Senate Taxes Committee Wednesday, March 22, 2006 Room 15 Capitol

Chair, Senator Lawrence J. Pogemiller

Present
Pogemiller, Chair
Tomassoni, Vice Chair

Absent Limmer Moua Belanger

Bakk Betzold

Johnson

Marty

McGinn

Ortman

Skoe

Senator Pogemiller called the meeting to order at 9:20 a.m.

A quorum was present.

Agenda Item #1: SF 2536 (Day) Owatonna sales tax

- 1. Testimony
 - a. Tom Kunt, Mayor, City of Owatonna
 - i. Handout #1 "Support an Owatonna Local Options Sales Tax"
 - b. Greg Sparks, City Administrator, City of Owatonna
- 2. Senator Ortman moves that SF 2536 be placed on the A list
 - a. Motion adopted

Agenda Item #2: SF 2590 (Vickerman) Luverne sales tax

- 1. Senator Johnson moves the A-1 amendment
 - a. Motion adopted
- 2. Benjamin Vader Kooi Jr., City Attorney, City of Luverne
 - a. Handout #2 "Support a Luverne Local Options Sales Tax"
- 3. Senator Johnson moves that page 1, lines 23 and 24 be deleted
 - a. Motion adopted
- 4. Senator Johnson moves to remove the A1 amendment
 - a. Motion adopted
- 5. Senator Johnson moves that SF 2590 be placed on the B list
 - a. Motion adopted
- 6. Senator Skoe moves that the A-1 amendment be amended as follows: on pg 1, line 7, delete "the next" and insert "a"
- 7. Senator Skoe moves that the A-1 amendment as amended, be incorporated into SF 2590
 - a. Motion adopted

Agenda Item #3: SF 2482 (Lourey) Cloquet sales tax

- 1. Testimony
 - a. Brian Fritsinger, City Administrator, City of Cloquet
 - i. Handout #3 "City of Cloquet Resolution"
 - b. Dylan Kesti, City of Cloquet
- 2. Senator Bakk moves that SF 2482 be placed on the A list
 - a. Motion adopted

Agenda Item #4: SF 3218 (Koering) Baxter sales tax SF 2768 (Koering) Baxter, Brainerd, and Nisswa sales tax

- 1. Testimony
 - a. Darrel Olson, Mayor, City of Baxter
 - i. Handout #4 "Baxter Local Options Sales Tax Request"
 - b. Anne Nelson Fischer, City Councilperson, City of Brainerd
 - c. Harold Kraus, Mayor, City of Nisswa
 - d. Dennis Coryell, City Administrator, City of Baxter
- 2. Senator Ortman moves that SF 2768 and SF 3218 be placed on the B list

a. Motion adopted

Agenda Item #5: SF 2546 (Solon) Increasing Duluth's Local Sales Tax on food and beverages

- 1. Testimony
 - a. Herb Bergson, Mayor, City of Duluth
 - b. Dan Russell, Executive Director, Duluth Entertainment Convention Center
- 2. Senator Bakk moves that SF 2546 be placed on the A list
 - a. Motion adopted

Agenda Item #6: SF 2901 (Sparks) Austin sales tax

- 1. Senator Betzold moves the A-2 amendment
 - a. Motion adopted
- 2. Testimony
 - a. Jim Hurm, City Administrator, City of Austin
 - i. Handout #5 "City of Austin"
 - b. Bonnie Rietz, Mayor, City of Austin
- 3. Senator Skoe moves that SF 2901 as amended be placed on the A list
 - a. Motion adopted

Agenda Item #7: SF 3423 (Ruud) Local sales and use tax for the City of Breezy Point

- 1. Senator Ortman moves to place SF 3423 as introduced on the A list
 - a. Motion withdrawn
- 2. General Discussion
- 3. Dave Gravdahl, Breezy Point, opposes SF 3423

