vii) state and federal laws, rules, and regulations. 

12 (b) The examination shall be administered by the 

13 commissioner at least twice a year. 

14 (c) An applicant must achieve a passing score on all 

15 portions of the examination within a two-year period. An 

16 applicant who does not achieve a passing score on all portions 

17 of the examination within a two-year period must retake the 

18 entire examination and achieve a passing score on each portion 

19 of the examination. An applicant who does not apply for 

20 certification within one year of successful completion of the 

21 examination must retake the examination and achieve a passing 

22 score on each portion of the examination. An applicant may not 

23 take any part of the examination more than three times in a 

24 two-year period. 

25 Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 153A.14, 

26 subdivision 2i, is amended to read: 

27 Subd. 2i. [CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENT.] On forms 

28 provided by the commissioner, each certified dispenser must 

29 submit with ·the application for renewal of certification 

30 evidence of completion of ten course hours of continuing 

31 education earned within the 12-month period of July 1 to June 30 

32 immediately preceding renewal. Continuing education courses 

33 must be directly related to hearing instrument dispensing and 

34 approved by the International Hearing Society er-qt:tai~£y-£er 

35 eeft~~fttt~ft~-edttea~~eft-a~~reved-£er-M~ftttese~a-i~eeftsea 

36 atta~eie~~s~s. Evidence of completion of the ten course hours of 

14 
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1 continuing education must be submitted with renewal applications 

2 by October 1 of each year. This requirement does not apply to 

3 dispensers certified for less than one year. The first report 

4 of evidence of completion of the continuing education credits 

5 shall be due October 1, 1997. 

6 

7 

8 
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36 

Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 153A.14, 

subdivision 4, is· amended to read: 

Subd. 4. [DISPENSING OF HEARING INSTRUMENTS WITHOUT 

CERTIFICATE.] Except as provided in subdivisions 4a and 4c, and 

in sections 148.512 to 148.5198, it is unlawful for any person 

not holding a valid certificate to dispense a hearing instrument 

as defined in section 153A.13, subdivision 3. A person who 

dispenses a hearing instrument without the certificate required 

by this section is guilty of a gross misdemeanor. 

Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 153A.14, 

subdivision 4c, is amended to read: 

Subd. 4c. [RECIPROCITY.] (a) A person applying for 

certification as a hearing instrument dispenser under 

subdivision 1 who has dispensed hearing instruments in another 

jurisdiction may dispense hearing instruments as a trainee under 

indirect supervision if the person: 

(1) satisfies the provisions of subdivision 4a, paragraph 

(a) ; 

(2) submits a signed and dated affidavit stating that the 

applicant is not the subject of a disciplinary action or past 

di£ciplinary action in this or another jurisdiction and is not 

disqualified on the basis of section 153A.15, subdivision 1; and 

(3) provides a copy of a current credential as a hearing 

instrument dispenser7-aH-atta~e±e~~se7-er-heeh7 held in the 

District of Columbia or a state or territory of the United 

States. 

(b) A person becoming a trainee under this subdivision who 

fails to take and pass the practical examination described in 

subdivision 2h, paragraph (a), clause (2), when next offered 

must cease dispensing hearing instruments unless under direct 

supervision. 
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sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 153A.14, 

subdivision 9, is amended to read: 

Subd. 9. [CONSUMER RIGHTS ~NPSRMA~~SN.] A hearing 

instrument dispenser shall7-a~-~fie-~~me-e£-~fie-reeellllftefiaa~~eft-er 

~reser±~e±eft7-~±ve-a-eeftsttmer-r±~fies-ereefittre,-~re~area-ey-efie 

eellllft±ss±efter-afta-eeftea±ft±ft~-±ft£ermae±eft-aeette-±e~a±-reqtt±remeftes 

~erea±ft±ft~-ee-sa±es-e£-fiear±ft~-±ftserttmeftes7-ee-eaefi-~eeefte±a± 

ettyer-e£-a-fiear±ft~-±fts~~ttmefte7--A-sa±es-eefte~aee-£er-a-fiea~±ft~ 

±fts~~ttmeft~-mtts~-fte~e-~fie-~eee±~~-e£-efie-ereefitt~e-ey-~fie-ettyer7 

a±eft~-w±efi-~fie-ettye~Ls-s±~fta~ttre-er-±ft±e±a±s comply with the 

requirements of sections 148.5195, subdivision 3, clause (20); 

148.5197; and 148.5198. 

Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 153A.15, 

subdivision 1, is amended to read: 

Subdivision 1. [PROHIBITED ACTS.] The commissioner may 

take enforcement action as provided under subdivision 2 against 

a dispenser of hearing instruments for the following acts and 

conduct: 

(1) ~rese~±e±ft~-er-eefie~w±se-~eeellllftefta±ft~-ee-a-eeftsttme~-er 

~eeeft~±a±-eeftsttmer-efie-ttse-e£-a-fiea~±ft~-±ftse~ttmeHe7-ttft±ess-efie 

~~eser±~e±eft-£rem-a-~fiys±e±aft-e~-~eeellllfteftaae±eft-£~em-a-fiea~±ft~ 

±fts~~ttmefte-a±s~eftser-er-atta±e±e~±se-±s-±ft-wr±e±ft~7-±s-easea-eft 

aft-atta±e~~am-~fia~-±s-ae±±ve~ea-ee-efie-eeftsttme~-e~-~eeefte±a± 

eeftsttme~-wfieft-efie-~~eser±~~±eft-er-reeellllfteftaae±eft-±s-maae7-afta 

eea~s-efie-£e±±ew±ft~-±ft£e~mae±eft-±ft-a±±-ea~±ea±-±eeee~s-e£ 

~r-~e±ft~-er-±a~~e~-ee±a£aee-ey~e~--u~H~S-PRES€R~P~~8N-9R 

RE€8MMENBA~%8N-MA¥-BE-P~~~EB-B¥7-ANB-HEAR~N6-~NS~RBMEN~S-MA¥-BE 

PBR€HASEB-PR8M7-~HE-€ER~%F~EB-B~SPENSER-8R-~~€ENSEB-ABB~8~86~S~ 

8P-¥8BR-€H8%€Eut 

f rt-£a±±±ft~-ee-~±ve-a-ee~y-e£-efie-atta±e~ram7-tt~eft-wfi±efi-efie 

~reser±~e±eft-er-reeellllfteftaae±eft-±s-easea7-ee-efie-eeftsttmer-wfieft 

efiere-fias-eeeft-a-efia~~e-£er-efie-atta±e~~am-afta-~fie-eeftsttme~ 

~eqttes~s-a-ee~Yt 

f3t dispensing a hearing instrument to a minor person 18 

years or younger unless evaluated by an audiologist for hearing 

evaluation and hearing aid evaluation; 

16 
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1 f ~t-£a~±±H~-~e-p~ev±ae-~he-eeHsttme~-~±~h~s-e~eehtt~e 

2 ~e~tt~~ea-ey-see~±eH-~53A7~~7-sttea~v±s±eH-9t 

3 f5t ~ being disciplined through a revocation, suspension, 

4 restriction, or limitation by another state for conduct subject 

5 to action under this chapter; 

6 f6t ~ presenting advertising that is false or misleading; 

7 f~t ~ providing the commissioner with false or misleading 

8 statements of· credentials, training, or experience; 

9 fBt ~ engaging in conduct likely to deceive, defraud, or 

10 harm the public; or demonstrating a willful or careless 

11 disregard for the health, welfare, or safety of a consumer; 

12 f9t J...§1 splitting fees or promising to pay a portion of a 

13 fee to any other professional other than a fee for services 

14 rendered by the other professional to the client; 

15 f~et .1Zl engaging in abusive or fraudulent billing 

16 practices, including violations of federal Medicare and Medicaid 

17 laws, Food and Drug Administration regulations, or state medical 

18 assistance laws; 

19 f~~t ~ obtaining money, property, or services from a 

20 consumer through the use of undue influence, high pressure sales 

21 tactics, harassment, duress, deception, or fraud; 

22 f~rt-£a±±~H~-~e-eem~±y-w±~h-~es~~±e~±eHs-eH-sa±es-e£ 

23 hea~±H~-a~as-±H-see~±eHs-~53A7~~7-sttea~v~s±eH-97-aHa-~53A7~9t 

24 f~3t J.21 performing the services of a certified hearing 

25 instrument dispenser in an incompetent or negligent manner; 

26 f~~t J.!Ql failing to comply with the requirements of this 

27 chapter as an employer, supervisor, or trainee; 

28 f~5t .Dl:l failing to provide information in a timely manner 

29 in response to a request by the commissioner, commissioner's 

30 designee, or the advisory council; 

31 f~6t ~ being convicted within the past five years of 

32 violating any laws of the United States, or any state or 

33 territory of the United States, and the violation is a felony, 

34 gross misdemeanor, or misdemeanor, an essential element of which 

35 relates to hearing instrument dispensing, except as provided in 

36 chapter 364; 

17 



[SENATEE J mv SS1204R-2 

1 f~Tt l.!ll failing to cooperate with the commissioner, the 

2 commissioner's designee, or the advisory council in any 

3 investigation; 

4 f~St J.!.!L failing to perform hearing instrument dispensing 

5 with reasonable judgment, skill, or safety due to the use of 

6 alcohol or drugs, or other physical or mental impairment; 

7 f~9t ~ failing to fully disclose actions taken against 

8 the applicant or the applicant's legal authorization to dispense 

9 hearing instruments in this or another state; 

10 fzet .i!§.1 violating a state or federal court order or 

11 judgment, including a conciliation court judgment, relating to 

12 the activities of the applicant in hearing instrument 

13 dispensing; 

14 f z~t 1!21 having been or being disciplined by the 

15 commissioner of the Department of Health, or other authority, in 

16 this or another jurisdiction, if any of the grounds for the 

17 discipline are the same or substantially equivalent to those in 

18 sections 153A.13 to 153A.19; 

19 fzzt ~ misrepresenting the purpose of hearing tests, or 

20 in any way communicating that the hearing test or hearing test 

21 protocol required by section 153A.14, subdivision 4b, is a 

22 medical evaluation, a diagnostic hearing evaluation conducted by 

23 an audiologist, or is other than a test to select a hearing 

24 instrument, except that the hearing instrument dispenser can 

25 determine the need for or recommend the consumer obtain a 

26 medical evaluation consistent with requirements of the United 

27 States Food and Drug Administration; 

28 fz3t J..!21 violating any of the provisions of sections 

29 148.5195, subdivision 3, clause (20); 148.5197; 148.5198; and 

30 153A.13 to ~53A~~9 153A.18; and 

31 fz~t ~ aiding or abetting another person in violating 

32 any of the provisions of sections 148.5195, subdivision 3, 

33 clause (20); 148.5197; 148.5198; and 153A.13 to ~53A~~9 153A.18. 

34 Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 153A.20, 

35 subdivision 1, is amended to read: 

36 Subdivision 1. [MEMB~RSHIP.] The commissioner shall 

18 
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1 appoint H~He seven persons to a Hearing Instrument Dispenser 

2 Advisory Council. 

3 

4 

5 

6 

7 

8 

9 

10 

11 

12 

13 

14 

15 

16 

17 

18 

19 

20 

21 

22 

23 

24 

25 

26 

27 

28 

29 

30 

31 

32 

33 

34 

35 

36 

(a) The H~He seven persons must include: 

(1) three public members, as defined in section 214.02. At 

least one of the public members shall be a hearing instrument 

user and one of the public members shall be either a hearing 

instrument user or an advocate of one; and 

(2) three hearing instrument dispensers certified under 

sections 153A.14 to 153A.20, each of whom is currently, and has 

been for the five years immediately preceding their appointment, 

engaged in hearing instrument dispensing in Minnesota and who 

represent the occupation of hearing instrument dispensing and 

who are not audiologists; and 

(3) ~h~ee-atta~e±e~~s~s-whe-a~e-ee~~~£~ea-hea~~H~-~Hs~~ttmeH~ 

a~s~eHse~s-e~-a~e one audiologist licensed as atta~e±e~~s~s an 

audiologist under chapter 148 who dispenses hearing instruments, 

recommended by a professional association representing 

audiologists and speech-language pathologists. 

(b) The factors the commissioner may consider when 

appointing advisory council members include, but are not limited 

to, professional affiliation, geographical location, and type of 

practice. 

(c) No two members of the advisory council shall be 

employees of, or have binding contracts requiring sales 

exclusively for, the same hearing instrument manufacturer or the 

same employer. 

Sec. 19. [REVISOR'S INSTRUCTION.] 

The reviser of statutes shall change references from 

"sections 148.511 to 148.5196" to "sections 148.511 to 148.5198" 

wherever they appear in Minnesota Statutes and Minnesota Rules, 

and change "153A.19" to "148.5197" in Minnesota Statutes, 

section 325G.203. 

Sec. 20. [REPEALER.] 

Minnesota Statutes 2004, sections 153A.14, subdivisions 2a, 

8, and 10; and 153A.19, are repealed. 

Sec. 21. [EFFECTIVE DATE.] 

19 
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1 Sections 1 to 18 and 20 are effective August 1, 2005." 

2 Page 161, line 4, delete "licensed" 

3 Page 161, line 29, before the period, insert "or services 

4 provided by Christian Scientist .practitioners" 

5 Pages 162 and 163, delete section 2 and insert: 

6 

7 

8 

9 

10 

11 

12 

13 

14 

15 

16 

17 

18 

19 

20 

21 

"Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 148B.61, is 

amended to read: 

148B.61 [OFFICE OF MENTAL HEALTH PRACTICE.] 

Subdivision 1. [€REA~±8N AUTHORITY.] ~The Office of 

Mental Health Practice is e~ea~ea-iH-~he-Bepa~~meH~-e£-Hea±~h 

transferred to the mental-health-related licensing boards. The 

mental-health-related licensing boards shall convene an Office 

of Mental Health Practices Committee to investigate complaints 

and take and enforce disciplinary actions against all unlicensed 

mental health practitioners for violations of prohibited 

conduct, as defined in section 148B.68. 

JEl_ The e££iee committee shall publish a complaint 

telephone number, provide an informational Web site, and also 

serve as a referral point and clearinghouse on complaints 

against mental health se~viees-aHa-ee~h-±ieeHsea-aHa-ttH±ieeHsea 

meH~a±-hea±~h-p~e£essieHa±s7-~h~ett~h-~he-aissemiHa~ieH 

22 e£ practitioners. The committee shall disseminate objective 

23 

24 

25 

26 

27 

28 

29 

30 

31 

32 

33 

34 

35 

36 

information to consumers aHa through the development and 

performance of public education activities, including outreach, 

regarding the provision of mental health services and both 

licensed and unlicensed mental health professionals who provide 

these services. 

Sttea.-~.--f RB~EMA*±NS•t-~he-eemmissieHe~-e£-hea±~h-sha±± 

aaep~-~tt±es-Heeessa~y-~e-imp±emeH~7-aamiHis~e~7-e~-eH£e~ee 

p~evisieHs-e£-see~ieHs-~48B.60-~e-~48B.~~~ptt~sttaH~-~e-ehap~e~ 

~4.--~he-eemmissieHe~-may-He~-aaep~-~tt±es-~ha~-~es~~ie~-e~ 

p~ehiei~-pe~seHs-£~em-p~eviaiH~-meH~a±-hea±~h-se~viees-eH-~he 

easis-e£-eattea~ieH7-~~aiHiH~7-e~pe~ieHee7-e~-Sttpe~visieH• 

Subd. 4. [MANAGEMENT, REPORT, AND SUNSET OF THE 

OFFICE.] (a) The committee shall: 

(1) designate one board to provide administrative 

20 
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1 management of the committee; 

2 (2) set the program budget; and 

3 (3) ensure that the committee's direction is in accord with 

4 its authority. 

5 (b) If the participating boards change which board is 

6 designated to provide administrative management of the 

7 committee, any appropriation remaining for the committee shall 

8 transfer to the newly designated board on the effective date of 

9 the change. The participating boards must inform the 

10 appropriate legislative committees and the commissioner of 

11 finance of any change in the designated board and the amount of 

12 any appropriation transferred under this provision. 

13 (c) The designated board shall hire the office employees 

14 and pay expenses of the committee from funds appropriated for 

15 that purpose. 

16 (d) After July 1, 2008, the committee shall prepare and 

17 submit a report to the legislature by January 15, 2009, 

18 evaluating the activity of the office and making recommendations 

19 concerning the regulation of unlicensed mental health 

20 practitioners. In the absence of legislative action to continue 

21 the committee, the committee expires on June 30, 2009." 

22 Page 164, delete section 4 

23 Page 164, line 13, delete "act" and insert "article" 

24 Page 167, after line 17, insert: 

25 "Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 214.06, 

26 subdivision 1, is amended to read: 

27 Subdivision 1. [FEE ADJUSTMENT.] Notwithstanding any law 

28 to the contrary, the commissioner of health as authorized by 

29 section 214.13, all health-related licensing boards and all 

30 non-health-related licensing boards shall by rule, with the 

31 approval of the commissioner of finance, adjust, as needed, any 

32 fee which the commissioner of health or the board is.empowered 

33 to assess. As provided in section 16A.1285, the adjustment 

34 shall be an amount sufficient so that the total fees collected 

35 by each board will as-e~eseiy-as-~ess~~~e-e~tta~ be based on 

36 anticipated expenditures dtt~~fi~-~he-f~sea~-~~efifi~ttm, including 

21 
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1 expenditures for the programs authorized by sections z~4~~+-ee 

2 z~4~z5-afta-z~4~3~-ee-z~4~3+ 214.10, 214.103, 214.11, 214.17 to 

3 214.24, 214.28 to 214.37, and 214.40, except that a 

4 health-related licensing board may have anticipated expenditures 

5 in excess of anticipated revenues in a biennium by using 

6 accumulated surplus revenues from fees collected by that board 

7 in previous bienniums. A health-related licensing board shall 

8 not spend more money than the amount appropriated by the 

9 legislature for a biennium. For members of an occupation 

10 registered after July 1, 1984, by the commissioner of health 

11 under the provisions of section 214.13, the fee established must 

12 include an amount necessary to recover, over a five-year period, 

13 the commissioner's direct expenditures for adoption of the rules 

14 providing for registration of members of the occupation. All 

15 fees received shall be deposited in the state treasury. Fees 

16 ~eee±vea-~y-efie-eemm±ss±efte~-e£-fiea±efi-e~-fiea±efi-~e±aeea 

17 xfeeftSfft~-~ea~ds-mttse-~e-e~eafeed-ee-efie-fiea±efi-eeett~ae±eftS 

18 ±±eefts±ft~-aeeettfte-±ft-efie-seaee-~eve~ftmefte-s~ee±ai-~evefttte-£ttftd~ 

19 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 214.06, is 

20 amended by adding a subdivision to read: 

21 Subd. la. [HEALTH OCCUPATIONS LICENSING ACCOUNT.] Fees 

22 received by the commissioner of health or health-related 

23 licensing boards must be credited to the health occupations 

24 licensing account in the state government special revenue fund. 

25 The commissioner of finance shall ensure that the revenues and 

26 expenditures of each health-related licensing board are tracked 

27 separately in the health occupations licensing account. 

28 ARTICLE 10 

29 EMERGENCY MEDICAL SERVICES REGULATORY BOARD 

30 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 144E.001, 

31 subdivision 8, is amended to read: 

32 Subd. 8. [LICENSEE.]."Licensee" means a natural person, 

33 partnership, association, corporation, Indian tribe, or unit of 

34 government which possesses an ambulance service license. 

35 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 144E.001, is 

36 amended by adding a subdivision to read: 

22 
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Subd. 14a. [TRIBE.] "Tribe" means a federally recognized 

Indian tribe, as defined in United States Code, title 25, 

section 450b, paragraph (e), located within the state of 

Minnesota. 

Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 144E.001, 

subdivision 15, is amended to read: 

Subd. 15. [VOLUNTEER AMBULANCE ATTENDANT.] "Volunteer 

ambulance attendant" means a person who provides emergency 

medical services for a Minnesota licensed ambulance service 

without the expectation of remuneration and who does not depend 

in any way upon the provision of these services for the person's 

livelihood. An individual may be considered a volunteer 

ambulance attendant even though the individual receives an 

hourly stipend for each hour of actual service provided, except 

for hours on standby alert, or other nominal fee, and even 

though the hourly stipend or other nominal fee is regarded as 

taxable income for purposes of state or federal law, provided 

that the hourly stipend and other nominal fees do not exceed 

$37eee-w~efi~fi-efte-yea~-e£-efie-£~fia~-ee~e~£~eae~eR 

e~aE~Rae~efi $6,000 annually. 

Sec. 4. [144E.266] [EMERGENCY SUSPENSION OF AMBULANCE 

SERVICE REQUIREMENT.] 

(a) The requirements of sections 144E.10; 144E.101, 

subdivisions 1, 2, 3, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, and 13; 144E.103; 

144E.12; 144E.121; 144E.123; 144E.127; and 144E.15, are 

suspended: 

(1) throughout the state during a national security 

emergency declared under section 12.31; 

(2) in the geographic areas of the state affected during a 

peacetime emergency declared under section 12.31; and 

(3) in the geographic areas of the state affected during a 

local emergency declared under section 12.29. 

(b) For purposes of this section, the geographic areas of 

the state affected shall include geographic areas where one or 

more ambulance services are providing requested mutual aid to 

the site of the emergency. 

23 



[SENATEE ] mv SS1204R-2 

1 · Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 144E.27, 

2 subdivision 2, is amended to read: 

3 Subd. 2. [REGISTRATION.] To be eligible for registration 

4 with the board as a first responder, an individual 

5 shall complete a board-approved application form and: 

6 (1) successfully complete a board-approved initial first 

7 responder training program. Registration under this clause is 

8 valid for two years and expires at the end of the month in which 

9 the registration was issued; or 

10 (2) be credentialed as a first responder by the National 

11 Registry of Emergency Medical Technicians. Registration under 

12 this clause expires the same day as the National Registry 

13 credential. 

14 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 144E.28, 

15 subdivision 1, is amended to read: 

16 Subdivision 1. [REQUIREMENTS.] To be eligible for 

17 certification by the board as· an EMT, EMT-I, or EMT-P, an 

18 individual shall: 

19 (1) successfully complete the United States Department of 

20 Transportation course, or its equivalent as approved by the 

21 board, specific to the EMT, EMT-I, or EMT-P classification; afte 

22 (2) pass the written and practical examinations approved by 

23 the board and administered by the board or its designee, 

24 specific to the EMT, EMT-I, or EMT-P classification; and 

25 (3) complete a board-approved application form. 

26 

27 

28 

29 

30 

31 

32 

33 

34 

35 

36 

Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 144E.28, 

subdivision 3, is amended to read: 

Subd. 3. [RECIPROCITY.] The board may certify an 

individual who possesses a current National Registry of 

Emergency Medical Technicians registration from another 

jurisdiction if the individual submits a board-approved 

application form. The board certification classification shall 

be the same as the National Registry's classification. 

Certification shall be for the duration of the applicant's 

registration period in another jurisdiction, not to exceed two 

years. 

24 
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1 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 144E.28, 

2 subdivision 7, is amended to read: 

3 Subd. 7. [RENEWAL.] (a) Before the expiration date of 

4 certification, an applicant for renewal of certification as an 

5 EMT shall: 

6 (1) successfully complete a course in cardiopulmonary 

7 resuscitation that is approved by the board or the licensee's 

8 medical director; afia 

9 (2) take the United States Department of Transportation EMT 

10 refresher course and successfully pass the practical skills test 

11 portion of the course, or successfully complete 48 hours of 

12 continuing education in EMT programs that are consistent with 

13 the United States Department of Transportation National Standard 

14 Curriculum or its equivalent as approved by the board or as 

15 approved by the licensee's medical director and pass a practical 

16 skills test approved by the board and administered by a training 

17 program approved by the board. The cardiopulmonary 

18 resuscitation course and practical skills test may be included 

19 as part of the refresher course or continuing education renewal 

20 requirements. Twenty-four of the 48 hours must include at least 

21 four hours of instruction in each of the following six 

22 categories: 

23 (i) airway management and resuscitation procedures; 

24 (ii) circulation, bleeding control, and shock; 

25 (iii) human anatomy and physiology, patient assessment, and 

26 medical emergencies; 

27 (iv) injuries involving musculoskeletal, nervous, 

28 digestive, and genito-urinary systems; 

29 (v) environmental emergencies and rescue techniques; and 

30 (vi) emergency childbirth and other special situations; and 

31 (3) complete a board-approved application form. 

32 (b) Before the expiration date of certification, an 

33 applicant for renewal of certification as an EMT-I or EMT-P 

34 shall: 

35 (1) for an EMT-I, successfully complete a course in 

36 cardiopulmonary resuscitation that is approved by the board or 

25 
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l the licensee's medical director and for an EMT-P, successfully 

2 complete a course in advanced cardiac life support that is 

3 approved by the board or the licensee's medical director; aHe 

4 (2) successfully complete 48 hours of continuing education 

5 in emergency medical training programs, appropriate to the level 

6 of the applicant's EMT-I or EMT-P certification, that are 

7 consistent with the United States Department of Transportation 

8 National Standard Curriculum or its equivalent as approved by 

9 the board or as approved by the licensee's medical director. An 

10 applicant may take the United States Department of 

ll Transportation Emergency Medical Technician refresher course or 

12 its equivalent without the written or practical test as approved 

13 by the board, and as appropriate to the applicant's level of 

14 certification, as part of the 48 hours of continuing education. 

15 Each hour of the refresher course, the cardiopulmonary 

16 resuscitation course, and the advanced cardiac life support 

17 course counts toward the 48-hour continuing education 

18 requirement; and 

19 (3) complete a board-approved application form. 

20 

21 

(c) Certification shall be renewed every two years. 

(d) If the applicant does not meet the renewal requirements 

22 under this subdivision, the applicant's certification expires. 

23 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section l44E.28, 

24 subdivision 8, is amended to read: 

25 Subd. 8. [REINSTATEMENT.] (a) Within four years of a 

26 certification expiration date, a person whose certification has 

27 expired under subdivision 7, paragraph (d), may have the 

28 certification reinstated upon submission of~ 

29 Jll_ evidence to the board of training equivalent to the 

30 continuing education requirements of subdivision 7; and 

31 (2) a board-approved application form. 

32 (b) If more than four years have passed since a certificate 

33 expiration date, an applicant must complete the initial 

34 certification process required under subdivision l." 

35 Renumber the sections in sequence 

36 Amend the title as follows: 

26 
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1 Page 1, line 22, after "2;" insert "144E.001, subdivisions 

2 8, 15, by adding a subdivision; 144E.27, subdivision 2; 144E.28, 

3 subdivisions 1, 3, 7, 8;" 

4 Page 1, line 24, after the semicolon, insert "148.513, by 

5 adding a subdivision;" 

6 Page 1, line 26, after "3;" insert "148.5196, subdivision 

7 1 i II 

8 Page 1, line 40, after "subdivisions" insert "2h," and 

9 after "4c" insert ", 9" 

10 Page 1, line 41, after 11 2; 11 insert "214.06, subdivision 1, 

11 by adding a subdivision;" 

12 Page 2, line 1, after "chapters" insert "144E;" 

13 Page 2, line 9, delete the second "subdivision" and insert 

14 "subdivisions" and after "2a" insert ", 8, 10; 153A.19" 

15 
16 

17 
18 
19 
20 
21 

And when so amended 
Report adopted. 

the bi1-ralo pass. Amendments adopted. 

CJ.,l t1 ....... ./ .... ~ ................. . 
(Committee Chair) 

May 3 , 2 0 05 ...................... . 
(Date of Committee recommendation) 
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1 A bill for an act 

2 relating to health; recodifying statutes and rules 
3 relating to social work; authorizing rulemaking; 
4 providing penalties; modifying provisions relating to 
5 physical therapists; providing penalties; modifying 
6 the Psychology Practice Act; phasing out licensure as 
7 a licensed psychological practitioner; modifying 
8 dental licensure provisions; establishing fees; 
9 modifying provisions for licensed professional 

10 counselors; authori~ing certain rulemaking; modifying 
11 physician review; modifying information contained on 
12 prescriptions; providing recognition for the practice 
13 of respiratory therapy in emergency situations; 
14 providing that audiologists need not obtain hearing 
15 instrument dispenser certification; providing 
16 penalties; transferring oversight authority for the 
17 Office of Mental Health Practice; requiring a report; 
18 establishing penalty fees for certain credentialed 
19 health occupations; providing criminal penalties; 
20 appropriating money; amending Minnesota Statutes 2004, 
21 sections 13.383, subdivision 10; 13.411, subdivision 
22 5; 144.335, subdivision l; 144A.46, subdivision 2; 
23 147.09; 147A.18, subdivisions 1, 3; 147C.05; 148.512, 
24 subdivision 6, by adding subdivisions; 148.515, by 
25 adding a subdivision; 148.5194, by adding 
26 subdivisions; 148.5195, subdivision 3; 148.6445, by 
27 adding a subdivision; 148.65, by adding subdivisions; 
28 148.706; 148.75; 148.89, subdivision 5; 148.90, 
29 subdivisicin l; 148.907, by adding a subdivision; 
30 148.908, subdivision 2, by adding a subdivision; 
31 .148.909; 148.916, subdivision 2; 148.925, subdivision 
32 6; 148.941, subdivision 2; 148.96, subdivision 3; 
33 148B.53, subdivisions 1, 3; 148B.54, subdivision 2; 
34 148B.59; 148B.60; 148B.61; 148C.03, subdivision l; 
35 148C.04, subdivisions 3, 4, 6; 148C.091, subdivision 
36 l; 148C.10, subdivision 2; 148C.ll, subdivisions 1, 4, 
37 5, 6; 148C.12, subdivision 3, by adding a subdivision; 
38 150A.Ol, subdivision 6a; 150A.06, subdivision la; 
39 150A.10, subdivision la; 153A.13, subdivision 5; 
40 153A.14, subdivisions 2i, 4, 4c; 153A.15, subdivision 
41 l; 153A.20, subdivision l; 214.01, subdivision 2; 
42 214.103, subdivision l; 245.462, subdivision 18; 
43 245.4871, subdivision 27; 256B.0625, subdivision 38; 
44 256J.08, subdivision 73a; 319B.02, subdivision 19; 
45 319B.40; Laws 2003, chapter 118, section 29, as 
46 amended; proposing coding for new law in Minnesota 

1 
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1 Statutes, chapters 148; 148B; 148C; 150A; 153A; 
2 providing coding for new law as Minnesota Statutes, 
3 chapter 148D; repealing Minnesota Statutes 2004, 
4 sections 148B.18; 148B.185; 148B.19; 148B.20; 148B.21; 
5 148B.215; 148B.22; 148B.224; 148B.225; 148B.226; 
6 148B.24; 148B.25; 148B.26; 148B.27; 148B.28; 148B.281; 
7 148B. 282; . 148B. 283; 148B. 284; 148B. 285; 148B. 286; 
8 148B.287; 148B.288; 148B.289; 148C.02; 148C.12, 
9 subdivision 4; 153A.14, subdivision 2a; Minnesota 

10 Rules, parts 4747.0030, subparts 11, 16; 4747.1200; 
11 4747.1300; 5601.0100, subparts 3, 4; 8740.0100; 
12 8740.0llO; 8740.0120; 8740.0122; 8740.0130; 8740.0155; 
13 8740.0185; 8740.0187; 8740.0200; 8740.0240; 8740.0260; 
14 8740.0285; 8740.0300; 8740.0310; 8740.0315; 8740.0320; 
15 8740.0325; 8740.0330; 8740.0335; 8740.0340; 8740.0345. 

16 BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF MINNESOTA: 

17 ARTICLE 1 

18 BOARD OF SOCIAL WORK 

19 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 13.383, 

20 subdivision 10, is amended to read: 

21 Subd. 10. [SOCIAL WORKERS.] (a) [DISCIPLINARY DATA 

22 GENERALLY.] Data held by the Board of Social Work in connection 

23 with disciplinary matters are classified under 

25 to 148D.270. 

26 (b) [REPORTS OF VIOLATIONS.] Certain reports of violations 

27 submitted to the Board of Social Work are classified 

28 under seee±o~-%48B.%84 sections 148D.240 to 148D.250. 

29 (c) [CLIENT RECORDS.] Client records of a patient cared 

30 for by a social worker who is under review by the Board of 

31 Social Work are classified under seee±ons-i48B.%8%-and-%48B.%867 

32 sttbd±~±s±on-3 section 148D.230. 

33 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 13.411, 

34 subdivision 5, is amended to read: 

35 Subd. 5. [SOCIAL WORKERS.] Residence addresses and 

36 telephone numbers of 'social worker licensees are classified 

37 under seee±on-%48B.%851-sttbd±~±s±on-5 chapter 148D. 

38 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 144.335, 

39 subdivision 1, is amended to read: 

40 Subdivision 1. [DEFINITIONS.] For the purposes of this 

41 section, the following terms have the meanings given them: 

42 (a) "Patient" means a natural person who has received 

43 health care services from a provider for treatment or 
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1 examination of a medical, psychiatric, or mental condition, the 

2 surviving spouse and parents of a deceased patient, or a person 

3 the patient appoints in writing as a representative, including a 

4 health care agent acting pursuant to chapter 14SC, unless the 

5 authority of the agent has been limited by the principal in the 

6 principal's health care directive. Except for minors who have 

7 received health care services pur$uant to sections 144.341 to 

8 144.347, in the case of a minor, patient includes a parent or 

9 guardian, or a person acting as a parent or guardian in the 

10 absence of a parent or guardian. 

11 (b) "Provider" means (1) any person who furnishes health 

12 care services and is regulated to furnish the services pursuant 

13 to chapter 147, 147A, 147B, 147C, 1470, 148, 148B, 148C, 1480, 

14 150A, 151, 153, or 153A, or Minnesota Rules, chapter 4666; (2) a 

15 home care provider licensed under section 144A.46; (3) a health 

16 care facility licensed pursuant to this chapter or chapter 144A; 

17 (4) a physician assistant registered under chapter.147A; and (5) 

18 an unlicensed mental health practitioner regulated pursuant to 

19 sections 148B.60 to 148B.71. 

20 (c) "Individually identifiable form" means a form in which 

21 the patient is or can be identified as the subject of the health 

22 records. 

23 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 144A.46, 

24 subdivision 2, is amended to read: 

25 Subd. 2. [EXEMPTIONS.] The following individuals or 

26 organizations are exempt from the requirement to obtain a home 

27 care provider license: 

28 (1) a person who is licensed as a registered nurse under 

29 sections 148.171 to 148.285 and who independently provides 

30 nursing services in the home without any contractual or 

31 employment relationship to a home care provider or other 

32 organization; 

33 (2) a personal care assistant who provides services to only 

34 one individual under the medical assistance program as 

35 authorized under sections 256B.0625, subdivision 19a, and 

36 256B.04, subdivision 16; 
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1 (3) a person or organization that exclusively offers, 

2 provides, or arranges for personal care assistant services to 

3 only one individual under the medical assistance program as 

4 authorized under sections 256B.0625, subdivision 19a, and 

5 256B.04, subdivision 16; 

6 (4) a person who is licensed under sections 148.65 to 

7 148.78 and who independently provides physical therapy services 

8 in the home without any contractual or employment relationship 

9 to a home care provider or other organization; 

10 (5) a provider that is licensed by the commissioner of 

11 human services to provide semi-independent living services under 

12 Minnesota Rules, parts 9525.0500 to 9525.0660 when providing 

13 home care services to a person with a developmental disability; 

14 (6) a provider that is licensed by the commissioner of 

15 human services to provide home and community-based services 

16 under Minnesota Rules, parts 9525.2000 to 9525.2140 when 

17 providing home care services to a person with a developmental 

18 disability; 

19 (7) a person or organization that provides only home 

20 management services, if the person or organization is registered 

21 under section 144A.461; or 

22 (8) a person who is licensed as a social worker under 

23 seet±ofts-~48B.~8-to-~48B.%89 chapter 1480 and who provides 

24 social work services in the home independently and not through 

25 any contractual or employment relationship with a home care 

26 provider or other organization. 

27 An exemption under this subdivision does not excuse the 

28 individual from complying with applicable provisions of the home 

29 care bill of rights. 

30 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 147.09, is 

31 amended to read: 

32 147.09 [EXEMPTIONS.] 

33 Section 147.081 does not apply to, control, prevent or 

34 restrict the practice, service, 0r activities of: 

35 (1) A person who is a commissioned medical officer of, a 

36 member of, or employed by, the armed forces of the United 
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l States, the United States Public Health Service, the Veterans 

2 Administration, any federal institution or any federal agency 

3 while engaged in the performance of official duties within this 

4 state, if the person is licensed elsewhere. 

5 (2) A licensed physician from a state or country who is in 

6 actual consultation here. 

7 (3) A licensed or registered physician who treats the 

8 physician's home state patients or other participating patients 

9 while the physicians and those patients are participating 

10 together in outdoor recreation in this state as defined by 

11 section 86A.03, subdivision 3. A physician shall first register 

12 with the board on a form developed by the board for that 

13 purpose. The board shall not be required to promulgate the 

14 contents of that form by rule. No fee shall be charged for this 

15 registration. 

16 (4) A student practicing under the direct supervision of a 

17 preceptor while the student is enrolled in and regularly 

18 attending a recognized medical school. 

19 (5) A student who is in continuing training and performing 

20 the duties of an intern or resident or engaged in postgraduate 

21 work considered by the board to be the equivalent of an 

22 internship or residency in any hospital or institution approved 

23 for training by the board, provided the student has a residency 

24 permit issued by the board under section 147.0391. 

25 (6) A person employed in a scientific, sanitary, or 

26 teaching capacity by the state university, the Department of 

27 Education, a public or private school, college, or other bona 

28 fide educational institution, a nonprofit organization, which 

29 has tax-exempt status in accordance with the Internal Revenue 

30 Code, section 50l(c)(3), and is organized and operated primarily 

31 for the purpose of conducting scientific research directed 

32 towards discovering the causes of and cures for human diseases, 

33 or the state Department of Health, whose duties are entirely of 

34 a research, public health, or educational character, while 

35 engaged in such duties; provided that if the research includes 

36 the study of humans, such research shall be conducted under the 

Article 1 Section 5 5 



SF1204 FIRST ENGROSSMENT [REVISOR ] KJ Sl204-l 

l supervision of one or more physicians licensed under this 

2 chapter. 

3 (7) Physician's assistants registered in this state. 

4 (8) A doctor of osteopathy duly licensed by the state Board 

5 of Osteopathy under Minnesota Statutes 1961, sections 148.11 to 

6 148.16, prior to May 1, 1963, who has not been granted a license 

7 to practice medicine in accordance with this chapter provided 

8 that the doctor confines activities within the scope of the 

9 license. 

10 (9) Any person licensed by a health related licensing 

11 .board, as defined in section. 214.01, subdivision 2, or 

12 registered by the commissioner of health pursuant to section 

13 214.13, including psychological practitioners with respect to 

14 the use of hypnosis; provided that the person confines 

15 activities within the scope of the license. 

16 (10) A person who practices ritual circumcision pursuant to 

17 the requirements or tenets of any established religion. 

18 (11) A Christian Scientist or other person who endeavors to 

19 prevent or cure disease or suffering exclusively by mental or 

20 spiritual means or by prayer. 

21 (12) A physician licensed to practice medicine in another 

22 state who is in this state for the sole purpose of providing 

23 medical services at a competitive athletic event. The physician 

24 may practice medicine only on participants in the athletic 

25 event. A physician shall first register with the board on a 

.26 form developed by the board for that purpose. The board shall 

27 not be required to adopt the contents of the form by rule. The 

28 physician shall provide evidence satisfactory to the board of a 

29 current unrestricted license in another state. The board shall 

30 charge a fee of $50 for the registration. · 

31 (13) A psychologist licensed under section 148.907 or a 

32 social worker licensed under ~ee~~eft-±48B.%± chapter 1480 who 

33 uses or supervises the use of a penile or vaginal plethysmograph 

34 in assessing and treating individuals suspected of engaging in 

35 aberrant sexual behavior and sex offenders. 

36 (14) Any person issued a training course certificate or 

Article l Section 5 6 



SF1204 FIRST ENGROSSMENT [REVISOR ] KJ Sl204-l 

1 credentialed by the Emergency Medical Services Regulatory Board 

2 established in chapter 144E, provided the person confines 

3 activities within the scope of training at the certified or 

4 credentialed level. 

5 (15} An unlicensed complementary and alternative health 

6 care practitioner practicing according to chapter 146A. 

7 Sec. 6. [148D.001] [CITATION.] 

8 This chapter may be cited as the "Minnesota Board of Social 

9 Work Practice Act." 

10 Sec. 7. [148D.010] [DEFINITIONS.] 

11 Subdivision 1. [SCOPE.] For the purpose of this chapter, 

12 the terms in this section have the meanings given. 

13 Subd. 2. [APPLICANT.] "Applicant" means a person who 

14 submits an application to the board for a new license, a license 

15 renewal, a change in license, an inactive license, reactivation 

16 of a license, or a voluntary termination. 

17 Subd. 3. [APPLICATION.] "Application" means an application 

18 to tqe board for a new license, a license renewal, a change in 

19 license, an inactive license, reactivation of a license, or 

20 voluntary termination. 

21 Subd. 4. [BOARD.] "Board" means the Board of Social Work 

22 created under section 148D.025. 

23 Subd. 5. [CLIENT.] "Client" means an individual, couple, 

24 family, group, community, or organization that receives or has 

25 received social work services as described in subdivision 9. 

26 Subd. 6. [CLINICAL PRACTICE.] "Clinical practice" means 

27 applying professional social work knowledge, skills, and values 

28 in the differential diagnosis and treatment of psychosocial 

29 function, disability, or impairment, including addictions and 

30 emotional, mental, and behavioral disorders. Treatment includes 

31 a plan based on a differential diagnosis. Treatment may 

32 include, but is not limited to, the provision of psychotherapy 

33 to individuals, couples, families, and groups. Clinical social 

34 workers may also provide the services described in subdivision 9. 

35 Subd. 7. [INTERN.] "Intern" means a student in field 

36 placement working under the supervision or direction of a social 
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1 worker. 

2 Subd. 8. [PERSON-IN-ENVIRONMENT PERSPECTIVE.] 

3 "Person-in-environment perspective" means viewing human 

4 behavior, development, and function in the context of one or 

5 more of the following: the environment, social functioning, 

6 mental health, and physical health. 

7 Subd. 9. [PRACTICE OF SOCIAL WORK.] "Practice of social 

8 work" means working to maintain, restore, or improve behavioral, 

9 cognitive, emotional, mental, or social functioning of clients, 

10 in a manner that applies accepted professional social work 

11 knowledge, skills, and values, including the 

12 person-in-environment perspective, by providing in person or 

13 through telephone, video conferencing, or electronic means one 

14 or more of the social work services described in clauses (1) to 

15 (3). Social work services may address conditions that impair or 

16 limit·behavioral, cognitive, emotional, mental, or social 

17 functioning. Such conditions include, but are not limited to, 

18 the following: abuse and neglect of children or vulnerable 

19 adults, addictions, developmental disorders, disabilities, 

20 discrimination, illness, injuries, poverty, and trauma. Social 

21 work services include: 

22 (1) providing assessment and intervention through direct 

23 contact with clients, developing a plan·based on information 

24 from an assessment, and providing services which include, but 

25 are not limited to, assessment, case management, client-centered 

26 advocacy, client education, consultation, counseling, crisis 

27 intervention, and referral; 

28 (2) providing for the direct or indirect benefit of clients 

29 through administrative, educational, policy, or research 

30 services including, but not limited to: 

31 (i) advocating for policies, programs, or services to 

32 improve the well-being of clients; 

33 (ii) conducting research related to social work services; 

34 (iii) developing and administering programs which provide 

35 social work services; 

36 (iv) engaging in community organization to address social 
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1 problems through planned collective action; 

2 (v) supervising individuals who provide social work 

3 services to clients; 

4 (vi) supervising social workers in order to comply with the 

5 supervised practice requirements specified in sections 148D.100 

6 to 148D.125; and 

7 (vii) teaching professional social work knowledge, skills, 

8 and values to students; and 

9 (3) engaging in clinical practice. 

10 Subd. 10. [PROFESSIONAL NAME.] "Professional name" means 

11 the name a licensed social worker uses in making representations 

12 of the social worker's professional status. to the public and 

13 which has been designated to the board in writing pursuant to 

14 section 1480.090. · 

15 Subd. 11. [PROFESSIONAL SOCIAL WORK KNOWLEDGE, SKILLS, AND 

16 VALUES.] "Professional social work knowledge, skills, and values" 

17 means the knowledge, skills, and values taught in programs 

18 accredited by the Council on Social Work Education, the Canadian 

19 Association of Schools of Social Work, or a similar 

20 accreditation body designated by the board. Professional social 

21 work knowledge, skills, and values include, but are not limited 

22 to, principles of person-in-environment and the values, 

23 principles, and standards described in the Code of Ethics of the 

24 National Association of Social Workers. 

25 Subd. 12. [SEXUAL CONDUCT.] "Sexual conduct" means any 

26 . physical contact or conduct that may be reasonably interpreted 

27 as sexual, or any oral, written, electronic, or other 

28 communication that suggests engaging in physical contact or 

29 conduct that may be reasonably interpreted as sexual. 

30 Subd. 13. [SOCIAL WORKER.] "Social worker" means an 

31 individual who: 

32 (1) is licensed as a social worker; or 

33 (2) has obtained a social work degree from a program 

34 accredited by the Council on Social Work Education, the Canadian 

35 Association of Schools of Social Work, or a similar 

36 accreditation body designated by the board and engages in the 

Article 1 Section 7 9 



SF1204 FIRST ENGROSSMENT [REVISOR ] KJ Sl204-l 

1 practice of social work. 

2 Subd. 14. [STUDENT.] "Student" means an individual who is 

3 taught professional social work knowledge, skills, and values in 

4 a program that has been accredited by the Council on Social Work 

5 Education, the Canadian Association of Schools of Social Work, 

6 or a similar accreditation body designated by the board. 

7 Subd. 15. [SUPERVISEE.] "Supervisee" means an individual 

8 provided evaluation and supervision or dLrection by a social 

9 worker. 

10 Subd. 16. [SUPERVISION.] "Supervision" means a 

11 professional relationship between a supervisor and a social 

12 worker in which the supervisor provides evaluation and direction 

13 of the services provided by the social worker to promote 

14 competent and ethical services to clients through the continuing 

15 development of the social worker's knowledge and application of 

16 accepted professional social work knowledge, skills, and values. 

17 Sec. 8. [ 148D. 015] [SCOPE. ] 

18 This chapter applies to all applicants and licensees, all 

19 persons who use the title social worker, and all persons in or 

20 out of this state who provide social work services to clients 

21 who reside in this state unless there are specific applicable 

22 exemptions provided by law. 

23 Sec. 9. [148D.020] [CHAPTER 214.] 

24 Chapter 214 applies to the Board of Social Work unless 

25 superseded by this chapter. 

26 Sec. 10. [148D.025] [BOARD OF SOCIAL WORK.] 

27 Subdivision 1. [CREATION.] The Board of Social Work 

28 consists of 15 members appointed by the governor. The members 

29 are: 

30 (1) ten social workers licensed pursuant to section 

31 148D.055; and 

32 (2) five public members as defined in section 214.02. 

33 Subd. 2. [QUALIFICATIONS OF BOARD MEMBERS.] {a) All social 

34 worker members must have engaged in the practice of social work 

35 in Minnesota for at least one year during the ten years 

36 preceding their appointments. 
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1 (b) Five social worker members must be licensed social 

2 workers. The other five members must be a licensed graduate 

3 social worker, a licensed independent social worker, or a 

4 licensed independent clinical social worker. 

5 (c) Eight social worker members must be engaged at the time 

6 of their appointment in the practice of social work in Minnesota 

7 in the following settings: 

8 (1) one member must be engaged in the practice of social 

9 work in a county agency; 

10 (2) one member must be engaged in the practice of social 

11 work in a state agency; 

12 (3) one member must be engaged in the practice of social· 

13 work in an elementary, middle, or secondary school; 

14 (4) one member must be employed in a hospital or nursing 

15 home licensed under chapter 144 or 144A; 

16 (5) two members must be engaged in the practice of social 

17 work in a private agency; 

18 (6) one member must be engaged in the practice of social 

19 work in a clinical social work setting; and 

20 (7) one member must be an educator engaged in regular 

21 teaching duties at a program of social work accredited by the 

22 Council on Social Work Education or a similar accreditation body 

23 designated by the board. 

24 (d) At the time of their appointments, at least six members 

25 must reside outside of the seven-county metropolitan area. 

26 (e) At the time of their appointments, at least five 

27 members must be persons with expertise in communities of color. 

28 Subd. 3. [OFFICERS.] The board must annually elect from 

29 its membership a chair, vice-chair, and secretary-treasurer. 

30 Subd. 4. [BYLAWS.] The board must adopt bylaws to govern 

31 its proceedings. 

32 Subd. 5. [EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR.] The board must appoint and 

33 employ an executive director who is not a member of the board. 

34 Sec. 11. [148D.030] [DUTIES OF THE BOARD.] 
f 

35 Subdivision 1. [DUTIES.] The board ·must perform the duties 

36 necessary to promote and protect the public health, safety, and 
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1 welfare through the licensure and regulation of persons who 

2 practice social work in this state. These duties include, but 

3 are not limited to: 

4 (1) establishing the qualifications and procedures for 

5 individuals to be licensed as social workers; 

6 (2) establishing standards of practic~ for social workers; 

7 (3) holding examinations or contracting with the 

8 Association of Social Work Boards or a similar examination body 

9 designated by the board to hold examinations to assess 

10 applicants' qualifications; 

11 (4) issuing licenses to qualified individuals pursuant to 

12 sections 1480.055 and 1480.060; 

13 (5) taking disciplinary, adversarial, corrective, or other 

14 action pursuant t'o sections 1480.255 to 1480.270 when an 

15 individual violates the requirements of this chapter; 

16 (6) assessing fees pursuant to sections 1480.175 and 

17 1480.180; and 

18 (7) educating social workers and the public on the 

19 requirements of the board. 

20 Subd. 2. [RULES.] The board may adopt and enforce rules to 

21 carry out the duties specified in subdivision 1. 

22 Sec. 12. [1480.035] [VARIANCES.] 

23 If the effect of a requirement pursuant to this chapter is 

24 unreasonable, impossible to execute, absurd, or would impose an 

25 extreme hardship on a licensee, the board may grant a variance 

26 if the variance is consistent with promoting and protecting the 

27 public health, safety, and welfare. A variance must not be 

28 granted for core licensing standards such as substantive 

29 educational and examination requirements. 

30 Sec. 13. [1480.040] [IMMUNITY.] 

31 Board members, board employees, and persons engaged on 

32 behalf of the board are immune from civil liability and criminal 

33 prosecution for any actions, transactions, or publications in 

34 the lawful execution of or relating to their duties under this 

35 chapter. 

36 Sec. 14. [1480.045] [CONTESTED CASE HEARING.] 
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1 An applicant or a licensee who is the subject of a 

2 disciplinary or adversarial action by the board pursuant to this 

3 chapter may request a contested case hearing under sections 

4 14.57 to 14.62. An applicant or a licensee who desires to 

5 request a contested case hearing must submit a written request 

6 to the board within 90 days after the date on which the board 

7 mailed the notification of the adverse action, except as 

8 otherwise provided in this chapter. 

9 Sec. 15. [148D.050] [LICENSING; SCOPE OF PRACTICE.] 

10 Subdivision 1. [REQUIREMENTS.] The practice of social work 

11 must comply with the requirements of subdivision 2, 3, 4, or 5. 

12 Subd. 2. [LICENSED SOCIAL WORKER.] A licensed social 

13 worker may engage in social work practice except that a licensed 

14 social worker must not engage in clinical practice. 

15 Subd. 3. [LICENSED GRADUATE SOCIAL WORKER.] A licensed 

16 graduate social worker may engage in social work practice except 

17 that a licensed graduate social worker must not engage in 

18 clinical practice except under the supervision of a licensed 

19 independent clinical social worker or an alternate supervisor 

20 pursuant to section 148D.120. 

21 Subd·. 4. [LICENSED INDEPENDENT SOCIAL WORKER.] A licensed 

22 independent social worker may engage in social work practice 

23 except that a licensed independent social worker must not engage 

24 in clinical practice except under the supervision of a licensed 

25 independent clinical social worker or an alternate supervisor 

26 pursuant to section 148D.120. 

27 Subd. 5. [LICENSED INDEPENDENT CLINICAL SOCIAL WORKER.]~ 

28 licensed independent clinical social worker may engage in social 

29 work practice, including clinical eractice. 

30 Sec. 16. [148D.055] [LICENSE REQUIREMENTS.] 

31 Subdivision 1. [LICENSE REQUIRED.] (a) In order to 

32 practice social work, an individual must have a social work 

33 license under this section or section 148D.060, except when the 

34 individual is exempt from licensure pursuant to section 148D.065. 

35 (b) Individuals who teach professional social work 

36 knowledge, skills, and values to students and who have a social 
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1 work degree from a program accredited by the Council on Social 

2 Work Education, the Canadian Association of Schools of Social 

3 Work, or a similar accreditation body designated by the board 

4 must have a social work license under this section or section 

5 1480.060, except when the individual is exempt from licensure 

6 pursuant to section 1480.065. 

7 Subd. 2. [QUALIFICATIONS FOR LICENSURE BY EXAMINATION AS A 

8 LICENSED SOCIAL WORKER.] (a) Except as provided in paragraph 

9 (i), to be licensed as a licensed social worker, an applicant 

10 for licensure by examination must provide evidence satisfactory 

11 to the board that the applicant: 

12 (1) has received a baccalaureate degree in social work from 

13 a program accredited by the Council on Social Work Education, 

14 the Canadian Association of Schools of Social Work, or a similar 

15 accreditation body designated by the board; 

16 (2) has passed the bachelors or equivalent examination 

17 administered by the Association of Social Work Boards or a 

18 similar examination body designated by the board. Unless an 

19 applicant applies for licensure by endorsement pursuant to 

20 subdivision 7, an examination is not valid if it was taken and 

21 passed eight or more years prior to submitting a completed, 

22 signed application form provided by the board. The examination 

23 may be taken prior to completing degree requirements; 

24 (3) has submitted a completed, signed application form 

25 provided by the board, including the applicable application fee 

26. specified in section 1480.180. For applications submitted 

27 electronically, a "signed application" means providing an 

28 attestation as specified by the board; 

29 (4) has submitted the criminal background check fee and a 

30 form provided by the board authorizing a criminal background 

31 check pursuant to.subdivision 8; 

32 (5} has paid the applicable license fee specified in 

33 section 1480.180; and 

34 (6) has not engaged in conduct that was or would be in 

35 violation of the standards of practice specified in sections 

36 1480.195 to 1480.240. If the applicant has engaged in conduct 
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1 that was or would be in violation of the standards of practice, 

2 the board may take action pursuant to sections 1480.255 to 

3 1480.270. 

4 (b) An application that is not completed and signed, or 

5 that is not accompanied by the correct fee, must be returned to 

6 the applicant, along with any fee submitted, and.is void. 

7 (c) A licensee granted a license by the board pursuant to 

8 paragraph (a) must meet the supervised practice requirements 

9 specified in sections 1480.100 to 1480.125. If a licensee does 

10 not meet the supervised practice requirements, the board may 

11 take action pursuant to sections 1480.255 to 1480.270. 

12 {d) By submitting an application for licensure, an 

13 applicant authorizes the board to investigate any information 

14 provided or requested in the application. The board may request 

15 that the applicant provide additional· information, verification, 

16 or documentation. 

17 (e} Within one year of the time the board receives an 

18 application for licensure, the applicant must meet all the 

19 requirements specified in paragraph (a) and must provide all of 

20 the information requested by the board pursuant to paragraph 

21 (d}. If within one year the applicant does not meet all the 

22 requirements, or does not provide all of the information 

23 requested, the applicant is considered ineligible and the 

24 application for licensure must be closed. 

25 (f} Except as provided in paragraph (g), an applicant may 

26 not take more than three times the bachelors or equivalent 

27 examination administered by the Association of Social Work 

28 Boards, or a similar examination body designated by the board. 

29 An applicant must receive a passing score on the bachelors or 

30 equivalent examination administered by the Association of Social 

31 Work Boards or a similar examination body designated by the 

32 board in no more than 18 months after the date the applicant 

33 first failed the examination. 

34 (g) Notwithstanding paragraph (f), the board may allow an 

35 applicant to take, for a fourth or subsequent time, the 

36 bachelors or equivalent examination administered by the 
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1 Association of Social Work Boards or a similar examination body 

2 designated by the board if the applicant: 

3 (1) meets all requirements specified in paragraphs (a) to 

4 (e) other than passing the bachelors or equivalent examination 

5 administered by the Association of Social Work Boards or a 

6 similar examination body designated by the board; 

7 (2) provides to the board a description of the efforts the 

8 applicant has made to improve the applicant's score and 

9 demonstrates to the board's satisfaction that the efforts are 

10 likely to improve the score; and 

11 (3) provides to the board letters of recommendation from 

12 two licensed social workers attesting to the applicant's ability 

13 to practice social work competently and ethically in accordance 

14 with professional social work knowledge, skills, and values. 

15 (h) An individual must not practice social work until the 

16 individual passes the examination and receives a social work 

17 license under this section or section 1480.060. If the board 

18 has reason to believe that an applicant may be practicing social 

19 work without a license, and the applicant has failed the 

20 bachelors or equivalent examination administered by the 

21 Association of Social Work Boards or a similar examination body 

22 designated by the board, the board may notify the applicant's 

23 employer that the applicant is not licensed as a social worker. 

24 (i) An applicant who was born in a foreign country, who has 

25 taken and failed to pass the examination specified in paragraph 

26 (a), clause (2), at least once since January 1, 2000, and for 

27 whom English is a second language, is eligible for licensure as 

28 a social worker if the applicant: 

29 (1) provides evidence to the board of compliance with the 

30 requirements in paragraph (a), clauses (1) and (3) to (6), and 

31 in paragraphs (b) to (e·) and (h); and 

32 (2) provides to the board letters of recommendation and 

33 experience ratings from two licensed social workers and one 

34 professor from the applicant's social work program who can 

35 · attest to the applicant's competence. 

36 This paragraph expires August 1, 2007. 
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1 Subd. 3. [QUALIFICATIONS FOR LICENSURE BY EXAMINATION AS A 

2 LICENSED GRADUATE SOCIAL WORKER.] (a) Except as provided in 

3 paragraph (i), to be licensed as a licensed graduate social 

4 worker, an applicant for licensure by examination must provide 

5 evidence satisfactory to the board that the applicant: 

6 (1) has received a graduate degree in social work from a 

7 program accredited by the Council on Social Work Education, the 

8 Canadian Association of Schools of Social Work, or a similar 

9 accreditation body designated by the board; 

10 (2) has passed the masters or equivalent examination 

11 administered by the Association of Social Work Boards or a 

12 similar examination body designated by the board. Unless an 

13 applicant applies for licensure by endorsement pursuant to 

14 section 148D.055, subdivision 7, an examination is not valid if 

15 it was taken and passed eight or more years prior to submitting 

16 a completed, signed application form provided by the board. The 

17 examination may be taken prior to completing degree 

18 requirements; 

19 (3) has submitted a completed, signed application form 

20 provided by the board, including the applicable application·fee 

21 specified in section 1480.180. For applications submitted 

22 electronically, a "signed application" means providing an 

23 attestation as specified by the board; 

24 (4) has submitted the criminal background check fee and a 

25 form provided by the board authorizing a criminal background 

26 check pursuant to subdivisiori 8; 

27 (5) has paid the applicable license fee specified in 

28 section 1480.180; and 

29 (6) has not engaged in conduct that was or would be in 

30 violation of the standards of practice specified in sections 

31 1480.195 to 1480.240. If the applicant has engaged in conduct 

32 that was or would be in violation of the standards of practice, 

33 the board may take action pursuant to sections 1480.255 to 

34 1480.270. 

35 (b) An application which is not completed and signed, or 

36 which is not accompanied by the correct fee, must be returned to 
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1 the applicant, along with any fee submitted, and is void. 

2 (c) A licensee granted a license by the board pursuant to 

3 paragraph (a) must meet the supervised practice requirements 

4 specified in sections 1480.100 to 1480.125. If a licensee does 

5 not meet the supervised practice requirements, the board may 

6 take action pursuant to sections 1480.255 to 1480.270. 

7 (d) By submitting an application for licensure, an 

8 applicant authorizes the board to investigate any information 

9 provided or requested in the application. The board may request 

10 that the applicant provide additional information, verification, 

11 or documentation. 

12 (e) Within one year of the time the board receives an 

13 application for licensure, the applicant must meet all the 

14 requirements specified in paragraph (a) and must provide all of 

15 the information requested by the board pursuant to paragraph 

16 (d). If within one year the applicant does· not meet all the 

17 requirements, or does not provide all of the information 

18 requested, the applicant is considered ineligible and the 

19 application for licensure must be closed. 

20 (f) Except as provided in paragraph (g), an applicant may 

21 not take more than three times the masters or equivalent 

22 examination administered by the Association of Social Work 

23 Boards or a similar examination body designated by the board. 

24 An applicant must receive a passing score on the masters or 

25 equivalent examination administered by the Association of Social 

26 Work Boards or a similar examination body designated by the 

27 board in no more than 18 ~onths after the date the applicant 

28 first failed the examination. 

29 (g) Notwithstanding paragraph (f), the board may allow an 

30 applicant to take, for a fourth or subsequent time, the masters 

31 or equivalent examination administered by the Association of 

32 Social Work Boards or a similar examination body designated by 

33 the board if the applicant: 

34 (1) meets all requirements specified in paragraphs (a) to 

35 (e) other than passing the masters or equivalent examination 

36 administered by the Association of Social Work boards or a 
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1 similar examination body designated by the board; 

2 (2) provides to the board a description of the efforts the 

3 applicant has made to improve the applicant's score and 

4 demonstrates to the board's satisfaction that the efforts are 

5 likely to improve the score; and 

6 (3) provides to the board letters of recommendation from 

7 two licensed social workers attesting to the applicant's ability 

8 to practice social work competently and ethically in accordance 

9 with professional social work knowledge, skills, and values. 

10 (h) An individual must not practice social work until the 

11 individual passes the examination and receives a social work 

12 license under this section or section 148D.060. If the board 

13 has reason to believe that an applicant may be practicing social 

14 work without a license, and the applicant has failed the masters 

15 or equivalent examination administered by the Association of 

16 Social Work Boards or a similar examination body designated by 

17 the board, the board may notify the applicant's employer that 

18 the applicant is not licensed as a social worker. 

19 (i) An applicant who was born in a foreign country, who has 

20 taken and failed to pass the examination specified in paragraph 

21 (a), clause (2), at least once since January 1, 2000, and for 

22 whom English is a second language, is eligible for licensure as 

23 a social worker if the applicant: 

24 (1) provides evidence to the board of compliance with the 

25 requirements in paragraph (a), clauses (1) and (3) to (6), and 

26 in paragraphs (b) to (e) and (h); and 

27 (2) provides to the board letters of recommendation and 

28 experience ratings from two licensed social workers and one 

29 professor from the applicant's social work program who can 

30 attest to the applicant's competence. 

31 This paragraph expires August 1, 2007. 

32 Subd. 4. [QUALIFICATIONS FOR LICENSURE BY EXAMINATION AS A 

33 LICENSED INDEPENDENT SOCIAL WORKER.] (a) Except as provided in 

34 paragraph (i), to be licensed as a licensed independent social 

35 worker, an applicant for licensure by examination must provide 

36 evidence satisfactory to the board that the applicant: 
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1 (1) has received a graduate degree in social work from a 

2 program accredited by the Council on Social Work Education, the 

3 Canadian Association of Schools of Social Work, or a similar 

4 accreditation body designated by the board; 

5 (2) has practiced social work as defined in section 

6 1480.010, and has met the supervised practice requirements 

7 specified in sections 1480.100 to 1480.125; 

8 (3) has passed the advanced generalist or equivalent 

9 examination administered by the Association of Social Work 

10 Boards or a similar examination body designated by the board. 

11 Unless an applicant applies for licensure by endorsement 

12 pursuant to subdivision 7, an examination is not valid if it was 

13 taken and passed eight or more years prior to submitting a 

14 completed, signed application form provided by the board; 

15 (4) has submitted a completed, signed application form 

16 provided by the board, including the applicable application fee 

17 specified in section 1480.180. For applications submitted 

18 electronically, a "signed application" means providing an 

19 attestation as specified by the board; 

20 (5) has submitted the criminal background check fee and a 

21 form provided by the board authorizing a criminal background 

22 check pursuant to subdivision 8; 

23 (6) has paid the applicable license fee specified in 

24 section 1480.180; and 

25 (7) has not engaged in conduct that was or would be in 

26 violation of the standards of practice specified in sections 

27 1480.195 to 1480.240. If the applicant has engaged in conduct 

28 that was or would be in violation of the standards of practice, 

29 the board may take actiQ!!._p_ursuant to sections 1480.255 to 

30 1480.270. 

31 (b) An application which is not completed and signed, or 

32 which is not accompanied by the correct fee, must be returned to 

33 the applicant, along with any fee submitted, and is void. 

34 (c) A licensed independent social worker who practices 

35 clinical social work must meet the supervised practice 

36 requirements specified in sections 1480.100 to 1480.125. If a 
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1 licensee does not meet the supervised practice requirements, the 

2 board may take action pursuant to sections 1480.255 to 1480.270. 

3 (d) By submitting-an application for licensure, an 

4 applicant authorizes the board to investigate any information 

5 provided or requested in the application. The board may request 

6 that the applicant provide additional information, verification, 

7 or documentation. 

8 (e) Within one year of the time the board receives an 

9 application for licensure, the applicant must meet all the 

10 requirements specified in paragraph (a) and must provide all of 

11 the information requested by the board pursuant to paragraph 

12 (d}. If within one year the applicant does not meet all the 

13 requirements, or does not provide all of the information 

14 requested, the applicant is considered ineligible and the 

15 application for licensure must be closed. 

16 (f) Except as provided in paragraph (g}, an applicant may 

17 not take more than three times the advanced generalist or 

18 equivalent examination administered by the Association of Social 

19 Work Boards or a similar examination body designated by the 

20 board. An applicant must receive a passing score on the masters 

21 or equivalent examination administered by the Association of 

22 Social Work Boards or i similar examination body designated by 

23 the board in no more than 18 months after the first time the 

24 ~pplicant failed the examination. 

25 (g) Notwithstanding paragraph (f), the board may allow an 

26 applicant to take, for a fourth or subsequent time, the advanced 

27 generalist or equivalent examination administered by the 

28 Association of Social Work Boards or a similar examination body 

29 designated by the board if the applicant: 

30 (l} meets all requirements specified in paragraphs (a} to 

31 (e} other than passing the advanced generalist or equivalent 

32 examination administered by the Association of Social Work 

33 Boards or a similar examination body designated by the board; 

34 (2) provides to the board a description of the efforts the 

35 applicant has made to improve the applicant's score and 

36 demonstrates to the board's satisfaction that the efforts are 
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1 likely to improve the score; and 

2 (3) provides to the board letters of recommendation from 

3 two licensed social workers attesting to the applicant's ability 

4 to practice social work competently and ethically in accordance 

5 with professional social work knowledge, skills, and values. 

6 (h) An individual must not practice social work until the 

7 individual passes the examination and receives a social work 

8 license under this section or section 148D.060. If the board 

9 has reason to believe that an applicant may be practicing social 

10 work without a license, except as provided in section 148D.065, 

11 and the applicant has failed the advanced generalist or 

12 equivalent examination administered by the Association of Social 

13 Work Boards or a similar examination body designated by the 

14 board, the board may notify the applicant's employer that the 

15 applicant is not licensed as a social worker. 

16 (i} An applicant who was born in a foreign country, who has 

17 taken and failed to pass the examination specified in paragraph 

18 (a}, clause (3), at least once since January 1, 2000, and for 

19 whom English is a second language, is eligible for licensure as 

20 a social worker if the applicant: 

21 (1) provides evidence to the board of compliance with the 

22 requirements in paragraph (a), clauses (1), (2), and (4) to (7), 

23 and in paragraphs (b) to (e) and (h); and 

24 (2) provides to the board letters of recommendation and 

25 experience ratings from two licensed social workers and one 

26 professor from the applicant's social work program who can 

27 attest to the applicant's competence. 

28 This paragraph expires August 1, 2007. 

29 Subd. 5. [QUALIFICATIONS FOR LICENSURE BY EXAMINATION AS A 

30 LICENSED INDEPENDENT CLINICAL SOCIAL WORKER.] (a) Except as 

31 provided in paragraph (h), to be licensed as a licensed 

32 independent clinical social worker, an applicant for licensure 

33 by examination must provide evidence satisfactory to the board 

34 that the applicant: 

35 (1) has received a graduate degree in social work from a 

36 program accredited by the Council on Social Work Education, the 
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1 Canadian Association of Schools of Social Work, or a similar 

2 accreditation body designated by the board; 

3 (2) has practiced clinical social work as defined in 

4 section 148D.010, including both diagnosis and treatment, and 

5 has met the supervised practice requirements specified in 

6 sections 1480.100 to 1480.125; 

7 (3) has passed the clinical or equivalent examination 

8 administered by the Association of Social Work Boards or a 

9 similar examination body designated by the board. Unless an 

10 applicant applies for licensure by endorsement pursuant to 

11 subdivision 7, an examination is not valid if it was taken and 

12 passed eight or more years prior to submitting a completed, 

13 signed application form provided by the board; 

14 (4) has submitted a completed, signed application form 

15 provided by the board, including the applicable application fee 

16 specified in section 148D.180. For applications submitted 

17 electronically, a "signed application" means providing an 

18 attestation as specified by the board; 

19 (5) has submitted the criminal background check fee and a 

20 form provided by the board authorizing a criminal background 

21 check pursuant to subdivision 8; 

22 (6) has paid the license fee specified in section 148D.180; 

23 and 

24 (7) has not engaged in conduct that was or would be in 

25 violation of the standards of practice specified in sections 

26 148D.195 to 148D.240. If the applicant has engaged in conduct 

27 that was or would be in violation of the standards of practice, 

28 the board may take action pursuant to sections 1480.255 to 

29 1480.270. 

30 (b) An application which is not completed and signed, or 

31 which is not accompanied by the correct fee, must be returned to 

32 the applicant, along with any fee submitted, and is void. 

33 (c) By submitting an application for licensure, an 

34 applicant authorizes the board to investigate any information 

35 provided or requested in the application. The board may request 

36 that the applicant provide additional information, verification, 
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1 or documentation. 

2 (d) Within one year of the time the board receives an 

3 application for licensure, the applicant must meet all the 

4 requirements specified in paragraph (a) and must provide all of 

s the information requested by the board pursuant to paragraph 

6 (c). If within one year the applicant does not meet all the 

7 requirements, or does not provide all of the information 

8 requested, the applicant is considered ineligible and the 

9 application for licensure must be closed. 

10 (e) Except as provided in paragraph (f), an applicant may 

11 not take more than three times the clinical or equivalent 

12 examination administered by the Association of Social .Work 

13 Boards or a similar examination body designated by the board. 

14 An applicant must receive a passing score on the clinical or 

15 equivalent examination administered by the Association of Social 

16 Work Boards or a similar examination body designated by the 

17 board no later than 18 months after the first time the applicant 

18 failed the examination. 

19 (f) Notwithstanding paragraph (e), the board may allow an 

20 applicant to take, for a fourth or subsequent time, the clinical 

21 or equivalent examination administered by the Association of 

22 Social Work Boards or a similar examination body designated by 

23 the board if the applicant: 

24 (1) meets all requirements specified in paragraphs (a) to 

25 (d) other than passing the clinical or equivalent examination 

26 administered by the Association of Social Work Boards or a 

27 similar examination body designated by the board; 

28 (2) provides to the board a description of the efforts the 

29 applicant has made to improve the applicant's score and 

30 demonstrates to the board's satisfaction that the efforts are 

31 likely to improve the score; and 

32 (3) provides to the board letters of recommendation from 

33 two licensed social workers attesting to the applicant's ability 

34 to practice social work competently and ethically in accordance 

35 with profeisional social work knowledge, skills, and values. 

36 (g) An individual must not practice social work until the 
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1 individual passes the examination and receives a social work 

2 license under this section or section 1480.060. If the board 

3 has reason to believe that an applicant may be practicing social 

4 work without a license, and the applicant has failed the 

5 clinical or equivalent examination administered by the 

6 Association of Social Work Boards or a similar examination body 

7 designated by the board, the board may notify the applicant's 

8 employer that the applicant is not licensed as a social worker. 

9 (h) An applicant who was born in a foreign country, who has 

10 taken and failed to pass the examination specified in paragraph 

11 (a), clause (3), at least once since January 1, 2000, and for 

12 whom English is a second language, is eligible for licensure as 

13 a social worker if the applicant: 

14 (1) provides evidence to.the board of compliance with the 

15 requirements in paragraph (a), clauses (1), (2), and (4) to (7), 

16 and paragraphs (b) to (d) and (g); and 

17 (2) provides to the board letters of recommendation and 

18 experience ratings from two licensed social workers and one 

19 professor from the applicant's social work program who can 

20 attest to the applicant's competence. 

21 This paragraph expires August 1, 2007. 

22 Subd. 6. [DEGREES FROM OUTSIDE THE UNITED STATES OR 

23 CANADA.] If an applicant receives a degree from a program 

24 outside the United States or Canada that is not accredited by 

25 the Council on Social Work Education, the Canadian Association 

26 of Schools of Social Work, or a similar examination body 

27 designated by the board, the degree does not fulfill the 

28 requirements specified in subdivision 2, paragraph (a), clause 

29 (l); 3, paragraph (a), clause (l); 4, paragraph (a), clause (l); 

30 or 5, paragraph (a), clause (1), unless the Council on Social 

31 Work Education or a similar accreditation body designated by the 

32 board has determined through the council's international 

33 equivalency determination service that the degree earned is 

34 equivalent to the degree required. 

35 Subd. 7. [LICENSURE BY ENDORSEMENT.] (a) An applicant for 

36 licensure by endorsement must hold a current license or 
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1 credential to practice social work in another jurisdiction. 

2 (b) An applicant for licensure by endorsement who meets the 

3 qualifications of paragraph (a) and who demonstrates to the 

4 satisfaction of the board that the applicant passed the 

5 examination administered by the Association of Social Work 

6 Boards or a similar examination body designated by the board for 

7 the applicable license in Minnesota is not required to retake 

8 the licensing examination. 

9 (c) An application for licensure by endorsement must meet 

10 the applicable license requirements specified in subdivisions 1 

11 to 6 and submit the licensure by endorsement application fee 

12 specified in section 148D.180. 

13 Subd. 8. [CRIMINAL BACKGROUND CHECKS.] (a) Except as 

14 provided in paragraph (b), an initial license application must 

15 be accompanied by: 

16 (1) a form provided by the board authorizing the board to 

17 complete a criminal background check; and 

18 (2) the criminal background check fee specified by the 

19 Bureau of Criminal Apprehension. 

20 Criminal background check fees collected by the board must 

21 be used to reimburse the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension for the 

22 criminal background checks. 

23 (b) An applicant who has previously submitted a license 

24 application authorizing the board to complete a criminal 

25 background check is exempt from the requirement specified in 

26 paragraph (a). 

27 (c) If a criminal background check indicates that an 

28 applicant has engaged in criminal behavior, the board may take 

29 action pursuant.to sections 148D.255 to 148D.270. 

30 Subd. 9. [EFFECTIVE DATE.] The effective date of an 

31 initial license is the day on which the board receives the 

32 applicable license fee from an applicant approved for licensure. 

33 Subd. 10. [EXPIRATION DAT.E.] The expiration date of an 

34 initial license is the last day of the licensee's birth month in 

35 the second calendar year following the effective date of the 

36 initial license. 
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1 Subd. 11. [CHANGE IN LICENSE.] (a) A licensee who changes 

2 from a licensed social worker to a licensed graduate social 

3 worker, or from a licensed graduate social worker to a licensed 

4 independent social worker, or from a licensed graduate social 

5 worker or licensed independent social worker to a licensed 

6 independent clinical social worker, must pay the prorated share 

7 of the fee for the new license. 

8 (b) The effective date of the new license is the day on 

9 which the board ·receives the applicable license fee from an 

10 applicant approved for the new license. 

11 (c) The expiration date of the new license is the same date 

12 as the expiration date of the license held by the licensee prior 

13 to the change in the license. 

14 Sec. 17. [1480.060] [TEMPORARY LICENSES.] 

15 Subdivision 1. [STUDENTS AND OTHER PERSONS NOT CURRENTLY 

16 LICENSED IN ANOTHER JURISDICTION.] The board may issue a 

17 temporary license to practice social work to an applicant who is 

18 not licensed or credentialed to practice social work in any 

19 jurisdiction but has: 

20 (1) applied for a license under section 148D.055; 

21 (2) applied for a temporary license on a form provided by 

22 the board; 

23 (3) submitted a form provided by the board authorizing the 

24 board to complete a criminal background check; 

25 (4) passed the applicable licensure examination provided 

26 for in section 148D.055; 

27 (5) attested on a form provided _by the board that the 

28 applicant has completed the requirements for a baccalaureate or 

29 graduate degree in social work from a program accredited by the 
~ 

30 Council on Social Work Education, the Canadian Association of 

31 Schools of Social Work, or a similar accreditation body 

32 designated by the board; and 

33 (6) not engaged in conduct that was or would be in 

34 violation of the standards of practice specified in sections 

35 148D.195 to 148D.240. If the applicant has engaged in conduct 

36 that was or would be in violation of the standards of practice, 
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1 the board may take action pursuant to sections 148D.255 to 

2 148D.270. 

3 Subd. 2. [EMERGENCY SITUATIONS AND PERSONS CURRENTLY 

4 LICENSED IN ANOTHER JURISDICTION.] The board may issue a 

5 temporary license to practice social work to an· applicant who is 

6 licensed or credentialed to practice social work in another 

7 jurisdiction, may or may not have applied for a license under 

8 section 148D.055, and has: 

9 (1) applied for a temporary license on a form provided by 

10 the board; 

11 (2) submitted a form provided by the board authorizing the 

12 board to complete a criminal background check; 

13 (3) submitted evidence satisfactory to the board that the 

14 applicant is currently licensed or credentialed to practice 

15 social work in another jurisdiction; 

16 (4) attested on a form provided by the board that the 

17 applicant has completed the requirements for a baccalaureate or 

18 graduate degree in social work from a program accredited by the 

19 Council on Social Work Education, the Canadian Association of 

20 Schools of Social Work, or a similar accreditation body 

21 designated by the board; and 

22 (5) not engaged in conduct that was or would be in 

23 violation of the standards of practice specified in sections 

24 1480.195 to 1480.240. If the applicant has engaged in conduct 

25 that was or would be in violation of the standards of practice, 

26 the board may take action pursuant to sections 148D.255 to 

27 1480.270. 

28 Subd. 3. [TEACHERS.] The board may issue a te~porary 

29 license to practice social work to an applicant whose permanent 

30 residence is outside the United States, who is teaching social 

31 work at an academic institution in Minnesota for a period not to 

32 exceed 12 months, who may or may not have applied for a license 

~3 under section 148D.055, and who has: 

34 (1) applied for a temporary license on a form provided by 

35 the board; 

36 (2) submitted a form provided by the board authorizing the 
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1 board to complete a criminal background check; 

2 (3) attested on a form provided by the board that the 

3 applicant has completed the requirements for a baccalaureate or 

4 graduate degree in social work; and 

5 (4) has not engaged in conduct that was or would be. in 

6 violation of the standards of practice specified in sections 

7 148D.195 to 148D.240. If the applicant has engaged in conduct 

8 that was or would be in violation of the standards of practice, 

9 the board may take action pursuant to sections 1480.255 to 

10 148D.270. 

11 Subd. 4. [TEMPORARY LICENSE APPLICATION FEE.] An applicant 

12 for a temporary license must pay the application fee described 

13 in section 148D.180 plus the required fee for the cost of the 

14 criminal background check. Only one fee for the cost of the 

15 criminal background check must be submitted when the applicant 

16 is applying for both a temporary license and a license under 

17 section 148D.055. 

18 Subd. 5. [TEMPORARY LICENSE TERM.] (a) A temporary license 

19 is valid until expiration, or until the board issues or denies 

20 the license pursuant to section 148D.055, or until the board 

21 revokes the temporary license, whichever comes first. A 

22 temporary license is nonrenewable. 

23 (b) A temporary license issued pursuant to subdivision 1 or 

24 2 expires after six months. 

25 (c) A temporary license issued pursuant to subdivision 3 

26 expires after 12 months. 

27 Subd. 6. [LICENSEE WITH A TEMPORARY LICENSE WHO HAS 

28 COMPLETED REQUIREMENTS FOR A BACCALAUREATE DEGREE.] A licensee 

29 with a temporary license who has provided evidence to the board 

30 that the licensee has completed the requirements for a 

31 baccalaureate degree in social work from a program accredited by 

32 the Council on Social Work Education, the Canadian Association 

33 of Schools of Social Work, or a similar accreditation body 

34 designated by the board may temporarily engage in social work 

35 practice except that a licensee with a temporary license may not 

36 engage in clinical social work practice. 
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1 Subd. 7. [LICENSEE WITH A TEMPORARY LICENSE WHO HAS 

2 COMPLETED REQUIREMENTS FOR A GRADUATE DEGREE.] A licensee with a 

3 temporary license who has provided evidence to the board that 

4 the licensee has completed the requirements for a graduate 

s degree in social work from a program accredited by the Council 

6 on Social Work Education, the Canadian Association of Schools of 

7 Social Work, or a similar accreditation body designated by the 

8 board m~y temporarily engage in social work practice, including 

9 clinical practice. 

10 Subd. 8. [SUPERVISION REQUIREMENTS.] (a) Except as 

11 provided in paragraph (b), an applicant who is not currently 

12 licensed or credentialed to practice social work in another 

13 jurisdiction and who obtains a temporary license may practice 

14 social work only under the supervision of an individual licensed 

15 as a social worker who is eligible to provide supervision under 

16 sections 148D.100.to 148D.125. Before the applicant is approved 

17 for licensure, the applicant's supervisor must attest to the 

18 board's satisfaction that the applicant has practiced social 

19 work under supervision. This supervision applies toward the 

20 supervision required after licensure. 

21 (b) If an applicant is currently licensed or credentialed 

22 to practice social work in another jurisdiction, and receives a 

23 temporary license pursuant to subdivision 3, the requirements 

24 specified in paragraph (a) do not apply. However, if an 

25 applicant with a temporary license chooses to practice social 

26 work under supervision, the supervision applies to the 

27 requirements specified in sections 148D.100 to 148D.125. 

28 Subd. 9. [PROHIBITION ON PRACTICE.] An applicant for a 

29 temporary license must not practice social work in Minnesota, 

30 except as provided in section 148D.065, until the applicant has 

31 been granted a temporary license. 

32 Subd. 10 •. [REPRESENTATION OF PROFESSIONAL STATUS.] In 

33 making representations of professional status to the public, a 

34 licensee with a temporary license must state that the licensee 

35 has a temporary license. 

36 Subd. 11. [STANDARDS OF PRACTICE.] A licensee with a 
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1 temporary license must conduct all professional activities as a 

2 social worker in accordance with the requirements of sections 

3 1480.195 to 1480.240. 

4 Subd. 12. [INELIGIBILITY.] An applicant who is currently 

5 practicing social work in Minnesota in a setting that is not 

6 exempt under section 1480.065 at the time of application is 

7 ineligible for a temporary license. 

8 Subd. 13. [REVOCATIO~ OF TEMPORARY LICENSE.] The board may 

9 immediately revoke the temporary license of any licensee who 

10 violates any requirements of this section. The revocation must 

11 be made for cause, without notice or opportunity to be heard. A 

12 licensee whose temporary license is revoked must immediately 

13 return the temporary license to the board. 

14 Sec. 18. [1480.065] [EXEMPTIONS.] 

15 Subdivision 1. [OTHER PROFESSIONALS.] Nothing in this 

16 chapter may be c0nstrued to prevent members of other professions 

17 or occupations from performing functions for which they are 

18 qualified or licensed. This exception includes but is not 

19 limited to: licensed physicians, registered nurses, licensed 

20 practical nurses, licensed psychologists, psychological 

21 practitioners, probation officers, members of the clergy and 

22 Christian Science practitioners, attorneys, marriage and family 

23 therapists, alcohol and drug counselors, professional 

24 counselors, school counselors, and registered occupational 

25 therapists or certified occupational therapist assistants. 

26 These persons -must not, however, hold themselves out to the 

27 public by any title or description stating or implying that they 

28 are engaged in the practice of social work, or that they are 

29 licensed to engage in the practice of social work. Persons 

30 engaged in the practice of social work are not exempt from the 

31 board's jurisdiction solely' by the use of one of the titles in 

32 this subdivision. 

33 Subd. 2. [STUDENTS.] An internship, externship, or any 

34 other social work experience that is required for the completion 

35 of an accredited program of social work does not constitute the 

36 practice of social work under this chapter. 
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1 Subd. 3. [GEOGRAPHIC WAIVER.] A geographic waiver may be 

2 granted by the board on a case-by-case basis to agencies with 

3 special regional hiring problems. The waiver is for the purpose 

4 of permitting agencies to hire individuals who do not meet the 

5 qualifications of section 1480.055 or 1480.060 to practice 

6 social work. 

7 Subd. 4. [CITY, COUNTY, AND STATE AGENCY SOCIAL 

8 WORKERS.] The licensure of city, county,·and state agency social 

9 workers is voluntary. City, county, and state agencies 

10 employing social workers are not required to employ licensed 

11 social workers. 

12 Subd. 5. [FEDERALLY RECOGNIZED TRIBES AND PRIVATE 

13 NONPROFIT AGENCIES WITH A MINORITY FOCUS.] The licensure of 

14 social workers who are employed by federally recognized tribes, 

15 or by private nonprofit agencies whose primary service focus 

16 addresses ethnic minority populations, and who are themselves 

17 members of ethnic minority populations within those agencies, is 

18 voluntary. 

19 Sec. 19. [1480.070] [LICENSE RENEWALS.] 

20 Subdivision 1. [LICENSE RENEWAL TERM.] (a) If a license is 

21 renewed, the license must be renewed for a two-year renewal 

22 term. The renewal term is the period from the effective date of 

23 an initial or renewed license to the expiration date of the 

24 license. 

25 (b) The effective date of a renewed license is the day 

26 following the expiration date of the expired license. 

27 (c) The expiration date of a renewed license is the last 

28 day of the licensee's birth month in the second calendar year 

29 following the effective date of the renewed license. 

30 Subd. 2. [MAILING LICENSE RENEWAL NOTICES.] The board must 

31 mail a notice for license renewal to a licensee at least 45 days 

32 before the expiration date of the license. Mailing the notice 

33 by United States mail to the licensee's last known mailing 

34 address constitutes valid mailing. Failure to receive the 

35 renewal notice does not relieve a licensee of the obligation to 

36 renew a license and to pay the renewal fee. 
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1 Subd. 3. [SUBMITTING LICENSE RENEWAL APPLICATIONS.] (a) In 

2 order to renew a license, a licensee must submit: 

3 (1) a completed, signed application for license renewal; 

4 and 

5 (2) the applicable renewal fee specified in section 

6 1480.180. 

7 The completed, signed application and renewal fee must be 

8 received by the board prior to midnight of the day of the 

9 license expiration date. For renewals submitted electronically, 

10 a "signed application" means providing an attestation as 

11 specified by the board. 

12 (b) An application which is not completed and signed, or 

13 which is not accompanied by the correct fee, must be returned to 

14 the applicant, along with any f~e submitted, and is void. 

15 (c) The completed, signed application must include 

16 documentation that the licensee has met the continuing education 

17 requirements specified in sections 1480.130 to 1480.170 and, if 

18 applicable, the supervised practice requirements specified in 

19 sections 1480.100 to 1480.125. 

20 (d) By submitting a renewal application, an applicant 

21 authorizes the board to: 

22 (1) investigate any information provided or requested in 

23 the application. The board may request that the applicant 

24 provide additional information, verification, or documentation; 

25 (2) conduct an audit to determine if the applicant has met 

26 the continuing education requirements specified in sections 

27 1480.130 to 1480.170; and 

28 (3) if applicable, conduct an audit to determine whether 

29 the applicapt has met the supervision requirements specified in 

30 sections 1480.100 to 1480.125. 

31 (e) If a licensee's application for license renewal meets 

32 the requirements specified in paragraph (a), the licensee may 

33 continue to practice after the license expiration date until the 

34 . board approves or denies the application. 

35 Subd. 4. [RENEWAL LATE FEE.] An application that is 

36 received after the license expiration date must be accompanied 
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1 by the renewal late fee specified in section 1480.180 in 

2 addition to the applicable renewal fee. The application, 

3 renewal fee,-and renewal late fee must be received by the board 

4 within 60 days of the license expiration date, or the license 

5 automatically expires. 

6 Subd. 5. [EXPIRED LICENSE.] (a} If an application does not 

7 meet the requirements specified in subdivisions 3 and 4, the 

8 license automatically expires. A licensee whose license has 

9 expired may reactivate a license by meeting the requirements in 

10 section 1480.080 or be relicensed by meeting the requirements 

11 specified in section 1480.055. 

12 (b} The board may take action pursuant to sections 1480.255 

13 to 1480.270 based on a licensee's conduct before the expiration 

14 of the license. 

15 (c} An expired license may be reactivated within one year 

16 of the expiration date specified in section 1480.080. After one 

17 year of the expiration date, an individual may apply for a new 

18 license pursuant to section 1480.055. 

19 Sec. 20. [1480.075] [INACTIVE LICENSES.] 

20 Subdivision 1. [INACTIVE STATUS.] (a} A licensee qualifies 

21 for inactive status under either of the circumstances described 

22 in paragraph (b} or (c}. 

23 (b) A licensee qualifies for inactive status when the 

24 licensee is granted temporary leave from active practice. A 

25 licensee qualifies for temporary leave from active practice if 

26 the licensee demonstrates to the satisfaction of the board that 

27 the licensee is not engaged in the practice of social work in 

28 any setting, including settings in which social workers are 

29 exempt from licensure pursuant to section 1480.065. A licensee 

30 who is granted temporary leave from active practice may 

31 reactivate the license pursuant to section 1480.080. 

32 (c) A licensee qualifies for inactive status when a 

33 licensee is granted an emeritus license. A licensee qualifies 

34 for an emeritus license if the licensee demonstrates to the 

35. satisfaction of the board that: 

36 (i) the licensee is retired from social work practice; ano 
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1 (ii} the licensee is not engaged in the practice of social 

2 work in any setting, including settings in which social workers 

3 are exempt from licensure pursuant to section 1480.065. 

4 A licensee who possesses an emeritus license may reactivate the 

5 license pursuant to section 1480.080. 

6 Subd. 2. [APPLICATION.] A licensee may apply for inactive 

7 status: 

B (1) at any time by submitting an application for a 

9 temporary leave from active practice or for an emeritus license; 

10 or 

11 (2) as an alternative to applying for the renewal of a 

12 license by so recording on the application for license renewal 

13 and submitting the completed, signed application to the board. 

14 An application that is not completed or signed, or that is 

15 not accompanied by the correct fee, must be returned to the 

16 applicant, along with any fee submitted, and is void. For 

17 applications submitted electronically, a "signed application" 

18 means providing an attestation as specified by the board. 

19 Subd. 3. [FEE.] (a) Regardless of when the application for 

20 inactive status is submitted, the temporary leave or emeritus 

21 license fee specified in section 1480.180, whichever is 

22 applicable, must accompany the application. A licensee who is 

23 approved for inactive status before the license expiration date 

24 is not entitled to receive a refund for any portion of the 

25 license or renewal fee. 

26 (b} If an application for temporary leave is received after 

27 the license expiration date, the licensee must pay a renewal 

28 late fee as specified in section 1480.180 in addition to the 

29 temporary leave fee. 

30 Subd. 4. [TIME LIMITS FOR TEMPORARY LEAVES.] A licensee 

31 may maintain an inactive license on temporary leave for no more 

32 than five consecutive years. If a licensee does not apply for 

33 reactivation within 60 days following the end of the consecutive 

34 five-year period, the license automatically expires. 

35 Subd. 5. [TIME LIMITS FOR AN EMERITUS LICENSE.] A licensee 

36 with an emeritus license may not apply for reactivation pursuant 
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1 to section 1480.080 after five years following the granting of 

2 the emeritus license. However, after five years following the 

3 granting of the emeritus license, an individual may apply for 

4 new licensure pursuant to section 1480.055. 

5 Subd. 6. [PROHIBITION ON PRACTICE.] (a) Except as provided 

6 in paragraph (b), a licensee whose license is inactive must not 

7 practice, attempt to practice, offer to practice, or advertise 

8 or hold out as authorized to practice social work. 

9 (b) The board may grant a variance to the requirements of 

10 paragraph (a) if a licensee on inactive status provides 

11 emergency social work services. A variance is granted only if 

12 the board provides the variance in writing to the licensee. The 

13 board may impose conditions or restrictions on the variance. 

14 Subd. 7. [REPRESENTATIONS OF PROFESSIONAL STATUS.] In 

15 making representations of professional status to the public, a 

16 licensee whose license is inactive must state that the license 

17 is inactive and that the licensee cannot practice social work. 

18 Subd. 8. [DISCIPLINARY OR OTHER ACTION.] The board may 

19 resolve any pending complaints against a licensee before 

20 approving an application for inactive status. The board may 

21 take action pursuant to sections 1480.255 to 1480.270 against a 

22 licensee whose license is inactive based on conduct occurring 

23 before the license is inactive or conduct occurring while the 

24 license is inactive. 

25 Sec. 21. [1480.080] [REACTIVATIONS.] 

26 Subdivision 1. [MAILING NOTICES TO LICENSEES ON TEMPORARY 

27 LEAVE.] The board must mail a notice for reactivation to a 

28 licensee on temporary leave at least 45 days before the 

29 expiration date of the license pursuant to section 1480.075, 

30 subdivision 4. Mailing the notice by United States mail to the 

31 licensee's last known mailing address constitutes valid 

32 mailing. Failure to receive the reactivation notice does not 

33 relieve a licensee of the obligation to comply with the 

34 provisions of this section to ~eactivate a license. 

35 Subd. 2. [REACTIVATION FROM A TEMPORARY LEAVE OR EMERITUS 

36 STATUS.] To reactivate a license from a temporary leave or 
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1 emeritus status, a licensee must do the following within the 

2 time period specified in section 1480.075, subdivisions 4 and 5: 

3 (1) complete an application form specified by the board; 

4 (2) document compliance with the continuing education 

5 requirements specified in subdivision 4; 

6 (3) submit a supervision plan, if required; 

7 (4) pay the reactivation of an inactive licensee fee 

8 specified in section 148D.180; and 

9 (5) pay the wall certificate fee in accordance with section 

10 148D.095, subdivision 1, paragraph (b) or (c), if the licensee 

11 needs a duplicate license. 

12 Subd. 3. [REACTIVATION OF AN EXPIRED LICENSE.] To 

13 reactivate an expired license, a licensee must do the following 

14 within one year of the expiration date: 

15 (1) complete an application form specified by the board; 

16 (2) document compliance with the continuing education 

17 requirements that were in effect at the time the license 

18 expired; 

19 (3) document compliance with the supervision requirements, 

20 if applicable, that were in effect at the time the license 

21 expired; and 

22 (4) pay the reactivation of an expired license fee 

23 specified in section 148D.180. 

24 Subd. 4. [CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS.] (a) A 

25 licensee who is on temporary leave or who has an emeritus 

26 license must obtain the continuing education hours that would be 

27 required if the license was active. At the time of 

28- reactivation, the licensee must document compliance with the 

29 continuing education requirements specified in sections 148D.130 

30 to 148D.170. 

31 (b) A licensee applying for reactivation pursuant to 

32 subdivision 2 or 3 may apply for a variance to the continuing 

33 education requirements pursuant to sections 148D.130 to 148D.170. 

34 Subd. 5. [REACTIVATION OF A VOLUNTARILY TERMINATED 

35 LICENSE.] To reactivate a voluntarily terminated license, a 

36 licensee must do the following within one year of the date the 
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1 voluntary termination takes effect: 

2 (1) complete an application form specified by the board; 

3 (2) document compliance with the continued education 

4 requirements that were in effect at the time the license was 

5 voluntarily terminated: 

6 (3) document compliance with the supervision requirements, 

7 if applicable, that were in effect at the time the license was 

8 voluntarily terminated; and 

9 (4) pay the reactivation of an expired or voluntarily 

10 terminated license fee specified in section 1480.180. 

11 Sec. 22. [1480.085] [VOLUNTARY TERMINATIONS.] 

12 Subdivision 1. [REQUESTS FOR VOLUNTARY TERMINATIONo] (a) A 

13 licensee may request voluntary termination of a license if the 

14 licensee demonstrates to the satisfaction of the board that the 

15 licensee is not engaged in the practice of social work in any 

16 setting except settings in which social workers are exempt from 

17 licensure pursuant to section 1480.065. 

18 (b) A licensee may apply for voluntary termination: 

19 (1) at any time by submitting an application; or 

20 (2) as an alternative to applying for the renewal of a 

21 license by so recording on the application for license renewal 

22 and submitting the completed, signed application to the board. 

23 For applications submitted electronically, a "signed 

24 application" means providing an attestation as specified by the 

25 board. An application that is not completed and signed must be 

26 returned to the applicant and is void. 

27 (c) The board may resolve any pending complaints against a 

28 licensee before approving a request for voluntary termination. 

29 Subd. 2. [APPLICATION FOR NEW LICENSURE.] A licensee who 

30 has voluntarily terminated a license may not reactivate the 

31 license after one year following the date the voluntary 

32 termination takes effect. However, a licensee who has 

33 voluntarily terminated a license may apply for a new license 

34 pursuant to section 1480.055. 

35 Subd. 3. [PROHIBITION ON PRACTICE.] A licensee who has 

36 voluntarily terminated a license must not practice, attempt to 
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1 practice, offer to practice, or advertise or hold out as 

2 authorized to practice social work, except when the individual 

3 is exempt from licensure pursuant to section 148D.065. 

4 Subd. 4. [DISCIPLINARY OR OTHER ACTION.] The board may 

5 take action pursuant to sections 148D.255 to 148D.270 against a 

6 licensee whose license has been terminated based on conduct 

7 occurring before the license is terminated or for practicing 

8 social work without a license. 

9 Sec. 23. ·[148D.090] [NAME; CHANGE OF NAME OR ADDRESS.] 

10 Subdivision 1. [NAME.] A licensee must use the licensee's 

11 legal name or a professional name. If the licensee uses a 

12 professional name, the licensee must inform the board in writing 

13 of both the licensee's professional name and legal name and must 

14 comply with the requirements of this section. 

15 Subd. 2. [LEGAL NAME CHANGE.] Within 30 days after 

16 changing the licensee's legal name, a licensee must: 

17 (1) request a new license wall certificate; 

18 (2) provide legal verification of the name change; and 

19 (3) pay the license wall certificate fee specified in 

20 section 148D.180. 

21 Subd. 3. [PROFESSIONAL NAME CHANGE.] Within 30 days after 

22 changing the licensee's professional name, a licensee must: 

23 (1) request a new license wall certificate; 

24 (2) provide a notarized statement attesting to the name 

25 change; and 

26 (3) pay the license wall certificate fee specified in 

27 section 148D.180. 

28 Subd. 4. [ADDRESS OR TELEPHONE CHANGE.] When a licensee 

29 changes a mailing address, home address, work address, e-mail 

30 address, or daytime public telephone number, the licensee must 

31 notify the board of the change electronically or in writing no 

32 more than 30 days after the date of the change. 

33 Sec. 24. [148D.095] [LICENSE CERTIFICATE OR CARD.] 

34 Subdivision 1. [LICENSE WALL CERTIFICATE.] (a) The board 

35 must issue a new license wall certificate when the board issues 

36 a new license. No fee in addition to the applicable license fee 
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1 specified in section 148D.180 is required. 

2 (b) The board must replace a license wall certificate when: 

3 (1) a licensee submits an affidavit to the board that the 

4 original license wall certificate was lost, stolen, or 

5 destroyed; and 

6 (2) the licensee submits the license wall certificate fee 

7 specified in section 148D.180. 

8 (c) The board must issue a revised license wall certificate 

9 when: 

10 (1) a licensee requests a revis~d license wall certificate 

11 pursuant to section 148D.095; and 

12 (2) submits the license wall certificate fee specified in 

13 section 148D.180. 

14 (d) The board must issue an additional license wall 

15 certificate when: 

16 (1) a licensee submits a written request for a new 

17 certificate because the licensee practices in more than one 

18 location; and 

19 (2) the licensee submits the license wall certificate fee 

20 specified in section 148D.180. 

21 Subd. 2. [LICENSE CARD.] (a) The board must issue a new 

22 license card when the board issues a new license. No fee in 

23 addition to the applicable license fee specified in section 

24 148D.180 is required. 

25 (b) The board must replace a license card when a licensee 

26 submits: 

27 (1) an affidavit to the board that the original license 

28 card was lost, stolen, or destroyed; and 

29 (2) the license card fee specified in section 1480.180. 

30 (c) The board must issue a revised license card when the 

31 licensee submits a written request for a new license wall 

32 certificate because of a new professional or legal name pursuant 

33 to section 1480.090, subdivision 2 or 3. No fee in addition to 

34 the one specified in subdivision 1, paragraph (b), is required. 

35 Sec. 25. [1480.100] [LICENSED SOCIAL WORKERS; SUPERVISED 

36 PRACTICE.] 
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1 Subdivision 1. [SUPERVISION REQUIRED AFTER LICENSURE.] 

2 After receiving a license from the board as a licensed social 

3 worker, the licensed social worker must obtain at least 75 hours 

4 of supervision in accordance with the requirements of this 

5 section. 

6 Subd. 2. [PRACTICE REQUIREMENTS.] The supervision required 

7 by subdivision 1 must be obtained during the first 4,000 hours 

8 of postbaccalaureate social work practice authorized by law. At 

9 least three hours of supervision must be obtained during every 

10 160 hours of practice. 

11 Subd. 3. [TYPES OF SUPERVISION.] (a) Thirty-seven and 

12 one-half hours of the supervision required by subdivision 1 must 

13 consist of one-on-one in-person supervision. 

14 (b) Thirty-seven and one-half hours must consist of one or 

15 more of the following types of supervision, subject to the 

16 limitation in clause (3): 

17 (1) one-on-one in-person supervision; 

18 (2) in-person group supervision; or 

19 (3) electronic supervision such as by telephone or video 

20 conferencing, provided that electronic supervision must not 

21 exceed 25 hours. 

22 (c) To qualify as in-person group supervision, the group 

23 must not exceed seven members including the supervisor. 

24 Subd. 4. [SUPERVISOR REQUIREMENTS.] The supervision 

25 required by subdivision 1 must be provided by a supervisor who: 

26 (1) is a licensed social worker who has completed the 

27 supervised practice requirements; 

28 (2) is a licensed graduate social worker, licensed 

29 independent social worker, or licensed independent clinical 

30 social worker; or 

31 (3) meets the requirements specified in section 1480.120, 

32 subdivision 2. 

33 Subd. 5. [SUPERVISEE REQUIREMENTS.] The supervisee must: 

34 (1) to the satisfaction of the supervisor, practice 

35 competently and ethically in accordance with professional social 

36 work knowledge, skills, and values; 
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1 (2) receive supervision in the following content areas: 

2 (i) development of professional values and 

3 responsibilities; 

4 (ii) practice skills; 

5 (iii) authorized scope of practice; 

6 (iv) ensuring continuing competence; and 

7 (v) ethical standards of practice; 

8 (3) submit a supervision plan in accordance with section 

9 148D.125, subdivision l; and 

10 (4) if the board audits the supervisee's supervised 

11 practice, submit verification of supervised practice in 

12 accordance with section 148D.125, subdivision 3. 

13 Subd. 6. [AFTER COMPLETION OF SUPERVISION REQUIREMENTS.] A 

14 licensed social worker who fulfills the supervision requirements 

15 specified in subdivisions 1 to 5 is not required to be 

16 supervised after completion of the supervision requirements. 

17 Subd. 7. [ATTESTATION.] The social worker and the social 

18 worker's supervisor must attest that the supervisee has met or 

19 has made progress on meeting the applicable supervision 

20 requirements in accordance with section 148D.125, subdivision 2. 

21 Sec. 26. [148D.105] [LICENSED GRADUATE SOCIAL WORKERS; 

22 SUPERVISED PRACTICE.] 

23 Subdivision 1. [SUPERVISION REQUIRED AFTER 

24 LICENSURE.] After receiving a license from the board as a 

25 licensed graduate social worker, a licensed graduate social 

26 worker must obtain at least 75 hours of supervision in 

27 accordance with the requirements of this section. 

28 Subd. 2 •. [PRACTICE REQUIREMENTS.] The supervision required 

29 by subdivision 1 must be obtained during the first 4,000 hours 

30 of postgraduate social work practice authorized by law. At 

31 least three hours of supervision must be obtained during every 

32 160 hours of practice. 

33 Subd. 3. [TYPES OF SUPERVISION.] (a) Thirty-seven and 

34 one-half hours of the supervision required by subdivision 1 must 

35 consist of one-on-one in-person supervision. 

