Introduction

The 1995 Session of the Seventy-Ninth Legislature was organized by electing the same leadership as that of the Seventy-Eight Legislature.

Senator Roger D. Moe, (DFL), Erskine, was elected Majority Leader and Chair of the Committee on Rules and Administration.

Senator Dean E. Johnson, (IR), Willmar, was elected Minority Leader.

Senator Allan H. Spear, (DFL), Minneapolis, was elected President of the Senate.

Five special elections were necessary because of resignations. Kenric Scheevel, (IR), District 31, Preston, was elected to fill the vacancy caused by the resignation of Duane D. Benson. Senator Scheevel was sworn in December 8, 1994.

In District 19, Mark Ourada, (IR), Buffalo, was elected to replace Betty A. Adkins, who resigned. Senator Ourada was sworn in on opening day, January 3, 1995.

Dave Kleis, (IR), District 16, St. Cloud, replaced Joanne E. Benson, who was elected Lieutenant Governor. Don Kramer, (IR), District 47, Brooklyn Center, replaced William P. Luther, who was elected to Congress. Both Senators Kleis and Kramer were sworn in on January 9, 1995.

In District 33, Patrick D. McGowan resigned his Senate seat because he was elected Hennepin County Sheriff. Warren Limmer, (IR), Maple Grove won election to that seat, and was sworn in February 13, 1995.

The political makeup of the 1995 Senate, Seventy-Ninth Legislature, was 43 DFL-ers and 24 Independent Republicans.

Members of the Senate

Anderson, Ellen R. (DFL)* Beckman, Tracy L. (DFL) Belanger, William V., Jr. (IR)** Berg, Charles A. (DFL) Berglin, Linda (DFL) Bertram, Joe, Sr. (DFL) Betzold, Don (DFL) Chandler, Kevin M. (DFL) Chmielewski, Florian (DFL) Cohen, Richard J. (DFL) Day, Dick (IR) Dille, Steve (IR) Finn, Harold R. "Skip" (DFL) Flynn, Carol (DFL) Frederickson, Dennis R. (IR) Hanson, Paula E. (DFL) Hottinger, John C. (DFL) Janezich, Jerry R. (DFL) Johnson, Dean E. (IR) Johnson, Douglas J. (DFL) Johnson, Janet B. (DFL) Johnston, Terry D. (IR) Kelly, Randy C. (DFL) Kiscaden, Sheila M. (IR) Kleis, Dave (IR) Knutson, David L. (IR) Kramer, Don (IR) Krentz, Jane (DFL) Kroening, Carl W. (DFL) Laidig, Gary W. (IR) Langseth, Keith (DFL) Larson, Cal (IR) Lesewski, Arlene J. (IR) Lessard, Bob (DFL)

Limmer, Warren (IR) Marty, John (DFL) Merriam, Gene (DFL) Metzen, James P. (DFL) Moe, Roger D. (DFL) Mondale, Ted A. (DFL) Morse, Steven (DFL) Murphy, Steve L. (DFL) Neuville, Thomas M. (IR) Novak, Steven G. (DFL) Oliver, Edward C. (IR) Olson, Gen (IR) Ourada, Mark (IR) Pappas, Sandra L. (DFL) Pariseau, Pat (IR) Piper, Pat (DFL) Pogemiller, Lawrence J. (DFL) Price, Leonard R. (DFL) Ranum, Jane B. (DFL) Reichgott Junge, Ember D. (DFL) Riveness, Phil J. (DFL) Robertson, Martha R. (IR) Runbeck, Linda (IR) Sams, Dallas C. (DFL) Samuelson, Don (DFL) Scheevel, Kenric (IR) Solon, Sam G. (DFL) Spear, Allan H. (DFL) Stevens, Dan (IR) Stumpf, LeRoy A. (DFL) Terwilliger, Roy W. (IR) Vickerman, Jim (DFL) Wiener, Deanna (DFL)

*DFL--Democratic-Farmer-Labor **IR--Independent Republican

Senate Leaders

Roger D. Moe Ember D. Reichgott Junge Carol Flynn Harold R. "Skip" Finn John C. Hottinger Kevin M. Chandler Dean E. Johnson Dennis R. Frederickson David L. Knutson Thomas M. Neuville Gen Olson Roy W. Terwilliger Majority Leader Assistant Majority Leader Majority Whip Majority Whip Majority Whip Minority Leader Assistant Minority Leader

Officers of the Senate

Allan H. Spear Patrick E. Flahaven Janine Mattson Patrice Dworak Catherine E. Morrison Sven K. Lindquist Ralph C. Graham Rev. Marilyn Saure Breckenridge

Desk Assistants to the Secretary of the Senate:

Colleen J. Pacheco Michael R. Linn President of the Senate Secretary of the Senate First Assistant Secretary Second Assistant Secretary Engrossing Secretary Sergeant at Arms Assistant Sergeant at Arms Chaplain

Third Assistant Secretary Fourth Assistant Secretary