Education Policy Committee March 2, 2006 3-5:30p.m. Capitol Room 112 Senator Steve Kelley

Members Present:

Senator Steve Kelley Senator Tom Saxhaug Senator LeRoy Stumpf Senator Gen Olson Senator Tarryl Clark Senator Geoff Michel Senator David Tomassoni Senator David Hann

Members Absent: Senator Rod Skoe

Senator Michele Bachmann

Senator Kelley called the meeting to order at 3:12p.m.

The Committee heard testimony regarding Q-Comp Implementation in Minnesota.

The Committee first heard testimony from Jeff Fink, Coordinator for the Teacher Association & High School Teacher and Jay Hennessey, High School Teacher from St. Francis School District, 4115 Ambassador Blvd. NW, St. Francis, MN 55070. Mr. Fink referenced the "Student Performance Improvement Program."

John Schultz, Director of Teaching, Learning & Technology from Hopkins School District Office, 1001 Highway 7, Hopkins, MN 55305 testified for the committee. Mr. Schultz discussed the Q Comp program implementation in Hopkins. Mr. Schultz referenced the Minnesota Department of Education, "Q Comp Program Review Rubric."

Tony Boyer, Superintendent of Schools, Maureen Gunderson, Art Teacher, and Deb Dwyer, Assistant Principal from Le Center School District, 150 West Tyrone Street, Le Center, MN 56057, testified for the committee. The testifiers discussed their denial by the Minnesota Department of Education to the Q Comp Program. Mr. Boyer referenced their denial letter from the Minnesota Department of Education, dated March 1, 2006.

Kathy Holahan, Curriculum Coordinator and Sue Weiler, Early Childhood Special Education Teacher, Annandale School District, 125 Cherry Avenue N, Annandale, MN 55302, testified for the committee. Ms. Holahan and Ms. Weiler testified on their application to the Minnesota Department of Education Q Comp program.

Bruce Watkins, Superintendent of Schools, Shawn Gombos, Assistant Director of Professional Development, and Mary Broderick, President of the St. Cloud Education Association, St. Cloud School District, 628 Roosevelt Road, St. Cloud, MN 56301, testified for the committee. Mr. Watkins testified on the challenges of interpreting the program for the applicants as well the Minnesota Department of Education. Ms. Gombos testified on the components of teacher compensation in St. Cloud School District 628. Ms. Broderick testified on the implementation process in St. Cloud School District 628. Randy Kirchner, Temporary Pay Systems Coordinator, and Jan Alswager, Lobbyist, Education Minnesota, 41 Sherburne Avenue, St. Paul, MN 55103, testified on the application rubric in accordance with Minnesota Statute 122A.413. Ms. Kishner referenced the Minnesota Department of Education, "Q Comp Program Review Rubric." Ms. Alswager referenced Minnesota Statutes 2005, 122A..413, Educational Improvement Plan.

Chas Anderson, Deputy Commissioner, Minnesota Department of Education, 1500 Hwy 36 West, Roseville, MN 55113 testified on the Minnesota Department of Education application process including the Department's Rubric. Ms. Anderson referenced "2005-2006 Applications Received and Approved."

Tom Melcher, Director of Program Finance, Minnesota Department of Education , 1500 Hwy 36 West, Roseville, MN 55113 testified on the funding for the Q Comp program. Mr. Melcher referenced "Q Comp Funding Summary and Status" and "FY 2007 Q Comp Basic Aid Status." Linda Trevvorrow, Q Comp Program Director, Minnesota Department of Education, 1500 Hwy 36 West, Roseville, MN 55113 testified on the Q Comp Peer Review Rubric. Ms. Trevvorrow referenced the Minnesota Department of Education, "Q Comp Program Review Rubric."

Senator Steve Kelley referenced the Le Center School District denial letter dated March 1, 2006.

The meeting adjourned at 5:40 p.m.

Steve Kelley

Senator Steve Kelley Chairman

juffert Ilice Carlon

Alice Carlson Seuffert Legislative Assistant

Education Committee

Senator Steve Kelley, Chair Thursday, March 2, 2006 3:00-5:30 p.m. Room 112, Capitol <u>Agenda</u>

I. <u>Q-Comp Implementation</u>

St. Francis School District

- Jeff Fink, Coordinator for the Teacher Association & High School Teacher
- Jay Hennessey, High School Teacher

Hopkins School District

John Schultz, Director or Teaching, Learning & Technology

Le Center School District

- Tony Boyer, Superintendent of Schools
- Maureen Gunderson, Art Teacher
- Deb Dwyer, Assistant Principal

Annandale School District

- Kathy Holahan, Curriculum Coordinator
- Sue Weiler, Early Childhood Special Education

St. Cloud School District

- Bruce Watkins, Superintendent of Schools
- Shawn Gombos, Assistant Director of Professional Development
- Mary Broderick, President of the St. Cloud Education Association

Education Minnesota

- Randy Kirchner, Temporary Pay Systems Coordinator
- Jan Alswager, Lobbyist

Minnesota Department of Education

- Tom Melcher, Director of Program Finance
- Linda Trevvorrow, Q Comp Program Director
- Chas Anderson, Deputy Commissioner