INTRODUCTION

Fifteen Senators announced that they would not seek re-election to the Senate in 1982. They were: Robert O. Ashbach, (IR), St. Paul; Otto T. Bang, Jr., (IR), Edina; Marv Hanson, (DFL), Hallock; Hubert H. Humphrey, III, (DFL), New Hope; John B. Keefe, (IR), Hopkins; Franklin J. Knoll, (DFL), Minneapolis; Steven O. Lindgren, (IR), Richfield; Marion (Mike) Menning, (DFL), Edgerton; Timothy J. Penny (DFL), New Richland; George S. Pillsbury, (IR), Wayzata; A. O. H. Setzephandt, (DFL), Bird Island; Gerry Sikorski, (DFL), Stillwater; Irving M. Stern, (DFL), St. Louis Park; Peter P. Stumpf, (DFL), St. Paul; Robert J. Tennessen, (DFL), Minneapolis.

The Third Special Session of 1981 was called by Governor Albert H. Quie and began on December 1, 1981, carried over into 1982 and adjourned on January 18, 1982. For a short period it ran concurrently with the 1982 Regular Session, which began on January 12, 1982. Two Special Sessions were called by Governor Albert H. Quie in 1982. The First Special Session lasted one day, March 30, 1982, and the Second Special Session also lasted only one day, July 9, 1982.

The political makeup of the 1982 Senate, Seventy-Second Legislature, was 44 DFL-ers and 23 Independent Republicans.

Minnesota's constitution requires that the legislature reapportion the state's congressional and legislative districts after every federal census. The new lines are drawn to reflect the population shifts of the preceding ten years and to insure optimum representation at both the state and federal levels of government. In addition, the state's political districts must be drawn in accordance with the U.S. Supreme Court's 1964 "one-man, one-vote" decision which requires political districts to be equal in population.

Overall, the 1980 census data showed an increase in Minnesota's population. The Cities of Minneapolis and St. Paul, however, experienced a population decrease while the surrounding suburbs grew. The state has a total population of 4,075,970 and, ideally, each Senate district would have 60.835 constituents. The census data thus provided a foundation for subsequent legislative proposals and judicial actions.

Members of the Senate attempted to fulfill the constitutional mandate of reapportionment by passing separate bills detailing new congressional and legislative districts. For its part, the House of Representatives passed legislation redrawing congressional district lines, but members could not reach agreement on a bill settling new legislative district boundaries. Although members of both bodies worked to reach a compromise package that would be acceptable to all four caucuses, they were unable to do so. Suit was brought (Sharon LaComb, et al v. Joan Growe, et al) and a three federal judge panel was appointed. The panel named was Eighth Circuit Judge Gerald W. Heaney and two District Court Judges, Donald D. Alsop and Harry H. McLaughlin. Both plans were handed down March 11, 1982. The legislative plan went unchallenged. The congressional plan was challenged. and on May 17, 1982 the U.S. Supreme Court upheld the federal panel's congressional redistricting plan.

Members of the Senate

Ashbach, Robert O. (IR)* Bang, Otto T:, Jr. (IR) Belanger, William V., Jr. (IR) Benson, Duane D. (IR) Berg, Charles A. (IR). Berglin, Linda (DFL)** Bernhagen, John (IR) Bertram, Joe (DFL) Brataas, Nancy (IR) Chmielewski, Florian (DFL) Dahl, Gregory L. (DFL) Davies, Jack (DFL) Davis, Charles R. (DFL) Dicklich, Ronald R. (DFL) Dieterich, Neil (DFL) Engler, Steve (IR) Frank, Don (DFL) Frederick, Mel (IR) Frederickson, Dennis R. (IR) Hanson, Mary (DFL) Hughes, Jerome M. (DFL) Humphrey, Hubert H., III (DFL) Johnson, Douglas J. (DFL) Kamrath, Randy P. (IR) Keefe, John B. (IR) Knoll, Franklin J. (DFL) Knutson, Howard A. (IR) Kroening, Carl W. (DFL) Kronebusch, Patricia Louise (IR) Langseth, Keith (DFL) Lantry, Marilyn M. (DFL) Lessard, Bob (DFL) Lindgren, Steven O. (IR) Luther, William P. (DFL)

Merriam, Gene (DFL)
Moe, Donald M. (DFL)
Moe, Roger D. (DFL)
Nelson, Tom A. (DFL)
Olhoft, Wayne (DFL)
Pehler, James C. (DFL)
Penny, Timothy J. (DFL)
Peterson, Collin C. (DFL)
Peterson, Darrel L. (IR)
Peterson, Randolph W. (DFL)

Menning, Marion (Mike) (DFL)

Petty, Eric D. (DFL)
Pillsbury, George S. (IR)
Purfeerst, Clarence M. (DFL)

Ramstad, Jim (IR) Renneke, Earl W. (IR) Rued, Dave (IR)

Schmitz, Robert J. (DFL)
Setzepfandt, A.O.H. (DFL)

Sieloff, Ron (IR) Sikorski, Gerry (DFL) Solon, Sam G. (DFL) Spear, Allan H. (DFL) Stern, Irving M. (DFL) Stokowski, Anne K. (DFL)

Stumpf, Peter P. (DFL)
Taylor, Glen (IR)
Tennessen, Robert J. (DFL)

Ulland, James (IR)
Vega, Conrad M. (DFL)
Waldorf, Gene (DFL)

Wegener, Myrton O. (DFL) Willet, Gerald L. (DFL)

*IR — Independent Republican

**DFL — Democratic-Farmer-Labor

Senate Leaders

Moe, Roger D	Majority Leader
Hanson, Marv	
Nelson, Tom A.	Majority Whip
Sikorski, Gerry	
Ashbach, Robert O.	Minority Leader
Bernhagen, John	Assistant Minority Leader
Frederick, Mel	Minority Whip
Knutson, Howard A	Assistant Minority Caucus Leader

Officers of the Senate

Davies, Jack	
Hughes, Jerome M.	President Pro Tem
Flahaven, Patrick E.	Secretary of the Senate
Mattson, Janine	First Assistant Secretary
Dworak, Patrice	Second Assistant Secretary
Raioła, Marvin F.	Sergeant at Arms
Graham, Ralph C.	Assistant Sergeant at Arms
Ganje, Kay	Engrossing Secretary
Morrison, Catherine E	Engrossing and Appointments Clerk
McGurran, Sister Michelle	Chaplain
Desk Assistants to the Secretary of the Senate:	
Barry, Colleen J.	Third Assistant Secretary