Introduction

The November, 1980 election brought twenty-three new Senators to the Seventy-Second Legislature, and re-elected forty-four Senators. Of the twenty-three new Senators, one was a former member of the Senate, seven had prior service in the House of Representatives; fourteen were members of the DFL Caucus and nine were members of the Independent Republican Caucus.

Senator Roger D. Moe, Ada, was elected Senate Majority Leader and Chairman of the Committee on Rules and Administration.

Senator Jack Davies, Minneapolis, was elected President of the Senate.

Senator Jerome M. Hughes, Maplewood, was elected President Pro Tem.

Senator Robert O. Ashbach, St. Paul, was re-elected Senate Minority Leader.

Former Senator Nicholas D. Coleman died March 5, 1981. Senator Coleman (DFL) represented Senate District 65, St. Paul, from 1962 through 1980. During his service in the Minnesota Senate, he served in several leadership positions. In 1969 he was elected Assistant Minority Leader; in 1971, Minority Leader; and in 1973, Majority Leader and he served in that role until his term expired on January 5, 1981. His body lay in state on the West (Senate) side of the Capitol Rotunda during the day and evening of March 8, during which citizens of the State of Minnesota paid their respects. Eulogies were delivered by Senate Majority Leader Roger D. Moe, Senate Minority Leader Robert O. Ashbach, Speaker of the House of Representatives Harry A. Sieben, Jr. and Attorney General Warren Spannaus.

The political makeup of the 1981 Senate, Seventy-Second Legislature, was 45 DFL-ers and 22 Independent Republicans until the District 20 special election which changed the makeup to 44 DFL-ers and 23 Independent Republicans.

On April 10, 1981, Senator Jim Nichols (DFL), District 20, resigned his Senate seat. A special election was held May 12, 1981, and Randy P. Kamrath (IR) was elected to serve out the remainder of Senator Nichols' term and was sworn in on May 15, 1981.

Three Special Sessions were called by Governor Albert H. Quie during 1981. The First Special Session lasted one day, Saturday, June 6, 1981, and the Second Special Session lasted two days, Wednesday, July 1 and Thursday, July 2, 1981, and both accomplished items agreed upon by legislative leaders prior to the calling of the Special Sessions. The Third Special Session was called for December 1, 1981, and the proceedings for that session are included in the 1982 Journal of the Senate.

Members of the Senate

Ashbach, Robert O. (IR)* Bang, Otto T., Jr. (JR) Belanger, William V., Jr. (IR). Benson, Duane D. (IR) Berg, Charles A. (IR) Berglin, Linda (DFL)** Bernhagen, John (IR) Bertram, Joe (DFL) Brataas, Nancy (IR) Chmielewski, Florian (DFL) Dahl, Gregory L. (DFL) Davies, Jack (DFL) Davis, Charles R. (DFL) Dicklich, Ronald R. (DFL) Dieterich, Neil (DFL) Engler, Steve (IR) Frank, Don (DFL) Frederick, Mel (IR) Frederickson, Dennis R. (IR) Hanson, Mary (DFL) Hughes, Jerome M. (DFL) Humphrey, Hubert H., III (DFL)

Kamrath, Randy P. (IR) Keefe, John B. (IR) Knoll, Franklin J. (DFL) Knutson, Howard A. (IR)

Johnson, Douglas J. (DFL)

Kroening, Carl W. (DFL)

Kronebusch, Patricia Louise (IR) Langseth, Keith (DFL)

Lantry, Marilyn M. (DFL) Lessard, Bob (DFL)

Lindgren, Steven O. (IR)

Luther, William P. (DFL)

*IR — Independent Republican

**DFL — Democratic-Farmer-Labor

Menning, Marion (Mike) (DFL)

Merriam, Gene (DFL)

Moe, Donald M. (DFL)

Moe, Roger D. (DFL)

Nelson, Tom A. (DFL)

Nichols, Jim (DFL)

Olhoft, Wayne (DFL)

Pehler, James C. (DFL)

Penny, Timothy J. (DFL)

Peterson, Collin C. (DFL)

Peterson, Darrel L. (IR)

Peterson, Randolph W. (DFL)

Petty, Eric D. (DFL)

Pillsbury, George S. (IR)

Purfeerst, Clarence M. (DFL)

Ramstad, Jim (IR)

Renneke, Earl W. (IR)

Rued, Dave (IR)

Schmitz, Robert J. (DFL)

Setzepfandt, A.O.H. (DFL)

Sieloff, Ron (IR)

Sikorski, Gerry (DFL)

Solon, Sam G. (DFL)

Spear, Allan H. (DFL)

Stern, Irving M. (DFL)

Stokowski, Anne K. (DFL)

Stumpf, Peter P. (DFL)

Taylor, Glen (IR)

Tennessen, Robert J. (DFL)

Ulland, James (IR)

Vega, Conrad M. (DFL)

Waldorf, Gene (DFL)

Wegener, Myrton O. (DFL)

Willet, Gerald L. (DFL)

Senate Leaders

Moe, Roger D.	Majority Leader
Hanson, Mary	Assistant Majority Leader
Nelson, Tom A	
Sikorski, Gerry	
Ashbach, Robert O.	Minority Leader
Bernhagen, John	Assistant Minority Leader
Frederick, Mel	Minority Whip
Knutson, Howard A.	Assistant Minority Caucus Leader

Officers of the Senate

Davies, Jack	President
Hughes, Jerome M.	
Flahaven, Patrick E.	Secretary of the Senate
Mattson, Janine	First Assistant Secretary
Urman, Patrice	Second Assistant Secretary
Raiola, Marvin F.	
Graham, Ralph C.	Assistant Sergeant at Arms
Ganje, Kay	Engrossing Secretary
Morrison, Catherine E.	Engrossing and Appointments Clerk
McGurran, Sister Michelle	Chaplain
Desk Assistants to the Secretary of the Senate:	
Barry, Colleen J.	Third Assistant Secretary
Magnuson South	Legislative Clerk