Introduction

The 1994 Session of the Seventy-Eighth Legislature continued with the same leadership as the 1993 Session.

Senator Roger D. Moe, (DFL), Erskine, continued as Majority Leader and Chair of the Committee on Rules and Administration.

Senator Dean E. Johnson, (IR), Willmar, continued as Minority Leader.

Senator Allan H. Spear, (DFL), Minneapolis, continued to serve as President of the Senate.

Senator Betty Adkins, (DFL), District 19, St. Michael, resigned her Senate seat, effective January 1, 1995. The election for this seat will be conducted with the General Election in the fall of 1994.

Senator Duane D. Benson, (IR), District 31, Lanesboro, resigned his Senate seat, effective September 18, 1994. The election for this seat will also be conducted with the General Election in the fall of 1994.

The political makeup of the 1994 Senate, Seventy-Eighth Legislature, was 45 DFL-ers and 22 Independent Republicans.

Members of the Senate

Adkins, Betty A. (DFL)* Lessard, Bob (DFL) Anderson, Ellen R. (DFL) Luther, William P. (DFL) Beckman, Tracy L. (DFL) Marty, John (DFL) Belanger, William V., Jr. (IR)* McGowan, Patrick D. (IR) Benson, Duane D. (IR) Merriam, Gene (DFL) Benson, Joanne E. (IR) Metzen, James P. (DFL) Berg, Charles A. (DFL) Moe, Roger D. (DFL) Berglin, Linda (DFL) Mondale, Ted A. (DFL) Bertram, Joe. Sr. (DFL) Morse, Steven (DFL) Betzold, Don (DFL) Murphy, Steve L. (DFL) Chandler, Kevin M. (DFL) Neuville, Thomas M. (IR) Novak, Steven G. (DFL) Chmielewski, Florian (DFL) Cohen, Richard J. (DFL) Oliver, Edward C. (IR) Day, Dick (IR) Olson, Gen (IR) Dille, Steve (IR) Pappas, Sandra L. (DFL) Finn, Harold R. "Skip" (DFL) Pariseau, Pat (IR) Flynn, Carol (DFL) Piper, Pat (DFL) Pogemiller, Lawrence J. (DFL) Frederickson, Dennis R. (IR) Hanson, Paula E. (DFL) Price, Leonard R. (DFL) Hottinger, John C. (DFL) Ranum, Jane B. (DFL) Janezich, Jerry R. (DFL) Reichgott Junge, Ember D. (DFL) Johnson, Dean E. (IR) Riveness, Phil J. (DFL) Johnson, Douglas J. (DFL) Robertson, Martha R. (IR) Johnson, Janet B. (DFL) Runbeck, Linda (IR) Johnston, Terry D. (IR) Sams, Dallas C. (DFL) Kelly, Randy C. (DFL) Samuelson, Don (DFL) Kiscaden, Sheila M. (IR) Solon, Sam G. (DFL) Knutson, David L. (IR) Spear, Allan H. (DFL) Krentz, Jane (DFL) Stevens, Dan (IR) Kroening, Carl W. (DFL) Stumpf, LeRoy A. (DFL) Laidig, Gary W. (IR) Terwilliger, Roy W. (IR) Langseth, Keith (DFL) Vickerman, Jim (DFL) Larson, Cal (IR) Wiener, Deanna (DFL) Lesewski, Arlene J. (IR)

Senate Leaders

Roger D. Moe
William P. Luther Assistant Majority Leader
Carol Flynn Majority Whip
Harold R. "Skip" Finn. Majority Whip
John C. Hottinger Majority Whip
Ember D. Reichgott Junge
Dean E. Johnson Minority Leader
Patrick D. McGowan Assistant Minority Leader/Minority Whip
Pat Pariseau Assistant Minority Leader
Roy W. Terwilliger
Dennis R. Frederickson
Gen Olson Assistant Minority Leader

^{*}DFL—Democratic-Farmer-Labor

^{**}IR-Independent Republican

Officers of the Senate

Allan H. Spear	President of the Senate
Patrick E. Flahaven	Secretary of the Senate
Janine Mattson	First Assistant Secretary
Patrice Dworak	Second Assistant Secretary
Catherine E. Morrison	Engrossing Secretary
Sven K. Lindquist	
Ralph C. Graham	
Bishop David W. Preus	Chaplain
Desk Assistants to the Secretary of the Senate:	
Colleen J. Pacheco	Third Assistant Secretary

Colleen J. Pacheco Third Assistant Secretary
Michael R. Linn Fourth Assistant Secretary