Senator Tomassoni is given the gavel at 10:50am

Senator Pogemiller is given the gavel at 10:55am

- 4. Senator Bakk moves to amend SF 3423, as follows: on pg 1, line 21, delete "," after "sewer" and insert "and", and delete ", street infrastructure, and public safety" after the second "sewer"
- 5. Senator Bakk moves to place SF 3423 on the A list
 - a. Motion adopted

Agenda Item #8: SF 2860 (Ruud) Local sales and use tax for the City of Pequot Lakes

- 1. Senator Ortman moves the A-1 amendment
 - a. Motion adopted
- 2. Kathy Malecha, Mayor, City of Pequot Lakes
- 3. Senator Ortman moves to place SF 2860 on the B list
 - a. Motion Adopted

Agenda Item #9: SF 3010 (Hottinger) North Mankato sales tax

- 1. Testimony
 - a. Wendell Sande, City Administrator, City of North Mankato
 - Handout #6 "City of North Mankato Local Options Sales Tax"
 - b. Gary Zellmer, Mayor, City of North Mankato
- 2. Senator Marty move to delete line 18
 - a. Motion adopted
- 3. Senator Marty moves to place SF 3010 on the B list
 - a. Motion adopted

Agenda Item #10: SF 2208 (Cohen) Film Production Tax Credit

Senator Tomassoni is given the gavel at 11:10am

- 1. Senator Marty moves the A-1 Amendment
 - a. Motion adopted
- 2. Testimony
 - a. Lucinda Winter, Executive Director, MN Film and TV Board
 - i. Handout #7 "Minnesota Film and TV Board"
 - ii. Handout #8 "Shoot in Minnesota"
 - iii. Viewing of DVD
 - b. Julie Hartley, Freelance Production Manager
- 3. Senator Tomassoni moves that SF 2208 be placed on the B list

- a. Motion not adopted4. Senator Betzold moves that SF 2208 be place on the C list
 - a. Motion adopted

Senator Pogemiller adjourned the meeting at 11:44 a.m.

Respectfully Submitted:

Senator Lawrence J. Pogemiller

Chair

Erin Campbell

Legislative Assistant

Senate Tax Committee Wednesday, March 22, 2006 9am, Room 15 Capitol

Agenda

SF 2536 (Day) Owatonna sales tax

Tom Kunt, Mayor, City of Owatonna Greg Sparks, City Administrator, City of Owatonna

SF 3010 (Hottinger) North Mankato sales tax

Wendell Sande, City Administrator, City of North Mankato Gary Zellmer, Mayo, City of North Mankato

SF 2768 (Koering) Baxter, Brainerd, and Nisswa sales tax

Dennis Coryell, City Administrator, City of Baxter, Darrel Olson, Mayor, City of Baxter Anne Nelson Fisher, City Councilperson, City of Brainerd Harold Kraus, Mayor, City of Nisswa

SF 3218 (Koering) Baxter sales tax

Dennis Coryell, City Administrator, City of Baxter, Darrel Olson, Mayor, City of Baxter

SF 2482 (Lourey) Cloquet sales tax

SF 2860 (Ruud) Pequot Lakes sales tax

Kathy Malecha, Mayor, City of Pequot Lakes Sandy Peine, City Clerk, City of Pequot Lakes

SF xxxx (Ruud) Breezy Point sales tax

SF 2546 (Solon) Duluth sales tax

Herb Bergson, Mayor, City of Duluth Dan Russell, DECC Executive Director

SF 2901 (Sparks) Austin sales tax

Jim Hurm, City Administrator, City of Austin Bonnie Rietz, Mayor, City of Austin

SF 2590 (Vickerman) Luverne sales tax

Mayor Andrew Steensma, Mayor, City of Luverne Benjamin Vader Kooi Jr., City Attorney, City of Luverne

SF 2208 (Cohen) Film production tax credit

Lucinda Winter, Executive Director, MN Film and TV Board Julie Hartley, Freelance Production Manager Christine Walker, Independent Feature Film Producer, New Globe Films

Chair Senator Larry Pogemiller Legislative Assistant Erin Campbell