36 (b) Thirty-seven and one-half hours must consist of one or 
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1 more of the following types of supervision, subject to the 

2 limitation in clause (3): 

3 (1) one-on-one in-person supervision; 

4 (2) in-person group supervision; or 

5 (3) electronic supervision such as by telephone or video 

6 conferencing, provided that electronic supervision must not 

7 exceed 25 hours. 

8 (c) To qualify as in-person group supervision, the group 

9 must not exceed seven members including the supervisor. 

10 Subd. 4. [SUPERVISOR REQUIREMENTS.] The supervision 

11 required by subdivision 1 must be provided by a supervisor who 

12 meets the requirements specified in section 1480.120. The 

13 supervision must be provided: 

14 (1) if the _supervisee is not engaged in clinical-practice, 

15 by a (i) licensed independent social worker, (ii} licensed 

16 graduate social worker who has completed the supervised practice 

17 requirements, or (iii) licensed independent clinical social 

18 worker; 

19 (2) if the supervisee is engaged in clinical practice, by a 

20 licensed independent clinical social worker; or 

21 (3) by a supervisor who meets the requirements specified in 

22 section 1480.120, subdivision 2. 

23 Subd. 5. [SUPERVISEE REQUIREMENTS.] The supervisee must: 

24 (1) to the satisfaction of the supervisor, practice 

25 competently and ethically in accordance with professional social 

26 work knowledge, skills, and values; 

27 (2) receive supervision in the following content areas: 

28 (i) development of professional values and 

29 responsibilities; 

30 (ii) practice skills; 

31 (iii) authorized scope of practice; 

32 (iv) ensuring continuing competence; and 

33 (v) ethical standards of practice; 

34 (3) submit a supervision plan in accordance with section 

35 1480.125, subdivision l; and 

36 (4) verify supervised practice in accordance with section 
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1 148D.125, subdivision 3, if: 

2 (i) the board audits the supervisee's supervised practice; 

3 or 

4 (ii) a licensed graduate social worker applies for a 

5 licensed independent social worker or licensed independent 

6 clinical social worker license. 

7 Subd. 6. [LICENSED GRADUATE SOCIAL WORKERS WHO PRACTICE 

8 CLINICAL SOCIAL WORK.] (a) A licensed graduate social worker 

9 must not engage in clinical social work practice except under 

10 supervision by a licensed independent clinical social worker or 

11 an alternate supervisor designated pursuant to section 148D.120, 

12 subdivision 2. 

13 (b) Except as provided in paragraph (c), a licensed 

14 graduate social worker must not engage in clinical social work 

15 practice under supervision for more than 8,000 hours. In order 

16 to practice clinical social work for more than 8,000 hours, a 

17 licensed graduate social worker must obtain a licensed 

18 independent clinical social worker license. 

19 (c) Notwithstanding the requirements of paragraph (b), the 

20 board may grant a licensed graduate social worker permission to 

21 engage in clinical social work practice for more than 8,000 

22 hours if the licensed graduate social worker petitions the board 

23 and demonstrates to the board's satisfaction that for reasons of 

24 personal hardship the licensed graduate social worker should be 

25 granted an extension to continue practicing clinical social work 

26 under supervision for up to an additional 2,000 hours. 

27 (d) Upon completion of 4,000 hours of clinical social work 

28 practice and 75 hours of supervision in accordance with the 

29 requirements of this section, a licensed graduate social worker 

30 is eligible to apply for a licensed independent clinical social 

31 worker license pursuant to section 1480.115, subdivision 1. 

32 Subd. 7. [LICENSED GRADUATE SOCIAL WORKERS WHO DO NOT 

33 PRACTICE CLINICAL SOCIAL WORK.] A licensed graduate social 

34 worker who fulfills the supervision requirements specified in 

35 subdivisions 1 to 5, and who does not practice clinical social 

36 work, is not required to be supervised after completion of the 
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1 supervision requirements. 

2 Subd. 8. [ATTESTATION.] A social worker and the social 

3 worker's supervisor must attest that the supervisee has met or 

4 has made progress on meeting the applicable supervision 

5 regui~ements in accordance with section 1480.125, subdivision 2. 

6 Sec. 27. [148D.110] [LICENSED INDEPENDENT SOCIAL WORKERS; 

7 SUPERVISED PRACTICE.] 

8 Subdivision 1. [SUPERVISION REQUIRED BEFORE 

9 LICENSURE.] Before becoming licensed as a licensed independent 

10 social worker, a person must have obtained at least 75 hours of 

11 supervision during 4,000 hours of postgraduate social work 

12 practice authorized by law in accordance with the requirements 

13 of section 148D.105, subdivisions 3, 4, and 5. At least three 

14 hours of supervision must be obtained during every 160 hours of 

15 practice. 

16 Subd. 2. [LICENSED INDEPENDENT SOCIAL WORKERS WHO PRACTICE 

17 CLINICAL SOCIAL WORK AFTER LICENSURE.] (a) After licensure, a 

18 licensed independent social worker must not engage in clinical 

19 social work practice except under supervision by a licensed 

20 independent-clinical social worker or an alternate supervisor 

21 designated pursuant to section 1480.120, subdivision 2. 

22 (b) Except as provided in paragraph (c), a licensed 

23 independent social worker must not engage in clinical social 

24 work practice under supervision for more than 8,000 hours. In 

25 order to practice clinical social work for more than 8,000 

26 hours, a licensed independent social worker must obtain a 

27 licensed independent clinical social worker license. 

28 (c) Notwithstanding the requirements of paragraph (b), the 

29 board may grant a licensed independent social worker permission 

30 to engage in clinical social work practice for more than 8,000 

31 hours if the licensed independent social worker petitions the 

32 board and demonstrates to the board's satisfaction that for 

33 reasons of personal hardship the licensed independent social 

34 worker should be granted an extension to continue practicing 

35 clinical social work under supervision for up to an additional 

36 2,000 hours. 
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1 Subd. 3. [LICENSED INDEPENDENT SOCIAL WORKERS WHO DO NOT 

2 PRACTICE CLINICAL SOCIAL WORK AFTER LICENSURE.] After licensure, 

3 a licensed independent social worker is not required to be 

4 supervised if the licensed independent social worker does not 

5 practice clinical social work. 

6 Sec. 28. [148D.115] [LICENSED INDEPENDENT CLINICAL SOCIAL 

7 WORKERS; SUPERVISED PRACTICE.] 

8 Subdivision 1. [SUPERVISION REQUIRED BEFORE 

9 LICENSURE.] Before becoming licensed as a licensed independent 

10 clinical social worker, a person must have obtained at least 75 

11 hours of supervision during 4,000 hours of postgraduate clinical 

12 practice authorized by law in accordance with the requirements 

13 of section 148D.105, subdivisions 3, 4, and 5. At least three 

14 hours of supervision must be obtained during every 160 hours of 

15 practice. 

16 Subd. 2. [NO SUPERVISION REQUIRED AFTER LICENSURE.] After 

17 licensure, a licensed independent clinical social worker is not 

18 required to be supervised. 

19 Sec. 29. [1480.120] [REQUIREMENTS OF SUPERVISORS.] 

20 Subdivision 1. [SUPERVISORS LICENSED AS SOCIAL WORKERS.] 

21 (a) Except as provided in paragraph (b), t.o be eligible to 

22 provide supervision under this section, a social worker must 

23 attest, on a form provided by the board, that he or she has met 

24 the applicable licensure requirements specified in sections 

25 148D.100 to 148D.115. 

26 (b) If the board determines that supervision is not 

27 obtainable from an individual meeting the requirements specified 

28 in paragraph (a), the board may approve an alternate supervisor 

29 pursuant to subdivision 2. 

30 Subd. 2. [ALTERNATE SUPERVISORS.] (a) The board may 

31 approve an alternate supervisor if: 

32 (1) the board determines that supervision is not obtainable 

33 pursuant to paragraph (b); 

34 (2) the licensee requests in the supervision plan submitted 

35 pursuant to section 148D.125, subdivision 1, that an alternate 

36 supervisor conduct the supervision; 
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1 (3) the licensee describes the proposed supervision and the 

2 name and qualifications of the proposed alternate supervisor; 

3 and 

4 (4) the requirements of paragraph (d) are met. 

5 (b) The board may determine that supervision is not 

6 obtainable if: 

7 (1) the licensee provides documentation as an attachment to 

8 the supervision plan submitted pursuant to section 1480.125, 

9 subdivision 1, that the licensee has conducted a thorough search 

10 for a supervisor meeting the applicable licensure requirements 

11 specified in sections 1480.100 to 1480.115; 

12 (2) the licensee demonstrates to the board's satisfaction 

13 that the search was unsuccessful; and 

14 (3) the licensee describes the extent of the search and the 

15 names and locations of the persons and organizations contacted. 

16 (c) The following are not grounds for a determination that 

17 supervision is unobtainable: 

18 (1) obtaining a supervisor who meets the requirements of 

19 subdivision 1 would present the licensee with a financial 

20 hardship; 

21 (2) the licensee is unable to.obtain a supervisor who meets 

22 the requirements of subdivision 1 within the licensee's agency 

23 ·or organization and the agency or organization will not allow 

24 outside supervision; or 

25 (3) the specialized nature of the licensee's practice 

26 requires supervision from a practitioner other than an 

27 individual licensed as a social worker. 

28 (d) An alternate supervisor must: 

29 (1) be an unlicensed social worker who is employed in, and 

30 provides the supervision in, a setting exempt from licensure by 

31 section 1480.065, and who has qualifications equivalent to the 

32 applicable requirements specified in sections 1480.100 to 

33 1480.115; or 

34 (2) be a licensed marriage and family therapist or a mental 

35 health professional as established by section 245.462, 

36 subdivision 18, or 245.4871, subdivision 27, or an equivalent 
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1 mental health professional, as determined· by the board, who is 

2 licensed or credentialed by a state, territorial, provincial, or 

3 foreign licensing agency. 

4 In order to qualify to provide clinical supervision of a 

5 licensed graduate social worker or licensed independent social 

6 worker engaged in clinical practice, the alternate supervisor 

7 must be a mental health professional as established by section 

8 245.462, subdivision 18, or 245.4871, subdivision 27, or an 

9 equivalent mental health professional, as determined by the 

10 board, who is licensed or credentialed by a state, territorial, 

11 provincial, or foreign licensing agency. 

12 Sec. 30. [148D.125] [DOCUMENTATION OF SUPERVISION.] 

13 Subdivision 1. [SUPERVISION PLAN.] (a) A social worker 

14 must submit, on a form provided by the board, a supervision plan 

15 for meeting the supervision requirements specified in sections 

16 148D.100 to 1480.120. 

17 (b) The supervision plan must be submitted no later than 90 

18 days after the licensee begins a social work practice position 

19 after becoming licensed. 

20 (c) For failure to submit the supervision plan within 90 

21 days after beginning a social work practice position, a licensee 

22 must pay the supervision plan late fee specified in section 

23 1480.180 when the licensee applies for license renewal. 

24 (d) A license renewal application submitted pursuant to 

25 paragraph (a) must not be approved unless the board has received 

26 a supervision plan. 

27 (e) The supervision plan must include the following: 

28 (1) the name of the supervisee, the name of the agency in 

29 which the supervisee is being supervised, and the supervisee's 

30 position title; 

31 (2) the name and qualifications of the person providing the 

32 supervision; 

33 (3) the number of hours of one-on-one in-person supervision 

34 and the number and type of additional hours of supervision to be 

35 completed by the supervisee; 

36 (4) the supervisee's position description; 

Article 1 Section 30 48 



SF1204 FIRST ENGROSSMENT [REVISOR KJ Sl204-l 

1 (5) a brief description of the supervision the supervisee 

2 will receive in the following content areas: 

3 (i) clinical practice, if applicable; 

4 (ii) development of professional social work knowledge, 

5 skills, and values; 

6 (iii) practice methods; 

7 (iv) authorized scope of practice; 

8 (v) ensuring continuing competence; and 

9 (vi) ethical standards of practice; and 

10 (6) if applicable, a detailed description of the 

11 supervisee's clinical social work practice, addressing: 

12 (i) the client population, the range of presenting issues, 

13 and the diagnoses; 

14 (ii) the clinical modalities that were utilized; and 

15 (iii) the process utilized for determining clinical 

16 diagnoses, including the diagnostic instruments used and the 

17 role of the supervisee in the diagnostic process. 

18 (f) The board must receive a revised supervision plan 

19 within 90 days of any of the following changes: 

20 (1) the supervisee has a new supervisor; 

21 (2) the supervisee begins a new social work position; 

·22 (3) the scope or content of the supervisee's social work 

23 practice changes substantially; 

24 (4) the number of practice or supervision hours changes 

25 substantially; or 

26 (5) the type of supervision changes as supervision is 

27 described in section 1480.100, subdivision 3, or 1480.105, 

28 subdivision 3, or as required in section 1480.115, subdivision 4. 

29 (g) For failure to submit a revised supervised plan as 

30 required in paragraph (f), a supervisee must pay the supervision 

31 plan late· fee specified in section 1480.180, when the supervisee 

32 applies for license renewal. 

33 (h) The board must approve the supervisor and the 

34 supervision plan. 

35 Subd. 2. [ATTESTATION.] (a) When a supervisee submits 

36 renewal application materials to the board, the supervisee and 
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1 supervisor must submit an attestation providing the following 

2 information on a form provided by the board: 

3 (1) the name of the supervisee, the name of the agency in 

4 which the supervisee is being supervised, and the supervisee's 

5 position title; 

6 (2) the name and qualifications of the supervisor; 

7 (3) the number of hours and dates of each type of 

8 supervision completed; 

9 (4) the supervisee's position description; 

10 (5) a declaration that the supervisee has not engaged in 

11 conduct in violation of the standards of practice specified in 

12 sections 1480.195 to 1480.240; 

13 (6) a declaration that the supervisee has practiced 

14 competently and ethically in accordance with professional social 

15 work knowledge, skills, and values; and 

16 (7) a list of the content areas in which the supervisee has 

17 received supervision, including the following: 

18 (i} clinical practice, if applicable; 

19 (ii) development of professional social work knowledge, 

20 skills, and values; 

21 (iii) practice methods; 

22 (iv) authorized scope of practice; 

23 (v} ensuring continuing competence; and 

24 (vi} ethical standards of practice. 

25 (b} The information provided on the attestation form must 

26 demonstrate to the board's satisfaction that the supervisee has 

27 met or has made progress on meeting the applicable supervised 

28 practice requirements. 

29 Subd. 3. [VERIFICATION OF SUPERVISED PRACTICE.] (a) In 

30 addition to receiving the attestation required pursuant to 

31 subdivision 2, the board must receive verification of supervised 

32 practice if: 

33 (1) the board audits the supervision of a supervisee 

34 pursuant to section 1480.070, subdivision 3; or 

35 (2) an applicant applies for a license as a licensed 

36 independent social worker or as a licensed independent clinical 
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1 social worker. 

2 (b) When verification of supervised practice is required 

3 pursuant to paragraph (a), the board must receive from the 

4 supervisor the following information on a form provided by the 

5 board: 

6 (1) the name of the supervisee, the name of the agency in 

7 which the supervisee is being supervised, and the supervisee's 

8 position title; 

9 (2) the name and qualifications of the supervisor; 

10 (3) the number of hours and dates of each type of 

11 supervision completed; 

12 (4) the supervisee's position description; 

13 (5) a declaration that the supervisee has not engaged in 

14 conduct in violation of the standards of practice specified in 

15 sections 1480.195 to 1480.240; 

16 (6) a declaration that the supervisee has practiced 

17 ethically and competently in accordance with professional social 

18 work knowledge, skills, and values; 

19 (7) a list of· the content areas in which the supervisee has 

20 received supervision, including the following: 

21 (i) clinical practice, if applicable; 

22 (ii) development of professional social work knowledge, 

23 skills, and values; 

24 (iii) practice methods; 

25 (iv) authorized scope of practice; 

26 (v) ensuring continuing competence; and 

27 (vi) ethical standards of practice; and 

28 (8) if applicable, a detailed description of the 

29 supervisee's clinical social work practice, addressing: 

30 (i) the client population, the range of presenting issues, 

31 and the diagnoses; 

32 (ii) the clinical modalities that were utilized; and 

33 (iii) the process utilized for determining clinical 

34 diagnoses, including the diagnostic instruments used and the 

35 role of the supervisee in the diagnostic process. 

36 (c) The information provided on the verification form must 
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1 demonstrate to the board's satisfaction that the supervisee has 

2 met the applicable supervised practice requirements. 

3 Subd. 4. [ALTERNATIVE VERIFICATION OF SUPERVISED 

4 PRACTICE.] Notwithstanding the requirements of subdivision 3, 

5 the board may accept alternative verification of supervised 

6 practice if a supervisee demonstrates to the satisfaction of the 

7 board that the supervisee is unable to locate a former 

8 supervisor to provide the required information. 

9 Sec. 31. [148D.130] [CLOCK HOURS REQUIRED.] 

10 Subdivision 1. [TOTAL CLOCK HOURS REQUIRED.] At the time 

11 -of license renewal, a licensee must provide evidence 

12 satisfactory to the board that the licensee has, during the 

13 renewal term, completed at least 30 clock hours of continuing 

14 education. 

15 Subd. 2. [ETHICS REQUIREMENT.] At least two of the clock 

16 hour's required under subdivision 1 must be in social work ethics. 

17 Subd. 3. [INDEPENDENT STUDY.] Independent study must not 

18 consist of more than ten clock hours of continuing education per 

19 renewal term. Independent study must be for publication, public 

20 presentation, or professional development. Independent study 

21 includes, but is not limited to, electronic study. 

22 Subd. 4. [COURSEWORK.] One credit of coursework in a 

23 semester-based academic institution is the equivalent of 15 

24 clock hours. 

25 Subd. 5. [PRORATED RENEWAL TERM.] If the licensee's 

26 renewal term is prorated to be less or more than 24 months, the 

27 required number of continuing education clock hours is prorated 

28 proportionately. 

29 Sec. 32. (1480.135] [APPROVAL OF CLOCK HOURS.] 

30 Subdivision 1. [WAYS OF APPROVING CLOCK HOURS.] The clock 

31 hours .required under section 1480.130 must be approved in one or 

32 more of the following ways: 

33 (1) the hours must be offered by a continuing education 

34 provider approved by the board; 

35 (2) the hours must be offered by a continuing education 

36 provider approved by the Association of Social Work Boards or a 
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1 similar examination body designated by the board; 

2 (3) the hours must be earned through a continuing education 

3 program approved by the National Association of Social Workers; 

4 or 

5 (4) the hours must be earned through a continuing education 

6 program approved by the board. 

7 Subd. 2. [PREAPPROVAL NOT REQUIRED.] Providers and 

8 programs are not required to be preapproved but must meet the 

9 requirements specified in this section. 

10 Sec. 33. [148D.140] [VARIANCES.·] 

11 The board may grant a variance to the continuing education 

12 requirements specified in section 148D.130, when a licensee 

13 demonstrates to the satisfaction of the board that the licensee 

14 is unable to complete the required number of clock hours during 

15 the renewal term. The board may allow a licensee to complete 

16 the required number of clock hours within a time frame specified 

17 by the board. The board must not allow·a licensee to complete 

18 less than the .required number of clock hours. 

19 Sec. 34. [148D.145] [CONTINUING EDUCATION PROVIDERS 

20 APPROVED BY THE BOARD.] 

21 Subdivision 1. [BOARD APPROVAL.] (a) The board must 

22 approve a continuing education provider who: 

23 ( 1) submits a completed application to the boa.rd which 

24 provides the information required by subdivision 2 and which 

25 meets the criteria specified in subdivision 3; and 

26 (2) pays the provider fee specified in section 148D.180. 

27 {b) An approval is valid for programs offered no later than 

28 one year from the date the application is approved by the board. 

29 Subd. 2. [INFORMATION REQUIRED.] The information that must 

30 be provided to the board includes, but is not limited to, the 

31 following: 

32 {l) the name of the continuing education provider; 

33 (2) the address, telephone number, and e-mail address of a 

34 contact person for the provider; 

35 (3) a signed statement that indicates the provider 

36 understands and agrees to abide by the criteria specified in 
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1 subdivision 3; and 

2 (4) a signed statement that indicates the provider agrees 

3 to furnish a certificate of attendance to each participant in a 

4 program offered by the provider. 

5 Subd. 3. [CRITERIA FOR PROGRAMS OFFERED BY CONTINUING 

6 EDUCATION PROVIDERS.] (a) A continuing education provider must 

7 employ the following criteria in determining whether to offer a 

8 continuing education program: 

9 (1) whether the material to be presented will promote the 

10 standards of practice described in sections 148D.195 to 

11 148D.240; 

12 (2) whether the material to be presented will contribute to 

13 the practice of social work as defined in section 148D.010; 

14 (3) whether the material to be presented is intended for 

15 the benefit of practicing social workers; and 

16 (4) whether the persons presenting the program are 

17 qualified in the subject matter being presented. 

18 (b) The material presented must not be primarily procedural 

19 or primarily oriented towards business practices or 

20 self-development. 

21 Subd. 4. [AUDITS.] (a) The board may audit programs 

22 offered by a continuing education provider approved by the board 

23 to determine compliance with the requirements of this section. 

24 (b} A continuing education provider audited by the board 

25 must provide the documentation specified in subdivision 5. 

26 Subd. 5. [INFORMATION REQUIRED TO BE MAINTAINED BY 

27 CONTINUING EDUCATION PROVIDERS.] For three years following the 

28 end of each program offered by a continuing education provider, 

29 the provider must maintain the following information: 

30 (1) the title of the program; 

31 (2) a description of the content and objectives of the 

32 program; 

33 (3) the date of the program; 

34 (4) the number of clock hours credited for participation in 

35 the program; 

36 (5) the program location; 
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1 (6) the names and qualifications of the primary presenters; 

2 (7) a description of the primary audience the program was 

3 designed for; and 

4 (8) a list of the participants in the program. 

5 Sec. 35. [148D.150] [CONTINUING EDUCATION PROVIDERS 

6 APPROVED BY THE ASSOCIATION OF SOCIAL WORK BOARDS.] 

7 In order to receive credit for a program offered by a 

8 continuing education provider approved by the Association of 

9 Social Work Boards or a similar examination body designated by 

10 the board, the provider must be listed on the Association of 

11 Social Work Boards Web site as a provider currently approved by 

12 the· Association of Social Work Boards or a similar examination 

13 body designated by the board. 

14 Sec. 36. [148D.155] [CONTINUING EDUCATION PROGRAMS 

15 APPROVED BY THE NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF SOCIAL WORKERS.] 

16 In order to receive credit for a program approved by the 

17 National Association of Social Workers, the program must be 

18 listed on the National Association of Social Workers Web site as 

19 a program currently approved by the National Association of 

20 Social Workers. 

21 Sec. 37. [148D.160] [CONTINUING EDUCATION PROGRAMS 

22 APPROVED BY THE BOARD.] 

23 Subdivision 1. [REQUIRED PROGRAM CONTENT.] In order to be 

24 approved by the board, a continuing education program must: 

25 (1) promote the standards of practice described in sections 

26 148D.195 to 148D.240; 

27 (2) contribute to the practice of social work as defined in 

28 section 148D.010; and 

29 (3) not be primarily procedural or be primarily oriented 

30 towards business practices or self-development. 

31 Subd. 2. [TYPES OF CONTINUING EDUCATION PROGRAMS.] In 

.32 order to be approved by the board, a continuing education 

33 program must be one of the following: academic coursework 

34 offered by an institution of higher learning;·educational 

35 workshops, seminars, or conferences offered by an organization 

36 or individual; staff training offered by a public or private 
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1 employer; or independent study. 

2 Sec. 38. [148D.165] [CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS OF 

3 LICENSEES.] 

4 Subdivision 1. [INFORMATION REQUIRED TO BE MAINTAINED BY 

5 LICENSEES.] For one year following the expiration date of a 

6 license, the licensee must maintain documentation of clock hours 

7 earned during the previous renewal term. The documentation must 

8 
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include the following: 

(i) for educational workshops or seminars offered by an 

organization or at a conference, a copy of the certificate of 

attendance issued by the presenter or sponsor giving the 

following information: 

and 

(i) the name of the sponsor or presenter of the program; 

(ii) the title of the workshop or seminar; 

(iii) the dates the licensee participated in the program; 

(iv) the number of clock hours completed; 

(2) for academic coursework offered by an institution of 

higher learning, a copy of a transcript giving the following 

information: 

and 

(i) the name of the institution offering the course; 

(ii) the title of the course; 

(iii) the dates the licensee participated in the course; 

(iv) the number of credits completed; 

(3) for staff training offered by public or private 

employers, a copy of the certificate of attendance issued by the 

employer giving the following information: 

(i) the name of the employer; 

(ii) the title of the staff training; 

(iii) the dates the licensee participated in the program; 

and 

(iv) the number of clock hours completed; and 

(4) for independent study, including electronic study, a 

written summary of the study conducted, including the following 

information: 
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1 (i) the topics studied; 

2 (ii) a description of the applicability of the study to the 

3 licensee's authorized scope of practice; 

4 (iii) the titles and authors of books and articles 

5 consulted or the name of the organization offering the study; 

6 (iv) the dates the licensee conducted the study; and 

7 (v) the number of clock hours the licensee conducted the 

8 study. 

9 Subd. 2. [AUDITS.] The board may audit license renewal and 

10 reactivation applications to determine compliance with the 

11 requirements of sections 148D.130 to 148D.170. A licensee 

12 audited by the board must provide the documentation specified in 

13 subdivision 1 regardless of whether the provider or program has 

14 been approved by the board, the Association of Social Work 

15 Boards, or a similar examination body designated by the board, 

16 or the National Association of Social Workers. 

17 Sec. 39. [148D.170] [REVOCATION OF CONTINUING EDUCATION 

18 APPROVALS.] 

19 The board may revoke approval of a provider or of a program 

20 offered by a provider, or of an individual program approved by 

21 the board, if the board determines subsequent to the approval 

22 that the provider or program failed to meet the requirements of 

23 sections 148D.130 to 148D.170. 

24 Sec. 40. [148D.175] [FEES.] 

25 The fees specified in section 148D.180 are nonrefundable 

26 and must be deposited in the state government special revenue 

27 fund. 

28 Sec. 41. [148D.180] [FEE AMOUNTS.] 

29 Subdivision 1. [APPLICATION FEES.] Application fees for 

30 licensure are as follows: 

31 (1) for a licensed social worker, $45; 

32 (2) for a licensed graduate social worker, $45; 

33 (3) for a licensed independent social worker, $90; 

34 (4) for a licensed independent clinical social worker, $90; 

35 (5) for a temporary license, $50; and 

36 (6) for a licensure by endorsement, $150. 
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1 The fee for criminal background checks is the fee charged 

2 by the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension. The criminal background 

3 check fee must be included with the application fee as required 

4 pursuant to section 148D.055. 

5 Subd. 2. [LICENSE FEES.] License fees are as follows: 

6 (1) for a licensed social worker, $115.20; 

7 (2) for a licensed graduate social worker, $201.60; 

8 (3) for a licensed independent social worker, $302.40; 

9 (4) for a licensed independent clinical social worker, 

10 $331.20; 

11 (5) for an emeritus license, $43.20; and 

12 (6) for a temporary_ leave fee, the same as the renewal fee 

13 specified in subdivision 3. 

14 If the licensee's initial license term is less or more than 

15 24 months, the required license fees must be prorated 

16 proportionately. 

17 Subd. 3. [RENEWAL FEES.] Renewal fees for licensure are as 

18 follows: 

19 (1) for a licensed social worker, $115.20; 

20 (2) for a licensed graduate social worker, $201.60; 

21 (3) for a licensed independent social worker, $302.40; and 

22 (4) for a licensed independent clinical social worker, 

23 $331.20. 

24 Subd. 4. [CONTINUING EDUCATION PROVIDER FEES.] Continuing 

25 education provider fees are as follows: 

26 (1) for a provider who offers programs totaling one to 

27 eight clock hours in a one-year period pursuant to section 

28 1480.145, $50; 

29 (2) for a provider who offers programs totaling nine to 16 

30 clock hours in a one-year period pursuant to section 1480.145, 

31 $100; 

32 (3) for a provider who offers programs totaling 17 to 32 

33 clock hours in a one-year period pursuant to section 1480.145, 

34 $200; 

35 (4) for a provider who offers programs totaling 33 to 48 

36 clock hours in a one-year period pursuant to section 1480.145, 
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1 $400; and 

2 (5) for a provider who offers programs totaling 49 or more 

3 clock hours in a one-year period pursuant to section 148D.145, 

4 $600. 

5 Subd. 5. [LATE FEES.] Late fees are as follows: 

6 (1) renewal late fee, one-half of the ~enewal fee specified 

7 in subdivision 3; and 

8 (2) supervision plan late fee, $40. 

9 Subd. 6. [LICENSE CARDS AND WALL CERTIFICATES.] (a) The 

10 fee for a license card as specified in section 148D.095 is $10. 

11 (b) The fee for a license wall certificate as specified in 

12 s.ection 148D. 095 is $30. 

13 Subd. 7. [REACTIVATION FEES.] Reactivation fees are as 

14 follows: 

15 (1) reactivation from a temporary leave or emeritus status, 

16 the prorated share of the renewal fee specified in subdivision 

17 3; and 

18 (2) reactivation of an expired license, 1-1/2 times the 

19 renewal fees specified in subdivision 3. 

20 Sec. 42. [1480.185] [PURPOSE OF COMPLIANCE LAWS.] 

21 The purpose of sections 148D.185 to 1480.290 is to protect 

22 the public by ensuring that all persons licensed as social 

23 workers meet minimum standards of practice. The board shall 

24 promptly and fairly investigate and resolve all complaints 

25 alleging violations of statutes and rules that the board is 

26 empowered to enforce and (1) take appropriate disciplinary 

27 action, adversarial action, or other action justified by the 

28 facts, or (2) enter into corrective action agreements.or 

29 stipulations to cease practice, when doing so is consistent with 

30 the board's obligation to protect the public. 

31 Sec. 43. [1480.190] [GROUNDS FOR ACTION.] 

32 Subdivision 1. [SCOPE.] The grounds for action in 

33 subdivisions 2 to 4 and the standards of practice requirements 

34 in sections 148D.195 to 1480.240 apply to all licensees and 

35 applicants. 

36 Subd. 2. [VIOLATIONS.] The board has grounds to take 
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1 action pursuant to sections 148D.255 to 148D.270 when a social 

2 worker violates: 

3 (1) a statute or rule enforced by the board, including this 

4 section and sections 1480.195 to 1480.240; 

5 (2) a federal or state law or rule related to the practice 

6 of social work; or 

7 (3) an order, stipulationi or agreement agreed to or issued 

8 by the board. 

9 Subd. 3. [CONDUCT BEFORE LICENSURE.] A violation of the 

10 requirements specified in this section and sections 1480.195 to 

11 148D.240 is grounds for the board to take action under sections 

12 148D.255 to 148D.270. The board's jurisdiction to exercise the 

13 powers provided in this section extends to an applicant or 

14 licensee's conduct that occurred before licensure if: 

15 (1) the conduct did not meet the minimum accepted and 

16 prevailing standards of professional social work practice at the 

17 time the conduct occurred; or 

18 (2) the conduct adversely affects the applicant or 

19 licensee's present ability to practice social work in conformity 

20 with the requirements of sections 148D.195 to 1480.240. 

21 Subd. 4. [UNAUTHORIZED PRACTICE.] The board has grounds to 

22 take action pursuant to sections 148D.255 to 148D.270 when a 

23 social worker: 

24 (1) practices outside the scope of practice authorized by 

25 section 148D.050; 

26 (2) engages in the practice of social work without a social 

27 work license under section 148D.055 or 148D.060, except when the 

28 social worker is exempt from licensure pursuant to section 

29 148D.065; 

30 (3) provides social work services to a client who receives 

31 social work services in this state, and is not licensed pursuant 

32 to section 148D.055 or 148D.060, except when the social· worker 

33 is exempt from licensure pursuant to section 148D.065. 

34 Sec. 44. [1480.195] [REPRESENTATIONS TO CLIENTS AND 

35 PUBLIC.] 

36 Subdivision 1. [REQUIRED DISPLAYS AND INFORMATION FOR 
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1 CLIENTS.] (a) A social worker must conspicuously display at the 

2 social worker's places of practice, or make available as a 

3 handout for all clients, information that the client has the 

4 right to the following: 

5 (1) to be informed of the social worker's license status, 

6 education, training, and experience; 

7 (2) to examine public data on the social worker maintained 

8 by the board; 

9 (3) to report ·a complaint about the social worker's 

10 practice to the board; and 

11 (4) to be informed of the board's mailing address, e-mail 

12 address, Web site address, and telephone number. 

13 (b) A social worker must conspicuously display the social 

14 worker's wall certificate at the social worker's places of 

15 practice and office locations. Additional wall certificates may 

16 be requested pursuant to section 1480.095. 

17 Subd. 2. [REPRESENTATIONS.] (a) No applicant or other 

18 individual may be represented to the public by any title 

19 incorporating the words "social work" or "social worker" unless 

20 the individual holds a license pursuant to sections 1480.055 and 

21 1480.060 or practices in a setting exempt from licensure 

22 pursuant to section 1480.065. 

23 (b) In all professional use of a social worker's name, the 

24 social worker must use the license designation "LSW" or 

25 "licensed social worker" for a licensed social worker, "LGSW" or 

26 "licensed graduate social worker" for a licensed graduate social 

27 worker, "LISW" or "licensed independent social worker" for a 

28 licensed independent social worker, or "LICSW" or "licensed 

29 independent clinical social worker" for a licensed independent 

30 clinical social worker. 

31 (c) Public statements or advertisements must not be 

32 untruthful, misleading, false, fraudulent, deceptive, or 

33 potentially exploitative of clients, former clients, interns, 

34 students, supervisees, or the public. 

35 (d) A social worker must not: 

36 (1) use licensure status as a claim, promise, or guarantee 
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1 of successful service; 

2 (2) obtain a license by cheating or employing fraud or 

3 deception; 

4 (3) make false statements or misrepresentations to the 

5 board or rn materials submitted to the board; or 

6 (4) engage in conduct that has the potential to deceive or 

7 defraud a social work client, intern, student, supervisee, or 

8 the public. 

9· Subd. 3. [INFORMATION ON CREDENTIALS.] (a) A social worker 

10 must provide accurate and factual information concerning the 

11 social worker's credentials, education, training, and experience 

12 when the information is requested by clients, potential clients, 

13 or other persons or organizations. 

14 (b) A social worker must not misrepresent directly or by 

15 implication the social worker's license, degree, professional 

16 certifications, affiliations, or other professional 

17 qualifications in any oral or written communications to clients, 

18 potential clients, or other persons or organizations. A social 

19 worker must take reasonable steps to prevent such 

20 misrepresentations by other social workers. 

21 (c) A social worker must not hold out as a person licensed 

22 as a social worker without having a social work license pursuant 

23 to sections 1480.055 and 1480.060. 

24 (d) A social worker must not misrepresent directly or by 

25 implication (1) affiliations with institutions or organizations, 

26 or ( 2) purposes or cha·racter is tics of ins ti tut ions or 

27 organizations with which the social worker is or has been 

28 affiliated. 

29 Sec. 45. [1480.200] [COMPETENCE.] 

30 Subdivision 1. [COMPETENCE.] (a) A social worker must 

31 provide services and hold out as competent only to the extent 

32 the social worker's education, training, license, consultation 

33 received, supervision experience, or other relevant professional 

34 experience demonstrate competence in the services provided. A 

35 social worker must make a referral to a competent professional 

36 when the services required are beyond the social worker's 
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1 competence or authorized scope of practice. 

2 (b) When generally recognized standards do not exist with 

3 respect to an emerging area of practice, including but not 

4 limited to providing social work services through electronic 

5 means, a social worker must take the steps necessary, such as 

6 consultation or supervision, to ensure the competence of the 

7 social worker's work and to protect clients from harm. 

8 Subd. 2. [SUPERVISION OR CONSULTATION.] Notwithstanding 

9 the completion of supervision requirements as specified in 

10 sections 148D.100 to 148D.125, a social worker must obtain 

11 supervision or engage in consultation when appropriate or 

12 necessary for competent and ethical practice. 

13 Subd. 3. [DELEGATION OF SOCIAL WORK RESPONSIBILITIES.]~ 

14 A social worker must not delegate a social work responsibility 

15 to another individual when the social worker knows or reasonably 

16 should know that the individual is not licensed when required to 

17 be licensed pursuant to sections 148D.055 and 148D.060. 

18 (b) A social worker must not delegate a social work 

19 responsibility to another individual when the social worker 

20 knows or reasonably should know that the individual is not 

21 competent to assume the responsibility or perform the task. 

22 Sec. 46. [148D.205] [IMPAIRMENT.] 

23 Subdivision 1. [GROUNDS FOR ACTION.] The board has grounds 

24 to take action under sections 1480.255 to 148D.270 when a social 

25 worker is unable to practice with reasonable skill and safety by 

26 reason of illness, use of alcohol, drugs, chemicals, or any 

27 other materials, or as a result of any mental, physical, or 

28 psychological condition. 

29 Subd. 2. [SELF-REPORTING.] A social worker regulated by 

30 the board who is unable to practice with reasonable skill and 

31 safety by reason of illness, use of alcohol, drugs, chemicals, 

32 or any other materials, or as a result of any mental, physical, 

33 or psychological condition, must report to the board or the 

34 health professionals services program. 

35 Sec. 47. [148D.210] [PROFESSIONAL AND ETHICAL CONDUCT.] 

36 The board has grounds to take action under sections 
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1 148D.255 to 148D.270 when a social worker: 

2 (1) engages in unprofessional or unethical conduct, 

3 including any departure from or failure to conform to the 

4 minimum accepted ethical and other prevailing standards of 

5 professional social work practice, without actual injury to a 

6 social work client, intern, student, supervisee or the public 

7 needing to be established; 

8 (2) engages in conduct that has the potential to cause harm 

9 to a client, intern, student, supervisee, or the public; 

10 (3) demonstrates a willful or careless disregard for the 

11 health, welfare, or safety of a client, intern, student, or 

12 supervisee; or 

13 (4) engages in acts or conduct adversely affecting the 

14 applicant or licensee• s current ability or .fitness to engage in 

15 social work practice, whether or not the acts or conduct 

16 occurred while engaged in the practice of social work. 

17 Sec. 48. [148D.215] [RESPONSIBILITIES TO CLIENTS.] 

18 Subdivision 1. [RESPONSIBILITY TO CLIENTS.] A social 

19 worker's primary professional responsibility is to the client. 

20 A social worker must respect the client's interests, including 

21 the interest in self-determination, except when required to do 

22 otherwise by law. 

23 Subd. 2. [NONDISCRIMINATION.] A social worker must not 

24 discriminate against a client, intern, student, or supervisee or 

25 in providing services to a client, intern, or supervisee on the 

26 basis of age, gender, sexual orientation, race, color, national 

27 origin, religion, illness, disability, political affiliation, or 

28 social or economic status. 

29 Subd. 3. [RESEAR~H.] When undertaking research activities, 

30 a social worker must use accepted protocols for the protection 

31 of human subjects, including (1) establishing appropriate 

32 safeguards to protect the subject's vulnerability, and (2) 

33 obtaining the subjects• informed consent. 

34 Sec. 49. [148D.220] [RELATIONSHIPS WITH CLIENTS, FORMER 

35 CLIENTS, AND OTHER INDIVIDUALS.] 

36 Subdivision 1. [SOCIAL WORKER RESPONSIBILITY.] (a) A 
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1 social worker is responsible for acting professionally in 

2 relationships with clients or former clients. A client or a 

3 former client's initiation of, or attempt to engage in, or 

4 request to engage in, a personal, sexual, or business 

5 relationship is not a defense to a violation of this section. 

6 (b) When a relationship is permitted by this section, 

7 social workers who engage in such a relationship assume the full 

8 burden of· demonstrating that the relationship will not be 

9 detrimental to the client or the professional relationship. 

10 Subd. 2. [PROFESSIONAL BOUNDARIES.] A social worker must 

11 maintain appropriate professional boundaries with a client. A 

12 social worker must not engage in practices with clients that 

13 create an unacceptable risk of client harm or of impairing a 

14 social worker's objectivity or professional judgment. A social 

15 worker must not act or fail to act in a way that, as judged by a 

16 reasonable and prudent social worker, inappropriately encourages 

17 the client to relate to the social worker outside of the 

18 boundaries of the professional relationship, or in a way that 

19 interferes with the client's ability to benefit from social work 

20 services from the social worker. 

21 Subd. 3. [MISUSE OF PROFESSIONAL RELATIONSHIP.] A social 

22 worker must not use the professional relationship with a client, 

23 student, supervisee, or intern to further the social worker's 

24 personal, emotional, financial, sexual, religious, political, or 

25 business benefit or interests. 

26 Subd. 4. [IMPROPER TERMINATION.] A social worker must not 

27 terminate a professional relationship for the purpose of 

28 beginning a personal, sexual, or business relationship with a 

29 client. 

30 Subd. 5. [PERSONAL RELATIONSHIP WITH A CLIENT.] (a) Except 

31 as provided in paragraph (b), a social worker must not engage in 

32 a personal relationship with a client that creates a risk of 

33 client harm or of impairing a social worker's objectivity or 

34 professional judgment. 

35 (b) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), if a social worker is 

36 unable to avoid a personal relationship with a client, the 
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1 social worker must take appropriate precautions, such as 

2 consultation or supervision, to address the potential for risk 

3 of client harm or of impairing a social worker's objectivity or 

4 professional judgment. 

5 Subd. 6. [PERSONAL RELATIONSHIP WITH A FORMER CLIENT.] A 

6 social worker may engage in a personal relationship with a 

7 former client after appropriate termination of the professional 

8 relationship, except: 

9 (1) as prohibited by subdivision 8; or 

10 (2) if a reasonable and prudent social worker would 

11 conclude after appropriate assessment that (i) the former client 

12 is emotionally dependent on the social worker or continues to 

13 relate to the social worker as a client, or (ii) the social 

14 worker is emotionally dependent on the client or continues to 

15 relate to the former client as a social worker. 

16 Subd. 7. [SEXUAL CONDUCT WITH A CLIENT.] A social worker 

17 must not engage in or suggest sexual conduct with a client. 

18 Subd. 8. [SEXUAL CONDUCT WITH A FORMER CLIENT.] (a) A 

19 social worker who has engaged in diagnosing, counseling, or 

20 treating a client with mental, emotional, or behavioral 

21 disorders must not engage in or suggest sexual conduct with the 

22 former client under any circumstances unless: 

23 (1) the social worker did not intentionally or 

24 unintentionally coerce, exploit, deceive, or manipulate the 

25 former client at any time; 

26 (2) the social worker did not represent to the former 

27 client that sexual conduct with the social worker is consistent 

28 with or part of the client's treatment; 

29 (3) the social worker's sexual conduct was not detrimental 

30 to the former client at any time; 

31 (4) the former client is not emotionally dependent on the 

32 social worker and does not continue to relate to the social 

33 worker as a client; and 

34 (5) the social worker is not emotionally dependent on the 

35 client and does not continue to relate to the former client as a 

36 social worker. 
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1 (b) If there is an alleged violation of paragraph (a), the 

2 social worker assumes the full burden of demonstrating to the 

3 board that the social worker did not intentionally or 

4 unintentionally coerce, exploit, deceive, or manipulate the 

5 client, and the social worker's sexual conduct was not 

6 detrimental to the client at any time. Upon request, a social 

7 worker must provide information to the board addressing: 

8 (1) the amount of time that has passed since termination of 

9 services; 

10 (2) the duration, intensity, and nature of services; 

11 (3) the circumstances of termination of services; 

12 (4) the former client's emotional, mental, and behavioral 

13 history; 

14 (5) the former client's current emotional, mental, and 

15 behavioral status; 

16 (6) the likelihood of adverse impact on the former client; 

17 and 

18 (7) the existence of actions, conduct, or statements made 

19 by the social worker during the course of services suggesting or 

20 inviting the possibility of a sexual relationship with the 

21 client following termination of services. 

22 (c) A social worker who has provided social work services 

23 other than those described in paragraph (a) to a client must not 

24 engage in or suggest sexual conduct with the former client if a 

25 reasonable and prudent social worker would conclude after 

26 appropriate assessment that engaging in such behavior with the 

27 former client would create an unacceptable risk of harm to the 

28 former client. 

29 Subd. 9. [SEXUAL CONDUCT WITH A STUDENT, SUPERVISEE, OR 

30 INTERN.] (a) A social worker must not engage in or suggest 

31 sexual conduct with a student while the social worker has 

32 authority over any part of the student's academic program. 

33 (b} A social worker supervising an intern must not engage 

34 in or suggest sexual conduct with the intern during the course 

35 of the internship. 

36 (c) A. social worker practicing social work as a supervisor 
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1 must not engage in or suggest sexual conduct with a supervisee 

2 during the period of supervision. 

3 Subd. 10. [SEXUAL HARASSMENT.] A social worker must not 

4 engage in any physical, oral, written, or electronic behavior 

s that a client, former client, student, supervisee, or intern may 

6 reasonably interpret as sexually harassing or sexually demeaning. 

7 Subd. 11. [BUSINESS RELATIONSHIP WITH A CLIENT.] A social 

8 worker must not purchase goods or services from a client or 

9 otherwise engage· in a business relationship with a client except 

10 when: 

11 (1) a social worker purchases goods or services from the 

12 client and a reasonable and prudent social worker would 

13 determine that it is not practical or reasonable to obtain the 

14 goods or services from another provider; and 

15 (2) engaging in the business relationship will not be 

16 detrimental to the client or the professional relationship. 

17 Subd. 12. [BUSINESS RELATIONSHIP WITH A FORMER CLIENT.] A 

18 social worker may purchase goods or services from a former 

19 client or otherwise engage in a business relationship with a 

20 former client after appropriate termination of the professional 

21 relationship unless a reasonable and prudent social worker would 

22 conclude after appropriate assessment that: 

23 (1) the former client is emotionally dependent on the 

24 social worker and purchasing goods or services from the former 

25 client or otherwise engaging in a business relationship with the 

26 former client would be detrimental to the former client; or 

27 (2) the social worker is emotionally dependent on the 

28 former client and purchasing goods or services from the former 

29 client or otherwise engaging in a business relationship with the 

30 former client would be detrimental to the former client. 

31 Subd. 13. [PREVIOUS SEXUAL, PERSONAL, OR BUSINESS 

32 RELATIONSHIP.] (a) A social worker must not engage in a.social 

33 worker/client relationship with an individual with whom the 

34 social worker had a previous sexual relationship. 

35 (b) A social worker must not engage in a social 

36 worker/client relationship with an individual with whom the 
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1 social worker had a previous personal or business relationship 

2 if a reasonable and prudent social worker would conclude after 

3 appropriate assessment that the social worker/client 

4 relationship would create an unacceptable risk of client harm or 

5 that the social worker's objectivity or professional judgment 

6 may be impaired. 

7 Subd. 14. [GIVING ALCOHOL OR OTHER DRUGS TO A CLIENT.]~ 

8 Unless authorized by law, a social worker must not offer 

9 medication or controlled substances to a client. 

10 (b) A social worker must not accept medication or 

11 controlled substances from a client except that if authorized by 

12 law, a social worker may accept medication or controlled 

13 substances from a client for purposes of disposal or to monitor 

14 use. 

15 (c) A social worker must not offer alcoholic beverages to a 

16 client except when such an offer is authorized or prescribed by 

17 a physician or is in accordance with a client's care plan. 

18 (d) A social worker must not accept alcoholic beverages 

19 from a client. 

20 Subd. 15. [RELATIONSHIP WITH A CLIENT'S FAMILY OR 

21 HOUSEHOLD MEMBER.] Subdivisions 1 to 14 apply to a social 

22 worker's relationship with a client's family or household member 

23 when a reasonable and prudent social worker would conclude after 

24 appropriate assessment that a relationship with a family or 

25 household member would create an unacceptable risk of harm to 

26 the client. 

27 Sec. so. [148D.225] [TREATMENT AND INTERVENTION SERVICES.] 

28 Subdivision 1. [ASSESSMENT OR DIAGNOSIS.] A social worker 

29 must base treatment and intervention services on an a·ssessment 

30 or diagnosis. A social worker must evaluate, on an ongoing 

31 basis, the appropriateness of the assessment or diagnosis. 

32 Subd. 2. [ASSESSMENT OR DIAGNOSTIC INSTRUMENTS.] A social 

33 worker must not use an assessment or diagnostic instrument 

34 without adequate training. A social worker· must follow 

35 standards and accepted procedures for using an assessment or 

36 diagnostic instrument. A social worker must inform a client of 
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1 the purpose before administering the instrument and must make 

2 the results available to the client. 

3 Subd. 3. [PLAN FOR SERVrCES.] A social worker must develop 

4 a plan for services that includes goals based on the assessment 

5 or diagnosis. A social worker must evaluate, on an ongoing 

6 basis, the appropriateness of the plan and the client's progress 

7 toward the goals. 

8 Subd. 4. [RECORDS.] {a) A social worker must make and 

9 maintain current and accurate records, appropriate to the 

10 circumstances, of all services provided to a client. At a 

11 minimum, the records must contain documentation of: 

12 (1) the assessment or diagnosis; 

13 (2) the content of the service plan; 

14 (3) progress with the plan and any revisions of assessment, 

15 diagnosis, or plan; 

16 (4) any fees charged and payments made; 

17 (5) copies of all client-written authorizations for release 

18 of information; and 

19 (6) other information necessary to provide appropri~te 

20 services. 

21 {b) These records must be maintained by the social worker 

22 for at least seven years after the last date of service to the 

23 client. Social workers who are employed by an agency or other 

24 entity are not required to: 

25 (1) maintain personal or separate records; or 

26 (2) personally retain records at the conclusion ·of their 

27 employment. 

28 Subd. 5. [TERMINATION OF SERVICES.] A social worker must 

29 terminate a professional relationship with a client when the 

30 social worker reasonably determines that the client is not 

31 likely to benefit from continued services or the services are no 

32 longer needed, unless the social worker is required by law to 

33 provide services. A social worker who anticipates terminating 

34 services must give reasonable notice to the client in a manner 

35 that is appropriate to the needs of the client. The social 

36 worker must provide appropriate referrals as needed or upon 
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1 request of the client. 

2 Sec. 51. [148D.230] [CONFIDENTIALITY AND RECORDS.] 

3 Subdivision 1. [INFORMED CONSENT.] (a) A social worker 

4 must obtain valid, informed consent, appropriate to the 

5 circumstances, before providing services to clients. When 

6 obtaining informed consent, the social worker must determine 

7 whether the client has the capacity to provide informed 

8 consent. If the client does not have the capacity to provide 

9 consent, the social worker must obtain consent for the services 

10 from the client's legal representative. The social worker must 

11 not provide services, unless authorized or required by law, if 

12 the client or the client's legal representative does not consent 

13 to the services. 

14 (b) If a social worker determines that a client does not 

15 have the capacity to provide consent, and the client does not 

16 have a legal representative, the social worker: 

17 (1) must, except as provided in clause (2), secure a legal 

18 representative for a client before providing services~ or 

19 (2) may, notwithstanding clause (1), provide services, 

20 except when prohibited by other applicable law, that are 

21 necessary to ensure the client's safety or to preserve the 

22 client's property or financial resources. 

23 (c).A ·social worker must use clear and understandable 

24 language, including using an interpreter proficient in the 

25 client's primary language as necessary, to inform clients of the 

26 plan of services, risks related to the plan, limits to services, 

27 relevant costs, terms of payment, reasonable alternatives, the 

28 ·client's right to refuse or withdraw consent, and the time frame 

29 covered by the consent. 

30 Subd. 2. [MANDATORY REPORTING AND DISCLOSURE OF CLIENT 

31 INFORMATION.] At the beginning of a professional relationship 

32 and during the professional relationship as necessary and 

33 appropriate, a social worker must inform the client of those 

34 circumstances under which the social worker may be required to 

35 disclose client information specified in subdivision 3, 

36 paragraph {a), without the client's consent. 
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l Subd. 3. [CONFIDENTIALITY OF CLIENT INFORMATION.] (a) A 

2 social worker must ensure the confidentiality of all client 

3 information obtained in the course of the social worker/client 

4 relationship and all client information otherwise obtained by 

5 the social worker that is relevant to the social worker/client 

6 relationship. Except as provided in this section, client 

7 information may be disclosed or released only with the client's 

8 or the client's legal representative's valid informed consent, 

9 appropriate to the circumstances, except when otherwise required 

10 by law. A social worker must seek consent to disclose or 

11 release client information only when such disclosure or release 

12 is necessary to provide social work services. 

13 (b) A social worker must continue to maintain 

14 confidentiality of the client information specified in paragraph 

15 (a) upon termination of the professional relationship including 

16 upon the death of the client, except as provided under this 

17 section·or other applicable law. 

18 (c) A social worker must limit access to the client 

19 information specified in paragraph (a) in a social worker's 

20 agency to appropriate agency staff whose duties require access. 

21 Subd. 4. [RELEASE OF CLIENT INFORMATION WITH WRITTEN 

22 INFORMED CONSENT.] (a) Except as provided in subdivision 5, 

23 client information specified in subdivision 3, paragraph (a), 

24 may be released only with the client's or the client's legal 

25 representative's written informed consent. The written informed 

26 consent must: 

27 (1) explain to whom the client's records may be released; 

28 (2) explain the purpose for the release; and 

29 (3) state an expiration date for the authorized release of 

30 the records. 

31 ( b.) A social worker may provide client information 

32 specified in subdivision 3, paragraph (a), to a third party for 

33 the purpose of payment for services rendered only with the 

34 client's written informed consent. 

35 (c) Except as provided in subdivision 5, a social worker 

36 may disclose client information specified in subdivision 3, 
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1 paragraph (a), only with the client's or the client's legal 

2 representative's written informed consent. When it is not 

3 practical to obtain written informed consent before providing 

4 necessary services, a social worker may disclose or release 

5 client information with the client's or the client's legal 

6 representative's oral informed consent. 

7 (d) Unless otherwise authorized by law, a social worker 

8 must obtain a client's written informed cons~nt before taking a 

9 photograph of the client or making an audio or video recording 

10 of the client, or allowing a third party to do the same. The 

11 written informed consent must explain: 

12 (1) the purpose of the photograph or the recording and how 

13 the photograph or recording will be used, how it will be stored, 

14 and when it will be destroyed; and 

15 (2) how the client' may have access to the photograph or 

16 recording. 

17 Subd. 5. [RELEASE OF CLIENT INFORMATION WITHOUT WRITTEN 

18 INFORMED CONSENT.] (a) A social worker may disclose client 

19 information specified in subdivision 3, paragraph (a), without 

20 the written consent of the client or the client's legal 

21 representative only under the following circumstances or under 

22 the circumstances described in paragraph (b): 

23 (1) when mandated or authorized by federal or state law, 

24 including the mandatory reporting requirements under the duty to 

25 warn, maltreatment of minors, and vuln~rable adult laws 

26 specified in section 1480.240, subdivisions 6 to 8; 

27 (2) when the board issues a subpoena to the social worker; 

28 or 

29 (3) when a court of competent jurisdiction orders release 

30 of the client records or information. 

31 (b) When providing services authorized or required by law 

32 to a client who does not have the capacity to provide consent 

33 and who does not have a legal representative, a social worker 

34 must disclose or release client records or information as 

35 necessary to provide services to ensure the client's safety or 

36 to preserve the client's property or financial resources. 
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1 Subd. 6. [RELEASE OF CLIENT RECORDS OR INFORMATION.] When 

2 releasing client records or information under this section, a 

3 social worker must release current, accurate, and complete 

4 records or information. 

5 Sec. 52. [1480.235] [FEES AND BILLING PRACTICES.] 

6 Subdivision 1. [FEES AND PAYMENTS.] (a) A social worker 

7 must ensure that a client or a client's legal representative is 

8 informed of all fees at the initial session or meeting with the 

9 client, and that payment for services is arranged with the 

10 client or the client's legal representative at the beginning of 

11 the professional relationship. Upon request from a client or a 

12 client's legal representative, a social worker must provide in a 

13 timely manner a written payment plan or a written explanation of 

14 the charges for any services rendered. 

15 (b) When providing services authorized or required by law 

16 to a client who does not have the capacity to provide consent 

17 and who does not have a legal representative, a social worker 

18 may submit reasonable bills to an appropriate payer for services 

19 provided. 

20 Subd. 2. [BILLING FOR SERVICES NOT PROVIDED.] A social 

21 worker must not bill for services that have not been provided 

22 except that, with prior notice to the client, a social worker 

23 may bill for failed appointments or for cancellations without 

24 sufficient notice. A social worker may bill only for provided 

25 services which are necessary and appropriate. 

26 Subd. 3. [NO PAYMENT FOR REFERRALS.] A social worker must 

27 not accept or give a commission, rebate, or other form of 

28 remuneration solely or primarily to profit from the referral of 

29 a client. 

30 Subd. 4. [FEES AND BILLING PRACTICES.] A social worker 

31 must not engage in improper or fraudulent billing practices, 

32 including, but not limited to, violations of the federal 

33 Medicare and Medicaid laws or state medical assistance laws. 

34 Sec. 53. [148D.240] [REPORTING REQUIREMENTS.] 

35 Subdivision 1. [FAILURE TO SELF-REPORT ADVERSE 

36 ACTIONS.] The board has grounds to take action under sections 
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1 148D.255 to 148D.270 when a social worker fails to report to the 

2 board within 90 days: 

3 (1) having been disciplined, sanctioned, or found to have 

4 violated a state, territorial, provincial, or foreign licensing 

5 agency's laws or rulei; 

6 (2) having been convicted of committing a felony, gross 

7 misdemeanor, or misdemeanor reasonably related to the practice 

8 of social work; 

9 (3) having had a finding or verdict of guilt, whether or 

10 not the adjudication of guilt is withheld or not entered, of 

11 committing a felony, gross misdemeanor, or misdemeanor 

12 reasonably related to the practice of social work; 

13 (4) having admitted to committing, or entering a no contest 

14 plea to committing, a felony, gross misdemeanor, or misdemeanor 

15 reasonably related to the practice of social work; or 

16 (5) having been denied licensure by a state, territorial, 

17 provincial, or foreign licensing agency. 

18 Subd. 2. [FAILURE TO SUBMIT APPLICATION INFORMATION.] The 

19 board has grounds to take action under sections 148D.255 to 

20 148D.270 when an applicant or licensee fails to submit with an 

21 application the following information: 

22 (1) the dates and dispositions of any malpractice 

23 settlements or awards made relating to the social work services 

24 provided by the applicant or licensee; or 

25 (2) the dates and dispositions of any civil litigations or 

26 arbitrations relating to the social work services provided by 

27 the applicant or licensee. 

28 Subd. 3. [REPORTING OTHER LICENSED HEALTH 

29 .PROFESSIONALS.] An applicant or licensee must report to the 

30 appropriate health-related licensing board conduct by a licensed 

31 health professional which would constitute grounds for 

32 disciplinary action under the statutes and rules enforced by 

33 that board. 

34 Subd. 4. [REPORTING UNLICENSED PRACTICE.] An applicant or 

35 licensee must report to the board conduct by an unlicensed 

36 person which constitutes the practice of social work, as defined 
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1 in section 148D.010, except when the unlicensed person is exempt 

2 from licensure pursuant to section 148D.065. 

3 Subd. 5. [FAILURE TO REPORT OTHER APPLICANTS OR LICENSEES 

4 AND UNLICENSED PRACTICE.] The board has grounds to take action 

5 under sections 1480.255 to 148.270 when an applicant or licensee 

6 fails to report to the board conduct: 

7 (1) by another licensee or applicant which the applicant or 

8 licensee has reason to believe may reasonably constitute grounds 

9 for disciplinary action under this section; or 

10 (2) by an unlicensed person that constit~tes the practice 

11 of social work when a license is required to practice social 

12 work. 

13 Subd. 6. [DUTY TO WARN.] A licensee must comply with the 

14 duty to warn established by section 148.975. 

15 Subd. 7. [REPORTING MALTREATMENT OF MINORS.] An applicant 

16 or licensee must comply with the reporting of maltreatment of 

17 minors established by section 626.556. 

18 Subd. 8. [REPORTING MALTREATMENT OF VULNERABLE ADULTS.] An 

19 applicant or licensee must comply with the reporting of 

20 maltreatment of vulnerable adults established by section 626.557. 

21 Subd. 9. [SUBPOENAS.] The board may issue subpoenas 

22 pursuant to section 148D.245 and chapter 214 for the production 

23 of any reports required by this section or any related documents. 

24 Sec. 54. [148D.245] [INVESTIGATIVE POWERS AND PROCEDURES.] 

25 Subdivision 1. [SUBPOENAS.] (a) The board may issue 

26 subpoenas and compel the attendance of witnesses and the 

27 production of all necessary papers, books, records, documents, 

28 and other evidentiary material as part of its investigation of 

29 an applicant or licensee under this section or chapter 214. 

30 (b) If any person fails or refuses to appear or testify 

31 regarding any matter about which the person may be lawfully 

32 questioned, or fails or refuses to produce any papers, books, 

33 records, documents, or other evidentiary materials in the matter 

34 to be heard, after having been required by order of the board or 

35 by a subpoena of the board to do so, the board may institute a 

36 proceeding in any district court to enforce the board's order a~ 
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1 subpoena. · 

_ 2 (c) The board or a designated member of the board acting on 

3 behalf of the board-may issue subpoenas or administer oaths to 

4 witnesses or take affirmations. Depositions may be taken within 

5 or out of the state in the manner provided by law for the taking 

6 of depositions in civil actions. 

7 (d) A subpoena or other process or paper may be served upon 

8 any person named therein, by mail or by any officer authorized 

9 to serve subpoenas or other process or paper in civil actions, 

10 with the same fees and mileage and in the same manner as 

11 prescribed by law for service of process issued out of the 

12 district court of this state. 

13 (e) Fees, mileage, and other costs must be paid as the 

14 board directs. 

15 Subd. 2. [CLASSIFICATION OF DATA.] (a) Any records 

16 obtained as part of an investigation must be treated as 

17 investigative data under section 13.41 and be classified as 

18 confidential data. 

19 (b) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), client records must be 

20 treated as private data under chapter 13. Client records must 

·21 be protected as private data in the records of the board and in 

22 administrative or judicial proceedings unless the client 

23 authorizes the board in writing to make public the identity of 

24 the client or a· portion or all of the client's records. 

25 Subd. 3. [MENTAL OR PHYSICAL EXAMINATION; CHEMICAL 

26 DEPENDENCY EVALUATION.] (a) If the board has (1) probable cause 

27 to believe that an applicant or licensee has violated a statute 

28 or rule enforced by the board, or an order issued by the board 

29 and (2) the board believes the applicant may have a 

30 health-related condition relevant to the violation, the board 

31 may issue an order directing the applicant or licensee to submit 

32 to one or more of the following: a mental examination, a 

33 physical examination, or a chemical dependency evaluation. 

34 (b) An examination or evaluation order issued by the board 

35 must include: 

36 (1) factual specifications on which the order is based; 
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1 (2) the purpose of the examination or evaluation; 

2 (3) the name of the person or entity that will conduct the 

3 examination or evaluation; and 

4 (4) the means by which the examination or evaluation will 

5 be paid for. 

6 (c) Every applicant or licensee must submit to a.mental 

7 examination, a physical examination, or a chemical dependency 

8 evaluation when ordered to do so in writing by the board. 

9 (d) By submitting to a mental. examination, a physical 

10 examination, or a chemical dependency evaluation, an applicant 

11 or licensee waives all objections to the admissibility of the 

12 examiner or evaluator's testimony or reports on the grounds that 

13 the testimony or reports constitute a privileged communication. 

14 Subd. 4. [FAILURE TO SUBMIT TO AN EXAMINATION.] (a) If an 

15 applicant or licensee fails to submit to an examination or 

16 evaluation ordered by the board pursuant to subdivision 3, 

17 unless the failure was due to circumstances beyond the control 

18 of the applicant or licensee, the failure is an admission that 

19 the applicant or licensee violated a statute or rule enforced by 

20 the board as specified in the examination or evaluation order 

21 issued by the board. The failure may result in an application 

22 being denied or other adversarial, corrective, or disciplinary 

23 action being taken by the board without a contested case hearing. 

24 (b) If an applicant or licensee requests a contested case 

25 hearing after the board denies an application or takes other 

26 disciplinary or adversarial action, the only issues which may be 

27 determined at the hearing are: 

28 · (1) whether the board had probable cause to issue the 

29 examination or evaluation order; and 

30 (2) whether the failure to submit to the examination or 

31 evaluation was due to circumstances beyond the control of the 

32 applicant or licensee. 

33 (c) Neither the record of a proceeding under this 

34 subdivision nor an order issued by the board may be admissible, 

35 subject to subpoena, or be used against the applicant or 

36 licensee in a proceeding in which the board is not a party or 
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1 decision maker. 

2 (d} Information obtained under this subdivision must be 

3 treated as private data under chapter 13. An order issued by 

4 the board as the result of an applicant's or licensee's failure 

5 to submit to an examination or evaluation must be treated as 

6 public data under chapter 13. 

7 Subd. 5. [ACCESS TO DATA AND RECORDS.] (a) In addition to 

8 ordering a physical or mental examination or chemical dependency 

9 evaluation, and notwithstanding section 13.384, 144.651, 595.02, 

10 or any other statute limiting access to health records, the 

11 board or a designated member of the board acting on behalf of 

12 the board may subpoena physical, mental, and chemical dependency 

13 health records relating to an applicant or licensee without the 

14 applicant's or licensee's consent if: 

15 (1) the board has probable cause to believe that the 

16 applicant or licensee has violated chapter 214, a statute or 

17 rule enforced by the board, or an order issued by the board; and 

18 (2) the board has reason to believe that the records are 

19 relevant and necessary. to the investigation. 

20 (b) An applicant, licensee, insurance company, government 

21 agency, health care facility, or provider as defined in section 

22 144.335, subdivision 1, paragraph (b), must comply with any 

23 subpoena of the board under this subdivision and is not liable 

24 in any action for damages for releasing information subpoenaed 

25 by the board under this subdivision unless the information 

26 provided is false and the person or entity providing the 

27 information knew or had reason to know that the information was 

28 false. 

29 (c) Information on individuals obtained under this 

30 subdivision must be treated as investigative data under section 

31 13.41 and be classified as confidential data. 

32 (d} If an applicant, licensee, person, or entity does not 

33 comply with any subpoena of the board under this subdivision,· 

34 the board may institute a proceeding in any district court to 

35 enforce the board's subpoena. 

36 Subd. 6. [EVIDENCE OF PAST SEXUAL CONDUCT.] If, in a 

Article 1 Section 54 79 



SF1204 FIRST ENGROSSMENT [REVISOR ] KJ Sl204-l 

1 proceeding for taking action against an applicant or licensee 

2 under this section, the charges involve sexual contact with a 

3 client or former client, the board or administrative law judge 

4 must not consider evidence of the client's or former client's 

5 previous sexual conduct. Reference to the client's or former 

6 client's previous sexual conduct must not be made during the 

7 proceedings or in the findings, except by motion of the 

8 complainant, unless the evidence would be admissible under the 

9 applicable provisions of section 609.347, subdivision 3. 

10 Subd. 7. [INVESTIGATIONS INVOLVING VULNERABLE ADULTS OR 

11 CHILDREN IN NEED OF PROTECTION.] (a) Except as provided in 

12 paragraph (b), if the board receives a complaint about a social 

13 worker regarding the social worker's involvement in a case of 

14 vulnerabie adults or children in need of protection, the county 

15 or other appropriate public authority may request that the board 

16 suspend its investigation, and the board must comply until such 

17 time.as the court issues its findings on the ca~e. 

18 (b) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), the board may continue 

19 with an investigation if the board determines that doing so is 

20 · in the best interests of the vulne~able adult or child and is 

21 consistent with the board's obligation to protect the public. 

22 If the board chooses to continue an investigation, the board 

23 must notify the county or other appropriate public authority in 

24 writing and state its reasons for doing so. 

25 Subd. 8. [NOTIFICATION OF COMPLAINANT.] (a) In no more 

2.6 than 14 calendar days after rece~ving a complaint regarding a 

27 licensee, the board must notify the complainant that the board 

28 has received the complaint. 

29 (b) The board must periodically notify the complainant of 

30 the status of the complaint. 

31 Subd. 9. [NOTIFICATION OF LICENSEE.] (a) Except as 

32 provided in paragraph (b), in no more than 60 calendar days 

33 after receiving a complaint regarding a licensee, the board must 

34 notify the licensee that the board has received the complaint 

35 and inform the licensee of: 

36 (1) the substance of the complaint; 
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1 (2) the sections of the law that allegedly have been 

2 violated; and 

3 (3) whether an investigation is being conducted. 

4 (b) Paragraph (a) does not apply if: 

5 (1) the board determines that such notice would compromise 

6 the board's investigation pursuant to section 214.10; or 

7 (2) the board determines that such notice cannot reasonably 

8 be accomplished within this time. 

9 (c) The board must periodically notify the licensee of the 

10 status of the complaint. 

11 Subd. 10. [RESOLUTION OF COMPLAINTS.] In no more than one 

12 year after receiving a complaint regarding a licensee, the board 

13 must resolve or dismiss the complaint unless the board 

14 determines that resolving or dismissing the complaint cannot 

15 reasonably be accomplished within this time. 

16 Sec. 55. [1480.250] [OBLIGATION TO COOPERATE.] 

17 Subdivision 1. [OBLIGATION TO COOPERATE.] An applicant or 

18 licensee who is the subject of an investigation, or who is 

19 questioned by or on behalf of the board in connection with an 

20 investigation, must cooperate fully with the investigation. 

21 Cooperation includes, but is not limited to: 

22 (1) responding fully and promptly to any question relating 

23 to the investigation; 

24 (2) as reasonably requested by the board, providing copies 

25 of client and other records in the applicant's or licensee's 

26 possession relating to the investigation; 

27 (3) executing release of records as reasonably requested by 

28 the board; and 

29 (4) appearing at conferences, hearings, or meetings 

30 scheduled by the board, as required in sections 1480.255 to 

31 1480.270 and chapter 214. 

32 Subd. 2. [INVESTIGATION.] A social worker must not 

33 knowingly withhold relevant information, give false or 

34 misleading information, or do' anything to obstruct an 

35 investigation of the social worker or another social worker by 

36 the board or by another state or federal regulatory or law 
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1 enforcement authority. 

2 Subd. 3. [PAYMENT FOR COPIES.] The board must pay for 

3 copies requested by the board. 

4 Subd. 4. [ACCESS TO CLIENT RECORDS.] Notwithstanding any 

5 law to the contrary, an applicant or licensee must allow the 

6 board access to any records of a client provided services by the 

7 applicant or licensee under investigation. If the client has 

8 not signed a consent permitting access to the client's records, 

9 the applicant or licensee must delete any data in the records 

10 that identifies the client before providing the records to the 

11 board. 

12 Subd. 5. [CLASSIFICATION OF DATA.] Any records obtained 

13 pursuant to this subdivision must be treated as investigative 

14 data pursuant to section 13.41 and be classified as confidential 

15 data. 

16 Sec. 56. [148D.255] [TYPES OF ACTIONS.] 

17 Subdivision 1. [ACTIONS.] The board may take disciplinary 

18 action pursuant to section 148D.260, adversarial but 

19 nondisciplinary action pursuant to section 148D.265, or 

20 voluntary action pursuant to section 148D.270. Any action taken 

21 under sections 148D.260 to 148D.270 is public data. 

22 Subd. 2. [DISCIPLINARY ACTION.] For purposes of section 

23 148D.260, "disciplinary action" means an action taken by the 

24 board against an applicant or licensee that addresses a 

25 complaint alleging a violation of a statute or rule the board is 

26 empowered to enforce. 

27 Subd. 3. [ADVERSARIAL BUT NONDISCIPLINARY ACTION.] For 

28 purposes of section 148D.265, "adversarial but nondisciplinary 

29 action" means a nondisciplinary action taken by the board that 

30 addresses a complaint alleging a violation of a statute or rule· 

31 the board is empowered to enforce. 

32 Subd. 4. [VOLUNTARY ACTION.] For purposes of section 

33 148D.270, "voluntary action" means a nondisciplinary action 

34 agreed to by the board or a designated board member and an 

35 applicant or licensee that, through educational or other 

36 corrective means, addresses a complaint alle-ging a violation of 
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1 a statute or rule that the board is empowered to enforce. 

2 Sec. 57. [148D.260] [DISCIPLINARY ACTIONS.] 

3 Subdivision 1. [GENERAL DISCIPLINARY ACTIONS.] (a) When 

4 the board has grounds for disciplinary actions under this 

5 chapter, the board may take one or more of the following 

6 disciplinary actions: 

7 (1) deny an application; 

8 (2) permanently revoke a license to practice social work; 

9 (3) indefinitely or temporarily suspend a license to 

10 practice social work; 

11 (4) impose restrictions on a licensee's scope of practice; 

12 (5) impose conditions required for the licensee to maintain 

13 licensure, including! but not limited to, additional education, 

14 supervision, and requiring the passing of an examination 

15 provided for in section 148D.055; 

16 (6) reprimand a licensee; 

17 (7) impose a civil penalty of up to $10,000 for each 

18 violation in order to discourage future violations or to deprive 

19 the licensee of any economic advantage gained by reason of the 

20 violation; or 

21 (8) impose a fee to reimburse the board for all or part of 

22 the cost of the proceedings resulting in disciplinary action, 

23 including, but not limited to, the amount paid by the board for 

24 services received from or expenses incurred by the Office of 

25 Administrative Hearings, the Office of the Attorney General, 

26 court reporters, witnesses, board members, board staff, or the 

27 amount paid by the board for reproducing records. 

28 (b) Disciplinary action taken by the board under this 

29 subdivision is in effect pending determination of an appeal 

30 unless the court, upon petition and for good cause shown, 

31 decides otherwise. 

32 Subd. 2. [REPRIMANDS.] (a) In addition to the board's 

33 authority to issue a reprimand pursuant to subdivision 1,-a 

34 designated board member reviewing a complaint as provided for in 

35 chapter 214 may issue a reprimand to a licensee. The designated 

36 board member must notify the licensee that the reprimand will 
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1 become final disciplinary action unless the licensee requests a 

2 hearing by the board within 14 calendar days. 

3 (b) If the licensee requests a hearing within 14 calendar 

4 days, the board must schedule a hearing unless the designated 

5 board member withdraws the reprimand. 

6 (c) The hearing must be scheduled within 14 working days of 

· 7 the time the licensee submits a r·equest for the hearing. 

8 (d) The designated board member who issued the reprimand 

9 may participate in the hearing but must not deliberate or vote 

10 on the decision by the board. 

11 (e) The only evidence permitted at the hearing is 

12 affidavits ~r other documents except for testimony by the 

13 licensee or other witnesses whose testimony the board· chair has 

14 authorized for good cause. 

15 (f) If testimony is authorized, the testimony is subject to 

16 cross-examination. 

17 (g) After the hearing, the board must affirm or dismiss the 

18 reprimand. 

19 Subd. 3. [TEMPORARY SUSPENSIONS.] (a) In addition to any 

20 other remedy provided by statute, the board or a designated 

21 board member may, without a hearing, temporarily suspend a 

22 license to practice social work if the board or the designated 

23 board member finds that: 

24 (1) the licensee has violated a statute or rule enforced by 

25 the board, any other federal or state law or rule related to the 

26 practice of social work, or an order, stipulation, or agreement 

27 agreed to or issued by the board; and 

28 (2) continued practice by the licensee would create a 

29 serious risk of harm to others. 

30 (b) The .suspension is in effect upon service of a written 

31 order on the licensee specifying the statute, rule, order, 

32 stipulation, or agreement violated. Service of the order is 

33 effective if the order is served on the licensee or the 

34 licensee's attorney personally or by first class mail to the 

35 most recent address provided to the board for the licensee or 

36 the.licensee's attorney. 
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1 (c) The temporary suspension remains in effect until after 

2 the board issues an order pursuant to paragraph (e), or if there 

3 is a contested case hearing, after the board issues a written 

4 final order pursuant to paragraph (g). 

5 (d) If the licensee requests in writing within five 

6 calendar days of service of the order that the board hold a 

7 hearing, the board must hold a hearing on the sole issue of 

8. whether to continue, modify, or lift the suspension. The board 

9 must hold the hearing within ten working days of receipt of the 

10 licensee's written request. Evidence presented by the board or 

11 licensee must be in affidavit form only, except that the 

12 licensee or the licensee's attorney may present oral argument. 

·13 (e) Within five working days after the hearing, the board 

14 must issue its order. If the licensee contests the order, the 

15 board must schedule a contested case hearing under chapter 14. 

16 The contested case hearing must be scheduled to occur within 45 

17 calendar days after issuance of the order. 

18 (f) The administrative law judge must issue a report within 

19 30 calendar days after the contested case hearing is concluded. 

20 (g) The board must issue a final order within 30 calendar 

21 days after the board receives the administrative law judge's 

22 report. 

23 Sec. 58. [148D.265] [ADVERSARIAL BUT NONDISCIPLINARY 

24 ACTIONS.] 

25 Subdivision 1. [AUTOMATIC SUSPENSIONS.] (a) A license to 

26 practice social work is automatically suspended if: 

27 (1) a guardian of a licensee is appointed by order of a 

28 court pursuant to sections 524.5-101 and 524.5.102; or 

29 (2) the licensee is committed by order of a court pursuant 

30 to chapter 253B. 

31 (b) A license remains suspended until: 

32 (1) the licensee is restored to capacity by a court; and 

33 (2) upon petition by the licensee and after a hearing or an 

34 agreement with the licensee, the board terminates the suspension. 

35 (c) If the board terminates the suspension, it may do so 

36 with or without conditions or restrictions, including, but not 

Article 1 Section 58 . 85 



SF1204 FIRST ENGROSSMENT [REVISOR ] KJ Sl204-l 

1 limited to, participation in the health professional services 

2 program. 

3 Subd. 2. [CEASE AND DESIST ORDERS.] (a) The board or a 

4 designated board member may issue a cease and desist order to 

5 stop a person from engaging in unauthorized practice or from 

6 violating or threatening to violate a statute or rule enforced 

7 by the board or an order, stipulation, or agreement agreed to or 

8 issued by the board. 

9 (b) The cease and desist order must state the reason for 

10 its issuance and give notice of the person's right to request a 

11 hearing under sections 14.57 to 14.62. If the person fails to 

12 request a hearing in writing postmarked ~ithin 15 calendar days 

13 after service of the cease and desist order, the order is the 

14 final order of the board and is not reviewable by a court or 

15 agency. 

16 (c) If the board receives a written request for a hearing 

17 postmarked within 15 calendar days after service of the cease 

18 and desist order, the board must schedule a hearing within 30 

19 calendar days of receiving the request. 

20 (d) The administrative law judge must issue a report within 

21 30 calendar days after the contested case hearing is concluded. 

22 (e) Within 30 calendar days after the board receives the 

23 administrative law judge's report, the board must issue a final 

24 order modifying, vacating, or making permanent the cease and 

25 desist order.· The final order remains in effect until modified 

26 or vacated by the board. 

27 (f) If a person does not comply with a cease and desist 

28 order, the board may institute a proceeding in any district 

29 court to obtain injunctive relief or other appropriate relief, 

30 including but not limited to, a civil penalty payable to the 

31 board of up to $10,000 for each violation. 

32 (g) A cease and desist order issued pursuant to this 

33 subdivision does not relieve a person from criminal prosecution 

34 by a competent authority or from disciplinary action by the 

35 board. 

36 Subd. 3. [INJUNCTIVE RELIEF.] (a) In addition to any other 
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1 remedy provided by law, the board may bring an action in 

2 district court for injunctive relief to restrain any 

3 unauthorized practice or violation or threatened violation of 

4 any statute or rule, stipulation, or agreement agreed to or 

5 enforced by the board or an order issued by the board. 

6 (b) A temporary restraining order may be granted in the 

7 proceeding if continued activity by a person would create an 

8 imminent risk of harm to others. 

9 (c) Injunctive relief granted pursuant to this subdivision 

10 does not relieve a person from criminal prosecution by a 

11 competent authority or from disciplinary action by the board. 

12 (d) In bringing an action for injunctive relief, the board 

13 need not show irreparable harm. 

14 Sec. 59. [1480.270] [VOLUNTARY ACTIONS.] 

15 Subdivision 1. [AGREEMENTS FOR CORRECTIVE ACTION.] (a) The 

16 board or a designated board member may enter into an agreement 

17 for corrective action with an applicant or licensee when the 

18 board or a designated board member determines that a complaint 

19 alleging a violation of a statute or rule enforced by the board 

20 or an order issued by. the board may best be resolved through an 

21 agreement for corrective action when disciplinary action is not 

22 required to protect the public. 

23 

24 

25 

26 

27 

( b) 

(1) 

( 2 ) 

{ 3} 

( 4) 

An agreement for 

be in writing; 

specify the facts 

clearly indicate 

provide that the 

corrective action must: 

upon which the agreement is based; 

the corrective action agreed upon; and 

complaint that resulted in the 

28 agreement must be dismissed by the board or the designated board 

29 member upon successful completion of the corrective action. 

30 (c) The board or designated board member may determine 

31 successful completion when the applicant or licensee submits a 

32 request for dismissal that documents the applicant's or 

33 licensee•s successful completion of the corrective action. The 

34 burden of proof is on the applicant or licensee to prove 

35 successful completion. 

36 (d) An agreement for corrective action is not disciplinary 
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1 action but must be treated as public data under chapter 13. 

2 (e) The board may impose a fee to reimburse the board for 

3 all or part of the costs of the proceedings resulting in a 

4 corrective action, including, but not limited to, the amount 

5 paid by the board for services received from or expenses 

6 incurred by the Office of the Attorney General, board members, 

7 board staff, or the amount paid by the board for reproducing 

8 records~ 

9 (f) The board or designated board member must not enter 

10 into an agreement for corrective action when the complaint 

11 alleged sexual conduct with a client unless there is 

12 insufficient evidence to justify disciplinary action but there 

13 is a basis for corrective action. 

14 Subd. 2. [STIPULATIONS TO CEASE PRACTICING SOCIAL 

15 WORK.] (a) The board or a designated board member may enter into 

16 a stipulation to cease practicing social work with a licensee if 

17 the board or designated board member determines that the 

18 licensee is unable to practice social work competently or safely 

19 or that the social worker's continued practice creates an 

20 unacceptable risk of safety to clients, potential clients, or 

21 the public. 

22 (b) A stipulation to cease practicing social work must: 

23 (1) be in writing; 

24 (2) specify the facts upon which the stipulation is based; 

25 (3) clearly indicate that the licensee must not practice 

26 social work and must not hold out to the public that the social 

27 worker is licensed; and 

28 (4) specify the term of the stipulation or when and under 

29 what circumstances the licensee may petition the board for 

30 termination of the stipulation. 

31 (c) A stipulation to cease practicing social work is not 

32 disciplinary action but must be treated as public data under 

33 chapter 13. 

34 (d) Nothing in this subdivision prevents the board or 

35 designated board member from taking any other disciplinary or 

36 adversarial action authorized by sections 1480.255 to 1480.265 
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1 in lieu of or in addition to entering into a stipulation to 

2 cease practicing social work. 

3 Sec. 60. [1480.275] [UNAUTHORIZED PRACTICE.] 

4 No individual may: 

5 (1) engage in the practice of social work without a social 

6 work license under sections 1480.055 and 1480.060, except when 

7 the individual is exempt from licensure pursuant to section 

8 1480.065; 

9 (2) provide social work services to a client who resides in 

10 this state when the individual providing the services is not 

11 licensed as a social worker pursuant to sections 1480.055 to 

12 1480.060, except when the individual is exempt from licensure 

13 pursuant to section 1480.065. 

14 Sec. 61. [1480.280] [USE OF TITLES.] 

15 No individual may be· presented to the public by any title 

16 incorporating the words "social work" or "social worker" or in 

17 the titles in section 1480.195, unless that individual holds a 

18 license pursuant to sections 1480.055 and 1480.060, or practices 

19 in a setting exempt from licensure pursuant to section 1480.065. 

20 Sec. 62. [1480.285] [REPORTING REQUIREMENTS.] 

21 Subdivision 1. [INSTITUTIONS.] A state agency, political 

22 subdivision, agency of a local unit of government, private 

23 agency, hospital, clinic, prepaid medical plan, or other health 

24 care institution or organization must report to the board: 

25 (1) any adversarial action, disciplinary action, or other 

26 sanction for conduct that might constitute grounds for action 

27 under section 1480.190; 

28 (2) the resignation of any applicant or licensee prior to 

29 the conclusion of any proceeding for .adversarial action, 

30 disciplinary action, or other sanction for conduct that might 

31 constitute grounds for action under section 1480.190; or 

32 (3) the resignation of any applicant or licensee prior to 

33 the commencement of a proceeding for adversarial action, 

34 disciplinary action, or other sanction for conduct that might 

35 constitute grounds for action under section 1480.190, but after 

36 the applicant or licensee had knowledge that a proceeding was 
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1 contemplated or in preparation. 

2 Subd. 2. [PROFESSIONAL SOCIETIES AND ASSOCIATIONS.] A 

3 state or local professional society or association whose members 

· 4 consist primarily of licensed social workers must report to the 

5 board any adversarial action, disciplinary action, or other 

6 sanction taken against a member. 

7 Subd. 3. [IMMUNITY.] An individual, professional society 

8 or association, state agency, political subdivision, agency of a 

9 local unit of government, private agency, hospital, clinic, 

10 prepaid medical plan, other health care institution or 

11 organization or other entity is immune from civil liability or 

12 criminal prosecution for submitting in good faith a report under 

13 subdivision 1 or 2 or for otherwise reporting, providing 

14 information, or testifying about violations or alleged 

15 violations of this chapter. 

16 Sec. 63" [ 148D. 290] [PENALTIES.] 

17 An individual or other entity that violates section 

18 148D.275, 148D.280, or 148D.285 is guilty of a misdemeanor. 

19 Sec. 64. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 214.01, 

20 subdivision 2, is amended to read: 

21 Subd .. 2. [HEALTH-RELATED LICENSING BOARD.] "Health-related 

22 licensing board" means the Board of Examiners of Nursing Home 

23 Administrators established pursuant to section 144A.19, the 

24 Office of Unlicensed Complementary and Alternative Health Care 

25 Practice established pursuant to section 146A.02, the Board of 

26 Medical Practice created pursuant to section 147.01, the Bo~rd 

27 of Nursing created pursuant to section 148.181, the Board of 

28 Chiropractic Examiners established pursuant to section 148.02, 

29 the Board of Optometry established pursuant to section 148.52, 

30 the Board of Physical Therapy established pursuant to section 

31 148.67, the Board of Psychology established pursuant to section 

32 148.90, the Board of Social Work pursuant to section i48B.i9 

33 148D.025, the Board of Marriage and Family Therapy pursuant to 

34 section 148B.30, the Office of Mental Health Practice 

35 established pursuant to section 148B.61, the Board of Behavioral 

36 Health and Therapy established by section 148B.51, the Alcohol 
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1 and Drug Counselors Licensing Advisory Council established 

2 pursuant to section 148C.02, the Board of Dietetics and 

3 Nutrition Practice established under section 148.622, the Board 

4 of Dentistry est~blished pursuant to section lSOA.02, the Board 

5 of Pharmacy established pursuant to section 151.02, the Board of 

6 Pediatric Medicine established pursuant to section 153.02, and 

7 the Board of Veterinary Medicine, established pursuant to 

8 section 156.01. 

9 Sec. 65. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 245.462, 

10 subdivision 18, is amended to read: 

11 Subd. 18. [MENTAL HEALTH PROFESSIONAL.] "Mental health 

12 professional" means a person providing clinical services in the 

13 treatment of mental illness who is qualified in at least one of 

14 the following ways: 

15 (1) in psychiatric nursing: a registered nurse who is 

16 licensed under sections 148.171 to 148.285; and: 

17 (i) who is certified as a clinical specialist or as a nurse 

18 practitioner in adult or family psychiatric and mental health 

19 nursing by a national nurse certification organization; or 

20 (ii) who has a master's degree in.nursing or one of the 

21 behavioral sciences or related fields from an accredited college 

22 or university or its equivalent, with at least 4,000 hours of 

23 post-master's supervised experience in the delivery of clinical 

24 services in the treatment of mental illness; 

25 (2) in clinical social work: a person licensed as an 

26 independent clinical social worker under 5eee±eft-i48B.%i7 

27 5ttbd±~±~ieft-6 chapter 148D, or a person with a master's degree 

28 in social work from an accredited college or university, with at 

29 least 4,000 hours of post-master's supervised experience in the 

30 delivery of clinical services in the treatment of mental 

31 illness; 

32 (3) in psychology: an individual licensed by the Board of 

33 Psychology under sections 148.88 to 148.98 who has stated to the 

34 Board of Psychology competencies in the diagnosis and treatment 

35 of mental illness; 

36 (4) in psychiatry: a physician licensed under chapter 147 

Article 1 Section 65 91 



SF1204 FIRST ENGROSSMENT [REVISOR ] KJ Sl204-l 

1 and certified by the Am~rican Board of Psychiatry and Neurology 

2 or eligible for board certification in psychiatry; 

3 (5) in marriage and family therapy: the mental health 

4 professional must be a marriage and family therapist licensed 

5 under sections 148B.29 to 148B.39 with at least two years of 

6 post-master's supervised experience in the delivery of clinical 

7 services in the treatment of mental illness; or 

8 (6) in allied fields: a person with a master's degree from 

9 an accredited college or university in one of the behavioral 

10 sciences or related fields, with at least 4,000 hours of 

11 post-master's supervised experience in the delivery of clinical 

12 services in the treatment of mental illness. 

13 Sec. 66. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 245.4871, 

14 subdivision 27, is amended to read: 

15 Subd. 27. [MENTAL HEALTH PROFESSIONAL.] "Mental health 

16 professional" means a person providing clinical services in the 

17 diagnosis and treatment of children's emotional disorders. A 

18 mental health professional must have training and experience in 

19 working with children consistent with the age group to which the 

20 mental health professional is assigned. A mental health 

21 professional must be qualified in at least one of the following 

22 ways: 

23 (1) in psychiatric nursing, the mental health professional 

24 must be a registered nurse who is licensed under sections 

25 148.171 to 148.285 and who is certified as a clinical specialist 

26 in child and adolescent psychiatric or mental health nursing by 

27 a national nurse certification organization or who has a 

28 master's degree in nursing or one of the behavioral sciences or 

29 related fields from an accredited college or university or its 

30 equivalent, with at least 4,000 hours of post-master's 

31 supervised experience in the delivery of clinical services in 

32 the treatment of mental illness; 

33 (2) in clinical social work, the mental health professional 

34 must be a person licensed as an independent clinical· social 

35 worker under seee±o~-i48B.%%7-sttbd±v±s±o~-6 chapter 1480, or a 

36 person with a master's degree in social work from an accredited 
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1 college or university, with at least 4,000 hours of 

2 post-master's supervised experience in the delivery of clinical 

3 services in the treatment of mental disorders; 

4 (3) in psychology, the mental health professional must be 

5 an individual licensed by the board of psychology under sections 

6 148.88 to 148.98 who has stated to the board of psychology 

7 competencies in the diagnosis and treatment of mental disorders; 

8 (4) in psychiatry, the mental health professional must be a 

9 physician licensed under chapter 147 and certified by the 

10 American board of psychiatry and neurology or eligible for board 

11 certification in psychiatry; 

12 (5) in marriage and family therapy, the mental health 

13 professional must be a marriage and family therapist licensed 

14 under sections 148B.2~ to 148B.39 with at least two years of 

15 post-master's supervised experience in the delivery of clinical 

16 services in the treatment of mental disorders or emotional 

17 disturbances; or 

18 (6) in allied fields, the mental health professional must 

19 be a person with a master's degree from an accredited college or 

20 university in one of the behavioral sciences or related fields, 

21 with at least 4,000 hours of post-master's supervised experience 

22 in the delivery of clinical services in the treatment of 

23 emotional disturbances. 

24 Sec. 67. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 256B.0625, 

25 subdivision 38, is amended to read: 

26 Subd. 38. [PAYMENTS FOR MENTAL HEALTH SERVICES.] Payments 

27 for mental health services covered under the medical assistance 

28 program that are provided by masters-prepared mental health 

29 professionals shall be 80 percent of the rate paid to 

30 doctoral-prepared professionals. Payments for mental health 

31 services covered under the medical assistance program that are 

'32 provided by masters-prepared mental health professionals 

33 employed by community mental health centers shall be 100 percent 

34 of the rate paid to doctoral-prepared professionals. For 

35 purposes of reimbursement of mental health professionals under 

36 the medical assistance program, all social workers who: 
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1 (1) have received a master's degree in social work from a 

2 program accredited by the Council on Social Work Education; 

3 (2) are licensed at the level of graduate social worker or 

4 independent social worker; and 

5 (3) are practicing clinical social work under appropriate 

6 supervision, as defined by seeeio~-%48Be3:8 chapter 1480; meet 

7 all requirements under Minnesota Rules, part 9505.0323, subpart 

8 24, and shall be paid accordingly. 

9 Sec. 68. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 256J.08, 

10 subdivision 73a, is amended to read: 

11 Subd. 73a. [QUALIFIED PROFESSIONAL.] (a) For physical 

12 illness, injury, or incapacity, a "qualified professional" means 

13 a licensed physician, a physician's assistant, a nurse 

14 practitio?er, or a licensed chiropractor. 

15 (b) For mental retardation and intelligence testing, a 

16 "qualified professional" means an individual qualified by 

17 training and experience to administer the tests necessary to 

18 make determinations, such as tests of intellectual functioning, 

19 assessments of adaptive behavior, adaptive skills, and 

20 developmental functioning. These professionals include licensed 

21 psychologists, certified school psychologists, or certified 

22 psychometrists working under the supervision of a licensed 

23 psychologist. 

24 (c) For learning disabilities, a "qualified professional" 

25 means a licensed psychologist or school psychologist with 

26 experience determining learning disabilities. 

27 (d) For mental health, a "qualified professional" means a 

28 licensed physician or a qualified mental health professional. A 

29 "qualified mental health professional" means: 

30 (1) for children, in psychiatric nursing, a registered 

31 nurse who is licensed under sections 148.171 to 148.285, and who 

32 is certified as a clinical specialist in child and adolescent 

33 psychiatric or mental health nursing by a national nurse 

34 certification organization or who has a master's degree in 

35 nursing or one of the behavioral sciences or related fields from 

36 an accredited college or university or its equivalent, with at 
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1 least 4,000 hours of post-master's supervised experience in the 

2 delivery of clinical services in the treatment of mental 

3 illness; 

4 (2) for adults, in psychiatr1c nursing, a registered nurse 

5 who is licensed under sections 148.171 to 148.285, and who is 

6 certified as a clinical specialist in adult psychiatric and 

7 mental health nursing by a national nurse certification 

8 organization or who has a master's degree in nursing or one of 

9 the behavioral sciences or related fields from an accredited 

10 college or university or its equivalent, with at least 4,000 

11 hours of post-master's supervised experience in the delivery of 

12 clinical services in the treatment of mental illness; 

13 (3) in clinical social work, a person licensed as an 

14 independent clinical social worker under see~ioft-±48B.%±1 

15 sttbd±v±sioft-6 chapter 1480, or a person with a master's degree 

16 in social work from an accredited college or university, with at 

17 least 4,000 hours of post-master's supervised experience in the 

18 delivery of clinical services in the treatment of mental 

19 illness; 

20 (4) in psychology, an individual licensed by the Board of 

21 Psychology under sections 148.88 to 148.98, who has stated to 

22 the Board of Psychology competencies in the diagnosis and 

23 treatment of mental illness; 

24. (5) in psychiatry, a physician licensed under chapter 147 

25 and certified by the American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology 

26 or eligible for board certification in psychiatry; and· 

27 (6) in marriage and family therapy, the mental health 

28 professional must be a marriage and family therapist licensed 

29 under sections 148B.29 to 148B.39, with at least two years of 

30 post-master's supervised experience in the delivery of clinical 

31 services in the treatment of mental illness. 

32 Sec. 69. Minnesota Statutes.2004, section 319B.02, 

33 subdivision 19, is amended to read: 

34 Subd. 19. [PROFESSIONAL SERVICES.] "Professional services" 

35 means services of the type required or permitted to be furnished 

36 by a professional under a license, registration, or certificate 
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1 issued by the state of Minnesota to practice medicine and 

2 surgery under sections 147.01 to 147.22, as a physician 

3 assistant pursuant to sections 147A.01 to 147A.27, chiropractic 

4 under sections 148.01 to 148.105, registered nursing under 

5 sections 148.171 to 148.285, optometry under sections 148.52 to 

6 148.62, psychology under sections 148.88 to 148.98, social work 

7 under see~~ons-%48B.%8-~o-%48B•289 chapter 1480, dentistry and 

8 dental hygiene under sections 150A.01 to 150A.12, pharmacy under 

9 sections 151.01 to 151.40, pediatric medicine under sections 

10 153.01 to 153.25, veterinary medicine under sections 156.001 to 

11 156.14, architecture, engineering, surveying, landscape 

12 architecture, geoscience, and certified interior design under 

13 sections 326.02 to 326.15, accountancy under chapter 326A, or 

14 law under sections 481.01 to 481.17, or under a license or 

15 certificate issued by another state under similar laws. 

16 Professional services includes services of the type required to 

17 be furnished by a professional pursuant to a license or other 

18 authority to practice law under the laws of a foreign nation. 

19 Sec. 70. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 319B.40, is 

20 amended to read: 

21 319B.40 [PROFESSIONAL HEALTH SERVICES.] 

22 (a) Individuals who furnish professional services pursuant 

23 to a license, registration, or certificate issued by the state 

24 of Minnesota to practice medicine pursuant to sections 147.01 to 

25 147.22, as a physician assistant pursuant to sections 147A.Ol to 

26 147A.27, chiropractic pursuant to sections 148.01 to 148.106, 

27 registered nursing pursuant to sections 148.171 to 148.285, 

28 optometry pursuant to sections 148.52 to 148.62, psychology 

29 pursuant to sections 148.88 to 148.98, social work pursuant to 

30 see~~ons-%48B.%8-~o-%48B.%89 chapter 1480, dentistry pursuant to 

31 sections 150A.Ol to 150A.12, pharmacy pursuant to sections 

32 151.01 to 151.40, or pediatric medicine pursuant to sections 

33 153.01 to 153.26 are specifically authorized to practice any of· 

34 these categories of services in combination if the individuals 

35 are organized under this chapter. 

36 (b) This authorization does not authorize an individual to 
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8740.0100; 8740.0110; 8740.0120; 8740.0122; 8740.0130; 

8740.0155; 8740.0185; 8740.0187; 8740.0200; 8740.0240; 

8740.0260; 8740.0285; 8740.0300; 8740.0310; 8740.0315; 

8740.0320; 8740.0325; 8740.0330; 8740.0335; 8740.0340; and 

8740.0345, are re12ealed. 

Sec. 72. [EFFECTIVE DATE.] 
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1 5601.1500, but must be easily available by telecommunications. 

2 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 148.65, is 

3 amended by adding a subdivision to read: 

4 Subd. 4. [PHYSICAL THERAPY AIDE.] "Physical therapy aide" 

5 means a person, working under the direct supervision of a 

6 physical therapist, who is not a physical therapist assistant as 

7 defined in subdivision 3, who performs tasks as provided under 

8 Minnesota Rules, part 5601.1400. 

9 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 148.65, is 

10 amended by adding a subdivision to read: 

11 Subd. 5. [STUDENT PHYSICAL THERAPIST.] "Student physical 

12 therapist" means a person in a professional educational program, 

13 approved by the board under section 148.705, who is satisfying 

14 supervised clinical education requirements by performing 

15 physical therapy under the on-site supervision of a licensed 

16 physical therapist~ "On-site supervision" means the physical 

17 therapist is easily available for instruction to the student 

18 physical therapist. The physical therapist shall have direct 

19 contact with the p'atient during at least every second treatment 

20 session by the student physical therapist. Telecommunications, 

21 except within the facility, does not meet the requirement of 

22 on-site supervision. 

23 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 148.65, is 

24 amended by adding a subdivision to read: 

25 Subd. 6. [STUDENT PHYSICAL THERAPIST ASSISTANT.] "Student 

26 physical therapist assistant" means a person in a physical 

27 therapist assistant educational program accredited by the 

28 Commission on Accreditation in Physical Therapy Education 

29 (CAPTE) or a recognized comparable national accrediting agency 

30 app~oved by the board. The student physical therapist 

31 assistant, under the direct supervision of the physical 

32 therapist, or the direct supervision of the physical therapist 

33 and physical therapist assistant, performs physical therapy 

34 interventions and assists with coordination, communication, 

35 documentation, and patient-client-related instruction. "Direct 

36 supervision" means the physical therapist is physically present 
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1 and immediately available to provide instruction to the student 

2 physical therapist assistant. 

3 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 148.65, is 

4 amended by adding a subdivision to read: 

5 Subd. 7. [SUPPORTIVE PERSONNEL.] "Supportive personnel" 

6 means a physical therapist assistant and a physical therapy aide. 

7 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 148.706, is 

8 amended to read: 

9 148.706 [SUPERVISION OF ASSISTANTS ANBL AIDES, AND 

10 STUDENTS.] 

11 Every physical therapist who uses the services of an a 

12 physical therapist assistant or physical therapy aide for the 

13 purpose of assisting in the practice of physical therapy is 

14 responsible for functions performed by the assistant or aide 

15 while engaged in s~ch assistance. The physical therapist shall 

16 perm±e-ene-ass±seane-or-a±de-eo-per£orm-on±y-enose-£ttnee±ons 

17 .wn±en-ene-enerap±se-±s-attenor±zed-by-rtt±e-eo-de±egaee-eo-a 

18 pnys±ea±-enerap±se-ass±seane-or-ass±gn-eo-e-pnys±ea±-enerapy 

19 a±de-and-sne±±-pro~±de-sttper~±s±on-as-spee±£±ed delegate duties 

20 to the physical therapist assistant and assign tasks to the 

21 physical therapy aide in accordance with Minnesota Rules, part 

22 5601.1400. Physical therapists who instruct student physical 

23 therapists and student physical therapist assistants are 

24 responsible for the functions performed by the students and 

25 shall supervise the students as provided under section 148.65, 

26 subdivisions 5 and 6. 

27 Sec. 7. [148.735] [CANCELLATION OF LICENSE IN GOOD 

28 STANDING. ] 

29 Subdivision 1. [BOARD APPROVAL; REPORTING.] A physical 

30 therapist holding an active license to practice physical therapy 

31 in the state may, upon approval of the board, be granted license 

32 cancellation if the board is ~ot investigating the person as a 

33 result of a complaint or information received or if the board 

34 has not begun disciplinary proceedings against the person. Such 

35 action by the board shall be reported as a cancellation of a 

36 license in good standing. 
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1 Subd. 2. [FEES NONREFUNDABLE.] A physical therapist who 

2 receives board approval for license cancellation is not entitled 

3 to a refund of any license fees paid for the licensure year in 

4 which cancellation of the license occurred. 

5 Subd. 3. [NEW LICENSE AFTER CANCELLATION.] If a physical 

6 therapist who has been granted board approval for license 

7 cancellation desires to resume the practice of physical therapy 

8 in Minnesota, that physical therapist must obtain a new license 

9 by applying for licensure and fulfilling the requirements then 

10 in existence for obtaining an initial license to practice 

11 physical therapy in Minnesota. 

12 Sec. 8. [148.736] [CANCELLATION OF CREDENTIALS UNDER 

13 DISCIPLINARY ORDER.] 

14 Subdivision 1. [BOARD APPROVAL; REPORTING.] A physical 

15 therapist, whose right to practice is under suspension, 

16 condition, limitation, qualification, or restriction by the 

17 board may be granted cancellation of credentials by approval of 

18 the board. Such action by the board shall be reported as 

19 cancellation while under discipline. Credentials, for purposes 

20 of this section, means board authorized documentation of the 

21 privilege to practice physical therapy. 

22 Subd. 2. [FEES NONREFUNDABLE.] A physical therapist who 

23 receives board approval for credential cancellation is not 

24 entitled to a refund of any fees paid for the credentialing year 

25 in which cancellation of the credential occurred. 

26 Subd. 3. [NEW CREDENTIAL AFTER CANCELLATION.] If a 

27 physical therapist who has been granted board approval for 

28 credential cancellation desires to resume the practice of 

29 physical therapy in Minnesota, that physical therapist must 

30 obtain a new credential by applying to the board and fulfilling 

31 the requirements then in existence for obtaining an initial 

32 credential to practice physical therapy in Minnesota. 

33 Sec. 9. [148.7.37] [CANCELLATION OF LICENSE FOR 

34 NONRENEWAL.] 

35 The Board of Physical Therapy shall not renew, reissue, 

36 reinstate, or restore a license that has lapsed on or after 
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1 January 1, 2006, and has not been renewed within two annual 

2 license renewal cycles starting January 1, 2008. A licensee 

3 whose license is canceled for nonrenewal must obtain a new 

4 license by applying for licensure and fulfilling all 

5 requirements then in existence for an initial license to 

6 practice physical therapy in Minnesota. 

