Introduction

The 1990 Session of the Seventy-Sixth Legislature continued with the same leadership as the 1989 Session.

Senator Roger D. Moe, Erskine, continued as Senate Majority Leader and Chair of the Committee on Rules and Administration.

Senator Duane D. Benson, Lanesboro, continued as Senate Minority Leader.

Senator Jerome M. Hughes, Maplewood, continued as President of the Senate.

The political makeup of the 1990 Senate, Seventy-Sixth Legislature, was 44 DFL-ers and 23 Independent Republicans.

Senator Mark Piepho, (IR), Mankato, was elected in a special election held February 3, 1990 to fill the vacant seat in District 24 which Glen Taylor, (IR), resigned. He was sworn in on February 12, 1990.

Senator Donna C. Peterson, (DFL), District 61, resigned her Senate seat, and a special election was held. Carol Flynn, (DFL), Minneapolis, was elected February 10, 1990 and sworn in February 15, 1990.

Rev. Milo Mathison, Mentor, was sworn in as Senate Chaplain February 12, 1990.

Members of the Senate

Adkins, Betty A. (DFL)* Anderson, Don (IR)** Beckman, Tracy L. (DFL) Belanger, William V, Jr. (IR) Benson, Duane D. (IR) Berg, Charles A. (DFL) Berglin, Linda (DFL) Bernhagen, John (IR) Bertram, Joe, Sr. (DFL) Brandl, John E. (DFL) Brataas, Nancy (IR) Chmielewski, Florian (DFL) Cohen, Richard J. (DFL) Dahl, Gregory L. (DFL) Davis, Charles R. (DFL) Decker, Bob (IR) DeCramer, Gary M. (DFL) Dicklich, Ronald R. (DFL) Diessner, A. W. "Bill" (DFL) Flynn, Carol (DFL) Frank, Don (DFL) Frederick, Mel (IR) Frederickson, David J. (DFL) Frederickson, Dennis R. (IR) Freeman, Michael O. (DFL) Gustafson, Jim (IR) Hughes, Jerome M. (DFL) Johnson, Dean E. (IR) Johnson, Douglas J. (DFL) Knaak, Fritz (IR) Knutson, Howard A. (IR) Kroening, Carl W (DFL) Laidig, Gary W. (IR) Langseth, Keith (DFL)

Lantry, Marilyn M. (DFL) Larson, Cal (IR) Lessard, Bob (DFL) Luther, William P (DFL) Marty, John J. (DFL) McGowan, Patrick D. (IR) McQuaid, Phyllis W. (IR) Mehrkens, Lyle G. (IR) Merriam, Gene (DFL) Metzen, James (DFL) Moe, Donald M. (DFL) Moe, Roger D. (DFL) Morse, Steven (DFL) Novak, Steven G. (DFL) Olson, Gen (IR) Pariseau, Pat (IR) Pehler, James C. (DFL) Peterson, Randolph W. (DFL) Piepho, Mark (IR) Piper, Pat (DFL) Pogemiller, Lawrence W. (DFL) Purfeerst, Clarence M. (DFL) Ramstad, Jim (IR) Reichgott, Ember D. (DFL) Renneke, Earl W. (IR) Samuelson, Don (DFL) Schmitz, Robert J. (DFL) Solon, Sam G. (DFL) Spear, Allan H. (DFL) Storm, Donald A. (IR) Stumpf, LeRoy A. (DFL) Vickerman, Jim M. (DFL) Waldorf, Gene (DFL)

*DFL — Democratic-Farmer-Labor **IR — Independent Republican

Senate Leaders

Roger D. Moe
William P Luther Assistant Majority Leader
Ronald R. Dicklich
Michael O. Freeman Majority Whip
Steven G. Novak
Ember D. Reichgott
Duane D. Benson
Duane D. Benson
John Bernhagen Assistant Minority Leader
Met Frederick Assistant Minority Leader/Minority Whip
Fritz Knaak Assistant Minority Leader
Gen Olson Assistant Minority Leader
Donald A. Storm Assistant Minority Leader

Officers of the Senate

Jerome M. Hughes President of the Senate
Patrick E. Flahaven Secretary of the Senate
Janine Mattson First Assistant Secretary
Patrice Dworak
Catherine E. Morrison Engrossing Secretary
Sven K. Lindquist Sergeant at Arms
Ralph C. Graham Assistant Sergeant at Arms
Rev. Milo Mathison Chaplain

Desk Assistants to the Secretary of the Senate:

Colleen J. Barry	
Michael Linn	