Senate Taxes Committee Wednesday, March 29, 2006 Room 15 Capitol Chair, Senator Lawrence J. Pogemiller

Present Pogemiller, Chair Tomassoni, Vice Chair Bakk Betzold Johnson Limmer Marty McGinn Skoe <u>Absent</u> Belanger Moua Ortman

Senator Pogemiller called the meeting to order at 9:31 a.m.

A quorum was present.

Agenda Item #1: SF 3426 (Day) Medford Local Options Sales Tax

- 1. Testimony
 - a. Daniel Kaiser, Mayor, City of Medford
 - i. Handout #1 "City of Medford: How Do We Pay?"
 - ii. Handout #2 "Public Hearing"
- b. Bruce Bullert, City Engineer, City of Medford2. Senator Johnson move that SF 3426 be placed on the A List
 - a. Motion adopted

Agenda Item #2: SF 3624 (Bakk) Ely Local Options Sales Tax

- 1. Roger Skraba, Mayor, City of Ely
- 2. Senator Bakk moves that SF 3624 be placed on the B List
 - a. Motion adopted

Agenda Item #3: SF 2896 (Dibble) Excluding scholarships and grants as income for purposes of property tax refunds

2. Testimony

- a. Sarah Kempner, Graduate Student, University of Minnesota, Support of SF 2896
- b. Deepanwita Dasgupta, Graduate Student, University of Minnesota, Support of SF 2896
- c. Isaac Kamola, Graduate Student, University of Minnesota, Support of SF 2896
 - i. Handout #3 "Lines 1-6, 2004"
 - ii. Handout #4 "Lines 1-6, 2005"
- d. Jack Mansun, Assistant Commissioner, Department of Revenue
- e. Mark Peterson, Attorney, Department of Revenue
- 3. Senator Marty move the A-1 amendment with the retroactivity and refund language be placed on the B List
 - a. Motion adopted
- 4. Senator Marty moves that SF 2896 be placed on the C List
 - a. Motion adopted

Agenda Item #4: SF 2481 (Rest) Deed and mortgages taxes expiration repeal 1. Testimony

- a. Peter McLaughlin, County Commissioner, Hennepin County
 - i. Handout #5 "Environmental Response Fund"
 - ii. Handout #6 "Program Summary: Hennepin County Environmental Response Fund"
- b. Rosemary Lavin, Division Manager, Environmental Protection Services Department, Hennepin County
- c. Janice Rettman, Ramsey County Commissioner, District Three

- 2. Senator Marty moves that SF 2481 entails a five year extension and be placed on the A List
 - a. Motion adopted
- 3. Senator Betzold moves that the idea of making this idea available to other counties be placed on the C List
 - a. Motion adopted

Senator Pogemiller adjourned the meeting at 11:05 a.m.

Respectfully Submitted:

Ω Senator Lawrence J. Rogemiller Chair

Erin Campbell

Legislative Assistant

Senate Tax Committee Wednesday, March 29, 2006 9am, Room 15 Capitol

Agenda

SF 3426 (Day) Medford Local Option Sales Tax

Daniel Kaiser, Mayor, City of Medford

Bruce Bullert, City Engineer, City of Medford

SF 2896 (Dibble) Excluding scholarships and grants as income for purposes of property tax refunds

Sarah Kempner, Graduate Student, University of MN

Isaac Kamola, Graduate Student, University of MN

Deepanwita Dasgupta, Graduate Student, University of MN

SF 3624 (Bakk) Ely Local Option Sales Tax

Roger Skraba, Mayor, City of Ely

SF 2481 (Rest) Deed and mortgages taxes expiration repeal

Rosemary Lavin, Division Manager, Environment Protection Services Department, Hennepin County

Peter McLaughlin, County Commissioner, Hennepin County

Chair Senator Larry Pogemiller Legislative Assistant Erin Campbell