7 Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 148.75, is 

8 amended to read: 

9 148.75 [LICENSES; DENIAL, SUSPENSION, REVOCATION.] 

10 (a) The state Board of Physical Therapy may refuse to grant 

11 a license to any physical therapist, or may suspend or revoke 

12 the license of any physical therapist for any of the following 

13 grounds: 

14 (1) using drugs or intoxicating liquors to an extent which 

15 affects professional competence; 

16 (2) conviction.of a felony; 

17 (3) conviction for violating any state or federal narcotic 

18 law; 

19 (4) obtaining a license or attempting to obtain a license 

20 by fraud or deception; 

21 (5) conduct unbecoming a person licensed as a physical 

22 therapist or conduct detrimental to the best interests of the 

23 public; 

24 (6) gross negligence in the practice of physical therapy as 

25 a physical therapist; 

26 (7) treating human ailments by physical therapy after an 

27 initial 30-day period of patient admittance to treatment has 

28 lapsed, except by the order or referral of a person licensed in 

29 this state in the practice of medicine as defined in section 

30 147.081, the practice of chiropractic as defined in section 

31 148.01, the practice of podiatry as defined in section 153.01, 

32 or the practice of dentistry as defined in section 150A.05 and 

33 whose license is in good standing; or when a previous diagnosis 

34 exists indicating an ongoing condition warranting physical 

35 therapy treatment, subject to periodic review defined by board 

36 of physical therapy rule; 
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1 (8) treating human ailments, without referral, by physical 

2 therapy treatment without first having practiced one year under 

3 a physician's orders as verified by the board's records; 

4 (9) failing to consult with the patient's health care 

5 provider who prescribed the physical therapy treatment if the 

6 treatment is altered by the physical therapist from the original 

7 written order. The provision does not include written orders to 

8 "evaluate and treat"; 

9 (10) treating human ailments other than by physical therapy 

10 unless duly licensed or registered to do so under the laws of 

11 this state; 

12 (11) inappropriate delegation to a physical therapist 

13 assistant or inappropriate task assignment to an aide or 

14 inadequate supervision of e±ener-%e~e%-o£-stt~~ore±~e-~ersonne% a 

15 student physical therapist, physical therapist assistant, 

16 student physical therapist assistant, or a physical therapy 

17 aide; 

18 (12) practicing as a physical therapist performing medical 

19 diagnosis, the practice of medicine as defined in section 

20 147.081, or the practice of chiropractic as defined in section 

21 148.01; 

22 (13) failing to comply with a reasonable request to obtain 

23 appropriate clearance for mental or physical conditions that 

24 would interfere with the ability to practice physical therapy, 

25 and that may be potentially harmful to patients; 

26 (14) dividing fees with, or paying or promising to pay a 

27 commission or part of the fee to, any person who contacts the 

28 physical therapist for consultation or sends patients to the 

29 physical therapist for treatment; 

30 (15) engaging in an incentive payment arrangement, other 

31 than that prohibited by clause (14), that tends to promote 

32 physical therapy overuse, that allows the referring person or 

33 person who controls the availability of physical therapy 

34 services to a client to profit unreasonably as a result of 

35 patient treatment; 

36 (16) practicing physical therapy and failing to refer to a 
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l licensed health care professional a patient whose medical 

2 condition at the time of evaluation has been determined by the 

3 physical therapist to be beyond the scope of practice of a 

4 physical therapist; a~d 

5 (17) failing to report to the board other licensed physical 

6 therapists who violate this section; and 

7 (18) practice of physical therapy under lapsed or 

8 nonrenewed credentials. 

9 (b) A license to practice as a physical therapist is 

10 suspended if (1) a guardian of the physical therapist is 

11 appointed by order of a court pursuant to sections 524.5-101 to 

12 524.5-502, for reasons other than the minority of the physical 

13 therapist; or (2) the physical therapist is committed by order 

14 of a court pursuant to chapter 253B. The license remains 

15 suspended until the physical therapist is restored to capacity 

16 by a court and, upon petition by the physical therapist, the 

17 suspension is terminated by the Board of Physical Therap¥ after 

18 a hearing. 

19 Sec. 11. [148.754] [EXAMINATION; ACCESS TO MEDICAL DATA.] 

20 (a) If the board has probable cause to believe that a 

21 physical therapist comes under section 148.75, paragraph (a), it 

22 may direct the physical therapist to submit to a mental or 

23 physical examination. For the purpose of this paragraph, every 

24 physical therapist is deemed to have consented to submit to a 

25 mental or physical examination when directed in writing by the 

26 board and further to have waived all objections to the 

27 admissibility of the examining physicians• testimony or 

28 examination reports on the ground that they constitute a 

29 privileged communication. Failure of the physical therapist to 

30 submit to an examination when directed constitutes an admission 

31 of .the allegations against the person, unless the failure was 

32 due to circumstances beyond the person's control, in which case 

33 a default and final order may be entered without the taking of 

34 testimony or presentation of evidence. A physical therapist 

35 affected under this paragraph shall, at reasonable intervals, be 

36 given an opportunity to demonstrate that the person can resume 
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1 the competent practice of physical therapy with reasonable skill 

2 and safety to the public. 

3 (b) In any proceeding under paragraph (a), neither the 

4 record of proceedings nor the orders entered by the board shall 

5 be used against a physical therapist in any other proceeding. 

6 (c) In addition to ordering a physical or mental 

7 examination, the board may, notwithstanding section 13.384, 

8 144.651, or any other law limiting access to medical or other 

9 health data, o~tain medical data and health records relating to 

10 a physical therapist or applicant without the person's or 

11 applicant's consent if the board has probable cause to believe 

12 that a physical therapist comes under paragraph (a). The 

13 medical data may be requested from a provider, as defined in 

14 section 144.335, subdivision 1, paragraph (b}, an insurance 

15 company, or a government agency, including the Department of 

16 Human Services. A provider, insurance company, or government 

17 agency shall comply with any written request of the board under 

18 this paragraph and is not liable in any action for damages for 

19 releasing the data requested by the board if the data are 

20 released pursuant to a written request under this paragraph, 

21 unless the information is false and the provider giving the 

22 information knew, or had reason to believe, the information was 

23 false. Information obtained under this paragraph is classified 

24 as private under sections 13.01 to 13.87. 

25 Sec. 12. [148.755] [TEMPORARY SUSPENSION OF LICENSE.] 

26 In addition to any other remedy provided by law, the board 

27 may, without a hearing, temporarily suspend the license of a 

28 physical therapist if the board finds that the physical 

29 therapist has violated a statute or rule which the board is 

30 empowered to enforce and continued practice by the physiGal 

31 therapist would create a serious risk of harm to the public. 

32 The suspension shall take effect upon written notice to the 

33 phys~cal therapist, specifying the statute or rule violated. 

34 The suspension shall remain in effect until the board issues a 

35 final order in the matter after a hearing. At the time it 

36 issues the suspension notice, the board shall schedule a 
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1 disciplinary hearing to be held pursuant to the Administrative 

2 Procedure Act, chapter 14. The physical therapist shall be· 

3 provided with at least 20 days• notice of any hearing held 

4 pursuant to this section. The hearing shall be scheduled to 

5 begin no later than 30 days after the issuance of the suspension 

6 order. 

7 Sec. 13. [LICENSE ISSUANCE.] 

8 Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, sections 148.65 to 

9 148.78, the Board of Physical Therapy shall grant a physical 

10 therapist license to an individual who has been issued physical 

11 therapy licenses between 1980 and 1995 in at least three other 

12 states and at least one foreign country and who applies before 

13 August 1, 2005. 

14 Sec. 14. [REPEALER.] 

15 Minnesota Rules, part 5601.0100, subparts 3 and 4, are 

16 repealed. 

17 ARTICLE 3 

18 BOARD OF PSYCHOLOGY 

19 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 148.89, 

20 subdivision 5, is amended to read: 

21 Subd. 5. [PRACTICE OF PSYCHOLOGY.] "Practice of 

22 psychology" means the observation, description, evaluation, 

23 interpretation, or modification of human behavior by the 

24 application of psychological principles, methods, or 

25 procedures for any reason, including to prevent, eliminate, or 

26 manage symptomatic, maladaptive, or undesired behavior and to 

27 enhance interpersonal relationships, work, life and 

28 developmental adjustment, personal and organizational 

29 effectiveness, behavioral health, and mental health. The 

30 practice of psychology includes, but is not limited to, the 

31 following services, regardless of whether the provider receives 

32 payment for the services: 

33 (1) psychological research and teaching of psychology; 

34 (2) assessment, including psychological testing and other 

35 means of evaluating personal characteristics such as 

36 intelligence, personality, abilities, interests, aptitudes, and 
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1 neuropsychological functioning; 

2 (3) a psychological report, whether written or oral, 

3 including testimony of a provider· as an expert witness, 

4 concerning the characteristics of an individual or entity; 

5 (4) psychotherapy, including but not limited to, categories 

6 such as behavioral, cognitive, emotive, systems, 

7 psychophysiological, or insight-oriented therapies; counseling; 

8 hypnosis; and diagnosis and treatment of: 

9 (i) mental and emotional disorder or disability; 

10 (ii) alcohol and substance dependence or abuse; 

11 (iii) disorders of habit or conduct; 

12 (iv) the psychological aspects of physical illness or 

13 condition, accident, injury, or disability; 

14 (v) ~ife adjustment issues, including work-related and 

15 bereavement issues; and 

16 (vi) child, family, or relationship issues; 

17 (5) psychoeducational services and treatment; and 

18 (6) consultation and supervision. 

19 Seco 2. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 148.90, 

20 subdivision 1, is amended to read: 

21 Subdivision 1. [BOARD OF PSYCHOLOGY.] (a) The Board of 

22 Psychology is created with the powers and duties described in 

23 this section. The board has 11 members who consist of: 

24 (1) three persons individuals licensed as licensed 

25 psychologists who have e doctoral degree degrees in psychology; 

26 (2) two persons individuals licensed as licensed 

27 psychologists who have e master's degree degrees in psychology; 

28 (3) two psychologists, not necessarily licensed, one with a 

29 doctoral degree in psychology who represents a doctoral training 

30 program in psychology, and one who represents a master's degree 

31 training program in psychology; 

32 (4) one person individual licensed or qualified to be 

33 licensed as: (i) through December 31, 2010, a licensed 

34 psychological practitioner; and (ii) after December 31, 2010, a 

35 licensed psychologist; and 

36 (5) three public members. 
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1 {b) After the date on which fewer than 30 percent of the 

2 pefsons individuals licensed by the board as licensed 

3 psychologists qualify for licensure under section 148.907, 

4 subdivision 3, paragraph {b), ehe-£ifse-~aeaney vacancies filled 

5 under paragraph {a), clause (2), shall be filled by a-pefson an 

6 individual with either a master's or doctoral degree in 

7 psychology licensed or qualified to be licensed as a 

8 licensed psyehoiogieai-pfaeeieionef•--Pfom-ehis-daee-on,-ehis 

9 pos±e±on-when-~aeane-shaii-be-£±iied-by-a-pef son-i±eensed-of 

10 qttaii£±ed-eo-be-i±eensed-as-a-iieensed-psyehoiog±eai 

11 ·pfaeeie±onef psychologist. 

12 {c) After the date on which fewer than 15 percent of the 

13 pefsons individuals licensed by the board as licensed 

14 psychologists qualify for licensure under section 148.907, 

15 subdivision 3, paragraph {b), ehe-£ifse-~aeaney vacancies under 

16 paragraph {a), clause (2), £of-a-i±eensed-psyehoiog±se shall be 

17 filled by an individual with either a master's or doctoral 

18 degree in psychology shaii-be-£±iied-by-a licensed or qualified 

19 to be licensed as a licensed psychologist. Pfom-eh±s-daee-on, 

20 eh±s-pos±e±on-when-~aeane-shaii-be-£±iied-by-a-pefson-i±eensed 

21 as-a-iieensed-psyehoiogise. 

22 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 148.907, is 

23 amended by adding a subdivision to read: 

24 Subd. 5. [CONVERTING FROM A LICENSED PSYCHOLOGICAL 

25 PRACTITIONER TO A LICENSED PSYCHOLOGIST.] Notwithstanding 

26 subdivision 3, to convert from licensure as a licensed 

27 psychological practitioner to licensure as a licensed 

28 psychologist, a licensed psychological practitioner shall have: 

29 (1) completed an application provided by the board for 

30 conversion from licensure as a licensed psychological 

31 practitioner to licensure as a licensed psychologist; 

32 (2) paid a rtonrefundable fee of $500; 

33 (3) documented successful completion of two full years, or 

34 the equivalent, of supervised postlicensure employment meeting 

35 the requirements of section 148.925, subdivision 5, as it 

36 relates to preparation for licensure as a licensed psychologist 
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1 as follows: 

2 (i) for individuals licensed as licensed psychological 

3 practitioners on or before December 31, 2006, the supervised 

4 practice must be completed by December 31, 2010; and 

s (ii) for individuals licensed as licensed psychological 

6 practitioners after December 31, 2006, the supervised practice 

7 must be completed within four years from the date of licensure; 

8 and 

9 (4) no unresolved disciplinary action or complaints 

10 pending, or incomplete disciplinary orders or corrective action 

11 agreements in Minnesota or any other jurisdiction. 

12 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 148.908, 

13 subdivision 2, is amended to read: 

14 Subd. 2. [REQUIREMENTS FOR LICENSURE AS A LICENSED 

15 PSYCHOLOGICAL PRACTITIONER.] To become licensed by the board as 

16 a licensed psychological practitioner, an applicant shall comply 

17 with the following requirements: 

18 (1) p8ss-8n-ex8min8eion-in-psyeno%09y; 

19 tzt-p8ss-8-pro£ession8%-responsibi%iey-ex8min8eion-on-ene 

20 pr8eeiee-0£-psyeno%09y; 

21 t3t-p8ss-8ny-oener-ex8min8eions-8s-reqttired-by-bo8rd-rtt%es; 

22 t4t-p8y-nonre£ttftd8b%e-£ees-eo-ene-bo8rd-£or-8pp%ie8eions7 

23 proeessin97-eesein97-renew8%s7-8ftd-m8eeri8%s; 

24 t5t-n8ve-8ee8ined-ene-89e-0£-m8joriey7-be-0£-9ood-mor8% 

25 en8r8eeer7-8ftd-h8ve-no-ttnreso%ved-dise±p%ift8ry-8ee±on-or 

26 eomp%8±nes-pendin9-±n-ene-se8ee-0£-Minnesoe8-or-8ny-oener 

27 jttrisdieeion;-8ftd 

28 t6t have earned a doctoral or master's degree or the 

29 equivalent of a master's degree in a doctoral program with a 

30 major in psychology from a regionally accredited educational 

31 institution meeting the standards the board has established by 

32 rule. The degree requirements must be completed by December 31, 

33 2005; 

34 (2) complete an application for admission to the 

35 examination for professional practice in psychology and pay the 

36 nonrefundable application fee by December 31, 2005; 
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1 (3) complete an application for admission to the 

2 professional responsibility examination and pay the 

3 nonrefundable application fee by December 31, 2005; 

4 (4) pass the examination for professional practice in 

5 psychology by December 31, 2006; 

6 (5) pass the professional responsibility examination by 

7 December 31, 2006; 

8 (6) complete an application for licensure as a licensed 

9 psychological practitioner and pay the nonrefundable application 

10 fee by March 1, 2007; and 

11 (7) have attained the age of majority, be of good moral 

12 character, and have no unresolved disciplinary action or 

13 complaints pending in the state of Minnesota or any other 

14 jurisdiction. 

15 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 148.908, is 

16 amended by adding a subdivision to read: 

17 Subd. 3. [TERMINATION OF LICENSURE.] Effective December 

18 31, 2011, the licensure of all licensed psychological· 

19 practitioners shall be terminated without further notice and 

20 licensure as a licensed psychological practitioner in Minnesota 

21 shall be eliminated. 

22 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 148.909, is 

23 amended to read: 

24 148.909 [LICENSURE FOR VOLUNTEER PRACTICE.] 

25 The board, at its discretion, may grant licensure for 

26 volunteer practice to an applicant who: 

27 (1) ~s-a-£ofmer-%~eeftsee-who is completely retired from the 

28 practice of psychology; 

29· (2) has no unresolved ~isciplinary action or complaints 

30 pending in the state of Minnesota or any other jurisdiction; and 

31 (3) has held a license, certificate, or registration to 

32 practice psychology in any jurisdiction £or-ae-%ease-%5-yeafs. 

33 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 148.916, 

34 subdivision 2, is amended to read: 

35 Subd. 2. [PSYCHOLOGICAL CONSULTATIONS.] Notwithstanding 

36 subdivision 1, a nonresident of the state of Minnesota, who is 
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1 not seeking licensure in this state, may serve as an expert 

2 witness, organizational consultant, presenter, or educator 

3 without obtaining guest licensure, provided the person is 

4 appropriately trained, educated, or has been issued a license, 

5 certificate, or registration by another jurisdiction. 

6 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 148.925, 

7 subdivision 6, is amended to read: 

8 Subd. 6. [SUPERVISEE DUTIES.] Individuals preparing for 

9 licensure as a licensed psychologist during their postdegree 

10 supervised employment may perform as part of their training any 

11 functions specified in section 148.89, subdivision 5, but only 

12 under qualified supervision. 

13 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 148.941, 

14 subdivision 2, is amended to read: 

15 Subd. 2. [GROUNDS FOR DISCIPLINARY ACTION; FORMS OF 

16 DISCIPLINARY ACTION.] {a) The board may impose disciplinary 

17. action as described in paragraph {b) against an applicant or 

18 licensee whom the board, by a preponderance of the evidence, 

19 determines: 

20 {l) has violated a statute, rule, or order that the board 

21 issued or is empowered to enforce; 

22 {2) has engaged in fraudulent, deceptive, or dishonest 

23 conduct, whether or not the conduct relates to the practice of 

24 psychology, that adversely affects the person's ability or 

25 fitness to practice psychology; 

26 {3) has engaged in unprofessional conduct or any other 

27 conduct which has the potential for causing harm to the public, 

28 including any departure from or failure to conform to the 

29 minimum standards of acceptable and prevailing practice without 

30 actual injury having to be established; 

31 {4) has been convicted of or has pled guilty or nolo 

32 contendere to a felony or other crime, an element of which is 

33 dishonesty or fraud, or has been shown to have engaged in acts 

34 or practices tending to show that the applicant or licensee is 

35 incompetent or has engaged in conduct reflecting adversely on 

36 the applicant's or licensee's ability or fitness to engage in 
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1 the practice of psychology; 

2 (5) has employed fraud or deception in obtaining or 

3 renewing a license, in requesting approval of continuing 

4 education activities, or in passing an examination; 

5 (6) has had a license, certificate, charter, registration, 

6 privilege to take an examination, or other similar authority 

7 denied, revoked, suspended, canceled, limited, reprimanded, or 

8 otherwise disciplined, or not renewed for cause in any 

9 jurisdiction; or has surrendered or voluntarily terminated a 

10 license or certificate during a board investigation of a 

11 complaint, as part of a disciplinary order, or while under a 

12 disciplinary order; 

13 (7) has been subject to a corrective action or similar 

14 action in another jurisdiction or by another regulatory 

15 authority; 

16 (8) has failed to meet any requirement for the issuance or 

17 renewal of the person's license. The burden of proof is on the 

18 applicant or licensee to demonstrate the qualifications or 

19 satisfy the requirements for a license under the Psychology 

20 Practice Act; 

21 (9) has failed to cooperate wit,h an investigation of the 

22 board as required under subdivision 4; 

23 (10) has demonstrated an inability to practice psychology 

24 with reasonable skill and safety to clients due to any mental or 

25 physical illness or condition; or 

26 (11) has engaged in fee splitting. This clause does not 

27 apply to the distribution of revenues from a partnership, group 

28 practice, nonprofit corporation, or professional corporation to 

29 its partners, shareholders, members, or employees if the 

30 revenues consist only of fees for services performed by the 

31 licensee or under a licensee's administrative authority. This 

32 clause also does not apply to the charging of a general 

33 membership fee by a licensee or applicant to health care 

34 providers, as defined in section 144.335, for participation in a 

35 referral service, provided that the licensee or applicant 

36 discloses in advance to each referred client the financial 
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1 nature of the referral arrangement. Fee splitting includes, but 

2 is not limited to: 

3 (i) paying, offering to pay, receiving, or agreeing to 

4 receive a commission, rebate, or remuneration, directly or 

5 indirectly, primarily for the referral of clients; 

6 (ii) dividing client fees with another. individual or 

7 entity, unless the division is in proportion to the services 

8 provided and the responsibility assumed by each party; 

9 (iii) referring an individual or entity to any health care 

10 provider, as defined in section 144.335, or for other 

11 professional or technical services in which the referring 

12 licensee or applicant has a significant financial interest 

13 unless the licensee has disclosed the financial interest in 

14 .advance to the client; and 

15 (iv) dispensing for profit or recommending any instrument, 

16 test, procedure, or device that for commercial purposes the 

17 licensee or applicant has developed or distributed, unless the 

18 licensee or applicant has disclosed any profit interest in 

19 advance to the client. 

20 (b) If grounds for disciplinary action exist under 

21 paragraph (a), the board may take one or more of the following 

22 actions: 

23 (1) refuse to grant or renew a license; 

24 (2) revoke a license; 

25 (3) suspend a license; 

26 (4) impose limitations or conditions on a licensee's 

27 practice of psychology, including, but not limited to, limiting 

28 the scope of practice to designated competencies, imposing 

29 retraining or rehabilitation requirements, requiring the 

30 licensee to practice under supervision, or conditioning 

31 continued practice on the demonstration of knowledge or skill by 

32 appropriate examination or other review of skill and competence; 

33 (5) censure or reprimand the licensee; 

34 (6) refuse to permit an applicant to take the licensure 

35 examination or refuse to release an applicant's examination 

36 grade if the board finds that it is in the public interest; or 
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1 (7) impose a civil penalty not exceeding $7,500 for each 

2 separate violation. The amount of the penalty shall be fixed so 

3 as to deprive the applicant or licensee of any economic 

4 advantage gained by reason of the violation charged, to 

5 discourage repeated violations, or to recover the board's costs 

6 that occur in bringing about a disciplinary order. For purposes 

7 of this clause, costs are limited to legal, paralegal, and 

8 investigative charges billed to the board by the Attorney 

9 General's Office, witness costs, consultant and expert witness 

10 fees, and charges attendant to the use of an administrative law 

11 judge. 

12 (c) In lieu of or in addition to paragraph (b), the board 

13 may require, as a condition of eoneintted licensure, termination 

14 of suspension, reinstatement of license, examination, or release 

15 of examination grades, that the applicant or licensee: 

16 (1) submit to a quality review, as specified by the board, 

17 of the applicant's or licensee's ability, skills, or quality of 

18 work; 

19 (2) complete to the satisfaction of the board educational 

20 courses specified by the board; and 

21 (3) reimburse to the board all costs incurred by the board 

22 that are the result of a provider failing, neglecting, or 

23 refusing to fully comply, or not complying in a timely manner, 

24 with any part of the remedy section of a stipulation and consent 

25 order or the corrective action section of an agreement for 

26 corrective action. For purposes of this clause, costs are 

27 limited to legal, paralegal, and investigative charges billed to 

28 the board by the Attorney General's Office, witness costs, 

29 consultant and expert witness fees, and charges attendant to the 

30 use of an administrative law judge. 

31 (d) Service of the order is effective if the order is 

32 served on the applicant, licensee, or counsel of record 

33 personally or by mail to the most recent address provided to the 

34 board for the licensee, applicant, or counsel of record. The 

35 order shall state the reasons for the entry of the order. 

36 Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 148.96, 
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1 subdivision 3, is amended to read: 

2 Subd. 3. [REQUIREMENTS FOR REPRESENTATIONS TO PUBLIC.] (a) 

3 Unless ·licensed under sections 148. 88 to 148. 98, except as 

4 provided in paragraphs (b) through (e), persons shall not 

5 represent themselves or permit themselves to be represented to 

6 the public by: 

7 (1) using any title or description of services 

8 incorporating the words "psychology," "psychological, 11 

9 "psychological practitioner," or "psychologist"; or 

10 (2) representing that the person has expert qualifications 

11 in an area of psychology. 

12 (b) Psychologically trained individuals who are employed by 

13 an educational institution recognized by a regional accrediting 

14 organization, by a federal, state, county, or local government 

15 institution, by-8gene±es agency, or by research 

16 £8e±~±~±es facility, may represent themselves by the title 

17 designated by that organization provided that the title does not 

18 indicate that the individual is credentialed by the board. 

19 (c) A psychologically trained individual from an 

20 institution described in paragraph (b) may offer lecture 

21 services and is exempt from the provisions of this section. 

22 (d) A person who is preparing for the practice of 

23 psychology under supervision in accordance with board statutes 

24 and rules may be designated as a "psychological intern," 

25 "psychological trainee," or by other terms clearly describing 

26 the person's training status. 

27 (e) Former licensees who are completely retired from the 

28 practice of psychology may represent themselves using the 

29 descriptions in paragraph (a), clauses (1) and (2), but shall 

30 not represent themselves or allow themselves to be represented 

31 as current licensees of the board. 

32 (f) Nothing in this section shall be construed to prohibit 

33 the practice of school psychology by a person licensed in 

34 accordance with chapters 122A and 129. 

35 Section 11. [EFFECTIVE DATE.] 

36 Sections 1 to 10 are effective the day following final 
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1 enactment. 

2 ARTICLE 4 

3 BOARD OF DENTAL PRACTICE 

4 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2004, ·section 150A.Ol, 

5 subdivision 6a, is amended to read: 

6 Subd. 6a. [FACULTY DENTIST.] "Faculty dentist" means a 

7 person who is licensed to practice dentistry as a faculty member 

8 of a school of dentistry, pursuant to section 150A.06, 

9 subdivision la. · 

10 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 150A.06, 

11 subdivision la, is amended to read: 

12 Subd. la. [FACULTY DENTISTS.] (a) Faculty members of a 

13 school of dentistry must be licensed in order to practice 

14 dentistry as defined in section 150A.05. The board may issue to 

15 members of the faculty of a school of dentistry a license 

16 designated as either a "limited faculty license" or a "full 

17 faculty license" entitling the holder to practice dentistry 

18 within the terms described in paragraph (b) or (c). The dean of 

19 a school of dentistry and program directois of a Minnesota 

20 dental hygiene or dental assisting school accredited by the 

21 Commission on Dental Accreditation of the American Dental 

22 Association shall certify to the board those members of the 

23 school's faculty who practice dentistry but are not licensed to 

24 practice dentistry in Minnesota. A faculty member who practices 

25 dentistry as defined in section 150A.05, before beginning duties 

26 in a school of dentistry or a dental hygiene or dental assisting 

27 school, shall apply to the board for a limited or full faculty 

28 license. ~ne-%±eense-ex~±res-ene-nexe-att%y-~-end-mey,-ae-ene 

29 d±seree±on-o£-ene-boerd,-be-renewed-on-e-yeer%y-bas±s. Pursuant 

30 to Minnesota Rules, chapter 3100, and at the discretion of the 

31 board, a limited faculty license must be renewed annually and a 

32 full faculty license must be renewed biennially. The faculty 

33 applicant sqall pay a nonrefundable fee set by the board for 

34 issuing and renewing the faculty license. The faculty license 

35 is valid during the time the holder remains a member of the 

36 faculty of a ·school of dentistry or a dental hygiene or dental 
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1 assisting school and subjects the holder to this chapter. 

2 (b) The board may issue to dentist members of the faculty 

3 of a Minnesota school of dentistry, dental hygiene, or dental 

4 assisting accredited by the Commission on Dental Accreditation 

5 of the American Dental Association, a license designated as a 

6 limited faculty license entitling the holder to practice 

7 dentistry within the school and its affiliated teaching 

8 facilities, but only for the purposes of teaching or conducting 

9 research. The practice of dentistry at a school facility for 

10 purposes other than teaching or research is not allowed unless 

11 the dentist was a faculty member on August 1, 1993. 

12 (c) The board may issue to dentist members of the faculty 

13 of a Minnesota school of dentistry, dental hygiene, or dental 

14 assisting accredited by the Commission on Dental Accreditation 

15 of the American Dental Association a license designated as a 

16 full faculty license entitling the holder to practice dentistry 

17 within the school and its affiliated teaching facilities and 

18 elsewhere if the holder of the license is employed 50 percent 

19 time or more by the school in the practice of teaching or 

20 research, and upon successful review by the board of the 

21 applicant's qualifications as described in subdivisions 1, le, 

22 and 4 and board rule. The board, at its discretion, may waive 

23 specific licensing prerequisites. 

24 Sec. 3. [150A.091] [FEES.] 

25 Subdivision 1. [FEE REFUNDS.] No fee may be refunded for 

26 any reason. 

27 Subd. 2. [APPLICATION FEES.] Each applicant for licensure 

28 or registration shall submit with a license or registration 

29 application a nonrefundable fee in the followi~g amounts in 

30 order to administratively process an application: 

31 (1) dentist, $140; 

32 (2) limited faculty dentist, $140; 

33 (3) resident dentist, $55; 

34 (4) dental hygienist, $55; 

35 (5) registered dental assistant, $35; and 

36 (6) dental assistant with a limited registration, $15. 
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1 Subd. 3. [INITIAL LICENSE OR REGISTRATION FEES.] Along 

2 with the application fee, each of the following licensees or 

3 registrants shall submit a separate prorated initial license or 

4 registration fee. The prorated initial fee shall be established 

5 by the board based on the number of months of the licensee's or 

6 registrant's initial term as described in Minnesota Rules, part 

7 3100.1700, subpart la, not to exceed the following monthly fee 

8 amounts: 

9 (1) dentist, $14 times the number of months of the initial 

10 term; 

11 (2) dental hygienist, $5 times the number of months of the 

12 initial term; 

13 (3) registered dental assistant, $3 times the number of 

14 months of initial term; and 

15 (4) dental assistant with a limited registration, $1 times 

16 the number of months of the initial term. 

17 Subd. 4. [ANNUAL LICENSE FEES.] Each limited faculty or 

18 resident dentist shall submit with an annual license renewal 

19 application a fee established by the board not to exceed the 

20 following amounts: 

21 ·(l) limited faculty dentist, $168; and 

22 (2) resident dentist, $59. 

23 Subd. 5. [BIENNIAL LICENSE OR REGISTRATION FEES.] Each of 

24 the following licensees or registrants shall submit with a 

25 biennial license or registration renewal application a fee as 

26 established by the board, not to exceed the following amounts: 

27 (1) dentist, $336; 

28 (2) dental hygienist, $118; 

29 (3) registered dental assistant, $80; and 

30 (4) dental assistant with a limited registration, $24. 

31 Subd. 6. [ANNUAL LICENSE LATE FEE.] Applications for 

32 renewal of any license received after the time specified in 

33 Minnesota Rules, part 3100.1750, must be assessed a late fee 

34 egual to 50 percent of the annual renewal fee. 

35 Subd. 7. [BIENNIAL LICENSE OR REGISTRATION LATE 

36 FEE.] Applications for renewal of any license or registration 
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1 received after the time specified in Minnesota Rules, part 

2 3100.1700, must be assessed a late fee egual to 25 percent of 

3 the biennial renewal fee. 

4 Subd. 8. [DUPLICATE LICENSE OR REGISTRATION FEE.] Each 

5 licensee or registrant shall submit, with a reguest for issuance 

6 of a duplicate of the original license or registration, or of an 

7 annual or biennial renewal of it, a fee in the following amounts: 

8 (1) original dentist or dental hygiene license, $35; and 

9 (2) initial and renewal registration certificates and 

10 license renewal certificates, $10. 

11 Subd. 9. [LICENSURE AND REGISTRATION BY CREDENTIALS.] Each 

12 applicant for licensure as a dentist or dental hygienist or for 

13 registration as a registered dental assistant by credentials 

14 pursuant.to section 150A.06, subdivisions 4 and 8, and Minnesota 

15 Rules, part 3100.1400, shall submit with the license or 

16 registration application a fee in the following amounts: 

17 (1) dentist, $725; 

18 (2) dental hygienist, $175; and 

19 (3) registered dental assistant, $35. 

20 Subd. 10. [REINSTATEMENT FEE.] No dentist, dental 

21 hygienist, or registered dental assistant whose license or 

22 registration has been suspended or revoked may have the license 

23 or registration reinstated or a new license or registration 

24 issued until a fee has been submitted to the board in the 

25 following amounts: 

26 (1) dentist, $140; 

27 (2) dental hygienist, $55; and 

28 (3) registered dental assistant, $35. 

29 Subd. 11. [CERTIFICATE APPLICATION FEE FOR 

30 ANESTHESIA/SEDATION.] Each dentist shall submit with a general 

31 anesthesia or conscious sedation application a fee as 

32 established by the board not to exceed the following amounts: 

33 (1) for both a general anesthesia and conscious sedation 

34 application, $50; 

35 (2) for a general anesthesia application only, $50; and 

36 (3) for a conscious sedation application only, $50. 
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1 Subd. 12. [DUPLICATE CERTIFICATE FEE FOR 

2 ANESTHESIA/SEDATION.] Each dentist shall submit with a request 

3 for issuance of a duplicate of the original general anesthesia 

4 or conscious sedation certificate a fee in the amount of $10. 

5 Subd. 13. [ON-SITE INSPECTION FEE.] An on-site inspection 

6 fee must be paid to the individual, organization, or agency 

7 conducting the inspection and be limited to a maximum fee as 

8 determined by the board. Travel, lodging, and other expenses 

9 are not part of the on-site inspection fee. 

10 Subd. 14. [AFFIDAVIT OF LICENSURE.] Each licensee or 

11 registrant shall submit with a request for an affidavit of 

12 licensure a fee in the amount of $10. 

13 Subd. 15. [VERIFICATION OF LICENSURE.] Each institution or 

14 corporation shall submit with a request for verification of a 

15 license or registration a fee in the amount of $5 for each 

16 license or registration to be verified. 

17 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 150A.10, 

18 subdivision la, is amended to read: 

19 Subd. la. [LIMITED AUTHORIZATION FOR DENTAL HYGIENISTS.] 

20 (a) Notwithstanding subdivision 1, a dental hygienist licensed 

21 under this chapter may be employed or retained by a health care 

22 facility, program, or nonprofit organization to perform dental 

23 hygiene services described under paragraph (b) without the 

24 patient first being examined by a licensed dentist if the dental 

25 hygienist: 

26 (1) has been engaged in the active practice of clinical 

27 dental hygiene for not less than 2,400 hours in the past 18 

28 months or a career total of 3,000 hours, including a minimum of 

29 200 hours of clinical practice in two of the past three years; 

30 (2) has entered into a collaborative agreement with a 

31 licensed dentist that designates authorization for the services 

32 provided by the dental hygienist; 

33 (3) has documented participation in courses in infection 

34 control and medical emergencies within each continuing education 

35 cycle; and 

36 (4) maintains current certification in advanced or basic 
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1 cardiac life support as recognized by the American Heart 

2 Association, the American Red Cross, or another agency that is 

3 equivalent t~ the American Heart Association or the American Red 

4 Cross. 

5 (b) The dental hygiene services authorized to be performed 

6 by a dental hygienist under this subdivision are limited to: 

7 (1) oral health promotion and disease prevention education; 

8 (2) removal of deposits and stains from the surfaces of the 

9 teeth; 

10 (3) application of topical preventive or prophylactic 

11 agents, including fluoride varnishes and pit and fissure 

12 sealants; 

13 (4) polishing and smoothing restorations; 

14 (5) removal of marginal overhangs; 

15 (6) performance of preliminary charting; 

16 (7) taking of radiographs; and 

17 (8) performance of scaling and root planing. 

18 The dental hygienist shall not perform injections of anesthetic 

19 agents or the administration of nitrous oxide unless 

20 under either the indirect or general supervision of a licensed 

21 dentist. Collaborating dental hygienists may work with 

22 unregistered and registered dental assistants who may only 

23 perform duties for which registration is not required. The 

24 performance of dental hygiene services in a health care 

25 facility, program, or nonprofit organization as authorized under 

26 this subdivision is limited to patients, students, and residents 

27 of the facility, program, or.organization. 

28 (c) A collaborating dentist must be licensed under this 

29 chapter and may enter into a collaborative agreement with no 

30 more than four dental hygienists unless otherwise authorized by 

31 the board. The board shall develop parameters and a process for 

32 obtaining authorization to collaborate with more than four 

33 dental hygienists. The collaborative agreement must include: 

34 (1) consideration for medically compromised patients and 

35 medical conditions for which a dental evaluation and treatment 

36 plan must occur prior to the provision of dental hygiene 

Article 4 Section 4 120 



SF1204 FIRST ENGROSSMENT [REVISOR ] KJ Sl204-l 

1 services; 

2 (2) age- and procedure-specific standard collaborative 

3 practice protocols, including recommended intervals for the 

4 performance of dental hygiene services and a period of time in 

5 which an examination by a dentist should occur; 

6 (3) copies of consent to treatment form provided to the 

7 patient by the dental hygienist; 

8 (4) specific protocols for the placement of pit and.fissure 

9 sealants and requirements for follow-up care to assure the 

10 efficacy of the sealants after application; and 

11 (5) a procedure for creating and maintaining dental records 

12 for the patients that are treated by the dental hygienist. This 

13 procedure must specify where these records are to be located. 

14 The collaborative agreement must be signed and maintained by the 

15 dentist, the dental hygienist, and the facility, program, or 

16 organization; must be reviewed annually by the collaborating 

17 dentist and dental hygienist; and must be made available to the 

18 board upon request. 

19 (d) Before performing any services authorized under this 

20 subdivision, a dental hygienist must provide the patient with a 

21 consent to treatment form which must include a statement 

22 advising the patient that the dental hygiene services provided 

23 are not a substitute for a dental examination by a licensed 

24 dentist. If the dental hygienist makes any referrals to the 

25 patient for further dental procedures, the dental hygienist must 

26 fill out a referral form and provide a copy of the form to the 

27 collaborating dentist. 

28 (e) For the purposes of this subdivision, a "health care 

29 facility, program, or nonprofit organization" is limited to a 

30 hospital; nursing home; home health agency; group home serving 

31 the elderly, disabled, or juveniles; state-operated facility 

32 licensed by the commissioner of human services or the 

33 commissioner of corrections; and federal, state, or local public 

34 health facility, community clinic, tribal clinic, school 

35 authority, Head Start program, or nonprofit organization that 

36 serves individuals who are uninsured or who aie Minnesota health 
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1 care public program recipients. 

2 (f) For purposes of this subdivision, a "collaborative 

3 agreement" means a written agreement with a licensed dentist who 

4 authorizes and accepts responsibility for the services performed 

5 by the dental hygienist. The services authorized under this 

6 subdivision and the collaborative agreement may be performed 

7 without the presence of a· licensed dentist and may be performed 

8 at a location other than the usual place of practice of the 

9 dentist or dental hygienist and without a dentist's diagnosis 

10 and treatment plan, unless specified in the collaborative 

11 agreement. 

12 ARTICLE 5 

13 BOARD OF BEHAVIORAL THERAPY AND HEALTH 

14 (LICENSED PROFESSIONAL COUNSELORS AND 

15 ALCOHOL AND DRUG COUNSELORS) 

16 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 148B.53, 

17 subdivision 1, is amended to read: 

18 Subdivision 1. [GENERAL REQUIREMENTS.] (a) To be licensed 

19 as a licensed professional counselor (LPC), an applicant must 

20 provide evidence satisfactory to the board that the applicant: 

21 (1) is at least 18 years of age; 

22 (2) is of good moral character; 

23 (3) has completed a master's or doctoral degree program in 

24 cou~seling or a related field, as determined by the board based 

25 on the criteria in paragraph (b), that includes a minimum of 48 

26 semester hours or 72 quarter hours and a supervised field 

27 experience of not fewer than 700 hours that is counseling in 

28 nature; 

29 (4) has submitted to the board a plan for supervision 

30 during the first 2,000 hours of professional practice or has 

31 submitted proof of supervised professional practice that is 

32 acceptable to the board; and 

33 (5) has demonstrated competence in professional counseling 

34 by passing the National Counseling Exam (NCE) administered by 

35 the National Board for Certified Counselors, Inc. (NBCC) 

36 ±ne±ttd±ng-obea±n±ng-a-pass±ng-seore-on-the-exam±nae±on-aeeepeed 
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1 by-~he-board-based-on-ehe-deeerm±nae±ons-made-by-ehe-NBee or an 

2 equivalent national examination as determined by the board, and 

3 ethical, oralL and situational examinations if prescribed by the 

4 board. 

5 (b) The degree described in paragraph (a), clause (3), must 

6 be from a counseling program recognized by the Council for 

7 Accreditation of Counseling and Related Education Programs 

8 (CACREP) or from an institution of higher education that is 

9 accredited by a regional accrediting organization recognized by 

10 the Council for Higher Education Accreditation (CHEA). Specific 

11 academic course content and training must meee-seandards 

12 es~abi±shed-by-ehe-€A€REP1-±neittd±ng include course work in each 

13 of the following subject areas: 

14 (1) the helping relationship, including counseling theory 

15 and practice; 

16 (2) human growth and development; 

17 (3) lifestyle and career development; 

18 (4) group dynamics, processes, counseling, and consulting; 

19 (5) assessment and appraisal; 

20 (6) social and cultural foundations, including 

21 multicultural issues; 

22 (7) principles of etiology, treatment planning, and 

23 prevention of mental and emotional disorders and dysfunctional 

24 behavior; 

25 (8) family counseling and therapy; 

26 (9) research and evaluation; and 

27 (10) professional counseling orientation and ethics. 

28 (c) To be licensed as a professional counselor, a 

29 psychological practitioner licensed under section 148.908 need 

30 only show evidence of licensure under that section and is not 

31 required to comply with paragraph (a), clauses (1) to (3) and 

32 J2.1L or paragraph (b). 

33 (d) To be licensed as a professional counselor, a Minnesota 

34 licensed psychologist need only show evidence of licensure from 

35 the Minnesota Board of Psychology and is not required to comply 

36 with paragraph (a) or (b). 
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1 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 148B.53, 

2 subdivision 3, is amended to read: 

3 Subd. 3. [FEE.] Eeeh-eppi~eent-~heii-~ey-e 

4 Nonrefundable ree fees are as follows: 

s (1) initial license application fee for licensed 

6 professional counseling {LPC) - $250; 

7 {2) annual active license renewal fee for LPC - $200 or 

8 equivalent; 

9 {3) annual inactive license renewal fee for LPC - $100; 

10 (4) license renewal late fee - $100 per month or portion 

11 thereof; 

12 {5) copy of board order or stipulation - $10; 

13 {6) certificate of good standing or license verification -

14 $10; 

15 {7) duplicate certificate fee - $10; 

16 {8) professional firm renewal fee - $25; 

17 (9) initial registration fee - $50; and 

18 (10) annual registration renewal fee - $25. 

19 Sec. 3. [148B.531] [POSTDEGREE COMPLETION OF DEGREE 

20 REQUIREMENTS FOR LICENSURE.] 

21 An individual whose degree upon which licensure is to be 

22 based included less than 48 semester hours or 72 quarter hours, 

23 who did not complete 700 hours of supervised professional 

24 practice as part of the degree program, or who did not complete 

25 course work in all of the content areas required by section 

26 148B.53, subdivision 1, paragraph (b), may complete these 

27 requirements postdegree in order to obtain licensure, if: 

28 (1) all course work and field experiences are completed 

29 through an institution of higher education that is accredited by 

30 a regional accrediting organization recognized by the Council 

31 for Higher Education Accreditation (CHEA) or through a 

32 counseling program recognized by the Council for Accreditation 

33 of Counseling and Related Education Programs {CACREP); 

34 (2) all course work and field experiences are taken and 

35 passed for credit; and 

36 {3) no more than 20 semester credits or 30 guarter credits 
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1 are completed postdegree for purposes of licensure unless the 

2 credits are earned as part of an organized seguence of study. 

3 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 148B.54, 

4 subdivision 2, is amended to read: 

5 Subd. 2. [CONTINUING EDUCATION.] At the completion of the 

6 first ~wo four years of licensure, a licensee must provide 

7 evidence satisfactory to the board of completion of 12 

8 additional postgraduate semester credit hours or its equivalent 

9 in counseling as determined by the board, except that no 

10 licensee shall be required to show evidence of greater than 60 

11 semester hours or its equivalent. Thereafter, at the time of 

12 renewal, each licensee shall provide evidence satisfactory to 

13 the board that the licensee has completed during each two-year 

14 period at least the equivalent of 40 clock hours of professional 

15 postdegree continuing education in programs approved by the 

16 board and continues to be qualified to practice under sections 

17 148B.50 to 148B.593. 

18 Sec. 5. [148B.555] [EXPERIENCED COUNSELOR TRANSITION.] 

19 (a) An applicant for licensure who, prior to December 31, 

20 2003, completed a. master's or doctoral degree program in 

21 counseling or a related field, as determined by the board, and 

22 whose degree was from a counseling program recognized by the 

23 Council for Accreditation of Counseling and Related Education 

24 Programs (CACREP) or from an institution of higher education 

25 that is accredited by a regional accrediting organization 

26 recognized by the Council for Higher Education Accreditation 

27 (CHEA), need not comply with the requirements of section 

28 148B.53, subdivision 1, paragraph (a), clause (3), or (b), so 

29 long as the applicant can document five years of full-time 

30 postdegree work experience within the practice of professional 

31 counseling as defined under section 148B.50, subdivisions 4 and 

32 5. 

33 (b) This section expires July 1, 2007. 

34 Sec. 6. [148B.561] [R~TALIATORY PROVISIONS.] 

35 If by the laws of any state or the rulings or decisions of 

36 the appropriate officers or boards thereof, any burden, 
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1 obligation, requirement, disqualification, or disability is put 

2 upon licensed professional counselors licensed and in good 

3 standing in this state, affecting the right of these licensed 

4 professional counselors to be registered or licensed in that 

5 state, then the same or like burden, obligation, requirement, 

6 disqualification, or disability may be put upon the licensure in 

7 this state of licensed professional counselors registered in 

8 that state. 

9 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 148B.59, is 

10 amended to read: 

11 148B.59 [GROUNDS FOR DISC~PLINARY ACTION; FORMS OF 

12 DISCIPLINARY ACTION; RESTORATION OF LICENSE.] 

13 (a) The board may impose disciplinary action as described 

14 in paragraph (b) against an applicant or licensee whom the 

15 board, by a preponderance of the evidence, determines: 

16 (1) has violated a statute,·rule, or order that the board 

17 issued or is empowered to enforce; 

18 (2) has engaged in fraudulent, deceptive, or dishonest 

19 conduct, whether or not the conduct relates to the practice of 

20 licensed professional counseling, that adversely affects the 

21 person's ability or fitness to practice professional counseling; 

22 (3) has engaged in unprofessional conduct or any other 

23 conduct which has the potential for causing harm to the public, 

24 -including any departure from or failure to conform to the 

25 minimum standards of acceptable and prevailing practice without 

26 actual injury having to be established; 

27 (4) has been convicted of or has pled guilty or nolo 

28 contendere to a felony or other crime, an element of which is 

29 dishonesty or fraud, or has been shown to have engaged in acts 

30 or practices tending to show that the applicant or licensee is 

31 incompetent or has engaged in conduct reflecting adversely on 

32 the applicant's or licensee's ability or fitness to engage in 

33 the practice of professional counseling; 

34 (5) has employed fraud or deception in obtaining or 

35 renewing a license, or in passing an examination; 

36 (6) has had any counseling license, certificate, 
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1 registration, privilege to take an examination, or other similar 

2 authority denied, revoked, suspended, canceled, limited, or not 

3 renewed for cause in any jurisdiction or has surrendered or 

4 voluntarily terminated a license or certificate during a board 

5 investigation of a complaint, as part of a disciplinary order, 

6 or while under a disciplinary order; 

7 (7) has failed to meet any requirement for the issuance or 

8 renewal of the person's license. The burden of proof is on the 

9 applicant or licensee to demonstrate the qualifications or 

10 satisfy the requirements for a license under the Licensed 

11 Professional Counseling Act; 

12 (8) has failed to cooperate with an investigation of the 

13 board; 

14 (9) has demonstrated an inability to practice professional 

15 counseling with reasonable skill and safety to clients due to 

16 any mental or physical illness or condition; 

17 (10) has engaged in fee splitting. This clause does not 

18 apply to the distribution of revenues from a partnership, group 

19 practice, nonprofit corporation, or professional corporation to 

20 its partners, shareholders, members, or employees if the 

21 revenues consist only of fees for services performed by the 

22 licensee or under a licensee's administrative authority. Fee 

23 splitting includes, but is not limited to: 

24 (i) dividing fees with another person or a professional 

25 corporation, unless the division is in proportion to the 

26 services provided and the responsibility assumed by each 

27 professional; eftd 

28 (ii) referring a client to any health care provider as 

29 defined in section 144.335· in which the referring licensee has a 

30 significant financial interest, unless the licensee has 

31 disclosed in advance to the client the licensee's own financial 

32 interest; o~ and 

33 (iii) paying, offering to pay, receiving, or agreeing to 

34 receive a commission, rebate, or remuneration, directly or 

35 indirectly, primarily for the referral of clients; 

36 (11) has engaged in conduct with a pee±ene client that is 
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1 sexual or may reasonably be interpreted by the pe~±eft~ client as 

2 sexual, or in any verbal behavior that is seductive or sexually 

3 demeaning to a pe~±eft~ client; 

4 (12) has been subject to a corrective action or similar 

5 action in another jurisdiction or by another regulatory 

6 authority; or 

7 (13) has been adjudicated as mentally incompetent, mentally 

8 ill, or mentally retarded or as a chemically dependent person, a 

9 person dangerous to the public, a sexually dangerous person, or 

10 a person who has a sexual psychopathic personality by a court of 

11 competent jurisdiction within this state or an equivalent 

12 adjudication from another state. Adjudication automatically 

13 suspends a license for the duration thereof unless the board 

14 orders otherwise. 

15 (b) If grounds for disciplinary action exist under 

16 paragraph (a), the board may take one or more of the following 

17 actions: 

18 (1) refuse to grant or renew a license; 

19 (2) revoke a license; 

20 (3) suspend a license; 

21 (4) impose limitations or conditions on a licensee's 

22 practice of professional counseling, including, but not limited 

23 to, limiting the scope of practice to designated competencies, 

24 imposing retraining or rehabilitation requirements, requiring 

25 the licensee to practice under supervision, or conditioning 

26 continued practice on the demonstration of knowledge or skill by 

27 appropriate examination or other review of skill and competence; 

28 (5) censure or reprimand the licensee; 

29 (6) refuse to permit an applicant to take the licensure 

30 examination or refuse to release an applicant's examination 

31 grade if the board finds that it is in the public interest; or 

32 (7) impose a civil penalty not exceeding $10,000 for each 

33 separate violation, the amount of the civil penalty to be fixed 

34 so as to deprive the applicant or licensee of any economic 

35 advantage gained by reason of the violation charged, to 

36 discourage similar violations or to reimburse the board for the 
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1 cost of the investigation and proceeding, including, but not 

2 limited to, fees paid for services provided by the Office of 

3 Administrative Hearings, legal and investigative services 

4 provided by the Office of the Attorney General, court reporters, 

5 witnesses, reproduction of records, board members' per diem 

6 compensation, board staff time, and travel costs and expenses 

7 incurred by board staff and board members. 

8 (c) In lieu of or in addition to paragraph (b), the board 

9 may require, as a condition of continued licensure, termination 

10 of suspension, reinstatement of license, examination, or release 

11 of examination grades, that the applicant or licensee: 

12 (1) submit to a quality review, as specified by the board, 

13 of the applicant's or licensee's ability, skills, or quality of 

14 work; and 

15 (2) complete to the satisfaction of the board educational 

16 courses specified by the board. 

17 The board may also refer a licensee, if appropriate, to the 

18 health professionals services program described in sections 

19 214.31 to 214.37. 

20 (d) Service of the order is effective if the order is 

21 served on the applicant, licensee, or counsel of record 

22 personally or by mail to the most recent address provided to the 

23 board for the licensee, applicant, or counsel of record. The 

24 order shall state the reasons for the entry of the order. 

25 Sec. 8. [148B.5901] [TEMPORARY SUSPENSION OF LICENSE.] 

26 (a) In addition to any other remedy provided by law, the 

27 board may issue an order to temporarily suspend the credentials 

28 of a licensee after conducting a preliminary inquiry to 

29 determine if the board reasonably believes that the licensee has 

30 violated a statute or rule that the board is empowered to 

31 enforce and whether continued practice by the licensee would 

32 create an imminent risk of harm to others. 

33 (b) The order may prohibit the licensee from engaging in 

34 the practice of licensed professional counseling in whole or in 

35 part and may condition the end of a suspension on the licensee's 

36 compliance with a statute, rule, or order that the board has 
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1 issued or is empowered to enforce. 

2 (c) The order shall give notice of the right to a hearing 

3 according to this subdivision and shall state the reasons for 

4 the entry of the order. 

5 (d) Service of the order is effective when the order is 

6. served on the licensee personally or by certified mail, which is 

7 complete upon receipt, refusal, or return for nondelivery to the 

8 most recent address provided to the board for the licensee. 

9 (e) At the time the board issues a temporary suspension 

10 order, the board shall schedule a hearing to be held before its 

11 own members. The hearing shall begin no later than 60 days 

12 after issuance of the temporary suspension order or within 15 

13 working days of the date of the board's receipt of a request for 

14 hearing by a licensee, on the sole issue of whether there is a 

15 reasonable basis to continue, modify, or lift the temporary 

16 suspension. The hearing is not subject to chapter 14. Evidence 

17 presented by the board or the licensee shall be in affidavit 

18 form only. The licensee or counsel of record may appear for 

19 oral argument. 

20 (f) Within five working days of the hearing, the board 

21 shall issue its order and, if the suspension is continued, 

22 schedule a contested case hearing within 30 days of the issuance 

23 of the order. Notwithstanding chapter 14, the administrative 

24 law judge shall issue a report within 30 days after closing the 

25 contested case hearing record. The board shall issue a final 

26 order within 30 days of receipt of the administrative law 

27 judge's report. 

28 Sec. 9. [148B.5905] [MENTAL, PHYSICAL, OR CHEMICAL 

29 DEPENDENCY EXAMINATION OR EVALUATION; ACCESS TO MEDICAL DATA.] 

30 (a) If the board has probable cause to believe section 

31 148B.59, paragraph (a), clause (9), applies to a licensee or 

32 applicant, the board may direct the person to submit to a 

33 mental, physical, or chemical dependency examination or 

34 evaluation. For the purpose of this section, every licensee and 

35 applicant is deemed to have consented to submit to a mental, 

36 physical, or chemical dependency examination or evaluation when 
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1 directed in writing by the board and to have waived all 

2 objections to the admissibility of the examining professionals' 

3 testimony or examination reports on the grounds that the 

4 testimony or examination reports constitute a privileged 

5 communication. Failure of a licensee or applicant to submit to 

6 an examination when directed by the board constitutes an 

7 admission of the allegations against the person, unless the 

8 failure was due to circumstances beyond the person's control, in 

9 which case a default and final order may be entered without the 

10 taking of testimony or presentation of evidence. A licensee or 

11 applicant affected under this paragraph shall at reasonable 

12 intervals be given an opportunity to demonstrate that the person 

13 can resume the competent practice of licensed professional 

14 counseling with reasonable skill and safety to the public. In 

15 any proceeding under this paragraph, neither the record of 

16 proceedings nor the orders entered by the board shall be used 

17 against a licensee or applicant in any other proceeding. 

18 (b) In addition to ordering a physical or mental 

19 examination, the board may, notwithstanding section 13.384, 

20 144.651, or any other law limiting access to medical or other 

21 health data, obtain medical data and health records relating to 

22 a licensee or applicant without the licensee's or applicant's 

23 consent if the board has probable cause to believe that section 

24 148B.59, paragraph (a), clause (9), applies to the licensee or 

25 applicant. The medical data may be requested from a provider, 

26 as defined in section 144.335, subdivision 1, paragraph (b); an 

27 insurance company; or a government agency, including the 

28 Department of Human· Services. A provider, insurance company, or 

29 government agency shall comply with any written request of the 

30 board under this subdivision and is not liable in any action for 

31 damages for releasing the data requested by the board if the 

32 data are released pursuant to a written request under this 

33 subdivision, unless the information is false and the provider 

34 giving the information knew, or had reason to believe, the 

35 information was false. Information obtained under this 

36 subdivision is classified as private under sections 13.01 to 
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l 13.87. 

2 Sec. 10. [148B.5925] [ASSESSMENT TOOL SECURITY.] 

3 Notwithstanding section 144.335, subdivision 2, paragraphs 

4 (a) and (b), a provider shall not be required to provide copies 

5 of assessment tools, assessment tool materials, or scoring keys 

6 to any individual who has completed an assessment tool or to an 

7 individual not qualified to administer, score, and interpret the 

8 assessment tool, if the provider reasonably determines that 

9 access would compromise the objectivity, fairness, or integrity 

10 of the testing process for the individual or others. If the 

11 provider makes this determination, the provider shall, at the 

12 discretion of the individual who has completed the assessment 

13 tool, release the information either to another provider who is 

14 qualified to administer, score, and interpret the assessment 

15 tool or furnish a summary of the assessment tool results to the 

16 individual or to a third party designated by the individual. 

17 Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 148C.03, 

18 subdivision 1, is amended to read: 

19 Subdivision 1. [GENERAL.] The commissioner shall7-a£eer 

20 eoftstt±eae±oft-w±eh-ehe-ad~±sory-eottfte±±-or-a-eomm±eeee 

21 eseab±±shed-by-rtt±e: 

22 (a) adopt and enforce rules for licensure of alcohol and 

23 drug counselors, including establishing standards and methods of 

24 determining whether applicants and licensees are qualified under 

25 section 148C.04. The rules must provide for examinations and 

26 establish standards for the regulation of professional conduct. 

27 The rules must be designed to protect the public; 

28 (b) de~e±op-aftd7-ae-±ease-ew±ee-a-year7-adm±ft±seer-aft 

29 exam±nae±oft-eo-assess-app±±eaftes~-~ftow±edge-aftd-s~±±±s.--~he 

30 eomm±ss±ofter-may-eofteraee-£or-ehe-adm±n±serae±oft-o£-aft 

31 exam±ftae±oft-w±eh-aft-eftt±ey-des±gftaeed-by-ehe-eomm±ss±ofter.--~he 

32 exam±ftat±ofts-mttse-be-psyehomeer±ea±±y-~a±±d-aftd-re±±ab±e;-mttse 

33 be-wr±eeeft-aftd-ora±,-w±eh-ehe-ora±-exam±nae±oft-based-oft-a 

34 wr±eeeft-ease-presefttae±oft;-mttse-m±ft±m±ze-ett±ettra±-b±as;-and-mttse 

35 be-ba±afteed-±ft-~ar±otts-eheor±es-re±ae±~e-eo-ehe-praee±ee-0£ 

36 a±eoho±-aftd-drttg-eottnse±±ftg; 
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1 tet issue licenses to indiv~duals qualified under sections 

2 148C.Ol to 148C.ll; 

3 tdt J..21 issue copies of the rules for licensure to all 

4 applicants; 

5 tet i2l. adopt rules to establish and implement procedures, 

6 including a standard disciplinary process a~d rules of 

7 professional conduct; 

8 t£t ~ carry out disciplinary actions against licensees; 

9 tgt J!l establish,-w±th-the-edv±ee-eftd-reeemmeHdet±eHs-e£ 

10 the-edv±sery-eettfte±%7 written internal operating procedures for 

11 receiving and investigating complaints and for taking 

12 disciplinary actions as appropriate; 

13 tht 19.l educate the public about the existence and content 

14 of the rules for alcohol and drug counselor licensing to enable 

15 consumers to file complaints against licensees who may have 

16 violated the rules; 

17 t±t .ill evaluate the rules in order to refine and improve 

18 the methods used to enforce the commissioner's standards; and 

19 tjt l!l collect license fees for alcohol and drug 

20 counselors. 

21 Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 148C.04, 

22 subdivision 3, is amended to read: 

23 Subd. 3. [REQUIREMENTS FOR LICENSURE BEFORE JULY 1, 2008.] 

24 An applicant for a license must furnish evidence satisfactory to 

25 the commissioner that the applicant has met all the requirements 

26 in clauses (1) to (3). The applicant must have: 

27 (1) received an associate degree, or an equivalent number 

28 of credit hours, and a certificate in alcohol and drug 

29 counseling, including 18 semester credits or 270 clock hours of 

30 academic course work in accordance with subdivision Sa, 

31 paragraph (a), from an accredited school or educational program 

32 and 880 clock hours of supervised alcohol and drug counseling 

33 practicum; 

34 (2) completed one of the following: 

35 l!l a written case presentation and satisfactorily passed 

36 an oral examination eseeb%±shed-by-ehe-eemm±ss±ener that 
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1 demonstrates competence in the core functions as determined by 

2 the board; or 

3 (ii) satisfactorily completed 2,000 hours of supervised 

4 postdegree equivalent professional practice in accordance with 

5 section 148C.044; and 

6 (3) satisfactorily passed a written exam±net±on-es 

7 estab~±sned-by-tne-eomm±ss±oner examinations for licensure as 

8 determined by the board. 

9 Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 148C.04, 

10 subdivision 4, is amended to read: 

11 Subd. 4. [REQUIREMENTS FOR LICENSURE AFTER JULY 1, 2008.] 

12 An applicant for a license must submit evidence to the 

13 commissioner that the applicant has met one of the following 

14 requirements: 

15 (1) the applicant must have: 

16 (i) received a bachelor's degree from an accredited school 

17 or educational program, including 18 semester credits or 270 

18 clock hours of academic course work in accordance with 

19 subdivision Sa, paragraph (a), from an accredited school or 

20 educational program and 880 clock hours of supervised alcohol 

21 and drug counseling practicum; 

22 (ii) completed a written case presentation and 

23 satisfactorily passed an oral examination established by the 

24 commissioner that demonstrates competence in the core functionsL 

25 or submitted to the board a plan for supervision during the 

26 first 2,000 hours of professional practice, or submitted proof 

27 of supervised professional practice that is acceptable to the 

28 commissioner; and 

29 (iii) sat~sfactorily passed a written examination as 

30 established by the commissioner; or 

31 (2) the applicant must meet the requirements of section 

32 148C.07. 

33 Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 148C.04, 

34 subdivision 6, is amended to read: 

35 Subd. 6. [TEMPORARY PERMIT REQUIREMENTS.] (a) The 

36 commissioner shall issue a temporary permit to practice alcohol 
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1 and drug counseling prior to being licensed under this chapter 

2 if the person: 

3 (1) either: 

4 (i) submits verification of a current and unrestricted 

5 credential for the practice of alcohol and drug counseling from 

6 a national certification body or a certification or licensing 

7 body from another state, United States territory, or federally 

8 recognized tribal authority; 

9 (ii) submits verification of the completion of at least 64 

10 semester credits, including 270 clock hours or 18 semester 

11 credits of formal classroom education in alcohol and drug 

12 counseling and at least 880 clock hours of alcohol and drug 

13 counseling practicum from an accredited school or educational 

14 program; 

15 (iii) applies to renew a lapsed license according to the 

16 requirements of section 148C.055, subdivision 3, clauses (1) and 

17 (2), or section 148C.055, subdivision 4, clauses (1) and (2); or 

18 (iv) meets the requirements of section 148C.ll, subdivision 

19 1, paragraph (c), or 6, clauses (1), (2), and (5); 

20 (2) applies, in writing, on an application form provided by 

21 the commissioner, which includes the nonrefundable temporary 

22 permit fee as specified in section 148C.12 and an affirmation by 

23 the person's supervisor, as defined in paragraph (c), clause 

24 (1), which is signed and dated by the person and the person's 

25 supervisor; and 

26 (3) has not been disqualified to practice temporarily on 

27 the basis of a background investigation under section 148C.09,· 

28 subdivision la. 

29 (b) The commissioner must notify the person in writing 

30 within 90 days from the date the completed application and all 

31 required information is received by the commissioner whether the 

32 person is qualified to practice under this subdivision. 

33 (c) A person practicing under this subdivision: 

34 (1) may practice under tribal jurisdiction or under the 

35 direct supervision of a person who is licensed under this 

36 chapter; 
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1 (2) is subject to the Rules of Professional Conduct set by 

2 rule; and 

3 (3) is not subject to the continuing education requirements 

4 of section 148C.075. 

5 {d) A person practicing under this subdivision must use the 

6 title or description stating or implying th~t the person is a 

7 trainee engaged in the practice of alcohol and drug counseling. 

8 (e) A person practicing under this subdivision must 

9 annually submit a renewal application on forms provided by the 

10 commissioner with the renewal fee required in section 148C.12, 

11 subdivision 3, and the commissioner may renew the temporary 

12 permit if the trainee meets the requirements of this 

13 subdivision. A trainee may renew a practice·permit no more than 

14 five times. 

15 (f) A temporary permit expires if not renewed, upon a 

16 change of employment of the trainee or upon a change in 

17 supervision, or upon the granting or denial by the commissioner 

18 of a license. 

19 Sec. 15. [148C.044] [SUPERVISED POSTDEGREE PROFESSIONAL 

20 PRACTICE.] 

21 Subdivision 1. [SUPERVISION.] For the purpose of this 

22 section, "supervision" means documented interactive 

23 consultation, which, subject to the limitations in subdivision 

24 4, paragraph (a), clause (2), may be conducted in person, by 

25 telephone, or by audio or audiovisual electronic device, with a 

26 supervisor as defined in subdivision 2. The supervision must be 

27 adequate to ensure the quality and competence of the activities 

28 supervised. Supervisory consultation must include discussions 

29 on the nature and content of the practice of the supervisee, 

30 including, but not limited to, a review of a representative 

31 sample of counseling services in the supervisee's practice. 

32 Subd. 2. [POSTDEGREE PROFESSIONAL PRACTICE.] "Postdegree 

33 professional practice" means required postdegree paid or 

34 volunteer work experience and training that involves the 

35 professional oversight by a supervisor approved by the board and 

36 that satisfies the supervision requirements in subdivision 4. 
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1 Subd. 3. [SUPERVISOR REQUIREMENTS.] For purposes of this 

2 section, a supervisor shall: 

3 (1) be a licensed alcohol and drug counselor or other 

4 qualified professional as determined by the board: 

5 (2) have four years of experience in providing alcohol_ and 

6 drug counseling; 

7 (3) have received a minimum of 12 hours of training in 

8 clinical and ethical supervision, which may include graduate 

9 course work, continuing education courses, workshops, or a 

10 combination thereof; and 

11 (4) supervise no more than three persons in postdegree 

12 professional practice. 

13 Subd. 4. [SUPERVISED PRACTICE REQUIREMENTS FOR 

14 LICENSURE.] (a) The content of supervision must include: 

15 (1) knowledge, skills, values, and ethics with specific 

16 application to the practice issues faced by the supervisee, 

17 including the core functions as described in section 148C.Ol, 

18 subdivision 9; 

19 (2) the standards of practice and ethical conduct, with 

20 particular emphasis given to the counselor's role and 

21 appropriate responsibilities, professional boundaries, and power 

22 dynamics; and 

23 (3) the supervisee's permissible scope of practice, as 

24 defined by section 148C.Ol, subdivision 10. 

25 (b) The supervision must be obtained at the rate of one 

26 hour of supervision per 40 hours of professional practice, for a 

27 total of 50 hours of supervision. The supervision must be 

28 evenly distributed over the course of the supervised 

29 professional practice. At least 75 percent of the required 

30 supervision hours must be received in person. The remaining 25 

31 percent of the required hours may be received by telephone or by 

32 audio or audiovisual electronic device. At least 50 percent of 

33 the required hours of supervision must be received on an 

34 individual basis. The remaining 50 percent may be received in a 

35 group setting. 

36 (c) The supervision must be completed in no fewer than 12 
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1 consecutive months and no more than 36 consecutive months. 

2 (d) The applicant shall include with an application for 

3 licensure verification of completion of the 2,000 hours of 

4 supervised professional practice. Verification must be on a 

5 form specified by the board. The supervisor shall verify that 

6 the supervisee has completed the required hours of supervision 

7 in accordance with this section. The supervised practice 

8 required under this section is unacceptable if the supervisor 

9 attests that the supervisee's performance, competence, or 

10 adherence to the standards of practice and ethical conduct has 

11 been unsatisfactory. 

12 Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 148C.091, 

13 subdivision l, is amended to read: 

14 Subdivision 1. [FORMS OF DISCIPLINARY ACTION.] When the 

15 commissioner finds that an applicant or a licensed alcohol and 

16 drug counselor has violated a provision or provisions of 

17 sections 148C.Ol to 148C.ll, or rules promulgated under this 

18 chapter, the commissioner may take one or more of the following 

19 actions: 

20 {l) refuse to grant a license; 

21 (2) revoke the license; 

22 (3) suspend the license; 

23 (4) impose limitations or conditions; 

24 (5) impose a civil penalty not exceeding $10,000 for each 

25 separate violation, the amount of the civil penalty to be fixed 

26 so as to deprive the counselor of any economic advantage gained 

27 by reason of the violation charged or to reimburse the 

28 commissioner for all costs of the investigation and proceeding; 

29 including, but not limited to, the amount paid by the 

30 commissioner for services from the Office of Administrative 

31 Hearings, attorney fees, court reports, witnesses, reproduction 

32 of records, aa~±sery-eettae±±-members~-per-a±em-eempeasae±ea7 

33 staff time, and expense incurred by ad~±sery-eettae±±-members-aad 

34 staff of the department; 

35 (6) order the counselor to provide uncompensated 

36 professional service under supervision at a designated public 
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l hospital, clinic, or other health care institution; 

2 (7) censure or reprimand the counselor; or 

3 (8) any other action justified by the case. 

4 Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 148C.10, 

5 subdivision 2, is amended to read: 

6 Subd. 2. [USE OF TITLES.] No person shall present 

7 themselves or any other individual to the public by any title 

8 incorporating the words "licensed alcohol and drug counselor" or 

9 otherwise hold themselves out to the public by any title or 

10 description stating or implying that they are licensed or 

11 otherwise qualified to practice alcohol and drug counseling 

12 unless that individual holds a valid license. Persons issued a 

13 temporary permit must use titles consistent with section 

14 148C.04, subdivision 6, paragraph tet J..S!l~ 

15 Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 148C.ll, 

16 subdivision 1, is amended to read: 

17 Subdivision 1. [OTHER PROFESSIONALS.] (a) Nothing in this 

18 chapter prevents members of other professions or occupations 

19 from performing functions for which they are qualified or 

20 licensed. This exception includes, but is not limited to7~ 

21 licensed physicians7i registered nurses7i licensed practical 

22 nurses1i licensed psychological practitioners1i members of the 

23 clergy,l American Indian medicine men and women1i licensed 

24 attorneys1i probation officers1i licensed marriage and family 

25 therapists1i licensed social workers,; social workers employed 

26 by city, county, or state agencies; licensed professional 

27 counselors1i licensed school counselors1i registered 

28 occupational therapists or occupational therapy assistants1i 

29 city, county, or state employees when providing assessments or 

30 case management under Minnesota Rules, chapter 9530; and until 

31 July 1, 2005, individuals providing integrated dual-diagnosis 

32 treatment in adult mental health rehabilitative programs 

33 certified by the Department of Human Services under section 

34 256B.0622 or 256B.0623. 

35 (b) Nothing in this chapter prohibits technicians and 

36 resident managers in programs licensed by the Department of 
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1 Human Services from discharging their duties as provided in 

2 Minnesota Rules, chapter 9530. 

3 (c} Any person who is exempt under this seee±on subdivision 

4 but who elects to obtain a license under this chapter is subject 

5 to this chapter to the same extent as other licensees. The 

6 commissioner shall issue a license without examination to an 

7 applicant who is licensed or registered in a profession 

8 identified in paragraph (a) if the applicant: 

· 9 (1) shows evidence of current licensure or registration; 

10 and 

11 (2) has submitted to the commissioner a plan for 

12 supervision during the first 2,000 hours of professional 

13 practice or has submitted proof of supervised professional 

14 practice that is acceptable to the commissioner. 

15 (d) ~hese-~ersons Any person who is exempt from licensure 

16 under this section mus.t not7-however7 use a title incorporating 

17 the words "alcohol and drug counselor 11 or "licensed alcohol and 

18 drug counselor" or otherwise hold themselves out to the public 

19 by any title or description stating or implying that they are 

20 engaged in the practice of alcohol and drug counseling, or that 

21 they are licensed to engage in the practice of alcohol and drug 

22 counseling unless that person is also licensed as an alcohol and 

23 drug counselor. Persons engaged in the practice of alcohol and 

24 drug counseling are not exempt from the commissioner's 

25 jurisdiction solely by the use of one of the above titles. 

26 Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 148C.ll, 

27 subdivision 4, is amended to read: 

28 Subd. 4. [HOSPITAL ALCOHOL AND DRUG COUNSELORS.] Effective 

29 January.l, %606 2007, hospitals employing alcohol and drug 

30 counselors shall be required to employ licensed alcohol and drug 

31 counselors. An alcohol or drug counselor employed by a hospital 

32 must be licensed as an alcohol and drug counselor in accordance 

33 with this chapter. 

34 Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 148C.ll, 

35 subdivision 5, is amended to read: 

36 Subd. 5. [CITY, COUNTY, AND STATE AGENCY ALCOHOL AND DRUG 
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1 COUNSELORS.] Effective January 1, %996 2007, city, county, and 

2 state agencies e~ploying alcohol and drug counselors shall be 

3 required to employ licensed alcohol and drug counselors. An 

4 alcohol and drug counselor employed by a city, county, or state 

5 agency must be licensed as an alcohol and drug counselor in 

6 accordance with this chapter. 

7 Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 148C.ll, 

8 subdivision 6, is amended to read: 

9 Subd. 6. [TRANSITION PERIOD FOR HOSPITAL AND CITY, COUNTY, 

10 AND STATE AGENCY ALCOHOL AND DRUG COUNSELORS.] For the period 

11 between July 1, 2003, and January 1, %996 2007, the commissioner 

12 shall grant a license to an individual who is employed as an 

13 alcohol and drug counselor at a Minnesota school district or 

14 hospital, or a city, county, or state agency in Minnesota, if 

15 the individual meets the requirements in section 148C.0351 and: 

16 (1) was employed as an alcohol and drug counselor at a 

17 school district, a hospital, or a city, county, or state agency 

18 before August 1, 2002; tzt has 8,000 hours of alcohol and drug 

19 counselor work experience; t3t has completed a written case 

20 presentation and satisfactorily passed an oral examination 

21 established by the commissioner; t4t and has satisfactorily 

22 passed a written examination as established by the commissioner; 

23 and-t5t-meees-ehe-reqtt±remenes-±n-seee±en-%4ae.935% or 

24 (2). is credentialed as a board certified counselor (BCC) or 

25 board certified counselor reciprocal (BCCR) by the Minnesota 

26 Certification Board; or 

27 (3) has 14,000 hours of supervised alcohol and drug 

28 counselor work experience as documented by the employer. 

29 Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 148C.12, 

30 subdivision 3, is amended to read: 

31 Subd. 3. [TEMPORARY PERMIT FEE.] The initial fee for 

32 applicants under section 148C.04, subdivision 6, paragraph (a), 

33 is $100. The fee for annual renewal of a temporary permit 

34 is $%99 $150, but when the first expiration date occurs in less 

35 or more than one year, the fee must be prorated. 

36 Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 214.01, 
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1 subdivision 2, is amended to read: 

2 Subd. 2. [HEALTH-RELATED LICENSING BOARD.] "Health-related 

3 licensing board" means the Board of Examiners of Nursing Home 

4 Administrators established pursuant to section 144A.19, the 

5 Off ice of Unlicensed Complementary and Alternative Health Care 

6 Practice established pursuant to section 146A.02, the Board of 

7 Medical Practice created pursuant to section 147.01, the Board 

8 of Nursing created pursuant to section 148.181, the Board of 

9 Chiropractic Examiners established pursuant to section 148.02, 

10 the Board of Optometry established pursuant to section 148.52, 

11 the Board of Physical Therapy establi$hed pursuant to section 

12 148.67, the Board of Psychology established pursuant to section 

13 148.90, the Board of Social Work pursuant to section 148B.19, 

14 the Board of Marriage and Family Therapy pursuant to section 

15 148B.30, the Office of Mental Health Practice established 

16 pursuant to section 148B.61, the Board of Behavioral Health and 

17 Therapy established by section 148B.51, ehe-Aieehei-and-Brttg 

18 €ettnseiers-bieensing-Ad~isery-eettneii-eseabiished-pttrsttane-ee 

19 seeeien-i48e.e%, the Board of Dietetics and Nutrition Practice 

20 established under section 148.622, the Board of Dentistry 

21 established pursuant to section 150A.02, the Board of Pharmacy 

22 established pursuant to section 151.02, the Board of Pediatric 

23 Medicine established pursuant to section 153.02, and the Board 

24 of Veterinary Medicine, established pursuant to section 156.01. 

25 Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 214.103, 

26 subdivision 1, is amended to read: 

27 Subdivision 1. [APPLICATION.] For purposes of this 

28 section, "board" means "health-related licensing board" and does 

29 not include ehe-Aieehei-and-Brttg-eettnseiers-bieensing-Ad~isery 

30 eettneii-eseabiished-pttrsttane-ee-seeeien-%48e.e%,-er the 

31 non-health-related licensing boards. Nothing in this section 

32 supersedes section 214.10, subdivisions 2a, 3, 8, and 9, as they 

33 apply to the health-related licensing boards. 

34 Sec. 25. [AUTHORIZATION FOR EXPEDITED RULEMAKING 

35 AUTHORITY.] 

36 The Board of Behavioral Health and Therapy may use the 
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1 expedited rulemaking process under Minnesota Statutes, section 

2 14.389, for adopting and amending rules to conform with sections 

3 1 to 10. 

4 Sec. 26. [REPEALER.] 

5 (a) Minnesota Statutes 2004, sections 148C.02 and 148C.12, 

6 subdivision 4, are repealed. 

7 (b) Minnesota Rules, parts 4747.0030, subparts 11 and 16; 

8 4747.1200; and 4747.1300, are repealed. 

9 Sec. 27. [EFFECTIVE DATE.] 

10 This article is effective July 1, 2005. 

11 ARTICLE 6 

12 BOARD OF MEDICAL PRACTICE 

13 (PHYSICIAN ASSISTANTS AND RESPIRATORY CARE PRACTITIONERS) 

14 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 147A.18, 

15 subdivision 1, is amended to read: 

16 Subdivision 1. [DELEGATION.] (a) A supervising physician 

17 may delegate to a physician assistant who is registered with the 

18 board, certified by the National Commission on Certification of 

19 Physician Assistants or successor agency approved by the board, 

20 and who is under the supervising physician's supervision, the 

21 authority to prescribe, dispense, and administer legend drugs, 

22 medical devices, and controlled substances subject to the 

23 requirements in this section. The authority to dispense 

24 includes, but is not limited to, the authority to request, 

25 receive, and dispense sample drugs. This authority to dispense 

26 extends only to those drugs described in the written agreement 

27 developed under paragraph (b). 

28 (b) The agreement between the physician assistant and 

29 supervising physician and any alternate supervising physicians 

30 must include a statement by the supervising physician regarding 

31 delegation or nondelegation of the functions of prescribing, 

32 dispensing, and administering of legend drugs and medical 

33 devices to the physician assistant. The statement must include 

34 a protocol indicating categories of drugs for which the 

35 supervising physician delegates prescriptive and dispensing 

36 authority. The delegation must be appropriate to the physician 
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1 assistant's practice and within the scope of the physician 

2 assistant's training. Physician assistants who have been 

3 delegated the authority to prescribe, dispense, and administer 

4 legend drugs and medical devices shall provide evidence of 

5 current certification by the National Commission on 

6 Certification of Physician Assistants or its successor agency 

7 when registering or reregistering as physician assistants. 

8 Physician assistants who have been delegated the authority to 

9 prescribe controlled substances must present evidence of the 

10 certification and hold a valid DEA certificate. Supervising 

11 physicians shall retrospectively review the prescribing, 

12 dispensing, and administering of legend and controlled drugs and 

13 medical devices by physician assistants, when this authority has 

14 been delegated to the physician assistant as part of the 

15 delegation agreement between the physician and the physician 

16 assistant. This review must take place ae-±ease-wee~±y as 

17 outlined in the internal protocol. The process and schedule for 

18 the review must be outlined in the delegation agreement. 

19 (c) The board may establish by rule: 

20 (1) a system of identifying physician assistants eligible 

21 to prescribe, administer, and dispense legend drugs and medical 

22 devices; 

23 (2) a system of identifying physician assistants eligible 

24 to prescribe, administer, and dispense controlled substances; 

25 (3) a method of determining the categories of legend and 

26 controlled drugs and medical devices that each physician 

27 assistant is allowed to prescribe, administerK and dispense; and 

28 (4) a system of transmitting to pharmacies a listing of 

29 physician assistants eligible to prescribe legend and controlled 

30 drugs and medical devices. 

31 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 147A.18, 

32 subdivision 3, is amended to read: 

33 Subd. 3. [OTHER REQUIREMENTS AND RESTRICTIONS.] (a) The 

34 supervising physician and the physician assistant must complete, 

35 sign, and date an internal protocol which lists each category of 

36 drug or medical device, or controlled substance the physician 
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1 assistant may prescribe, dispense, and administer. The 

2 supervising physician and physician assistant shall submit the 

3 internal protocol to the board upon request. The supervising 

4 physician may amend the internal protocol as necessary, within 

5 the limits of the completed delegation form in subdivision 5. 

6 The supervising physician and physician assistant must sign and 

7 date any amendments to the internal protocol. Any amendments 

8 resulting in a change to an addition or deletion to categories 

9 delegated in the delegation form in subdivision 5 must be 

10 submitted to the board according to this chapter, along with the 

11 fee required. 

12 (b) The supervising physician and physician assistant shall 

13 review delegation of prescribing, dispensing, and administering 

14 authority on an annual basis at the time of reregistration. The 

15 internal protocol must be signed and dated by the supervising 

16 physician and physician assistant after review. Any amendments 

17 to the internal protocol resulting in changes to the delegation 

18 form in subdivision 5 must be submitted to the board according 

19 to this chapter, along with the fee required. 

20 (c) Each prescription initiated by a physician assistant 

21 shall indicate the following: 

22 (1) the date of issue; 

23 (2) the name and address of the patient; 

24 (3) the name and quantity of the drug prescribed; 

25 (4) directions for use; and 

26 (5) the name, and address,-and-eeie~hene-nttmber of the 

27 prescribing physician assistant and-e£-ehe-~hys±e±an-ser~±ng-as 

28 stt~er~±ser. 

29 (d) In prescribing, dispensing, and administering legend 

30 drugs and medical devices, including controlled substances as 

31 defined in section 152.01, subdivision 4, a physician assistant 

32 must conform with the agreement, chapter 151, and this chapter. 

33 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 147C.05, is 

34 amended to read: 

35 147C.05 [SCOPE OF PRACTICE.] 

36 (a) The practice of respiratory care by a registered 
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1 respiratory care practitioner includes, but is not limited to, 

2 the following services: 

3 (1) providing and monitoring therapeutic administration of 

4 medical gases, aerosols, humidification, and pharmacological 

5 agents related to respiratory care procedures, but not including 

6 administration of general anesthesia; 

7 (2) carrying out therapeutic application and monitoring of 

8 mechanical ventilatory support; 

9 (3) providing cardiopulmonary resuscitation and maintenance 

10 of natural airways and insertion and maintenance of artificial 

11 airways; 

12 (4) assessing and monitoring signs, symptoms, and general 

13 behavior relating to, and general physical response to, 

14 respiratory care treatment or evaluation for treatment and 

15 diagnostic testing, including determination of whether the 

16 signs, symptoms, reactions, behavior, or general response 

17 exhibit abnormal characteristics; 

18 (5) obtaining physiological specimens and interpreting 

19 physiological data including: 

20 (i) analyzing arterial and venous blood gases; 

21 (ii) assessing respiratory secretions; 

22 (iii) measuring ventilatory volumes, pressures, artd flows; 

23 (iv) testing pulmonary function; 

24 (v)· testing and studying the cardiopulmonary system; and 

25 (vi) diagnostic testing of breathing patterns related to 

26 sleep disorders; 

27 (6) assisting hemodynamic monitoring and support of the 

28 cardiopulmonary system; 

29 (7) assessing and making suggestions for modifications in 

30 the treatment regimen based on abnormalities, protocols, or 

31 changes in patient response to respiratory care treatment; 

32 (8) providing cardiopulmonary rehabilitation including 

33 respiratory-care related educational components, postural 

34 drainage, chest physiotherapy, breathing exercises, aerosolized 

35 administration of medications, and equipment use and 

36 maintenance; 
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1 (9) instructing patients and their families in techniques 

2 . for the prevention, alleviation, and rehabilitation of 

3 deficiencies, abnormalities, and diseases of the cardiopulmonary 

4 system; and 

5 (10) transcribing and implementing physician orders for 

6 respiratory care services. 

7 (b) Patient service by a practitioner must be limited to: 

8 (1) services within the training and experience of the 

9 practitioner; and 

10 (2) services within the parameters of the laws, rules, and 

11 standards of the facilities in which the respiratory care 

12 practitioner practices. 

13 (c) Respiratory care services provided by a registered 

14 respiratory care practitioner, whether delivered in a health 

15 care facility or the patient's residence, must not be provided 

16 except upon referral from a physician. 

17 (d) This section does not prohibit an individual licensed 

18 or registered as a respiratory therapist in another state or 

19 country from providing respiratory care in an emergency in this 

20 state, providing respiratory care as a member of an organ 

21 harvesting team, or from providing respiratory care on board an 

22 ambulance as part of an ambulance treatment team. 

23 ARTICLE 7 

24 COMMISSIONER OF HEALTH - AUDIOLOGISTS 

25 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 148.512, 

26 subdivision 6, is amended to read: 

27 Subd. 6. [AUDIOLOGIST. ] "Audiologist" means a natural 

28 person who engages in the practice of audiology, meets the 

29 qualifications required by sections 148.511 to ~48•5~96 

30 148.5198, and is licensed by the commissioner under a general, 

31 clinical fellowship, doctoral externship, or temporary license. 

32 Audiologist also means a natural person using any descriptive 

33 word with the title audiologist. 

34 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 148.512, is 

35 amended by adding a subdivision to read: 

36 Subd. lOa. [HEARING AID.] "Hearing aid" means an 

Article 7 Section 2 147 



SF1204 FIRST ENGROSSMENT [REVISOR KJ Sl204-l 

1 instrument, or any of its parts, worn in the ear canal and 

2 designed to or represented as being able to aid or enhance human 

3 hearing. "Hearing aid" includes the aid's parts, attachments, 

4 or accessories, including, but not limited to, ear molds and 

5 behind the ear (BTE) devices with or without an ear mold. 

6 Batteries and cords are not parts, attachments, or accessories 

7 of a hearing aid. Surgically implanted hearing aids, and 

8 assistive listening devices not worn within the ear canal, are 

9 not hearing aids. 

10 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 148.512, is 

11 amended by adding a subdivision to read: 

12 Subd. lOb. [HEARING AID DISPENSING.] "Hearing aid 

13 dispensing" means making ear mold impressions, prescribing, or 

14 recommending a hearing aid, assisting the consumer in aid 

15 selection, selling hearing aids at retail, or testing human 

16 hearing in connection with these activities regardless of 

17 whether the person conducting these activities has a monetary 

18 interest in the sale of hearing aids to the consumer. 

19 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 148.515, is 

20 amended by adding a subdivision to read: 

21 Subd. 6. [AUDIOLOGIST EXAMINATION REQUIREMENTS.] (a) An 

22 audiologist who applies for licensure on or after August 1, 

23 2005, must achieve a passing score on the examination described 

24 in section 153A.14, subdivision 2h, paragraph (a), clause (2), 

25 within the time period described in section 153A.14, subdivision 

26 2h, paragraph (b). 

27 (b) Paragraph (a) does not apply to an audiologist licensed 

28 by reciprocity who was licensed before August 1, 2005, in 

29 another jurisdiction. 

30 (c) Audiologists are exempt from the written examination 

31 requirement in section 153A.14, subdivision 2h, paragraph (a), 

32 clause (1). 

33 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 148.5194, is 

34 amended by adding a subdivision to read: 

35 Subd. 7. [SURCHARGE.] A surcharge of$ ••••••• is added to 

36 the audiologist licensure fee for the period of •••••••• 
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1 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 148.5195, 

2 subdivision 3, is amended to read: 

3 Subd. 3. [GROUNDS FOR DISCIPLINARY ACTION BY 

4 COMMISSIONER.] The commissioner may take any of the disciplinary 

5 actions listed in subdivision 4 on proof that the individual has: 

6 (1) intentionally submitted false or misleading information 

7 to the commissioner or the advisory council; 

8 (2) failed, within 30 days, to provide information in 

9 response to a written request, via certified mail, by the 

10 commissioner or advisory council; 

11 (3) performed services of a speech-language pathologist or 

12 audiologist in an incompetent or negligent manner; 

13 (4) violated sections 148.511 to %48.5%96 148.5198; 

14 (5) failed to perform services with reasonable judgment, 

15 skill, or safety due to the use of alcohol or drugs, or other 

16 physical or mental impairment; 

17 (6) violated any state or federal law, rule, or regulation, 

18 and the violation is a felony or misdemeanor, an essential 

19 element of which is dishonesty, or which relates directly or 

20 indirectly to the practice of speech-language pathology or 

21 audiology. Conviction for violating any state or federal law 

22 which relates to speech-language pathology or audiology is 

23 necessarily considered to constitute a violation, except as 

24 provided in chapter 364; 

25 (7) aided or abetted another person in violating any 

26 provision of sections 148.511 to %48.5%96 148.5198; 

27 (8) been or is being disciplined by another jurisdiction, 

28 if any of the grounds for the discipline is the same or 

29 substantially equivalent to· those under sections 148.511 to 

30 148.5196; 

31 (9) not cooperated with the commissioner or advisory 

32 council in an investigation conducted according to subdivision 

33 l; 

34 (10) advertised in a manner that is false or misleading; 

35 (11) engaged in conduct likely to deceive, defraud, or harm 

36 the public; or demonstrated a willful or careless disregard for 
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1 the health, welfare, or safety of a client; 

2 (12) failed to disclose to the consumer any fee splitting 

3 or any promise to pay a portion of a fee to any other 

4 professional other than a fee for services rendered by the other 

5 professional to the client; 

6 (13) engaged in abusive or fraudulent billing practices, 

7 including violations of federal Medicare and Medicaid laws, Food 

8 and Drug Administration regulations, or state medical assistance 

9 laws; 

10 (14) obtained money, property, or services from a consumer 

11 through the use of undue influence, high pressure sales tactics, 

12 harassment, duress, deception, or fraud; 

13 (15) performed services for a client who had no possibility 

14 of benefiting from the services; 

15 (16) failed to refer a client for medical evaluation or to 

16 other health care professionals when appropriate or when a 

17 client indicated symptoms associated with diseases that could be 

18 medically or surgically treated; 

19 (17) ±£-ehe-±ftd±v±dtta±-±s-a-d±speftser-e£-hear±ng 

20 ±nserttmeftes-as-de£±ned-by-seee±eft-±53A.±37-sttbd±v±s±en-57-had 

21 ehe-eere±£±eae±eft-reqtt±red-by-ehapeer-±53A7-deft±ed7-sttspeftded7 

22 er-reve~ed-aeeerd±ng-ee-ehapeer-±53A; 

23 t±at used the term doctor of audiology, doctor of 

24 speech-language pathology, AuD, or SLPD without having obtained 

25 the degree from an institution accredited by the North Central 

26 Association of Colleges and Secondary Schools, the Council on 

27 Academic Accreditation in Audiology and Speech-Language 

28 Pathology, the United States Department of Education, or an 

29 equivalent; er 

30 t±9t ~ failed to comply with the requirements of section 

31 148.5192 regarding supervision of speech-language pathology 

32 assistants•L 

33 (19) prescribed or otherwise recommended to a consumer or 

34 potential consumer the use of a hearing aid, unless the 

35 prescription from a physician or recommendation from an 

36 audiologist is in writing, is based on an audiogram that is 
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1 delivered to the consumer or potential consumer when the 

2 prescription or recommendation is made, and bears the following 

3 information in all capital letters of 12-point or larger 

4 boldface type: "THIS PRESCRIPTION OR RECOMMENDATION MAY BE 

5 FILLED BY, AND HEARING AIDS MAY BE PURCHASED FROM, THE LICENSED 

6 AUDIOLOGIST OR CERTIFIED DISPENSER OF YOUR CHOICE"; 

7 (20) failed to give a copy of the audiogram, upon which the 

8 prescription or recommendation is based, to the consumer when 

9 the consumer requests a copy; 

10 (21) failed to provide the consumer rights brochure 

11 required by section 148.5197, subdivision 3; 

12 (22) failed to comply with restrictions on sales of hearing 

13 aids in sections 148.5197, subdivision 3, and 148.5198; 

14 (23) failed to return a consumer's hearing aid used as a 

15 trade-in or for a discount in the price of a new hearing aid 

16 when requested by the consumer upon cancellation of the purchase 

17 agreement; 

18 (24) failed to follow Food and Drug Administration or 

19 Federal Trade Commission regulations relating to dispensing 

20 hearing aids; or 

21 (25) failed to dispense a hearing aid in a competent manner 

22 or without appropriate training. 

23 Sec. 7. [148.5197] [HEARING AID DISPENSING.] 

24 Subdivision 1. [CONTENT OF CONTRACTS.] Oral statements 

25 made by an audiologist regarding the provision of warranties, 

26 refunds, and service on the hearing aid or aids dispensed must 

27 be written on, and become part of, the contract of sale, specify 

28 the item or items covered, and indicate the person or business 

29 entity obligated to provide the warranty, refund, or service. 

30 Subd. 2. [REQUIRED USE OF LICENSE NUMBER.] The 

31 audiologist's license number must appear on all contracts, bills 

32 of sale, and receipts used in the sale of hearing aids. 

33 Subd. 3. [CONSUMER RIGHTS INFORMATION.] An audiologist 

34 shall, at the time of the recommendation or prescription, give a 

35 consumer rights brochure, prepared by the commissioner and 

36 containing information about legal requirements pertaining to 
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1 sales of hearing aids, to each potential buyer of a hearing 

2 aid. The brochure must contain information about the consumer 

3 information center described in section 153A.18. A sales 

4 contract for a hearing aid must note the receipt of the brochure 

5 by the buyer, along with the buyer's signature or initials. 

6 Subd. 4. [LIABILITY FOR CONTRACTS.] Owners of entities in 

7 the business of dispensing hearing aids, employers of 

8 audiologists or persons who dispense hearing aids, supervisors 

9 of trainees or audiology students, and hearing aid dispensers 

10 conducting the sales transaction at issue are liable for 

11 satisfying all terms of contracts, written or oral, made by 

12 their agents, employees, assignees, affiliates, or trainees, 

13 including terms relating to products, repairs, warranties, 

14 service, and refunds. The commissioner may enforce the terms of 

15 hearing aid sales contracts against the principal, employer, 

16 supervisor, or dispenser who conducted the sale and may impose 

17 any remedy provided for in this chapter. 

18 Sec. 8. [148.5198] [RESTRICTION ON SALE OF HEARING AIDS.] 

19 Subdivision 1. [45-CALENDAR-DAY GUARANTEE AND BUYER RIGHT 

20 TO CANCEL.] (a) An audiologist dispensing a hearing aid in this 

21 state must comply with paragraphs (b) and (c). 

22 (b) The audiologist must provide the buyer with a 

23 45-calendar-day written money-back guarantee. The guarantee 

24 must permit the buyer to cancel the purchase for any reason 

25 within 45 calendar days after receiving the hearing aid by 

26 giving or mailing written notice of cancellation to the 

27 audiologist. If the consumer mails the notice of cancellation, 

28 the 45-calendar-day period is counted using the postmark date, 

29 to the date of receipt by the audiologist. If the hearing aid 

30 must be repaired, remade, or adjusted during the 45-calendar-day 

31 money-back guarantee period, the running of the 45-calendar-day 

32 period is suspended one day for each 24-hour period that the 

33 hearing aid is not in the buyer's possession. A repaired, 

34 remade, or adjusted hearing aid must be claimed by the buyer 

35 within three business days after notification of availability, 

36 after which time the running of the 45-calendar-day period 
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1 resumes. The guarantee must entitle the buyer, upon 

2 cancellation, to receive a refund of payment within 30 days of 

3 return of the hearing aid to the audiologist. The audiologist 

4 may retain as a cancellation fee no more than $250 of the 

s buyer's total purchase price of the hearing aid. 

6 (c) The audiologist shall provide the buyer with a contract 

7 written in plain English, that contains uniform language and 

8 provisions that meet the requirements under the Plain Language 

9 Contract Act, sections 325G.29 to 325G.36. The contract must 

10 include, but is not limited to, the following: in immediate 

11 proximity to the space reserved for the signature of the buyer, 

12 or on the first page if there is no space reserved for the 

13 signature of the buyer, a clear and conspicuous disclosure of 

14 the following specific statement in all capital letters of no 

15 less than 12-point boldface type: "MINNESOTA. STATE LAW GIVES 

16 THE BUYER THE RIGHT TO CANCEL THIS PURCHASE FOR ANY REASON AT 

17 ANY TIME PRIOR TO MIDNIGHT OF THE 45TH CALENDAR DAY AFTER 

18 RECEIPT OF THE HEARING AID(S). THIS CANCELLATION MUST BE IN 

19 WRITING AND MUST BE GIVEN OR MAILED TO THE AUDIOLOGIST. IF THE 

20 BUYER DECIDES TO RETURN THE HEARING AID(S) WITHIN THIS 

21 45-CALENDAR-DAY PERIOD, THE BUYER WILL RECEIVE A REFUND OF THE 

22 TOTAL PURCHASE PRICE OF THE AID(S) FROM WHICH THE AUDIOLOGIST 

23 MAY RETAIN AS A CANCELLATION FEE NO MORE THAN $250." 

24 Subd. 2. [ITEMIZED REPAIR BILL.] Any audiologist or 

25 company who agrees to repair a hearing aid must provide the 

26 owner of the hearing aid, or the owner's representative, with a 

27 bill that describes the repair and services rendered. The bill 

28 must also include the repairing audiologist's or company's name, 

29 address, and telephone number. 

30 This subdivision does not apply to an audiologist or 

31 company that repairs a hearing aid pursuant to an express 

32 warranty covering the entire hearing aid and the warranty covers 

33 the entire cost, both parts and labor, of the repair. 

34 Subd. 3. [REPAIR WARRANTY.] Any guarantee of hearing aid 

35 repairs must be in writing and delivered to the owner of the 

36 hearing aid, or the owner's representative, stating the 
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1 repairing audiologist's or company's name, address, telephone 

2 number, length of guarantee, model, and serial number of the 

3 hearing aid and all other terms and conditions of the guarantee. 

4 Subd. 4. [MISDEMEANOR.] A person found to have violated 

5 this section is guilty of a misdemeanor. 

6 Subd. 5. [ADDITIONAL.] In addition to the penalty provided 

7 in subdivision 4, a person found to have violated this section 

8 is subject to the penalties and remedies provided in section 

9 325F.69, subdivision 1. 

10 Subd. 6. [ESTIMATES.] Upon the request of the owner of a 

11 hearing aid or the owner's representative for a written estimate 

12 and prior to the commencement of repairs, a repairing 

13 audiologist or company shall provide the customer with a written 

14 estimate of the price of ,repairs. If a repairing audiologist or 

15 company provides a written estimate of the price of repairs, it 

16 must not charge more than the total price stated in the estimate 

17 for the repairs. If the repairing audiologist or company after 

18 commencing repairs determines that additional work is necessary 

19 to accomplish repairs that are the subject of a written estimate 

20 and if the repairing audiologist or company did not unreasonably 

21 fail to disclose the possible need for the additional work when 

22 the estimate was made, the repairing audiologist or company may 

23 charge more than the estimate for the repairs if the repairing 

24 audiologist or company immediately provides the owner or owner's 

25 representative a revised written estimate pursuant to this 

26 section and receives authorization to continue with the 

27 repairs. If continuation of the repairs is not authorized, the 

28 repairing audiologist or company shall return the hearing aid as 

29 close as possible to its former condition and shall release the 

30 hearing aid to the owner or owner's representative upon payment 

31 of charges for repairs actually performed and not in excess of 

32 the original estimate. 

33 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 153A.13, 

34 subdivision 5, is amended to read: 

35 Subd. 5. [DISPENSER OF HEARING INSTRUMENTS.] "Dispenser of 

36 hearing instruments" means a natural person who engages in 
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1 hearing instrument dispensing whether or not certified by the 

2 commissioner of health or licensed by an existing health-related 

3 board, except that a person described as follows is not a 

4 dispenser of hearing instruments: 

5 (1) a student participating in supervised field work that 

6 is necessary to meet requirements of an accredited educational 

7 program if the student is designated by a title which clearly 

8 indicates the student's status as a student trainee; or 

9 (2) a person who helps a dispenser of hearing instruments 

10 in an administrative or clerical manner and does not engage in 

11 hearing instrument dispensing. 

12 A person who offers to dispense a hearing instrument, or a 

13 person who advertises, holds out to the public, or otherwise 

14 represents that the person is authorized to dispense hearing 

15 instruments must be certified by the commissioner except when 

16 the person is an audiologist as defined in section 148.512. 

17 Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 153A.14, 

18 subdivision 2i, is amended to read: 

19 Subd. 2i. [CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENT.] On forms 

20 ·provided by the commissioner, each certified dispenser must 

21 submit with the application for renewal of certification 

22 evidence of completion of ten course hours of continuing 

23 education earned within the 12-month period of July 1 to June 30 

24 immediately preceding renewal. Continuing education courses 

25 must be directly related to hearing instrument dispensing and 

26 approved by the International Hearing Society or-qttai±£y-£or 

27 eone±ntt±ng-edtteae±on-a~~ro~ed-£or-M±nnesoea-i±eensed 

28 attd±oiog±ses. Evidence of completion of the ten course hours of 

29 continuing education must be submitted with renewal applications 

30 by October 1 of each year. This requirement does not apply to 

31 dispensers certified for less than one year. The first report 

32 of evidence of completion of the continuing education credits 

33 shall be due October 1, 1997. 

34 Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 153A.14, 

35 subdivision 4, is amended to read: 

36 Subd. 4. [DISPENSING OF HEARING INSTRUMENTS WITHOUT 
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1 CERTIFICATE.] Except as provided in subdivisions 2a, 4aL and 4c, 

2 it is unlawful for any person not holding a valid certificate to 

3 dispense a hearing instrument as defined in section 153A.13, 

4 subdivision 3. A person who dispenses a hearing instrument 

5 without the certificate required by this section is guilty of a 

6 gross misdemeanor. 

7 Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 153A.14, 

8 subdivision 4c, is amended to read: 

9 Subd. 4c. [RECIPROCITY.] (a) A person applying for 

10 certification as a hearing instrument dispenser under 

11 subdivision 1 who has dispensed hearing instruments in another 

12 jurisdiction may dispense hearing instruments as a trainee under 

13 indirect supervision if the person: 

14 (1) satisfies the provisions of subdivision 4a, paragraph 

15 (a); 

16 (2) submits a signed and dated affidavit stating that the 

17 applicant is not the subject of a disciplinary action or past 

18 disciplinary action in this or another jurisdiction and is not 

19 disqualified on the basis of section 153A.15, subdivision l; and 

20 (3) provides a copy of a current credential as a hearing 

21 instrument dispenser,-a~-attd±o±og±se7-of-boeh7 held in the 

22 District of Columbia or a state or territory of the United 

23 States. 

24 (b) A person becoming a trainee under this subdivision who 

25 fails to take and pass the practical examination described in 

26 subdivision 2h, paragraph (a), clause (2), when next offered 

27 must cease dispensing hearing instruments unless under direct 

28 supervision. 

