# Crime Prevention & Public Safety Committee

# March 30, 2006

# 3:00 p.m. Room 107 – State Capitol

## Members Present

Members Absent

Senator McGinn

Senator Foley

Senator Berglin

Senator Betzold

Senator Neuville

Senator Ortman

Senator Ranum

Senator Ruud

Senator Skoglund

Senator Foley called the meeting to order at 3:07 p.m.

Senator Ortman, chief author of S.F. 3273 (Forensic laboratory oversight commission; BCA cold case investigations unit).

Senator Ortman moved the A-1 amendment.

Motion prevailed.

Senator Ortman moved the A-2 amendment.

Motion prevailed.

Michael Campion, Commissioner of the Department of Public Safety, testified on the bill.

Senator Skoglund moved that S.F. 3273 be laid on the table.

Motion prevailed.

Senator Clark, chief author of S.F. 3532 (St. Cloud criminal gang strike force).

Dave Kleis, Mayor of St. Cloud, testified in support of the bill.

Dennis Ballantine, St. Cloud Chief of Police, testified in support of the bill.

Michael Campion, Commissioner of the Department of Public Safety, testified on the bill.

Senator Ranum moved that S.F. 3532 be laid on the table.

Patty Gartland, Sartell City Administrator, testified in support of the bill.

Senator Ranum withdrew her motion to lay S.F. 3532 on the table.

Ross Olson, Sauk Rapids City Administrator, testified in support of the bill.

Senator Ranum renews her motion that S.F. 3532 be laid on the table.

Motion failed.

Senator Berglin moved that S.F. 3532 be recommended to pass and re-referred to the Committee on Finance.

Senator Fischbach, chief author of S.F. 3170 (Uniform fire code appeal procedures modification).

Senator Betzold moved the A-1 amendment.

Motion prevailed.

Jerry Rosendahl, State Fire Marshall, testified in support of the bill.

Senator Berglin moved that S.F. 3170, as amended, be laid on the table for possible inclusion into the Omnibus bill.

Motion prevailed.

Senator Fischbach, chief author of S.F. 3051 (Fireworks displays operator permits suspension, revocation, or refusal to renew certification appeal authority).

Senator Ortman moved that S.F. 3051, be laid on the table for possible inclusion into the Omnibus bill.

Motion prevailed.

Senator Neuville, chief author of S.F. 3078 (Collateral consequences committee).

John Stuart, Minnesota Public Defender, testified in support of the bill.

Phil Caruthers, Ramsey County Attorney's office, testified against the bill.

Peter Cahill, Chief Deputy in the Hennepin County Attorney's office, testified against the bill.

Senator Neuville moved an oral amendment, Delete Section 4.

Motion prevailed.

Senator Skoglund moved an oral amendment, Delete Section 1.

Motion failed.

Senator Ranum requested Division.

The motion failed 4-2.

Senator Skoglund moved an oral amendment, Delete Section 5.

Motion failed.

Senator Skoglund moved an oral amendment, Delete Section 6.

Motion failed.

Senator Neuville moved an oral amendment, Page 3, Line 6 delete "<u>had been previously suspended based upon</u>" and insert "<u>was under suspension at the time of</u>"

Motion prevailed.

Senator Neuville moved the approved provisions be laid on the table for possible inclusion into the omnibus bill.

Motion prevailed.

Senator Neuville moved that S.F. 3078, as amended, be recommended to pass to the Committee on State and Local Government Operations.

Motion prevailed.

Senator Betzold moved that S.F. 3273 be taken off the table.

Motion prevailed.

Senator Berglin moved an oral amendment,

Motion prevailed.

Senator Ortman moved that S.F. 3273, as amended, be recommended to pass and rereferred to the Committee on State and Local Government Operations.

Senator Ranum assumes the Chair at 5:25 p.m.

Senator Foley, chief author of S.F. 3517 (DWI provisions modification).

Senator Foley moved the A-2 amendment.

Motion prevailed.

Steve Simon, DWI Task Force, testified in support of the bill.

Don Melrose, Minnesota State Patrol, testified in support of the bill.

Senator Foley moved that S.F. 3517, as amended, be laid on the table for possible inclusion into the Omnibus bill.

Motion prevailed.

Senator Foley assumed the Chair at 6:04 p.m.

Senator Bakk, chief author of S.F. 2615 (Private prisons use prohibition).

Senator Betzold moved the A-1 amendment.

Motion prevailed.

Eliot Siede, Executive Director of AFSCME, testified in support of the bill.

Joshua Miller, AFSCME International, testified in support of the bill.

Dennis Benson, Deputy Commissioner of the Department of Corrections, testified against the bill.

Senator Berglin moved an oral amendment, Page 1, Line 16, delete "2007" and insert "2015"

Motion prevailed.

Senator Ranum, moved that S.F. 2615, as amended, be recommended to pass to the Committee of Finance.

Motion prevailed.

Senator Foley adjourned the meeting at 6:35 p.m. The proceedings were taped and the materials distributed are attached to these minutes.

Senator Leo Foley

Legislative Assistant

# Senate Crime Prevention and Public Safety Committee Thursday, March 30, 2006 Chair: Sen. Leo Foley 3 p.m. 107 Capitol

### **AGENDA:**

- 1) SF 3273 (Ortman) Forensic Laboratory Oversight Commission
  - a. Michael Campion, Commissioner, DPS
- 2) SF 3532 (Clark) Requiring an additional gang strike force
  - a. Dave Kleis, Mayor, St. Cloud
  - b. Dennis Ballantine, Chief of Police, St. Cloud Police Department
  - c. Michael Campion, Commissioner, DPS
  - d. Patty Gartland, Sartell City Administrator
  - e. Ross Olson, Sauk Rapids City Administrator
- 3) SF 3170 (Fishbach) Uniform Fire Code Appeal Procedures
  - a. Jerry Rosendahl, State Fire Marshall
- 4) SF 3051 (Fischbach) Fireworks Operator Permit Suspension of Revocation Appeal
- 5) SF 3078 (Neuville) Miscellaneous Public Safety Provisions
  - a. John Stuart, Minnesota Public Defender
  - b. Phil Caruthers, Ramsey County Attorney's office
  - c. Peter Cahill, Chief Deputy, Hennepin County Attorney's office
- 6) SF 3517 (Foley) Driving While Impaired
  - a. Steve Simon, DWI Task Force
  - b. Don Melrose, Minnesota State Patrol
- 7) SF 2615 (Bakk) Private Prisons Use Prohibition
  - a. Eliot Siede, Executive Director, AFSCME
  - b. Joshua Miller, AFSCME International
  - c. Dennis Benson, Deputy Commissioner, DOC