Introduction

The November, 1982 election brought twenty-one new Senators to the Seventy-Third Legislature, and re-elected forty-six Senators. Of the twenty-one new Senators, nine had prior service in the House of Representatives; twelve were members of the DFL Caucus and nine were members of the Independent Republican Caucus. An unprecedented number of women were elected; three new female DFL-ers, two new female Independent Republicans, bringing the total to nine women Senators; five caucusing with the DFL-ers, four with the Independent Republicans.

Senator Roger D. Moe, Ada, was re-elected Senate Majority Leader and Chairman of the Committee on Rules and Administration.

Senator Jerome M. Hughes, Maplewood, was elected President of the Senate.

Senator James Ulland, Duluth, was elected Senate Minority Leader.

The political makeup of the 1983 Senate, Seventy-Third Legislature, was 42 DFL-ers and 25 Independent Republicans.

Members of the Senate

Adkins, Betty A. (DFL)* Anderson, Don A. (IR)** Belanger, William V., Jr. (IR) Benson, Duane D. (IR) Berg, Charles A. (IR) Berglin, Linda (DFL) Bernhagen, John (IR) Bertram, Joe (DFL) Brataas, Nancy (IR) Chmielewski, Florian (DFL) Dahl, Gregory L. (DFL) Davis, Charles R. (DFL) DeCramer, Gary M. (DFL) Dicklich, Ronald R. (DFL) Diessner, A.W. "Bill" (DFL) Dieterich, Neil (DFL) Frank, Don (DFL) Frederick, Mel (IR) Frederickson, Dennis R. (IR) Freeman, Michael O. (DFL) Hughes, Jerome M. (DFL) Isackson, Doran L. (IR) Johnson, Dean E. (IR) Johnson, Douglas J. (DFL) Jude, Tad (DFL) Kamrath, Randy P. (IR) Knaak, Fritz (IR) Knutson, Howard A. (IR) Kroening, Carl W. (DFL) Kronebusch, Patricia Louise (IR) Laidig, Gary W. (IR) Langseth, Keith (DFL) Lantry, Marilyn M. (DFL) Lessard, Bob (DFL)

Luther, William P. (DFL) McQuaid, Phyllis W. (IR) Mehrkens, Lyle G. (IR) Merriam, Gene (DFL) Moe, Donald M. (DFL) Moe. Roger D. (DFL) Nelson, Tom A. (DFL) Novak, Steven G. (DFL) Olson, Gen (IR) Pehler, James C. (DFL) Peterson, Collin C. (DFL) Peterson, Darrel L. (IR) Peterson, Donna C. (DFL) Peterson, Randolph W. (DFL) Petty, Eric D. (DFL) Pogemiller, Lawrence J. (DFL) Purfeerst, Clarence M. (DFL) Ramstad, Jim (IR) Reichgott, Ember D. (DFL) Renneke, Earl W. (IR) Samuelson, Don (DFL) Schmitz, Robert J. (DFL) Sieloff, Ron (IR) Solon, Sam G. (DFL) Spear, Allan H. (DFL) Storm, Donald A. (IR) Stumpf, LeRoy A. (DFL) Taylor, Glen (IR) Ulland, James (IR) Vega, Conrad M. (DFL) Waldorf, Gene (DFL) Wegscheid, Darril (DFL)

Willet, Gerald L. (DFL)

*DFL—Democratic-Farmer-Labor

Senate Leaders

Roger D. Moe	Majority Leader
William P. Luther Assistant	Majority Leader
Gregory L. Dahl	Majority Whip
Marilyn M. Lantry	Majority Whip
Tom A. Nelson	Majority Whip
James Ulland	Minority Leader
Nancy Brataas Assistant	Minority Leader
Darrel L. Peterson Assistant	Minority Leader
Jim Ramstad Assistant	Minority Leader
Ron Sieloff Assistant	Minority Leader
Glen Taylor Assistant	Minority Leader

^{**}IR-Independent Republican

Officers of the Senate

Jerome M. Hughes President of the Senate
Patrick E. Flahaven Secretary of the Senate
Janine Mattson First Assistant Secretary
Patrice Dworak Second Assistant Secretary
Marvin F. Raiola Sergeant at Arms
Ralph C. Graham Assistant Sergeant at Arms
Kay Ganje Engrossing Secretary
Catherine E. Morrison Engrossing and Appointments Clerk
Sister Michelle McGurran Chaplain
Desk Assistants to the Secretary of the Senate:
Colleen J. Barry Third Assistant Secretary