29 Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 153A.15, 

30 subdivision 1, is amended to read: 

31 Subdivision 1. [PROHIBITED ACTS.] The commissioner may 

32 take enforcement action as provided under subdivision 2 against 

33 a dispenser of hearing instruments for the following acts and 

34 conduct: 

35 (1) prescribing or otherwise recommending to a consumer or 

36 potential consumer the use of a hearing instrument, ·unless the 
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1 prescription from a physician or recommendation from a hearing 

2 instrument dispenser or audiologist is in writing, is based on 

3 an audiogram that is delivered to the consumer or potential 

4 consumer when the prescription or recommendation is made, and 

5 bears the following information in all capital letters of 

6 12-point or larger boldface type: "THIS PRESCRIPTION OR 

7 RECOMMENDATION MAY BE FILLED BY, AND HEARING INSTRUMENTS MAY BE 

8 PURCHASED FROM, THE CERTIFIED DISPENSER OR LICENSED AUDIOLOGIST 

9 OF YOUR CHOICE"; 

10 (2) failing to give a copy of the audiogram, upon which the 

11 prescription or recommendation is based, to the consumer when 

12 there has been a charge for the audiogram and the consumer 

13 requests a copy; 

14 (3) dispensing a hearing instrument to a minor person 18 

15 years or younger unless evaluated by an audiologist for hearing 

16 evaluation and hearing aid evaluation; 

17 (4) failing to provide the consumer rights brochure 

18 required by section 153A.14, subdivision 9; 

19 (5) being disciplined through a revocation, suspension, 

20 restriction, or limitation by another state for conduct subject 

21 to action under this chapter; 

22 (6) presenting advertising that is false or misleading; 

23 (7) providing the commissioner with false or misleading 

24 statements of credentials, training, or experience; 

25 (8) engaging in conduct likely to deceive, defraud, or harm 

26 the public; or demonstrating a willful or careless disregard for 

27 the health, welfare, or safety of a consumer; 

28 (9) splitting fees or promising to pay a portion of a fee 

29 to any other professional other than a fee for services rendered 

30 by the other professional to the client; 

31 (10) engaging in abusive or fraudulent billing practices, 

32 including violations of federal Medicare and Medicaid laws, Food 

33 and Drug Administration regulations, or state medical assistance 

34 laws; 

35 (11) obtaining money, property, or services from a consumer 

36 through the use of undue influence, high pressure sales tactics, 
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1 harassment, duress, deception, or fraud; 

2 (12) failing to comply with restrictions on sales of 

3 hearing aids in sections 153A.14, subdivision 9, and 153Aal9; 

4 (13) performing the services of a certified hearing 

5 instrument dispenser in an incompetent or negligent manner; 

6 (14) failing to comply with the requirements of this 

7 chapter as an employer, supervisor, or trainee; 

8 (15) failing to provide information in a timely manner in 

9 response to a request by the commissioner, commissioner's 

10 designee, or the advisory council; 

11 (16) being convicted within the past five years of 

12 violating any laws of the United States, or any state or 

13 territory of the United States, and the violation is a felony, 

14 gross misdemeanor, or misdemeanor, an essential element of which 

15 relates to hearing instrument dispensing, except as provided in 

16 chapter 364; 

17 (17) failing to cooperate with the commissioner, the 

18 commissioner's designee, or the advisory council in any 

19 investigation; 

20 (18) failing to perform hearing instrument dispensing with 

21 reasonable judgment, skill, or safety due to the use of alcohol 

22 or drugs, or other physical or mental impairment; 

23 (19) failing to fully disclose actions taken against the 

24 applicant or the applicant's legal authorization to dispense 

25 hearing instruments in this or another state; 

26 (20) violating a state or federal court order or judgment, 

27 including a conciliation court judgment, relating to the 

28 activities of the applicant in hearing instrument dispensing; 

29 (21) having been or being disciplined by the commissioner 

30 of the Department of Health, or other authority, in this or 

31 another jurisdiction, if any of the grounds for the discipline 

32 are the same or substantially equivalent to those in sections 

33 153A.13 to 153A.19; 

34 (22) misrepresenting the purpose of hearing tests, or in 

35 any way communicating that the hearing test or hearing test 

36 protocol required by section 153A.14, subdivision 4b, is a 
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1 medical evaluation, a diagnostic hearing evaluation conducted by 

2 an audiologist, or is other than a test to select a hearing 

3 instrument, except that the hearing instrument dispenser can 

4 determine the need for or recommend the consumer obtain a 

5 medical evaluation consistent with requirements of the United 

6 States Food and Drug Administration; 

7 (23) violating any of the provisions of sections 153A.13 to 

8 153A.19; and 

9 (24) aiding or abetting another person in violating any of 

10 the provisions of sections 153A.13 to·l53A.19. 

11 Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 153A.20, 

12 subdivision 1, is amended to read: 

13 Subdivision 1. [MEMBERSHIP.] The commissioner shall 

14 appoint nine persons to a Hearing Instrument Dispenser Advisory 

15 Council. 

16 (a) The nine persons must include: 

17 (1) three public members, as defined in section 214.02. At 

18 least one of the public members shall be a hearing instrument 

19 user and one of the public members shall be either a hearing 

20 instrument user or an advocate of one; and 

21 (2) three hearing instrument dispensers certified under 

22 sections 153A.14 to 153A.20, each of whom is currently, and has 

23 been for the five years immediately preceding their appointment, 

24 engaged in hearing instrument dispensing in Minnesota and who 

25 represent the occupation of hearing instrument dispensing and 

26 who are not audiologists; and 

27 (3) three audiologists who-ere-eere±£±ed-heer±ng-±nserttmene 

28 d±spensers-or-ere licensed as audiologists under chapter 148. 

29 (b) The factors the commissioner may consider when 

30 appointing advisory council members include, but are not limited 

31 to, professional affiliation, geographical location, and type of 

32 practice. 

33 (c) No two members of the advisory council shall be 

34 employees of, or have binding contracts requiring sales 

35 exclusively for, the same hearing instrument manufacturer or the 

36 same employer. 
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1 Sec. 15. [REVISOR'S INSTRUCTION.] 

2 The reviser of statutes shall change references from 

3 11 sections 148.511 to 148.5196" to "sections 148.511 to 148.5198" 

4 wherever they appear in Minnesota Statutes and Minnesota Rules. 

5 Sec. 16. [REPEALER.] 

6 Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 153A.14, subdivision 2a, 

7 is repealed. 

8 Sec. 17. [EFFECTIVE DATE.] 

9 Sections 1 to 14 and 16 are effective August 1, 2005. 

10 ARTICLE 8 

11 OFFICE OF MENTAL HEALTH PRACTICES COMMITTEE 

12 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 148B.60, is 

13 amended to read: 

14 148B.60 [DEFINITIONS.] 

15 Subdivision 1. [TERMS.] As used in sections 148B.60 to 

16 148B.71, the following terms have the meanings given them in 

17 this section. 

18 Subd. 2. [OFFICE OF MENTAL HEALTH PRACTICE OR OFFICE.] 

19 "Off ice of Mental Health Practice" or "office" means the Office 

20 of Mental Health Practice es~sb~isbed authorized in section 

21 148B.61. 

22 Subd. 3. [UNLICENSED MENTAL HEALTH PRACTITIONER OR 

23 PRACTITIONER.] "Unlicensed mental health practitioner" or 

24 "practitioner" means a person who provides or purports to 

25 provide, for remuneration, mental health services as defined in 

26 subdivision 4. It does not include persons licensed by the 

27 Board of Medical Practice under chapter 147 or registered by the 

28 Board of Medical Practice under chapter 147A; the Board of 

29 Nursing under sections 148.171 to 148.285; the Board of 

30 Psychology under sections 148.88 to 148.98; the Board of Social 

31 Work under sections 148B.18 to 148B.289; the Board of Marriage 

32 and Family Therapy under sections 148B.29 to 148B.39; the Board 

33 of Behavioral Health and Therapy under sections 148B.50 to 

34 148B.593 and chapter 148C; or another licensing board if the 

35 person is practicing within the scope of the license; members of 

36 the clergy who are providing pastoral services in the context of 
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1 performing and fulfilling the salaried duties and obligations 

2 required of a member of the clergy by a religious congregation; 

3 American Indian medicine men and women; licensed attorneys; 

4 probation officers; licensed school counselors employed by a 

5 school district while acting within the scope of employment as 

6 school counselors; reg~seered licensed occupational therapists; 

7 or licensed occupatiorial therapy assistants. For the purposes 

8 of complaint investigation or disciplinary action relating to an 

9 individual practitioner, the term includes: 

10 (l} persons employed by a program licensed by the 

11 commissioner of human services who are acting as mental health 

12 practitioners within the scope of their employment; 

13 (2} persons employed by a program licensed by the 

14 commissioner of human services who are providing chemical 

15 dependency counseling services; persons who are providing 

16 chemical dependency counseling services in private practice; and 

17 (3} clergy who are providing mental health services that 

18 are equivalent to those defined in subdivision 4. 

19 Subd. 4. [MENTAL HEALTH SERVICES.] "Mental health 

20 services" means psychotherapy, behavioral health care, spiritual 

21 counseling, hypnosis when not for entertainment, and the 

22 professional assessment, treatment, or counseling of another 

23 person for a cognitive, behavioral, emotional, social, or mental 

24 condition, symptom, or dysfunction, including intrapersonal or 

25 interpersonal dysfunctions. The term does not include pastoral 

26 services provided by members of the clergy to members of a 

27 religious congregation in the context of performing and 

28 fulfilling the salaried duties and obligations required of a 

29 member of the clergy by that religious congregation. 

30 Subd. 5. [MENTAL HEALTH CLIENT OR CLIENT.] "Mental health 

31 client" or "client" means a person who receives or pays for the 

32 services of a mental health practitioner. 

33 Subd. Sa. [MENTAL-HEALTH-RELATED LICENSING 

34 BOARDS.] "Mental-health-related licensing boards" means the 

35 Boards of Medical Practice, Nursing, Psychology, Social Work, 

36 Marriage and F~mily Therapy, and Behavioral Health and Therapy. 
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l Sttbd•-7•--f€0MM%SS%9NER•+-aeo!Ml±ss±onefll-means-ehe 

2 eomm±ss±onef-0£-hea±eh-of-ehe-eo!Ml±ss±oner~s-des±gnee. 

3 Subd. 7a. [COMMITTEE.] "Committee" means the Office of 

4 Mental Health Practices Committee, consisting of one person 

5 appointed by each of the following licensing boards: the Board 

6 of Medical Practice; the Board of Nursing; the Board of 

7 Psychology; the Board of Social Work; the Board of Marriage and 

8 Family Therapy; and the Board of Behavioral Health and Therapy. 

9 Subd. 8. [DISCIPLINARY ACTION.] "Disciplinary action" 

10 means an adverse action taken by the commissioner against an 

11 unlicensed mental health practitioner relating to the person's 

12 right to provide mental health services. 

13 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 148B.61, is 

14 amended to read: 

15 148B.61 [OFFICE OF MENTAL HEALTH PRACTICE.] 

16 Subdivision l. [€REA~%0N AUTHORITY.]~ The Office of 

17 Mental Health Practice is ereaeed-±n-ehe-Bepafemene-0£-Hea±eh 

18 transferred to the mental-health-related licensing boards and 

19 authorized to investigate complaints and take and enforce 

20 disciplinary actions against all unlicensed mental health 

21 practitioners for violations of prohibited conduct, as defined 

22 in section 148B.68. 

23 JE.l_The office shall publish a complaint telephone number, 

24 provide an informational Web site, and also serve as a referral 

25 point and ·clearinghouse on complaints against mental health 

26 ser~±ees-and-boeh-±±eensed-and-ttn±±eensed-menea±-hea±eh 

27 pro£ess±ona±s7 -ehrottgh-ehe-d±ssem±nae±on-o£ practitioners. The 

28 off ice shall disseminate objective information to consumers and 

29 through the development and performance of public education 

30 activities, including outreach, regarding the provision of 

31 mental health services and both licensed and unlicensed mental 

32 health professionals who provide these services. 

33 Sttbd.-%.--fRBbEMAff%NS.f-~he-eomm±ss±oner-o£-hea±eh-sha±± 

34 adope-rtt±es-neeessary-eo-±mp±emene,-adm±n±seer7 -or-en£oree 

35 pro~±s±ons-o£-seee±ons-±48B.69-eo-±48B.~±-pttfsttane-eo-ehapeer 

36 ±4.--~he-eo!Ml±ss±oner-may-noe-adope-rtt±es-ehae-reser±ee-of 

Article 8 Section 2 162 



SF1204 FIRST ENGROSSMENT [REVISOR ] KJ Sl204-l 

1 ~f on±b±e-~ef sens-£fom-~fo~±d±ng-meneai-neaien-sef~±ees-on-ene 

2 bes±s-o£-edtteee±on7-efa±n±ng7-ex~ef±enee7-of-stt~e~~±s±oft• 

3 Subd. 4. [MANAGEMENT, REPORT, AND SUNSET OF THE 

4 OFFICE.] (a) The committee shall: 

5 (1) designate one board to provide administrative 

6 management of the program; 

7 (2) set the program budget; and 

8 (3) ensure that the program's direction is in accord with 

9 its authority. 

10 (b) If the participating boards change which board is 

11 designated to provide administrative management of the program, 

12 any appropriation remaining for the program shall transfer to 

13 the newly designated board on the effective date of the change. 

14 The participating boards must inform the appropriate legislative 

15 committees and the commissioner of finance of any change in the 

16 designated board and the amount of any appropriation transferred 

17 under this provision. 

18 (c) The designated board shall hire the office employees 

19 and pay expenses of the program from funds appropriated for that 

20 purpose. 

21 (d) After July 1, 2008, the committee shall prepare and 

22 submit a report to the legislature by January 15, 2009, 

23 evaluating the activity of the office and making recommendations 

24 concerning the regulation of unlicensed mental health 

25 practitioners. In the absence of legislative action to continue 

26 the office, the committee and the office expire on June 30, 2009. 

27 Sec. 3. Laws 2003, chapter 118, section 29, as amended by 

28 Laws 2004, chapter 279, artic~e 5, section 10, is amended to 

29 read: 

30 Sec. 29. [REPEALER.] 

31 (a) Minnesota Statutes %90%, sections 148B.60; 148B.61; 

32 148B.63; 148B.64; 148B.65; 148B.66; 148B.67; 148B.68; 148B.69; 

33 148B.70; and 148B.71, are repealed. 

34 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This paragraph is effective July 1, 

35 %995 2009. 

36 (b) Minnesota Statutes 2002, section 148C.Ol, subdivision 
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1 6, is repealed. 

2 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This paragraph is effective July 1, 2005. 

3 Sec. 4. [APPROPRIATION.] 

4 $ ..••.•. is appropriated from the state government special 

5 revenue fund to the mental-health-related licensing boards as 

6 nonrecovery funds. 

7 Sec. 5. [REVISOR INSTRUCTION.] 

8 The reviser of statutes shall insert "committee" or 

9 "committee's" wherever "commissioner of health" or 

10 "commissioner's" appears in Minnesota Statutes, sections 148B.60 

11 to 148B.71. 

12 Sec. 6. [EFFECTIVE DATE.] 

13 This act is effective July 1, 2005. 

14 ARTICLE 9 

15 MISCELLANEOUS 

16 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 148.5194, is 

17 amended by adding a subdivision to read: 

18 Subd. 7. [PENALTY FEES.] (a) The penalty fee for 

19 practicing speech language pathology or audiology without a 

20 current license after the credential has expired and before it 

21 is renewed is the amount of the license renewal fee for any part 

22 of the first month, plus the license renewal fee for any part of 

23 any subsequent month up to 36 months. 

24 (b) The penalty fee for applicants who engage in the 

25 unauthorized practice of speech language pathology or audiology 

26 before being issued a license is the amount of the license 

27 application fee for any part of the first month, plus the 

28 license application fee for any part of any subsequent month up 

29 to 36 months. This paragraph does not apply to applicants not 

30 qualifying for a license who engage in the unauthorized practice 

31 of speech language pathology or audiology. 

32 (c) The penalty fee for failing to submit a continuing 

33 education report by the due date with the correct number or type 

34 of hours in the correct time period is $100 plus $20 for each 

35 missing clock hour. The licensee must obtain the missing number 

36 of continuing education hours by the next reporting due date. 
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1 (d) Civil penalties and discipline incurred by licensees 

2 prior to August 1, 2005, for conduct described in paragraph (a), 

3 (b), or (c) shall be recorded as nondisciplinary penalty fees. 

4 For conduct described in paragraph (a) or (b) occurring after 

5 August 1, 2005, and exceeding six months, payment of a penalty 

6 fee does not preclude any disciplinary action reasonably 

7 justified by the individual case. 

8 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 148.6445, is 

9 amended by adding a subdivision to read: 

10 Subd. 11. [PENALTY FEES.] (a) The penalty fee for 

11 practicing occupational therapy without a current license after 

12 the credential has expired and before it is renewed is the 

13 amount of the license renewal fee for any part of the first 

14 month, plus the license renewal fee for any part of any 

15 subsequent month up to 36 months. 

16 (b) The penalty fee for applicants who engage in the 

17 unauthorized practice of occupational therapy before being 

18 issued a license is the amount of the license application fee 

19 for any part of the first month, plus the license application 

20 fee for any part of any subsequent month up to 36 months. This 

21 paragraph does not apply to applicants not qualifying for a 

22 license who engage in the unauthorized practice of occupational 

23 therapy. 

24 (c) The penalty fee for failing to submit a continuing 

25 education report by the due date with the correct number or type 

26 of hours in the correct time period is $100 plus $20 for each 

27 missing clock hour. The licensee must obtain the missing number 

28 of continuing education hours by the next reporting due date. 

29 (d) Civil penalties and discipline incurred by licensees 

30 prior to August 1, 2005, for conduct described in paragraph (a), 

31 {b), or {c) shall be recorded as nondisciplinary penalty fees. 

32 For conduct described in paragraph (a) or {b) occurring after 

33 August 1, 2005, and exceeding six months, payment of a penalty 

34 fee does not preclude any disciplinary action reasonably 

35 justified by the individual case. 

36 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 148C.12, is 
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1 amended by adding a subdivision to read: 

2 Subd. 11. [PENALTY FEES.] (a) The penalty fee for 

3 practicing alcohol and drug counseling without a current license 

4 after the· credential has expired and before it is renewed is the 

5 amount of the license renewal fee for any part of the first 

6 month, plus the license renewal fee for any part of any 

7 subsequent month up to 36 months. 

8 (b) The penalty fee for applicants who engage.in the 

9 unauthorized practice of alcohol and drug counseling before 

10 being issued a license is the amount of the license application 

11 fee for any part of the first month, plus the license 

12 application fee for any part of any subsequent month up to 36 

13 months. This paragraph does not apply to applicants not 

14 qualifying for a license who engage in the unauthorized practice 

15 of alcohol and drug counseling. 

16 (c) The penalty fee for failing to submit a continuing 

17 education report by the due date with the correct number or type 

18 of hours in the correct time period is $100 plus $20 for each 

19 missing clock hour. The licensee must obtain the correct number 

20 of continuing education hours by the next reporting due date. 

21 (d) Civil penalties and discipline incurred by licensees 

22 prior to August 1, 2005, for conduct described in paragraph (a), 

23 (b), or (c) shall be recorded as nondisciplinary penalty fees. 

24 For conduct described in paragraph (a) or (b) occurring after 

25 August 1, 2005, and exceeding 12 months, payment of a penalty 

26 fee does not preclude any disciplinary action reasonably 

27 justified by the individual case. 

28 Sec. 4. [153A.175] [PENALTY FEES.] 

29 (a) The penalty fee for holding oneself out as a hearing 

30 instrument dispenser without a current certificate after the 

31 credential has expired and before it is renewed is one-half the 

32 amount of the certificate renewal fee for any part of the first 

33 day, plus one-half the certificate renewal fee for any part of 

34 any subsequent days up to 30 days. 

35 (b) The penalty fee for applicants who hold themselves out 

36 as hearing instrument dispensers after expiration of the trainee 
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1 period and before being issued a certificate is one-half the 

2 amount of the certificate application fee for any part of the 

3 first day, plus one-half the certificate application fee for any 

4 part of any subsequent days up to 30 days. This paragraph does 

5 not apply to applicants not qualifying for a certificate who 

6 hold themselves out as hearing instrument dispensers. 

7 (c) The penalty fee for failing to submit a continuing 

8 education report by the due date with the correct number or type 

9 of hours in the correct time period is $200 plus $200 for each 

10 missing clock hour. The certificate holder must obtain the 

11 missing number of continuing education hours by the next 

12 reporting due date. 

13 (d) Civil penalties and discipline incurred by certificate 

14 holders prior to August 1, 2005, for conduct described in 

15 paragraph (a), (b), or (c) shall be recorded as nondisciplinary 

16 penalty fees. Payment of a penalty fee does not preclude any 

17 disciplinary action reasonably justified by the individual case. 
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148B.18 DEFINITIONS. 
Subdivision 1. Applicability. For the purposes of 

sections 148B.18 to 148B.289, the following terms have the 
meanings given them. 

Subd. 2. Accredited program of social work. 
"Accredited program of social work" means a school of social 
work or other educational program that has been accredited by 
the Council on Social Work Education. 

Subd. 2a. Applicant. "Applicant" means a person who 
has submitted an application, with the appropriate fee, for 
licensure, temporary licensure, or reinstatement of an expired 
license. 

Subd. 3. Board. "j3oard" means the Board of Social 
Work created in section 148B.19. 

Subd. 3a. Client. "Client" means an individual, 
couple, family, group, organization, or community that receives, 
received, or should have received services from an applicant or 
a licensee. 

Subd. 4. County agency social worker. "County agency 
social worker" means ap individual who is employed by a county 
social service agency in Minnesota in social work practice. 

Subd. 4a. Licensee. "Licensee" means a person 
licensed by the board. 

Subd. 5. State agency social worker. "State agency 
social worker" means an individual who is employed by a state 
social service agency in Minnesota in social work practice. 

Subd. 8. Private practice. "Private practice" means 
social work practice conducted by a licensee practicing within 
the permissible scope of a license, as defined in subdivision 
11, and under appropriate supervision, as defined in 
subdivisions 11 and 12, who is either self-employed, or a member 
of a partnership or of a group practice, rather than being 
employed by an agency, clinic, or other similar entity. 

Subd. 9. Psychotherapy. "Psychotherapy" in clinical 
social work practice means the application of social work 
theory, methodology, and values i~ the treatment of a person or 
persons who have cognitive, emotional, behavioral, or social 
dysfunctions through psychosocial, psychological, or 
interpersonal methods. The treatment is a planned and 
structured program which is based on information from a 
differential diagnostic assessment, and is directed toward the 
accomplishment of goals provided in a plan of care. The 
person-in-situation/environment configuration is considered and 
integrated into the diagnosis and treatment. Psychotherapy may 
be conducted by licensed independent clinical social workers and 
by licensed graduate or licensed independent social workers who 
practice under the supervision of either a licensed independent 
clinical social worker or, if approved by the board, by another 
qualified mental health professional. 

Subd. 10. Qualified mental health professional. 
"Qualified mental health professional" means a psychiatrist, 
board-certified or eligible for board certification, and 
licensed under chapter 147; a psychologist licensed under 
sections 148.88 to 148.98; an independent clinical social worker 
who has the qualifications in section 1488.21, subdivision 6; a 
psychiatric registered nurse with a master'~ degree from an 
accredited school of nursing, licensed under section 148.211, 
with at least two years of post-master's supervised experience 
in direct clinical practice; a marriage and family therapist who 
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is licensed under sections 148B.29 to 148B.39; or an equivalent 
mental health professional, as determined by the board, who is 
licensed or certified by a board or agency in another state or 
territory. 

Subd. 11. Social work practice. (a) "Social work 
practice" is the application of social work theory, knowledge, 
methods, and ethics to restore or enhance social, psychosocial, 
or biopsychosocial functioning of individuals, couples, 
families, groups, organizations, and communities, with 
particular attention to the person-in-environment configuration. 

(b) For all levels of licensure, social work practice 
includes assessment, treatment planning and evaluation, case 
management, information and referral, counseling, advocacy, 
teaching, research, supervision, consultation, community 
organization, and the development, implementation, and 
administration of policies, programs, and activities. 

(c) For persons licensed at the licensed independent 
clinical social worker level, and for persons licensed at either 
the licensed graduate social worker or the licensed independent 
social worker level who practice social work under the 
supervision of a licensed independent clinical social worker, 
social work practice includes the diagnosis and treatment of 
mental and emotional disorders in individuals, familiesF and 
groups. The treatment of men~al and emotional disorders 
includes the provision of individual, marital, and group 
psychotherapy. 

Subd. 12. Supervision. "Supervision" means the 
direction of social work practice in face-to-face sessions. 
Further standards for supervision shall be determined by the 
Board of Social Work. Supervision shall be provided: 

(1) by a social worker licensed at least at the level of 
the worker being supervised and qualified under section 148B.21 
to practice without supervision, except that a licensed graduate 
social worker may supervise a licensed social worker; or 

(2) by another qualified professional or qualified mental 
health professional when the Board of Social Work determines 
that supervision by a social worker as required in clause (1) is 
unobtainable, or in other situations considered appropriate by 
the Board of Social Work. 

Subd. 13. Temporary licensee. "Temporary licensee" 
means a person licensed by the board under section 148B.21, 
subdivision 7. 
148B.185 APPLICABILITY. 

Sections 148B.18 to 148B.289 apply to all applicants and 
licensees, to all persons practicing social work with clients in 
this state, and to persons engaged in the unauthorized practice 
of social work. 
148B.19 BOARD OF SOCIAL WORK. 

Subdivision 1. Creation. The Board of Social Work is 
created. The board consists of 15 members appointed by the 
governor. The members are: 

(1) ten social workers licensed under sections 148B.18 to 
148B.289; and 

(2) five public members as defined in section 214.02. 
Subd. 2. Qualifications of board members. Five of 

the social worker members of the board shall be licensed at the 
baccalaureate level of licensure and five shall be licensed at 
the master's level of licensure. 

Eight of the social worker members shall be engaged in the 
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practice of social work in Minnesota in the following settings: 
(1) one member shall be engaged in the practice of social 

work in a state agency; 
(2) one member shall be engaged in the practice of social 

work in a county agency; 
(3) two members shall be engaged in the practice of social 

work in a private agency; 
(4) one member shall be engaged in the practice of social 

work in a private clinical social work setting; 
(5) one member shall be an educator engaged in regular 

teaching duties at an accredited program of social work; 
(6) one member shall be engaged in the practice of social 

work in an elementary, middle, or secondary school; and 
(7) one member shall be employed in a hospital or nursing 

home licensed under chapter 144 or 144A. 
In addition, at least five members shall be persons with 

expertise in communities of color and at least six members shall 
reside outside of the seven-county metropolitan area. 

Subd. 4. Officers and executive director. The board 
shall annually elect from its membership a chair, vice-chair, 
and secretary-treasurer, and shall adopt rules to govern its 
proceedings. The board shall appoint and employ an executive 
director who is not· a member of the board. The employment of 
the executive director shall be subject to the terms described 
in section 214.04, subdivision 2a. 

Subd. 5. Terms and salaries. Chapter 214 applies to 
the Board of Social Work unless superseded by sections 148B.18 
to 148B.289. 
148B.20 DUTIES OF BOARD. 

Subdivision 1. General. The Board of Social Work 
shall: 

(a) Adopt and enforce rules for licensure of social workers 
and for regulation of their professional conduct. The rules 
must be designed to protect the public. 

(b) Adopt rules establishing standards and methods of 
determining whether applicants and licensees are qualified under 
sections 148B.21 to 148B.24. The rules must make provision for 
examinations and must establish standards for professional 
conduct, including adoption of a code of professional ethics and 
requirements for continuing education. 

(c) Hold examinations at least twice a year to assess 
applicants'. knowledge and skills. The exa~inations may be 
written or oral and may be administered by the board or by a 
body designated by the board. Examinations must test the 
knowledge and skills of each of the four groups of social 
workers qualified under section 148B.21 to practice social work. 
Examinations must minimize cultural bias and must be balanced in 
theory. 

(d) Issue licenses to individuals qualified under sections 
148B.18 to 148B.24. 

(e) Issue copies of the rules for licensure to all 
applicants. 

(f) Establish and implement procedures, including a 
standard disciplinary process, to ensure that individuals 
licensed as social workers will comply with the board's rules. 

(g) Establish, maintain, and publish annually a register of 
current licensees. 

(h) Educate the public about the existence and content of 
the rules for social work licensing to enable consumers to file 
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complaints against licensees who may have violated the rules. 
(i) Evaluate its rules in order to refine the standards for 

licensing social workers and to improve the methods used to 
enforce the board's standards. 

Subd. 3. Duties of board. The board shall establish 
fees, including late fees, for licenses and renewals so that the 
total fees collected by the board will as closely as possible 
equal anticipated expenditures during the fiscal biennium, as 
provided in section 16A.1285. Fees must be credited to accounts 
in the special revenue fund. 
148B.21 REQUIREMENTS FOR LICENSURE. 

Subdivision 1. Categories of licensees. The board 
shall issue licenses for the following four groups of 
individuals qualified under this section to practice social work: 

(1) social workers; 
(2) graduate social workers; 
(3) independent social workers; and 
(4) independent clinical social workers. 
Subd. 2. Fee. Each applicant shall pay a 

nonrefundable fee set by the board. Fees paid to the board 
shall be deposited in the state government special revenue fund. 

Subd. 3. Social worker. (a) Except as provided in 
paragraph (b), to be licensed as a social worker, an applicant 
must provide evidence satisfactory to the board that the 
applicant: 

(1) has received a baccalaureate degree from an accredited 
program of social work; 

(2) has passed the examination provided for in section 
148B.20, subdivision l; 

(3) will engage in social work practice only under 
supervision as defined in section 148B.18, subdivision 12, for 
at least two years in full-time employment or 4,000 hours of 
part-time employment; 

(4) will conduct all professional activities as a social 
worker in accordance with standards for professional conduct 
established by the statutes and rules of the board; and 

(5) has not engaged in conduct warranting a disciplinary 
action against a licensee. If the applicant has engaged in 
conduct warranting disciplinary action against a licensee, the 
board may issue a license only on the applicant's showing that 
the public will be protected through the issuance of a license 
with conditions or limitations approved by the board. 

(b) An applicant who was born in a foreign country, who has 
taken and failed to pass the examination specified in paragraph 
(a), clause (2), at least once since January 1, 2000, and for 
whom English is a second language, is eligible for licensure as 
a social worker if the applicant: 

(1) provides evidence satisfactory to the board of 
compliance with the requirements in paragraph (a), clauses (1), 
(3), (4), and (5); and 

(2) provides to the board letters of recommendation and 
experience ratings from two licensed social workers and one 
professor from the applicant's social work program who can 
attest to the applicant's competence. 
This paragraph expires August 1, 2005. 

Subd. 4. Graduate social worker. (a) Except as 
provided in paragraph (b), to be licensed as a graduate social 
worker, an applicant must provide evidence satisfactory to the 
board that the applicant: 
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(1) has received a master's degree from an accredited 
program of social work or doctoral degree in social work; 

(2) has passed the examination provided for in section 
148B.20, subdivision l; 

(3) will engage in social work practice only under 
supervision as defined in section 148B.18, subdivision 12; 

(4) will conduct all professional activities as a graduate 
social worker in accordance with standards for professional 
conduct established by the statutes and rules of the board; and 

(5) has not engaged in conduct warranting a disciplinary 
action against a licensee. If the applicant has engaged in 
conduct warranting disciplinary action against a licensee, the 
board may issue a license only on the applicant's showing that 
the public will be protected through the issuance of a license 
with conditions or limitations approved by the board. 

{b) An applicant who was born in a foreign country, who has 
taken and failed to pass the examination specified in paragraph 
{a), clause (2), at least once since January 1, 2000, and for 
whom English is a second language, is eligible for licensure as 
a graduate social worker if the applicant: 

{l) provides evidence satisfactory to the board of 
compliance with the requirements in paragraph {a), clauses (1), 
(3), {4), and {5); and 

{2) provides to the board letters of recommendation and 
experience ratings from two licensed social workers and one 
professor from the applicant's social work program who can 
attest to the applicant's competence. 
This paragraph expires August 1, 2005. 

Subd. 5. Independent social worker. {a) Except as 
provided in ~aragraph (b), to be licensed as an independent 
social worker, an applicant must provide evidence satisfactory 
to the board that the applicant: 

{l) has received a master's degree from an accredited 
program of social work or doctoral degree in social work; 

{2) has passed the examination provided for in section 
148B.20, subdivision l; 

{3) has practiced social work for at least two years in 
full-time employment or 4,000 hours of part-time employment 
under supervision as defined in section 148B.18, subdivision 12, 
after receiving the master's or doctoral degree in social work; 

(4) will conduct all professional activities as an 
independent social worker in accordance with standards for 
professional conduct established by the statutes and rules of 
the board; and 

{5) has not engaged in conduct.warranting a disciplinary 
action against a licensee. If the applicant has engaged in 
conduct warranting disciplinary action against a licensee, the 
board may issue a license only on the applicant's showing that 
the public will be protected through the issuance of a license 
with conditions or limitations approved by the board. 

(b) An applicant who was born in a foreign country, who has 
taken and failed to pass the examination specified in paragraph 
(a), clause (2), at least once since January 1, 2000, and for 
whom English is a second language, is eligible for licensure as 
an independent social worker if the applicant: 

(1) provides evidence satisfactory to the board of 
·Compliance with the requirements in paragraph (a), clauses (1), 
(3), (4), and (5); and 

(2) provides to the board letters of recommendation and 
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experience ratings from two licensed social workers and one 
professor from the applicant's social work program who can 
attest to the applicant's competence. 
This paragraph expires August 1, 2005. 

Subd. 6. Independent clinical social worker. (a) 
Except as provided in paragraph (b), to be licensed as an 
independent clinical social worker, an applicant must provide 
evidence satisfactory to the board that the applicant: 

(1) has received a master's degree from an accredited 
program of social work, or doctoral degree in social work, that 
included an advanced concentration of clinically oriented course 
work as defined by the board and a supervised clinical field 
placement at the graduate level, or post-master's clinical 
training that is found by the board to be equivalent to that 
course work and field placement; 

(2) has practiced clinical social work for at least two 
years in full-time employment or 4,000 hours of part-time 
employment under supervision as defined in section 148B.18, 
subdivision 12, after receiving the master's or doctoral degree 
in social work; 

(3) has passed the examination provided for in section 
148B.20, subdivision l; 

(4) will conduct· all professional activities as an 
independent clinical social worker in accordance with standards 
for professional conduct established by the statutes and rules 
of the board; and 

(5) has not engaged in conduct warranting a disciplinary 
action against a licensee. If the applicant has engaged in 
conduct warranting disciplinary action against a licensee, the 
board may issue a license only on the applicant's showing that 
the public will be protected through the issuance of a license 
with conditions or limitations approved by the board. 

(b) An applicant who was born in a foreign country, who has 
taken and failed to pass the examination specified in paragraph 
(a), clause (3), at least once since January 1, 2000, and for 
whom English is a second language, is eligible for licensure as 
an independent clinical social worker if the applicant: 

(1) provides evidence satisfactory to the board of 
compliance with the requirements in paragraph (a), clauses (1), 
(2), (4), and (5); and 

(2) provides to the board letters of recommendation and 
experience .ratings from two licensed social workers and one 
professor from the applicant's social work program who can 
attest to the applicant's competence. 
This paragraph expires August 1, 2005. 

Subd. 6a. Background checks. The board shall request 
a criminal history background check from the superintendent of 
the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension on all applicants for 
initial licensure. An application for a license under this 
section must be accompanied by an executed criminal history 
consent form and the fee for conducting the criminal history 
background check. The board shall deposit all fees paid by 
applicants for criminal history background checks under this 
subdivision into the miscellaneous special revenue fund. The 
fees collected under this subdivision are appropriated to the 
board for the purpose of reimbursing the Bureau of Criminal 
Apprehension for the ·cost of Lhe background checks upon their 
completion. 

Subd. 7. Temporary license. (a) The board may issue 
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a temporary license to practice social work to an applicant who 
is either: 

(1) not licensed in any jurisdiction but has: 
(i) applied for a license under section 148B.24; 
(ii) applied for a temporary license on a form provided by 

the board; 
(iii) submitted a form provided by the board authorizing 

the board to complete a criminal background check with the 
Minnesota Bureau of Criminal Apprehension; 

(iv) passed the applicable licensure examination provided 
for in section 148B.20, subdivision 1, paragraph (c); and 

(v) attested on a form provided by the board that the 
applicant has completed the requirements for a baccalaureate or 
master's degree from a social work program accredited by the 
Council on Social Work Education or the requirements for a 
doctoral degree in social work; or 

(2) licensed in another jurisdiction, may or may not have 
applied for a license under section 148B.20, and has: 

(i) applied for a temporary license on a form provided by 
the board; 

(ii) submitted a form provided by the board authorizing the 
board to complete a criminal background check with the Minnesota 
Bureau of Criminal Apprehension; 

(iii) submitted evidence satisfactory to the board that the 
applicant is currently licensed or credentialed to practice 
social work in another jurisdiction; and 

(iv) attested on a form provided by the board that the 
applicant has completed the requirements for a baccalaureate or 
master's degree from a social work program accredited by the 
Council on Social Work Education or the requirements for a 
doctoral degree in social work. 

·(b) An applicant for a temporary license must not practice 
social work in Minnesota until the applicant has been granted a 
temporary license. An applicant who is practicing social work 
at the time of application is ineligible for a temporary license. 

(c) An applicant for a temporary license must pay the 
nonrefundable application fee described in section 148B.226 plus 
the required fee for the cost of the criminal background check. 
Only one fee for the cost of the criminal background check must 
be submitted when the applicant is applying for both a temporary 
license and a license under section 148B.20. 

(d) An applicant who is not licensed in another 
jurisdiction and who obtains a temporary license may practice 
social work only under the supervision of a licensed social 
worker who is eligible to provide supervision under section 
148B.18, subdivision 12. The applicant's supervisor must 
provide evidence to the board, before the applicant is approved 
by the board for licensure, that the applicant has practiced 
social work under supervision. This supervision applies toward 
the supervision requirement required after licensure. 

(e) A temporary licensee who has provided evidence to the 
board that the licensee has completed the requirements for a 
baccalaureate degree in social work from a social work program 
accredited by the Council on Social Work Education may 
temporarily engage in the social work practice described in 
section 148B.18, subdivision 11, paragraph (b), but may not 
engage-in the social work practice described in section 148B.18, 
subdivision 11, paragraph (c). 

(f) A temporary licensee who has provided evidence to the 
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board that the licensee has completed the requirements for a 
master's degree in social work from a social work program 
accredited by the Council on Social Work Education, or the 
requirements for a doctoral degree in social work, may 
temporarily engage in the social work practice described in 
section 148B.18, subdivision 11, paragraphs (b) and (c). 

(g) A temporary licensee shall conduct all professional 
activities as a social worker in accordance with the 
requirements established by the statutes and rules of the board. 

(h) A temporary licensee must use the title "Social Worker -
Temporary Licensee" in all professional use of the temporary 
licensee's name. 

(i) The board may immediately revoke the temporary license 
of any temporary licensee who violates any requirements of this 
subdivision. A temporary licensee whose temporary license is 
revoked shall immediately return the temporary license to the 
board. 

(j) A temporary license is valid for six months, or until 
the board issues or denies a license, or until the board revokes 
the temporary license, whichever comes first, and is 
nonrenewable. An individual holding a temporary license may not 
practice social work for more than six months without a license 
under section 148B.24. 

Subd. 8. Change of licensure level. An applicant who 
applies under this section for licensure as a licensed 
independent social worker or a licensed independent clinical 
social worker, and who is licensed at the time of application as 
a licensed graduate social worker, or a licensed independent 
social worker, is not required to meet the educational 
requirement of this section. The applicant must meet all other 
requirements for licensure at the new level of licensure. 

Subd. 9. Supervision requirement. If supervised 
social work practice is required for licensure under this 
section, and if the applicant has not engaged in the practice of 
social work during the five years preceding the applicant's 
application for licensure, then the board may grant a 
conditional license to the applicant that would require that the 
applicant obtain additional social work supervision or 
additional continuing education hours, or both, within a 
specified time period after licensure. The board shall 
establish rules to implement this section. 
148B.215 CONTESTED CASE HEARING. 

An applicant or a licensee who is the subject of an adverse 
action by the board may request a contested case hearing under 
chapter 14. An applicant or a licensee who desires to request a 
contested case hearing must submit a written request to the 
board within 90 days of the date on which the board mailed the 
notification of the adverse action. 
148B.22 LICENSE RENEWAL REQUIREMENTS. 

Subdivision 1. Renewal. Licensees shall renew 
licenses at the time and in the manner established by the rules 
of the board. 

Subd. la. Reinstatement of expired licenses. (a) The 
board must reinstate an expired license under either of the 
following conditions: 

(1) hardship cases in which the applicant has: 
(i) demonstrated to the board's satisfaction that the 

applicant was unable to comply with the board's license renewal 
requirements due to a mental or physical condition; 
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(ii) submitted an application for reinstatement on a form 
provided by the board; 

(iii) paid the applicable hardship reinstatement fee 
described in section 148B.226, subdivision 2, paragraph (j}; 

(iv) demonstrated to the board's satisfaction that the 
applicant was in compliance with the board's continuing 
education requirements at the time the license expired; and 

(v) if applicable, demonstrated to the board's satisfaction 
that the licensee is in compliance with the supervised practice 
requirements established by the board in rule and statute; or 

(2) nonhardship cases in which the applicant has: 
(i) submitted an application for reinstatement on a form 

provided by the bqard within one year of the date the license 
expired; 

(ii) paid the applicable nonhardship reinstatement fee 
described in section 148B.226, subdivision 2, paragraph (k); 

(iii) demonstrated to the board's satisfaction that the 
applicant was in compliance with the board's continuing 
education requirements at the time the license expired; and 

(iv) if applicable, demonstrated to the board's 
satisfaction that the licensee is in compliance with the 
supervised practice requirements established by the board in 
rule and statute. 

(b) When an applicant's expired license has been reinstated 
under paragraph (a), clause (1) or (2), the reinstated license 
is effective the day following the day the license expired. 

(c) A licensee whose license expired on or after August 1, 
2001, may apply for reinstatement of an expired license pursuant 
to paragraph (a), clause (2). The application must be submitted 
no later than July 31, 2004. 

Subd. 2. Continuing education. At the time of 
renewal, each licensee shall provide evidence satisfactory to 
the board that the licensee has completed during each two-year 
period at least the equivalent of 30 clock hours of continuing 
professional postdegree education in programs approved by the 
board and continues to be qualified to practice under sections 
148B.18 to 148B.289. 

Subd. 3. Background checks. The board shall request 
a criminal history background check from the superintendent of 
the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension on ai1 licensees under its 
jurisdiction who did not complete a criminal history background 
check as part of an application for initial licensure. This 
background check is a onetime requirement. An application for a 
license under this section must be accompanied by an executed 
criminal history consent form and the fee for conducting the 
criminal history background check. The board shall deposit all 
fees paid by licensees for criminal history background checks 
under this subdivision into the miscellaneous special revenue 
fund. The fees collected under this subdivision are 
appropriated to the board for the purpose of reimbursing the 
Bureau of Criminal Apprehension for the cost of the background 
checks upon their completion. 
148B.224 ALTERNATIVE LICENSE STATUS. 

Subdivision 1. Defined; qualifications. A license 
may be placed on inactive status if a licensee is not practicing 
social work in Minnesota and the licensee does not wish to meet 
license renewal requirements every two years. A licensee 
qualifies for inactive status if the licensee demonstrates to 
the board that t~e licensee is not practicing social work, as 
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defined by section 148B.18, in any setting in Minnesota. 
Subd. 2. Application. (a) A licensee may apply for 

inactive status: (1) at any time by submitting a written 
application for inactive status; or (2) as an alternative to 
applying for the renewal of a license by so recording on the 
application for license renewal form and submitting the 
completed, signed form. The application for inactive status 
must be accompanied by the nonrefundable inactive status fee 
specified in section 148B.226, payable to the Board of Social 
Work. An application that is not completed or signed, or which 
is not accompanied by the correct inactive status fee, shall be 
returned to the licensee and is void. If the application for 
inactive status is received after the expiration date, the 
licensee shall pay a late fee as specified in section 148B.226, 
payable to the Board of Social Work, in addition to the inactive 
status fee, before the application for inactive status will be 
considered by the board. 

(b) The licensee shall attest on a form provided by the 
board that the applicant will not use the title social worker 
and will not engage in social work practice in any setting in 
Minnesota after the date of the board's approval of the 
application for inactive status. 

Subd. 3. Approval. The board shall approve an 
application for inactive status if the qualifications and 
application requirements have been met. 

Subd. 4. Practice prohibited. Licensees on inactive 
status shall not practice, attempt to practice, offer to 
practice, or advertise or hold themselves out as authorized to 
practice social work in any setting in Minnesota and shall use 
only the title "Social Worker - Inactive Status." 

Subd. 5. Time limit on inactive status. A licensee 
may maintain a license on inactive status for up to ten 
consecutive years. Within 30 days after the end of this 
ten-year period, the licensee must apply for reactivation of the 
license pursuant to subdivision 7 or the license expires. The 
board shall mail an application for reactivation to a licensee 
at least 45 days before the expiration date of the license. 
Placing the application for license reactivation in first class 
United States mail, addressed to the licensee at the licensee's 
last known mailing address with postage prepaid, constitutes 
valid mailing. Failure to receive the reactivation application 
does not release a license holder from the requirements of this 
section. 

Subd. 6. Continuing education requirement. A 
licensee whose license is on inactive status must continue to 
obtain the continuing education hours required by rule that 
would be required if the licensee's license were on active 
status. 

Subd. 7. Reactivating a license. (a) To reactivate a 
license, a licensee must complete an application for 
reactivation of a license, in a form specified by the board; 
document compliance with the continuing education hours required 
by subdivision 6 and any continuing education hours not reported 
by the last expiration date of the license; submit a supervision 
plan under rules of the board, if required; pay a prorated 
license renewal fee for the balance of the biennial renewal 
cycle; and pay the duplicate license certificate fee specified 
in section 148B.226, if the licensee needs a license in order to 
meet the requirements of Minnesota Rules, part 8740.0340, 
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subpart 4. 
{b) If a licensee who reactivates a license has been on 

inactive status for five or more consecutive years and has not 
practiced social work during this period, the licensee must 
receive at least 38 hours of supervision for the first year of 
full-time practice or 2,000 hours of part-time practice, in 
accordance with the supervised practice requirements in rules of 
the board, for application to the licensee's current level. A 
licensee must submit a supervision plan before beginning 
practice, in accordance with rules of the board. A licensee 
must have the supervisor submit verification of the supervised 
practice in a form specified by the board within 30 days of 
completing this supervised practice requirement. This 
supervision requirement must be waived if the licensee can 
document at least two years of social work practice, outside of 
Minnesota, within the previous five-year period. 

(c) For licensed social workers, the completed hours of 
supervised practice required under this subdivision apply toward 
any remaining hours required by Minnesota Rules, part 8740.0130, 
subpart 3. 

(d) Licensed graduate social workers and licensed 
independent social workers shall compl_ete this supervised 
practice requirement before applying for another social work 
license. Supervised practice hours obtained to meet this 
requirement may be applied toward the supervised practice 
requirement for another social work license. 

Subd. a. License or renewal fee. A licensee who is , 
approved for inactive status before the end of the renewal cycle 
may not receive a refund for any portion of the license fee or 
renewal fee. 

Subd. 9. Disciplinary or corrective action. The 
board shall retain jurisdiction over a license on inactive 
status and may take disciplinary or corrective action against 
the license based on conduct occurring before inactive status 
was granted or during the inactive status period. 
148B.225 EMERITUS STATUS. 

Subdivision 1. Defined; qualifications. A licensee 
may apply for an emeritus license if the licensee is retired 
from social work practice and does not intend to practice social 
work in any setting in Minnesota. A licensee shall qualify for 
an emeritus license if the licensee demonstrates to the board 
that the licensee is not practicing social work, as defined in 
section 148B.18, and verifies that the licensee is retired from 
social work practice. 

Subd. 2. Application. {a) A licensee may apply for 
an emeritus license: (1) at any time by submitting a written 
application for an emeritus license; or (2) as an alternative to 
applying for the renewal of .a license by so recording on the 
application for license renewal form and submitting a completed, 
signed form. The application for an emeritus license must be 
accompanied by the onetime, nonrefundable emeritus license fee 
specified in section 148B.226, payable to the Board of Social 
Work. An application which is not completed or signed, or which 
is not accompanied by the correct emeritus license fee, must be 
returned to the licensee and is void. 

{b) An applicant for an emeritus license shall attest on a 
form provided by the board that the licensee will not use the 
title "social worker" and will not engage in social work 
practice in any setting in Minnesota after the date of the 
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board's approval of the application for an emeritus license. 
Subd. 3. Approval. The board shall approve an 

application for an emeritus license if the qualifications and 
application requirements have been met. Upon approval of an 
application for an emeritus license, the board shall issue an 
emeritus license certificate. 

Subd. 4. Practice prohibited. A licensee with an 
emeritus license shall not practice, attempt to practice, offer 
to practice, or advertise or hold out as authorized to practice 
social work in any setting in Minnesota, and shall use only the 
title "social worker emeritus." 

Subd. 5. Reactivating a license. A licensee with an 
emeritus license ~ay reactivate a license by meeting the 
requirements of section 148B.224, subdivision 7. 

Subd. 6. License or renewal fee. A licensee who 
applies for and is approved for an emeritus license before the 
end of the renewal cycle may not receive a refund for any 
portion of the license fee or renewal fee. 

Subd. 7. Disciplinary action. (a) The board may 
resolve any pending complaints against a licensee before 
approving an application for an emeritus license. 

(b) The board shall retain jurisdiction and may take 
disciplinary action against a licensee holding an emeritus 
license based on conduct occurring before issuance of the 
emeritus license. 
148B.226 FEES. 

Subdivision 1. How payable. The fees in subdivision 
2 must be paid by personal check, bank draft, cashier's check, 
or money order payable to the Board of Social Work. All fees 
are nonrefundable. 

Subd. 2. Fee amounts. (a) Application fees for 
licensure are as follows: 

(1) for a licensed social worker or a licensed graduate 
social worker, $45; 

(2) for a licensed independent social worker or a licensed 
independent clinical social worker, $90; 

(3) for a reciprocity application for licensure at all 
levels, $150; and 

(4) for a temporary license application, $50. 
(b) A criminal background check fee must be paid in the 

amount determined by the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension. 
(c) License fees payable in addition to application fees 

for licensure are as follows: 
(1) licensed social worker, $115.20; 
(2) licensed graduate social worker, $201.60; 
(3) licensed independent social worker, $302.40; and 
(4) licensed independent clinical social worker, $331.20. 
(d) License renewal fees are as follows: 
(1) licensed social worker, $115.20; 
(2) licensed graduate social worker, $201.60; 
(3) licensed independent social worker, $302.40; and 
(4) licensed independent clinical social worker, $331.20. 
(e) An emeritus license fee is $43.20. 
(f) A duplicate license wall certificate is $30. 
(g) Inactive status fees are as follows: 
(1) licensed social worker, $115.20; 
(2) licensed graduate social worker, $201.60; 
(3) licensed independent social worker, $302.40; and 
(4) licensed independent clinical social worker, $331.20. 
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(h) A duplicate license card is $10. 
(i) A late fee is one-half of the applicable license 

renewal fee or inactive status fee. 
(j) Hardship reinstatement fees are as follows: 
(1) licensed social worker, $172.80; 
(2) licensed graduate social worker, $302.40; 
(3) licensed independent social worker, $453.60; and 
(4) licensed independent clinical social worker, $496.80. 
(k) Nonhardship reinstatement fees are as follows: 
(1) licensed social worker, $230.40; 
(2) licensed graduate social worker, $403.20; 
(3) licensed independent social worker, $604.80; and 
(4) licensed independent clinical social worker, $662.40. 

148B.24 RECIPROCITY. 
The board shall issue an appropriate license to an 

individual who holds a current license or other credential from 
another jurisdiction if the board finds that the requirements 
for that credential are substantially similar to the 
requirements in section 148B.21. 
148B.25 NONTRANSFERABILITY OF LICENSES. 

A social work license is not transferable. 
148B.26 DENIAL, SUSPEN~ION, OR REVOCATION OF LICENSE. 

Subdivision 1. Grounds. The following conduct is 
grounds for the board to deny the application for.or the renewal 
of a temporary license, to take disciplinary or other action 
against a license as provided for in section 148B.281, or to 
take corrective action against a licensee as provided for in 
chapter 214: 

(1) engaging in any conduct which violates any statute or 
rule enforced by the board, or any other law that is related to 
the practice of social work; 

(2) violating any order issued by the board; 
(3) practicing outside the scope of practice authorized by 

this chapter for each level of licensure; 
(4) failing to demonstrate the qualifications or satisfy 

the requirements for licensure, with the burden of proof on the 
applicant to demonstrate the qualifications or the satisfaction 
of the requirements; 

(5) obtaining a temporary license or license renewal by 
fraud, bribery, or cheating, or attempting to subvert the 
examination process; 

(6) making a false statement or misrepresentation to the 
board; 

(7) having been the subject of revocation, suspension, or 
surrender of a social work or related license or of other 
adverse action related to a social work or related license in 
another jurisdiction or country; 

(8) failing to report the revocation, suspension, or 
surrender of a social work or related license or other adverse 
action related to a social work or related license in another 
jurisdiction or country, failing to report that a complaint or 
other charges regarding the person's license have been brought 
in this or another jurisdiction or country, or having been 
refused a license by any other jurisdiction or country; 

(9) engaging in unprofessional conduct or any other conduct 
which has the potential for causing harm to the public, 
including any departure f tom or failure to conform to the 
minimum standards of acceptable and prevailing practice without 
actual injury having to be established; 
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(10) engaging in unethical conduct or conduct likely to 
deceive, defraud, or harm the public, demonstrating a willful or 
careless disregard for the health, welfare, or safety of a 
client, or engaging in a practice which is professionally 
incompetent with proof of actual injury not having to be 
established; 

(11) being adjudicated by a court of competent 
jurisdiction, within or without this state, as incapacitated, 
mentally incompetent or mentally ill, chemically dependent, 
mentally ill and dangerous to the public, or a psychopathic 
personality; 

(12) being unable to practice with reasonable skill and 
safety by reason of illness, use of alcohol, drugs, chemicals or 
any other materials, or as a result of any mental or physical 
condition; 

(13) engaging in improper or fraudulent billing practices, 
including violations of the federal Medicare and Medicaid laws 
or state medical assistance laws; 

· (14) obtaining money, property, or services from a client 
through the use of undue influence, harassment, duress, 
deception, or fraud or through the improper use of a 
professional position; 

(15) engaging in sexual contact, as defined in section 
148A.Ol, with a client or conduct that is or may ~easonably be 
interpreted by the client as sexual, engaging in verbal behavior 
that is or may reasonably be interpreted as sexually seductive 
or sexually demeaning to a client, or engaging in conduct that 
violates section 617.23; 

(16) being convicted, including a finding or verdict of 
guilt, whether or not the adjudication of guilt is withheld or 
not entered, an admission of guilt, or a no contest plea, of a 
crime against a minor; 

(17) being convicted, including a finding or verdict of 
guilt, whether or not the adjudication of guilt is withheld or 
not entered, an admission of guilt, or a no contest plea of a 
felony, gross misdemeanor, or misdemeanor reasonably related to 
the practice of social work, as evidenced by a certified copy of 
the conviction; 

(18) engaging in an unfair discriminatory practice 
prohibited by chapter 363A of an employee of the applicant, 
licensee, or facility in which the applicant or licensee 
practices; 

(19) engaging in false, fraudulent, deceptive, or 
misleading advertising; or 

(20) revealing a privileged communication from or relating 
to a client except when otherwise required or permitted by law. 

Subd. 2. Restoring a license. For reasons it finds 
sufficient, the board may grant a license previously refused, 
restore a license that has been revoked, or reduce a period of 
suspension or restriction of a license. 

Subd. 3. Review. Suspension, revocation, or 
restriction of a license shall be reviewed by the board at the 
request of the licensee against whom the disciplinary action was 
taken. 

Subd. 4. Conduct before licensure. The board's 
jurisdiction to exercise its powers as provided for in 
subdivision 1 extends to an applicant's or licensee's conduct 
that occurred prior to licensure, if the conduct fell below 
minimum standards for the practice of social work at the time 
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the conduct occurred or the conduct continues to affect the 
applicant's or licensee's present ability to practice social 
work in conformity with this chapter and the board's rules. 
148B.27 PROHIBITION AGAINST UNLICENSED PRACTICE OR USE 
OF TITLES; PENALTY. 

Subdivision 1. Practice. No individual shall engage 
in social work practice unless that individual holds a valid 
temporary license or a license as a licensed social worker, 
licensed graduate social worker, licens~d independent social 
worker, or licensed independent clinical social worker. 

Subd. 2. Use of titles. No individual shall be 
presented to the public by any title incorporating the words 
"social work" or "social worker" unless that individual holds a 
valid temporary license or a license issued under sections 
148B.18 to 148B.289. City, county, and state agency social 
workers who are not licensed under sections 148B.18 to 148B.289 
may use only the title city agency social worker or county 
agency social worker or state agency social worker. 

Subd. 2a. Jurisdiction. Nothing in sections 148B.60 
to 148B.71 shall prohibit the board from taking disciplinary or 
other action that the board is authorized to take against either 
a licensee who is found to be practicing outside the scope of 
the license or a person who is found to be engaging in the 
unauthorized practice of social work. 

Subd. 2b. Use of hospital social worker title. 
Individuals employed as social workers on June 30, 1996, by a 
hospital licensed under chapter 144 who do not qualify for 
licensure under section 148B.21, may use the title "hospital 
social worker" for as long as they continue to be employed by a 
hospital· licensed under chapter 144. 

Subd. 3. Penalty. A person who violates sections 
148B.21 to 148B.289 is guilty of a misdemeanor. 
148B.28 EXCEPTIONS TO LICENSE REQUIREMENT. 

Subdivision 1. Other professionals. Nothing in 
sections 148B.18 to 148B.289 shall be construed to prevent 
members of other professions or occupations.from performing 
functions for which they are qualified or licensed. This 
exception includes but is not limited to licensed physicians; 
registered nurses; licensed practical nurses; psychological 
practitioners; probation officers; members of the clergy; 
attorneys; marriage and family therapists; chemical dependency 
counselors; professional counselors; school counselors; and 
registered occupational therapists or certified occupational 
therapist assistants. These persons must not, however, hold 
themselves out to the public by any title or description stating 
or implying that they are engaged in the practice of social 
work, or that they are licensed to engage in the practice of 
social work. Persons engaged in the practice of social work are 
not exe~pt from the board's jurisdiction solely by the use of 
one of the above titles. 

Subd. 2. Students. An internship, externship, or any 
other social work experience that is required for the completion 
of an accredited program of social work does not constitute the 
practice of social work under this chapter. 

Subd. 3. Geographic waiver. A geographic waiver may 
be granted by the board on a case-by-case basis to agencies with 
special regional hiring problems. The waiver will permit 
agencies to hire individuals, who do not meet the qualifications 
of section 148B.21, to practice social work. 
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Subd. 4. City, county, and state agency social workers. 
The licensing of city, county, and state agency social 
workers shall be voluntary. City, county, and state agencies 
employing social workers shall not be required to employ 
licensed social workers. 

Subd. s. Federally recognized tribes and private 
nonprofit agencies with a minority focus. The licensure of 
social workers who are employed by federally recognized tribes, 
or by private ·nonprofit agencies whose primary service focus 
addresses ethnic minority populations, and are themselves 
members of ethnic minority populations within said agencies, 
shall be voluntary. 
148B.281 COMPLAINTS; INVESTIGATION AND HEARING. 

Subdivision 1. Discovery; subpoenas. In all matters 
relating to its lawful regulatory activities, the board may 
issue subpoenas and compel the attendance of witnesses and the 
production of all necessary papers, books, records, documents, 
and other evidentiary material. Any person failing or refusing 
to appear to testify regarding any matter about which the person 
may be lawfully questioned or failing to produce any papers, 
books, records, documents, or other evidentiary materials in the 
matter to be heard, a~ter having been required by order of the 
board or by a subpoena of the board to do so may, upon 
application to the district court in any district, be ordered to 
comply with the subpoena or order. Any board member may 
administer oaths to witnesses or take their affirmation. 
Depositions may be taken within or without the state in the 
manner provided by law for the taking of depositions in civil 
actions. A subpoena or other process or paper may be served 
upon a person it names anywhere within the state by any officer 
authorized to serve subpoenas or other process or paper in civil 
actions in the same manner as prescribed by law for service of 
process issued out of the district court of this state. 

Subd. 2. Classification of data. The board shall 
maintain any records, other than client records, obtained as 
part of an investigation, as investigative data under section 
13.41. Client records are classified as private under chapter 
13, and must be protected as such in the records of the board 
and in administrative or judicial proceedings unless the client 
authorizes the board in writing to make public the identity of 
the client or a portion or all of the client's records. 

Subd. 3. Examination •. If the board has probable 
cause to believe that an applicant or licensee has engaged in 
conduct prohibited by chapter 214 or a statute or rule enforced 
by the board, it may issue an order directing the applicant or 
licensee to submit to a mental or physical examination or 
chemical dependency evaluation. For the purpose of this 
section, every applicant or licensee is considered to have 
consented to submit to a mental or physical examination or 
chemical dependency evaluation when ordered to do so in writing 
by the board and to have waived all objections to the 
admissibility of the examiner's or evaluator's testimony or 
reports on the grounds that the testimriny or reports constitute 
a privileged communication. 

Subd. 4. Failure to submit to an examination. 
Failure to submit to an examination or evaluation when ordered, 
unless the failure was due to circumstances beyond the control 
of the appliqant or licensee, constitutes an admission that the 
applicant or licensee violated chapter 214 or a statute or rule 
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enforced by the board, based on the factual specifications in 
the examination or evaluation order, and may result in an 
application being denied or a default and final disciplinary 
order being entered without the taking of testimony or other 
evidence. If a contested case hearing is requested, the only 
issues to be determined at the hearing are whether the 
designated board member had probable cause to issue the 
examination o~ evaluation order and whether the failure to 
submit was due to circumstances beyond the control of the 
applicant or licensee. Neither the record of a proceeding under 
this subdivision nor the orders entered by the board are 
admissible, subject to subpoena, or to be used against the 
applicant or licensee in a proceeding in which the board is not 
a party or decision maker. Information obtained under this 
subdivision is classified as private under chapter 13 and the 
orders issued by the board as the result of an applicant's or a 
licensee's failure to submit to an examination or evaluation are 
classified as public. 

Subd. 5. Access to data and records. In addition to 
ordering a physical or mental examination or chemical dependency 
evaluation and notwithstanding section 13.384, 144.651, 595.02, 
or any other law limiting access to medical or other health 
records, the board may obtain data and health records relating 
to an applicant or licensee without the applicant's or 
licensee's consent if the board has probable cause to believe 
that an applicant or licensee has engaged in conduct prohibited 
by chapter 214 or a statute or rule enforced by the board. An 
applicant, licensee, insurance company, health care facility, 
provider as defined in section 144.335, subdivision 1, paragraph 
(b), or government agency shall comply with any written request 
of the board under this subdivision and is not liable in any 
action for damages for releasing the data requested by the board 
if the data are released in accordance with a written request 
made under this subdivision, unless the information is false and 
the per~on or entity giving the information knew or had reason 
to know that the information was false. Information on 
individuals obtained under this section is investigative data 
under section 13.41. 

Subd. 6. Forms of disciplinary action. When grounds 
for disciplinary action exist under chapter 214 or a statute or 
rule enforced by the board, it may take one or more of the 
following disciplinary actions: 

(1) deny the right to practice; 
(2) revoke the right to practice; 
(3) suspend the right to practice; 
(4) impose limitations on the practice of the licensee; 
(5) impose conditions on the practice of the licensee; 
(6) impose a civil penalty not exceeding $10,000 for each 

separate violation, the amount of the civil penalty to be fixed 
so as to deprive the licensee of any economic advantage gained 
by reason of the violation charged, or to discourage repeated 
violations; 

(7) impose a fee to reimburse the board for all or part of 
the cost of the proceedings resulting in disciplinary action 
including, but not limited to, the amount paid by the board for 
services from the Office of Administrative Hearings, attorney 
fees, court reporters, witnesses, reproduction of records, board 
members' per diem compensation, board staff time, and expense 
incurred by board members and staff; 
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(8) censure or reprimand the licensee; 
(9) require the passing of the examination provided for in 

section 148B.201 subdivision l; or 
(10) take any other action justified by the facts of the 

case. 
Subd. 7. Censure or reprimand. (a) In addition to 

the board's authority to issue a censure or a reprimand to a 
licensee, a designated board member reviewing a complaint as 
provided for in chapter 214 may issue a censure or a reprimand 
to a licensee. The censure or reprimand shall notify the 
licensee that the censure or reprimand will become final 
disciplinary action unless the licensee requests a hearing 
within 14 days. 

(b) If the licensee requests a timely hearing, the 
committee shall either schedule a hearing or withdraw the 
censure or reprimand. The hearing shall be de nova before the 
board, provided that the designated board member who issued the 
censure or reprimand shall not deliberate or vote. Evidence 
shall be received only in form of affidavits or other documents 
except for testimony by the licensee or other witnesses whose 
testimony the board chair has authorized for good cause. If 
testimony is authorized, it shall be subject to 
cross-examination. ·After the hearing, the board shall affirm or 
dismiss the censure or reprimand, or direct the committee to 
initiate a contested case proceeding pursuant to chapter 14. 

Subd. 8. Temporary suspension. In addition to any 
other remedy provided by law, the board may, acting through its 
designated board member and without a hearing, temporarily 
suspend the right of a licensee to practice if the board member 
finds that the licensee has violated a statute or rule that the 
board is empowered to enforce and that continued practice by the 
licensee would create a serious risk of harm to others. The 
suspension is in effect upon service of a written order on the 
licensee specifying the statute or rule violated. The order 
remains in effect until the board issues a final order in the. 
matter after a hearing or upon agreement between the board and 
the licensee. Service of the order is effective if the order is 
served on the licensee or counsel of record personally or by 
first class mail to the most recent address provided to the 
board for the licensee or the counsel of record. Within ten 
days of service of the order, the board shall hold a hearing 
before its.own members on the sole issue of whether there is a 
reasonable basis to continue, modify, or lift the suspension. 
Evidence presented by the board or licensee may be in affidavit 
form only. The licensee or the counsel of record may appear for 
oral argument. Within five working days after the hearing, the 
board shall issue its order and, if the suspension is continued, 
schedule a contested case hearing within 45 days after issuance 
of the order. The administrative law judge shall issue a report 
within 30 days after closing of the contested case hearing 
record. The board shall issue a final order within 30 days 
after receipt of that report. 

Subd. 9. Automatic suspension; restoration. The 
right to practice is automatically suspended if (1) a guardian 
of a licensee is appointed by order of a court under sections 
524.5-101 to 524.5-502, or (2) the licensee is committed by order of a 
court pursuant to chapt~r 253B. The right to practice remains 
suspended until the licensee is restored to capacity by a court 
and, upon petition by the licensee,· the suspension is terminated 
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by the board after a hearing or upon agreement between the board 
and the licensee. In its discretion, the board may restore and 
reissue permission to provide services, but as a condition of 
the permission may impose a disciplinary or corrective measure 
that it might originally have imposed. 

Subd. 10. Additional remedies. The board may in its 
own name issue a cease and desist order to stop a person from 
engaging in an unauthorized practice or violating or threatening 
to violate a statute, rule, or order which the board has issued 
or is empowered to enforce. The cease and desist order must 
state the reason for its issuance and give notice of the 
person's right to request a hearing under sections 14.57 to 
14.62. If, within 15 days of service of the order, the subject 
of the order fails to request a hearing in writing, the order is 
the final order of the board and is not reviewable by a -court or 
agency. 

A hearing must be initiated by the board not later than 30 
days from the date of the board's receipt of a written hearing 
request. Within 30 days of receipt of the administrative law 
judge's report, the board shall issue a final order modifying, 
vacating, or making permanent the cease and desist order as the 
facts require. The final order remains in effect until modified 
or vacated by the board. 

When a request for a stay accompanies a timely hearing 
request, the board may, in its discretion, grant the stay. If 
the board does not grant a requested stay, it shall refer the 
request to the Office of Administrative Hearings within three 
working days of receipt of the request. Within ten days after 
receiving the request from the board, an administrative law 
judge shall issue a recommendation to grant or deny the stay. 
The board shall grant or deny the stay within five days of 
receiving the administrative law judge's recommendation. 

In the.event of noncompliance with a cease and desist 
order, the board may institute a proceeding in Ramsey County 
District Court to obtain injunctive relief or other appropriate 
relief, including a civil penalty payable to the board not 
exceeding $10,000 for each separate violation. 

Subd. 11. Injunctive relief. In addition to any 
other remedy provided by law, including the issuance of a cease 
and desist order under subdivision 1, the board may in its own 
name bring an action in Ramsey County District Court for 
injunctive relief to restrain any unauthorized practice or 
violation or threatened violation of any statute, rule, or order 
which the board is empowered to regulate, enforce, or issue. A 
temporary restraining order must be granted in the proceeding if 
continued activity by a licensee would create a serious risk of 
harm to others. The board need not show irreparable harm. 

Subd. 12. Additional powers. The issuance of a cease 
and desist order or injunctive relief granted under this section 
does not relieve a licensee from criminal prosecution by a 
competent authority or from disciplinary action by the board. 
Nothing in this section limits the board's authority to seek 
injunctive relief under section 214.11. 

Subd. 13. Pending appeal. A suspension, revocation, 
condition, limitation, qualification, or restriction of an 
individual's license or right to practice is in effect pending 
determination of an appeal unless the court, upon petition and 
for good cause shown, orders otherwise. 

Subd. 14. Duty to warn. Section 148.975 applies to 
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social work licensees and clients. 
148B.282 PROFESSIONAL COOPERATION; APPLICANT OR LICENSEE. 

An applicant or a licensee who is the subject of an 
investigation, or who is questioned in connection with an 
investigation, by or on behalf of the board shall cooperate 
fully with the investigation. Cooperation includes responding 
fully and promptly to any question raised by or on behalf of the 
board relating to the subject of the investigation, providing 
copies of client and other records in the applicant's or 
licensee's possession relating to the matter under investigation 
and executing releases for records, as reasonably requested by 
the board, and appearing at conferences or hearings scheduled by 
the board. The board shall pay for copies requested. The board 
shall be allowed access to any records of a client provided 
services by the applicant or licensee under review. If the 
client has not signed a consent permitting ~ccess to the 
client's records, the applicant or licensee shall delete any 
data in the record that identifies the client before providing 
them to the board. The board shall maintain any records 
obtained pursuant to this section as investigative data pursuant 
to chapter 13. 
148B.283 REPORTING OBLIGATIONS. 

Subdivision 1. Permission to report. A person who 
has knowledge of any conduct by an applicant or a licensee which 
may constitute grounds for disciplinary action under this 
chapter or the rules of the board or of any unlicensed practice 
under this chapter may report the violation to the board. 

Subd. 2. Institutions. A state agency, political 
subdivision, agency of a local unit of government, private 
agency, hospital, clinic, prepaid medical plan, or other health 
care institution or organization located in this state shall 
report to the board any action taken by the agency, institution, 
or organization or any of its administrators or medical or other 
committees to revoke, suspend, restrict, or condition an 
applicant's or a licensee's privilege to practice or treat 
patients or clients in the institution, or as part of the 
organization, any denial of privileges, or any other 
disciplinary action for conduct that might constitute grounds 
for disciplinary action by the board under this chapter. The 
institution or organization shall also report the resignation of 
any applicants or licensees prior to the conclusion of any 
disciplinary action proceeding for conduct that might constitute 
grounds for disciplinary action under this chapter, or prior to 
the commencement of formal charges but after the applicant or 
licensee had knowledge that formal charges were contemplated or 
in preparation. 

Subd. 3. Professional societies or associations. A 
state or local professional society or association for licensees 
shall forward to the board any complaint received concerning the 
ethics or conduct of the practice which the board regulates. 
The society or association shall forward a complaint to the 
board upon receipt of the complaint. The society or association 
shall also report to the board any disciplinary action taken 
against a member·. 

Subd. 4. Licensed professionals. {a) A licensed 
health professional shall report to the board information on the 
following conduct by an applicant or a licensee: 

(1) sexual contact or sexual conduct with a client or a 
former client; 
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(2) failure to make reports required by section 626.556 or 
626.557; 

(3) impairment in the ability to practice by reason of 
illness, use of alcohol, drugs, or other chemicals, or as a 
result of any mental or physical condition; 

(4) improper or fraudulent billing practices, including 
violations of the federal Medicare and Medicaid laws or state 
medical assistance laws; 

(5) fraud in the licensure application process or any other 
false statements made to the board; 

(6) conviction of a felony reasonably related to the 
practice of social work, including conviction of the 
psychotherapist sex crimes in chapter 609; and 

(7) a violation of a board order. 
(b) A licensed health professional shall also report to the 

board information on any other conduct by an applicant or a 
licensee that constitutes grounds for disciplinary action under 
this chapter or the rules of the board when the licensed health 
professional reasonably believes, after appropriate assessment, 
that the client's functioning has been or likely will be 
affected negatively by the conduct, r~gardless of whether the 
conduct has ceased. 

(c) Notwithstanding paragraphs (a) and (b), a licensed 
health professional shall report to the board knowledge of any 
actions which institutions must report under subdivision 2. 

Subd. 5. Reporting other licensed professionals. An 
applicant or a licensee shall report to the appropriate board 
conduct by a licensed health professional which would constitute 
grounds for disciplinary action under the chapter governing the 
practice of the other licensed health professional and which is 
required by law to be reported to the same board. 

Subd. 6. Insurers and other entities making liability 
payments. (a) Four times each year as prescribed by the 
board, each insurer authorized to sell insurance described in 
section 60A.06, subdivision 1, clause (13), and providing 
professional liability insurance to licensees, or the Medical 
Joint Underwriting Association under chapter 62F, shall submit 
to the board a report concerning the licensees against whom 
malpractice settlements or awards have been made to the 
plaintiff. The report must contain at least the following 
information: 

(1) the total number of malpractice settlements or awards 
made; 

(2) the date the malpractice settlements or awards were 
made; 

(3) the allegations contained in the claim or complaint 
leading to the settlements or awards made; 

(4) the dollar amount of each malpractice settlement or 
award; 

(5) the regular address of the practice of the licensee 
against whom an award was made or with whom a settlement was 
made; and 

(6) the name of the licensee against whom an award was made 
or with whom a settlement was made. 

(b) A medical clinic, hospital, political subdivision, or 
other entity which makes professional liability insurance 
payments on behalf of applicants or licensees shall submit to 
the board a report concerning malpractice settlements or awards 
paid on behalf of applicants or licensees, and any settlements 
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or awards paid by a clinic, hospital, political subdivision, or 
other entity on its own behalf because of care rendered by 
applicants or licensees. This requirement excludes forgiveness 
of bills. The report shall be made to the board within 30 days 
of payment of all or part of any settlement or award. 

(c) The insurance company or other entity making 
professional liability insurance payments shall, in addition to 
the information in paragraph (b), report to the board any 
information it possesses that tends to substantiate a charge, 
including the factual data underlying a settlement, that an 
applicant or a licensee may have engaged in conduct violating 
this chapter. 

Subd. 7. Courts. The court administrator of district 
court or any other court of competent jurisdiction shall report 
to the board any judgment or other determination of the court 
that adjudges or includes a finding that an applicant or a 
licensee is a person who is mentally ill, mentally incompetent, 
guilty of a felony, guilty of a violation of federal or state 
narcotics laws or controlled substances act, or guilty of an 
abuse or fraud under Medicare or Medicaid; or that appoints a 
guardian of the applicant or licensee pursuant to sections 
524.5-101 to 524.5-502 or commits an applicant or a licensee pursuant 
to chapter 253B. 

Subd. 8. Self-reporting. An applicant or a licensee 
shall report to the board any personal action that would require 
that a report be filed by any person, health care facility, 
business, or organization pursuant to subdivisions 2 to 7. 

Subd. 9 •. Deadlines; forms. Reports required by 
subdivisions 2 to 8 must be submitted not later than 30 days 
after the occurrence of the reportable event or transaction. 
The board may provide forms for the submission of reports 
required by this section, may require that reports be submitted 
on the forms provided, and may adopt rules necessary to assure 
prompt and accurate reporting. 

Subd. 10. Subpoenas. The board may issue subpoenas 
for the production of any reports required by subdivisions 2 to 
8 or any related documents. 
148B.284 IMMUNITY. 

Subdivision l. Reporting. Any person, health care 
facility, business, or organization is immune from civil . 
liability or criminal prosecution for submitting in good faith a 
report under section 148B.283 or for otherwise reporting, 
providing information, or testifying about violations or alleged 
violations of this chapter. The reports are classified under 
section 13.41. 

Subd. 2. Investigation. Board members and employees; 
persons engaged on behalf of the board in the investigation of 
violations and in the preparation, presentation, and management 
of and testimony pertaining to charges of violations; and 
persons engaged in monitoring compliance with statutes, rules, 
board orders, or corrective action agreements are immune from 
civil liability and criminal prosecution for any actions, 
transactions, or publications in the execution of, or relating 
to, their duties under this chapter. 
148B.285 DISCLOSURE. 

Subdivision l. Contested case proceedings. (a) Upon 
application of a party in a board hearing or a contested case 
hearing before the board, the board shall produce and permit the 
inspection and copying, by or on behalf of the moving party, of 
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any designated documents or papers relevant to the proceedings, 
in accordance with rule 34, Minnesota Rules of Civil Procedure. 

(b) The board hearing or contested case hearing shall be 
open to the public, except that the board or administrative law 
judge shall close the hearing for testimony by clients, and 
testimony and argument about clients. 

(c) Notwithstanding section 13.41, information which may 
identify a client, client records, and licensee health records 
are private data during the contested case hearing, as part of 
the hearing record, and as part of any appellate or other court 
record. 

(d) Clients may waive the protections afforded by this 
subdivision. 

Subd. 2. Information on disciplinary actions. If the 
board imposes disciplinary measures or takes disciplinary action 
of any kind, the name and business address of the licensee, the 
nature of the misconduct, and the action taken by the board, 
including all settlement agreements and other board orders, are 
public data. 

Subd. 3. Exchange of information. The board shall 
exchange information with other boards, agencies, or departments 
within the state, as required under section 214.10, subdivision 
8, paragraph (c). 

Subd. 4.. Information to the complainant. The board 
shall furnish to a person who made a complaint a statement of 
the result of an investigation of the complaint and a 
description of the activities and actions of the board relating 
to the complaint. 

Subd. 5. Classification of certain residence addresses 
and telephone numbers. Notwithstanding section 13.41, 
subdivision 2 or 4, the residence address and telephone number 
of an applicant or licensee are private data on individuals as 
defined in section 13.02, subdivision 12, if the applicant or 
licensee so requests and provides an alternative address and 
telephone number. 

Subd. 6. Publication of disciplinary actions. At 
least annually, each board shall publish and release to the 
public a description of all discip~inary measures or actions 
taken by the board. The publication must include, for each 
disciplinary measure or action taken, the name and business 
address of the licensee, the nature of the misconduct, and the 
measure or action taken by the board. 
148B.286 PROFESSIONAL ACCOUNTABILITY. 

Subdivision 1. Investigation. The board shall 
maintain and keep current a file containing the reports and 
complaints filed against applicants or licensees within the 
board's jurisdiction. Each complaint filed with the board 
pursuant to chapter 214 must be investigated according to 
chapter 214. If the files maintained by the board show that a 
malpractice settlement or award to the plaintiff has been made 
against an applicant or a licensee as reported by insurers under 
section 148B.283, the executive director of the board shall 
notify the board and the board may authorize a review of the 
provider's practice. 

Subd. 2. Attorney general investigates. When the 
board initiates a review of an applicant's or a licensee's 
practice it shall notify the attorney general who shall 
investigate the matter in the same manner as provided in chapter 
214. If an investigation is to be made, the attorney general 
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shall notify the applicant or licensee, and, if the incident 
being investigated occurred there, the administrator and chief 
of staff at the health care facilities or clinics in which the 
professional serves, if applicable. 

Subd. 3. Access to records. The board shall be 
allowed access to any records of a client provided services by 
the applicant or licensee under review. If the client has not 
signed a consent permitting access, the applicant, licensee, or 
custodian of the records shall first delete the client's name or 
other client identifiers before .providing the records to the 
board. 
148B.287 MALPRACTICE HISTORY. 

Subdivision 1 •. Submission. Licensees or applicants 
for licensure who have previously practiced in another state 
shall submit with their application the following information: 

(1) number, date, and disposition of any malpractice 
settlement or award made relating to the quality of services 
provided by the licensee or applicant; and 

(2) number, date, and disposition of any civil litigations 
or arbitrations relating to the quality of services provided by 
the licensee or applicant in which the party complaining against 
the licensee or applicant prevailed or otherwise received a 
favorable decision or order. 

Subd. 2. Board action. The board shall give due 
consideration to the information submitted under this section. 
A licensee or applicant for licensure who willfully submits 
incorrect information is subject to disciplinary action under 
this chapter. 
148B.288 EVIDENCE OF PAST SEXUAL CONDUCT. 

In a proceeding for the suspension or revocation of the 
right to practice or other disciplinary or adverse action 
involving sexual contact with a client or former client, the 
board or administrative law judge shall not consider evidence of 
the client's previous sexual conduct nor shall any reference to 
this conduct be made during the proceedings or in the findings, 
except by motion of the complainant, unless the evidence would 
be admissible under the applicable provisions of section 
609.347, subdivision 3. 
148B.289 TAX CLEARANCE CERTIFICATE. 

Subdivision 1. Certificate required. The board may 
not issue or renew a license if the commissioner of revenue 
notifies the board and the licensee or applicant for a license 
that the licensee or applicant owes the state delinquent taxes 
in the amount of $500 or more. The board may issue or renew a 
license or filing only if the commissioner of revenue issues a 
tax clearance certificate and the commissioner of revenue or the 
licensee or applicant forwards a copy of the clearance.to the 
board. The commissioner of revenue may issue a clearance 
certificate only if the licensee or applicant does not owe the 
state any uncontested delinquent taxes. For purposes of this 
section, "taxes" means all taxes payable to the commissioner of 
revenue, including penalties and interest due on those taxes. 
"Delinquent taxes" do not include a tax liability if (1) an 
administrative or court action that contests the amount or 
validity of the liability has been filed or served, (2) the 
appeal period to contest the tax liability has not expired, or 
(3) the licensee or applicant has entered into a payment 
agreement to pay the liability and is current with the payments. 

Subd. 2. Hearing. In lieu of the notice and hearing 
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requirements of section 148B.281, when a licensee or applicant 
is required to obtain a clearance certificate under this 
subdivision, a contested case hearing must be held if the 
licensee or applicant requests a hearing in writing to the 
commissioner of revenue within 30 days of the date of the notice 
required in subdivision 1. The hearing must be held within 45 
days of the date the commissioner of revenue refers the case to 
the Office of Administrative Hearings. Notwithstanding any 
other law, the licensee or applicant must be served with 20 
days' notice in writing specifying the time and place of the 
hearing and the allegations against the licensee or applicant. 
The notice may be served personally or by mail. 

Subd. 3. Information required. The board shall 
require all licensees· or applicants to provide their Social 
Security number and Minnesota business identification number on 
all· license applications. Upon request of the commissioner of 
revenue, the board must provide to the commissioner of revenue a 
list of all licensees and applicants, including the name and 
address, Social Security number, and business identification 
number. The commissioner of revenue may request a list of the 
licensees and applicants no more than once each calendar year. 
148B.60 DEFINITIONS. 

Subdivision 1. Terms. As used in sections 148B.60 to 
148B.71, the following terms have the meanings given them in 
this section. 

Subd. 2. Office of Mental Health Practice or office. 
"Office of Mental Health Practice" or "office" means the Office 
of Mental Health Practice established in section 148B.61. 

Subd. 3. Unlicensed mental health practitioner or 
practitioner. "Unlicensed mental health practitioner" or 
"practitioner" means a person who provides or purports to 
provide, for remuneration, mental health services as defined in 
subdivision 4. It does not include persons licensed by the 
Board of Medical Practice under chapter 147 or registered by the 
Board of Medical Practice under chapter 147A; the Board of 
Nursing under sections 148.171 to 148.285; the Board of 
Psychology under sections 148.88 to 148.98; the Board of Social 
Work under sections 148B.18 to 148B.289; the Board of Marriage 
and Family Therapy under sections 148B.29 to 148B.39; the Board 
of Behavioral Health and Therapy under sections 148B.50 to 
148B.593; or another licensing board if the person is practicing 
within the scope of the license; members of the clergy who are 
providing pastoral services in the context of performing and 
fulfilling the salaried duties and obligations required of a 
member of the clergy by a religious congregation; American 
Indian medicine men and women; licensed attorneys; probation 
officers; school counselors employed by a school district while 
acting within the scope of employment as school counselors; 
registered occupational therapists; or occupational therapy 
assistants. For the purposes of complaint investigation or 
disciplinary action relating to an individual practitioner, the 
term includes: 

(1) persons employed by a program licensed by the 
commissioner of human services who are acting as mental health 
practitioners within the scope of their employment; 

(2) persons employed by a program licensed by the 
commissioner of human services who are providing chemical 
dependency counseling services; persons who are providing 
chemical dependency counseling services in private practice; and 
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(3) clergy who are providing mental health services_ that 
are equivalent to those defined in subdivision 4. 

Subd. 4. Mental health services. "Mental health 
services" means psychotherapy and the professional assessment, 
treatment, or counseling of another person for a cognitive, 
behavioral, emotional, social, or mental condition, symptom, or 
dysfunction, including intrapersonal or interpersonal 
dysfunctions. The term does not include pastoral services 
provided by members of the clergy to members of a religious 
congregation in the context of performing and fulfilling the 
salaried duties and obligations required of a member of the 
clergy by that religious congregation. 

Subd. 5. Mental health client or client. "Mental 
health client" or "client" means a person who receives or pays 
for the services of a mental health practitioner. 

Subd. 7. Commissioner. "Commissioner" means the 
commissioner of health or the commissioner's designee. 

Subd. 8. Disciplinary action. "Disciplinary action" 
means an adverse action taken by the commissioner against an 
unlicensed mental health practitioner relating to the person's 
right to provide mental health services. 
148B.61 OFFICE OF MENTAL HEALTH PRACTICE. 

Subdivision 1. Creation. The Office of Mental Health 
Practice is created in the Department of Health to investigate 
complaints and take and enforce disciplinary actions against all 
unlicensed mental health practitioners for violations of 
prohibited conduct, as defined in section 148B.68. The office 
shall also serve as a clearinghouse on mental health services 
and both licensed and unlicensed mental health professionals, 
through the dissemination of objective information to consumers 
and through the development and performance of public education 
activities, including outreach, regarding the provision of 
mental health services and both licensed and unlicensed mental 
health professionals who provide these services. 

Subd. 2. Rulemaking. The commissioner of health 
shall adopt rules necessary to implement, administer, or enforce 
provisions of sections 148B.60 to 148B.71 pursuant to chapter 
14. The commissioner may not adopt rules that restrict or 
prohibit persons from providing mental health services on the 
basis of education, training, experience, or supervision. 
148B.63 REPORTING OBLIGATIONS. 

Subdivision 1. Permission to report. A person who 
has knowledge of any conduct constituting grounds for 
disciplinary action relating to unlicensed practice under this 
chapter may report the violation to the Office of Mental Health 
Practice. 

Subd. 2. Institutions. A state agency, political 
subdivision, agency of a local unit of government, private 
agency, hospital, clinic, prepaid medical plan, or other health 
care institution or organization located in this state shall 
report to the Office of Mental Health Practice any action taken 
by the agency, institution, or organization or any of its 
administrators or medical or other committees to revoke, 
suspend, restrict, or condition an unlicensed mental health 
practitioner's privilege to practice or treat patients or 
clients in the institution, or as part of the organization, any 
denial of privileges, or any other disciplinary action for 
conduct that might constitute grounds for disciplinary action by 
the office under this chapter. The institution, organization, 
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or governmental entity shall also report the resignation of any 
unlicensed mental health practitioners prior to the conclusion 
of any disciplinary action proceeding for conduct that might 
constitute grounds for disciplinary action under this chapter, 
or prior to the commencement of formal charges but after the 
practitioner had knowledge that formal charges were contemplated 
or were being prepared. 

Subd. 3. Professional societies. A state or local 
professional society for unlicensed mental health practitioners 
shall report to the Office of Mental Health Practice any 
termination, revocation, or suspension of membership or any 
other disciplinary action taken against an unlicensed 
practitioner. If the society has received a complaint that 
might be grounds for discipline under this chapter against a 
member on which it has not taken any disciplinary action, the 
society shall report the complaint and the reason why it has not 
taken action on it or shall direct the complainant to the Office 
of Mental Health Practice. 

Subd. 4. Licensed professionals. A licensed health 
professional shall report to the Office of Mental Health 
Practice personal knowledge of any conduct that the licensed 
health professional r~asonably believes constitutes grounds for 
disciplinary action under this chapter by any unlicensed mental 
health practitioner, including conduct indicating that the 
individual may be medically incompetent, or may be medically or 
physically unable to engage safely in the provision of 
services. If the information was obtained in the course of a 
client relationship, the client is an unlicensed mental health 
practitioner, and the treating individual successfully counsels 
the other practitioner to limit or withdraw from practice to the 
extent required by the impairment, the office may deem this 
limitation. of or withdrawal from practice to be sufficient 
disciplinary action. 

Subd. 5. Insurers. Four times each year as 
prescribed by the commissioner, each insurer authorized to sell 
insurance described in section 60A.06, subdivision 1, clause 
(13), and providing professional liability insurance to 
unlicensed mental health practitioners or the Medical Joint 
Underwriting Association under chapter 62F, shall submit to the 
Off ice df Mental Health Practice a report concerning the 
unlicensed mental health practitioners against whom malpractice 
settlements or awards have been made. The response must contain 
at least the following information: 

(1) the total number of malpractice settlements or awards 
made; 

(2) the date the malpractice settlements or awards were 
made; 

(3) the allegations contained in the claim or complaint 
leading to the settlements or awards made; 

(4) the dollar amount of each malpractice settlement or 
award; 

(5) the regular address of the practice of the unlicensed 
practitioner against whom an award was made or with whom a 
settlement was made; and 

(6) the. name of the unlicensed practitioner against whom an 
award was made or with whom a settlement was made. 

The insurance company shall, in addition to the above 
information, submit to the Office of Mental Health Practice any 
information, records, and files, including clients' charts and 
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records, it possesses that tend to substantiate a charge that an 
unlicensed mental health practitioner may have engaged in 
conduct violating this chapter. 

Subd. 6. Courts. The court administrator of district 
court or any other court of competent jurisdiction shall report 
to the Office of Mental Health Practice any judgment or other 
determination of the court that adjudges or includes a finding 
that an unlicensed mental health practitioner is mentally ill, 
mentally incompetent, guilty of a felony, guilty of a violation 
of federal or state narcotics laws or controlled substances act, 
or guilty of abuse or fraud under Medicare or Medicaid; or that 
appoints a guardian of the unlicensed mental health practitioner 
under sections 524.5-101 to 524.5-502 or commits an unlicensed mental 
practitioner under chapter 253B. 

Subd. 7. Self-reporting. An unlicensed mental health 
practitioner shall report to the Office of Mental Health 
Practice any personal action that would require that a report be 
filed with the office by any person, health care facility, 
business, or organization pursuant to subdivisions 2 to 5. The 
practitioner shall also report the revocation, suspension, 
restriction, limitation, or other disciplinary action against 
the mental health practitioner's license, certificate, 
registration, or right of practice in another state or . 
jurisdiction, for offenses that would be subject to disciplinary 
action in this state and also report the filing of charges 
regarding the practitioner's license, certificate, registration, 
or right of practice in another state or jurisdiction. 

Subd. 8. Deadlines; forms. Reports required by 
subdivisions 2 to 7 must be submitted not later than 30 days 
after the reporter learns of the occurrence of the reportable 
event or transaction. The Office of Mental Health Practice may 
provide forms for the submission of reports required by this 
section, may require that reports be submitted on the forms 
provided, and may adopt rules necessary to assure prompt and 
accurate reporting. 
148B.64 IMMUNITY. 

Subdivision 1. Reporting. Any person, health care 
facility, business, or organization is immune from civil 
liability or criminal prosecution for submitting a report to the 
Office of Mental Health Practice, for otherwise reporting to the 
office violations or alleged violations of this chapter, or for 
cooperating with an investigation of a report, except as 
provided in this subdivision. Any person who knowingly or 
recklessly makes a false report is liable in a civil suit for 
any actual damages suffered by the person or persons so reported 
and for any punitive damages set by the court or jury. An 
action requires clear and convincing evidence that the defendant 
made the statement with knowledge of falsity or with reckless 
disregard for its truth or falsity. The report or statement or 
any statement made in cooperation with an investigation or as 
part of a disciplinary proceeding is privileged except in an 
action brought under this subdivision. 

Subd. 2. Investigation. The commissioner and 
employees of the Department of Health and other persons engaged 
in the investigation of violations and in the preparation, 
presentation, and management of and testimony pertaining to 
charges of-violations of this chapter are absolutely immune from 
civil liability and criminal prosecution for any actions, 
transactions, or publications in the execution of, or relating 
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to, their duties under this chapter. 
148B.65 DISCIPLINARY RECORD ON JUDICIAL REVIEW. 

Upon judicial review of any disciplinary action taken by 
the commissioner under this chapter, the reviewing court shall 
seal the administrative record, except for the commissioner's 
final decision, and shall not make the administrative record 
available to the public. 
148B.66 PROFESSIONAL COOPERATION; UNLICENSED 
PRACTITIONER. . 

Subdivision 1. Cooperation. An unlicensed mental 
health practitioner who is the subject of an investigation, or 
who is questioned in connection with an investigation, by or on 
behalf of the Office of Mental Health Practice shall cooperate 
fully with the investigation. Cooperation includes responding 
fully and promptly to any question raised by or on behalf of the 
off ice relating to the subject of the investigation, whether 
tape recorded or not, and providing copies of client records, as 
reasonably requested by the office, to assist the office in its 
investigation, and appearing at conferences or hearings 
scheduled by the commissioner. If the office does not have a 
written consent from a client permitting access to the client's 
records, the unlicensed mental health practitioner shall delete 
any data in the record that identifies the client before 
providing it to the office. The office shall maintain any 
records obtained pursuant to this section as investigative data 
pursuant to section 13.41. If an unlicensed mental health 
practitioner refuses to give testimony or produce any documents, 
books, records, or correspondence on the basis of the fifth 
amendment to the Constitution of the United States, the 
commissioner may compel the unlicensed mental health 
practitioner to provide the testimony or information; however, 
the testimony or evidence may not be used against the 
practitioner in any criminal proceeding. Challenges to requests 
of the office may be brought before the appropriate agency or 
court. 

Subd. 2. Classification of data. The commissioner 
shall maintain any records, other than client records, obtained 
as part of an investigation, as investigative data under section 
13.41. Client records are classified as private under chapter 
13 and must be protected as such in the records of the off ice 
and in any administrative or judicial proceeding unless the 
client authorizes the office in writing to make public the 
identity of the client or a portion or all of the client's 
records. 

Subd. 3. Exchanging information. (a) The Office of 
Mental Health Practice shall establish internal operating 
procedures for: 

(1) exchanging information with state boards; agencies, 
including the Office of Ombudsman for Mental Health and Mental 
Retardation; health related and law enforcement facilities; 
departments responsible for licensing health related 
occupations, facilities, and programs; and law enforcement 
personnel in this and other states; and 

(2) coordinating investigations involving matters within 
the jurisdiction of more than one regulatory agency. 

(b) The procedures for exchanging information must provide 
for the forwarding to the entities described in paragraph (a), 
clause (1), of information and evidence, including the results 
of investigations, that are relevant to matters within the 
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regulatory jurisdiction of the organizations in paragraph (a). 
The data have the same classification in the hands of the agency 
receiving the data as they have in the hands of the agency 
providing the data. 

(c) The Office of ~ental Health Practice shall establish 
procedures for exchanging information with other states 
regarding disciplinary action against licensed and unlicensed 
mental health practitioners. 

(d) The Office of Mental Health Practice shall forward to 
another governmental agency any complaints received by the 
office that do not relate to the office's jurisdiction but that 
relate to matters within the jurisdiction of the other 
governmental agency. The agency to which a complaint is 
forwarded shall advise the Off ice of Mental Health Practice of 
the disposition of the complaint. A complaint or other 
information received by another governmental agency relating to 
a statute or rule that the Office of Mental Health Practice is 
empowered to enforce must be forwarded to the off ice to be 
processed in accordance with this section. 

(e) The Office of Mental Health Practice shall furnish to a 
person who made a complaint a description of the actions of the 
office relating to the complaint. 
148B.67 PROFESSIONAL ACCOUNTABILITY. 

The Office of Mental Health Practice shall maintain and 
keep current a file containing the reports and complaints filed 
against unlicensed mental health practitioners within the 
commissioner's jurisdiction. Each complaint filed with the 
office must be investigated. If the files maintained by the 
off ice show that a malpractice settlement or award has been made 
against an unlicensed mental health practitioner, as reported by 
insurers under section 148B.63, subdivision 5, the commissioner 
may authorize a review of the practitioner's practice by the 
staff of the Office of Mental Health Practice. 
148B.68 PROHIBITED CONDUCT. 

Subdivision 1. Prohibited conduct. The commissioner 
may impose disciplinary action as described in section 148B.69 
against any unlicensed mental health practitioner. The 
following conduct is prohibited and is grounds for disciplinary 
action: 

(a) Conviction of a crime, including a finding or verdict 
of guilt, an admission of guilt, or a no contest plea, in any 
court in Minnesota or any other jurisdiction in the United 
States, reasonably related to the provision of mental health 
services. Conviction, as used in this subdivision, includes a 
conviction of an offense which, if committed in this state, 
would be deemed a felony or gross misdemeanor without regard to 
its designation elsewhere, or a criminal proceeding where a 
finding or verdict of guilty is made or returned but the 
adjudication of guilt is either withheld or not entered. 

(b) Conviction of crimes against persons. For purposes of 
this chapter, a crime against a person means violations of the 
following: sections 609.185; 609.19; 609.195; 609.20; 609.205; 
609.21; 609.215; 609.221; 609.222; 609.223; 609.224; 609.2242; 
609.23; 609.231; 609.2325; 609.233; 609.2335; 609.235; 609.24; 
609.245; 609.25; 609.255; 609.26, subdivision 1, clause (1) or 
(2); 609.265; 609.342; 609.343; 609.344; 609.345; 609.365; 
609.498, subdivision l; 609.50, clause (l); 609.561; 609.562; 
609.595; and 609.72, subdivision 3. 

(c) Failure to comply with the self-reporting requirements 
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of section 148B.63, subdivision 7. 
(d) Engaging in sexual contact with a client or former 

client as defined in section 148A.Ol, or engaging in contact 
that may be reasonably interpreted by a client as sexual, or 
engaging in any verbal behavior that is seductive or sexually 
demeaning to the patient, or engaging in sexual exploitation of 
a client or former client. 

(e) Advertising that is false, fraudulent, deceptive, or 
misleading. 

(f) Conduct likely to deceive, defraud, or harm the public; 
or demonstrating a willful or careless disregard for the health, 
welfare, or safety of a client; or any other practice that may 
create unnecessary danger to any client's life, health, or 
safety, in any of which cases, proof of actual injury need not 
be established. 

(g) Adjudication as mentally incompetent, or as a person 
who is dangerous to self, or adjudication pursuant to chapter 
253B, as chemically dependent, mentally ill, mentally retarded, 
mentally ill and dangerous to the public, or as a sexual 
psychopathic personality or sexually dangerous person. 

(h) Inability to provide mental health services with 
reasonable safety to clients. 

(i) The habitual overindulgence in the use of or the 
dependence on intoxicating liquors. 

(j) Improper or unauthorized personal or other use of any 
legend drugs as defined in chapter 151, any chemicals as defined 
in chapter 151, or any controlled substance as defined in 
chapter 152. . 

( k) Revealing a c.ommunication from, or relating to, a 
client except when otherwise required or permitted by law. 

(1) Failure to comply with a client's request made under 
section 144.335, or to furnish a client record or report 
required by law. 

(m) Splitting fees or promising to pay a portion of a fee 
to any other professional other than for services rendered by 
the other professional to the client. 

(n) Engaging in abusive or fraudulent billing practices, 
including violations of the federal Medicare and Medicaid laws 
or state medical assistance laws. 

(o) Failure to make reports as required by section 148B.63, 
or cooperate with an investigation of the office. 

(p) Obtaining money, property, or services from a client, 
other than reasonable fees for services provided to the client, 
through the use of undue influence, harassment, duress, 
deception, or fraud. 

(q) Undertaking or continuing a professional relationship 
with a client in which the objectivity of the professional would 
be impaired. 

(r) Failure to provide the client with a copy of the client 
bill of rights or violation of any provision of the client bill 
of rights. 

(s) Violating any order issued by the commissioner. 
(t) Failure to comply with sections 148B.60 to 148B.71, and 

the rules adopted under those sections. 
(u) Failure to comply with any additional disciplinary 

grounds established by the commissioner by rule. 
(v) Revocation, suspension, restriction, limitation, or 

other disciplinary action against the mental health 
practitioner's license, certificate, registration, or right of 

148B.68 31R 



APPENDIX 
Repealed Minnesota Statutes for Sl204-l 

practice in this or another state or jurisdiction, for offenses 
that would be subject to disciplinary action in this state, or 
failure to report to the Office of Mental Health Practice that 
charges regarding the practitioner's license, certificate, 
registration, or right of practice have been brought in this or 
another state or jurisdiction. 

(w) Bartering for services with a client. 
Subd. 2. Evidence. In disciplinary actions alleging 

a violation of ·subdivision 1, paragraph (a), (b), (c), or (g), a 
copy of the judgment or proceeding under the seal of the court 
administrator or of the administrative agency that entered the 
same is admissible into evidence without further authentication 
and constitutes prima facie evidence of its contents. 

Subd. 3. Examination: access to medical data. (a) If 
the commissioner has probable cause to believe that an 
unlicensed mental health practitioner has engaged in conduct 
prohibited by subdivision 1, paragraph (g), (h), (i), or (j), 
the commissioner may issue an order directing the practitioner 
to submit to a mental or physical examination or ·chemical 
dependency evaluation. For the purpose of this subdivision, 
every unlicensed mental health practitioner is deemed to have 
consented to submit to a mental or physical examination or 
chemical dependency evaluation when ordered to do so in writing 
by the commissioner of health and further to have waived all 
objections to the admissibility of the testimony or examination 
reports of the health care provider performing the examination 
or evaluation on the grounds that the same constitute a 
privileged communication. Failure of an unlicensed mental 
health practitioner to submit to an examination or evaluation 
when ordered, unless the failure was due to circumstances beyond 
the practitioner's control, constitutes an admission that the 
unlicensed mental health practitioner violated subdivision 1, 
paragraph (g), (h), {i), or (j), based on the factual 
specifications in the examination or evaluation order and may 
result in a default and final disciplinary order being entered 
after a contested case hearing. An unlicensed mental health 
practitioner affected under this paragraph shall at reasonable 
intervals be given an opportunity to demonstrate that the 
practitioner·can resume the provision of mental health services 
with reasonable safety to clients. In any proceeding under this 
paragraph, neither the record of proceedings nor the orders 
entered by the commissioner shall be used against a mental 
health practitioner in any other proceeding. 

(b) In addition to ordering a physical or mental 
examination or chemical dependency evaluation, the commissioner 
may, notwithstanding section 13.384, 144.651, 595.02, or any 
other law limiting access to medical or other health data, 
obtain medical data and health records relating to an unlicensed 
mental health practitioner without the practitioner's consent if 
the commissioner has probable cause to believe that a 
practitioner has engaged in conduct prohibited by subdivision 1, 
paragraph (g), (h), {i), or (j). The medical data may be 
requested from a health care professional, as defined in section 
144.335, subdivision 1, paragraph (b), an insurance company, or 
a government agency, including the Department of Human 
Services. A health care professional, insurance company, or 
government agency shall comply with any written request of the 
commissioner under this subdivision and is not liable in any 
action for damages for releasing the data requested by the 
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commissioner if the data are released pursuant to a written 
request under this subdivision, unless the information is false 
and the person or organization giving the information knew, or 
had reason to believe, the information was false. Information 
obtained under this subdivision is private data under section 
13.41. 
148B.69 DISCIPLINARY ACTIONS. 

Subdivision 1. Forms of disciplinary action. When 
the commissioner finds that an unlicensed mental health 
practitioner has violated a provision or provisions of this 
chapter, the commissioner may take one or more of the following 
actions, only against the individual practitioner: 

(1) revoke the ~ight to practice; 
(2) suspend the right to practice; 
(3) impose limitations or conditions on the practitioner's 

provision of mental health services, the imposition of 
rehabilitation requirements, or the requirement of practice 
under supervision; 

(4) impose a civil penalty not exceeding $10,000 for each 
separate violation, the amount of the civil penalty to be fixed 
so as to deprive the practitioner of any economic advantage 
gai~ed by reason of the violation charged or to reimburse the 
Off ice of Mental Health Practice for all costs of the 
investigation and proceeding; 

(5) order the practitioner to provide unremunerated 
professional service under supervision at a designated public 
hospital, clinic, or other health care institution; 

(6) censure or reprimand the practitioner; 
(7) impose a fee on the practitioner to reimburse the 

off ice for all or part of the cost of the proceedings resulting 
in disciplinary action including, but not limited to, the amount 
paid by the off ice for services from the Off ice of 
Administrative Hearings, attorney fees, court reports, 
witnesses, reproduction of records, staff time, and expense 
incurred by the staff of the Office of Mental Health Practice; 
or 

(8) any other action justified by the case. 
Subd. 2. Discovery; subpoenas. In all matters 

relating to the lawful activities of the Office of Mental Health 
Practice, the commissioner of health may issue subpoenas and 
compel the attendance of witnesses and the production of all 
necessary papers, books, records, documents, and other 
evidentiary material. Any person failing or refusing to appear 
or testify regarding any matter about which the person may be 
lawfully questioned or failing to produce any papers, books, 
records, documents, or other evidentiary materials in the matter 
to be heard, after having been required by order of the 
commissioner or by a subpoena of the commissioner to do so may, 
upon application to the district court in any district, be 
ordered to comply with the order or subpoena. The commissioner 
of health may administer oaths to witnesses or take their 
affirmation. Depositions may be taken within or without the 
state in the manner provided by law for the taking of 
depositions in civil actions. A subpoena or other process or 
paper may be served upon a person it names anywhere within the 
state by any officer authorized to serve subpoenas or other 
process or paper in civil actions, in the same manner as 
prescribed by law for service of process issued out of the 
district court of this state. 
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Subd. 2a. Hearings. If the commissioner proposes to 
take action against the practitioner as described in subdivision 
1, the commissioner must first notify the person against whom 
the action is proposed to .be taken and provide the person with 
an opportunity to request a hearing under the contested case 
provisions of chapter 14. If the person does not request a 
hearing by notifying the commissioner within 30 days after 
service of the notice of the proposed action, the commissioner 
may proceed with the action without a hearing. 

