## Introduction

At the beginning of the 1985 Session, the Senators were in the middle of their four year term.

On January 9, 1985, Senator James Ulland, (IR), District 8, resigned his Senate seat. A special election was held February 5, 1985, and Jim Gustafson (IR) was elected to serve out the remainder of Senator Ulland's term. He was sworn in February 11, 1985.

Senator Roger D. Moe, Erskine, was re-elected Senate Majority Leader and Chairman of the Committee on Rules and Administration.

Senator Glen Taylor, Mankato, was elected Senate Minority Leader.

Senator Jerome M. Hughes, Maplewood, was re-elected President of the Senate.

The political makeup of the 1985 Senate, Seventy-Fourth Legislature, remained 42 DFL-ers and 25 Independent-Republicans

The Sergeant at Arms, Marvin F. Raiola, St. Paul, died on March 3, 1985. He had served as Sergeant at Arms for five years.

The Chaplain, Rev. James H. Hanson, resigned March 22, 1985.

A Special Session was called by Governor Rudy Perpich for Wednesday, June 19, 1985, and lasted three days.

## **Members of the Senate**

Adkins, Betty A. (DFL)\* Anderson, Don (IR)\*\* Belanger, William V., Jr. (IR) Benson, Duané D. (IR). Berg, Charles A. (IR) Berglin, Linda (DFL) Bernhagen, John (IR) Bertram, Joe (DFL) Brataas, Nancy (IR) Chmielewski, Florian (DFL) Dahl, Gregory L. (DFL) Davis, Charles R. (DFL) DeCramer, Gary M. (DFL) Dicklich, Ronald R. (DFL) Diessner, A. W. "Bill" (DFL) Dieterich, Neil (DFL) Frank, Don (DFL) Frederick, Mel (IR) Frederickson, Dennis R. (IR) Freeman, Michael O. (DFL) Gustafson, Jim (IR) Hughes, Jerome M. (DFL) lsackson, Doran L. (IR) Johnson, Dean E. (IR) Johnson, Douglas J. (DFL) Jude, Tad (DFL) Kamrath, Randy P. (IR) Knaak, Fritz (IR) Knutson, Howard A. (IR) Kroening, Carl W. (DFL). Kronebusch, Patricia Louise (IR) Wegscheid, Darril (DFL) Laidig, Gary W. (IR) Willet, Gerald L. (DFL) Langseth, Keith (DFL) Lantry, Marilyn M. (DFL)

Lessard, Bob (DFL) Luther, William P. (DFL) McQuaid, Phyllis W. (IR) Mehrkens, Lyle G. (IR) Merriam, Gene (DFL) Moe, Donald M. (DFL) Moe, Roger D. (DFL) Nelson, Tom A. (DFL) Novak, Steven G. (DFL) Olson, Gen (IR) Pehler, James C. (DFL) Peterson, Collin C. (DFL)-Peterson, Darrel L. (IR) Peterson, Donna C. (DFL) Peterson, Randolph W. (DFL) Petty, Eric D. (DFL) Pogemiller, Lawrence J. (DFL) Purfeerst, Clarence M. (DFL) Ramstad, Jim (IR) Reichgott, Ember D. (DFL) Renneke, Earl W. (IR) Samuelson, Don (DFL) Schmitz, Robert J. (DFL) Sieloff, Ron (IR) Solon, Sam G. (DFL) Spear, Allan H. (DFL) Storm, Donald A. (IR) Stumpf, LeRoy A. (DFL) Taylor, Glen (IR) Vega, Conrad M. (DFL) Waldorf, Gene (DFL)

## **Senate Leaders**

Roger D. Moe. Assistan William P. Luther Assistan	it Mariority Leader
Gregory L. Dahl	Majority Whip
Marilyn M. Lantry	
Tom A. Nelson	
Glen Taylor	. Minority Leader
Ron Sieloff Assistant Minority Leader/Ca	iucus Floor Leader
Gary W. Laidig Assistant Minority Le	ader/Caucus Whip
Duane D. Benson	nt Minority Léader
Nancy Brataas Assista	nt Minority Leader
Dean E. Johnson	
Jim Ramstad	nt Minority Leader

<sup>\*</sup>DFL—Democratic-Farmer-Labor

<sup>\*\*</sup> IR-Independent Republican

## **Officers of the Senate**

Jerome M. Hughes	President of the Senate
Patrick E. Flahaven	Secretary of the Senate
Janine Mattson	First Assistant Secretary
Patrice Dworak	Second Assistant Secretary
Marvin F. Raiola	Sergeant at Arms
Ralph C. Graham	
Kay Ganje	Engrossing Secretary
Catherine Morrison	Engrossing and Appointments Clerk
Rev. James H. Hanson	
Desk Assistants to the Secretary of the Senate:	
Colleen J. Barry	Third Assistant Socretury
Scott Magnuson	