Introduction

The Seventieth Session of the Minnesota Legislature was the first in which all Senators were elected under the party designation law of 1973. Twenty new Senators were elected, forty-seven were re-elected. Of the twenty new Senators elected in November, 1976, seven had prior service in the House of Representatives; seventeen were members of the DFL Caucus, and three were members of the IR Caucus. Emily Anne Staples, elected in District 43, was the third woman ever elected to the Minnesota Senate, and the first DFL woman to hold a Senate seat.

The year 1976 brought many changes to the political scene in Minnesota. United States Senator Walter F. Mondale was elected Vice President of the United States. His Senate seat was filled by the appointment of Wendell R. Anderson, who had resigned as Governor. Lt. Governor Rudy Perpich of Hibbing became Governor and State Senator Alec G. Olson of Spicer, who was President of the Minnesota Senate, became Lt. Governor. Both Anderson and Perpich previously served in the Minnesota Senate.

Because of Senator Alec G. Olson's resignation from the Senate upon becoming Lt. Governor, a special election was held in January, 1977 to fill the vacancy in District 21. Dr. A. O. H. Setzepfandt, Bird Island, won election to that seat. He had served one term in the House of Representatives, and had been reelected.

Senator Nicholas D. Coleman, St. Paul, continued to serve as Senate Majority Leader and Chairman of the Committee on Rules and Administration.

Senator Edward J. Gearty of Minneapolis was elected President of the Senate.

Senator Robert O. Ashbach, St. Paul, was re-elected as Minority Leader.

The political make-up of the 1977 Senate was 49 DFL-ers and 18 Independent Republicans.

Members of the Senate

Anderson, Jerald C. (DFL)* Ashbach, Robert O. (IR)** Bang, Otto T., Jr. (IR) Benedict, Robert M. (DFL) Bernhagen, John (IR) Borden, Winston W. (DFL) Brataas, Nancy (IR) Chenoweth, John C. (DFL) Chmielewski, Florian (DFL) Coleman, Nicholas D. (DFL) Davies, Jack (DFL) Dieterich, Neil (DFL) Dunn, Robert G. (IR) Engler, Steve (IR) Frederick, Mel (IR) Gearty, Edward J. (DFL) Gunderson, Jerome (DFL) Hanson, Marvin B. (DFL) Hughes, Jerome M. (DFL) Humphrey, Hubert H., III (DFL) Jensen, Carl A. (IR) Johnson, Douglas J. (DFL) Keefe, John B. (IR) Keefe, Steve (DFL) Kirchner, William G. (IR) Kleinbaum, Jack I. (DFL) Knoll, Franklin J. (DFL) Knutson, Howard A. (IR) Laufenburger, Roger (DFL) Lessard, Bob (DFL) Lewis, B. Robert (DFL) Luther, William P. (DFL) McCutcheon, Bill (DFL) Menning, Marion (Mike) (DFL) *DFL---Democratic-Farmer-Labor **IR—Independent Republican

Merriam, Gene (DFL) Milton, John (DFL) Moe, Roger D. (DFL) Nelson, Tom A. (DFL) Nichols, Jim (DFL) Ogdahl, Harmon T. (IR) Olhoft, Wayne (DFL) Olson, Howard D. (DFL) Penny, Timothy J. (DFL) Perpich, George F. (DFL) Peterson, Collin C. (DFL) Pillsbury, George S. (IR) Purfeerst, Clarence M. (DFL) Renneke, Earl W. (IR) Schaaf, David D. (DFL) Schmitz, Robert J. (DFL) Schrom, Ed (DFL) Setzepfandt, A. O. H. (DFL) Sieloff, Ron (IR) Sikorski, Gerry (DFL) Sillers, Douglas H. (IR) Solon, Sam G. (DFL) Spear, Allan H. (DFL) Staples, Emily Anne (DFL) Stokowski, Eugene E. (DFL) Strand, Roger E. (DFL) Stumpf, Peter P. (DFL) Tennessen, Robert J. (DFL) Ueland, Arnulf, Jr. (IR) Ulland, James (IR) Vega, Conrad M. (DFL) Wegener, Myrton O. (DFL) Willet, Gerald L. (DFL)

Senate Leaders

Coleman, Nicholas D	
Borden, Winston W.	Assistant Majority Leader
Johnson, Douglas J	
Keefe, Steve	
Ashbach, Robert O	
Frederick, Mel	
Bernhagen, John	Deputy Minority Whip
Dunn, Robert G	Assistant Minority Leader
Jensen, Carl A	Assistant Minority Leader
Knutson, Howard A.	Assistant Minority Leader

Officers of the Senate

President
Secretary of the Senate
First Assistant Secretary
Second Assistant Secretary
. Third Assistant Secretary
Fourth Assistant Secretary
Minority Secretary
Sergeant at Arms
. Assistant Sergeant at Arms
Engrossing Secretary
Engrossing Clerk
Chaplain

and the second second

A. J. A. K. A. A. Source and the second se

Second Second Agent of the second seco

and the second second