Subd. 3. Reinstatement. The commissioner may at the 
commissioner's discretion reinstate the right to practice and 
may impose a~y disciplinary measure listed under subdivision 1. 

Subd. 4. Temporary suspension. In addition to any 
other remedy provided by law, the commissioner may, acting 
through a person to whom the commissioner has delegated this 
authority and without a hearing, temporarily suspend the right 
of an unlicensed mental health practitioner to practice if the 
commissioner's delegate finds that the practitioner has violated 
a statute or rule that the commissioner is empowered to enforce 
and continued practice by the practitioner would create a 
serious risk of harm to others. The suspension is in effect 
upon service of a written order on the practitioner specifying 
the statute or rule violated. The order remains in effect until 
the commissioner issues a final order in the matter after a 
hearing or upon agreement between the commissioner and the 
practitioner. Service.of the order is effective if the order is 
served on the practitioner or counsel of record personally or by 
first class mail. Within ten days of service of the order, the 
commissioner shall hold a hearing on the sole issue of whether 
there is a reasonable basis to continue, modify, or lift the 
suspension. Evidence presented by the office or practitioner 
shall be in.affidavit form only. The practitioner or the 
counsel of record may appear for oral argument. Within five 
working days after the hearing, the commissioner shall issue the 
commissioner's order and, if the suspension is continued, 
schedule a contested case hearing within 45 days after issuance 
of the order. The administrative law judge shall issue a report 
within 30 days after closing of the contested case hearing 
record. The commissioner shall issue a final order within 30 
days after receipt of that report. 

Subd. 5. Automatic suspension. The right to practice 
is automatically suspended if (1) a guardian of an unlicensed 
mental health practitioner is appointed by order of a court 
under sections 524.5-101 to 524.5-502, or (2) the practitioner is 
committed by order of a court pursuant to chapter 253B. The 
right to practice remains suspended until the practitioner is 
restored to capacity by a court and, upon petition by the 
practitioner, the suspension is terminated by the commissioner 
after a hearing or upon agreement between the commissioner and 
the practitioner. 

Subd. 6. Public employees. Notwithstanding 
subdivision 1, the commissioner must not take disciplinary 
action against an employee of the state or a political 
subdivision of the state. If, after an investigation conducted 
in compliance with and with the authority granted under sections 
148B.60 to 148B.71, the commissioner determines that the 
employee violated· a provision or provisions of this chapter, the 
commissioner shall report to the employee's employer the 
commissioner's findings and the actions the commissioner 
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recommends that the employer take. The commissioner's 
recommendations are not binding on the employer. 

Subd. 7. Release to obtain nonpublic data. An 
unlicensed mental health practitioner who is the subject of an 
investigation must sign a release authorizing the commissioner 
to obtain criminal conviction data, reports about abuse or 
neglect of clients, and other information pertaining to 
investigations of violations of statutes or rules from the 
Bureau of Criminal Apprehension, the Federal Bureau of 
Investigation, the Department of Human Services, the Office of 
Health Facilities Complaints, private certification 
organizations, county social service agencies, the Division of 
Driver and Vehicle Services in the Department of Public Safety, 
adult protection services, child protection services, and other 
agencies that regulate provision of health care services. After 
·the commissioner gives written notice to an individual who is 
the subject of an investigation, the agencies shall assist the 
commissioner with the investigation by giving the commissioner 
the requested data. 
148B.70 ADDITIONAL REMEDIES. 

Subdivision 1. Cease and desist. The commissioner of 
health may issue a cease and desist order to stop a person from 
violating or threatening to violate a statute, rule, or order 
which the Off ice of Mental Health Practice has issued or is 
empowered to enforce. The cease and desist order must state the 
reason for its issuance and give notice of the person's right to 
request a hearing under sections 14.57 to 14.62. If, within 15 
days of service of the order, the subject of the order fails to 
request a hearing in writing, the order is the fina.l order of 
the commissioner and is not reviewable by a court or agency. 

A hearing must be initiated by the Office of Mental Health 
Practice not later than 30 days from the date of the office's 
receipt of a written hearing request. Within 30 days of receipt 
of the administrative law judge's report, the commissioner shall 
issue a final order modifying, vacating, or making permanent the 
cease and desist order as the facts require. The final order 
remains in effect until modified or vacated by the commissioner. 

When a request for a stay accompanies a timely hearing 
request, the commissioner may, in the commissioner's discretion, 
grant the stay. If the commissioner does not grant a requested 
stay, the commissioner shall refer the request to the Office of 
Administrative Hearings within three working days of receipt of 

.the request. Within ten days after receiving the request from 
the commissioner, an administrative law judge shall issue a 
recommendation to grant or deny the stay. The commissioner 
shall grant or deny the stay within eive days of receiving the 
administrative law judge's recommendation. 

In the event of noncompliance with a cease and desist 
order, the commissioner may institute a proceeding in Hennepin 
County District Court to obtain injunctive relief or other 
appropriate relief, including a civil penalty payable to the 
Office of Mental Health Practice not exceeding $10,000 for each 
separate violation. 

Subd. 2. Injunctive relief. In addition to any other 
remedy provided by law, including the issuance of a cease and 
desist order under subdivision 1, the commissioner may in the 
commissioner 5 s own name bring an action in Hennepin County 
District Court for injunctive relief to restrain an unlicensed 
mental health practitione! from a violation or threatened 
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violation of any statute, rule, or order which the commissioner 
is empowered to regulate, enforce, or issue. A temporary 
restraining order must be granted in the proceeding if continued 
activity by a practitioner would create a serious risk of harm 
to others. The commissioner need not show irreparable harm. 

Subd. 3. Additional powers. The issuance of a cease 
and desist order or injunctive relief granted under this section 
does not relieve a practitioner from criminal prosecution by a 
competent authority or from disciplinary action by the 
commissioner. 
148B.71 MENTAL HEALTH CLIENT BILL OF RIGHTS. 

Subdivision 1. Scope. All unlicensed mental health 
practitioners, other than those providing services in a facility 
or program licensed by the commissioner of health or the 
commissioner of human services, shall provide to each client 
prior to providing treatment a written copy of the mental health 
client bill of rights. A copy must also be posted in a 
prominent location in the office of the mental health 
practitioner. Reasonable accommodations shall be made for those 
clients who cannot read or who have communication impairments 
and those who do not read or speak English. The mental health 
client bill of rights shall include the following: 

(a) the name, title, business address, and telephone number 
of the practitioner; 

(b) the degrees, training, experience, or other 
qualifications of the practitioner, followed by the following 
statement in bold print: 

"THE STATE OF MINNESOTA HAS NOT ADOPTED UNIFORM EDUCATIONAL 
AND TRAINING STANDARDS FOR ALL MENTAL HEALTH PRACTITIONERS. 
THIS STATEMENT OF CREDENTIALS IS FOR INFORMATION PURPOSES ONLY." 

(c) the name, business address, and telephone number of the 
practitioner's supervisor, if any; 

(d) notice that a client has the right to file a complaint 
with the practitioner's supervisor, if any, and the procedure 
for filing complaints; 

(e) the name, address, and telephone number of the Office 
of Mental Health Practice and notice that a client may file 
complaints with the office; 

(f) the practitioner's fees per unit of service, the 
practitioner's method of billing for such fees, the names of any 
insurance companies that have agreed to reimburse the 
practitioner, or health maintenance organizations with whom the 
practitioner contracts to provide service, whether the 
practitioner accepts Medicare, medical assistance, or general 
assistance medical care, and whether the practitioner is willing 
to accept partial payment, or to waive payment, and in what 
circumstances; 

(g) a statement that the client has a right to reasonable 
notice of changes in services or charges; 

(h) a brief summary, in plain language, of the theoretical 
approach used by the practitioner in treating patients; 

{i) notice that the client has a right to complete and 
current information concerning the practitioner's assessment and 
recommended course of treatment, including the expected duration 
of treatment; · 

{j) a statement that clients may expect courteous treatment 
and to be free from verbal, physical, or sexual abuse by the 
practitioner; 

{k) a statement that client records and transactions with 
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the practitioner are confidential, unless release of these 
records is authorized in writing by the client, or otherwise 
provided by law; 

(1) a statement of the client's right to be allowed access 
to records and written information from records in accordance 
with section 144.335;. 

(m) a statement that other services may be available in the 
community, including where information concerning services is 
available; 

(n) a statement that the client has the right to choose 
freely among available practitioners, and to change 
practitioners after services have begun, within the limits of 
health insurance, medical assistance, or other hea1th programs; 

(o) a statement that the client has a right to coordinated 
transfer when there will be a change in the provider of 
services; 

(p) a statement that the client may refuse services or 
treatment, unless otherwise provided by law; and 

·(q) a statement that the client may assert the client's 
rights without retaliation. 

Subd. 2. Acknowledgment by client. Prior to the . 
provision of any service, the client must sign a written 
statement attesting that the client has received the client bill 
of rights. 
148C.Ol DEFINITIONS. 

Subd. 6. Commissioner. "Commissioner" means the 
commissioner of health, or a designee. 
148C.02 ALCOHOL·AND DRUG COUNSELORS LICENSING ADVISORY 
COUNCIL. 

Subdivision 1. Membership. The Alcohol and Drug 
Counselors Licensing Advisory Council consists of 13 members. 
The commissioner shall appoint: 

(1) except for those members initially appointed, seven 
members who must be licensed alcohol and drug counselors; 

(2) three members who must be public· members as defined by_ 
section 214.02; 

(3) one member who must be a director or coordinator of an 
accredited alcohol and drug dependency training program; and 

(4) one member who must be a former consumer of alcohol and 
drug dependency counseling service and who must have received 
the service more than three years before the person's 
appointment. 

The American Indian Advisory Committee to the Department of 
Human Services Chemical Dependency Off ice shall appoint the 
remaining member. 

Subd. 2. Duties. The advisory council shall: 
(1) provide advice and recommendations to the commissioner 

on the development of rules for the licensure of alcohol and 
drug counselors; 

(2) provide advice and recommendations to the commissioner 
on the development of standards and procedures for the 
competency testing, licensing, and review of alcohol and drug 
counselors' professional conduct; 

(3) provide advice and recommendations to the commissioner 
in disciplinary cases in the areas of counselor competency 
~ssues, counselor practice issues, and counselor impairment 
issues. 

Subd. 3. Terms. The terms, compensation, and removal 
of members shall be as provided in section 15.059, except that 
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notwithstanding any contrary law, the advisory council shall not 
expire. 
148C.12 FEES. 

Subd. 4. Examination fee. The examination fee for 
the written examination is $95 and for the oral examination is 
$200. 
153A.14 REGULATION. 

Subd. 2a. Exemption from written examination 
requirement. Persons completing the audiology registration 
requirements of section 148.515 after January 1, 1996, are 
exempt from the written examination requirements of subdivision 
2h, paragraph (a), clause (1). Minnesota licensure, a current 
certification of clinical competence issued by the American 
Speech-Language-Hearing Association, board certification in 
audiology by the American Board of Audiology, or an equivalent, 
as an audiologist is not required but may be submitted as 
evidence qualifying for exemption from the written examination 
if the requirements are completed after January 1, 1996. 
Persons qualifying for written examination exemption must 
fulfill the other credentialing requirements under subdivisions 
1 and 2 before a certificate may be issued by the commissioner. 
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1 To: Senator Cohen, Chair 

2 committee on Finance 

3 Senator Berglin, 

4 Chair of the Health and Human Services Budget Division, to 
5 which was ref erred 

6 s.F. No. 1204: A bill for an act relating to health; 
7 recodifying statutes and rules relating to social work; 
8 authorizing rulemaking; providing penalties; modifying 
9 provisions relating to physical therapists; providing penalties; 

10 modifying the Psychology Practice Act; phasing out licensure as 
11 a licensed psychological practitioner; modifying dental 
12 licensure provisions; establishing fees; modifying provisions 
13 for licensed professional counselors; authorizing certain 
14 rulemaking; modifying physician review; modifying information 
15 contained on prescriptions; providing recognition for the 
16 practice of respiratory therapy in emergency situations; 
17 providing that audiologists need not obtain hearing instrument 
18 dispenser certification; providing penalties; transferring 
19 oversight authority for the Office of Mental Health Practice;· 
20 requiring a report; establishing penalty fees for certain 
21 credentialed health occupations; providing criminal penalties; 
22 appropriating money; amending Minnesota Statutes 2004, sections 
23 13.383, subdivision 10; 13.411, subdivision 5; 144.335, 
24 subdivision l; 144A.46, subdivision 2; 147.09; 147A.18, 
25 subdivisions 1, 3; 147C.05; 148.512, subdivision 6, by adding 
26 subdivisions; 148.515, by adding a subdivision; 148.5194, by 
27 adding subdivisions; 148.5195, subdivision 3; 148.6445, by 
28 adding a subdivision; 148.65, by adding subdivisions; 148.706; 
29 148.75; 148.89, subdivision 5; 148.90, subdivision l; 148.907, 
30 by adding a subdivision; 148.908, subdivision 2, by adding a 

·31 subdivision; 148.909; 148.916, subdivision 2; 148.925, 
32 subdivision 6; 148.941, subdivision 2; 148.96, subdivision 3; 
33 148B.53, subdivisions 1, 3; 148B.54, subdivision 2; 148B.59; 
34 148B.60; 148B.61; 148C.03, subdivision l; 148C.04, subdivisions 
35 3, 4, 6; 148C.091, subdivision l; 148C.10, subdivision 2; 
36 148C.11, subdivisions 1, 4, 5, 6; 148C.12, subdivision 3, by 
37 adding a subdivision; 150A.01, subdivision 6a; 150A.06, 
38 subdivision la; 150A.10, subdivision la; 153A.13, subdivision 5; 
39 153A.14, subdivisions 2i, 4, 4c; 153A.15, subdivision l; 
40 153A.20, subdivision l; 214.01, subdivision 2; 214.103, 
41 subdivision l; 245.462, subdivision 18; 245.4871, subdivision 
42 27; 256B.0625, subdivision 38; 256J.08, subdivision 73a; 
43 319B.02, subdivision 19; 319B.40; Laws 2003, chapter 118,· 
44 section 29, as amended; proposing coding for new law in 
45 Minnesota Statutes, chapters 148; 148B; 148C; 150A; 153A; 
46 providing coding for new law as Minnesota statutes, chapter 
47 148D; repealing Minnesota Statutes 2004, sections 148B.18; 
48 148B.185; 148B.19; 148B.20; 148B.21; 148B.215; 148B.22; 
49 148B.224; 148B.225; 148B.226; 148B.24; 148B.25; 148B.26; 
50 148B.27; 148B.28; 148B.281; 148B.282; 148B.283; 148B.284; 
51 148B.285; 148B.286; 148B.287; 148B.288; 148B.289; 148C.02; 
52 148C.12, subdivision 4; 153A.14, subdivision 2a; Minnesota 
53 Rules, parts 4747.0030, subparts 11, 16; 4747.1200; 4747.1300; 
54 5601.0100, subparts 3, 4; 8740.0100; 8740.0110; 8740.0120; 
55 8740.0122; 8740.0130; 8740.0155; 8740.0185; 8740.0187; 
56 8740.0200; 8740.0240; 8740.0260; 8740.0285; 8740.0300; 
57 8740.0310; 8740.0315; 8740.0320; 8740.0325; 0740.0330; 
58 8740.0335; 8740.0340; 8740.0345. 

59 Reports the same back with the recommendation that the bill 
60 be amended as follows: 

61 Page 11, line 33, after the period, insert "The employment 

62 of the executive director shall be subject to the terms 

63 described in section 214.04, subdivision 2a." 
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1 Page 12, lines 32 and 33, delete "and criminal prosecution" 

2 Page 74, line 25, after the period, insert "Financial 

3 responsibility for failed appointment billings resides solely 

4 with the client and such costs may not be billed to public or 

5 private payers. H 

6 Page 105, delete section 13 

7 Page 120, delete lines 18 to 21 and insert: 

8 "The dental hygienist sfiaii-He~-~erferm may administer 

9 injections of local anesthetic agents or ~fie-aam~H~s~ra~~eH-e£ 

10 · nitrous oxide ttH~ess-ttHaer-~fie-~Ha~ree~-stt~erv~s~eH 

11 e£ inhalation analgesia as specifically delegated in the 

12 collaborative agreement with a licensed dentist. The dentist 

13 need not first examine the patient or be present. If the 

14 patient is considered medically compromised, the collaborative 

15 dentist shall review the patient record, including the medical 

16 history, prior to the provision of these services. 

17 Collaborating dental hygienists may work with" 

18 Pages 147 to 160, delete article 7 and insert: 

19 "ARTICLE 7 

20 COMMISSIONER OF HEALTH - AUDIOLOGISTS 

21 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 148.512, 

22 subdivision 6, is amended to read: 

23 Subd. 6. [AUDIOLOGIST.] "Audiologist" means a natural 

24 person who engages in the practice of audiology, meets the 

25 qualifications required by sections 148.511 to ~~6~5~96 

26 148.5198, and is licensed by the commissioner under a general, 

27 clinical fellowship, doctoral externship, or temporary license. 

28 Audiologist also means a natural person using any descriptive 

29 word with the title audiologist. 

30 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 148.512, is 

31 amended by adding a subdivisicn to read: 

32 Subd. lOa. [HEARING AID.] "Hearing aid" means an 

33 instrument, or any of its parts, worn in the ear canal and 

34 designed to or represented as being able to aid or enhance human 

35 hearing. "Hearing aid" includes the aid's parts, attachments, 

36 or accessories, including, but not limited to, ear molds and 
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1 behind the ear (BTE) devices with or without an ear mold. 

2 Batteries and cords are not parts, attachments, or accessories 

3 of a hearing aid. Surgically implanted hearing aids, and 

4 assistive listening devices not worn within the ear canal, are 

5 not hearing aids. 

6 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 148.512, is 

7 amended by adding a subdivision to read: 

8 Subd. lOb. [HEARING AID DISPENSING.] "Hearing aid 

9 dispensing" means making ear mold impressions, prescribing, or 

10 recommending a hearing aid, assisting the consumer in aid 

11 selection, selling hearing aids at retail, or testing human 

12 hearing in connection with these activities regardless of 

13 whether the person conducting these activities has a monetary 

14 interest in the dispensing of hearing aids to the consumer. 

15 Sec. 4. Minnesota statutes 2004, section 148.513, is 

16 amended by adding a subdivision to read: 

17 Subd. 2a. [HEARING AID DISPENSERS.] An audiologist must 

18 not hold out as a licensed hearing aid dispenser. 

19 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 148.515, is 

20 amended by adding a subdivision to read: 

21 Subd. 6. [DISPENSING AUDIOLOGIST EXAMINATION 

22 REQUIREMENTS.] (a) Audiologists are exempt from the written 

23 examination requirement in section 153A.14, subdivision 2h, 

24 paragraph (a), clause (1). 

25 (b) After July 31, 2005, all applicants for audiologist 

26 licensure under sections 148.512 to 148.5198 must achieve a 

27 passing score on the practical tests of proficiency described in 

28 section 153A.14, subdivision 2h, paragraph (a), clause (2), 

29 within the time period described in section 153A.14, subdivision 

30 2h, paragraph (c). 

31 'c In order, to dis ense hearin- aids as a sole -ro-rietor, 

32 member of a partnership, or for a limited liability company, 

33 corporation, or any other entity organized for profit, a 

34 licensee who obtained audiologist licensure under sections 

35 148.512 to 148.5198, before August 1, 2005, and who is not 

36 certified to dispense hearing aids under chapter 153A, must 
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1 achieve a passing score on the practical tests of proficiency 

2 described in section 153A.14, subdivision 2h, paragraph (a), 

3 clause (2), within the time period described in section 153A.14, 

4 subdivision 2h, paragraph (c). All other audiologist licensees 

5 who obtained licensure before August 1, 2005, are exempt from 

6 the practical tests. 

7 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 148.5194, is 

8 amended by adding a subdivision to read: 

9 Subd. 7. [AUDIOLOGIST SURCHARGE FEE.] (a) The biennial 

10 surcharge fee for audiologists is $235. The commissioner shall 

11 prorate the fee for clinical fellowship, doctoral externship, 

12 temporary, and first time licensees according to the number of 

13 months that have elapsed between the date the license is issued 

14 and the date the license expires or must be renewed under 

15 section 148.5191, subdivision 4. 

16 (b) Effective November 1, 2005, the commissioner shall 

17 collect the $235 audiologist surcharge fee prorated according to 

18 the number of months remaining until the next scheduled license 

19 renewal. 

20 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 148.5195, 

21 subdivision 3, is amended to read: 

22 Subd. 3. [GROUNDS FOR DISCIPLINARY ACTION BY 

23 COMMISSIONER.] The commissioner may take any of the disciplinary 

24 actions listed in subdivision 4 on proof that the individual has: 

25 (1) intentionally submitted false or misleading information 

26 to the commissioner or the advisory council; 

27 (2) failed, within 30 days, to provide information in 

28 response to a written request, via certified mail, by the 

29 commissioner or advisory council; 

30 (3) performed services of a speech-language pathologist or 

31 audiologist in an incompetent or negligent manner; 

32 (4) violated sections 148.511 to ~~8~5~96 148.5198; 

33 (5) failed to perform services with reasonable judgment, 

34 skill, or safety due to the use of alcohol or drugs, or other 

35 physical or mental impairment; 

36 (6) violated any state or federal law, rule, or regulation, 
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1 and the violation is a felony or misdemeanor, an essential 

2 element of which is dishonesty, or which relates directly or 

3 indirectly to the practice of speech-language pathology or 

4 audiology. Conviction for violating any state or federal law 

5 which relates to speech-language pathology or audiology is 

6 necessarily considered to constitute a violation, except as 

7 provided in chapter 364; 

8 (7) aided or abetted another person in violating any 

9 provision of sections 148.511 to ~46~5~96 148.5198; 

10 (8) been or is being disciplined by another jurisdiction, 

11 if any of the grounds for the discipline is the same or 

12 substantially equivalent to those under sections 148.511 to 

13 148.5196; 

14 (9) not cooperated with the commissioner or advisory 

15 council in an investigation conducted according to subdivision 

16 1; 

17 (10) advertised in a manner that is false or misleading; 

18 (11) engaged in conduct likely to deceive, defraud, or harm 

19 the public; or demonstrated a willful or careless· disregard for 

20 the health, welfare, or safety of a client; 

21 (12) failed to disclose to the consumer any fee splitting 

22 or any promise to pay a portion of a fee to any other 

23 professional other than a fee for services rendered by the other 

24 professional to the client; 

25 (13) engaged in abusive or fraudulent billing practices, 

26 including violations of federal Medicare and Medicaid laws, Food 

27 and Drug Administration regulations, or state medical assistance 

28 laws; 

29 (14) obtained money, property, or services from a consumer 

30 through the use of undue influence, high pressure sales tactics, 

31 harassment, duress, deception, or fraud; 

32 (15) performed services for a client who had no possibility 

33 of benefiting from the services; 

34 (16) failed to refer a client for medical evaluation or to 

35 other health care professionals when appropriate or when a 

36 client indicated symptoms associated with diseases that could be 

5 



[SENATEE ] mv SS1204DIV 

1 medically or surgically treated; 

2 (17) ~£-ehe-~ftd~v~dtta±-~s-a-d~s~eHser-e£-hear~ft~ 

3 ~ftserttmeftes-as-de£~Hed-~y-seee~eft-~5~A~~~,-stt~d~v~s~eft-57 had 

4 the certification required by chapter 153A7 denied, suspended, 

5 or revoked according to chapter 153A; 

6 (18) used the term doctor of audiology, doctor of 

7 ·speech-language pathology, AuD, or SLPD without having obtained 

8 the degree from an institution accredited by the North Central 

9 Association of Co~leges and Secondary Schools, the Council on 

10 Academic Accreditation in Audiology and Speech-Language 

11 Pathology, the United States Department of Education, or an 

12 equivalent; er 

13 (19) failed to comply with the requirements of section 

14 148.5192 regarding supervision of speech-language pathology 

15 assistants~; or 

16 (20) if the individual is an audiologist or certified 

17 hearing aid dispenser: 

18 (i) prescribed or otherwise recommended to a consumer or 

19 potential consumer the use of a hearing aid, unless the 

20 prescription from a physician or recommendation from an 

21 audiologist or certified dispenser is in writing, is based on an 

22 audiogram that is delivered to the consumer or potential 

23 consumer when the prescription or recommendation is made, and 

24 bears the following information in all capital letters of 

25 12-point or larger boldfa·ce type: "THIS PRESCRIPTION OR 

26 RECOMMENDATION MAY BE FILLED BY, AND HEARING AIDS MAY BE 

27 PURCHASED FROM, THE LICENSED AUDIOLOGIST OR CERTIFIED DISPENSER 

28 OF YOUR CHOICE"; 

29 (ii) failed to give a copy of the audiogram, upon which the 

30 prescription or recommendation is based, to the consumer when 

31 the consumer requests a copy; 

32 (iii) failed to provide the consumer rights brochure 

33 required by section 148.5197, subdivision 3; 

34 (iv) failed to comply with restrictions on sales of hearing 

35 aids in sections 148.5197, subdivision 3, and 148.5198; 

36 (v) failed to return a consumer's hearing aid used as a 
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1 trade-in or for a discount in the price of a new hearing aid 

2 when requested by the consumer upon cancellation of the purchase 

3 agreement; 

4 (vi) failed to follow Food and Drug Administration or 

5 Federal Trade Commission regulations relating to dispensing 

6 hearing aids; 

7 (vii) failed to dispense a hearing aid in a competent 

8 manner or without appropriate training; 

9 (viii) delegated hearing instrument dispensing authority to 

10 a person not authorized to dispense a hearing instrument under 

11 this chapter or chapter 153A; 

12 (ix) failed to comply with the requirements of an employer 

13 or supervisor of a hearing aid dispenser trainee; or 

14 (x) violated a state or federal court order or judgment, 

15 including a conciliation court judgment, relating to the 

16 activities of the individual's hearing aid dispensing. 

17 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 148.5196, 

18 subdivision 1, is amended to read: 

19 Subdivision 1. [MEMBERSHIP.] The commissioner shall 

20 appoint e~~h~ 12 persons to a Speech-Language Pathologist and 

21 Audiologist Advisory Council. The e~~h~ 12 persons must include: 

22 (1) ~we three public members, as defined in section 2i4.02. 

23 Two of the public members shall be either persons receiving 

24 services of a speech-language pathologist or audiologist, or 

25 family members of or caregivers to such persons, and at least 

26 one of the public members shall be either a hearing instrument 

27 user or an advocate of one; 

28 (2) ~we three speech-language pathologists licensed under 

29 sections 148.511 to 148.5196, one of whom is currently and has 

30 been, for the five years immediately preceding the appointment, 

31 engaged in the practice of speech-language pathology in 

32 Minnesota and each of whom is employed in a different employment 

33 setting including, but not limited to, private practice, 

34 hospitals, rehabilitation settings, educational settings, and 

35 government agencies; 

36 (3) one speech-language pathologist licensed under sections 
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148.511 to 148.5196, who is currently and has been, for the five 

years immediately preceding the appointment, employed by a 

Minnesota public school district or a Minnesota public school 

district consortium that is authorized by Minnesota Statutes and 

who is licensed in speech-language pathology by the Minnesota 

Board of Teaching; 

(4) ~we three audiologists licensed under sections 148.511 

to 148.5196, eHe two of whom ~s are currently and has have 

been, for the five years immediately preceding the appointment, 

engaged .in the practice of audiology and the dispensing of 

hearing instruments in Minnesota and each of whom is employed in 

a different employment setting including, but not limited to, 

private practice, hospitals, rehabilitation settings, 

educational settings, industry, and government agencies; afia 

(5) one nonaudiologist hearing instrument dispenser 

recommended by a professional association representing hearing 

instrument dispensers; and 

l§l_ one physician licensed under chapter 147 and certified 

by the American Board of Otolaryngology, Head and Neck Surgery. 

Sec. 9. [148.5197] [HEARING AID DISPENSING.] 

Subdivision 1. [CONTENT OF CONTRACTS.] Oral statements 

made by an audiologist or certified dispenser regarding the 

provision of warranties, refunds, and service on the hearing aid 

or aids dispensed must be written on, and become part of, the 

contract of sale, specify the item or items covered, and 

indicate the person or business entity obligated to provide the 

warranty, refund, or service. 

Subd. 2. [REQUIRED USE OF LICENSE NUMBER.] The 

audiologist's license number or certified dispenser's 

certificate number must appear on all contracts, bills of sale, 

and receipts used in the sale of hearing aids. 

Subd. 3. [CONSUMER RIGHTS INFORMATION.] An audiologist or 

certified dispenser shall, at the time of the recommendation or 

prescription, give a consumer rights brochure, prepared by the 

commissioner and containing information about legal requirements 

pertaining to dispensing of hearing aids, to each potential 

8 
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1 consumer of a hearing aid. The brochure must contain 

2 information about the consumer information center described in 

3 section 153A.18. A contract for a hearing aid must note the 

4 receipt of the brochure by the consumer, along with the 

5 consumer's signature or initials. 

6 Subd. 4. [LIABILITY FOR CONTRACTS.] Owners of entities in 

7 the business of dispensing hearing aids, employers of 

8 audiologists or persons who dispense hearing aids, supervisors 

9 of trainees or audiology students, and hearing aid dispensers 

10 conducting the transaction at issue are liable for satisfying 

11 all terms of contracts, written or oral, made by their agents, 

12 employees, assignees, affiliates, or trainees, including terms 

13 relating to products, repairs, warranties, service, and 

14 refunds. The commissioner may enforce the terms of hearing aid 

15 contracts against the principal, employer, supervisor, or 

16 dispenser who conducted the transaction and may impose any 

17 remedy provided for in this chapter. 

18 

19 

Sec. 10. [148.5198] [RESTRICTION ON SALE OF HEARING AIDS.] 

Subdivision 1. [45-CALENDAR-DAY GUARANTEE AND BUYER RIGHT 

20 TO CANCEL.] (a) An audiologist or certified dispenser dispensing 

21 a hearing aid in this state must comply with paragraphs (b) and 

22 ~ 

23 (b) The audiologist or certified dispenser must provide the 

24 buyer with a 45-calendar-day written money-back guarantee. The 

25 guarantee must permit the buyer to cancel the purchase for any 

26 reason within 45 calendar days after receiving the hearing aid 

27 by giving or mailing written notice of cancellation to the 

28 audiologist or certified dispenser. If the buyer mails the 

29 notice of cancellation, the 45-calendar-day period is counted 

30 using the postmark date, to the date of receipt by the 

31 audiologist or certified dispe1iser. If· the hearing aid must be 

32 repaired, remade, or adjusted during the 45-calendar-day 

33 money-back guarantee period, the running of the 45-calendar-day 

34 period is suspended one day for each 24-hour period that the 

35 hearing aid is not in the buyer's possession. A repaired, 

36 remade, or adjusted hearing aid must be claimed by the buyer 

9 
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1 within three business days after notification of availability, 

2 after which time the running of the 45-calendar-day period 

3 resumes. The guarantee must entitle the buyer, upon 

4 cancellation, to receive a refund of payment within 30 days of 

5 return of the hearing aid to the audiologist or certified 

6 dispenser. The audiologist or certified dispenser may retain as 

7 a cancellation fee no more than $250 of the buyer's total 

8 purchase price of the hearing aid. 

9 (c) The audiologist or certified dispenser shall provide 

10 the buyer with a contract written in plain English, that 

11 contains uniform language and provisions that meet the 

12 requirements under the Plain Language Contract Act, sections 

13 325G.29 to 325G.36. The contract must include, but is not 

14 limited to, the following: in immediate proximity to the space 

15 reserved for the signature of the buyer, or on the first page if 

16 there is no space reserved for the signature of the buyer, a 

17 clear and conspicuous disclosure of the following specific 

-18 statement in all capital letters of no less than 12-point 

19 boldface type: "MINNESOTA STATE LAW GIVES THE BUYER THE RIGHT 

20 TO CANCEL THIS PURCHASE FOR ANY REASON AT ANY TIME PRIOR TO 

21 MIDNIGHT OF THE 45TH CALENDAR DAY AFTER RECEIPT OF THE HEARING 

22 AID(S). THIS CANCELLATION MUST BE IN WRITING AND MUST BE GIVEN 

23 OR MAILED TO THE AUDIOLOGIST OR CERTIFIED DISPENSER. IF THE 

24 BUYER DECIDES TO RETURN THE HEARING AID(S) WITHIN THIS 

25 45-CALENDAR-DAY PERIOD, THE BUYER WILL RECEIVE A REFUND OF THE 

26 TOTAL PURCHASE PRICE OF THE AID(S) FROM WHICH THE AUDIOLOGIST OR 

27 CERTIFIED DISPENSER MAY RETAIN AS A CANCELLATION FEE NO MORE 

28 THAN $250. 11 

29 Subd. 2. [ITEMIZED REPAIR BILL.] Any audiologist, 

30 certified dispenser, or company who agrees to repair a hearing 

31 a.id must provide the owner of the hearing aid, or the ownar's 

32 representative, with a bill that describes the repair and 

33 services rendered. The bill must also include the repairing 

34 audiologist's, certified dispenser's, or company's name, 

35 address, and telephone number. 

36 This subdivision does not apply to an audiologist, 

10 
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1 certified dispenser, or company that repairs a hearing aid 

2 pursuant to an express warranty covering the entire hearing aid 

3 and the warranty covers the entire cost, both parts and labor, 

4 of the repair. 

5 Subd. 3. [REPAIR WARRANTY.] Any guarantee of hearing aid 

6 repairs must be in writing and delivered to the owner of the 

7 hearing aid, or the owner's representative, stating the 

8 repairing audiologist's, certified.dispenseris, or company's 

9 name, address, telephone number, length of guarantee, model, and 

10 serial number of the hearing aid and all other terms and 

11 conditions of the guarantee. 

12 Subd. 4. [MISDEMEANOR.] A person found to have violated 

13 this section is guilty of a misdemeanor. 

14 Subd. 5. [ADDITIONAL.] In addition to the penalty provided 

15 in subdivision 4, a person found to have violated this section 

16 is subject to the penalties and remedies provided in section 

17 325F.69, subdivision 1. 

18 Subd. 6. [ESTIMATES.] Upon the request of the owner of a 

19 hearing aid or the owner's representative for a written estimate 

20 and prior to the commencement of repairs, a repairing 

21 audiologist, certified dispen~er, or company shall provide the 

22 customer with a written estimate of the price of repairs. If a 

23 repairing audiologist, certified dispenser, or company provides 

24 a written estimate of the price of repairs, it must not charge 

25 more than the total price stated in the estimate for the 

26 repairs. If the repairing audiologist, certified dispenser, or 

27 company after commencing repairs determines that additional work 

28 is necessary to accomplish repairs that are the subject of a 

29 written estimate and if the repairing audiologist, certified 

30 dispenser, or company did not unreasonably fail to disclose the 

31 possible need ·for the additional work when the estimate was 

32 made, the repairing audiologist, certified dispenser, or company 

33 may charge more than the estimate for the repairs if the 

34 repairing audiologist, certified dispenser, or company 

35 immediately provides the owner or owner's representative a· 

36 revised written estimate pursuant to this section and receives 

11 
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1 authorization to continue with the reEairs. If continuation of 

2 the reEairs is not authorized, the reEairing: audiologist, 

3 certified disEenser, or comEany shall return the hearing: aid as 

4 close as Eossible to its former condition and shall release the 

5 hearing: aid to the owner or owner's reEresentative UEon Ea:yment 

6 of charges for reEairs actually Eerf ormed and not in excess of 

7 the original estimate. 

8 Seco 11. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 153A.13, 

9 subdivision 5, is amended to read: 

10 Subd. 5. [DISPENSER OF HEARING INSTRUMENTS.] "Dispenser of 

11 hearing instruments" means a natural person who engages in 

12 hearing instrument dispensing whether or not certified by the 

13 commissioner of health or licensed by an existing health-related 

14 board, except that a person described as follows is not a 

15 dispenser of hearing instruments: 

16 (1) a student participating in supervised field· work that 

17 is necessary to meet requirements of an accredited educational 

18 program if the student is designated by a title which clearly 

19 indicates the student's status as a student trainee; or 

20 (2) a person who helps a dispenser of hearing instruments 

21 in an administrative or clerical manner and does not engage in 

22 hearing instrument dispensing. 

23 A person who offers to dispense a hearing instrument, or a 

24 person who advertises, holds out to the public, or otherwise 

25 represents that the person is authorized to dispense hearing 

26 instruments must be certified by the commissioner exceEt when 

27 the Eerson is an audiologist as defined in section 148.512. 

28 Sec. 12. Minnesota statutes 2004, section 153A.14, 

29 subdivision 2h, is amended to read: 

30 Subd. 2h. [CERTIFICATION BY EXAMINATION.] An applicant 

31 musi:. achieve a·passing score, as determined by the commissioner, 

32 on an examination according to paragraphs (a) to (c). 

33 (a) The examination must include, but is not limited to: 

34 (1) A written examination approved by the commissioner 

35 covering the following areas as they pertain to hearing 

36 instrument selling: 

12 
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1 (i) basic physics of sound; 

2 (ii) the anatomy and physiology of the ear; 

3 (iii) the function of hearing instruments; and 

4 (iv) the principles of hearing instrument selection;-aRa 

5 tvt-seaee-aRa-£eae~a±-±aws7-~tt±es7-aHa-~e~tt±ae~eHs. 

6 (2) Practical tests of proficiency in the following 

7 techniques as they pertain to hearing instrument selling: 

8 (i) pure tone audiometry, including air conduction testing 

9 and bone conduction testing; 

10 (ii) live voice or recorded voice speech audiometry 

11 including speech recognition (discrimination) testing, most 

12 comfortable loudness level, and uncomfortable loudness 

13 measurements of tolerance thresholds; 

14 (iii) masking when indicated; 

15 (iv) recording and evaluation of audiograms and speech 

16 audiometry to determine proper selection and fitting of a 

17 hearing instrument; 

18 (v) taking ear mold impressions; aHa 

19 (vi) using an otoscope for the visual observation of the 

20 entire ear canal; and 

21 (vii) state and federal laws, rules, and regulations. 

22 (b) The examination shall be administered by the 

23 commissioner at least twice a year. 

24 (c) An applicant must achieve a passing score on all 

25 portions of the examination within a two-year period. An 

26 applicant who does not achieve a passing score on all portions 

27 of the examination within a two-year period must retake the 

28 entire examination and achieve a passing score on each portion 

29 of the examination. An applicant who does not apply for 

30 certification within one year of successful completion of the 

31 exa'.m.j_nation must retake the -examination and achieve u. passing 

32 score on each portion of the examination. An applicant may not 

33 take any part of the examination more than three times in a 

34 two-year period. 

35 Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 153A.14, 

36 subdivision 2i, is amended to read: 

13 
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Subd. 2i. [CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENT.] On forms 

provided by the commissioner, each certified dispenser must 

submit with the application for renewal of certification 

evidence of completion of ten course hours of continuing 

education earned within the 12-month period of July 1 to June 30 

immediately preceding renewal. Continuing education courses 

must be directly related to hearing instrument dispensing and 

approved by the International Hearing Society e~-~tta±i£y-£e~ 

eeReiRttiR~-eatteaeieR-a~~~evea-£e~-MiRReseea-±ieeRsea 

attaie±e~ises. Evidence of completion of the ten course hours of 

continuing education must be submitted with renewal applications 

by October 1 of each year. This requirement does not apply to 

13 dispensers certified for less than one year. The first report 

14 of evidence of completion of the continuing education credits 

15 shall be due October 1, 1997. 

16 

17 

18 

19 

20 

21 

22 

23 

24 

25 

26 

27 

Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 153A.14, 

subdivision 4, is amended to read: 

Subd. 4 .. [DISPENSING OF HEARING INSTRUMENTS WITHOUT 

CERTIFICATE.] Except as provided in subdivisions 4a and 4c, and 

in sections 148.512 to 148.5198, it is unlawful for any person 

not holding a valid certificate to dispense a hearing instrument 

as defined in section 153A.13, subdivision 3. A person who 

dispenses a hearing instrument without the certificate required 

by this section is guilty of a gross misdemeanor. 

Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 153A.14, 

subdivision 4c, is amended to read: 

Subd. 4c. [RECIPROCITY.] (a) A person applying for 

28 certification as a hearing instrument dispenser under 

29 subdivision 1 who has dispensed hearing instruments in another 

30 jurisdiction may dispense hearing instruments as a trainee under 

31 · indirect supervision if the person: 

32 (1) satisfies the provisions of subdivision 4a, paragraph 

33 (a); 

34 (2) submits a signed and dated affidavit stating that the 

35 applicant is not the subject of a disciplinary action or past 

36 disciplinary action in this or another jurisdiction and is not 

14 
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1 disqualified on the basis of section 153A.15, subdivision 1; and 

2 (3) provides a copy of a current credential as a hearing 

3 instrument dispenser7-a:H-a:tta~e3:e~~s~7-er-ee~a7 held in the 

4 District of Columbia or a state or territory of the United 

5 States. 

6 (b) A person becoming a trainee under this subdivision who 

7 fails to take and pass the practical examination described in 

8 subdivision 2h, paragraph (a), clause (2), when next offered 

9 must cease dispe~sing hearing instruments unless under direct 

10 supervision. 

11 Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 153A.14, 

12 subdivision 9, is amended to read: 

13 Subd. 9. [CONSUMER RIGHTS %NF9RMA~%9N.] A hearing 

14 instrument dispenser shall7-a~-~ae-~~me-ef-~ae-reeelftlfteHaa~~eH-er 

15 ~reser~~~~eH7-~~ve-a-eeHsttmer-r~~a~s-ereeattre7-~re~area-ey-~ae 

16 eemm~ss~eHer-aHa-eeH~a~H~H~-~Hferma~~eH-aeett~-3:e~a3:-re~tt~remeH~s 

17 ~er~a~H~H~-~e-sa3:es-ef-aear~Hg-~Hs~rttmeH~s7-~e-eaea-~e~eH~~a3: 

18 ettyer-e£-a-ftear±Hg-±Hs~rttmeH~~--A-sa3:es-eeH~rae~-£er-a-ftear±Hg 

19 ~Hs~rttmeH~-mtts~-He~e-~fie-reee±~~-ef-~fie-ereefittre-ey-~ae-ettyer7 

20 a3:eHg-w±~a-~ae-ettyerLs-s±gHa~ttre-er-±H±~±a3:s comply with the 

21 requirements of sections 148.5195, subdivision 3, clause (20); 

22 148.5197; and 148.5198. 

23 Sec. 17. Minnesota statutes 2004, section 153A.15, 

24 subdivision 1, is amended to read: 

25 Subdivision 1. [PROHIBITED ACTS.) The commissioner may 

26 take enforcement action as provided under subdivision 2 against 

27 a dispenser of hearing instruments for the following acts and 

28 · conduct: 

29 (1) ~reser~e±Hg-er-e~aerw±se-reeelfillleHa±Hg-~e-a-eeHsttmer-er 

30 ~e~eH~~a3:-eeHsttmer-~fie-ttse-e£-a-fiear±H~-±Hs~rttmeH~7-ttH3:ess-~fie 

31 ~reser±~i::±eH-f:Eeltt-a-~hy~:i:e:i:a:ti-or-~eeonuncfiaat:±e!'l-f:Eem-a:-fiea:i:=:i:l'lg 

32 ±Hs~rttmeH~-a±s~eHser-er-atta±e3:eg~s~-±s-~H-wr±~~Hg7-±s-easea-eH 

33 aH-atta±egram-~fia~-±s-ae3:±verea-~e-~fie-eeHsttmer-er-~e~eH~±a3: 

34 eeHsttmer-wfieH-~fie-preser±p~±eH-er-reeemmeHaa~±eH-±s-maae7-aHa 

35 eears-~fie-fe3:3:ew~Hg-~Hferma~~eH-±H-a3:3:-ea~±~a3:-3:e~~ers-ef 

36 ~r-~e~H~-er-3:arger-ee3:afaee-~y~e~--u~H~S-PRES€R%P~%9N-9R 

15 
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1 RE€8MMENBA~%8N-MA¥-BE-F%nnEB-B¥7-ANB-HEAR%N6-%NS~RBMEN~S-MA¥-BE 

2 PBR€HASEB-FR8M7-~HE-€ER~%F%EB-B%SPENSER-8R-n%€ENSEB-ABB%8n86%S~ 

3 9F-¥9BR-€H9%€Ellt 

4 f zt-£aiiiH~-~e-~ive-a-ee~y-e£-~he-attaie~ram7-tt~eH-whieh-~he 

5 ~reseri~~ieH-er-reeemmeHaa~ieH-is-sasea7-~e-~he-eeHsttmer-wheH 

6 ~here-has-5eeH-a-ehar~e-£er-~he-attaie~ram-aHa-~he-eeHsttmer 

7 re~ttes~s-a-ee~yt 

8 f3t dispensing a hearing instrument to a minor person 18 

9 years or younger unless evaluated by an audiologist for hearing 

10 evaluation and hearing aid evaluation; 

11 f 4t-£aiiiH~-~e-~reviae-~he-eeHsttmer-ri~h~s-ereehttre 

12 re~ttirea-ey-see~ieH-~53A~~47-stt5aivisieH-9t 

13 f5t ~ being disciplined through a revocation, suspension, 

14 restriction, or limitation by another state for conduct subject 

15 to action under this chapter; 

16 f6t ~ presenting advertising that is false or misleading; 

17 f:r-t J!1 providing the commissioner with false or m.isleading 

18 statements of credentials, training, or experience; 

19 fSt ~ engaging in conduct likely to deceive, defraud, or 

20 harm the public; or demonstrating a willful or careless 

21 disregard for the health, welfare, or safety of a consumer; 

22 f9t J_§l_ splitting fees or promising to pay a portion of a 

23 fee to any other professional other than a fee for services 

24 rendered by the other professional to the client; 

25 f~et lZ2_ engaging in abusive or fraudulent billing 

26 practices, including violations of federal Medicare and Medicaid 

27 laws, Food and Drug Administration regulations, or state medical 

28 assistance laws; 

29 f~~t ~ obtaining money, property, or services from a 

30 consumer through the use of undue influence, high pressure sales 

31 tactics, harassment, duress·,··d.eception, or fraud; 

32 f~zt-£aiiiH~-~e-eem~iy-wi~h-res~rie~ieHs-eH-sa~es-e£ 

33 heariH~-aias-iH-see~ieHs-~53A~~47-sttsaivisieH-97-aHa-~53A~~9t 

34 f~3t ~ performing the services of a certified hearing 

35 instrument dispenser in an incompetent or negligent manner; 

36 f~4t .i!Ql failing to comply with the requirements of this 

16 
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1 chapter as an employer, supervisor, or trainee; 

2 f~5t J.!!1 failing to provide information in a timely manner 

3 in response to a request by the commissioner, commissioner's 

4 designee, or the advisory council; 

5 f~6t ~ being convicted within the past five years of 

6 violating any laws of the United States, or any state or 

7 territory of.the United States, and the violation is a felony, 

8 gross misdemeanor, or misdemeanor, an essential element of which 

9 relates to hearing instrument dispensing, except as provided in 

10 chapter 364; 

11 t~~t 1!11 failing to· cooperate with the commissioner, the 

12 commissioner's designee, or the advisory council in any 

13 investigation; 

14 t~et J.!!1 failing to perform hearing instrument dispensing 

15 with reasonable judgment, skill, or safety due to the use of 

16 alcohol or drugs, or other physical or mental impairment; 

17 f~9t ~ failing to fully disclose actions taken against 

18 the applicant or the applicant's legal authorization to dispense 

19 hearing instruments in this or another state; 

20 t~et J_!.§1_ violating a state or federal court order or 

21 judgment, including a conciliation court judgment, relating to 

22 the activities of the applicant in hearing instrument 

23 dispensing; 

24 f~~t l!2l having been or being disciplined by the 

25 commissioner of the Department of Health, or other authority, in 

26 this or another jurisdiction, if any of the grounds for the 

27 discipline are the same or substantially equivalent to those in 
~ 

28 sections 153A.13 to 153A.19; 

29 f~~t ~ misrepresenting the purpose of hearing tests, or 

30 in any way communicating that the hearing test or hearing test 

31 protocol required by section 153A.14, subdivision 4b, is a 

32 medical evaluation, a diagnostic hearing evaluation conducted by 

33 an audiologist, or is other than a test to select a hearing 

34 instrument, except that the hearing instrument dispenser can 

35 determine the need for or recommend the consumer obtain a 

36 medical evaluation consistent with requirements of the United 

17 
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1 States Food and Drug Administration; 

2 f z3t ~ violating any of the provisions of sections 

3 148.5195, subdivision 3, clause (20); 148.5197; 148.5198; and 

4 153A.13 to ~53A~~9 153A.18; and 

5 tz~t ~ aiding or abetting another person in violating 

6 any of the provisions of sections 148.5195, subdivision 3, 

7 clause (20); 148.5197; 148.5198; and 153A.13 to ~53A~~9 153A.18. 

8 Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 153A.20, 

9 subdivision 1, is amended to read: 

10 Subdivision 1. [MEMBERSHIP.] The commissioner shall 

11 appoint ft~fte seven persons to a Hearing Instrument Dispenser 

12 Advisory Council. 

13 (a) The ft~fte seven persons must include: 

14 (1) three public members, as defined in section 214.02. At 

15 least one of the public members shall be a hearing instrument 

16 user and one of the public members shall be either a hearing 

17 instrument user or an advocate of one; and 

18 (2) three hearing instrument dispensers certified under 

19 sections 153A.14 to 153A.20, each of whom is currently, and has 

20 been for the five years immediately preceding their appointment, 

21 engaged in hearing instrument dispensing in Minnesota and who 

22 represent the occupation of hearing instrument dispensing and 

23 who are not audiologists; and 

24 (3) ~h~ee-atta~e±e~~s~s-whe-a~e-ee~~~£~ea-hea~~n~-~fts~~ttmen~ 

25 a~s~ense~s-e~-a~e one audiologist licensed as atta~e±e~~s~s an 

26 audiologist under chapter 148 who dispenses hearing instruments, 

27 recommended by a professional association representing 

28 audiologists and speech-language pathologists. 

29 (b) The factors the commissioner may consider when 

30 appointing advisory council members include, but are not limited 

31 to, professional affiliation, g.:ographical location, and·type of 

32 practice. 

33 (c) No two members of the advisory council shall be 

34 employees of, or have binding contracts requiring sales 

35 exclusively for, the same hearing instrument manufacturer or the 

36 same employer. 

18 
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Sec. 19. [REVISOR'S INSTRUCTION.] 

The reviser of statutes shall change references from 

"sections 148.511 to 148.5196" to "sections 148.511 to 148.5198 11 

wherever they appear in Minnesota Statutes and Minnesota Rules, 

and change "153A.19" to "148.5197 11 in Minnesota Statutes, 

section 325G.203. 

Sec. 20. [REPEALER.] 

Minnesota Statutes 2004, sections 153A.14, subdivisions 2a, 

8, and 10; and 153A.19, are repealed. 

Sec. 21. (EFFECTIVE DATE.] 

Sections 1 to 18 and 20 are effective August 1, 2005." 

Page 161, line 4, delete "licensed" 

Page 161, line 29, before the period, insert "or services 

provided by Christian Scientist practitioners" 

Pages 162 and 163, delete section 2 and insert: 

"Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 148B.61, is 

17 amended to read: 

18 148B.61 (OFFICE OF MENTAL HEALTH PRACTICE.] 

19 Subdivision 1. [€REA~~9N AUTHORITY.] _@J_ The Office of 

20 Mental Health Practice is e~ea~ea-:i:H-~he-Be~a~~meH~-e£-Hea3:~h 

21 transferred to the mental-health-related licensing boards. The 

22 mental-health-related licensing boards shall convene an Office 

23 of Mental Health Practices Committee to investigate complaints 

24 and take and enforce disciplinary actions against all unlicensed 

25 mental health practitioners for violations of prohibited 

26 conduct, as defined in section 148B.68. 

27 JE.)_ The e££:i:ee committee shall publish a complaint 

28 telephone number, provide an informational Web site, and also 

29 serve as a referral point and clearinghouse on complaints 

30 against mental health se~v~ees-aHa-ee~h-3::i:eeHsea-aHa-ttH3::i:eeHsea 

31 me:rrea3:-l'ieet3:'4:h-~~e:fes·s:i:eflta3:B-;-eti~ett13h-t:he-eH:~sem.:i:Ha~:i:oR 

32 e£ practitioners. The committee shall disseminate objective 

33 information to consumers aHa through the development and 

34 performance of public education activities, including outreach, 

35 regarding the provision of mental health services and both 

36 licensed and unlicensed mental health professionals who provide 

19 
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1 these ~ervices. 

2 Sttea.-r.--f RB~EMA*~Ne.t-~he-eemmissieHer-e£-heai~h-shaii 

3 aaep~-rtties-Heeessary-~e-impiemeft~7-aamiHis~er7-er-eH£eree 

4 previsieHs-e£-see~ieHs-~48B.60-~e-~48B•T~-pttrsttaH~-~e-ehap~er 

5 ~4.--~he-eemmissieHer-may-He~-aaep~-rtties-~ha~-res~rie~-er 

6 prehiei~-perseHs-£rem-previaiH~-meH~ai-fieai~h-serviees-eH-~he 

7 basis-e£-eatteaeieH7-eraiHift~7-experieHee7-er-sttpervisieft• 

8 Subd. 4. [MANAGEMENT, REPORT, AND SUNSET OF THE 

9 OFFICE.] (a) The committee shall: 

10 (1) designate one board to provide administrative 

11 management of the committee; 

12 (2) set the program budget; and 

13 (3) ensure that the committee's direction is in accord with 

14 its authority. 

15 (b) If the participating boards change which board is 

16 designated to provide administrative management of the 

17 committee, any appropriation remaining for the committee shall 

18 transfer to the newly designated board on the effective date of 

19 the change. The participating boards must inform the 

20 appropriate legislative committees and the commissioner of 

21 finance of any change in the designated board and the amount of 

22 any appropriation transferred under this provision. 

23 (c) The designated board shall hire the office employees 

24 and pay expenses of the committee from funds appropriated for 

25 that purpose. 

26 (d) After July 1, 2008, the committee shall prepare and 

27 submit a report to the legislature by January 15, 2009, 

28 evaluating the activity of the office and making recommendations 

29 concerning the regulation of unlicensed mental health 

30 practitioners. In the absence of legislative action to continue 

31 the committee, the· committee expires· on June 30, 2009;." 

32 Page 164, delete ~ifie~ ~ to 6 aHd insQrt· 

33 

34 

35 

36 subdivision 4. following 

from 

20 
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1 

2 

3 within their 

4 the Board of 

5 Social Work, the 

6 Board of Behavio Thera 

under the 

services 

Medical Practice, 

, the Board of 

, and the 

7 Page 164, line 13, delete "act" and insert "article" 

8 Page 167, after line 17, insert: 

9 "Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 214.06, 

10 subdivision 1, is amended to read: 

11 Subdivision 1. [FEE ADJUSTMENT.] Notwithstanding any law 

12 to the contrary, the commissioner of health as authorized by 

13 section 214.13, all health-related licensing boards and all 

14 non-health-related licensing boards shall by rule, with the 

15 approval of the commissioner of finance, adjust, as needed, any 

16 fee which the commissioner of health or the board is empowered 

17 to assess. As provided in section 16A.1285, the adjustment 

18 shall be an amount sufficient so that the total fees collected 

19 by each board will as-e±ese±y-as-~essie±e-e~tta± be based on 

20 anticipated expenditures dtt~~ft~-~he-£isea±-bieftft~ttm, including 

21 expenditures for the programs authorized by sections ~~47~T-~e 

22 ~~47~5-aftd-~~473~-~e-~~473T 214.10, 214.103, 214.11, 214.17 to 

23 214.24, 214.28 to 214.37, and 214.40, except that a 

24 health-related licensing board may have anticipated expenditures 

25 in excess of anticipated revenues in a biennium by using 

26 accumulated surplus revenues from fees collected by that board 

27 in previous bienniums. A health-related licensing board shall 

28 not spend more money than the amount appropriated by the 

29 legislature for a biennium. For members of an occupation 

30 registered after July 1, 1984, by the commissioner of health 

31 under the provisions of section 214.13, the fee established must 

32 include an amount necessary to recover, over a five-year period, 

33 the commissioner's direct expenditures for adoption of the rules 

34 providing for registration of members of the occupation. All 

35 fees received shall be deposited in the state treasury. Fees 

36 ~eee~ved-by-~he-eemm~ss~efte~-e£-hea±~h-e~-hea±~h-~e±a~ed 

21 
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1 ~~eens~n~-~ea~as-mtts~-~e-e~ea~~ea-~e-~fie-fiea~~fi-eeett~a~~ens 

2 ~~eens~n~-aeeettn~-~n-~fie-s~a~e-~eve~nmen~-s~ee~a~-~eventte-£ttnaT 

3 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 214.06, is 

4 amended by adding a subdivision to read: 

5 Subd. la. [HEALTH OCCUPATIONS LICENSING ACCOUNT.] Fees 

6 received by the commissioner of health or health-related 

7 licensing boards must be credited to the health occupations 

8 licensing account in the state government special revenue fund. 

9 The commissioner of finance shall ensure that the revenues and 

10 expenditures of each health-related licensing board are tracked 

11 separately in the health occupations licensing account. 

12 ARTICLE 10 

13 EMERGENCY MEDICAL SERVICES REGULATORY BOARD 

14 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 144E.001, 

15 subdivision 8, is amended to read: 

16 Subd. 8. [LICENSEE.] "Licensee" means a natural person, 

17 partnership, association, corporation, Indian tribe, or unit of 

18 government which possesses an ambulance service license. 

19 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 144E.001, is 

20 amended by adding a subdivision to read: 

21 Subd. 14a. '[TRIBE.] "Tribe" means a federally recognized 

22 Indian tribe, as defined in United States Code, title 25, 

23 section 450b, paragraph (e), located within the state of 

24 Minnesota. 

25 

26 

27 

28 

29 

30 

31 

Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 144E.001, 

subdivision 15, is amended to read: 

Subd. 15. [VOLUNTEER AMBULANCE ATTENDANT.] "Volunteer 

ambulance attendant" means a person who provides emergency 

medical services for a Minnesota licensed ambulance service 

without the expectation of remuneration and who does not depend 

in any way upon the provision of these services for the person's 

32 livelihood. An individual may be considered a volunteer 

33 ambulance attendant even though the individual receives an 

34 hourly stipend for each hour of actual service provided, except 

35. for hours on standby alert, or other nominal fee, and even 

36 though the hourly stipend or other nominal fee is.regarded as 

22 
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taxable income for purposes of state or federal law, provided 

that the hourly stipend and other nominal fees do not exceed 

$37eee-w~~ft±R-eRe-yea~-e£-~fie-£±Ra~-ee~~~£~ea~~eR 

e~am~Ra~±eR $6,000 annually. 

Sec. 4. [144E.266] [EMERGENCY SUSPENSION OF AMBULANCE 

SERVICE REQUIREMENT.] 

(a) The requirements of sections 144E.10; 144E.101, 

subdivisions 1, 2, 3, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, and 13; 144E.103; 

144E.12; 144E.121; 144E.123; 144E.127; and 144E.15, are 

suspended: 

(1) throughout the state during a national security 

emergency declared under section 12.31; 

(2) in the geographic areas of the state affected during a 

peacetime emergency declared under section 12.31; and . 

(3) in the geographic areas of the state affected during a 

local emergency· declared under section 12.29. 

(b) For purposes of this section, the geographic areas of 

the state affected shall include geographic areas where one or 

more ambulance services are providing requested mutual aid to 

the site of the emergency. 

Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 144E.27, 

subdivision 2, is amended to read: 

Subd. 2. [REGISTRATION.] To be eligible for registration 

with the board as a first responder, an individual 

shall complete a board-approved application form and: 

(1) successfully complete a board-approved initial first 

responder training program. Registration under this clause is 

valid for two years and expires at the end of the month in which 

the registration was issued; or 

(2) be credentialed as a first responder by the National 

31· Registry of Emergency Medical Technicians. Registration under 

32 this clause expires the same day as the National Registry 

33 credential. 

34 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 144E.28, 

35 subdivision 1, is amended to read: 

36 Subdivision 1. [REQUIREMENTS.] To be eligible for 

23 
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1 certification by the board as an EMT, EMT-I, or EMT-P, an 

2 individual shall: 

3 (1) successfully complete the United States Department of 

4 Transportation course, or its equivalent as approved by the. 

5 board, specific to the EMT, EMT-I, or EMT-P classification; afta 

6 (2) pass the written and practical examinations approved by 

7 the board and administered by the board or its designee, 

8 specific to the EMT, EMT-I, or EMT-P classification; and 

9 (3) complete a board-approved application form. 

10 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 144E.28, 

11 subdivision 3, is amended to read: 

12 Subd. 3. [RECIPROCITY.] The board may certify an 

13 individual who possesses a current National Registry of 

14 Emergency Medical Technicians registration from another 

15 jurisdiction if the individual submits a board-approved 

16 application form. The board certification classification shall 

17 be the same as the National Registry's classification. 

18 Certification shall be for the duration of the applicant's 

19 registration period in another jurisdiction, not to exceed two 

20 years. 

21 Sec. 80 Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 144Eo28, 

22 

23 

24 

25 

26 

27 

28 

29 

30 

31 

32 

33 

34 

35 

36 

subdivision 7, is amended to read: 

Subd. 7. [RENEWAL.] (a) Before the expiration date of 

certification, an applicant for renewal of certification as an 

EMT shall: 

(1) successfully complete a course in cardiopulmonary 

resuscitation that is approved by the board or the licensee's 

medical director; afta 

(2) take the United States Department of Transportation EMT 

refresher course and successfully pass the practical skills test 

portion of the course, or successfully complete 48 hours of 

continuing education in EMT programs that are consistent with 

the United States Department of Transportation National Standard 

curriculum or its equivalent as approved by the board or as 

approved by the licensee's medical director and pass a practical 

skills test approved by the board and administered by a training 

24 
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1 program approved by the board. The cardiopulmonary 

2 resuscitation course and practical skills test may be included 

3 as part of the refresher course or continuing education renewal 

4 requirements. Twenty-four of the 48 hours must include at least 

5 four hours of instruction in each of the following six 

6 categories: 

7 (i) airway management and resuscitation procedures; 

8 (ii) circulation, bleeding control, and shock; 

9 (iii) human anatomy and physiology, patient assessment, and 

10 medical emergencies; 

11 (iv) injuries involving musculoskeletal, nervous, 

12 digestive, and genito-urinary systems; 

13 (v) environmental emergencies and rescue techniques; and 

14 (vi) emergency childbirth and other special situations; and 

15 

16 

(3) complete a board-approved application form. 

(b) Before the expiration date of certification, an 

17 applicant for renewal of certification as an EMT-I or EMT-P 

18 shall: 

19 (1) for an EMT-I, successfully complete a course in 

20 cardiopulmonary resuscitation that is approved by the board or 

21 the licensee's medical director and for an EMT-P, successfully 

22 complete a course in advanced cardiac life support that is 

23 approved by the board or the licensee's medical director; aHa 

24 (2) successfully complete 48 hours of continuing education 

25 in emergency medical training programs, appropriate to the level 

26 of the applicant's EMT-I or EMT-P certification, that are 

27 consistent with the United States Department of Transportation 

28 National Standard Curriculum or its equivalent as approved by 

29 the board or as approved by the licensee's medical director. An 

30 applicant may take the United States Department of 

31 irransportation Emergency Medical Technician refresher course or 

32 its equivalent without the written or practical test as approved 

33 by the board, and as appropriate to the applicant's level of 

34 certification, as part of the 48 hours of continuing education. 

35 Each hour of the refresher course, the cardiopulmonary 

36 resuscitation course, and the advanced cardiac life support 

25 
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1 course counts toward the 48-hour continuing education 

2 requirement; and 

3 (3) complete a board-approved application form. 

4 (c) Certification shall be renewed every two years. 

5 (d) If the applicant does not meet the renewal requirements 

6 under this subdivision, the applicant's certification expires. 

7 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 144E.28, 

8 subdivision 8, is amended to read: 

9 Subd. 8. [REINSTATEMENT.] (a) Within four years of a 

10 certification expiration date, a person whose certification has 

11 expired under subdivision 7, paragraph (d), may have the 

12 certification reinstated upon submission of~ 

13 J..!J_ evidence to the board of training equivalent to the 

14 continuing education requirements of subdivision 7; and 

15 (2) a board-approved application form. 

16 (b) If more than four years have passed since a certificate 

17 expira~ion date, an applicant must complete the initial 

18 certification process requir~d under subdivision 1. 11 

19 Renumber the sections in sequence 

20 Amend the title as follows: 

21 Page 1, line 22, after "2;" insert "144E.001, subdivisions 

22 8, 15,· by adding a subdivision; 144E.27, subdivision 2; 144E.28, 

23 

24 

25 

26 

27 

28 

29 

30 

31 

32 

33 

34 

35 
36 

subdivisions 1, 3, 7, 8 • " . 
' 

Page 1, line 24, after the semicolon, insert "148.413, by 

adding a subdivision;" 

1 •II 
I 

Page 1, line 26, after "3;" insert "148.5196, subdivision 

Page 1, line 40, after "subdivisions" insert "2h," and 

after 11 4c" insert 11 , 9 11 

Page 1, line 41, after 11 2; 11 insert "214.06, subdivision 1, 

·by adding a subdivision;" 

Page 2, line 1, after "chapters" insert "144E; 11 

Page 2, line 9, delete the second "subdivision" and insert 

"subdivisions" and after 11 2a 11 insert 11 , 8, 10; 153A.19" 

and 
And when so amended that the bill be recommended to pass 

be referred to the full commit~te~. , ~~- r 

• • • .'... ~ V..v't..--/ 
Y\rision Ch~ir) ··· ············ 

26 
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1 A bill for an act 

2 relating to health; recodifying statutes and rules 
3 relating to social work; authorizing rulemaking; 
4 providing penalties; modifying provisions relating to 
5 physical therapists; providing penalties; modifying 
6 the Psychology Practice Act; phasing out licensure as 
7 a licensed psychological practitioner; modifying 
8 dental licensure provisions; establishing fees; 
9 modifying provisions for licensed professional 

10 counselors; authorizing certain rulemaking; modifying 
11 physician review; modifying information contained on 
12 prescriptions; providing recognition for the practice 
13 of respiratory therapy in emergency situations; 
14 providing that audiologists need not obtain hearing 
15 instrument dispenser certification; providing 
16 penalties; transferring oversight authority for the 
17 Office of Mental Health Practice; requiring a report; 
18 establishing penalty fees for certain credentialed 
19 health occupations; providing criminal penalties; 
20 appropriating money; amending Minnesota Statutes 2004, 
21 sections 13.383, subdivision 10; 13.411~ subdivision 
22 5; 144.335, subdivision 1; 144A.46, subdivision 2; 
23 144E.001, subdivisions 8, 15, by adding a subdivision; 
24 144E.27, subdivision 2; 144E.28, subdivisions 1, 3, 7, 
25 8; 147.09; 147A.18, subdivisions 1, 3; 147C.05; 
26 148.512, subdivision 6, by adding subdivisions; 
27 148.413, by adding a subdivision; 148.515, by adding a 
28 subdivision; 148.5194, by adding subdivisions; 
29 148.5195, subdivision 3; 148.5196, subdivision 1; 
30 148.6445, by adding a subdivision; 148.65, by adding 
31 subdivisions; 148.706; 148.75; 148.89, subdivision 5; 
32 148.90, subdivision 1; 148.907, by adding a 
33 subdivision; 148.908, subdivision 2, by adding a 
34 subdivision; 148.909; 148.916, subdivision 2; 148.925, 
35 subdivision 6; 148.941, subdivision 2; 148.96, 
36 subdivision 3; 148B.53, subdivisions 1, 3; 148B.54, 
37 subdivision 2; 148B.59; 148B.60; 148B.61; 148C.03,. 
38 subdivision 1; 148C.04, subdivisions 3, 4, 6; 
39 148C.091, subdivision 1; 148C.10, subdivision 2; 
40 148C.11, subdivisions 1, 4, 5, 6; 148C.12, subdivision 
41 3, by adding a subdivision; 150A.Ol, subdivision 6a; 
42 150A.06, subdivision la; 150A.10, subdivision la; 
43 153A.13, subdivision 5; 153A.14, subdivisions 2h, 2i, 
44 4, 4c, 9; 153A.15, subdivision 1; 153A.20, subdivision 
45 1; 214.01, subdivision 2; 214.06, subdivision 1, by 
46 adding a subdivision; 214.103, subdivision 1; 245.462, 
47 subdivision 18; 245.4871, subdivision 27; 256B.0625, 
48 subdivision 38; 256J.08, subdivision 73a; 319B.02, 
49 subdivision 19; 319B.40; Laws 2003, chapter 118, 
50 section 29, as amended; proposing coding for new law 
51 in Minnesota Statutes, chapters 144E; 148; 148B; 148C; 
52 150A; 153A; providing coding for new law as Minnesota 
53 statutes, chapter 1480; repealing Minnesota Statutes 
54 2004, sections 148B.18; 148B.185; 148B.19; 148B.20; 
55 148B.21; 148B.215; 148B.22; 148B.224; 148B.225; 
56 148B.226; 148B.24; 148B.25; 148B.26; 148B.27; 148B.28; 
57 148B.281; 148B.282; 148B.283; 148B.284; 148B.285; 
58 148B.286; 148B.287; 148B.288; 148B.289; 148C.02; 
59 148C.12, subdivision 4; 153A.14, subdivisions 2a, 8, 
60 10; 153A.19; Minnesota Rules, parts 4747.0030, 
61 subparts 11, 16; 4747.1200; 4747.1300; 5601.0100, 
62 subparts 3, 4; 8740.0100; 8740.0110; 8740.0120; 
63 8740.0122; 8740.0130; 8740.0155; 8740.0185; 8740.0187; 
64 8740.0200; 8740.0240; 8740.0260; 8740.0285; 8740.0300; 
65 8740.0310; 8740.0315; 8740.0320; 8740.0325; 8740.0330; 
66 8740.0335; 8740.0340; 8740.0345. 

67 BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF MINNESOTA: 

68 ARTICLE 1 

Article 1 1 
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BOARD OF SOCIAL WORK 

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 13.383, 

subdivision 10, ·is amended to read: 

Subd. 10. [SOCIAL WORKERS.] (a) [DISCIPLINARY DATA 

GENERALLY.] Data held by the Board of Social Work in connection 

with disciplinary matters are classified under 

sections ~48B•z8x7-sttbdiv~siens-z-and-57-and-~~aB.z85 148D.255 

to 148D.270. 

(b) [REPORTS OF VIOLATIONS.] Certain reports of violations 

10 submitted to the Board of Social Work are classified 

11 under see~~en-x48B.z84 sections 148D.240 to 148D.250. 

12 (c) [CLIENT RECORDS.] Client records of a patient cared 

13 for by a social worker who is under review by the Board of 

14 Social Work are classified under see~iens-x48B.z8z-and-x4SB.z867 

15 sttbdivisien-3 section 148D.230. 

16 Sec. 2. Minnesota statutes 2004, section 13.411, 

17 subdivision 5, is amended to read: 

18 Subd. 5. [SOCIAL WORKERS.] Residence addresses and 

19 teleph~ne numbers of social worker licensees are classified 

20 under see~~en-x48B•z857-sttbdivisien-5 chapter 148D. 

21 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 144.335, 

22 subdivision 1, is amended to read: 

23 Subdivision 1. [DEFINITIONS.] For the purposes of this 

24 section, the following terms have the meanings given them: 

25 (a) "Patient" means a natural person who has received 

26 health care services from a provider for treatment or 

27 examination of a medical, psychiatric, or mental condition, the 

28 surviving spouse and parents of a deceased patient, or a person 

29 the patient appoints in writing as a representative, including a 

30 health care agent acting pursuant to chapter 145C, unless the 

31 authority of the agent has been limited by the principal in the 

32 principal's health care directive. Except for minors who have 

33 received health care services pursuant to sections 144.341 to 

34 144.347, in the case of a minor, patient includes a parent or 

35 guardian, or a person acting as a parent or guardian in the 

36 absence of a parent or guardian. 

Article 1 Section 3 2 
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1 (b) "Provider" means (1) any person who furnishes health 

2 care services and is regulated to furnish the services pursuant 

3 to chapter 147, 147A, 147B, 147C, 1470, 148, 148B, 148C, 1480, 

4 150A, 151, 153, or 153A, or Minnesota Rules, chapter 4666; (2) a 

5 home care provider licensed under section 144A.46; (3) a health 

6 care facility licensed pursuant to this chapter or chapter 144A; 

7 (4) a physician assistant registered under chapter 147A; and (5) 

8 an unlicensed mental health practitioner regulated pursuant to 

9 sections 148B.60 to 148B.71. 

10 (c) "Individually identifiable form" means a form in which 

11 the patient is or can be identified as the subject of the health 

12 records. 

13 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 144A.46, 

14 subdivision 2, is amended to read: 

15 Subd. 2. [EXEMPTIONS.] The following individuals or 

16 organizations are exempt from the requirement to obtain a home 

17 care provider license: 

18 (1) a person who is licensed as a registered nurse under 

19 sections 148.171 to 148.285 and who independently provides 

20 nursing services in the home without any contractual or 

21 employment relationship to a home care provider or other 

22 organization; 

23 (2) a personal care assistant who provides services to only 

24 one individual under the medical assistance program as 

25 authorized under sections 256B.0625, subdivision 19a, and 

26 256B.04, subdivision 16; 

27 (3) a person or organization that exclusively offers, 

28 pro~ides, or arranges for personal care assistant services to 

29 only one individual under the medical assistance program as 

30 authorized under sections 256B.0625, subdivision 19a, and 

31 256B.04, subdivision 16; 

32 (4) a person who is licensed under sections 148.65 to 

33 148.78 and who independently provides physical therapy services 

34 in the home without any contractual or employment relationship 

JS to a home care provider or other organization; 

36 (5) a provider that is licensed by the commissioner of 

Article 1 Section 4 3 
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1 human services to provide semi-independent living services under 

2 Minnesota Rules, parts 9525.0500 to 9525.0660 when providing 

3 home care services to a person with a developmental disability; 

4 (6) a provider that is licensed by the commissioner of 

5 human services to provide home and community-based services 

6 under Minnesota Rules, parts 9525.2000 to 9525.2140 when 

7 providing home care services to a person with a developmental 

8 disability; 

9 (7) a person or organization that provides only home 

10 management services, if the person or organization is registered 

11 under section 144A.461; or 

12 (8) a person who is licensed as a social worker under 

13 see~~ens-~+aa~~a-~e-~+aB~za9 chapter 1480 and who provides 

14 social work services in the home independently and not through 

15 any contractual or employment relationship with a home care 

16 provider or other organization. 

17 An exemption under this subdivision does not excuse the 

18 individual from complying with applicable provisions of the home 

19 care bill of rights. 

20 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 147.09, is 

21 amended to read: 

22 147.09 [EXEMPTIONS.] 

23 Section 147.081 does not apply to, control, prevent or 

24 restrict the practice, service, or activities of: 

25 (1) A person who is a commissioned medical officer of, a 

26 member of, or employed by, the armed forces of the United 

27 states, the United States Public Health Service, the Veterans 

28 Administration, any federal institution or any federal agency 

29 while engaged in the performance of official duties within this 

30 state, if the person is licensed elsewhere. 

31 (2) A licensed physician from a state or country who is in 

32 actual consultation here. 

33 (3) A licensed or registered physician who treats the 

34 physician's home state patients or other participating patients 

35 while the physicians and those patients are participating 

36 together in outdoor recreation in this state as defined by 

Article 1 Section 5 4 
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1 section 86A.03, subdivision 3. A physician shall first register 

2 with the board on a form developed by the board for that 

3 purpose. The board shall not be required to promulgate the 

4 contents of that form by rule. No fee shall be charged for this 

5 registration. 

6 (4) A student practicing under the direct supervision of a 

7 preceptor while the student is enrolled in and regularly 

8 attending a recognized medical school. 

9 (5) A student who is in continuing training and performing 

10 the duties of an intern or resident or engaged in postgraduate 

11 work considered by the board to be the equivalent of an 

12 internship or residency in any hospital or institution approved 

13 for training by the board, provided the student has a residency 

14 permit issued by the board under section 147.0391. 

15 (6) A person employed in a scientific, sanitary, or 

16 teaching capacity by the state university, the Department of 

17 Education, a public or private school, college, or other bona 

18 fide educational institution, a nonprofit organization, which 

19 has tax-exempt status in accordance with the Internal Revenue 

20 Code, section 501(c) (3), and is organized and operated primarily 

21 for the purpose of conducting scientific research directed 

22 towards discovering the causes of and cures for human diseases, 

23 or the state Department of Health, whose duties are entirely of 

24 a research, public health, or educational character, while 

25 engaged in such duties; provided that if the research includes 

26 the study of humans, such research shall be conducted under the 

27 supervision of one or more physicians licensed under this 

28 chapter. 

29 (7) Physician's assistants registered in this state. 

30 (8) A doctor of osteopathy duly licensed by the state Board 

31 of Osteopathy under Minnesota Statutes 1961, sections 148.11 to 

32 148.16, prior to May 1, 1963, who·has not been granted a license 

33 to practice medicine in accordance with this chapter provided 

34 that the doctor confines activities within the scope of the 

35 license. 

36 (9) Any person licensed by a health related licensing 

Article 1 Section 5 5 
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1 board, as defined in section 214.01, subdivision 2, or 

2 registered by the commissioner of health pursuant to section 

3 214.13, including psychological practitioners with respect to 

4 the use of hypnosis; provided that the person confines 

5 activities within the scope of the license. 

6 {10) A person who practices ritual circumcision pursuant to 

7 the requirements or tenets of any established religion. 

8 {11) A Christian Scientist or other person who endeavors to 

9 prevent or cure disease or suffering exclusively by mental or 

10 spiritual means or by prayer. 

11 {12) A physician licensed to practice medicine in another 

12 state who is in this state for the sole purpose of providing 

13 medical services at a competitive athletic event. The· physician 

14 may practice medicine only on participants in the athletic 

15 event. A physician shall first register with the board on a 

16 form developed by the board for that purpose. The board shall 

17 not be required to adopt the contents of the form by rule. The 

18 physician shall provide evidence satisfactory to the board of a· 

19 current unrestricted license in another state. The board shall 

20 charge a fee of $50 for the registration. 

21 {13) A psychologist licensed under section 148.907 or a 

22 social worker licensed under see~~e~-~4SB.~~ chapter 1480 who 

23 uses or supervises the use of a penile or vaginal plethysmograph 

24 in assessing and treating individuals suspected of engaging in 

25 aberrant sexual behavior and sex offenders. 

26 {14) Any person issued a training course certificate or 

27 credentialed by the Emergency Medical Services Regulatory Board 

28 established in chapter 144E, provided the person confines 

29 activities within the scope of training at the certified or 

30 credentialed level. 

31 (15) An unlicensed complementary and alternative health 

32 care practitioner practicing according to chapter 146A. 

33 Sec. 6. [1480.001] [CITATION.] 

34 This chapter may be cited as the "Minnesota Board of Social 

35 Work Practice Act." 

36 Sec. 7. (1480.010] [DEFINITIONS.] 

Article 1 Section 7 6 
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1 Subdivision 1. [SCOPE.] For the purpose of this chapter, 

2 the terms in this section have the meanings given. 

3 Subd. 2. [APPLICANT.] "Applicant" means a person who 

4 submits an application to the board for a new license, a license 

5 renewal, a change in license, an inactive license, reactivation 

6 of a license, or a voluntary termination. 

7 Subd. 3. [APPLICATION.] "Application" means an application 

8 to the board for a new license, a license renewal, a change in 

9 license, an inactive license, reactivation of a license, or 

10 voluntary termination. 

11 Subd. 4. [BOARD.] "Board" means the Board of Social Work 

12 created under section 1480.025. 

13 Subd. 5. [CLIENT.] "Client" means an individual, couple, 

14 family, group, community, or organization that receives or has 

15 received social work services as described in subdivision 9. 

16 Subd. 6. [CLINICAL PRACTICE.] "Clinical practice" means 

17 applying professional social work knowledge, skills, and values 

18 in the differential diagnosis and treatment of psychosocial 

19 function, disability, or impairment, including addictions and 

20 emotional, mental, and behavioral disorders. Treatment includes 

21 a plan based on a differential diagnosis. Treatment may 

22 include, but is not limited to, the provision of psychotherapy 

23 to individuals, couples, families, and groups. Clinical social 

24 workers may also provide the services described in subdivision 9. 

25 Subd. 7. [INTERN.] "Intern" means a student in field 

26 placement working under the supervision or direction of a social 

27 worker. 

28 Subd. 8. [PERSON-IN-ENVIRONMENT PERSPECTIVE.] 

29 "Person-in-environment perspective" means viewing human 

30 behavior, development, and function in the context of one or 

31 more of the following: the environment, social functioning, 

32 mental health, and physical health. 

33 Subd. 9. [PRACTICE OF SOCIAL WORK.] "Practice of social 

34 work" means working to maintain, restore, or improve behavioral, 

35 cognitive, emotional, mental, or social functioning of clients, 

36 in a manner that applies accepted professional social work 
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1 knowledge, skills, and values, including the 

2 person-in-environment perspective, by providing in person or 

3 through telephone, video conferencing, or electronic means one 

4 or more of the social work services described in clauses (1) to 

5 (3). Social work services may address conditions that impair or 

6 limit behavioral, cognitive, emotional, mental, or social 

7 functioning. Such conditions include, but are not limited to, 

8 the following: abuse and neglect of children or vulnerable 

9 adults, addictions, developmental disorders, disabilities, 

10 discrimination, illness, injuries, poverty, and trauma. Social 

11 work services include: 

12 (1) providing assessment and intervention through direct 

13 contact with clients, developing a plan based on information 

14 from an assessment, and providing services which include, but 

15 are not limited to, assessment, case management, client-centered 

16 advocacy, client education, consultation, counseling, crisis 

17 intervention, and referral; 

18 (2) providing for the direct or indirect benefit of clients 

19 through administrative, educational, policy, or research 

20 services including, but not limited to: 

21 (i) advocating for policies, programs, or services to 

22 improve the well-being of clients; 

23 (ii) conducting research related to social work services; 

24 (iii) developing and administering programs which provide 

25 social work services; 

26 (iv) engaging in community organization to address social 

27 problems through planned collective action; 

28 (v) supervising individuals who provide social work 

29 services to clients; 

30 (vi) supervising social workers in order to comply with the 

31 supervised practice requirements specified in sections 1480.100 

32 to 1480.125; and 

33 (vii) teaching professional social work knowledge, skills, 

34 and values to students; and 

35 (3) engaging in clinical practice. 

36 Subd. 10. [PROFESSIONAL NAME.] "Professional name" means 
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1 the name a licensed social worker uses in making representations 

2 of the social worker's professional status to the public and 

3 which has been designated to the board in writing pursuant to 

4 section 148D.090. 

5 Subd. 11. [PROFESSIONAL SOCIAL WORK KNOWLEDGE, SKILLS, AND 

6 VALUES.] "Professional social work knowledge, skills, and values" 

7 means the knowledge, skills, and values taught in programs 

8 accredited by the Council on Social Work Education, the Canadian 

9 Association of Schools of Social Work, or a similar 

10 accreditation body designated by the board. Professional social 

11 work knowledge, skills, and values include, but are not limited 

12 to, principles of person-in-environment and the values, 

13 principles, and standards described in the Code of Ethics of the 

14 National Association of Social Workers. 

15 Subd. 12. [SEXUAL CONDUCT.] "Sexual conduct" means any 

16 physical contact or conduct that may be reasonably interpreted 

17 as sexual, or any oral, written, electronic, or other 

18 communication that suggests engaging in physical contact or 

19 conduct that may be reasonably interpreted as sexual. 

20 Subd. 13. [SOCIAL WORKER.] "Social worker" means an 

21 individual who: 

22 (1) is licensed as a social worker; or 

23 (2) has obtained a social work degree from a program 

24 accredited by the Council on Social Work Education, the Canadian 

25 Association of Schools of Social Work, or a similar 

26 accreditation body designated by the board and engages in the 

27 practice of social work. 

28 Subd. 14. [STUDENT.] "Student" means an individual who is 

29 taught professional social work knowledge, skills, and values in 

30 a program that has been accredited by the Council on Social Work 

31 Education, the Canadian Association of Schools of Social Work, 

32 or a similar accreditation body designated by the board. 

33 Subd. 15. [SUPERVISEE.] "Supervisee" means an individual 

34 provided evaluation and supervision or direction by a social 

;5 worker. 

36 Subd. 16. [SUPERVISION.] "Supervision" means a 
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1 professional relationship between a supervisor and a social 

2 worker in which the supervisor provides evaluation and direction 

3 of the services provided by the social worker to promote 

4 competent and ethical services to clients through the continuing 

5 development of the social worker's knowledge and application of 

6 accepted professional social work knowledge, skills, and values. 

7 Sec. 8 . [ 14 8D. 015] [SCOPE. ] 

8 This chapter applies to all applicants and licensees, all 

9 persons who use the title social worker, and all persons in or 

10 out of this state who provide social work services to clients 

11 who reside in this state unless there are specific applicable 

12 exemptions provided by law. 

13 Sec. 9. [148D.020] [CHAPTER 214.] 

14 Chapter 214 applies to the Board of Social Work unless 

15 superseded by this chapter. 

16 Sec. 10. [148D.025] [BOARD OF SOCIAL WORK.] 

17 Subdivision 1. [CREATION.] The Board of Social Work 

18 consists of 15 members appointed by the governor. The members 

19 are: 

20 (1) ten social workers licensed pursuant to section 

21 148D.055; and 

22 (2) five public members as defined in section 214.02. 

23 Subd. 2. [QUALIFICATIONS OF BOARD MEMBERS.] (a) All social 

24 worker members must have engaged in the practice of social work 

25 in Minnesota for at least one year during the ten years 

26 preceding their appointments. 

27 (b) Five social worker members must be licensed social 

28 workers. The other five members must be a licensed graduate 

29 social worker, a licensed independent social worker, or a 

30 licensed independent clinical social worker. 

31 (c) Eight social worker members must be engaged at the time 

32 of their appointment in the practice of social work in Minnesota 

33 in the following settings: 

34 (1) one member must be engaged in the practice of social 

35 work in a county agency; 

36 (2) one member must be engaged in the practice of social 
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work in a state agency; 

(3) one member must be engaged in the practice of social 

work in an elementary, middle, or secondary school; 

(4) one member must be employed in~a hospital or nursing 

home licensed under chapter 144 or 144A; 

(5) two members must be engaged in the practice of social 

work in a private agency; 

(6) one member must be engaged in the practice of social 

work in a clinical social work setting; and 

(7) one member must be an educator engaged in regular 

teaching duties at a program of social work accredited by the 

Council on Social Work Education or a similar accreditation body 

designated by the board. 

(d) At the time of their appointments, at least six members 

must reside outside of the seven-county metropolitan area. 

(e) At the time of their appointments, at least five 

members must be persons with expertise in communities of color. 

Subd. 3. [OFFICERS.] The board must annually elect from 

its membership a chair, vice-chair, and secretary-treasurer. 

Subd. 4. [BYLAWS.] The board must adopt bylaws to govern 

its proceedings. 

Subd. 5. [EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR.] The board must appoint and 

employ an executive director who is not a member of the board. 

The employment of the executive director shall be subject to the 

terms described in section 214.04, subdivision 2a. 

Sec. 11. [148D.030] [DUTIES OF THE BOARD.] 

Subdivision 1. [DUTIES.] The board must perform the duties 

necessary to promote and protect the public health, safety, and 

welfare through the licensure and regulation of persons who 

30 practice social work in this state. These duties include, but 

31 are not limited to: 

32 (1) establishing the qualifications and procedures for 

33 individuals to be licensed as social workers; 

34 (2) establishing standards of practice for social workers; 

35 (3) holding examinations or contracting with the 

36 Association of Social Work Boards or a similar examination body 
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1 designated by the board to hold examinations to assess 

2 applicants' qualifications; 

3 (4) issuing licenses to qualified individuals pursuant to 

4 sections 1480.055 and 1480.060; 

5 (5) taking disciplinary, adversarial, corrective, or other 

6 action pursuant to sections 1480.255 to 1480.270 when an 

7 individual violates the requirements of this chapter; 

8 (6) assessing fees pursuant to sections 1480.175 and 

9 1480.180; and 

10 (7) educating social workers and the public on the 

11 requirements of the board. 

12 Subd. 2. [RULES.] The board may adopt and enforce rules to 

13 carry out the duties specified in subdivision 1. 

14 Sec. 12. [1480.035] [VARIANCES.] 

15 If the effect of a requirement pursuant to this chapter is 

16 unreasonable, impossible to execute, absurd, or would impose an 

17 extreme hardship on a licensee, the board may grant a variance 

18 if the variance is consistent with promoting and protecting the 

19 public health, ·safety, and welfare. A variance must not be 

20 granted for core licensing standards such as substantive 

21 educational and examination requirements. 

22 Sec. 13. [148D. 040] [IMMUNITY.] 

23 Board members, board employees, and persons engaged on 

24 behalf of the board are immune from civil liability for any 

25 actions, transactions, or publications in the lawful execution 

26 of or relating to their duties under this chapter. 

27 Sec. 14. [1480.045] [CONTESTED CASE HEARING.] 

28 An applicant or a licensee who is the subject of a 

29 disciplinary or adversarial action by the board pursuant to this 

30 chapter may request a contested case hearing under sections 

31 14.57 to 14.62. An applicant or a licensee who desires to 

32 request a. contested case hearing must submit a written request 

33 to the board within 90 days after the date on which the board 

34 mailed the notification of the adverse action, except as 

35 otherwise provided in this chapter. 

36 Sec. 15. [1480.050] [LICENSING; SCOPE OF PRACTICE.] 
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Subdivision 1. [REQUIREMENTS.] The practice of social work 

must comply with the requirements of subdivision 2, 3, 4, or 5. 

Subd. 2. [LICENSED SOCIAL WORKER.] A licensed social 

worker may engage in social work practice except that a licensed 

social worker must not engage in clinical practice. 

Subd. 3. [LICENSED GRADUATE SOCIAL WORKER.] A licensed 

graduate social worker may engage in social work practice except 

that a licensed graduate social worker must not engage in 

clinical practice except under the supervision of a licensed 

independent clinical social worker or an alternate supervisor 

pursuant to section 148D.120. 

Subd. 4. [LICENSED INDEPENDENT SOCIAL WORKER.] A licensed 

independent social worker may engage in social work practice 

except that a licensed independent social worker must not engage 

in clinical practice except under the supervision of a licensed 

independent clinical social worker or an alternate supervisor 

pursuant to section 148D.120. 

Subd. 5. [LICENSED INDEPENDENT CLINICAL SOCIAL WORKER.] ~ 

licensed independent clinical social worker may engage in social 

work practice, including clinical practice. 

Sec. 16. [148D.055] [LICENSE REQUIREMENTS.] 

Subdivision 1. [LICENSE REQUIRED.] (a) In order to 

practice social work, an individual must have a social work 

license under this section or section 148D.060, except when the 

individual is exempt from licensure pursuant to section 148D.065. 

(b) Individuals who teach professional social work 

knowledge, skills, and values to students and who have a social 

work degree from a program accredited by the Council on Social 

Work Education, the Canadian Association of Schools of Social 

Work, or a similar accreditation body designated by the board 

must have a social work license under this section or section 

148D.060, except when the individual is exempt from licensure 

pursuant to section 148D.065. 

Subd. 2. [QUALIFICATIONS FOR LICENSURE BY EXAMINATION AS A 

LICENSED SOCIAL WORKER.] (a) Except as provided in paragraph 

(i), to be licensed as a licensed social worker, an applicant 
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1 for licensure by examination must provide evidence satisfactory 

2 to the board that the applicant·: 

3 (1) has received a baccalaureate degree in social work from 

4 a program accredited by the Council on Social Work Education, 

5 the Canadian Association of Schools of Social Work, or a similar 

6 accreditation body designated by the board; 

7 (2) has passed the bachelors or equivalent examination 

8 administered by the Association of Social Work Boards or a 

9 similar examination body designated by the board. Unless an 

10 applicant applies for licensure by endorsement pursuant to 

11 subdivision 7, an examination is not valid if it was taken and 

12 passed eight or more years prior to submitting a completed, 

13 signed application form provided by the board. The examination 

14 may be taken prior to completing degree requirements; 

15 (3) has submitted a completed, signed application form 

16 provided by the board, including the applicable application fee 

17 specified in section 1480.180. For applications submitted 

18 electronically, a "signed application" means providing an 

19 attestation as specified by the board; 

20 (4) has submitted the criminal background check fee and a 

21 form provided by the board authorizing a criminal background 

22 check pursuant to subdivision 8; 

23 (5) has .paid the·applicable license fee specified in 

24 section 1480.180; and 

25 (6) has not engaged in conduct that was ·or would be in 

26 violation of the standards of practice specified in sections 

27 1480.195 to 1480.240. If the applicant has engaged in conduct 

28 that was or would be in violation of the standards of practice, 

29 the board may take action pursuant to sections 1480.255 to 

30 1480.270. 

31 (b) An application that is not completed and signed, or 

32 that is not accompanied by the correct fee, must be returned to 

33 the applicant, along with any fee submitted, and is void. 

34 (c) A licensee granted a license by the board pursuant to 

35 paragraph (a) must meet the supervised practice requirements 

36 specified in sections 1480.100 to 1480.125. If a licensee does 
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1 not meet the supervised practice requirements, the board may 

2 take action pursuant to sections 1480.255 to 1480.270. 

3 (d) By submitting an application for licensure, an 

4 applicant authorizes the board to investigate any information 

5 provided or requested in the application. The board may request 

6 that the applicant provide additional information, verification, 

7 or documentation. 

8 (e) Within one year of the time the board receives an 

9 application for licensure, the applicant must meet all the 

10 requirements specified in paragraph (a) and must provide all of 

11 the information requested by the board pursuant to paragraph 

12 (d). If within one year the applicant does not meet all the 

13 requirements, or does not provide all of the information 

14 requested, the applicant is considered ineligible and the 

15 application for licensure must be closed. 

16 (f) Except as provided in paragraph (g), an applicant may 

17 not take more than three times the bachelors or equivalent 

18 examination administered by the Association of Social Work 

19 Boards, or a similar examination body designated by the board. 

20 An applicant must receive a passing score on the bachelors or 

21 equivalent examination administered by the Association of Social 

22 Work Boards or a similar examination body designated by the 

23 board in no more than 18 months after the date the applicant 

24 first failed the examination. 

25 (g) Notwithstanding paragraph (f), the board may allow an 

26 applicant to take, for a fourth or subsequent time, the 

27 bachelors or equivalent examination administered by the 

28 Association of Social Work Boards or a·similar examination body 

29 designated by the board if the applicant: 

30 (1) meets all requirements specified in paragraphs (a) to 

31 (e) other than passing the bachelors or equivalent examination 

32 administered by the Association of Social Work Boards or a 

33 similar examination body designated by the board; 

34 (2) provides to the board a description of the efforts the 

35 applicant has made to improve the applicant's score and 

36 demonstrates to the board's satisfaction that the efforts are 
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1 likely to improve the score; and 

2 (3) provides to the board letters of recommendation from 

3 two licensed social workers attesting to the applicant's ability 

4 to practice social work competently and ethically in accordance 

5 with professional social work knowledge, skills, and values. 

6 (h) An individual must not.practice social work until the 

7 individual passes the examination and receives a social work 

8 license under this section or section 148D.060. If the board 

9 has reason to believe that an applicant may be practicing social 

10 work without a license, and the applicant has failed the 

11 bachelors or equivalent examination administered by the 

12 Association of Social Work Boards or a similar examination body 

13 designated by the board, the board may notify the applicant's 

14 employer that the applicant is not licensed as a social worker. 

15 (i) An applicant who was born in a foreign country, who has 

16 taken and failed to pass the examination specified in paragraph 

17 (a), clause (2), at least once since January 1, 20·00, and for 

18 whom English is a second language, is eligible for licensure as 

19 a social worker if the applicant: 

20 (1) provides evidence to the board of compliance with the 

21 requirements in paragraph (a), clauses (1) and (3) to (6), and 

22 in paragraphs (b) to (e) and (h); and 

23 (2) provides to the board letters of recommendation and 

24 experience ratings from two licensed social workers and one 

25 professor from the applicant's social work program who can 

26 attest to the applicant's competence. 

27 This paragraph expires August 1, 2007. 

28 Subd. 3. [QUALIFICATIONS FOR LICENSURE BY EXAMINATION AS A 

29 LICENSED GRADUATE SOCIAL WORKER.] (a) Except as provided in 

30 paragraph (i), to be licensed as a licensed graduate social 

31 worker, an applicant for licensure by examination must provide 

32 evidence satisfactory to the board that the applicant: 

33 (1) has received a graduate degree in social work from a 

34 program accredited by the Council on Social Work Education, the 

35 Canadian Association of Schools of Social Work, or a similar 

36 accreditation body designated by the board; 
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1 (2) has passed the masters or equivalent examination 

2 administered by the Association of Social Work Boards or a 

3 similar examination body designated by the board. Unless an 

4 applicant applies for licensure by endorsement pursuant to 

5 section 1480.055, subdivision 7, an examination is not valid if 

6 it was taken and passed eight or more years prior to submitting 

7 a completed, signed application form provided by the board. The 

8 examination may be taken prior to completing degree 

9 requirements; 

10 (3) has submitted a completed, signed application form 

11 provided by the board, including the applicable application fee 

12 specified in section 1480.180. For applications submitted 

13 electronically, a "signed application" means providing an 

14 attestation as specified by the board; 

15 (4) has submitted the criminal background check fee and a 

16 form provided by the board authorizing a criminal background 

17 check pursuant to subdivision 8; 

18 (5) has paid the applicable license fee specified in 

19 section 1480.180; and 

20 (6) has not engaged in conduct that was or would be in 

21 violation of the standards of practice specified in sections 

22 1480.195 to 1480.240. If the applicant has engaged in conduct 

23 that was or would be in violation of the standards of practice, 

24 the board may take action pursuant to sections 1480.255 to 

25 1480.270. 

26 (b) An application which is not completed and signed, or 

27 which is not accompanied by the correct fee, must be returned to 

28 the applicant, along with any fee submitted, and is void. 

29 (c) A licensee granted a license by the board pursuant to 

30 paragraph (a) must meet the supervised practice requirements 

31 specified in sections 1480.100 to 1480.125. If a licensee does 

32 not meet the supervised practice requirements, the board may 

33 take action pursuant to sections 1480.255 to 1480.270. 

34 (d) By submitting an application for licensure, an 

J5 applicant authorizes the board to investigate any information 

36 provided or requested in the app·lication. The board may request 
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1 that the applicant provide additional information, verification, 

2 or documentation. 

3 (e) Within one year of the time the board receives an 

4 application for licensure, the applicant must meet all the 

5 requirements specified in paragraph (a) and must provide all of 

6 the information requested by the board pursuant to paragraph 

7 (d). If within one year the applicant does not meet all the 

8 requirements, or does not provide all of the information 

9 requested, the applicant is considered ineligible and the 

10 application for licensure must be closed. 

11 (f) Except as provided in paragraph (g), an applicant may 

12 not take more than three times the masters or equivalent 

13 examination administered by the Association of Social Work 

14 Boards or a similar examination body designated by the board. 

15 An applicant must receive a passing score on the masters or 

16 equivalent examination administered by the Association of Social 

17 work Boards or a similar examination body designated by the 

18 board in no more than 18 months after the .date the applicant 

19 first failed the examination. 

20 (g) Notwithstanding paragraph (f), the board may allow an 

21 applicant to take, for a fourth or subsequent time, the masters 

22 or equivalent examination administered by the Association of 

23 Social Work Boards or a similar examination body designated by 

24 the board if the applicant: 

25 (1) meets all requirements specified in paragraphs (a) to 

26 (e) other than passing the masters or equivalent examination 

27 administered by the Association of Social Work boards or a 

28 similar examination body designated by the board; 

29 (2) provides to the board a description of the efforts the 

30 applicant has made to improve the applicant's score and 

31 demonstrates to the board's satisfaction that the efforts are 

32 likely to improve the score; and 

33 (3) provides to the board letters of recommendation from 

34 two licensed social workers attesting to the applicant's ability 

35 to practice social work competently and ethically in accordance 

36 with professional social work knowledge, skills, and values. 
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1 (h) An individual must not practice social work until the 

2 individual passes the examination and receives a social work 

3 license under this section or section 148D.060. If the board 

4 has reason to believe that an applicant may be practicing social 

5 work without a license, and the applicant has failed the masters 

6 or equivalent examination administered by the Association of 

7 Social Work Boards or a similar examination body designated by 

8 the· board, the board may notify the applicant's employer that 

9 the applicant is not licensed as a social worker. 

10 (i) An applicant who was born in a foreign country, who has 

11 taken and failed to pass the examination specified in paragraph 

12 (a), clause (2), at least once since January 1, 2000, and for 

13 whom English is a second language, is eligible for licensure as 

14 a social worker if the applicant: 

15 (1) provides evidence to the board of compliance with the 

16 requirements in paragraph (a), clauses (1) and (3) to (6), and 

17 in paragraphs (b) to (e) and (h); and 

18 (2) provides to the board letters of recommendation and 

19 experience ratings from two licensed social workers and one 

20 professor from the applicant's social work program who can 

21 attest to the applicant's competence. 

22 This paragraph expires August 1, 2007. 

23 Subd. 4. [QUALIFICATIONS FOR LICENSURE BY EXAMINATION AS A 

24 LICENSED INDEPENDENT SOCIAL WORKER.] (a) Except as provided in 

25 paragraph (i), to be licensed as a licensed independent social 

26 worker, an applicant for licensure by examination must provide 

27 evidence satisfactory to the board that the applicant: 

28 . (1) has received a graduate degree in social work from a 

29 program accredited by the Council on Social Work Education, the 

30 Canadian Association of Schools of Social Work, or a similar 

31 accreditation body designated by the board; 

32 (2) has practiced social work as defined in section 

33 148D.010, and has met the supervised practice requirements 

34 specified in sections 148D.100 to 148D.125; 

35 (3) has passed the advanced generalist or equivalent 

36 examination administered by the Association of Social Work 
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1 Boards or a similar examination body designated by the board. 

2 Unless an applicant applies for licensure by endorsement 

3 pursuant to subdivision 7, an examination is not valid if it was 

4 taken and passed eight or more years prior to submitting a 

5 completed, signed application form provided by the board; 

6 (4) has submitted a completed, signed application form 

7 provided by the board, including the applicable application fee 

8 specified in section 1480.180. For applications submitted 

9 electronically,- a "signed application" means providing an 

10 attestation as specified by the board; 

11 (5) has submitted the criminal background check fee and a 

12 form provided by the board authorizing a criminal background 

13 check pursuant to subdivision 8; 

14 (6) has paid the applicable license fee specified in 

15 section 1480.180; and 

16 (7) has not engaged in conduct that was or would be in 

17 violation of the standards of practice specified in sections 

18 1480.195 to 1480.240. If the applicant has engaged in conduct 

19 that was or would be in violation of the standards of practice, 

20 the board may take action pursuant to sections 1480.255 to 

21 1480.270. 

22 (b) An application which is not completed and signed, or 

23 which is not accompanied by the correct fee, must be returned to 

24 the applicant, along with any fee submitted, and is void. 

25 (c) A licensed independent social worker who practices 

26 clinical social work must meet the supervised practice 

27 requirements specified in sections 1480.100 to.1480.125. If a 

28 licensee does not meet the supervised practice requirements, the 

29 board may take action pursuant to sections 1480.255 to 1480.270. 

30 (d) By submitting an application for licensure, an 

31 applicant authorizes the board to investigate any information 

32 provided or requested in the application. The board may request 

33 that the applicant provide additional information, verification, 

34 or documentation. 

35 (e) Within one year of the time the board receives an 

36 application for licensure, the applicant must meet all the 
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1 requirements specified in paragraph (a) and must provide all of 

2 the information requested by the board pursuant to paragraph 

3 (d). If within one year the applicant does not meet all the 

4 requirements, or does not provide all of the information 

5 requested, the applicant is considered ineligible and the 

6 application for licensure must be closed. 

