Introduction

The 1986 Session of the Seventy-Fourth Legislature continued with the same leadership as the 1985 Session.

Senator Roger D. Moe, Erskine, continued as Senate Majority Leader and Chairman of the Committee on Rules and Administration.

Senator Glen Taylor, Mankato, continued as Senate Minority Leader.

Senator Jerome M. Hughes, Maplewood, continued as President of the Senate.

Mr. Sven Lindquist was elected Sergeant at Arms.

Rev. Philip Weiler was elected Chaplain.

The remaining Officers of the Senate were the same as for the 1985 Session.

The political makeup of the 1986 Senate, Seventy-Fourth Legislature, was 42 DFL-ers, 24 Independent Republicans, and 1 Independent.

Senator Darrel L. Peterson resigned his Senate seat on April 29, 1986, the vacancy to be filled at the general election in November of 1986.

A Special Session was called by Governor Rudy Perpich for April 2, 1986 and lasted one day.

Members of the Senate

Adkins, Betty A. (DFL)* Anderson, Don (IR)** Belanger, William V., Jr. (IR) Benson, Duane D. (IR) Berg, Charles A. (I)*** Berglin, Linda (DFL) Bernhagen, John (IR) Bertram, Joe (DFL). Brataas, Nancy (IR) Chmielewski, Florian (DFL) Dahl, Gregory L. (DFL) Davis, Charles R. (DFL) DeCramer, Gary M. (DFL) Dicklich, Ronald R. (DFL) Diessner, A. W. "Bill" (DFL) Dieterich, Neil (DFL) Frank, Don (DFL) Frederick, Mel (IR) Frederickson, Dennis R. (IR) Freeman, Michael O. (DFL) Gustafson, Jim (IR) Hughes, Jerome M. (DFL) Isackson, Doran L: (IR) Johnson, Dean E. (IR) Johnson, Douglas J. (DFL) Jude, Tad (DFL) Kamrath, Randy P. (IR) Knaak, Fritz (IR) Knutson, Howard A. (IR) Kroening, Carl W. (DFL) Kronebusch, Patricia Louise (IR) Laidig, Gary W. (IR) Langseth, Keith (DFL) Lantry, Marilyn M. (DFL)

Lessard, Bob (DFL) Luther, William P. (DFL) McQuaid, Phyllis W. (IR) Mehrkens, Lyle G. (IR) Merriam, Gene (DFL) Moe, Donald M. (DFL) Moe, Roger D. (DFL) Nelson, Tom A. (DFL) Novak, Steven G. (DFL) Olson, Gen (IR) Pehler, James C. (DFL) Peterson, Collin C. (DFL) Peterson, Darrel L. (IR) Peterson, Donna C. (DFL) Peterson, Randolph W. (DFL) Petty, Eric D. (DFL) Pogemiller, Lawrence J. (DFL) Purfeerst, Clarence M. (DFL) Ramstad, Jim (IR) Reichgott, Ember D. (DFL) Renneke, Earl W. (IR) Samuelson, Don (DFL) Schmitz, Robert J. (DFL) Sieloff, Ron (IR) Solon, Sam G. (DFL) Spear, Allan H. (DFL) Storm, Donald A. (IR) Stumpf, LeRoy A. (DFL) Taylor, Glen (IR) Vega, Conrad M. (DFL) Waldorf, Gene (DFL) Wegscheid, Darril (DFL) Willet, Gerald L. (DFL)

*DFL—Democratic-Farmer-Labor **IR—Independent Republican ***I—Independent

Senate Leaders

Roger D. Moe	Majority Leader
William P. Luther	Assistant Majority Leader
Gregory L. Dahl	
Marilyn M. Lantry	
Tom A. Nelson	
Glen Taylor	Minority Leader
Ron Sieloff	Assistant Minority Leader/Caucus Floor Leader
Gary W. Laidig	Assistant Minority Leader/Caucus Whip
Duane D. Benson	Assistant Minority Leader
Nancy Brataas	Assistant Minority Leader
Nancy Brataas	Assistant Minority Leader

Officers of the Senate

Jerome M. Hughes	President of the Senate
Patrick E. Flahaven	
Janine Mattson	First Assistant Secretary
Patrice Dworak	Second Assistant Secretary
Sven Lindquist	Sergeant at Arms
Ralph C. Graham	Assistant Sergeant at Arms
Kay Ganje	
Catherine Morrison E	
Rev. Philip Weiler	Chaplain
Desk Assistants to the Secretary of the Senate:	
	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·