Introduction

The 1987 Session of the Seventy-Fifth Legislature began a four year term for Minnesota's 67 Senators. The political makeup was 47 DFL-ers and 20 Independent Republicans.

Senator Roger D. Moe, Erskine, was re-elected Senate Majority Leader and Chair of the Committee on Rules and Administration.

Senator Duane D. Benson, Lanesboro, was elected Senate Minority Leader.

Senator Jerome M. Hughes, Maplewood, was re-elected President of the Senate.

Senator Gerald L. Willet, (DFL), District 4, Park Rapids, resigned his Senate seat, and Governor Rudy Perpich called a special election for November 3, 1987. Bob Decker, (IR), Bemidji, was elected to serve out the remainder of Senator Willet's term, and was sworn in November 16, 1987.

A Special Session was called by Governor Rudy Perpich for June 25, 1987, and lasted one day.

Members of the Senate

Adkins, Betty A. (DFL)* Anderson, Don (IR)** Beckman, Tracy L. (DFL) Belanger, William V., Jr. (IR) Benson, Duane D. (IR) Berg, Charles A. (DFL) Berglin, Linda (DFL) Bernhagen, John (IR) Bertram, Joe, Sr. (DFL) Brandl, John E. (DFL) Brataas, Nancy (IR) Chmielewski, Florian (DFL) Cohen, Richard J. (DFL) Dahl, Gregory L. (DFL) Davis, Charles R. (DFL) DeCramer, Gary M. (DFL) Dicklich, Ronald R. (DFL) Diessner, A. W. "Bill" (DFL) Frank, Don (DFL) Frederick, Mel (IR) Frederickson, David J. (DFL) Frederickson, Dennis R. (IR) Freeman, Michael O. (DFL) Gustafson, Jim (IR) Hughes, Jerome M. (DFL) Johnson, Dean E. (IR) Johnson, Douglas J. (DFL) Jude, Tad (DFL) Knaak, Fritz (IR) Knutson, Howard A. (IR) Kroening, Carl W. (DFL) Laidig, Gary W. (IR) Langseth, Keith (DFL) Lantry, Marilyn M. (DFL)

Larson, Cal (IR) Lessard, Bob (DFL) Luther, William P. (DFL) Marty, John J. (DFL) McQuaid, Phyllis W. (IR) Mehrkens, Lyle G. (IR) Merriam, Gene (DFL) Metzen, James (DFL) Moe, Donald M. (DFL) Moe, Roger D. (DFL) Morse, Steven (DFL) Novak, Steven G. (DFL) Olson, Gen (IR) Pehler, James C. (DFL) Peterson, Donna C. (DFL) Peterson, Randolph W. (DFL) Piper, Pat, (DFL) Pogemiller, Lawrence J. (DFL) Purfeerst, Clarence M. (DFL) Ramstad, Jim (IR) Reichgott, Ember D. (DFL) Renneke, Earl W. (IR) Samuelson, Don (DFL) Schmitz, Robert J. (DFL) Solon, Sam G. (DFL) Spear, Allan H. (DFL) Storm, Donald A. (IR) Stumpf, LeRoy A. (DFL) Taylor, Glen (IR) Vickerman, Jim M. (DFL) Waldorf, Gene (DFL) Wegscheid, Darril (DFL)

Willet, Gerald L. (DFL)

*DFL -- Democratic-Farmer-Labor

**IR-Independent Republican

Senate Leaders

Roger D. Moe
William P. Luther Assistant Majority Leader
Ronald R. Dicklich Majority Whip
Michael O. Freeman Majority Whip
Steven G. Novak
Donna C. Peterson
Duane D. Benson Minority Leader
John Bernhagen Assistant Minority Leader
Mel Frederick Assistant Minority Leader/Minority Whip
Dean E. Johnson Assistant Minority Leader
Phyllis W. McQuaid Assistant Minority Leader
Donald A. Storm Assistant Minority Leader

Officers of the Senate

Jerome M. Hughes	President of the Senate
Patrick E. Flahaven	Secretary of the Senate
Janine Mattson	First Assistant Secretary
Patrice Dworak	Second Assistant Secretary
Catherine E. Morrison	Engrossing Secretary
Sven K. Lindquist	
Ralph C. Graham	Assistant Sergeant of Arms
Rev. Philip J. Weiler	Chaplain
Desk Assistants to the Secretary of the Senate:	
Colleen J. Barry	Third Assistant Secretary
Tony Vivilar	Dools Assistant