7 (f) Except as provided in paragraph (g), an applicant may 

8 not take more than three times the advanced generalist or 

9 equivalent examination administered by the Association of Social 

10 Work Boards or a similar examination body designated by the 

11 board. An applicant must receive a passing score on the masters 

12 or equivalent examination administered by the Association of 

13 Social Work Boards or a similar examination body designated by 

14 the board·in no more than 18 months after the first time the 

15 applicant failed the examination. 

16 (g) Notwithstanding paragraph (f), the board may allow an 

17 applicant to take, for a fourth or subsequent time, the advanced 

18 generalist or equivalent examination administered by the 

19 Association of Social Work Boards or a similar examination body 

20 designated by the board if the applicant: 

21 (1) meets all requirements specified ih paragraphs (a) to 

22 (e) other than passing the advanced generalist or equivalent 

23 examination administered by the Association of Social Work 

24 Boards or a similar examination body designated by the board; 

25 (2) provides to the board a description of the efforts the 

26 applicant has made to improve the applicant's score and 

27 demonstrates to the board's satisfaction that the efforts are 

28 likely to improve the score; and 

29 (3) provides to the board letters of recommendation from 

30 two licensed social workers attesting to the applicant's ability 

31 to practice social work competently and ethically in accordance 

32 with professional social work knowledge, skills, and values. 

33 (h) An individual must not practice social work until the 

34 individual passes the examination and receives a social work 

35 license under this section or section 1480.060. If the board 

36 has reason to believe that an applicant may be practicing social 
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1 work without a license, except as provided in section 148D.065, 

2 and the applicant has failed the advanced generalist or 

3 equivalent examination administered by the Association of Social 

4 Work Boards or a similar examination body designated by the 

5 board, the board may notify the applicant's employer that the 

6 applicant is not licensed as a social worker. 

7 (i) An applicant who was born in a foreign country, who has 

8 taken and failed to pass the examination specified in paragraph 

9 (a), clause (3), at least once since January 1, 2000, and for 

10 whom English is a second language, is eligible for licensure as 

11 a social worker if the applicant: 

12 (1) provides evidence to the board of compliance with the 

13 requirements in paragraph (a') , clauses ( 1) , ( 2) , and ( 4·) to ( 7) , 

14 and in paragraphs (b) to (e) and (h); and 

15 (2) provides to the board letters of recommendation and 

16 experience r.atings from two· licensed social workers and one 

17 professor from the applicant's social work program who can 

18 attest to the applicant's competence. 

19 This paragraph expires August 1, 2007. 

20 Subd. 5. [QUALIFICATIONS FOR LICENSURE BY EXAMINATION AS A 

21 LICENSED INDEPENDENT CLINICAL SOCIAL WORKER.] (a) Except as 

22 provided in paragraph (h), to be licensed as a licensed 

23 independent clinical social worker, an applicant for licensure 

24 by examination must provide evidence satisfactory to the board 

25 that the applicant: / 

26 (1) has received a graduate degree in social work from a 

27 program accredited by the Council on Social Work Education, the 

28 Canadian Association of Schools of Social Work, or a similar 

29 accreditation body designated by the board; 

30 (2) has practiced clinical social work as defined in 

31 section 1480.010, including both diagnosis and treatment, and 

32 has met the supervised practice requirements specified in 

33 sections 1480.100 to 148D.125; 

34 (3) has passed the clinical or equivalent examination 

35 administered by the Association of Social Work Boards or a 

36 similar examination body designated by the board. Unless an 
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1 applicant applies for licensure by endorsement pursuant to 

2 subdivision 7, an examination is not valid if it was taken and 

3 passed eight or more years prior to submitting a completed, 

4 signed application form provided by the board; 

5 (4) has submitted a completed, signed application form 

6 provided by the board, including the applicable application fee 

7 specified in section 1480.180. For applications submitted 

8 electronically, a·"signed application" means providing an 

9 attestation as specified by the board; 

10 (5) has submitted the criminal background check fee and a 

11 form provided by the board authorizing a criminal background 

12 check pursuant to subdivision 8; 

13 (6) has paid the license fee specified in section 1480.180; 

14 and 

15 (7) has not engaged in conduct that was or would be in 

16 violation of the standards of practice specified in sections 

17 1480.195 to 1480.240. If the applicant has engaged in conduct 

18 that was or would be in violation of the standards of practice, 

19 the board may take action pursuant to sections 1480.255 to 

20 1480.270. 

21 (b) An application which is not completed and signed, or 

22 which is not accompanied by the correct fee, must be returned to 

23 the applicant, along with any fee submitted, and is void. 

24 (c) By submitting an application for licensure, an 

25 applicant authorizes the board to investigate any information 

26 provided or requested in the application. The board may request 

27 that the applicant provide additional information, verification, 

28 or documentation. 

29 (d) Within one year of the time the board receives·an 

30 application for licensure, the applicant must meet all the 

31 requirements specified in paragraph (a) and must provide all of 

32 the information requested by the board pursuant to paragraph 

33 (c). If within one year the applicant does riot meet all the 

34 requirements, or does not provide all of the information 

;5 requested, the applicant is considered ineligible and the 

36 application for licensure must ,be closed. 
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1 (e) Except as provided in paragraph (f), an applicant may 

2 not take more than three times the clinical or equivalent 

3 examination administered by the Association of Social Work 

4 Boards or a similar examination body designated by.the board. 

5 An applicant must receive a passing score on the clinical or 

6 equivalent examination administered by the Association of Social 

7 Work Boards or a similar examination body designated by the 

8 board no later than 18 months after the first time the applicant 

9 failed the examination. 

10 (f) Notwithstanding paragraph (e), the board may allow an 

11 applicant to take, for a fourth or subsequent time, the clinical 

12 or equivalent examination administered by the Association of 

13 socia1·work Boards or a similar examination body designated by 

14 the board if the applicant: 

15 (1) meets all requirements specified in paragraphs (a) to 

16 (d) other than passing the clinical or equivalent examination 

17 administered by the Association of Socia1·work Boards or a 

18 similar examination body designated by the board; 

19 (2) provides to the board a description of the efforts the 

20 applicant has made to improve the applicant's score and 

21 demonstrates to the board's satisfaction that the efforts are 

22 likely to improve the score; and 

23 (3) provides to the board letters of recommendation from 

24 two licensed social workers attesting to the applicant's ability 

25 to practice social work competently and ethically in accordance 

26 with professional social work knowledge, skills, and values. 

27 (g) An individual must not practice social work until the 

28 individual passes the examination and receives a social work 

29 license under this section or section 1480.060. If the board 

30 has reason to believe that an applicant may be practicing social 

31 work without a license, and the applicant has failed the 

32 clinical or equivalent examination administered by the 

33 Association of Social Work Boards or a similar examination body 

34 designated by the board, the board may notify the applicant's 

35 employer that the applicant is not licensed as a social worker. 

36 (h) An applicant who was born in a foreign country, who has 
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taken and failed to pass the examination specified in paragraph 

(a), clause (3), at least once since January 1, 2000, and for 

whom English is a second language, is eligible for licensure as 

a social worker if the applicant: 

. (1) provides evidence to the board of compliance with the 

requirements in paragraph (a), clauses (1), (2), and (4) to (7), 

and paragraphs (b) to (d) and (g); and 

(2) provides to the board letters of .recommendation and 

experience ratings from two licensed social workers and one 

professor from the applicant's social work program who can 

attest to the applicant's competence. 

This paragraph expires August 1, 2007. 

Subd. 6. [DEGREES FROM OUTSIDE THE UNITED STATES OR 

_4 CANADA.] If an· applicant receives a degree from a program 

15 outside the United States or Canada that is not accredited by 

16 the Council on Social Work Education, the Canadian Association 

17 of Schools of Social Work, or a similar examination body 

18 designated by the board, the degree does not fulfill the 

19 requirements specified in subdivision 2, paragraph (a), clause 

20 (1); 3, paragraph (a), clause (1); 4, paragraph (a), clause (1); 

21 or 5, paragraph (a), clause (1), unless the Council on Social 

22 Work Education or a similar accreditation body designated by the 

23 board has determined through the council's international 

14 equivalency determination service that the degree earned is 

25 equivalent to the degree required. 

26 Subd. 7. [LICENSURE BY ENDORSEMENT.] (a) An applicant for 

27 licensure by endorsement must hold a current license or 

28 credential to practice social work in another jurisdiction. 

29 (b) An applicant for licensure by endorsement who meets the 

30 qualifications of paragraph (a) and who demonstrates to the 

31 satisfaction of the board that the applicant passed the 

32 examination administered by the Association of Social Work 

33 Boards or a similar examination body designated by the board for 

34 the applicable license in Minnesota is not required to retake 

5 the licensing examination. 

36 (c) An application for licensure by endorsement must meet 

Article 1 Section 16 25 



[SENATEE ] SS1204CE1 

1 the applicable license requirements specified in subdivisions 1 

2 to 6 and submit the licensure by endorsement application fee 

3 specified in section 148D.180. 

4 Subd. 8. [CRIMINAL BACKGROUND CHECKS.] (a) Except as 

5 provided in paragraph (b), an initial license application must 

6 be accompanied by: 

7 (1) a form provided by the board authorizing the board to 

8 complete a criminal background check; and 

9 (2) the criminal background check fee specified by the 

10 Bureau of Criminal Apprehension. 

11 Criminal background check fees collected by the board must 

12 be used to reimburse the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension for the 

13 criminal background checks. 

14 (b) An applicant who has previously submitted a license 

15 application authorizing the board to complete a criminal 

16 background check is exempt from the requirement specified in 

17 paragraph (a). 

18 (c) If a criminal background check indicates that an 

19 applicant has engaged in criminal behavior, the board may take 

20 action pursuant to sections 148D.255 to 148D.270. 

21 Subd. 9. [EFFECTIVE DATE.] The effective date of an 

22 initial license is the day on which the board receives the 

23 applicable license fee from an applicant approved for licensure. 

24 Subd. 10. [EXPIRATION DATE.] The expiration date of an 

25 initial license is the last day of the licensee's birth month in 

26 the second calendar year following the effective date of the 

27 initial license. 

28 Subd. 11. [CHANGE IN LICENSE.] (a) A licensee who changes 

29 from a licensed social worker to a licensed graduate social 

30 worker, or from a licensed graduate social worker to a licensed 

31 independent social worker, or from a licensed graduate social 

32 worker or licensed independent social worker to a licensed 

33 independent clinical social worker, must pay the prorated share 

34 of the fee for the new license. 

35 (b) The effective date of the new license is the day on 

36 which the board receives the applicable license fee from an 
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1 applicant approved for the new license. 

2 (c) The expiration date of the new license is the same date 

3 as the expiration date of the license held by the licensee prior 

4 to the change in the license. 

5 Sec. 17. [148D.060] [TEMPORARY LICENSES.] 

6 Subdivision 1. [STUDENTS AND OTHER PERSONS NOT CURRENTLY 

7 LICENSED IN ANOTHER JURISDICTION.] The board may issue a 

8 temporary license to practice social work to an applicant who is 

9 not licensed or credentialed to practice social work in any 

10 jurisdiction but has: 

11 (1) applied for a license under section 148D.055; 

12 (2) applied for a temporary license on a form provided by 

13 the board; 

14 (3) submitted a form provided by the board authorizing the 

15 board to complete a criminal background check; 

16 (4) passed the applicable licensure examination provided 

17 for in section 148D.055; 

18 (5) attested on a form provided.by the board that the 

19 applicant has completed the requirements for a baccalaureate or 

20 graduate degree in social work from a program accredited by the 

21 Council on Social Work Education, the Canadian Association of 

22 Schools of Social Work, or a similar accreditation body 

23 designated by the board; and 

24 (6) not engaged in conduct that was or would be in 

25 violation of the standards of practice specified in sections 

26 1480.195 to 148D.240. If the applicant has engaged in conduct 

27 that was or would be in violation of the standards of practice, 

28 the board may take action pursuant to sections 1480.255 to 

29 1480.270. 

30 Subd. 2. [EMERGENCY SITUATIONS AND PERSONS CURRENTLY 

31 LICENSED IN ANOTHER JURISDICTION.] The board may issue a 

32 temporary license to practice social work to an applicant who is 

33 licensed or credentialed to practice social work in another 

34 jurisdiction, may or may not have applied for a license under 

35 section 1480.055, and has: 

36 (1) applied for a temporary license on a form provided by 
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1 the board; 

2 (2) submitted a form provided by the board authorizing the 

3 board to complete a criminal background check; 

4 (3) submitted evidence satisfactory to the board that the 

5 applicant is currently licensed or credentialed to practice 

6 social work in another jurisdiction; 

7 (4) attested on a form provided by the board that the 

8 applicant has completed the requirements for a baccalaureate or 

9 graduate degree in social work from a program accredited by the 

10 Council on Social Work Education, the Canadian Association of 

11 Schools of Social Work, or a similar accreditation· body 

12 designated by the board; and 

13 (5) not engaged in conduct that was or would be in 

14 violation of the standards of practice specified in sections 

15 1480.195 to 1480.240. If the applicant has engaged in conduct 

16 that was or would be in violation of the standards of practice, 

17 the board.may take action pursuant to sections 1480.255 to 

18 1480.270. 

19 Subd. 3. [TEACHERS.] The board may issue a temporary 

20 license to practice social work to an applicant whose permanent 

21 residence is outside the United States, who is teaching social 

22 work at an academic institution in Minnesota for a period not to 

23 exceed 12 months, who may or may not have applied for a license 

24 under section 1480.055, and who has: 

25 (1) applied for a temporary license on a form provided by 

26 the board; 

27 (2) submitted a form provided by the board authorizing the 

28 board to complete a criminal background check; 

29 (3) attested on a form provided by the board that the 

30 applicant has completed the requirements for a baccalaureate or 

31 graduate degree in social work; and 

32 (4) has not engaged in conduct that was or would be in 

33 violation of the standards of practice specified in sections 

34 1480.195 to 1480.240. If the applicant has engaged in conduct 

35 that was or would be in violation of the standards of practice, 

36 the board may take action pursuant to sections 1480.255 to 
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1 148D.270. 

2 Subd. 4. [TEMPORARY LICENSE APPLICATION FEE.] An applicant 

3 for a temporary license must pay the application fee described 

4 in section 148D.180 plus the required fee for the cost of the 

5 criminal background check. Only one fee for the cost of the 

6 criminal background check must be submitted when the applicant 

7 is applying for both a temporary license and a license under 

8. section 148D.055. 

9 Subd. 5. [TEMPORARY LICENSE TERM.] ·(a) A temporary license 

10 is valid until expiration, or until the board issues or denies 

11 the license pursuant to section 148D.055, or until the board 

12 revokes the temporary license, whichever comes first. A 

13 temporary license is nonrenewable. 

14 (b) A temporary license issued pursuant to subdivision 1 or 

15 2 expires after six months. 

16 (c) A temporary license issued pursuant to subdivision 3 

17 expires after 12 months. 

18 Subd. 6. [LICENSEE WITH A TEMPORARY LICENSE WHO HAS 

19 COMPLETED REQUIREMENTS FOR A BACCALAUREATE DEGREE.] A licensee 

20 with a temporary license who has provided evidence to the board 

21 that the licensee has completed the requirements for a 

22 baccalaureate degree in social work from a program accredited by 

23 the Council on Social Work Education, the Canadian Association 

24 of Schools of Social Work, or a similar accreditation body 

25 designated by the board may temporarily engage in social work 

26 practice except that a licensee with a temporary license may not 

27 engage in clinical social work practice. 

28 Subd. 7. [LICENSEE WITH A TEMPORARY LICENSE WHO HAS 

29 COMPLETED REQUIREMENTS FOR A'GRADUATE DEGREE.] A licensee with a 

30 temporary license who has provided evidence to the board that 

31 the licensee has completed the requirements for a graduate 

32 degree in social work from a program accredited by the Council 

33 on Social Work Education, the Canadian Association of Schools of 

34 Social Work, or a similar accreditation body designated by the 

J5 board may temporarily engage in social work practice, including 

36 clinical practice. 
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1 Subd. 8. [SUPERVISION REQUIREMENTS.] (a) Except as 

2 provided in paragraph (b), an applicant who is not currently 

3 licensed or credentialed to practice social work in another 

4 jurisdiction and who obtains a temporary license may practice 

5 social work only under the supervision of an individual licensed 

6 as a social worker who is eligible to provide supervision under 

7 sections 1480.100 to 1480.125. Before the applicant is approved 

8 for licensure, the applicant's supervisor must attest to the 

9 board's satisfaction that the applicant has practiced. social 

10 work under supervision. This supervision applies toward the 

11 supervision required after licensure. 

12 (b) If an applicant is currently licensed or credentialed 

13 to practice social work in another jurisdiction, and receives a 

14 temporary license pursuant to subdivision 3, the requirements 

15 specified in paragraph (a) do not apply. However, if an 

16 applicant with a temporary license chooses to practice social 

17 work under supervision, the supervision applies to· the 

18 requirements specified in sections 1480.100 to 1480.125. 

19 Subd. 9. [PROHIBITION ON PRACTICE.] An applicant for a 

20 temporary license must not practice social work in Minnesota, 

21 except as provided in section 1480.065, until the applicant has 

22 been granted a temporary license. 

23 

24 

25 

26 

27 

Subd. 10. [REPRESENTATION OF PROFESSIONAL STATUS.] In 

making representations of professional status to the public, a 

licensee with a temporary license must state that the licensee 

has a temporary license. 

Subd. 11. [STANDARDS OF PRACTICE.] A licensee with a 

28' temporary license must conduct all professional activities as a 

29 social worker in accordance with the requirements of sections 

30 1480.195 to 1480.240. 

31 Subd. 12. [INELIGIBILITY.] An applicant who is currently 

32 practicing social work in Minnesota in a setting that is not 

33 exempt under section 1480.065 at the time of application is 

34 ineligible for a temporary license. 

35 Subd. 13. [REVOCATION OF TEMPORARY LICENSE.] The board may 

36 immediately revoke the temporary license of any licensee who 
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violates any requirements of this section. The revocation must 

be made for cause, without notice or opportunity to be heard. A 

licensee whose temporary license is revoked must immediately 

return the temporary license to the board. 

Sec. 18. [148D.065] [EXEMPTIONS.] 

Subdivision 1. [OTHER PROFESSIONALS.] Nothing in this 

chapter may be construed to prevent members of other professions 

or occupations from performing functions for which they are 

qualified or licensed. This exception includes but is not 

limited to: licensed physicians, registered nurses, licensed 

practical nurses, licensed psychologists, psychological 

practitioners, probation officers, members of the clergy and 

Christian Science practitioners, attorneys, marriage and family 

therapists, alcohol and drug counselors, professional 

counselors, school counselors, and registered occupational 

therapists or certified occupational therapist assistants. 

These persons must not, however, hold themselves out to the 

public by any title or description stating or implying that they 

are engaged in the practice of social work, or that they are 

licensed to engage in the practice of social work. Persons 

engaged in the practice of social work are not exempt from the 

board's jurisdiction solely by the use of one of the titles in 

this subdivision. 

Subd. 2. [STUDENTS.] An internship, externship, or any 

other social work experience that is required for the completion 

of an accredited program of social work does not constitute the 

practice of social work under this chapter. 

Subd. 3. [GEOGRAPHIC WAIVER.]·A geographic waiver may be 

granted by the board on a case-by-case basis to agencies with 

special regional hiring problems. The waiver is for the purpose 

of permitting agencies to hire individuals who do not meet the 

qualifications of section 148D.055 or 148D.060 to practice 

social work. 

Subd. 4. [CITY, COUNTY, AND STATE AGENCY SOCIAL 

35 WORKERS.] The licensure of city, county, and state agency social 

36 workers is voluntary. City, county, and state agencies 
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1 employing social workers are not required to employ licensed 

2 social workers. 

3 Subd. 5. [FEDERALLY RECOGNIZED TRIBES AND PRIVATE 

4 NONPROFIT AGENCIES WITH A MINORITY FOCUS.] The licensure of 

5 social workers who are employed by federally recognized tribes, 

6 or by private nonprofit agencies whose primary service focus 

7 addresses ethnic minority populations, and who are themselves 

8 members of ethnic minority populations within those agencies, is 

9 voluntary. 

10 Sec. 19. [1480.070] [LICENSE RENEWALS.] 

11 
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subdivision 1. [LICENSE RENEWAL TERM.] (a) If a license is 

renewed, the license must be renewed for a two-year renewal 

term. The renewal term is the period from the effective date of 

an initial or renewed license to the expiration date of the 

license. 

(b) The effective date of a renewed license is the day 

following the expiration date of the expired license. 

(c) The expiration date of a renewed license is the last 

day of the licensee's birth month in the second calendar year 

following the effective date of the renewed license. 

Subd. 2. [MAILING LICENSE RENEWAL NOTICES.] The board must 

mail a notice for license renewal to a licensee at least 45 days 

before the expiration date of the license. Mailing the notice 

by United States mail to the licensee's last known mailing 

address constitutes valid mailing. Failure to receive the 

renewal notice does not relieve a licensee of the obligation to 

renew a license and to pay ·the renewal fee. 

Subd. 3. [SUBMITTING LICENSE RENEWAL APPLICATIONS.] (a) In 

order to renew a license, a licensee must submit: 

(1) a completed, signed application for license renewal; 

and 

(2) the applicable renewal fee specified in section 

1480.180. 

The completed, signed application and renewal fee must be 

received by the board prior to midnight of the day of the 

license expiration date. For renewals submitted electronically, 
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1 a "signed application" means providing an attestation as 

2 specified by the board. 

3 (b) An application which is not completed and signed, or 

4 which is not accompanied by the correct fee, must be returned to 

5 the applicant, along with any fee submitted, and is void. 

6 (c) The completed, signed application must include 

7 documentation that the licensee has met the continuing education 

8 requirements specified in sections 1480.130 to 1480.170 and, if 

9 applicable, the supervised practice requirements specified in 

10 sections 1480.100 to 1480.125. 

11 (d) By submitting a renewal application, an applicant 

12 authorizes the board to: 

13 (1) investigate any information provided or requested in 

14 the application. The board may request.that the applicant 

15 provide additional information, verification, or documentation; 

16 (2) conduct an audit to determine if the applicant has met 

17 the continuing education requirements specified in sections 

18 1480.130 to 1480.170; and 

19 (3) if applicable, conduct an audit to determine whether 

20 the applicant has met the supervision requirements specified in 

21 sections 1480.100 to 1480.125. 

22 (e) If a licensee's application for license renewal meets 

23 the requirements specified in paragraph (a), the licensee may 

24 continue to practice after the license expiration date until the 

25 board approves or denies the application. 

26 Subd. 4. [RENEWAL LATE FEE.] An application that is 

27 received after the license expiration date must be accompanied 

28 by the renewal late fee specified in section 1480.180 in 

29 addition to the applicable renewal fee. The application, 

30 renewal fee, and renewal late fee must be received by the board 

31 within 60 days of the license expiration date, or the license 

32 automatically expires. 

33 Subd. 5. [EXPIRED LICENSE.] (a) If an application does not 

34 meet the requirements specified in subdivisions 3 and 4, the 

5 license automatically expires. A licensee whose license has 

36 expired may reactivate a license by meeting the requirements in 
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1 section 1480.080 or be relicensed by meeting the requirements 

2 specified in section 1480.055. 

3 (b) The board may take action pursuant to sections 1480.255 

4 to 1480.270 based on a licensee's conduct before the expiration 

5 of the license. 

6 (c) An expired license may be reactivated within one year 

7 of the expiration date specified in section 1480.080. After one 

8 year of the expiration date, an individual may apply for a new 

9 license pursuant to section 1480.055. 

10 Sec. 20. [1480.075] [INACTIVE LICENSES.] 

11 Subdivision 1. [INACTIVE STATUS.] (a) A licensee qualifies 

12 for inactive status under either of the circumstances described 

13 in paragraph (b) or (c). 

14 (b) A licensee qualifies for inactive status when the 

15 licensee is granted temporary leave from active practice. A 

16 licensee qualifies for temporary leave from active practice if 

17 the licensee demonstrates to the satisfaction of the board that 

18 the licensee is not engaged in the practice of social work in 

19 any setting, including settings in which social workers are 

20 exempt from licensure pursuant to section 1480.065. A licensee 

21 who is granted temporary leave from active practice may 

22 reactivate the license pursuant to section 1480.080. 

23 (c) A licensee qualifies for inactive status when a 

24 licensee is granted an emeritus license. A licensee qualifies 

25 for an emeritus license if the licensee demonstrates to the 

26 satisfaction of the board that: 

27 (i) the licensee is retired from social work practice; and 

28 (ii) the licensee is not engaged in the practice of social 

29 work in any setting, including settings in which social workers 

30 are exempt from licensure pursuant to section 1480.065. 

31 A licensee who possesses an emeritus license may reactivate the 

32 license pursuant to section 1480.080. 

33 Subd. 2. [APPLICATION.] A licensee may apply for inactive 

34 status: 

35 (1) at any time by submitting an application for a 

36 temporary leave from active practice or for an emeritus license; 
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1 or 

2 (2) as an alternative to applying for the renewal of a 

3 license by so recording on the application for license renewal 

4 and submitting the completed, signed application to the board. 

5 An application that is not completed or signed, or that is 

6 not accompanied by the correct fee, must be returned to the 

7 applicant, along with any fee submitted, and is void. For 

8 applications submitted electronically, a "signed application" 

9 means providing an attestation as specified by the board. 

10 Subd. 3. [FEE.] (a) Regardless of when the application for 

11 inactive status is submitted, the temporary leave or emeritus 

12 license fee specified in section 1480.180, whichever is 

13 applicable, must accompany the application. A licensee who is 

14 approved for inactive status before the license expiration date 

15 is not entitled to receive a refund for any portion of the 

16 license or renewal fee. 

17 (b) If an application for temporary leave is received after 

18 the license expiration date, the licensee must pay a renewal 

19 late fee as specified in section 1480.180 in addition to the 

20 temporary leave fee. 

21 Subd. 4. [TIME LIMITS FOR TEMPORARY LEAVES.] A licensee 

22 may maintain an inactive license on temporary leave for no more 

23 than five consecutive years. If a licensee does not apply for 

24 reactivation within 60 days following the end of the consecutive 

25 five-year period, the license automatically expires. 

26 Subd. 5. [TIME LIMITS FOR AN EMERITUS LICENSE.] A licensee 

27 with an emeritus license may not apply for reactivation pursuant 

28 to section 1480.080 after five years following the granting of 

29 the emeritus license. However, after five years following the 

30 granting of the emeritus license, an individual may apply for 

31 new licensure pursuant to section 1480.055. 

32 Subd. 6. [PROHIBITION ON PRACTICE.] (a) Except as provided 

33 in paragraph (b), a licensee whose license is inactive must not 

34 practice, attempt t9 practice, offer to practice, or advertise 

35 or hold out as authorized to practice social work. 

36 (b) The board may grant a variance to the requirements of 
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1 paragraph (a) if a licensee on inactive status provides 

2 emergency social work services. A variance is granted only if 

3 the board provides the variance in writing to the licensee. The· 

4 board may impose conditions or restrictions on the variance. 

5 Subd. 7. [REPRESENTATIONS OF PROFESSIONAL STATUS.] In 

6 making representations of professional status to the public, a 

7 licensee whose license is inactive must state that the license 

8 is inactive and that the licensee cannot practice social work. 

9 Subd. 8. [DISCIPLINARY OR OTHER ACTION.] The board may 

10 resolve any pending complaints against a licensee before 

11 approving an application for inactive status. The board may 

12 take action pursuant to sections 1480.255 to 1480.270 against a 

13 licensee whose license is inactive based on conduct occurring 

14 before the license is inactive or conduct occurring while the 

15 license is inactive. 

16 

17 

Sec. 21. [1480.080] [REACTIVATIONS.] 

Subdivision 1. [MAILING NOTICES TO LICENSEES ON TEMPORARY 

18 LEAVE.] The board must mail a notice for.reactivation to a 

19 licensee on temporary leave at least 45 days before the 

20 expiration date of the license pursuant to section 1480.075, 

21 subdivision 4. Mailing the notice by United States mail to the 

22 licensee's last known mailing address constitutes valid 

23 mailing. Failure to receive the reactivation notice does not 

24 relieve a licensee of the obligation to comply with the 

25 provisions of this section to reactivate a license. 

26 Subd. 2. [REACTIVATION FROM A TEMPORARY LEAVE OR EMERITUS 

27 STATUS.] To reactivate a license from a temporary leave or 

28 emeritus status, a licensee must do the following within the 

29 time period specified in section 1480.075, subdivisions 4 and 5: 

30 (1) complete an application form specified by the board; 

31 (2) document compliance with the continuing education 

32 requirements specified in subdivision 4; 

33 (3) submit a supervision plan, if required; 

34 (4) pay the reactivation of an inactive licensee fee 

35 specified in section 1480.180; and 

36 (5) pay the wall certificate fee in accordance with section 
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1 148D.095, subdivision 1, paragraph (b) or (c), if the licensee 

2 needs a duplicate license. 

3 Subd. 3. [REACTIVATION OF AN EXPIRED LICENSE.] To 

4 reactivate an expired license, a licensee must do the following 

5 within one year of the expiration date: 

6 (1) complete an application form specified by the board; 

7 (2) document compliance with the continuing education 

8 requirements that were in effect at the time the license 

9 expired; 

10 (3) document compliance with the supervision requirements, 

11 if applicable, that were in effect at the time the license 

12 expired; and 

13 (4) pay the reactivation of an expired license fee 

-4 specified in section 148D.180. 

15 Subd. 4. [CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS.] (a) A 

16 licensee who is on temporary leave or who has an emeritus 

17 license must obtain the continuing education hours that would be 

18 required if the license was active. At the time of 

19 reactivation, the licensee must document compliance with the 

20 continuing education requirements specified in sections 1480.130 

21 to 1480.170. 

22 (b) A licensee applying for reactivation pursuant to 

23 subdivision 2 or 3 may apply for a variance to the continuing 

~4 education requirements pursuant to sections 1480.130 to 1480.170. 

25 Subd. 5. [REACTIVATION OF A VOLUNTARILY TERMINATED 

26 LICENSE.] To reactivate a voluntarily terminated license, a 

27 licensee must do·the following within one year of the date the 

28 voluntary termination takes effect: 

29 (1) complete an application form specified by the board; 

30 (2) document compliance with the continued education 

31 requirements that were in effect at the time the license was 

32 voluntarily terminated; 

33 (3) document compliance with the supervision requirements, 

34 if applicable, that were in effect at the time the license was 

J5 voluntarily terminated; and 

36 (4) pay the reactivation of an expired or voluntarily 
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1 terminated license fee specified in section 148D.180. 

2 

3 

Sec. 22. [148D.085] [VOLUNTARY TERMINATIONS.] 

Subdivision 1. [REQUESTS FOR VOLUNTARY TERMINATION.] (a) A 

4 licensee may request voluntary termination of a license if the 

5 licensee demonstrates to the satisfaction of the board that the 

6 licensee is not engaged in the practice of social work in any 

7 setting except settings in which social workers are exempt from 

8 licensure pursuant to section 148D.065. 

9 (b) A licensee may apply for voluntary termination: 

10 (1) at any time by submitting an application; or 

11 (2) as an alternative to applying for the renewal of a 

12 license by so recording on the application for license renewal 

13 and submitting the completed, signed application to the board. 

14 For applications submitted electronically, a "signed 

15 application" means providing an attestation as specified by the 

16 board. An application that is not completed and signed must be 

17 returned to the applicant and is void. 

18 (c) The board may resolve any pending complaints against a 

19 licensee before approving a request for voluntary termination. 

20 Subd. 2. [APPLICATION FOR NEW LICENSURE.] A licensee who 

21 has voluntarily terminated a license may not reactivate the 

22 license after one year following the date the voluntary 

23 termination takes effect. However, a licensee who has 

24 voluntarily terminated a license may apply for a new license 

25 pursuant to section 148D.055. 

26 Subd. 3. [PROHIBITION ON PRACTICE.] A licensee who has 

27 voluntarily terminated a license must not practice, attempt to 

28 practice, offer to practice, or advertise or hold out as 

29 authorized to practice social work, except when the individual 

30 is exempt from licensure pursuant to section 148D.065. 

31 Subd. 4. [DISCIPLINARY OR OTHER ACTION.] The board may 

32 take action pursuant to sections 148D.255 to 148D.270 against a 

33 licensee whose license has been terminated based on conduct 

34 occurring before the license is terminated or for practicing 

35 social work without a license. 

36 Sec. 23. [148D.090] [NAME; CHANGE OF NAME OR ADDRESS.] 

Article 1 Section 23 38 



[SENATEE ] SS1204CE1 

1 Subdivision 1. [NAME.] A licensee must use the licensee's 

2. legal name or a professional name. If the licensee uses a 

3 professional name, the licensee must inform the board in writing 

4 of both the licensee's professional name and legal name and must 

5 comply with the requirements of this section. 

6 Subd. 2. [LEGAL NAME CHANGE.] Within 30 days after 

7 changing the licensee's legal name, a licensee must: 

8 (1) reguest a new license wall certificate; 

9 (2) provide legal verification of the name change; and 

10 (3) pay the license wall certificate fee specified in 

11 section 148D.180. 

12 Subd. 3. [PROFESSIONAL NAME CHANGE.] Within 30 days after 

13 changing the licensee's professional name, a licensee must: 

14 (1) request a new license wall certificate; 

15 (2) provide a notarized statement attesting to the name 

16 change; and 

17 (3) pay the license wall certificate fee specified in 

18 section .148D.180. 

19 Subd. 4. [ADDRESS OR TELEPHONE CHANGE.] When a licensee 

20 changes a mailing address, home address, work address, e-mail 

21 address, or daytime public telephone number, the licensee must 

22 notify the board of the change electronically or in writing no 

23 more than 30 days after the date of the change. 

24 

25 

Sec. 24. [148D.095] [LICENSE CERTIFICATE OR CARD.] 

Subdivision 1. [LICENSE WALL CERTIFICATE.] (a) The board 

26 must issue a new license wall certificate when the board issues 

27 a new license. No fee in addition to the applicable license fee 

28 specified in section 148D.180 is reguired. 

29 (b) The board must replace a license wall certificate when: 

30 (1) a licensee submits an affidavit to the board that the 

31 original license wall certificate was lost, stolen, or 

32 destroyed; and 

33 (2) the licensee submits the license wall certificate fee 

34 specified in section 148D.180. 

35 (c) The board must issue a revised license wall certificate 

36 when: 
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1 (1) a licensee requests a revised license wall certificate 

2 pursuant to section 148D.095; and 

3 (2) submits the license wall certificate fee specified in 

4 section 148D.180. 

5 (d) The board must issue an additional license wall 

6 certificate when: 

7 (1) a licensee submits a written request for a new 

8 certificate because the licensee practices in more than one 

9 location; and 

10 (2) the licensee submits the license wall certificate fee 

11 specified in section 148D.180. 

12 Subd. 2. [.LICENSE CARD.] (a) The board must issue a new 

13 license card when the board issues a new license. No fee in 

14 addition to the applicable license fee specified in section 

15 148D.180 is required. 

16 (b) The board must replace a license card when a licensee 

17 submits: 

18 (1) an affidavit to the board that the original license 

19 card was lost, stolen, or destroyed; and 

20 (2) the license card fee specified in section 148D.180. 

21 (c) The board must issue a revised license card when the 

22 licensee submits a written request for a new license wall 

23 certificate because of a new professional or legal name pursuant 

24 to section 148D.090, subdivision 2 or 3. No fee in addition to 

25 the one specified in subdivision 1, paragraph (b), is required. 

26 Sec. 25. [148D.100] [LICENSED SOCIAL WORKERS; SUPERVISED 

27 PRACTICE.] 

28 Subdivision 1. [SUPERVISION REQUIRED AFTER LICENSURE.] 

29 After receiving a license from the board as a licensed social 

30 worker, the licensed social worker must obtain at least 75 hours 

31 of supervision in accordance with the requirements of this 

32 section. 

33 Subd. 2. [PRACTICE REQUIREMENTS.] The supervision required 

34 by subdivision 1 must be obtained during the first 4,000 hours 

35 of postbaccalaureate social work practice authorized by law. At 

36 least three hours of supervision must be obtained during every 
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1 160 hours of practice. 

2 Subd. 3. [TYPES OF SUPERVISION.] (a) Thirty-seven and 

3 one-half hours of the supervision required by subdivision 1 must 

4 consist of one-on-one in-person supervision. 

5 (b) Thirty-seven and one-half hours must consist of one or 

6 more of the following types of supervision, subject to the 

7 limitation in clause (3): 

8 

9 

10 

(1) one-on-one in-person supervision; 

(2) in-person group supervision; or 

(3) electronic supervision such as by telephone or video 

11 conferencing, provided that electronic supervision must not 

12 exceed 25 hours. 

13 (c) To qualify as in-person group supervision, the group 

14 must not exceed seven members including the supervisor. 

15 Subd. 4 .. [SUPERVISOR REQUIREMENTS.] The supervision 

16 ·required by subdivision 1 must be provided by a supervisor who: 

17 (1) is a licensed social worker who has completed the 

18 

19 

20 

21 

22 

23 

24 

25 

26 

27 

28 

29 

30 

31 

32 

33 

34 

36 

supervised practice requirements; 

(2) is a licensed graduate social worker, licensed 

independent social worker, or licensed independent clinical 

social worker; or 

(3) meets the requirements specified in section 1480.120, 

subdivision 2. 

Subd. 5. [SUPERVISEE REQUIREMENTS.] The supervisee must: 

(1) to the satisfaction of the supervisor, practice 

competently and ethically in accordance with professional social 

work knowledge, skills, and values; 

(2) receive supervision ·in the following content areas: 

(i) development of professional values and 

responsibilities; 

(ii) practice skills; 

(iii) authorized scope of practice; 

(iv) ensuring continuing competence; and 

(v) ethical standards of practice; 

(3) submit a supervision plan in accordance with section 

1480.125, subdivision 1; and 
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(4) if the board audits the supervisee's supervised 

practice, submit verification of supervised practice in 

accordance with section 148D.125, subdivision 3. 

Subd. 6. [AFTER COMPLETION OF SUPERVISION REQUIREMENTS.] A 

licensed social worker who fulfills the supervision requirements 

specified in subdivisions 1 to 5 is not required to be 

supervised after completion of the supervision requirements. 

Subd. 7. [ATTESTATION.] The social worker and the social 

worker's supervisor must attest that the supervisee has met or 

has made progress on meeting the applicable supervision 

requirements in accordance with section 148D.125, subdivision 2. 

Sec. 26. [148D.105] [LICENSED GRADUATE SOCIAL WORKERS; 

SUPERVISED PRACTICE.] 

Subdivision 1. [SUPERVISION REQUIRED AFTER 

15 LICENSURE.] After receiving a license from the board as a 

16 licensed graduate social worker, a licensed graduate social 

17 worker must obtain at least 75 hours of supervision in 

18 accordance with the requirements of this section. 

19 Subd. 2. [PRACTICE REQUIREMENTS.] The supervision required 

20 by subdivision 1 must be obtained during the first 4,000 hours 

21 of postgraduate social ~ork practice authorized by law. At 

22 least three hours of supervision must be obtained during every 

23 160 hours of practice. 

24 Subd. 3. [TYPES OF SUPERVISION.] (a) Thirty-seven and 

25 one-half hours of the supervision required by subdivision 1 must 

26 consist of one-on-one in-person supervision. 

27 (b) Thirty-seven and one-half hours must consist of one or 

28 more of the following types of supervision, subject to the 

29 limitation in clause (3): 

30 (1) one-on-one in-person supervision; 

31 (2) in-person group supervision; or 

32 (3) electronic supervision such as by telephone or video 

33 conferencing, provided that electronic supervision must not 

34 exceed 25 hours. 

35 (c) To qualify as in-person group supervision, the group 

36 must not exceed seven members including the supervisor. 
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1 Subd. 4. [SUPERVISOR REQUIREMENTS.] The supervision 

2 required by subdivision ·1 must be provided by a supervisor who 

3 meets the requirements specified in section 148D.120. The 

4 supervision must be provided: 

5 (1) if the supervisee is not engaged in clinical practice, 

6 by a (i) licensed independent social worker, (ii) licensed 

7 graduate social worker who has completed the supervised practice 

8 requirements, or (iii) licensed independent clinical social 

9 worker; 

10 (2) if the.supervisee is engaged in clinical practice, by a 

11 licensed independent clinical social worker; or 

12 (3) by a supervisor who meets -the requirements specified in 

13 section 148D.120, subdivision 2. 

14 Subd. 5. [SUPERVISEE REQUIREMENTS.] The supervisee must: 

15 (1) to the satisfaction of the supervisor, practice 

16 competently and ethically in accordance with professional social 

17 work knowledge, skills, and values; 

18 (2) receive supervision in the following content areas: 

19 (i) development of professional values and 

20 responsibilities; 

21 (ii) practice skills; 

22 (iii) authorized scope of practice; 

23 (iv) ensuring continuing competence; and 

24 (v) ethical standards of practice; 

25 (3) submit a supervision plan in accordance with section 

26 148D.125, subdivision 1; and 

27 (4) verify supervised ·practice in accordance with section 

28 148D.125, subdivision 3, if: 

29 (i) the board audits the supervisee's supervised practice; 

30 or 

31 (ii) a licensed graduate social worker applies for a 

32 licensed independent social worker or licensed independent 

33 clinical social worker license. 

34 Subd. 6. [LICENSED GRADUATE SOCIAL WORKERS WHO PRACTICE 

35 CLINICAL SOCIAL WORK.] (a) A licensed graduate social worker 

36 must not engage in clinical social work practice except under 
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1 supervision by a licensed independent clinical social worker or 

2 an alternate supervisor designated pursuant to section 148D.120, 

3 subdivision 2. 

4 (b) Except as provided in paragraph (c), a licensed 

5 graduate social worker must not engage in clinical social work 

6 practice under supervision for more than 8,000 hours. In order 

7 to practice clinical social work for more than 8,000 hours, a 

8 licensed graduate social worker must obtain a licensed 

9 independent clinical social worker license. 

10 (c) Notwithstanding the requirements of paragraph (b), the 

11 board may grant a licensed graduate social worker permission to 

12 engage in clinical social work practice for.more than 8,000 

13 hours if the licensed graduate social worker petitions the board 

14 and demonstrates to the board's satisfaction that for reasons of 

15 personal hardship the licensed graduate social worker should be 

16 granted an extension to continue practicing clinical social work 

17 under supervision for up to an additional 2,000 hours. 

18 · (d) Upon completion of 4,000 hours of clinical social work 

19 practice and 75 hours of supervision in accordance with the 

20 requirements of this section, a licensed graduate social worker 

21 is eligible to apply for a licensed independent clinical social 

22 worker license pursuant to section 148D.115, subdivision 1. 

23 Subd. 7. [LICENSED GRADUATE SOCIAL WORKERS WHO DO NOT 

24 PRACTICE CLINICAL sqcIAL WORK.] A licensed graduate social 

25 worker who fulfills the supervision requirements specified in 

26 subdivisions 1 to 5, and who does not practice clinical social 

27 work, is not required to be supervised after completion of the 

28 supervision requirements. 

29 Subd. 8. [ATTESTATION.] A social worker and the social 

30 worker's supervisor must attest that the supervisee has met or 

31 has made progress on meeting the applicable supervision 

32 requirements in accordance with section 148D.125, subdivision 2. 

33 Sec. 27. [148D.110] [LICENSED INDEPENDENT SOCIAL WORKERS; 

34 SUPERVISED PRACTICE.] 

35 Subdivision 1. [SUPERVISION REQUIRED BEFORE 

36 LICENSURE.] Before becoming licensed as a licensed independent 
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social worker, a person must have obtained at least 75 hours of 

supervision during 4,000 hours of postgraduate social work 

practice authorized by law in accordance with the requirements 

of section 148D.105, subdivisions 3, 4, and 5. At least three 

hours of supervision must be obtained during every 160 hours of 

practice. 

Subd. 2. [LICENSED INDEPENDENT SOCIAL WORKERS WHO PRACTICE 

CLINICAL SOCIAL WORK AFTER LICENSURE.] (a) After licensure, a 

licensed independent social worker must not engage in clinical 

social work practice except under supervision by a licensed 

independent clinical social worker or an alternate supervisor 

designated pursuant to section 148D.120, subdivision 2. 

(b) Except as provided in paragraph (c), a licensed 

independent social worker must not engage in clinical social 

work practice under supervision for more than 8,000 hours. In 

order to practice clinical social work for more than 8,000 

hours, a licensed independent social worker must obtain a 

licensed independent clinical social worker license. 

(c) Notwithstanding the requirements of paragraph (b), the 

board may grant a licensed independent social worker permission 

to engage irt clinical social work practice for more than 8,000 

hours if the licensed independent social worker petitions the 

board and demonstrates to the board's satisfaction that for 

reasons of personal hardship the licensed independent social 

worker should be granted an extension to continue practicing 

clinical social work under supervision for up to an additional 

27 2,000 hours. 

28 Subd. 3. [LICENSED INDEPENDENT SOCIAL WORKERS WHO DO NOT 

29 PRACTICE CLINICAL SOCIAL WORK AFTER LICENSURE.] After licensure, 

30 a licensed independent social worker is not required to be 

31 supervised if the licensed independent social worker does not 

32 practice clinical social work. 

33 Sec. 28. [148D.115] [LICENSED INDEPENDENT CLINICAL SOCIAL 

34 WORKERS; SUPERVISED PRACTICE.] 

35 Subdivision 1. [SUPERVISION REQUIRED BEFORE 

36 LICENSURE.] Before becoming licensed as a licensed independent 
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1 clinical social worker, a person must have obtained at least 75 

2 hours of supervision during 4,000 hours of postgraduate clinical 

3 practice authorized by law in accordance with the requirements 

4 of section 148D.105, subdivisions 3, 4, and 5. At least three 

5 hours of supervision must be obtained during every 160 hours of 

6 practice. 

7 Subd. 2. [NO SUPERVISION REQUIRED AFTER LICENSURE.] After 

8 licensure, a licensed independent clinical social worker is not 

9 required to be supervised. 

10 Sec. 29. [148D.120] [REQUIREMENTS OF SUPERVISORS.] 

11 Subdivision 1. [SUPERVISORS LICENSED AS SOCIAL WORKERS.] 

12 (a) Except as provided in paragraph (b), to be eligible to 

13 provide supervision under this section, a social worker.must 

14 attest, on a form provided by the board, that he or she has met 

15 the applicable licensure requirements specified in sections 

16 148D.100 to 148D.115. 

17 (b) If the board determines that supervision is not 

18 obtainable from an individual meeting the requirements specified 

19 in paragraph (a), the board may approve an alternate supervisor 

20 pursuant to subdivision 2. 

21 Subd. 2. [ALTERNATE SUPERVISORS.] (a) The board may 

22 approve an alternate supervisor if: 

23 (1) the board determines that supervision is not obtainable 

24 pursuant to paragraph (b); 

25 (2) the licensee requests in the supervision plan submitted 

26 pursuant to section 1480.125, subdivision 1, that an alternate 

27 supervisor conduct the supervision; 

28 (3) the licensee describes the proposed supervision and the 

29 name and qualifications of the proposed alternate supervisor; 

30 and 

31 (4) the requirements of paragraph (d). are met. 

32 (b) The board may determine that supervision is not 

33 obtainable if: 

34 (1) the licensee provides documentation as an attachment to 

35 the supervision plan submitted pursuant to section 148D.125, 

36 subdivision 1, that the licensee has conducted a thorough search 
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1 for a supervisor meeting the applicable licensure requirements 

2 specified in sections 1480.100 to 1480.115; 

3 (2) the licensee demonstrates to the board's satisfaction 

4 that the search was unsuccessful; and 

5 (3) the licensee describes the extent of the search and the 

6 names and locations of the persons and organizations contacted. 

7 (c) The following are not grounds for a determination that 

8 supervision is unobtainable: 

9 (1) obtaining a supervisor who meets the requirements of 

10 subdivision 1 would present the licensee with a financial 

11 hardship; 

12 (2) the licensee is unable to obtain a supervisor who meets 

13 the requirements of subdivision 1 within the licensee's agency 

~4 or organization and the agency or organization will not allow 

15 outside supervision; or 

16 (3) the specialized nature of the licensee's practice 

17 requires supervision from a practitioner other than an 

18 individual licensed as a social worker. 

19 (d) An alternate supervisor must: 

20 (1) be an unlicensed social worker who is employed in, and 

21 provides the supervision in, a setting exempt from licensure by 

22 section 1480.065, and who has qualifications equivalent to the 

23 applicable requirements specified in sections 1480.100 to 

24 1480.115; or 

25 (2) be a licensed marriage and family therapist or a mental 

26 health professional as established by section 245.462, 

27 subdivision 18, or 245.4871, subdivision 27, or an equivalent 

28 mental health professional, as determined by the board, who is 

29 licensed or credentialed by a state, territorial, provincial, or 

30 foreign licensing agency. 

31 In order to qualify to provide clinical supervision of a 

32 licensed graduate social worker or licensed independent social 

33 worker engaged in clinical practice, the alternate supervisor 

34 must be a mental health professional as established by section 

35 245.462, subdivision 18, or 245.4871, subdivision 27, or an 

36 equivalent mental health professional, as determined by the 
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1 board, who is licensed or credentialed by a state, territorial, 

2 provincial, or foreign licensing agency. 

3 Sec. 30. [1480.125] [DOCUMENTATION OF SUPERVISION.] 

4 Subdivision 1. [SUPERVISION PLAN.] (a) A social worker 

5 must submit, on a form provided by the board, a supervision plan 

6 for meeting the supervision requirements specified in sections 

7 1480.100 to 1480.120. 

8 (b) The supervision plan must be submitted no later than 90 

9 days after the licensee begins a social work practice position 

10 after becoming licensed. 

11 (c) For failure to submit the supervision plan within 90 

12 days after beginning a social work practice position, a licensee 

13 must pay the supervision plan late fee specified in section 

14. 1480.180 when the licensee applies for license renewal. 

15 (d) A license renewal application submitted pursuant to 

16 paragraph (a) must not be approved unless the board has received 

17 a supervision plan. 

18 (e) The supervision plan must include the following: 

19 (1) the name of the supervisee, the name of the agency in 

20 which the supervisee is being supervised, and the supervisee's 

21 position title; 

22 (2) the name and qualifications of the person providing the 

23 supervision; 

24 (3) the number of hours of one-on-one in-person supervision 

25 and the number and type of additional hours of supervision to be 

26 completed by the supervisee; 

27 (4) the supervisee's position description; 

28 (5) a brief description of the supervision the supervisee 

29 will receive in the following content areas: 

30 (i) clinical practice, if applicable; 

31 (ii) development of professional social work knowledge, 

32 skills, and values; 

33 (iii) practice methods; 

34 (iv) authorized scope of practice; 

35 (v) ensuring continuing competence; and 

36 (vi) ethical standards of practice; and 
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1 (6) if applicable, a detailed description of the 

2 supervisee's clinical social work practice, addressing: 

3 (i) the client population, the range of presenting issues, 

4 and the diagnoses; 

5 (ii) the clinical modalities that were utilized; and 

6 (iii) the process utilized for determining clinical 

7 diagnoses, including the diagnostic instruments used and the 

8 role of the supervisee in the diagnostic process. 

9 (f) The board must receive a revised supervision plan 

10 within 90 days of any of the following changes: 

11 (1) the supervisee has a new supervisor; 

12 (2) the supervisee begins a new social work position; 

13 (3) the scope or content of the supervisee's social work 

14 practice changes substantially; 

15 (4) the number of practice or supervision hours changes 

16 substantially; or 

17 (5) the type of supervision changes as supervision is 

18 described in section 1480.100, subdivision 3, or 1480.105, 

19 subdivision 3, or as required in section 1480.115, subdivision 4. 

20 (g) For failure to submit a revised supervised plan as 

21 required in paragraph (f), a supervisee must pay the supervision 

22 plan late fee specified in section 1480.180, when the supervisee 

23 applies for license renewal. 

24 (h) The board must approve the supervisor and the 

25 supervision plan. 

26 Subd. 2. [ATTESTATION.] (a) When a supervisee submits 

27 renewal application materials to the board, the supervisee and 

28 supervisor must submit an attestation providing the following 

29 information on a form provided by the board: 

30 (1) the name of the supervisee, the name of the agency in 

31 which the supervisee is being supervised, and the supervisee's 

32 position title; 

33 (2) the name and qualifications of the supervisor; 

34 (3) the number of hours and dates of each type of 

35 supervisio? completed; 

36 (4) the supervisee's position description; 
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1 (5) a declaration that the supervisee has not engaged in 

2 conduct in violation of the standards of practice specified in 

3 sections 1480.195 to 1480.240; 

4 (6) a declaration that the supervisee has practiced 

5 competently and ethically in accordance with professional social 

6 work knowledge, skills, and values; and 

7 (7) a list of the content areas in which the supervisee has 

8 received supervision, including the following: 

9 (i) clinical practice, if applicable; 

10 (ii) development of professional social work knowledge, 

11 skills, and values; 

12 (iii) practice methods; 

13 (iv) authorized scope of practice; 

14 (v) ensuring continuing competence; and 

15 (vi) ethical standards of practice. 

16 (b) The information provided on the attestation form must 

17 demonstrate to the board's satisfaction that the supervisee has 

18 met or has made progress on meeting the applicable supervised 

19 practice requirements. 

20 Subd. 3. [VERIFICATION OF SUPERVISED PRACTICE.] (a) In 

21 addition to receiving the attestation required pursuant to 

22 subdivision 2, the board must receive verification of supervised 

23 practice if: 

24 (1) the board audits the supervision of a supervisee 

25 pursuant to section 1480.070, subdivision 3; or 

26 (2) an applicant applies for a license as a licensed 

27 independent social worker or as a licensed independent clinical 

28 social worker. 

29 (b) When verification of supervised practice is required 

30 pursuant to paragraph (a), the board must receive from the 

31 supervisor the following information on a form provided by the 

32 board: 

33 (1) the name of the supervisee, the name of the agency in 

34 which the supervisee is being supervised, and the supervisee's 

35 position title; 

36 (2) the name and qualifications of the supervisor; 
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1 (3) the number of hours and dates of each type of 

2 supervision completed; 

3 (4) the supervisee's position description; 

4 (5) a declaration that the supervisee has not engaged in 

5 conduct in violation of the standards of practice specified in 

6 sections 1480.195 to 1480.240; 

7 (6) a declaration that the supervisee has practiced 

8 ethically and competently in accordance with professional social 

9 work knowledge, skills, and values; 

10 (7) a list of the content areas in which the supervisee has 

11 received supervision, including the following: 

12 (i) clinical practice, if applicable; 

13 (ii) development of professional social work knowledge, 

.4 skills, and values; 

15 (iii) practice methods; 

16 (iv) authorized scope of practice; 

17 (v) ensuring continuing competence; and 

18 (vi) ethical standards of practice; and 

19 (8) if applicable, a detailed description of the 

20 supervisee's clinical social work practice, addressing: 

21 (i) the client population, the range of presenting issues, 

22 and the diagnoses; 

23 (ii) the clinical modalities that were utilized; and 

14 (iii) the process utilized for determining clinical 

25 diagnoses, including the diagnostic instruments used and the 

26 role of the supervisee in the diagnostic process. 

27 (c) The information provided on the verification form must 

28 demonstrate to the board's satisfaction that the supervisee has 

29 met the applicable supervised practice requirements. 

30 Subd. 4. [ALTERNATIVE VERIFICATION OF SUPERVISED 

31 PRACTICE.] Notwithstanding the requirements of subdivision 3, 

32 the board may accept alternative verification of supervised 

33 practice if a supervisee demonstrates to the satisfaction of the 

34 board that the supervisee is unable to locate a former 

5 supervisor to provide the required information. 

36 Sec. 31. [1480.130] [CLOCK HOURS REQUIRED.] 
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1 Subdivision 1. [TOTAL CLOCK HOURS REQUIRED.] At the time 

2 of license renewal, a licensee must provide evidence 

3 satisfactory to the board that the licensee has, during the 

4 renewal term, completed at least 30 clock hours of continuing 

5 education. 

6 Subd. 2. [ETHICS REQUIREMENT.] At least two of the clock 

7 hours required under subdivision 1 must be in social work ethics. 

8 Subd. 3. [INDEPENDENT STUDY.] Independent study must not 

9 consist of more than ten clock hours of continuing education per 

10 renewal term. Independent study must be for publication, public 

11 presentation, or professional development. Independent study 

12 includes, but is not limited to, electronic study. 

13 Subd. 4. [COURSEWORK.] One credit of coursework in a 

14 semester-based academic institution is the equivalent of 15 

15 clock hours. 

16 Subd. 5. [PRORATED RENEWAL TERM.] If the licensee's 

17 renewal term is prorated to be less or more than 24 months, the 

18 required number of continuing education clock hours is prorated 

19 proportionately. 

20 Sec. 32. [1480.135] [APPROVAL OF CLOCK HOURS.] 

21 Subdivision 1. [WAYS OF APPROVING CLOCK HOURS.] The clock 

22 hours required under section 1480.130 must be approved in one or 

23 more of the following ways: 

24 (1) the hours must be offered by a continuing education 

25 provider approved by the board; 

26 (2) the hours must be offered by a continuing education 

27 provider approved by the Association of Social Work Boards or a 

28 similar examination body designated by the board; 

29 (3) the hours must be earned through a continuing education 

30 program approved by the National Association of Social Workers; 

31 or 

32 (4) the hours must be earned through a continuing education 

33 program approved by the board. 

34 Subd. 2. [PREAPPROVAL NOT REQUIRED.] Providers and 

35 programs are not required to be preapproved but must meet the 

36 requirements specified in this section. 
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1 Sec. 33. [148D.140] [VARIANCES.] 

2 The board may grant a variance to the continuing education 

3 requirements specified in section 148D.130, when a licensee 

4 demonstrates to the satisfaction of the board that the licensee 

5 is unable to complete the required number of clock hours during 

6 the renewal term. The board may allow a licensee to complete 

7 the required number of clock hours within a time frame specified 

8 by the board. The board must not allow a licensee to complete 

9 less than the required number of clock hours. 

10 Sec. 34. [148D.145] [CONTINUING EDUCATION PROVIDERS 

11 APPROVED BY THE BOARD.] 

12 Subdivision 1. [BOARD APPROVAL.] (a) The board must 

13 approve a continuing education provider who: 

14 (1) submits a completed application to the board which 

15 provides the information required by subdivision 2 and which 

16 · meets the criteria specified in subdivision 3; and 

17 (2) pays the provider fee specified in section 148D.180. 

18 (b) An approval is valid for programs offered no later than 

19 one year from the date the application is approved by the board. 

20 Subd. 2. [INFORMATION REQUIRED.] The information that must 

21 be provided to the board includes, but is not limited to, the 

22 following: 

23 (1) the name of the continuing education provider; 

24 (2) the address, telephone number, and e-mail address of a 

25 contact person for the provider; 

26 (3) a signed statement that indicates the provider 

27 understands and agrees to abide by the criteria specified in 

28 subdivision 3; and 

29 (4) a signed statement that indicates the provider agrees 

30 to furnish a certificate of attendance to each participant in a 

31 program offered by the provider. 

32 Subd. 3. [CRITERIA FOR PROGRAMS OFFERED BY CONTINUING 

33 EDUCATION PROVIDERS.] (a) A continuing education provider must 

34 employ the following criteria in determining whether to offer a 

35 continuing education program: 

36 (1) whether the material to be presented will promote the 
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1 standards of practice described in sections 148D.195 to 

2 148D.240; 

3 (2) whether the material to be presented will contribute to 

4 the practice of social work as defined in section 148D.010; 

5 (3) whether the material to be presented is intended for 

6 the benefit of practicing social workers; and 

7 (4) whether the persons presenting the program are 

8 qualified in the subject matter being presented. 

9 (b) The material presented must not be primarily procedural 

10 or primarily oriented towards business practices ·or 

11 self-development. 

12 Subd. 4. [AUDITS.] (a) The board may audit programs 

13 offered by a continuing education provider approved by the board 

14 to determine compliance with the requirements of this section. 

15 (b) A continuing education provider audited by the board 

16 must provide the documentation specified in subdivision 5. 

17 Subd. 5. [INFORMATION REQUIRED TO BE MAINTAINED BY 

18 CONTINUING EDUCATION PROVIDERS.] For three years following the 

19 end of each program offered by a continuing education provider, 

20 the provider must maintain the following information: 

21 (1) the title of the program; 

22 (2) a description of the content and-objectives of the 

23 program; 

24 (3) the date of the program; 

25 (4) the number of clock hours credited for participation in 

26 the program; 

27 (5) the program location; 

28 (6) the names and qualifications of the primary presenters; 

29 (7) a description of the primary audience the program was 

30 designed for; and 

31. (8) a list of the participants in the program. 

32 Sec. 35. [148D.150] [CONTINUING EDUCATION PROVIDERS 

33 APPROVED.BY THE ASSOCIATION OF SOCIAL WORK BOARDS.] 

34 In order to receive credit for a program offered by a 

35 continuing education provider approved by the Association of 

36 Social Work Boards or a similar examination body designated by 
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1 the board, the provider must be listed on the Association of 

2 Social Work Boards Web site as a provider currently approved by 

3 the Association of Social Work Boards or a similar examination 

4 body designated by the board. 

5 Sec. 36. [148D.155] [CONTINUING EDUCATION PROGRAMS 

6 APPROVED BY THE NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF SOCIAL WORKERS.] 

7 In order to receive credit for a program approved by the 

8 National Association of Social Workers, the program must be 

9 listed on the National Association of Social Workers Web site as 

10 a program currently approved by the National Association of 

11 Social Workers. 

12 Sec. 37. [148D.160] [CONTINUING EDUCATION PROGRAMS 

13 APPROVED BY THE BOARD.] 

14 Subdivision 1. [REQUIRED PROGRAM CONTENT.] In order to be 

15 approved by the board, a continuing education program must: 

16 (1) promote the standards of practice described in sections 

17 148D.195 to 148D.240; 

18 (2) contribute to the practice of social work as defined in 

19 section 148D.010; and 

20 (3) not be primarily procedural or be primarily oriented 

21 towards business practices or ·self-development. 

22 Subd. 2. [TYPES OF CONTINUING EDUCATION PROGRAMS.] In 

23 order to be approved by the board, a continuing education 

24 program must be one of the following: academic coursework 

25 offered by an institution of higher learning; educational 

26 workshops, seminars, or conferences offered by an organization 

27 or individual; staff training offered by a public or private 

28 employer; or independent study. 

29 Sec. 38. [148D •. 165] [CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS OF 

30 LICENSEES.] 

31 Subdivision 1. [INFORMATION REQUIRED TO BE MAINTAINED BY 

32 LICENSEES.] For one year following the expiration date of a 

33 license, the licensee must maintain documentation of clock hours 

34 earned during the previous renewal term. The documentation must 

35 include the following: 

36 (1) for educational workshops or seminars offered by an 
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1 organization or at a conference, a copy of the certificate of 

2 attendance issued by the presenter or sponsor giving the 

3 following information: 

4 (i) the name of the sponsor or presenter of the program; 

5 (ii) the title of the workshop or seminar; 

6 (iii) the dates the licensee participated in the program; 

7 and 

8 (iv) the number of clock hours completed; 

9 (2) for academic coursework offered by an institution of 

10 higher learning, a copy of a transcript giving the following 

11 information: 

12 (i) the name of the institution offering the course; 

13 (ii) the title of the course; 

14 (iii) the dates the licensee participated in the course; 

15 and 

16 (iv) the number of credits completed; 

17 (3) for staff training offered by public or private 

18 employers, a copy of the certificate of attendance issued by the 

19 employer giving the following information: 

20 (i) the name of the employer; 

21 (ii) the title of the staff training; 

22 (iii) the dates the licensee participated in the program; 

23 and 

24 (iv) the number of clock hours completed; and 

25 (4) for independent study, including electronic study, a 

26 written summary of the study conducted, including the following 

27 information: 

28 (i) the topics studied; 

29 (ii) a description of the applicability of the study to the 

30 licensee's authorized scope of practice; 

31 (iii) the titles and authors of books and articles 

32 consulted or the name of the organization offering the study; 

33 (iv) the dates the licensee conducted the study; and 

34 (v) the number of clock hours the licensee conducted the 

35 study. 

36 Subd. 2. [AUDITS.] The board may audit license renewal and 
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1 reactivation applications to determine compliance with the 

2 requirements of sections 1480.130 to 1480.170. A licensee 

3 audited by the board must provide the documentation specified in 

4 subdivision 1 regardless of whether the provider or program has 

5 been approved by the board, the Association of Social Work 

6 Boards, or a similar examination body designated by the board, 

7 or the National Association of Social Workers. 

8 Sec. 39. [1480.170] [REVOCATION OF CONTINUING EDUCATION 

9 APPROVALS . ] 

10 The board may revoke approval of a provider or of a program 

11 offered by a provider, or of an individual program approved by 

12 the board, if the board determines subsequent to the approval 

13 that the provider or program failed to meet the requirements of 

L4 sections 1480.130 to 148D.170. 

15 Sec. 40. [1480.175] [FEES.] 

16 The fees specified in section 1480.180 are nonrefundable 

17 and must be deposited in the state government special revenue 

18 fund. 

19 Sec. 41. [1480.180] [FEE AMOUNTS.] 

20 Subdivision 1. [APPLICATION FEES.] Application fees for 

21 licensure are as follows: 

{1} for a licensed social worker, $45; 

{2} for a licensed graduate social worker, $45; 

22 

23 

24 

25 

Pl for a licensed independent social worker, $90; 

{4} for a licensed independent clinical social worker, 

26 (5) for a temporary license, $50; and 

27 (6) for a licensure by endorsement, $150. 

$90; 

28 The fee for criminal background checks is the fee charged 

29 by the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension. The criminal background 

30 check fee must be included with the application fee as required 

31 pursuant to section 1480.055. 

32 Subd. 2. [LICENSE FEES.] License fees are as follows: 

33 (1} for a licensed social worker, $115.20; 

34 (2) for a licensed graduate social worker, $201.60; 

)5 (3) for a licensed independent social worker, $302.40; 

36 (4} for a licensed independent clinical social worker, 
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1 $331.20; 

2 (5) for an emeritus license, $43.20; and 

3 (6) for a temporary leave fee, the same as the renewal fee 

4 specified in subdivision 3. 

5 If the licensee's initial license term is less or more than 

6 24 months, the required license fees must be prorated 

7 proportionately. 

8 Subd. 3. [RENEWAL FEES.] Renewal fees for licensure are as_ 

9 follows: 

10 

11 

12 

13 

(1} 

(2} 

Pl 

(4} 

14 $331.20. 

for a licensed 

for a licensed 

for a licensed 

for a licensed 

social worker, $115.20; 

graduate social worker, $201.60; 

independent social worker, $302.40; and 

independent clinical social worker, 

15 Subd. 4. [CONTINUING EDUCATION PROVIDER FEES.] Continuing 

16 education provider fees are as follows: 

17 (1) for a provider who offers programs totaling one to 

18 eight clock hours in a one-year period pursuant to section 

19 148D.145, $50; 

20 (2) for a provider who offers programs totaling nine to 16 

21 clock hours in a one-year period pursuant to section 148D.145, 

22 $100; 

23 (3) for a provider who offers programs totaling 17 to 32 

24 clock hours in a one-year period pursuant to section 148D.145, 

25 $200; 

26 (4) for a provider who offers programs totaling 33 to 48 

27 clock hours in a one-year period pursuant to section 148D.145, 

28 $400; and 

29 (5) for a provider who offers programs totaling 49 or more 

30 clock hours in a one-year period pursuant to section 148D.145, 

31 $600. 

32 Subd. 5. [LATE FEES.] Late fees are as follows: 

33 (1) renewal late fee, one-half of the renewal fee specified 

34 in subdivision 3; and 

35 (2) supervision plan late fee, $40. 

36 Subd. 6. [LICENSE CARDS AND WALL CERTIFICATES.] (a) The 

Article 1 Section 41 



[SENATEE ] SS1204CE1 

1 fee for a license card as specified in section 148D.095 is $10. 

2 (b) The fee for a license wall certificate as specified in 

3 section 1480.095 is $30. 

4 Subd. 7. ·[REACTIVATION FEES.] Reactivation fees are as 

5 follows: 

6 (1) reactivation from a temporary leave or emeritus status, 

7 the prorated share of the renewal fee specified in subdivision 

8 3; and 

9 (2) reactivation of an expired license, 1-1/2 times the 

10 renewal fees specified in subdivision 3. 

11 Sec. 42. [148D.185] [PURPOSE OF COMPLIANCE LAWS.] 

12 The purpose of sections 148D.185 to 148D.290 is to protect 

13 the public by ensuring that all persons licensed as social 

14 workers meet minimum standards of practice. The board shall 

15 promptly and fairly investigate and resolve all complaints 

16 alleging violations of statutes and rules that the board is 

17 empowered to enforce and (1) take appropriate disciplinary 

18 action, adversarial action, or other action justified by the 

19 facts, or (2) enter into corrective action agreements or 

20 stipulations to cease practice, when doing so is consistent with 

21 the board's obligation to protect the public. 

22 Sec. 43. [148D.190] [GROUNDS FOR ACTION.] 

23 Subdivision 1. [SCOPE.] The grounds for action in 

~4 subdivisions 2 to 4 and the standards of practice requirements 

25 in sections 148D.195 to 148D.240 apply to all licensees and 

26 applicants. 

27 Subd. 2. [VIOLATIONS.] The board has grounds to take 

28 action pursuant to sections 148D.255 to 148D.270 when a social 

29 worker violates: 

30 (1) a statute or rule enforced by the board, including this 

31 section and sections 148D.195 to 148D.240; 

32 (2) a federal or state law or rule related to the practice 

33 of social work; or 

34 (3) an order, stipulation, or agreement agreed to or issued 

J5 by the board. 

36 Subd. 3. [CONDUCT BEFORE LICENSURE.] A violation of the 
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1 requirements specified in this section and sections 148D.195 to 

2 148D.240 is grounds for the board to take action under sections 

3 148D.255 to 148D.270. The board's.jurisdiction to exercise the 

4 powers provided in this section extends to an applicant or 

5 licensee's conduct that occurred before licensure if: 

6 (1) the conduct did not meet the minimum accepted and 

7 prevailing standards of professional social work practice at the 

8 time the conduct occurred; or 

9 (2) the conduct- adversely affects the applicant or 

10 licensee's present ability to practice social work in conformity 

11 with the requirements of sections 1480.195 to 148D.240. 

12 Subd. 4. [UNAUTHORIZED PRACTICE.] The board has grounds to 

13 take action pursuant to sections 148D.255 to 148D.270 when a 

14 social worker: 

15 (1) practices outside the scope of practice authorized by 

16 section 148D.050; 

17 (2) engages in the practice of social work without a social 

18 work license under section 148D.055 or 148D.060, except when the 

19 social worker is exempt from licensure pursuant to section 

20 148D.065; 

21 (3) provides social work services to a client who receives 

22 social work services in this state, and is not licensed pursuant 

23 to section 148D.055 or 148D.060, except when the social worker 

24 is exempt from licensure pursuant to section 148D.065. 

25 Sec. 44. [148D.195] [REPRESENTATIONS TO CLIENTS AND 

26 PUBLIC.] 

27 Subdivision 1. [REQUIRED DISPLAYS AND INFORMATION FOR 

28 CLIENTS.] (a) A social worker must conspicuously display at the 

29 social worker's places of practice, or make available as a 

30 handout for all clients, information that the client has the 

31 right to the following: 

32 (1) to be informed of the social worker's license status, 

33 education, training, and experience; 

34 (2) to examine public data on the social worker maintained 

35 by the board; 

36 (3) to report a complaint about the social worker's 
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1 12ractice to the board; and 

2 (4) to be informed of the board's mailing address, e-mail 

3 address, Web site address, and tele12hone number. 

4 (b) A social worker must cons12icuously dis12lay the social 

5 worker's wall certificate at the social worker's places of 

6 12ractice and office locations. Additional wall certificates may 

7 be requested 12ursuant to section 1480.095. 

8 Subd. 2. [REPRESENTATIONS.] (a) No a12plicant or other 

9 individual may be re12resented to the 12ublic by any.title 

10 incor12orating the words "social work" or "social worker" unless 

11 the individual holds a license 12ursuant to sections 1480.055 and 

12 1480.060 or 12ractices in a setting exem12t from licensure 

13 12ursuant to section 1480.065. 

14 (b) In all 12rofessional use of a social worker's name, the 

15 social worker must use the license designation "LSW" or 

16 "licensed social worker" for a licensed social worker, "LGSW" or 

17 "licensed graduate social worker" for a licensed graduate social 

18 worker, "LISW" or "licensed inde12endent social worker" for a 

19 licensed inde12endent social worker, or "LICSW" or "licensed 

20 inde12endent clinical social worker" for a licensed inde12endent 

21 clinical social worker. 

22 (c) Public statements or advertisements must not be 

23 untruthful, misleading, false, fraudulent, dece12tive, or 

24 12otentially ex12loitative of clients, former clients, interns, 

25 students, su12ervisees, or the public. 

26 (d) A social worker must not: 

27 (1) use licensure status as a claim, 12romise, or guarantee 

28 of successful service; 

29 (2) obtain a license by cheating or em12loying fraud or 

30 dece12tion; 

31 (3) make false statements or misre12resentations to the 

32 board or in materials submitted to the board; or 

33 (4) engage in conduct that has the 12otential to deceive or 

34 defraud a social work client, intern, student, su12ervisee, or 

35 the 12ublic. 

36 Subd. 3. [INFORMATION ON CREDENTIALS.] (a) A social worker 
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1 must provide accurate and factual information concerning the 

2 social worker's credentials, education, training, and experience 

3 when the information is requested by clients, potential clients, 

4 or other persons or organizations. 

5 (b) A social worker must not misrepresent directly or by 

6 .implication the social worker's license, degree, professional 

7 certifications, affiliations, or other professional 

8 qualifications in any oral or written communications to clients, 

9 potential clients, or other persons or organizations. A social 

10 worker must take reasonable steps. to prevent such 

11 

12 

13 

14 

15 

16 

17 

18 

19 

20 

21 

22 

23 

24 

25 

26 

27 

28 

29 

30 

31 

32 

33 

34 

35 

36 

misrepresentations by other social workers. 

(c) A social worker must not hold out as a person licensed 

as a social worker without having a social work license pursuant 

to sections 1480.055 and 1480.060. 

(d) A social worker must not misrepresent directly or by 

implication (1) affiliations with institutions or organizations, 

or (2) purposes or characteristics of institutions or 

organizations with which the social worker is or has been 

affiliated. 

Sec. 45. [1480.200] [COMPETENCE.] 

Subdivision 1. [COMPETENCE.] (a) A social worker must 

provide services and hold out as competent only to the extent 

the social worker's education, training, license, consultation 

received, supervision experience, or other relevant professional 

experience demonstrate competence in the services provided. A 

social worker must make a referral to a competent professional 

when the services required are beyond the social worker's 

competence or authorized scope of practice. 

(b) When generally recognized standards do not exist with 

respect to an emerging area of practice, including but not 

limited to providing social work services through electronic 

means, a social worker must take the steps necessary, such as 

consultation or supervision, to ensure the competence of the 

social worker's work and to protect clients from harm. 

Subd. 2. [SUPERVISION OR CONSULTATION.] Notwithstanding 

the completion of supervision requirements as specified in 
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1 sections 148D.100 to 148D.125, a social worker must obtain 

2 supervision or engage in consultation when appropriate or 

3 necessary for competent and ethical practice. 

4 Subd. 3. [DELEGATION OF SOCIAL WORK RESPONSIBILITIES.] J2l 

5 A social worker must not delegate a social work responsibility 

6 to another .individual when the social worker knows or reasonably 

7 should know that the individual is not licensed when required to 

8 be licensed pursuant to sections 148D.055 and 148D.060. 

9 (b) A social worker must not delegate a social work 

10 responsibility to another individual when the social worker 

11 knows or reasonably should know that the individual is not 

12 competent to assume the responsibility or perform the task. 

13 Sec. 46. [148D.205] [IMPAIRMENT.] 

14 Subdivision 1. [GROUNDS FOR ACTION.] The board has grounds 

15 to take action under sections 148D.255 to 148D.270 when a social 

16 worker is unable to practice with reasonable skill and safety by 

17 reason of illness, use of alcohol, drugs, chemicals, or any 

18 other materials, or as a result of any mental, physical, or 

19 psychological condition. 

20 Subd. 2. [SELF-REPORTING.] A social worker regulated by 

21 the board who is unable to practice with reasonable skill and 

22 safety by reason of illness, use of alcohol, drugs, chemicals, 

23 or any other materials, or as a result of any mental, physical, 

24 or psychological condition, must report to the board or the 

25 health professionals services program. 

26 Sec. 47. [148D.210] [PROFESSIONAL AND ETHICAL CONDUCT.] 

27 The board has grounds to take action under sections 

28 148D.255 to 148D.270 when a social worker: 

29 (1) engages in unprofessional or unethical conduct, 

30 including any departure from or failure to conform to the 

31 minimum accepted ethical and other prevailing standards of 

32 professional social work practice, without actual injury to a 

33 social work client, intern, student, supervisee or the public 

34 needing to be established; 

35 (2) engages in conduct that has the potential to cause harm 

36 to a client, intern, student, supervisee, or the public; 
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1 (3) demonstrates a willful or careless disregard for the 

2 health, welfare, or safety of a client, intern, student, or 

3 supervisee; or 

4 .(4) engages in acts or conduct adversely affecting the 

5 applicant or licensee's current ability or fitness to engage in 

6 social work practice, whether or not the acts or conduct 

7 occurred while engaged in the practice of social work. 

8 Sec. 48. [148D.215] [RESPONSIBILITIES TO CLIENTS.] 

9 Subdivision 1. [RESPONSIBILITY TO CLIENTS.] A social 

10 worker's primary professional responsibility is to the client. 

11 A social worker must respect the client's interests, including 

12 the interest in self-determination, except when required to do 

13 otherwise by law. 

14 Subd. 2. [NONDISCRIMINATION.] A social worker must not 

15 discriminate against a client, intern, student, or supervisee or 

16 in providing services to a client, intern, or supervisee on the 

17 basis of age, gender, sexual orientation, race, color, national 

18 origin, religion, illness, disability, political affiliation, or 

19 social or-economic status. 

20 Subd. 3. [RESEARCH.] When undertaking research activities, 

21 a social worker must use accepted protocols for the protection 

22 of human subjects, including (1) establishing appropriate 

23 safeguards to protect the subject's vulnerability, and (2) 

24 obtaining the subjects' informed consent. 

25 Sec. 49. [148D.220] [RELATIONSHIPS WITH CLIENTS, FORMER 

26 CLIENTS, AND OTHER INDIVIDUALS.] 

27 Subdivision 1. [SOCIAL WORKER RESPONSIBILITY.] (a) A 

28 social worker is responsible for acting professionally in 

29 relationships with clients or former clients. A client or a 

30 former client's initiation of, or attempt to engage in, or 

31 request to engage in, a personal, sexual, or business 

32 relationship is not a defense to a violation of this section. 

33 (b) When a relationship is permitted by this section, 

34 social workers who engage in such a relationship assume the full 

35 burden of demonstrating that the relationship will not be 

36 detrimental to the client or the professional relationship. 
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1 Subd. 2. [PROFESSIONAL BOUNDARIES.] A social worker must 

2 maintain appropriate professional boundaries with a client. A 

3 social worker must not engage in practices with clients that 

4 create an unacceptable risk of client harm or of impairing a 

5 social worker's objectivity or professional judgment. A social 

6 worker must not act or fail to act in a way that, as judged by a 

7 reasonable and prudent social worker, inappropriately encourages 

8 the client to relate to the social worker outside of the 

9 boundaries of the professional relationship, or in a way that 

10 interferes with the client's ability to benefit from social work 

11 services from the social worker. 

12 Subd. 3. [MISUSE OF PROFESSIONAL RELATIONSHIP.] A social 

13 worker must not use the professional relationship with a client, 

~4 student, supervisee, or intern to further the social worker's 

15 personal, emotional, financial, sexual, religious, political, or 

16 business benefit or interests. 

17 Subd. 4. [IMPROPER TERMINATION.] A social worker must not 

18 terminate a professional relationship for the purpose of 

19 beginning·a personal, sexual, or business relationship with a 

20 client. 

21 Subd. 5. [PERSONAL RELATIONSHIP WITH A CLIENT.] (a) Except 

22 as provided in paragraph (b), a social worker must not engage in 

23 a personal relationship with a client that creates a risk of 

14 client harm or of impairing a social worker's objectivity or 

25 Erof essional judgment. 

26 (b) Notwithstanding Earagraph (a) , if a social worker is 

27 unable to avoid a Eersonal relationship with a client, the 

28 social worker must take aEpropriate precautions, such as 

29 consultation or suEervision, to address the potential for risk 

30 of client harm or of impairing a social worker's objectivity or 

31 professional judgment. 

32 Subd. 6. [PERSONAL RELATIONSHIP WITH A FORMER CLIENT.] A 

33 social worker may engage in a personal relationship with a 

34 former client after appropriate termination of the professional 

J5 relationshiE, except: 

36 (1) as prohibited by subdivision 8; or 
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1 (2) if a reasonable and prudent social worker would 

2 conclude after appropriate assessment that (i) the former client 

3 is emotionally dependent on the social worker or continues to 

4 relate to the social worker as a client, or (ii) the social 

5 worker is emotionally dependent on the client or continues to 

6 relate to the former client as a social worker. 

7 Subd. 7. [SEXUAL CONDUCT WITH A CLIENT.] A social worker 

8 must not engage in or suggest sexual conduct with a client. 

9 Subd. 8. [SEXUAL CONDUCT WITH A FORMER CLIENT.] (a) A 

10 social worker who has engaged in diagnosing, counseling, or 

11 treating a client with mental, emotional, or behavioral 

12 disorders must not engage in or suggest sexual conduct with the 

13 former client under any circumstances unless: 

14 (1) the social worker did not intentionally or 

15 unintentionally coerce, exploit, deceive, or manipulate the 

16 former client at any time; 

17 (2) the social worker did not represent to the former 

18 client that sexual conduct with the social worker is consistent 

19 with or part of the client's treatment; 

20 (3) the social worker's sexual conduct was not detrimental 

21 to the former client at any time; 

22 (4) the former client is not emotionally dependent on the 

23 social worker and does not continue to relate to the social 

24 worker as a client; and 

25 (5) the social worker is not emotionally dependent on the 

26 client and does not continue to relate to the former client as a 

27 social worker. 

28 (b) If there is an alleged violation of paragraph (a), the 

29 social worker assumes the full burden of demonstrating to the 

30 board that the social worker did not intentionally or 

31 unintentionally coerce, exploit, deceive, or manipulate the 

32 client, and the. social worker's sexual conduct was not 

33 detrimental to the client at any time. Upon request, a social 

34 worker must provide information to the board addressing: 

35 (1) the amount of time that has passed since termination of 

36 services; 
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1 

2 

(2) the duration, intensity, and nature of services; 

(3) the circumstances of termination of services; 

3 (4) the former client's emotional, mental, and behavioral 

4 history; 

5 (5) the former client's current emotional, mental, and 

6 behavioral status; 

7 (6) the likelihood of adverse impact on the former client; 

8 and 

9 (7) the existence of actions, conduct, or statements made 

10 by the social worker during the course of services suggesting or 

11 inviting the possibility of a sexual relationship with the 

12 client following termination of services. 

13 (c) A social worker who has provided social work services 

14 other than those described in paragraph (a) to a client must not 

15 engage in or suggest sexual conduct with the former client if a 

16 reasonable and prudent social worker would conclude after 

17 appropriate assessment that engaging in such behavior with the 

18 former client would create an unacceptable risk of harm to the 

19 former client. 

20 Subd. 9. [SEXUAL CONDUCT WITH A STUDENT, SUPERVISEE, OR 

21 INTERN.] (a) A social worker must not engage in or suggest 

22 sexual conduct with a student while the social worker has 

23 authority over any part of the student's academic program. 

24 (b) A social worker supervising an intern must not engage 

25 in or suggest sexual conduct with the intern during the course 

26 of the internship. 

27 (c) A social worker practicing social work as a supervisor 

28 must not engage in or suggest sexual conduct with a supervisee 

29 during the period of supervision. 

30 Subd. 10. [SEXUAL HARASSMENT.] A social worker must not 

31 engage in any physical, oral, written, or electronic behavior 

32 that a client, former client, student, supervisee, or intern may 

33 reasonably interpret as sexually harassing or sexually demeaning. 

34 Subd. 11. [BUSINESS RELATIONSHIP WITH A CLIENT.] A social 

35 worker must not purchase goods or services from a client or 

36 otherwise engage in a business relationship with a client except 
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1 when: 

2 (1) a social worker purchases goods or services from the 

3 client and a reasonable and prudent social worker would 

4 determine that it is not practical or reasonable to obtain the 

5 goods or services from another provider; and 

6 (2) engaging in the business relationship will not be 

7 detrimental to the client or the professional relationship. 

8 Subd. 12. [BUSINESS RELATIONSHIP WITH A FORMER CLIENT.] A 

9 social worker may purchase goods or services from a former 

10 client or otherwise engage in a business relationship with a 

11 former client after appropriate termination of the professional 

12 relationship unless a reasonable and prudent social worker would 

13 conclude after appropriate assessment that: 

14 (1) the former client is emotionally dependent on the 

15 social worker and purchasing goods or services from the former 

16 client or otherwise engaging in a business relationship with the 

17 former client would be detrimental to the former client; or 

18 (2) the social worker is emotionally dependent on the 

19 former client and purchasing goods or services from the former 

20 client or otherwise engaging in a business relationship with the 

21 former client would be detrimental to the former client. 

22 Subd. 13. [PREVIOUS SEXUAL, PERSONAL, OR BUSINESS 

23 RELATIONSHIP.] (a) A social worker must not engage in a social 

24 worker/client relationship with an individual with whom the 

25 social worker had a previous sexual relationship. 

26 (b) A social worker must not engage in a social 

27 worker/client relationship with an individual with whom the 

28 social worker had a previous personal or business relationship 

29 if a reasonable and prudent social worker would conclude after 

30 appropriate assessment that the social worker/client 

31 relationship would create an unacceptable risk of client harm or 

32 that the social worker's objectivity or professional judgment 

33 may be impaired. 

34 Subd. 14. [GIVING ALCOHOL OR OTHER DRUGS TO A CLIENT.] ~ 

35 Unless authorized by law, a social worker must not offer 

36 medication or controlled substances to a client. 
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1 (b) A social worker must not accept medication or 

2 controlled substances from a client except that if authorized by 

3 law, a social worker may accept medication or controlled 

4 substances from a client for purposes of disposal or to monitor 

5 use. 

6 (c} A social worker must not offer alcoholic beverages to a 

7 client except when such an off er is authorized or prescribed by 

8 a physician or is in accordance with a client's care plan. 

9 (d) A social worker must not accept alcoholic beverages 

10 from a client. 

11 Subd. 15. [RELATIONSHIP WITH A CLIENT'S FAMILY OR 

12 HOUSEHOLD MEMBER.] Subdivisions 1 to 14 apply to a social 

13 worker's relationship with a client's family or household member 

14 when a reasonable and prudent social worker would conclude after 

15 appropriate assessment that a relationship with a family or 

16 household member would create an unacceptable risk of harm to 

17 the client. 

18 

19 

Sec. 50. [148D.225] [TREATMENT AND INTERVENTION SERVICES.] 

Subdivision 1. [ASSESSMENT OR DIAGNOSIS.] A social worker 

20 must base treatment and intervention services on an assessment 

21 or diagnosis. A social worker must evaluate, on an ongoing 

22 basis, the appropriateness of the assessment or diagnosis. 

23 Subd. 2. [ASSESSMENT OR DIAGNOSTIC INSTRUMENTS.] A social 

24 worker must not use an assessment or diagnostic instrument 

25 without adequate training. A social worker.must follow 

26 standards and accepted procedures for using an assessment or 

27 diagnostic instrument. A social worker must inform a client of 

28 the purpose before administering the instrument and must make 

29 the results available to the client. 

30 Subd. 3. [PLAN FOR SERVICES.] A social worker must develop 

31 a plan for services that includes goals based on the assessment 

32 or diagnosis. A social worker must evaluate, on an ongoing 

33 basis, the appropriateness of the plan and the client's progress 

34 toward the goals. 

5 Subd. 4. [RECORDS.] (a) A social worker must make and 

36 maintain current and accurate records, appropriate to the 

Article 1 Section 50 69 



[SENATEE ] SS1204CE1 

1 circumstances, of all services provided to a client. At a 

2 minimum, the records must contain documentation of: 

3 (1) the assessment or diagnosis; 

4 (2) the content of the service plan; 

5 (3) progress with the plan and any revisions of assessment, 

6 diagnosis, or plan; 

7 (4) any fees charged and payments made; 

8 (5) copies of all client-written authorizations for release 

9 of information; and 

10 (6) other information necessary to provide appropriate 

11 services. 

12 (b) These records must be maintained by the social worker 

13 for at least seven years after the last date of service to the 

14 client. Social workers who are employed by an agency or other 

15 entity are not required to: 

16 (1) maintain personal or separate records; or 

17 (2) personally retain records at the conclusion of their 

18 employment. 

19 Subd. 5. [TERMINATION OF SERVICES.] A social worker must 

20 terminate a professional relationship with a client when the 

21 social worker reasonably determines that the client is not 

22 likely to benefit from continued services or the services are no 

23 longer needed, unless the social worker is required by law to 

24 provide services. A social worker who anticipates terminating 

25 services must give reasonable notice to the client in a manner 

26 that is appropriate to the needs of the client. The social 

27 worker must provide appropriate referrals as needed or upon 

28 request of the client. 

29 

30 

Sec. 51. [148D.230] -[CONFIDENTIALITY AND RECORDS.] 

Subdivision 1. [INFORMED CONSENT.] (a) A social worker 

31 must obtain valid, informed consent, appropriate to the 

32 circumstances, before providing services to-clients. When 

33 obtaining informed consent, the social worker must determine 

34 whether the client has the capacity to provide informed 

35 consent. If the client does not ·have the capacity to provide 

36 consent, the social worker must obtain consent for the services 
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1 from the client's legal representative. The social worker must 

2 not provide services, unless authorized or required by law, if 

3 the client or the client's legal representative does not consent 

4 to the services. 

5 (b) If a social worker determines that a client does not 

6 have the capacity to provide consent, and the client does not 

7 have a legal representative, the social worker: 

8 (1) must, except as provided in clause (2), secure a legal 

9 representative for a client before providing services; or 

10 (2) may, notwithstanding clause (1), provide services, 

11 except_ when prohibited by other applicable law, that are 

12 necessary to ensure the client's safety or to preserve the 

13 client's property or financial resources. 

14 (c) A social worker must use clear and understandable 

15 language, including using an interpreter proficient in the 

16 client's primary language as necessary, to inform clients of the 

17 plan of services, risks related to the plan, limits to services, 

18 relevant costs, terms of payment, reasonable alternatives, the 

19 client's right to refuse or withdraw consent, and the time frame 

20 covered by the consent. 

21 Subd. 2. [MANDATORY REPORTING AND DISCLOSURE OF CLIENT 

22 INFORMATION.] At the beginning of a professional relationship 

23 and during the professional relationship as necessary and 

24 appropriate, a social worker must inform the client of those 

25 circumstances under which the social worker may be required to 

26 disclose client information specified in subdivision 3, 

27 paragraph (a), without the client's consent. 

28 Subd. 3. [CONFIDENTIALITY OF CLIENT INFORMATION.] (a) A 

29 social worker must ensure the confidentiality of all client 

30 information obtained in the course of the social worker/client 

31 relationship and all client information otherwise obtained by 

32 the social worker that is relevant to the social worker/client 

33 relationship. Except as provided in this section, client 

34 information may be disclosed or released only with the client 1 s 

35 or the client's legal representative's valid informed consent, 

36 appropriate to the circumstances, except when otherwise required 
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1 by law. A social worker must seek consent to disclose or 

2 release client information only when such disclosure or release 

3 is necessary to provide social work services. 

4 (b) A social worker must continue to maintain 

5 confidentiality of the client information specified in paragraph 

6 (a) upon termination of the professional relationship including 

7 upon the death of the client, except as provided under this 

8 section or other applicable law. 

9 (c) A social worker must limit access to the client 

10 information specified in paragraph (a) in a social worker's 

11 agency to appropriate agency staff whose duties require access. 

12 Subd. 4. [RELEASE OF CLIENT INFORMATION WITH WRITTEN 

13 INFORMED CONSENT.] (a) Except as provided in subdivision 5, 

14 client information specified in subdivision 3, paragraph (a), 

15 may be released only with the client's or the client's legal 

16 representative's written informed consent. The written informed 

17 consent must: 

18 (1) explain to whom the client's records may be released; 

19 (2) explain the purpose for the release; and 

20 (3) state an expiration date for the authorized release of 

21 the records. 

22 (b) A social worker may_ provide client information 

23 specified in subdivision 3, paragraph (a), to a third party for 

24 the purpose of payment for services rendered only with the 

25 client's written informed consent. 

26 (c) Except as provided in subdivision 5, a social worker 

27 may disclose client information specified in subdivision 3, 

28 paragraph (a), only with the client's or the client's legal 

29 representative's written informed consent. When it is not 

30 practical to obtain written informed consent before providing 

31 necessary services, a social worker may disclose or release 

32 client information with the client's or the client's legal 

33 representative's oral informed consent. 

34 (d) Unless otherwise authorized by law, a social worker 

35 must obtain a client's written informed consent before taking a 

36 photograph of the client or making an audio or video recording 
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1 of the client, or allowing a third party to do the same. The 

2 written informed consent must explain: 

3 (1) the purpose of the photograph or the recording and how 

4 the photograph or recording will be used, how it will be stored, 

5 and when it will be destroyed; and 

6 (2) how the client may have access to the photograph or 

7 recording. 

8 Subd. 5. [RELEASE OF CLIENT INFORMATION WITHOUT WRITTEN 

9 INFORMED CONSENT.] (a) A social worker may disclose client 

10 information specified in subdivision 3, paragraph (a), without 

11 the written consent of the client or the client's legal 

12 representative only under the following circumstances or under 

13 the circumstances described in paragraph (b): 

14 (1) when ~andated or authorized by federal or state law, 

15 including the mandatory reporting requirements under the duty to 

16 warn, maltreatment of minors, and vulnerable adult laws 

17 specified in section 148D.240, subdivisions 6 to 8; 

18 (2) when the board issues a subpoena to the social worker; 

19 or 

20 (3) when a court of competent jurisdiction orders release 

21 of the client records or information. 

22 (b) When providing services authorized or required by law 

23 to a client who does not have the capacity to provide consent 

24 and who does not have a legal representative, a social worker 

25 must disclose or release client records or information as 

26 necessary to provide services to ensure the client's safety or 

27 to preserve the client's property or financial resources. 

28 Subd. 6. [RELEASE OF CLIENT RECORDS OR INFORMATION.] When 

29 releasing client records or information under this section, a 

30 social worker must release current, accurate, and complete 

31 records or information. 

32 

33 

Sec. 52. [148D.235] [FEES AND BILLING PRACTICES.] 

Subdivision 1. [FEES AND PAYMENTS.] (a) A social worker 

34 must ensure that a client or a client's legal representative is 

35 informed of all fees at the initial session or meeting with the 

36 client, and that payment for services is arranged with the 
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1 client or the client's legal representative at the beginning of 

2 the professional relationship. Upon request from a client or a 

3 client's legal representative, a social worker must provide in a 

4 timely manner a written payment plan or a written explanation of 

5 the charges for any services rendered. 

6 (b) When providing services authorized or required by law 

7 to a client who does not have the capacity to provide consent 

8 and who does not have a legal representative, a social worker 

9 may submit reasonable bills to an appropriate payer for services 

10 provided. 

11 Subd. 2. [BILLING FOR SERVICES NOT PROVIDED.] A social 

12 worker must not bill for services that have not been provided 

13 except that, with prior notice to the client, a social worker 

14 may bill for failed appointments or for cancellations without 

15 sufficient notice. A social worker may bill only for provided 

16 services which are necessary and appropriate. Financial 

17 responsibility for failed appointment billings resides solely 

18 with the client and such costs may not be billed to public or 

19 private payers. 

20 Subd. 3. [NO PAYMENT FOR REFERRALS.] A social worker must 

21 not accept or give a commission, rebate, or other form of 

22 remuneration solely or primarily to profit from the referral of 

23 a client. 

24 Subd. 4. [FEES AND BILLING PRACTICES.] A social worker 

25 must not engage in improper or fraudulent billing practices, 

26 including, but not limited to, violations of the federal 

27 Medicare and Medicaid laws or state medical assistance laws. 

28 

29 

Sec. 53.· [148D.240] [REPORTING REQUIREMENTS.] 

Subdivision 1. [FAILURE TO SELF-REPORT ADVERSE 

30 ACTIONS.] The board has grounds to take action under sections 

31 148D.255 to 148D.270 when a social worker fails to report to the 

32 board within 90 days: 

33 (1) having been disciplined, sanctioned, or found to have 

34 violated a state, territorial, provincial, or foreign licensing 

35 agency's laws or rules; 

36 (2) having been convicted of committing a felony, gross 
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1 misdemeanor, or misdemeanor reasonably related to the practice 

2 of social work; 

3 (3) having had a finding or verdict of guilt, whether or 

4 not the adjudication of guilt is withheld or not entered, of 

5 committing a felony, gross misdemeanor, or misdemeanor 

6 reasonably related to the practice of social work; 

7 (4) having admitted to committing, or entering a no contest 

8 plea to committing, a felony, gross misdemeanor, or misdemeanor 

9 reasonably related to the practice of social work; or 

10 (5) having been denied licensure by a state, territorial, 

11 provincial, or foreign licensing agency. 

12 Subd. 2. [FAILURE TO SUBMIT APPLICATION INFORMATION.] The 

13 board has grounds to take action under sections 148D.255 to 

14 148D.270 when an applicant or licensee fails to submit with an 

15 application the following information: 

16 (1) the dates and dispositions of any malpractice 

17 settlements or awards made relating to the social work services 

18 provided by the applicant or licensee; or 

19 (2) the dates and dispositions of any civil litigations or 

20 arbitrations relating to the social work services provided by 

21 the applicant or licensee. 

22 Subd. 3. [REPORTING OTHER LICENSED HEALTH 

23 PROFESSIONALS.] An applicant or licensee must report to the 

24 appropriate health-related licensing board conduct by a licensed 

25 health professional which would constitute grounds for 

26 disciplinary action under the statutes and rules enforced by 

27 that board. 

28 Subd. 4. [REPORTING UNLICENSED PRACTICE.] An applicant or 

29 licensee must report to the board conduct by an unlicensed 

30 person which constitutes the practice of social work, as defined 

31 in section 148D.010, except when the unlicensed person is exempt 

32 from licensure pursuant to section 148D.065. 

33 Subd. 5. [FAILURE TO REPORT OTHER APPLICANTS OR LICENSEES 

34 AND UNLICENSED PRACTICE.] The board has grounds to take action 

JS under sections 148D.255 to 148.270 when an applicant or licensee 

36 fails to report to the board conduct: 
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1 (1) by another licensee or applicant which the applicant or 

2 licensee has reason to believe may reasonably constitute grounds 

3 for disciplinary action under this section; or 

4 (2) by an unlicensed person that constitutes the practice 

5 of social work when a license is required to practice social 

6 work. 

7 Subd. 6. [DUTY TO WARN.] A licensee must comply with the 

8 duty to warn established by section 148.975. 

9 Subd. 7. [REPORTING MALTREATMENT OF MINORS.] An applicant 

10 or licensee must comply with the reporting of maltreatment of 

11 minors established by section 626.556. 

12 Subd. 8. [REPORTING MALTREATMENT OF VULNERABLE ADULTS.] An 

13 applicant or licensee must comply with the reporting of 

14 maltreatment of Vu.lnerable adults established by section 626.557. 

15 Subd. 9. [SUBPOENAS.] The board may issue subpoenas 

16 pursuant to section 148D.245 and chapter 214 for the production 

17 of any reports required by this section or any rel~ted documents. 

18 Sec. 54. [148D.245] [INVESTIGATIVE POWERS AND PROCEDURES.] 

19 Subdivision 1. [SUBPOENAS.] (a) The board may issue 

20 subpoenas and compel the attendance of witnesses and the 

21 production of all necessary papers, books, records, documents, 

22 and other evidentiary material as part of its investigation of 

23 an applicant or licensee under this section or chapter 214. 

24 (b) If any person fails or refuses to appear or testify 

25 regarding any matter about which the person may be lawfully 

26 questioned, or fails or refuses to produce any papers, books,. 

27 records, documents, or other evidentiary materials in the matter 

28 to be heard, after having been required by order of the board or 

29 by a subpoena of the board to do so, the board may institute a 

30 proceeding in any district court to enforce the board's order or 

31 subpoena. 

32 (c) The board or a designated member of the board acting on 

33 behalf of the board may issue subpoenas or administer oaths to 

34 witnesses or take affirmations. Depositions may be taken within 

35 or out of the state in the manner provided by law for the taking 

36 of depositions in civil actions. 
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1 (d) A subpoena or other process or paper may be served upon 

2 any person named therein, by mail or by any officer authorized 

3 to serve subpoenas or other process or paper in civil actions, 

4 with the same fees and mileage and in the same manner as 

5 prescribed by law for service of process issued out of the 

6 district court of this state. 

7 (e) Fees, mileage, and other costs must be paid as the 

8 board directs. 

9 Subd. 2. [CLASSIFICATION OF DATA.] (a) Any records 

10 obtained as part of an investigation must be treated as 

11 investigative data under section 13.41 and be classified as 

12 confidential data. 

13 (b) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), client records must be 

l4 treated as private data under chapter 13. Client records must 

15 be protected as private data in the records of the board and in 

16 administrative or judicial proceedings unless the client 

17 authorizes the board in writing to make public the· identity of 

18 the client or a portion or all of the client's records. 

19 Subd. 3. [MENTAL OR PHYSICAL EXAMINATION; CHEMICAL 

20 DEPENDENCY EVALUATION.] (a) If the board has (1) probable cause 

21 to believe that an applicant or licensee has violated a statute 

22 or rule enforced by the board, or an order issued by the board 

23 and (2) the board believes the applicant may have a 

~4 health-related condition relevant to the violation, the board 

25 may issue an order directing the applicant or licensee to submit 

26 to one or more of the following: a mental examination, a 

27 physical examination, or a chemical dependency evaluation. 

28 (b) An examination or evaluation order issued by the board 

29 must include: 

30 (1) factual specifications on which the order is based; 

31 (2) the purpose of the examination or evaluation; 

32 (3) the name of the person or entity that will conduct the 

33 examination or evaluation; and 

34 (4) the means by which the examination or evaluation will 

S be paid for. 

36 (c) Every applicant or licensee must submit to a mental 
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1 examination, a physical examination, or a chemical dependency 

2 evaluation when ordered to do so in writing by the board. 

3 (d) By submitting to a mental examination, a physical 

4 examination, or a chemical dependency evaluation, an applicant 

5 or licensee waives all objections to the admissibility of the 

6 examiner or evaluator's testimony or reports on the grounds that 

7 the testimony or reports constitute a privileged communication. 

8 Subd. 4. [FAILURE TO SUBMIT TO AN EXAMINATION.] (a) If an 

9 applicant or licensee fails to submit to an examination or 

10 evaluation ordered by the board pursuant to subdivision 3, 

11 unless the failure was due to circumstances beyond the control 

12 of the applicant or licensee, the failure is an admission that 

13 the applicant or licensee violated a statute or rule enforced by 

14 the board as specified in the examination or evaluation order 

15 issued by the board. The failure may result in an application 

16 being denied or other adversarial, corrective, or disciplinary 

17 action being taken by the board without a contested case hearing. 

18 (b) If an applicant or licensee reguests a contested case 

19 hearing after the board denies an application or takes other 

20 disciplinary or adversarial action, the only issues which may be 

21 determined at the hearing are: 

22 (1) whether the board had probable cause to issue the 

23 examination or evaluation order; and 

24 (2) whether the failure to submit to the examination or 

25 evaluation was due to circumstances beyond the control of the 

26 applicant or licensee. 

27 (c) Neither the record of a proceeding under this 

28 subdivision nor an order issued by the board may be admissible, 

29 subject to subpoena, or be used against the applicant or 

30 licensee in a proceeding in which the board is not a party or 

31 decision maker. 

32 (d) Information obtained under this.subdivision must be 

33 treated as private data under chapter 13. An order issued by 

34 the board as the result of an applicant's or licensee's failure 

35 to submit to an examination or evaluation must be treated as 

36 public data under chapter 13. 
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1 Subd. 5. [ACCESS TO DATA AND RECORDS.] (a) In addition to 

2 ordering a physical or mental examination or chemical dependency 

3 evaluation, and notwithstanding section 13.384, 144.651, 595.02, 

4 or any other statute limiting access to health records, the 

5 board or a designated member· of the board acting on behalf of 

6 the board may subpoena physical, mental, and chemical dependency 

7 health records relating to an applicant or licensee without the 

8 applicant's or licensee's consent if: 

9 (1) the board has probable cause to believe that the 

10 applicant or licensee has violated chapter 214, a statute or 

11 rule enforced by the board, or an order issued by the board; and 

12 (2) the board has reason to believe that the records are 

13 relevant and necessary to the investigation. 

