Introduction

The 1989 Session of the Seventy-Sixth Legislature continued with the same leadership as the 1988 Session.

Senator Roger D. Moe, Erskine, continued as Senate Majority Leader and Chair of the Committee on Rules and Administration.

Senator Duane D. Benson, Lanesboro, continued as Senate Minority Leader

Senator Jerome M. Hughes, Maplewood, continued as President of the Senate.

The political makeup of the 1989 Senate, Seventy-Sixth Legislature, was 44 DFL-ers and 23 Independent Republicans.

Senator Pat Pariseau, (IR), Farmington, was elected November 6, 1988 to fill the vacant seat in District 37 which Darril Wegscheid, (DFL) resigned. She was sworn in January 3, 1989.

Senator Tad Jude, (DFL), District 48, resigned his Senate seat, and a special election was held. Patrick D. McGowan, (IR), Maple Grove, was elected December 20, 1988 and sworn in January 3, 1989.

Senator Glen Taylor, (IR), District 24, announced that he would resign his Senate seat in 1990.

A Special Session was called by Governor Rudy Perpich for September 27, 1989, and it lasted three days.

Members of the Senate

Adkins, Betty A. (DFL)* Anderson, Don (IR)** Beckman, Tracy L. (DFL) Belanger, William V., Jr. (IR) Benson, Duane D. (IR) Berg, Charles A. (DFL) Berglin, Linda (DFL) Bernhagen, John (IR) Bertram, Joe, Sr. (DFL) Brandl, John E. (DFL) Brataas, Nancy (IR) Chmielewski, Florian (DFL) Cohen, Richard J. (DFL) Dahl, Gregory L. (DFL) Davis, Charles R. (DFL) Decker, Bob (IR) DeCramer, Gary M. (DFL) Dicklich, Ronald R. (DFL) Diessner, A. W. "Bill" (DFL) Frank, Don (DFL) Frederick, Mel (IR) Frederickson, David J. (DFL) Frederickson, Dennis R. (IR) Freeman, Michael O. (DFL) Gustafson, Jim (IR) Hughes, Jerome M. (DFL) Johnson, Dean E. (IR) Johnson, Douglas J. (DFL) Knaak, Fritz (IR) Knutson, Howard A. (IR) Kroening, Carl W. (DFL)

Larson, Cal (IR) Lessard, Bob (DFL) Luther, William P. (DFL) Marty, John J. (DFL) McGowan, Patrick D. (IR) McOuaid, Phyllis W. (IR) Mehrkens, Lyle G. (IR) Merriam, Gene (DFL) Metzen, James (DFL) Moe, Donald M. (DFL) Moe, Roger D. (DFL) Morse, Steven (DFL) Novak, Steven G. (DFL) Olson, Gen (IR) Pariseau, Pat (IR) Pehler, James C. (DFL) Peterson, Donna C. (DFL) Peterson, Randolph W. (DFL) Piper, Pat, (DFL) Pogemiller, Lawrence W. (DFL) Purfeerst, Clarence M. (DFL) Ramstad, Jim (IR) Reichgott, Ember D. (DFL) Renneke, Earl W. (IR) Samuelson, Don (DFL) Schmitz, Robert J. (DFL) Solon, Sam G. (DFL) Spear, Allan H. (DFL) Storm, Donald A. (IR) Stumpf, LeRoy A. (DFL) Taylor, Glen, (IR) Vickerman, Jim M. (DFL) Waldorf, Gene (DFL)

*DFL - Democratic-Farmer-Labor

Laidig, Gary W. (IR)

Langseth, Keith (DFL)
Lantry, Marilyn M. (DFL)

Senate Leaders

Roger D. Moe
William P. Luther Assistant Majority Leader
Ronald R. Dicklich Majority Whip
Michael O. Freeman Majority Whip
Steven G. Novak Majority Whip
Donna C. Peterson Majority Whip
Duane D. Benson
John Bernhagen Assistant Minority Leader
Mel Frederick Assistant Minority Leader/Minority Whip
Fritz Knaak Assistant Minority Leader
Gen Olson Assistant Minority Leader
Donald A. Storm Assistant Minority Leader

^{**}IR - Independent Republican

Officers of the Senate

Jerome M. Hughes President of the Senate
Patrick E. Flahaven Secretary of the Senate
Janine Mattson First Assistant Secretary
Patrice Dworak Second Assistant Secretary
Catherine E. Morrison Engrossing Secretary
Sven K. Lindquist Sergeant at Arms
Ralph C. Graham Assistant Sergeant at Arms
Rev. Philip J. Weiler
Desk Assistants to the Secretary of the Senate:
Colleen J. Barry