

## Minnesota House of Representatives

May 15th, 2023

The Honorable Tim Walz Governor of Minnesota 130 State Capitol 75 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd. St. Paul, MN 55155

The Honorable Kari Dziedzic Senate Majority Leader 3113 Minnesota Senate Building St. Paul, MN 55155

Senator Ann Rest Chair, Taxes 328 Minnesota Senate Building St. Paul, MN 55155 The Honorable Melissa Hortman Speaker of the House of Representatives Minnesota House of Representatives 463 State Office Building St. Paul, MN 55155

Representative Aisha Gomez Chair, Taxes 453 State Office Building St. Paul, MN 55155

## via electronic delivery

Dear Governor Walz, Speaker Hortman, Majority Leader Dziedzic, Chair Gomez, and Chair Rest:

As we enter the final days of the 2023 legislative session, we are increasingly concerned that Sen. Rest's comments about an "insatiable appetite to raise taxes" while we have a \$17.5 billion surplus will prevent purposeful tax relief for Minnesotans. The tax committee offer sheets exchanged over the weekend that removed the bipartisan sales tax exemption for baby products is just the latest example.

This tax exemption provides meaningful support for all parents in Minnesota as they expand their families. It's especially helpful for first-time parents who may be overwhelmed at the costs of bringing a baby home safely. This exemption was passed by both bodies with overwhelming support.

We the undersigned are calling for the restoration of this tax exemption. In the closing days of session we ask you to work with the Minority, who represent 48% of Minnesotans, to provide Minnesota's families with permanent, meaningful tax relief. Restoring the tax exemption for baby products to the Taxes bill is a step in that direction and would show the people of our state that Democrats can indeed put helping families over partisan politics.

## Sincerely,

M. Denieth

Lisa Demuth House Minority Leader

Elliott Engen

Representative – District 36A

Jim Abeler

Senator – District 35

Bruce Anderson Senator – District 29

Paul Anderson

Representative – District 12A

Cal Bahr

Senator – District 31

Dave Baker

Representative – District 16B

Matt Bliss

Representative – District 2B

Gary Dahms

Senator - District 15

Kurt Daudt

Representative – District 27B

Ben Davis

Representative – District 6A

Jeff Dotseth

Representative - District 11A

Steve Drazkowski Senator - District 20

Justin Eichorn Senator - District 6

Marj Fogelman

Representative – District 21B

Pat Garofalo

Representative – District 58B

Steve Green Senator – District 2 Mark Johnson

Senate Minority Leader

Julia Coleman Senator – District 48

Pam Altendorf

Representative – Ddistrict 20A

Patti Anderson

Representative – District 33A

Jeff Backer

Representative – District 9A

Ben Bakeberg

Representative – District 54B

Peggy Bennett

Representative – District 23A

John Burkel

Representative – District 1A

**Brian Daniels** 

Representative – District 19A

Greg Davids

Representative – District 26B

Gene Dornink

Senator – District 15

Rich Draheim

Senator – District 22

Zach Duckworth

Senator - District 57

Robert Farnsworth Senator – District 7

Mary Franson

Representative – District 12B

Dawn Gillman

Representative – District 17A

Matt Grossell

Representative – District 2A

Glen Gruenhagen Senator – District 17 Josh Heintzeman Representative – Dis

Representative – District 6B

Senator – District 13 Walter Hudson

Jeff Howe

Representative – District 30A

Steven Jacob

Representative – District 20B

Brian Johnson

Representative – District 28A

Deb Kiel

Representative – District 1B

Mark Koran

Senator – District 28

Ron Kresha

Representative – District 10A

Andrew Lang Senator – District 16

Warren Limmer Senator – District 37

Joe McDonald

Representative – District 29A

Patricia Mueller

Representative – District 23B

Andrew Myers

Representative – District 45A

Jim Nash

Representative – District 48A

Anne Neu Brindley

Representative – District 28B

Paul Novotny

Representative – District 30B

Bjorn Olson

Representative – District 22A

John Petersburg

Representative – District 19B

Eric Pratt

Senator – District 54

Bobbi Harder

Representative – District 17B

Karin Housley Senator – District 33

Shane Hudella

Representative – District 41B

Spencer Igo

Representative – District 7A

John Jasinski

Senator – District 19

Jim Joy

Representative – District 4B

Krista Knudsen

Representative – District 5A

Jon Koznick

Representative – District 57A

Michael Kruen Senator – District 32

Bill Lieske

Senator – District 58

Eric Lucero

Senator - District 30

Shane Mekeland

Representative – District 27A

Tom Murphy

Representative – District 9B

Danny Nadeau

Representative – District 34A

Nathan Nelson

Representative – District 11B

Harry Niska

Representative – District 31A

Tim O'Driscoll

Representative – District 13B

Marion O'Neill

Representative – District 29B

Brian Pfarr

Representative – District 22B

Duane Quam

Representative – District 24A

Jason Rarick Senator – District 11

Kristin Robbins

Representative – District 37A

Isaac Schultz

Representative – District 10B

Roger Skraba

Representative – District 3A

Paul Torkelson

Representative – District 15B

Paul Utke

Senator – District 5

Nathan Wesenberg Senator – District 10

Tory Westrom Senator – District 12

Mark Wiens

Representative – District 41A

Natalie Zeleznikar

Representative – District 3B

Jordan Rasmusson Senator – District 9

Joe Schomacker

Representative – District 21A

Peggy Scott

Representative – District 31B

Chris Swedzinski

Representative – District 15A

Dean Urdahl

Representative – District 16A

Bill Weber

Senator – District 21

Nolan West

Representative – District 32A

Mike Wiener

Representative – District 5B

Jeff Witte

Representative – District 57B