Crime Prevention & Public Safety Committee & Public Safety Budget Division

August 24, 2005

10:00 a.m. Room 15 – State Capitol

Members Present

Members Absent

Senator Foley

Senator Berglin

Senator Betzold

Senator Neuville

Senator Ranum

Senator Skoglund

Senator Kleis Senator McGinn

Senator Ruud

Senator Foley called the meeting to order at 10:05 a.m.

Robert Johnson, Anoka County Attorney, testified before the Committee.

Elizabeth Nevins, Project Coordinator of Criminal Justice Programs with the Council of State Governments, testified before the Committee.

Gary Kempker, Former Commissioner of the Missouri Department of Corrections, testified on re-entry issues in Missouri.

Chris Bray, Assistant Commissioner with the Department of Corrections, testified before the Committee.

Marcie Sorenson, Director of Education with the Department of Corrections, testified before the Committee.

Joan Fabian, Commissioner of the Department of Corrections, testified before the Committee.

Barbara Cox, Department of Corrections, testified in response to a question from the Committee on state funding.

Senator Foley adjourned the meeting at 12:20 p.m. The proceedings were taped and the materials distributed are attached to these minutes.

Senator Leo Foley

Chairman

Erik Reseland

Legislative Assistant

Senate Crime Prevention and Public Safety Committee & Public Safety Budget Division Wednesday, August 24, 2005
Chairs: Sen. Leo Foley and Sen. Jane Ranum 10:00 pa.m.
15 Capitol

AGENDA:

Overview: Report of the Re-Entry Policy Council

- 1) Robert Johnson, Anoka County Attorney, and Public Safety and Restorative Activities Advisory Group Member
- 2) Elizabeth Nevins, Project Coordinator, Criminal Justice Programs, Council of State Governments
- 3) Gary Kempker, Former Commissioner, DOC, Missouri
- 4) Marcie Sorenson, Director of Education, DOC
- 5) Joan Fabian, Commissioner, DOC
- 6) Barbara Cox, DOC

LEO FOLEY

Senate District 47 Chair, Crime Prevention & Public Safety G-24 State Capitol Building 75 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Blvd. St. Paul, MN 55155-1606

Phone: (651) 296-4154 Fax: (651) 296-6511



Senate

State of Minnesota

Joint Senate Crime Prevention and Public Safety Committee and Public Safety
Budget Division
Wednesday, August 24, 2005
Chairs: Sen. Leo Foley and Sen. Jane Ranum
10 a.m.
15 Capitol

AGENDA:

Overview: Report of the Re-Entry Policy Council

- 1) Robert Johnson, Anoka County Attorney, and Public Safety and Restorative Activities Advisory Group Member
- 2) Elizabeth Nevins, Project Coordinator, Criminal Justice Programs, Council of State Governments
- 3) Gary Kempker, Former Commissioner, DOC, Missouri
- 4) Chris Bray, Assistant Commissioner, DOC

