STATE OF MINNESOTA

EXECUTIVE DEPARTMENT



Resolution 11-21-A

Extending a State of Emergency in the State of Minnesota

Whereas, on July 1, 2011 a severe weather front developed over southwest Minnesota and moved northeast spawning tornadoes and supercell thunderstorms, resulting in extensive damage to public infrastructure, the electrical distribution system, and widespread damage to private property; and

Whereas, the resources of local, county, and state governments have been fully utilized to ensure immediate response to protect the life and safety of persons in the affected areas, including the following counties of Anoka, Brown, Isanti, Kanabec, Lincoln, Lyon, McLeod, Meeker, Pine, Pipestone, Redwood, Renville, Scott, Stearns, Wright and Yellow Medicine, and to protect property and infrastructure from additional damage; and

Whereas, additional insurance adjusters from outside the State of Minnesota have been requested to assist, and Minnesota Statutes, section 12.42 allows for a person holding a license in another state to render aid with the same force and effect as if issued in this state.

Whereas, in response to the emergency conditions, the Governor on July 9, 2011, in Executive Order 11-21, declared a peacetime emergency, continued activation of the Minnesota Emergency Operations Plan, and directed state agencies to continue to provide on-site support and assistance to the affected local governments, and to determine the need for supplementary disaster aid; and

Whereas, the need for the state to provide emergency relief services will continue for more than five days and it is, therefore, necessary for the Executive Council to immediately consider and approve extension of the peacetime emergency under Minnesota Statutes, section 12.31, subdivision 2.

Now, Therefore, Be It Resolved by the Executive Council of the State of Minnesota, at its meeting on Tuesday, July 12, 2011, that the peacetime emergency declared in Executive Order 11-21 is extended for 30 days under Minnesota Statutes, section 12.31, subdivision 2.

Spencer Cronk

Executive Secretary
Executive Council

Filed According to Law:

Mark Ritchie

Secretary of State