INTRODUCTION

After the close of the 1973-1974 Legislative Session, four resignations of Senate members occurred, causing special Senate elections on a partisan ballot for the first time since 1913, pursuant to Laws 1973, Chapter 3.

Senator Harold G. Krieger, 33rd District, resigned and successfully ran for the office of District Judge. In his place a woman, only the second to serve in the Senate in the State's history, was elected. She is Nancy Brataas, (GOP) of Rochester.

Senator James F. Lord, 37th District, resigned and successfully ran for the office of State Treasurer. His seat was won by Robert J. Schmitz, (DFL) Jordan.

To accept the appointment of Commissioner of Public Safety, Senator Edward G. Novak resigned his 64th District seat, which was won by Peter P. Stumpf, (DFL) of St. Paul.

In the 47th District, Senator Stanley N. Thorup resigned to accept appointment as Judge of Anoka County. Gene Merriam, (DFL) Coon Rapids, was elected to this office.

The political make-up of the 1975 Senate stands at 38 DFL-ers, 28 Republicans and 1 Independent.

Senator Nicholas D. Coleman, St. Paul, continued to serve as Senate Majority Leader and Chairman of the Committee on Rules and Administration.

Senator Robert O. Ashbach, St. Paul, was elected Minority Leader to succeed Harold G. Krieger.

Members of the Senate

Anderson, Jerald C. Arnold, Norbert Ashbach, Robert O. Bang, Otto T., Jr. Berg. Charles Bernhagen, John Blatz, Jerome V. Borden, Winston W. Brataas, Nancy Brown, Robert J. Chenoweth, John C. Chmielewski, Florian Coleman, Nicholas D. Conzemius, George R. Davies, Jack Doty, Ralph R. Dunn, Robert Fitzsimons, Richard W. Frederick, Mel Gearty, Edward J. Hansen, C. R. Baldy Hansen, Mel Hanson, Roger Hughes, Jerome M. Humphrey, Hubert H., III Jensen, Carl A. Josefson, J. A. Keefe, John B. Keefe, Steve Kirchner, William G. Kleinbaum, Jack I. Knutson, Howard A. Kowalczyk, Al Larson, Lew W.

Laufenburger, Roger Lewis, B. Robert McCutcheon, Bill Merriam, Gene Milton, John Moe, Roger D. Nelson, Rolf North, Robert D. Ogdahl, Harmon T. Olhoft, Wayne Olson, Alec G. Olson, Howard D. Olson, John L. O'Neill, Joseph T. Patton, John M. Perpich, A. J. Perpich, George F. Pillsbury, George S. Purfeerst, Clarence M. Renneke, Earl W. Schaaf, David D. Schmitz, Robert J. Schrom, Ed Sillers, Douglas H. Solon, Sam G. Spear, Allan H. Stassen, J. Robert Stokowski, Eugene E. Stumpf, Peter P. Tennessen, Robert J. Ueland, Arnulf, Jr. Wegener, Myrton O. Willet, Gerald L.

Officers of the Senate

Olson, Alec G	. President
Flahaven, Patrick E	Secretary
Vavrosky, Joseph CFirst Assistant	Secretary
Mattson, JanineSecond Assistant	Secretary
Johnson, PaulThird Assistant	Secretary
Greenwalt, James EFourth Assistant	Secretary
Goodwin, George GMinority	Secretary
Daly, Eugene P., Sr Sergeat	nt-at-Arms
La Roque, Alvin CAssistant Sergear	nt-at-Arms
Ganje, Kay Engrossing	Secretary
Bible, K. ReedEnro	lling Clerk
Groppoli, Carol TEngros	sing Clerk
Finn, Father Nicholas J	. Chaplain