14 (b) An applicant, licensee, insurance company, government 

15 agency, health care facility, or provider as defined in section 

16 144.335, subdivision 1, paragraph (b), must comply with any 

17 subpoena of the board under this subdivision and is not liable 

18 in any action for damages for releasing information subpoenaed 

19 by the board under this subdivision unless the information 

20 provided is false· and the person or entity providing the 

21 information knew or had reason to know that the information was 

22 false. 

23 (c) Information on individuals obtained under this 

24 subdivision must be treated as investigative data under section 

25 13.41 and be classified as confidential data. 

26 (d) If an applicant, licensee, person, or entity does not 

27 comply with any subpoena of the board under this subdivision, 

28 the board may institute a proceeding in any district court to 

29 enforce the board's subpoena. 

30 Subd. 6. [EVIDENCE OF PAST SEXUAL CONDUCT.] If, in a 

31 proceeding for taking action against an applicant or licensee 

32 under this section, the charges involve sexual contact with a 

33 client or former client, the board or administrative law judge 

34 must not consider evidence of the client's or former client's 

35 previous sexual conduct. Reference to the client's or former 

36 client's previous sexual conduct must not be made during the 

Article 1 Section 54 79 



[SENATEE ] SS1204CE1 

1 proceedings or in the findings, except by motion of the 

2 complainant 1 unless the evidence would be admissible under the 

3 applicable provisions of section 609.347, subdivision 3. 

4 Subd. 7. [INVESTIGATIONS INVOLVING VULNERABLE ADULTS OR 

5 CHILDREN IN NEED OF PROTECTION.] (a) Except as provided in 

6 paragraph (b), if the board receives a complaint about a social 

7 worker regarding the social worker's involvement in a case of 

8 vulnerable adults or children in need of protection, the county 

9 or other appropriate public authority may request that the board 

10 suspend its investigation, and the board must comply until such 

11 time as the court issues its findings on the case. 

12 (b) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), the board may continue 

13 with an investigation if the board determines that doing so is 

14 in the best interests of the vulnerable adult or child and is 

15 consistent with the board's obligation to protect the public. 

16 If the board chooses to continue an investigation, the board 

17 must notify the county or other appropriate public authority in 

18 writing and state its reasons for doing so. 

19 Subd. 8. [NOTIFICATION OF COMPLAINANT.] (a) In no more 

20 than 14 calendar days after receiving a complaint regarding a 

21 licensee, the board must notify the complainant that the board 

22 has received the complaint. 

23 (b) The board must periodically notify the complainant of 

24 the status of the complaint. 

25 Subd. 9. [NOTIFICATION OF LICENSEE.] (a) Except as 

26 provided in paragraph (b), in no more than 60 calendar days 

27 after receiving a complaint regarding a licensee, the board must 

28 notify the licensee that the board has received the complaint 

29 and inform the licensee of: 

30 (1) the substance of the complaint; 

31 (2) the sections of the law that allegedly have been 

32 violated; and 

33 (3) whether an investigation is being conducted. 

34 (b) Paragraph (a) does not apply if: 

35 (1) the board determines that such notice would compromise 

36 the board's investigation pursuant to section 214.10; or 
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1 (2) the board determines that such notice cannot reasonably 

2 be accomplished within this time. 

3 (c) The board must periodically notify the licensee of the 

4 status of the complaint. 

5 Subd. 10. [RESOLUTION OF COMPLAINTS.] In no more than one 

6 year after receiving a complaint regarding a licensee, the board 

7 must resolve or dismiss the complaint unless, the board 

8 determines that resolving or dismissing the complaint cannot 

9 reasonably be accomplished within this time. 

10 Sec. 55. [1480.250] [OBLIGATION TO COOPERATE.] 

11 Subdivision 1. [OBLIGATION TO COOPERATE.] An applicant or 

12 licensee who is the subject of an investigation, or who is 

13 questioned by or on behalf of the board in connection with an 

14 investigation, must cooperate fully with the investigation. 

15 Cooperation includes, but is not limited to: 

16 (1) responding fully and promptly to any question relating 

17 to the investigation; 

18 (2) as reasonably requested by the board, providing copies 

19 of client and other records in the applicant's or licensee's 

20 possession relating to the investigation; 

21 (3) executing release of records as reasonably requested by 

22 the board; and 

23 (4) appearing at conferences, hearings, or meetings 

24 scheduled by the board, as required in sections 1480.255 to 

25 1480.270 and chapter 214. 

26 Subd. 2. [INVESTIGATION.] A social worker must not 

27 knowingly withhold relevant information, give false or 

28 misleading information, or do anything to obstruct an 

29 investigation of the social worker or another social worker by 

30 the board or by another state or federal regulatory or law 

31 enforcement authority. 

32 Subd. 3. [PAYMENT FOR COPIES.] The board must pay for 

33 copies requested by the board. 

34 Subd. 4. [ACCESS TO CLIENT RECORDS.] Notwithstanding any 

35 law to the contrary, an applicant or licensee must allow the 

36 board access to any records of a client provided services by the 
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1 applicant or licensee under investigation. If the client has 

2 not signed a consent permitting access to the client's records, 

3 the applicant or licensee must delete any data in the records 

4 that identifies the client before providing the records to the 

5 board. 

6 Subd. 5. [CLASSIFICATION OF DATA.] Any records obtained 

7 pursuant to this subdivision must be treated as investigative 

8 data pursuant to section 13.41 and be classified as confidential 

9 data. 

10 
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Sec. 56. [148D.255] [TYPES OF ACTIONS.] 

Subdivision 1. [ACTIONS.] The board may take disciplinary 

action pursuant to section 148D.260, adversarial but 

nondisciplinary action pursuant to section 148D.265, or 

voluntary action pursuant to section 148D.270. Any action taken 

under sections 148D.260 to 148D.270 is public data. 

Subd. 2. [DISCIPLINARY ACTION.] For purposes of section 

148D.260, "disciplinary action" means an action taken by. the 

board against an applicant or licensee that addresses a 

complaint alleging a violation of a statute or rule the board is 

empowered to enforce. 

Subd. 3. [ADVERSARIAL BUT NONDISCIPLINARY ACTION.] For 

purposes of section 148D.265, "adversarial but nondisciplinary 

action" means a nondisciplinary action taken by the board that 

addresses a complaint alleging a violation of a statute or rule 

the board is empowered to enforce. 

Subd. 4. [VOLUNTARY ACTION.] For purposes of section 

1480.270, "voluntary action" means a nondisciplinary action 

agreed to by the board or a designated board member and an 

applicant or licensee that, through educational or other 

corrective means, addresses a complaint alleging a violation of 

a statute or rule that the board is empowered to enforce. 

Sec. 57. [148D.260] [DISCIPLINARY ACTIONS.] 

Subdivision 1. [GENERAL DISCIPLINARY ACTIONS.] (a) When 

34 the board has grounds for disciplinary actions under this 

35 chapter, the board may take one or more of the following 

36 disciplinary actions: 
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1 (1) deny an application; 

2 (2) permanently revoke a license to practice social work; 

3 (3) indefinitely or temporarily suspend a license to 

4 practice social work; 

5 

6 

(4) impose restrictions on· a licensee's scope of practice; 

(5) impose conditions required for the licensee to maintain 

7 licensure, including, but not limited to, additional education, 

8 supervision, and requiring the passing of an examination 

9 provided for in section 148D.055; 

10 (6) reprimand a licensee; 

11 (7) impose a civil penalty of up to $10,000 for each 

12 violation in order to discourage future violations or to deprive 

13 the licensee of any economic advantage gained by reason of the 

~4 violation; or 

15 (8) impose a fee to reimburse the board for all or part of 

16 the cost of the proceedings resulting in disciplinary action, 

17 including, but not limited to, the amount paid by the board for 

18 services received from or expenses incurred by the Office of 

19 Administrative Hearings, the Office of the Attorney General, 

20 court reporters, witnesses, board members, board staff, or the 

21 amount paid by the board for reproducing records. 

22 (b) Disciplinary action taken by the board under this 

23 subdivision is in effect pending determination of an appeal 

24 unless the court, upon petition and for good cause shown, 

25 decides otherwise. 

26 Subd. 2. [REPRIMANDS.] (a) In addition to the board's 

27 authority to issue a reprimand pursuant to subdivision 1, a 

28 designated board member reviewing a complaint as provided for in 

29 chapter 214 may issue a reprimand to a licensee. The designated 

30 board member must notify the licensee that the reprimand will 

31 become final disciplinary action unless the licensee requests a 

32 hearing by the board within 14 calendar days. 

33 (b) If the licensee requests a hearing within 14 calendar 

34 days, the board must schedule a hearing unless the designated 

5 board member withdraws the reprimand. 

36 (c) The hearing must be scheduled within 14 working days of 
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1 the time the licensee submits a request for the hearing. 

2 (d) The designated board member who issued the reprimand 

3 may participate in the hearing but must not deliberate or vote 

4 on the decision by the board. 

5 (e) The only evidence permitted at the hearing is 

6 affidavits or other documents except for testimony by the 

7 licensee or other witnesses whose testimony the board.chair has 

8 authorized for good cause. 

9 (f) If testimony is authorized, the testimony is subject to 

10 cross-examination. 

11 (g) After the hearing, the board must affirm or dismiss the 

12 reprimand. 

13 Subd. 3. [TEMPORARY SUSPENSIONS.] (a) In addition to any 

14 other remedy provided by statute, the board or a designated 

15 board member may, without a hearing, temporarily suspend a 

16 license to practice social work if the board or the designated 

17 board member finds that: 

18 (1) the licensee has violated a statute or rule enforced by 

19 the board, any other federal or state law or rule related to the 

20 practice of social work, or an order, stipulation, or agreement 

21 agreed to or issued by the board; and 

22 (2) continued practice by the licensee would create a 

23 serious risk of harm to others. 

24 (b) The suspension is in effect upon service of a written 

25 order on the licensee specifying the statute, rule, order, 

26 stipulation, or agreement violated. Service of the order is 

27 effective if the order is served on the licensee or the 

28 licensee's attorney personally or by first class mail to the 

29 most recent address provided to the board for the licensee or 

30 the licensee's attorney. 

31 (c) The temporary suspension remains in effect until a.fter 

32 the board issues an order pursuant to paragraph (e), or if there 

33 is a contested case hearing, after the board issues a written 

34 final order pursuant to paragraph (g). 

35 (d) If the licensee requests in writing within five 

36 calendar days of service of the order that the board hold a 
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1 hearing, the board must hold a hearing on the sole issue of 

2 whether to continue, modify, or lift the suspension.. The board 

3 must hold the hearing within ten working days of receipt of_ the 

4 licensee's written request. Evidence presented by the board or 

5 licensee must be in affidavit form only, except that the 

6 licensee or the licensee's attorney may present oral argument. 

7 (e) Within five working days after the hearing, the board 

8 must issue its order. If the licensee contests the order, the 

9 board must schedule a contested case hearing under chapter 14. 

10 The contested case hearing must be scheduled to occur within 45 

11 calendar days after issuance of the order. 

12 (f) The administrative law judge must issue a report within 

13 30 calendar days after the contested case hearing is concluded. 

14 (g) The board must issue a final order within 30 calendar 

15 days after the board receives the administrative law judge's 

16 report. 

17 Sec.· 58. [148D.265] [ADVERSARIAL BUT NONDISCIPLINARY 

18 ACTIONS.] 

19 Subdivision 1. [AUTOMATIC SUSPENSIONS.] (a) A license to 

20 practice social work is automatically suspended if: 

21 (1) a guardian of a licensee is appointed by order of a 

22 court pursuant to sections 524.5-101 and 524.5.102; or 

23 (2) the licensee is committed by order of a court pursuant 

24 to chapter 253B. 

25 (b) A license remains suspended until: 

26 (1) the licensee is restored to capacity by a court; and 

27 (2) upon petition by the licensee and after a hearing or an 

28 agreement with the licensee, the board terminates the suspension. 

29 (c) If the board terminates the suspension, it may do so 

30 with or without conditions or restrictions, including, but not 

31 limited to, participation in the health professional services 

32 program . 

.33 Subd. 2. [CEASE AND DESIST ORDERS.] (a) The board or a 

34 designated board member may issue a cease and desist order to 

35 stop a person from engaging in unauthorized practice or from 

36 violating or threatening to violate a statute or rule enforced 
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1 by the board or ah order, stipulation, or agreement agreed to or 

2 issued by the board. 

3 (b) The cease and desist order must state the reason for 

4 its issuance and give notice of the person's right to request a 

5 hearing under sections 14.57 to 14.62. If the person fails to 

6 request a hearing in writing postmarked within 15 calendar days 

7 after service of the cease and desist order, the order is the 

8 final order of the board and is not reviewable by a court or 

9 agency. 

10 (c) If the board receives a written request for a hearing 

11 postmarked within 15 calendar days after service of the cease 

12 and desist order, the board must schedule a hearing within 30 

13 calendar days of receiving the request. 

14 (d) The administrative law judge must issue a report within 

15 30 calendar days after the contested case hearing is concluded. 

16 (e) Within 30 calendar days after the board receives the 

17 administrative law judge's report, the board must issue a final 

18 order modifying, vacating, or making permanent the cease and 

19 desist order. The final order remains in effect until modified 

20 or vacated by the board. 

21 (f) If a person does not comply with a cease and desist 

22 order, the board may institute a proceeding in any district 

23 court to obtain injunctive relief or other appropriate relief, 

24 including but not limited to, a civil penalty payable to the 

25 board of up to $10,000 for each violation. 

26 (g) A cease and desist order issued pursuant to this 

27 subdivision does not relieve a person from criminal prosecution 

28 by a competent authority or from disciplinary action by the 

29 board. 

30 Subd. 3. [INJUNCTIVE RELIEF.] (a) In addition to any other 

31 remedy provided by law, the board may bring an action in 

32 district court for injunctive relief to restrain any 

33 unauthorized practice or violation or threatened violation of 

34 any statute or rule, stipulation, or agreement agreed to or 

35 enforced by the board or an order issued by the board. 

36 (b) A temporary restraining order may be granted in the 
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1 proceeding if continued activity by a person would create an 

2 imminent risk of harm to others. 

3 (c) Injunctive relief granted pursuant to this subdivision 

4 does not relieve a person from criminal prosecution by a 

5 competent authority or from disciplinary action by the board. 

6 (d) In bringing an action for injunctive relief, the board 

7 need not show irreparable harm. 

Sec. 59. [1480.270] [VOLUNTARY ACTIONS.] 8 

9 Subdivision 1. [AGREEMENTS FOR CORRECTIVE ACTION.] (a) The 

10 board or a designated board member may enter into an agreement 

11 for corrective action with an applicant or licensee when the 

12 board or a designated board member determines that a complaint 

13 alleging a violation of a statute or rule enforced by the board 

14 or an order issued by the board may best be resolved through an 

15 agreement for corrective action when disciplinary action is not 

16 required to protect the public. 

17 

18 

19 

20 

21 

(b) An agreement for corrective action must: 

{1) be in writing; 

{2) specify the facts upon which the agreement is based; 

{3) clearly indicate the corrective action agreed upon; 

{4) provide that the complaint that resulted in the 

and 

22 agreement must be dismissed by the board or the designated board 

23 member upon successful completion of the corrective action. 

24 {c) The board or designated board member may determine 

25 successful completion when the applicant or licensee submits a 

26 request for dismissal that documents the applicant's or 

27 licensee's successful completion of the corrective action. The 

28 burden of proof is on the applicant or licensee to prove 

29 successful completion. 

30 {d) An agreement for corrective action is not disciplinary 

31 action but must be treated as public data under chapter 13. 

32 {e) The board may impose a fee to reimburse the board for 

33 all or part of the costs of the proceedings resulting in a 

34 corrective action, including, but not limited to, the amount 

JS paid by the board for services received from or expenses 

36 incurred by the Office of the Attorney General, board members, 
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board staff, or the amount paid by the board for reproducing 

records. 

(f) The board or designated board member must not enter 

into an agreement for corrective action when the complaint 

alleged sexual conduct with a client unless there is 

insufficient evidence to justify disciplinary action but there 

is a basis for corrective action. 

Subd. 2. [STIPULATIONS TO CEASE PRACTICING SOCIAL 

WORK.] (a) The board or a designated board member may enter into 

a stipulation to cease practicing social work with a licensee if 

the board or designated board member determines that the 

licensee is unable to practice social work competently or safely 

13 or that the social worker's continued practice creates an 

14 unacceptable risk of safety to clients, potential clients, or 

15 the public. 

16 (b) A stipulation to cease practicing social work must: 

17 (1) be in writing; 

18 (2) specify the facts upon which the stipulation is based; 

19 (3) clearly indicate that the licensee must not practice 

20 social work and must not hold out to the public that the social 

21 worker is licensed; and 

22 (4) specify the term of the stipulation or when and under 

23 what circumstances.the licensee may petition the board for 

24 termination of the stipulation. 

25 (c) A stipulation to cease practicing social work is not 

26 disciplinary action but must be treated as public data under 

27 chapter 13. 

28 (d) Nothing in this subdivision prevents the board or 

29 designated board member from taking any other disciplinary or 

30 adversarial action authorized by sections 1480.255 to 1480.265 

31 in lieu of or in addition to entering into a stipulation to 

32 cease practicing social work. 

33 Sec. 60. [1480.275] [UNAUTHORIZED PRACTICE.] 

34 No individual may: 

35 (1) engage in the practice of social work without a social 

36 work license under sections 1480.055 and 1480.060, except when 
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1 the individual is exempt from licensure pursuant to section 

2 1480.065; 

3 (2) provide social work services to a client who resides in 

4 this state when the individual providing the services is not 

5 licensed as a social worker pursuant to sections 1480.055 to 

6 1480.060, except when the individual is exempt from licensure 

7 pursuant to section 1480.065. 

8 Sec. 61. [1480.280] [USE OF TITLES.] 

9 No individual may be presented to the public by any title 

10 incorporating the words "social work" or "social worker" or in 

11 the titles in section 1480.195, unless that individual holds a 

12 license pursuant to sections 1480.055 and 1480.060, or practices 

13 in a setting exempt from licensure pursuant to section 1480.065. 

14 Sec. 62. [1480.285] [REPORTING REQUIREMENTS.] 

15 Subdivision 1. [INSTITUTIONS.] A state agency, political 

16 subdivision, agency of a local unit of government, private 

17 agency, hospital, ·clinic, prepaid medical plan, or ·other health 

18 care institution or organization must report to the board: 

19 (1) any adversarial action, disciplinary action, or other 

20 sanction for conduct that might constitute grounds for action 

21 under section 1480.190; 

22 (2) the resignation of any applicant or licensee prior to 

23 the conclusion of any proceeding for adversarial action, 

24 disciplinary action, or other sanction for conduct that might 

25 constitute grounds for action under section 1480.190; or 

26 (3) the resignation of any applicant or licensee prior to 

27 the commencement of a proceeding for adversarial action, 

28 disciplinary action, or other sanction for conduct that might 

29 constitute grounds for action under section 1480.190, but after 

30 the applicant or licensee had knowledge that a proceeding was 

31 contemplated or in preparation. 

32 Subd. 2. [PROFESSIONAL SOCIETIES AND ASSOCIATIONS.] ~ 

33 state or local professional society or association whose members 

34 consist primarily of licensed social workers must report to the 

J5 board any adversarial action, disciplinary action, or other· 

36 sanction taken against a member. 
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1 Subd. 3. [IMMUNITY.] An individual, professional society 

2 or association, state agency, political subdivision, agency of a 

3 local unit of government, private agency, hospital, clinic, 

4 prepaid medical plan, other health care institution or 

5 organization or other entity is immune from civil liability or 

6 criminal prosecution for submitting in good faith a report under 

7 subdivision 1 or 2 or for otherwise reporting, providing 

8 information, or testifying about violations or alleged 

9 violations of this chapter. 

10 Sec. 63. [148D.290] [PENALTIES.] 

11 An individual or other entity that violates section 

12 148D.275, 148D.280, or 148D.285 is guilty of a misdemeanor. 

13 Sec. 64. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 214.01, 

14 subdivision 2, is amended to read: 

15 Subd. 2. [HEALTH-RELATED LICENSING BOARD.] "Health-related 

16 licensing board" means the Board of Examiners of Nursing Home 

17 Administrators established pursuant to section 144A.19, the 

18 Office of Unlicensed Complementary and Alternative Health Care 

19 Practice established pursuant to section 146A.02, the Board of 

20 Medical Practice created pursuant to section 147.01, the Board 

21 of Nursing created pursuant to section 148.181, the Board of 

22 Chiropractic Examiners established pursuant to section 148.02, 

23 the Board of Optometry established pursuant to section 148.52, 

24 the Board of Physical Therapy established pursuant to section 

25 148.67, the Board of Psychology established pursuant to section 

26 148.90, the Board of Social Work pursuant to section ~4SB~~9 

27 148D.025, the Board of Marriage and Family Therapy pursuant to 

28 section 148B.30, the Office of Mental Health Practice 

29 established pursuant to section 148B.61, the Board of Behavioral 

30 Health and Therapy established by section 148B.51, the Alcohol 

31 and Drug Counselors Licensing Advisory Council established 

32 pursuant to section 148C.02, the Board of Dietetics and 

33 Nutrition Practice established under section 148.622, the Board 

34 of Dentistry established pursuant to section 150A.02, the Board 

35 of Pharmacy established pursuant to section 151.02, t~e Board of 

36 Podiatric Medicine established pursuant to section 153.02, and 
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1 the Board of Veterinary Medicine, established pursuant to 

2 section 156.01. 

3 Sec. 65. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 245.462, 

4 subdivision 18, is amended to read: 

5 Subd. 18. [MENTAL HEALTH PROFESSIONAL.] "Mental health 

6 professional" means a person providing clinical services in the 

7 treatment of mental illness who is qualified in at least one of 

8 the following ways: 

9 (1) in psychiatric nursing: a registered nurse who is 

10 licensed under sections 148.171 to 148.285; and: 

11 (i) who is certified as a clinical specialist or as a nurse 

12 practitioner in adult or family psychiatric and mental health 

13 nursing by a national nurse certification organization; or 

14 (ii) who has a master's degree in nursing or one of the 

15 behavioral sciences or related fields from an accredited college 

16 or university or its equivalent, with at least 4,000 hours of 

17 post-master's supervised experience in the delivery of clinical 

18 services in the treatment of mental illness; 

19 (2) in clinical social work: a person licensed as an 

20 independent clinical social worker under seee~en-i~aB~zi7 

21 StiBa~v~s~en-6 chapter 148D, or a person with a master's degree 

22 in social work _from an accredited college or university, with at 

23 least 4,000 hours of post-master's supervised experience in.the 

24 delivery of clinical services in the treatment of mental 

25 illness; 

26 (3) in psychology: an individual licensed by the Board of 

27 Psychology under sections 148.88 to 148.98 who has stated to the 

28 Board of Psychology· competencies in the diagnosis and treatment 

29 of mental illness; 

30 (4) in psychiatry: a physician licensed under chapter 147 

31 and certified by the American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology 

32 or eligible for board certification in psychiatry; 

33 (5) in marriage and family therapy: the mental health 

34 professional must be a marriage and family therapist licensed 

)5 under sections 148B.29 to 148B.39 with at least two years of 

36 post-master's supervised experience in the delivery of clinical 
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1 services in the treatment of mental illness; or 

2 (6) in allied fields: a person with a master's degree from 

3 an accredited college or university in one of the behavioral 

4 sciences or related fields, with at least 4,000 hours of 

5 post-master's supervised experience in the delivery of clinical 

6 services in the treatment of mental illness. 

7 Sec. 66. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 245.4871, 

8 subdivision 27, is amended to read: 

9 Subd. 27. [MENTAL HEALTH PROFESSIONAL.] "Mental health 

10 professional" means ~ person providing clinical services in the 

11 diagnosis and treatment of children's emotional disorders. A 

12 mental health professional must have training and experience in 

13 working with children consistent with the age group to which the 

14 mental health professional is assigned. A mental health 

15 professional must be qualified in at least one of the following 

16 ways: 

17 (1) in psychiatric nursing, the mental health·professional 

18 must be a registered nurse who is licensed under sections 

19 148.171 to 148.285 and who is certified as a clinical specialist 

20 in child and adolescent psychiatric or mental health nursing by 

21 a national nurse certification organization or who has a 

22 master's degree in nursing or one of the behavioral sciences or 

23 related fields from an accredited college or university or its 

24 equivalent, with at least 4,000 hours of post-master's 

25 supervised experience in the delivery of clinical services in 

26 the treatment of mental illness; 

27 (2) in clinical social work, the mental health professional 

28 must be a person licensed as an independent clinical social 

29 worker under see~~eH-%48BTr%7-sttea~v~s~en-6 chapter 148D, or a 

30 person with a master's degree in social work from an accredited 

31 college or university, with at least 4,000 hours of 

32 ·post-master's supervised experience in the delivery of clinical 

33 services in the treatment of mental disorders; 

34 (3) in psychology, the mental health professional must be 

35 an individual licensed by the board of psychology under sections 

36 148.88 to 148.98 who has stated to the board of psychology 
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competencies in the diagnosis and treatment of mental disorders; 

(4) in psychiatry, the mental health professional must be a 

physician licensed under chapter 147 and certified by the 

American board of psychiatry and neurology or eligible for board 

certification in psychiatry; 

(5) in marriage and family therapy, the mental health 

professional must be a marriage and family therapist licensed 

under sections 148B.29 to 148B.39 with at least two years of 

post-master's supervised experience in the delivery of clinical 

services in the treatment of mental disorders or emotional 

disturbances; or 

(6) in allied fields, the mental health professional must 

be a person with a master's degree from an accredited college or 

university in one of the behavioral sciences or related fields, 

with at least 4,000 hours· of post-master's supervised experience 

in the delivery of clinical services in the treatment of 

emotional disturbances. 

Sec. 67. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 256B.0625, 

subdivision 38, is amended to read: 

Subd. 38. [PAYMENTS FOR MENTAL HEALTH SERVICES.] Payments 

for mental health services covered under the medical assistance 

program that are provided by masters-prepared mental health 

professionals shall be 80 percent of the rate paid to 

doctoral-prepared professionals. Payments for mental health 

services covered under the medical assistance program that are 

provided by masters-prepared mental health professionals 

employed by community mental health centers shall be 100 percent 

28 of the rate paid to doctoral-prepared professionals. For 

29 purposes of reimbursement of mental health professionals under 

30 the medical assistance program, all social workers who: 

31 (1) have received a master's degree in social work from a 

32 program accredited by the Council on Social Work Education; 

33 (2) are licensed at the level of graduate social worker or 

34 independent social worker; and 

5 (3) are practicing clinical social work under appropriate 

36 supervision, as defined by see~~efi-~4SB.~S chapter 1480; meet 
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1 all requirements under Minnesota Rules, part 9505.0323, subpart 

2 24, and shall be paid accordingly. 

3 

4 
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Sec. 68. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 256J.08, 

subdivision 73a, is amended to read: 

Subd. 73a. [QUALIFIED PROFESSIONAL.] (a) For physical 

illness, injury, or incapacity, a "qualified professional" means 

a licensed physician, a physician's assistant, a nurse 

practitioner, or a licensed chiropractor. 

(b) For mental retardation and intelligence testing, a 

"qualified professional" means an individual qualified by 

training and experience to administer the tests necessary to 

make determinations, such as tests of intellectual functioning, 

assessments of adaptive behavior, adaptive skills, and 

developmental functioning. These professionals include licensed 

psychologists, certified school psychologists, or certified 

psychometrists working under the supervision of a licensed 

psychologist. 

(c) For learning disabilities, a "qualified professional" 

means a licensed psychologist or school psychologist with 

experience determining learning disabilities. 

21 (d) For mental health, a "qualified professional" means a 

22 licensed physician or a qualified mental health professional. A 

23 "qualified mental health professional" means: 

24 (1) for children, in psychiatric nursing, a registered 

25 nurse who is licensed under sections 148.171 to 148.285, and who 

26 is certified as a clinical specialist in child and adolescent 

27 psychiatric or mental health nursing by a national nurse 

28 certification organization or who has a master's degree in 

29 nursing or one of the behavioral sciences or related fields from 

30 an accredited college or university or its equivalent, with at 

31 least 4,000 hours of post-master's supervised experience in the 

32 delivery of clinical services in the treatment of mental 

33 illness; 

34 (2) for adults, in psychiatric nursing, a registered nurse 

35 who is licensed under sections 148.171 to 148.285, and who is 

36 certified as a clinical specialist in adult psychiatric and 
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1 mental health nursing by a national nurse certification 

2 organization or who has a master's degree in nursing or one of 

3 the behavioral sciences or related fields from an accredited 

4 college or university or its equivalent, with at least 4,000 

5 hotirs of post-master's supervised experience in the delivery of 

6 clinical services in the treatment of mental illness; 

7 (3) in clinical social work, a person licensed as an 

8 independent clinical social worker under see~~en-~4SB~z~7 

9 stted~v~s~en-6 chapter 1480, or a person with a master's degree 

10 in social work from an accredited college or university, with at 

11 least 4,000 hours of post-master's supervised experience in the 

12 delivery of clinical services in the treatment of mental 

13 illness; 

14 (4) in psychology, an individual licensed by the Board of 

15 Psychology under sections 148.88 to 148.98, who has stated to 

16 the Board of Psychology competencies in the diagnosis and 

17 treatment of mental illness; 

18 (5) in psychiatry, a physician licensed under chapter 147 

19 and certified by the American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology 

20 or eligible for board certification in psychiatry; and 

21 (6) in marriage and family therapy, the mental health 

22 professional must be a marriage and family therapist licensed 

23 under sections 148B.29 to 148B.39, with at least two years of 

24 post-master's supervised experience in the delivery of clinical 

25 services in the treatment of mental illness. 

26 

27 

28 

Sec. 69. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 319B.02, 

subdivision 19, is amended to read: 

Subd. 19. [PROFESSIONAL SERVICES.] "Professional services" 

29 means services of the type required or permitted to be furnished 

30 by a professional under a license, registration, or certificate 

31 issued by the state of Minnesota to practice medicine and 

32 surgery under sections 147.01 to 147.22, as a physician 

33 assistant pursuant to sections 147A.Ol to 147A.27, chiropractic 

34 under sections 148.01 to 148.105, registered nursing under 

J5 sections 148.171 to 148.285, optometry under sections 148.52 to 

36 148.62, psychology under sections 148.88 to 148.98, social work 
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1 under see~~efts-%4SBT%0-~e-%40BTz09 chapter 1480, dentistry and 

2 dental hygiene under sections 150A.Ol to 150A.12, pharmacy under 

3 sections 151.01 to 151.40, pediatric medicine under sections 

4 153.~1 to 153.25, veterinary medicine under sections 156.001 to 

5 156.14, architecture, engineering, surveying, landscape 

6 architecture, geoscience, and certified interior design under 

7 sections 326~02 to 326.15, accountancy under chapter 326A, or 

8 law under sections 481.01 to 481.17, or under a license or 

9 certificate issued by another state under similar laws. 

10 Professional services includes services of the type required to 

11 be furnished by a professional pursuant to a license or other 

12 authority to practice law under the laws of a foreign nation. 

13 Sec. 70. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 319B.40, is 

14 amended to read: 

15 319B.40 [PROFESSIONAL HEALTH SERVICES.] 

16 (a) Individuals who.furnish professional services pursuant 

17 to a license, registration, or certificate issued by the state 

18 of Minnesota to practice medicine pursuant to sections 147.01 to 

19 147.22, as a physician assistant pursuant to sections 147A.Ol to 

20 147A.27, chiropractic pursuant to sections 148.01 to 148.106, 

21 registered nursing pursuant to sections 148.171 to 148.285, 

22 optometry pursuant to sections 148.52 to 148.62, psychology 

23 pursuant to sections 148.88 to 148.98, social work pursuant to 

24 see~~efts-%4SBT%S-~e-%40BTz09 chapter 1480, dentistry pursuant to 

25 sections 150A.Ol to 150A.12, pharmacy pursuant to sections 

26 151.01 to 151.40, or pediatric medicine pursuant to sections 

27 153.01 to 153.26 are specifically authorized to practice any of 

28 these categories of services in combination if the individuals 

29 are organized under this chapter. 

30 (b) This authorization does not authorize an individual to 

31 practice any profession, or furnish a professional service, for 

32 which the individual is not licensed, registered, or certified, 

33 but otherwise applies regardless of any contrary provision of a 

34 licensing statute or rules adopted pursuant to that statute, 

. 35 related to practicing and organizing in combination with other 

36 health services professionals. 
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Subd. 2. [REPEAL OF RULES.] Minnesota Rules, parts 

8740.0100; 8740.0110; 8740.0120; 8740.0122; 8740.0130; 

8740.0155; 8740.0185; 8740.0187; 8740.0200; 8740.0240; 

8740.0260; 8740.0285; 8740.0300; 8740.0310; 8740.0315; 

8740~0320; 8740.0325; 8740.0330; 8740.0335; 8740.0340; and 

8740.0345, are re12ealed. 
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1 defined in subdivision 3, who performs tasks as provided under 

2 Minnesota Rules, part 5601.1400. 

3 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 148.65, is 

4 amended by adding a subdivision to read: 

5 Subd. 5. [STUDENT PHYSICAL THERAPIST.] "Student physical 

6 therapist" means a person in a professional educational program, 

7 approved by the board under section 148.705, who is satisfyin~ 

8 supervised clinical education requirements by performing 

9 physical therapy under the on-site supervision of a licensed 

10 physical therapist. "On-site supervision" means the physical 

11 therapist is easily available for instruction to the student 

12 physical therapist. The physical therapist shall have direct 

13 contact with the patient during at least every second treatment 

14 session by the student physical therapist. Telecommunications, 

15 except within the facility, does not meet the requirement of 

16 on-site supervision. 

17 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 148.65, is 

18 amended by adding a subdivision to read: 

19 Subd. 6. [STUDENT PHYSICAL THERAPIST ASSISTANT.] "Student 

20 physical therapist assistant" means a person in a physical 

21 therapist assistant educational program accredited by the 

22 Commission on Accreditation in Physical Therapy Education 

23 (CAPTE) or a recognized comparable national accrediting agency 

24 approved by the board. The student physical therapist 

25 assistant, under the direct supervision of the physical 

26 therapist, or the direct supervision of the physical therapist 

27 and physical therapist assistant, performs physical therapy 

28 interventions and assists with coordination, communication, 

29 documentation, and patient-client-related instruction. "Direct 

30 supervision" means the physical therapist is physically present 

31 and immediately available to provide instruction to the student 

32 physical therapist assistant. 

33 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 148.65, is 

34 amended by adding a subdivision to read: 

35 Subd. 7. [SUPPORTIVE PERSONNEL.] "Supportive personnel" 

36 means a physical therapist assistant and a physical therapy aide. 
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1 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 148.706, is 

2 amended to read: 

3 148.706 [SUPERVISION OF ASSISTANTS ANBL AIDES, AND 

4 STUDENTS.] 

5 Every physical therapist who uses the services of afi a 

6 physical therapist assistant or physical therapy aide for the 

7 purpose of assisting in the practice of physical therapy is 

8 responsible for functions performed by the assistant or aide 

9 while engaged in such assistance. The physical therapist shall 

10 perm~~-~he-ass~s~an~-er-a~de-~e-per£erm-efi%y-~hese-£ttfie~~efis 

11 wh~eh-~he-~herap~s~-~s-att~herf ~ed-~y-rtt%e-~e-ae%e~a~e-~e-a 

12 phys~ea%-~herapfs~-assf s~afi~-er-assf~fi-~e-a-phys~ea%-~herapy 

13 a~ae-afia-sha%%-prev~ae-sttperv~s~en-as-spee~£~ea delegate duties 

14 to the physical therapist assistant and assign tasks to the 

15 physical therapy aide in accordance with Minnesota Rules, part 

16 5601.1400. Physical therapists who instruct student physical 

17 therapists and student physical therapist assistants are 

18 responsible for the functions performed by the students and 

19 shall supervise the students as provided under section 148.65, 

20 subdivisions 5 and 6. 

21 Sec. 7. [148.735] [CANCELLATION OF LICENSE IN GOOD 

22 STANDING.] 

23 Subdivision 1. [BOARD APPROVAL; REPORTING.] A physical 

24 therapist holding an active license to practice physical therapy 

25 in the state may, upon approval of the board, be granted license 

26 cancellation if the board is not investigating the person as a 

27 result of a complaint or information received or if the board 

28 has not begun disciplinary proceedings against the person. Such 

29 action by the board shall be reported as a cancellation of a 

30 license in good standing. 

31 Subd. 2. [FEES NONREFUNDABLE.] A physical therapist who 

32 receives board approval for license cancellation is not entitled 

33 to a refund of any license fees paid for the licensure year in 

34 which cancellation of the license occurred. 

35 Subd. 3. [NEW LICENSE AFTER CANCELLATION.] If a physical 

36 therapist who has been granted board approval for license 
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1 cancellation desires to resume the practice of physical therapy 

2 in Minnesota, that physical therapist must obtain a new license 

3 by applying for licensure and fulfilling the requirements then 

4 in existence for obtaining an initial license to practice 

5 physical therapy in Minnesota. 

6 Sec. 8. [148.736] [CANCELLATION OF CREDENTIALS UNDER 

7 DISCIPLINARY ORDER.] 

8 Subdivision 1. [BOARD APPROVAL; REPORTING.] A physical 

9 therapist, whose right to practice is under suspension, 

10 condition, limitation, qualification, or restriction by the 

11 board may be granted cancellation of credentials by approval of 

12 the board. Such action by the board shall be reported as 

13 cancellation while under discipline. Credentials, for purposes 

14 of this section, means board authorized documentation of the 

15 privilege to practice physical therapy. 

16 Subd. 2. [FEES NONREFUNDABLE.] A physical therapist who 

17 receives board approval for credential cancellation is not 

18 entitled to a refund of any fees paid for the credentialing year 

19 in which cancellation of the credential occurred. 

20 Subd. 3. [NEW CREDENTIAL AFTER CANCELLATION.] If a 

21 physical therapist who has been granted board approval for 

22 credential cancellation desires to resume the practice of 

23 physical therapy in Minnesota, that physical therapist must 

24 obtain a new credential by applying to the board and fulfilling 

25 the requirements then in existence for obtaining an initial 

26 credential to practice physical therapy in Minnesota. 

27 Sec. 9. [148.737] [CANCELLATION OF LICENSE FOR 

28 NONRENEWAL.] 

29 The Board of Physical Therapy shall not renew, reissue, 

30 reinstate, or restore a license that has lapsed on or after 

31 January 1, 2006, and has not been renewed within two annual 

32 license renewal cycles starting January 1, 2008. A licensee 

33 whose license is canceled·for nonrenewal must obtain a new 

34 license by applying for licensure and fulfilling all 

35 requirements then in existence for an initial license to 

36 practice physical therapy in Minnesota. 
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1 Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 148.75, is 

2 amended to read: 

3 148.75 [LICENSES; DENIAL, SUSPENSION, REVOCATION.] 

4 (a) The state Board of Physical Therapy ~ay refuse to grant 

5 a license to any physical therapist, or may suspend or revoke 

6 the license of any physical therapist for any of the following 

7 grounds: 

8 (1) using drugs or intoxicating liquors to an extent which 

9 affects professional competence; 

10 (2) conviction of a felony; 

11 (3) conviction for violating any state or federal narcotic 

12 law; 

13 (4) obtaining a license or attempting to obtain a license 

14 by fraud or deception; 

15 (5) conduct unbecoming a person ·licensed as a physical 

16 therapist or conduct detrimental to the best interests of the 

17 public; 

18 (6) gross negligence in the practice of physical therapy as 

19 a physical therapist; 

20 (7) treating human ailments by physical therapy after an 

21 initial 30-day period of patient admittance to treatment has 

22 lapsed, except by the order or referral of a person licensed in 

23 this state in the practice of medicine as defined in section 

24 147.081, the practice of chiropractic as defined in section 

25 148.01, the practice of podiatry as defined in section 153.01, 

26 or the practice of dentistry as defined in section 150A.05 and 

27 whose license is in good standing; or when a previous diagnosis 

28 exists indicating an ongoing condition warranting physical 

29 therapy treatment, subject to periodic review defined by board 

30 of physical therapy rule; 

31 (8) treating human ailments, without referral, by physical 

32 therapy treatment without first having practiced one year under 

33 a physician's orders as verified by the board's records; 

34 (9) failing to consult with the patient's health care 

35 provider who prescribed the physical therapy treatment if the 

36 treatment is altered by the physical therapist from the original 
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1 written order. The provision does not include written orders to 

2 "evaluate and treat"; 

3 (10) treating human ailments other than by physical therapy 

4 unless duly licensed or registered to do so under the laws of 

5 this state; 

6 (11) inappropriate delegation to a physical therapist 

7 assistant or inappropriate task assignment to an aide or 

8 inadequate supervision of e~~he~-~eve~-e£-sa~~e~~~ve-~e~senne~ a 

9 student physical therapist, physical therapist assistant, 

10 student physical therapist assistant, or a physical therapy 

11 aide; 

12 (12) practicing as a physical therapist performing medical 

13 diagnosis, the practice of medicine as defined in section 

14 147.081, or the practice of chiropractic as defined in section 

15 148.01; 

16 (13) failing to comply with a reasonable request to obtain 

17 appropriate clearance for mental or physical conditions that 

18 would interfere with the ability to practice physical therapy,. 

19 and that may be potentially harmful to patients; 

20 (14) dividing fees with, or paying or promising to pay a 

21 commission or part of the fee to, any person who contacts the 

22 physical therapist for consultation or sends patients to the 

23 physical therapist for treatment; 

24 (15) engaging in an incentive payment arrangement, other 

25 than that prohibited by clause (14), that tends to promote 

26 physical therapy overuse, that allows the referring person or 

27 person who controls the availability of physical therapy 

28 services to a client to profit unreasonably as a result of 

29 patient treatment; 

30 (16) practicing physical therapy and failing to refer to a 

31 licensed health care professional a patient whose medical 

32 condition at the time of evaluation has been determined by the 

33 physical therapist to be beyond the scope of practice of a 

34 physical therapist; and 

35 (17) failing to report to the board other licensed physical 

36 therapists who violate this section; and 
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1 (18) practice of physical therapy under lapsed or 

2 nonrenewed credentials. 

3 (b) A license to practice as a physical therapist is 

4 suspended if (1) a guardian of the physical therapist is 

5 appointed by order of a court pursuant to sections 524.5-101 to 

6 524.5-502, for reasons other than the minority of the physical 

7 therapist; or (2) the physical therapist is committed by order 

8 of a court pursuant to chapter 253B. The license remains 

9 suspended until the physical therapist is restored to capacity 

10 by a court and, upon petition by the physical therapist, the 

11 suspension is terminated by the Board of Physical Therapy after 

12 a hearing. 

13 Sec. 11. [148.754] [EXAMINATION; ACCESS TO MEDICAL DATA.] 

14 (a) If the board has probable cause to believe that a 

15 physical therapist comes under section 148.75, paragraph (a), it 

16 may direct the physical therapist to submit to a mental or 

17 physical examination. For the purpose of this paragraph, every 

18 physical therapist is deemed to have consented to submit to a 

19 mental or physical examination when directed in writing by the 

20 board and further to have waived all objections to the 

21 admissibility of the examining physicians' testimony or 

22 examination reports on the ground that they constitute a 

23 privileged communication. Failure of the physical therapist to 

24 submit to an examination when directed constitutes an admission 

25 of the allegations against the person, unless the failure was 

26 due to circumstances beyond the person's control, in which case 

27 a default and final order may be entered without the taking of 

28 testimony or presentation of evidence. A physical therapist 

29 affected under this paragraph shall, at reasonable intervals, be 

30 given an opportunity to demonstrate that the person can resume 

31 the competent practice of physical therapy with reasonable skill 

32 and safety to the public. 

33 (b) In any proceeding under paragraph (a), neither the 

34 record of proceedings nor the orders entered by the board shall 

5 be used against a physical therapist in any other proceeding. 

36 (c) In addition to ordering a physical or mental 
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1 examination, the board may, notwithstanding section 13.384, 

2 144.651, or any other law limiting access to medical or other 

3 health data, obtain medical data and health records relating to 

4 a physical therapist or applicant without the person's or 

5 applicant's consent if the board has probable cause to believe 

6 that a physical therapist comes under paragraph (a). The 

7 medical data may be requested from a provider, as defined in 

8 section 144.335, subdivision 1, paragraph (b), an insurance 

9 company, or a government agency, including the Department of 

10 Human Services. A provider, insurance company, or government 

11 agency shall comply with any written request of the board under 

12 this paragraph and is not liable in any action for damages for 

13 releasing the data requested by the board if the data are 

14 released pursuant to a written request under this paragraph, 

15 unless the information is false and the provider giving the 

16 information knew, or had reason to believe, the information was 

17 false. Information obtained under this paragraph is classified 

18 as private under sections 13.01 to 13.87. 

19 Sec. 12. [148.755] [TEMPORARY SUSPENSION OF LICENSE.] 

20 In addition to any other remedy provided by law, the board 

21 may, without a hearing, temporarily susp~nd the license of a 

22 physical therapist if the board finds that the physical 

23 therapist has violated a statute or rule which the board is 

24 empowered to enforce and continued practice by the physical 

25 therapist would create a serious risk of harm to the public. 

26 The suspension shall take effect upon written notice to the 

27 physical therapist, specifying the statute or rule violated. 

28 The suspension shall remain in effect until the board issues a 

29 final order in the matter after a hearing. At the time it 

30 issues the suspension notice, the board shall schedule a 

31 disciplinary hearing to be held pursuant to· the Administrative 

32 Procedure Act, chapter 14. The physical therapist shall be 

33 provided with at least 20 days' notice of any hearing held 

34 pursuant to this section. The hearing shall be scheduled to 

35 begin no later than 30 days after the issuance of the suspension 

36 order. 
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Sec. 13. [REPEALER.] 1 

2 

3 

4 

5 

6 

Minnesota Rules, part 5601.0100, subparts 3 and 4, are 

repealed. 

ARTICLE 3 

BOARD OF PSYCHOLOGY 

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 148.89, 

7 subdivision 5, is amended to read:· 

8 Subd. 5. [PRACTICE OF PSYCHOLOGY.] "Practice of 

9 psychology" means the observation, description, evaluation, 

10 interpretation, or modification of human behavior by the 

11 application of psychological principles, methods, or 

12 procedures for any reason, including to prevent, eliminate, or 

13 manage symptomatic, maladaptive, or undesired behavior and to 

14 enhance interpersonal relationships, work, life and 

15 developmental adjustment, personal and organizational 

16 effectiveness, behavioral health, and mental health. The 

17 practice of psychology includes, but is not limited to, the 

18 following services, regardless of whether the provider receives 

19 payment for the services: 

20 (1) psychological research and teaching of psychology; 

21 (2) assessment, including psychological testing and other 

22 means of evaluating personal characteristics such as 

23 intelligence, personality, abilities, interests, aptitudes, and 

24 neuropsychological functioning; 

25 (3) a psychological report, whether written or oral, 

26 including testimony of a provider as an expert witness, 

27 concerning the characteristics of an individual or entity; 

28 (4) psychotherapy, including but not limited to, categories 

29 such as behavioral, cognitive, emotive, systems, 

30 psychophysiological, or insight-oriented therapies; counseling; 

31 hypnosis; and diagnosis and treatment of: 

32 (i) mental and emotional disorder or disability; 

33 (ii) alcohol and substance dependence or abuse; 

34 (iii) disorders of habit or conduct; 

JS (iv) the psychological aspects of physical illness or 

36 condition, accident, injury, or disability; 
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1 (v) life adjustment issues, including work-related and 

2 bereavement issues; and 

3 (vi) child, family, or relationship issues; 

4 (5) psychoeducational services and treatment; and 

5 (6) consultation and supervision. 

6 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 148.90, 

7 subdivision 1, is amended to read: 

8 Subdivision 1. [BOARD OF PSYCHOLOGY.] (a) The Board of 

9 Psychology is created with the powers and duties described in 

10 this section. The board has 11 members who consist of: 

11 (1) three ~ersefts individuals licensed as licensed 

12 psychologists who have a doctoral ae~ree degrees in psychology; 

13 (2) two ~ersefts individuals licensed as licensed 

14 psychologists who have a master's ae~ree degrees in psychology; 

15 (3) two psychologists, not necessarily licensed, one with a 

16 doctoral degree in psychology who represents a doctoral training 

17 program in psychology, and one who represents a master's degree 

18 training program in psychology; 

19 (4) one ~erseft individual licensed or qualified to be 

20 licensed as: (i) through December 31, 2010, a licensed 

21 psychological practitioner; and (ii) after December 31, 2010, a 

22 licensed psychologist; and 

23 (5) three public members. 

24 (b) After the date on which fewer than 30 percent of the 

25 ~ersefts individuals licensed by the board as licensed 

26 psychologists qualify for licensure under section 148.907, 

27 subdivision 3, paragraph (b), ~fie-£~rs~-vaeaftey vacancies filled 

28 under paragraph (a), clause (2), shall be filled by a-~erseft an 

29 individual with either a master's or doctoral degree in 

30 psychology licensed or qualified to be licensed as a 

31 licensed ~syefie±e~~ea±-~rae~~~~efter~--Frem-~fi~s-aa~e-eft7-~a~s 

32 ~es~~~eft-wfieft-vaeaft~-sfia±±-ee-£~±±ea-ey-a-~erseft-±~eeftsea-er 

33 ~~a±~£~ea-~e-ee-±~eeftsea-as-a-±~eeftsea-~syefie±e~~ea± 

34 ~rae~~~~efter psychologist. 

35 (c) After the date on which fewer than 15 percent of the 

36 ~ersefts individuals licensed by the board as licensed 
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1 psychologists qualify for licensure under section 148.907, 

2 subdivision 3, paragraph (b), ~fie-£~~s~-vaeaHey vacancies under 

3 paragraph (a), clause (2), £e~-a-~~eeHsea-~syefieie~~s~ shall be 

4 filled by an individual with either a master's or doctoral 

5 degree in psychology sfiai~-be-£~i~ea-by-a licensed or gualif ied 

6 to be licensed as a licensed psychologist. P~em-~fi~s-aa~e-eH7 

7 ~fi~s-~es~~~eH-wfieH-vaeaH~-sfiaii-be-£~~iea-by-a-~e~seH-i~eeHsea 

8 as-a-i~eeHsea·-~syefieie~~s~. 

9 Sec. 3. Minnesota statutes 2004, section 148.907, is 

10 amended by adding a subdivision to read: 

11 Subd. 5. [CONVERTING FROM A LICENSED PSYCHOLOGICAL 

12 PRACTITIONER TO A LICENSED PSYCHOLOGIST.] Notwithstanding 

13 .subdivision 3, to convert from licensure as a licensed 

14 psychological practitioner to licensure as a licensed 

15 psychologist, a licensed psychological practitioner shall have: 

16 (1) completed an application provided by the board for 

17 conversion from licensure as a licensed psychological 

18 practitioner to licensure as a licensed psychologist; 

19 (2) paid a nonrefundable fee of $500; 

20 (3) documented successful completion of two full years, or 

21 the equivalent, of supervised postlicensure employment meeting 

22 the requirements of section 148.925, subdivision 5, as it 

23 relates to preparation for licensure as a licensed psychologist 

24 as follows: 

25 (i) for individuals licensed as licensed psychological 

26 practitioners on or before December 31, 2006, the supervised 

27 practice must be completed by December 31, 2010; and 

28 (ii) for individuals licensed as licensed psychological 

29 practitioners after December 31, 2006, the supervised practice 

30 must be completed within four years from the date of licensure; 

31 and 

32 (4) no unresolved disciplinary action or complaints 

33 pending, or incomplete disciplinary orders or corrective action 

34 agreements in Minnesota or·any other jurisdiction. 

35. Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 148.908, 

36 subdivision 2, is amended to read: 
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1 Subd. 2. [REQUIREMENTS FOR LICENSURE AS A LICENSED 

2 PSYCHOLOGICAL PRACTITIONER.] To become licensed by the board as 

3 a licensed psychological practitioner, an applicant shall comply 

4 with the following requirements: 

5 (1) ~ass-an-examina~ien-in-~syehe±e~Yt 

6 t~t-~ass-a-~refessiena±-res~ensiei±i~y-examina~ien-en-~he 

7 ~rae~iee-ef-~syehe±e~Yt 

8 t3t-~ass-any-e~her-examina~~ens-as-re~ttirea-ey-eeara-rtt±est 

9 t4t-~ay-nenrefttnaae±e-£ees-~e-~he-eeara-£er-a~~±iea~iens7 

10 ~reeess~n~,-~es~ift~7-renewa±s7-ana-ma~eria±st 

11 tst-have-a~~ainea-~he-a~e-e£-ma;eri~y7-ee-e£-~eea-mera± 

12 eaarae~er7-ana-have-ne-ttnrese±vea-aisei~±inary-ae~ien-er 

13 eem~±ain~s-~ena~n~-in-~he-s~a~e-ef-Minnese~a-er-any-e~her 

14 ;ttrisaie~ient-ana 

15 tGt have earned a doctoral or master's degree or the 

16 equivalent of a master's degree in a doctoral program with a 

17 major in psychology from a regionally accredited educational 

18 institution meeting the standards the board has established by 

19 rule. The degree requirements must be completed by December 31, 

20 2005; 

21 (2) complete an application for admission to the 

22 examination for professional practice in psychology and pay the 

23 nonrefundable application fee by December 31, 2005; 

24 (3) complete an application for admission to the 

25 professional responsibility examination and pay the 

26 nonrefundable application fee by D·ecember 31, 2005; 

27 (4) pass the examination for professional practice in 

28 psychology by December 31, 2006; 

29 (5) pass the professional responsibility examination by 

30 December 31, 2006; 

31 (6) complete an application for licensure as a licensed 

32 psychological practitioner and pay the nonrefundable application 

33 fee by March 1, 2007; and 

34 (7) have attained the age of majority, be of good moral 

35 character, and have no unresolved disciplinary action or 

36 complaints pending in the state of Minnesota or any other 
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1 jurisdiction. 

2 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 148.908, is 

3 amended by adding a subdivision to read: 

4 Subd. 3. [TERMINATION OF LICENSURE.] Effective December 

5 31, 2011, the licensure of all licensed psychological 

6 practitioners shall be terminated without further notice and 

7 licensure as a licensed psychological practitioner in Minnesota 

8 shall be eliminated. 

9 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 148.909, is 

10 amended to read: 

11 148.909 [LICENSURE FOR VOLUNTEER PRACTICE.] 

12 The board, at its discretion, may grant licensure for 

13 volunteer practice to an applicant who: 

14 (1) ~s-a-£ermer-i~ee~see-wfie is completely retired from the 

15 practice of psychology; 

16 (2) has no unresolved disciplinary action or complaints 

17 pending in the state of Minnesota or any other jurisdiction; and 

18 (3) has held a license, certificate, or registration to 

19 practice psychology in any jurisdiction £er-a~-ieas~-~5-years. 

20 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 148.916, 

21 subdivision 2, is amended to read: 

22 Subd. 2. [PSYCHOLOGICAL CONSULTATIONS.] Notwithstanding 
) 

23 subdivision 1, a nonresident of the state of Minnesota, who is 

~4 not seeking licensure in this state, may serve as an expert 

25 witness, organizational consultant, presenter, or educator 

26 without obtaining guest licensure, provided the person is 

27 appropriately trained, educated, or has been issued a license, 

28 certificate, or registration by another jurisdiction. 

29 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 148.925, 

30 subdivision 6, is amended to read: 

31 Subd. 6. [SUPERVISEE DUTIES.] Individuals preparing for 

32 licensure as a licensed psychologist during their postdegree 

33 supervised employment may perform as part of their training any 

34 functions specified in section 148.89, subdivision 5, but only 

J5 under qualified supervision. 

36 Sec. 9. Minnesota statutes 2004, section 148.941, 
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1 subdivision 2, is amended to read: 

2 Subd. 2. [GROUNDS FOR DISCIPLINARY ACTION; FORMS OF 

3 DISCIPLINARY ACTION.] (a) The board may impose disciplinary 

4 action as described in paragraph (b) against an applicant or 

5 licensee whom the board, by a preponderance of the evidence, 

6 determines: 

7 (1) has violated a statute, rule, or order that the board 

8 issued or is empowered to enforce; 

9 (2) has engaged in fraudulent, deceptive, or dishonest 

10 conduct, whether or not the conduct relates to the practice of 

11 psychology, that adversely affects the person's ability or 

12 fitness to practice psychology; 

13 (3) has engaged in unprofessional conduct or any other 

14 conduct which has the potential for causing harm to the public, 

15 including any departure from or failure to conform to the 

16 minimum standards of acceptable and prevailing practice without 

17 actual injury having to be established; 

18 (4) has been convicted of or has pled guilty or nolo 

19 contendere to a felony or other crime, an element of which is 

20 dishonesty or fraud, or has been shown to have engaged in acts 

21 or practices tending to show that the applicant or licensee is 

22 incompetent or has engaged in conduct reflecting adversely on 

23 the applicant's or licensee's ability or fitness to engage in 

24 the practice of psychology; 

25 (5) has employed fraud or deception in obtaining or 

26 renewing a license, in requesting approval of continuing 

27 education activities, or in passing an examination; 

28 (6) has had a license, certificate, charter, registration, 

29 privilege to take an examination, or other similar authority 

30 denied, revoked, suspended, canceled, limited, reprimanded, or 

31 otherwise disciplined, or not renewed for cause in any 

32 jurisdiction; or has surrendered or voluntarily terminated a 

33 license or certificate during a board investigation of a 

34 complaint, as part of a disciplinary order, or while under a 

35 disciplinary order; 

36 (7) has been subject to a corrective action or similar 
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1 action in another jurisdiction or by another regulatory 

2 authority; 

3 (8) has failed to meet any requirement for the issuance or 

4 renewal of the person's license. The burden of proof is on the 

5 applicant or licensee to demonstrate the qualifications or 

6 satisfy the requirements for a license under the Psychology 

7 Practice Act; 

8 (9) has failed to cooperate with an investigation of the 

9 board as required under subdivision 4; 

10 (10) has demonstrated an inability to practice psychology 

11 with reasonable skill and safety to clients due to any mental or 

12 physical illness or condition; or 

13 (11) has engaged in fee splitting. This clause does not 

14 apply to the distribution of revenues from a partnership, group 

15 practice, nonprofit corporation, or professional corporation to 

16 its partners, shareholders, members, or employees if the 

17 revenues consist only of fees for services performed by the 

18 licensee or under a licensee's administrative authority. This 

19 clause also does not apply to the charging of a general 

20 membership fee by a licensee or applicant to health care 

21 providers, as defined in section 144.335, for participation in a 

22 referral service, provided that the licensee or applicant 

23 discloses in advance to each referred client the financial 

24 nature of the referral arrangement. Fee splitting includes, but 

25 is not limited to: 

26 (i) paying, offering to pay, receiving, or agreeing to 

27 receive a commission, rebate, or remuneration, directly or 

28 indirectly, primarily for the referral of clients; 

29 (ii) dividing client fees with another individual or 

30 entity, unless the division is in proportion to the services 

31 provided and the responsibility assumed by each party; 

32 (iii) referring an individual or entity to any health care 

33 provider, as defined in ·section 144.335, or for other 

34 professional or technical services in which the referring 

35 licensee or applicant has a significant financial interest 

36 unless the licensee has disclosed the financial interest in 
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1 advance to the client; and 

2 (iv) dispensing for profit or recommending any instrument, 

3 test, procedure, or device that for commercial purposes the 

4 licensee or applicant has developed or distributed, unless the 

5 licensee or applicant has disclosed any profit interest in 

6 advance to the client. 

7· (b) If grounds for disciplinary action exist under 

8 paragraph (a), the board may take one or more of the following 

9 actions: 

10 

11 

(1) refuse to grant or renew a license; 

(2) revoke a license; 

12 (3) suspend a license; 

13 (4) impose limitations or conditions on a licensee's 

14 practice of psychology, including, but not limited to, limiting 

15 the scope of practice to designated competencies, imposing 

16 retraining or rehabilitation requirements, requiring the 

17 licensee to practice under supervision, or conditioning 

18 continued practice on the demonstration of knowledge or skill by 

19 appropriate examination or other review of skill and competence; 

20 (5) censure or reprimand the licensee; 

21 (6) refuse to permit an applicant to take the licensure 

22 examination or refuse to release an applicant's examination 

23 grade if the board finds that it is in the public interest; or 

24 (7) impose a civil penalty not exceeding $7,500 for each 

25 sepa~ate violation. The amount of the penalty shall be fixed so 

26 as to depriye the applicant or licensee of any economic 

27 advantage gained by reason of the violation charged, to 

28 discourage repeated violations, or to recover the board's costs 

29 that occur in bringing about a disciplinary order. For purposes 

30 of this clause, costs are limited to legal, paralegal, and 

31 investigative charges billed to the board by the Attorney 

32 General's Office, witness costs, consultant and expert witness 

33 fees, and charges attendant to the use of an administrative law 

34 judge. 

35 (c) In lieu of or in addition to paragraph (b), the board 

36 may require, as a condition of eeft~~ftttea licensure, termination 
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1 of suspension, reinstatement of license, examination, or release 

2 of examination grades, that the applicant or licensee: 

3 (1). submit to a quality review, as specified by the board, 

4 of the applicant's or licensee's ability, skills, or quality of 

5 work; 

6 (2) complete to the satisfaction of the board educational 

7 courses specified by the board; and 

8 (3) reimburse to the board all costs incurred by the board 

9 that are the result of a provider failing, neglecting, or 

10 refusing to fully comply, or not complying in a timely manner, 

11 with any part of the remedy section of a stipulation and consent 

12 order or the corrective action section of an agreement for 

13 corrective action. For purposes of this clause, costs are 

14 limited to legal, paralegal, and investigative charges billed to 

15 the board by the Attorney General's Office, witness costs, 

16 consultant and expert witness fees, and charges attendant to the 

17 use of an administrative law judge. 

18 (d) Service of the order is effective if the order is 

19 served on the applicant, licensee, or counsel of record 

20 personally or by mail to the most recent address provided to the 

21 board for the licensee, applicant, or counsel of record. The 

22 order shall state the reasons for the entry of the order. 

23 Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 148.96, 

24 subdivision 3, is amended to read: 

25 Subd. 3. [REQUIREMENTS FOR REPRESENTATIONS TO PUBLIC.] (a) 

26 Unless licensed under sections 148.88 to 148.98, except as 

27 provided in paragraphs (b) through (e), persons shall not 

28 represent themselves or permit themselves to be represented to 

29 the public by: 

30 (1) using any title or description of services 

31 incorporating the words "psychology," "psychological," 

32 "psychological practitioner," or "psychologist"; or 

33 (2) representing that the person has expert qualifications 

34 in an area of psychology. 

35 (b) Psychologically trained individuals who are employed by 

36 an educational institution recognized by a regional accrediting 

Article 3 Section 10 113 



[SENATEE ] SS1204CE1 

1 organization, by a federal, state, county, or local government 

2 institution, ey-a~efte~es agency, or ey research 

3 £ae~±~~~es facility, may represent themselves by the title 

4 designated by that organization provided that the title does not 

5 indicate that the individual is credentialed by the board. 

6 (c) A ·psychologically trained individual from an 

7 institution described in paragraph (b) may offer lecture 

8 services and is exempt from the provisions of this section. 

9 (d) A person who is preparing for the practice of 

10 psychology under supervision in accordance with board statutes 

11 and rules may be designated as a "psychological intern," 

12 "psychological trainee," or by other terms clearly describing 

13 the person's training status. 

14 (e) Former licensees who are completely retired from the 

15 practice of psychology may represent themselves using the 

16 descriptions in paragraph (a), clauses (1) and (2), but shall 

17 not represent themselves or allow themselves to be represented 

18 as current licensees of the board. 

19 (f) Nothing in this section shall be construed to prohibit 

20 the practice of school psychology by a person licensed in 

21 accordance with chapters 122A and 129. 

22 Section 11. [EFFECTIVE DATE.] 

23 Sections 1 to 10 are effective the day following final 

24 enactment. 

25 ARTICLE 4 

26 BOARD OF DENTAL PRACTICE 

27 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 150A.01, 

28 subdivision 6a, is amended to read: 

29 Subd. 6a. [FACULTY DENTIST.] "Faculty dentist" means a 

30 person who is licensed to practice dentistry as a faculty member 

31 of a school of dentistry, pursuant to section 150A.06, 

32 subdivision 1a. 

33 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 150A.06, 

34 subdivision 1a, is amended to read: 

35 Subd. 1a. (FACULTY DENTISTS.] (a) Faculty members of a 

36 school of dentistry must be licensed in order to practice 
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1 dentistry as defined in section 150A.05. The board may issue to 

2 members of the faculty of a school of dentistry a license 

3 designated as either a "limited faculty license" or a "full 

4 faculty license" entitling the holder to practice dentistry 

5 within the.terms described in paragraph (b) or (c). The dean of 

6 a school of dentistry and program directors of a Minnesota 

7 dental hygiene or dental assisting school accredited by the 

8 Commission on Dental Accreditation of the American Dental 

9 Association shall certify to the board those members of the 

10 school's faculty who practice dentistry but are not licensed to 

11 practice dentistry in Minnesota. A faculty member who practices 

12 dentistry as defined in section 150A.05, before beginning duties 

13 in a school of dentistry or a dental hygiene or dental assisting 

14 school, shall apply to the board for a limited or full faculty 

15 license. ~he-i~eense-ex~~Fes-~he-ne~-Jttiy-~-ana-may7-a~-~he 

16 a~seFe~~en-e£-~he-eeara7-ee-renewea-en-a-year~y-eas~s~ Pursuant 

17 to Minnesota Rules, chapter 3100, and at the discretion of the 

18 board, a limited faculty license must be renewed annually and a 

19 full faculty license must be renewed biennially. The faculty 

20 applicant shall pay a nonrefundable fee set by the board for 

21 issuing and renewing the faculty license. The faculty license 

22 is valid during the time the holder remains a member of the 

23 faculty of a school of dentistry or a dental hygiene or dental 

24 assisting school and subjects the holder.to this chapter. 

25 (b) The board may issue to dentist members of the faculty 

26 of a Minnesota school of dentistry, dental hygiene, or dental 

27 assisting accredited by the Commission on Dental Accreditation 

28 of the American Dental Association, a license designated as a 

29 limited faculty license entitling the holder to practice 

30 dentistry within the school and its affiliated teaching 

31 facilities, but only for the purposes of teaching or conducting 

32 research. The practice of dentistry at a school facility for 

33 purposes other than teaching or research is not allowed unless 

34 the dentist was a faculty member on August 1, 1993. 

JS (c) The board may issue to dentist members of the faculty 

36 of a Minnesota school of dentistry, dental hygiene, or dental 
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1 assisting accredited by the Commission on Dental Accreditation 

2 of the American Dental Association a license designated as a 

3 full faculty license entitling the holder to practice dentistry 

4 within the school and its affiliated teaching facilities and 

5 elsewhere if the holder of the license is employed 50 percent 

6 time or more by the school in the practice of teaching or 

7 research, and upon successful review by the board of the 

8 applicant's qualifications as described in subdivisions 1, 1c, 

9 and 4 and board rule. The board, at its discretion, may waive 

10 specific licensing prerequisites. 

11 Sec. 3. [150A.091] [FEES.] 

12 Subdivision 1. [FEE REFUNDS.] No fee may be refunded for 

13 any reason. 

14 Subd. ·2. [APPLICATION FEES.] Each applicant for licensure 

15 or registration shall submit with a license or registration 

16 application a nonrefundable fee in the following amounts in 

17 order to administratively process an application: 

18 (1) dentist, $140; 

19 (2) limited faculty dentist, $140; 

20 (3) resident dentist, $55; 

21 (4) dental hygienist, $55; 

22 (5) registered dental assistant, $35; and 

23 (6) dental assistant with a limited registration, $15. 

24 Subd. 3. [INITIAL LICENSE OR REGISTRATION FEES.] Along 

25 with the application fee, each of the following licensees or 

26 registrants shall submit a separate prorated initial license or 

27 registration fee. The prorated initial fee shall be established 

28 by the board based on the number of months of the licensee's or 

29 registrant's initial term as described in Minnesota Rules, part 

30 3100.1700, subpart 1a, not to exceed the following monthly fee 

31 amounts: 

32 (1) dentist~ $14 times the number of months of the initial 

33 term; 

34 (2) dental hygienist, $5 times the number of months of the 

35 initial term; 

36 (3) registered dental assistant, $3 times the number of 
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1 months of initial term; and 

2 (4) .dental assistant with a limited registration, $1 times 

3 the number of months of the initial term. 

4 Subd. 4. [ANNUAL LICENSE FEES.] Each limited faculty or 

5 resident dentist shall submit with an annual license renewal 

6 application a fee established by the board not to exceed the 

7 following amounts: 

8 (1) limited faculty dentist, $168; and 

9 (2) resident dentist, $59. 

10 Subd. 5. [BIENNIAL LICENSE OR REGISTRATION FEES.] Each of 

11 the following licensees or registrants shall submit with a 

12 biennial license or registration renewal application a fee as 

13 established by the board, not to exceed the following amounts: 

14 (1) dentist, $336; 

15 (2) dental hygienist, $118; 

16 (3) registered dental assistant, $80; and 

17 (4) dental assistant with a limited registration, $24. 

18 Subd. 6. [ANNUAL LICENSE LATE FEE.] Applications for 

19 renewal of any license received after the time specified in 

20 Minnesota Rules, part 3100.1750, must be assessed a late fee 

21 equal to 50 percent of the annual renewal fee. 

22 Subd. 7. [BIENNIAL LICENSE OR REGISTRATION LATE 

23 FEE.] Applications for renewal of any license or registration 

24 received after the time specified in Minnesota Rules, part 

25 3100.1700, must be assessed a late fee equal to 25 percent of 

26 the biennial renewal fee. 

27 Subd. 8. [DUPLICATE LICENSE OR REGISTRATION FEE.] Each 

28 licensee or registrant shall submit, with a request for issuance 

29 of a duplicate of the original license or registration, or of an 

30 annual or biennial renewal of it, a fee ·in the following amounts: 

31 (1) original dentist or dental hygiene license, $35; and 

32 (2) initial and renewal registration certificates and 

33 license renewal certificates, $10. 

34 Subd. 9. [LICENSURE AND REGISTRATION BY CREDENTIALS.] Each 

5 applicant for licensure as a dentist or dental hygienist or for 

36 registration as a registered dental assistant by credentials 
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1 pursuant to section 150A.06, subdivisions 4 and 8, and Minnesota 

2 Rules, part 3100.1400, shall submit with the license or 

3 registration application a fee in the following amounts: 

4 (1) dentist, $725; 

5 (2) dental hygienist, $175; and 

6 (3) registered dental assistant, $35. 

7 Subd. 10. [REINSTATEMENT FEE.] No dentist, dental 

8 hygienist, or registered dental assistant whose license or 

9 registration has been suspended or revoked may have the license 

10 or registration reinstated or a new license or registration 

11 issued until a fee has been submitted to the board in the 

12 following amounts: 

13 (1) dentist, $140; 

14 (2) dental hygienist, $55; and 

15 (3) registered dental assistant, $35. 

16 Subd. 11. [CERTIFICATE APPLICATION FEE FOR 

17 ANESTHESIA/SEDATION.] Each dentist shall submit with a general 

18 anesthesia or conscious sedation application a fee as 

19 established by the board not to exceed the following amounts: 

20 (1) for both a general anesthesia and conscious sedation 

21 application, $50; 

22 (2) for a general anesthesia application only, $50; and 
-

23 (3) for a conscious sedation application only, $50. 

24 Subd. 12. [DUPLICATE CERTIFICATE FEE FOR 

25 ANESTHESIA/SEDATION.] Each dentist shall submit with a request 

26 for issuance of a duplicate of the original general anesthesia 

27 or conscious sedation certificate a fee in the amount of $10. 

28 Subd. 13. [ON-SITE INSPECTION FEE.] An on-site inspection 

29 fee must be paid to the individual, organization, or agency 

30 conducting the inspection and be limited to a maximum fee as 

31 determined by the board. Travel, .lodging, and other expenses 

32 are not part of the on-site inspection fee. 

33 Subd. 14. [AFFIDAVIT OF LICENSURE.] Each licensee or 

34 registrant shall submit with a request for an affidavit of 

35 licensure a fee in the amount of $10. 

36 Subd. 15. [VERIFICATION OF LICENSURE.] Each institution or. 
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1 corporation shall submit with a request for verification of a 

2 license or registration a fee in the amount of $5 for each 

3 license or registration to be verified. 

4 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 150A.10, 

5 subdivision la, is amended to read: 

6 Subd. la. [LIMITED AUTHORIZATION FOR DENTAL HYGIENISTS.] 

7 (a) Notwithstanding subdivision 1, a dental hygienist licensed 

8 under this chapter may be employed or retained by a health care 

9 facility, program, or nonprofit organization to perform dental 

10 hygiene services described under paragraph (b) without the 

11 patient first being examined by a licensed dentist if the dental 

12 hygienist: 

13 (1) has been engaged in the active practice of clinical 

14 dental hygiene for not less than 2,400 hours in the past 18 

15 months or a career total of 3,000 hours, including a minimum of 

16 200 hours of clinical practice in two of the past three years; 

17 (2) has entered into a collaborative agreement with a 

18 licensed dentist that designates authorization for the services 

19 provided by the dental hygienist; 

20 (3) has documented participation in courses in infection 

21 control and medical emergencies within each continuing education 

22 cycle; and 

23 (4) maintains current certification in advanced or basic 

24 cardiac life support as recognized by the American Heart 

25 Association, the American Red Cross, or another agency that is 

26 equivalent to the American Heart Association or the American Red 

27 Cross. 

28 (b) The dental hygiene services authorized to be performed 

29 by a dental hygienist under this subdivision are limited to: 

30 (1) oral health promotion and disease prevention education; 

31 (2) removal of deposits and stains from the surfaces of the 

32 teeth; 

33 (3) application of topical preventive or prophylactic 

34 agents, including fluoride varnishes and pit and fissure 

35 sealants; 

36 (4) polishing and smoothing restorations; 
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1 (5) removal of marginal overhangs; 

2 (6) performance of preliminary charting; 

3 (7) taking of radiographs; and 

4 (8) performance of scaling and root planing. 

5 The dental hygienist sfta3:3:-ne~-~e~£e~m may administer 

6 injections of local anesthetic agents or ~fte-aam~n~s~ra~~en-e£ 

7 nitrous oxide ttn3:ess-ttnaer-~fte-~na:!:ree~-stt~erv:!:s~en 

8 e£ inhalation analgesia as specifically delegated in the 

9 collaborative agreement with a licensed dentist. The dentist 

10 need not first examine the patient or be present. If the 

11 patient is considered medically compromised, the collaborative 

12 dentist shall review the patient record, including the medical 

13 history, prior to the provision of these services. 

14 Collaborating dental hygienists may work with unregistered and 

15 registered dental assistants who may only perform .duties for 

16 which registration is not required. The performance of dental 

17 hygiene services in a health care facility, program, or 

18 nonprofit organization as authorized under this subdivision is 

19 limited to patients, students, and residents of the facility, 

20 program, or organization. 

21 (c) A collaborating dentist must be licensed under this 

22 chapter and may enter into a collaborative agreement with no 

23 more than four dental hygienists unless otherwise authorized by 

24 the board. The board shall develop parameters and a process for 

25 obtaining authorization to collaborate with more than four 

26 dental hygienists. The collaborative agreement must include: 

27 (1) consideration for·medically compromised patients and 

28 medical conditions for which a dental evaluation and treatment 

29 plan must occur prior to the provision of dental hygiene 

30 services; 

31 (2) age- and procedure-specific standard collaborative 

32 practice protocols, including recommended intervals for the 

33 performance of dental hygiene services and a period of time in 

34 which an examination by a dentist should occur; 

35 (3) copies of consent to treatment form provided to the 

36 patient by the dental hygienist; 
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1 (4) specific protocols for the placement of pit and fissure 

2 sealants and ~equireme~ts for follow-up care to assure the 

3 efficacy of the sealants after application; and 

4 (5) a procedure for creating and maintaining dental records 

5 for the patients that are treated by the dental hygienist. This 

6 procedure must specify where these records are to be located. 

7 The collaborative agreement must be signed and maintained by the 

8 dentist, the dental hygienist, and the facility, program, or 

9 organization; must be reviewed annually by the collaborating 

10 dentist and dental hygienist; and must be made available to the 

11 board upon request. 

12 (d) Before performing any services authorized under this 

13 subdivision, a dental hygienist must provide the patient with a 

14 consent to treatment form which must include a statement 

15 advising the patient that the dental hygiene services provided 

16 are not a substitute for a dental examination by a licensed 

17 dentist. If the dental hygienist makes any referrals to the 

18 patient for further dental procedures, the dental hygienist must 

19 fill out a referral form and provide a copy of the form to the 

20 collaborating dentist. 

21 (e) For the purposes of this subdivision, a "health care 

22 facility, program,. or nonprofit organization" is limited to a 

23 hospital; nursing home; home health agency; group home serving 

24 the elderly, disabled, or juveniles; state-operated facility 

25 licensed by the commissioner of human services or the 

26 commissioner of corrections; and federal, state, or local public 

27 health facility, community clinic, tribal clinic, school 

28 authority, Hea~ Start program, or nonprofit organization that 

29 serves individuals who are uninsured or who are Minnesota health 

30 care public program recipients. 

31 (f) For purposes of this subdivision, a "collaborative 

32 agreement" means a written agreement with a licensed dentist who 

33 authorizes and accepts responsibility for the services performed 

34 by the dental hygienist. The services authorized under this 

>5 subdivision and the collaborative agreement may be performed 

36 without the presence of a licensed dentist and may be performed 
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1 at a location other than the usual place of practice of the 

2 dentist or dental hygienist and without a dentist's diagnosis 

.3 and treatment plan, unless specified in the collaborative 

4 agreement. 

5 ARTICL.E 5 

6 BOARD OF BEHAVIORAL THERAPY AND HEALTH 

7 (LICENSED PROFESSIONAL COUNSELORS AND 

8 ALCOHOL AND DRUG COUNSELORS) 

9 section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 148B.53, 

10 subdivision 1, is amended to read: 

11 Subdivision 1. [GENERAL REQUIREMENTS.] (a) To be licensed 

12 as a licensed professional counselor (LPC), an applicant must 

13 provide evidence satisfactory to the board that the applicant: 

14 (1) is at least 18 years of age; 

15 (2) is of good moral character; 

16 (3) has completed a master's or doctoral degree program in 

17 counseling or a related field, as determined by the board based 

18 on the criteria in paragraph (b), that includes a minimum of 48 

19 semester hours or 72 quarter hours and a supervised field 

20 experience of not fewer than 700 hours that is counseling in 

21 nature; 

22 (4) has submitted to the board a plan for supervision 

23 during the first 2,000 hours of professional practice or has 

24 submitted proof of supervised professional practice that is 

25 acceptable to the board; and 

26 (5) has demonstrated competence in professional counseling 

27 by passing the National Counseling Exam (NCE) administered by 

28 the National Board for Certified Counselors, Inc. (NBCC) 

29 ~ne±~d~n~-ee~a~n~n~-a-~ass~n~-seere-en-~fte-examfna~~en-aeee~~ed 

30 ey-~fte-eeard-eased-en-~fte-de~erm~na~fens-made-ey-~fte-NBee or an 

31 equivalent national examination as determined by the board, and 

32 ethical, oralL and situational examinations if prescribed by the 

33 board. 

34 (b) The degree described in paragraph (a), clause (3), must 

35 be from a counseling program recognized by the Council for 

36 Accreditation of Counseling and Related Education Programs 
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1 (CACREP) or from an institution of higher education that is 

2 accredited by a regional accrediting organization recognized by 

3 the Council for Higher Education Accreditation (CHEA). Specific 

4 academic course content and training must mee~-s~aHaa~as 

5 es~ae~~sfiea-ey-~fie-eAeREP7-~fie~tta~fi~ include course work in each 

6 of the following subject areas: 

7 (1) the helping relationship, including counseling theory 

8 and practice; 

9 (2) human growth and development; 

10 (3) lifestyle and career development; 

11 

12 

13 

32 

(4) group dynamics, processes, counseling, and consulting; 

(5) assessment and appraisal; 

(6) social and cultural foundations, including 

33 Nonrefundable £ee fees are as follows:-

34 (1) initial license application fee for licensed 

JS professional counseling (LPC) - $250; 

36 (2) annual active license renewal fee for LPC - $-200 or 
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1 equivalent; 

2 (3) annual inactive .license renewal fee for LPC - $100; 

3 (4) license renewal late fee - $100 per month or portion 

4 thereof; 

5 (5) copy of board order or stipulation - $10; 

6 

7 $10; 

8 

9 

10 

11 

12 

(6) certificate of good standing or license verification -

(7) duplicate certificate fee - $10; 

(8) professional firm renewal fee - $25; 

(9) initial registration fee - $50; and 

(10) annual registration renewal fee - $250 

Sec. 3. [148B.531] [POSTDEGREE COMPLETION OF DEGREE 

13 REQUIREMENTS FOR LICENSURE.] 

14 An individual whose degree upon which licensure is to be 

15 based included less than 48 semester hours or 72 quarter hours, 

16 who did not complete 700 hours of supervised professional 

17 practice as part of the degree program, or who did not complete 

18 course work in all of the content areas required by section 

19 148B.53, subdivision 1, paragraph (b), may complete these 

20 requirements postdegree in order to obtain licensure, if: 

21 (1) all course work and field experiences are completed 

22 through an institution of nigher education that is accredited by 

23 a regional accrediting organization recognized by the council 

24 for Higher Education Accreditation (CHEA) or through a 

25 counseling program recognized by the Council for Accreditation 

26 of counseling and Related Education Programs (CACREP); 

27 (2) all course work and field experiences are taken and 

28 passed for credit; and 

29 (3) no more than 20 semester credits or 30 quarter credits 

30 are completed postdegree for purposes of licensure unless the 

31 credits are earned as part of an organized sequence of study. 

32 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 148B.54, 

33 subdivision 2, is amended to read: 

34 Subd. 2. [CONTINUING EDUCATION.] At the completion of the 

35 first ~we four years of licensure, a licensee must provide 

36 evidence satisfactory to the board of completion of 12 
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1 additional postgraduate semester credit hours or its equivalent 

2 in counseling as determined by the board, except that no 

3 licensee shall be required to show evidence of greater than 60 

4 semester hours or its equivalent. Thereafter, at the time of 

5 renewal, each licensee shall provide evidence satisfactory to 

6 the board that the licensee has completed during each two-year 

7 period at least the equivalent of 40 clock hours of professional 

8 postdegree continuing education in programs approved by the 

9 board and continues to be qualified to practice under sections 

10 148B.50 to 148B.593. 

11 Sec. 5. [148B.555] [EXPERIENCED COUNSELOR TRANSITION.] 

12 (a) An applicant for licensure who, prior to December 31, 

13 2003, completed a master's or doctoral degree program in 

14 counseling or a related field, as determined by the board, and 

15 whose degree was from a counseling program recognized by the 

16 Council for Accreditation of Counseling and Related Education 

17 Programs (CACREP) or from an institution of higher education 

18 that is accredited by a regional accrediting organization 

19 recognized by the Council for Higher Education Accreditation 

20 (CHEA), need not comply with the requirements of section 

21 148B.53, subdivision 1, paragraph (a), clause (3)! or (b), so 

22 long as the applicant can document five years of full-time 

23 postdegree work experience within the practice of professional 

24 counseling as defined under section 148B.50, subdivisions 4 and 

25 5. 

26 (b) This section expires July 1, 2007. 

27 Sec. 6. [148B.561] [RETALIATORY PROVISIONS.] 

28 If by the laws of any state or the rulings or decisions of 

29 the appropriate officers or boards thereof, any burden, 

30 obligation, requirement, disqualification, or disability is put 

31 upon licensed professional counselors licensed and in good 

32 standing in this state, affecting the right of these licensed 

33 professional counselors to be registered or licensed in that 

34 state, .then the same or like burden, obligation, requirement, 

35 disqualification, or disability may be put upon the licensure in 

36 this state of licensed professional counselors registered in 
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1 that state. 

2 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 148B.59, is 

3 amended to read: 

4 148B.59 [GROUNDS FOR DISCIPLINARY ACTION; FORMS OF 

5 DISCIPLINARY ACTION; RESTORATION OF LICENSE.] 

6 (a) The board may impose disciplinary action as described 

7 in paragraph (b) against an applicant or licensee whom the 

8 board, by a preponderance of the evidence, determines: 

9 (1) has violated a statute, rule, or order that the board 

10 issued or is empowered to enforce; 

11 (2) has engaged in fraudulent, deceptive, or dishonest 

12 conduct, whether or not the conduct relates to the practice of 

13 licensed professional counseling, that adversely affects the 

14 person's ability or fitness to practice professional counseling; 

15 (3) has engaged in unprofessional conduct or any other 

16 conduct which has the potential for causing harm to the public, 

17 including any departure from or failure to conform to the 

18 minimum standards of acceptable and prevailing practice without 

19 actual injury having to be established; 

20 (4) has been convicted of or has pled guilty or nolo 

21 contendere to a felony or other crime, an element of which is 

22 dishonesty or fraud, or has been shown to have engaged in acts 

23 or practices tending to show that the applicant or licensee is 

24 incompetent or has engaged in conduct reflecting adversely on 

25 the applicant's or licensee's ability or fitness to engage in 

26 the practice of professional counseling; 

27 (5) has employed fraud or deception in obtaining or 

28 renewing a license, or in passing an examination; 

29 (6) has had any counseling license, certificate, 

30 registration, privilege to take an examination, or other similar 

31 authority denied, revoked, suspended, canceled, limited, or not 

32 renewed for cause in any jurisdiction or has surrendered or 

33 voluntarily terminated a license or certificate during a board 

34 . investigation of a complaint, as part of a disciplinary order, 

35 or while under a disciplinary order; 

36 (7) has failed to meet any requirement for the issuance or 
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1 renewal of the person's license. The burden of proof is on the 

2 applicant or licensee to demonstrate the qualifications or 

3 satisfy the requirements for a license under the Licensed 

4 Professional Counseling Act; 

5 (8) has failed to cooperate with an investigation of the 

6 board; 

7 (9) has demonstrated an inability to practice professional 

8 counseling with reasonable skill and safety to clients due to 

9 any mental or physical illness or condition; 

10 (10) has engaged in fee splitting. This clause does not 

11 apply to the distribution of revenues from a partnership, group 

12 practice, nonprofit corporation, or professional corporation to 

13 its partners, shareholders, members, or employees if the 

14 revenues consist only of fees for services performed by the 

15 licensee or under a licensee's administrative authority. Fee 

16 splitting includes, but is not limited to: 

17 (i) dividing fees with another person or a professional 

18 corporation, unless the division is in proportion to the 

19 services provided and the responsibility assumed by each 

20 professional; ana 

21 (ii) referring a client to any health care provider as 

22 defined in section 144.335 in which the referring licensee has a 

23 significant financial interest, unless the licensee has 

24 disclosed in advance to the client the licensee's own financial 

25 interest; er and 

26 (iii) paying, offering to pay, receiving, or agreeing to 

27 receive a commission, rebate, or remuneration, directly or 

28 indirectly, primarily for the referral of clients; 

29 (11) has engaged in conduct with a ~a~~eft~ client that is 

30 sexual or may reasonably be interpreted by the ~a~~en~ client as 

31 sexual, or in any verbal behavior that is seductive or sexually 

32 demeaning to a pa~~eft~ client; 

33 (12) has been subject to a corrective action or similar 

34 action in another jurisdiction or by another regulatory 

35 authority; or 

36 (13) has been adjudicated as mentally incompetent, mentally 
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1 ill, or mentally retarded or as a chemically dependent person, a 

2 person dangerous to the public, a sexually dangerous person, or 

3 a person who has a sexual psychopathic personality by a court of 

4 competent jurisdiction within this state or an equivalent 

5 adjudication from another state. Adjudication automatically 

6 suspends a license for the duration thereof unless the board 

7 orders otherwise. 

8 (b) If grounds for disciplinary action exist under 

9 paragraph (a), the board may take one or more of the following 

10 actions: 

11 

12 

13 

(1) refuse to grant or renew a license; 

(2) revoke a license; 

(3) suspend a license; 

14 (4) impose limitations or conditions on a licensee's 

15 practice of professional counseling, including, but not limited 

16 to, limiting the scope of practice to designated competencies, 

17 imposing retraining or rehabilitation requirements·, requiring 

18 the licensee to practice under supervision, or conditioning 

19 continued practice on the demonstration of knowledge or skill by 

20 appropriate examination or other review of skill and competence; 

21 

22 

(5) censure or reprimand the licensee; 

(6) refuse to permit an applicant to take the licensure 

23 examination or refuse to release an applicant's examination 

24 grade if the board finds that it is in the public interest; or 

25 (7) impose a civil penalty not exceeding $10,000 for each 

26 separate violation, the amount of the civil penalty to be fixed 

27 so as to deprive the applicant or licensee of any economic 

28 advantage gained by reason of the violation charged, to 

29 discourage similar violations or to reimburse the board for the 

30 cost of the investigation and proceeding, including, but not 

31 limited to, fees paid for services provided by the Office of 

32 Administrative Hearings, legal and investigative services 

33 provided by the Office of the Attorney General, court reporters, 

34 witnesses, reproduction of records, board members' per diem 

35 compensation, board staff time, and travel costs and expenses 

36 incurred by board staff and board members. 
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1 (c). In lieu of or in addition to paragraph (b), the board 

2 may require, as a condition of continued licensure, termination 

3 of suspension, reinstatement of license, examination, or release 

4 of examination grades, that the applicant or licensee: 

5 (1) submit to a quality review, as specified by.the board, 

6 of the applicant's or licensee's ability, skills, or quality of 

7 work; and 

8 (2) complete to the satisfaction of the board educational 

9 courses specified by the board. 

10 The board may also refer a licensee, if appropriate, to the 

11 health professionals services program described in sections 

12 214.31 to 214.37. 

13 (d) Service of the order is effective if the order is 

14 served on the applicant, licensee, or counsel of record 

15 personally or by mail to the most recent address provided to the 

16 board for the licensee, applicant, or counsel of record. The 

17 order shall state the reasons for the entry of the order. 

18 Sec. 8. [148B.5901] [TEMPORARY SUSPENSION OF LICENSE.] 

19 (a) In addition to any other remedy provided by law, the 

20 board may issue an order to temporarily suspend the credentials 

21 of a licensee after conducting a preliminary inquiry to 

22 determine if the board reasonably believes that the licensee has 

23 violated a statute or rule that the board is empowered to 

24 enforce and whether continued practice by the licensee would 

25 create an imminent risk of harm to others. 

26 (b) The order may prohibit the licensee from engaging in 

27 the practice of licensed professional counseling in whole or in 

28 part and may condition the end of a suspension on the licensee's 

29 compliance with a statute, rule, or order that the board has 

30 issued or is empowered to enforce. 

31 (c) The order shall give notice of the right to a hearing 

32 according to this subdivision and shall state the reasons for 

33 the entry of the order. 

34 (d) Service of the order is effective when the order is 

35 served on the licensee personally or by certified mail, which is 

36 complete upon receipt, refusal, or return for nondelivery to the 
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1 most recent address provided to the board for the licensee. 

2 (e) At the time the board issues a temporary suspension 

3 order, the board shall schedule a hearing to be held before its· 

4 'own members. The hearing shall begin no later than 60 days 

5 after issuance of the temporary suspension order or within 15 

6 working days of the date of the board's receipt of a request for 

7 hearing by a licensee, on the sole issue of whether there is a 

8 reasonable basis to continue, modify, or lift the temporary 

9 suspension. The hearing is not subject to chapter 14. Evidence 

10 presented by the board or the licensee shall be in affidavit 

11 form only. The licensee or counsel. of record may appear for 

12 oral argument. 

13 (f) Within five working days of the hearing, the board 

14 shall issue its order and, if the suspension is continued, 

15 schedule a contested case hearing within 30 days of the issuance 

16 of the order. Notwithstanding chapter 14, the administrative 

17 law judge shall issue a report within 30 days after closing the 

18 contested case hearing record. The board shall issue a final 

19 order within 30 days of receipt of the administrative law 

20 judge's report. 

21 Sec. 9. [148B.5905] [MENTAL, PHYSICAL, OR CHEMICAL 

22 DEPENDENCY EXAMINATION OR EVALUATION; ACCESS TO MEDICAL DATA.] 

23 (a) If the board has probable cause to believe section 

24 148B.59, paragraph (a), clause (9), applies to a licensee or 

25 applicant, the board may direct the person to submit to a 

26 mental, physical, or chemical dependency examination or 

27 evaluation. For the purpose of this section, every licensee and 

28 applicant is deemed to have consented to submit to a mental, 

29 physical, or chemical dependency examination or evaluation when 

30 directed in writing by the board and to have waived all 

31 objections to the admissibility of the examining professionals' 

32 testimony or examination reports on the grounds that the 

33 testimony or examination reports constitute a privileged 

34 communication. Failure of a licensee or applicant to submit to 

35 an examination when directed by the board constitutes an 

36 admission of the.allegations against the person, unless the 
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1 failure was due to circumstances beyond the person's control, in 

2 which case a default and final order may be entered without the 

3 taking of testimony or presentation of evidence. A licensee or 

4 applicant affected under thi~ paragraph shall at reasonable 

5 intervals be given an opportunity to demonstrate that the person 

6 can resume the competent practice of licensed professional 

7 counseling with reasonable skill and safety to the public. In 

8 any proceeding under this paragraph, neither the record of 

9 proceedings nor the orders entered by the board shall be used 

10 against a licensee or applicant in any other proceeding. 

11 (b) In addition to ordering a physical or mental 

12 examination, the board may, notwithstanding section 13~384, 

13 144.651, or any other law limiting access to medical or other 

14 health data, obtain medical data and health records relating to 

15 a licensee or applicant without the licensee's or applicant's 

16 consent if the board has probable cause to believe that section 

17 148B.59, paragraph (a), clause (9), applies to the licensee or 

18 applicant. The medical data may be requested from a provider, 

19 as defined in section 144.335, subdivision 1, paragraph (b); an 

20 insurance company; or a government agency, including the 

21 Department of Human Services. A provider, insurance company, or 

22 government agency shall comply with any written request of the 

23 board under this subdivision and is not liable in any action for 

24 damages for releasing the data requested by the board if the 

25 data are released pursuant to a written request under this 

26 subdivision, unless the information is false and the provider 

27 giving the information knew, or had reason to believe, the 

28 information was false. Information obtained under this 

29 subdivision is classified as private under sections 13.01 to 

30 13.87. 

31 Sec. 10. [148B.5925] [ASSESSMENT TOOL SECURITY.] 

32 Notwithstanding section 144.335, subdivision 2, paragraphs 

33 (a) and {b), a provider shall not be required to provide copies 

34 of assessment tools, assessment tool materials, or scoring keys 

J5 to any individual who has completed an assessment tool or to an 

36 individual not qualified to administer, score, and interpret the 
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1 assessment tool, if the provider reasonably determines that 

2 access would compromise the objectivity, fairness, or integrity 

3 of the testing process for the individual or others. If the 

4 provider makes this determination, the provider shall, at the 

5 discretion of the individual who has completed the assessment 

6 tool, release the information either to another provider who is 

7 qualified to administer, score, and interpret the assessment 

8 tool or furnish a summary of the assessment tool results to the 

9 individual or to a third party designated by the individual. 

10 Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 148C.03, 

11 subdivision 1, is amended to read: 

12 Subdivision 1. [GENERAL.] The commissioner shall7-a£l:er 

13 eensttil:al:ien-wil:h-l:he-advisery-eettneii-er-a-ee:mmil:l:ee 

14 eseabiished-by-rttie: 

15 (a) adopt and enforce rules for licensure of alcohol and 

16 drug counselors, including establishing standards and methods of 

17 determining whether applicants and licensees are qualified under 

18 section 148C.04. The rules must provide for examinations and 

19 establish standards for the regulation of professional conduct. 

20 The rules must be designed to protect the public; 

21 (b) deveie~-and7-al:-iease-ewiee-a-year7-adminiseer-an 

22 examinaeien-ee-assess-a~~iieanesL-knewied~e-and-skiiis.--~he 

23 eemmissiener-may-eenl:rael:-£er-l:he-adminisl:ral:ien-e£-an 

24 examinal:ien-wieh-an-enl:iey-desi~nal:ed-by-l:he-eemmissiener.--~he 

25 examinaeiens-mttsl:-be-~syehemel:rieaiiy-vaiid-and-reiiabie-;--mttsl: 

26 be-wril:l:en-and-erai;-wil:h-l:he-erai-examinaeien-based-en-a 

27 wril:l:en-ease-~reseneaeien-:-~mttsl:-minimi~e-ettiettrai-bias-;--and-mttse 

28 be-baianeed-in-varietts-eheeries-reiaeive-ee-l:he-~rael:iee-e:E 

29 aieehei-ana-drtt~-eettnseiin~-:-

30 tet issue licenses to individuals qualified under sections 

31 148C.01 to 148C.11; 

32 tat J.£1 issue copies of the rules for licensure to all 

33 applicants; 

34 tet ~ adopt rules to establish and implement procedures, 

35 including a standard disciplinary process and rules of 

36 professional conduct; 
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1 t£t ~ carry out disciplinary actions against licensees; 

2 t~t l!l establish7-wf~fi-~fie-advfee-and-~eeemmeHda~feRs-e£ 

3 ~fie-advfse~y-eettHef%7 written internal operating procedures for 

4 receiving and investigating complaints and for taking 

5 disciplinary actions as appropriate; 

6 tat Jg.2_ educate the public about the existence and content 

7 of the rules for alcohol and drug counselor licensing to enable 

8 consumers to file complaints against licensees who may have 

9 violated the rules; 

10 tft J.!!1 evaluate the rules in order to refine and improve 

11 the methods used to enforce the commissioner's standards; and 

12 tjt l!l collect license fees for alcohol and drug 

13 counselors. 

14 Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 148C.04, 

15 subdivision 3, is amended to read: 

16 Subd. 3. [REQUIREMENTS FOR LICENSURE BEFORE JULY 1, 2008.] 

17 An applicant for a license must furnish evidence satisfactory to 

18 the commissioner that the applicant has met all the requirements 

19 in clauses (1) to (3). The applicant must have: 

20 (1) received an associate degree, or an equivalent number 

21 of credit hours, and a certificate in alcohol and drug 

22 counseling, including 18 semester credits or 270 clock hours of 

23 academic course work in accordance with subdivision Sa, 

24 paragraph (a), from an accredited school or educational program 

25 and 880 clock hours of supervised alcohol and drug counseling 

26 practicum; 

27 (2) completed one of the following: 

28 l!l a written case presentation and satisfactorily passed 

29 an oral examination es~abifsfied-ey-~fie-eemmfssfeRe~ that 

30 demonstrates competence in the core functions as determined by 

31 the board; or 

32 (ii) satisfactorily completed 2,000 hours of supervised 

33 postdegree equivalent professional practice in accordance with 

34 section 148C.044; and 

)5 (3) satisfactorily passed a writ~en examfHa~feR-as 

36 eseab%fsfied-by-efie-eemmfssfeRe~ examinations for licensure as 
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1 determined by the board. 

2 Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 148C.04, 

3 subdivision 4, is amended to read: 

4 Subd. 4. [REQUIREMENTS FOR LICENSURE AFTER JULY 1, 2008.] 

5 An applicant for a license must submit evidence to the 

6 commissioner that the applicant has met one of the following 

7 requirements: 

8 (1) the applicant must have: 

9 (i) received a bachelor's degree from an accredited school 

10 or educational program, including 18 semester credits or 270 

11 clock hours of academic course work in accordance with 

12 subdivision 5a, paragraph (a), from an accredited school or 

13 educational program and 880 clock hours of supervised alcohol 

14 and drug counseling practicum; 

15 (ii) completed a written case presentation and 

16 satisfactorily passed an oral examination established by the 

17 commissioner that demonstrates competence in the core functionsL 

18 or submitted to the board a plan for supervision during the 

19 first 2,000 hours of professional practice,. or submitted proof 

20 of supervised professional practice that is acceptable to the 

21 commissioner; and 

22 (iii) satisfactorily passed a written examination as 

23 established by the commissioner; or 

24 (2) the applicant must meet the requirements of section 

25 148C.07. 

26 Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 148C.04, 

27 subdivision 6, is amended to read: 

28 Subd. 6. [TEMPORARY PERMIT REQUIREMENTS.] (a) The 

29 commissioner shall issue a temporary permit to pra~tice alcohol 

30 and drug counseling prior to being licensed under this chapter 

31 if the person: 

32 (1) either: 

33 (i) submits verification of a current and unrestricted 

34 credential for the practice of alcohol and drug counseling from 

35 a national certification body or a certification or licensing 

36 body from another state, United states territory, or federally 
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1 recognized tribal authority; 

2 (ii) submits verification of the completion of at least 64 

3 semester credits, including 270 clock hours or 18 semester 

4 credits of formal classroom education in alcohol and drug 

5 counseling and at least 880 clock hours of alcohol and drug 

6 counseling practicum from an accredited school or educational 

7 program; 

8 (iii) applies to renew a lapsed license according to the 

9 requirements of section 148C.055, subdivision 3, clauses (1) and 

10 (2), or section 148C.055, subdivision 4, clauses (1) and (2); or 

11 (iv) meets the requirements of section 148C.11, subdivision 

12 1, paragraph (c), or 6, clauses (1), (2), and (5); 

13 (2) applies, in writing, on an application form provided by 

14 the commissioner, which includes the nonrefundable temporary 

15 permit fee as specified in section 148C.12 and an affirmation by 

16 the person's supervisor, as defined in paragraph (c), clause 

17 (1), which is signed and dated by the person and the person's 

18 supervisor; and 

19 (3) has not been disqualified to practice temporarily on 

20 the basis of a background investigation under section 148C.09, 

21 subdivision la. 

22 (b) The commissioner must notify the person in writing 

23 within 90 days from the date the completed application and all 

24 required information is received by the commissioner whether the 

25 person is qualified to practice under this subdivision. 

26 (c) A person practicing under this subd~vision: 

27 (1) may practice under tribal jurisdiction or under the 

28 direct supervision of a person who is licensed under this 

29 chapter; 

30 (2) is subject to the Rules of Professional Conduct set by 

31 rule; and 

32 (3) is not subject to the continuing education requirements 

33 of section 148C.075. 

34 (d) A person practicing under this subdivision must use the 

JS title or description stating or implying that the person is a 

36 trainee engaged in the practice of alcohol and drug counseling. 
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1 (e) A person practicing under this subdivision must 

2 annually submit a renewal application on forms provided by the· 

3 commissioner with the renewal fee required in section 148C.12, 

4 subdivision 3, and the commissioner may renew the temporary 

5 permit if the trainee meets· the requirements of this 

6 subdivision. A trainee may renew a practice permit no more than 

7 five times. 

8 (f) A temporary permit expires if not renewed, upon a 

9 change of employment of the trainee or upon a change in 

10 supervision, or upon the granting or denial by the commissioner 

11 of a license. 

12 Sec. 15. [148C.044] [SUPERVISED POSTDEGREE PROFESSIONAL 

13 PRACTICE.] 

14 Subdivision 1. [SUPERVISION.] For the purpose of this 

15 section, "supervision" means documented interactive 

16 consultation, which, subject to the limitations in.subdivision 

17 4, paragraph (a), clause (2), may be conducted in person, by 

18 telephone, or by audio or audiovisual electronic device, with a 

19 supervisor as defined in subdivision 2. The supervision must be 

20 adequate to ensure the quality and competence of the activities 

21 supervised. Supervisory consultation must include discussions 

22 on the nature and content of the practice of the supervisee, 

23 including, but not limited to, a review of a representative 

24 sample of counseling services in the supervisee's practice. 

25 Subd. 2. [POSTDEGREE PROFESSIONAL PRACTICE.] "Postdegree 

26 professional practice" means required postdegree paid or 

27 volunteer work experience and training that involves the 

28 professional oversight by.a supervisor approved by the board and 

29 that satisfies the supervision requirements in subdivision 4. 

30 Subd. 3. [SUPERVISOR REQUIREMENTS.] For purposes of this 

31 section, a supervisor shall: 

32 (1) be a licensed alcohol and drug counselor or other 

33 qualified professional as determined by the board; 

34 (2) have four years of experience in providing alcohol and 

35 drug counseling; 

36 (3) have received a minimum of 12 hours of training in 
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1 clinical and ethical supervision, which may include graduate 

2 course work, continuing education courses, workshops, or a 

3 combination thereof; and 

4 (4) supervise no more than three persons in postdegree 

5 professional practice. 

6 Subd. 4. [SUPERVISED PRACTICE REQUIREMENTS FOR 

7 LICENSURE.] (al The content of suEervision must include: 

8 (1l knowledge, skills, values, and ethics with SEecific 

9 apElication to the practice issues faced by the SUEervisee, 

10 including the core functions as described in section 148C.01, 

11 subdivision 9; 

12 (2) the standards of practice and ethical conduct, with 

13 Earticular emphasis given to the counselor's role and 

14 appropriate responsibilities, Erofessional boundaries, and Eower 

15 dynamics; and 

16 (3l the supervisee's permissible scoEe of Eractice, as 

17 defined by section 148C.01, subdivision 10. 

18 (bl The supervision must be obtained at the rate of one 

19 hour of supervision Eer 40 hours of professional practice, for a 

20 total of 50 hours of supervision. The supervision must be 

21 evenly distributed over the course of the supervised 

22 professional Eractice. At least 75 Eercent of the required 

23 supervision hours must be received in person. The remaining 25 

24 percent of the required hours may be received by telephone or by 

25 audio or audiovisual electronic device. At least 50 percent of 

26 the required hours of supervision must be received on an 

27 individual basis. The remaining 50 percent may be received in a 

28 group setting. 

29 (c) The supervision must be completed·in no fewer than 12 

30 consecutive months and no more than 36 consecutive months. 

31 (dl The applicant shall include with an application for 

32 licensure verification of completion of the 2,000 hours of 

33 supervised professional Eractice. Verification must be on a 

34 form specified by the board. The suEervisor shall verify that 

J5 the supervisee has completed the required hours of suEervision 

36 in accordance with this section. The supervised practice 
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1 required under this section is unacceptable if the supervisor 

2 attests that the supervisee's performance, competence, or 

3 adherence to the standards of practice and ethical conduct has 

4 been unsatisfactory. 

5 Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 148C.091, 

6 subdivision 1, is amended to read: 

7 Subdivision 1. [FORMS OF DISCIPLINARY ACTION.] When the 

8 commissioner finds that an applicant or a licensed alcohol and 

9 drug counselor has violated a provision or provisions of 

10 sections 148C.Ol to 148C.11, or rules promulgated under this 

11 chapter, the commissioner may take one or more of the following 

12 actions: 

13 

14 

15 

16 

(1) refuse to grant a license; 

(2) revoke the license; 

(3) suspend the license; 

(4) impose limitations or conditions; 

17 (5) impose a civil penalty not exceeding $10,000 for each 

18 separate violation, the amount of the civil penalty to be fixed 

19 so as to deprive the counselor of any economic advantage gained 

20 by reason of the violation charged or to reimburse the 

21 commissioner for all costs of the investigation and .proceeding; 

22 including, but not limited to, the amount paid by the 

23 commissioner for services from the Office of Administrative 

24 Hearings, attorney fees, court reports, witnesses, reproduction 

25 of records, advfsery-eettftef%-memeersL-~er-dfem-eem~eftsa~feft7 
26 staff time, and expense incurred by advfsery-eettftef%-memeers-aftd 

27 staff of the department; 

28 (6) order the counselor to provide uncompensated 

29 professional service under supervision at a designated public 

30 hospital, clinic, or other health care institution; 

31 

32 

33 

(7) censure or reprimand the counselor; or 

(8) any other action justified by the case. 

Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 148C.10, 

34 subdivision 2, is amended to read: 

35 Subd. 2. [USE OF T~TLES.] No person shall present 

36 themselves o~ any other individual to the public by any title 
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1 incorporating the words "licensed alcohol and drug counselor" or 

2 otherwise hold themselves out to the public by any title or 

3 description stating or implying that they are licensed or 

4 otherwise qualified to practice alcohol and drug counseling 

5 unless that individual holds a valid license. Persons issued a 

6 temporary permit must use titles consistent with section 

7 148C.04, subdivision 6, paragraph fet l5!2_. 

8 Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 148C.11, 

9 subdivision 1, is amended to read: 

10 Subdivision 1. [OTHER PROFESSIONALS.] (a) Nothing in this 

11 chapter prevents members of other professions or occupations 

12 from performing functions for which they are qualified or 

13 licensed. This exception includes, but is not limited to7~ 

14 licensed physicians1i registered nurses1i licensed practical 

15 nurses1i licensed psychological practitioners,; members of the 

16 clergy,; American Indian medicine men and women1i licensed 

17 attorneys7i probation officers,L licensed marriage· and family 

18 therapists7L licensed social workers,; social workers employed 

19 by city, county, or state agencies; licensed professional 

20 counselors1i licensed school counselors1i registered 

21 occupational therapists or occupational therapy assistants7L 

22 city, county, or state employees when providing assessments or 

23 case management under Minnesota Rules, chapter 9530; and until 

24 July 1, 2005, individuals providing integrated dual-diagnosis 

25 treatment in adult mental health rehabilitative programs 

26 certified by the Department of Human Services under section 

27 256B.0622 or 256B.0623. 

28 (b) Nothing in this chapter prohibits technicians and 

29 resident managers in programs licensed by the Department of 

30 Human Services from discharging their duties as provided in 

31 Minnesota Rules, chapter 9530. 

32 (c) Any person who is exempt under this see~~en subdivision 

33 but who elects to obtain a license under this chapter is subject 

34 to this chapter to the same extent as other licensees. The 

35 commissioner shall issue a license without examination to an 

36 applicant who is licensed or registered in a profession 
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1 identified in paragraph (a) if the applicant: 

2 (1) shows evidence of current licensure or registration; 

3 and 

4 (2) has submitted to the commissioner a plan for 

5 supervision during the first 2,000 hours of professional 

6 practice or has submitted proof of supervised professional 

7 practice that is acceptable to the commissioner. 

8 (d) ~ftese-~e~sens Any person who is exempt from licensure 

9 under this section must not7-fteweve~7 use a title incorporating 

10 the words "alcohol and drug counselor" or "licensed alcohol and 

11 drug counselor" or otherwise hold themselves out to the public 

12 by any title or description stating or implying that they are 

13 engaged in the practice of alcohol and drug counseling, or that 

14 they are licensed to engage in the practice of alcohol and drug 

15 counseling unless that person is also licensed as an alcohol and 

16 drug counselor. Persons engaged in the practice of alcohol and 

17 drug counseling are not exempt from the commissioner's 

18 jurisdiction solely by the use of one of the above titles. 

19 Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 148C.11, 

20 subdivision 4, is amended to read: 

21 Subd. 4. [HOSPITAL ALCOHOL AND DRUG COUNSELORS.] Effective 

22 January 1, z996 2007, hospitals employing alcohol and drug 

23 counselors shall be required to employ licensed alcohol and drug 

24 counselors. An alcohol or drug counselor employed by a hospital 

25 must be licensed as an alcohol and drug counselor in accordance 

26 with this chapter. 

27 Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 148C.ll, 

28 subdivision 5, is amended to read: 

29 Subd. 5. [CITY, COUNTY, AND STATE AGENCY ALCOHOL AND DRUG 

30 COUNSELORS.] Effective January 1, z996 2007, city, county, and 

31 state agencies employing alcohol and drug counselors shall be 

32 required to employ licensed alcohol and drug counselors. An 

33 alcohol and drug counselor employed by a city, county, or state 

34 agency must be licensed as an alcohol and drug counselor·in 

35 accordance with this chapter. 

36 Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 148C.11, 
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1 subdivision 6, is amended to read: 

2 Subd. 6. [TRANSITION PERIOD FOR HOSPITAL AND CITY, COUNTY, 

3 AND STATE AGENCY ALCOHOL AND DRUG COUNSELORS.] For the period 

4 between July 1, 2003, and January 1, z006 2007, the commissioner 

5 shall grant a license to an individual who is employed as an 

6 alcohol and drug counselor at a Minnesota school district or 

7 hospital, or a city, county, or state agency in Minnesota, if 

8 the individual meets the requirements in section 148C.0351 and: 

9 (1) was employed as an alcohol and drug counselor at a 

10 school district, a hospital, or a city, county, or state agency 

11 before August 1, 2002; fzt has 8,000 hours of alcohol and drug 

12 counselor work experience; f9t has completed a written case 

13 presentation an~ satisfactorily p~ssed an oral examination 

14 established by the commissioner; f4t and has satisfactorily 

15 passed a written examination as established by the commissioner; 

16 ena-fSt-mee~s-~he-re~ttfremen~s-fn-see~fen-%48€~095% or 

17 

18 

19 

20 

21 

22 

23 

24 

25 

26 

27 

28 

29 

30 

31 

32 

33 

34 

35 

36 

(2) is credentialed as a board certified counselor (BCC) or 

board certified counselor reciprocal (BCCR) by the Minnesota 

Certification Board; or 

(3) has 14,000 hours of supervised alcohol and drug 

counselor work experience as documented by the employer. 

Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 148C.12, 

subdivision 3, is amended to read: 

Subd. 3. [TEMPORARY PERMIT FEE.] The initial fee for 

applicants under section 148C.04, subdivision 6, paragraph (a), 

is $100. The fee for annual renewal of a temporary permit 

is $%00 $150, but when the first expiration date occurs in less 

or more than one year, the fee must be prorated. 

Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 214.01, 

subdivision 2, is amended to read: 

Subd. 2. [HEALTH-RELATED LICENSING BOARD.] "Health-related 

licensing board" means the Board of Examiners of Nursing Home 

Administrators established pursuant to section 144A.19, the 

Office of Unlicensed Complementary and Alternative Health care 

Practice established pursuant to section 146A.02, the Board of 

Medical Practice created pursuant to section 147.01, the Board 
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1 of Nursing created pursuant to section 148.181, the· Board of 

2 Chiropractic.Examiners established pursuant to section 148.02, 

3 the Board of Optometry established pursuant to section 148.52, 

4 the Board of Physical Therapy_ established pursuant to section 

5 148.67, the Board of Psychology established p~rsuant to section 

6 148.90, the Board of Social Work pursuant to section 148B.19, 

7 the Board of Marriage and Family Therapy pursuant to section 

8 148B.30, the Office of Mental Health Practice established 

9 pursuant to section 148B.61, the Board of Behavioral Health and 

10 Therapy established by section 148B.51~ ~he-A±eehe±-ana-Brtt~ 

11 eettnse±ers-E:i~eens~n~-Aav~sery-eettne~±-es~ae±~shea-~ttrsttan~-~e 

12 see~~en-~4ee.ez7 the Board of Dietetics and Nutrition Practice 

13 established under section 148.622, the Board of Dentistry 

14 established pursuant to section 150A.02, the Board of Pharmacy 

15 established pursuant to section 151.02, the Board of Pediatric 

16 Medicine established pursuant to section 153.02, and the Board 

17 of Veterinary Medicine, established pursuant to section 156.01. 

18 Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 214.103, 

19 subdivision 1, is amended to read: 

20 Subdivision 1. [APPLICATION.] For purposes of this 

21 section, "board" means "health-related licensing board" and does 

22 not include ~he-A±eehe±-ana-Brtt~-eettnse±ers-E:i~eens~n~-Aav~sery 

23 eettne~±-es~ae±~shea-~ttrsttan~-~e-see~~en-~4ee.ez7-er the 

24 non-health-related licensing boards. Nothing in this section 

25 supersedes section 214.10, subdivisions 2a, 3, 8, and 9, as they 

26 apply to the health-related licensing boards. 

27 Sec. 25. [AUTHORIZATION FOR EXPEDITED RULEMAKING 

28 AUTHORITY.] 

29 The Board of Behavioral Health and Therapy may use the 

30 expedited rulemaking process under Minnesota Statutes, section 

31 14.389, for adopting and amending rules to conform with sections 

32 1 to 10. 

33 Sec. 26. [REPEALER.] 

34 (a) Minnesota Statutes 2004, sections 148C.02 and 148C.12, 

35 _subdivision 4, are repealed. 

36 (b) Minnesota Rules, parts 4747.0030, subparts 11 and 16; 
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1 4747.1200; and 4747.1300, are repealed. 

2 Sec. 27. [EFFECTIVE DATE.] 

3 This article is effective July 1, 2005. 

4 ARTICLE 6 

5 BOARD OF MEDICAL PRACTICE 

6 (PHYSICIAN ASSISTANTS AND RESPIRATORY CARE PRACTITIONERS) 

7 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 147A.18, 

8 subdivision 1, is amended to read: 

9 Subdivision 1. [DELEGATION.] (a) A supervising physician 

10 may delegate to a physician assistant who is registered with the 

11 board, certified by the National Commission on Certification of 

12 Physician Assistants or successor agency approved by the board, 

13 and who is under the supervising physician's supervision, the 

14 authority to prescribe, dispense, and administer legend drugs, 

15 medical devices, and controlled substances subject to the 

16 requirements in this section. The authority to dispense 

17 includes, but is not limited to, the authority to request, 

18 receive, and dispense sample drugs. This authority to dispense 

19 extends only to those drugs described in the written agreement 

20 developed under paragraph (b). 

21 (b) The agreement between the physician assistant and 

22 supervising physician and any alternate supervising physicians 

23 must include a statement by the supervising physician regarding 

24 delegation or nondelegation of the functions of prescribing, 

25 dispensing, and administering of legend drugs and medical 

26 devices to the physician assistant. The statement must include 

27 a protocol indicating categories of drugs for which the 

28 supervising physician delegates prescriptive and dispensing 

29 authority. The delegation must be appropriate to the physician 

30 assistant's practice and w1thin the scope of the physician 

31 assistant's training. Physician assistants who have been 

32 delegated the authority to prescribe, dispense, and administer 

33 legend drugs and medical devices shall provide evidence of 

34 current certification by the National Commission on 

35 Certification of Physician Assistants or its successor agency 

36 when registering or reregistering as physician assistants. 

Article 6 Section 1 143 



[SENATEE ] SS1204CE1 

1 Physician assistants who have been delegated the authority to 

2 prescribe controlled substances must present evidence of the 

3 certification and hold a valid DEA certificate. Supervising 

4 physicians shall retrospectively review the prescribing, 

5 dispensing, and administering of legend and controlled drugs and 

6 medical devices by physician assistants, when this authority has 

7 been delegated to the physician assistant as part of the 

8 delegation agreement between the physician .and the physician 

9 assistant. This review must take place a~-~eas~-week~y as 

10 outlined in the internal protocol. The process and schedule for 

11 the review must be outlined in the delegation agreement. 

12 (c) The board may establish by rule: 

13 (1) a system of identifying physician assistants eligible 

14 to prescribe, administer, and dispense legend drugs and medical 

15 devices; 

16 (2) a system of identifying physician assistants eligible 

17 to prescribe, administer, and_ dispense controlled substances; 

18 (3) a method of determining the categories of legend and 

19 controlled drugs and medical devices that each physi~ian 

20 assistant is allowed to prescribe, administer, and dispense; and 

21 (4) a system of transmitting to pharmacies a listing of 

22 physician assistants eligible to prescribe legend and controlled 

23 drugs and medical devices. 

24 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 147A.18, 

25 subdivision 3, is amended to read: 

26 Subd. 3. [OTHER REQUIREMENTS AND RESTRICTIONS.] (a) The 

27 supervising physician and the physician assistant must complete, 

28 sign, and date an internal protocol which lists each category of 

29 drug or medical device, or controlled substance the physician 

30 assistant may prescribe, dispense, and adminis~er. The 

31 supervising physician and physician assistant shall submit the 

32 internal protocol to the board upon request. The supervising 

33 physician may amend the internal protocol as necessary, within 

34 the limits of the completed delegation form in subdivision 5. 

35 The supervising physician and physician assistant must sign and 

36 date any amendments to the internal protocol. Any amendments 
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1 resulting in a change to an addition or deletion to categories 

2 delegated in the delegation form in subdivision 5 must be 

3 submitted to the board according to this chapter, along with the 

4 fee required. 

5 (b) The supervising physician and physician assistant shall 

6 review delegation of prescribing, dispensing, and,administering 

7 authority on an annual.basis at the time of reregistration. The 

8 internal protocol must be signed and dated by the supervising 

9 physician and physician assistant after review. Any amendments 

10 to the internal protocol resulting in changes to the delegation 

11 form in subdivision 5 must be submitted to the board .according 

12 to this chapter, along with the fee required. 

13 (c) Each prescription initiated by a physician assistant 

14 shall indicate the following: 

15 (1) the date of issue; 

16 (2). the name and address of the patient; 

17 (3) the name and quantity of the drug prescribed; 

18 

19 

(4) directions for use; and 

(5) the name, and address7-afta-~e~e~ftefte-ftttm~e~ of the 

20 prescribing physician assistant afta-e~-~fte-~ftys~e~aft-se~v~ft~-as 

21 stt~e~v~se~. 

22 (d) In prescribing, dispensing, and administering legend 

23 drugs and medical devices, including controlled substances as 

24 defined in section 152.01, subdivision 4, a physician assistant 

25 must conform with the agreement, chapter 151, and this chapter. 

26 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 147C.05, is 

27 amended to read: 

28 147C.05 [SCOPE OF PRACTICE.] 

29 (a) The practice of respiratory care by a registered 

30 respiratory care practitioner includes, but is not limited to, 

31 the following services: 

32 (1) providing and monitoring therapeutic administration of 

33 medical gases, aerosols, humidification, and pharmacological 

34 agents related to respiratory care procedures, but not including 

35 administration of general anesthesia; 

36 (2) carrying out therapeutic application and monitoring of 
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1 mechanical ventilatory support; 

2 (3) providing cardiopulmonary resuscitation and maintenance 

3 of natural airways and insertion and maintenance of artificial 

4 airways; 

5 (4) assessing and monitoring signs, symptoms, and general 

6 behavior relating to, and general physical response to, 

7 respiratory care treatment or evaluation for treatment and 

8 diagnostic testing, including determination of whether the 

9 signs, symptoms, reactions, behavior, or general response 

10 exhibit abnormal characteristics; 

11 (5) obtaining physiological specimens and interpreting 

12 physiological data including: 

13 (i) analyzing arterial and venous blood gases; 

14 (ii) assessing respiratory secretions; 

15 (iii) measuring ventilatory volumes, pressures, and flows; 

16 (iv) testing pulmonary function; 

17 (v) testing and studying the cardiopulmonary system; and 

18 (vi) diagnostic testing of breathing patterns related to 

19 sleep disorders; 

20 (6) assisting hemodynamic monitoring and support of the 

21 cardiopulmonary system; 

22 (7) assessing and making suggestions for modifications in 

23 the treatment regimen based on abnormalities, protocols, or 

24 changes in patient response to respiratory care treatment; 

25 (8) providing cardiopulmonary rehabilitation including 

26 respiratory-care related educational components, postural 

27 drainage, chest physiotherapy, breathing exercises, aerosolized 

28 administration of medications, and equipment use and 

29 maintenance; 

30 (9) instructing patients and their families in techniques 

31 for the prevention, alleviation, and rehabilitation of 

32 deficiencies, abnormalities, and diseases of the cardiopulmonary 

33 system; and 

34 (10) transcribing and implementing physician orders for 

35 respiratory care services. 

36 (b) Patient service by a practitioner must be limited to: 
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1 (1) services within the training and experience of the 

2 practitioner; and 

3 (2) services within the parameters of the laws, rules, and 

4 standards of the facilities in which the respiratory care 

5 practitioner practices. 

6 (c) Respiratory care services provided by a registered 

7 respiratory care practitioner, whether delivered in a health 

8 care facility or the patient's residence, must not be provided 

9 except upon referral from a physician. 

10 (d) This section does not prohibit an individual licensed 

11 or registered as a respiratory therapist in another state or 

12 country from providing respiratory care in an emergency in this 

13 state, providing respiratory care as a member of an organ 

14 harvesting team, or from providing respiratory care on board an 

15 ambulance as part of an ambulance treatment team. 

16 ARTICLE 7 

17 COMMISSIONER OF HEALTH - AUDIOLOGISTS 

18 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 148.512, 

19 subdivision 6, is amended to read: 

20 Subd. 6. [AUDIOLOGIST.] "Audiologist" means a natural 

21 person who engages in the practice of audiology, meets the 

22 qualifications required by sections 148.511 to ~~e.5~96 

23 148.5198, and is licensed by the commissioner under a general, 

24 clinical fellowship, doctoral externship, or temporary license. 

25 Audiologist also means a natural person using any descriptive 

26 word with the title audiologist. 

27 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 148.512, is 

28 amended by adding a subdivision to read: 

29 Subd. lOa. [HEARING AID.] "Hearing aid" means an 

30 instrument, or any of its parts, worn in the ear canal and 

31 designed to or represented as being able to aid or enhance human 

32 hearing. "Hearing aid" includes the aid's parts, attachments, 

33 or accessories, including, but not limited to, ear molds and 

34 behind the ear (BTE) devices with or without an ear mold. 

35 Batteries and cords are not parts, attachments, or accessories 

36 o~ a hearing aid. Surgically implanted hearing aids, and 
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1 assistive listening devices not worn within the ear canal, are 

2 not hearing aids. 

3 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 148.512, is 

4 amended by adding a subdivision to read: 

5 Subd. 10b. [HEARING AID DISPENSING.] "Hearing aid 

6 
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dispensing" means making ear mold impressions, prescribing, or 

recommending a hearing aid, assisting the consumer in aid 

selection, selling hearing aids at retail, or testing human 

hearing in connection with these activities regardless of 

whether the person conducting these activities has a monetary 

interest in the dispensing of hearing aids to the consumer. 

Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 148.513, is 

amended by adding a subdivision to read: 

Subd. 2a. [HEARING AID DISPENSERS.] An audiologist must 

not hold out as a licensed hearing aid dispenser. 

Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 148.515, is 

amended by adding a subdivision to read: 

Subd. 6. [DISPENSING AUDIOLOGIST EXAMINATION 

REQUIREMENTS.] (a) Audiologists are exempt from the written 

examination requirement in section 153A.14, subdivision 2h, 

paragraph (a), clause (1). 

(b) After July 31, 2005, all applicants for audiologist 

licensure under sections 148.512 to 148.5198 must achieve a 

passing score on the practical tests of proficiency described in 

section 153A.14, subdivision 2h, paragraph (a), clause (2), 

within the time period described in section 153A.14, subdivision 

2h, paragraph (c). 

(c) In order to dispense hearing aids as a sole proprietor, 

member of a partnership, or for a limited liability company, 

corporation, or any other entity organized for profit, a 

licensee who obtained audiologist licensure under sections 

148.512 to 148~5198, before August 1, 2005, and who is not 

certified to dispense hearing aids under chapter 153A, must 

achieve a passing score on the practical tests of proficiency 

described in section 153A.14, subdivision 2h, paragraph (a), 

clause (2), within the time period described in section 153A.14, 
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1 subdivision 2h, paragraph (c). All other audiologist licensees 

2 who obtained licensure before August 1, 2005, are exempt from 

3 the practical tests. 

4 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 148.5194, is 

5 amended by adding a subdivision to read: 

6 Subd. 7. [AUDIOLOGIST SURCHARGE FEE.] (a) The biennial 

7 surcharge fee for audiologists is $235. The commissioner shall 

8 prorate the fee for clinical fellowship, doctoral externship, 

9 temporary, and first time licensees according to the number of 

10 months that have elapsed between the date the license is issued 

11 and the date the license expires or must be renewed under 

12 section 148.5191, subdivision 4. 

13 (b) Effective November 1, 2005, the commissioner shall 

.4 collect the $235 audiologist surcharge fee prorated according to 

15 the number of months remaining until the next scheduled license 

16 renewal. 

17 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 148.5195, 

18 subdivision 3, is amended to read: 

19 Subd. 3. (GROUNDS FOR DISCIPLINARY ACTION BY 

20 COMMISSIONER.] The commissioner may take any of the disciplinary 

21 actions listed in subdivision 4 on proof that the individual has: 

22 (1) intentionally submitted false or misleading information 

23 to the commissioner or the advisory council; 

,4 (2) failed, within 30 days, to provide information in 

25 response to a written request, via certified mail, by the 

26 commissioner or advisory council; 

27 (3) performed services of a speech-language pathologist or 

·28 audiologist in an incompetent or negligent manner; 

29 (4) violated sections 148.511 to %48T5%96 148.5198; 

30 (5) failed to perform services with reasonable judgment, 

31 sk~ll, or safety due to the use of alcohol or drugs, or other 

32 physical or mental impairment; 

33 (6) violated any state or federal law, rule, or regulation, 

34 and the violation is a felony or misdemeanor, an essential 

3 element of which is dishonesty, or which relates directly or 

36 indirectly to the practice of speech-language pathology or 
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1 audiology. Conviction for violating any state or federal law 

2 which relates to speech-language pathology or audiology is 

3 necessarily considered to constitute a violation, except as 

4 .provided in chapter 364; 

5 (7) aided or abetted another person in violating any 

6 provision of sections 148.511 to ~~a.5~96 148.5198; 

7 (8) been or is being disciplined by another jurisdiction, 

8 if any of the grounds for the discipline is the same or 

9 substantially equivalent to those under sections 148.511 to 

10 148.5196; 

11 (9) not cooperated with the commissioner or advisory 

12 council in an investigation conducted according to subdivision 

13 1; 

14 (10) advertised in a manner that is false or misleading; 

15 (11) engaged in conduct likely to deceive, defraud, or harm 

16 the public; or demonstrated a willful or careless disregard for 

17 the health, welfare, or safety of a client; 

18 (12) failed to disclose to the consumer any fee splitting 

·19 or any promise to pay a portion of a fee to any other 

20 professional other than a fee for services rendered by the other 

21 professional to the client; 

22 (13) engaged in abusive or fraudulent billing practices, 

23 including violations of federal Medicare and Medicaid laws, Food 

24 and Drug Administration regulations, or state medical assistance 

25 laws; 

26 (14) obtained money, property, or services from a consumer 

27 through the use of undue influence, high pressure sales tactics, 

28 harassment, duress, deception, or fraud; 

29 (15) performed services.for a client who had no possibility 

30 of benefiting from the services; 

31 (16) failed to refer a client for medical evaluation or to 

32 other health care professionals when appropriate or when a 

33 cl~ent indicated symptoms associated with diseases that could be 

34 medically or surgically treated; 

35 (17) ~£-~fie-~ftd~v~dtta~-~s-a-d~s~eftser-e£-fiear~ft~ 

36 ~fts~rttmeft~s-as-de£~fted-by-see~~eft-~5SA.~S7-sttbd~v~s~eft-57 had 
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1 the certification required by chapter 153A7 denied, suspended, 

2 or revoked according to chapter 153A; 

3 (18) used the term doctor of audiology, doctor of 

4 speech-language pathology, AuD, or SLPD without having obtained 

5 the degree from an institution accredited by the North Central 

6 Association of Colleges and Secondary Schools, the Council on 

7 Academic Accreditation in Audiology and Speech-Language 

8 Pathology, the United States Department of Education, or an 

9 equivalent; e~ 

10 (19) failed to comply with the requirements of section 

11 148.5192 regarding supervision of speech-language pathology 

12 assistants~; or 

13 (20) if the individual is an audiologist or certified 

14 hearing aid dispenser: 

15 (i) prescribed or otherwise recommended to a consumer or 

16 potential consumer the use of a hearing aid, unless the 

17 prescription from a physician or recommendation from an 

18 audiologist or certified dispenser is in writing, is based on an 

19 audiogram that is delivered to the consumer or potential 

20 consumer when the prescription or recommendation is made, and 

21 bears the following information in all capital letters of 

22 12-point or larger boldface type: "THIS PRESCRIPTION OR 

23 RECOMMENDATION MAY BE FILLED BY, AND HEARING AIDS MAY BE 

24 PURCHASED FROM, THE LICENSED AUDIOLOGIST OR CERTIFIED DISPENSER 

25 OF YOUR CHOICE"; 

26 (ii) failed to give a copy of the audiogram, upon which the 

27 prescription or recommendation is based, to the consumer when 

28 the consumer requests a copy; 

29· (iii) failed to provide the·consumer rights brochure 

30 required by section 148.5197, subdivision 3; 

31 (iv) failed to comply with restrictions on sales of hearing 

32 aids in sections 148.5197, subdivision 3, and 148.5198; 

33 (v) failed to return a consumer's hearing aid used as a 

34 trade-in or for a discount in the price of a new hearing aid 

5 when reguested by the consumer upon cancellation of the purchase 

36 agreement; 
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1 (vi) failed to follow Food and Drug Administration or 

2 Federal Trade commission regulations relating to dispensing 

3 hearing aids; 

4 (vii) failed to dispense a hearing aid in a competent 

5 manner or without appropriate training; 

6 (viii) delegated hearing instrument dispensing authority to 

7 a person not authorized to dispense a hearing instrument under 

8 this chapter or chapter 153A; 

9 (ix) failed to comply with the requirements of an employer 

10 or supervisor of a hearing aid dispenser trainee; or 

11 (x) violated a state or federal court order or judgment, 

12 including a conciliation court judgment, relating to the 

13 activities of the individual's hearing aid dispensing. 

14 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 148.5196, 

15 subdivision 1, is amended to read: 

16 Subdivision 1. [MEMBERSHIP.] The commissioner shall 

17 appoint ef~fi~ 12 persons to a Speech-Language Pathologist and 

18 Audiologist Advisory Council. The ef~fi~ 12 persons must include: 

19 (1) ~we three public members, as defined in section 214.02. 

20 Two of the public members shall be either persons receiving 

21 services of a speech-language pathologist or audiologist, or 

22 family members of or caregivers to such persons, and at least 

23 one of the public members shall be either a hearing instrument 

24 user or an advocate of one; 

25 (2) ~we three speech-language pathologists licensed under 

26 sections 148.511 to 148.5196, one of whom is currently and has 

27 been, for the' five years immediately preceding the appointment, 

28 engaged in the practice of speech-language pathology in 

29 Minnesota and each of whom is employed in a different employment 

30 setting including, but not limited to, private practice, 

31 hospitals, rehabilitation settings, educational settings, and 

3 2 ·government agencies ; 

33 (3) one speech-language pathologist licensed under sections 

34 148.511 to 148.5196,_ who is currently and has been, for the five 

35 years immediately preceding the appointment, employed by a 

36 Minnesota public school district or a Minnesota public school 
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1 district consortium that is authorized by Minnesota Statutes and 

2 who is licensed in speech-language pathology by the Minnesota 

3 Board of Teaching; 

4 (4) ~we three audiologists licensed under sections 148.511 

5 to 148.5196, ene two of whom ~s are currently and has have 

6 been, for the five years immediately preceding the appointment, 

7 engaged in the practice of audiology and the dispensing of 

8 hearing instruments in Minnesota and each of whom is employed in 

9 a different employment setting including, but not limited to, 

10 private practice, hospitals, rehabilitation settings, 

11 educational settings, ind~stry, and government agencies; and 

12 (5) one nonaudfologist hearing instrument dispenser 

13 recommended by a professional association representing hearing 

14 instrument dispensers; and 

15 1§1 one physician licensed under chapter 147 and certified 

16 by the American Board of Otolaryngology, Head and Neck Surgery. 

17 
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Sec. 9. [148.5197] [HEARING AID DISPENSING.] 

Subdivision 1. [CONTENT OF CONTRACTS.] Oral statements 

made by an audiologist or certified dispenser regarding the 

provision of warranties, refunds, and service on the hearing aid 

or aids dispensed must be written on, and become part of, the 

contract of sale, specify the item or items covered, and 

indicate the person or business entity obligated to provide the 

warranty, refund, or service. 

Subd. 2. [REQUIRED USE OF LICENSE NUMBER.] The 

audiologist's license number or certified dispenser's 

certificate number must appear on all contracts, bills of sale, 

and receipts used in the sale of hearing aids. 

Subd. 3. [CONSUMER RIGHTS INFORMATION.] An audiologist or 

certified dispenser shall, at the time of the recommendation or 

prescription, give a consumer rights brochure, prepared by the 

commissioner and containing information about legal requirements 

pertaining to dispensing of hearing aids, to each potential 

consumer of a hearing aid. The brochure must contain 

information about the consumer information center described in 

36 section 153A.18. A contract for a hearing aid must note the 
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1 receipt of the brochure by the consumer, along with the 

2 consumer's signature or initials. 

3 Subd. 4·. [LIABILITY FOR CONTRACTS.] Owners of entities in 

4 the business of disEensing hearing aids, emEloyers of 

5 audiologists or Eersons who disEense hearing aids, suEervisors · 

6 of trainees or audiology students, and hearing aid disEensers 

7 conducting the transaction at issue are liable for satisfying 

8 all terms of contracts, written or oral, made by their agents, 

9 emEloyees, assignees, affiliates, or trainees, including terms 

10 relating to Eroducts, reEairs, warranties, service, and 

11 refunds. The commissioner may enforce the terms of hearing aid 

12 contracts against the ErinciEal, emEloyer, suEervisor, or 

13 dispenser who conducted the transaction and may imEose any 

14 remedy Erovided for in this chaEter. 

15 

16 

Sec. 10. [148.5198] [RESTRICTION ON SALE OF HEARING AIDS.] 

Subdivision 1. [45-CALENDAR-DAY GUARANTEE AND BUYER RIGHT 

17 TO CANCEL.] (a) An audiologist or certified disEenser disEensing 

18 a hearing aid in this state must comElY with EaragraEhs (b) and 

19 ..i.£.L:.. 

20 (b) The audiologist or certified disEenser must Erovide the 

21 buyer with a 45-calendar-day written money-back guarantee. The 

22 guarantee must Eermit the buyer to cancel the Eurchase for any 

23 reason within 45 calendar days after receiving the hearing aid 

24 by giving or mai.ling written notice of cancellation to the 

25 audiologist or certified disEenser. If the buyer mails the 

26 notice of cancellation, the 45-calendar-day Eeriod is counted 

27 using the Eostmark date, to the date of receiEt by the 

28 audiologist or certified disEenser. If the hearing aid must be 

29 reEaired, remade, or adjusted during the 45-calendar-day 

30 money-back guarantee Eeriod, the running of the 45-calenaar-day 

31 Eeriod is susEended one day for each 24-hour Eeriod that the 

32 hearing aid is not in the buyer's Eossession. A repaired, 

33 remade, or adjusted hearing aid must be claimed by the buyer 

34 within three business days after notification of availability, 

35 after which time the running of the 45-calendar-day Eeriod 

36 resumes. The guarantee must entitle the buyer, UEon 
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1 cancellation, to receive a refund of payment within 30 days of 

2 return of the hearing aid to the audiologist or certified 

3 dispenser. The audiologist or certified dispenser may retain as 

4 a cancellation fee no more than $250 of the buyer's total 

5 purchase price of the hearing aid. 

6 (c) The audiologist or certified dispenser shall provide 

7 the buyer with a contract written in plain English, that 

8 contains uniform language and provisions that meet the 

9 requirements under the Plain Language Contract Act, sections 

10 325G.29 to 325G.36. The contract must include, but is not 

11 limited to, the following: in immediate proximity to the space 

12 reserved for the signature of .the buyer, or on the first page if 

13 there is no space reserved for the signature of the buyer, a 

14 clear and conspicuous disclosure of the following specific 

15 statement in all capital letters of no less than 12-point 

16 boldface type: "MINNESOTA STATE LAW GIVES THE BUYER THE RIGHT 

17 TO CANCEL THIS PURCHASE FOR ANY REASON AT ANY TIME PRIOR TO 

18 MIDNIGHT OF THE 45TH CALENDAR DAY AFTER RECEIPT OF THE HEARING 

19 AID(S). THIS CANCELLATION MUST BE IN WRITING AND MUST BE GIVEN 

20 OR MAILED TO THE AUDIOLOGIST OR CERTIFIED DISPENSER. IF THE 

21 BUYER DECIDES TO RETURN THE HEARING AID(S) WITHIN THIS 

22 45-CALENDAR-DAY PERIOD, THE BUYER WILL RECEIVE A REFUND OF THE 

23 TOTAL.PURCHASE PRICE OF THE AID(S) FROM WHICH THE AUDIOLOGIST OR 

24 CERTIFIED DISPENSER MAY RETAIN AS A CANCELLATION FEE NO MORE 

25 THAN $250. 11 

26 Subd. 2. [ITEMIZED REPAIR BILL.] Any audiologist, 

27 certified dispenser, or company ·who agrees to repair a hearing 

28 aid must provide the owner of the hearing aid, or the owner's 

29 representative, with a bill that describes the repair and 

30 services rendered. The bill must also include the repairing 

31 audiologist's, certified dispenser's, or company's name, 

32 addres~, and telephone number. 

33 This subdivision does not apply to an audiologist, 

34 certified dispenser, or company that repairs a hearing aid 

JS pursuant to an express warranty covering the entire hearing aid 

36 and the warranty covers the entire cost, both parts and labor, 
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1 of the repair. 

2 Subd. 3. [REPAIR WARRANTY.] Any guarantee of hearing aid 

3 repairs must be in writing and delivered to the owner of the 

4 hearing aid, or the owner's representative, stating the 

5 repairing audiologist's, certified dispenser's, or company's 

6 name, address, telephone number, length of guarantee, model, and 

7 serial number of the hearing aid and all other terms and 

8 conditions of the guarantee. 

9 subd. 4. [MISDEMEANOR.] A person found to have violated 

10 this section is guilty of a misdemeanor. 

11 Subd. 5. [ADDITIONAL.] In addition to the penalty provided 

12 in subdivision 4, a person found to have violated this section 

13 is subject to the penalties and remedies provided in section 

14 325F.69, subdivision 1. 

15 Subd. 6. [ESTIMATES.] Upon the request of the owner of a 

16 hearing aid or the owner's representative for a written estimate 

17 and prior to the commencement of repairs, a repairing 

18 audiologist, certified dispenser, or company shall provide the 

19 customer with a written estimate of the price of repairs. If a 

20 repairing audiologist, certified dispenser, or company provides 

21 a written estimate of the price of repairs, it must not charge 

22 more than the total price stated in the estimate for the 

23 repairs. If the repairing audiologist, certified dispenser, or 

24 company after commencing repairs determines that additional work 

25 is necessary to accomplish repairs that are the subject of a 

26 wr1tten estimate and if the repairing audiologist, certified 

27 dispenser, or company did not unreasonably fail to disclose the 

28 possible need for the additional work when the estimate was 

29 made, the repairing audiologist, certified dispenser, or company 

30 may charge more than the estimate for the repairs if the 

31 repairing audiologist, certified dispenser, or company 

32 immediately provides the owner or owner's representative a 

33 revised written estimate pursuant to this section and receives 

34 authorization to continue with the repairs. If continuation of 

35 the repairs is not authorized, the repairing audiologist, 

36 certified dispenser, or company shall return the hearing aid as 
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1 close as possible to its former condition and shall release the 

2 hearing aid to the owner or owner's representative upon payment 

3 of charges for repairs actually performed and not in excess of 

4 the original estimate. 

5 Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 153A.13, 

6 subdivision 5, is amended to read: 

7 Subd. 5. [DISPENSER OF H~ARING INSTRUMENTS.] "Dispenser of 

8 hearing instruments" means a natural person who engages in 

9 hearing instrument dispensing whether or not certified by the 

10 commissioner of health or licensed by an existing health-related 

11 board, except that a person described as follows is not a 

12 dispenser of hearing instruments: 

13 (1) a student participating in supervised field work that 

14 is necessary to meet requirements of an accredited educational 

15 program if the student is designated by a title which clearly 

16 indicates the student's status as a student trainee; or 

17 (2) a person who helps a dispenser of hearing instruments 

18 in an administrative or clerical manner and does not engage in 

19 hearing instrument dispensing. 

20 A person who offers to dispense a hearing instrument, or a 

21 person who advertises, holds out to the public, or otherwise 

22 represents that the person is authorized to dispense hearing 

23 instruments must be certified by the commissioner except when 

24 the person is an audiologist as defined in section 148.512. 

25 Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 153A.14, 

26 subdivision 2h, is amended to read: 

21 Subd. 2h. [CERTIFICATION BY EXAMINATION.] An applicant 

28 must achieve a passing score, as determined by the commissioner, 

29 on an examination according to paragraphs (a) to (c). 

30 (a) The examination must include, but is not limited to: 

31 (1) A written examination approved by the commissioner 

32 covering the following areas as they pertain to hearing 

33 instrument selling: 

34 (i) basic physics of sound; 

~5 (ii) the anatomy and physiology of the ear; 

36 (iii) the function of hearing instruments; and 
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1 (iv) the principles of hearing instrument selection-;--a:na 

2 tvt-s~a:~e-a:na~reaera:~-~a:ws7-rtt~es7-a:nd-re~tt~a:~~ens. 

3 (2) Practical tests of proficiency in the following 

4 techniques as they pertain to hearing instrument selling: 

5 (i) pure tone audiometry, including air conduction testing 

6 and bone conduction testing; 

7 (ii) live voice or recorded voice speech audiometry 

8 including speech recognition (discrimination) testing, most 

9 comfortable loudness level, and uncomfortable loudness 

10 measurements of tolerance thresholds; 

11 (iii) masking when indicated; 

12 (iv) recording and evaluation of audiograms and speech 

13 audiometry to determine proper selection and fitting of a 

14 hearing instrument; 

15 (v) taking ear mold impressions; and 

16 (vi) using an otoscope for the visual observation of the 

17 entire ear canal; and 

18 (vii) state and federal laws, rules, and regulations. 

19 (b) The examination shall be administered by the 

20 commissioner at least twice a year. 

21 (c) An applicant must achieve a passing score on all 

22 portions of the examination within a two-year period. An 

23 applicant who does not achieve a passing score on all portions 

24 of the examination within a two-year period must retake the 

25 entire examination and achieve a passing score- on each portion 

26 of the examination. An applicant who does not apply for 

27 certification within one year of successful completion of the 

28 examination must retake the examination and achieve a passing 

29 score on each portion of the examination. An applicant may not 

30 take any part of the examination more than three times in a 

31 two-year period. 

32 Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 153A.14, 

33 subdivision 2i, is amended to read: 

34 Subd. 2i. [CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENT.] On forms 

35 provided by the commissioner, each certified dispenser must 

36 submit with the application for renewal of certification 
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1 evidence of completion of ten course hours of continuing 

2 education earned within the 12-month period of July 1 to June 30 

3 immediately preceding renewal. Continuing education courses 

4 must be directly related to hearing instrument dispensing and 

5 approved by the International Hearing Society er-~a±i£y-£er 

6 eeHl:i:rn:ii:ru~-eeltteal:ieH-a:p!'reveel-£er-MiHHesel:a-±ie.eHseel 

7 attelie±e~isl:s. Evidence of completion of the ten course hours of 

8 continuing education must be submitted with renewal applications 

9 by October 1 of each year. This requirement does not apply to 

10 dispensers certified for less than one year. The first report 

11 of evidence of completion of the continuing education credits 

12 shall be due October 1, 1997. 

13 Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 153A.14, 

14 subdivision 4, is amended to read: 

15 Subd. 4. [DISPENSING OF HEARING INSTRUMENTS WITHOUT 

16 CERTIFICATE.] Except as provided in subdivisions 4a and 4c, and 

17 in sections 148.512 to 148.5198, it is unlawful for any person 

18 not holding a valid certificate to dispense a hearing instrument 

19 as defined in section 153A.13, subdivision 3. A person who 

20 dispenses a hearing instrument without the certificate required 

21 by this section is guilty of a gross misdemeanor. 

22 Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 153A.14, 

23 subdivision 4c, is amended to read: 

24 Subd. 4c. [RECIPROCITY.] (a) A person applying for 

25 certification as a hearing instrument dispenser under 

26 subdivision 1 who has dispensed hearing instruments in another 

27 jurisdiction may dispense hearing instruments as a trainee under 

28 indirect supervision if the person: 

29 (1) satisfies the provisions of subdivision 4a, paragraph 

3 o (a) ; 

31 (2) submits a signed and dated affidavit stating that the 

32 applicant is not the subject of a disciplinary action or past 

33 d~sciplinary action in this or another jurisdiction and is not 

34 disqualified on the basis of section 153A.15, subdivision 1; and 

35 (3) provides a copy of a current credential as a hearing 

36 instrument dispenser7-aH-attelie±e~isl:7-er-bel:h7 held in the 
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1 District of Columbia or a state or territory of the United 

2 States. 

3 (b) A person becoming a trainee under this subdivision who 

4 fails to take and pass the practical examination described in 

5 subdivision 2h, paragraph (a), clause (2), when next offered 

6 must cease dispensing hearing instruments unless under direct 

7 supervision. 

8 Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 153A.14, 

9 subdivision 9, is amended to read: 

10 Subd. 9. [CONSUMER RIGHTS %NF9RMA~%9N.] A hearing 

11 instrument dispenser shall7-ae-ehe-eime-e£-ehe-reeemmeRdaeieR-er 

12 ~reseri~eieR7-~ive-a-eeRsttmer-ri~hes-breehttre7-~re~ared-by-ehe 

13 ee:mmissieRer-aRd-eefteaiRiR~-iR£ermaeieR-abette-±e~a±-re~ttiremeftes 

14 ~ereaiRift~-ee-sa±es-e£-heariR~-iRserttmeRes7-ee-eaeh-~eeeReia± 

15 bttyer-e£-a-hearift~-iftserttmefte~--A-sa±es-eefteraee-£er-a-heariR~ 

16 ~ftserttmeRe-mttse-Reee-ehe-reeei~e-e£-ehe-breehttre-by-ehe-bttyer7 

17 a±eft~-wieh-ehe-bttyerLs-si~Raettre-er-iRieia±s comply with the 

18 requirements of sections 148.5195, subdivision 3, clause (20); 

19 148.5197; and 148.5198. 

20 Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 153A.15, 

21 subdivision 1, is amended to read: 

22 Subdivision 1. [PROHIBITED ACTS.] The commissioner may 

23 take enforcement action as provided under subdivision 2 against 

24 a dispenser of hearing instruments for the following acts and 

25 conduct: 

26 

27 ~eeeReia±-eeftsttmer-ehe-ttse-e£-a-heariR~-iftserttmeRe7-ttft±ess-ehe 

28 ~reseri~eieR-£rem-a-~hysieiaR-er-reeemmeRdaeieR-£rem-a-hearift~ 

29 iRserttmeRe-dis~eftser-er-attdie±e~ise-is-iR~wrieiR~7-is-based-eft 

30 aR-attdie~ram-ehae-is-de±ivered-ee-ehe-eeftsttmer-er-~eeeReia± 

31 eeftsttmer-wheR-ehe-~reseri~eieR-er-reeemmeftdaeieR~is-made7-aRd 

32 bears-ehe-£e±±ewiR~-iR£ermaeieR-iR-a~±-ea~iea±-±eeeers-e£ 

33 ~~-~eiRe-er-±ar~er-be±d£aee-eype~--u~H%S-PRES€R%P~%9N-9R 

34 RE€9MMENBA~%9N-MA¥-BE-F%nnEB-B¥7-ANB-HEAR%NS-%NS~RBMEN~S-MA¥-BE 

35 PBR€HASEB-FR9M7-~HE-€ER~%F%EB-B%SPENSER-9R-n%€ENSEB-ABB%9n9S%S~ 

36 9F-¥9BR-€H9%eEut 
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1 f ~t-£a~±:i:ng-~e-g:i:ve-a-ee~y-e£-~he-attd:i:egram7-tt~en-wh:i:eh-~he 

2 ~reser:i:~~:i:en-er-reeemmenda~:i:en-:i:s-:easea.,-~e-~he-eensttmer-wheR 

3 ~here-has-~een-a-eharge-£er-~he-attd:i:egram-and-~he-eensttmer 

4 re~ttes~s-a-ee~yt 

5 f3t dispensing -a hearing instrument to a minor person 18 

6 years or younger unless evaluated by an audiologist for hearing 

7 evaluation and hearing aid evaluation; 

8 f 4t-£a:i:±~Rg-~e-~rev:i:de-~he-eeRsttmer-r:i:gh~s-:ereehttre 

9 re~tt:i:rea-:ey-see~:i:eR-~53A.~47-stt5d:i:v:i:s:i:eR-9t 

10 f.5t ill being disciplined through a revocation, suspension, 

11 restriction, or limitation by another state for conduct subject 

12 to action under this chapter; 

13 f6t J1J_ presenting advertising that is false or misleading; 

L4 f~t l!l_ providing the commissioner with false or misleading 

15 statements of credentials, training, or experience; 

16 fSt ~ engaging in conduct likely to deceive, defraud, or 

17 harm the public; or demonstrating a willful or careless 

18 disregard for the health, welfare, or safety of a consumer; 

19 f9t l.§1 splitting fees or promising to pay a portion of a 

20 fee to any other professional other than a fee for services 

21 rendered by the other professional to the client; 

22 f~et J.21 engaging in abusive or fraudulent billing 

23 practices, including violations of federal Medicare and Medicaid 

~4 laws, Food and Drug Administration regulations, or state medical 

25 assistance laws; 

26 f~~t ~ obtaining money~ property, or services from a 

27 consumer through the use of undue influence, high pressure sales 

28 tactics, harassment, duress, deception, or fraud; 

29 f~~t-£a:i:±:i:Rg-~e-eem~±y-w:i:~h-res~r:i:e~:i:eRs-eR-sa±es-e£ 

30 hear:i:Rg-a:i:ds-:i:R-see~:i:ens-~53A.~4.,-stt5d:i:v:i:s:i:eR-97-aRd-~53A.~9t 

31 f~3t J.21. performing the services of a certified hearing 

32 instrument dispenser in an incompetent or negligent manner; 

33 f~4t .i!.21. failing to comply with the.requirements of this 

34 chapter as an employer, supervisor, or trainee; 

,.5 f~St J..!..!1 failing to provide information in a timely manner 

36 in response to a request by the commissioner, commissioner's 
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1 designee, or the advisory council; 

2 t~6t J_fil being convicted within the past five years of 

3 violating any laws of the United States, or any state or 

4 territory of the United States, and the violation is a felony, 

5 gross misdemeanor, or misdemeanor, an essential element of which 

6 relates to hearing instrument dispensing, except as provided in 

7 chapter 364; 

8 t~Tt ~ failing to cooperate with the commissioner, the 

9 commissioner's designee, or the advisory council in any 

10 investigation; 

11 t~et 1!!l failing to perform hearing instrument dispensing 

12 .with reasonable judgment, skill, or safety due to the use of 

13 alc-ohol or drugs, or other physical or mental impairment; 

14 t~9t J_ill failing to fully disclose actions taken against 

15 the applicant or the applicant's legal authorization to dispense 

16 hearing instruments in this or another state; 

17 tzet 1!§1 violating a state or federal court order or 

18 judgment, including a conciliation court judgment, relating to 

19 the activities of the applicant in hearing instrument 

20 dispensing; 

21 tz~t 1!2l having been or being disciplined by the 

22 commissioner of the Department of Health, or other· authority, in 

23 this or another jurisdiction, if any of the grounds for the 

24 discipline are the same or substantially equivalent to those in 

25 sections 153A.13 to 153A.19; 

26 tzzt ~ misrepresenting the purpose of hearing tests, or 

27 in any way communicating that the hearing test or hearing test 

28 protocol required by section 153A.14, subdivision 4b, is a 

29 medical evaluation, a diagnostic hearing evaluation conducted by 

30 an audiologist, or is other than a test to select a hearing 

31 instrument, except that the hearing instrument dispenser can 

32 determine the need for or recommend the consumer obtain a 

33 m~dical evaluation consistent with requirements of the United 

34 States Food and Drug Administration; 

35 tr3t Jl:2l violating any of the provisions of sections 

36 148.5195, subdivision 3, clause (20); 148.5197; 148.5198·; and 
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1 153A.13 to 3:53A.3:9 153A.18; and 

2 f~4t ~ aiding or abetting another person in violating 

3 any of the provisions of sections 148.5195, subdivision 3, 

4 clause. (20); 148.5197; 148.5198; and 153A.13 to 3:53A.3:9 153A.18. 

5 Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 153A.20, 

6 subdivision 1, is amended to read: 

7 Subdivision 1. [MEMBERSHIP.] The commissioner shall 

8 appoint ftiHe seven persons to a Hearing Instrument Dispenser 

9 Advisory Council. 

10 (a) The ftifte seven persons must include: 

11 (1) three ·public members, as defined in section 214.02. At 

12 least one of the public members shall be a hearing instrument 

13 user and one of the public members shall be either a hearing 

14 instrument user or an advocate of one; and 

15 (2) three hearing instrument dispensers certified under 

16 sections 153A.14 to 153A.20, each of whom is currently, and has 

17 been for the five years immediately preceding their appointment, 

18 engaged in hearing instrument dispensing in Minnesota and who 

19 represent the occupation of hearing instrument dispensing and 

20 who are not audiologists; and 

21 (3) ~hree-attaie%e~is~s-whe-are-eer~i£iea-hearift~-ifts~rttmeft~ 

22 ais~eftsers-er-are one audiologist licensed as attaie%e~is~s an 

23 audiologist under chapter 148 who dispenses hearing instruments, 

24 recommended by a professional association representing 

25 audiologists and speech-language pathologis~s. 

26 (b) The factors the commissioner may consider when 

27 appointing advisory council members include, but are not limited 

28 to, professional affiliation, geographical location, and type of 

29 practice. 

30 (c) No two members of the advisory council shall be 

31 employees of, or have binding contracts requiring sales 

32 exclusively for, the same hearing instrument manufacturer or the 

33 same employer. 

34 Sec. 19. [REVISOR'S INSTRUCTION.] 

15 The reviser of statutes shall change references from 

36 "sections 148.511 to 148.5196" to "sections 148.511 to 148.5198" 
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1 wherever they appear in Minnesota Statutes and Minnesota Rules, 

2 and change 11 153A.19 11 to 11 148.5197" in Minnesota Statutes, 

3 section 325G.203. 

4 Sec. 20. [REPEALER.] 

5 Minnesota statutes 2004, sections 153A.14, subdivisions 2a, 

6 8, and 10; and 153A.19, are repealed. 

7 Sec. 21. [EFFECTIVE DATE.] 

8 Sections 1 to 18 and 20 are effective August 1, 2005. 

9 ARTICLE 8 

10 OFFICE OF MENTAL HEALTH PRACTICES COMMITTEE 

11 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 148B.60,. is 

12 amended to read: 

13 148B.60 [DEFINITIONS.] 

14 Subdivision 1. [TERMS.] As used in sections 148B.60 to 

15 148B.71, the following terms have the meanings given them in 

16 this section. 

17 Subd. 2. [OFFICE OF MENTAL HEALTH PRACTICE OR OFFICE.] 

18 "Office of Mental Health Practice" or "office" means the Office 

19 of Mental Health Practice es~8~±fsaea authorized in section 

20 148B.61. 

21 Subd. 3. [UNLICENSED MENTAL HEALTH PRACTITIONER OR 

22 PRACTITIONER.] "Unlicensed mental health practitioner" or 

23 npractitioner" means a person who provides or purports to 

24 provide, for remuneration, mental health services as defined in 

25 subdivision 4. It does not include persons licensed by the 

26 Board of Medical Practice under chapter 147 or registered by the 

27 Board of Medical Practice under chapter 147A; the Board of 

28 Nursing under sections 148.171 to 148.285; the Board of 

29 Psychology under sections 148.88 to 148.98; the Board of Social 

30 Work under sections 148B.18 to 148B.289; the Board of Marriage 

31 and Family Therapy under sections 148B.29 to 148B.39; the Board 

32 of Behavioral Health and Therapy under sections 148B.50 to 

33 148B.593 and chapter 148C; or another licensing board if the 

34 person is practicing within the scope of the license; members of 

35 the clergy who are providing pastoral services in the context of 

36 performing and fulfilling the salaried duties and obligations 
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1 required of a member of the clergy by a religious congregation; 

2 American Indian medicine men and women; licensed attorneys; 

3 probation officers; school counselors employed by a school 

4 district while acting within the scope of employment as school 

5 counselors; re~~s~erea licensed occupational therapists; 

6 or licensed occupational therapy assistants. For the purposes 

7 of complaint investigation or disciplinary action relating to an 

8 individual practitioner, the term includes: 

9 (1) persons employed by a program licensed by the 

10 commissioner of human services who are acting as mental health 

11 practitioners within the scope of their employment; 

12 (2) persons employed by a program licensed by the 

13 commissioner of human services who are providing chemical 

14 dependency counseling services; persons who are providing 

15 chemical dependency counseling services in private practice; and 

16 (3) clergy who are providing mental health services that 

17 are equivalent to those defined in subdivision 4. 

18 Subd. 4. [MENTAL HEALTH SERVICES.] "Mental health 

19 services" means psychotherapy, behavioral health care, spiritual 

20 counseling, hypnosis when not for entertainment, and the 

21 professional assessment, treatment, or counseling of another 

22 person for a cognitive, behavioral, emotional, social, or mental 

23 condition, symptom, or dysfunction, including intrapersonal or 

24 interpersonal dysfunctions. The term does not include pastoral 

25 services provided by members of ·the clergy to members of a 

26 religious congregation in the context of performing and 

27 fulfilling the salaried duties and obligations required of a 

28 member of the clergy by that religious congregation or services 

29 provided by Christian Scientist practitioners. 

30 Subd. 5. [MENTAL HEALTH CLIENT OR CLIENT.] "Mental health 

31 client" or "client" means a person who receives or pays for the 

32 services of a mental health practitioner. 

33 Subd. 5a. [MENTAL-HEALTH-RELATED LICENSING 

34 BOARDS.] "Mental-health-related licensing boards" means the 

J5 Boards of Medical Practice, Nursing, Psychology, Social Work, 

36 Marriage and Family Th~rapy, and Behavioral Health and Therapy. 
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1 saea~-~~--teSMM%SS%9NBR~t-ueeltUllissieHeru-meaHs-ene 

2 eeltUllissieHer-e£-nea±en-er-eae-eeltUllissieHerLs-aesi~nee~ 

3 Subd. 7a. [COMMITTEE.] "Committee" means the Office of 

4 Mental Health Practices Committee, consisting of one person 

5 appointed by each of the following licensing boards: the Board 

6 of Medical Practice; the Board of Nursing; the Board of 

7 Psychology; the Board of Social Work; the Board of Marriage and 

8 Family Therapy; and the Board of Behavioral Health and Therapy. 

9 Subd. 8. [DISCIPLINARY ACTION.] "Disciplinary action" 

10 means an adverse action taken by the commissioner against an 

11 unlicensed mental health practitioner relating to the person's 

12 right to provide mental health services. 

13 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 148B.61, is 

14 amended to read: 

15 148B.61 [OFFICE OF MENTAL HEALTH PRACTICE.] 

16 Subdivision 1. [€RBA~%9N AUTHORITY.] ~The Office of 

17 Mental Health Practice is ereaeea-in-ene-Be~aremene~er-Hea±ea 

18 transferred to the mental-health-related licensing boards. The 

19 mental-health-related licensing boards shall convene an Off ice 

20 of Mental Health Practices Committee to investigate complaints 

21 and take and enforce disciplinary actions against all unlicensed 

22 mental health practitioners for violations of prohibited 

23 conduct, as defined in section 148B.68. 

24 J.El The e££iee committee shall publish a complaint 

25 telephone number, provide an informational Web site, and also 

26 serve as a referral point and clearinghouse on complaints 

27 against mental health serviees-ana-eeen-±ieensea-ana-ttn±ieensea 

28 menea±-aea±en-~re£essiena±s7-earett~a-eae-aissemina~ien 

29 er practitioners. The committee shall disseminate ·objective 

30 information to consumers ana through the development and 

31 performance of public education activities, including outreach, 

32 regarding the provision of mental health services and both 

33 licensed and unlicensed mental health professionals who provide 

34 these services. 

35 Stt~a~-~~--fRB~EMA*%Ns~t-~ae-ee~~ss~eHer-e£-aea%ea-saa±± 

36 aae~e-rtt±es-neeessary-ee-~m~%emeft~7-aam~ft~seer7-er-en£eree 
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1 prev~s~ens-e£-see~~ens-~4SB.60-~e-~4SB~T~-pttrsttan~-~e-ehap~er 

2 ~4.--~he-eemm~ss~ener-may-ne~-adep~-rtt±es-~ha~-res~r~e~-er 

3 preh~5~~-persens-frem-prev~d~n~-men~a±-hea±~h-serv~ees-en-~he 

4 5as~s-e£-edttea~~eft7-~ra~ft~ft~7-e~per~enee7-er-sttperv~s~en. 

5 Subd. 4. [MANAGEMENT, REPORT, AND SUNSET OF THE 

6 OFFICE.] (a) The committee shall: 

7 (1) designate one board to provide administrative 

8 management of the committee; 

9 (2) set the program budget; and 

10 (3) ensure that the committee's direction is in accord with 

11 its authority. 

12 (b) If the participating boards change which board is 

13 designated to provide adniinistrative management of the 

14 committee, any appropriation remaining.for the committee shall 

15 transfer to the newly designated board on the effective date of 

16 the change. The participating boards must inform the 

17 appropriate legislative committees and the commissioner of 

18 finance ~f any change in the designated board and the amount of 

19 any appropriation transferred under this provision. 

20 (c) The designated board shall hire the office employees 

21 and pay expenses of the committee from funds appropriated for 

22 that purpose. 

23 (d) After July 1, 2008, the committee shall prepare and 

24 submit a report to the legislature by January 15, 2009, 

25 evaluating the activity of the office and making recommendations 

26 concerning the regulation of unlicensed mental health 

27 practitioners. In the absence of legislative action to continue 

28 the committee, the committee expires on June 30, 2009. 

29 Sec. 3. Laws 2003·, chapter 118, section 29, as amended by 

30 Laws 2004, chapter 279, article 5, section 10, is amended to 

31 read: 

32 Sec. 29. [REPEALER.] 

33 (a) Minnesota Statutes 2002, sections 148B.60; 148B.61; 

34 148B.63; 148B.64; 148B.65; 148B.66; 148B.67; 148B.68; 148B.69; 

35 148B.70; and 148B.71, are repealed. 

36 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This paragraph is effective July 1, 
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1 zees 2009. 

2 (b) Minnesota Statutes 2002, section 148C.Ol, subdivision 

3 6, is repealed. 

4 [EFFECTIVE DATE.] This paragraph is effective July 1, 2005. 

5 Sec. 4. [APPROPRIATION.] 

6 $205,000 is appropriated from the state government special 

7 revenue fund to the board designated to provide administrative 

8 management under Minnesota Statutes, section 148B.61, 

9 subdivision 4. The following boards shall be assessed a 

10 prorated amount depending on the number of licensees under the 

11 board's regulatory authority providing mental health services 

12 within their scope of practice: the Board of Medical Practice, 

13 the Board of Nursing, the Board of Psychology, the Board of 

14 Social Work, the Board of Marriage and Family Therapy, and the 

15 Board of Behavioral Health and Therapy. 

16 Sec. 5. [REVISOR INSTRUCTION.] 

17 The reviser of statutes shall insert "committee" or 

18 "committee's" wherever "commissioner of health" or · 

19 "commissioner's" appears in Minnesota Statutes, sections 148B.60 

20 to 148B.71. 

21 Sec. 6. [EFFECTIVE DATE.] 

22 This article is effective July 1, 2005. 

23 ARTICLE 9 

24 MISCELLANEOUS 

25 Section 1. Minnesota statutes 2004, section 148.5194, is 

26 amended by adding a subdivision to read: 

27 Subd. 7. [PENALTY FEES.] (a) The penalty fee for 

28 practicing speech language pathology or audiology without a 

29 current license after the credentiat has expired and before it 

30 is renewed is the amount of the license renewal fee for any part 

31 of the first month, plus the license renewal fee for any part of 

32 any subsequent month up to 36 months. 

33 (b) The penalty fee for applicants who engage in the 

34 unauthorized practice of speech language pathology or audiology 

35 before being issued a license is the amount of the license 

36 application fee for any part of the first month, plus the 
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1 license application fee for any part of any subsequent month up 

2 to 36 months. This paragraph does not apply to applicants not 

3 qualifying for a license who engage in the unauthorized practice 

4 of speech language pathology or audiology. 

5 (c) The penalty fee for failing to submit a continuing 

6 education report by the due date with the correct number or type 

7 of hours in the correct time period is $100 plus $20 for each 

8 missing clock hour. The licensee must obtain the mis~ing number 

9 of continuing education hours by the next reporting due date. 

10 (d) Civil penalties and discipline incurred by licensees 

11, prior to August 1, 2005, for conduct described in paragraph (a), 

12 (b), or (c) shall be recorded as nondisciplinary penalty fees. 

13 For conduct described in paragraph (a) or (b) occurring after 

L4 August 1, 2005, and exceeding six months, payment of a penalty 

15 fee does not preclude any disciplinary action reasonably 

16 justified by the individual case. 

17 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 148.6445, is 

18 amended by adding a subdivision to read: 

19 Subd. 11. [PENALTY FEES.] (a) The penalty fee for 

20 practicing occupational therapy without a current license after 

21 the credential has expired and before it is renewed is the 

22 amount of the license renewal fee for any part of the first 

23 month, plus the license renewal fee for any.part of any 

14 subsequent month up to 36 months. 

25 (b) The penalty fee for applicants who engage in the 

26 unauthorized·practice of occupational therapy before being 

27 issued a license is the amount of the license application fee 

28 for any part of the first month, plus the license application 

29 fee for any part of any subsequent month up to 36 months. This 

30 paragraph does not apply to applicants not qualifying for a 

31 license who engage in the unauthorized practice of occupational 

32 therapy. 

33 (c) The penalty fee for failing to submit a continuing 

34 education report by the due date with the correct number or type 

5 of hours in the correct time period is $100 plus $20 for each 

36 missing clock hour. The licensee must obtain the missing number 
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1 of continuing education hours by the next reporting due date. 

2 (d) civil penalties and discipline incurred by licensees 

3 prior to August 1, 2005, for conduct described in paragraph (a), 

4 (b), or (c) shall be recorded as nondisciplinary penalty fees. 

5 For conduct described in paragraph (a) or (b) occurring after 

6 August 1, 2005, and exceeding six months, payment of a penalty 

7 fee does not ·preclude any disciplinary action reasonably 

8 justified by the individual case. 

9 sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 148C.12, is 

10 amended by adding a subdivision to read: 

11 Subd. 11. [PENALTY FEES.] (a) The penalty fee for 

12 practicing alcohol and drug counseling without a current license 

13 after the· credential has expired and before it is renewed is the 

14 amount of the license renewal fee for any part of the first 

15 month, plus the license renewal fee for any part of any 

16 subsequent month up to 36 months. 

17 (b) The penalty fee for applicants who engage in the 

18 unauthorized practice of alcohol and drug counseling before 

19 being issued a license is the amount of the license application 

20 fee for any part of the first month, plus the license 

21 application fee for any part of any subsequent month up to 36 

22 months. This paragraph does not apply to applicants not 

23 qualifying for a license who engage in the unauthorized.practice 

24 of alcohol and drug counseling. 

25 (c) The penalty fee for failing to submit a continuing 

26 education report by the due date with the correct number or type 

27 of hours in the correct time period is $100 plus $20 for each 

28 missing clock hour. The licensee must obtain the correct number 

29 of continuing education hours by the next reporting due date. 

30 (d) Ciyil penalties and discipline incurred by licensees 

31 prior to August 1, 2005, for conduct described in paragraph (a), 

32 (b), or (c) shall be recorded as nondisciplinary penalty fees. 

33 For conduct described in paragraph (a) or (b) occurring after 

34 August 1, 2005, and exceeding 12 months, payment of a penalty 

35 fee does not preclude any disciplinary action reasonably 

36 justified by the individual case. 
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1 Sec. 4. [153A.175] [PENALTY FEES.] 

2 (a) The penalty fee for holding oneself out as a hearing 

3 instrument dispenser without a current certificate after the 

4 credential has expired and before it is renewed is one-half the 

5 amount of the certificate renewal fee for any part of the first 

6 day, plus one-half the certificate renewal fee for any part of 

7 any subsequent days up to 30 days. 

8 (b) The penalty fee for applicants who hold themselves out 

9 as hearing instrument dispensers after expiration of the trainee 

10 period and before being issued a certificate is one-half the 

11 amount of the certificate application fee for any part of the 

12 first day, plus one-half the certificate application fee for any 

13 part of any subsequent days up to 30 days. This paragraph does 

14 not apply to applicants not qualifying for a certificate who 

15 hold themselves out as hearing instrument dispensers. 

16 (c) The penalty fee for failing to submit a continuing 

17 education report by the due date with the correct number or type 

18 of hours in the correct time period is $200 plus $200 for each 

19 missing clock hour. The certificate holder must obtain the 

20 missing number of continuing education hours by the next 

21 reporting due date. 

22 (d) Civil penalties and discipline incurred by certificate 

23 holders prior to August 1, 2005, for conduct described in 

24 paragraph (a), (b), or (c) shall be recorded as nondisciplinary 

25 penalty fees. Payment of a penalty fee does not preclude any 

26 disciplinary action reasonably justified by the individual case. 

27 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 214.06, 

28 subdivision 1, is amended to read: 

29 Subdivision 1. [FEE ADJUSTMENT.] Notwithstanding any law 

30 to the contrary, the commissioner of health as authorized by 

31 section 214.13, all health-related licensing boards and all 

32 non-health-related licensing boards shall by rule, with the 

33 approval of the commissioner of finance, adjust, as needed, any 

34 fee which the commissioner of health or the board is empowered 

15 to assess. As provided in section 16A.1285, the adjustment 

36 shall be an amount sufficient so that the total fees collected 
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1 by each board will as-eieseiy-as-~ess~~ie-e~aai be based on 

2 anticipated expenditures aa~~n~-~he-r~seai-~~enn~am, including 

3 expenditures for the programs authorized by sections z%4•%T-~e 

4 z~4.%5-ana-z%4•~%-~e-z%4•~T 214.10, 214.103, 214.11, 214.17 to 

5 214.24, 214.28 to 214.37, and 214.40, except that a 

6 health-related licensing board may have anticipated expenditures 

7 in excess of anticipated revenues in a biennium by using 

8 accumulated surplus revenues from fees collected by that board 

9 in previous bienniums. A health-related licensing board shall 

10 not spend more money than the amount appropriated by the 

11 legislature for a biennium. For members of an occupation 

12 registered after July 1, 1984, by the commissioner of health 

13 under the provisions of section 214.13, the fee established must 

14 include an amount necessary to recover, over a five-year period, 

15 the commissioner's direct expenditures for adoption of the rules 

16 providing for registration of members of the occupation. All 

17 fees received shall be deposited in the state treasury. Fees 

18 

19 

20 

21 

22 

23 

24 

25 

26 

27 

28 

29 

30 

31 

32 

~eee~vea-~y-~he-eemm~ss~ener-e£-heai~h-er-heai~h-reia~ea 

~~eens~n~-~earas-mas~-~e-erea~~ea-~e-~he-hea~~h-eeea~a~~eRs 

~~eeRs~R~-aeeean~-~n-~he-s~a~e-~evernmen~-s~ee~a~-~evenae-£ana. 

Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 214.06, is 

amended by adding a subdivision to read: 

Subd. 1a. [HEALTH OCCUPATIONS LICENSING ACCOUNT.] Fees 

received by the commissioner of health or health-related 

licensing boards must be credited to the health occupations 

licensing account in the state government special revenue fund. 

The commissioner of finance shall ensure that the revenues and 

expenditures of each health-related licensing board are tracked 

separately in the health occupations licensing account. 

ARTICLE 10 

EMERGENCY MEDICAL SERVICES REGULATORY BOARD 

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 144E.001, 

33 subdivision 8, is amended to read: 

34 Subd. 8. [LICENSEE.] "Licensee" means a natural person, 

35 partnership, association, corporation, Indian tribe, or unit of 

36 government which possesses an ambulance service license. 

Article 10 Section 1 172 



[SENATEE ] SS1204CE1 

1 sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 144E.001, is 

2 amended by adding a subdivision to read: 

3 Subd. 14a. [TRIBE.] "Tribe" means a federally recognized 

4 Indian tribe, as defined in United States Code, title 25, 

5 section 450b, paragraph (e), located within the state of 

6 Minnesota. 

7 sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 144E.001, 

8 subdivision 15, is amended to read: 

9 Subd. 15. [VOLUNTEER AMBULANCE ATTENDANT.] "Volunteer 

10 ambulance attendant" means a person who provides emergency 

11 medical services for a Minnesota licensed ambulance service 

12 without the expectation of remuneration and who does not depend 

13 in any way upon the provision of these services for the person's 

14 livelihood. An individual may be considered a volunteer 

15 ambulance attendant even though the individual receives an 

16 hourly stipend for each hour of actual service provided, except 

17 for hours on standby alert, or other nominal fee, and even 

18 though the hourly stipend or other nominal fee is regarded as 

19 taxable income for purposes of state or federal law, provided 

20 that the hourly stipend and other nominal fees do not exceed 

21 $37000-wf~hfn-ene-yea~-e£-~he-£fna~-ee~~f£fea~fen 

22 e~amfna~fen $6,000 annually. 

23 Sec. 4. [144E.266] [EMERGENCY SUSPENSION OF AMBULANCE 

24 SERVICE REQUIREMENT.] 

25 (a) The requirements of sections 144E.10; 144E.101, 

26 subdivisions 1, 2, 3, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, and 13; 144E.103; 

27 144E.12; 144E.121; 144E.123; 144E.127; and 144E.15, are 

28 suspended: 

29 (1) throughout the state during a national security 

30 emergency declared under section 12.31; 

31 (2) in the geographic areas of the state affected during a 

32 peacetime emergency declared under section 12.31; and 

33 (3) in the geographic areas of the state affected during a 

34 local emergency declared under section 12.29. 

35 (b) For purposes of this section, the geographic areas of 

36 the state affected shall include geographic areas where one or 
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1 more ambulance services are providing requested mutual aid to 

2 the site of the emergency. 

3 sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 144E.27, 

4 subdivision 2, is amended to read: 

5 Subd. 2. [REGISTRATION.] To be eligible for registration 

6 with the board as a first responder, an individual 

7 shall complete a board-approved application form and: 

s (1) successfully complete a board-approved initial first 

9 responder training program. Registration under this clause is 

10 valid for two years and expires at the end of the month in which 

11 the registration was issued; or 

12 (2) be credentialed as a first responder by the National 

13 Registry of Emergency Medical Technicians. Registration under 

14 this clause expires the same day as the National Registry 

15 credential. 

16 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 144E.28, 

17 subdivision 1, is amended to read: 

18 Subdivision 1. [REQUIREMENTS.] To be eligible for 

19 certification by the board as an EMT, EMT-I, or EMT-P, an 

20 individual shall: 

21 (1) successfully complete the United States Department of 

22 Transportation course, or its equivalent as approved by the 

23 board, specific to the EMT, EMT-I, ·or EMT-P classification; aHa 

24 (2) pass the written and practical examinations approved by 

25 the board and administered by the board or its designee, 

26 specific to the EMT, EMT-I, or EMT-P classification; and 

27 (3) complete a board-approved application form. 

28 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 144E.28, 

29 subdivision 3, is amended to read: 

30 Subd. 3. [RECIPROCITY.] The board may certify an 

31 individual who possesses a current National Registry of 

32 Emergency Medical Technicians registration from another 

33 jurisdiction if the individual submits a board-approved 

34 application form. The board certification classification shall 

35 be the same as the National Registry's classification. 

36 Certification shall be for the duration of the applicant's 
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1 registration period in another jurisdiction, not to exceed two 

2 years. 

3 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 144E.28, 

4 subdivision 7, is amended to read: 

5 Subd. 7. [RENEWAL.] (a) Before the expiration date of 

6 certification, an applicant for renewal of certification as an 

7 EMT shall: 

8 (1) successfully complete a course in cardiopulmonary 

9 resuscitation that is approved by the board or the licensee's 

10 medical director; aHd 

11 (2) take the United States Department of .Transportation EMT 

12 refresher course and successfully pass the practical skills test 

13 portion of the course, or successfully complete 48 hours of 

.4 continuing education in EMT programs that are consistent with 

15 the United States Department of Transportation National Standard 

16 Curriculum or its equivalent as approved by the board or as 

17 approved by the licensee's medical director and pass a practical 

18 skills test approved by the board and administered by a training 

19 program approved by the board. The cardiopulmonary 

20 resuscitation course and practical skills test may be included 

21 as part of the refresher course or continuing education renewal 

22 requirements. Twenty-four of the 48 hours must include at least 

23 four hours of instruction in each of the following six 

-:a4 categories: 

25 (i) airway management and resuscitation procedures; 

26 (ii) circulation, bleeding control, and shock; 

27 (iii) human anatomy and physiology, patient assessment, and 

28 medical emergencies; 

29 (iv) injuries involving musculoskeletal, nervous, 

30 digestive, and genito-urinary systems; 

31 (v) environmental emergencies and rescue techniques; and 

32 (vi) emergency childbirth and other special situations; and 

33 (3) complete a board-approved application form. 

34 (b) Before the expiration date of certification, an 

5 applicant for renewal of certification as an EMT-I or EMT-P 

36 shall: 
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1 (1) for an EMT-I, successfully complete a course in 

2 cardiopulmonary resuscitation that is approved by the board or 

3 the licensee's medical director and for an EMT-P, successfully 

4 complete a course in advanced cardiac life support that is 

5 approved by the board or the licensee's medical director; aRa 

6 (2) successfully complete 48 hours of continuing education 

7 in emergency medical training programs, appropriate to the level 

8 of the applicant's EMT-I or EMT-P certification, that are 

9 consistent with the United States Department of Transportation 

10 National Standard Curriculum or its equivalent as approved by 

11 the board or as approved by the licensee's medical director. An 

12 applicant may take the United States Department of 

13 

14 

15 

16 

17 

18 

19 

20 

21 

22 

23 

24 

25 

26 

27 

28 

29 

30 

31 

32 

33 

34 

35 

36 

Transportation Emergency Medical Technician refresher course or 

its equivalent without the written or practical test as approved 

by the board, and as appropriate to the applicant's level of 

certification, as part of the 48 hours of continuing education. 

Each hour of the refresher course, the cardiopulmonary 

resuscitation course, and the advanced cardiac life support 

course counts toward the 48-hour continuing ed~cation 

requirement; and 

(3) complete a board-approved application form. 

(c) Certification shall be renewed every two years. 

(d) If the applicant does not meet the renewal requirements 

under this subdivision, the applicant's certification expires. 

Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2004, section 144E.28, 

subdivision 8, is amended to read: 

Subd. 8. [REINSTATEMENT.] (a) Within four years of a 

certification expiration date, a person whose certification has 

expired under subdivision 7, paragraph (d), may have the 

certification reinstated upon submission of~ 

.1!l evidence to the board of training equivalent to the 

continuing education requirements of subdivision 7; and 

(2) a board-approved application form. 

(b) If more than four years have passed since a certificate 

expiration date, an applicant must complete t~e initial 

certification process required under subdivision 1. 
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Chief Author: KISCADEN, SHEILA 

Title: HEAL TH OCCUP LICENSING PROVISIONS 

Agency Name: Health Dept 

Fiscal Impact 
State 

Local 

Fee/Departmental Earnings 

Tax Revenue 

Yes No 
x 

x 
x 

x 

T. fl fi fl td• th his table re ects 1scal impact to state Qovemment. Local Qovemment impact 1s re ec e m f e narra 1ve ornv. 
Dollars (in thousands) FY05 FY06 FY07 FY08 FY09 

Expenditures 
State Govt Special Revenue Fund (39) (39) (39) (39) 

Less Agency Can Absorb 
-- No Impact -
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Revenues 
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Bill Description: 
Articles 5, 7 and 9 concern occupations regulated by the Minnesota Department Of Health: 
In Article 5, Section 11 concerns alcohol and drug counselor (ADC) licensing and amends the commissioner's 
duties by deleting responsibility to administer written and oral examinations and repeals the alcohol and drug 
counselor advisory council and its committees; Sections 12 and 13 create an option to obtain 2,000 hours of 
supervised post-degree professional practice in lieu of the examination requirement to qualify for licensing; 
Section 15 defines the content of supervised post-degree professional practice and the requirements for 
supervisors; Sections 18, 19, 20 and 21 modify the transition period requirements for hospital and public 
employees exempt from licensing requirements; and Section 22 increases the temporary permit fee. 

Article 7 concerns audiologist and non-audiologist hearing instrument dispensers and repeals a requirement that 
licensed audiologists be certified as hearing instrument dispensers, copies into the audiology licensing law the 
consumer protection provisions from the certification reg.ulations and repeals corresponding provisions in the 
certification law, and provides for a new surcharge fee in the audiology licensing system to cover the costs of 
investigating hearing instrument consumer complaints against audiologists. 

Article 9 establishes penalty fees for practitioners in the occupations of alcohol and drug counseling, audiology, 
hearing instrument dispensing, occupational therapy and speech language pathology when applicants for 
credentials and renewal of credentials practice without current, valid licenses or do not submit completed 
continuing education reports as required by their practice acts. The legislation ·also characterizes the civil 
penalties for such violations non-disciplinary actions so that it is not a public and permanent sanction of record. 

Assumptions 
Article 5, all Sections: Effective July 1, 2005, administration of the licensing system for alcohol and drug 
counselors transfers from the Minnesota Department of Health (MOH) to the Board of Behavioral Health and 
Therapy (BBHT). Therefore, the amendments in Article 5 have no fiscal impact to MOH for FY'06 through FY'09. 

Article 7, all sections: The legislation reduces credentialing and investigation/enforcement costs in the amount of 
$79,000 annually in the hearing instrument dispenser certification· system because 227 audiologists would no 
longer be certified. The legislation shifts the activity of investigating consumer complaints against audiologists 
from the hearing instrument dispenser certification system to the speech language pathology and audiology 
(SLPA) licensing system. Investigation and enforcement activities in the SLPA licensing system that concern the 
sale of hearing aids would be paid for by a new surcharge fee. All audiologists (n = 340) would pay the surcharge 
fee regardless of whether they dispensed hearing aids in their practice. The competency review committee of the 
SLPA licensing system will have increased activity from the investigation of hearing aid consumer complaints. 
Therefore, approximately $40,000 in expenditures is added to the audiology licensing system to cover the cost of 
investigation and enforcement activities. The investigation costs are based on MOH regulation of hearing 
instrument dispensing in past years. Over the last five years (2000 ..... 2004), approximately 40% of the complaints 
against certified dispensers concerned audiologists, and, therefore, .4FTE of an investigator's time is subtracted 
from the certification system and added to the SLPA licensing system. 

Article 9, all sections: The amendment is revenue neutral because fee receipts from civil penalty for violations for 
illegal practice and non-compliance with continuing education requirements are not expected to change. The 
legislation affects the process by which practitioners are held accountable and the number or rate of violations by 
practitioners is expected to be the same. The civil penalty amounts established in the legislation are equivalent to 
penalties currently assessed for the same violations. Staff resources will remain the same as accountability 
procedures will shift to credentialing staff from investigation/enforcement staff. 

Expenditure and/or Revenue Formula 
Article 7: Expenditure Reduction: Eliminating credentialing, investigation and enforcement activities for 
audiologists in the certification system (n = 227) will reduce annual costs by ($79,000). 

Revenue Reduction: Annual revenues in the certification system will be reduced by ($79,000) because 227 
audiologists will no longer pay an annual $350.00 certification fee. 

Expenditure Increase: Annual expenditures in the SLPA licensing system will increase by approximately $40,000 
because of additional investigation and enforcement activity involving selling of hearing instruments by 
audiologists that was previously conducted in the certification licensing system. 
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Revenue calculation: The estimated annual costs of investigations and enforcement actions in the SLPA 
licensing system of $39,715 will be paid for by a new biennial fee of $235 paid by each licensed audiologist (n = 
342). The estimated investigation and enforcement costs are based on the record of complaints against hearing 
aid dispensers between FY2000 and FY2004 showing that 40% concerned audiologists. Surcharge revenues will 
be collected in one of four renewal periods occurring in each biennium, except for the first surcharge fee, which 
must be prorated based on the number of months remaining between the effective date (coinciding with the 
certification renewal date of November ~ each year) and the biennial license renewal period for each audiologist. 

long-Term Fiscal Considerations 
Article 7: The changes in expenditures and revenues are .expected to be ongoing, but may be adjusted in future 
years if the level of consumer complaints against audiologists changes and affects investigation and enforcement 
expenses. 

local Government Costs 
N/A 

References/Sources 
All articles and sections: 
Agency Contact Name: Tom Hiendlmayr (651.282.5626) 

Agency Contact Name: Tom Hiendlmayr (651-282-5626) 
FN Coord Signature: DAVE HOVET 
Date: 05/03/05 Phone: 215-0389 

EBO Comments 

I have reviewed this Fiscal Note for accuracy and content. 

EBO Signature: CRAIG WIEBER 
Date: 05/03/05 Phone: 282-5065 
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Fiscal Note - 2005-06 Session 

Bill#: 81204-1 E (R) Complete Date: 04/20/05 

Chief Author: KISCADEN, SHEILA 

Title: HEAL TH OCCUP LICENSING PROVISIONS 

Agency Name: Dentistry Board 

Fiscal Impact Yes No 
State x 
local x 
Fee/Departmental Earnings x 
Tax Revenue x 

Th. t bl fl t fi I . tt t t L 1s a e re ec s 1sca 1mpac o s ate governmen . fl d. h f oca government impact 1s re ecte mt e narra 1ve on1v. 
Dollars (in thousands) FY05 FY06 FY07 FY08 FY09 

Expenditures 
- No Impact-

Less Agency Can Absorb 
- No Impact-

Net Expenditures 
- No Impact-

Revenues 
Health Related Boards Fund 3 3 3 3 

Net Cost <Savings> 
Health Related Boards Fund (3) (3) (3) (3) 
Total Cost <Savings> to the State (3) (3) (3) (3) 

FY05 FY06 FY07 FY08 FY09 
Full Time Equivalents 

-No Impact-
Total FTE 
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Bill Description 
SF1204-1 E places existing Board of Dentistry fees established in Rule into MN Statute, increases the fee for 
duplicate licenses, initiates a new fee for applications for anesthesia/conscious sedation permits, and (in the 
original HF1865) proposes a change related to supervision levels in Collaborative Agreements. 

Assumptions 

The fee structure has been established in Rule 
The Board is now required to address fees legislatively (in statute) 

11 The fees reflect annualized rates that have been applied to recently adopted and implemented (2004) biennial 
cycles 

11 The fee for duplicate licenses must be raised to cover costs 
Applications for anesthesia/conscious sedation permits are increasing in volume, and review of the 
applications involves staff and Board member time and money 

111 On-site anesthesia/sedation inspection fees are paid to the third party conducting the inspection 

Expenditure and/or Revenue Formula 

Fee Increase 
1. Duplicate Licenses 

Current: -130 duplicate licenses per year @ $20 = $ 2,600 
Proposed: -130 duplicate licenses per year @ $35 = $ 4,550 

Expenditures remain stable; revenues increase by $ 1,950/yr to cover duplicate license costs 

New Fee 
2. Anesthesia/Conscious Sedation Permits 

Proposed: -25 permits per year@$50 = $ 1,250 

Revenues increase by $1,250/yr related to anesthesia/sedation permit application review 

long-Term Fiscal Considerations 

The change from annual to biennial license renewal allows the Board to better manage work flow, and 
significantly reduces the need for overtime and temporary staff. 

The fee changes for duplicate licenses and anesthesia permits reflect the Board's positi"on that appropriate 
charges should be assessed to cover costs of additional services requested. 

local Government Costs 

None 

References/Sources 

N/A 

FN Coard Signature: JULI VANGSNESS 
Date: 04/12/05 Phone: 617-2120 
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EBO Comments 

I have reviewed this Fiscal Note for accuracy and content. 

EBO Signature: DOUG GREEN 
Date: 04/20/05 Phone: 286-5618 
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Fiscal Note - 2005-06 Session 

Bill#: S1204-1 E (R) Complete Date: 04/20/05 

Chief Author: KISCADEN, SHEILA 

Title: HEAL TH OCCUP LICENSING PROVISIONS 

Agency Name: Physical Therapy, Board of 

Fiscal Impact Yes No 
State x 
Local x 
Fee/Departmental Earnings x 
Tax Revenue x 

This table reflects fiscal impact to state Qovemment. Local Qovemment impact is reflected in the narrative only. 
Dollars (in thousands) FY05 FY06 FY07 FYOS FY09 

Expenditures 
-No Impact-

Less Agency Can Absorb 
- No Impact-

Net Expenditures 
-- No Impact -

Revenues 
- No Impact-

Net Cost <Savings> 
-- No Impact-
Total Cost <Savings> to the State 

FY05 FY06 FY07 FY08 FY09 
Full Time Equivalents 

-No lmoact-
Total FTE 
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Bill Description 

SF 1204-1 E Health Occup Violations Penalty Fees 

Article 2 pertains to the Physical Therapists Practice Act - moving definitions of physical therapists assistants and 
physical therapy aides from rule to statute; adding definitions of student PT's and PT A's; addition of provisions for 
cancellation of a PT license; adding grounds for discipline related to supervision and delegation to students, and 
for practice under lapsed or non-renewed credentials; adding provision for mental or physical examination; adding 
temporary suspension provision; and providing for the issuance of a physical therapist license based on PT 
licenses in 3 other states and one foreign country between 1980 and 1995. 

Assumptions 
The entire bill will not add cost for the board. The majority of the bill is adding definitions that will not add cost to 
the board. The special conditions for issuing a PT license (PT licensure in 3 other states and 1 foreign country 
between 1980 and 1995) will apply to only one individual. 

Expenditure and/or Revenue Formula 

N/A 

long-Term Fiscal Considerations 

No 

local Government Costs 

No 

FN Coord Signature: JULI VANGSNESS 
Date: 04/12/05 Phone: 617-2120 

EBO Comments 

I have reviewed this Fiscal Note for accuracy and content. 

EBO Signature: DOUG GREEN 
Date: 04/20/05 Phone: 286-5618 
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Fiscal Note - 2005-06 Session 

Bill#: S1204-1 E (R) Complete Date: 04/20/05 

Chief Author: KISCADEN, SHEILA 

Title: HEAL TH OCCUP LICENSING PROVISIONS 

Agency Name: Behavioral Health & Therapy Bd 

Fiscal Impact 
State 

Local 

Fee/Departmental Earnings 

Tax Revenue 

Yes No 
x 

x 
x 

x 

This table reflects fiscal impact to state Qovemment. Local Qovemment impact is reflected in the narrative only. 
Dollars (in thousands) FY05 FY06 FY07 FYOS FY09 

Expenditures 
Health Related Boards Fund 

less Agency Can Absorb 
-- No Impact -

Net Expenditures 
Health Related Boards Fund 

Revenues 
Health Related Boards Fund (23) (18) (18) (18) 

Net Cost <Savings> 
Health Related Boards Fund 23 18 18 18 
Total Cost <Savings> to the State 23 18 18 18 

FY05 FY06 FY07 FY08 FY09 
Full Time Equivalents 

-No Impact-

Total FTE 
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Bill Description 
SF-1204-1E 

Portion of bill relating to licensed professional counselors: 
First, modifying certain provisions governing the licensing of licensed professional counselors (LPC) by the Board 
of Behavioral Health and Therapy; broadening certain general requirements for licensure qualification purposes; 
permitting post-degree completion of certain degree requirements for licensure under certain conditions; 
modifying certain continuing education requirements; providing for certain retaliatory actions; expanding the 
grounds for disciplinary action; authorizing and providing for temporary suspension of licenses under certain 
conditions; authorizing the board to require submission to mental, physical or chemical dependency examination 
or evaluations upon probable cause, failure to submit to constitutes an admission of the allegations, exception, 
granting the board access to certain medical data and health records; providing for assessment tool security; 
authorizing the board to use the expedited rulemaking process to adapt and amend rules for conformity purposes. 

Second, the addition of a two-year "grandparenting" period will qualify some counselors with five years of 
experience post-degree to be licensed with the board. 

Portion of bill relating to licensed alcohol and drug counselors. 
First, r~garding alcohol and drug counselors (ADC) licensing and amendments to Minnesota Statutes Ch. 148C 
only, and beginning with section 11, the bill modifies the commissioner's duties by deleting responsibility to 
administer written and oral examination, creates an option to obtain 2,000 hours of supervised post-degree 
professional practice in lieu of the oral examination requirement to qualify for licensure, defines the content of 
supervised post-degree professional practice and the requirements for supervisors, changes the transition period 
requirements for hospital and public employees and repeals the alcohol and drug counselor advisory council and 
its committees. 

Second, the bill extends the dates requiring licensing for hospital and public employees from January 1, 2006 to 
January 1, 2007. The bill also clarifies exemption language, creates an option to obtain 2,000 hours of 
supervision in lieu of an examination requirement for applicants licensed or registered in a profession excepted 
from the licensing requirements, creates an additional option in the transition requirements for hospital and public 
employees to become licensed and increases the temporary permit renewal fee from $100 to $150 per year. 

Assumptions 
Portion of bill relating to licensed professional counselors: 
First, the primary purpose of this bill is house keeping - it also includes provisions on temporary suspension of 
licensed professional counselors, post-degree completion of requirements for licensure, and a two-year 
grandparenting provision for experienced counselors to obtain licensure. 

This bill will allow more individuals to become licensed under the licensed professional counselor licensure 
requirements. This bill allows individuals to take specific courses or complete necessary additional graduate 
credits or supervision hours in order to qualify for licensure. 

Second, the board assumes that additional individuals will be eligible for licensure through the "grandparenting" 
provision. The board anticipates that this bill will allow several hundred individuals to be eligible for licensure 
should they choose to apply for licensure. 

Portion of bill relating to licensed alcohol and drug counselors: 
First, effective July 1, 2005, administration of the licensing system for alcohol and drug counselors transfers from 
the Minnesota Department of Health (MOH) to the Board of Behavioral Health and Therapy (BBHT}. Therefore, 
the bill has a fiscal impact for the BBHT beginning FY 2006. 

BBHT - assumes FY 05 estimated expenditures and revenues at MOH are the same each year in the future 
biennia at BBHT. 

Eliminating the requirement to administer examinations will reduce staff administrative time and supply 
expenditures and eliminate revenues from exam fees. Creation of an option to obtain 2,000 hours of supervised 
post-degree professional practice in lieu of the examination requirement to qualify for licensing will not 
significantly increase administrative expenses because the option will utilize existing licensing forms and 
procedures. Deletion of the transition period requirements from hospital and public employees will eliminate use 
of a form and has no fiscal impact. 
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Eliminating advisory council and advisory committees will reduce staff administrative time and supply 
expenditures. 

Second, according to the MOH - the original estimates and assumptions about applicants for alcohol and drug 
counselor licensing did not include hospital and public employees and were not adjusted when the exceptions to 
licensing requirements were repealed in 2003. Therefore, there are no effects to account for in the revenue and 
expense projections for processing new.applicants for licenses or by extending the licensing requirement one 
year. 

Renewal of temporary permits occurs annually on July 31st, and the deadline for submitting the renewal 
application and fee is June 30th. The effective date of acts without appropriations is August 1st following each 
legislative session unless a different date is specified. Therefore, there is no fiscal impact in FY 06. 

Expenditure and/or Revenue Formula 
Portion of bill relating to licensed professional counselors: 
This bill will not generate more revenue than what the board originally anticipated when it was first established 
because when the board was first established, the original number of potential LPC licensees was overestimated. 
In addition, the original licensure language had very little flexibility and actually prevented many individuals from 
qualifying for licensure. The hypothesis at the time the LPC credential was established was that the BBHT would 
capture almost all of the unlicensed mental health practitioners (MOH provided a figure of about 3000 unlicensed 
practitioners at that time) and be able to license them as LPCs. That turned out not to be the case, and the 
number of applicants and licensees was only about 12 percent of that number. 

This bill will broaden the opportunity for licensure and allow more individuals to be licensed. However, it is not 
possible to estimate how many people will take advantage of the grandparenting option or the options now 
proposed under the general requirements for licensure which permit someone to complete courses or supervised 
field experience post-degree in order to be able to qualify for licensure. Even with the flexibility afforded to 
applicants by the language in this bill, it will take a period of time before the number of applicants and licensees 
approaches the estimates made when the board was first established. 

Portion of bill relating to licensed alcohol and drug counselors: 
The following fiscal impact has been provided to the BBHT for inclusion in the BBHT fiscal note by MOH. 

According to MOH, a reduction of $65,462 in salary, benefit and supplies and exam expenditures will occur as a 
result of a total .5 reduction in FTE of staff and activities associated with administration of 6 examination and 12 to 
15 advisory group meetings each year. However, this reduction estimate may not actually occur at all. First, 
although the examjnation duties are being eliminated, staff will need to track applicants' supervision and the 
qualifications of supervisors and there will be administrative costs related to this duty. Second, only two FTE staff 
are transferring from MOH to the BBHT. The transferring staff members' duties are with the licensure process. 
The transferring staff does not have responsibility for complaint or background investigations. Funds will need to 
be used to hire investigative staff at the board office or to pay the Attorney General's Office for investigative 
services. 

Written and oral exam fee revenue in the amount of $23,000 will be eliminated. 

Licensing fees and other revenues are not affected. 

Second, currently there are 132 temporary permit holders, but only about 100 are expected to renew. The current 
renewal fee is $100. An increase of $50 times 100 persons produces additional revenue of $5,000.00 per year, 
beginning in FY 07. 

Long-Term Fiscal Considerations 
Portion of bill relating to licensed professional counselors: 
Any fiscal impact will be long term and indirect. The bill if passed should result in more applicants for LPC 
licensure. This should result in additional revenue for the board. The original bill prevented many individuals from 
qualifying for licensure - this ·bill should allow more individuals to become LPC's. 

Portion of bill relating to licensed alcohol and drug counselors: 
First, reduction in expenditures for regulating AOC's does not cause a reduction of licensing fees at this time. At 
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the beginning of FY 06, the account balance for the ADC licensing activity was ($1,049,000) deficit. Beginning FY 
03 this deficit as amortized with a ten-year licensing surcharge fee of $99. Cost savings from reductions in 
regulatory expenditures will accrue to the account deficit and may allow repeal of the surcharge ahead of its 
scheduled expiration in FY 13. 

Second, repealing the written and oral examination testing fees should result in more efficient operation of the 
licensure program for alcohol and drug counselors because applicants will communicate directly with testing 
entities and the state will no longer have to process the fees. It is unknown whether this change will significantly 
affect the costs related to staff time devoted to .this activity, because staff will now have to track supervision 
documentation for those applicants who elect that route to licensure. 

local Government Costs 
Portion of bill relating to licensed professional counselors: 

Portion of bill relating to licensed alcohol and drug counselors: 

References/Sources 
Portion of bill relating to licensed professional counselors: 

Portion of bill relating to licensed alcohol and drug counselors: 

Agency Contact Name: Kari Rechtzigel (612-617-2192) 

FN Coard Signature: JULI VANGSNESS 
Date: 04/19/05 Phone: 617-2120 

EBO Comments 

I have reviewed this Fiscal Note for accuracy and content. 

EBO Signature: DOUG GREEN 
Date: 04/20/05 Phone: 286-5618 
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Fiscal Note - 2005-06 Session 

Bill#: S1204-1 E {R) Complete Date: 04/20/05 

Chief Author: KISCADEN, SHEILA 

Title: HEALTH OCCUP LICENSING PROVISIONS 

Agency Name: Medical Practice Board 

fiscal Impact Yes No 
State x 
Local x 
Fee/Departmental Earnings x 
Tax Revenue x 

This table reflects fiscal impact to state Qovemment. Local Qovemment impact is reflected in the narrative only. 
Dollars (in thousands) FY05 FY06 FY07 FY08 FY09 

Expenditures 
-No Impact-

Less Agency Can Absorb 
- No Impact-

Net Expenditures 
- No Impact-

Revenues 
- No Impact-

Net Cost <Savings> 
-No Impact-
Total Cost <Savings> to the State 

FY05 FY06 FY07 FY08 FY09 
Full Time Equivalents 

-No Impact-
Total FTE 
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Bill Description 

SF 1204-1E 
Omnibus health occupations bill. In part, transfers Office of Mental Health Practice to the Mental Health Related 
Licensing Boards (Social Work, Psychology, Marriage & Family Therapy, Medical Practice and Nursing). 
Requires each board to appoint one member to the Office of Mental Health Practice Committee. The committee 
will designate an administrating board. 

Assumptions 

All costs associated with administrating the profession will be taken from the health related boards special 
revenue fund. 

Each board will be responsible for reimbursement of their appointed committee member. The designated 
committee member for Medical Practice will participate and be reimbursed for no more then six meetings per year 
@ $55.00 per day. 

Expenditure and/or Revenue Formula 

$55.00 x 6 = $330 in per diems expenses each year of the biennium. 

long-Term Fiscal Considerations 

local Government Costs 

References/Sources 

FN Coard Signature: JULI VANGSNESS 
Date: 04/14/05 Phone: 617-2120 

EBO Comments 

I have reviewed this Fiscal Note for accuracy and content. 

EBO Signature: DOUG GREEN 
Date: 04/20/05 Phone: 286-5618 
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Fiscal Note - 2005-06 Session 

Bill#: S1204-1E (R) Complete Date: 04/20/05 

Chief Author: KISCADEN, SHEILA 

Title: HEAL TH OCCUP LICENSING PROVISIONS 

Agency Name: Psychology Board 

Fiscal Impact 
State 

Local 

Fee/Departmental Earnings 

Tax Revenue 

Yes No 
x 

x 
x 

x 

Th. bl fl fi fl d. h 1s ta ere ects seal impact to state Qovernment. Local Qovernment impact is re ecte mt e narrative on1v. 
Dollars (in thousands) FYOS FY06 FY07 FY08 FY09 

Expenditures 
-- No Impact -

less Agency Can Absorb 
-No Impact-

Net Expenditures 
- No Impact-

Revenues 
Health Related Boards Fund 

Net Cost <Savings> 
Health Related Boards Fund 
Total Cost <Savings> to the State 

FY05 FY06 FY07 FYOS FY09 
Full Time Equivalents 

-- No Impact -
Total FTE 
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Bill Description 
SF 1204-IE 
Article 3 of this bill contains a number of housekeeping changes to the Psychology Practice Act. It also allows for 
the conversion of qualified Licensed Psychological Practitioners (LPP) to Licensed Psychologist (LP} licensure 
and then it sunsets LPP licensure. 

Assumptions: 

Article 3 takes into account the fact that LPP licensure has been available in Minnesota since 1991, yet the Board 
of Psychology only has approximately 53 individuals licensed as LPP's. It is not a licensure option that is 
attractive to psychology graduates because of the difficulties LPP's have obtaining employment. The LPP license 
is not a license for independent practice, meaning that licensees at this level must be supervised throughout their 
careers. They have found that potential employers do not want to hire LPP's and pay someone to supervise them. 
Paying for supervision themselves is expensive. LPP's have found that most third party payers will not reimburse 
agencies for services provided by LPP's because it is not an independent license. 

Expenditure and/or Revenue Formula: 

LPP's as a level of licensure are not a drain on the Psychology Board's budget and are a minor source of 
revenue. The fiscal impact of eliminating this level of licensure will be minimal. 

1. Applicants must complete applications for admission to the exams by 12/31/05 
2. Applicants must pass the exams by 12/31/06 
3. Applicants must complete applications for licensure by 03/01/07 
4. LPP licensure will sunset by 12/31/11 

During this time frame qualified applicants will apply for the conversion from LPP to LP licensure. Revenue from 
LPP licensure will increase during the conversion period, and then decline. Since licensure renewal is every two 
years, revenue from LP licensure will slightly increase following the conversion period. 

long-Term Fiscal Considerations: 

Eliminating LPP licensure will not result in any long-term fiscal impact since after 14 years of having this licensure 
available in the state, only 53 individuals maintain LPP licensure. · Each fiscal year, the agency has traditionally 
averaged about 1-3 new LPP's. The agency believes 14 years of experience to be indicative of the future. 

local Government Costs: 

Since the Board of Psychology is totally fee supported, there are no costs to local governments. 

References/Sources: 

FN Coord Signature: JULI VANGSNESS 
Date: 04/12/05 Phone: 617-2120 

EBO Comments 

I have reviewed this Fiscal Note for accuracy and content. 

EBO Signature: DOUG GREEN 
Date: 04/20/05 Phone: 286-5618 
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05/02/05 [COUNSEL ] KC SCS1204A10 

1 Senator ..... moves to amend S.F. No. 1204 as follows: 

2 Page 59, after line 19, insert: 

3 11 Subd. 8. [TEMPORARY FEE REDUCTION.] For fiscal years 

4 2006, 2007, 2008, and 2009, the following fee changes are 

5 effective: 

6 (1) in subdivision 1, the application fee for a licensed 

7 independent social worker is reduced to $45; 

8 (2) in subdivision 1, the application fee for a licensed 

9 independent clinical social worker is reduced to $45; 

10 (3) in subdivision 1, the application fee for a licensure 

11 by endorsement is reduced to $85; 

12 (4) in subdivision 2, the license fee for a licensed social 

13 worker is reduced to $90; 

14 (5) in subdivision 2, the license fee for a licensed 

15 graduate social worker is reduced to $160; 

16 (6) in subdivision 2, the license fee for a licensed 

17 independent social worker is reduced to $240; 

18 (7) in subdivision 2, the license fee for a licensed 

19 independent clinical social worker is reduced to $265; 

20 {8) in subdivision 3, the renewal fee for a licensed social 

21 worker is reduced to $90; 

22 (9) in subdivision 3, the renewal fee for a licensed 

23 graduate social worker is reduced to $160; 

24 (10) in subdivision 3, the renewal fee for a licensed 

25 independent social worker is reduced to $240; 

26 (11) in subdivision 3, the renewal fee for a licensed 

27 independent clinical social worker is reduced to $265; and 

28 (12) in subdivision 5, the renewal late fee is reduced to 

29 one-third of the renewal fee specified in subdivision 3. 

30 This subdivision expires on June 30, 2009." 

31 Page 

32 1 to 7• and 42 to 71 

33 are Section 41 subdivision 8 is 
~~~~~~~~~~~~----"----...~~~~~~~~-L..~~__;;;;;,_;;;;;...._;;;;;...;_~...;;....r.__;;~ 

34 

1 




